View Full Version : ***CC - Staying Or Going?***/NFFC Appoint Coach MERGED
Pages :
[
5]
big-mo
23-06-2011, 01:25 PM
Old news now.
It looked to be between Forest and City this morning but Sodje or maybe GOC tweeted it three hours ago.
@RealAkpoSodje (http://twitter.com/#%21/RealAkpoSodje)
Delboy4
23-06-2011, 01:30 PM
Old news now.
It looked to be between Forest and City this morning but Sodje or maybe GOC tweeted it three hours ago.
@RealAkpoSodje (http://twitter.com/#%21/RealAkpoSodje)
Thought that was a lot of tosh by the Sodger!?
Purehibee_MYB
23-06-2011, 01:49 PM
What job has calderwood not been linked with on this messageboard? do people want him to go or something?
From his twitter page.........
RealAkpoSodje (http://twitter.com/#!/RealAkpoSodje)Akpo Sodje
Omg! Didn't see tht cummin. Thnks 4 memories calderwood. Gd luck with assistant job at birmingham
More about this on PM bord, seems to be afake account.
23-06-2011, 01:57 PM
I'm convinced that the OP (Nottingham Forest fan) is in fact CC's Agent and the sole intention of all the speculation is to force a pay rise out of The Tache.
Just how misguided can a man be.
:devil:
Delboy4
23-06-2011, 02:04 PM
From his twitter page.........
RealAkpoSodje (http://twitter.com/#!/RealAkpoSodje)Akpo Sodje
Omg! Didn't see tht cummin. Thnks 4 memories calderwood. Gd luck with assistant job at birmingham
Yes, that was read hours ago but was a wind up from someone called Gary...
Sodje left another message, do you not read?
I'm not on here hoping he will leave - I'm just saying that the Birmingham fans are talking about CC being put forward for their assistant by Chris Hughton on Eurosport...thats all!
By the way, If he is allowed to leave, the board should have a good look at themselves and resign as this is not good for our preparation for the new season.
Get it sorted Petrie...Now!
23-06-2011, 02:08 PM
I'm convinced that the OP (Nottingham Forest fan) is in fact CC's Agent and the sole intention of all the speculation is to force a pay rise out of The Tache.
Just how misguided can a man be.
:devil:
Either that or the reporter who initially leaked the story.
TamHibs
23-06-2011, 02:11 PM
Not bashing the OP at all but you gotta love how Calderwood is being touted to leave every other day.
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 02:15 PM
Maybe CC just likes curry? I love a good Balti myself.
23-06-2011, 02:15 PM
Does Calderwood tweet?
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 02:16 PM
Does Calderwood tweet?
Only when talking to his bird.
23-06-2011, 02:23 PM
http://twitter.com/#!/
Hmmmm
23-06-2011, 02:24 PM
Only when talking to his bird.
Cheap dig....
23-06-2011, 02:25 PM
He would know if CC told Forest what was happening and he was aware of it. Not saying for one minute that I am convinced by the story however this needs to be put to bed one way or tother IMO.
So he's now got an in with the Forest board. Gie's a break. He's a fud pure and simple.
heppy
23-06-2011, 02:41 PM
I was made to look a tw@ this morning wit this. Its no the real Akpo Sodje :wink:
23-06-2011, 02:48 PM
So he's now got an in with the Forest board. Gie's a break. He's a fud pure and simple.
I've no idea and neither have you. Maybe he is a friendly hack to Forest and is being told to stir it up a bit at this end. CC could kill this story stone dead by saying he is committed to Hibs and doesnt want to leave.
23-06-2011, 02:56 PM
just by the way the various parties are conducting themselves.
Worst justification for claiming something as fact. Ever.
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 02:59 PM
:agree: FACT!
23-06-2011, 03:09 PM
Probably but i am right.
Yes, that was read hours ago but was a wind up from someone called Gary...
Sodje left another message, do you not read?
I'm not on here hoping he will leave - I'm just saying that the Birmingham fans are talking about CC being put forward for their assistant by Chris Hughton on Eurosport...thats all!
By the way, If he is allowed to leave, the board should have a good look at themselves and resign as this is not good for our preparation for the new season.
I do read but who's to say the account is ligit, anyone could open an account then kid on their phone was hijacked by someone called Gary.:rolleyes:
There seems to be a lack of noise coming from CC, this speculation about his career could be ended once and for all by him coming out saying he's committed to Hibs and has a contract saying as much. If by any chance he wants to go, then Pertie should stick either of these clubs for a fair few bob compensation, they can afford it.
23-06-2011, 03:18 PM
I'm changing my mind about this guy. He must have something I haven't seen as he's being mentioned in connection with every job going.
I look forward to Yogi Hughes forthcoming appointment as Chancellor of the Exchequer.
And Brian Kerr signing up for NASA to do some unseen space travel.
23-06-2011, 03:21 PM
Just returning on the train from a 3 day trip to Birmingham and can confirm that I saw neither Hughton nor Calderwood in the city centre Travelodge.
23-06-2011, 03:22 PM
There seems to be a lack of noise coming from CC, this speculation about his career could be ended once and for all by him coming out saying he's committed to Hibs and has a contract saying as much. If by any chance he wants to go, then Pertie should stick either of these clubs for a fair few bob compensation, they can afford it.
Will this do?
http://twitter.com/#!/
persevere1875
23-06-2011, 03:23 PM
I'm changing my mind about this guy. He must have something I haven't seen as he's being mentioned in connection with every job going.
I look forward to Yogi Hughes forthcoming appointment as Chancellor of the Exchequer.
And Brian Kerr signing up for NASA to do some unseen space travel.
Unfortunately most of its on here though, having read some of the news reports, the total lack of depth or info in them leads me to believe most of these little gems are lifting there gossip right of this and other sites
Velma Dinkley
23-06-2011, 03:25 PM
Just returning on the train from a 3 day trip to Birmingham and can confirm that I saw neither Hughton nor Calderwood in the city centre Travelodge.
Do you have a photo of them not there?
23-06-2011, 03:26 PM
I realise that Hibs can't react to every rumour posted on the net, however, the stories aren't going away, so some kind of response from CC would allow the fans to know that he is committed to the club.
The fact that this isn't happening perhaps says that there are more to these rumours...
Either way, we need this saga finished ASAP so we can continue with our preparations for the new season.
23-06-2011, 03:26 PM
Do you have a photo of them not there?
That would clinch it for me.
23-06-2011, 03:28 PM
I realise that Hibs can't react to every rumour posted on the net, however, the stories aren't going away, so some kind of response from CC would allow the fans to know that he is committed to the club.
The fact that this isn't happening perhaps says that there are more to these rumours...
Either way, we need this saga finished ASAP so we can continue with our preparations for the new season.
If Calderwood comes out and says that he's committed to the job, folk will cite McLeish and Mowbray before pulling his statement to bits. It won't serve any purpose.
23-06-2011, 03:30 PM
If Calderwood comes out and says that he's committed to the job, folk will cite McLeish and Mowbray before pulling his statement to bits. It won't serve any purpose.
Yeah, very true... I suppose we'll just have to wait for NF & Birmingham to appoint their coaching teams! That ought to put the rumours to bed!
Until the next one...
23-06-2011, 03:32 PM
No but one of my colleagues has one of them not meeting in wetherspoons.
23-06-2011, 03:36 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13868233.stm
Looks like CC is on Hughton's radar, does anyone think he'll actually go?
23-06-2011, 03:37 PM
Do you mean he is trying to wind us up, possible, or the whole thing is a wind up?
Trying ? 31 pages says he has :na na:
23-06-2011, 03:37 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13868233.stm
Looks like CC is on Hughton's radar, does anyone think he'll actually go?
23-06-2011, 03:41 PM
Doesn't seem to have ruled out Neil Lennon,Walter Smith or Ally McCoist either.
23-06-2011, 03:43 PM
Spot on. At first everyone was saying the board needed to make a statement, now that they've done it we need to hear something from Calderwood (over and above his plans for pre-season and next season on his Hibs TV interview, where he said he was still enjoying the challenge at Hibs, by the way).
Folk hear what they want to hear, and read what they want to read. And then they interpret it the way that suits them.
23-06-2011, 03:45 PM
I didn't see any quotes ruling anyone in or out in that article. Hopefully I'm still in the running!:thumbsup:
23-06-2011, 03:50 PM
Doesn't seem to have ruled out Neil Lennon,Walter Smith or Ally McCoist either.
:faf: Brilliant!
Seriously tho, he seems to be getting linked here there and everywhere, if he wants to be his own man he will stay put. I do think however, a chance to get Birmingham back in the big time with his old mucker might be something he will seriously consider.
Im not fussed either way if im honest, just feel if he does go, the merry go round and instability at ER continues, which quickly becomes a bit of a farce again.
23-06-2011, 03:51 PM
What would stop him coming out and saying he isnt interested in leaving Hibs and he will be hear for the foreseeable. Mowbray was linked with the Ipswich job and shot it down at the time. The longer this isnt done IMO the more I think people will interpret that as trying to work his ticket out of here.
23-06-2011, 03:53 PM
Hughton and CC are birds of a feather - priest-like, driven individuals.
I fear we are going to end up with a Bernie Winters lookalike for a manager!
No relation to CC. Can you guess who it is yet? :wink:
23-06-2011, 03:58 PM
Spot on. At first everyone was saying the board needed to make a statement, now that they've done it we need to hear something from Calderwood (over and above his plans for pre-season and next season on his Hibs TV interview, where he said he was still enjoying the challenge at Hibs, by the way).
Folk hear what they want to hear, and read what they want to read. And then they interpret it the way that suits them.
So whats your take on this matty?
23-06-2011, 03:59 PM
What would stop him coming out and saying he isnt interested in leaving Hibs and he will be hear for the foreseeable. Mowbray was linked with the Ipswich job and shot it down at the time. The longer this isnt done IMO the more I think people will interpret that as trying to work his ticket out of here.
Damned if they do, damned if they don't!!!
I wonder if it's like this in the boardroom???
23-06-2011, 04:04 PM
Probably but i am right.
What about?
We were told days ago that he was moving, he wanted to move, and the reason he was moving was he a built in release clause. Done deal.
He's still here and looking happy as a sandboy.
So what bit are you right about?
aberhibsfc
23-06-2011, 04:07 PM
Hughton and CC are birds of a feather - priest-like, driven individuals.
I fear we are going to end up with a Bernie Winters lookalike for a manager!
No relation to CC. Can you guess who it is yet? :wink:
Fat Jimmy. No way, always looks like he's trying to spark a fire in his Y's. I couldnae handle rotund permatan at ER. No ****ing way.
23-06-2011, 04:09 PM
Because he would have had to do it with Forest and again with Brum. He would spend every week saying he was staying.
The club made a statement and you could argue if he was unhappy with this he should have come out and said so.
Best not to get involved.
23-06-2011, 04:27 PM
Isn't it possible that CC is committed to Hibs but the "FACT" that 2 English Championship teams are chasing him is a bargaining chip for a pay-rise? He's maybe keeping quiet to see what Hibs will offer him to stay.
23-06-2011, 04:30 PM
Isn't it possible that CC is committed to Hibs but the "FACT" that 2 English Championship teams are chasing him is a bargaining chip for a pay-rise? He's maybe keeping quiet to see what Hibs will offer him to stay.
Quite possibly.
Arch Stanton
23-06-2011, 04:55 PM
I didn't see any quotes ruling anyone in or out in that article. Hopefully I'm still in the running!:thumbsup:
Even if you are I doubt you'll be getting a 29 pager agonising over it - no offence likes. :greengrin
sevenil
23-06-2011, 04:57 PM
:thumbsup:[/QUOTE]
I'm puzzled........... if CC goes now how can our Board be at fault? - they can't stop other employers offering him a position.
...and this "Get it sorted Petrie....Now!"
Very disrespectful stuff, is your real name Trump?
Things happen, people move on from their workplaces all the time - the Board don't have a crystal ball, but if it happens I'm sure they'll get a search going pronto. Of course it's not good timing, but **** happens.....
23-06-2011, 04:59 PM
So whats your take on this matty?
Honest answer - I haven't a clue!
So far, aside from a photo which really tells us nothing other than Calderwood's had a coffee or a pint with McClaren at an unknown venue on an unknown date.
The rest of the story has all been regurgitated and with no formal quotes from anyone at all at Forest, and a denial from Hibs.
There have been stories of talks between Calderwood and Forest, and Hibs and Forest, meanwhile Calderwood has been verified as having been with the players for pre-season training, staying with them at Peebles.
He's also been interviewed talking passionately and thoughtfully about his plans for the team going into the season.
I know people will say there's no smoke without fire, however if you examine the timeline of the story, the smoke started from one source, posting in a couple of places, and became self-fullfilling. It created discussion and intrigue (thanks to the photo), and snowballed from there. That it generated so much discussion lended credence to it to the extent that it was picked up by a journalist. He passed comment on it, which then added further credibility to it (still without a source or any different angle other than the one already provided by the rumour starter).
And so further discussion led to it being picked up by other sources and the reports then became "it's being reported that", so the reports of the reports (of the original story) added further fuel to the fire.
Meanwhile, McClaren is yet to appoint a number 2, and Hibs still have their manager going about his job.
23-06-2011, 05:01 PM
Even if you are I doubt you'll be getting a 29 pager agonising over it - no offence likes. :greengrin
It's all kicking off on matty'swork.net though.:agree:
23-06-2011, 06:00 PM
http://www.thisisnottingham.co.uk/Paul-Taylor-Colin-Calderwood-appointment-prove/story-12817361-detail/story.html
http://www.thisisnottingham.co.uk/Forest-set-discover-won-battle-bring-Calderwood/story-12817348-detail/story.html
not read all the comments, but this is the info from dan saff
ionahibby
23-06-2011, 06:12 PM
http://www.thisisnottingham.co.uk/Paul-Taylor-Colin-Calderwood-appointment-prove/story-12817361-detail/story.html
http://www.thisisnottingham.co.uk/Forest-set-discover-won-battle-bring-Calderwood/story-12817348-detail/story.html
not read all the comments, but this is the info from dan saff
''Post sources indicate that Calderwood is enthusiastic about the role and he is keen to leave Easter Road''
And they know this how :confused: Would be interesting to see where they are getting their info from or is someone feeding them bull**** too!
23-06-2011, 06:21 PM
we need this saga finished ASAP so we can continue with our preparations for the new season.
Hardly think a 43981057310513 page thread on an internet forum is making a blind bit of difference to Hibs' preparations for the new season. Did the stooshie on here cause the punch-up at Peebles? :dunno:
23-06-2011, 06:25 PM
Hardly think a 43981057310513 page thread on an internet forum is making a blind bit of difference to Hibs' preparations for the new season. Did the stooshie on here cause the punch-up at Peebles? :dunno:
I'm sure it didn't, but it may affect our chances of bringing in new players until it is sorted! New players may be less inclined to sign, if the manager who brings them in is expected to leave!!
Unless the board are making the signings!!! :hmmm:
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 06:43 PM
I'm sure it didn't, but it may affect our chances of bringing in new players until it is sorted! New players may be less inclined to sign, if the manager who brings them in is expected to leave!!
Unless the board are making the signings!!! :hmmm:
I was thinking about something that was mentioned before but with 940+ posts, who can find it?!
I'm going to speak out of both sides of my mouth here so bear with me (or bare with me if you play(ed) for Hearts and think I'm a female tween).
CC could make a statement saying that he is staying with Hibs. Note, I do not want Hibs or any of their employees being held to ransom by internet rumours and nonsense, if that's what this is, should be ignored.
BUT, re: the bit on bold above, could this uncertainty (real or not) actually affect our ability to sign new players, that's if we're even looking? If that is the case then maybe CC should say something positive about staying with Hibs? Let's face it, if CC goes I doubt opinion of him would change much whether he made that comment or not.
23-06-2011, 08:41 PM
Why is the 'Forest Fan' posting on the Scotsman website saying he's been stopped from posting here when in fact he has not?
It's a strange claim for him to making, particularly as he logged on here earlier today.
23-06-2011, 08:52 PM
It's a strange claim for him to making, particularly as he logged on here earlier today.
I suspect it's designed to make it look as though he was bumped because we didn't like what he was saying. Of course many didn't but he still got to post :greengrin
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 09:19 PM
Why should he start telling the truth now? :wink:
23-06-2011, 09:45 PM
Still going. Please make it stop.
This must be close to an all time best trolling effort.
You know, if this thread was locked, or better still deleted, the whole thing would just stop.
JACK_HFC
23-06-2011, 09:50 PM
If CC leaves i wont be surprised, although he seems determined to rebuild our sqaud i reckon he would take a better job somewhere else.. Simply because the lack of mioney he's getting to spend on players! He doesnt have much to choose from with our tight budget!
If hibs want to even think about doing well next season and keeping CC, they need to make more transfer money available!
Our record transfer fee was years ago for De la Cruz! Which is ridiculous.. we should have smashed that record fee by now!! :brickwall
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 09:52 PM
If CC leaves i wont be surprised, although he seems determined to rebuild our sqaud i reckon he would take a better job somewhere else.. Simply because the lack of mioney he's getting to spend on players! He doesnt have much to choose from with our tight budget!
If hibs want to even think about doing well next season and keeping CC, they need to make more transfer money available!
Our record transfer fee was years ago for De la Cruz! Which is ridiculous.. we should have smashed that record fee by now!! :brickwall
We really need another thread about this? CC has not complained, publicly, about the budge made available to him Do you know something I / we don't?
Not bashing you or your opinion but there's no need to start a new thread when this has been discussed to death in others.
EDIT : damn admins merged it before I could moan. :)
23-06-2011, 09:52 PM
Calderwood stated that he had a perfect budget and he was happy with it.
I will be astounded if Calderwood leaves Hibs.
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 09:53 PM
Still going. Please make it stop.
This must be close to an all time best trolling effort.
You know, if this thread was locked, or better still deleted, the whole thing would just stop.
You wish! It would just sprout 2 more heads. And so on. Better to keep all the pish in one thread (and that includes my own comments before anyone picks up their handbag!)
JACK_HFC
23-06-2011, 10:08 PM
23-06-2011, 10:10 PM
Errr, no we shouldn't have.
CC would have known what the budget was prior to signing a contract with the club to become manager so the above is complete bollocks I'm afraid. Nae offence.
23-06-2011, 10:10 PM
Why have you posted the same thing again?
merged, locked or deleted :hmmm:
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 10:11 PM
What the hell? Are you trying to start as many duplicate threads as possible?
23-06-2011, 10:13 PM
Deary me!! Never seen a thread this big before and I thought the admins would have deleted it now as it's just getting 'o.t.t'.
Anyways well I just simply can't see CC leaving because I am sure that he wants to be remembered as a sucessful manager up here like eck and Mogga were and then go back to manage in England. He has achieved sucess in his last 3 clubs by gaining promotion with all three teams and I am sure he will want to add something to his cv like qualifying for Europe or winning a cup with Hibs before thinking about a move down south. He has only just started his re-building process at Hibs and I am sure he will want to finish it as this is his big season to prove himself to us fans with his own team that he has assembled.
23-06-2011, 10:13 PM
Has someone just introduced you to the exclamation mark!??! :devil:
Brebners Bookie
23-06-2011, 10:15 PM
that is ridiculous... we should never have spent 750,000 on de la cruz, no scottish club outside glasgow can afford to spend that then let alone now.
hush up
23-06-2011, 10:17 PM
Deary me!! Never seen a thread this big before and I thought the admins would have deleted it now as it's just getting 'o.t.t'.
Anyways well I just simply can't see CC leaving because I am sure that he wants to be remembered as a sucessful manager up here like eck and Mogga were and then go back to manage in England. He has achieved sucess in his last 3 clubs by gaining promotion with all three teams and I am sure he will want to add something to his cv like qualifying for Europe or winning a cup with Hibs before thinking about a move down south. He has only just started his re-building process at Hibs and I am sure he will want to finish it as this is his big season to prove himself to us fans with his own team that he has assembled.
They should just move it to the PM board. Anyone who wants to continue it will need to pay a tenner :thumbsup:
23-06-2011, 10:18 PM
FFS!! :grr:
Please not another >30 page thread about nearly the same topic.
:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall
23-06-2011, 10:19 PM
FFS!! :grr:
Please not another >30 page thread about nearly the same topic.
:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall
Stop posting on them then :wink:
Calderwood stated that he had a perfect budget and he was happy with it.
In November 2010.
Things don't stay the same forever.
23-06-2011, 10:19 PM
Stop posting on them then :wink::agree:
ooops :greengrin
23-06-2011, 10:20 PM
They should just move it to the PM board. Anyone who wants to continue it will need to pay a tenner :thumbsup:
McIntosh
23-06-2011, 10:21 PM
Agreed - Admins just need to act, any of the above would be great.
moggie
23-06-2011, 10:24 PM
At a time when hibs should be doing there best to sell as many season tickets as possible....im sorry but i would be wheeling the manager out to make a statement.
I keep getting the impression that hes not 100% with hibs, and if not well let him go.
23-06-2011, 10:25 PM
Agreed - Admins just need to act, any of the above would be great.
I was joking :greengrin
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 10:25 PM
In November 2010.
Things don't stay the same forever.
True but did he not recently say that there was still room in the budget? There is no reason for him to say that, especially if he's unhappy with how tightly things are being run.
McIntosh
23-06-2011, 10:27 PM
I was joking :greengrin
That's a pity this thread has made us a laughing stock.
You wish! It would just sprout 2 more heads. And so on. Better to keep all the pish in one thread (and that includes my own comments before anyone picks up their handbag!)
There's so much pish in this thread that you could float a submarine all the way to Kaunas with it. Or maybe just down to Nottingham and back.
HibsMax
At a time when hibs should be doing there best to sell as many season tickets as possible....im sorry but i would be wheeling the manager out to make a statement.
I keep getting the impression that hes not 100% with hibs, and if not well let him go.
That's a good point. Another point was made, sorry for not being able to attribute it to the correct person, but all this uncertainty could (?) potentially make us less attractive to possible signing targets. And as you said, season ticket sales. Things were looking up when GOC signed but all this new crap, true or not, can't be helping. Look at the turmoil over here!
23-06-2011, 10:28 PM
Who, me and you :confused:
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 10:30 PM
With whom?
All we're really doing is debating over the speculation. Yes, it's a little hectic but nothing I would be embarrassed about as a message board user. That's what happens on message boards.
23-06-2011, 10:32 PM
I couldn't help noticing when after signing his autograph on a small football for my daughter yesterday, the "wood" on the ball was not as sharp and neat as on his signature on this years calendar.
Looks like he's off :agree:
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 10:33 PM
I couldn't help noticing when after signing his autograph on a small football for my daughter yesterday, the "wood" on the ball was not as sharp and neat as on his signature on this years calendar.
Looks like he's off :agree:
Sounds like Hibs are really amping up the training if we're using wooden balls now. Interesting technique, let's hope it works out. Actually, that explains a LOT. Scott didn't hit Welsh, he simply kicked the ball in his puss.
23-06-2011, 10:37 PM
Whether he was truthful or not, Calderwood when appointed said that he was perfectly happy with his budget.
True but did he not recently say that there was still room in the budget? There is no reason for him to say that, especially if he's unhappy with how tightly things are being run.
17 players out and 3 in so far this window. :hmmm:
Even with the plans for a reduced squad there can be little doubt that CC has more budget to spend. And that will fund the one or two other additions that he's hinted at arriving next month (or as he put it "not in the short term").
But that's still a far cry from "the perfect budget" quote which was made when he was but a week or so in the Manager's job.
Whether he was truthful or not, Calderwood when appointed said that he was perfectly happy with his budget.
We're into a new season, a new financial year (from August) and very likely a new budget.
The squad size is being reduced from 36 to 24. Good plan! But it does hint strongly that the budget for this coming season will be different from last season's.
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 10:54 PM
Even with the plans for a reduced squad there can be little doubt that CC has more budget to spend. And that will fund the one or two other additions that he's hinted at arriving next month (or as he put it "not in the short term").
But that's still a far cry from "the perfect budget" quote which was made when he was but a week or so in the Manager's job.
To be fair, I think we have to include the winter signings as well since they were signed AFTER he made the perfect budget comment. The budget no doubt changed after they were brought in.
And his idea of perfect might be different than ours. My idea of a perfect budget is............there is no budget, spend as much as you want (assuming we could actually afford such a policy).
23-06-2011, 11:04 PM
Maybe the budget is just right (i.e. 'perfect') for the number of players CC still wants to bring in. He's not talked about high volume of incoming players this window at any point. He's got three in and is talking about adding more late, with the specific comment that he's got a budget to be able to do so.
That would make me think that the perfect budget comment was about right.
23-06-2011, 11:07 PM
The lousy run of results after the split dropped us to 10th place and cost the club about £300,000 in league money.
If CCs unhappy with the budget he should look at himself and his team first.
23-06-2011, 11:08 PM
The lousy run of results after the split dropped us to 10th place and cost the club about £300,000 in league money.
You sure about that? £300k between 7th and 10th :confused:
Never realised it was that much.
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 11:10 PM
You sure about that? £300k between 7th and 10th :confused:
Never realised it was that much.
I thought that was the difference between finishing 4th and 10th (2009 vs 2010)?
Plus, I don't think CC is saying he is unhappy with the budget so I don't really think he has to look anywhere.
McIntosh
23-06-2011, 11:17 PM
With whom?
All we're really doing is debating over the speculation. Yes, it's a little hectic but nothing I would be embarrassed about as a message board user. That's what happens on message boards.
We are in a kafkaesque twilight zone of absurdity, people insisting on statements from managers about something you describe as "speculation". I for one believe believe that this type of distraction is detrimental to the management, the players and staff of our great club and consequently it has to be stopped. Has this "speculation" caused the club to be distracted, well yesterday statement proves that. Is it an embarrassment, I don't know but is it negative - it clearly is. Sadly, we all have collectively maintained this feeding frenzy.
McIntosh
23-06-2011, 11:20 PM
Who, me and you :confused:
Well Oscar - us all, you and me especially :wink:
Barman Stanton
23-06-2011, 11:24 PM
Sounds like Hibs are really amping up the training if we're using wooden balls now. Interesting technique, let's hope it works out. Actually, that explains a LOT. Scott didn't hit Welsh, he simply kicked the ball in his puss.
:greengrin:greengrin Very good
HibsMax
23-06-2011, 11:24 PM
We are in a kafkaesque twilight zone of absurdity, people insisting on statements from managers about something you describe as "speculation". I for one believe believe that this type of distraction is detrimental to the management, the players and staff of our great club and consequently it has to be stopped. Has this "speculation" caused the club to be distracted, well yesterday statement proves that. Is it an embarrassment, I don't know but is it negative, well it clearly is. Sadly, we all have collectively maintained this feeding frenzy.
Why did you put speculation in quotes?
I don't think this type of distraction is good either (and have said so) but I am not going to be embarrassed by what happens on a message board. That's what I was referring to - hibs.net, NOT the media circus that has ensued. The post I replied to was specifically talking about THIS thread.
23-06-2011, 11:29 PM
why would a hibby have a pic of empty green seats:hmmm: they're not even trying to be discreet anymore:feed:
23-06-2011, 11:35 PM
the latest from the scotsman is that we are "bracing" ourselves for the call from birmingham! no direct quotes from anyone, but there never is:wink:
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Hibs-uneasy-as-Colin-Calderwood.6790359.jp
Hibernian are braced for an approach from Birmingham City for manager Colin Calderwood after Chris Hughton prepared to begin selecting his backroom staff at St Andrew's.
The former Newcastle United manager was officially installed as Alex McLeish's successor at Birmingham yesterday. Hibs have already stressed they would not welcome any interest in Calderwood in response to reports suggesting Nottingham Forest and new manager Steve McClaren were ready to make a move. However, Calderwood worked with Hughton at Newcastle during the club's recent season-long stay in the Championship. The lure of reuniting with Hughton might be harder to resist than returning as No?2 to the City Ground, where Calderwood worked as manager between 2006 and 2008.
"That's another issue that certainly over the next few days I've got to speak to people about," said Hughton yesterday, when asked about who will occupy his backroom staff positions. Former Hibs player Andy Watson remains at the club despite long-time ally Alex McLeish's controversial departure for Aston Villa.
"It's a very exciting prospect to be here and of course what will happen over the next few days and weeks is there will be changes and there will be philosophies that I would like to put onto the players that I have," added Hughton. "But that takes time and that can't be done in a day, my endeavours over the next few days are to put as many things is place as I can."
Hibs released a statement on their official website on Wednesday after reports indicated Forest were preparing to approach the Easter Road club for Calderwood. "The club can confirm that no official approach has been made by Nottingham Forest to the club, and none would be welcomed," it said. "The manager and team are currently at their pre-season training camp in preparation for the forthcoming campaign."
Despite the continued speculation linking Calderwood with a return south of the Border, or possibly because of it, an interview with the manager was shown on Hibs TV yesterday. Calderwood appeared to be relishing the thought of leading Hibs into the new campaign. "It's a terrific prospect taking Hibs on next season," he said. "Of course, I'm still enjoying the challenge."
Calderwood has already added three new signings in Ivan Sproule, Sean O'Hanlon and Garry O'Connor ahead of the new campaign. "We're going to have to add again, although nothing is going to happen in the short-term," he said. "But we definitely have to add again. There is nothing in the pipeline at the minute, nothing we're particularly looking at, but we've got a lot of ideas."
McIntosh
23-06-2011, 11:41 PM
Why did you put speculation in quotes?
I don't think this type of distraction is good either (and have said so) but I am not going to be embarrassed by what happens on a message board. That's what I was referring to - hibs.net, NOT the media circus that has ensued. The post I replied to was specifically talking about THIS thread.
To answer your question. I put speculation in quotation marks because I don't consider it to be merely that, I consider it be something a lot more invidious. In respect to your second point, the media circus to a degree has been fuelled by our chatter - we have fuelled it. It is important to me that we protect the reputation, the integrity and the stability of our great club. When we are contributing direct or indirectly to instability we need to do something to address it.
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 12:09 AM
To answer your question. I put speculation in quotation marks because I don't consider it to be merely that, I consider it be something a lot more invidious. In respect to your second point, the media circus to a degree has been fuelled by our chatter - we have fuelled it. It is important to me that we protect the reputation, the integrity and the stability of our great club. When we are contributing direct or indirectly to instability we need to do something to address it.
EDIT : I had to look up invidious, so this thread taught me something. :wink:
As far as I'm concerned, this thread contains little more than speculation so I guess we'll need to disagree on that. I say speculation because nobody really knows what is going on. Lots of people in the know, lots of "I heard this" but at the end of the day, nobody really knows 100% what is going on, or if they do they cannot provide us with the proof to back it up meaning they could still be right but without that evidence they will have a very hard time convincing people.
I don't want to deliberately tarnish Hibs either but this is a message board which is full of facts, lies, misinformation, opinion, commentary, etc. If the media chooses to get its "facts" from here there is little that we can do about it short of closing the doors to everyone other than genuine members.....but that's taking thing too far in my opinion.
24-06-2011, 04:45 AM
For **** sake...
The thread title might as well be "Lack of Kiwi Boot Polish in the Edinburgh area could cause CC to go!" or "If, Coulda, Woulda, Shoulda".
24-06-2011, 05:57 AM
You give him it then. :agree:
24-06-2011, 06:03 AM
why would a hibby have a pic of empty green seats:hmmm: they're not even trying to be discreet anymore:feed:
24-06-2011, 06:20 AM
that is ridiculous... we should never have spent 750,000 on de la cruz, no scottish club outside glasgow can afford to spend that then let alone now.
hush up
We got a return of about 150% on de la Cruz's transfer fee after one season so, ironically, our record signing was one of the few that didn't contribute to the record debt that was being racked up at the time.
I'd say it was an inspired signing.
I norticed on BBC this morning that they were adamant Hughton wants Calderwood for his assistant. That can only come from Hughtom himself and I doubt it'd get out unless Calderwood said he was interested.
Time will tell.
24-06-2011, 07:17 AM
We're into a new season, a new financial year (from August) and very likely a new budget.
The squad size is being reduced from 36 to 24. Good plan! But it does hint strongly that the budget for this coming season will be different from last season's.
But realistically that is bound to be influenced by the inevitable loss which will have arisen in the 2010/2011 financial year when there were no big money transfers out, no cash from cup runs and little cash from the SPL due to very poor SPL league position at the end of the season! :agree:
EskbankHibby
24-06-2011, 07:28 AM
But realistically that is bound to be influenced by the inevitable loss which will have arisen in the 2010/2011 financial year when there were no big money transfers out, no cash from cup runs and little cash from the SPL due to very poor SPL league position at the end of the season! :agree:
As an aside can i just say how much i appreciate/enjoy your avatars TH.:aok:
Anyway, back to the thread - Hibs are pash, CC is away, the board are parasites etc etc etc
24-06-2011, 07:39 AM
EXCLUSIVE - CC WILL BE AT NEW CLUB NEXT SEASON!!! (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13665669.stm)
PETRIE!!! :grr: :grr: :grr:
To be fair, I think we have to include the winter signings as well since they were signed AFTER he made the perfect budget comment. The budget no doubt changed after they were brought in.
And his idea of perfect might be different than ours. My idea of a perfect budget is............there is no budget, spend as much as you want (assuming we could actually afford such a policy).
In which case to be ultra-fair we also have to include the five departures in the January window. :greengrin
Maybe the budget is just right (i.e. 'perfect') for the number of players CC still wants to bring in. He's not talked about high volume of incoming players this window at any point. He's got three in and is talking about adding more late, with the specific comment that he's got a budget to be able to do so.
That would make me think that the perfect budget comment was about right.
My point is that the 'perfect budget' phrase is being misquoted as it was made last October / November. There is likely to have been all manner of changes to the club's budget / financial circumstances since then. The quote is now 8 months old, out of date and may no longer apply.
We won't know until CC is asked the question again.
:agree: Not denying that any such changes have likely been forced by the shifting financial circumstances that the club finds itself in.
I'm simply pointing out that a lot can happen in the space of eight months to render such a quote null and void.
24-06-2011, 08:02 AM
I'm simply pointing out that a lot can happen in the space of eight months to render such a quote null and void.
And a lot could happen to strengthen or improve it. :agree:
24-06-2011, 08:06 AM
We got a return of about 150% on de la Cruz's transfer fee after one season so, ironically, our record signing was one of the few that didn't contribute to the record debt that was being racked up at the time.
I'd say it was an inspired signing.
We didn't pay anywhere close to 750k for DLC either!
Simpson
24-06-2011, 09:44 AM
EXCLUSIVE - CC WILL BE AT NEW CLUB NEXT SEASON!!! (http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13665669.stm)
24-06-2011, 11:09 AM
Paul Taylor, Nottingham based journo for the Notts Post met with Steve McLaren who confirmed he expects an answer from Hibs today on Calderwood.
Does anyone still believe that this is a non-story and a Jambo wind up?
24-06-2011, 11:20 AM
Paul Taylor, Nottingham based journo for the Notts Post met with Steve McLaren who confirmed he expects an answer from Hibs today on Calderwood.
Does anyone still believe that this is a non-story and a Jambo wind up?
Never did to begin with! The board are just posturing and giving out expected statements. Clear intentions are what is required from both the board and CC; But if CC chooses to go, then good luck to him - I harbor nor grudges!
24-06-2011, 11:26 AM
Hopefully the board already have possible candidates in mind if the CC rumours do come to fruition.
24-06-2011, 11:34 AM
Despite the continued speculation linking Calderwood with a return south of the Border, or possibly because of it, an interview with the manager was shown on Hibs TV yesterday. Calderwood appeared to be relishing the thought of leading Hibs into the new campaign. "It's a terrific prospect taking Hibs on next season," he said. "Of course, I'm still enjoying the challenge."
Calderwood has already added three new signings in Ivan Sproule, Sean O'Hanlon and Garry O'Connor ahead of the new campaign. "We're going to have to add again, although nothing is going to happen in the short-term," he said. "But we definitely have to add again. There is nothing in the pipeline at the minute, nothing we're particularly looking at, but we've got a lot of ideas."
I think the first paragraph is fuzzy,vague, clicheed 'manager' talk by someone who is very unsure where he will be this time next week. I think the second paragraph is also very vague. What does he mean by 'nothing is going to happen in the short term' .......... a week, two months, half a season? Remember that recently, after the Sproule signing, he said that there were irons on fire and that he was hopeful that something might come of it. I don't think GO'C was in his thoughts at that time, maybe O'Hanlon was one of them., so why is the pipeline empty 'at the minute'? I think there is something in the air and wouldn't be surprised if he goes soon. If he was definitely staying he would have said so by now. By the same token I wouldn't be surprised if the 'English' rumours fade away.
Hopefully the board already have possible candidates in mind if the CC rumours do come to fruition.
I would expect that the board at least know what is going on and the chances of CC leaving, so if it is likely, I hope they have at least thought about a replacement...
The first actual quote on the matter.
http://www.thisisnottingham.co.uk/Forest-expect-Calderwood-decision-today-reveals/story-12828569-detail/story.html
And a lot could happen to strengthen or improve it. :agree:
In theory. :wink:
(Desperately trying to think how that might apply to us over the last 8 months or so.)
24-06-2011, 11:40 AM
http://www.thisisnottingham.co.uk/Forest-expect-Calderwood-decision-today-reveals/story-12828569-detail/story.html
Thank you:
"The major stumbling block will be whether his current club, Hibernian, are willing to release him from his contract to return to Nottingham for a second spell.
"I have been prioritising trying to put my staff together and people know that we have been trying to bring Colin Calderwood back to the club," said McClaren.
"That will be resolved today, hopefully. We are one or two people short at the moment and I will be looking at that."
Not that this is the time or the place but some of the comments on this thread from posters who deluded themselves into thinking that 'This could never happen' I hope have the grace to come back on here and apologise but more importantly for me anyways ask why Hibs have been very economical with the truth again to their supporters and ask why CC is looking for a way out of Hibs so soon after coming up the road.
Benny Brazil
24-06-2011, 11:41 AM
Reading that it would appear that McLaren is quite hopeful of getting Calderwood.
Not that this is the time or the place but some of the comments on this thread from posters who deluded themselves into thinking that 'This could never happen' I hope have the grace to come back on here and apologise but more importantly for me anyways ask why Hibs have been very economical with the truth again to their supporters and ask why CC is looking for a way out of Hibs so soon after coming up the road.
Have they? :confused:
"The major stumbling block will be whether his current club, Hibernian, are willing to release him from his contract to return to Nottingham for a second spell."
Interesting 'major' stumbling block. You'ld have thought that the major stumbling block would be that CC is detemined to do the job he was only fairly recently contracted to do and one that "he was enjoying and looking forward to" and that he wasn't interested in demotion. :dunno:
24-06-2011, 11:42 AM
Reading that it would appear that McLaren is quite hopeful of getting Calderwood.
And he'll look a bit of an erse if he doesn't IMO.
He must be confident.
24-06-2011, 11:44 AM
Have they? :confused:
"No official contact from Nottingham Forest"....but Calderwood went to the Board and expressed a desire to leave.
Anyways nit picking, Hibs knew about this from day 1 IMO.
24-06-2011, 11:44 AM
And he'll look a bit of an erse if he doesn't IMO.
He must be confident.
Apart from anything else, it makes it look like CC wants to go and Hibs are stalling. Shocking PR for Hibs if he ends up staying put.
24-06-2011, 11:45 AM
If CC does leave over the summer then he's not even half the manager I thought he was........
The truth is, as McClaren's 2nd in command, he'll have a much easier time at Nottingham Forrest than he will rebuilding our team and have us performing at top 4 level.
Hopefully we'll find out soon enough how much of a sh*te-bag he is. :greengrin :wink:
24-06-2011, 11:45 AM
Factually incorrect, as he was player coach at the Blue Brazil last season :greengrin
24-06-2011, 11:46 AM
If McClaren is confident enough to put his name to this then it will be a surprise now if Calderwood doesn't move.
24-06-2011, 11:47 AM
"The major stumbling block will be whether his current club, Hibernian, are willing to release him from his contract to return to Nottingham for a second spell."
Surely the only major stumbling block is whether they either meet the release clause compensation amount, or our valuation of him if there isn't one (if he wants to go!!)
24-06-2011, 11:47 AM
If McClaren is confident enough to put his name to this then it will be a surprise now if Calderwood doesn't move.
looks like he's away.
Benny Brazil
24-06-2011, 11:48 AM
Agreed - hope you admins are ready for another Hibs.net meltdown:greengrin
24-06-2011, 11:48 AM
To be fair, it's now clear that CC's happiness in the press is clearly just a front. If he didn't want to move, he simply would've put the rumours to bed himself. For that reason I'd actually let him go. Don't want a manager in charge who doesn't actually want to be at the club, and if he's got this mindset now, I can't see him making it through until the end of the season.
A new manager will have almost a clean slate to begin with, so hopefully there'll be none of this 'transition period' ***** if we do end up with a new manager.
ionahibby
24-06-2011, 11:49 AM
From Scotsman website
http://sport.scotsman.com/football/Hibs-Colin-Calderwood-gets-tough.6790534.jp
''The incident will be the subject of an internal investigation with Hibs adamant they won't be making any further comment although Calderwood is sure to face questions on the subject at a pre-arranged Press conference later today.
And the Hibs boss is also certain to be quizzed on his own future with his name being linked to the post of assistant manager at both Nottingham Forest and Birmingham City''
Will be interesting to see if this press conference goes ahead if it does an ideal oppurtunity for cc to put all rumours to bed
24-06-2011, 11:50 AM
Thank you:
"The major stumbling block will be whether his current club, Hibernian, are willing to release him from his contract to return to Nottingham for a second spell.
"I have been prioritising trying to put my staff together and people know that we have been trying to bring Colin Calderwood back to the club," said McClaren.
"That will be resolved today, hopefully. We are one or two people short at the moment and I will be looking at that."
That's by far the bigger issue really. Do Hibs think that the managerial position is important? What are they doing to produce some sort of stability? How much influence does the manager actually have?
It's hard to see how Hibs have been "economical with the truth" when they've hardly said anything about it. I think that's an irrelevance and sidetracks from the substance of the issue that Hibs seem to have with appointing and retaining managers.
aberhibsfc
24-06-2011, 11:53 AM
If that's the case, it won't be Del Adams. Timing and all that.
24-06-2011, 11:57 AM
That's by far the bigger issue really. Do Hibs think that the managerial position is important? What are they doing to produce some sort of stability? How much influence does the manager actually have?
It's hard to see how Hibs have been "economical with the truth" when they've hardly said anything about it. I think that's an irrelevance and sidetracks from the substance of the issue that Hibs seem to have with appointing and retaining managers.
Your bang on the money with the last paragraph.
I'll leave my other thoughts on the matter until Hibs give their decision to Forest, to me its 90% certain that he's away although my crystal ball tells me that it will be for 'Family reasons' and that as part of his release from Hibs he'll have to go along with this and not be allowed to talk about what has happened in his 8 months up in Edinburgh.
24-06-2011, 12:13 PM
I'll leave my other thoughts on the matter until Hibs give their decision to Forest, to me its 90% certain that he's away although my crystal ball tells me that it will be for 'Family reasons' and that as part of his release from Hibs he'll have to go along with this and not be allowed to talk about what has happened in his 8 months up in Edinburgh.
I concur 100% and share that thought!
24-06-2011, 12:19 PM
How often do you see any manager speaking in detail about their time at any former club?
24-06-2011, 12:23 PM
"No official contact from Nottingham Forest"....but Calderwood went to the Board and expressed a desire to leave.
Anyways nit picking, Hibs knew about this from day 1 IMO.
How does Calderwood saying he wants to leave equate to 'No official contact from Nottingham Forest' being a lie then?
CC could easily have met with Mclaren before any subsequent contact at Board level. Indeed, there would usually be this sort of chat rather than going straight to the club out of the blue.
24-06-2011, 12:28 PM
Yes men are always in the running Matty. :greengrin
24-06-2011, 12:30 PM
How does Calderwood saying he wants to leave equate to 'No official contact from Nottingham Forest' being a lie then?
CC could easily have met with Mclaren before any subsequent contact at Board level. Indeed, there would usually be this sort of chat rather than going straight to the club out of the blue.
I'll make it easy for you, yes or no did Hibs know that Forest wanted cc when they issued that statement.
Only a fool would answer not.
24-06-2011, 12:32 PM
I'll make it easy for you, yes or no did Hibs know that Forest wanted cc when they issued that statement.
Only a fool would answer not.
The statement said no official approach had been made, and that one would not be welcome. They did not say Forest were not interested.
If you want to try and paint the Board as liars on this for whatever reason, go ahead, but your logic does not hold up.
24-06-2011, 12:32 PM
"But we can talk about that more when it is done and dusted."
The quote above from McLaren (when not if) makes me think he is confident that Calderwood is going to Forest. :agree:
24-06-2011, 12:39 PM
Thank you:
Why would folk have to apologise, and to whom, for questioning a rumour?
Some of us were more or less mocked for not taking Hibs' statement at face value but I wouldn't expect (or want, for that matter) an apology every time someone disagreed with me.
24-06-2011, 12:39 PM
There's always been something not quite right about CC at Hibs, maybe its just his dour demeanour but the whole issue of him travelling to be with his family and stuff wasn't ideal either.
Previous managers whether they have done well or not have lived and breathed the club and did the miles to watch other games.
And although he may just be playing his cards close to his chest the fact he knew a whole team were going yet we don't have a big list of people in mind, which he has suggested, is a worry.
I was sceptical about all this but there are quotes now which look like he is at least thinking of being away.
Time to get this sorted and move him on, but the Board, and I have backed them in the past, need to have a good look at how they appoint managers.
I don't believe its the backing they get, budget wise, so something is amiss.
As we seem to be on the verge of looking for yet another manager and probably another season of excuses about how its not the manager's team any more I think as far as the board goes I'm now going to be in the get rid camp, so far as anyone involved in the footballing side goes at least.
24-06-2011, 12:40 PM
Hibs won't be able to hold on to him if he wants to go. He's no different from a player, if he doesn't want to be here there's no point in keeping him and it's time for Forest to stump up and he can head down the road again.
If he does go, the big question is WHY?
Hibby D
24-06-2011, 12:42 PM
Hibs won't be able to hold on to him if he wants to go. He's no different from a player, if he doesn't want to be here there's no point in keeping him and it's time for Forest to stump up and he can head down the road again.
Money. Always money.
24-06-2011, 12:43 PM
Then confusingly:
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Hibs-Colin-Calderwood-gets-tough.6790534.jp
CC warning the players next week will be even tougher.
Strange to keep making statements about the future, even in the short term, if he is about to up sticks.
24-06-2011, 12:44 PM
I still don't think he'll go anywhere.
I think we know the reason he will give and thats family. Family comes first and all that but heay WTF apply and then elect to take a job in Scotland when your family is happy in England. I am sure that was a question (or at least I hope it was) about his commitment to the club.....
I would like to think that even if CC goes then even if he resigns then we should look into an illegal tapping up.
I personally think that RP and the board have been sold up the river on this one and if he does go then CC is the one that should be blamed and not the board.
I think come Monday or maybe even earlier we will know one way or another (personally feel we will be looking for another manager come next week, but I really do hope I am wrong).
24-06-2011, 12:46 PM
Then confusingly:
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Hibs-Colin-Calderwood-gets-tough.6790534.jp
CC warning the players next week will be even tougher.
Strange to keep making statements about the future, even in the short term, if he is about to up sticks.
You have to do that if your employer haven't told you that you can go yet.
24-06-2011, 12:48 PM
Money. Always money.
I'm not so sure, Diane. Calderwood will have taken a fair pay-cut to come to Hibs in the first place.
24-06-2011, 12:49 PM
I'm not so sure, Diane. Calderwood will have taken a fair pay-cut to come to Hibs in the first place.
Apparently he's on more at Hibs than he was at Newcastle.
I know, I found it strange too.
24-06-2011, 12:50 PM
Strange. I just assumed that he'd be on a huge wedge at a Premiership club.
24-06-2011, 12:51 PM
There was always going to speculation if forest got a new manager or when chris hughton got a new job.Calderwood knew there would be and im sure was ready for it.It could be just simply that the money he gets offered dwarfs what he will get at thibs and like a player in that position will go for the money.Hibs could refuse of course but if he wants to go then get the compensation for him and look at the likes of oneil to replace him(michael that is not martin).Life will go on and hopefully this is sorted soon and whoever is the manager can get the three of four players we need in before the start ofthe season(4 weeks away in case anybody didnt realise).
Im sure there are deals in the pipeline but the problem would be if the new manager doesnt fancy calderwoods signing targets.Im sure the board will know by now if he is staying or going and if he is going will be actively looking already for his replacement.Still the close season hasnt been as dull as normal.
24-06-2011, 12:51 PM
I suppose he started off as part of the coaching staff before stepping up to be Hughton's assistant - maybe his contract remained the same all the way through his time there.
Hibby D
24-06-2011, 12:53 PM
It's not just his wages though - what's in the piggy bank to spend on players will have a massive bearing on his decision.
Sure ST sales, or lack thereof, will impact on it too.
I'm convinced we've seen the back of CC :agree:
24-06-2011, 12:54 PM
I suppose he started off as part of the coaching staff before stepping up to be Hughton's assistant - maybe his contract remained the same all the way through his time there.
He must be on a fairly decent contract here if you take into consideration the price of his release clause.
24-06-2011, 12:55 PM
He must be on a fairly decent contract here if you take into consideration the price of his release clause.
I'm sure CC is paid handsomely by Hibs. I've never, ever bought into the belief that we go for "the cheap option" with managers.
24-06-2011, 12:56 PM
I'm sure CC is paid handsomely by Hibs. I've never, ever bought into the fact that we go for "the cheap option" with managers.
'Bought into the FACT' Stevie?
24-06-2011, 12:58 PM
From the EEN website:
Nottmforestfan,
24/06/2011 13:46:16
Strange that in Scotland it is still being treated as only a rumour that McClaren has targetted Calderwood.
Its been known in Nottingham for 7 days now - tried to warn you guys on hibs.net and got ridiculed from start to finish.
McClaren in his press conference today in Notts actually said it no secret I am trying to attract Colin - I am hoping for an answer today.
In Hibs everybody seems to want to keep it a secret or pretend its not been happening. Last week I accused people on hibs.net of being naive and I have to say that is still the case.
Fact is the only way he stays now is if Forest cant afford to pay the compensation Hibs are looking for and if Birmingham wont pay it either. That will happen if your chairman doesnt negotiate. Our fans would go berserk if our club paid anywhere near £1m for an assistant - we need players far more !
Regardless you are then left with a manager who you guys know would rather be elsewhere - if this was happening in Notts we would be telling the manager to clear off.
Cannot see how your chairman could want to keep him now.
On a side note hibs.net despite what the administrator keeps saying to the contrary have stopped me posting for last few days as they never believed a word I was saying. Scared of the truth - simple as that.
Shame that they run away from the truth - like I said before that is a great forum with some real characters and as I also said from day one I was genuine from the start and came on there with good intentions to share info with fellow fans and try and find out why Calderwood wanted to leave you guys in the first place.
Anyone from hib.net please copy and paste this on the forum because like I say (they have me as leaving by mutual consent).
24-06-2011, 12:58 PM
'Bought into the FACT' Stevie?
I made a hasty re-edit upon re-reading it, even prior to your post Speedway!
I might add that I sincerely hope that we recoup any compensation that we paid for CC if he goes, though I've every faith that Rod could make a profit on him.
24-06-2011, 01:00 PM
How often do you see any manager speaking in detail about their time at any former club?
How many Clubs have got through as many managers as we have in the last 5 years?
Somethings wrong somewhere...
24-06-2011, 01:02 PM
From the EEN website:
Nottmforestfan,
24/06/2011 13:46:16
Strange that in Scotland it is still being treated as only a rumour that McClaren has targetted Calderwood.
Its been known in Nottingham for 7 days now - tried to warn you guys on hibs.net and got ridiculed from start to finish.
McClaren in his press conference today in Notts actually said it no secret I am trying to attract Colin - I am hoping for an answer today.
In Hibs everybody seems to want to keep it a secret or pretend its not been happening. Last week I accused people on hibs.net of being naive and I have to say that is still the case.
Fact is the only way he stays now is if Forest cant afford to pay the compensation Hibs are looking for and if Birmingham wont pay it either. That will happen if your chairman doesnt negotiate. Our fans would go berserk if our club paid anywhere near £1m for an assistant - we need players far more !
Regardless you are then left with a manager who you guys know would rather be elsewhere - if this was happening in Notts we would be telling the manager to clear off.
Cannot see how your chairman could want to keep him now.
On a side note hibs.net despite what the administrator keeps saying to the contrary have stopped me posting for last few days as they never believed a word I was saying. Scared of the truth - simple as that.
Shame that they run away from the truth - like I said before that is a great forum with some real characters and as I also said from day one I was genuine from the start and came on there with good intentions to share info with fellow fans and try and find out why Calderwood wanted to leave you guys in the first place.
Anyone from hib.net please copy and paste this on the forum because like I say (they have me as leaving by mutual consent).
Anyone know if the bit in bold is true?
24-06-2011, 01:02 PM
How many Clubs have got through as many managers as we have in the last 5 years?
In Afghanistan particularly. :agree:
24-06-2011, 01:05 PM
Chelsea
Hearts
24-06-2011, 01:06 PM
Anyone know if the bit in bold is true?
Apparently so according to this posted previously on the thread: http://www.thisisnottingham.co.uk/Forest-expect-Calderwood-decision-today-reveals/story-12828569-detail/story.html
I made a hasty re-edit upon re-reading it, even prior to your post Speedway!
I might add that I sincerely hope that we recoup any compensation that we paid for CC if he goes, though I've every faith that Rod could make a profit on him.
Tell you wot Stevie....Any team that wants CC will have to pay Compo and we all know that...I think the problem we have is that if CC resigns do we have a case that clubs have 'TAPPED UP' our manager.
Think we are about to get done over IMHO (I really hope we dont but can see this happening) and really do hope we get someone in that will show a bit of commitment to the club... o and FWIW is this the reason why we havent had any further signings announced at the club.
Some worrying times ahead IMHO.
O and if we dont strenghten then I really do fear for us next season once injuries and suspensions hit in.
24-06-2011, 01:10 PM
CC not ruling out a move at the press conference currently in progress at ER.
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 01:11 PM
Thank you:
but go ahead anyway. :wink:
Why would you expect an apology from people on a thread that took over 1100 posts to get to an actual quote from someone?
"deluded" - fans are deluded because they didn't want to totally swallow a story that had no backing? There was a LOT of smoke but not one shred of evidence other than twitter posts and a less-than-clear photograph. Some people, not me of course, might say that anyone who believes such a story with so little evidence is gullible.
Hopefully if this all turns out to be smoke and mirrors you will come back here, admit that you were the deluded one and apologise to all the fans who didn't swallow the story as easily as you have.
I am not saying the story is false. I never have. But there has been slim pickings in terms of actual, hang-your-hat-on facts.
24-06-2011, 01:12 PM
are you there :greengrin
24-06-2011, 01:12 PM
CC reckons Scott and Welsh will get past their bust up of this week.
24-06-2011, 01:13 PM
CC admitted it's tough being away from family in England.
24-06-2011, 01:14 PM
[/B]
Tell you wot Stevie....Any team that wants CC will have to pay Compo and we all know that...I think the problem we have is that if CC resigns do we have a case that clubs have 'TAPPED UP' our manager.
Think we are about to get done over IMHO (I really hope we dont but can see this happening) and really do hope we get someone in that will show a bit of commitment to the club... o and FWIW is this the reason why we havent had any further signings announced at the club.
Some worrying times ahead IMHO.
O and if we dont strenghten then I really do fear for us next season once injuries and suspensions hit in.
I think we will be ok, especially as McLaren seems to have spoken openly about trying to get CC despite Hibs saying that no official approach has been made. But I think Calderwood would wait for things to be done the right way if he were to go.
24-06-2011, 01:15 PM
Mark Benstead is, he's updating on Twitter :wink:
24-06-2011, 01:16 PM
No, but Mark Benstead is.
24-06-2011, 01:19 PM
Investigation ongoing re: Scott v. Welsh
24-06-2011, 01:21 PM
There's always been something not quite right about CC at Hibs, maybe its just his dour demeanour but the whole issue of him travelling to be with his family and stuff wasn't ideal either.
Previous managers whether they have done well or not have lived and breathed the club and did the miles to watch other games.
And although he may just be playing his cards close to his chest the fact he knew a whole team were going yet we don't have a big list of people in mind, which he has suggested, is a worry.
I was sceptical about all this but there are quotes now which look like he is at least thinking of being away.
Time to get this sorted and move him on, but the Board, and I have backed them in the past, need to have a good look at how they appoint managers.
I don't believe its the backing they get, budget wise, so something is amiss.
As we seem to be on the verge of looking for yet another manager and probably another season of excuses about how its not the manager's team any more I think as far as the board goes I'm now going to be in the get rid camp, so far as anyone involved in the footballing side goes at least.
I would agree with that if CC were sacked, Andy - but this is a bit of a strange situation in that our manager seems to be in high demand despite being largely disappointing in his role here thus far. I know the timing of it is far from ideal and we would again be left with a squad largely signed by another manager, but if were to make a profit from CC and make another appointment quickly, we may end up stronger because of it.
It would be interesting to see if the new board set up would affect who has the biggest influence with regards to appointing the next manager, but I would certainly agree that if CC does go and if next manager is lacklustre, then the board's record is indefensible on the managerial side.
FWIW, I would rather he stayed for now.
24-06-2011, 01:22 PM
He's also tweeted another couple of things:
Garry O'Connor wants to finish his career at Hibs
Calderwood - Hibs job is great but he wouldn't rule out a return south or becoming a number two again
CC wants another couple of players in
24-06-2011, 01:25 PM
Calderwood - Hibs job is great but he wouldn't rule out a return south or becoming a number two againNow, or at some unspecified time in the future?
24-06-2011, 01:27 PM
I would agree with that if CC were sacked, Andy - but this is a bit of a strange situation in that our manager seems to be in high demand despite being largely disappointing in his role here thus far. I know the timing of it is far from ideal and we would again be left with a squad largely signed by another manager, but if were to make a profit from CC and make another appointment quickly, we may end up stronger because of it.
It would be interesting to see if the new board set up would affect who has the biggest influence with regards to appointing the next manager, but I would certainly agree that if CC does go and if next manager is lacklustre, then the board's record is indefensible on the managerial side.
I see what you are saying but don't agree. The whole set up hasn't looked right and it would show a huge mis judgement by Hibs.
He left an EPL team to come here and would step back to the same role in the championship?
There's the Adams thing too which didn't work.
If CC didn't want to leave family and all the rest of it that should have been bottomed out.
He has been given backing to sign 10 players so far and clear out a whole team so he can't say things have changed on that front.
IF he goes I'd like to see some serious changes at Hibs as I'd now tend to agree with others that there's something which isn't right in the football department.
24-06-2011, 01:33 PM
I see what you are saying but don't agree. The whole set up hasn't looked right and it would show a huge mis judgement by Hibs.
He left an EPL team to come here and would step back to the same role in the championship?
If CC didn't want to leave family and all the rest of it that should have been bottomed out.
He has been given backing to sign 10 players so far and clear out a whole team so he can't say things have changed on that front.
IF he goes I'd like to see some serious changes at Hibs as I'd now tend to agree with others that there's something which isn't right in the football department.
I certainly wouldn't question anyone's right to ask serious questions of the board - there's a lot that doesn't add up here regardless of whether he stays or goes.
24-06-2011, 01:33 PM
Isn't that what a lot of people were saying last time?
24-06-2011, 01:34 PM
Calderwood - Hibs job is great but he wouldn't rule out a return south or becoming a number two again
Don't let that get in the way of a good conspiracy theory though
24-06-2011, 01:35 PM
Isn't that what a lot of people were saying last time?
Very much so, and I can see why. I'm not quite there yet.
24-06-2011, 01:36 PM
These sorts of situations can change Andy. From what I have heard, it is family reasons that has made him look at his options. If something has changed in his family life and he has deemed that it must come first then who can blame him? You cant really blame the board for that either, as it really would be an unforseen circumstance. FWIW, I think the board have been at fault for a lot of the bad managerial appointments. CC, IMO, has not been a bad appointment, and if he does leave, it perhaps was unavoidable and not his or the boards fault.
24-06-2011, 01:40 PM
These sorts of situations can change Andy. From what I have heard, it is family reasons that has made him look at his options. If something has changed in his family life and he has deemed that it must come first then who can blame him? You cant really blame the board for that either, as it really would be an unforseen circumstance. FWIW, I think the board have been at fault for a lot of the bad managerial appointments. CC, IMO, has not been a bad appointment, and if he does leave, it perhaps was unavoidable and not his or the boards fault.
:agree: you have to put family first before work. If that's why he wants to go then I don't think anyone is at fault, though some will always look for a scapegoat.
24-06-2011, 01:42 PM
The family and the travel back every week was there from the beginning and i think that was an issue which should have rung some alarm bells at the beginning.
Yes, things might have changed or worsened but I think there were other options where none of it would have been an issue.
As an employer you take a call on these things and if it has been a wrong call then it's all adding up.
And I'm a big board backer as most know!
24-06-2011, 01:42 PM
Totally disagree any mistakes the manager makes in buying players the buck stops with him, any mistakes in hiring managers is boards fault, having somebody on board with family far away no matter how many indications they give that it is ok is a gamble. The board have already failed to deliver consistancy on and off park with the football and imo had already started to fail.
Just received some tweets from Mark Benstead after his interview with CC, some interesting and not very welcome stuff, have a read
markbenstead (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead)Mark Benstead
#hibs (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23hibs) - cc admitted tough being away from family in England...
32 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead/status/84247324766912512)Favorite (http://twitter.com/#)Retweet (http://twitter.com/#)Reply (http://twitter.com/#)
»
http://a3.twimg.com/profile_images/1259888071/_CMT0139_normal.jpg
#Hibs (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Hibs) cc doesn't think what happened between welsh & Scott means they couldn't in theory work together in future.
34 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead/status/84246881395412993)Favorite (http://twitter.com/#)Retweet (http://twitter.com/#)Reply (http://twitter.com/#)
»
markbenstead (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead)Mark Benstead@
@scottmillar1 (http://twitter.com/scottmillar1) hard to elaborate - in short hibs job is great but... He wudnt even rule out return South or ever being a number 2 again
37 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead/status/84246248688844800)Favorite (http://twitter.com/#)Retweet (http://twitter.com/#)Reply (http://twitter.com/#)
»
#hibs (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23hibs) - cc wants another couple of players in.
39 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead/status/84245738216882176)Favorite (http://twitter.com/#)Retweet (http://twitter.com/#)Reply (http://twitter.com/#)
»
#Hibs (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Hibs) Colin calderwood didn't really rule out returning South if an offer came.
44 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead/status/84244483042050048)Favorite (http://twitter.com/#)Retweet (http://twitter.com/#)Reply (http://twitter.com/#)
»
Gary O'Connor says he'd love to finish career at #hibs (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23hibs)
53 minutes ago (http://twitter.com/#!/markbenstead/status/84242204956164096)Favorite (http://twitter.com/#)Retweet (http://twitter.com/#)Reply (http://twitter.com/#)
24-06-2011, 01:47 PM
The family and the travel back every week was there from the beginning and i think that was an issue which should have rung some alarm bells at the beginning.
Yes, things might have changed or worsened but I think there were other options where none of it would have been an issue.
As an employer you take a call on these things and if it has been a wrong call then it's all adding up.
We do not agree on a lot Andy, that first sentence though 100% :agree: Oh and rest of it too.
24-06-2011, 01:48 PM
:agree: you have to put family first before work. If that's why he wants to go then I don't think anyone is at fault, though some will always look for a scapegoat.
And yet it's been suggested that Davies did the Forest job despite his family and home being in Edinburgh and Veno did the WBA assistant's job whilst family and house still in Edinburgh.
24-06-2011, 01:48 PM
There was always going to speculation if forest got a new manager or when chris hughton got a new job
Whilst agreeing there was always going to be speculation with regard to whatever job Hughton went to, personally laughed when he was linked as an Assistant to a job he was sacked from a year or 2 back. In terms of career development it makes no sense to me though it may be a financial thing, it sounds more like a family thing. Did he not get married recently? If so maybe his partner wants to live down south and would prefer him closer by. He would also be closer to his offspring. It could also be that being manager of Hibs is a complete nightmare in terms of the internal relationships in the club which would be the most worrying aspect of this all.
I just hope that the club have moved pronto to get someone else in as if CC goes then we desperately need someone in and working with the players very soon.
24-06-2011, 01:51 PM
Getting really pissed off with this now, wish he would commit to the next season or bugger off now.
24-06-2011, 01:51 PM
We are speculating about the reasons why he may leave if the speculation about him leaving is true!!
My point is that we dont have the facts and shouldnt be hanging anyone out to dry yet. For all we know the family reason could be massive and may even stop some of us travelling 10 miles per day instead of hundreds. Managers and players do travel distances to get to their training grounds etc, albeit CC may travel further than most, and no one bothers. If Alex Ferguson wanted to be manager at hibs but still stay in manchester should we say no because he lives to far away?
The family reason could be something anyone of us would give a job up for so lets not be too quick to start placing blame. I know that in my job I travel around a lot and I have to rely on my other half looking after the kids when I am away. If something was to happen to her that meant she couldnt look after the kids I would have to jack my job. Should my employer not have given me the job because I have kids and this situation could arise?
24-06-2011, 01:54 PM
And yet it's been suggested that Davies did the Forest job despite his family and home being in Edinburgh and Veno did the WBA assistant's job whilst family and house still in Edinburgh.
And do you handle situations exactly the same as your workmates? Were their circumstances similar? We don't know what the script is.
24-06-2011, 01:58 PM
And yet it's been suggested that Davies did the Forest job despite his family and home being in Edinburgh
and his favourite "club" being in Manchester :greengrin
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 01:59 PM
IF he goes I would like to know WHY before I start trying to figure what to do about the situation. I know that there has been a managerial revolving door here over the last 10 years but this could simply be a case of a man leaving for more money. I'm not asking or hoping that you believe that, it's just the approach I would take. Unfortunately I doubt we'll ever get to the bottom of this leaving us, the fans, to guess what's wrong with the club.
24-06-2011, 01:59 PM
So we've had a press conference / interview and we're no further forward?
24-06-2011, 02:03 PM
And do you handle situations exactly the same as your workmates? Were their circumstances similar? We don't know what the script is.
Nor are we ever likely to. There are just examples of working a good distance away from your family as being a workable situation in Football, for those committed to their jobs.
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 02:05 PM
hibs.net has, I think, about 1 years worth of posts. Anyone want to go back and see how many .netters were pissed off with the CC appointment because his family lived far away?
24-06-2011, 02:06 PM
hibs.net has, I think, about 1 years worth of posts. Anyone want to go back and see how many .netters were pissed off with the CC appointment because his family lived far away?
How many knew?
FJK :agree:
24-06-2011, 02:08 PM
IF he goes I would like to know WHY before I start trying to figure what to do about the situation. I know that there has been a managerial revolving door here over the last 10 years but this could simply be a case of a man leaving for more money. I'm not asking or hoping that you believe that, it's just the approach I would take. Unfortunately I doubt we'll ever get to the bottom of this leaving us, the fans, to guess what's wrong with the club.
It's just adding up for me now Max, we keep getting in these situations and the CC thing has never looked or felt all that right.
Even our spotting of players within our budget isn't what it was and we are falling back on people we know.
Where are the gems like Boozy, Murphy, Zemmama and Benji these days?
I back the board more than most but getting a bit fed up with trying to come up with answers at to why the footballing side just isn't matching our off field achievements.
Most other clubs are in a bad way and are more than matching us. We are making it all look so difficult.
24-06-2011, 02:12 PM
It's just adding up for me now Max, we keep getting in these situations and the CC thing has never looked or felt all that right.
Even our spotting of players within our budget isn't what it was and we are falling back on people we know.
I back the board more than most but getting a bit fed up with trying to come up with answers at to why the footballing side just isn't matching our off field achievements.
Most other clubs are in a bad way and are more than matching us. We are making it all look so difficult.
Rankin, Nish, Grounds and Trakys, surely.
24-06-2011, 02:14 PM
Did he not move to Celtic.
24-06-2011, 02:18 PM
I was at a hotel in Brum yesterday for 10 hours, there was no sign of McLaren but there was a strong rumour that Brum have enquired about CC's availability.
24-06-2011, 02:21 PM
I see the Board is getting it in the neck for the current situation about CC. Does it not say something that the Hibs Board was able to hire a manager who it now turns out is being targeted by not one but two Championship clubs? These clubs are not knocking on Vlad's door asking to take JJ are they? Doesn't that indicate we've got someone that is highly regarded?
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 02:26 PM
Me too. I'm a head-in-the-sand board apologist. :)
I don't back the board 100% but I do feel that sometimes they receive undeserved flack.
Don't get me wrong, I'm not blind. I can easily connect all the dots and come to the same conclusions as others have e.g., the board has screwed up another appointment, CC is definitely away, etc. I'm not going to sit here and tell people they are wrong. But there are other potential outcomes and until something concrete happens, I think they're all in play.
However things have gotten to the stage where I simply don't care what happens, as long as whatever does happen happens FAST. I think the board might be playing this just right assuming the following are true:
1. if we sack CC, we get nothing,
2. if CC leaves the club, we get compensation.
If that is true then the board has little choice but to wait because I'm sure they want compensated, and I wouldn't blame them.
24-06-2011, 02:28 PM
I see the Board is getting it in the neck for the current situation about CC. Does it not say something that the Hibs Board was able to hire a manager who it now turns out is being targeted by not one but two Championship clubs? These clubs are not knocking on Vlad's door asking to take JJ are they? Doesn't that indicate we've got someone that is highly regarded?
Maybe, but we got him from an EPL team in the same capacity? Why would he take a step back down less than a year later? That says to me they misjudged the situation and would have been better with another target.
If this was a one off then I'm with everyone but it's getting trickier by the day to agree with what we've done on the football side in recent years.
MoscowHibs
24-06-2011, 02:31 PM
Getting really pissed off with this now, wish he would commit to the next season or bugger off now.
This :agree:
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 02:35 PM
Maybe, but we got him from an EPL team in the same capacity? Why would he take a step back down less than a year later? That says to me they misjudged the situation and would have been better with another target.
If this was a one off then I'm with everyone but it's getting trickier by the day to agree with what we've done on the football side in recent years.
Hindsight. :wink: Maybe.
They may have misjudged the situation with CC but I am not going to string them up for that, if true, because they're not mind-readers.
Board : How comfortable are you working this far from your family, Colin.
CC : Very comfortable. No problems.
Board : Are you sure?
CC : Yes.
Board : Are you reeaaaally sure?
CC : 100%
Board : Just 100%
CC : No actually, 110%
Board : OK, so you're saying that working this far away from your family leaves you feeling uncomfortable?
CC : No, I am totally comfortable with the arrangement. 110%
Board : OK. Just checking.
The point I'm making there is that you only know what someone tells you. There is no test that can prove things like this. I can tell you in a few minutes if a person is as good with Oracle RDBMS as they say they are but I can't tell you how happy they are with things in their personal life.
I've been involved in hiring mistakes where everyone who interviewed the candidate was blown away, only for the person to get the job and be a complete failure. These things happen and it is by no means the fault of the interviewer IF the failing turn out to be a result of intangibles.
24-06-2011, 02:36 PM
I was at a hotel in Brum yesterday for 10 hours, there was no sign of McLaren but there was a strong rumour that Brum have enquired about CC's availability.
Hope she was worth it. :greengrin
St.Kristopher
24-06-2011, 02:39 PM
Can some one please give me a update post on the current situation, if there is a situation at all?
24-06-2011, 02:40 PM
Liked this post from the Nottingham Forest Mad forum
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If Calderwood returns to the club HE WAS SACKED by only 2.5 years ago it is a step backwards IMO. All this crap about him being a good coach with the youngsters where the hell do people get that from and if it is true so what. Just because he bought a few kids into the first team when he was in charge doesn't make him a good coach with them. It was a case that we had so many injuries that he had NO CHOICE but to select them. How many of those kids have actually done anything since. McGugan was at the club before Calderwood arrived and would've been in the 1st team squad before his appointment if it hadn't been Megson at the helm.
McClaren is as dull as dish water and Calderwood is the same. It'll be like having DULL & DULLER in charge. :faf:
24-06-2011, 02:42 PM
Hope she was worth it. :greengrin
Never been to Brum obviously :greengrin
24-06-2011, 02:55 PM
If he won't commit to the job, I think it's time to let him go. Considering that I've been a champion since before his appointment of giving him, at least, two years to do the job, to say that I'm pissed off by his lack of commitment is an understatement.
