hibby67
03-07-2011, 01:03 PM
what the hell is going on get him to @*$k :furious:
03-07-2011, 01:05 PM
Post # 2756 - on this thread. :thumbsup:
03-07-2011, 01:05 PM
PMs could add a 'countdown to...........' as part of their profile and you put a date in for something in the future and it would show how many days to go. Folk used it for holidays, gigs, weddings, divorces etc etc
Ahh:aok:
But its not page 100 yet !!
How is this a "failed appointment" ?
90 odd pages in this thread and you're asking this question AGAIN? :greengrin
Others are rying to poach him and, depending on your POV we are either trying to keep him or holding out for more compensation. I have no idea which and, I would suspect, not many do.
Whether he wants to be here or not I have no idea.
Other clubs want CC as their No. 2. We appointed him as our Manager; numero uno; head honcho in the dugout etc etc. There is a world of difference.
And if CC wanted to be here RP would have established that a week or more ago and therefore would not now be wasting his valuable time in negotiations with two other clubs seeking to appoint the man.
03-07-2011, 01:09 PM
something new upsetting you? or just that the clown is still with us
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 01:09 PM
Well done to Luke for asking the questions everybody here wanted to here the answers to. He was aboilutely correct to ask the question!!!
CC's response was at best disrespectful and at worst down right pathetic. How anyone on this board can get behind the man after his comments last week is beyond me. Anybody with half a brain could read into his comments regarding the positions at brum and forest yet we let it drag on for another week.
If he wants to go fine GTF does anyone really care???? He has no reason to quit if he cites family et al i will be very unhappy as he knew what he was getting into 9 mths ago, kai has changed.
We need a man commited to the cause not some numpty who believes he is better than us. Colin we are not interested GTF!
And people with a full brain will wait to see what happens. :wink:
EDIT : reminds me of a joke....
High School Career Counselor : What do you want to do when you leave school?
Kid : Well, I have half a mind to be a police officer....
HSCC : Let me stop you there, you're already over-qualified.
BOOM BOOM!!
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 01:12 PM
Correct. It has been the same with Collins, Hughes and Mixu. No Hibs playing career and it's likely that they would have never been appointed Hibs manager.
I sometimes think, rightly or wrongly, that Rodders will do whatever it takes to keep the pressure off himself. Sacking Mixu when it was obvious that ST sales were affected, sacking Hughes right before an AGM that was going to prove very difficult for Rodders, appointing the overwhelming fans' favourite three times out of the last four etc etc.
Just goes to show what the fans know about picking managers. Seriously, if the board selects the man that is the favourite amongst the fans, doesn't that mean we are just as useless at suggesting managers as the board appear to be?
03-07-2011, 01:14 PM
Its not about half/full brain! It is about the impending pre-season disaster that is the problem!! Badly handled by the board, CC and the fans. We have every right to know what is happening and what resolve is being sought out. Concrete statement of intent from the board would be helpful.
03-07-2011, 01:16 PM
I haven't heard anything recently, do we even know that brum and forest are after him now ?
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 01:22 PM
Just let him go. No realistic amount of compo will make up for a ruined preseason now.
He wants out so let him and lets get our club back in order.
Is our pre-season really ruined? I know we need more signings and that is a concern for sure but we've played two games and scored 8 goals. I feel that if this continues for much longer it could be ruined but right now, I think we're doing OK. I really believe that we have time to recover from whatever damage has been done. If CC is still doing his job and the players are responding in training then I don't even think there will be that much damage. I'm talking in terms of physical preparation, I have no idea how all of this will be affecting the players mentally. Some might be bummed, others might just get on with the task at hand and not give a crap.
03-07-2011, 01:24 PM
But the longer it drags on, the less time there will be for a new manager to get the team playing to his ideas and tactics in time for the season starting.
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 01:26 PM
Well said. Again the lack of leadership from our board is again exposed. They appointed this guy. Yet another failed appointment. We have had as our manager a lame duck for weeks now. Does our board have any idea how important a position of manager is within a football club? Do they have any idea how important pre season is to a football club? And finally are they really aware that after last seasons shambles we are hardly starting next season in 21 days from a position of strength?
Think this bit in bold is a little unfair. There is little that the board could have done to prevent this from happening. And, yes, CC has done little since he got here but speaking personally, I thought his biggest opportunity to prove himself was going to be this season, not last season. If CC does leave then I will have no choice but to say he was a bad manager because he didn't show me that he was a good manager. I had high hopes for him, I thought he could do a good job for us but without actually seeing that for myself, my hand is forced.
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 01:31 PM
And if CC wanted to be here RP would have established that a week or more ago and therefore would not now be wasting his valuable time in negotiations with two other clubs seeking to appoint the man.
It seems that on here we are seeing things very black and white:
1. CC wants to go,
2. CC wants to stay.
What about option 3, he wants to see what his options are? Why is that being so readily dismissed? Maybe he honestly can't say if he wants to stay or go because he doesn't know what's on the table. I'm not saying he's staying or going but I also can't say that he knows either....unless I want to join the read-between-the-lines club.
This is not about being blinkered or even playing devil's advocate. I'm only really comfortable posting definitively about things I know about and I, like many, know very little.
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 01:35 PM
Its not about half/full brain! It is about the impending pre-season disaster that is the problem!! Badly handled by the board, CC and the fans. We have every right to know what is happening and what resolve is being sought out. Concrete statement from the board would be helpful.
Why is that when the board take care of certain matters in private they are being accused of handling it badly? We don't know the details of what is going on so we cannot possibly comment. I am sure they are doing everything they can to ensure we get the best possible outcome from this. If they choose to do that behind closed doors, fair enough.
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 01:36 PM
But the longer it drags on, the less time there will be for a new manager to get the team playing to his ideas and tactics in time for the season starting.
Agreed. You won't get any argument from me when it comes to getting this resolved ASAP.
03-07-2011, 01:41 PM
Why is that when the board take care of certain matters in private they are being accused of handling it badly? We don't know the details of what is going on so we cannot possibly comment. I am sure they are doing everything they can to ensure we get the best possible outcome from this. If they choose to do that behind closed doors, fair enough.
Pick a random post on this near 100 page thread and you'll likely find all the answer you seek!
03-07-2011, 01:46 PM
I haven't heard anything recently, do we even know that brum and forest are after him now ?
I suppose until Brum & Forrest fill those positions with others, we won't!
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 01:49 PM
Pick a random post on this near 100 page thread and you'll likely find all the answer you seek!
Nope. I've followed this thread from the start and I don't have my answer.
EDIT : and I'm only on page 70. :wink:
I suppose until Brum & Forrest fill those positions with others, we won't!
Well the Brum position isn't really there as Andy Watson has stayed on.
03-07-2011, 01:59 PM
interesting, so (atm) the forest is his only option and we have already rejected 300k compo for cc and a lot of their fans reckon they won't pay much more than that.. so he actually might stay?!
03-07-2011, 02:13 PM
1. CC wants to go,
2. CC wants to stay.
What about option 3, he wants to see what his options are? Why is that being so readily dismissed? Maybe he honestly can't say if he wants to stay or go because he doesn't know what's on the table. I'm not saying he's staying or going but I also can't say that he knows either....unless I want to join the read-between-the-lines club.
This is not about being blinkered or even playing devil's advocate. I'm only really comfortable posting definitively about things I know about and I, like many, know very little.
He has had plenty time to weigh up his options Max, and he will know exactly what is on the table and being offered to him from both clubs that are interested in him, thats how it works in football nowadays.
He is taking the urine with the club and the fans now.
If the board are able to do it they should put CC on gardening leave until this is sorted, i will expect a decent crowd at Livi on Tuesday night and i would say 95% will be letting CC know how much he is not wanted at Hibernian FC anymore, he has burnt his bridges at Hibs and there is no wy back for him. imo.
03-07-2011, 02:13 PM
Brum had joint first team coaches previously under McLeish so I'm sure they'd find space for Calderwood if that's the direction they wish to go.
03-07-2011, 02:22 PM
Just goes to show what the fans know about picking managers. Seriously, if the board selects the man that is the favourite amongst the fans, doesn't that mean we are just as useless at suggesting managers as the board appear to be?
Absolutely. Every time we are without a manager, the general consensus is ex-Hibs players who might be having a modicum of success somewhere, anywhere or 'established' SPL managers.
In hibs.net defence though, it's not our job, and we don't have the resources, to carry out a full review and recruitment process.
03-07-2011, 02:59 PM
How is this a "failed appointment" ? Others are rying to poach him and, depending on your POV we are either trying to keep him or holding out for more compensation. I have no idea which and, I would suspect, not many do.
Whether he wants to be here or not I have no idea. He took a game yesterday and we won 3-0 and I would expect him to continue in a professional manner.
So it is a successful appointment?
Wow...
And he's absolutely not continuing in a professional manner!
03-07-2011, 03:26 PM
Andy is playing this beautifully.Brum can't offer CC a job that could be interpreted as being Andy's or else he would be able to sue them-so if Andy is No.2 at the club it certainly can't also be CC.
Ignoring all the p**h about he should regard being employed by Hibs as an honour it seem perfectly open and shut.He has not been officially offered a job even if there are nods and winks. Hibs won't let anyone speak to him officially.He would like to look at anything that might be on offer.If he prefers that he goes-if he doesn't he stays.Anyone in real life who wouldn't act exactly the same(that is keeping all options open while continuing to do the job you're paid for)is certifiable.
stevej
03-07-2011, 03:49 PM
Someone just posted this on the Forest Forum (allgedly from Fish form Marillion ??)
Fish (ex-Marillion singer) whom is on my Facebook has posted this .(He is a Hibs fan)
Fish
Summed up pre match with mgr Colin Calderwood sitting on his own writing out the team sheet in the corner of hospitality and no one went up or acknowledged him.I went up and introduced myself.He was a genuinely lovely bloke and after a short,surprisingly open discussion I had sympathy with his dilemma which has more to do with family than the media suggests.Caught in a crossfire between business entities it seems.
17 hours ago · 2318 ·LikeUnlike ·
18 people like this..View all 23 comments
And in the assorted comments were these
James McGachie Is he going Fish?
18 hours ago · LikeUnlike.Peter Dougan If he has family disputes then he should leave!! Let someone have the job that can do it Derek
18 hours ago · LikeUnlike.Fish Not disputes.I never said that.His kids and family are down South where the jobs are being offered.Any guy would sympathise with that.TBH I don't know. I got the feeling he doesn't want to go and he asked me round to the Training ground whi...ch suggests he is trying to focus on Hibs being his management commitment.I think it's out of his hands to ssome extent and if the right compensation is offered Hibs will release him anyway.
03-07-2011, 03:53 PM
So it is a successful appointment?
Wow...
And he's absolutely not continuing in a professional manner!
I never said it was a successful appointment you said its a failed appointment, but then again you always do.
How is it he not continuing in a professional manner?
03-07-2011, 03:56 PM
Latest on Facebook from Fish - who knows if this is inside info - I don't
"Jungle drums very loud and are saying CC is away to the Forest!RP and directors not at game yesterday as they are allegedly negotiating with new MGR and want to announce CC departure and new face in same release.Wise move!My bets are still pinned on Gordon Strachan."
03-07-2011, 03:58 PM
Andy is playing this beautifully.Brum can't offer CC a job that could be interpreted as being Andy's or else he would be able to sue them-so if Andy is No.2 at the club it certainly can't also be CC.
Ignoring all the p**h about he should regard being employed by Hibs as an honour it seem perfectly open and shut.He has not been officially offered a job even if there are nods and winks. Hibs won't let anyone speak to him officially.He would like to look at anything that might be on offer.If he prefers that he goes-if he doesn't he stays.Anyone in real life who wouldn't act exactly the same(that is keeping all options open while continuing to do the job you're paid for)is certifiable.
In a nutshell.
03-07-2011, 04:02 PM
Wish he'd just clear off and quick. No time for him now given the way this has been handled... Expect he'll be away by midweek.
03-07-2011, 04:17 PM
I never said it was a successful appointment you said its a failed appointment, but then again you always do.
How is it he not continuing in a professional manner?
It's a failed appointment. Look at his record and he wants out.
Was his interview on SSN professional? He embarrassed himself and our club.
03-07-2011, 04:20 PM
I vote every fan who goes tomorrow night gives Calderwood as much stick as they possibly can. Let him know he's not wanted.
03-07-2011, 04:21 PM
I vote every fan who goes tomorrow night give Calderwood as much stick as they possibly can. Let him know he's not wanted.
I vote we have a bit more class than that. He's still the Hibs manager.
03-07-2011, 04:24 PM
I vote we have a bit more class than that. He's still the Hibs manager.
I'm fed up being classy, we get **** on when we are classy. Can you imagine anyone doing this to one of the old firm They'd have run him out of town by now.
We can be classy losers i suppose, we are used to that.
03-07-2011, 04:26 PM
I vote every fan who goes tomorrow night gives Calderwood as much stick as they possibly can. Let him know he's not wanted.
I don't think they'll have anyone to shout at if they turn up tomorrow night :greengrin
I cant believe this has dragged on for so long. We have manager who does want to be here, fans that don't want him and more incredible than all that RP is wanting more then £300k to get rid of. This could only happen at Hibs.
FFS RP get this sorted asap!
I don't think they'll have anyone to shout at if they turn up tomorrow night :greengrin
03-07-2011, 04:27 PM
I'm fed up being classy, we get **** on when we are classy. Can you imagine anyone doing this to one of the old firm They'd have run him out of town by now.
Nah, as beefster say, we are a better lot of fans than most others! Lets not allow ourselves to be compared to the Old Firm!!
03-07-2011, 04:30 PM
Nah, as beefster say, we are a better lot of fans than most others! Lets not allow ourselves to be compared to the Old Firm!!
Thats right it would be terrible to be compared to a club that wouldnt take this sheite from their manager? **** being classy give him it with both barrells.
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 04:34 PM
He has had plenty time to weigh up his options Max, and he will know exactly what is on the table and being offered to him from both clubs that are interested in him, thats how it works in football nowadays.
He is taking the urine with the club and the fans now.
If the board are able to do it they should put CC on gardening leave until this is sorted, i will expect a decent crowd at Livi on Tuesday night and i would say 95% will be letting CC know how much he is not wanted at Hibernian FC anymore, he has burnt his bridges at Hibs and there is no wy back for him. imo.
I agree that a lot of time has passed but how do we know that he will know exactly what is on the table? Has official contact been made? Is there a deal on the table for CC from both of these other clubs?
If CC DOES know what the other offers entail and if CC DOES want one of those offers rather than staying with Hibs then I agree with what everyone else is saying. I just don't know if that is even true though. Is it? Can someone confirm that CC has been extended an offer by both clubs? Or is he just interested in hearing what offers he might get?
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 04:36 PM
Absolutely. Every time we are without a manager, the general consensus is ex-Hibs players who might be having a modicum of success somewhere, anywhere or 'established' SPL managers.
In hibs.net defence though, it's not our job, and we don't have the resources, to carry out a full review and recruitment process.
Correct, it's not our job but some people talk as if they could do a better job that the current board.
03-07-2011, 04:38 PM
It's a failed appointment. Look at his record and he wants out.
Was his interview on SSN professional? He embarrassed himself and our club.
Has he said he wants out or are you making assumptions again?
He's a football manager not a politician. He didnt want to answer the question. Would you rather he had gone down the McLeish route?
I dont know why he was as tetchy cos we're constantly told he gets walked over the top off and is a total pussy who is unable to stand up for himself so I dont get it.
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 04:39 PM
That's a great idea. Maybe some people can give GOC some stick as well. Follow this up with a chant of, "Strachan must go!!!!".
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 04:40 PM
Please, let's not make any comparisons, however tenuous, between us and the Old Firm.
03-07-2011, 04:43 PM
Please, let's not make any comparisons, however tenuous, between us and the Old Firm.
Oh please, especially them being winners or having a better attitude than most Hibs teams i have ever seen.
Lets just talk about their biggoted exploits and forget about their winning mentality and never say die attitude. Lets forget they wont take 2nd best.
Lets just carry on being shat on and comforting ourselves we are not the old firm.:rolleyes:
03-07-2011, 04:44 PM
So is CC 100% not going to Birmingham now Andy Watson is staying on there ? :confused:
Are we back to where we started with Forest rumours and CC having no assistant - co-incidence he doesn't have one ? :confused:
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 04:44 PM
Oh please, especially them being winners or having a better attitude than most Hibs teams i have ever seen.
Lets just talk about their biggoted exploits and forget about their winning mentality and never say die attitude. Lets forget they wont take 2nd best.
Lets just carry on being shat on and comforting ourselves we are not the old firm.:rolleyes:
I have no idea WTF you are talking about.
03-07-2011, 04:45 PM
Finally.
HibsMax
03-07-2011, 04:46 PM
Finally.
Hmmmm. Been hitting the bottle today? :wink:
03-07-2011, 04:52 PM
Here is another wee slant on the saga;
Hibs have agreed compo with Brum / Notts Forest.
As part of the arrangement CC is staying on until his position is filled rather than Hibs carrying on pre-season without a manager and assistant?
When Hibs have new man ready CC leaves ER and new manager unveiled.
This for me is the most likely scenario as I cannot for the life of me understand how it takes so long to agree compensation between 2 clubs.
03-07-2011, 05:11 PM
Thats right it would be terrible to be compared to a club that wouldnt take this sheite from their manager? **** being classy give him it with both barrells.
BH, you know how I feel about the situation and you also know I agree with a lot of your comments but this time I cannot stand a comparison between us and the OF! Surely you can see we are a much better bunch of knuckle draggers than they are?? I can't ever remember us expecting instant success unlike those tossers!
03-07-2011, 05:17 PM
BH, you know how I feel about the situation and you also know I agree with a lot of your comments but this time I cannot stand a comparison between us and the OF! Surely you can see we are a much better bunch of knuckle draggers than they are?? I can't ever remember us expecting instant success unlike those tossers!
Its not about us expecting instant success, its about us not being taken for a bunch of numpties, its about us not taking any sheite, and its about us being stronger and harder. For years we have played the better/classier than them card.
I believe we can take some things from them, obviously not the biggoted crap, but their fans would not accept this from their manager, and would have hounded him out within a week of these actions by Calderwood.
03-07-2011, 05:36 PM
Its not about us expecting instant success, its about us not being taken for a bunch of numpties, its about us not taking any sheite, and its about us being stronger and harder. For years we have played the better/classier than them card.
I believe we can take some things from them, obviously not the biggoted crap, but their fans would not accept this from their manager, and would have hounded him out within a week of these actions by Calderwood.
I want to take nothing from them, simply because there is an attached cost to everything they do and we don't have their kind of finances nor leg up from the institute! However, I always assumed that CC was a temporary charge hand anyways. He, to me, was like an auditor coming in to fix out the bad from the good! He has done that, kept us up and introduced us to a better caliber of player although, they didn't do so well at the end of last season I expect, yes expect, better this season from all players considering the way most have come out and cried from on high that the coaching and player management has been like night and day in terms of previous coaching incumbents!
So, in essence, I bare no grudges to the man and believe this whole thing to be firmly, firmly in the hands of the board who have been less than 'straight up' with us! On their shoulders it hangs!
Still ... not in my name where the OF are concerned! This is the Hibs family business!
03-07-2011, 05:41 PM
You need to. He is highlighting what Al Gore would refer to as an 'inconvenient truth'.
03-07-2011, 05:43 PM
I want to take nothing from them, simply because there is an attached cost to everything they do and we don't have their kind of finances nor leg up from the institute! However, I always assumed that CC was a temporary charge hand anyways. He, to me, was like an auditor coming in to fix out the bad from the good! He has done that, kept us up and introduced us to a better caliber of player although, they didn't do so well at the end of last season I expect, yes expect, better this season from all players considering the way most have come out and cried from on high that the coaching and player management has been like night and day in terms of previous coaching incumbents!
So, in essence, I bare no grudges to the man and believe this whole thing to be firmly, firmly in the hands of the board who have been less than 'straight up' with us! On their shoulders it hangs!
Still ... not in my name where the OF are concerned! This is the Hibs family business!
I remember a couple of seasons ago at easter road, Hibs are 2 up against celtic. Their fans coxed and encouraged them back into the game with constant support.
We have got a little better recently, but normally we'd be screaming at our players telling them how sheite they are. I'd take that from celtic, i'd also take their attitude of taking no sheite, and will to win.
03-07-2011, 05:43 PM
Firstly let me state my allegiance so people dont need to read the whole post before slating it, I am on CCs side here(he is the present manager of Hibs).The reason for me is simple.He has only ever said(i have not seen the latest interview but think Ive been informed of the latest gossip adequately through this thread)as I understand it that he would basically be a fool not to look at other options but is delighted and happy as a pig in **** to be at Hibs(not a direct quote obviously).Otherwise there has been nowt from Hibs or CC other than the rejection of a 300k bid.
Now I have no idea of CCs personal circumstances( other than just being recently married) or his thought process but since his appointment as Hibs gaffer he has struck me as an honourable,trustworthy hardworking guy who would do his utmost for his employer.He may not be flamboyant(not a necessary quality anyway) but I do feel that that judging peoples character is something I have a talent for.Im thinking many people disagree with my opinion:na na:
My point being why is there the witchhunt for CC to leave when all he has done is be upfront with us fans.He may not have said what many people wanted him to say but he has been honest and nobody other than the people directly involved behind the scene really know what is going on.He doesnt and shouldnt comment on every swerve of press/forum speculation.Id like to think that the board are aware of the present situation(staying/going) and are dealing with it accordingly.
Every club is in flux but imo ours has been fluxed too much and needs some stability and we as a support have a part to play in that.GGTTH
03-07-2011, 05:48 PM
I remember a couple of seasons ago at easter road, Hibs are 2 up against celtic. Their fans coxed and encouraged them back into the game with constant support.
We have got a little better recently, but normally we'd be screaming at our players telling them how sheite they are. I'd take that from celtic, i'd also take their attitude of taking no sheite, and will to win.
OK, I'll accept that. However, as a person with an OF brought up partner and... putting up with their family!! Their religion, fickleness and absolute lack of balance is astounding! I would not like to inflict these on any of our fans!
We are of an age where we did support our team and continue to, throughout the p!sh - AM era? - and continued to be better!
So maybe its a bit of both...?
03-07-2011, 05:53 PM
Good post and it's along my lines of thinking. We should all be getting right behind CC and the lads for what is a huge season for the club, stability is needed for us to grow and Caldos the man to take us forward imo. I appreciate that everyone is entitled to they're own opinon and everyone wants to see this will he/won't he process resolved but let's all pull together and push upwards and onwards!
Ggtth!
03-07-2011, 05:55 PM
Real fibaw folk ken what's going oan! :wink:
I think the inconsistent point is CC insulting us - whereas Yogi knew what he was talking aboot :faf:
03-07-2011, 05:56 PM
OK, I'll accept that. However, as a person with an OF brought up partner and... putting up with their family!! Their religion, fickleness and absolute lack of balance is astounding! I would not like to inflict these on any of our fans!
We are of an age where we did support our team and continue to, throughout the p!sh - AM era? - and continued to be better!
So maybe its a bit of both...?
I dont think there's any of us that would want that biggoted pish back at easter road? But i dont think anyone would not like our fans to get behind the team the way they do when they are on their travels.
SloopJB
03-07-2011, 05:56 PM
You are of course letting facts cloud your judgement, nowhere have you even attempted to jump on the bandwagon of Hibernian being "Your" club and demanding CC should go for the good of........ well...... your opinion.
Shameful.
I also note there is no room in your post for who we should be taking from another club to replace CC when he mibbe does might go, with perhaps, a compensation payment to be made to the un named club in your post. they will be raging by the way.
You leave so many of the non facts out of your post it's hardly worth 87 pages.
03-07-2011, 05:58 PM
I think the inconsistent point is CC insulting us - whereas Yogi knew what he was talking aboot :faf:
As usual you cant wait to give Hughes a dig, when your man is acting like a prick. Real fitba folk ken that anaw.
03-07-2011, 06:00 PM
Got to agree with much of this and as I posted last week lets have a GLASS HALF FULL attitude and back Colin Calderwood as long as he is Hibs manager.:cgwa
03-07-2011, 06:00 PM
Forum folk dinnae ken whit's gaun oan here..........
LeithBoozy
03-07-2011, 06:01 PM
You could have a good point, I remember well Mcleish on the park promising he would stay with us for as long as we wanted him. Well we all know how that worked out. :greengrin
03-07-2011, 06:03 PM
writes and formats like ancienthibee!
03-07-2011, 06:08 PM
All very well buy he's been given several chances to say he's committed to staying.
He hasn't so let him go.
1. CC wants to go,
2. CC wants to stay.
I know this much, Max.
RP would not be spending most of his working week in negotiations with two other clubs unless he had FIRSTLY, in conversation with CC, established that CC is keen to move on should the opportunity arise.
If, in that conversation, CC had made clear to RP that he wanted to stay at ER, then RP would be able to ignore the phone calls and faxes from Brum and Forest and put out a press release confirming that CC is remaining in post at Hibs.
To suggest that Petrie is going through all this effort simply to enable Calderwood to have the opportunity to gaze longingly and thoughtfully into his "two bags of sweets" is to misunderstand our Chairman big time.
03-07-2011, 06:22 PM
I know this much, Max.
RP would not be spending most of his working week in negotiations with two other clubs unless he had FIRSTLY, in conversation with CC, established that CC is keen to move on should the opportunity arise.
If, in that conversation, CC had made clear to RP that he wanted to stay at ER, then RP would be able to ignore the phone calls and faxes from Brum and Forest and put out a press release confirming that CC is remaining in post at Hibs.
To suggest that Petrie is going through all this effort simply to enable Calderwood to have the opportunity to gaze longingly and thoughtfully into his "two bags of sweets" is to misunderstand our Chairman big time.
I find it astonishing some folk still dont think he's off. Its either stupidity or the biggest case of naivety i have ever known?
03-07-2011, 06:26 PM
I find it astonishing some folk still dont think he's off. Its either stupidity or the biggest case of naivety i have ever known?
I agree he's off, but do you think CC knows where to?
I'm not sure he does.
Hibstrooper
03-07-2011, 06:26 PM
I don't have a problem with Calderwood himself, I have an issue with the whole situation.
He may have not said directly he wants to go but that's only because he refuses to answer the question or dances around it talking about sweeties! If you want to take this as a sign that he is committed to Hibs then go ahead however I believe we have a man in charge who isn't fully focused on the job at the most important time to shape the team for next season.
I'm baffled how anyone could be ok or patient with this whole saga.
03-07-2011, 06:31 PM
writes and formats like ancienthibee!
Beware imitations.
03-07-2011, 06:32 PM
I'm not sure he does.
I dont know or even care scoops, i just want him gone.
03-07-2011, 06:34 PM
All very well buy he's been given several chances to say he's committed to staying.
He hasn't so let him go.
Well isn't that because he isn't committed to staying until he's discovered what is being offered.He's far too long in the tooth particularly with Brum where it could all turn very nasty to believe what his pals tels him he'll be offered.
03-07-2011, 06:51 PM
http://www.forestforum.co.uk/showthread.php?t=26201&page=18
Not really into the Facebook thing but it seems CC opened up a little to Fish............if of course it is genuine. Even if true, I still think CC should be up front and honest.......he may have then received sympathy and been met with a genuine response from fans. Never easy if family is the reason, but why not just say. Doesn't make him any less of a man or manager.
03-07-2011, 07:00 PM
You're good at that.
03-07-2011, 07:09 PM
No one can really disagree that this is your personal opinion. Whether your opinion is correct or not is another question.
03-07-2011, 07:32 PM
As usual you cant wait to give Hughes a dig, when your man is acting like a prick. Real fitba folk ken that anaw.
He is an he should go. You should learn consistency also :wink:
RP is holding out for a decent fee - as defence of his incompetence .. CC's position is untenable. I'm not sure there's many still defending him.
03-07-2011, 07:47 PM
Is CC insulting us though? Truly? I dont think he is/has. McLeish insulted us. Players have insulted us.
CC has my full support right up to the point where he ****s off. Then he's fair game.
Wellbankhibby
03-07-2011, 07:47 PM
I am disgusted with the attitude of Colin Calderwood and the Board, Why are we pussyfooting about with this Guy as so called manager. It is very clear he does not want to be our Manager. His record is very poor since he came to ER, I dont know what all the fuss is about. I know the Board are looking for compensation but for goodness sake we are three weeks away from the start of a new season. the players will not give 100% and why should they when the manager is not even showing commitment to the Club. Lets hope the board resolve this shambles tomorrow and get him out the door NOW. I would also urge the board to appoint a manager with a good pedigree for example commitment good management skills and a good motivator. I know we all have different opinions but Strachan is my choice by a Mile.:flag:
03-07-2011, 07:54 PM
I'm not sure he does.
I'm not so sure he does either. This is just the way football is these days. I used to be afraid the new man was a roaring success as it would mean he would be moving sooner rather than later. Now even that isnt important anymore. The world's ****ed.
Cal 7-0
03-07-2011, 07:55 PM
Evening Guys just woke up again is he gone yet!?
03-07-2011, 07:56 PM
Is CC insulting us though? Truly? I dont think he is/has. McLeish insulted us. Players have insulted us.
CC has my full support right up to the point where he ****s off. Then he's fair game.
Not as much as Yogi with some of his garbage IMO. But, CC is also IMO - non-commital after signing a 3-year deal .. That's p*** poor.
03-07-2011, 07:56 PM
Evening Guys just woke up again is he gone yet!?
I suggest you go back to bed...........
03-07-2011, 08:01 PM
sevenil
03-07-2011, 08:20 PM
CC - position untenable, Go Now...as the Moody Blues used to say........
It's probably not meant to be done this way, but hopefully RP has already quietly been making some unofficial 'nudge, nudge, wink, wink,' approaches to make a new appointment possible, ASAP.
Indeed these are strange times, Dougie......the reluctant Manager.......... who'd have thunk it? What would Ned have made of it? (Rhetorical question)
03-07-2011, 08:23 PM
SloopJB
03-07-2011, 09:27 PM
CC - position untenable, Go Now...as the Moody Blues used to say........
It's probably not meant to be done this way, but hopefully RP has already quietly been making some unofficial 'nudge, nudge, wink, wink,' approaches to make a new appointment possible, ASAP.
Indeed these are strange times, Dougie......the reluctant Manager.......... who'd have thunk it? What would Ned have made of it? (Rhetorical question)
And appoint someone who is willing to leave the club they are at for a better deal?
Surely we wouldn't want that kind of mercenary, who's to say they wouldn't just leave us for a better offer at a later stage? or would we simply understand?
EK_Hibs
03-07-2011, 09:28 PM
Back page of Monday's Daily Record states that CC is definitely off to Birmingham.
SloopJB
03-07-2011, 09:34 PM
I am disgusted with the attitude of Colin Calderwood and the Board, Why are we pussyfooting about with this Guy as so called manager. It is very clear he does not want to be our Manager. His record is very poor since he came to ER, I dont know what all the fuss is about. I know the Board are looking for compensation but for goodness sake we are three weeks away from the start of a new season. the players will not give 100% and why should they when the manager is not even showing commitment to the Club. Lets hope the board resolve this shambles tomorrow and get him out the door NOW. I would also urge the board to appoint a manager with a good pedigree for example commitment good management skills and a good motivator. I know we all have different opinions but Strachan is my choice by a Mile.:flag:
FFS. go down to ER tomorrow. Knock on the door and ask THEM why they are pussy footing around.
And TELL them that they should go for Gordon Strachan, or your other suggestion about one with "commitment good management skills and a good motivator".
At least then this thread can be closed and we can start another one hounding out Gordon Strachan.
Oh, the players should give 100% effort because they are employed to do so.
03-07-2011, 09:51 PM
Back page of Monday's Daily Record states that CC is definitely off to Birmingham.
That sounds like a statement as opposed to an opinion.
Have you a link?
If not, what does it say?
03-07-2011, 09:51 PM
Well, hopefully they're right and we can put this whole sorry episode to bed, and look forward to the new season with a (hopefully) quickly appointed replacement.
03-07-2011, 10:32 PM
Past caring now whether he stays or goes. Just decide, announce and move on.
Frankly the only issue of any importance left to be resolved here is whether this thread can indeed reach 100 pages before it becomes official that he's gone/staying.
The one thing that would astonish me at the end of all this is if the Tache doesn't produce some kind of rabbit out of the hat by way of compensation, new manager or something else we haven't thought of yet.
03-07-2011, 10:40 PM
I'll say CC gone to Brum and O'Neill appointed by next weekend
03-07-2011, 10:49 PM
Past caring now whether he stays or goes. Just decide, announce and move on.
Frankly the only issue of any importance left to be resolved here is whether this thread can indeed reach 100 pages before it becomes official that he's gone/staying.
The one thing that would astonish me at the end of all this is if the Tache doesn't produce some kind of rabbit out of the hat by way of compensation, new manager or something else we haven't thought of yet.
John O'Hare? :wink:
03-07-2011, 10:51 PM
Not as much as Yogi with some of his garbage IMO. But, CC is also IMO - non-commital after signing a 3-year deal .. That's p*** poor.
He's betrayed the trust put in him, IMO. Petrie must be seething (while perhaps also wondering how this went so wrong).
03-07-2011, 10:56 PM
He's betrayed the trust put in him, IMO. Petrie must be seething (while perhaps also wondering how this went so wrong).
I think there is a lot in the posts about CC's family life causing problems. From what I've read/heard, CC is actually happy with life at Hibs other than the issues away from the club.
I don't think anyone will be seething about it, disappointed at how it's worked out probably, and probably annoyed at how prolonged his exit has been, however from what I gather I don't think anyone at Hibs will begrudge him his move given the reasons for it.
Whether some on here accept that or choose to believe it is another story altogether.
Personally, I wouldn't be surprised if it transpired that CC had got his agent to put the feelers out for a move some time back.
03-07-2011, 10:56 PM
He's betrayed the trust put in him, IMO. Petrie must be seething (while perhaps also wondering how this went so wrong).I'd be asking why he seems tae be in a hurry tae get away from a managers job tae be somebody's assistant. There's more wrong at Easter Road than just the managers IMO.
03-07-2011, 11:14 PM
Good.
Next.
04-07-2011, 05:16 AM
I'd be asking why he seems tae be in a hurry tae get away from a managers job tae be somebody's assistant. There's more wrong at Easter Road than just the managers IMO.
It might be more to do withwork/lifebalance. just saying, likes.
04-07-2011, 05:20 AM
nothing about it online.
04-07-2011, 05:41 AM
Was this just a guess because I can't find it online?
04-07-2011, 05:45 AM
I'll say CC gone to Brum and O'Neill appointed by next weekend
:agree: Thats what I was thinking as well, I've said it numerous times though that I would go for Strachan, Davies or Butcher. Although with the recent cutbacks can't see us matching their wages except Butcher.
04-07-2011, 06:03 AM
:agree: Thats what I was thinking as well, I've said it numerous times though that I would go for Strachan, Davies or Butcher. Although with the recent cutbacks can't see us matching their wages except Butcher.
Well Strachan and Davies aren't working so I'm pretty sure even Rodders could match their wages .
04-07-2011, 06:06 AM
Well Strachan and Davies aren't working so I'm pretty sure even Rodders could match their wages .
Good point:wink: What I meant was their wages will probably be too high for us.
I shouldn't post this early in the morning:greengrin
04-07-2011, 06:27 AM
If he stays he stays if he goes he goes. Until he does go, he is our manager and gets my backing. He is obviously doing something right at the minute as we have managed to beat two lower league teams, something we could not do last season. There is so much hyperbole and ill or non informed comments on this thread that it is absolutely laughable in places.
BH ,man, usually love reading your posts, but come on. One minute you want us backing and encouraging the team like celtc do, the next thread you want us all to boo Calderwood? Strange correlations there? Should celtic (and hun) supporters not be booing their boards constantly as well? They won't even commit to Scottish bloody football.
As I said before, most of the recent managerial appointments have, on here anyway, been met with majority acclaim. None of them have worked. Every one has been for a different reason. I am not for one second saying that everything is hunky dory behind the scenes at ER. I don't know. So until I do know (never likely to) I will not make accusations about RP, SL, TF or whoever, and I really never have lived in the world of speculations and what ifs. Personally I deal with life as it comes along. If CC goes, c'est la vie, so mote it be etc etc etc. We will move on and we will still have Hibs to support next season and the season after and probably even the season after that too. All because, the people mentioned above, visibly, did what had to be done to secure the future of Hibernian FC.
Last season was the last one where there should be any capex on infrastructure. Have said for years that once this was the case, money would be invested in the team. I still think it will be. We are still three weeks away from the start of the season. It would be nice to have EVERYBODY we will buy (or borrow) in now. Not going to happen. We will have mnore players, I am positive we will. What I don't want though is a bunch of journeymen going between SPL clubs. That seems to be all that is happening in the Scottish transfer market at the minute. Wee teams (who did better than us last season obviously) buying other teams cast offs. Not for me thanks. I don't think I have seen one piece of transfer activity at any club that has made me jealous.
Onwards and upwards. The upward spiral will be back
GGTTH. :flag:
F the hertz
OFGTF
etc etc etc.
04-07-2011, 06:34 AM
I think there is a lot in the posts about CC's family life causing problems. From what I've read/heard, CC is actually happy with life at Hibs other than the issues away from the club.
I don't think anyone will be seething about it, disappointed at how it's worked out probably, and probably annoyed at how prolonged his exit has been, however from what I gather I don't think anyone at Hibs will begrudge him his move given the reasons for it.
Whether some on here accept that or choose to believe it is another story altogether.
Personally, I wouldn't be surprised if it transpired that CC had got his agent to put the feelers out for a move some time back.
I also believe the above to be the case. He loves being at Hibs and has restructured the football side of the club completely since he arrived.
This is purely a personal thing and, poor as the timing is for us, we just have to deal with the situation and move on.
04-07-2011, 06:50 AM
I also believe the above to be the case. He loves being at Hibs and has restructured the football side of the club completely since he arrived.
This is purely a personal thing and, poor as the timing is for us, we just have to deal with the situation and move on.
:agree: I don't Hibs are the reason CC wants to leave I think it is a personal thing not because "the club is in turmoil...." etc etc ...
He has a great opportunity to build his own team, a lot of managers would love to be in that position. But he wants to leave to be an assistant. So you have to think it is family issues that are the reason he is leaving.
04-07-2011, 07:03 AM
If he stays he stays if he goes he goes. Until he does go, he is our manager and gets my backing. He is obviously doing something right at the minute as we have managed to beat two lower league teams, something we could not do last season. There is so much hyperbole and ill or non informed comments on this thread that it is absolutely laughable in places.
BH ,man, usually love reading your posts, but come on. One minute you want us backing and encouraging the team like celtc do, the next thread you want us all to boo Calderwood? Strange correlations there? Should celtic (and hun) supporters not be booing their boards constantly as well? They won't even commit to Scottish bloody football.
As I said before, most of the recent managerial appointments have, on here anyway, been met with majority acclaim. None of them have worked. Every one has been for a different reason. I am not for one second saying that everything is hunky dory behind the scenes at ER. I don't know. So until I do know (never likely to) I will not make accusations about RP, SL, TF or whoever, and I really never have lived in the world of speculations and what ifs. Personally I deal with life as it comes along. If CC goes, c'est la vie, so mote it be etc etc etc. We will move on and we will still have Hibs to support next season and the season after and probably even the season after that too. All because, the people mentioned above, visibly, did what had to be done to secure the future of Hibernian FC.
Last season was the last one where there should be any capex on infrastructure. Have said for years that once this was the case, money would be invested in the team. I still think it will be. We are still three weeks away from the start of the season. It would be nice to have EVERYBODY we will buy (or borrow) in now. Not going to happen. We will have mnore players, I am positive we will. What I don't want though is a bunch of journeymen going between SPL clubs. That seems to be all that is happening in the Scottish transfer market at the minute. Wee teams (who did better than us last season obviously) buying other teams cast offs. Not for me thanks. I don't think I have seen one piece of transfer activity at any club that has made me jealous.
Onwards and upwards. The upward spiral will be back
GGTTH. :flag:
F the hertz
OFGTF
etc etc etc.
That's the spirit! :thumbsup: GGTTH
Prawn Sandwich
04-07-2011, 07:34 AM
Daily Record http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2011/07/04/colin-calderwood-close-to-sealing-switch-from-hibernian-to-birmingham-city-86908-23245907/
Nothing we didn't know already.
jst1875
04-07-2011, 07:36 AM
Was this just a guess because I can't find it online?
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/hibernian/2011/07/04/colin-calderwood-close-to-sealing-switch-from-hibernian-to-birmingham-city-86908-23245907/
still just speculation
04-07-2011, 07:40 AM
Daily Record http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2011/07/04/colin-calderwood-close-to-sealing-switch-from-hibernian-to-birmingham-city-86908-23245907/
Nothing we didn't know already.
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/hibernian/2011/07/04/colin-calderwood-close-to-sealing-switch-from-hibernian-to-birmingham-city-86908-23245907/
still just speculation
:grr: this better be done in the next 48 hours!
HibeeSince85
04-07-2011, 07:42 AM
It makes me uneasy to even see the names of Bollan & McGlynn linked to us in print. God no!
04-07-2011, 07:46 AM
:grr: this better be done in the next 48 hours!
It was going to be done "in the next 48 hours" a week past last Friday, was it not? :greengrin
04-07-2011, 08:08 AM
Midlands journalist (fanhousepercy) saying on Twitter that CC has been slaughtered in the scottish press today.
04-07-2011, 08:29 AM
Midlands journalist (fanhousepercy) saying on Twitter that CC has been slaughtered in the scottish press today.
Well it wouldn't be the first time recently anyway :rolleyes:
04-07-2011, 08:37 AM
I've heard the same story as you and matty and this is the only reason he wants back to England apparently.
04-07-2011, 08:39 AM
I've heard the same story as you and matty and this is the only reason he wants back to England apparently.
I wonder why he did not want to be nearer his family when at Newcastle, but chose a much better paid job at Hibs? :blah:
This is a bigger smoke screen than David Hayes little toe injury imo.
04-07-2011, 08:40 AM
It makes me uneasy to even see the names of Bollan & McGlynn linked to us in print. God no!
We all know where he was a coach but John McGlynn has done a great job at Raith and is well respected in footballing circles.
Might be a bit early to think about Bollan, though again he has made a bright start to his managerial career
04-07-2011, 08:41 AM
Dinnae be daft. You three are suckers. Petrie Spin nothing more.:rolleyes:
stevej
04-07-2011, 08:42 AM
Blackpool - as the Forest fan who started the thread I can well remember you yourself being convinced there was nothing in this at all when the thread started
Alongside many many others
At the time I questioned the fact I thought you were all being naive believing McClaren would spend first couple of days in the job discussing potential players with Calderwood
It is quite a turnaround for the same fans on here who in the past ridiculed even the possibility Calderwood was being tapped up to then start accusing others of being naive at this stage
There was a hell of a lot of naivety on here until recently
04-07-2011, 08:43 AM
I wonder why he did not want to be nearer his family when at Newcastle, but chose a much better paid job at Hibs? :blah:
Perhaps this family matter wasn't around when he moved up here?
I am only repeating what I was told by someone who usually knows what they are talking about. No wonder people post snippets they hear on the forum less and less.
04-07-2011, 08:45 AM
Dinnae be daft. You three are suckers. Petrie Spin nothing more.:rolleyes:
Busted. All 3 of us are members of the Leith Politburo :greengrin
04-07-2011, 08:46 AM
I may be making it up as regards where his family are but I am sure I read it was Northampton. If thats the case Newcastle is 4 hrs from there rather than the 6hrs from Edinburgh. Maybe the 4 hr difference every weekend is a step too far?
04-07-2011, 08:48 AM
Blackpool - as the Forest fan who started the thread I can well remember you yourself being convinced there was nothing in this at all when the thread started
At the time I questioned the fact I thought you were all being naive believing McClaren would spend first couple of days in the job discussing potential players with Calderwood
It is quite a turnaround for the same fans on here who in the past ridiculed even the possibility Calderwood was being tapped up to then start accusing others of being naive at this stage
You still around? He aint going to Forest.:wink:
04-07-2011, 08:49 AM
Nobody was being naive. If a long standing member had posted up the same information as you did with the same lack of fact to back it up they would have been given just as rough a ride as you seem to think you got.
If you are only going to post now to dismiss those who quite rightly asked for corroborating information as naive why bother?? It doesn't add anything.
down the slope
I heard that the board were not best pleased to say the least at the lost revenue at the end of last season when the team was farting around and we lost plenty as we dropped league places.
stevej
Billy Davies was on £750k per year wages at Forest - dont know how that compares to what you guys would pay
He had a cushy job with us - he only spent 3/4 days a week in Notts at the most - he would fly back home to Scotland straight after the weekend match and fly back into Notts as late as Thursday unless there was a midweek game
04-07-2011, 08:51 AM
Yip i thought this was a load of pish when it first started, but changed my mind when Calderwood failed to put our minds at rest time after time. How many chances has he had to put this to bed?
His interviews are cringeworthy, and his answers are a huge giveaway. He wants to go, its just a case of the compo being met, yes at first i thought he was here for the duration, as i said imo you have to be very naive to still believe that?
stevej
04-07-2011, 08:52 AM
You still around? He aint going to Forest.:wink:
You may well be right - but when they met he definitely wasnt talking about signing Brendan Maloney from us or sorting out loans between our clubs as everybody on here was claiming at the time !
04-07-2011, 08:54 AM
You may well be right - but when they met he definitely wasnt talking about signing Brendan Maloney from us or sorting out loans between our clubs as everybody on here was claiming at the time !
Everybody? Really, why are you still here?
Perhaps this family matter wasn't around when he moved up here?
I am only repeating what I was told by someone who usually knows what they are talking about. No wonder people post snippets they hear on the forum less and less.
So i give you my opinion on what you said, and your bottom lip goes all weak. Jeez. :rolleyes:
So since you are still here are you gonna tell us how you knew with the certainty you were posting early doors?
04-07-2011, 08:57 AM
Billy Davies was on £750k per year wages at Forest - dont know how that compares to what you guys would pay
He had a cushy job with us - he only spent 3/4 days a week in Notts at the most - he would fly back home to Scotland straight after the weekend match and fly back into Notts as late as Thursday unless there was a midweek game
he would only get anywhere near that at the old firm
stevej
04-07-2011, 09:00 AM
Nobody was being naive. If a long standing member had posted up the same information as you did with the same lack of fact to back it up they would have been given just as rough a ride as you seem to think you got.
If you are only going to post now to dismiss those who quite rightly asked for corroborating information as naive why bother?? It doesn't add anything.
Just wanted to point out that at some stage ALMOST everybody on here thought this was bull**** - for the same guys now to be accusing other Hibs fans of being naive is a bit like the pot calling the kettle black IMO
Some people have short memories
(The picture of the meeting that I posted a couple of days after McClaren got the job is IMO as solid a fact as you will ever get on here about something happening behind the scenes).
If I had posted they had met without the photo to prove it then I would agree with you - that there was nothing to back it up - but that photo of them together so soon after McClaren took the job at Forest was all the proof you should have needed IMO
04-07-2011, 09:00 AM
he would only get anywhere near that at the old firm
I think he knew that when he asked the question. :wink:
04-07-2011, 09:02 AM
How do you know ?
04-07-2011, 09:03 AM
Just wanted to point out that at some stage ALMOST everybody on here thought this was bull**** - for the same guys now to be accusing other Hibs fans of being naive is a bit like the pot calling the kettle black IMO
(The picture of the meeting that I posted a couple of days after McClaren got the job is IMO as solid a fact as you will ever get on here about something happening behind the scenes).
If I had posted they had met without the photo to prove it then I would agree with you - that there was nothing to back it up - but that photo of them together so soon after McClaren took the job at Forest was all the proof you should have needed IMO
Thats just a load of sheite, lots of things have happened since then, have you seen his interviews FFS?
04-07-2011, 09:06 AM
You are still adding nothing other than , ''I told you so'' style posts.
stevej
04-07-2011, 09:19 AM
So since you are still here are you gonna tell us how you knew with the certainty you were posting early doors?
As I said on many occasions in the thread at the time:
Info from reliable Forest sources of our own that McClaren had targetted Calderwood as first chioice for the job
followed by
The photo of the meeting in the Leicester Hotel
followed by
The journalist in Midlands investigating the story - speaking to his Forest contacts and confirming it was true
Couldnt have been any clearer from our end IMO
04-07-2011, 09:24 AM
As I said on many occasions in the thread at the time:
Info from reliable Forest sources of our own that McClaren had targetted Calderwood as first chioice for the job
followed by
The photo of the meeting in the Leicester Hotel
followed by
The journalist in Midlands investigating the story - speaking to his Forest contacts and confirming it was true
Couldnt have been any clearer from our end IMO
Still telling us so? :na na:
stevej
04-07-2011, 09:28 AM
You are still adding nothing other than , ''I told you so'' style posts.
Sorry - just had to step in when I see people on here who themselves were totally ADAMANT CC was going absolutely nowhere a couple of weeks ago now accusing fellow posters on the forum of being naive to think he is now staying
Blackpool Hibs - is by no means the only one who has changed his stance 100% to be fair he has accepted that so dont want to single him out
But loads of people on here have done exactly such an about turn and they know who they are
IMO this thread is one of the most classic you will ever see on any football forum for how people can be so 100% sure one week and then completely change the other way the week after
Like many said at the start football is a strange game - you guys will never dismiss any rumours involving your managers as readily in the future after this IMO
Me neither if rumours come to us about our manager or players - strange things happen in football
04-07-2011, 09:29 AM
Some folk on the Internet didn't believe you (there were easily picked holes in your story). Get over it, move on and stop acting like a little girl.
HibeeMG
04-07-2011, 09:38 AM
Some folk on the Internet didn't believe you (there were easily picked holes in your story). Get over it, move on and stop acting like a little girl.
I think we should take his 'told you so' posts with some humble pie.
He was treated like a yam when the only crime he committed was to be persistent. Fair play to him for that.
He has eventually been proved correct and we should accept that. If it had turned out to be a crock of sh**e then I'm pretty sure there would've been many on here who would've been saying 'I told you so' to him!
His first post back (directed to BH) wasn't necessarily mischievous either. He is pointing out a FACT that some people have changed their tune and are now accusing other Hibby's of being naive when we (I include myself in that) were pretty naive in the first place. Again, fair play lad.
He hasn't been anything other than praiseworthy of our message board and of our fans whilst on here and I think it wouldn't harm to cut him some slack.
Rant over.
stevej
04-07-2011, 09:39 AM
How do you know ?
His wages always been common knowledge at Forest - he had a year left on his contract
The 4 day a week has been an issue for months at Forest - chairman and Davies had a public bust up over it and Davies got his lawyer involved
04-07-2011, 09:42 AM
His wages always been common knowledge at Forest - he had a year left on his contract
The 4 day a week has been an issue for months at Forest - chairman and Davies had a public bust up over it and Davies got his lawyer involved
Fair enough, not sure that's what we need at our club, although I'm sure its been made to sound worse than it actually was.
04-07-2011, 09:43 AM
Sorry - just had to step in when I see people on here who themselves were totally ADAMANT CC was going absolutely nowhere a couple of weeks ago now accusing fellow posters on the forum of being naive to think he is now staying
l
That's big of you. Do you offer a mediation service to fans of other clubs or is it only us? We may be the worlds most dysfunctional family but honestly, we can manage to survive without the help of an outsider.
stevej
04-07-2011, 09:43 AM
He is pointing out a FACT that some people have changed their tune and are now accusing other Hibby's of being naive when we (I include myself in that) were pretty naive in the first place. Again, fair play lad.
Exactly - if I wanted to come on here and say I told you so I would have done exactly that - I just wanted to point out some people were being a bit naughty criticising others when they had felt the same only a week earlier
This isnt over yet - I come on here every day to see if any news is coming out from your end and put it on the Forest forums if it does
If we hear anything new our end I post it as well
I do realise most people are bored however !!
stevej
04-07-2011, 09:45 AM
We may be the worlds most dysfunctional family .
lol
stevej
04-07-2011, 09:53 AM
FanhousePercy (http://twitter.com/#!/FanhousePercy) John Percy @
@FatboySearb (http://twitter.com/FatboySearb) Seeing McClaren later will let you know!
Our local journalist should be able to confirm if Forest are still involved or not for CC later today
04-07-2011, 09:53 AM
Incredibly he's still our bloody lame duck 'manager' with just over two weeks until the new season...
04-07-2011, 10:05 AM
Blackpool Hibs - is by no means the only one who has changed his stance 100% to be fair he has accepted that so dont want to single him out
But loads of people on here have done exactly such an about turn and they know who they are
IMO this thread is one of the most classic you will ever see on any football forum for how people can be so 100% sure one week and then completely change the other way the week after
Like many said at the start football is a strange game - you guys will never dismiss any rumours involving your managers as readily in the future after this IMO
Me neither if rumours come to us about our manager or players - strange things happen in football
You will have noticed though that we barely believe long standing members of this board so we are likely to dismiss someones first post on a subject like this as a wind up, no? Your post smelled of Jam until CCs and the clubs silence/interviews on the matter, which point to them holding out for a wad of cash.
CC is only an employee, assuming there is definitely something in this then he has been told to keep mum until the ink is dry. In other words I don't think people should be getting on his back, but Petrie is another story. When it comes to cash he is of the belief that more cash = good for Hibs. However, he doesn't appear to add fan dissatisfaction, team disruption and non signing of players to the formula.
04-07-2011, 10:07 AM
Exactly - if I wanted to come on here and say I told you so I would have done exactly that - I just wanted to point out some people were being a bit naughty criticising others when they had felt the same only a week earlier
This isnt over yet - I come on here every day to see if any news is coming out from your end and put it on the Forest forums if it does
If we hear anything new our end I post it as well
I do realise most people are bored however !!
Away and throw sheite at yerself, we now know more about it, and can make a more informed opinion on the subject.
LeithBoozy
04-07-2011, 10:23 AM
The journalist in the EEN who wrote a few days ago about the fact that Forrest have already paid to get rid of CC, now seam willing to pay Hibs compensation to get him back. That suggest's they dont know their erse from their elbow and the forrest fans must be pulling their hair out. We think wev'e got troubles????????. :greengrin
04-07-2011, 10:26 AM
So similar to what CC has being doing since he has been at Hibs, only he drives everywhere, CC had made it clear to the Hibs fans that his family was down South and that he went down every weekend to see his son as that is where they are settled, maybe just getting married has become the problem for CC and the new wife is not dealing to well with CC not being home every night, but wee cant say that the board did not know about this from the start regarding his family situation, and his new wife must have agreed with him when he said he was taking the Hibs job that they would not see each other every night if she could not commit coming to stay in Edinburgh with him, maybe she has her reasons for not uprooting from where she stays, she may have kids of her own and doesn't want to move them up here. :aok:
If family is the reason for him wanting to move back down South, then he must have known there was going to be problems with family when he took the Hibs job.
You have to ask why he took the job in the first place. :aok:
[QUOTE=HibeeMG;2848775]I think we should take his 'told you so' posts with some humble pie.
He was treated like a yam when the only crime he committed was to be persistent. Fair play to him for that.
He has eventually been proved correct and we should accept that. If it had turned out to be a crock of sh**e then I'm pretty sure there would've been many on here who would've been saying 'I told you so' to him!
He hasn't been anything other than praiseworthy of our message board and of our fans whilst on here and I think it wouldn't harm to cut him some slack.
I thought he was genuine from the start but questioned the quality of some of his information. From memory, & it seems a year or so ago now, the original title of his thread was something like McLaren in for Calderwood. In that small statement he was 100% correct & I believe he has been muchmore tolerant a poster than many on here would be if situation was reversed.
If family is the reason for him wanting to move back down South, then he must have known there was going to be problems with family when he took the Hibs job.
You have to ask why he took the job in the first place. :aok:[/QUOTE]
I agree 100%, giving him the benefit of the doubt perhaps he hoped family would move with him as things settled. I had actually heard something about this in February but discounted until recent events. It makes some sense of a fairly nonsensical situation.
04-07-2011, 10:47 AM
So similar to what CC has being doing since he has been at Hibs, only he drives everywhere, CC had made it clear to the Hibs fans that his family was down South and that he went down every weekend to see his son as that is where they are settled, maybe just getting married has become the problem for CC and the new wife is not dealing to well with CC not being home every night, but wee cant say that the board did not know about this from the start regarding his family situation, and his new wife must have agreed with him when he said he was taking the Hibs job that they would not see each other every night if she could not commit coming to stay in Edinburgh with him, maybe she has her reasons for not uprooting from where she stays, she may have kids of her own and doesn't want to move them up here. :aok:
Good summary. I would imagine his main incentive to taking the Hibs job was to get him back managing on his own and keep his face known if other jobs came up in the future. The fact he drives everywhere would/should IMO been an issue for Hibs as it must be exhausting to do the mileage a week he was running up.
Family circumstances can change quickly IMO, maybe his new wife became much more unhappy at him being away etc. It needs to be sorted pronto and I really hope the new guy is able to bring in an assistant of his own choice as this is a vital area of support that a new manager needs especially in a dog eat dog industry like Football.
04-07-2011, 10:48 AM
[QUOTE=HibeeMG;2848775]I think we should take his 'told you so' posts with some humble pie.
I thought he was genuine from the start but questioned the quality of some of his information. From memory, & it seems a year or so ago now, the original title of his thread was something like McLaren in for Calderwood. In that small statement he was 100% correct & I believe he has been muchmore tolerant a poster than many on here would be if situation was reversed.
TBF, if this is indeed the reason, perhaps he has underestimated the effect it would have on him. I've done a fair bit of serious commuting in my time. I didn't have any other big commitments to accommodate at the time, but I would have found it pretty difficult if I did have, and I don't think I would have anticipated the difficulties there would be before I went through it. I know some people cope very well with living in two places, others don't. He's in a new marriage in the south, a son somewhere else again, and it may be that he's finding difficulty with one or other of those. Then again, it may be something else altogether.
04-07-2011, 11:01 AM
Thought a lot about this situation over the weekend
Given we are all living off scraps of info /greggs etal surely the "buck stops here" with CC.
NF approach HFC re " obtaining" the services of their manager
RP gives permission to speak to CC but warns there will be "compensation" to sort out
No denial from CC that he is not interested
BC approach HFC re " obtaining" the services of their manager
RP gives permission to speak to CC but warns there will be "compensation" to sort out .
No denial from CC that he is not interested
£300000 is mentioned as a starting figure for negotiations
Still no denial from CC
Surely this brings into question CC commitment to HFC , regardless of what the reasons are.
His credibility as a professional person also has to be questioned.
The manager of any football club, be it pro/amateur is entitled to expect commitment/loyalty from his players .
Here we have a squad of players watching a " soap opera" situation unfold starring their manager :greengrin
I accept that there will always be " Leaders and Followers" - we have all come across people like that at our place of work - no criticism of anyone intended but there are excellent employees who do not want the pressures of responsibility in the workplace
Is CC such a " Follower" ?
As for RP what has he done wrong up to now ?
He has given the manager the chance to discuss the situation with NF/BC while at the same time he is ensuring the club will not lose financially .
Playing " by the rules surely !!
I reiterate what I said at the start .
Given the " facts" we have it all points to a PR disaster for CC and through him HFC :rolleyes:
We must never forget that the "club is bigger than the individual " and move on :flag:
LeithBoozy
04-07-2011, 11:01 AM
Nottingham, birmingham, or Edinburgh, whats to choose?, as to the traveling is he scared of flying, plenty of airports in the midlands, how long by plane an hour?.
harpo
04-07-2011, 11:08 AM
That's big of you. Do you offer a mediation service to fans of other clubs or is it only us? We may be the worlds most dysfunctional family but honestly, we can manage to survive without the help of an outsider.
Marinello with comments like this your coming across as a bit of an embarrassment to be honest.
04-07-2011, 11:17 AM
Nottingham, birmingham, or Edinburgh, whats to choose?, as to the traveling is he scared of flying, plenty of airports in the midlands, how long by plane an hour?.
Wont be that. I was on the same plane as him on a flight from Birmingham to Edinburgh in December.
HibeeMG
04-07-2011, 11:26 AM
Wont be that. I was on the same plane as him on a flight from Birmingham to Edinburgh in December.
Was he awake?
I ain't gettin' on no plane!
04-07-2011, 11:34 AM
Marinello with comments like this your coming across as a bit of an embarrassment to be honest.
I embarrass my wife a lot. It doesn't really bother me. :greengrin
04-07-2011, 11:36 AM
Even David Hardie is being rather disparaging about Calderwood in today's EN: -
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/All-eyes-on-Caldo-as.6795551.jp
Even David Hardie is being rather disparaging about Calderwood in today's EN: -
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/All-eyes-on-Caldo-as.6795551.jp
I've been keeping myself out of this entire debate but after reading that article i cannot see how Calderwood can be kept on as hibs manager in any way shape or form. First that ridiculous press conference and now a post-match interview where he was asked questions about his future and the direction of our team this season and dismissing it as "not important" rather than just answering the question before getting hibs press officer to demand no questions be asked about his future?
If he cant even come out and say he wants to be at hibs and his focus is on the coming season then he can **** off, compensation or not. This whole circus act is doing nobody any favours and i can only hope that its as a result of Petrie delaying proceedings while a new manager is appointed to step in immediately.
04-07-2011, 11:46 AM
I've been keeping myself out of this entire debate but after reading that article i cannot see how Calderwood can be kept on as hibs manager in any way shape or form. First that ridiculous press conference and now a post-match interview where he was asked questions about his future and the direction of our team this season and dismissing it as "not important" rather than just answering the question before getting hibs press officer to demand no questions be asked about his future?
If he cant even come out and say he wants to be at hibs and his focus is on the coming season then he can ****** off, compensation or not. This whole circus act is doing nobody any favours and i can only hope that its as a result of Petrie delaying proceedings while a new manager is appointed to step in immediately.
I've not made much comment myself, I've never been Calderwoord's biggest fan but I still wanted him to stay up until about a week ago - now I, like many others, just want him away so that we can move on.
None of this is ideal to say the least and it's yet another testing time to be a Hibbie, but I feel fairly relaxed about all this, and I have a feeling that we're going to be a lot stronger when all this is done. I feel a lot more excited about the new season now than I did at the start of the summer, 50% due to the new signings and 50% because it looks like we will have a new manager.
proud_and_green
04-07-2011, 11:49 AM
[/QUOTE]I agree 100%, giving him the benefit of the doubt perhaps he hoped family would move with him as things settled. I had actually heard something about this in February but discounted until recent events. It makes some sense of a fairly nonsensical situation.[/QUOTE]
he would not be the first person to take on a job which involves a big commute thinking it was doable only to find that it was more than he thought.
Others have spoken about it not being far, he could fly, take a train etc. I think that misses a key point about his own quality of life and whilst yes it is his decision to keep his family down south - the travelling time for example after a saturday match would mean he probably wouldn't get home before 9 at night. That would leaves loads of time to share with his Mrs!!!
Add in to that, that many Hibs fans have made it very clear that he is not the one for us, not up to the job, its a backward step, Calderwood GTF etc etc you can see that making the trip back up the road to Edinburgh would become harder and harder.
I was going to post about this the other day. There has been loads said about a poisonous environment at ER and that Rod Petrie and the Board need to sort themselves out, yet not a single finger has been pointed at some of our own fans who have been in many cases completely out of order and in my mind a major contributory factor - as much as the Board - to our succession of managers leaving. Whether that is the abuse which is hurled at the manager or his players it really does not help and must significantly undemine morale and therefore help to create a lack of trust, breakdown teamworking and reduce effectiveness within the dressingroom and behind the scenes.
It is about time many of our wonderful fans took a long hard look at themselves and realised that the special relationship between a club and its supporters is not a one way affair.
I renewed my ST this year but thought long and hard about it, not really so much because of the performance of the team - although of course that didn't help - but i am so fed up with the negativity and lack of support coming from the stands.
The motto should be:
In this together, One team - management, players and supporters!
04-07-2011, 11:55 AM
I've not made much comment myself, I've never been Calderwoord's biggest fan but I still wanted him to stay up until about a week ago - now I, like many others, just want him away so that we can move on.
None of this is ideal to say the least and it's yet another testing time to be a Hibbie, but I feel fairly relaxed about all this, and I have a feeling (for what reason, I'm unsure), that we're going to be a lot stronger when all this is done. I feel a lot more excited about the new season now than I did at the start of the summer, 50% due to the new signings and 50% because it looks like we will have a new manager.
