View Full Version : Driving Pet Peeves
Pages :
[
4]
23-03-2019, 07:49 PM
To the woman sat in her car at the lights on Milton rd with her 2 young children in car seats in the back, sitting texting on her phone and continued to look down and text whilst pulling away when traffic started moving when the lights changed, absolutely horrendous behaviour from a mother with young kids. I hope you get caught.
Hope she reads this.
Saturday Boy
23-03-2019, 07:53 PM
Hope she reads this.
But not while driving, obvs 😉
23-03-2019, 08:12 PM
But not while driving, obvs 😉
Alfiembra
24-03-2019, 11:38 AM
People that overtake you on slip roads when you are trying to feed into the main carriageway and end up blocking you out.
24-03-2019, 06:01 PM
A boy in a BMW just drove the wrong way up the one way street next to the BBQ chippy in Corstorphine and parked up then toddled off to get his supper.
You’d think that if he failed to notice the no entry signs he’d at least notice that every single car that’s parked on both sides of the street are facing the opposite way to his car. Incredible [emoji23]
24-03-2019, 06:34 PM
A boy in a BMW just drove the wrong way up the one way street next to the BBQ chippy in Corstorphine and parked up then toddled off to get his supper.
You’d think that if he failed to notice the no entry signs he’d at least notice that every single car that’s parked on both sides of the street are facing the opposite way to his car. Incredible [emoji23]
Probably a regular customer local to the area who knew exactly what he was doing, a pretty regular occurrence in that street.
speedy_gonzales
24-03-2019, 09:14 PM
Probably a regular customer local to the area who knew exactly what he was doing, a pretty regular occurrence in that street.
Yup, worse when there's been something on at Murrayfield, People heading back West and see the chippy then practically hand-brake turn in to Craig's Avenue. Seen first hand a few close calls as pedestrians don't expect cars to pass the no-entry signs the wrong way.
24-03-2019, 09:25 PM
Often happens in the only one way street in Pitlochry. Locals taking a short cut or foreigners who don't see the no entry signs.
26-03-2019, 06:23 AM
To the woman sat in her car at the lights on Milton rd with her 2 young children in car seats in the back, sitting texting on her phone and continued to look down and text whilst pulling away when traffic started moving when the lights changed, absolutely horrendous behaviour from a mother with young kids. I hope you get caught.
The amount of lassies I see filming themselves and their kids singing or whatever while they drive the car is ****ing crazy.
26-03-2019, 11:49 AM
MOTs. Just got absolutely rinsed to get my car through its MOT, and I strongly suspect that the issues were 'ignored' by the last garage to do the MOT prior to me getting the car a year ago.
26-03-2019, 11:57 AM
MOTs. Just got absolutely rinsed to get my car through its MOT, and I strongly suspect that the issues were 'ignored' by the last garage to do the MOT prior to me getting the car a year ago.
What did it fail on?
26-03-2019, 01:25 PM
What did it fail on?
Where do I start?!
Failed on a few things as you might have guessed.
Handbrake, parts of the front suspension, some corrosion to the back brake disks (that caused the issue with the handbrake).
Looking at the MOT history, these were issues last year where the MOT failed, then passed the next day - there's no way that the issues highlighted this time were from a year's worth of driving, it's totally been cowboyed IMHO.
26-03-2019, 01:37 PM
Across here MOTs (or the equivalent) are carried out at accredited, independent test centres who do only that - nothing to do with garages.
It also helps when you have a mate who runs one. :wink:
26-03-2019, 02:08 PM
Across here MOTs (or the equivalent) are carried out at accredited, independent test centres who do only that - nothing to do with garages.
It also helps when you have a mate who runs one. :wink:
It's the same here, the problem I have is that the guy who sold me the car had a mate who runs one...
26-03-2019, 02:17 PM
It's the same here, the problem I have is that the guy who sold me the car had a mate who runs one...
I hate tossers like that ...
26-03-2019, 02:34 PM
I got an MOT a year or 2 back and I knew I needed to change the front lightbulb. Being in a rush I dropped the car off and asked could someone fit the bulb for me before the MOT as I knew it would fail. The guy in the garage done the classic inhale of breath and said 'Ohh a corsa? front light bulb? Thats a big job mate, need to take half the front of the car off for that' and it would cost me. I called him out on his bull**** (being a mechanic in a previous life) I knew it didnt require any of that.
In the end he wouldn't back down, so I ran out and fitted it myself within 5 minutes, told him as much as I went back in and that I was now late for an appointment.
Got a call a few hours later saying it had failed on the front light alignment, and still persisted with the 3 hours labour service to correct it. I told them to do one and I would take it elsewhere.
Took it to a small garage I know and the guy was in disbelief at my whole story, and even more stunned at the failure as it only required a few turns of the light adjustment to fix - the mechanic said he would never fail a MOT on that, and would simply just fix it as he was going alone. Didnt charge me for fixing it and now has a customer for life for simply being honest. Moral of the story, dont go near Arnold Clark
26-03-2019, 02:50 PM
I got an MOT a year or 2 back and I knew I needed to change the front lightbulb. Being in a rush I dropped the car off and asked could someone fit the bulb for me before the MOT as I knew it would fail. The guy in the garage done the classic inhale of breath and said 'Ohh a corsa? front light bulb? Thats a big job mate, need to take half the front of the car off for that' and it would cost me. I called him out on his bull**** (being a mechanic in a previous life) I knew it didnt require any of that.
In the end he wouldn't back down, so I ran out and fitted it myself within 5 minutes, told him as much as I went back in and that I was now late for an appointment.
Got a call a few hours later saying it had failed on the front light alignment, and still persisted with the 3 hours labour service to correct it. I told them to do one and I would take it elsewhere.
Took it to a small garage I know and the guy was in disbelief at my whole story, and even more stunned at the failure as it only required a few turns of the light adjustment to fix - the mechanic said he would never fail a MOT on that, and would simply just fix it as he was going alone. Didnt charge me for fixing it and now has a customer for life for simply being honest. Moral of the story, dont go near Arnold Clark
The MOT is every 2 years here and every time I go (2 cars) the guy adjusts the lights for me - often they're within the allowed tolerance but he prefers that you leave with them spot-on.
On another occasion I had a brake light that was knacked (I hadn't realised). He gave me the keys to his van to go and buy a bulb at a place about quarter of a mile away and then changed it for me when I got back.
As I said, I know the guy, but I'm sure he does the same for most folk. They offer the return test free (if there are minor faults) so it makes more sense for him to spend 5 minutes fixing wee things than wasting everyone's time on a second appointment.
Where do I start?!
Handbrake, parts of the front suspension, some corrosion to the back brake disks (that caused the issue with the handbrake).
Looking at the MOT history, these were issues last year where the MOT failed, then passed the next day - there's no way that the issues highlighted this time were from a year's worth of driving, it's totally been cowboyed IMHO.
For folk on android there's an app called Vehicle Smart. Pop in the reg number and it will show details of the car. There's a tab that gives full MOT details, even advisories.
For those that don't have android ...
26-03-2019, 03:47 PM
Where do I start?!
You've been tucked away mate, same issues last year then passes the very next day??? My erse.
26-03-2019, 03:49 PM
Arnold Shark more like, I will never ever use them for anything again after my experience with a hire van that I have posted somewhere on this site, absolute cowboys the lot of them.
26-03-2019, 03:54 PM
The best advice you can give anyone when it comes to cars.
It's a company issue rather than an individual one. I've had a couple of mechanics who work there do jobs for me on the side and never had an issue, they are perfectly competent. My girlfriend worked for them in service and has a fair few horror stories.
26-03-2019, 04:48 PM
It's a company issue rather than an individual one. I've had a couple of mechanics who work there do jobs for me on the side and never had an issue, they are perfectly competent. My girlfriend worked for them in service and has a fair few horror stories.
Never understood that one, I view this as size of customer base rather than an out and out bad company.
26-03-2019, 05:07 PM
For folk on android there's an app called Vehicle Smart. Pop in the reg number and it will show details of the car. There's a tab that gives full MOT details, even advisories.
I've got a similar one on iPhone, was able to look up yesterday's fail and today's pass on it immediately.
26-03-2019, 05:07 PM
You've been tucked away mate, same issues last year then passes the very next day??? My erse.
Yeah. My thoughts exactly.
hibee
26-03-2019, 05:10 PM
Same app is available on iPhones, I’ve used it for years.
26-03-2019, 05:30 PM
I only took it there as it was a free mot from when I got the car.
Coincidentally it was Arnold Clark that I served my apprenticeship at and I am happy to admit I would never take anything there to be fixed. As you said, the mechanics themselves are sound enough, but the majority of management were utter ****s trying to fleece everyone. I genuinely got told to mark up a car as needing 4 tyres when they were fine, and they used to (not sure about now) charge about 7quid for a sachet of screen wash when doing a service (as well as other items grossly exaggerated). Literally about a 150ml sachet.
I also remember a mate getting quoted near 200 quid to replace a sensor. I got him the part at trade price, 75 quid and fitted myself in 10 minutes.
26-03-2019, 09:08 PM
I only took it there as it was a free mot from when I got the car.
Coincidentally it was Arnold Clark that I served my apprenticeship at and I am happy to admit I would never take anything there to be fixed. As you said, the mechanics themselves are sound enough, but the majority of management were utter ****s trying to fleece everyone. I genuinely got told to mark up a car as needing 4 tyres when they were fine, and they used to (not sure about now) charge about 7quid for a sachet of screen wash when doing a service (as well as other items grossly exaggerated). Literally about a 150ml sachet.
I also remember a mate getting quoted near 200 quid to replace a sensor. I got him the part at trade price, 75 quid and fitted myself in 10 minutes.
I questioned the charge for screenwash at Arnold Clark a number of years ago. I had filled the reservoir myself the day before.
27-03-2019, 02:42 AM
I questioned the charge for screenwash at Arnold Clark a number of years ago. I had filled the reservoir myself the day before.
Bunch of absolute sharks, trading standards should conduct a massive investigation about AC.
Alfiembra
27-03-2019, 06:29 AM
Bunch of absolute sharks, trading standards should conduct a massive investigation about AC.
Agree with all the comments about Arnold Sharks servicing, I got a service plan thrown in with a used car I bought from them. I'm a fairly high miler so after 6 months I'd done 10000 miles and had my first service with them. Went to collect the car and was told my rear brake pads were 90% worn and needed replaced immediately. I told them to go read the pre delivery inspection I had asked them to carry out before I bought the car which clearly stated the brakes were only 10% worn. They gave me some guff about they stand by their mechanics report never got any apology and I've never been back since. Took the car to Specialist Audi for them to check and they confirmed the pads were only 50% worn. Still a lot of wear in 10k miles but I doubt their original report was accurate either.
hibs#1
27-03-2019, 06:29 PM
I got massively stung on an mot from Arnold Clark a few years back. Hit me with a bill for 1600 hundred pound (me being a bit naive and utterly hopeless with cars went along with it) also needed it back same day or I was buggered for work the next day.
After being told the price, I told them I didn't have the 1600. I was told no problem we'll put right through to our finance partners. ****in con men 😡 wouldn't touch Arnold Clark with a barge pole.
27-03-2019, 06:35 PM
I got massively stung on an mot from Arnold Clark a few years back. Hit me with a bill for 1600 hundred pound (me being a bit naive and utterly hopeless with cars went along with it) also needed it back same day or I was buggered for work the next day.
After being told the price, I told them I didn't have the 1600. I was told no problem we'll put right through to our finance partners. ****in con men 😡 wouldn't touch Arnold Clark with a barge pole.
Bunch of ****s. I make a point of saying to a garage when its my MOT if theres any work needing done I'll do it myself.
Alfiembra
28-03-2019, 07:43 AM
Bunch of ****s. I make a point of saying to a garage when its my MOT if theres any work needing done I'll do it myself.
Changes to the MOT rules that came in last year are making that more difficult for the home mechanic.
If you put your car in for an MOT and it fails on a major or dangerous item, that could be brakes or tyres for example, then regardless if you had any remaining time left on your old MOT that becomes invalidated and you cannot "legally" drive your car away from the garage. If you want to do the repairs yourself or take it to another garage to do the repairs, then you are required to trailer the car away as it effectively has no current MOT.
29-03-2019, 05:12 PM
Throbbers who think that just because they are behind a tractor they have a god given right to overtake it regardless of circumstances. Twice today I had to slam the brakes on to prevent head on collisions.
Please ffs think twice and be patient.
patch1875
03-04-2019, 01:59 PM
When you park your car away from everyone else in a supermarket car park and come out to some heap of crap park 5inches from your door.
Car parking spaces in general. They’re too small for modern cars which have noticeably changed in size even over the last ten years. You feel like you can hardly open your door even though you’re parked plumb in the middle of the space.
05-04-2019, 12:02 AM
Car parking spaces in general. They’re too small for modern cars which have noticeably changed in size even over the last ten years. You feel like you can hardly open your door even though you’re parked plumb in the middle of the space.
I agree with this, though there are a few car parks which do have decent enough room.
Cars, generally, do seem wider. Obviously a lot more SUVs on the the road than in years gone by and smaller hatches and the like are broader too - I’m thinking styles like Nissan Jukes etc. In previous times, cars would have the same engine capacity, seating and boot size in a smaller overall size.
Part of me wonders whether it is to do with us, the people in the cars. If you were to track the physical stats of the population over the last couple of decades, then I bet average weight, waist size etc, has increased a lot. Are car manufacturers just responding to the fact that a lot of their customers need bigger seats (and hence bigger cars)?
I agree with this, though there are a few car parks which do have decent enough room.
Cars, generally, do seem wider. Obviously a lot more SUVs on the the road than in years gone by and smaller hatches and the like are broader too - I’m thinking styles like Nissan Jukes etc. In previous times, cars would have the same engine capacity, seating and boot size in a smaller overall size.
Part of me wonders whether it is to do with us, the people in the cars. If you were to track the physical stats of the population over the last couple of decades, then I bet average weight, waist size etc, has increased a lot. Are car manufacturers just responding to the fact that a lot of their customers need bigger seats (and hence bigger cars)?
They probably are, and it’s also probably something to do with the rise of individualism and the desire for more personal space.
I think that modern, newly built car parks are getting the idea and are making spaces wider.
One thing that’s quite amusing is seeing how redundant garages built any time before the 1980’s are. You aren’t getting a modern Ford Fiesta in one of those.😂
speedy_gonzales
05-04-2019, 03:13 AM
Cars, generally, do seem wider.
Whilst the explosion in SUV and faux 4x4 numbers might explain away the average increase in car size, I think the safety of the cage has increased a lot in the last 20 years. the A & B pillars are considerably larger in the average family car. I can still remember an Austin Metro that i used to drive, I think the pillars were made out of tinfoil and just as thin!
05-04-2019, 08:29 AM
They probably are, and it’s also probably something to do with the rise of individualism and the desire for more personal space.
I think that modern, newly built car parks are getting the idea and are making spaces wider.
One thing that’s quite amusing is seeing how redundant garages built any time before the 1980’s are. You aren’t getting a modern Ford Fiesta in one of those.😂
I had a new garage built in 1989, at the time I had a Fiat Uno (3.689x1.562m). I now have a Renault Captur (4.122x1.778m) and it wouldn't get in the door. I have spent the last 3 months insulating and converting the garage into a workshop :wink:.
The standard parking bay in a car park has been 4.8x2.4m for at least 30 years, and possibly more like 40 years. A Ford Mondeo is 4.871x1.852m so will not fit a standard parking bay.
05-04-2019, 03:58 PM
Whilst the explosion in SUV and faux 4x4 numbers might explain away the average increase in car size, I think the safety of the cage has increased a lot in the last 20 years. the A & B pillars are considerably larger in the average family car. I can still remember an Austin Metro that i used to drive, I think the pillars were made out of tinfoil and just as thin!
Thats a good point, I hadn’t considered that.
21-04-2019, 12:31 PM
Changing the limit on Glasgow Road to 40mph...where is the sense in that???!!
speedy_gonzales
21-04-2019, 01:57 PM
Changing the limit on Glasgow Road to 40mph...where is the sense in that???!!
If you mean from the RBS building to Ratho Station, apparently it barely adds one minute on to your journey if the road is clear and travelling at 70mph.
At busier times of the day it makes negligible difference.
It also allows traffic to merge from Eastfield Road and the BP garage safer.
In addition, it saves the council paperwork when they have to apply for the many TRO's when there are events on at the Royal Highland Centre, as they do just now.
At least this was the reasoning given by the local MSP when challenged about it,,,,
21-04-2019, 07:38 PM
Going to bring up the lanes on Leith Walk at the top of McDonald Road heading towards the foot of the walk. Taxis that know better in the wrong lane, same with the la fav cars etc. Every ****ing time. Nearly got hit by some ******** deciding to go straight on in his black cab today who then went on to hurl abuse at me. Helmet.
21-04-2019, 07:45 PM
Going to bring up the lanes on Leith Walk at the top of McDonald Road heading towards the foot of the walk. Taxis that know better in the wrong lane, same with the la fav cars etc. Every ****ing time. Nearly got hit by some ******** deciding to go straight on in his black cab today who then went on to hurl abuse as no one onat me. Helmet.
Why they changed that to right turn only is beyond me, turning right from Brunswick street onto Leith Walk you often can’t get into the lane of traffic as no one will let you in so many folk go into right lane then go straight ahead.
21-04-2019, 07:49 PM
Why they changed that to right turn only is beyond me, turning right from Brunswick street onto Leith Walk you often can’t get into the lane of traffic as no one will let you in so many folk go into right lane then go straight ahead.
I wouldn’t debate that. But at the end of the day it is what it is. Taxi drivers and La Fav cars know the lane layout and just blatantly ignore it and nearly cause accidents.
22-04-2019, 12:29 AM
Cyclists going through red lights again. Happened at the junction where the Golden Gates pub used to be, I shouted to him that he just went through a red red light and green man, his response? Red lights don't apply to cyclists. Aye ok then you knobber...:rolleyes:
22-04-2019, 02:32 AM
Cyclists going through red lights again. Happened at the junction where the Golden Gates pub used to be, I shouted to him that he just went through a red red light and green man, his response? Red lights don't apply to cyclists. Aye ok then you knobber...:rolleyes:
Can’t stand them. They think they can do whatever they want.
The sooner they get licensed or start paying road tax if they want to use the roads to cycle, the better.
22-04-2019, 09:00 AM
Can’t stand them. They think they can do whatever they want.
All of them think they can do whatever they want?
22-04-2019, 04:49 PM
If you mean from the RBS building to Ratho Station, apparently it barely adds one minute on to your journey if the road is clear and travelling at 70mph.
At busier times of the day it makes negligible difference.
It also allows traffic to merge from Eastfield Road and the BP garage safer.
In addition, it saves the council paperwork when they have to apply for the many TRO's when there are events on at the Royal Highland Centre, as they do just now.
At least this was the reasoning given by the local MSP when challenged about it,,,,
I can see the logic but oh my word coming along from New ridge go Gogar on Sunday morning with the road empty felt like a lifetime!
Most folk are still belting it but it's only a matter of time until police start patrolling it I reckon, easy money.
25-04-2019, 04:48 PM
Folk that still think road tax is a thing and bang on about it.
25-04-2019, 06:07 PM
Folk that still think road tax is a thing and bang on about it.
It is for me, £190 a year! :confused:
25-04-2019, 08:17 PM
You should get in touch with the Government HC - they abolished it in the 1930s.
I'm in Durban just now. If I thought there were problems on the road at home it's like open warfare here! It's mental.
The green man is a notional green man, he who dares wins. It's a chicken run!
Red lights don't count after dark.
Speed limits don't count at all!
Park where ever when ever you like, even in the middle of a busy 4 lane road! Just pull up and nip into the shop for a coffee.
Dual carriageways are only a lane and a half wide, interesting when out of town and overtaking! BTW overtaking isn't compulsory, undertaking is just as common.
All road signs are advisory.
They do have one thing though that I think is a good idea. Not only do they have similar penalties for using a mobile while driving as we do, although it's ignored, if caught the phone is confiscated and you have to go to a police station and pay around £100 to get it back. It might be available in a couple of days!
26-04-2019, 07:08 AM
We should adopt the phone confiscation if caught using it while driving.
26-04-2019, 07:38 AM
We should adopt the phone confiscation if caught using it while driving.
I'd rather we confiscated licenses.
Farmers in particular are among the worst for it.
26-04-2019, 11:27 AM
Another one about folk thinking the rules don't apply to them. there are hatched markings on road between Barnton and Maybury which one woman yesterday morning decided to use as her own lane all the way up to the roundabout, notably going past the memorial to the guy that was killed on that road last year.
28-04-2019, 08:44 PM
Anyone who tailgates is a dick but it's particularly annoying when someone tailgates when you aren't responsible for the speed you are going. If the person in front of me is driving at 18mph, is sitting right on my bumper and flashing your lights really going to help anyone?
29-04-2019, 08:56 PM
Anyone who tailgates is a dick but it's particularly annoying when someone tailgates when you aren't responsible for the speed you are going. If the person in front of me is driving at 18mph, is sitting right on my bumper and flashing your lights really going to help anyone?
They are so close to you they probably can't see the other car
03-05-2019, 11:21 PM
Its vehicle excise duty. It's a tax on your car not the road. Btw, mines is £30 a year. 😉
Silky
04-05-2019, 02:26 PM
The new layout at the tip at Seafield. The fact that you have to turn left upon leaving when I want to head back to Porty! Gets on my tits!!
04-05-2019, 05:44 PM
The new layout at the tip at Seafield. The fact that you have to turn left upon leaving when I want to head back to Porty! Gets on my tits!!
It’s f***** annoying and absolutely stupid! Why the hell did they change it?!
I know you need to turn left when exiting, but if the coast is clear on both sides then I just turn right.
04-05-2019, 06:55 PM
I’m not sure this is a driving pet peeve and not sure how i can best describe it but hopefully you know what im trying to say......
When you’re driving down the road and someone is trying to cross the road, instead of just waiting though they keep walking into the middle of the road but almost try and arc their body to let you squeeze past. Happens with junkies a lot.
Does my head in, just ****ing wait till I’m past and then cross the road.
04-05-2019, 08:51 PM
Seen some absolute throbber on a dirt bike with no plates driving up Crewe Road South doing a wheelie (and I'm talking the guy was nearly horizontal, not just slightly off the ground) overtaking a taxi at about 40mph at tea time today. Wouldn't be particularly gutted to hear he had came off it.
05-05-2019, 08:34 AM
I’m not sure this is a driving pet peeve and not sure how i can best describe it but hopefully you know what im trying to say......
When you’re driving down the road and someone is trying to cross the road, instead of just waiting though they keep walking into the middle of the road but almost try and arc their body to let you squeeze past. Happens with junkies a lot.
Does my head in, just ****ing wait till I’m past and then cross the road.
Maybe he didn't notice the elephant you were driving because you didn't have lights on 😉
06-05-2019, 06:53 PM
On the M6 today, middle lane hoggers who haven’t got a clue what they are doing wrong.
06-05-2019, 07:06 PM
... middle lane hoggers ...Oh yes, a classic.
08-05-2019, 10:13 PM
People who don’t park facing the way the traffic flows in dark unlit streets. Apart from them breaking the law it just annoys me.
speedy_gonzales
08-05-2019, 10:44 PM
People who don’t park facing the way the traffic flows in dark unlit streets. Apart from them breaking the law it just annoys me.
One of the many "rules" that were drilled in to me when learning to drive, seems that many drivers today flout without knowing or caring.
08-05-2019, 10:53 PM
Don't think that is breaking the law in the UK. Is in oz though.
speedy_gonzales
08-05-2019, 11:16 PM
Don't think that is breaking the law in the UK. Is in oz though.
Rule 248 of the Highway Code, You MUST NOT park on a road at night facing against the direction of the traffic flow unless in a recognised parking space.
09-05-2019, 04:45 PM
One of the many "rules" that were drilled in to me when learning to drive, seems that many drivers today flout without knowing or caring.
Think it has always been ignored.
09-05-2019, 05:22 PM
Another motorway one is erseholes who leave it until the last minute to come across all three lanes to exit at a junction, slamming their anchors on as they force themselves across and cause everyone else to do the same.
09-05-2019, 07:56 PM
Another motorway one is erseholes who leave it until the last minute to come across all three lanes to exit at a junction, slamming their anchors on as they force themselves across and cause everyone else to do the same.
Motorway exiting and joining seems to be beyond about 30% ( guess ) of road users.
10-05-2019, 06:16 PM
Think it has always been ignored.
I can remember when (some at least) cars had a dedicated parking light sticking out of the right hand side which you were supposed to leave on all night when correctly parked. Probably before one-way streets were invented though, and parking on both sides of the street became commonplace.
10-05-2019, 07:05 PM
People who think just because you stick your hazards on you can stop/park where you like.
Some absolute idiot did this today halfway up Abbeymount
EH6 Hibby
10-05-2019, 09:05 PM
People who think just because you stick your hazards on you can stop/park where you like.
Some absolute idiot did this today halfway up Abbeymount
Are you sure they weren’t stuck? I got stuck there a week after passing my test. Had to put the hazards on while I sat there crying because the car kept stalling. People were beeping at me giving me dogs abuse but I was stuck. Some kind lady actually stopped and drove my car over the hill for me. Took me about a year before I had the courage to try again, used to drive miles out my way to avoid it. :greengrin
10-05-2019, 09:24 PM
Are you sure they weren’t stuck? I got stuck there a week after passing my test. Had to put the hazards on while I sat there crying because the car kept stalling. People were beeping at me giving me dogs abuse but I was stuck. Some kind lady actually stopped and drove my car over the hill for me. Took me about a year before I had the courage to try again, used to drive miles out my way to avoid it. :greengrin
Nope, they were waiting for someone. I saw them getting into the car when I was waiting for lights to change.
Feel your pain though, the same thing happened to me at the zoo car park! :greengrin
Fuzzywuzzy
11-05-2019, 09:49 PM
Don't really get folk that drive at 40mph in a 60mph then when it drops to a 30mph limit still drive at 40mph.
11-05-2019, 09:52 PM
When you approach a junction at a main road and have to slam on the brakes because some numpty turning into the road you're on cuts the corner.
Happens all the time where I live, even when you’ve come to a halt at a junction they still cut the corner and come within a couple of inches of clipping your car.
And they give you a dirty look for daring to be on your side of the road as they want to cut the corner! :grr:
People who stop 2-3 car lengths away from the junction and you have to slam the brakes on because you assume they're going to drive right up to the white line.
12-05-2019, 10:15 AM
People who stop 2-3 car lengths away from the junction and you have to slam the brakes on because you assume they're going to drive right up to the white line.
I hate that. So me people stop miles behind the car in front then proceed to inch closer as they’re waiting for the lights to change. Just drive up behind the car and stop.
pollution
12-05-2019, 11:13 AM
I hate that. So me people stop miles behind the car in front then proceed to inch closer as they’re waiting for the lights to change. Just drive up behind the car and stop.
I have never understood why people do this. Were they taught to do this?
I can understand why police cars leave room in front of them but why would someone ruin their clutch by inching along like this.
I always leave a little bit of room in case I have to do a u turn or someone hails me on the other side of the street but I'm only talking about an extra 3-4 feet not 2 car lengths.
12-05-2019, 12:52 PM
I always leave a little bit of room in case I have to do a u turn or someone hails me on the other side of the street but I'm only talking about an extra 3-4 feet not 2 car lengths.
Also have to leave enough room to get out from behind the car in front as he puts his indicator on to turn right only when the lights change to green.
12-05-2019, 06:03 PM
I’ve no idea it’s infuriating. I draw up behind them and put the car into neutral and put the handbrake on and then they start moving forward again. Does my nut in.
12-05-2019, 08:25 PM
Top of St Clair street outside the famous 5 and bottom of St Clair street turning onto Easter road are terrible for this. Literally once a day at least it happens to me there. And as someone else said it's my fault apparently based on the toots and hand gestures I get for simply being on my son dear of the road!
Also have to leave enough room to get out from behind the car in front as he puts his indicator on to turn right only when the lights change to green.
Oh I hate that too, last minute indicators do my nut in.
13-05-2019, 04:05 PM
Doing 30mph going through holyrood park this morning (its a 20 zone I know) and there was still some prick in a range rover about 3ft from my bumper.
13-05-2019, 04:05 PM
Oh I hate that too, last minute indicators do my nut in.
Or those that just hit the anchors to turn left or right without bothering to indicate, we are all mind readers though.
13-05-2019, 04:55 PM
Doing 30mph going through holyrood park this morning (its a 20 zone I know) and there was still some prick in a range rover about 3ft from my bumper.
Oh the irony 😂
13-05-2019, 11:21 PM
Or those that just hit the anchors to turn left or right without bothering to indicate, we are all mind readers though.
I absolutely hate that!
14-05-2019, 10:18 PM
Probably royalty 👑
14-05-2019, 11:41 PM
Folk who stop on 60mph roads to answer phone , close to a head on the other day 😮
rodhibs55
15-05-2019, 11:10 AM
I absolutely hate that!
Like Taxi drivers.
15-05-2019, 01:31 PM
Like Taxi drivers.
They infuriate me, only seem to stick to speed limits when they have a fare in the back, other times they fly about the place pulling U-turns and radge manoeuvres to get to fares.
15-05-2019, 01:46 PM
They infuriate me, only seem to stick to speed limits when they have a fare in the back, other times they fly about the place pulling U-turns and radge manoeuvres to get to fares.
Data show that negative stereotypes about “bad drivers” are simply untrue.
15-05-2019, 04:26 PM
Like Taxi drivers.
Can’t stand them
As HC said, happy to obey the speed limits and drive sensibly when they’ve got a customer in the car. When they don’t, it’s like they are trying to become the next Lewis Hamilton and drive as fast as they want. Also lack of signals as well, does my nut in as well as those crazy U-Turns they perform!
16-05-2019, 05:13 AM
Data show that negative stereotypes about “bad drivers” are simply untrue.
What kind of data?
16-05-2019, 07:32 AM
People who don't understand how right of way works. If there's an obstruction on your side of the road eg a bus at a stop or a double parked car you don't have priority to fly into the other lane forcing traffic coming the other way to take evasive action. Also if a sign says 'give way to oncoming vehicles' then it's there for a reason, it's a clear instruction so probably best to follow it.
16-05-2019, 10:34 AM
Women drivers who park at a crazy angle and then when you ask them to straighten the car up behave as if you have committed some sort of crime and make you sleep in the spare room for a couple of nights.
16-05-2019, 11:04 AM
People who don't understand how right of way works. If there's an obstruction on your side of the road eg a bus at a stop or a double parked car you don't have priority to fly into the other lane forcing traffic coming the other way to take evasive action. Also if a sign says 'give way to oncoming vehicles' then it's there for a reason, it's a clear instruction so probably best to follow it.
What about this scenario - Your driving down a street that has cars parked on one side (your side) its a long enough road and winding, you cant see the bottom. To be honest most cars can squeeze by with one maybe needing to bump onto a kerb, The road i refer to is Northfield Farm Road.
Now imagine your 3 quarters of the way along this road then a person starts to drive from the other end resulting in you both staring at each other with nowhere to go (Unless there is a sensible compromise and one pulls slightly in one way to allow the other to pass, even if its a wheel width on the kerb) but the driver refuses. The driver who caused this blockage who could clearly see that I was 3 quarters of the way down the road and would cause an obstruction then yells at you that she has the right of way as the obstruction is on my side, as per the highway code.
You try to calmly explain that yes, the highway code does say that, but also the fact there is sufficient room to pass if we both compromise, and the fact that THEY cause the obstruction by not just waiting on me at the end of the road means the highway code in this instance is not what it says.
This scenario happend and resulted in a stand off whereby she expected me to reverse all the way back along the road, despite pointing out there was now 3 cars behind me and she could easily get past or reverse a very short distance to allow all 3 of us to pass. Now she has been arguing with me about who should move and refusing to pass despite have plenty room, ive drivin the road a hundered times and had to do the bump onot the kerb, there is drive ways long the side he needed to bump and as such the kerb is lowered, so not even like she needs take a run at it. The police have been called I am told at this point and I am in such a rage at the refusal to listen to reason that cars have now backed up behind her as well.
I was so angry and the stupity of all this I was like fine and sat there with my hazards on telling her I cant move (There is still room for her and other to pass if we both comprise).
What saved the day as it was a Wednesday night and we had a home game and the guy behind me was asking the problem, could see what was happening and managed to say listen im trying to get to the Hibs game, (As was I) and he talked me and 6 other cars behind to all reverse to accommodate this absolute weapon. If Hibs had'nt been playing I swear I would have sat there all night till the Police showed up or she attempted to pass!!
16-05-2019, 11:30 AM
The above post is similar to what happened this morning due to the school run. I was driving down towards the school to head to a hospital appointment. All cars are parked on the opposite side of the road, I am heading down when a mummy in a Chelsea tractor, having dropped off the darlings pulled out of the parked cars and proceeds up the road thus blocking my way. I stopped before another space so she could pull in, would she ****. She started arm waving and shouting. As I had to get to hospital I reversed half a mile but stopped at a point where she had to really do a tight manoeuvre back onto the right side of the road, if looks could kill! The window comes down for a tirade of abuse.
16-05-2019, 11:44 AM
What about this scenario - Your driving down a street that has cars parked on one side (your side) its a long enough road and winding, you cant see the bottom. To be honest most cars can squeeze by with one maybe needing to bump onto a kerb, The road i refer to is Northfield Farm Road.
Now imagine your 3 quarters of the way along this road then a person starts to drive from the other end resulting in you both staring at each other with nowhere to go (Unless there is a sensible compromise and one pulls slightly in one way to allow the other to pass, even if its a wheel width on the kerb) but the driver refuses. The driver who caused this blockage who could clearly see that I was 3 quarters of the way down the road and would cause an obstruction then yells at you that she has the right of way as the obstruction is on my side, as per the highway code.
You try to calmly explain that yes, the highway code does say that, but also the fact there is sufficient room to pass if we both compromise, and the fact that THEY cause the obstruction by not just waiting on me at the end of the road means the highway code in this instance is not what it says.
This scenario happend and resulted in a stand off whereby she expected me to reverse all the way back along the road, despite pointing out there was now 3 cars behind me and she could easily get past or reverse a very short distance to allow all 3 of us to pass. Now she has been arguing with me about who should move and refusing to pass despite have plenty room, ive drivin the road a hundered times and had to do the bump onot the kerb, there is drive ways long the side he needed to bump and as such the kerb is lowered, so not even like she needs take a run at it. The police have been called I am told at this point and I am in such a rage at the refusal to listen to reason that cars have now backed up behind her as well.
I was so angry and the stupity of all this I was like fine and sat there with my hazards on telling her I cant move (There is still room for her and other to pass if we both comprise).
What saved the day as it was a Wednesday night and we had a home game and the guy behind me was asking the problem, could see what was happening and managed to say listen im trying to get to the Hibs game, (As was I) and he talked me and 6 other cars behind to all reverse to accommodate this absolute weapon. If Hibs had'nt been playing I swear I would have sat there all night till the Police showed up or she attempted to pass!!
My sister-in-law stays on that street (she doesn't drive) and it's a nightmare for that.
16-05-2019, 12:39 PM
My sister-in-law stays on that street (she doesn't drive) and it's a nightmare for that.
My mother in law stays down there and I pick the wee man up after my work. It is a nightmare but usually 3 things happen - There is a space on the left that you can pull into to let the on coming car through. The oncoming car usually sees and waits at the bottom where the road is wider, or reverses the short distance and if you both half way down where the road turns a bit one pulls in as left they can get to the parked cars and the other squeezes by, usually departing with the acceptable wave of a hand in acknowledgement of what you would expect.
I quite often drop my mother in law off somewhere when I get the wee one and if im honest in hindsight I am glad she wasnt with me that day as her being a similar age to the woman I was arguing with, the mother in law is type that would have done something that would have resulted in the police really needing to be called!
16-05-2019, 01:24 PM
Obviously there are exceptions when a bit common sense goes a long way.
I'm referring to the inconsiderate twats who swing out wildly from behind buses or parked cars with no consideration to what is coming the other way. There's a difference between being blatantly inconsiderate and dangerous and simply expecting other road user to show a bit decency. One of the worst places for it is Old Church Lane at Duddingston. there are always cars parked down one aside and if I see a car half way down the wrong lane I'll stop and wait, the problem then is that every wideo then takes advantage and sneaks out from behind the parked cars and into line behind the car I have let go. So rather than waiting on one car you sit whilst 6 or 7 cars pile past.
16-05-2019, 05:28 PM
Can’t stand them
As HC said, happy to obey the speed limits and drive sensibly when they’ve got a customer in the car. When they don’t, it’s like they are trying to become the next Lewis Hamilton and drive as fast as they want. Also lack of signals as well, does my nut in as well as those crazy U-Turns they perform!
I’m sorry but that’s just rubbish. I’m a taxi driver and I’m not going to defend the driving of taxi drivers, but to say we drive faster without a fare is bordering on ridiculous. How are you meant to see someone hailing you if you’re driving too fast? We’re far more likely to drive slower without a passenger. And for all the folk complaining about taxi drivers, the next time you try and hail a taxi that’s in the other side of the road and he doesn’t turn around for you, you can reconcile yourself that at least he didn’t perform a manoeuvre that you would disapprove off while you walk home in the rain.
Sometimes a live and let live attitude is required to life.
16-05-2019, 06:03 PM
I’m sorry but that’s just rubbish. I’m a taxi driver and I’m not going to defend the driving of taxi drivers, but to say we drive faster without a fare is bordering on ridiculous. How are you meant to see someone hailing you if you’re driving too fast? We’re far more likely to drive slower without a passenger. And for all the folk complaining about taxi drivers, the next time you try and hail a taxi that’s in the other side of the road and he doesn’t turn around for you, you can reconcile yourself that at least he didn’t perform a manoeuvre that you would disapprove off while you walk home in the rain.
Would you like me upload some dash cam footage the next time I come across it?
16-05-2019, 07:31 PM
She probably couldn't reverse.
16-05-2019, 08:00 PM
Would you like me upload some dash cam footage the next time I come across it?
Do what you like. Your limited dash cam footage is a tiny example and largely irrelevant. The reverse of what you’re saying is far more likely to be true. If you have a fare on board you’re more likely to drive quicker as the price is mostly determined by distance rather than time. Your argument is completely ignorant as it’s clearly suggesting that taxi drivers drive slower with a passenger in the back to get more money for the trip. The speed you travel has absolutely no impact on the cost of a trip in a taxi. You bash on though with your dash cam stories though if it makes you happy.
16-05-2019, 09:06 PM
Do what you like. Your limited dash cam footage is a tiny example and largely irrelevant. The reverse of what you’re saying is far more likely to be true. If you have a fare on board you’re more likely to drive quicker as the price is mostly determined by distance rather than time. Your argument is completely ignorant as it’s clearly suggesting that taxi drivers drive slower with a passenger in the back to get more money for the trip. The speed you travel has absolutely no impact on the cost of a trip in a taxi. You bash on though with your dash cam stories though if it makes you happy.
Genuine question, how then does it cost more if for example your cab was stuck in traffic for ages, the meter still ticks over.
16-05-2019, 09:22 PM
Genuine question, how then does it cost more if for example your cab was stuck in traffic for ages, the meter still ticks over.
The meter goes up slower than if moving. Your over all fare will be more if stuck in traffic but if two identical hires could be done in the same time the driver would make more.
16-05-2019, 09:30 PM
Because a taximeter is calibrated, dependant on the local authorities fare table to count up per set distance traveled OR per time increment.
For example: 20p for every 200m travelled OR 45 seconds waiting.
Doesn't matter how fast you drive or how long you wait - the meter ticks along at the same speed.
16-05-2019, 09:32 PM
Because a taximeter is calibrated, dependant on the local authorities fare table to count up per set distance traveled OR per time increment.
Doesn't matter how fast you drive or how long you wait - the meter ticks along at the same speed.
Every taxi/private hire car will have the local authorities' fare information displayed in their vehicle (* cos it's the council that set the fares).
16-05-2019, 09:32 PM
If you’re stuck in traffic the meter will go up to reflect the time you’re in the taxi. It will as killie hibby says move much slower. My point earlier was that taxi drivers drive slower because they have a passenger is completely wrong as the speed we drive makes absolutely no difference. If you look at the taxi fare table it clearly states how your fare is calculated it’s based purely on distance travelled and time remained stationery. Driving slower will make absolutely no difference to how much the passenger pays.
16-05-2019, 09:37 PM
If you’re stuck in traffic the meter will go up to reflect the time you’re in the taxi. It will as killie hibby says move much slower. My point earlier was that taxi drivers drive slower because they have a passenger is completely wrong as the speed we drive makes absolutely no difference. If you look at the taxi fare table it clearly states how your fare is calculated it’s based purely on distance travelled and time remained stationery. Driving slower will make absolutely no difference to how much the passenger pays.
I think he was trying to say speed limits and rules of the are adhered to when you have a fare but drive like lunatics when you don't. I must admit some drivers will race back to try and get an extra hire or 2 done before the streets are clear.
16-05-2019, 09:38 PM
Yes that’s exactly it. The fact that the way everyone’s fare is calculated is in the back of every taxi and so many people still come out with so many false stories is disappointing.
16-05-2019, 09:40 PM
I think he was trying to say speed limits and rules of the are adhered to when you have a fare but drive like lunatics when you don't. I must admit some drivers will race back to try and get an extra hire or 2 done before the streets are clear.
Maybe but in Edinburgh there’s a chance of getting a fare all over the city.
16-05-2019, 10:02 PM
Yeah makes sense, I have no problem or gripe with taxis, like LB says when I am looking to hail a taxi I appreciate the upturn or what ever manoeuvre it takes to get to me. I’ve never strayed to PH either as I generally like to get in a cab give my destination and be taken there without having to act as navigator or give a postcode!
17-05-2019, 09:33 AM
With the amount of times taxi drivers just drive past you and blatantly ignore you anyway I’d suggest they need to drive slower if they’re driving at a speed to be able to see people flagging them down.
17-05-2019, 10:23 AM
With the amount of times taxi drivers just drive past you and blatantly ignore you anyway I’d suggest they need to drive slower if they’re driving at a speed to be able to see people flagging them down.
You must look dodgy :greengrin
17-05-2019, 10:31 AM
You must look dodgy :greengrin
Maybe resembles a runner:greengrin
17-05-2019, 10:39 AM
Maybe resembles a runner:greengrin
Must do :greengrin
29-05-2019, 07:41 AM
Whilst driving along Balgreen road last week I saw a guy wearing a suit cycling one of those foldable bikes. He had a young girl standing on the rear area with her arms around him and an even younger child balanced on the handlebars, all three without helmets too. What an absolute idiot.
29-05-2019, 10:24 AM
People who can't understand the protocol behind two lanes merging into one, even with the big bending arrows in the road showing you what is expected. It's known as a zipper system, as in one from the outside lane, followed by one from the inside lane which keeps the traffic moving and everyone happy. Why do so many clowns drive at an angle to block the other lane as if to say "you're not getting past me mate". Just go with the flow, quite simple really.
Gogar underpass is a perfect example, 2 lanes into 1 it's clearly painted on the road that it's a merging lane but everyone all sits in the left lane and glare at you if you dare go down the right and merge in further down.
patch1875
29-05-2019, 12:15 PM
It all goes to pot when busy and the traffic backs up to a standstill.
EH6 Hibby
29-05-2019, 08:08 PM
Absolute lunatic of a driver yesterday at Marionville, I realised half way along the road that I’d forgotten something from Sainsbury’s. There was nothing coming the other way and a break in parked cars on the other side so I indicated and went to do a u turn, the guy behind me then tries to overtake me by driving up the wrong side of the road, meaning he almost hit me as I started to turn round. He had the cheek to beep at me as well.
speedy_gonzales
30-05-2019, 03:39 PM
I'm sure the issue of folk racing down the outside before bullying their way in before lanes merge has been raised, but I'm noticing more and more "self-policing" of this whereby larger vehicles like trucks will straddle both lanes and prevent anyone from passing.
I see it regularly at peak times on the bypass going south from Gogar, a truck or lorry will straddle both lanes until the on-slip from Hermiston Gait. Also on the A8 underpass heading west-east under the Gogar R-A-B, a skip truck today, a few vehicles behind me, preventing anyone coming down lane 2. The thing is, those lanes are there to be used as long as folk follow the rules and merge-in-turn at the far end. The skip truck today held up quite a few buses & taxis which in my book should be prioritised through congested roads.
I've come to the conclusion that the best way to drive these days and not fall foul of the pet peeves on this thread is to drive as if;
i) You were sitting your practical driving exam for the first time and want to pass
ii) You have a Police car behind you and you don't want to get tugged
iii) You had a cup of scalding hot coffee between your legs and you don't want a skin graft over your nether regions
Roseburn is down to one lane at the Terrace where the shops are, nearly every car/bus and taxi move to the right hand lane as the inside one is closed, except this numpty in a big lorry who went right down the bus lane and pushed his way in at the bottom of Murrayfield Ave, guy couldn't care less and nearly took the front wing off the taxi in front of me. A case of I'm a big massive lorry, get out my way I'm coming through.
30-05-2019, 07:51 PM
I'm sure the issue of folk racing down the outside before bullying their way in before lanes merge has been raised, but I'm noticing more and more "self-policing" of this whereby larger vehicles like trucks will straddle both lanes and prevent anyone from passing.
I see it regularly at peak times on the bypass going south from Gogar, a truck or lorry will straddle both lanes until the on-slip from Hermiston Gait. Also on the A8 underpass heading west-east under the Gogar R-A-B, a skip truck today, a few vehicles behind me, preventing anyone coming down lane 2. The thing is, those lanes are there to be used as long as folk follow the rules and merge-in-turn at the far end. The skip truck today held up quite a few buses & taxis which in my book should be prioritised through congested roads.
I've come to the conclusion that the best way to drive these days and not fall foul of the pet peeves on this thread is to drive as if;
i) You were sitting your practical driving exam for the first time and want to pass
iii) You had a cup of scalding hot coffee between your legs and you don't want a skin graft over your nether regions
The thing is if you look at the rules then you are perfectly entitled to use that lane and drivers are supposed to allow merging. It’s a general ignorance of the rules of the road that lead to this problem. You’re not supposed to change lane in order to overtake stationary vehicles, but if you come along in the outside lane you’re supposed to continue in that lane and merge at the merging point. The problem is that in this country everyone thinks it’s impolite to not join the queue. If everyone just stayed in the lane they were in before the queue we wouldn’t have this issue. I’ve seen loads of drivers pull out into the outside lane to block others from overtaking, which if the police saw them they would be charged with careless driving.
speedy_gonzales
30-05-2019, 09:22 PM
The thing is if you look at the rules then you are perfectly entitled to use that lane and drivers are supposed to allow merging. It’s a general ignorance of the rules of the road that lead to this problem. You’re not supposed to change lane in order to overtake stationary vehicles, but if you come along in the outside lane you’re supposed to continue in that lane and merge at the merging point. The problem is that in this country everyone thinks it’s impolite to not join the queue. If everyone just stayed in the lane they were in before the queue we wouldn’t have this issue. I’ve seen loads of drivers pull out into the outside lane to block others from overtaking, which if the police saw them they would be charged with careless driving.
I may not have punctuated my post correctly, I completely agree that both/all lanes should be used until they end then traffic should merge in turn.
It's so simple, but then some drivers are so bloody minded they won't let people in which in turn encourages other drivers to squeeze in elsewhere or make silly decisions.
Drivers that straddle the lanes as if they were town cops need to hand their license in!!!
30-05-2019, 10:08 PM
I may not have punctuated my post correctly, I completely agree that both/all lanes should be used until they end then traffic should merge in turn.
It's so simple, but then some drivers are so bloody minded they won't let people in which in turn encourages other drivers to squeeze in elsewhere or make silly decisions.
Drivers that straddle the lanes as if they were you town cops need to hand their license in!!!
Yes you’re 100% correct, sorry for misenterpating your post.
31-05-2019, 03:24 PM
Drivers that straddle the lanes as if they were you town cops need to hand their license in!!!
See this all the time approaching roadworks. Some fanny driving a lorry decides nobody is getting past and it's still 3/4 of a mile until the cones.
01-06-2019, 08:06 AM
Anyone driving south over the Kincardine bridge will say the same, one lane is queued back for the whole length of road up to the roundabout, the other lane is completely empty. Despite 3 massive signs at the lights saying "merge in turn" dickheads on the inside lane do their best to block off people from merging despite it being the rule of the road.
01-06-2019, 09:09 AM
Anyone driving south over the Kincardine bridge will say the same, one lane is queued back for the whole length of road up to the roundabout, the other lane is completely empty. Despite 3 massive signs at the lights saying "merge in turn" dickheads on the inside lane do their best to block off people from merging despite it being the rule of the road.
I'm glad there is finally people who realise this. It's been a major gripe of mine that when arriving at the merge point in the outside lane, where fellow motorists would do their utmost to stop me merging and even start verbally abusing me. There's nothing worse than an idiot who THINKS he's right.
03-06-2019, 06:56 AM
Drivers who when sitting in busy traffic don’t leave a gap to allow access to side streets off the main road. This does my head in, just because there isn’t a yellow box doesn’t mean you can’t use some common sense and keep the traffic flowing particularly when someone wants to turn right into that street but can’t and then has a big queue behind them.
03-06-2019, 04:21 PM
Drivers who when sitting in busy traffic don’t leave a gap to allow access to side streets off the main road. This does my head in, just because there isn’t a yellow box doesn’t mean you can’t use some common sense and keep the traffic flowing particularly when someone wants to turn right into that street but can’t and then has a big queue behind them.
The painting of yellow boxes on roads has worsened this particular unthinkingness. :violin:
03-06-2019, 09:16 PM
I share your anger. Just imagine if it was a police car, ambulance or a fire engine that had to urgently get through to potentially save someone’s life but couldn’t because of some idiot not using their common sense!
Even when the yellow box is there, some drivers still stop in the middle of it which results in blocking drivers that went to turn into that side street or want to come out to join the road on the opposite side.
07-06-2019, 02:20 PM
Car insurance. What a game it is. We were quoted £330 for renewal for our wee Toyota. Within twenty minutes I had several quotes over half that. When I went back to our insurer, the guy could only bring it down to £280. Cheery bye.
There must be loads of folk who don't have internet access who just go with the quote or take the revised quote, feeling chuffed that they've "haggled" £40 or whatever off the original..
08-06-2019, 09:29 AM
Car insurance. What a game it is. We were quoted £330 for renewal for our wee Toyota. Within twenty minutes I had several quotes over half that. When I went back to our insurer, the guy could only bring it down to £280. Cheery bye.
There must be loads of folk who don't have internet access who just go with the quote or take the revised quote, feeling chuffed that they've "haggled" £40 or whatever off the original..100%
it's simply criminal. I was quoted £130 more this year than last with no changes and no claims.
I did a quick online quote, found a recognised firm and took the quote that was 50 quid less than I paid the current year, therefore saving £180 on what I had been quoted.
called current insurer to say I was renewing and they gave me the old "can we match it" blah blah. I just flat out said no you've lost the chance to even try because you've taken the piss.
there really needs to be a greater regulation of insurance because it's the biggest scam going.
Sent from my SM-A520F using Tapatalk
08-06-2019, 02:11 PM
I got an email saying I wasn't on the insured database and couldn't remember who I was insured with. In a bit of a panic I got some quotes which were roughly the same apart from the people I was insured with. I took the new quote from a different insurer and called the original one to complain about not being on the database and was told "not every company does it, it's voluntary". Two days later I was pulled by the police for not being insured on the database. Gave them the name of my insurer and they resolved it in seconds. Next year I will go through the same hassle again. Tossers.
patch1875
08-06-2019, 05:19 PM
I got an email saying I wasn't on the insured database and couldn't remember who I was insured with. In a bit of a panic I got some quotes which were roughly the same apart from the people I was insured with. I took the new quote from a different insurer and called the original one to complain about not being on the database and was told "not every company does it, it's voluntary". Two days later I was pulled by the police for not being insured on the database. Gave them the name of my insurer and they resolved it in seconds. Next year I will go through the same hassle again. Tossers.
I was involved in a non fault accident (someone went up my arse ;-) ) but it’s logged as being my fault so it gets questioned every time I apply for insurance never been able to find anyone to change it including the company that done it!
09-06-2019, 12:47 PM
https://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/traffic-index/ranking
Guess the UK city with the longest delays?
09-06-2019, 12:53 PM
Topcashback is great for car insurance...you can get a bundle of cash back for a new deal so I always switch.
As it is my current insurer has sent a quote £150 higher than last year...40% higher so they were getting told to bolt anyway [emoji23]
09-06-2019, 01:03 PM
https://www.tomtom.com/en_gb/traffic-index/ranking
Guess the UK city with the longest delays?
Does tomtom's method of calculating "delays" - comparing journey times with the ideal "free-flowing" time - not just indicate that (spoiler alert) Edinburgh has at least one time (probably early Sunday morning) when there is virtually no traffic (and pedestrians are too pished to bother pushing buttons to delay journeys)? London, for example, never sleeps, so however congested it is it will score relatively well because the "free-flowing" baseline is relatively high. :nerd:
09-06-2019, 01:14 PM
Does tomtom's method of calculating "delays" - comparing journey times with the ideal "free-flowing" time - not just indicate that (spoiler alert) Edinburgh has at least one time (probably early Sunday morning) when there is virtually no traffic (and pedestrians are too pished to bother pushing buttons to delay journeys)? London, for example, never sleeps, so however congested it is it will score relatively well because the "free-flowing" baseline is relatively high. :nerd:
Something like that. Don't know what London is like nowadays but when I lived there it was possible to drive from north to south through city centre in the early hours and not encounter many vehicles.
We’re often asked how we come up with the rankings presented in the TomTom Traffic Index. Unlike our data, our explanation is simple.
The congestion level percentages represent the measured amount of extra travel time experienced by drivers across the entire year. We start by establishing a baseline of travel times during uncongested, free flow conditions across each road segment in each city. We then analyze travel times across the entire year (24/7) for each city – and compare this information against free flow periods to derive extra travel time.
An overall congestion level of 36% means that the extra travel time is 36% more than an average trip would take during uncongested conditions. Average times are of actual taken trips, across every vehicle in the entire network, 24/7. Travel times in free-flow (uncongested) conditions are not based on speed limits but on actual trips made.
We also perform the same calculations for individual hours of each day of the week, so it’s possible to see how high congestion levels are in each city during the busiest times of the day, including morning and evening peak hours.
The TomTom Traffic index statistics are calculated from anonymized GPS data collected via navigation devices, in-dash systems and smartphones.
18-06-2019, 09:36 PM
People who indicate too early instead of after passing the last opening before the one they intend to turn into.
19-06-2019, 07:27 AM
People who indicate too early instead of after passing the last opening before the one they intend to turn into.
People waiting at traffic lights who intend to turn right but don't indicate until the lights change, by which time a long queue intending to go straight on has formed behind them. There should be large fines/horsewhipping/stocks with rotten fruit for this.
19-06-2019, 11:20 AM
People waiting at traffic lights who intend to turn right but don't indicate until the lights change, by which time a long queue intending to go straight on has formed behind them. There should be large fines/horsewhipping/stocks with rotten fruit for this.
You’re far too lenient, they should be dragged from their cars and shot. :greengrin
19-06-2019, 11:50 AM
An old favourite but middle lane drivers. I was on the M74 at the weekend and the number of people just sitting in the middle lane for no apparent reason is baffling. Are you overtaking? Is there anything within the next half mile or so you have to overtake? If the answer is no then move the **** over.
Also dickheads who park on the zig zag lines outside schools or speed near to schools.
19-06-2019, 12:00 PM
cyclist doing "leJog" and their support vans not using official Sustrans cycle routes and clogging up the A9 instead.
An old favourite but middle lane drivers. I was on the M74 at the weekend and the number of people just sitting in the middle lane for no apparent reason is baffling. Are you overtaking? Is there anything within the next half mile or so you have to overtake? If the answer is no then move the **** over.
Also dickheads who park on the zig zag lines outside schools or speed near to schools.
Add the drivers (90%) of them that still drive in the right hand lane when the greenways isn't operational, use the bloody lanes.
19-06-2019, 12:24 PM
Add the drivers (90%) of them that still drive in the right hand lane when the greenways isn't operational, use the bloody lanes.
It’s mental after all these years of the greenways being here that people still don’t use them properly. Last night on Slateford Road I was driving along in the greenway and the car in front of me turned into the petrol station from the right hand lane, cutting right across the front of me.
19-06-2019, 07:48 PM
It’s mental after all these years of the greenways being here that people still don’t use them properly. Last night on Slateford Road I was driving along in the greenway and the car in front of me turned into the petrol station from the right hand lane, cutting right across the front of me.
Was that a taxi as well? :greengrin
19-06-2019, 11:00 PM
Is the answer regarding middle lane hoggers not simply to move to the outside lane and overtake them? Or even better just stay in the outside lane and zoom past the lot of them as a matter of course [emoji2957]
With you on the ******* that park on the zig zag lines, totally selfish and happily putting others at risk at the same time.
20-06-2019, 06:30 AM
Is the answer regarding middle lane hoggers not simply to move to the outside lane and overtake them? Or even better just stay in the outside lane and zoom past the lot of them as a matter of course [emoji2957]
With you on the ******* that park on the zig zag lines, totally selfish and happily putting others at risk at the same time.
You should always drive in the left hand lane when the road ahead is clear on a motorway, so the real answer is for people to drive properly and not hog the middle lane.
20-06-2019, 08:05 AM
Was that a taxi as well? :greengrin
Certainly not :greengrin
20-06-2019, 09:31 AM
You should always drive in the left hand lane when the road ahead is clear on a motorway, so the real answer is for people to drive properly and not hog the middle lane.
Correct answer.
On a similar note, almost witnessed an almighty smash coming up the the Dunfermline turn off on the motorway the other night because a Vectra driver decided he'd sit in the overtaking lane at 60mph.
Eventually a white pick up lost patience and moved to undertake him, but didn't check their blind spot so it was only good driving on the part of the Mini driver that the pick up was about to side-swipe that stopped a high speed crash.
The pick up driver would have been at fault, but the root cause was the prick that sat in the overtaking lane oblivious to the problems they were causing behind them.
The rule is simple, stay to the left unless you're overtaking. Whether that's in a one, two, or three lane motorway it's basics.
20-06-2019, 04:57 PM
I drive 10 miles to work every day on a nice to drive A road. It's not unusual to see some pretty dodgy overtaking, but 90% of the time it's provoked by people driving too slowly (45-50 instead of 60mph).
The worst are those that slow down to take bends (there's absolutely no need) then welly it when they have a bit of open road ahead of them.
20-06-2019, 05:37 PM
I drive 10 miles to work every day on a nice to drive A road. It's not unusual to see some pretty dodgy overtaking, but 90% of the time it's provoked by people driving too slowly (45-50 instead of 60mph).
The worst are those that slow down to take bends (there's absolutely no need) then welly it when they have a bit of open road ahead of them.
The one that gets on my nerves is folk who just drive at the same speed on roads where the speed limit varies.
I drive home some nights on a road that has a long stretch at 60, drops to 40 then passes through a residential area at 30 before it rises to 60 again. I've lost count of how many times I get stuck behind someone who just sits at 45mph through every single section.
The speed limit changes for a reason you imbecile.
Correct answer.
On a similar note, almost witnessed an almighty smash coming up the the Dunfermline turn off on the motorway the other night because a Vectra driver decided he'd sit in the overtaking lane at 60mph.
Eventually a white pick up lost patience and moved to undertake him, but didn't check their blind spot so it was only good driving on the part of the Mini driver that the pick up was about to side-swipe that stopped a high speed crash.
The pick up driver would have been at fault, but the root cause was the prick that sat in the overtaking lane oblivious to the problems they were causing behind them.
The rule is simple, stay to the left unless you're overtaking. Whether that's in a one, two, or three lane motorway it's basics.
totally agree :top marks
20-06-2019, 06:25 PM
Correct answer.
You may be doing them a disservice in saying they are oblivious. Some of these people do it to keep speed limits to where they think they should be. Knobs!
I drive a wee van regularly.
The national speed limit is different for them, which is rather annoying.
50 for single carriageways
60 dual carriageways.
Please be patient!
20-06-2019, 06:56 PM
When you're waiting to turn right but there's a cyclist in the oncoming traffic who has decided to stop peddling and enjoy the view.
patch1875
20-06-2019, 08:06 PM
60 dual carriageways.
Please be patient!
That only applies to larger vans.
20-06-2019, 08:14 PM
60 dual carriageways.
Please be patient!
I'm not speaking about vehicules with speed restricitions. I regularly fall on HGVs, school buses and tractors galore depending on the season. There are people doing their jobs and, even though it doesn't always suit me, they're entitled to be on the road too.
I'm speaking about people, often in pretty decent cars, who drive badly.
20-06-2019, 08:46 PM
I wish there would be more bus lane patrols or cameras. Too many folk get away with using them everyday within the hours of operation and then try to push into your line at the last second.
speedy_gonzales
20-06-2019, 09:29 PM
Nope, I drive a small van (Transit Connect), I'm limited to 70 on motorways, 60 on national speed limit dual carriageways(where cars are 70) and 50 on single carriageway NSL (cars 60).
Would you like to pay my fine? lol
20-06-2019, 11:22 PM
Correct answer.
"Almost witnessed"
What does that really mean?
Had my eyes closed?
Was a tad away from being an annoying religious fanatic?
Dyslexic nearly ****faced?
I admit I've had a few glasses of my favourite vino tinto tonight, and a couple of vino blanco now that the missus has retired to her crypt, but I'm confused here.
Are you a Vectra driver, the pickup driver with the lack of patience, or Mini Driver?
I'm guessing not ' the prick in the Vectra', so that leaves the redneck truck driver (unlikely as your spelling is pretty decent) or you are Mini Driver.
No offence, but spell your name correctly in future, and don't bother with words and stuff.
Just pictures.
Probably most are blocked here, so fair do's.
Links then.
21-06-2019, 05:15 AM
"Almost witnessed"
Had my eyes closed?
I admit I've had a few glasses of my favourite vino tinto tonight, and a couple of vino blanco now that the missus has retired to her crypt, but I'm confused here.
Are you a Vectra driver, the pickup driver with the lack of patience, or Mini Driver?
I'm guessing not ' the prick in the Vectra', so that leaves the redneck truck driver (unlikely as your spelling is pretty decent) or you are Mini Driver.
No offence, but spell your name correctly in future, and don't bother with words and stuff.
Just pictures.
Links then.
"A few glasses..." :greengrin
patch1875
21-06-2019, 05:48 AM
Nope, I drive a small van (Transit Connect), I'm limited to 70 on motorways, 60 on national speed limit dual carriageways(where cars are 70) and 50 on single carriageway NSL (cars 60).
So it is! Small car based vans are allowed, I've got a Custom maybe better slow down a bit!
I wish there would be more bus lane patrols or cameras. Too many folk get away with using them everyday within the hours of operation and then try to push into your line at the last second.
They've just added another 3-4 in Edinburgh, Commercial St, Liberton Rd, Calder Rd and Glasgow Rd. Also all speed cameras that are now in 20 zones have been covered up and police speed guns will take over so be warned in those areas.
21-06-2019, 07:29 AM
When drivers queuing waiting to turn right take the piss and keep on coming long after their lights have turned red. Your lights turn to green and you move off only to have another straggler drive right across in front of you.
21-06-2019, 09:23 AM
"Almost witnessed"
Had my eyes closed?
Just pictures.
Links then.
I was driving the car behind the Mini, so saw the whole thing unfold.
I car share with a mate from work, and we called out the bad driving from the Vectra driver a good minute before the white pick up lost patience with them.
21-06-2019, 06:21 PM
Just pictures.
01-07-2019, 12:12 PM
Lorries overtaking other lorries on Motorways and holding up everyone else.
01-07-2019, 09:56 PM
Ahh yes because their limiter allows them to go 1-2mph faster so they take an age to get past..
While I appreciate the dude who can go 2% quicker wants to do so I’m always curious why the truck being overtaken just doesn’t lift slightly to let the dude get past and back in...do they all sit there and seethe that they are being overtaken so force the other one to crawl past for as long as possible?
01-07-2019, 11:06 PM
Absolute pricks. :agree:
02-07-2019, 06:44 AM
Ahh yes because their limiter allows them to go 1-2mph faster so they take an age to get past..
While I appreciate the dude who can go 2% quicker wants to do so I’m always curious why the truck being overtaken just doesn’t lift slightly to let the dude get past and back in...do they all sit there and seethe that they are being overtaken so force the other one to crawl past for as long as possible?
That would be a good idea. :agree:
The only reason I can think of is that they're under instruction/monitoring to get from A to B as quickly and fuel efficiently as possible to the point of not wanting any minor speed reduction on journeys.
Seems silly on an individual basis, but wouldn't surprise me if someone has worked out that across their network of lorries driving every day that such a policy is worthwhile.
02-07-2019, 05:12 PM
That would be a good idea. :agree:
The only reason I can think of is that they're under instruction/monitoring to get from A to B as quickly and fuel efficiently as possible to the point of not wanting any minor speed reduction on journeys.
Seems silly on an individual basis, but wouldn't surprise me if someone has worked out that across their network of lorries driving every day that such a policy is worthwhile.
If lift and coast is good enough for Lewis Hamilton then surely it can be good enough for the slower trucks to do so for a mighty 30 seconds to allow another pal to pass.
Just never see it happening though and defo a pet peeve for me as well.
Always seem to to wait until they’re at the bottom of a hill to do this, so end up going even slower as they plough up the hill.
heading west from newbridge to Livingston on the M8, it can take the full stretch of motorway for 1 lorry to overtake another going uphill, a stretch that should take around 5-6 minutes takes 15 :grr:
03-07-2019, 07:32 AM
Volvo drivers, drive me nuts, driven by people that cant bloody drive, if theres someone in front of you in the fast lane thats slowing you down, its a bloody volvo driver. Does my nut in. Worst drivers on the road. If you cant drive take the bike you twats.
03-07-2019, 10:33 AM
Volvo drivers, drive me nuts, driven by people that cant bloody drive, if theres someone in front of you in the fast lane thats slowing you down, its a bloody volvo driver. Does my nut in. Worst drivers on the road. If you cant drive take the bike you twats.
Imagine what it would be like if you were behind them in the fast lane when they are on a bike.
I've stopped letting lorries out.
Im the same with busses in bus stops, if they can’t be bothered to get into the bus stop properly and not block the road, then I’ll not bother to make their lives easier either
04-07-2019, 09:47 PM
Driving behind a car where the occupants are "blazing" and the smell infiltrates your car for as long as you're behind them. I'm finding this happens quite often now. I cant stand the smell of it and I get random drug tests at my work. Try explaining that one away if you provide a positive sample!! Ah yes I remember now boss, I was following a car full of stoners :smokin
05-07-2019, 04:52 AM
Driving behind a car where the occupants are "blazing" and the smell infiltrates your car for as long as you're behind them. I'm finding this happens quite often now. I cant stand the smell of it and I get random drug tests at my work. Try explaining that one away if you provide a positive sample!! Ah yes I remember now boss, I was following a car full of stoners :smokinhow are the tests performed? I doubt that would show up.
05-07-2019, 08:28 AM
Driving behind a car where the occupants are "blazing" and the smell infiltrates your car for as long as you're behind them. I'm finding this happens quite often now. I cant stand the smell of it and I get random drug tests at my work. Try explaining that one away if you provide a positive sample!! Ah yes I remember now boss, I was following a car full of stoners :smokin
I catch a whiff of the smell all over the place now. If I'm walking for any more than about 15 minutes I reckon I catch a smell of it. I can't say I've ever saw people smoking it in a moving car though, whether that's drivers or passengers.
05-07-2019, 08:36 AM
how are the tests performed? I doubt that would show up.
Urine samples are taken as run of the mill random screens but if you've been involved in an operational incident then blood can be taken and tested.
05-07-2019, 08:38 AM
I catch a whiff of the smell all over the place now. If I'm walking for any more than about 15 minutes I reckon I catch a smell of it. I can't say I've ever saw people smoking it in a moving car though, whether that's drivers or passengers.
It is everywhere these days and it appears that drug driving is on the rise too. :rolleyes:
Rattler
05-07-2019, 10:20 AM
Used to drive a Volvo regularly as part of my job, and still have one of my own. Would like to wager that I’m not any worse a driver than you are! 🤫
05-07-2019, 06:19 PM
Urine samples are taken as run of the mill random screens but if you've been involved in an operational incident then blood can be taken and tested.I very much doubt either of which would show up what you said in your original post. I would hope not.
05-07-2019, 07:11 PM
Urine samples are taken as run of the mill random screens but if you've been involved in an operational incident then blood can be taken and tested.
https://www.tuc.org.uk/resource/drug-testing-workplace
More importantly drug testing does not address the real issue, which is the ability of the worker to function safely. Unlike alcohol testing, drug testing cannot tell you the likely effect of a drug on the person at a particular time. A more relevant test is an impairment test which gives an indication of whether a person’s abilities have been impaired by drink or drugs. These tests also do not just tell if a person’s abilities have been impaired by illegal drugs, but also by legal ones, which can be a bigger safety concern.
This sounds like a sensible approach instead of but it's an illegal substance there's the door son.
05-07-2019, 09:40 PM
It’s not so much a driving peeve, but why do people buy these ultra cheap cars? Dacia and some of these cars from the Far East. For the money you spend on a new one of these horrendous cars you can buy so many good used cars that will look, drive and last longer. Every time I see one I just think why have you bought that.
05-07-2019, 10:34 PM
A guy at my work a few years back tested positive for small trace of opium, so small they were sure he wasn't shooting up. I'm sure it took a few weeks to work out but turned out he ate some snacks that contained poppy seeds or something and that's what flagged.
It’s not so much a driving peeve, but why do people buy these ultra cheap cars? Dacia and some of these cars from the Far East. For the money you spend on a new one of these horrendous cars you can buy so many good used cars that will look, drive and last longer. Every time I see one I just think why have you bought that.
Are you some sort of car snob? Why would you care what someone else is driving
06-07-2019, 09:45 AM
When your overtaking and some twat pulls out last minute causing you to brake then gets all arsy when you flash him for being a dangerous ****.
06-07-2019, 09:47 AM
Dacia is meant to be a pretty top car...but heh, what do the experts know.
https://www.topgear.com/car-reviews/dacia/duster
06-07-2019, 10:02 AM
You’re far too lenient, they should be dragged from their cars and shot. :greengrinTHIS!! Please note white BMW driver eastbound at (what used to be) Meadowbank stadium. Arrggh.
06-07-2019, 12:49 PM
People who give me that look as I load the shopping into the boot whilst parked in a disabled space whilst displaying a blue badge at the Gyle. Then I join the wife and her Mum in Morrisons cafe for a coffee before we wheel her back to the car in her wheelchair. Even had one interfering old busy body ask me sarcastically if I was disabled.
06-07-2019, 01:10 PM
People who give me that look as I load the shopping into the boot whilst parked in a disabled space whilst displaying a blue badge at the Gyle. Then I join the wife and her Mum in Morrisons cafe for a coffee before we wheel her back to the car in her wheelchair. Even had one interfering old busy body ask me sarcastically if I was disabled.
Just give him the mad stare and say not all disabilities are physical.
06-07-2019, 01:33 PM
I don’t mind this, it’s a wee bit of self policing. If you have a genuine reason then it takes two seconds to tell the ‘old busy body’ the perfectly legit reason you are there.
That same busy body has hopefully put a few other more selfish types from taking advantage in future.
06-07-2019, 01:35 PM
Used to drive a Volvo regularly as part of my job, and still have one of my own. Would like to wager that I’m not any worse a driver than you are! [emoji2958]
I think this is defo one of my driving pet peeves. Drivers who decide because of what brand of car you drive what kind of driver and person you are. I find it extremely odd.
It also seems to cover a wide range of marques. From Volvo to BMW to Audi etc!
06-07-2019, 02:43 PM
Are you some sort of car snob? Why would you care what someone else is driving
It’s a pet peeve thread. I just don’t understand why someone would want to buy one of those cars when for the same money you can buy a much better car.
06-07-2019, 02:45 PM
Dacia is meant to be a pretty top car...but heh, what do the experts know.
https://www.topgear.com/car-reviews/dacia/duster
**** all if they’re recommending people buy one of those.
06-07-2019, 04:24 PM
I don’t mind this, it’s a wee bit of self policing. If you have a genuine reason then it takes two seconds to tell the ‘old busy body’ the perfectly legit reason you are there.
That same busy body has hopefully put a few other more selfish types from taking advantage in future.
You think people who quality to use a blue badge welcome people questioning them about their disability? I think not, people should mind their own.
06-07-2019, 05:09 PM
You think people who quality to use a blue badge welcome people questioning them about their disability? I think not, people should mind their own.
Fair enough. I don’t see it as questioning the disability though merely the right to park there.
I’ve been challenged a few times over the years when driving the old boy about. I simply point out the blue badge and tell them it’s for the old man.
Never bothered me a bit but hey it’s a free world and it’s a pet peeve thread so I’ll leave you to your peeve [emoji106][emoji2957]
speedy_gonzales
06-07-2019, 09:36 PM
People should mind their own, but then again there is a perception that blue badge abuse is rife so folk will stick their nose in.
I do it myself, I see a car pull in to a blue badge spot and see a young fit guy/girl run in to the store. I'll ask if they're aware that it was a blue badge space, not once have they said it was theirs. It's always "I'll only be two minutes" or "there's loads of spaces", the best one was the guy that pulled an Ali G and proceeded to walk with a cartoon limp,,,, fair play to him.
Like yourself, I drive relations once in a while who have blue badges. I choose to drop them off near the store then park somewhere else. I don't need the blue badge space and would rather it be left for someone that actually needs it.
06-07-2019, 10:30 PM
People should mind their own, but then again there is a perception that blue badge abuse is rife so folk will stick their nose in.
I do it myself, I see a car pull in to a blue badge spot and see a young fit guy/girl run in to the store. I'll ask if they're aware that it was a blue badge space, not once have they said it was theirs. It's always "I'll only be two minutes" or "there's loads of spaces", the best one was the guy that pulled an Ali G and proceeded to walk with a cartoon limp,,,, fair play to him.
Like yourself, I drive relations once in a while who have blue badges. I choose to drop them off near the store then park somewhere else. I don't need the blue badge space and would rather it be left for someone that actually needs it.
I need to park in the space to get the wheelchair right up to the car, people often have a vision as to how old and how infirm people need to look to have a blue badge which is totally wrong. I always remember Dan Biddle (he survived the tube bombing with severe injuries) telling me a story. He lost both of his legs amongst other severe injuries, he’s a well built lad and from the waist up sitting in his BMW he looks like a fit rugby playing type of guy. He draws into a blue badge bay in a supermarket and is talking on his phone before getting out. An elderly couple walk past his open window and tell him he has no right parking there, at which point he throws the door open and they see he has no legs, of they scuttled red faced. He laughs when he tells the story, it does kind of prove how folk shouldn’t jump to conclusions.😂
06-07-2019, 10:30 PM
Quite right.
I've had similar parking in a parent and child space a few times.
A couple of weeks back, I pulled up into a P&C space in Tesco - got out on my own, and walked into the supermarket to the absolute rage of some middle-aged woman who was coming out the shop at the same time. How very ****ing dare I take that space from someone that might need it...
As I exited 2 minutes later with my wife, and daughter in my arms, opening the door to put her in her car seat, she drove by and I simply smiled at her and waved. She rolled her window down and was incredibly apologetic for her behaviour.
Far too many people hell-bent on making something their business when it's absolutely not.
I think the blue badge scheme is perhaps the most abused scheme there is, driving or anything else.
Having been involved in it's evolution, for want of a better word,
Previously I wasn't too bothered but some of the stories I heard as evidence for change really made me quite angry.
07-07-2019, 06:48 AM
car parks in general are a massive peeve of mine.
1. badly designed. so that cars and pedestrians always mix.
2. spaces too small for modern cars.
3. every one drives far to fast in them.
4. pedestrians never ever consider the above fact and instead think they can swan about with zero responsibility.
and additionally on the above posts; there is usually far too many bays marked for P and C and disabled which often sit empty while you struggle to get a space or have to walk miles. that said, I wouldn't care if they fixed my other points.
07-07-2019, 10:27 AM
I think the blue badge scheme is perhaps the most abused scheme there is, driving or anything else.
Having been involved in it's evolution, for want of a better word,
Previously I wasn't too bothered but some of the stories I heard as evidence for change really made me quite angry.
The abuse of the blue badge is something that should be addressed, I think it only takes a letter from a doctor. A former neighbour of mine had one, but was able to walk the mile and three quarters from home to the supermarket in town.
07-07-2019, 10:29 AM
4. pedestrians never ever consider the above fact and instead think they can swan about with zero responsibility.
and additionally on the above posts; there is usually far too many bays marked for P and C and disabled which often sit empty while you struggle to get a space or have to walk miles. that said, I wouldn't care if they fixed my other points.
A retail park in Perth has just had a full redesign of the car park, spaces are still 2.4m wide but at least there are more walkways and crossing points, however I don't know why there are not walkways between each back to back rows of parking, we all have to walk from the car to the shops.
07-07-2019, 08:08 PM
Too many p and c? Most of them have too few!!
07-07-2019, 08:54 PM
Too many p and c? Most of them have too few!!I included them with disabled spaces as a percentage.
like I said, I don't really care if they fixed the rest of the issues.
07-07-2019, 09:35 PM
You need more than a doctor's letter to aquire blue badge.Need to fill in application form with all relevant information but does not mean you will get blue badge.You may be asked to go for an assessment which can say yes or no.
Alfiembra
08-07-2019, 10:19 AM
Not sure if this belongs here or Pet Peeves.
But roadside verges, kerbs, embankments and central reservations, what a state they are in completely overgrown and full of weeds. The council should hang their heads in shame, what sort of message does it send out to visitors to our city if they can’t even keep the weeds down and cut the grass. Not asking for bowling greens either side of the road but they really are a mess.
08-07-2019, 11:11 AM
But roadside verges, kerbs, embankments and central reservations, what a state they are in completely overgrown and full of weeds. The council should hang their heads in shame, what sort of message does it send out to visitors to our city if they can’t even keep the weeds down and cut the grass. Not asking for bowling greens either side of the road but they really are a mess.
I take it that this is Edinburgh. All local authorities have had to reduce grass cutting due to budget cuts. I live in a rural area and it used to be that verges were cut 3 times a year, now it's once. We have a group of volunteers who have taken up the care of paths around the town and countryside and I spent 2 hours last Thursday to clear long grass from a popular path.
There's also a duty on local authorities to protect biodiversity and some areas may be left for butterfly and bee meadows.
08-07-2019, 11:25 AM
In general I agree.
However a pet peeve of mine is people not bothering either.
Plenty of well kept from gardens in my street where people have weeds growing like crazy on the pavement outside...only takes a small amount of extra effort to do a wee bit on the pavement / keen to keep them in check as well.
I did mine and the old dear’s next door yesterday. Took about 20 mins to sweep and weed killer and rather near and tidy it looks too [emoji38]
11-07-2019, 02:05 PM
People who drive everywhere as if they are trying to set the fastest lap. Slow down for fecks sake, your overall gain on your commute home is minimal, so tailgating, undertaking, jumping lights, weaving in and out of traffic really is daft.
11-07-2019, 02:17 PM
Utter morons who have never been on a motorbike in their lives and yet can't wait to hire a scooter when they're on holiday. They then proceed to drive everywhere at about 20 mph whilst weaving about all over the road, braking on every corner and blissfully ignorant of the fact that wearing a crash helmet with shorts, vest top and flip flops is not really being responsible. One step up the evolutionary ladder from guys over 40 on a quad I suppose though.....
11-07-2019, 03:16 PM
People who drive everywhere as if they are trying to set the fastest lap. Slow down for fecks sake, your overall gain on your commute home is minimal, so tailgating, undertaking, jumping lights, weaving in and out of traffic really is daft.
I’ve never understood this either. You get people undertaking you in order to get one place ahead. It’s stupid and will make no difference to their journey time.
11-07-2019, 03:38 PM
I’ve never understood this either. You get people undertaking you in order to get one place ahead. It’s stupid and will make no difference to their journey time.
I really like the tits who try and force their way past everybody coming to the end of the M8. They then sit in the outside lane to get on the bypass. I pass them in the queue and they maybe pass me again about Lothianburn by bullying their way through.
12-07-2019, 03:13 PM
Granted I'm a new driver and I have had alot of people say you don't really learn to drive until you have passed as that couldn't be more true.
The amount of people that are on phones, don't indicate, speed and do what the **** they want is astonishing. I'm suprised there are not more accidents.
Granted I'm a new driver and I have had alot of people say you don't really learn to drive until you have passed as that couldn't be more true.
The amount of people that are on phones, don't indicate, speed and do what the **** they want is astonishing. I'm suprised there are not more accidents.
Broadly speaking, that these folks aren’t in more accidents is solely because of Other motorists driving skills, and sense of safety
12-07-2019, 10:35 PM
Broadly speaking, that these folks aren’t in more accidents is solely because of Other motorists driving skills, and sense of safety
13-07-2019, 07:05 PM
People who put the foot down when you go to overtake them, or who can't maintain a steady speed.
13-07-2019, 07:11 PM
People who can't understand traffic lights when some change to green with arrows for straight ahead or left/right and others on the lights stay red. They then sit behind you blasting their horn and gesticulating for you to go through a red light!
14-07-2019, 10:48 AM
People who put the foot down when you go to overtake them, or who can't maintain a steady speed.
I've just completed a 2000km journey in the caravan and this drives me nuts. I'm allowed to do 100kph when towing and set the cruise control at 100 exactly and every now and then I have to overtake someone doing 95, meaning I overtake at 5kph faster. For some reason many drivers can't bare to be overtaken by a caravan and put their foot down meaning I have to abort the overtaking manoeuvre only to find myself having to repeat the procedure with the same hoof****ing bungle**** 5 minutes later.
14-07-2019, 11:31 AM
It's not just cars or caravan towing *******s that this happens to. The number of time when on my bike I am slowly catching the car in front only to have to stick another 10mph on as I get just at the back of them. Fuds! What is the issue with being overtaken??
14-07-2019, 11:38 AM
It's not just cars or caravan towing *******s that this happens to. The number of time when on my bike I am slowly catching the car in front only to have to stick another 10mph on as I get just at the back of them. Fuds! What is the issue with being overtaken??
Apparently it’s a natural sub-conscious reaction, most of the time it’s not being done on purpose. Or so I read somewhere. :greengrin
14-07-2019, 08:49 PM
I've just completed a 2000km journey in the caravan and this drives me nuts. I'm allowed to do 100kph when towing and set the cruise control at 100 exactly and every now and then I have to overtake someone doing 95, meaning I overtake at 5kph faster. For some reason many drivers can't bare to be overtaken by a caravan and put their foot down meaning I have to abort the overtaking manoeuvre only to find myself having to repeat the procedure with the same hoof****ing bungle**** 5 minutes later.
People overtaking at 3mph faster than the inside lane is particularly annoying. Either speed up when overtaking or accept you're waiting behind.
14-07-2019, 09:37 PM
People overtaking at 3mph faster than the inside lane is particularly annoying. Either speed up when overtaking or accept you're waiting behind.
At 3mph I've overtaken in a matter of seconds. Why should I have to break the speed limit because some bungle**** in a car won't go above 95 when he could be driving 130 and the recommended speed is shown as 110? If it bothers those behind that much then they can use the 3rd lane.
15-07-2019, 11:47 AM
Where do you start, cyclists just seem to think they can do what the f*** they want, the deliveroo are just so dangerous on the roads and pavements, if I acted like that while driving my car I would get banned from driving, why do cyclists think they can go from road to pavement to any lane they want, they need to brush up on the Highway Code.
Tour buses, seems to be hundreds of them in the capital these days and please Don't get me started on the bottom of the bridges as you turn on to princess street, taxis cars and buses jostling for a place, time the police done something about it, is it even a taxi rank and how are folk allowed to park there fancy cars there.
Worst offenders are private hire cars in Edinburgh, they just don't seem to care how they drive.
Rant over.
Away to drive through the town, what a nightmare, I would consider the bypass but that is a hit and miss at any time of the day and night.
15-07-2019, 02:16 PM
Where do you start, cyclists just seem to think they can do what the f*** they want, the deliveroo are just so dangerous on the roads and pavements, if I acted like that while driving my car I would get banned from driving, why do cyclists think they can go from road to pavement to any lane they want, they need to brush up on the Highway Code.
Tour buses, seems to be hundreds of them in the capital these days and please Don't get me started on the bottom of the bridges as you turn on to princess street, taxis cars and buses jostling for a place, time the police done something about it, is it even a taxi rank and how are folk allowed to park there fancy cars there.
Worst offenders are private hire cars in Edinburgh, they just don't seem to care how they drive.
Rant over.
Away to drive through the town, what a nightmare, I would consider the bypass but that is a hit and miss at any time of the day and night.
Agree. They can often been seen pulling stunts such as doing 40-50mph in 30 zones with fares in the back or just stopping on single carriageways to pick up/drop off fares, they think stopping and putting their hazards on makes it ok and every other driver knows what they are doing, never mind the fact they are blocking the road... The Milton road being a favourite for them for racing along well above the speed limit. Professional drivers my arse.
15-07-2019, 03:15 PM
Agree. They can often been seen pulling stunts such as doing 40-50mph in 30 zones with fares in the back or just stopping on single carriageways to pick up/drop off fares, they think stopping and putting their hazards on makes it ok and every other driver knows what they are doing, never mind the fact they are blocking the road... The Milton road being a favourite for them for racing along well above the speed limit. Professional drivers my arse.
You’ve just described a black cab 😁
pollution
15-07-2019, 04:42 PM
Rant over.
FWIW I live near the bypass and before using it I check Scottish Traffic Cameras to see if it is busy.
15-07-2019, 06:21 PM
You’ve just described a black cab 😁
J-C and Lord whats his name will be along in 3, 2, 1.......:greengrin
15-07-2019, 06:41 PM
I don't know if you still get them in the UK, but those folks who sit at traffic lights with a dirty rag and a squeegee who aggressively offer to clean your windscreen. My car could be just out of the wash and these pricks will still be trying to run their hustle. What part of **** off don't they get?
18-07-2019, 08:18 AM
Folk that lean on their horn while having no idea what the reason the traffic isn't moving.
Tuesday in Perth I approached traffic lights at Barrack Street from the High Street, at the lights there are 3 lanes, 1 left and 2 straight ahead, but before the Police station there is a yellow box junction and before that only 2 lanes. I wan to go straight ahead before turning left further on so want to go into the middle lane (inside of the 2 ahead lanes) but it is full to the box junction so I wait, there is space in the outer lane, but the boy racer moron in the dropped Fiesta behind starts leaning on the horn because I won't go into the box to allow him to move forward into the outer lane. Then another horn starts until there were 3 or 4 different horns going. The lights changed so I waited until the traffic ahead starts to move by which time boy racer is full on satchmo with the horn.
The lights were red you total moron, nobody was going anywhere until they changed to green.
and relax :greengrin
18-07-2019, 10:34 AM
Folk that lean on their horn while having no idea what the reason the traffic isn't moving.
Tuesday in Perth I approached traffic lights at Barrack Street from the High Street, at the lights there are 3 lanes, 1 left and 2 straight ahead, but before the Police station there is a yellow box junction and before that only 2 lanes. I wan to go straight ahead before turning left further on so want to go into the middle lane (inside of the 2 ahead lanes) but it is full to the box junction so I wait, there is space in the outer lane, but the boy racer moron in the dropped Fiesta behind starts leaning on the horn because I won't go into the box to allow him to move forward into the outer lane. Then another horn starts until there were 3 or 4 different horns going. The lights changed so I waited until the traffic ahead starts to move by which time boy racer is full on satchmo with the horn.
The lights were red you total moron, nobody was going anywhere until they changed to green.
and relax :greengrin
Why don't these clowns leave enough space so they can drive round you? I was told to always do this, somebody might stall, change their mind, break down or whatever and you can be on your way with minimal delay.
whiskas
18-07-2019, 10:56 AM
Tyres and tarmac!
22-07-2019, 02:20 PM
The junction on Lanark Road West where you can turn off to go to the Longstone Sainsbury’s. Going up Lanark Road West towards Balerno there’s two lanes. At the junction the right hand lane is turn right or straight on with the left lane straight on only. Normally the left lane would be best to be in to go straight on but there’s always cars parked in that lane. For that reason I wait the 5 extra seconds it takes to wait on someone turning right before I continue on. Some folk won’t know about the parked cars but I bet the majority of cretins prefer to save that 5 seconds and then have to force their way into my lane.
22-07-2019, 06:05 PM
Drivers that don't understand merge in turns.
22-07-2019, 07:03 PM
Drivers that don't understand merge in turns.
Is that based on my peeve? If so, Lanark Road West is two separate lanes but due to cars parked in the left lane most of the way up it’s only of use to the busses to come in and out of at bus stops. The specific bit at the junction my post was talking about has no merge in, cars have to invariably do it because of the parked cars.
22-07-2019, 07:13 PM
Not a peeve but a motoring joy :greengrin
The van that ran the red light on Queensferry Road at quality street, I thought it was madness especially when that plain white BMW X5 followed you through. though to be fair just as he passed me he turned on his blues and twos..................... nailed by an unmarked :aok:
22-07-2019, 10:50 PM
Not a peeve but a motoring joy :greengrin
The van that ran the red light on Queensferry Road at quality street, I thought it was madness especially when that plain white BMW X5 followed you through. though to be fair just as he passed me he turned on his blues and twos..................... nailed by an unmarked :aok:
That’s peak motoring joy. :agree: