View Full Version : Managerial Sack Race

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17

12-02-2023, 10:01 AM
I'm in two minds about it. If they see quickly that it isn't working then the club deserve credit for changing it. On the flip side a manager needs a bit of time. It's a difficult one.
This one seemed to be clear quite quickly it was never going to work. Seemed an odd appointment in the first place.
Did not come across as a good communicator and showed all the signs of being out his depth.

12-02-2023, 10:29 AM
Nathan Jones sacked after 8 games at Southampton

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

Good news for the women of Wales if they’ve got him trudging home.

12-02-2023, 10:54 AM
With them being lower league, think you can sign players on three month deals (or something around that) outwith the window. Think we did it when we were in the championship with Ambrose.

We did it with Kris Commons.

Donegal Hibby
12-02-2023, 11:19 AM
He would be free and Motherwell wouldn't have to pay compensation if they nicked another club`s manager
Just got a feeling they might look to Goodwin, Ross or Lambert as a cheaper option , I'd doubt Lennon would want it .

12-02-2023, 11:55 AM
Goodwin might be quite a good choice for Motherwell. Better size of club perhaps for him.

12-02-2023, 12:29 PM
Good news for the women of Wales if they’ve got him trudging home.

Wonder if they have been singing "Nathan Jones you been gone so long"

JamesHFC
12-02-2023, 12:55 PM
I was astonished Nathan Jones had ended up in the premier league. Never a good enough manager for that level.

I actually feel a bit sorry for him. The amount of abuse he has got is really bad.

12-02-2023, 01:07 PM
That will be him back as a pundit on Sportscene shortly

Kenny Miller is on this afternoon

12-02-2023, 02:35 PM
Hammell’s record was truly awful, 23% win ratio, 58% loss. Only his status at Motherwell kept him in that job so long, especially given the vast majority of those wins were very early on.

Their next two games are St. Mirren and Hearts at home I think, so a new/sacked manager bounce would be well timed.

He was never ready to take over an ailing Motherwell team, he was still learning his trade as a coach there, needs to go back to being a coach and get some more experience.

12-02-2023, 05:12 PM
Tam Courts being linked with the Motherwell job.

Forgot about him to be honest.

12-02-2023, 05:17 PM
Kenny Miller is on this afternoon

Urgh, another borderline illiterate sevconian.

DJ HIBBY
12-02-2023, 07:19 PM
Ian McCall sacked at Thistle

12-02-2023, 07:21 PM

???

They were excellent today!

HendoDelivered
12-02-2023, 07:28 PM

Madness that

12-02-2023, 07:34 PM
Very strange timing. What a shambles of a club.

12-02-2023, 07:47 PM
There’s been a lot of issues at boardroom level at PT for a year or so
I’ve no idea who’s running the club just now
Must admit timing is just strange

12-02-2023, 09:06 PM
Thistle should certainly be doing better then 5th going by that performance today.

Wonder if JR might be a contender.

Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 12:31 PM
I've read Paul Lambert's ruled himself out of the Motherwell job .

13-02-2023, 02:30 PM
Neil Warnock appointed Manager at Huddersfield Town until the end of the season

13-02-2023, 03:30 PM
Heard him on Talk Sport last week and he said he only works part time now starting February through till May :faf:

13-02-2023, 04:25 PM

Dundee Utds new manager

TheSouthMoroccan
13-02-2023, 06:13 PM
Urgh, another borderline illiterate sevconian.

Listened to the Sportsound Podcast after yesterdays cup game this afternoon. Hope he gets another job somewhere soon, an absolute bellend, can't stand listening to his whining RFC propaganda

Donegal Hibby
13-02-2023, 11:31 PM
According to the sun ex Brazilian footballer Ze Maria has applied for the Motherwell job and in another story billy brown reckons Scotland is getting like England for sacking managers and says clubs and fans need to have patience.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10217652/scottish-football-england-league-managers-association-sack/

14-02-2023, 06:38 AM

He's the archetypal gun for hire Manager. Get him in to get you out trouble. Gets teams organised and hard to beat.

14-02-2023, 06:39 AM
According to the sun ex Brazilian footballer Ze Maria has applied for the Motherwell job and in another story billy brown reckons Scotland is getting like England for sacking managers and says clubs and fans need to have patience.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10217652/scottish-football-england-league-managers-association-sack/
Strugglin’

14-02-2023, 06:46 AM
Can’t stand McCall after his whole love in with Hearts during their legal battle to avoid relegation.

He was banging on constantly about it and said he would reveal all in his amazing biography. Guess he’ll have time to finish it now.

Happy that Thistle have acted and wish them all the best for the future.

14-02-2023, 06:42 PM
Jesse Marsch verbally agrees to be latest Southampton manager, probably for inside info on the Leeds side then sack him after their upcoming clash :)

14-02-2023, 07:10 PM
Jesse Marsch verbally agrees to be latest Southampton manager, probably for inside info on the Leeds side then sack him after their upcoming clash :)

Surprised at that to be honest. Would be disappointed if I were a saint

14-02-2023, 07:25 PM
Surprised at that to be honest. Would be disappointed if I were a saint

there's really not a lot of talent out there tbf, leeds have totally mucked up by sacking a manager without having someone in mind to step in straight away, at least two they were interested in have bagged themselves contract extensions at their present clubs, now it looks like they've went for the cheapest of options by giving the gig to the interim boss for the 'upcoming fixtures'.

Donegal Hibby
14-02-2023, 07:31 PM
James mcpake getting linked to the Motherwell job .

14-02-2023, 07:31 PM
James mcpake getting linked to the Motherwell job .

And Yogi

14-02-2023, 07:35 PM
there's really not a lot of talent out there tbf, leeds have totally mucked up by sacking a manager without having someone in mind to step in straight away, at least two they were interested in have bagged themselves contract extensions at their present clubs, now it looks like they've went for the cheapest of options by giving the gig to the interim boss for the 'upcoming fixtures'.

I was impressed with how Leeds pressed in both games against Man Utd. 1/6 points return isn't ideal, but they deserved more out of both games and played well considering how long he'd have had with then

14-02-2023, 07:43 PM
And Yogi

Yogi is done at this level

14-02-2023, 07:55 PM

Definitely, would be crazy appointment by Motherwell if they appointed him. Think he’s got his last 2 clubs relegated.

Suspect he’s just trying to get his name out there again for other jobs that may come up.

Eaststand
14-02-2023, 07:55 PM

I'd like to see Yogi back in football management, and reckon he would be a good fit for Motherwell.

Donegal Hibby
14-02-2023, 08:02 PM
I'd like to see Yogi back in football management, and reckon he would be a good fit for Motherwell.

