View Full Version : Who for next manager?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16

04-09-2023, 12:48 PM
thats a guy in a tank but its not MontgomeryWill be his double.

Terry Butcher camo vibe, boak.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

04-09-2023, 12:52 PM
Not sure about buying him a house in a nice part of Edinburgh.

We don't want to bankrupt the club.

Yeh, know what you mean mate, that's why I included the 'rent' option :greengrin

In all seriousness though. Things like that can often make a real difference. More than once on here I've made mention of my opinion that if Hibs don't have a dedicated room / building at East Mains with heat, snacks, drinks and a TV where folk who bring their kids to training can chill out as their bairns run about in the freezing cold it would be a good idea to make it happen.

My pals kid was at Hibs for a while, pre East Mains, and I used to drive him to training from the Gala now and again when she couldn't ... if I didn't want to find a pub to sit in for a couple of hours ( not an option at EM I would imagine ) my only recourse was to sit in my car with the engine running for an hour and a half to prevent freezing my nuts off.

How you treat folk you need on board to make the club a success from the manager right down to the parents of the kids teams can make a huge difference ... make them feel wanted and valued by going the extra mile for them and it could make a significant difference and the money you spend on it well worthwhile in the long run.

04-09-2023, 12:53 PM
Didn't realise Montgomery was English. Though he was an Aussie.

04-09-2023, 12:56 PM
In his shoes, I wouldn’t be in a rush to swap Australia for Brexit Britain.

We might be a stepping stone to big bucks in England and Edinburgh’s a decent place to live if you have pots of cash but this isn’t a move you make lightly.
What’s Brexit got to do with a nice manager?

04-09-2023, 12:57 PM
Didn't realise Montomery was English. Though he was an Aussie.

Aye, but fitba's funny that way. Having played for Scotland you could say he's Scottish. After all, if Martin Boyle, who lets face it is about as Australian as Bagpipes and Haggis, can be listed as Aussie on team sheets anything is possible :greengrin

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2023, 01:08 PM
This says Montgomery is on a shortlist .
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-next-manager-central-coast-mariners-boss-nick-montgomery-on-shortlist-as-interviews-begin-4279590

Eaststand
04-09-2023, 01:08 PM
thats a guy in a tank but its not Montgomery

I agree with you,it's not Monty in that pic.

I reckon this pic might be an early pic of the Polish General Anders, but there will be other more knowledgeable opinions no doubt 🤔

04-09-2023, 01:10 PM
Didn't realise Montomery was English. Though he was an Aussie.

Yep Leeds born and bred. Played loads of years as tenacious workmanlike midfielder with Sheffield United. Played for Scotland under 21s I think. When retired went to play with CCM about ten years ago.

04-09-2023, 01:12 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/hibs-next-manager-central-coast-mariners-boss-nick-montgomery-on-shortlist-as-interviews-begin-4279590

Interesting. Seems it's not done after all then.

04-09-2023, 01:14 PM

Britannica.com uses the same image on their General Montgomery page.

04-09-2023, 01:16 PM

Would make no sense for us to say anything else if not signed.

04-09-2023, 01:18 PM
What’s Brexit got to do with a nice manager?

Because brexit Britain is not a great place to be right now.

Hopefully the guy will fancy the hibs challenge though.

04-09-2023, 01:19 PM

You’d assume if we were interested in McInnes or Robinson then it would be out there as we’d require permission

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2023, 01:19 PM
Interesting. Seems it's not done after all then.
I thought it was moving abit quicker than what the club said they were going to do by drawing up a shortlist and then conducting interviews . He might still get it though I who the other candidates are ?.

04-09-2023, 01:23 PM
You’d assume if we were interested in McInnes or Robinson then it would be out there as we’d require permission

True. The article doesn’t say who is on the shortlist excepting NM.

I still want McInnes in truth, but we’ll see how we go.

04-09-2023, 01:24 PM
If it's Monty, like any Manager, I'll back him, but I've got the same enthusiasm for him as I had for the LJ appointment, and that was very low.

It will be a massive learning curve for him. Even if he's successful, being a young Manager learning his trade, an English Championsip club would come calling and he'd be offski.

Hibs need to go back to basics and create some stability. Monty ticks none of those boxes. At this time we don't need experiments.

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2023, 01:24 PM
Would make no sense for us to say anything else if not signed.

Yeah I get that JBH though still think it's moving to quickly unless of course we have made Montgomery our No 1 target.

04-09-2023, 01:26 PM
If it's Monty, like any Manager, I'll back him, but I've got the same enthusiasm for him as I had for the LJ appointment, and that was very low.

It will be a massive learning curve for him. Even if he's successful, being a young Manager learning his trade, an English Championsip club would come calling and he'd be offski.

Hibs need to go back to basics and create some stability. Monty ticks none of those boxes. At this time we don't need experiments.

Exactly how I see it too

04-09-2023, 01:26 PM

I can never understand the logic around worrying about a manager being so successful they are poached by a bigger club. Do you wish we had never appointed Mowbray or Stubbs as they got poached by clubs down south?

What managerial appointment would guarantee stability?

04-09-2023, 01:29 PM
I can never understand the logic around worrying about a manager being so successful they are poached by a bigger club. Do you wish we had never appointed Mowbray or Stubbs as they got poached by clubs down south?

What managerial appointment would guarantee stability?

Agreed. If we do so well that Sunderlands etc want to take our manager then we're obviously doing something right and had a good spell. We're not going to build some sort of Sir Alex Ferguson legacy in Scotland with someone who never wants to leave when someone else comes with an attractive offer.

04-09-2023, 01:31 PM
I think it’s Montgomery’s but we’re just going through the process. I can’t see him flying over for just an interview that could be done on zoom/teams etc.

04-09-2023, 01:36 PM

It's from the Encyclopedia Britannica.

https://www.britannica.com/biography/Bernard-Law-Montgomery-1st-Viscount-Montgomery

GreenGray
04-09-2023, 01:36 PM

So you want someone to come and in do well but not well enough to get poached?

04-09-2023, 01:40 PM
If Monty does get the job, i doubt ,as some one suggested the club will buy/rent him a house with swimming pool and pay for his daughters to go to a private school here ....Jeez !
Giving our recent managerial previous,he might not last long enough for his girls to get in the school netball team !
If he does get the job ,he might choose to stay here on his own and travel home when possible.
Folk who work abroad do it all the time ...Boyle did it !
A bloody hoose with a pool and the bairns schooled in Ravelston :greengrin
Throw in a top of the range motor, new set of golf clubs and free membership at Muirfield !! :aok:

04-09-2023, 01:41 PM

I wonder who the 5 actually are? If we are interviewing them then we must have agreed what compensation would be due. If for instance it was Robinson and we have agreed compensation with St Mirren but after his interview we decide someone else is better suited it puts St Mirren and Robinson in an awkward situation. I guess this kind of thing happens alot though.

04-09-2023, 01:44 PM
I thought it was moving abit quicker than what the club said they were going to do by drawing up a shortlist and then conducting interviews . He might still get it though I who the other candidates are ?.

I think Robinson and Montgomery are definitely two of them. Think we'll probably speak to Lennon as well.

MelbourneHibees
04-09-2023, 01:46 PM
You don't fly from Australia for an interview. He has the job imo.

A risk but it's not Lennon so that's a bonus.

04-09-2023, 01:47 PM
I think Robinson and Montgomery are definitely two of them. Think we'll probably speak to Lennon as well.

If, as rumoured,there is a short list of 4/5, it seem courtesy to hear them all in an official interview setting.
I think that is the "form".
Bit mysterious though about the Monty chat
Some "reports" say he said his goodbyes to the Mariners and on his way to Scotland
What does that suggest,if true ? All a bit strange .

04-09-2023, 01:48 PM

Would hope they would sound out Kettlewell.

04-09-2023, 01:50 PM
Presumably all the other candidates are currently out of work as we don't appear to have approached anyone for permission other then Central Coast.

I’m still not keen on this idea for Monty.

Yes he won the league

However he has only been a manager for 2 year in a poorer quality league.

I just think this is not the route hibs need just now, it would be bold and brave I will not deny them that but if it goes wrong ie let’s say not finishing top places which gets us Europe. I don’t think fans will
Be calling for his head it will be more the board and Kensell.

I still believe a Mcinnes or Lennon is the route we should be looking at

Don’t see the appeal in Montgomery at all and hoping he’s just one of several that we’re speaking with.

Gordy M
04-09-2023, 01:52 PM

Yes he won the league

I just think this is not the route hibs need just now, it would be bold and brave I will not deny them that but if it goes wrong ie let’s say not finishing top places which gets us Europe. I don’t think fans will

I think McInnes win rate in the SPL since the start of last(22/23) season is around 28%.

04-09-2023, 01:52 PM
Don’t see the appeal in Montgomery at all and hoping he’s just one of several that we’re speaking with.

Which part of his style or ethos is it you are particularly uncomfortable with?

