Brilliant

Hibiza
22-05-2024, 12:21 PM
SDG dropped the ball on Sunday, the introduction of Jair Tavares

why, just WHY :(

Is he still here ☹️

Greenio
22-05-2024, 12:23 PM
If we can’t afford it, the owners should put their hands into what are incredibly deep pockets and pay for it.

They took over a club that was on course for its best league finish for 16 years, reaching semi final after semi final.

They then ripped it up, replaced the structure, the people, the manager, and the players with substandard (extremely generous description of the situation) people, managers, and players.

The blame lies solely at their feet. They may have raised our income but they’ve also *****ed it on dross.

They should pay to get rid of all the players they brought in, and should pay to fix the managerial mess they have made.

When you put it like that 😂

22-05-2024, 12:24 PM
DM at Edinburgh Airport
In the same lounge

Saul Goodman, you know what to do. We need flight schedules, flight paths, everything.

Greenio
22-05-2024, 12:26 PM
Would it not make sense to think it would be a BK / Bournemouth connection? Isn't that the whole point of them?

22-05-2024, 12:28 PM
Saul Goodman, you know what to do. We need flight schedules, flight paths, everything.

Flight just about to leave Edinburgh bound for Orlando.

Maybe he’s away to meet Foley in Florida, or maybe he’s just away his holidays..

22-05-2024, 12:29 PM

Maybe he’s away to meet Foley in Florida, or maybe he’s just away his holidays..

Well, that’s certainly poured cold water on my semi. Thanks.

22-05-2024, 12:32 PM

He does love a holiday to Florida, sure he goes every summer.

22-05-2024, 12:47 PM
He does love a holiday to Florida, sure he goes every summer.

Nah. He already knows he's got the job and has flown out there to scout the next Chris Mueller :greengrin

22-05-2024, 12:48 PM

You've raised the bar too high to be using words like "maybe".

badabing67
22-05-2024, 12:53 PM
Well, that’s certainly poured cold water on my semi. Thanks.

Aw naw not another flop around here.

22-05-2024, 01:25 PM
Read that wrong at first

Might have helped

22-05-2024, 01:57 PM
If we can’t afford it, the owners should put their hands into what are incredibly deep pockets and pay for it.

They took over a club that was on course for its best league finish for 16 years, reaching semi final after semi final.

They then ripped it up, replaced the structure, the people, the manager, and the players with substandard (extremely generous description of the situation) people, managers, and players.

The blame lies solely at their feet. They may have raised our income but they’ve also *****ed it on dross.

They should pay to get rid of all the players they brought in, and should pay to fix the managerial mess they have made.

Well said. This is the story behind Hibs collapse but MSM just choose to focus on the symptoms rather than the root cause. The owners should pick up the bill themselves to sort this mess out, not stick another plaster over the gaping wound. Their mess, their responsibility.

22-05-2024, 02:15 PM
Read that wrong at first

22-05-2024, 02:18 PM

About £5m in player sales over the period but still ran up another £5m of debt that they had to convert into equity as part of the BK investment.

22-05-2024, 02:29 PM
Is he still here ☹️

15 year contract i read :(

Rumble de Thump
22-05-2024, 02:32 PM
About £5m in player sales over the period but still ran up another £5m of debt that they had to convert into equity as part of the BK investment.

The club is run by a board of directors and much of the money spent was invested in infrastructure that is, in turn, bringing money in.

22-05-2024, 04:13 PM
Stephen Robinson OUT of Hibs manager running as timeframe emerges over next boss appointment

dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football…

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2024, 04:27 PM
If we are making the appointment on merit then I don’t think there is any argument that McInnes is deserving (and was a far superior candidate than the last three appointees).

Fine, there may be some issues with compensation but in McInnes you’ve got a manager that you can give time as he’s proven time after time to deliver what we want and if he does really well then he’s not likely to leave either. It’s an appointment that could serve us well for 5-10 years and compensation should be viewed in that light and looking towards the long-term.

I also highly doubt we’d ever go to Tynecastle and meekly surrender like we have done in the past. I’d like to see us being really competitive again.

You got me interested (and was far superior candidate than the last three appointments) bit .

Firstly I think Mcinnes was sacked after he finished below Ross ( think Aberdeen only scored 36 goals in 38 games that season ) which might have went against him .

Around the time of the other managers was he not in the championship and then fighting relegation
too ?.

Plus under Ross we had alot complaining about the boring football .

I think the attendances at ER dropped which was probably another factor as Aberdeen under Mcinnes many visits to ER they were horrible to watch and as about as exciting as watching paint dry on a wall .

He's got a good record and if he was our manager we'd be hard working , well organised and difficult to beat and I'd certainly back him though I still think the type of football he'd have us playing would eventually work against him .

Totally understand why folk want him because he is a decent manager even though I think his teams aren't good to watch .

I am surprised about the hype and praise he's getting on here though as if he was some sort of manager like Ferguson or Gaurdiola which he ain't .

22-05-2024, 04:30 PM
Stephen Robinson OUT of Hibs manager running as timeframe emerges over next boss appointment

And how does the DR know he was actually ever IN the running?

22-05-2024, 04:51 PM
Slip him a tenner and give him a wink

Read that wrong at first
Your not the only one :faf: :greengrin

22-05-2024, 05:00 PM
Not Mcinnes then.

22-05-2024, 05:01 PM
McInnes signs a new deal at killie.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

22-05-2024, 05:03 PM

Not even on the shortlist stage yet apparently. There’s my hopes of getting a new manager (head coach) in quickly ****ed then.

22-05-2024, 05:04 PM

Just saw that. You can’t say the guy isn’t loyal. Hope Killie get relegated next season now.

22-05-2024, 05:04 PM
Not Mcinnes then.

Shame, he would have been good but I’m pleased that draws a line under it.

Billy Mckinlay it is then*

*may or may not be a rumour I’ve made up myself as I could see us going for him.

22-05-2024, 05:06 PM
While I wanted him I didn’t ever really think McInnes coming here was possible. Way too much of a risk for him and as it turns out we don’t want to pay for a new manager anyway.

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2024, 05:10 PM
That is very, very disappointing.

22-05-2024, 05:10 PM
Just saw that. You can’t say the guy isn’t loyal. Hope Killie get relegated next season now.

More likely to be us

22-05-2024, 05:11 PM
Not even on the shortlist stage yet apparently. There’s my hopes of getting a new manager (head coach) in quickly ****ed then.

Unless they aren’t drawing up a shortlist cause they’re handing it to SDG

Willis1875
22-05-2024, 05:13 PM
Wonder if we did approach Killie and he’s used that interest to leverage a new deal at Kilmarnock

22-05-2024, 05:15 PM
Your post is rubbish.The debt was owed to the Gordon’s who waived it and converted it to equity saving the club a huge amount.

22-05-2024, 05:22 PM
Announce Wickey.

22-05-2024, 05:23 PM
More likely to be us

We will finish above them next season.

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2024, 05:26 PM
Hibs candidate wins backing of the dressing room.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/exclusive-hibs-candidate-player-backing-gaffer-hunt-intensifies-skipper-scottish-cup-winner-4639130

22-05-2024, 05:27 PM

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/exclusive-hibs-candidate-player-backing-gaffer-hunt-intensifies-skipper-scottish-cup-winner-4639130

I mean that's great and I'm happy with Gray. My issue is he might have won the dressing room back, but, if I'm being generous, about half of it needs moved on.

Stokesy's on fire
22-05-2024, 05:28 PM
McInnes was the standout candidate. If Hibs wanted him they should have made moves quicker.

22-05-2024, 05:28 PM

They’re fairly pushing the SDG agenda.

Absolute joke how he is going to get it.

McCinnes, Robinson and Murray all under contract so sound out the picture.

Neil, Deila etc are unemployed but don’t sound like we’re going for them.

Seems very much like a half hearted process and then hand it to Gray, a really poor start to Mackay’s tenure as sporting director

22-05-2024, 05:29 PM

That dressing room should have absolutely no say, whatsoever.

That dressing room needs decimating.

Massive red flag for me if the this bunch of failures want him to get the job.

Seems very much like a half hearted process and then hand it to Gray, a really poor start to Mackay’s tenure as sporting director

I saw Birmingham were talking to Neil so we’d have no chance with him either considering he’s desperate to stay down south.

22-05-2024, 05:30 PM

As I said on this thread this morning I think David Gray will be announced very soon as Head Coach.

22-05-2024, 05:31 PM
As I said on this thread this morning I think David Gray will be announced very soon as Head Coach.

I very much hope you’re way off the mark.

Sadly; I wouldn’t put it past us.

22-05-2024, 05:32 PM

That a hunch or heard something?

thebausburst
22-05-2024, 05:34 PM
Absolutely spewing that both McInnes and Robinson, the 2 stand outs, are both ruled out in the same day! Looks like another project manager 🤦*♂️

22-05-2024, 05:36 PM

McInnes signes new contract at Killie. Maybe Hibs or someone else was sniffing about.

Maybe Gray is the best candidate doesn't mean it's half hearted.

He may not even be getting the gig. The football season is over , the Euros haven't started yet. New outlets need to fill their football pages.

Hibs players asked about Gray and we are expecting them to turn round and say he's Sh*t or something?

22-05-2024, 05:37 PM
Your post is rubbish.The debt was owed to the Gordon’s who waived it and converted it to equity saving the club a huge amount.

About as rubbish as your reply to it?

The Gordon's have squandered huge sums of money on crap players, crap managers and before their sale of 25% of the club, they had run up huge debt, despite raking in good money from player sales.

Stop pretending they are doing a good job, they aren't

22-05-2024, 05:37 PM
McInnes signes new contract at Killie. Maybe Hibs or someone else was sniffing about.

He may not even be getting the gig. The football season is over , the Euros haven't started yet. New outlets need to fill their football pages.

I don’t see any way how SDG would be the best candidate

K-Zazu
22-05-2024, 05:38 PM

I’m starting to get a bit worried now, the players are rank.

