View Full Version : Driving Pet Peeves
Pages :
[
10]
10-10-2021, 01:37 PM
People who don’t put their shopping trolley away when they’ve loaded their car up. Yesterday I saw a trolley roll into a parked car. Absolute *****house behaviour.
You've got a DRT heading for an RPB?
10-10-2021, 01:43 PM
Probably already been posted but....
People who slam on their brakes, then indicate to turn left when they're already half way round the corner.
Fortunately I like to keep a safe distance between myself and the car in front but the idiot that did in East Kilbride today is not going to be so lucky the next time.
10-10-2021, 03:51 PM
Probably already been posted but....
People who slam on their brakes, then indicate to turn left when they're already half way round the corner.
Fortunately I like to keep a safe distance between myself and the car in front but the idiot that did in East Kilbride today is not going to be so lucky the next time.
Maybe an attempt at crash for cash?
10-10-2021, 05:03 PM
Maybe an attempt at crash for cash?
I never thought of that. You just never know, I suppose.
People in car parks who cannot park properly, with one side of their car parked on the line therefore making the space net to them tiny and no car able to get in unless it's a Fiat500. Don't get me started on the pricks that take 2 parking spaces for their big SUV's.
speedy_gonzales
10-10-2021, 09:23 PM
People in car parks who cannot park properly, with one side of their car parked on the line therefore making the space net to them tiny and no car able to get in unless it's a Fiat500. Don't get me started on the pricks that take 2 parking spaces for their big SUV's.
Pretty sure I seen a post on social media recently, car parking hacks and how "you've been doing it wrong all this time". Apparently, if everyone parked on the line then all the cars would be equally spaced out!
10-10-2021, 09:25 PM
Pretty sure I seen a post on social media recently, car parking hacks and how "you've been doing it wrong all this time". Apparently, if everyone parked on the line then all the cars would be equally spaced out!
Was just about to post something similar, needs everyone to do it but makes perfect sense!
Logie Green
10-10-2021, 09:49 PM
I was driving North towards the Queensferry Crossing on the M90 today when I became aware of a Deliveroo chap on a scooter (with an L plate) passing me on the hard shoulder.
He then moved into the inside lane then back onto the hard shoulder. After passing a turn off which he presumably had missed by mistake he stopped on the hard shoulder, turned around and headed back towards the junction on the hard shoulder.
I’m sure the recipients of his delivery would be grateful for him going to such lengths to deliver their food.
11-10-2021, 06:05 AM
Was just about to post something similar, needs everyone to do it but makes perfect sense!
Until you get the space with a wall or trolley bay beside it.
11-10-2021, 06:31 AM
Until you get the space with a wall or trolley bay beside it.
Exactly. While the idea half makes sense, it sounds like something suggested by those who park badly. If they can't fit a car that's under 2m wide between 2 lines 2.5m apart, we're meant to trust them to park bang on the line? That'll be right!
11-10-2021, 07:47 AM
On the subject of Car Parks...
If my wife ever goes into a Car Park that's already almost full, I'm usually delighted, because she'll take the first available space.
My nightmare is to go into a Car Park where there's loads of possible spaces to park in and she'll drive round for ages trying to make up her mind about what's the best option.
"How about that one?" -- "Too near the trolley park"
"Well this one then?" --- "Nah, there's an SUV parked nearby"
"What abut this one?"--- "That's next to the disabled spaces" ---
...."Aye, but it's not a disabled space" --- "You're so inconsiderate. What if the disabled spaces are all taken and somebody wants to park next to it instead. Pr1ck!"
"Well how about here" --- "Are you kidding? That's miles from the front door"
"Well that one over there?" --- "Don't be so lazy, That's right next to the front door."
"How about this one?" --- "The sun's came out, I want to park in the shade"
"Well under those trees then?" --- "Are you mad? There could be muggers or psychos hiding behind there, just waiting to pounce".
and on, and on, and on, and on......
Only works if everyone does it, not one self git who can't park.
11-10-2021, 12:14 PM
Only works if everyone does it, not one self git who can't park.
Might work if Marshall's directing everybody into a specific space Florida style and no obstructions preventing doors opening.
HibbyDave
11-10-2021, 12:31 PM
Drivers who avoid using the bus lanes when they are out of use….then cut across back into inside lane nearing junction etc.
Check the wee blue sign and simply use the road please.
w pilton hibby
11-10-2021, 07:53 PM
But what if somebody reverse parked?
AltheHibby
13-10-2021, 10:47 AM
But what if somebody reverse parked?
You mean parked properly?
13-10-2021, 10:54 AM
You mean parked properly?
You wouldn’t want to reverse park into a supermarket parking space, you’d struggle to get access to your boot.
AltheHibby
13-10-2021, 11:37 AM
You wouldn’t want to reverse park into a supermarket parking space, you’d struggle to get access to your boot.
Funnily, I rarely have any issues and if I do I just move the car forward a foot. Much safer than reversing into a lane full of Brummies.
13-10-2021, 12:16 PM
Agreed, like to take the trolley right up to my boot.
13-10-2021, 01:59 PM
Drivers who avoid using the bus lanes when they are out of use….then cut across back into inside lane nearing junction etc.
Check the wee blue sign and simply use the road please.
The Calder Road is bad for that, especially heading into town.
13-10-2021, 02:19 PM
Funnily, I rarely have any issues and if I do I just move the car forward a foot. Much safer than reversing into a lane full of Brummies.
I know of certain big companies who impose reverse parking in their employee car parks. This is because arrival times are generally more staggered/varied than leaving times, so reversing/manoeuvring is done when there's less traffic.
In other car parks when people are in and out all the time it makes no difference - other than the trolley thing (I always park nose first at supermarkets).
13-10-2021, 02:39 PM
The Calder Road is bad for that, especially heading into town.
Coming off the roundabout at saughton onto Westfield road is terrible for this,the looks you get when going up the Greenway when in reg as other cars are backing up from the lights is hilarious. Likewise further down coming off the west approach towards town, almost everyone changes to the right lane and give you the eyes as you pass them on the inside
13-10-2021, 08:44 PM
I know of certain big companies who impose reverse parking in their employee car parks. This is because arrival times are generally more staggered/varied than leaving times, so reversing/manoeuvring is done when there's less traffic.
In other car parks when people are in and out all the time it makes no difference - other than the trolley thing (I always park nose first at supermarkets).
They have that at Amazon in Dunfermline.
13-10-2021, 09:00 PM
They have that at Amazon in Dunfermline.
SSE in Perth is the same, someone almost got run over by a car reversing out of a space before they introduced it.
13-10-2021, 09:30 PM
(I always park nose first at supermarkets).
Me too but in places that there's a liklihood of no one taking the space in front or behind.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
14-10-2021, 07:53 AM
Me too but in places that there's a liklihood of no one taking the space in front or behind.
Aye, try reversing out of a supermarket space with large suvs with dark windows that you can’t see what is coming!
14-10-2021, 08:39 AM
SSE in Perth is the same, someone almost got run over by a car reversing out of a space before they introduced it.That takes me back! Introduced by Jim Forbes in 1998.
14-10-2021, 11:11 AM
When you're happily plodding along at the speed limit for the section of road you're driving on and some knob head drives right up your erse because the speed limit is not fast enough for them, I've seen some ridiculous overtakes in 20 and 30 zones because people are so impatient. Theres just no need for it. White vans are bad for this I find.
14-10-2021, 11:11 AM
When did it become a thing to race up to junctions and make an emergency stop at the line? Three times today I started braking on the main road as I was sure the cars on the side road were coming straight out. Happening more and more
Franck Le God
14-10-2021, 11:26 AM
Will almost certainly have been posted before but I need to vent.
People who drive at 40 mph on a winding national limit road road, only to shoot up to 60/70 when you finally get to a straight where you could overtake the buggers. AND THEN BACK TO 40 AFTER THE STRAIGHT [emoji2959]
Pet peeve bordering on dangerous driving.
14-10-2021, 03:18 PM
People who drive at 40 mph on a winding national limit road road, only to shoot up to 60/70 when you finally get to a straight where you could overtake the buggers. AND THEN BACK TO 40 AFTER THE STRAIGHT [emoji2959]
Are you saying they should drive at the same speed on the windy bendy bits as they do on the straights?
EH6 Hibby
14-10-2021, 04:59 PM
Are you saying they should drive at the same speed on the windy bendy bits as they do on the straights?
That’s what I was thinking too, I regularly drive slower than the speed limit if it’s dark and I’m on a country road I’m not familiar with. You never know when the next bend is coming up. If it’s a straight road I’m more than happy to drive at the speed limit.
Franck Le God
14-10-2021, 05:11 PM
That’s what I was thinking too, I regularly drive slower than the speed limit if it’s dark and I’m on a country road I’m not familiar with. You never know when the next bend is coming up. If it’s a straight road I’m more than happy to drive at the speed limit.
More than happy for them to go the speed they're comfortable with, I was the same when I first started driving on the road in question. But I would also let cars behind overtake me to avoid frustration for other drivers.
Either way, not saying one's right and one's wrong, just needed the vent!
EH6 Hibby
14-10-2021, 08:37 PM
More than happy for them to go the speed they're comfortable with, I was the same when I first started driving on the road in question. But I would also let cars behind overtake me to avoid frustration for other drivers.
I’m not a new driver but I’m a city driver 95% of the time. I am fine on dual carriageways and I’m confident in driving long distances when I have a need to. Have to admit I get seriously stressed on those country roads though if I have someone behind me, if possible I will pull over. During the day I would be more likely to drive at around 50 on unfamiliar roads which is still too slow for some people.
14-10-2021, 09:08 PM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkI get really annoyed by the same thing. I think some folk think they're doing you a favour by speeding up on the straights - by letting you go faster too.
I have a 10 mile drive to work. It's mostly an A road and there's no need whatsoever to slow down on the bends. Apart from anything else it bumps up your fuel consumption.
There are also folk who slow down on the straights if there's traffic coming the other way.
And then there are some who get humpty and flash you when you eventually manage to overtake them. WTF is that all about?
There's another A road that I use regularly with tighter bends where slowing down is understandable for those that don't know the road. Most of the time here you can tell if someone is local from their number plate. If I'm on such a road that I don't know I'll often let a local to overtake me then follow in his/her wake.
Franck Le God
14-10-2021, 10:07 PM
I’m not a new driver but I’m a city driver 95% of the time. I am fine on dual carriageways and I’m confident in driving long distances when I have a need to. Have to admit I get seriously stressed on those country roads though if I have someone behind me, if possible I will pull over. During the day I would be more likely to drive at around 50 on unfamiliar roads which is still too slow for some people.
As much as I find it frustrating I too was new to this once and I crawled around the bends, so I never chase right up someone's backside. I drive an Audi and am doing my utmost to banish the stereotype!
15-10-2021, 10:14 AM
I get really annoyed by the same thing. I think some folk think they're doing you a favour by speeding up on the straights - by letting you go faster too.
I have a 10 mile drive to work. It's mostly an A road and there's no need whatsoever to slow down on the bends. Apart from anything else it bumps up your fuel consumption.
There are also folk who slow down on the straights if there's traffic coming the other way.
And then there are some who get humpty and flash you when you eventually manage to overtake them. WTF is that all about?
There's another A road that I use regularly with tighter bends where slowing down is understandable for those that don't know the road. Most of the time here you can tell if someone is local from their number plate. If I'm on such a road that I don't know I'll often let a local to overtake me then follow in his/her wake.
The last part is a good point as it’s much easier following a car on a road you don’t know in the dark.
15-10-2021, 10:21 AM
The last part is a good point as it’s much easier following a car on a road you don’t know in the dark.
Same thing in fog. I was on Saddleworth Moor a few years ago and it was very foggy, I was at the front of a few cars and every time I pulled over to let them pass they all pulled in as well 🙄
Another time the A9 was blocked by an accident, I know all the back roads so turned back a bit and went up by tulliemet, other cars followed, all the way to my mother in law's house 😂😂
15-10-2021, 11:29 AM
People either not using their indicators or at the very last moment.
It's quite common these days.
15-10-2021, 01:21 PM
SSE in Perth is the same, someone almost got run over by a car reversing out of a space before they introduced it.
I’m not surprised. Is SSE still very health and safety conscious? A guy I worked with moved to SSE and when we met up for a pint a couple of months after he moved, he said that they were overkill on the H&S and mentioned that it was a disciplinary offence if you were caught walking up or down the stairs without holding the handrail.
15-10-2021, 01:28 PM
I’m not surprised. Is SSE still very health and safety conscious? A guy I worked with moved to SSE and when we met up for a pint a couple of months after he moved, he said that they were overkill on the H&S and mentioned that it was a disciplinary offence if you were caught walking up or down the stairs without holding the handrail.
I don't know and the person who I know works from home just now, and is wheelchair bound so won't be pulled up for the handrail
20-10-2021, 09:46 AM
I ventured out the house for the first time in 2 and a half weeks last night following various covid isolations. I was on the 22 bus going towards town when it joined a queue of traffic at temporary lights at Broomhouse/Stenhouse Drive. It became apparent that the lights for our direction were stuck on red but were working the other ways. It was crazy the number of drivers who just point blank refused to go through the red light even though after 3 sets of light changes for the other directions that it was obvious when our lights should have been green. The bus driver ended up having to overtake a number of cars that just refused to go.
Edit: I was half expecting the same cars to be sat there on the way back.
pollution
20-10-2021, 05:44 PM
I ventured out the house for the first time in 2 and a half weeks last night following various covid isolations. I was on the 22 bus going towards town when it joined a queue of traffic at temporary lights at Broomhouse/Stenhouse Drive. It became apparent that the lights for our direction were stuck on red but were working the other ways. It was crazy the number of drivers who just point blank refused to go through the red light even though after 3 sets of light changes for the other directions that it was obvious when our lights should have been green. The bus driver ended up having to overtake a number of cars that just refused to go.
Edit: I was half expecting the same cars to be sat there on the way back.
That is the perfect example of obedient driving v pragmatic driving.
They can't teach that in the lessons.
20-10-2021, 08:43 PM
Will almost certainly have been posted before but I need to vent.
Aye and then you get to a town with a 20 or 30mph limit and they stay at 40mph!!
Franck Le God
20-10-2021, 08:44 PM
Aye and then you get to a town with a 20 or 30mph limit and they stay at 40mph!!
Yes! Forgot this part but very much 2 peas of the same peeve pod
21-10-2021, 06:23 PM
Nicholas Witchell
21-10-2021, 06:30 PM
Oops wrong peeve
21-10-2021, 09:06 PM
Oops wrong peeve
He drives everyone to reach for the remote.
22-10-2021, 01:39 PM
😁👍🏻
22-10-2021, 02:51 PM
Especially Prince Charles :wink:
23-10-2021, 07:09 AM
Drivers who come out of a blind bend in the road slightly on your side of the road where you then have to brake to ensure they get back into their lane to avoid a collision. Even if you know every curve in a road, you can compensate for stationary obstructions by slowing down to a speed that will allow you to stop in time within the distance you can see as you never know what's around the corner, but not when that obstruction is travelling on a collision course with you at 70mph.
23-10-2021, 11:25 AM
German drivers
Austrian drivers
Anybody that drives a German car
27-10-2021, 02:09 PM
I am not a driver, but as a passenger in Mexico once, a mate was driving in grim conditions in the wee hours as we had misjudged the time the journey would take BADLY (update: Mexico is absolutely huge) and we discovered the best way to get where we were going a) quickly and b) with a bit of warning about the completely unsignposted and mostly invisible speedbumps called "topes" was to wait until a lunatic local bus driver overtook us then just tag on to them for as long as we dared.
beensaidbefore
27-10-2021, 05:59 PM
People who cross the road without looking. Its not just kids either. WTF is wrong with people. This seems to be worse post lockdown. One person stepped off the pavement onto the road just opposite the commie pool, in rush hour, without looking for any cars.
They then look at you like you're in the wrong!
27-10-2021, 06:03 PM
The person doing 35mph all the way home through 30,40,50 and 60 zones.
Apart from slowing down to about 15-20mph at the merest hint of a corner
Get off the road.
04-11-2021, 08:33 AM
Drivers who don’t understand traffic lights with varying lights for different directions, braking because they see a red light not understanding that the green arrow that is illuminated means you can go straight ahead. Specifically Queensferry road at quality street junction heading West.
04-11-2021, 09:13 AM
People who cross the road without looking. Its not just kids either. WTF is wrong with people. This seems to be worse post lockdown. One person stepped off the pavement onto the road just opposite the commie pool, in rush hour, without looking for any cars.
People that do this whilst staring intently at their phones.
04-11-2021, 12:28 PM
That's standard practice for tourists in pitlochry! 🙄
Franck Le God
04-11-2021, 08:34 PM
Cyclists without lights! A fatality waiting to happen.
05-11-2021, 08:29 AM
Someone drove into the back of my car on Slateford Rd on Wednesday night, they’d been driving right up my backside so it was fairly inevitable.
I pulled over to sort stuff out and the ****er drove off. Didn’t get their plates to report them. Fortunately there was no damage done but that’s brutal behaviour.
05-11-2021, 09:45 AM
Someone drove into the back of my car on Slateford Rd on Wednesday night, they’d been driving right up my backside so it was fairly inevitable.
I pulled over to sort stuff out and the ****er drove off. Didn’t get their plates to report them. Fortunately there was no damage done but that’s brutal behaviour.
Most likely uninsured or a banned driver. Shan stuff though.
HibbyDave
05-11-2021, 01:56 PM
Any street cameras?
05-11-2021, 07:55 PM
After today, driving in Edinburgh. I've not needed to do it much since lockdown but this is my first Friday. Lane discipline, road speed, roundabouts. Who knows? Maybe Jedis using the Force.
05-11-2021, 08:36 PM
After today, driving in Edinburgh. I've not needed to do it much since lockdown but this is my first Friday. Lane discipline, road speed, roundabouts. Who knows? Maybe Jedis using the Force.
Nearly had a bump tonight as well, three lane roundabout with traffic lights. I’m going into Dunfermline in the middle lane (left hand lane for M90 south to Edinburgh or to take the second exit to Duloch, middle lane for Dunf, right hand lane for Dunf or M90 north to Perth). All of this is very clearly marked, it’s hard to get wrong.
There’s a car stopped beside me at the red light in the right hand lane.
The lights turn green so we move off. Car on the right starts moving into my lane, is about to hit me so i beeped the horn, he moved back, sped up a bit then cut across and took the second exit for Duloch.
I have no idea how you could get that roundabout so wrong.
05-11-2021, 09:07 PM
Nearly had a bump tonight as well, three lane roundabout with traffic lights. I’m going into Dunfermline in the middle lane (left hand lane for M90 south to Edinburgh or to take the second exit to Duloch, middle lane for Dunf, right hand lane for Dunf or M90 north to Perth). All of this is very clearly marked, it’s hard to get wrong.
There’s a car stopped beside me at the red light in the right hand lane.
The lights turn green so we move off. Car on the right starts moving into my lane, is about to hit me so i beeped the horn, he moved back, sped up a bit then cut across and took the second exit for Duloch.
I have no idea how you could get that roundabout so wrong.
Sounds very similar to what happened to me at the longman roundabout at Inverness, except the eejit was on my left and wanted to keep going round when I was exiting the roundabout towards nairn.
05-11-2021, 10:57 PM
Why are cars so big these days? They're like ugly great boats. It's not surprising the city roads are congested.
06-11-2021, 01:07 AM
Dickhead tonight turned right from the inside lane right across the front of me at the lights on Gorgie Road at Luckies.
06-11-2021, 10:40 AM
Hyndford bridge just outside Lanark is controlled by lights, 3 sets of them that cycle through. On Thursday night a silver bmw ran the lights, not in a just missed way but in a totally obnoxious way. I’m convinced the driver was steaming because no one who has passed a driving test can reverse back as poorly as they did. Took them so long that the lights ran another full cycle before I could get through and even then they were still in the way of oncoming traffic.
So the peeve is either drivers that are so obnoxious they the rules don’t apply to them, or drivers who can’t reverse or get themselves out of the situations they get themselves in to.
Drink drivers I’d say are a few levels above a peeve though.
06-11-2021, 05:59 PM
Dickhead tonight turned right from the inside lane right across the front of me at the lights on Gorgie Road at Luckies.What direction? The inside road heading towards Chesser Cross Causeway you can turn left into the bus lane as well as straight ahead.. Buses do it all the time. What you shouldn't do is change lanes while turning left of course.
06-11-2021, 06:43 PM
Pricks that park on the opposite side of the road to all reasonable people in a narrow residential street, my house and I'll park right outside it, blocking it to any vehicle wider than a car.
I’ll add to this, pricks who park on the apex of corners on narrow residential streets, forcing people into the wrong side of the road when they’re blind to oncoming traffic - in my street, it’s often a huge tall transit van!
and to add to that, there’s another 2 dicks who live 30 feet further on, on opposites sides of the road, who always leave their vans parked virtually opposite one another on the street, so at certain times of day, in either direction you have no sight of what’s coming round a 90 degree corner, and traffic in both directions is forced into the middle of the road, praying there’s no one coming the other way
i should add, there is plenty on street parking for everyone at that part of the street, they’re just completely lazy and selfish. God help them if a fire engine needs past
06-11-2021, 09:26 PM
I’ll add to this, pricks who park on the apex of corners on narrow residential streets, forcing people into the wrong side of the road when they’re blind to oncoming traffic - in my street, it’s often a huge tall transit van!
and to add to that, there’s another 2 dicks who live 30 feet further on, on opposites sides of the road, who always leave their vans parked virtually opposite one another on the street, so at certain times of day, in either direction you have no sight of what’s coming round a 90 degree corner, and traffic in both directions is forced into the middle of the road, praying there’s no one coming the other way
i should add, there is plenty on street parking for everyone at that part of the street, they’re just completely lazy and selfish. God help them if a fire engine needs past
100% agree with this.
