View Full Version : Hibs transfer thread (Last Day Update - Anier / Feruz (both loan) in, None out)
This is his second spell out with this injury though. You also have to remember injury hampered his career at Dundee utd and the English club he was at (Brentford was it?)
He's not had an injury free season for quite some time so to expect that and budget for him having one this year would be bad planning imo.
He had no injury problems at Dundee Utd but he certainly had problems in his spell at Brentford. Looking on the bright side, if he does return fully fit in next few weeks we have a player, 30 at the end of this month, with very low mileage on his clock.
06-08-2015, 07:43 PM
He had no injury problems at Dundee Utd but he certainly had problems in his spell at Brentford. Looking on the bright side, if he does return fully fit in next few weeks we have a player, 30 at the end of this month, with very low mileage on his clock.
I'll take your word for that, when he signed I asked a Dundee utd supporting mate what he was like abd he said he struggled to stay in the team because of injuries. I assumed that was true but maybe not?
06-08-2015, 07:52 PM
Farid has had one injury ffs!
It is quite a long injury and sounds a bit serious so I think it's worthy of discussion.
I'll take your word for that, when he signed I asked a Dundee utd supporting mate what he was like abd he said he struggled to stay in the team because of injuries. I assumed that was true but maybe not?
He was signed as cover, was never really a first choice but played 15 games in 4 months. If he can get back to his Falkirk fitness & form he'll be an outstanding player for us. Although we have 4 or 5 strikers on our books, including young Allan, I believe Farid & Dom are competing for one spot & Keatings/ Jason for the other. I think AS likes the hold up & poacher combination up front.
06-08-2015, 08:01 PM
Farid has had one injury ffs!
Two operations, one on the knee and one on the ankle, only played 9 games. I think it's fair to speculate on whether he is likely to get a new deal.
He'll need to have an amazing season this year to have even a slim chance.
Been a pro for 10 years and has 191 1st team appearances, not a great stat, got a decent average goal wise though
06-08-2015, 08:44 PM
Two operations, one on the knee and one on the ankle, only played 9 games. I think it's fair to speculate on whether he is likely to get a new deal.
He'll need to have an amazing season this year to have even a slim chance.
But why does it constantly have to be so negative...do you guys not get bored with this.
Roxyhibee
06-08-2015, 08:44 PM
Although we have more skilful players in the team with bigger profiles, I have to say if there was one player I would like fit for 90 mins in every game this particular season, it would be Farid.
From the glimpses we got of him last season when he was fit, he is just what we need in this league when we'll be up against the inevitable 11 men behind the ball, to get younger players like Jason involved more effectively, give our new wide players something real to aim for, give our frequently narrow diamond something to play into feet.. We need him back badly for this crucial season and I'm checking every single day on his progress in particular.
Still think we've got enough quality to get 3 points against anyone, but really hope he's back with us very soon.
06-08-2015, 08:49 PM
But why does it constantly have to be so negative...do you guys not get bored with this.
I just give an honest opinion. If we had not been so terrible for the last 8 years I may not be so negative.
Besides, I rate him, all I'm saying is that I don't think we will offer him a new deal.
06-08-2015, 08:51 PM
and i thought it was NO random crap anymore. TRANSFERS
Roxyhibee
06-08-2015, 09:31 PM
and i thought it was NO random crap anymore. TRANSFERS
Aright, calm doon Kim Jong-un - over here in the free west when a conversation starts, we frequently go off topic when our passions for something we all care about get the better of us... 😉
06-08-2015, 09:33 PM
Aright, calm doon Kim Jong-un - over here in the free west when a conversation starts, we frequently go off topic when our passions for something we all care about get the better of us... 😉
Kim Jong un a hibby? I knew sadam was ... Sorry couldn't resist...
06-08-2015, 09:57 PM
Bloody typical, we get an autocratic megalomaniac dictator and the yam got that nice mr romanov with all his riches
Roxyhibee
06-08-2015, 10:08 PM
Well so he says...! - apparently always on North Korean Sports programmes bragging about being at the 5-0 Naples night, the 7 ZERO New Year's Day ultimate humiliation, got p!ssed with Best George at the NB...
Not sure I believe anything the guy says to be honest...
07-08-2015, 06:39 AM
Kenny Millar @Kenny_Millar (https://twitter.com/Kenny_Millar) 10s10 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/Kenny_Millar/status/629542345684467713)
Hibs have dropped their interest in Keith Watson. Eyeing up another defender. Alan Stubbs wouldn't comment on Dylan McGeouch or Jamie Insall
07-08-2015, 06:46 AM
Hibs won't be signing Jamie insall after finding out he was really all 3 of the showumni brothers in disguise.
07-08-2015, 06:51 AM
Kenny Millar @Kenny_Millar (https://twitter.com/Kenny_Millar) 10s10 seconds ago (https://twitter.com/Kenny_Millar/status/629542345684467713)
Hibs have dropped their interest in Keith Watson. Eyeing up another defender. Alan Stubbs wouldn't comment on Dylan McGeouch or Jamie Insall
Surprised we re not going for Watson but in Stubbs we trust
He must think we can do better :aok:
Surprised we re not going for Watson but in Stubbs we trust
He must think we can do better :aok:
I suspect he's not been able to conclusively prove his fitness & AS, who really likes Watson, has determined we need that cover now. If KW's situation changes it wouldn't surprise me to see him at ER some time this season. He's a free agent & his bargaining value is reducing.
07-08-2015, 07:25 AM
Said all along he would not be signing for us......Fitness issues unfortunately
07-08-2015, 08:10 AM
What a difference having a manager that even this close to the season still thinks he can get better and not just signing someone for the sake of it to make up numbers which probably happened with previous managers
07-08-2015, 08:20 AM
Well so he says...! - apparently always on North Korean Sports programmes bragging about being at the 5-0 Naples night, the 7 ZERO New Year's Day ultimate humiliation, got p!ssed with Best George at the NB...
Not sure I believe anything the guy says to be honest...
When George Best played at Hibs, Kim Jong Un was only a twinkle in his Daddy's eye, so I can see why you'd be suspicious :wink:
07-08-2015, 09:16 AM
When George Best played at Hibs, Kim Jong Un was only a twinkle in his Daddy's eye, so I can see why you'd be suspicious :wink:
That's no problem at all for a man who shot 18 in his first round of golf and then retired. [emoji3]
07-08-2015, 09:32 AM
That's no problem at all for a man who shot 18 in his first round of golf and then retired. [emoji3]
Aye 18 caddies, not golf shots.......
07-08-2015, 09:39 AM
Hibs won't be signing Jamie insall after finding out he was really all 3 of the showumni brothers in disguise.
Heard he has to change his name to Jamie Insave and John McGinn has already started the process to change his name to John MacBean :agree:
07-08-2015, 09:50 AM
Roxyhibee
07-08-2015, 11:10 AM
Brilliant.! (And probably true....)
07-08-2015, 11:22 AM
I just give an honest opinion. If we had not been so terrible for the last 8 years I may not be so negative.
Besides, I rate him, all I'm saying is that I don't think we will offer him a new deal.
Aye but Ozy, surely even you don't honestly think that if Farid was to have a "Great season" he'd only have a slim chance of being offered to stay longer!?
07-08-2015, 11:46 AM
Would think today they would make a decision on McCabe and insall as they've been on trial a while now and you would expect it to be up!
Not heard much at all regarding mccabe lately
Said all along he would not be signing for us......Fitness issues unfortunately
Yip you certainly made that point to me on a couple of occasions :greengrin
07-08-2015, 12:59 PM
Would think today they would make a decision on McCabe and insall as they've been on trial a while now and you would expect it to be up!
