View Full Version : Managerial Sack Race

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17]

Chip shop Joe
13-02-2025, 04:38 PM
He was only ever going to succeed in the parochial backwater that is Scotland with a lot more miles on the clock and experience under his belt than he had when he was given the Hearts job. He'd need to point to a lot more on his cv than he had at the time when coming under pressure from the "whit dis he ken aboot fitba" crowd - a crowd that includes fans, media, his own players and many more.

It was utter lunacy giving it to him then and was only ever going to end one way.

Fair play to him for re-building an excellent coaching career since that experience.

He would have survived if he was a good manger and getting results. He has maybe become one now but he certainly wasn’t one.

Also he came out with some crap during interviews talking about “schematics”and stuff along the lines of “if you take the goalposts away there was nothing in it” after a defeat!

13-02-2025, 05:17 PM
He would have survived if he was a good manger and getting results. He has maybe become one now but he certainly wasn’t one.

Also he came out with some crap during interviews talking about “schematics”and stuff along the lines of “if you take the goalposts away there was nothing in it” after a defeat!

I just thought he lacked the gravitas to get his ideas across to grizzled pros as the main man at that stage in his career, in Scotland. I wouldn't really know about the merits of his ideas or his knowledge but whilst they'll possibly be a bit better since he gained a bit more experience, I'd be surprised if they're all that much better now - not the sort of difference that is seeing him do better in Portugal compared to his struggles here.

And whilst I'm not going to defend the pish he spouted, those comments (especially the fairly valid goalposts one) would have journos eating out his hands if he's Brendan Rodgers or Walter Smith. When they come from a struggling rabbit in the headlights he gets slaughtered and ridiculed. His interviews it would appear are having the desired effect in a different language in Portugal.

13-02-2025, 06:23 PM
Exactly the opposite of being sacked but Ian Cathro has been voted manager of the month in Portugals top flight. Ridiculed to the nth degree in Scotland but he's had a good career elsewhere and is well shot of the madhouse environment he was in with CL at Hearts.

I miss the Dalry Llama.

13-02-2025, 08:50 PM
I miss the Dalry Llama.

It’s OK.

14-02-2025, 09:59 AM
Exactly the opposite of being sacked but Ian Cathro has been voted manager of the month in Portugals top flight. Ridiculed to the nth degree in Scotland but he's had a good career elsewhere and is well shot of the madhouse environment he was in with CL at Hearts.I think it's as simple as he was speaking Portuguese all along and no one had a clue what he was on about.

Great value for us Hibbies was Father Dougal, but fair play to him for what he's gone on to achieve.

Obviously the cauldron of expectation that goes with managing such a big famous atmospheric club with it's legendary identity was just a step too far for him.

14-02-2025, 10:03 AM
https://youtu.be/0juSJ6f3X24?si=Oi4C0yMIngejciZD

Any excuse to watch this masterpiece

Donegal Hibby
14-02-2025, 10:16 AM
Let’s not forget the ‘ No goalposts’ one ‘ …..

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/five-media-faux-pas-of-ex-hearts-boss-ian-cathro-1443762

14-02-2025, 10:23 AM
Maybe so but the Motherwell fans have been wanting rid of him for a while. They actually went on a worse run last season than they're on just now. They were very poor at Easter Road.

You say "the Motherwell fans" when I think what you mean is a vocal section of the Motherwell fans.
As an example, in the past, vocal sections of the Hibs support have been very quick to call for the heads of managers. I think almost without exception they did NOT represent the views of the wider support base.
Fans with knee jerk opinions are often very good at shouting them loudly - doesn't mean they represent the majority.

14-02-2025, 06:29 PM
Let’s not forget the ‘ No goalposts’ one ‘ …..

https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/five-media-faux-pas-of-ex-hearts-boss-ian-cathro-1443762

Then, when asked what exactly Levein was doing in the dressing room at half-time, he said: “You’ve probably got to look at the schematics of Pittodrie - there’s not that much space.” 😂😂😂

14-02-2025, 07:29 PM
Not managerial but

Raith Rovers can confirm that Andrew Barrowman is no longer the Club’s Chief Executive.

14-02-2025, 07:33 PM
I read today that there are only 6 British coaches in the top 5 leagues in Europe and two of those are based in France. Remarkably low number.

14-02-2025, 07:41 PM
Not managerial but

Raith Rovers can confirm that Andrew Barrowman is no longer the Club’s Chief Executive.
Don't know what is going on there🤔

14-02-2025, 07:43 PM
Not managerial but

I wonder who’s looking for one?