22-05-2024, 05:41 PM

I would be gutted if this is the case.

Even reading the article - David is a great guy, ie more of the same please.

If Gray gets it, Hanlon and Rocky will start the first cup tie at CB, Newall and jDH in CM with McKirdy, Jair et al all getting a ‘clean slate’.

22-05-2024, 05:42 PM

Aye cause they’re all his mates most likely

80% of them need punted

22-05-2024, 05:42 PM

Hibs players asked about Gray and we are expecting them to turn round and say he's Sh*t or something?

You can't imagine that it's co-incidence that the News comes out with this pish? Hibs have always fed stories to our local rag.

I imagine that Gray will be getting announced tomorrow :greengrin

22-05-2024, 05:43 PM
I don’t see any way how SDG would be the best candidate

There could be a number of good reasons

He knows the club inside out, knows all the staff, knows how every department is run, knows exactly what we have and exactly what we need. He knows the Scottish game inside out.

I'm not saying he's the best candidate but he's a good candidate that's for sure.

I'm not actually sure who the best candidate is.

22-05-2024, 05:45 PM

That’s maybe a good reason for him not getting the job.

22-05-2024, 05:46 PM

He knows the club inside out, knows all the staff, knows how every department is run, knows exactly what we have and exactly what we need. He knows the Scottish game inside out.

I'm not saying he's the best candidate but he's a good candidate that's for sure.

There would be only one reason - no one else applies.

Even if no one else applies, you’d probably be better off putting McKay in charge of first team. He hasn’t even been an assistant manager.

We’ve experimented for years now. This is an experiment too far, especially given that absolute dug ***** group of players are probably delighted to be in a a position where their mate will be their gaffer.

22-05-2024, 05:46 PM
DM has signed a contract extension till 2027. On Facebook but assume it’s true.

22-05-2024, 05:47 PM

It's true. Pretty disappointed to be honest.

22-05-2024, 05:48 PM
I would be gutted if this is the case.

Even reading the article - David is a great guy, ie more of the same please.

If Gray gets it, Hanlon and Rocky will start the first cup tie at CB, Newall and jDH in CM with McKirdy, Jair et al all getting a ‘clean slate’.

I wouldn’t be surprised if he got Hanlon back.

Whoever is the new manager will start with Newell in the team IMO.

I actually there is less chance of him giving the McKirdy’s of this world a clean slate than if we appoint someone else. The fact he knows who can do what would be something I’d have down as a positive. We don’t need to wait until October before the manager finds out certain things.

Rumble de Thump
22-05-2024, 05:51 PM

The Gordon's have squandered huge sums of money on crap players, crap managers and before their sale of 25% of the club, they had run up huge debt, despite raking in good money from player sales.

This is a really ignorant post. You must know that what you've typed is nonsense.

22-05-2024, 05:51 PM
Massive red flag for me if the this bunch of failures want him to get the job.

I don't think a group of players saying what they'd always say in this scenario constitutes that much of a red flag.

22-05-2024, 05:52 PM

I said in the Monty thread a couple of weeks back that I suspected the next manager wouldn’t be a strong minded experienced manager. I’ve got a strong suspicion that whoever gets the gig will be someone who the owners and board feel they can manipulate. As David Gray would be a rookie learning his trade in his first management job he’d have very little leverage over the powers above and that’s why I think he’ll get the job.

It would be a worrying situation so I hope my fears are ill founded.

22-05-2024, 05:54 PM

He’s been a coach for 3 years, not even assistant. During this spell the club has been a bit of a joke and sacked 4 managers.

We get the Black Knights investing money and conducting a review which also leads to Mackay becoming Director.

The outcome of the review is to sack Montgomery, don’t pay compensation money for any manager already employed and to give it to a coach who’s been there all along?

It’s absolutely mental to me, regardless of how much he knows the club.

Any manager with knowledge of Scottish football would know the squad and who isn’t good enough

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2024, 05:55 PM
I mean that's great and I'm happy with Gray. My issue is he might have won the dressing room back, but, if I'm being generous, about half of it needs moved on.

I'm ok with Gray too . How many of the dressing room we will move on I don't know though we seem to already have started that with loan players , Alf and a few others going .

My main concern is the 18 we had out on loan like Kenneh , Henderson , Mckirdy types that I think is important to move on in order to free up some wages too .

22-05-2024, 05:58 PM
If Gray gets it’s I’m going to predict his first team on 13th July assuming we play the first date available in the league cup:

Wollacott

Obita
Hanlon
Rocky
Cadden

Newall
JDH
Campbell

McKirdy
New
Jair

Johnson
Miller
Amos
Moria-Welsh
Henderson
New
New

22-05-2024, 05:59 PM
That a hunch or heard something?

Heard the deal was done earlier today.

22-05-2024, 06:05 PM
It's so obvious it's going to be Gray, I'd be stunned now if it wasn't. The PR could hardly have been more contrived in the last couple of days. One more day of it then an announcement Friday or Monday I reckon.

It is what it is. We obviously aren't in a position to throw any money at a candidate employed elsewhere so I'd probably rather Gray than another Lee Johnson type.

22-05-2024, 06:07 PM
I'm a bit surprised and disappointed to see and hear a wee bit of push back against David Gray here.

Whilst acknowledging that the perfect candidate doesn't exist and that we're not exactly in the ideal position to attract an ideal candidate I think he ticks an awful lot of boxes and the main thing in his minus column - experience - is something that can only truly be gained on the job, something he'd be picking up from day one.

I think he'd be brilliant. Rather than it being a competition to be the first one who said "I was the first one to say he was pish..." take this as my flag in the ground - "I was the first one to recognise that he was going to be that good".

Mikey_1875
22-05-2024, 06:09 PM

Why have we narrowed our search to young managers without a club looking for their next opportunity? I wish Malky and co were as broad minded as the manager we are meant to be looking for instead of wiping out the majority of the field.

Seems like we have given Gray the most favourable conditions possible to pass an interview. If there even is a shortlist and process in place.

22-05-2024, 06:09 PM
It’s going to be Gray, I can’t see it being anyone else now.

I just pray he gets off to a good start.

The Tubs
22-05-2024, 06:10 PM
I'm a bit surprised and disappointed to see and hear a wee bit of push back against David Gray here.

Whilst acknowledging that the perfect candidate doesn't exist and that we're not exactly in the ideal position to attract an ideal candidate I think he ticks an awful lot of boxes and the main thing in his minus column - experience - is something that can only truly be gained on the job, something he'd be picking up from day one.

While I didn't really think about him as a candidate when Ross was booted, he's been my first choice on every subsequent occasion we've been looking for a manager.

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2024, 06:12 PM
He’s been a coach for 3 years, not even assistant. During this spell the club has been a bit of a joke and sacked 4 managers.

We get the Black Knights investing money and conducting a review which also leads to Mackay becoming Director.

The outcome of the review is to sack Montgomery, don’t pay compensation money for any manager already employed and to give it to a coach who’s been there all along?

Any manager with knowledge of Scottish football would know the squad and who isn’t good enough

As a player Gray has seen the good times Scottish cup win , championship league win , Qualifying for Europe under different managers and he's also seen the bad times too .

He should have a good knowledge of Scottish football having played in it and after being a coach for the last 3 years I'd like to think he has a pretty good idea the squad isn't good enough .

Maybe his experiences as a player and a coach under a host of different managers good and bad will stand him in good stead .

K-Zazu
22-05-2024, 06:13 PM
Listen to the fans Hibs, we don’t want another rookie manager.

22-05-2024, 06:14 PM
Sorry but if the best you can muster is a very lucky draw with already relegated Livvy (who looked more likely to stick thecball in the net than we did) then you're not Hibs next manager

And you should absolutely know it

Willis1875
22-05-2024, 06:17 PM
Sorry but if the best you can muster is a very lucky draw with already relegated Livvy (who looked more likely to stick thecball in the net than we did) then you're not Hibs next manager

He mustered up a 3-0 victory in his game beforehand,surely that betters it

HendoDelivered
22-05-2024, 06:18 PM

Don’t think it’s fair basing it on an end of season, zero to play for match.

22-05-2024, 06:19 PM

I think he'd be brilliant. Rather than it being a competition to be the first one who said "I was the first one to say he was pish..." take this as my flag in the ground - "I was the first one to recognise that he was going to be that good".

I think David Gray will make an excellent manager, I just don’t want him learning by the mistakes he makes at Hibs. There are risks in every managerial appointment but we’re now playing Russian Roulette.

He doesn’t fit any of the criteria we require at this stage and whilst I will back him and wish him all the luck in the world, I fear it will end in tears very quickly. Hope I’m wrong.

Gruff
22-05-2024, 06:21 PM
If it is going to be Gray, then who he puts around him is going to be absolutely crucial for this to work. More yes men and sticking with the current bunch of players will only end in tears and an even more toxic ER.
The recruitment team also need to be on it and if we unearth gems like Maolida then i have hope..however i have my doubts about this.
I hope i'm wrong though

Exuberance1875
22-05-2024, 06:23 PM
Listen to the fans Hibs, we don’t want another rookie manager.

Lee Johnson and Monty had experience, both hopeless, means nothing. You’ve either got it or you don’t for this job. I’m SDG in.

22-05-2024, 06:26 PM
It's so obvious it's going to be Gray, I'd be stunned now if it wasn't. The PR could hardly have been more contrived in the last couple of days. One more day of it then an announcement Friday or Monday I reckon.

It is what it is. We obviously aren't in a position to throw any money at a candidate employed elsewhere so I'd probably rather Gray than another Lee Johnson type.

I disagree. I don’t think it’s going to be Gray.

People assuming it’ll be him because we’ve leaked that we want someone in his profile of a young, unemployed coach. In the absence of rumours of other coaches like that, all eyes and articles are on Gray. If we have someone else lined up who is more experienced than Gray, when that person is announced it could be greeted with loads of positivity now. I’d like to think we wouldn’t use Grays name in that way but I wouldn’t rule it out.

