View Full Version : Driving Pet Peeves

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

28-11-2020, 04:34 PM
Drivers who think the road is only for them, and when challenged turn aggressive.

Just been to my local supermarket, small, local one with a small car park. I turned in and there coming out, on the wrong side of the road is a young man in a VW Cirrocco. We were nose to nose and I would have to reverse out onto the main road or he would have to reverse back into the space he came from.

I stood my ground and he eventually moved back then swung onto the right side of the road, window comes down and tirade of abuse. Stupidly I gave him the finger.

I went to a parking space further into the car park and saw him park and jump out of his car and headed towards me. Fortunately I had reversed into the space so didn't stop and left him shouting at me.

How bad a day could he have had to elicit that reaction? 🙄

28-11-2020, 05:00 PM
I broke down in the work van recently and pulled into the side of the road. It was in a town and although a reasonably busy road, there weren't too long queues forming to overtake on the single file road (a couple of minutes at most) the amount of people who seemed to think beeping their horn or shouting out of the window was going to make anything better was, quite frankly, hilarious.

nellio
28-11-2020, 06:09 PM
This happened to me on the way out of OT last week.

I was first at the lights on ocean drive waiting to turn right up towards new haven.

Car opposite me on North junction st indicating to turn right and in the right hand lane to turn down towards the shore.

On green I moved forward to turn right as nothing in the other lane going that direction.

Idiot opposite decided to turn left at the last moment so I had to suddenly brake. Then with his left indicator on went straight on towards ocean lane telling me to f off in the process!!!

29-11-2020, 01:11 PM
Drivers who think the road is only for them, and when challenged turn aggressive.

Just been to my local supermarket, small, local one with a small car park. I turned in and there coming out, on the wrong side of the road is a young man in a VW Cirrocco. We were nose to nose and I would have to reverse out onto the main road or he would have to reverse back into the space he came from.

I stood my ground and he eventually moved back then swung onto the right side of the road, window comes down and tirade of abuse. Stupidly I gave him the finger.

I went to a parking space further into the car park and saw him park and jump out of his car and headed towards me. Fortunately I had reversed into the space so didn't stop and left him shouting at me.

How bad a day could he have had to elicit that reaction? 🙄

Maybe a jambo not taking his medicine very well:greengrin

29-11-2020, 01:23 PM
People who after all this time still do not understand the traffic lights at the foot of Clermiston road. The amount of people that turn left on red is ridiculous.

29-11-2020, 07:21 PM
Ignorant Parker’s

my street is always busy with cars, fair enough. One household gets regular visitors (yes even during lockdowns and tier 4), so the visitors know how busy it is.

there’s a few parking bays, and space for 6 cars parked on the kerb if people park sensibly - the main visitor to said household just abandons their car, and ends up taking up enough space for 2 cars, forcing residents to park a fair distance away.

10-12-2020, 11:10 PM
Are parking spaces in supermarkets getting smaller or are cars getting bigger?

I’ve started parking in the hotel car park opposite the Asda where I live instead of dealing with the stress of trying to squeeze the car in a space that feels mere inches wider than it.

11-12-2020, 06:47 AM
I’ve developed an irrational hatred for the thing on my works car dashboard that tells me when to change gear. It’s really prominent so you can’t miss it. I’ve driven for years and I’ll decide what gear I want to be in.

11-12-2020, 06:50 AM
I’ve developed an irrational hatred for the thing on my works car dashboard that tells me when to change gear. It’s really prominent so you can’t miss it. I’ve driven for years and I’ll decide what gear I want to be in.

Stick a little bit of black tape over it, thats what I got advised to do.

11-12-2020, 06:52 AM
Stick a little bit of black tape over it, thats what I got advised to do.
I keep saying I’m going to do that but never get round to it.

11-12-2020, 07:56 AM
Are parking spaces in supermarkets getting smaller or are cars getting bigger?

I’ve started parking in the hotel car park opposite the Asda where I live instead of dealing with the stress of trying to squeeze the car in a space that feels mere inches wider than it.

Parking spaces have been a standard 4.6m x 2.3m since the 1970s, cars have got progressively larger.

11-12-2020, 08:34 AM
Parking spaces have been a standard 4.6m x 2.3m since the 1970s, cars have got progressively larger.

Then how come some seem smaller than others? I mean normal spaces, not disabled or parent and child bays?

11-12-2020, 08:51 AM
Then how come some seem smaller than others? I mean normal spaces, not disabled or parent and child bays?

I am quoting the design standard as laid out in the AJ Metric Handbook from 1977. I doubt it is a legal thing.

11-12-2020, 09:26 AM
I am quoting the design standard as laid out in the AJ Metric Handbook from 1977. I doubt it is a legal thing.Most parking spaces are 2.5 x 5m, sometimes reduced to 2.4 x 4.8m. Smaller than that doesn't work (you can go to 4.5m long when one end of the car can overhang the kerb).

11-12-2020, 09:28 AM
Most parking spaces are 2.5 x 5m, sometimes reduced to 2.4 x 4.8m. Smaller than that doesn't work (you can go to 4.5m long when one end of the car can overhang the kerb).

:aok: I did say I was quoting the 1977 edition of the AJ Metric Handbook :wink:

23-12-2020, 07:54 PM
When you let someone in from a side street/jucntion/parking space when it's busy.

A couple of hundred yards up the road they have the chance to return the favour to another driver and instead choose to roll tight to the bumper of the car in front to block them off.

28-12-2020, 03:16 PM
Driving so far away from the speed limit that it endangered other road users.

https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/news/local/perth-kinross/1846099/motorist-fined-for-driving-at-15mph-on-70mph-limit-m90-near-perth-during-rush-hour/

28-12-2020, 03:18 PM
Driving so far away from the speed limit that it endangered other road users.

https://www.thecourier.co.uk/fp/news/local/perth-kinross/1846099/motorist-fined-for-driving-at-15mph-on-70mph-limit-m90-near-perth-during-rush-hour/
On that subject I regularly drive the Dundee to St Andrews road for work and the speed limit regularly changes between 30,40 and 50mph. There's next to no opportunities to overtake another car unless you get lucky but the amount of people who'll drive at 40 in the 50 zone, then 40 in the 30 zone is incredible.

28-12-2020, 03:23 PM
On that subject I regularly drive the Dundee to St Andrews road for work and the speed limit regularly changes between 30,40 and 50mph. There's next to no opportunities to overtake another car unless you get lucky but the amount of people who'll drive at 40 in the 50 zone, then 40 in the 30 zone is incredible.

I hate what I call one speed drivers.

There's a road near me that goes 60, 40, 30, 60 then 30 in the space of about 3 miles. The number of people who sit at 40 the whole way is unbelievable. I would almost understand if they were to argue they were just being cautious on the 60 stretch which is a bit of a bendy country road tbf but the fact they speed through the 30 zone suggests they are just not concentrating rather then being careful.

28-12-2020, 06:17 PM
People who do not look at speed limits and drive at 20mph no matter where about in Edinburgh they are.

29-12-2020, 08:46 AM

Drive in the correct gear and you won't have to see it :wink:

Two things from the last few days:

1) people who cut a junction. There's a T junction just outside my house and the amount of people who swing round on the wrong side of the road, despite not being able to see if there's a car coming is absolutely crazy. There'll be an accident one day and it'll come as a big shock to the idiots who do it, but to absolutely nobody else.

2) People not clearing their cars of snow. I saw 3 or 4 today who hadn't done their back windscreen ffs!

03-01-2021, 10:43 PM
Are they not gritting the roads this year or what?
I mean I accept that covid has changed things but if they stop accidents in icy weather it'll lighten the load for the NHS won't it?

03-01-2021, 11:29 PM
Are they not gritting the roads this year or what?
I mean I accept that covid has changed things but if they stop accidents in icy weather it'll lighten the load for the NHS won't it?

They gritted Kaimes Road thankfully for me 😁

04-01-2021, 01:09 PM
They gritted Kaimes Road thankfully for me 😁

Well the side roads around Drum Brae are deadly as are the pavements in general. What the hell are they up to? I've a good mind to go down to the Clermiston Road depot, hijack a lorry, and get gritting.

04-01-2021, 03:53 PM
Well the side roads around Drum Brae are deadly as are the pavements in general. What the hell are they up to? I've a good mind to go down to the Clermiston Road depot, hijack a lorry, and get gritting.

Agreed my road off Kaimes Road is like an ice rink.

04-01-2021, 07:47 PM
They’ve not gritted most of the residential streets in Livingston. They’ve not come out and said they won’t be emptying bins on time and to bear with them because, surprise surprise, the bin lorries are struggling to get in and out the streets because if the conditions - use your fleet of gritters to get the streets more useable then!

we stay at the end of a street and there’s 2 inches of solid ice for about 300 yards from out house to get to slush rather than ice, which is freezing up now anyway.

and of course they’ll not touch any bagged rubbish sitting beside the bins either. WLC are a joke

05-01-2021, 01:52 PM
They’ve not gritted most of the residential streets in Livingston. They’ve not come out and said they won’t be emptying bins on time and to bear with them because, surprise surprise, the bin lorries are struggling to get in and out the streets because if the conditions - use your fleet of gritters to get the streets more useable then!

we stay at the end of a street and there’s 2 inches of solid ice for about 300 yards from out house to get to slush rather than ice, which is freezing up now anyway.

and of course they’ll not touch any bagged rubbish sitting beside the bins either. WLC are a joke

This could equally fall into the standard Pet Peeves but our wee block of flats where I live have been an ice rink recently - we have two flats in our block of six occupied by elderly people and the path directly outside is a slope down to a car park - also on a slope - where the communal bins are. I've been making it my job each morning to head to the grit bin and grit around the bins and up the path so they can head out, walk their dogs and not be in danger. I've even gritted the pavement around the grit bin so people can use it safely if they need to.

Across the car park there's another block of six flats that have a similar path that leads up to the main road and bus stop. This morning when I was out doing my thing a mother of three kids who communicate entirely in screaming, she's only ever really seen wearing a dressing down, grass out the front overgrown and toys strewn all over the place had a go whilst hanging out of their window saying "Aye, dinnae see you gritting over at our path do we" in her trademark bellow. After pointing out that I don't work for the council and we have elderly people in our block, she bellows back "yeah but I have to go to the shops and the paths a ****ing danger and you're too ****ing lazy to do it".

I'm not one to swear at people at all but just had to reply "What's stopping you from getting off your arse and doing it then?" to get another mouthful back. Popped out to the bins earlier and seen that nobody's thought of gritting it there.

I can understand having a go at the council - though I can imagine that this year has been more difficult to plan things as they normally would - but spent the day staggered about some peoples laziness and lack of gratefulness.

speedy_gonzales
05-01-2021, 06:28 PM
This could equally fall into the standard Pet Peeves but our wee block of flats where I live have been an ice rink recently - we have two flats in our block of six occupied by elderly people and the path directly outside is a slope down to a car park - also on a slope - where the communal bins are. I've been making it my job each morning to head to the grit bin and grit around the bins and up the path so they can head out, walk their dogs and not be in danger. I've even gritted the pavement around the grit bin so people can use it safely if they need to.

Across the car park there's another block of six flats that have a similar path that leads up to the main road and bus stop. This morning when I was out doing my thing a mother of three kids who communicate entirely in screaming, she's only ever really seen wearing a dressing down, grass out the front overgrown and toys strewn all over the place had a go whilst hanging out of their window saying "Aye, dinnae see you gritting over at our path do we" in her trademark bellow. After pointing out that I don't work for the council and we have elderly people in our block, she bellows back "yeah but I have to go to the shops and the paths a ****ing danger and you're too ****ing lazy to do it".

I'm not one to swear at people at all but just had to reply "What's stopping you from getting off your arse and doing it then?" to get another mouthful back. Popped out to the bins earlier and seen that nobody's thought of gritting it there.

I can understand having a go at the council - though I can imagine that this year has been more difficult to plan things as they normally would - but spent the day staggered about some peoples laziness and lack of gratefulness.

I'm not sure I could be so eloquent and polite given the circumstances.
Unsure if it's the isolation, but I've noticed a lot of folk not clearing the paths outside their properties around the Corstorphine area.
It used to be a pride thing, make sure the snow was cleared before it was compacted and then grit the path, but this year has been really poor.
I was out early on the 27th, clearing the snow off the path on my side of the street, I cleared outside 5 houses before I popped in for a cup of tea. I had barely took my boots off when the door went, a neighbour across the way asked if I was going to do their side.
I could only utter 'fraid not before closing the door. I was fuming because the neighbour has obviously been watching me and came across in the hope I'd carry on.
I've since heard she's pee'd & moaned and even questioned my "community spirit"???

05-01-2021, 06:38 PM
Unsure if it's the isolation, but I've noticed a lot of folk not clearing the paths outside their properties around the Corstorphine area.
It used to be a pride thing, make sure the snow was cleared before it was compacted and then grit the path, but this year has been really poor.
I was out early on the 27th, clearing the snow off the path on my side of the street, I cleared outside 5 houses before I popped in for a cup of tea. I had barely took my boots off when the door went, a neighbour across the way asked if I was going to do their side.
I could only utter 'fraid not before closing the door. I was fuming because the neighbour has obviously been watching me and came across in the hope I'd carry on.
I've since heard she's pee'd & moaned and even questioned my "community spirit"???

Did this lady have any obvious reason to not get involved and give you a hand? If not I can’t help but feel you should have told her to shove it up her arse.

05-01-2021, 06:39 PM

Tell her to **** off whilst holding back the laughter and say with a smile theres your community spirt ya ****ing boot.

05-01-2021, 06:40 PM

Tell the ***** bucket to **** off and do it herself.

05-01-2021, 07:04 PM
Did this lady have any obvious reason to not get involved and give you a hand? If not I can’t help but feel you should have told her to shove it up her arse.

It's far more effective to put it on the road, it clears more ice then :greengrin

There's no reason for her not to help but she's a notorious local loudmouth. Already had police at hers in the summer for having people piled into the garden for a BBQ.

The thing is that with non essential businesses being shut I'm back on furlough and I'm taking it over as a day to day job to ensure that the paths are good but also like in the first lockdown, running errands for my elderly neighbours and whatever is required around about us. I already get up at 6am to give my partner a lift into work and if she'd said "I'm so busy with my kids, could you scatter a bit on here too" I'd be happy to add it to my morning duties. As it is, it's not getting touched!

05-01-2021, 07:12 PM
Not sure if this has been mentioned, but as far as I can tell the new road layout outside the playhouse is left hand lane, left turn only to head up Leith street. Right hand lane splits to the left just after the lights for queen street, or stay to the right for Broughton Street. The amount of times I've seen a car on the left lane continue straight and cause a car to have to slam breaks is unreal.

05-01-2021, 07:19 PM
Not sure if this has been mentioned, but as far as I can tell the new road layout outside the playhouse is left hand lane, left turn only to head up Leith street. Right hand lane splits to the left just after the lights for queen street, or stay to the right for Broughton Street. The amount of times I've seen a car on the left lane continue straight and cause a car to have to slam breaks is unreal.
That’s a real grey area up there. It looks exactly as you describe it, but if you stay in the right hand lane it feeds you into the outside lane and you then have to indicate to go into the lane that takes you to York Pl. The left hand lane takes you into the lane for Leith St or feeds you into the lane for York Pl. According to the writing on the road, the way you describe it is right, but to be honest I’ve not got a clue as I think it’s the left hand lane that splits. Either way it’s a terrible design.

05-01-2021, 07:25 PM
People on residential streets who don't park on just one side of the street, creating a slalom course as such.

05-01-2021, 07:38 PM
That’s a real grey area up there. It looks exactly as you describe it, but if you stay in the right hand lane it feeds you into the outside lane and you then have to indicate to go into the lane that takes you to York Pl. The left hand lane takes you into the lane for Leith St or feeds you into the lane for York Pl. According to the writing on the road, the way you describe it is right, but to be honest I’ve not got a clue as I think it’s the left hand lane that splits. Either way it’s a terrible design.
There are a few roads like that, where the design is so bad it’s almost essential to have some local knowledge off of to avoid an accident through knowing what other drivers are likely to be doing.
The roundabout coming out of the Gyle centre is terrible, if you’re turning right out the Gyle towards Maybury you are in the right hand lane of the exit, going on to the roundabout.
When it’s busy, you’re moving into three lanes of traffic coming from the left, heading north (where the left and middle lanes are for straight on ) and then the traffic coming from Edinburgh Park where there’s a slip to join Northbound traffic predominantly used for bypass traffic, and two lanes joining the northbound traffic.
It ends up a total free-for-all and I’ve seen loads of near misses and arguments with drivers trying to funnel into one of the two lanes northbound. Generally you couldn’t pinpoint who was right and who was wrong because the road layout is so bad.

05-01-2021, 07:51 PM

I meant to actually add this - the arrows suggest what I say is correct, but the lines on the left lane as you say make it look like left hand is the straight on for York place. Total mental, and lucky I only drive it once or twice a week myself and it's usually about 7am and roads deid

patch1875
05-01-2021, 08:24 PM
It’s a bad design. I treat it as a roundabout with 4 exits left lane is leith at and York place, right is broughton and back down the walk which goes with the road markings but signs seems to say different.

Total shambles and why has it taken them so bloody long to put it in place probably been over 2 years to create a roundabout or whatever it is.

05-01-2021, 09:24 PM
It's far more effective to put it on the road, it clears more ice then :greengrin

There's no reason for her not to help but she's a notorious local loudmouth. Already had police at hers in the summer for having people piled into the garden for a BBQ.

The thing is that with non essential businesses being shut I'm back on furlough and I'm taking it over as a day to day job to ensure that the paths are good but also like in the first lockdown, running errands for my elderly neighbours and whatever is required around about us. I already get up at 6am to give my partner a lift into work and if she'd said "I'm so busy with my kids, could you scatter a bit on here too" I'd be happy to add it to my morning duties. As it is, it's not getting touched!

A long time ago there was a resident of a house in Edinburgh Road, Perth who had a dispute with the council. It got so bad that gritting stopped along the front of the property.

05-01-2021, 09:33 PM
It’s a bad design. I treat it as a roundabout with 4 exits left lane is leith at and York place, right is broughton and back down the walk which goes with the road markings but signs seems to say different.

Total shambles and why has it taken them so bloody long to put it in place probably been over 2 years to create a roundabout or whatever it is.

I must be one of the few people that drive it regularly and find it perfectly fine.

06-01-2021, 07:46 AM
I must be one of the few people that drive it regularly and find it perfectly fine.

Have you not wondered what all the tooting is about 🤔😉

06-01-2021, 09:20 AM
I meant to actually add this - the arrows suggest what I say is correct, but the lines on the left lane as you say make it look like left hand is the straight on for York place. Total mental, and lucky I only drive it once or twice a week myself and it's usually about 7am and roads deid
I’ve not been up there for a while but I used to drive round there all the time and I’m still none the wiser.

06-01-2021, 09:26 AM

That’s the way I’ve been doing it, but you get loads of people trying to switch into the left hand lane to go into York Pl. I think the problem is that it says Leith St on the road in the left hand lane, so everyone not going there moves to the right hand lane.

06-01-2021, 06:04 PM
That’s the way I’ve been doing it, but you get loads of people trying to switch into the left hand lane to go into York Pl. I think the problem is that it says Leith St on the road in the left hand lane, so everyone not going there moves to the right hand lane.

I've driven it twice and although I did a different thing each time they both felt a bit iffy.

In general it can be tricky in busy areas when the instructions are only on the road so because of the traffic you only see it once it is too late.

06-01-2021, 07:47 PM
I've driven it twice and although I did a different thing each time they both felt a bit iffy.

In general it can be tricky in busy areas when the instructions are only on the road so because of the traffic you only see it once it is too late.

It’s defo iffy as no one knows which lane to be in which means both lanes try and get into the York place one when it suddenly appears.

I actually hadn’t even noticed there was writing on the road as I’ve always been too busy watching for a car doing the opposite of me!

So which lane is it that you should be in for York Place before the now infamous split...the right hand lane?

c31
07-01-2021, 01:49 PM
Getting held up and not knowing the reason? That's because Scotland is one big set of roadworks, but you can check here: https://www.roadworksscotland.org/

08-01-2021, 07:57 AM
IIdiots who have no respect for the winter conditions they are driving in.

08-01-2021, 08:01 AM
Folk who park on communal bins.

Emergency vehicles, particularly fire engines have trouble passing and the b8n men can't don't bother emptying the bins meaning they end up overflowing.

08-01-2021, 08:45 AM
Selfish pricks who park on the apex of blind corners, often with multiple vehicles including vans, because they’re too lazy to walk across the road.

similarly people who park on the street in awkward places just before/after blind corners, forcing traffic into the wrong side of the road as they approach the corner with parked vehicles as described above, again so that they have 5 or 6 less steps.

08-01-2021, 09:17 AM
People on residential streets who don't park on just one side of the street, creating a slalom course as such.

I have to drive up a long road before I turn into my estate/scheme and this is how folk park. I moan about it but sometimes I have thoughts that if they were all parked on the same side of the road then you’d never get moving on one side - at least by parking on different sides there’s a way for you to get moving and keep it flowing in both directions?

Not sure though?

patch1875
08-01-2021, 11:03 AM
Cyclists with no lights on in the dark

08-01-2021, 11:06 AM
Cyclists with no lights on in the dark

usually dressed in black/dark colours, and often with earphones in, and no hi-viz or reflective gear.

and will generally give the car driver a mouthful for getting too close (taking no responsibility for their own actions)

08-01-2021, 12:41 PM
The use of indicator lights must have become optional. I recently drove forty miles on dual carriageways and A roads with a police car directly behind me and ahead of me all the way. Despite plenty of manoeuvres requiring indicators, the guy didn’t use them once. He was also driving with one headlight.

08-01-2021, 01:27 PM
The fact that Saughton road North had not been gritted when I went to work this morning at 03:00 is fair enough as the snow fell in the early hours but for it still not to have been gritted when I returned home at 8am is outrageous, it was like an ice rink in places and its a bus route. WTF are ECC playing at?

08-01-2021, 02:01 PM
The fact that Saughton road North had not been gritted when I went to work this morning at 03:00 is fair enough as the snow fell in the early hours but for it still not to have been gritted when I returned home at 8am is outrageous, it was like an ice rink in places and its a bus route. WTF are ECC playing at?

sounds like they’re taking advice from West Lothian Council :bitchy:

08-01-2021, 07:09 PM
People who just have no awareness of what is going on around them.

I was driving along a residential street last week with cars parked on both sides, it's really tight and 2 cars passing each other is a struggle. I drove past a guy scraping his car who looked up and saw me. When I was about 100 yards or so along the road a John Lewis lorry turned into the street. There was no way we could pass each other and he would have had to back out into a busy road so I reversed back up the road past scraping man (who looked up again) and pulled into a space a further 40 yards or so back. The lorry stopped, hazards on and the 2 guys started to unload a big box. Meanwhile scraping man gets in his car, starts the engine and proceeds to drive straight towards the lorry. He then appears stunned that there is an obstruction because he got out his car to take a closer look at something that was about 20 yards in front of him, gets back in and starts battering his horn then tries and fails to perform a 3 point turn on the tight street.

I don't understand how he didn't see the lorry and didn't wonder why I drove past him then reversed the best part of 200 yards up the street and was sitting half pulled into a space with my engine running.

08-01-2021, 08:19 PM
I have to drive up a long road before I turn into my estate/scheme and this is how folk park. I moan about it but sometimes I have thoughts that if they were all parked on the same side of the road then you’d never get moving on one side - at least by parking on different sides there’s a way for you to get moving and keep it flowing in both directions?

Not sure though?

It depends - there's a short road into our car park and when people park on both sides it just makes it difficult for larger vehicles to get through. Had to call the police recently because someone had parked in such a way that they'd blocked everyone in the car park in and as it could have been any number of houses who the car was from. Infuriates me as the car park always has spaces in it too, it's just absolute laziness.

08-01-2021, 08:29 PM

and of course they’ll not touch any bagged rubbish sitting beside the bins either. WLC are a jokeI also live in Livingston so are in the same boat. Have you considered that their drivers may not be at full strength becuse of covid? I cant imagine qualified drivers are held back in reserve. The council will be aware emergency vehicles will need access to any estate.

Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk

08-01-2021, 10:21 PM

All West Lothian recycling centres are open you'll be glad to hear.

Maybe take some time off posting on this thread, grab a snow shovel and help clear your street then take your bags to the tip?!?

FYI: I'm from Livingston (Bankton if that helps your geography). I also live at the end of a cul-de-sac furthest from the main road.
Unfortunately, as I drive for a living, I have to get out and get on with it rather than whining on a football forum. 🙄

Apologies for going off topic on a driving pet peeves thread but having read the multiple moans from the poster quoted I truly despair.

Fyii: since the introduction of wheelie bins 30 odd years ago, the bin men have never collected 'bagged rubbish' sitting besides the bin - that's your job mate-either put it in the bin or take it to the tip OR type a furious comment on a fitba fans site.....

08-01-2021, 11:37 PM

Maybe take some time off posting on this thread, grab a snow shovel and help clear your street then take your bags to the tip?!?

FYI: I'm from Livingston (Bankton if that helps your geography). I also live at the end of a cul-de-sac furthest from the main road.
Unfortunately, as I drive for a living, I have to get out and get on with it rather than whining on a football forum. [emoji849]

Apologies for going off topic on a driving pet peeves thread but having read the multiple moans from the poster quoted I truly despair.

Fyii: since the introduction of wheelie bins 30 odd years ago, the bin men have never collected 'bagged rubbish' sitting besides the bin - that's your job mate-either put it in the bin or take it to the tip OR type a furious comment on a fitba fans site.....

Aha quality put down that made me laugh even if I’m not convinced it was totally deserved [emoji23]

There is a point though re the gritting of side streets (aside from the cost and man power required to do so)...I’m pretty sure that for the grit to work properly it needs traffic so actually there is often little point in gritting a comparatively little used cul de sac as it wouldn’t make much difference anyway.

Maybe just nonsense that I’ve mis remembered from somewhere (possibly the cooncil book of long tales and excuses [emoji2957])

09-01-2021, 06:44 AM

Unfortunately, as I drive for a living, I have to get out and get on with it rather than whining on a football forum. ��

my apologies for posting in a pet peeves thread - pretty sure that’s the point of the thread, I’ll check if I have your permission next time. Multiple moans on a pet peeves thread, who’d have thought it. No idea why up your having a pop at me, I’m hardly the only poster who’s made multiple posts, feel free to put me on ignore since I cause so much despair.

To reply to your points - 2 solid inches of ice won’t be cleared by a snow shovel, and to try to do that for several hundred yards would be a challenge.

I'm capable of getting my car out the street, not everyone is so able, and before it’s suggested, yes I do help my neighbours out, but that’s not the point. I’m also able to read other’ posts without feeling the need to post about having to get on with it, one of my neighbours drives for a living and has commented on the state of the street (in agreement with mine), does that make his opinion on this topic more valid than mine?

lastly, I’m well aware of the bag situation, thanks for the patronising “FYI”, none of the bags are mine thanks, I’ve never left bags next to my bin “mate”, I’m referring to people who haven’t the space in their house or ability to get to a tip, and need their bins emptied when the council say they will. Im perfectly capable of going to the tip and posting on the forum, I didn’t realise it was a one or the other situation.

09-01-2021, 06:48 AM
Aha quality put down that made me laugh even if I’m not convinced it was totally deserved [emoji23]

There is a point though re the gritting of side streets (aside from the cost and man power required to do so)...I’m pretty sure that for the grit to work properly it needs traffic so actually there is often little point in gritting a comparatively little used cul de sac as it wouldn’t make much difference anyway.

Maybe just nonsense that I’ve mis remembered from somewhere (possibly the cooncil book of long tales and excuses [emoji2957])

The end where I stay does have a reasonable amount of vehicles going in and out, but with no grit (and none in the bin several hundred yards away) all that happened is snow gets compacted down then freezes into ice, making it dangerous (I shouldn’t comment on that though apparently).

ironically the 2 nights of snowing that fell on top of the ice has made it slightly less dangerous as the fresh snow provides a bit more grip comparatively speaking :greengrin

it does sound like the kind of thing councils often say lol

09-01-2021, 07:56 AM
To add to the lack of gritting.

Every council has a list, or even a map, on their website showing priority routes for gritting. It will show you how far down the list your residential cul de sac is..

I was pleasantly surprised the other day when I saw a gritter doing the small lane that leads to the village hall.

speedy_gonzales
09-01-2021, 12:40 PM
To add to the lack of gritting.

Every council has a list, or even a map, on their website showing priority routes for gritting. It will show you how far down the list your residential cul de sac is..

I was pleasantly surprised the other day when I saw a gritter doing the small lane that leads to the village hall.

In addition, most council's will have an online map of where the (known) grit boxes are located with a link to have them refilled if necessary.
Edinburgh Council even has the facility to request a grit box if there's none suitably local to you.
Re refilling, locally (Corstorphine), there's various FB groups with neighbours moaning about their local bins being empty. Why wait until the freeze to have them filled, they've probably been empty since last winter, and they'll have been emptied by themselves!
Sometimes a little proactive action by the immediate local community can go a long, long, way.

09-01-2021, 12:48 PM
In addition, most council's will have an online map of where the (known) grit boxes are located with a link to have them refilled if necessary.
Edinburgh Council even has the facility to request a grit box if there's none suitably local to you.
Re refilling, locally (Corstorphine), there's various FB groups with neighbours moaning about their local bins being empty. Why wait until the freeze to have them filled, they've probably been empty since last winter, and they'll have been emptied by themselves!
Sometimes a little proactive action by the immediate local community can go a long, long, way.

There's a grit bin close to me, it is on a bridge which will be liable to ice. I've seen a particular car stop beside it a few times this winter and fill buckets in the boot.

speedy_gonzales
09-01-2021, 12:54 PM
There's a grit bin close to me, it is on a bridge which will be liable to ice. I've seen a particular car stop beside it a few times this winter and fill buckets in the boot.

I've seen similar, but as long as it's a local resident using the salt/grit to treat public paths & roads in the immediate area I don't get too concerned about it.
If someone is stealing grit to treat their private path or road they should be challenged.
There are three grit bins within 100 metres of my house, so far the residents have been fairly responsible, my only peeve being a young lad that emptied nearly half of one bin over a large residential parking area, but he didn't bother to clear the snow first so it was really wasteful!

10-01-2021, 08:09 AM

Edinburgh's bin folk collect bagged rubbish and extra recycling whenever there is a delay to the scheduled collection.

10-01-2021, 08:16 AM
I've seen similar, but as long as it's a local resident using the salt/grit to treat public paths & roads in the immediate area I don't get too concerned about it.
If someone is stealing grit to treat their private path or road they should be challenged.
There are three grit bins within 100 metres of my house, so far the residents have been fairly responsible, my only peeve being a young lad that emptied nearly half of one bin over a large residential parking area, but he didn't bother to clear the snow first so it was really wasteful!

The car doesn't belong to anyone in the 24 houses in the hamlet, he is driving at least a mile to steal the grit.

10-01-2021, 09:02 AM
The car doesn't belong to anyone in the 24 houses in the hamlet, he is driving at least a mile to steal the grit.

Probably selling it to feed a habit. That's how criminal behaviour begins. Once you start stealing grit you're on a very slippery slope.

10-01-2021, 01:13 PM
I live in a cul de sac and we had the road gritted yesterday, there’s a small roundabout at the end of the street and it just drove down and round that.

Jay
10-01-2021, 01:55 PM
Edinburgh's bin folk collect bagged rubbish and extra recycling whenever there is a delay to the scheduled collection.

West Lothian dont but I just folded all the cardboard from christmas and put it inside another cardboard box, listened for the bin lorry and took it out. The bin men took it no bother. I dont drive so couldnt get to the tip myself.

speedy_gonzales
10-01-2021, 02:04 PM

In which case you should definitely brain him with his show shovel 😉
I don't suppose a polite word with him, advising that him taking such amounts is leaving you and your neighbours a bit shy when it comes to gritting your own area?
Either that, or a passive/aggressive note in the bin staying the salt within is local salt for local people!
Joking aside, that behaviour would frustrate me, I help out with the snow clearing around our immediate neighbourhood because I'm fit and able to. I also make sure the bins are full by going through Edinburgh Council's web pages,,,, it takes me two minutes but it's amazing the amount of folk that either think it's too complicated, their too busy, it they just going think, but they'll be the first to complain when they need it.

10-01-2021, 03:10 PM
Probably selling it to feed a habit. That's how criminal behaviour begins. Once you start stealing grit you're on a very slippery slope.

Is he not stealing grit because he's already on a slippery slope?

patch1875
10-01-2021, 04:31 PM
Is he not stealing grit because he's already on a slippery slope?

Anyone worth their salt would do that.

10-01-2021, 05:50 PM

So he’s stealing grit so he can get melted? [emoji2957]

11-01-2021, 08:33 AM
Anyone worth their salt would do that.

Disagree, the perpetrator needs to get a grip.