What direction? The inside road heading towards Chesser Cross Causeway you can turn left into the bus lane as well as straight ahead.. Buses do it all the time. What you shouldn't do is change lanes while turning left of course.
Might mean Balgreen Rd, the 2 lanes on the right the left one you can go straight or turn right.
07-11-2021, 01:15 AM
What direction? The inside road heading towards Chesser Cross Causeway you can turn left into the bus lane as well as straight ahead.. Buses do it all the time. What you shouldn't do is change lanes while turning left of course.
He turned right not left, right across the front of me, I was in the correct lane for turning right, he was just being a dick, came up the inside then cut right across me to turn right.
patch1875
07-11-2021, 08:59 AM
Drivers on Queen Street heading west who can’t follow the lines through the junction at Fredrick Street.
07-11-2021, 10:04 AM
Drivers on Queen Street heading west who can’t follow the lines through the junction at Fredrick Street.
07-11-2021, 11:33 AM
It’s the same on Glasgow Road, I’m amazed there’s no more accidents.
07-11-2021, 12:26 PM
Drivers with Hibs stickers on their cars that make you go "oh, Hibs fans" then proceed to roll down their windows and throw their rubbish out on to the road. :rolleyes:
07-11-2021, 06:31 PM
He turned right not left, right across the front of me, I was in the correct lane for turning right, he was just being a dick, came up the inside then cut right across me to turn right.I got that . I meant right. Depending on direction there are two lanes turning right.
07-11-2021, 06:36 PM
I got that . I meant right. Depending on direction there are two lanes turning right.
That’s from Balgreen Road, he said Gorgie Road.
08-11-2021, 12:13 AM
I got that . I meant right. Depending on direction there are two lanes turning right.
There are not two lanes turning right at the junction at Gorgie road at Luckies Pub.
He turned right not left, right across the front of me, I was in the correct lane for turning right, he was just being a dick, came up the inside then cut right across me to turn right.
If you were at Balgreen turning right onto Gorgie Rd then the middle lane is for either going straight or turning right, he did nothing wrong, if you were at luckies turning right onto Balgreen, then he's in the wrong.
08-11-2021, 10:54 AM
Person behind me last night was so close they were virtually sitting beside me in the passenger seat. No need for it and I was doing the speed limit (30mph in a residential area). Some drivers are just so impatient and try to bully or intimidate you into going faster... why the rush?
08-11-2021, 11:15 AM
If you were at Balgreen turning right onto Gorgie Rd then the middle lane is for either going straight or turning right, he did nothing wrong, if you were at luckies turning right onto Balgreen, then he's in the wrong.
He was in the wrong, I was at Luckies as I have already said.
I did say that in the post you've just quoted
Torn faced cyclists. Moan, moan, moan, and then blah, blah, blah
10-11-2021, 10:13 PM
It’s the same on Glasgow Road, I’m amazed there’s no more accidents.
Bad crash at the car wash on Glasgow road about 7 tonight.
10-11-2021, 10:19 PM
I thought something had happened along there.
Will be someone doing a right out of D Lloyd, I nearly ploughed into the back of an old Granny yesterday as she did that.
13-11-2021, 12:54 PM
Is there a legal reason that speed cameras not in use have to be covered with a “not in use cover”? It just seems daft to me as they act as a deterrent whether in use or not so why tell folk.
Alfiembra
13-11-2021, 02:28 PM
Person behind me last night was so close they were virtually sitting beside me in the passenger seat. No need for it and I was doing the speed limit (30mph in a residential area). Some drivers are just so impatient and try to bully or intimidate you into going faster... why the rush?
This is one that really gets me too, heard a story, might even have been on here, of a guy that had the same thing happen to him. He stopped his car in the middle of the road opened his boot lid and then went to the driver behind and said, “ Are you happy now you are obviously desperate to see what’s in there”
patch1875
13-11-2021, 02:32 PM
This is one that really gets me too, heard a story, might even have been on here, of a guy that had the same thing happen to him. He stopped his car in the middle of the road opened his boot lid and then went to the driver behind and said, “ Are you happy now you are obviously desperate to see what’s in there”
Just brake test them
13-11-2021, 03:44 PM
Just brake test them
Don’t do that. Pull over and let them past. Then just imagine what youd have done to them had they been tied up and go about your day.
Is there a legal reason that speed cameras not in use have to be covered with a “not in use cover”? It just seems daft to me as they act as a deterrent whether in use or not so why tell folk.
The limits have been lowered and the camera's cannot be calibrated to work at a lower speed, so in effect they're now useless, only the ones where the speed has stayed the same are still used as normal, Corstorphine Rd at Balgreen, outside the Zoo etc.
13-11-2021, 04:05 PM
Just brake test them
Or, if it's during the day, flick your side lights on and off. That will make them think you're braking 😆
speedy_gonzales
13-11-2021, 04:47 PM
The limits have been lowered and the camera's cannot be calibrated to work at a lower speed, so in effect they're now useless, only the ones where the speed has stayed the same are still used as normal, Corstorphine Rd at Balgreen, outside the Zoo etc.
There has to be more to it than that.
Lanark Rd has been reduced from a 40 to a 30 and the camera just down from Dovecote football pitches has been bagged up.
The camera can easily cover the 30 zone.
I think it's a shame as they do act as a deterrent to some speeders.
13-11-2021, 05:17 PM
I think f they’re not in use the public have to be informed, covering them up is easier than putting up a sign to say they’re not working. I was driving down the A1 and the all the average speed cameras around Newcastle had signs saying they weren’t in use.
13-11-2021, 05:20 PM
Someone last night in all their wisdom decided to put their rear fog lights on, so I had to follow them from Livingston to Carnwath blinded by a fog light because it was raining.
Incorrect use of fog lights is the peeve.
13-11-2021, 09:02 PM
I'm in Shropshire and Staffordshire for a few days, speed limits have been hit by inflation down here. 30mph means that they drive at 45mph. Can't believe the speed some people are driving.
AltheHibby
13-11-2021, 09:27 PM
I'm in Shropshire and Staffordshire for a few days, speed limits have been hit by inflation down here. 30mph means that they drive at 45mph. Can't believe the speed some people are driving.
Try coming into the Black Country. I regularly see cars at 60+ on our local 40 MPH dual.
15-11-2021, 10:21 AM
Try coming into the Black Country. I regularly see cars at 60+ on our local 40 MPH dual.
Like the folk who can’t work their indicators on roundabouts, the law of averages means there must be folk on here who regularly speed. Would be interesting to hear their reasons for it and why they think the limit doesn’t apply to them.
20-11-2021, 12:32 AM
Taxi drivers who think coming through Corstorphine
is two lanes, it’s not, clear sign saying bus/taxi lane ends here at lights.
20-11-2021, 06:13 AM
People who stop at a junction to see if anything is coming, see a truck is coming and decide it's worth the risk of causing an accident rather that get stuck behind a truck. I've had to stand on my brakes at least 3 times this week.
****ers at traffic lights who indicate right just as the lights go green, ******s.
22-11-2021, 09:32 PM
Probably been posted a hundred times but ********s who are cruising along at 60 in the inside lane of the motorway and suddenly decide to start racing you when you try to overtake them. It is really weird behaviour and quite common.
Alfiembra
23-11-2021, 07:49 AM
Slightly off topic, I watched a YouTube video recently about a specialist BMW recyclers and used parts supplier.
The video showed racks and and racks of every sort of used parts and panels etc you could buy for any BMW model.
One comment about the video cracked me up, the poster pointed out that he didn’t see the tons of new/unused indicators in the video.
StevieT
23-11-2021, 12:16 PM
Probably been posted a hundred times but ********s who are cruising along at 60 in the inside lane of the motorway and suddenly decide to start racing you when you try to overtake them. It is really weird behaviour and quite common.
Usually happens when driving through an average speed camera zone!
23-11-2021, 02:17 PM
Some people don’t like being overtaken, they like being undertaken even less. The amount of times I come along the bus lane in the taxi towards a set of lights and someone queued in the outside lane turns in to block me is unbelievable. I’ve lost count of how many times the driver doing it will have ended up with a fine because there’s a bus lane camera. I really don’t understand it, if you’re happy driving along at a certain speed why does someone coming along at a faster speed bother you? Or if you’re in the outside lane when there’s a bus lane it’s there for buses and taxis, no one is trying to get one up on you or take liberties.
25-11-2021, 03:33 PM
Thought I had said this on here already, but cant see it.
I was driving along the bypass a few months back to play golf, going 70 and if anything I was actually too close to the car in front on the inside lane.
Black SUV came right up my arse, sure it was an Audi and lights start flashing. Im a bit confused as to what he expected me to do as traffic was nose to tail pretty much on both lanes as it was 4 half 4ish.
kept flashing for about half a mile or so, eventually pulling into outside lane and is beside me. And you just kinda know what road users are about to do and he genuinely was trying to undercut me to get in front, but because im still at a steady 70, with no room in front for him to even get in, coupled with the fact a car in front of him meant he was boxed in essentially. He made a slight manoeuvre as to side crash into my car (if I was inexperienced, or intimidated) I could have slammed my brakes on and veered into the brick wall on my right, or caused a crash behind me.
As it was a few months ago it was warm and my windows were down, I couldn't make out what he was saying but he was red in the face absolutely furious screaming something. I shouted something back and gestered.
And the best part of it all.......... literally he pulled off the road at the lothianburn junction all this happened in the what? mile and a half from just before the Dreghorn junction to the lothianburn one, so he didn't even need to be in the inside lane at any point of his journey.
29-11-2021, 09:25 AM
Folk that call the inside lane the outside lane and vice versa.:greengrin
29-11-2021, 11:34 AM
Folk that call the inside lane the outside lane and vice versa.:greengrin:thumbsup:
29-11-2021, 07:15 PM
Frosty windscreens, inside and out. Has anyone got a recommendation for a good remedy that plugs into the cigar lighter socket? 12v hair dryer? :dunno:
AltheHibby
29-11-2021, 08:59 PM
Frosty windscreens, inside and out. Has anyone got a recommendation for a good remedy that plugs into the cigar lighter socket? 12v hair dryer? :dunno:
I find that buying a Ford does the trick. Heated front windscreens are the best accessory in any car. 😁
29-11-2021, 10:23 PM
I find that buying a Ford does the trick. Heated front windscreens are the best accessory in any car. 😁
Indeed. I was thinking there might be something to suit a more modest budget though.
