I would take him back at ER.
22-01-2023, 04:05 AM
Aye right.
22-01-2023, 07:51 AM
Lennon next sheep manager I heard tonight
How does Lennon still get liked with jobs? Especially ones as big as Aberdeen. Unbelievable. Must have some agent or Celtic pals in the media.
22-01-2023, 07:59 AM
How does Lennon still get liked with jobs? Especially ones as big as Aberdeen. Unbelievable. Must have some agent or Celtic pals in the media.
He did well in Cyprus. Got them to the Europa League group stages on the back of winning the Cypriot Cup.
22-01-2023, 08:22 AM
Firstly you have called the league by the wrong name, secondly I don't think many St Johnstone fans (who watch every week) would agree with your assessment.
I'm guessing you knew which league he meant thought yeah?
It's no that difficult to figure out.
22-01-2023, 08:24 AM
He did well in Cyprus. Got them to the Europa League group stages on the back of winning the Cypriot Cup.
We finally have the opportunity to pip Aberdeen to a signing, hopefully RG will beat Cormack to it.
Will be a great move for them if they get him.
22-01-2023, 08:25 AM
:top marksAbsolutely this.
Best move we could make when we bin LJ.
Donegal Hibby
22-01-2023, 09:40 AM
We would probably start of really well and fall away badly again and watch a manager lose the plot and throw his toys out of his pram again and walk away ! . Though the pre-match Celtic interviews were good when he was here last :yawn: . A big NO from me .
LewysGot2
22-01-2023, 04:04 PM
P45 head to head next week
Badloss v Johnson
23-01-2023, 02:33 PM
Lampard sacked, official now.
23-01-2023, 02:37 PM
Lampard sacked, official now.
Yes, should have happened earlier. Everton have a huge fight ahead of them, if they are to stay up. Lampard's record there was abysmal.
23-01-2023, 03:05 PM
Not sure who Everton get in now. Rumours locally about Sean Dyche….
darwenhibby
23-01-2023, 03:21 PM
Hopefully Lee Johnson
23-01-2023, 03:32 PM
You'd think they'd be aiming higher than Dyche, Pochettino, Tuchel and Low are all available. Everton fans must despair at times.
loanheadhibby
23-01-2023, 03:36 PM
You'd think they'd be aiming higher than Dyche, Pochettino, Tuchel and Low are all available. Everton fans must despair at times.
I’d read the other day that Moyes was on their shortlist as well.
23-01-2023, 03:46 PM
Sadly Everton's issues run far deeper than the manager. They are like Hibs at the moment. From top down a bit of a shambles. What a time to be an Everton supporting Hibby!☹️
JamesHFC
23-01-2023, 03:53 PM
Bielsa the bookies favourite, planning for life in the championship perhaps.
Donegal Hibby
23-01-2023, 04:05 PM
Sadly Everton's issues run far deeper than the manager. They are like Hibs at the moment. From top down a bit of a shambles. What a time to be an Everton supporting Hibby!☹️
Always feel that a manager hasn't a chance of success when the club is being badly run and doesn't necessarily mean the manager isn't good at his job . Marco Silva seems to be doing well at Fulham after been sacked at Everton as maybe a example . I really hope Everton stay up as I always liked them 🤞
23-01-2023, 04:08 PM
God help you, mate. That's some combination.
23-01-2023, 04:08 PM
God help you, mate. That's some combination.
Total glory hunter!!🤣
23-01-2023, 04:12 PM
Tell me about it!
23-01-2023, 04:19 PM
Dyche is the only one of them with the stomach for a relegation battle.
Willis1875
23-01-2023, 04:22 PM
Dyche is the only one of them with the stomach for a relegation battle.
Yep it’ll be easier for Dyche to come in and make them resolute and hard to beat from the off instead of a Poch or Tuchel that will try and implement a style that will take time to get used to
23-01-2023, 05:26 PM
gutted Lampard's away:boo hoo:
23-01-2023, 06:39 PM
gutted Lampard's away:boo hoo:
Claimed by Sevco as a currant bun 🤔
23-01-2023, 07:07 PM
Goodwin's odds just narrowed :cb
23-01-2023, 07:09 PM
And it's Goodwin racing up the inside rail here, Johnson is trying to fight back but Goodwin looks like he's going to get up, Hammell and McKay look well beat now, Goodwin is edging ahead now with the line in site......
JamesHFC
23-01-2023, 07:11 PM
I'd ****ing love to beat them and get him sacked this week.
23-01-2023, 07:46 PM
Who said lennys been lined up at Aberdeen?
Might be in place by the weekend at this rate
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
23-01-2023, 08:47 PM
Congratulations Jim Goodwin for winning the Scottish Premier League sack race.
23-01-2023, 08:48 PM
I'd ****ing love to beat them and get him sacked this week.
Be amazed if his sacking isn’t announced tonight/first thing tomorrow.
23-01-2023, 08:49 PM
Goodwin can’t survive that, surely.
We really need to be winning on Saturday.
23-01-2023, 08:49 PM
He'll be gone. Biggest cup shock in Scottish football history?
23-01-2023, 08:50 PM
Ironically that result tonight might make it harder for us.
23-01-2023, 08:50 PM
He'll be gone. Biggest cup shock in Scottish football history?
Without question.
23-01-2023, 08:52 PM
Ironically that result tonight might make it harder for us.
Definitely.
Not sure that’s a great result for us tonight.
23-01-2023, 08:53 PM
Definitely.
Not sure that’s a great result for us tonight.
It may well do. Alternatively, if we were to go ahead early, their already shattered confidence will collapse further.
23-01-2023, 08:55 PM
It may well do. Alternatively, if we were to go ahead early, their already shattered confidence will collapse further.
True, can you see the flaw in your plan though? 😂
23-01-2023, 09:00 PM
True, can you see the flaw in your plan though? 😂
Well, aye :greengrin
23-01-2023, 09:06 PM
Probably be a statement first thing in the morning. Goodwin is done.
23-01-2023, 09:08 PM
Yes, should have happened earlier. Everton have a huge fight ahead of them, if they are to stay up. Lampard's record there was abysmal.
They were absolutely shocking on Saturday.
Steve Austin
23-01-2023, 09:10 PM
Probably be a statement first thing in the morning. Goodwin is done.
That’s him done with for sure “Darvel”!!!
the players at Aberdeen have to look in mirror at themselves…
Looks like Jim’s done and deflects pressure off Lee in media till Saturday!!!…
lees treading water like…..
23-01-2023, 09:18 PM
Forgot Darvel v Aberdeen was on tonight so hadn't watched it, got a text from my brother telling me the result and I thought he was joking :greengrin
Biggest shock in Scottish cup history .... Goodwin can't survive this ... I mean, no way :wtf:
eezyrider
23-01-2023, 09:22 PM
No way Goodwin can survive that. He'll be gone by Saturday.
Which probably means they'll play well on Saturday :(
EZ
23-01-2023, 09:24 PM
No way Goodwin can survive that. He'll be gone by Saturday.