I think Gray will be given the courtesy of an interview but there’ll be a better candidate available.

22-05-2024, 06:28 PM
It’s going to be Gray, I can’t see it being anyone else now.

I just pray he gets off to a good start.
Well if it is that tells me Hibs are happy with top 6 mid table, screams lack of ambition.

supermcginn
22-05-2024, 06:29 PM

That should be his chances gone then, 95% of them shouldn't even be at this club and need punted asap.

22-05-2024, 06:30 PM
I disagree. I don’t think it’s going to be Gray.

People assuming it’ll be him because we’ve leaked that we want someone in his profile of a young, unemployed coach. In the absence of rumours of other coaches like that, all eyes and articles are on Gray. If we have someone else lined up who is more experienced than Gray, when that person is announced it could be greeted with loads of positivity now. I’d like to think we wouldn’t use Grays name in that way but I wouldn’t rule it out.

I think Gray will be given the courtesy of an interview but there’ll be a better candidate available.

You’ve got to think that Ian Murray is even a better option now, not what I would choose but as you say it would probably be viewed in a better light given the speculation. Who knows?

22-05-2024, 06:32 PM
This has got another disaster written all over it

Hibs missed the boat with mcinnes

Gutted is an understatement he would do great with us

I don’t blame him for looking at our mess and going nah your alright now tbh

22-05-2024, 06:32 PM
You’ve got to think that Ian Murray is even a better option now, not what I would choose but as you say it would probably be viewed in a better light given the speculation. Who knows?

Not for me. Just not somebody I’ve ever been convinced by when I’ve heard him speak.

I just can’t see past the fact Gray doesn’t meet any of the criteria Mackay spoke about in his interview. I really don’t think it’ll be him.

NC1875
22-05-2024, 06:39 PM
It can’t be Gray surely. The last thing we need right now is inexperience.

That and the fact he’s pals with most of the ****ty squad means he’ll more than likely keep half of them.

No thanks.

22-05-2024, 06:40 PM
Not for me. Just not somebody I’ve ever been convinced by when I’ve heard him speak.

I just can’t see past the fact Gray doesn’t meet any of the criteria Mackay spoke about in his interview. I really don’t think it’ll be him.

He meets none of the criteria, no coaching badges, no managerial experience and part of the team of every failed manager since he stopped playing.

For a team in such a mess the last thing we need is a grass roots rookie. I really don’t want David Gray to be the next Sauzee.

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2024, 06:41 PM
He meets none of the criteria, no coaching badges, no managerial experience and part of the team of every failed manager since he stopped playing.

For a team in such a mess the last thing we need is a grass roots rookie. I really don’t want David Gray to be the next Sauzee.

He doesn’t have any badges?

22-05-2024, 06:42 PM
“Hearts chief Ann Budge insists the best man for the job was already at Tynecastle after naming Craig Levein as Ian Cathro’s successor”

Getting strong Hearts 2016-2020 banter era vibes from this.

NC1875
22-05-2024, 06:43 PM
“Hearts chief Ann Budge insists the best man for the job was already at Tynecastle after naming Craig Levein as Ian Cathro’s successor”

Getting strong Hearts 2016-2020 banter era vibes from this.

Yup, was thinking the same. Mackay will be manager before we know it 😂

22-05-2024, 06:43 PM

This is a really ignorant post. You must know that what you've typed is nonsense.

Ignorant :aok:

Which part isn't accurate.

Wull
22-05-2024, 06:45 PM
The fact SDG has been watching Jair for 2 seasons and he still plays him has me worried :confused:

Hopefully Gray gets rid of majority of this squad.

He doesn’t have any badges?

He’s got the UEFA B badge apparently.

Still got the A badge and Pro badge to achieve before being fully qualified.

I’m not one that is overly bothered by badges but I know that Mackay is (listen to a sports director podcast he did a while back).

ruthven_raiders
22-05-2024, 06:46 PM

All of this, need an experienced qualified manager, SDG can be his assistant and he can get more experience at the front line....

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2024, 06:50 PM
That should be his chances gone then, 95% of them shouldn't even be at this club and need punted asap.

I think that the fact the players respect and like him could be seen as a good thing too though . As to 95% of them needing punted I don't think theres any chance that will happen . I think we should concentrate on moving on the 18 loan players we don't need while adding 6 or 7 to the spine of the squad .. goalie , 2 CH , 2 Mid , 2 Att .

22-05-2024, 06:51 PM
Hopefully Gray gets rid of majority of this squad.

He won’t thought. He was part of the coaching team for past 4 managers. He wasn’t the person setting fire to things but he was holding the matches

22-05-2024, 06:54 PM
He won’t thought. He was part of the coaching team for past 4 managers. He wasn’t the person setting fire to things but he was holding the matches

Having seen all 4 managers get the bullet do you think he’s going to want to hold on to all of them? He can’t just rip contracts up at the end of the day. Biggest problem any manager is we appoint is going to have is the players we have in contract that we can’t do anything about.

HFC93
22-05-2024, 06:56 PM
Why are Hibs pretending their is a recruitment process? They're just going to appoint Gray regardless.

Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk

The Tubs
22-05-2024, 06:57 PM
I think we'll punt absolutely anyone for whom it makes the slightest financial sense to do so.

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2024, 06:58 PM
He’s got the UEFA B badge apparently.

Still got the A badge and Pro badge to achieve before being fully qualified.

I’m not one that is overly bothered by badges but I know that Mackay is (listen to a sports director podcast he did a while back).

Any idea what badges are required for Europe? Aware that’s not an issue next season but if that’s where we aspire to be and Mackay places importance on the badges then that to me would suggested they may prove a hindrance to SDG getting the gig.

22-05-2024, 06:58 PM
Does it matter who we get? The fans will start hounding him out at any run of poor form.
It’s what a big section of our support do.

Greenworld
22-05-2024, 06:59 PM
Massive red flag for me if the this bunch of failures want him to get the job.Agree 100%

Sent from my SM-S928B using Tapatalk

22-05-2024, 07:03 PM
Having seen all 4 managers get the bullet do you think he’s going to want to hold on to all of them? He can’t just rip contracts up at the end of the day. Biggest problem any manager is we appoint is going to have is the players we have in contract that we can’t do anything about.

What the team needs is an experienced manager who can come in, clear out all the dross that’s got the last 4 managers sacked, take no prisoners and rebuild a winning team. If our owners were serious about putting cash in to improve the team they should be taking the hit from the contracts they need to pay up. Getting in a manager who can be pals with players who shouldn’t have been here in the first place is no qualification for what we require right now.

But yeh, your scenario is probably right and has underachieving Hibs written all over it, it’s the Hibs way. I’m not having a go at you BTW just the probably correct scenario you’re highlighting.

Silky
22-05-2024, 07:09 PM
Does it matter who we get? The fans will start hounding him out at any run of poor form.
It’s what a big section of our support do.

This. Lose his first derby and the knives are out.

22-05-2024, 07:09 PM
Why are Hibs pretending their is a recruitment process? They're just going to appoint Gray regardless.

Sent from my SNE-LX1 using Tapatalk

Who knows wtf is going on at our club. I find it hard to believe that our board could have intended to appoint Gray all along, a bit of a stretch tbh.

On the other , the idea that we couldn't find the cash to sign up a manager at Kilmarnock who well all know was very capable of turning our fortunes around is also quite bizarre ( would we have been talking a lowish six figure sum for Killie to release McInnes?).

Throw in the appointment of MacKay, a very divisive appointment at the very least.

It's a ****show, my patience has worn very thin and I think fans need to be questioning the ability of the owners to run a football club. Shame for Ron, good guy etc, etc, but his unfortunate death doesn't exempt the Gordon ownership from objective scrutiny.

The idea that we appoint Gray as manager is ridiculous, if that happens they are taking the piss.

22-05-2024, 07:10 PM
It can’t be Gray surely. The last thing we need right now is inexperience.

That and the fact he’s pals with most of the ****ty squad means he’ll more than likely keep half of them.

No thanks.

Who's ready for a midfield of JDH Newell Campbell next season 😁

Jokes aside this is where I am at, would be fully behind SDG just like whoever gets appointed but after the last few appointments it would be a underwhelming appointment for me.

K-Zazu
22-05-2024, 07:10 PM
Lee Johnson and Monty had experience, both hopeless, means nothing. You’ve either got it or you don’t for this job. I’m SDG in.

Monty? Hardly, 50 games in a pub league that was his experience.

22-05-2024, 07:12 PM
Any idea what badges are required for Europe? Aware that’s not an issue next season but if that’s where we aspire to be and Mackay places importance on the badges then that to me would suggested they may prove a hindrance to SDG getting the gig.

He needs the UEFA Pro License to manage in Europe. He’ll need to complete his A license first if he doesn’t have it and it’s difficult to get on the Pro License summer course at Largs as it is oversubcribed with in-work coaches. Naismith tried to do his last year but the course was full.

What the team needs is an experienced manager who can come in, clear out all the dross that’s got the last 4 managers sacked, take no prisoners and rebuild a winning team. If our owners were serious about putting cash in to improve the team they should be taking the hit from the contracts they need to pay up. Getting in a manager who can be pals with players who shouldn’t have been here in the first place is no qualification for what we require right now.

But yeh, your scenario is probably right and has underachieving Hibs written all over it, it’s the Hibs way. I’m not having a go at you BTW just the probably correct scenario you’re highlighting.

We’re going to need a manager who can, somehow, get more out of what we have above all else. Because whether we like it or not, we’re stuck with a sizeable number of them for at least another year.

There shouldn’t be too much emphasis put on what players say anyway. They talk pish. In that same interview, Obita is saying they all enjoyed it under Montgomery. Certainly didn’t look like they were enjoying it when they chucked it in his last game.

badabing67
Announce Wickey.

Doesn't look like anyone is biting, but I just at least hope someone like him is still in the running.

22-05-2024, 07:13 PM
If Hibs have been leaking story’s to try get a feel of what the fans think of Gray.

