View Full Version : ***CC - Staying Or Going?***/NFFC Appoint Coach MERGED
Pages :
[
3]
BarneyK
20-06-2011, 10:23 AM
That is new info - because according to Hibs there has been no contact from Forest ? Calderwood and Hibs arent singing off the same hymn sheet as yet
So you have to assume BBC have actually spoken to Calderwood in last hour and he has accepted the fact McClaren offered him the job and is saying he has turned him down
My only concern would be it is called the BBC "gossip" column so have they actually spoken to him or are they guessing ?
For what its worth Forest fans on our forums are saying a Hibs spokesman saying "there has been no contact from Forest" isnt exactly a hands off our manager kind of statement
The BBC gossip section is a half-arsed regurgitation of tabloid tattle. In this case it refers to the story in The Daily Record which doesn't include any direct CC quotes.
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 10:30 AM
My reputation is the last thing i'd worry about on here. :greengrin Yip a very good trolling operation, that seems to have caught quite a few. :top marks
Its still pish though.
All I can say is I must be the most amazing "troller" in histroy of football forums
Because if I have made all this up according to the BBC I have even caught Calderwood
Why is Calderwood saying he has turned down an approach from Forest that you guys are saying has never even happened ?
I must be that good a troller that he has imagined Mcclaren made him an offer ! lol
From the Beeb's Monday gossip column:
Colin Calderwood insists he is committed to Hibs after being approached by Nottingham Forest to assist Steve McClaren
(Sounds like Hibs dont know about the meeting as well - that is fair enough - no reason why they would know about it)
Give me a bit of credit guys - everything I have told you has actually happened
Doesnt mean he has to say YES
I am not a troll and its not pish (which is a new word for me !)
Is it because I am english ? :confused:
(Edit - fair enough if BBC Gossip column is pile of **** that last statement doesnt help anybody I guess)
Anyway I am not a troll trust me !
20-06-2011, 10:33 AM
All I can say is I must be the most amazing "troller" in histroy of football forums
Because if I have made all this up according to the BBC I have even caught Calderwood
Why is Calderwood saying he has turned down an approach from Forest that you guys are saying has never even happened ?
I must be that good a troller that he has imagined Mcclaren made him an offer ! lol
Colin Calderwood insists he is committed to Hibs after being approached by Nottingham Forest to assist Steve McClaren
(Sounds like Hibs dont know about the meeting as well - that is fair enough - no reason why they would know about it)
Is it becasue I am english ? :confused:
Nope. :greengrin
Velma Dinkley
20-06-2011, 10:35 AM
maybe you're just really gullible and should spend less time on twitter :greengrin
20-06-2011, 10:36 AM
I have been away abroad since Thursday and have totally missed the Calderwood to Forest rumour (and the O'Connor signing :thumbsup:).
I have no inside information and am probably way off the mark but Gordon Strachan was on my flight from B'ham to Edinburgh last night.
I thought nothing of it at the time, but since reading the forums on my return could the Hibs board be acting fast in expectation of Calderwood wanting out?
As I say, I have no inside information or the like, but thought I would share my inevitable miscalculation in case anyone had heard any whispers?
Strachan was born here. It's not inconceivable that he often comes back to Edinburgh to see family/friends and the like.
I would stake my wife that it wasn't a trip to chat about the Hibs job.
20-06-2011, 10:38 AM
I see we're now taking the BBC's GOSSIP column as a credible source.
What next? Football Rumours?
Her's a thought, BH.
What if the photo is of CC offering McLaren the post of assistant manager at ER? To replace Derek Adams? :wink:
Have you heaqrd that too? Now thats a question that needs answered? :agree: Perhaps someone should register on a forest fans website, and ask them if they know anything about it?
20-06-2011, 10:39 AM
But the 46-year-old, who has a release clause in his Hibees contract, last night spoke about his plans for the upcoming SPL campaign.
"We have had no contact at all from Nottingham Forest regarding Colin," confirmed a club statement.
Enough said. :agree:
20-06-2011, 10:42 AM
It is all in the thread but at 14 pages long I can understand why people dont read it all
The other guy with white hair is believed to be Bill Beswick who McClaren appointed earlier this week at Forest. He is a sports psychologist who seems to follow McClaren every where he goes.
If you check my opening post I have said all along Mcclaren is TRYING to lure Calderwood - I cannot seond guess what Calderwood will choose to do (I was hoping someone your end had some inside info they could share from Calderwood's point of view)
When the reporter has asked Forest the situation they have said to him they are in talks that involve an escape clause so at this stage it appears Calderwood has not ruled this out
Hibs seem to be saying the opposite so one of either Forest or Hibs are already lying
(I totally agree Calderwood deserves an oscar if he has done that interview knowing that he is planning to jump ship) But then again - he cant exactly announce he is leaving at that stage either can he ?
I only came on here to share the info that Forest fans have had for a few days now that McClaren has set his sights on Calderwood
Whether he gets him or not is another matter
Wait.
You know for a FACT that it's Calderwood. You know for a FACT that it's McClaren. You know for a FACT that they were talking about the assistant job at Forest. You know for a FACT that Calderwood has a release clause.
But......you say "it is believed to be" for the third person? How come you can find out the content of private conversations and the content of private employment contracts but can't identify someone who is working at your club?
20-06-2011, 10:43 AM
Wait.
You know for a FACT that it's Calderwood. You know for a FACT that it's McClaren. You know for a FACT that they were talking about the assistant job at Forest. You know for a FACT that Calderwood has a release clause.
But......you say "it is believed to be" for the third person? How come you can find out the content of private conversations and the content of private employment contracts but can't identify someone who is working at your club?
:faf::faf: Superb.
20-06-2011, 10:45 AM
Wait.
Careful, you might be accused of anti-English racism!
20-06-2011, 10:46 AM
Is it because I am english ? :confused:
(Edit - fair enough if BBC Gossip column is pile of **** that last statement doesnt help anybody I guess)
Anyway I am not a troll trust me !
Aye its because you are English, we wont have any of your lot up there you know. :faf:
You stated he would be in the forest dug out soon, then you state you dont know what will happen next, a wee bit of back tracking eh?
Its a good wind up, i will give you that. Its been picked up by the web sites of both clubs, the press look at web sites from both clubs and print things based on what they see on these sites.
You are not the first, and wont be the last to succesfully get a rumour you made up onto the back pages of a national newspaper. We did it with over a signing of a player called Jullian Brellier a few seasons ago, there's been others too.
There's not one piece of substantiated fact on what you have said. Its pish, good pish but still pish.
20-06-2011, 10:48 AM
Careful, you might be accused of anti-English racism!
He's more worried we might not like him because he's English than about the fact that we reckon he could be a Yam....
He MIGHT be an English Yam... :rolleyes:
20-06-2011, 10:54 AM
He MIGHT be an English Yam... :rolleyes:
The very worst kind! :cool2:
20-06-2011, 11:00 AM
Gordon Strachan is at ER now...
20-06-2011, 11:01 AM
Gordon Strachan is at ER now...
Does he need an x-ray?
20-06-2011, 11:03 AM
gordon strachan is at er now...
wgk?
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 11:08 AM
Still people spouting the "yam" pish when the OP clearly isn't on the wind up.
Disrespectful as hell.
Lovely :rolleyes:
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 11:11 AM
Aye its because you are English, we wont have any of your lot up there you know. :faf:
You stated he would be in the forest dug out soon, then you state you dont know what will happen next, a wee bit of back tracking eh?
Its a good wind up, i will give you that. Its been picked up by the web sites of both clubs, the press look at web sites from both clubs and print things based on what they see on these sites.
You are not the first, and wont be the last to succesfully get a rumour you made up onto the back pages of a national newspaper. We did it with over a signing of a player called Jullian Brellier a few seasons ago, there's been others too.
There's not one piece of substantiated fact on what you have said. Its pish, good pish but still pish.
No mate - I said even if he were sat in dugout first match of season alongside McClaren some of you guys would still be calling this pish !
The reason we think it is Beswick and dont know is that he only joined the club a couple of days after McClaren and he has his back to the camera - simple as that
I dont know how that interview went at all but I do know that McClaren had targetted Calderwood to be his assistant from day one of taking the job from contacts I and a few others have at Forest - so once that picture came out there was no doubt what they were discussing to us eben if you guys want to think they were talking about players
I realise I have no chance on here at all for you guys to believe me - no reason why you should
I am enjoying every second though - you guys sure know how to close ranks well when you have an intruder
I have a lot of respect for you for that and I am genuinely amazed how many people use this forum
Annoying thing for me is that server is nearly always busy - or is that just because I am English as well ? :wink:
Anyway have to go to work now - feel like I have gone 10 rounds with Mike Tyson !
(Look forward to resuming this when Calderwood, Hibs and Forest make their next round of statements)
Lets see how it all pans out - you deserve to keep him based on this forum alone IMO !
Brummie_Hibs
20-06-2011, 11:13 AM
Still people spouting the "yam" pish when the OP clearly isn't on the wind up.
Disrespectful as hell.
Lovely :rolleyes:
This thread has been embarrassing at times. I really hope the story is true just to GIRUY to some on here...
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 11:14 AM
No mate - I said even if he were sat in dugout first match of season alongside McClaren some of you guys would still be calling this pish !
The reason we think it is Beswick and dont know is that he only joined the club a couple of days after McClaren and he has his back to the camera - simple as that
I dont know how that interview went at all but I do know that McClaren had targetted Calderwood to be his assistant from day one of taking the job from contacts I and a few others have at Forest - so once that picture came out there was no doubt what they were discussing to us eben if you guys want to think they were talking about players
I realise I have no chance on here at all for you guys to believe me - no reason why you should
I am enjoying every second though - you guys sure know how to close ranks well when you have an intruder
I have a lot of respect for you for that and I am genuinely amazed how many people use this forum
Annoying thing for me is that server is nearly always busy - or is that just because I am English as well ? :wink:
Anyway have to go to work now - feel like I have gone 10 rounds with Mike Tyson !
(Look forward to resuming this when Calderwood, Hibs and Forest make their next round of statements)
Lets see how it all pans out - you deserve to keep him based on this forum alone IMO !
Your info is useful and interesting to many Hibees mate, please don't tar us all with the same brush as the people giving you abuse on here. :agree:
agreed:agree:
1875STEVE
20-06-2011, 11:44 AM
This is the picture here.
It's not the biggest or clearest, but it's not the original, ive seen the original and it's DEFO Calderwood.
The three men sitting at the table, McClaren is in blue, Calderwood has a maroon coloured jumper on.
http://tapatalk.com/mu/52122a33-de83-d9a6.jpg
20-06-2011, 11:49 AM
It's not the biggest or clearest, but it's not the original, ive seen the original and it's DEFO Calderwood.
The three men sitting at the table, McClaren is in blue, Calderwood has a maroon coloured jumper on.
a Hibs manager in a maroon coloured jumper! Surely it can't be CC or else he is trying for some pretty poor disguise.... Who'd be seen dead wearing maroon?
1875STEVE
20-06-2011, 11:55 AM
Ach ive just noticed someone has already posted the photo. sorry folks.
20-06-2011, 11:56 AM
This thread has been embarrassing at times. I really hope the story is true just to GIRUY to some on here...
You're saying that you hope we lose our manager in the first week of pre-season training, while transfer business is still going forward, just to prove me and folks like me who aren't taking this guy seriously wrong!
So you can have the pleasure of telling me to GIRU me?
The whole team thrown back into turmoil just to prove a point?
Before this thread appeared we were mostly feeling pretty good about things - three signings in, more to follow, planning well up to schedule.
Now?
Not much feel-good left.
But hey, Hibs can go down the tubes next season just as long as YOU'RE proved right and I'M proved wrong. :rolleyes:
20-06-2011, 11:57 AM
so you would rather our club loses our manager in the 1st week back of training so you can give a GIRUY to the people questioning this?
THAT'S EMBARRASSING :rolleyes:
20-06-2011, 11:58 AM
So might it be possible for the rest of us to see the original and judge for ourselves?
That thing shows the square root of sweet nothing at all.
20-06-2011, 12:06 PM
The way I see it is that CC was Taping him up. He was asking McClaren if he wanted to be his number 2.
This would mean leving a smallish club to come to a GREAT CLUB.
Total speculation until it becomes official.
GGTTH.
20-06-2011, 12:12 PM
So not only is he negotiating a way out of here, he is also wearing a MAROON jumper? Just chuck him Petrie!
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 12:16 PM
so you would rather our club loses our manager in the 1st week back of training so you can give a GIRUY to the people questioning this?
THAT'S EMBARRASSING :rolleyes:
People are not only questioning it, they are acting like complete twats to a visitor to a Hibs board sharing information. What kind of picture will the boy have of us as a whole once this who episode is over with? Whallopers would be the word I would use, bullying and ganging up others. It's ridiculous some forest fan comes on and shares this and people actually think he could be a Jambo with a fake ip address solely on here to wind us up about losing manager that has hardly set the world alight in the first place. Weather it's true or not if I was some on here I would look back and have a word with myself! Its pathetic the abuse the poster has received.
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 12:18 PM
So might it be possible for the rest of us to see the original and judge for ourselves?
Maybe it does, maybe it doesn't that's your opinion. Mines is I appreciate the information.
Based on the feedback about the way CC sounds, it's perfectly plausible that he'd seek out a voice coach to improve all aspects, communication. The fact McLaren is at Forest is just coincidence.
20-06-2011, 12:25 PM
People are not only questioning it, they are acting like complete twats to a visitor to a Hibs board sharing information. What kind of picture will the boy have of us as a whole once this who episode is over with? Whallopers would be the word I would use, bullying and ganging up others. It's ridiculous some forest fan comes on and shares this and people actually think he could be a Jambo with a fake ip address solely on here to wind us up about losing manager that has hardly set the world alight in the first place. Weather it's true or not if I was some on here I would look back and have a word with myself! Its pathetic the abuse the poster has received.
What 'abuse' has he had? Questioning a story isn't abuse.
Considering the contempt that you seem to have towards the users of hibs.net, why bother registering? Just so that you can tell us that we're all ********s?
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 12:29 PM
Considering the contempt that you seem to have towards the users of hibs.net, why bother registering? Just so that you can tell us that we're all ********s?
Look back on this thread, treat others like you would like to be treated is good advice for you and a few others, your aggressive manner doesn't do you any favours either. Do you speak for the majority on here like? I joined to read and express my views on my team. Not everyone is like yourself although there is a few who also like to gang up and be over agressive when someone shares a different view.
20-06-2011, 12:30 PM
Why post here then? You really don't seem to like the place very much. I wouldn't hang out somewhere that I thought was full of complete *****.
20-06-2011, 12:31 PM
Beefster! Your a YAM! :wink:!
Thats abuse!
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 12:32 PM
Why post here then? You really don't seem to like the place very much. I wouldn't hang out somewhere that I thought was full of complete *****.
Did I use the word full? No! This is the main hibs football forum and the people on it have many different views I would imagine. I'm not going to stop viewing because a select few make an arse of themselves.
20-06-2011, 12:35 PM
Beefster! Your a YAM! :wink:!
Thats abuse!
An English YAM at that.
There, that's got him telt. Abusive folk ken whit's goin' oan.
20-06-2011, 12:35 PM
Look back on this thread, treat others like you would like to be treated is good advice for you and a few others, your aggressive manner doesn't do you any favours either. Do you speak for the majority on here like? I joined to read and express my views on my team. Not everyone is like yourself although there is a few who also like to gang up and be over agressive when someone shares a different view.
Keep up the good work. Different points of view are what make the board worth reading. However, Beefster is usually pretty fair in his comments.
20-06-2011, 12:42 PM
Its on here somewhere Doddie, and it is Steve McClaren and Colin Calderwood in the photo, the other guy is a mystery in grey hair, nobody sure who it is, it could be an ex Hibs goalkeeper. :thumbsup: :greengrin
20-06-2011, 12:50 PM
But are wee not meant to be one big family. The Hibs Family. :aok:
20-06-2011, 12:53 PM
But are wee not meant to be one big family. The Hibs Family. :aok:
We are just like any other gathering of extended family. Punch up in the car park anyone?:greengrin
20-06-2011, 12:54 PM
Its on here somewhere Doddie, and it is Steve McClaren and Colin Calderwood in the photo, the other guy is a mystery in grey hair, nobody sure who it is, it could be an ex Hibs goalkeeper. :thumbsup: :greengrin
Fair enough. Small green Australian bird in a cage, perhaps? :greengrin
Any way of confirming when it was taken?
This is just a total pain in the backside, frankly.
If this all proves to be a lot of rubbish about nothing, and everything calms down again, OK.
If CC goes, then Rod Petrie has to go, AND the board. And the owner needs to take a hard look at himself and decide whether he really wants Hibs to be a successful football club, or whether he's happy enough having preserved an Edinburgh "institution" as a museum piece for future generations....
Because it's beginning to look as if either Petrie hasn't got the faintest idea of how to recruit and appoint football managers, or he can appoint good men, but then his way of working with them makes them so unhappy that they don't want to stay around to work with HIM.
Either way, he needs to be taking a hard look at his position - preferably from somewhere other than the Hibernian boardroom. Somewhere like South Georgia, maybe. Or Vladivostok.
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 12:55 PM
Keep up the good work. Different points of view are what make the board worth reading. However, Beefster is usually pretty fair in his comments.
Cool thanks. In that case I appologize to beefster, the treatment of a visitor to a Hibs forum made me angry though, it's like a pack of wolves completely dismissing info right or wrong he is only sharing with us and perhaps looking for more info. If it was the other way about and I registered for another teams forum and took the abuse and ridicule he has taken it wouldnt paint a nice picture of the club or support. It's mortifying to think of the perception he will have of us as a support now IMO
20-06-2011, 01:03 PM
Cool thanks. In that case I appologize to beefster, the treatment of a visitor to a Hibs forum made me angry though, it's like a pack of wolves completely dismissing info right or wrong he is only sharing with us and perhaps looking for more info. If it was the other way about and I registered for another teams forum and took the abuse and ridicule he has taken it wouldnt paint a nice picture of the club or support. It's mortifying to think of the perception he will have of us as a support now IMO
The point is that halfway through the thread he changed his tune from "hi there, I've just heard this and wondered if you had heard something similar?" to "no, this is FACT and you lot are denying it". Like it or not, that is going to create a lot of suspicion that he's at it.
Well said mate :thumbsup:
Since you joined Hibs.Net 2 weeks ago you have:-
Told us that Sodje is mince
Told us that Sodje, Pallson, Scott and Thornhill have very little football ability
That our board are a disgrace
That we play hoofball
That most of your 'ST mates' are not renewing
That the treatment dished out by a few messageboard posters to a Yam/Notts Forest Fan (delete as appropriate) reflects on our entire support
Welcome to Hibs Net to you both!! :faf:
20-06-2011, 01:15 PM
I don't get all this nonsense about the feel good factor disappearing, people need to get a grip.
It's a bloody rumour that has grown arms and legs based on one person from Nottingham - let's move on and look forward to a couple of new signings this week.:agree:
20-06-2011, 01:21 PM
We are just like any other gathering of extended family. Punch up in the car park anyone?:greengrin
In my family you are lucky to make it to the car park. :greengrin
20-06-2011, 01:25 PM
The forrest fan has not posted one fact, FACT. All we have is a photo of Shteve McLaren and two men, one could be our manager. The rest is just all made up. In one quote he tells us its happening, yet further down he tells us he has no idea what will happen next?
A quality wind up and quite a few have fallen for it, i will give him that. :top marks
20-06-2011, 01:25 PM
In my family you are lucky to make it to the car park. :greengrin
20-06-2011, 01:27 PM
And you care about this more than a potentially good season why?
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 01:28 PM
The point is that halfway through the thread he changed his tune from "hi there, I've just heard this and wondered if you had heard something similar?" to "no, this is FACT and you lot are denying it". Like it or not, that is going to create a lot of suspicion that he's at it.
The way I read it was the more info he was getting (through Journos or whatever) he was passing info on to us.
He's obviously excited (or the opposite) about the news and he's wanting to know what's going on like all of us.
First it was dissmissed as complete piss and he was a jambo on the wind up although his IP address is Nottingham that was dismissed as someone who is using a fake IP address adressed to the Nottingham area and although
that would seem far fetched to your normal user on a football forum others agreed with this!
There was suspicion from the start, dissmissing from the start and nobody likes to be called a jambo! It's insulting to the max, then there was
snipes at Craig Thompson and other stuff, this was well before he started stating FACTS as you put it.
If the boy is a sad jambo on the wind he's went through a lot of trouble and he's even got the newspapers to print this story,.
I suspect he isn't though and even if some of the info he has passed on turns out to be bull the treatment from some our fans towards a visitor passing on and wanting information on events that could impact his club have been atrocious and cringeworthy.
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 01:30 PM
And you care about this more than a potentially good season why?
I don't. I still think it's shocking behaviour though. :aok:
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 01:31 PM
The forrest fan has not posted one fact, FACT. All we have is a photo of Shteve McLaren and two men, one could be our manager. The rest is just all made up. In one quote he tells us its happening, yet further down he tells us he has no idea what will happen next?
A quality wind up and quite a few have fallen for it, i will give him that. :top marks
How do you know what he's posting isn't true?
How do you know he's at the wind up?
Where's your facts? :confused:
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 01:33 PM
I would change my tune if my posts on a site from a team I didn't know where of aggression too.
20-06-2011, 01:33 PM
The way I read it was the more info he was getting (through Journos or whatever) he was passing info on to us.
He's obviously excited (or the opposite) about the news and he's wanting to know what's going on like all of us.
First it was dissmissed as complete piss and he was a jambo on the wind up although his IP address is Nottingham that was dismissed as someone who is using a fake IP address adressed to the Nottingham area and although
that would seem far fetched to your normal user on a football forum others agreed with this!
There was suspicion from the start, dissmissing from the start and nobody likes to be called a jambo! It's insulting to the max, then there was
snipes at Craig Thompson and other stuff, this was well before he started stating FACTS as you put it.
If the boy is a sad jambo on the wind he's went through a lot of trouble and he's even got the newspapers to print this story,.
I suspect he isn't though and even if some of the info he has passed on turns out to be bull the treatment from some our fans towards a visitor passing on and wanting information on events that could impact his club have been atrocious and cringeworthy.
You want to get out a bit more. Insulted to the max. :faf::faf::faf: Why the hell would anyone feel insulted by what anyone says on an internet forum????????????????? :faf::faf::faf:
TamHibs
20-06-2011, 01:36 PM
Taken from Sky Sports Transfer Centre:
Hibs say Forest have not been in touch over manager Calderwood
Hibernian say Nottingham Forest have not been in contact with the club following reports linking them with Colin Calderwood.
Forest's new manager Steve McClaren is thought to want the Easter Road boss to join his backroom staff at the City Ground.
Calderwood previously led Forest out of League One before managing the team for two years until 2008 prior to being axed.
The 46-year-old has a release clause in his Hibs contract, however, the club say Forest have not made any sort of move.
"We have had no contact at all from Nottingham Forestregarding Colin," confirmed a club statement.
Calderwood is putting the speculation over his future to one side and focusing on his rebuilding plans in Edinburgh.
Hibs have already snapped up Ivan Sproule, Sean O'Hanlon and Garry O'Connor, but Calderwood insists they will need to be patient in their pursuit of targets.
"We still have money left in the budget but the difficulty is if we want to loan anyone from England they don't come back until the beginning of July," he commented.
"So we need to have a bit of patience. We're always working away but if something smacks us in the face we'll move on it.
"We need to improve the front of the team because we're light in numbers in that area. We've almost got more goalkeepers than strikers."
20-06-2011, 01:37 PM
How do you know what he's posting isn't true?
How do you know he's at the wind up?
Where's your facts? :confused:
Where is his facts? Why are you believing HIM/HER when Hibs are denying it?
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 01:38 PM
Well said mate :thumbsup:
Since you joined Hibs.Net 2 weeks ago you have:-
Told us that Sodje is mince
Told us that Sodje, Pallson, Scott and Thornhill have very little football ability
That our board are a disgrace
That we play hoofball
That most of your 'ST mates' are not renewing
That the treatment dished out by a few messageboard posters to a Yam/Notts Forest Fan (delete as appropriate) reflects on our entire support
Welcome to Hibs Net to you both!! :faf:
What parts are wrong?
Sodje is mince imo
VP was dropped from the Iceland squad during his 6 months with us and Thonhill has it all to prove.
Our board have underpeformed in the last 3 years imo.
We do play hoofball
A lot of guys I know have given up.
I said it didn't reflect our whole support and that's why I commented on the matter.
If you want to stick your head in the sand, think everything is rosy and anyone who says otherwise is a "yam" then fair enough thats your opinion.
Inch Cabbage
20-06-2011, 01:41 PM
Where is his facts? Why are you believing HIM/HER when Hibs are denying it?
I never said any were facts, neither of us know if they are or not.
Your guessing it's a wind up without any facts though.
Hibs can deny it if they like fair play and I don't think there has been contact between the two clubs, but there is no
smoke without fire, that's my opinion. Until Calderwood comes out and says he's no interest or that he's never spken to McLaren all everyone can
do is assume stuff.
20-06-2011, 01:47 PM
I never said any were facts, neither of us know if they are or not.
Yet you are the one saying there's no smoke without fire, when there could be a multitude of reasons he might meet McClaren?
Your guessing it's a wind up without any facts though.
It is a wind up unless he can tell us its not, or present us with some facts, which he so far has failed to do?
Hibs can deny it if they like fair play and I don't think there has been contact between the two clubs, but there is no
smoke without fire, that's my opinion. Until Calderwood comes out and says he's no interest or that he's never spken to McLaren all everyone can
do is assume stuff.
Which they have, yet rather than believe them continue to say there's no smoke without fire?
Hibs want rid of Calderwood, do you believe me? Should the club come out and refute this claim?
HibsMax
20-06-2011, 01:54 PM
I've enjoyed reading all this thread and I can't believe the hysterics. It's comical. I've also noted some people contributing who were pretty silent after the O'Connor signing so I think they've been waiting for an opportunity to be negative or stick the boot into other Hibs.net users (right, Inch? :wink:).
Here's what I think, should you even care.
1. there is not a shred of evidence to back any of this up. ONE photo with no context. Everything that I have read that has been presented as evidence seems little more than hearsay.
2. The OP has posted something like 70 times regarding this topic. Seems like an awful lot of hassle to go through for someone who just wants to deliver a message and has no other agenda. Why not just post what you (think you) know and be done with it? Why hang around and fight your corner so hard? What do you have to gain? It all reeks.
3. I can't believe there are posters on here who are more concerned about the welfare of a "guest" poster than they are about their own team or those that follow the same team as them. The OP has presented NOTHING in terms of fact so why jump all over other Hibs fans? Pardon me for wanting something a little more concrete than twitter posts, dodgy photos and hearsay.
I am not going to say that the OP is a troll or lying because then I would be making the exact same mistake as him i.e., presenting something as fact when I don't know that it is. I am amazed at his stamina though and as I said before, why would someone protect their story with this much conviction when there is nothing to gain? It doesn't add up.
20-06-2011, 02:15 PM
I've enjoyed reading all this thread and I can't believe the hysterics. It's comical. I've also noted some people contributing who were pretty silent after the O'Connor signing so I think they've been waiting for an opportunity to be negative or stick the boot into other Hibs.net users (right, Inch? :wink:).
1. there is not a shred of evidence to back any of this up. ONE photo with no context. Everything that I have read that has been presented as evidence seems little more than hearsay.
2. The OP has posted something like 70 times regarding this topic. Seems like an awful lot of hassle to go through for someone who just wants to deliver a message and has no other agenda. Why not just post what you (think you) know and be done with it? Why hang around and fight your corner so hard? What do you have to gain? It all reeks.
3. I can't believe there are posters on here who are more concerned about the welfare of a "guest" poster than they are about their own team or those that follow the same team as them. The OP has presented NOTHING in terms of fact so why jump all over other Hibs fans? Pardon me for wanting something a little more concrete than twitter posts, dodgy photos and hearsay.
I am not going to say that the OP is a troll or lying because then I would be making the exact same mistake as him i.e., presenting something as fact when I don't know that it is. I am amazed at his stamina though and as I said before, why would someone protect their story with this much conviction when there is nothing to gain? It doesn't add up.
There's plenty to gain if he knows who's really getting the assistant managers job
healfyhibee
20-06-2011, 02:16 PM
479 posts? You have got to be joking! TBH if calderwood leaves.....so what!
khib70
20-06-2011, 02:22 PM
:yawn:Sniff sniff
Not another one!
:crazy::stirrer::lolyam::kbacker::jamboclow:dancer :
20-06-2011, 02:22 PM
Completely agree.
20-06-2011, 02:25 PM
:top marks And I see the Admins have 'inched' the Cabbage to the door! :thumbsup:
HibsMax
20-06-2011, 02:25 PM
Seriously? So what? You wouldn't be at all concerned if Hibs lost ANOTHER manager? It wouldn't bother you that we lose our manager at the start of pre-season training? It doesn't bother you that any replacement would need to come in and........
it's all been said before.
Perhaps there are "good" times and "bad" times to lose a manager, I'm not sure this is a "good" time.
HibsMax
20-06-2011, 02:29 PM
:top marks And I see the Admins have 'inched' the Cabbage to the door! :thumbsup:
Can't say I'm upset. Maybe he's a really nice guy but I'm not a fan of posters who feel the need to label other people (fancy term for name-calling). I think people can, and should, fight their corner without resorting to name-calling or branding.
healfyhibee
20-06-2011, 02:31 PM
Seriously? So what? You wouldn't be at all concerned if Hibs lost ANOTHER manager? It wouldn't bother you that we lose our manager at the start of pre-season training? It doesn't bother you that any replacement would need to come in and........
it's all been said before.
Perhaps there are "good" times and "bad" times to lose a manager, I'm not sure this is a "good" time.
Nah I know mate it would be bad. I just mean there comes a point usually about 479 posts in where I just think well if it happens it happens. I didny really mean I don't care. Hopefully he'll be a good manager for us next season. But it's like when a player want's to leave once he's made his mind up I'd rather he went.
That said I'd be very suprised if this was true. Having watched the interviews with sproule and o'connor he seems to have led the line in convincing them to stay with the focus being on the future of the club.
healfyhibee
20-06-2011, 02:33 PM
:yawn:Sniff sniff
Not another one!
:crazy::stirrer::lolyam::kbacker::jamboclow:dancer :
I'm not a yam mate. That's a promise. :agree:
HibsMax
20-06-2011, 02:39 PM
Nah I know mate it would be bad. I just mean there comes a point usually about 479 posts in where I just think well if it happens it happens. I didny really mean I don't care. Hopefully he'll be a good manager for us next season. But it's like when a player want's to leave once he's made his mind up I'd rather he went.
I know what you mean. This thread is more entertainment for me than anything else. It does make me feel uneasy because (sometimes) where there's smoke there's fire. I just hope not this time.
That said I'd be very suprised if this was true. Having watched the interviews with sproule and o'connor he seems to have led the line in convincing them to stay with the focus being on the future of the club.
That's what I feel too. It would be an interesting u-turn for him to go sown south now. He has the #1 spot. He seems to have the backing of the board - he's been allowed to make some signings. He's talking the talk.
I believe that there is an easy way for all of this to be put to bed. But will that happen? I would love for Hibs to end the speculation but I also don't expect them to make a public statement every time there's a rumour posted on a message board. EDIT : I mean CC, not Hibs. Hibs have already made a statement - according to some media snippets.
healfyhibee
20-06-2011, 02:59 PM
I know what you mean. This thread is more entertainment for me than anything else. It does make me feel uneasy because (sometimes) where there's smoke there's fire. I just hope not this time.
That's what I feel too. It would be an interesting u-turn for him to go sown south now. He has the #1 spot. He seems to have the backing of the board - he's been allowed to make some signings. He's talking the talk.
I believe that there is an easy way for all of this to be put to bed. But will that happen? I would love for Hibs to end the speculation but I also don't expect them to make a public statement every time there's a rumour posted on a message board. EDIT : I mean CC, not Hibs. Hibs have already made a statement - according to some media snippets.
I agree mate! Also its nice not to be called a yam! :top marks
20-06-2011, 04:17 PM
Add me to the list of people who wouldn't exactly be gutted if this was true and we saw the back of CC. His record was shocking last season, even after he brought his own players in. 2 of his 3 signings thus far can hardly be credited to his vast network of contacts. Two ex-players who have found themselves in a possition were they would jump at the chance to return "home" due to their respective careers going belly up (for different reasons).
If we are to need to find a replacement, now is a better time than after the season is under way.
20-06-2011, 04:19 PM
:faf::faf::faf::faf::faf::faf:
This thread is hilarious :agree:
aberhibsfc
20-06-2011, 04:21 PM
I'm not a yam mate. That's a promise. :agree:
That's what a yam would say when outwith his yammish herd.
Joking aside, you seem to be creating quite a mission for yourself getting us to see things from your point of view. It doesn't help your cause by using the word FACT in one of your earlier posts. FACT is brandished far too often and on these boards is employed in terms of a joke. For a FACT to be taken more seriously, you have to not have heard in GREGGS and be able to name a SAUCE.
Even if there is a photo of both of them recently, Managers will be flying up and down the UK just now on holidays (or in CC's situation, visiting family) and getting in touch with agents, players clubs etc. As we all know, CC was influential at Forrest brining through some of there established youngsters, perchance Schteeve was getting some intel, or perhaps they are talking about players coming on loan or being released from Forrest. Not knowing the two's history, they were maybe just playing a bit of catch up. These guys travel in football circles and it is not unkown for these people to attend do's and so on. It is so easy to see two people and say it's a FACT that somethings afoot. The press picking it up and running with it doesn't mean that much either, it's summer time, football news is slow so they'll be employing some lazy journolism and trawling through fan forums to find scoops. That way they can claim some expenses while sitting on a deck chair in the sun lapping a 99, or in our case sitting under an umbrella. If people being seen in an area means somethings happening, well we'd have signed every player back up that played for us in the past 5 years. Ok we've resigned Sproule and O'Connor but a lot of these guys make friends where they work and have girlfriends and family or just like the place. None of it translates into FACT. In FACT all Hibsnetters know that it ain't FACT until Uncle Rod authorises the news to be embelished on Hibs Official Club website. The FACT that he forgets to tell the HTML'rs to take players off there or the FACT that there's only 2 David Crawford's is either here nor there, maybe it's a tax dodge, who knows. But if it is, he's the only football giant that can do it whilst all the others get visits from the tax man.
Don't go seeing is believing so seriously. Life can be so much simpler.
Anyhoo, can I have a 1st class ticket to dottingham please (netters of a certain vintage will understand).
HibsMax
20-06-2011, 04:27 PM
Add me to the list of people who wouldn't exactly be gutted if this was true and we saw the back of CC. (1) His record was shocking last season, even after he brought his own players in. 2 of his 3 signings thus far can hardly be credited to his vast network of contacts. Two ex-players who have found themselves in a possition were they would jump at the chance to return "home" due to their respective careers going belly up (for different reasons).
If we are to need to find a replacement, now is a better time than after the season is under way.
(1) After he brought in his own players we went on an unbeaten run of, what?, 9 games or so? Seems pretty reasonable to me. Others agreed which is why he won Manager of the Month. But I agree that we finished the season horribly. I want to see what he can do with the team now that he's had a chance to make it his own. Last season he had excuses (not his players, already on a downward spiral, etc.). Next season he has no excuses and I will join the lynch mob if he fails to deliver. :)
20-06-2011, 05:11 PM
(1) After he brought in his own players we went on an unbeaten run of, what?, 9 games or so? Seems pretty reasonable to me. Others agreed which is why he won Manager of the Month. But I agree that we finished the season horribly. I want to see what he can do with the team now that he's had a chance to make it his own. Last season he had excuses (not his players, already on a downward spiral, etc.). Next season he has no excuses and I will join the lynch mob if he fails to deliver. :)
You're correct, we did go on a good wee run. Thank goodness otherwise we would be looking forward to another "great adventure". Look at the results after the run came to an end .Look at the results against Ayr Utd. Even if that particular tie came before he managed to get "his" players in despite it coming 2 weeks into the transfer window, he should have been able to conjour a goal in 190 odd minutes of football against a 2nd division side with the players he had.
Listen, I am not shouting for his head and he'll get my backing however, I am not overly concerned at the possibility of him going to Nottingham.
healfyhibee
20-06-2011, 05:27 PM
You're correct, we did go on a good wee run. Thank goodness otherwise we would be looking forward to another "great adventure". Look at the results after the run came to an end .Look at the results against Ayr Utd. Even if that particular tie came before he managed to get "his" players in despite it coming 2 weeks into the transfer window, he should have been able to conjour a goal in 190 odd minutes of football against a 2nd division side with the players he had.
Listen, I am not shouting for his head and he'll get my backing however, I am not overly concerned at the possibility of him going to Nottingham.
I believe this means you are but a jambo sir! According to the logic employed to tarnish my good Hibee name! enjoy!
20-06-2011, 05:28 PM
There's plenty to gain if he knows who's really getting the assistant managers job
Do the bookies take bets on assistant managers getting jobs at other clubs, and if so who else is in the running for the No2 at Forest.
HibsMax
20-06-2011, 05:34 PM
What worries me about this sort of thing is our apparent lack of patience. We have proved that managers are not allowed any time to find their feet. The fans demand instant success. If that is not the case then why are there so many (?) fans happy to see him walk even before we've given him a real opportunity to do something? I agree that he has not done much of anything to make me think that he is the next great thing but I also realise that he's not been given the time. I made this point in another thread, doubtless it will be ignored here too. LOL. I am 100% certain that we will agree on the following two statements:
1. replacing a manager after 5 minutes is ridiculous,
2. giving the manager 10 seasons to find his feet is equally as ridiculous.
IF we can agree on that then we also agree that he should be given some period of time within those bounds. How long is enough? THAT, in my opinion, is where many of us disagree. I don't think he's been given enough to time to show us that he is pish or great.....but that's OK, because that is not my argument. My argument is that he, like anyone else, requires time, and IMO, he is still on probation.
20-06-2011, 05:40 PM
Do the bookies take bets on assistant managers getting jobs at other clubs, and if so who else is in the running for the No2 at Forest.
Bookies will take bets on anything with a verifiable result, I'd think.
I have to hand it to the guy - either he's much much more in the know down there in the Midlands or he's brought off a magnificent piece of trollery.
If it IS trollery, I'm actually quite envious - I wish I'd thought of it first.
I KNEW it was too bloody quiet last week.
If it ain't in a complete turmoil it ain't Hibs.net. :greengrin
20-06-2011, 06:23 PM
I know for a FACT that this thread is totally wrong.IN FACT Calderwood was answering a plea for help from Mr.Brolly who has discovered that Notts.are a complete shambles and he is pleading with Calderwood to rescue him by offering him the AM job at ER.
Having forensically examined the photograph I can EXCLUSIVELY reveal that it is of Ryan Giggs and a very thinly disguised Imogene Thomas having afternoon tea.
20-06-2011, 06:36 PM
I know for a FACT that this thread is totally wrong.IN FACT Calderwood was answering a plea for help from Mr.Brolly who has discovered that Notts.are a complete shambles and he is pleading with Calderwood to rescue him by offering him the AM job at ER.
Having forensically examined the photograph I can EXCLUSIVELY reveal that it is of Ryan Giggs and a very thinly disguised Imogene Thomas having afternoon tea.
The stress of the last few weeks are really beginning to tell on Imogen from the state of her in that pic. Its as likely to be her mind as any of the others mentioned.
20-06-2011, 06:42 PM
I thought they'd just arrived:confused:
ionahibby
20-06-2011, 06:51 PM
The you tube video of hibs 1st day back at training must help put this rumour to bed, if calderwood really was interested in becoming nott forest no2 would petrie really let calderwood take training only for him to bugger off a few days later?
Darth Hibbie
20-06-2011, 07:58 PM
:grr::grr::faf::na na:
20-06-2011, 08:33 PM
So has he gone yet? :dunno:
20-06-2011, 08:51 PM
According to the wireless, CC's release clause is near £1m!!
20-06-2011, 08:54 PM
Youve got to get up pretty early in the morning to catch out Rod:not worth
20-06-2011, 08:55 PM
Well done Rod :wink:
20-06-2011, 09:05 PM
How much are we paying the man? I would think that the release clause is in some way reflective of his wages?
It wasnt as if he was desperate when he took the job here.
20-06-2011, 09:12 PM
How much are we paying the man? I would think that the release clause is in some way reflective of his wages?
It wasnt as if he was desperate when he took the job here.
He wasn't on a great deal of money at Newcastle.
20-06-2011, 09:16 PM
there is a guy on the evening news forums claiming to be the notts forest fan who started this thread...he says he's been booted from this forum for telling the truth...if it's the same guy it would kind of point to him being a wind up merchant as its doubtful a notts forest fan based in nottingham would know about a sports fans forum in the evening news.
20-06-2011, 09:19 PM
The guy is a trumpet....Notts Forest fan or not :agree:
20-06-2011, 09:24 PM
there is a guy on the evening news forums claiming to be the notts forest fan who started this thread...he says he's been booted from this forum for telling the truth...if it's the same guy it would kind of point to him being a wind up merchant as its doubtful a notts forest fan based in nottingham would know about a sports fans forum in the evening news.
Far as I can see he's not been booted from here :confused: The poster Inch Hibs was but he claimed to be a Hibs fan, not a Forest one.
20-06-2011, 09:30 PM
Far as I can see he's not been booted from here :confused: The poster Inch Hibs was but he claimed to be a Hibs fan, not a Forest one.
Thank ****! he was doing my heed in!
So anyway has Calderwood officially joined Forest yet?:greengrin
HibsMax
20-06-2011, 09:33 PM
This guy is unbelievable. He seems to have a real axe to grind. This whole thing should have been:
Him : Hi, Guys. Have you heard this rumour?
.net faithful : Nope
Him : OK, just thought I would let you know what I heard and wanted to see if you guys heard anything similar. See ya! :D
That would have been enough but he had to keep on pushing and pushing. I'll give him credit for his tenacity, but that's about all.
jws1875
20-06-2011, 09:35 PM
Colin Calderwood insists he is committed to Hibs after being approached by Nottingham Forest to assist Steve McClaren. (Daily Record)
20-06-2011, 09:43 PM
This guy is unbelievable. He seems to have a real axe to grind. This whole thing should have been:
Him : Hi, Guys. Have you heard this rumour?
.net faithful : Nope
Him : OK, just thought I would let you know what I heard and wanted to see if you guys heard anything similar. See ya! :D
That would have been enough but he had to keep on pushing and pushing. I'll give him credit for his tenacity, but that's about all.
:agree: still wouldn't have been half the entertainment:wink:
HibsMax
20-06-2011, 09:43 PM
Colin Calderwood insists he is committed to Hibs after being approached by Nottingham Forest to assist Steve McClaren. (Daily Record)
Is that the paper version? Can't see that story online.
HibsMax
20-06-2011, 09:44 PM
Entertainment = :not worth
Quality of information = :confused:
20-06-2011, 09:49 PM
Has he been booted Admins.
20-06-2011, 09:50 PM
Is that the paper version? Can't see that story online.
Unfortunately thats just the snippet on BBC's "Monday's Scottish football gossip" from today's record, which seemingly didn't say that at all
20-06-2011, 09:51 PM
The Notts Forest fan has not been booted, no.
20-06-2011, 09:51 PM
Is this todays paper.
HibsMax
20-06-2011, 09:57 PM
No. You can tell by looking at that posts he has made. Booted posters have "Left by mutual consent" and big, scary red letters. :)
20-06-2011, 11:40 PM
Unbelievable. It's still going.
I think one of us should be delegated to sign up to the Forest fan forum and perform an equivalent service.
What remarkable mayhem. The yellow cardigans must be chuckling over their Rover grille badges.
21-06-2011, 06:10 AM
The Notts Forest fan has not been booted, no.
That's another claim of his that does not stand up to scrutiny then.
To be honest, if I had gone to a Forest forum to post a rumour, I wouldn't have then gone onto the Nottingham Daily Bugle to keep at it. He smells distinctly fishy.
Nope. And he's been logged in this morning.
21-06-2011, 06:52 AM
Nope. And he's been logged in this morning.
Oh no here we go again! :greengrin
21-06-2011, 08:21 AM
Another theory:
What if the meeting between McClaren and Calderwood was with a view to CC becoming asst manager of Aston Villa? McClaren was in line for the Villa job before their owner changed his mind after a fans protest. Calderwood played for Villa. Seems a lot more plausible to me than CC returning to a club that sacked him 2.5 years ago. Also more plausible in terms of size and level of club.
It's perfectly logical, he's posted about 1,000 times on here & there's always a link to the EN news about Hibs & consequently the fans forum. I think the guy's genuine, I just don't think his info is good & he does seem to have an obsession with being proved correct.
21-06-2011, 09:21 AM
It's perfectly logical, he's posted about 1,000 times on here & there's always a link to the EN news about Hibs & consequently the fans forum. I think the guy's genuine, I just don't think his info is good & he does seem to have an obsession with being proved correct.
Few lines about CC being a Forest target in today's SUN (http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/3649161/Colin-Calderwood-set-for-Nottingham-Forest-return.html)! :agree: :rolleyes:
21-06-2011, 09:36 AM
Few lines about CC being a Forest target in today's SUN (http://www.thesun.co.uk/sol/homepage/sport/football/3649161/Colin-Calderwood-set-for-Nottingham-Forest-return.html)! :agree: :rolleyes:
Thats some story :faf:!
21-06-2011, 09:38 AM
Why would one Nottingham Forest fan be SO interested in an Assistant Manager for his club???
Its a clear and utter wind-up.
Cant believe its stoked up so much interest here. Crazy!
21-06-2011, 10:34 AM
It WAS fun, wasn't it?
Now where's the guy who said he hoped it was all true so he could tell me to get it right up me?
I want a quiet word with him.... :devil:
21-06-2011, 10:45 AM
Thats some story :faf:!
This article is a classic 'The Sun has learned from a dubious source that....... '
Would it not be a good idea to congratulate the OP on his successful 'wind up' and close the thread immediately? :dunno:
21-06-2011, 11:09 AM
If its a wind up its been a very good one and he deserves to be congratulated.
More evidence of the pathetic state of our newspaper industry. Mcilvanney would be turning in his grave. If he were dead, which he isnt.
21-06-2011, 12:25 PM
It WAS fun, wasn't it?
Now where's the guy who said he hoped it was all true so he could tell me to get it right up me?
I want a quiet word with him.... :devil:
Stoke Newington :wink:
21-06-2011, 12:36 PM
Another theory:
What if the meeting between McClaren and Calderwood was with a view to CC becoming asst manager of Aston Villa? McClaren was in line for the Villa job before their owner changed his mind after a fans protest. Calderwood played for Villa. Seems a lot more plausible to me than CC returning to a club that sacked him 2.5 years ago. Also more plausible in terms of size and level of club.
Good theory. I am sure now, that this started as a wind up of forrest fans. When the guy got such a great reaction on here he cranked it up. If he had only got a couple of polite replies saying; "not heard anything, sounds unlikely" then it would have died there and then.
Hibs On Tour
21-06-2011, 01:26 PM
Why are we assuming it's Calderwood in the picture?
Why are we assuming that Calderwood needs permission from Hibs to meet anybody on a social basis?
Why does it always rain on me?
Why does your love hurt so much? :faf:
Why are we assuming that Hibs don't know about this just because a club statement said there's been no official contact from Forest?
Tell me why I don't like Mondays?
Why-kiki beach?
Why are we assuming that Calderwood wants to be an assistant again?
Why do we err on the side of worst case scenario?
Why do we care anyway when most on here want 'Clueless Colin' out anyway?
Quite simply a brilliant post sir! :not worth
21-06-2011, 01:41 PM
Stoke Newington :wink:
Right.
I'm on my way. :take that
:devil:
21-06-2011, 02:46 PM
Right.
I'm on my way. :take that
:devil:
From misery to happiness today?
He is a good guy (also a bit younger and probably fitter than you it has to be said :wink:). At least he was last I saw him!!!
Zitelli
21-06-2011, 06:33 PM
Chris McLaughlin has just updated his Twitter saying that Forest have made contact with Hibs, Calderwood is keen to go but compensation must be agreed.
21-06-2011, 06:40 PM
Chris McLaughlin has just updated his Twitter saying that Forest have made contact with Hibs, Calderwood is keen to go but compensation must be agreed.
Saw this as well, Chris is the senior football reporter for BBC Scotland he is saying that contact has been made with Hibs and they just need to sort out compensation.
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 06:41 PM
It's a short tweet, may as well get it right. :wink:
I believe Calderwood is keen to go but an agreement for compensation must be reached first.
21-06-2011, 06:43 PM
Saw this as well, Chris is the senior football reporter for BBC Scotland he is saying that contact has been made with Hibs and they just need to sort out compensation.
Yip, I'm now back across the fence in the camp that believes that this might well go through.
I've no doubt that he would've done some research close to home before posting this. i.e a wee word with CC's agent maybe.
HibsMax
and so it all kicks off again.....
If he is right I hope Hibs make them pay through the nose.Shocking timing.:boo hoo:
Zitelli
21-06-2011, 06:48 PM
It's a short tweet, may as well get it right. :wink:
Apologies, I got all excited with my exclusive! :greengrin
21-06-2011, 06:49 PM
Shouldn't a credible senior reporter for the BBC be able to spell the Forest manager's name? It's McClaren. (And Shteve, obviously.)
21-06-2011, 06:54 PM
Shouldn't a credible senior reporter for the BBC be able to spell the Forest manager's name? It's McClaren. (And Shteve, obviously.)
For shure :agree:
21-06-2011, 06:54 PM
Thought there was an "escape clause"? If there is then surely its done and dusted. Forest meet the amount in said escape clause and he goes. Whats the problem?
Should CC decide to leave then I would be hugely dissapointed. Not that I think he is irreplaceable, he's not, but I think, if he goes, then he is practically unemployable as a manager.
That said I am still thinking this is 75% utter bollocks though. All these comments cleverly leave themselves a get out in that if he dosent go it will be because compensation couldnt be agreed or some such thing.
Despite CC signing his contract only 8(?) months ago. He should know whats in it.
Either way it sows seeds of doubt which is, IMHO, what it's designed to do.
I reserve the right to change my mind though.
21-06-2011, 06:55 PM
Thought there was an "escape clause"? If there is then surely its done and dusted. Forest meet the amount in said escape clause and he goes. Whats the problem?
Should CC decide to leave then I would be hugely dissapointed. Not that I think he is irreplaceable, he's not, but I think, if he goes, then he is practically unemployable as a manager.
That said I am still thinking this is 75% utter bollocks though. All these comments cleverly leave themselves a get out in that if he dosent go it will be because compensation couldnt be agreed or some such thing.
Despite CC signing his contract only 8(?) months ago. He should know whats in it.
Either way it sows seeds of doubt which is, IMHO, what it's designed to do.
I reserve the right to change my mind though.
This. :agree:
21-06-2011, 06:59 PM
His exact tweets are below
BBC Scotland understands Nottingham Forest want Colin Calderwood to return to club as Steve McLaren's no 2. Contact been made with #hibs (https://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23hibs)
I believe Calderwood is keen to go but an agreement for compensation must be reached first. #hibs (https://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23hibs)
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 07:01 PM
Probably doesn't need to be said but Hibs and CC need to come out and say something because this rumour just won't die.
We started pre-season yesterday and were treated to a 3 minute video on YouTube. Now.....silence.
This has to be put in the rear-view mirror ASAP, either way.
21-06-2011, 07:12 PM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13868233.stm
21-06-2011, 07:12 PM
Probably doesn't need to be said but Hibs and CC need to come out and say something because this rumour just won't die.
We started pre-season yesterday and were treated to a 3 minute video on YouTube. Now.....silence.
This has to be put in the rear-view mirror ASAP, either way.
You would think but Hibs dont comment on much and that will be interpreted to suit by some.
The guy says he "believe"s that CC wants to go. What is the point of having a release clause or an escape clause or whatever if you cant use the bloody thing when you want to release or escape?
I dont get it.
21-06-2011, 07:14 PM
Yip, I'm now back across the fence in the camp that believes that this might well go through.
I've no doubt that he would've done some research close to home before posting this. i.e a wee word with CC's agent maybe.
Worrying times ahead maybe.
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 07:17 PM
You would think but Hibs dont comment on much and that will be interpreted to suit by some.
The guy says he "believe"s that CC wants to go. What is the point of having a release clause or an escape clause or whatever if you cant use the bloody thing when you want to release or escape?
I dont get it.
Typically I agree with that policy but not this time (IMO). Here we have a BBC journalist saying that Forest have made contact, not believed to have made contact, so Hibs can tell us if that is true. It might be:
McClaren : Hi, is this Hibs?
Petrie : Aye.
McClaren : Can we talk to Colin?
Petrie : Aye / Naw (doesn't really matter)
and that would constitute making contact. Doesn't mean he will go though. I don't want him to go - just because of the timing. What does O'Hanlon think about being pursued for years, only to be left in the lurch by the guy who signed him?
Still hope this is all BS.
21-06-2011, 07:20 PM
Typically I agree with that policy but not this time (IMO). Here we have a BBC journalist saying that Forest have made contact, not believed to have made contact, so Hibs can tell us if that is true. It might be:
and that would constitute making contact. Doesn't mean he will go though. I don't want him to go - just because of the timing. What does O'Hanlon think about being pursued for years, only to be left in the lurch by the guy who signed him?
O'Hanlon is a fitba player who will play for money and in reality if CC left it prob wouldn't make a blind bit if difference in the modern game
21-06-2011, 07:26 PM
£500,000 and he can join him at Forest :devil:
21-06-2011, 07:26 PM
Doubt we would get anything like the £13.3 million compensation Chelsea have agreed to pay Porto for Villas-Boas. :rolleyes:
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 07:28 PM
O'Hanlon is a fitba player who will play for money and in reality if CC left it prob wouldn't make a blind bit if difference in the modern game
Possibly but it still sucks. As a person who has been hired by someone, only to join said company a couple of weeks later and that person has left.....it left me feeling more than a little disgruntled.
21-06-2011, 07:31 PM
Absolutely right.
I am sorry to bang on about a realease clause but IF there's one in CC's contract (as if contracts are worth s#1t anyway) then Forest meet the terms and he goes. CC's agent will have told Forest what these terms are IF thats what CC wants.
There's no argument so I dont get the delay IF there's any truth to this.
Prawn Sandwich
21-06-2011, 07:32 PM
Maybe CC wants to go because Nottingham has trams?
http://www.thetram.net/times/index.php
I'll get my coat.....:taxi
Dirkster23
21-06-2011, 07:34 PM
TBH i'm not sure what to make of the stories linking CC with Forest, but i does make you wonder why CC's not appointed a number 2 yet.
Top Pans Hibby
21-06-2011, 07:41 PM
If this remotely true I hope Hibs tell Forest to take a hike.
This is the last thing we need. Hibs need stability. Anything less and I have real fears for this season.
We seem to be lurching from one crisis to another......:brickwall:brickwall:brickwall
ionahibby
21-06-2011, 07:45 PM
TBH i'm not sure what to make of the stories linking CC with Forest, but i does make you wonder why CC's not appointed a number 2 yet.
Was thinking the same its like he knows there is no point going to all the trouble. Hopefully im wrong but nothing surprises me with hibs anymore!
Velma Dinkley
21-06-2011, 07:46 PM
The BBC journalist has just regurgitated the flimsy stories that have been written elsewhere based on what has appeared on messageboards. He just omited the statement from Hibs sayinng there has been no contact between the clubs.
21-06-2011, 07:53 PM
If true then this after Derek Adams must surely point to something very badly wrong at Easter Road
21-06-2011, 07:54 PM
Another tweet from John Percy a football journalist based in Nottingham, copy below.
Colin Calderwood meeting #Hibs (https://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Hibs) tonight to discuss offer from #nffc (https://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23nffc). Expect it to be sorted one way or the other on Wednesday
21-06-2011, 07:55 PM
The BBC journalist has just regurgitated the flimsy stories that have been written elsewhere based on what has appeared on messageboards. He just omited the statement from Hibs sayinng there has been no contact between the clubs.
No he hasn't, on the BBC sports page he does mention this but goes on to say that cc would consider the approach and mclaren wants him
21-06-2011, 07:57 PM
I personally hope CC stays.
I think given time he will prove that he will be as good at spotting a good player as he was at recognising the dross.
let's face it he quickly realised what most of us had for years but previous managers hadn't in that the likes of
Nish, Rankin, Hogg, Graeme Smith, McBride, Dickoh should be shown the door ASAP.
To me the ones he wanted to keep were the correct ones in Rordan and Miller but they were always going to get more money than we could offer elsewhere. As for Stevenson and Galbraith i think he will use them as subs/squad fillers
However if he leaves ...... the bonus is we have got rid of the dross and seemingly there is still a budget for more players to come in.
Genuinely think we are in better shape than we were this time last year as long as we get at least two more quality signings
21-06-2011, 07:59 PM
I thought this was all rubbish but seems like it is becoming more of a reality. Just as things were getting positive this comes up. I really hope he does stay for the sake of the club and this coming season.
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 07:59 PM
Another tweet from John Percy a football journalist based in Nottingham, copy below.
Colin Calderwood meeting #Hibs (https://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Hibs) tonight to discuss offer from #nffc (https://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23nffc). Expect it to be sorted one way or the other on Wednesday
Anyone know where CC is today? Anyone?
Velma Dinkley
21-06-2011, 08:00 PM
No he hasn't, on the BBC sports page he does mention this but goes on to say that cc would consider the approach and mclaren wants him
that really adds nothing to what has been said already. there has only been one quote published so far and that basically rubbishes the whole story.
there has not been any statement from hibs, nottinham forrest, colin calderwood, steve mcclaren or any agents to say there has been an approach or that there is even any interest. surely at least one of these journalists would have been able to get a quote from someone if there was any truth in it?:confused:
Have resisted getting involved in this debate up to now .
However given the BBC statement I have decided to add my pennysworth :greengrin
If CC leaves for NF what does this say for his credibility as a Manager and as a person ?
Not a lot , surely !!
He has come out with all the usual managerial platitudes , putting himself in the same class as Yogi, etc etc .
"....Calderwood told Newcastle's website: "The opportunity to manage a top-flight side in my home country was hard for me to turn down.
And that is a challenge I'm greatly looking forward to,"
In other words another "Bull ****ter"
The timing off this is the most damaging thing with just a few weeks to the start of the season .
The bottom line is , if he leaves , where it leaves Hibernian FC and its Board - that is anyones guess.:wink:
:confused::rolleyes:
Just read that. Hopefully it's right and it's dealt with ASAP. We can't allow this to drag on
If true then this after Derek Adams must surely point to something very badly wrong at Easter Road
If true, it does indicate we have massive problems behind the scenes. Not unknown to be fair.
How can you possibly turn this round to something very wrong at ER?
Conway chose Cardiff ahead of Rangers is there something very wrong there as well?
21-06-2011, 08:04 PM
What exactly would it take for people to start to question what to me is plainly obvious.
21-06-2011, 08:08 PM
What exactly would it take for people to start to question what to me is plainly obvious.
Like what? Has CC left yet?
21-06-2011, 08:09 PM
Adams clearly explained why he wanted to go back to Ross County and if we lose someone to a championship club with more money....well that happens to every SPL club. So i wouldnt see why all the "seriously something wrong at hibs" rumours start (again)
21-06-2011, 08:10 PM
Like what? Has CC left yet?
Well hypothetically if he does leave will you swallow the 'family reasons' line without question?
21-06-2011, 08:10 PM
Just read that. Hopefully it's right and it's dealt with ASAP. We can't allow this to drag on
Agreed. Id still find it extremely disappointing if we lose our manager to a Championship club as assistant manager, especially a club he was previously manager of (fail to see the ambition there), but if he does go we need to move on and get things sorted.
Its not ideal losing yet another manager but in this case at least its nothing to do with poor performances on the pitch. The league starts in about a month so we need things sorted quickly!
21-06-2011, 08:11 PM
Well hypothetically if he does leave will you swallow the 'family reasons' line without question?
Depends if he hypothetically offers it
21-06-2011, 08:12 PM
We will just need to see what does transpire.
21-06-2011, 08:12 PM
Adams clearly explained why he wanted to go back to Ross County and if we lose someone to a championship club with more money....well that happens to every SPL club. So i wouldnt see why all the "seriously something wrong at hibs" rumours start (again)
Oh dear, so Mowbray, Collins, Mixu, Hughes and now poss Calderwood in what 5 years is natural.
21-06-2011, 08:13 PM
If he does go and does say that are you going to call him a liar?
And if he dosent go? What then? He is being held against his will be the evil Rodster?
21-06-2011, 08:14 PM
We will just need to see what does transpire.
Indeed, let's not get ahead of ourselves just yet.
21-06-2011, 08:14 PM
Agreed. Id still find it extremely disappointing if we lose our manager to a Championship club as assistant manager, especially a club he was previously manager of (fail to see the ambition there), but if he does go we need to move on and get things sorted.
Its not ideal losing yet another manager but in this case at least its nothing to do with poor performances on the pitch. The league starts in about a month so we need things sorted quickly!
As would I but Rangers just lost one of their signing targets to a championship club. I think it says more about Scottish Football in general that Hibs in particular.
21-06-2011, 08:15 PM
Indeed but I don't expect anything to change should Calderwood leave.
21-06-2011, 08:17 PM
And if he dosent go? What then? He is being held against his will be the evil Rodster?
No, but you'd have to question the recruitment process and conclude that the board weren't thorough enough when checking if someone is committed to see the job through.
Different scenario if someone has done brilliantly well and a big club comes in to offer them a manager's job elsewhere but that isn't what it is being suggested is happening.
Oh dear, so Mowbray, Collins, Mixu, Hughes and now poss Calderwood in what 5 years is natural.
Is it not 9 managers in 10 years, shocking record in finding the right man.
You'll notice how all signing rumours have dried up.
21-06-2011, 08:18 PM
I wouldn't call him a liar but I'd say that as part of his release I'd take a guess that financially it wouldn't be worthwhile to say anything that shows the club in a bad light
21-06-2011, 08:18 PM
IF he goes, surely it is just an admission that he wasn't up to the job.
21-06-2011, 08:19 PM
Mowbray left to another club, Whats wrong with that?
Mixu/Hughes were they doing an adequate enough job? a lot of fans didnt think so.
the only one you could argue is Collins, and he blew all his money on pish players.
no doubt you will see it differently though :rolleyes:
21-06-2011, 08:19 PM
He explained he'd rather go back to the job he left than stay with us didn't he?
21-06-2011, 08:21 PM
There were absolutely no signing rumours anywhere today.
21-06-2011, 08:22 PM
He explained he'd rather go back to the job he left than stay with us didn't he?
When did he say that?
21-06-2011, 08:22 PM
Mowbray left to another club, Whats wrong with that?
Mixu/Hughes were they doing an adequate enough job? a lot of fans didnt think so.
the only one you could argue is Collins, and he blew all his money on pish players.
no doubt you will see it differently though :rolleyes:
Yes I do. Absolutly.
21-06-2011, 08:23 PM
aye lets twist it!
"I have enjoyed my time in Edinburgh and am sorry to be leaving Hibernian, but the chance to be a Manager again at Ross County is just too good an opportunity to turn down
he just wanted to be a manager again
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110519/derek-adams_2262950_2363038
21-06-2011, 08:23 PM
aye lets twist it!
he just wanted to be a manager again
http://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/20110519/derek-adams_2262950_2363038
And Calderwood just wants to be an asst again!
21-06-2011, 08:25 PM
As would I but Rangers just lost one of their signing targets to a championship club. I think it says more about Scottish Football in general that Hibs in particular.
If he was going to become manager at a Championship club Id have less of a problem with it. Chance of promotion to the Premiership, better money and really making a proper name for yourself.
Sure you can achieve most of that as Assistant but it gives you nowhere near the same credibility as the manager. We got CC from an Assistant managers position at a higher level than the Championship, Im just not sure why its a good career step for him to go to Forest?
21-06-2011, 08:25 PM
And Calderwood just wants to be an asst again!
that doesn't mean there is anything sinister going on at the club though. If he goes it will be for the same reason most people go anywhere in football
21-06-2011, 08:29 PM
If he was going to become manager at a Championship club Id have less of a problem with it. Chance of promotion to the Premiership, better money and really making a proper name for yourself.
Sure you can achieve most of that as Assistant but it gives you nowhere near the same credibility as the manager. We got CC from an Assistant managers position at a higher level than the Championship, Im just not sure why its a good career step for him to go to Forest?
I agree. But as far as I am aware he's not gone yet though and there's no real evidence that that's what he wants. We were told about this days ago and we were told about an "escape clause" so the bit I dont get is the delay.
If he wants to go then go but lets not make this into something that it's not.
21-06-2011, 08:30 PM
that doesn't mean there is anything sinister going on at the club though. If he goes it will be for the same reason most people go anywhere in football
I don't believe he would get anywhere near the deal he has at ER as a number 2 at Forest. Are Forest flush?
21-06-2011, 08:30 PM
Who says it's sinister, if the Board believes that the Chief Scout should report directly into the Chief Exec and they then jointly take the player to the manager and give their opinion that he should be signed for the benefit of the club then it's maybe a good policy.
Any thoughts on that most likely scenario?
21-06-2011, 08:32 PM
Who says it's sinister, if the Board believes that the Chief Scout should report directly into the Chief Exec and they then jointly take the player to the manager and give their opinion that he should be signed for the benefit of the club then it's maybe a good policy.
Is that what happens?
Does he not inform the manager?
21-06-2011, 08:33 PM
and you know happens how? or is it made up like 99.9% of stuff on here
21-06-2011, 08:34 PM
There were absolutely no signing rumours anywhere today.
Noticed this myself.
21-06-2011, 08:35 PM
What is says to me is that our board, like Steve McLaren, sees talent in CC. Why else would he be head hunted amongst all the coaching talent that this country and Europe has to offer.
McLaren isn't as stupid as his Dutch accent sounds. He has been in the Premiership, been national manager, worked in Germany and Holland. Yet after no doubt taking advice and listening to what people in the football world have had to say, it looks like he has plumped for CC, rather than go for someone else he has worked.
For me it would be sad as it looked like he had a real blueprint for the next 3 years and had started to do what we had all been crying out for. Giving youth a wee chance, ridding the club of players who looked jaded and on the slide, brought in some energy and fight and we survived in the SPL when it looked perilous.
However there is no shame if he moves. Forest are a huge club, with a huge fanbase and far more financial resources. Far bigger than Hibernian. If he has been offered a role to develop coaching, the academy and also be a No2, then it's a terrific job to take on. It takes him closer to family too, and no doubt offers a great salary package.
We get good compensation, albeit at a bad time of the year, but the season is yet to kick off and the new manager has 2 months of a window to get a couple in. I will most definitely be placing a wee wager on wee Gordon taking the reins. Something tells me he would now be in a position to fancy the Hibs job......for footballing reasons and to be close to Edinburgh. I would be absolutely thrilled if he did to be honest.
Hibs will still be here tomorrow, next week, next month, next year regardless.......I think we should all be calm, see what happens, and see it as another wee chapter in the topsy turvy world of being a Hibs supporter.......personally I love it :agree:
21-06-2011, 08:39 PM
and you know happens how? or is it made up like 99.9% of stuff on here
Ask about yourself and see what the reporting structure is.
21-06-2011, 08:41 PM
well i'm asking you since you seem so sure.
21-06-2011, 08:41 PM
I did. Are the Chief scout and Scouting co-ordinator different people?
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 08:42 PM
What is says to me is that our board, like Steve McLaren, sees talent in CC. Why else would he be head hunted amongst all the coaching talent that this country and Europe has to offer.
McLaren isn't as stupid as his Dutch accent sounds. He has been in the Premiership, been national manager, worked in Germany and Holland. Yet after no doubt taking advice and listening to what people in the football world have had to say, it looks like he has plumped for CC, rather than go for someone else he has worked.
For me it would be sad as it looked like he had a real blueprint for the next 3 years and had started to do what we had all been crying out for. Giving youth a wee chance, ridding the club of players who looked jaded and on the slide, brought in some energy and fight and we survived in the SPL when it looked perilous.
However there is no shame if he moves. Forest are a huge club, with a huge fanbase and far more financial resources. Far bigger than Hibernian. If he has been offered a role to develop coaching, the academy and also be a No2, then it's a terrific job to take on. It takes him closer to family too, and no doubt offers a great salary package.
We get good compensation, albeit at a bad time of the year, but the season is yet to kick off and the new manager has 2 months of a window to get a couple in. I will most definitely be placing a wee wager on wee Gordon taking the reins. Something tells me he would now be in a position to fancy the Hibs job......for footballing reasons and to be close to Edinburgh. I would be absolutely thrilled if he did to be honest.
Hibs will still be here tomorrow, next week, next month, next year regardless.......I think we should all be calm, see what happens, and see it as another wee chapter in the topsy turvy world of being a Hibs supporter.......personally I love it :agree:
Good post.
If other people are anything like me :hmmm: then the biggest issue right now is simply, WHAT THE F*** IS REALLY GOING ON? Can't wait for this s***storm to be over.
21-06-2011, 08:43 PM
Just noticed this, maybe he will end up elsewhere. :confused:
http://www.football.co.uk/birmingham_city/hughton_set_to_be_birmingham_boss_rss1695284.shtml
Maybe Forrest just a smokescreen.
21-06-2011, 08:44 PM
Good post.
If we are looking for a new man soon, do you think we might change how we appoint managers?
21-06-2011, 08:45 PM
I've nae ideas but Woodieson reports to the newly created football dept led by SL at East Mains.
What was the reply to your question
21-06-2011, 08:45 PM
Not necessarily.
21-06-2011, 08:46 PM
Good post.
If we are looking for a new man soon, do you think we might change how we appoint managers?
You mean pick one that knows what he is doing? :)
21-06-2011, 08:46 PM
Conway chose Cardiff ahead of Rangers is there something very wrong there as well?
Let's just wait and see what happens with CC.
HibeeMcGinn1
21-06-2011, 08:48 PM
Hands oaf oor manager ya divit.
21-06-2011, 08:48 PM
well i'm asking you since you seem so sure.
Previous agm's, sponsor evenings and speaking directly to employees at the club who would know. Now my cards are on the table you tell me how it really works?
21-06-2011, 08:49 PM
I've nae ideas but Woodieson reports to the newly created football dept led by SL at East Mains.
What was the reply to your question
Really? Who's in the "football dept"? Just SL and Woodieson?
I really have no idea thats why I ask.
21-06-2011, 08:50 PM
Previous agm's, sponsor evenings and speaking directly to employees at the club who would know. Now my cards are on the table you tell me how it really works?
i dont know how it really works thats why i spent 2 posts asking you, well i will just have to take your word for it.
if the manager has the ultimate decision then that's all that matters to me.
21-06-2011, 08:51 PM
Let's just wait and see what happens with CC.
Its bloody annying though.
I'm not usually in favour of the club making statements about gossip on messageboards but this is growing arms and legs out of nothing concrete.
21-06-2011, 08:54 PM
If he does go. So does Petrie
I'am getting sick of changing managers every year.
21-06-2011, 08:55 PM
Why would it be Petrie's fault?
21-06-2011, 08:55 PM
i dont know how it really works thats why i spent 2 posts asking you, well i will just have to take your word for it.
if the manager has the ultimate decision then that's all that matters to me.
The last paragraph I'm sure the answer will be that he does have the last word. No manager would hang about if he didn't.
21-06-2011, 08:57 PM
If it's true that Hibs have received no approach from Nottingham Forest asking to speak to Calderwood then we should be reporting them to the FA.
It is clear from the photo that has been doing the rounds over the past few days that McClaren and Calderwood have met each other in the past week and with all the press reports that have been going about stating that Calderwood is close to a move to Notts Forest, if they haven't even spoken to Hibs yet then they are clearly in breach of rules and regulations.
Not necessarily.
Is that a yes or a no?
This is hardly Petrie's fault though? He can't really do much about CC leaving.
Although definately agree with the bold bit!!
21-06-2011, 08:58 PM
The last paragraph I'm sure the answer will be that he does have the last word. No manager would hang about if he didn't.
well, except managers at a certain PBS of course :wink:
21-06-2011, 08:59 PM
At least somebody wants this one! :greengrin
Alledgedly that is.
21-06-2011, 08:59 PM
Well, actually he can. Fair enough it was one (or possibly two) bad apples. But you're talking about the fourth in a row that has either walked out or been shown the door.
21-06-2011, 09:01 PM
I'm not usually in favour of the club making statements about gossip on messageboards but this is growing arms and legs out of nothing concrete.
Neither am I Kaiser but it's gone way beyond that by appearing in various newspapers and websites
21-06-2011, 09:02 PM
well, except managers at a certain PBS of course :wink:
They at least have the compensation of having a budget (and therefore general standard of player) that is significantly higher than the clubs they would normally compete with. Anyone who takes the job knows that and takes it on that basis.
21-06-2011, 09:03 PM
where do his family live. If they are settled in Nottigham or nearby then he may be seriously tempted. You couldn't blame him for that
Drop Fife an email. He'll confirm it's pish :aok:
Well, actually he can. Fair enough it was one (or possibly two) bad apples. But you're talking about the fourth in a row that has either walked out or been shown the door.
Until we know he's actually leaving, and the reasons for leaving, I dont think we can.
As I said previoulsy at least we get money for this one rather than us paying out compo to get shot of them so that at least is an improvement surely! :greengrin
21-06-2011, 09:04 PM
Drop Fife an email. He'll confirm it's pish :aok:
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 09:05 PM
The problem is that Hibs aren't really in a position to entice a great manager so we have to take risks (funny how "speculate to accumulate" is only popular on "spending money on players" threads). We took a couple of chances and they didn't pan out for different reasons. If Hibs fans REALLY want the board to speculate / take risks then we HAVE to be prepared for when those risks don't pay off. You can't have your cake and eat it too.
21-06-2011, 09:10 PM
where do his family live. If they are settled in Nottigham or nearby then he may be seriously tempted. You couldn't blame him for that
The guys been involved in football for all his life, from Stranraer, to Colchester, to Forest, to Spurs, to Newcastle and now Edinburgh.
Being a pro in football means moving about, I'm not buying any of this family stuff I'm afraid.
I really hope this whole episode is put to bed tomorrow with Hibs and Calderwood totally refuting the national press story.
21-06-2011, 09:13 PM
Personally speaking if it turned out he has met McClaren behind Hibs back i would take the matter out his hands and sack him.
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 09:16 PM
Personally speaking if it turned out he has met McClaren behind Hibs back i would take the matter out his hands and sack him.
NO WAY!!!
Make them pay!
Sing it with me...
No way, make 'em pay!
(repeat to fade)
21-06-2011, 09:16 PM
So cc hasnt quit, forest have not asked to speak to him, wtf is the point in this thread
21-06-2011, 09:17 PM
The guys been involved in football for all his life, from Stranraer, to Colchester, to Forest, to Spurs, to Newcastle and now Edinburgh.<br />
<br />
Being a pro in football means moving about, I'm not buying any of this family stuff I'm afraid.<br />
<br />
I really hope this whole episode is put to bed tomorrow with Hibs and Calderwood totally refuting the national press story.<br />
<br />
Depends what age and stage his kids are at.
Not saying that would be sole reason but may be a strong factor in his thinking
I would wait and take the compo off forest, dont see why we should waste money sacking him:confused:
I was totally convinced that this was all rubbish - someone having a very successful laugh at our expense.
I HOPE that that's true, but it's beginning to look as if I was badly wrong.
If CC goes, there have to be questions raised about our board's ways of appointing managers, and about the way they expect the manager to work with them.
It appears that for whatever reason Hibs simply cannot hold onto their managers; to appoint Calderwood and Adams, and lose them BOTH within a year suggests that there's something very badly wrong in the way the club is run, and THAT comes back to Rod Petrie and nobody else, as far as I can see...
If Petrie's taking a lead role in the recruitment of players, then he's doing something very similar to what Romanov was doing at Tynie. We all thought that was hilarious - ain't so funny now it's happening in our own club.
Someone at the top of the club needs to wake up and smell the coffee. Hibs are becoming a very bad joke.
21-06-2011, 09:18 PM
NO WAY!!!
Make them pay!
Sing it with me...
No way, make 'em pay!
(repeat to fade)
http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTK2ih_nyl-yBX_HsqDryFllfyjOeXWiosEIq3fhuEFW-c0HC1y
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 09:19 PM
So cc hasnt quit, forest have not asked to speak to him, wtf is the point in this thread
Ha ha! It worked. The whole point of this thread was to lure you here!
SURPRISE!!!
I don't think everyone is as sure as you are re: contact having been made.
21-06-2011, 09:20 PM
I would wait and take the compo off forest, dont see why we should waste money sacking him:confused:
Saves a week of will he won't he fannying about. I know it's not the sensible way to go but i hate when people mess us around.
21-06-2011, 09:22 PM
Saves a week of will he won't he fannying about. I know it's not the sensible way to go but i hate when people mess us around.
That actually made me laugh out loud :greengrin
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 09:22 PM
I was totally convinced that this was all rubbish - someone having a very successful laugh at our expense.
I HOPE that that's true, but it's beginning to look as if I was badly wrong.
If CC goes, there have to be questions raised about our board's ways of appointing managers, and about the way they expect the manager to work with them.
It appears that for whatever reason Hibs simply cannot hold onto their managers; to appoint Calderwood and Adams, and lose them BOTH within a year suggests that there's something very badly wrong in the way the club is run, and THAT comes back to Rod Petrie and nobody else, as far as I can see...
Without the power of clairvoyance I don't see how the board could possibly see another club coming in with a better offer. If Calderwood was to leave for reasons other than him and the board falling out, I think that says more about HIM than the board.
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 09:23 PM
and what better way to exact our revenge than raiding their wallets? :wink:
21-06-2011, 09:23 PM
Fair enough but id still like to see us ...
http://t0.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTK2ih_nyl-yBX_HsqDryFllfyjOeXWiosEIq3fhuEFW-c0HC1y
:
21-06-2011, 09:28 PM
Without the power of clairvoyance I don't see how the board could possibly see another club coming in with a better offer. If Calderwood was to leave for reasons other than him and the board falling out, I think that says more about HIM than the board.
True, Max. But there was Hughes. And before him Mixu. And before him Collins. And before him Mowbray.
Applying the Lady Bracknell Principle - to lose one manager after a short spell might well be misfortune; to lose four looks very much like incompetence somewhere - either in recruitment, or in the relationships between directors and team boss or in the corporate structure or culture ...
Something stinks.
Who gives a flying? Sean O'Hanlon maybe.
Beyond that, the jury is out and he wouldn't be that much of a loss.
21-06-2011, 09:29 PM
Who gives a flying? Sean O'Hanlon maybe.
Beyond that, the jury is out and wouldn't be that much of a loss.
True, but who appoints the next guy? The same guy who appointed the last 5?
21-06-2011, 09:30 PM
The guys been involved in football for all his life, from Stranraer, to Colchester, to Forest, to Spurs, to Newcastle and now Edinburgh.
Being a pro in football means moving about, I'm not buying any of this family stuff I'm afraid.
I really hope this whole episode is put to bed tomorrow with Hibs and Calderwood totally refuting the national press story.
I'm not so sure. Given that the vast majority of managers barely last two seasons now it would be sensible to have a base for school etc. and not uproot the family every time. And if a job comes up round the corner from your house that pays more money you would have to be tempted.
That said I 100% agree with the last bit. Lets hope so.
21-06-2011, 09:37 PM
True, Max. But there was Hughes. And before him Mixu. And before him Collins. And before him Mowbray.
Applying the Lady Bracknell Principle - to lose one manager after a short spell might well be misfortune; to lose four looks very much like incompetence somewhere - either in recruitment, or in the relationships between directors and team boss or in the corporate structure or culture ...
Something stinks.
I disagree Doddie. There was nothing that could really be done to stop Mowbray leaving and it appears this time again that a wealthier club playing at a higher level (arguably) want to offer our guy a wad more cash to take a job round the corner from his house. Who wouldnt?
Dont see how this is either predictable or preventable.
21-06-2011, 09:37 PM
He's not gone yet so we will just have to see what unfolds.
Regards Gordon Strachan though. The fact he ripped up his contract with Boro despite being owed compo speaks volumes of the man for me. His latest family bereavement, his love of Hibs and the fact that he may just love/thrive on the fact he could pit his wits against his padawan Lennon and wear a Hibs top at Tynecastle :greengrin may just mean we would be in with a shout this time.
Will be very interesting to see his odds if there is any truth in this CC affair.
True, but who appoints the next guy? The same guy who appointed the last 5?
Aware of that - if I am being honest, I have no faith in them appointing a new manager. Sadly, I am pinning my hopes on the 'law of averages'.
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 09:49 PM
Something stinks.
I would start by saying I genuinely don't think that the board deliberately hires managers that will fail. So that lends weight to the incompetence argument. Generally speaking I think the board should be held accountable for managers that they hire that don't work out. However, I don't think we should blame the board for managers who leave to better their career (in their eyes). You can't really predict that happening. I am very happy at my job, I'm not looking to leave. I love the work I do. But that's not to say that someone couldn't dangle a carrot sufficiently juicy to make me jump ship.
If anything, the board should be given more grief for appointing Mixu and Yogi than CC.
Another thing concerns me. Who do we blame if we replace the board and things stay the same? How long do the new board members get?
21-06-2011, 10:03 PM
I would start by saying I genuinely don't think that the board deliberately hires managers that will fail. So that lends weight to the incompetence argument. Generally speaking I think the board should be held accountable for managers that they hire that don't work out. However, I don't think we should blame the board for managers who leave to better their career (in their eyes). You can't really predict that happening. I am very happy at my job, I'm not looking to leave. I love the work I do. But that's not to say that someone couldn't dangle a carrot sufficiently juicy to make me jump ship.
If anything, the board should be given more grief for appointing Mixu and Yogi than CC.
Another thing concerns me. Who do we blame if we replace the board and things stay the same? How long do the new board members get?
I think he is making the point that the board have made bad signings in regards to managers and at other times havent made it attractive enough. Adams has left as well after a short stint which seems like he didnt enjoy it. If its just the ways its going to be, in that good managers will come and go because of better offers, then the board need to make sure that in between the good manager appointments we dont have 3 or 4 bad ones.
I dont think the board can be held accountable if CC was to leave for family reasons or more money, they need to make sure we receive every penny of the compensation though. To be honest, we dont even know if CC is a good manager yet so the board dont have that in their pocket that they appointed a good manager but couldnt hold onto it.
If CC leaves, the board will have appointed a series of duff managers followed by one that left before we could make judgement.
HibsMax
21-06-2011, 10:12 PM
I think he is making the point that the board have made bad signings in regards to managers and at other times havent made it attractive enough. Adams has left as well after a short stint which seems like he didnt enjoy it. If its just the ways its going to be, in that good managers will come and go because of better offers, then the board need to make sure that in between the good manager appointments we dont have 3 or 4 bad ones.
I dont think the board can be held accountable if CC was to leave for family reasons or more money, they need to make sure we receive every penny of the compensation though. To be honest, we dont even know if CC is a good manager yet so the board dont have that in their pocket that they appointed a good manager but couldnt hold onto it.
If CC leaves, the board will have appointed a series of duff managers followed by one that left before we could make judgement.
I agree with your bit in bold (and other parts too but just wanted to highlight that part). I suppose what is surprising to me is people saying that the board should be punted if CC walks. Why now? Why not when Yogi was punted? Why not when Mixu was punted? Actually, I can answer my own question (I think). People probably WERE calling for the board to be punted at those times. :)
I'm going to give my keyboard a rest now and see how things pan out, retire to the wings to watch how this all unfolds. I've already invested too much energy in something that has not come to pass yet, and maybe never will.
I will part with this though.
IF Calderwood does leave, and there are no reports of Manager vs. Board type fallouts, I place all of this on HIS shoulders and nobody else's.