13-01-2021, 08:14 AM
So he’s stealing grit so he can get melted? [emoji2957]

13-01-2021, 11:26 PM
Edinburgh must be a hotspot for temporary traffic lights, they appear everywhere, and at random times too. the latest to appear are on Stenhouse Drive. Never seen anybody working on the road though...:confused:

14-01-2021, 08:29 AM
Edinburgh must be a hotspot for temporary traffic lights, they appear everywhere, and at random times too. the latest to appear are on Stenhouse Drive. Never seen anybody working on the road though...:confused:

You’ve got to hand it to the guys that do the planning - they know all the alternative routes so they can ensure all paths are closed.

14-01-2021, 09:36 AM
You’ve got to hand it to the guys that do the planning - they know all the alternative routes so they can ensure all paths are closed.

Yes agreed, it must be a massive laugh in the planning office as they plot to cause as much congestion as possible, they are absolute experts in their field.

Saturday Boy
14-01-2021, 07:23 PM
Yes agreed, it must be a massive laugh in the planning office as they plot to cause as much congestion as possible, they are absolute experts in their field.

Remember, they have more than twenty years experience. They brought us the tram line.

23-01-2021, 10:04 AM
People who creep out in traffic onto roundabouts and out of junctions with the intention to make the oncoming traffic stop and let them in.

23-01-2021, 10:16 AM
People who creep out in traffic onto roundabouts and out of junctions with the intention to make the oncoming traffic stop and let them in.

Those, and people who deliberately change into the wrong lane to beat traffic then bully their way back in further up, are the only people I never let in under any circumstances.

They are basically trying to make themselves a danger on the road to force you into a decision.

23-01-2021, 10:38 AM
Those, and people who deliberately change into the wrong lane to beat traffic then bully their way back in further up, are the only people I never let in under any circumstances.

They are basically trying to make themselves a danger on the road to force you into a decision.

Happens a lot at Wester Hailes. Left lane is straight on to go past the cinema and railway station and the right lane is for right turn only and folk zoom up the right turn lane and nip in once they're through the lights.

23-01-2021, 10:43 AM
Happens a lot at Wester Hailes. Left lane is straight on to go past the cinema and railway station and the right lane is for right turn only and folk zoom up the right turn lane and nip in once they're through the lights.

Milton Link going past The Range is where I see it most.

In normal times the queue can go right across the roundabout and up onto the A1. People that pull out of the queue, fire up the inside lane that is meant for turning left at the lights and then try to bully their way back in is ridiculous. I quite enjoy when someone won't let them in and the person behind blasts the horn and they are shamed into carrying on the wrong way. Happens rarely as the sense of entitlement is strong in the people that do things like that but it's great when it does.

23-01-2021, 11:06 AM
Milton Link going past The Range is where I see it most.

In normal times the queue can go right across the roundabout and up onto the A1. People that pull out of the queue, fire up the inside lane that is meant for turning left at the lights and then try to bully their way back in is ridiculous. I quite enjoy when someone won't let them in and the person behind blasts the horn and they are shamed into carrying on the wrong way. Happens rarely as the sense of entitlement is strong in the people that do things like that but it's great when it does.
You see it all the time on duddingston park/south junction at national tyres. I never let them in either.

23-01-2021, 11:20 AM

Yep, I never let people like that in, nor people who deliberately creep over junctions too. I drive a big old Saab that's tough as boots so them essentially trying to say "let me in or we'll have a low speed collision" is absoltuely no threat to me whatsoever. They always - 100% of the time - back out of merging back into the lane or coming out of the roundabout.

23-01-2021, 12:01 PM
Yep, I never let people like that in, nor people who deliberately creep over junctions too. I drive a big old Saab that's tough as boots so them essentially trying to say "let me in or we'll have a low speed collision" is absoltuely no threat to me whatsoever. They always - 100% of the time - back out of merging back into the lane or coming out of the roundabout.

In busy cities it’s the only way to get yourself out at a junction sometimes especially when turning right so don’t really see the problem with it. I get more annoyed with drivers who won’t let you out at a busy junction especially when they are sitting in a queue and insist on keeping tight nose to tail to stop you from joining.

27-01-2021, 10:20 AM
Junctions that have dedicated lanes for left, right or straight ahead but the only indication is an arrow painted on the ground at the junction.... which you can't see because it's under a car.

If it's really busy, you often have no choice but to carry on in the direction your current lane is taking you, as there's little to no chance of other drivers letting you switch into the correct lane (as it's often dangerous or would block the traffic).

Would it kill them to have a road sign at the side of the road shortly before the junction to inform you of the dedicated lanes?

pollution
27-01-2021, 11:33 AM
Junctions that have dedicated lanes for left, right or straight ahead but the only indication is an arrow painted on the ground at the junction.... which you can't see because it's under a car.

If it's really busy, you often have no choice but to carry on in the direction your current lane is taking you, as there's little to no chance of other drivers letting you switch into the correct lane (as it's often dangerous or would block the traffic).

Would it kill them to have a road sign at the side of the road shortly before the junction to inform you of the dedicated lanes?

That would be too obvious. Anything as simple as that would be too clever. That is how I failed my first driving test many years ago !

27-01-2021, 01:03 PM
Taking the wife to work this morning and heading to York place westwards at the new traffic system, I'm in the left lane to head to York place and this eejit in the middle lane decides he wants to turn left instead of going straight ahead onto Broughton St, needless to say I quick blast on the horn a few choice words were uttered.

27-01-2021, 04:10 PM
When you’re at a junction wide enough for two cars and an SUV pulls up alongside you and myself, as someone who doesn’t drive a Fisher Price Jeep, has their view entirely blocked to one side (same complaint in parking spaces).

A fashion statement that infringes on the safety of other road users, get them to ****.

27-01-2021, 04:39 PM
When you’re at a junction wide enough for two cars and an SUV pulls up alongside you and myself, as someone who doesn’t drive a Fisher Price Jeep, has their view entirely blocked to one side (same complaint in parking spaces).

A fashion statement that infringes on the safety of other road users, get them to ****.

Yep, so annoying. As an add-on to this, the step things at the sides of Jeeps, Range Rovers, etc. that take up more room in parking spaces. There’s someone in my development who has two Range Rovers and parks them with a space between them, so any other car that tries to park in that space hits their door off the step.

The guy’s next door neighbour does something even more infuriating. Our car park doesn’t have designated spaces, you just park where you want so long as you’ve registered your car for the reg plate recognition. This particular person has a favoured space so has somehow acquired a traffic cone and puts it in the favoured space to prevent anyone else parking there.

27-01-2021, 05:01 PM
Yep, so annoying. As an add-on to this, the step things at the sides of Jeeps, Range Rovers, etc. that take up more room in parking spaces. There’s someone in my development who has two Range Rovers and parks them with a space between them, so any other car that tries to park in that space hits their door off the step.

The guy’s next door neighbour does something even more infuriating. Our car park doesn’t have designated spaces, you just park where you want so long as you’ve registered your car for the reg plate recognition. This particular person has a favoured space so has somehow acquired a traffic cone and puts it in the favoured space to prevent anyone else parking there.

I have no problems with Land Rovers and the like - even Suzuki Jimnys are brilliant and will get you out of trouble - as the future in-laws live in the arse end of nowhere and when it snows there, they need a car that will handle deep snow.

I'd imagine that the vast majority of SUVs and higher up vehicles in towns and cities are unnecessary. If you need space an estate serves you much, much better than any SUV.

pollution
27-01-2021, 05:24 PM

That cone deserves to go missing....

27-01-2021, 06:52 PM

And the cone is still there! 😉

27-01-2021, 11:22 PM

That would boil my piss. Why be so possessive over a space if everyone has one allocated?

We shared a street with a scaffolder who had flatbed truck that he used to bring to the street to park. Every morning at half 7 he would move the truck from the space, empty the back of it of scaffold batons and poles and arrange them on the road to save his space, then every night he’d put them back in the truck and park it.

28-01-2021, 05:13 AM

I would move the cone and park there at every opportunity.

28-01-2021, 07:24 AM

One night the cone would be doused in petrol and melted in said parking space and it would be blamed on local vandals.

28-01-2021, 11:18 AM

I had a similar problem with a neighbour years ago in Linwood.

She had an obsession with the space outside her front door and the couple of times I parked in it, her boyfriend double parked and blocked me in with his Jeep.

I went to the door the first time and politely asked if they could move it. They eventually did.

The second time, she made a big fuss (even though I was being polite again) and ranted about it being 'her' space. I calmly told her she was wrong, that they had no right to deliberately block my car on a public road and advised that her boyfriend not do it again. He came to the door, shouting and screaming and asking me who the hell I thought I was and described what he would do to me if I ever bothered him again.

I then sat in my car, waited for him to move his Jeep to let me out (which he eventually did), got out of my car and 'had a quiet word in his ear' out of the sight of his girlfriend and neighbours.

He never did it again.

28-01-2021, 12:29 PM
100% that cone would be getting moved.

28-01-2021, 12:30 PM
100% that cone would be getting moved.

If only there was somewhere it could be inserted...

28-01-2021, 01:36 PM
one night the cone would be doused in petrol and melted on top of the vehicle and it would be blamed on local vandals.

ftfy

28-01-2021, 01:46 PM
I had a similar problem with a neighbour years ago in Linwood.

She had an obsession with the space outside her front door and the couple of times I parked in it, her boyfriend double parked and blocked me in with his Jeep.

I went to the door the first time and politely asked if they could move it. They eventually did.

The second time, she made a big fuss (even though I was being polite again) and ranted about it being 'her' space. I calmly told her she was wrong, that they had no right to deliberately block my car on a public road and advised that her boyfriend not do it again. He came to the door, shouting and screaming and asking me who the hell I thought I was and described what he would do to me if I ever bothered him again.

I then sat in my car, waited for him to move his Jeep to let me out (which he eventually did), got out of my car and 'had a quiet word in his ear' out of the sight of his girlfriend and neighbours.

He never did it again.

That reminds me of what happened to my car when I lived in falkirk, Russell Street near Brockville is very narrow with space to park on one side only. As most cars were parked on the opposite side of the road to my house I also parked opposite. One person owned a haulage firm and would sometimes bring a tractor cab unit home. He and his neighbour would block my car in with an inch between the vehicles so no way of getting the car out.

The straw that broke the camels back was the squirting of superglue into the locks. I bought my current home, unseen, soon after. That was over 30 years ago.

28-01-2021, 01:56 PM
I used to park a long double wheel base Ford Transit van behind my own car when I lived in Liverpool. The next door neighbour didn’t have a car but complained that my van blocked his light! Threatened to slash the van tyres and vandalise it if it wasn’t moved, it stayed where it was and was never touched.

28-01-2021, 05:26 PM
Some of this sounds a bit like my street.

Most houses have driveways but there’s 8 houses that don’t (including ours), totalling 17 cars. There’s seven communal spaces plus space on the kerb at the opposite side of the road.

our next door neighbours are fanatical about one particular space, to the point that when one of them is going out, the other will go out and move their other car into the space to make sure no one can get it (particularly the household on their other side, they don’t get on at all).

we also have a bloke who buys an oldish car, parks it in a space and it never moves for months, then is eventually gotten rid off (one sat for about 2 years solid, and was completely mouldy inside).

the space on the kerb has enough room for 6 cars if people park sensibly, one household (husband, wife and recently passed driving test daughter), none of them have any concept of good parking, and it’s not unusual to come home to find their 3 cars taking up the entire space because theyve left over half a car length between each other.

there’s also a neighbour with a double driveway who owns (but doesn’t drive) a taxi, which is never in his driveway but in a communal space (although I think he’s sorned it now as he’s moved it into the garden after months of taking up a space).

