View Full Version : Managerial Sack Race
Pages :
[
10]
18-10-2023, 07:32 PM
Milwall have mutually agreed to part company with first team manager Gary Rowett
MKHIBEE
18-10-2023, 07:35 PM
Lincoln have parted company with their manager and assistant. A return for the Cowley brothers perhaps?
Milwall have mutually agreed to part company with first team manager Gary Rowett
Notice Nisbet isn't exactly tearing it up down there, 2 goals in 10 games and zero assists.
Bridge hibs
19-10-2023, 08:41 AM
Notice Nisbet isn't exactly tearing it up down there, 2 goals in 10 games and zero assists.
Missed the last 3 games with hamstring injury too, in fairness Millwall have been pretty ****, I watched a game a few weeks ago and Nisbet was completely isolated and barely touched the ball
19-10-2023, 08:48 AM
Missed the last 3 games with hamstring injury too, in fairness Millwall have been pretty ****, I watched a game a few weeks ago and Nisbet was completely isolated and barely touched the ball
Yep, it much the same when I was at their first home game of the season. He was barely in the game and Millwall were poor. Bristol City weren't that great either that day.
porthibbie
19-10-2023, 12:09 PM
According to Flashscores he has played in the last 3 games. Hull ,Plymouth and Swansea
19-10-2023, 12:13 PM
According to Flashscores he has played in the last 3 games. Hull ,Plymouth and Swansea
Yep think he missed one game in September through injury plus the odd spot on the bench but he's been a regular starter apart from that.
Donegal Hibby
19-10-2023, 07:13 PM
One of the bookies has Kevin Muscat and Michael Beale favourites for the Millwall job . Would you leave Japan for Millwall ? . Hope Beale gets it as Millwall's not a club I like and he'd be a good fit as I don't particularly like him either!.
20-10-2023, 07:21 AM
One of the bookies has Kevin Muscat and Michael Beale favourites for the Millwall job . Would you leave Japan for Millwall ? . Hope Beale gets it as Millwall's not a club I like and he'd be a good fit as I don't particularly like him either!.
I don't think it was a particularly great club for Nisbet to go to in all honesty. Seems to spend a lot of time being subbed off.
Bridge hibs
20-10-2023, 08:03 AM
Yeah, I need to up my research 🤭
I don't think it was a particularly great club for Nisbet to go to in all honesty. Seems to spend a lot of time being subbed off.
Nisbet has always chased the cash, he's never really stayed long at any club and remember he was quick to put in a transfer request when he first heard about Millwall making a bid in that January window.
20-10-2023, 09:34 AM
Yep think he missed one game in September through injury plus the odd spot on the bench but he's been a regular starter apart from that.
He was injured. That's why he was pulled from the Scotland squad.
23-10-2023, 05:12 PM
Ajax sack Head Coach Maurice Steijn after the worst start in the club’s history
Livescores
23-10-2023, 05:47 PM
He was injured. That's why he was pulled from the Scotland squad.
I know. I was confirming he'd started their last 3 games.
26-10-2023, 04:25 PM
Joey Barton sacked by Bristol Rovers. Never liked him.
26-10-2023, 04:26 PM
Never liked him either, wonder if Lee fancies moving home
26-10-2023, 04:41 PM
Straight swap with Joey lol
Donegal Hibby
26-10-2023, 06:18 PM
I'd doubt very much LJ would move to Bristol rovers after he had to move house over threats he supposedly got from them .
29-10-2023, 10:58 AM
Steven MacLean must be on his way out soon.
Check out his interview from yesterday. Can't imagine many of his players being inspired by that.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/67252346
29-10-2023, 11:01 AM
Steven MacLean must be on his way out soon.
Check out his interview from yesterday. Can't imagine many of his players being inspired by that.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/67252346
Heard it on the way home yesterday, the way they were building it up I thought he was going to resign on air, was still pretty scathing though, can't see many players trying for him now
29-10-2023, 11:25 AM
Hecky surely can't survive much longer was always going to be an impossible task but their start has been horrific
Crunchie
29-10-2023, 11:32 AM
Heard it on the way home yesterday, the way they were building it up I thought he was going to resign on air, was still pretty scathing though, can't see many players trying for him now
It was a crazy appointment in the first place and a huge gamble that appears to have backfired.
Sloop67
29-10-2023, 11:33 AM
QPR boss sacked
https://www.yorkshireeveningpost.co.uk/sport/football/leeds-united/leeds-united-leicester-city-and-sunderlands-championship-rivals-sack-manager-4389464
29-10-2023, 11:35 AM
QPR boss sacked
https://www.yorkshireeveningpost.co.uk/sport/football/leeds-united/leeds-united-leicester-city-and-sunderlands-championship-rivals-sack-manager-4389464
What a weird headline.
Sloop67
29-10-2023, 11:38 AM
There always seems to be plenty clubs who are willing to give these guys a job despite their less than impressive performances elsewhere .
Im sure Barton and Beale and plenty others will be linked with clubs as and when they become available
Sloop67
29-10-2023, 11:39 AM
What a weird headline.
Aye , it's a bit confusing
29-10-2023, 12:51 PM
St Johnstone sack MacLean.
29-10-2023, 12:54 PM
Hardly a surprise after his post match interview yesterday.
29-10-2023, 12:54 PM
Not a surprise, wonder if they’ll go back in for Callum Davidson
29-10-2023, 12:57 PM
Robson next?
29-10-2023, 12:58 PM
Not a surprise, wonder if they’ll go back in for Callum Davidson
Scott Brown or Kevin Thomson I reckon.
If they’re as strapped for cash as they seem to be, maybe Alan Maybury or Liam Craig.
He's here!
29-10-2023, 12:59 PM
QPR boss sacked
Would they take Beale back?