Not heard much at all regarding mccabe lately
I reckon he's a back up if we don't get Dylan back.
07-08-2015, 03:22 PM
Yip you certainly made that point to me on a couple of occasions :greengrin
One I got right Lago....Lucky guess:greengrin
Baldy Foghorn;4433936]One I got right lago....Lucky guess:greengrin[/QUOTE]
Don't think there was much guess work Involved. :wink:
07-08-2015, 04:58 PM
Does anyone know what the script with McGeouch is then? Have we tried for him? Or are we hoping Celtc come in for Allan and offer him to us in some sort of deal? :greengrin
07-08-2015, 06:09 PM
This probably comes under "random crap" but couldn't find another thread with "other" transfer activity going on.
Anyway, is it true Sneijder has left Dundee United already??
07-08-2015, 06:31 PM
This probably comes under "random crap" but couldn't find another thread with "other" transfer activity going on.
Think there's something in it, whether he's ill of not up to the standard, or just canny stand Dundee
07-08-2015, 07:27 PM
Think there's something in it, whether he's ill of not up to the standard, or just canny stand Dundee
Fundee, surely not:greengrin
07-08-2015, 09:39 PM
Apparently been having palpatations anxiety attacks been granted leave back to Holland
Aye, some of the burds are poor.
07-08-2015, 09:54 PM
Have you been to Dundee?
A statue of Desparate Dan can only keep you entertained so long.....
07-08-2015, 09:58 PM
Have you been to Dundee?
A statue of Desparate Dan can only keep you entertained so long.....
Reminds me of Yosser's confession to the priest whose name is Dan "i'm desperate Dan" just like Dundeh
Sent via the bushes @ EM
07-08-2015, 10:53 PM
CH on his way. League 1. should be in camp on monday.
Gordy M
07-08-2015, 11:06 PM
Excellent stuff, Do you know who it is? What club is he arriving from?
07-08-2015, 11:11 PM
Scottish League 1 or English League 1?
08-08-2015, 03:36 AM
Ch?
TheFamous1875
08-08-2015, 04:44 AM
Ch?
Centre-half, I assume?
Dunno if its been brought to attention on the thread, but in Stubbs' latest interview on Hibs TV, there was a player; a black laddie with that Danny Welbeck/Malonga/Will Smith-style hairdo, being the 'pig' in the middle during a training clip, does anyone know who he is? It wasn't Malonga, as 1) he'd never chase a ball like that and 2) Malonga's currently rocking a mighty mustache, as seen on #outsidethebox :cb
Scottish League 1 or English League 1?
French league 1?
The next Sauzee?
Hibstrooper
08-08-2015, 07:10 AM
Centre-half, I assume?
Dunno if its been brought to attention on the thread, but in Stubbs' latest interview on Hibs TV, there was a player; a black laddie with that Danny Welbeck/Malonga/Will Smith-style hairdo, being the 'pig' in the middle during a training clip, does anyone know who he is? It wasn't Malonga, as 1) he'd never chase a ball like that and 2) Malonga's currently rocking a mighty mustache, as seen on #outsidethebox :cb
Spotted that as well. He was in the middle with Bartley and running about like he was trying to impress.
Is it the return of the Admiral? :greengrin Sorry!i
08-08-2015, 09:21 AM
Spotted that as well. He was in the middle with Bartley and running about like he was trying to impress.
Anybody able to put a name to the face? Looks to be quite quick which is good.
08-08-2015, 09:49 AM
There is a couple of faces in that video I don't recognise. I seen Fontaine, insall, Bartley, McGinn and Martin but there was a boy in orange boots I couldn't put a name to.
Thought it might be McCabe but hair doesn't look long enough. Just realised its Scott Allan
Good to see were after another defender
Stuarty27
08-08-2015, 10:40 AM
There is a couple of faces in that video I don't recognise. I seen Fontaine, insall, Bartley, McGinn and Martin but there was a boy in orange boots I couldn't put a name to.
Thought it might be McCabe but hair doesn't look long enough.
Good to see were after another defender
Boy in orange boots is Scott Allan
08-08-2015, 02:48 PM
I would like to try and get the El-baktaoui from dumfermline 6 goals this season already
bill the hibby
08-08-2015, 03:00 PM
I would like to try and get the El-baktaoui from dumfermline 6 goals this season already
Looked good against us as well, the guys a good goal scorer
08-08-2015, 04:18 PM
Was impressed with several of the pars players.
The result today shows once again we are seriously short of quality - we need an instant fix - not players ready in 5 weeks.
08-08-2015, 04:27 PM
Totally agree...seen within the first 10 minutes against the pars that the wee lad was quality
08-08-2015, 04:29 PM
Would Dunfermline sell to a rival for next season
scuttle
08-08-2015, 04:32 PM
Would Dunfermline sell to a rival for next season
Why are they not getting promoted:wink:
09-08-2015, 09:33 AM
i hope he can organise that shambolic defence,is he fit?
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gSq8ZBdSxNU
:)
09-08-2015, 10:09 AM
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=gSq8ZBdSxNU
:)
Someone mentioned that before, possibly on this thread and I assumed it was a joke. Are you suggesting there's genuine interest in him?
Or is this a whoosh moment I'm missing?
09-08-2015, 10:10 AM
Someone mentioned that before, possibly on this thread and I assumed it was a joke. Are you suggesting there's genuine interest in him?
Or is this a whoosh moment I'm missing?
He played yesterday
portyhibernian
09-08-2015, 12:11 PM
Me and my brother clocked Andy Webster yesterday leaving the game. Possible that it's him that's the League 1 CB?
09-08-2015, 12:19 PM
Me and my brother clocked Andy Webster yesterday leaving the game. Possible that it's him that's the League 1 CB?
Exactly what we need imo.
Someone mentioned that before, possibly on this thread and I assumed it was a joke. Are you suggesting there's genuine interest in him? Or is this a whoosh moment I'm missing?
Just me guessing and not based on any info. We need leadership at the back but a 35 year old would feel more like a panic buy despite the connections with the club.
Webster suggestion might be more accurate.
09-08-2015, 12:21 PM
Webster....injury prone....
09-08-2015, 03:09 PM
Praying it's not Webster, he's gash amd bound to be as slow as Michael Nelson now.
09-08-2015, 03:13 PM
Webster....injury prone....
My thoughts as well, we need a CB that is going to be able to play for the rest of the season, not in the stand with niggly injuries. there must be better out there, our new scouting team must be able to come up with a player who isn't injury prone for a change.
09-08-2015, 03:44 PM
I think the main thing we need in the centre of defence is athleticism. I think Jordan has this but he is injured quite a bit and not always a first pick.
We need a strong fast defender who goes through people when he tackles them and will want to bully a striker.
A bamba type.
09-08-2015, 03:49 PM
Webster would be a poor signing IMO. Slow as **** and injured more often than not. Won't be anywhere near match fit either.
09-08-2015, 04:21 PM
Praying it's not Webster, he's gash amd bound to be as slow as Michael Nelson now.
Certainly is not. Solid centre half and experienced exactly what our soft defence needs plus a left back.
09-08-2015, 04:24 PM
The last really good CH Hibs had was Rob Jones. That defence is crying out for someone like Jones and for leadership.
09-08-2015, 04:34 PM
Webster would be a poor signing IMO. Slow as **** and injured more often than not. Won't be anywhere near match fit either.
He seems to have played a fair number of games in recent seasons for someone injured more often that not.
09-08-2015, 04:56 PM
A fit Webster would be a good signing imo
09-08-2015, 05:01 PM
Andy Webster stinks of desperation imo. Would be happy for him to prove me wrong but he's not the type we need imo
Edit: just realised how much games he has played for Coventry over the last couple of seasons. Very surprised.