If you were a Motherwell fan would you feel the same way though?

Eaststand
14-02-2023, 08:06 PM
If you were a Motherwell fan would you feel the same way though?

Aye, I would.
Yogi has had some ups and downs in his managerial career, most managers have had the same, but I reckon he'd do ok there.

14-02-2023, 08:18 PM
Definitely, would be crazy appointment by Motherwell if they appointed him. Think he’s got his last 2 clubs relegated.

Suspect he’s just trying to get his name out there again for other jobs that may come up.

Every club he's ever managed goes down shortly after he leaves or while he's there. He is a short term burst manager at best, with 1 really good season at Inverness in there.

14-02-2023, 08:21 PM
I was impressed with how Leeds pressed in both games against Man Utd. 1/6 points return isn't ideal, but they deserved more out of both games and played well considering how long he'd have had with then

yeah they did, if only the free kick from Aaronson at OT hadn't hit the post for 3-0 i really couldn't see man u coming back from that, also must have been quite deflating for the players when man u took the lead so late in the game at ER.

15-02-2023, 09:54 AM
If Motherwell want relegated then Yogi's got great experience in that department.

15-02-2023, 11:01 AM
Yogi would be the worst possible choice for Motherwell.

15-02-2023, 02:13 PM
yogi would be the worst possible choice for any team anywhere.

ftfy

15-02-2023, 08:59 PM
Jesse Marsch not happy with the short-term contract offer from Southampton, their search continues

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2023, 05:40 AM
Rumoured in article that Jack Ross is in a list of 3 for Motherwell job and will be interviewed in the next 48 hours .

Crunchie
16-02-2023, 09:13 AM
Yogi would be the worst possible choice for Motherwell.
How many teams has he relegated? I can't even think why he'd be in the frame for a 2nd div team let alone another top club.

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2023, 02:58 PM
Mentioned this morning that Jack Ross was on a short list of 3 candidates for the Motherwell job which had me wondering who the other two were ? According to skysports here is the other two and I have to say if I was a Motherwell fan I'd be quite happy with any of them .
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11796/12812331/motherwell-ian-holloway-jack-ross-and-grant-mccann-on-manager-shortlist

16-02-2023, 03:06 PM
Mentioned this morning that Jack Ross was on a short list of 3 candidates for the Motherwell job which had me wondering who the other two were ? According to skysports here is the other two and I have to say if I was a Motherwell fan I'd be quite happy with any of them .
https://www.skysports.com/football/news/11796/12812331/motherwell-ian-holloway-jack-ross-and-grant-mccann-on-manager-shortlist

One thing Motherwell have been over the years is quite inventive with their managerial appointments. I think - up until they re-appointed Mark McGhee - that in their time in the SPL, they'd never appointed a manager who had managed in the league before.

I agree that is a good looking list for a club in their position.

16-02-2023, 03:06 PM

Grant McCann and Ian Holloway
Holloway would get a good appt for the fun he’d bring to all of us😀

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2023, 03:13 PM
Yeah agree BH . I read Holloway and Van Veen haven't got on at another club before with Holloway calling Van Veen a ginger pig . Very out spoken manager who would bring a bit of excitement to the league imo . Grant McCann has a fairly good record too though.

16-02-2023, 03:20 PM

I loved Holloway when he was manager of Blackpool, he was superb at getting te fans up for games, and was always out and about meeting the supporters while he was here.

Did a fantastic job under severe restrictions with the Oystons owning the club, how he got them into the Premier league was a miracle.

He'd certainly make being a Motherwell fan fun.:greengrin

16-02-2023, 03:27 PM
I loved Holloway when he was manager of Blackpool, he was superb at getting te fans up for games, and was always out and about meeting the supporters while he was here.

Did a fantastic job under severe restrictions with the Oystons owning the club, how he got them into the Premier league was a miracle.

He'd certainly make being a Motherwell fan fun.:greengrin

I like Holloway, as you say he’d have us all smiling

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2023, 04:02 PM
I like Holloway, as you say he’d have us all smiling
Holloway would be the fun appointment for the league , he's managed the most teams but has the poorest win rate of the 3 . Both Ross and McCann have managed 5 clubs each . Ross has 48% win rate , McCann 40% and Holloway 35% . If I was a Motherwell fan I'd want McCann .

Donegal Hibby
16-02-2023, 09:10 PM
Jack Ross according to papers has ruled himself out of Motherwell Job which leaves Holloway or McCann. Gordon Strachan mentioned for Aberdeen job , can't see it myself.

JamesHFC
19-02-2023, 05:34 PM
Moyes must be close to the sack? Massive drop off from last season. Players need someone fresh in there.

19-02-2023, 06:00 PM
Moyes must be close to the sack? Massive drop off from last season. Players need someone fresh in there.

The players are badly letting him down too.

19-02-2023, 06:23 PM
Queens Park Rangers have just sacked their manager. Think he only joined them in December

19-02-2023, 06:30 PM

From what I saw on a West Ham fan You Tube channel, it's said that Moyes was told several weeks ago that his position is under review on a game by game basis. He knows he is on thin ice.

Donegal Hibby
19-02-2023, 06:33 PM
Potter at Chelsea must be under just as much pressure as Moyes after spending £630 million in 4 months and are something like 10 points behind a champions League spot I would have thought ?

19-02-2023, 07:07 PM
Potter at Chelsea must be under just as much pressure as Moyes after spending £630 million in 4 months and are something like 10 points behind a champions League spot I would have thought ?

Definitely. He won't last without a huge improvement in results.

19-02-2023, 07:23 PM
Definitely. He won't last without a huge improvement in results.

They need Champions League for next season, or they’ll have to sell a load of the players they’ve just bought

JamesHFC
19-02-2023, 07:43 PM
From what I saw on a West Ham fan You Tube channel, it's said that Moyes was told several weeks ago that his position is under review on a game by game basis. He knows he is on thin ice.

Set pieces last season were the key to a lot of their goals, saw today that they were 1st for goals from set pieces last season... this season they are 20th.

JamesHFC
19-02-2023, 07:46 PM

Lose to Spurs & Dortmund then I'll be surprised if he's still there. It sounds like they are happy to carry him on into next season regardless though, I suppose it took Klopp & Arteta a few years to get their current clubs where they want them to be. Whether Chelsea wait a few years though when spending crazy money remains to be seen.

19-02-2023, 08:16 PM
Set pieces last season were the key to a lot of their goals, saw today that they were 1st for goals from set pieces last season... this season they are 20th.

So what's changed? That's crazy.