29-10-2023, 01:01 PM
If they’re as strapped for cash as they seem to be, maybe Alan Maybury or Liam Craig.
Craig has been removed as well
Donegal Hibby
29-10-2023, 01:06 PM
Rumours going Scott brown is being lined up for a different job.
29-10-2023, 01:12 PM
His interview post match yesterday was his resignation speech and i think he knew his time was up and was never coming back after it.
29-10-2023, 01:17 PM
Alec Cleland is the rumour up here
Sloop67
29-10-2023, 01:20 PM
Rumours going Scott brown is being lined up for a different job.
Bristol
29-10-2023, 01:23 PM
MacLean gone, I can see Robson going after we beat Aberdeen next weekend. Naismith won’t be far behind.
Donegal Hibby
29-10-2023, 01:30 PM
Bristol
Can't remember were I heard or seen it though it was rumoured to be a Icelandic club.
29-10-2023, 01:44 PM
MacLean gone, I can see Robson going after we beat Aberdeen next weekend. Naismith won’t be far behind.
MacLean might get the hertz job
29-10-2023, 02:10 PM
His interview post match yesterday was his resignation speech and i think he knew his time was up and was never coming back after it.
He's should never have been given the job. Another player who fancied a shot at a top job in the country without having a clue how to do it.
So many clubs try this cheap option these day, but it rarely works. There was absolutely nothing to suggest he'd be a good manager.
Naismith still fighting that fight, but every interview he gives just shows how unsuited he is to be a manager. Hope he stays in post for a while yet, picking up the odd win in 10.
29-10-2023, 02:11 PM
Agreed. And neither of them can have any complaints.
Wannabee managers everywhere getting found out.
29-10-2023, 02:22 PM
He's should never have been given the job. Another player who fancied a shot at a top job in the country without having a clue how to do it.
So many clubs try this cheap option these day, but it rarely works. There was absolutely nothing to suggest he'd be a good manager.
Naismith still fighting that fight, but every interview he gives just shows how unsuited he is to be a manager. Hope he stays in post for a while yet, picking up the odd win in 10.
Not even sure Naismith is suited to being a human being, still looks like a talking shaved bawsack.
29-10-2023, 02:24 PM
Bristol
Just sacked Nigel Pearson
29-10-2023, 04:11 PM
Not even sure Naismith is suited to being a human being.
Bridge hibs
29-10-2023, 04:15 PM
Hearts have their new management team ready to take over 27344
29-10-2023, 04:17 PM
Ten Haag's coat is surely on a shoogly peg now?
29-10-2023, 04:38 PM
I really can't believe Aberdeen appointed Robson on the back of a spawny run which was more about Goodwin leaving than anything else. They've been very poor ever since the the split last season. Hearts clearly went for the cheap option in Naismith. Both poor decisions. Robinson must be a shoo in for one of those jobs.
29-10-2023, 04:41 PM
I really can't believe Aberdeen appointed Robson on the back of a spawny run which was more about Goodwin leaving than anything else. They've been very poor ever since the the split last season. Hearts clearly went for the cheap option in Naismith. Both poor decisions. Robinson must be a shoo in for one of those jobs.
Which one could afford him, or should I say sack their managers, after all don’t herts have multiple managers?!
29-10-2023, 04:46 PM
Which one could afford him, or should I say sack their managers, after all don’t herts have multiple managers?!
True. You'd think Robinson would push for it though if the opportunity came. Hearts would probably appoint Peter Haring instead though. Basket case.
Bridge hibs
29-10-2023, 04:49 PM
Budge isnt happy with Naebadges 27345
29-10-2023, 04:56 PM
It’s Dr Ann remember! As an aside where did she get the Dr from?
Bridge hibs
29-10-2023, 05:02 PM
It’s Dr Ann remember! As an aside where did she get the Dr from? In recognition of her business success and community work, and for services to sport in Edinburgh, Ann Budge will be presented with an engraved Loving Cup from the Lord Provost later this year. Also for giving hibs fans a good laugh along the way, particularly with their shambles of a new build single tiered main stand.
He's here!
29-10-2023, 05:21 PM
Sheep have turned in a couple of good displays this season. Overall poor but no way we can go into next weekend over confident.
He's here!
29-10-2023, 05:24 PM
Hearts have their new management team ready to take over 27344
If they lose the semi-final you have to imagine the current management team are on the brink. Pretty pitiful European showing and 5 defeats in 10 on league business. Not what they've budgeted for.
29-10-2023, 05:30 PM
It’s Dr Ann remember! As an aside where did she get the Dr from?
She is allowed to call herself Dr until her sainthood arrives from the Pope. It's the biggliest team way. (Though they wouldn't pay for a first class stamp on the SAE they had to send to the Vatican)
Garymcl
29-10-2023, 05:50 PM
Please please don’t sack the maestro that is Naebadges they are raging at the PBS that he’s not gone already FTH 🇳🇬
Potty78
29-10-2023, 06:18 PM
Wanabee manager or someone who was given a terrible task?
29-10-2023, 06:37 PM
If they lose the semi-final you have to imagine the current management team are on the brink. Pretty pitiful European showing and 5 defeats in 10 on league business. Not what they've budgeted for.
The league is very tight so I reckon they hang in for a long time yet
Sloop67
29-10-2023, 06:40 PM
Is it not about time for the tactical genius that is Big Yogi Hughes to get back into the game , I'm sure he'd love Perth
29-10-2023, 06:44 PM
Robson next?
He will be almost out the door if they don't beat us and make the final.
Chuckies gran.
Lennon appointing himself st Johnstone manager I see.
31-10-2023, 08:00 AM
He will be almost out the door if they don't beat us and make the final.
Yip, no club in their right mind would sack the manager if they made it a the Cup Final :cb
31-10-2023, 08:37 AM
He’s be a cracking appointment for them if they can get him.