Which probably means they'll play well on Saturday :(
EZ
Flip side, if Hibs can get first goal they'll be dog food. Darvel will live with these players for ever. :thumbsup:
Donegal Hibby
23-01-2023, 09:24 PM
Wonder will Goodwin accuse anyone of conning the ref 😂
23-01-2023, 09:26 PM
Looking forward to his interview.
23-01-2023, 09:27 PM
Quick question, a lot of chat on here around how good it is Goodwin is getting sacked. Why is it good? Surely they are weaker with him in post?
23-01-2023, 09:29 PM
That’s him done with for sure “Darvel”!!!
the players at Aberdeen have to look in mirror at themselves…
Looks like Jim’s done and deflects pressure off Lee in media till Saturday!!!…
lees treading water like…..
….. yes, but only in the media. LJ’s problems are still uppermost as far as the Hibs supporters are concerned and events outwith the ER scene will not make any difference to his fate. Except of course the result against a likely rudderless Aberdeen.
23-01-2023, 09:33 PM
Chances of Aberdeen with no manager beating Hibs at the weekend? :eek:
24-01-2023, 12:14 PM
Hasn't Goodwin been sacked yet? He can't possibly continue.
24-01-2023, 12:20 PM
Chances of Aberdeen with no manager beating Hibs at the weekend? :eek:
Hibs have always been very accommodating to teams on a bad run, so expect Aberdeen to get a result. :boo hoo:
24-01-2023, 12:26 PM
Would have thought that Goodwin would actually have resigned by now.
I'm Spartacus
24-01-2023, 12:32 PM
They've only got 18 months left to pay off, you'd have thought he would be well gone.
Meanwhile we are sitting with 40 months left on LJ's contract. FORTY MONTHS.
24-01-2023, 12:35 PM
The guy knows no shame
Terrible Manager
Not even a nice guy
( My polite way of saying it )
I'm Spartacus
24-01-2023, 12:36 PM
Eddie Turnbull
Alex Miller
Alex McLeish
Those are the last 3 managers to last 4 years, I wonder how many have been paid for 4 years?!
24-01-2023, 12:45 PM
Resigning might cost him a pay off? Probably already cleared his desk and just waiting to be emptied.
24-01-2023, 12:50 PM
Resigning might cost him a pay off? Probably already cleared his desk and just waiting to be emptied.
Maybe waiting for his agent to negotiate a pay off before going?
24-01-2023, 01:14 PM
They've only got 18 months left to pay off, you'd have thought he would be well gone.
Meanwhile we are sitting with 40 months left on LJ's contract. FORTY MONTHS.
The contract length has to be put into context. Without having seen the contract there's no way of knowing if there are certain performance criteria that have to be met. Wasn't there a discussion on here about a previous manager having exactly that?
Curried
24-01-2023, 01:54 PM
Tell me about it!
Shirley Plymouth Argyle are coming up :wink:
24-01-2023, 01:57 PM
Starting to wonder if Badloss will be punted. Not leaving much time for someone else to prepare the team for Saturday.
I'm Spartacus
24-01-2023, 01:59 PM
The contract length has to be put into context. Without having seen the contract there's no way of knowing if there are certain performance criteria that have to be met. Wasn't there a discussion on here about a previous manager having exactly that?
Yeah I guess, we may be paying him £1500 p/w on a 4 year deal with the Dons plumping for a £2.5k p/w 2 year deal.
It just feels so long though (words I've never had said to me).
24-01-2023, 02:02 PM
That’s my take on it. A newly appointed manager on, say a four year contract, knows that he isn’t guaranteed four years payment, irrespective of his length of service. His compensation will be set on a sliding scale and include mitigating circumstances written into the contract. I think that’s why some clubs offer rolling contracts, which safeguard the interests of both parties.
24-01-2023, 03:26 PM
I’m surprised that there’s been no announcement about Goodwin. Assuming that he would want to stay on, it looks like the ‘club’ has agreed to a stay of execution. Judging by the reaction on their club forums, I think they might be treading a precarious path by backing Goodwin, as the fans, unsurprisingly, expect him to get the boot. As light relief from our own ‘crisis’, the Aberdeen forums are a hoot.…. ranging from ‘close the club, immediately, and put the shutters up’ to ‘ we should go for Sir Clive Woodward. :greengrin:greengrin( I think that was a serious suggestion.) Whatever happens, our upcoming game will be interesting for events beyond the game itself.
24-01-2023, 03:29 PM
I’m surprised that there’s been no announcement about Goodwin. Assuming that he would want to stay on, it looks like the ‘club’ has agreed to a stay of execution. Judging by the reaction on their club forums, I think they might be treading a precarious path by backing Goodwin, as the fans, unsurprisingly, expect him to get the boot. As light relief from our own ‘crisis’, the Aberdeen forums are a hoot.…. ranging from ‘close the club, immediately, and put the shutters up’ to ‘ we should go for Sir Clive Woodward. :greengrin:greengrin( I think that was a serious suggestion.) Whatever happens, our upcoming game will be interesting for events beyond the game itself.
Watching some of that last night the fans should be venting their anger at the players as well. Didn't look like their hearts were in it to me.
JamesHFC
24-01-2023, 03:41 PM
Hasn't Goodwin been sacked yet? He can't possibly continue.
I'm not surprised they haven't sacked him. Said last night I think he will get the Hibs game.
They are 2 points off 4th and he's got them to a cup semi final this season, that's probably enough to get him through the last 2 defeats.
24-01-2023, 04:22 PM
I'm not surprised they haven't sacked him. Said last night I think he will get the Hibs game.
They are 2 points off 4th and he's got them to a cup semi final this season, that's probably enough to get him through the last 2 defeats.
He just suffered one of the worst results in the history of world football leg alone Scottish football. He should actually be resigning. Not waiting to be sacked.
24-01-2023, 04:24 PM
He just suffered one of the worst results in the history of world football leg alone Scottish football. He should actually be resigning. Not waiting to be sacked.
He has a 4 year contract on big money - hes not walking
Starting to wonder if Badloss will be punted. Not leaving much time for someone else to prepare the team for Saturday.
Barry Robson, currently one of the coaches. Did it after Stephen Glass was sacked.
Hibiza
24-01-2023, 04:44 PM
The sheep could put " dolly the sheep " in charge and still beat us .
24-01-2023, 04:48 PM
Watching some of that last night the fans should be venting their anger at the players as well. Didn't look like their hearts were in it to me.
Exactly the same could be said about our players. Majority of them look like they couldn't give a crap to me. They have seen off 2 managers in recent times and the next is only a matter of time.
HFC93
24-01-2023, 04:49 PM
Suprised Goodwin hasn't been sacked.
24-01-2023, 04:52 PM
The sheep could put " dolly the sheep " in charge and still beat us .
They’ll probably have enough in their locker room to see us off, but, if we somehow conjure up a result, all hell will be let loose. Goodwin’s a lucky man to have us as his ‘get out of jail free card’.