Peanut Shaz
30-11-2021, 12:40 AM
My Vauxhall Corsa has that too. Love it.
30-11-2021, 07:42 AM
Get an ice scraper and a wife 😉
People who in heavy traffic, and can see the traffic in front of them isn’t moving, still go through an amber light, blocking the path of the people who are just getting their turn on green
AltheHibby
30-11-2021, 10:17 AM
My Vauxhall Corsa has that too. Love it.
You have your answer!
Cheaper than Fords, and rightly so.😛
Joking aside, mine is a 59 plate Focus, so they don't have to be hugely expensive.
Alfiembra
30-11-2021, 10:23 AM
Indeed. I was thinking there might be something to suit a more modest budget though.
https://www.webasto-comfort.com/en-uk/heating/car-parking-heater/electric-heating/
These have been on the go for years more popular in very cold climates but can be remote controlled so your car can be all toasty for you heading out on a cold morning.
Modern cars headlights blindingly dazzling you, or cars with headlights either one light too high, or both too high so they blind you, especially when I'm driving my Golf which is lower compared to the taxi.
30-11-2021, 04:39 PM
https://www.webasto-comfort.com/en-uk/heating/car-parking-heater/electric-heating/
These have been on the go for years more popular in very cold climates but can be remote controlled so your car can be all toasty for you heading out on a cold morning.
30-11-2021, 04:55 PM
You just need to be careful that they don't kill your battery.
30-11-2021, 04:55 PM
Thought I had said this on here already, but cant see it.
I was driving along the bypass a few months back to play golf, going 70 and if anything I was actually too close to the car in front on the inside lane.
Black SUV came right up my arse, sure it was an Audi and lights start flashing. Im a bit confused as to what he expected me to do as traffic was nose to tail pretty much on both lanes as it was 4 half 4ish.
kept flashing for about half a mile or so, eventually pulling into outside lane and is beside me. And you just kinda know what road users are about to do and he genuinely was trying to undercut me to get in front, but because im still at a steady 70, with no room in front for him to even get in, coupled with the fact a car in front of him meant he was boxed in essentially. He made a slight manoeuvre as to side crash into my car (if I was inexperienced, or intimidated) I could have slammed my brakes on and veered into the brick wall on my right, or caused a crash behind me.
As it was a few months ago it was warm and my windows were down, I couldn't make out what he was saying but he was red in the face absolutely furious screaming something. I shouted something back and gestered.
And the best part of it all.......... literally he pulled off the road at the lothianburn junction all this happened in the what? mile and a half from just before the Dreghorn junction to the lothianburn one, so he didn't even need to be in the inside lane at any point of his journey.
Thats just an absolute throbber. No need for it.
speedy_gonzales
02-12-2021, 08:13 PM
Folk who deliberately jump a queue of traffic just to dangerously and recklessly cut in at the last minute.
Coming home this evening, heading west along Captains Rd, long queue of traffic in the left lane at the lights(most heading straight on to Frogston Rd) and some throbbers come along at speed in the outside lane (signed right turn for Howdenhall Rd) and as the queue starts moving they dive back in to the left, one guy narrowly misses taking the front of my motor off.
Going along Frogston towards the junction at Fairmilehead the knob-jockey now in front of me tries it again, except this time nobody let's him back in and as I pull up abreast, he must have been under some false illusion that I was going to let lightning strike twice.
Although I never reacted with either of his poor decisions, he chooses to go nuts at me and leans on the horn,,,, don't think it helped that I was laughing my ass off as I passed by.
02-12-2021, 09:10 PM
Folk who deliberately jump a queue of traffic just to dangerously and recklessly cut in at the last minute.
Coming home this evening, heading west along Captains Rd, long queue of traffic in the left lane at the lights(most heading straight on to Frogston Rd) and some throbbers come along at speed in the outside lane (signed right turn for Howdenhall Rd) and as the queue starts moving they dive back in to the left, one guy narrowly misses taking the front of my motor off.
Going along Frogston towards the junction at Fairmilehead the knob-jockey now in front of me tries it again, except this time nobody let's him back in and as I pull up abreast, he must have been under some false illusion that I was going to let lightning strike twice.
Although I never reacted with either of his poor decisions, he chooses to go nuts at me and leans on the horn,,,, don't think it helped that I was laughing my ass off as I passed by.
That's ironic considering your user name 😁
03-12-2021, 06:44 PM
I can’t stand people like that, they have a huge amount of self entitlement that they don’t think they have to wait in the queue like everyone else. It really annoys me when people let them in.
04-12-2021, 05:46 AM
Drivers who slow down to let you cross and then get aggressive when you decline their offer. It's a pedestrian peeve really!
Honestly, the bloke gave me the vees when he drove off too! Scary.
10-12-2021, 09:24 AM
SUVs/big cars in general, and people who simply don't need a big monstrous car like that and quite often are incapable of driving or parking them properly.
The thought of the Mum and her Chelsea Tractor springs to mind; with mummy dropping off the kids at school and doing a bit of shopping at Waitrose in some monstrous big car that she really doesn't need.
Or some pencil d1ck guy driving around in some giant motor because he thinks it makes him look like Arnold Schwarzenegger.
While that is all just (usually) a mere irritation, it's much more serious than that...
"On average, SUVs consume 20 per cent more energy per kilometre than a medium-sized car.
The increase in SUVs in 2020 led to a rise in oil consumption that cancelled out the effect of electric cars"
https://www.newscientist.com/article/2265449-people-buying-suvs-are-cancelling-out-climate-gains-from-electric-cars/
In essence, SUV drivers are totally negating the benefits from environmentally friendlier alternatives.
There has also been research that suggests that SUVs are involved in a higher number of car crashes, which has often been put down to more reckless driving simply because they feel safer in their monster car.
Plus a pedestrian, or other driver, has a higher risk of dying when involved in an accident with an SUV than if it was a standard size car.
10-12-2021, 09:33 AM
SUVs/big cars in general, and people who simply don't need a big monstrous car like that and quite often are incapable of driving or parking them properly.
The thought of the Mum and her Chelsea Tractor springs to mind; with mummy dropping off the kids at school and doing a bit of shopping at Waitrose in some monstrous big car that she really doesn't need.
Or some pencil d1ck guy driving around in some giant motor because he thinks it makes him look like Arnold Schwarzenegger.
While that is all just (usually) a mere irritation, it's much more serious than that...
"On average, SUVs consume 20 per cent more energy per kilometre than a medium-sized car.
The increase in SUVs in 2020 led to a rise in oil consumption that cancelled out the effect of electric cars"
https://www.newscientist.com/article/2265449-people-buying-suvs-are-cancelling-out-climate-gains-from-electric-cars/
In essence, SUV drivers are totally negating the benefits from environmentally friendlier alternatives.
There has also been research that suggests that SUVs are involved in a higher number of car crashes, which has often been put down to more reckless driving simply because they feel safer in their monster car.
Plus a pedestrian, or other driver, has a higher risk of dying when involved in an accident with an SUV than if it was a standard size car.
I've just ordered a new SUV because there was no realistic alternative that fulfills my requirements and was within my budget. I really wanted a hybrid that I could drive on battery for day to day driving with an engine powerful enough to pull a caravan but there is nothing on the market that ticks all the boxes. Hopefully in 4 years there will be something more suitable available that's more environmentally friendly.
10-12-2021, 10:14 AM
People who don't know how to drive on single track roads.
There was a pilot scheme launched a couple of years ago to give retained firefighters, RNLI volunteers, MRT volunteers and so on in some rural areas blue lights for their personal cars. The reason being that when they were in marked cars people generally tried to move for them but when it was an unmarked vehicle, when they were responding to a call out and heading to change or grab equipment etc, people would steadfastly refuse to move. Now the rules on these roads are clear anyway, if you are obstructing the flow of traffic you should pull into a passing place (on the left) and permit overtaking. Yes, you could have some dickhead boy racer behind you but equally it could be someone providing an essential service in a remote community. It should really be little inconvenience to move over for a few seconds.
Anyway I was driving along such a road the other day. I was sitting at about 40mph with another car just ahead of me doing similar. I spotted a car in my mirror travelling faster and immediately clocked a blue flashing light. I pulled into a passing place and by he went with a friendly wave. The car in front just would not move. He must have seen the blue lights, he must have heard the blasts of the horn but he stuck rigidly to 40 passing various passing places and obstructing traffic. Eventually he stopped in the middle of the road, which necessitated me to stop as well, got out and challenged the driver behind him. When the driver, very patiently, explained he was a coastguard volunteer and needed to pass Mr stubborn stated he was 'entitled to use the road and drive as I wish'. No you are not 'entitled' to do that. You have the right to use the road but a responsibility to know how to use it safely and properly.
10-12-2021, 10:40 AM
People who don't know how to drive on single track roads.
There was a pilot scheme launched a couple of years ago to give retained firefighters, RNLI volunteers, MRT volunteers and so on in some rural areas blue lights for their personal cars. The reason being that when they were in marked cars people generally tried to move for them but when it was an unmarked vehicle, when they were responding to a call out and heading to change or grab equipment etc, people would steadfastly refuse to move. Now the rules on these roads are clear anyway, if you are obstructing the flow of traffic you should pull into a passing place (on the left) and permit overtaking. Yes, you could have some dickhead boy racer behind you but equally it could be someone providing an essential service in a remote community. It should really be little inconvenience to move over for a few seconds.
Anyway I was driving along such a road the other day. I was sitting at about 40mph with another car just ahead of me doing similar. I spotted a car in my mirror travelling faster and immediately clocked a blue flashing light. I pulled into a passing place and by he went with a friendly wave. The car in front just would not move. He must have seen the blue lights, he must have heard the blasts of the horn but he stuck rigidly to 40 passing various passing places and obstructing traffic. Eventually he stopped in the middle of the road, which necessitated me to stop as well, got out and challenged the driver behind him. When the driver, very patiently, explained he was a coastguard volunteer and needed to pass Mr stubborn stated he was 'entitled to use the road and drive as I wish'. No you are not 'entitled' to do that. You have the right to use the road but a responsibility to know how to use it safely and properly.
A bit less important than your case, last week I was driving down to pick my wife up from work at 16:50, it is dark. A car pulls out of a junction ahead of me with no lights on. I flashed my lights, switched them off and on, I moved out so I was clear in the other drivers wing mirror. Nothing! The car pulled into the local shop car park so I followed and went up to the drivers door. I indicated that I wanted a word, the driver opened the door and I told them that I had been trying to get her attention for the last mile by flashing my lights. The driver said they had not noticed anything, I then pointed out that they had driven the last mile with me behind trying to get their attention that they had no lights on. The driver got out of the car and went round to the front of the car to see if I was telling the truth! The got back in the car and started looking around for a switch tht might possibly put the lights on, I left at that point as I didn't want to be late for my wife.