If they don’t, he’ll end up at Aberdeen soon enough.
31-10-2023, 08:41 AM
I'm hearing Marv's jaikit is on a shoogly peg at QoS. Near the foot of League One and were among the promotion favourites.
31-10-2023, 08:53 AM
Year without a gig now. Plenty of decent jobs came up in that time. Majority of SPL clubs have been looking for managers in that time. He's never been seriously considered. Not sure he's that guy anymore.
31-10-2023, 08:57 AM
I think Lennon's days at a club as big as Hibs/Aberdeen are over.
31-10-2023, 09:25 AM
Yip, no club in their right mind would sack the manager if they made it a the Cup Final :cb
If Aberdeen kept winning in the SPL I think that their fans might accept narrow defeats but decent showings in Europe, like Frankfurt away.
St Johnstone would be mad to consider Lennon. My guess is they would not match his wage expectations anyway.
Donegal Hibby
31-10-2023, 09:45 AM
Getting desperate to get back into management , can't really see him going to St Johnstone . Wouldn't rule him out of the Ireland job when Kenny goes though.
Donegal Hibby
31-10-2023, 10:45 AM
Read that this is Man United's worst start to a premier League season since 1986/7 when they sacked Ron Atkinson, was looking at Utd's fixtures and the manager should pick up enough points to save him for now . Fulham (A) , Luton (H) and Everton (A ) . Got to think they have a good chance of picking up maximum points there .
31-10-2023, 10:52 AM
St Johnstone would be mad to consider Lennon. My guess is they would not match his wage expectations anyway.
They should be looking at his last few months with us, and the complete implosion at Celtic when they should never have let Rangers have a sniff of a league title and realise that he’s not worth the hassle.
31-10-2023, 11:01 AM
I think Lennon's days at a club as big as Hibs/Aberdeen are over.
Yep. Found out a long time ago.
Steven79
31-10-2023, 11:10 AM
Yep. Found out a long time ago.Many on this forum were desperate for him to return not so long ago...
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
31-10-2023, 11:46 AM
Many on this forum were desperate for him to return not so long ago...
And will be again when NM eventually moves on.
31-10-2023, 12:33 PM
Many on this forum were desperate for him to return not so long ago...
Oh I know. Just as many of us were absolutely not though 😁
31-10-2023, 12:59 PM
Where did you read that? what I read and I quote is "probably not at the minute" when asked if he would be interested in taking over at St Johnstone.
Very strange how that can be turned into appointing himself.
Happy enough wi Monty as Hibs manager so good luck to Lenny.
31-10-2023, 01:06 PM
Don't get me started:grr::greengrin
31-10-2023, 03:42 PM
Where did you read that? what I read and I quote is "probably not at the minute" when asked if he would be interested in taking over at St Johnstone.
Very strange how that can be turned into appointing himself.
Happy enough wi Monty as Hibs manager so good luck to Lenny.
Ah, that's definitely a different take on things.
In fact it's the opposite to what was suggested!!
31-10-2023, 05:42 PM
Livi turn down an approach for Martindale from them.
03-11-2023, 03:57 PM
Reading Craig Levein is a front runner for the St Johnstone managers job, god help them
Bridge hibs
03-11-2023, 03:58 PM
Reading Craig Levein is a front runner for the St Johnstone managers job, god help them
Oh **** 🤣
03-11-2023, 04:09 PM
They don't deserve help from a deity if they make a decision that stupid.
Bridge hibs
03-11-2023, 04:21 PM
They don't deserve help from a deity if they make a decision that stupid.
Not too long a journey to Dundee for Levein to use the latrine if he has a dose of the Gary Glitters
Donegal Hibby
03-11-2023, 05:10 PM
Can see it now , Craigy boys 2 or 3 nil down to the hibees standing in full view of the hibs supporters with a banner reading " Natural Order " again :smug::
03-11-2023, 09:49 PM
That would be a strange one. Thought Neilson would he been considered
Donegal Hibby
03-11-2023, 10:17 PM
Read in one of the papers Calum Davidson has had talks with Bristol rovers about becoming there manager.
07-11-2023, 06:15 AM
Phil Neville gets another managerial job! How do people keep falling for these failures and giving them another chance?
07-11-2023, 06:23 AM
👀🤔
https://twitter.com/FranzHMFC/status/1721655519096508769?t=uLt6DY9gtQOg8Hrnid5BWA&s=19
https://i.ibb.co/mbfLWhF/20231107-073002.jpg (https://ibb.co/5GbNHsx)
07-11-2023, 06:26 AM
Things aren’t well down at Oriam
07-11-2023, 06:29 AM
Things aren’t well down at Oriam
Have they double booked the facility and the Heriot Watt lacrosse team gets priority?
07-11-2023, 08:41 AM
Robinson will be at Hearts before the season is over i reckon
07-11-2023, 08:42 AM
Robinson will be at Hearts before the season is over i reckon
If I was a betting man I would back him now as next Hertz boss.
07-11-2023, 11:12 AM
Derek McInnes just seems like the most natural fitting Hearts manager imaginable. Him or Robinson for sure will be there before the year is out
07-11-2023, 02:04 PM
Twitter rumours of Replay Robbie back as interim manager. Remember, I am only the messenger
07-11-2023, 02:39 PM
Can he stay until at least the 28th December please?
Twitter rumours of Replay Robbie back as interim manager. Remember, I am only the messenger
Oh joy
07-11-2023, 03:04 PM
The rumour is they are still paying Robbie anyway
Bridge hibs
07-11-2023, 03:10 PM
Hearts fans are already revolting at that news, the plane is up 27368
Bridge hibs
07-11-2023, 03:17 PM
Oot poster stuck to hearts dug oot 27369
07-11-2023, 03:23 PM
Kickback has threads on replacing their manager and Budge plus others questioning their board with talk of unrest.
