View Full Version : Who for next manager?

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16

percy veer
27-08-2023, 08:01 PM
Was plenty on here and tons on twitter etc saying they wouldnt when it was rumoured last time.

So far just you quite vocal, mabey a couple of others take twitter with a pinch of salt

27-08-2023, 08:01 PM
A Jambo I know in Edinburgh texted me to say he heard that Scott Brown is a shoo-in. Or rather "Guaranteed the job if he wants it".

I don't know if what he's heard is accurate, but I doubt he's trying to wind me up.

If it is true, whether SB would want it or not is another matter.

He's a jambo. jambo = not to be believed on Hibs matters :greengrin

27-08-2023, 08:03 PM
https://x.com/sportspeteo/status/1695886505758134534?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

Steve Evans in the frame apparently.

raeburnhibs
27-08-2023, 08:03 PM
Robinson, Pardew, Brown. Brown's record currently holding him back. Board would be aware of the backlash.

Scott Brown? great player, but Coach? he's managed like 20 games.....and not doing that well, on what basis should we consider him? Pardew, out of the game for years

27-08-2023, 08:04 PM
https://x.com/sportspeteo/status/1695886505758134534?s=46&t=VghJuoU_bl8ISs-zf5CmHg

I’d give up

27-08-2023, 08:05 PM
Robinson

The Swiss Family?
Crusoe?
Mrs?
The Jam people?
Smokey?
Jim?

27-08-2023, 08:06 PM
I understand why people are saying Robinson however I get the feeling he is the kind of manager is would always be better at a smaller club who are more underdogs and punching above their weight, I am not so sure how he would manage a better team with higher expectations

I think we are underdogs now.

27-08-2023, 08:06 PM
I’d give up

What’s the story with him?

He’s doing a good job where he is just now but is he known to be a bit of an erse?

1875Sean
27-08-2023, 08:09 PM
Michael O’Neil for me

You do know he is back at n.Ireland?

27-08-2023, 08:10 PM
That's Mancini out of the running then.

27-08-2023, 08:11 PM

He’s doing a good job where he is just now but is he known to be a bit of an erse?

Previous dodgy dealings IIRC and doesn’t hide his affection for Celtic

27-08-2023, 08:11 PM
Luke Williams at Notts County. I'd go for him.

MKHIBEE
27-08-2023, 08:13 PM

He is more than a bit of an erse.

27-08-2023, 08:14 PM
Scott Brown? great player, but Coach? he's managed like 20 games.....and not doing that well, on what basis should we consider him? Pardew, out of the game for years

Will start by saying I’m not keen on Brown. He’s had a poor start to this season. But he managed Fleetwood for the whole of last season and improved them by 18 points to the previous season when they’d stayed up on goal difference to the previous season. He did a good job last year.

Not keen on him but something makes me think we’ll be interested.

Trinity Hibee
27-08-2023, 08:15 PM
Will start by saying I’m not keen on Brown. He’s had a poor start to this season. But he managed Fleetwood for the whole of last season and improved them by 18 points to the previous season when they’d stayed up on goal difference to the previous season. He did a good job last year.

Not keen on him but something makes me think we’ll be interested.

Think we need someone with more experience than brown at this stage.

27-08-2023, 08:16 PM
Ted Lasso

cameronw-hfc
Luke Williams at Notts County. I'd go for him.

👍. Plays cracking football

vuefrom1875
That's Mancini out of the running then.

I'll take Henry but sadly no longer here.

27-08-2023, 08:17 PM
Scott Brown? great player, but Coach? he's managed like 20 games.....and not doing that well, on what basis should we consider him? Pardew, out of the game for yearsPardew was managing in Greece this year

He's not had a prolonged period out the game as far as I can tell

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

Donegal Hibby
27-08-2023, 08:18 PM
Mackay =.BIG NO .
Martindale=BIG NO .
Robinson=BIG NO .
Anyone else that gets the Hibs managers Job I will support 100%..

My personal choice would be Roy Keane if he wants back into management. In reality, I’d take Robinson from St Mirren.

I'll take Henry but sadly no longer here.

He would get a tune out of us am sure.

Though having just googled him, he wrote a piece called "Theme from the Great Imposter" ☺️

👍. Plays cracking football

On a shoe string budget as well. National league is hard to get out of and his team done it the hard way via the playoffs aster running Wrexham very close. Defo take him.

Silky
27-08-2023, 08:21 PM
You do know he is back at n.Ireland?

Not necessarily a barrier though. He could so both.

27-08-2023, 08:23 PM
Steve Evans - Something about him just makes me think ‘NO’ without any real logic. Looking into his stats he always seems to have done quite well whenever he’s been and is highly rated. He is and has played in Scotland so will know the league.

Scott Brown - Wouldn’t be in the frame if he never played for us and Fleetwood fans appear to want him sacked soon.

Alan Pardew - Recipe for disaster imo. Think he wouldn’t give Scottish football much respect.

Stephen Robinson - Rate him highly and done a good job at Motherwell and st Mirren. Could he cope with a bigger budget and more demand from fans? One way to find out.

JamesHFC
27-08-2023, 08:24 PM
Pardew could be appointed as early as Thursday.

1875Sean
27-08-2023, 08:25 PM
Not necessarily a barrier though. He could so both.

You have been playing too much football manager I think

Box 17
27-08-2023, 08:26 PM
Surely somebody with good knowledge of the Scottish game. The answer is under our noses.

Any one of McInnes, Mackay, Martindale, Robinson.

Gaffer1875
27-08-2023, 08:27 PM
McInnes for me. Definitely not Martindale or Mackay. Roy Keane would be box office too.

I do think we need an experienced manager at this stage but if we do go down the younger manager route, Rhys McCabe is flying at Airdrie and Marv is doing well at QOOS. Scott Brown and KT double act?[emoji1783]

27-08-2023, 08:27 PM
It is the most uninspiring collection of names that are being banded about! Hoping Hibs can sort through this and pull a rabbit out of a hat. We are an appealing option, well run off the pitch, investment into the squad, own our own training centre and European football is achievable, and based in what is a very nice city...expecting some interesting and unexpected candidates.

Also bottom of the league so the only way is up 😁

27-08-2023, 08:28 PM
Pardew could be appointed as early as Thursday.https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-3485463/amp/Brian-McDermott-owes-managerial-career-Crystal-Palace-boss-Alan-Pardew-friends-prepare-clash-FA-Cup-quarter-finals.html

27-08-2023, 08:30 PM
A Jambo I know in Edinburgh texted me to say he heard that Scott Brown is a shoo-in. Or rather "Guaranteed the job if he wants it".

I don't know if what he's heard is accurate, but I doubt he's trying to wind me up.

What in Scott Brown’s managerial career points to him being suitable for Hibs?

Not having a pop at you here, more directing that at the board. Seriously. What goes through their minds.

27-08-2023, 08:30 PM

Based on what?

27-08-2023, 08:31 PM

Where you hearing all this Pardew chat?

Paul1642
27-08-2023, 08:32 PM
Anyone being tipped as ‘in the running’ on twitter or whatever is surely either being made up by accounts or pushed by their own agents in a bid to actually get them in the running.

No way anyone at Hibs who actually knows who’s potentially being considered has leaked that info or made contact with anyone yet.

27-08-2023, 08:34 PM
Don’t like the idea of Pardew at all. Does make sense with the links to McDermott posted above.

27-08-2023, 08:34 PM
Based on what?

Based on him being seen fishing at Pitlochery.

27-08-2023, 08:37 PM

I just don't want to hear this.

27-08-2023, 08:37 PM

Oh no…please don’t.

Usually you are pretty good with your sources too..

There is one thing having someone lined up / head hunting someone but if we didn’t even allow others to apply I think that’s a mistake and could easily miss out on a better candidate.

badabing67
27-08-2023, 08:40 PM
Is he a good manager though?

