View Full Version : Driving Pet Peeves
Pages :
[
15]
04-06-2024, 11:11 AM
Any car after July 2024 MUST be sold with this tech. Thank the EU regulations for this.
It also cannot be turned off permanently and can only be turned off each and every time you start the car. Some manufacturers might be helpful and give a shortcut button on their infotainment system to do this, others like Kia obviously don’t!
All cars will also have a black box that will record how often the system is turned off. Again no choice for the owner on that being recorded.
I haven't fact checked this but I was told the other day that beyond a certain date, new cars will have speed limiters on them as well to help reduce speeding.
I immediately thought of how much more dull cinema car chases will become as the baddies get to the motorway in front of the polis and they both scoot along at a steady 70mph until one of them runs out of petrol.
The Steady Pace and the Furious.
04-06-2024, 11:40 AM
You've got me curious because I've a kia niro, less than a year old and that's something I've not noticed. You would think that all new kias would have the same technology. The lane assistance was annoying to begin with but there is a button on the steering wheel to switch it off.
Which button? I have a year old Niro and it doesn’t seem to have a button to turn it off other than going through the menu each time to turn it off. Same on my Rio. My first Kia (a Rio) that had lane assist had a button to turn this off then they got rid of it in future models.
As someone who has driven Kia cars for around 11 years, it is very annoying that they change the tech around. Even the placement of standard controls.
The audio controls and menu controls on the steering wheel are on opposite sides of the steering wheel on the Niro vs the Rio - both bought at the same time!
Added fuss when you are regularly driving two different cars, particularly when it is bad enough when one is automatic and one is manual anyway.
Interesting that some of these “safety” features are becoming mandatory. Some of them I think are less safe than just leaving it to the driver. Lane assist is one of those. The pulling effect on the car is awful. The collision detection thing is even worse. Forces an emergency stop when there is absolutely zero danger of a collision.
Not a safety feature but the warning that the driver in front has pulled away but you haven’t is tiresome when driving on congested streets. Aye - he’s pulled away because the light was in the middle of changing in heavy traffic and this now red.
04-06-2024, 11:47 AM
I haven't fact checked this but I was told the other day that beyond a certain date, new cars will have speed limiters on them as well to help reduce speeding.
I immediately thought of how much more dull cinema car chases will become as the baddies get to the motorway in front of the polis and they both scoot along at a steady 70mph until one of them runs out of petrol.
Was that not a plot point in one of the new Star Wars films as a ham-fisted way to give urgency to what other characters were doing? The ships were going the same speed so the Imperials couldn't catch up to them, but eventually they'd run out of fuel. It was thrilling stuff.
04-06-2024, 12:46 PM
Which button? I have a year old Niro and it doesn’t seem to have a button to turn it off other than going through the menu each time to turn it off. Same on my Rio. My first Kia (a Rio) that had lane assist had a button to turn this off then they got rid of it in future models.
As someone who has driven Kia cars for around 11 years, it is very annoying that they change the tech around. Even the placement of standard controls.
The audio controls and menu controls on the steering wheel are on opposite sides of the steering wheel on the Niro vs the Rio - both bought at the same time!
Added fuss when you are regularly driving two different cars, particularly when it is bad enough when one is automatic and one is manual anyway.
Interesting that some of these “safety” features are becoming mandatory. Some of them I think are less safe than just leaving it to the driver. Lane assist is one of those. The pulling effect on the car is awful. The collision detection thing is even worse. Forces an emergency stop when there is absolutely zero danger of a collision.
Not a safety feature but the warning that the driver in front has pulled away but you haven’t is tiresome when driving on congested streets. Aye - he’s pulled away because the light was in the middle of changing in heavy traffic and this now red.
My car is electric so might be different.
Left side of the wheel, a button with converging lines and a steering wheel between them.
04-06-2024, 10:09 PM
You've got me curious because I've a kia niro, less than a year old and that's something I've not noticed. You would think that all new kias would have the same technology. The lane assistance was annoying to begin with but there is a button on the steering wheel to switch it off.
My last car was Kia Sportage 21 year, it had the lane assistance but soon found out how to switch that off, the new model is just the same with more safety features, I done the settings stuff to switch it all off, it worked, but as soon as the engine is disabled it resets back to bleeping again :rolleyes:.
Back to loud music to drown it out.
04-06-2024, 10:17 PM
Is it literally as soon as you go over 70 on the motorway it kicks in?
If you are in 20 mph zone and go 22mph it will bleep, same for 30 40 60 & 70, a nightmare in Edinburgh as you are continuously hitting different speed limits every few minutes, a soothing bleep to tell you what gear you should be in :rolleyes: crash collision when you get to close to a car even though there is no chance of a crash and the grinds to a halt, it even bleeps to tell you the car in front of you has moved on.
04-06-2024, 10:22 PM
Funny you say that but have noticed that if you are doing 28 in a 20 zone and take your foot of the accelerator it slows down very quickly to 20mph.
04-06-2024, 10:30 PM
And bizarrely enough my new Kia doesn’t detect speed cameras, but seems to detect everything else, there should be a button somewhere to turn off your stay in lane nonsense, either down at right side of ignition or on the steering wheel.
I will say that my new Kia is a lot better than the last model though, last one was sluggish where new model can shift, I’m doing 20mph in 2nd gear easily and then the bleeping kicks in.
05-06-2024, 04:10 AM
If you are in 20 mph zone and go 22mph it will bleep, same for 30 40 60 & 70, a nightmare in Edinburgh as you are continuously hitting different speed limits every few minutes, a soothing bleep to tell you what gear you should be in :rolleyes: crash collision when you get to close to a car even though there is no chance of a crash and the grinds to a halt, it even bleeps to tell you the car in front of you has moved on.
Are you sure R2D2 isn't riding shotgun?
05-06-2024, 12:07 PM
Was that not a plot point in one of the new Star Wars films as a ham-fisted way to give urgency to what other characters were doing? The ships were going the same speed so the Imperials couldn't catch up to them, but eventually they'd run out of fuel. It was thrilling stuff.
😂😂😂 After dead Leia had flown in space. What a film!!
05-06-2024, 12:29 PM
The Steady Pace and the Furious.The speed limiter is true... part of EU legislation. The way I read it there is a facility to over ride it, a bit like 'kick down' on an automatic. ...... they did also mention some 'bleeping!' though :greengrin
17-06-2024, 03:41 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cd11jr44gexo
Gee who’d have thought it? Retailers were given an excuse to inflate prices and very surprisingly margins have been kept higher than they should be.
18-06-2024, 08:08 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/articles/cd11jr44gexo
Gee who’d have thought it? Retailers were given an excuse to inflate prices and very surprisingly margins have been kept higher than they should be.
It doesn’t just apply to fuel. During the bad times prices of everything soared, steadied and should have steadily reduced but, for the most part, have stayed the same or even increased.
speedy_gonzales
18-06-2024, 03:39 PM
Peeving at myself for not saying anything at the time, but I was driving around a Lidl car park this lunchtime when a small car went straight across the front of me ignoring all road markings and parking bays. Looked like a mum out with her teenage daughter driving (umpteen L plates) and both of them give me a filthy stare like I was in the wrong.
I was bewildered at the time but with hindsight I wish I'd politely pointed out that driving like that would make passing her test nigh impossible.
Peeving at myself for not saying anything at the time, but I was driving around a Lidl car park this lunchtime when a small car went straight across the front of me ignoring all road markings and parking bays. Looked like a mum out with her teenage daughter driving (umpteen L plates) and both of them give me a filthy stare like I was in the wrong.
I was bewildered at the time but with hindsight I wish I'd politely pointed out that driving like that would make passing her test nigh impossible.
Seems to be a thing to allow learners to practice in these car parks, Lidl and Aldi should tell them to get knotted.
18-06-2024, 09:26 PM
I don’t think it is just a learner thing. It seems folk just ignore road markings in supermarket car parks these days.
The Lidl/McDonalds car park in Corstorphine has a lane (nearest the road/Tesco) that then curves round and meets the middle lane of parking. The road markings clearly indicate that you are meant to give way if you are coming from that third lane - hardly anyone does given the amount of times I’ve had to slam on the brakes.
Another peeve in that car park is that you can be stuck for ages if you park in the row of parking nearest Lidl due to the queues for the drive through at McDonalds
26-06-2024, 09:21 PM
The amount of idiots that zoom down the outside of you when you indicate and are waiting to get into the box to turn right into Duart Crescent from the Drumbrae. They are turning right further on into Drumbrae Drive but just can’t ****** wait or follow the road markings! 😡
27-06-2024, 09:32 AM
People who park on the zig zag lines around schools, speed near schools or double park near schools.
The road outside my bairns school has been an accident waiting to happen for years and sure enough this morning someone unsighted trying to get round a double parked car clipped a child. Thankfully they are ok but it just shows the potential effects of such entitled selfishness. The school have repeatedly pleaded with parents to park elsewhere or walk to school but it's the same faces every day stacked up right at the gates so they don't have the inconvenience of walking a couple of hundred yards to make things safer for everyone.
The road has been supposed to be getting closed to cars at the times the 2 schools on site go in and out for months but of course the local car lobby who think they are entitled to drive anywhere regardless of obvious safety issues are kicking up a fuss so the decision keeps getting kicked down the road.
27-06-2024, 09:52 AM
People who park on the zig zag lines around schools, speed near schools or double park near schools.
The road outside my bairns school has been an accident waiting to happen for years and sure enough this morning someone unsighted trying to get round a double parked car clipped a child. Thankfully they are ok but it just shows the potential effects of such entitled selfishness. The school have repeatedly pleaded with parents to park elsewhere or walk to school but it's the same faces every day stacked up right at the gates so they don't have the inconvenience of walking a couple of hundred yards to make things safer for everyone.
The road has been supposed to be getting closed to cars at the times the 2 schools on site go in and out for months but of course the local car lobby who think they are entitled to drive anywhere regardless of obvious safety issues are kicking up a fuss so the decision keeps getting kicked down the road.
I mean, I'm not going to go arguing that a child getting knocked down is a good thing, but an accident like this (fortunately not a serious one) is exactly the sort of thing that can drive through necessary change.
Totally agree, no need for it at all
Where my wee one is at nursery/school there’s a public carpark right next to it, that services the school and a handful of wee shops behind the carpark, there’s a wee lane that leads into the car park and the back of the shops slightly further up the hill.
The amount of parents who don’t bother to go into the carpark (even when it’s empty) and just park in the lane, causing obstructions to traffic trying to get in and out, making it harder to see and harder to get out/in the carpark because of the angles needed with a tight entrance. Just laziness and ‘I’m more important than you’ attitudes
AltheHibby
28-06-2024, 09:03 AM
Ask the police to attend unannounced one morning. They do that in South Wales when they can.
AltheHibby
28-06-2024, 09:38 AM
Maybe not a driving peeve, but a parking one. Since I had my hedge trimmed the little feathered *******s have made me wash my car every day!
28-06-2024, 09:43 AM
Maybe not a driving peeve, but a parking one. Since I had my hedge trimmed the little feathered *******s have made me wash my car every day!
Shouldn't have cut the hedge whilst the birds were nesting then 🤣
AltheHibby
28-06-2024, 11:56 AM
Shouldn't have cut the hedge whilst the birds were nesting then 🤣
That would have been helpful at the start of the week!
04-07-2024, 08:30 AM
Not a peeve for me but maybe for some. Following the resurfacing of the Gyle Centre car park they are now going to enforce the 4 hour parking limit which they never really bothered about before. ANPR cameras now live.
04-07-2024, 12:38 PM
Private hire cars, wtf, fell out with a driver this morning on Corstorphine road, he just came to a halt at Subway with no indicators on and started typing something into his phone, I’m now starting to question if some of these drivers have a driving license.
04-07-2024, 12:56 PM
Private hire cars, wtf, fell out with a driver this morning on Corstorphine road, he just came to a halt at Subway with no indicators on and started typing something into his phone, I’m now starting to question if some of these drivers have a driving license.
I’ve been suspicious a few times with Uber that the driver that turns up isn’t actually the driver the app says it is.
04-07-2024, 01:14 PM
I was cycling down a one way street the other day and a private hire was reversing the wrong way up it.
He was totally oblivious to my presence and when I gave him a mouthful he stated 'I'm reversing and I have my hazards on'.
Aye I think that's covered in the highway code right enough. Selfish clown.
PHC do as they please and the council/police do nothing.
05-07-2024, 01:37 PM
Not a peeve for me but maybe for some. Following the resurfacing of the Gyle Centre car park they are now going to enforce the 4 hour parking limit which they never really bothered about before. ANPR cameras now live.
That's handy to know, would sometimes park there for work in Edinburgh Park over the road, so I'll just train it in instead if I can't get parked at work.
08-07-2024, 07:15 PM
On the subject of bad drivers...
I was crossing a street at a pedestrian crossing in Munich when a car, driver clearly oblivious to the red light until the last second, slammed on his brakes, skidded through the crossing and stopped at the other side. Fortunately I'd seen him just in time and had only put one foot onto the crossing.
The crossing light still being green, I then proceeded to cross the road... at which point he slammed his car into reverse and then shot backward through the lights, just missing me for a second time.
I must admit to being a tad annoyed by that time and banged my fist on his car door.... at which point he rolled down his window and started screaming at me about damaging his vehicle!
08-07-2024, 07:43 PM
Those guys with cars like Subaru with big spoilers on them and modified so the engine absolutely roars.
There was a guy in a supermarket car park the other day in one of those in the regulation metallic blue. Absolutely roared away at about 50mph in a tight car park and done this pathetic one handed steering motion as he tore right across the mini roundabout. He was hanging out the window and had that half sneer on his face desperately hoping everyone saw him.
Guy was 45 if he was a day and you just know he thought everyone looking at him thought he was so cool. In reality everyone was just thinking 'what a total gimp'. It was utterly tragic.
Those guys with cars like Subaru with big spoilers on them and modified so the engine absolutely roars.
There was a guy in a supermarket car park the other day in one of those in the regulation metallic blue. Absolutely roared away at about 50mph in a tight car park and done this pathetic one handed steering motion as he tore right across the mini roundabout. He was hanging out the window and had that half sneer on his face desperately hoping everyone saw him.
Guy was 45 if he was a day and you just know he thought everyone looking at him thought he was so cool. In reality everyone was just thinking 'what a total gimp'. It was utterly tragic.
A few years ago I drove a big 2 lr Audi, this young guy in a super up Fiesta, ir similar pulled up beside me at the lights and started revving up. Lights went green and he was off, 6 or so seconds later I flew past him and smiled, erse.
09-07-2024, 09:21 AM
They’ve made the pavement corners at Albion Road bigger, even tighter to get round now.
09-07-2024, 12:26 PM
I literally point and laugh out loud in the direction of any car that makes that noise in the hope the driver sees me and starts to feel just a little bit silly.
09-07-2024, 12:49 PM
They’ve made the pavement corners at Albion Road bigger, even tighter to get round now.
Ah, what a nice parting gift from Scott Arthur.
16-07-2024, 03:38 PM
People who perform u-turns on mini roundabouts. Often need a second cut and there’s no way for other drivers to anticipate what they’re doing, making it dangerous.
HibbyDave
19-07-2024, 03:31 PM
POT HOLES!!!!!
If you have time, please contact local MP and try to get pressure on them to push for urgent repairs.
19-07-2024, 03:58 PM
POT HOLES!!!!!
If you have time, please contact local MP and try to get pressure on them to push for urgent repairs.
Don’t you mean MSP?
HibbyDave
20-07-2024, 06:36 AM
Don’t you mean MSP?
Yep.
Contact anyone you think can put pressure on for improvements.
29-07-2024, 01:16 PM
POT HOLES!!!!!
The one at St John’s road on inside lane is a car breaker, right outside the Italian restaurant heading out of town, and it has been like that for a few weeks now and hole just gets bigger and deeper.
29-07-2024, 02:35 PM
The one at St John’s road on inside lane is a car breaker, right outside the Italian restaurant heading out of town, and it has been like that for a few weeks now and hole just gets bigger and deeper.
There's some crackers on Albion Road and Albion Place. It is a H&S issue with pedestrians walking on the road on match days. I tripped on one in Jan/Feb and my foot and ankle haven't been right since.
Donegal Hibby
29-07-2024, 04:29 PM
Folk who decide that they don't need to use their indicators anymore 😡
29-07-2024, 09:54 PM
Folk who decide that they don't need to use their indicators anymore 😡
I've owned a Mercedes for 2 years and I can't find the bloody things.
30-07-2024, 06:56 AM
Got tram down to Leith walk on Saturday pre match and the bloody cycle lanes are a menace. All the bikes I saw were e-bikes, non of them used a bell and trying to negotiate 2 kids vs pedestrians and those bikes was a bit of a nightmare.
I want cyclists to be safe of course, but it was a close run thing and not just with us but other pedestrians too.
Probably just not used to it but still, those e-bikes go so quickly.
30-07-2024, 07:21 AM
Got tram down to Leith walk on Saturday pre match and the bloody cycle lanes are a menace. All the bikes I saw were e-bikes, non of them used a bell and trying to negotiate 2 kids vs pedestrians and those bikes was a bit of a nightmare.
I want cyclists to be safe of course, but it was a close run thing and not just with us but other pedestrians too.
Probably just not used to it but still, those e-bikes go so quickly.
The design is a total joke. It was named the worst cycle lane in the world for a reason.
I don't cycle that way often but when I do I use the road. The cycle lanes are just too risky and I don't want to be responsible for careering into a bairn or elderly person. The surface of the cycle lanes is shocking as well, I'm surprised more cyclists haven't come off their bikes, the stretch up by Elm Row in particular is like riding on a mountain path.
Sadly the council have their fingers in their ears about it. It will probably take a serious incident for anything to be done.
Donegal Hibby
31-07-2024, 09:24 AM
I've owned a Mercedes for 2 years and I can't find the bloody things.
That's a wee bit different than the driver's over here though that know where they are and don't use them , even met one yesterday that indicated left but decided to go right!
31-07-2024, 09:36 AM
When the obstruction is on your side of the road you wait and give way, you don’t drive head on into oncoming traffic causing them to brake/swerve to avoid you 😡
patch1875
01-08-2024, 07:38 AM
Been taking my daughter out for driving lessons the amount off inconsiderate bell ends is unbelievable.
Guy on the horn behind her at a busy roundabout because she was a bit slow in joining on also a woman doing the same when she stalled at traffic lights decided to get out the car and give her a mouthful.
01-08-2024, 08:24 AM
Been taking my daughter out for driving lessons the amount off inconsiderate bell ends is unbelievable.
Guy on the horn behind her at a busy roundabout because she was a bit slow in joining on also a woman doing the same when she stalled at traffic lights decided to get out the car and give her a mouthful.
Thats outrageous behaviour.
I mind as a learner getting stuck in a pothole at a set of lights and just couldn't for the life of me get the car out. Maybe 2 rounds of lights passed before I could move it.
Apologies to anyone stuck behind me :greengrin
01-08-2024, 10:53 AM
The Cyclist yesterday, who despite having had a multi million pound bespoke cycle lane built for him, (causing significant disruption to local businesses, residents and commuters over a 2 year period) would rather pretend it is not there and cycle on the main road from Haymarket through until Roseburn, slowing down traffic and then weaving in and out of cars putting themselves and others at risk.
The Tubs
01-08-2024, 11:10 AM
The Cyclist yesterday, who despite having had a multi million pound bespoke cycle lane built for him, (causing significant disruption to local businesses, residents and commuters over a 2 year period) would rather pretend it is not there and cycle on the main road from Haymarket through until Roseburn, slowing down traffic and then weaving in and out of cars putting themselves and others at risk.
Is that cycle lane any good? I'm only ever a pedestrian when I'm in Edinburgh nowadays and the one on Leith Walk looks like it was purposely made to cause accidents with pedestrians. If I were to cycle there, I'd use the road.
01-08-2024, 11:14 AM
Is that cycle lane any good? I'm only ever a pedestrian when I'm in Edinburgh nowadays and the one on Leith Walk looks like it was purposely made to cause accidents with pedestrians. If I were to cycle there, I'd use the road.
I think it was Pretty Boy who posted about the Leith Walk one earlier, about how bad it is.
It's a discussion that's been had before on here, about how poor many of the cycle lanes are. In many cases, the road is the safer option.
speedy_gonzales
01-08-2024, 04:33 PM
The Roseburn-Haymarket cycle lane isn't that great if heading out of town.
You take your life in your hands crossing from the road to the path then at Roseburn you have to get back on to the opposite carriageway again.
Personally, if I was in a hurry, I'd stick to the road and make better progress.
I've also noticed that the bike lane is also used by skate boarders, scooters, electric mobility chairs and also joggers with pushchairs, which is great if it's segregating these folk from cars and pedestrians.
One issue I do have however is how the cycle lane crosses the side roads like Coates Gardens. Cyclists and pedestrians have priority crossing but for vehicles joining Haymarket Terrace this either isn't clear or the motorists don't give a damn. Often see vehicles bully there way through people or block the cycle lane.
01-08-2024, 04:43 PM
You take your life in your hands crossing from the road to the path then at Roseburn you have to get back on to the opposite carriageway again.
Personally, if I was in a hurry, I'd stick to the road and make better progress.
I've also noticed that the bike lane is also used by skate boarders, scooters, electric mobility chairs and also joggers with pushchairs, which is great if it's segregating these folk from cars and pedestrians.
One issue I do have however is how the cycle lane crosses the side roads like Coates Gardens. Cyclists and pedestrians have priority crossing but for vehicles joining Haymarket Terrace this either isn't clear or the motorists don't give a damn. Often see vehicles bully there way through people or block the cycle lane.
There's a safer way out of town, depending where you're heading.
Before the new lane, which I haven't tried, I would turn left after the station, down the hill into the Balbirnie (?) development, where you can pick up the Roseburn Path.
speedy_gonzales
01-08-2024, 05:18 PM
There's a safer way out of town, depending where you're heading.
Before the new lane, which I haven't tried, I would turn left after the station, down the hill into the Balbirnie (?) development, where you can pick up the Roseburn Path.
Yeah, familiar with that way but it kinda defeats the point of having an east/west cycleway if it's only predominantly being used in the easterly direction.
I'm well aware there were a lot of vocal opponents to this design and it pushed back the development years. One of the louder voices was clamouring for the path to follow the old Haymarket yards and link up with the NEPN.
Thief
01-08-2024, 06:27 PM
The junction at Coates Gardens will have to be redesigned or someone is going to get seriously injured or worse.
Not trying to start a right or wrong debate, honestly!
The vehicle traffic east and west on Haymarket Terrace is so heavy, that vehicles emerging from Coates usually have to rely on being ‘flashed out’ by one or more vehicles on the main road, who won’t flash them unless they’re ‘poised’ and ready to go.
In other words, if they wait where they’re supposed to wait, they’ll wait all day!
It’s a horrible catch 22 which leads to people taking chances that often end badly.
Think there’s a fair bit of confusion as well with everyone as to who has right of way , and the signage and road markings etc but I’m not qualified to give an opinion on that - I’m only posting about my personal observations at that junction in particular.
01-08-2024, 07:25 PM
Five Just Stop Oil protesters jailed for climbing gantries to block M25 https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/article/2024/aug/01/just-stop-oil-protesters-jailed-climbing-gantries-block-m25?CMP=share_btn_url
2 years in jail for blocking a road?
I'd understand that if folks got similar or more for beating folks up or robbing houses etc :-/
01-08-2024, 11:16 PM
I think it was Pretty Boy who posted about the Leith Walk one earlier, about how bad it is.
It's a discussion that's been had before on here, about how poor many of the cycle lanes are. In many cases, the road is the safer option.
That stretch of cycle lane is not like the Leith Walk one. The cyclist i referenced yesterday was driving like a lunatic. It would have been safer for everyone if he'd been in the cycle lane IMO. He had to stop twice at traffic lights too which he wouldnt have done on the cycle lane so he was unlikely to be making faster progress. I do recognise the issues at Coates Crescent though, its a shambles.
However if basically people who do cycle are saying that there is no point in that stretch of cycle lane then what an absolutely ridiculous waste of Edinburgh tax payers money as well as the 2 year disruption caused to businesses etc. Add in the reduced no.of parking spaces on Roseburn Terrace still affecting businesses.
Ive yet to see any cyclist use the Melville St stretch of cycle lane either. Utterly pointless.
Another cyclist yesterday who decided not to use the expensive cycle lane at West Coates/Roseburn but instead held everyone up and then dismounted at the crossing at Roseburn Ter, where he would've got off if he'd used the cycle lane safely.
02-08-2024, 11:40 AM
There's some crackers on Albion Road and Albion Place. It is a H&S issue with pedestrians walking on the road on match days. I tripped on one in Jan/Feb and my foot and ankle haven't been right since.
I raise you Pennywell Road, if you can call it a road.
02-08-2024, 12:41 PM
Linked to the Leith Walk cycle lane design is the issue of the floating bus stops. There was something on the UK news the other day about blind organisations calling for these bus stops to be banned as they are dangerous for blind people. This is something I agree with. My mum has deteriorating eye sight and they are a nightmare for her. Even ignoring blind people, the fact there’s hardly any “pavement” between the bus stops and the cycle lanes mean you can easily have an accident just by stepping off the bus.
On the news item, they were interviewing someone about it and the amount of near misses during the item was incredible - even with her being on the pedestrian bit (I think this was in London). Then they interviewed someone from a cycling organisation who gave off the impression of “who cares about others, I feel safer because of them, so we should build more”
02-08-2024, 12:46 PM
Speed bumps where the paintwork on them has faded. Not only crap for drivers as they are harder to see but also for pedestrians crossing the road.
I was driving past the Edinburgh Park station/tram stop earlier and there was an elderly woman crossing the road from the retail park towards the tram stop. She must not have been able to see the speed bump and tripped over it, landing face first on the ground (I accept she was partly in the wrong as she could have walked a little bit further along to the crossing instead of crossing there).
Even worse - there were others crossing the road who just looked and didn’t help her up. I was going to get out to help but the passenger in the car in front got out to help.
02-08-2024, 01:45 PM
Speed bumps where the paintwork on them has faded. Not only crap for drivers as they are harder to see but also for pedestrians crossing the road.
I was driving past the Edinburgh Park station/tram stop earlier and there was an elderly woman crossing the road from the retail park towards the tram stop. She must not have been able to see the speed bump and tripped over it, landing face first on the ground (I accept she was partly in the wrong as she could have walked a little bit further along to the crossing instead of crossing there).
Even worse - there were others crossing the road who just looked and didn’t help her up. I was going to get out to help but the passenger in the car in front got out to help.
I hit one of those on my bike a couple of decades ago. I had about 5 seconds of free flying before I hit the road and scraped half my skin off in the ensuing tarmac slide that followed my landing. Great for slowing cars, potentially lethal for cyclists.
02-08-2024, 08:30 PM
Inside lane now coned off while they fix the drain and huge hole, which means delays going out of town. :rolleyes:
05-08-2024, 01:47 PM
Sexist!
20-08-2024, 07:32 PM
The temp traffic lights on restalrig road that have been there forever!
21-08-2024, 05:25 PM
That roundabout on the Calder Road going West where the lanes are really tight and vehicles going left towards Wester Hailes often collide with vehicles going straight on. Been numerous crashes there over the last few years - another one yesterday that caused mayhem, with two lanes getting shut off for ages after. Nothing gets done about it though :grr:
22-08-2024, 08:28 AM
That roundabout on the Calder Road going West where the lanes are really tight and vehicles going left towards Wester Hailes often collide with vehicles going straight on. Been numerous crashes there over the last few years - another one yesterday that caused mayhem, with two lanes getting shut off for ages after. Nothing gets done about it though :grr:In roughly that same spot (at end of bus lane thiugh) .... I've seen two accidents where cars from outside lane cut across to the left lane hitting the car on the inside lane... I've had near misses a few times myself (glad of my trusty horn!)
The number of drivers who seem oblivious to the fact that the bus lanes are only on at certain times is incredible :-(
22-08-2024, 09:10 PM
In roughly that same spot (at end of bus lane thiugh) .... I've seen two accidents where cars from outside lane cut across to the left lane hitting the car on the inside lane... I've had near misses a few times myself (glad of my trusty horn!)
The number of drivers who seem oblivious to the fact that the bus lanes are only on at certain times is incredible :-(
Funnily enough someone nearly hit me when I made the same journey the day before at that exact spot you are talking about, doing that very thing. I think people think if one of their wheels hits the bus lane into the bus lane their car will explode:dizzy:
24-08-2024, 01:05 PM
The tosser’s lane on the M90 northwards towards the Queensferry Crossing. It’s clearly a rat run for impatient drivers approaching the bridge at busy periods. The lane is ostensibly for traffic going west before the Forth or going into Queensferry itself. It’s irritating watching them while you’re sitting in the mainstream lanes, but worse than that are the frequent and dangerous antics of the more ‘erratic’ idiots. The lane seems to be fairly empty during normal times.
24-08-2024, 08:50 PM
The tosser’s lane on the M90 northwards towards the Queensferry Crossing. It’s clearly a rat run for impatient drivers approaching the bridge at busy periods. The lane is ostensibly for traffic going west before the Forth or going into Queensferry itself. It’s irritating watching them while you’re sitting in the mainstream lanes, but worse than that are the frequent and dangerous antics of the more ‘erratic’ idiots. The lane seems to be fairly empty during normal times.
Which is aligned to one of my driving peeves. The mystery reason you wait for ages to get on the bridge in busy periods but by the time you are not even half way over you are back to near normal and go a couple of miles up the road and it’s damn near empty!
It’s a bit like the phantom reason for the queue on the bypass near the Straiton junction…always slows down to a crawl, even in quieter days, then a couple of miles later hey presto you are off again!
25-08-2024, 01:09 PM
Which is aligned to one of my driving peeves. The mystery reason you wait for ages to get on the bridge in busy periods but by the time you are not even half way over you are back to near normal and go a couple of miles up the road and it’s damn near empty!
It’s a bit like the phantom reason for the queue on the bypass near the Straiton junction…always slows down to a crawl, even in quieter days, then a couple of miles later hey presto you are off again!
Like joining in the other direction at Calder. It's Lorry drivers just trying to P*ss everyone else off by overtaking 50 mph lorries at 50 mph on the steep hill to Fairmilehead from either direction.
26-08-2024, 03:40 AM
Yep, I suffer this every day. And I keep tabs on who has peeled off to go that way only to try and rejoin. Safe to say I don’t let them back in when they’re trying to weasel their way back in. Pricks.
14-09-2024, 07:16 AM
Roundabout lane discipline (or the lack of). The amount of times recently, I’ve approached a roundabout where there’s two lanes and I’ve been in the right hand lane and another car in the left hand lane on approach but as soon as you both enter the roundabout, the car in the left lane veers into the right lane.
Bonus peeve, cars that use the right hand indicator instead of the left hand indicator to indicate they are about to exit the roundabout. I don’t mean those that have been going right at the roundabout and have just forgotten to turn the indicator off. I mean people who purposely put on their right hand indicator as they are coming off the roundabout. WTF? I even encountered somebody the other day in front of me in one of the lanes that bypasses a roundabout (but where you have to give way to vehicles exiting the roundabout) indicate right. I was thinking - WTF is he going to try cut across to get back on the roundabout the other way - no he was intending to turn left.
14-09-2024, 07:55 AM
Roundabout lane discipline (or the lack of). The amount of times recently, I’ve approached a roundabout where there’s two lanes and I’ve been in the right hand lane and another car in the left hand lane on approach but as soon as you both enter the roundabout, the car in the left lane veers into the right lane.
Bonus peeve, cars that use the right hand indicator instead of the left hand indicator to indicate they are about to exit the roundabout. I don’t mean those that have been going right at the roundabout and have just forgotten to turn the indicator off. I mean people who purposely put on their right hand indicator as they are coming off the roundabout. WTF? I even encountered somebody the other day in front of me in one of the lanes that bypasses a roundabout (but where you have to give way to vehicles exiting the roundabout) indicate right. I was thinking - WTF is he going to try cut across to get back on the roundabout the other way - no he was intending to turn left.
When there are two lanes to go straight over at a roundabout and people just veer across lanes when exiting always gets me. I had a proper rammy with a guy at Fort Kinnaird about it, heading towards Newcraighall. I was in the left lane and maintained that all the way. He entered at the same spot as me in the right lane then almost ran into the side of me as he tried to get across so he could join the slip for the A1. Was ranting and raving that the left lane was only for the exits to where Starbucks or McDonalds are. The road signage is perfectly clear and frankly it's just common sense.
There’s a 2 lane roundabout near our house. It’s quite small, and when 2 cars are there at the same time they both need to keep to their lanes. However, people going straight over (left lane) have a habit of just taking a straight line across it through sheer laziness. It’s caused no ends of near misses and bumps.
We have to turn right on it to head home, and you end up watching the car to your left more than watching for traffic coming from the right. When you have to hit the horn to warn them they’re about to hit you by veering across your lane, you get the hand gestures and dogs abuse as if you’re in the wrong! Some folk are just idiots
14-09-2024, 08:33 AM
There’s a 2 lane roundabout near our house. It’s quite small, and when 2 cars are there at the same time they both need to keep to their lanes. However, people going straight over (left lane) have a habit of just taking a straight line across it through sheer laziness. It’s caused no ends of near misses and bumps.
We have to turn right on it to head home, and you end up watching the car to your left more than watching for traffic coming from the right. When you have to hit the horn to warn them they’re about to hit you by veering across your lane, you get the hand gestures and dogs abuse as if you’re in the wrong! Some folk are just idiots
Exactly this!
Pete70
14-09-2024, 10:04 AM
Wait a minute. You’ve seen drivers use their indicators? I don’t believe this for a second. 😀
14-09-2024, 11:26 AM
People who don’t know how to use roundabouts are my biggest bugbear when driving.
Just now at the marionville roundabout a guy decided at the last second that he didn’t want to go straight over, he wanted to turn left onto Lochend Road south but instead of just going right round the roundabout he decided to swerve right so everyone had to slam their brakes on. Twat 🤬
Alfiembra
14-09-2024, 12:19 PM
The roundabout over the by-pass on the Calder Road is a nightmare when it’s busy. The number of people when heading into town that think they can be in the outside lane approaching the roundabout and cross into the middle lane going through the roundabout is ridiculous. Had several drivers cut across the front of me doing this and all seem to think they are in the right. Naw pal check the lines on the road!
From memory it’s also well signposted as you approach the roundabout as well
Continuing the roundabout theme, had someone come to a complete halt on a small roundabout this afternoon, stopped all the traffic on 3 sides of a 4 way roundabout whilst they decided which way they wanted to go. Utter clown
speedy_gonzales
15-09-2024, 07:55 PM
Buckin' roundabouts and lane discipline.
It really shouldn't be that difficult!
Driving West along Calder Rd this morning heading towards the M8, come to the traffic light controlled Calder r-a-b, I'm in lane 2 of 3 because although I'm going right, I know I have to peel left and I'm in a small van that struggles to accelerate past much.
Driver to the right of me, in lane 3 decides he's gonna straight line and come off for Hermiston. We're side by side for a bit, I feel the van get nudged so I cede to lane 1 then follow them off towards Heriot Watt uni.
They slow down, indicate left, but carry on. They then swing a right to go down Gogar Station Rd. I'm following, not chasing but they don't stop.
When we get to the A8 I pull over, take pictures and report it through my companies control centre.
Only paint was traded with a small dent, but bùgger me, how could someone not know they've hit someone and obliviously drive off?
18-09-2024, 11:58 AM
Roundabout discipline is probably my second biggest driving peeve, behind aggressive tailgating.
I’m car sharing to work at the moment and the driver I share with is erratic as anything with roundabouts, sometimes gets them perfectly right, other times he’s as bad as some of the descriptions above, to the point where reading them, I wondered if it might have been us.
I think it’s a lack of concentration, he’s usually blethering, that’s the issue.
24-09-2024, 08:35 AM
This isn’t so much a peeve but aggressive driving. Coming down the M6 last night and a van came roaring up behind me, flashing lights. I couldn’t move over because of a lorry moving up in the outside lane. Inside lane completely clear so when he did pull out he then cut back in and there must have been inches between me and him.
It was pissing rain, really wet and could’ve been an accident, I would be dead because he’d have shunted me in to the lorry on the inside. Senseless.
25-09-2024, 09:43 AM
This isn’t so much a peeve but aggressive driving. Coming down the M6 last night and a van came roaring up behind me, flashing lights. I couldn’t move over because of a lorry moving up in the outside lane. Inside lane completely clear so when he did pull out he then cut back in and there must have been inches between me and him.
It was pissing rain, really wet and could’ve been an accident, I would be dead because he’d have shunted me in to the lorry on the inside. Senseless.
I feel people are getting much, much worse, it's mainly men to be fair. The aggression out there is off the charts. I'm often at 2 or 3 mph above the speed limit myself, but literally every single time I'm out on the road I've got some mad ******* right on my bumper or making overhwhelmingly risky moves, doesn't matter what road, what time of day or night, or what the speed limit is. I feel like it's now the overwhelming majority of folk out there on the road that are just permanently angry and looking for an excuse to go scrapping. And like you said yourself, there's sometimes not much you can do. If there's not an opportunity to pull over and let them past you're kind of stuck with this low IQ, feral monster putting everybody in the immediate vicinitys life in danger.
I shelled out for a front and rear dash cam recently as I feel it's only a matter of time until something happens. I'm getting much more introverted and reclusive these days!
Alfiembra
25-09-2024, 02:24 PM
Was tailgated down to the speed camera at Newbridge underpass lunchtime today by a dog walking service van. Adventure Paws, I’m sure the dog owners would be pleased to know their pooches are in the hands of a maniac. As mentioned above I had nowhere to go due to traffic beside me and this clown was inches off my butt. So close in fact all I could see behind me was his windscreen. Once up onto the M9 he sped away at 80 plus.
25-09-2024, 03:26 PM
Was tailgated down to the speed camera at Newbridge underpass lunchtime today by a dog walking service van. Adventure Paws, I’m sure the dog owners would be pleased to know their pooches are in the hands of a maniac. As mentioned above I had nowhere to go due to traffic beside me and this clown was inches off my butt. So close in fact all I could see behind me was his windscreen. Once up onto the M9 he sped away at 80 plus.
I've seen a van with that name in Musselburgh, it was a lassie who was driving. Maybe there's another one on the west side.
25-09-2024, 06:30 PM
Baby on Board sign works a treat for tailgaters
You actually see them backing off through your rear view mirror when they spot the sign
26-09-2024, 05:21 PM
People who don’t understand how filtering down to one lane works on a dual carriageway.
Headed into Edinburgh earlier on - signs well in advance saying “use both lanes when queuing”. The zipper style of filtering works a treat.
Yet we still have bellends on the inner lane getting as close to the car in front to not let people in. Just creates further unnecessary queues and is unbelievably petty.
27-09-2024, 04:01 AM
People who don’t understand how filtering down to one lane works on a dual carriageway.
Headed into Edinburgh earlier on - signs well in advance saying “use both lanes when queuing”. The zipper style of filtering works a treat.
Yet we still have bellends on the inner lane getting as close to the car in front to not let people in. Just creates further unnecessary queues and is unbelievably petty.
Same with people blocking junctions at traffic lights. Idiots making traffic jams even worse by not following simple driving codes.
30-09-2024, 09:17 AM
The new road layout on Morrison Street, making it two way from Malones bar back up towards the EICC. This must be one of the stupidest changes to ever be implemented on Edinburgh's roads.
Cars rarely ever use the new lane coming up the street, which is just as well as plenty of cars think it is still one way and drive on the now wrong side of the road down the street. And it makes it really difficult to get out of Grove St onto Morrison street. Madness.
The new road layout on Morrison Street, making it two way from Malones bar back up towards the EICC. This must be one of the stupidest changes to ever be implemented on Edinburgh's roads.
Cars rarely ever use the new lane coming up the street, which is just as well as plenty of cars think it is still one way and drive on the now wrong side of the road down the street. And it makes it really difficult to get out of Grove St onto Morrison street. Madness.
It's really more for cars turning right coming from the Morrison Link/West approach.
30-09-2024, 09:34 AM
It's really more for cars turning right coming from the Morrison Link/West approach.
That makes at least some sense, I hadn't thought of that, but I go the route from Grove St. to Morrison St. at least twice a week every week, and I've yet to see a car do that!
Van this morning going down the road the wrong way, caused absolute chaos when that and the van next to it both tried to turn right at Malones. Think they need to do something to sort it out.
30-09-2024, 09:42 AM
Cyclists creeping about in the mornings now with no lights and/or reflective clothing on.
I was on the canal path this morning just before 7 and whilst not pitch black it was gloomy and visibility was not great. I had on a reflective jacket and front and back lights. Guy coming the other way had no lights and a forest green jacket on (which was really smart tbf). Against the murky canal water on one side and green trees on the other side he couldn't really be seen until he was right on me. On a busier road he would have been all but invisible and that becomes infinitely more dangerous for both him and other road users than it is on the canal path.
30-09-2024, 10:49 AM
Cyclists creeping about in the mornings now with no lights and/or reflective clothing on.
I was on the canal path this morning just before 7 and whilst not pitch black it was gloomy and visibility was not great. I had on a reflective jacket and front and back lights. Guy coming the other way had no lights and a forest green jacket on (which was really smart tbf). Against the murky canal water on one side and green trees on the other side he couldn't really be seen until he was right on me. On a busier road he would have been all but invisible and that becomes infinitely more dangerous for both him and other road users than it is on the canal path.
Think I mentioned this last year. It's mostly kids dressed like ninjas with no lights on. With the dark mornings approaching it'll be the same as always, I hear them before I see them, I'm on a bike as well so I can only imagine that car drivers will only see them at the last minute. I guess these parents have so many kids that they're not bothered about losing one or two.
30-09-2024, 11:11 AM
Drivers when waiting to turn right out of a side road into a main road who sit in the middle of the road rather than getting as far right as possible meaning that if the road is wide enough you can get past on the inside and turn left.
That makes at least some sense, I hadn't thought of that, but I go the route from Grove St. to Morrison St. at least twice a week every week, and I've yet to see a car do that!
Van this morning going down the road the wrong way, caused absolute chaos when that and the van next to it both tried to turn right at Malones. Think they need to do something to sort it out.
The lane is open as I said for cars from Morrison Link, makes sense to allow cars to turn left from Torphichen Pl also, most folk go straight up Torphichen St and round Dewar PL.
As for the car in the wrong lane, well eejits are just eejits and it happens all over Edinburgh and no one stops them. Today after going to Broxburn to collect our grandson, we had a council truck parked at Roseburn Ter at the cafe there causing chaos and then a van parked just after the lights at W Maitland ST just beyond Palmerston PL also causing chaos, this was around 8.50am right in the middle of rush hour, no traffic wardens or police.
30-09-2024, 03:03 PM
The lane is open as I said for cars from Morrison Link, makes sense to allow cars to turn left from Torphichen Pl also, most folk go straight up Torphichen St and round Dewar PL.
As for the car in the wrong lane, well eejits are just eejits and it happens all over Edinburgh and no one stops them. Today after going to Broxburn to collect our grandson, we had a council truck parked at Roseburn Ter at the cafe there causing chaos and then a van parked just after the lights at W Maitland ST just beyond Palmerston PL also causing chaos, this was around 8.50am right in the middle of rush hour, no traffic wardens or police.
But barely anyone is using it? Not really seeing how that is sensible TBH, particularly given volumes of traffic coming in the opposite direction. And there is no real benefit to to heading up Morrison St from Morrison link or Torphicen Place, as you end up at Lothian Road both ways on existing routes.
The van wasn't just in the wrong lane BTW , it was actually on the wrong side of the road going in the wrong direction. It's the third time I've seen that happen in a matter of weeks so it def needs rectified. They had those road dividers in place for a while which stopped it after initial problems, but took them away about a month ago maybe - now its started happening again.
But barely anyone is using it? Not really seeing how that is sensible TBH, particularly given volumes of traffic coming in the opposite direction. And there is no real benefit to to heading up Morrison St from Morrison link or Torphicen Place, as you end up at Lothian Road both ways on existing routes.
The van wasn't just in the wrong lane BTW , it was actually on the wrong side of the road going in the wrong direction. It's the third time I've seen that happen in a matter of weeks so it def needs rectified. They had those road dividers in place for a while which stopped it after initial problems, but took them away about a month ago maybe - now its started happening again.
I meant the wrong side.
02-10-2024, 06:47 AM
Roadworks on Telford Road..... Again!
02-10-2024, 07:13 AM
I was overtaking a woman on the city bypass to Musselburgh last night - road wasn’t busy (it was around 9pm) - as I started to go past she put her hazard lights on and I sort of slowed to see if she needed help - looked in the window and she was going mental at me!
No idea what I had done wrong other than go faster than her.
06-10-2024, 11:14 PM
There's a roundabout in Livingston controlled by lights. Exiting from Morrisons is never helped by the folks that crawl out so that they get the next green light on the roundabout leaving at least 2 cars that could get out on to the roundabout stuck again at the lights.
Sent from my SM-A556B using Tapatalk
07-10-2024, 06:12 AM
There's a roundabout in Livingston controlled by lights. Exiting from Morrisons is never helped by the folks that crawl out so that they get the next green light on the roundabout leaving at least 2 cars that could get out on to the roundabout stuck again at the lights.
The inefficiencies of people when driving must be one of the biggest reasons for traffic on the road, it's either looking at phones, daydreaming, selfishness or incompetence. Our AI/self-driving overlords will be better at this.
Trinity Hibee
07-10-2024, 07:05 AM
Roadworks on Telford Road..... Again!
What is going on around that bit? Groathill Ave been closed for weeks too. Roadworks are always frustrating but so many seem to be around for so much longer nowadays. It’s like they start work then realise they don’t have what they need and work stops for a week or two. Long periods of not seeing any workies at the sites.
That whole roundabout is a pita, there’s not a single junction that gets a reasonable shot at the lights, and as you say, coming out of Morrisons is doubly bad because there’s always someone sauntering out when the lights change to green
The inefficiencies of people when driving must be one of the biggest reasons for traffic on the road, it's either looking at phones, daydreaming, selfishness or incompetence. Our AI/self-driving overlords will be better at this.
Sitting at the light West port heading west, lights change, a big huge Range Rover slowly moves over the junction, I'm 3rd car and only just get through as the lights start changing, pull along side the driver at Earl Grey St junction and she's looking in mirror, checking her hair and eyebrows etc, concentrate on the friggin road.
07-10-2024, 09:48 AM
Anyone else find those huge electronic advertising hoardings outside Meadowbank Stadium distracting?
08-10-2024, 01:26 PM
This is more than Pet Peeve, but hey ho.
Got a 19 plate Kia which has a fuel pressure sensor problem - so says my local garage.
The part they need comes from Kia, who have none in the country and don't know when more will be coming in.
Bosche ones are also out of stock, they don't know when they'll be coming in either.
How can this be the case? How can a car which is under warranty need a part that no-one knows anything about?
And just been on the phone to a couple of Kia garages, none can take the car until mid-November!
08-10-2024, 02:00 PM
People who don't understand how to use slip roads. They reach the first point they can enter the main carriageway and if that is busy they just come to a complete standstill and back traffic all the way up. By the same token when the main carriageway is busy and you travel to the end of the slip road to avoid it backing up, people on the road will block you off rather than let you in because they seem to think you are trying to skip the queue (as if getting 4 or 5 cars ahead during rush hour on the bypass represents any real time saving:faf:).
Use the full length of the road ffs.
patch1875
08-10-2024, 02:32 PM
People who don't understand how to use slip roads. They reach the first point they can enter the main carriageway and if that is busy they just come to a complete standstill and back traffic all the way up. By the same token when the main carriageway is busy and you travel to the end of the slip road to avoid it backing up, people on the road will block you off rather than let you in because they seem to think you are trying to skip the queue (as if getting 4 or 5 cars ahead during rush hour on the bypass represents any real time saving:faf:).
Yeah does my head in as well. Bypass is bad for this if there’s room I will go passed and join the correct way.
08-10-2024, 03:39 PM
The really annoying thing is that the two halves are self-perpetuating:
People are more likely to stop and try to merge at the earliest point because they think people won't let them in if they go further.
Then the more people merge at the earliest point, the more people think that's the right thing to do and block off people going further because they're "trying to skip the queue"…
08-10-2024, 04:10 PM
The really annoying thing is that the two halves are self-perpetuating:
People are more likely to stop and try to merge at the earliest point because they think people won't let them in if they go further.
Then the more people merge at the earliest point, the more people think that's the right thing to do and block off people going further because they're "trying to skip the queue"…
And bus lanes. First stretch at Sighthill going into town one long queue in the outside lane. Use the inside land and save 10 minutes easy. Next stretch clear to the Firestation if there aren't drivers signalling to get into the outside lane about 100 meters before the merge.....
09-10-2024, 01:55 PM
Phoned up to out my car in for a service.
Get told "Oh yeah, there's been a recall on this due to a fuel injection problem".
We're you going to tell me? It was recalled 6 months ago! You've got my details ffs.
09-10-2024, 03:03 PM
Approaching an obstruction in inside lane, I indicate to pull out a split second after the car behind me does the same, he floors it to try and keep me in but just succeeds in having to brake hard whilst flashing his lights and blowing his horn. He then pulls alongside me opens his passenger window and starts waving his fist and shouting! I laughed gave him the middle finger and he sped off. I don’t know what his passenger in the back of his private hire made of it all!
Pity you never got his licence number, report him to the cab office for his conduct.
09-10-2024, 08:47 PM
Phoned up to out my car in for a service.
Get told "Oh yeah, there's been a recall on this due to a fuel injection problem".
We're you going to tell me? It was recalled 6 months ago! You've got my details ffs.
My car has a 24 month service interval, been pestered by the dealer since month 11 to book it in. I was passing so popped in and asked the simple question, what is the service interval for my model. What is the registration and we'll check.
No, what does manufacture say? Eventually they say service is 24 month but an 'inspection is recommended at 12 months.
I've paid upfront for 2 services, so they will be at 24 and 48 month, and I'm not getting screwed for the inspection.
10-10-2024, 05:40 PM
I find my toy handgun quite useful in situations like that.
10-10-2024, 07:11 PM
The madness of finishing off projects before Christmas or worse trying to start them and get motoring around Christmas or holiday period.
there must be a psychological aspect to hit - wish I could take off Nov til Feb every year…
10-10-2024, 07:13 PM
Scampi fries. Honking!
So bad they must be like a form of contraception.
10-10-2024, 07:31 PM
Scampi fries. Honking!
So bad they must be like a form of contraception.
Love them, so moorish with a pint. Sell them in my local Winstons.
11-10-2024, 12:46 PM
The madness of finishing off projects before Christmas or worse trying to start them and get motoring around Christmas or holiday period.
there must be a psychological aspect to hit - wish I could take off Nov til Feb every year…
For me if it's possible to finish something by then, it's likely people will be taking time off over the festive period and start the new year going in with a fresh start rather trying to remember what you were doing 2 weeks ago :tee hee:
11-10-2024, 04:31 PM
Is that why this peeve is in the driving peeves thread?
12-10-2024, 10:04 AM
Men with obvious P**** size issues wanting bigger and bigger cars, no matter what the effect is on the environment... or to the safety of other road users and pedestrians
The SUV is already everywhere but that's apparently not doing enough to negate their other 'issues', so now they're moving to Monster Trucks
Monster pickup trucks accelerate into Europe as sales rise despite safety fears (https://www.theguardian.com/world/2024/oct/12/monster-pickup-trucks-accelerate-europe-sales-rise-safety-fears)
EDIT: Grumpy? Moi? :greengrin
Morons who don’t bother to follow the laws of the road and just drive out onto roundabouts regardless of right of way or other traffic, then give you a dirty look when you blast the horn
Chaos on Leith Street northbound again yesterday, buses were being diverted from the area due to congestion problems. Also causing traffic build up on the Bridges, Princes St east end and Waterloo Pl. Council need to have another look at the traffic light sequencing on the new Picardy Pl roundabout as there is frequently problems travelling towards Leith and Broughton St.
Thankfully Hibs weren't at home
Trinity Hibee
13-10-2024, 06:26 AM
Going along davidsons mains an elderly woman pulled out from a junction in front of me the other day without looking forcing me to go on to the other side of the road to avoid a collision. Held the horn down and she looked at me but I honestly don’t think she knew what she’d done. No awareness.
I’ve said before those over 70 should have to sit a driving suitability test every so often. The story of the woman killing the young child with her car in Morningside a couple of years ago always sticks in my mind.
speedy_gonzales
13-10-2024, 02:00 PM
Going along davidsons mains an elderly woman pulled out from a junction in front of me the other day without looking forcing me to go on to the other side of the road to avoid a collision. Held the horn down and she looked at me but I honestly don’t think she knew what she’d done. No awareness.
I’ve said before those over 70 should have to sit a driving suitability test every so often. The story of the woman killing the young child with her car in Morningside a couple of years ago always sticks in my mind.
I was side swiped by a driver (who subsequently drove off) a few weeks back on Calder Roundabout. The Police are involved and early indications are it was any elderly driver with no recollection of it happening. They couldn't explain the damage to the side of their vehicle either. Quite worrying.
Peanut Shaz
13-10-2024, 02:27 PM
Chaos on Leith Street northbound again yesterday, buses were being diverted from the are due to congestion problems. Also causing traffic build up on the Bridges, Prices St east end and Waterloo Pl. Council need to have another look at the traffic sequencing on the new Picardy Pl roundabout as there is frequently problems travelling towards Leith and Broughton St.
Thankfully Hibs weren't at home
I was have travelled twice at different times of day by bus in the past week or so, once to Leith Street and once to Leopold Place. Absolute chaos from East End if Princes Street to both locations on each occasion. Short walk to my appointments from bus stops and noticed the heavy congestion in all directions. Definitely needs a major rethink as it’s not working in its current format.
People who cross the road in front of you but are in no hurry to cross the road, what ever happened to cross the road quickly and safely and when you peep the horn you get abuse as if you're in the wrong.
15-10-2024, 08:39 AM
People who cross the road in front of you but are in no hurry to cross the road, what ever happened to cross the road quickly and safely and when you peep the horn you get abuse as if you're in the wrong.
I had someone on Saturday who was crossing the road I was waiting to turn right into. For a start, they didn't look anywhere before crossing as they were looking at their phone (I wouldn't have gone anyway) but then they stopped in the middle of the road to start texting, blocking my path.
26-10-2024, 10:12 AM
Sitting at red light at the pedestrian crossing on Willowbrae Road. Sole female pedestrian had just reached the pavement but light was still red, no amber light showing. Car comes up behind me and goes straight through the red light. Do people just not care any more?
26-10-2024, 10:32 AM
Slip Road from City Bypass going onto M8 after Sighthill turnoff cars on the inside lane going straight ahead instead of turning left onto M8
Does ma heid in !
26-10-2024, 11:18 AM
Modern car design.
I have a 23 year old Volvo estate. An absolute tonne of buttons, dials, and switches on the dashboard but as it’s all tactile I can change things without needing to take my eyes off the road. If one thing goes wrong, other things are unaffected. As it’s a great big estate, it’s practical, good to drive, comfortable, has dual zone air conditioning, heated seats, cruise control, auto headlights, and more. It’s got a big 2.4l petrol engine that’s only been tuned to put out 140bhp so it’s never straining at high revs, and isn’t so slow to be annoying. Lots of lovely little touches like a clip on the windscreen to put your parking tickets. All in all - a beautifully designed car that’s nice to drive, nice to sit in, and built to last. It’s done 154,000 miles and doesn’t feel like it’s done a third of that.
My friend up in Aberdeen bought a 2019 Mitsubishi SUV thing. The engine is tiny and tuned to put as much out of it that a turbo can add. The touchscreen has gone kaput and the part needed has been on back order for six months meaning no Bluetooth, no radio, no reverse camera, and all sorts of other features lost. Built to a budget. Has done 60,000 miles and experiencing more problems. Doesnt always fit everything in the back that he needs because SUVs have boots that are often insufficient.
It does feel that car design has regressed.
26-10-2024, 11:47 AM
Modern car design.
I have a 23 year old Volvo estate. An absolute tonne of buttons, dials, and switches on the dashboard but as it’s all tactile I can change things without needing to take my eyes off the road. If one thing goes wrong, other things are unaffected. As it’s a great big estate, it’s practical, good to drive, comfortable, has dual zone air conditioning, heated seats, cruise control, auto headlights, and more. It’s got a big 2.4l petrol engine that’s only been tuned to put out 140bhp so it’s never straining at high revs, and isn’t so slow to be annoying. Lots of lovely little touches like a clip on the windscreen to put your parking tickets. All in all - a beautifully designed car that’s nice to drive, nice to sit in, and built to last. It’s done 154,000 miles and doesn’t feel like it’s done a third of that.
My friend up in Aberdeen bought a 2019 Mitsubishi SUV thing. The engine is tiny and tuned to put as much out of it that a turbo can add. The touchscreen has gone kaput and the part needed has been on back order for six months meaning no Bluetooth, no radio, no reverse camera, and all sorts of other features lost. Built to a budget. Has done 60,000 miles and experiencing more problems. Doesnt always fit everything in the back that he needs because SUVs have boots that are often insufficient.
It does feel that car design has regressed.
Cannae beat a Volvo
Pretty sure recently won an award as the best Used Car to buy
Never been a fan of Mitsubishi
Worked in a Volvo Dealership for years and had loads of repeat business on customers being involved in accidents and being saved by the inbuilt metal safety cage
26-10-2024, 12:28 PM
Cannae beat a Volvo
Pretty sure recently won an award as the best Used Car to buy
Never been a fan of Mitsubishi
Worked in a Volvo Dealership for years and had loads of repeat business on customers being involved in accidents and being saved by the inbuilt metal safety cage
Problem is that even Volvo have gone down the same daft touchscreen route that everyone else has. If it goes wrong then you lose a lot of things.
Donegal Hibby
26-10-2024, 12:44 PM
New car’s headlights.. find them away to bright to a point that they blind you .
26-10-2024, 01:47 PM
New car’s headlights.. find them away to bright to a point that they blind you .
It’s a perfect example of how car design is broken. It used to be the case that manufacturers made the best car possible and paid people a decent sum to sell those to people as according to their needs.
Now it’s a case of bending to the whim of the customer irrelevant to whether it’s a good idea or not. Touch screens? Headlights that dazzle other road users? Reliability to cover the length of your average lease agreement but no more than that? If you say so.
26-10-2024, 03:10 PM
Distracting advertising should be banned imo. Billboards. But particularly radio adverts that include horn sounds - they're irritating at best and dangerously distracting at worst.
26-10-2024, 03:13 PM
Thursday night drive home quiz on Radio Forth
What small town will Question Time be held in tonight ?
A. Who gives a f#ck !
Fuzzywuzzy
26-10-2024, 03:18 PM
Distracting advertising should be banned imo. Billboards. But particularly radio adverts that include horn sounds - they're irritating at best and dangerously distracting at worst.
I had to take car back to dealer in Stoke to get something done under warranty. Kept hearing a beeping noise but no dash lights coming on. Took me a while to work out it was the same advert on the radio
26-10-2024, 03:23 PM
Parts for cars. My 19 plate Kia had something wrong with the fuel pump, sensors going mad and lights on the dashboard.
It went to the local garage and we were told the parts we needed weren’t in the country.
Phoned Kia dealers across the central belt and they couldn't give a single **** about helping out. Part check? No. Courtesy cars while we repair your car which is UNDER WARRANTY? Not a chance. Availability for repair - is mid November ok?
We ended up asking our local guy to do it and paid £900 for the privilege of not using our warranty.
I like my car but unless it goes back to the dealer for every little thing the warranty is a bit of a gimmick.
Totally agree, especially if there is a hint of you being slightly uphill towards them. Im rarely out in the evenings these days, but started a new pastime this week which takes place later in the evening, couldn’t believe how often I was struggling to see properly with the oncoming headlights being overly bright.
26-10-2024, 05:47 PM
Totally agree, especially if there is a hint of you being slightly uphill towards them. Im rarely out in the evenings these days, but started a new pastime this week which takes place later in the evening, couldn’t believe how often I was struggling to see properly with the oncoming headlights being overly bright.
Even worse when someone has parked facing the oncoming traffic and are sitting there with their headlights on.
Donegal Hibby
26-10-2024, 07:56 PM
I had one tailgating me and then met one coming the other way the last night which absolutely blinded me … spoke to an older guy I know recently too and he said he had only recently stopped driving at night as he found the new headlights to severe for him …
With all the messages of reducing speed , wearing your seatbelt and never drink driving for safety reasons it’s one that I think stupidly puts people at higher risk.
Punters in the taxi today at Jeffrey St waiting to turn right to the Radisson High St, in front of me is a PHC car with his punter, he cannae be arsed waiting on lights to change and goes through the red lights to the left when the wee green man is on and nearly knocks over some pedestrians. 80% of all complaints are about PHC drivers and the reason it's costing me £300 to do 3 bloody modules in February, modules to teach me how to be a cabbie after 35 years of doing the job.
27-10-2024, 02:28 AM
Aye, headlights are becoming a hazard. Doubly so when combined with road markings that have mostly worn off. The roads are a shambles, really dangerous when drivers aren't familiar with their route.
27-10-2024, 02:32 AM
Punters in the taxi today at Jeffrey St waiting to turn right to the Radisson High St, in front of me is a PHC car with his punter, he cannae be arsed waiting on lights to change and goes through the red lights to the left when the wee green man is on and nearly knocks over some pedestrians. 80% of all complaints are about PHC drivers and the reason it's costing me £300 to do 3 bloody modules in February, modules to teach me how to be a cabbie after 35 years of doing the job.
I've noticed an increasing number of drivers (largely PHC) using their hazard lights when pulling over rather than indicating.
27-10-2024, 07:21 AM
I've noticed an increasing number of drivers (largely PHC) using their hazard lights when pulling over rather than indicating.
A reasonable thing to do if you're going to stop for a fare just before a junction, rather than turn left at the junction. Lets following traffic know you're not going to turn left, no?
27-10-2024, 08:23 AM
A reasonable thing to do if you're going to stop for a fare just before a junction, rather than turn left at the junction. Lets following traffic know you're not going to turn left, no?
Nothing reasonable about it when they stop right on top of the junction and force you to go around them in in a big sweep to turn left yourself! Even worse when they then decide to pull out again with the hazards still flashing rather than indicating.
27-10-2024, 08:40 AM
Nothing reasonable about it when they stop right on top of the junction and force you to go around them in in a big sweep to turn left yourself! Even worse when they then decide to pull out again with the hazards still flashing rather than indicating.
Not reasonable at a junction, but reasonable before it. Personally I always wind down my driver's window and give the hand signal for stopping, to avoid a similar confusion.
Hazards also very useful if you're going to reverse into a parking space on a narrow street.
speedy_gonzales
27-10-2024, 08:58 AM
Slip Road from City Bypass going onto M8 after Sighthill turnoff cars on the inside lane going straight ahead instead of turning left onto M8
Does ma heid in !
Is that not a legit move?
I do it all the time for no other reason than I was taught to use the leftmost suitable lane and as my vehicle has telematics I have to adhere to the speed limit. If I was to sit on lane two at the posted 50mph I'd upset all those drivers that race down on the outside and cut in at the last minute.
27-10-2024, 10:55 AM
Is that not a legit move?
Not according to the road markings as shown on Google Maps. The two left lanes are clearly marked for vehicles turning left onto the M8. Unless I've misread the OP and got the wrong junction.
https://maps.app.goo.gl/x1yXE4xQpuAPazvC9
27-10-2024, 11:32 AM
It doesn't really let following traffic know anything for certain. They could be pulling over, they could be doing a u turn, they could be warning you about a hazard at the upcoming junction.
It's one of these things that is common on the continent (no idea if it is a legitimate signal there) but not correct in the UK.
speedy_gonzales
27-10-2024, 01:42 PM
Not according to the road markings as shown on Google Maps. The two left lanes are clearly marked for vehicles turning left onto the M8. Unless I've misread the OP and got the wrong junction.
Ahh, you might be right. I misread Billys post as being on the left lane on the actual bypass just before the junction and not on the slip itself.
27-10-2024, 01:43 PM
It doesn't really let following traffic know anything for certain. They could be pulling over, they could be doing a u turn, they could be warning you about a hazard at the upcoming junction.
It's one of these things that is common on the continent (no idea if it is a legitimate signal there) but not correct in the UK.
Doesn't it let the following traffic know you're not turning left? :dunno: If you indicate left to pull over and there's a junction ahead, following traffic may assume you're turning left and start queueing behind you. Not defending PHC drivers btw, just arguing that in some circumstances hazards are useful without there being a genuine 'hazard' - more of an 'I'm doing something uncommon here, pay extra attention!' sort of a thing.
27-10-2024, 02:42 PM
Thanks for clearing that up though the road markings look a bit faded not uncommon have been almost cut up a few times by people driving straight ahead towards Gyle
28-10-2024, 03:14 AM
Doesn't it let the following traffic know you're not turning left? :dunno: If you indicate left to pull over and there's a junction ahead, following traffic may assume you're turning left and start queueing behind you. Not defending PHC drivers btw, just arguing that in some circumstances hazards are useful without there being a genuine 'hazard' - more of an 'I'm doing something uncommon here, pay extra attention!' sort of a thing.
I'd agree with that
28-10-2024, 08:54 AM
Not sure this will help much ...
Lamp posts could be removed from Britain’s streets in an effort to reduce carbon emissions because modern car headlamps help to better light streets at night, experts have said.
A trial in Yorkshire will see lamp posts on sections of two busy A roads switched off and replaced with solar-powered road studs and bollards with lighting.
If successful, it could lead to the removal of 1.5 million of Britain’s 7.2 million lamp posts as they reach the end of their 40-year lifespan, The Sunday Times reported.
Perry Hazell, the president of the Institution of Lighting Professionals, told the newspaper: “Historically we’ve always been focused on the driver and the highway.
“Because headlights have now improved in cars we need to think about cycle users, and pedestrians and maybe light for them only.”
East Riding of Yorkshire council will switch off and remove hundreds of lamp posts on sections of the A1079 and A164 roads from December as part of the trial. The project is part of a £30 million UK-wide de-carbonisation drive funded by the Department for Transport.
Karl Rourke, the council’s street lighting service manager, who is overseeing the trial, said that current street lighting for roads was designed on the principle that cars do not have headlights and the entire road is left in complete darkness.
“This is about common-sense lighting, not lighting removal at all costs,” he said.
Lamp posts are set to be replaced with solar-powered road studs as part of the trial, alongside new layouts, road signs made from a more reflective material and signs that are activated when cars approach dangerous areas such as roundabouts and crossroads.
In the village of Hayton, located on the A1079 between York and Hull, 30 lamp posts will be replaced with footway lighting and bollards with lights attached in an effort to concentrate illumination on pedestrians instead of vehicles.
The areas will be closely monitored by safety risk assessments and thermal imaging cameras capable of seeing in total darkness as well as during the day.
The project, called Live Labs 2, is a three-year multimillion-pound endeavour that aims to support the transition to “net zero carbon local roads”.
A similar scheme is being discussed for Derbyshire, as well as in nine other local authorities including Aberdeenshire, Cambridgeshire and Lancashire.
It follows similar moves by other councils in recent months. In August Norfolk county council revealed plans to turn off street lights on a road notorious for car crashes under plans to cut carbon emissions. The council said it had no safety concerns about the plans, which it said would significantly contribute towards a “net zero Norfolk”.
In February a London council said it had no choice but to dim street lights on its roads in an effort to cut costs. Havering borough council, which was near-bankrupt at the time, said it would dim lights on main roads from midnight to 5am.
Councils in Bolton, Bracknell, Cornwall and Hampshire have also voted to dim street lights.
I'm guessing you may have the wrong junction. That slip road is for M8 and Hermiston Gait, if you are travelling straight ahead on the bypass you miss that out and stay on the elevated section of the road.
28-10-2024, 11:24 PM
Driving the bypass towards the A8 and the matrix sign giving me notice of problems round Clachmanan and ommiting that it's not possible to get into Edinburgh off the Gogar Roundabout thanks to roadworks. This is information that would have been helpful.
Alfiembra
29-10-2024, 08:30 AM
Not sure if this should be in pet peeves but it’s car related. Hoovering the carpets in my car, there’s always some bits that no matter how many times you go over them just will not come out. I don’t have a dog but a previous owner must have and there always seems to be small hairs that stick like glue.
29-10-2024, 02:58 PM
I think you are right. It's far more sensible to put hazards on for any car if stopping on a road with left turns coming up. The hazards to me obviously signal the car is about to pull over. A left signal would lead people to think you are turning left at the next junction.
04-11-2024, 08:25 PM
Tossers on bikes who have the blindingly bright strobe like headlamps on the front. Genuinely uncomfortable to see when coming the other way and probably just as likely to put them in danger.
07-11-2024, 06:56 PM
Arrows on roads at junctions to indicate which lane you're supposed to be in.
Great idea, in principal... but only if roads had literally no other vehicles that could possibly be driving over those lanes... meaning you can't see them until it's too late.
What idiot seriously thought arrows painted on the road we're a good idea???
07-11-2024, 09:24 PM
Great idea, in principal... but only if roads had literally no other vehicles that could possibly be driving over those lanes... meaning you can't see them until it's too late.
It's not a perfect arrangement, especially at unfamiliar junctions, but every little helps. I love 'em. I'm thinking of painting lane arrows on my hall carpet to stop people bumping into each other in the house.
08-11-2024, 01:03 PM
It's not a perfect arrangement, especially at unfamiliar junctions, but every little helps. I love 'em. I'm thinking of painting lane arrows on my hall carpet to stop people bumping into each other in the house.
Me too (but not the hall). The number of potential exits is a big hint. What you can't legislate for is on a three lane approach with 3 exits (left, forward, right) the car in the left chooses to go right. Which happened to me on Monday.
08-11-2024, 06:04 PM
How about signs at the side of the road indicating which lane is for which direction?
Obviously not so great in your hall, though....
08-11-2024, 09:14 PM
Drivers who don’t pay attention to road lane markings and cause chaos on the road.
08-11-2024, 09:49 PM
How about signs at the side of the road indicating which lane is for which direction?
Obviously not so great in your hall, though....
Already tried it in my hall but the sign just obscured the big, big sign already there indicating which exit to take for bathroom, kitchen, bedroom, etc, and I imagine the same problem might occur out on the roads.
08-11-2024, 10:47 PM
The worst ones are when they have two lanes out of three, for instance, with straight ahead arrows on the, then at the last minute the right hand lane changes to a right arrow (or left to a left one), meaning if you’re suddenly caught out in the wrong lane right at the ****ing junction.
09-11-2024, 07:08 AM
The worst ones are when they have two lanes out of three, for instance, with straight ahead arrows on the, then at the last minute the right hand lane changes to a right arrow (or left to a left one), meaning if you’re suddenly caught out in the wrong lane right at the ****ing junction.
I think there’s one of these on Queensferry Road, 2 lanes 2 lanes 2 lanes right hand lane right turn. With no signs to indicate it’s about to change.
Tour coach driver who thought it was a good idea to turn right from the left hand lane on Milton Rd onto the A1 yesterday, just a complete dick as he forced his way round the corner because of his size.
12-11-2024, 08:00 AM
Three outrageous near misses in my last two journeys, one of which I was really lucky to not be hit. I feel like the standard of driving is getting worse :rolleyes:
12-11-2024, 03:56 PM
People that drive unnecessarily slow, especially in the outside lane of a dual carriageway. There's a neighbour of mine that I've been stuck behind a few times either coming home or heading out. He goes at 15 mph on a 40 mph dual carriageway. Not sure if he thinks everywhere is a 20 or he's a nervous driver but it is so frustrating.
12-11-2024, 04:23 PM
People that drive unnecessarily slow, especially in the outside lane of a dual carriageway. There's a neighbour of mine that I've been stuck behind a few times either coming home or heading out. He goes at 15 mph on a 40 mph dual carriageway. Not sure if he thinks everywhere is a 20 or he's a nervous driver but it is so frustrating.
It's the ones that also drive at 30 everywhere that I don't understand. There's a stretch of road near me that goes from a 30, to a short stretch of NSL, then on to a 40. I drive behind folk that do 30 in the 30, then stupidly try to get up to 60 for less than a quarter of a mile, then sit at 30 in the 40 where I catch up to them. None of it makes any sense.
Folk who believe that putting on an indicator gives them right of way and that space will magically appear for them to move into
Was going round a 5 junction roundabout earlier, lanes are all well signed, car in the lane inside me flicks on the indicator and just starts drifting across, had to brake and swerve to avoid them. They knew I was there, but somehow I was expected to just get out the way
19-11-2024, 11:43 AM
Idiot drivers!! 4 vehicle RTC just south of Dual carriageway on the A9 at Ballinluig at 8:15 this morning. Diversion routes not suitable for HGVs but still they try!! The road past my house is busier than the M8 right now!!!
21-11-2024, 01:50 AM
My car is like a disco with all the lights flashing and bleeping noises tonight, I was only on the motorway for about 3 miles and it was telling me to take a coffee break. :rolleyes: :greengrin
21-11-2024, 09:05 AM
My car is like a disco with all the lights flashing and bleeping noises tonight, I was only on the motorway for about 3 miles and it was telling me to take a coffee break. :rolleyes: :greengrin
Our Kia Niro is great at displaying a useless warning light. Its current favourite is to say the back passenger side tyre needs inflated - it even displays the pressure of each tyre but in fact shows that the back passenger side tyre is of the correct pressure and actually has a slightly higher pressure than the back driver side tyre. Had the tyre checked out and nothing wrong with it so it is clearly the warning system that's goosed.
It also loves invoking the collision detection system where it flashes, beeps and imposes an emergency stop where there is no potential collision. It even did it once when we were the only car on a clear road.
21-11-2024, 09:37 AM
Surprised there are not more RTA’s at Sheriffhall roundabout place is a nightmare 😀
He's here!
21-11-2024, 01:36 PM
New car?
They behave like bullies!
He's here!
21-11-2024, 01:37 PM
Maybe not a driving peeve, but Jaguar's rebrand/new car-free advert is a tad bizarre:
https://www.marketingweek.com/jaguar-rebranded-needed-revitalise/
21-11-2024, 04:47 PM
Maybe not a driving peeve, but Jaguar's rebrand/new car-free advert is a tad bizarre:
https://www.marketingweek.com/jaguar-rebranded-needed-revitalise/
It’s something else that’s for sure.
The accompanying piece is spot on as well. The brand execs will be spinning the universal mocking of the rebrand as EXACTLY what they were wanting and therefore they have it spot on.
In the real world of course everyone still continues to mock it and thinks it’s totally guff. Which it is.
21-11-2024, 05:38 PM
It’s something else that’s for sure.
The accompanying piece is spot on as well. The brand execs will be spinning the universal mocking of the rebrand as EXACTLY what they were wanting and therefore they have it spot on.
In the real world of course everyone still continues to mock it and thinks it’s totally guff. Which it is.
But you're talking about it... and so am I now.
And, while we wait a year for the "product", there will be more "marketing", and more talking about it. And the more people talk about something that isn't there yet, the more people will be looking to see what the actual outcome is.
21-11-2024, 05:52 PM
But you're talking about it... and so am I now.
And, while we wait a year for the "product", there will be more "marketing", and more talking about it. And the more people talk about something that isn't there yet, the more people will be looking to see what the actual outcome is.
Yes yes that’s the kind of chat that will be happening in the board room for sure, while they congratulate themselves on a remarkable job well done.
But when the hoo ha dies down they are still left with a brutally bad rebrand but by then the execs responsible will have exited stage left with their suitcases of cash!
When was the left turn from Elm Row onto London Road reinstated?
I drove down and up a few times through that area last week and it looked like there was less congestion in the lanes southbound outside the Playhouse.
Anyone that travels that way regularly noticed a difference in journey times?
22-11-2024, 09:30 AM
When was the left turn from Elm Row onto London Road reinstated?
I drove down and up a few times through that area last week and it looked like there was less congestion on the offside lane southbound outside the Playhouse.
Anyone that travels that way regularly noticed a difference in journey times?
A couple of weeks ago. I've not driven there since then so not sure on the journey times
22-11-2024, 09:58 PM
Surprised there are not more RTA’s at Sheriffhall roundabout place is a nightmare 😀
I like the sheriffhall!
ErinGoBraghHFC
22-11-2024, 10:13 PM
I like the sheriffhall!
Tied for the worst roundabout in Scotland with the Raith Interchange at Strathclyde park and Broxden Junction in Perth. Horrific.
23-11-2024, 01:49 AM
Our Kia Niro is great at displaying a useless warning light. Its current favourite is to say the back passenger side tyre needs inflated - it even displays the pressure of each tyre but in fact shows that the back passenger side tyre is of the correct pressure and actually has a slightly higher pressure than the back driver side tyre. Had the tyre checked out and nothing wrong with it so it is clearly the warning system that's goosed.
It also loves invoking the collision detection system where it flashes, beeps and imposes an emergency stop where there is no potential collision. It even did it once when we were the only car on a clear road.
I googled about tyre temperatures dropping in cold weather on the Sportage, I have had to put air twice in my car this week and its telling me again low tyre pressure, so it would seem that Kia censors are a bit touchy with cold weather and plenty folk complaining about it, new one today that flashed up was “camera not working” obviously ice over it, and don’t get me started on the collision system, that will give me whiplash the way it comes to a halt for no reason.
23-11-2024, 08:53 AM
Careless drivers.
I had to leave the road on the M90 yesterday on the right hand lane as the car to the left of me decided to just casually drift into my lane whilst I was doing 70mph. If it wasn’t for me being eagle eyed enough to spot his drifting, I, and my daughter, would have been in a right spot of bother. ********.
ErinGoBraghHFC
23-11-2024, 10:16 AM
Snow. Pain in the hole.
23-11-2024, 10:33 AM
Snow. Pain in the hole.
Agreed. Plus living on a hill. Had to abandon car this morning.
Edit: where's the gritters in Edinburgh? It's not like this was a surprise ...
Agreed. Plus living on a hill. Had to abandon car this morning.
Edit: where's the gritters in Edinburgh? It's not like this was a surprise ...
No gritters in Livingston either.
Plenty of the usual morons who don’t adjust their driving to the conditions though. Tailgating, or only cleared an 8 inch square on their windscreen and that’s it, don’t slow down at junctions then panic when they start to slide uncontrollably, etc :rolleyes:
ErinGoBraghHFC
23-11-2024, 12:12 PM
No gritters in Livingston either.
Plenty of the usual morons who don’t adjust their driving to the conditions though. Tailgating, or only cleared an 8 inch square on their windscreen and that’s it, don’t slow down at junctions then panic when they start to slide uncontrollably, etc :rolleyes:
None in South Lanarkshire either based off the state of the roads today, M74 was closed earlier on as well
25-11-2024, 11:47 AM
Variable speed limits on smart motorways. Was down South at the weekend, 50mph seems ridiculously slow on a four lane unobstructed flowing normal motorway!
Donegal Hibby
25-11-2024, 12:10 PM
Snow. Pain in the hole.
Hate snow . I normally try and avoid driving when there’s snow or ice as I was very lucky one night a few years ago after hitting black ice , came down a steep road sideways in my van 🫣
AltheHibby
25-11-2024, 07:17 PM
Variable speed limits on smart motorways. Was down South at the weekend, 50mph seems ridiculously slow on a four lane unobstructed flowing normal motorway!
Try living in the Rhondda. We have 2 50MPH average speed zones to go through to get to Bristol. Neither of which is needed.
30-11-2024, 11:49 AM
2 from me.
Cameron Toll roundabout being shut again and the bus gate along at Prestonfield not being open to relieve the pressure.
Secondly to revisit cycle lanes. I was using the one on St Leonard's street on my commute home on Thursday. Guy came up a side street in his car, ignored the give way and straight across the cycle lane, wiped my back wheel out sending me sprawling to the ground and left me in a fair bit of pain. Had he hit me a second earlier he would have thrown me right into the road. No way he would have just driven across the lanes of a road like that. Either blind to cyclists or just doesn't care. Totally unapologetic into the bargain as well. Apparently I should have seen him (I did but didn't expect him to drive totally recklessly) and apparently I should have given way to him (why? The give way is on your road, I didn't expect you to plough right out without paying attention to other road users).
From now on I'll be using the road at that section and if any drivers complain I'll direct them to the aforementioned idiot for an explanation as to why.
30-11-2024, 11:59 AM
2 from me.
Cameron Toll roundabout being shut again and the bus gate along at Prestonfield not being open to relieve the pressure.
Secondly to revisit cycle lanes. I was using the one on St Leonard's street on my commute home on Thursday. Guy came up a side street in his car, ignored the give way and straight across the cycle lane, wiped my back wheel out sending me sprawling to the ground and left me in a fair bit of pain. Had he hit me a second earlier he would have thrown me right into the road. No way he would have just driven across the lanes of a road like that. Either blind to cyclists or just doesn't care. Totally unapologetic into the bargain as well. Apparently I should have seen him (I did but didn't expect him to drive totally recklessly) and apparently I should have given way to him (why? The give way is on your road, I didn't expect you to plough right out without paying attention to other road users).
From now on I'll be using the road at that section and if any drivers complain I'll direct them to the aforementioned idiot for an explanation as to why.
FFS - Did you get his plate?
30-11-2024, 12:17 PM
FFS - Did you get his plate?
I didn't. I was a bad mix of raging and a bit shook up and just wanted to get away from the situtation.
Really wish I'd taken a deep breath and dealt with it properly now.
30-11-2024, 01:48 PM
I didn't. I was a bad mix of raging and a bit shook up and just wanted to get away from the situtation.
Glad you’re ok though - could have been a lot worse.
30-11-2024, 05:04 PM
Glad you’re ok though - could have been a lot worse.
He could have been carrying a box of eggs.
Stairway 2 7
30-11-2024, 05:25 PM
2 from me.
Jesus that's brutal, could there be any cctv c£%/ shouldn't have a licence
pollution
30-11-2024, 06:06 PM
2 from me.
That's a serious bit of wrong doing on the driver's part, implying you had to look out for him . He couldn't be more wrong.
It's a real pity you couldn't get his number - was there any hint of drink/drugs in him.
30-11-2024, 07:41 PM
Hope you’re feeling alright mate.
What a ****.
30-11-2024, 07:49 PM
That’s horrendous. Have you reported it?
30-11-2024, 08:46 PM
2 from me.
That’s a shocker
01-12-2024, 09:23 AM
2 from me.
Glad you're ok but can I suggest that the bit in bold is a mistake. Best way to stay upright in and around the city centre imo is to assume that every driver can and often will make such errors. Cycling ultradefensively slows the journey but by less in total than a single wait in A&E. Particularly when the roads are full of drivers on their way home from work - when cycleblindness is at its peak and rights of way are, to say the least, relaxed.
I'll throw in the cycle lane on Crewe Road South as it approaches the five-exit roundabout at the foot pf Orchard Brae. Many drivers on Crewe Road South turning left in to Comely Bank cannot cope with the cycle lane on their inside. There's often just too much going on for them, what with deciding what to have for their tea and scrutinising what's going on at all the other four exits so that they can time their entry on to the roundabout, for them also to be cyclist-aware. Cycling outside the cycle lane would seem to be the safest strategy.
speedy_gonzales
01-12-2024, 11:50 AM
Glad you're ok but can I suggest that the bit in bold is a mistake. Best way to stay upright in and around the city centre imo is to assume that every driver can and often will make such errors. Cycling ultradefensively slows the journey but by less in total than a single wait in A&E. Particularly when the roads are full of drivers on their way home from work - when cycleblindness is at its peak and rights of way are, to say the least, relaxed.
I'll throw in the cycle lane on Crewe Road South as it approaches the five-exit roundabout at the foot pf Orchard Brae. Many drivers on Crewe Road South turning left in to Comely Bank cannot cope with the cycle lane on their inside. There's often just too much going on for them, what with deciding what to have for their tea and scrutinising what's going on at all the other four exits so that they can time their entry on to the roundabout, for them also to be cyclist-aware. Cycling outside the cycle lane would seem to be the safest strategy.
I'm sure it's not what you intended but that comes across as one big dollop of victim blame there.
Sure, all road users can assume that the others are out to get you (that was pretty much the mantra of my motorbike trainer) but if we're going to excuse road users ignoring giveaways/lane markings because they're distracted then the ba' is truly burst.
From what I can gather, PB did nothing wrong and was very lucky not to suffer serious injury had the timings been fractionally different.
01-12-2024, 12:31 PM
I'm sure it's not what you intended but that comes across as one big dollop of victim blame there.
Sure, all road users can assume that the others are out to get you (that was pretty much the mantra of my motorbike trainer) but if we're going to excuse road users ignoring giveaways/lane markings because they're distracted then the ba' is truly burst.
From what I can gather, PB did nothing wrong and was very lucky not to suffer serious injury had the timings been fractionally different.
Not intending to victim blame - PB was clearly in the right - and not excusing drivers ignoring rules of the road, just saying it's a fact that drivers often don't see cyclists, and a good strategy for dealing with the fact that some drivers sometimes don't see cyclists is to assume that all drivers may or will not see you. PB and you and I are perched on maybe 15kg of metal, drivers are safe inside 2 tonnes of it. It's not a question of anyone being out to get anyone else, it's just self preservation in a hostile (15 v 2000) environment.
01-12-2024, 12:59 PM
Not intending to victim blame - PB was clearly in the right - and not excusing drivers ignoring rules of the road, just saying it's a fact that drivers often don't see cyclists, and a good strategy for dealing with the fact that some drivers sometimes don't see cyclists is to assume that all drivers may or will not see you. PB and you and I are perched on maybe 15kg of metal, drivers are safe inside 2 tonnes of it. It's not a question of anyone being out to get anyone else, it's just self preservation in a hostile (15 v 2000) environment.
Yeah, I'm in the camp of "assume you're invisible" when I'm cycling.
I also love then being able to shout the foulest of abuse at the dodgy drivers, safe in the knowledge that, as they can't see you, they also can't hear you above the sound of their engine and sound system. That means I can de-stress and avoid a punch in the nose at the same time. :cb
01-12-2024, 02:15 PM
Yeah, I'm in the camp of "assume you're invisible" when I'm cycling.
I also love then being able to shout the foulest of abuse at the dodgy drivers, safe in the knowledge that, as they can't see you, they also can't hear you above the sound of their engine and sound system. That means I can de-stress and avoid a punch in the nose at the same time. :cb
Same on a motorbike. Lost count of the times that I would have been in the right but face planting the ground if I hadn’t assumed drivers wouldn’t see me.
Frequently it’s when in a bus lane or whatever and the car is wanting to go left.
And amazingly cursing very loudly into a crash helmet seems to have no impact on the actual helmet in these situations [emoji1787]
01-12-2024, 02:16 PM
Filled up with petrol and car engine light on two miles later, juddering badly. Hoping it’s not contaminated fuel and whatever it is, not too expensive.
Was it petrol or diesel?
01-12-2024, 06:10 PM
Was it petrol or diesel?
Petrol.
01-12-2024, 07:47 PM
Petrol.
And is your car electric?
Petrol.
Did you put diesel in by mistake?
02-12-2024, 12:09 PM
Defo not.
02-12-2024, 03:25 PM
👍
Annoyingly, next week before I can get a garage that I’ve used before to look at it. Looks like my running shoes are going to be used a fair bit
02-12-2024, 03:47 PM
Don't think the diesel nozzle would fit a petrol tank.
02-12-2024, 06:09 PM
Drivers that race to speed bumps and then try and go over using Ths Force as opposed to the cars momentum or the accelerator pedal.
03-12-2024, 01:00 PM
Drivers who, turning right into a two way road, cut the corner, and force drivers approaching the T junction to break suddenly.
Green Man
03-12-2024, 01:32 PM
Drivers who, turning right into a two way road, cut the corner, and force drivers approaching the T junction to break suddenly.
That exact thing happened to me last night, I was going slowly as I approached the junction but still had to brake quickly, not ideal especially with kids in the car.
03-12-2024, 03:36 PM
Coming out of my local coop it's astounding how many cut the corners. I happily go right to the white line forcing them to adjust their approach.
Don't think the diesel nozzle would fit a petrol tank.
Oh aye, forgot about that, it's usually the other way round eh?
03-12-2024, 07:00 PM
Double parking… esp when there’s a free space right next to where you’re double parked.
There should be a place reserved in purgatory for such self important twunts who place their convenience over that of others.
Absolute flump did just that along Northfield - not even as if they would have been boxed in parking space the length of a bus and a half. Preventing a bus and an ambulance passing. Einstein.
04-12-2024, 12:54 PM
Got a 460 mile round trip tomorrow for a final stage interview. I am NOT looking forward to that.
04-12-2024, 01:01 PM
Currently sitting in a blue badge space with badge on display waiting for wheelchair user I have dropped off to return and once again been questioned by a “blue badge nosey bustard”. Must be at least the fourth time this has happened to me!
04-12-2024, 04:09 PM
Trying to book flights back to Coventry to attend a funeral on a Wednesday. The only direct flights available are on Monday and Saturday. All other flights have stopovers and take at least 7½ hrs, not including check-in and transfers to and from the airport.
I've decided to drive the 1600 mile round trip instead, make a week of it and stock up on home comforts whilst I'm there.
AltheHibby
29-12-2024, 10:01 AM
Australian drivers. (Specifically, Perth)
My son often rants about them on the phone, but seeing them in their full incompetence is scary.
29-12-2024, 10:49 AM
The roads in Manchester. Specifically in and around Old Trafford and heading to the Trafford Centre. It’s death by endless lanes. Never seen a place like it. So many lanes, you think you’re in the correct lane before it suddenly merges into a turn off. Not helped by not knowing the place and being in a lane to go straight on but not knowing if you need to turn left of right further on and inevitably sods law you are in the wrong lane.
Just_Jimmy
29-12-2024, 03:16 PM
The roads in Manchester. Specifically in and around Old Trafford and heading to the Trafford Centre. It’s death by endless lanes. Never seen a place like it. So many lanes, you think you’re in the correct lane before it suddenly merges into a turn off. Not helped by not knowing the place and being in a lane to go straight on but not knowing if you need to turn left of right further on and inevitably sods law you are in the wrong lane.I used to live in Timperley and work in Stretford. Drove it every day.
It's mental, but if you don't know it, it'll be horrible.
The Trafford centre at this time of year is horrible, it's over rated at the best of times but unbeatable at this time of year.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
MKHIBEE
29-12-2024, 05:30 PM
I used to live in Timperley and work in Stretford. Drove it every day.
The Trafford centre at this time of year is horrible, it's over rated at the best of times but unbeatable at this time of year.
Or unbearable?
29-12-2024, 06:45 PM
I used to live in Timperley and work in Stretford. Drove it every day.
Took my daughter down to Manchester for 3 nights (we’re back tomorrow). Planned it around the likes of Legoland and indoor sky diving etc. The Trafford Centre was fine, just an uncomfortably busy shopping centre like everywhere else. The facilities and sheer amount of activities and day trips in the Old Trafford area is amazing though. Not seen a range of options like it anywhere else.
I will not miss those lanes though. We arrived just as it had got dark and I wondered just what I’d got myself into trying to navigate it all!
Just_Jimmy
29-12-2024, 09:50 PM
Or unbearable?Absolutely. Predictive text is a pet peeve of mine. [emoji1787]
Just_Jimmy
29-12-2024, 09:52 PM
Took my daughter down to Manchester for 3 nights (we’re back tomorrow). Planned it around the likes of Legoland and indoor sky diving etc. The Trafford Centre was fine, just an uncomfortably busy shopping centre like everywhere else. The facilities and sheer amount of activities and day trips in the Old Trafford area is amazing though. Not seen a range of options like it anywhere else.
I will not miss those lanes though. We arrived just as it had got dark and I wondered just what I’d got myself into trying to navigate it all!I loved Manchester. My wife was miserable and really wanted home. We decided we wanted a family and 7 years down there was long enough for her so we moved back.
Been worth it in many ways and not so much in others but that's the breaks.
09-01-2025, 12:28 AM
Private car hirer running in to the back of me yesterday afternoon in Corstorphine, didn’t want to exchange details as he was in a hurry because he had a fare in the car, said the damage was okay and was down trying to clean marks out my bumper, I hated doing it but had to phone police to ask advice as he was wanting to leave a accident without giving me any details and that’s what he did, got his reg number and hire plate and photo of damage to both cars.
He will be reported to the council tomorrow.
AltheHibby
09-01-2025, 01:28 AM
Have you checked online if he's insured etc?
09-01-2025, 07:11 AM
Don’t think you can? You can check if it’s taxed and mot’d but no way of checking if insured as far as I am aware.
09-01-2025, 07:14 AM
Don’t think you can? You can check if it’s taxed and mot’d but no way of checking if insured as far as I am aware.
There you go...it doesn't give the insurers details, it's just a hard yes or no.
https://www.mib.org.uk/check-insurance-details/use-navigate-to-check-your-vehicle/
pollution
09-01-2025, 09:45 AM
There you go...it doesn't give the insurers details, it's just a hard yes or no.
https://www.mib.org.uk/check-insurance-details/use-navigate-to-check-your-vehicle/
very useful
09-01-2025, 10:25 AM
Ah very useful,cheers 👍
09-01-2025, 03:19 PM
It’s insured, it’s the driver who might not have a license or some other reason for not wanting to share details, took a photo of him as well which he didn’t like.
09-01-2025, 10:00 PM
It’s insured, it’s the driver who might not have a license or some other reason for not wanting to share details, took a photo of him as well which he didn’t like.
Could you not have a taken another photo until you got one he liked?
09-01-2025, 10:03 PM
Could you not have a taken another photo until you got one he liked?
You are like Airplane and Naked Gun rolled into one and I am absolutely here for it 😂😂
AltheHibby
10-01-2025, 03:18 AM
👍