29-01-2021, 09:13 AM
That reminds me of what happened to my car when I lived in falkirk, Russell Street near Brockville is very narrow with space to park on one side only. As most cars were parked on the opposite side of the road to my house I also parked opposite. One person owned a haulage firm and would sometimes bring a tractor cab unit home. He and his neighbour would block my car in with an inch between the vehicles so no way of getting the car out.

The straw that broke the camels back was the squirting of superglue into the locks. I bought my current home, unseen, soon after. That was over 30 years ago.

That's just ridiculous bullying.

29-01-2021, 01:12 PM
Fiat 500s. What is about a Fiat 500 that attracts people that really shouldn't be on the road? Cutting people up, parking over two spaces, if it's not an Audi it's a bloody Fiat 500.

29-01-2021, 01:59 PM
Fiat 500s. What is about a Fiat 500 that attracts people that really shouldn't be on the road? Cutting people up, parking over two spaces, if it's not an Audi it's a bloody Fiat 500.It's the big ones that puzzle me. What's that all about? Like big minis, surely they should be maxis? I remember real maxis and they were guff.

Saturday Boy
29-01-2021, 02:52 PM
It's the big ones that puzzle me. What's that all about? Like big minis, surely they should be maxis? I remember real maxis and they were guff.

Ah, the Austin Maxi. There used to be a joke about the Dunlop Worldbeater tyres tv advert. Round the world on one set of tyres but wore out three Austin Maxis.

29-01-2021, 03:33 PM
Fiat 500s. What is about a Fiat 500 that attracts people that really shouldn't be on the road? Cutting people up, parking over two spaces, if it's not an Audi it's a bloody Fiat 500.
My wife and eldest daughter both have Fiat 500s. You could be onto something!!

29-01-2021, 03:41 PM
Ah, the Austin Maxi. There used to be a joke about the Dunlop Worldbeater tyres tv advert. Round the world on one set of tyres but wore out three Austin Maxis.

Never had one but my workmate did. Think he almost dislocated his wrist trying to change gear and put his knee out booting the clutch. A truly horrendous motor.

29-01-2021, 03:51 PM

Never had one but my workmate did. Think he almost dislocated his wrist trying to change gear and put his knee out booting the clutch. A truly horrendous motor.

When we were 17 and just passed our tests my mate had a Allegro Vanden Plas, how very posh. We went thousands of miles in it, at least half of them being towed!!

29-01-2021, 04:47 PM

I managed to write my mother's Maxi off. Nothing serious, just wasn't looking and a Beetle (a Beetle ffs) ploughed into me.

29-01-2021, 06:08 PM
When we were 17 and just passed our tests my mate had a Allegro Vanden Plas, how very posh. We went thousands of miles in it, at least half of them being towed!!

Haha.... my boss had one.....I remember the catchphrase back in 78 or whenever - Allegro's Got Vroom!! Heap of sheidt!

29-01-2021, 06:11 PM
Haha.... my boss had one.....I remember the catchphrase back in 78 or whenever - Allegro's Got Vroom!! Heap of sheidt!

Passed my test in an allegro. Not the posh variant though ! :).

29-01-2021, 06:13 PM
I managed to write my mother's Maxi off. Nothing serious, just wasn't looking and a Beetle (a Beetle ffs) ploughed into me.

You are John Lennon and I claim my £10 :greengrin https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/highlands/774047/john-lennon-crashed-car-a9/

29-01-2021, 06:24 PM
You are John Lennon and I claim my £10 :greengrin https://www.pressandjournal.co.uk/fp/news/highlands/774047/john-lennon-crashed-car-a9/

Imagine that .

29-01-2021, 06:30 PM
Passed my test in an allegro. Not the posh variant though ! :).

The Vanden Plas had a square steering wheel. Vinyl roof and a funky grill at the front and wooden cash etc. It was the uniquely BL mustard colour which was horrific

29-01-2021, 06:38 PM
Imagine that .

He obviously wasn't watching the wheels..

29-01-2021, 07:15 PM
My wife and eldest daughter both have Fiat 500s. You could be onto something!!

Are either of them midwives?

We had midwives do home visits for Wee Jones 1 and out of the 7 or 8 that came all but 1 had Fiat 500’s.

29-01-2021, 07:36 PM
Are either of them midwives?

We had midwives do home visits for Wee Jones 1 and out of the 7 or 8 that came all but 1 had Fiat 500’s.

haha no! 500s are dead cheap to buy and to run so that is probably the attraction.

30-01-2021, 07:55 PM
****ers who dont acknowledge you when you stop to let them through a narrow part of the road, 2 of them today at the same bit, ignorant gits.

31-01-2021, 11:45 AM
The Vanden Plas had a square steering wheel. Vinyl roof and a funky grill at the front and wooden cash etc. It was the uniquely BL mustard colour which was horrific
The Allegro was a truly horrific car, but the Vanden Plas took it to new levels. I was watching a program a while ago and the guy that designed it was on, he had the original design with him, it actually looked quite good, but management interference forced him to change it into the monstrosity it became.

31-01-2021, 12:08 PM
My friend had the sports version of the Allegro, the Equipe I think. It had super performance for its time - until one of the front wheels fell off!

31-01-2021, 01:16 PM
Audi drivers are considerably worse than BMW and Mercedes drivers and I won't be told otherwise.

Think they own the ****ing road. Twats.

31-01-2021, 01:25 PM
the very worst, most ignorant drivers on the road

1 Audi
2 BMW

absolutely :agree:

31-01-2021, 01:44 PM
The Allegro was a truly horrific car, but the Vanden Plas took it to new levels. I was watching a program a while ago and the guy that designed it was on, he had the original design with him, it actually looked quite good, but management interference forced him to change it into the monstrosity it became.

BL were a joke. The Ital was designed by Giugiaro italdesign I think, hence the name, but when you read the history of that design house there is no mention of it!! Says it all about BL

31-01-2021, 02:31 PM

Maybe I’m alone but I think the Vaden Plas has actually matured into a bit of a cult classic!

I do remember one of my mates dads had a standard allegro and it had weird waffle pattern vinyl covered seats that literally stuck to you in the summer.

The build quality of all BL cars were truly horrific though.

31-01-2021, 04:41 PM
Audi drivers are considerably worse than BMW and Mercedes drivers and I won't be told otherwise.

Think they own the ****ing road. Twats.

the very worst, most ignorant drivers on the road

1 Audi
2 BMW

absolutely :agree:

So basically anybody that drives a German car.

Funnily enough, Germans are notoriously selfish drivers (second only, in my experience, to the Austrians).

31-01-2021, 04:51 PM
BL were a joke. The Ital was designed by Giugiaro italdesign I think, hence the name, but when you read the history of that design house there is no mention of it!! Says it all about BL
The Allegro came out around the time we joined the common market, the hope was that it would be a big seller in Europe. The reality was that people realised they didn’t have to buy crappy BL cars anymore, they could get quality German cars instead and the Europeans didn’t fancy the Allegro very much.

31-01-2021, 04:52 PM
Maybe I’m alone but I think the Vaden Plas has actually matured into a bit of a cult classic!

I do remember one of my mates dads had a standard allegro and it had weird waffle pattern vinyl covered seats that literally stuck to you in the summer.

The build quality of all BL cars were truly horrific though.
Not many BL cars lasted long enough to mature. :greengrin

31-01-2021, 07:30 PM

Shirley VW drivers are exempt?

31-01-2021, 08:55 PM
Shirley VW drivers are exempt?

No, only trabant drivers 😉

01-02-2021, 06:52 AM
I’m not saying that people who drive Nissan Jukes or Qaishqais are all **** drivers...it just seems to be that when I see some **** driving it’s from the owner of one of those cars.

01-02-2021, 07:22 AM
Although there are idiots driving these cars without doubt and it doesn't matter what car they drive private hire drivers are the worst drivers on the road. If you see a car making a dodgy manoeuvre in the distance you can be assured when it gets closer it will have the private hire signs on it.

Delivery drivers are next and bin men after that.

01-02-2021, 08:44 AM
So basically drivers of Fiat 500s, Nissan Jukes/Qashquais, all German cars and anyone who drives both black cabs and private hire cars are **** drivers. Add to that truck and bus drivers and motorcyclists and not to mention cyclists then I don't think I want to be on the roads any time soon. 🙃

01-02-2021, 09:51 AM
So basically drivers of Fiat 500s, Nissan Jukes/Qashquais, all German cars and anyone who drives both black cabs and private hire cars are **** drivers. Add to that truck and bus drivers and motorcyclists and not to mention cyclists then I don't think I want to be on the roads any time soon. 🙃

I drive an Astra, so I'm OK.

01-02-2021, 10:03 AM
Folk who drive Astras. ****ing nightmare, drive about like they are the only ones who know how to drive properly

01-02-2021, 10:20 AM
People from hick country towns where the dual carriageway is only 400m long, but think they're expert enough to criticise Astra drivers.

I mean, seriously, stick to playing your Banjos with your twelve fingers!

01-02-2021, 11:07 AM
.nets perfect drivers.

01-02-2021, 11:23 AM
.nets perfect drivers.

I'll have you know that I have a thirty years no claims bonus!!!

It would have been thirty one, if it wasn't for that multi-car pile up in Liverpool when I used to drive a German car.

01-02-2021, 11:29 AM
I'll have you know that I have a thirty years no claims bonus!!!

It would have been thirty one, if it wasn't for that multi-car pile up in Liverpool when I used to drive a German car.

Proves nothing, bad drivers don’t always have accidents, they may cause plenty though 😉

AltheHibby
01-02-2021, 12:54 PM

Funnily enough, Germans are notoriously selfish drivers (second only, in my experience, to the Austrians).

Funny thing perception. I tend to think of them as disciplined drivers who ate taught that rules are rules, and drive to the rules.

I always enjoy the autobahns; especially when the hire car can play with the big boys!

Back on topic, I live in Dudlley. No one can drive here, and the M5/6 are especially bad with middle lane morons.

01-02-2021, 01:02 PM
People from hick country towns where the dual carriageway is only 400m long, but think they're expert enough to criticise Astra drivers.

I mean, seriously, stick to playing your Banjos with your twelve fingers!
We actually have traffic lights now you know! And the only folk in the wee *****y who have 12 fingers are the jambo minority!

01-02-2021, 01:21 PM
We actually have traffic lights now you know! And the only folk in the wee *****y who have 12 fingers are the jambo minority!

Traffic Lights? Seriously?

Never had any when I lived in Fishcross.

01-02-2021, 01:34 PM
Funny thing perception. I tend to think of them as disciplined drivers who ate taught that rules are rules, and drive to the rules.

I always enjoy the autobahns; especially when the hire car can play with the big boys!

Back on topic, I live in Dudlley. No one can drive here, and the M5/6 are especially bad with middle lane morons.

Germans don't have a concept of a safe stopping distance from the car in front, and if you overtake on the Autobahn you invariably get another car driving right up to your bumper, flashing his lights at you and expecting you to pull back into the slow lane ASAP.

If you're on a side street trying to get into busy traffic, they almost never flash their lights and let you in.

