View Full Version : Next Manager?
Pages :
[
6]
21-05-2024, 08:46 AM
I think we will know soon enough as the club will use a Hibs leaning journalist (Patrick McPartlin?) to kill a rumour if support is growing too much for someone who isn’t going to get it, like McInnes, Gray or Robinson.
I really find it hard to believe we are starting the process from scratch and going for the usual routine of creating a shortlist, interviewing them before making a decision. I am convinced Mackay will know who he wants and just be a case of convincing them, agreeing the contact and getting it announced. We won’t kill the other rumours like McInnes etc until we have got Mackays first choice confirmed.
The Observer put out a very pro DG piece last night... :wink:
21-05-2024, 09:01 AM
I genuinely think Thomson killed his managerial career by trying to do the right thing and start at the bottom.
He opened his own coaching academy, got a job coaching Rangers for the youth team and then went to Kelty where he got them promoted and played a good brand of football.
If he never went to Kelty he probably would have been interim manager for rangers at some point and got a better managerial job from it.
I think Thomson has shown more as a coach/manager than Gray, also think he talks a lot more like a manager and ‘people catcher’
Agree with all of that.
Definitely a student of the game.
Speaks well on the radio as well these days. Not scared to give his opinion in a respectful way - unlike the majority of the rest of them on Sportsound
21-05-2024, 09:07 AM
I genuinely think Thomson killed his managerial career by trying to do the right thing and start at the bottom.
He opened his own coaching academy, got a job coaching Rangers for the youth team and then went to Kelty where he got them promoted and played a good brand of football.
If he never went to Kelty he probably would have been interim manager for rangers at some point and got a better managerial job from it.
I think Thomson has shown more as a coach/manager than Gray, also think he talks a lot more like a manager and ‘people catcher’
He’d probably need to cut down a bit on attending sectarian Sash Bashes before ever being considered for the Hibs job.
Heedersnvolleys
21-05-2024, 09:58 AM
Really surprised Tony Docherty is not been mentioned. Was wondering if it was really him behind the scenes at Aberdeen that made Derek McInnes look good?
21-05-2024, 10:06 AM
Gogic wasn't good enough 'for where we wanted to be', apparently.
I'd quite like to be in St Mirren's place right now, tbh.
He plays a completely different roll for them. You can't really complain about Maloney moving him on. He didn't fit how he wanted to play at all.
Don't remember many calls to bring him back when mykola chucked him about like a school child last season in our 3-0 win.
21-05-2024, 10:07 AM
You make a good point.
It’s often said that we’d like to see a coach “cut their teeth at a lower level” but the danger is that they can very quickly be seen to be “at that level” without having what it takes to step up.
Ian Murray has been a success in the lower leagues in various different places but now he’s spent so long there it’s hard to see him as anything other than a lower league manager - which is harsh.
KT = Kelty Hearts level as that was his last job. Again, harsh.
Folk say Sir David should go and manage in the lower leagues - fair enough, but does he end up trapped there? What does he have to do to merit a jump back up, is it easier to do from there or from where he is now?
21-05-2024, 10:11 AM
Really surprised Tony Docherty is not been mentioned. Was wondering if it was really him behind the scenes at Aberdeen that made Derek McInnes look good?
Derek McInnes just won manager of the season in his first season without TD.
21-05-2024, 10:11 AM
McInnes has just had a great season without Docherty.
21-05-2024, 10:15 AM
Agree with all of that.
Definitely a student of the game.
Speaks well on the radio as well these days. Not scared to give his opinion in a respectful way - unlike the majority of the rest of them on Sportsound
Each to their own but I’m amazed anybody thinks Thomson speaks well, granted I’m referring to his commentary duties rather than his input on the radio though.
I think he puts on a very serious voice that comes across very unnatural like he’s trying to come across intelligent. I think his voice monotone I struggle to listen to him.
I think he’s terrible in the media and just my opinion but comes across as a thoroughly unlikable guy and imo that’s maybe a factor as to why he’s never got a job again after Kelty.
badabing67
21-05-2024, 10:19 AM
He plays a completely different roll for them. You can't really complain about Maloney moving him on. He didn't fit how he wanted to play at all.
Don't remember many calls to bring him back when mykola chucked him about like a school child last season in our 3-0 win.
Yeah big Mike what's he doing these days.....
21-05-2024, 10:20 AM
Heard some chat about Tam Courts. Really hope it isn't him. United fans at work couldn't stand him. Got into Europe despite a long winless run.
3 wins in 20 including 6 defeats in a row to be exact. Incredible that got 4th.
21-05-2024, 10:21 AM
I like to complain about almost everything Maloney did during his brief stint in charge!
The broader point is fans dismissing anyone who is deemed inadequate for the supposed levels we are capable of. Our folly gets exposed time and time again.
21-05-2024, 10:21 AM
Yeah big Mike what's he doing these days.....
Injured alot, 1 goal in 13 games and last played in Feb
21-05-2024, 10:27 AM
Heard some chat about Tam Courts. Really hope it isn't him. United fans at work couldn't stand him. Got into Europe despite a long winless run.
He was at the Livingston game and my mate has seen him at Easter Road quite a few times this season.
I don’t think he’ll get the job but he does tick a couple of the boxes Mackay spoke about. I wonder if he’s involved in some way, either as an assistant or maybe even working on a consultancy basis for Mackay?
FWIW he clearly did a better job at Dundee Utd than he got credit for, I also saw what I think is Dylan Levitt dad (or maybe step dad, different surname) discussing this possibility with a Utd fan, he was saying Courts was brilliant with the Levitt and he’s far too good a coach to not be involved in football any more.
If we’re going for a left field approach, I think we could do worse than get Courts in as assistant. Courts also said on a PLZ podcast a couple of months back he would be happy to go in as assistant for the right person.
21-05-2024, 10:31 AM
He was at the Livingston game and my mate has seen him at Easter Road quite a few times this season.
I don’t think he’ll get the job but he does tick a couple of the boxes Mackay spoke about. I wonder if he’s involved in some way, either as an assistant or maybe even working on a consultancy basis for Mackay?
FWIW he clearly did a better job at Dundee Utd than he got credit for, I also saw what I think is Dylan Levitt dad (or maybe step dad, different surname) discussing this possibility with a Utd fan, he was saying Courts was brilliant with the Levitt and he’s far too good a coach to not be involved in football any more.
If we’re going for a left field approach, I think we could do worse than get Courts in as assistant. Courts also said on a PLZ podcast a couple of months back he would be happy to go in as assistant for the right person.
His record at United is horrible. 3 wins from 20 and somehow ended up 4th. It would concern me in all honesty.
21-05-2024, 10:39 AM
His record at United is horrible. 3 wins from 20 and somehow ended up 4th. It would concern me in all honesty.
I’d struggle to take him seriously because of his wee squeaky voice. I’d also struggle with having our two most senior people in the footballing department called Tam and Malky. That’s pub team stuff that.
I didn’t realise his record at Utd was so bad, I just knew they finished in a European place.
21-05-2024, 10:40 AM
I’d struggle to take him seriously because of his wee squeaky voice. I’d also struggle with having our two most senior people in the footballing department called Tam and Malky. That’s pub team stuff that.
I didn’t realise his record at Utd was so bad, I just knew they finished in a European place.
Did he not regularly have the piss taken out of him because of his interviews? Sure he was basically a Scottish Lee Johnson in that regard.
21-05-2024, 10:43 AM
The more non-Derek McInnes suggestions that are thrown up, the more obvious and appealing the appointment of David Gray becomes.
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 10:45 AM
I don't really know if he has shown more as a coach/manager than Gray . Certainly don't think he talks better then Gray that's for sure . The' people catcher ' term I'm not sure what thats all about.
Maybe just me though I've always found Kevin Thompson love in for Sevco rather nauseous anyway .
21-05-2024, 10:53 AM
Is there nobody in Argentina doing a decent job just now? Always thought their game was more like ours compared to other South American nations. I obviously don't mean the managers of River or Boca, but somebody doing a good job elsewhere who might fancy a punt in Europe.
Heedersnvolleys
21-05-2024, 11:08 AM
Derek McInnes just won manager of the season in his first season without TD.
Still has had a good season with Dundee. With less resources than us and probably on par with Killie. Like his frank and honest interviews after the match. Put it this way I don’t think there is much between him and Robinson or Derek McInnes.
21-05-2024, 11:27 AM
Each to their own but I’m amazed anybody thinks Thomson speaks well, granted I’m referring to his commentary duties rather than his input on the radio though.
I think he puts on a very serious voice that comes across very unnatural like he’s trying to come across intelligent. I think his voice monotone I struggle to listen to him.
I think he’s terrible in the media and just my opinion but comes across as a thoroughly unlikable guy and imo that’s maybe a factor as to why he’s never got a job again after Kelty.
It is a strange one he didn’t get another job after Kelty. promising coach at that time imo
21-05-2024, 11:30 AM
😂 True. Just shows how poor the league was that season.
21-05-2024, 11:37 AM
Still has had a good season with Dundee. With less resources than us and probably on par with Killie. Like his frank and honest interviews after the match. Put it this way I don’t think there is much between him and Robinson or Derek McInnes.
I think you're right. He was McInnes's number two for years so you'd imagine he'd have picked up a lot. I think he's had a good season at Dundee but then newly promoted teams often do. Next season will be the big test for him. I like him but think he presents too much of a risk at the moment.
21-05-2024, 11:42 AM
Think Docherty /Dundee went on a really poor run of late and I quite like him.
Also surprised to see st Mirren lost 17 league games this season. Suppose the top 6 effects any comparison with the bottom 6 in terms of stats of wins, losses and draws
21-05-2024, 11:43 AM
I think you're right. He was McInnes's number two for years so you'd imagine he'd have picked up a lot. I think he's had a good season at Dundee but then newly promoted teams often do. Next season will be the big test for him. I like him but think he presents too much of a risk at the moment.
Interestingly McInnes never had a good season with Killie last year though and it was put down to being their first season back so couldn’t be expected to have a good season.
Also could be interesting that Docherty’s success in his first managerial role shows you don’t need to have been a manager before to be a success.
21-05-2024, 11:49 AM
Nobody is disputing he’s had a good season with Dundee, people are disputing your suggestion he was making DM look good.
At the moment TD has one decent season under his belt, it’s yet to be seen whether he can repeat that success. McInness has a number of successful seasons under his belt across 3 different Scottish teams.
