17-09-2024, 02:41 PM
Wonder if they will go for Liam Craig.
Rumble de Thump
17-09-2024, 02:42 PM
It was a good laugh, wasn't it?
NC1875
Lovely that the big ****bags last defeat was at Easter Rd. Surely won’t get another job in management now.
It's never nice to see any...ah never mind
17-09-2024, 02:52 PM
Cheer-io Craig Levein.
Don’t think we will see him again in the SPFL.
17-09-2024, 02:56 PM
No surprise in that. They had absolutely nothing about them on Saturday.
17-09-2024, 03:01 PM
Wonder if they will go for Liam Craig.
Different regime in charge right enough but they emptied him when he was assistant before Levein came in.
Levein has left St.Johnstone
Levein getting punted again having won no trophies... Natural order restored!
Hopefully his last gig in Scottish football ends in defeat at easter road 👋
17-09-2024, 03:05 PM
No surprise in that. They had absolutely nothing about them on Saturday.
They're a terrible side. You look at the squad on paper and really struggle to see how any manager could get a tune out of them.
Always good to see Levein out on his arse though.
17-09-2024, 03:07 PM
So long farewell to Harry Potter the man who won nae winners medals as a Manager and Player
The man who tried to revolutionise international football by introducing 5-5 with nae strikers we almost held oot
Good to see Natural Order was finally restored on Saturday with both sets of supporters asking for him to just go
Who’s laughing now ? 😀
17-09-2024, 03:08 PM
If I was St J and looking within Scotland you would think maybe Murray, McCabe, Doolan or Brown.
Off course with a new owner he will probably already know who he wants.
17-09-2024, 03:10 PM
If I was St J and looking within Scotland you would think maybe Murray, McCabe, Doolan or Brown.
Ian Murray must be in with a shout.
It'd be a bad move for Brown just now, he's doing well where he is, and the St Johnstone jobs going to be a kick in the baws for anyone who takes it.
leith lynx
17-09-2024, 03:43 PM
Very pleasing Laughing boy Levein's pitiful career ended at Easter Road, love it!
17-09-2024, 04:00 PM
It was funny listening to the Saints fans chiming in after our rendition of “cheer up Craig Levein” after we finished singing it 😅
17-09-2024, 04:28 PM
Cheer-io Craig Levein.
Don’t think we will see him again in the SPFL.
Unfortunately he’ll turn on bbc Sportsound every Saturday
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2024, 04:31 PM
I wonder would they try for McGlynn?
17-09-2024, 04:55 PM
Unfortunately he’ll turn on bbc Sportsound every SaturdayHearts job could be available soon, maybe they will bring him home[emoji23]
e2los
17-09-2024, 05:04 PM
Hearts job could be available soon, maybe they will bring him home[emoji23]
Could also end up at Rangers if we win next Sunday. :wink:
Bridge hibs
17-09-2024, 05:08 PM
Doolan is a good shout
17-09-2024, 05:17 PM
Doolan is a good shout
Falkirk manager maybe
17-09-2024, 05:22 PM
Falkirk manager maybe
Can’t see McGlynn leaving Falkirk, for a new trigger happy owner at Saints
17-09-2024, 05:36 PM
Don't mind Levein tbh. He's a good pantomime villain.
Must say, shaving that beard off has done him absolutely no favours and actually made him look older
Cat Stanton
17-09-2024, 07:10 PM
He can also interview himself on Sacked In The Morning.
17-09-2024, 07:11 PM
Omg have we just got Levein sacked? Based
17-09-2024, 07:18 PM
Be hilarious if Levein replaces nae wins at Hearts
17-09-2024, 07:20 PM
Very pleasing Laughing boy Levein's pitiful career ended at Easter Road, love it!
Absolutely brilliant :giruy2::cheerio:
TheSouthMoroccan
17-09-2024, 07:22 PM
Super extra pleasing with cream on top given how pleased he was last season when they beat us at Easter Road. The pricks prick.
17-09-2024, 07:35 PM
Be hilarious if Levein replaces nae wins at Hearts
No chance, can you imagine the reaction if Budge appointed him. That’s if she’s still got executive powers at Tynecastle Park
Did he not get sacked after a derby. Or was that neilson. And JUmbo
He's here!
17-09-2024, 07:49 PM
Mr won **** all been sacked by St.Johnstone
Be back boring the tits off everyone on BBC radio soon enough.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
I used to loathe Levein but I'd say that since his health issues he's been a more down to earth guy, more open to having a laugh at himself.
17-09-2024, 07:54 PM
Super extra pleasing with cream on top given how pleased he was last season when they beat us at Easter Road. The pricks prick.
Absolutely
Clarence
17-09-2024, 07:56 PM
We missed a great opportunity to sing “Sacked in the morning” to him on Saturday.
DIXIHIBS
17-09-2024, 07:57 PM
I used to loathe Levein but I'd say that since his health issues he's been a more down to earth guy, more open to having a laugh at himself.
He's a complete prick. End of. His little smug-fest with McLaughlin summed him up for me.
17-09-2024, 08:13 PM
He's a complete prick. End of. His little smug-fest with McLaughlin summed him up for me.
When he was away from club management he was a very different personality - quite likeable even and self deprecating, but as soon as he returned to the dugout he just resorted back to type.
Donegal Hibby
17-09-2024, 08:26 PM
Yep . Delighted it’s losing to us that’s got him the sack :greengrin
St Mirren going for the hat-trick on Saturday. If they win and Naismith gets sacked it will be the 3rd Hearts manager in a row sacked after a defeat to them.
He's here!
17-09-2024, 08:44 PM
When he was away from club management he was a very different personality - quite likeable even and self deprecating, but as soon as he returned to the dugout he just resorted back to type.
Yep, that's what I was meaning. I haven't paid too much attention to him at St Johnstone to be honest so I wasn't aware he'd reverted to type.
As well as his time at Hearts I remember him being an eejit while at Dundee United, particularly on one occasion when we beat them (possibly knocking them out of a cup).
Up-the-slope
17-09-2024, 08:48 PM
He can also interview himself on Sacked In The Morning.
:greengrin that made me laugh
17-09-2024, 09:31 PM
Just this …:faf::faf::faf::giruy2::jamboclow
17-09-2024, 11:25 PM
Not for me. Him and McCoist both, I'll judge them on their times as managers, thoroughly dislikeable 🔔 ends.
cubehindthegoal
18-09-2024, 12:18 AM
So long farewell to Harry Potter the man who won nae winners medals as a Manager and Player
The man who tried to revolutionise international football by introducing 5-5 with nae strikers we almost held oot
Good to see Natural Order was finally restored on Saturday with both sets of supporters asking for him to just go
Who’s laughing now ? 😀
Achieved nothing for his employers … yet still found work doing so to this day … shows the bias kicking around Scottish football …
cubehindthegoal
18-09-2024, 12:23 AM
… another example of the shameless bias in our country, and even more so, the shameless bias allowed to continue in the BBC Scotland football TV and radio studios … is there any hearts bias there at all I wonder 🤔.. at best no awareness, at worst corruption … they’ll choose their own self description of course, but it’ll be either dishonest or false. Fitting place for some to land though, I guess ..
cubehindthegoal
18-09-2024, 12:26 AM
Can only wish that was a possibility. Says it all.
cubehindthegoal
18-09-2024, 12:29 AM
Yep . Delighted it’s losing to us that’s got him the sack :greengrin
Smugness always suffers in the end .. and during too in Dundee tbf.
18-09-2024, 12:53 AM
Natural order and all that. Will no doubt be hanging around the Hearts shop for a few weeks a la Jumbo Jim. Or maybe even booked into the hotel for some r and r...
Bridge hibs
18-09-2024, 05:39 AM
Anne Budget will give Levein one of those dual roles he had the last time, first team coach and hotel porter
18-09-2024, 06:09 AM
Anne Budget will give Levein one of those dual roles he had the last time, first team coach and hotel porter
Harry Porter?
Paulie Walnuts
18-09-2024, 07:56 AM
They're a terrible side. You look at the squad on paper and really struggle to see how any manager could get a tune out of them.
Always good to see Levein out on his arse though.
You get people insistent we have a terrible side for this level and that it’s relegation material. Then you see St Johnstone are starting games with Lewis Neilson at centre half, Drey Wright out wide, Jason Holt in centre midfield and Nicky Clark up top and it puts that idea to bed.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2024, 11:04 AM
After signing a new contract I wonder is this a possibility if they get another defeat….
https://www.footballinsider247.com/philippe-clement-one-defeat-away-from-rangers-sack-sources/
Paulie Walnuts
20-09-2024, 11:07 AM
After signing a new contract I wonder is this a possibility if they get another defeat….
https://www.footballinsider247.com/philippe-clement-one-defeat-away-from-rangers-sack-sources/
I think he’ll have a bit left yet but he won’t last the season. They look very, very poor. Gone by Christmas when they’ll be about 15 behind Celtic.
Donegal Hibby
20-09-2024, 11:15 AM
I think he’ll have a bit left yet but he won’t last the season. They look very, very poor. Gone by Christmas when they’ll be about 15 behind Celtic.
Should cost them a few quid to get rid of him when they do too. Hopefully we get something from our game there to put some more pressure on as well.
20-09-2024, 11:56 AM
Who would be the one to make the decision to sack him? They have neither a current CEO nor Chairman.
20-09-2024, 12:44 PM
Who would be the one to make the decision to sack him? They have neither a current CEO nor Chairman.
If we go there and win, the guy who will make the decision to have Clement sacked will be Sir David Gray
He would have had 10 games in the job and already been responsible for the retirement of Craig Levein and the departure of Clement from the vile British institution in Govan
With a game against Naismith just around the corner...
He's some man is SDG
21-09-2024, 01:10 PM
Levein on Sportsound just now. You’d think he’d take some time away from football
21-09-2024, 01:21 PM
Levein on Sportsound just now. You’d think he’d take some time away from football
Embarrassing he gets a gig so soon. Must have a few mates in there
21-09-2024, 01:29 PM
Is it just a desperation to stay relevant? He surely doesn't need the money?
21-09-2024, 01:37 PM
Is it just a desperation to stay relevant? He surely doesn't need the money?
He likes a flutter does Craigy Boy
21-09-2024, 01:52 PM
What I can't understand is why someone with well over 1000 career games as player and manager, who never won a trophy in that time, was pilloried for playing 5-5-0 against the worst Czech side in living memory to get a draw and then proceeded to lose 0-1 gets to avail us all of his footballing knowledge is a complete ****ing mystery to me. Career loser
21-09-2024, 04:13 PM
Naebadges must stay, he will get it right in the end.
:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin :greengrin:greengrin
25-09-2024, 09:09 PM
Read that Mcbookie have odds on the first manager sacked in the Scottish Premier and Gray is favourite at 7/2 …
Goodwin 4/1 .
Kettlewell 4/1 .
Levein 5/1 .
Clement 10/1.
Robinson 16/1 .
Nae badges 16/1.
Docherty 16/1.
Mcinnes 25/1.
Thelin 25/1 .
Rodgers 33/1 .
10/1 for clement looks good .
So after the initial odds where David Gray was best odds to get his jotters, wee have Craig Levein and Naismith given the heave.
- Can SDG see off Clement?
- Is McInnes as safe as some believe?
- Middle of the table is all pretty close, could anyone else get dragged down over time as Hibs make their way up?
28-09-2024, 09:49 AM
Levein on Sportsound just now. You’d think he’d take some time away from footballHe's never been off BBC Scotland. Still doing the podcast just not the live football build up/reporting.
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
Donegal Hibby
28-09-2024, 10:03 AM
So after the initial odds where David Gray was best odds to get his jotters, wee have Craig Levein and Naismith given the heave.
- Can SDG see off Clement?
- Is McInnes as safe as some believe?
- Middle of the table is all pretty close, could anyone else get dragged down over time as Hibs make their way up?
Clement will last for a while yet though I do think it’s only a matter of time before he comes under pressure be it falling further behind Celtic or losing to them again in another OF game .
McInnes Killie have Dundee Utd home and then Dundee away before Sevco , both games are winnable though if they lose both going into the hun game surely he will be under pressure .. it’s only two seasons ago some Killie fans were calling for him to go though the board stuck by him .
One of the Dundee clubs would be my guess as to getting dragged down , think in particular Dundee Utd’s bubble will eventually burst .
28-09-2024, 12:29 PM
I see Russel Martin has been told by his board to play a more pragmatic style of football!
I suspect his coat is on a shoogly peg.
Donegal Hibby
28-09-2024, 12:35 PM
Levein out , Leven in possibly? ….
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/articles/cwy9rgly4kno
Looks like St Johnstone have opted for the other guy …
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts-hibs-rivals-to-finalise-appointment-of-highly-regarded-manager-4801839
30-09-2024, 01:32 PM
Looks like St Johnstone are going to appoint the FC Riga Manager, Simo Valakari
Seems to have a decent record but doesn’t seem to stick at the same club for a prolonged period of time
30-09-2024, 02:26 PM
Seems to have a decent record but doesn’t seem to stick at the same club for a prolonged period of time
Looks from the outside, that their 1st picks didn’t want it, not surprised
30-09-2024, 02:31 PM
Has he played in Scotland name vaguely familiar Well maybe?
30-09-2024, 02:32 PM
I see Russel Martin has been told by his board to play a more pragmatic style of football!
I suspect his coat is on a shoogly peg.
Wow Brian Clough was right about Board members
30-09-2024, 02:35 PM
Has he played in Scotland name vaguely familiar Well maybe?
Yip played for motherwell
01-10-2024, 05:56 PM
𝗩𝗮𝗹𝗮𝗸𝗮𝗿𝗶 𝗰𝗼𝗻𝗳𝗶𝗿𝗺𝗲𝗱 🇫🇮
We are delighted to announce the appointment of Simo Valakari as the new head coach of St Johnstone Football Club.
#SJFC | Full story ⤵️
Donegal Hibby
02-10-2024, 01:39 PM
𝗩𝗮𝗹𝗮𝗸𝗮𝗿𝗶 𝗰𝗼𝗻𝗳𝗶𝗿𝗺𝗲𝗱 🇫🇮
We are delighted to announce the appointment of Simo Valakari as the new head coach of St Johnstone Football Club.
#SJFC | Full story ⤵️
Found this a bit strange on wiki about him…..
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Simo_Valakari
Paulie Walnuts
02-10-2024, 01:47 PM
𝗩𝗮𝗹𝗮𝗸𝗮𝗿𝗶 𝗰𝗼𝗻𝗳𝗶𝗿𝗺𝗲𝗱 🇫🇮
#SJFC | Full story ⤵️
Looks an interesting appointment.
03-10-2024, 12:17 PM
Everyone going down the Scandinavian route because Aberdeen have had a good start to the season. Will all end in tears
03-10-2024, 01:11 PM
Didn't realise he used to play for Motherwell.
03-10-2024, 01:45 PM
Operation Valakari
He's here!