17-02-2025, 08:57 AM
Interesting appointment by Motherwell

Michael Wimmer. Managed in Germany and Austria. Interesting statement documenting their recruitment process and how the manager aligned

https://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/2025/02/17/michael-wimmer-is-the-new-motherwell-manager/

17-02-2025, 09:08 AM

Michael Wimmer. Managed in Germany and Austria. Interesting statement documenting their recruitment process and how the manager aligned

https://www.motherwellfc.co.uk/2025/02/17/michael-wimmer-is-the-new-motherwell-manager/
Can only imagine the childish amusement regarding his assistant 🧐

17-02-2025, 09:13 AM

Sounds like a decent appointment.

"He moved to Austria Vienna in his first permanent managerial role in senior football. In his 16 months in charge of the Austrian outfit, he managed 57 matches, with Ahmet Koc by his side. In his first six months in charge, Wimmer guided his team to a top-six finish, ending up fifth in the standings. They would miss out on a top-six finish by goal difference in the 23/24 season, but he would be commended for his continued improvement of young players within the side."

17-02-2025, 09:15 AM

He looks like he could be decent.

17-02-2025, 09:16 AM
Nobody guessed this guy.

17-02-2025, 10:26 AM
Hopefully starts with a good result on Saturday.

Trinity Hibee
17-02-2025, 10:32 AM

Very interesting. Wonder what attracted him to Motherwell

17-02-2025, 10:38 AM
He looks like John Torode from Masterchef :greengrin

17-02-2025, 10:49 AM
He didn't seem to do all that well in his only full season of management.

17-02-2025, 11:27 AM
I used to enjoy the letters in Viz where chefs used to write in detailing what they'd done to Michael Winner's soup.

17-02-2025, 11:36 AM
He didn't seem to do all that well in his only full season of management.

Probably why he’s available to Motherwell.

17-02-2025, 12:03 PM
Still would be putting money on Motherwell finishing in the bottom two

Saint Hibee
17-02-2025, 12:07 PM
Very interesting. Wonder what attracted him to Motherwell

I can only imagine that never having previously been to Motherwell is what attracted him to Motherwell.

17-02-2025, 12:14 PM
He looks like John Torode from Masterchef :greengrin

He certainly does!!

Trinity Hibee
17-02-2025, 12:24 PM
I can only imagine that never having previously been to Motherwell is what attracted him to Motherwell.

17-02-2025, 02:10 PM
Is Frail staying with them or being punted?
The new manager has brought in an assistant Manager, which is Frail’s role I think

17-02-2025, 02:20 PM
Motherwell have been quite creative with their managerial appointments over the years - I think since the SPL started in the late 90s, only Kettlewell had managed in the league before they appointed him - and it's generally served them pretty well.

Be interesting to see how Wimmer does.

17-02-2025, 02:25 PM
The new manager has brought in an assistant Manager, which is Frail’s role I think

Punted

17-02-2025, 02:28 PM
Motherwell have been quite creative with their managerial appointments over the years - I think since the SPL started in the late 90s, only Kettlewell had managed in the league before they appointed him - and it's generally served them pretty well.

Be interesting to see how Wimmer does.

Mind they brought in that left field appointment from Stockport I think it was, guy ended up being a total bammer I think? Sure there was a suggestion he was posting on here when he wanted the Hibs job.

17-02-2025, 02:44 PM

Frail eh , My abiding memory of him was when he was interim Hearts manager running onto the pitch at the end of the match at Easter road all the way to the hearts support to celebrate a 1-1 draw , And i mean proper celebrations by the way , Fist pumps the lot with the team like they had just won the Champions league , Complete cringefest

17-02-2025, 02:56 PM
Mind they brought in that left field appointment from Stockport I think it was, guy ended up being a total bammer I think? Sure there was a suggestion he was posting on here when he wanted the Hibs job.

Aye, Jim Gannon. Think he maybe was close to being appointed by us before he went there?

17-02-2025, 02:59 PM
28539The new Motherwell manager is an older version of Lewis Stevenson!

17-02-2025, 03:05 PM

Holy ****!

17-02-2025, 03:10 PM

:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious

17-02-2025, 06:54 PM
Swansea sack their manager.

18-02-2025, 09:39 AM
Doolan away from Partick

18-02-2025, 09:45 AM
Frail eh , My abiding memory of him was when he was interim Hearts manager running onto the pitch at the end of the match at Easter road all the way to the hearts support to celebrate a 1-1 draw , And i mean proper celebrations by the way , Fist pumps the lot with the team like they had just won the Champions league , Complete cringefest
Another Glasgow born hertz supporter. Didn’t know he was Andy Robertsons uncle

18-02-2025, 09:47 AM

It's like Lewis Stevenson has had to put a really crap disguise on for some reason.