Donegal Hibby
19-02-2023, 08:32 PM
They need Champions League for next season, or they’ll have to sell a load of the players they’ve just bought
Read that in a article BW , it said they were really gambling on making the champions League this year or they will be hit with sanctions over fair play and will have to sell lots of players.

20-02-2023, 05:53 PM
Stuart Kettlewell offered Motherwell job

He is thinking about it

BBC Scotland

20-02-2023, 08:26 PM

Chelsea have spent a crazy amount of money on transfers since the new owners came in but they are calling the shots on that surely? I very much doubt potter has demanded so many new players.

20-02-2023, 09:20 PM

I think half the reason he's still in a job, is the lack of suitable replacements..as we've seen with Southampton and Leeds..who do you bring in that will keep you up ?

21-02-2023, 03:52 PM
I think half the reason he's still in a job, is the lack of suitable replacements..as we've seen with Southampton and Leeds..who do you bring in that will keep you up ?

Yes, who is available who is suitable? Dyche was probably the obvious one, but they missed the boat.

21-02-2023, 04:25 PM
One thing Motherwell have been over the years is quite inventive with their managerial appointments. I think - up until they re-appointed Mark McGhee - that in their time in the SPL, they'd never appointed a manager who had managed in the league before.

I agree that is a good looking list for a club in their position.

They are a fan run club and it’s said to be a good place to work.

21-02-2023, 04:29 PM

They will struggle to get that now. Need other clubs to collapse. If we accept that Arsenal and the two Manchester clubs are stick ins, Newcastle and Spurs might wilt but Liverpool are now better positioned to take advantage of that.

Donegal Hibby
22-02-2023, 05:17 PM
Motherwell appoint Stuart kettlewell as manager till end of the season.

22-02-2023, 08:49 PM
Motherwell appoint Stuart kettlewell as manager till end of the season.
To 2024

Donegal Hibby
22-02-2023, 09:22 PM
To 2024
Cheers 👍

26-02-2023, 09:39 AM
Karl Robinson sacked by Oxford

26-02-2023, 10:33 AM
Surely Liam Fox won’t survive much longer.

26-02-2023, 01:42 PM
Surely Liam Fox won’t survive much longer.

Announcement later today I hear

26-02-2023, 06:17 PM
I wonder if Graham Potter has switched his phone off. It can't continue much longer.

JamesHFC
26-02-2023, 06:25 PM
I wonder if Graham Potter has switched his phone off. It can't continue much longer.

Battered by Spurs, time to go.

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 06:26 PM

Potter must stay [emoji16]

Feel for him though, he’s a good manager it’s just not worked out for whatever reason

26-02-2023, 07:01 PM
Liam Fox sacked

26-02-2023, 07:01 PM
Fox sacked by Dundee Hibernian

https://twitter.com/dundeeunitedfc/status/1629934327835545600?t=3Jp075jJHf6AxUAUZdR9PA&s=19

Trinity Hibee
26-02-2023, 07:11 PM
Had to happen. DU are already in danger of being cut adrift. See some of them want Lennon but if he was to come back to Scotland you’d think it would be Aberdeen

ErinGoBraghHFC
26-02-2023, 07:14 PM
Had to happen. DU are already in danger of being cut adrift. See some of them want Lennon but if he was to come back to Scotland you’d think it would be Aberdeen

They’re already done imo that squad of players is rotten apart from maybe Fletcher and Levitt

Trinity Hibee
26-02-2023, 07:16 PM
They’re already done imo that squad of players is rotten apart from maybe Fletcher and Levitt

You’re probably right. Fletcher,mcgrath,levitt are 3 decent players but the rest are poor. The keeper errors are laughable and no manager can account for them

26-02-2023, 07:16 PM

https://twitter.com/dundeeunitedfc/status/1629934327835545600?t=3Jp075jJHf6AxUAUZdR9PA&s=19

Another one gone. He must have expected it, after yesterday. They are in trouble.

26-02-2023, 07:29 PM
Neil Lennon must be a decent short term option for them?

26-02-2023, 07:32 PM

So Dundee Utd and Aberdeen both kicking about for a new manager. Aberdeen not looking to appoint anyone until Burrows is in. Not even sure who Dundee Utd have put in charge in the meantime? Stevie Crawford?

26-02-2023, 07:33 PM
Neil Lennon must be a decent short term option for them?

Sure there is a big tax issue for him if he takes a job before April 1st, to do with earning in Cyprus.

26-02-2023, 07:42 PM
You’re probably right. Fletcher,mcgrath,levitt are 3 decent players but the rest are poor. The keeper errors are laughable and no manager can account for them

Don't think McGrath has kicked a ball for them

27-02-2023, 09:05 AM
Liam Fox sacked

Wonder if Courts will return

Donegal Hibby
27-02-2023, 09:12 AM
A few Dundee Utd fans saying there's rumours Charlie Mulgrew as interim manager.

27-02-2023, 09:16 AM

Despite them finishing 4th last season a lot of fans up here are saying this all started under his watch. They went on a run of 2 wins in 16 games last season including 6 defeats in a row and bizarrely qualified for Europe.

Donegal Hibby
27-02-2023, 09:35 AM
Looking in on there forum I see one of them has started a thread called " 13 million in debt " surely they aren't that much in the red ? and with relegation a real possibility it looks like there could be trouble ahead for Utd .
https://boards.footymad.net/forumdisplay.php?f=2495

27-02-2023, 10:01 AM
A few Dundee Utd fans saying there's rumours Charlie Mulgrew as interim manager.

Might be a blessing getting out of the team

27-02-2023, 10:05 AM

Was a lot of rumours he was instrumental in getting Ross sacked by undermining him with the other senior players, it sounds like he’s downed tools recently on the pitch too,

Not someone I’d be rushing to put into the managers position.

Trinity Hibee
27-02-2023, 11:09 AM

Oh please make this happen haha. can imagine the outrage if it does

Donegal Hibby
27-02-2023, 11:09 AM
Was a lot of rumours he was instrumental in getting Ross sacked by undermining him with the other senior players, it sounds like he’s downed tools recently on the pitch too,

Seem to be a lot of unrest at Utd when Ross was there .Utd fans say he has a massive ego and thinks he's better than he actually is , he would be a crazy choice for manager specially with them being bottom of the league .

Trinity Hibee
27-02-2023, 11:10 AM
Despite them finishing 4th last season a lot of fans up here are saying this all started under his watch. They went on a run of 2 wins in 16 games last season including 6 defeats in a row and bizarrely qualified for Europe.

That stat shows just how odd the league was last year.

27-02-2023, 11:42 AM
That stat shows just how odd the league was last year.

Yeah Motherwell had a similar run. Relegation form resulted in Europe for both. Very poor league last season.