24-01-2023, 04:54 PM
Don’t think they can afford to pay his contract up James, my Aberdeen supporter chum said they’re investing heavily in the new stadium and money will be tight for a good while. And I think you’re right, as long as 4th place (even 3rd) is up for grabs both he and Lee Johnson look ‘safe’.
Both Hibs and Aberdeen need to take a good, long hard look at themselves inwardly and reflect on terrible seasons last couple of years. I’ve a feeling once we appoint a DoF, assuming we can guarantee league safety, Johnson will be gone in the summer.
24-01-2023, 05:51 PM
Listening to the report on Reporting Scotland re. Aberdeen’s recent stats., it’s quite numbing to realise that our record is worse.:rolleyes:
24-01-2023, 08:14 PM
Thought he only had 18 months left.
24-01-2023, 09:07 PM
Exactly the same could be said about our players. Majority of them look like they couldn't give a crap to me. They have seen off 2 managers in recent times and the next is only a matter of time.
I don’t agree. There was no shortage of effort on Sunday, just lack of quality.
24-01-2023, 09:09 PM
Listening to the report on Reporting Scotland re. Aberdeen’s recent stats., it’s quite numbing to realise that our record is worse.:rolleyes:
Aberdeen horrible away record and on the back of last nights defeat must be delighted they’re coming to Easter road at the weekend
24-01-2023, 09:16 PM
He has no self respect. His team has been mocked on national TV, outplayed by plumbers, but he still has the gall to hang around thinking the team is better under his management. If so, can you imagine how bad they would be 😂
24-01-2023, 09:18 PM
He has no self respect. His team has been mocked on national TV, outplayed by plumbers, but he still has the gall to hang around thinking the team is better under his management. If so, can you imagine how bad they would be 😂
What resign and miss out on a big pay off? Think most of us would hang around
24-01-2023, 09:34 PM
There comes a point when a situation arises that anyone with a shred of dignity would simply have to fall on their sword and offer no excuses. Contract small print or not.
Last night was the biggest humiliations in Aberdeens history, and arguably the worst result ever seen in Scottish football. Common decency says you offer your resignation immediately afterwards out of respect to the club and supporters. Holding out for a pay off after such a catastrophe tells you a lot about the man.
Probably won’t go unnoticed by other clubs and as such he may find no one else will touch him with a barge pole.
24-01-2023, 09:54 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10114476/aberdeen-jim-goodwin-sack-dave-cormack-darvel/
Goodwin getting sacked tomorrow apparently.
24-01-2023, 09:58 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10114476/aberdeen-jim-goodwin-sack-dave-cormack-darvel/
Read that as well, think it's pure guesswork as that same reporter has got a couple of Hibs stories wrong recently. My money is in him being sacked also.
There comes a point when a situation arises that anyone with a shred of dignity would simply have to fall on their sword and offer no excuses. Contract small print or not.
Last night was the biggest humiliations in Aberdeens history, and arguably the worst result ever seen in Scottish football. Common decency says you offer your resignation immediately afterwards out of respect to the club and supporters. Holding out for a pay off after such a catastrophe tells you a lot about the man.
Probably won’t go unnoticed by other clubs and as such he may find no one else will touch him with a barge pole.
How much cash would you be happy to forego? (Bearing in mind it could a long time before getting another job).
I doubt whether he resigned or got sacked will make a difference to any potential future employers.
24-01-2023, 10:14 PM
Puts them ahead of us in appointing the right manager.
Let's be honest, there's absolutely no chance LJ is turning things around and we're absolutely in the same market for managers as Aberdeen.
Wish we'd punted LJ right after the cup defeat.
24-01-2023, 11:16 PM
Let's be honest, there's absolutely no chance LJ is turning things around and we're absolutely in the same market for managers as Aberdeen.
Aye league cup
25-01-2023, 05:58 AM
They were ahead last time too and appointed Goodwin. Nothing to worry about.
loanheadhibby
25-01-2023, 02:51 PM
They were ahead last time too and appointed Goodwin. Nothing to worry about.
I always admire you're positive spin on things.
Do you admit we are a shambles from top to bottom?
Are there any positives at ER and it is a serious question.
25-01-2023, 03:01 PM
Our U19s are one game away from being in the last 16 of the Uefa Youth League, alongside the likes of Liverpool, Barcelona, Man City, PSG, Sporting and Real Madrid?
25-01-2023, 03:10 PM
Taking in everything that’s rotten about the club just now, I think we are, and will remain, in the worst state we could be for a long time. Hope I’m wrong, but I think we are going to get a lot worse before we see better days. With the likely loss of RP, KN, the imminent sacking of LJ and the ongoing mismanagement of RG et al, there’s no room for optimism.
25-01-2023, 03:31 PM
''admit'' ?
I'm not going to admit anything thanks.
I think on the pitch we're a mess and Ron Gordon is fully responsible for that yes. Really no idea what my opinion on the state of the club has to do with what I posted initially, though?
25-01-2023, 03:39 PM
Forest Green sack manager will they go for LJ lol
Aberdeen board meeting was at 4pm today so we might find out soon if Goodwin is getting sacked or not. If he does then I'd guess Barry Robson will be in the dugout on Saturday.
25-01-2023, 05:41 PM
Forest Green sack manager will they go for LJ lol
Just in case they’re looking in for feedback, I really hope they don’t try to appoint LJ.
He’s a brilliant manager with ideas that will ensure a positive financial and footballing future for the club. And his personal hygiene is beyond reproach.
25-01-2023, 06:00 PM
Aberdeen board meeting was at 4pm today so we might find out soon if Goodwin is getting sacked or not. If he does then I'd guess Barry Robson will be in the dugout on Saturday.
According to Reporting Scotland, they’re still discussing Goodwin’s future. I assumed instant dismissal was a formality but an ongoing three hour debate suggests he will get the board’s backing. He’ll be a lucky guy to get a very winnable game against us to consolidate their decision.
25-01-2023, 06:04 PM
According to Reporting Scotland, they’re still discussing Goodwin’s future. I assumed instant dismissal was a formality but an ongoing three hour debate suggests he will get the board’s backing. He’ll be a lucky guy to get a very winnable game against us to consolidate their decision.
Hope they give him till Saturday, it should be quite entertaining. The El Taxio :taxi
25-01-2023, 06:05 PM
Cormack has told the board that the meeting will end when they all agree with what he's told them is happening.
I really hope he's not sacked so we can give him a nice friendly welcome after what he said about Porteous last time. If we win I'll be keeping a close eye Porto to see if he does anything to wind him up.
25-01-2023, 06:43 PM
Jim Goodwin keeps his job apparently! Basically sounds like he needs to win on Saturday
https://www.afc.co.uk/2023/01/25/statement-from-the-chairman/
25-01-2023, 06:45 PM
Jim Goodwin keeps his job apparently!
25-01-2023, 06:48 PM
Jim Goodwin keeps his job apparently! Basically sounds like he needs to win on Saturday
Step right up Hibs, well known for charitable donations the club have banded together to give Jim Goodwin 3, yes 3, points away from home!