10-12-2021, 12:03 PM
Drivers of taxis, vans or cars who suddenly slow to a crawl as they are maybe looking for an address? They often continue this for several hundred yards and as you are behind them you really have no clue as to what their next move may be, just ****** indicate left and then we know to pass you.
10-12-2021, 12:43 PM
Drivers of taxis, vans or cars who suddenly slow to a crawl as they are maybe looking for an address? They often continue this for several hundred yards and as you are behind them you really have no clue as to what their next move may be, just ****** indicate left and then we know to pass you.
Or looking for a parking space. George St is terrible for that.
speedy_gonzales
10-12-2021, 01:28 PM
Or looking for a parking space. George St is terrible for that.
Oh yes, not a peeve but an absolute pleasure when you witness a recently vacated space (in the middle of the road) and two cars come in, one from each carriageway.
The standoff that ensues can reach biblical proportions, especially if it's two women. Genuinely not trying to be misogynistic here but it's something I've witnessed many times. It's either testament to the fairer sexes stubbornness or their inability to reverse back out in to traffic (OK, that's laced with a little misogyny there 😉).
10-12-2021, 02:38 PM
Oh yes, not a peeve but an absolute pleasure when you witness a recently vacated space (in the middle of the road) and two cars come in, one from each carriageway.
The standoff that ensues can reach biblical proportions, especially if it's two women. Genuinely not trying to be misogynistic here but it's something I've witnessed many times. It's either testament to the fairer sexes stubbornness or their inability to reverse back out in to traffic (OK, that's laced with a little misogyny there 😉).
I was very careful to avoid mentioning the gender of this driver. :wink:
A bit less important than your case, last week I was driving down to pick my wife up from work at 16:50, it is dark. A car pulls out of a junction ahead of me with no lights on. I flashed my lights, switched them off and on, I moved out so I was clear in the other drivers wing mirror. Nothing! The car pulled into the local shop car park so I followed and went up to the drivers door. I indicated that I wanted a word, the driver opened the door and I told them that I had been trying to get her attention for the last mile by flashing my lights. The driver said they had not noticed anything, I then pointed out that they had driven the last mile with me behind trying to get their attention that they had no lights on. The driver got out of the car and went round to the front of the car to see if I was telling the truth! The got back in the car and started looking around for a switch tht might possibly put the lights on, I left at that point as I didn't want to be late for my wife.
10-12-2021, 03:25 PM
I was very careful to avoid mentioning the gender of this driver. :wink:
... I indicated that I wanted a word, the driver opened the door and I told them that I had been trying to get her attention for the last mile by flashing my lights. The driver said they had not noticed anything, I then pointed out that they had driven the last mile with me behind trying to get their attention that they had no lights on. The driver got out of the car and went round to the front of the car to see if I was telling the truth! The got back in the car and started looking around for a switch tht might possibly put the lights on, I left at that point as I didn't want to be late for my wife.
10-12-2021, 03:27 PM
OI! that's not what I said :wink:
Peanut Shaz
10-12-2021, 07:59 PM
Drivers who give no acknowledgement of thanks when you let them join heavy traffic from a side road or such likes, or when you stop and pull over safely to allow an oncoming car to drive on without the two of you jockeying for position on a narrow road. Really gets my back up.
11-12-2021, 09:57 AM
I've just ordered a new SUV because there was no realistic alternative that fulfills my requirements and was within my budget. I really wanted a hybrid that I could drive on battery for day to day driving with an engine powerful enough to pull a caravan but there is nothing on the market that ticks all the boxes. Hopefully in 4 years there will be something more suitable available that's more environmentally friendly.
Part Two: People who claim to be interested in environmental issues but make excuses for buying gas guzzlers.
In all seriousness, my complaint is aimed more at the people that buy these things but do nothing they couldn't do with just an average sized family car.
It just seems like some people are only buying them because it's trendy or because, once in a blue moon, they can fit a bit more in their car... like there's no possible alternative when you need to move some stuff from one place to another.
None of that negates the massive effect on the environment or the safety issues caused by these monsters.
11-12-2021, 04:55 PM
Sitting at the lights on Princess Street and realising they are still phased for traffic coming from Waverley Bridge!
Mental to close that off in the first place but to not even bother changing the lights to account for it just sums up ECC approach to ‘traffic management’
13-12-2021, 01:52 AM
Sitting at the lights on Princess Street and realising they are still phased for traffic coming from Waverley Bridge!
Mental to close that off in the first place but to not even bother changing the lights to account for it just sums up ECC approach to ‘traffic management’
They hate motorists and want to ban traffic in the city centre. Parking charges on Sundays now too, bet high ranking employees don't have to pay though...
15-12-2021, 12:23 PM
Why is the A90 now a 40mph until the Kirkliston jn, then it goes up to a 50mph until it merges with the main motorway on the approach to the bridge? Seem pointless imo.
15-12-2021, 12:49 PM
Why is the A90 now a 40mph until the Kirkliston jn, then it goes up to a 50mph until it merges with the main motorway on the approach to the bridge? Seem pointless imo.
Exceedingly pointless and routinely ignored by most!
15-12-2021, 04:56 PM
That’s a ridiculous limit, no idea why they’ve done it but it’s a road suitable for much faster than 40.
15-12-2021, 05:02 PM
That’s a ridiculous limit, no idea why they’ve done it but it’s a road suitable for much faster than 40.
I think it's more about the road going the other way. Cramond Brig was notorious for drivers speeding and the accidents that resulted. They pushed the edge of the 40 zone further and further back over the years.
Perhaps the road needs, by law, to have the same limit on both sides?
15-12-2021, 06:13 PM
I think it's more about the road going the other way. Cramond Brig was notorious for drivers speeding and the accidents that resulted. They pushed the edge of the 40 zone further and further back over the years.
Perhaps the road needs, by law, to have the same limit on both sides?
Dual carriageway can have different limits on opposite sides according to pistonheads.
16-12-2021, 01:23 AM
:agree:, it used to be a 70 IIRC.
17-12-2021, 07:51 AM
When you turn off the M8 to head down the M73* the speed limit is 50mph for about two miles.
Nobody drives at 50mph on that part of the road.
* You drive through that section on the way to Hampden.
17-12-2021, 08:25 AM
When you turn off the M8 to head down the M73* the speed limit is 50mph for about two miles.
Nobody drives at 50mph on that part of the road.
* You drive through that section on the way to Hampden.
Yeah I was early for the semi final and meandered along there at about 52mph. Felt like I was doing 40 on a 70.
AltheHibby
20-12-2021, 12:38 PM
Ubers.
They are simply the worst. And one of these morons pulled out in front of me from a side street yesterday. And stopped in front of when I hit the horn and brakes.i was doing 25 and still had to make an emergency stop.
My 5 1/2 month old pups were lucky I strap them in.
patch1875
20-12-2021, 01:10 PM
Ubers.
They are simply the worst. And one of these morons pulled out in front of me from a side street yesterday. And stopped in front of when I hit the horn and brakes.i was doing 25 and still had to make an emergency stop.
My 5 1/2 month old pups were lucky I strap them in.
😂 I drive for Uber on occasion.
He may also have not been an Uber driver plenty other options available but black cabs are just the same we are all chasing the pound notes
AltheHibby
20-12-2021, 03:06 PM
😂 I drive for Uber on occasion.
He may also have not been an Uber driver plenty other options available but black cabs are just the same we are all chasing the pound notes
It said Uber on the side.
And as a bus driver's son, taxi doesn't elevate you much. 😝
27-12-2021, 03:04 PM
Blitz ice. Drove into a shower of very fine spray rain this morning. As soon as it hit the cold (-8) dry ground it turned to sheet ice. I was lucky because the stretch of Autobahn I was travelling on was closed for a few hours due to several accidents just after I passed through.
I can't reverse into a parking bay straight, every time I do it now the motor nearly always ends up parked squint. I then get out check it, get back in and straighten it.
This has only started happening recently, could do it no problem before.
29-12-2021, 10:46 PM
I can't reverse into a parking bay straight, every time I do it now the motor nearly always ends up parked squint. I then get out check it, get back in and straighten it.
Sounds like your peripheral vision is not what it once was. The joys of getting older. :greengrin
30-12-2021, 06:16 AM
Councils being given the power to act as the police and dish out fines for offences such as "bad turns"
I've had a look but can only see Edinburgh Live type reporting. Tell me they're at the wind up?
30-12-2021, 01:14 PM
Councils being given the power to act as the police and dish out fines for offences such as "bad turns"
I've had a look but can only see Edinburgh Live type reporting. Tell me they're at the wind up?If it stops taxi drivers doing uturns at a set of traffic lights, excellent.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
Sounds like your peripheral vision is not what it once was. The joys of getting older. :greengrin
I'm still a hotshot at parallel parking, when that starts going to **** then I will accept I'm getting old!
30-12-2021, 09:00 PM
If it stops taxi drivers doing uturns at a set of traffic lights, excellent.
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
Don't dare cut a corner they'll have an enforcer hidden at every junction. Should be fun with the new hierarchy of road users as well
30-12-2021, 09:25 PM
Definitely something to do with global warming, affecting tidal and gravity pull. Never reverse park unless there is a full moon or high tide.
AltheHibby
31-12-2021, 10:54 AM
People who look at you and think 'oh, he's less than 100 yards away in a 60. I can pull out safely and not have to accelerate hard'.
Thankfully nothing was coming the other way as I just couldn't slow in time as it was also downhill in the wet.
Please tell me it's legal to find them and burn their car so they can't do it to any else.
Drivers who seem to be blind to anything in front of them, you know the ones that don't see a car turning right and get stuck behind it, or not seeing a bus pull into a stop and then last minute indicate to come out, or the best one is when they don't see roadwork signs until 5 yards from them.
31-12-2021, 03:46 PM
People who look at you and think 'oh, he's less than 100 yards away in a 60. I can pull out safely and not have to accelerate hard'.
Thankfully nothing was coming the other way as I just couldn't slow in time as it was also downhill in the wet.
Please tell me it's legal to find them and burn their car so they can't do it to any else.
I mentioned similar earlier. People would prefer risking life and limb to having a lorry in front of them.
01-01-2022, 02:25 PM
Drivers who seem to be blind to anything in front of them, you know the ones that don't see a car turning right and get stuck behind it, or not seeing a bus pull into a stop and then last minute indicate to come out, or the best one is when they don't see roadwork signs until 5 yards from them.