03-10-2024, 02:53 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/articles/ce3wkk2l9vwo
Yams 'looking for someone maybe a wee bit different'.
Fingers crossed for a failed experiment.
03-10-2024, 02:58 PM
Anyone else hear that fud Brian McLauchlin on BBC radio this morning - hes traveling with his beloved cardigan wearers at the moment.
He sounded ROUGH AS F! clearly been hitting it hard while away on BBC Duty. An absolute disgrace a national reporter can come on air in the morning with such a stinking hangover, and its not the first time either.
At least we aren't paying for his Trip as license payers...
03-10-2024, 03:00 PM
Someone who isn't married to their sister then?
03-10-2024, 03:01 PM
Had a few different over the years to name a few
Rix
Stendel
Malofeyev
Laszlo
Levein
03-10-2024, 04:27 PM
Anyone else hear that fud Brian McLauchlin on BBC radio this morning - hes traveling with his beloved cardigan wearers at the moment.
He sounded ROUGH AS F! clearly been hitting it hard while away on BBC Duty. An absolute disgrace a national reporter can come on air in the morning with such a stinking hangover, and its not the first time either.
At least we aren't paying for his Trip as license payers...
Who do you think paid for his flight?He’s obviously covering the game for BBC.
03-10-2024, 06:44 PM
Had a few different over the years to name a few
Rix
Stendel
Malofeyev
Laszlo
Levein
And Cathro.
09-10-2024, 07:48 AM
Jurgen Klopp appointed head of global soccer for Redbull
Livescores
Mcbizz1998
09-10-2024, 07:51 AM
Who do you think paid for his flight?He’s obviously covering the game for BBC.
I think the last sentence was sarcasm.
09-10-2024, 08:57 AM
I think the last sentence was sarcasm.
Licence fee sponsored club cheerleaders such as Mclaughlin, Bonner, Preston and Miller is hard to stomach and chasing a lot of folk away from Sportsound. It’s become such a poor show in terms of quality of discussion, guests, hosts and general content.
Hibs Go Bragh
09-10-2024, 09:32 AM
Licence fee sponsored club cheerleaders such as Mclaughlin, Bonner, Preston and Miller is hard to stomach and chasing a lot of folk away from Sportsound. It’s become such a poor show in terms of quality of discussion, guests, hosts and general content.
While he isnt a jambo Bonner has to be the worst of the lot! The amount of times I've listened to him reviewing a Celtic game and he can't even name the opposition players. He'll say things like "The Ross County player" or "The Motherwell man" when describing a moment in the game but goes on to tell you what the Celtic players will be having for their dinner!
09-10-2024, 09:38 AM
Been said before but Sky Sports more akin to Celtic TV and Hun TV now insufferable
Sportsound and Sportscene just as bad with no Hibs minded pundits Hibs are just an afterthought still waiting on SDG’s post match interview on Saturday if it ever came ?
09-10-2024, 12:08 PM
Been said before but Sky Sports more akin to Celtic TV and Hun TV now insufferable
Sportsound and Sportscene just as bad with no Hibs minded pundits Hibs are just an afterthought still waiting on SDG’s post match interview on Saturday if it ever came ?
Our PR and media output is hopeless. Mind you, spinning positive news about Hibs must be a thankless task.
09-10-2024, 06:39 PM
Jurgen Klopp Red Bull Global Head of Soccer starting in january
with an exit clause that he can take the German national side if approached
zitelli62
09-10-2024, 09:02 PM
Our PR and media output is hopeless. Mind you, spinning positive news about Hibs must be a thankless task.
It is but it's surprising given Ron Gordon made his money in media you would think he would have passed some of it onto his family who you would have thought about using the experience there dad gave them or hire the correct people to do the job.
10-10-2024, 06:27 AM
Interview was on sportscene
10-10-2024, 06:55 AM
Interview was on sportscene
Caught it on YouTube
Didn’t help being held back 20 minutes at the West Stand Gate and the traffic was horrendous
WestCoastHibby
10-10-2024, 09:18 AM
While he isnt a jambo Bonner has to be the worst of the lot! The amount of times I've listened to him reviewing a Celtic game and he can't even name the opposition players. He'll say things like "The Ross County player" or "The Motherwell man" when describing a moment in the game but goes on to tell you what the Celtic players will be having for their dinner!
He’s got away with his complete lack of research and preparation for years.
Different sport but Bill McLaren would do hours of research on all players for an upcoming match, without the benefit of a search engine
Hibs Go Bragh
10-10-2024, 10:35 AM
He’s got away with his complete lack of research and preparation for years.
Different sport but Bill McLaren would do hours of research on all players for an upcoming match, without the benefit of a search engine
I'm not a huge rugby fan but what a legend he was! When you describe someone as a mad giraffe and it somehow makes sense then I think you can consider yourself the best in the business!
10-10-2024, 11:12 AM
Clyde part with Ian McCall by mutual consent
Donegal Hibby
10-10-2024, 02:43 PM
Probably just speculation though I would imagine he has caught the eye of some clubs with the impressive start they’ve made ….
https://sportsview.co.uk/2024/10/wolverhampton-wanderers-are-considering-making-a-move-for-aberdeen-manager-jimmy-thelin
K-Zazu
10-10-2024, 04:50 PM
Anyone got the odds on the next hearts manager?
Clyde part with Ian McCall by mutual consent
He's had a lot of manager jobs with different teams. Are there any other Scottish managers who've managed more Scottish teams than him?
10-10-2024, 04:57 PM
Probably just speculation though I would imagine he has caught the eye of some clubs with the impressive start they’ve made ….
https://sportsview.co.uk/2024/10/wolverhampton-wanderers-are-considering-making-a-move-for-aberdeen-manager-jimmy-thelin
Cant see that happening tbh
10-10-2024, 05:57 PM
He's had a lot of manager jobs with different teams. Are there any other Scottish managers who've managed more Scottish teams than him?
Bumped into him before the League Cup Final with Killie. Full of banter. He was actually a good laugh.
zitelli62
10-10-2024, 07:00 PM
Anyone got the odds on the next hearts manager?
Rumour I heard today from a very good source was michael o'Neill is the man there after normally a reliable source.
11-10-2024, 10:43 AM
Looks like Hearts are going for Per Mathias Hogmo
Annoyingly looks a good appointment on paper
Nutmegged
11-10-2024, 11:00 AM
He's a very good coach, his teams play very attack minded and attractive football, hoping he doesn't go there.
Donegal Hibby
11-10-2024, 11:48 AM
I did think they’d look further afield than closer to home like Aberdeen did … see another guy Critchley getting mentioned as well though.
K-Zazu
11-10-2024, 11:53 AM
Looks pretty decent tbf.
64 years old. Was out of the game for 3 years before going to Japan and not doing well.
11-10-2024, 12:13 PM
64 years old. Was out of the game for 3 years before going to Japan and not doing well.
He was at Hacken before he went to Japan and done well with them
11-10-2024, 12:32 PM
Scandinavians seem to be flavour of the month in Scotland just now.
11-10-2024, 02:20 PM
Scandinavians seem to be flavour of the month in Scotland just now.
The fad will be Finnished soon enough....
leith lynx
11-10-2024, 02:50 PM
Experienced managers careers like the Norwegian usually bottom out at small insignificant clubs, will boost his pension fund tho.
CentreForward
11-10-2024, 02:51 PM
This guy looks more than decent. Sort of manager we should have gone for.
leith lynx
11-10-2024, 02:55 PM
Rumour I heard today from a very good source was michael o'Neill is the man there after normally a reliable source.
Looks like he has been overlooked, thankfully keeps the door at Easter Road open for him.