25-01-2023, 06:50 PM
I wonder if LJ has been given the same “ultimatum “ as Goodwin ie win on Saturday or else? I’ve a feeling that LJ is here for a while though sadly
GreenGray
25-01-2023, 06:51 PM
Says after discussions with senior players they decided to keep him as it appears he still has their backing.
Would Johnson get that backing from our senior players if we done the same I wonder.
25-01-2023, 06:51 PM
Turned Saturday into a Cup Final for them. By the same token, we should be looking for the same.
We can expect Duk and Miovski to be diving about twice as much as normal.
25-01-2023, 07:06 PM
Either LJ or JG will be sacked at the weekend. I wonder which players will step up to the plate.
25-01-2023, 07:07 PM
Unbelievable Jeff
25-01-2023, 07:07 PM
I wonder if LJ has been given the same “ultimatum “ as Goodwin ie win on Saturday or else? I’ve a feeling that LJ is here for a while though sadly
To be fair Hibs didn't just get beat by Junior team. Genuinely can't believe he hasn't been punted.
25-01-2023, 07:11 PM
So the sheep clearly think they can beat us
25-01-2023, 07:13 PM
Very surprising. He seems a lame duck.
25-01-2023, 07:14 PM
So the sheep clearly think they can beat us
If you were a manager who desperately needed to win your next game, who would you hope to play?....
Yep.
25-01-2023, 07:18 PM
I actually quite like this level of transparency and frankness from their board. Though I’m probably easily swayed given our executive chairman/owner hasn’t made a peep in months.
25-01-2023, 07:25 PM
https://i.ibb.co/P1N8gJ7/20230125-202237.jpg (https://ibb.co/DwtnQmx)
25-01-2023, 07:29 PM
I can see why there is a reluctance on the part of both Hibs and Aberdeen to make the change now.
You are essentially throwing a new manager to the wolves. Minimal time to add new faces, fans already agitated and squads bereft of quality and confidence. If they don't make a decent impact then they go into a new season already under pressure.
I'm not saying I agree with it but there may be a feeling it's better to gamble the current gaffer does enough to keep you out the play offs then get him punted in the summer when there is more chance of a genuine clean slate for the new guy.
25-01-2023, 07:35 PM
^^If there was a team isolated at the bottom that could maybe work.
As it is, I think that’s a really risky strategy.
25-01-2023, 07:38 PM
I actually quite like this level of transparency and frankness from their board. Though I’m probably easily swayed given our executive chairman/owner hasn’t made a peep in months.
Cormack goes to many games, and seemingly has a twitter account, although I’m not sure he knows much about running a “soccer” club
Our owner appears 4/5 times per year max, and our CEO only seems to talk to Corporate fans. He’s not interested in the ordinary fan
25-01-2023, 07:40 PM
If you were a manager who desperately needed to win your next game, who would you hope to play?....
Yep.
The idea that Goodwin would want to play Hibs at Easter Road as a final game to save not only your Aberdeen career but arguably you whole managerial career is actually quite laughable and the kind of hyperbole that accompanies a derby defeat or two.
25-01-2023, 07:45 PM
It's laughable that Goodwin has been given Saturday's game against Hibs to save his job, after the Darvel fiasco. LJ and Hibs should see this as the final insult, and should sort them out once and for all with a heavy win. Unlikely to happen, but would be the cherry on top :greengrin
26-01-2023, 07:45 AM
Cormack goes to many games, and seemingly has a twitter account, although I’m not sure he knows much about running a “soccer” club
Our owner appears 4/5 times per year max, and our CEO only seems to talk to Corporate fans. He’s not interested in the ordinary fan
Cormack is also Scottish and an Aberdeen fan just spent a lot of his business life in the States I think
26-01-2023, 08:23 AM
Forest Green sack manager will they go for LJ lolBig Dunc supposedly
26-01-2023, 12:42 PM
Duncan Ferguson gets the Head Coach roll at FGR
loanheadhibby
26-01-2023, 01:10 PM
I don’t agree. There was no shortage of effort on Sunday, just lack of quality.
That exactly sums it up sadly.
Effort was most certainly there.
loanheadhibby
26-01-2023, 01:14 PM
''admit'' ?
I'm not going to admit anything thanks.
I think on the pitch we're a mess and Ron Gordon is fully responsible for that yes. Really no idea what my opinion on the state of the club has to do with what I posted initially, though?
As previously stated I take an interest in your posts.
We may not agree but there's nothing wrong with that.
I am interested in your views 're the manager and players and what we can do in your opinion to improve things.
26-01-2023, 01:55 PM
Duncan Ferguson gets the Head Coach roll at FGR
Is he vegan? :greengrin
Logie Green
26-01-2023, 02:18 PM
Is he vegan? :greengrin
I doubt it though he nearly turned a house burglar into a vegetable.
26-01-2023, 05:49 PM
I doubt it though he nearly turned a house burglar into a vegetable.
Dumped him heid first into the recycling bin.
26-01-2023, 05:51 PM
Quite a lot of Scots at FGR. Notably Dylan McGeouch.
bongo'd
26-01-2023, 06:14 PM
I can see why there is a reluctance on the part of both Hibs and Aberdeen to make the change now.
You are essentially throwing a new manager to the wolves. Minimal time to add new faces, fans already agitated and squads bereft of quality and confidence. If they don't make a decent impact then they go into a new season already under pressure.
I'm not saying I agree with it but there may be a feeling it's better to gamble the current gaffer does enough to keep you out the play offs then get him punted in the summer when there is more chance of a genuine clean slate for the new guy.
I'm in the other camp. I would rather risk a new manager coming in and assessing what he's got, 4 months to decide who he wants, what he needs etc. Especially in our case, I am absolutely convinced we will pick up enough points to avoid playoff/relegation. More due to others rather than our own deficiencies!!
That said, there's no point in changing the football structure (DoF) if everyone isn't singing from the same hymn sheet so with that in mind. Will we wait until a DoF is appointed before deciding on what lies in store for LJ?
Devil's Advocate here, but MAYBE, that's why there hasn't been a peep from the club.
26-01-2023, 06:36 PM
Kolo Toure sacked by Wigan, something like 9 games in charge.
26-01-2023, 06:43 PM
Marcello Bielsa in talks with Everton :shocked:
:singing:Marcello Bielsa
if he hangs about another few months he could be back at Elland Road :)
JamesHFC
26-01-2023, 06:51 PM
Kolo Toure sacked by Wigan, something like 9 games in charge.
Might possibly see Shaun Maloney back in management.
26-01-2023, 06:55 PM
Toure was very similar to Maloney. Comes in mid season and tries to change to passing football but with a very limited squad.