09-08-2015, 05:09 PM
Webster is ten times the player that Hanlon is, Hanlon gives the opposition a gilt edged chance nearly every game and should never be in the team, after five or so years he has risen to the level of mediocrity at best ! We need leaders on the field, other teams have players that drive the team on even when things are not working and force players round about them to give their all, we need players like this badly.
09-08-2015, 05:11 PM
The last really good CH Hibs had was Rob Jones. That defence is crying out for someone like Jones and for leadership.
Rose tinted specs seem to be on for Rob Jones these days, remember him having stinkers of games, and didn't exactly perform well in his role as Captain during the Collins debacle...
09-08-2015, 05:15 PM
Websters a leftie isn't he ?
09-08-2015, 05:18 PM
Websters a leftie isn't he ?
Do we need another left sided centre back, if this is where he plays?
09-08-2015, 05:22 PM
Last thing we need
09-08-2015, 05:31 PM
Rose tinted specs seem to be on for Rob Jones these days, remember him having stinkers of games, and didn't exactly perform well in his role as Captain during the Collins debacle...
Jones was brilliant in the big games when we were pinned back. And he dealt with crosses all game. It was when we had the ball the majority of the time and teams countered he struggled. A very good servent and player for the majority of his stint here tho.
09-08-2015, 05:32 PM
Iv never seen so many people think this as such a big deal before as on here. You would very rarely hear it mentioned if it was 2 right footed centre backs, for some reason left foot is a different ball game tho
09-08-2015, 05:34 PM
Iv never seen so many people think this as such a big deal before as on here. You would very rarely hear it mentioned if it was 2 right footed centre backs, for some reason left foot is a different ball game tho
Agreed. Good defenders are what we need. Couldn't care what foot they use.
09-08-2015, 05:40 PM
I think it's far from perfect. A few times when Paul went forward yesterday, he could have played an earlier ball with his right, but didn't because he wasn't fully confident in it
09-08-2015, 05:41 PM
I don't know the technicalities behind it but it doesn't work for some reason. Not sure if it's to do with body positioning, lefties being typically even more one footed than righties, I just don't know but I definitely agree the balance at the back is wrong. I think the same applies in midfield abd why you rarely get two lefties playing beside each other on their own in the centre. I remember a manager of ours talking about it after we got pumped at fir park, might have been Tony Mowbray but I'm not sure.
09-08-2015, 06:54 PM
I think it's far from perfect. A few times when Paul went forward yesterday, he could have played an earlier ball with his right, but didn't because he wasn't fully confident in it
Paul Hanlon is never afraid to use his right foot. He's pretty comfortable on his right and isn't in the same category as someone like Fletch who still misses glaring chances for Sunderland because he won't use his right peg.
09-08-2015, 06:58 PM
Paul Hanlon is never afraid to use his right foot. He's pretty comfortable on his right and isn't in the same category as someone like Fletch who still misses glaring chances for Sunderland because he won't use his right peg.
I noticed this last season
I also noticed yesterday he was using his left a lot more than usual. Confidence?
09-08-2015, 06:58 PM
Right sided centre back.
09-08-2015, 07:00 PM
I noticed this last season
I also noticed yesterday he was using his left a lot more than usual. Confidence?
No idea bud. I don't think having two left sided players is as big a deal as some people suspect though.
09-08-2015, 07:09 PM
Right sided centre back.
The latest hibs.net myth crushed before it could even learn to walk. How cruel.
09-08-2015, 07:23 PM
100% Webster is a right sided Centre half, exactly the type of position we need...perhaps some are getting confused with Berra who was a lefty.
mcfly
09-08-2015, 07:55 PM
Webster is ten times the player that Hanlon is, Hanlon gives the opposition a gilt edged chance nearly every game and should never be in the team, after five or so years he has risen to the level of mediocrity at best ! We need leaders on the field, other teams have players that drive the team on even when things are not working and force players round about them to give their all, we need players like this badly.
Agree 100% Hanlon is not good enough - won't get any better and makes too many mistakes
09-08-2015, 08:24 PM
100% Webster is a right sided Centre half, exactly the type of position we need...perhaps some are getting confused with Berra who was a lefty.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=jj4tF4XbNWw Can't wait to see his right peg
09-08-2015, 08:37 PM
https://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_detailpage&v=jj4tF4XbNWw Can't wait to see his right peg
I didn't say he could kick with his left but he predominantly right footed
09-08-2015, 08:42 PM
All players have "stinkers" from time to time, but I honestly don't recall Rob Jones having all that many TBH. I do remember him scoring the winner against Hearts at ER and his headed goal in the 2007 cup final is something we don't see nearly enough off from Hibs central defenders.
I was referring to Rob Jones' all round performance on the pitch. His role as captain in off-field matters is something else. I personally don't know exactly what his role was in the "Collins debacle" apart from stories I've read, and unsubstantiated rumours, so I can't really comment on that aspect.
Perhaps you know exactly what his role was?
09-08-2015, 09:10 PM
A morton fan on pie and bovril reckons michael tidser will be joining us this week.
Now that would be a signing. Excellent for Morton the season they just lost out to thistle.
09-08-2015, 09:22 PM
Now that would be a signing. Excellent for Morton the season they just lost out to thistle.
Is another midfielder who hasn't got track record of scoring regularly really our priority at present Mcginn Carmichael and Bartley need to get bedded into the team . has McCabe now left club as nothing getting mentioned of him .
Have never seen him so he may be a good signing if true ,but if still under contract we would need to pay a fee or small fee plus player going on loan the other way
09-08-2015, 09:41 PM
Wouldn't have thought we'd be paying money for another midfielder just now.
09-08-2015, 09:43 PM
Odd considering he's only played reserve matches since signing.
09-08-2015, 09:46 PM
Odd considering he's only played reserve matches since signing.
He had to. Wasn't allowed to play for them in competitive games.
09-08-2015, 10:39 PM
He had to. Wasn't allowed to play for them in competitive games.
I know, my concern is he hasn't had any first team experience since January. Could take a while to get match fit.
10-08-2015, 08:35 AM
Any news on insall
BarneyK
10-08-2015, 08:45 AM
Any news on insall
According to his dad on FB he's back up again this week.
Greenworld
10-08-2015, 10:57 AM
Andy Webster stinks of desperation imo. Would be happy for him to prove me wrong but he's not the type we need imo
Edit: just realised how much games he has played for Coventry over the last couple of seasons. Very surprised.
No idea if its true but some hearts friends told me at the weekend he was talking to us....I was surprised not even sure what age he is now ...
Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk
10-08-2015, 11:21 AM
Think Webster could do a job for us , he seems to have got over his injury problems having played 160 first team games in last 4 years with "THEM" and Coventry.Also he is only 33 not a great age for a centre back and he does score goals as well.
10-08-2015, 03:20 PM
scougal freed from Sheff?
10-08-2015, 03:21 PM
Is he? Looked a player as well.
10-08-2015, 03:22 PM
Is he? Looked a player as well.
Take him in a heartbeat although he'll have other offers.
The Leith Dutch
10-08-2015, 03:33 PM
From what I saw on the youtube clips last time he was mentioned as a transfer option I think he's exactly what we need - reasonably quick, likes a dribble and a decent-ish goal return no? Was with us at youth level I seem to remember someone mentioning.
Stick him in with Boyle back and suddenly marking SA out of the game isn't a viable option for teams anymore.
Like others say - he'll get better offers :(
10-08-2015, 03:34 PM
Take him in a heartbeat although he'll have other offers.
Better believe it mate. But as you say I'd expect him to have something lined up better than us.
mentalhibee
10-08-2015, 03:41 PM
Is this legit? Can't see it reported anywhere, seems strange as he is contracted till 2017.
10-08-2015, 03:44 PM
Very doubtful I'd of thought
bill the hibby
10-08-2015, 04:59 PM
Isn't he a hibee? Could be totally wrong though
10-08-2015, 05:04 PM
I was sent a msg telling me he'd been freed? Can't find anything online. We let him go as a nipper didn't we? I assume he'll have offers form down south.
Isn't he a hibee? Could be totally wrong though
He's a Savile unfortunately.
bill the hibby
10-08-2015, 05:13 PM
Ah, sare yin
10-08-2015, 05:28 PM
No he's no.
Mcpakeisgod
10-08-2015, 05:36 PM
No he's no.
He grew up a ger
10-08-2015, 05:38 PM
Rangers fan.
10-08-2015, 05:40 PM
Rangers fan.
Did he play under Davie Weir at Sheffield United?
10-08-2015, 05:50 PM
Scougall will be Rangers bound.
Stuarty27
10-08-2015, 07:44 PM
Decent player but no what we need, we got plenty players like him at the minute.
We need blistering pace! Someone who can hug the touch line and make the game as wide as possible.
Yuillsy
10-08-2015, 08:01 PM
Scougall will be Rangers bound.
Celtic watched him quite a few times last season.
10-08-2015, 08:03 PM
Celtic watched him quite a few times last season.
John Collins rated him highly when at Livi so wouldn't rule it out.
10-08-2015, 09:10 PM
Take it no further word on the league 1 defender Underscore mentioned was coming today.
Anybody know if he is training / trialling / signing
10-08-2015, 09:20 PM
Take it no further word on the league 1 defender Underscore mentioned was coming today.
Anybody know if he is training / trialling / signing
You would assume we would have someone in this week Stubbs said after we signed McGinn he hoped to have another two players signed by 8th August or thereabouts so we are just passed that .
Keith Watson was probably one and we know that's a non Starter now so with way defence has played recently he is maybe having to weight up his options and re think the type of player he now needs .
The development game v Falkirk tomorrow may give us some clues but a defender is now a priority you would think .
11-08-2015, 09:02 AM
Balogun from Wigan...think he is a LB tho.
bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 09:48 AM
Would be happy to see a LB come in to provide competition
Nevi_SOL
11-08-2015, 09:51 AM
Is this permanent or a loan?
andrew70
11-08-2015, 09:51 AM
Bit about the lad here.
http://www.wigan.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=335351
11-08-2015, 10:18 AM
Is this permanent or a loan?
He's a free agent. Trained last week.
11-08-2015, 10:45 AM
Anyone know who our how many we have on trial
11-08-2015, 10:51 AM
Bit about the lad here.
http://www.wigan.vitalfootball.co.uk/article.asp?a=335351
Couldn't see his age is he now 19 or still 18 Has he had any first team experience ? Sounds like he would be one for development squad with view to hoping he progresses , but doesnt sound like he would be an immediate first team player at this stage
Be interesting to see if plays in development game against Falkirk Nd how he shows up in that .
11-08-2015, 10:53 AM
What about him?
Signing? Signed? In training? Being actively considered by Hibs?
11-08-2015, 10:58 AM
What about him?
Signing? Signed? In training? Being actively considered by Hibs?
I'll give you time to read the thread...
11-08-2015, 11:10 AM
I'll give you time to read the thread...
I read it and could only find this....
He's a free agent. Trained last week.
So is he signing, signed, being assessed, or has it only got to the training stage?
11-08-2015, 11:24 AM
I read it and could only find this....
So is he signing, signed, being assessed, or has it only got to the training stage?
He's been training. Talks on going. Maybe Billy will see him in the Dev game today? If not I'd suggest he's not staying...
H18S NX
11-08-2015, 11:33 AM
I would like us to get an experienced defender in if possible.
11-08-2015, 11:38 AM
He's been training. Talks on going. Maybe Billy will see him in the Dev game today? If not I'd suggest he's not staying...
11-08-2015, 11:52 AM
So what happened to the centre half we were signing yesterday?? More ITK nonsense??
11-08-2015, 11:56 AM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xpt1/v/t1.0-9/s526x395/11863360_10153528364884771_5294142268699630177_n.j pg?oh=ab54cb0f8597c9df3aff435d46764700&oe=56476129
11-08-2015, 11:57 AM
So what happened to the centre half we were signing yesterday?? More ITK nonsense??
Just ignore it then. :aok:
11-08-2015, 12:06 PM
We're waiting until he gets injured before signing :wink:
itslegaltender
11-08-2015, 01:24 PM
McFadden to Hibs reported by good old Hibs news on twitter.
11-08-2015, 01:41 PM
Was told today we have a moroccan laddie on trial just now, he is a family friend of someone that works for me. Not sure of age or position though as i didnt ask!!
11-08-2015, 01:42 PM
Feels like we've been linked to an entire first team squad since McGinn signed.
BH Hibs
11-08-2015, 01:43 PM
McFadden to Hibs reported by good old Hibs news on twitter.
He doesn't like artificial pitches as I recall
11-08-2015, 01:57 PM
Was told today we have a moroccan laddie on trial just now, he is a family friend of someone that works for me. Not sure of age or position though as i didnt ask!!
Benji maybe?
11-08-2015, 03:09 PM
James McFadden
11-08-2015, 03:16 PM
James McFadden
I honestly couldn't think of a player we need less.
11-08-2015, 03:17 PM
I honestly couldn't think of a player we need less.
Maybe we want to slow our tempo even more?
11-08-2015, 03:22 PM
to on trial we have:
insall
mccabe
wigan left back
morrocan guy
Does anyone know how any of these guys have got on and if they are likely to be offered a deal? Mccabe has went awful quiet?
Guessing the wigan player was the unknown player in the video we seen last week that was buzzing about. Would prefer a more experienced player coming in as we have a good youth player in crane
Mcfadden = no thanks
11-08-2015, 03:22 PM
Maybe we want to slow our tempo even more?
What? You're surely jesting - does such tempo slower than ours exist? :)
11-08-2015, 03:45 PM
to on trial we have:
insall
mccabe
wigan left back
morrocan guy
Does anyone know how any of these guys have got on and if they are likely to be offered a deal? Mccabe has went awful quiet?
Guessing the wigan player was the unknown player in the video we seen last week that was buzzing about. Would prefer a more experienced player coming in as we have a good youth player in crane
Mcfadden = no thanks
insall expected to sign. heard nothing more about McCabe. no nothing of a morrocan guy
wigan lad did well in his trial.
That's not to say we're not just going to go out and sign someone like Webster any minute now.
11-08-2015, 03:48 PM
insall expected to sign. heard nothing more about McCabe. no nothing of a morrocan guy
That's not to say we're not just going to go out and sign someone like Webster any minute now.
Cheers mate
when u say youve heard nothing more about mccabe do you know if he is even still trainging with us?
Unsure on how webster would be for us, was a cracking centre half a couple of years ago. History of injury problems however he has started most games in the past 4 years for hearts and coventry
11-08-2015, 03:56 PM
Cheers mate
when u say youve heard nothing more about mccabe do you know if he is even still trainging with us?
Unsure on how webster would be for us, was a cracking centre half a couple of years ago. History of injury problems however he has started most games in the past 4 years for hearts and coventry
Honestly no idea. I'll ask tonight.
bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 04:43 PM
If we were to sign insall, the young lb and possibly Webster, I'd be pretty happy with the squad
SloopJB
11-08-2015, 04:48 PM
You don't know the age or position of someone who works for you?
11-08-2015, 04:53 PM
If we were to sign insall, the young lb and possibly Webster, I'd be pretty happy with the squad
Really?
A inexperienced 18 year old
A striker who plays at a very low level
Webster I would be ok with baring he's fit and over his injuries
Nothing against insall or the left back but signing them 2 wouldn't make me feel a lot more confident, they could end up to be a great bit of business but it's a risk.
I still think we need another couple
11-08-2015, 04:53 PM
You don't know the age or position of someone who works for you?
Eh? I didnt ask the age or position of the young player
11-08-2015, 04:55 PM
I'd prefer Webster mcgeouch and stokes 😜
11-08-2015, 05:20 PM
I would be happy to see a left back come in regardless of age. Lewis needs competition.
bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 05:31 PM
Really?
A inexperienced 18 year old
A striker who plays at a very low level
Webster I would be ok with baring he's fit and over his injuries
Nothing against insall or the left back but signing them 2 wouldn't make me feel a lot more confident, they could end up to be a great bit of business but it's a risk.
I still think we need another couple
I think they would provide good back up, if stubbs trusts their ability that's good enough for me
Had you heard of malonga? David grey? Scott allan had disappeared off the radar...he has a good track record does stubbs
11-08-2015, 05:40 PM
I think they would provide good back up, if stubbs trusts their ability that's good enough for me
Had you heard of malonga? David grey? Scott allan had disappeared off the radar...he has a good track record does stubbs
David grey yes and thought he was a good player, scott allan was well known and really good player who just lost his way a bit.
My point is that they are risky as at 18 he doesnt have much experience, we already have callum crane who has shown alot of potential but most think hes not ready.
Insall had a long ban and played at a lower level albeit played very well going by stats.
Im not saying these guys will be bad signings, but i dont think either will sign as a first pick in there natural position. Which is what we need, people who come in and challenge for a place straight away.
11-08-2015, 06:02 PM
I would be happy to see a left back come in regardless of age. Lewis needs competition.
:agree: Lewis was 17 in his first game
11-08-2015, 06:04 PM
James McFadden
A heid ripe for wearing a fez but don't think he's Morrocan ;)
11-08-2015, 06:09 PM
We're waiting until he gets injured before signing :wink:
Lol
davidw
11-08-2015, 06:21 PM
Eh? I didnt ask the age or position of the young player
I believe the correct expression here is: "whoosh"...
11-08-2015, 06:29 PM
No sure i'd be overly excited by McFadden these days. Injury prone and well past his best, although I suppose in this league he probably could still score goals.
Probably would do the likes of Cummings good as well having someone like him to look up to and learn from.
11-08-2015, 06:30 PM
None of these players playing for development team tonight so assume Stubbs and back room staff have seen enough of them to make decisions and any deals if struck will be announced if and when finally agreed You would think McCabe would pick up a club but no one has heard anything about him training with anyone else .
The Moroccan guy i will wait to see if anyone else confirms this
11-08-2015, 06:44 PM
David grey yes and thought he was a good player, scott allan was well known and really good player who just lost his way a bit.
My point is that they are risky as at 18 he doesnt have much experience, we already have callum crane who has shown alot of potential but most think hes not ready.
Insall had a long ban and played at a lower level albeit played very well going by stats.
Im not saying these guys will be bad signings, but i dont think either will sign as a first pick in there natural position. Which is what we need, people who come in and challenge for a place straight away.
Any signing is risky tbf. For example, if you sign a journeyman with a track record (on inflated wages) and he breaks both legs in first game then you have effectively paid for nothing. Even if he does well he will have no resale value and is unlikely to get better than he was when you signed him. Whereas with a youngster you are taking a risk for cheaper with potential rewards being astronomically bigger (i.e. Robertson from Queens Park to Dundee United to Hull). Insall seems to have a bit of known-how when it comes to playing upfront, the records speak for themselves and I'd expect him to have dealt with some nasty tackles etc. and big brute defenders at that level of the game (something that I think Cummings still lacks - ability to use his body to win fouls and protect the ball).
Whilst I'd prefer us to win the league this year or at the very least get promotion, I do not want to see anymore quick fixes and Webster seems to fall into that category for me. We must plan for longevity now. Surely we can scout outside UK and find a talented 19-26 year old defender on a free that would rip this league to pieces rather than a 33 year old...
One thing I think we sorely lack is pace, both at the back and upfront and I feel that is our undoing at the moment - we are compressing game with slow tempo and we have no way of stretching it. Impatience causing defence to push higher and shape to go wonky, with defence incapable of getting back fast enough. Most older players that have pace and strength are out of our league in terms of fee/wage because the modern game focuses on these traits heavily and they are sought after, hence why hungry youngsters (18-23) might be the way to go.
English clubs kick out hundreds of youngsters each year and many of them would breeze this league given time (key things to look for - pace, strength, technique, mental capacity/temperament).
11-08-2015, 06:50 PM
No sure i'd be overly excited by McFadden these days. Injury prone and well past his best, although I suppose in this league he probably could still score goals.
Probably would do the likes of Cummings good as well having someone like him to look up to and learn from.
I'd be downright disappointed, he's finished. He was never a prolific scorer anyway.
11-08-2015, 06:58 PM
I'd be downright disappointed, he's finished. He was never a prolific scorer anyway.
I'd be fairly open minded to it.
I'd rather we got some more pace in the side but he could be creative and I think a couple of older heads in the team might be what we need.
bill the hibby
11-08-2015, 07:01 PM
Any signing is risky tbf. For example, if you sign a journeyman with a track record (on inflated wages) and he breaks both legs in first game then you have effectively paid for nothing. Even if he does well he will have no resale value and is unlikely to get better than he was when you signed him. Whereas with a youngster you are taking a risk for cheaper with potential rewards being astronomically bigger (i.e. Robertson from Queens Park to Dundee United to Hull). Insall seems to have a bit of known-how when it comes to playing upfront, the records speak for themselves and I'd expect him to have dealt with some nasty tackles etc. and big brute defenders at that level of the game (something that I think Cummings still lacks - ability to use his body to win fouls and protect the ball).
Whilst I'd prefer us to win the league this year or at the very least get promotion, I do not want to see anymore quick fixes and Webster seems to fall into that category for me. We must plan for longevity now. Surely we can scout outside UK and find a talented 19-26 year old defender on a free that would rip this league to pieces rather than a 33 year old...
One thing I think we sorely lack is pace, both at the back and upfront and I feel that is our undoing at the moment - we are compressing game with slow tempo and we have no way of stretching it. Impatience causing defence to push higher and shape to go wonky, with defence incapable of getting back fast enough. Most older players that have pace and strength are out of our league in terms of fee/wage because the modern game focuses on these traits heavily and they are sought after, hence why hungry youngsters (18-23) might be the way to go.
English clubs kick out hundreds of youngsters each year and many of them would breeze this league given time (key things to look for - pace, strength, technique, mental capacity/temperament).
Something I never even thought about was cummings...a year before his double against Hamilton in the play offs im sure he was still paying for Hutchie (someone correct me if I'm wrong). The season after that he was the leagues top scorer, as the poster says, it's worth taking a chance on these young guys despite the level they might be playing at
11-08-2015, 07:06 PM
I believe the correct expression here is: "whoosh"...
Yip, as soon as i replied i thought that!
11-08-2015, 07:27 PM
Connolly playing for Dundee utd tonight so I'm guessing those rumours weren't true.
11-08-2015, 07:39 PM
Connolly playing for Dundee utd tonight so I'm guessing those rumours weren't true.
I think he was only coming in a swap loan deal if he was even coming at all.
11-08-2015, 08:04 PM
He was at motherwell
11-08-2015, 08:09 PM
He was at motherwell
35 goals in 103 games is ok but not amazing and most of them came when he was a teenager and I would be ok about signing the teenage McFadden.