11-10-2024, 03:06 PM
Maybe play “grandad” before the derby
As someone who’s the same age as this guy, there’s no way I’d be wanting to take such a stressful job on at this age
11-10-2024, 03:19 PM
As someone who’s the same age as this guy, there’s no way I’d be wanting to take such a stressful job on at this age
Over the hill at 63 really ?
11-10-2024, 03:56 PM
This guy looks more than decent. Sort of manager we should have gone for.
He’s been dreadful in 3 of his previous 4 jobs.
supermcginn
11-10-2024, 04:03 PM
Hogmo has turned down the hearts job according to STV. What a shambles 😃
Hibees1973
11-10-2024, 04:11 PM
Experienced managers careers like the Norwegian usually bottom out at small insignificant clubs, will boost his pension fund tho.
Going by press reports the predictable identikit manager they were looking for.
Scandinavian, successful in those neck of the woods and copying Aberdeen's route. Wee bit older than expected and didn't cut it in Japan.
A bit different and provides some their support with some hope of a sea change in style. Will be interesting to see if their current squad can adapt to fit in with the way he wants to play, but he is stuck with them for another 3 months. Points wise however, he doesn't really have to achieve much to improve their position.
Derby game is big as usual and gives Gray a sliding doors moment.
He's here!
11-10-2024, 04:52 PM
Going by press reports the predictable identikit manager they were looking for.
Scandinavian, successful in those neck of the woods and copying Aberdeen's route. Wee bit older than expected and didn't cut it in Japan.
A bit different and provides some their support with some hope of a sea change in style. Will be interesting to see if their current squad can adapt to fit in with the way he wants to play, but he is stuck with them for another 3 months. Points wise however, he doesn't really have to achieve much to improve their position.
Derby game is big as usual and gives Gray a sliding doors moment.
Yes, a lot riding on not losing the derby but as someone else posted I think Bowie's injury may prove to be his sliding doors moment.
He's here!
11-10-2024, 04:57 PM
No reason 63 should be seen as old for a manager. It certainly didn't used to be. Pretty sure Alex Ferguson was into his 70s when he retired (although he did try to retire earlier before allegedly being told by his wife he was too young!).
Nutmegged
11-10-2024, 04:57 PM
Pleasing, that's the first manager they've supposedly went for in a long time that I really didn't want them to get, normally I'm non plussed about their appointments, mainly because they're all cut from very similar cloth but Hogmo is different and with a club the size of us Aberdeen or the yams, I think he'd do very well.
11-10-2024, 05:05 PM
Over the hill at 63 really ?
Never said over the hill, but you should be easing off in your 60’s
He's here!
11-10-2024, 05:08 PM
Interesting that he went through the interview process and that the club let it be known things were looking positive. They must have been confident of announcing him as boss.
Maybe sharing training facilities with Heriot-Watt students put him off...
11-10-2024, 05:45 PM
Interesting that he went through the interview process and that the club let it be known things were looking positive. They must have been confident of announcing him as boss.
Maybe put up overnight in a room with no windows
leith lynx
11-10-2024, 05:58 PM
Heard he didn't fancy the extra responsibility of night porter duties at Tyniemotel...
11-10-2024, 06:00 PM
I blame the Hearts fans. They own the club after all...
11-10-2024, 06:02 PM
So Hearts are going to turn up at Easter Road in two weeks' time in the absolute worst possible shape for a derby?
I've seen this script before...
11-10-2024, 06:27 PM
Never said over the hill, but you should be easing off in your 60’s
Nonsense Billy 60 is no age at all these days. If the motovation is there then why not look at Davie Moyes for example at 61 years old he's hardly finished.
11-10-2024, 06:52 PM
Probably wasn't happy at having to pay visitors prices in Dickens.
Donegal Hibby
11-10-2024, 07:33 PM
Another rumour about them that’s probably not true ….
https://x.com/donaldsonespn/status/1844782905878290554?s=46&t=AmEAB-0KfCR6xv5mXrcHqw
CentreForward
11-10-2024, 09:59 PM
Pleasing, that's the first manager they've supposedly went for in a long time that I really didn't want them to get, normally I'm non plussed about their appointments, mainly because they're all cut from very similar cloth but Hogmo is different and with a club the size of us Aberdeen or the yams, I think he'd do very well.
Agreed !
11-10-2024, 10:21 PM
Looks like he has been overlooked, thankfully keeps the door at Easter Road open for him. Guy in charge of Hearts fans donation thing has / had an important role in Irish FA so will have had contact with Michael O `Neill for several years . Think MON lives in Edinburgh and has business interests there so has always been a possible future Hearts manager if sacked by present employer and unable to get a better club job elsewhere for example with us or in England .
Paul1642
11-10-2024, 10:41 PM
Another rumour about them that’s probably not true ….
https://x.com/donaldsonespn/status/1844782905878290554?s=46&t=AmEAB-0KfCR6xv5mXrcHqw
As you say, probably not true, however this really would be signing a manager from Scandinavia for the sake of signing anyone form Scandinavia.
There aren’t many odds on their next manager however the only ones I can find have Gareth Ainsworth as a 2/1 favourite. This certainly wouldn’t worry me and he sure looks like a Jambo.
Karlsson not even on the list however the sun are now running with it.
12-10-2024, 09:53 AM
The Hearts forum seems to think their board are the most incompetent & embarrassing in the league.
Not a happy cardigan camp, over in EH11 this weekend
12-10-2024, 09:55 AM
The Hearts forum seems to think their board are the most incompetent & embarrassing in the league.
They would! Can't let us have anything - not even that!
Paulie Walnuts
12-10-2024, 10:31 AM
Not a lot out there about Karlsson which suggests he’s not done much of note.
Donegal Hibby
12-10-2024, 11:14 AM
As you say, probably not true, however this really would be signing a manager from Scandinavia for the sake of signing anyone form Scandinavia.
There aren’t many odds on their next manager however the only ones I can find have Gareth Ainsworth as a 2/1 favourite. This certainly wouldn’t worry me and he sure looks like a Jambo.
Karlsson not even on the list however the sun are now running with it.
It doesn’t appear that hertz are looking at anyone nearer home .. I don’t think they’d be to happy with Ainsworth or indeed Karlsson even though he did get the club he’s with promoted for the first time in 26 years they seem to be struggling quite badly now..
Neil Critchley is getting mentioned a lot who I don’t know..
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-kalle-karlsson-vasteras-sk-sweden-aberdeen-connor-mclennan-4821374
12-10-2024, 01:06 PM
It doesn’t appear that hertz are looking at anyone nearer home .. I don’t think they’d be to happy with Ainsworth or indeed Karlsson even though he did get the club he’s with promoted for the first time in 26 years they seem to be struggling quite badly now..
Neil Critchley is getting mentioned a lot who I don’t know..
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hearts/hearts-kalle-karlsson-vasteras-sk-sweden-aberdeen-connor-mclennan-4821374
Crtichley did well in his first spell at Blackpool but not in subsequnce jobs and certainly not in his second spell at Blackpool where he was very unpopular with the fan base.
I'd be happy if Hearts appointed him.
12-10-2024, 01:25 PM
That including the Foundation of Hearts own appointees ?
12-10-2024, 03:01 PM
Cough cough...
Donegal Hibby
13-10-2024, 11:16 AM
Another two names linked with the hertz job … a lot of the names they are getting linked with apart from the guy that turned them down aren’t all that great IMO …..
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/news/rob-page-a-new-hearts-manager-candidate-along-with-experienceed-efl-boss-gary-rowett/
I worked on for many a year after 63 👌
13-10-2024, 12:38 PM
Not a lot out there about Karlsson which suggests he’s not done much of note.
