View Full Version : Gray is out of his depth’

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13 14

09-11-2024, 12:11 PM
Frustrating player Youan could he play as a 10

snedzuk
09-11-2024, 12:53 PM
Nisbet did get injured that game early on and Youan moved central and scored.

He played up front in the 6-0 against Aberdeen and played well around that time. Think in the Livi game, and maybe at St Mirren, his goals were from the left with Hoppe playing central when he was on the park.

If his head is in it, I’d play him up front today but don’t think Gray will.

There was a little video after the Livvy game where Youan comes back into the dressing room singing 'Hibees, Hibees' and smiling broadly. The difference in his demeanour is really marked and it would be amazing to get the original Youan back.

09-11-2024, 12:55 PM
Last game before the international break and feels like a pivotal moment. We will see how much we have improved compared to the opening day mauling by St Mirren. This is truly Last chance saloon for Gray. A loss or another late collapse and he will be emptied

I fear that’s where we are now. Would have preferred changes above him first but that’s rarely how it works.

09-11-2024, 01:01 PM
Nisbet started at Ross County. Elie played left wing.

Hoppe started at Livi.

I do like Youan, but he's not anything like a lone striker.

Nisbet only played about 15 minutes that game before going off injured. When he did Youan then went up top

09-11-2024, 01:16 PM
Our big problem playing 4231 is the front 3 don't play like a front 3, the 2 wide players stay far too wide which sees them getting in the way of the wingbacks, they need to cut into the middle more which then gives options for the ball coming in to the middle from wide. Watch any decent team playing this system and you'll see the front 3 interact a lot more than ours, our biggest loss is not having a proper No.10 to create.

09-11-2024, 01:20 PM
Our big problem playing 4231 is the front 3 don't play like a front 3, the 2 wide players stay far too wide which sees them getting in the way of the wingbacks, they need to cut into the middle more which then gives options for the ball coming in to the middle from wide. Watch any decent team playing this system and you'll see the front 3 interact a lot more than ours, our biggest loss is not having a proper No.10 to create.

And our midfield never seem to get high enough to threaten in the box. Our wide players swinging in crosses to 1 hibs striker marked by at least 3 defenders most of the time.

09-11-2024, 01:24 PM
And our midfield never seem to get high enough to threaten in the box. Our wide players swinging in crosses to 1 hibs striker marked by at least 3 defenders most of the time.

That's my point Youan and Boyle should be narrower and in the box when balls from wide come in but they seem to be still out wide either putting balls in or tippy tappy passing to the fullbacks, you very seldom see the 3 midfielders getting into the box to influence anything.

09-11-2024, 02:40 PM
Time to go

09-11-2024, 02:42 PM
This has to be the last straw , bottom of the league , least goals scored in the league and we can't defend . They can't get even the basics right .

kentao
09-11-2024, 02:44 PM
Should get Robinson as the manager he clearly knows our weaknesses as they have tore us apart twice this season.

Paul1642
09-11-2024, 02:45 PM
John McGlynn’s Falkirk winning again to extend their lead at the Kip of the championship. Just saying.

This has to be the last straw , bottom of the league , least goals scored in the league and we can't defend . They can't get even the basics right .

All components for relegation

Should get Robinson as the manager he clearly knows our weaknesses as they have tore us apart twice this season.

Look at the two managers on the bench. One is making it clear to his players what he expects. The other is Gray.

Allan45
09-11-2024, 02:47 PM
My red flag was giving a rookie manager the job, and Liam Craig as one of the coaching staff. Massive failings, we are really poor, no doubt about that.

09-11-2024, 02:56 PM
I feel sorry for Davy Gray here been dealt a **** hand by Mackay and board

LunasBoots
09-11-2024, 02:56 PM
Has to go, we aren't progressing at all under him, make basic errors that a experienced manager would have addressed

09-11-2024, 02:57 PM

He has but he has shown absolutely nothing whatsoever to suggest he is remotely capable of managing our football club.

09-11-2024, 02:57 PM
He needs to go now. We can't leave making a change any longer. If we had ditched Duff Jimmy earlier I'm convinced we would have avoided relegation in 1998.

09-11-2024, 02:59 PM

It wax absolute madness giving him the job

AdidasHibernian

Openly wanted the job so end of the day it's hardly like he was thrown in at deep end like Sauzee.

He has to go.

1875M
You’ll never have to buy a pint in Leith, Dave but you’ve got to go. This is relegation stuff. Some of the worst football in 3 decades of watching Hibs.

sean04
09-11-2024, 03:00 PM
Got 45mins to save him, kensell and mackays job. Has to be changes after the game

09-11-2024, 03:01 PM
Openly wanted the job so end of the day it's hardly like he was thrown in at deep end like Sauzee.

He has to go.

Applied for it, apparently told the interviewers what he would do with the squad to improve them, was a part of the recruitment process for the players brought in, certainly most of them. He’s done nothing to show he should be in charge of this club

09-11-2024, 03:04 PM
We need an absolute miracle to avoid relegation. We need a manager who can get us organised and a Maolida type signing pulled out the bag in January. I'm not convinced we'll get either.

09-11-2024, 03:18 PM
Outstanding candidate seemingly, who else applied?🤷🏼

09-11-2024, 03:20 PM

Me.

09-11-2024, 03:20 PM
No sympathy for the tactically inept. Should've went when Johnson was sacked never mind now.

NC1875
09-11-2024, 03:24 PM
No sympathy for the tactically inept. Should've went when Johnson was sacked never mind now.

Agree. Rewarded with the top job for his part in numerous failures. Only at Hibs

09-11-2024, 03:30 PM

Was it Malky who said that?

Also said McCowan was the only option for us in midfield.

0 for 2 Malky.

09-11-2024, 03:34 PM

I don't, these players are not bottom of the league quality, his coaching and his coaches are just poor rookies who aren't up to the job.

Sloop67
09-11-2024, 03:44 PM
He wouldn't have been my choice in the fist place , but I was prepared to give him a chance , after today though I think the time has come for him to go I honestly can't see it improving any time soon under his control

WestCoastHibby
09-11-2024, 03:45 PM
I’m a former Paratrooper and we are “ready for anything “ with a can do spirit but I’ve had enough
White flag time. Gray must go along with the rest of the decision makers.
One amazing goal on one amazing day means zero at the moment

09-11-2024, 03:47 PM
Sack him - no loyalty in football - this can’t go on.

All his staff must leave too… don’t want to see Samson / Craig or May back at the club ever again.

Zero trust in any decision making at the club right now to sort the mess.

09-11-2024, 03:59 PM
He wouldn't have been my choice in the fist place , but I was prepared to give him a chance , after today though I think the time has come for him to go I honestly can't see it improving any time soon under his control

Ditto, never wanted him as manager but was happy to give him a chance

09-11-2024, 04:00 PM
Ditto, never wanted him as manager but was happy to give him a chance
Same Craig but time to go :bye:

09-11-2024, 04:02 PM
I’m worried they will give Mackay the job, I’ve thought all along he will end up with it

09-11-2024, 04:02 PM
Obviously he has to go tonight, that’s the way of it. But **** me, this is so, so far from his fault.

The Captain....
09-11-2024, 04:03 PM
No doubt Gray has made some mistakes but I can't remember an unluckier manager than him either. Nothing seems to going his favour, from injuries, to ref decisions, individual errors, etc etc.

Sent from my SM-S926B using Tapatalk

Saint Hibee
He’s got to go.

Navids Numpties
No doubt Gray has made some mistakes but I can't remember an unluckier manager than him either. Nothing seems to going his favour, from injuries, to ref decisions, individual errors, etc etc.

Give me a break. He’s absolutely crap.

09-11-2024, 04:04 PM

The board

Gutted for SDG, **** the board they can gtf.

Bobo
Bye David, thanks for nothing, you've been clueless from start to finish and you can't dine out on Hampden just because you're an abject failure.

Time to go, you've had 4 months longer than you should have had.

The Tubs
09-11-2024, 04:05 PM
The only reasonable solution is Ian Gordon taking 20% of his family fortune, sticking it in the club to compensate for this **** and leaving the football to those who know what they're doing.

The Captain....
Give me a break. He’s absolutely crap.The players he's working with are, if you can't see he's far from where the real blame lies you're as much as a ****ing idiot as I suspect.

Yep, it will be lost to time but won't leave him I'm sure how differently it could have been.

Not to say it wouldn't have gone bad eventually but he's had no breaks whatsoever.

Bowie doesn't get injured, we hold out on a few wins, VAR doesn't **** us over and its a different story.