Anyone that thinks Hibs fans like a moan about things should check it out. It's on another level compared to here!
Please let this come true. 🤞🙏
08-11-2023, 01:25 AM
Please let this come true. 🤞🙏
My neighbour preferred him to Potter
08-11-2023, 08:03 AM
My money would be on Naismith getting sacked on Christmas Eve (classy Hearts, as ever) as they will be in full panic mode before a Derby. Again.
09-11-2023, 04:06 PM
Robbie Replay appointed Head Coach of Tampa Bay Rowdies, so not heading back to Hearts anytime soon
09-11-2023, 04:25 PM
Robbie Replay appointed Head Coach of Tampa Bay Rowdies, so not heading back to Hearts anytime soon
Christ, haven't heard that name for a long time. Does Davie Robb still play for them?
09-11-2023, 04:54 PM
And turning down the offer to become Rangers assistant in the process?
leith lynx
09-11-2023, 04:59 PM
Christ, haven't heard that name for a long time. Does Davie Robb still play for them?
Davie Robb sadly passed away a few years ago, good player as well.
09-11-2023, 05:02 PM
It was in 2022. Some stories around him😀
09-11-2023, 05:43 PM
Not a sacking but ICT have released a statement saying that John Robertson is leaving his role as Sporting Director to pursue other opportunities in the game.
09-11-2023, 06:18 PM
Brian Rice leaves Alloa to become first team coach at Livingston.
09-11-2023, 06:26 PM
How does an ex-Aberdeen player get to s**g Olivia Newton John and Stevie Nicks? :greengrin Think it was that two anyway...
09-11-2023, 06:52 PM
Saw them away at St Louis in March ‘19 in the USL championship - awful! Not a patch on the team of the 70’s [emoji23]
09-11-2023, 08:28 PM
The Tampa Bay Robbies
13-11-2023, 06:06 PM
Rotherham sack their manager Matt Taylor
hope no new manager bounce before the Yorkshire derby with Leeds on Friday :)
15-11-2023, 09:17 AM
Malky Mackay binned by Ross County. Tam McManus was wanting him for the Hibs job 😂
Bridge hibs
15-11-2023, 09:20 AM
Malky Mackay binned by Ross County. Tam McManus was wanting him for the Hibs job 😂
No surprise there, wonder if Davidson will be in the running for that post, oh and Yogi 😃
15-11-2023, 09:21 AM
Their owner/chairman doesn’t mess around when he sees County struggling
Probably noticed that St Johnstone have picked up points of late
Paulie Walnuts
15-11-2023, 09:21 AM
Couldn’t have happened to a bigger racist.
15-11-2023, 09:30 AM
Probably sacked for going awol to join his buddies rioting at the Cenotaph…
Musselbound
15-11-2023, 09:54 AM
A bit surprised to read Ross County haven't won for so many games. Anyone still want him for us?
15-11-2023, 09:56 AM
Absolutely delighted, he'll never be linked with the Hibs job again.
15-11-2023, 10:04 AM
Indeed. Delighted he's been punted, hopefully off into the long grass, never to return.
Donegal Hibby
15-11-2023, 10:23 AM
That's two out of the bottom three clubs that have dismissed there manager, Martindale next maybe ?
15-11-2023, 10:39 AM
That's two out of the bottom three clubs that have dismissed there manager, Martindale next maybe ?
Livvy can't sack Martindale, they made a point of telling St Johnstone to bolt when they wanted him. Even if they get relegated he will stay in post. The next manager to go in the top flight will be Kettlewell, possibly Naibadges if a few results go against him.
leith lynx
15-11-2023, 10:45 AM
Scott Brown must be in with a shout.
Donegal Hibby
15-11-2023, 11:16 AM
Livvy can't sack Martindale, they made a point of telling St Johnstone to bolt when they wanted him. Even if they get relegated he will stay in post. The next manager to go in the top flight will be Kettlewell, possibly Naibadges if a few results go against him.
If Ross county and St Johnstone get a lift from new managers coming in and Livvy find themselves say 5 or 6 points adrift of the rest I still think it's possible the Livvy board could react too though your probably right they will stick with him . Robson's very much a contender too .
Donegal Hibby
15-11-2023, 11:23 AM
Scott Brown must be in with a shout.
Brown would be a massive gamble for them imo , would they have enough of a pull to maybe tempt Murray or Doolan perhaps? .
15-11-2023, 11:24 AM
Absolutely delighted, he'll never be linked with the Hibs job again.
Apart from the next time the Hibs job becomes available...
Ross County a decent job for someone. They've apparently got a decent budget.
He's here!
15-11-2023, 11:57 AM
Seems a bit harsh, but then what manager survives more than a handful of poor results these days?
Decent manager who would do fine at a club with a bigger budget.
hibby rae
15-11-2023, 11:58 AM
Bad day for Malky, first sacked and then finds out the Rwanda policy was ruled illegal
CyberSauzee
15-11-2023, 01:13 PM
Forgot about those stories, an absolute legend!!
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/cult-hero-davie-robb-recalls-a-remarkable-career-1542431
15-11-2023, 01:30 PM
Wee Robbo ?
15-11-2023, 01:56 PM
Forgot about those stories, an absolute legend!!
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/cult-hero-davie-robb-recalls-a-remarkable-career-1542431
That was brilliant. :faf:
15-11-2023, 02:05 PM
Brown would be a massive gamble for them imo , would they have enough of a pull to maybe tempt Murray or Doolan perhaps? .
Ian Murray's doing a fine job at Raith Rovers, he would be a good appointment for Ross County. An experienced manager now with a decent track record.