I think the response is overwhelmingly negative

Paulie Walnuts
22-05-2024, 07:16 PM
He needs the UEFA Pro License to manage in Europe. He’ll need to complete his A license first if he doesn’t have it and it’s difficult to get on the Pro License summer course at Largs as it is oversubcribed with in-work coaches. Naismith tried to do his last year but the course was full.

Thanks mate.

In that case you’d have to wonder whether it would come into our thinking when considering SDG.

Fish
22-05-2024, 07:17 PM
I do find it odd that a report in press about us not wanting to get drawn into protracted negotiations has now being heralded as the club being skint and we won't pay fee for manager.

And now we have missed the boat with DM as he has signed a new contract. I fully suspect that this was signed days if not weeks ago and the Comms team have been waiting for the right moment to release it.

And before anyone jumps down my throat, I am not a fan of Gray getting the role. I will support him if he does but not my choice. We need a new broom and a clear out of all the coaching staff.

My preference is for steady hand at the tiller to bring some stability at the club. I want good attacking football but with some urgency in defence.

I appreciate some are raw after the last three seasons but let see what the black knight input leads to. It is usually darkest before dawn. Come on where are the puns😆

22-05-2024, 07:18 PM
Absolutely spewing that both McInnes and Robinson, the 2 stand outs, are both ruled out in the same day! Looks like another project manager 🤦*♂️

Same. Sickening. If it's not to be SDG then god knows now.

22-05-2024, 07:19 PM
Thanks mate.

In that case you’d have to wonder whether it would come into our thinking when considering SDG.

You’d have to think it would, every chance 5th gets Europe again next season and we should be aiming for that as a minimum.

badabing67
22-05-2024, 07:20 PM
I don't know why Dave Gray could trust that board with all he has seen going on, if I were him I won't touch it with a barge pole.

22-05-2024, 07:21 PM
I do find it odd that a report in press about us not wanting to get drawn into protracted negotiations has now being heralded as the club being skint and we won't pay fee for manager.

And now we have missed the boat with DM as he has signed a new contract. I fully suspect that this was signed days if not weeks ago and the Comms team have been waiting for the right moment to release it.

And before anyone jumps down my throat, I am not a fan of Gray getting the role. I will support him if he does but not my choice. We need a new broom and a clear out of all the coaching staff.

My preference is for steady hand at the tiller to bring some stability at the club. I want good attacking football but with some urgency in defence.

I appreciate some are raw after the last three seasons but let see what the black knight input leads to. It is usually darkest before dawn. Come on where are the puns😆

We’ve no missed out on McInnes. Well we have actually, but that was a couple of years ago. He was never coming here at this point in time, no matter how much folk have talked about wanting him.

22-05-2024, 07:21 PM
If Hibs have been leaking story’s to try get a feel of what the fans think of Gray.

I think the response is overwhelmingly negative

If you applied logic to keeping NM, there was none. If you applied logic to appointing Gray, there is none. There must be some logic in them (rumoured) to be wanting to stick with NM and now rumoured to want another rookie (Gray?).

It’s maybe a question for the 1% club, or as known in Scotland, the bottom six.

22-05-2024, 07:24 PM
We’ve no missed out on McInnes. Well we have actually, but that was a couple of years ago. He was never coming here at this point in time, no matter how much folk have talked about wanting him.

Which club and which manager were Hibs not wishing to enter into protracted negotiations with, if it wasn't Killie and McInnes?

It's no coincidence that Killie have just announced a new contract for him.

Still, it's all guesswork I suppose

22-05-2024, 07:26 PM
It’s not the 1st time a manager has been given a new improved contract once someone has been sacked & rumoured to be sniffing around him.
It’ll be more money for DM & more compensation for killie if another club want to buy out his contract

22-05-2024, 07:27 PM
I don't know why Dave Gray could trust that board with all he has seen going on, if I were him I won't touch it with a barge pole.

But that’s how openings for promotion often happens, if you take the moral high ground you get nowhere. It’s an opportunity for him, probably his last chance at Hibs before he moves on. It would be a great opportunity but like you I think it would be a risk that could ruin his career.

22-05-2024, 07:29 PM
The thing that’s starting to get to me is if you think a bit deeper, the new ownership has basically hung on the coattails of the captain off the cup winning club they had nothing to do with. We’ve failed, failed and failed again and every time instilled gray as interim to kind of deflect/shore up support for failings. This would be them exploiting that once again, rather than doing their own building - one last ring of the towel in a polarising move, which would more than likely end in tears and tarnish a legend. The club are a disgrace.

Fish
22-05-2024, 07:32 PM
I am just guessing here but might it be the case that Hibs have approached Kilmarnock and have been told to get DM we will have pay over the odds. And even if we do he won't be allowed to leave until his successor is appointed.

Such a scenario would leave us in a awful place.

The time of Kilmarnock's announcement is all about Kilmarnock and pouring cold water on empty media speculation that would be disruptive to their planning for the next season.

22-05-2024, 07:34 PM
Mackay/Gray has strong Craig/Stubbs vibes to it.

Let them build a squad together - empty the dross and look forward to a fresher, more productive team on the park.

McInnes would have had the expectations of the support as such that if he didn’t have us in the top 4 by November then he’d be one derby defeat from doing well to survive till the January window. Perhaps Gray would have the fans expectations not quite as high to begin with, and he’d be afforded a bit more goodwill and patience from the support to construct a solid Hibs side.

I’m in with David Gray.

22-05-2024, 07:35 PM
Same. Sickening. If it's not to be SDG then god knows now.

Hibs are holding out for all our main targets to self-select themselves out of the process, so we can then appoint the last man standing without accusation of lacking ambition. Think Neil Lennon was our last exciting signing. Since then, it's been bread and water.

22-05-2024, 07:37 PM
Which club and which manager were Hibs not wishing to enter into protracted negotiations with, if it wasn't Killie and McInnes?

It's no coincidence that Killie have just announced a new contract for him.

Still, it's all guesswork I suppose

A lot is being made of one report in the Evening News.

My point on McInnes is that I just don’t think he was ever a realistic target. Folk can want him all they want but he was never coming here at this time. If, and it’s obviously an if, we wanted him and knew we could get him we would have done the negotiating. If we’ve not entered negotiations we either didn’t want him or knew we weren’t getting him. You can want someone all you want but you need them to want to come and I don’t think he’d have had any interest in that at this time.

I’m no particularly keen on Gray getting the job but I’m also not reading too much in to some of the articles.

22-05-2024, 07:37 PM

Let them build a squad together - empty the dross and look forward to a fresher, more productive team on the park.

McInnes would have had the expectations of the support as such that if he didn’t have us in the top 4 by November then he’d be one derby defeat from doing well to survive till the January window. Perhaps Gray would have the fans expectations not quite as high to begin with, and he’d be afforded a bit more goodwill and patience from the support to construct a solid Hibs side.

I’m in with David Gray.

David Gray will get loads of support from the fans. If he fails it will be the board and owners that will take the wrath for his appointment and this time it will be way worse than anything we’ve seen recently.

Trinity Hibee
22-05-2024, 07:40 PM
With mcinnes and Robinson out of the running, I’m starting to think Ian Murray is the target and we are waiting until play offs are over.

Can we just put this ***** squad in joint control of the team so they have no one to blame it on when they continue to be *****? :aok:

He's here!

Does this mean we never even enquired about him? Seems remarkable we wouldn't at least have him on shortlist.

Or does it mean he wasn't remotely interested in an approach from Hibs and sees Killie as a better job?

Or did he actually agree a new deal before Monty got sacked and had made up his mind to stay at Killie no matter what?

If we did make any sort of approach it's not that surprising he wasn't interested I guess. We're doubtless seen as a bit of a basket case club.

22-05-2024, 07:46 PM
There will be a lot of noise online, whoever gets it, most of it negative.

The fact that we're getting chucked a few quid from the Black Knights to shore up years of board ineptitude somehow has folk thinking that we're now punching with Man City, when we're not.

There are very few candidates out there who will meet the expectations of a support who are currently absolutely deluded as to how attractive we are to managers with track records and no blemishes.

Whoever gets the job, they'll be greeted with a degree of disappointment but they'll know that all they can do is win games and play good football to win folk round.

David Gray is about as safe a bet as I can see when it comes to actually getting the team ready to start winning early next season and getting the fans onside and for that reason he has to be viewed as a very serious candidate.

22-05-2024, 07:48 PM
Since McInnes is out running it seems

I’ve reached a point where my 3 preferences would probably be

Michael O’Neil
Alex Neil
Alan Stubbs

To be honest I’d prob prefer Stubbs at this time just to get a quick bit positivity back.

Trinity Hibee
22-05-2024, 07:50 PM

Michael O’Neil
Alex Neil
Alan Stubbs

To be honest I’d prob prefer Stubbs at this time just to get a quick bit positivity back.

No chance it will be Stubbs

badabing67
22-05-2024, 07:53 PM

Michael O’Neil
Alex Neil
Alan Stubbs

Michael O’Neil = Is with Northern Ireland, they will likely want more compo than Killie
Alex Neil = Wants the Birmingham City job so I don't think he is thinking about us
Alan Stubbs = Not been in a manager post since 2018

I can't see any of your preferences happening tbh

Skol
22-05-2024, 07:53 PM
The news of mcinnes doesnt surprise me. He rejected better offers whilst at Aberdeen. Why would he move from a place he is doing well and enjoys to a club with our recent record.

Paul1642
22-05-2024, 07:54 PM
McInnes was the standout candidate. If Hibs wanted him they should have made moves quicker.

Who says they didn’t. Whether we did or not he be under no illusion that he could probably take the Hibs job if he wanted it.

Unfortunately for us it turns out he doesn’t and instead probably had his eyes on being the second Scotland manger in a row to be recruited from Rugby park. Don’t blame him really.