18-02-2025, 11:01 AM
Another Glasgow born hertz supporter. Didn’t know he was Andy Robertsons uncle

Pretty sure i read Frail was brought up a big Celtic supporter.

wandering_hibee
18-02-2025, 12:02 PM
Doolan away from Partick Just read that, really seems very harsh and not sure who is going to come in and do any better.

Paul1642
18-02-2025, 03:17 PM
Just read that, really seems very harsh and not sure who is going to come in and do any better.

Seems harsh to me. Also a man I very much associate with Partick Thistle. I wonder how their fans feel about it.

Bridge hibs
18-02-2025, 04:08 PM
Just read that, really seems very harsh and not sure who is going to come in and do any better.

Most likely Brian Graham as player coach

18-02-2025, 04:48 PM
Doolan away from Partick

Always quite liked him

18-02-2025, 05:45 PM
Doolan away from Partick

Strange decision that. Always liked Doolan and thought there was a good coach there. Not sure who’d do better than him to be honest

18-02-2025, 05:46 PM
Just listened to Stuart Kettelwells interview. Comes across like a right fud. Released on the same day Motherwell announce their new manager. It's a like a jilted partner being bitter when their ex meets someone new. Trumpet of a man.

18-02-2025, 05:57 PM
Motherwell going for Wimmer is a bit like When the jambos went for the whatshisnameagain relegation manager.
They’ll soon have a butterfingers goalie.

18-02-2025, 07:21 PM
Mind well appointed Harri kampman

18-02-2025, 07:25 PM
Motherwell going for Wimmer is a bit like When the jambos went for the whatshisnameagain relegation manager.
They’ll soon have a butterfingers goalie.

Hello friends and friends, here is your Daniel…

24-02-2025, 07:29 AM
Boooooo that's clement away

Just_Jimmy
24-02-2025, 08:51 AM
28539The new Motherwell manager is an older version of Lewis Stevenson!Yet younger in age, because Lewis does not age.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

24-02-2025, 08:52 AM
Is it just Clement that’s been dismissed?

24-02-2025, 08:55 AM
Is it just Clement that’s been dismissed?

2 others as well. Kevin Thomson being promoted to director of footy :sick:

24-02-2025, 09:01 AM
2 others as well. Kevin Thomson being promoted to director of footy :sick:

He was just appointed as assistant manager of the under 18’s the other day, big step up😀

02-03-2025, 09:49 AM
Maloney sacked by Wigan

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
02-03-2025, 10:04 AM
Maloney sacked by Wigan

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

It was always going to happen sadly, Wigan fans happy with the news and just wondered why it took so long .

02-03-2025, 10:47 AM
Is Fergie still there ?

02-03-2025, 02:52 PM
It was always going to happen sadly, Wigan fans happy with the news and just wondered why it took so long .

Management isn't for him.

02-03-2025, 07:02 PM
Another former Hibernian grate, Patrick Cregg sacked by Brechin.

05-03-2025, 01:47 PM
Lee Johnson back in the green and white with Lommel in Belgium.

Good luck to him.

05-03-2025, 01:54 PM

Good luck to him.

Must have one of the best agents going

05-03-2025, 01:57 PM
Must have one of the best agents going

Seems to be through his link with the City Group

05-03-2025, 02:10 PM
Seems to be through his link with the City Group

His SAS connections may come in handy too 🤣

Donegal Hibby
05-03-2025, 02:23 PM

Good luck to him.

I’ll second that . Good luck LJ .

05-03-2025, 04:22 PM
I’ll second that . Good luck LJ .
Yip 👍

11-03-2025, 02:32 PM
Calum Elliott released of his manager duties at Bonnyrigg Rose

Donegal Hibby
15-03-2025, 06:33 PM
Callum Davidson sacked.

15-03-2025, 07:26 PM
Callum Davidson sacked.

Needs appointed as a cup only manager.

He's here!
16-03-2025, 09:32 AM
Callum Davidson sacked.

Knocking Rangers out the cup at Ibrox doesn't buy you much time these days. Seems harsh.

Donegal Hibby
16-03-2025, 09:49 AM
Knocking Rangers out the cup at Ibrox doesn't buy you much time these days. Seems harsh.

Neither did doing a cup double. Our own situation with Gray is a classic example in why clubs should support and give a manager time . I think it’s harsh too after the historic cup win he managed to achieve with them .

17-03-2025, 11:19 AM
Michael Tidser sacked by Dunfermline after eight league games.

Two wins, two draws and four defeats.

