View Full Version : Gray is out of his depth’
Pages :
[
13]
hibeerealist
20-12-2024, 08:43 PM
Then appoints his son Head of Recruitment?
Sorry, when THE Hibs board go begging bowl out for more investment, this guy has a right to say “hang on, you took my money and ignored my input” . Not sure who the entitled prick is? The mid 30 year old who got daddy’s business or the experienced business name with numerous sporting successes behind him?
Be different if we were flying OR the Gordon’s had years of success behind them to prove they knew what they were talking about.
Classless??? Don’t see a) how and b) that matters in the slightest
Good post and reflects what a number of Hibbies I know, agree with.
20-12-2024, 10:35 PM
Sorry, when THE Hibs board go begging bowl out for more investment, this guy has a right to say “hang on, you took my money and ignored my input” . Not sure who the entitled prick is? The mid 30 year old who got daddy’s business or the experienced business name with numerous sporting successes behind him?
Be different if we were flying OR the Gordon’s had years of success behind them to prove they knew what they were talking about.
I think you are confusing a few issues here.
The Gordon tenure and how they have run the club has been much debated on here. They have no doubt increased the value of the club considerably, achieved a measure of football success, by our standards, combined with some poor return and underachievement. Aspects of how we gave been run are appalling.
That isn’t my point though.
As for sporting success, weren’t Bournemouth already in the Prem when the Bk’s purchased them? The groups other football clubs have yet to achieve anything noteworthy, so it’s not like we are 25% owned by the City group.
The prospect of 100% ownership by BK is a likelihood but it’s no guarantee of some Hibs as a third force fantasy. In the meantime, better business to do the talking behind the scenes
Paulie Walnuts
20-12-2024, 10:55 PM
The idea that the successful sports businessmen are the ones doing something wrong here is quite some take.
21-12-2024, 09:23 AM
The idea that the successful sports businessmen are the ones doing something wrong here is quite some take.
Yes, it would be great if all Hibs business conversations were played out via the media right enough.
21-12-2024, 04:02 PM
SDG kens whit’s goin oan
21-12-2024, 04:05 PM
Well done David
Win the Derby and you’ve well and truly turned things round
21-12-2024, 04:05 PM
SDG kens whit’s goin oan
Revisionism
Murphys Touch
21-12-2024, 04:06 PM
Great result for SDG
Still a lot to prove and we were all miffed at the Ross County performance (albeit great result!)
Today was fantastic all round! As much as I’m far from SDG biggest fan as a manager and think Hibs need someone better - today and the next few days we should be parking this thread and getting right into these maroon cardigan wearing *****
21-12-2024, 04:10 PM
3rd on current form ( last 6 games)
21-12-2024, 04:13 PM
Credit where it’s due. We look a competitive team now and one that can score goals (I think Myko being out is a big part of that IMO). The short term looks a lot rosier, mid-long term still all to prove though.
AdidasHibernian
21-12-2024, 04:14 PM
Credit where credit is due great result today. Let's hope he gets a win at the pink bus shelter!
21-12-2024, 04:25 PM
Very very happy for him, well done David Gray and enjoy your Christmas, great performance and long may it continue. 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
Mcbizz1998
21-12-2024, 04:29 PM
Apparently he still needed sacking even after winning against Ross County.
What now!?
Hibee Daft
21-12-2024, 04:29 PM
Next 3 three games against 3 lower league sides. If we can get the full 9 points it would fire us into the mix with top 6!
Hibees1973
21-12-2024, 04:31 PM
It was a smart move by Gray bringing off Newell as he was on a booking.
Kwon struggled to begin with which is understandable for a sub, but settled later.
21-12-2024, 04:33 PM
It was a smart move by Gray bringing off Newell as he was on a booking.
Kwon struggled to begin with which is understandable for a sub, but settled later.
Newell was injured.
21-12-2024, 04:33 PM
Very very happy for him, well done David Gray and enjoy your Christmas, great performance and long may it continue. 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
Hear hear ! Arguably one of the best results we’ve had in years. So pleased for SDG, deserves credit for the way he’s turning this around.
21-12-2024, 04:36 PM
Next 3 three games against 3 lower league sides. If we can get the full 9 points it would fire us into the mix with top 6!
Have learned never to look too far ahead with Hibs. Just win the next match !
21-12-2024, 04:37 PM
Great result for SDG
Still a lot to prove and we were all miffed at the Ross County performance (albeit great result!)
Today was fantastic all round! As much as I’m far from SDG biggest fan as a manager and think Hibs need someone better - today and the next few days we should be parking this thread and getting right into these maroon cardigan wearing *****
I wasn't miffed at the performance v Ross County, all I cared about was the three points and the majority of people felt the same .
I think it's ok to just congratulate Gray and Hibs on the win today without prefacing the praise with a summary of your position on needing someone better etc :greengrin
So, a huge well done David Gray and the all the players.
Our best performers today were guys who have been written off by some and subjected to a lot of criticism. They showed what they can offer, now let's see them keep up the momentum and drive us to a win at Tynecastle .
21-12-2024, 04:37 PM
I think he’s definitely bought till at least the end of the season. I wanted him to go but he is learning and the team is improving
TrinityHFC
21-12-2024, 04:38 PM
If we’d made the change weeks ago and we’d had the results since I’m sure it would have been claimed as proof that it had worked.
shetlandhibee
21-12-2024, 04:44 PM
I wasn't miffed at the performance v Ross County, all I cared about was the three points and the majority of people felt the same .
I think it's ok to just congratulate Gray and Hibs on the win today without prefacing the praise with a summary of your position on needing someone better etc :greengrin
Our best performers today were guys who have been written off by some and subjected to a lot of criticism. They showed what they can offer, now let's see them keep up the momentum and drive us to a win at Tynecastle .
This :top marks
21-12-2024, 04:47 PM
Yup!
21-12-2024, 04:49 PM
I had actually convinced myself that Boyle was finished, I said so last week walking out the ground. Then, he’s back to his brilliant best, what do I know??? Well done all, delighted for them and all of us. GGTTH 🇳🇬🇳🇬🇳🇬
21-12-2024, 04:51 PM
Gray is... In his depth?
21-12-2024, 04:52 PM
Gray is... In his depth?
Hope we keep a hold of him once Pep gets his jotters.
21-12-2024, 04:53 PM
I said last week that despite the result I wasn't convinced we were moving in right direction still in terms of performances and style. Today shut me right up, I thought we had a clear game plan today and executed it perfectly and that's despite an early set back to go 1-0 down. I really couldn't be happier with how we've shown up today as a whole and I really hope we continue to build on this.
I'd love to go scud that lot Thursday but to be honest if you offered me a draw and then a win before Rangers I'd probably take it and call it a good spell of progress ahead of January.
Paulie Walnuts
21-12-2024, 05:02 PM
I said last week that despite the result I wasn't convinced we were moving in right direction still in terms of performances and style. Today shut me right up, I thought we had a clear game plan today and executed it perfectly and that's despite an early set back to go 1-0 down. I really couldn't be happier with how we've shown up today as a whole and I really hope we continue to build on this.
I'd love to go scud that lot Thursday but to be honest if you offered me a draw and then a win before Rangers I'd probably take it and call it a good spell of progress ahead of January.
A draw and a win in the next two would be an excellent return and would really lift us out of trouble :agree:
AdidasHibernian
21-12-2024, 05:05 PM
Would take a draw and win in the next two games all day everyday.
Cabbage-Patch
21-12-2024, 05:06 PM
A draw and a win in the next two would be an excellent return and would really lift us out of trouble :agree:
Tbh I would be disappointed unless we get 6 from the next 2 games. Hearts are dreadful and we should be taking advantage of a packed out Easter Road against killie ::flag:
21-12-2024, 05:10 PM
Hopefully things beginning to click for both SDG and the players. Excellent result today and credit where it's due for turning it around recently. Weeks ago an early goal conceded at Pittodrie would have seen a capitulation from us.
Now go and win the derby over the team who were supposed to be finishing second. 🤣
Murphys Touch
21-12-2024, 05:44 PM
Shows you how fine margins are too
1-0 down and their boy fresh airs it for our equaliser
They then go up and smack the post/bar….we grew could have struggled from there but used it and turned in a great performance.
21-12-2024, 05:50 PM
They then go up and smack the post/bar….we grew could have struggled from there but used it and turned in a great performance.
Okay Lee.
Murphys Touch
21-12-2024, 05:56 PM
Okay Lee.
Actually repeating more or less what SDG said himself - prick
21-12-2024, 06:17 PM
Actually repeating more or less what SDG said himself - prick
I only saw his bbc interview where he said enjoy these moments because it's hard to win games of football. Missed the quote on margins.
21-12-2024, 06:19 PM
Come on now, we should all be happy tonight. Best result of the season so far.
21-12-2024, 06:25 PM
Come on now, we should all be happy tonight. Best result of the season so far.
I'd actually say the 3-3 against them was better , that was the turning point . If we'd lost we were right in the **** and the blow of losing to another injury time goal would have been a disaster .
21-12-2024, 06:33 PM
I'd actually say the 3-3 against them was better , that was the turning point . If we'd lost we were right in the **** and the blow of losing to another injury time goal would have been a disaster .
Thats a fair shout.
21-12-2024, 06:38 PM
So ****ing happy for Gray with that today. I've been really critical of him, fairly so imo. But again, there's honestly nothing I want more than Gray doing well.
Questioned the starting XI but he got it spot on. We coasted that today in a place we struggle to win.
Just buzzing after that.
Changed formation and the keeper and it's made a big difference, players look happier. I also wonder if it's taken longer for the team to gel this season.
21-12-2024, 07:03 PM
100%. The 3-3 was the most important result of our season.
21-12-2024, 07:04 PM
https://encrypted-tbn0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTH5q1oRgyGqMTq-NoQUsXydBI_IoxmwAF6wg&s
21-12-2024, 07:25 PM
Turning point was when 1 nil up the Dons scorers shot came of the inside of the post. 2 nil up & we would have been fkd.After that there was only one winner.
21-12-2024, 07:33 PM
Turning point was when 1 nil up the Dons scorers shot came of the inside of the post. 2 nil up & we would have been fkd.After that there was only one winner.
Was that no at 1-1:greengrin
21-12-2024, 07:35 PM
Think a few of us said at the time that the 3-3 had the potential to be a season turning game, and I think it’s looking that way.
I hope this continues for Gray, despite a few performances that absolutely were reflective of a team at the foot of the table, I think we’ve been better than results have shown by and large this season, and in the last few games we’ve managed to get a result that reflects the performance.
21-12-2024, 07:42 PM
We've scored three goals in four of our last five games. I get it's not solely about that, but for me, I go to watch Hibs to be entertained and aye, we've had spells (or halfs) where we've been rank. But ultimately, surely the pinnacle of entertainment at football is watching your team score!
21-12-2024, 07:54 PM
If ever there was a manger you just so desperately want to succeed it’s David Gray.
Let’s get right behind him and hope this is things turning.
21-12-2024, 07:54 PM
Changed formation and the keeper and it's made a big difference, players look happier. I also wonder if it's taken longer for the team to gel this season.
Something in this.
Might be just me, but Smith seems to have the same vibe as Conrad and Budgie - all brought in as emergency keepers. Flawed, far from perfect, but really worth supporting. Has his chance to to cement his place among Hibs greats next week. Here's hoping .
Paul1642
21-12-2024, 07:56 PM
If ever there was a manger you just so desperately want to succeed it’s David Gray.
100%. Had it all ended after the Dundee game it would have been such a sad ending for a club legend. No matter what happens now, at least it’s almost definitely better than that.
TrinityHFC
21-12-2024, 08:00 PM
You would have thought so but it hasn’t turned out that way. Some just as quick to turn against him as anyone else. In fact some seem to hold his background against him.
21-12-2024, 08:03 PM
You would have thought so but it hasn’t turned out that way. Some just as quick to turn against him as anyone else. In fact some seem to hold his background against him.
https://media.tenor.com/YZ4qE-wYyuAAAAAM/confused-so.gif
21-12-2024, 08:16 PM
Many questioned the wisdom of those appointing a rookie manager. Nothing wrong with that. That's a far cry from hoping SDG fails or jumping at the first opportunity to criticise him. Hibs fans have been incredibly patient with SDG and the Board, and fully deserve to enjoy days like today. We all want the same thing.
21-12-2024, 08:18 PM
Well done SDG. Got the formation and tactics spot on today. We're on a nice wee run just now.Long may it continue.
21-12-2024, 08:29 PM
I just don’t buy into this.
I think everyone would like nothing more than him to be successful.
But the record the first 15 games or so was horrendous.
Delighted at the up turn in form, hopefully it continues and we recruit well in January
21-12-2024, 08:32 PM
Delighted at the up turn in form, hopefully it continues and we recruit well in January
Probably cause it's pish.
The atmosphere at Easter Road hasn't been bad at all considering where we've been in the league. If Gray wasn't the man in the dugout it would have been brutal!
babahibs
21-12-2024, 08:32 PM
He's clearly learning, performances and results show that.
We can't really ask for more surely, things are improving.
Paulie Walnuts
21-12-2024, 08:36 PM
The atmosphere at Easter Road hasn't been bad at all considering where we've been in the league. If Gray wasn't the man in the dugout it would have been brutal!
Correct.
It was a ridiculous shout.
21-12-2024, 08:45 PM
Hopefully things beginning to click for both SDG and the players. Excellent result today and credit where it's due for turning it around recently. Weeks ago an early goal conceded at Pittodrie would have seen a capitulation from us.
Now go and win the derby over the team who were supposed to be finishing second. 🤣
Completely agree, glad it’s working out for a true Hibs hero, the team and SDG can hopefully kick on from here
TrinityHFC
21-12-2024, 08:45 PM
You just have to have read the posts on this site over the past few months. Some properly strange views on Gray regardless of the results.
21-12-2024, 08:46 PM
After the St Mirren debacle I thought his time was up. Fair play for rallying the players and getting 10 points from the last 15. Were by no means brilliant but now have a structure, a committed squad and heading up the league. Beat Hearts and every fan will be 100% on board.
21-12-2024, 08:54 PM
https://media.tenor.com/YZ4qE-wYyuAAAAAM/confused-so.gif
He supported hearts in his younger days
21-12-2024, 08:56 PM
He supported hearts in his younger days
There hasn't been a single fan that's brought that up once since he's been manager though?
21-12-2024, 09:04 PM
Gray has bought himself some well earned breathing space, no mean feat given at various points he couldn’t have many complaints if he’d been sacked. The trajectory appears to be upwards though.
From a glass half full perspective, there’s still much work to be done as for all the recent results we’re still only in the same position we finished last season and ground to make up on the top 6. I also worry that we’ve been here before and we can’t fall into the trap of thinking the likes of Newell, Campbell, C Cadden, Boyle etc are the answer after all after a good bit of form. It will also be interesting to see how we get on if/when 352 stops working as we stumbled upon it due to Obita’s suspension and not sure what else can work. Though a few new signings will make it easier not to be solely wedded to 352.
Time to enjoy the upward trajectory in the short term though.
21-12-2024, 09:14 PM
There is a way to go yet but I’ve said it already, if he manages to survive this period and get us to safety it could be the making of him as a manager.
21-12-2024, 09:53 PM
Simple as that for me
22-12-2024, 12:22 AM
If we can beat Hearts I’m more than happy to see him get the full season, although I think that will happen anyway, but with a derby win there’s a real chance to actually kick on and have a good endto the season.
Like others have said if there’s ever any manager most Hibs fans want to be a success or just not a failure it’s this one. Plenty of things he’s done wrong so far and rightfully the fans have been upset with how we’ve started the season, but he’s got something no other manager has to give him what is maybe the time needed to break the sacking cycle.
Greenio
22-12-2024, 01:26 AM
Got slaughtered by many on here for suggesting we back DG as he can turn it around.
Early days, but proof we can
Short term thinking
Crunchie
22-12-2024, 08:21 AM
Got slaughtered by many on here for suggesting we back DG as he can turn it around.
Early days, but proof we can
Short term thinking
Could it be that the many are out of their depth as pundits? I so hate that term out of his depth which the amateur pundit throws around like confetti at a wedding. It's boring, lazy patter from individuals sat at home(work) desperate to be the first to say I told you so to people they don't even know.
I was at the St Mirren game at home and I didn't hear a single shout at Gray, on here it's relentless. That tells you something.
22-12-2024, 08:30 AM
Was that no at 1-1:greengrin
Yes it was
22-12-2024, 08:32 AM
Could it be that the many are out of their depth as pundits? I so hate that term out of his depth which the amateur pundit throws around like confetti at a wedding. It's boring, lazy patter from individuals sat at home(work) desperate to be the first to say I told you so to people they don't even know.
I was at the St Mirren game at home and I didn't hear a single shout at Gray, on here it's relentless. That tells you something.
I’ve never understood why people are so precious about folk giving their opinion on a platform that’s designed specifically for people to give their opinion.
I’ve been as critical as anyone about Gray and the decision to give him the job. The results and performances over the last few weeks are going a good way to proving me wrong and that’s absolutely amazing, I couldn’t be happier about that. I’m certainly not going to apologise for my opinion being wrong if it turns out to be the case. It’s just another one to add to the list.
As long as it doesn’t get personal then it’s just the nature of the beast for the industry he’s chosen to be in.
If we genuinely have turned the corner and we keep improving, I wonder how long it’ll be until Mackay, Kensell and the board are given the same credit as Gray is getting now?
22-12-2024, 08:35 AM
I’ve never understood why people are so precious about folk giving their opinion on a platform that’s designed specifically for people to give their opinion.
It's odd how often it happens on here but, I suppose it's just the poster's opinion. 🤭
22-12-2024, 08:40 AM
I’ve been as critical as anyone about Gray and the decision to give him the job. The results and performances over the last few weeks are going a good way to proving me wrong and that’s absolutely amazing, I couldn’t be happier about that. I’m certainly not going to apologise for my opinion being wrong if it turns out to be the case. It’s just another one to add to the list.
As long as it doesn’t get personal then it’s just the nature of the beast for the industry he’s chosen to be in.
If we genuinely have turned the corner and we keep improving, I wonder how long it’ll be until Mackay, Kensell and the board are given the same credit as Gray is getting now?
Some folk absolutely hate Mackay and Kensell and will never change that. If we continue on this run and some how end up 4th, all credit will be given to Gray and very little to Mackay and Kensell. When we were routed at the foot of the table it was all Mackay and Kensell's fault.
It's just the tribal nature of football and as you say the nature of the beast.
Crunchie
22-12-2024, 08:46 AM
Precious? nah. Watch a video on you tube with Cloughie and Motson on MOTD where Cloughie educates the man on tv punditry and you might get what I mean.
22-12-2024, 08:56 AM
Great result. But lets not kid ourselves on, we've been awful this season. Every Hibs fan wants Gray to succeed but many of us just don't think he's the man to deliver success. If we keep winning especially on Thursday then we will have bought himself time. But with his team you can't have much hope that they will win against a terrible Hearts team.
22-12-2024, 09:05 AM
Clearly Grays best result since taking the job. Impressed that he looks to be gradually turning it around. Fair play.
22-12-2024, 09:06 AM
Great result. But lets not kid ourselves on, we've been awful this season. Every Hibs fan wants Gray to succeed but many of us just don't think he's the man to deliver success. If we keep winning especially on Thursday then we will have bought himself time. But with his team you can't have much hope that they will win against a terrible Hearts team.
If we apply ourselves the same as we did yesterday we have every chance of winning.
I don’t think we’ve suddenly turned into a top team but I always felt we were under performing rather than just being as dreadful as we were looking.
Taking so long to change the shape was a big mistake that cost us points IMO. Since we made that change we’re getting so much more out of a number of players. The belief and attitude yesterday was night and day to what we saw earlier in the season.
22-12-2024, 09:08 AM
Social media encourages us to put ‘being right’ ie: having a view we’ve expressed online -perhaps fleetingly and in the moment- above all else.
There’s no reason that Gray, a respected pro known for his determination and will to win, who has done his coaching certification and been a caretaker manager, should fail in a league like the SPL. Now he’s also shown he has the resolve for the hot seat. He’s far from the finished article and learning all the time, but this has been a tough opening test for him and fair play he’s come through it. There will be bigger ones ahead, but now it seems, that whether he’s successful here or not, he’s certainly not out of his depth
22-12-2024, 09:22 AM
Social media encourages us to put ‘being right’ ie: having a view we’ve expressed online -perhaps fleetingly and in the moment- above all else.
There’s no reason that Gray, a respected pro known for his determination and will to win, who has done his coaching certification and been a caretaker manager, should fail in a league like the SPL. Now he’s also shown he has the resolve for the hot seat. He’s far from the finished article and learning all the time, but this has been a tough opening test for him and fair play he’s come through it. There will be bigger ones ahead, but now it seems, that whether he’s successful here or not, he’s certainly not out of his depth
I like this.
22-12-2024, 09:38 AM
:agree: I agree with the sentiment though I don’t think we’ve been consistently awful this season - there have been performances that “deserved” better (I know that will trigger the folk who see football in black and white that think you always get what you deserve, but I think there are loads of games where the better team hasn’t won with us involved this season).
I don’t think anyone can sit and say with any confidence that their opinion, good or bad, of Gray’s suitability of the job is right.
Today it’s good, lose on Boxing Day and to Killie and loads will be shouting again. It’s no big deal sharing. Win those games and I think we’re looking very confidently at the rest of the season and folk will be giving credit to the board for not acting when it looked inevitable that Gray would get sacked.
It’s worth keeping in mind that everyone’s opinion is of a moment in time, folk should change their mind as the evidence grows and they should be able to do that without folk casting up what they thought when things were good or bad just because it’s different today.
I thought Gray would get sacked, it wasn’t what I wanted but I thought it was inevitable. Today, as things stand, I don’t see that he’s in any bother at all. I’m comfortable with that change of opinion.
22-12-2024, 10:07 AM
:agree: I agree with the sentiment though I don’t think we’ve been consistently awful this season - there have been performances that “deserved” better (I know that will trigger the folk who see football in black and white that think you always get what you deserve, but I think there are loads of games where the better team hasn’t won with us involved this season).
I don’t think anyone can sit and say with any confidence that their opinion, good or bad, of Gray’s suitability of the job is right.
Today it’s good, lose on Boxing Day and to Killie and loads will be shouting again. It’s no big deal sharing. Win those games and I think we’re looking very confidently at the rest of the season and folk will be giving credit to the board for not acting when it looked inevitable that Gray would get sacked.
It’s worth keeping in mind that everyone’s opinion is of a moment in time, folk should change their mind as the evidence grows and they should be able to do that without folk casting up what they thought when things were good or bad just because it’s different today.
I thought Gray would get sacked, it wasn’t what I wanted but I thought it was inevitable. Today, as things stand, I don’t see that he’s in any bother at all. I’m comfortable with that change of opinion.
Good post. Agree.
I thought Gray should go. We weren’t getting results. That’s changed and you don’t replace a manager who’s picking up points. Long may it continue.
22-12-2024, 10:22 AM
Absolute pish.
22-12-2024, 10:26 AM
Can anyone tell me what we did with the formation when Miller came on for O’Hora after we got the third? Did we change to a 4 at the back at that point or was it a like for like swap?
22-12-2024, 10:36 AM
Can anyone tell me what we did with the formation when Miller came on for O’Hora after we got the third? Did we change to a 4 at the back at that point or was it a like for like swap?
Stayed the same with Miller on the right of the 3. Obita then came on for C Cadden and again it stayed the same
22-12-2024, 10:40 AM
What a win well done David.
From the highlights that looked more like the Boyle and Elie of old. And Nicky Cadden is looking a better and better signing with each passing week :flag:
22-12-2024, 11:54 AM
Stayed the same with Miller on the right of the 3. Obita then came on for C Cadden and again it stayed the same
:agree: thanks. Pleased to hear it too, i think hes been guilty of trying to protect what he has too often and making defensive-minded changes or trying to over manage, looks like he may be learning on the job.
22-12-2024, 01:55 PM
Just being honest here I was skeptical of appointing Gray because, as I mentioned previosly either on this thread or another, I don’t believe hibs are a club that should be giving someone there first crack at management. That experiment has been done with the likes of Maloney and it didn’t work. We should always be looking at someone who’s got managerial experience and a bit of success behind them. So as much as I love Sir David, he wasn’t the man for me.
HOWEVER, what I will say is fair play to him. He’s handled an incredible amount of pressure very very well and always been quite honest in his interviews about what he thinks. He seems to have got us playing now and the players look like they respect him and want to play for him. I will continue to give him 100% backing and I really hope we’ve started to turn a corner here. He knows what the club is all about, he knows what the fans want and he will sure as hell be making it clear to the team what a derby win can do for morale.
Brilliant win yesterday at a ground that has always been a tough place for us. Really hope that’s the confidence booster we so desperately needed.
All hail Sir David Gray :not worth
22-12-2024, 01:57 PM
Some folk absolutely hate Mackay and Kensell and will never change that. If we continue on this run and some how end up 4th, all credit will be given to Gray and very little to Mackay and Kensell. When we were routed at the foot of the table it was all Mackay and Kensell's fault.
It's just the tribal nature of football and as you say the nature of the beast.
22-12-2024, 02:19 PM
100% :agree:
22-12-2024, 02:51 PM
Just being honest here I was skeptical of appointing Gray because, as I mentioned previosly either on this thread or another, I don’t believe hibs are a club that should be giving someone there first crack at management. That experiment has been done with the likes of Maloney and it didn’t work. We should always be looking at someone who’s got managerial experience and a bit of success behind them. So as much as I love Sir David, he wasn’t the man for me.
HOWEVER, what I will say is fair play to him. He’s handled an incredible amount of pressure very very well and always been quite honest in his interviews about what he thinks. He seems to have got us playing now and the players look like they respect him and want to play for him. I will continue to give him 100% backing and I really hope we’ve started to turn a corner here. He knows what the club is all about, he knows what the fans want and he will sure as hell be making it clear to the team what a derby win can do for morale.
Brilliant win yesterday at a ground that has always been a tough place for us. Really hope that’s the confidence booster we so desperately needed.
All hail Sir David Gray :not worth
Tony Mowbray and Alan Stubbs were first time managers with Hibs and did all right
22-12-2024, 02:53 PM
Tony Mowbray and Alan Stubbs were first time managers with Hibs and did all right
Very true but I’d say they’re the exception not the rule. More times than not it doesn’t work imo.
22-12-2024, 07:56 PM
Stubbs league record was awful.
SickBoy32
22-12-2024, 08:17 PM
Aye, he was too busy winning cup ties left right an centre 😂
22-12-2024, 09:17 PM
Give it a rest FFS, he won the cup.
Murphys Touch
22-12-2024, 10:31 PM
If we apply ourselves the same as we did yesterday we have every chance of winning.
I don’t think we’ve suddenly turned into a top team but I always felt we were under performing rather than just being as dreadful as we were looking.
Taking so long to change the shape was a big mistake that cost us points IMO. Since we made that change we’re getting so much more out of a number of players. The belief and attitude yesterday was night and day to what we saw earlier in the season.
I was thinking about this point last night “how long did it take SDG to change shape” and actually he was forced into it.
You could argue Monty was exactly the same. Although we are nothing to write home about, we are playing a system that suits the players and arguably what we started preseason playing.
I guess managers have to believe in what they are working on and keep the team believing. But SDG (and Monty and potential ally Maloney) may have had a little less pressure if they changed quicker
22-12-2024, 11:07 PM
Very true but I’d say they’re the exception not the rule. More times than not it doesn’t work imo.
First time managers this century:
- Sauzee (didn't work)
- Mowbray (worked)
- Collins (sort of worked, sort of didn't)
- Stubbs (worked)
- Maloney (didn't work)
Overall probably a better hit rate than established managers.
22-12-2024, 11:18 PM
first time managers this century:
- sauzee (didn't work)
- mowbray (worked)
- collins (sort of worked, sort of didn't)
- stubbs (worked)
- maloney (didn't work)
- gray (will work)
overall probably a better hit rate than established managers.
ftfy
Ribs1875
23-12-2024, 09:14 AM
First time managers this century:
- Sauzee (didn't work)
- Mowbray (worked)
- Collins (sort of worked, sort of didn't)
- Stubbs (worked)
- Maloney (didn't work)
Overall probably a better hit rate than established managers.
John Collins didn't work. By no means was it all his fault. You look at the players we lost and replaced then with man for man we regressed from the previous season. Brown replaced by Kerr, Sproule replaced by O'brien. Other signings included Guthiuessi, Noubiessi, Morias, Joneleit, Antoin-curier, Makalambay and Donaldson.
He's here!
23-12-2024, 09:29 AM
No it wasn't. Rebuilt virtually the entire team in his first season and finished second, above Rangers. Nobody was catching Hearts that season. Second season the extraordinary cup runs took their toll on league results but it was worth another season in the Championship to win the Scottish Cup. Terrific manager for Hibs.
23-12-2024, 09:38 AM
Aye, he was too busy winning cup ties left right an centre 😂
He was brilliant in the big games and hopeless in the others.
23-12-2024, 09:48 AM
Give it a rest FFS, he won the cup.
He was fighting on three fronts, bagged the Holy Grail and almost…
23-12-2024, 09:53 AM
Quintessential Hibs innit we wait 114 years to win the cup and quibble about the manager that realised it from practically only having a few scraps to work with when he came in… are we just bonkers or is every other club just as mad?
23-12-2024, 09:57 AM
No it wasn't. Rebuilt virtually the entire team in his first season and finished second, above Rangers. Nobody was catching Hearts that season. Second season the extraordinary cup runs took their toll on league results but it was worth another season in the Championship to win the Scottish Cup. Terrific manager for Hibs.
This ‘rebuilt the entire team’ narrative is nonsense. He was given a budget bigger than everyone bar Sevco to compete with the likes Dumbarton, Alloa, Queen of the South and Cowdenbeath.
He had a bigger budget than Hearts who were coming out of admin and they also rebuilt their squad but they manage to finish a whopping 21 points ahead of us.
As for cup runs taking its toll. Ye make it sound like we were travelling all round Europe.
There’s no disputing his league record was awful. He may have delivered the holy grail but also delivered our lowest ever league finish in over half a century.
23-12-2024, 10:10 AM
This ‘rebuilt the entire team’ narrative is nonsense. He was given a budget bigger than everyone bar Sevco to compete with the likes Dumbarton, Alloa, Queen of the South and Cowdenbeath.
He had a bigger budget than Hearts who were coming out of admin and they also rebuilt their squad but they manage to finish a whopping 21 points ahead of us.
As for cup runs taking its toll. Ye make it sound like we were travelling all round Europe.
There’s no disputing his league record was awful. He may have delivered the holy grail but also delivered our lowest ever league finish in over half a century.
Cheer up it's Xmas :greengrin
23-12-2024, 10:40 AM
Nobody can take the cup success away from Stubbs but that shouldn’t stop us accurately assessing his time here.
To finish below Falkirk with the players he had in 2016 can only be described as a massive failure. I think he’s the only Hibs manager in about 60 years to finish behind them. To do it with McGinn, McGeogh, Henderson, McGregor, Hanlon, Cummings etc is pretty bad.
Magnificent day in May but I was glad he moved on.
Paulie Walnuts
23-12-2024, 10:49 AM
Nobody can take the cup success away from Stubbs but that shouldn’t stop us accurately assessing his time here.
To finish below Falkirk with the players he had in 2016 can only be described as a massive failure. I think he’s the only Hibs manager in about 60 years to finish behind them. To do it with McGinn, McGeogh, Henderson, McGregor, Hanlon, Cummings etc is pretty bad.
If finishing behind Falkirk can only be described as a massive failure then I presume you’d accept finishing above Rangers can only be described as a massive success?
Donegal Hibby
23-12-2024, 10:58 AM
I look on Stubbs time at us as being successful not only for the cup win though some of the football we played was entertaining to watch.
I go back to the time he got the job and where we had a massive rebuilding job to do , it’s alright saying we had a bigger budget than most of the other teams though that doesn’t mean a manager will necessarily get it right ..
Lennon being the obvious example spending over 30 mill on a lot of dross at Celtic . Stubbsy signed a lot of good players for us and when we got back to the premier we had a decent team .
shetlandhibee
23-12-2024, 11:36 AM
raeburnhibs
23-12-2024, 01:12 PM
John Collins didn't work. By no means was it all his fault. You look at the players we lost and replaced then with man for man we regressed from the previous season. Brown replaced by Kerr, Sproule replaced by O'brien. Other signings included Guthiuessi, Noubiessi, Morias, Joneleit, Antoin-curier, Makalambay and Donaldson. course he worked. He won a trophy! Were you at that cup final?
Ribs1875
23-12-2024, 01:24 PM
course he worked. He won a trophy! Were you at that cup final?
I was indeed, and I was also at the Dunfermline semi (both games) at hampden during the time of the player revolt. I seen the Collins era as a missed opportunity. Mowbray left us us in a good position with a quality team. Collins came in and lost the dressing room. Stripped Thomson of the captaincy, dropped him and he left in the January as we all know.
He was an inexperienced manager, who didn't know how to deal with young lads in their early 20s who were probably not used to not getting their own way.
23-12-2024, 01:26 PM
I was indeed, and I was also at the Dunfermline semi (both games) at hampden during the time of the player revolt. I seen the Collins era as a missed opportunity. Mowbray left us us in a good position with a quality team. Collins came in and lost the dressing room. Stripped Thomson of the captaincy, dropped him and he left in the January as we all know.
He was an inexperienced manager, who didn't know how to deal with young lads in their early 20s who were probably not used to not getting their own way.
Thomson wanted to leave, why are you making out like it was Collins' fault?
23-12-2024, 01:29 PM
He wanted to leave because he fell out with Collins
23-12-2024, 01:32 PM
He’d have left anyway. The money and opportunity that he had in front of him was massive.
Ribs1875
23-12-2024, 01:34 PM
Thomson wanted to leave hibs at that time because the writing was on the wall that he and Collins didn't see eye to eye with each other. Stripped of captaincy, dropped from the squad, made to train with the reserves. I am not saying either was in the right. I'd say both parties were in the wrong. The mature one in the situation should have been Collins and he handled it poorly. Equally Petrie and Co should have stepped in.
23-12-2024, 01:38 PM
Thomson wanted to leave hibs at that time because the writing was on the wall that he and Collins didn't see eye to eye with each other. Stripped of captaincy, dropped from the squad, made to train with the reserves. I am not saying either was in the right. I'd say both parties were in the wrong. The mature one in the situation should have been Collins and he handled it poorly. Equally Petrie and Co should have stepped in.
Absolutely nothing to do with the signing on fee, wages and opportunity at Rangers then.
This is a strange hill to die on.
Ribs1875
23-12-2024, 01:47 PM
Absolutely nothing to do with the signing on fee, wages and opportunity at Rangers then.
This is a strange hill to die on.
That was definitely a factor. That's life, you are always going to go to the highest paying job. The first time at hibs it ended prematurely for Thomson because there was a difference in opinions between him and Collins vice versa.
That said, Thomson gets my respect as a hibs fan. He came back twice after that. We were 2 down at tynie, he came on for an injured McGeoch and played a solid game. Even cleared a header off the line that was sneaking in. Kept us in that game and we went on to win the cup.
raeburnhibs
23-12-2024, 02:20 PM
Glad to hear it. JC wasn’t perfect but by the only metric that counts he succeeded. I see you are also ploughing the he won with Mowbray team trope. He won cause Mowbray left and Collins accepted the job. He still won.
He’d have left anyway. The money and opportunity that he had in front of him was massive.
Thomson and Brown had both signed with a new agent who was whispering in their ears about the riches of the old firm, he wasn’t going to stay whether he got on with Collins or not.
23-12-2024, 08:15 PM
Agree. Things have picked up, but that can be very quickly undone over the next 2 games. 2 defeats for example would be 3 defeats from 4 and likely see us bottom again.
Hopefully it doesn’t come to that, but he’s far from being out the woods.
We are on the up scoring goals and showing more resilience even if we go behind So am hopeful Althogh history tells us Hearts often find more motivation to win there’s head to heads and especially as they would leapfrog us
If one things for sure it won’t be 0 0 with these two defences
23-12-2024, 08:22 PM
He would’ve done, but I doubt it’d have been in the January. He left then because of the fall out. We’d likely have got more cash if we’d hung on til the summer.
Crunchie
23-12-2024, 09:20 PM
If you think that's an accurate summary of Stubbsy's time with us you've not got a clue. 2 cup finals won us the cup, and had one of the best records against Hearts of any Hibs manager.
There were many mitigating factors for his not so great league results but as was said we finished above Rangers. It must be very grey in your black and white world.
23-12-2024, 10:15 PM
Back on topic, David Gray is treading water fairly well just now. Another few points could see him swim to safety, but, danger lurks in every game and he could be sucked under any time soon.
23-12-2024, 10:24 PM
Back on topic, David Gray is treading water fairly well just now. Another few points could see him swim to safety, but, danger lurks in every game and he could be sucked under any time soon.
Given where we’ve been, it’s a step forward in the last week that we now can’t go back to the bottom of the league on the back of a single defeat. Next step is to get that gap created to second bottom. The general feeling has changed very quickly over the last week, it’s could still go the other way again very quickly. We must not lose this game on Thursday.
Donegal Hibby
24-12-2024, 12:00 AM
We must not lose this game on Thursday.
I think that applies to them more , does it not?
He's here!
24-12-2024, 12:38 AM
If we lose they go above us and the recent progress is undone, with the goodwill Gray has accumulated replaced by calls for his head once again. A draw would be fine but it's essential we don't lose.
He's here!
24-12-2024, 12:48 AM
Glad to hear it. JC wasn’t perfect but by the only metric that counts he succeeded. I see you are also ploughing the he won with Mowbray team trope. He won cause Mowbray left and Collins accepted the job. He still won.
The fact he'd lost the likes of O'Connor and Riordan, yet bequeathed Collins a squad ready to put their name on a trophy is the mark of how good a manager Mowbray was for Hibs. Collins, to be fair, picked up the baton superbly to start with and I remember being at Fir Park when we won 6-1 and thinking this is the guy to take us to the next level. He didn't cope well when things went awry however and as someone else has pointed out the failure to get to the Scottish Cup final over two games against an already relegated Dunfermline took the shine off the League Cup win. Mowbray was by far the better manager, as evidenced by their subsequent careers.
Donegal Hibby
24-12-2024, 12:57 AM
If we lose they go above us and the recent progress is undone, with the goodwill Gray has accumulated replaced by calls for his head once again. A draw would be fine but it's essential we don't lose.
True they would go above us by a point .. though we win and we go five clear and as far as I’m concerned the pressure is all on them being at home …
We can win there !
GGTTH :flag:
24-12-2024, 01:00 AM
Calls for his head will only come from those wholly incapable of seeing anything remotely long term.
24-12-2024, 06:17 AM
Unless we get absolutely battered (which we won't) I don't think there will be calls for his head if we get beat. To my surprise, he's started getting results when it looked like he was done. He's earned a bit of slack in my opinion. I think a draw is the most likely result.
Paulie Walnuts
24-12-2024, 06:37 AM
Unless we get absolutely battered (which we won't) I don't think there will be calls for his head if we get beat. To my surprise, he's started getting results when it looked like he was done. He's earned a bit of slack in my opinion. I think a draw is the most likely result.
There won’t be, it does start to put him back into must win, or at least must no lose territory for the Killie game though imo. After finally getting out of the bottom two we can’t afford defeats to two teams below us to drag us back in.
24-12-2024, 06:47 AM
No. Only interested in what the result does for us. We have some positive momentum for the first time in ages, a defeat would kill that. We’re still in a ***** situation ourselves, despite the recent upturn.
24-12-2024, 06:48 AM
There won’t be, it does start to put him back into must win, or at least must no lose territory for the Killie game though imo. After finally getting out of the bottom two we can’t afford defeats to two teams below us to drag us back in.
Correct. If we take off our “he’s a hero and deserves time” tinted fan specs and look at it from a Black Knight perspective he needs a minimum of 4 points over the next two games to have a mere sniff of a future at hibs in his current role.
24-12-2024, 06:52 AM
Calls for his head will only come from those wholly incapable of seeing anything remotely long term.
It would happen. If you’re sitting with 4 wins from 18 (which becomes 4 wins in 19) in the league, you’re going to be under pressure. It’s not just about the 1 game on Thursday but losing to them, as we’ve seen before, makes everything a lot more difficult for managers.
I really, really hope we just see more of what we did at the weekend.
TrinityHFC
24-12-2024, 08:20 AM
You’ve been predicting his sacking every week since we were playing friendlies.
24-12-2024, 08:23 AM
The fact he'd lost the likes of O'Connor and Riordan, yet bequeathed Collins a squad ready to put their name on a trophy is the mark of how good a manager Mowbray was for Hibs. Collins, to be fair, picked up the baton superbly to start with and I remember being at Fir Park when we won 6-1 and thinking this is the guy to take us to the next level. He didn't cope well when things went awry however and as someone else has pointed out the failure to get to the Scottish Cup final over two games against an already relegated Dunfermline took the shine off the League Cup win. Mowbray was by far the better manager, as evidenced by their subsequent careers.
Nothing took the shine of the league cup victory, which took place before the Scottish Cup semi finals. One of the best days of my Hibs supporting life.
Donegal Hibby
24-12-2024, 09:31 AM
No. Only interested in what the result does for us. We have some positive momentum for the first time in ages, a defeat would kill that. We’re still in a ***** situation ourselves, despite the recent upturn.
But you see that’s the thing… they're under just as much pressure as we are , in fact I think they are under more.
A defeat wouldn’t kill that if we go out and win our next two after that which we could .
Anyhow seeing as their home record is 3 wins , 3 draws and 3 defeats and having watched them against Killie and the Moldovan team . I don’t think they are any great shakes and after our recent results we have every chance of going there and getting a win .
24-12-2024, 09:39 AM
Plenty of us have concerns about whether he’s the right man for the job.
There’s absolutely nothing wrong with people thinking we need to make a change and it’s nothing to do with not being able to see anything long term.
That’s just made up nonsense directed at anyone that disagrees with you.
I’ve not heard anyone at ER say that Gray should be with us long term. It would be mad to suggest that based on what he’s delivered so far.
If he finishes the season strongly there could be an argument for keeping him on, but certainly not for extending his contract.
He’ll prob be away in the summer no matter what happens anyways. Will you then blame for black nights and Gordon’s for not having a long term view?
24-12-2024, 09:41 AM
It would happen. If you’re sitting with 4 wins from 18 (which becomes 4 wins in 19) in the league, you’re going to be under pressure. It’s not just about the 1 game on Thursday but losing to them, as we’ve seen before, makes everything a lot more difficult for managers.
I really, really hope we just see more of what we did at the weekend.
It’s not just losing to them, it’s about staying above them in the league.
As soon as Hearts are above us, the pressure will be back on.
I think he’s had an easier ride partly because Hearts have been so gash.
24-12-2024, 09:42 AM
That Motherwell game is still probably the most complete performance I've seen from Hibs. We were utterly magnificent that day. So, so good. League cup final wasn't too shabby either! There was also a game at ER against Rangers when we utterly destroyed them but somehow only beat them 2-1, Killen scored the winner.
Collins certainly added something to an already very capable side until the wheels completely fell off and he couldn't recover. Losing to a dire Dunfermline after a replay in the SC semi will forever annoy me.
Paulie Walnuts
24-12-2024, 09:44 AM
Plenty of us have concerns about whether he’s the right man for the job.
There’s absolutely nothing wrong with people thinking we need to make a change and it’s nothing to do with not being able to see anything long term.
That’s just made up nonsense directed at anyone that disagrees with you.
I’ve not heard anyone at ER say that Gray should be with us long term. It would be mad to suggest that based on what he’s delivered so far.
If he finishes the season strongly there could be an argument for keeping him on, but certainly not for extending his contract.
He’ll prob be away in the summer no matter what happens anyways. Will you then blame for black nights and Gordon’s for not having a long term view?
The idea that folk might want rid of a manager who would have us at best 3 points off the playoffs if we lose to Hearts because’tHeY aRe InCaPaBlE oF sEeInG AnYtHiNg LoNg TeRm’ is a nonsense shout.
Paulie Walnuts
24-12-2024, 09:45 AM
I’m not convinced he’d still be here if Hearts were in the top half.
Jock O
24-12-2024, 09:53 AM
**** me, still going on here.
Can't we close this and open a new one called how much can David Gray still improve himself and the team. Accentuate the positive and all that, although appreciate it would rule out quite a few posters from this thread.
Merry Xmas to you lot of miserable buggers, here's to David and the boys hitting the heady heights of 7th and looking up for NY.
Paulie Walnuts
24-12-2024, 10:07 AM
Can't we close this and open a new one called how much can David Gray still improve himself and the team. Accentuate the positive and all that, although appreciate it would rule out quite a few posters from this thread.
Merry Xmas to you lot of miserable buggers, here's to David and the boys hitting the heady heights of 7th and looking up for NY.
There’s absolutely nothing to stop you starting that thread?
There’s absolutely no need to be closing threads simply because you don’t agree with them though. Thankfully the admins on here don’t get into that nonsense.
24-12-2024, 10:14 AM
Totally agree on the last part.
Donegal Hibby
24-12-2024, 10:27 AM
Quite a bit of negative and defeatist talk in “ what if we lose “ going on and talk of the manager not being here no matter what happens which is really hard to fathom out in all honesty.
24-12-2024, 10:43 AM
There’s absolutely no need to be closing threads simply because you don’t agree with them though. Thankfully the admins on here don’t get into that nonsense.
It's not about agreeing or not agreeing. The thread has run its course. Gray is so much within has depth that we started discussing Stubbs and Collins instead! That was the time to close it. Tidy up the main board. Stop doing Gray a disservice. And allow more positive threads to flourish, merited by the upturn in results.
The admin really dropped the ball on that.
Paulie Walnuts
24-12-2024, 10:48 AM
It's not about agreeing or not agreeing. The thread has run its course. Gray is so much within has depth that we started discussing Stubbs and Collins instead! That was the time to close it. Tidy up the main board. Stop doing Gray a disservice. And allow more positive threads to flourish, merited by the upturn in results.
If it had ran its course people wouldn’t be discussing it.
It’s absolutely about agreeing or disagreeing as there’s not a chance in hell folk would be asking for a thread praising Gray to be closed because the discussion had drifted to John Collins for a page.
Positive threads will flourish when/if we’re further up the league. The admin rightly leave the website in the hands of the posters rather than artificially dictating the mood by closing threads because posters don’t agree/like the threads. If you want positive threads, start positive threads.
24-12-2024, 10:55 AM
Didn’t realise we had St Johnstone straight after Killie. Three huge games that could see us put some distance between the bottom two.
Paulie Walnuts
24-12-2024, 10:58 AM
Didn’t realise we had St Johnstone straight after Killie. Three huge games that could see us put some distance between the bottom two.
Three games against 3 teams below us. It’s a huge opportunity to start looking up the way.
24-12-2024, 11:12 AM
Just stay out of the thread if you don’t like what you’re reading?
Why are so many of you against others having their say? It’s ridiculous to expect us all to think the same way as you.
How about giving us a break and letting us post what we like?
Anyways, if this was closed down, another would just be opened!!!
24-12-2024, 11:14 AM
A good points return from those three fixtures and any remaining relegation chat can be done away with. Apart from leaving Dens Park, I’ve never really felt we’d be relegated. We obviously got a decent reaction to that game and that feeling disappeared fairly quickly.
But, we still need to get another few results to be properly away from it, there’s not that much distance between us and the bottom two yet. Upside is that there’s not that much distance to the top six all things considered, so pulling away from those below us have us catching those above us at the same time. Always been the case in this league that 3 or 4 wins can paint a totally different picture.
Why are so many of you against others having their say? It’s ridiculous to expect us all to think the same way as you.
All threads, positive and negative, will naturally die off when people stop posting in them, if there’s still people commenting, then there’s still an interest for at least some posters.
As you said, if you don’t like a thread topic, don’t open the thread
24-12-2024, 12:25 PM
A good points return from those three fixtures and any remaining relegation chat can be done away with. Apart from leaving Dens Park, I’ve never really felt we’d be relegated. We obviously got a decent reaction to that game and that feeling disappeared fairly quickly.
But, we still need to get another few results to be properly away from it, there’s not that much distance between us and the bottom two yet. Upside is that there’s not that much distance to the top six all things considered, so pulling away from those below us have us catching those above us at the same time. Always been the case in this league that 3 or 4 wins can paint a totally different picture.
Massive three games for Gray with the obvious fact that 6 points won’t be enough for some if he loses to Hearts.
He’s earned his chance to make it to the window but he’s def not out the woods yet. We’re still in bottom half of table at Xmas. That puts any Hibs manager in danger.
Ribs1875
24-12-2024, 12:37 PM
Credit to all the players and coaching team. Since being gubbed 4-1 off Dundee we have take 10 points from the 5 games following that result. I said a while back at the time they needed to turn up in these games until the window opened. If we get a result tomorrow, which I really hope we do! It would give us momentum and put us well on our way for a top 6th finish.
24-12-2024, 06:19 PM
Who said i didn't like what I was reading? You assume too much. The thread having run its course is also an opinion.
How about you give me the same break?
24-12-2024, 06:37 PM
Massive three games for Gray with the obvious fact that 6 points won’t be enough for some if he loses to Hearts.
He’s earned his chance to make it to the window but he’s def not out the woods yet. We’re still in bottom half of table at Xmas. That puts any Hibs manager in danger.
Win Thursday would be huge for SDG, especially as so many of the team know their days are numbered. Defeat will raise previous doubts. Tide has gone out for SDG but he can't rely on that for long.
Mcbizz1998
24-12-2024, 06:43 PM
Absolutely!
24-12-2024, 08:52 PM
If it hadn’t been for the ref v Falkirk not awarding us an absolute stonewall penalty I reckon we would’ve gone up.
24-12-2024, 08:55 PM
Nothing to do with Rangers being after him and the chance to quadruple his wages then ?
24-12-2024, 08:58 PM
He would’ve done, but I doubt it’d have been in the January. He left then because of the fall out. We’d likely have got more cash if we’d hung on til the summer.
No he never
24-12-2024, 08:58 PM
If you think that's an accurate summary of Stubbsy's time with us you've not got a clue. 2 cup finals won us the cup, and had one of the best records against Hearts of any Hibs manager.
There were many mitigating factors for his not so great league results but as was said we finished above Rangers. It must be very grey in your black and white world.
Well said mate
25-12-2024, 10:56 AM
Nail on the head from Dashing Bob. Gray's come through a massive test but it doesn't stop here, with Tynie on Boxing Day another game with the potential for triumph or disaster.
Regardless of what happens there though I think the thread title can now be put to bed.
ChilliEater
26-12-2024, 01:31 PM
YYYYYEEEEEESSSSSSSSSSSS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Keep drowning David :flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag::flag:
26-12-2024, 01:34 PM
His redemption arc is beginning to gather pace and look closer to what Barry Robson did with each week.
Trust the process.
Been some turnaround for him . Just didn't see this coming a few weeks ago . Back to back away wins at Pittodrie and Tynecastle . When was the last time we did that
I'm won over. Incredible turn around. Well done David
26-12-2024, 01:37 PM
Hibshttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20241226/dcabde00f148d3ec24f7cb535e325546.jpg
Sent from my SM-S711B using Tapatalk
Gray is well within his depth
Donegal Hibby
Thread title is hilarious 🤣
HendoDelivered
26-12-2024, 01:38 PM
Tide is very much turning. Come on Sir David 💚
26-12-2024, 01:44 PM
Tide is turning. We’ll need signings in Jan but things looking good for Gray.[emoji1696][emoji1696][emoji1696]
hibee316
26-12-2024, 01:44 PM
I've been hugely doubtful of him.
However, I'm glad to be eating my words! Hopefully we kick on!
TrinityHFC
26-12-2024, 01:45 PM
Sacking people isn’t always the answer.
26-12-2024, 01:50 PM
Get the thread title in the bin. Gray’s subs turned the game. Absolutely delighted for him.
26-12-2024, 01:51 PM
Tide is very much turning. Come on Sir David 💚
Certainly feels like.
Couple of quality signings in Jan and we will be in good shape
Really chuffed for him.
26-12-2024, 01:52 PM
Correct 😊
I have never been happier for a manager to turn things around than I am for SDG. I genuinely want the guy to go down in our history not just for the goal in May 2016, not just for being Captain when we won the Cup but as a great manager who wins at least one cup in that roll for Hibs.
4 wins out of 5 and we should really have got something out of that Celtic game . Great form at the moment
26-12-2024, 01:53 PM
Loving some of the wise after the event posts on this thread now. :-)
26-12-2024, 01:53 PM
Get the thread title in the bin. Gray’s subs turned the game. Absolutely delighted for him.
Which is in stark difference to what was going on early in the season with poor subs and late goals against.
What a turnaround! Joy of joys today!
26-12-2024, 01:54 PM
I have never been happier for a manager to turn things around than I am for SDG. I genuinely want the guy to go down in our history not just for the goal in May 2016, not just for being Captain when we won the Cup but as a great manager who wins at least one cup in that roll for Hibs.
It is, so far, stunning. More please.
Silky
26-12-2024, 01:56 PM
I thought it was. Seems to be the MO on here, and other sites. Hopefully, Gray gets a bit of time now.
26-12-2024, 02:16 PM
So so pleased for Gray
26-12-2024, 07:26 PM
This thread title really needs a change. Its inaccurate, and offensive. x
WestStandWillie
26-12-2024, 07:39 PM
Was he out his depth…maybe!
Is he out his depth…no, I think he’s finally reaping the rewards.
26-12-2024, 07:44 PM
Well done Josh Campbell.
I'm glad we have him.
26-12-2024, 07:45 PM
This thread title really needs a change. Its inaccurate, and offensive. x
Changing the title is re-writing history. It reflected what a number of people thought at the time.
The thread itself reflects how well he’s done to turn things around.
The thread and the title should remain to act as a wee reminder to people like me who were too quick to write him off. We have been shown up to be in the wrong, you shouldn’t scrub the evidence to hide that.
26-12-2024, 07:50 PM
I know it won’t be popular, but does Malky Mackay deserve some credit?
I seem to recall him saying if we go through a bad spell he can go to the board and explain x,y and z why we should stick with a manager, give them more time and be able to help him.
Gray had a horrendous start and done well not to be sacked, was Malky partly to do with this?
Does Ian etc all deserve a bit of credit too?
Davy Mac
26-12-2024, 07:51 PM
Gray has now earned his right for the remainder of the season, so fair play to him.
We are improving no question but any Hibs Manager is only as good as his last season but that is the minimum expectation.
Perversely, we now look as good as any other club outside the old firm so hopefully we can push on and make top 6.
Happy New Year Sir David, well earned from this revival.
26-12-2024, 07:56 PM
Gray has now earned his right for the remainder of the season, so fair play to him.
We are improving no question but any Hibs Manager is only as good as his last season but that is the minimum expectation.
Perversely, we now look as good as any other club outside the old firm so hopefully we can push on and make top 6.
Happy New Year Sir David, well earned from this revival.
Still got a massive game on Sunday against Killie to finish off 2024. A Killie side who won 4-0 today against Dons.
Would be an incredible end to the year if he wins 4 in a row.
27-12-2024, 08:51 AM
His redemption arc is beginning to gather pace and look closer to what Barry Robson did with each week.
Trust the process.
Sorry if I’m missing something, but how is it anything like what Robson did? The polar opposite surely?
29-12-2024, 03:58 PM
Massive turnaround for Gray now. Knocking on the door of the European places now. [emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
29-12-2024, 03:59 PM
Brilliant run of form
Wasn’t pretty today but I actually thought we played like a Derek McIness team at times
Limited them to little whilst we still had good chances
We’re down alot of key players, especially at centre back and centre forward
29-12-2024, 04:03 PM
I had major doubts about SDG but he and the players have done fantastically well to turn things around.
We ended the game without Bowie, Myko, Youan, Newell and Iredale, and still worth remembering that we're going with our 2nd choice keeper at the moment.
This formation is really working for us and bringing the best out of the players.
Get a few back from injury, and hopefully sign 2-3 in January and we're in for a very exciting end to the season.
Paulie Walnuts
29-12-2024, 04:20 PM
Massive turnaround for Gray now. Knocking on the door of the European places now. [emoji122][emoji122][emoji122]
Yup, it’s been a huge turnaround. Quite incredibly a win in our next game could see us up to 5th!
29-12-2024, 04:22 PM
Long may it continue.
If Gray keeps winning he'll have absolutely nothing to worry about and everyone will be delighted for him.
29-12-2024, 04:23 PM
Looks like SDG proving folk wrong (myself included) well done Sir David Gray!
DinkyTwo
29-12-2024, 04:26 PM
I don't think anyone can argue that SDG hasn't turned around the first half of the 2024/25 season. We're one of the form teams in the league right now, having won 4/5 and W5 L1 D1. This is just not something that I imagined saying a month or two ago.
He's more than earned the right to a crack at the rest of the season in my mind - and if come May we're top 6 fighting and fighting for European places, I'd rather stick with him for that consistency we've been crying out for instead of trying our luck with someone new again.
So happy for him. Well done David.
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
29-12-2024, 04:31 PM
He's walking on water now
Hibees1973
29-12-2024, 04:45 PM
In what seems a blink of an eye we are now 10 points clear of bottom place.
Today wasn't great but I'm a bit more reassured with Smith in goals and Iredale on the left hand side of defence. Both are calm and solid which was what we really needed in those positions in the short term.
As others have said we wouldn't have won that game a month ago.
Credit to Gray for putting a bit more steel in the squad.
kentao
29-12-2024, 04:50 PM
Surely has to be manager of the month for December.
29-12-2024, 04:51 PM
Critchley for me. Fantastic job.
Mcbizz1998
29-12-2024, 04:55 PM
What now!??
29-12-2024, 04:57 PM
personally I’d give it to agent Critchley ! :greengrin
29-12-2024, 04:59 PM
What now!??
Shelley Kerr & Michael Stewart as her assistant
Kerr & Wan kerr great double act
Mcbizz1998
29-12-2024, 05:02 PM
Shelley Kerr & Michael Stewart as her assistant
Kerr & Wan kerr great double act
😂😂
jakedance
29-12-2024, 05:04 PM
Thoroughly enjoying a big slice of humble pie. Well done David Gray.
29-12-2024, 05:06 PM
Out of his depth ?
And so it was, that Sir David guided the Hibees out of Relegation Trouble on their way to the Promised Land. When the Hibees reached the Red Sea, Sir David stretched out his hand and the waters divided, allowing Block Seven, the Happy Clappers, the Bedwetters, and even the unworthy Hibs Board Members safe passage. (Exodus 73: 0-7).
Silky
29-12-2024, 05:30 PM
By all accounts Bolton fans were celebrating when he left so he’s very much a panic last min signing needed incase of an injury so we don’t need to use Rocky
Is he, aye?
29-12-2024, 05:36 PM
He’d have been justified in criticising the players in public, but he never once did that. One thing he’s clearly learned from working under Johnson. The players have responded. Crazy to think but a few decent signings in January and we are now looking towards a European place rather than a playoff battle.
29-12-2024, 06:22 PM
personally I’d give it to agent Critchley ! :greengrin
I agree …..🤣🤣🤣…Homofc are comedy gold at the moment
29-12-2024, 06:24 PM
Gray is standing around in a puddle splashing everywhere.
29-12-2024, 06:26 PM
10 points off 3rd btw
29-12-2024, 06:27 PM
He's turned it around. But I feel he got lucky with change of formation that injuries were forced on him. But the reality is he's got us winning and that's all that counts.
29-12-2024, 06:31 PM
I said that Gray needed a Robson-esque finish to the season given how the first half or so had gone. A few wins here and there to claw our way to safety wouldn’t convince Gray was the right man in itself. He needed a practically implausible run of form to convince. The fact he is in the process of doing just that is brilliant. Genuinely delighted for Gray.
The Robson parallel is a note of caution though not to get too far ahead of ourselves as he could just as easily fall away next season in similar circumstances. The hope is that there’s more foundations there as Gray isn’t doing it from a new manager bounce. Though when 352 stops working or needs changed I worry. That’s a problem for far down the line though and just enjoy the return to better times.
Mcbizz1998
29-12-2024, 06:32 PM
He's turned it around. But I feel he got lucky with change of formation that injuries were forced on him. But the reality is he's got us winning and that's all that counts.
I don’t think you win 4 in a row by luck.
29-12-2024, 06:38 PM
I said that Gray needed a Robson-esque finish to the season given how the first half or so had gone. A few wins here and there to claw our way to safety wouldn’t convince Gray was the right man in itself. He needed a practically implausible run of form to convince. The fact he is in the process of doing just that is brilliant. Genuinely delighted for Gray.
The Robson parallel is a note of caution though not to get too far ahead of ourselves as he could just as easily fall away next season in similar circumstances. The hope is that there’s more foundations there as Gray isn’t doing it from a new manager bounce. Though when 352 stops working or needs changed I worry. That’s a problem for far down the line though and just enjoy the return to better times.
I think the good thing is he’s got the run of form whilst missing quite a few key players in key positions right before the transfer window
Long term I think Boyle and Youan up top together wouldn’t work. But it worked for a run of games and now we have a window to get another striker.
Hopefully Myk is back soon too and we can see how he does in a 352
Smith is another that’s been really good for the past 5 games or so. Would he help that up? Now is our chance to bring in another goalkeeper to replace Bursik.
We’ve struggled for a number 10 at times this season but over this run Campbell has stepped up massively. Now it’s time to try get a quality number 10
I think it’s important to whilst acknowledge the good run we’ve been on, still realise there’s a lot of improvement that can be made to the squad.
Hopefully a strong end to the season with the window opening and injured players returning
Paul1642
29-12-2024, 06:43 PM
I think the good thing is he’s got the run of form whilst missing quite a few key players in key positions right before the transfer window
Long term I think Boyle and Youan up top together wouldn’t work. But it worked for a run of games and now we have a window to get another striker.
Hopefully Myk is back soon too and we can see how he does in a 352
Smith is another that’s been really good for the past 5 games or so. Would he help that up? Now is our chance to bring in another goalkeeper to replace Bursik.
We’ve struggled for a number 10 at times this season but over this run Campbell has stepped up massively. Now it’s time to try get a quality number 10
I think it’s important to whilst acknowledge the good run we’ve been on, still realise there’s a lot of improvement that can be made to the squad.
Hopefully a strong end to the season with the window opening and injured players returning
He’s also got the run of form over a tough run of fixtures. The next few are a bit more favourable.
30-12-2024, 12:22 PM
I think the most important important thing was the change of goalie, Nicky Cadden and Elie getting match fit, Boyle coming back, and no stupid red cards. Our xG was good even before the formation change, but we're capitalising now.
30-12-2024, 12:39 PM
Strangely, the most impressive thing for me is not how Gray turned it round, but how he dealt with the terrible adversity when we couldn't buy a win. Even after the Dens Park shambles, he resisted criticising the players, and remained calm and steady, without any tell-tale manic glint or deadness in the eyes. That's a leader.
Yes, this league has shown that fortunes can change rapidly. A'deen went from almost invincible to the shabby state they're in now. All the teams outside the OF and maybe St J/Ross County are pretty much of a muchness and its largely a confidence and commitment game outside of that. I'm also impressed that he seems well aware of this note of caution you mention, the Robson/Naismith syndrome. Make no mistake, fortunes will ebb and flow. But in such a scenario you are better having a guy who doesn't panic, has a bit of steel, is prepared to learn while doing what it takes to win games and get the best out of his squad, has the respect of players AND supporters, than some serial failure who talks a good interview to some ham shankers in a boardroom, who know zilch about the game.
The panic, low-cost appeasement appointment that some of us thought it was (myself included, tbh) turns out to have been the sensible one. We have a guy who deeply cares for and understands the club, and really has set about trying rectify our well-observed shortcomings.
Couldn't be happier with our boss, and it's hard to think of a single manager in the SPL who would get more from this squad.
Donegal Hibby
30-12-2024, 01:23 PM
Mentioned it a few times about the team showing spirit and togetherness which has to be down to Gray and his staff even when it looked likely that the club might make a change due to poor results and us being bottom the players it seemed all firmly in support of Gray as he was of them …
I think Hibs deserve enormous credit for sticking with him too and like everyone is I’m delighted he’s turned things around..
While everything is going good now there will be come a time when we will it a bad patch again and maybe there’s a lesson for us fans to possibly stick together and back the manager and his staff the way the players and club have on this occasion possibly?
Though for now let’s enjoy it 👍
30-12-2024, 02:56 PM
Changing the title is re-writing history. It reflected what a number of people thought at the time.
The thread itself reflects how well he’s done to turn things around.
The thread and the title should remain to act as a wee reminder to people like me who were too quick to write him off. We have been shown up to be in the wrong, you shouldn’t scrub the evidence to hide that.
I think it shows that it's worth looking past just the results when assessing things. We had some stinking performances but they were in the minority. Most of the performances were decent other than some catastrophic moments. The much maligned xG table showed we were better than results showed.
See also not calling the Aberdeen manager the second coming of Fergie after one round of fixtures.
Surely SDG will get the manager of the month award for December. They better not give it to Rodgers.
30-12-2024, 06:29 PM
I don’t think you win 4 in a row by luck.
Just like not winning in 9 is by luck.
Hibees1973
05-01-2025, 01:11 PM
Know we have flaws.
Some are in plain sight.
Leaving the ground now, but huge thanks to David Gray from me for making going to watch Hibs at Easter Road enjoyable again.
cannastar
05-01-2025, 01:33 PM
echo hibees 1973 comment if fans are not satisfied with what was served up today then they never will be. as someone who has sat through one nil defeats at hamilton etc... this is brilliant. yes a rollercoaster it might be but entertainment wise ten out of ten. now he is settled in his role and is putting his own team on the park i believe we will see a steady progression and his stock will rise. just hope when when we win the scottish cup this year we hold onto him. he has hibs going places well done sir david.
05-01-2025, 01:55 PM
Can we change the title of this thread to 'Gray Walks On Water'?
05-01-2025, 01:59 PM
Glad we didn't listen to the negative bedwetters! Now that the team have largely cut out the individual errors, we are showing that we are only a couple of good players away from being a very good side.
05-01-2025, 02:01 PM
Glad we didn't listen to the negative bedwetters! Now that the team have largely cut out the individual errors, we are showing that we are only a couple of good players away from being a very good side.
'cut out the individual errors'😂
We're still making plenty!
SickBoy32
05-01-2025, 02:02 PM
Know we have flaws.
Some are in plain sight.
Leaving the ground now, but huge thanks to David Gray from me for making going to watch Hibs at Easter Road enjoyable again.
Extremely negative thread title should now result in this thread being closed 👍
05-01-2025, 02:03 PM
Can we change the title of this thread to 'Gray Walks On Water'?
Think the OP can change it but I don't think he's returned to his thread.😅
tonyrougier123
05-01-2025, 02:07 PM
The man for the job!
Made my mind up, change in shape players playing for him, great guy, absolute legend, this is a journey we go on with gray for the next 3yrs at least and see where we can go.
Easy to flap when your rooted and I think a lot of us have at some point this season, but it’s been a real spirited turn around even though we universally agree we still need quality in.
Extremely negative thread title should now result in this thread being closed 👍
If he is out of his depth, I cant wait until he finds his water wings.
Hibs4185
05-01-2025, 02:24 PM
I said when we appointed him I fancied us for the cup.
Still do
05-01-2025, 02:26 PM
Think the OP can change it but I don't think he's returned to his thread.😅
I think he has more to worry about with his own team the moment!
05-01-2025, 02:29 PM
That was a game today absolutely riddled with individual errors. Both teams were very poor although conditions were awful.
We have a poor squad but Gray is performing wonders with what he has.
05-01-2025, 02:35 PM
It’s such a strange season and we’re such a strange team. We’re all feeling quite optimistic and Gray has some credit in the bank now. Yet conversely we’ve never been in the top 6 at any point this season. We won’t catch Dundee Utd (IMO) and Motherwell threatening to pull away from us (again IMO). There’s only 11 games left until the split and we’ve left ourselves with no wiggle room with all teams around us picking up wins semi regularly (Aberdeen aside). I’m still concerned about the top 6 as it stands.
hibee
05-01-2025, 02:39 PM
Can we change the thread title yet?
05-01-2025, 06:52 PM
3 stands today belting out “David David Gray!” Tells you all you need to know.
If ever there was someone you do desperately want to succeed it’s him.
05-01-2025, 07:02 PM
It’s such a strange season and we’re such a strange team. We’re all feeling quite optimistic and Gray has some credit in the bank now. Yet conversely we’ve never been in the top 6 at any point this season. We won’t catch Dundee Utd (IMO) and Motherwell threatening to pull away from us (again IMO). There’s only 11 games left until the split and we’ve left ourselves with no wiggle room with all teams around us picking up wins semi regularly (Aberdeen aside). I’m still concerned about the top 6 as it stands.
It’s madness. I think St Johnstone are gone at the bottom. They’re brutal. Can’t believe we’re only the three points above the playoff place though, even though I don’t feel there is any prospect of relegation now.
We don’t have any games to waste now. We are going to lose games but we need to make sure we win the ones we really should be winning, starting v Motherwell.
05-01-2025, 07:13 PM
Gray is (not) out of his depth.
05-01-2025, 07:18 PM
Gray was out of his depth (now he isn't)
05-01-2025, 07:32 PM
I quite like leaving it
Shows where we were compared to where we are now
05-01-2025, 07:34 PM
Strangely, the most impressive thing for me is not how Gray turned it round, but how he dealt with the terrible adversity when we couldn't buy a win. Even after the Dens Park shambles, he resisted criticising the players, and remained calm and steady, without any tell-tale manic glint or deadness in the eyes. That's a leader.
Yes, this league has shown that fortunes can change rapidly. A'deen went from almost invincible to the shabby state they're in now. All the teams outside the OF and maybe St J/Ross County are pretty much of a muchness and its largely a confidence and commitment game outside of that. I'm also impressed that he seems well aware of this note of caution you mention, the Robson/Naismith syndrome. Make no mistake, fortunes will ebb and flow. But in such a scenario you are better having a guy who doesn't panic, has a bit of steel, is prepared to learn while doing what it takes to win games and get the best out of his squad, has the respect of players AND supporters, than some serial failure who talks a good interview to some ham shankers in a boardroom, who know zilch about the game.
The panic, low-cost appeasement appointment that some of us thought it was (myself included, tbh) turns out to have been the sensible one. We have a guy who deeply cares for and understands the club, and really has set about trying rectify our well-observed shortcomings.
Couldn't be happier with our boss, and it's hard to think of a single manager in the SPL who would get more from this squad.
Excellent post Bob.
05-01-2025, 07:58 PM
Well said, got to admire the way he has handled things. And right now getting a tune out of a squad with limited options.
05-01-2025, 08:01 PM
Just needs to keep getting results. Things looking up at the moment but still need to push up the league.
It’s been good to enjoy going to football over the last few weeks.
05-01-2025, 08:23 PM
Second time in a fortnight I’ve called one of your posts one of the best you will read on here.
I was wrong about Gray, I thought he would be gone before Xmas. The way he has handled himself has been a lesson to us all.
11-01-2025, 04:07 PM
Was going to post about Gray and how he’s turned our ship around, but then I remembered Bob had already said it all.
Thank you David and a lesson that sometimes a bit of patience is what we need.
11-01-2025, 05:39 PM
He was never out of his depth. We just had a very bad run of individual errors, poor VAR decisions and, yes, some poor decision making by our manager.
He's here!
11-01-2025, 05:51 PM
What will hopefully stand him in good stead is that he came under pressure almost as soon as the league campaign started and has weathered the storm. The likes of Robson and Naismith got off to great starts and then couldn't stem the tide when results started to go against them.
11-01-2025, 05:57 PM
Don’t think it works like that.
In any walk of life, teams very rarely start performing for a manager they’ve previously dismissed as not up to it.