Mcbizz1998
21-05-2024, 11:51 AM
The more non-Derek McInnes suggestions that are thrown up, the more obvious and appealing the appointment of David Gray becomes.
Agree - if it isn't McInnes then give us the knighted one!
21-05-2024, 11:52 AM
Think Docherty /Dundee went on a really poor run of late and I quite like him.
Also surprised to see st Mirren lost 17 league games this season. Suppose the top 6 effects any comparison with the bottom 6 in terms of stats of wins, losses and draws
Dundee ended the season on 42 points and the second most goals conceded in the league. Even allowing for being in the top six, no one can seriously want or expect to see Docherty as a Hibs manager?
21-05-2024, 12:09 PM
Interestingly McInnes never had a good season with Killie last year though and it was put down to being their first season back so couldn’t be expected to have a good season.
Also could be interesting that Docherty’s success in his first managerial role shows you don’t need to have been a manager before to be a success.
Yeah he's done very well in his first gig. Maybe McInnes having a better second season back up shows just what a good manager he is :greengrin No drop off, just improvement, a big one at that.
21-05-2024, 12:18 PM
I'd argue keeping them up was a good season last season for Killie. They'd vastly exceeded expectations this season.
21-05-2024, 12:19 PM
Dundee ended the season on 42 points and the second most goals conceded in the league. Even allowing for being in the top six, no one can seriously want or expect to see Docherty as a Hibs manager?
I'm not massively keen, but regardless of goals or points, they finished top 6, and that's an achievement for the manager.
badabing67
21-05-2024, 12:43 PM
I'd guess he would be more of an interest for Livi if Martindale walks than for us.
21-05-2024, 12:59 PM
I'm not massively keen, but regardless of goals or points, they finished top 6, and that's an achievement for the manager.
Agree, staying in the top flight is always an achievement for Dundee (the ultimate yoyo club), never mind top six.
However, Docherty will not be the next Hibs manager.
21-05-2024, 01:20 PM
Jurgen Klopp is available?
If you don't ask you don't get!
We need a decent manager who will hit the ground running, as we prove year on year, they only get 6 months to improve or your out!!!!
21-05-2024, 02:11 PM
Not a people catcher
21-05-2024, 02:26 PM
Given how short term Docherty has been a manager no way imo should he be put at the same level as McInnes or Robinson not saying he hasn’t done well this season.
badabing67
21-05-2024, 02:31 PM
Mowbray has stepped down from Birmingham City and intends to return to football. He has not given a time frame but we should be exploring any possibility imo.
Former Hibs and Celtic boss steps down as Rangers transfer target told to move on (scotsman.com) (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/former-hibs-and-celtic-boss-steps-down-as-rangers-transfer-target-told-to-move-on-4636814)
21-05-2024, 02:35 PM
Mowbray has stepped down from Birmingham City and intends to return to football. He has not given a time frame but we should be exploring any possibility imo.
Former Hibs and Celtic boss steps down as Rangers transfer target told to move on (scotsman.com) (https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/former-hibs-and-celtic-boss-steps-down-as-rangers-transfer-target-told-to-move-on-4636814)
We really shouldn't. Let the man recover. Will be a long time until he wants to work again.
badabing67
21-05-2024, 02:49 PM
You won't know unless you ask, and you don't have to ask him personally there is nothing wrong with Mark Venus what's the harm in contacting him and finding out what the situation is
21-05-2024, 03:49 PM
You won't know unless you ask, and you don't have to ask him personally there is nothing wrong with Mark Venus what's the harm in contacting him and finding out what the situation is
“Over the very recent days, it has become apparent to me that I will not be fully fit to resume my duties as Manager of Birmingham City in the timescale that would allow the Club to best prepare for the forthcoming season and therefore, I have regrettably decided to step away from my role at this time.”
Clearly not ready to return to management any time soon, next....:confused:
21-05-2024, 05:15 PM
"it is understood that Hibs are reluctant to become embroiled in a compensation battle for more experienced contenders currently in employment."
They're going to give it to Gray aren't they?
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
21-05-2024, 05:19 PM
"it is understood that Hibs are reluctant to become embroiled in a compensation battle for more experienced contenders currently in employment."
Gray is getting it then.
I'm happy with Gray, but the compensation chat is really disappointing. This is just as if not more important than any player signing and we're supposed to be backed financially following the BKFC investment.
badabing67
21-05-2024, 05:29 PM
Looks like it. Will Daz be No2 then. I guess that would leave an opening for Lewis. And a new player contract for Hanlon. If it is the case I would feel comfortable with that, and it will unite the support if it happens.
21-05-2024, 05:31 PM
Where did the quote come from and who said it?
21-05-2024, 05:32 PM
You have to hope the press references to "Hibs won't pay compo" is a smart negotiating tactic to manage expectations at Rugby Park
Because if it's the actual approach then we are in serious trouble in our 150th year, which is unforgivable, frankly
21-05-2024, 05:33 PM
Looks like it. Will Daz be No2 then. I guess that would leave an opening for Lewis. And a new player contract for Hanlon. If it is the case I would feel comfortable with that, and it will unite the support if it happens.
Ehhmmmm no
21-05-2024, 05:33 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/new-focus-hibs-gaffer-search-narrows-field-fan-favourite-pecking-order-david-gray-4637604
All points towards SDG getting the job. Marv and Daz would be the backroom staff of choice for me.
thebausburst
21-05-2024, 05:34 PM
Very short sighted and dissapointing if Hibs are not prepared to pay any comp, DG seems like the cheap/easy option.
21-05-2024, 05:36 PM
There was chat about Marv being his No 2 and I don’t think that’s wide of the mark. John Doolan would have been his preferred option but him being a manager puts paid to that I think. Wouldn’t be surprised to see Liam Craig as a coach.
21-05-2024, 05:39 PM
Very short sighted and dissapointing if Hibs are not prepared to pay any comp, DG seems like the cheap/easy option.
Cost undoubtedly will be a factor. The poor seaoson that just ended has lost us money.
21-05-2024, 05:42 PM
Ah, the old 'wouldn't be disappointed'... what this meant was that when results faltered and we went on a bad run, the knives were out.
Many of our problems can be traced back to that awful decision to sack Jack Ross when we did. I hope Hibs never again have the arrogance and stupidity to sack a manager the week before a major cup final.
He would have lost that one as well! Was the right call to punt him.
badabing67
21-05-2024, 05:43 PM
Where did the quote come from and who said it?
It must of come from the search party
“And the search party has put renewed emphasis on youth, energy and availability in pursuit of a candidate ready to start immediately – and begin lifting the spirits of a demoralised squad.”
kentao
21-05-2024, 05:45 PM
You would think the difference in prize money would maybe sway the decision to get the man who is consistently in the top 6 compared to trying another project which could have a costly compensation and player clear-out in a couple of years.
Prize money for 4th is around 2.5m compared to the 1.5m for finishing 8th. Not to mention cup runs or qualifying for Europe.
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 05:52 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/new-focus-hibs-gaffer-search-narrows-field-fan-favourite-pecking-order-david-gray-4637604
All points towards SDG getting the job. Marv and Daz would be the backroom staff of choice for me.
It says there are a number of other candidates that could give Gray a run for his money , if we are reluctant to get into a compensation battle , wonder does this mean the other candidates are out of work at the minute then ?
Willis1875
21-05-2024, 05:55 PM
It says there are a number of other candidates that could give Gray a run for his money , if we are reluctant to get into a compensation battle , wonder does this mean the other candidates are out of work at the minute then ?
Think you have answered your own question there Donegal
21-05-2024, 05:57 PM
Remarkable they are yet again ignoring McInnes.
I have no words tbh.
It’s all been said.
21-05-2024, 05:58 PM
I have no words tbh.
It’s all been said.
I don't think it means we've ignored McInnes. We could have approached Killie and they've told us the compo amount they'd want. Hence the compo comment in the article.
Just guessing though.
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 05:59 PM
Maybe they think he's a good option as he knows the club and is ready to make the next step having been a coach for the last 3, 4 years or so .
Since Ross it must have cost us a fair bit in that time in compensation to managers nevermind what we lost this year financially too .
21-05-2024, 06:01 PM
Maybe they think he's a good option as he knows the club and is ready to make the next step having been a coach for the last 3, 4 years or so .
Since Ross it must have cost us a fair bit in that time in compensation to managers nevermind what we lost this year financially too .
Aye because they keep hiring ***** managers
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 06:03 PM
Think you have answered your own question there Donegal
Yeah probably have , I'm alright with Gray getting it though for some that's disappointed I'm sure there's a few decent managers without clubs at minute ..... Isn't Ronnie Delia without a club at the minute ? .
HendoDelivered
21-05-2024, 06:05 PM
If SDG gets it, I hope he has an experienced head as his assistant.
21-05-2024, 06:08 PM
I have no words tbh.
It’s all been said.
It says they won't get 'embroiled' there could have been conversations and Killie are looking for to much or the goalposts keep changing. Maybe feelers have been out out and Mcinnes isn't interested. Or maybe they don't think he's the best man for the job. Who knows.
21-05-2024, 06:10 PM
It says they won't get 'embroiled' there could have been conversations and Killie are looking for to much or the goalposts keep changing. Maybe feelers have been out out and Mcinnes isn't interested. Or maybe they don't think he's the best man for the job. Who knows.
Yourself and the other poster could be right.
I am just angry that they are yet again not getting him.
Sadly we do not know the details so I am going to use the evidence of the past and suggest they are ignoring him again.
And again, it is the wrong decision.
21-05-2024, 06:14 PM
I’d think McKay would know whether McInnes would have any interest in coming to Hibs and/or whether he’d have any interest in working in this structure.
21-05-2024, 06:15 PM
Pochettino is available now.....
badabing67
21-05-2024, 06:23 PM
I have no words tbh.
It’s all been said.
McInnes won't be interested. My guess is he will of been approached but declined any offer. I don't know if its true that the board apparently ignored all applicants last time round, and just went for Monty. Despite who had shown an interest. Of course we don't know who all applied. But we know Lennon publicly announced an interest and had no communication from the club. If McInnes had shown any interest privately then he would of been snubbed as well along with everyone else. A very peculiar recruitment process if you ask me.
21-05-2024, 06:30 PM
McInnes won't be interested. My guess is he will of been approached but declined any offer. I don't know if its true that the board apparently ignored all applicants last time round, and just went for Monty. Despite who had shown an interest. Of course we don't know who all applied. But we know Lennon publicly announced an interest and had no communication from the club. If McInnes had shown any interest privately then he would of been snubbed as well along with everyone else. A very peculiar recruitment process if you ask me.
Or a whole bunch of speculation and conjecture and rumour if you ask me! People do get so wound up about nothing 🤣
Mrimbetween
21-05-2024, 06:47 PM
If McInnes was approached lets face it Killie would be demanding funny money for himself and his backroom staff. No being funny
but on top of the Comp and wages that would be required its way out our budget right now Easily 2million or more
As for SDG, why not but the immense pressure he would be under from the off will be spectacular
21-05-2024, 06:51 PM
If McInnes was approached lets face it Killie would be demanding funny money for himself and his backroom staff. No being funny
but om top of the Comp and wages that would be required is way out our budget right now Easily 2million or more
As for SDG, why not but the immense pressure he would be under from the off will spectacular
I’m not convinced that as long as it’s handled correctly by the club in terms of the announcement, he won’t be under quite as much pressure as we think. We’ve come off a bad season, people recognise he’s inexperienced and he comes in with as much goodwill as it’s possible for a manager to have. People recognise that the squad needs a huge amount of work.
Compare that to Montgomery who came in to a ****ing awful squad whose shortcomings were masked by us fluking Europe the season before and the club deciding to make it look like the second coming of Jesus, in fact they’ve been like that with a lot of our signings.
A bit more low key going forward would be beneficial for all. With that, SDG starts from an OK place.
21-05-2024, 06:52 PM
Is his son not a hibby. Did Stubbs not have a meeting with him to pick his brains but all Pochettino would talk about was 21/5/2016
21-05-2024, 06:53 PM
That’s got to be rubbish. If Hibs are taking chances again then we’re absolutely done. Fans have lost patience with the club and if that’s the way forward for us under new investment then there’s no hope. You have to believe this is a lot of pish,
21-05-2024, 06:53 PM
Is his son not a hibby. Did Stubbs not have a meeting with him to pick his brains but all Pochettino would talk about was 21/5/2016
:hyper
21-05-2024, 06:54 PM
Given that no one really has a clue, that's very creative.
On that note.....
Given that our current owners have pretty much lost any credibility they might have had on the football side of things, appointing SDG would just be the icing on an over egged pudding.
We have thrown money away on contract or extended contracts for total duds, wasted a couple of hundred thousand quid on a trip to a UAE and are paying managers and their backroom staff off on a seasonal basis. Surely with the much vaunted investment, we have enough money to secure the services of a manager we know can make Hibs a much better side. McInnes is the most important signing the Gordon's could make and if they fail to get him due to compensation money, I'll burst a ****in blood vessel.
21-05-2024, 06:55 PM
I'd like Hibs, as a way of apologising for hiring a succession of woeful managers, stump up and pay compensation for a good one like McInnes to show they mean business. Might help get some fans back onside. We've just had a six million injection. Talk of not wanting to pay compensation won't wash.
badabing67
21-05-2024, 06:57 PM
That's a surprise to me I thought he was turning it around
cameronw-hfc
21-05-2024, 06:58 PM
Not seeing it mentioned much but I suggested Rosenior and he fits the descriptions also very well. Unemployed, young, got some experience albeit not loads, took a relegation threatened Hull to just missing the playoffs in a year or so.
Fits the descriptions perfectly, as does SDG. Possibly me being hopeful with him being my preferred manager but still seems to fit all the criteria
Given that no one really has a clue, that's pretty creative.
On that note.....
Given that our current owners have pretty much lost any credibility they might have had on the football side of things, appointing SDG would just be the icing on an over egged pudding.
We have thrown money away on contract or extended contracts for total duds, wasted a couple of hundred thousand quid on a trip to a UAE and are paying managers and their backroom staff off on a seasonal basis. Surely with the much vaunted investment, we have enough money to secure the services of a manager we know can make Hibs a much better side. McInnes is the most important signing the Gordon's could make and if they fail to get him due to compensation money, I'll burst a ****in blood vessel.
You do realise that Mackay will be the one who's appointing the new head coach and not Ian Gordon or Ben Kensall, nothing like having a rant and a dig just for the sake of it eh?
That's a surprise to me I thought he was turning it around
Mutual consent, seemingly left on good terms.
Hibs4185
21-05-2024, 07:04 PM
Even pochettino would be goosed with Newell, JDH and Campbell on the books
21-05-2024, 07:05 PM
If you excuse the daily record:
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/former-hibs-boss-alan-stubbs-11260418
21-05-2024, 07:07 PM
Very concerning for me.
Ignoring managers in work because they don’t want to pay compensation and want them to start straight away?
They could all start straight away, just pay up. We’ve spent far more on far worse.
There’s absolutely no way Mackay can think Gray is the best man for the job, he hardly even fits the criteria he learns.
I like Gray, but he’s been a first team coach of 4 different management teams over 3 years of failure. Hes done nothing to show he is the right man for such a massive job.
A couple of games as interim manager here and there does not change that imo.
21-05-2024, 07:10 PM
You do realise that Mackay will be the one who's appointing the new head coach and not Ian Gordon or Ben Kensall, nothing like having a rant and a dig just for the sake of it eh?
Nah, MacKay does not control the purse strings at Hibs.
There is plenty to have a rant at about Hibs. Our owners are making a total **** of the football side of our club.
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 07:15 PM
Not seeing it mentioned much but I suggested Rosenior and he fits the descriptions also very well. Unemployed, young, got some experience albeit not loads, took a relegation threatened Hull to just missing the playoffs in a year or so.
Fits the descriptions perfectly, as does SDG. Possibly me being hopeful with him being my preferred manager but still seems to fit all the criteria
Forgot about him , so far we have Deila , Rosenior and Gray . Not bad options I'd have any of them over another one I forgot about ' Beale '. . think that would put the tin hat on it in fairness .
21-05-2024, 07:19 PM
Lewis and Paul have left the building. They’ll be playing elsewhere next season, not part of a Hibs Heroes management team.
K-Zazu
I have no words tbh.
It’s all been said.
Totally agree, staring us straight in the face again.
Concerning if SDG gets this
Too soon
The next chants wont be sack the manager it’s sack the board.
21-05-2024, 07:25 PM
There is not a hope in hell Liam Rosenior takes the Hibs job.
He’s already turned down Plymouth in the Championship and is being lined with the Brighton job as well.
ruthven_raiders
21-05-2024, 07:26 PM
but on top of the Comp and wages that would be required its way out our budget right now Easily 2million or more
As for SDG, why not but the immense pressure he would be under from the off will be spectacular
Any manager will be under pressure but SDG will feel it pretty quickly, that's why I'd go for Ronny Deila and SDG as his assistant, a step up for David....
21-05-2024, 07:29 PM
If I read that article properly basically saying it won’t be McInnes or Robinson due to Hibs not wanting to pay compensation.
Was wanting David Gray but after the Livingston game not fully convinced.
My worry is what we need right now is an experience in management and we are going the complete opposite way with Maloney - Monty and Gray.
The only way Gray could work would be with a good experienced back room team.
Would be amazing if he did well though - Gray v Naismith next season could be tasty.
Gray may have inside knowledge on the issues in the team too and what needs fixed - something a new manager can do all the research they want but until they are in the dressing room / on the pitch hard to get a real feel of the situation.
At the end of the day if we went with Gray and added the players we need that would make a difference- Gray with a load of the current guff or poor recruitment and the ownership will have a lot to answer for. Be curious to see who fans who Gray or McInnes as I have think the club will bring someone in to get the fans back inside immediately and they know not many fans will complain about Gray.
21-05-2024, 07:31 PM
Concerning if SDG gets this
Too soon
The next chants wont be sack the manager it’s sack the board.
Oddly it could be a spectacular own goal by the board if it does goes badly as they wouldn’t have a leg to stand on.
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 07:34 PM
There is not a hope in hell Liam Rosenior takes the Hibs job.
He’s already turned down Plymouth in the Championship and is being lined with the Brighton job as well.
You might be right though read Brighton want Kieran McKenna . Just read this which could mean they are ....https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/soccer/2024/05/21/chelsea-could-target-kieran-mckenna-as-mauricio-pochettino-leaves-by-mutual-consent/
21-05-2024, 07:35 PM
I’m not concerned about us appointing SDG.
I’m worried about us not looking to pay compensation. Is it can’t or won’t?
21-05-2024, 07:37 PM
If I read that article properly basically saying it won’t be McInnes or Robinson due to Hibs not wanting to pay compensation.
Was wanting David Gray but after the Livingston game not fully convinced.
My worry is what we need right now is an experience in management and we are going the complete opposite way with Maloney - Monty and Gray.
The only way Gray could work would be with a good experienced back room team.
Would be amazing if he did well though - Gray v Naismith next season could be tasty.
Gray may have inside knowledge on the issues in the team too and what needs fixed - something a new manager can do all the research they want but until they are in the dressing room / on the pitch hard to get a real feel of the situation.
At the end of the day if we went with Gray and added the players we need that would make a difference- Gray with a load of the current guff or poor recruitment and the ownership will have a lot to answer for. Be curious to see who fans who Gray or McInnes as I have think the club will bring someone in to get the fans back inside immediately and they know not many fans will complain about Gray.
Gray is not the appointment we need now. Almost everyone agrees that this is not the time for another rookie manager. If this goes pear shaped we’re in a no better situation as we would have been keeping Monty.
Regardless of his status I don’t think he’d get any honeymoon period if things go badly as the fans will be absolutely furious the club have ****ed up yet again.
Depends how much they want.
21-05-2024, 07:40 PM
I wonder if they’re thinking about pre contracts they already have agreed etc and with having Gray there he’ll approve them and the players will still come
For example Jason Kerr, Greg Docherty and Alan Campbell. If all agreed and the manager is sacked there could be the peace of mind that Gray knows and wants them so they’re not put off signing, go elsewhere and we’re scrambling?
I really don’t want it to be Gray but just trying to make sense of it
Andymac85
21-05-2024, 07:40 PM
Very concerning for me.
Ignoring managers in work because they don’t want to pay compensation and want them to start straight away?
They could all start straight away, just pay up. We’ve spent far more on far worse.
There’s absolutely no way Mackay can think Gray is the best man for the job, he hardly even fits the criteria he learns.
I like Gray, but he’s been a first team coach of 4 different management teams over 3 years of failure. Hes done nothing to show he is the right man for such a massive job.