If you need to swap lanes, then be brave about it, partly because there's no space between the cars in the other lane (see point 1) and partly because they never let people in (see point 2).

However, they are mere amateurs compared to Austrians, particularly the Viennese. Those Arschlöcher jump lanes like there's no tomorrow (there often isn't for some of them), cut you up on the motorway and like to terrorise pedestrians by driving up to pedestrian crossings at 100kph, then slamming on their brakes at the last second.

Austria statistically has the second highest accident rate per kilometer of road in Europe... second only to Slovenia. But that's only because Slovenia is between Vienna and the Adriatic, so the crazy Viennese drive through it on their way to the beach, killing everybody in their path.

01-02-2021, 01:38 PM
Traffic Lights? Seriously?

Never had any when I lived in Fishcross.

Don't know when that was but you would have been lucky to have an indoor toilet if you lived in kipper Junction!!

01-02-2021, 01:39 PM
Don't know when that was but you would have been lucky to have an indoor toilet if you lived in kipper Junction!!

Outside lavvies only

AltheHibby
01-02-2021, 04:37 PM
Germans don't have a concept of a safe stopping distance from the car in front, and if you overtake on the Autobahn you invariably get another car driving right up to your bumper, flashing his lights at you and expecting you to pull back into the slow lane ASAP.

If you're on a side street trying to get into busy traffic, they almost never flash their lights and let you in.

If you need to swap lanes, then be brave about it, partly because there's no space between the cars in the other lane (see point 1) and partly because they never let people in (see point 2).

However, they are mere amateurs compared to Austrians, particularly the Viennese. Those Arschlöcher jump lanes like there's no tomorrow (there often isn't for some of them), cut you up on the motorway and like to terrorise pedestrians by driving up to pedestrian crossings at 100kph, then slamming on their brakes at the last second.

Austria statistically has the second highest accident rate per kilometer of road in Europe... second only to Slovenia. But that's only because Slovenia is between Vienna and the Adriatic, so the crazy Viennese drive through it on their way to the beach, killing everybody in their path.

You forgot signalling left in the outside lane to let you know they are screaming down the road. I was once doing 200KPH towards Dusseldorf and I had 3 Porsches on my tail, all signalling left.

I still feel safer on German roads than here. Only today I saw a Range Rover refuse to move over for an ambulance on a blue light run, forcing the ambulance to undertake.

BTW, have you ever had the 'pleasure' of driving through the Kennedy Tunnel in Antwerp? Now that is terrifying!😳

01-02-2021, 04:41 PM
You forgot signalling left in the outside lane to let you know they are screaming down the road. I was once doing 200KPH towards Dusseldorf and I had 3 Porsches on my tail, all signalling left.

I still feel safer on German roads than here. Only today I saw a Range Rover refuse to move over for an ambulance on a blue light run, forcing the ambulance to undertake.

BTW, have you ever had the 'pleasure' of driving through the Kennedy Tunnel in Antwerp? Now that is terrifying!😳

No, I'll need to give that a try sometime

03-02-2021, 12:59 PM
Folk who overtake, pull back in front of you then immediately slam on the brakes.

To add to the list of car/driver stereotypes, it is usually people driving cars where the roof/wing mirrors are a different colour to the rest of the car.

03-02-2021, 01:55 PM
Kerbing your alloy and scraping your front spoiler whilst parking at a high kerb which I have just done arrrrrrgh

speedy_gonzales
03-02-2021, 04:07 PM
Kerbing your alloy and scraping your front spoiler whilst parking at a high kerb which I have just done arrrrrrgh
I'll see your kerbing and raise you an opened passenger door on to a high kerb/pavement that scrapes the bottom corner of the door and the matter is compounded when the passenger, ignorant of their actions, gets in the car resulting in a god awful metal crunching noise from the door.:grr:

AltheHibby
03-02-2021, 05:19 PM
I'll see your kerbing and raise you an opened passenger door on to a high kerb/pavement that scrapes the bottom corner of the door and the matter is compounded when the passenger, ignorant of their actions, gets in the car resulting in a god awful metal crunching noise from the door.:grr:

I'll raise you a wife who forgot that there was a pillar next to her parking space in my car. New door required.

03-02-2021, 07:14 PM
I'll raise you a wife who forgot that there was a pillar next to her parking space in my car. New door required.

I’ll raise you a now ex-wife who exactly one week after getting a brand new car couldn’t be bothered waiting for the windscreen to demist so drove off and went into bollards causing almost £3k of damage.

03-02-2021, 07:20 PM
Yet another thread that's turned into complaints about women.

AltheHibby
03-02-2021, 08:47 PM
I’ll raise you a now ex-wife who exactly one week after getting a brand new car couldn’t be bothered waiting for the windscreen to demist so drove off and went into bollards causing almost £3k of damage.

Ladies and gentlemen, we have a winner.🤣

To balance things a little, I will admit to reversing under an overhang at a crematorium on day 1 with no problems. Followed by trying the same on day 2. Unfortunately, on day 2 I have my mate's van and it's a few inches taller, resulting in concrete everywhere. Somehow, no mourners were hurt.😳

04-02-2021, 09:26 AM
Ladies and gentlemen, we have a winner.��

To balance things a little, I will admit to reversing under an overhang at a crematorium on day 1 with no problems. Followed by trying the same on day 2. Unfortunately, on day 2 I have my mate's van and it's a few inches taller, resulting in concrete everywhere. Somehow, no mourners were hurt.��

Or created! :wink:

AltheHibby
04-02-2021, 12:20 PM
Or created! :wink:

🤣

05-02-2021, 01:17 PM
Folk who overtake, pull back in front of you then immediately slam on the brakes.

To add to the list of car/driver stereotypes, it is usually people driving cars where the roof/wing mirrors are a different colour to the rest of the car.

Boy done that to me on the bypass the other day in atrocious conditions, heavy rain and lots of surface water. I was trying to keep a safe distance from the car in front, boy in a BMW 4x4 type thing pulled in front of me then put the anchors on as he wanted to exit at the straiton slip road and had almost left it too late. Terrible driving and I had my 3 year old in the back. I couldn't hold back on the profanities and horn blasting. If he'd just stayed behind me there wouldn't have been an issue. Time saved on his journey - zero.

05-02-2021, 01:37 PM

Boy done that to me on the bypass the other day in atrocious conditions, heavy rain and lots of surface water. I was trying to keep a safe distance from the car in front, boy in a BMW 4x4 type thing pulled in front of me then put the anchors on as he wanted to exit at the straiton slip road and had almost left it too late. Terrible driving and I had my 3 year old in the back. I couldn't hold back on the profanities and horn blasting. If he'd just stayed behind me there wouldn't have been an issue. Time saved on his journey - zero.

I rest my case!

06-02-2021, 01:27 PM
My son drives a BMW and is one of the most careful, thoughtful drivers I know. I don’t know if he realises he doesn’t have the qualities to belong the the exclusive club mentioned here.

07-02-2021, 09:50 AM
My son drives a BMW and is one of the most careful, thoughtful drivers I know. I don’t know if he realises he doesn’t have the qualities to belong the the exclusive club mentioned here.

He's obviously doing it wrong.

08-02-2021, 09:46 AM
Where's the annual winter tyres thread?

Its as if folk on here don't care!

08-02-2021, 09:56 AM
Where's the annual winter tyres thread?

Its as if folk on here don't care!

Start one, I'll happily join in. I'm just about to go out shopping in the car, -11, swirling snow with a 4-5 inch covering on the roads. No problem.

08-02-2021, 10:00 AM
Start one, I'll happily join in. I'm just about to go out shopping in the car, -11, swirling snow with a 4-5 inch covering on the roads. No problem.

What kind of car do you drive?

08-02-2021, 10:05 AM
What kind of car do you drive?

Ford S-Max or Toyota Aygo, both fitted with winter tyres so no problem.

08-02-2021, 10:44 AM
Ford S-Max or Toyota Aygo, both fitted with winter tyres so no problem.

I was just wondering because I always found the weight of the car made a difference as well.

A reasonably heavy car, winter tyres and driving sensibly is usually enough in quite heavy snow.

08-02-2021, 10:47 AM

Here will do I think :-)

08-02-2021, 10:49 AM
I was just wondering because I always found the weight of the car made a difference as well.

A reasonably heavy car, winter tyres and driving sensibly is usually enough in quite heavy snow.

Most cars with front wheel drive and winter tyres won't have a problem in snow. It's you're German rear wheel drives that struggle. I've a couple of mates who put 2 sacks of cement in the boots of their Mercedes to solve the weight distribution problem, not ideal but supposedly it works.

08-02-2021, 10:49 AM
Here will do I think :-)

Aye, just look at what you've gone and started. :greengrin

08-02-2021, 10:54 AM

I'd disagree about weight.

I had a 2 ton BMW 7 series, it was a nightmare.

A friend had a nimble porsche, it was a nightmare too.

Both rear wheel drive.

The wee job I've taken in retirement involves driving a van. Its great (well as great as a wee van can be) with its winter tyres on.

Alfiembra
08-02-2021, 11:13 AM
Most cars with front wheel drive and winter tyres won't have a problem in snow. It's you're German rear wheel drives that struggle. I've a couple of mates who put 2 sacks of cement in the boots of their Mercedes to solve the weight distribution problem, not ideal but supposedly it works.

The worst car I’ve ever owned for driving in the snow was a Volvo S40, front wheel drive and Swedish. You’d assume the Swedes would know a thing or two about winter driving but honestly it was useless, slightest bit of snow and it would get stuck. Had loads of front wheel and rear wheel drive cars over the years and driven in some really bad conditions but never got into as much problems as I did in that car.

08-02-2021, 12:01 PM
The worst car I’ve ever owned for driving in the snow was a Volvo S40, front wheel drive and Swedish. You’d assume the Swedes would know a thing or two about winter driving but honestly it was useless, slightest bit of snow and it would get stuck. Had loads of front wheel and rear wheel drive cars over the years and driven in some really bad conditions but never got into as much problems as I did in that car.

Used to drive a Volvo in northern Norway, never had any problems:greengrin

w pilton hibby
08-02-2021, 06:34 PM
Used to drive a Volvo in northern Norway, never had any problems:greengrin

Is that the GL or the GLX model?

😁

08-02-2021, 06:37 PM
Is that the GL or the GLX model?

😁

BV 202 :greengrin

speedy_gonzales
09-02-2021, 02:12 PM
Twonks that make no effort to clear the snow from their car.
For those that don't know, we've had a dusting of snow overnight, it might be wise to clear the roof of your car as well as your windscreen.
A car came up the Baberton slip on to the bypass this morning with a good 6 inches (gnarff gnarff) on their roof, as soon as they got up to speed the whole lot caught the wind and battered my van like an icy blizzard.
Then, approaching the Sheriffhall RAB, another fudnugget in a bit of a hurry approached the waiting red light with a bit of gusto and the load of snow (they were transporting somewhere) on their car slid forward over their windscreen.
When they lights turned green the car was still stationary, didn't look like the windscreen wipers could shift the load.