Yes he is imo

27-08-2023, 08:40 PM
I just don't want to hear this.Is Pardew poor?

I know him just by managing at a high level but I don't know much about him in all honesty

JamesHFC
27-08-2023, 08:41 PM
Decision is made by a majority vote. He is a name which is mentioned. Absolute no guarentee he will get it, but I expect the media will pick up on it in the coming days.

badabing67
27-08-2023, 08:42 PM
Always the bridesmaid! Remember Alan Stubbs though?

And Tony Mowbray, I wish he was available

27-08-2023, 08:43 PM
I would be quite happy with Pardew.

I think the team would benefit from an old school back to basics type approach now. A good guy that the players would get on with and respond to.

Interestingly his assistant at his last couple of jobs was Alex Dyer, the former Killie manager. He was an excellent assistant to Steve Clarke in this league so presumably he’d bring him in as assistant too.

27-08-2023, 08:44 PM
I would be quite happy with Pardew.

I think the team would benefit from an old school back to basics type approach now. A good guy that the players would get on with and respond to.

Interestingly his assistant at his last couple of jobs was Alex Dyer, the former Killie manager. He was an excellent assistant to Steve Clarke in this league so presumably he’d bring him in as assistant too.

He has some CV, that's for sure. But has he not been pish in the last few gigs he's had?

leith lynx
27-08-2023, 08:45 PM

Even worse than Gary Bowyer!

badabing67
27-08-2023, 08:48 PM
I would be happy with that

Yeah we could change the club name to Reading Reunion FC..... Blue and White hoops next season anybody.

27-08-2023, 08:49 PM
He has some CV, that's for sure. But has he not been pish in the last few gigs he's had?

Yeah, looks like managing abroad hasn’t really worked out for him. I can understand why to an extent if he’s a pretty old school British manager that relies on building good relationships with players.

I can understand why someone like him might be better suited to managing in the UK.

27-08-2023, 08:51 PM
Yes he is imo

Am glad you are not Ben Kensall then 😁

badabing67
27-08-2023, 08:53 PM
The Swiss Family?
Crusoe?
Mrs?
The Jam people?
Smokey?
Jim?

As long as it's John Robertson.

Donegal Hibby
Is Pardew poor?

I know him just by managing at a high level but I don't know much about him in all honesty

I just couldn't take to him when he was at Newcastle, it then changed to totally disliking him . Hope it's not true !.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Pardew

Pardews last 4 teams;

Club - wins - draws - defeats - win %

West Brom. - 3 -5 - 13 - 14.3%

ADO Den Haag - 1. - 3. - 4. - 12.5%

CSKA Sofia. - 1 - 3. - 3. - 14.3%

Aris. - 9. - 3. - 10. - 40.9%

Take his name/being a premiership manager out of it.

That’s brutal

Decision is made by a majority vote. He is a name which is mentioned. Absolute no guarentee he will get it, but I expect the media will pick up on it in the coming days.

I’d seriously hope not

27-08-2023, 08:55 PM
Pardews last 4 teams;

Club - wins - draws - defeats - win %

West Brom. - 3 -5 - 13 - 14.3%

ADO Den Haag - 1. - 3. - 4. - 12.5%

CSKA Sofia. - 1 - 3. - 3. - 14.3%

Aris. - 9. - 3. - 10. - 40.9%

Take his name/being a premiership manager out of it.

That’s brutal

I'd be surprised if he's being considered never mind actually appointed.

badabing67
27-08-2023, 08:57 PM
On a shoe string budget as well. National league is hard to get out of and his team done it the hard way via the playoffs aster running Wrexham very close. Defo take him.

Wrexham = DWLDD

Trinity Hibee
Billy Reid? Ex Hamilton and was recently potters asst at Chelsea

Frank Lampard hahaha that would be a decent appointment.

No but seriously we need a good manager

Outstanding :faf:

leith lynx
27-08-2023, 08:59 PM

Good shout.

27-08-2023, 09:00 PM
Good shout.

He's not managed a team in a decade. We tried the coach/assistant thing with Maloney and that didn't end well.

Paul1642
27-08-2023, 09:04 PM

Also Potter’s assistant in all of his successful roles, most notably Brighton. Can’t imagine he’s in contention at all but I wouldn’t say no.

supermcginn
https://www.football365.com/news/quote-unquote-pardews-when-youre-the-king he's even more arrogant and unlikeable than LJ. Please please no.

I don’t want another Manager that’s never managed in the Scottish leagues

e2los
27-08-2023, 09:05 PM
Whoever the next manager is, you can bet that Paul and Louie will still be in the first team when he leaves...

And most likely the next manager after that.

27-08-2023, 09:07 PM
https://www.football365.com/news/quote-unquote-pardews-when-youre-the-king he's even more arrogant and unlikeable than LJ. Please please no.

I do remember thinking he was a welt when he was down south. That dance when his team scored in the cup springs to mind.

Paul1642
I don’t want another Manager that’s never managed in the Scottish leagues

I don’t want an English lower league manager. I wouldn’t however say no to a foreign manager (unrealistic dreams of a Postecoglou type gem).

I just couldn't take to him when he was at Newcastle, it then changed to totally disliking him . Hope it's not true !.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Alan_Pardew

Think I’d go even less than I did under Johnson if we appointed him.

ChuckNor
27-08-2023, 09:09 PM
Graeme McDermott was at the Shamrock Rovers game on Friday. It wouldn’t surprise me if their manager Steven Bradley was in the frame. A talented manager. Has really stamped a playing identity on Rovers.

Trinity Hibee
27-08-2023, 09:10 PM
Graeme McDermott was at the Shamrock Rovers game on Friday. It wouldn’t surprise me if their manager Steven Bradley was in the frame. A talented manager. Has really stamped a playing identity on Rovers.

A manager unfamiliar with the Scottish leagues isn’t what we need IMO

27-08-2023, 09:11 PM

I mentioned him earlier. Ticks quite a few boxes.

I'm still cringing at the thought of Pardew, that would be the ultimate old pals act.

27-08-2023, 09:12 PM

**** no, please

HibeeMackenzie
27-08-2023, 09:13 PM
We’ve surely got to be sounding mcinnes out and offering him a two year deal. He proven and had relative success in our league. And a two year deal means if it all goes to dump again we’re not left paying yet another manager a significant compensation fee. The last 3 we’ve had to let go paid surely equates to a much improved first 11

Trinity Hibee
I mentioned him earlier. Ticks quite a few boxes.

I'm still cringing at the thought of Pardew, that would be the ultimate old pals act.

Ah didn’t see your post.

Agree about pardew. Don’t think he’d be a good fit

LewysGot2

Watching their right back.

Assuming you mean Brian McDermott 👍

Box 17
Somebody who knows the Scottish game and the opposition team and players inside out.

Mackay, McInnes, Robinson or Martindale.

It's not rocket science.

27-08-2023, 09:14 PM
We’ve surely got to be sounding mcinnes out and offering him a two year deal. He proven and had relative success in our league. And a two year deal means if it all goes to dump again we’re not left paying yet another manager a significant compensation fee. The last 3 we’ve had to let go paid surely equates to a much improved first 11

Do you think McInness would accept a 2 year deal?

Trinity Hibee
27-08-2023, 09:14 PM

No. 3 minimum

HibeeMackenzie
27-08-2023, 09:16 PM

For the money we’d be paying compared to what he’s on at killie, with the option to extend, I’m fairly certain he would

raeburnhibs
27-08-2023, 09:17 PM
Somebody who knows the Scottish game and the opposition team and players inside out.

Mackay, McInnes, Robinson or Martindale.

It's not rocket science.

Not the racist or the convicted drug dealer

I do remember thinking he was a welt when he was down south. That dance when his team scored in the cup springs to mind.