A couple of games as interim manager here and there does not change that imo.
Agree with all of this, find it concerning that we can’t pay compensation to get an experienced and well performing candidate.
21-05-2024, 07:41 PM
We’ve made such a catastrophic mess over the last couple of years that the investment money will probably just be plugging gaps and we won’t get the benefit we should from it. We blew the budget last year and we’re sitting with a big loss in the last accounts so it wouldn’t surprise me if there isn’t money flying about this summer.
I’m pretty convinced Gray will get the job, I thought it became much more likely the minute McKay got the job. Still not sure what I’d think of it but I think it’ll happen.
21-05-2024, 07:44 PM
There’s really no margin for error here. If they’d appointed SDG instead of Johnson/Monty the fans would’ve been more forgiving and probably open to giving him some time to adapt. Won’t happen now no matter how much of a legend he is. First sign of trouble the board will be getting it tight straight away.
21-05-2024, 07:47 PM
I wonder if they’re thinking about pre contracts they already have agreed etc and with having Gray there he’ll approve them and the players will still come
For example Jason Kerr, Greg Docherty and Alan Campbell. If all agreed and the manager is sacked there could be the peace of mind that Gray knows and wants them so they’re not put off signing, go elsewhere and we’re scrambling?
I really don’t want it to be Gray but just trying to make sense of it
There is no way on this planet we have Jason Kerr, Allan Campbell, and Greg Docherty lined up on pre contracts.
More likely Rocky Bushiri and Joe Newell extensions.
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 07:50 PM
I don't think we have the pot of gold some think we have , we have a clear out to do while I'm sure we will sign some quality players to the team also . All this might prove costly without draining our budget any further by paying out compensation for a manager too .
21-05-2024, 07:53 PM
Agree with all of this, find it concerning that we can’t pay compensation to get an experienced and well performing candidate.
All based on an EEN article which is probably in itself speculation! Expect we would pay compensation for the right person, as we have done with others.
21-05-2024, 07:53 PM
I don't think we have the pot of gold some think we have , we have a clear out to do while I'm sure we will sign some quality players to the team also . All this might prove costly without draining our budget any further by paying out compensation for a manager too .
Bring Monty back then, why bother even trying to get a good experienced manager in. They’ll not need my £400 next season,
21-05-2024, 07:57 PM
All based on an EEN article which is probably in itself speculation! Expect we would pay compensation for the right person, as we have done with others.
That’s exactly what I think. There’s no way Hibs wouldn’t pay for the right man and have to go through all this again in November, it’s surely a lot of pish.
21-05-2024, 07:59 PM
That’s exactly what I think. There’s no way Hibs wouldn’t pay for the right man and have to go through all this again in November, it’s surely a lot of pish.
Think these type of articles in the EEN are usually out for a reason and from the club. At least uses to be when Pat worked there. Be interesting to see if Hibs Observer either confirm or deny.
Hibees1973
21-05-2024, 08:00 PM
Bring Monty back then, why bother even trying to get a good experienced manager in. They’ll not need my £400 next season,
No room for sentiment.
Gray would be a mirror image of Maloney & Montgomery.
Inexperienced and easily manipulated by the likes of Kensell & Ian Gordon.
Cheap option.
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 08:01 PM
Maybe they think Gray might turn out to be a good manager or they have a experienced one lined up that's not going to cost compensation . Maybe Mcinnes didn't want it , Who knows , nothings confirmed one way or the other who's getting it yet btw .
21-05-2024, 08:01 PM
No room for sentiment.
Cheap option.
David Gray won’t be easily manipulated. It’s fine not wanting him as the manager, but saying he'd be easily manipulated is nonsense.
21-05-2024, 08:03 PM
If Gray gets it, it’ll be because they think he’s the best available man. There are undoubtedly people out there who would be a better/safer appointment but it’s not just a case of saying we want him and that’s that. If there was an amount required that was affordable to us, we’d pay it. For all the mess we’ve made of things, lack of willingness to spend hasn’t been a failing. Given what’s went before we might be more limited in what we can spend I suppose.
21-05-2024, 08:04 PM
There is no way on this planet we have Jason Kerr, Allan Campbell, and Greg Docherty lined up on pre contracts.
More likely Rocky Bushiri and Joe Newell extensions.
I know that, just meaning examples of potentially having good players lined up
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 08:06 PM
No room for sentiment.
Cheap option.
How do you know they were cheap options and easily to manipulate ? .
ChuckNor
21-05-2024, 08:06 PM
If we appoint David Gray then it’s someone all fans can get behind fully. I genuinely believe he will be a huge success with us. He knows this team inside out and will know the gaps that need filled.
Sometimes certain people and certain clubs are the perfect match.
21-05-2024, 08:08 PM
Maybe they think Gray might turn out to be a good manager or they have a experienced one lined up that's not going to cost compensation . Maybe Mcinnes didn't want it , Who knows , nothings confirmed one way or the other who's getting it yet btw .
The point is more to do with the report they are not going to pay compensation. That in itself is stifling ambition and puts an immediate handicap on who you can get. Gray maybe could do a good job but the implications of him failing even in the short term are disastrous again.
It’s for that reason I don’t believe that Hibs have limited their recruitment by not paying compensation. Even if it was true they surely wouldn’t make that fact public knowledge. It’s almost admitting they didn’t go for the best.
21-05-2024, 08:09 PM
No room for sentiment.
Cheap option.
Did Maloney or Montgomery have a Malky MacKay there though?
The remit has changed since MacKay came in imo - and Gray is much closer to being a fit for the head coach we need than the manager role we’ve had.
I still think Gray ticks a lot of boxes - as many as anyone else.
The “not prepared to pay significant compensation” also makes sense to me. Whatever the amount of money we have available for players and coaches, it’s finite. I’d rather have a good head coach trying to get a couple of excellent centre halves to defend properly than have an exceptional coach trying to coach a couple of duffers who are never going to be up to scratch.
Rumble de Thump
21-05-2024, 08:17 PM
Hibs will obviously pay compensation for their preferred candidate if said candidate wants the job. McInnes will likely end up going down south again, depending on how he does next season.
21-05-2024, 08:18 PM
Did Maloney or Montgomery have a Malky MacKay there though?
The remit has changed since MacKay came in imo - and Gray is much closer to being a fit for the head coach we need than the manager role we’ve had.
I still think Gray ticks a lot of boxes - as many as anyone else.
The “not prepared to pay significant compensation” also makes sense to me. Whatever the amount of money we have available for players and coaches, it’s finite. I’d rather have a good head coach trying to get a couple of excellent centre halves to defend properly than have an exceptional coach trying to coach a couple of duffers who are never going to be up to scratch.
Keep saying it, but the appointment of McKay made it massively more likely that Gray would get the job. There are definite pluses for Gray; the fact he wouldn’t need to come in and learn all about the players, his knowledge of the club, his standing within the club. I just think with McKay in place, the chances of someone like McInnes went out the window.
My biggest fear with Gray is that he might actually end up being too loyal to certain players. He’s been pretty risk averse when he’s picked any teams and it wouldn’t surprise me to see Hanlon back or Campbell being one of his main players at a time when we need as fresh a start as possible.
21-05-2024, 08:21 PM
Keep saying it, but the appointment of McKay made it massively more likely that Gray would get the job. There are definite pluses for Gray; the fact he wouldn’t need to come in and learn all about the players, his knowledge of the club, his standing within the club. I just think with McKay in place, the chances of someone like McInnes went out the window.
My biggest fear with Gray is that he might actually end up being too loyal to certain players. He’s been pretty risk averse when he’s picked any teams and it wouldn’t surprise me to see Hanlon back or Campbell being one of his main players at a time when we need as fresh a start as possible.
Newell and Campbell starting in midfield next season, yay! 🥳
21-05-2024, 08:25 PM
There’s always that risk but I think knowing that his reputation depended on it - and that there might be no second chance for his managerial / head coaching career if he failed would focus the mind.
It’s also a bit uncomfortable to ponder but the constraints are such that he may need to be ruthless with some popular players and try to get a tune out of some less popular ones.
If those were players he decided to work with then we’d just need to trust his judgment (as goes for anyone else getting the job).
21-05-2024, 08:33 PM
We have investment coming into the club via the black nights and Hibs are letting it be known via the press we won't be held to ransom over compensation for a new manager. Isn't that what we'd expect? Clubs will know we have some money, I think we could very well be putting out there that it doesn't change things.
21-05-2024, 08:36 PM
David Gray has seen his chances of landing the Hibs vacancy on a permanent basis boosted, with Easter Road chiefs reluctant to fork out on compensation for a manager already in a job
Taken from Daily Ranger would back SDG but what about the black Knights investment all the so called Millions and won't pay Compensation 🤔
21-05-2024, 08:39 PM
We have investment coming into the club via the black nights and Hibs are letting it be known via the press we won't be held to ransom over compensation for a new manager. Isn't that what we'd expect? Clubs will know we have some money, I think we could very well be putting out there that it doesn't change things.
Klopp/De Zerbi/Pochettino won't come cheap but at least we don't need to pay compensation 😁
21-05-2024, 08:45 PM
No room for sentiment.
Cheap option.
Based on media interviews, he's a better communicator than both.
21-05-2024, 08:49 PM
The problem appointing SDG for mr is that he has always been, barring the spells as interim, the conduit between players and head coach - he’s undoubtedly been the coach who players will talk to “player to player” before going to the manager. That breeds a potentially fatal relationship if he is appointed and said players then lose what they’ve always relied upon as a buffer - head coach requires a ruthless streak and previous loyalty has to be tempered with a realism that certain players will be dropped, loaned, put on the market.
It needs a fresh approach, an experienced manager with characteristics that emits professional respect with boundaries and a degree of ruthlessness when it comes to team selection. For far too long there have been players selected who should have been dropped due to lack of form. That’s how poor the squad assembled is at present. As others have said, I think David would be too loyal and averse to dropping certain players.
I looked at the squad the other day and it’s utterly criminal the amount of players we have, the lack of balance, the lack of midfield creativity, and the lack of solid defenders. The recruitment or should I say the sheer lack of identifying key areas needing strengthening is appalling. Too many goals conceded, too many draws and losses/defeats from winning positions, too many goals conceded last 10 minutes, and a total lack of leadership in the spine of the side. That’s what the new manager needs to address, and the concern I have is that it’s an almost total rebuild that needs dealt with in only a few weeks and one summer window. I think we’ll need a minimum of 8/10 new players and around 15 or more going out. That’s major squad surgery before a ball is kicked in the new league season.
