View Full Version : Who for next manager?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

30-08-2023, 05:07 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-30774384

Update from Craig Moore re Arnold.

Something about Ian Gordon messaging Craig Moore just feels a bit weird 🤣

He's here!
30-08-2023, 05:07 PM
I also struggle to feel sorry for him travelling to east mains when he was injured

He knew where he would train when he signed and of course he should still be going in when injured to get the best rehab possible

What did he expect? That Hibs should send a physio through to Glasgow to save him having to travel? I don't know where Scott Allan stayed when he played for us, but it was likel through in the west and he had nothing but good things to say about the way Hibs worked with him throughout his various physical/medical rehabilitations.

I have every sympathy for McKirdy and wish him a full recovery but he's another who seems to be making noises about Hibs not caring enough about him. The problem with players like him and McGeady is probably more about the fact they haven't really offered enough on the field of play to really 'feel the love' when out of action.

He's here!
30-08-2023, 05:09 PM
The usual trolls on here stirring things,

It won't be Lennon.

Lennon has publicly stated his interest in the job. He may well not get it, but flagging up his quotes isn't trolling.

30-08-2023, 05:15 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-transfer-news/transfer-news-live-rangers-celtic-30774384

Update from Craig Moore re Arnold.

Something about Ian Gordon messaging Craig Moore just feels a bit weird 🤣
Is this real, bit disappointing if Moore has made this public

Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 05:17 PM
Potential with us is huge, we need someone to realise it.

From 2012 we have had 17 trips to Hampden resulting in 6 finals and we have only delivered 1 single trophy.

We need a manager who is a WINNER.

Post 2016 it reads - 10 trips to Hampden, 2 Finals, 0 Trophies.

Highlighting the fact we need an EXPERIENCED WINNER.

Trinity Hibee
30-08-2023, 05:21 PM

From 2012 we have had 17 trips to Hampden resulting in 6 finals and we have only delivered 1 single trophy.

Our hampden record has always been dreadful even back to 100 years ago. Something tells me that won’t change any time soon regardless of manager

Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 05:25 PM
Our hampden record has always been dreadful even back to 100 years ago. Something tells me that won’t change any time soon regardless of manager

Why not? We should be looking for it to improve - that is ambition.

The number of trips in recent times is crying for us out to deliver a bunch of trophies - not just one!

A great chance we will be at Hampden again this season, so if the right man is appointed he can get off to a flyer.

babahibs
30-08-2023, 05:27 PM
Lennon has publicly stated his interest in the job. He may well not get it, but flagging up his quotes isn't trolling.

Who said anything about flagging up his quotes?

30-08-2023, 05:29 PM

Other than being someone who wins things, what is a winner?

If we're looking at cups, the only winners we've had in recent times have been Alan Stubbs and John Collins by those measures, and neither are in club management anymore.

Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 05:34 PM
Other than being someone who wins things, what is a winner?

If we're looking at cups, the only winners we've had in recent times have been Alan Stubbs and John Collins by those measures, and neither are in club management anymore.

It's a real shame John Collins isn't in Football Management anymore. Ahead of his time with the gravitas and persona to be successful, which he was with us.

He was 100% the perfect manager of Hibs, if he had still been working in football he would be the perfect candidate. Saying on BBC before the Villa game "I really fear for Lewis and Paul today", he knows our weaknesses and I would have no doubt he could turn us around. Will never happen though.

Great man.

Donegal Hibby
30-08-2023, 05:34 PM
I'm not saying any of the Managers shouldn't have been changed though between Jack Ross , Shaun Maloney and now Lee Johnson it must have cost the club a considerable amount of money ! . Hopefully we get the next one right 🤞. Costly business getting rid of managers I'd imagine 🤔

30-08-2023, 05:35 PM
It's a real shame John Collins isn't in Football Management anymore. Ahead of his time with the gravitas and persona to be successful, which he was with us.

He was 100% the perfect manager of Hibs, if he had still been working in football he would be the perfect candidate. Saying on BBC before the Villa game "I really fear for Lewis and Paul today", he knows our weaknesses and I would have no doubt he could turn us around. Will never happen though.

Great man.

Alright John.

timewilltell
30-08-2023, 05:36 PM
Yep. Pretty much how I feel. Whoever is appointed is likely to either be a failure and punted or a success and gets poached only to be replaced by a failure.

Loving your positivity 🙄

30-08-2023, 05:37 PM
I'm not saying any of the Managers shouldn't have been changed though between Jack Ross , Shaun Maloney and now Lee Johnson it must have cost the club a considerable amount of money ! . Hopefully we get the next one right 🤞. Costly business getting rid of managers I'd imagine 🤔
Whoever we appoint I hope it does not drag on too long

Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 05:37 PM
Yes, if it is to be Lennon - just get him in ASAP.

I would rather McInnes though but we need someone in quickly.

30-08-2023, 05:46 PM

Callum Davidson has a good record at Hampden. 🤔

Donegal Hibby
30-08-2023, 05:55 PM

Going by this hopefully we will have a new manager by the time we comeback from the International break .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/next-hibs-manager-neil-lennon-pitches-for-return-but-no-frontrunner-yet-as-club-draw-up-shortlist-4274044

Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 06:20 PM
Callum Davidson has a good record at Hampden. 🤔

A million ways to look at our Hampden record.

Tin Hat on...

16 years since we beat a top flight side in a final.

That is a stat we overlook.

30-08-2023, 06:23 PM
The usual trolls on here stirring things,

It won't be Lennon.

Lennon gets a big amount of attention for us.

babahibs
30-08-2023, 06:26 PM
Lennon gets a big amount of attention for us.

I'm not quite sure what you mean?

sauzeelegod
30-08-2023, 06:30 PM
Lennon is just another re tread that’s failed everywhere he has managed so where is the logic that says he will be a great manager for us this time round ? None in my opinion.

Failed?
Some absolutely mind blowing comments on this thread.

30-08-2023, 06:32 PM

Tin Hat on...

It's also 121 years since we beat a top flight club in a Scottish Cup final!

30-08-2023, 06:32 PM
I'm not quite sure what you mean?

So you can write but you cant read.

JammyDoidger
30-08-2023, 06:34 PM
Going by this hopefully we will have a new manager by the time we comeback from the International break .
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/next-hibs-manager-neil-lennon-pitches-for-return-but-no-frontrunner-yet-as-club-draw-up-shortlist-4274044

Unsure why it takes so long to get a manager in the door, Johnson's coat has been on a shoogly peg for a long time, for once I'd like us to identify who we want and go for them right away. Don't know why we need to wait on folk applying for the job as such, surely we have an idea of who we would like even if it's a list of 2 or 3 and get it done. You see it down south all the time manager leaves and another appointed right away.

Victor
30-08-2023, 06:35 PM
The problem that Brian McDermott will have, if he’s involved in the selection process, is that he will have a better CV than the majority of the candidates.

sphibee
30-08-2023, 06:36 PM
We also got 67 points in his only full season in the Premiership. Will be a long time before that is bettered.

Aye and Derek Mcinnes got Aberdeen 73 that year…

30-08-2023, 06:36 PM
I also struggle to feel sorry for him travelling to east mains when he was injured

He knew where he would train when he signed and of course he should still be going in when injured to get the best rehab possible
No one forced him to live in the West, his choice, where did he live when at Sunderland?

Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 06:37 PM
The problem that Brian McDermott will have, if he’s involved in the selection process, is that he will have a better CV than the majority of the candidates.

That's the problem though, he thinks he has but he doesn't at all when it comes to the Scottish Game.

Hecky and LJ didnt really get the Scottish Game.

We have two excellent candidates in McInnes and Lennon who know the Scottish game inside out, McDermott doesn't have a better CV than any of them.

babahibs
30-08-2023, 06:39 PM
So you can write but you cant read.

I'm guessing you're drunk

30-08-2023, 06:40 PM
That's the problem though, he thinks he has but he doesn't at all when it comes to the Scottish Game.

We have two excellent candidates in McInnes and Lennon who know the Scottish game inside out, McDermott doesn't have a better CV than any of them.

How do you know he thinks that?

30-08-2023, 06:42 PM

Tin Hat on...

Not really, because it's irrelevant.

Victor
30-08-2023, 06:46 PM
How do you know he thinks that?

He could be psychic, or BMcD

30-08-2023, 06:47 PM

What exactly is the Scottish game? What makes it different from the Spanish, Dutch, German, Italian or English game?

30-08-2023, 06:49 PM
What exactly is the Scottish game? What makes it different from the Spanish, Dutch, German, Italian or English game?

Yeah I don't get that either. It's not a different sport. The doesn't know the Scottish game stuff is absolute nonsense.

30-08-2023, 06:52 PM
Exactly. He's an absolute throbber.

Poor wee Aiden having to travel a few hours each day to go to his workplace. Folk do that all over the world. Gimp.

It could be that as he is getting older his priorities are changing and that's 3 hours a day he'd rather spend with his family rather than sitting in traffic

30-08-2023, 06:52 PM
Yeah I don't get that either. It's not a different sport. The doesn't know the Scottish game stuff is absolute nonsense.

Did Ange or Beale know Scottish football?

30-08-2023, 06:53 PM
I'm guessing you're drunk

You guess alot

30-08-2023, 06:54 PM
Does my nut, you have to wonder how Pep, Klopp etc ever got the English game?

30-08-2023, 06:57 PM

It's not a different sport, but SPL football is nothing like Italian or Spanish football. It's a far less technical game here, and far quicker. If a manager comes in with nae idea about how Scottish football is, then they could run into problems.

However, I'd say Shaun Maloney knows loads about Scottish football, and he still got it wrong. The way he wanted Hibs to play didn't suit the league, or the players he had to work with.

It's more to do with a manager being able to adapt to what's in front of him than anything else, but not having any idea about Scottish football could potentially be an issue.

30-08-2023, 06:59 PM

I think both PH and LJ underestimated the league up here, the smaller teams in this league have being difficult to break down and working to a tight budget down to an art and that's why we frequently find ourselves on the wrong end of results like Livingston, Ross County and similar clubs which ultimately cost both of them there job. Then you have the difficulty in dealing with teams of a similar size like hearts and Aberdeen who are also kind of rivalries which adds to the difficulty on top of all that we have two massive clubs of rangers and celtic who despite their massive budgets we the fans expect our club to have a go at these teams and give them a black eye from time to time.

I also think Scottish football has a different style of football to a lot of other countries and unless you have a good enough quality to pull off certain styles you have to play and adapt to certain ways.

Scotland might not be unique because of all this but it is recipe for disaster if you don't treat it with the respect it deserves. Two examples that spring to mind is PH first game against celtic was a complete disaster and LJ getting us punted out the league cup in the group stages last year.

30-08-2023, 06:59 PM
Does my nut, you have to wonder how Pep, Klopp etc ever got the English game?

It's probably because at the absolute peak of the game, where the players are world class, you don't have to worry about it in the same way as managing the likes of Rocky Bushiri and JDH in a really fast paced league where the quality on the ball is lower but the game is fast as ****.

babahibs
30-08-2023, 07:01 PM
You guess alot

Easy tiger, chill with the aggressive tone.

Perhaps I should rephrase "I'm not quite sure what you mean?" to "I'm not quite sure what your point is?".

30-08-2023, 07:02 PM

Getting into Scottish football with Celtc is very different to coming into it at Hibs though. When your players are levels above almost all the opposition, you have to get things pretty wrong to fail at it.

Beale was a coach under Gerrard for a few years at Rangers, so aye he did know Scottish football anyway.

30-08-2023, 07:06 PM
Easy tiger, chill with the aggressive tone.

Perhaps I should rephrase "I'm not quite sure what you mean?" to "I'm not quite sure what your point is?".

Well i dont feel aggressive at all but nevermind.
My point is with Lennon as manager it most likelly gets us much more attention on every level than any other manager would.
It can only be positive for us as in there is no such thing as bad publicity.

30-08-2023, 07:14 PM
It didn’t matter that LJ didn’t know the Scottish game, Bristol and Sunderland fans had all the same complaints, so unless he doesn’t know the English game too…

Ultimately, are you a good manager or not, do you have a good squad or not. Matters he haw whether you’ve managed in Scotland before. Look at Celtic, Ange knew zip about our league, strolled it, Deila, knew nothing, wasn’t good. Lennon in his second stint…

Really could care less whether the guy knows the league or not. Indeed I’d strongly prefer someone not from the same merrygoround / Sportscene old boys network.

babahibs
30-08-2023, 07:18 PM
Well i dont feel aggressive at all but nevermind.
My point is with Lennon as manager it most likelly gets us much more attention on every level than any other manager would.
It can only be positive for us as in there is no such thing as bad publicity.

For me, "more attention" isn't high up the list of things I'm looking for in a manager, I prefer "good manager" etc.
Lennon turns everything into the Lennon/ Celtic show, I personally don't think that can ever be a positive for us.

Skol
30-08-2023, 07:21 PM
We need to forget Lennon. It’s not happening and would be a huge mistake if it did. We know how his last spell ended and we know the various issues he brought.

I don’t like mcinnes but would accept him ahead of Lennon if that was the choice. Ffs inwouldnrargerveven have Craig level.

I would like Michael O’Neill although his time maybe has passed but I think would be the best appointment.

30-08-2023, 07:23 PM
It didn’t matter that LJ didn’t know the Scottish game, Bristol and Sunderland fans had all the same complaints, so unless he doesn’t know the English game too…

Ultimately, are you a good manager or not, do you have a good squad or not. Matters he haw whether you’ve managed in Scotland before. Look at Celtic, Ange knew zip about our league, strolled it, Deila, knew nothing, wasn’t good. Lennon in his second stint…

Really could care less whether the guy knows the league or not. Indeed I’d strongly prefer someone not from the same merrygoround / Sportscene old boys network.

You have to wonder why our club didn’t see through him

30-08-2023, 07:28 PM
For me, "more attention" isn't high up the list of things I'm looking for in a manager, I prefer "good manager" etc.
Lennon turns everything into the Lennon/ Celtic show, I personally don't think that can ever be a positive for us.

Oh i think he’s a good manager.
Romped the championship straight away.
Great first season in the Prem.
We have a really good squad just now and id love to see what he could do with it.

babahibs
30-08-2023, 07:38 PM
We have a really good squad just now and id love to see what he could do with it.

We'll just have to agree to disagree then, if it was him (it's not) it would be a disaster, an absolute disaster.

30-08-2023, 07:44 PM
We need to forget Lennon. It’s not happening and would be a huge mistake if it did. We know how his last spell ended and we know the various issues he brought.

I don’t like mcinnes but would accept him ahead of Lennon if that was the choice. Ffs inwouldnrargerveven have Craig level.

I would like Michael O’Neill although his time maybe has passed but I think would be the best appointment.

What do you mean by 'it's not happening'?

30-08-2023, 07:46 PM
We'll just have to agree to disagree then, if it was him (it's not) it would be a disaster, an absolute disaster.

You know for certain he's not getting the gig now?
Lord knows I hope you're right but how can you say that with certainty?

30-08-2023, 07:49 PM

I get your point. But the Scottish game is not being an arrogant twat and playing your reserves against a lower league team (Falkirk) managed by a Jambo, who we have had a wee bit of rivalry with in recent years. Then getting gubbed and then being on the back foot for your whole time in the job.

30-08-2023, 07:51 PM

They can use their financial muscle to mitigate it.

babahibs
30-08-2023, 07:51 PM
You know for certain he's not getting the gig now?
Lord knows I hope you're right but how can you say that with certainty?

Not for certain, but i'd put my house on it.
The Aussie chat's more on the money.

30-08-2023, 08:00 PM
I think both PH and LJ underestimated the league up here, the smaller teams in this league have being difficult to break down and working to a tight budget down to an art and that's why we frequently find ourselves on the wrong end of results like Livingston, Ross County and similar clubs which ultimately cost both of them there job. Then you have the difficulty in dealing with teams of a similar size like hearts and Aberdeen who are also kind of rivalries which adds to the difficulty on top of all that we have two massive clubs of rangers and celtic who despite their massive budgets we the fans expect our club to have a go at these teams and give them a black eye from time to time.

I also think Scottish football has a different style of football to a lot of other countries and unless you have a good enough quality to pull off certain styles you have to play and adapt to certain ways.

Scotland might not be unique because of all this but it is recipe for disaster if you don't treat it with the respect it deserves. Two examples that spring to mind is PH first game against celtic was a complete disaster and LJ getting us punted out the league cup in the group stages last year.

Well said. It’s a strange one and even fanny baws alluded to it (LJ) when talking about the range of games a player at hibs can face. You have a champions league team away then next min up against ross county at ER. Teams that do well in this league have players with a good mentality and skill level. They get paid a disproportionate amount to journey men in England who couldn’t hack it up here. In a nut shell it’s harder to play for hibs / hearts / Aberdeen. Than it is for some shan league one team in England and you get paid less.

30-08-2023, 08:05 PM
In the last 9 or 10 seasons the managers that have finished in the top 3 (excluding the OF) are

* Stuart McCall
* Yogi
* McInnes
* Robbie Neilson
* Steven Robinson
* Steve Clarke
* Jack Ross
* Barry Robson

Go back a bit longer and you have the likes of Levein, Peter Houston. Make of that what you will, but there is little modern precedent for managers coming in from abroad/England (without prior Scottish experience of playing/coaching) and being a success at our level (ie let’s forget about Ange please)

Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 08:19 PM
In the last 9 or 10 seasons the managers that have finished in the top 3 (excluding the OF) are

* Stuart McCall
* Yogi
* McInnes
* Robbie Neilson
* Steven Robinson
* Steve Clarke
* Jack Ross
* Barry Robson

Go back a bit longer and you have the likes of Levein, Peter Houston. Make of that what you will, but there is little modern precedent for managers coming in from abroad/England (without prior Scottish experience of playing/coaching) and being a success at our level (ie let’s forget about Ange please)

Excellent analysis.

Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 08:21 PM

* Stuart McCall
* Yogi
* McInnes
* Robbie Neilson
* Steven Robinson
* Steve Clarke
* Jack Ross
* Barry Robson

See above.

Daily Hibs
30-08-2023, 08:24 PM

It's also 121 years since we beat a top flight club in a Scottish Cup final!

Makes losing to St Johnstone even worse then.

CL0762
30-08-2023, 09:31 PM

Great man.

He really feared for Lewis and Paul against Villa.

Yet 4 of their 5 goals came down our right hand side which has *check notes* neither Paul Hanlon or Lewis Stevenson 😂😂

30-08-2023, 09:52 PM
https://twitter.com/benharrison1875/status/1696638095637053568?t=nLxeBVDK7ZVqiFMwesGtRg&s=19

"Canny like"

Didn't realise they hilarious leaks a few years ago were from fozzys iCloud

[emoji23]

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

30-08-2023, 10:18 PM
Romped the championship? - last game of the season was it not and more draws than Bertie Auld. As soon as he has to build something he falls flat on his face - with an inherited team he's fine but rebuilds find him out every time - he'd be a disaster.

ElginHibbie
30-08-2023, 10:22 PM
Romped the championship? - last game of the season was it not and more draws than Bertie Auld. As soon as he has to build something he falls flat on his face - with an inherited team he's fine but rebuilds find him out every time - he'd be a disaster.

Wasn't last game of the season, but we did win it with less points than Hearts and Rangers did before us

30-08-2023, 10:26 PM
Wasn't last game of the season, but we did win it with less points than Hearts and Rangers did before us

And 1 point more than the total Stubbs got in a season that was deemed ‘not good enough’ cups aside obviously.

ElginHibbie
30-08-2023, 10:33 PM
And 1 point more than the total Stubbs got in a season that was deemed ‘not good enough’ cups aside obviously.

Jeez, I am not exactly against Lennon coming back as think short term it would be alright, but reminder season us winning Championship really wasn't actually impressive in any way

30-08-2023, 10:35 PM
Jeez, I am not exactly against Lennon coming back as think short term it would be alright, but reminder season us winning Championship really wasn't actually impressive in any way

Maybe I’m remembering wrong myself, but the only spell I remember us being genuinely good was the half season of Kamberi / Maclaren on loan, but as I say, I’m not super clear on that. Certainly the championship campaign wasn’t anything special since both Rangers and Hearts were gone.

30-08-2023, 10:38 PM

I don't think we romped the Championship. We only had 19 wins out of 36, 14 draws and 3 defeats.

Hearts won it on 91 points (21 ahead of us and 24 ahead of Rangers), scored 96 goals with a goal difference of +70

Rangers won it on 81 points, only 11 points ahead of us and Falkirk but scored 88 goals and a goal difference of +54.

We won it on 71 points (11 ahead of Falkirk), only scored 59 and a goal difference of +34. For the level of opposition we were up against we didn't win anywhere near as many matches as comfortably as we should have (9 of the wins were by only 1 goal, 4 by 2 goals, 3 by 3 goals and 3 by 4 goals) and we had way too many draws. We huffed and puffed our way to the title.

uwxm07
30-08-2023, 10:39 PM

The “Scottish Game “ has been proven again tonight by “TheRangers” not to be good enough . If Hibs are serious about repeatedly challenging the top in Scotland and then into Europe we need to break the Scottish media / Two Cheeks control , of said media and succeed with a different strategy.
The current owners might not have the right answer but if we continue down the “Scottish Media “ manipulation , stories of Lennon and his mates and McInnes and his dire football (which delivered what ? Its no different than it was with Traynor !) Our aspiration is therefore we settle for the status quo as our best result.
Create a vision and desire , find resources . Perceiver and follow the dream, improving little by little, two forward , one back ( no guarantee) but move on and learn from mistakes . But learn from past failures -don’t go back in the hope their will be a better outcome second time around -Hibs v Lennon already had one divorce

Look forward not back !

ElginHibbie
30-08-2023, 10:43 PM
Maybe I’m remembering wrong myself, but the only spell I remember us being genuinely good was the half season of Kamberi / Maclaren on loan, but as I say, I’m not super clear on that. Certainly the championship campaign wasn’t anything special since both Rangers and Hearts were gone.

Yeah, looking at following season January onwards had 2 loses in 16 and was a great spell, but before that had 1 good run of 4 wins combined with a couple of bad losses (losing 3-1 to Hamilton at home ain't good)

Starting to talk myself out of Lennon even being good short term now!

uwxm07
30-08-2023, 10:53 PM

The pathetic Scottish Media and its “Two Cheeks Bias” , SFA lack of vision and belief.

30-08-2023, 11:27 PM
Yeah, looking at following season January onwards had 2 loses in 16 and was a great spell, but before that had 1 good run of 4 wins combined with a couple of bad losses (losing 3-1 to Hamilton at home ain't good)

Starting to talk myself out of Lennon even being good short term now!

Remember the Hamilton game well.

They played like Barcelona that day

31-08-2023, 05:38 AM
https://twitter.com/benharrison1875/status/1696638095637053568?t=nLxeBVDK7ZVqiFMwesGtRg&s=19

"Canny like"

[emoji23]

Now that's a born winner. Get him in now. Who is he?

31-08-2023, 05:42 AM

Romping the Championship is a bit of an exaggeration. We huffed and puffed our way to 14 draws and won it with 20 less points than Hearts managed with Rangers in the league. We won it yes but we had no genuine competition as Rangers and Hearts were promoted.

31-08-2023, 05:53 AM
Romping the Championship is a bit of an exaggeration. We huffed and puffed our way to 14 draws and won it with 20 less points than Hearts managed with Rangers in the league. We won it yes but we had no genuine competition as Rangers and Hearts were promoted.

Well we did what we had to do then.
We didnt do what we had to do the previous two seasons.

31-08-2023, 06:23 AM

"Canny like"

[emoji23]

Who the bloody hell is that? :faf:

31-08-2023, 06:27 AM

Aye iirc they scored the goal of the season in that match.

31-08-2023, 06:42 AM
If it was going to be Lennon he would have been appointed by now, looks like they are going for someone already in a job ?

31-08-2023, 06:50 AM
I don't think we romped the Championship. We only had 19 wins out of 36, 14 draws and 3 defeats.

Hearts won it on 91 points (21 ahead of us and 24 ahead of Rangers), scored 96 goals with a goal difference of +70

Rangers won it on 81 points, only 11 points ahead of us and Falkirk but scored 88 goals and a goal difference of +54.

We won it on 71 points (11 ahead of Falkirk), only scored 59 and a goal difference of +34. For the level of opposition we were up against we didn't win anywhere near as many matches as comfortably as we should have (9 of the wins were by only 1 goal, 4 by 2 goals, 3 by 3 goals and 3 by 4 goals) and we had way too many draws. We huffed and puffed our way to the title.

That’s nailed it for me, send for Robbie Replay immediately 👌

31-08-2023, 06:56 AM
^^Possibly. Or they're being thorough and are speaking to a few candidates maybe?

Gut feeling is that McInnes isn't in the running, or is out of it already. We've not heard a peep from anyone about him.

I don't see the appeal of the Gold Coast Mariners guy at all and haven't seen us linked with anyone else either than NL.

I expect things to pick up after tonight's game. SDG to still to be in post for Sunday against Aberdeen then the new man in to face Killie on 16th Sept.

31-08-2023, 07:04 AM

Was Billy Reid there manager for that game?

raeburnhibs
31-08-2023, 07:05 AM
If it was going to be Lennon he would have been appointed by now, looks like they are going for someone already in a job ?

not necessarily, almost certainly wanting todays game out of the way. Don't think it will be Lennon in any case

Percy Vere
31-08-2023, 07:12 AM

Don't agree, there's negotiations to be had.
Not least the budget for the squad.
https://twitter.com/EwenDCameron/status/1221191632625647618/video/1

31-08-2023, 07:17 AM

My gut feeling is telling me it's going to be Lennon. Hope i'm wrong but just seems too convenient and he's publicly declared an interest.

31-08-2023, 07:20 AM
My gut feeling is telling me it's going to be Lennon. Hope i'm wrong but just seems too convenient and he's publicly declared an interest.

Cheap option :greengrin :duck:

31-08-2023, 07:20 AM
I wouldn't put any value in the fact Lennon wasn't appointed immediately

I think he's in the frame but well aware, and publicity stated that there will be a lot of decent candidates

I think it's wise to have some initial discussion with a few candidates too

Maybe Graeme Arnold blows them away and we think it's worth pushing the boat out for?

Maybe we think we should push the boat out for Graeme Arnold but after speaking to him we are left flat?

Maybe after all that we realise the best candidate has been in the building all along

[emoji3166]

31-08-2023, 07:22 AM

My gut feeling is that we'll fail to agree terms with Lennon after we "fail to match his ambition for the club" then move onto the next candidate.

31-08-2023, 08:22 AM
Was Billy Reid there manager for that game?

No he left 5 years before.

31-08-2023, 08:30 AM
Sorry if already mentioned but reading that Hibs have made contact with Arnold over the job according to former Hun Craig Moore.

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/graham-arnold-hibs-contact-made-27623003?utm_source=linkCopy&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar

31-08-2023, 09:18 AM
Sorry if already mentioned but reading that Hibs have made contact with Arnold over the job according to former Hun Craig Moore.

https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/graham-arnold-hibs-contact-made-27623003?utm_source=linkCopy&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar

I Cannae see Arnie coming in….but that’s just a personal opinion.

The Socceroo squad for an upcoming friendly against Mexico is being named tomorrow Friday) and I reckon Arnie will be asked then if he is even considering moving on.

So tomorrow should either rule in or out one candidate anyway.

Gus
31-08-2023, 09:19 AM
No idea if posted previously and apologies if it has, how about Ralph Hasenhuttl

Always conducted himself pretty well imo

Only fear is the absolute doing Southampton got off Rodgers teams

31-08-2023, 10:17 AM
No idea if posted previously and apologies if it has, how about Ralph Hasenhuttl

Always conducted himself pretty well imo

Only fear is the absolute doing Southampton got off Rodgers teams

Looking at other similar guys like him, he’ll be able to carve out a career in England with Leeds / Norwich type clubs if he doesn’t fancy going back to Germany.

Can’t see us getting him!

31-08-2023, 10:29 AM
What about Daniel Stendel? Did a great job at making Hearts a laughing stock. Maybe he could do it again?

31-08-2023, 10:31 AM
What about Daniel Stendel? Did a great job at making Hearts a laughing stock. Maybe he could do it again?

He'd only need a day or two with this lot.:rolleyes:

31-08-2023, 10:56 AM
McBookies have both Lennon and Montgomery at 2/1. There is another name in the list, a guy I haven't heard of, Martin Anselmi 12/1.

I know that the next Hibs manager isn't a huge market so doesn't take much for odds to tumble

HendoDelivered
31-08-2023, 11:09 AM
I think it’s going to be Montgomery I really do

Willis1875
31-08-2023, 11:11 AM
McBookies have both Lennon and Montgomery at 2/1. There is another name in the list, a guy I haven't heard of, Martin Anselmi 12/1.

I know that the next Hibs manager isn't a huge market so doesn't take much for odds to tumble

Random name to be thrown into there though.
Argentinian currently or most recently was managing in Ecuador.

31-08-2023, 11:11 AM

Next manager odds are just guesswork and they rarely reflect what's in the minds of the club doing the appointing.

As soon as anything remotely concrete emerges, betting is suspended.

31-08-2023, 11:14 AM
Random name to be thrown into there though.
Argentinian currently or most recently was managing in Ecuador.

Random one.

Won the Copa Sudamericana last year which is the South American equivalent of the Europa League and then followed it up beating the Copa Libertadores winners in the Super Cup.

31-08-2023, 11:22 AM
BBC Scotland gossip has Arnold has been approached by Hibs

31-08-2023, 11:24 AM
I'm finding it a bit hard to get excited about the idea of a new manager with the squad being in the state it's in and there being so little time before the transfer window "slams shut".

After a very promising start, this summer is shaping up to be every bit the abomination that the last 2 were, for various reasons.

31-08-2023, 11:25 AM
I think it’s going to be Montgomery I really do

No indication in Oz that there has been any contact, but that doesn’t mean there hasn’t been obviously……….but would have thought I’d have picked up a whisper by now if there was.

Le Fondre and Miller would certainly be able to give their opinions on him to Ian Gordon if asked.

Arnie will probably have to show his hand on Friday as he is announcing his latest Socceroo squad.

Beginning to think if it’s an overseas applicant that gets it, then it’s not someone from Oz….but then again, that’s just my gut feeling.

31-08-2023, 11:29 AM
Arnolds agentCraig Moore said the timing isn’t great with upcoming games

31-08-2023, 11:32 AM
Arnolds agentCraig Moore said the timing isn’t great with upcoming gamesSame can be said for any manager to be honest

If he wants to go a game in October won't change that

31-08-2023, 11:39 AM
I Cannae see Arnie coming in….but that’s just a personal opinion.

The Socceroo squad for an upcoming friendly against Mexico is being named tomorrow Friday) and I reckon Arnie will be asked then if he is even considering moving on.

So tomorrow should either rule in or out one candidate anyway.
Think your right, but it does make good PR for Hibs as they chase a new manager

31-08-2023, 11:49 AM
Craig Moore ruling out a manager coming to us because he currently has a job is a great non story.

Any manager we approach that is employed will have upcoming games.

31-08-2023, 12:09 PM
Betting suspended?

Montgomery was evens favourite last I saw.

31-08-2023, 12:12 PM
Betting suspended?

Market still open on McBookie with Lennon and Montgomery both 2/1

Willis1875
31-08-2023, 12:12 PM
Betting suspended?

Still up on McBookie…Lennon and Montgomery both at 2/1

31-08-2023, 12:17 PM
Current oddshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230831/45d240931af9c5ebf0a03fb5a934e929.jpg

31-08-2023, 12:20 PM
Current oddshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20230831/45d240931af9c5ebf0a03fb5a934e929.jpg

Montgomery evens on Bet Victor

31-08-2023, 12:20 PM
Montgomery evens on Bet Victor

Make it happen, Hibs!!

31-08-2023, 12:21 PM
Bet victor have Montgomery at evens

31-08-2023, 12:23 PM
Have got to admit I had no idea who Nick Montgomery is. I had to google him.

31-08-2023, 12:25 PM
Make it happen, Hibs!!My worry with NM is hes pretty inexperienced and only managed about 60 games in a place that would be seen an inferior to Scottish football

31-08-2023, 12:27 PM
Craig Moore ruling out a manager coming to us because he currently has a job is a great non story.

Any manager we approach that is employed will have upcoming games.

My thoughts as well. He has a couple of friendlies coming up, not competitive matches, and if he does fancy a shot at club management in one of the world's nicest cities I doubt that would be much of a factor.

As for talk about bookies odds ..... I have no idea of the answer, but when was the last time the bookies got the name of the next Hibs manager right?

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 12:30 PM
No indication in Oz that there has been any contact, but that doesn’t mean there hasn’t been obviously……….but would have thought I’d have picked up a whisper by now if there was.

Le Fondre and Miller would certainly be able to give their opinions on him to Ian Gordon if asked.

Arnie will probably have to show his hand on Friday as he is announcing his latest Socceroo squad.

Beginning to think if it’s an overseas applicant that gets it, then it’s not someone from Oz….but then again, that’s just my gut feeling.

I have my doubts about Arnold coming now after what you said about were he's staying and having a nice pad . Done well with Australia and in a good job that he's fairly secure in .

At 60 years old I've been asking myself why he'd want the upheaval of a massive move like it is to a club that's been going through quite a few managers of late .

Montgomery being a younger manager might have ambitions to manage in the premier league one day could see Hibs as a good move to achieve this though it's still a big upheaval for a guy that's been out there for so long with a family to consider too .

I'd be happy with either of them though have my doubts it won't be them even though there's lots of paper talk.
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/nick-montgomery-new-hibs-manager-30831135

31-08-2023, 12:32 PM
Arnolds agentCraig Moore said the timing isn’t great with upcoming games

Craig Moore is AN agent, but he's not Graham Arnold's agent.

31-08-2023, 12:34 PM
Market still open on McBookie with Lennon and Montgomery both 2/1

Ok. I was looking at BV but couldn't find it.

badabing67
31-08-2023, 12:36 PM
Bet victor have Montgomery at evens

Does this mean McInnes wasn't interested or we couldn't match his demands. Effectively I am asking if McInnes is out of the running. Personally I think he will hold out for Hearts job and I don't think he will have to wait to long to get his chance.

31-08-2023, 12:38 PM
My thoughts as well. He has a couple of friendlies coming up, not competitive matches, and if he does fancy a shot at club management in one of the world's nicest cities I doubt that would be much of a factor.

As for talk about bookies odds ..... I have no idea of the answer, but when was the last time the bookies got the name of the next Hibs manager right?

Not sure he was favourite but I'm sure LJ had fairly short odds last time out? Could be talking nonsense mind.

31-08-2023, 12:38 PM
Does this mean McInnes wasn't interested or we couldn't match what he wanted. Effectively I am asking if McInnes is out of the running. Personally think he will hold out for Hearts job and I don't think he will have to wait to long to get his chance.

I'm sure one of the articles earlier said that we're in the process of drawing up a shortlist. I think that SDG may well be in charge for another game post Aberdeen, but I don't think we can discount anyone just yet.

31-08-2023, 12:39 PM
Does this mean McInnes wasn't interested or we couldn't match his demands. Effectively I am asking if McInnes is out of the running. Personally I think he will hold out for Hearts job and I don't think he will have to wait to long to get his chance.

Could be any of the above or he was never in the running.

31-08-2023, 12:40 PM

Or just that the bookies/punters don't know any more than the rest of us.

31-08-2023, 12:43 PM
Or just that the bookies/punters don't know any more than the rest of us.

Agreed. Odds are based on where they think the money is going.
I'd be astonished if Neil Lennon was appointed and hes been top of the list virtually all the time since LJ's departure.
The Club will still be drawing up its short list and havent interviewed anyone.
Bookies prices are just pure speculation.

31-08-2023, 12:45 PM

I don’t think he was ever in the running.

31-08-2023, 12:45 PM
Agreed. Odds are based on where they think the money is going.
I'd be astonished if Neil Lennon was appointed and hes been top of the list virtually all the time since LJ's departure.
The Club will still be drawing up its short list and havent interviewed anyone.
Bookies prices are just pure speculation.

I guess they'll have had targets in mind for some time. Whether or not approaches were made, we'll never know, but I think the next appointment will be announced quickly.

31-08-2023, 12:46 PM
I don’t think he was ever in the running.

From our end or his ?

31-08-2023, 12:46 PM
Am I in the minority in thinking Montgomery would be too risky.

He’s managed about 60 football games, in a league where the standards poorer than SPL.

Has he massively overachieved there? 5th then 2nd in the 2 league seasons.

Does he deserve a shot ahead of someone like Scott Brown (who I also don’t think is ready)

31-08-2023, 12:49 PM
My worry with NM is hes pretty inexperienced and only managed about 60 games in a place that would be seen an inferior to Scottish football

Every managerial appointment comes with risk, but appointing someone so inexperienced with hardly any track record would be bordering on craziness.

At this moment in time I think we need an experienced Manager who knows the league. Not a time for experiments.

31-08-2023, 12:51 PM
Heard a rumour former player Alan Maybury could be in the running.

31-08-2023, 12:53 PM
Heard a rumour former player Alan Maybury could be in the running.18 months at Edinburgh city

I'd be incredibly surprised

31-08-2023, 12:54 PM
https://x.com/ppetrov_fr/status/1697220387203944654?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Sign me up

31-08-2023, 12:54 PM

He’s managed about 60 football games, in a league where the standards poorer than SPL.

Does he deserve a shot ahead of someone like Scott Brown (who I also don’t think is ready)

Think he has massively overachieved. CCM must be one of the smaller clubs and he won them the trophy in the league playoff thing. 6-1 victory in the final too. Seems highly rated but he’s definitely not as experienced as some other candidates.

31-08-2023, 12:56 PM

Every appointment carries a different sort of risk, although your points are all fair.

He doesn't antagonise the large part of the support that Lennon or MacKay might. Presumably there would be less in compensation to pay relative to McInnes or Robinson, meaning there will be more left in the kitty for players, which is what we really need.

There's quite a small window where a talented, young manager goes from being not yet ready for us to being already out of our league.

I like the sound of him.

Mr Grieves
31-08-2023, 12:56 PM
Heard a rumour former player Alan Maybury could be in the running.

Not a chance. He currently has Edinburgh city 10th in League one

31-08-2023, 12:57 PM
https://x.com/ppetrov_fr/status/1697220387203944654?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Sign me up

Would be an interesting choice. A bit of a risk but so is anyone really.

31-08-2023, 12:57 PM
Think he has massively overachieved. CCM must be one of the smaller clubs and he won them the trophy in the league playoff thing. 6-1 victory in the final too. Seems highly rated but he’s definitely not as experienced as some other candidates.

The new Tony Mowbray:flag:

31-08-2023, 01:00 PM
Had seen a couple of aussie fans on facebook happy to see Arnold go.

31-08-2023, 01:01 PM

Probably not. You and i could sick 50 quid on McInnes at bet victor and he'd go to the top of the list as favorite.

31-08-2023, 01:01 PM
How do you get odds on someone not listed?

31-08-2023, 01:02 PM
Probably not. You and i could sick 50 quid on McInnes at bet victor and he'd go to the top of the list as favorite.

A fiver would do that.

31-08-2023, 01:07 PM

Though he was assistant for two or three years....AND set up their Academy which is churning out talent that is now going to Europe every year.........he's not just a coach, but a manager

As I say though, no indication here he's been approached.

FWIW...If Arnie DID leave the Socceroos for Hibs, I think most in Oz would expect Montgomery to replace him

31-08-2023, 01:36 PM
Has anyone heard Mark Hughes name mentioned?

31-08-2023, 01:38 PM

LJ has just hit 500 games in management, by comparison, maybe experience isn't always what is needed? We need a good managerial fit for Hibs right now.

31-08-2023, 01:39 PM

No Mark, we haven't 😁

yerauldda
31-08-2023, 01:49 PM
Montgomery would do for me. 60 games isn't a huge amount but has been a winner in that short period. Would always prefer someone who's up and coming than has failed in their last job.
There's nobody out there that's going to tick all the boxes. Lennon was probably as close to that as we've ever had when he was hired first time around but has far more baggage this time around.

31-08-2023, 01:50 PM
Montgomery 1/2 fav on Ladbrokes

McInnes 8/1

badabing67
31-08-2023, 02:05 PM

Thought he was at Bradford

31-08-2023, 02:09 PM

Similar feelings here. Like most, I’d never heard of him until he was linked with us.

Something different I suppose, but not the route I’d go down.

31-08-2023, 02:14 PM
If Montgomery means Jase is coming back then I'm sold.

31-08-2023, 02:26 PM
Similar feelings here. Like most, I’d never heard of him until he was linked with us.

Something different I suppose, but not the route I’d go down.

I get the feeling you quite like “a big name”?

31-08-2023, 02:35 PM

Although it’s a lower standard, if he done the same at a championship club in Scotland people would be suggesting him too.

If Ian Murray for example won the league with Raith people would want him, some already do!

I think it’s a bit of what everyone says about Montgomery as a person, style of play, promoting and developing young players and the team spirit that’s really making folk take to him.

Heard they sold out their stadium for the first time under him and along with winning a cup in style it does make him a good option, at least on paper.

31-08-2023, 02:36 PM
If Montgomery means Jase is coming back then I'm sold.

In all seriousness, I think that Jase is a good indication that he knows how to manage people. His career was in a tailspin before joining CCM and look at him now. He can't be an easy character to manage and he's extracted the best out of him.

joehibs
31-08-2023, 02:48 PM
FWIW, I feel our last few managers have all brought a mis-placed confidence that they can make an average squad better by trying to be too smart with tactics. We have some very good players...but they are very good in Scotland

LJ, SM, PH all had experience of managing / coaching better players than they had at hibs, and I always felt they could get the same performances from our squad by trying to out-tactic the opposition. LJ is a prime example, he very rarely ever got it right from kick off, but the team generally improved at half time after he had a chance to analyse the opposition.

I have had a long held view that to compete and be best of the rest in Scotland, putting out the fittest, and most organised team will generally get you performances and results. A new manager that knows how to keep it simple, and use our players in their best positions, taking advantage of their best attributes.

Montgomery, seems to tick these boxes, and i'd like to see us go for him, he would bring something fresh and seems like an ambitious guy on an upwards trajectory. Mcinnes ticks the boxes too, we would immediately improve, but im not convinced we would necessarily progress long-term under him, but would be happy to see him come in too.

31-08-2023, 02:53 PM
https://news.stv.tv/west-central/rangers-fan-scott-brown-jailed-after-attacking-two-police-officers-during-servette-match-at-ibrox

Maybe nails the Scott brown chat 😂

31-08-2023, 03:08 PM
In all seriousness, I think that Jase is a good indication that he knows how to manage people. His career was in a tailspin before joining CCM and look at him now. He can't be an easy character to manage and he's extracted the best out of him.

He's also managed Lewis Miller, so would hopefully manage to get the best out of him too.

31-08-2023, 03:14 PM
McInnes has another 3 years on his contract at Kilmarnock and I'd be surprised if they would be happy to let us speak to him so I doubt we have even been in touch with him. The market is so thin and so few bookies are interested that sticking fifty quid on a 25/1 shot would probably result them in being close to favourite at the moment.

31-08-2023, 03:17 PM
McInnes has another 3 years on his contract at Kilmarnock and I'd be surprised if they would be happy to let us speak to him so I doubt we have even been in touch with him. The market is so thin and so few bookies are interested that sticking fifty quid on a 25/1 shot would probably result them in being close to favourite at the moment.

Lets be realistic any initial contact will be unofficial a bit niave to think otherwise.

"Are you interested?" .... and take it from there.

31-08-2023, 03:29 PM

I'll only become excited when Aberdeen & Hearts are quoted as interested in speaking to him :cb

31-08-2023, 03:33 PM
From our end or his ?

Ours.

31-08-2023, 03:44 PM

16/1

HendoDelivered
31-08-2023, 03:49 PM
Robinson being considered https://x.com/record_sport/status/1697273669263753276?s=46&t=U3pADl1ON1Em2jgBrQBI8w

31-08-2023, 03:53 PM
So confirmed interest in:
Lennon
Arnold
Montgomery
Robinson

Imagine we'll have a shortlist of five?

GreenPJ
31-08-2023, 03:54 PM
Robinson being considered https://x.com/record_sport/status/1697273669263753276?s=46&t=U3pADl1ON1Em2jgBrQBI8w

I think Robinson has done very well and is a good manager, however, I just can't help but feeling it could be a bit like Goodwin going to Aberdeen.

StevesFamau5
31-08-2023, 03:54 PM

He's not doing well with the natives there, one of the biggest budgets in League 2 and failed in the POs v Carlisle. Some feel there his mgmt is lacking in change. Plays a very concrete set up which a lot of teams exploit.

31-08-2023, 03:55 PM

So as suspected no one really has a scooby and the papers are just chucking loads of names out there for clicks haha

Cat Stanton
31-08-2023, 03:55 PM

Hardly news, is it? He's already been mentioned hundreds of times as being under consideration.

(NB not slagging you for posting it, am slagging the journalist for what's pretty much a non-article)

31-08-2023, 03:57 PM
I get the feeling you quite like “a big name”?

Kind of yeah.

Hard to explain exactly what I mean but I want someone that commands respect, that players will sit up and pay attention to, that has a bit of character / an aura about them.

For example, with guys like Calderwood or LJ, I pictured the players rolling their eyes or staring at the floor during a team talk or whatever.

With McInnes or Lennon, I imagine them putting their phones down as soon as the boss walks in and listening to what they have to say.

I also want someone that I enjoy listening to. I'm well aware that this isn't a popular opinion, but I like Lennon's chat about the game and generally see things similarly to him. Same for McInnes.

When I listened to LJ, I generally thought wtf are you on about!

I also want the position of manager of Hibs to be respected.

We're a top club, one of only a handful in the UK that can realistically offer the chance of playing in Europe.

I don't want us to be seen as a play thing for guys who fancy a shot at management, or journeyman that can't hack it anywhere else.

So, not sure if that answers your question, but it's the best I've got for now.

Fuzzywuzzy
31-08-2023, 04:00 PM
Funny that Roy Keanes not been mentioned this time round

31-08-2023, 04:06 PM

Funny? More like a blessed relief.

31-08-2023, 04:11 PM
So confirmed interest in:
Lennon
Arnold
Montgomery
Robinson

Imagine we'll have a shortlist of five?

There has been no interest in Lennon. Apart from the media that he's created. :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 04:21 PM

Roy Keane would be an absolute disaster . Going along the lines of Lennon only much worse . As for Robinson he's definitely one that can GTF as well .

supermcginn
31-08-2023, 04:25 PM
Quite pleased if it's Robinson.

Torto7
31-08-2023, 04:26 PM

Sign me up

:agree: He sounds like exactly what we need.

31-08-2023, 04:26 PM

Same. Montgomery still my preference, but Robinson was my early preference so be happy if it's him.

31-08-2023, 04:30 PM
Kind of yeah.

Hard to explain exactly what I mean but I want someone that commands respect, that players will sit up and pay attention to, that has a bit of character / an aura about them.

For example, with guys like Calderwood or LJ, I pictured the players rolling their eyes or staring at the floor during a team talk or whatever.

With McInnes or Lennon, I imagine them putting their phones down as soon as the boss walks in and listening to what they have to say.

I also want someone that I enjoy listening to. I'm well aware that this isn't a popular opinion, but I like Lennon's chat about the game and generally see things similarly to him. Same for McInnes.

When I listened to LJ, I generally thought wtf are you on about!

I also want the position of manager of Hibs to be respected.

We're a top club, one of only a handful in the UK that can realistically offer the chance of playing in Europe.

I don't want us to be seen as a play thing for guys who fancy a shot at management, or journeyman that can't hack it anywhere else.

So, not sure if that answers your question, but it's the best I've got for now.

That answers it perfectly, ta, and all fair enough tbh.

I like Lennon's chat, McInnes' too. I'm less bothered about being massively entertained by the way a manager talks but I do like to hear them talk about a game and for it to feel like we've watched the same game.

It's all about the football for me. As long as it works on the park, I couldn't care less who they are, where they've come from or what they say. I quite like the rookie or relatively inexperienced manager on an upward trajectory idea though, they've served us well in the past and I think would quite often be a good way for us to go. They need to demonstrate that they know what they're doing though, and deserving of the chance. It beggars belief imo that anyone would listen to Maloney and think he was ready for a job at Hibs.

Box 17
31-08-2023, 04:34 PM

Same here.

No need to look at candidates from the other side of the world when we have Robinson and the likes of MacInnes and McKay on our doorstep.

31-08-2023, 04:36 PM
Same here.

No need to look at candidates from the other side of the world when we have Robinson and the likes of MacInnes and McKay on our doorstep.

I’d be happy with a manager from the other side of the universe if it meant we weren’t appointing Malky MacKay.

31-08-2023, 04:39 PM
That answers it perfectly, ta, and all fair enough tbh.

I like Lennon's chat, McInnes' too. I'm less bothered about being massively entertained by the way a manager talks but I do like to hear them talk about a game and for it to feel like we've watched the same game.

It's all about the football for me. As long as it works on the park, I couldn't care less who they are, where they've come from or what they say. I quite like the rookie or relatively inexperienced manager on an upward trajectory idea though, they've served us well in the past and I think would quite often be a good way for us to go. They need to demonstrate that they know what they're doing though, and deserving of the chance. It beggars belief imo that anyone would listen to Maloney and think he was ready for a job at Hibs.

Not too dissimilar from my own thoughts.

Hoping that lessons have been learnt from the process of hiring Maloney and LJ.

Most of the names linked with us have something about them, and none of them have us collectively scratching our heads thinking "what? who? ffs!".

I was that p'd off with LJ that I'm pretty much open to anyone. If I'm allowed to be petty, I don't want anyone with a Hearts connection. Don't care how childish that may seem!

31-08-2023, 04:46 PM
Roy Keane would be an absolute disaster . Going along the lines of Lennon only much worse . As for Robinson he's definitely one that can GTF as well .

lol, whos acceptable in the world of Donegal?

31-08-2023, 05:00 PM
lol, whos acceptable in the world of Donegal?

LJ

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 05:14 PM
lol, who's acceptable in the world of Donegal?

Everyone's acceptable apart from a few like Martindale Mackay , Robinson and Thompson . I do think the likes of Roy Keane would be a disaster , what's he done in management like ? . Don't get the going back for Lennon either after the way the team deteriorated under him and the embarrassing way it ended either tbh . Apart from the four I mentioned I will support whoever comes in if that answers your question .

31-08-2023, 05:16 PM
Everyone's acceptable apart from a few like Martindale Mackay , Robinson and Thompson . I do think the likes of Roy Keane would be a disaster , what's he done in management like ? . Don't get the going back for Lennon either after the way the team deteriorated under him and the embarrassing way it ended either tbh . Apart from the four I mentioned I will support whoever comes in if that answers your question .Why not Robinson or Thomson?

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 05:16 PM
LJ

Time to move on from that one now 😁

31-08-2023, 05:20 PM
The really frustrating thing for me is that they won’t have time to get their own men in with the transfer window.

Robinson you’d think would bring in Baccus or Ohara

Montgomery would more than likely bring in a few from the A-League.

Now we’ll have managers where the players we have may not fit their style.

I suppose it’s upto Brian McDerrmot to make the squad as balanced as he can before tomorrow night.

In fairness I don’t think we’re a million miles away, probably 3 imo. I get defensively we’ve been poor, but a large part of that comes down to a lack of organisation/structure as opposed to the individual player imo.

31-08-2023, 05:21 PM
Why not Robinson or Thomson?

He thinks Robinson is a wife beater even though he was acquitted and his wife actually said nothing happened, all a mistake and probably Thomson because of his Rangers love in even though both his kids are at our academy and he still attends games with them.

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 05:26 PM

I think Thomson's a Hun . Don't think Thomson's done enough to merit becoming Hibs manager tbh .
Robinson much the same another Hun who was involved in a incident which he was acquitted that I think there was more too . He always came across as a nasty individual imo . I just really don't like both tbh . Hopefully that answers your question again mate 👍

31-08-2023, 05:27 PM
The really frustrating thing for me is that they won’t have time to get their own men in with the transfer window.

Robinson you’d think would bring in Baccus or Ohara

Montgomery would more than likely bring in a few from the A-League.

Now we’ll have managers where the players we have may not fit their style.

I suppose it’s upto Brian McDerrmot to make the squad as balanced as he can before tomorrow night.

In fairness I don’t think we’re a million miles away, probably 3 imo. I get defensively we’ve been poor, but a large part of that comes down to a lack of organisation/structure as opposed to the individual player imo.

I know it won’t happen but I’m leaning towards a setup where the DoF and recruitment team sign the players and it’s left to the manager to work with them rather than ripping it up every time we appoint a new one. Of course that relies on the DoF and recruitment team getting things right.

31-08-2023, 05:30 PM
I know it won’t happen but I’m leaning towards a setup where the DoF and recruitment team sign the players and it’s left to the manager to work with them rather than ripping it up every time we appoint a new one. Of course that relies on the DoF and recruitment team getting things right.

While I agree to an extent, if McInnes was appointed you have a manager there who knows exactly the type of player required in our league and should very much be involved in recruitment.

31-08-2023, 05:32 PM
I think Thomson's a Hun . Don't think Thomson's done enough to merit becoming Hibs manager tbh .
Robinson much the same another Hun who was involved in a incident which he was acquitted that I think there was more too . He always came across as a nasty individual imo . I just really don't like both tbh . Hopefully that answers your question again mate 👍

Jeez....thats a turn around on the whole bashing people without evidence. Hope you wont have an agenda against either if they get the role. :wink:

31-08-2023, 05:37 PM
While I agree to an extent, if McInnes was appointed you have a manager there who knows exactly the type of player required in our league and should very much be involved in recruitment.

I don’t disagree but I want our DoF knowing that. It won’t happen though so I don’t know why I’m even labouring the point.

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 05:39 PM
He thinks Robinson is a wife beater even though he was acquitted and his wife actually said nothing happened, all a mistake and probably Thomson because of his Rangers love in even though both his kids are at our academy and he still attends games with them.
Did I say he was a wife beater ? Don't think I did tbh . Glad you admit Thomson has a love for rangers though :wink:

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 05:42 PM
Jeez....thats a turn around on the whole bashing people without evidence. Hope you wont have an agenda against either if they get the role. :wink:

Don't think I did bash people without evidence tbh . You mean like the agenda you have with me ?

31-08-2023, 05:51 PM
Robinson much the same another Hun who was involved in a incident which he was acquitted that I think there was more too . He always came across as a nasty individual imo . I just really don't like both tbh . Hopefully that answers your question again mate ��

Did I say he was a wife beater ? Don't think I did tbh . Glad you admit Thomson has a love for rangers though :wink:

The incident he was acquitted for was assaulting his wife, she said this.

Earlier, Ms Lauchlan criticised domestic abuse law in Scotland as she told the court prosecuting Robinson was "unfair and wrong".

She said moves to prosecute in domestic abuse cases regardless of whether the alleged victim wants to press charges are "incredibly damaging to innocent people".

She said the Northern Irishman did not assault her and she feels the prosecution service ignored her voice.

So the fact you acknowledge the incident and then go on to say you think there was more to it and he's a nasty individual. :confused:

Thomson was a coach for Rangers and was a regular pundit on their TV, he said what was expected of him, no matter what we as Hibs fans may think of Rangers, he's an ex player of theirs and will have treated him well when he played and coached there, I don't hate him for it but I don't like it but I've met Kevin many times and he's a nice lad.

31-08-2023, 06:03 PM
FWIW, I feel our last few managers have all brought a mis-placed confidence that they can make an average squad better by trying to be too smart with tactics. We have some very good players...but they are very good in Scotland

LJ, SM, PH all had experience of managing / coaching better players than they had at hibs, and I always felt they could get the same performances from our squad by trying to out-tactic the opposition. LJ is a prime example, he very rarely ever got it right from kick off, but the team generally improved at half time after he had a chance to analyse the opposition.

I have had a long held view that to compete and be best of the rest in Scotland, putting out the fittest, and most organised team will generally get you performances and results. A new manager that knows how to keep it simple, and use our players in their best positions, taking advantage of their best attributes.

Montgomery, seems to tick these boxes, and i'd like to see us go for him, he would bring something fresh and seems like an ambitious guy on an upwards trajectory. Mcinnes ticks the boxes too, we would immediately improve, but im not convinced we would necessarily progress long-term under him, but would be happy to see him come in too.
You’ve just sold Montgomery to me. Some excellent points and agree with everything you say 👍

31-08-2023, 06:05 PM
Sounds like Robinson

https://x.com/frazfletcher/status/1697301447551901811?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Get it done tonight and bring in Baccus/Ohara tomorrow along with others

31-08-2023, 06:06 PM
Activating release clause for Robinson, £250k.

I’d be happy with him.

Done well at Motherwell in the whole. Done very well with st mirren

31-08-2023, 06:09 PM
Sounds like Robinson

https://x.com/frazfletcher/status/1697301447551901811?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

I'd be happy with that. Has a proven track record with two clubs in this league, has St Mirren punching above their weight, signs well, and isn't Neil ****ing Lennon. Ticks every box for me.

Very strict moral standards has Donegal 😇

yonder1875
I think some Hibs fans are getting above our station tbh.

Robinson looks a fine appointment on paper if it happens.

31-08-2023, 06:10 PM
I'd be happy with that. Has a proven track record with two clubs in this league, has St Mirren punching above their weight, signs well, and isn't Neil ****ing Lennon. Ticks every box for me.

Happy with it as well. Was saying right after the Livi game I wanted Robinson in.

Lee Marvin
31-08-2023, 06:10 PM
Sounds like Robinson

Anyone know the credibility of the poster?

31-08-2023, 06:11 PM
Anyone know the credibility of the poster?

Over 33k followers so you'd imagine pretty credible.

31-08-2023, 06:12 PM
Sounds like Robinson

I'd be happy with that, has his teams well organised and playing pretty decent football on shoestring budgets.

Steve88
31-08-2023, 06:13 PM
Why on earth do we want a manager who has this record and has only managed clubs where there is no expectations of winning trophies, challenging for EUROPE and/or has experience in Europe.

We need someone who has been there, done it.

If St Mirren were sitting bottom of the league, the optics on this man becoming hibs manager wold be very different..

eam
From
To
Record

G
W
D
L
Win %

Oldham Athletic (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Oldham_Athletic_A.F.C.)
9 July 2016
12 January 2017

Motherwell (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Motherwell_F.C.)
28 February 2017
31 December 2020

Morecambe (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Morecambe_F.C.)
7 June 2021
22 February 2022

St Mirren (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/St_Mirren_F.C.)
22 February 2022

31-08-2023, 06:14 PM
I'd be happy with Robinson

31-08-2023, 06:14 PM
I'd be happy with Robinson.

Has performed well in Scottish football for a long time, had his team noticeably well organised the last time we played them and speaks well. Has signed some good players and overseen an improvement in some others.

He needs a few players though and a bit of luck with injuries through the first half of the season or he'll quickly find himself under pressure.

31-08-2023, 06:15 PM
Sounds like Robinson

I’m sure that boy has a bit of a reputation for getting stuff wrong. Can’t remember where that stems from. Wouldn’t be disappointed with Robinson right enough, done a great job at St Mirren.

31-08-2023, 06:15 PM
This would be a pretty substantial 'meh' for me. But I'll be right behind whoever it turns out to be.

31-08-2023, 06:17 PM
I’m sure that boy has a bit of a reputation for getting stuff wrong. Can’t remember where that stems from. Wouldn’t be disappointed with Robinson right enough, done a great job at St Mirren.

I’d be happy with him.

Been next to the dugouts when he’s been there a couple of times and his passion is brilliant.

Organises a team well and one that can win it back quick and play fast.

This would be a pretty substantial 'meh' for me. But I'll be right behind whoever it turns out to be.

Wouldn’t be my first choice but he’s preferable to some of the other names that have been suggested.

I could say the same about certain posters who didn't want Malky McKay, pot and kettle spring to mind.

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 06:19 PM
The incident he was acquitted for was assaulting his wife, she said this.

Earlier, Ms Lauchlan criticised domestic abuse law in Scotland as she told the court prosecuting Robinson was "unfair and wrong".

She said moves to prosecute in domestic abuse cases regardless of whether the alleged victim wants to press charges are "incredibly damaging to innocent people".

She said the Northern Irishman did not assault her and she feels the prosecution service ignored her voice.

So the fact you acknowledge the incident and then go on to say you think there was more to it and he's a nasty individual. :confused:

Thomson was a coach for Rangers and was a regular pundit on their TV, he said what was expected of him, no matter what we as Hibs fans may think of Rangers, he's an ex player of theirs and will have treated him well when he played and coached there, I don't hate him for it but I don't like it but I've met Kevin many times and he's a nice lad.

Appreciate you putting up what she said even though i have read it all before . So nothing happened they were just walking hand in hand and the police just decided to lift them and there was no disturbance or domestic. Ok fine . Though I haven't liked Robinson even well before that either .

If you have met Kevin Thomson and liked him fine , I've no issue you liking him . I don't though and probably never will , he's a Hun and has frequently sucked up to them and I don't want him or Robinson being manager of Hibs .

Another poster said awhile back that he wouldn't be back to ER if Malky McKay got the Hibs job after past remarks he made and he was totally entitled to his opinion . We all have different views mate .

31-08-2023, 06:20 PM
Not a bad record with the clubs he has been at, maybe we just didn't want beat in the League Cup 😁

31-08-2023, 06:24 PM
I’m not over enthused if it is to be Robinson

£250k a decent release clause but I can’t help think I’d still prefer mcinnes or Lennon.

31-08-2023, 06:29 PM

Likewise. A bit concerned about his industrious football and a former player accusing him of bullying, but the St Mirren fans seem to think he’s the best thing since sliced bread, so I’d certainly support him fully.

31-08-2023, 06:30 PM
Let's get a guy Johnson leathered 3 times last season. How boring Hibs. Oh well.

31-08-2023, 06:32 PM
Let's get a guy Johnson leathered 3 times last season. How boring Hibs. Oh well.Not exactly how football works tho right?

He beat him so he must be better?

St Mirren will have no where near the budget we do

31-08-2023, 06:33 PM
Let's get a guy Johnson leathered 3 times last season. How boring Hibs. Oh well.

What a take. Oh dear.

31-08-2023, 06:34 PM

We not including this season then?

31-08-2023, 06:38 PM

Don't be silly. Better to look in the past and be negative.

31-08-2023, 06:40 PM

Sure. He still has a negative record Vs Johnson.

31-08-2023, 06:41 PM
Don't think I did bash people without evidence tbh . You mean like the agenda you have with me ?

:greengrin:greengrin. I'm sure you will battle on DH

31-08-2023, 06:46 PM
Bookies still seem to have Robinson at 4/1 ish, would expect it to be lower if it was true we were triggering a release clause.

JammyDoidger
31-08-2023, 06:48 PM

With the budget Hibs have compared to St Mirren that's what should be happening.

HendoDelivered
31-08-2023, 06:48 PM
I don’t actually know why but I just don’t want Robinson as our manager. If we are going down the route of SPFL experience, McInnes or Lennon would be a better option (IMO). I was warming to Montgomery to be fair.

31-08-2023, 06:50 PM
Lennon or McInnes for me

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 06:51 PM
:greengrin:greengrin. I'm sure you will battle on DH

Don't think you have agenda against me mate . Sorry . I won't be battling on for much longer if Robinson's appointed. 😞

31-08-2023, 06:51 PM
I don’t actually know why but I just don’t want Robinson as our manager. If we are going down the route of SPFL experience, McInnes or Lennon would be a better option (IMO). I was warming to Montgomery to be fair.

I think part of my fear and some others I’ve spoke to is seeing how Goodwin got on at Aberdeen

Also it’s a different ball game being the team that needs to break teams down rather than being the one sitting in with less pressure.

I also liked the idea of Montgomery, but overall I still think Robinson is a good appointment.

I thought his Motherwell team were brilliant, full of pace and energy and even made James Scott look a player 🤣

31-08-2023, 06:55 PM
Script is written for Hearts to replace Naismith with McInnes in the near future.

Gordy M
31-08-2023, 06:58 PM
If Hibs were triggering the release clause for Robinson, betting would be closed.....its not.

31-08-2023, 06:59 PM
Dons 0- Hakken 1. And well deserved too.

Good

31-08-2023, 06:59 PM
If Hibs were triggering the release clause for Robinson, betting would be closed.....its not.

Bookies will react to press and bets placed.

They’re probably not received that many bets/unaware due to it being a single source that’s not DR or similar

31-08-2023, 07:00 PM
Good

oops :greengrin

Gordy M
31-08-2023, 07:03 PM
Bookies will react to press and bets placed.

They’re probably not received that many bets/unaware due to it being a single source that’s not DR or similar

It was the DR that reported it. The guy on Twitter just repeated it.

31-08-2023, 07:12 PM
Sportsound reported that Hibs haven't made contact with anyone yet and will draw up a shortlist tomorrow / Saturday.

31-08-2023, 07:14 PM
Sportsound reported that Hibs haven't made contact with anyone yet and will draw up a shortlist tomorrow / Saturday.Don't believe that

We haven't spent a week doing nothing to only draw up a short list on the weekend

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 07:23 PM

Not really just don't like Robinson . Would probably take Mackay over him so my strict moral standards isn't that good !

31-08-2023, 07:25 PM
Half arsed team from Villa and they know the tie is over but this is the best we've played for a while.

And more importantly... the best we've played in any of the games SDG has taken charge of us...

HendoDelivered
31-08-2023, 07:29 PM
Half arsed team from Villa and they know the tie is over but this is the best we've played for a while.

And more importantly... the best we've played in any of the games SDG has taken charge of us...

churchie16
31-08-2023, 07:30 PM
Who ever it is has to get Marshall out of goal or otherwise could be a short spell for him as well

31-08-2023, 07:31 PM
Who ever it is has to get Marshall out of goal or otherwise could be a short spell for him as well

Has there been any chat on how long Wollacot is out for?

31-08-2023, 07:52 PM
Watching the sheep game and Joe Lewis is a pundit. Doesn’t have a club at the moment. Thought he was a pretty decent keeper with the Dons. Could do worse If we need a ready made replacement for Marsh

31-08-2023, 07:56 PM
Watching the sheep game and Joe Lewis is a pundit. Doesn’t have a club at the moment. Thought he was a pretty decent keeper with the Dons. Could do worse If we need a ready made replacement for Marsh

Think he was alright for a few seasons but stinking towards the end.

31-08-2023, 07:58 PM

He would genuinely be worse than Marshall.

He was absolutely hopeless for Aberdeen at the end.

31-08-2023, 07:58 PM
Not really just don't like Robinson . Would probably take Mackay over him so my strict moral standards isn't that good !

Oh for a power cut in your area.

31-08-2023, 08:00 PM

Haha

Donegal Hibby
31-08-2023, 08:00 PM

Didn't realize you were a stand up comedian btw !

Hibees1973
31-08-2023, 08:07 PM
Hibs could not have timed the sacking of Johnson any worse.

A few days before the transfer window closes and no time for any prospective new manager to be appointed and identify players he would like.

Always felt we got the manager and DOF erse over t*t. Should have got the DOF in first, then for him to structure the club properly and appoint a new manager. This should have been done at the beginning of last season before Johnson was given the job.

The new manager, when he comes in will be on the back foot already, trying to fit in with the current structure. Know we got through a few managers under Dempster but the structure was sound then.

We are looking for a new manager, but I just feel the problems are rooted from Kensall & Ian Gordon. They have both made complete mess of the football side of the club for a good 2 -3 years. Both cannot be trusted.

I would be much happier if Kensall goes and IG takes a back seat, preferably well away from the club. Yes, Hibs can be the family toy, but leave it to experienced football people.