27-02-2023, 12:34 PM
Jurgen Klinsmann named coach of South Korea until 2026 WC

27-02-2023, 01:27 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHiWzjphm-c

Thoughts and prayers are with Wigan fans.

27-02-2023, 01:36 PM

Lots of people on here were "outraged" we didn't sign Mulgrew!

27-02-2023, 01:44 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gHiWzjphm-c

Thoughts and prayers are with Wigan fans.
That brings back so toe curling memories.

27-02-2023, 02:47 PM
Dundee Utd wanting Craig Levein to be their new manager.

27-02-2023, 03:05 PM

Just had to check the date, a wee bit early for the April fools jokes Bingo

27-02-2023, 03:09 PM

He said few wouldn’t work with the current DOF, last time he was approached

27-02-2023, 03:14 PM

I'd be very surprised if he wanted to put himself in a high pressure job again after his health scare.

JamesHFC
27-02-2023, 04:05 PM

Just as well relegate them now.

27-02-2023, 04:15 PM
I reckon it’ll be John Hughes or Brian Grant to the end of the season.

Trinity Hibee
27-02-2023, 04:59 PM
Get Maurice Malpas in

Donegal Hibby
27-02-2023, 09:15 PM
A good few of the Dundee Utd fans on there forum seem happy to be linked with levein, one even states he was the best manager they have had since Jim McLean , must have had some really bad managers in that time then 😂

Trinity Hibee
28-02-2023, 05:41 AM
A good few of the Dundee Utd fans on there forum seem happy to be linked with levein, one even states he was the best manager they have had since Jim McLean , must have had some really bad managers in that time then 😂

He got to a cup final and it was essentially his squad that won the Scottish cup in 2010. Had top 6 finishes so he probably is. Remember they had daly, Conway,Swanson, goodwillie, Webster. So a decent squad

28-02-2023, 07:51 AM
He got to a cup final and it was essentially his squad that won the Scottish cup in 2010. Had top 6 finishes so he probably is. Remember they had daly, Conway,Swanson, goodwillie, Webster. So a decent squad

Yep they should have won that final also. Think it was Mark Kerr with a horrible back pass in the last minute which allowed Rangers to score and go to extra time. Shame for Craigy that. It could have all been so different :greengrin

28-02-2023, 08:01 AM
Levein was a brilliant manager for Dundee United and tin hat on a cracking manager at Hearts, particularly first time around. No danger he's putting himself in that position again with his health problem. Sure his family would have something to say.

28-02-2023, 04:05 PM

“Essentially his squad”… not his medal though!

Trinity Hibee
28-02-2023, 04:20 PM
“Essentially his squad”… not his medal though!

Thankfully

Donegal Hibby
28-02-2023, 04:32 PM
Graeme murty getting linked with Oxford United job

28-02-2023, 06:35 PM
Sporting Director at Dundee Utd has now stepped down from his roll at the club. Also talk of a take over at Dundee Utd.

28-02-2023, 06:41 PM
Sporting Director at Dundee Utd has now stepped down from his roll at the club. Also talk of a take over at Dundee Utd.

He was the main reason Levein didn’t want the managers role, before Courts took over

JJP
28-02-2023, 06:48 PM
Imagine your club being in such a sorry state that you think Craig Levien is the answer to all of your problems. Jeezy peeps.

Trinity Hibee
28-02-2023, 06:57 PM
Whoever goes in there has a real battle in their hands. Going by the owners interview they may already be planning for relegation anyway

28-02-2023, 07:03 PM
If there was a medal on offer to the manager who got United relegated then surely Levein would steer them to safety?

Trinity Hibee
28-02-2023, 07:04 PM
If there was a medal on offer to the manager who got United relegated then surely Levein would steer them to safety?

Ha!

28-02-2023, 07:20 PM
I would have been happy to see any of the teams at the bottom go down but if he gets the managers job at utd I'd be absolutely desperate for them to never win another game!!

28-02-2023, 07:31 PM

Wonder how Fletcher will be feeling if Craigie boy gets the gig?
Think they have some history from their Scotland time

28-02-2023, 09:02 PM

What was Tony Asghars background before getting the Dundee Utd job?

Looked online but he doesn’t seem to have a wiki or transfermarkt page

Auckland Hibs
28-02-2023, 09:37 PM
Wonder how Fletcher will be feeling if Craigie boy gets the gig?
Think they have some history from their Scotland time

Definitely no love lost between them.

01-03-2023, 01:18 AM
What was Tony Asghars background before getting the Dundee Utd job?

Looked online but he doesn’t seem to have a wiki or transfermarkt page

He was a agent Bingo, was involved in other things, arranging friendlies pre seasons for clubs, bit of a Jack the lad, most his early time he was high up in the police force in Glasgow with drug squad.

PHeffernan
01-03-2023, 02:27 AM
He was a agent Bingo, was involved in other things, arranging friendlies pre seasons for clubs, bit of a Jack the lad, most his early time he was high up in the police force in Glasgow with drug squad.

Re his Police career, pretty sure he was never promoted.
He was a Detective Constable and left the organisation after 20 years to concentrate on his football agency work.

01-03-2023, 05:51 AM
Re his Police career, pretty sure he was never promoted.
He was a Detective Constable and left the organisation after 20 years to concentrate on his football agency work.

What an unusual career change

01-03-2023, 08:13 AM
What an unusual career change

He is also chief pie taster at Tannadice.

01-03-2023, 08:32 AM

Think his son was/is a coach at United too

Donegal Hibby
01-03-2023, 09:24 AM
Neil Lennon has ruled himself out for the Dundee Utd Job .

01-03-2023, 11:14 AM
Think his son was/is a coach at United too

His lad started his career at Motherwell but don’t think things worked out for him as a player, TA was good friends with Leeann from Motherwell time, think he had some good players with him when he done the agent stuff, certainly plenty football shirts of decent players on the walls of his office which he claimed were in his pool of clients.

EskbankHibby
01-03-2023, 02:19 PM
Goodwin the new United manager. Odd one

EskbankHibby
01-03-2023, 02:20 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10297350/jim-goodwin-appointed-dundee-united-manager/?utm_medium=Social&utm_campaign=ScottishSunSportTwitter&utm_source=Twitter#Echobox=1677683766

01-03-2023, 02:46 PM
Poor Dundee Utd.

01-03-2023, 03:21 PM

Definitely hope they get relegated now.

01-03-2023, 03:21 PM
Must have been his last few games in charge of Aberdeen that made him the standout candidate!! I'd be raging with that if I was a utd supporter

Donegal Hibby
01-03-2023, 03:28 PM
Must have been his last few games in charge of Aberdeen that made him the standout candidate!! I'd be raging with that if I was a utd supporter
S***e manager and a horrible individual . Hope they get relegated now!