15-11-2023, 06:33 PM
Clyde appoint Ian McCall
15-11-2023, 06:51 PM
Clyde appoint Ian McCall
Surprised at this, he could do much better than Clyde
15-11-2023, 07:51 PM
Indeed. Delighted he's been punted, hopefully off into the long grass, never to return.
This 👍 him and Martindale next please 👍 both should never ever have top jobs in sport.
15-11-2023, 08:42 PM
This 👍 him and Martindale next please 👍 both should never ever have top jobs in sport.
What jobs would be acceptable?
19-11-2023, 08:50 AM
Marv will be binned soon. Pretty embarrassing interview after yesterdays defeat, blaming the playstation.
19-11-2023, 08:56 AM
Marv will be binned soon. Pretty embarrassing interview after yesterdays defeat, blaming the playstation.
He’s spot on tbh. He’s got a squad of skivers. But managers can’t talk like that to the press. No chance those players will do it for him now.
19-11-2023, 09:00 AM
any links?
19-11-2023, 09:03 AM
He’s spot on tbh. He’s got a squad of skivers. But managers can’t talk like that to the press. No chance those players will do it for him now.
He isn't spot on. The employees (players) can do what they like in their free time.
He's having a horror run of results, and its not the playstations fault.
19-11-2023, 09:23 AM
He isn't spot on. The employees (players) can do what they like in their free time.
He's having a horror run of results, and its not the playstations fault.
Not if it affects their match day performance or general fitness. They should go back to part time if they want to live that way.
He will get sacked but it’s clear the players are letting him down
19-11-2023, 09:47 AM
Not if it affects their match day performance or general fitness. They should go back to part time if they want to live that way.
He will get sacked but it’s clear the players are letting him down
Or they can work fulltime, and do as they like in their free time, like anyone else. They're not claiming to be anything they're not.
Its clear he's got no ideas to turn it around and is lashing out IMO.
19-11-2023, 09:54 AM
Love Big Marv but sounds like he has lost the plot
Hopefully he can turn things around
19-11-2023, 10:00 AM
Re. Marv, really feel for the big guy as he’s undoubtedly putting lots of blood, sweat and tears into football management. I’m a bit conflicted with his post match interview below. Brutal honesty, some blunt home truths, and clearly angry and containing himself as best he can - but I’d be saying to him “keep your powder dry” and take these thoughts into (and keep in) the dressing room. He’s almost talked himself out of the job by being so brutally honest.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=707&v=VBBP0V86rWo&embeds_referring_euri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.co. uk%2F&source_ve_path=Mjg2NjY&feature=emb_logo
I’d love him to succeed 👍 if he loses the QotS gig, he’d be a tremendous addition to the Hibs coaching team but I reckon he’ll fight to stay as a first team manager. I wish him every success.
Musselbound
19-11-2023, 10:38 AM
I'm not sure if QOTS are full or part time. But if they have other jobs I doubt very much they are on play stations 8 hours a day. It sounds like he might be taking something he's heard about one or two players and applying it across the board. It doesn't look good for him and it's usually just about over when a manager comes out with something like this.
19-11-2023, 11:32 AM
Re. Marv, really feel for the big guy as he’s undoubtedly putting lots of blood, sweat and tears into football management. I’m a bit conflicted with his post match interview below. Brutal honesty, some blunt home truths, and clearly angry and containing himself as best he can - but I’d be saying to him “keep your powder dry” and take these thoughts into (and keep in) the dressing room. He’s almost talked himself out of the job by being so brutally honest.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?time_continue=707&v=VBBP0V86rWo&embeds_referring_euri=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.google.co. uk%2F&source_ve_path=Mjg2NjY&feature=emb_logo
I’d love him to succeed 👍 if he loses the QotS gig, he’d be a tremendous addition to the Hibs coaching team but I reckon he’ll fight to stay as a first team manager. I wish him every success.
Is he a good coach?
19-11-2023, 12:01 PM
I'm not sure if QOTS are full or part time. But if they have other jobs I doubt very much they are on play stations 8 hours a day. It sounds like he might be taking something he's heard about one or two players and applying it across the board. It doesn't look good for him and it's usually just about over when a manager comes out with something like this.
I'd imagine Efe Ambrose would be on a good wage there as would ex Jambo Gavin Reilly. Two of the other back four yesterday are on loan from Hibs, Kyle McCelland and Oscar MacIntyre so they are all I'm sure full time players.
19-11-2023, 12:15 PM
I've absolutely no Idea what he's like as a coach. Don't know if he's good or bad. He doesn't seem to be a very good manager anyway.
19-11-2023, 12:22 PM
Very strange interview, wouldn’t be surprised if it’s his last as manager of QOTS
19-11-2023, 12:51 PM
They are full time. Marv is clearly pissed off with some players not all, and he made that point 3 or 4 times. But I agree that should be an internal meeting - not post a game when emotions are high. If players are not doing the correct gym work or doing ice baths then I'm sure he would drop them if he had any other options. I expect he will be gone very soon as he's got no chance of replacing those players.
19-11-2023, 12:55 PM
Or they can work fulltime, and do as they like in their free time, like anyone else. They're not claiming to be anything they're not.
Its clear he's got no ideas to turn it around and is lashing out IMO.
I'm talking about players not doing the gym work expected, not taking ice baths. Running coaching sessions in their spare time and then turning up not able to train due to that? If you do stuff in your free time that affects your ability to perform in your day job then expect to be fired.
TBH it all sounds a bit like John Collins. Marv keeps himself in great shape and he's clearly unhappy that some of his full time paid players don't have the same levels.
Musselbound
19-11-2023, 02:26 PM
They are full time. Marv is clearly pissed off with some players not all, and he made that point 3 or 4 times. But I agree that should be an internal meeting - not post a game when emotions are high. If players are not doing the correct gym work or doing ice baths then I'm sure he would drop them if he had any other options. I expect he will be gone very soon as he's got no chance of replacing those players.