17-03-2025, 11:45 AM

They really didn't like him over there judging by comments on their Facebook. Didn't even give an interview after the Raith game.

17-03-2025, 11:47 AM

They were really bad on Friday against Raith. Had nothing about them at all.

17-03-2025, 11:48 AM

That’s no time at all, and considering they were keen to get him on
They however were terrible on Friday v Raith, and are in a big relegation battle
Who on Sportscene is available

He's here!
17-03-2025, 11:48 AM

Should've stuck with McPake.

17-03-2025, 11:52 AM

Jeez 8 games, whats a manager supposed to do in that timeframe?

Donegal Hibby
17-03-2025, 11:55 AM

Thought he was a strange appointment considering the options there were . Another manager who didn’t really get a chance like Davidson . Should have appointed Ian Murray in the beginning . He must be a strong possibility for the job this time surely?

17-03-2025, 12:32 PM
Wonder if they fancy Davidson?

17-03-2025, 01:46 PM
Wonder if they fancy Davidson?

Kettlewell until the end of the season has also been mentioned

07-04-2025, 10:00 AM
Southampton sack their manager

07-04-2025, 01:06 PM
Gosh didn't see that coming 😂😂😂

07-04-2025, 01:13 PM
Southampton sack their managerBig gamble, but appointing Harry Worth as a top flight football manager was never going to work.

08-04-2025, 06:06 PM

So what was the point of sacking Russell Martin?

08-04-2025, 06:20 PM
So what was the point of sacking Russell Martin?
No point at all and a good number of people at the time thought that, just amounted to throwing a Hail Mary in the hope something extraordinary was going to happen. Same thing at Leicester, didn't work there either. No point winning the Championship then hoping that same team can cut it in the EPL.

08-04-2025, 07:40 PM
Club Statement

Kelty Hearts FC can confirm that Manager, Charlie Mulgrew, has today tendered his resignation from the post, which has been accepted by the club Board.

We can also confirm that Assistant Manager, Mark Kerr, will leave the club by mutual agreement.

08-04-2025, 07:42 PM
Club Statement

Kelty Hearts FC can confirm that Manager, Charlie Mulgrew, has today tendered his resignation from the post, which has been accepted by the club Board.

We can also confirm that Assistant Manager, Mark Kerr, will leave the club by mutual agreement.

You only need to listen to the mince he talks as a pundit to tell he’d be an awful manager. Guys a diddy.

08-04-2025, 07:44 PM
Club Statement

Well that was short lived - he only got the post this year no?

08-04-2025, 07:45 PM
Club Statement

Kelty Hearts’ 11 games since appointing Charlie Mulgrew:

1 win
3 draws
7 defeats
5 scored
21 conceded

He’s never off the TV. Wonder if the lad who went to Dunfermline will take over

08-04-2025, 07:45 PM

‘Kelty Hearts’ 11 games since appointing Charlie Mulgrew:

1 win
3 draws
7 defeats
5 scored
21 conceded

It’s statistically their worst ever run of form in the SPFL, they currently sit just 4 points above the relegation playoff’

08-04-2025, 07:46 PM

He’ll be on Sportsound this weekend

badabing67
08-04-2025, 08:39 PM
You only need to listen to the mince he talks as a pundit to tell he’d be an awful manager. Guys a diddy.

But he is a Sportscene coach? Will soon be joined by Neill and Billy

09-04-2025, 06:31 AM
‘Kelty Hearts’ 11 games since appointing Charlie Mulgrew:

1 win
3 draws
7 defeats
5 scored
21 conceded

It’s statistically their worst ever run of form in the SPFL, they currently sit just 4 points above the relegation playoff’

And they got a total pumping at the weekend 0-5 at home to Dumbarton

09-04-2025, 06:37 AM
And they got a total pumping at the weekend 0-5 at home to Dumbarton

6-0 loss at home to bottom of the league (by miles) Dumbarton. They must be bad.

Sloop67
09-04-2025, 08:22 AM
No point at all and a good number of people at the time thought that, just amounted to throwing a Hail Mary in the hope something extraordinary was going to happen. Same thing at Leicester, didn't work there either. No point winning the Championship then hoping that same team can cut it in the EPL.

Yo-Yo clubs existing on parachute payments

09-04-2025, 10:02 AM
He’ll be on Sportsound this weekend

He’s as bad at that as he is a manager

1875M
09-04-2025, 12:22 PM
Another one of the Open Goal team who preach every week about ‘philosophies’ and ‘football folk’ being sacked. Can’t wait for him to be back on OG and BBC preaching about how football should be played.