11-08-2015, 08:19 PM
Playing for Sheffield Utd tonight
12-08-2015, 07:04 AM
Been given a squad number, which is odd if he really has been released.
http://www.sufc.co.uk/news/article/sheffield-united-squad-numbers-2598778.aspx
Kieron Freeman has been given the number 2 shirt, Paul Coutts number 8, with Stefan Scougall now 16 following Sharp's arrival.
Others to have changed number are Craig Alcock (21), Michael Higdon (23), Diego De Girolamo (24), Terry Kennedy (26), Dominic Calvert-Lewin (27), Callum McFadzean (28), Kieran Wallace (30), Connor Dimaio (31), Harrison McGahey (32) and Florent Cuvelier (33).
12-08-2015, 09:01 AM
We need amother Striker James Keatings is injured again
12-08-2015, 09:08 AM
I am hoping Stubbsy can get a couple of loan players from Everton.
12-08-2015, 09:13 AM
Probably only a couple of more weeks tho. Boyle played as a striker in the Dev game. #justsaying.
12-08-2015, 09:15 AM
U do realize we are a Championship club and dont have an endless budget?? Just coz someone is injured doesnt mean we dont have to pay their wages mate
12-08-2015, 09:17 AM
Probably only a couple of more weeks tho. Boyle played as a striker in the Dev game. #justsaying.
McCall said we were bringing in a striker
12-08-2015, 09:25 AM
McCall said we were bringing in a striker
McCall?
12-08-2015, 09:29 AM
McCall?
Said it on BT sport during the Rangers v St Mirren game last Friday
12-08-2015, 09:33 AM
But will that not just be the young guy insall or whatever his name is that we have been looking at
12-08-2015, 09:40 AM
Ok cheers
I was surprised at these rumours, AFAIK he has not been released. I think there was something on social media about his girlfriend getting a transfer at work to move to Sheffield. The talk of a transfer may have caused the confusion.
12-08-2015, 09:59 AM
Jamie Insall most likely.
So I go away for a week and a bit (with no wifi, don't ask) and after trawling through some of the threads
Scott Allan is still a Hibs player although Rotherham have bid!
We've not signed anyone.
We are looking at a former Conference goal scorer!
Most threads still seem like train wrecks!
O and we got beaten by Dumbarton on Sat!
Any more for any more??
12-08-2015, 10:12 AM
So I go away for a week and a bit (with no wifi, don't ask) and after trawling through some of the threads
We've not signed anyone.
Any more for any more??
You'd be as well going away again.
U do realize we are a Championship club and dont have an endless budget?? Just coz someone is injured doesnt mean we dont have to pay their wages mate
We also have major concerns over Alagui's constant fitness problems, there would be no problems if we played one up top but we generally play with 2.
You'd be as well going away again. :wink:
Ha ha! Would love to!
Going to be positive but still think we need a couple of leaders on the park!
12-08-2015, 10:21 AM
We've not signed anyone.
Any more for any more??
I did notice you hadn't been posting ,welcome back .Stubbs said he was waiting till you were back before announcing another signing ( had McGinn singed before you left )
Have been off work for past three weeks no well but am going to crawl out my sick bed to go to Morton Game My Team Needs Me .:greengrin
We also have major concerns over Alagui's constant fitness problems, there would be no problems if we played one up top but we generally play with 2.
This is a worry tbh! He gives us something different to the others we have and a big physical presence!
If we cannot get him or Keatings fit then I would expect us to bring in another CF!
I did notice you hadn't been posting ,welcome back .Stubbs said he was waiting till you were back before announcing another signing ( had McGinn singed before you left ) Have been off work for past three weeks no well but am going to crawl out my sick bed to go to Morton Game My Team Needs Me .:greengrin
Yeah McGinn had signed.
My concern is we have not hit the ground running. Yeah it's only our first game but it shows we are in for a hard season!
12-08-2015, 10:47 AM
Yeah McGinn had signed.
My concern is we have not hit the ground running. Yeah it's only our first game but it shows we are in for a hard season!
Im hoping its the shock to the system that some players need. (They shoudnt need it!)
12-08-2015, 10:49 AM
Im hoping its the shock to the system that some players need. (They shoudnt need it!)
You would have hoped the mauling to Rangers would have done that.
Indeed!
Positive response from the players is an absolute must IMHO! We will find out on Saturday!
12-08-2015, 10:53 AM
Indeed!
Positive response from the players is an absolute must IMHO! We will find out on Saturday!
If we don't fly out the traps and pummel Morton from the start then Stubbs has a serious problem.
Let's hope that this is not the case come 4.45 on Saturday!
And if they don't, then maybe we should start looking at Stubbs and his coaches, it's their jobs to get this team up and ready for the games. The players have to take a huge portion of any blame for poor results but it's the management teams responsibility to set them up and get ready for any game.
12-08-2015, 11:10 AM
I think Stubbs will have a problem anyway. We did not score enough goals last year and we have the same strike force and have not added any goal scoring midfielders.
I think Stubbs was expecting Farid to be playing a bigger part, we know he has a good goal ratio but it looks like his injuries over the years are catching up with him. Keatings is a decent striker for this league but why we never went for a real proven striker who would piss this league I don't understand, Stubbs seems to like prospects and for the future, we need now not in a season or so time.
12-08-2015, 12:06 PM
I think Stubbs was expecting Farid to be playing a bigger part, we know he has a good goal ratio but it looks like his injuries over the years are catching up with him. Keatings is a decent striker for this league but why we never went for a real proven striker who would piss this league I don't understand, Stubbs seems to like prospects and for the future, we need now not in a season or so time.
Is Farid not back training now? Keatings has scored regularly in this league in the last two seasons so very much proven at this level as are Malonga and Cummings.
I was thinking more of a proven striker at a higher level.
Farid had a good record when at Falkirk but at Brentford he had injury problems, Cummings is still very hot and cold, if he's taken half the chances he missed last season he'd have scored over 30, same goes for Malonga. Keatings yes at this level which asks the question why Hearts never kept him and why a perm club hasn't signed him.
Our goal to chance ratio was very poor last season and so far it's beginning to look the same way again, hopefully when Boyle and Carmichael get on the pitch, the chances may be better and taken more regularly.
12-08-2015, 12:22 PM
Farid had a good record when at Falkirk but at Brentford he had injury problems, Cummings is still very hot and cold, if he's taken half the chances he missed last season he'd have scored over 30, same goes for Malonga. Keatings yes at this level which asks the question why Hearts never kept him and why a perm club hasn't signed him.
Our goal to chance ratio was very poor last season and so far it's beginning to look the same way again, hopefully when Boyle and Carmichael get on the pitch, the chances may be better and taken more regularly.
Not a criticism of individual players but does anybody else think our strikers don't really play as a proper partnership?
I only made about 8 games in person last season, so mostly I have to rely on TV, but I often felt that Malonga and Cummings, for instance, were playing as individuals and didn't match up well.
Quite often they made darting runs at the same time and ended up within 10 yards of each other, instead of running into different areas and helping split the defence.
12-08-2015, 12:22 PM
He'll have a problem for now because we have so many players out.
But you're being pretty harsh on him.
He's added a guy who has scored a lot of goals in the last 2 seasons for teams who have been promoted from this league. He's added Carmichael who is one of the most creative players in this league and McGinn who has performed well at a higher level than we're at - he looked like he could be creative to me on Saturday.
He's have been looking for Farid to contribute what we all know he can - like a new signing.
He's added Boyle permanently and we looked a much better side with him in it towards the end of last season. To be honest, if he hadn't got injured when he did I'd have fancied us to beat The Rangers in the play-offs, who knows how we might have got on against Motherwell. Just that little bit of pace transformed us as a side.