Both are like a case study in what not to do, for owners and coaches. No attempt to be pragmatic and just get results before implementing your ideas at a pre season
JamesHFC
26-01-2023, 07:46 PM
https://www.wigantoday.net/sport/football/wigan-athletic-turn-to-shaun-maloney-to-lead-the-rebuild-4003198
27-01-2023, 09:40 PM
Everton owner Moshiri has put the club up for sale =£500m price tag
Bielsa and Moshiri had different ideas for Everton, pity, would've loved Bielsa to sign Dan James for them :greengrin looking like he will need to return from his loan spell at Fulham if they go ahead and get some Arsenal dude on loan as well as that would mean three on loan and limit is two
Panda
27-01-2023, 09:46 PM
You call that statement transparent and frank?
Doesn't actually back Goodwin at all.
Has left fans and the media speculating whether a defeat to Hibs would mean the sack.
Doesn't actually say why the club haven't sacked him, other than believing the players back him - the same ones that lost to Darvel and hand of which would be emptied by a new manager.
And Cormack has gone into hiding and refused any interviews.
It's a shocker of a statement.
28-01-2023, 01:29 PM
Wigan appoint Shaun Maloney as new Manager
He's here!
28-01-2023, 01:48 PM
Interesting one.
28-01-2023, 01:48 PM
I hope he does well. Seems a genuinely nice guy.
28-01-2023, 02:02 PM
You call that statement transparent and frank?
Doesn't actually back Goodwin at all.
Has left fans and the media speculating whether a defeat to Hibs would mean the sack.
Doesn't actually say why the club haven't sacked him, other than believing the players back him - the same ones that lost to Darvel and hand of which would be emptied by a new manager.
And Cormack has gone into hiding and refused any interviews.
It's a shocker of a statement.
Aye but apart from all that it was pretty great
28-01-2023, 04:07 PM
Steven Thompson trying to push blame onto the players as he defends his mate Badloss 🤣
28-01-2023, 04:09 PM
Only one winner in the sack race!! Girfuy Goodwin!!
Donegal Hibby
29-01-2023, 07:50 PM
Aberdeen appoint Barry Robson interim manager , he also seems to be one of the favourites for it .
https://www.bettingodds.com/thesackrace/teams/aberdeen
30-01-2023, 01:03 PM
Aberdeen appoint Barry Robson interim manager , he also seems to be one of the favourites for it .
https://www.bettingodds.com/thesackrace/teams/aberdeen
He's absolutely useless as a coach so hopefully they appoint him.
Noticed Steve Agnew also joining them to help.
30-01-2023, 01:08 PM
Everton confirm Sean Dyche as new Manager
30-01-2023, 02:17 PM
Everton confirm Sean Dyche as new Manager
No mercy!
30-01-2023, 04:40 PM
Same! Actually quite like him. Will wish him even more luck if he takes Henderson off our hands.
1875Sean
30-01-2023, 07:26 PM
Same! Actually quite like him. Will wish him even more luck if he takes Henderson off our hands.
Looks like he has some experience coaches in with him, no sign of Caldwell so he may have a chance
30-01-2023, 08:37 PM
Looks like he has some experience coaches in with him, no sign of Caldwell so he may have a chance
Can’t see Caldwell leaving his job as a manager to be an assistant.
30-01-2023, 08:44 PM
Can’t see Caldwell leaving his job as a manager to be an assistant.
Also to the club where he used to be manager. Good luck to Maloney though.
31-01-2023, 06:07 AM
Caldwell took Mitchell off our hands so he's recovered a bit of respect from me.
Steven79
31-01-2023, 06:48 AM
It's laughable that Goodwin has been given Saturday's game against Hibs to save his job, after the Darvel fiasco. LJ and Hibs should see this as the final insult, and should sort them out once and for all with a heavy win. Unlikely to happen, but would be the cherry on top :greengrin[emoji108]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
31-01-2023, 09:25 AM
He was hopeless at Hibs. Good luck to him in pursuing his dream of becoming a successful manager but I can’t see it.
SJNB Hibby
31-01-2023, 01:46 PM
So I reckon thats now 5 ex-Hibby players or managers, managing in the EFL:
Heckingbottom @ Sheff Utd
Scott Brown @ Fleetwood
Tony Mowbray @ Sunderland
Gary Caldwell @ Exeter
Maloney @ Wigan
Have I missed anybody? and is that a good or a bad thing?
Throw in Brian Rice, Alan Maybury, Ian Murray, James McPake, Paul Hartley and John Rankin up here, and thats quite the list
31-01-2023, 01:56 PM
Not really interested in wishing Maloney good luck. Especially when he's trying to sign our players. Hope his luck is *****. An abysmal manager that set us back massively.
31-01-2023, 10:17 PM
The BBC Scotland cronies are bigging up Yogi for the Aberdeen job on the radio 🙄
Crunchie
02-02-2023, 07:39 AM
The BBC Scotland cronies are bigging up Yogi for the Aberdeen job on the radio 🙄
Dwight Yorke interested in the Aberdeen job, I hope they go down that route.
02-02-2023, 08:38 AM
Dwight Yorke interested in the Aberdeen job, I hope they go down that route.
You'd imagine Latapy would come in as his number two. Not that i think Yorke would get the job though. I listened to Barry Robson's interview a couple of days ago where he literally said that he wanted his players to run around a bit and things would happen for them. Imagine LJ had said that. Couldn't believe what i was hearing. A 1-3 defeat for them didn't come as a huge surprise. They are in big trouble if they don't get the right guy in quickly.
Crunchie
02-02-2023, 08:50 AM
You'd imagine Latapy would come in as his number two. Not that i think Yorke would get the job though. I listened to Barry Robson's interview a couple of days ago where he literally said that he wanted his players to run around a bit and things would happen for them. Imagine LJ had said that. Couldn't believe what i was hearing. A 1-3 defeat for them didn't come as a huge surprise. They are in big trouble if they don't get the right guy in quickly.
They're in free fall, and to think we had posters on here holding them up as an example of where we should be as a club :greengrin Funny old game innit.
02-02-2023, 09:24 AM
They're in free fall, and to think we had posters on here holding them up as an example of where we should be as a club :greengrin Funny old game innit.
This month Aberdeen have got Motherwell, Celtic away (could be messy) and Livi.
Lose all 3 of those and they'll be in what could only be described as the Terry Butcher Zone: falling without style.
WestCoastHibby
02-02-2023, 09:46 AM
Martindale would be a better shout due to his recent record, not the one with a mugshot attached. He’s done brilliantly
Big Yogis CV is now patchy at best, I just can’t see him getting a gig like Aberdeen, just not feasible
WestCoastHibby
02-02-2023, 09:48 AM
I heard that too, I do think they need to go back to basics but we used to “run around a bit “ in primary school.
Players should have more of a clue what to do end product wise though
02-02-2023, 09:52 AM
I'm sure they got most of their players in early, debunking that myth quite spectacularly. :greengrin
02-02-2023, 10:04 AM
Dwight Yorke interested in the Aberdeen job, I hope they go down.
Liked your post but it is better without the last two words :-)
02-02-2023, 10:05 AM
I'm sure they got most of their players in early, debunking that myth quite spectacularly. :greengrin
:agree: Look at Aberdeen getting all their signings done early. That's the way to do it. Hibernian 6 Aberdeen 0.
Donegal Hibby
02-02-2023, 06:14 PM
Ex Poland manager getting linked with Aberdeen job here .
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/10158826/next-aberdeen-manager-latest-michniewicz-talks-job/
Donegal Hibby
05-02-2023, 06:53 PM
Is Alan nixon at it ?.
https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/fleetwood-towns-former-celtic-man-on-hibernian-radar/
05-02-2023, 06:58 PM
Is Alan nixon at it ?.
https://footballleagueworld.co.uk/fleetwood-towns-former-celtic-man-on-hibernian-radar/
Yeah replace a manager who has won 3 of his last 5 with a manager who has lost 4 of his last 5. Makes sense. LJ is not in sackable form.
05-02-2023, 07:42 PM
Is Alan nixon at it ?.
What an odd article?
Can only laugh that off. Works for The Sun so will be just made up drivel to maybe fulfil some weekly word count.
:clown:
Donegal Hibby
05-02-2023, 07:49 PM
Yeah replace a manager who has won 3 of his last 5 with a manager who has lost 4 of his last 5. Makes sense. LJ is not in sackable form.
What an odd article?
Can only laugh that off. Works for The Sun so will be just made up drivel to maybe fulfil some weekly word count.
Probably the worst piece of journalism I've read . The Verdict bit at the end is really quite mad 😂
06-02-2023, 01:54 PM
Leeds United sack Manager Jessie Marsch
BBC Sport
06-02-2023, 01:59 PM
Leeds United sack Manager Jessie Marsch
BBC Sport
I know they are struggling for result,they just let him spend a few quid in the Jan window and bring in an assistant manager/coach a few weeks ago.
06-02-2023, 02:37 PM
What an odd article?
I often wonder if these journalists, at the beginning of their careers, ever believed that they would be reduced to making up and printing this type of made up s***e?
Donegal Hibby
06-02-2023, 02:38 PM
I know they are struggling for result,they just let him spend a few quid in the Jan window and bring in an assistant manager/coach a few weeks ago.
Think it's a bad call myself to sack him , guy hasn't been in the job even a year and as you say they just let him to spend in January and take in his own people . Unless they have someone like Mauricio pochettino or Thomas Tuchel lined up which I doubt they will probably end up with somebody of the same standard that doesn't know the squad and will need there own people in as well. It's a massive gamble they are taking.
06-02-2023, 02:43 PM
The thought of relegation and losing the massive money of the EPL makes clubs panic. There is so much at stake for them. Only time will tell if it's the right call.
06-02-2023, 05:00 PM
Wonder if Leeds will go for Jobbie Neilson. He is the new Alex Ferguson, don't you know?
Surprised Marsch got the boot, maybe not winning loads but made them harder to beat, did well in his 2 years in Austria.
06-02-2023, 06:40 PM
Surprised Marsch got the boot, maybe not winning loads but made them harder to beat, did well in his 2 years in Austria.
Leeds fans posts on Twitter that I’ve read are slating him. Doesn’t seem to be a popular manager down there at all.
My only supprise is he last so long.
06-02-2023, 06:57 PM
Carlos Coberan fav will they try for Postecoglu
06-02-2023, 07:01 PM
Carlos Coberan fav will they try for Postecoglu
Postecoglu would be a good fit for them I think.
06-02-2023, 07:08 PM
Postecoglu would be a good fit for them I think.
I hope not. Don't have much time for either of the ugly twins but Celtic staying far far ahead of Sevco is OK by me and I think Postecoglu will maintain that.
06-02-2023, 07:12 PM
the club spent a lot of money getting marsch the players, a lot of them either 1. Yanks or 2. Salzburg players or 3. both, Aaronson cost $30m and though started off well he's been downgraded to the becnh recently, and deservedly so
they had 70% possession at forest yesterday and still lost to the first half chance forest had, so much possession but no end product, Gnonto will be a star i'm sure but they don't half buy some duds, i still maintain they should get shot of DoF victor orta i'm not sure if Marsch can be blamed too much for that result yesterday but before the game i thought if they lost it they would go down, maybe a new manager will have the same effect as marsch had when he came in approx the same time last season and did help steady the sinking ship and stopped the hammerings, double header with man u coming up and i doubt very much they will get anything, leeds fans don't like getting beat from man u at any time so a double loss would send them over the edge :(
two weeks earlier and they probably could have had sean dyche, whoever they do get the 49ers will have a big say
p.s. i feel for forest fans forking out money to watch the absolute crap their team serve up, the most boring side in the top flight this season
06-02-2023, 07:27 PM
the club spent a lot of money getting marsch the players, a lot of them either 1. Yanks or 2. Salzburg players or 3. both, Aaronson cost $30m and though started off well he's been downgraded to the becnh recently, and deservedly so
they had 70% possession at forest yesterday and still lost to the first half chance forest had, so much possession but no end product, Gnonto will be a star i'm sure but they don't half buy some duds, i still maintain they should get shot of DoF victor orta i'm not sure if Marsch can be blamed too much for that result yesterday but before the game i thought if they lost it they would go down, maybe a new manager will have the same effect as marsch had when he came in approx the same time last season and did help steady the sinking ship and stopped the hammerings, double header with man u coming up and i doubt very much they will get anything, leeds fans don't like getting beat from man u at any time so a double loss would send them over the edge :(
two weeks earlier and they probably could have had sean dyche, whoever they do get the 49ers will have a big say
p.s. i feel for forest fans forking out money to watch the absolute crap their team serve up, the most boring side in the top flight this season
I wouldn’t worry about the forest fans .. They will not give a toss as long as they manage to stay up this season , it’s literally as black and white as that for them surely.. 2nd season they maybe try and adopt a different philosophy. But thats why so many suffer 2nd season syndrome
Donegal Hibby
06-02-2023, 08:02 PM
I don't think Ange postecoglou would even consider the Leeds United job to be honest.
06-02-2023, 08:07 PM
I don't think Ange postecoglou would even consider the Leeds United job to be honest.
Im not too sure about that.. mind rodgers left Celtic for Leicester and Gerrard left the huns for Villa
GreenGray
06-02-2023, 08:40 PM
Im not too sure about that.. mind rodgers left Celtic for Leicester and Gerrard left the huns for Villa
They were both British managers though so perhaps more of an attraction? Would be good if he went though.
Donegal Hibby
06-02-2023, 08:47 PM
There was rumours though that Rodgers wasn't happy that they weren't backing him in getting the players he wanted Mcginn supposedly being one of them Gerrard imo was just using sevco to get back to the premier league and was always going to jump ship when a premier league club came in .
Ange postecoglou has been getting backed financially and has built a very good team that has only one team to compete against for the league . He has in the past stated he wants to stay and I think he's a manager with integrity and will want to stay as he knows he has a good thing going for himself at parkhead.
Going to Leeds United to be there manager would be a very bad move for Ange postecoglou with the club in relegation trouble and unable to sign any players due to the window being closed. He would basically have to keep them up with what's there already . I think Ange postecoglou is no fool and will know the Leeds United job would be a massive gamble with the risk of the sack at the end of the season as well.