11-04-2025, 03:08 PM
“Robbie” jettisoned by Tampa Bay Rowdies four games into new season.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/robbie-neilson-sacked-former-hearts-manager-brutal-statement-5079736

12-04-2025, 06:50 PM
Got to be on the cards for Critchley to get hooked if Hearts don't win the cup.

12-04-2025, 06:55 PM

Which would be incredibly harsh given Celtic will win it

Donegal Hibby
12-04-2025, 08:36 PM

Have a poll on Critchley done and over 79% want him out now , also one of them started a thread on who they want in……. Sean Dyche :faf:

13-04-2025, 07:19 AM
Have a poll on Critchley done and over 79% want him out now , also one of them started a thread on who they want in……. Sean Dyche :faf:

Ah! So they're wanting attacking exciting football then :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin

13-04-2025, 07:57 AM

Absolute lunatics.

13-04-2025, 08:07 AM
Don Cowie might be a decent shout for them explayer knows the league talks sense but has his work cut out just now

13-04-2025, 08:36 AM
Kelty Hearts’ 11 games since appointing Charlie Mulgrew:

1 win
3 draws
7 defeats
5 scored
21 conceded

He’s never off the TV. Wonder if the lad who went to Dunfermline will take over

Tidser fair chance i would say

13-04-2025, 09:27 AM
Robinsons record in Scotland now looking outstanding. Can see him moving on soon.

13-04-2025, 09:32 AM

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/robbie-neilson-sacked-former-hearts-manager-brutal-statement-5079736

He’ll be having a manicure when the call comes after the Crotchley exit….

13-04-2025, 12:33 PM

They believe in the roster so got rid of the hearts Roaster lol

15-04-2025, 10:45 AM
See Mulgrew is back to punditry duties quick smart. Did our game on Premier Sport and back on Opengoal later today.

I’m sure they’ll have some cutting edge questions about his time as manager…

20-04-2025, 12:00 PM
I see Cardiff City sacked their manager yesterday, and have put Aaron Ramsey in charge until the end of the season
Think they are now onto their 3rd managerial team this season

Tully
20-04-2025, 01:39 PM
I see Cardiff City sacked their manager yesterday, and have put Aaron Ramsey in charge until the end of the season
Think they are now onto their 3rd managerial team this season

No wonder he got sacked sounded like Mike basset when interviewed after there game at Sheffield united totally clueless

20-04-2025, 02:04 PM
No wonder he got sacked sounded like Mike basset when interviewed after there game at Sheffield united totally clueless

But then you have to ask who makes these terrible appointments?

Tully
20-04-2025, 04:20 PM
But then you have to ask who makes these terrible appointments?

Correct but this fool made cathro look like a genius

20-04-2025, 04:30 PM
Correct but this fool made cathro look like a genius

Cathro gets laughed at for his time in Scotland but he's had a very good coaching career including presently. Manager of the month in Portugal in February.

21-04-2025, 06:24 PM
Tony Mowbray sacked by West Brom

BBC Sport

21-04-2025, 06:49 PM

BBC Sport

Part of me wants to see the guy just sail off into the sunset and enjoy his restful retirement with his family. Hard though when you know he's such a good coach and that he obviously loves it all.

Tully
21-04-2025, 06:52 PM
Cathro gets laughed at for his time in Scotland but he's had a very good coaching career including presently. Manager of the month in Portugal in February.

Still a joke when he was in Scotland

21-04-2025, 07:02 PM
Part of me wants to see the guy just sail off into the sunset and enjoy his restful retirement with his family. Hard though when you know he's such a good coach and that he obviously loves it all.

Agree needs to put himself first and as you say ride off into the sunset retire and spend time with his family

21-04-2025, 07:07 PM

BBC Sport
Think might be his last club

He's here!
21-04-2025, 10:19 PM

He needed more time than they gave him. The pressure on managers to deliver instant success, especially when there are places in the increasingly hideous EPL up for grabs, is insane.

Ribs1875
22-04-2025, 06:55 AM

Doubt it. He's back to full health, and is a respected manager. WBA have been too trigger happy in recent times. The game needs more folk like him in it.

Donegal Hibby
22-04-2025, 10:02 AM

I’m not so sure . I think football is in that guys blood and now he’s back to good health (thankfully) it’s possible he will want to manage again . I know they were on a bad run but sacking a experienced manager like that after 3 months I think was madness.

22-04-2025, 10:53 AM
Norwich sack Johannes Hoff

22-04-2025, 04:09 PM
Speculation heightens over Postecoglou leaving Spurs. No great surprise.

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/ange-postecoglou-leave-tottenham-even-35047870

26-04-2025, 07:05 PM
Neil Critchley sacked by Hearts

BBC Sport