AltheHibby
09-02-2021, 02:22 PM
For those that don't know, we've had a dusting of snow overnight, it might be wise to clear the roof of your car as well as your windscreen.
A car came up the Baberton slip on to the bypass this morning with a good 6 inches (gnarff gnarff) on their roof, as soon as they got up to speed the whole lot caught the wind and battered my van like an icy blizzard.
Then, approaching the Sheriffhall RAB, another fudnugget in a bit of a hurry approached the waiting red light with a bit of gusto and the load of snow (they were transporting somewhere) on their car slid forward over their windscreen.
When they lights turned green the car was still stationary, didn't look like the windscreen wipers could shift the load.

Your last paragraph is a lovely piece of karma.🤣

09-02-2021, 02:47 PM

I'd just like to point out that this is an offence and you can get a fine if the traffic cops spot you.

I honestly have no idea of anybody ever gets fined for it, but I live in hope.

09-02-2021, 03:23 PM
I'd just like to point out that this is an offence and you can get a fine if the traffic cops spot you.

They do over here. A few years ago I saw a police checkpoint pulling cars in for not clearing their snow off the roof.

The problem is not when it's snow, the problem is when that snow has started to melt and then refrozen, there's been a few reports in the press already this year about sheets of solid ice breaking car windscreens on the Autobahn after breaking off from vehicles travelling in front. I always have a soft broom in the car at this time of year, it only takes a minute to clear the roof, bonnet and lights of snow.

09-02-2021, 03:57 PM
I was driving along the M8 earlier.

There's a number of warehouses at various stages along the way. When the artics hit the motorway it was as if they had their own personal snow storms following them for a mile or so from the snow that had accumulated on the top of their trailers.

11-02-2021, 09:15 PM

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-55950942

There's one 😁

11-02-2021, 10:37 PM
********s that run red lights because they’re too thick to understand that the green arrow indicating left doesn’t allow you to go straight ahead when the other light is red. Only my reactions and quick thinking saved me from a collision tonight on way hone at 10.30, the offender was a PH car.

12-02-2021, 07:53 AM
On the snow clearing, I had an experience a few weeks ago. Took my wife to hospital for a growth scan for the wee man, in South Lanarkshire we’ve had about 8 weeks of fairly persistent snow and the bottom layer of snow on the car had turned to ice which started to melt while parked at Wishaw, then on the way home as I pulled up to a roundabout the sheet of snow slid on to my windscreen and the wipers couldn’t cope so I was totally blinded.

12-02-2021, 09:37 AM
On the snow clearing, I had an experience a few weeks ago. Took my wife to hospital for a growth scan for the wee man, in South Lanarkshire we’ve had about 8 weeks of fairly persistent snow and the bottom layer of snow on the car had turned to ice which started to melt while parked at Wishaw, then on the way home as I pulled up to a roundabout the sheet of snow slid on to my windscreen and the wipers couldn’t cope so I was totally blinded.

This damage was caused by a block of ice that was originally snow that had melted then refrozen before breaking loose from a truck. With cars it can be more dangerous because of the smaller brick sized solid blocks that can easily pierce the windscreens of cars driving behind.

12-02-2021, 09:44 AM
If you sit in your car or leave it running for a while with the heater on full it will come off before you leave. I’m not 100% sure, but if it comes off while your driving and hits another car, you’re insurance has to pay out.

12-02-2021, 02:10 PM
I get the pavements are always great in this weather, and I’ve no issue with pedestrians walking on the road when it’s clear, but getting some amount of dirty looks for daring to drive along a road and the, having to step into the snow at the side as I pass

(to be clear, I’m not racing up to them or anything like that, or shouting at them to move)

12-02-2021, 08:11 PM
I get the pavements are always great in this weather, and I’ve no issue with pedestrians walking on the road when it’s clear, but getting some amount of dirty looks for daring to drive along a road and the, having to step into the snow at the side as I pass

(to be clear, I’m not racing up to them or anything like that, or shouting at them to move)
Joggers who run on the road and then get annoyed when I peep my horn to make them aware I'm behind them, got off the friggin road it's for vehicles.

speedy_gonzales
12-02-2021, 08:17 PM
Joggers who run on the road and then get annoyed when I peep my horn to make them aware I'm behind them, got off the friggin road it's for vehicles.

I think when the paths are caked in compacted snow it's perfectly acceptable and maybe even expected for pedestrians to use the road.
I know I do.
It just needs everyone to be aware and slow down that little bit.

13-02-2021, 08:24 AM
I think when the paths are caked in compacted snow it's perfectly acceptable and maybe even expected for pedestrians to use the road.
I know I do.
It just needs everyone to be aware and slow down that little bit.

I'm not talking about when we have snow, normal times with normal weather, some of them think they're running in a marathon.

speedy_gonzales
13-02-2021, 11:51 AM
I'm not talking about when we have snow, normal times with normal weather, some of them think they're running in a marathon.

Ah,,,,gotcha!

13-02-2021, 11:54 AM
If you sit in your car or leave it running for a while with the heater on full it will come off before you leave. I’m not 100% sure, but if it comes off while your driving and hits another car, you’re insurance has to pay out.

Wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest. I was totally shocked, very rarely have that feeling in the car! Luckily it was in Wishaw and I could easily pull over.

13-02-2021, 11:57 AM
It's not happened to me but to some people that I know - the snow where we are has been really, really bad and as bad as I can remember up here for decades. Anyone who's had to head out to work has had to put in ages of digging cars out to get going.

If someone has dug a space out, don't go and park in it. Dig your own space out if you can. I know that you don't own the road or a parking space unless its on your own land, but taking into consideration the conditions we've got, be considerate for once.

13-02-2021, 11:58 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-tayside-central-55950942

There's one 😁

13-02-2021, 12:06 PM
Incidentally, I was driving to St. Andrews for work yesterday and on the 50mph stretch of road came across some morons clearing their drive - and shovelling it onto the ****ing road.

Beyond stupid.

13-02-2021, 12:19 PM
Incidentally, I was driving to St. Andrews for work yesterday and on the 50mph stretch of road came across some morons clearing their drive - and shovelling it onto the ****ing road.

Beyond stupid.

Same as the folk in the street who clear the pavements onto the road and leave a bank of snow right behind/in front of your car that you can’t drive over

13-02-2021, 12:47 PM

I run on the road quite often but rule number 1 is always run towards oncoming traffic. That way there's no need to worry about anything coming up behind you.

13-02-2021, 01:40 PM
I run on the road quite often but rule number 1 is always run towards oncoming traffic. That way there's no need to worry about anything coming up behind you.

Someone with brains, that's the correct way to do it :aok:

Bangkok Hibby
13-02-2021, 01:54 PM
The fact that I'm utterly rubbish at right handed u turns of which there are many where I live. Just bought a Yamaha nmax and haven't been on a bike for 45 years.

13-02-2021, 02:02 PM

Beyond stupid.

My neighbour used to do that. He was from Newport on tay, must be a Fife thing. 😁

13-02-2021, 03:30 PM

Section of the highway code for pedestrians, rule 2 is this and, living in the country where there are lots of roads with no pavement, it astounds me the number of people who don't understand it.

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/the-highway-code/rules-for-pedestrians-1-to-35

Bangkok Hibby
13-02-2021, 03:40 PM
Section of the highway code for pedestrians, rule 2 is this and, living in the country where there are lots of roads with no pavement, it astounds me the number of people who don't understand it.

https://www.gov.uk/guidance/the-highway-code/rules-for-pedestrians-1-to-35

Its especially noticeable if you're walking the footpaths of Edinburgh or Glasgow. The vast majority walk on the left and look at you as if you're stupid when you stick to your guns and don't move out the way. There are many cyclists on these paths and loads don't have bells, so stay right.

13-02-2021, 04:18 PM
Its especially noticeable if you're walking the footpaths of Edinburgh or Glasgow. The vast majority walk on the left and look at you as if you're stupid when you stick to your guns and don't move out the way. There are many cyclists on these paths and loads don't have bells, so stay right.

Perhaps that's because when walking on pathways the etiquette is to walk on the left! Ramblers etc. Indeed even in the city within our very own Waverley Station you are asked to keep to the left. I'd imagine other UK railway stations say the same.

The Highway Code isn't specific for individuals pavement walking. It does suggest though that you should not stay close to the kerb when your back is to the traffic i.e. keep to the left of the pavement!

The rule for walking, where there is no pavement, is generally face the oncoming traffic, keep right.

To be fair there's general anarchy for path and pavement walking.

speedy_gonzales
13-02-2021, 05:55 PM
Hands up, if I'm on a pavement or path I'll keep to the left (in the UK) and I am one of these guys that will look at you if you're stupid if you come towards me on the "wrong" side.
Exceptions to this are when folk are with young kids or dogs that are more interested in what's going on at the side of the path. In those cases, I'll do a shoulder check to make sure it's clear and pass on the other side.
It's not difficult and shouldn't cause confrontation, but it seemingly is and does 😕

13-02-2021, 08:18 PM
People that don't drive to the conditions.

Below zero out there tonight. I was driving along the Bypass steady at about 65. Guys flying past in the outside lane easily doing 20-30mph more than me. Daft at the best of times, utterly moronic in this.

13-02-2021, 08:27 PM
It's not happened to me but to some people that I know - the snow where we are has been really, really bad and as bad as I can remember up here for decades. Anyone who's had to head out to work has had to put in ages of digging cars out to get going.

If someone has dug a space out, don't go and park in it. Dig your own space out if you can. I know that you don't own the road or a parking space unless its on your own land, but taking into consideration the conditions we've got, be considerate for once.

Agree. Yesterday my wife left her space and I moved my car a bit forward so that nobody could claim it when she was away. I had spent about an hour clearing about a foot of snow around both our cars. When I went out today, I could have parked in an easier spot when I came back that was clear but one of my neighbour's had spent ages clearing that space so left it for him to get back into.

13-02-2021, 09:11 PM
********s that run red lights because they’re too thick to understand that the green arrow indicating left doesn’t allow you to go straight ahead when the other light is red. Only my reactions and quick thinking saved me from a collision tonight on way hone at 10.30, the offender was a PH car.

I've seen this happen a few times at the new traffic lights at the bottom of Easter Road. A few months back I was on Duke Street turning right onto Easter Road, when the green light goes on the left filter is triggered for cars to turn left from ER to Duke Street. A car travelling from ER straight ahead towards Leith Links came towards to me and I had to brake sharply to avoid crashing into them.

AltheHibby
15-02-2021, 04:39 PM
On the M6 this afternoon:

Wide and heavy load in lanes 1 and 2. Escort van behind it in lane 2. Everyone overtakes in lanes 3 and 4. Except the idiot who pulls alongside the escort van in lane 1.

As we are 1/2 a mile from Corley services I thought the car was going in there. (I was, hence sitting behind them).

Wrong. The big boy and his escort are going in, but the idiot in the car wants to carry on up the M6. Theres nearly a crash as the escort van starts to follow the big boy, not expecting some idiot to be there.

Another idiot who can't comprehend the needs of truck drivers. This is definitely one of my pet peeves.

15-02-2021, 05:46 PM

The flip side of that is I do a lot of running on back roads. There’s usually enough room for a car and a person but with the conditions/etiquette I always step off the road, more so recently with the snow. The majority of drivers give an acknowledgment but it annoys me when others simply blank you.

Edit, I’ll echo PB’s point about running on the opposite side. I don’t get when folk don’t do that, for their own safety as much as anything else.

15-02-2021, 08:12 PM
Perhaps that's because when walking on pathways the etiquette is to walk on the left! Ramblers etc. Indeed even in the city within our very own Waverley Station you are asked to keep to the left. I'd imagine other UK railway stations say the same.

The Highway Code isn't specific for individuals pavement walking. It does suggest though that you should not stay close to the kerb when your back is to the traffic i.e. keep to the left of the pavement!

The rule for walking, where there is no pavement, is generally face the oncoming traffic, keep right.

To be fair there's general anarchy for path and pavement walking.

Has anyone mentioned pedestrians walking right down the middle of the pavement? :dunno:

19-02-2021, 12:04 PM
Has anyone mentioned pedestrians walking right down the middle of the pavement? :dunno:

About 300 times on the other Pet Peeves thread

23-02-2021, 03:37 PM
Private hire drivers, stopping in the middle of the road mucking about with a sat nav phone speakers and oblivious to the hassle they cause.

AltheHibby
24-02-2021, 08:27 AM
Private hire drivers, stopping in the middle of the road mucking about with a sat nav phone speakers and oblivious to the hassle they cause.

"Drivers"? Do you even know what the word means?😁😛

28-02-2021, 03:45 PM
It's official!

I saw this on a walk this afternoon and thought of you guys!

02-03-2021, 08:13 AM
The state of Edinburgh's roads, for cycling and driving. Not tried either in the weege for a while - are all cities in the same state as Edinburgh? :dunno:

hibee
02-03-2021, 08:18 AM
The state of Edinburgh's roads, for cycling and driving. Not tried either in the weege for a while - are all cities in the same state as Edinburgh? :dunno:

No, Edinburgh has its own special category of dangerous roads compared to other cities, they are truly shocking.

02-03-2021, 01:25 PM
Buses that don't use the bus lane. :confused:

02-03-2021, 09:50 PM

Half the roads in the country need resurfacing.

10-03-2021, 05:44 PM
People who don't reverse park. It's much safer as you can edge out of a space and see clearly in both directions much sooner, and also it makes it much easier for the person parked next to you to see on the way out as well. There's a car on my street whose owner apparently can't reverse park, so doesn't.

Our car park is basically a big square with all the parking spaces around the outside. When it snowed, a lot of spaces were cleared but it means the back half of the space still had some snow - no problem if you reverse in as your wheels with drive would be on tarmac.

As this person - who I need to point out drives a Fiat 500 - clearly didn't want to reverse in, she parked on the main square bit, in a corner so her tiny little Fiat 500 blocked off four perfectly good spaces.

It's part of the driving test, if you can't reverse park without a really valid reason for not doing so, your license should be revoked.

10-03-2021, 06:19 PM
2 of my mates, both in their 60s, have never reverse parked since their tests. Both passed when they were 17. It would be "ah, pavement job!". Used to drive me nuts!

Peanut Shaz
10-03-2021, 09:31 PM
[QUOTE=Northernhibee;6491658]People who don't reverse park.

I live in a small cul de sac where if everyone parks correctly can take 9/10 cars. Out of every driver I am the only one who reverse parks. (In fact I reverse park everywhere). I see my neighbours reversing/edging out on to a fairly busy road, trying to negotiate between the cars parked on either side of the cul de sac, whilst I jump in the car and drive out without any issues. I just don't get it.

11-03-2021, 10:55 AM
People who don't reverse park. It's much safer as you can edge out of a space and see clearly in both directions much sooner, and also it makes it much easier for the person parked next to you to see on the way out as well. There's a car on my street whose owner apparently can't reverse park, so doesn't.

Our car park is basically a big square with all the parking spaces around the outside. When it snowed, a lot of spaces were cleared but it means the back half of the space still had some snow - no problem if you reverse in as your wheels with drive would be on tarmac.

As this person - who I need to point out drives a Fiat 500 - clearly didn't want to reverse in, she parked on the main square bit, in a corner so her tiny little Fiat 500 blocked off four perfectly good spaces.

It's part of the driving test, if you can't reverse park without a really valid reason for not doing so, your license should be revoked.

That is irritating, but I'll go one further and say that people that park on the wrong side of the road are absolutely stupid, and dangerous.

11-03-2021, 12:28 PM
[QUOTE=Northernhibee;6491658]People who don't reverse park.

I live in a small cul de sac where if everyone parks correctly can take 9/10 cars. Out of every driver I am the only one who reverse parks. (In fact I reverse park everywhere). I see my neighbours reversing/edging out on to a fairly busy road, trying to negotiate between the cars parked on either side of the cul de sac, whilst I jump in the car and drive out without any issues. I just don't get it.

Oddly I find it easier to reverse in than go in frontways.

11-03-2021, 01:18 PM
That is irritating, but I'll go one further and say that people that park on the wrong side of the road are absolutely stupid, and dangerous.

You're so German. :wink:

11-03-2021, 01:22 PM
[QUOTE=Peanut Shaz;6491824]

Oddly I find it easier to reverse in than go in frontways.

Same here but I'll always forward park when shopping, just makes it easier to load the car.

speedy_gonzales
11-03-2021, 03:25 PM
Reverse parking - I always try to do it if I can and it's suitable, but I got pulled up by a "Sheriff" in Florida a few years back as I reversed in to a space at a Walmart or similar. Apparently you have to drive in forwards there, something to do with shopping carts and visible registration plates.
Thankfully I wasn't night-sticked or shot as is their ways sometimes, just a little chat and "on yer way!".

11-03-2021, 04:07 PM
I never reverse park as i usually need to get tools from the boot.
Thats my excuse.

11-03-2021, 04:45 PM
Most big firms here who have their own employee car parks impose reverse parking. I think it's to avoid accidents when everyone stoories out at 5.30pm or whenever.

11-03-2021, 04:57 PM
2 of my mates, both in their 60s, have never reverse parked since their tests. Both passed when they were 17. It would be "ah, pavement job!". Used to drive me nuts!

Maybe never been able to. Not part of the test back then

11-03-2021, 05:54 PM

He must have got it in his lessons then. I honestly couldn't tell you what I got in my test.

11-03-2021, 07:04 PM

I'm 63, passed my test at 18. Sure there was parallel parking in the test then?
I avoid it like the plague now, though!

11-03-2021, 07:07 PM
He must have got it in his lessons then. I honestly couldn't tell you what I got in my test.

In the 80's it was emergency stop, 3 point turn, hill start, reverse round corner, drive about a bit, couple of braking distances and half a dozen road signs on a flip chart. Lot less bother than the all the carry on now. Where would you get a basin of water to immerse somebody's burnt arm for 20 minutes after they been in a crash miles from anywhere? That's one of the theory questions.

11-03-2021, 07:14 PM
I'm 63, passed my test at 18. Sure there was parallel parking in the test then?
I avoid it like the plague now, though!

87 I passed and i'm sure it was a few years after that parking was included in test. Certainly no reverse parking in my test.

11-03-2021, 07:43 PM
87 I passed and i'm sure it was a few years after that parking was included in test. Certainly no reverse parking in my test.

I spent 3 hours practicing reverse parking and reversing round corners in the driving school yesterday. It's not quite so straight forward (pardon the pun) in a 40t 18.75m long vehicle.

11-03-2021, 07:47 PM
I spent 3 hours practicing reverse parking and reversing round corners in the driving school yesterday. It's not quite so straight forward (pardon the pun) in a 40t 18.75m long vehicle.

It's good watching the new drivers go from hopeless to old pro's in 2 or 3 weeks.

11-03-2021, 08:10 PM
Where would you get a basin of water to immerse somebody's burnt arm for 20 minutes after they been in a crash miles from anywhere? That's one of the theory questions.

Probably in France you have to carry one with you, just in case, like all the other stuff the French make you lug around.

11-03-2021, 08:15 PM
Going back to the road layout outside Omni heading westbound, unless I was blind before it appears they have re done the road markings. The left lane is for York place and right lane for Broughton Street.clearly marked now. I noticed it a few weeks back and not seen anyone cut from the right since.

11-03-2021, 08:24 PM
Going back to the road layout outside Omni heading westbound, unless I was blind before it appears they have re done the road markings. The left lane is for York place and right lane for Broughton Street.clearly marked now. I noticed it a few weeks back and not seen anyone cut from the right since.

Saw a guy today take the left lane and then go down Broughton St. How he figured that would be a good idea I can't imagine. :dunno:

11-03-2021, 09:07 PM
Most big firms here who have their own employee car parks impose reverse parking. I think it's to avoid accidents when everyone stoories out at 5.30pm or whenever.

SSE in Perth is the same after a few accidents when they first opened the new office at inveralmond.

12-03-2021, 06:34 AM

That’s illegal in some countries. My former father-in-law got a fine in Canada for doing just that.

12-03-2021, 06:37 AM
That’s illegal in some countries. My former father-in-law got a fine in Canada for doing just that.

I think it's ilegal in France, but I've never heard of anyone being done for it.

12-03-2021, 06:46 AM

It's illegal to do so in the UK at night.

12-03-2021, 07:54 AM

Illegal in Australia as well

12-03-2021, 08:43 AM
You're so German. :wink:

Reported!

12-03-2021, 08:52 AM
Reported!

Too late, as a self respecting newly affiliated member of the Bosch fraternity I've reported myself.

nellio
12-03-2021, 01:10 PM
I passed my test end of 2019. The driving test now has 3 possible parking / reversing manoeuvres .

Bay park (Forward park or Reverse park), parallel park (reversing) and incredibly pulling up on the other side of the road and reversing then rejoining traffic.

Part 3 here:

Driving test changes: 4 December 2017 - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk (https://www.gov.uk/government/news/driving-test-changes-4-december-2017))

EH6 Hibby
13-03-2021, 03:18 PM
I passed my test end of 2019. The driving test now has 3 possible parking / reversing manoeuvres .

Bay park (Forward park or Reverse park), parallel park (reversing) and incredibly pulling up on the other side of the road and reversing then rejoining traffic.

Part 3 here:

Driving test changes: 4 December 2017 - GOV.UK (www.gov.uk (https://www.gov.uk/government/news/driving-test-changes-4-december-2017))

I passed in 2012 and it was reverse bay parking only, I was 95% sure I’d passed and I was asked to reverse into the bay at the end of my test as my manoeuvre, it must have taken me about 10 minutes to do it, cause after failing several times, I wasn’t going to muck it up at the last minute. I was in the space, out the space, doors open to check the lines the lot lol.

13-03-2021, 05:54 PM
See people who don't indicate, why? I don't get it. I was behind a car today for a good few miles, 3 roundabouts, a couple of turns onto different roads and a right turn at a junction and they didn't indicate once. It must be a wilful decision for it to happen that many times rather than just a one off error. Is it laziness? A feeling that other actions are making your intentions obvious or has it become cool not to indicate?

Peanut Shaz
13-03-2021, 09:44 PM
See people who don't indicate, why? I don't get it. I was behind a car today for a good few miles, 3 roundabouts, a couple of turns onto different roads and a right turn at a junction and they didn't indicate once. It must be a wilful decision for it to happen that many times rather than just a one off error. Is it laziness? A feeling that other actions are making your intentions obvious or has it become cool not to indicate?

Think you were behind your Dad. 😁