I just watched some of the interview. Yeah I agree with your points. A lot of it sounds like stuff that should be said to players either in the dressing room or personally. Not to a reporter even from a club channel. Obviously it's become a bigger story and already looks out of control.
19-11-2023, 02:40 PM
It’s a tough one for Marv/being a manager.
He comes out and is really honestly about the game. He’s bang on int the sense of he can’t control it making basic mistakes etc, however you listen to him saying about why is Efe Ambrose trying to dribble out instead of putting the ball out and that he doesn’t coach them to do what efe done.
It’s Efe Ambrose?! I’d say most Hibs fans would expect him to try dribble out of a certain position or take a risk, if he never wanted that in his defender he shouldn’t sign him.
Unfortunately though when a manager comes out and is as honest as that it’s just not a good look.
19-11-2023, 02:57 PM
The video games patter is boomer *****. Disappointing really.
19-11-2023, 05:15 PM
Is he a good coach?
I think his time at Livi showed he’s a good coach and assistant - a good conduit between manager and players due to his personality and articulate way he presents himself. The struggle he’ll have and is having to cross that line from being ex player/assistant to a manager - as Lennon said, he’s not there to be your friend he’s the boss. It’s finding that sweet spot of being a good man manager and an autocrat when the big decisions have to be made. Players aren’t robots and they’ll always make mistakes in games, but I think he went too far publicly calling individuals out. He’s bang on about preparation and subtly hinting that certain players (in general) milk injuries or get muscle injuries due to poor prep and lifestyle though (in my opinion). He’s fallen into the trap of wanting it too fast too soon when results go against you. It’s at those times you need to be calm, composed, and manage the criticism in-house. But he’s a very young manager and he’ll always be learning about his methods and way of motivating. He’ll maybe look back at this interview in particular in the future and realise he went too far.
Paulie Walnuts
19-11-2023, 05:33 PM
Absolute nonsense.
19-11-2023, 05:52 PM
He's complaining that his players are sitting in poor posture for hours on end then asking to be excused from training because their muscles are tight as a result. He's complaining because they're not taking care of themselves properly in other ways too.
Playing the games itself isn't the issue.
What does boomer ***** mean?
19-11-2023, 06:00 PM
He's complaining that his players are sitting in poor posture for hours on end then asking to be excused from training because their muscles are tight as a result. He's complaining because they're not taking care of themselves properly in other ways too.
No idea but the video gamer stuff applies to all young players including those in teams doing far far better than Queens. He made a poor choice, they're a badly run club.
Mcbizz1998
19-11-2023, 06:09 PM
Grown men playing video games is pretty pathetic tbf but I doubt it’s having a huge impact on results. Sounds like Marv is frustrated.
19-11-2023, 06:10 PM
I’d be stunned if the players sitting playing the PlayStation has much of any impact on the players.
I doubt he’d say it if someone said they stayed in and watched football or tv in general
Even his point about coaching and being on your feet a couple of hours just sounds so stupid imo.
If they can’t sit and play PlayStation as it will make them stiff and they can’t coach as they should be resting their legs what exactly should they be doing?
It seems the classic case of we’re in a bad run etc so let’s look into every detail/excuse
19-11-2023, 06:13 PM
I’d be stunned if the players sitting playing the PlayStation has much of any impact on the players.
I doubt he’d say it if someone said they stayed in and watched football or tv in general
Even his point about coaching and being on your feet a couple of hours just sounds so stupid imo.
If they can’t sit and play PlayStation as it will make them stiff and they can’t coach as they should be resting their legs what exactly should they be doing?
It seems the classic case of we’re in a bad run etc so let’s look into every detail/excuse
Maybe. :dunno:
19-11-2023, 06:14 PM
Grown men playing video games is pretty pathetic
Why?
Paulie Walnuts
19-11-2023, 06:17 PM
If his training methods require players to essentially have no life outside of football for them to avoid injury/tightness then it’s his training methods that are the problem.
We’re not talking guys running marathons or going out and playing 5 a sides. We’re talking about guys sitting down, relaxing, resting and playing a computer game.
Mcbizz1998
19-11-2023, 06:20 PM
Why?
Played them when I was a child, got into my teens and grew out of it. Popular with people of my infantilised generation. Don’t get it at all.
19-11-2023, 06:20 PM
Played them when I was a child, got into my teens and grew of it. Popular with people of my infantilised generation. Don’t get it at all.
😂 wow.
19-11-2023, 06:26 PM
Played them when I was a child, got into my teens and grew out of it. Popular with people of my infantilised generation. Don’t get it at all.
What hobbies do you think are suitable for grown men?
19-11-2023, 06:27 PM
I must have been a right sad barsteward, playing them well into my 40s.
19-11-2023, 06:37 PM
What hobbies do you think are suitable for grown men?
Getting attention on the internet 😁
19-11-2023, 06:38 PM
Grown men playing video games is pretty pathetic tbf but I doubt it’s having a huge impact on results. Sounds like Marv is frustrated.
Nonsense comment. This is on a forum where grown men lose their **** every time hibs go a goal down? Behave.
19-11-2023, 06:47 PM
Nonsense comment. This is on a forum where grown men lose their **** every time hibs go a goal down? Behave.
Mcbizz1998
19-11-2023, 06:50 PM
Wow! I’ve riled up hibs.net’s resident man-children! 😂
19-11-2023, 06:59 PM
Nope, you've just embarrassed yourself with a daft opinion.
I've made friends for life through playing games online. People who do all kinds of important jobs and have families of their own. Video games don't discriminate.
I think being so close minded and frankly ignorant that you brand other peoples hobbies and passions as pathetic is far more pathetic than any hobby.
P.S. The top players and streamers in the video game world make millions every year. You maybe should've stuck at it
19-11-2023, 07:00 PM
Very good.