AdidasHibernian
09-11-2024, 04:09 PM

Your joking surely?

09-11-2024, 04:12 PM

Unlucky?

Or continuing to play the exact same players in the exact same style every week and just hoping something changes?

Our goalie is hopeless and chucks goals in - doesn’t get dropped
Our defenders have all had poor spells - none of them dropped
Midfield - struggle to create, all continue to start
Forwards - struggle to score? Continue to start

Even a change in shape, move to a 352, absolutely anything but continue to do the same thing.

Gray is making me crave Monty and his wonderful brand of Montyball. Says it all.

Mark Robins?

1875M
09-11-2024, 04:14 PM
Mark Robins?

Would be a great appointment. But we’re Hibs, so we’ll appoint some English journeyman from League 1 with a 25% win rate.

09-11-2024, 04:17 PM
He’s not going to walk away from his well paid job.

He’ll hang around to get his pay off and we’ll probably let Martin Boyle have his shot at being manager.

It’s got to the point that I can’t stand him anymore. He’s not got a clue what to do and simply is not a manager. Never will be.

He’s been here through the four previous failures but still can’t see what the vast majority of us have been seeing for years.

He can gtf with the rest of the them.

NC1875
09-11-2024, 04:18 PM
The players he's working with are, if you can't see he's far from where the real blame lies you're as much as a ****ing idiot as I suspect.

And if you believe Gray isn’t to blame for us being bottom of the league then you’re ****ing deluded.

No way this squad should be bottom of the league, it’s not great but stone last ? Come on, that is on David Gray. He’s been utterly clueless from day one.

Giving Newell a new contract and the captaincy ?

He’s signed a whole team of “leaders” apparently

Aye but it’s not his fault 👍🏼👍🏼

NC1875
09-11-2024, 04:18 PM
Yep, it will be lost to time but won't leave him I'm sure how differently it could have been.

Not to say it wouldn't have gone bad eventually but he's had no breaks whatsoever.

Bowie doesn't get injured, we hold out on a few wins, VAR doesn't **** us over and its a different story.

And if your auntie had a pair of baws she’d be your uncle.

What a load of *****

09-11-2024, 04:19 PM
Mark Robins?

I dont think anyone who has any type of decent reputation would touch us.:faf:

chasitup
09-11-2024, 04:19 PM

He’ll hang around to get his pay off and we’ll probably let Martin Boyle have his shot at being manager.

It’s got to the point that I can’t stand him anymore. He’s not got a clue what to do and simply is not a manager. Never will be.

He’s been here through the four previous failures but still can’t see what the vast majority of us have been seeing for years.

That's kind of where I am too.

09-11-2024, 04:26 PM
SDG will now have been part of 5…..yes 5….unsuccessful coaching/management teams. It’s utterly ridiculous that he was even given the opportunity to show how inept he’d been as part of the previous 4. You’d think he’d have passed on his words of wisdom at some point previously.

“Stand out candidate, knew the club inside/out, knew the strengths and weaknesses, fast start blah blah blah” Can’t believe anyone bought that bullsxxxx. Doomed from the start. He got the job as the golden shower wanted a nodding dog and that’s exactly what they got, we’ll surprise surprise look how that’s turned out.

Ribs1875
09-11-2024, 04:27 PM
Bill Foley seems like the only saving grace we got to be honest. He wasn't listened to by the Gordons, Trumps love child and the rest of the clowns running us. He made this known in the media and is probably thinking to himself told you so, you bunch of clowns.

Saint Hibee
09-11-2024, 04:28 PM
Let’s give Anthony Stokes the job when he gets out of jail. He’s also scored for us in 2016.

Murphys Touch

This 💯

He shouldn’t walk away, others get paid off so why should he not? But his application should have been instantly dismissed

Gray has to go now. He’s not going to turn this around.

09-11-2024, 04:29 PM
Has he gone yet?

09-11-2024, 04:30 PM
SDG will now have been part of 5…..yes 5….unsuccessful coaching/management teams. It’s utterly ridiculous that he was even given the opportunity to show how inept he’d been as part of the previous 4. You’d think he’d have passed on his words of wisdom at some point previously.

“Stand out candidate, knew the club inside/out, knew the strengths and weaknesses, fast start blah blah blah” Can’t believe anyone bought that bullsxxxx. Doomed from the start. He got the job as the golden shower wanted a nodding dog and that’s exactly what they got, we’ll surprise surprise look how that’s turned out.

I would ask was he the only candidate??
No other names were mentioned or even leaked that I can remember?

I might be wrong so maybe someone will be able to help out with this?

09-11-2024, 04:31 PM
He should have went last week so we had a head start on getting a new manager in for the international break

Unless we have someone lines up and good to go, we will have an international break with Daz and Boozy taking the team!

We’ll be lucky if the manager is in place for our first game back

andrew_dundee
09-11-2024, 04:35 PM
This team wouldn't be bottom of the league with Monty or Johnson, but they are with Gray and he won't turn it around. He has to go and so do ppl who appointed him.

The Tubs
09-11-2024, 04:36 PM
This team wouldn't be bottom of the league with Monty or Johnson, but they are with Gray and he won't turn it around. He has to go and so do ppl who appointed him.

Monty, probably; Johnson, no danger.

sauzee=legend
09-11-2024, 04:40 PM

If someone keeps failing over and over and over at their own job, the manager/owner would pull you in and deal with you.
Keep doing it and you would be sacked.
How can the defensive coach who has failed for years get promoted to being the head coach - cheap easy option it was from hibs and now going to cost us to replace him.
Then we will need to clear out dead wood, get new players in again… same ***** as usual.
No wonder I now call Hibs “job centre fc” - they will employ anyone!!

Ribs1875
09-11-2024, 04:43 PM
He should have went last week so we had a head start on getting a new manager in for the international break

Unless we have someone lines up and good to go, we will have an international break with Daz and Boozy taking the team!

We’ll be lucky if the manager is in place for our first game back

I doubt either of those two would be taking charge. More. Logical for Malky and May to oversee the running of things until someone is appointed.

09-11-2024, 04:44 PM
I doubt either of those two would be taking charge. More. Logical for Malky and May to oversee the running of things until someone is appointed.

I’d be stunned after what was said when Malky was appointed if he was anywhere near jr

09-11-2024, 04:45 PM
Has he gone yet? 🙄

09-11-2024, 04:46 PM
Mark Robins?

Far too good for us I think. Hell get a good gig in championship. Excellent job at Coventry.

andrew_dundee
09-11-2024, 04:47 PM
Monty, probably; Johnson, no danger.

Johnson probably would have lost today by an even bigger margin, but he'd likely compensate with some totally unexpected win against the Old Firm or something like that.

09-11-2024, 04:47 PM
It has to be David Grays last game in charge but every charlatan above him has to be cleared out too. There should be no one left from the football management team come Monday.

09-11-2024, 04:48 PM

I think they may well want to try and appease the fans by giving the gig to Boozy and Darren, they certainly can’t do any worse and I for one do not want to see Eddie May or McKay in our dug out given my feelings on our current coaching/back room regime.

Know emotions are high but that's harsh. If SDG is not up to the job, there's no point having a go at him or dismissing him like a piece of trash. The problem lies 100% and squarely with the idiots who appointed him. Just another failure in the long list of failures at the top of the club.

He's here!
And if you believe Gray isn’t to blame for us being bottom of the league then you’re ****ing deluded.

No way this squad should be bottom of the league, it’s not great but stone last ? Come on, that is on David Gray. He’s been utterly clueless from day one.

Giving Newell a new contract and the captaincy ?

He’s signed a whole team of “leaders” apparently

Aye but it’s not his fault 👍🏼👍🏼

Why is there no way this squad should be bottom? I knew nothing about most of the many summer signings we made. Maybe they're all just rubbish and deservedly bottom of the league.

09-11-2024, 04:50 PM

Totally agree with everything you’ve said here. 👏👏

Hibiza
09-11-2024, 04:50 PM
if Gray was decent he'd just resign

09-11-2024, 04:52 PM
Glad we’re off the back of a good spell though, you know being undefeated in 3 games and that

09-11-2024, 04:54 PM

He would be mental to resign, he’ll get a golden handshake for being sacked from a job he shouldn’t have been near in the first place. It was so predictable.

RossScott1991
09-11-2024, 04:55 PM
Aberdeen x 2
Celtic
Hearts at Tynecastle

make no mistake it’s a relegation battle this season.

the club is rotten. Needs torn up. Reconstructed at board level.

senior players are all mostly the problem now rather solution. Boyle, Cadden, Newell etc

management level has no experience and it’s showing.