The Board then need to let a few trusted but completely independent people lead the recruitment process. They also need to get advice on how to run the footballing side. Folk can say what they want but a club doesn't go through a manager every 14 months, on average, if everything at the club is set up to let the manager perform to his ability.
We knew he was highly regarded - he was an assistant manager at a Premiership club that attracts 50k fans every second week.
24-06-2011, 03:02 PM
Never been to Brum obviously :greengrin
Just cause you met in Brum doesnt mean she was from there. :greengrin
24-06-2011, 03:03 PM
CC admitted it's tough being away from family in England.
I'm more and more getting the feeling that this is the main reason why these rumours have not been booted into touch straight away.
There's little doubt that assistant at A Championship club is a step down the career ladder from manager at Hibs so there has to be something which Calderwood is less than happy with, and I wouldn't be at all surprised if he's underestimated the impact on his personal life of the extra 2.5 hours commute each way on top of the roughly 5 hours drive he'd have experienced at Newcastle.
Having lived that sort of life before I know just how draining it can be. That said, if things were going terifically well for him at Hibs then he'd probably be a sight more enthusiastic about staying - but that has not been the case so far which has no doubt made these 8 hour commutes seem that bit longer.
NB - thinking about this makes me wonder whether this massive reular commute has had any impact on CC's ability to do the job - 16 hours on the road a week is effectively 16 hours less that he can be spending on managing Hibs afterall.
24-06-2011, 03:06 PM
I think you have to take into account that he was at Newcastle for a good period before he joined so they probably thought it wasnt really an issue. Things change though and I think he got married recently so maybe that changed alot of his thinking depending on where his wife is from.
24-06-2011, 03:11 PM
I'm more and more getting the feeling that this is the main reason why these rumours have not been booted into touch straight away.
There's little doubt that assistant at A Championship club is a step down the career ladder from manager at Hibs so there has to be something which Calderwood is less than happy with, and I wouldn't be at all surprised if he's underestimated the impact on his personal life of the extra 2.5 hours commute each way on top of the roughly 5 hours drive he'd have experienced at Newcastle.
Having lived that sort of life before I know just how draining it can be. That said, if things were going terifically well for him at Hibs then he'd probably be a sight more enthusiastic about staying - but that has not been the case so far which has no doubt made these 8 hour commutes seem that bit longer.
NB - thinking about this makes me wonder whether this massive reular commute has had any impact on CC's ability to do the job - 16 hours on the road a week is effectively 16 hours less that he can be spending on managing Hibs afterall.
I commuted south every week for about 9 months but flew. I don't understand why, if he's commuting from around the Midlands, why he's driving at all (if he is). Just over an hour on the plane twice a week.
24-06-2011, 03:13 PM
He was previously at Newcastle and managed ok with it there, Edinburgh is only another hour and a half on the journey so I'm not sure I buy the family excuse tbh.
24-06-2011, 03:19 PM
I commuted south every week for about 9 months but flew. I don't understand why, if he's commuting from around the Midlands, why he's driving at all (if he is). Just over an hour on the plane twice a week.
Thats what I was thinking. I'm sure I read somewhere his son was based just outside London so you would imagine a plane would have been much more efficient and much less tiring.
24-06-2011, 03:19 PM
Andy Bee
24-06-2011, 03:22 PM
The fact that he travelled from Newcastle to Nottingham (3 hrs btw) before Hibs makes me think the travel issues had already been addressed by CC, He'd of already been aware of the problems it would bring, so why head even more north to take the Hibs job. There's more issues than 100 extra miles at play here :agree:
Brebners Bookie
24-06-2011, 03:27 PM
just came on SSN
"CC has already ruled out leaving hibs to join Steve Mclaren at forest but could he be tempted to join old boss Chris Hughton at Birmingham?"
CC- "These are all factors and circumstances that... you know... may happen... could happen"
" its nice to feel that someone is wanting you, its something thats unlikely to go away"
"Im delighted in my job as hibernian manager and that is a very very good place to be"
No idea what to take from any of that tbh. but my guess is he's staying.
24-06-2011, 03:35 PM
just came on SSN
"CC has already ruled out leaving hibs to join Steve Mclaren at forest but could he be tempted to join old boss Chris Hughton at Birmingham?"
CC- "These are all factors and circumstances that... you know... may happen... could happen"
" its nice to feel that someone is wanting you, its something thats unlikely to go away"
"Im delighted in my job as hibernian manager and that is a very very good place to be"
The bit in bold would suggest he is leaving IMO.
24-06-2011, 03:37 PM
Well at least we now know CC is having a chug whenever he can over someone wanting him.
So is he leaving or not?
24-06-2011, 03:38 PM
just came on SSN
Nope, it's the other one.
Manxhibs
24-06-2011, 03:41 PM
If he's wanting to go, I wish he would just go now and stop eating into our pre season
24-06-2011, 03:41 PM
As in leaving??
THis is really starting to hack me off now, if he is going lets just get it done and get him out the door. We are only 1 week into pre season so its not the worst time to lose someone, but for god sake dont let it drag on forever and ever.
Brebners Bookie
24-06-2011, 03:42 PM
Wouldnt bother me at all now if he went. If he wants to leave the mangers job at a club like hibs for the no.2 job in the champ then he can get tae.
Disappointed though as everyone at hibs has backed him and made noise about giving him all the time he needs.
Even if he does stay the fact he's not ruling out leaving means my opinion of him has gone way down.
24-06-2011, 03:43 PM
Highly regarded as a no 2 , i dont see any clubs offering him the managers job !
If cc does leave to take a lesser post than he had ,maybe he is not cut out to be his own man and feels himself he is more suited to being a no 2 ! :dunno:
CapitalHibs
With what's been said and NOT been said, I would guarantee CC is offski:rolleyes:
Gordon Strachan, anyone?
The fact that he travelled from Newcastle to Nottingham (3 hrs btw) before Hibs makes me think the travel issues had already been addressed by CC, He'd of already been aware of the problems it would bring, so why head even more north to take the Hibs job. There's more issues than 100 extra miles at play here :agree:
:confused: I thought he was commuting to the London area - in any case, my contention was that while an extra couple of hours each way may not seem much, in reality it can make quite a difference - eg getting home the back end of midnight as opposed to say 10pm makes a bit of difference - as does leaving at 4am instead of 6 on the way back for example.
I'm not saying that this would be the only factor - it could well pale into insignificance if you're enjoying outstanding success, achieving your ambitions or you just love working with your boss/team/etc - but it could help explain why an effective demotion to a relatively local team might not seem so unattractive to Calderwood at the moment.
24-06-2011, 03:47 PM
Hindsight. :wink: Maybe.
They may have misjudged the situation with CC but I am not going to string them up for that, if true, because they're not mind-readers.
Board : How comfortable are you working this far from your family, Colin.
CC : Very comfortable. No problems.
Board : Are you sure?
CC : Yes.
Board : Are you reeaaaally sure?
CC : 100%
Board : Just 100%
CC : No actually, 110%
Board : OK, so you're saying that working this far away from your family leaves you feeling uncomfortable?
CC : No, I am totally comfortable with the arrangement. 110%
Board : OK. Just checking.
The point I'm making there is that you only know what someone tells you. There is no test that can prove things like this. I can tell you in a few minutes if a person is as good with Oracle RDBMS as they say they are but I can't tell you how happy they are with things in their personal life.
I've been involved in hiring mistakes where everyone who interviewed the candidate was blown away, only for the person to get the job and be a complete failure. These things happen and it is by no means the fault of the interviewer IF the failing turn out to be a result of intangibles.
I'd hope if all your appointments were going wrong for various reasons people would start looking at why.
Manxhibs
24-06-2011, 03:51 PM
I'd hope if all your appointments were going wrong for various reasons people would start looking at why.
I'm guessing cc made all the right noises at interview and specifically said that his family living down south isn't an issue but it seems it is now. Getting sick of this now, the fact he didn't say he will be here next season is enough for me to think that he is going, if that's the case, he needs to leave now
Brebners Bookie
24-06-2011, 03:51 PM
With what's been said and NOT been said, I would guarantee CC is offski:rolleyes:
Gordon Strachan, anyone?
couldnt care less now, almost wish he would as he clearly isn't entirley focussed on hibs and has said as much himself.
YES!! come on gordo you know it makes sense. didnt want to say it too ealry as CC isn't actually gone yet. but i would love it if Strachan got the job.
24-06-2011, 03:59 PM
I see that he has confirmed in The Scotsman article that he won't be getting an assistant (due to the quality of the coaching staff at the club). This has always been significant for me, and in the current context only seems to make it more likely that he will leave.
We shall see.
24-06-2011, 04:03 PM
If he won't commit to the job, I think it's time to let him go. Considering that I've been a champion since before his appointment of giving him, at least, two years to do the job, to say that I'm pissed off by his lack of commitment is an understatement.
The Board then need to let a few trusted but completely independent people lead the recruitment process. They also need to get advice on how to run the footballing side. Folk can say what they want but a club doesn't go through a manager every 14 months, on average, if everything at the club is set up to let the manager perform to his ability.
Pretty much :agree:
If the guy wants to leave for genuine family reasons or for finacial recompense then we cant relly compete with that. Its unlikely people will believe it but there you go. If there are other reasons then they would require to be clearly identified and addressed. It's unlikely anyone but CC knows for sure whats going on but at least we get compo for this one.
I still dont fully get the release clause bit. If they want him then pay it, if they dont then dont and ferk off.
Either way this needs to be ended.
24-06-2011, 04:04 PM
if he can't/won't commit 100% to Hibs then get him to ****:fuming:
24-06-2011, 04:04 PM
Well at least we now know CC is having a chug whenever he can over someone wanting him.
So is he leaving or not?
In what is probably the most frustrating thread in world history, that just made me burst out laughing!!
24-06-2011, 04:06 PM
Gordon Strachan, anyone?
The lack of an outright rejection of advances from CC makes me inclined to believe you - and if the end result of that was getting wee Strachan in then I'd consider it one step back for two forwards. Just wish I was confident of such an inspiring appointment being made - go on the tache and co and prove me wrong!
24-06-2011, 04:10 PM
He needs to come out and say he's staying, and commit for the remainder of his contract, or **** off now.
24-06-2011, 04:14 PM
He needs to come out and say he's staying, and commit for the remainder of his contract, or **** off now.
Totally, I get the impression he will go to Brum probably this weekend and the only thing that is being sorted out is compensation. Pretty sad it has come to this IMO.