View Full Version : Hibs transfer thread (Last Day Update - Anier / Feruz (both loan) in, None out)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28

23-06-2015, 12:33 PM
Could you send a pm my way tc

I've posted what I've sent to others mate. Saves everyone wondering what I was sending 😄 nothing to exciting just more updates!

Tha Cabbage Kid
23-06-2015, 12:34 PM
Instead of PM's I'll just fire out what I'm told... Nothing to exciting!

Allan says he does want to play at a higher level but only if it suits Hibs and the price is right for both. He's very happy here and loves Stubbs so there is no rush to move on.

Holt is wanted and they have met for talks on three occasions now! It's depending on other things happening but Hibs hope to have him in sooner rather than later.

Offer for Williams has been put to him and Hibs awaiting an answer!

Source is a mix of player and agent! Maybe others could say if they have heard similar?

well hopefully hibs can offer SA a better wage and keep him for a wee bit longer. if he is in no hurry to leave.
glad to hear something regarding a goalie too would take williams if he is a possibility.
hope holt signs

starting to get excited! :greengrin

23-06-2015, 12:36 PM
I'll just fire out what I'm told... Nothing to exciting!

Allan says he does want to play at a higher level but only if it suits Hibs and the price is right for both. He's very happy here and loves Stubbs so there is no rush to move on.

Holt is wanted and they have met for talks on three occasions now! It's depending on other things happening but Hibs hope to have him in sooner rather than later.

Source is a mix of player and agent! Maybe others could say if they have heard similar?

Sounds like he isn't going to The Rangers then.

23-06-2015, 12:39 PM

Whilst all the above is well and good and much appreciated, it would have been far more exciting in a PM:greengrin

23-06-2015, 12:40 PM
well hopefully hibs can offer SA a better wage and keep him for a wee bit longer. if he is in no hurry to leave.
glad to hear something regarding a goalie too would take williams if he is a possibility.
hope holt signs

To be honest If SA sees out the season and completes his contract that would be fine for me, he has done hibs a turn and hibs have done him a turn, and you can understand unlike Danny Wilson he has the ambition to play at a higher level.

23-06-2015, 12:44 PM
To be honest If SA sees out the season and completes his contract that would be fine for me, he has done hibs a turn and hibs have done him a turn, and you can understand unlike Danny Wilson he has the ambition to play at a higher level.

I don't get this ambition comment. Does this mean Fyvie, Keatings, Carmichael, Gray and Fontaine (I hope) all lack ambition too?

23-06-2015, 12:47 PM

He could do that with us... get us promoted we are playing at a higher level. :wink:

23-06-2015, 12:48 PM
Do you seriously not realise that in order for Pirlo to play the role he does, he has had players (including Gattuso) that do carry out the defensive duties (dirty work if you like) alongside him all his career?

Whilst Pirlo isn't best known for his beasting tackles, to imply he needs someone next to him to cover for him defensively is - as the below image shows - perhaps a tad wide of the mark.....

Anyway, when's he signing for Hibs?

Tha Cabbage Kid
23-06-2015, 01:02 PM

But, If he was to sign a contract for another year and plays as good this season as he did last season. he would without doubt have a great opportunity to get a club in the championship down south.. if any club in the championship were to pay between 500 and 800 k for him which would not be alot for a club down south lets be honest. we would be in a great position.

him signing a new contract with us for another year would not trap him in any way if he want to play at a higher level.

hope holt signs

I wonder if Holt is a back up if Allan leaves?

The Leith Dutch
Do people seriously not realise that playing deep in midfield doesn't necessarily mean the player is a 'defensive midfielder'. Gattuso and Pirlo both played 'deep' in midfield, only one of which would be considered a defensive midfielder (and no I'm not comparing Handling to either of these players).

I get the distinction but I'd make the argument that the "Deep in midfield" role you're talking about is way too nuanced a style of play for the Scottish Championship particularly if you're talking about a club that has a budget to attract significantly better players than everyone else in the league bar one team.

I reckon one of two things would happen with Handling in that role:
He'd be too deep to be involved if we were doing well or he'd be physically knocked off the ball if the other team had the upper hand.

Not having a go at Handling as a player - more I don't think we should be looking to be that clever in this division.

We don't need a new style of play - just better quality balls in the final third and the strikers taking a higher percentage of their chances.
Beat sevco two or three times in the league and that'll be job done.

23-06-2015, 01:03 PM

Any talk of Hearts being due a development fee?

andrew70
23-06-2015, 01:04 PM

We've wanted Holt for a while, approached Hearts end of last year.

Would love to get him. Holt and Nicholson were by far Hearts most talented youths when emerging.

Holt struggled to get a game ahead of Levein's hammer-throwers in the middle of midfield that says more about their tacttics thean the player himself. Would be a great acquisition.

23-06-2015, 01:09 PM
We've wanted Holt for a while, approached Hearts end of last year.

Would love to get him. Holt and Nicholson were by far Hearts most talented youths when emerging.

Holt struggled to get a game ahead of Levein's hammer-throwers in the middle of midfield that says more about their tacttics thean the player himself. Would be a great acquisition.

Always thought he was a good player and would do well for Hibs with Stubbs in charge. Would be a great signing however cant help think that he and Allan are similar players.

We need good cover for Gray at right back, he did have an injury prone season and we missed him when he wasnt in the time.

Jordan Forster ? Though is he still injured ?

With Boyle and Forster injured that makes us even more light in numbers.

To say Danny only had one good game all last season is absolute nonsense

That might be a tad harsh but he only stood out for me one game. Should have worded it better!

23-06-2015, 01:10 PM

No idea Callum! It's something I've wondered about myself.

23-06-2015, 01:11 PM

Cheers Cat . So reading between the lines . The Rangers have no chance of getting SA .

23-06-2015, 01:12 PM
Allan fyvie and holt would be a very dynamic, technically good midfield

23-06-2015, 01:14 PM
Always thought he was a good player and would do well for Hibs with Stubbs in charge. Would be a great signing however cant help think that he and Allan are similar players.

You can't have too many good players. Andres and Xavi played in the same Barca and Spain sides.

Tha Cabbage Kid
23-06-2015, 01:15 PM

dont know enought about Holt to say. is he the same kind of player as Allan?

23-06-2015, 01:15 PM
:agree: Would be even better if we could get McGeouch

23-06-2015, 01:17 PM

Yup, pretty impressive for the championship.

Would hopefully be stronger than whoever rangers manage to bring in.

23-06-2015, 01:17 PM
I don't think Handling is good enough myself, but i'd like to see him get a chance on this new role if we don't bring anyone in. I've not seen him play there myself but others seem to think he will do well so I've nothing against throwing him in. If he doesn't do well then he needs let go/sold because he's just not done it for me. He only had one good game the whole of last season where he stood out that's just not good enough.

We can't afford to be pissing about giving people chances. We need to hit the ground running this year and try and get ahead of the New Huns. If we're not extremely confident he can play this role then we should just be getting rid, imo. I don't think he's good enough either but wtfdik?

23-06-2015, 01:18 PM
Carmichael Keatings/cummings Boyle

Holt Allan Fyvie

Stevenson Fontaine Hanlon Gray

Williams

OR

El Alagui Keatings/Cummings

Holt Fyvie Allan Carmichael

Williams

23-06-2015, 01:20 PM
Apologies if posted before.

Just as a matter of interest regarding Robertson's move to Romania, I had a wee gander at his new club. Turns out they finished 8th in the league and are only getting into Europe because Cluj, Dinamo Bucharest and two other teams failed to get UEFA licences.

23-06-2015, 01:21 PM
Do you seriously not realise that in order for Pirlo to play the role he does, he has had players (including Gattuso) that do carry out the defensive duties (dirty work if you like) alongside him all his career?

I think the fact that I chose those two players as an example suggests I do realise that - it wasn't by coincidence!

23-06-2015, 01:23 PM

Think Hearts have to have offered him a contract on at least the same amount of money he was already on to be due that. :agree:

23-06-2015, 01:25 PM
Carmichael Keatings/cummings Boyle

Holt Allan Fyvie

Williams

OR

El Alagui Keatings/Cummings

Holt Fyvie Allan Carmichael

Williams

Not a malonga fan?

patlowe
23-06-2015, 01:25 PM
Yup, pretty impressive for the championship.

Would hopefully be stronger than whoever rangers manage to bring in.

If guys like Fojut/Wilson are the level Rangers are going for then we should have nothing to fear in any area of the park IMO. The Rangers squad is terrible right now and if they are planning to supplement it with a few pretty average premiership standard players then I would hope that our quality and element of continuity would be enough to hold them off.

23-06-2015, 01:31 PM

Last season we had technically very good players in midfield and players that were pretty dynamic.

All could play under pressure and I include Craig as he rarely have ball away just wasn't creative enough.

What I think we were missing was a player to protect back 4 / screen / cover for us attacking. The example of iniesta and Xavi - they also have Busquets who is amazing at this role. Chelsea have Matic for example etc.

We don't need 2 holding midfielders and even some games 1 might not be needed for teams who sit in.

We do need creativity part 2 - as if Allan isn't setting up we need a plan B or C so break down defences (killer pass or a player to dribble past the opposition).

23-06-2015, 01:32 PM

Holt fits with what I mentioned to you... Scottish midfielder who has been down south. Also ongoing chats with Everton re Loans players.

23-06-2015, 01:34 PM
We can't afford to be pissing about giving people chances. We need to hit the ground running this year and try and get ahead of the New Huns. If we're not extremely confident he can play this role then we should just be getting rid, imo. I don't think he's good enough either but wtfdik?

We will have a bunch of bounce games which will allow Stubbs to decide on his starting 11 for game one.

Tha Cabbage Kid
23-06-2015, 01:35 PM
If guys like Fojut/Wilson are the level Rangers are going for then we should have nothing to fear in any area of the park IMO. The Rangers squad is terrible right now and if they are planning to supplement it with a few pretty average premiership standard players then I would hope that our quality and element of continuity would be enough to hold them off.

by all accounts that keirnan is supposed to be a good defender and to be honest they could do alot worse than wilson. and they are after allan so my guess is they are looking at a decent level of player

Tha Cabbage Kid
23-06-2015, 01:37 PM
although in saying that, that guy John Eustless is 35 and hasnt been playing football since January.

23-06-2015, 01:39 PM
Not a malonga fan?

I do actually like Malonga. Just think is is more likely to be the way we go to begin with.

patlowe
23-06-2015, 01:55 PM
by all accounts that keirnan is supposed to be a good defender and to be honest they could do alot worse than wilson. and they are after allan so my guess is they are looking at a decent level of player

I guess you are right - they are semi-decent but I think Rangers do need to bring in a lot of quality to take what is barely a squad at all to one that can beat a functioning, settled Hibs team IMO. It remains to be seen and if they really are after Allan, and get him, then that would change things dramatically.

23-06-2015, 02:01 PM
Holt fits with what I mentioned to you... Scottish midfielder who has been down south. Also ongoing chats with Everton re Loans players.

Yeah I think it must be him mate. Stubbs is a big fan of Holt apparently!

23-06-2015, 02:12 PM
You can't have too many good players. Andres and Xavi played in the same Barca and Spain sides.

There is the importance of balance though and they had Busquets doing alot of the donkey work for them also.

23-06-2015, 02:29 PM

He doesn't have to be starting every game. Great to have different options. Agree that DH would have to hit the ground running in his new position for the first team though, would be a fair bit of pressure on him from the stands if he got run over and gave away a few passes.

23-06-2015, 02:30 PM
dont know enought about Holt to say. is he the same kind of player as Allan?

I think they are quite similar attacking midfielders however Holt seems to be more of a goal threat.

23-06-2015, 02:45 PM

i said much the same on pm board yesterday. I heard there was also a bit of a chain to be completed once contracts expired on 30 June. ie before we could get a player, the loanee club, not necessarily Everton, had to finalise a deal for someone coming in.

23-06-2015, 02:50 PM
Scott Robertson has signed for FC Botosani in Romania, who will be in next years Europa League. http://www.sport.ro/liga-1/scott-robertson-ultimul-transfer-de-la-fc-botosani-e-impresariat-de-mama-sa-cu-ea-am-schimbat-primele.html

I hope that club has not been bought by a crooked Scottish banker hoping to pay the team wages with pensioners savings.

23-06-2015, 03:04 PM

What if we can't afford to? There might be the odd calculated risk here and there with the squad.

I think we still need 2 midfielders at least (perhaps McGeouch + 1 other) as both Craig and Robbo have already gone.

But we also need keepers and defenders of course.

23-06-2015, 03:11 PM
Maybe my standards have went up because of last season but I'd be very disappointed if we didn't bring in at least 2 goalkeepers, 2 defenders + Fontaine extension, and 2 midfielders...

23-06-2015, 03:22 PM
I think the fact that I chose those two players as an example suggests I do realise that - it wasn't by coincidence!

... So who is doing that for Handling if that's not what he's being played in that role for?

23-06-2015, 03:32 PM
[/B]

i said much the same on pm board yesterday. I heard there was also a bit of a chain to be completed once contracts expired on 30 June. ie before we could get a player, the loanee club, not necessarily Everton, had to finalise a deal for someone coming in.

Everton loans didn't really work out last season so wouldn't like to think we are down to relying on that at this stage of pre season Fair enough to take chance on an exciting prospect that Stubbs knows about and could handle pressure of championship and be motivated to improve as a ayer while doing a turn for us. , or taking someone on loan where it hasn't worked out at Everyon but loan could kick start career again If we don't get a goalkeeper in soon we could be looking at that type of scenario on loan same as we did last season with Oxley

23-06-2015, 03:36 PM
Do we not all expect a tenacious, defensive-minded midfielder to be brought in?

If not Stubbs may be looking at playing a defender like Forster in midfield but I'd think someone will be brought in.

We seem to have problems getting our heads round this position but we do have previous. Boozy would often play very deep, while he'd put in a tackle I'd never call him defensive. Latapy often did the same when we weren't on top, and when his legs were leaving him it's where he played for Falkirk.

It's good to have cover for sure but there will be game situations this season where it won't be required. If a teams sitting very deep on us a Matty Jack type would be a waste of a jersey whereas a deep lying playmaker finding Allan in space up the pitch could be points in the bag.

I'm not saying it'll work for sure but it'd be a good option to have with the added bonus of it being a player that we've developed.

GreenOnions
23-06-2015, 04:35 PM
Re - defensive midfielder

If we start from the relatively safe assumption that resources are limited then we can further assume that there are compromises to be made in some areas of the team.

If we bear in mind our experiences from last season re how teams set up against us in this league I would ask the question "how important (relative to other positions in the team) is it that we have a physical, predominantly defensive central midfielder"? In how many of our games will this be a crucial factor?

Extending the point further - how important will it be in our league games, compared to the above, for us to have a variety of creative attacking options and adequate cover for our first choice defenders?

In an ideal world I'd like to have the option to play a tall, athletic and strong defensive midfielder. However, if we have to choose between that and cover for our defenders and more creative players then the defensive midfielder is the one I'd skip.

23-06-2015, 04:40 PM

If we start from the relatively safe assumption that resources are limited then we can further assume that there are compromises to be made in some areas of the team.

If we bear in mind our experiences from last season re how teams set up against us in this league I would ask the question "how important (relative to other positions in the team) is it that we have a physical, predominantly defensive central midfielder"? In how many of our games will this be a crucial factor?

Extending the point further - how important will it be in our league games, compared to the above, for us to have a variety of creative attacking options and adequate cover for our first choice defenders?

In an ideal world I'd like to have the option to play a tall, athletic and strong defensive midfielder. However, if we have to choose between that and cover for our defenders and more creative players then the defensive midfielder is the one I'd skip.

I tend to agree. Last time we found ourselves in this position we spent more dosh but our defensive midfielders were Justin Skinner and Paul Hoslgrove. These days it may be more of a Gary Deegan or in Rangers case Ian Black. There will be games when we risk being overrun phyiscally, especially away from home or maybe against Rangers but if we can have the belief and determination to play ourselves out of it then it'd be something i'd sacrifice before creatitvity, ball control and goal scoring chances.

I would say Gomis was the most important player in the Hearts team last season.

Re - defensive midfielder If we start from the relatively safe assumption that resources are limited then we can further assume that there are compromises to be made in some areas of the team. If we bear in mind our experiences from last season re how teams set up against us in this league I would ask the question "how important (relative to other positions in the team) is it that we have a physical, predominantly defensive central midfielder"? In how many of our games will this be a crucial factor? Extending the point further - how important will it be in our league games, compared to the above, for us to have a variety of creative attacking options and adequate cover for our first choice defenders? In an ideal world I'd like to have the option to play a tall, athletic and strong defensive midfielder. However, if we have to choose between that and cover for our defenders and more creative players then the defensive midfielder is the one I'd skip.

Agree

23-06-2015, 04:46 PM
I would say Gomis was the most important player in the Hearts team last season.

Really?? He's mince Ozy and never turned up in any the Derby games or games against the Huns. He's slow and gets caught on the ball all the time. I don't know a hearts fan who thinks that and most of my family and friends are jambos.

23-06-2015, 04:49 PM
Really?? He's mince Ozy and never turned up in any the Derby games or games against the Huns. He's slow and gets caught on the ball all the time. I don't know a hearts fan who thinks that and most of my family and friends are jambos.

They don't have a most important player. Thats why they stormed the league

23-06-2015, 04:52 PM

Agreed F, he's a typical Levein player. I remember before one of last season's derbies when someone posted we should man mark Gomis! Aye right, That's like marking Ian Black! He spent every game creating nothing but kicking lumps out our players. Unfortunately our wonderful Scottish refs allowed him about 10 fouls before booking him.

23-06-2015, 05:00 PM
Agreed F, he's a typical Levein player. I remember before one of last season's derbies when someone posted we should man mark Gomis! Aye right, That's like marking Ian Black! He spent every game creating nothing but kicking lumps out our players. Unfortunately our wonderful Scottish refs allowed him about 10 fouls before booking him.

That was me - and the needless pressure in the last 10 mins prior to Ozturk was because we gave him the space to play.....with an extra man.

23-06-2015, 05:01 PM
And for the record, I stand by it.

23-06-2015, 05:19 PM
That was me - and the needless pressure in the last 10 mins prior to Ozturk was because we gave him the space to play.....with an extra man.

I agree with you. He always goes short to take possession from Alexander so put a man on him and make them play it long. We actually did have a man on him for most of that game but as you say, not in the last 10 mins when it cost us.

23-06-2015, 05:29 PM
Not marking Gomis has absolutely nothing to do with their Centre Back slamming one in from 40 yards in the 90th minute.

Gomis is pish and should have been sent off in two derbies last season for his persistant fouling.

23-06-2015, 05:32 PM
Not marking Gomis has absolutely nothing to do with their Centre Back slamming one in from 40 yards in the 90th minute.

Gomis is pish and should have been sent off in two derbies last season for his persistant fouling.

Yeah! We need a player that can get away with murder

23-06-2015, 05:42 PM

Completely agree, realistically we're only likely to need a defensively minded midfielder in 4 league games max (against Rangers). Is it worth spending a good chunk of our budget on such a luxury player? We had a par record with Hearts in the league and they absolutely smashed us in terms of points total because they brushed aside everyone else.

23-06-2015, 05:43 PM
So, Ben Williams signed an 18 month extension with Bradford in February, so would require a fee if we were to sign him

23-06-2015, 05:46 PM

Spot one mate.

23-06-2015, 05:51 PM

Which would be fine if that's what I said.

23-06-2015, 05:53 PM
Completely agree, realistically we're only likely to need a defensively minded midfielder in 4 league games max (against Rangers). Is it worth spending a good chunk of our budget on such a luxury player? We had a par record with Hearts in the league and they absolutely smashed us in terms of points total because they brushed aside everyone else. I agree, we also need to find a solution to our dead ball situations. If we could improve our free kicks and especially corners it could and probably would have had a big difference in our points total. The number of free kicks and corners that resulted in goals is way below what we should expect. I've no idea on the actual stats just what I witnessed being at the games.

The Leith Dutch
23-06-2015, 05:53 PM

This is an excellent point.

There wasn't anything particular about any of their players that was exceptional but whatever team they put out went at the opposition and steamrollered almost every team other than us and sevco. Doing that right from the start created an impression with other teams that they were likely getting a doing.

By comparison we were slow to start the season and shipped a lot of stupid points to lower teams.
This reduced the fear factor.

Later in the season when we did start playing the smarter teams sat on Scott Allan and tried to cut off Oxley throwing to our wing backs and when they didn't we often looked a little like a poor man's Arsenal trying to walk it into the net.

Not intending the above to be negative about last season - just making the point that we need to establish to the rest of the teams early on that we're to be feared by attacking them from many sources and trying to be a little more direct in the final third.

bill the hibby
23-06-2015, 05:54 PM

100% agree with this, they didn't have a scott allan type player who was the key to unlocking hard to break down teams. They had a team of players who were almost 100% consistent week in week out, worked hard and reaped the rewards. I'm not saying we didnt have players who worked hard or played well, they just weren't consistent enough come the end of the season.

23-06-2015, 06:10 PM
So, Ben Williams signed an 18 month extension with Bradford in February, so would require a fee if we were to sign him

Only if Bradford don't want to lose him, he was 2nd choice GK for them last year.

23-06-2015, 06:19 PM
Falkirk in for Liam Craig

23-06-2015, 06:24 PM
This is an excellent point.

There wasn't anything particular about any of their players that was exceptional but whatever team they put out went at the opposition and steamrollered almost every team other than us and sevco. Doing that right from the start created an impression with other teams that they were likely getting a doing.

By comparison we were slow to start the season and shipped a lot of stupid points to lower teams.
This reduced the fear factor.

Later in the season when we did start playing the smarter teams sat on Scott Allan and tried to cut off Oxley throwing to our wing backs and when they didn't we often looked a little like a poor man's Arsenal trying to walk it into the net.

Not intending the above to be negative about last season - just making the point that we need to establish to the rest of the teams early on that we're to be feared by attacking them from many sources and trying to be a little more direct in the final third.

They had more time to prepare, and apart from a couple of high scorelines, they ground out results. They were not supreme, they were slightly better at getting results. We battered them in the derbies.

Our problem was the lack of fitness for first 6-8 games, and battering teams, but not taking our chances, therefore drawing or losing games we should have won.

TB left a total disaster zone, however, our players have to look after themselves professionally, so they have to share some of the blame

bill the hibby
23-06-2015, 06:40 PM
@Transferangers: Scott Allan has rejected a 1 year extension and wage rise with Hibs (reliable source)...take from that what you will. I for one don't believe it.

23-06-2015, 06:53 PM
@Transferangers: Scott Allan has rejected a 1 year extension and wage rise with Hibs (reliable source)...take from that what you will. I for one don't believe it.

How would Rangers know about SA's business?

23-06-2015, 06:58 PM
Is it me, or has this close season got even stupider than normal?

A jambo in the office stated today that "Hibs are actively trying to punt Cummings as they are sick of his antics".

I know it was a jambo and their grip on reality is always questionable - but he was really trying to convince himself on that one, as well as SA to the orcs for £600k.

I might just close my ears and eyes til we play Dumbarton then check the first team sheet. Might stay sane that way......

bill the hibby
23-06-2015, 07:04 PM
How would Rangers know about SA's business?

I don't think they would, don't shoot the messenger just passing on what Ive just seen.

23-06-2015, 07:08 PM
I don't think they would, don't shoot the messenger just passing on what Ive just seen.

Never listen to a current bun, stupid stupid creatures

bill the hibby
23-06-2015, 07:14 PM
Never listen to a current bun, stupid stupid creatures

It's quite amusing to see their fans acting as if they are still a force in Scottish football.

23-06-2015, 07:17 PM
It's quite amusing to see their fans acting as if they are still a force in Scottish football.

Just tell them Rangers are no longer, new team now... Put their gas at a peep..............

E10 Rifle
23-06-2015, 07:34 PM
A good goalkeeper is the key signing now (if we believe Fontaine is in the bag). I never fully took to Oxley and think the defence let us down in a few key games as in part they weren't being marshalled enough by the man between the sticks. If resources are tight, then this is the last genuine piece of the jigsaw that is missing for me. Once we have that in place - I'd start the season right away.

23-06-2015, 07:38 PM
Fontaine is an absolute must, an Allan extension would be nice but to plan around that happening would be madness.

The question we have to be asking (seemingly at least) is the money we would get for scot Allan be more useful than the man himself?

23-06-2015, 07:41 PM

A jambo in the office stated today that "Hibs are actively trying to punt Cummings as they are sick of his antics".

I know it was a jambo and their grip on reality is always questionable - but he was really trying to convince himself on that one, as well as SA to the orcs for £600k.

I might just close my ears and eyes til we play Dumbarton then check the first team sheet. Might stay sane that way......

You know what that might not be quite as far fetched as you think. When I was at the P.O.T.Y dance a guy there said that if the right offer came in for Cummings in the summer they would be happy to let him go because of things that have happened. I have no reason to believe or not to believe the guy, hadn't met him before that night. Doubt it's true myself but you never know.

23-06-2015, 07:43 PM
Fontaine is an absolute must, an Allan extension would be nice but to plan around that happening would be madness.

The question we have to be asking (seemingly at least) is the money we would get for scot Allan be more useful than the man himself?

Absolutely not, no matter what money we get for Allan we will not replace him with the same quality of player. He really could be the difference between winning and not winning the title.

23-06-2015, 07:46 PM
Absolutely not, no matter what money we get for Allan we will not replace him with the same quality of player. He really could be the difference between winning and not winning the title.

What if the money was used to bring a better keeper, and another midfielder in?

Hibstrooper
23-06-2015, 07:47 PM
Falkirk in for Liam Craig

Also has an offer on the table from a Conference team

23-06-2015, 07:49 PM

Not as far fetched as you may think.

23-06-2015, 07:54 PM

We really don't know this?

Lets just see what happens. The club recognise his importance and I have complete faith they will ensure we are stronger for the start of the new season, regardless of Allan staying or not.

We are building a very exciting team and I'm sure that will continue.

Can't wait until the new season!

23-06-2015, 07:55 PM
I think we need to improve defensively again, a lot of times they switched off when we were well on top, we can't afford that again this season. All individually are good players however

Cummings I think would be off if a decent offer came in as I think Stubbs would be more than confident in the strikers we have, malonga had a good return and was at the cup of nations for a while. Farid done well and was injured/not fit and now with the addition of keatings.

Cummings is a brilliant prospect who scored alot, but his all round play isn't as good as the others, and perhaps the way he wants us to play next season suits the others better.

I love Cummings as a player and attitude but I think a decent fee for him could see us really strengthen other areas of the pitch and still see us being strong upfront

23-06-2015, 07:57 PM
I think we need to improve defensively again, a lot of times they switched off when we were well on top, we can't afford that again this season. All individually are good players however

Cummings I think would be off if a decent offer came in as I think Stubbs would be more than confident in the strikers we have, malonga had a good return and was at the cup of nations for a while. Farid done well and was injured/not fit and now with the addition of keatings.

Cummings is a brilliant prospect who scored alot, but his all round play isn't as good as the others, and perhaps the way he wants us to play next season suits the others better.

I love Cummings as a player and attitude but I think a decent fee for him could see us really strengthen other areas of the pitch and still see us being strong upfront

I think if Cummings wants away then we can afford to let him go. He's scored a lot of goals but he's someone who drifts out of games too often and I think we'd be just as well off with a striker who brings a bit more of an out ball or links play up.better, even if the goal return wasn't quite the same.

23-06-2015, 08:09 PM
I think if Cummings wants away then we can afford to let him go. He's scored a lot of goals but he's someone who drifts out of games too often and I think we'd be just as well off with a striker who brings a bit more of an out ball or links play up.better, even if the goal return wasn't quite the same.

I suppose every player has their price. I'd love us to keep Cummings (like Allan) for another couple of seasons at least. Then happily watch them better their careers abroad whilst we rake in several million in fees.

Cummings is very raw but will only get better. Hopefully that'll be with us but if a crazy offer comes in and the club feel they can improve the squad, then I fully support the people in charge. (Long time since I could say that)

I suppose it's a positive that we have players in our team these days who are in demand.

23-06-2015, 08:14 PM
What if the money was used to bring a better keeper, and another midfielder in?

Is that all or some of the money? Hypothetically of course.... :wink:

23-06-2015, 08:15 PM
We really don't know this?

Lets just see what happens. The club recognise his importance and I have complete faith they will ensure we are stronger for the start of the new season, regardless of Allan staying or not.

We are building a very exciting team and I'm sure that will continue.

23-06-2015, 08:16 PM

It's time for me to check out of Hibs.net for a while. Now we are wanting our successes from last season to leave... lunatic is right!

23-06-2015, 08:18 PM
Is that all or some of the money? Hypothetically of course.... :wink:

Hypothetically all, but i am not privvy to monthly outgoings etc, so all may not be practical

23-06-2015, 08:21 PM

I can. We are still 4-5 players away from having a squad ready to go for automatic promotion. Glad there's still weeks until it kicks off again.

23-06-2015, 08:27 PM

Absolute nonsense. Imho of course.

your username is quite appropriate.

23-06-2015, 08:29 PM
I can. We are still 4-5 players away from having a squad ready to go for automatic promotion. Glad there's still weeks until it kicks off again.

Do you not think we will sign any more players before the new season starts? Genuine question.

Personally I think we will sign more players.

Based on that (and the quality of player I've seen Stubbs sign) I'm looking forward to the new season. Have to say I'm astonished that someone isn't looking forward to the new season.

23-06-2015, 08:33 PM
Do you not think we will sign any more players before the new season starts? Genuine question.

Personally I think we will sign more players.

Based on that (and the quality of player I've seen Stubbs sign) I'm looking forward to the new season. Have to say I'm astonished that someone isn't looking forward to the new season.

Again:top marks

I think we will see another 4 coming in, of which will be two keepers

23-06-2015, 08:45 PM
Again:top marks

I think we will see another 4 coming in, of which will be two keepers

Totally. Clearly I would be crapping myself if the season started tomorrow (albeit still looking forward to going to ER) but I have complete faith that the club are working very hard to ensure we have a solid team/squad for the KO of the new season.

Bronson
23-06-2015, 08:45 PM
We're still very light in midfield, I feel.

With McGeouch, Craig and Robertson away, plus Allan and Stanton linked with moves away, we're at least 3, potentially 5 short in the middle... that concerns me.

I know Carmichael came in but he's definitely a winger, and I pray that Handling is not the answer. Think we definitely need 2-3 central midfielders for some depth in the squad.

23-06-2015, 08:58 PM
I'd be gutted if Cummings left, top goalscorer in the division in his first full season as a professional, and his confidence/arrogance is hilarious. There's not enough characters in the game any more and as long as it's not impacting his fitness/application to training/matches, let him have his fun.

23-06-2015, 09:05 PM
I'd be gutted if Cummings left, top goalscorer in the division in his first full season as a professional, and his confidence/arrogance is hilarious. There's not enough characters in the game any more and as long as it's not impacting his fitness/application to training/matches, let him have his fun.

yep likewise - I know some have said they also heard whispers at POTY etc, but I would be surprised if we let 20 goals walk away !

23-06-2015, 09:44 PM

Nearer 7 needed I think.

23-06-2015, 09:46 PM
Nearer 7 needed I think.

23-06-2015, 09:49 PM
You got to love / hate these threads.

So many random rumours - Jambo pal, rangers fans Twitter feeds etc.

We need to be doing our best to keep the team that came so close last season and add to it.

Getting rid of Allan or Cummings / Malonga isn't going to help that. Don't forget that both scored a lot of goals - Cummings especially plus he was carrying injuries, his first full season and when he was out injured we went on a run of poor form.

So called fans are so easy to slate players - I do wonder if some are undercover just stirring the pot.

23-06-2015, 09:56 PM
Were Dundee Utd not linked with Cummings at the end of the season? Maybe they'll make a move if Ciftci is sold/banned. Would rather keep him but if a decent fee means strengthening other areas I could be persuaded.

GreenOnions
23-06-2015, 09:58 PM
Completely agree, realistically we're only likely to need a defensively minded midfielder in 4 league games max (against Rangers). Is it worth spending a good chunk of our budget on such a luxury player? We had a par record with Hearts in the league and they absolutely smashed us in terms of points total because they brushed aside everyone else.

This is the key IMO - whoever wins the league won't do so because of their record against their main rival - it will be how many points they can rack up against everyone else through week-in, week-out consistency. It's for that reason that I think our ability to create chances and put the ball in the net is more important in this league than deploying a defensive-minded midfield player.

23-06-2015, 10:03 PM
This is the key IMO - whoever wins the league won't do so because of their record against their main rival - it will be how many points they can rack up against everyone else through week-in, week-out consistency. It's for that reason that I think our ability to create chances and put the ball in the net is more important in this league than deploying a defensive-minded midfield player.

Agree 1 million % :-)

23-06-2015, 10:06 PM
Were Dundee Utd not linked with Cummings at the end of the season? Maybe they'll make a move if Ciftci is sold/banned. Would rather keep him but if a decent fee means strengthening other areas I could be persuaded.

They couldn't afford him and they are a step down so complete nonsense.

Cummings has the potential to go to a top team in years to come. Ironically Scott Allan is a great example to our top young players.

Enjoy your football, grow as a player, get games under your belt and when the time comes (not now)then make a move.

23-06-2015, 10:09 PM
You got to love / hate these threads.

So many random rumours - Jambo pal, rangers fans Twitter feeds etc......I do wonder if some are undercover just stirring the pot.

Hoping that isn't pointing at me?

The jambo is not a "pal" but works beside me.

23-06-2015, 10:09 PM

True to a point.

But when you're in a position where it comes down to a few points then what you do against your main rivals matters :agree:

GreenOnions
23-06-2015, 10:14 PM
True to a point.

But when you're in a position where it comes down to a few points then what you do against your main rivals matters :agree:

You're right - of course. But the point I'm making is that there will be 96 points available from games against other teams. Even a small difference in the level of consistency between us and Rangers against so-called smaller teams over the season could imply a large points difference.

23-06-2015, 10:27 PM

Not sure I agree so much.

You need everything in a team to win you games, not just forward players. No point in scoring six at Motherwell if the defence/keeper chuck in six at the other end.

One of the things that I thought Hearts did well last season was to take every game seriously, meticulously prepare and accept any performance that delivered those three points. We walked away from far too many games wondering how we'd squandered points though missing chances and throwing in silly goals at the other end taking comfort from the fact that we've played well.

Of course you need to score goals and create chances and I'm pleased that we have made early moves to improve our performance in this area.

But the importance of the ugly defensive stuff shouldn't be underestimated. Why did we lose the playoff to The Rangers? IMO we weren't good enough defensively at Ibrox. The defensive midfielder/ fullbacks/ centre backs/ keeper should have done so, so much better at both their goals. We need to cut as much of that nonsense out as possible.

We need Scott Allan to be threading balls through to strikers, we need wide players beating men and getting crosses in, we need strikers/ midfielders not to be afraid to have a go. All of these things may give away possession of the ball. It is then imperative that we win it back, asap. We cannot do that without at least one midfielder who can do the ugly stuff.

We need to show our opponents a bit of respect and we need to work hard in all aspects of our game if we are going to get out of this league.

RedHibby
23-06-2015, 11:03 PM
I don't know if anyone else has heard this but Scott Allan to Celtic for 500K is what I heard at work today from a guy that gets it spot on more times than not.

Ken
23-06-2015, 11:42 PM
If we do sell him at a price that is acceptable to Hibs, I'd hope we'd negotiate a percentage of his next transfer value (10%) just in case he gets sold for big money in the future

23-06-2015, 11:48 PM
I don't know if anyone else has heard this but Scott Allan to Celtic for 500K is what I heard at work today from a guy that gets it spot on more times than not.

Hopefully if it's true. We can use some of that money to sign McGinn then use the rest for other targets.

Ryan69
24-06-2015, 01:07 AM
I wouldn't think that this 500k price tag bring thrown around constantly is true!

Have Hibs learnt? Why sell one of the most skillful players in Scottish football for 500k??? Too next seasons rivals! Has our club changed?
If that's the case what's the point?
I believe out club are better than that!
I'd rather take a gamble and if no extension is signed he rots within last 6 months.(if he signs for Dar Hun)
We need tobe ruthless!

Be a complete part of us or be excluded from us!

Who just rebuilt his career? Play it the correct way by us and help us or god forsake you!

HibeePaj
24-06-2015, 01:54 AM
I wouldn't think that this 500k price tag bring thrown around constantly is true!

Have Hibs learnt? Why sell one of the most skillful players in Scottish football for 500k??? Too next seasons rivals! Has our club changed?
If that's the case what's the point?
I believe out club are better than that!
I'd rather take a gamble and if no extension is signed he rots within last 6 months.(if he signs for Dar Hun)
We need tobe ruthless!

Be a complete part of us or be excluded from us!

Who just rebuilt his career? Play it the correct way by us and help us or god forsake you!

This exactly.

I can't for one second see Hibs selling.
Surely the club would rather let him go for free at the end of the season, than sell for a fee of anything less than 1.5 million.
And on the other side, let's be honest. The only potential suitors are Celtic, or a team down south.
And I can't see them spending that money when they know can try getting him on a free at the end of the season.

Scott Allan WILL be playing in the green and white next season. (of Hibs)

This isn't the selling club of the Petrie era.
Leeann has spoken alot about building continuity at the club, and bringing the fans back, urging us to get season tickets.
They know, by selling our best player, they would be giving off a negative message to the fans and would get an adverse reaction on and off the pitch.

Relax :)

24-06-2015, 02:05 AM
I cannot see SA being sold at all, especially not for anything under £800k

24-06-2015, 05:13 AM
@HibsFansNews: Hibs are believed to be interested in 29 year old ex-Leicester City Keeper Conrad Logan. #FansNews

@HibsNews1875: Hibs wanting Centre Half Paul Watson, played for Raith Rovers last season, rejected a contract extension. Hibs are in talks with the player.

24-06-2015, 05:26 AM
@HibsFansNews: Hibs are believed to be interested in 29 year old ex-Leicester City Keeper Conrad Logan. #FansNews

@HibsNews1875: Hibs wanting Centre Half Paul Watson, played for Raith Rovers last season, rejected a contract extension. Hibs are in talks with the player.

Would take Watson. He impressed me more than any other centre half in the league last season.

24-06-2015, 06:06 AM

Paul Watson played in the same Hutchi team as Paul Hanlon and Danny Galbraith. Haddington laddie.

Went to Ipswich and fell foul of a dafty through no fault of his own.

Has played for Livi and Raith and has done well.

I'd rather have Paul Watson than Keith Watson.

Lee Marvin
24-06-2015, 06:32 AM
Paul Watson played in the same Hutchi team as Paul Hanlon and Danny Galbraith. Haddington laddie.

Went to Ipswich and fell foul of a dafty through no fault of his own.

Has played for Livi and Raith and has done well.

I'd rather have Paul Watson than Keith Watson.

does anyone know if this would be instead of Fontaine? Can't believe he has not been announced yet if he did infact sign weeks ago

24-06-2015, 06:54 AM
does anyone know if this would be instead of Fontaine? Can't believe he has not been announced yet if he did infact sign weeks ago

AFAIK Fontaine is coming.

I was thinking more of Paul Watson replacing Keith Watson. I haven't heard Paul Watson is coming I was merely commenting on what was posted earlier. Paul Watson doesn't miss a lot of matches whereas Keith does.

I think a club needs 4 centre backs as they are liable to get injuries and suspensions. Fontaine, Hanlon, Forster and Watson would fit the bill for me.

24-06-2015, 07:07 AM

No, Paul Watson would be in addition to Fontaine.....who should be getting announced very soon.

I agree with scoopyboy in that I think Paul Watson is a better player than Keith Watson.

24-06-2015, 07:19 AM

I was thinking more of Paul Watson replacing Keith Watson. I haven't heard Paul Watson is coming I was merely commenting on what was posted earlier. Paul Watson doesn't miss a lot of matches whereas Keith does.

I think a club needs 4 centre backs as they are liable to get injuries and suspensions. Fontaine, Hanlon, Forster and Watson would fit the bill for me.

It's all speculation ,but why would he come knowing he isn't going to get a game regularly .more money yes ,but you would think he would want to progress career and be playing week in week out .Foster showed that when he gets a run in the Team he can do a job ,so it's going to be difficult to keep all four happy ,hence Kieth Watson didn't want to stay .

24-06-2015, 07:26 AM
It's all speculation ,but why would he come knowing he isn't going to get a game regularly .more money yes ,but you would think he would want to progress career and be playing week in week out .Foster showed that when he gets a run in the Team he can do a job ,so it's going to be difficult to keep all four happy ,hence Kieth Watson didn't want to stay .

AFAIK Keith Watson would have stayed but he hasn't had an offer from Hibs.

As it stands Paul Watson hasn't a club so I think he would be delighted to come if offered a deal, like I say though I have no info that he has been offered anything.

24-06-2015, 07:52 AM
Keith Watson didn't really do it for me

He could certainly play but looked really slow?

Newry Hibs
24-06-2015, 08:05 AM

MAybe his signing announcement will be used to take the edge off Allan's departure?

24-06-2015, 08:07 AM

You may have been extremely prescient if you'd posted your comment before that game but you posted it, IIRC, before the last game when Gomis did nothing, except foul repeatedly. And, FWIW not marking Gomis had SFA to do with Ozturk's goal. There were many factors involved in that piece of stupidity from overall nervousness to Malonga's laziness but none involved Gomis.

24-06-2015, 08:08 AM

Been at Leister a long time and had at least six loan spells with a variety of clubs Didnt check out stats re how often played for each loan club and shut outs but if it's loan market we are in for a keeper for a year then maybe he is someone we are thinking about as a possibility

24-06-2015, 08:13 AM
Everton loans didn't really work out last season so wouldn't like to think we are down to relying on that at this stage of pre season Fair enough to take chance on an exciting prospect that Stubbs knows about and could handle pressure of championship and be motivated to improve as a ayer while doing a turn for us. , or taking someone on loan where it hasn't worked out at Everyon but loan could kick start career again If we don't get a goalkeeper in soon we could be looking at that type of scenario on loan same as we did last season with Oxley

I think we only had Kennedy from Everton last season but in principle I agree with you. I'm fine with loan players, if it works for Real M & Man U then it's fine for us but they must be able to improve the team. We were in crisis last season & AS should not be judged harshly on his loan signings but I don't think we'll see the likes of a Jake Sinclair again.

muzzando
24-06-2015, 08:31 AM
Been at Leister a long time and had at least six loan spells with a variety of clubs Didnt check out stats re how often played for each loan club and shut outs but if it's loan market we are in for a keeper for a year then maybe he is someone we are thinking about as a possibility

He's out of contract at Leicester

24-06-2015, 08:32 AM
I think we only had Kennedy from Everton last season but in principle I agree with you. I'm fine with loan players, if it works for Real M & Man U then it's fine for us but they must be able to improve the team. We were in crisis last season & AS should not be judged harshly on his loan signings but I don't think we'll see the likes of a Jake Sinclair again.

It may not of worked on this occasion for us but it did for Kennedy and he did get a move to Cardiff where he showed what he could do!

I think by his own admission things didn't quite work with Kennedy and Sinclair but I'm sure he'll know himself what is required.

Hopefully some news on the players front before the weekend!

Looking forward to the season starting tbh!

24-06-2015, 08:33 AM
Gomis did nothing in the last game against Hibs because Farid and Cummings worked their socks off all game cutting out the passing channels to Gomis from the Hearts defence. This was forcing them to go long all game and they were not set up to do so.
Against all the other teams in the league, Hearts played through Gomis constantly. He has a decent range of passing and could move the ball quickly out wide.
He is no superstar but was very effective for Hearts last year and crucial to the way they played.
Of course he fouls, it's his job. He breaks up the opposition play any way he can, slowing down any counter attack to allow them to get men back. We could have done with that ourselves a few times when we got caught with sucker punches in games. Usually he fouls in non dangerous areas and he never looks like he intends to injure so rarely gets booked for it.
Every time the 8 year olds I coach get beat (almost never, I'm awesome [emoji6])they come off complaining the other team are hackers. That's what people complaining about Gomis fouling sound like.

CorrieHibs
24-06-2015, 08:34 AM
Hibernian's hopes of re-signing goalkeeper Ben Williams have suffered a blow as he still has a year left on his contract at League One outfit Bradford......from the BBC gossip page

muzzando
24-06-2015, 08:35 AM
I see Miles Hippolyte has signed a new 1 year deal at Livi, I know there were some links with him coming here and some people saying they wouldn't mind us taking a look at him.
Livi also sign Buchanan from Alloa and Longridge from Stranraer

Hibeewilly
24-06-2015, 08:40 AM
Whats disappointing for me is that we had exciting activity at the beginning of the month in signing Carmichael and Keatings etc but have now had no announcement for 3 weeks. The signing situation is mikes better than recent years but the players are in this week for testing and it would have been good to have kept the momentum going and have our squad almost complete. Holidays etc come into it I know but things like Fontaines situation worry me

24-06-2015, 08:44 AM
No, Paul Watson would be in addition to Fontaine.....who should be getting announced very soon.

I agree with scoopyboy in that I think Paul Watson is a better player than Keith Watson.

He was a stand-out in a couple of the Raith games last season. I'd be more than happy with him.

24-06-2015, 08:50 AM
Whats disappointing for me is that we had exciting activity at the beginning of the month in signing Carmichael and Keatings etc but have now had no announcement for 3 weeks. The signing situation is mikes better than recent years but the players are in this week for testing and it would have been good to have kept the momentum going and have our squad almost complete. Holidays etc come into it I know but things like Fontaines situation worry me

Does Boyle not count?

24-06-2015, 08:53 AM

Fontaine is in this week....that should tell you something.

patlowe
24-06-2015, 08:53 AM
Gomis did nothing in the last game against Hibs because Farid and Cummings worked their socks off all game cutting out the passing channels to Gomis from the Hearts defence. This was forcing them to go long all game and they were not set up to do so.
Against all the other teams in the league, Hearts played through Gomis constantly. He has a decent range of passing and could move the ball quickly out wide.
He is no superstar but was very effective for Hearts last year and crucial to the way they played.
Of course he fouls, it's his job. He breaks up the opposition play any way he can, slowing down any counter attack to allow them to get men back. We could have done with that ourselves a few times when we got caught with sucker punches in games. Usually he fouls in non dangerous areas and he never looks like he intends to injure so rarely gets booked for it.
Every time the 8 year olds I coach get beat (almost never, I'm awesome [emoji6])they come off complaining the other team are hackers. That's what people complaining about Gomis fouling sound like.

I agree that it would be silly to attribute a failure to beat Hearts to Gomis' tactics but the frustration is that referees consistently fail to clamp down on his persistent fouling, whether it's his job to do it or not. Given the type of midfield player we have/had, of course it makes sense for Gomis to make the game as stop-start and as niggly as possible, disrupting the flow of the game. That doesn't make it any less frustrating to watch.

Quick question, I'm not a coach so it's genuinely out of interest - would you teach the 8 year olds to play in the manner of Gomis?

24-06-2015, 08:59 AM
He was a stand-out in a couple of the Raith games last season. I'd be more than happy with him.

Paul Watson in for a medical tomorrow.

24-06-2015, 09:06 AM

Didn't really work out for Man Utd last year! 😂

24-06-2015, 09:15 AM
Didn't really work out for Man Utd last year! 

We had Oxley, Watson, Boyle & McGeoch on loan last season and they were all reasonable successes

24-06-2015, 09:20 AM
Sure Paul Watson is a Hibee too

hibby67
24-06-2015, 09:20 AM

totally agree scoop 4 centre backs minimum especially if he goes 3 at the back

24-06-2015, 09:21 AM

Thanks for all the info. Keep it coming if you can. [emoji106]🏻

24-06-2015, 09:22 AM
I agree that it would be silly to attribute a failure to beat Hearts to Gomis' tactics but the frustration is that referees consistently fail to clamp down on his persistent fouling, whether it's his job to do it or not. Given the type of midfield player we have/had, of course it makes sense for Gomis to make the game as stop-start and as niggly as possible, disrupting the flow of the game. That doesn't make it any less frustrating to watch.

Quick question, I'm not a coach so it's genuinely out of interest - would you teach the 8 year olds to play in the manner of Gomis?

Of course not, that's a tactic for professionals, just like we don't teach them to dive. They learn all that much higher up the food chain.

24-06-2015, 09:22 AM

I remember he was also linked to us when at Livi.

24-06-2015, 09:34 AM

Good! Will probably mean Keith Watson won't be offered a deal.

24-06-2015, 09:59 AM
MAybe his signing announcement will be used to take the edge off Allan's departure?

Which departure is that then? The sooner the club plays it's cards on this one the better. If Allan does leave, it looks as if it will mainly be a club decision. If they decide to go for the Yankee dollar rather than hold on to a player who could contribute greatly to our promotion chances, they should do it now and not hold out for an auction at the last minute. It wil also give them time to make amends for their huge mistake. Personally, I think the longer this drags on, the likelier he is to stay.

24-06-2015, 10:49 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/5518

24-06-2015, 10:50 AM
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/5518

Hopefully the starting point, before announcing new signings

24-06-2015, 11:17 AM

24-06-2015, 11:41 AM
Yep he is a Hibs supporter. Went to school with him and still see him now and again.

Very sound lad with his head firmly screwed on and I thought he looked more than capable when I seen him play against us last year. Could be a very good signing I think.

24-06-2015, 11:55 AM
Yep he is a Hibs supporter. Went to school with him and still see him now and again.

Very sound lad with his head firmly screwed on and I thought he looked more than capable when I seen him play against us last year. Could be a very good signing I think.

According to Wikipedia (I know), he's only 5ft 11. A bit shorter than your average centre half at this level. Can he cover other positions too. Before anyone says, yes I know there are examples of short centre backs like Canavaro, etc. but they are generally exceptional players.

24-06-2015, 11:58 AM
According to Wikipedia (I know), he's only 5ft 11. A bit shorter than your average centre half at this level. Can he cover other positions too. Before anyone says, yes I know there are examples of short centre backs like Canavaro, etc. but they are generally exceptional players.

If he's that small he might be pretty mobile for a centre back so could possibly cover at fullback

24-06-2015, 12:03 PM
Which departure is that then? The sooner the club plays it's cards on this one the better. If Allan does leave, it looks as if it will mainly be a club decision. If they decide to go for the Yankee dollar rather than hold on to a player who could contribute greatly to our promotion chances, they should do it now and not hold out for an auction at the last minute. It wil also give them time to make amends for their huge mistake. Personally, I think the longer this drags on, the likelier he is to stay.

Which worries me as this, in my opinion, would piss off the manager. Yes Stubbs would be consulted on this and asked his opinion but at the end of the day it's the clubs decision. I would hope we have a different mentality now with Leanne at the helm and she tells Stubbs Hibs will reject all offers and Scotty will be here for our promotion push. This would give EVERYONE a huge boost and send out a message of intent to our rivals.

24-06-2015, 12:18 PM
Absolute nonsense. Imho of course.

your username is quite appropriate.

Excellent. My post isnt what you want to hear so I'm a lunatic. We had the top scorer in the league last season, did that get us promoted?

24-06-2015, 12:22 PM
Fontaine has signed, breaking news on Hibs official twitter feed.

24-06-2015, 12:24 PM
Deary me. Your username is appropriate

He's right though imo.

Cummings has a lot to work on and he's still very raw. I wouldn't say I want us to sell him but I do think we could potentially be a better team and spread the goals round the team better if we had someone that had a better all round game.

Hearts proved last season having a 20 goal a season striker isn't necessary if the rest of the team can chip in.

24-06-2015, 12:24 PM
Excellent. My post isnt what you want to hear so I'm a lunatic. We had the top scorer in the league last season, did that get us promoted?

I stand by what I said, to get rid of your top scorer who is young,learning and will only get better would be sheer lunacy.

24-06-2015, 12:25 PM
Fontaine announcement brought forward to ensure Aldi doesn't run out of plastic sheets. :greengrin

bill the hibby
24-06-2015, 12:25 PM
My neighbour text me earlier said he would be announced today, very good news indeed

24-06-2015, 12:27 PM
My neighbour text me earlier said he would be announced today, very good news indeed

Still waiting for the other two players you said were to be announced today ;)

24-06-2015, 12:31 PM
I stand by what I said, to get rid of your top scorer who is young,learning and will only get better would be sheer lunacy.

Unless you got good money to bring someone else in. It also would create space for the next big thing to come through.

Cummings is a good player and I'm not saying we should absolutely get rid but if the money's right he's not irreplaceable.

24-06-2015, 12:31 PM
Fontaine announcement brought forward to ensure Aldi doesn't run out of plastic sheets. :greengrin

Who's next then?

24-06-2015, 12:34 PM
Who's next then?

Holt will be coming! Not sure if he will be next but from what I'm told he will be a Hibs player very soon.

bill the hibby
24-06-2015, 12:35 PM
Still waiting for the other two players you said were to be announced today ;)

Ah you see I said it could be a possibility I wasn't 100%, however there was the first big announcement today

24-06-2015, 12:37 PM
Holt will be coming! Not sure if he will be next but from what I'm told he will be a Hibs player very soon.

:hyper.

I'm heading out to buy more lotion. None left.

24-06-2015, 12:37 PM

He'd be a very good signing. Again, this would be adding quality to the side - think he has goals in him IIRC. Have to say I'm impressed with what Stubbs has done so far.

How certain are you of the Holt signing going ahead?

24-06-2015, 12:38 PM
Unless you got good money to bring someone else in. It also would create space for the next big thing to come through.

Cummings is a good player and I'm not saying we should absolutely get rid but if the money's right he's not irreplaceable.

I actually agree, Cummings off field antics didn't go down well at all and Hibs would sell IMO (no info) if the offer was right. Keatings has a proven record at this level so would take his role no problem. I'd rather keep him though.

24-06-2015, 12:41 PM
What kind of a player is Holt?

Can't say I've ever noticed him for them, I'd walk past him in the street if I saw him. He just has quite a familiar name from the raft of youngsters Hearts had to bring through when they had to sort their finances out.

A finisher, a passer, quick, big, strong, tricky, seemingly decent chap, fud, defensive, attacking?????

He seems to be highly rated but I've honestly just never noticed him.

24-06-2015, 12:44 PM

Can't say I've ever noticed him for them, I'd walk past him in the street if I saw him. He just has quite a familiar name from the raft of youngsters Hearts had to bring through when they had to sort their finances out.

A finisher, a passer, quick, big, strong, tricky, seemingly decent chap, fud, defensive, attacking?????

Spent the last 6 months on loan to Sheff Utd. Not sure how many games he played but scored about 5 goals?

I think he fell out of favour at the yams and I am sure I read on here he wasn't liked by Levein hence the reason he was shipped out on loan.

24-06-2015, 12:46 PM

From what I remember he is your number 10 playmaker. He can set up goals and score them. Think he scored 5 for United on his loan. Don't think he has much pace but he is not slow either. Would say he is similar to Andrew Shinnie

Benny Brazil
24-06-2015, 12:47 PM
Fontaine confirmed!!

24-06-2015, 12:47 PM
He'd be a very good signing. Again, this would be adding quality to the side - think he has goals in him IIRC. Have to say I'm impressed with what Stubbs has done so far. How certain are you of the Holt signing going ahead?

Indeed. Scored 5 goals in 15 apps for Sheff UTD since Jan!

Would be another very very good signing. In fact a £10 million pound player according to some Yams!

24-06-2015, 12:48 PM

Nobody that plays for Hibernian is irreplaceable. The "next big thing" might never score and be absolute mince at first team level(Kurtis Byrne). I would give Jason another season as he will score goals for us. His off field behaviour will have to improve of that there is no doubt.

24-06-2015, 12:48 PM
Holt to sign shortly (maybe this week) and Allan to finally extend his extension. Source is the guy who told me Fontaine was signing!

Let's see if he's right!!

24-06-2015, 12:50 PM
:hyper. I'm heading out to buy more lotion. None left.

You'll go blind and make sure you shut your curtains unlike when you got your new top?? ;-)

Holt to sign shortly (maybe this week) and Allan to finally extend his extension. Source is the guy who told me Fontaine was signing!

If that's the case then we would only need one more midfielder (McGeouch?), some backup fullbacks and a couple goalkeepers.

You'll go blind and make sure you shut your curtains unlike when you got your new top?? ;-)

Curtains are shut mate. :wink:

24-06-2015, 12:52 PM
Curtains are shut mate. :wink:

Dear o dear!!

24-06-2015, 12:57 PM
If that's the case then we would only need one more midfielder (McGeouch?), some backup fullbacks and a couple goalkeepers.

Still think we need a larger experienced midfielder too.

24-06-2015, 12:58 PM
More news to come over the 'coming days' according to a reliable source

24-06-2015, 12:59 PM

Now if this was to be true, SteveHfc would be in a coma 😉

24-06-2015, 01:00 PM
Now if this was to be true, SteveHfc would be in a coma 😉

24-06-2015, 01:02 PM
Still think we need a larger experienced midfielder too.

Possibly, but I'd hope Fyvie would grow into the def mid role this season.

24-06-2015, 01:15 PM
Now if this was to be true, SteveHfc would be in a coma dde09

Think he already is going by his previous post!

24-06-2015, 01:23 PM
[QUOTE=Thecat23;4402286]Holt to sign shortly (maybe this week) and Allan to finally extend his extension. Source is the guy who told me Fontaine was signing!

Let's see if he's right!![/QUOTE

Daffy Duck giff at the ready .
With Fontain already signing . This would be some treble Cat .

24-06-2015, 01:28 PM

Ooft, please.

24-06-2015, 01:31 PM

I'd be very impressed with that signing. One that got away for hearts. They should have kept him.

bill the hibby
24-06-2015, 01:32 PM
Hahaha according to jambo's, fontaine is a 28 year old journeyman...why am I not surprised

24-06-2015, 01:33 PM
Hahaha according to jambo's, fontaine is a 28 year old journeyman...why am I not surprised

According to me, Jambos are deluded smelly turds who all look the same. Bright red coupon, stale smell and very angry!!!

24-06-2015, 01:34 PM
According to me, Jambos are deluded smelly turds who all look the same. Bright red coupon, stale smell and very angry!!!

24-06-2015, 01:35 PM
On the FB rumours page saying Oxley has signed for either Hibs or Walsall. Says he is on holiday but we will find out next week .

andrew70

Why am I not surprised? :greengrin:top marks

Wrong, wrong, wrong, he is 29. :greengrin

Hibby Gav
24-06-2015, 01:36 PM

I'm pretty sure they have webbed feet also.....................just sayin

24-06-2015, 01:36 PM
On the FB rumours page saying Oxley has signed for either Hibs or Walsall. Says he is on holiday but we will find out next week .

About 300 miles difference is there not. :greengrin

24-06-2015, 01:39 PM
Possibly, but I'd hope Fyvie would grow into the def mid role this season.

Fyvie IMO would be good in that position, surprised that he hasn't been mentioned for it by other posters.

24-06-2015, 01:42 PM

Fulham - Bristol - Hibs, thats some journey right enough :greengrin

bill the hibby
24-06-2015, 01:48 PM

They say you can tell that someone's a jambo before you even speak to them, as long as they fit this description. Not that I'd want to speak to them anyway, every one of them is full of s**t.

24-06-2015, 01:50 PM

this will be the Fontaine that was Bristol for 8 years, as well as being their captain. Compared to Augustyn who is on his 7th club in 8 years, playing just 75 games (compared to fontaines 281 games in the same timeframe)

24-06-2015, 01:51 PM
I'm hoping for:

1 experienced goalie (26+) and 1 younger (early 20s)
Cover at LB
Paul Watson
Holt
1 attacking midfielder (playmaker)

24-06-2015, 01:52 PM

Hardy har!! :-)

24-06-2015, 01:54 PM
this will be the Fontaine that was Bristol for 8 years, as well as being their captain. Compared to Augustyn who is on his 7th club in 8 years, playing just 75 games (compared to fontaines 281 games in the same timeframe)

They were getting semi's thinking they were going to sign Liam, Jason and Allan.

Pissing Masel laughing at them.

They are totally rooked and will not buy many players that are known to us.

DTS
24-06-2015, 01:57 PM
Has there been any news on Keith Watson getting a contract? I remember about a month ago in the evening news an interview with him saying he wants to stay

From the people who worshipped Romanov and owed all the debt he dumped on them to themselves, their definition of journeyman comes as no surprise, really glad I am not a yam.

And don't get me started on a definition for the convicted sex offenders they knowingly employed.

Stubbs has announced in a press conference that we are "very close" to signing a centre midfielder and goalkeeper.

He also revealed that we have recieved no enquiries regarding Scott Allan and that we are in a very strong position.

24-06-2015, 01:58 PM
Has there been any news on Keith Watson getting a contract? I remember about a month ago in the evening news an interview with him saying he wants to stay

With our interest in the other Watson I think Keith may struggle to be offered terms?? You never know tho!

24-06-2015, 01:59 PM
I'm hoping for:

Cover at LB
Paul Watson
Holt

Holt is the attacking midfielder. If Holt signs we wont sign anymore attacking players.

24-06-2015, 01:59 PM
I'm hoping for:

Cover at LB
Paul Watson
Holt

That's what Id like to see too

24-06-2015, 02:00 PM
Holt is the attacking midfielder. If Holt signs we wont sign anymore attacking players.

Unless on a one in one out basis?

patlowe
I'm hoping for:

Cover at LB
Paul Watson
Holt

I would go along with this except I'd take Holt as the playmaker and McGeouch making up the numbers - not sure how realistic that is though!

Oops, made a mistake there I meant - a DM.

DTS
24-06-2015, 02:01 PM
With our interest in the other Watson I think Keith may struggle to be offered terms?? You never know tho!

Is it Paul Watson from raith rovers?

24-06-2015, 02:02 PM

Aye

24-06-2015, 02:05 PM
Fyvie IMO would be good in that position, surprised that he hasn't been mentioned for it by other posters.

He played the position most of his development days both with aberdeen and Scotland and is very good at it which he showed when he played there for us against hearts. I thought when we signed him that's where he would slot in

24-06-2015, 02:06 PM
He played the position most of his development days both with aberdeen and Scotland and is very good at it which he showed when he played there for us against hearts. I thought when we signed him that's where he would slot in

But he's not as good there as handling is.

24-06-2015, 02:06 PM
Young Scott Martin to get more of a look in?

24-06-2015, 02:07 PM

This would be superb on top of the business that has already been done. :agree:

24-06-2015, 02:07 PM
I'm hoping for:

Cover at LB
Paul Watson
Holt

What's Xavi up too ? lol.

andrew70
24-06-2015, 02:09 PM
Stubbs has announced in a press conference that we are "very close" to signing a centre midfielder and goalkeeper.

He also revealed that we have recieved no enquiries regarding Scott Allan and that we are in a very strong position.

Where can I find these quotes or will they be on the news this evening?

24-06-2015, 02:10 PM

STV presenter on Twitter

@STVPaul: Stubbs adds #Hibs are "very close" to signing a new central midfielder and goalkeeper but wouldn't be drawn on names.

24-06-2015, 02:11 PM

Paul Barnes on Twitter (@STVPaul)

24-06-2015, 02:11 PM
Would people on here rate Holt better than McGeogh?
I've only seen a bit of Holt but must say I thought he looked a good player and I'm surprised they got rid.

24-06-2015, 02:16 PM
I've only seen a bit of Holt but must say I thought he looked a good player and I'm surprised they got rid.

Seems to be football player and not a hammer thrower so Harry got shot of him.

24-06-2015, 02:16 PM

Saw something on the Evening News site that said he had no offer from Hibs. Sounded a bit stung although there was no quotes. Also mentioned that he aggravated his injury when they were in La Manga before the playoff games and that's why he missed out.

24-06-2015, 02:18 PM
I'd be delighted to see Holt sign for Hibs, always looked a more than decent player when he played for them v us.

24-06-2015, 02:20 PM

Yip

24-06-2015, 02:20 PM

Bigger goal threat and doesn't miss the same amount of games as Dylan.

I think HOMFC have slipped up big time with Holt and I would love it to be us that brings that home to them.

24-06-2015, 02:21 PM
I know were all delighted with the new players signing, add the extensions to Fontaine and Gray and Fyvie. But to me the guy we should be getting on a longer contract is the boss Alan Stubbs.

24-06-2015, 02:23 PM
Yes. Bigger goal threat and doesn't miss the same amount of games as Dylan. I think HOMFC have slipped up big time with Holt and I would love it to be us that brings that home to them.

Agreed. Scored a cracking goal against Der hun early last season after a great run!

Would be very very happy if we managed to get Holt.... Who is total guff according to Yam associates.

Dear o dear! They wouldn't know a quality player if he jumped up and punched his face.

24-06-2015, 02:27 PM

Is the Dylan deal dead?

24-06-2015, 02:27 PM
Link to Stubbs interview. Says Scott Allan staying

http://tinyurl.com/onrqhgp

24-06-2015, 02:28 PM
Is the Dylan deal dead?

He's more of a defensive midfielder imo

24-06-2015, 02:29 PM

Bigger goal threat and doesn't miss the same amount of games as Dylan.

I think HOMFC have slipped up big time with Holt and I would love it to be us that brings that home to them.

Out of the two I would take McGeouch.

Before his injury he was immense and probably our best player.

patlowe
24-06-2015, 02:42 PM
Link to Stubbs interview. Says Scott Allan staying

http://tinyurl.com/onrqhgp

Basically says he's done in the forward areas, wants a new CM (Holt?) and feels like he needs a bit extra in other positions - GK and more depth in defence I'm guessing? TBH, I don't think we can really expect much more than that, assuming Allan stays.

Re Allan, I took it that we'll consider any bids that come in but for now all parties are happy for the final year in his contract to play out.

24-06-2015, 02:44 PM
Basically says he's done in the forward areas, wants a new CM (Holt?) and feels like he needs a bit extra in other positions - GK and more depth in defence I'm guessing? TBH, I don't think we can really expect much more than that, assuming Allan stays.

Even if Holt signs, we're still short in the midfield. We'd need another one in there as well. Also 2 keepers and 1 more in defence (cover at full back) and that should be enough.

andrew70
24-06-2015, 02:44 PM
STV presenter on Twitter

@STVPaul: Stubbs adds #Hibs are "very close" to signing a new central midfielder and goalkeeper but wouldn't be drawn on names.

Paul Barnes on Twitter (@STVPaul)

Thanks guys :thumbsup:

Without a shadow of a doubt. Alongside Nicholson he's Hearts most talented player. Clearly too talented for that mob. I hope this happens, I have my doubts currently but if he does come to Hibs then he will be the signing of the summer transfer window in Scotland for me.

24-06-2015, 02:49 PM
I'd be delighted with Holt but would still prefer Dylan.

Lee Marvin
24-06-2015, 02:49 PM
Even if Holt signs, we're still short in the midfield. We'd need another one in there as well. Also 2 keepers and 1 more in defence (cover at full back) and that should be enough.

Agreed. I would like that midfielder to be a physical player with a bit of grit and energy. Feel we miss this physical presence at the minute

Juice-Terry
24-06-2015, 02:50 PM
Out of the two I would take McGeouch.

Before his injury he was immense and probably our best player.

Spot on! :aok:

24-06-2015, 02:55 PM

Allan
Fyvie
Handling
Stanton
Carmichael

And one more central midfielder (Holt? McGeough?) according to the Stubbs interview.

24-06-2015, 02:56 PM
McGeouch was quality and very comfortable on the ball - always wanted it and occasionally beat a player also.

Holt I think would score more goals though.

We do need a Matty Jack / Claros though to break up opposition play - Robertson did that pretty well last year - but a real tough player in there would allow Allan / Holt / Fyfie and co to attack attack attack !

24-06-2015, 02:56 PM
Allan
Fyvie
Handling
Stanton
Carmichael

And one more central midfielder (Holt? McGeough?) according to the Stubbs interview.

Plus Harris.

24-06-2015, 02:57 PM
Very surprised at some people thinking holt is a massively better player than mcgeouch, personally would of thought there was not a massive difference, probably swaying more towards Dylan tbh. But saying that I will be being biased and have seen mcgeoch for a whole season.

24-06-2015, 02:58 PM
Allan
Fyvie
Handling
Stanton
Carmichael

Maybe Scott martin stepping up as well?

24-06-2015, 02:59 PM

And another to cover at central defence.