I think the panic has fully set in now and there will be a change this week.

09-11-2024, 04:56 PM
Sad but inevitable that it’s come to this. It couldn’t have went any worse.

I don’t for a minute think we have a good squad but a proper manager does better than 1 win in 12. He’s shown nothing to suggest he should carry on, unfortunately.

Ribs1875

He is delusional, he was arrogant to think he had what it took to take the job with limited experience as a coach and think the recruitment and board would miraculously all go in his favour. He has a young family, therefore he isn't going to walk away to have no money coming in.

I would love to see him step down, but take his old role. I can't see that happening though.

Hibees1973
Clearly.

There cannot be anyone left on here who doesn't.

09-11-2024, 04:57 PM
7 points off 6th and 11 off 5th at this stage is staggeringly bad. He cannot keep his job.

09-11-2024, 04:57 PM
Gray will be gone. No need to stick the knife into a legend who was offered the position to manage a club he loves.

He will be gone in next 24 hours. I don't think any putting the boot in is needed.

09-11-2024, 04:59 PM
Does anyone think he won’t be sacked?

09-11-2024, 05:00 PM
Does anyone think he won’t be sacked?

https://x.com/bbcsportscot/status/1855308604527542749?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Doesn’t sound to me like a man that thinks he’s about to be sacked

Box 17
09-11-2024, 05:04 PM
That was a relegation performance from a relegation team.

An experienced manager coming in now might steady the ship and save us.

AdidasHibernian
https://x.com/bbcsportscot/status/1855308604527542749?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Link not working 👍

The Tubs

I hope to God someone from a new football regime at the club tells him to step out the way though I'm probably more delusional than he is.

He really can’t believe that

09-11-2024, 05:06 PM

He says the same thing every week to be fair.

NC1875
09-11-2024, 05:08 PM
Why is there no way this squad should be bottom? I knew nothing about most of the many summer signings we made. Maybe they're all just rubbish and deservedly bottom of the league.

Come on. We’re bad but we shouldn’t be this bad. A semi competent manager comes in the next few weeks and this squad wins the odd game. Not 1 in 12.

09-11-2024, 05:08 PM
Gray will be gone. No need to stick the knife into a legend who was offered the position to manage a club he loves.

He will be gone in next 24 hours. I don't think any putting the boot in is needed.

Exactly, Gray is getting sacked, there's should be no need for vitriol.

AdidasHibernian
09-11-2024, 05:10 PM
Just to confirm from the BBC Scotland interview, is he being asked if he can turn it round and if he believe he is the man for the job? **** me how many times does he need asked it's pathetic.

He will be away by tomorrow I think.

NC1875
09-11-2024, 05:10 PM

Does he love the club ? Always find that amusing. He was a Jambo, because he played for us and captained us doesn’t mean he loves the club. We paid his bills. And he’ll now get a hefty pay off for being ***** at his job. A pay off he should’ve got when Johnson was sacked.

NC1875
09-11-2024, 05:14 PM

That just confirms to me he’s clueless. Working hard ? They wouldn’t know working hard if it slapped them in the face.

He’s full of *****. Get him away asap. It’s Embarassing

09-11-2024, 05:15 PM
Does he love the club ? Always find that amusing. He was a Jambo, because he played for us and captained us doesn’t mean he loves the club. We paid his bills. And he’ll now get a hefty pay off for being ***** at his job. A pay off he should’ve got when Johnson was sacked.

Seems pretty clear to me when he speaks he has a deep affinity for the club.

09-11-2024, 05:16 PM
Link not working 👍

Just like Hibs.

09-11-2024, 05:16 PM

I dunno. He’s not a man who is about to resign which you’d expect but I don’t think there’s any clues from that interview as to whether he’ll be sacked or not.

09-11-2024, 05:17 PM

09-11-2024, 05:18 PM
If we're going to get rid then let's just do it, would rather the board went before SDG though.

09-11-2024, 05:21 PM

I suspect Gray loves Hibs more than some of the fuds spouting utter pish on here.

Docker
09-11-2024, 05:21 PM
That was a relegation performance from a relegation team.

An experienced manager coming in now might steady the ship and save us.

Today was really concerning. Most of our games this season I think we’ve played away “kinda” ok and barring awful tactical changes and a fair bit of bad luck, we could have been in a better place.
That was a mess today………poor team formation, no game plan and no tactical changes to mix it up.
First game I’ve felt complete panic by management/players - we are really in a precarious position!!

Ribs1875
09-11-2024, 05:23 PM
He’s got to be gone after today. I fear we will go down if things don’t change at a managerial level. The squad has no goals and is mentally weak - hence the way we lose so many late goals.

I’ve heard from good sources that Gray is not well liked by majority of the players and they don’t believe in him. He only seems to have the backing of the longer term players. Difference in opinion would explain a disjointed squad with majority of under performing players looking rubbish each week.

There’s also the board politics of the billy foley people never having wanted him in the first place so those who did put him in are still trying to back him up. The problem to me is we needed an experienced manager to rebuild after the past couple of seasons and not a rookie. The recruitments haven’t worked and January is massive for them in terms of adding players to pull us out of the developing situation as no doubt for me they are on the pathway to relegation at present. The good thing is there are a lot of average teams not far from us, but it’s got to change and change quickly. January is still many games away and no guarantees that new recruits will be the right ones for the task.

It’s worrying.

09-11-2024, 05:24 PM
Bringing McKirdy on repeatedly and thinking he's going to do anything apart from running around like a headless chicken is seriously flawed. Gray is doing exactly what Monty did with Jair repeatedly last season.

He's clearly not learning from his mistakes and he's made plenty.

Looks out of his depth sadly. His first job should have been at a lower league club to learn his trade. Another ridiculous managerial appointment from a bunch of clowns running the club.

09-11-2024, 05:27 PM
Wether it’s true or not, I detest the thought of players ‘downing tools’ because they don’t like the manager or whatever reason, they are bloody well paid to do a job and fans that should receive the best they have. Maybe docking wages when not doing their job would give them a boot up the arse

Hibees1973
09-11-2024, 05:30 PM
Come on admin get the finger out and close this thread down and put Gray out of his misery.

There are multiple pieces of evidence that Gray is out of his depth.

Guilty as charged.

Murphys Touch
09-11-2024, 05:31 PM
Where’s Donegal?

09-11-2024, 05:32 PM
Bringing McKirdy on repeatedly and thinking he's going to do anything apart from running around like a headless chicken is seriously flawed. Gray is doing exactly what Monty did with Jair repeatedly last season.

Looks out of his depth sadly. His first job should have been at a lower league club to learn his trade. Another ridiculous managerial appointment from a bunch of clowns running the club.

He looks like a hyperactive fan that’s won a raffle to play for a few minutes in a Premiership game, been told to run around like a headless chicken and enjoy the moment. He is never a professional footballer, ever.

09-11-2024, 05:37 PM
Where’s Donegal?

Ulster

09-11-2024, 05:38 PM

McKirdy coming on was when I decided to leave.

Hibiza
09-11-2024, 05:40 PM
This is just yet more DROSS , no need for the Bros craic.

Coach Jon
09-11-2024, 05:43 PM
Exactly, Gray is getting sacked, there's should be no need for vitriol.

The vitriol has only come because the club have made a poor appointment as manager and have failed to rectify it, Gray should have gone at least a month ago.

09-11-2024, 05:46 PM
Get sentiment in the bin and sack him pronto.

It was never gonnae be an easy job for any manager, but he was never qualified for this. Learn your trade elsewhere. We send inexperienced players out on loan as they’re not first team quality yet, but give the most important job to a complete novice. SDG wasn’t ready for this at all.

Nowt will change how much I love SDG, but this isn’t working. It’s not got one iota better over the course of the season so far, and there’s nae signs it will.

Sorry SDG, it’s like the old “it’s not you, it’s me” cliche of dumping someone. You dinnae want to hurt their feelings, but really they’re the problem and they have to go.

Murphys Touch
09-11-2024, 05:48 PM
Same backroom staff, relatively same squad - new fresh ideas from a new coach/voice in the changing room

Aberdeen 2 up against Dundee and a fairly good watch….23 points ahead of us -after 12 games 😂

09-11-2024, 05:49 PM

It was never gonnae be an easy job for any manager, but he was never qualified for this. Learn your trade elsewhere. We send inexperienced players out on loan as they’re not first team quality yet, but give the most important job to a complete novice. SDG wasn’t ready for this at all.