Ahh yes this is a good one!
These will be the same drivers who when approaching a wide open roundabout that clearly has no traffic on it will still stop regardless and then look for traffic.
speedy_gonzales
01-01-2022, 04:03 PM
Have all the drivers out there appraised themselves of the newly updated rules on road hierarchy that have recently went live?
I'm surprised cyclists are higher up the hierarchy than horse riders as I always pulled over/gave way to horsey types on the roads around Colinton/Currie way, dunno if there'll be any noticeable change there.
And will the majority of motorists give way to pedestrians at junctions?
It's gonna be a big step-change for me, being allowed to cross a road and expect drivers to see me and give way, the same as a driver, approaching a junction, giving way to Peds and expecting the vehicles behind me to read the situation and not rear-end me.
01-01-2022, 04:32 PM
These will be the same drivers who when approaching a wide open roundabout that clearly has no traffic on it will still stop regardless and then look for traffic.
This behaviour drives me demented!
Ahh yes this is a good one!
these the same folk who don’t realise that the slip road for joining a motorway is an acceleration lane, trundle down it doing 30, often causing a buildup behind them, then there’s multiple vehicles in a dangerous situation trying to join a road moving significantly faster than them
speedy_gonzales
01-01-2022, 07:00 PM
these the same folk who don’t realise that the slip road for joining a motorway is an acceleration lane, trundle down it doing 30, often causing a buildup behind them, then there’s multiple vehicles in a dangerous situation trying to join a road moving significantly faster than them
And not exclusively motorways, I reckon the evening peak congestion you get between Hermiston Gait and Dreghorn on the bypass heading East is exacerbated by folk joining at Baberton and not gunning that slip-road, causing the naturally slower vehicles like trucks that are already labouring up that incline to slow down further or change lanes causing everyone else to slow.
completely agree mate
02-01-2022, 11:16 AM
Lothianburn going west in the mornings was/is an absolute bottle neck every morning because of this.
21-01-2022, 10:04 AM
Roundabouts with massive statues, sculptures or man made rainforests in the middle. Cannae ****ing see. That’s a problem.
21-01-2022, 12:16 PM
Roundabouts with massive statues, sculptures or man made rainforests in the middle. Cannae ****ing see. That’s a problem.
Isn't that the point? You can't see so you have to slow down? 😉
Pretty sure I read that somewhere official years ago.
speedy_gonzales
21-01-2022, 12:48 PM
Not on a roundabout, but Andy Scott (artist, famous for the Falkirk Kelpies amongst other works) has an installation just of the M80.
Her name is Arria and she is stunning. How there haven't been any major incidents there I don't know as whenever I pass I always end up drifting across lanes 😘
21-01-2022, 04:03 PM
To the boy in the Toyota Yaris that followed so closely behind me he was practically sitting beside in my front passenger seat. All the way from the approach road at the old brewery site to St Marys street, even swerving out into oncoming traffic on the grass market to try and overtake at the zebra crossing. You sir are an erse. No idea how you go your license.
patch1875
22-01-2022, 09:39 AM
Cyclists who don’t seem to bother with any lights at night anymore, even the ones delivering food don’t seem to bother.
22-01-2022, 10:06 AM
To the boy in the Toyota Yaris that followed so closely behind me he was practically sitting beside in my front passenger seat. All the way from the approach road at the old brewery site to St Marys street, even swerving out into oncoming traffic on the grass market to try and overtake at the zebra crossing. You sir are an erse. No idea how you go your license.
I did wonder if I would make it on to this thread.
There I was, driving my wee Toyota down StMarys Street. "Oh" I thought to myself," is that that Hermit Crab guy from Hibs.net? I'm gonna try something here..."
It worked 😆
28-01-2022, 01:33 PM
Those packs of bulbs that you’re forced to buy from certain petrol stations that contain bulbs that you will never use. My tail light/ brake light bulb went just before I set off for Motherwell on Wednesday, I drove to the nearest petrol station and had to buy another one of these things.
28-01-2022, 02:54 PM
People who beep their horn to let people know that they're there to pick them up, particularly late at night.
We all have phones nowadays.
30-01-2022, 10:24 AM
In the last week I have been behind 3 separate drivers with no lights on. Two noticed when I washed my lights at them, the other just kept going seemingly ignoring or not seeing me flashing my lights at them. I don't know how you can not notice you have no lights on in the dark unless you're pished or on drugs.
30-01-2022, 10:45 AM
In the last week I have been behind 3 separate drivers with no lights on. Two noticed when I washed my lights at them, the other just kept going seemingly ignoring or not seeing me flashing my lights at them. I don't know how you can not notice you have no lights on in the dark unless you're pished or on drugs.
I've posted the same before, I think the problem is twofold. One, a lot of modern cars have automatic lights that come on as it gets dark, and if your car has been serviced the garage may have switched them off, and two, most cars have dashboard lights that are on all the time giving the impression that your lights are on. Having said all that, one of the drivers I managed to stop and they got out to look at the lights when I told them, the got back in and were having a good look around the dashboard as if they didn't even know how to switch them on!
30-01-2022, 03:03 PM
I've posted the same before, I think the problem is twofold. One, a lot of modern cars have automatic lights that come on as it gets dark, and if your car has been serviced the garage may have switched them off, and two, most cars have dashboard lights that are on all the time giving the impression that your lights are on. Having said all that, one of the drivers I managed to stop and they got out to look at the lights when I told them, the got back in and were having a good look around the dashboard as if they didn't even know how to switch them on!
Anyone know why the garage turn them off?
I've always wondered but forget to ask.
patch1875
30-01-2022, 03:32 PM
Probably just because they are checking the lights are working or not during the service.
03-02-2022, 02:36 PM
Audi drivers. Nice decent space to join the moving traffic and sprinted to ensure I didn't get in front.
03-02-2022, 02:50 PM
Folk who overtake on the A9 dual-cariageway, and slam on the brakes when they see the Police speed camera van up ahead.
I was doing 66mph (on cruise control) when this young woman in a BMW overtook me, pulled in and slammed on the anchors when she saw the van so she was down to 60mph, so I overtook her as we approached the camera. after the van was well away in the rear view mirror she was past me like an exocet rocket!!
03-02-2022, 06:23 PM
Folk who overtake on the A9 dual-cariageway, and slam on the brakes when they see the Police speed camera van up ahead.
I was doing 66mph (on cruise control) when this young woman in a BMW overtook me, pulled in and slammed on the anchors when she saw the van so she was down to 60mph, so I overtook her as we approached the camera. after the van was well away in the rear view mirror she was past me like an exocet rocket!!
Same thing happens at their favourite bits on A71
Half of them must slow down to about 45mph, I don't half fly past them doing 60 in my van.
speedy_gonzales
03-02-2022, 07:30 PM
Same thing happens at their favourite bits on A71
Half of them must slow down to about 45mph, I don't half fly past them doing 60 in my van.
50mph surely if you're in a van, single carriageway signed NSL/60???
I only mention it as my employers vans have tracking/telemetry and the "driving aid" gets very bleepy when I go over the vehicle specific limit.
03-02-2022, 09:03 PM
50mph surely if you're in a van, single carriageway signed NSL/60???
I only mention it as my employers vans have tracking/telemetry and the "driving aid" gets very bleepy when I go over the vehicle specific limit.
Dual carriageway from Moorfield to Irvine. Bad smash on Bellfield interchange to Moorfield 50mph stretch this morning
speedy_gonzales
03-02-2022, 09:19 PM
Dual carriageway from Moorfield to Irvine. Bad smash on Bellfield interchange to Moorfield 50mph stretch this morning
Ahhh, apologies, didn't clock your username. I forgot there was a wee bit dual from Kilmarnock to the coast.
04-02-2022, 04:16 AM
Ahhh, apologies, didn't clock your username. I forgot there was a wee bit dual from Kilmarnock to the coast.
It's about the only half decent stretch of the whole road.
If the company ever hassle you on your driving find out if they get telemtics calibrated annually, most of them don't bother.
16-02-2022, 08:20 PM
Folk who still don’t understand bus lanes and folk who potter along at 20mph in 40mph roads, was behind a taxi who was in the outside lane on Glasgow road and decided to turn left at the latest possible point while a car was driving in the bus lane, so annoying.
25-02-2022, 05:13 AM
I can now finally join this thread. At the ripe old age of 39 I passed my driving test yesterday at the third attempt with only one minor. It won’t be long until I’m populating this thread with a litany of complaints 😂
25-02-2022, 06:53 AM
Came head to head with a driver due to roadworks on Caroline Terrace, the obstruction was on their side of the road which technically meant I had right of way. They only had to reverse about 20 foot to let me get through but wouldn’t budge, my reverse was a about 80 foot around the bend so got out and explained that and asked them to reverse, it was an elderly guy who got quite abusive and said he wasn’t moving as he didn’t like reversing!
patch1875
25-02-2022, 08:30 AM
Came head to head with a driver due to roadworks on Caroline Terrace, the obstruction was on their side of the road which technically meant I had right of way. They only had to reverse about 20 foot to let me get through but wouldn’t budge, my reverse was a about 80 foot around the bend so got out and explained that and asked them to reverse, it was an elderly guy who got quite abusive and said he wasn’t moving as he didn’t like reversing!
You still there?😃
25-02-2022, 08:42 AM
He shouldn't be driving then.
Reminds me of a guy I used to work with who would go mental detours to avoid making a right turn at traffic lights that didn't have a filter. He would turn right at a T junction (with or without lights) and at a traffic light with a right filter on it but not any other type of junction.
I often wondered how he passed his test.
25-02-2022, 09:22 AM
He shouldn't be driving then.
Reminds me of a guy I used to work with who would go mental detours to avoid making a right turn at traffic lights that didn't have a filter. He would turn right at a T junction (with or without lights) and at a traffic light with a right filter on it but not any other type of junction.
I often wondered how he passed his test.
I vaguely remember being told that you can't be penalised for taking wrong turns in your test, so maybe when the examiner said 'turn right at these lights' he just turned left and went 'ah sorry, I thought you said left'.
25-02-2022, 10:18 AM
You still there?😃
😂 I’m getting more tolerant in my old age and reversed myself as he was not going anywhere.
25-02-2022, 07:15 PM
😂 I’m getting more tolerant in my old age and reversed myself as he was not going anywhere.
I hope you told him to use that bus pass more often
02-03-2022, 09:23 AM
Seen the most spectacularly selfish thing I've seen in years on the roads this morning; on the way into St. Andrews there was some temporary traffic lights set up just before St. Michaels. A woman coming the other way who was the last in her queue stopped a few metres in front of where she'd cleared the lights and rolled own her window to have a conversation with a friend she'd spotted in the queue the other way! Very much the Hyacinth Bucket type, Peugeot SUV, general smug and smarmy look.