22-05-2024, 07:54 PM
I'm not panicking... yet

I don't trust Kensell. But willing to give MM the benefit of the doubt

22-05-2024, 08:01 PM
Michael O’Neil = Is with Northern Ireland, they will likely want more compo than Killie
Alex Neil = Wants the Birmingham City job so I don't think he is thinking about us
Alan Stubbs = Not been in a manager post since 2018

I can't see any of your preferences happening tbh

My only choice would be McInnes

Beyond gutted he’s not wanting it

I’ve got the fear hibs go down the gray route and we’ll be having Monty type chats come November

22-05-2024, 08:01 PM
This has got another disaster written all over it

Hibs missed the boat with mcinnes

Gutted is an understatement he would do great with us

I don’t blame him for looking at our mess and going nah your alright now tbh

McInnes doesn't want to come, hence why he signed a new deal.

22-05-2024, 08:11 PM
McInnes doesn't want to come, hence why he signed a new deal.

I got that thanks

Hence

Chorley Hibee
22-05-2024, 08:12 PM
As someone said on Twitter tonight:

This root and branch review going well then.

A new Director of Football that just happens to be a pal of the Chairman, and the new Head Coach who just happens to be in the building all along.

Kensall keeps his job too.

Shambles of a club.

22-05-2024, 08:17 PM
If we are looking at a young coach I wonder if Billy McKinlay would be looked at, just left West ham

Mcbizz1998
22-05-2024, 08:17 PM

I’ve got the fear hibs go down the gray route and we’ll be having Monty type chats come November

It’s Derek McInnes ffs. The wee hun can stay where he is if he doesn’t want it. Not something to be beyond gutted about.

22-05-2024, 08:25 PM
If we are looking at a young coach I wonder if Billy McKinlay would be looked at, just left West ham

55 year old Billy McKinlay?

22-05-2024, 08:31 PM

Only a year younger than Eddie May 😁

22-05-2024, 08:32 PM

Would we be having these chats if McInnes started really badly?

22-05-2024, 08:39 PM
Can we just put this ***** squad in joint control of the team so they have no one to blame it on when they continue to be *****? :aok:

Jair as Payer / Manager [emoji15][emoji15]

22-05-2024, 08:46 PM

Young compared to me

22-05-2024, 08:56 PM
Jair as Payer / Manager [emoji15][emoji15]

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkGood shout also cheap as well 😉

He's here!
22-05-2024, 09:02 PM
It’s Derek McInnes ffs. The wee hun can stay where he is if he doesn’t want it. Not something to be beyond gutted about.

Apart from the fact he was the standout option. The closest we'd have got to a sure thing when it comes to consistent top 4 finishes.

22-05-2024, 09:02 PM
Would we be having these chats if McInnes started really badly?

We all know McInnes, how he plays, his recruitment record, his ability to get max out of ave players, his managerial record. And we would enjoy weakening one of our competitors for top 6 next season. If it didn't work out, it might be final proof that the problems within the club lie somewhere other than manager.

The Board handing it to SDG does none of that. It's the softest of soft options.

jakeshibs
22-05-2024, 09:07 PM
Due to our recent history of sacking managers I cant see any decent inform manager willing to risk his reputation on Hibs knowing the most likely scenario they will probably not survive the year.

We must stop this cycle to find some form of stability, as this is the only way we will progress if we can show some patience, loyalty to the manager. Like every Hibs fan i want success but we are bringing this constant failure on ourselves and damaging our own reputation in the process .

Mcbizz1998
22-05-2024, 09:10 PM
Apart from the fact he was the standout option. The closest we'd have got to a sure thing when it comes to consistent top 4 finishes.

who knows how it would have worked out? He would have had to be a moron to come here at present, was obvious it wasn’t happening.

Anyway, I’m certainly not gutted Hibs didn’t appoint the Kilmarnock manager, that’s for sure!

Mcbizz1998
22-05-2024, 09:10 PM
Due to our recent history of sacking managers I cant see any decent inform manager willing to risk his reputation on Hibs knowing the most likely scenario they will probably not survive the year.

We must stop this cycle to find some form of stability, as this is the only way we will progress if we can show some patience, loyalty to the manager. Like every Hibs fan i want success but we are bringing this constant failure on ourselves and damaging our own reputation in the process .

agree with that and if the fans are going to be patient and loyal to anyone, it’s David Gray.

22-05-2024, 09:11 PM

Was he ever an option though? I don’t think so.

There is a difference between wanting a manager and them being an option, which he never was at this time IMO.

For me he was never going to be our next manager and anyone hoping he would be was setting themselves up for disappointment.

22-05-2024, 09:13 PM

If any manager doesn’t back themselves to provide progress from our current levels then that’s not someone I want at the club.

Whoever comes in has a low bar to start from, a full transfer window ahead of them, a link up with a premiership club which should give us favourable loans of player previously out with out reach, the biggest budget we’re likely to ever have had, some of the best facilities in the league and a bigger budget than most of our rivals.

If any coach, really doesn’t back themselves to make progress with us and thinks they couldn’t last the season without being sacked, they need a career change.

22-05-2024, 09:28 PM
My head is spinning with this…

I would have liked to have seen how DM or SR would have done with our resources but both massive risks for themselves after the seasons they have just had.

It’s not like they would come into manage a Hibs team who just lost a manager but are in the Europa Legaue group stages - it’s a massive rebuild job. But at the same time surely the only way is up.

Gray - well the Livi result pissed me off as Livi are awful and the draw felt like a loss. Last game of the season or not he should be winning that.

One thing though..I don’t buy the Gray should get extra time chat. Gray will be under pressure to do well and while he’s a club legend being manager of Hibs comes with the pressure and I expect changes and standards to improve immediately in pre - season and league cup games.

We can’t afford a slow start next season.

Hearts wanting 3rd again.
Killie will improve again
St Mirren and Dundee expect to be similar
Aberdeen new manager
Dundee Utd will be confident after promotion

Could be a very tough league.

22-05-2024, 09:30 PM

Great news that he, Robinson and Lennon are out of the picture, hopefully we can get an inspirational coach and not some apathetic, unexciting, typical BBC Weegie Weegie media darling.

Am excited now, here we go again 😁

AugustaHibs
22-05-2024, 09:42 PM
Great news that he, Robinson and Lennon are out of the picture, hopefully we can get an inspirational coach and not some apathetic, unexciting, typical BBC Weegie Weegie media darling.

Am excited now, here we go again 😁

David gray is exciting right enough.

22-05-2024, 09:43 PM
Gray by name, gray by.........

22-05-2024, 10:08 PM

So irrespective of performance, we stick with the manager simply because we've sacked previous failures ? At what point is enough, enough ? Stick, even if horsed out of both cups and bottom 6 ? How about relegation ? What if "stability" is gawd-awful football, regular bottom 6, humbled in Derbies and rag dolled by the OF ?

Not for me. The size of this club dictates min standards. Fail to meet those and you're out just like any other job.

Just_Jimmy
22-05-2024, 10:16 PM
Keiran mckenna had no managerial experience other than spurs u18s, man utd u18s and utd coach.

He's done back to back promotions in two very tough leagues and being linked with Chelsea.

He's 38 - same age as me, so YOUNG...

There's good young coaches out there and they don't all have loads of experience.

We just need to find our own

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
22-05-2024, 11:04 PM

I've no problem with Gray getting it tbh though the simple fact of it is other than a lot of speculation in papers nobody really knows who's getting it yet .

22-05-2024, 11:17 PM
Keiran mckenna had no managerial experience other than spurs u18s, man utd u18s and utd coach.

He's done back to back promotions in two very tough leagues and being linked with Chelsea.

He's 38 - same age as me, so YOUNG...

There's good young coaches out there and they don't all have loads of experience.

We just need to find our own

He was assistant manager at Man Utd to Mourinho, OGS and Ragnick. He’s also got his UEFA pro licence. So not quite comparable to Gray getting the job here.

Besides, how many Gary Neville’s are there out there for every Kieran McKenna?

Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 12:14 AM
He was assistant manager at Man Utd to Mourinho, OGS and Ragnick. He’s also got his UEFA pro licence. So not quite comparable to Gray getting the job here.

Besides, how many Gary Neville’s are there out there for every Kieran McKenna?

Probably a lot though there's also your Tony Mowbray , Diego Simone, Roberto Mancini , Eddie Howe types to be found too . Even Derek Mcinnes went straight into management from playing too I think .

Depends if you want your club to get a steady uninspiring manager like...... or hoping that you do uncover a gem in a Mowbray or McKenna that will bring exciting times and good football to your club .

chippy
23-05-2024, 01:38 AM
I’d just give Malky Mackay the job- he’ll be over seeing any young coach so best if he just does the managers job and trains up a couple of contenders

23-05-2024, 02:42 AM
Probably a lot though there's also your Tony Mowbray , Diego Simone, Roberto Mancini , Eddie Howe types to be found too . Even Derek Mcinnes went straight into management from playing too I think .

Depends if you want your club to get a steady uninspiring manager like...... or hoping that you do uncover a gem in a Mowbray or McKenna that will bring exciting times and good football to your club .

Aye but on the other side of the coin appointing someone inexperienced can just as easily go the way Maloney did.

h185forever
23-05-2024, 03:55 AM
Just get it done Hibs or we will be left playing catch up again at the start of the season.

It can’t be that hard ….knowledge of the SPL, can spot the shirkers in the squad…can set a team up to defend.

FFS there’s a few thousand on here regularly who think they can see what needs done …..:cb

hibbydog
23-05-2024, 05:51 AM
Please don’t make it David Gray.

My memories of my favourite ever Hibs player, Franck Sauzee, are soured by how we treated him as manager. Looking at the last few years, it’s fairly likely this is how it will go for the next manager.

It’s been well documented that our cycle of sacking managers is damaging and now we are reaping what we’ve sowed: The jobs not attractive any more and we are a basket case.

23-05-2024, 06:06 AM

I’m in with David Gray.

So am I.