04-09-2023, 01:58 PM
I think McInnes win rate in the SPL since the start of last(22/23) season is around 28%.

I would argue his remit would have been to keep Kilmarnock in the league.

04-09-2023, 01:58 PM

Agreed. We should be keeping things simple this time around instead of trying to be clever again.

Not sure how he is even being considered or when / how his name is even on our radar.

If we’re not in for McInnes, Lennon or Robinson we’d be as well sticking with Gray.

04-09-2023, 02:01 PM
Agreed. We should be keeping things simple this time around instead of trying to be clever again.

Not sure how he is even being considered or when / how his name is even on our radar.

If we’re not in for McInnes, Lennon or Robinson we’d be as well sticking with Gray.

You were saying Robinson should be nowhere near the job a couple of days ago.

04-09-2023, 02:02 PM
https://x.com/scotsmansport/status/1698697191630520591?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Anyone able to copy and paste fill article?

Never heard of the name Marek Papszun

04-09-2023, 02:03 PM
Can't be bothered to look into DM, however wasn't his win rate good because rangers weren't in the league? He had the 2nd biggest budget.

04-09-2023, 02:05 PM
I wonder who the 5 actually are? If we are interviewing them then we must have agreed what compensation would be due. If for instance it was Robinson and we have agreed compensation with St Mirren but after his interview we decide someone else is better suited it puts St Mirren and Robinson in an awkward situation. I guess this kind of thing happens alot though.EEN article without any quotes from anyone at the club = probably pesh.

04-09-2023, 02:06 PM
https://x.com/scotsmansport/status/1698697191630520591?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Nick Montgomery on Hibs shortlist after Mariners compo, interest ends in Marek Papszun and criteria revealed for next manager
Hibs are in talks with their preferred managerial candidates, including Nick Montgomery, but it is unlikely that an appointment will be made before the middle of the week, with another couple of contenders scheduled to be interviewed over the next 48 hours.

The Central Coast Mariners boss remains one of the favourites to replace Lee Johnson, who was sacked after his side failed to win any of their opening three Premiership matches, but reports from down under suggesting that the deal has already been done appear premature. The Leith club have agreed compensation with the A-League club, freeing them up to chat with the former Sheffield United midfielder, but he is part of a shortlist.
That list has been cut further following early interviews after three-time Polish manager of the year Marek Papszun was dropped. The man who guided Rakow Czestochwa to their first ever major trophy in 2020/21 and has since backed that up with another Polish Cup win, two Polish Super Cup trophies and the Ekstraklasa title last term, ticked many of the Leith club’s boxes but it seems he has already been discounted as more compatible options have risen to the top in a competitive interview process.

Led by director of football Brian McDermott, aided by co-owner and executive director Ian Gordon and chief executive Ben Kensell, the net has been cast far and wide and the search has veered away from the obvious domestic options as they chase the most important factor on the list of criteria – a pedigree of success. It is understood that every manager on the shortlist brings a winning mentality, which the board hopes can be transferred to the squad as they build a winning culture, targeting regular semi-final places in the two domestic cups and top three finishes in the league. Allied to an attractive brand of football demanded by the fans, and suited to the type of players he will inherit, that record of delivering trophies is said to be a non-negotiable requirement.

While Montgomery fits the bill, overseeing his New South Wales club’s A-League triumph last term – their first in a decade – the other contenders are also said to meet those standards. Determined to go for a proven track record rather than gamble on promising potential, while Montgomery is a former Scotland U-21 player, the club have not made on-the-job knowledge of the Scottish game a deal breaker. Seen as a bonus, it is not a necessity. It is understood that whoever comes in will be expected to get the most out of the current squad, though. Bringing in a fourth manager in four years, the club are not keen on a major overhaul of playing personnel. Confident that a lot of good work has been carried out in the summer transfer market, they do not want to have to rip it up and start again.
Having picked up their first league win of the season up at Pittodrie on Sunday, the priority is building on that, with the newcomer expected to hit the ground running after the international break, when Hibs play Kilmarnock at Rugby Park on Saturday, September 16. But first they have to get the right man installed. In a couple of days, once the last of the interviews have been carried out, it should be confirmed who that will be.

Silky
04-09-2023, 02:07 PM

He was manager of that Polish team who won the league last season. First time ever I think.

tamh
04-09-2023, 02:10 PM
Nick Montgomery on Hibs shortlist after Mariners compo, interest ends in Marek Papszun and criteria revealed for next manager
Hibs are in talks with their preferred managerial candidates, including Nick Montgomery, but it is unlikely that an appointment will be made before the middle of the week, with another couple of contenders scheduled to be interviewed over the next 48 hours.

The Central Coast Mariners boss remains one of the favourites to replace Lee Johnson, who was sacked after his side failed to win any of their opening three Premiership matches, but reports from down under suggesting that the deal has already been done appear premature. The Leith club have agreed compensation with the A-League club, freeing them up to chat with the former Sheffield United midfielder, but he is part of a shortlist.
That list has been cut further following early interviews after three-time Polish manager of the year Marek Papszun was dropped. The man who guided Rakow Czestochwa to their first ever major trophy in 2020/21 and has since backed that up with another Polish Cup win, two Polish Super Cup trophies and the Ekstraklasa title last term, ticked many of the Leith club’s boxes but it seems he has already been discounted as more compatible options have risen to the top in a competitive interview process.

Led by director of football Brian McDermott, aided by co-owner and executive director Ian Gordon and chief executive Ben Kensell, the net has been cast far and wide and the search has veered away from the obvious domestic options as they chase the most important factor on the list of criteria – a pedigree of success. It is understood that every manager on the shortlist brings a winning mentality, which the board hopes can be transferred to the squad as they build a winning culture, targeting regular semi-final places in the two domestic cups and top three finishes in the league. Allied to an attractive brand of football demanded by the fans, and suited to the type of players he will inherit, that record of delivering trophies is said to be a non-negotiable requirement.

While Montgomery fits the bill, overseeing his New South Wales club’s A-League triumph last term – their first in a decade – the other contenders are also said to meet those standards. Determined to go for a proven track record rather than gamble on promising potential, while Montgomery is a former Scotland U-21 player, the club have not made on-the-job knowledge of the Scottish game a deal breaker. Seen as a bonus, it is not a necessity. It is understood that whoever comes in will be expected to get the most out of the current squad, though. Bringing in a fourth manager in four years, the club are not keen on a major overhaul of playing personnel. Confident that a lot of good work has been carried out in the summer transfer market, they do not want to have to rip it up and start again.
Having picked up their first league win of the season up at Pittodrie on Sunday, the priority is building on that, with the newcomer expected to hit the ground running after the international break, when Hibs play Kilmarnock at Rugby Park on Saturday, September 16. But first they have to get the right man installed. In a couple of days, once the last of the interviews have been carried out, it should be confirmed who that will be.
Sir David Gray for me. Players know what there supposed to do now

04-09-2023, 02:11 PM
Hmm, have to wonder why Marek Papszun hasn't made it any further considering;

'as they chase the most important factor on the list of criteria – a pedigree of success'

From the same article;

'The man who guided Rakow Czestochwa to their first ever major trophy in 2020/21 and has since backed that up with another Polish Cup win, two Polish Super Cup trophies and the Ekstraklasa title last term'

Sounds like a pedigree of success to me.

mcohibs
04-09-2023, 02:15 PM
Sir David Gray for me. Players know what there supposed to do now

Does Gray even have a pro license??

CentreForward
04-09-2023, 02:15 PM

Yes he won the league

Agreed and a bit underwhelmed to be honest. Winning the league doesn’t seem to be really winning the league anyway. His team were well behind in second place and it was a playoff final v Melbourne. Unless I have it wrong that’s a strange way to win a league! A managerial career of only 59 games in an ordinary league and in a country where football is not that big a sport. Is it maybe the Ange factor we’re being influenced by? My only hope is that he is English with a huge level of experience as a player in the English leagues. Hope I’m completely wrong, but he sounds like a big gamble at a time when I’m not sure we should be gambling.

CL0762
04-09-2023, 02:17 PM
Agreed and a bit underwhelmed to be honest. Winning the league doesn’t seem to be really winning the league anyway. His team were well behind in second place and it was a playoff final v Melbourne. Unless I have it wrong that’s a strange way to win a league! A managerial career of only 59 games in an ordinary league and in a country where football is not that big a sport. Is it maybe the Ange factor we’re being influenced by? My only hope is that he is English with a huge level of experience as a player in the English leagues. Hope I’m completely wrong, but he sounds like a big gamble at a time when I’m not sure we should be gambling.

So what wouldn’t be a gamble then?

You can’t answer that because any appointment would be a gamble.

04-09-2023, 02:18 PM
Hmm, have to wonder why Marek Papszun hasn't made it any further considering;

'as they chase the most important factor on the list of criteria – a pedigree of success'

From the same article;

'The man who guided Rakow Czestochwa to their first ever major trophy in 2020/21 and has since backed that up with another Polish Cup win, two Polish Super Cup trophies and the Ekstraklasa title last term'

Sounds like a pedigree of success to me.

“More compatible options have risen to the top of the list”

Could be anything really, he certainly does have a really good record.

Other interesting bit was that we have veered away from looking at the usual names from in and around Scotland. Wonder who that rules out?

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2023, 02:20 PM

Never of Marek Papszun either.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Marek_Papszun

04-09-2023, 02:20 PM
You were saying Robinson should be nowhere near the job a couple of days ago.

You want us all to say we want Montgomery? I’m keeping an open mind instead of fixating on one guy.

I doubt he’ll get the job so you’re all going to be disappointed and have to move on to liking someone else anyways.

I don’t want Robinson but I’d 100% have him before NM.

Even if I now wanted Robinson l, I’m allowed to change my mind!!

04-09-2023, 02:21 PM

Other interesting bit was that we have veered away from looking at the usual names from in and around Scotland. Wonder who that rules out?
Well we clearly haven't approached Robinson or McInnes.

04-09-2023, 02:22 PM

Them coming second is the equivalent to like a Livingston coming second, or even third actually. It’s not something to consider a negative them coming second and then to win a cup and in that manner is again very good, it wasn’t s direct playoff either they had rounds to get to the final.

They have the lowest budget in the league and he completely transformed them by signing players deemed not good enough by others and promoting youth players. One of the players he signed was 29 and had never signed a professional contract before, he’s the only first ever professional footballer from his country and Montgomery took him in and he ended up in the team of the year.

The A League is a lower level, but if someone in the Scottish championship done similar then people would 100% want him in, especially if they done it playing good football.

04-09-2023, 02:23 PM
You want us all to say we want Montgomery? I’m keeping an open mind instead of fixating on one guy.

I doubt he’ll get the job so you’re all going to be disappointed and have to move on to liking someone else anyways.

I don’t want Robinson but I’d 100% have him before NM.

Even if I now wanted Robinson l, I’m allowed to change my mind!!

Absolutely. Your original choice was a poor one so I welcome your change of heart.

04-09-2023, 02:24 PM

My main thinking was Lennon. Gone very quiet on him after the initial few articles from his pal at the Sun but he does meet a lot of the criteria they seem to be after.

04-09-2023, 02:25 PM
My main thinking was Lennon. Gone very quiet on him after the initial few articles from his pal at the Sun.

Which makes me think he ain't a candidate or they would be ramming him down our throat.

04-09-2023, 02:29 PM
My main worry with Monty is that I don’t know anything about him (not heard of him before) and that’s probably as much as he knows about us & Scottish football in general. Maybe that’s a good thing? A blank page, no pre conceived ideas, just a footballing brain! We will see if it is him, Celtics Ozzy manager worked out ok.

04-09-2023, 02:35 PM
My main worry with Monty is that I don’t know anything about him (not heard of him before) and that’s probably as much as he knows about us & Scottish football in general. Maybe that’s a good thing? A blank page, no pre conceived ideas, just a footballing brain! We will see if it is him, Celtics Ozzy manager worked out ok.

He was born in Leeds and represented Scotland at youth level.

04-09-2023, 02:38 PM

I agree.

1875godsgift
04-09-2023, 02:38 PM

So Paps oot then?

JammyDoidger
04-09-2023, 02:42 PM
Montgomery won the A league with the lowest budget in the league, he's got the best out of his players, Cummings being one who got his career back on track under Monty, tells me his man management is top drawer, seems to have developed players and sold on for money, ticks the boxes for us imo, only thing is unproven in this country, looks a big guy hopefully takes no ***** too.

04-09-2023, 02:43 PM
I'd love an outsider to come in, someone who isn't scared rigid of the ugly sisters.

04-09-2023, 02:44 PM

Was there not something about Hibs activating Robinsons release clause fee? Think we'll speak to him at the very least.

04-09-2023, 02:45 PM

Assume would rule out current spfl managers and Lennon so likely Monty.

04-09-2023, 02:45 PM
Was there not something about Hibs activating Robinsons release clause fee? Think we'll speak to him at the very least.

Think the wording was set to trigger not that they had.

04-09-2023, 02:46 PM

That would have been all over the media. 99% sure we didn't do that.

04-09-2023, 02:46 PM

That comparison makes no sense at all? Just because you’ve not heard of him says nothing about his suitability and ability to manage hibs

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2023, 02:47 PM
I wonder who the 5 actually are? If we are interviewing them then we must have agreed what compensation would be due. If for instance it was Robinson and we have agreed compensation with St Mirren but after his interview we decide someone else is better suited it puts St Mirren and Robinson in an awkward situation. I guess this kind of thing happens alot though.

That's if their currently in a job at present . Maybe there's a couple out of work in the mix like Lennon? Not that I want Robinson though you'd think it would be hard to keep quiet if we met there release clause £250,000 . I hope it's Montgomery that gets it tbh . Knowing our luck we will appoint Pardew on Thursday :shocked:

HFC93
04-09-2023, 02:47 PM
I see Montgomery played with Rogic at the Central Coast Mariners and I think he s still a free agent. Could Rogic be his first signing?

Curried
04-09-2023, 02:50 PM
I'd love an outsider to come in, someone who isn't scared rigid of the ugly sisters.
This 100%. Been done to death on this thread with people bumping their gums about mangers knowing the SPL..blah blah blah. And wanting to shoe-in some recycled failure from the SPL.

04-09-2023, 02:53 PM

Refreshing to be linked with someone a bit different than the usuals

04-09-2023, 02:58 PM

Yes he won the league

In his favour he did manage to offload Kyle Rowes to the Jambos! However, I kind of agree with you though that someone with decent experience of the Scottish game is what we need just now. Sir David showed on Sunday that good organisation goes a long way in winning games in this league. McInnes would be my number one choice.

04-09-2023, 03:02 PM
In his favour he did manage to offload Kyle Rowes to the Jambos! However, I kind of agree with you though that someone with decent experience of the Scottish game is what we need just now. Sir David showed on Sunday that good organisation goes a long way in winning games in this league. McInnes would be my number one choice.

Presumably with the lowest budget in the league, his team would have had to be well organised at CCM.

NGoloGrantie
04-09-2023, 03:07 PM
‘The Leith club have agreed compensation with the A-League club, freeing them up to chat with the former Sheffield United midfielder, but he is part of a shortlist.

Led by director of football Brian McDermott, aided by co-owner and executive director Ian Gordon and chief executive Ben Kensell, the net has been cast far and wide and the search has veered away from the obvious domestic options as they chase the most important factor on the list of criteria – a pedigree of success. It is understood that every manager on the shortlist brings a winning mentality, which the board hopes can be transferred to the squad as they build a winning culture, targeting regular semi-final places in the two domestic cups and top three finishes in the league. Allied to an attractive brand of football demanded by the fans, and suited to the type of players he will inherit, that record of delivering trophies is said to be a non-negotiable requirement’

Moira Gordon Scotsman article. Shortlist is 5 people including Montgomery.

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2023, 03:07 PM
Chris Wilder could be another one on the shortlist possibly.

04-09-2023, 03:09 PM
‘The Leith club have agreed compensation with the A-League club, freeing them up to chat with the former Sheffield United midfielder, but he is part of a shortlist.

Led by director of football Brian McDermott, aided by co-owner and executive director Ian Gordon and chief executive Ben Kensell, the net has been cast far and wide and the search has veered away from the obvious domestic options as they chase the most important factor on the list of criteria – a pedigree of success. It is understood that every manager on the shortlist brings a winning mentality, which the board hopes can be transferred to the squad as they build a winning culture, targeting regular semi-final places in the two domestic cups and top three finishes in the league. Allied to an attractive brand of football demanded by the fans, and suited to the type of players he will inherit, that record of delivering trophies is said to be a non-negotiable requirement’

Wonder who the other 4 are.

04-09-2023, 03:12 PM
Wonder who the other 4 are.

Less than 5 in the running now.

04-09-2023, 03:13 PM
Tam McManus (I know) saying few small things to agree on but he fully expects Montgomery to be the next Hibernian manager.

04-09-2023, 03:16 PM
Really don’t get why McInness is some sort of messiah.

Sacked by Bristol City after a then club record run of 7 defeats in a row.

Sure, won a League Cup early on with Aberdeen, but nothing more, despite a multi year spell without Us, Hearts or Rangers as opposition, eventually getting sacked as they fell behind those sides.

Win rates

St Johnstone - 40%
Bristol City - 27%
Aberdeen - 53% (his final 3 seasons were substantially below this)
Killie - 43%

His career average win rate is actually worse than Lee’s.

04-09-2023, 03:21 PM
Presumably with the lowest budget in the league, his team would have had to be well organised at CCM.

That's a decent point. Let's hope his 2 years managing with CCM translates well across to Scotland.

Paulie Walnuts
04-09-2023, 03:22 PM

Sure, won a League Cup early on with Aberdeen, but nothing more, despite a multi year spell without Us, Hearts or Rangers as opposition, eventually getting sacked as they fell behind those sides.

Win rates

St Johnstone - 40%
Bristol City - 27%
Killie - 43%

McInnes’ career win percentage is 46.54% to LJs 39.9%.

CentreForward
04-09-2023, 03:23 PM
Them coming second is the equivalent to like a Livingston coming second, or even third actually. It’s not something to consider a negative them coming second and then to win a cup and in that manner is again very good, it wasn’t s direct playoff either they had rounds to get to the final.

They have the lowest budget in the league and he completely transformed them by signing players deemed not good enough by others and promoting youth players. One of the players he signed was 29 and had never signed a professional contract before, he’s the only first ever professional footballer from his country and Montgomery took him in and he ended up in the team of the year.

The A League is a lower level, but if someone in the Scottish championship done similar then people would 100% want him in, especially if they done it playing good football.

Fair enough and certainly sounds as if you know more about him
than I do.

04-09-2023, 03:24 PM

Win rates

St Johnstone - 40%
Bristol City - 27%
Killie - 43%

I think it's cause of his vast experience in the Scottish game. That's a big thing they want in the next manager and that's absolutely fine.

Personally doesn't bother me, but can understand the reasoning.

04-09-2023, 03:25 PM
That comparison makes no sense at all? Just because you’ve not heard of him says nothing about his suitability and ability to manage hibs

Point being he has no prior knowledge of the Scottish game, like past failures we’ve tried! It’s a risk, but like I said could work as a positive

04-09-2023, 03:29 PM
Point being he has no prior knowledge of the Scottish game, like past failures we’ve tried! It’s a risk, but like I said could work as a positive

You'd say postecoglu was a massive gamble, whereas Montgomery (with his trophy winning credentials, on a shoestring budget & his ability to man manage guys like Jason cummings) seems to me way less of a risk

04-09-2023, 03:34 PM
You'd say postecoglu was a massive gamble, whereas Montgomery (with his trophy winning credentials, on a shoestring budget & his ability to man manage guys like Jason cummings) seems to me way less of a risk

Already acknowledged Posterwhatsit was a good appointment for Celtc

04-09-2023, 03:34 PM
Did you take that number from Wikipedia as I dont think that one is correct, when looking at the total % of each job I think it's 40.9%?

You can’t just add the 4 individual percentages and divide by 4. He spent much longer in some jobs than others. His % at Aberdeen would take a much higher weight in his overall % than his time at Bristol.

Dmas
04-09-2023, 03:42 PM
Quite excited by Montgomery no idea what he is like as the odd game on a sat morning aside my knowledge of Oz football is zero, looks to have done well with budget constraints in the past don’t need to worry about settling issues as he’ll actually be closer to home all for it.

I’m not bothered about Scottish football knowledge for every one we’ve had that’s failed without Scottish football knowledge previously there’s probably 2 more with experience that have also come a cropper

04-09-2023, 03:46 PM
So you can't take the win percentage from each job to give the actual win percentage overall, ok then!!

Don’t make me start agreeing with Rishi that maths should be mandatory until 18

04-09-2023, 03:47 PM
So you can't take the win percentage from each job to give the actual win percentage overall, ok then!!

No :greengrin

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derek_McInnes#Managerial_record

04-09-2023, 03:47 PM

Whilst he has no prior knowledge (he might watch it etc do might have limited knowledge) if we went down that line for managers we are limiting our ability to take us forward each time as most banshees in Scottish football are similar to an extent.

Every manager is a risk but I get the feeling NM is a Mowbray/Stubbs type manager and gets the best out of his players and brings players to his club that fit a certain ethos.

I hope it is him. New direction, new ideas etc

I would however have been happy with McInnes or to an extent Robinson but we’d be samey!

04-09-2023, 03:49 PM
https://x.com/iainbroon90/status/1698423896125407308?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Quite an incredible stat for Kettlewell since joining Motherwell and is a wonder why he’s not wanted by more fans.

Obviously they were bottom 6 but still one heck of an achievement.

04-09-2023, 03:51 PM
No :greengrin

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Derek_McInnes#Managerial_record

Don't think those stats are correct, I'm possibly wrong

Paulie Walnuts
04-09-2023, 03:54 PM

No, you can’t.

If you had someone who take charge as a caretaker manager 3 times, 1 game at a time, and won them all, they could then go on to be appointed permanently, lose 300 games in a row and their win record would be 75%.

That would be ridiculous.

04-09-2023, 03:57 PM
No, you can’t.

If you had someone who take charge as a caretaker manager 3 times, 1 game at a time, and won them all, they could then go on to be appointed permanently, lose 300 games in a row and their win record would be 75%.

But would this guy have experience of the Scottish game?

04-09-2023, 03:58 PM
Don't think those stats are correct, I'm possibly wrong

Even if they are, they demonstrate that your method of working out his win % is wrong :)

04-09-2023, 03:59 PM
Even if they are, they demonstrate that your method of working out his win % is wrong :)

It actually is 46% excuse my stupidness🤣🤣

04-09-2023, 04:01 PM
No, you can’t.

Well not really as I would imagine caretaker stats aren't included in their stats although after the nightmare with my calculations I'll likely be wrong on that!

Willis1875
04-09-2023, 04:07 PM

Only 1 of our last 6 managers had no previous ties to Scottish football.
If Nick Montgomery is a good enough manager then it won’t matter one bit if he has experience of Scottish football or not and I don’t see him under estimating it either,he’s already been down the road of going from English high level football to the slower standard of A-League and by all accounts looks like he’s took it in his stride

04-09-2023, 04:10 PM

I like this.

Finding someone that has won leagues or cups elsewhere is definitely the route to go down.

Polish guys sounds ideal, so if that's the calibre we're looking at, good stuff.

04-09-2023, 04:13 PM
According to BBC no decisions made yet, short list of 5 drawn up with interviews over international weekend, appointment hopefully in place for Kilmarnock match.

04-09-2023, 04:29 PM
Montgomery played under Warnock so would pick up some good things is Bradley of Shamrock in the 5

04-09-2023, 04:32 PM
Tam McManus says

Having just spoke to Neil Lennon on @PLZSoccer its clear that there is plenty more mileage in the Hibs job. Think the reports coming from 🇦🇺 on Montgomery were premature. Looks favourite to get job but I’d fully expect Lennon to get an interview this week among a couple others.

04-09-2023, 04:35 PM
Tam McManus says

Having just spoke to Neil Lennon on @PLZSoccer its clear that there is plenty more mileage in the Hibs job. Think the reports coming from 🇦🇺 on Montgomery were premature. Looks favourite to get job but I’d fully expect Lennon to get an interview this week among a couple others.

So Neil knows does he? I'd say its more a case of wishful thinking on his behalf.

Seafield Scott
04-09-2023, 04:38 PM
Never heard of Montgomery before and only know what's on Wiki - Slightly nervous because he's relatively unknown here but happy to be guided by Brian McD as it'll he his head we'll be after IF it all goes south should Monty indeed be appointed.

04-09-2023, 04:48 PM
So Neil knows does he? I'd say its more a case of wishful thinking on his behalf.Why does Lennon trigger folk so easily?

That's all Tams take btw

If there's 5 folk being interviewed I also can't see how Lennon won't be 1 of them

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2023, 04:58 PM
This article says we've done two interviews , with 3 to go including Montgomery.
https://www.irishnews.com/sport/footballsoccer/2023/09/04/news/nick_montgomery_on_five-man_shortlist_to_become_new_hibs_boss-3583447/

04-09-2023, 05:32 PM
According to BBC no decisions made yet, short list of 5 drawn up with interviews over international students weekend, appointment hopefully in place for Kilmarnock match.

The BBC showing jambo bias again

Only hearts have a training facility that is unavailable on international students weekend.

04-09-2023, 05:46 PM

Win rates

St Johnstone - 40%
Bristol City - 27%
Killie - 43%

He isn’t hevis just seen as a safe pair of hands by those who feel we need stability and someone who won’t get us relegated
He doesn’t meet thrv criteria hibs have laid down ie someone who csn deliver trophies
he won one with the sheep in the most boring final I csn remember

04-09-2023, 06:08 PM
Who are the five?

Montgomery
Lennon
Robinson
Gray?
McInnes?

04-09-2023, 06:12 PM
Quite excited by Montgomery no idea what he is like as the odd game on a sat morning aside my knowledge of Oz football is zero, looks to have done well with budget constraints in the past don’t need to worry about settling issues as he’ll actually be closer to home all for it.

I’m not bothered about Scottish football knowledge for every one we’ve had that’s failed without Scottish football knowledge previously there’s probably 2 more with experience that have also come a cropper

Jack played in Scotland and managed in Scotland. Wee Sean and LJ played in Scotland. Montgomery long period nearly 400 games playing for Shefield United in top three league in England. Plus of course his success in Australia. Last three managers no record of recent success.

Who are the five?

Montgomery
Lennon
Robinson
Gray?
McInnes?

I got told Bradley was one.

Who are the five?

Montgomery
Lennon
Robinson
Gray?
McInnes?

The fact that Polish guy was apparently on it but not on anybody’s radar suggests we are looking at a very different market from the likes of Robinson and McInnes.

I think if it’s not Montgomery it’ll be someone ambitious.

04-09-2023, 06:17 PM
Who are the five?

Montgomery
Lennon
Robinson
Gray?
McInnes?
My guess too.

Skol
04-09-2023, 06:19 PM
What trophies has Robinson won? Does that not rule him out?

04-09-2023, 06:22 PM

😀

04-09-2023, 06:29 PM
😀

What you smiling at? 😕 😂

I’m being serious, I think Montgomery is a really ambitious move, if we can’t get him, it’ll be someone equally as ambitious.

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2023, 06:36 PM
Who are the five?

Montgomery
Lennon
Robinson
Gray?
McInnes?

Don't think it's going to be Lennon , Robinson , Gray or McInnes tbh . If it's not Montgomery I think it will be a foreign coach that will surprise us all . Only guessing though.

04-09-2023, 06:41 PM
What you smiling at? 😕 😂

I’m being serious, I think Montgomery is a really ambitious move, if we can’t get him, it’ll be someone equally as ambitious.

I think Montgomery is the man.
Monty to lead us into battle 🙄

sauzeelegod
04-09-2023, 06:45 PM
Stephen Bradley is an interesting one.
Rumours he’s on the shortlist.
Done a great job in LOI

04-09-2023, 06:45 PM
Don't think it's going to be Lennon , Robinson , Gray or McInnes tbh . If it's not Montgomery I think it will be a foreign coach that will surprise us all . Only guessing though.

I think Bradley would be on the shortlist too.

babahibs
04-09-2023, 06:46 PM
Who are the five?

Montgomery
Lennon
Robinson
Gray?
McInnes?

Not even close

04-09-2023, 06:47 PM
Not even close

What’s the 5 then?

04-09-2023, 06:48 PM

Hopefully the old fox doesn't desert us too soon.....

04-09-2023, 06:48 PM
What’s the 5 then?All will be revealed! [emoji1]

04-09-2023, 06:49 PM
What’s the 5 then?Nick Montgomery
Mick Nontgomery
Monty Nickgomery
Nicholas Monty
Nick Monty

04-09-2023, 06:51 PM
What’s the 5 then?

Alan Pardrew, possibly Thursday 🤔🤔

04-09-2023, 06:53 PM
Who else has Billy facilitated it picking up?

That's the way to the real shortlist

04-09-2023, 06:56 PM
Think Billy has been duped.

It's been done before, y'know.....

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/I_Was_Monty%27s_Double_(film)

04-09-2023, 06:56 PM

That was last Thursday, you missed it

04-09-2023, 07:02 PM
I don't really know about Montgomery but would welcome him to the Club.

I will be up for whoever gets the job first home match Vs St Johnstone in a few weeks.

04-09-2023, 07:03 PM
Done a great job in LOI

Also knows Brian McDermott well, they have had numerous conversations over the last wee while.

babahibs
04-09-2023, 07:05 PM
Nick Montgomery
Mick Nontgomery
Monty Nickgomery
Nicholas Monty
Nick Monty

Closer

04-09-2023, 07:07 PM
Done a great job in LOI

If we’re looking at Bradley, would we also be considering Tiernan Lynch?

Done a good job at Larne with limited resources.

04-09-2023, 07:08 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/what-nick-montgomery-brings-hibs-30862371

Bit about Montgomery’s style of play

04-09-2023, 07:16 PM
Think I’ll be disappointed if it’s Robinson, Lennon, Bradley or a n other but more disappointed if it’s not Montgomery!

04-09-2023, 07:16 PM
https://x.com/plzsoccer/status/1698765370650415479?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Neil saying he’s heard nothing but it’s not cut and dry yet…

ErinGoBraghHFC
04-09-2023, 07:18 PM

Sure Larne are pretty minted in Irish League terms? Buying up a lot of the top players from their competitors I think, namely Levi Ives from Cliftonville. Could be wrong though mind you but I think they’re being bankrolled by a local millionaire

Edit: yes, bankrolled by Kenny Bruce, founder of purplebricks

Edit number 2: signed Scott Allan in the summer!

evy
04-09-2023, 07:19 PM

Larne haven't really had limited resources by Northern Irish football standards. The boy who owns them owns Purple Bricks and absolutely ploughed cash into them to get them to where they are now from being down the leagues a few seasons ago.

04-09-2023, 07:20 PM
https://x.com/plzsoccer/status/1698765370650415479?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Neil saying he’s heard nothing but it’s not cut and dry yet…Is he at the hairdressers?

04-09-2023, 07:20 PM

Neil saying he’s heard nothing but it’s not cut and dry yet…

If we had any interest in bringing him back he’d be well aware.

That’s not to say he’d be sharing anything if we had been in touch, but I’m not convinced we’re interested in Lennon.

04-09-2023, 07:23 PM
Sure Larne are pretty minted in Irish League terms? Buying up a lot of the top players from their competitors I think, namely Levi Ives from Cliftonville. Could be wrong though mind you but I think they’re being bankrolled by a local millionaire

Edit: yes, bankrolled by Kenny Bruce, founder of purplebricks

Edit number 2: signed Scott Allan in the summer!

Ah cheers, I thought they were a small team that were over achieving.

badabing67
04-09-2023, 07:42 PM
The fact that Polish guy was apparently on it but not on anybody’s radar suggests we are looking at a very different market from the likes of Robinson and McInnes.

What Polish guy?

04-09-2023, 07:45 PM
What Polish guy?Marek Papszun

1875M
04-09-2023, 07:45 PM
What Polish guy?

Marek Papszun’s name was mentioned. Apparently had an interview. Managed Rakow Czestochwa to their first ever major trophy in 2020/21 and has since backed that up with another Polish Cup win, two Polish Super Cup trophies and the Ekstraklasa title last term. Suggests we’re looking in a different market from McInnes, Lennon and Robinson.

leith lynx
04-09-2023, 07:50 PM
Mike Bassett spotted in Wetherspoons Foot of the Walk (pished).

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2023, 08:15 PM
I think Bradley would be on the shortlist too.
That's possible with him knowing McDermott though one appointment I'd be worried turns into another Pat Fenlon tbh.There's no arguing with his record at shamrock though they are one of the big fish in the league of Ireland imo .
https://extra.ie/2023/09/01/sport/soccernews/stephen-bradley-hibernian-link

04-09-2023, 08:19 PM
https://x.com/iainbroon90/status/1698423896125407308?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Quite an incredible stat for Kettlewell since joining Motherwell and is a wonder why he’s not wanted by more fans.

Obviously they were bottom 6 but still one heck of an achievement.

I think his crazy widows peak puts a lot of people off. I'd rather have Pardew as he has magnificent hair and is a mad s***ger apparently. Stubbs was a mad s***ger and look what he achieved with us. It's a no brainer.

04-09-2023, 08:20 PM

Being interviewed in Mordor tomorrow.

04-09-2023, 08:21 PM

:banana:

That was last Thursday, you missed it

:boo hoo:

04-09-2023, 08:24 PM

He’s in town to give naebadges sone coaching advice.

04-09-2023, 08:27 PM
Who was the last manager we appointed who was still employed by another club? Fenlon?

Trinity Hibee
04-09-2023, 08:29 PM
Who was the last manager we appointed who was still employed by another club? Fenlon?

Butcher was at ICT and was after Fenlon? Unless we are saying he wasnt a manager which I can completely agree with

04-09-2023, 08:30 PM

That would be Butcher unfortunately.

04-09-2023, 08:32 PM

How could I possibly forget😒

Silky
04-09-2023, 08:33 PM

Stubbs was technically employed by Everton. I'm sure we had to get permission to talk to him.

04-09-2023, 08:43 PM
He’s in town to give naebadges sone coaching advice.

4 4 bloody 2 :greengrin

04-09-2023, 08:53 PM
If, as rumoured,there is a short list of 4/5, it seem courtesy to hear them all in an official interview setting.
I think that is the "form".
Bit mysterious though about the Monty chat
Some "reports" say he said his goodbyes to the Mariners and on his way to Scotland
What does that suggest,if true ? All a bit strange .

Mick,

I have urged caution repeatedly recently although some seem to have simply taken the word of the Daily Record, or their friends in Oz who have read the Daily Record over here and repeated what it said.

Nothing over here has been confirmed yet….that I am yet aware of at any rate.

Pretty sure the process has still a bit to run before Monte holds the scarf above his head…..if he does, that is.

If he does come, I don’t think there will be a pool, mansion, car etc, but Hibs Directors will be aware that it’s a huge lifestyle change for his family…..especially the kids and no doubt will be seeking to reassure him about that.

As I said elsewhere, pretty sure they will be sold on the move after a visit to Port Beach and smelling the Seafield sea air:wink:

04-09-2023, 08:54 PM
4 4 bloody 2 :greengrin

No Christmas tree formation.

Is he still driving a Daewoo? Car of the future.

04-09-2023, 09:06 PM
Mick,

I have urged caution repeatedly recently although some seem to have simply taken the word of the Daily Record, or their friends in Oz who have read the Daily Record over here and repeated what it said.

Pretty sure the process has still a bit to run before Monte holds the scarf above his head…..if he does, that is.

If he does come, I don’t think there will be a pool, mansion, car etc, but Hibs Directors will be aware that it’s a huge lifestyle change for his family…..especially the kids and no doubt will be seeking to reassure him about that.

As I said elsewhere, pretty sure they will be sold on the move after a visit to Port Beach and smelling the Seafield sea air:wink:

I wouldn't discount the attractions of family life in Edinburgh too quickly, in fairness

Some of the best education in the English speaking world etc (though the outdoor lifestyle is amazing down under🙂)

04-09-2023, 09:11 PM
I wouldn't discount the attractions of family life in Edinburgh too quickly, in fairness

Some of the best education in the English speaking world etc (though the outdoor lifestyle is amazing down under🙂)

Less things trying to kill you in the UK compared to Australia though.

https://www.thrillist.com/travel/nation/things-in-australia-that-will-kill-you-animals-that-will-try-to-kill-you

Rumble de Thump
04-09-2023, 09:13 PM
Mick,

There's the Leith Victoria Swim Centre.

04-09-2023, 09:34 PM

Some of the best education in the English speaking world etc (though the outdoor lifestyle is amazing down under��)

Aye, the edukation did wonders for me right enuff.��

04-09-2023, 09:41 PM
That's possible with him knowing McDermott though one appointment I'd be worried turns into another Pat Fenlon tbh.There's no arguing with his record at shamrock though they are one of the big fish in the league of Ireland imo .
https://extra.ie/2023/09/01/sport/soccernews/stephen-bradley-hibernian-linkAnother Pat Fenlon ? 2 cup finals in less than 2 years . Top of the league at Christmas after beating Celtic at ER . Has Hibs outplaying Hearts in a league match then knocking them out of the SC within months of 2012 cup final disaster then climbing to 5th in the league within weeks of Malmo disaster ie a manager who learnt from his mistakes . Fenlon was one of our better managers of the last 50 years and statistics prove it . Lazy journalism tends to affect people`s opinions of managers ie Turnbull ( left team set for relegation ) , Stubbs ( didn`t get us promotion ) , and others are branded for life as good managers while others are branded as bad whatever they did with us and afterwards despite different levels of finance ( Latapy and Sauzee weren`t cheap not were McGinn , McGeoch and others compared with what likes of Fenlon were able to sign ) . Maloney another who is written off as a bad Hibs manager despite taking over a massively struggling team which had a terrible injury list but got us through tricky cup ties and almost to the final and was unlucky not to take us to top 6 and probably Europe . Whoever is our next manager will probably leave in less than 2 years , maybe in less than 1 year . Some journalists will decide if he`s been a good or bad Hibs manager .

04-09-2023, 09:44 PM

He wants to manage in the EPL. He won't get there directly from Oz so coming here would be a step towards it.

04-09-2023, 09:48 PM
Another Pat Fenlon ? 2 cup finals in less than 2 years . Top of the league at Christmas after beating Celtic at ER . Has Hibs outplaying Hearts in a league match then knocking them out of the SC within months of 2012 cup final disaster then climbing to 5th in the league within weeks of Malmo disaster ie a manager who learnt from his mistakes . Fenlon was one of our better managers of the last 50 years and statistics prove it . Lazy journalism tends to affect people`s opinions of managers ie Turnbull ( left team set for relegation ) , Stubbs ( didn`t get us promotion ) , and others are branded for life as good managers while others are branded as bad whatever they did with us and afterwards despite different levels of finance ( Latapy and Sauzee weren`t cheap not were McGinn , McGeoch and others compared with what likes of Fenlon were able to sign ) . Maloney another who is written off as a bad Hibs manager despite taking over a massively struggling team which had a terrible injury list but got us through tricky cup ties and almost to the final and was unlucky not to take us to top 6 and probably Europe . Whoever is our next manager will probably leave in less than 2 years , maybe in less than 1 year . Some journalists will decide if he`s been a good or bad Hibs manager .

Maloney was a ****ing disaster, I didn’t need a journalist to decide that for me, I saw it with my own eyes while attending games while he was in charge.

04-09-2023, 09:51 PM
Another Pat Fenlon ? 2 cup finals in less than 2 years . Top of the league at Christmas after beating Celtic at ER . Has Hibs outplaying Hearts in a league match then knocking them out of the SC within months of 2012 cup final disaster then climbing to 5th in the league within weeks of Malmo disaster ie a manager who learnt from his mistakes . Fenlon was one of our better managers of the last 50 years and statistics prove it . Lazy journalism tends to affect people`s opinions of managers ie Turnbull ( left team set for relegation ) , Stubbs ( didn`t get us promotion ) , and others are branded for life as good managers while others are branded as bad whatever they did with us and afterwards despite different levels of finance ( Latapy and Sauzee weren`t cheap not were McGinn , McGeoch and others compared with what likes of Fenlon were able to sign ) . Maloney another who is written off as a bad Hibs manager despite taking over a massively struggling team which had a terrible injury list but got us through tricky cup ties and almost to the final and was unlucky not to take us to top 6 and probably Europe . Whoever is our next manager will probably leave in less than 2 years , maybe in less than 1 year . Some journalists will decide if he`s been a good or bad Hibs manager .

Agreed with everything u said. But maloney was honking couldn't command a dressing room.

Just_Jimmy
04-09-2023, 09:52 PM
Another Pat Fenlon ? 2 cup finals in less than 2 years . Top of the league at Christmas after beating Celtic at ER . Has Hibs outplaying Hearts in a league match then knocking them out of the SC within months of 2012 cup final disaster then climbing to 5th in the league within weeks of Malmo disaster ie a manager who learnt from his mistakes . Fenlon was one of our better managers of the last 50 years and statistics prove it . Lazy journalism tends to affect people`s opinions of managers ie Turnbull ( left team set for relegation ) , Stubbs ( didn`t get us promotion ) , and others are branded for life as good managers while others are branded as bad whatever they did with us and afterwards despite different levels of finance ( Latapy and Sauzee weren`t cheap not were McGinn , McGeoch and others compared with what likes of Fenlon were able to sign ) . Maloney another who is written off as a bad Hibs manager despite taking over a massively struggling team which had a terrible injury list but got us through tricky cup ties and almost to the final and was unlucky not to take us to top 6 and probably Europe . Whoever is our next manager will probably leave in less than 2 years , maybe in less than 1 year . Some journalists will decide if he`s been a good or bad Hibs manager .Hibs fans decide who's good or bad. There's others who have pros and cons but let's not try and re write history.

Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
04-09-2023, 10:39 PM
Fair enough if you were happy with the two cup finals Fenlon got us and the Malmö result . I liked Fenlon though thought the Hibs job was to big for him TBH . Some of the signings were poor as well imo.
https://images.app.goo.gl/awvGeNk1eSJYJSWb9 .

Turnbull and Stubbs were successful Hibs manager's . Fenlon wasn't . Stubbs also built a whole new team . As for Maloney the guy was a disaster and Hibs never really looked like scoring .

I didn't particularly enjoy the time Fenlon was manager and think Bradley might end up the same way or worse . As I said he's in charge of one big clubs in league of Ireland and doing remarkable well though Stephen Kenny also won league titles in the league of Ireland though was sacked at Dunfermline and should have been sacked ages ago as Ireland manager were he looks totally lost .

Greenworld
04-09-2023, 11:03 PM
Mick,

As I said elsewhere, pretty sure they will be sold on the move after a visit to Port Beach and smelling the Seafield sea air:wink:You don't think he already knows what it's like he spent his life in Sheffield, Edinburgh will be wonderfull compared to that. Not everyone likes the heat of aus .
It's not scarf above the head yet but I still think he's our next manager and think he will be a good fit .

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

05-09-2023, 02:02 AM
You don't think he already knows what it's like he spent his life in Sheffield, Edinburgh will be wonderfull compared to that. Not everyone likes the heat of aus .
It's not scarf above the head yet but I still think he's our next manager and think he will be a good fit .

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

It’s more his wife and daughters I was referring to, not Monte himself.

05-09-2023, 05:28 AM
ALF gives his thoughts on Montgomery https://x.com/scotsmansport/status/1698814423756910990?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

05-09-2023, 06:18 AM
Still Gray's time for me. His 'legacy' will never be ruined or tarnished and he will always be a Hibs legend regardless.

05-09-2023, 07:30 AM
Johnson was on very thin ice with results and behind the scenes problems, I'd assume they'd started the process a couple of weeks before he was actually sacked, hence why he may be appointed shortly. I like the fact that Montgomery plays a high press attacking style but have we got the players to do that consistently, a few players will have to get a lot fitter and change their sloppy attitudes.

05-09-2023, 07:36 AM
Who are the five?

Montgomery
Lennon
Robinson
Gray?
McInnes?

It's deffo not lennon as he said himself he's heard nothing from Hibs board last night - and rightly so he had his chance with us and blew it.

05-09-2023, 09:20 AM
Johnson was on very thin ice with results and behind the scenes problems, I'd assume they'd started the process a couple of weeks before he was actually sacked, hence why he may be appointed shortly. I like the fact that Montgomery plays a high press attacking style but have we got the players to do that consistently, a few players will have to get a lot fitter and change their sloppy attitudes.

A well run Hibs should always have the process ticking over in the background in case our manager is either poached or sacked. That doesn't mean actually contacting anyone, just McDermott doing some long term monitoring of possible candidates.

05-09-2023, 09:31 AM
A well run Hibs should always have the process ticking over in the background in case our manager is either poached or sacked. That doesn't mean actually contacting anyone, just McDermott doing some long term monitoring of possible candidates.

I would guess that's why the Polish guy's name appeared on the list of possibles.

05-09-2023, 10:13 AM
@henrywinter

Steve Evans not interested in the Hibs vacancy.

👀👀

05-09-2023, 10:18 AM
@henrywinter

👀👀

That is very funny from Steve. Hibs were never interested in appointing him either.

05-09-2023, 10:19 AM
@henrywinter

👀👀

Obviously heard we weren't interested in him so putting his name out there for other jobs.

05-09-2023, 10:20 AM
@henrywinter

👀👀

Oh that's a shame.... Anyway.

05-09-2023, 10:22 AM
@henrywinter

👀👀

I’d also like to rule myself out.

That was easy, Steve!

05-09-2023, 10:22 AM
That is very funny from Steve. Hibs were never interested in appointing him either.

I would hope not he'd be very uninspiring. Henry Winter is the chief football writer for the Times.

05-09-2023, 10:24 AM
@henrywinter

👀👀

Why's a journalist who is high profile enough to be a fairly high brow telly/radio talking head and almost exclusively deals in Premier League and England remotely bothered about Steve Evans and/or Hibs?

I find that all very odd, much odder than I should.

05-09-2023, 11:03 AM
Hopefully the old fox doesn't desert us too soon.....

👍

05-09-2023, 11:03 AM

👍

05-09-2023, 11:40 AM
Reads to me like Evans applied
NfI (no interview)
So saving face

Might be wrong but he's nowhere near being what we need

05-09-2023, 01:11 PM
Regardless of who it is, i'm not going to listen to their long winded philosophies on how the game should be played etc. I completely bought in to it with Lee Johnson and wont make that mistake again. Just ends in disappointment and false expectations. I'll judge them on how Hibs play under their management and that only. Everything else is just hot air.

05-09-2023, 01:23 PM
Regardless of who it is, i'm not going to listen to their long winded philosophies on how the game should be played etc. I completely bought in to it with Lee Johnson and wont make that mistake again. Just ends in disappointment and false expectations. I'll judge them on how Hibs play under their management and that only. Everything else is just hot air.

I’m heartened by the fact that CCM fans seem a mixture of gutted and resigned to losing him. Says a lot.

05-09-2023, 01:55 PM
I’m heartened by the fact that CCM fans seem a mixture of gutted and resigned to losing him. Says a lot.

It says that they like him and that he had some success with them. Nothing more really.

We were all disappointed when Stubbs left. He subsequently failed.

Obviously I'd rather they were disappointed to lose him than deliriously happy, but it's not even close to a guarantee of future success.

I realise that you're aware of that. I'm just joining in with the chat.

05-09-2023, 01:58 PM
Still Gray's time for me. His 'legacy' will never be ruined or tarnished and he will always be a Hibs legend regardless.

So much trash talking on here telling us David definitely ‘isn’t ready’. Nobody can say that for sure.

If it’s not his time I hope he remains at Hibs and continues his development as a coach. Hibs manager David Gray one day… he has time on his side.

05-09-2023, 02:12 PM

I just listened to an interview with him which I think was from last year, I was surprised when he said he had been at CCM for 10 years

05-09-2023, 02:25 PM
Why's a journalist who is high profile enough to be a fairly high brow telly/radio talking head and almost exclusively deals in Premier League and England remotely bothered about Steve Evans and/or Hibs?

I find that all very odd, much odder than I should.

No doubt helping out a mate

mcohibs
05-09-2023, 02:29 PM
So much trash talking on here telling us David definitely ‘isn’t ready’. Nobody can say that for sure.

If it’s not his time I hope he remains at Hibs and continues his development as a coach. Hibs manager David Gray one day… he has time on his side.

Does Gray even have his pro license?

HibeeSince85
05-09-2023, 02:33 PM
It's Montgomery. Announced by the end of the week after meeting the board, backroom team from Oz will be joining him. If he's not already in Edinburgh then he will be shortly.

05-09-2023, 02:38 PM
It's Montgomery. Announced by the end of the week after meeting the board, backroom team from Oz will be joining him. If he's not already in Edinburgh then he will be shortly.

Thanks Fabrizio.

05-09-2023, 02:38 PM

Source?

HibeeSince85
05-09-2023, 02:42 PM
Source?

A reliable one. I'm not being wide, I never get ITK info and if I shared the source it would be easy enough to work it back to me.

05-09-2023, 02:42 PM
@henrywinter

[emoji102][emoji102]Hibs vacancy not interested in Steve Evans.....

05-09-2023, 02:43 PM

Call an emergency board meeting and just get it done and announced now please Hibs. 😀

But well done for getting it over the line and sorted quickly. None of this 2 month worldwide search, and loads of high calibre candidates, to then only discover the best person for the job was right here under our noses all this time malarky. 😂

05-09-2023, 02:44 PM
A reliable one. I'm not being wide, I never get ITK info and if I shared the source it would be easy enough to work it back to me.

Appreciate you sharing.

Nick Montgomery's Green and White Army 💚🙌

05-09-2023, 02:44 PM
#MannounceMonty

05-09-2023, 02:45 PM
@henrywinter

👀👀

The old boys network doing its thing.

Steve Evans, are you having a laugh?

05-09-2023, 02:47 PM
Call an emergency board meeting and just get it done and announced now please Hibs. 😀

But well done for getting it over the line and sorted quickly. None of this 2 month worldwide search to then only discover the best person for the job was right here under our noses all this time malarky. 😂

Get him locked in a room until he signs on the dotted!

Victor
05-09-2023, 02:47 PM

Eh? It wasn’t all bad………………….oh wait….!

05-09-2023, 02:49 PM
It's deffo not lennon as he said himself he's heard nothing from Hibs board last night - and rightly so he had his chance with us and blew it.

He did. This club is nobody’s b****, even if some supporters will lose their minds unless darling Neil returns.

Even a cursory ‘I feel bad about the way I left, that wasn’t fair on the supporters who had given me so much backing’ would go some way to repairing his reputation in my eyes.

As it is, he can hardly be surprised that Hibs would be very, very wary about hiring Lennon again.

05-09-2023, 03:17 PM
Call an emergency board meeting and just get it done and announced now please Hibs. ��

But well done for getting it over the line and sorted quickly. None of this 2 month worldwide search, and loads of high calibre candidates, to then only discover the best person for the job was right here under our noses all this time malarky. ��

Or in the changing room in the Hibs Shop.

05-09-2023, 03:20 PM
He did. This club is nobody’s b****, even if some supporters will lose their minds unless darling Neil returns.

Even a cursory ‘I feel bad about the way I left, that wasn’t fair on the supporters who had given me so much backing’ would go some way to repairing his reputation in my eyes.

As it is, he can hardly be surprised that Hibs would be very, very wary about hiring Lennon again.
I think many teams will be wary after the way he left us and following that the shambles he made of Celtic's title defence. I think as a manager, his race may be run.

Daily Hibs
05-09-2023, 03:24 PM
Appointing Montgomery would be huge risk.

One that I dont think we can take.

I noticed he is now being pushed on Longbangers podcast, is this a tip off from the club?

05-09-2023, 03:24 PM

Cheers for sharing and happy if true.

05-09-2023, 03:26 PM
More than happy with this appointment.

05-09-2023, 03:29 PM

Likewise.

Curried
05-09-2023, 03:29 PM
Very happy if true.

USA_Hibee
05-09-2023, 03:30 PM
If this happens then I am happy. I hope those who are apprehensive / negative towards his appointment will be patient and supportive regardless. Patient being the key.

05-09-2023, 03:30 PM

I noticed he is now being pushed on Longbangers podcast, is this a tip off from the club?

A guy who coaches, who motivates, who improves players?

A guy who takes the lowest budget team in his league to trophy success?

And whose players and fans are gutted to see him leave but wishing him all the best?

I'm all-in for that kind of risk

05-09-2023, 03:34 PM

Who isn’t a risk? Can you name one candidate certain to be risk free?

05-09-2023, 03:36 PM

Yeah, I’m excited by this.

GreenPJ
05-09-2023, 03:36 PM
I think many teams will be wary after the way he left us and following that the shambles he made of Celtic's title defence. I think as a manager, his race may be run.

He needs an international manager role.

Caversham Green
05-09-2023, 03:37 PM
#MannounceMonty

Aye - 'mon tae f***

05-09-2023, 03:45 PM
Is there a chance that people might be getting a wee bit carried away with the fact that his club supposedly has the smallest budget in the A league? Is there a great deal of difference between the clubs in the division? I have no knowledge of what A league finances are like but I'd be surprised if he was competing against a gap like there is between the old firm and the rest of Scottish football. Clearly it's not a negative but that seems to be what people are hanging their hat on when they would prefer him to other candidates who have a proven record like Lennon, McInnes and Robinson.

sauzeelegod
05-09-2023, 03:53 PM
A guy who coaches, who motivates, who improves players?

A guy who takes the lowest budget team in his league to trophy success?

And whose players and fans are gutted to see him leave but wishing him all the best?

I'm all-in for that kind of risk

How many Mariners games have you seen? How many have all the people on here who are buzzing with the news seen?

He’s been a manager for 60 games in the Aussie league.
I think it’s reasonable for some folk to have reservations about this news if true.

Daily Hibs
05-09-2023, 03:54 PM
Who isn’t a risk? Can you name one candidate certain to be risk free?

McInnes.

Daily Hibs
05-09-2023, 03:55 PM
Is there a chance that people might be getting a wee bit carried away with the fact that his club supposedly has the smallest budget in the A league? Is there a great deal of difference between the clubs in the division? I have no knowledge of what A league finances are like but I'd be surprised if he was competing against a gap like there is between the old firm and the rest of Scottish football. Clearly it's not a negative but that seems to be what people are hanging their hat on when they would prefer him to other candidates who have a proven record like Lennon, McInnes and Robinson.

Yep makes no sense. I get football is an emotional sport but this guy would be a huge risk.

05-09-2023, 03:56 PM
McInnes.

He doesn't want the job.

05-09-2023, 04:01 PM
How many Mariners games have you seen? How many have all the people on here who are buzzing with the news seen?

I think it’s reasonable for some folk to have reservations about this news if true.

Fair question that deserves a fair & honest answer

I saw the cup final 3 months ago where he took a difficult to manage striker (Jason cummings) and created a team that got the most out of its potential, winning 6-1, against a team with far greater resources.

I could relate to all of it & we can all recognise really good management when we see it

BigKev
05-09-2023, 04:03 PM
Yep makes no sense. I get football is an emotional sport but this guy would be a huge risk.

So you would prefer McInnes? Based on what?

05-09-2023, 04:06 PM
He doesn't want the job.

Did we ask?

05-09-2023, 04:08 PM

It's amazing how quickly so many people have decided he's the man for the job already.

I've no idea how his name was mentioned in the first place but I believe the media reports saying we've only just started the interview process and are looking at 4 or 5 names.

If Montgomery doesn't get it, and I don't think he will, there's going to be an awful lot of disappointed fans through no fault of the club.

05-09-2023, 04:18 PM
He doesn't want the job.That is quite risky, yes.

DIXIHIBS
05-09-2023, 04:23 PM
McInnes.

No guarantees with any manager.

05-09-2023, 04:29 PM
When it comes to looking for players, you dream of finding the player who’s going to be the next to emulate someone like John McGinn - near the start of their career having shown promise that they can do much further.

They improve themselves, the team, bring you success and move on for a tidy sum of money.

What’s the difference here? Montgomery has shown he has something about him. If he does very well he leaves us a better team and with a wad of compensation. Sure, there’s a risk, but the potential reward is greater.

05-09-2023, 04:31 PM
McInnes.

Not certain to be risk free.

Curried
05-09-2023, 04:36 PM

Heap's.... and the man for Monty.......... He Say's YES :-)

05-09-2023, 04:41 PM
Did we ask?

Do you know whether we did or not?

05-09-2023, 04:49 PM
McInnes.

OK but how is he risk free? Hes had relative success with Aberdeen then things went stale. Hes done OK with Kilmarnock. I dont see how he guarantees success but Montgomery doesnt?

Caversham Green
05-09-2023, 05:00 PM

He's been a manager for 60 more games than Mowbray, Collins and Stubbs combined had when they were appointed.

Hibdan12
05-09-2023, 05:00 PM

I noticed he is now being pushed on Longbangers podcast, is this a tip off from the club?If we want real success we need to take risks at our level. Otherwise what's the point, eye bleeding stuff under Mcinnes where 3rd in my opinion even top 6 isn't even guaranteed.

The beauty of supporting hibs in my opinion is take the ups with the downs and rolling the dice.

Sent from my Pixel 4a using Tapatalk

babahibs
05-09-2023, 05:01 PM
McInnes.

How is McInnes not a risk?

05-09-2023, 05:03 PM
You’ll never get an answer no point in questioning the poster.

05-09-2023, 05:05 PM
Anyone claiming a manager is risk free is revealing how bad their judgement is.

05-09-2023, 05:12 PM
McInness would be my choice if we were going for a Scottish based manager however the idea that he is in some way risk free is nonsense. If he was indeed a risk free managerial appointment he’d be at a much bigger club than Kilmarnock right now.

The reality is he did very well at Aberdeen under very favourable conditions but by the end it was going south at a rate of knots and the Aberdeen team he left was a shadow of what they were at their peak. 1 win and 1 goal in his final 9 league games caused him to lose his job - any manager who manages to go on such a run with at least the 4th biggest budget in the league definitely can’t be referred to as risk free.

05-09-2023, 05:18 PM
I can only go by what I've read and seen and so far I like the idea of Montgomery, a young forward thinking coach who likes attacking high press (hopefully not the high press promised by LJ) football and giving the youngsters a chance to show what they can do, yes every manager is a risk but LJ was meant to be a seasoned manager and he was rotten.

05-09-2023, 05:45 PM
I can only go by what I've read and seen and so far I like the idea of Montgomery, a young forward thinking coach who likes attacking high press (hopefully not the high press promised by LJ) football and giving the youngsters a chance to show what they can do, yes every manager is a risk but LJ was meant to be a seasoned manager and he was rotten.

I always wonder why managers with several hundred games of experience down south end up at Hibs (or any other Scottish club outwith Rangers or Celtic).

For every Steve Clarke, there are bucketloads of Johnsons and the like.

Daily Hibs
05-09-2023, 05:45 PM
How is McInnes not a risk?

There is always a degree of risk in a managerial appointment.

In my expert opinion the scale is McInnes = low risk. Montogomery = big risk.

Donegal Hibby
05-09-2023, 05:47 PM
No manager we'd appoint would be risk free . Hopefully we get Monty who I think will be an exciting appointment who has done a fantastic job at CCM in developing young players and playing attacking football . His current club and fans don't want to lose him which speaks volumes about the guy and players seem to hold him in high regard too . Ambitious move by our club that I'd be delighted with if it happens . GGTTH 🇳🇬

Daily Hibs
05-09-2023, 05:51 PM
Lets be serious though whoever it is, if it is indeed Montgomery he has to bring in his own coaching staff and get rid of the untouchables that have failed so many managers before. Preferably released from the club to allows us to move on properly.

Otherwise we will be back to this exact same thread.

It is 2023 not 2016.

05-09-2023, 05:52 PM
Would love to see Montgomery appointed this week and then get poached away in two years time by an English club because he's been a roaring success similar to Ange at Celtic. As long as the board have a succession plan in place we'll all thank him and wish him well.

05-09-2023, 05:59 PM

It's amazing how quickly so many people have decided he's the man for the job already.

I've no idea how his name was mentioned in the first place but I believe the media reports saying we've only just started the interview process and are looking at 4 or 5 names.

If Montgomery doesn't get it, and I don't think he will, there's going to be an awful lot of disappointed fans through no fault of the club.
If he doesn't let's hope it's not your preferred choice who would be a disaster 2nd time round.

05-09-2023, 06:02 PM
There is always a degree of risk in a managerial appointment.

In my expert opinion the scale is McInnes = low risk. Montogomery = big risk.
In what way are you an expert? :greengrin

JammyDoidger
05-09-2023, 06:02 PM
Rumours on twitter Monty deal off, Lennon going to get it, time will tell.

05-09-2023, 06:06 PM
Rumours on twitter Monty deal off, Lennon going to get it, time will tell.