We weren't bad enough last season that it merited throwing it all away and starting again (unlike the previous season). Stubbs is really unfortunate that all his signings designed to improve us going forward are injured. He is unlucky that we have been nobbled by The Rangers in the lead-up to the season too.
Unfortunately though, I do agree that when you see Cummings and Malonga up front together, Stevenson and Gray providing the ammunition from wide and the slow, ponderous passing in midfield you know that you're not going to score many (enough) goals.
Not a criticism of individual players but does anybody else think our strikers don't really play as a proper partnership?
I only made about 8 games in person last season, so mostly I have to rely on TV, but I often felt that Malonga and Cummings, for instance, were playing as individuals and didn't match up well.
Quite often they made darting runs at the same time and ended up within 10 yards of each other, instead of running into different areas and helping split the defence.
Yeah I thought that last season and I felt that there was a good partnership with Cummings and El alagui when the played together and feel that's our best option when El alagui is fit. They're the perfect fit for eachother in terms of what's in the squad, Cummings movement and being in the right place at the right time is perfect to feed off from El alagui winning everything in the air, like we seen in the Derby with Cummings goal!
12-08-2015, 12:49 PM
One to watch
http://www.expressandstar.com/sport/non-league/2015/08/11/stourbridges-jamie-insall-on-verge-of-dream-move/
I think that's a valid criticism but I believe its more down to both players being rather selfish, which paradoxically is also an attribute of a good striker. Malonga's ridiculous attempt at goal in last derby was a classic example. However, on the other side of things I clearly remember Dom having a number of assists for JC & in one of our last home games, possibly Alloa, I'm sure both laid on a goal for each other within a few minutes. I also keep reading the Net Fact that our goals to attempts ratio is poor yet I never see any stats to confirm that theory. I do know however we were 2nd highest scorers in the league & our 19 year old striker was top of the scoring charts. Those are Facts, not perceptions.
Very quiet on the transfer front, thought we might have had som activity this week. Anyone got any news?
12-08-2015, 01:01 PM
One to watch
http://www.expressandstar.com/sport/non-league/2015/08/11/stourbridges-jamie-insall-on-verge-of-dream-move/ "Scottish giants" :greengrin
"Scottish[/URL] giants" :greengrin
They missed out "sleeping".:greengrin
12-08-2015, 01:08 PM
"Scottish giants" :greengrin
Do they really mean Hibs?
12-08-2015, 01:08 PM
Very quiet on the transfer front, thought we might have had som activity this week. Anyone got any news?
Don't know but wonder if we are looking to offload before making signings.
The talk of players coming in coincided with talk of Stanton, Harris and Handling going out. Also with the uncertainty of Scott Allan maybe Stubbsy is waiting to see what happens in case he needs to replace him?
As I said I don't know just thinking out loud.
12-08-2015, 01:21 PM
I think that's a valid criticism but I believe its more down to both players being rather selfish, which paradoxically is also an attribute of a good striker. Malonga's ridiculous attempt at goal in last derby was a classic example. However, on the other side of things I clearly remember Dom having a number of assists for JC & in one of our last home games, possibly Alloa, I'm sure both laid on a goal for each other within a few minutes. I also keep reading the Net Fact that our goals to attempts ratio is poor yet I never see any stats to confirm that theory. I do know however we were 2nd highest scorers in the league & our 19 year old striker was top of the scoring charts. Those are Facts, not perceptions.
Clinically Converting Chances
Hearts have been ruthless in front of goal, scoring more than one in five of the chances they create. That compares to almost to one in six chances being converted by Hibernian, while Rangers have needed closer to eight chances to find the net in games.
The spread of scorers and providers in the Hearts ranks is impressive. Adding together goals and assists in an ice hockey-style 'points' system, they have four players in top ten most dangerous attackers in the league - Billy King (21 combined goals and assists), Jamie Walker (21), James Keatings (16) and Osman Sow (15). Jason Cummings (20) is third top of the list, while no player from Rangers features.
Keatings, Walker (both 11), Sow (10) and Genero Zeefuik (9) are in the top ten Championship outright goalscorers, along with Cummings (13) and Dominique Malonga (10) of Hibs.
In the outright assists category the top ten is headed by King (13), with Walker (10) and Callum Paterson (8) placed. Hibs players Scott Allan (9), Liam Craig (8) and Cummings (7) feature. Rangers' Kris Boyd (7) is the sole representative in top ten attacking stats for the Ibrox club.
From here,
http://m.stv.tv/sport/football/clubs/hearts/314157-how-hearts-brushed-aside-the-competiton-to-win-the-scottish-championship/
What is a fact is that the team who got promoted scored 26 more goals than us.
Hearts have been ruthless in front of goal, scoring more than one in five of the chances they create. That compares to almost to one in six chances being converted by Hibernian, while Rangers have needed closer to eight chances to find the net in games.
The spread of scorers and providers in the Hearts ranks is impressive. Adding together goals and assists in an ice hockey-style 'points' system, they have four players in top ten most dangerous attackers in the league - Billy King (21 combined goals and assists), Jamie Walker (21), James Keatings (16) and Osman Sow (15). Jason Cummings (20) is third top of the list, while no player from Rangers features.
Keatings, Walker (both 11), Sow (10) and Genero Zeefuik (9) are in the top ten Championship outright goalscorers, along with Cummings (13) and Dominique Malonga (10) of Hibs.
In the outright assists category the top ten is headed by King (13), with Walker (10) and Callum Paterson (8) placed. Hibs players Scott Allan (9), Liam Craig (8) and Cummings (7) feature. Rangers' Kris Boyd (7) is the sole representative in top ten attacking stats for the Ibrox club.
From here,
http://m.stv.tv/sport/football/clubs/hearts/314157-how-hearts-brushed-aside-the-competiton-to-win-the-scottish-championship/
An interesting article thanks. The fact that we converted 1 in 6 chances versus Yams 1 in 5 however hardly strengthens the argument that we are profligate in front of goal, particularly when Sevco were 1 in 8! We know Yams had an exceptional season, we really can't use the rather obvious fact that we didn't match them last season to support an argument about our goal scoring ratio. I would also point out this article was published on 23 March, I would like to know the stats for the full season given that we beat Yams after that date.
I did pick up on a couple of other things.
1. With the addition of Keatings we have 3 of the top 4 scorers, at that time & 2 of the top 5, scorers & assists.
2. An interesting comment, Hibs finish games very strongly-an indication of the emphasis placed on fitness at the HTC. That comment will surprise some people!
3. Liam Craig was joint 4th in list of assists & JC was 6th. Again, may not fit with people's perceptions!
Thanks again, very helpful.
12-08-2015, 02:19 PM
From here,
Interesting that Liam Craig had just one less assist than Scott Allan.
The Sundance Kid
12-08-2015, 02:26 PM
Interesting that Liam Craig had just one less assist than Scott Allan.
To be fair that article is from the day after Hearts won the league, Allan had 6 more assists between then and the end of the season
12-08-2015, 04:27 PM
Our trialist was Michael Liddle, recently released from Accrington. He posted this on Twitter:
@niallmcardle90 alright pal? Got a trial at Hibs, played for their 21s tonight, tore my medial 😭 PGA card when I get fit, footys not for me!
An interesting article thanks. The fact that we converted 1 in 6 chances versus Yams 1 in 5 however hardly strengthens the argument that we are profligate in front of goal, particularly when Sevco were 1 in 8! We know Yams had an exceptional season, we really can't use the rather obvious fact that we didn't match them last season to support an argument about our goal scoring ratio. I would also point out this article was published on 23 March, I would like to know the stats for the full season given that we beat Yams after that date.