Kalle Karlsson? Isn't he Lenny's mate in the Simpsons?
13-10-2024, 12:41 PM
Another two names linked with the hertz job … a lot of the names they are getting linked with apart from the guy that turned them down aren’t all that great IMO …..
https://www.nottheoldfirm.com/news/rob-page-a-new-hearts-manager-candidate-along-with-experienceed-efl-boss-gary-rowett/
They are also being linked with Stevé Naismithson and Robbie Nielsensen 😁
13-10-2024, 01:03 PM
I worked 16 to 62, think I’ve done my bit😀
13-10-2024, 02:58 PM
Critchley please. :greengrin
Bridge hibs
13-10-2024, 03:10 PM
I worked 9 to 5, what a way to make a living !
13-10-2024, 05:05 PM
Here You Come Again with your puns....
Hibiza
13-10-2024, 05:09 PM
Bring back Potter and his sidekick Cathro .
13-10-2024, 05:10 PM
How did you make 11 out of that?
Bridge hibs
13-10-2024, 05:52 PM
How did you make 11 out of that?
God only knows
Donegal Hibby
13-10-2024, 05:57 PM
Let it be !
13-10-2024, 06:15 PM
Kalle Karlsson? Isn't he Lenny's mate in the Simpsons?
Not another thread about Lenny.
13-10-2024, 06:35 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1845532971802992939?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg
Neil Critchley It is.
13-10-2024, 06:41 PM
https://x.com/record_sport/status/1845532971802992939?s=46&t=MW7rW9XsaY_rH0m4EYSRhg
Neil Critchley It is.
Had to move fast as seemingly Tranmere who are 19th in the English 4th tier were lining him up to replace their manager.
13-10-2024, 06:42 PM
Neil Critchley It is.
That's a Maloney/Johnson/Montgomery esque appointment. Let's hope it goes as well for them as it did for us.
Let be clear if we had appointed this guy we would be asking questions.
This guy is one of the many merry go round Lee Johnson type English experience only managers down south.
Get it right up them. Budge must have intervened. 🤣🤣🤣
Nutmegged
13-10-2024, 06:48 PM
I'm weary about just assuming this guy is hopeless, he came through the coaching ranks at Liverpool and must've been very highly regarded to be trusted to fill in for Klopp on a couple of occassions, the fact Gerrard took him to Villa with him to also suggests that he must've been highly thought of within Liverpool, because I doubt Gerrard just plucked him from Blackpool because he had a good season.
He might be a manager that's playing style is suited to a big team, rather than one expected to scrap and bleed for every point, I don't no much about him at all other than what I've read, on the one hand it isn't too eye catching, on the other, there's a lot to suggest he's highly rated, hopefully it tanks and he's a disaster.
Donegal Hibby
13-10-2024, 07:15 PM
Must have been under a bit of pressure after this ….
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/hearts-boss-search-levein-naismith-33882662
Bridge hibs
13-10-2024, 08:20 PM
Must have been under a bit of pressure after this ….
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/hearts-boss-search-levein-naismith-33882662
Critchley and Brunskill, thats a pairing made in heaven for the cardigan wearing pink piggery dwellers
Paulie Walnuts
14-10-2024, 10:08 AM
I’d be massively underwhelmed with that if I was a Hearts fan.
Pleasing.
CentreForward
14-10-2024, 10:11 AM
I'm weary about just assuming this guy is hopeless, he came through the coaching ranks at Liverpool and must've been very highly regarded to be trusted to fill in for Klopp on a couple of occassions, the fact Gerrard took him to Villa with him to also suggests that he must've been highly thought of within Liverpool, because I doubt Gerrard just plucked him from Blackpool because he had a good season.
He might be a manager that's playing style is suited to a big team, rather than one expected to scrap and bleed for every point, I don't no much about him at all other than what I've read, on the one hand it isn't too eye catching, on the other, there's a lot to suggest he's highly rated, hopefully it tanks and he's a disaster.
There have been loads of guys, either managers or players, with something very impressive sounding on their cv’s like that that have turned out to be not that impressive. Agree though it might also mean that he does have something. Time will tell!
14-10-2024, 10:31 AM
Pleasing.
Let’s just make sure he’s under serious pressure after the derby, before we make too many assumptions
Paul1642
14-10-2024, 11:10 AM
I would be beyond concerned we made that appointment. Great opportunity to get him off to a stinker and some early pressure by winning the upcoming derby.
I almost never feel confident going into a derby and this one is no exception but even I can feel that a win is much more likely than usual.
14-10-2024, 11:12 AM
Pleasing.
I’m going to go against the grain here and suggest it’s not as hilarious appointment as it first may seen.
For all that we scoff at the data analytics, I assume they’ll have looked at it the type of manager they wanted and is suited to the current squad, presumably they’ve looked at what he’s good at and calculated it’s a good fit for what they are wanting to achieve.
I’ve long felt you can’t judge a manager based on their career to date, it could be their management style or how they want to play was completely at odds with what the current squad allowed them to do. My understanding of data analytics is for exactly this purpose, dig a bit deeper than their Wikipedia page to establish why they were a success or failed previously and compare that to the job they are wanted for.
I actually mentioned him as a possibility to become our manager as I felt he met the criteria Malky Mackay spoke about when he first came in (then chose to ignore).
Also think for all we are laughing at him, he’s far better qualified than our own manager so I find it difficult to be too smug about the appointment.
14-10-2024, 11:19 AM
From what you gather, he wasn't identified by the analytics side - he applied and the jambos board preferred him to the analytics database choices.
He has a lot of the Shaun Maloney about him - a good coach and no2, but not got the natural personality for a No1
That's not intended as a criticism about Shaun. I really wanted him to succeed but his natural skillset is suited to being an elite team's training ground coach (a la Belgium) more than it is being a decent team's manager.
Critchley's career suggests the same - not many people choose to give up being their own man as a manager to join another club as Assistant, when he joined Villa.
That maybe tells you a big story about this fella.
Hope we hand him the very worst possible start to life in Edinburgh at the upcoming derby.
Donegal Hibby
14-10-2024, 11:47 AM
Pleasing.
They are ! Going from Per Mathias Hogmo to Neil Critchley has got to be a kick in the stones to them :greengrin….
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/205406-neil-critchley-would-he-be-a-good-appointment/
14-10-2024, 11:49 AM
I’m going to go against the grain here and suggest it’s not as hilarious appointment as it first may seen.
For all that we scoff at the data analytics, I assume they’ll have looked at it the type of manager they wanted and is suited to the current squad, presumably they’ve looked at what he’s good at and calculated it’s a good fit for what they are wanting to achieve.
I’ve long felt you can’t judge a manager based on their career to date, it could be their management style or how they want to play was completely at odds with what the current squad allowed them to do. My understanding of data analytics is for exactly this purpose, dig a bit deeper than their Wikipedia page to establish why they were a success or failed previously and compare that to the job they are wanted for.
I actually mentioned him as a possibility to become our manager as I felt he met the criteria Malky Mackay spoke about when he first came in (then chose to ignore).
Also think for all we are laughing at him, he’s far better qualified than our own manager so I find it difficult to be too smug about the appointment.
By all accounts their current squad is part of the problem - imbalanced, over-reliant on an out of form striker and unsuitable for the rigours of a large number of games whilst they are still in Europe.
I'm sure he may well be a competent manager but will he get time? As a non-household name, he'll have 400,000 on his back before he gets the chance to make his mark on the dodgy squad.
