View Full Version : Gray is out of his depth’
Pages :
[
10]
Hillsidehibby
23-11-2024, 09:33 PM
It was a disgrace of a post. Not only did it show zero awareness of our history it showed zero awareness of who David Gray is as a human being. By all means criticise his performance as a manager as he’s failed in that.
For god’s sake it’s my opinion. Please enlighten me apart from his header what he did to deserve this Sir David Gray accolade? I thought he was an above average defender. I say Hanlon and Stevenson were more deserving than him. This has escalated way more than my anger at another insipid performance but I stick by what I said
23-11-2024, 09:34 PM
It's the easiest thing in the world to separate the man and player David Gray was - particularly in the cup final - and the current situation he's overseeing.
There's no need to even mention 21st May. Goes without saying that he always will be a huge figure for us. Think it's pretty straightforward to be respectful of that while stating the glaringly obvious as to what needs to happen now.
Hillsidehibby
23-11-2024, 09:36 PM
Think you might regret that post in the morning...not good.
I assure you I won’t and if you’re behind the goals on Tuesday I’ll love to explain. That’s not a square go thingy or anything
23-11-2024, 09:36 PM
Gray is a modern day legend. So is Sauzee. Both utterly awful managers. That’s the sad fact and it’s painful to watch Gray ending the same way. But he’s never ever a manager. The mistakes he’s making in management are unreal, regardless of the players letting him down. He’s worked with the last 5 managers and not learned a thing. Legend as a player, absolutely 👍 great person and man - absolutely 👍 manager - not in a million years.
TrinityHFC
23-11-2024, 09:37 PM
It's the easiest thing in the world to separate the man and player David Gray was - particularly in the cup final - and the current situation he's overseeing.
There's no need to even mention 21st May. Goes without saying that he always will be a huge figure for us. Think it's pretty straightforward to be respectful of that while stating the glaringly obvious as to what needs to happen now.
Also pretty obvious that we can still be respectful about the whole thing.
23-11-2024, 09:39 PM
Also pretty obvious that we can still be respectful about the whole thing.
It's beginning to flag, based on some recent posts...
23-11-2024, 09:40 PM
For god’s sake it’s my opinion. Please enlighten me apart from his header what he did to deserve this Sir David Gray accolade? I thought he was an above average defender. I say Hanlon and Stevenson were more deserving than him. This has escalated way more than my anger at another insipid performance but I stick by what I said
It was your “dining out” comment. That’s not who David Gray is. He’s uncomfortable with the whole SDG chat.
He's here!
23-11-2024, 11:51 PM
It was your “dining out” comment. That’s not who David Gray is. He’s uncomfortable with the whole SDG chat.
Correct.
7Hero
24-11-2024, 12:13 AM
Sauzee could have been a great manager, never given a chance.
Gray should never been given a chance in the first place.
they are total opposites but both legends, and shows how *****e the club is at managing such situations..
And funnily enough the chairman overseeing both is the same person..
McPherson should be given his jotters before he has to sack gray as he did sauzee...
He is the biggest issue of it all and its sad to see he is still here ...
24-11-2024, 12:17 AM
Will the penny ever drop he’s not a good manager and wasn’t even a good interim ? He’s had 5 years ‘learning’ apparently- no room for any sentimental stuff, he’s simply not good at the job he was appointed- end of. Should be sacked immediately and an experienced manager brought in, now !
24-11-2024, 12:35 AM
Will the penny ever drop he’s not a good manager and wasn’t even a good interim ? He’s had 5 years ‘learning’ apparently- no room for any sentimental stuff, he’s simply not good at the job he was appointed- end of. Should be sacked immediately and an experienced manager brought in, now !
I think he’ll still be there on Tuesday. Just feel we are so lacking in leadership at any level that we’ll allow more games to pass by.
24-11-2024, 02:47 AM
Been dining out for 8 years for one header in a game that Anthony Stokes won in his own. Been caretaker to the last three buffoons in charge.
Sorry but I don’t feel bad for him. Good luck in whatever he does going forward but it’s not at Hibs.
In my humble opinion.
Up there with the worst post I've ever read on here. It's not working for him as a manager but no need to revise his standing as a player for us.
Stokes didn't win the cup on his own either. Takes a team to do that.
CallumHibs07
24-11-2024, 03:11 AM
Will the board have the bottle to sack him after the first game back when they've just given him the international break? Or will they keep limping along as we continue to be cut adrift?
24-11-2024, 06:57 AM
Will the board have the bottle to sack him after the first game back when they've just given him the international break? Or will they keep limping along as we continue to be cut adrift?
I think the statement that was put out makes it very difficult to sack him after one defeat without leaving them looking even more ridiculous than they do already.
I reckon they'll have thought that he'd get the next three games (Dundee, Aberdeen, and Motherwell) at least and then decide what they’re going to do.
After last night, I really don’t see any other outcome that Gray getting sacked - last night’s game was his and the players’ response to a massive reprieve. They could all have easily already been responsible for him losing his job but he got more time.
All the noise from the club was about the players wanting to do it for him, chance to start the season again etc and we got embarrassed. Again.
Every chance this team have had to kick start the season has been blown. There is nothing to suggest Tuesday night is going to be any different. This team is dreadful. I said a couple of weeks back that I thought we were better than results are showing and that you could ask most managers in the league if they’d want five players from our team, they’d take them.
I have changed my mind on that, I don’t think any manager is looking at our squad and thinking they would swap their players for ours.
It is inevitable that Gray will be sacked. There is no way back from this point, realistically. The club are genuinely better just ripping off the plaster sooner rather than later to try and get something done to give us a chance for the rest of the season.
Gray has been a disastrous appointment and regardless of whether or not fans were behind it, he should never have got the job. The red flags on the appointment were glaringly obvious, and then compounded by a ridiculous background team set up.
I think the statement that was put out makes it very difficult to sack him after one defeat without leaving them looking even more ridiculous than they do already.
I reckon they'll have thought that he'd get the next three games (Dundee, Aberdeen, and Motherwell) at least and then decide what they’re going to do.
After last night, I really don’t see any other outcome that Gray getting sacked - last night’s game was his and the players’ response to a massive reprieve. They could all have easily already been responsible for him losing his job but he got more time.
All the noise from the club was about the players wanting to do it for him, chance to start the season again etc and we got embarrassed. Again.
Every chance this team have had to kick start the season has been blown. There is nothing to suggest Tuesday night is going to be any different. This team is dreadful. I said a couple of weeks back that I thought we were better than results are showing and that you could ask most managers in the league if they’d want five players from our team, they’d take them.
I have changed my mind on that, I don’t think any manager is looking at our squad and thinking they would swap their players for ours.
It is inevitable that Gray will be sacked. There is no way back from this point, realistically. The club are genuinely better just ripping off the plaster sooner rather than later to try and get something done to give us a chance for the rest of the season.
Gray has been a disastrous appointment and regardless of whether or not fans were behind it, he should never have got the job. The red flags on the appointment were glaringly obvious, and then compounded by a ridiculous background team set up.
Well said.
I think we all obviously wanted him to do well but realistically he's been out his depth since day one. His backroom team comprise a so called coach who prefers being in the background working with the loan players, an even more rookie coach than him and a GK coach who all Aberdeen fans stated he made their keepers worse.
It was an appointment to appease the fans but Gray has been short changed by another dreadful summer window where money has been thrown at dross, only exception possibly being Bowie. I know you touched upon the fact that Mackay was late coming in so probably didn't have everything in place but again we've gone for the who's available options in Ekpiteta and O'Hora (Div 1 & 2 quality) and it shows. We've addressed the midfield by bringing in 2 rookies on loan who are proving to be pants and I refuse to believe Amos, JDH, NMW and Levitt can be any worse than the 4 that played yesterday but still Gray plays them and ignores the others.
I just hope that BK group are firmly in charge of the footballing side and have a man ready to go when Gray gets booted.
24-11-2024, 07:11 AM
There is no point continuing with the misery, surely to God. It’s cruel on SDG, if nothing else; he looks broken. I expect Aberdeen to batter us on Tuesday; that’s another game gone. I just think we need a battle hardened, experienced manager now. The lack of quality is one thing, but there’s nae fight, nae spirit.
24-11-2024, 07:11 AM
Cant disagree. But what role BKG play in getting us out of this Lorient position isn’t being talked about enough. I look back to statements last year about this £6 million being for the player budget and Marcondes/Maolida calibre players and its beyond ridiculous. Do BKG just not care at this point? (Maybe because Lorient are bouncing straight back up from ligue deux this year they think its no big deal?).
Maybe they do care, maybe they want to help but maybe IG doesn’t want their help?
Is Garvan Stewart the first step in all this? Tbh they cannot help until the January window if like you say they want to.
24-11-2024, 07:48 AM
I think we’ll see in January how committed or otherwise they are to getting us out of this.
DIXIHIBS
24-11-2024, 07:51 AM
I assure you I won’t and if you’re behind the goals on Tuesday I’ll love to explain. That’s not a square go thingy or anything
I will be in my seat behind the goals as usual on Tuesday but don't need an explanation thanks. Your post is self explanatory. As others have said Gray is clearly uncomfortable with the 'hero' status and to say he is somehow using it to benefit himself or his career imho...is wrong.
24-11-2024, 08:00 AM
I think we’ll see in January how committed or otherwise they are to getting us out of this.
If we could manage to persuade a Maolida calibre player to ignore our league position and join us in January, along with a competent keeper, i could see some sort of way out of this. The problem is weve got a load of games to play in December before that happens. Being afraid of a festive home game against Ross County is a terrible position to be in but thats where i am :tumble:
24-11-2024, 08:10 AM
I back gray and think we must ride it out, however he isn’t helping himself now.
Campbell gets 90 minutes in from the cold
N. Cadden hooked yesterday when he’s been our goal threat and scored 3 goals, 1 not allowed in last two games, bizarre.
Newell undroppable again
Bursik undroppable
JDH makes an appearance v hearts then no where to be seen on the pitch again.
NMW - same as JDH
Iredale signs and hasn’t started one match I think?….
Rudi - started the season positively - pumped out from any starting elevens in recent months.
Lack of a plan B.
24-11-2024, 08:12 AM
I back gray and think we must ride it out, however he isn’t helping himself now.
Campbell gets 90 minutes in from the cold
N. Cadden hooked yesterday when he’s been our goal threat and scored 3 goals, 1 not allowed in last two games, bizarre.
Newell undroppable again
Bursik undroppable
JDH makes an appearance v hearts then no where to be seen on the pitch again.
NMW - same as JDH
Iredale signs and hasn’t started one match I think?….
Rudi - started the season positively - pumped out from any starting elevens in recent months.
Lack of a plan B.
You back Gray but give a list of faults why you shouldnt?:confused:
24-11-2024, 08:12 AM
There is no point continuing with the misery, surely to God. It’s cruel on SDG, if nothing else; he looks broken. I expect Aberdeen to batter us on Tuesday; that’s another game gone. I just think we need a battle hardened, experienced manager now. The lack of quality is one thing, but there’s nae fight, nae spirit.
Gray expected to be sacked after the St Mirren game.
He will know it's only a matter of time and hopefully someone at the club or the BKs are already looking for his replacement.
24-11-2024, 08:14 AM
Even if that was a genuine backing from the board that last night felt a lot like Montgomery's drubbing by Aberdeen
Id get rid now but I think Tuesday will be his last game
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
24-11-2024, 08:18 AM
You back Gray but give a list of faults why you shouldnt?:confused:
I think it’s trying to give a balanced opinion
Feel free to bash, I’m past caring with hibs anyway mate lol
24-11-2024, 08:24 AM
I think it’s trying to give a balanced opinion
Feel free to bash, I’m past caring with hibs anyway mate lol
A balanced opinion would have given reasons to keep him, not just reasons why he's been an awful appointment surely?
24-11-2024, 08:28 AM
I don’t see what good can come from waiting until the Aberdeen game
Even if we draw or somehow win, he needs to go
AdidasHibernian
24-11-2024, 08:34 AM
As others have touched on it makes the statement last week even more farcical.
I think after last week and the vote of confidence they would have gave him in their delusional heads the next 3 games, however after last night and our inevitable pumping from the Sheep surely he will go if not already before Tuesday.
I just can't see us sacking him after last week's comments as the board won't want to look even more embarrassing, if that's even possible!
24-11-2024, 08:35 AM
We need to replace Gray with someone who can somehow save us from relegation. Rabbit out the hat stuff.
Fifeshirehibs
24-11-2024, 08:36 AM
Sadly we have the worst goalkeeper in the league, the worst defensive fullbacks in the league, a central defence that can go marshmallow at any point, the worst midfield in the league, pretty punchless upfront, shocking fitness levels, On the pitch it's only leading to one thing, in the dugout dreadful game management , in the boardroom and exec level no football sense. Its possibly in Black knights interest to get relegated. The loan players look to have depleted the squad, two players are playing in the exit door. Sows ears know they face no dangers from Hibs silk purses.
24-11-2024, 09:28 AM
I’m starting to wonder if Gray has been more of a hindrance to previous managers than an asset. Given his unwavering loyalty to the likes of Cadden, Campbell, Newell, Boyle etc, and the rumours Monty didn’t rate Gray. Maybe the previous managers would have stood a better chance without inheriting Gray.
We all hoped Gray saw the blind spots of previous managers and what needed done. It looks like the opposite. Maybe he was talking up previous managers relying on Cadden, Boyle, Newell, Campbell.
Grays stamp on this squad was a new deal and captaincy for Newell. A leadership group and mainstays for those listed above. As well as just getting players back who were still to convince in Myko & Triantis.
HFC93
24-11-2024, 10:07 AM
Not sacking him today/tomorrow is pure negligence. I don't think we will though.
He's here!
24-11-2024, 10:11 AM
What made you think the team are better than results are showing?
The Dundee boss said it was obvious they were 'really fighting' for Gray. 'Really fighting' implies giving their best so I think its fair to conclude they're simply garbage.
24-11-2024, 10:11 AM
Not sacking him today/tomorrow is pure negligence. I don't think we will though.
They can’t sack him now after giving him their backing, left themselves in a very stupid position.
24-11-2024, 10:12 AM
The Dundee boss said it was obvious they were 'really fighting' for Gray. 'Really fighting' implies giving their best so I think its fair to conclude they're simply garbage.
Aye well if the Dundee boss said so then it must be true.
24-11-2024, 10:13 AM
It's a team of poor players. We're exactly where we should be in the table. Signed a bunch of absolute diddys in the summer to supplement the pish we already had.
24-11-2024, 10:15 AM
It's a team of poor players. We're exactly where we should be in the table. Signed a bunch of absolute diddys in the summer to supplement the pish we already had.
Nice guys though.
24-11-2024, 10:15 AM
They can’t sack him now after giving him their backing, left themselves in a very stupid position.
He had a few games to turn it round. A loss to Aberdeen, which I fully expect, and he’ll be gone. The caveat to their statement was that things had to improve. based on last night alone they clearly haven’t.
24-11-2024, 10:16 AM
All got a good attitude though. ***** at playing like but a good attitude
OtleyHibs
24-11-2024, 10:16 AM
We've seen quite a few of these players perform a lot better than they have this season, so in what way are they "giving their best"?
Of course opposing managers want no changes at Hibs, we give them easy points
He's here!
24-11-2024, 10:21 AM
I’m starting to wonder if Gray has been more of a hindrance to previous managers than an asset. Given his unwavering loyalty to the likes of Cadden, Campbell, Newell, Boyle etc, and the rumours Monty didn’t rate Gray. Maybe the previous managers would have stood a better chance without inheriting Gray.
We all hoped Gray saw the blind spots of previous managers and what needed done. It looks like the opposite. Maybe he was talking up previous managers relying on Cadden, Boyle, Newell, Campbell.
Grays stamp on this squad was a new deal and captaincy for Newell. A leadership group and mainstays for those listed above. As well as just getting players back who were still to convince in Myko & Triantis.
What made me more positive than some about the Gray appointment was the job he did in running Celtic close in the League Cup final. Sure, we screwed up by conceding as soon as we took the lead but until then he looked very assured with his approach to the game. I guess in hindsight the fact he had Jack Ross's players at his disposal helped him. With his own team in place now we're a shambles.
24-11-2024, 10:24 AM
Because a majority of the squad finished higher up the league under LJ and Monty and put in better performances.
Because players we have brought in like Kwon and Hoillet performed better under better managers at other clubs in our league.
24-11-2024, 10:26 AM
The easy answer was that I think in all but the last two games, and the opening game of the season, we’ve been easily as good as the other team, if not better, before a key incident has shifted things.
Objectively you can see that in match stats as well as just looking back at discussions on the matches over the season.
DJ HIBBY
24-11-2024, 10:27 AM
I think he will be gone over the next 24 hours before the Aberdeen game
DIXIHIBS
24-11-2024, 10:43 AM
The easy answer was that I think in all but the last two games, and the opening game of the season, we’ve been easily as good as the other team, if not better, before a key incident has shifted things.
Objectively you can see that in match stats as well as just looking back at discussions on the matches over the season.
I think that is fair to say in a lot of games we have been on par with the opposition and have lost games through terrible individual mistakes etc and been unlucky...but the last couple of games we have been awful...we cant keep on just hoping that we can turn the corner.
He's here!
24-11-2024, 10:45 AM
The fact we so often implode as a result of these key incidents tells its own story though? 1 win in 13 is the stat which counts.
24-11-2024, 10:46 AM
I think he will be gone over the next 24 hours before the Aberdeen game
Really can't see it happening unfortunately
24-11-2024, 10:53 AM
I think that is fair to say in a lot of games we have been on par with the opposition and have lost games through terrible individual mistakes etc and been unlucky...but the last couple of games we have been awful...we cant keep on just hoping that we can turn the corner.
Agreed - there’s a pattern there, the frustration is that it’s often different players making the catastrophic mistakes and it’s worth remembering that every team’s players make mistakes, so simply making a mistake in a game doesn’t make them worse than another team’s players.
Killie had a red card yesterday, for example, but that doesn’t mean he’s not a good player.
24-11-2024, 10:55 AM
Everything at Hibs right now seems to be a poor decision.
Gray should have gone after the St Mirren game.
He should be sacked today - probably won’t be.
The board are totally clueless and probably have no idea what to do next.
The club is a total joke.
24-11-2024, 10:57 AM
Im amazed this is being allowed to continue, there is no way we’re getting out of this mess without changes. The only reason I can think why it’s being allowed to continue is no one knows what they need to change to fix things. We’re so bad in all areas that literally everything needs changing, we’re rotten to the core. What a shambles.
24-11-2024, 11:00 AM
The fact we so often implode as a result of these key incidents tells its own story though? 1 win in 13 is the stat which counts.
That’s far too simplistic to only look at the results - if that was the only stat that counts nobody would sign players from teams below them in the league.
You need to use a variety of information to judge - including just watching them, of course.
OtleyHibs
24-11-2024, 11:07 AM
That’s far too simplistic to only look at the results - if that was the only stat that counts nobody would sign players from teams below them in the league.
You need to use a variety of information to judge - including just watching them, of course.
I totally get what you are saying here in terms of players but from a managerial point off view, it's a results business imo.
It is that one stat that matters when it comes to league position
24-11-2024, 11:11 AM
They’re not going to sack him before Tuesday. They’ve said they were supporting him, they’re not going to pull the trigger after one more game no matter how bad it was.
They’ve made a mistake with him in the first place and every day that passes just compounds that mistake even more. It’s too late to salvage anything which you’d deem success from the season, but it’s not too late to get out of relegation trouble (which might be deemed successful in the circumstances I suppose). We need to act now though and stop wasting games.
24-11-2024, 11:16 AM
I totally get what you are saying here in terms of players but from a managerial point off view, it's a results business imo.
It is that one stat that matters when it comes to league position
Yeah, the chat was on the players. Manager always carries the can for results.
24-11-2024, 11:19 AM
They’re not going to sack him before Tuesday. They’ve said they were supporting him, they’re not going to pull the trigger after one more game no matter how bad it was.
They’ve made a mistake with him in the first place and every day that passes just compounds that mistake even more. It’s too late to salvage anything which you’d deem success from the season, but it’s not too late to get out of relegation trouble (which might be deemed successful in the circumstances I suppose). We need to act now though and stop wasting games.
Right now, I suspect the boards thinking is self preservation rather than what’s best for the club.
If they sack Gray before Tuesday it’ll be them getting it in the neck. If they keep him in place, they might get a reprieve with a win. Lose to Aberdeen, they will sack him and then not have to be seen at Easter Road for a couple of weeks, by then we could have a new manager in place and a bit more positivity could be around.
Gruff
24-11-2024, 11:30 AM
This is where i am with Gray, yes some of the players are creating issues during the match which increases the pressure on a very fragile team just now, however Gray is tactically clueless when it comes to game management, i was speaking about this with my Hearts supporting mate and he said the similarities with Naismith are scary, no plan B.
Gray sticks with the same core of players week in week out in the hope that they will come good, he dropped Boyle, Miller Hoilett but that was possibly down to the fact they have been travelling for days on end getting back from International duty.
He trots out the same after match chat, we'll see someone come back in for 1 game. play ok and the following week not even on the bench or the opposite, someone out for weeks then suddenly straight back in to the first 11.
The keeper situ is utterly bizarre, how he keeps his place is beyond me.
Hes also surrounded with equally clueless assistants in the dug out.
We are now detached at the bottom and if we stick with Gray, then the Championship awaits us as Hearts, as crap as they are will grind out a win or 2 and even if they finished 11th, i would still fancy them against a Championship side, whereas i just can't see this team achieving that
24-11-2024, 11:37 AM
Implosions caused in part by Gray’s reaction (or lack of) to these incidents.
Crazyhorse
24-11-2024, 11:56 AM
This is where i am with Gray, yes some of the players are creating issues during the match which increases the pressure on a very fragile team just now, however Gray is tactically clueless when it comes to game management, i was speaking about this with my Hearts supporting mate and he said the similarities with Naismith are scary, no plan B.
Gray sticks with the same core of players week in week out in the hope that they will come good, he dropped Boyle, Miller Hoilett but that was possibly down to the fact they have been travelling for days on end getting back from International duty.
He trots out the same after match chat, we'll see someone come back in for 1 game. play ok and the following week not even on the bench or the opposite, someone out for weeks then suddenly straight back in to the first 11.
The keeper situ is utterly bizarre, how he keeps his place is beyond me.
Hes also surrounded with equally clueless assistants in the dug out.
We are now detached at the bottom and if we stick with Gray, then the Championship awaits us as Hearts, as crap as they are will grind out a win or 2 and even if they finished 11th, i would still fancy them against a Championship side, whereas i just can't see this team achieving that
Hearts are looking fairly rubbish that’s true but they along with everyone else will be out of sight if we don’t change things.
I can’t see us getting more than 4 points between now and January with the current set up.
24-11-2024, 12:01 PM
It's 1 win in 14 games now isn't it?
TrumpIsAPeado
24-11-2024, 12:10 PM
Hearts are looking fairly rubbish that’s true but they along with everyone else will be out of sight if we don’t change things.
I can’t see us getting more than 4 points between now and January with the current set up.
Hearts do look rubbish, but it's a different kind of rubbish. They're creating some really good chances but not putting them away. Shankland only needs to find his feet again and he'll be smashing them in with the chances they're creating. We on the other hand are struggling to create good chances in the first place. It won't matter if we have a striker in form, if the chances aren't being presented to them.
24-11-2024, 12:10 PM
Implosions caused in part by Gray’s reaction (or lack of) to these incidents.
We look like we are playing with 7 players as soon as we go a man down. He should have hooked Youan as soon as Obita made that stupid challenge, farcical game management
24-11-2024, 12:13 PM
We look like we are playing with 7 players as soon as we go a man down. He should have hooked Youan as soon as Obita made that stupid challenge, farcical game management
Or moved Youan up front and hooked Myko who was typically anonymous and would have offered nothing on the counter.
He's here!
24-11-2024, 12:39 PM
It's 1 win in 14 games now isn't it?
1 in 13. We have a game in hand on Hearts but nobody's expecting us to make it count on Tuesday against Aberdeen.
24-11-2024, 12:40 PM
1 in 13. We have a game in hand on Hearts but nobody's expecting us to make it count on Tuesday against Aberdeen.
Ok, just league games. It's 1 win in 14 including the cup.:aok:
24-11-2024, 12:53 PM
I think the board are going to allow Gray to limp on until January. Otherwise he would have been gone after the St Mirren game. By that time whatever changes are made are probably going to be too late to save us.
Daydreamer
24-11-2024, 01:26 PM
He must scrap this 4-2-3-1. These players just can't play this system. It's a loser right away. When your losing easy goals you must go to a back 3. Then the problem comes again for a left footed centre back.
NC1875
24-11-2024, 01:45 PM
He must scrap this 4-2-3-1. These players just can't play this system. It's a loser right away. When your losing easy goals you must go to a back 3. Then the problem comes again for a left footed centre back.
Iredale is left footed. Why he wasn’t brought on as soon as obita was sent off last night was madness.
You play 3 at the back with him on the left, that then allows O’Hora to play on his more natural right side. That really shouldn’t be too difficult to figure out but it seems David Gray just doesn’t have a clue.
coldingham hibs
24-11-2024, 01:49 PM
I think the board are going to allow Gray to limp on until January. Otherwise he would have been gone after the St Mirren game. By that time whatever changes are made are probably going to be too late to save us.
We will be about 10 points adrift at that point, he needs gone now and the incumbent will at least have a few games to assess the squad for the Jan window.
24-11-2024, 02:07 PM
Iredale is left footed. Why he wasn’t brought on as soon as obita was sent off last night was madness.
You play 3 at the back with him on the left, that then allows O’Hora to play on his more natural right side. That really shouldn’t be too difficult to figure out but it seems David Gray just doesn’t have a clue.
Watching Iredale last night I thought it was understandable why we’ve not seen much of him. Thought he looked miles off it, not just in terms of defending but just in terms of being able to move.
The indecision in bringing him on summed Gray up for me. When you talk about being out of his it’s the lack of ability to respond at moments like that.
24-11-2024, 02:13 PM
We will be about 10 points adrift at that point, he needs gone now and the incumbent will at least have a few games to assess the squad for the Jan window.
Yep, there is no point in continuing with this as it’s not going to get better. The main thing is to make sure the next appointment is a great one, they’re hopefully using this time to work out who it will be. 🤞
Bridge hibs
24-11-2024, 02:22 PM
Hearts do look rubbish, but it's a different kind of rubbish. They're creating some really good chances but not putting them away. Shankland only needs to find his feet again and he'll be smashing them in with the chances they're creating. We on the other hand are struggling to create good chances in the first place. It won't matter if we have a striker in form, if the chances aren't being presented to them.
Shankland only needs to see his feet again !
Crazyhorse
24-11-2024, 02:31 PM
If so we will get relegated.
Cabbage-Patch
25-11-2024, 07:50 AM
Does he go today? Personally if he was going I think it would have been announced yesterday or even Saturday night. Given the short turnaround in fixtures I think he will be in the dugout tomorrow night but this is proper last chance saloon stuff now.
25-11-2024, 07:54 AM
Does he go today? Personally if he was going I think it would have been announced yesterday or even Saturday night. Given the short turnaround in fixtures I think he will be in the dugout tomorrow night but this is proper last chance saloon stuff now.
Seems incredible he might get Tuesday. I thought they may make an announcement today, try to make out that the board did a lot of soul-searching over the weekend whereas they probably told him late Saturday or Sunday.
Even if he wins tomorrow its kicking the can down the road, surely seen enough now to know its been a (regrettably) poor appointment, he needs to go but others should be following no way should the manager be solely carrying the can now far deeper than 1 man
25-11-2024, 07:57 AM
I'd be a bit perplexed if he isn't sacked today. Losing 4-1 to Dundee is an abomination enough but on top of everything else?
25-11-2024, 07:59 AM
Seems incredible he might get Tuesday. I thought they may make an announcement today, try to make out that the board did a lot of soul-searching over the weekend whereas they probably told him late Saturday or Sunday.
Never happening after the statement a couple of weeks ago IMO. Bit of self preservation, they now need to make out that they’ve given him a fair chance after saying publicly that they were supporting him.
Should have dealt with it after the St Mirren game, we’re just wasting games.
25-11-2024, 08:01 AM
I'd be a bit perplexed if he isn't sacked today.
To be honest I just can't see it happening today. Would have sacked him yesterday if we were going to.
25-11-2024, 08:02 AM
I think the only thing going for him is we were the better team and winning until the sending off
They might think the players are still playing for him and we’re just not catching a break….
I don’t think that is right however.
Even down to 10 men we should be a lot better and hard to beat than that
25-11-2024, 08:07 AM
To be honest I just can't see it happening today. Would have sacked him yesterday if we were going to.
Does anyone think it could happen today?
Pytheas
25-11-2024, 08:14 AM
It also allows Obita/Nicky Cadden to play in their natural wing back role.
It also removes the need to play a sitting midfielder, which is good cos we don't own one.
It also allows Miller to play the right wing back role he has been doing well for Oz.
It also allows us to play an all out 10 with less defensive duties, suiting Levitt, Hoilett, Rudi.
It also allows us to play 2 up top so all our strikers who struggle alone have support.
The only players it wouldn't suit are our wingers and they have given us very little this season anyway. I really can't understand why it's not been tried, especially with Gray's words about being more flexible tactically, so far he's been as rigid as Maloney or Monty.
Bridge hibs
25-11-2024, 08:15 AM
No, its too windy
25-11-2024, 08:18 AM
I think it will happen on Wed if we are poor again in the Aberdeen game.
25-11-2024, 08:20 AM
We did the same thing with Monty, it was inevitable he was going to be sacked, but we just left it to limp along until we'd missed out on top 6.
I dunno what they're waiting for just now?
Paulie Walnuts
25-11-2024, 08:21 AM
Likewise. Another home defeat will be the end you’d have to think, then the board can point to the fact they said it had to improve and we followed it up with a 4-1 skelping to Dundee and a home defeat to Aberdeen.
I reckon a draw will see him kept in post though.
25-11-2024, 08:32 AM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-14120925/Pictured-Harry-Winks-Conor-Coady-Leicester-players-nightclub.html
Imagine Hibs players were out and caught on camera like that after another defeat!
25-11-2024, 08:48 AM
We did the same thing with Monty, it was inevitable he was going to be sacked, but we just left it to limp along until we'd missed out on top 6.
I dunno what they're waiting for just now?
The useless board have no idea what they are doing.
All about saving face and not make themselves look completely incompetent.
But here we are again with another manager struggling and zero leadership or accountability at the club.
There should be clear line of what’s not acceptable at Hibs and losing to Dundee / St Mirren isn’t acceptable.
That was one of worst results against Dundee for a long time - add in St Mirren 8v1 over last 3 games !
Folk are seriously clutching at straws saying we played well for 12 minutes before the sending off - I couldn’t care less if we played well or not the outcome is the same - poor discipline and a massive collapse and zero points.
MikeyS
25-11-2024, 09:03 AM
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/football/article-14120925/Pictured-Harry-Winks-Conor-Coady-Leicester-players-nightclub.html
Imagine Hibs players were out and caught on camera like that after another defeat!
Andy, they were all in Club Tropicana last night swigging VK oranges & £6 magnums of prosecco.
Rocky was walking about with a sandwich board over him with the message "Montyball 4 ever, I.D.S.T", Bursik was trying to show the bartender how to juggle the cocktail shakers, Lewis Miller was break dancing in the middle of the dance floor to Men at Work but it was abruptly ended as Harry McKirdy tried to punch a bouncer but missed and accidently hit the fire alarm meaning the whole place was evacuated.
25-11-2024, 09:05 AM
Andy, they were all in Club Tropicana last night swigging VK oranges & £6 magnums of prosecco.
Rocky was walking about with a sandwich board over him with the message "Montyball 4 ever, I.D.S.T", Bursik was trying to show the bartender how to juggle the cocktail shakers, Lewis Miller was break dancing in the middle of the dance floor to Men at Work but it was abruptly ended as Harry McKirdy tried to punch a bouncer but missed and accidently hit the fire alarm meaning the whole place was evacuated.
:faf::top marks
25-11-2024, 09:06 AM
Lmao
Nope, as someone said they'll let him limp along till January in an effort to save face of course by then it will be too late.
25-11-2024, 09:48 AM
:top marks:thumbsup:
25-11-2024, 09:50 AM
He won't be sacked before tomorrow - if he is then all eyes will be on the board, not him, and they don't want that.
🤣🤣🤣
25-11-2024, 12:03 PM
Is it bad now I’m getting the fear about us somehow getting a result tomorrow which gives Gray more time?
Even if we get a win I just get imagine us turning round the start to the season we’ve had, I think we’ll continue like the start and it will seal our fate for relegation
25-11-2024, 01:10 PM
Is it bad now I’m getting the fear about us somehow getting a result tomorrow which gives Gray more time?
Even if we get a win I just get imagine us turning round the start to the season we’ve had, I think we’ll continue like the start and it will seal our fate for relegation
I feel the same. A win would paper over the cracks. Despite their league position I don't think they are anything special as their result at the weekend showed. I certainly don't fear them. Whether were capable of beating them is another thing. I just can't see this team grinding out wins.
25-11-2024, 01:14 PM
We are quickly getting to Duff Jimmy time, McLeish was not given enough time to save us, we are getting very close to the same scenario in my opinion.:rolleyes:
25-11-2024, 01:22 PM
We are quickly getting to Duff Jimmy time, McLeish was not given enough time to save us, we are getting very close to the same scenario in my opinion.:rolleyes:
I had a very similar thought whilst drowning my sorrows in the boozer in Dundee on Saturday night.
Hibiza
25-11-2024, 01:24 PM
Complete change in management is immediately reqd ( despite Tomorrow's result ) , it's just untenable.
Green Reaper
25-11-2024, 01:30 PM
Exactly my thoughts too
25-11-2024, 01:33 PM
Have thought the same. It was that comeback at Tynecastle that probably relegated us by buying Duffy more time. 2-0 down at half time iirc, goals from Andy Walker and Pat McGinlay grabbed us a point but meant we didn't get McLeish in when we should have done.
25-11-2024, 01:40 PM
Have thought the same. It was that comeback at Tynecastle that probably relegated us by buying Duffy more time. 2-0 down at half time iirc, goals from Andy Walker and Pat McGinlay grabbed us a point but meant we didn't get McLeish in when we should have done.
I remember that game, when was it though? Was it around this stage in the season or later?
25-11-2024, 01:40 PM
2-0 after about 10 minutes was it not? genuinely thought that they were going to get revenge for 0-7 at that point.
25-11-2024, 01:49 PM
I remember that game, when was it though? Was it around this stage in the season or later?
New years day 1998 i think , Fulton got both Hearts goals in the first 10 minutes , Pretty sure Kevin Harper nearly won it for us in the end
Greenio
25-11-2024, 01:58 PM
They just backed him. You dont do that then fire him after the next game
I think the CEO should step down asap
Gordons sell holding stake to BK
Keep DG (hes not the issue, its thise under m above him) and focus on jan window as our season savior, as it was last season
Let Youhan go asao and a few others
Sign a forward, mid n new goal keeper
Get Bowie back asap
Avoid the drop .. BK take 75%, bring in a new manager n team
25-11-2024, 04:57 PM
Keep DG (hes not the issue, its thise under m above him) and focus on jan window as our season savior, as it was last season
Get Bowie back asap
Whilst I don’t disagree that there are multiple problems, I have no idea how anyone can come to the conclusion David Gray isn’t one of them. He’s shown absolutely nothing to suggest he knows what he’s doing. And a lot of those under him, are there because of him.
25-11-2024, 05:02 PM
We’re more Hibs not top of the league and then lost 7 in a row?
I was at his last game via Motherwell, Hibs went 2-0 up early doors and then lost 6-2
Just_Jimmy
25-11-2024, 05:10 PM
I don’t understand what your silly emojis mean. Explain in grown up words please.He means you're a Hearts supporter. A jambo.
No hibs fan would ever speak about David Gray as you do, even considering the current situation.
Sent from my SM-G991B using Tapatalk
Just_Jimmy
25-11-2024, 05:12 PM
Deleted
25-11-2024, 05:19 PM
Whilst I don’t disagree that there are multiple problems, I have no idea how anyone can come to the conclusion David Gray isn’t one of them. He’s shown absolutely nothing to suggest he knows what he’s doing. And a lot of those under him, are there because of him.
Agreed. It’s really sad to see but he’s been awful. We all want him to succeed but the longer it’s gone on the worst it’s looked.
25-11-2024, 06:39 PM
Has he gone yet? Asking for a friend 🙄
timewilltell
25-11-2024, 07:24 PM
Get Bowie back asap
David Gray is not the issue!!!?Are you for real??🙄
Contador
25-11-2024, 07:37 PM
Get Bowie back asap
Put yourself in BK’s shoes, why would they stump up £12million for an additional 50%?
Don’t mean to sound sarcy, genuine question
Greenio
25-11-2024, 07:56 PM
Sorry, should have clarified.
Not the main issue.
Yeah, you can point to the odd sub or selection decision, but outside of them...
Its this team and the decisions and culture that sits behind it thats the main issue for me
Greenio
25-11-2024, 07:59 PM
Put yourself in BK’s shoes, why would they stump up £12million for an additional 50%?
Don’t mean to sound sarcy, genuine question
I saw that as their plan from the off tbh
Why would they want 25% and no power to call the shots
They want controlling stake, id say!
25-11-2024, 08:06 PM
Yup, makes no sense otherwise.
Basildon Hibs
25-11-2024, 08:12 PM
👍👍
Sorry, should have clarified.
Not the main issue.
Yeah, you can point to the odd sub or selection decision, but outside of them...
Its this team and the decisions and culture that sits behind it thats the main issue for me
The odd sub? It’s every match! Same with selection decisions, he continually picks players who aren’t performing and doesn’t appear to hold any of them accountable.
This team, the team SDG is paid to coach, keep fit and set out the tactics and style of play for? And failing at every turn.
The culture he should be setting? He spoken of non-negotiables, then stood back and backed players who have been pathetic.
Sorry mate, I appreciate and understand your backing of Gray, but he is responsible for a lot of the situation we’re in in the league.
Greenio
25-11-2024, 08:49 PM
The odd sub? It’s every match! Same with selection decisions, he continually picks players who aren’t performing and doesn’t appear to hold any of them accountable.
This team, the team SDG is paid to coach, keep fit and set out the tactics and style of play for? And failing at every turn.
The culture he should be setting? He spoken of non-negotiables, then stood back and backed players who have been pathetic.
Sorry mate, I appreciate and understand your backing of Gray, but he is responsible for a lot of the situation we’re in in the league.
He bares some responsibility yes but i think the biggest and bigger issue is the team below him and the leadership and decisions above him
I also think he does hold them accountable. Hes held himself well in what is a **** show of a situation to try and manage a 'team' in.
25-11-2024, 08:56 PM
What does Ian Gordon, Ben Kensell, Malky MacKay know about Jim Duffy and the harsh lessons of that ? Absolutely nothing. They refused good council from Ben Foley and BKG, have no understanding of the Duff Jimmy scenario, and will blindly plod along in ignorance and incompetence.
K-Zazu
25-11-2024, 09:01 PM
SFA wouldn’t allow that I’m afraid.
He bares some responsibility yes but i think the biggest and bigger issue is the team below him and the leadership and decisions above him
I also think he does hold them accountable. Hes held himself well in what is a **** show of a situation to try and manage a 'team' in.
In what way does he hold them accountable?
Play poorly, keep getting picked every match. Get sent off, straight back in after suspension.
In this team, there’s not a single player can show why he shouldn’t be dropped. Yet hardly one has been dropped, and of those that have, Campbell has returned to the starting 11 quick enough. Only molitnikov appears to have been bombed from the side.
The club above him is a total mess. But that doesn’t mean he can’t get the players fitter, get them playing with better tactics and game planning, get them organised better defensively, coach them to execute the basics properly.
Greenio
25-11-2024, 09:34 PM
In what way does he hold them accountable?
Play poorly, keep getting picked every match. Get sent off, straight back in after suspension.
In this team, there’s not a single player can show why he shouldn’t be dropped. Yet hardly one has been dropped, and of those that have, Campbell has returned to the starting 11 quick enough. Only molitnikov appears to have been bombed from the side.
The club above him is a total mess. But that doesn’t mean he can’t get the players fitter, get them playing with better tactics and game planning, get them organised better defensively, coach them to execute the basics properly.
I mean in the way hes attributed the individual errors to the people that have made them.
Obviously im not sitting here saying hes not got work to do. Team loses you can easily say buck stops with manager.
Think is an awful lot if bucks have been stopping at our managers... Clearly its not stopping with them
Fish rots from the head
25-11-2024, 10:21 PM
SFA wouldn’t allow that I’m afraid.
I'm in little doubt that that'll change in the near future.
25-11-2024, 10:43 PM
The new St Johnstone manager has won 3 out of 7 games
More reason why I don’t believe the “it’s not down to the manager” or “another manager won’t improve us” chat
The issue we have, is we’ve picked the wrong ones in Maloney, Monty and Gray.
Get a good one and we’ll get wins and climb the table
seanshow
25-11-2024, 11:01 PM
The new St Johnstone manager has won 3 out of 7 games
More reason why I don’t believe the “it’s not down to the manager” or “another manager won’t improve us” chat
The issue we have, is we’ve picked the wrong ones in Maloney, Monty and Gray.
Get a good one and we’ll get wins and climb the table
Im all for SDG learning how to be a Manager in the lower leagues, but not with us as the expirement.
After the sheep game its over.
26-11-2024, 11:55 AM
"The Hibs board are understood to have identified the trilogy of matches incorporating Dundee and this week's encounters as the barometer of whether Gray will remain in charge going into December."
From the Scotsman
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
NC1875
26-11-2024, 01:10 PM
"The Hibs board are understood to have identified the trilogy of matches incorporating Dundee and this week's encounters as the barometer of whether Gray will remain in charge going into December."
From the Scotsman
So he’s getting sacked then. Weeks too late just like with Monthgomery
Clowns.
26-11-2024, 01:14 PM
So he’s getting sacked then. Weeks too late just like with Monthgomery
Clowns.
As much as it looks likely, you’ve jumped the gun a bit. If they’ve given him 3 games, you can’t decide after one that time is up.
Wonder if we lose tonight if he’ll still get the third game? Might have been you have these three games to start to turn it around in which case we could lose tonight but win at the weekend.
26-11-2024, 01:20 PM
I'd rather they decided based on the damming evidence so far including the likes of Kelty Hearts rather than the "trilogy of matches", one of which we've already been battered in. Who comes up with this nonsense? Was the same with Montgomery. Should have been sacked as soon as we didn't get top 6. Why draw out the misery and hinder ourselves further?
26-11-2024, 01:22 PM
He need to win tonight to get the oppertunity of Motherwell at the weekend
You can’t lose 4-1 to Dundee and at home to Aberdeen and expect to keep your job if you beat motherwell.
26-11-2024, 01:25 PM
You can’t lose 4-1 to Dundee and at home to Aberdeen and expect to keep your job if you beat motherwell.
It's a nonsense.
So if we beat Aberdeen tonight then Motherwell guff us, then what? It's kicking the can down the road. Again. Everyone knows how this ends. I'm sure even David Gray knows what's coming deep down.
Even a win tonight merely papers over the cracks.
26-11-2024, 03:22 PM
I dont care, we just need some points on the board before the rest of them get further away and it gets even harder to catch 2 clubs.
26-11-2024, 03:23 PM
Completely agree, actually think it could be a bad thing for us going forward as it will give gray longer in charge
The longer the season goes on the more I feel the new guy won’t have enough time to turn it round
26-11-2024, 03:36 PM
I dont care, we just need some points on the board before the rest of them get further away and it gets even harder to catch 2 clubs.
Agree with this, points are points and if Gray is the man to get them then even better for me.
Well to date it's been patiently obvious he's not.
Basildon Hibs
26-11-2024, 05:03 PM
I really hope Gray is emptied tonight - win, lose or draw.
The longer he's here, the more damage he's doing.
NC1875
26-11-2024, 05:06 PM
As much as it looks likely, you’ve jumped the gun a bit. If they’ve given him 3 games, you can’t decide after one that time is up.
Wonder if we lose tonight if he’ll still get the third game? Might have been you have these three games to start to turn it around in which case we could lose tonight but win at the weekend.
Jumped the gun possibly aye, but I think everyone knows the inevitable outcome.
GreenPJ
26-11-2024, 05:07 PM
If we win tonight I don't see any circumstances the board would sack him without looking more ridiculous than they are. They seemingly have given him these 3 games and suspect that its a requirement to get at least 4 points otherwise he is gone.
26-11-2024, 05:08 PM
What damage is he doing if we win?
He's not getting the sack if we win, that's for sure!
26-11-2024, 05:17 PM
Bizarre.
I hope he wins, wins well, gets something to build on and then goes on to do so.
It may be a forlorn hope but it's a hope nonetheless.
The longer we're on this run the stronger the argument is that he's doing damage, that's harder to deny.
Any sort of win under any sorts of circumstances the surely there's no imminent chat of him leaving?
26-11-2024, 05:29 PM
What damage is he doing if we win?
He's not getting the sack if we win, that's for sure!
I can only imagine his thinking is similar to mine in that I can’t see a great deal changing if we win tonight
I think if we win, Gray will get longer but we’ll continue to be poor for the rest of the season which will ultimately end in relegation.
I would love nothing more than to win tonight, win at the weekend and go on a run where we compeletley turn things around.
I just can’t see it.
26-11-2024, 05:59 PM
Bizarre.
I hope he wins, wins well, gets something to build on and then goes on to do so.
It may be a forlorn hope but it's a hope nonetheless.
The longer we're on this run the stronger the argument is that he's doing damage, that's harder to deny.
Any sort of win under any sorts of circumstances the surely there's no imminent chat of him leaving?
That would just be papering over the cracks.
We need him gone and the rest of the failed experiments to follow.
Paul1642
26-11-2024, 08:39 PM
Well, if his time is almost up at least he went out with a bit of fight tonight.
kentao
26-11-2024, 09:02 PM
Hopefully Gray gets more time and his first January signing is a goalkeeper, What a difference a competent keeper would make to our season, Bursik is bad but Smith is terrible the cross was horrific but that overhead kick attempt takes some beating, truly laughable attempt.
If Ellie Youan is going to continue to perform how he did tonight and put in the same work ethic can we keep him a bit longer?
N.Cadden needs more game time and its a great feeling having someone who can hit a free kick again.
Special mention to Block 7 and the "Sack the Board" Banner Hopefully the Gordons take notice.
26-11-2024, 09:04 PM
Based on their effort tonight I think it’s fair to say the players are still behind him. What he or any other manager can do with two of the worst goalkeepers I’ve ever seen at Hibs I’m not sure.
26-11-2024, 09:05 PM
14 games
1 win
9 points
Bottom of the league
As much as I’d like to say he deserves more time, he just simply doesn’t deserve it.
Players are playing for him sure, but that doesn’t mean much when you can’t win a game.
The swap to 352 was nice, but about 10 games too late imo.
We can’t plod along just thinking it will get better because the players like him
Septimus
26-11-2024, 09:07 PM
The notion that the team are not playing for SDG was surely put to bed tonight..
26-11-2024, 09:08 PM
The notion that the team are not playing for SDG was surely put to bed tonight..
I’m not sure anyone has ever thought/believed that though?
I think the issue has been individual errors and then poor coaching and game management from Gray and his staff
26-11-2024, 09:09 PM
Based on their effort tonight I think it’s fair to say the players are still behind him. What he or any other manager can do with two of the worst goalkeepers I’ve ever seen at Hibs I’m not sure.
He could pick Boruc ?
CathroMustStay
26-11-2024, 09:11 PM
14 games
1 win
9 points
Bottom of the league
As much as I’d like to say he deserves more time, he just simply doesn’t deserve it.
Players are playing for him sure, but that doesn’t mean much when you can’t win a game.
The swap to 352 was nice, but about 10 games too late imo.
We can’t plod along just thinking it will get better because the players like him
Gray should have been sacked, but absolutely won't be now. That's the bottom line.
We'll probably still keep him on for Parkhead if we get another draw, and 10 points from 15 league games, at Fir Park.
sean04
26-11-2024, 09:13 PM
Don't understand the Campbell sub? He's miles off it and offers nothing. Everytime he plays we are worse
26-11-2024, 09:22 PM
Its still a matter of when not if we pull the trigger
My only hope is behind the scenes we've handed over football operations to BK who are conducting a process to bring in a new manager ahead of the January window
Hibees1973
26-11-2024, 09:22 PM
1 minute away from being sacked.
Another random, totally disorganised display, particularly in defence. Some will say Aberdeen were as bad, but they are 23 points ahead of us in the table.
I expect it will rumble on until the weekend, when we will get another comedy display by the defence & goalkeeper.
26-11-2024, 09:24 PM
Don't understand the Campbell sub? He's miles off it and offers nothing. Everytime he plays we are worse
Apparently he’s got a really good record against Aberdeen. Aberdeen fans saying he always scores against them so that might have formed part of the thinking?
It is funny how some players just seem to do well against certain clubs, I know he scored a hat trick against them but not sure about other games.
26-11-2024, 09:26 PM
Gray should have been sacked, but absolutely won't be now. That's the bottom line.
We'll probably still keep him on for Parkhead if we get another draw, and 10 points from 15 league games, at Fir Park.
I agree I don’t think he will be sacked
But he 100% should, the players “playing for him” shouldn’t even come into question when you’re on a record of 1 win in 14
The players are probably playing for their own pride at this rate
26-11-2024, 09:29 PM
Campbell came on and was immediately roasted by Devlin which resulted in the corner for the 2nd goal. He looked so slow, which is worrying when his energy is supposed to be his best asset.
Stanton Spence
26-11-2024, 09:33 PM
It’s never really been a problem with the players playing for him the problem is that the players are just not good enough
supermcginn
26-11-2024, 09:33 PM
It's a huge blindspot of Gray's, he's one of the worst players in the league, my heart sinks when I see him starting or coming on.
sean04
26-11-2024, 09:38 PM
It's a huge blindspot of Gray's, he's one of the worst players in the league, my heart sinks when I see him starting or coming on.
Surely levitt is a better option, can put his foot on the ball and pick a pass. Rudi is capable of creating chances and looking after the ball aswell. Just don't see why campbell gets the nod
26-11-2024, 09:38 PM
Someone posted the highlights of the 6-0 win when he scored a hattrick earlier today - and tbf he certainly looked a player then. And he enjoys the odd goal against Aberdeen.
A goal down and chasing a way back into the game, is it THAT mad a move? I'm not going to defend his recent form of performances, which have been very poor.
But imo someone who has a history of getting the odd goal from midfield is maybe worth a punt at that stage.
26-11-2024, 09:40 PM
I was at the game and not seen any replays but I was cursing Campbell for not winning a ball that should have been his all day long shortly before they scored their third. I think you’re maybe a bit OTTin your assessment of him but he’s certainly not good enough for us.
26-11-2024, 09:42 PM
If Gray should be sacked it's probably not off the back of tonight's game let's be honest. He'll get Saturday still and that will decide his fate for another week. It wasn't a win and it wasn't perfect either but tonight is probably the first time in 2/3 months that there's been a sense of joy coming out of Hibs from something on the park. If we can't harness that jubilation into motivation to go get a hugely needed win on Saturday then it's probably curtains.
But for now, let's see what he can do with this opportunity.
26-11-2024, 09:44 PM
I was at the game and not seen any replays but I was cursing Campbell for not winning a ball that should have been his all day long shortly before they scored their third. I think you’re maybe a bit OTTin your assessment of him but he’s certainly not good enough for us.
Agreed - his fresh legs were outrun just before the corner for the 2nd goal too.
FastEddieFelson
26-11-2024, 09:47 PM
Campbell did win the knock down in the build up to the third to be fair.
But his attempt at following the man before the corner for their second, just after he came on, was absolutely pathetic.
26-11-2024, 09:48 PM
Someone posted the highlights of the 6-0 win when he scored a hattrick earlier today - and tbf he certainly looked a player then. And he enjoys the odd goal against Aberdeen.
A goal down and chasing a way back into the game, is it THAT mad a move? I'm not going to defend his recent form of performances, which have been very poor.
But imo someone who has a history of getting the odd goal from midfield is maybe worth a punt at that stage.
We weren’t a goal down, he came on at 1-1 and we conceded not long after. Watch him try to catch Devlin for their 2nd goal, it’s pitiful.
26-11-2024, 10:05 PM
That goal might just have saved SDG. Certainly knocks the players are not playing for him on the head.
A win at Motherwell and he might just have done the unthinkable 🤞
26-11-2024, 10:12 PM
But his attempt at following the man before the corner for their second, just after he came on, was absolutely pathetic.
It was Gayle that headed it across to Rocky
Chorley Hibee
26-11-2024, 10:16 PM
That goal might just have saved SDG. Certainly knocks the players are not playing for him on the head.
A win at Motherwell and he might just have done the unthinkable 🤞
Can't help but think it's just another week kicking the can down the road.
Similar to the 2-2 at Tynecastle under Duff Jimmy.
26-11-2024, 10:29 PM
In my eyes he's done enough to make it to the next game.
26-11-2024, 10:34 PM
What is it that makes you think that?
Genuine question because I just struggle to see any reason to give him more time
26-11-2024, 10:54 PM
It can't be on a game to game basis though. What if he draws on Saturday? Just keep getting games until we eventually lose?
Think he's getting til Jan at least now.
Contador
26-11-2024, 11:47 PM
It can't be on a game to game basis though. What if he draws on Saturday? Just keep getting games until we eventually lose?
Think he's getting til Jan at least now.
Yep we either bite the bullet and he goes tomorrow or we stick until January. No point floundering.
Not much a new manager is going to change with this current lot and the very difficult fixture list, which has only 2 home games in the next 7 then Rangers.
27-11-2024, 12:08 AM
Yep we either bite the bullet and he goes tomorrow or we stick until January. No point floundering.
Not much a new manager is going to change with this current lot and the very difficult fixture list, which has only 2 home games in the next 7 then Rangers.
Is that what you think will happen or what you want to happen with stick until January?
I think any other manager in the league gets more out of this squad than gray is getting. He has just had 8 winnable games and won 0. 4/24pts.
I know you haven't said that it's acceptable, but if they let this continue until January then we are relegated.
Murphys Touch
27-11-2024, 04:56 AM
Is that what you think will happen or what you want to happen with stick until January?
I think any other manager in the league gets more out of this squad than gray is getting. He has just had 8 winnable games and won 0. 4/24pts.
I know you haven't said that it's acceptable, but if they let this continue until January then we are relegated.
Makes keeping him during the international break even more bizarre!!! New gaffer coming into 3 “winnable” games vs one coming into Celtic, Hearts and Aberdeen away
If he isn’t away today, no way are they replacing him before these matches. Will want the optics of a new manager at least having a sniff of winning. So if not today, we have DG until Jan minimum
Should have sacked him 17 days ago, if not should not have released that daft statement as either way it’s bollocks. Sound out a new manager and even after Dundee defeat, get rid and bring new guy in.
We are 100% kicking the can - DG needs to get 4/5 victories in next 7/8 games….
may 21/05/2016
27-11-2024, 05:01 AM
Another random positive post
27-11-2024, 06:05 AM
He is still learning and would always make mistakes during this period. What he can't legislate for is the ridiculous recruitment that has seen him with 2 of the worst goalkeepers in the league..we are bottom on 9 points because of our goalkeepers who have shipped at least 7 points this season..a decent goalkeeper and we would be in 6th or 7th at this point. I don't think we should have appointed another rookie manager but you simply can't blame him for this dreadful situation.
I appreciate other folks opinions but surely last night just papers over the cracks.
1 win in 14 and folk think he should get more time?
Last nights fighting performance is the minimum we should accept and let’s be honest it wasn’t difficult to play better following the weekends game.
We move onto the Motherwell game where once again we are saying it’s a must win game. How long have we been saying this?
27-11-2024, 07:04 AM
If he’s being judged on the Dundee game, the game last night and the Motherwell game at the weekend (as has been reported), then so far surely he’s getting sacked?
Last night doesn’t nullify the Dundee game.
It’s nae good for our season if we’re just plodding along with “need a result in the next game or he’s gone”.
It’s still 1 win in 14. Sorry, but my opinions no changing based on a last min draw at home to Aberdeen.
Paulie Walnuts
27-11-2024, 07:06 AM
If he’s being judged on the Dundee game, the game last night and the Motherwell game at the weekend (as has been reported), then so far surely he’s getting sacked?
It’s nae good for our season if we’re just plodding along with “need a result in the next game or he’s gone”.
It’s still 1 win in 14. Sorry, but my opinions no changing based on a last min draw at home to Aberdeen.
Yup. Anything short of a win on Saturday and that should be the end of it.
AdidasHibernian
27-11-2024, 07:08 AM
Agree with the majority as stated.
It was positive we never lost considering how the last 10 minutes panned out however it papers over the cracks.
1 win in 14 is sackable at any level for any manager and it should have happened after St Midden never mind Dundee. I think the longer he stays the sooner we become to far adrift even come January as we've got a brutal run coming up. Surely if he doesn't win against Motherwell he goes this time..
27-11-2024, 07:09 AM
A draw at home to Aberdeen will never be good enough when we need wins. Gray is a very lucky boy that Rocky salvaged a point at the end or he would be out of a job today. My biggest hope is it acts as some sort of springboard. There was a bit of fight there.
Lendo
27-11-2024, 07:11 AM
As entertaining as last night was, it was also a masterclass in what's been Gray's biggest problem all season, conceding late goals. Last night changes nothing for me. If anything it only concerns me more.
27-11-2024, 07:12 AM
Again it's one half decent performance, you cant just erase the past 5/6 months of pish because we got a draw against Aberdeen.
His subs last night again were questionable, a keeper he signed as back up to an already sheite keeper let us down, and the likes of Triantis and Kwon again showed us they are nowhere near good enough, along with that huddy up front who all 3 were wanted by our manager.
I wouldnt trust Gray to have any input in signing players in January, and his tactics during games leave a lot to be desired.
Duff Jimmy is happening again, we can see it and we need to act now.
Paulie Walnuts
27-11-2024, 07:14 AM
A draw at home to Aberdeen will never be good enough when we need wins. Gray is a very lucky boy that Rocky salvaged a point at the end or he would be out of a job today. My biggest hope is it acts as some sort of springboard. There was a bit of fight there.
This is it for me. We’re long past the stage of being able to write off must win games because a draw gives us something to build on.
We had to win last night and it didn’t matter how it came about. A draw with a decent performance was just another example of us falling short again.
27-11-2024, 07:18 AM
Completely agree. You just need to look at our recent fixtures and how bad our results have been in very winnable games
3-3 at home to Aberdeen
4-1 defeat away to Dundee
2-1 defeat at home to St Mirren
1-1 draw at home to Dundee United
0-0 draw away to Ross County
1-1 draw at home to hearts
2-1 defeat at home to Motherwell
3-2 defeat away to Dundee United
That is absolutely shocking and if it was anyone other than Gray they would be long gone.
4/24 points available from those games. If someone started a thread saying what to we expect from those people would be saying between 15-20
5 out of the 8 games at home too.
Those run of games are probably as good as you get in this league
There is zero, absolutely zero defending it. Scoring a last minute equaliser or showing a bit of pride doesn’t change it imo.
27-11-2024, 07:19 AM
It was Gayle that headed it across to Rocky
I think FastEddieFelson is meaning the header just outside the box before the ball was crossed for Gayle to knockdown to Rocky.
27-11-2024, 07:22 AM
He must go but he won’t because it is a huge condemnation of our stewardship to highlight their mistakes once again. They’ll all sink together, with fans looking on and moaning incessantly.
Greenio
27-11-2024, 07:31 AM
Said before, sacking DG is not the solution to our problem.
Honestly, if were in a relegation fight, id prefer him to take us into it. Just dont see anyone else theyd appoint doing better
Im not askin anyone to agree with me.
BK needs to go
Gordons need to sell
Black Knights take majority share
Grey keeps us up
New manager comes in
Thats how i hope this season plays out
27-11-2024, 07:33 AM
Honestly, if were in a relegation fight, id prefer him to take us into it. Just dont see anyone else theyd appoint doing better
BK needs to go
Gordons need to sell
Grey keeps us up
New manager comes in
And Gray wins us the Scottish Cup. Again.
Trinity Hibee
BK needs to go
Gordons need to sell
Grey keeps us up
New manager comes in
Would take that right now
Paulie Walnuts
BK needs to go
Gordons need to sell
Grey keeps us up
New manager comes in
I don’t understand.
Sacking Gray isn’t our problem so you’d keep him. But if he does manage to turn us around and keep us up, you’d sack him.. but when he’s not getting results and isn’t turning us around you would keep him :confused:
27-11-2024, 07:36 AM
1 win in 14 is a similar run that has seen multiple managers sacked. Managers with way more credit in the bank than Gray who has zero. If we change now then we have time on our side.
It’s been said numerous games in a row now but Saturday is surely a must win for SDG. If it’s true he’s being judged on the results in the three games after the break he’s going to have to get three points.
He had a weird interaction with a punter. Guy was slating the defending and wasn't exactly wrong.
Gray took the huff and kept glaring at him on and off for the rest of the game.
If he thinks that's harsh criticism then every other manager would like a word.
27-11-2024, 07:40 AM
Again it's one half decent performance, you cant just erase the past 5/6 months of pish because we got a draw against Aberdeen.
His subs last night again were questionable, a keeper he signed as back up to an already sheite keeper let us down, and the likes of Triantis and Kwon again showed us they are nowhere near good enough, along with that huddy up front who all 3 were wanted by our manager.
I wouldnt trust Gray to have any input in signing players in January, and his tactics during games leave a lot to be desired.
Duff Jimmy is happening again, we can see it and we need to act now.
I liked how he tried something different last night and the back 3 worked quite well first half. He should have switched to a back 4 way earlier as it was far too easy to get in between Cadden and Iredale.
I disagree re Triantis. I thought he was decent last night.
DIXIHIBS
27-11-2024, 07:43 AM
Any new manager would still have the same goalies. If we had a Craig Gordon we would be nowhere near the bottom of the league. Yes there is other problems but the goalkeeping situation is costing us dearly.
Trinity Hibee
27-11-2024, 07:46 AM
Any new manager would still have the same goalies. If we had a Craig Gordon we would be nowhere near the bottom of the league. Yes there is other problems but the goalkeeping situation is costing us dearly.
Hard to argue with that. Some horror mistakes from the keepers this season
27-11-2024, 07:47 AM
Gordon is in goal for the team level on points with us
27-11-2024, 07:48 AM
He's much better then we have though. We could have Bursik and Smith in goals at the same time and I still think Gordon would be the better option.
NC1875
27-11-2024, 07:56 AM
BK needs to go
Gordons need to sell
Grey keeps us up
New manager comes in
Another manager has 1 win in 14 ?
Na, never in a million years. We can talk about the board all we want, David Gray is a terrible football manager and has a mid table squad bottom of the league.
It’s on him and he should be gone asap and replaced with someone who has the experience to get us out of this mess.
27-11-2024, 07:58 AM
We need to start winning games. Draws are not good enough. He can't stay in post unless we start getting 3 points on the board more often than not.
27-11-2024, 08:14 AM
But if Gordon was in goals for us we wouldn’t be in the position we are
If Marshall had signed on for this season we would be mid table.
Mikey_1875
27-11-2024, 08:28 AM
It’s a tricky one. His record is rank and I still don’t think he is the right man for the job.
The manner of the result last night definitely played a big part as if it had finished 1-1 then it would be as you were for the majority. I just don’t see the point in scuppering a potential turning point for the sake of an extra few days to find a new manager. Obviously there is the risk of just further delaying the inevitable if he wins one and then goes on a similar run to this one straight after.
The way I see it is he won’t be sacked before Saturday anyway so we don’t really have any other option than to hope for a massive turnaround.
27-11-2024, 08:30 AM
It was good to scrape a point at the end twice but it doesn't change a thing. David Gray is not a football manager and is out of his depth. It was a howling appointment, why Hibs gambled yet again with a rookie manager who was only in charge for a few games as a stand in is baffling. Maloney and Monty failed due to lack of experience. LJ failed because he signed drivel and he thought he knew more about Scottish football than he actually did. We need an experienced manager with good knowledge of Scottish football. Macinnes is probably going to the Rangers so it looks like Robinson is our best bet. 1 win in 14 is nowhere near good enough
He is still learning and would always make mistakes during this period. What he can't legislate for is the ridiculous recruitment that has seen him with 2 of the worst goalkeepers in the league..we are bottom on 9 points because of our goalkeepers who have shipped at least 7 points this season..a decent goalkeeper and we would be in 6th or 7th at this point. I don't think we should have appointed another rookie manager but you simply can't blame him for this dreadful situation.
Under no circumstances should a Hibs manager still be learning, ridiculous.
Murphys Touch
27-11-2024, 08:56 AM
Basically this in a nutshell - I know you will get people saying “Mogga, Collins and Stubbs were new managers” but every man and their dog could see this summer we were in the deep. We needed a huge experienced personality in there
27-11-2024, 08:56 AM
Yup. Heard the same chat about Montgomery too. It's too easy an excuse to make for poor managers.
27-11-2024, 09:07 AM
It was good to actually enjoy a game for a change last night.
No surprise that we change the shape and start actually looking a threat throughout the game. We can’t play with one up top, we’ve struggled with it for as long as I can remember. Should have made the change weeks ago and we’d have more points on the board as we’d have scored more goals.
Result doesn’t really change much for me, it’ll be difficult to pick up many results with what we have in goals.
27-11-2024, 09:09 AM
We would NEVER accept any other first time rookie manager so why should we accept Gray.
He's been shocking and still needs to go.
Trinity Hibee
27-11-2024, 09:13 AM
What does it say that it appears we’ve been grooming Gray for this job since he retired and this is where we’ve ended up?
27-11-2024, 09:26 AM
BK needs to go
Gordons need to sell
Grey keeps us up
New manager comes in
It's the only potential solution to us staying up this season. All the things you've listed aren't going to happen soon and if we wait for all that to happen before binning SDG we will be in the Championship.
Greenio
27-11-2024, 10:35 AM
I don’t understand.
Sacking Gray isn’t our problem so you’d keep him. But if he does manage to turn us around and keep us up, you’d sack him.. but when he’s not getting results and isn’t turning us around you would keep him :confused:
Nah, I said sacking him is not the solution to our problem. Our problem - the big one, thats landed us in this situation, is the club owners and management. Sacking DG doesnt address that, in fact, it stops us from addressing it.
Folk always say, 'our issue isn't sacking too many managers, it just not hiring good ones' This might be true, but clearly the people in charge aren't capable of doing that, or really, arent capable of supporting any manager to succeed in the role
Also, turning it around to stay up this season, doesn't mean he's the right person for next season, just means he got us through a total **** show of a time and he goes with our best wishes
Change the people in charge, not the ones they drop in the shooting line, or else they'll keep on dropping them
TrinityHFC
27-11-2024, 10:48 AM
We would NEVER accept any other first time rookie manager so why should we accept Gray.
We would, we have and many have been successful including winning trophies.
27-11-2024, 11:03 AM
We would, we have and many have been successful including winning trophies.
I meant in the current state we are/were in.
Can't help but think it's just another week kicking the can down the road.
Similar to the 2-2 at Tynecastle under Duff Jimmy.
Correct, there is a staggering level of complacency around Hibs at the moment, a bit of oh well it will be alright on the night. This spread around all areas, board, coaching staff and elements of the fan base. People we are bottom of the league with abysmal performances to date. Time to wake and smell the coffee.
Basildon Hibs
27-11-2024, 11:25 AM
Yup. Anything short of a win on Saturday and that should be the end of it.
Win (😁), lose or draw, he should be emptied regardless.
McGruber
27-11-2024, 11:40 AM
It’s a tricky one. His record is rank and I still don’t think he is the right man for the job.
The manner of the result last night definitely played a big part as if it had finished 1-1 then it would be as you were for the majority. I just don’t see the point in scuppering a potential turning point for the sake of an extra few days to find a new manager. Obviously there is the risk of just further delaying the inevitable if he wins one and then goes on a similar run to this one straight after.
The way I see it is he won’t be sacked before Saturday anyway so we don’t really have any other option than to hope for a massive turnaround.
Don't think he'll be sacked before Sarurday but would think the work is getting done in the background (hopefully by Black Knights) on arranging the next manager.
Be great to win Saturday, desperately need the 3 points, but it won't save Gray IMO. The time for salvaging it has been and gone
27-11-2024, 12:04 PM
I liked how he tried something different last night and the back 3 worked quite well first half. He should have switched to a back 4 way earlier as it was far too easy to get in between Cadden and Iredale.
I disagree re Triantis. I thought he was decent last night.
He can't do anything about the dreadful goalkeepers that have been signed in the summer. An aging David Marshal between the sticks and we wouldn't be in the relegation zone.
27-11-2024, 12:07 PM
They should always be learning - I think it’s how much learning and how big the gaps are that is the issue.
I’m not sure how much last night changes for Gray - defeat on Saturday means he’s taken 1 point from 9 and extends the one win in x number of games to an even more unacceptable level.
I’m not even sure a point on Saturday is enough, 2 points from 9 and another winless game added to the stats but it might come down to the manner of the performance. We have, however, been there before this season and it would be a far cry from signs of recovery.
So, if the story of the three games being the barometer is accurate, then the only logical conclusion is that it’s win or bust for Gray on Saturday. 4 points from 9, something from the toughest game of the three at home - particularly the manner of the draw - and an away win should and probably will afford him more time.
The issue then, is if we go on to lose the next game and/or the one after. Realistically, other than getting wins on the board consistently, there’s no way out of this “win or bust” cycle that he’s in.
27-11-2024, 12:09 PM
FWIW I have no qualms about appointing an up and coming coach that’s served their apprenticeship fully and ready to take the step into management.
My complaint with Gray getting the job is he skipped 2 or 3 steps. His only experience of coaching was 3rd in command to 4 failed managers.
If you compare his experience to someone like John Kennedy for example, although both would be classed as rookies, their experience and qualifications are completely night and day.
Trinity Hibee
27-11-2024, 12:11 PM
They should always be learning - I think it’s how much learning and how big the gaps are that is the issue.
I’m not sure how much last night changes for Gray - defeat on Saturday means he’s taken 1 point from 9 and extends the one win in x number of games to an even more unacceptable level.
I’m not even sure a point on Saturday is enough, 2 points from 9 and another winless game added to the stats but it might come down to the manner of the performance. We have, however, been there before this season and it would be a far cry from signs of recovery.
So, if the story of the three games being the barometer is accurate, then the only logical conclusion is that it’s win or bust for Gray on Saturday. 4 points from 9, something from the toughest game of the three at home - particularly the manner of the draw - and an away win should and probably will afford him more time.
The issue then, is if we go on to lose the next game and/or the one after. Realistically, other than getting wins on the board consistently, there’s no way out of this “win or bust” cycle that he’s in.
Your last point is exactly right, a win at weekend keeps him in a job but it’s only the start, we need a few wins over the next few weeks and we have some tough games in that run. It feels inevitable sadly so we are only prolonging everyone’s agony
FRes Hibbie
27-11-2024, 12:15 PM
Sweeping-statement nonsense. Mowbray, JC and Stubbs were all rookies with us.
27-11-2024, 12:20 PM
Sweeping-statement nonsense. Mowbray, JC and Stubbs were all rookies with us.
I meant regarding the position we found ourselves in with previous managers over the last couple of years.
We needed someone with experience that knew what they were doing. We got Gray. Which is a nonsense!
Paulie Walnuts
27-11-2024, 12:39 PM
Trying to look at things even with a degree of optimism that’s still tinged with a degree of realism, our next 5 fixtures take us through to the halfway point of the season. As you said, it probably is win or bust on Saturday, so if we put that down as 3 points, then you have to presume we’ll lose against Celtic. A win against RC, a draw at Pittodrie and a draw at Tynecastle would have us at the half way stage with 17 points.
That still leaves us short of what is generally considered a safe amount of points (40 I believe is generally considered the magic number?) if we repeat that over the second half of the season, so it probably still leaves us in that cycle that you talk about where he’s a game or two away from it being a bust, even if he has a very decent next 5 games.
I just don’t see any way he turns this around if I’m honest. He’s left himself with a hell of a job to even get us to safety, never mind the heady heights of 8th or so.
27-11-2024, 12:54 PM
He can't do anything about the dreadful goalkeepers that have been signed in the summer. An aging David Marshal between the sticks and we wouldn't be in the relegation zone.
I know but the 3 goals all came from that area. The goalie may make mistakes but that doesn't change the fact that they getting in down our right hand side time after time and he did nothing to change it.
27-11-2024, 01:05 PM
Don't think he'll be sacked before Sarurday but would think the work is getting done in the background (hopefully by Black Knights) on arranging the next manager.
Be great to win Saturday, desperately need the 3 points, but it won't save Gray IMO. The time for salvaging it has been and gone
Agreed. For all their vote of confidence and hoping for the best, think the writing has been on the wall for Gray for a few weeks now. Only wins against Dundee, Dons and Well would have saved him. The Dundee result killed any chances of him remaining in the job and the hope is BKG are well along with plans for a new manager.
27-11-2024, 05:00 PM
He should be away by now but the board is so inept that they can’t see the wood for the trees. I think he’ll be given till the Motherwell game, hoping we scrape a win and allow them to stall even further on a final decision. They’ll know by now that he’s a dead man walking but they either haven’t the guts to act decisively or they’re hoping for a minor miracle. The bad news for us is that, either way, we’re stuck with garbage stewardship for the foreseeable future. I’ve a funny feeling that they’re weighing up the risks of appointing MM as interim or permanent manager. Sad times.
Hibees1973
27-11-2024, 05:03 PM
We are amidst the worst case scenario.
Ian Gordon & co kicking the can down the road, when we all know what's going to happen soon.
Last night's game was yet another comedy performance from our defenders and goalkeeper. This has been going on for months with no hope of it changing.
The club is burning time and points when a change should have been made weeks ago to bring in a qualified, experienced manager who we could confidently pin our hopes on to get us out of this mess.
27-11-2024, 06:35 PM
We are amidst the worst case scenario.
Ian Gordon & co kicking the can down the road, when we all know what's going to happen soon.
Last night's game was yet another comedy performance from our defenders and goalkeeper. This has been going on for months with no hope of it changing.
The club is burning time and points when a change should have been made weeks ago to bring in a qualified, experienced manager who we could confidently pin our hopes on to get us out of this mess.
Wouldn't really say it was a comedy show from the defenders last night
27-11-2024, 08:02 PM
agree, if we had a decent keeper, we’d have won .
28-11-2024, 06:03 AM
FWIW I have no qualms about appointing an up and coming coach that’s served their apprenticeship fully and ready to take the step into management.
My complaint with Gray getting the job is he skipped 2 or 3 steps. His only experience of coaching was 3rd in command to 4 failed managers.
If you compare his experience to someone like John Kennedy for example, although both would be classed as rookies, their experience and qualifications are completely night and day.
Agree even Naismith had experience with Hearts under 18s. Clearly not the same level but at least experience of running a team changing tactics dealing with players substitutions etc.
28-11-2024, 06:25 AM
I’m the same however I did think it was clear we need to do more work on the 352 shape. Think our wing backs seemed very wide with the centre back being very narrow which allowed the through ball between them a lot.
A lot of my Aberdeen supporting mates did think we were very poor defensively though and seemed stunned how open we were
Fifeshirehibs
28-11-2024, 09:33 AM
It's the whole management team that's out of its depth. In 9 games this season they have made their 'tactical subs' and the opposition have scored thereafter. We have won 2 second halves all league season and in 1 of those lost the game.
Totally agree they should always be learning, but to appoint a novice who has spent his years, since retiring from playing, cloistered in ER and not even pushing on to complete his coaching badges was a mistake, compounded by his assistants falling into the untested category. A recipe for disaster.
snedzuk
28-11-2024, 11:07 AM
Agree even Naismith had experience with Hearts under 18s. Clearly not the same level but at least experience of running a team changing tactics dealing with players substitutions etc.
As horrible a player as they come, but I've heard Naismith speaking since he got fired on two occasions, once about life outside football and once about David Gray and I'm sorry to say I quite like him.
28-11-2024, 11:26 AM
It's the whole management team that's out of its depth. In 9 games this season they have made their 'tactical subs' and the opposition have scored thereafter. We have won 2 second halves all league season and in 1 of those lost the game.
Horrendous. Yes, we've had some terrible decisions and luck but vast majority been self inflicted through poor decision-making, horrific mistakes, horrible tactics (SDG), awful leadership and player apathy. Hibs players forever saying they're giving their all, simply confirms they're just not good enough and need replaced.
28-11-2024, 11:51 AM
I’m the same however I did think it was clear we need to do more work on the 352 shape. Think our wing backs seemed very wide with the centre back being very narrow which allowed the through ball between them a lot.
A lot of my Aberdeen supporting mates did think we were very poor defensively though and seemed stunned how open we were
We should do what most good teams do and not play 352.
28-11-2024, 12:21 PM
We should do what most good teams do and not play 352.
Yeah the previous formation was working really well for us
28-11-2024, 12:40 PM
Yeah the previous formation was working really well for us
If that's the approach we're taking shall we try 2-7-1 on Sat? The 3-5-2 we were playing wasn't working either as we were 2-1 down when we changed 4-3-3.
28-11-2024, 01:02 PM
If that's the approach we're taking shall we try 2-7-1 on Sat? The 3-5-2 we were playing wasn't working either as we were 2-1 down when we changed 4-3-3.
We haven't played it an awful lot but I've much enjoyed our overall play better in 3-5-2 vs whatever else we try and play. We definitely need to work on it and tighten up but the same can be said for every formation we play as we're also just not very good in general.
It's the only real way to get guys like Youan, Hoilett, Gayle, and Nicky Cadden on the park at the same time while also keeping three centre halves and folk in midfield.
28-11-2024, 01:26 PM
I’m all in favour of us playing 433 but we have almost never played well with it.
It’s been a favourite and constant across all these managers who are supposedly pish.
The second we get a central striker and attacking midfielder who can do it justice, fine.
It’s just that we never, ever have these players and the football we play in that formation is invariably terrible.
The start of the second half the other night highlighted the weaknesses of a 352 but at least - for once - by then we actually had something to defend. I agree that gray should have changed it though, and changed it sooner. Not sure we had the players to cope with a rapid right winger whatever our formation the other night though.
28-11-2024, 01:36 PM
I’m all in favour of us playing 433 but we have almost never played well with it.
It’s been a favourite and constant across all these managers who are supposedly pish.
The second we get a central striker and attacking midfielder who can do it justice, fine.
It’s just that we never, ever have these players and the football we play in that formation is invariably terrible.
The start of the second half the other night highlighted the weaknesses of a 352 but at least - for once - by then we actually had something to defend. I agree that gray should have changed it though, and changed it sooner. Not sure we had the players to cope with a rapid right winger whatever our formation the other night though.
Looking back over recent years our managers have rarely used 433 consistently. Over the last decade, Butcher was 442. Stubbs was a 442 diamond and 352. Lennon was 442, then 433, then 352. JR changed formation every week and often several times a game from 433, to 352 and 442. Maloney was a strict 343. Johnson was mainly 433 and the second half of his first season was the best football we've played in 5 years. Monty was 442 for his first 26 games (when it was clear it was never going to work after 5) and then switched to 4231 at the end.
28-11-2024, 01:37 PM
We haven't played it an awful lot but I've much enjoyed our overall play better in 3-5-2 vs whatever else we try and play. We definitely need to work on it and tighten up but the same can be said for every formation we play as we're also just not very good in general.
It's the only real way to get guys like Youan, Hoilett, Gayle, and Nicky Cadden on the park at the same time while also keeping three centre halves and folk in midfield.
I thought our overall play was decent first half but it certainly wasn't second half.
28-11-2024, 02:29 PM
That would be a tragic 7.
Hibiza
28-11-2024, 05:23 PM
Once out of your depth : will be for a long while imho.
As horrible a player as they come, but I've heard Naismith speaking since he got fired on two occasions, once about life outside football and once about David Gray and I'm sorry to say I quite like him.
What did he say about David Gray?