I did pick up on a couple of other things.
1. With the addition of Keatings we have 3 of the top 4 scorers, at that time & 2 of the top 5, scorers & assists.
2. An interesting comment, Hibs finish games very strongly-an indication of the emphasis placed on fitness at the HTC. That comment will surprise some people!
3. Liam Craig was joint 4th in list of assists & JC was 6th. Again, may not fit with people's perceptions!
Thanks again, very helpful.
On Saturday we had 19 shots at goal, 5 on target and 1 goal.
They have IIRC 8 shots at goal, 3 on target and won the match.
Check the BBC match reports for last season. We regularly had more than 20 shots, on average we scored 2.
12-08-2015, 05:00 PM
Our trialist was Michael Liddle, recently released from Accrington. He posted this on Twitter:
@niallmcardle90 alright pal? Got a trial at Hibs, played for their 21s tonight, tore my medial 😭 PGA card when I get fit, footys not for me!
Poor lad, out for a bit, with no club and no income. Anyone know if players are insured in this sort of outcome?
12-08-2015, 05:21 PM
Poor lad, out for a bit, with no club and no income. Anyone know if players are insured in this sort of outcome?
Unlikely Billy, real shame for the lad.
On Saturday we had 19 shots at goal, 5 on target and 1 goal.
They have IIRC 8 shots at goal, 3 on target and won the match.
Check the BBC match reports for last season. We regularly had more than 20 shots, on average we scored 2.
We had 13 shots, 5 on target, they had 5, 3 on target. I don't know how the stats are produced but I suspect a shot at goal may not necessarily be the same as a chance created, which was the description in the article above.
12-08-2015, 05:29 PM
We had 13 shots, 5 on target, they had 5, 3 on target. I don't know how the stats are produced but I suspect a shot at goal may not necessarily be the same as a chance created, which was the description in the article above.
Does that mean that Oxley saved two? Some mistake, surely, going by what I've read on here?
12-08-2015, 05:31 PM
@niallmcardle90 alright pal? Got a trial at Hibs, played for their 21s tonight, tore my medial PGA card when I get fit, footys not for me!
that is unbeleivable, gutted for the guy as that will be quite a while out! Would of been interesting to see if we would of signed him.
We need some new signings and quick
12-08-2015, 05:31 PM
Does that mean that Oxley saved two? Some mistake, surely, going by what I've read on here?
your right. oxley doesnt save any shots...........hibs.net fact:rolleyes:
12-08-2015, 05:37 PM
Anyone know anything anout McCabe? Has he left or is he getting a deal?
12-08-2015, 05:39 PM
Anyone know anything anout McCabe? Has he left or is he getting a deal?
no one seems to know, underscore said he was going to find out last night
12-08-2015, 05:55 PM
your right. oxley doesnt save any shots...........hibs.net fact:rolleyes:
Do you think he's doing a good job?
12-08-2015, 06:32 PM
J-C not a direct hit at you but to all the others that spout phish about Jason Cummings missing chances.
He scored 22in all competitive games last season and yes he missed chances that would have taken him over 30.
When Alan Shearer scored all his goals did he score with every single chance or did he miss a few over the season?
Same with Ronaldo, McCoist or any other scorer worth a sook, they all miss chances.
12-08-2015, 06:39 PM
J-C not a direct hit at you but to all the others that spout phish about Jason Cummings missing chances.
He scored 22in all competitive games last season and yes he missed chances that would have taken him over 30.
When Alan Shearer scored all his goals did he score with every single chance or did he miss a few over the season?
Same with Ronaldo, McCoist or any other scorer worth a sook, they all miss chances.
There's something about him that I just can't put my finger on but I've got to admit he's not convinced me yet. I've no problem with him missing chances, as you point out, even the nest in the world do that.
I'm putting it down to him still being very raw but the amount of times I turned round and said how bad he was playing, sometimes he would then go and stick one in the back of the net but other times he'd just be a waste of a Jersey. He's still very inexperienced so I'm not suggesting he won't go on to be a cracking player but right now I'm still not sure.
12-08-2015, 06:55 PM
There's something about him that I just can't put my finger on but I've got to admit he's not convinced me yet. I've no problem with him missing chances, as you point out, even the nest in the world do that.
I'm putting it down to him still being very raw but the amount of times I turned round and said how bad he was playing, sometimes he would then go and stick one in the back of the net but other times he'd just be a waste of a Jersey. He's still very inexperienced so I'm not suggesting he won't go on to be a cracking player but right now I'm still not sure.
In Malonga s interview after the Dumbarton game ,he said Jason still has a lot to learn ,and given how he came to Hibs and his age I think we at times expect too mutch of him . if he keeps a level head ,keeps on applying himself and learning ,then you would assume he can go on and better last seasons tally ,unless a fit Keatings and Farid mean he gets less game time
how good he can go on to become I don't know ,but without his goals last season ,we may not of finished second ,so for a a Teenager he did not to badly in my book
There's something about him that I just can't put my finger on but I've got to admit he's not convinced me yet. I've no problem with him missing chances, as you point out, even the nest in the world do that. I'm putting it down to him still being very raw but the amount of times I turned round and said how bad he was playing, sometimes he would then go and stick one in the back of the net but other times he'd just be a waste of a Jersey. He's still very inexperienced so I'm not suggesting he won't go on to be a cracking player but right now I'm still not sure.
Bingo for such a young lad, especially s forward he does have the knack of popping up and scoring even if he's playing poor. That for me is the sign of the makings of a very good player.
I thought Jason was superb last season and tbh was our main threat in a very high percentage of games. The lad is 19 and to have that responsibility adds pressure to continue to performing week in week out.
I rate him and I am sure he will continue to improve. Just needs to keep working hard, both on and off the field, and for me trying his luck at every opportunity.
Whatever way you interpret the stats ours are worse than theirs and that has been the case since the beginning of last season. It's something that we must improve on.
hibeemikey21
12-08-2015, 07:23 PM
In the same boat as you (or was), but, put simply, the boy knows where the onion bag is. He knows how to do it when it matters too, in the big games. I've therefore made peace with his lack of "something" which I too can't put my finger on.
As a striker, if you're notching goals at the rate JC is, you're doing fine. No club in the world drops a regular goalscorer, even if they're not playing great. Ruud embodied that kind of player.
12-08-2015, 09:10 PM
He's a kid, he needs time to get better. Wee bit of patience and support required.
bill the hibby
12-08-2015, 09:57 PM
@HibsNews1875: RUMOUR: Celtic have made a bid of £600,000 + Dylan McGeouch for Scott Allan.
liamh2202
12-08-2015, 09:58 PM
@HibsNews1875: RUMOUR: Celtic have made a bid of £600,000 + Dylan McGeouch for Scott Allan.
Deilia faxed it off at half time., deal will fall through because they are due Killie 10p for fax machine.. Joking aside though can I drive Scotty through?
12-08-2015, 10:01 PM
It'll be a load of ***** but i would take that offer no problem at all.
bill the hibby
12-08-2015, 10:02 PM
Deilia faxed it off at half time., deal will fall through because they are due Killie 10p for fax machine.. Joking aside though can I drive Scotty through?
As much as I'd miss him as a talent, I'd bite their hand off for this...good player in mcgeouch, 600,000 to spend on another striker and sort out our defence :greengrin
12-08-2015, 10:03 PM
How would someone know that kind of info
bill the hibby
12-08-2015, 10:04 PM
How would someone know that kind of info
I'm not saying they would, just posted it because I seen it on Twitter and it does say rumour, to be fair
12-08-2015, 10:05 PM
If that offer is true, it's an offer worth considering