It is a great shame that being tedious on a football forum is considered so very grown up.
Bridge hibs
19-11-2023, 07:00 PM
I must have been a right sad barsteward, playing them well into my 40s.
Ive hung up my Playstation and broadened my horizons, I love a bit of competitive extreme ironing and do a bit of underwater pumpkin carving, not at the same time I must add
19-11-2023, 07:13 PM
Depends what game they were playing. FIFA acceptable. If it was Fortnite then Marv was correct.
Mcbizz1998
19-11-2023, 07:23 PM
Very good.
It is a great shame that being tedious on a football forum is considered so very grown up.
Calm down ffs. We disagree on a hobby, no need to get all upset about it.
Mcbizz1998
19-11-2023, 07:26 PM
Nope, you've just embarrassed yourself with a daft opinion.
I've made friends for life through playing games online. People who do all kinds of important jobs and have families of their own. Video games don't discriminate.
I think being so close minded and frankly ignorant that you brand other peoples hobbies and passions as pathetic is far more pathetic than any hobby.
P.S. The top players and streamers in the video game world make millions every year. You maybe should've stuck at it
I don’t feel embarrassed at all. You have made friends for life that you met online playing games? Right….. well, I’m glad you found some like minded people!
19-11-2023, 08:00 PM
What? Because I asked you a question, I'm riled?
19-11-2023, 08:11 PM
What? Because I asked you a question, I'm riled?
Better keep listening. Might be a bit about pathetic are the big noses!
19-11-2023, 08:12 PM
Better keep listening. Might be a bit about pathetic are the big noses!
Right. That's your last warning!
19-11-2023, 09:10 PM
I don’t feel embarrassed at all. You have made friends for life that you met online playing games? Right….. well, I’m glad you found some like minded people!
I have, yes. Met them many times in person since. Brilliant people. Video games have an incredible ability to bring folk together.
I'd honestly say putting your happiness in the hands of 11 wealthy athletes every weekend is a lot more pathetic than enjoying video games with your friends and family, but we all do that without question.
Anyway, back on topic.
19-11-2023, 10:02 PM
It’s just a really really weird view to have on something. Because you don’t like or get it that makes it pathetic. Bizarre.
Mcbizz1998
19-11-2023, 10:30 PM
It’s just a really really weird view to have on something. Because you don’t like or get it that makes it pathetic. Bizarre.
I just think it’s a sad thing for an adult to be spending time on. Anyway, each to their own!
19-11-2023, 10:40 PM
I just think it’s a sad thing for an adult to be spending time on. Anyway, each to their own!
You’ve literally just spent the last 4 hours arguing with people on an internet message board, you’re hardly in a strong position to criticise other people on how they spend their time.
Donegal Hibby
19-11-2023, 11:00 PM
I've got a uncle that thinks it's sad that adults go spend money on watching 22 men / women chase around kicking a ball ! . Everyone has different interests mate 👍.
Ross county I read are wanting Derek Adams btw .
20-11-2023, 12:45 AM
As opposed to an internet message board 😂
20-11-2023, 03:55 AM
Its no different from any other hobby. There is nothing sad about it.
20-11-2023, 06:04 AM
As opposed to an internet message board 😂
Now now :greengrin
20-11-2023, 08:15 AM
Yet another thread that becomes about the people posting.
20-11-2023, 08:16 AM
Derek Adams set to be appointed Ross County manager, for the 3rd time
20-11-2023, 09:15 AM
Can we keep this on topic please and go back to computer games?
20-11-2023, 09:48 AM
Safe pair of hands for them perhaps.
20-11-2023, 10:01 AM
Can we keep this on topic please and go back to computer games?
Feels like this has been rambling on for a fortnite.
20-11-2023, 10:04 AM
Morecambe have just announced his departure
20-11-2023, 10:13 AM
So is binge watching telly. Less sociable but more socially accepted.
Each to their own is exactly it. If you'd thought that from the start you'd have saved yourself some typing.
20-11-2023, 10:14 AM
I bet you play golf
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-11-2023, 10:17 AM
I bet you play golf
I play golf, video games and binge watch telly. I must be the Hibs.net antichrist
20-11-2023, 10:36 AM
Must be exhausting arbitrarily deciding some hobbies are for children. Each to their own I guess, I and plenty others will just keep enjoying ourselves. :aok:
20-11-2023, 10:46 AM
Feels like this has been rambling on for a fortnite.
20-11-2023, 10:50 AM
Morecambe have just announced his departure
Didn't Adams turn Hearts down for them? Was that around the time Hearts appointed the German guy who had never heard of them and then took an extended Christmas holiday, returning to get pumped in the derby? Ah, fun times.
20-11-2023, 10:51 AM
I play golf, video games and binge watch telly. I must be the Hibs.net antichrist
How dare you have hobbies you man child
20-11-2023, 10:51 AM
So is binge watching telly. Less sociable but more socially accepted.
Each to their own is exactly it. If you'd thought that from the start you'd have saved yourself some typing.
Paulie Walnuts
20-11-2023, 10:58 AM
Freak.
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-11-2023, 11:12 AM
Freak.
Not gonna argue that, wait until I mention I play subbuteo as a grown man as well [emoji23]
20-11-2023, 11:14 AM
I am a REAL MAN I only like: BEER, CAR, FOOTBALL and FIGHT
ErinGoBraghHFC
20-11-2023, 11:15 AM
Cars are for women, scooters are for real men
20-11-2023, 11:24 AM
Pussy.
You don't like ****ging.
20-11-2023, 11:40 AM
Pussy.
You don't like ****ging.
I suppose it’s nice to have something to do in the advert breaks.
20-11-2023, 12:22 PM
I suppose it’s nice to have something to do in the advert breaks.
No, that doesn't have a "g" in the middle....