So you agree he got an English Premiership club to a cup final, but would rule him out based on his dancing?

Gordy M
Is Pardew that bad? He has managed teams that McInnes will never manage and has a pretty good record, better than McInnes id suggest, apart from a bizarre 30 odd games abroad? My concern would be lack of working in Scotland previously.

27-08-2023, 09:19 PM

It’s pointless anyway. The length of contract would just impact any compensation if another club came in for him. We’d agree any pay off terms in the event we sacked him when he signed the contract in the first place.

xqnq1875
We’ll be hiring someone who’s familiar with the Scottish game from what I’ve heard, so anyone like pardew who you’ve seen mentioned or any league one or league two managers don’t believe it

So you agree he got an English Premiership club to a cup final, but would rule him out based on his dancing?

Ehhh probably, aye. I mean it was really, really bad

https://media.tenor.com/CANgGYTVXzYAAAAd/alan-pardew-dance.gif

Then again, could be gold on Twitter to bam the opposition up. Who knows.

Donegal Hibby
27-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Think I’d go even less than I did under Johnson if we appointed him.

I think you would too . Only bright side to appointing Pardew is we'd both be on the same side this time 😂

cubehindthegoal
27-08-2023, 09:20 PM
Michael O’Neill … I think we’d see him improve the players, form them into a team, one that could press properly, do the simple things better, and he would then get the fans behind him. I have no doubt we’d improve under him.

27-08-2023, 09:22 PM
I think you would too . Only bright side to appointing Pardew is we'd both be on the same side this time 😂

We absolutely would !

Silky
27-08-2023, 09:25 PM
No. 3 minimum

No chance. Means we have to pay 2 years salary when he's emptied next summer! 18 months at most-that's par for the course and, from what I've read, plenty time to get the job done.

27-08-2023, 09:31 PM

I mean Lennon ran on the pitch pretending to be an Aeroplane and people loved it

DickieDastardly
27-08-2023, 09:31 PM
Stephen Robinson please.

Experienced in Scotland, pretty adept tactically, and able to get his teams punching above their weight.

27-08-2023, 09:32 PM

I’d rather have Alan Partridge.

27-08-2023, 09:33 PM
I mean Lennon ran on the pitch pretending to be an Aeroplane and people loved it

Maybe if he chuckled a wee aeroplane in that routine I'd be on board. Now you mention it, that's exactly what it's missing. That or the worm.

27-08-2023, 09:33 PM
He lives in Auckland though [emoji16]Can stay there during the week but can he get a 26 bus to Easter road at the weekend?

27-08-2023, 09:34 PM
Ah didn’t see your post.

Agree about pardew. Don’t think he’d be a good fit

No, it's cool, I was just agreeing with you 👍

supermcginn
27-08-2023, 09:34 PM
https://www.football365.com/news/quote-unquote-pardews-when-youre-the-king surely no-one reads this and thinks Pardew is the man we need. He'd be a disaster.

mixumatosis
27-08-2023, 09:37 PM
We are an appealing option, well run off the pitch, investment into the squad, own our own training centre and European football is achievable, and based in what is a very nice city

All these things were true the last 4, 5 or 6 times we appointed a manager. We're stuck between a few rocks and a couple of hard places.

If we hire someone who has worked at a much higher level, for example Pardew (i'm not suggesting he would be interested) then they will be seeing at as an easy ride to top up the pension, won't appreciate how competitive the league is etc.

If we hire a former player - I mean, I don't need to elaborate. Collins, Mixu, Yogi, Sauzee - whatever the reasons, in recent times it has never worked.

There are young managers in the Scottish Premiership like Kettlewell & Robinson, who appear to be on an upward trajectory, but who would remain a risk coming into a job with the level of scrutiny and expectation that Hibs would present them with.

If we hire an experienced, safe pair of hands from another SPFL side - So many of these guys have proven to be a good fit at one club and completely unable to replicate it at another. Would Martindale overperform at Hibs like he has at Livi ? Williamson made complete sense, but was a disaster. McInnes would be up against it from day 1 because it would not be pretty and some folk would never accept him because he played for Rangers.

And if we appoint a manager with a few hundred games under his belt at a decent level in England, with a history of improving the teams he has managed, with experience of playing in the Scottish top flight, experience of the Edinburgh derby and what that means, who has managed a team through a cup run to win a trophy at Wembley, that doesn't work out either.

The experts on here will be full of advice for the people who have to actually take responsibility for their decisions, but they'd have been tugging themselves blind if they'd have picked out Lee Johnson with that CV.

27-08-2023, 09:37 PM
https://www.football365.com/news/quote-unquote-pardews-when-youre-the-king surely no-one reads this and thinks Pardew is the man we need. He'd be a disaster.

Yeah, I was keen at first but if he's that arrogant maybe not.

27-08-2023, 09:38 PM
Malky Mackay, Christ. That’s just what we need to unite the fanbase, a racist piece of **** barely keeping Ross County in the league. What’s next, Graham Rix?

If you’re willing to sell the club’s principles down the river at least suggest a half decent coach.Could be a great appointment, I will save an absolute fortune getting up for matches and won't even feel bad about not getting up.

leith lynx
27-08-2023, 09:39 PM

Would rule him out due to his toblerone addiction.

27-08-2023, 09:40 PM
Would rule him out due to his toblerone addiction.

I heard he also drove to Dundee in his bare feet.

It's a no for me.

27-08-2023, 09:42 PM

Steve Evans in the frame apparently.I've just posted what Malky Mackay would mean to me but if it was between this absolute erse and Malky I'd go for the latter.

27-08-2023, 09:42 PM
The fans aren’t split as such but we need someone to galvanise the club and playing group.

We also have only a few days to sign some players before we are stuck with an unbalanced squad till January.

Pardew is a manager and would bring staff to do the coaching - just not convinced he is what we need.

We need low risk manager who gets us doing the basics of organisation and making us tough to beat.

Not a Maloney or Johnston using us as a coaching experiment.

27-08-2023, 09:46 PM

He’s doing a good job where he is just now but is he known to be a bit of an erse?https://twohundredpercent.net/steve-evans-football-manager-convicted-criminal/

Chorley Hibee
27-08-2023, 09:48 PM
Anyone being tipped as ‘in the running’ on twitter or whatever is surely either being made up by accounts or pushed by their own agents in a bid to actually get them in the running.

No way anyone at Hibs who actually knows who’s potentially being considered has leaked that info or made contact with anyone yet.

Pretty much everything leaks out at Hibs right now.

27-08-2023, 09:52 PM

GreenGray
27-08-2023, 09:54 PM

Aye I’ve always thought Pardew was a knob.
Between him, Evans and Mackay were not exactly talking about the nicest people in the world here are we?

1875Sean
27-08-2023, 09:59 PM
Michael O’Neill … I think we’d see him improve the players, form them into a team, one that could press properly, do the simple things better, and he would then get the fans behind him. I have no doubt we’d improve under him.

He’s not long went back to n.Ireland, so I can’t see it, plus I am not sure he would take a pay cut to here

Donegal Hibby
27-08-2023, 10:04 PM
I've just posted what Malky Mackay would mean to me but if it was between this absolute erse and Malky I'd go for the latter.

Hopefully won't be either of them that get it .
Anyone remember this btw ?
https://youtu.be/nTj6JEt-DDI?si=xFXZiPVdEs6UyrXj

Musselbound
27-08-2023, 10:05 PM

Going by the video that was posted I thought it was Alan Partridge.

cubehindthegoal
27-08-2023, 10:20 PM
He’s not long went back to n.Ireland, so I can’t see it, plus I am not sure he would take a pay cut to here

I’m sure you’re right, is unlikely, but I would try my damnedest nevertheless. He should’ve been our manager a long while ago, before he managed N Ire the first time. I believe we absolutely missed an opportunity there to have a very good manager and team again.

Victor
27-08-2023, 10:31 PM
John Kennedy is a possibility, didn’t want to move to Spurs, but must now realise that that was a bad decision and that Rogers is going to crash and burn!

27-08-2023, 10:32 PM

Aye, but he'd be framing that shady Doidge figure for killing Sherlock Holmes. That's not going to work.

Paulie Walnuts
27-08-2023, 10:36 PM
That was about 20 years ago . I'm sure we all did stuff in the distant past we weren't proud of .

No, it wasn’t about 20 years ago.

And I can say with a degree of certainty I’ve never uttered the words he said.

27-08-2023, 10:47 PM
What in Scott Brown’s managerial career points to him being suitable for Hibs?

Not having a pop at you here, more directing that at the board. Seriously. What goes through their minds.

No idea. I'm just passing on a message I got from someone I hadn't heard from in a good while. He contacted me specially to tell me.

I'm Spartacus
27-08-2023, 10:50 PM
Tam Courts was at the game today.

Wouldn’t be my choice but worth throwing his hat in the ring seeing as he was there today.

Oh no, why would he have been at the game? That is random.

So...

Derek McInnes and Stephen Robinson aren't high profile enough, according to some on here.
Paul Heckingbottom is managing in the EPL and got heaved.
We've tried Youth in Shaun.
We've tried a kind of experienced English Manager in LJ.
We've tried the kind of English experienced manager but from Scotland in Ross.
We're tried the manager with experience of Scotland in Lenny.
We've tried overseas in Mixu.
We've tried Irish in Fenlon.
We've tried guys with connections to Celtic, Rangers and Hearts.

Which boxes are left to tick?!

27-08-2023, 10:52 PM
Dean Smith? Linked with low champ jobs, gave Villa fans their club back. Break the bank for him and let him give us Hibs back.

Had Norwich playing some of the worst football I’ve seen at that level, though I can’t say I saw a whole lot of his Villa team

27-08-2023, 10:55 PM

So...

Derek McInnes and Stephen Robinson aren't high profile enough, according to some on here.

Someone good?

27-08-2023, 10:57 PM

So...

World cup winner like Zidane. Hibs might be too big a step up after Real mind you.

27-08-2023, 11:00 PM
Replacing Brent with Partridge would be an outstanding move from a comedic perspective, not so sure about the footballing implications but

He's here!
27-08-2023, 11:08 PM
Malky McKay. Don’t care if he’s damaged goods. We need a good manager not a puritan

He's Michael Stewart's top tip. As you say he's a good experienced manager doing a solid job at keeping a tiny club in the top flight. Learned a humbling lesson a few years back but has got his head down and worked hard on his rehabilitation.

27-08-2023, 11:12 PM
The fans aren’t split as such but we need someone to galvanise the club and playing group.

We also have only a few days to sign some players before we are stuck with an unbalanced squad till January.

Pardew is a manager and would bring staff to do the coaching - just not convinced he is what we need.

We need low risk manager who gets us doing the basics of organisation and making us tough to beat.

Not a Maloney or Johnston using us as a coaching experiment.

Is there really such a thing as a ‘low risk’ manager?

Wouldn’t LJ or Jack Ross have been considered to fall into that category?

This getting a new manager thing seems to be like a hit or a miss process to me.

Whoever we get will eventually be seen as ‘terrible’ or ‘brilliant’.

27-08-2023, 11:16 PM

So...

Nick Montgomerey

27-08-2023, 11:31 PM
Nick Montgomerey

Do you think he'd quit NSW for Edinburgh?

27-08-2023, 11:38 PM
Do you think he'd quit NSW for Edinburgh?

Depends.

He’s ambitious.

Been head hunted before by o/s clubs and stayed put.

Depend on offer and what his family said I guess

McGruber
27-08-2023, 11:40 PM

So...

A woman 🤔

28-08-2023, 01:42 AM
We’ll be hiring someone who’s familiar with the Scottish game from what I’ve heard, so anyone like pardew who you’ve seen mentioned or any league one or league two managers don’t believe it

I really hope that this is the case. I appreciate how seductive an idea of a foreign manager coming in and potentially having us playing amazing, “modern” football is, but there is far more potential for it to go wrong.

How many non-OF teams have appointed a non-UK manager and it be a success? I can think of a few who have been disasters. Hearts had two cup wins with foreign managers, but in both years they were paying massive salaries to players they couldn’t afford.

I think Skovdahl had a decent second season at Aberdeen, but only after an absolutely disastrous first one where they finished bottom and were only saved from relegation by the First Division winners not meeting the SPL stadium criteria at the time.

The two most recent managers we have taken with English league experience have massively underestimated what is required to be successful in Scotland, and that remains a danger with anyone who does not know the league.

Every team battles and scraps for every point they can gain in the SPL. That is not unique to Scotland, but it does require successful teams to have a variety of attributes to continually win games.

I by no means wish to reopen any Jack Ross debates, but I always found it quite hard to understand just how much of a problem many posters on here had with him. Was it always pretty when we won? No, absolutely not - but you have to accept that there are teams in this league that will sit deep, defend for their lives and make every game a battle.

That means that free flowing and expansive football isn’t always possible, and you just need to find a way to win. If that means winning a battle, so be it. For the majority of his time, Ross did that when needed (he obviously had some bad losses also), and we had some genuinely good wins as well.

Ultimately he was pragmatic, as this league demands it. A couple of other things are very notable as well - firstly, no other (non-OF) team during his time were renowned for playing really good football.

Secondly, when Aberdeen and Hearts were having high league finishes under McInnes and Neilson, there was a belief among some of their respective supports that both managers were dull and defensive-minded. Is that a reflection of them, or the realities of the competitive nature of the football in the SPL?

I think the only other manager that I’ve not mentioned above who has finished third in recent seasons (last year aside) was Robinson at Motherwell? I would absolutely take him at Hibs based on his time there, and at St. Mirren, but there are many on here who turn their noses up at him, due to his apparent playing style.

Another Mowbray would be amazing obviously, but there were was a generation of players at his time that is unlikely to be repeated. I most certainly want to watch a Hibs team that plays exciting, attacking football but I also want to see a successful Hibs team.

I think we all have to be realistic with regards to how that can be achieved in a competitive league like ours. And I think a manager with knowledge of our game is the way to go.

Dr_Regal
28-08-2023, 01:54 AM
I think Pardew might do well here. Especially working with his pal again. We haven’t really had an experienced manager in decades.

Then again I wouldn’t hate the Martindale either just because he would toughen us up.

28-08-2023, 01:57 AM
I think Pardew might do well here. Especially working with his pal again. We haven’t really had an experienced manager in decades.

Then again I wouldn’t hate the Martindale either just because he would toughen us up.

Lee Johnson had been managing for nine years when he was appointed?

28-08-2023, 04:59 AM
John Kennedy is a possibility, didn’t want to move to Spurs, but must now realise that that was a bad decision and that Rogers is going to crash and burn!

With the Hibs managerial tombola in full swing yet again he could take the same view about coming here - out of the frying pan, ...

28-08-2023, 05:01 AM
Lee Johnson had been managing for nine years when he was appointed?

Lennon wasn't exactly a rookie either.

28-08-2023, 05:15 AM

Since 2012 the league has been won every year by a manager without previous experience of the Scottish leagues (except for Lennon)

Postecoglu
Gerrard/Beale
Rogers
Declaration

Those guys were under whitw hot pressure too

28-08-2023, 05:20 AM
There isn't a right or a wrong type of manager - ultimately its about finding the best person for the job. But personally I'd prefer someone who is on the up rather than a journeyman that has been sacked multiple times.

In my time watching Hibs I've enjoyed us the most under McLeish, Mowbray and Stubbs. Guys that were a bit younger and fresher.

28-08-2023, 05:36 AM
If he hadn't been a disaster at Forest Green I would have been up for giving Duncan Ferguson a go, it wouldn't be a dull time that's for sure.

Fuzzywuzzy
28-08-2023, 05:38 AM
Kobayashi Maru

28-08-2023, 05:40 AM
Kobayashi Maru

Is they J League manager than never wins?

28-08-2023, 05:53 AM
Kobayashi Maru

It is a good exercise for training and testing a character.

28-08-2023, 06:06 AM

It would be an interesting ride he is absolutely nuts but think the fans would love him.

28-08-2023, 06:09 AM

Wow

28-08-2023, 06:11 AM
It would be an interesting ride he is absolutely nuts but think the fans would love him.

The talk of him or Pardew is terrifying. Who's leaking this from the club? Are we employing a closet jambo?

28-08-2023, 06:12 AM

Very good shout

28-08-2023, 06:15 AM

Imagine that at Tynie :greengrin

28-08-2023, 06:22 AM
The talk of him or Pardew is terrifying. Who's leaking this from the club? Are we employing a closet jambo?

Think sometimes names are deliberately put out as a distraction or to see the reaction or both. You will also have agents linking their client with vacant jobs e.g Alex Neill and journos just guessing basically. Will be an interesting few days.

Think I would definitely be sounding out Billy Reid though may be he will stay with Potter for the next job he will get which will be relatively soon imo.

28-08-2023, 06:29 AM
We need to find someone "safe" who we can rely on for at least 2-3 years of stability. We can't risk another sacking in 6-12 months' time.

28-08-2023, 06:32 AM
It won’t be Pardew. Absolutely no chance.

Terrible manager.

28-08-2023, 06:42 AM
Needs to be someone exciting to create a bit of much needed buzz

28-08-2023, 06:53 AM
Does Gareth Evans have no managerial ambitions?

28-08-2023, 06:58 AM
I see Steve Evans quoted as being in the frame for the job on Facebook.

WestStandWillie
28-08-2023, 07:01 AM

They'd be nae pies left on match day with that flump around the place.

28-08-2023, 07:14 AM
Any mention of Steve Evans surely has to be his agent using the situation to try and get his name out there or get a new deal at Stevenage.

28-08-2023, 07:18 AM

Hopefully its a McGuffin!!

scm70nyd1973
28-08-2023, 07:20 AM

He took Stevenage to Villa in a cup game and won - get him in before Thursday 😂

28-08-2023, 07:23 AM
I like the look of Robinson at the Saints, doing a great job there and ran us ragged at ER, obviously McInnes has a very decent track record at his clubs, both know the Scottish game well.

Posh Swanny
28-08-2023, 07:23 AM

Ooft! He would certainly satisfy those who want to see their managers animated on the touchline! Napier will be practicing his card brandishing technique the night before a game.

Evans is a top, top manager when he's the perceived underdog, but with a bit of cash to spend. Loves a signing does big Steve. If he was in charge this summer there's zero chance we'd be in the place we are at right back.

His style of play is pragmatic but he was doing OK at Posh, just didn't see eye to eye with MacAnthony, though Evans not the first to suffer that fate. Signed Ivan Toney and Cummings too.

To be honest, my biggest concern with Hibs appointing Evans would be the Malpas vibes that ooze from his assistant Paul Raynor - absolute psycho that bloke! 😂

Team would be up for the derbies though.

All that said, McDermott is presumably a big part of this decision and I just can't see him wanting to or working well with someone like Evans.

Posh Swanny
28-08-2023, 07:28 AM
It won’t be Pardew. Absolutely no chance.

Terrible manager.

Oh dear...

While I'll confidently dismiss Evans, as I just can't see him working with our director of football - I'm pretty sure Pardew and McDermott are tight.

28-08-2023, 07:31 AM
He took Stevenage to Villa in a cup game and won - get him in before Thursday 😂

Different manager for each game.

28-08-2023, 07:34 AM
Well I’ve read the posts and it looks like we are after a safe, tried and tested, exciting applicant, who is seen as an up and coming or experienced manager.
He is preferably Scottish
with experience in the SPL., because
Presumably we all know they make the best managers and managing a football team in Scotland is different to managing a football team anywhere else.
Oh, and English managers need not apply because every one of them underestimates Scottish Football.

Shouldn’t be hard to find a candidate who meets the essential criteria😂

28-08-2023, 07:38 AM
Well I’ve read the posts and it looks like we are after a safe, tried and tested, exciting applicant, who is seen as an up and coming or experienced manager.
He is preferably Scottish
with experience in the SPL., because
Presumably we all know they make the best managers and managing a football team in Scotland is different to managing a football team anywhere else.
Oh, and English managers need not apply because every one of them underestimates Scottish Football.

Shouldn’t be hard to find a candidate who meets the essential criteria😂

I’ll do it. Just won the quadruple with Hibs on FM. Super cup, and all three domestic ones.

I’ll also get the queues for the pie stands shortened.

JOD
28-08-2023, 07:39 AM
Malky Mckay for me.

Best spl manager by a mile out there.

WestStandWillie
28-08-2023, 07:43 AM
Malky Mckay for me.

Stop it. Just stop it. A big racist in charge of our club. Bloody hell.

28-08-2023, 07:44 AM
Malky Mckay for me.

https://i.imgur.com/qa6xFrk.png

28-08-2023, 07:47 AM
Billy Reid is an interesting shout and my preferred name so far. I'd still prefer someone else though just don't know whop.

I still think we need someone that immediately commands respect in the dressing room. Lee was a great guy but came across too nice. You couldn't imagine him bollocking anyone. I don't mean a raving lunatic like Lennon either. Someone with a presence.

28-08-2023, 07:51 AM
Billy Reid is an interesting shout and my preferred name so far. I'd still prefer someone else though just don't know whop.

I still think we need someone that immediately commands respect in the dressing room. Lee was a great guy but came across too nice. You couldn't imagine him bollocking anyone. I don't mean a raving lunatic like Lennon either. Someone with a presence.

Not wanting to sidetrack this thread, but how was Lee a great guy ?

28-08-2023, 07:56 AM

I'm backing Billy Reid as well but Lee a great guy? Too nice??? You must have seen a different side to him than me.

killie-hibby
28-08-2023, 08:04 AM
There isn't a right or a wrong type of manager - ultimately its about finding the best person for the job. But personally I'd prefer someone who is on the up rather than a journeyman that has been sacked multiple times.

In my time watching Hibs I've enjoyed us the most under McLeish, Mowbray and Stubbs. Guys that were a bit younger and fresher.

Ian Murray from Raith Rovers is reasonably young, seems to be on the up and am not aware of him having been sacked. Would he be considered?

WestStandWillie
28-08-2023, 08:06 AM
Ian Murray from Raith Rovers is reasonably young, seems to be on the up and am not aware of him having been sacked. Would he be considered?

He jumped before he was pushed at St Mirren. Shows he has integrity I suppose.

28-08-2023, 08:12 AM
Derek mcinnes

I don’t think the board will want to take as much risk as they need to.

I wasn’t a particularly big Ross fan

However

3rd place finish and cup runs

Lennon

Promotion and record points total

Theme is half decent managers who know the league tend to deliver in recent times gone by.

28-08-2023, 08:14 AM

Pleased to see Murray doing ok at Raith but he’s on a similar level to an Ian McCall or Billy Dodds now. He’ll move around the lower leagues for rest of his career.

The only real “up and coming” young manager in Scotland who’s achieved anything would be McCabe at Airdrie but it’s too early for him.

28-08-2023, 08:18 AM
Malky Mackay, Christ. That’s just what we need to unite the fanbase, a racist piece of **** barely keeping Ross County in the league. What’s next, Graham Rix?

If you’re willing to sell the club’s principles down the river at least suggest a half decent coach.

It could be said he has learned the errors of his ways through educational rehabilitation

28-08-2023, 08:21 AM

I like Murray - he's done a good job at a few lower league clubs and has a decent amount of experience now.

One of the weird things that I don't get when it comes to football manager searches is that we'll find a failure and focus on that as being a reason not to go near someone. I'd probably rather someone had experience of failure and an understanding of what went wrong than someone whose first experience of being in trouble is with us.

mixu83
28-08-2023, 08:26 AM
I don't think the club should over think it. We need experience, a bit of gravitas, and a good knowledge of what is needed to win in the SPL. That is McInness or Mackay.

CathroMustStay
28-08-2023, 08:29 AM
Neil Lennon.

Silky
28-08-2023, 08:30 AM
I like Murray - he's done a good job at a few lower league clubs and has a decent amount of experience now.

One of the weird things that I don't get when it comes to football manager searches is that we'll find a failure and focus on that as being a reason not to go near someone. I'd probably rather someone had experience of failure and an understanding of what went wrong than someone whose first experience of being in trouble is with us.

Yeah, I would tend to agree. I think Murray could be a shout. With a decent assistant and an experienced DOF to lean on, I think it could work.

28-08-2023, 08:32 AM
Why have side track the thread, we all know your felling about L. J.

28-08-2023, 08:35 AM
I wouldn't want Ian Murray anywhere near Hibs. An unpleasant individual with a patchy managerial record. There is no way he will be getting the job anyway.

28-08-2023, 08:36 AM
Why have side track the thread, we all know your felling about L. J.

Couldn’t remember if I’d mentioned it :greengrin

Greenio
28-08-2023, 08:44 AM
I like Ian Murray but he's not done anything anywhere near warranted of being given a job like this

28-08-2023, 08:47 AM
Posted this name already but we should be looking at Luke Williams at Notts County. Young manager, plays great football and got promoted via the playoffs out of the notoriously difficult English National league after running the bankrolled Wrexham very close, working on what we would call a tight budget. Started very well in League 2. Definitely worth a look

Paulie Walnuts
28-08-2023, 08:52 AM
McInnes is the absolute no brainer for me.

Outside of that, a part of me likes the sound of Hermits shout of Luke Williams or I wouldn’t mind seeing us go for a Scandinavian manager. Only thing with that is it totally flies in the face of the reasons I want McInnes in that I want him because he knows the league so well!

28-08-2023, 08:59 AM
Couldn’t remember if I’d mentioned it :greengrin
Now and again :agree:

28-08-2023, 09:03 AM

Just thought he came across a good guy, jovial, pleasant and honest. I don't see what other people are seeing with Lee. Maybe he is a monster and i'm bad judge of character! I seem to be in the minority anyway.

churchie16
28-08-2023, 09:15 AM
Only one man for it, Neil Lennon

RossScott1991
28-08-2023, 09:16 AM
I’ve made peace with Stephen Robinson or Derek Mcinnes.

two solid SPFL managers.

reason for mcinnes is with Youan vente and Boyle at his disposal I wouldn’t be as worried with us having goals in us.

28-08-2023, 09:21 AM

Broonie v the wee rat Naismith would be interesting [emoji16]

28-08-2023, 09:21 AM
Am I in a minority in that playing football ‘the right way’ is way down my list of requirements for what our next manager should provide. I want to see us fight, be organised and hard to beat and win first and foremost.

Like the cringy ‘Hibs class’ it’s a complete and utter myth we should only accept passing football because we were good 70 years ago when football was unrecognisable with the Famous 5, we had a spell of finishing second to Celtic 50 years ago with a good side and Tony Mowbray had us playing well for 18 months in between numerous humpings off Hearts. Wow. Amazing stuff.

I want to watch Hibs winning and being horrible to play against, getting right in amongst the opposition. If we do that playing well then that’s just a bonus.

raeburnhibs
28-08-2023, 09:26 AM
McInnes is the absolute no brainer for me.

Outside of that, a part of me likes the sound of Hermits shout of Luke Williams or I wouldn’t mind seeing us go for a Scandinavian manager. Only thing with that is it totally flies in the face of the reasons I want McInnes in that I want him because he knows the league so well!

Scandinavian Manager? Why, cause you like blondes? or they'd get us playing better at Kilie and Livi because of their greater plastic pitch experience?

28-08-2023, 09:28 AM
Am I in a minority in that playing football ‘the right way’ is way down my list of requirements for what our next manager should provide. I want to see us fight, be organised and hard to beat and win first and foremost.

Like the cringy ‘Hibs class’ it’s a complete and utter myth we should only accept passing football because we were good 70 years ago when football was unrecognisable with the Famous 5, we had a spell of finishing second to Celtic 50 years ago with a good side and Tony Mowbray had us playing well for 18 months in between numerous humpings off Hearts. Wow. Amazing stuff.

I want to watch Hibs winning and being horrible to play against, getting right in amongst the opposition. If we do that playing well then that’s just a bonus.

I’ve not seen anybody say the new manager has to play passing football or a Hibs way?

I, and others, want to be entertained but that doesn’t have to be passing football, could be route one football for me if it means we are scoring goals and playing on the front foot,

stuart-farquhar
28-08-2023, 09:29 AM
I want us to go down the snarling, hard tackling, bullying, musclebound, hard man route. No pals on the pitch stuff.

HendoDelivered
28-08-2023, 09:30 AM
I want us to go down the snarling, hard tackling, bullying, musclebound, hard man route. No pals on the pitch stuff.

Butcher worked out well tbf

timewilltell
28-08-2023, 09:30 AM
Yeah, I would tend to agree. I think Murray could be a shout. With a decent assistant and an experienced DOF to lean on, I think it could work.

Absolutely no. And if he hadn’t played for Hibs, you wouldn’t be considering him. That’s our continual problem right there. Sentiment nonsense.

Paulie Walnuts
28-08-2023, 09:32 AM
Scandinavian Manager? Why, cause you like blondes? or they'd get us playing better at Kilie and Livi because of their greater plastic pitch experience?

Obviously they’d have to be good. But my logic is that it’s a market where the money isn’t outrageous so you could get decent bang for your buck. If you go down to England then you’re not getting that most of the time imo.

I’d rule all English managers from Championship and League One as I think you’re only likely to get the most bang average of managers from that level.

28-08-2023, 09:33 AM
Lee had the look of one who spends too much time at the hairdresser.

28-08-2023, 09:40 AM
]Am I in a minority in that playing football ‘the right way’ is way down my list of requirements for what our next manager should provide[/B]. I want to see us fight, be organised and hard to beat and win first and foremost.

No. It hasn't got us anywhere meaningful since the 1970's. We need to cut out this stuff about playing football the right way. Playing football the right way is winning games, finishing 3rd and reaching Hampden more often than not. Don't care if it's pretty on the eye or not.

28-08-2023, 09:43 AM
The whole point of a DoF model, to me anyway, is that it’s an acceptance that any head coach isn’t going to be around long, within 2-3 seasons they’ll have moved on, so we need to be sticking to a fairly consistent style of play across our teams as we can’t tear up the squad on that timescale.

In theory any players we sign now wouldn’t be different than if Johnson had stayed or if his replacement was already here.

28-08-2023, 09:46 AM
Are people posting Scott Brown as a joke? surely? they are bottom of their league and Brown is on a sackable run of form, at least we wont have to pay compensation!

28-08-2023, 09:53 AM
The whole point of a DoF model, to me anyway, is that it’s an acceptance that any head coach isn’t going to be around long, within 2-3 seasons they’ll have moved on, so we need to be sticking to a fairly consistent style of play across our teams as we can’t tear up the squad on that timescale.

In theory any players we sign now wouldn’t be different than if Johnson had stayed or if his replacement was already here.

2-3 seasons :faf:

Any manager that lasts that long gets the freedom of Leith, and the honour of being allowed to drive a flock of sheep down Easter Road, or something.

McGruber
28-08-2023, 10:18 AM

That's a very good point.

However I'd rather McInnes in to steady the ship than Murray this time round

1875Sean
28-08-2023, 10:20 AM
McBookke has Lennon as early favs, followed by Mcinnes and then Gray. Not seen Gray mentioned much, we could maybe follow Aberdeen and Hearts lead and promote within?

https://mcbookie.com/event/1096776/next-permanent-hibernian-manager

28-08-2023, 10:22 AM
No. It hasn't got us anywhere meaningful since the 1970's. We need to cut out this stuff about playing football the right way. Playing football the right way is winning games, finishing 3rd and reaching Hampden more often than not. Don't care if it's pretty on the eye or not.

No . Surely we play the" Hibs way" and then posters can come on here to complain about the manager when we lose games we should win.:greengrin

28-08-2023, 10:24 AM

What does that even mean? And why is it important?

28-08-2023, 10:25 AM
Butcher worked out well tbf

If he had kept us up we would never have won the Scottish Cup, so maybe it did work out ok 🤣

Paulie Walnuts
28-08-2023, 10:27 AM

Has it not?

Mowbray played ‘the Hibs way’ and we were excellent. When Lennon played ‘the Hibs way’ we were also excellent. When he stopped playing the Hibs way we were guff. A lot of what Stubbs done was played in the Hibs way and it was a very enjoyable period culminating in the Scottish Cup.

If we’re playing ‘the Hibs way’ then the results will come with it. I can’t think of any manager we’ve had that played ‘the Hibs way’ and didn’t pick up results to go with it. If you’re playing the Hibs way it’s because you’re a cracking side, crap teams can’t play the football we want to see.

28-08-2023, 10:29 AM
Has it not?

Mowbray played ‘the Hibs way’ and we were excellent. When Lennon played ‘the Hibs way’ we were also excellent. When he stopped playing the Hibs way we were guff. A lot of what Stubbs done was played in the Hibs way and it was a very enjoyable period culminating in the Scottish Cup.

If we’re playing ‘the Hibs way’ then the results will come with it. I can’t think of any manager we’ve had that played ‘the Hibs way’ and didn’t pick up results to go with it. If you’re playing the Hibs way it’s because you’re a cracking side, crap teams can’t play the football we want to see.

This for me.

I don’t care if it’s the “Hibs way” or not but I’d like to enjoy watching us play.

28-08-2023, 10:37 AM
This for me.

I don’t care if it’s the “Hibs way” or not but I’d like to enjoy watching us play.

I don’t think I’ve seen one post from anyone demanded Hibs play the Hibs way.

The biggest myth is that Hibs fans are demanding it.

sean04
28-08-2023, 10:44 AM
Seen Darren Moore name mentioned, done really well with sheff Wednesday last year

28-08-2023, 10:48 AM
Seen Darren Moore name mentioned, done really well with sheff Wednesday last year

They were a horrible watch, if people think McInnes football is eye bleedingly bad then you haven't seen Wednesday under Moore. He was also the guy who signed Kamberi for Wednesday.

stuart-farquhar
28-08-2023, 11:04 AM

Funnily enough we shared the same barber. And he was there a lot

28-08-2023, 11:10 AM
McBookke has Lennon as early favs, followed by Mcinnes and then Gray. Not seen Gray mentioned much, we could maybe follow Aberdeen and Hearts lead and promote within?

Just no.

28-08-2023, 11:19 AM

Obviously haven't picked up on the Alan Pardrew chat 👀

28-08-2023, 11:34 AM
I doubt the bookies have any info, so will be a mix of guesses plus the few bets made distorting the market.

28-08-2023, 11:42 AM
Is Stephen Bradley at Shamrock any good?

Seen his name mentioned a couple of times but no idea about him, style of play etc.

I know his record will look good for them but what are the fans options and how does it compare to previous Shamrock managers?

Edit - https://thelincolnite.co.uk/2022/05/who-is-steven-bradley-the-young-irish-manager-set-to-be-next-lincoln-boss/ Found this

28-08-2023, 11:44 AM
Obviously haven't picked up on the Alan Pardrew chat 👀

Thank goodness.

28-08-2023, 11:48 AM
[QUOTE=.Sean.;7450781]Am I in a minority in that playing football ‘the right way’ is way down my list of requirements for what our next manager should provide. I want to see us fight, be organised and hard to beat and win first and foremost.

If you start with that you can add creative, adventurous play as and when you can afford/sign the players needed to achieve "entertainment".

28-08-2023, 11:57 AM
Has it not?

The Hibs way is an absolute myth. Would you be happy getting ragdolled by Hearts like Mowbray did? Or Bottling games like Lennon did? Or having 3 seasons in the Champoionship like Stubbs did? Pretty football is nice but give me industrial style and 3rd place, cup finals and beating Hearts more often than not every day of the week.

Greenside
28-08-2023, 12:06 PM
Brian McDermott?

Langlee Hibs
28-08-2023, 12:08 PM
The Hibs way is an absolute myth. Would you be happy getting ragdolled by Hearts like Mowbray did? Or Bottling games like Lennon did? Or having 3 seasons in the Champoionship like Stubbs did? Pretty football is nice but give me industrial style and 3rd place, cup finals and beating Hearts more often than not every day of the week.

WestCoastHibby
28-08-2023, 12:11 PM
I’m 57 and “The Hibs way” has seen far more disappointing seasons than memorable ones.
New manager needs to get a grip of a sticky situation and then worry about the way later.
I knew Johnson was doomed when he started saying the defence starts at the front. Jeezo

RossScott1991
28-08-2023, 12:17 PM
I’m 31. The best football I’ve seen is Mowbray. It’s been all pretty wishy washy ever since. 4/5 months under Lennon were it was exciting. Stubbs didn’t really tear up the championship but it was an exciting time to follow Hibs due to the cup runs.

So all in all, if we got someone like Mcinnes that could have us being solid contention for 3rd more often than not against Aberdeen and hearts, and also do well in cups I’d take that. Even doesn’t need be Mcinnes but Robinson or whoever aslong as they are steady and know the league.

Not sure how many times we’ve finished best of the rest but only handful times in my life. This whole attacking football gimmick needs to stop being the criteria we look for. We have a poor defence and a terrible midfield. The front 3 has quality to win us games but any new man won’t be able to change much of any style for now anyway until we finally find upcoming replacements for Hanlon/Stevenson and a total midfield rebuild.

every manager is falling into same trap in giving same guys like JDH, Campbell and Newell clean slates. Individually have decent qualities but we’ve yet to have someone come in and stop
Playing these guys and someone has to find a better balance.

a steady spfl manager is what we should go for.

but I can’t help but feel McDermott will have a say and will appoint someone he’s worked with down south at some point in his career. That type of appointment will fill be with less optimism at this point.

28-08-2023, 12:26 PM

The only myth is that Hibs fans are demanding free flowing passing football as the Hibs way.

Nobody is asking for that but people like you that only care about the end result of matches keep bringing it up to try and prove your point.

I’ve not seen one person on this forum ask for a manager to play the Hibs way. The closest I’ve come to seeing it was the post you quoted which was deliberately highlighting it to make a point.

Trinity Hibee
28-08-2023, 12:45 PM
Neil Lennon on PLZ soccer podcast with Peter Martin, roughie and tam McManus at 4pm. Can watch live on YouTube.

Could be interesting

NthCarolinaHibs
28-08-2023, 01:59 PM
Is Stephen Bradley at Shamrock any good?

Seen his name mentioned a couple of times but no idea about him, style of play etc.

I know his record will look good for them but what are the fans options and how does it compare to previous Shamrock managers?

Edit - https://thelincolnite.co.uk/2022/05/who-is-steven-bradley-the-young-irish-manager-set-to-be-next-lincoln-boss/ Found this My mate I Dublin says it would be a big mistake even thinking about this boy..

Paloschi
28-08-2023, 02:28 PM
I really think it’s got to be McInnes. It’s time for stability and he is probably the safest bet available. My only concern is style of play element. I am not sure Hibs are a team that have played good football for sometime. Maybe Lennon was the last to make us look attractive and like a proper football team.

If not McInnes, we could look at Jim Curtin who manages Philadelphia in the MLS. Apart from that, nobody is standing out.

Robinson would be a disaster and it wouldn’t end well. He isn’t likeable, clearly doesn’t respect Hibs and the fans would be on his back toot sweet.

28-08-2023, 02:34 PM
See Lee Johnson is 4/1 favorite for the Charlton Athletic job

28-08-2023, 02:36 PM
Does anyone think with Hibs to pay off our Management team, our next manager maybe out of work at the moment
List below

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/trainer/verfuegbaretrainer/statistik

28-08-2023, 02:37 PM

Might save Hibs a few bob if he gets this job

28-08-2023, 02:40 PM
Does anyone think with Hibs to pay off our Management team, our next manager maybe out of work at the moment
List below

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/trainer/verfuegbaretrainer/statistik

I've already seen ZZ house hunting in Gullane.

28-08-2023, 02:47 PM

He could probably buy Gullane

28-08-2023, 02:50 PM
I really think it’s got to be McInnes. It’s time for stability and he is probably the safest bet available. My only concern is style of play element. I am not sure Hibs are a team that have played good football for sometime. Maybe Lennon was the last to make us look attractive and like a proper football team.

If not McInnes, we could look at Jim Curtin who manages Philadelphia in the MLS. Apart from that, nobody is standing out.

Robinson would be a disaster and it wouldn’t end well. He isn’t likeable, clearly doesn’t respect Hibs and the fans would be on his back toot sweet.

Anyone who got us winning and playing decent stuff would find themselves liked and respected.

28-08-2023, 02:52 PM

5/2 on some sites.

28-08-2023, 02:59 PM
I’d like us to go for Karel Geraerts. Should be just about in our budget. Sacked for not agreeing a 4k per month wage rise mind you 🤦*♂️

Interesting article below.

https://www.foottheball.com/manager-in-focus/karel-geraerts-news-royale-union-saint-gilloise-job-coach-playing-style-tactics-analysis-career/

Mentioned him earlier in the thread after taking a glance at out of work managers as posted by Billy Whizz up the page. Would be one that'd get me excited. Lost the league last season on goal difference with a team I'd barely heard of in his first full season as manager.

28-08-2023, 03:05 PM

Was at Sunderland with Methen

28-08-2023, 03:06 PM
Was there mention of NL on a podcast which would stream live at 16:00?

Sure it was PLZ which is not on right now?

28-08-2023, 03:10 PM

ZZ would get us Top

28-08-2023, 03:11 PM
Was there mention of NL on a podcast which would stream live at 16:00?

Sure it was PLZ which is not on right now?

Sure they stream live at 7pm?

28-08-2023, 03:13 PM
ZZ would get us Top

Would he be as sharp a dressed man as Jack Ross though?

28-08-2023, 03:15 PM

Aye that’s what I thought!

ChuckNor
28-08-2023, 03:18 PM
Just passing on a little tidbit I heard while working (I’m involved in media, not in sport). McDermott recently met with Jermaine Defoe. The conversation was about the coaching structure at hibs, with Defoe eager to learn from him. He is a fan of McDermott’s work elsewhere and was apparently full of praise for the club. Gained a lot of respect while at Rangers. Apparently a few weeks before the sacking. Don’t shoot the messenger, genuinely just passing on what I was told.

Trinity Hibee
28-08-2023, 03:18 PM

Sorry mate. It was 4pm last season but looks like it’s changed. My mistake!

28-08-2023, 03:21 PM
Just passing on a little tidbit I heard while working (I’m involved in media, not in sport). McDermott recently met with Jermaine Defoe. The conversation was about the coaching structure at hibs, with Defoe eager to learn from him. He is a fan of McDermott’s work elsewhere and was apparently full of praise for the club. Gained a lot of respect while at Rangers. Apparently a few weeks before the sacking. Don’t shoot the messenger, genuinely just passing on what I was told.
Can he play in midfield :cb

Donegal Hibby
28-08-2023, 03:21 PM
Anyone who got us winning and playing decent stuff would find themselves liked and respected.

I can't stick Stephen Robinson , comes across as a totally dislikeable character . Didn't like the carry on he was acquitted for either , think there was more to it ! Would I support him if he was Hibs manager ? No and that's even if he was winning games TBH .
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/sportsnews/article-8055731/Motherwell-boss-Stephen-Robinson-did-not-assault-partner-admits-acting-like-idiot.html

28-08-2023, 03:24 PM
Charlton fans raging that they are linked with LJ - kind of shows you what several down south think of his style.

Heard it took over 1 hour for LJ to appear to speak to media after the game Saturday- usually it takes around 20 mins before the press conference etc.

28-08-2023, 03:27 PM
Charlton fans raging that they are linked with LJ - kind of shows you what several down south think of his style.

Heard it took over 1 hour for LJ to appear to speak to media after the game Saturday- usually it takes around 20 mins before the press conference etc.

Hopefully he was giving the players a few home truths in the dressing room.

28-08-2023, 03:28 PM
I can't stick Stephen Robinson , comes across as a totally dislikeable character . Didn't like the carry on he was acquitted for either , think there was more to it ! Would I support him if he was Hibs manager ? No and that's even if he was winning games TBH .
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/sportsnews/article-8055731/Motherwell-boss-Stephen-Robinson-did-not-assault-partner-admits-acting-like-idiot.html

Yeah he's not for me either. I'd be in the Robinson out camp :wink:

ChuckNor
28-08-2023, 03:31 PM
Can he play in midfield :cb

Just passing on what I heard mate. I was told by a lad with decent connections. Defoe is really ambitious. Enjoyed it up here and would certainly bring some star quality.

28-08-2023, 03:33 PM

Given their no doubt uncharitable view of the Scottish game they are probably unimpressed that he has it's 4th / 5th biggest club bottom of the table with zero points after it's first 3 games none of which were a derby or against one of the Uglies and two of which were at home. TBF I wouldn't be very happy if I was a Charlton fan either :greengrin

28-08-2023, 03:33 PM

So if we were to appoint him you’d be to him on this site that I was to Johnson ? :greengrin

28-08-2023, 03:35 PM
ZZ would get us Top

Not sure this story has much Legs

28-08-2023, 03:37 PM

Do you not think that’s a slightly daft and unfair position to take though, given you’ve quite aggressively challenged (not at all unreasonably in some cases btw) those who you felt had done the same with Johnson ie never really given him a chance?

There are obviously people I’d never get behind but they’re generally all serving life sentences. Once a Hibs board has decided we’re appointing someone I’m backing him, even if I disagree with the decision, until I’ve made my mind up they’re no longer deserving of that backing.

28-08-2023, 03:37 PM
Just passing on what I heard mate. I was told by a lad with decent connections. Defoe is really ambitious. Enjoyed it up here and would certainly bring some star quality.

Donegal Hibby
28-08-2023, 03:38 PM
So if we were to appoint him you’d be to him on this site that I was to Johnson ? :greengrin

Yep I'd be Donegal Jeffers then 😂

28-08-2023, 03:41 PM
Patrick Viera anyone, whats he up to these days.

28-08-2023, 03:42 PM
Yep I'd be Donegal Jeffers then 😂

🤣