View Full Version : Driving Pet Peeves
Pages :
[
11]
17-03-2022, 06:22 PM
Having just had a look online I’ve apparently got a 66l tank so I’ve no idea how I filled it for £67 :dunno:
Think how much fuel you must use lugging 66l around! [emoji12]
17-03-2022, 06:51 PM
Having just had a look online I’ve apparently got a 66l tank so I’ve no idea how I filled it for £67 :dunno:
Was it half full when you got there? :greengrin
17-03-2022, 07:23 PM
If this fuel price fiasco keeps going I'm just not going to be able to afford running my car soon.
17-03-2022, 07:43 PM
My Kia has a 70 litre tank, it would cost £125 odd to fill which fills me with dread.
Like Hermit says, it’s going to be unaffordable.
I do 60 miles a day just on the commute, that can very quickly jump to over 100.
According to the gov website they take about 70p in duty for every litre of fuel sold. It’s a piss take. They would make such a difference by cutting that to even just half, and take the shortfall off the oil companies as a windfall tax.
18-03-2022, 08:52 AM
My Kia has a 70 litre tank, it would cost £125 odd to fill which fills me with dread.
Like Hermit says, it’s going to be unaffordable.
I do 60 miles a day just on the commute, that can very quickly jump to over 100.
According to the gov website they take about 70p in duty for every litre of fuel sold. It’s a piss take. They would make such a difference by cutting that to even just half, and take the shortfall off the oil companies as a windfall tax.
I drive from Dunfermline to Edinburgh and back for my nightshifts, its easily £20 of petrol a time and that can be 6 night a week some weeks if overtime is involved. I only have a 1.4 Auris but the fuel prices are killing me.
Paulie Walnuts
18-03-2022, 10:12 AM
Was it half full when you got there? :greengrin
I could have sworn it was £67 but I’m now thinking it can’t have been anything like that.
That makes me even more terrified to fill my car up next time!
Alfiembra
18-03-2022, 12:24 PM
Fill your car full £120
Drive off without paying
6 weeks later receive £50 fine through the post
Saving £70
PM me for more financial advice.
18-03-2022, 02:26 PM
I drive from Dunfermline to Edinburgh and back for my nightshifts, its easily £20 of petrol a time and that can be 6 night a week some weeks if overtime is involved. I only have a 1.4 Auris but the fuel prices are killing me.
You going via Dundee? I'd imagine you'd get 50 mpg.
18-03-2022, 04:20 PM
You going via Dundee? I'd imagine you'd get 50 mpg.
Its that E10 petrol, doesn't last at all.
18-03-2022, 04:48 PM
Its that E10 petrol, doesn't last at all.
I put E5 in and get about 20% better mileage than that pish stuff.
18-03-2022, 05:03 PM
I put E5 in and get about 20% better mileage than that pish stuff.
I just canny afford to keep filling up with E5, the prices are ridiculous.
18-03-2022, 05:53 PM
I just canny afford to keep filling up with E5, the prices are ridiculous.
It will save you money if you improve your mpg by more than the price difference.
19-03-2022, 11:40 AM
It will save you money if you improve your mpg by more than the price difference.
Not a clue about this. Should I be filling up with E5 instead of E10?
19-03-2022, 01:24 PM
E10 is the new stuff that is cut with bioethanol which is less efficient than standard petrol, so you have to burn more to get to where you’re going.
Can't remember which is which but superunleaded is the dearer one but far better quality petrol which is better for your engine, it runs better on the dearer fuel, hence it can save you money in the long term.
Alfiembra
20-03-2022, 06:35 AM
I’m no mathematician but from what I’ve read, mostly on here, that when using E10 fuel mpg has dropped by about 10%.
Ive seen E5, or premium fuel, priced at about 10% more expensive than E10. So does that even things out?
Also I believe that if you are using E10 regularly, motoring organisations recommend that you occasionally give your car a fill of E5 for the benefit of your engine. There are extra additives in the premium fuels that help keep your engine clean and run more efficiently, allegedly!
20-03-2022, 07:47 AM
In my unscientific studies I've found I get just over 500 miles out of a tankful of E5. When E10 was introduced I used it for a couple of tanks worth and got around 420 miles. Engine coughed and spluttered with E10 but no issues with E5.
Not filled tank in a few weeks when price difference was around 5%.
20-03-2022, 08:08 AM
I assume it's okay to mix the two standards of petrol?
I could be tempted to try the premium stuff to see if it makes any noticeable difference to MPG, but if I have 1/4 tank of the E10 in there already is it okay? Presumably it will be fine, but would mean the first run of premium was slightly cut by the cheap stuff and so wouldn't make as noticeable a difference until it's fully flushed out and I'm just running on the premium?
20-03-2022, 08:19 AM
People who coast when reducing their speed rather than braking. I travel a road to work that multiple changes of speed limit and it's ****ing infuriating to not get the advance warning of a brake light.With fuel prices as they are and for the environment in general, I always either change down gear or coast before braking where it's possible to do so.
Sent from my SM-A505FN using Tapatalk
20-03-2022, 08:35 AM
I assume it's okay to mix the two standards of petrol?
I could be tempted to try the premium stuff to see if it makes any noticeable difference to MPG, but if I have 1/4 tank of the E10 in there already is it okay? Presumably it will be fine, but would mean the first run of premium was slightly cut by the cheap stuff and so wouldn't make as noticeable a difference until it's fully flushed out and I'm just running on the premium?
Both grades can be in your tank.
Maybe get a bit E7.5 fuel consumption
speedy_gonzales
20-03-2022, 12:25 PM
With regards to E10, try to avoid using in 2-stroke engines including chain saws & lawnmowers. The higher ethanol content has been known to "dissolve" any plastics or pipes in the motor. Especially as those kinds of engines have fuel lying in them for some time in between uses
With fuel prices as they are and for the environment in general, I always either change down gear or coast before braking where it's possible to do so.
cheaper on fuel and on brakes, I do the same
Also (not you hibrandenbergj), Surely there’s signage etc when there’s a change in speed on a road, seems a bit poor having a moan at others for being prepared for it and not needing to brake if you’ve not been paying attention to the signs, and if you know the speed limit changes, why do you need someone else braking to warn you?
20-03-2022, 03:46 PM
If this fuel price fiasco keeps going I'm just not going to be able to afford running my car soon.
Me and the wife are entitled to bus passes and we will be applying for them asap, just running the car to the shops doctors hospital visits can be pricey, we would get rid of the car but need it to visit our sons who are out of town.
20-03-2022, 04:38 PM
Me and the wife are entitled to bus passes and we will be applying for them asap, just running the car to the shops doctors hospital visits can be pricey, we would get rid of the car but need it to visit our sons who are out of town.
Could you join the city car club? I think it's a good idea for occasional use of a car.
20-03-2022, 04:48 PM
On the E5/10 discussion, my wife is totally clueless it's even a thing, I don't even remember the last time she's been in a garage but she mentioned to me last week that there must be something wrong with the car as it seems to be guzzling petrol, she even had a neighbour check under the car for a leak!
Might try that E10 and see if she notices!
20-03-2022, 08:34 PM
On the E5/10 discussion, my wife is totally clueless it's even a thing, I don't even remember the last time she's been in a garage but she mentioned to me last week that there must be something wrong with the car as it seems to be guzzling petrol, she even had a neighbour check under the car for a leak!
Might try that E10 and see if she notices!
Surely it's the E10 that's reduced the mpg?
20-03-2022, 09:25 PM
Surely it's the E10 that's reduced the mpg?Oops....maybe lol... I mean the 'other' one , whatever it is i know its a wee bit more expensive! :greengrin
21-03-2022, 03:45 PM
Witnessed the @rsiest manoeuvre I've seen since I saw two cars pass the same car simultaneously the one on the right passing both others in a narrow 2 lane road.
2 cars trying to join A71 from a slip. It's a bad junction as the cars are coming to join from below the main road so don't know/can't see traffic. Joiner 1 expected the car on the road to stop and let them in and kept driving rather than slowing down. So idiot one can't recognise a Give Way.... When the car in front of me broke suddenly to avoid a collision, the second car on the slip - also not slowing down, nipped out in front of the car on the main road that had just slowed right down, while also overtaking Joiner 1 who then stopped dead, forcing the car with the right of way to swerve to overtake and was able to thankfully as no traffic was coming in the opposite lane.
27-03-2022, 09:05 PM
20mph limit through Jedburgh on the A68. You're not even in the town centre!!!!
Then you get to the Edinburgh City bypass before sherrifhall roundabout, Sunday afternoon!!!
28-03-2022, 12:39 PM
With fuel prices as they are and for the environment in general, I always either change down gear or coast before braking where it's possible to do so.
I failed my first driving test, many moons ago for this. The examiner put down ‘using gears to slow the vehicle’.
Not a reprimand but just a point of interest. :greengrin
28-03-2022, 01:50 PM
I failed my first driving test, many moons ago for this. The examiner put down ‘using gears to slow the vehicle’.
Not a reprimand but just a point of interest. :greengrinTechnology has moved on since the Model T. :wink:
08-04-2022, 08:55 AM
4D number plates. What a colossal, pointless, ugly waste of money.
08-04-2022, 09:25 AM
4D number plates. What a colossal, pointless, ugly waste of money.
Had to look this up.
4D plates are one step up from the 3D number plates, and give your plate a new level of depth and make a unique statement on the roads. Whereas 3D features slightly raised characters, the 4D alternative features laser-cut acrylic numbers and letters bonded to the plate using an adhesive to give a striking raised effect
I've no doubt they are ugly, but to me the worst thing is that whoever named them obviously hasn't the first clue what a dimension is.
08-04-2022, 09:29 AM
Had to look this up.
I've no doubt they are ugly, but to me the worst thing is that whoever named them obviously hasn't the first clue what a dimension is.
About £100 a pop too. Nobody has ever looked at a car and said "It's lovely, but the number plate lettering isn't raised enough".
They're a bit chavvy IMHO.
08-04-2022, 11:03 AM
Had to look this up.
"A unique statement" right enough 😉
14-04-2022, 01:27 PM
Drivers who can’t turn a car into a left hand turn without throwing a wide arc and entering the outside lane to do it. See it every day.
14-04-2022, 01:31 PM
Idiots that tailgate you when you're doing the speed limit, Sitting in my boot won't make me go faster. Pricks.
The young lassie in the VW Golf that drove round the wrong side of a mini roundabout in Dunfermline just to overtake a bus then shoot off at about twice the speed limit. Not clever lass and with driving like that you'll end on a slab, or your passengers will.
14-04-2022, 02:19 PM
Folk that cut you up at Harry Lauder (the Range) where they go along the left only lane right to the end before chopping over and then blaming you for not letting them in. Maniacs.
speedy_gonzales
14-04-2022, 02:24 PM
Drivers who can’t turn a car into a left hand turn without throwing a wide arc and entering the outside lane to do it. See it every day.
Uncanny, I was going to post similar a couple of days ago.
Witnessed a car in front of me take a left turn, but just before they turned left, they turned right to widen the arc and almost hit oncoming traffic. I've seen similar happen before, but this was bloody close!
14-04-2022, 11:30 PM
Had a bit of a nightmare getting back from the gym today as the police had blocked off the roads approaching Broomhouse due to an accident.
Anyway, the police had blocked off the road at Broomhouse Rd and Forrester Park Avenue. The guy two in front simply ignored it, drove round the traffic island, back into the blocked off lane - then realised he couldn’t go anywhere. The two police officers looked like they were going to read the riot act with him.
14-04-2022, 11:38 PM
Idiots that tailgate you when you're doing the speed limit, Sitting in my boot won't make me go faster. Pricks.
This is my main gripe. I feel around 90% of drivers speed. 30 in a 20, 35-40 in a 30. It’s everywhere, no matter where I go I can have a clear road behind me and within moments I’ve got some prick tailgating me. There’s no police on the roads any more though so not much of a deterrent anywhere.
Edinburgh and the Clowncil who have turned our once beautiful city into a huge car park, yesterday was an absolute nightmare with huge traffic jams in every direction, one cabbie had £60 on his meter for a simple job from Market St to Firhill, he obviously didn't charge here than, £20 I think. Another took 3.5 Hrs to go from RIE to Livingston on a set price fare, normally 40 mins or so.
15-04-2022, 07:06 AM
Started noticing people doing this when turning right as well. W. T. F.
speedy_gonzales
15-04-2022, 07:26 AM
Edinburgh and the Clowncil who have turned our once beautiful city into a huge car park, yesterday was an absolute nightmare with huge traffic jams in every direction, one cabbie had £60 on his meter for a simple job from Market St to Firhill, he obviously didn't charge here than, £20 I think. Another took 3.5 Hrs to go from RIE to Livingston on a set price fare, normally 40 mins or so.
I don't think you can blame the council for yesterdays congestion.
The bypass was closed by the Police after that lorry fire, forcing 1000's of extra cars per hour to navigate their way through the West of the city.
There were lots of tourists lost, seen a few caravans go up Woodhall Road thinking they could dodge the snarled up traffic through Colinton Village (they were wrong).
15-04-2022, 07:59 AM
Folk that cut you up at Harry Lauder (the Range) where they go along the left only lane right to the end before chopping over and then blaming you for not letting them in. Maniacs.
I never, ever let them in. There is probably the odd occasion that someone has made a mistake but 99% of the time it's chancers who are at it. Nothing better than when you get the perfect scenario of someone in the right lane not letting them in and the driver behind the offender in the left lane hammering the horn whilst Mr chancer sits raging with an indicator on. There's the odd time I've seen someone shamed enough that they are forced to continue up the left lane and turn the wrong way. It's beautiful when it happens.
15-04-2022, 08:02 AM
People who decide that post filling their car with fuel at the self service pumps is the perfect time to make a phone call, nip in to the store for a weekly shop, sort all the receipts in their wallet then have a 5 minute chat with the passenger.
Fill you car then **** off to one of the other parking spaces to do all the other ***** you need to do so the rest of us can get on with our day.
Just_Jimmy
15-04-2022, 08:49 AM
Folk who can't turn right into a junction without cutting the corner.
Usually its because they're driving far too fast. I had a woman tonight swerve to miss me as I was correctly positioned to come out a junction to turn right and she swung into the junction turning right, far too fast and ended up seeing me last minute and swerving almost hitting two young lads on the footpath.
The standard of driving is abysmal and its mainly because everyone is in too much of a rush.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
15-04-2022, 09:25 AM
Usually its because they're driving far too fast. I had a woman tonight swerve to miss me as I was correctly positioned to come out a junction to turn right and she swung into the junction turning right, far too fast and ended up seeing me last minute and swerving almost hitting two young lads on the footpath.
The standard of driving is abysmal and its mainly because everyone is in too much of a rush.
If there were 2 young lads on the footpath she should have been giving way to them according to the new highway code!
I don't think you can blame the council for yesterdays congestion.
The bypass was closed by the Police after that lorry fire, forcing 1000's of extra cars per hour to navigate their way through the West of the city.
There were lots of tourists lost, seen a few caravans go up Woodhall Road thinking they could dodge the snarled up traffic through Colinton Village (they were wrong).
Added to the road closures, diversions and multitude of road works going on I can blame them. Without a lorry fire on the bypass Edinburgh it's still a nightmare, yesterday just made it worse. Was it the lorry fire that cause traffic problems on Market st and the mound area?
15-04-2022, 11:08 AM
There's a junction just outside my house and the number of people who go across it diagonally instead of turning right is unreal.
Then if you're driving up to it, they have the cheek to start at you like it's your fault they nearly crashed into you!
speedy_gonzales
15-04-2022, 12:58 PM
Added to the road closures, diversions and multitude of road works going on I can blame them. Without a lorry fire on the bypass Edinburgh it's still a nightmare, yesterday just made it worse. Was it the lorry fire that cause traffic problems on Market st and the mound area?
To my very limited knowledge, there was no new road closures or diversions implemented by the council yesterday, but driving & cycling around yesterday afternoon there was indeed delayed and queuing traffic in the centre of town exacerbated by the 1000's of extra cars trying to find a route from East to West.
I myself took over 90 minutes to drive from Colinton to Gyle. I put my best taxi driver hat on and tried to figure out a way that avoided what Google said was congested routes. By the time I got to Western Corner I realised everyone was doing the same thing, I'm sure I passed the same Tesco home delivery van 3 times as we were doing circles around each other 😂
My sister-in-law was stuck between Straiton & Dreghorn for over 3 hours.
I also heard this morning that a colleague at work had relations that missed a flight and they'd given themselves hours extra in the vain attempt to beat the recently reported queueing issues that the departure hall security had been experiencing.
That single incident just after 11am caused 9+ hours of delays, congestion and knock on effects.
15-04-2022, 01:23 PM
To my very limited knowledge, there was no new road closures or diversions implemented by the council yesterday, but driving & cycling around yesterday afternoon there was indeed delayed and queuing traffic in the centre of town exacerbated by the 1000's of extra cars trying to find a route from East to West.
I myself took over 90 minutes to drive from Colinton to Gyle. I put my best taxi driver hat on and tried to figure out a way that avoided what Google said was congested routes. By the time I got to Western Corner I realised everyone was doing the same thing, I'm sure I passed the same Tesco home delivery van 3 times as we were doing circles around each other 😂
My sister-in-law was stuck between Straiton & Dreghorn for over 3 hours.
I also heard this morning that a colleague at work had relations that missed a flight and they'd given themselves hours extra in the vain attempt to beat the recently reported queueing issues that the departure hall security had been experiencing.
That single incident just after 11am caused 9+ hours of delays, congestion and knock on effects.
Agree with most of that.
I'm not sure what the Council could have done yesterday. If anything, it highlighted (again) the inadequacy of the Bypass. That's nothing to do with the Council AFAIK.
I never, ever let them in. There is probably the odd occasion that someone has made a mistake but 99% of the time it's chancers who are at it. Nothing better than when you get the perfect scenario of someone in the right lane not letting them in and the driver behind the offender in the left lane hammering the horn whilst Mr chancer sits raging with an indicator on. There's the odd time I've seen someone shamed enough that they are forced to continue up the left lane and turn the wrong way. It's beautiful when it happens.
cannot agree with you more on this :greengrin
15-04-2022, 11:01 PM
You should’ve seen what happen last week - I didn’t let her in and she managed to sneak in behind me. Flashing her lights, tooting horn and giving the 1 fingered salute. Then tried to overtake me and went close to a head on before coming back in and increasing the level of tooting and hollering. It was wild - and all cos she ignored the big left only arrow when she came off the roundabout at Asda.
Silky
17-04-2022, 06:39 PM
:agree: I live near Porty High School and get that a lot coming past ASDA. There is usually always some bellend sitting in the left lane indicating to get over to go down Harry Lauder. I take great pleasure in sitting behind them hammering the horn and then get some satisfaction when they are foreced to take a left onto Milton Road then spin round, having to then wait at the lights.
19-04-2022, 12:41 AM
People who decide that post filling their car with fuel at the self service pumps is the perfect time to make a phone call, nip in to the store for a weekly shop, sort all the receipts in their wallet then have a 5 minute chat with the passenger.
Fill you car then **** off to one of the other parking spaces to do all the other ***** you need to do so the rest of us can get on with our day.
On the flip side people who pull up behind you when you are filling up and waiting ( because their fuel cap is on that side) whilst there are free pumps on the opposite side, but they haven't figured out that the pumps extend so they can fill from either side of any car. Especially if they appear to be getting impatient.
19-04-2022, 03:32 PM
On the flip side people who pull up behind you when you are filling up and waiting ( because their fuel cap is on that side) whilst there are free pumps on the opposite side, but they haven't figured out that the pumps extend so they can fill from either side of any car. Especially if they appear to be getting impatient.
Personally and inexplicably when I did this the hose caused a significant scratch in the bodywork..no idea how but I'll fill up how I want thanks 😉
19-04-2022, 07:15 PM
Personally and inexplicably when I did this the hose caused a significant scratch in the bodywork..no idea how but I'll fill up how I want thanks 😉
You do that, but just don't expect people in front to rush for you because of your inability to work out how to use the other simple to use pumps that are available. :wink:
speedy_gonzales
19-04-2022, 08:06 PM
I personally wouldn't stretch the hose across either unless I absolutely had to.
Forecourts are filthy places, a lot of oil, grease & dirt on those pipes, coupled with the sand they use for fuel spills, no danger I'm stretching that across my rear end 🙄
19-04-2022, 11:54 PM
People who can’t work out how to park their car properly at the pump so the hose doesn’t touch their bodywork when stretched around the back of their car.
20-04-2022, 08:01 AM
I know it’s in the Highway Code and there’s probably a good reason for it, but the boxes for cyclists at the front of the queue at traffic lights. On the way to work yesterday, queue forming behind a cyclist as the roads reasonably narrow. Get to the traffic lights, they breeze to the front and everyone gets held up again.
20-04-2022, 09:53 AM
People who can’t work out how to park their car properly at the pump so the hose doesn’t touch their bodywork when stretched around the back of their car.
:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious
20-04-2022, 12:45 PM
:greengrin I had a large van at the time :greengrin
03-05-2022, 12:15 PM
Road works in the capital, WTF, Balgreen to Seafield took me nearly 2 hours today, are the council just trying to bring the city to a standstill, what a joke Edinburgh is just now.
speedy_gonzales
03-05-2022, 08:42 PM
Road works in the capital, WTF, Balgreen to Seafield took me nearly 2 hours today, are the council just trying to bring the city to a standstill, what a joke Edinburgh is just now.
You could walk it in that, probably cycle in under 30 minutes. Perhaps it's all part of the Councils cunning plan 🤔
12-05-2022, 07:56 AM
I think it's about time the government started getting rid of the tax breaks and/or increasing taxes for vans and pick up trucks. There's far too many of these on the road now. I feel like at some points of the day there's just as many vans and pick ups as cars.
speedy_gonzales
12-05-2022, 11:03 AM
I think it's about time the government started getting rid of the tax breaks and/or increasing taxes for vans and pick up trucks. There's far too many of these on the road now. I feel like at some points of the day there's just as many vans and pick ups as cars.
I'm definitely seeing a lot of contractors driving around in Ford Ranger Wildtracks. They're pretty useless for anything that actually needs good access to tools/ladders, their auto
box is probably one of the worst in the market and they can't be parked in a standard size space or driveway.
But, unfortunately, they come highly specced and have an attractive BIK rating.
Alfiembra
13-05-2022, 08:29 AM
Cyclists that blatantly ignore red traffic lights. Saw one this morning at Gillespie crossroads, no hesitation, straight through a red light and fortunately traffic was quiet and no mishaps. What really gets me going though is all the effort that’s gone in recently to encourage more people to cycle in the city with protected cycle lanes the very least they could do is obey the rules of the road.
13-05-2022, 02:03 PM
People that dont understand when a sign says road merges (from 2 lanes down to one) in 400 yards then it means that in 400 yards the 2 lanes should merge.
Instead they join the left lane far too soon creating tailbacks and then get angry when drivers in the right hand lane correctly try to merge at the end of the 400 yards.:cb
13-05-2022, 09:31 PM
I'm definitely seeing a lot of contractors driving around in Ford Ranger Wildtracks. They're pretty useless for anything that actually needs good access to tools/ladders, their auto
box is probably one of the worst in the market and they can't be parked in a standard size space or driveway.
But, unfortunately, they come highly specced and have an attractive BIK rating.
Aye, cause they're treated as vans.
An absolutely crazy loophole.
22-05-2022, 07:02 PM
Sat in stationary traffic westbound on M8 for 20 minutes this afternoon. Eventually passed incident which was on eastbound carriageway. Was it just rubberneckers or did they close whole road?
I believe they did close the road in both directions at one point, however it really boils my piss with how much traffic gets snarled up by folk wanting to gawk at some kind of accident and possible tragedy on the other side of the road!
23-05-2022, 07:13 PM
I believe they did close the road in both directions at one point, however it really boils my piss with how much traffic gets snarled up by folk wanting to gawk at some kind of accident and possible tragedy on the other side of the road!
More annoying that they don't use those great big signs to convey any sort of warning message about hold ups. My seat belt was on and my tyres were properly inflated but thanks for the reminder.
29-05-2022, 12:39 PM
Paying £30 for being in a bus lane, didn’t even no they had put new cameras up at Stenhouse Drive. :rolleyes:
Been up for a while, quite a few around Edinburgh now.
29-05-2022, 03:33 PM
As an outsider, I'm astonished how many people don't drive in the bus lane when permitted to use them. Admittedly, I'm usually only on Queensferry Road into town but the bit around blackhall to craigleith is always a good example of everyone driving in the outside lane when the bus lane is available.
pollution
30-05-2022, 11:16 AM
As an outsider, I'm astonished how many people don't drive in the bus lane when permitted to use them. Admittedly, I'm usually only on Queensferry Road into town but the bit around blackhall to craigleith is always a good example of everyone driving in the outside lane when the bus lane is available.
When I had a company car I would use the bus lanes when appropriate.
Now that I own my car I don't : pot holes caused by buses. Pure and simple.
02-06-2022, 07:16 PM
Traffic wardens not getting these extra public holidays?
02-06-2022, 07:38 PM
Its unbelievable at times. Couple of weeks ago at 2pm on the main St Johns/Corstorphine Road cars were queued at crawling pace in the right hand lane all the way from Balgreen Road up to just before the Subway/Eastern Pavilion etc. Yet the greenway was completely free all the way up - which was fantastic for me as I was able to just drive right up the inside.
Its like people think their car is going to explode if they go in the greenway.
04-06-2022, 09:14 AM
Trying to pay a parking ticket but can't because it hasn't been processed yet as everybody has been on holiday apart the the prick that issued it. Make the prick who got the ticket as well.
04-06-2022, 09:34 AM
I got caught in that one a few weeks ago, too
You have to get into the left hand lane to go ahead at the lights. Must have gone in a bit early
04-06-2022, 10:25 AM
I got caught in that one a few weeks ago, too
You have to get into the left hand lane to go ahead at the lights. Must have gone in a bit early
Yip, the two photos they showed me were my car in the right lane and because I’m going straight over at lights I must have went in to bus lane for a few yards so I didn’t get stuck behind traffic in right lane, they must be catching loads of folks doing it, did think about appealing but to much hassle, what annoys me most is these cameras are being put in housing schemes, but none on Glasgow road where folk from the Maybury to the roundabout at McDonald’s can cruise along the bus lane during peak times and not get caught and seen plenty crashes there where folk in outside lane indicating to turn left have had bumps with cars in bus lane, maybe don’t want hinder tourists coming along that road though.
Moan over for the day, away to enjoy the Sun. :thumbsup:
When you’re on a roundabout (already joined it), as you’re continuing round, folk who approach, and don’t bother coming to a halt, just keep rolling so that they’re coming closer and closer to your car, rather than just stopping/slowing until you pass. Idiot yesterday nearly plowed into my car, just so she didn’t have to bother using her brakes
04-06-2022, 04:47 PM
When you’re on a roundabout (already joined it), as you’re continuing round, folk who approach, and don’t bother coming to a halt, it just keep rolling so that they’re coming closer and closer to your car, rather than just stopping/slowing until you pass. Idiot yesterday nearly plowed into my car, just so she didn’t have to bother using her brakes
And people who don't indicate on roundabouts and you're sitting there waiting and without any notice they turn off before they get to you.
totally agree
speedy_gonzales
04-06-2022, 05:35 PM
That behaviour gets a very prominent thumbs-up and a loud "Fank you" from me.... Sarcastic....moi?
Back to the bus lane peeve, people who do not realise that bus lanes do not operate during the weekend and still they drive in the right hand lane, especially coming up to Roseburn with the roadworks there, right hand lane is shut at Murrayfield Gds but still people drive in the right hand lane until 5 yards from the cones and the lane closure.
07-06-2022, 09:11 AM
People who deliberately take up two parking spaces when parking. Seen one this morning who deliberately had enough of their car to stretch over to the second space in a very busy car park that fills up quite quickly.
Just a shame that somebody this morning had their tiny little runaround car that's already covered in dents and dings (and as such doesn't matter if a door gets opened into it) that also fits in the three quarters of a space that was left. :greengrin
07-06-2022, 04:28 PM
People who think their car can go from 0-60 in 0.25 seconds pulling onto a roundabout.
Got beeped several times and the finger (once he caught up with me) from a lovely chap who obviously thought I shouldn’t have pulled out onto a roundabout despite there being plenty of space and time to do so. Given he didn’t actually catch up with until after the roundabout, I really can’t see what his issue was!
07-06-2022, 06:56 PM
People who think their car can go from 0-60 in 0.25 seconds pulling onto a roundabout.
Got beeped several times and the finger (once he caught up with me) from a lovely chap who obviously thought I shouldn’t have pulled out onto a roundabout despite there being plenty of space and time to do so. Given he didn’t actually catch up with until after the roundabout, I really can’t see what his issue was!Happened to me recently too. Think when you pull out they speed up.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
08-06-2022, 10:32 AM
Got beeped several times and the finger (once he caught up with me) from a lovely chap who obviously thought I shouldn’t have pulled out onto a roundabout despite there being plenty of space and time to do so. Given he didn’t actually catch up with until after the roundabout, I really can’t see what his issue was!
I had a mentalist at Sheriffhall do that to me recently.
I pulled out onto the roundabout under the green light but as the next set on the roundabout were red I obviously had to join the queue in the relevant lane for me to go round. Just so happened that stopped him from getting round that lane when his lights turned to green (for about 5 seconds until the cars in front of me started to move.)
He started beeping and swearing and generally going ape.
Off we came at the next exit and he was right up my behind still going crazy.
I just popped it into Sport mode and left him in dust…sadly I had to stop at the next roundabout and when he caught up he was STILL going mad. I gave him a wee wave and a smile as I pulled off into my destination as he roared past still remonstrating at me [emoji1787]
Very weird behaviour considering I had done nothing wrong in the slightest and must have delayed his journey by approximately 5 seconds or one car length at a single point of his journey.
Hope his ticker was Ok after all his high blood pressure…he did make me laugh though so at least some good came out of it!
08-06-2022, 07:02 PM
Folk who stop in yellow hatched boxes and prevent traffic moving when lights change, similarily folk who have no foresight when there is no boxes to leave a gap so traffic can turn right into a side road and keep the flow moving.
08-06-2022, 07:29 PM
Easter Road traffic today :grr:
08-06-2022, 09:48 PM
Easter Road traffic today :grr:
That was horrendous this morning. Took me over an hour to drive from the top of Easter Road to The Shore.
08-06-2022, 10:01 PM
Getting out from Hamdump. We’ve moved all of 200 metres in 50 minutes. Would have been quicker parking in the city centre and walking.
Edit: my fiancée never filled the car up so we’re low on petrol too.
09-06-2022, 07:10 AM
That was horrendous this morning. Took me over an hour to drive from the top of Easter Road to The Shore.
It was mental yesterday. Hoping it's not a sign of how things are going to be from now on.
09-06-2022, 03:30 PM
People that think they’re being safe by driving at 40 on a dual carriageway.
speedy_gonzales
09-06-2022, 05:23 PM
What's the peeve? Is that too slow/fast, what was the posted limit, was the road busy/empty?
09-06-2022, 05:32 PM
What's the peeve? Is that too slow/fast, what was the posted limit, was the road busy/empty?From doing a lot of driving through work the most near misses I've spotted are down to one car driving at a markedly different speed to the majority... the odd one has been an idiot at 120+ mph, most though have been traffic going along between 60 - 80 and coming across a car doing a slow non motorway speed.
Of course the argument is that the drivers should all be paying attention. Generally they are but will have had a fright!
By not driving to the conditions for whatever reason (mechanical, physical, poor driving) they're exposing themselves to a chance of an accident.
speedy_gonzales
09-06-2022, 07:35 PM
From doing a lot of driving through work the most near misses I've spotted are down to one car driving at a markedly different speed to the majority... the odd one has been an idiot at 120+ mph, most though have been traffic going along between 60 - 80 and coming across a car doing a slow non motorway speed.
Of course the argument is that the drivers should all be paying attention. Generally they are but will have had a fright!
By not driving to the conditions for whatever reason (mechanical, physical, poor driving) they're exposing themselves to a chance of an accident.
Ah, then I'm assuming your "dual carriageway" was NSL?
I initially thought it was actually a posted 40 like the A8 or Calder Road,,,, couldn't figure out the peeve.
09-06-2022, 08:22 PM
I'm in total agreement with you.
There is a fairly lengthy debate about this earlier on the thread at some point - amazingly some people didn't seem to think driving at 40 for no real reason on the bypass should be seen as a problem.:eek:
09-06-2022, 09:10 PM
There is a fairly lengthy debate about this earlier on the thread at some point - amazingly some people didn't seem to think driving at 40 for no real reason on the bypass should be seen as a problem.:eek:
40 on edinburgh by pass is pretty good going most of the time. 😉
09-06-2022, 10:12 PM
What's the peeve? Is that too slow/fast, what was the posted limit, was the road busy/empty?
It’s more than a peeve, it’s dangerous. If the road is moving freely the vast majority of people will be doing 70 or thereabouts.
09-06-2022, 10:17 PM
40 on edinburgh by pass is pretty good going most of the time. 😉
Haha - there you are :greengrin
09-06-2022, 10:20 PM
It was mental yesterday. Hoping it's not a sign of how things are going to be from now on.
It'll be like that for the next year or so until these damn tram works are finished. Annoying thing is you never know what your in for each day. Tuesday morning it took me no more than 10 minutes to drive the same route at exactly the same time. There were no additional roadworks yesterday or any accidents. Some days the lights at the bottom of the Walk seem to be out of sync and that causes total gridlock on Easter Road onto Duke Street.
There is an advert on Radio Forth at the moment which is trying to promote Leith and starts of with the line, have you taken a stroll down Leith Walk and Constitution Street recently. I always laugh when I hear that and think, aye and it's a f****** mess.
09-06-2022, 10:57 PM
It'll be like that for the next year or so until these damn tram works are finished. Annoying thing is you never know what your in for each day. Tuesday morning it took me no more than 10 minutes to drive the same route at exactly the same time. There were no additional roadworks yesterday or any accidents. Some days the lights at the bottom of the Walk seem to be out of sync and that causes total gridlock on Easter Road onto Duke Street.
There is an advert on Radio Forth at the moment which is trying to promote Leith and starts of with the line, have you taken a stroll down Leith Walk and Constitution Street recently. I always laugh when I hear that and think, aye and it's a f****** mess.
Yep, I sailed down Easter road this morning in less than 5 minutes yet yesterday the same journey at the same time took me over 30 minutes. Its so frustrating.
09-06-2022, 11:09 PM
Too slow, A1 between Haddington and Dunbar, mild traffic. 70 mile an hour limit. My vans limited to 62 MPH and I ended up having to overtake someone that looked like they were standing still. Even HGV’s were having to swerve out to overtake.
People who block an exit by being pricks, came out to work and at the end of Stanley street there's a white van right across the junction waiting at the lights, a quick toot and a few curses and I had to go on the other side of the road to turn right.
speedy_gonzales
10-06-2022, 07:44 AM
It’s more than a peeve, it’s dangerous. If the road is moving freely the vast majority of people will be doing 70 or thereabouts.
Where in SaulGoodmans post does he mention the speed of the road? As I said, he could have been taking about Calder Rd or the A8 for all I know!
Not all dual carriageways are 70mph, and none are for all vehicles.
speedy_gonzales
10-06-2022, 07:47 AM
Too slow, A1 between Haddington and Dunbar, mild traffic. 70 mile an hour limit. My vans limited to 62 MPH and I ended up having to overtake someone that looked like they were standing still. Even HGV’s were having to swerve out to overtake.
Again, SG's post did not specify what road they were talking about. How do we know 40 was too slow?!?
Incidentally, I take it you mean your van is limited to 60 for the A1 where it is dual carriageway, 50 for single lane?
11-06-2022, 04:09 PM
Again, SG's post did not specify what road they were talking about. How do we know 40 was too slow?!?
Incidentally, I take it you mean your van is limited to 60 for the A1 where it is dual carriageway, 50 for single lane?
But.. I am SG mate.. and the whole point in my reply was to answer your question about what road it was on :greengrin
Mechanically limited to 62 for clarification as well.
11-06-2022, 04:57 PM
Where in SaulGoodmans post does he mention the speed of the road? As I said, he could have been taking about Calder Rd or the A8 for all I know!
Not all dual carriageways are 70mph, and none are for all vehicles.
The vast majority of dc’s are high speed, 60/70mph in my experience. 40mph on those roads is dangerous.
Why would anyone be critical of someone doing the speed limit on Calder road?
12-06-2022, 11:51 AM
The speed limit is just that a limit, it's not there as a recommend speed. If there are minimum speed limits then they too have to be adhered to, otherwise drivers need to expect to encounter vehicles travelling at different speeds.
12-06-2022, 02:36 PM
The vast majority of dc’s are high speed, 60/70mph in my experience. 40mph on those roads is dangerous.
Why would anyone be critical of someone doing the speed limit on Calder road?
Sure it’s been mentioned before but the dual carriageway from Crammond to the bridges being a 40 for a large stretch of it, then a 50 is completely unnecessary. Could/should be national speed limit, even if that was outside peak times.
It was to slow cars down approaching Crammond Crescent just after Miller and Carter, before they used come flying down off the dual carriageway at speeds of 50-60 mph.
12-06-2022, 09:10 PM
It was to slow cars down approaching Crammond Crescent just after Miller and Carter, before they used come flying down off the dual carriageway at speeds of 50-60 mph.
And subsequently on the way out of town the same limits must be applied, unfortunately 😉
The 40 limit ends when you drive past the Miller and Carter but the 40 limit starts far too early before the Miller and Carter heading into town, a fair distance before the slip road coming from Kirkliston.
13-06-2022, 06:50 AM
The 40 limit ends when you drive past the Miller and Carter but the 40 limit starts far too early before the Miller and Carter heading into town, a fair distance before the slip road coming from Kirkliston.
The 40 out of town continues about a mile past the Cramond Brig. The 50 starts at the same place the 40 starts on the way in to town.
13-06-2022, 06:53 AM
The speed limit is just that a limit, it's not there as a recommend speed. If there are minimum speed limits then they too have to be adhered to, otherwise drivers need to expect to encounter vehicles travelling at different speeds.
Surely you can understand the danger of someone doing just over half the speed limit when the majority of people will doing 60-70+ on these roads?
AltheHibby
13-06-2022, 08:54 AM
Surely you can understand the danger of someone doing just over half the speed limit when the majority of people will doing 60-70+ on these roads?
In Germany trucks are restricted to the equivalent of 56MPH but in many parts of the Autobahn system cars are unrestricted. Having said that, I think that some manufacturers restrict them to a mere 155 MPH.
That the death rate isn't astronomical is down to the Germans being better drivers than us.
13-06-2022, 09:55 AM
no it doesn’t, it’s 40 until much further along the road where it changes to a 50.
13-06-2022, 10:18 AM
He can't - he argued previously that it was totally OK to do so, despite the police thinking otherwise. What you are saying is so obviously correct to me, but you'll end up going round in circles with a few on here trying to defend people driving dangerously.
The fact you would fail your driving test for unneccesarily doing 40 in a 70 should really be the end of the discussion.
The 40 out of town continues about a mile past the Cramond Brig. The 50 starts at the same place the 40 starts on the way in to town.
Is it as far as that, have to check next time I'm going that way.
13-06-2022, 02:16 PM
Is it as far as that, have to check next time I'm going that way.
Yep. Most people don't see the 40 sign beside the Brig and just assume it's a 50 there.
Must go back to 50 at the Kirkliston exit then.
13-06-2022, 04:42 PM
Must go back to 50 at the Kirkliston exit then.
Sure it's just before the left hand sweeping bend near Dalmeny
stuart-farquhar
13-06-2022, 05:38 PM
When half way over the entrance line to a roundabout a vehicle flies on to said roundabout without slowing and hits the horn because I've apparently cut them off! Happens regularly to me anyway.
13-06-2022, 07:19 PM
He can't - he argued previously that it was totally OK to do so, despite the police thinking otherwise. What you are saying is so obviously correct to me, but you'll end up going round in circles with a few on here trying to defend people driving dangerously.
The fact you would fail your driving test for unneccesarily doing 40 in a 70 should really be the end of the discussion.
Oh I can, it's extremely rare for anyone to be pulled by the police for driving too slow as there is no national minimum speed limit, there'd have to be other factors involved before they'd charge anyone. There's all sorts of reasons why someone might be driving slower than the maximum speed limit, if you drove into the back of a slow moving vehicle, chances are it would be you that would be charged with driving without due care and attention.
13-06-2022, 08:04 PM
When half way over the entrance line to a roundabout a vehicle flies on to said roundabout without slowing and hits the horn because I've apparently cut them off! Happens regularly to me anyway.
Happened to me today, the fud was still raging miles later. Think he was more unhappy that his van wasn't fast enough to overtake my van.
13-06-2022, 08:25 PM
Oh I can, it's extremely rare for anyone to be pulled by the police for driving too slow as there is no national minimum speed limit, there'd have to be other factors involved before they'd charge anyone. There's all sorts of reasons why someone might be driving slower than the maximum speed limit, if you drove into the back of a slow moving vehicle, chances are it would be you that would be charged with driving without due care and attention.
The reason there is no national speed limit is because its incredibly difficult to police. Because as you point out there are some ( not all sorts of) valid times when cars have to go slowly on a motorway/ bypass. Like when crawling in slow moving congested traffic or coming to a standstill at for eg sherifhall roundabout.
But no one on this thread is talking about getting peeved at cars going 40 in those scenarios. It's about cars unnecccessarily dawdling along at 40 because they arent competent drivers, which is totally unacceptable to any right minded person.
Your last point is completely irrelevant to the topic as well - no one is arguing the contrary to that.
13-06-2022, 08:39 PM
The reason there is no national speed limit is because its incredibly difficult to police. Because as you point out there are some ( not all sorts of) valid times when cars have to go slowly on a motorway/ bypass. Like when crawling in slow moving congested traffic or coming to a standstill at for eg sherifhall roundabout.
But no one on this thread is talking about getting peeved at cars going 40 in those scenarios. It's about cars unnecccessarily dawdling along at 40 because they arent competent drivers, which is totally unacceptable to any right minded person.
Your last point is completely irrelevant to the topic as well - no one is arguing the contrary to that.
You don't know what the circumstances are for the car doing 40 on a dual carriageway or motorway. As an example a mechanical problem which I've had was my car going into limp home mode. On a dual carriageway I would have stuck the hazard lights on and made my way to the next lay-by, as it was on a single carriageway section of the A9 I pulled over onto the grass verge. There are many reasons for driving slower than you are. I mean I am in the countryside and we have a lot of farm traffic.
13-06-2022, 08:53 PM
You don't know what the circumstances are for the car doing 40 on a dual carriageway or motorway. As an example a mechanical problem which I've had was my car going into limp home mode. On a dual carriageway I would have stuck the hazard lights on and made my way to the next lay-by, as it was on a single carriageway section of the A9 I pulled over onto the grass verge. There are many reasons for driving slower than you are. I mean I am in the countryside and we have a lot of farm traffic.I agree, it's also true though, that someone driving at a significantly different speed to every one else is exposing themselves (and others) to more danger than if we were all travelling at the same speed.
It's why we have things like the think horse/bike campaigns every so often.
13-06-2022, 09:11 PM
You don't know what the circumstances are for the car doing 40 on a dual carriageway or motorway. As an example a mechanical problem which I've had was my car going into limp home mode. On a dual carriageway I would have stuck the hazard lights on and made my way to the next lay-by, as it was on a single carriageway section of the A9 I pulled over onto the grass verge. There are many reasons for driving slower than you are. I mean I am in the countryside and we have a lot of farm traffic.
You came out with this nonsense last time :tee hee:. If your car is limping along in a 70 you should be pulling into the hard shoulder and phoning for a mechanic/tow truck. Anyway you two are clearly on here at the wind up, it's dangerous to drive too slowly without reason. If you are genuinely not on the wind up then neither of you should be able to get behind a wheel, and good luck to anyone who has the misfortune of being one of your passengers.:greengrin
People driving bog standard wee cars who turn left at a junction or into a street so slowly you'd think it was an arctic they were driving.
14-06-2022, 07:53 AM
You came out with this nonsense last time :tee hee:. If your car is limping along in a 70 you should be pulling into the hard shoulder and phoning for a mechanic/tow truck. Anyway you two are clearly on here at the wind up, it's dangerous to drive too slowly without reason. If you are genuinely not on the wind up then neither of you should be able to get behind a wheel, and good luck to anyone who has the misfortune of being one of your passengers.:greengrin
As I said, unless you are aware of the reason for them driving slower than others you should not criticise.
I also said that when I did have a mechanical problem I pulled off the road onto the verge.
There are no hard shoulders on dual carriageways or modern 'smart' motorways.
If you find that you come up behind a slow moving vehicle, be it a car, lorry, tractor or caravan and need to brake or swerve then it is you that is driving without due care and attention.
14-06-2022, 08:48 AM
People driving bog standard wee cars who turn left at a junction or into a street so slowly you'd think it was an arctic they were driving.
Totally!!! Folk that can't turn at traffic lights either to the extent that the lights change so you can't get through yourself!
14-06-2022, 09:22 AM
Understandable to slow down in freezing conditions.
Usually turning away from the corner first to widen the angle - it’s a tiny car, you don’t need to widen the angle!
14-06-2022, 10:40 AM
Even worse, the idiots that turn left from the outside lane because they don’t understand when they can use bus lanes.
Not talking about freezing conditions, happened this morning at the foot of Brighton Cres at the lights, nearly missed the lights because it took her so long to turn left in her Clio.
14-06-2022, 12:15 PM
Not talking about freezing conditions, happened this morning at the foot of Brighton Cres at the lights, nearly missed the lights because it took her so long to turn left in her Clio.
Just my attempt at a joke – re-read your first post.
14-06-2022, 01:20 PM
😀👍
Just my attempt at a joke – re-read your first post.
Haha WHOOSH
14-06-2022, 02:37 PM
As I said, unless you are aware of the reason for them driving slower than others you should not criticise.
I also said that when I did have a mechanical problem I pulled off the road onto the verge.
If you find that you come up behind a slow moving vehicle, be it a car, lorry, tractor or caravan and need to brake or swerve then it is you that is driving without due care and attention.
14-06-2022, 07:07 PM
The problem is that you have both stated in this thread that you think people should be able to drive at 40 in a 70 if they feel like it - on that point, you are both wrong. Nothing else you say is really of any relevance - merely backtracking and changing your position and bringing up irrelevances without actually admitting that you are wrong on your assertion. :na na:
p.s There are hard shoulders on dual carriageways and motorways in Scotland.
14-06-2022, 09:04 PM
Someone driving at 40 on a 70 and someone flashing hazards at any speed are different circumstances. Driving without due care and attention is other people coming up behind, consideration for other road users is the dicks well below the posted speed.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
speedy_gonzales
14-06-2022, 09:05 PM
The problem is that you have both stated in this thread that you think people should be able to drive at 40 in a 70 if they feel like it - on that point, you are both wrong. Nothing else you say is really of any relevance - merely backtracking and changing your position and bringing up irrelevances without actually admitting that you are wrong on your assertion. :na na:
Says who? It's perfectly legal to drive at 40(+) on a motorway?!?
There are not always hard shoulder on dual carriageway....
I personally enjoy when folk just blat along at a decent speed, but sometimes you can't, if folk choose not to do so you have to drive at their chosen rate until it's safe to overtake.
I'm not convinced folk driving at slower speeds are always the risk their made out to be. Sometimes, maybe, it's the for in ahurry that might be the risky party?!?
14-06-2022, 09:17 PM
That's not what I said, and you know it. Again, unless you know what the circumstances are you have no right to criticise other drivers. Maybe they just had a close thing and are in shock, you just don't know. What you need to consider is your responsibility to other road users.
And show me where there is a hard shoulder on any dual carriageway in Scotland. They don't exist!
14-06-2022, 09:40 PM
That's not what I said, and you know it. Again, unless you know what the circumstances are you have no right to criticise other drivers. Maybe they just had a close thing and are in shock, you just don't know. What you need to consider is your responsibility to other road users.
And show me where there is a hard shoulder on any dual carriageway in Scotland. They don't exist!
But you did say it, earlier on the thread. You said that you were in full agreement with another poster who said that "drivers should be able to drive within the speed limit according to their personal capabilities..."
If you would just now admit that is a ridiculous position to take then things will be much better.
Show you where there is a hard shoulder on a dual carriageway in Scotland? How about the one thousands of drivers pass by every week on the Edinburgh city bypass? There is even a picture for you in the link below :wink:
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/transport/edinburgh-city-bypass-crash-car-skids-off-road-into-hard-shoulder-during-two-vehicle-collision-on-a720-near-baberton-3352987
15-06-2022, 07:51 AM
But you did say it, earlier on the thread. You said that you were in full agreement with another poster who said that "drivers should be able to drive within the speed limit according to their personal capabilities..."
If you would just now admit that is a ridiculous position to take then things will be much better.
Show you where there is a hard shoulder on a dual carriageway in Scotland? How about the one thousands of drivers pass by every week on the Edinburgh city bypass? There is even a picture for you in the link below :wink:
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/news/transport/edinburgh-city-bypass-crash-car-skids-off-road-into-hard-shoulder-during-two-vehicle-collision-on-a720-near-baberton-3352987
The A720 must be the only dual carriageway that has 'some' hard shoulder, certainly not the full length of the road, because none of the A9 from Keir roundabout to birnam has, a distance of 40 miles!
The only people who I have seen driving below the national speed limit for any distance are those who are driving electric vehicles and are concerned about range or who have not seen the speed limit signs.
However, the driver who can't see the car is driving slowly is the one that is a danger to others.
15-06-2022, 10:23 AM
The A720 must be the only dual carriageway that has 'some' hard shoulder, certainly not the full length of the road, because none of the A9 from Keir roundabout to birnam has, a distance of 40 miles!
The only people who I have seen driving below the national speed limit for any distance are those who are driving electric vehicles and are concerned about range or who have not seen the speed limit signs.
However, the driver who can't see the car is driving slowly is the one that is a danger to others.
How do you know that?! Even if those are the reasons then it doesn't matter as they are terrible reasons and are clearly driving with out care.
Your last sentence is inaccurate btw. In that scenario both the slow car and anyone who doesnt notice it going slowly is a danger to others.
15-06-2022, 11:06 AM
How do you know that?! Even if those are the reasons then it doesn't matter as they are terrible reasons and are clearly driving with out care.
Your last sentence is inaccurate btw. In that scenario both the slow car and anyone who doesnt notice it going slowly is a danger to others.
I wonder what you are like when you come across some cyclists 🤔 Mr roadrage I imagine because they aren't going as fast as you want them to!!
15-06-2022, 12:19 PM
I personally enjoy when folk just blat along at a decent speed, but sometimes you can't, if folk choose not to do so you have to drive at their chosen rate until it's safe to overtake.
I'm not convinced folk driving at slower speeds are always the risk their made out to be. Sometimes, maybe, it's the for in ahurry that might be the risky party?!?On your last point, if the driver at 70 isn't on the ball and crashes into the 40 mph guy then they're both in the collision and both were at risk.
If the 40 was at 70 then the issue wouldn't have happened (by eliminating the 70mph persons poor performance from being a factor)
It's not the person's "fault' they were driving at 40 but the fact remains doing 40 amongst a lot of cars doing 70 exposes you to more danger, in exactly the same way as breaking down and needing to sit on the hardshoulder raises it even more, despite being off the actual main carriageway. It's why the highway code advises you to leave the car and sit up on the banking.
Alfiembra
15-06-2022, 12:56 PM
Have to say I’ve been enjoying the cut and thrust of these slow driving posts, although it seems to have developed into a bit of a stand off.
Thought I’d throw my tuppence worth in. In certain places there are minimum speed signs, they do exist in the UK. I’ve never seen one, but they are commonly used in tunnels, they are a circular sign with a blue background with the minimum speed quoted on them usually 30mph and the same sign with a Red Cross through them when the minimum speed zone ends. So you can go even slower if you like. :greengrin
Likewise you can be stopped and prosecuted by the police if they consider your speed is slow enough to constitute a danger to other road users but in most cases there would be a verbal warning given.
EH6 Hibby
15-06-2022, 01:54 PM
My nephew failed his driving test for driving at 40 on a 60 road.
15-06-2022, 02:33 PM
My brother in law also failed his test for driving at 20-25 MPH in the centre of Pitlochry in summer. His response was it's safer because of all the tourist with no road sense. Guess what, it's now a 20MPH zone!
speedy_gonzales
15-06-2022, 02:53 PM
I was advised that when sitting a practical driving test, you must demonstrate to the examiner that you're aware of the posted limit on the road you're driving.
The easiest way to do that is to drive between the posted limit and the one below. So in your nephews case, he probably would have been fine if he'd sat just above the 50.
15-06-2022, 03:17 PM
I'm not convinced folk driving at slower speeds are always the risk their made out to be. Sometimes, maybe, it's the for in ahurry that might be the risky party?!?
Says who? The police, driving instructors and the RAC amongst others. It's not always pefectly legal to drive at 40 on a motorway. Its just not that black and white - it depends on the circumstances and the intrepretation of the police. Anyone driving significantly below 50 when there doesn't appear to be a good reason for it runs the risk of being pulled by the police.
Im not claiming to be an expert on this, im just listening to the advice of those who are experts rather than following some peoples gut on here who think its ok to dawdle along for the sake of it.
15-06-2022, 03:21 PM
I wonder what you are like when you come across some cyclists 🤔 Mr roadrage I imagine because they aren't going as fast as you want them to!!
Wrong again pal:na na:
15-06-2022, 03:23 PM
My brother in law also failed his test for driving at 20-25 MPH in the centre of Pitlochry in summer. His response was it's safer because of all the tourist with no road sense. Guess what, it's now a 20MPH zone!
He probably shouldn't have listened to you telling him he could drive as slowly as he liked and paid a bit more attention to his driving instructor!
pollution
15-06-2022, 06:08 PM
Common sense says keep up with the general traffic flow. Driving at 40mph on a fast moving 70 mph limit road is asking for trouble.
I came across this on the bypass last week: a tow truck pulling a car at 20 mph, half in the inside lane and the gutter.
Luckily the traffic was quiet....
speedy_gonzales
17-06-2022, 03:26 PM
Says who? The police, driving instructors and the RAC amongst others. It's not always pefectly legal to drive at 40 on a motorway. Its just not that black and white - it depends on the circumstances and the intrepretation of the police. Anyone driving significantly below 50 when there doesn't appear to be a good reason for it runs the risk of being pulled by the police.
Im not claiming to be an expert on this, im just listening to the advice of those who are experts rather than following some peoples gut on here who think its ok to dawdle along for the sake of it.
Been a couple of days since this was posted and I've ruminated over it, and even asked my wifes step-sisters brother-in-law (I know, rumours from Greggs incoming) who is a road policing officer up in Perth. He confirmed there's no legal minimum limit on motorways and said they only way he'd ticket someone doing 40 or less is if there was some outstanding marker on the car/driver.
His attitude was that it's poor drivers that drive too fast that cause the vast majority of issues on the road, not poor drivers that drive too slow.
I'm genuinely not trying to be contrary here, I've just spent the best part of the afternoon traveling back to Edinburgh from the Cowal peninsula and was stuck for long sections doing 40 in a posted 60 because of slower vehicles but I never for one minute thought that the motorhomes, caravans and HGV's up ahead were a danger. The few folk that tried (and failed) to overtake at inappropriate sections however....
17-06-2022, 08:14 PM
Been a couple of days since this was posted and I've ruminated over it, and even asked my wifes step-sisters brother-in-law (I know, rumours from Greggs incoming) who is a road policing officer up in Perth. He confirmed there's no legal minimum limit on motorways and said they only way he'd ticket someone doing 40 or less is if there was some outstanding marker on the car/driver.
His attitude was that it's poor drivers that drive too fast that cause the vast majority of issues on the road, not poor drivers that drive too slow.
I'm genuinely not trying to be contrary here, I've just spent the best part of the afternoon traveling back to Edinburgh from the Cowal peninsula and was stuck for long sections doing 40 in a posted 60 because of slower vehicles but I never for one minute thought that the motorhomes, caravans and HGV's up ahead were a danger. The few folk that tried (and failed) to overtake at inappropriate sections however....
Great Post. As an ex paramedic, I've never witnessed a road death due to someone driving too slow, it's always been those that think the road belongs to them and only how they drive is the correct way to drive. There are many different vehicles and drivers with different capabilities, the road belongs to everyone and not just those who think they're king of the road, a good driver is someone who can appreciate that our roads are for everyone and who can react accordingly, if you can only cope with traffic moving at the same speed, then maybe you shouldn't be allowed on the road.
18-06-2022, 03:40 PM
Great Post. As an ex paramedic, I've never witnessed a road death due to someone driving too slow, it's always been those that think the road belongs to them and only how they drive is the correct way to drive. There are many different vehicles and drivers with different capabilities, the road belongs to everyone and not just those who think they're king of the road, a good driver is someone who can appreciate that our roads are for everyone and who can react accordingly, if you can only cope with traffic moving at the same speed, then maybe you shouldn't be allowed on the road.
This is an awful post - your posts on this topic are really irresponsible actually. Motorways and dual carriageways belong to everyone? Nonsense - why do you think bicycles and 50cc scooters are banned from them? Because they drive too slowly and will cause danger to themselves and others.
To quote the AA President, Edmund King: "Driving like a snail can be as dangerous as driving like a cheetah". Slow driving can cause crashes. https://www.itv.com/news/2018-12-29/spike-in-road-casualties-from-crashes-caused-by-slow-drivers.
18-06-2022, 03:50 PM
This is an awful post - your posts on this topic are really irresponsible actually. Motorways and dual carriageways belong to everyone? Nonsense - why do you think bicycles and 50cc scooters are banned from them? Because they drive too slowly and will cause danger to themselves and others.
To quote the AA President, Edmund King: "Driving like a snail can be as dangerous as driving like a cheetah". Slow driving can cause crashes. https://www.itv.com/news/2018-12-29/spike-in-road-casualties-from-crashes-caused-by-slow-drivers.
Where does he say motorways and dual carriageways belong t to everyone????
You really need to take a step back before posting!!!
18-06-2022, 05:21 PM
However if your capabilities mean you aren't able to keep up reasonable speed then maybe you shouldn't be driving on dual carriageways or motorways. Take an alternative route or take additional lessons to build confidence and skills.
18-06-2022, 06:05 PM
£1.96/litre of diesel at the tesco near me today. £99 and it only filled just past the 3/4 mark in the tank.
18-06-2022, 07:55 PM
£1.96/litre of diesel at the tesco near me today. £99 and it only filled just past the 3/4 mark in the tank.
****ing ridiculous.
My work have allowed me to work from home for 3 days per week, and I genuinely feel like I couldn’t afford to do more from the office. I’ve got a 60 mile a day commute so they’re saving me 180 miles a week thankfully.
18-06-2022, 08:06 PM
****ing ridiculous.
My work have allowed me to work from home for 3 days per week, and I genuinely feel like I couldn’t afford to do more from the office. I’ve got a 60 mile a day commute so they’re saving me 180 miles a week thankfully.
It’s over £8 a gallon now ..if you get 50 MPG. That’s saving you around 30 quid a week …almost £1500 quid a year …(taking in the account holidays etc)
18-06-2022, 08:57 PM
****ing ridiculous.
If you drive at 45 instead of 70, then you will save a lot on fuel costs. Mind you you might get lynched for doing so.
19-06-2022, 06:54 AM
If you drive at 45 instead of 70, then you will save a lot on fuel costs. Mind you you might get lynched for doing so.
I read that 55 mph was the optimum speed for fuel efficiency. Can't remember where I read it though and no idea if it's true.
19-06-2022, 07:04 AM
I read that 55 mph was the optimum speed for fuel efficiency. Can't remember where I read it though and no idea if it's true.
The average car uses 17% more fuel at 70 mph than doing 56 mph. Years since I read this and no idea if this is true of modern cars.
19-06-2022, 08:29 AM
The average car is uses 17% more fuel at 70 mph than doing 56 mph. Years since I read this and no idea if this is true of modern cars.
It's not, the statistic comes from a time where only 3 speeds were taken into consideration and were supposed to represent urban, rural and motorway driving. Modern vehicles have the least fuel consumption when travelling between 40 and 50 mph.
19-06-2022, 09:21 AM
It's not, the statistic comes from a time where only 3 speeds were taken into consideration and were supposed to represent urban, rural and motorway driving. Modern vehicles have the least fuel consumption when travelling between 40 and 50 mph.
According to howstuffworks it's somewhere between 40 and 60 mph for best fuel consumption depending on size and shape of vehicle.
Maybe some of those vehicles holding everybody up and potentially causing carnage are being driven in the most fuel efficient way
pollution
19-06-2022, 10:37 AM
A man drove from the east coast of the USA to the west coast and averaged 83 mpg.
His tip was to not exceed 2000 rpm and ignore the speedometer. Not suggesting this would work in city traffic but on a long drive perhaps.
19-06-2022, 01:35 PM
Where does he say motorways and dual carriageways belong t to everyone????
You really need to take a step back before posting!!!
Are you for real? The whole conversation is clearly about 70 mph roads, i.e motorways and dual carriageways. Try to keep up pal.
19-06-2022, 01:48 PM
However if your capabilities mean you aren't able to keep up reasonable speed then maybe you shouldn't be driving on dual carriageways or motorways. Take an alternative route or take additional lessons to build confidence and skills.
:agree: Exactly.
According to howstuffworks it's somewhere between 40 and 60 mph for best fuel consumption depending on size and shape of vehicle.
Maybe some of those vehicles holding everybody up and potentially causing carnage are being driven in the most fuel efficient way
You might save a wee bit money on fuel costs, but you will also lose time out your life. And you'll also likely contribute to slowing down traffic which could include vehicles delivering food, drink and medicine, people going to medical appointments, job interviews, college lessons, work meetings etc.
So selfish and inconsiderate as well as dangerous.
19-06-2022, 02:39 PM
:agree: Exactly.
You might save a wee bit money on fuel costs, but you will also lose time out your life. And you'll also likely contribute to slowing down traffic which could include vehicles delivering food, drink and medicine, people going to medical appointments, job interviews, college lessons, work meetings etc.
So selfish and inconsiderate as well as dangerous.
Lucky to get going as fast as 40 most of the day on the city bypass and when you do sheriff hall just causes a bigger holdup than any slower drivers ever do.
19-06-2022, 02:48 PM
Lucky to get going as fast as 40 most of the day on the city bypass and when you do sheriff hall just causes a bigger holdup than any slower drivers ever do.
You'r wasting your breathe, apparently if you can't drive at the speed limit you're incapable of driving and are a danger to everyone else. But the city by-pass is safe because there are hard shoulders on every dual carriageway and motorway, despite that being absolutely untrue!!
19-06-2022, 02:55 PM
I drive along it and back every Monday and Tuesday morning and routinely drive at 70.
19-06-2022, 02:57 PM
You'r wasting your breathe, apparently if you can't drive at the speed limit you're incapable of driving and are a danger to everyone else. But the city by-pass is safe because there are hard shoulders on every dual carriageway and motorway, despite that being absolutely untrue!!
Nobody has actually said that. You actually tried to claim that no dual carriageways had hard shoulders, which was proven to be nonsense. You've got yourself in a right muddle again.
19-06-2022, 03:15 PM
I drive along it and back every Monday and Tuesday morning and routinely drive at 70.
That must explain the average of 40 accidents a year (FOI request 2015-2018)
19-06-2022, 03:29 PM
Lucky to get going as fast as 40 most of the day on the city bypass and when you do sheriff hall just causes a bigger holdup than any slower drivers ever do.You're not wrong, can be a nightmare at (most!) times.
19-06-2022, 03:44 PM
That must explain the average of 40 accidents a year (FOI request 2015-2018)
Why would me driving safely along the bypass at 70 twice a week for the last 2 years explain that there were an average of 40 accidents a year on the Edinburgh Bypass between 2015 and 2018? Going to start calling you Roger Irrelevant.
19-06-2022, 03:54 PM
Why would me driving safely along the bypass at 70 twice a week for the last 2 years explain that there were an average of 40 accidents a year on the Edinburgh Bypass between 2015 and 2018? Going to start calling you Roger Irrelevant.
98 journeys a year, 40 accidents a year, you claim to be driving at 70 on the road while number of people saying that you are lucky to average over 40 means statistically you could be involved in 40% of all accidents on the bypass 🤔😂😂😂
19-06-2022, 04:04 PM
98 journeys a year, 40 accidents a year, you claim to be driving at 70 on the road while number of people saying that you are lucky to average over 40 means statistically you could be involved in 40% of all accidents on the bypass 🤔😂😂😂
What the hell are you on about?:rotflmao:
19-06-2022, 04:14 PM
What the hell are you on about?:rotflmao:
Very simple, sorry if you can't keep up. You are doing 98 journeys a year, there are 40 accidents a year, so, for every journey you are likely to be involved in an accident 40% of the time, but, judging by your attitude towards other drivers you are likely to be oblivious!!!
19-06-2022, 04:23 PM
Very simple, sorry if you can't keep up. You are doing 98 journeys a year, there are 40 accidents a year, so, for every journey you are likely to be involved in an accident 40% of the time, but, judging by your attitude towards other drivers you are likely to be oblivious!!!
How, just how, are you making that assumption? :faf: That doesn't make any sense. There is absolutely no correlation between the 2 figures and that random percentage you have come up with.
As for your last sentence, full on irony - as you are the one advocating that people drive selfishly & dangerously.
19-06-2022, 04:33 PM
How, just how, are you making that assumption? :faf: That doesn't make any sense. There is absolutely no correlation between the 2 figures and that random percentage you have come up with.
As for your last sentence, full on irony - as you are the one advocating that people drive dangerously.
https://www.think.gov.uk/themes/speed/
https://www.think.gov.uk/campaign/be-the-mate-who-wont-speed/
https://www.fiaregion1.com/slowing-saves-lives/
https://www.slowspeedingkills.com/
Funny how no one campaign for road safety has been about speeding up, all the about slowing down. It must make you wonder why anyone would want to drive fast? 🤔
19-06-2022, 04:38 PM
As for your last sentence, full on irony - as you are the one advocating that people drive selfishly & dangerously.
Arithmetic not your strongest subject 🤔😉
19-06-2022, 04:42 PM
Funny how no one campaign for road safety has been about speeding up, all the about slowing down. It must make you wonder why anyone would want to drive fast? 🤔
Glad you've given up trying to explain what your wacky nonsensical stat was all about. An impossible task.
Why are you making the point that driving over the speed limit is dangerous though? No one has tried to suggest otherwise and I agree completely. It has nothing to do with the fact that driving too slowly can be dangerous. Roger Irrelevant.
19-06-2022, 04:44 PM
Arithmetic not your strongest subject
You are surely at the wind up here.
Your figures are nonsense! Please just tell me you are at the wind up.
pollution
19-06-2022, 06:09 PM
Open another bottle lads !
19-06-2022, 07:54 PM
Probably because speeding costs more lives than slow drivers. It doesn't mean that slow drivers aren't a problem, they just aren't as much of a problem.
19-06-2022, 08:56 PM
Probably because speeding costs more lives than slow drivers. It doesn't mean that slow drivers aren't a problem, they just aren't as much of a problem.
It's almost like we needed something sensible 👍😁
Speed kills but slow drivers are an inconvenience.
19-06-2022, 09:09 PM
It's almost like we needed something sensible 👍😁
Speed kills but slow drivers are an inconvenience.
I've no skin in your argument with LaMotta - but this 40% thing has been bugging me and I want to know the solution. :greengrin
My running theories are that LaMotta is the only user of the bypass or he's responsible for all 40 crashes...
19-06-2022, 09:29 PM
I've no skin in your argument with LaMotta - but this 40% thing has been bugging me and I want to know the solution. :greengrin
My running theories are that LaMotta is the only user of the bypass or he's responsible for all 40 crashes...
I forgot he/she said they drove the bypass each way 2x a week so they should witness/be involved in 20% of accidents a year rather than the 40% I said initially.
The suggestion that they are able to drive safely at an average of 70mph on bypass however doesn't stand up to scrutiny by my, and others experience. 😉
19-06-2022, 10:21 PM
I forgot he/she said they drove the bypass each way 2x a week so they should witness/be involved in 20% of accidents a year rather than the 40% I said initially.
The suggestion that they are able to drive safely at an average of 70mph on bypass however doesn't stand up to scrutiny by my, and others experience. ��
Seriously mate your first paragraph still makes absolutely no sense. There is no logic in it at all. If anyone else can make sense of it please help out here:greengrin
BTW I never said I drove at an average of 70mph, I said I routinely drive at 70mph on the bypass as do many others. Of course there are times when it's not possible, but saying you can rarely get above 40 is not true in my experience.
I'll wager that I will hit 70 tomorrow as well. And safely:wink:. Will provide an update when home, I'm sure people will be excited to know the outcome.:hyper
Seriously mate your first paragraph still makes absolutely no sense. There is no logic in it at all. If anyone else can make sense of it please help out here:greengrin
BTW I never said I drove at an average of 70mph, I said I routinely drive at 70mph on the bypass as do many others. Of course there are times when it's not possible, but saying you can rarely get above 40 is not true in my experience.
I'll wager that I will hit 70 tomorrow as well. And safely:wink:. Will provide an update when home, I'm sure people will be excited to know the outcome.:hyper
I drive down the bypass every Monday and will hit 70mph regularly between Dreghorn and Gilmerton junction, I don't know what percentage of accidents I'll cause but I an driving at the speed limit of the road.
20-06-2022, 06:03 AM
The suggestion that they are able to drive safely at an average of 70mph on bypass however doesn't stand up to scrutiny by my, and others experience. 😉
Your 1st paragraph like a few of your other posts on this thread make no sense at all.
20-06-2022, 06:25 AM
Struggling to see your logic here. Thousands of people drive along the bypass 5x a week so they can't all be involved in 20%,40% or whatever % you suggest
20-06-2022, 06:27 AM
Okay, I think I understand it even less now. :greengrin
FWIW I drove the length of the bypass yesterday and barely dipped below 70. It was busy enough, but thankfully there were no maniacs doing 40/45 so anyone requiring the fast lane was doing a decent speed. :wink:
Contrast that with Friday afternoon however where the first third of the bypass was severely limited to crawling at about 5 mph! LaMotta must have been out somewhere causing one of his accidents.
20-06-2022, 09:37 AM
I drive down the bypass every Monday and will hit 70mph regularly between Dreghorn and Gilmerton junction, I don't know what percentage of accidents I'll cause but I an driving at the speed limit of the road.
Your 1st paragraph like a few of your other posts on this thread make no sense at all.
Struggling to see your logic here. Thousands of people drive along the bypass 5x a week so they can't all be involved in 20%,40% or whatever % you suggest
Okay, I think I understand it even less now. :greengrin
FWIW I drove the length of the bypass yesterday and barely dipped below 70. It was busy enough, but thankfully there were no maniacs doing 40/45 so anyone requiring the fast lane was doing a decent speed. :wink:
Contrast that with Friday afternoon however where the first third of the bypass was severely limited to crawling at about 5 mph! LaMotta must have been out somewhere causing one of his accidents.
Thank god for some sensible posts:banana:
Exciting news is I was able to comfortably drive at 70 this morning going east along the bypass between Calder and Straiton at 8.30 and then was also able to do 70 coming back along it. :cup:
Didnt even see or get involved in any accidents, which is quite amazing eh:wink:
20-06-2022, 10:21 AM
Didnt even see or get involved in any accidents, which is quite amazing eh:wink:
Phew! Clearly no-one driving at 40 then! :greengrin
speedy_gonzales
20-06-2022, 10:56 AM
Thank god for some sensible posts:banana:
Exciting news is I was able to comfortably drive at 70 this morning going east along the bypass between Calder and Straiton at 8.30 and then was also able to do 70 coming back along it. :cup:
Are you 100% sure you were doing 70? The traffic was crawling up Baberton at 40-50 around that time.
Do you drive with blue lights on per chance?
bringbackbenny
20-06-2022, 11:59 AM
on the speed matter but related to the recent fuel increases. Is anyone else driving more conservatively to get a better mpg?
I generally was looking where able to cruise at min 70mph on duals, motorways etc. I've now dropped a bit and, where appropriate, not bothering and sticking with slower traffic in the inside lane e.g lorries etc at 55-60 mph and the difference is very noticeable - easy 10 mpg better.
20-06-2022, 12:11 PM
on the speed matter but related to the recent fuel increases. Is anyone else driving more conservatively to get a better mpg?
I generally was looking where able to cruise at min 70mph on duals, motorways etc. I've now dropped a bit and, where appropriate, not bothering and sticking with slower traffic in the inside lane e.g lorries etc at 55-60 mph and the difference is very noticeable - easy 10 mpg better.
I drive up to Livingston on the Lang Wang every day and days where Ive left in plenty time or are behind a lorry I can hit 60+ MPG. It's a good 10 more than a clear road would give me.
20-06-2022, 12:13 PM
I'll also be late.
20-06-2022, 12:14 PM
It’s over £8 a gallon now ..if you get 50 MPG. That’s saving you around 30 quid a week …almost £1500 quid a year …(taking in the account holidays etc)
And thats just diesel. I had to get 4 new tyres and brake pads last week at a cost of £750.
20-06-2022, 12:48 PM
Phew! Clearly no-one driving at 40 then! :greengrin
:hilarious:greengrin
20-06-2022, 01:25 PM
Are you 100% sure you were doing 70? The traffic was crawling up Baberton at 40-50 around that time.
Do you drive with blue lights on per chance?
Yes I'm 100% sure, I have eyes and can read a speedometer and I'm not prone to inventing things for the sake of an internet forum thread. :smug:
It's almost always fine once you get past Baberton and particularly so post Covid when commuting traffic has never returned to pre Covid levels. The funny thing is I knew someone would question it, but luckily I instructed my daughter to take a picture of the speedometer as evidence ( yes I am that sad :greengrin.) Although unfortunately I dont think its possible to add photo attachments in the dug out. Feel free to DM for proof!
This place is mad at times.:greengrin
20-06-2022, 01:32 PM
Yes I'm 100% sure, I have eyes and can read a speedometer and I'm not prone to inventing things for the sake of an internet forum thread. :smug:
It's almost always fine once you get past Baberton and particularly so post Covid when commuting traffic has never returned to pre Covid levels. The funny thing is I knew someone would question it, but luckily I instructed my daughter to take a picture of the speedometer as evidence ( yes I am that sad :greengrin.) Although unfortunately I dont think its possible to add photo attachments in the dug out. Feel free to DM for proof!
Incredible commitment. :aok:
20-06-2022, 01:40 PM
Incredible commitment. :aok:
She took a quite impressive photo for a 7 year old managing to angle it perfectly from the back seat so you can clearly see both the digital and non digital marker indicating precisely 70 mph.
Although when she asked me why she had to do this I had a bit of trouble explaining.:greengrin
20-06-2022, 01:48 PM
Oh and by the way Speedy Gonzalez - surely a change of username is in order?! :greengrin
speedy_gonzales
20-06-2022, 03:11 PM
Fair enough, I got caught up in the slower traffic from Calder to Baberton heading East this morning, probably around 0840, it's like that virtually every week day. There's no way I could have done 70 if I wanted to (I'm restricted to 60, being in a van).
You've obviously been very fortunate.
speedy_gonzales
20-06-2022, 03:11 PM
Oh and by the way Speedy Gonzalez - surely a change of username is in order?! :greengrin
For why???
20-06-2022, 05:26 PM
Fair enough, I got caught up in the slower traffic from Calder to Baberton heading East this morning, probably around 0840, it's like that virtually every week day. There's no way I could have done 70 if I wanted to (I'm restricted to 60, being in a van).
You've obviously been very fortunate.
I wasn't going 70 between Calder and Baberton, I understand that section is slower in the morning so understand your frustation there. My point ( in response to people saying it wasn't possible) was that you can easily and usually reach 70 if you drive along the bypass.
20-06-2022, 05:34 PM
For why???
Sorry mate poor attempt at humour::greengrin
20-06-2022, 06:59 PM
I wasn't going 70 between Calder and Baberton, I understand that section is slower in the morning so understand your frustation there. My point ( in response to people saying it wasn't possible) was that you can easily and usually reach 70 if you drive along the bypass.
I struggle to hit 64 on the bypass at any time, but my van is limited at 63mph
20-06-2022, 07:23 PM
If your Speedo says 70 you'll probably be closer to 60.
20-06-2022, 07:36 PM
****ing slow coach, he needs to get off the road to allow real drivers using a more accurate means of measuring speed crack on.
20-06-2022, 07:51 PM
I doubt there are many cars speedos that over read quite that much. For my make/model it averages about 2mph over reading at 70 on the clock - so I think I'd be doing closer to 68. There were cars going faster than me as well TBF.
20-06-2022, 07:55 PM
****ing slow coach, he needs to get off the road to allow real drivers using a more accurate means of measuring speed crack on.
Why don't you just admit you are wrong? It might be quite liberating for you.
If you had a solid argument up your sleeve at any point you wouldn't be resorting to ridiculous childish posts like that one.
20-06-2022, 08:12 PM
I doubt there are many cars speedos that over read quite that much. For my make/model it averages about 2mph over reading at 70 on the clock - so I think I'd be doing closer to 68. There were cars going faster than me as well TBF.
Every car or van I've driven since I got GPS had been closer to 60 when Speedo says 70, you're pushing towards 80 on the Speedo to be going 70mph.
20-06-2022, 08:17 PM
Why don't you just admit you are wrong? It might be quite liberating for you.
If you had a solid argument up your sleeve at any point you wouldn't be resorting to ridiculous childish posts like that one.
I'm not wrong though, we have maximum speed limits where hundreds of thousands of drivers receive fines for breaching them every year, how many drivers get fined for travelling too slow? If it was such a problem like you suggest then the technology for catching speeding drivers could easily be adapted to catch those driving too slow. If you have problems adapting to vehicles travelling a different speeds, then maybe you should hand in your licence.
20-06-2022, 08:21 PM
Every car or van I've driven since I got GPS had been closer to 60 when Speedo says 70, you're pushing towards 80 on the Speedo to be going 70mph.
Not the case for my car - you should be fine to go at 80 in a car then according to your speedo!
20-06-2022, 08:27 PM
I'm not wrong though, we have maximum speed limits where hundreds of thousands of drivers receive fines for breaching them every year, how many drivers get fined for travelling too slow? If it was such a problem like you suggest then the technology for catching speeding drivers could easily be adapted to catch those driving too slow. If you have problems adapting to vehicles travelling a different speeds, then maybe you should hand in your licence.
Please stop going on about people going too fast - for the umpteenth time, it is a completely separate argument, and no-one is disagreeing on that front. I don't have problems adapting to people travelling at different speeds, no idea why you are saying that.
You have stated that people should be able to drive at whatever speed they feel comfortable with below the limit. It's not correct and goes against the advice of experts. You are wrong on that and shouldn't be saying it. Why does the number of people get fined for it matter? 40% of murders in the UK are by knives. Only 6% are by guns. You can't just dismiss the gun murders as irrelevant because there are so few of them.
You and Moulin Yarns have been acting like ardent Brexiteers, taking a ridiculous position and then just doubling down on it without any logic, it's absolutely mad.
20-06-2022, 08:28 PM
Not the case for my car - you should be fine to go at 80 in a car then according to your speedo!
He probably is. There's a tolerance of 10% + 2mph in the UK
20-06-2022, 08:31 PM
Never more than 79😉
20-06-2022, 08:33 PM
Yeah that's what I meant.
20-06-2022, 08:37 PM
Never more than 79😉
KPH? Good sensible lad :wink:
20-06-2022, 08:47 PM
KPH? Good sensible lad :wink:
Only when I'm paying for the fuel.
20-06-2022, 09:10 PM
I use Google maps on my phone as a satnav, it shows my speed at about 4/5 mph less than the Speedo. The satnav is probably closer to what those "your speed is X" signs too.
With the over-estimate, the 10%, and the 2mph it's amazing anyone actually gets caught speeding. :greengrin
21-06-2022, 12:56 PM
Done for going too slow. :wink:
https://twitter.com/polscotrpu/status/1539222916394586112?s=20&t=wWBggabO_e0VWhwR_SSWNQ
21-06-2022, 01:17 PM
https://twitter.com/polscotrpu/status/1539222916394586112?s=20&t=wWBggabO_e0VWhwR_SSWNQ
Would be interesting to know what speed he was doing?
21-06-2022, 03:33 PM
:nanafunk:
21-06-2022, 04:05 PM
:nanafunk:
:faf: tweet has been updated. Driving too slow was the reason given for stopping him but apparently his licence had already been revoked and that's why he's getting done.
It's says a lot when you Google "has anyone ever been fined for driving too slow" and it throws up only 1 example of a Glasgow taxi driver and then it turns out he was actually on his phone.
21-06-2022, 04:28 PM
Down to Perth and back today, one driver going under 60, and everyone passed easily because of the dual carriageway.
Single carriageway section, down to below 30 because of a tractor.
21-06-2022, 05:36 PM
:faf: tweet has been updated. Driving too slow was the reason given for stopping him but apparently his licence had already been revoked and that's why he's getting done.
It's says a lot when you Google "has anyone ever been fined for driving too slow" and it throws up only 1 example of a Glasgow taxi driver and then it turns out he was actually on his phone.
Down to Perth and back today, one driver going under 60, and everyone passed easily because of the dual carriageway.
Single carriageway section, down to below 30 because of a tractor.
"Some people have such a fragile ego, such brittle self-esteem, such a weak "psychological constitution," that admitting they made a mistake or that they were wrong is fundamentally too threatening for their egos to tolerate. Accepting they were wrong, absorbing that reality, would be so psychologically shattering, their defense mechanisms do something remarkable to avoid doing so—they literally distort their perception of reality to make it (reality) less threatening. Their defense mechanisms protect their fragile ego by changing the very facts in their mind, so they are no longer wrong or culpable."
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.psychologytoday.com/gb/blog/the-squeaky-wheel/201811/why-some-people-will-never-admit-theyre-wrong%3famp
21-06-2022, 06:01 PM
The whole speed argument is that 2 vehicles driving at markedly different speeds.... 100mph vs 70... 70mph vs 40 , 15 vs 2 are more likely to collide than 2 driven at the same speed... 100/100.. 70/70 etc
The rest of it, legality, one having an mechanical issue, being a horse, a bicycle etc isn't in the discussion.
All it needs is one of the faster drivers to not be 100% on their game and the possibility of an accident increases... it's NOT THE FAULT of the dodgy car, cyclist or horse rider that that's the case.
21-06-2022, 06:02 PM
In fact, don't they start waving the yellow flag in motorsport when a vehicle has an issue and starts going dead slow?
21-06-2022, 06:35 PM
The whole speed argument is that 2 vehicles driving at markedly different speeds.... 100mph vs 70... 70mph vs 40 , 15 vs 2 are more likely to collide than 2 driven at the same speed... 100/100.. 70/70 etc
The rest of it, legality, one having an mechanical issue, being a horse, a bicycle etc isn't in the discussion.
All it needs is one of the faster drivers to not be 100% on their game and the possibility of an accident increases... it's NOT THE FAULT of the dodgy car, cyclist or horse rider that that's the case.
You're wrong and can't admit it due to a psychological disorder apparently.
21-06-2022, 06:46 PM
You're wrong and can't admit it due to a psychological disorder apparently.
No he is correct ( although if you are a horse on the bypass or motorway then you shouldn't be there) - it was covered a while back though and no one is arguing against that.
He hasn't however made any daft statements that claim you should be able to drive at whatever speed you feel comfortable with, which is obviously wrong.
21-06-2022, 08:26 PM
No he is correct ( although if you are a horse on the bypass or motorway then you shouldn't be there) - it was covered a while back though and no one is arguing against that.
He hasn't however made any daft statements that claim you should be able to drive at whatever speed you feel comfortable with, which is obviously wrong.
My original post I'm sure didn't say "at whatever speed they feel comfortable with" instead it probably said something along the lines of "within their capabilities". There is no national minimum speed limit for several reasons, one of those reasons is because forcing people to drive at high speed where they feel insecure would be dangerous and the alternative would be to force many people who can otherwise drive perfectly safely off the road. I've said it before, but if you can't compensate for vehicles driving at lower speeds for whatever reason, then maybe it's time to hand in your licence.
21-06-2022, 08:48 PM
My original post I'm sure didn't say "at whatever speed they feel comfortable with" instead it probably said something along the lines of "within their capabilities".
There is no national minimum speed limit for several reasons, one of those reasons is because forcing people to drive at high speed where they feel insecure would be dangerous and the alternative would be to force many people who can otherwise drive perfectly safely off the road.
You have just completely made that up. That is not the reason there is no minimum speed limit. Utter nonsense in fact - it is too do with the practicalities of actually enforcing it. Anyone feeling insecure about driving close to the speed limit on a motorway/dual carriageway would fail their driving test anyway.
I've said it before, but if you can't compensate for vehicles driving at lower speeds for whatever reason, then maybe it's time to hand in your licence.
You have said it before. It wasn't relevant to the discussion then, and it still isn't relevant, so I've really no idea why you keep saying it!
21-06-2022, 09:10 PM
Anyway now we have established beyond doubt ( thanks Hermit Crab!) that people should't be driving too slowly without good reason then we can move on.:greengrin
A real annoyance is when you and a host of other cars pull over to the left to stop to let an emergency vehicle with a blaring siren/flashing lights get past and the car at the back ( usually) decides they'll just use the gap created and tail the emergency vehicle at speed to get back on their way, rather than do the courteous thing and wait til everyone just pulls out in order again. :grr:
21-06-2022, 09:27 PM
Pulled over and stopped from driving because he had lost his licence, not stopped from driving because of the speed he was driving at.
Interestingly the car is less than 100m after a roundabout and the driver managed to negotiate that safely, and not even on a dual carriageway
Glad that's cleared everything up 👍😁
21-06-2022, 09:52 PM
Pulled over and stopped from driving because he had lost his licence, not stopped from driving because of the speed he was driving at.
Interestingly the car is less than 100m after a roundabout and the driver managed to negotiate that safely, and not even on a dual carriageway
Glad that's cleared everything up
The tweet actually says he was pulled over because he was driving too slow:hilarious.
You're giving me some laugh with your mad takes on this thread!
21-06-2022, 10:44 PM
Anyway now we have established beyond doubt ( thanks Hermit Crab!) that people should't be driving too slowly without good reason then we can move on.:greengrin
A real annoyance is when you and a host of other cars pull over to the left to stop to let an emergency vehicle with a blaring siren/flashing lights get past and the car at the back ( usually) decides they'll just use the gap created and tail the emergency vehicle at speed to get back on their way, rather than do the courteous thing and wait til everyone just pulls out in order again. :grr:
The ambulance thing, surely that must be a relative following it? That would always be my thinking.
22-06-2022, 02:52 AM
The ambulance thing, surely that must be a relative following it? That would always be my thinking.
Used to happen frequently that we'd have to stop and tell relatives trying to follow our ambulance that trying to follow us through red lights in an urban environment wasn't a great idea.