21-05-2024, 08:53 PM
If we appoint David Gray then it’s someone all fans can get behind fully. I genuinely believe he will be a huge success with us. He knows this team inside out and will know the gaps that need filled.
Sometimes certain people and certain clubs are the perfect match.
SDG is held in such esteem, he'd be given full support and every chance by the fans. However, the Board need to understand that all Hell would rain down on Kensell, MacKay and Gordon if it did not work out. Not only would they have overseen yet another failure, they'd have been instrumental in damaging David Gray's reputation and maybe relationship with Hibs fans. That would be tragic.
21-05-2024, 08:55 PM
SDG is held in such esteem, he'd be given full support and every chance by the fans. However, the Board need to understand that all Hell would rain down on Kensell, MacKay and Gordon if it did not work out. Not only would they have overseen yet another failure, they'd have been instrumental in damaging David Gray's reputation and maybe relationship with Hibs fans. That would be tragic.
Fans would want to be patient with Gray.
However a poor start in the cup and league and that would soon dissapear and it would be called out as the cheap and easy appointment
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 08:58 PM
The point is more to do with the report they are not going to pay compensation. That in itself is stifling ambition and puts an immediate handicap on who you can get. Gray maybe could do a good job but the implications of him failing even in the short term are disastrous again.
It’s for that reason I don’t believe that Hibs have limited their recruitment by not paying compensation. Even if it was true they surely wouldn’t make that fact public knowledge. It’s almost admitting they didn’t go for the best.
The report says " we are reluctant to become embroiled in a compensation battle " maybe clubs knowing about our investment are asking for more compensation than we are willing to pay because it's unreasonable .
Could that not be a possibility too ? .
Does the implications of Gray failing in the short term being disastrous not imply to any manager we appoint ? .
ChuckNor
21-05-2024, 08:58 PM
Surprising reactions from some. Is it just me who doesn’t see SDG as a risky appointment? He knows the squad. He will have the experience of Malky Makay on hand. This could be an inspired appointment - every managerial hire, even McInnes, is a risk.
21-05-2024, 08:59 PM
Fans would want to be patient with Gray.
However a poor start in the cup and league and that would soon dissapear and it would be called out as the cheap and easy appointment
If we don't appointment him then maybe it's time he takes a managers job further down the food chain and proves he can make the step up. Just feel it's not the time to replace what people call a rookie manager or a project with an even more rookie manager.
At some point he needs to step out of the shadows and be the gaffer.
21-05-2024, 09:01 PM
Look across the city Naismith had hearts in 3rd at a canter and wouldn’t have been the preferred choice by most of them
21-05-2024, 09:02 PM
Surprising reactions from some. Is it just me who doesn’t see SDG as a risky appointment? He knows the squad. He will have the experience of Malky Makay on hand. This could be an inspired appointment - every managerial hire, even McInnes, is a risk.
I don’t either. We’re far more likely to see a new manager come in and give everyone a clean slate than someone who has worked with the players for a few years.
21-05-2024, 09:08 PM
The report says " we are reluctant to become embroiled in a compensation battle " maybe clubs knowing about our investment are asking for more compensation than we are willing to pay because it's unreasonable .
Could that not be a possibility too ? .
Does the implications of Gray failing in the short term being disastrous not imply to any manager we appoint ? .
I’m sure they will pay compensation for the right man but obviously not well over what we can afford, the report is probably designed to get a response.
David Gray failing in the short term would get a massive negative response from the fans due him being another rookie with no proven track record and the presumption it’s the cheap option. Whereas a manager like McInness (for example) with a proven successful record in this league over many years would be given time to get the team right. It’s quite an obvious assumption to make.
21-05-2024, 09:11 PM
No room for sentiment.
Cheap option.
Easily manipulated what is that based on.
TrinityHFC
21-05-2024, 09:15 PM
If we don't appointment him then maybe it's time he takes a managers job further down the food chain and proves he can make the step up. Just feel it's not the time to replace what people call a rookie manager or a project with an even more rookie manager.
What proven experienced manager has actually ever done well here?
Most of our successes have had no previous experience.
You can’t guarantee what will happen either way.
21-05-2024, 09:15 PM
Agree think Mackay makes Grays appointment easier the only concern would be can they work together and would Mackay try and have more influence. Would be important David has his own staff
Mcbizz1998
21-05-2024, 09:17 PM
It’s based on the full majesty of Hibee1973’s uninformed ‘reckon’.
21-05-2024, 09:19 PM
I agree at some point he’ll need to step up to be a manager, whether here or elsewhere.
But I think the amount of managers we’ve been through is making people forget just how little time he’s actually been a coach for.
Not the main assistant, not the manager of the development squad, a first team coach.
Donegal Hibby
21-05-2024, 09:42 PM
I’m sure they will pay compensation for the right man but obviously not well over what we can afford, the report is probably designed to get a response.
David Gray failing in the short term would get a massive negative response from the fans due him being another rookie with no proven track record and the presumption it’s the cheap option. Whereas a manager like McInness (for example) with a proven successful record in this league over many years would be given time to get the team right. It’s quite an obvious assumption to make.
I don't know what they're going to do or how much we can pay on compensation when you consider the job that's needing done on the team which might prove costly enough.
I wouldn't mind Gray getting it myself as he knows the club better than most , speaks well and as done well four times when asked to do the roll in difficult circumstances.
As to him being a rookie and a cheap option , it hasn't worked out too bad for the other lot across the road ! .
I don't know who you think would be willing to give Mcinnes time at our club to get the team right btw , we haven't exactly shown on all fronts we do that and in Mcinnes case with the way is teams play if he wasn't getting it right early on I don't see it being any different tbh .
For what it's worth I don't think it will be him anyhow .
Box 17
21-05-2024, 09:44 PM
Look across the city Naismith had hearts in 3rd at a canter and wouldn’t have been the preferred choice by most of them
Hearts success this season had more to do with their centre forward than their manager.
21-05-2024, 09:54 PM
Hearts success this season had more to do with their centre forward than their manager.
They only scored a couple of goals more than us. They had the best defensive record outside of Glasgow though which is something our last couple have completely neglected to do anything about. Has to be the starting point for the new manager.
The Wireless
21-05-2024, 10:07 PM
Agree think Mackay makes Grays appointment easier the only concern would be can they work together and would Mackay try and have more influence. Would be important David has his own staff
An absolute certainty.
We really have got ourselves into a right mess.
When NM was sacked I felt we had a real chance to transform the club (onfield) with a strong Scottish manager like McInnes. Give him control and budget to get us in a materially stronger position by August. I was also hopeful that Kensall would go and we would have a fresh start.
Then we appointed Malky Mackay. Again I didn’t lose my **** like many did as I felt he was a good choice for sporting director.
Now it appears we are looking at a tracksuit first team coach, likely inexperienced (SDG) and one that will need to fit into our over complicated ownership and recruitment model. Anyone who knows SDG will know he is totally professional, serious, hard working etc. He has managed 14 first team games (under little pressure) so is a risk (to put it mildly)
And now suggestions we won’t pay compensation for a manager and budget may be restricted for the level of player recruitment we need to do.
Yet Kensall is untouched . He has MM to sweep up the mess and influence heavily on a first team coach. Kendall can continue to shoot his mouth on match day and stay removed from any accountability while throwing in his favourite player contacts.
Where does this leave us? No guaranteed but at best it looks like another season of transition, lower attendances and fan frustration. Let’s hope not but none of it is inspiring or exciting.
21-05-2024, 11:42 PM
The absolutely only positive I see from SDG getting the job is I think he’d target guys like
Dimitri Mitov
Ben Siegrest
Will Dennis
CJ Egan Riley
Jason Kerr - Out of contract
Michael Hector - Out of contract
Greg Docherty - Out of contract
Jeando Fuchs - Out of contract
Will Vaulks - Out of contract
Jamie Lindsay - Out of contract
Alan Campbell - Out of contract
Joseph Hungbo
Regan Charles Cook
Simon Murray - Out of contract
Devante Cole - Out of contract
To bring into the club as he’ll know them from the league, especially with Malky Mackay.
However, I think the managers the majority want would also target a similar type of player.
22-05-2024, 05:19 AM
Probably nothing but it gave him an excuse to write about Ian gordon
22-05-2024, 05:36 AM
Probably nothing but it gave him an excuse to write about Ian gordon
He loves Ian Gordon 😁
22-05-2024, 05:44 AM
We don't have a player banging in 30 odd goals a season
22-05-2024, 05:47 AM
What proven experienced manager has actually ever done well here?
Most of our successes have had no previous experience.
You can’t guarantee what will happen either way.
Jack Ross
22-05-2024, 05:52 AM
Was he coaching, defending, and creating chances for himself?
Hibs have had better strikers than Shankland and been a long way off 3rd. Griffiths finished bottom 6 in both his seasons here.
Greenio
22-05-2024, 06:16 AM
While it's always tempting to claim their success this season is down to one player, it just isn't the case.
So Naismith doing well as a 'rookie' manager shows that it can work, IF you get the other stuff sorted out properly - recruitment being the main one for us just now
22-05-2024, 06:23 AM
While it's always tempting to claim their success this season is down to one player, it just isn't the case.
So Naismith doing well as a 'rookie' manager shows that it can work, IF you get the other stuff sorted out properly - recruitment being the main one for us just now
Their defensive record is basically the difference between the two teams, I’d hope SDG/Mackay know exactly what we need in that department to sort it out.
22-05-2024, 06:29 AM
I don’t feel great about an inexperienced manager for us this time round. On the back of Monty it doesn’t sit right. I love SDG but he’s not the man I’d want getting the job right now.
As for an inexperienced manager being ok because we have Malky Mackay here to help…I wouldn’t want Malky Mackay as Hibs manager, so how’s him being there to help of any good to us?
Gordy M
22-05-2024, 06:36 AM
The only thing id say is that if the have decided to give it to SDG then why not just announce it? That says to me that they are definitely looking at others.
22-05-2024, 06:37 AM
Few things to consider when talking about Naismith..
He managed for a full season in lowland league and was head of Hearts Academy before. His lowland league record wasn’t great - they did better when he wasn’t the coach this season.
When he first took over it wasn’t great - his record was mixed. Only this season form started to pick up after a slow start and Shankland scoring a load of goals.
The key part though is he didn’t have to rebuild a team like Gray would have to do. It’s a massive job - but it MM is heavily involved then you would hope his experience of management and contacts would help this alongside a Head Coach.
Even in the EPL you have some Managers and some Head Coaches.
The reason we are looking for a head coach is their remit would be more on the pitch and less focused on wider areas such as recruitment.
We aren’t looking for a Manager - so that rules out quite a few candidates who become the main figure at the club.
It’s a risky way to go but maybe the club feel the “managers” role was too wide and they just want someone solely focusing on 1st team . But you would think they have to keep an eye on the academy etc but would imagine that’s why MM got the role as he will do both without the day to day pitch coaching.
Bridge hibs
22-05-2024, 06:38 AM
I don’t feel great about an inexperienced manager for us this time round. On the back of Monty it doesn’t sit right. I love SDG but he’s not the man I’d want getting the job right now.
As for an inexperienced manager being ok because we have Malky Mackay here to help…I wouldn’t want Malky Mackay as Hibs manager, so how’s him being there to help of any good to us?Pretty much where Im at, all this chat about finances from BK and wanting to compete at the top end seems a million miles away. In light of our recent poor managerial appointments and player recruitment we, in my opinion need a strong and experienced manager to set the ball rolling
Ive nothing against Gray and Ive no doubt he is respected in his role, not only by current players and board members but to those outside the club too but I just fear it may turn sour quickly for him and I wouldnt want to see that
It is what it is though and we wont have any influence on whether he gets the post or not, who knows, he could be our golden nugget but time will tell
22-05-2024, 06:38 AM
As for an inexperienced manager being ok because we have Malky Mackay here to help…I wouldn’t want Malky Mackay as Hibs manager, so how’s him being there to help of any good to us?
Totally agree regarding your second paragraph.
I’m really excited about the appointment of Malky Mackay as Sporting director or whatever it’s called. I don’t want him to be manager or guiding the manager though, that’s surely not what he’s here for? If he’s appointing a manager on the premise he can offer guidance to when struggling, is that not a bit close to just picking someone he can influence and control?
Gordy M
22-05-2024, 06:42 AM
Totally agree regarding your second paragraph.
I’m really excited about the appointment of Malky Mackay as Sporting director or whatever it’s called. I don’t want him to be manager or guiding the manager though, that’s surely not what he’s here for? If he’s appointing a manager on the premise he can offer guidance to when struggling, is that not a bit close to just picking someone he can influence and control?
Why wouldnt they just appoint MM as the manager if thats their goal? MM has to get this pick right, or it reflects on him in his first role as Sporting director or whatever his title is. I think it has to be someone he can trust and experience. Im not convinced its a done deal with Gray.
22-05-2024, 06:43 AM
I assume that a prospective manager would have been open to moving to Hibs before clubs start talking compensation ?
22-05-2024, 06:45 AM
It is a huge if like you say.
My fear is you look at other clubs that have done it
Motherwell - Steven Hammell, sacked after what 5 months?
St Johnstone - Steven Maclean, sacked after a couple of months
Aberdeen - Barry Robson, good job as interim and then sacked after 6 months
I look at our current state and think we’re a lot more likely to follow them than how it panned out for Hearts.
22-05-2024, 06:47 AM
The only thing id say is that if the have decided to give it to SDG then why not just announce it? That says to me that they are definitely looking at others.
I don’t think they can/will announce someone before Mackay’s official start date of the 1st of June. So I’d expect mid June sort of time before they do the formalities.
Would just look stupid doing so when Mackay said he will be picking the manager/involved with others.
22-05-2024, 06:59 AM
I don’t think they can/will announce someone before Mackay’s official start date of the 1st of June. So I’d expect mid June sort of time before they do the formalities.
Would just look stupid doing so when Mackay said he will be picking the manager/involved with others.
I find that whole situation bizarre. He’s been out of work for ages so can’t be a contractual issue. We need a new manager now, not so it aligns with the optics of when Mackay is meant to start working for us, especially when he pretty much said in the interview he was ready to get down to work straight away.
22-05-2024, 07:01 AM
I think Gray will be confirmed very shortly as head coach.
22-05-2024, 07:03 AM
He loves Ian Gordon 😁
No, he doesn’t love him.
But he is obsessed with him…and Kensell
22-05-2024, 07:08 AM
Probably one of the biggest gambles they could take at this stage if it happens. He wasn’t my first choice but I’ll be right behind him purely based on who he is and what he means to the club.
It’ll be those higher up that get all of the heat if this one goes wrong.
Trinity Hibee
22-05-2024, 07:12 AM
Probably one of the biggest gambles they could take at this stage if it happens. He wasn’t my first choice but I’ll be right behind him purely based on who he is and what he means to the club.
Agree. Not my first choice but he’ll get the fans support if it’s him. If it was to go wrong I think it would be the final straw for the board.
Love SDG but that would be a pretty uninspiring appointment and wont shift season tickets. Would feel pretty deflated. He'd get my full support if he is appointed though.
Hire someone for their first managerial role backed up by a guy sacked by Ross County at a time we need stability and experience. What could possibly go wrong?
22-05-2024, 07:25 AM
I find that whole situation bizarre. He’s been out of work for ages so can’t be a contractual issue. We need a new manager now, not so it aligns with the optics of when Mackay is meant to start working for us, especially when he pretty much said in the interview he was ready to get down to work straight away.
I was the same, think they said to do with his Ross County contract.
Maybe it was a clause in his contract if he was sacked during season he’d still be paid for the remainder of it so he can’t be officially employed again until then?
AugustaHibs
22-05-2024, 07:31 AM
Appoint gray and we will be back here in 6 months.
Would be a crazy appointment, and when we need some experience we are getting the exact opposite. For **** sake.
22-05-2024, 07:42 AM
I was the same, think they said to do with his Ross County contract.
Maybe it was a clause in his contract if he was sacked during season he’d still be paid for the remainder of it so he can’t be officially employed again until then?
Thing is, I’m not really interested in when he’s starting to get paid by Hibs, I want to know when he’s starting working for us.
There was a lot good about that interview with Mackay but in hindsight there’s a few things I would like clarified:-
What’s going on with Brian McDermott? (Officially, I know the rumours about the recruitment side, Mackay appeared really caught off guard by the question which was strange)
If Mackay isn’t starting until the 1st, does the manager search not start until then? If it happens before and we advertise Mackay is heading it up, surely that’s still in breach of contract?
Mackay stipulated a very specific criteria of the type of manager/coach we were after. If we appoint Gray who literally meets none of the points he was looking for, has someone overruled the criteria, has Mackay changed his mind or was that criteria a load of waffle?
22-05-2024, 07:46 AM
Appointing Gray would certainly suggest we don’t have a pot to piss in.
22-05-2024, 07:54 AM
Appoint gray and we will be back here in 6 months.
Would be a crazy appointment, and when we need some experience we are getting the exact opposite. For **** sake.
Totally agree and I have a bad feeling that appointing Gray is exactly what the club are going to do. All manager appointments are important but given the history, Hibs MUST get this one right.
DG will always be a hero with the Hibs support, but this is not the time for yet another experimental appointment.
22-05-2024, 08:05 AM
Thing is, I’m not really interested in when he’s starting to get paid by Hibs, I want to know when he’s starting working for us.
There was a lot good about that interview with Mackay but in hindsight there’s a few things I would like clarified:-
What’s going on with Brian McDermott? (Officially, I know the rumours about the recruitment side, Mackay appeared really caught off guard by the question which was strange)
If Mackay isn’t starting until the 1st, does the manager search not start until then? If it happens before and we advertise Mackay is heading it up, surely that’s still in breach of contract?
Mackay stipulated a very specific criteria of the type of manager/coach we were after. If we appoint Gray who literally meets none of the points he was looking for, has someone overruled the criteria, has Mackay changed his mind or was that criteria a load of waffle?
Completely agree on all points.
The criteria he mentioned is the main one for me as David Gray is just not that person, imo.
What is interesting though and something he said in a podcast a couple of weeks ago is that some clubs drip feed information to the press to get a gauge from supporters about potential managers and how they feel about them.
Could that be happening with Gray? There’s been a lot of articles about him in the last week.
Is the compensation bit due to a club playing hardball and we’ve released that to let them know we won’t do it and to accept it
Crazyhorse
22-05-2024, 08:14 AM
I think you would have to look very hard to see a strategy from Hibs hierarchy in all this.
I suspect they thought Monty would do fine in the bottom six dead rubber games and we would be starting next season with him as manager. But things just spiralled.
Now they are searching for a new manager from scratch in a short space of time so they don’t look completely clueless.
Unfortunately I reckon they are completely clueless…
22-05-2024, 08:17 AM
Appointing Gray would certainly suggest we don’t have a pot to piss in.
I disagree, we clearly have cash to spend, appointing DG would be seen as the populist and easy appointment for them just now. Hell he might turn out to be the best appointment just now! Would at least help get the fans behind him.
22-05-2024, 08:20 AM
I think you would have to look very hard to see a strategy from Hibs hierarchy in all this.
I suspect they thought Monty would do fine in the bottom six dead rubber games and we would be starting next season with him as manager. But things just spiralled.
Now they are searching for a new manager from scratch in a short space of time so they don’t look completely clueless.
Unfortunately I reckon they are completely clueless…
If they appoint David Gray into his first managerial role at the time when we’re in such a state it would completely confirm they are clueless.
Alan Nixon saying our target is more expensive than we thought
22-05-2024, 08:25 AM
That was for a player, not a manager, he clarified that in the responses to that message.
22-05-2024, 08:29 AM
The "cheap option" narrative already in full swing I see...
22-05-2024, 08:29 AM
If they appoint David Gray into his first managerial role at the time when we’re in such a state it would completely confirm they are clueless.
We appointed Stubbs to his first managerial role when we were in a worse state than this. Mowbray as well. Although he had the benefit of the golden generation he totally transformed them and added some really good players.
I’m not terribly keen on appointing Gray but he seems to be getting totally written off. The last couple of rookies have been pish, even if one wasn’t a total rookie. And the guy in between them was pish even though he had 500 games or whatever.
There are definite plus points to appointing Gray though IMO. I get the feeling that the only appointment that would make the vast majority happen would be McInnes but we need to forget about that IMO, it’s not happening.
22-05-2024, 08:31 AM
If they appoint David Gray into his first managerial role at the time when we’re in such a state it would completely confirm they are clueless.I don't think they'd need to appoint Gray to confirm that tbh. You just need to look at the last 3 years for confirmation on that.
22-05-2024, 08:32 AM
We also have the situation if Gray doesn’t get the job - how does he then feel after coming out and saying he’s ready to be a manager ?
MM could easily be working on managers in an unofficial capacity and seeing who is available also.
22-05-2024, 08:34 AM
We also have the situation if Gray doesn’t get the job - how does he then feel after coming out and saying he’s ready to be a manager ?
MM could easily be working on managers in an unofficial capacity and seeing who is available also.
The absolute least of my concerns is how David Gray feels about not getting the job to be honest.
22-05-2024, 08:36 AM
What does Naismith at Hearts have that Gray doesn’t?
They took the “cheap” option and look how well that worked for them?
Paul1642
22-05-2024, 08:38 AM
Like most on here Derek McInnes is my first choice. I’m not fully sold on Gray however he would obviously get my backing and I feel that if he does get the job he needs to get the full season no matter what happens (unless relegation is looking like a real risk). There’s no point in hiring him only to sack him in the winter.
I obviously want us to spend the compo to get McInness but I do think that if the amount is really high, say £1.5 million it raises a question. Admittedly I really have no idea now much manger compensation actually is.
Could Gray with a £1.5 million higher playing budget do better than McInnes with £1.5 Million less.
Getting the playing squad right is equally, if not more important than the manager IMO and if the competition for the manager was taking away from that majorly then we need to ask if it’s worth it.
22-05-2024, 08:38 AM
We appointed Stubbs to his first managerial role when we were in a worse state than this. Mowbray as well. Although he had the benefit of the golden generation he totally transformed them and added some really good players.
I’m not terribly keen on appointing Gray but he seems to be getting totally written off. The last couple of rookies have been pish, even if one wasn’t a total rookie. And the guy in between them was pish even though he had 500 games or whatever.
There are definite plus points to appointing Gray though IMO. I get the feeling that the only appointment that would make the vast majority happen would be McInnes but we need to forget about that IMO, it’s not happening.
If Gray had been an assistant and integral part of a successful Hibs team and promoted when the manager moved on to better things, I would be in full support. Throwing him into the mess we’re in expecting him, backed up by a sporting director who was sacked for failing at Ross County to fix it is utter madness. There is no plus points to appointing David Gray in the current circumstances IMO. I also hate having to say that about SDG.
Paul1642
22-05-2024, 08:39 AM
Unfortunately that’s not our biggest concern. We can’t employ people based on sentiment. If the board think he can do the job then so be it but he can’t get the job just to please him.
22-05-2024, 08:42 AM
He’s doing his Uefa Pro License. Not sure Gray has that ?
Need it for Euro football.
22-05-2024, 08:43 AM
Unfortunately that’s not our biggest concern. We can’t employ people based on sentiment. If the board think he can do the job then so be it but he can’t get the job just to please him.
Of course - just saying Gray may look elsewhere.
Paul1642
22-05-2024, 08:43 AM
He’s doing his Uefa Pro License. Not sure Gray has that ?
Need it for Euro football.
What Euro football 😂
22-05-2024, 08:44 AM
Dont think Stubbs started at the club in a worse state than it is now, he hardly had any players under contract and could bring in players he wanted not worrying about balancing the books by getting rid of players.
We have a shed load of dross that can just sit tight and keep getting paid regardless of how many players the new manager wants.
22-05-2024, 08:46 AM
Both Mowbray and Stubbs were found/identified as the best man for the job after searching for new managers.
Gray just seems a “ah it’s a club legend who is a coach, hopefully that gets them onside”.
Eddie May always done well as interim manager, don’t remember many wanting him to get it
22-05-2024, 08:50 AM
Lawrence Shankland.
22-05-2024, 08:50 AM
If it's Gray then it needs to work or Malky and particularly Kensell will be under immense pressure. I don't know if they fully understand how the support feel about three woeful appointments in a row which has resulted in us finishing 8th in the league.
Gray is a legend, he was a great player and inspirational captain for us, i'd hate to see him fail as manager. More importantly, i don't want Hibs to continue to suffer on the park. I don't think we're in a situation right now to take that risk. We're crying out for experienced leadership from the touchline. If it is to be Gray i'll wish him all the best and get behind him from the start but with our recent track record of taking on projects, i worry it will end in tears.
22-05-2024, 08:55 AM
Naismith had a seasons experience of managing their B team. He didn’t do that particularly well but it gave him a grounding in being a touchline manager/coach.
The same applies to Stubbs and Mowbray, they both served their apprenticeships from the youth teams up the way.
I’m not against giving a coach their first opportunity but it has to be done at the right time. The only reason Gray would be getting the job is because he’s here now. IMO he’s still got a lot of learning and developing to do as a coach, which includes taking a team before he’s ready to take on the Hibs job.
22-05-2024, 08:55 AM
Lawrence Shankland.
They only scored two more than us though, his team having proper defenders with some experience was the difference. They went out in the summer and signed Frankie Kent who’s been a standout, we’ve had a pairing of Rocky and Fish making an arse of it most weeks.
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2024, 09:02 AM
Both Mowbray and Stubbs were found/identified as the best man for the job after searching for new managers.
Gray just seems a “ah it’s a club legend who is a coach, hopefully that gets them onside”.
Eddie May always done well as interim manager, don’t remember many wanting him to get it
Maybe we have identified Gray as the best man for the job too after a search as well. I keep hearing Grays got no managerial experience , did Mowbray or Stubbs? .
I think 3 years as a coach and 4 times stepping in to the job when needed which he's done a fairly good job probably has had more a bearing on things than him being a club legend if he gets it .
Did Eddie May even want the job ? , going by what he's said it appears Gray does though.
22-05-2024, 09:05 AM
They only scored two more than us though, his team having proper defenders with some experience was the difference. They went out in the summer and signed Frankie Kent who’s been a standout, we’ve had a pairing of Rocky and Fish making an arse of it most weeks.
This is also true.
My response was a poor one. Yours and Bingo’s were much better.
22-05-2024, 09:06 AM
Give it to Gray already.
Decent record and performances as caretaker - players clearly respect and trust him. Basic subs and tactics seem good. Fans love him.
Greenio
22-05-2024, 09:14 AM
Give it to Gray already.
Decent record and performances as caretaker - players clearly respect and trust him. Basic subs and tactics seem good. Fans love him.
Add to this...
He's been at the heart of the team, will have insight on what's working, what's not, who we want, who we don't
There's a lot of negativity about us just now, I do t blame anyone that's just over the whole lot of it. But we reset by sacking NM so it's time to come at it with a bit more optimism imo
Grey could turn out well. If that's a possibility then I hope everyone will give him a chance to succeed and not start his reign with a 'we should have got McInnes' mentality
22-05-2024, 09:16 AM
That was for a player, not a manager, he clarified that in the responses to that message.
Wonder if that player was Myziane? Quoted as 700K Euros in the press - maybe Hertha actually want much more.
22-05-2024, 09:18 AM
Wonder if that player was Myziane? Quoted as 700K Euros in the press - maybe Hertha actually want much more.
The chat on Twitter (I know) is that it’s Luke McCowan.
22-05-2024, 09:20 AM
If Gray had been an assistant and integral part of a successful Hibs team and promoted when the manager moved on to better things, I would be in full support. Throwing him into the mess we’re in expecting him, backed up by a sporting director who was sacked for failing at Ross County to fix it is utter madness. There is no plus points to appointing David Gray in the current circumstances IMO. I also hate having to say that about SDG.
This is my view, too. I think Gray is ready to move up to assistant head coach level, but I'd really worry for him if he jumped straight into the head coach role at Hibs, given the mess we are in and the work that needs doing to sort things out. I'd think a more experienced head coach would be better, with Gray as assistant and being groomed to take over.
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2024, 09:20 AM
Give it to Gray already.
His record as caretaker is 12 games , 5 wins , 3 draws and 4 defeats ( 2 of which were Villa & Celtic final) , that right ? .
22-05-2024, 09:21 AM
Gray doesn’t have no experience - he has no experience as a manager or head coach, other than as caretaker Hibs manager.
He has plenty of other experience that you’d think would be transferable alongside other attributes that should see him above nearly all other candidates (mainly his opinion on what he can be expected to do with the players currently at the club).
Ive said this before, get McInnes in and have SDG stay as his right-hand man for the next two years then give him the job.
The chat on Twitter (I know) is that it’s Luke McCowan.
Who has one year left on his contract - not sure why Hibs can't afford him, if that's the case.
22-05-2024, 09:24 AM
Give it to Gray already.
To caveat that, he’s been interim for 10 league games and has never managed a league game against a top 6 opponent - last weeks game against Motherwell was his only victory against a team ranked higher than 10th.
22-05-2024, 09:25 AM
Ive said this before, get McInnes in and have SDG stay as his right-hand man for the next two years then give him the job.
Why would we change from McInnes in 2 years unless it’s been a disaster?
22-05-2024, 09:26 AM
Nixon has a questionable track record in the Hibs rumours he posts, to be fair. Can't recall many, if any, that came to fruition.
jonny
22-05-2024, 09:36 AM
If McInnes was to come in and do well over 2 years why would we want to replace him?
Additionally, when a manager/head coach is appointed a condition is generally that they want their own men in to work beside them.
I think with the Mackay appointment the McInnes ship may have sailed, I hope not but I'm not sure he'd want to come in when he doesn't have full control
He's here!
22-05-2024, 09:43 AM
What is Stubbs doing these days? Has he dropped off the managerial merry-go-round?
22-05-2024, 09:44 AM
Who has one year left on his contract - not sure why Hibs can't afford him, if that's the case.
To be fair he said the player was more than we thought, not that we couldn’t afford him.
Could all be bollocks anyway I suppose.
22-05-2024, 09:44 AM
How much are Dundee asking for their POTY?
22-05-2024, 09:51 AM
That’s just an assumption though. If Gray gets it, they’re not just going to have given him it for those reasons.
I’m not even arguing that he should get it, I’m not particularly convinced he should.
If he does get it then I can guarantee the vast majority won’t think he’s the best man for the job. But we aren’t going to know who it was actually achievable to get either.
Given what has went on over the last few years it’s hardly surprising that there’s a complete lack of faith in us doing the right thing.
22-05-2024, 09:53 AM
How much are Dundee asking for their POTY?
No idea but I know we are 100% wanting him. CEO was talking about him back in Jan.
22-05-2024, 09:57 AM
No idea but I know we are 100% wanting him. CEO was talking about him back in Jan.
Am I right in thinking he plays centrally now? Is he what people call a No 10?
22-05-2024, 09:59 AM
What Euro football 😂
Considering Naibadges still hasn't got his Pro Licence a year on from getting the Hearts job and that was from a much more advanced starting point than Gray, and also given that our stated target is to qualify for European football, there is little to no chance of Gray being qualified by the season after next.
jonny
22-05-2024, 10:02 AM
Considering Naibadges still hasn't got his Pro Licence a year on from getting the Hearts job and that was from a much more advanced starting point than Gray, and also given that our stated target is to qualify for European football, there is little to no chance of Gray being qualified by the season after next.
Gray doesn't even have his A Licence yet so chances of having completed that and a pro licence in a year are extremely slim
H18S NX
22-05-2024, 10:03 AM
If it's Gray then it needs to work or Malky and particularly Kensell will be under immense pressure. I don't know if they fully understand how the support feel about three woeful appointments in a row which has resulted in us finishing 8th in the league.
Gray is a legend, he was a great player and inspirational captain for us, i'd hate to see him fail as manager. More importantly, i don't want Hibs to continue to suffer on the park. I don't think we're in a situation right now to take that risk. We're crying out for experienced leadership from the touchline. If it is to be Gray i'll wish him all the best and get behind him from the start but with our recent track record of taking on projects, i worry it will end in tears....Totally agree:aok:
22-05-2024, 10:09 AM
Am I right in thinking he plays centrally now? Is he what people call a No 10?
I think he can play anywhere in an advanced 3. I really like him. Would be a good addition and dare I say it a better option than newell.
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2024, 10:13 AM
To caveat that, he’s been interim for 10 league games and has never managed a league game against a top 6 opponent - last weeks game against Motherwell was his only victory against a team ranked higher than 10th.
Maybe that's because we've been struggling and possibly in the bottom 6 two or three times he's had to step in , in which he's only lost 2 out of them 10 games , would that be accurate ? .
Last week's win against Motherwell was also the first time we beat them this season too .
Percy Vere
22-05-2024, 10:17 AM
First off I'm a big DG fan
But I honestly don't think he should be our manager.
Standing in a few times is not prep for guiding Hibs to top 3/4.
He needs to go get experience like Scott Brown is doing at Ayr.
At this point we need an established, inspirational manager who can get the best out of players and the regime around him.
For me Michael O'Neill would be fantastic but can't see it.
Derek McInnes or Stephen Robinson or Deila next.
Deila might be cheaper as he's a free agent.
But sorry not DG for me.
LeithMike
22-05-2024, 10:19 AM
Stubbs took over in the Championship at our lowest point and was given time as it couldn’t get much worse. Stubbs got 3 years and would have got longer but didn’t get us promoted. I don’t think the new manager gets that space and time no matter who and there is a demand to be challenging for 3rd this season coming.
Mowbray also took over at a time when Williamson had done a lot of the hard work cutting the budget and diminishing expectations. Again, I don’t think the new manager is coming into that and has to re-work the entire squad.
Hibs4185
22-05-2024, 10:23 AM
If we are not wanting to pay compensation, it is of course due to budget Constraints. No one deprives themselves of the best manager they can get unless they can’t afford it.
If we can’t afford it, the biggest priority for me is to get the squad numbers down and get the highest earners off our books.
Wasn’t long ago we were comfortable financially and I have a feeling that we’ve given bloated contracts to underperformers.
Need to clear the decks and let a new manager come in with a clean slate.
Maybe SDG for a year to clear the decks and build back from there?
LeithMike
22-05-2024, 10:29 AM
A lot of managers can have a good season. This season is going to be a big test for Naismith and it won’t take much for him to lose the support. He’s already had a lot of pressure at times despite favourable results. If those results tail off then I highly doubt he’ll get time.
Again, I think Naismith would have been better starting in a lower division so he is not under constant pressure and able to make and learn from mistakes. Let’s face it, if Hibs are 9th or 10th heading into Christmas, rightly or wrongly, David Gray is going to be under enormous pressure. At least if it is McInnes in that situation he can say he has been there before and has shown he can get teams up the league.
22-05-2024, 10:29 AM
Gray doesn't even have his A Licence yet so chances of having completed that and a pro licence in a year are extremely slim
That could rule him out if he hasn’t got UEFA A then unless somehow he starts it this summer.
Think it’s a requirement of the top league ? That’s why Rhys McCabe will be in Championship till he gets some coaching badges as doesn’t have any currently.
Pro takes about 2 years to do.
Chorley Hibee
22-05-2024, 10:32 AM
Remember that Kensell has told everyone how good next year's financial figures will be.
Wouldn't surprise me to see him cutting back on expenditure in a bid to save his blushes.
LeithMike
22-05-2024, 10:34 AM
Maybe we have identified Gray as the best man for the job too after a search as well. I keep hearing Grays got no managerial experience , did Mowbray or Stubbs? .
I think 3 years as a coach and 4 times stepping in to the job when needed which he's done a fairly good job probably has had more a bearing on things than him being a club legend if he gets it .
Did Eddie May even want the job ? , going by what he's said it appears Gray does though.
If we are making the appointment on merit then I don’t think there is any argument that McInnes is deserving (and was a far superior candidate than the last three appointees).
Fine, there may be some issues with compensation but in McInnes you’ve got a manager that you can give time as he’s proven time after time to deliver what we want and if he does really well then he’s not likely to leave either. It’s an appointment that could serve us well for 5-10 years and compensation should be viewed in that light and looking towards the long-term.
I also highly doubt we’d ever go to Tynecastle and meekly surrender like we have done in the past. I’d like to see us being really competitive again.
22-05-2024, 10:41 AM
If we are not wanting to pay compensation, it is of course due to budget Constraints. No one deprives themselves of the best manager they can get unless they can’t afford it.
If we can’t afford it, the biggest priority for me is to get the squad numbers down and get the highest earners off our books.
Wasn’t long ago we were comfortable financially and I have a feeling that we’ve given bloated contracts to underperformers.
Need to clear the decks and let a new manager come in with a clean slate.
Maybe SDG for a year to clear the decks and build back from there?
If we can’t afford it, the owners should put their hands into what are incredibly deep pockets and pay for it.
They took over a club that was on course for its best league finish for 16 years, reaching semi final after semi final.
They then ripped it up, replaced the structure, the people, the manager, and the players with substandard (extremely generous description of the situation) people, managers, and players.
The blame lies solely at their feet. They may have raised our income but they’ve also *****ed it on dross.
They should pay to get rid of all the players they brought in, and should pay to fix the managerial mess they have made.
snedzuk
22-05-2024, 10:46 AM
If we can’t afford it, the owners should put their hands into what are incredibly deep pockets and pay for it.
They took over a club that was on course for its best league finish for 16 years, reaching semi final after semi final.
They then ripped it up, replaced the structure, the people, the manager, and the players with substandard (extremely generous description of the situation) people, managers, and players.
The blame lies solely at their feet. They may have raised our income but they’ve also *****ed it on dross.
They should pay to get rid of all the players they brought in, and should pay to fix the managerial mess they have made.
If I could post applause, I would.
22-05-2024, 10:50 AM
Yep, and replacing the outgoing manager with someone who has never managed or assisted to manage a club in their life would be doubling down on their mistakes.
22-05-2024, 10:50 AM
That could rule him out if he hasn’t got UEFA A then unless somehow he starts it this summer.
Think it’s a requirement of the top league ? That’s why Rhys McCabe will be in Championship till he gets some coaching badges as doesn’t have any currently.
Pro takes about 2 years to do.
I think anyone on the bench needs it.
22-05-2024, 10:54 AM
Yup :agree: they tried to reinvent the wheel and came up with a cube. Down to them to fix it.
22-05-2024, 10:56 AM
SDG dropped the ball on Sunday, the introduction of Jair Tavares
why, just WHY :(
22-05-2024, 10:58 AM
great post, and all bang-on re our owners
Donegal Hibby
22-05-2024, 11:03 AM
I'll probably get slaughtered for this though as much as I'm not a Jair fan I actually thought he done ok when he came on , put in a couple of decent crosses imo .
22-05-2024, 11:04 AM
Just a last run before he left i think. He did put in a brilliant cross
22-05-2024, 11:05 AM
Remember that Kensell has told everyone how good next year's financial figures will be.
Wouldn't surprise me to see him cutting back on expenditure in a bid to save his blushes.
I reckon that will either come back to haunt him or he'll be gone by that point so won't have to answer it
I'll probably get slaughtered for this though as much as I'm not a Jair fan I actually thought he done ok when he came on , put in a couple of decent crosses imo .
i must have been watching what block 7 were doing at the time and missed the excitement on the pitch :greengrin
Agree
22-05-2024, 11:08 AM
He was fine, our failure to beat one of the worst top flight teams in recent years had next to nothing to do with Jair Tavares.
22-05-2024, 11:08 AM
I think he can play anywhere in an advanced 3. I really like him. Would be a good addition and dare I say it a better option than newell.
By “advanced 3” do you mean an attacking role or a midfield role?
I don’t think he’s the same type of player as Newell at all. I’d have McCowan where Marcondes/Campbell was playing.
22-05-2024, 11:13 AM
By “advanced 3” do you mean an attacking role or a midfield role?
I don’t think he’s the same type of player as Newell at all. I’d have McCowan where Marcondes/Campbell was playing.
You’d bloody hope not if we were paying a fee for him.
22-05-2024, 11:26 AM
DM at Edinburgh Airport
In the same lounge
22-05-2024, 11:28 AM
DM at Edinburgh Airport
In the same lounge
Ask him FFS? :greengrin
22-05-2024, 11:29 AM
Short cameo where he beat his man a few times and got a decent ball into the box. Pretty much exactly what SDG would have wanted from him, because Boyle wasnt managing it.
22-05-2024, 11:30 AM
Ask him FFS? :greengrin
He’s eating but did see a Hibs scarf hanging
Out his pocket 🤭
22-05-2024, 11:32 AM
Put in our only 2 good crosses in the game in his short time on the pitch. Not that I think he's good enough.
22-05-2024, 11:35 AM
DM at Edinburgh Airport
In the same lounge
Flying to see big Bill Foley
22-05-2024, 11:35 AM
DM at Edinburgh Airport
In the same lounge
Get the guy asked for the love of god!!
22-05-2024, 11:39 AM