06-02-2023, 08:48 PM
They were both British managers though so perhaps more of an attraction? Would be good if he went though.
I just think when faced with the opportunity to manage in the EPL , at a big club then its hard to turn down.
06-02-2023, 08:55 PM
I hope not. Don't have much time for either of the ugly twins but Celtic staying far far ahead of Sevco is OK by me and I think Postecoglu will maintain that.
Postecoglu is a fine manager imo but can take a little while to get his teams going. Leeds are surely after immediate results, otherwise why change now?
06-02-2023, 09:51 PM
I wouldn’t worry about the forest fans .. They will not give a toss as long as they manage to stay up this season , it’s literally as black and white as that for them surely.. 2nd season they maybe try and adopt a different philosophy. But thats why so many suffer 2nd season syndrome
yep with leeds a very fine example of that, 10th First season back then needing a win on the last day of the season to secure their place in the top flight, they just never spent money on the right players to consolidate, spent a lot of money though.
i now think it will be Southampton, Bournemouth and Man city to go down :cb :)
08-02-2023, 05:25 PM
That’s Kenny Miller sacked again, as him and the Manager have been relived of their duties at Huddersfield Town
Was a strange appointment of Fotheringham in the 1st place in my opinion
08-02-2023, 05:43 PM
That’s Kenny Miller sacked again, as him and the Manager have been relived of their duties at Huddersfield Town
Thought that at the time as well. He'll be heading back to Germany next would be my guess.
That will be him back as a pundit on Sportscene shortly
Donegal Hibby
08-02-2023, 06:47 PM
Thought the same at the time that he was a strange appointment for a club struggling appointing a rookie manager wasn't a good move . I'd predict Maloney will go the same way to be honest.
08-02-2023, 06:50 PM
Great, another plodding unimaginative pundit who scarcely has an original though or anything interesting to add. One of the most state the bleedin obvious pundits
08-02-2023, 07:05 PM
And Sky and various other stations
09-02-2023, 10:36 AM
Thought the same at the time that he was a strange appointment for a club struggling appointing a rookie manager wasn't a good move . I'd predict Maloney will go the same way to be honest.
Maloney's saving grace is that they are favorites to go down and he won't be sacked if they do. He will have a chance to try and get them promoted. If they struggle next season which i think they will under him, hell be gone. I hope for his sake he's learned from his Hibs experience but he seemed very stubborn not to change way he wanted to play even though it wasn't working.
09-02-2023, 10:39 AM
I was told he was on the bench helping Mick McCarthy on Monday night at Blackpool?
Donegal Hibby
09-02-2023, 11:51 AM
Maloney's saving grace is that they are favorites to go down and he won't be sacked if they do. He will have a chance to try and get them promoted. If they struggle next season which i think they will under him, hell be gone. I hope for his sake he's learned from his Hibs experience but he seemed very stubborn not to change way he wanted to play even though it wasn't working.
You might be right though the Wigan board only gave the previous manager two months, they also dismissed a manager two weeks after giving him a new 3 year deal which would indicate they are ruthless enough. Wigan have the joint 2nd lowest amount of goals scored and going by Maloney's style of football at us I don't think that will improve under his managerial guidance either . Wigan appointing Maloney in there position was as a bad a decision as it was Maloney accepting the job as he hasn't the managerial experience to deal with a club in turmoil. I still think he will be sacked either before the season finishes or once they are relegated.
10-02-2023, 01:40 AM
Wonder if Leeds will go for Jobbie Neilson. He is the new Alex Ferguson, don't you know?
Well he has to have ambitions beyond Tynecastle surely?
10-02-2023, 10:05 AM
You might be right though the Wigan board only gave the previous manager two months, they also dismissed a manager two weeks after giving him a new 3 year deal which would indicate they are ruthless enough. Wigan have the joint 2nd lowest amount of goals scored and going by Maloney's style of football at us I don't think that will improve under his managerial guidance either . Wigan appointing Maloney in there position was as a bad a decision as it was Maloney accepting the job as he hasn't the managerial experience to deal with a club in turmoil. I still think he will be sacked either before the season finishes or once they are relegated.
I'll give it a few games before the novelty wears off for Wigan fans. They seemed delighted after the Blackburn game. Probably how we felt after his first game against Aberdeen i think it was. He'll come out with some pish about loving the way they play after having 500 passes across the middle and back and no shots on goal. Not that i'm still bitter or anything :greengrin
"It's a good start. We had to defend a lot in the second half so I was pleased - it's been months since we had a clean sheet."
Donegal Hibby
10-02-2023, 01:32 PM
Maloney's Wigan are at home to Huddersfield who are 3rd bottom and is a must win game for Wigan if the are to stay up imo though I won't be surprised if it ends in a draw specially 0-0 with Maloney coming out afterwards saying how super proud he is !
10-02-2023, 01:59 PM
Maloney's Wigan are at home to Huddersfield who are 3rd bottom and is a must win game for Wigan if the are to stay up imo though I won't be surprised if it ends in a draw specially 0-0 with Maloney coming out afterwards saying how super proud he is !
Super proud. Loves the group.
Donegal Hibby
10-02-2023, 02:06 PM
Super proud. Loves the group.
Four months of that was enough for me . :greengrin
10-02-2023, 02:31 PM
Four months of that was enough for me . :greengrin
We had a couple of games in a week, I think it might have been against Dundee away followed by St. Johnstone at home.
0-0 against Dundee and the interview was along the lines of "super proud" and "plenty to be positive about", 0-0 against St Johnstone and it was like someone in the squad had slapped his cat. Utterly baffling what goes through the mans mind.
10-02-2023, 03:25 PM
"It's a good start. We had to defend a lot in the second half so I was pleased - it's been months since we had a clean sheet."
To be fair to Maloney, we didn't really concede many. Probably in part to us never showing any attacking intent whatsoever.
Donegal Hibby
10-02-2023, 05:47 PM
One guy I'd really like to see get the sack is the sevco manager Beale " he's came out and called St Johnstone and Hampden pitches " cow fields " recently . Gus McPherson has called his comments unprofessional. Just something about him , he comes across as a totally arrogant and nasty S*** .
10-02-2023, 05:50 PM
One guy I'd really like to see get the sack is the sevco manager Beale " he's came out and called St Johnstone and Hampden pitches " cow fields " recently . Gus McPherson has called him his comments unprofessional. Just something about him , he comes across as a totally arrogant and nasty S*** .
He comes across like an Apprentice candidate that gets sacked within the first two weeks. A face I wouldn't tire of punching, and even then I could switch to kicks, slaps, and scratching at.
Donegal Hibby
10-02-2023, 06:03 PM
He comes across like an Apprentice candidate that gets sacked within the first two weeks. A face I wouldn't tire of punching, and even then I could switch to kicks, slaps, and scratching at.
Yeah , he has one of them faces right enough :greengrin . Think the way he's going he will eventually cause a bust up with some club !
10-02-2023, 06:06 PM
Sounds an ideal match for the Huns then…
10-02-2023, 07:17 PM
One guy I'd really like to see get the sack is the sevco manager Beale " he's came out and called St Johnstone and Hampden pitches " cow fields " recently . Gus McPherson has called his comments unprofessional. Just something about him , he comes across as a totally arrogant and nasty S*** .
He's an arse.
10-02-2023, 08:26 PM
He's an arse.
That's a pre-requisite for working for that mob.
11-02-2023, 12:39 AM
I think he’s a bit of a weirdo but difficult to disagree with his opinions on those pitches.
11-02-2023, 06:22 PM
Conte cannae be far away from the Spurs sack , Humped 4-1 at Leicester
11-02-2023, 06:28 PM
Motherwell must be closed to sacking another manager. Hammer refused to speak to the media after the game today so I suspect he knows what’s coming.
JamesHFC
11-02-2023, 06:34 PM
No way they sack him whilst being 2 points off 4th, in the knockouts of the CL and still in the FA Cup. Doubt he will be there next season though.
Scotty Leither
11-02-2023, 06:34 PM
It was him that was at the centre of the two dug-out spats at Easter Road when Slippy G was in charge. A reprehensible lout who's well suited to them.
11-02-2023, 07:00 PM
Motherwell must be closed to sacking another manager. Hammer refused to speak to the media after the game today so I suspect he knows what’s coming.
Hammell sacked.
Could see Jack Ross getting that job. Probably a good fit for him there.
JamesHFC
11-02-2023, 07:02 PM
Hammell sacked
I wonder if they will go for Ross after the poor spell at Dundee Utd.
11-02-2023, 07:04 PM
I wonder if they will go for Ross after the poor spell at Dundee Utd.
Just edited my post to say the same thing.
Would probably be a sensible appointment for them.
JamesHFC
11-02-2023, 07:15 PM
Just edited my post to say the same thing.
Would probably be a sensible appointment for them.
Their fans seem to want Lennon.
1875Sean
11-02-2023, 07:20 PM
Hammell sacked.
Spoke to a few Motherwell fans last night and they were saying Lambert is supposed to be lined up
11-02-2023, 07:21 PM
Hammell sacked.
How long was Hammell in charge there? Doesn't seem long.
11-02-2023, 07:22 PM
It's reported that Conte's relationship with the Spurs board isn't good. He's been publicly critical and expressed his unhappiness at some things. It wouldn't be a shock to see him leave Spurs soon.
11-02-2023, 07:28 PM
It's reported that Conte's relationship with the Spurs board isn't good. He's been publicly critical and expressed his unhappiness at some things. It wouldn't be a shock to see him leave Spurs soon.
Will be gone sooner rather than later imo , Spurs just can't seem to get any decent form going , Will probably need to win a cup to keep his job
11-02-2023, 07:32 PM
Spoke to a few Motherwell fans last night and they were saying Lambert is supposed to be lined up
Yeah, good shout with his previous connection to the club. He’s a miserable ******* though so I’d rather he wasn’t back involved in Scottish football.
Neil Lennon another possibility for them as someone else mentioned.
Lennon, Lambert or Ross probably all good options for them to be fair.
11-02-2023, 07:44 PM
Will be gone sooner rather than later imo , Spurs just can't seem to get any decent form going , Will probably need to win a cup to keep his job
Would they go for Tuchel? another ex Chelsea manager. They seem to have had plenty
Donegal Hibby
11-02-2023, 07:50 PM
How long was Hammell in charge there? Doesn't seem long.
He was appointed manager in August . Doubt Neil Lennon would want that job imo .
11-02-2023, 08:01 PM
Motherwell are in huge trouble. I'm delighted the guy that has overseen it has joined Aberdeen as CEO.
Donegal Hibby
11-02-2023, 08:26 PM
Wonder will Motherwell consider Goodwin?
11-02-2023, 09:28 PM
Think they would take any win right now 😁
11-02-2023, 09:32 PM
Surely we can all agree that it’s utter madness to bring in 8 or 9 players in the January transfer window and then sack the manager less than two weeks into February?
Clearly Motherwell are struggling but no one can succeed in a high profile job without a supportive team around them.
11-02-2023, 09:32 PM
Surely not, given the total disaster his tenure was at Aberdeen. Their next manager has a tough job ahead of him.
12-02-2023, 07:13 AM
Hammell’s record was truly awful, 23% win ratio, 58% loss. Only his status at Motherwell kept him in that job so long, especially given the vast majority of those wins were very early on.
Their next two games are St. Mirren and Hearts at home I think, so a new/sacked manager bounce would be well timed.
12-02-2023, 07:15 AM
Surely not, given the total disaster his tenure was at Aberdeen. Their next manager has a tough job ahead of him.
They appoint on the basis of Sportsound Chum Rating, not actual performance or other quality:greengrin
12-02-2023, 09:08 AM
Nathan Jones sacked after 8 games at Southampton
Victor
12-02-2023, 09:13 AM
Crazy stuff. How can you build anything in such a short time. Sacking the manager should be a last resort solution. The fact that boards/owners are making poor choices should be highlighted, however they are always blameless. Hope he gets a good settlement.
12-02-2023, 09:13 AM
No real surprise after yesterday's result at home to Wolves. Being a goal up then losing to 10 men was the final nail in the coffin.
12-02-2023, 09:16 AM
Crazy stuff. How can you build anything in such a short time. Sacking the manager should be a last resort solution. The fact that boards/owners are making poor choices should be highlighted, however they are always blameless. Hope he gets a good settlement.
He was - like Hammel probably - the wrong appointment in the first place.
These clubs should take the blame for that.
12-02-2023, 09:17 AM
I was astonished Nathan Jones had ended up in the premier league. Never a good enough manager for that level.
12-02-2023, 09:19 AM
14 games in total but had lost 7 from the last 8
12-02-2023, 09:27 AM
I'm in two minds about it. If they see quickly that it isn't working then the club deserve credit for changing it. On the flip side a manager needs a bit of time. It's a difficult one.
Slightly off topic, but there's a Hammell connection. How was Goncalves able to join Raith on loan from Livi yesterday and score the clinching goal?
12-02-2023, 09:30 AM
Slightly off topic, but there's a Hammell connection. How was Goncalves able to join Raith on loan from Livi yesterday and score the clinching goal?
I'm sure it's different in the lower leagues, Hibs done it in the championship
12-02-2023, 09:31 AM
With them being lower league, think you can sign players on three month deals (or something around that) outwith the window. Think we did it when we were in the championship with Ambrose.
Thanks, and to 04 Sauzee. Still seems a bit strange that he can then play in an SFA competition against top flight opponents. Good old Scottish football. Meanwhile ICT who were out comp are now in last 8! Maybe Livi should have held on to Goncalves!
12-02-2023, 09:43 AM
He would be free and Motherwell wouldn't have to pay compensation if they nicked another club`s manager