Mac_17
14-10-2024, 12:15 PM
They are ! Going from Per Mathias Hogmo to Neil Critchley has got to be a kick in the stones to them :greengrin….
https://www.hmfckickback.co.uk/index.php?/topic/205406-neil-critchley-would-he-be-a-good-appointment/
Going for a record breaking... 3rd championship trophy in 10 to 15 years :wink::greengrin:agree:
The new yoyo club! LOVE IT!!!
He's here!
14-10-2024, 12:26 PM
They ended up looking a bit daft offering Hogmo the job when they couldn't hope to match his salary demands.
Critchley looks no better or worse than the calibre of manager any Scottish club outwith Celtic or Rangers could attract. Reasonable enough overall record on paper so he might do OK.
14-10-2024, 12:29 PM
"Accused of overcomplicating an over coaching, accused of being stubborn and sticking to a 3-5-2 no matter what. Accused of making players worse’s, doesn’t like players shooting from outside the box" Neil Montgomery?
Donegal Hibby
14-10-2024, 02:13 PM
They ended up looking a bit daft offering Hogmo the job when they couldn't hope to match his salary demands.
Critchley looks no better or worse than the calibre of manager any Scottish club outwith Celtic or Rangers could attract. Reasonable enough overall record on paper so he might do OK.
I don’t suppose anyone really knows how any managers will do though they certainly have came out of this looking stupid IMO after the talk of a manager with a good pedigree that they couldn’t afford to this one who’s been sacked at his last two jobs were the feedback from the fans at his previous clubs is less than positive ….
https://avftt.co.uk/index.php?threads/critchley-has-gone.55458/
You’d be hard pushed to say he’s much of an upgrade on their previous two managers who had a higher win percentage than he’s got … nothing against the guy though if he goes there I hope he fails miserably and we see a lot more results like this one only this time with the team wearing a s***** maroon colour….
https://youtu.be/0XamtEEWwJs?si=FjdrxSW_OaGr0voZ
He's here!
14-10-2024, 02:46 PM
I don’t suppose anyone really knows how any managers will do though they certainly have came out of this looking stupid IMO after the talk of a manager with a good pedigree that they couldn’t afford to this one who’s been sacked at his last two jobs were the feedback from the fans at his previous clubs is less than positive ….
https://avftt.co.uk/index.php?threads/critchley-has-gone.55458/
You’d be hard pushed to say he’s much of an upgrade on their previous two managers who had a higher win percentage than he’s got … nothing against the guy though if he goes there I hope he fails miserably and we see a lot more results like this one only this time with the team wearing a s***** maroon colour….
https://youtu.be/0XamtEEWwJs?si=FjdrxSW_OaGr0voZ
Yep, there are no guarantees with any boss. Mowbray and Stubbs were gambles but worked our great. Other young inexperienced managers not so much.
Managers never having worked in Scotland before can be an issue and I thought we got the balance right with Jack Ross, who had been successful here with two clubs prior to gaining good 'big club' experience at Sunderland (where his record was actually pretty good).
14-10-2024, 03:32 PM
FA make formal contact with Pep Guardiola re England job
Man City Boss is out of contract in the summer
Livescores
Donegal Hibby
14-10-2024, 04:04 PM
Livescores
Hope they don’t get Pep , with him at the helm with the quality of players they have I think they would certainly win tournaments.
Hibees1973
15-10-2024, 11:23 AM
Critchley.
Never heard of him up until last week. Had a wee look on the dark side and at the end of last week there was even a thread titled 'Critchley' and the posts were not very complimentary. Posts such as 'will hand in my season ticket if it's him' and would be 'A Hibs type of appointment'
Needs to get off to a better start than our new manager has or the Yam will be stopping their charity donations.
Pleasing.
Only time will tell, I'll reserve judgment for now.
15-10-2024, 11:40 AM
Who is this Anna Litics they keep going on about? Apparently she played a big part in the appointment.😁
15-10-2024, 01:47 PM
Critchley.
Never heard of him up until last week. Had a wee look on the dark side and at the end of last week there was even a thread titled 'Critchley' and the posts were not very complimentary. Posts such as 'will hand in my season ticket if it's him' and would be 'A Hibs type of appointment'
Needs to get off to a better start than our new manager has or the Yam will be stopping their charity donations.
The "Hibs type appointment" criticism is really funny because it is so true.
15-10-2024, 02:13 PM
Livescores
Thomas Tuchel heavy favourite today
15-10-2024, 06:21 PM
Thomas Tuchel heavy favourite today
Livescores now reporting Tuchel a done deal
15-10-2024, 07:14 PM
Roll on Alan Brazil 6am tomorrow 😊
15-10-2024, 07:21 PM
Roll on Alan Brazil 6am tomorrow 😊
Thats the only way he gets on these days.
15-10-2024, 09:18 PM
Good appointment for England. He's exceptional in cup competitions.
Brummie_Hibs
15-10-2024, 09:45 PM
Dungeons
16-10-2024, 06:11 AM
The ten German bombers song might be a tad difficult for them now.
Just_Jimmy
16-10-2024, 07:44 AM
Also think for all we are laughing at him, he’s far better qualified than our own manager so I find it difficult to be too smug about the appointment.Aye and we've all seen this script before.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
16-10-2024, 08:28 AM
Critchley might or might not be a good appointment for them but it has a ring of the 'Lee Johnson' about it.
16-10-2024, 08:41 AM
Critchley might or might not be a good appointment for them but it has a ring of the 'Lee Johnson' about it.
In what way?
Totally different career paths between Johnson and Critchley. Critchley is a well respected coach that has worked his way through the coaching ranks but achieved minimal success as a first team coach. LJ went straight into first team management and actually enjoyed some decent successes at most clubs he was at before coming to us.
16-10-2024, 09:18 AM
In what way?
Totally different career paths between Johnson and Critchley. Critchley is a well respected coach that has worked his way through the coaching ranks but achieved minimal success as a first team coach. LJ went straight into first team management and actually enjoyed some decent successes at most clubs he was at before coming to us.
They are both English. That's it. The end.
It's like every English lower league player we sign is the same.
16-10-2024, 09:24 AM
This will be fun.
16-10-2024, 09:34 AM
Livescores
Just shows the nonsense that goes on in the media. The FA have confirmed that Tuchel signed his contract with them on 8th October 😂
16-10-2024, 09:44 AM
Should have added imo before the .net police arrived:greengrin
Just a vibe I get about him, nothing more. Knew nothing about Johnson and I've never heard of Critchley. Wasn't implying they were identical twins.:greengrin
16-10-2024, 09:52 AM
This will be fun.
Guy is an excellent tactician. Miles and miles ahead of Southgate. If they'd had him in either final they'd have won.
16-10-2024, 09:53 AM
Arguing with myself here I know but they did also both come after being sacked by league 1 clubs so it’s not just that they’re English, I agree with the general point though that that’s the only reason they’re being compared.
I don’t think he’s like LJ at all from what I can tell, plus Johnson is half Scottish I believe so he was just like us jocks. 😜
16-10-2024, 10:31 AM
Arguing with myself here I know but they did also both come after being sacked by league 1 clubs so it’s not just that they’re English, I agree with the general point though that that’s the only reason they’re being compared.
I don’t think he’s like LJ at all from what I can tell, plus Johnson is half Scottish I believe so he was just like us jocks. 😜
They were also seemingly the other option behind managers who were way more popular with the fans but too expensive (JDT/Hogmo). Both also arrive with fairly negative reviews from their last clubs supporters.
Their careers aren’t similar at all though.
17-10-2024, 07:07 AM
Guy is an excellent tactician. Miles and miles ahead of Southgate. If they'd had him in either final they'd have won.
They weren't good enough to beat Spain
17-10-2024, 09:22 AM
They were also seemingly the other option behind managers who were way more popular with the fans but too expensive (JDT/Hogmo). Both also arrive with fairly negative reviews from their last clubs supporters.
Their careers aren’t similar at all though.
Hopefully that continues. Johnson's relative success of a third place finish, and credible victories in Europe, eclipsing Cratchett's relegation season.
17-10-2024, 10:17 AM
They weren't good enough to beat Spain
With him, I think they would have. England's players are as good as Spain's.
17-10-2024, 10:19 AM
So did Pep tell England to bolt then?
17-10-2024, 10:23 AM
So did Pep tell England to bolt then?
No. Was totally made up I think.
Paulie Walnuts
17-10-2024, 10:24 AM
Would agree with that. Player for player, England are very strong. Why they stuck with Southgate so long is anyone’s guess.
17-10-2024, 10:42 AM
Spain are a good side, so I don’t think it’s a certainty England would’ve won, but Tuchel would’ve had them looking a much better side.
I probably would’ve put money on England from the start if they’d had Tuchel in. They’ve had a great squad for a while, but poor management has been their downfall.
Southgate taking a year out just now, be interesting to see what his next job is, he’s not a good manager.
17-10-2024, 10:56 AM
I have a feeling that history might judge Southgate a lot kinder than people do in the present day
17-10-2024, 11:05 AM
I have a feeling that history might judge Southgate a lot kinder than people do in the present day
I think that’ll depend on the success of Tuchel.
17-10-2024, 11:21 AM
Spain are a good side, so I don’t think it’s a certainty England would’ve won, but Tuchel would’ve had them looking a much better side.
I probably would’ve put money on England from the start if they’d had Tuchel in. They’ve had a great squad for a while, but poor management has been their downfall.
Southgate taking a year out just now, be interesting to see what his next job is, he’s not a good manager.
Yet Southgate has been the most successful England manager in my lifetime in terms of progression in World Cups and Euros. To say he’s not a good manager is an utterly ridiculous statement in my opinion. Speculating about how England would have done better under a different manager also holds little weight. Tuchel or anyone else will have a tough job emulating what Southgate achieved with England, I very much doubt anyone will. And please don’t give me he was lucky, easy draws, blah, blah, blah.
17-10-2024, 11:24 AM
I think that’ll depend on the success of Tuchel.
Absolutely. Two finals and one semi final from 4 tournaments will take a bit of beating not that anyone else is likely to have the job that long.
Have to admit to having a soft spot for him because he is such an all round good guy too.
17-10-2024, 11:31 AM
Yet Southgate has been the most successful England manager in my lifetime in terms of progression in World Cups and Euros. To say he’s not a good manager is an utterly ridiculous statement in my opinion. Speculating about how England would have done better under a different manager also holds little weight. Tuchel or anyone else will have a tough job emulating what Southgate achieved with England, I very much doubt anyone will. And please don’t give me he was lucky, easy draws, blah, blah, blah.
Excellent manager imo. Yes very lucky with the talent at his disposal but to be within a penalty kick of winning a tournament is a great achievement. Many managers have tried & failed over the last 60 years for England so he deserves all the plaudits going for nearly taking them all the way. If he wants the poisoned chalice then his next job will be at Man Utd and fully deserved. Lovely guy by all accounts also. Good luck to him.
17-10-2024, 12:22 PM
Absolutely. Two finals and one semi final from 4 tournaments will take a bit of beating not that anyone else is likely to have the job that long.
Have to admit to having a soft spot for him because he is such an all round good guy too.
I think Southgate did benefit from some unbelievably favourable draws at major tournaments though.
For all his successes in getting to the latter stages of tournaments, they’ve not won many games against the top tier nations.
Of course, he deserves loads of credit for avoiding the banana skins (just), I’m not sure the job he did, is as good as the record books may show.
17-10-2024, 12:29 PM
I think Southgate did benefit from some unbelievably favourable draws at major tournaments though.
For all his successes in getting to the latter stages of tournaments, they’ve not won many games against the top tier nations.
Of course, he deserves loads of credit for avoiding the banana skins (just), I’m not sure the job he did, is as good as the record books may show.
Reminds me a bit of Jack Ross when you put it like that ( was a Jack Ross fan btw).
17-10-2024, 12:56 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GaBajQcW8AAqExY?format=jpg&name=large
17-10-2024, 01:40 PM
England haven’t done any better than I’d expect them to do with the players they have at their disposal and the matches they were given.
I’d say they’ve underperformed by not winning anything, and for me I’m thankful that it was Southgate at the helm.
He’ll not ever be a successful club manager.
He's here!
17-10-2024, 02:19 PM
Southgate was superb for England. His record was outstanding. The 'easy draws' guff is nothing more than jealousy from Scotland fans. As you say Tuchel has his work cut out to match him, let alone do better.
He's here!
17-10-2024, 02:43 PM
England haven’t done any better than I’d expect them to do with the players they have at their disposal and the matches they were given.
I’d say they’ve underperformed by not winning anything, and for me I’m thankful that it was Southgate at the helm.
He’ll not ever be a successful club manager.
Don't think Andy Roxburgh ever managed a club, while Craig Brown never set the heather alight at club level, yet Scotland qualified for four major tournaments in eight years during their successive tenures - and that was before the safety net of the Nations League. Took them 25 years to reach another one via the groups.
Be interesting to see if the best international managers are generally successful at club level too. I guess maybe some of the top club bosses don't want international jobs. I do know that Alf Ramsey worked miracles with Ipswich before getting the England job.
17-10-2024, 04:39 PM
Southgate was superb for England. His record was outstanding. The 'easy draws' guff is nothing more than jealousy from Scotland fans. As you say Tuchel has his work cut out to match him, let alone do better.
Outstanding? He won nothing with a very good squad.
Isn’t his record v good sides, top 10 ranked sides, pretty crappy too? Can’t be arsed to check it but I’m sure it’s something like 2 wins in 10?
17-10-2024, 05:01 PM
Gareth Southgate was risk averse lost count of the dough I have lost on England when they once again managed to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory when they looked stick ons to win with his boring team, negative tactics and a personality to match despite having the best squad to pick from
My abiding memory of the Euro’s is his team passing back to the goalie from deep inside the opposition half time after time but I suppose that is called ball retention but from three lions with no claws or teeth
:faf::faf: What nonsense, he was a bang average club manager and vastly under achieved with one of the best squads in the world.
He's here!
17-10-2024, 05:33 PM
:faf::faf: What nonsense, he was a bang average club manager and vastly under achieved with one of the best squads in the world.
If anything he overachieved. Prior to his tenure England had reached one tournament final in their history. Southgate took them to two in four years plus their first World Cup semi-final nearly 30 years. Not winning finals against teams which were better than England is hardly underachievement.
England have almost always had excellent squads but are hamstrung by an insane level of fan/media pressure. Southgate's their first manager since Ramsey to rise above that and exploit their potential.
As I said, denying that he did a good job either smacks of jealousy or puts his critics in the same camp as Hibs fans who claim Jack Ross making us competitive in every cup competition and finishing third was compromised by the football allegedly not being good enough.
17-10-2024, 05:38 PM
If anything he overachieved. Prior to his tenure England had reached one tournament final in their history. Southgate took them to two in four years plus their first World Cup semi-final nearly 30 years. Not winning finals against teams which were better than England is hardly underachievement.
England have almost always had excellent squads but are hamstrung by an insane level of fan/media pressure. Southgate's their first manager since Ramsey to rise above that and exploit their potential.
As I said, denying that he did a good job either smacks of jealousy or puts his critics in the same camp as Hibs fans who claim Jack Ross making us competitive in every cup competition and finishing third was compromised by the football allegedly not being good enough.
There's no way Italy were a better team than England in the Euros. Final at Wembley as well.
Spain there's more of an argument.
With the squad available to him I'm firmly in the underachieved camp. Worried now Tuchel has the job and I'd make them favourites for the World Cup now.
17-10-2024, 05:55 PM
Depends what the marker for success is. Using previous tournaments then they over achieved but there's a reason they were joint favourites this time around due to their squad, player for player stacking up against any European side in the tournament.
Only france had a legitimate claim to have a better side, imo. So far that reason they will rightly be frustrated at not beating an Italian or Spanish side that aren't "better" than them. That's where Southgate failed.
17-10-2024, 06:13 PM
I watched their game against Greece last week and thought just that.
He made qualifying effortless and got them into positions to win stuff albeit they fell short.
Not to be sniffed at imo.
And having talented players for England isn’t new. Some of the squads from maybe 10-25 years ago were really quite ridiculous and should have achieved more than they did.
DJ HIBBY
17-10-2024, 06:19 PM
Where I think England have underachieved now is their squad is stacked and one of the best international squads around. Whilst they had very good squads through the years, so did all the top nations. I look around the other international squads now and don’t quite think they are as good as their squads in the past. Holland, Brazil, Germany and even Spain do not possess the same talent and squads as they did around 15/20 years ago. This has been by far the best opportunity / period for England to win a trophy especially as they have been winning trophies in the youth groups. As others have said I’ve always they felt tactically they have played too safe under Southgate when they possess real talent to really punish teams if the handbrake is taken off
17-10-2024, 06:21 PM
I don’t see how previous failings mean Southgates overachieved?
The squad they have now compared to other countries is all that he should be judged on.
He failed.
It’s like saying Clement has been successful at Rangers. All he’s done is win the games they should win.
18-10-2024, 05:31 AM
England have a few great players, but that defense will always struggle against quality forwards.
Great players, but a suspect team.
Southgate did well but not well enough for some. :greengrin
18-10-2024, 09:36 AM
No doubting he struggled a bit against truly top teams. Quite like him and his defence of the players that missed the pens in the Euro finals a few years back was truly magnificent and heart warming. As always with England the press are a hindrance to the national manager than a help. A lot of the English players are genuinely over rated. Employing a German coach is a hugely bold step that is for sure.
18-10-2024, 09:39 AM
Their greatest ever manager imo. Two Euro finals in a row with a World Cup QF in between is the stuff of dreams for England.
18-10-2024, 12:38 PM
No doubting he struggled a bit against truly top teams. Quite like him and his defence of the players that missed the pens in the Euro finals a few years back was truly magnificent and heart warming. As always with England the press are a hindrance to the national manager than a help. A lot of the English players are genuinely over rated. Employing a German coach is a hugely bold step that is for sure.
Hope he brings as much success to England as his fellow German Bertie Vogts brought to us.
18-10-2024, 01:22 PM
I don’t see how previous failings mean Southgates overachieved?
The squad they have now compared to other countries is all that he should be judged on.
He failed.
It’s like saying Clement has been successful at Rangers. All he’s done is win the games they should win.
Managers are always judged on what their predecessors achieved, Southgate was a resounding success as England manager. He will go down in history as one of England’s greatest managers and rightly so.
Basildon Hibs
18-10-2024, 01:46 PM
🤣🤣🤣
Basildon Hibs
18-10-2024, 01:56 PM
There's no way Italy were a better team than England in the Euros. Final at Wembley as well.
Spain there's more of an argument.
With the squad available to him I'm firmly in the underachieved camp. Worried now Tuchel has the job and I'd make them favourites for the World Cup now.
🤣🤣🤣
18-10-2024, 02:21 PM
🤣🤣🤣
Insightful stuff.
18-10-2024, 03:37 PM
Managers are always judged on what their predecessors achieved, Southgate was a resounding success as England manager. He will go down in history as one of England’s greatest managers and rightly so.
I’d love history to look back at Southgate as a success, it’ll mean England never achieve anything
18-10-2024, 03:49 PM
I’d love history to look back at Southgate as a success, it’ll mean England never achieve anything
I would say getting to the final of two major tournaments would count as an achievement.
18-10-2024, 03:53 PM
I would say getting to the final of two major tournaments would count as an achievement.
Hibs losing to Ross County and St Johnstone in the finals aren’t filed under “achievements” for me.
Each to their own eh
18-10-2024, 04:48 PM
Hibs losing to Ross County and St Johnstone in the finals aren’t filed under “achievements” for me.
Each to their own eh
We dont need to worry about achieving those things now.
18-10-2024, 05:05 PM
Each to their own eh
If we'd only ever been to one final previously half a century ago then they would be achievements
18-10-2024, 05:16 PM
If we'd only ever been to one final previously half a century ago then they would be achievements
Disagree.
18-10-2024, 07:58 PM
Yup, he made a hash of Euro 24, with England basically stinking the tournament out and making it to the final because of individual moments of brilliance rather than good tactics or game plan, but overall Southgate is easily England’s best manager since the 1960s.
18-10-2024, 08:01 PM
🤣🤣🤣
England have got incredible strength in depth. Oh for Scotland to have anything like the players they have at their disposal.
He's here!
18-10-2024, 09:25 PM
Considering we've only won six finals in 149 years it's daft to suggest that reaching a final isn't an achievement in itself for Hibs.
It's certainly a bigger achievement than anything we do these days.
18-10-2024, 09:40 PM
Regardless of your dislike for England and Southgate, he has been the most successful England manager of my lifetime, that’s a fact.
18-10-2024, 09:41 PM
Regardless of your dislike for England and Southgate, he has been the most successful England manager of my lifetime, that’s a fact.
Annoyingly likeable as well.
Row H
19-10-2024, 05:30 PM
Insightful stuff.
We all bow to your insight. :not worth
19-10-2024, 06:21 PM
wonder if Raith Rovers will apologise to ian murray and ask him to return
3rd bottom
19-10-2024, 06:23 PM
We all bow to your insight. :not worth
Do you? That's weird
WestCoastHibby
23-10-2024, 08:22 PM
Duncan Ferguson and assistant/s sacked at ICT after going into administration
Hope he gets another crack at it
24-10-2024, 09:33 AM
https://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/roy-keane-tipped-for-surprising-return-to-management-with-scottish-club-338049
Not sure where this has come from and probably just a lot of nonsense.
https://www.sportsjoe.ie/football/roy-keane-tipped-for-surprising-return-to-management-with-scottish-club-338049
Not sure where this has come from and probably just a lot of nonsense.
I watched a terrace podcast this morning about hibs and the game on Sunday and they kind of eluded to someone waiting in the wings and how they always thought that was the case, personally if it was Keane I think there’s no chance malky stays around and I think that would be too much for us to say we got wrong this early on all at once
snedzuk
24-10-2024, 09:44 AM
Each to their own eh
Completely agree. And yet we highlight these in the main stand 'programme corridor' (or at least we did last time I was in it).
24-10-2024, 09:48 AM
I watched a terrace podcast this morning about hibs and the game on Sunday and they kind of eluded to someone waiting in the wings and how they always thought that was the case, personally if it was Keane I think there’s no chance malky stays around and I think that would be too much for us to say we got wrong this early on all at once
They’ll have definitely been meaning Mackay.