I was going to say something but overheard the mouthful of abuse from the woman in the car in front of me (quite a lot of four letter words used) kind of said everything I think the rest of us in the queue wanted to say and quite a bit more :greengrin
AltheHibby
02-03-2022, 02:39 PM
Seen the most spectacularly selfish thing I've seen in years on the roads this morning; on the way into St. Andrews there was some temporary traffic lights set up just before St. Michaels. A woman coming the other way who was the last in her queue stopped a few metres in front of where she'd cleared the lights and rolled own her window to have a conversation with a friend she'd spotted in the queue the other way! Very much the Hyacinth Bucket type, Peugeot SUV, general smug and smarmy look.
I was going to say something but overheard the mouthful of abuse from the woman in the car in front of me (quite a lot of four letter words used) kind of said everything I think the rest of us in the queue wanted to say and quite a bit more :greengrin
My wife's auntie once spoke her way through 3 sets of lights at roadworks in Ayr. When the guy behind lost patience and hit the horn briefly he got the fingers from her and we got the comment that he shouldn't be impatient.
That was the last time I ever let her drive me.
08-03-2022, 11:50 PM
Folk who just don’t understand how to indicate correctly when leaving a roundabout, it mystifies me how people get it so wrong, especially using the wrong indicator!
09-03-2022, 03:59 PM
Folk that don’t indicate at the 300 yard marker that they are coming off the motorway. I seem to be the only bugger on the road that does it. Most seem to do it at the 100 yard marker or just as they are performing the manoeuvre.
09-03-2022, 04:00 PM
Folk who just don’t understand how to indicate correctly when leaving a roundabout, it mystifies me how people get it so wrong, especially using the wrong indicator!
Linked to this, people that don’t indicate at all at roundabouts because they think if there’s a road marking stating where the one is going that they don’t need to.
09-03-2022, 04:26 PM
Linked to this, people that don’t indicate at all at roundabouts because they think if there’s a road marking stating where the one is going that they don’t need to.
This comment made me pause and think. If I'm in a filter lane that's e.g. turning right, and the lane is clearly identified as solely a filter lane, then I don't bother indicating right. Why should I? I'm in the lane for turning right.
So doesn't the same thing apply to roundabouts with lane markings?
09-03-2022, 04:36 PM
This comment made me pause and think. If I'm in a filter lane that's e.g. turning right, and the lane is clearly identified as solely a filter lane, then I don't bother indicating right. Why should I? I'm in the lane for turning right.
So doesn't the same thing apply to roundabouts with lane markings?
I have an issue with the filter one as well. How does someone coming the other way know that it is a filter lane? In the same way, how does anyone else on the roundabout know that the lane in question is only going to one exit?
09-03-2022, 04:45 PM
I have an issue with the filter one as well. How does someone coming the other way know that it is a filter lane? In the same way, how does anyone else on the roundabout know that the lane in question is only going to one exit?
Re the filter lane, the ones I'm thinking of it doesn't matter what the opposing traffic thinks because their movement is managed by traffic lights. I'm thinking e.g. Western Approach right turn towards Haymarket.
Similarly on lanes at roundabouts I'm thinking e.g. Sheriffhall.
At other times where the lane has dual purpose I'd probably indicate.
09-03-2022, 05:57 PM
Re the filter lane, the ones I'm thinking of it doesn't matter what the opposing traffic thinks because their movement is managed by traffic lights. I'm thinking e.g. Western Approach right turn towards Haymarket.
Similarly on lanes at roundabouts I'm thinking e.g. Sheriffhall.
At other times where the lane has dual purpose I'd probably indicate.
Not everyone is going to be familiar with the layout of the lanes, especially visitors to the city. Tbh it’s just common courtesy and is something that should be done as a matter of course, it’s not like it’s a hassle to do it.
Folk that don’t indicate at the 300 yard marker that they are coming off the motorway. I seem to be the only bugger on the road that does it. Most seem to do it at the 100 yard marker or just as they are performing the manoeuvre.
totally agree, there’s no point in doing it as you’re making the manoeuvre, we can see your car moving now, it’s too late. You’re indicating to tell us what you’re about to do, not what you’re actually doing
09-03-2022, 07:57 PM
totally agree, there’s no point in doing it as you’re making the manoeuvre, we can see your car moving now, it’s too late. You’re indicating to tell us what you’re about to do, not what you’re actually doing
Not sure it matters as long as they are leaving at the same speed.
Although if you have active lane assist it’s defo easier to indicate rather than the car trying to keep you on the motorway as you wrestle the steering wheel [emoji1787]
Alfiembra
10-03-2022, 09:08 AM
I have to hold my hand up and say that I’m guilty of leaving it late to indicate to leave a dual carriageway or motorway, I usually start to indicate half way between the 100 and 200 metre markers, can’t give a reason for it just a bad habit I guess but I will try harder in the future.
I used to drive a lot of long distance journeys and always felt I used my indicators more than most especially for lane changes.
However, there is one particular roundabout which is the one on Calder Road at Wester Hailes Road, especially at busy times, if you are heading into town on Calder Road wanting to turn right into Wester Hailes Road when I use my indicators then inavariably someone heading out of town on Calder Road will try and nip across the front of me. When I don’t indicate the drivers waiting to get across the roundabout generally wait to see where I’m going. Not saying it’s good practice and probably makes me out to be a very inconsiderate driver, I hope not, I’d rather have a derisory comment aimed at me than me T-boning an impatient driver.
10-03-2022, 11:47 AM
Just read an article about oil prices meaning fuel jumped by 3p per litre yesterday, the highest rise recorded by the RAC.
It then said underneath that as prices stabilise and fall it will take time for these to filter through to the forecourt?
Why? The ***** are eager enough to stick the prices up as soon as the chance comes around, but they take eons to drop them again. It should track the price of oil, if it goes up, the price goes up straight away, if it goes down the price comes down straight away.
Honestly, **** fuel companies.
10-03-2022, 11:56 AM
People who coast when reducing their speed rather than braking. I travel a road to work that multiple changes of speed limit and it's ****ing infuriating to not get the advance warning of a brake light.
I have to hold my hand up and say that I’m guilty of leaving it late to indicate to leave a dual carriageway or motorway, I usually start to indicate half way between the 100 and 200 metre markers, can’t give a reason for it just a bad habit I guess but I will try harder in the future.
I used to drive a lot of long distance journeys and always felt I used my indicators more than most especially for lane changes.
However, there is one particular roundabout which is the one on Calder Road at Wester Hailes Road, especially at busy times, if you are heading into town on Calder Road wanting to turn right into Wester Hailes Road when I use my indicators then inavariably someone heading out of town on Calder Road will try and nip across the front of me. When I don’t indicate the drivers waiting to get across the roundabout generally wait to see where I’m going. Not saying it’s good practice and probably makes me out to be a very inconsiderate driver, I hope not, I’d rather have a derisory comment aimed at me than me T-boning an impatient driver.
Being fair mate, I wouldn’t describe between 200 and 100 markers as being particularly late in indicating, it’s more the folk who flick it on as the car is crossing the line and you’ve already seen them moving anyway 😄
Just read an article about oil prices meaning fuel jumped by 3p per litre yesterday, the highest rise recorded by the RAC.
It then said underneath that as prices stabilise and fall it will take time for these to filter through to the forecourt?
Why? The ***** are eager enough to stick the prices up as soon as the chance comes around, but they take eons to drop them again. It should track the price of oil, if it goes up, the price goes up straight away, if it goes down the price comes down straight away.
Honestly, **** fuel companies.
Totally agree about the slow price reduction, but I think there’s also a question to be asked about how quick they go. For example, fuel prices have jumped 3p due to rising cost of oil, why?
The fuel in the garage/tanker has already been bought, shipped, processed, and shipped/on its way to the garage, so why should the price go up when they have had no additional cost in that short period of a few hours?
Total greed - same when the costs were kept high over Christmas/new year when the oil cost dropped. An article I read (bbc possibly) stated something like 8 million pounds was spent in the uk on fuel in a 4 week period that was over and above what the fuel price was compared to the previous time oil was at that price (a couple of months before).
I've said it before and I'll say it again, pricks who indicate right at a set of lights just as the lights change, happened this morning at Montrose Terrace heading into town, prick.
patch1875
12-03-2022, 11:19 AM
I've said it before and I'll say it again, pricks who indicate right at a set of lights just as the lights change, happened this morning at Montrose Terrace heading into town, prick.
Corstorphine/clermiston junction is bad for that.
12-03-2022, 11:25 AM
Idiots who think that when a bus has stopped blocking their lane, they have the absolute right to pull onto the other side of the road regardless of the oncoming traffic meeting them head on.
12-03-2022, 12:56 PM
rear fog lights wrongfully used.
11pm last night heading home from the Blue Rose Code gig and there is a Nissan Micra ahead on a single carriageway section of the A9 around Birnam and Dunkeld. I'm on cruise control at 58mph and I gain on this car. when I get to about 50m behind it they stick their fog light on! No, I have dipped beams on. I'm not blinding you!!
12-03-2022, 01:00 PM
rear fog lights wrongfully used.
11pm last night heading home from the Blue Rose Code gig and there is a Nissan Micra ahead on a single carriageway section of the A9 around Birnam and Dunkeld. I'm on cruise control at 58mph and I gain on this car. when I get to about 50m behind it they stick their fog light on! No, I have dipped beams on. I'm not blinding you!!Hmmm I hope they turned it off after you put your full beams on!
12-03-2022, 02:38 PM
Hmmm I hope they turned it off after you put your full beams on!
I flashed them then passed them when safe. Guy behind me also flashed them but he obviously didn't know the road as well as I do because he was a while before passing.
14-03-2022, 09:22 AM
Taking your car in for a service and all your settings have been changed.
patch1875
14-03-2022, 04:59 PM
People who beep the horn when they drop someone off.
14-03-2022, 06:03 PM
People who evidently don't understand how average speed cameras work.
Was driving the A9 early yesterday morning. Sitting bang on 60 and guy tailgated me for a mile or so, he then pulled out to overtake and flew away up the road until he hit the next car a mile ahead. Then we reached a dual section and he was off, easily hitting 85+ (I was at 70 and he was flying away from me). Then he spies the average speed camera just after the return of single carriageway and slams his brakes on.
That's not how it works mate. Enjoy your 3 points.
14-03-2022, 09:00 PM
People who evidently don't understand how average speed cameras work.
Was driving the A9 early yesterday morning. Sitting bang on 60 and guy tailgated me for a mile or so, he then pulled out to overtake and flew away up the road until he hit the next car a mile ahead. Then we reached a dual section and he was off, easily hitting 85+ (I was at 70 and he was flying away from me). Then he spies the average speed camera just after the return of single carriageway and slams his brakes on.
That's not how it works mate. Enjoy your 3 points.
Average speed cameras are the reason cars are fitted with cruise control. 😁
Also drivers who think the hgv 50mph signs apply to them!!
Cyclist on saturday who thought it was a good idea to cycle between the tram lines on Princes St holding up all the buses trying to get past him, just because there's tram lines doesn't stop it from being a traffic lane when no trams are on it, arrogant arse.
speedy_gonzales
15-03-2022, 08:39 AM
Cyclist on saturday who thought it was a good idea to cycle between the tram lines on Princes St holding up all the buses trying to get past him, just because there's tram lines doesn't stop it from being a traffic lane when no trams are on it, arrogant arse.
Could it be with the new HC guidance the cyclist felt safer in their right lane rather than cycling in the left where buses continually stop and risk being squeezed by traffic passing on their right?
Depending on the time of day, I'd reckon a cyclist would make better progress than a bus along Princes Street anyways.
15-03-2022, 08:54 AM
Could it be with the new HC guidance the cyclist felt safer in their right lane rather than cycling in the left where buses continually stop and risk being squeezed by traffic passing on their right?
Depending on the time of day, I'd reckon a cyclist would make better progress than a bus along Princes Street anyways.
If I'm cycling there, I often use the RH lane for the reasons you suggest.
The new rules only allow them to use the middle inside lane incase of potholes, not the middle of the outside one, just taking the piss. Just cause you have a bike doesn't mean you can do as you please wherever. Cyclists are meant to stay in the left hand lane as close to the kerb as possible, not whatever lane they fancy, unless they're turning right, he had a queue of about 6 bus and taxis behind him tooting and flashing their lights, so was obviously holding them up, he didn't seem to be in any rush.
speedy_gonzales
15-03-2022, 03:16 PM
The new rules only allow them to use the middle inside lane incase of potholes, not the middle of the outside one, just taking the piss. Just cause you have a bike doesn't mean you can do as you please wherever. Cyclists are meant to stay in the left hand lane as close to the kerb as possible, not whatever lane they fancy, unless they're turning right,
That's just plain wrong. I'd struggle to think where that information could be found!
All road users should use the leftmost suitable lane when traveling. If the left hand lane isn't suitable then you're entitled to take the next lane.
Remember, it was only a few years ago a foreign student was killed because her bike got caught between the fence/tram-line in a single lane at the West End of Princes St and a minibus with a mic'd up driver that was too close to stop drive over her.
Let's just give each other space and respect those that have to take the space.
I've tried to explain this in a non-patronising way to others before but it is difficult without coming over as a d!ck, if we all just tried to stop killing each other on the roads, then we wouldn't need any rules or guidance, would we?!?
he had a queue of about 6 bus and taxis behind him tooting and flashing their lights, so was obviously holding them up, he didn't seem to be in any rush.
There's not enough info here to decide if the cyclist was indeed a throbber, how fast was he going, was he weaving in and out etc. But if the inside lane was clear/empty, is there a reason the queuing vehicles didn't just batter along there instead?
speedy_gonzales
15-03-2022, 03:26 PM
As a follow-up to giving each other space, I've said before that I drive a vehicle with a spy-in-the-cab so I have no choice but to obey posted limits for my class of vehicle (small van).
It has never really bothered me in the past but recently it has been getting ridiculous with the amount of vehicles that have been driving that close that I've had to do a double take in the rear view mirror after I thought "I must be towing this guy!".
Perhaps it's a disproportionate effect of traffic slowly returning to pre-pandemic levels.
Be it the temp 40 section at the top end of the A1, or the bypass where I can only do 60, I've had numerous folk drive within feet of my bumper. I don't react to it, I don't do anything daft like dab the brakes or put my hazards on, and I always pull back to the left when safe to do so, but I just wonder if the other drivers understand that if I have to stop or slow down considerably, then they will most likely end up in the load space of my van.
15-03-2022, 03:56 PM
Easter Road this morning... a few cyclists had ended up grouped together, most were in line but one guy overtook the rear few bikes then appeared to slow down and match the speed of the rest and cycled up the middle of the lane totally blocking the increasingly longer queue of vehicles following behind... some of the worst cycling I've seen in ages.
That's just plain wrong. I'd struggle to think where that information could be found!
All road users should use the leftmost suitable lane when traveling. If the left hand lane isn't suitable then you're entitled to take the next lane.
Remember, it was only a few years ago a foreign student was killed because her bike got caught between the fence/tram-line in a single lane at the West End of Princes St and a minibus with a mic'd up driver that was too close to stop drive over her.
Let's just give each other space and respect those that have to take the space.
I've tried to explain this in a non-patronising way to others before but it is difficult without coming over as a d!ck, if we all just tried to stop killing each other on the roads, then we wouldn't need any rules or guidance, would we?!?
There's not enough info here to decide if the cyclist was indeed a throbber, how fast was he going, was he weaving in and out etc. But if the inside lane was clear/empty, is there a reason the queuing vehicles didn't just batter along there instead?
He was travelling around 10mph, wasn't exactly trying to go fast to get out the way, it looked to me he was trying to be a nuisance deliberately. There were buses at stops which the others were going past but once he went past them he just stayed in between the tram lines. Probably taking advantage of trams not going along Princes St but both lanes are used between Charlotte and Fredrick, there was plenty room on the inside lane, he just decided he wasn't moving.
I had a cyclist today overtake slow moving traffic on St John's Rd heading into town on the wrong side of the road, he had to dart in sharpish when a car missed him by about 2ft, this wasn't a young guy but a bloke in his 50's.
I have no problems with cyclists who are courteous road users, we all have to use the roads but erseholes whether on a bike, car, bus,taxi etc will be called out.
16-03-2022, 11:03 AM
The person who decided to beep at my fiancée whilst she was doing her driving test as she showed 1 sign of hesitation at a busy roundabout (fort kinnaird). She then tailgaited her up a slip road and tried to get on to the dual carriageway before her which would have blocked her in.
Not sure what possesses some people to get so enraged at things. Obviously she couldn't know it was an actual test, but there are still a load of "L" signs on the vehicle.
As it turns out, that 1 bit of hesitation was her only (minor) fault during the exam.
16-03-2022, 11:37 AM
Not a driving peeve as such but a family member informs me that an dependant petrol station near where they stay in Fife rammed prices up to £1.99.9 a litre, this was met with a boycott and prices dropped to £1.85.9. Scandalous. The Tesco near me is £1.62.9 for E10 petrol.
We ned to HGVs to go on a massive protest like they do in France.
The person who decided to beep at my fiancée whilst she was doing her driving test as she showed 1 sign of hesitation at a busy roundabout (fort kinnaird). She then tailgaited her up a slip road and tried to get on to the dual carriageway before her which would have blocked her in.
Not sure what possesses some people to get so enraged at things. Obviously she couldn't know it was an actual test, but there are still a load of "L" signs on the vehicle.
As it turns out, that 1 bit of hesitation was her only (minor) fault during the exam.
No need, I know being behind a learner can be frustrating but we were all newbies at one point.
16-03-2022, 12:19 PM
People need to have more patience when behind a learner, it can be annoying sometimes but we all had to learn.
A white van man crashed into the back of my instructors car during one of my lessons because I didn’t move as soon as the traffic lights turned to amber. There’s no need to be in that much of a rush!
16-03-2022, 12:24 PM
Aside from being a prick and not being considerate, pretty risky tailgating a learner.
16-03-2022, 12:56 PM
While tailgating is dangerous ersehole behaviour in any situation, it's particularly baffling when someone does it behind a driving instructor car. Some percentage of regular drivers will be bullied into speeding up, so there's some potential payoff for the ersehole tailgater, but what do they think's going to happen when it's a driving lesson? The instructor's going to go "this fanny behind us is in a hurry, so you'd better speed up to 35"?
16-03-2022, 06:05 PM
While tailgating is dangerous ersehole behaviour in any situation, it's particularly baffling when someone does it behind a driving instructor car. Some percentage of regular drivers will be bullied into speeding up, so there's some potential payoff for the ersehole tailgater, but what do they think's going to happen when it's a driving lesson? The instructor's going to go "this fanny behind us is in a hurry, so you'd better speed up to 35"?
I remember my driving instructor telling me to slow down even further when someone behind beeped me to piss them off.
16-03-2022, 06:21 PM
I remember my driving instructor telling me to slow down even further when someone behind beeped me to piss them off.
I'm sure Scouse Hibee one posted a 'naughty' solution to tailgaters on this thread a while back, especially on the motorway. I'll let him explain. :greengrin
17-03-2022, 07:12 AM
Price of diesel is so high now that the self-serve pay at the pump hit the maximum £99 before my fuel tank was filled last night. Absolutely ridiculous.
17-03-2022, 08:34 AM
Price of diesel is so high now that the self-serve pay at the pump hit the maximum £99 before my fuel tank was filled last night. Absolutely ridiculous.
I'm trying to cut down my driving as much as possible. It's unsustainable.
Surely the government needs to step in and reduce the duty on the fuel? Or even supplement the cost.
17-03-2022, 08:35 AM
I'd flood the garage if I tried to get that high whilst filling up my wee Corsa. You must drive a beast! :greengrin
17-03-2022, 08:48 AM
I'd flood the garage if I tried to get that high whilst filling up my wee Corsa. You must drive a beast! :greengrin
I was devastated when it went above £60 for the first time last month.
17-03-2022, 09:06 AM
Nissan Qashqai, not that big! The tank was virtually empty when i started filling it though
17-03-2022, 09:33 AM
Nissan Qashqai, not that big! The tank was virtually empty when i started filling it though
Snap. Qashqai filled up this morning stopped at £99. I'm sure £60+ of that goes to the government!!
patch1875
17-03-2022, 01:25 PM
£130 to fill my van up 🤕
17-03-2022, 01:47 PM
The van driver right up to my back bumper last night who flashed his lights the second every single traffic light moved from red.
I’d happily kick him in the barse until I passed out from exhaustion.
17-03-2022, 02:50 PM
£130 to fill my van up 🤕
It’s getting ridiculous, I’m leaving the Bentley in the garage and using the Lamborghini for a while.
Paulie Walnuts
17-03-2022, 05:56 PM
Has fuel went up massively since 2 weeks ago?
I filled my motor up for £67 from empty, a MB GLC250.
I’d be surprised if it didn’t hold similar to qashqai but I’ve no idea :dunno:not looking forward to filling up next time.
Like Jones28, I’m trying to avoid driving it as it’s ludicrous. I’d usually use a tank and a bit per month but I’ve only used about a quarter in 2 weeks.
Paulie Walnuts
17-03-2022, 06:03 PM
Having just had a look online I’ve apparently got a 66l tank so I’ve no idea how I filled it for £67 :dunno: