View Full Version : Who for next manager?

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16

NGoloGrantie
08-09-2023, 12:03 PM
Where’s this monty announcement eh

08-09-2023, 12:03 PM
Maybe 2pm

Or Thursday

Skol
08-09-2023, 12:04 PM
Damp squib rather than going with a bang

08-09-2023, 12:05 PM
So 2pm then? :greengrin

GreenPJ
08-09-2023, 12:07 PM
Am guessing the assistant will need a visa?

08-09-2023, 12:12 PM
Season ticket holder in the East for the last 8 years actually. I stand by my point that hiring a run of the mill journeyman manager doesn’t excite me the same way that hiring a young up and coming manager does. Out of all the candidates mentioned Montgomery seems to tick all the boxes that I want out of a Hibs manager. I understand that other people have differing opinions and want a “safe paid of hands” so to speak, but personally I think if a candidate like Montgomery is available then Hibs should absolutely take the risk in appointing him with the hope he can push us on and take us to the next level.

And apologies to anyone who finds my username offensive. I don’t take myself too seriously, and certainly don’t get up in arms about a tongue and cheek phrase used by other fans to poke fun at Hibs. As SJM said in his interview straight after the cup final “Aye we’ve Hibsed It”. Hopefully with a new man in charge we can kick on and use it more often to ram it down the throats of the rest of the league.

8 years eh? OK easy to verify, for about the last 4 years there's been a huge mural at the south end of the east concourse, who is it of?

08-09-2023, 12:17 PM
I assume he's bringing his assistant Sergio?

Eaststand
08-09-2023, 12:18 PM
8 years eh? OK easy to verify, for about the last 4 years there's been a huge mural at the south end of the east concourse, who is it of?

My guess is it's Wayne Foster............................
.....Doh 😎

08-09-2023, 12:18 PM
I'd hazard a guess that all will be quiet until after tonight's international.

Mystic Meg is now predicting Monday as the day of the big announcement.

08-09-2023, 12:19 PM
Damp squib rather than going with a bang

Maybe it was just a shot in the dark?

Skol
08-09-2023, 12:20 PM
Or a nail in the coffin

Probably a nicely manicured nail.

And now we are left with a big question mark.

Where’s this monty announcement eh

Looking like it WAS misinformation…..or the plans have changed.

Sorry folks…….I’ll stick with the Nail Bar as my source in future.

08-09-2023, 12:28 PM
This Australian account thinks it's announced today
https://twitter.com/Gatty54/status/1700016969687441887?t=zsX6Wt3BVPyvVVlurZeI8g&s=19

He is right, said Fred.

HibeeSince85
08-09-2023, 12:29 PM

He was definitely being announced by the end of the week and his assistant was coming with him. Just need clarity on if it is the working week or the full week.

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2023, 12:29 PM
Forza Fred - could you help me with an important question before I decide if I would like NM to join us - never mind about whether or not he’s a Hun,Jambo etc - what is his AFL team - pray to god he’s not a Collingwood supporter 🙏Teeth look intact so probs not 🤭

Silky
08-09-2023, 12:30 PM
He is right, said Fred.

At least he was prepared to Stand Up with his information!

sorryfolks
08-09-2023, 12:33 PM
I actually don’t know, which makes it sound like I’m lying. My seat is in Block 41 so I’m never up the far end of the concourse. Generally I enter somewhere in the middle of the stand, slightly towards the Famous 5 end. My season ticket advises me to enter through turnstiles 43-52. There’s a gents toilet just to the left of the entrance to the stand as you go through the concourse towards the seats to get to my seat. I then have to turn right and head up the stairs. One of the food kiosks is to the right of that entranceway. There’s large prints/photos of old programme covers on the walls of the concourse. The kiosks were redone 2(?) seasons ago and are coloured green, white and yellow. The old betting kiosks (there’s 2 of them, one at each end of the stand) sell juice, nachos etc but not hot food. I’m trying to think of other things in the concourse that might help persuade you but that’s all I’ve got off the top of my head.

08-09-2023, 12:33 PM
Forza Fred - could you help me with an important question before I decide if I would like NM to join us - never mind about whether or not he’s a Hun,Jambo etc - what is his AFL team - pray to god he’s not a Collingwood supporter 🙏Teeth look intact so probs not 🤭

Doubt if he’s got one.

AFL is the big game in Victoria and W.A. And S.A…but in Queensland and New South Wales where Monty is based, it’s Rugby League.

08-09-2023, 12:34 PM
I actually don’t know, which makes it sound like I’m lying. My seat is in Block 41 so I’m never up the far end of the concourse. Generally I enter somewhere in the middle of the stand, slightly towards the Famous 5 end. My season ticket advises me to enter through turnstiles 43-52. There’s a gents toilet just to the left of the entrance to the stand as you go through the concourse towards the seats. One of the food kiosks is to the right of that entranceway. There’s large prints/photos of old programme covers on the walls of the concourse. The kiosks were redone 2(?) seasons ago and are coloured green, white and yellow. The old betting kiosks (there’s 2 of them, one at each end of the stand) sell juice, nachos etc but not hot food. I’m trying to think of other things in the concourse that might help persuade you but that’s all I’ve got off the top of my head.
I wouldn’t worry about it mate. I’ve been in the east on and off for about 15 years and can’t tell you what the mural is.

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2023, 12:35 PM
Doubt if he’s got one.

AFL is the big game in Victoria and W.A. And S.A…but in Queensland and New South Wales where Monty is based, it’s Rugby League.

I was living in Melbourne and that is what they all said there too - so unlikely to be a C fan so that’s all good. - he can come 🤭

08-09-2023, 12:44 PM
Monty.

Lee Marvin
08-09-2023, 12:44 PM
Monty f cuk..just get this announced Hibs

08-09-2023, 12:54 PM
I actually don’t know, which makes it sound like I’m lying. My seat is in Block 41 so I’m never up the far end of the concourse. Generally I enter somewhere in the middle of the stand, slightly towards the Famous 5 end. My season ticket advises me to enter through turnstiles 43-52. There’s a gents toilet just to the left of the entrance to the stand as you go through the concourse towards the seats to get to my seat. I then have to turn right and head up the stairs. One of the food kiosks is to the right of that entranceway. There’s large prints/photos of old programme covers on the walls of the concourse. The kiosks were redone 2(?) seasons ago and are coloured green, white and yellow. The old betting kiosks (there’s 2 of them, one at each end of the stand) sell juice, nachos etc but not hot food. I’m trying to think of other things in the concourse that might help persuade you but that’s all I’ve got off the top of my head.

I can't tell you what the mural is either. However, the user name is gash, whatever the motivation or inspiration. Personally speaking, I think it's pretty unbecoming for any fan to use it. McGinn has privileges not extended us ordinary mortals, so he can say it after he just won the cup. For all others, it's just a GTF.

Hibees1973
08-09-2023, 01:00 PM

Just give NN your mum's maiden name and he should be happy with that.

08-09-2023, 01:09 PM
Just give NN your mum's maiden name and he should be happy with that.Jambetta.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

08-09-2023, 01:13 PM

It was a trick question mate. I'm only ever in the east for non ST games and AFAIK there's isn't a mural in the stand, or if there is I've never seen it :greengrin

But the username ... jeezo mate, nae wonder folk are looking at you sideways :confused:

08-09-2023, 01:15 PM
i actually don’t know, which makes it sound like i’m lying. My seat is in block 41 so i’m never up the far end of the concourse. Generally i enter somewhere in the middle of the stand, slightly towards the famous 5 end. My season ticket advises me to enter through turnstiles 43-52. There’s a gents toilet just to the left of the entrance to the stand as you go through the concourse towards the seats to get to my seat. I then have to turn right and head up the stairs. One of the food kiosks is to the right of that entranceway. There’s large prints/photos of old programme covers on the walls of the concourse. The kiosks were redone 2(?) seasons ago and are coloured green, white and yellow. The old betting kiosks (there’s 2 of them, one at each end of the stand) sell juice, nachos etc but not hot food. I’m trying to think of other things in the concourse that might help persuade you but that’s all i’ve got off the top of my head.

tmi

08-09-2023, 01:19 PM
It was a trick question mate. I'm only ever in the east for non ST games and AFAIK there's isn't a mural in the stand, or if there is I've never seen it :greengrin

But the username ... jeezo mate, nae wonder folk are looking at you sideways :confused:
I chose my name to take the p*** out of the Jambo dafties on what used to be the Scotsman boards. They all called Hibs fans Hobos, spoon burners etc etc so I used my name and they weren't sure what to do with it lol. Agreed though, that particular user name is going way way way too far.

sorryfolks
08-09-2023, 01:24 PM
I can't tell you what the mural is either. However, the user name is gash, whatever the motivation or inspiration. Personally speaking, I think it's pretty unbecoming for any fan to use it. McGinn has privileges not extended us ordinary mortals, so he can say it after he just won the cup. For all others, it's just a GTF.
That’s fair do’s. I’m not above criticism, and can understand the dissatisfaction. I’ll admit it was an error of judgement and will change it if needed but in reality it isn’t that deep. Anyway, this thread isn’t about my username so can we all move on and be friends, and support the new manager whoever that might be?

Edit: username changed. Apologies. Was in bad taste.

08-09-2023, 01:27 PM
I was living in Melbourne and that is what they all said there too - so unlikely to be a C fan so that’s all good. - he can come 🤭

Dont know about AFL or Rugby, but sure as heck not going to mention what they used to call Football when I lived there.
Great city, and just to pee of the locals I followed Freemantle dockers who had just started up.

So who is going to be the new Hibs manager, may we even be going for an outsider or someone from overseas, I did hear that a well known Spanish manager was seen in one of them fancy nail bars, but when I try and remember his name it is gone, may have been something like ******edifaknow.

Chorley Hibee
08-09-2023, 01:32 PM

There is a mural of the club badge.

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2023, 01:35 PM
Dont know about AFL or Rugby, but sure as heck not going to mention what they used to call Football when I lived there.
Great city, and just to pee of the locals I followed Freemantle dockers who had just started up.

So who is going to be the new Hibs manager, may we even be going for an outsider or someone from overseas, I did hear that a well known Spanish manager was seen in one of them fancy nail bars, but when I try and remember his name it is gone, may have been something like ******edifaknow.

That’s mental coz I went for the Dockers - purple and all that 😁

Too late -Barry Ferguson has been in the Nail Bar and it’s a done deal

08-09-2023, 01:37 PM

Unless it's Thursday, in which case that's Pardew day

08-09-2023, 01:37 PM

Awe Naw!

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2023, 01:40 PM
Awe Naw!

Get’s worse -Butcher is his assistant with Duff Jimmy comes in as Coach and Calderwood as Technical Director - the dream team 👍

scm70nyd1973
08-09-2023, 01:42 PM

Unless it's Thursday, in which case that's Pardew day

Oh aye forgot about that - remind me, who is named on a Saturday now 🤔Is that not Neil Lennon day or is that the Sunday 🤔

08-09-2023, 01:58 PM

Not sure but that could be an Ozzy Osbourne reference. Ozzy = Aussie. Montgomery is in Australia. Its totally coming together

08-09-2023, 02:03 PM
That’s fair do’s. I’m not above criticism, and can understand the dissatisfaction. I’ll admit it was an error of judgement and will change it if needed but in reality it isn’t that deep. Anyway, this thread isn’t about my username so can we all move on and be friends, and support the new manager whoever that might be?

George Foulkes??!!

😁 Just kidding… I couldn’t really give a **** what someone’s username is. There’s plenty on here arrive with the most hibs usernames going and get away with posting like jambos/trolls.

Anyway.. Monty now being mentioned on SSN.

08-09-2023, 02:07 PM
George Foulkes??!!

😁 Just kidding… I couldn’t really give a **** what someone’s username is. There’s plenty on here arrive with the most hibs usernames going and get away with posting like jambos/trolls.

Anyway.. Monty now being mentioned on SSN.

And? What did they say?

08-09-2023, 02:20 PM

I do love the way your now stuck with the Username "SorryFolks" reminds me of that Ronnie Corbett series back in the day....hang on Ronnie Corbett was a Hearts fan...is your new username some sort of code ? !!! How dare you sort of take the name of a TV series that once starred a nice bloke who just happened to be a Hearts fan !!:grr::grr::grr:

:greengrin just joking...everything will settle down once we have a new manager. All Hibs together

h1bs4life
08-09-2023, 02:22 PM

My take on it , not based on being in the know is that any announcement will be on Monday .
Sir David's testimonial dinner Saturday night , maybe no place for him in the new set up ( maybe there is ) but you could imagine the upset if any announcement made before Saturday night's doo
Unless SDG was getting the job , I would then expect it to be announced before Saturday night .

08-09-2023, 02:47 PM
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/former-hibs-and-sunderland-boss-set-to-replace-celtic-legend-as-manager-of-efl-club-4285659

Should save us a few bob of his gardening leave payments!
Wonder if they will put a bid in for young Mc Alistair 🤔

08-09-2023, 02:47 PM
And? What did they say?

Out the house now but it was on the scrolling headlines bit - something to the effect of us set to have talks with him about becoming manager.

Nothing groundbreaking but maybe that’s the main stream media leak that someone highlighted as being absent 👍

I for one am totally sold now. Welcome Monty.

08-09-2023, 02:59 PM

Not sure they could afford him looks a talent.

08-09-2023, 03:00 PM
My take on it , not based on being in the know is that any announcement will be on Monday .
Sir David's testimonial dinner Saturday night , maybe no place for him in the new set up ( maybe there is ) but you could imagine the upset if any announcement made before Saturday night's doo
Unless SDG was getting the job , I would then expect it to be announced before Saturday night .

Think they will do it tomorrow. Kind of want him in place so can start on Monday if it has been agreed of course.

08-09-2023, 03:26 PM
And now we are left with a big question mark.

It's a mystery...

08-09-2023, 03:28 PM

They don’t have a pot to piss in.

Hibees1973
08-09-2023, 03:29 PM
It's a mystery...

...I'm s searching for a clue

08-09-2023, 03:29 PM
It's a mystery...
Hibs are just Toyahn with us.....

He's here!
08-09-2023, 03:49 PM

Maybe they're waiting to announce SDG as the new boss at the dinner?

08-09-2023, 03:53 PM
Maybe they're waiting to announce SDG as the new boss at the dinner?
Stop it :confused:

MKHIBEE
08-09-2023, 03:53 PM
Hibs are just Toyahn with us.....

Frippin heck, I hope not

08-09-2023, 04:11 PM

Thought all the McAllisters moved back to Scotland

If LJ gets another job soon, hopefully will save Hibs some comp

Greenworld
08-09-2023, 04:28 PM

If LJ gets another job soon, hopefully will save Hibs some compAre Hibs still just continuing to pay the salary until they find another job ?

Sent from my SM-G975U1 using Tapatalk

08-09-2023, 04:45 PM

Superfurrywelcomes to hibs.net my friend x

08-09-2023, 04:48 PM
Are Hibs still just continuing to pay the salary until they find another job ?

No idea now, but it used to be a thing back in the day

08-09-2023, 04:53 PM
No idea now, but it used to be a thing back in the day

Not sure if it’s true but I read (was it around the time of Appleton) it’s a 3 month notice period. Back in the day you had to pay up the remaining contract if they didn’t get a job.

Shunky dweller Potter did it to the SFA and sat out his contract at full pay on gardening leave.

08-09-2023, 04:57 PM
It's a mystery...

Sensational

08-09-2023, 05:06 PM
Probably a lot to sort for a manager moving from the other side of the world, housing and schools for his kids. There could be talks regarding the role of David Grey if there is one.

08-09-2023, 05:31 PM
Are Hibs still just continuing to pay the salary until they find another job ?

There’s nothing standard and ultimately depends on the leverage the guy coming in has. Hibs could offer 30 days notice and chances are the candidate would tell them to bolt, equally the guy on the way in could demand his full contract be paid up and Hibs tell them to bolt.

Whatever terms Johnson was on isn’t clear. I would suspect he’ll be on some sort of gardening leave period, say, 90 days where we still pay him, but if he finds a new job that ends, but that’s just a guess! Can’t imagine he as a candidate would have been able to negotiate for much more than that.

08-09-2023, 05:33 PM

I've literally never noticed that. Mind you we always come in the North end.

08-09-2023, 05:43 PM
I am hearing from sources within the club, Monday. After the Cyprus game and Saint David Gray dinner but before the England game.

08-09-2023, 05:46 PM
I am hearing from sources within the club, Monday. After the Cyprus game and Saint David Gray dinner but before the England game.

Aye?

08-09-2023, 05:49 PM
This is all so stupid.

If it's done just get it announced. No one outside Hibs really gives a ****, our fans will be just as interested or engaged online if Scotland are playing Cyprus.

08-09-2023, 06:03 PM
Monty? :(

08-09-2023, 06:37 PM

Never won a major

08-09-2023, 06:58 PM
Never won a major

Runs a mean nuclear power plant, though.

08-09-2023, 07:27 PM
Runs a mean nuclear power plant, though.

08-09-2023, 07:30 PM
This is all so stupid.

If it's done just get it announced. No one outside Hibs really gives a ****, our fans will be just as interested or engaged online if Scotland are playing Cyprus.

Patience. The timing has to be right for maximum effect.

leith lynx
08-09-2023, 07:32 PM

Successful Flying Circus...

Greenwich_Hibby
08-09-2023, 07:33 PM
Naebody has a scooby...let's just wait on the club telling us.

sauzeelegod
08-09-2023, 07:41 PM

08-09-2023, 09:49 PM
Record saying Monty to be confirmed next week as our new gaffer.

08-09-2023, 09:51 PM

Which means it's probably already done a day or two ago as a few on here have confirmed.

08-09-2023, 09:55 PM

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/nick-montgomery-set-hibs-manager-30897598

Link to the article for anyone interested.

08-09-2023, 10:16 PM

Thread would be a bit boring though.

08-09-2023, 10:18 PM
Genuine question and not a criticism at the previous board. But by the old standards set by RP and STF and previous possible finance structure. Is appointing NM a step up in managers for hibs? Compared to fenlon, mixu and say butcher?

Hibby-G
08-09-2023, 10:23 PM
The insight provided by Hibs Central on Twitter for those who may have missed it:

“Nick Montgomery is set to be unveiled as the new manager of Hibernian FC next week after agreeing terms and Hibs agreeing compensation with the Mariners (£50k)

He will be assisted by Sergio Raimundo and David Gray.”

Happy enough with that, and looking forward to his time at the club.

08-09-2023, 10:25 PM
Genuine question and not a criticism at the previous board. But by the old standards set by RP and STF and previous possible finance structure. Is appointing NM a step up in managers for hibs? Compared to fenlon, mixu and say butcher?

Or Stubbs, Lennon, Mowbray, McLeish.

The truth is, we don't know who the next manager will be, but if it is Montgomery, we don't know how he'll compare so your question is unanswerable.

08-09-2023, 10:26 PM
The insight provided by Hibs Central on Twitter for those who may have missed it:

“Nick Montgomery is set to be unveiled as the new manager of Hibernian FC next week after agreeing terms and Hibs agreeing compensation with the Mariners (£50k)

I didn't see that coming.

I'm surprised the press haven't said much about it.

08-09-2023, 10:30 PM

The insight 😂

You mean, stuff they’ve regurgitated from everywhere else and try make it look as though they’re in the know?

08-09-2023, 10:36 PM

He lifts everything he posts from here, not got an issues with that as it just recaps what I've missed on .net.

09-09-2023, 02:23 AM
This is all so stupid.

No just our fans.

The Jambo infiltrators too…..although they’ll have to find something else to occupy their time.

CowgateHarp1875
09-09-2023, 05:52 AM
Good luck to Nick Montgomery. Let's get behind the big fella and hopefully we can bring some much needed success back to our football club.

With the old firm both looking very weak at the moment this could be the season to try and win some silverware (not that we dont try that every season). I must say I don't fear either of them this season, the league cup is wide open.

GGTTH 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🇮🇪

09-09-2023, 06:55 AM
Disappointed it's not Robinson. Top six with St Mirren (fist time ever?) 3rd place and two cup finals with Motherwell. Think we've missed a trick. Good manager right under our nose.

09-09-2023, 07:07 AM
No just our fans.

The Jambo infiltrators too…..although they’ll have to find something else to occupy their time.

[emoji1787][emoji1787]

What’s quite funny is they’d not really go anywhere near the Hearts banter thread [emoji41]

09-09-2023, 07:10 AM
Delighted with this
Streets ahead of Robinson, imo, and a guy who will get a tune out of our squad

7Hero
09-09-2023, 07:11 AM
it's Monty 110%...

if not i'll eat my hat

thebausburst
09-09-2023, 07:35 AM
Disappointed it's not Robinson. Top six with St Mirren (fist time ever?) 3rd place and two cup finals with Motherwell. Think we've missed a trick. Good manager right under our nose.

I agree, but was resigned to the fact Hibs would ignore him and McInness and go left field again, let’s hope it works out as our track record with managerial appointments has, generally speaking, been piss poor for years now.

09-09-2023, 07:38 AM

Pleased we’ve not gone for a steady Eddie boring option.

Johnson took us from 8th to 5th and was a safe pair of hands, if that’s all we wanted we’d have been as well sticking with him.

I’m delighted our board are showing more ambition than a lot of fans on here. Even if it doesn’t work out, at least we’re trying to be better.

09-09-2023, 07:41 AM
Good luck to Nick Montgomery. Let's get behind the big fella and hopefully we can bring some much needed success back to our football club.

With the old firm both looking very weak at the moment this could be the season to try and win some silverware (not that we dont try that every season). I must say I don't fear either of them this season, the league cup is wide open.

GGTTH 🏴󠁧󠁢󠁳󠁣󠁴󠁿🇮🇪

He's not that big to get behind. Quite slim and less than 5'9".

We're doomed to failure.

09-09-2023, 07:45 AM
Delighted with this
Streets ahead of Robinson, imo, and a guy who will get a tune out of our squad

He's only managed 60 odd games in Australia. He's maybe got the potential to be a good manager but bit far fetched to say he's streets ahead of Robinson who's been there and done it repeatedly in the Scottish Premiership. Hope Montgomery is a success but I have my doubts. We've gone for potential this time. Last time we did that was with Maloney.

09-09-2023, 07:53 AM
He's only managed 60 odd games in Australia. He's maybe got the potential to be a good manager but bit far fetched to say he's streets ahead of Robinson who's been there and done it repeatedly in the Scottish Premiership. Hope Montgomery is a success but I have my doubts. We've gone for potential this time. Last time we did that was with Maloney.

60 games is infinitely more than Maloney. The gap between assistant and head coach is huge, at least Montgomery has shown an aptitude for the job already.

Obviously any appointment is a risk, but this seems a much more considered risk than Maloney was.

09-09-2023, 07:53 AM

Agree with a lot of this.

I don't see how the club are showing ambition by going for Monty. He's a rookie manager that's had one really good season in management with a tiny club in comparison to Hibs. I was expecting, and hoping for, someone with a much higher profile.

It's a huge risk and not sure it's one worth taking with the position we're in.

Just need to suck it up and hope it works out for the best.

09-09-2023, 07:55 AM
Let's hope this appointment is one for the romantics and dreamers amongst us and not the wet blankets.

09-09-2023, 07:56 AM

I think the Maloney comparison is miles out tbh.

Maloney had only ever been a coach at an international side at men’s level. He’d never had to be the boss. And by all accounts it was too big for him.

Montgomery has plenty coaching experience, and has already managed, and managed to the point of bringing success to his club, against much more valuable sides.

I understand the concern, but to me, any manager we appoint comes with risk. We’ve had examples where experienced managers with a level of success in Scotland have been massive failures, we have examples where coaches with no managerial experience have done well.

The one thing I’ll say is, Montgomery seems to have the drive to manage at the top level. Has his eyes set on the EPL. Johnson seemed happy at the level he was.

09-09-2023, 07:57 AM

We're doomed to failure.

What is the optimum height for a Hibs manager?

Many of the good ones - Stubbs, Mowbray, McLeish - were centre halves in their playing career, so maybe we should set a minimum bar.

Like a roller coaster at a theme park.

09-09-2023, 08:03 AM
I agree, but was resigned to the fact Hibs would ignore him and McInness and go left field again, let’s hope it works out as our track record with managerial appointments has, generally speaking, been piss poor for years now.

Who says we ignored Robinson?

Maybe the club looked at the fact he took over a flying St Mirren team who were in 7th place in the league, a couple of points off 4th with a game in hand after 26 odd games and ended up finishing in 9th place.

People talk about him being a stability candidate who would come in and steady the ship right away when in fact the impact he had at St Mirren was to lose 7 of his first 8 games in change.

Greenworld
09-09-2023, 08:05 AM
Agree with a lot of this.

I don't see how the club are showing ambition by going for Monty. He's a rookie manager that's had one really good season in management with a tiny club in comparison to Hibs. I was expecting, and hoping for, someone with a much higher profile.

It's a huge risk and not sure it's one worth taking with the position we're in.

Just need to suck it up and hope it works out for the best.Look it from another angle Hibs are grabbing the rookie before another club comes in and if it works out we all benifit.
Although I'm not sure how he can be labelled a rookie having set up and worked in the youth set up for the club.
More interesting is the fact he actually played some of them in the first team.
Time as always will tell but I think full backing is required for this refreshing appointment

09-09-2023, 08:15 AM
Who says we ignored Robinson?

Maybe the club looked at the fact he took over a flying St Mirren team who were in 7th place in the league, a couple of points off 4th with a game in hand after 26 odd games and ended up finishing in 9th place.

People talk about him being a stability candidate who would come in and steady the ship right away when in fact the impact he had at St Mirren was to lose 7 of his first 8 games in change.

Knows the Scottish game though.

09-09-2023, 08:16 AM
What is the optimum height for a Hibs manager?

Many of the good ones - Stubbs, Mowbray, McLeish - were centre halves in their playing career, so maybe we should set a minimum bar.

Like a roller coaster at a theme park.

I was replying to the poster who said we should get behind the big man.

There's not much to get behind. For example, if you were trying to avoid the blast from a jet engine or the breath of a Jambo, you'd be safer getting behind someone like Sam Allardice or Jim Jeffries (the latter would bring its own challenges).

I'm very open to your theme park analogy, however. There may be other benefits too, but I haven't got the time to consider them right now. 🤔

09-09-2023, 08:29 AM
Has Barry Ferguson been appointed yet? 🤣

09-09-2023, 08:36 AM

If LJ gets another job soon, hopefully will save Hibs some comp

At the AGM last year it was said that there was to be nothing like the severance package handed out to previous management teams if or when we parted with Lee Johnson.

09-09-2023, 08:38 AM
A win at Rugby Park and my concerns will fade. Like every manager, win games and the naysayers disappear.

09-09-2023, 08:40 AM
He's only managed 60 odd games in Australia. He's maybe got the potential to be a good manager but bit far fetched to say he's streets ahead of Robinson who's been there and done it repeatedly in the Scottish Premiership. Hope Montgomery is a success but I have my doubts. We've gone for potential this time. Last time we did that was with Maloney.I don't really get your love in for Robinson, what's he won exactly?? He was a steady Eddie at Motherwell, got them to a couple of cup finals but I'd argue Kettlewell has done a better job there. He's started the season well at St Mirren but very early days. Agree with other posters, he'd have done a steady job at Hibs but won't pull up any trees, I'm glad the board are trying something different and showing ambition. 5th place finishes are below minimum of what we should be aiming for as a club

Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk

09-09-2023, 08:53 AM
Has Barry Ferguson been appointed yet? ��

Think I might be coming round to this appointment. :greengrin

09-09-2023, 08:56 AM
I don't really get your love in for Robinson, what's he won exactly?? He was a steady Eddie at Motherwell, got them to a couple of cup finals but I'd argue Kettlewell has done a better job there. He's started the season well at St Mirren but very early days. Agree with other posters, he'd have done a steady job at Hibs but won't pull up any trees, I'm glad the board are trying something different and showing ambition. 5th place finishes are below minimum of what we should be aiming for as a club

He finished 3rd with Motherwell. Something we've achieved once in 15 years. Then finished top 6 with St Mirren. Something they've never done before or not in the last 30 odd years anyway.

09-09-2023, 09:00 AM
He finished 3rd with Motherwell. Something we've achieved once in 15 years. Then finished top 6 with St Mirren. Something they've never done before or not in the last 30 odd years anyway.

Has he not got a couple of failures on his record too though?

Oldham and Morecombe maybe?

CentreForward
09-09-2023, 09:01 AM
I don't really get your love in for Robinson, what's he won exactly?? He was a steady Eddie at Motherwell, got them to a couple of cup finals but I'd argue Kettlewell has done a better job there. He's started the season well at St Mirren but very early days. Agree with other posters, he'd have done a steady job at Hibs but won't pull up any trees, I'm glad the board are trying something different and showing ambition. 5th place finishes are below minimum of what we should be aiming for as a club

Completely agree with you and really can’t understand the Monty love in here. So many seem to be saying that they know all about him despite the fact that almost nobody on here had heard of him two weeks ago. He’s managed a fairly small number of games at a small club in a very average league. Of course we want him to work out and no reason why he shouldn’t but I really don’t get the almost Messiah like status he already seems to have with some. Let’s give him time and see!

09-09-2023, 09:02 AM
Has he not got a couple of failures on his record too though?

Oldham and Morecombe maybe?

Think he's more suited to Scottish football. His track record up here is fantastic. Think he'll end up at the Jambos when they punt whoever their manager is that day.

09-09-2023, 09:02 AM
Completely agree with you and really can’t understand the Monty love in here. So many seem to be saying that they know all about him despite the fact that almost nobody on here had heard of him two weeks ago. He’s managed a fairly small number of games at a small club in a very average league. Of course we want him to work out and no reason why he shouldn’t but I really don’t get the almost Messiah like status he already seems to have with some. Let’s give him time and see!

The guy was talking about Robinson not our next wonderful leader Monty. :greengrin

09-09-2023, 09:03 AM

Been said many many times already on this thread but how many games had Stubbs, Collins or Mowbray managed before coming here, Johnson has just completed 500 games in management and he was fairly poor, Ross had a lot of games too and had us on a terrible run before he was let go and Lennon had loads of experience before he left us the way he did.

09-09-2023, 09:06 AM
Think he's more suited to Scottish football. His track record up here is fantastic. Think he'll end up at the Jambos when they punt whoever their manager is that day.

Mcinnes more likely to go to Hearts imo. Robinson has done well however get the impression he is a bit limited and that there is a ceiling to what he could achieve e.g. similar to LJ. Think Monty will have bigger ambitions for Hibs than Robinson would imo. Proof is in the pudding of course. Fantastic isn't a word I would link with Robinson more like decent or good.

09-09-2023, 09:08 AM

He had the same love in for Johnson, likes mediocracy obviously.:greengrin

09-09-2023, 09:10 AM
Look it from another angle Hibs are grabbing the rookie before another club comes in and if it works out we all benifit.
Although I'm not sure how he can be labelled a rookie having set up and worked in the youth set up for the club.
More interesting is the fact he actually played some of them in the first team.
Time as always will tell but I think full backing is required for this refreshing appointment

Absolutely. I don’t see why the doubters seem blind to this. NM seems to be a very hot managerial prospect. If we don’t get him now we’ll have missed the boat. Very excited at the prospect of seeing what he can do here before he undoubtedly moves on to bigger things.

Jack Ross finished third with us, ask Dundee Utd how that worked when he went there.

We can always get Robinson next year:greengrin

Any idea how his shares portfolio is performing? 🤔

09-09-2023, 09:12 AM

A wee bit over the top here eh?

09-09-2023, 09:15 AM
A wee bit over the top here eh?

In your opinion. My opinion is his record up here is fantastic.

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2023, 09:17 AM
The thing about Robinson is I just don't see him as that great a manager. Oldham 21.2 %win rated. Motherwell 42% . Morecambe 25% and now at St mirren 34%. Overall 36% which is not any better than some previous manager's we have had .

I keep hearing Monty is a inexperienced manager who we are taking chance on . Is that not what we done with Mowbray and Stubbs though? . I think it's great the club are looking outside the box rather than appointing someone boring like Robinson or going back in time and rehiring Lennon tbh .

09-09-2023, 09:20 AM
The thing about Robinson is I just don't see him as that great a manager. Oldham 21.2 %win rated. Motherwell 42% . Morecambe 25% and now at St mirren 34%. Overall 36% which is not any better than some previous manager's we have had .

I keep hearing Monty is a inexperienced manager who we are taking chance on . Is that not what we done with Mowbray and Stubbs though? . I think it's great the club are looking outside the box rather than appointing someone boring like Robinson or going back in time and rehiring Lennon tbh .

You'd expect a Motherwell/St Mirren manager to have a lower win percentage though. They have a fraction of our budget. Anyway it's not going to be Robinson so I'll need to suck it up and hope Montgomery does the business. He needs to hit the ground running though. 3rd is there for the taking.

09-09-2023, 09:24 AM
You'd expect a Motherwell/St Mirren manager to have a lower win percentage though. They have a fraction of our budget. Anyway it's not going to be Robinson so I'll need to suck it up and hope Montgomery does the business. He needs to hit the ground running though. 3rd is there for the taking.

What would your ambitions be for Robinson. Would he get any leeway re settling in or would only 3rd be good enough.

09-09-2023, 09:26 AM

The opening day win was his first ever at Easter Road.

Given how pish some of those Hibs teams have been, can't think of a worse indictment on his ability.

09-09-2023, 09:32 AM

Motherwell W71 D30 L68 42%
St Mirren W23 D15 L28 34.8%

Motherwell was decent but St Mirren is poor, he had 21.2% at Oldham and 25% at Morecambe. Nothing about those stats say fantastic, they say bang average/poor.

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2023, 09:37 AM

Going by wiki which can be wrong he only won 3 more games than he lost at Motherwell 71/68 . Yeah you probably would expect a lower percentage tbh .His team's are normally fairly well organised big and robust that put themselves about and it works well in the Scottish premier League though I want to see more than that at Hibs personally .

Hopefully we do hit the ground running though in saying that not a easy game away to Killie on a pitch like that in fairness. Been a weird start to the season in all honesty with Hibs , hertz , dons and the Huns struggling so far .

09-09-2023, 09:50 AM

Has he got family members of yours held hostage?

09-09-2023, 09:51 AM
A win at Rugby Park and my concerns will fade. Like every manager, win games and the naysayers disappear.

So if we don't win at rugby park in his very first game(potentially) you will have concerns, couldn't make it up with some folk

09-09-2023, 09:52 AM
Motherwell W71 D30 L68 42%
St Mirren W23 D15 L28 34.8%

Motherwell was decent but St Mirren is poor, he had 21.2% at Oldham and 25% at Morecambe. Nothing about those stats say fantastic, they say bang average/poor.
Can't say the prospect of Robinson as Hibs manager is at all exciting for me.
But doing him a disservice to say his St Mirren record is poor. Their fans are desperate to keep him.

09-09-2023, 10:02 AM

So 'resigning' from Motherwell when, IIRC they were 9th or 10th and 1 or 2 points above bottom was 'fantastic'. I recognise his early excellent record at Motherwell and his current good record at St M. I do wish however that posters would stop being selective in their use of stats to support an argument, not a dig at you. If we use stats we should use them all, not just those that we like.

09-09-2023, 10:03 AM
Kilmarnock away is probably as hard as it gets for his first game

09-09-2023, 10:07 AM

It's no walk in the park but not sure it's quite as tough as that.

09-09-2023, 10:09 AM
I was replying to the poster who said we should get behind the big man.

There's not much to get behind. For example, if you were trying to avoid the blast from a jet engine or the breath of a Jambo, you'd be safer getting behind someone like Sam Allardice or Jim Jeffries (the latter would bring its own challenges).

I'm very open to your theme park analogy, however. There may be other benefits too, but I haven't got the time to consider them right now. 🤔

Tommy Wright’s face alone would probably protect you from danger, but not sure I want him as manager.

09-09-2023, 10:10 AM
It's no walk in the park but not sure it's quite as tough as that.

Aye, think Parkhead, Ibrox or Tynecastle would be a tad tougher. Ross County lost their last week and despite all the praise they’ve been getting, a win takes us above Killie.

It’s a good opening set of fixtures for a new manager.

09-09-2023, 10:13 AM
Has Barry Ferguson been appointed yet? 🤣

I think he’s still arguing with ‘thanks for your call Derek’ about whether he’s a cheerleader or not.

CowgateHarp1875
09-09-2023, 10:13 AM

We're doomed to failure.

Haha sadly this decision is always out of our hands so all we can do is back whoever is in the hot seat. He wasn't my preferred candidate but if he gets the job he gets my backing like all previous ones, duds and mavericks alike.

09-09-2023, 10:14 AM
Aye, think Parkhead, Ibrox or Tynecastle would be a tad tougher. Ross County lost their last week and despite all the praise they’ve been getting, a win takes us above Killie.

It’s a good opening set of fixtures for a new manager.

I mean it’s a place most will expect us to go and get a win. They’ve already beaten Celtic and rangers at home this season and it’s a horrible sticky pitch that Montgomery also won’t be used to his teams playing on.

We’ll likely come out all guns blazing and killie will try sit deep and counter by sending long balls up the park, something I don’t think happens much in the A-League.

Tyncexastle, Ibrox and Parkhead have a bit of the game will take care of itself to a certain degree.

AllyRae
09-09-2023, 10:16 AM
If it is to be Montgomery then he'll be demanding a similar contract length to Johnson especially with him moving from the other side of the globe. If this experiment doesn't go to plan that would be at least 3 previous managers contracts we would be paying up.

We don't need another project. We have enough quality in this squad to be challenging for 3rd. What we need is a proven manager at this level. Just because some A-League players play in our league does not mean the A-League is anywhere near our level.

We aren't paying any of them up?! Maloney and Ross both had jobs after us and Johnson about to be named as Fleetwood boss so give up their payoffs.

09-09-2023, 10:17 AM

Aye, but lose and everyone that wanted McInnes will be all over it!

09-09-2023, 10:18 AM

Eh? They just lost at home against Ross County!

09-09-2023, 10:24 AM
We aren't paying any of them up?! Maloney and Ross both had jobs after us and Johnson about to be named as Fleetwood boss so give up their payoffs.

That's not how it works. A manager's contract will have an early termination clause which will detail the amount to be paid in the event the club cancels the contract. This is normally 3-6 months but can sometimes be 50% of remaining contract value.

This fee would normally then be paid in full upon termination. There wouldn't be any clawback if the sacked manager then got another job.

The ideal situation for a sacked manager is to get his lump sum and then get another job quickly. This is the case with Johnson. And Ross. And Goodwin. And Rodgers. And Gerrard.

And at another level is why guys like Mourinho, Conte etc are absolutely drowning in cash.

09-09-2023, 10:25 AM
Any of our previous managers would get slaughtered for not winning at Killie. Montgomery shouldn't be exempt. Any manager who comes in needs to hit the ground running. We can't use this as another transitional season. The prize for 3rd is too big and we have the squad at our disposal to do it.

Caversham Green
09-09-2023, 10:25 AM

We're doomed to failure.

His predecessors were Shaun Maloney and Lee Johnson. It's all relative.

09-09-2023, 10:27 AM
That's not how it works. A manager's contract will have an early termination clause which will detail the amount to be paid in the event the club cancels the contract. This is normally 3-6 months but can sometimes be 50% of remaining contract value.

This fee would normally then be paid in full upon termination. There wouldn't be any clawback if the sacked manager then got another job.

The ideal situation for a sacked manager is to get his lump sum and then get another job quickly. This is the case with Johnson. And Ross. And Goodwin. And Rodgers. And Gerrard.

And at another level is why guys like Mourinho, Conte etc are absolutely drowning in cash.

Think it's been documented a few times that Hibs standard is three months, but who knows what LJ managed to talk the board into during his 79 hour long interview.

hibee1875
09-09-2023, 10:28 AM
Any of our previous managers would get slaughtered for not winning at Killie. Montgomery shouldn't be exempt. Any manager who comes in needs to hit the ground running. We can't use this as another transitional season. The prize for 3rd is too big and we have the squad at our disposal to do it.

Slaughtered tho?

Let’s all slaughter the manager next week if he doesn’t win his first game 🙃😂

09-09-2023, 10:29 AM

Don't think any manager deserves slaughtered if they lose their first game after a week in charge!

09-09-2023, 10:31 AM
So if we don't win at rugby park in his very first game(potentially) you will have concerns, couldn't make it up with some folk

I already have concerns.

09-09-2023, 10:34 AM
What would your ambitions be for Robinson. Would he get any leeway re settling in or would only 3rd be good enough.

Nothing lower than 4th is good enough for what we've spent imo. For any manager. I'd be disappointed with 5th. Said the same with Lee Johnson. No manager could or should survive a run a poor results after spending £1.5 million plus this summer. Johnson paid the price and so should anyone else

09-09-2023, 10:34 AM
I already have concerns.

What about?

Who about?

09-09-2023, 10:37 AM
What about?

Who about?

Said a few times now I think Montgomery is too much of a risk and unproven at this level

Skol
09-09-2023, 10:45 AM
Ffs. Some are on his back about a defeat that’s not happened and he isn’t even appointed. Get a grip.

hibs4life
09-09-2023, 10:49 AM
Said a few times now I think Montgomery is too much of a risk and unproven at this level
So who would be your choice?

Skol
09-09-2023, 10:50 AM
Think we should run a sweepstake on when the first new manager(insert name) out thread is started.

09-09-2023, 10:56 AM

So we need to slaughter Montgomery after 90 mins of football when he’s likely been in the building for 96 hours or so.

We really do need a reality check across sections of our support.

Slaughter?

09-09-2023, 10:57 AM

You want us to hire a manager that lost 7 of his first 8 league games after his last appointment 🥴

09-09-2023, 11:03 AM
Eh? They just lost at home against Ross County!

TBF that was down to yet another Scottish refereeing debacle.

Greenworld
09-09-2023, 11:03 AM
Has he got family members of yours held hostage?[emoji23][emoji23][emoji23]

09-09-2023, 11:08 AM

Ach, nae worries mate. FWIW I changed my username to NAE NOOKIE a few years ago after another poster criticised one of my rants .. sorry, I mean well thought out and considered posts .. by saying "this guy mustn't get any nookie' :greengrin

09-09-2023, 11:08 AM
Ffs. Some are on his back about a defeat that’s not happened and he isn’t even appointed. Get a grip.

Hence my point about it being a horrible first game.

If he loses to killie and against a manager that many wanted in he will be get alot of stick from some of the support.

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2023, 11:10 AM

No manager should get slaughtered for losing there first game in charge be it at killie or anywhere else . Killie have a big physical team that have already beaten both the old firm , there pitch is a absolutely joke and gives them an added advantage too . We are capable of getting a result there though it's not an easy fixture by any means . Whoever comes in as manager I think it will take more than under a week for him to get his ideas across to the team on how he wants them to play and we probably once again need to gave him some time to do so .

09-09-2023, 11:10 AM

If he loses to killie and against a manager that many wanted in he will be get alot of stick from some of the support.

Get your point now 👍🏻

09-09-2023, 11:16 AM

Anybody who judges or slags a manager for losing his first game, especially away from home, is mental. Be like me and wait until the second game :greengrin

09-09-2023, 11:21 AM
So we need to slaughter Montgomery after 90 mins of football when he’s likely been in the building for 96 hours or so.

We really do need a reality check across sections of our support.

Slaughter?

Are you saying Lee Johnson wouldn't get slaughtered for losing to Kilmarnock? We've spent the 3rd highest amount of any club in this league. Another transitional season doesn't wash. Montgomery or whoever comes in needs to hit the ground running and hit it quickly. We don't have Europe as an excuse now.

09-09-2023, 11:21 AM
It often takes managers a bit of time to settle and get a team playing the way he wants Thsts before you take into account he can’t bring in any new players so he has to work with what he inherits
However Sir David got an instant reaction away to The Sheep so we defo should be looking to build on that

09-09-2023, 11:26 AM
Are you saying Lee Johnson wouldn't get slaughtered for losing to Kilmarnock? We've spent the 3rd highest amount of any club in this league. Another transitional season doesn't wash. Montgomery or whoever comes in needs to hit the ground running and hit it quickly.

There is always context to be had. If it was a performance like we gave at Rugby Park last season, in the middle of the shocking run we were on, then of course they’d get slaughtered.

If a manager has us performing well and is getting results more often than not then I wouldn’t expect them to get slaughtered for one game in isolation.

Bottom line is get results. Montgomery, if it’s him, has a decent first few games to get himself going.

09-09-2023, 11:26 AM
He had the same love in for Johnson, likes mediocracy obviously.:greengrinClearly yeah

09-09-2023, 11:28 AM
There is always context to be had. If it was a performance like we gave at Rugby Park last season, in the middle of the shocking run we were on, then of course they’d get slaughtered.

If a manager has us performing well and is getting results more often than not then I wouldn’t expect them to get slaughtered for one game in isolation.

Bottom line is get results. Montgomery, if it’s him, has a decent first few games to get himself going.

Yup. Let hope he does or it'll be difficult for him. A win at Rugby Park would be brilliant and I'd expect it imo.

09-09-2023, 11:28 AM

Find that a really pessimistic way of looking at it. It’s a good opportunity to pick up a point or three in his first game and he has a couple of decent home fixtures after that. Great chance to get off and running.

09-09-2023, 11:29 AM
Clearly yeah

So saying we need better more proven manager than Montgomery is accepting mediocrity? I give in.

09-09-2023, 11:31 AM
So saying we need better more proven manager than Montgomery is accepting mediocrity? I give in.

You can't say better though. There is no way to judge.

09-09-2023, 11:34 AM
A FEW times :confused:

09-09-2023, 11:34 AM

We have no control over who the club appoint, Monty would not be my first choice but if it is him great, and we all should be behind him 100%, not thinking he's unproven and i have my doubts.

None of us know what he really brings to the club, so the club and manager have a clean slate, and it's onwards and upwards until it's not, no point thinking any other way surely?

09-09-2023, 11:37 AM

We're doomed to failure.

Lee Johnson only 5'6" so another indication of progress.

09-09-2023, 11:39 AM
Lee Johnson only 5'6" so another indication of progress.
How tall were Robertson, McInnes and Lennon, maybe that was the final criteria, who's the tallest :greengrin

Silky
09-09-2023, 11:42 AM

If he starts work on Monday, how much influence will he have in terms of team selection etc. As I write this, David Gray is still in charge. I imagine most of the prep for Killie has been done, team may even have been picked. If he'd started at the beginning of this week,I'd maybe ha e looked on it differently. I'll give him a week.

09-09-2023, 11:42 AM
How tall were Robertson, McInnes and Lennon, maybe that was the final criteria, who's the tallest :greengrin

I'm guessing Butcher was our tallest manager (think he's 6'4) - if that's anything to go by we should avoid tall managers.

09-09-2023, 11:44 AM
If he starts work on Monday, how much influence will he have in terms of team selection etc. As I write this, David Gray is still in charge. I imagine most of the prep for Killie has been done, team may even have been picked. If he'd started at the beginning of this week,I'd maybe ha e looked on it differently. I'll give him a week.We've probably been off most of last week

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2023, 11:45 AM
Anybody who judges or slags a manager for losing his first game, especially away from home, is mental. Be like me and wait until the second game :greengrin

You must have the patience of a saint :greengrin

Percy Vere
09-09-2023, 11:50 AM

So if we don't beat Killie you're in here telling everyone he's rubbish?
I don't think away to Killie has ever been considered a banker for Hibs.

09-09-2023, 11:50 AM

Kettlewell's win ratio at Motherwell is 65% so why not him rather than Robinson?

09-09-2023, 11:55 AM
Are you saying Lee Johnson wouldn't get slaughtered for losing to Kilmarnock? We've spent the 3rd highest amount of any club in this league. Another transitional season doesn't wash. Montgomery or whoever comes in needs to hit the ground running and hit it quickly. We don't have Europe as an excuse now.

You want Montgomery slaughtered if he doesn’t win his first game in charge. Lee Johnson had three transfer windows and we were still absolutely ***** so he’d deservedly get slaughtered. The two aren’t even close to the same situation.

09-09-2023, 12:04 PM
He’ll be asking if there’s a cooling off notice on his contract after reading some of this🙄

09-09-2023, 12:11 PM

It comes across like you have already taken a position on the new, and as yet not appointed, manager and he’s already under pressure in your eyes with little to no leeway at all.

He’s not inheriting the worst squad in the world, but he is inheriting the options in full back & midfield as a minimum. If he comes in, shows some signs of progress and it’s clear to see what he is trying to do and how he wants to play that’s enough for me. He doesn’t get a free pass this season. Hopefully he is pragmatic and gets the best out of what he has, with next season probably a fairer assessment of what a Montgomery team wants to be once he’s had a at least one summer window. Top 6, playing a higher tempo style while introducing youngsters and I’d be happy with the season from the point he is coming in.

09-09-2023, 12:12 PM
Monday for Monty ?

09-09-2023, 12:14 PM
Tony Mowbray blew a 4-1 lead, at home, to Dundee, in his first game, but I would still cross the road to shake his hand.

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2023, 12:16 PM
Delighted about SDG staying on btw , didn't have any doubts he would tbh . If it's Monty that gets the Hibs job his knowledge of everything will prove to be very important to the manager and can only be a bonus.

09-09-2023, 12:27 PM
Tony Mowbray blew a 4-1 lead, at home, to Dundee, in his first game, but I would still cross the road to shake his hand.

That was no his first game.

09-09-2023, 12:37 PM
I'm guessing Butcher was our tallest manager (think he's 6'4) - if that's anything to go by we should avoid tall managers.

Wenger out. Xavi in.

09-09-2023, 12:40 PM
That was no his first game.

His first spl game was against killie

sauzeelegod
09-09-2023, 12:47 PM
Taken from Wikipedia, this is Monty’s managerial record so far..

G 59
W 29
D 11
L 19
GF 119
GA 62
GD + 57
Win % 49.15

For someone with one of the lowest budgets in the league that’s pretty good going.

My only concern is he favours a 442 formation.
I think in this day and age it’s easy to be outnumbered in midfield using it, but it doesn’t seem to have been a problem for him in the AL so hopefully I’m wrong about that.

09-09-2023, 12:59 PM
Tickets booked for Killie match.
Only 2 blocks left for sale.

I'm fully on the Monty train now after being certain we needed McInnes 😄

09-09-2023, 01:04 PM

Different situation but similar to Mowbay, Montgomery will be inheriting a lot of good exciting players. It's there for someone. I still stand by my belief that we have a good squad. One that can and should challenge for 3rd especially now Europe is done and dusted. The win at Pittodrie showed that. Let's hope Montgomery is the guy who can come in and get the best out of them.

09-09-2023, 01:26 PM

Balancing things up you must have been horrified when Mowbray then Stubbs were appointed?

Juice-Terry
09-09-2023, 01:41 PM
We're going off the rails on the Monty train. GGTTH!

Juice-Terry
09-09-2023, 01:44 PM
Crazy, but that's how it goes. Millions of Hibees sure ken the score...

I'll get ma coat....

09-09-2023, 01:48 PM
His first spl game was against killie

And he lost. But that was ok, because the signs were there.

Then we beat Motherwell, humped at Ibrox, and followed that with the Dundee collapse.

So that's a pretty rollercoaster start for a young manager just in the door, but one that proved to be alright.

But for those in this thread who seem to be intent on putting all sorts of pressure on the guy before he's even pointed, what allowances does he get? Cos the idea that he gets actual criticism because within five days he's lost at a ground that Celtic and Rangers have already been beaten at sounds absolutely bloody mad to me.

09-09-2023, 01:57 PM

Then we beat Motherwell, humped at Ibrox, and followed that with the Dundee collapse.

So that's a pretty rollercoaster start for a young manager just in the door, but one that proved to be alright.

But for those in this thread who seem to be intent on putting all sorts of pressure on the guy before he's even pointed, what allowances does he get? Cos the idea that he gets actual criticism because within five days he's lost at a ground that Celtic and Rangers have already been beaten at sounds absolutely bloody mad to me.There was a 20 minute period in that Dundee game where the team clicked into Mowbrays style and that proved a sign of things to come. We scored a 5th but was given offside wrongly.

Players have to buy into the style and the passing drills will start to become muscle memory. There was a story that Mowbray asked what passing drills the players had been using and the answer was " we haven't been doing passing drills".

Took Mowbray a few games for the style to come through but by the October we weren't doing too badly.

09-09-2023, 01:58 PM
Cos the idea that he gets actual criticism because within five days he's lost at a ground that Celtic and Rangers have already been beaten at sounds absolutely bloody mad to me.

It's the Internet, people's opinion is sometimes the most important thing to them.

09-09-2023, 02:00 PM

But for those in this thread who seem to be intent on putting all sorts of pressure on the guy before he's even pointed, what allowances does he get? Cos the idea that he gets actual criticism because within five days he's lost at a ground that Celtic and Rangers have already been beaten at sounds absolutely bloody mad to me.

Sadly in the social media age, folk seem desperate to label a manger useless if they have a start like that now. Sad really.

09-09-2023, 02:20 PM
The suggestion that anyone, in any skilled field of work, can start a new job, in a new country, with new staff and be up to speed in 5 days is ludicrous.

It's going to take several training sessions for the new guy to weigh up the players and given that the players are only at East Mains for a few hours each day, I think it'll be 2 or 3 weeks before he fully understands the squad at his disposal.

I think SDG will pick the team for Killie, but the players will bust a gut to impress the new gaffer and most fans will be satisfied with their efforts, regardless of the result.

Unless, of course, someone makes a terrible mistake which leads to us losing. They'll get slaughtered on here.

09-09-2023, 02:33 PM
Deeks volleyed in a cracker which had it rightly stood, would have made it 5-1 but incorrectly flagged for offside 😡 sure the great Gordon Smith passed away on this day.

09-09-2023, 02:43 PM
Back to the killie game (mogga's first hibs game) I remember being a young boy late for the game and an older gentleman said "come in son, you're missing all the fun) in regards to our quick passing style. Even then we showed glimpses of his style of play.

09-09-2023, 03:18 PM

Hoping you are very publicly eating humble pie by the end of this season.

No one needs telling what’s gone wrong at Hibs but endlessly bumping your gums because Hibs aren’t appointing your favoured candidate is tedious.

09-09-2023, 03:23 PM
Are you saying Lee Johnson wouldn't get slaughtered for losing to Kilmarnock? We've spent the 3rd highest amount of any club in this league. Another transitional season doesn't wash. Montgomery or whoever comes in needs to hit the ground running and hit it quickly. We don't have Europe as an excuse now.Your clearly at the wind up...utter nonsense

09-09-2023, 03:36 PM
Didn't Lennon get skudded at Rugby Park after deciding that starting seven defenders would be a laugh?

09-09-2023, 03:57 PM
Didn't Lennon get skudded at Rugby Park after deciding that starting seven defenders would be a laugh?

We went one nil down in the first 5 minutes and that was that.

09-09-2023, 04:55 PM
We went one nil down in the first 5 minutes and that was that.

Floodlights nearly saved us

09-09-2023, 05:01 PM
Two questions:

Have we actuall appointed Montgomery?

Has he lost his first game in charge and I just didn't notice?

09-09-2023, 05:03 PM
Floodlights nearly saved us

We cheered when they went out, then booed when they came back on again.

😁

CowgateHarp1875
09-09-2023, 05:10 PM
Back to the killie game (mogga's first hibs game) I remember being a young boy late for the game and an older gentleman said "come in son, you're missing all the fun) in regards to our quick passing style. Even then we showed glimpses of his style of play.

Mowbray is an excellent manager, he has Sunderland playing some wonderful stuff. He took that team in 04 to the next level. In 2005/06 we absolutely battered rangers home and away.

When people say "what is the hibs way" that was it.

09-09-2023, 05:10 PM
Two questions:

Have we actuall appointed Montgomery?

Has he lost his first game in charge and I just didn't notice?

1 No, but

2 I think so

Comiston Hibee
09-09-2023, 05:18 PM
Different situation but similar to Mowbay, Montgomery will be inheriting a lot of good exciting players. It's there for someone. I still stand by my belief that we have a good squad. One that can and should challenge for 3rd especially now Europe is done and dusted. The win at Pittodrie showed that. Let's hope Montgomery is the guy who can come in and get the best out of them.

Derek Riordan scored one of the greatest volleys I have ever seen in that game, unfortunately ruled out for offside

09-09-2023, 07:48 PM

That is clearly nonsense. No one says this is a transition season however give the boy a break he isn't even in the door and coming out with crud like previous managers would get slaughtered for not winning at Killie.

09-09-2023, 07:49 PM
That is clearly nonsense. No one says this is a transition season however give the boy a break he isn't even in the door and coming out with crud like previous managers would get slaughtered for not winning at Killie.

They absolutely would and have been.

09-09-2023, 07:52 PM

But not always?

This negative reaction doesn't have to happen, does it?

09-09-2023, 07:56 PM
Your clearly at the wind up...utter nonsense

Explain to me how it's nonsense?

09-09-2023, 07:58 PM
Hoping you are very publicly eating humble pie by the end of this season.

No one needs telling what’s gone wrong at Hibs but endlessly bumping your gums because Hibs aren’t appointing your favoured candidate is tedious.

Are people not allowed a different opinion on a football forum or should we all be sheep? If I'm eating humble pie I'd be delighted as means we've done well. I'm allowed to think he's the wrong choice.

09-09-2023, 08:01 PM
Are people not allowed a different opinion on a football forum or should we all be sheep?

Tbf, you've stated your opinion multiple times so I think you know the answer to that.

09-09-2023, 08:01 PM

Yep absolutely mental and lacking any sense whatsoever.

09-09-2023, 08:04 PM

Slaughtered for drawing at Rugby park?

09-09-2023, 08:08 PM

Remember the meltdown on here when they beat us 1-0 last November. Around the same time Johnson out appeared.

09-09-2023, 08:10 PM

He’s not going to be judged over the one game and contrary to an earlier post, he doesn’t actually even need to get off to a flier either, as much as we’d all love him too. We’re early enough into the season and the other teams likely to be around us have started slowly as well which means we don’t actually need to start winning straight away. If we have a sluggish start under Montgomery but hit good form and go on a winning run there’s every chance that’ll be enough for us to get to where we want to get to. Goes without saying that the sooner we click under him the better though.

09-09-2023, 08:12 PM
Nicholas Montgomery

09-09-2023, 08:13 PM
Remember the meltdown on here when they beat us 1-0 last November. Around the same time Johnson out appeared.

You think that was solely down to just that individual game and nothing to do with the 5 defeats in our previous 6 games?

09-09-2023, 08:15 PM

We’d also just been scudded 4-1 by Aberdeen and lost at home 2-0 to Ross County. I know you liked him but Johnson wasn’t hard done by, he got stick because his team wasn’t very good.

Cardinal G
09-09-2023, 08:18 PM
Mowbray is an excellent manager, he has Sunderland playing some wonderful stuff. He took that team in 04 to the next level. In 2005/06 we absolutely battered rangers home and away.

When people say "what is the hibs way" that was it.

As a Sunderland season ticket holder to I have to echo your sentiment, his team here are a joy to watch at times, clearly enjoying his football and getting the best out of young lads that he's given a chance to, last Saturdays average team age was 22 when we beat Southampton 5 nil.
Our 2007 league Cup win was his team and that was a great team to watch as you say.
I was at a talk in few weeks ago with TM and he was asked in all his managerial career who was the best player he had ever managed, he said it was Scott Brown and then went onto say why.
I just hope the hierarchy at Sunderland back him enough for him to stay as long as he wants to.

Daily Hibs
09-09-2023, 08:18 PM
Mowbray lost 0-1 at home to Kilmarnock in his first home league match after we were knocked out the intertoto cup.

09-09-2023, 08:19 PM

We were in the middle of a horrible run and it was a horrible performance.

Not every defeat merits or results in a slaughtering.

Daily Hibs
09-09-2023, 08:26 PM

Even I would agree it would be crazy to criticise him after the first game.

Killie away is always one of the tougher places to go for us.

CowgateHarp1875
09-09-2023, 08:28 PM
As a Sunderland season ticket holder to I have to echo your sentiment, his team here are a joy to watch at times, clearly enjoying his football and getting the best out of young lads that he's given a chance to, last Saturdays average team age was 22 when we beat Southampton 5 nil.
Our 2007 league Cup win was his team and that was a great team to watch as you say.
I was at a talk in few weeks ago with TM and he was asked in all his managerial career who was the best player he had ever managed, he said it was Scott Brown and then went onto say why.
I just hope the hierarchy at Sunderland back him enough for him to stay as long as he wants to.

That doesn't surprise me in the slightest mate Broony was the best of the golden generation for me. I still say to this day that we saw the very best of him. Aye he went on to win countless trophies with Celtc but his raw pace and technical ability was on a whole different level with us. I think he digressed when he went there.

If there was one manager I would have loved to have seen back at the holy ground it would have been Mogga what a man. I hope he takes Sunderland up this year 👍

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2023, 08:31 PM
Why are we talking about losing a game a week away and slaughtering a manager for losing his first game with him not officially announced yet :confused: .

USA_Hibee
09-09-2023, 08:40 PM
I often wonder if other fan bases are like this too. Mental 😁.

Hoping everyone backs the new manager and gives them time, whoever it is.

09-09-2023, 08:41 PM
Why are we talking about losing a game a week away and slaughtering a manager for losing his first game with him not officially announced yet :confused: .

Welcome to hibs.net

09-09-2023, 08:43 PM
I often wonder if other fan bases are like this too. Mental 😁.

Hoping everyone backs the new manager and gives them time, whoever it is.

Of course they are.

Football fans are honestly ****ing mental.

09-09-2023, 08:44 PM
Hibs have some strange fans, now a days. :rolleyes:

09-09-2023, 08:47 PM

No idea

09-09-2023, 08:53 PM

Tbf it’s just how a conversation flows, it’s the same if it was people chatting in a pub.

It was initially suggested it was as tough a start as he could have asked for, that then lead on to what the reaction would be if we never won.

I don’t agree with the poster who suggested he’d get slated for it but it’s easy to see how the conversation went there. It wasn’t quite as simple or as negative as someone just saying they’d go mental at him if we lost it.

Crazyhorse
09-09-2023, 09:35 PM

Good question. If you can come up with an answer let us know 😅

09-09-2023, 09:35 PM
Because the said poster lost the love of his life last week when he got booted and now wants another bang average manager from St Mirren to take over. He's acting like a wee bairn no getting his way, best ignored.

09-09-2023, 09:40 PM
Because the said poster lost the love of his life last week when he got booted and now wants another bang average manager from St Mirren to take over. He's acting like a wee bairn no getting his way, best ignored.

Pretty ballsy to quote and talk about DH like that :greengrin

CentreForward
09-09-2023, 09:46 PM
Sounds as if some already have us down as losing at Killie. Monty OOT !!!

09-09-2023, 09:47 PM
Of course they are.

Football fans are honestly ****ing mental.
Talking about football is similar to driving for a car for a lot of people. All common sense and logic are left at the door before they get behind the wheel.

09-09-2023, 09:48 PM
I can't believe we're going to lose at Kilmarnock next week. ****ing disgrace.

09-09-2023, 09:52 PM
I can't believe we're going to lose at Kilmarnock next week. ****ing disgrace.
Stubbs oot.....

09-09-2023, 09:58 PM
[QUOTE=Since452;7464441]Any of our previous managers would get slaughtered for not winning at Killie. Montgomery shouldn't be exempt. Any manager who comes in needs to hit the ground running. We can't use this as another transitional season. The prize for 3rd is too big and we have the squad at our disposal to do it.[/QUOTE

No pressure then……

09-09-2023, 10:05 PM
Kettlewell's win ratio at Motherwell is 65% so why not him rather than Robinson?

TBH I think all that matters to the current Hibs' recruitment department, is who talks a good game, rather than what their qualifications are for the Manager's job.

Certainly was the case with LJ.

Apart from the the small band of happy clappers, I now detect a bit of apathy growing amongst the support on the managerial appointment. If it is Montgomery, like the vast majority of supporters I'll back him. However my belief on him being successful is rock bottom.

09-09-2023, 10:06 PM
The suggestion that anyone, in any skilled field of work, can start a new job, in a new country, with new staff and be up to speed in 5 days is ludicrous.

It's going to take several training sessions for the new guy to weigh up the players and given that the players are only at East Mains for a few hours each day, I think it'll be 2 or 3 weeks before he fully understands the squad at his disposal.

I think SDG will pick the team for Killie, but the players will bust a gut to impress the new gaffer and most fans will be satisfied with their efforts, regardless of the result.

Unless, of course, someone makes a terrible mistake which leads to us losing. They'll get slaughtered on here.

Unfortunately doesn’t seem to work on here.

Alfie was dismissed by many on here as being a crap signing before he had even arrived.

Seems some people are far more comfortable in originally being negative, than expressing hope and confidence.

09-09-2023, 10:07 PM
I'm hoping we don't appoint Montgomery but if we do he'll get my backing from the start.

Will back him from the start but if in his 1st match he only draws away to the team that have recently beaten Celtic and Rangers he can gtf. 🤔

Donegal Hibby
09-09-2023, 10:17 PM
Tbf it’s just how a conversation flows, it’s the same if it was people chatting in a pub.

It was initially suggested it was as tough a start as he could have asked for, that then lead on to what the reaction would be if we never won.

I don’t agree with the poster who suggested he’d get slated for it but it’s easy to see how the conversation went there. It wasn’t quite as simple or as negative as someone just saying they’d go mental at him if we lost it.

I think away to Killie is tough start tbh , they've already shown against the old firm at home they can be a match for anyone on there day though we have a decent team imo and are capable of going there and getting a result too and hopefully we do ! .

Whatever happens I don't believe our new manager after being at our club less than a week and only having a couple of training sessions should be slated , blamed for his first game in charge tbh . It's going to take him imo probably a couple of weeks to get the team understanding his tactics , formation and how he wants them to play .

I'm quite exciting about the prospect of Montgomery becoming Hibs manager as I think he ticks so many boxes and his record at CCM is fantastic. Seems to give young players a chance and is well respected by the players . There's a lot to be positive about imo .

09-09-2023, 10:20 PM
A left field observation by that sometimes great and inciteful Jason Cummings, Raj of Kolkotta, but previously of Scotland and Oz.

He was asked the difference between Fitba in Oz and Scotland after a few weeks.

He answered along the lines of …there was much more a negative feel around things in Scottish football than what he felt in Oz.

Whether it be media or supporters…..

Personally, Especially as a long time contributor on here, and reading this thread, I wouldn’t argue with him.

Although, no doubt some will.