01-03-2023, 03:30 PM
Goodwin did a good job at St Mirren. Always had them playing good football.

01-03-2023, 03:36 PM
I’m playing football with a few Dundee United fans tonight and almost certainly am getting my ankle broken.

Dundee clubs taking it in turns one season after the other for hilarious emergency manager appointments 😂😂

01-03-2023, 04:02 PM

Did he? Thought they were ok nothing special imo. Few decent Irish signings

01-03-2023, 04:10 PM
Few decent Irish signings

I thought there were several.

01-03-2023, 04:11 PM
Did he? Thought they were ok nothing special imo. Few decent Irish signings

Was always impressed with them when we played them at Easter Road.

01-03-2023, 04:12 PM
Was always impressed with them when we played them at Easter Road.

Thought they were better under Ross

01-03-2023, 04:19 PM

Tend to agree. They were less "anti-football" in the way they played than many other visitors to Easter Road.

He's here!
01-03-2023, 04:27 PM

Me too. That's an odd, rushed appointment IMHO. What about that guy Courts who did a decent job pre-Jack Ross?

He's here!
01-03-2023, 04:28 PM

St Mirren were excellent under Ross.

01-03-2023, 04:51 PM
It’s probably worth as much of a punt as anyone else. Manager with experience in the league and something to prove for the rest of the season. They’re in danger of being completely adrift very soon so they may as well.

Cat Stanton
01-03-2023, 05:33 PM
Poor Dundee Utd.

A glance at the fans' forum suggests they're not terribly happy...

01-03-2023, 06:46 PM
Wish him all the best for the upcoming fixtures against Aberdeen, Livingston and St Mirren.

supermcginn
01-03-2023, 07:09 PM
St Mirren were excellent under Ross.

In the championship. He never managed them in the top tier!

supermcginn
01-03-2023, 07:10 PM

Goodwin managed them in the top league, Ross didn't.

Skol
01-03-2023, 07:53 PM
I was wondering why they didn’t consider jack ross having completely forgotten they had already fired him this season

He's here!
01-03-2023, 07:54 PM
In the championship. He never managed them in the top tier!

True but I remember being impressed by the turnaround he achieved with them.

01-03-2023, 08:17 PM
I was wondering why they didn’t consider jack ross having completely forgotten they had already fired him this season

Maybe they should give him Asghar's job. 🤔

01-03-2023, 09:07 PM
Goodwin managed them in the top league, Ross didn't.

To me they still looked better under Ross. Don't think Goodwin had them doing anything spectacular imo

01-03-2023, 09:08 PM
True but I remember being impressed by the turnaround he achieved with them.

Incredible turnaround. Bottom at new year saved them from relegation. Won the league season after

ZitellZeTime
01-03-2023, 11:21 PM

Saw that, wonder if the **** can get himself sacked twice by the start of the new season. Hopefully !!

03-03-2023, 05:27 AM
Saw that, wonder if the **** can get himself sacked twice by the start of the new season. Hopefully !!

https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64826685

Jimmy Badloss is still a delusional fool, with his media chums happy to print this with no critique.

03-03-2023, 09:41 AM

The same old faces constantly get new jobs after failing. That's an uninspiring appointment.

03-03-2023, 09:56 AM
The same old faces constantly get new jobs after failing. That's an uninspiring appointment.I suspect it's all they could get.

03-03-2023, 10:49 AM
The same old faces constantly get new jobs after failing. That's an uninspiring appointment.
Scottish mafia rule

03-03-2023, 10:51 AM
This came out if the blue.

I was hoping Levein would have ended up back at Utd. Can’t imagine their fans being too chuffed at getting Goodwin.

03-03-2023, 11:39 AM
Football fans are the most fickle in the world. A couple of wins starting on Saturday and Goodwin will be a hero. I don't think he's become a bad manager overnight. Wasn't so long ago Aberdeen were leathering teams at Pittodrie and getting all the plaudits for it. Their away form was shocking though. Some times it just doesn't really work at a club for whatever reason. Goodwin is a significant upgrade on Liam Fox.

Donegal Hibby
08-03-2023, 11:59 AM
Wonder if over the next couple of weeks could it be curtains for Shaun Maloney at Wigan. Lost last night 1-0 to west Brom . I watched some of it and they were awful in the first half , didn't even have a shot on target . 1 win in 7 games and next 3 are Burnley ( away) , Coventry ( home ) , Watford ( away) 3 very difficult games for them though Maloney seems fairly positive about escaping relegation.
https://www.scottishdailyexpress.co.uk/sport/football/shaun-maloney-wigan-survival-vow-29401613

12AlbionPlace
08-03-2023, 12:13 PM
Porto gets a new gaffer
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64881415

Donegal Hibby
08-03-2023, 01:01 PM
New favourite for Aberdeen job. Never heard of him.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10331826/ricardo-rodriguez-aberdeen-next-manager-front-runner-chris-wilder/

08-03-2023, 05:28 PM
Club Bruges sack Scott Parker after 12 games

08-03-2023, 06:21 PM
New favourite for Aberdeen job. Never heard of him.
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10331826/ricardo-rodriguez-aberdeen-next-manager-front-runner-chris-wilder/

Should bring in Alberto Del Rio as his assistant.

One for the wrestling fans.

11-03-2023, 06:12 PM
Wages at Wigan reported as being unpaid again. Maloney supposedly looked fairly distraught post match today according to a Wigan fan I play fives with.

Never liked the man when he was here but I feel very sorry for him just now.

Donegal Hibby
11-03-2023, 06:13 PM
Wages at Wigan reported as being unpaid again. Maloney supposedly looked fairly distraught post match today according to a Wigan fan I play fives with.

Did they not try for Nisbet and Campbell of us in January ?

11-03-2023, 06:28 PM

He chose to take the job.

11-03-2023, 06:28 PM
Did they not try for Nisbet and Campbell of us in January ?

Campbell yes, don’t know about KN

11-03-2023, 06:34 PM
He chose to take the job.
With a promise of being paid.

11-03-2023, 06:43 PM
Just shows how poorly run Wigan are that they thought Maloney was the answer in the first place. Don't feel particularly sorry for him, he's a millionaire. He'll cope.

HFCbingo
11-03-2023, 07:40 PM
Just shows how poorly run Wigan are that they thought Maloney was the answer in the first place. Don't feel particularly sorry for him, he's a millionaire. He'll cope.

Exactly, it's not like he's struggling to put food on the table :wink:

Donegal Hibby
11-03-2023, 10:55 PM
It was a recipe for disaster from day one , Wigan thinking a rookie manager would save them and Maloney thinking a club in relegation trouble would be a good job for him . Personally I think Wigan are a mess and Maloney hasn't got it as a manager. Both are equally at fault and one is a cert for relegation and the other for the sack imo.
https://youtu.be/VpEDaPHodeI

12-03-2023, 06:51 AM
If we finish above Hertz it will be Robbie replay

12-03-2023, 03:53 PM
Gibson from the ladies team out his depth I’m afraid

13-03-2023, 07:19 AM
I'm super confident Maloney will get them safe.

13-03-2023, 07:26 AM
Porto gets a new gaffer
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/64881415

It’s Watford so 2 or 3 managers a season is standard.

Wilder likes an adventurous centre back so I think Ryan could benefit from this change.

13-03-2023, 10:09 AM
It was a recipe for disaster from day one , Wigan thinking a rookie manager would save them and Maloney thinking a club in relegation trouble would be a good job for him . Personally I think Wigan are a mess and Maloney hasn't got it as a manager. Both are equally at fault and one is a cert for relegation and the other for the sack imo.

:agree: They fell in to the trap of thinking a successful ex player would be their savior as manager. Rarely works. I really don't think management is for Maloney. He still looks like a rabbit in the headlights. The players will undoubtedly feed off that. If i could pay to have his time at Hibs and the football we played erased from my memory i would.

Fantastic player though who i always thought was underrated. Can't take that away from him.

13-03-2023, 10:56 AM
:agree: They fell in to the trap of thinking a successful ex player would be their savior as manager. Rarely works. I really don't think management is for Maloney. He still looks like a rabbit in the headlights. The players will undoubtedly feed off that. If i could pay to have his time at Hibs and the football we played erased from my memory i would.

Fantastic player though who i always thought was underrated. Can't take that away from him.

He hasn't exercised great judgment with the first couple of roles he's taken on, to the extent that he might be lucky to ever be offered another one.

13-03-2023, 11:08 AM
He hasn't exercised great judgment with the first couple of roles he's taken on, to the extent that he might be lucky to ever be offered another one.

Another one who may be a good coach and that is their ideal role, but I guess he has his ideas and wants to implement them.

13-03-2023, 11:25 AM

The statement at weekend from the Wigan CEO isn’t really littered with positive sound bites to allay their fans fears for the future.

Sounds like it’s a keep the fingers crossed and hope for the best.

https://www.wigantoday.net/sport/football/wigan-athletic-ceo-addresses-administration-fears-4060619

13-03-2023, 12:03 PM

Maybe, although if Wigan's financial problems become the bigger story then he may be able to spin it that he had no chance of succeeding.

Donegal Hibby
13-03-2023, 12:29 PM
Another one who may be a good coach and that is their ideal role, but I guess he has his ideas and wants to implement them.
Probably coaching might suit him more than being a manager as he looks totally out of his depth as a manager. Most of his interviews he comes across as being totally awkward and nervous , as the other poster said he's like a rabbit caught in headlights. To a degree I feel sorry for him but it was utter madness on his behalf to except a Job like Wigan .

17-03-2023, 07:11 AM
Patrick Viera sacked by Crystal Palace

BBC Sport

17-03-2023, 09:30 AM

BBC Sport

On St Patrick’s Day of all days!

17-03-2023, 09:42 AM

BBC Sport

What are these types of clubs expecting, they're sitting 12th and yes have gone through a bad spell but mid table is where they should be.

17-03-2023, 09:47 AM
What are these types of clubs expecting, they're sitting 12th and yes have gone through a bad spell but mid table is where they should be.

He was getting rave reviews at the beginning of the season

Donegal Hibby
17-03-2023, 09:47 AM

BBC Sport
He been on a bad run but they should have given him more time ,very harsh sacking . Ange postecoglou is in the betting for it , no chance he's swapping Celtic for palace imo .

HibeeSince85
17-03-2023, 11:35 AM

I think the issue is their current style of play, he said himself he was trying to change the way the team plays but sure I read in the last few games they've not even registered a shot on target.

Maybe a bit like us with Jack Ross. Even when it was going well and we finished third there were plenty fans complaining about the style of play, despite it being relatively successful.

17-03-2023, 12:18 PM
He been on a bad run but they should have given him more time ,very harsh sacking . Ange postecoglou is in the betting for it , no chance he's swapping Celtic for palace imo .

A bad run, not won a game this year!

17-03-2023, 12:31 PM

Their decent cushion over the clubs below has almost gone, they can't score, they have few shots, no change in approach/tactics/formations etc. so no change in results. I think "these types of club" and their supporters expect a bit more than that!

17-03-2023, 12:33 PM

Who says it's where they should be?

Donegal Hibby
17-03-2023, 01:35 PM
A bad run, not won a game this year!
I checked up on that and noticed they haven't won a game this year though apart from one game they have only been getting beat by a odd goal in what is a really hard run of games, there's also 5 ( * ) results I'd consider pretty decent. I think Vieira should have got more time and his sacking is extremely harsh .

Spurs (h) lost 4-0 .
Chelsea (a ) lost 1-0 .
Man Utd (h) drew 1- 1 . * .
Newcastle (h) drew 0-0 *.
Man Utd (a ) lost 2-1 .
Brighton (h) drew 1-1 * .
Brentford (a) drew 1- 1 *.
Liverpool ( h) drew 0-0 * .
Aston villa (a) lost 1-0 .
Man city (h) lost 1-0 .
Brighton ( a) lost 1-0 .

17-03-2023, 01:44 PM
I checked up on that and noticed they haven't won a game this year though apart from one game they have only been getting beat by a odd goal in what is a really hard run of games, there's also 5 ( * ) results I'd consider pretty decent. I think Vieira should have got more time and his sacking is extremely harsh .

Spurs (h) lost 4-0 .
Chelsea (a ) lost 1-0 .
Man Utd (a ) lost 2-1 .
Man city (h) lost 1-0 .
Brighton ( a) lost 1-0 .

5 points from the last 30 on offer. Just above relegation. How long would you give him, giving there is an international break coming up and there is the process of recruiting a Jew manager which takes time.

17-03-2023, 01:49 PM
5 points from the last 30 on offer. Just above relegation. How long would you give him, giving there is an international break coming up and there is the process of recruiting a Jew manager which takes time.

... given they have just had a black manager, that would be another bold step from Palace.

17-03-2023, 01:49 PM

Magnificent typo.

17-03-2023, 01:50 PM

I think you're confusing Palace with Spurs.

17-03-2023, 05:34 PM
Ain’t Patrick’s Day…

ErinGoBraghHFC
17-03-2023, 05:40 PM
I think you're confusing Palace with Spurs.

**** sake [emoji23]

17-03-2023, 05:51 PM

Spurs (h) lost 4-0 .
Chelsea (a ) lost 1-0 .
Man Utd (a ) lost 2-1 .
Man city (h) lost 1-0 .
Brighton ( a) lost 1-0 .

That is just a list of results. If you had actually watched all those games you would have known the boredom and frustration suffered by the Palace supporters and been appalled at the lack of fight from the players. The draws against Newcastle and Brighton were the luckiest two points in this league so far this season. Viera, like many managers, would not change or adapt his approach and, like Maloney, tried to shoehorn players into a style and shape that wasn't working. Looking at results and stats is not the whole story of a manager's efforts. Viera was a great player and a lot of hope was pinned on him. All very well looking in from the outside and making judgements but when you are an actual supporter of a club (even "those type of clubs") you feel very differently. Viera didn't work out - move on (and hopefully stay up).

Donegal Hibby
18-03-2023, 12:35 PM
That is just a list of results. If you had actually watched all those games you would have known the boredom and frustration suffered by the Palace supporters and been appalled at the lack of fight from the players. The draws against Newcastle and Brighton were the luckiest two points in this league so far this season. Viera, like many managers, would not change or adapt his approach and, like Maloney, tried to shoehorn players into a style and shape that wasn't working. Looking at results and stats is not the whole story of a manager's efforts. Viera was a great player and a lot of hope was pinned on him. All very well looking in from the outside and making judgements but when you are an actual supporter of a club (even "those type of clubs") you feel very differently. Viera didn't work out - move on (and hopefully stay up).
The list of results are all against teams above palace and 7 out of the 11 are against the best and wealthiest teams in the league and with no disrespect to palace should be getting well beaten in . Even this Sunday they have arsenal at the Emirates . Which they could possibly get a doing in though after that they have I think a run of 5 or 6 winnable games were they have to play the bottom team's and I'd have stuck with the manager for them.

I don't know what crystal palace fans expectations are though Vieira finished 12th last season and got them to the semi final of the FA cup which I would have thought was a fairly decent season for them . They are 12th now and I'd have been pretty confident under Vieira they would have stayed up comfortably , now I'm not so sure , depends who they get .

Roy Hodgson seems to be the favourite and is a good manager though he's 75 now and mighten want the hassle of it . I don't really see that many good managers available for palace to be fair which is why I think they have taken a massive gamble. I heard before Vieira was appointed there were two other managers that had accepted the post only to pull out of the running in the end up which has me wondering did palace actually back Vieira financially or was the guy's hands tied . Anyhow crystal palace have made the decision and it will be interesting to see if it works out or not .
https://www.skysports.com/watch/video/sports/football/12835975/crystal-palace-sacking-patrick-vieira-the-wrong-decision-says-clinton-morrison

Donegal Hibby
18-03-2023, 05:09 PM
Robbie's not Mr popular across the road :greengrin .
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/199849-neilson-poll-march-2023/

18-03-2023, 06:09 PM

They want Ranieri as manager 😆

Silky
18-03-2023, 06:15 PM

Have to make do with Robbieri

GRA
18-03-2023, 07:24 PM

I'm a bit confused... A few weeks ago he was the best Scottish manager since Fergie, the gap to the OF was closing and they were going to win the league in the next 3 years...

Donegal Hibby
18-03-2023, 07:43 PM
I'm a bit confused... A few weeks ago he was the best Scottish manager since Fergie, the gap to the OF was closing and they were going to win the league in the next 3 years...
I think reality has hit home today 😂😂😂

Up-the-slope
18-03-2023, 08:36 PM
Antonio Conte gone on some rant after todays game... surely hes trying to get a free holiday :greengrin

18-03-2023, 08:40 PM
Antonio Conte gone on some rant after todays game... surely hes trying to get a free holiday :greengrin

He signed a 60 million pound striker that has not scored a single league goal for them !

He will walk away when his contract ends , Spurs are ***** with a major rebuilding job required

18-03-2023, 08:45 PM

Some are saying ‘Get rid after he secures 3rd. spot and then bin him’. So I suppose the new guy will win the league next season or, at worst, split the ugly sisters. :blah::jamboclow:faf:

Scotty Leither
18-03-2023, 08:46 PM
Be some laugh for them to lose 3rd (hopefully to us) and Stig of the Dump getting sacked because of losing to us. Again.

18-03-2023, 08:49 PM
Be some laugh for them to lose 3rd (hopefully to us) and Stig of the Dump getting sacked because of losing to us. Again.

By the way its no unrealistic to see us beat Motherwell and that lot lose to Kilmarnock and the gap being 2 points

Hearts best season in a million years and hibs breathing doon their necks !!

18-03-2023, 08:58 PM
By the way its no unrealistic to see us beat Motherwell and that lot lose to Kilmarnock and the gap being 2 points

Hearts best season in a million years and hibs breathing doon their necks !!

You’re being very disrespectful to what is one of the finest sides to ever grace Scottish Football.

And “Robbie” - the heir apparent to Alex Ferguson.

Disgraceful post.

18-03-2023, 09:11 PM
You’re being very disrespectful to what is one of the finest sides to ever grace Scottish Football.

And “Robbie” - the heir apparent to Alex Ferguson.

Disgraceful post.

Robbie Klopp:cb:cb

18-03-2023, 09:23 PM
It’s their derby victory this season which is separating the teams swapping positions.

Quite mad when hearts were champions league material the way their fans were talking

18-03-2023, 09:26 PM
Be funny as **** if they end up punting Robbie if they balls up a 3rd place finish.. All the funnier given their *****y fans were singing about Johnson getting sacked back in January

19-03-2023, 11:56 AM
One win in ten for Maloney at Wigan now. And that was in his second game. Financial issues probably masking his record.

19-03-2023, 12:47 PM

Robbie Klopp:cb:cb

Klobbie Ropp

20-03-2023, 08:15 PM
Conte away this week, according to reports

His outburst was him looking for a way out I reckon

But begs the question how can mourinho nor conte get a tune out that squad?

20-03-2023, 08:32 PM

I don’t think either of them seem like a good fit for that club.

They’re not a club who have won much recently or likely to win much and they’ve employed managers that are used to winning things every season. Feels a bit like they’ve jumped the gun getting managers like those in before the club was ready for them.

An up and coming manager, like Pochettino was far more likely to get the club pulling in the same direction.

20-03-2023, 08:45 PM
Palace have had it good for quite a while. Time to go down and let one of those old clubs back up.

21-03-2023, 07:11 AM
Roy Hodgson appointed Crystal Palace Manager until end of the season

BBC Sport

21-03-2023, 07:58 AM
Roy Hodgson appointed Crystal Palace Manager until end of the season

BBC Sport

Warhammer!

ChilliEater
21-03-2023, 11:36 AM
Klobbie Ropp

Jobby Plop :******:

21-03-2023, 11:39 AM
I don’t think either of them seem like a good fit for that club.

They’re not a club who have won much recently or likely to win much and they’ve employed managers that are used to winning things every season. Feels a bit like they’ve jumped the gun getting managers like those in before the club was ready for them.

An up and coming manager, like Pochettino was far more likely to get the club pulling in the same direction.
:agree: Graham Potter would have been a better fit at Spurs than he is ever going to be (IMHO) at Chelsea.

21-03-2023, 08:40 PM
Peterhead have sacked manager David Robertson after less than four months following a series of "embarrassing results".

Former Aberdeen and Rangers defender Robertson, 54, replaced the long-serving Jim McInally in late November.

He lost nine of his 12 matches in League 1, including Saturday's 7-0 thrashing at Airdrieonians.

21-03-2023, 09:35 PM
Peterhead have sacked manager David Robertson after less than four months following a series of "embarrassing results".

Former Aberdeen and Rangers defender Robertson, 54, replaced the long-serving Jim McInally in late November.

He lost nine of his 12 matches in League 1, including Saturday's 7-0 thrashing at Airdrieonians.

Were Peterhead not absolutely honking for much of the season? It was going to take more than just a change of manager to get them on track.

22-03-2023, 07:41 AM

Pretty poor squad, that's why. Miles behind Arsenal, City etc.

Paul1642
22-03-2023, 09:43 AM
https://twitter.com/pieandbov/status/1638256374399266845?s=46&t=QfwAUDYQuecN_TDBpg3wPA

Pie and Bovrel on twitter tend to post a managerial days in post update every time a manger is sacked. Interesting to see that less than 50% (20 out of 42) of managers in Scotland have been in their job for one year and only 5 have hit the 3 year mark (none of which are in the Premiership and only one is championship).

Managers really don’t last long these days.

22-03-2023, 10:27 AM
https://twitter.com/pieandbov/status/1638256374399266845?s=46&t=QfwAUDYQuecN_TDBpg3wPA

Pie and Bovrel on twitter tend to post a managerial days in post update every time a manger is sacked. Interesting to see that less than 50% (20 out of 42) of managers in Scotland have been in their job for one year and only 5 have hit the 3 year mark (none of which are in the Premiership and only one is championship).

Maybe because they are not very good.

22-03-2023, 12:36 PM

Robertson was completely radge in Kashmir. Wonder if that style of management still works these days, particularly with part time players

22-03-2023, 12:45 PM

Good news for them is they all own the club so the decision to sack him should be made quickly and easily.

22-03-2023, 01:07 PM
Why would they want him out? He must be one of the most successful managers in their history? A couple of cup finals, 3rd place, group stage European football, on course to finish 3rd again. Strange.

Paul1642
22-03-2023, 01:13 PM
Why would they want him out? He must be one of the most successful managers in their history? A couple of cup finals, 3rd place, group stage European football, on course to finish 3rd again. Strange.

I guess we will see how this season plays out. At one point they looked certain for a 3rd place finish.

Now the team in 7th is only 7 points behind them with 9 games still to play. If they don’t take 9 points minimum from their next 4 they could be going into the top 6 in a pretty shaky position, especially if we manage to beat them (I’m certainly not holding my breath on that).

Aberdeen could easily take 9 points before the spit and Hibs should probably take around 9 points regardless of the derby result.

If they don’t finish 3rd, especially if they finish below us, fans will be calling for his head and I wouldn’t blame them.

22-03-2023, 01:14 PM

They don’t but they have the luxury of being compensated for being sacked! Must be the only job where you negotiate your pay off and salary before you start.

Donegal Hibby
22-03-2023, 02:07 PM
Good news for them is they all own the club so the decision to sack him should be made quickly and easily.
Yes that would be the easy part for them though the process of deciding to appoint either pochettino or Tuchel as manager could take longer :greengrin

23-03-2023, 05:06 PM

Didn't read their thread but saw the poll results were 61% want him sacked now, 22% not sure and only 17% want him to stay. This has the feeling of the Levein tenure when a few times they were only a derby defeat away from storming the plaza/piazza but he'd buy himself more time by beating us. Here's hoping we beat them in a few weeks time and can get the popcorn out to watch the scenes outside Le Coq Arena unfolding on Twitter.

JamesHFC
23-03-2023, 07:23 PM
Bayern close to sacking Nagelsmann and replacing him with Tuchel apparently.

23-03-2023, 07:36 PM
Bayern close to sacking Nagelsmann and replacing him with Tuchel apparently.

Would be a crazy decision imo. They let him down by not replacing Lewandowski.

He cost them a fortune and was meant to be the long term plan. He's actually doing very well in CL. Good chance to win it. Just lacking a consistent goalscorer. And Sane and Gnabry really off form.

He's really doing no worse than pep for example. Pep is further behind in the league even.

JamesHFC
23-03-2023, 07:48 PM

He cost them a fortune and was meant to be the long term plan. He's actually doing very well in CL. Good chance to win it. Just lacking a consistent goalscorer. And Sane and Gnabry really off form.

He's really doing no worse than pep for example. Pep is further behind in the league even.

Two clean sheets against PSG with their attack is some achievement too.

23-03-2023, 08:26 PM

I hate to be that guy but I did call this back in Jan/Feb time!

Nagelsmann just hasn’t won enough games. Bayern were never gonna mess about when the League was in doubt. With that squad they should be about 12 points better off

JamesHFC
23-03-2023, 09:53 PM

Nagelsmann just hasn’t won enough games. Bayern were never gonna mess about when the League was in doubt. With that squad they should be about 12 points better off

Bayern won 8/8 in the CL this season including 7 clean sheets.. twice against PSG, Barca & Inter.

Donegal Hibby
23-03-2023, 10:27 PM
I know Bayern expect to win the league though they are only 1 point behind Dortmund and there next game is Dortmund at home. Nagelsmann is a excellent manager as his record shows.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Julian_Nagelsmann

24-03-2023, 04:14 AM

This doesn't appear to be results based and their fans online agree. They think it's the result of an internal problem.

He's still in all 3 competitions and probably favourite for them too.

24-03-2023, 05:50 AM
This doesn't appear to be results based and their fans online agree. They think it's the result of an internal problem.

He's still in all 3 competitions and probably favourite for them too.

They’ve dropped points domestically in the same number of games already this season, as they had for the total season last year.

Something wasn’t right