Nowt will change how much I love SDG, but this isn’t working. It’s not got one iota better over the course of the season so far, and there’s nae signs it will.

Sorry SDG, it’s like the old “it’s not you, it’s me” cliche of dumping someone. You dinnae want to hurt their feelings, but really they’re the problem and they have to go.

That's where I find myself too. 👍

09-11-2024, 05:50 PM
The baffling signing of Triantis coming back to bite us now.

K-Zazu
09-11-2024, 05:51 PM

Incredible isn’t it? He’s a centre half playing in midfield. He’s awful.

Paulie Walnuts
09-11-2024, 05:52 PM

He’s ****ing crap.

09-11-2024, 05:52 PM

I rate him but he’s a centre half who has recently moved to midfield, he will naturally be so inconsistent and needs to learn the role.

I find itbizarre we turned our nose up at Innocent Bonke who has played at a far higher level with a lot more experience

09-11-2024, 05:54 PM
I rate him but I find out bizarre we turned our nose up at Innocent Bonke who has played at a far higher level with a lot more experience

Never turn the chance of a Bonke down, you don’t know when the next one will come along.

McGruber
09-11-2024, 05:57 PM
Never turn the chance of a Bonke down, you don’t know when the next one will come along.

NC1875
09-11-2024, 05:58 PM
Where’s Donegal?

He’ll be along shortly to tell us it’s the refs fault Boyle missed the penalty and we played well

McGruber
09-11-2024, 05:58 PM

Yeah, summed up perfectly.

NC1875
09-11-2024, 06:00 PM
I rate him but he’s a centre half who has recently moved to midfield, he will naturally be so inconsistent and needs to learn the role.

I find itbizarre we turned our nose up at Innocent Bonke who has played at a far higher level with a lot more experience

We brought in a manager who had to learn on the job, we may as well have a centre half/centre midfielder learning on the job as well

09-11-2024, 06:04 PM
82 minutes and brings everybody back to defend a corner, such negative tactics, we are 2 goals down at home to St Mirren FFS.

Sorry Dave, you're a Hibs legend for that day in May 2016, but the managers job was always a diaster waiting to happen. Such a shame it's came to this but it was plain for all to see it was going to end badly from the start.

WestStandWillie
09-11-2024, 06:07 PM
I love him to resign but no manager does that these days.

The baw is truly burst

glenberviehibee
09-11-2024, 06:32 PM
Today I thought st mirren played balls into areas that they knew players were going to be there (first goal)and we play balls into areas we are hoping players are there and that's a coaching issue
Sorry for all i love SDG this can't go on

JJP
09-11-2024, 06:35 PM

1 win in 12 tells you all you need to know

He's been a disaster of an appointment

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

09-11-2024, 06:47 PM
Can't blame Gray for taking the job, seems out of his depth to me.

09-11-2024, 07:32 PM
I have a feeling he will still be our manager when we play Dundee on the 23rd.

I don’t think he should be, but I think the club is totally lacking in leadership at all levels and, because the fans haven’t turned on Gray, which they never properly will, there is a fair chance they let it rumble on.

09-11-2024, 07:34 PM
I have a feeling he will still be our manager when we play Dundee on the 23rd.

I don’t think he should be, but I think the club is totally lacking in leadership at all levels and, because the fans haven’t turned on Gray, which they never properly will, there is a fair chance they let it rumble on.

They had a plan in that did they not? 👍😉

09-11-2024, 07:40 PM
They took far too long to sack Monty.

Waited till after we ended up bottom 6 and still gave him x3 bottom 6 games.

So doubt the club will act now as they are totally clueless plus means pressure on them and questions will be asked.

Think we are stuck with this for a while longer which is a depressing thought.

New manager needs the January window and time to look at team up close.

09-11-2024, 07:42 PM
Sacking Gray now means this dog **** board will have to actually put a bit of effort in as the fans will not accept another cop out cheapo appointment from within.

Not sure they're up for it tbh.

Murphys Touch
09-11-2024, 08:12 PM
Sacking Gray now means this dog **** board will have to actually put a bit of effort in as the fans will not accept another cop out cheapo appointment from within.

As much as I agree with you, they won’t be unaware of the feelings and performance of not only Hibs but our bottom 6 rivals!

The chants against the board and the poison in the quickly emptying stands will mean they have to take action.

What a club man

JJP
09-11-2024, 08:23 PM
It’s crazy to think another manager might get sacked so soon after the last one. Club is an utter shambles.

09-11-2024, 08:33 PM
He wasn’t even a good interim manager 😂 utterly astounding he was even given an interview - the football was grim with no “bounce” when he stepped in the previous times. Legend as a player, an incredibly awful awful manager. How he’s not been sacked yet astounds me. Blind leading the blind.

09-11-2024, 08:53 PM

Can only imagine how smug Foley must feel, with the early collapse and failure of Ian Gordon / Ben Kensell's top picks against Foley's advice. They maybe the owner and CEO but still mortifying for both of them.

09-11-2024, 08:59 PM
He wasn’t even a good interim manager 😂 utterly astounding he was even given an interview - the football was grim with no “bounce” when he stepped in the previous times. Legend as a player, an incredibly awful awful manager. How he’s not been sacked yet astounds me. Blind leading the blind.

Malky was brought in to oversee the search for a new manager and to bring in better quality players than we had
He has failed miserably and we are paying the ultimate price
The Board needed to get the right person for the post Malky was given They failed
The Black Knight s are exempt from criticism as they didn’t want Gray or Malky and to date they have been proved right

09-11-2024, 09:01 PM
He looks like a hyperactive fan that’s won a raffle to play for a few minutes in a Premiership game, been told to run around like a headless chicken and enjoy the moment. He is never a professional footballer, ever.

He is a truly awful player. Was he a Lee Johnston signing?

09-11-2024, 11:16 PM
Is this guy still in charge? Should have done a Goodwin today and gone out the side door at Full Time!

Logie
09-11-2024, 11:25 PM
Commented similar on another post but what is grays gameplan? What is our style or approach to games as I can’t see it. No one has improved under him bar possibly Marv who has went from bombscare to reasonable. It’s not good enough. Deeper routed problems at hibs but for his record as manager. Baffling subs and lack of ideas he is miles out his depth. Sorry SDG but this has not worked

09-11-2024, 11:29 PM
David Gray is an opposing manager’s dream.

CallumHibs07
10-11-2024, 12:17 AM
The guys a PE teacher

Cooshed Kid
10-11-2024, 12:34 AM
Why so despondent, everyone?

We had a great laugh at Hearts when they were bottom of the league for a couple of weeks. That surely compensates for any misery we may suffer for the rest of the season.

I don't know whether SDG has the capability to be a successful manager for us or not. I do wish the Black Knight Group were in charge of the football side of the club. We have wasted a season, added however many contracted players who are below the necessary standard and wasted a substantial sum of money on them in addition to losing match-day revenues. Enough's enough.

Donegal Hibby
10-11-2024, 12:47 AM
David Gray is an opposing manager’s dream.

As are some of us too unfortunately 😞….

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/elie-youan-hibs-angry-fans-34075270

K-Zazu
10-11-2024, 01:29 AM
As are some of us too unfortunately 😞….

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/elie-youan-hibs-angry-fans-34075270

Wtf

Donegal Hibby
10-11-2024, 01:34 AM
Wtf

Can’t read ?

10-11-2024, 01:50 AM
Can’t read ?

He can read. Fans are definitely entitled to be abusing these losers. Youan is one of these losers

tonyrougier123
10-11-2024, 01:51 AM
Baffling display, lacking in desire and urgency, half these players are coasting through games not trying to win first balls second balls or even 50/50s.
St mirren have had to suspend or bin 3 players been in poor form and we conceded the game very easily, could have played for another two hours and subbed on 50players we still wouldn’t have scored in open play. Or that’s how I felt by 84min when enough was enough for me.

What’s with the corners? Totally wasted opportunity to get ball on top of goalie.

Youan is a disgrace, attitude is killing the team, even Newell tried to lift him off the ground in first half.

This feels like a decade ago when we went down thinking we won’t. It’s entirely possible we could end up relegated with a bunch of players that couldn’t give a hoot.
Even Martin Boyle looks totally goosed, easily bullied off the ball it’s a total mess.

Donegal Hibby
10-11-2024, 02:20 AM
He can read. Fans are definitely entitled to be abusing these losers. Youan is one of these losers

The racial abuse Youan has got in the past is unacceptable and I don’t know what caused his reaction at yesterday's game though the guy tried his best and has shown his quality last season … genuinely worrying how this has effected his mental health but as you say fans are entitled to abuse these losers …

So let’s abuse and give them hell ….

It’s obviously going to help us it out of this situation :rolleyes:

K-Zazu
10-11-2024, 03:53 AM
The racial abuse Youan has got in the past is unacceptable and I don’t know what caused his reaction at yesterday's game though the guy tried his best and has shown his quality last season … genuinely worrying how this has effected his mental health but as you say fans are entitled to abuse these losers …

Keep trying mate

Cooshed Kid
10-11-2024, 05:40 AM

Abused on the park, in the street, in social media. Your kids abused in your place. What a great life.

10-11-2024, 06:00 AM

We are not entitled to abuse anyone. Apart from making the abuser feel good about themselves it serves no purpose.

10-11-2024, 06:50 AM
Why did we sign (and pay a fee?) Iredale? Our only left footed centre back but can’t get a game. We then bring Rocky on from out of the blue instead of him to also play on his wrong side.

10-11-2024, 06:52 AM
Why did we sign (and pay a fee?) Iredale? Our only left footed centre back but can’t get a game. We then bring Rocky on from out of the blue instead of him to also play on his wrong side.

It’s mental to me that he’s not had more of a chance. The other two centre halves we’ve got play their best in a back three but we refuse to do it.

10-11-2024, 06:54 AM

Said the same. I honestly just don’t get it. He’s looked more than capable the two games he’s been subbed on as well.

WestStandWillie
10-11-2024, 06:57 AM

“The guy tried his best”

Get real. He’s not bothered his arse since his move away collapsed.

He waved bye to the fans at the end of last season and that should have been that.

10-11-2024, 07:01 AM

Reeks of desperation for me. Will do or try anything regardless to try and change things.

Same with bringing on JDH in then derby after being out since June 2023. He’s not out of the picture yet again.

Murphys Touch
10-11-2024, 07:10 AM

This made no sense - Iredale has some game time and Rocky none. Remember these are MUST wins matches. I actually think Rocky is decent and done well coming on but was hell of an illogical thing to do

On Youan “abuse” - the social media/racist stuff is unacceptable and people have rightly been called out for that. Show me a stadium in the world where players don’t get a hard time (unfairly) about lack of effort or skill. It’s part of the game that Youan has always proved he deals with poorly.

This week for example sharing numerous photos of him and LJ is childish.

His reactions are of someone who’s head has gone, has been treated brutally by an extremely small set of people band this is impacting his overall reactions to things.

Clearly doesn’t want to be here, clearly wears his heart on his sleeve when it comes to blocking stuff out. It’s recipe for disaster

10-11-2024, 07:28 AM

Another red flag with Gray is these subs and selections. Iredale came on last week and did really well. Skip to yesterday and we bring on Rocky ahead of him.

In the derby we bring on JDH and NMW. Neither seen since. Rudi not getting a sniff in last few games whilst McKirdy gets on.

It’s erratic stuff. Focusing solely on Iredale, the 2nd goal doesn’t happen if you have a left sided CB there. Still no excuse for O’Hora of course

10-11-2024, 07:33 AM
Starting to worry he won’t he sacked

NC1875
10-11-2024, 07:48 AM
Starting to worry he won’t he sacked

He won’t be. Because that would mean the golden shower admitting the got it wrong AGAIN.

10-11-2024, 07:52 AM
He’s ****ing crap.

Surely an 8/10

10-11-2024, 07:57 AM
Relegation is I'm afraid a certainty with the current coaching staff. We don't have a team of bad players in the main but the club is a complete basket case now and no self respecting manager will touch us with a bargepole.

NC1875
10-11-2024, 08:00 AM

No one is condoning racist abuse but there’s nothing to say that’s what it was yesterday, we’d have heard about it by now.

But is retaliation the right thing to do ? He cant help himself. Whether it be social media or now fans in the stand.

Youan should keep his mouth shut and do his talking on the pitch instead of acting like a big child.

Another one who the sooner he’s gone the better

ChuckNor
10-11-2024, 08:02 AM
Another red flag with Gray is these subs and selections. Iredale came on last week and did really well. Skip to yesterday and we bring on Rocky ahead of him.

In the derby we bring on JDH and NMW. Neither seen since. Rudi not getting a sniff in last few games whilst McKirdy gets on.

It’s erratic stuff. Focusing solely on Iredale, the 2nd goal doesn’t happen if you have a left sided CB there. Still no excuse for O’Hora of course

JDH was out with a personal issue

DJ HIBBY
10-11-2024, 08:03 AM
Can the super positive posters who tell us their improvement still see it? Do they still believe Gray deserves more time?

10-11-2024, 08:07 AM
That was real worrying signs yesterday and tips the scale for me.

Against Dundee Utd they came for a Sunday stroll and sat off us and we passed the ball about comfortably, created a few chances more than usual and should have won the game.

Yesterday St Mirren got in our faces closing angles all over the pitch and we had absolutley no idea how to deal with it. The player on the ball 9 times out of 10 has limited options and the spaces between players to link up from wide into the middle are so massive.

We have no idea how to play forward to create chances. Alot of these players have shown far more in the past than what they are right now. I think another manager can undoubtedly do more with us on that front.

10-11-2024, 08:12 AM
Said it elsewhere, but David Gray saying his players lacked fight and belief in the first half is an absolute disgrace. And that’s on him. They’re clearly not trying for him despite their platitudes in the press.

Is he too matey with the senior players? Is he just completely out of his depth?

With regards to the players themselves, the less said about them the better. Newell and Boyle need fired out of a cannon. Overpaid, preening, poncing, chicken hearted strollers.

WestStandWillie
10-11-2024, 08:15 AM
Said it elsewhere, but David Gray saying his players lacked fight and belief in the first half is an absolute disgrace. And that’s on him. They’re clearly not trying for him despite their platitudes in the press.

Is he too matey with the senior players? Is he just completely out of his depth?

With regards to the players themselves, the less said about them the better. Newell and Boyle need fired out of a cannon. Overpaid, preening, poncing, chicken hearted strollers.

Newell and Boyle were supposed to be the senior heads around the dressing room. Both have been absolutely honkin.

jakedance
10-11-2024, 08:17 AM
It’s a real shame but the sooner he’s sacked the better for everyone. He should never have been given the job. He’s taken a dreadful squad and made them worse. There really aren’t any signs that would suggest things might improve.

skyehibee
10-11-2024, 08:19 AM
If we do not sack him now we are going down. There is no point dragging this on any longer as Gray simply isn’t good enough.

10-11-2024, 08:25 AM

Nail on head ironically both having been done for off field indiscretions might be a reasonable barometer of their overall professionalism. Certainly their performances show zero leadership and any sort of responsibility and accountability they are indeed two of the worst defenders in the team frequently dropping runners and not closing down. Would have got rid of both in the summer. Seems like Dave’s biggest mistake was putting his trust in two who have helped see off numerous coaches. Get them so far out of this club

10-11-2024, 08:28 AM

If they lack fight and belief then that's more on them as individuals than the manager imo

10-11-2024, 08:36 AM
Said it in the summer.

Gray appointment was a cowardly decision by Kensall, Gordon and Mackay that played on the fans relationship with a club legend. He was never ready to take the job and the appointment of May and Craig as coaches was desperate.

Then you hope the recruitment is good when in fact it’s been shocking. That’s on Malky Mackay. When we needed an experience manager and coaching team we got the opposite.

The sacking of Gray isn’t the end to our problems and may not change anything in the long term. It’s inevitable given relegation threat but no decent manager will come here with the current amateur set up. Desperate times.

DIXIHIBS
10-11-2024, 08:37 AM
Defended Gray up till now but yesterday was a step too far. First half was a shambles and the subs improved things slightly in the 2nd but overall it was awful. We have undoubtedly been unlucky at times and not had the rub but we cant keep blaming everything except ourselves. We need a fresh outlook from a manager from outwith the club (no old pals act etc) and we need to do it now imho. I get the argument that constant change isn't working but sadly neither is Gray. Do it now before it's too late. We're already a bit of a laughing stock but being relegated in our 150th year doesn't bare thinking about.

10-11-2024, 08:37 AM
If they lack fight and belief then that's more on them as individuals than the manager imo

The fact that he allows those standards shows his failings. Remember his non-negotiables? If I was a Head Coach and I had players repeatedly playing like cowards and lacking desire, fight and belief, you can be sure as hell I’d be playing youngsters instead and calling out their cowardice publicly. Him defending them (either privately or publicly) and rewarding their lack of character with continued game time is on him.

He doesn’t see it in training during the week apparently but come match day they shrink into their jerseys? If that’s the case then football isn’t for them. You can be lacking in ability, but you should never be lacking in fight.

10-11-2024, 08:38 AM
You can’t force players like Boyle to be leaders

He used to give that drag us throw a game feel because he was just a good player who was rapid

Completely different to being a leader in the changing room and imo it’s not the sort of thing you can coach into someone.

I think guys like Jeggo, Milligan etc have that about them even if they weren’t as successful here. You see it with Nilsen in Aberdeen’s midfield, a proper leader

Ribs1875
10-11-2024, 08:38 AM
https://www.linkedin.com/in/ben-kensell-38529419?originalSubdomain=uk

Theatre/arts management!!!

The pantomime villain who is at the forefront of the daily running of our club. The Gordons are crooked Joe's, we have been a complete failure under them. They see getting 3rd and palmed out Europe as a positive, getting to finals and running up also positive. Their loser mentality is toxic.

10-11-2024, 08:39 AM
I don’t think they’ll sack him.

He was even having his name sung at one point yesterday. Any other manager would be away already. He’ll survive longer because of who he is and that’s partly why the idiots appointed him in the first place.

10-11-2024, 08:39 AM
https://www.linkedin.com/in/ben-kensell-38529419?originalSubdomain=uk

Theatre/arts management!!!

The pantomime villain who is at the forefront of the daily running of our club. The Gordons are crooked Joe's, we have been a complete failure under them. They see getting 3rd and palmed out Europe as a positive, getting to finals and running up also positive. Their loser mentality is toxic.

“They’re behind you!!!!”

“No, they can’t be, we’re bottom. Nobody is behind us”

10-11-2024, 08:43 AM

He was even having his name sung at one point yesterday. Any other manager would be away already. He’ll survive longer because of who he is and that’s partly why the idiots appointed him in the first place.

I’m not sure he will survive. It’s gone exactly as expected in that the anger is being directed purely towards those above the manager and they won’t like that one bit.

10-11-2024, 08:44 AM
He cannot survive this, surely.

It was a mistake appointing him, it would be an even bigger mistake not sacking him

10-11-2024, 08:48 AM

He was even having his name sung at one point yesterday. Any other manager would be away already. He’ll survive longer because of who he is and that’s partly why the idiots appointed him in the first place.I find the singing of his name as we are again getting pumped baffling to be honest

A what, 8 percent win rate in the league and a section of fans signing his name?

Give over

SickBoy32
10-11-2024, 08:52 AM
I’m not sure he will survive. It’s gone exactly as expected in that the anger is being directed purely towards those above the manager and they won’t like that one bit.

What anger? I sat there until FT yesterday, didn’t hear any anger towards Kensell etc at all. Booing at half time / full time aside, the crowd reflects this Hibs squad. Meek and apathetic.

10-11-2024, 08:52 AM
Hate saying this but if he isn’t sacked I think I might give a few games a miss. That was absolutely torture yesterday.

NC1875
10-11-2024, 08:53 AM
I find the singing of his name as we are again getting pumped baffling to be honest

A what, 8 percent win rate in the league and a section of fans signing his name?

Give over

Absolutely bizarre anyone singing his name yesterday. Kensell and McKay were probably patting each other on the back “look, the fans are behind him” when it couldn’t further from the truth.

Was like the block 7 twats singing about JDH in the derby as well. Myself and most people around us burst out laughing.

ChuckNor
10-11-2024, 08:54 AM
Refuse to hate Gray. I think he should leave and if he does then so be it. He leaves a legend. The responsibility for this won’t be on his abilities or lack thereof. For me, and I imagine most others, the anger will be placed squarely at the golden quadrant, especially that disaster Ben Kensell.

10-11-2024, 08:55 AM

Whether they sack him or not the abuse directed at them will remain the same.

I hope I’m wrong, I just have a feeling that he’ll survive. It’s not too late for a competent manager to do something about this. We can’t wait until we are totally cut adrift.

Steve Austin
10-11-2024, 08:57 AM
Absolutely bizarre anyone singing his name yesterday. Kensell and McKay were probably patting each other on the back “look, the fans are behind him” when it couldn’t further from the truth.

Was like the block 7 twats singing about JDH in the derby as well. Myself and most people around us burst out laughing.

The Guy we need as manager was in the opposite dugout?
Stephen Robinson ….
limited budget at St Mirren and his teams attack …
instead of faffing about re Lee Johnson ,nick montgomery ,David gray we should have appointed Robinson .

SickBoy32
10-11-2024, 08:57 AM
Refuse to hate Gray. I think he should leave and if he does then so be it. He leaves a legend. The responsibility for this won’t be on his abilities or lack thereof. For me, and I imagine most others, the anger will be placed squarely at the golden quadrant, especially that disaster Ben Kensell.

👍

10-11-2024, 08:58 AM
We have an embarrassingly placid bench to a man. Nothing going on.

10-11-2024, 09:03 AM
You can’t force players like Boyle to be leaders

He used to give that drag us throw a game feel because he was just a good player who was rapid

Completely different to being a leader in the changing room and imo it’s not the sort of thing you can coach into someone.

I think guys like Jeggo, Milligan etc have that about them even if they weren’t as successful here. You see it with Nilsen in Aberdeen’s midfield, a proper leader

Boyle spoke out over the summer about taking more of a leadership role, with hanlon and stevenson going it was something he wanted to do, he’s a senior player in the squad, blah blah blah. All talk and no show, same as the whole season. Scored a few goals against some part time teams in the league cup, posted missing in the league.

Him and Newell can go with gray, asap

Malonga's Cat
10-11-2024, 09:04 AM
Said it in the summer.

Gray appointment was a cowardly decision by Kensall, Gordon and Mackay that played on the fans relationship with a club legend. He was never ready to take the job and the appointment of May and Craig as coaches was desperate.

Then you hope the recruitment is good when in fact it’s been shocking. That’s on Malky Mackay. When we needed an experience manager and coaching team we got the opposite.

The sacking of Gray isn’t the end to our problems and may not change anything in the long term. It’s inevitable given relegation threat but no decent manager will come here with the current amateur set up. Desperate times.

Good post. Hit the nail on the head with regard to the appointment, recruitment and long term issue.

He's here!
10-11-2024, 09:11 AM
That was real worrying signs yesterday and tips the scale for me.

Against Dundee Utd they came for a Sunday stroll and sat off us and we passed the ball about comfortably, created a few chances more than usual and should have won the game.

Yesterday St Mirren got in our faces closing angles all over the pitch and we had absolutley no idea how to deal with it. The player on the ball 9 times out of 10 has limited options and the spaces between players to link up from wide into the middle are so massive.

We have no idea how to play forward to create chances. Alot of these players have shown far more in the past than what they are right now. I think another manager can undoubtedly do more with us on that front.

Have 'a lot' of these players really shown far more in the past?

Boyle for sure, but that's pretty much it. He developed into a very influential player but age and injuries are now taking their toll, plus the fact he's playing in by far the worst Hibs team of his 10 years at ER.

Youan has shown some glimpses but little more.

Ribs1875
10-11-2024, 09:37 AM
Who ever comes in will find themselves in an awful hands tied predicament until January. Even at that our recruitment model needs to change. It will be hard to get a tune out of these players, especially when most of them are out of contract at the end of the season.

Thank goodness we tied Joe Newell on a long term contract though!!!

10-11-2024, 09:43 AM
Cowards on the park, an inexperienced, tactic devoid, static and silent dugout apart from an animated goalkeeping coach in an elevated job role and two absolutely clueless ****ing idiots playing football manager with a dead man’s money.

Recipe for disaster.

10-11-2024, 09:46 AM
We don't have a team of bad players.

I read this all the time and it absolutely astonishes me.

Without hyperbole this lot are as bad as the ones that got us relegated under Butcher and IMO worse than the ones that got us relegated under Duffy.

We have absolutely nothing, its far too early to tell with Bowie.

Bursic is IMO comfortably the worst goalie we have had in my lifetime, for me only Graham Smith comes close

Miller is an absolute joke, better suited to Baywatch

Obita is never a defender in a million years

Marv has possibilities

O'Hora is painfully slow

We don't have one single decent midfielder or forward at the club, not one * see above on Bowie

Very very few of our squad would get a game anywhere else in the SPL

We are absolute dross, there is no question about it.

The only thing we are good at is continuously signing players worse than the ones they replace

10-11-2024, 09:48 AM

I’ve been as optimistic as anyone mate but Youan looked disinterested at best yesterday. He wasn’t the only one, but to then go and face up to supporters looking at their team anchored to the bottom of the league?

Nah, sorry Elie but get ****ed and take the rest of the squad with you.

10-11-2024, 09:51 AM
I’ve been as optimistic as anyone mate but Youan looked disinterested at best yesterday. He wasn’t the only one, but to then go and face up to supporters looking at their team anchored to the bottom of the league?

Nah, sorry Elie but get ****ed and take the rest of the squad with you.I seen it but from a distance

I believe someone was right next to it and the guy called Elie over - which he interpreted as he wanted his shirt of something rather than to abuse him

I think that's what the post said anyway

Ellie reacted to the abuse

10-11-2024, 09:53 AM
Thinking about this player / man management…

Bursik - can’t be dropped - must have a clause in his contract he must play

Miller - dropped yesterday - subbed against Dundee Utd away - probably not happy with that

Marv- seems to be one of his favourites

O’Hora - yesterday first game where he was subbed at half time - won’t be happy

Obita - seems to be one of his favourites

Triantis - same as O’Hora - subbed at half time - can’t be happy

Kwon - lost his place to Newell after MOM game away to Ross County - would have annoyed him

Newell - one of his favourites and somehow captain

Boyle - see Newell though yesterday subbed 3 minutes after missing the penalty - won’t be happy with the timing

Hoillet - one of the better performers - but often comes off early - his choice or management ?

Youan - in and out of team - clearly not happy with manager or club / fans

Myko - dropped for the derby but then scored

Iredale - plays well against Utd in both games and then on bench in next and doesn’t play.

Chris cadden - seems to be a favourite- earlier in season was on bench but plays when fit now

Rocky - 45 mins yesterday after not playing since August - playing on left when Iredale was in before him.

JDH - 8 mins against Hearts after not playing for 15 months. Not played since.

Mckirdy - on bench - few mins here and there - won’t exactly be happy not playing

Gayle - most he’s played is 60 mins - in and out

NMW - 30 mins against Hearts - not been in squad since - can’t be happy with that

Add in Kenneh and Amos (anyone seen the guy?!)

Now I’m not saying any of the players have a leg to stand on but I can also imagine there will be a lot of pissed off players with the way they have been treated

10-11-2024, 09:53 AM

Nah, sorry Elie but get ****ed and take the rest of the squad with you.

Saw from my seat Jdh in an argument with a fan when he got to warm up. You would think players must realise there are going to be angry fans at the moment. Surely most sensible response is to completely ignore what is being said to them. What benefit is there in reacting?

Montford
10-11-2024, 09:54 AM
You know why Hibernian FC will never be successful…
The fans and boards acceptance of utter dross
The fact that Gray (appointed on the strength of a cup final goal), is
still the manager this morning

A blind man could see how this would pan out on his appointment
I thought he’d be gone by October (and posted on here words to that effect)
Kelty should’ve been a wake up call
If Rangers or a Celtic manager lost to Kelty they’d be gone
Goodwin got one game after Darvel and was out within an hour of the final whistle

This utter catastrophe will meander on into January

10-11-2024, 09:56 AM
Thinking about this player / man management…

Bursik - can’t be dropped - must have a clause in his contract he must play

Miller - dropped yesterday - subbed against Dundee Utd away - probably not happy with that

Marv- seems to be one of his favourites

O’Hora - yesterday first game where he was subbed at half time - won’t be happy

Obita - seems to be one of his favourites

Triantis - same as O’Hora - subbed at half time - can’t be happy

Kwon - lost his place to Newell after MOM game away to Ross County - would have annoyed him

Newell - one of his favourites and somehow captain

Boyle - see Newell though yesterday subbed 3 minutes after missing the penalty - won’t be happy with the timing

Hoillet - one of the better performers - but often comes off early - his choice or management ?

Youan - in and out of team - clearly not happy with manager or club / fans

Myko - dropped for the derby but then scored

Iredale - plays well against Utd in both games and then on bench in next and doesn’t play.

Chris cadden - seems to be a favourite- earlier in season was on bench but plays when fit now

Rocky - 45 mins yesterday after not playing since August - playing on left when Iredale was in before him.

JDH - 8 mins against Hearts after not playing for 15 months. Not played since.

Mckirdy - on bench - few mins here and there - won’t exactly be happy not playing

Gayle - most he’s played is 60 mins - in and out

NMW - 30 mins against Hearts - not been in squad since - can’t be happy with that

Add in Kenneh and Amos (anyone seen the guy?!)

Now I’m not saying any of the players have a leg to stand on but I can also imagine there will be a lot of pissed off players with the way they have been treated

Agree with that. Some sort of selection tombola apart from a few sacred cows

10-11-2024, 09:57 AM

Goodwin got one game after Darvel and was out within an hour of the final whistle

Goodwin got sacked at ER after we beat them 6 0

10-11-2024, 10:03 AM
Can the super positive posters who tell us their improvement still see it? Do they still believe Gray deserves more time?

I saw improvements before yesterday, thought we looked as though we were building on a few chinks of light. It wasn’t great but it was something.

That all went out the window yesterday.

TrinityHFC
10-11-2024, 10:05 AM

We’ve sacked lots of managers. Many too early so maybe it really isn’t the answer every time?

10-11-2024, 10:05 AM
I saw improvements before yesterday, thought we looked as though we were building on a few chinks of light. It wasn’t great but it was something.

That all went out the window yesterday.

Yes where i was and am

Donegal Hibby
10-11-2024, 10:09 AM
Saw from my seat Jdh in an argument with a fan when he got to warm up. You would think players must realise there are going to be angry fans at the moment. Surely most sensible response is to completely ignore what is being said to them. What benefit is there in reacting?

I suppose that would depend on what was said though I agree that ignoring it would be the best thing to do as there is no benefit in reacting though is there any benefit in giving the player abuse either?…

Seen it with Youan , Rocky , Tavares , McKirdy getting boo’d coming on at Aberdeen .

I don’t think either way is in anyway helpful or productive tbh .

10-11-2024, 10:13 AM
Anyone looking at our squad just now and doesn't think we can be relegated is delusional.

We need a massive injection of quality in the January window or we're goosed!!!!

10-11-2024, 10:15 AM
Anyone looking at our squad just now and doesn't think we can be relegated is delusional.

We need a massive injection of quality in the January window or we're goosed!!!!

We need another Maolida or a striker that can come in and get 15 between January and the end of the season

Not easy…

10-11-2024, 10:19 AM
Goodwin got sacked at ER after we beat them 6 0

Goodwin was sacked at half time
But wasn’t told until after the match

10-11-2024, 10:25 AM
We’ve sacked lots of managers. Many too early so maybe it really isn’t the answer every time?

You could argue this is the easiest sacking of the lot- the only reasons he’s not gone yet…

1 - makes those who appointed him look useless yet again - wary of fan and media backlash

2 - they have no idea what to do next

We are never getting top 6 which sackable on its on. Why wait…

League cup…kelty shambles
League - shambles
Scottish cup - probably lose to some lower league team

10-11-2024, 10:31 AM
I see that the manager said he is convinced he can turn things around ! Well what is he waiting for or is he going to give every team a ten point start then show what he’s made of ? If he is convicted of his powers of recovery he should have started it a long time ago-he has no clue !

10-11-2024, 10:52 AM
Grays subs yesterday were bizarre in the most part, but what was telling for me is that he took players off in direct response to ****ing up. I can’t imagine that’s doing much to hold together what must be a fragile dressing room.

It’s unravelling and I think it will be a matter of hours until he gets the bullet.

10-11-2024, 10:54 AM
Going back to the start of this thread makes for good reading

A certain poster seems to have went M.I.A

10-11-2024, 10:55 AM
Grays subs yesterday were bizarre in the most part, but what was telling for me is that he took players off in direct response to ****ing up. I can’t imagine that’s doing much to hold together what must be a fragile dressing room.

It’s unravelling and I think it will be a matter of hours until he gets the bullet.

It’s about time players were dropped for making mistakes

Players have made mistakes all season and continued to start games

10-11-2024, 10:56 AM

Would happily see Bursic, O’Hora, Cadden, Boyle and Youan out the squad for our next game.

Youan should never play for us again after his performance and after match theatrics yesterday.

10-11-2024, 11:00 AM
Would happily see Bursic, O’Hora, Cadden, Boyle and Youan out the squad for our next game.

