View Full Version : Driving Pet Peeves
Pages :
[
1]
24-01-2018, 10:13 AM
At the request of Alfiembra, here's the Driving Pet Peeve thread for frustrated motorists.
So, to kick it off.......
When you are just about to get into your car in a car park some Dumbo decides to draw in tight alongside your driver's door despite there being empty spaces everywhere around. :grr:
24-01-2018, 10:37 AM
People who bog the middle lane on motorways despite there being no traffic in the left lane.
Not only is that a peeve, it's dangerous and illegal.
24-01-2018, 10:50 AM
People who don't indicate at roundabouts. The whole system of roundabouts relies heavily on being aware of other drivers intentions.
24-01-2018, 10:52 AM
People who think sitting at traffic lights is an ideal opportunity to read/send messages on their phone and are inevitably still sat there 10 seconds after the lights have changed.
24-01-2018, 10:54 AM
People who don't indicate at roundabouts. The whole system of roundabouts relies heavily on being aware of other drivers intentions.
Drivers at Comely Bank roundabout who approach in the left hand lane then proceed to the 3rd exit without indicating. How there are not more accidents there is a surprise.
24-01-2018, 10:58 AM
People who don't acknowledge that you've stopped to let them through.
A wee wave or a flash of headlights would suffice.
24-01-2018, 11:00 AM
It's probably Germans. Over here you only indicate when you want to leave the roundabout.
24-01-2018, 11:24 AM
Folk who block the right hand lane (right turn only) at the Corn Exchange junction, because, for some reason, they think they're too special to sit in the left hand (straight ahead) lane.
24-01-2018, 11:30 AM
It's probably Germans. Over here you only indicate when you want to leave the roundabout.
A lot of people I seem to encounter here don't even do that.
Tobias Funke
24-01-2018, 11:35 AM
Agreed, and also people who don't get into the correct lane at roundabouts. I am fed up on idiots lining up in the right hand lane to go straight on (typically second exit). Unless its specifically marked to use the right lane for straight ahead then it should always be left lane on entrance to roundabout.
However, the Bankton junction off the A1 is one instance where it is marked right hand lane for straight ahead, left lane is Tranent only. The number of morons who go into the left lane to go straight ahead (second exit) is incredible. They let you know about it if you "cut them off" too.:rolleyes:
Alfiembra
24-01-2018, 11:50 AM
Grrrr that one gets me too, also if you are already passing a long line of parked car and the numpty coming towards you has only one parked car on his side of the road still pulls out into your path and thinks you should be giving way.
24-01-2018, 01:19 PM
Idiots who carry out dangerous overtaking manoeuvres on single lane roads. I drive on the A68 and A7 regularly and some of these clowns are risking their own and others lives, overtaking with blind corners and blind summits coming up. Madness.
People who drive in poor visibility with no side lights on.
24-01-2018, 02:12 PM
Idiots who carry out dangerous overtaking manoeuvres on single lane roads. I drive on the A68 and A7 regularly and some of these clowns are risking their own and others lives, overtaking with blind corners and blind summits coming up. Madness.
Likewise. There's only two safe overtaking stretches at speed between Gala and Middleton but it doesn't stop dafties playing the odds and overtaking on blind corners. It's no wonder there are regular crashes and two or three fatalities a year. The risk-takers seem to be worse northbound IMO.
I always used to think the 68 was safer but despite being straighter and having more obvious overtaking spots, it still seems to generate its share of idiots. Between the Tynehead road and Soutra seems to be the worst, both directions. Southbound more so because there are two imminent overtaking lanes but it doesn't stop folk overtaking unnecessarily.
24-01-2018, 02:44 PM
Emmanuel Macron has decided, in his infinite wisdom, that as from July the speed limit on French A roads (which don't have central reservations/barriers) from 90 to 80 km/h (roughly 55 to 49 mph), his thinking being that lowering the limit by 10% will result in 10% fewer accidents/mortalities.
Utter pish!
It won't reduce the number of bad drivers, and people who choose to drive everywhere at say 100km/h regardless of the limit will now have even more people to overtake (in the French system if you're 1 or 20 km/h over the limit the penalty is the same, so many people go +20km/h by default).
If I stick strictly to the limit it'll add a minute or so onto my drive to work. That doesn't bother me - bampots coming the other way making dodgy overtaking manoeuvres do.
24-01-2018, 02:56 PM
I’ve often wondered if I’m an over cautious driver as I can never get my head round the amount of people that over take on the A7 at dangerous spots. DHL delivery vans (and other similar companies) are especially bad for that on that road I’ve noticed.
Lorries overtaking other lorries on the 2 lane M8, other 2 lane motorways are available!
Ones doing 59 and the others doing 59 ... and a half!
If the slower one slowed for just a minute to say 55 to let the other go by there wouldn't be queues of frustrated drivers!
I think caravans need a thread of their own ;-)
24-01-2018, 02:59 PM
Folk who don’t put on their lights when it’s getting dark until it’s past the official lighting up time. Some idiots even don’t put them on then, as if they’re saving battery power.
24-01-2018, 03:00 PM
Annoys me when someone is letting you out but they don’t bother to tell you.
They sort of slow down a wee bit but not quite enough to make it obvious.
I’m sure this is where I get told I’m in the wrong and people who flash and make hand signals are acting dangerously but I still find it annoying.
24-01-2018, 03:11 PM
Lorries overtaking other lorries on the 2 lane M8, other 2 lane motorways are available!
If the slower one slowed for just a minute to say 55 to let the other go by there wouldn't be queues of frustrated drivers!
Somebody on the PPIV's thread called it "elephant racing". Describes it perfectly and made me laugh. :greengrin
Alfiembra
24-01-2018, 03:46 PM
Folk who don’t put on their lights when it’s getting dark until it’s past the official lighting up time. Some idiots even don’t put them on then, as if they’re saving battery power.
Eejits with DRL's that "think" they have lights on. What I'm seeing more and more is people driving in very poor conditions, heavy rain, fog etc. not realising that in some models of car the DRL's are only at the front and I'm guessing they don't know that the back of their car is in darkness.
24-01-2018, 03:49 PM
Eejits with DRL's that "think" they have lights on. What I'm seeing more and more is people driving in very poor conditions, heavy rain, fog etc. not realising that in some models of car the DRL's are only at the front and I'm guessing they don't know that the back of their car is in darkness.
A-ha, that's what it was. I saw a car the other night with front lights and no lights switched on at the rear.
ACLeith
24-01-2018, 04:02 PM
Those who religiously stick to the 20mph in Edinburgh when there is nobody else on the road, other than me behind them.
24-01-2018, 05:16 PM
When you are driving along a road and can see from your mirrors there is no one behind you and a car wheel spins out a side street to cut in front of you and you often have to brake.
Just wait you dicks.
24-01-2018, 05:20 PM
When you are driving along a road and can see from your mirrors there is no one behind you and a car wheel spins out a side street to cut in front of you and you often have to brake.
Just wait you dicks.
The worst part is, despite their rush to get out, they usually proceed at a crawl's pace with you stuck behind. That's what's defined as a dick x2.
24-01-2018, 05:28 PM
Muppets that use rear fog lights for no apparent reason.
The weather being a bit drizzly is not sufficient reason.
In fact the weather being a bit foggy isn't either!
They should only be used when it's REALLY foggy(visibility down to 100metres,I believe) - the way it gets about once every ten years....
Being stuck behind these clowns is almost as bad for your eyes as a full beam headlight shining in them. Grrr!
People that don’t understand how to behave towards buses.
If a bus has got the nerve to take up two lanes on a roundabout when you think it only needs one, it might actually be doing that for your safety. Try over/undertaking it and see what happens.
Also, people who try and overtake busses when they’re indicating to pull away from a bus stop on a single carriageway. Some even try it when buses are indicating and have actually moved off! Just pray the driver is in a good mood because he could continue moving and any crash would be the impatient car drivers fault.
24-01-2018, 06:54 PM
Add in people who don't know how to indicate at roundabouts. People indicating right to go straight on drives my nut in. If there are 4 exits on a roundabout you're either going left, right or straight on and can indicate as such.
People who drive right up your arse when you’re overtaking on a dual carriageway - where do they expect you to go?
bus drivers who leave the back end of the bus protruding into the road. It’s partially blocking the lane, and means the bus driver has less visibility when they want to move off.
peope who drive in snow in the same way they drive on a clear dry day, and don’t adjust their driving to the conditions.
drivers (usually large German cars) who’s ego can’t handle being overtaken by a smaller car (even though they’re going slow), so race past you to demonstrate that their car is superior, usually only for you to re-overtake them a few miles later as they’ve slowed down again.
totally agree about the lack of lane discipline/understanding at roundabouts, and the lack of indicating there.
people who fling their car into parking spaces and walk away, leaving the car at near 45 degree angles to the straight lines painted in to make it easier for you.
when you’re waiting to pull out at a junction, and other drivers accelerate so you’ll need to wait until they’ve passed, even though they are often not going in the same direction, so what do you have to gain?
people who scrape the only drivers side of the windscreen, then drive off.
people who think by putting their hazards on after just stopping in the road makes it all fine, and no one behind them should get annoyed about being held up (caveat is if they have a genuine issue).
people travelling on a slip road who think they have right of way, and expect the main road user already there to make room for them, even when it’s not safe to do so - people joining the M8 from newbridge heading into Edinburgh are exponents of this on a frequent basis.
Equally, people who make no effort (or occasionally go out their way to make it harder) to help create space as someone is joining a road from a slip road. Surely it’s safer to move out, or back off slightly and help another car to safely join the lane/road than be awkward and risk a crash? Joinging the M8 at Livingston heading to Edinburgh is bad for this.
Passengers who are supposed to be providing directions who wait until you’re on top of the junction you need to take before saying ‘eh, we’re supposed to be going that way Ffs’.
when driving along a motorway/dual carriageway, you slowly catch up to a long(ish) line of vehicles in the inside lane, over a period of 2-3 miles, and just as you get to them, the rear most vehicle decides that now is the exact time to move out and try to overtake the rest of the column of traffic, even though they had no interest until you caught up. It happens so often it’s untrue
24-01-2018, 09:11 PM
Folk who pull into the outside lane to overtake, get past the car they are overtaking then just sit there at about 60mph so you have to ease off to leave space. All because they can see another car 3/4s of a mile up the road they might have to overtake.
The bypass is particularly bad for this. Quite often I see people join the carriageway pull into the outside lane and then just stay there for no obvious reason.
24-01-2018, 10:09 PM
On the other side of the coin, I find just about every car has headlights on in broad daylight these days.
24-01-2018, 10:41 PM
On the other side of the coin, I find just about every car has headlights on in broad daylight these days.
Mandatory in some countries and consequently any British Army vehicle. I do it as it causes no issues in the light and don't forget in the dark.
24-01-2018, 10:43 PM
Mandatory in some countries and consequently any British Army vehicle. I do it as it causes no issues in the light and don't forget in the dark.
In my new car the lights are automatically switched on when the ignition is on. No way I can do otherwise.
24-01-2018, 10:50 PM
Add in people who don't know how to indicate at roundabouts. People indicating right to go straight on drives my nut in. If there are 4 exits on a roundabout you're either going left, right or straight on and can indicate as such.
Definitely one of mine as well. Usually women... (Sorry)
24-01-2018, 11:35 PM
As I said on the PPIV thread some time ago, people who come to an empty roundabout and stop. It's a YIELD, ffs. Apologies for saying this but I find women are the worst for this. Absolutely does my nut in.
24-01-2018, 11:53 PM
100 pager!
Peanut Shaz
25-01-2018, 09:06 PM
People who don't use bus lanes when it is okay to do so and look at you as if you were committing a criminal offence for doing it. It's quite simple, read the signs, they give the times they are in operation or not.
25-01-2018, 09:56 PM
People who don't use bus lanes when it is okay to do so and look at you as if you were committing a criminal offence for doing it. It's quite simple, read the signs, they give the times they are in operation or not.
Scary eh? If these people are oblivious to the large, bright blue signs that appear every couple of hundred yards - what else are they failing to notice at they drive around?
26-01-2018, 07:35 AM
Scary eh? If these people are oblivious to the large, bright blue signs that appear every couple of hundred yards - what else are they failing to notice at they drive around?
I always use the bus lanes, they are always empty too! Also folk that don't realise the Western Approach road is a 40 from the Brewery at Westfield all the way to Fountainpark!! The amount of times I've been stuck behind some doing 30mph and occasionally even as low as 20mph is beyond belief. Folk need to pay attention to the many roads speed signs!
26-01-2018, 07:47 AM
I always use the bus lanes, they are always empty too! Also folk that don't realise the Western Approach road is a 40 from the Brewery at Westfield all the way to Fountainpark!! The amount of times I've been stuck behind some doing 30mph and occasionally even as low as 20mph is beyond belief. Folk need to pay attention to the many roads speed signs!
Judging by the way some folk drive, I'm guessing their eyesight is too bad to be able to read bus lane signs anyway.
26-01-2018, 07:52 AM
Folk who suddenly spot a parking space they have just passed. Without any indication they just slam on the anchors and then you see the reversing lights come on, by this time you could be halfway over the space they want to reverse into with someone close behind and nowhere to go. That doesn't matter to the twat in front who still sits there with reversing lights on waiting for everyone to manoeuvre out of their way!
RamblingJack
26-01-2018, 08:29 AM
You should try driving in Spain,it's like The Wacky races sometimes.
26-01-2018, 08:32 AM
drivers (usually large German cars) who’s ego can’t handle being overtaken by a smaller car (even though they’re going slow), so race past you to demonstrate that their car is superior, usually only for you to re-overtake them a few miles later as they’ve slowed down again.
Conversely, drivers who, on seeing you have a fast car, suddenly turn into Lewis Hamilton and want to blow you off the road with their raw, 1.4 litres of power, only to splutter and run out of steam half a mile down the road as you smoothly cruise past them, using a fraction of the fuel that they wasted in order to get their ultimately disappointing cheapy.
This is often the behaviour of boy racers in their hot hatches, but I've seen middle aged men in Vauxhall Astras and Ford Foucuses behave similarly.
I changed from BMW to a Mazda CX5 a few years ago and the difference in the way people behave towards those vehicles is remarkable. People would let you out in jams when I was in the CX5, much less so in the Beemer. I bought another BMW in May, a 435D, and it's happening again. People want to race and overtake, and often, even if the obstruction is on their side of the road, they will force their way through, making me wait.
It's not just drivers of German cars that have egos.
26-01-2018, 10:34 AM
Glasgow Road is really bad for this. I use the bus lanes when allowed to do so (it's only 4h 30m out of 24 you can't!) and the amount of dirty looks I get for doing 40mph in the bus lane as they trundle by just below 30 is unreal.
26-01-2018, 10:39 AM
Glasgow Road is really bad for this. I use the bus lanes when allowed to do so (it's only 4h 30m out of 24 you can't!) and the amount of dirty looks I get for doing 40mph in the bus lane as they trundle by just below 30 is unreal.
The worst part is if your heading out of the city towards gyle or airport and the bus lane merges at the Marriot. Thats where all the dirty looks and horn toots/********s not letting you in happens.
26-01-2018, 10:54 AM
I wonder if any of those bad drivers we are talking about actually post on here. It would be good to hear their explanations :greengrin
26-01-2018, 11:23 AM
I wonder if any of those bad drivers we are talking about actually post on here. It would be good to hear their explanations :greengrin
I'm a perfect driver however my passengers tend to have a different opinion. :wink:
26-01-2018, 11:59 AM
I think those that don't use the bus lanes when they are available outside the rush hours are probably regular commuters and it has become a habit.
A wee while ago I was heading out of Edinburgh on Queensferry Road approaching the Blackhall junction in the bus lane when I was almost wiped out by a Range Rover coming out of Columba Avenue, presumably because he couldn't see a bus approaching he thought it was safe to enter the line of traffic in the outside lane. Twat!
26-01-2018, 12:08 PM
I think those that don't use the bus lanes when they are available outside the rush hours are probably regular commuters and it has become a habit.
A wee while ago I was heading out of Edinburgh on Queensferry Road approaching the Blackhall junction in the bus lane when I was almost wiped out by a Range Rover coming out of Columba Avenue, presumably because he couldn't see a bus approaching he thought it was safe to enter the line of traffic in the outside lane. Twat!
The bottom line is there are so many effin signs in the city that if you tried to read them all while driving you'd be constantly tailendering or being tailended. Bus lanes, 20mph zones, etc. etc. I recall one sign (it may not be there now) at Peffermill that had about 10 lines of text. WTF?
Edinburgh must be one of the most confusing cities to drive in and their general traffic flow design (or lack of ) is appalling.
26-01-2018, 01:20 PM
The bottom line is there are so many effin signs in the city that if you tried to read them all while driving you'd be constantly tailendering or being tailended. Bus lanes, 20mph zones, etc. etc. I recall one sign (it may not be there now) at Peffermill that had about 10 lines of text. WTF?
Edinburgh must be one of the most confusing cities to drive in and their general traffic flow design (or lack of ) is appalling.
There was, I don't know if it's still there, a stretch of road out near Bonaly where the speed limit went from 30 to 20 to 40 to National in the space of 180 yards. Complete madness which caused a few accidents and even more speeding tickets.
26-01-2018, 02:22 PM
Try parking on Leith Walk. If you have 10 spare minutes to read the signs.
26-01-2018, 02:53 PM
Kingsknowe is like that as well. Having said that, it can only be a matter of time till the council cuts the limit to 30 (or ****** 20) there. :rolleyes:
26-01-2018, 02:55 PM
Speed bumps. We're already crawling in your latest stupid 20 zone, just **** OFF!
26-01-2018, 03:22 PM
People who park anywhere they want!
Just been to take my son to Leith Victoria for his swimming, find the car park full which isn’t unusual so had to park in the street, only for 2 couples to come into the car park from the treatment centre next door and get into their cars. :grr:
26-01-2018, 03:26 PM
Speed bumps. We're already crawling in your latest stupid 20 zone, just **** OFF!
Even worse on cobbles. Lorne street for example. Utterly bonkers.
26-01-2018, 04:41 PM
"Speed bumps slow down the sensible drivers but have no effect on the nutters". - Confucius (550 BC)
Conversely, drivers who, on seeing you have a fast car, suddenly turn into Lewis Hamilton and want to blow you off the road with their raw, 1.4 litres of power, only to splutter and run out of steam half a mile down the road as you smoothly cruise past them, using a fraction of the fuel that they wasted in order to get their ultimately disappointing cheapy.
This is often the behaviour of boy racers in their hot hatches, but I've seen middle aged men in Vauxhall Astras and Ford Foucuses behave similarly.
I changed from BMW to a Mazda CX5 a few years ago and the difference in the way people behave towards those vehicles is remarkable. People would let you out in jams when I was in the CX5, much less so in the Beemer. I bought another BMW in May, a 435D, and it's happening again. People want to race and overtake, and often, even if the obstruction is on their side of the road, they will force their way through, making me wait.
It's not just drivers of German cars that have egos.
I agree mate. I was only referring to those drivers I described, not all drivers of large German cars :greengrin
26-01-2018, 07:34 PM
I agree mate. I was only referring to those drivers I described, not all drivers of large German cars :greengrin
26-01-2018, 10:36 PM
Yes exactly. And the speed bumps on these cobbled roads in the main have all the paint markings worn away. Resulting in you driving at them at a reasonable speed and finding yourself airborne and in need of a mechanic.
blaikie
26-01-2018, 11:19 PM
Parking at the far end of a car park to have plenty of space and returning with some eejit parked door to door with you!
27-01-2018, 10:02 AM
Parking at the far end of a car park to have plenty of space and returning with some eejit parked door to door with you!
I remember once, sitting in an empty bus when an older woman came on and sat next to me ignoring all the other empty seats. I assumed she wanted a wee blether but she didn’t acknowledge me at all. Weird.
14-02-2018, 05:32 PM
To drag up a peeve of mine again. Idiots who just do what they like at roundabouts. There's a roundabout at Fort Kinnaird which has 2 lanes and 5 exits. A sharp left to where Pets at Home is, a left to McDonalds, straight on, a right to B&Q etc or all the way around.
All the road marking make it quite clear that if you are going straight on then either lane is acceptable. That only works if people stick to their lane though. If you are turning left after the roundabout onto the A1 leading to the Asda at the Jewel or gojng straight on to Newcraighall being in the left lane is the correct place to be. It doesn't stop idiots going straight on in the right lane then as they exit the roundabout steering sharply left obviously without checking their mirrors to cut into the left lane. When you give a blast on the horn so they are aware you are there you can gurantee you'll get the beligerent open mouthed stare that is the mark of the moron who has no idea what they have done wrong.
14-02-2018, 06:10 PM
The French. Lovely country, lovely people for the most part but really shouldn't be allowed to drive. I'm conscious this is borderline xenophobic but I'm not standing for election anytime soon so I'm hoping i get away with it :agree:
14-02-2018, 06:31 PM
The French. Lovely country, lovely people for the most part but really shouldn't be allowed to drive. I'm conscious this is borderline xenophobic but I'm not standing for election anytime soon so I'm hoping i get away with it :agree:
I was in the French alps last week and saw 2 very risky overtaking maneuvers on blind corners in the space of 20 minutes near the dam at Tignes. Mental driving.
14-02-2018, 06:35 PM
My mate lives in Montpellier and says that the only reason the road system works in France is because everyone is making mistakes and if anyone followed the rules or drove properly they would cause havoc.
Kavinho
15-02-2018, 07:25 AM
People in front of your taxi sticking to a 20mph limit in the middle of the night with no traffic on the road when you're late for your 6am flight
15-02-2018, 07:31 AM
My mate lives in Montpellier and says that the only reason the road system works in France is because everyone is making mistakes and if anyone followed the rules or drove properly they would cause havoc.
Surely that's up there with the "I drive better after a few drinks" statement.
15-02-2018, 07:41 AM
Surely that's up there with the "I drive better after a few drinks" statement.
I think it was tongue in cheek and meant as an observation of the general quality of driving in France.
speedy_gonzales
15-02-2018, 11:36 AM
People in front of your taxi sticking to a 20mph limit in the middle of the night with no traffic on the road when you're late for your 6am flight
Hands up, that could well be me most nights. My vehicle has a tracker in it and when I go a few miles over the posted limit I get a warning, if I do 20% over I get disciplined and folk have lost their jobs.
Most nights I drive through town and stick religiously to the speed limit aided by my "tracker", PHC's and black cabs find it hard to stick to the 20 apparently as I find they either sit RIGHT on my backside or will overtake (which is absolutely fine by me). I have no issue with other drivers speeding around but if someone is late or in a hurry then it's not my doing.
For the sake of balance, it's not just taxis that struggle to keep within the limits, I was driving through Carricknowe in a 20 zone and I seen headlights in my rear view from quite a distance away and I reckon they were doing 40+ as the Wiseman dairies truck passed me on the wrong side of an island,,,,I don't think I could justify doing double the limit?!?
To drag up a peeve of mine again. Idiots who just do what they like at roundabouts. There's a roundabout at Fort Kinnaird which has 2 lanes and 5 exits. A sharp left to where Pets at Home is, a left to McDonalds, straight on, a right to B&Q etc or all the way around.
All the road marking make it quite clear that if you are going straight on then either lane is acceptable. That only works if people stick to their lane though. If you are turning left after the roundabout onto the A1 leading to the Asda at the Jewel or gojng straight on to Newcraighall being in the left lane is the correct place to be. It doesn't stop idiots going straight on in the right lane then as they exit the roundabout steering sharply left obviously without checking their mirrors to cut into the left lane. When you give a blast on the horn so they are aware you are there you can gurantee you'll get the beligerent open mouthed stare that is the mark of the moron who has no idea what they have done wrong.
Apart from being a peeve, it’s dangerous, and as you’ve said, usually met with incredulity or abuse because you dared to call out their crappy driving skills.
These people survive not because of their own driving skills, but by the skills of the other road users.
15-02-2018, 08:05 PM
Hands up, that could well be me most nights. My vehicle has a tracker in it and when I go a few miles over the posted limit I get a warning, if I do 20% over I get disciplined and folk have lost their jobs.
Most nights I drive through town and stick religiously to the speed limit aided by my "tracker", PHC's and black cabs find it hard to stick to the 20 apparently as I find they either sit RIGHT on my backside or will overtake (which is absolutely fine by me). I have no issue with other drivers speeding around but if someone is late or in a hurry then it's not my doing.
For the sake of balance, it's not just taxis that struggle to keep within the limits, I was driving through Carricknowe in a 20 zone and I seen headlights in my rear view from quite a distance away and I reckon they were doing 40+ as the Wiseman dairies truck passed me on the wrong side of an island,,,,I don't think I could justify doing double the limit?!?
There's a great irony that you, specifically, made this post. :greengrin
FWIW, I'll stick close to the 20 limit, the speed limits aren't time dependant and as much as I think they're over the top and needlessly cautious, it's still the law. Not saying I never speed, but I would say the vast majority of the time I drive sensibly and stick to speed limits.
It's a pet peeve of mine that folk get criticised for sticking to the law.
15-02-2018, 08:18 PM
One of my neighbours was booked a few months ago on cultins Road a few days after it became a 20.... The day after he'd told me about it I was overtaken by a cyclist (whilst shaking her head) as I drove past the entrance to the post office depot!
Sent from my SM-G925F using Tapatalk
15-02-2018, 08:39 PM
Weirdly,due to my work,I get to see some strange stuff.
Women Will use their right hand to say"thank you".......You can't see it from behind,but they did thank you!
Get them to put on the rear windscreen wiper and 90% of the ladies look behind them,90% of the gentlemen look at the rear view mirror.......not a critique,just an observation !
15-02-2018, 08:55 PM
Heading into town at meadowbank,before the left hand lane was turn left only.(bus lane)
Cop car at the end of the queue,sees me swanning up the left lane,
Next thing ,blues and two's behind me.
Stopped at a blue bus lane sign,
Cop"this your personal lane"
Me(pointing at sign)"during those times.....yes":na na:
15-02-2018, 09:58 PM
The bottom line is there are so many effin signs in the city that if you tried to read them all while driving you'd be constantly tailendering or being tailended.
Yep, completely agree. Exactly why a new 15mph limit should be introduced, to reduce the ever present risk of tailendering. :agree:
15-02-2018, 10:04 PM
Motorcyclists using bicyclists' pink boxes beyond the 'advanced stop line' at junctions. It doesn't really cause any harm or danger, I don't think, and not many do it, but it's fairly cheeky.
speedy_gonzales
15-02-2018, 10:39 PM
Motorcyclists using bicyclists' pink boxes beyond the 'advanced stop line' at junctions. It doesn't really cause any harm or danger, I don't think, and not many do it, but it's fairly cheeky.
Still 6 points and a fine if caught crossing a stop line when a red light is displayed,,,,I'm not sure if folk are trying to get a jump on the green light or whether they are sleeping at the wheel but the amount of drivers that will pull up at the first stop line then creep to the second is scary if not mildly amusing.
16-02-2018, 05:30 AM
Still 6 points and a fine if caught crossing a stop line when a red light is displayed,,,,I'm not sure if folk are trying to get a jump on the green light or whether they are sleeping at the wheel but the amount of drivers that will pull up at the first stop line then creep to the second is scary if not mildly amusing.
Three points and a fine I think.
speedy_gonzales
16-02-2018, 07:18 AM
Three points and a fine I think.
I'm not sure if there's a difference between a fixed camera or if witnessed by a real live copper, but the max is 6 points and £1000. At least that's what my friend Mr Lafferty tells me 🙄
16-02-2018, 10:51 AM
I'm not sure if there's a difference between a fixed camera or if witnessed by a real live copper, but the max is 6 points and £1000. At least that's what my friend Mr Lafferty tells me 🙄
Kyle or Austin? :-)
Seems bizarre there are different penalties for what is a black and white offence. I wonder if it's to do with whether or not you accept it or challenge it.
16-02-2018, 10:55 AM
Part of the problem is that parking is allowed in the left lane along that road, so you can often only move into it at the roundabout. It doesn't excuse the dangerous driving, but it does explain how people get themselves into the "wrong" position.
16-02-2018, 11:22 AM
The other day I was heading out of the City, at the roundabout between the Barnton and Maybury I was in one lane and a HGV was in the other, I let the HGV go as he would need more room to navigate the roundabout and I followed him but not before an irate van driver blasted his horn at me. Yeah im gonna get crushed by a lorry because of your impatience
16-02-2018, 11:32 AM
In a slow moving row of traffic that you're trying to join from a side-street, when drivers all bunch up together because somehow, letting you out is a cardinal sin. That's perhaps not just a driving pet peeve - general rude behaviour that I find bothersome.
Not being acknowledged after you clearly let someone through etc - I never beep the horn, shout or give them any fingered gestures. Merely give them slow applause and watch as they get angrier and angrier and I resort to nodding and clapping even more.
Merging lanes - I understand people going right up to the boundary - that's how it's supposed to work. What bothers me is people who come out of the inside (or whatever lane becomes the single one), fire up the outside for a hundred yards or so to then try and get back in.
The roundabout etiquette and parking right beside you does my head in too! Also, not necessarily parking beside me, but drivers of sizeable 4x4s who seem to think that the parking lines are merely a guideline - don't park over the middle of a white line and take up 2 spaces just because you're willy-extension is a bugger to park - you bought it, so learn to park the ****ing thing (and I say that as the driver of such a car, who can park the damned thing properly).
People (usually "yoof", but sometimes general schemie *******s in stupid looking luminscent coloured hatchbacks with a water-pipe exhaust and an installed air filter to make it sound "fast") who weave all over the road. You just look like a dick.
16-02-2018, 05:06 PM
Sherrifhall roundabout. The lines are painted, the road signs are clear and have been in place for a good few years now but still folk go in the wrong lane and chop over - the worst junction being the one at the cockatoo - cars/vans pull up in the inside lane (for musselburgh or Dalkeith) and go straight for either Bonnyrigg or if really bad to the outside lane for the bypass.
16-02-2018, 05:33 PM
Sherrifhall roundabout. The lines are painted, the road signs are clear and have been in place for a good few years now but still folk go in the ring lane and chop over - the worst junction being the one at the cockatoo - cars/vans pull up in the inside lane (for musselburgh or Dalkeith) and go straight for either Bonnyrigg or if really bad to the outside lane for the bypass.
That A6106 exit and entrance is a nightmare. It's so easy because all the instructions are painted on the road yet people seem to go into a panic and weave about all over the place.
16-02-2018, 06:20 PM
Sherrifhall roundabout. The lines are painted, the road signs are clear and have been in place for a good few years now but still folk go in the ring lane and chop over - the worst junction being the one at the cockatoo - cars/vans pull up in the inside lane (for musselburgh or Dalkeith) and go straight for either Bonnyrigg or if really bad to the outside lane for the bypass.
I've lost count of the number of times someone's nearly bumped my car by being in the lane for the Cockatoo but then decided they're taking the bypass. It's mental how often it happens.
Saturday Boy
16-02-2018, 07:25 PM
I've lost count of the number of times someone's nearly bumped my car by being in the lane for the Cockatoo but then decided they're taking the bypass. It's mental how often it happens.
Believe me, it’s even worse the other way round. Traffic in the bypass lane cutting in front of you at the last minute. Really good exercises for my aging reflexes.
When you are at a T junction (where you can turn right or left). You’re waiting to turn right, and someone approaches from your left, and races up so that you can’t go, and then turns across you to travel away from you along the road youve just come down.
What did they Gain? You’re going a different direction so you’ve not got in front of them, and by racing up they’ve wasted more fuel and brake pads, but so many are desperate to make the turn before you, even though flashing you out as they approach is courteous and sensible.
16-02-2018, 09:54 PM
When you are at a T junction (where you can turn right or left). You’re waiting to turn right, and someone approaches from your left, and races up so that you can’t go, and then turns across you to travel away from you along the road youve just come down.
What did they Gain? You’re going a different direction so you’ve not got in front of them, and by racing up they’ve wasted more fuel and brake pads, but so many are desperate to make the turn before you, even though flashing you out as they approach is courteous and sensible.
You highlight my main gripe about driving. The pointless things people do on the road. You see people changing lanes or overtaking in utterly pointless situations. Why do they do that?
17-02-2018, 07:32 AM
You highlight my main gripe about driving. The pointless things people do on the road. You see people changing lanes or overtaking in utterly pointless situations. Why do they do that?
What annoys me is people who brake for no apparent reason. Was stuck behind someone yesterday in a 20 zone doing 20 (which is fair enough, I can accept that’s the speed limit but by going that speed there’s next to no reason to ever be slowing below it other than the obvious reasons) and they just kept on braking out the blue. Nothing infront of them, not approaching a junction etc, just totally random and pointless braking down to about 10mph. WHY?!
17-02-2018, 08:19 AM
Folk driving in front of you who swerve to avoid the smallest manholes and tiny potholes. Fair enough maybe in a beat up old Corsa but I had this clown in front of me doing this all the way through Joppa, Porty and along Seafield Road the other week driving a flippin Shogun. Bizarre.
The scourge of the A11, that. It can take the 3 miles to overtake and reduce the whole road to 60mph in the process.
People who drive about with their hazards on as if it excuses any bizarre manoeuvre.
Not really in the spirit but the junction of the A406 with the M11 comes into the fast lane. The A406 has a speed cam so your around 50MPH, the M11 is supposed to be 50mph as well but everyone picks up speed ahead of the change to 70mph. Makes it tricky to merge in between the speed merchants.
There’s a junction like that on the M8 around Charing Cross as well but with added poor visibility.:cb
17-02-2018, 09:52 AM
What annoys me is people who brake for no apparent reason. Was stuck behind someone yesterday in a 20 zone doing 20 (which is fair enough, I can accept that’s the speed limit but by going that speed there’s next to no reason to ever be slowing below it other than the obvious reasons) and they just kept on braking out the blue. Nothing infront of them, not approaching a junction etc, just totally random and pointless braking down to about 10mph. WHY?!
On Sir Harry Lauder Road there's a speed camera. The limit is 40mph and the number of people who are doing about 32mph and then slam the brakes on when they see it is baffling to me. As you say, just why?
17-02-2018, 09:54 AM
Lorries overtaking lorries. Especially when the overtaking lorry pulls out in front of faster traffic then proceeds to hold everyone up for a mile as their lorry isn't as fast up a hill as they thought it was.
17-02-2018, 10:40 AM
Fog lights, when there is no fog, and at night!! :confused:
17-02-2018, 09:21 PM
Fog lights, when there is no fog, and at night!! :confused:
Fog lights in rush hour traffic. I don't need the warning 3 feet behind you at 5MPH. Burning my retinas tho...
18-02-2018, 09:24 AM
On Sir Harry Lauder Road there's a speed camera. The limit is 40mph and the number of people who are doing about 32mph and then slam the brakes on when they see it is baffling to me. As you say, just why?
We must live in the same area, as your location-specific peeves are mine too.
The SHLR one I put down to folk thinking it's 30 when they see the camera sign, until they're right beside the 40 sign.
18-02-2018, 09:37 AM
Tailgating and people parking in bus lanes.
18-02-2018, 09:54 AM
Taxi drivers who stop where and whenever they like but don't like it when you do the same to them in a taxi rank. 😁
18-02-2018, 10:10 AM
Taxi drivers who stop where and whenever they like but don't like it when you do the same to them in a taxi rank. 😁
Definite laugh-out-loud moment there. :greengrin
They do this at Inverkeithing train station. Its hilarious watching them get irate at car drivers who dare to drop off in the lower car park.
Not so much fun for the car drivers when the taxi idiots box them in so they cant get out.
Yet the taxi drivers seem to think they can park/block as they see fit in the top car-park.
As usual its only a few, but it does get over-aggressive at times.
18-02-2018, 10:43 AM
The taxi rank at Market Street is a joke. When it's full, taxi drivers just extend it to the other side of the road, meaning there's not enough room for two cars to pass each other.
18-02-2018, 06:11 PM
The westbound stretch of the bypass, between Old Craighall and Sheriffhall.
You can be on it at the most innocuous time of day and it's tailing back for ages.
I'm lucky in that I'm only usually on it to get to the Millerhill exit and onto the A68, but if I'm driving on it's always snarled up whether it's half-ten on a Tuesday morning or mid-afternoon on a Sunday.
Is it just bad traffic management?
19-02-2018, 07:15 AM
Taxi drivers who stop where and whenever they like but don't like it when you do the same to them in a taxi rank. 😁I came out from delivering a parcel, 45 secs i was out of van, to find two of them had boxed me in. Rank was otherwise empty and there was space for 6 in front of me, the one in front soon moved when I gave him a nudge.
19-02-2018, 08:37 AM
People who double park and block the road, I don't care if your just going to be a minute, park around the corner in a proper space FFS!
19-02-2018, 08:57 AM
You can be on it at the most innocuous time of day and it's tailing back for ages.
I'm lucky in that I'm only usually on it to get to the Millerhill exit and onto the A68, but if I'm driving on it's always snarled up whether it's half-ten on a Tuesday morning or mid-afternoon on a Sunday.
Is it just bad traffic management?
I think it's a combination of the short green light sequence and the late split of the road into more than one lane.
pollution
19-02-2018, 11:20 AM
I came out from delivering a parcel, 45 secs i was out of van, to find two of them had boxed me in. Rank was otherwise empty and there was space for 6 in front of me, the one in front soon moved when I gave him a nudge.
It is the sheer amount of traffic. The other day it was stationary at 6.40 am and yesterday it was bad until 4pm.
The proposed flyover will make no difference to the east to west flow as it is the Gilmerton on ramp where the traffic slows.
19-02-2018, 10:28 PM
Is it just bad traffic management?One of life's mysteries. Always bad in that direction. However it relates to a peeve of mine. Come off the SHLR to turn right onto that stretch and the right lane is often blocked. The number of drivers who use the left lane to turn right is unbelievable. Almost accepted practise now.
Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
19-02-2018, 10:41 PM
Folk who block junctions by entering the cross hatched box when there is no way of getting out of it. Then when tbe lights change and they're stuck there blocking the traffic, they give you the hand gesture as if to say where I am I supposed to go. You shouldn't have entered in the first place you ****** halfwit if you couldn't exit it.
speedy_gonzales
19-02-2018, 11:04 PM
Folk who block junctions by entering the cross hatched box when there is no way of getting out of it. Then when tbe lights change and they're stuck there blocking the traffic, they give you the hand gesture as if to say where I am I supposed to go. You shouldn't have entered in the first place you ****** halfwit if you couldn't exit it.
Not a traffic light junction, but a policeman done exactly this tonight at the yellow box junction at the end of Gylemuir Road/Meadow Place Road. It happens quite often during busy periods but you'd think the Po-Po would know better?!?
When it was obvious he wasn't going anywhere and was obstructing the box junction he done the sensible thing, put the blues & twos on and went up the outside of the queuing traffic,,,, if only we all had that option!
Andy Bee
19-02-2018, 11:56 PM
Lorries overtaking lorries. Especially when the overtaking lorry pulls out in front of faster traffic then proceeds to hold everyone up for a mile as their lorry isn't as fast up a hill as they thought it was.
Car drivers who don't have the patience to sit behind lorries for sometimes as few as 1 mile, especially when the car drivers are only nipping out for a paper, fags, visit the inlaws or any other needless journey they think demands that lorry drivers should get out their way, who incidentally have to tramp the same old roads day in day out, sometimes doing 15hr shifts just to deliver the things the aforementioned car drivers have ordered and have no idea what exactly lorry drivers go through to get it to them on time. Really does my head in that. :agree:
20-02-2018, 08:26 AM
Car drivers who don't have the patience to sit behind lorries for sometimes as few as 1 mile, especially when the car drivers are only nipping out for a paper, fags, visit the inlaws or any other needless journey they think demands that lorry drivers should get out their way, who incidentally have to tramp the same old roads day in day out, sometimes doing 15hr shifts just to deliver the things the aforementioned car drivers have ordered and have no idea what exactly lorry drivers go through to get it to them on time. Really does my head in that. :agree:
Lorry drivers that do 15 hour shifts when the maximum allowed driving time is 10 hours. :greengrin
If they overtake a truck travelling 1mph slower than them right at the beginning of their shift then the maximum time they will have saved is about 11 minutes that day. Hardly worth the hassle when you think about it. :wink:
20-02-2018, 09:18 AM
There’s an awful lot of perfect drivers on this thread.
I know this won’t go down well but I’m going to admit to it.......
There has been occasions when approaching a roundabout that I’m not familiar with I’ve found myself in the wrong lane.
Apologies to all concerned and to those that have been kind enough to let me in I thank you!
Don’t get me started on people that stick to the 20mph limit though, that’s unforgivable.
Andy Bee
20-02-2018, 09:37 AM
Lorry drivers that do 15 hour shifts when the maximum allowed driving time is 10 hours. :greengrin
If they overtake a truck travelling 1mph slower than them right at the beginning of their shift then the maximum time they will have saved is about 11 minutes that day. Hardly worth the hassle when you think about it. :wink:
10 hours driving time but 15 hours working time and it happens a lot.
It's not the time saved it's the fact that you're stuck behind another lorry for the duration of your shift if you don't overtake, it's far easier and safer going when you just have a clear road in front of you.
People who don’t understand that if you aren’t a taxi, you’re not supposed to stop in a taxi rank for any amount of time. It doesn’t matter if you’re only popping in for a paper or picking your mum up from the station, you’re interfering with working vehicles providing public transport so stop being so selfish. 🤨
Would you have the same attitude if it were bus stops we were talking about?
People who drive about with their hazards on as if it excuses any bizarre manoeuvre.
I was waiting for a bus when this van driver pulled into the lay-by at the bus stop taking the whole thing up and facing the wrong way into the bargain. He then proceeded to make his crucial phone call.
When the bus pulled up to the stop it couldn’t get in so the driver signalled to the van to move. The van driver apologised and made things ok by sticking his hazards on and continuing the conversation.
20-02-2018, 11:59 AM
People who don’t understand that if you aren’t a taxi, you’re not supposed to stop in a taxi rank for any amount of time. It doesn’t matter if you’re only popping in for a paper or picking your mum up from the station, you’re interfering with working vehicles providing public transport so stop being so selfish. 🤨
Taxi drivers who don't understand that no u-turn means no u-turn. They get all humpty when you won't let them swing across into oncoming traffic.
I take it you agree with the whole taxi tank thing then. 😉
20-02-2018, 12:52 PM
10 hours driving time but 15 hours working time and it happens a lot.
It's not the time saved it's the fact that you're stuck behind another lorry for the duration of your shift if you don't overtake, it's far easier and safer going when you just have a clear road in front of you.
I bet that pisses of the driver of the lorry you have just overtaken as he no longer has the clear road in front of him and has to tailgate you for the next 15 miles until he gets up enough steam to overtake you.
On lorries, the A9 has average speed cameras and an 'experimental' average speed for lorries. When this was introduced it 'reduced' the average speed of lorries from 40mph to 50mph (actually from about 56 to 50) somehow the lorries are now back to going at 56-58mph as if the cameras don't apply to them.
EH6 Hibby
20-02-2018, 12:59 PM
There has been occasions when approaching a roundabout that I’m not familiar with I’ve found myself in the wrong lane.
Apologies to all concerned and to those that have been kind enough to let me in I thank you!
Don’t get me started on people that stick to the 20mph limit though, that’s unforgivable.
Someone mentioned Sherrifhall Roundabout earlier, I will add Hermiston Gait and Newbridge to the list of roundabouts that I am incapable of going round without someone beeping at me. I don't get these roundabouts at all, how are you supposed to know what lane you are supposed to be in? I approach and check the signs and road markings and choose the correct lane, I then follow that lane round the roundabout and then suddenly the lane I'm in changes to a different road exit, how do you then get in to the correct lane? If you try to merge into the correct lane the person behind you beeps at you or the person in the lane you are trying to move to beeps at you. How does everyone else seem to know that the lane is going to change, and how come they don't get beeped at when they must have started off in the wrong lane in order to end up in the right one? I get so stressed out when I have to go round any of these big roundabouts.
20-02-2018, 01:10 PM
Someone mentioned Sherrifhall Roundabout earlier, I will add Hermiston Gait and Newbridge to the list of roundabouts that I am incapable of going round without someone beeping at me. I don't get these roundabouts at all, how are you supposed to know what lane you are supposed to be in? I approach and check the signs and road markings and choose the correct lane, I then follow that lane round the roundabout and then suddenly the lane I'm in changes to a different road exit, how do you then get in to the correct lane? If you try to merge into the correct lane the person behind you beeps at you or the person in the lane you are trying to move to beeps at you. How does everyone else seem to know that the lane is going to change, and how come they don't get beeped at when they must have started off in the wrong lane in order to end up in the right one? I get so stressed out when I have to go round any of these big roundabouts.
Thank the lord I’m not the only one.
I totally get how people going in the same round about every day learn what lane to go in and how to deal with it but when it’s the first time I don’t know how folk do it.
There’s markings are on the road in most cases however it can’t only be me that notices when you’re approaching these roundabouts there’s normally other cars there covering up these instructions?!
Fully expect and prepared to be mocked for these questions but I don’t care.
20-02-2018, 01:17 PM
I totally get how people going in the same round about every day learn what lane to go in and how to deal with it but when it’s the first time I don’t know how folk do it.
There’s markings are on the road in most cases however it can’t only be me that notices when you’re approaching these roundabouts there’s normally other cars there covering up these instructions?!
Living in France, this is the only thing that stops my head literally (:greengrin) exploding on a daily basis.
Up until the 70s/80s the French weren't that big on roundabouts - now they've gone mental with them and install them at every opportunity.
There are 2 problems with this;
1. Many French drivers weren't taught how to use roundabouts as they hardly existed when they learned to drive.
2. The majority of roundabouts, especially in town, have no signs beforehand to tell you what's happening, so unless you're familiar with a specific roundabout or are using a GPS, there's absolutely no way of knowing what lane you're meant to be in.
20-02-2018, 01:20 PM
Absolutely, along with adhering to double yellow lines, clearways, and other parking/stopping restrictions.
20-02-2018, 01:24 PM
There are signs, either overhead or at the side of the road, which tell you which lane you need to get into. These are usually well ahead of the roundabout where the road markings will confirm that you've picked the wrong one.
speedy_gonzales
20-02-2018, 01:28 PM
Surely even you must forgive those of us that HAVE to drive at the posted limits for fear of losing our jobs?!?
As I said in a post above, I don't mind if folk pass me as I bimble along at 20 but don't get all aggro because I either choose to obey the limit or as is more the case I'm forced to obey by the in-cab spy!
20-02-2018, 02:09 PM
Its the law. :confused:
20-02-2018, 02:25 PM
It was only tongue and cheek.
It is a pain in the arse being stuck behind someone doing 20mph though and despite it being the law I doubt anything would happen if you were to get up t the dizzy heights of 25mph.
20-02-2018, 02:49 PM
I'll guarantee if you drive along Craigentinny Road and back once a day for a week you'd struggle to find anyone doing 20.
20-02-2018, 04:58 PM
Don't give them tanks ffs.
The correct way to get round Sheriffhall and these other roundabouts is to have already done it several times before.
20-02-2018, 05:05 PM
Also, folk who don't understand the difference between a yellow box junction and the yellow paint which marks it out. Don't enter these junctions if there's no exit whether or not there's yellow paint on the road! Ditto the difference between lanes on a road and lane markings. Many roundabouts have two lanes going right round them, but no lane markings. Stick to your lane, whether it's marked on the road or not!
20-02-2018, 05:13 PM
People who are impatient with learner drivers.
I was stuck behind a learner today along seafield and while I was being a considerate driver etc the guy behind me couldn’t have been more annoyed, he was right up behind me the whole time waving his arms about then just obviously lost patience and floored it to overtake me and also the learner.
20-02-2018, 06:05 PM
This is not my peeve, but one i dont understand and see increasingly moans about on social media (might be better in the peeve thread) but people who get upset when someone parks outside their house or in 'their space' when its a public street parking.
Ive seen people on FB boast about blocking a car in ecause it was in their bit, or sending photos of a car trying to find out whos it is. Ita a punlic place so eff off and mind yer own.
I acrually had someone come out her house to tell me to move and claimed she would key the car if i didnt move, why does this anger people so much?
20-02-2018, 06:16 PM
This is not my peeve, but one i dont understand and see increasingly moans about on social media (might be better in the peeve thread) but people who get upset when someone parks outside their house or in 'their space' when its a public street parking.
Ive seen people on FB boast about blocking a car in ecause it was in their bit, or sending photos of a car trying to find out whos it is. Ita a punlic place so eff off and mind yer own.
I acrually had someone come out her house to tell me to move and claimed she would key the car if i didnt move, why does this anger people so much?
:agree: I had a flatmate who parked her car outside a house in Cramond. The owner phoned the polis and described it as "abandoned". Polis phoned the flatmate's parents in England to say her car had been abandoned. Parents on the phone to me, up to high doh, thinking their daughter was lying murdered in a ditch somewhere. Flatmate had been uncontactable in the Dunfermline College library for a couple of hours. No doubt the polis handled it badly but that house owner deserved a smack in the mooth.
20-02-2018, 06:41 PM
It was only tongue and cheek.
It is a pain in the arse being stuck behind someone doing 20mph though and despite it being the law I doubt anything would happen if you were to get up t the dizzy heights of 25mph.
I bet if someone hit your kid at 25mph in a 20 zone you'd be happy to let them away with it...:greengrin
20-02-2018, 06:55 PM
That's what happens when one group of people think because they are driving a working vehicle they can drive like erseholes (not all of them). Folk then enjoy a bit of tit for tat retribution. Nothing better to brighten your day than the irony of a taxi driver complaining about you stopping or parking where you are not allowed to.
To be fair (and I do accept your point :greengrin), there are a lot of car drivers who are on the road for business reasons as well
20-02-2018, 07:23 PM
I bet if someone hit your kid at 25mph in a 20 zone you'd be happy to let them away with it...:greengrin
Id certainly be asking why they were driving on the pavement, that’s for sure.
20-02-2018, 07:27 PM
Id certainly be asking why they were driving on the pavement, that’s for sure.
20-02-2018, 08:08 PM
People who are impatient with learner drivers.
I was stuck behind a learner today along seafield and while I was being a considerate driver etc the guy behind me couldn’t have been more annoyed, he was right up behind me the whole time waving his arms about then just obviously lost patience and floored it to overtake me and also the learner.
My driving lessons were fairly straightforward but it never helped when you had someone impatient behind you, either trying to get you to speed up by tailgating or trying to overtake when it wasn't justified.
We've all been there as learners, it's no big ask to give them a bit of space and patience.
20-02-2018, 09:05 PM
Driving is awful. It brings out the worst in people.
I know it does in me.
20-02-2018, 09:14 PM
Drivers who just have to vent their aggression.
I was turning right a few weeks ago at the bottom of Kaimes Road, admittedly I made a mistake and caused someone turning right into Kaimes Road to brake. We wound down windows and I held my hands up and apologised, this wasn't good enough for the other guy though who then started to abuse me, swearing, name calling etc. What's that all about? Mistakes happen,it wan't as if it was even a near collision.
Peanut Shaz
20-02-2018, 09:16 PM
Talking of roundabouts, I always find the one at Cameron Toll confusing. I use it fairly regularly but always get in a mini panic about the lanes. Probably really straightforward and more of a mental block with me but I hate it.
I was turning right a few weeks ago at the bottom of Kaimes Road, admittedly I made a mistake and caused someone turning right into Kaimes Road to brake. We wound down windows and I held my hands up and apologised, this wasn't good enough for the other guy though who then started to abuse me, swearing, name calling etc. What's that all about? Mistakes happen,it wan't as if it was even a near collision.
We all get a bit angry due to the depersonalisation of situations because you’re in a car but an apology like that should be the end of anything.. Sounds like a prick who probably has a scared wife.
21-02-2018, 06:02 AM
We all get a bit angry due to the depersonalisation of situations because you’re in a car but an apology like that should be the end of anything.. Sounds like a prick who probably has no sex life and a tiny boaby.
Eh... Fixed that for you. :greengrin
21-02-2018, 08:41 AM
That’s annoys me as well. Everyone makes wee mistakes from time to time when driving. As long as the person puts their hand up and apologises, then you just acknowledge it and move on. There’s no need for the ridiculous aggression from some people. If only they could see their screwed up red faces when they’re shouting at other road users. It’s laughable tbh.
21-02-2018, 08:50 AM
That’s annoys me as well. Everyone makes wee mistakes from time to time when driving. As long as the person puts their hand up and apologises, then you just acknowledge it and move on. There’s no need for the ridiculous aggression from some people. If only they could see their screwed up red faces when they’re shouting at other road users. It’s laughable tbh.
Imagine if we all had guns :hmmm:
23-02-2018, 07:24 PM
Imagine if we all had guns :hmmm:
just arm the taxi drivers.
Driving is awful. It brings out the worst in people.
I know it does in me.
Number One Son “Can I watch that movie, Mum?”
Wife “No, it’s got too much swearing!”
Number One Son “Don’t worry, I know all the swear words already!”
Wife “ How do you know all the swear words?”
Number One Son “From Daddy. In the car!”
23-02-2018, 09:58 PM
just arm the taxi drivers.
Over here most of them are already.
Number One Son “Can I watch that movie, Mum?”
Wife “No, it’s got too much swearing!”
Number One Son “Don’t worry, I know all the swear words already!”
Wife “ How do you know all the swear words?”
Number One Son “From Daddy. In the car!”
Just so I can laugh appropriately how old is Number One Son?
07-03-2018, 09:01 AM
unqualified people directing traffic. Random man with a van directing his buddy out of parking spot outside Javits whilst stopping traffic in both directions so he can reverse out. Have come across this a couple of times recently. Why cant the just wait for a safe gap or someone to let the out like everyone else?
07-03-2018, 05:47 PM
unqualified people directing traffic. Random man with a van directing his buddy out of parking spot outside Javits whilst stopping traffic in both directions so he can reverse out. Have come across this a couple of times recently. Why cant the just wait for a safe gap or someone to let the out like everyone else?The normal rules of the road don't apply around Javit's. [emoji16]
Sent from my SM-A510F using Tapatalk
unqualified people directing traffic. Random man with a van directing his buddy out of parking spot outside Javits whilst stopping traffic in both directions so he can reverse out. Have come across this a couple of times recently. Why cant the just wait for a safe gap or someone to let the out like everyone else?
Unqualified people who don't/can’t drive, or fall into the ‘I won’t drive when it’s snowy/rainy/windy/sunny/wet/cold/etc’ brigade, but will continually criticise, pick faults and comps,in about others driving. ********s
Alfiembra
08-03-2018, 11:59 AM
I work in Aberdeen and commute every week from Edinburgh, so clock up a fair few miles annually.
What I hate is the amount of money spent up here on very expensive motors and they never turn a wheel year in year out.
All about look at what I've got, fine have your big car but use it for what it's meant for.
09-03-2018, 05:30 AM
People who can't enter or leave a junction correctly. Specifically those who drive on the wrong side of the road whilst doing so, but look at you like you're in the wrong when you have to brake suddenly to avoid them.
09-03-2018, 07:14 AM
People who can't enter or leave a junction correctly. Specifically those who drive on the wrong side of the road whilst doing so, but look at you like you're in the wrong when you have to brake suddenly to avoid them.yeah, folk who cut the corner when turning right into a junction.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
09-03-2018, 07:45 AM
When the road narrows, due to say a parked car, and you stop to let an oncoming car through then they drive past you without any acknowledgement of 'thank you'.
Probably the same folk who ignore you when you hold a door open for them.
patch1875
09-03-2018, 07:47 AM
People basically jumping a red light so no one can turn right.
09-03-2018, 08:07 AM
People basically jumping a red light so no one can turn right.
Yeah, the top of the mound is bad for that when trying to turn right to go down the back of the castle.
10-03-2018, 02:00 PM
The zig-zag lane hoppers in slow moving traffic.
14-03-2018, 10:08 PM
I have always been courteous to bus drivers regarding letting them into traffic etc. However on two occasions over the last couple of weeks I have come across situations where the driver on each occasion has been an absolute erse to the point of downright dangerous. I worry about the mentality of these type of people driving buses full of passengers.
15-03-2018, 08:41 AM
This might sound petty but at this point I don't care, unless I have no other choice I don't let them out any more. I used to be courteous to Buses but when you are behind them you get stick doing 5-10 mph below the speed limit, they leave the arse of the bus hanging out so you cant get passed when they stop and I often come across them blocking junctions to help other buses through, pulling out into traffic then there is no room for them. I'm not aggressive towards them or anything like that but if a bus is waiting to get out and I can safely get passed them I will.
15-03-2018, 09:25 AM
Drivers who stop in the cycle-box at traffic lights.
:stirrer:
15-03-2018, 11:57 AM
This might sound petty but at this point I don't care, unless I have no other choice I don't let them out any more. I used to be courteous to Buses but when you are behind them you get stick doing 5-10 mph below the speed limit, they leave the arse of the bus hanging out so you cant get passed when they stop and I often come across them blocking junctions to help other buses through, pulling out into traffic then there is no room for them. I'm not aggressive towards them or anything like that but if a bus is waiting to get out and I can safely get passed them I will.
Good & bad/couteous & non-couteous drivers are not confined to one mode of transport. They're all stirred in with the traffic soup.
15-03-2018, 05:01 PM
Folk that either reverse into spaces in supermarket car parks or drive over into the space on the other side. To facilitate getting their shopping in their boot they then either put their trolley in an empty space next to them meaning that space can’t be used at that time, or they block access to the car parked next to them as they use that passageway to get to the boot. It’s usually folk with tonnes of shopping as well so it takes them an age.
The amount of times I’ve gone to go into a space that looks empty only to find a trolley is blocking it is unreal.
15-03-2018, 09:15 PM
Today I got a skyline 300 from the corn exchange wanting to get off at the canongate but there was tweets and updates saying that the high street was closed east bound but the on-board message still shows it going down the high street. As I got off in South Bridge I asked him if the bus was going to canongate and he said yes, then looked at a screen in the cab to find it was closed right enough. He said good call. The bus then sat for a few minutes presumably while the driver found out where he was supposed to go. Imagine if he had tried to get down to cannon gate and had to turn round at John Knox House.!!
Good & bad/couteous & non-couteous drivers are not confined to one mode of transport. They're all stirred in with the traffic soup.
I think the worst ones are the ones who have total disregard for the Highway Code.
Rule 223 for example.
17-03-2018, 11:25 PM
I think the worst ones are the ones who have total disregard for the Highway Code.
Rule 223 for example.
Or even worse, drivers who think that rule means they can indicate and pull out regardless.
From a completely neutral point of view, it’s worth remembering that anything resembling a 50/50 will refer to that rule.
So watch out and don’t get too blasé because you never know.
18-03-2018, 07:02 AM
From a completely neutral point of view, it’s worth remembering that anything resembling a 50/50 will refer to that rule.
So watch out and don’t get too blasé because you never know.
There's no 50/50 it is either safe to let a bus out or is isn't. If it's not you shouldn't have to suffer some erse pulling out and causing you to take evasive action.
18-03-2018, 07:20 AM
Cyclists using pelican crossings to turn right.
Seen this a few times lately. Cyclist comes to a jucntion, sees it's busy, gets off their bike and walks a few yards up the road to a pelican crossing and pushes the button, lights change to red and they walk half way across then get back on their bike and cycle away up the road.
Ersehole behaviour.
18-03-2018, 07:41 AM
Cyclists using pelican crossings to turn right.
Seen this a few times lately. Cyclist comes to a jucntion, sees it's busy, gets off their bike and walks a few yards up the road to a pelican crossing and pushes the button, lights change to red and they walk half way across then get back on their bike and cycle away up the road.
Ersehole behaviour.
I don't like to see cyclists using buttons either, but doesn't that particular behaviour also benefit car drivers who need to turn right at the same time, as it might/could/should open up a wee gap in traffic for one or two of them to squeeze in? :dunno:
18-03-2018, 03:03 PM
Pedestrians with a death wish. Mainly tourists in Pitlochry but yesterday morning the hundreds of 'Irish' in the Cowgate waiting to get into the Three Sisters pub at 10am. Girls in large groups walking on the road with their backs to the traffic. I almost acquired a girls handbag with my wing mirror.
Alfiembra
19-03-2018, 09:45 PM
I hate how filling stations are allowed to price their fuel to a decimal point. Usually something like 123.9p/litre.
I can’t think of anything else you can purchase that is priced in such a way that if you bought exactly one litre of fuel you would be charged 0.1 of a penny more than the advertised price.
19-03-2018, 09:55 PM
I hate how filling stations are allowed to price their fuel to a decimal point. Usually something like 123.9p/litre.
I can’t think of anything else you can purchase that is priced in such a way that if you bought exactly one litre of fuel you would be charged 0.1 of a penny more than the advertised price.
Remember when everything under a pound was 19/11p?
19-03-2018, 10:14 PM
Remember when everything under a pound was 19/11p?
20-03-2018, 06:39 AM
20-03-2018, 08:38 AM
:greengrin Fair do's. Probably directed at punters who are 60-ish and over.
20-03-2018, 08:41 AM
I remember things that were under a pound but not 19/11d. 45s were 6s8d.
Nothing was, ever, 19/11p.
20-03-2018, 09:06 AM
I work in pounds and ounces, does that count?
20-03-2018, 09:10 AM
Nothing was ever 19/11d either, it was usually 19 shillings, 11 and a half pence :wink:
20-03-2018, 12:28 PM
Nothing was ever 19/11d either, it was usually 19 shillings, 11 and a half pence :wink:
Damn, you're right, GF.
Trust you to put in your ha'penny's worth. :wink:
20-03-2018, 12:31 PM
And about that time, vinyl LP's were 32/6? (or £1-12s-6d in Ye Olde English)
20-03-2018, 12:39 PM
Damn, you're right, GF.
Trust you to put in your ha'penny's worth. :wink:
20-03-2018, 03:24 PM
You could buy that thing, and a farthing chew, and still get change from a pound.
20-03-2018, 10:39 PM
You could buy that thing, and a farthing chew, and still get change from a pound.
Back then, I was quite content with sixpence - jolly, jolly sixpence.
2d to spend, and 2d to lend, and 2d to .... buy a pack of Woodbine. :shhhsh!:
25-03-2018, 10:06 PM
Drivers like today's Dacia driver that because there's a q to Sheriffhall a gap of 30 yards is the minimum between him and the car in front. If a car nips in slow down to the 30 yards.... I learned to drive in the late 70s. Teachers then made sure you didn't get too close at lights unless the car in front broke down. Better engines and power steering means you need about a foot thesedays ...
Sent from my F8331 using Tapatalk
26-03-2018, 11:12 AM
Folk that do 30 in a 40, complete lack of awareness as they miss the speed signs on nearly every lamp post...
26-03-2018, 11:27 AM
Folk that do 30 in a 40, complete lack of awareness as they miss the speed signs on nearly every lamp post...
Nothing illegal in doing 30 in a 40 however, like you say, it's the drivers who are blindly unaware that they're in a 40 limit.
While I'm here, people who drive at varying speeds on a motorway. I've passed folk that were doing 60mph only to see them zoom pass me a minute or so later. Then I have to pass these idiots again further down the road as they are back to their 60mph. This manouvre can be repeated several times over a few miles.
:wtf:
26-03-2018, 11:39 AM
40 isn't an instruction, though.
I'm quite happy, and within my rights, to drive at 30 in a 40 zone, if I think it appropriate.
26-03-2018, 12:22 PM
40 isn't an instruction, though.
I'm quite happy, and within my rights, to drive at 30 in a 40 zone, if I think it appropriate.
Although you are not legally obliged to drive at the maximum speed limit, if it is safe to do, you should try and drive at a speed that at least approaches it, for instance, in a 40mph zone your speed should be between 35 and 40mph. Driving too slowly can be as dangerous as driving too fast
26-03-2018, 12:24 PM
Although you are not legally obliged to drive at the maximum speed limit, if it is safe to do, you should try and drive at a speed that at least approaches it, for instance, in a 40mph zone your speed should be between 35 and 40mph. Driving too slowly can be as dangerous as driving too fast
And yet we're told that driving slower reduces the likelihood of killing someone in a collision.
26-03-2018, 12:41 PM
a 40mph limit is there because it would normally be safe to do so and the road has the infrastructure and requirements to allow this. If you are driving at 30mph or below all you are doing is causing an obstruction.
26-03-2018, 01:24 PM
a 40mph limit is there because it would normally be safe to do so and the road has the infrastructure and requirements to allow this. If you are driving at 30mph or below all you are doing is causing an obstruction.
Only if someone wants to go faster. And if they can safely do so, they are entitled to overtake.
There are many reasons people drive slower than the speed limit. And as has been said before it is an upper limit, not a minimum speed.
26-03-2018, 01:40 PM
Only if someone wants to go faster. And if they can safely do so, they are entitled to overtake.
There are many reasons people drive slower than the speed limit. And as has been said before it is an upper limit, not a minimum speed.
Of course you are technically correct but if you went down Queensferry Road doing 30mph now you would be frowned upon by most drivers.
26-03-2018, 01:43 PM
Of course you are technically correct but if you went down Queensferry Road doing 30mph now you would be frowned upon by most drivers.
Only about half of QR is 40. The rest is 30 :wink:
speedy_gonzales
26-03-2018, 01:53 PM
I was told by my motorcycle instructor years ago that to pass a test you have to demonstrate to the examiner you're aware of the various speed limits. This would normally mean driving at 30, turning your head in an over exaggerated way towards the 40 roundels then opening the throttle to get over 30 but stay within the legal limit.
I'm well aware limits are limits, not targets but when driving you should always drive to test standards, as a minimum.
So, 30 in a 40 is a no for me as you're not demonstrating your knowledge that it is a 40 and not a 30, BUT, this doesn't mean you HAVE to do 40,,,,31 would suffice ;-)
26-03-2018, 02:39 PM
I never noticed that :greengrin :stirrer: ..... :wink:
26-03-2018, 04:34 PM
The bit of road past the Airport is particularly bad for drivers being oblivious to the limit (dual carriageway with national speed limit signs displayed).
26-03-2018, 05:53 PM
The bit of road past the Airport is particularly bad for drivers being oblivious to the limit (dual carriageway with national speed limit signs displayed).
70mph some may argue, as it is a dual carriageway?
In this case it's 60mph surely, as that's the national speed limit.
speedy_gonzales
26-03-2018, 06:03 PM
70mph some may argue, as it is a dual carriageway?
In this case it's 60mph surely, as that's the national speed limit.
National speed limit on a dual carriageway is 70mph for Cars, motorcycles & car-derived vans.
Link to GOV.UK speed limits (https://www.gov.uk/speed-limits)
Edited to add, the stretch of A8 that brianmc alludes to is a bugbear of mines also. From the RBS at Gogar to Ratho Station it's a National Speed limit. Some drivers continue at 40, some accelerate up to 60, a few drivers deliberately obstruct you from driving at 70, self policing I call it.
I've seen Rover driving cardigan wearers go apoplectic with rage when you pass them at 70 on the inside. If they want to sit in lane 2 at 60 they're more than welcome, I stick to lane 1 all the way and will drive within the limits at all times, inevitably the tortoise in lane 2 continues at 60 WELL in to the 40 limit towards Newbridge,,,,
As mentioned elsewhere I drive a works vehicle with a tracker that alerts and reports on you if speeding so I'm not a complete hooligan!
I was told by my motorcycle instructor years ago that to pass a test you have to demonstrate to the examiner you're aware of the various speed limits. This would normally mean driving at 30, turning your head in an over exaggerated way towards the 40 roundels then opening the throttle to get over 30 but stay within the legal limit.
I'm well aware limits are limits, not targets but when driving you should always drive to test standards, as a minimum.
So, 30 in a 40 is a no for me as you're not demonstrating your knowledge that it is a 40 and not a 30, BUT, this doesn't mean you HAVE to do 40,,,,31 would suffice ;-)
Im pretty certain an examiner would mark you down for driving 30 in a 40, not making normal progress or something like that
speedy_gonzales
26-03-2018, 06:14 PM
Im pretty certain an examiner would mark you down for driving 30 in a 40, not making normal progress or something like that
Agreed,,,,
26-03-2018, 07:21 PM
I've done a speed awareness course and any dual carriageway way with a barrier of any kind between the roads in the centre mean its a 70mph section when the NSL is displayed. If there is no barrier between in the centre then its 60mph or whatever speed is displayed on the signs in that particular area.
The guys taking the course also said that the 20mph speed limit with the flashing lights around schools are also only advisory and not enforceable, I found that surprising to be honest.
26-03-2018, 09:43 PM
I've done a speed awareness course and any dual carriageway way with a barrier of any kind between the roads in the centre mean its a 70mph section when the NSL is displayed. If there is no barrier between in the centre then its 60mph or whatever speed is displayed on the signs in that particular area.
The guys taking the course also said that the 20mph speed limit with the flashing lights around schools are also only advisory and not enforceable, I found that surprising to be honest.
That’s interesting on your second point. Mrs Overdrive failed one of her many driving tests for doing 30 in a flashing 20 school zone which is quite funny in itself given she’s a school teacher :faf:.
On a similar note, someone once told me temporary lights are only advisory. Not sure if that’s true or not.
27-03-2018, 05:45 AM
That’s interesting on your second point. Mrs Overdrive failed one of her many driving tests for doing 30 in a flashing 20 school zone which is quite funny in itself given she’s a school teacher :faf:.
On a similar note, someone once told me temporary lights are only advisory. Not sure if that’s true or not.
Temporary lights are subject to the same laws as permanent lights.
27-03-2018, 06:14 AM
I never noticed that :greengrin :stirrer: ..... :wink:
The stretch from the Dean Bridge to Orchard Brae is 20 :greengrin
29-03-2018, 11:38 PM
The driver today that perfectly drove at 30 in 40 dual carriageway (not keeping up with traffic) who then jumped the red light at Calder Road because they were clearly in a hurry
30-03-2018, 06:17 AM
The driver today that perfectly drove at 30 in 40 dual carriageway (not keeping up with traffic) who then jumped the red light at Calder Road because they were clearly in a hurry
Ah yes.....drivers who simply aren't concentrating.....like the guy who drove along Joppa in front of me yesterday at barely 20 in the 30 limit then decided to speed up to 30 when he got to the 20 stretch at Porty.
30-03-2018, 06:58 AM
When you're at a junction with a main road waiting to turn left and oncoming traffic from the right turn into the road you're on without indicating meaning you could really have pulled out but now have to wait until the next wave of traffic passes.
30-03-2018, 09:00 AM
Ah yes.....drivers who simply aren't concentrating.....like the guy who drove along Joppa in front of me yesterday at barely 20 in the 30 limit then decided to speed up to 30 when he got to the 20 stretch at Porty.
I have some sympathy for that driver (not much, but some) - I live in Dunfermline so an nowhere near as familiar with e Edinburgh roads as I used to be. Some of the roads are very hard to tell if it's 20 or 30 as a limit.
30-03-2018, 09:02 AM
I have some sympathy for that driver (not much, but some) - I live in Dunfermline so an nowhere near as familiar with e Edinburgh roads as I used to be. Some of the roads are very hard to tell if it's 20 or 30 as a limit.
:agree: Best just to stick to 30 at all times, to avoid annoying local drivers.
30-03-2018, 09:04 AM
I know what you mean and it happens to me in some areas of Edinburgh. But the 30 limit is a wide road with no houses or shops on one side. The 20 is narrower in an urban area full of shops and houses...Porty High Street. I just assume these folk are jambos anyway :greengrin
30-03-2018, 09:05 AM
:agree: Best just to stick to 30 at all times, to avoid annoying local drivers.
30-03-2018, 09:15 AM
I know what you mean and it happens to me in some areas of Edinburgh. But the 30 limit is a wide road with no houses or shops on one side. The 20 is narrower in an urban area full of shops and houses...Porty High Street. I just assume these folk are jambos anyway :greengrin
To be fair, you're right about that road - does it not go from a 40 to 30 to 20?
30-03-2018, 09:45 AM
To be fair, you're right about that road - does it not go from a 40 to 30 to 20?
It used to 40, but they scraped that a while ago.
30-03-2018, 10:04 AM
It used to 40, but they scraped that a while ago.
30-03-2018, 01:38 PM
The City Bypass - it's a carpark today if you're heading west.
30-03-2018, 02:20 PM
The City Bypass - it's a carpark today if you're heading west.
Between Millerhill and Sherriff Hall westbound is always murder during the day.
Alfiembra
01-04-2018, 08:49 AM
I always seem to get caught in traffic jams when I need to fill up with fuel and start to get stressed out about wondering where the nearest filling station is and if I have enough fuel to get there.....My bad :greengrin
01-04-2018, 03:54 PM
5hIte bags the use bus lanes during the prohibited times and then try to push in further up the queue of traffic!
Folk who sit at 50 on a motorway, forcing you to slow down, which then makes it difficult to move into much faster moving traffic in the outside lane. I know the speed limit is a max, not a target, but on a nice sunny day there’s no need to be going that slowly, it’s dangerous.
04-04-2018, 09:04 PM
Drivers creeping about with no lights at all on this morning when visibility was very poor.
There's no 50/50 it is either safe to let a bus out or is isn't. If it's not you shouldn't have to suffer some erse pulling out and causing you to take evasive action.
In the world of motor insurance there most definitely is, especially when buses are involved.
Knock for knock isn't just something that Liverpudlians do to opposing teams buses. ;-)
20-06-2018, 08:22 AM
Folk who sit at 50 on a motorway, forcing you to slow down, which then makes it difficult to move into much faster moving traffic in the outside lane. I know the speed limit is a max, not a target, but on a nice sunny day there’s no need to be going that slowly, it’s dangerous.
Maybe they're just heeding advice and driving economically. Get your indicator on early, get out and pass them. I can get an extra 100 miles per tank of fuel by sitting at 60 instead of 70 up and down the motorway.
20-06-2018, 09:17 AM
Maybe they're just heeding advice and driving economically. Get your indicator on early, get out and pass them. I can get an extra 100 miles per tank of fuel by sitting at 60 instead of 70 up and down the motorway.
You save money, yes but you're spending your time in traffic when you could already be relaxing or having fun at your destination :stirrer:
20-06-2018, 09:27 AM
You save money, yes but you're spending your time in traffic when you could already be relaxing or having fun at your destination :stirrer:
The difference is likely to be minutes, maybe just enough time to get the kettle on. All depends on the distance, as an example when the A9 is fully dualled you will save 18 minutes on the journey to Inverness from Edinburgh.
http://transformscotland.org.uk/blog/2015/11/05/a9-dualling-will-make-perth-inverness-rail-slower-than-road/
20-06-2018, 09:33 AM
Driving to and from work is the most relaxing part of my day and for a couple of minutes each way could be worth the price of my season ticket
20-06-2018, 10:01 AM
Driving to and from work is the most relaxing part of my day and for a couple of minutes each way could be worth the price of my season ticket
Try the City Bypass, KH - it's a game changer :wink:
My post was tongue-in-cheek, GF.
I do a 40 mile trip weekly. If I drive normally, it takes 45min. If I drive fast, it takes three quarters of an hour. Go figure :dunno:
20-06-2018, 10:08 AM
Try the City Bypass - it's a game changer :wink:
Get on the backshift.
Bypass is bad enough on Sunday, I would really hate to be on it at peak times during the week
Alfiembra
20-06-2018, 11:28 AM
Adaptive Cruise Control :brickwall
Just recently change my car and new one has this, it's "driving" me nuts.
It slows you down if you are catching up on a vehicle in front of you and maintains a safe distance until they move out of the way, fine but the gap it leaves others jump in to the space and it sees a closer obstuction and slows you down even further. Can't see a way of disabling the adaptive bit and just have cruise control on it's own. :brickwall
pollution
20-06-2018, 11:47 AM
Try the City Bypass, KH - it's a game changer :wink:
My post was tongue-in-cheek, GF.
I do a 40 mile trip weekly. If I drive normally, it takes 45min. If I drive fast, it takes three quarters of an hour. Go figure :dunno:
That's less than 1mph. Unbelievable!
20-06-2018, 12:27 PM
That's less than 1mph. Unbelievable!
40 miles in one hour therefore 40 divided by 0.75 (hrs) = 53mph average. :nerd:
20-06-2018, 01:57 PM
Adaptive Cruise Control :brickwall
Just recently change my car and new one has this, it's "driving" me nuts.
It slows you down if you are catching up on a vehicle in front of you and maintains a safe distance until they move out of the way, fine but the gap it leaves others jump in to the space and it sees a closer obstuction and slows you down even further. Can't see a way of disabling the adaptive bit and just have cruise control on it's own. :brickwall
You need adaptive adaptive cruise control where you can set the distance between you and the car in front.
FWIW I've got it and it's great for caravaning. I just find myself a truck travelling at 110kmh and slip in behind it, cruise control and lane correction does everything else.
pollution
20-06-2018, 04:39 PM
40 miles in one hour therefore 40 divided by 0.75 (hrs) = 53mph average. :nerd:
I'm on the wind up. You said weekly, ie once a week!
20-06-2018, 04:53 PM
I'm on the wind up. You said weekly, ie once a week!
Aye, I realised that just after I posted. :greengrin
20-06-2018, 08:59 PM
:hmmm: I figure you normally drive fast.
21-06-2018, 06:22 AM
5hIte bags the use bus lanes during the prohibited times and then try to push in further up the queue of traffic!
By the same token, folk that don’t use bus lanes when they can. I drive in the same bus lane every Saturday morning, which isn’t an operating bus lane at the time and the amount of times drivers in the right hand lane just start drifting across into the bus lane when it ends without even looking and almost hitting you is ridiculous. Then when you hammer the horn to stop them crashing into you they look at you as if you’re in the wrong.
21-06-2018, 06:29 AM
By the same token, folk that don’t use bus lanes when they can. I drive in the same bus lane every Saturday morning, which isn’t an operating bus lane at the time and the amount of times drivers in the right hand lane just start drifting across into the bus lane when it ends without even looking and almost hitting you is ridiculous. Then when you hammer the horn to stop them crashing into you they look at you as if you’re in the wrong.
Even worse is the idiots that don't use them when they are allowed to and turn left from the outside lane cutting right across your path.
21-06-2018, 10:57 AM
Even worse is the idiots that don't use them when they are allowed to and turn left from the outside lane cutting right across your path.
Is that not what he said? Or am I missing something? :-)
21-06-2018, 12:10 PM
Is that not what he said? Or am I missing something? :-)
The other post mentioned drifting at end of bus lane mine is about people turning left from the outside lane anywhere along the bus lane, not sure how that confuses you?
21-06-2018, 12:17 PM
Haven't read the thread - has somebody already done the one about the rude *******s who don't give you a cheery wave, flash of the lights or some other acknowledgement after you've waited so they can come past something blocking one lane? Drives me nuts.
21-06-2018, 01:19 PM
The other post mentioned drifting at end of bus lane mine is about people turning left from the outside lane anywhere along the bus lane, not sure how that confuses you?
Do you mean turning left at a junction?
21-06-2018, 01:46 PM
The Royal Highland show has outgrown the infrastructure it depends on! what a mess yesterday and its only going to get worse.
21-06-2018, 01:49 PM
The Royal Highland show has outgrown the infrastructure it depends on! what a mess yesterday and its only going to get worse.
Try living in the country where tractors are everyday occurrences :rolleyes: Not just one weekend :wink:
I was ragin yesterday. I couldn't get to the bar for a crowd of young farmers discussing the turbos on their tractors!
At least it's only once every 2 years when the Welsh invade!
22-06-2018, 04:53 PM
Haven't read the thread - has somebody already done the one about the rude *******s who don't give you a cheery wave, flash of the lights or some other acknowledgement after you've waited so they can come past something blocking one lane? Drives me nuts.
Yes, those ignoramuses (or ignorami? :wink:) really annoy me too.
22-06-2018, 09:04 PM
Yes, those ignoramuses (or ignorami? :wink:) really annoy me too.
Ignoramus is actually from a verb meaning We do not know.
So ignoramuses is correct.
22-06-2018, 10:17 PM
A geography specific one.
As you come off the eastbound M8, onto the A8, at the junction which takes you down to either a left turn to Airdrie/Cumbernauld, or right toward Carluke/Wishaw and Lanark, there are 2 distinct lanes. They're even marked on the road.
Left lane either turns left toward Airdrie, or goes straight on (back onto the A8/M8). Right lane goes around, under the A8/M8 and up toward another roundabout (where the left lane goes left or straight on, and the outside lane turns down toward Holytown). The amount of idiots that begin in the left lane, and go right around toward Wishaw etc, meaning those in the correct lane can't manoeuvre over into the left hand lane to come off the roundabout is absurd and drives me batty every afternoon.
A second geography specific one (but courtesy based too).
On the M8 heading into Glasgow, just after J13 where the M80 joins it, every morning is bloody chaos. The left hand lane of the M8 is filled with cars trying to get over into the new 2 left lanes (that head toward the Cathedral Precinct), while those IN those two lanes are often trying to get over onto the M8. It's just chaotic. And so it's filled with people, whom, rather than letting you out and then moving into your space, will continue to drive alongside you as you both get irate at the other. At that same section, there are so many morons who think it acceptable to go right up to the edge of that slip, blocking off the right hand lane heading down to the Cathedral Precinct as they try to squeeze into traffic as far up the queue as possible.
pollution
23-06-2018, 11:08 AM
Ignoramus is actually from a verb meaning We do not know.
So ignoramuses is correct.
Good call!