20-11-2023, 12:46 PM
Derek Adams announced by The Staggies after he beats all the other candidates at Football Manager
Reporting Scotland
20-11-2023, 12:57 PM
Not gonna argue that, wait until I mention I play subbuteo as a grown man as well [emoji23]
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkDo you fall off the little base often?
Sent from my SM-G990B using Tapatalk
20-11-2023, 01:05 PM
1v1 me on Rust. Snipers only.
20-11-2023, 01:28 PM
I was a subuteo pioneer helping a pal build the team by gluing cardboard players to reluctant bases. Very difficult to flick with glue covered fingers.In later life when I bought a set(for the kids of course)my wife threw out our pitch.
20-11-2023, 05:16 PM
Adams confirmed at Ross County
20-11-2023, 05:20 PM
I can add drinking and occasionally interfering with myself to that list.
WTF does that make me?
MKHIBEE
20-11-2023, 05:28 PM
WTF does that make me?
Honest?
20-11-2023, 05:28 PM
WTF does that make me?
You’re only making it worse for yourself.
20-11-2023, 05:52 PM
Will probably be alright but sound seems an incredibly backwards move.
Some really exciting young coaches kicking about
Suppose they won’t want the risk
20-11-2023, 05:57 PM
Honest?
Ok. More than occasionally.
20-11-2023, 05:59 PM
You’re only making it worse for yourself.
Say that once more and I'll smash your bloody face in.
Sloop67
20-11-2023, 06:01 PM
Third time lucky ?
20-11-2023, 06:07 PM
Subbuteo. Ah those memories.
20-11-2023, 06:21 PM
Third time lucky ?
Think he was decent for them first time round. He left when he was poached by a bigger club (us).
MKHIBEE
20-11-2023, 06:42 PM
Ok. More than occasionally.
I wasn’t doubting you, just pointing out you were honest. Which you have just confirmed could be a stretch
20-11-2023, 08:23 PM
I wasn’t doubting you, just pointing out you were honest. Which you have just confirmed could be a stretch
You put a question mark after "honest".
That was a trick designed to make me say more, which was dishonest. Deceitful, in fact.
25-11-2023, 05:15 PM
Dick Campbell steps down as Arbroath manager
25-11-2023, 05:18 PM
Dick Campbell steps down as Arbroath manager
Sensational what he’s achieved with them, but think he’s run out of steam with them.
25-11-2023, 05:31 PM
Sensational what he’s achieved with them, but think he’s run out of steam with them.
sitting 2nd bottom of the league and out the cup, probably for the best
where's Scott Allan nowadays, injured or what
25-11-2023, 05:33 PM
Out on loan. Took an offer of better than half price hospitality in one of their league cup games earlier this season and he looked absolutely finished, sadly.
25-11-2023, 08:10 PM
Went on loan to Larne in NI. Doesn't appear to be getting much game time there either
K-Zazu
25-11-2023, 09:08 PM
I see Gary Caldwell is doing well at Exeter, hammered 7-0 of Bolton today.
25-11-2023, 09:17 PM
His team were awful today, 7 going on 17.
25-11-2023, 11:38 PM
One point above Fleetwood who were beaten 3-0 today and, are off course, managed by none other than a Mr Lee Johnson.
26-11-2023, 06:57 AM
One point above Fleetwood who were beaten 3-0 today and, are off course, managed by none other than a Mr Lee Johnson.
Fleetwood had been having a decent 'streak' as well. Fancied that game in my 'both teams to score' line. Glad I swerved it!
ErinGoBraghHFC
28-11-2023, 02:27 PM
WTF does that make me?
Em… me?
Highwayman
28-11-2023, 03:56 PM
Prior to that 7-0 humping on Saturday Caldwell received the dreaded “vote of confidence”from the Exeter board.
How long now for the statement.”We thank Gary and his staff for all their hard work and we wish them well for the future.But we now intend to take the club in a new direction”(whatever that means).
04-12-2023, 08:52 AM
Unsurprisingly Heckingbottom now sacked as Sheff Utd Manager. Fantastic job he done there to even get to Prem
Quite incredibly he's the first manager to be sacked from EPL this season
04-12-2023, 10:11 AM
Unsurprisingly Heckingbottom now sacked as Sheff Utd Manager. Fantastic job he done there to even get to Prem
Pretty shameful from the club. Sell the best players, don’t recruit properly, go through an injury crisis, then sack the man who got you into the top flight.
04-12-2023, 10:21 AM
Hope they don’t show an interest in Montgomery. 😜
04-12-2023, 10:28 AM
Is it official? Sky still running with expected to be sacked rather than actually gone.
04-12-2023, 10:32 AM
Is it official? Sky still running with expected to be sacked rather than actually gone.
Unofficially official I reckon. Most outlets reporting he'll be gone today. Sounds as though it's done and probably just formalising terms as it appears their ex boss Chris Wilder is coming straight in to replace Hecky
04-12-2023, 11:18 AM
Heck has worked wonders there not his fault Berge and boy who went to France not been backed by board shame
04-12-2023, 12:18 PM
Heck has worked wonders there not his fault Berge and boy who went to France not been backed by board shame
Wouldn't say he worked wonders. He did well to get them promoted but that was very much the expectation with the most expensive squad in that league.
As others have said, he's been set up to fail this season when they sell his best players. And you look at Burnley spending £100m and even Luton seeming to have recruited better.
Think Saturday's game was an El Sackio though, whichever manager lost was going to struggle to recover.
Donegal Hibby
04-12-2023, 04:26 PM
Hecky had done really well to get sheff Utd promoted and it was always going to be a tough task to keep them in the premier , personally I think their making a mistake in getting rid of him . He got them up once , he could do it again. I also don't see who their supposedly meant to be appointing as any better than Hecky either.