Youan should never play for us again after his performance and after match theatrics yesterday.

Youan had a great last 10 mins but not many were there to witness it. Nowhere near the worst.

Don't want to see O'Hora playing on the left again.

10-11-2024, 11:15 AM
Taking players out if they're continuing to make mistakes is fine if it's one or two players here and there and you've got good replacements. However it's continuous with a good chunk of the squad and the bench is as weak as ever. You've then got the problem that players replacing those making mistakes are those that have either made mistakes that have led to them being on the bench or they're just not good enough meaning we're worse with them on.

This leads to the chopping and changing every week with regards to who's coming on which another issue. Rocky done alright yesterday and on the whole may feel he's no worse than O'Hora so will feel aggrieved at being benched most of the season. However Iredale is left footed and came on last week... What's the thinking here?

JDH has disappeared after a solitary 10 minutes. Great stuff. McKirdy has done **** all of note in his whole time here. Why does he still get on?

Levitt comes on after being frozen out for most of the season also.

Nicky Cadden has another decent stint but can't get a start.

Gray is at the slinging mud phase and I can't ever think of a time where a manger has recovered from that.

10-11-2024, 11:29 AM
Youan had a great last 10 mins but not many were there to witness it. Nowhere near the worst.

In terms of actual play Elie was the only one that showed a bit of something to create an opportunity when he hit the post. It's still not enough in the grand scheme of things but I'd be willing to overlook much of Elie's performances to focus on a few other players who are contributing absolutely heehaw.

Although I must admit the general vibe towards Elie and his reactions recently lead me to believe the situation is close to, if not already, unsalvageable. I hope for everyone's sake he gets his move January 1st and we bank whatever cash and move on.

Contador
10-11-2024, 11:43 AM
Don't think sacking him will change much to be honest. The squad is clearly limited in ability and big changes are needed in January. I would personally give Gray the time to further put his stamp on things.

Another sacking in such a short space of time just continues the trend and in my opinion vastly reduces the appeal of the job, and then subsequently the type of candidate who would be interested.

I think the mindset at the club needs to change this season to solely focusing on 10th place. As dire as that sounds any idea of us pushing up the table simply isn't going to come to fruition. We need to focus on St Johnstone, Hearts and Ross County, the three other poor sides in the league. That is all that matters just now.

Frustrating to write off yet another season, but stay in the league, ship out dross in January, replace with better prospects and use the 2nd half of the season to build towards next with a certain degree of continuity.

NC1875
10-11-2024, 11:43 AM

Yeah, I watched the highlights again this morning and the 2nd goal all happens because O’Hora isn’t comfortable on his left foot.

NC1875
10-11-2024, 11:44 AM
Don't think sacking him will change much to be honest. The squad is clearly limited in ability and big changes are needed in January. I would personally give Gray the time to further put his stamp on things.

Another sacking in such a short space of time just continues the trend and in my opinion vastly reduces the appeal of the job, and then subsequently the type of candidate who would be interested.

I think the mindset at the club needs to change this season to solely focusing on 10th place. As dire as that sounds any idea of us pushing up the table simply isn't going to come to fruition. We need to focus on St Johnstone, Hearts and Ross County, the three other poor sides in the league. That is all that matters just now.

Frustrating to write off yet another season, but stay in the league ship out dross in January, replace with better prospects and use the 2nd half of the season to build towards next with a certain degree of continuity.

You’d give Gray more time ? And the scope to sign more crap like the ones he did in the summer ?

Aye ok 👍🏼

10-11-2024, 11:49 AM

Frustrating to write off yet another season, but stay in the league, ship out dross in January, replace with better prospects and use the 2nd half of the season to build towards next with a certain degree of continuity.

Gray is absolutely terrible at his job. He can’t be given more time.

H18S NX
10-11-2024, 11:52 AM
If we are anchored to the bottom of the legue come January,what decent players will want to come to us?

10-11-2024, 11:54 AM
Who were the 5 players Dundee Utd would take from us if offered that was hypothetically discussed last week? Do United still want them? Get rid of our dross and drag Dundee United down towards us, genius!

10-11-2024, 11:55 AM
Yeah, I watched the highlights again this morning and the 2nd goal all happens because O’Hora isn’t comfortable on his left foot.

Not excusing his mistake but…

He’s being hung out to dry on the left.

He played on the right all the time in a back 3 and back 4 for MK Dons.

Dodgy recruitment strikes again and another example of an unbalanced team.

Box 17
10-11-2024, 11:57 AM

You want Gray to have more time? Fair enough, if Championship football is your thing.

Persevering with this is only going to lead to one thing - relegation. An experienced manager appointed now might not save us but at least they'll get the January window to give us a chance.

Murphys Touch
10-11-2024, 12:39 PM
Who were the 5 players Dundee Utd would take from us if offered that was hypothetically discussed last week? Do United still want them? Get rid of our dross and drag Dundee United down towards us, genius!

Aye didn’t buy that at all

He's here!
10-11-2024, 12:39 PM
Do we think he'll be sacked today or tomorrow? Hearts, I think, waited until the Monday to sack Naismith.

It seems things have gone far enough that zero response, even if it's just a comment, from the club to the growing crisis would be inappropriate.

Skol
10-11-2024, 12:42 PM
Do we think he'll be sacked today or tomorrow? Hearts, I think, waited until the Monday to sack Naismith.

It seems things have gone far enough that zero response, even if it's just a comment, from the club to the growing crisis would be inappropriate.

I don’t think they will sack him at present.

10-11-2024, 12:46 PM

I would hope the board members are at least discussing a way forward, be that sacking Gray or whatever. It would be a dereliction of duty if they aren't, given our disastrous start to the season. I hope the BK representatives on the board are being particularly vocal and offering the resources of the BK group to find our next head coach.

10-11-2024, 12:47 PM

Unfortunately I think they may well prefer to wait until we're well adrift at the foot of the league.

Hibees1973
10-11-2024, 12:51 PM
As a manager Gray does not have the stature, experience or gravitas to be a successful manager yet.

You could box Maloney, Johnson & Montgomery with Gray. They all seem amiable and guys The Gordons & Kensell can manipulate. Even MacKay with his dubious past is one The Golden Quadrant are able to instruct.

Imagine the likes of Mowbray, McInnes or Robinson in the Hibs job. None of them would suffer The Golden Quadrant. These three managers would improve the club within a week or two.

Murphys Touch
10-11-2024, 01:21 PM

I have no idea what they are waiting for.

10-11-2024, 01:31 PM

I don’t think they’ll sack him just now either.

International break is the perfect time for them to just disappear for a couple of weeks and not have to deal with anything rather than correct their latest mistake.

Fifeshirehibs
10-11-2024, 01:33 PM
Butchers relegation was it could be argued in the boards defence ,hiding in plain sight, if we carry on with this , it's staring the Board in the face.

Cat Stanton
10-11-2024, 01:37 PM

First, they are incompetent. To a dizzying degree.

And second, they have received so much criticism for sacking so many managers that I fear they will stick with Gray until it's too late.

10-11-2024, 01:53 PM

Maybe because they have no idea who to replace him with?

Murphys Touch
10-11-2024, 02:01 PM
Maybe because they have no idea who to replace him with?

BK will though 😉😉

And Gray came out as “top candidate” last time so their must have been others interested 🥴🥴

10-11-2024, 02:08 PM

I watched it and felt he did what he did most of the game, dick about with and mostly lose the ball or play it backwards. I’ll watch again but can see him far enough now. He’s offering very little, I’d rather have Nicky Cadden playing left and Hoilett through the middle with Gayle up front.

10-11-2024, 02:21 PM
Hopefully the delay is just getting things sorted with the black knights etc and discussions about what it means for everyone going forward.

The thought of no action being taken is unthinkable

Docker
10-11-2024, 02:25 PM

I agree with the sentiment of your post that there does not seem to be consequences for continual underperformance but taking O’Hora off yesterday(unless he was injured) was a real cheap shot. What we needed at halftime was a thought through tactical change - not simply swapping out a CH that changes nothing.

10-11-2024, 02:26 PM
I agree with the sentiment of your post that there does not seem to be consequences for continual underperformance but taking O’Hora off yesterday(unless he was injured) was a real cheap shot. What we needed at halftime was a thought through tactical change - not simply swapping out a CH that changes nothing.

O’Hora needed taken off. He’s been ***** for weeks.

andrew70
10-11-2024, 02:29 PM

Spot on it was pathetic.

Terrible man management and complete desperation.

Also relying on two players who he has treated disgracefully.