McGruber
23-05-2024, 06:48 AM
It's going to be Gray, looks very much like the decision is already made. The soundbites coming out now are the positive spin expected to soften opinion.

Wouldn't have been my choice initially but have been coming round to the idea. Those pieces might have done their job!

I think after a few grumbles from those that were pining for McInnes, AN Other or an exciting foreign name the support would be quick to come round and we'd be fully behind it.

Just hope if they are going to do it, get it done now and don't string it out. For optics, might have to wait until after 1st June when Malky officially starts - but needs announced in that first week.

jakeshibs
23-05-2024, 06:49 AM
If any manager doesn’t back themselves to provide progress from our current levels then that’s not someone I want at the club.

Whoever comes in has a low bar to start from, a full transfer window ahead of them, a link up with a premiership club which should give us favourable loans of player previously out with out reach, the biggest budget we’re likely to ever have had, some of the best facilities in the league and a bigger budget than most of our rivals.

If any coach, really doesn’t back themselves to make progress with us and thinks they couldn’t last the season without being sacked, they need a career change.

if any manager does not realise the risk to their own reputation, conduct due diligence on the treatment of the previous managers who had all the above advantages that you have mentioned, who backed themselves to make progress openly, and were committed but not given the time they were promised they would not be good managers.

As a club we must take some responsibility for this predicament, if we are that great an option, DM and others would of jumped at the chance but they are very quickly distancing themselves from our club as regarded as a poisoned chalice.

jakeshibs
23-05-2024, 07:00 AM
So irrespective of performance, we stick with the manager simply because we've sacked previous failures ? At what point is enough, enough ? Stick, even if horsed out of both cups and bottom 6 ? How about relegation ? What if "stability" is gawd-awful football, regular bottom 6, humbled in Derbies and rag dolled by the OF ?

Not for me. The size of this club dictates min standards. Fail to meet those and you're out just like any other job.

And that is working well for us the past few seasons ? sacking managers is not free and comes with huge financial implications as most managers have their own staff that also must be compensated, how do you afford the players that you need to achieve what we all want when we spend most of our budget on compensation?

we all want the same, to watch a successful determined, motivated side wining football matches, and i have supported this club long enough and endured being horsed out both cups early, been relegated numerous times, embarrassed by the likes of East Fife, went 20 odd games without a derby win and humped regularly by the OF. i know the and have lived it.

I have the highest standards but always look at Alex ferguson at Man Utd he did not bring success instantly and they had to endure bad times, he was on the brink of being sacked after constant failure but the rest is history.

Why are we not as ruthless with the playing squad, failure to meet the standards as they have constantly failed us??

23-05-2024, 07:05 AM

Sad to see the personal abuse of a Hibs legend starting on here just because some people don't want him to get the job.

Sad but inevitable.

23-05-2024, 07:06 AM
Sad to see the personal abuse of a Hibs legend starting on here just because some people don't want him to get the job.

Sad but inevitable.

Sad ? It’s ****** pathetic mate.

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2024, 07:11 AM
if any manager does not realise the risk to their own reputation, conduct due diligence on the treatment of the previous managers who had all the above advantages that you have mentioned, who backed themselves to make progress openly, and were committed but not given the time they were promised they would not be good managers.

As a club we must take some responsibility for this predicament, if we are that great an option, DM and others would of jumped at the chance but they are very quickly distancing themselves from our club as regarded as a poisoned chalice.

Were these managers promised time even if they failed to meet pretty much every target they were set, and in the case of Montgomery, failing to do that quite spectacularly?

I very much doubt they were.

Out of all our previous managers, Maloney can probably point to being thrown under the bus. None of the others have been ‘treated poorly’ they’ve all just been ****ing garbage.

GreenGray
23-05-2024, 07:13 AM

I thought one of the positives about this appointment would be that all the fans get support it.

Fair enough if you don’t think it’s the right appointment, but Christ if you can’t get behind a club legend becoming the manager football isn’t for you.

DIXIHIBS
23-05-2024, 07:14 AM

Pathetic

Just_Jimmy
23-05-2024, 07:15 AM

Besides, how many Gary Neville’s are there out there for every Kieran McKenna?I wasn't comparing him to SDG. Just making the point that talent is out there and its not always obvious.

23-05-2024, 07:17 AM
I thought one of the positives about this appointment would be that all the fans get support it.

Fair enough if you don’t think it’s the right appointment, but Christ if you can’t get behind a club legend becoming the manager football isn’t for you.

This…👏

23-05-2024, 07:23 AM

I absolutely understand people having reservations about him getting the role. I’m fully behind him being appointed, but I’d be lying if I said I don’t have some concerns. But name calling and some of the other pish I’ve read about him is a ****** disgrace.

23-05-2024, 07:32 AM
My big issue with the idea of appointing SDG is that he has been involved as a coach across ALL our failing management teams. A football club manager needs to be an assertive, powerful figure, who has the knack of persuading those around him to believe in him and his views. Surely if he had what it takes to be a truly successful manager, at some point in the last three years SDG would have managed to influence the coaching, tactics and mentality of the team enough to stop the utter mess we have become? Would Fergie or Cloughie or Klopp have hung about for years doing what the manager says as a coach and being unable to bring a positive Influence over the group of players he is coaching ?

WestStandMoaner
23-05-2024, 07:35 AM

I don’t want Gray but if he gets the job I will get behind him. What worries me more is the time it’s taking we should be looking at signing players and planning for the pre season. Yet again the board shows their lack of understanding or urgency why on earth is this not sorted by now they obviously sacked NM off the cuff with no plan.

GreenGray
23-05-2024, 07:40 AM
My big issue with the idea of appointing SDG is that he has been involved as a coach across ALL our failing management teams. A football club manager needs to be an assertive, powerful figure, who has the knack of persuading those around him to believe in him and his views. Surely if he had what it takes to be a truly successful manager, at some point in the last three years SDG would have managed to influence the coaching, tactics and mentality of the team enough to stop the utter mess we have become? Would Fergie or Cloughie or Klopp have hung about for years doing what the manager says as a coach and being unable to bring a positive Influence over the group of players he is coaching ?

Managers are quite stubborn people. They probably felt like they didn’t want the “help” from Gray. Maybe the reason the last three have failed is because they didn’t listen to him enough?

We just don’t know what the set up was like behind closed doors so I don’t think this should be a reason to be apprehensive.

If he does get announced he should be treated with a clean slate.

23-05-2024, 07:46 AM

He also needs to figure out where things went wrong, and fast.

Gray’s had exposure, already, to 4 different types of failure, seeing it from the inside. Imo that is very decent “experience”.

I much prefer this situation to one where someone hasn’t experienced much pressure. Take Monty for example, his prior experience was generally all successful. His first experience of toiling in his career was when he was sticking to that 442 with Newell and Levitt in midfield and he didn’t appear to know what to do to shake it up.

23-05-2024, 07:50 AM
Hibs latest

Hibs will draw up a managerial shortlist in the coming days as they close in on appointing Nick Montgomery’s successor.

Caretaker boss and Easter Road hero David Gray will be one of those interviewed for the position.

But Record Sport understands St Mirren boss Stephen Robinson, bookmakers’ favourite earlier this week, is not in the running.

Newly-appointed sporting director Malky Mackay and Bill Foley’s Black Knight football group are leading the process to find the club’s fifth boss in three years.

Robinson and Kilmarnock boss Derek McInnes are high on the bookies’ list but both are under contract at their current clubs.

Which boosts Gray’s chances of landing the job after taking the reigns on an interim basis for a fourth time.

23-05-2024, 07:53 AM

If you's aren't at least a little excited at the idea of a Hibernian legend becoming head coach then I feel sad for you.

AugustaHibs
23-05-2024, 07:55 AM
If you's aren't at least a little excited at the idea of a Hibernian legend becoming head coach then I feel sad for you.

Don’t feel sad for me, I’ve started enjoying my Saturdays since deciding to do other things most weeks than put myself through watching hibs.

Don’t get me wrong, I hope hibs can do something to change that feeling, I just don’t think gray as manager is going to do that.

23-05-2024, 08:01 AM
I don’t want Gray but if he gets the job I will get behind him. What worries me more is the time it’s taking we should be looking at signing players and planning for the pre season. Yet again the board shows their lack of understanding or urgency why on earth is this not sorted by now they obviously sacked NM off the cuff with no plan.

It’s not ideal mate. I’ve no doubt they are working on bringing in players, but not knowing who will be your manager will undoubtedly put some off from signing.

I believe some of the board wanted him sacked after the Motherwell game but were persuaded to give him more time by others……

LunasBoots
23-05-2024, 08:08 AM
I'm OK with Gray, did say earlier that Hibs where looking for a young manager to fit the structure, it's its to be Gray then fair enough, give him his chance, but let's not hang about if it's going wrong.

23-05-2024, 08:09 AM

It’s not the Hibs legend part that concerns people though, is it?

It’s the possibility of a guy who’s got almost no managerial experience taking over from the previous manager, who had little experience too (though a lot more than Gray does), and was a complete and utter failure. People want to enjoy watching Hibs again, and this seems like a risky choice.

I’m 100% certain if SDG does get the job he’ll have every fan behind him come the start of the season.

23-05-2024, 08:16 AM
If you're going to start using playground insults for DAVID ****ING GRAY then go back to primary school. Jfc

23-05-2024, 08:20 AM
Are people really getting their panties in a twist because someone posted Grey by name Grey by nature?

That’s got to be one of the mildest insults I’ve ever read on here. It barely even makes sense.

Unless there’s more “abuse” I’m not seeing?

23-05-2024, 08:30 AM
Are people really getting their panties in a twist because someone posted Grey by name Grey by nature?

That’s got to be one of the mildest insults I’ve ever read on here. It barely even makes sense.

I’m the same, don’t see it as anything more than an easy joke.

Not seen many people say anything bad about Gray other than expressing genuine concerns over him getting the job.

If he does get it I’ve no doubt every fan will support him and want him to do well.

TheGog
23-05-2024, 08:32 AM

Labelling it abuse is typical of the soft nature at our club right now😂

23-05-2024, 08:33 AM
Hibs latest

Hibs will draw up a managerial shortlist in the coming days as they close in on appointing Nick Montgomery’s successor.

Caretaker boss and Easter Road hero David Gray will be one of those interviewed for the position.

But Record Sport understands St Mirren boss Stephen Robinson, bookmakers’ favourite earlier this week, is not in the running.

Newly-appointed sporting director Malky Mackay and Bill Foley’s Black Knight football group are leading the process to find the club’s fifth boss in three years.

Robinson and Kilmarnock boss Derek McInnes are high on the bookies’ list but both are under contract at their current clubs.

Which boosts Gray’s chances of landing the job after taking the reigns on an interim basis for a fourth time.

“Record Sport understands”

Paulie Walnuts
23-05-2024, 08:36 AM

To be fair, people were up in arms about ALF calling a few of the players weirdos as a joke yesterday. It’s no surprise the idea of Gray being a ‘grey appointment’ has been made out to be slanderous.

23-05-2024, 08:54 AM
I’m the same, don’t see it as anything more than an easy joke.

Not seen many people say anything bad about Gray other than expressing genuine concerns over him getting the job.

If he does get it I’ve no doubt every fan will support him and want him to do well.

Good luck with that.

23-05-2024, 08:55 AM
“Record Sport understands”

Record Sport also understood that every The Rangers player got spat on and/or banjoed by Hibs fans in 2016.

I understand that if certain Record journalists were on fire I would be reaching for the marshmallows. **** them and the horse they rode in on.

babahibs
23-05-2024, 09:05 AM

Sad but inevitable.

I can't wait till someone calls him a clown, imposter etc, probably after a couple of games.

23-05-2024, 09:05 AM

It’s the possibility of a guy who’s got almost no managerial experience taking over from the previous manager, who had little experience too (though a lot more than Gray does), and was a complete and utter failure. People want to enjoy watching Hibs again, and this seems like a risky choice.

I’m 100% certain if SDG does get the job he’ll have every fan behind him come the start of the season.

We have a very recent track record of replacing a pretty poor manager with an even worse one. If we appointed Gray, we'd be replacing an fairly inexperienced, and clearly out of his depth manager with someone with a fraction of his experience. It's got alarm bells ringing and red flags waving all over it.

I do think if he were to get the job, then people would be right behind him from the start. Only because of who he is. If we'd gone and appointed the boy Leven from Aberdeen, people would be going absolutely radge.

sauzee1989
23-05-2024, 09:16 AM
As much as I have respect for Gray there’s no way in our situation we should be appointing him. Managers should get the hibs job on the back of doing well in a couple jobs previously.

tonyrougier123
23-05-2024, 09:16 AM

This is poor man, if David gray doesn’t do it for you fair enough but this is low!

23-05-2024, 09:21 AM
Labelling it abuse is typical of the soft nature at our club right now😂

Is it aye?

mcohibs
23-05-2024, 09:22 AM
This is poor man, if David gray doesn’t do it for you fair enough but this is low!

Think it’s just a bit tongue in cheek to the other poster saying it’s not an exciting name really.

Fuzzywuzzy
23-05-2024, 09:24 AM
The reality is the club can't **** this appointment up. They need to get someone in that the fans will be happy to get behind. The fans want someone in that will get the juices flowing.

23-05-2024, 09:26 AM

Goodness me.
I'm pretty sure Jock Stein and Eddie Turnbull weren't exactly a bundle of laughs.

mcohibs
23-05-2024, 09:27 AM
I think Mackay and Gray partnership could work well to be honest. I’d be willing to see where it takes us. Gray obviously inexperienced as a first team coach but Naismith as much as it pains to say has done well with the maroon buffoons.

It’s looking ever more likely that DG will be getting the job. I just hope we announce something sooner rather than later so we can move forward without speculation and start to sort the team out.

My one concern with Gray is that he won’t be ruthless enough with the team who are let’s face it all his pals. Perhaps Mackay will be though.

Musselbound
23-05-2024, 09:27 AM

I take your first point but Fergie, Clough and Klopp all had to be given an opportunity to move into management and make the big calls. Maybe the time is right for Gray to do the same.

23-05-2024, 09:28 AM
The reality is the club can't **** this appointment up. They need to get someone in that the fans will be happy to get behind. The fans want someone in that will get the juices flowing.

The club need to get the right person in for the job, if they do that and we win games, the fans will soon get on board.

It’s not a popularity contest and picking someone because the fans will like them is a strategy destined for failure.

I’d be happy with an unpopular appointment if there’s sound logic behind the appointment.

AugustaHibs
23-05-2024, 09:29 AM
Goodness me.
I'm pretty sure Jock Stein and Eddie Turnbull weren't exactly a bundle of laughs.

I’m not talking about their personality, thought that would be pretty clear.

Bet it was exciting beating hearts 7-0 though… something this ‘squad’ couldn’t dream of.

23-05-2024, 09:30 AM
Think it’s just a bit tongue in cheek to the other poster saying it’s not an exciting name really.

It’s totally unnecessary though. Sure it’s not a terrible insult but it’s an insult all the same. I shouldn’t be surprised though given some of the garbage written about Paul Hanlon and Lewis Stevenson over the years.

tonyrougier123
23-05-2024, 09:31 AM
I take your first point but Fergie, Clough and Klopp all had to be given an opportunity to move into management and make the big calls. Maybe the time is right for Gray to do the same.

Talking about clough,I’d take Nigel as manager. Been following his Mansfield results. Some decent players as well. Beat hearts 3-1 in a pre season last year at Tynie as well 😝

23-05-2024, 09:32 AM
The reality is the club can't **** this appointment up. They need to get someone in that the fans will be happy to get behind. The fans want someone in that will get the juices flowing.Not being funny or anything but people said this nearly a year ago before they appointed Monty. We are in the same situation again.

Mcbizz1998
23-05-2024, 09:34 AM
Don’t feel sad for me, I’ve started enjoying my Saturdays since deciding to do other things most weeks than put myself through watching hibs.

Don’t get me wrong, I hope hibs can do something to change that feeling, I just don’t think gray as manager is going to do that.

Makes sense. I couldn't understand why a real fan would have a pop at David Gray of all people. It is completely understandable from someone who stops attending when the going gets tough.

If you don't watch Hibs then probably sit this one out.

AugustaHibs
23-05-2024, 09:36 AM
Makes sense. I couldn't understand why a real fan would have a pop at David Gray of all people. It is completely understandable from someone who stops attending when the going gets tough.

If you don't watch Hibs then probably sit this one out.

I’m not having a pop at him though, I just don’t think he’s the right man for the job?

It’s okay to suggest gray isn’t the right man for the job btw, doesn’t make you any less of a fan.

23-05-2024, 09:37 AM

None of them with a club as big as Hibs

23-05-2024, 09:37 AM
I think Mackay and Gray partnership could work well to be honest. I’d be willing to see where it takes us. Gray obviously inexperienced as a first team coach but Naismith as much as it pains to say has done well with the maroon buffoons.

It’s looking ever more likely that DG will be getting the job. I just hope we announce something sooner rather than later so we can move forward without speculation and start to sort the team out.

My one concern with Gray is that he won’t be ruthless enough with the team who are let’s face it all his pals. Perhaps Mackay will be though.

One thing I’ve no concerns over is SDG’s ability to be ruthless with players, even the ones he’s on friendly terms with. I’m not betraying the confidence but he’s already had frank conversations with at least one of them.

A major factor in him being a success imo is if he can get an experienced no 2 to work alongside him. The guy he’d like I believe would be an excellent appointment. Of course we have to give SDG the job in the first place….

Musselbound
23-05-2024, 09:39 AM

Agree with most of what you say but Gray hasn't really played for the first team for a few seasons so I don't think there will be many of his old teammates left. It's less of a concern for me than it was when Sauzee went straight from the dressing room into the job.

I see NM has put out a very classy and dignified statement about his time at Hibs.

It wasn't the right fit at Hibs but hopefully he can be a decent appointment for somebody else.

I agree with your sentiment but I don't think such a person will exist, its nigh impossible to appoint someone who will satisfy 100% of the Hibs support.

We're a fickle and diverse bunch but I suppose that's what makes this messageboard so interesting and at times so friggin annoying.

mcohibs
23-05-2024, 09:40 AM
It’s totally unnecessary though. Sure it’s not a terrible insult but it’s an insult all the same. I shouldn’t be surprised though given some of the garbage written about Paul Hanlon and Lewis Stevenson over the years.

I didn’t take it as a dig at all, more just a pun using his name to reference what the other poster had said about him being uninspiring. Pretty mild really.

The kind of thing that you’d say to a mate in conversation and would laugh even if you disagreed. Of course online there’s no context though and everything has to be black or white (pun intended).

23-05-2024, 09:40 AM
I’m not sure why folk think Malky Mackay is going to be hands on supporting Gray if he gets the job?

Mackay’s remit is massive, I’m sure he’ll be there to help at times but his role is about making sure everything around the Head Coach is set up to support them rather than being a mentor.

23-05-2024, 09:46 AM
I didn’t take it as a dig at all, more just a pun using his name to reference what the other poster had said about him being uninspiring. Pretty mild really.

The kind of thing that you’d say to a mate in conversation and would laugh even if you disagreed. Of course when it’s written online though everyone gets their knickers in a twist.

It is mild, but as I say unnecessary. The inference is that he’s a dull character and will be a dull appointment. He’s not even got the job but there are already wee digs at him. I’d have hoped a club legend would merit a wee bit more respect.

Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 09:48 AM

I really don't think their is anyone out there that will get the fans happy and behind 100% . If a legend like Gray is already getting written off before he's got the job then I don't think there's much hope for anyone else . Beginning to think the Hibs job is a poison chalice in more ways than one .

23-05-2024, 09:56 AM
I really don't think their is anyone out there that will get the fans happy and behind 100% . If a legend like Gray is already getting written off before he's got the job then I don't think there's much hope for anyone else . Beginning to think the Hibs job is a poison chalice in more ways than one .

We could appoint Pep and people would find fault with that decision!

23-05-2024, 09:58 AM

Don’t think anyone is writing him off.

As soon as Monty went majority of fans were in agreement about experience.

Now fans are discussing if Gray has the relevant experience to coach in front of 100 folk like MM mentioned in his criteria. Let alone a massive squad rebuild which he’s never had to do within his role.

Gray has experience playing in front of large crowds but coaching is different.

I think the last thing we all want is for Gray to be thrown under the bus and fail.

I think a lot of us have just lost faith in the recruitment at the club we don’t trust many of the decisions being made.

At the end of the day if they interviewed or head hunted a load of coaches and Gray is best choice fine - but if it’s just an easy cheap option then it’s pretty lazy from MM and the club .

23-05-2024, 09:59 AM
I think Kompany getting the Bayern Munich job is a really interesting one and there could be comparables with us and who we end up going for.

One of the biggest clubs in world football have just appointed a manager of a small club in Burnley who have just been relegated. When you stop and think about that, it’s pretty ****ing mental as I’m sure it’s not a job Sean Dyche was ever considered for and he kept them up!

Why I think there could be relevance is they never looked at his win% and they never judged him on his Wikipedia page with a tick or a cross beside each job he’s done to say if he’s been good or bad. They’ve dug a bit deeper and saw he wanted to play a style of football that is better suited to them than it would be to a team like Burnley. They’ve obviously looked at his attributes and felt despite the relative failure at Burnley, he’s a great fit for them.

I think it could be interesting if Mackay is going for a coach, rather than a typical manager, he may well look at someone who has failed as a manager else where but looking into it, they failed because the maybe never had a Malky Mackay there to support them and they weren’t left to do the coaching. Malky Mackay will know who the best coaches in the land and beyond are, he may well look at someone and think despite them failing elsewhere, with the right structure, they’d do brilliantly.

IMO we need to be quite open minded about that being a possibility and not be too quick to judge based on their Wikipedia page or what fans of previous clubs might say.

In the past we’ve not done that, we’ve just looked at the end result of previous jobs and decided the candidate was either good or bad and that’s why we’ve had so many failed appointments I think.

Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 10:04 AM
We could appoint Pep and people would find fault with that decision!

Feels like that at times alright !

23-05-2024, 10:05 AM
Got a fright with that WhatsApp message !

23-05-2024, 10:05 AM
One thing I’ve no concerns over is SDG’s ability to be ruthless with players, even the ones he’s on friendly terms with. I’m not betraying the confidence but he’s already had frank conversations with at least one of them.

A major factor in him being a success imo is if he can get an experienced no 2 to work alongside him. The guy he’d like I believe would be an excellent appointment. Of course we have to give SDG the job in the first place….

I heard after one of the games we got beat at home not so long ago, St Johnstone maybe I can't remember when I was told, that Gray was reading the team the riot act in the changing room, then Monty came in and said that's enough and proceeded to say absolutely nothing. Just hung about.

TheGog
23-05-2024, 10:08 AM
Is it aye?

Aye.

Mikey_1875
23-05-2024, 10:09 AM
I’m not sure why folk think Malky Mackay is going to be hands on supporting Gray if he gets the job?

Mackay’s remit is massive, I’m sure he’ll be there to help at times but his role is about making sure everything around the Head Coach is set up to support them rather than being a mentor.

“And objections based on Gray’s limited exposure to life as a No. 1 have apparently been diminished, in discussions at the highest level, by the presence of new sporting director Malky Mackay acting as a sounding board and potential mentor to the rookie gaffer”

That was a quote from one of the pieces in the EEN this week. Doesn’t mean it’s true of course but it is usually a more trusted paper than the other rags. It set alarm bells off for me to be honest as I agree he already has a massive remit on his hands.

23-05-2024, 10:13 AM

It's a risky choice perhaps - but not as risky as the last one IMO.

SDG knows the club inside out, knows Scottish football inside out and has an experienced head in MM overseeing the overall strategy. Bringing in an experienced number 2 is important IMO, but if we get the appointment right it could be fantastic.

He will be under no illusions as to what's required here.

If SDG is appointed I'd love to see more of a "glass half full" approach from the fans rather than instant, but to an extent slightly justified, skepticism.

23-05-2024, 10:18 AM
I see NM has put out a very classy and dignified statement about his time at Hibs.

It wasn't the right fit at Hibs but hopefully he can be a decent appointment for somebody else.

No more classy or dignified than Lee Johnsons statement or any other sacked manager. Just the usual stuff they say.

23-05-2024, 10:23 AM
No more classy or dignified than Lee Johnsons statement or any other sacked manager. Just the usual stuff they say.

Jeez it's hard to even make a vanilla post like mine without attracting this sort of crap nowadays.

23-05-2024, 10:29 AM
I think Kompany getting the Bayern Munich job is a really interesting one and there could be comparables with us and who we end up going for.

One of the biggest clubs in world football have just appointed a manager of a small club in Burnley who have just been relegated. When you stop and think about that, it’s pretty ****ing mental as I’m sure it’s not a job Sean Dyche was ever considered for and he kept them up!

Why I think there could be relevance is they never looked at his win% and they never judged him on his Wikipedia page with a tick or a cross beside each job he’s done to say if he’s been good or bad. They’ve dug a bit deeper and saw he wanted to play a style of football that is better suited to them than it would be to a team like Burnley. They’ve obviously looked at his attributes and felt despite the relative failure at Burnley, he’s a great fit for them.

I think it could be interesting if Mackay is going for a coach, rather than a typical manager, he may well look at someone who has failed as a manager else where but looking into it, they failed because the maybe never had a Malky Mackay there to support them and they weren’t left to do the coaching. Malky Mackay will know who the best coaches in the land and beyond are, he may well look at someone and think despite them failing elsewhere, with the right structure, they’d do brilliantly.

IMO we need to be quite open minded about that being a possibility and not be too quick to judge based on their Wikipedia page or what fans of previous clubs might say.

In the past we’ve not done that, we’ve just looked at the end result of previous jobs and decided the candidate was either good or bad and that’s why we’ve had so many failed appointments I think.

By we, do you mean the fans?

You can’t because the fans have no influence on who we sign as manager and whether they are a failure or not.

Kompany seems a mental choice but you could be right.

Issue I would have is, will the Bayern players respect him? Would you respect a coach coming from relegation in England to one of the biggest clubs in the world?

23-05-2024, 10:33 AM
Record Sport also understood that every The Rangers player got spat on and/or banjoed by Hibs fans in 2016.

I understand that if certain Record journalists were on fire I would be reaching for the marshmallows. **** them and the horse they rode in on.

[emoji16][emoji16][emoji1787][emoji1787]

23-05-2024, 10:34 AM
It's a risky choice perhaps - but not as risky as the last one IMO.

SDG knows the club inside out, knows Scottish football inside out and has an experienced head in MM overseeing the overall strategy. Bringing in an experienced number 2 is important IMO, but if we get the appointment right it could be fantastic.

He will be under no illusions as to what's required here.

If SDG is appointed I'd love to see more of a "glass half full" approach from the fans rather than instant, but to an extent slightly justified, skepticism.

See if Jack Ross and Potter had just left us now for a better job then I think people would be much happier with Gray taking the role as it would have been a good learning environment for 3 years and taking the club in a good place.

Just now is just not what we need, imo, and doesn’t fit the criteria of what Malky said

Mcbizz1998
23-05-2024, 10:41 AM
I’m not having a pop at him though, I just don’t think he’s the right man for the job?

It’s okay to suggest gray isn’t the right man for the job btw, doesn’t make you any less of a fan.

No, but not attending games because Hibs aren't very good does.

AugustaHibs
23-05-2024, 10:43 AM
No, but not attending games because Hibs aren't very good does.

I’m an adult and couldn’t really care for a discussion on hibs.net whether I’m a ‘good’ hibs fan or not. Child like stuff.

Donegal Hibby
23-05-2024, 10:44 AM
Don’t think anyone is writing him off.

As soon as Monty went majority of fans were in agreement about experience.

Now fans are discussing if Gray has the relevant experience to coach in front of 100 folk like MM mentioned in his criteria. Let alone a massive squad rebuild which he’s never had to do within his role.

Gray has experience playing in front of large crowds but coaching is different.

I think the last thing we all want is for Gray to be thrown under the bus and fail.

I think a lot of us have just lost faith in the recruitment at the club we don’t trust many of the decisions being made.

At the end of the day if they interviewed or head hunted a load of coaches and Gray is best choice fine - but if it’s just an easy cheap option then it’s pretty lazy from MM and the club .

Sorry , but he certainly has been written off already . On another thread it's been said he'd be a terrible appointment and comments about him failing on others.

Experience though doesn't always work either as we have seen the past . I think the main problem is what you say in the majority was hoping we would go for Mcinnes which was about 40% of us on a poll that was done .

Now that it's seems it's not going to be him which I don't think was a realistic option anyhow , there's disappointment and maybe abit of anger which won't help the new manager whoever that may be .

As to Gray the guys got a wealth of knowledge as a player and as been a coach at our club for 3 years now , looking at it positively maybe he's the one in the best positions to rebuild the squad rather than appointing somebody outside the club who will want to assess the squad because they haven't Grays knowledge of the club .

The other thing is nobody's throwing him under the bus , he seems to want the job and has stated he believes he can 100% do the job . Four times he's stepped in now and done ok while handling pre/post match interviews has good if not better than our previous manager's.

Recruitment has been poor in the past though in recent times it's improved , with MM being appointed , a new manager coming in and a squad rebuilding process started hopefully there is some cause for optimism going into next season.

While the club has got alot wrong I honestly don't think they have taken many cheap options wither be it signings or past managers and wither it's Gray or somebody else that gets the Hibs job it will be because they think that person is the best candidate to take us forward pure and simple.