Despite all this going on i feel we are stronger going into this season than last, I think the squad is better all round and obviously CC played a big part in that. However the way he and the club are avoiding the issue all together has unsettled me a bit. If you want to leave CC then thats fine but dont treat us like mugs. I was looking forward to the season coming thinking it was going to be much better, Now that hangs on who the next person in charge will be.
I also dont think the board should be taking as much blame as they are, CC is moving for family reasons, he has stated openly he has enjoyed being at hibs and i think we have to accept that this one just didnt work out. No doubt there will be the usual conspiracy theories that will be going about though.
04-07-2011, 11:57 AM
Does anyone know if the infamous interview from Saturday is anywhere online?
04-07-2011, 11:58 AM
Despite all this going on i feel we are stronger going into this season than last, I think the squad is better all round and obviously CC played a big part in that. However the way he and the club are avoiding the issue all together has unsettled me a bit. If you want to leave CC then thats fine but dont treat us like mugs. I was looking forward to the season coming thinking it was going to be much better, Now that hangs on who the next person in charge will be.
I also dont think the board should be taking as much blame as they are, CC is moving for family reasons, he has stated openly he has enjoyed being at hibs and i think we have to accept that this one just didnt work out. No doubt there will be the usual conspiracy theories that will be going about though.
Completely agree, but that will change if the next manager is sacked/mutually consented after another short tenure.
Green_one
04-07-2011, 12:01 PM
CC is all but gone. Not a huge loss.
Petrie is haggling over the money as usual
Meantime the our season stumbles towards another wasted year.
I am sure I must be missing something - oh yeah - a miracle. :rolleyes:
I do find it strange that at Hibs managers leave to progress downwards. Does not say much for their view of Hibs.
HibeeMG
04-07-2011, 12:01 PM
[/B]
I agree 100%, giving him the benefit of the doubt perhaps he hoped family would move with him as things settled. I had actually heard something about this in February but discounted until recent events. It makes some sense of a fairly nonsensical situation.
he would not be the first person to take on a job which involves a big commute thinking it was doable only to find that it was more than he thought.
Others have spoken about it not being far, he could fly, take a train etc. I think that misses a key point about his own quality of life and whilst yes it is his decision to keep his family down south - the travelling time for example after a saturday match would mean he probably wouldn't get home before 9 at night. That would leaves loads of time to share with his Mrs!!!
Add in to that, that many Hibs fans have made it very clear that he is not the one for us, not up to the job, its a backward step, Calderwood GTF etc etc you can see that making the trip back up the road to Edinburgh would become harder and harder.
I was going to post about this the other day. There has been loads said about a poisonous environment at ER and that Rod Petrie and the Board need to sort themselves out, yet not a single finger has been pointed at some of our own fans who have been in many cases completely out of order and in my mind a major contributory factor - as much as the Board - to our succession of managers leaving. Whether that is the abuse which is hurled at the manager or his players it really does not help and must significantly undemine morale and therefore help to create a lack of trust, breakdown teamworking and reduce effectiveness within the dressingroom and behind the scenes.
It is about time many of our wonderful fans took a long hard look at themselves and realised that the special relationship between a club and its supporters is not a one way affair.
I renewed my ST this year but thought long and hard about it, not really so much because of the performance of the team - although of course that didn't help - but i am so fed up with the negativity and lack of support coming from the stands.
The motto should be:
In this together, One team - management, players and supporters!
I'm just picking up on the bit in bold.
It isn't a one-way relationship, I agree. What I would say is that when the going gets tough the fans give a hell of a lot more than the club do at any other time.
I understand the clubs' stance on not speculating on transfer etc. but this episode has shown that the club have a certain amount of disdain (maybe not the right word) for the fans. They (we) are after all the ones who pay for their wages. We are the lifeblood of the club and we are the ones who should not be so worried about the future direction of the club that we end up with a thread of this extent.
All we are asking for is some clear and concise communication.
If we were an EPL club this situation would have been a lot clearer. Do we think we are better than that?
04-07-2011, 12:10 PM
Does anyone know if the infamous interview from Saturday is anywhere online?
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKT-B0dAvkk
04-07-2011, 12:15 PM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bKT-B0dAvkk
Cheers AH. Not great but I was expecting worse. Still needs to go asap though.
04-07-2011, 12:15 PM
I wouldn't have called it naivety - more incredulity at Calderwood's evident desire to take a step backwards in his career, maybe mixed in with a "no, no not again!" style refusal to believe the news, bourne of ten years of continual transition from one manager to the next!
04-07-2011, 12:16 PM
The latest from nottingham appears to suggest he wants to go there but compo still to be agreed.
we better be careful we arent left high and dry with a lame duck manager here.
04-07-2011, 12:22 PM
You could tell by the way he was answering the questions and his body language in the SSN interview from Saturday that alot of stuff is going on. If he doesn't move I hope he is commited to the cause otherwise he can just go. He wouldn't even mention if he was looking for signings.
I am assuming Petrie has identified a target to replace him? Surely this isn't rumbling on and then we are going to go through the usual 3 week delay before the new manager is appointed?
04-07-2011, 12:28 PM
Latest fanhousepercy tweet -
Steve McClaren says Colin Calderwood "wants to come" to #nffc. #hibs playing hardball.
04-07-2011, 12:28 PM
Ultimately, I think that Calderwood could choose to leave Hibs and join another club or he might stay on as manager of Hibs.
It will be one of the two for sure.
04-07-2011, 12:29 PM
You could tell by the way he was answering the questions and his body language in the SSN interview from Saturday that alot of stuff is going on. If he doesn't move I hope he is commited to the cause otherwise he can just go. He wouldn't even mention if he was looking for signings.
This whole period has been a shambles, what right minded player would sign for him while he's sweetie shopping?
I would imagine the funds he still has have been withdrawn, he wont be allowed to spend another penny while this is going on. The Airey rumour has suddenly gone quiet. Is he even looking at players?
Ultimately, I think that Calderwood could choose to leave Hibs and join another club or he might stay on as manager of Hibs.
It will be one of the two for sure.
Liar. There must be a 3rd option.
04-07-2011, 12:30 PM
And since all this carry on, have the players stopped giving interviews to the press, haven't heard much from any players on how much they are enjoying being back at pre-season, its all very quiet from ER just now.
04-07-2011, 12:31 PM
This whole period has been a shambles, what right minded player would sign for him while he's sweetie shopping?
I would imagine the funds he still has have been withdrawn, he wont be allowed to spend another penny while this is going on. The Airey rumour has suddenly gone quiet. Is he even looking at players?
I see what you mean but surely he must at least be having a look at new players somewhere?
The most annoying aspect about Calderwood leaving is that we have missed out on Colin Nish and John Rankin.
04-07-2011, 12:32 PM
sure he said this week that there was nothin imminent
04-07-2011, 12:33 PM
Almost at 100 pages now and still we are :cgwa
04-07-2011, 12:34 PM
Hopefully if petrie holds out for highest bidder for CC then give portion of money to deeks to sign on again :aok:
04-07-2011, 12:38 PM
CC is all but gone. Not a huge loss.
Petrie is haggling over the money as usual
Meantime the our season stumbles towards another wasted year.
I am sure I must be missing something - oh yeah - a miracle. :rolleyes:
I do find it strange that at Hibs managers leave to progress downwards. Does not say much for their view of Hibs.
Are you including mcleish and mowbray in your downward progress :rolleyes:
04-07-2011, 12:42 PM
I see what you mean but surely he must at least be having a look at new players somewhere?
Why? He's not going to be at the club much longer, how can he expect anyone to commit to Hibs when he wont?
04-07-2011, 12:43 PM
Hopefully if petrie holds out for highest bidder for CC then give portion of money to deeks to sign on again :aok:
Ultimately, if we hold out for the highest bidder then I think we'll see more compensation come in for Calderwood than we would have if we had let him go for a lower price.
Mark79
04-07-2011, 12:43 PM
Maybe he will magically disappear once we reach 100 pages on this thread?
04-07-2011, 12:45 PM
Ultimately, if we hold out for the highest bidder then I think we'll see more compensation come in for Calderwood than we would have if we had let him go for a lower price.
Good point
04-07-2011, 12:46 PM
Has anyone heard anything about Birmingham and Forest being in for CC?
Can't reveal my source.
Mark79
04-07-2011, 12:47 PM
Can't reveal my source.
No. For the managers job? They just appointed Hughton and McLaren.
04-07-2011, 12:47 PM
Can't reveal my source.
Damn my bid for first post on page 100 fails:wink:
04-07-2011, 12:48 PM
Can't reveal my source.
:faf::faf: :top marks
And since all this carry on, have the players stopped giving interviews to the press, haven't heard much from any players on how much they are enjoying being back at pre-season, its all very quiet from ER just now.
Nothing new there! :greengrin
Damn my bid for first post on page 100 fails:wink:
As I say my bid failed
Hibtastic
04-07-2011, 12:49 PM
I think we should all look on the bright side - things could be worse. We could for example have Jim Jeffries as our manager, a club owner who condones sex offences and players who are on the sex offenders register!!
The future is bright, the future is Green and White!!:greengrin:greengrin:greengrin:cgwa
04-07-2011, 12:49 PM
As I say my bid failed
Did you hear that my bid for first post on page 100 failed.
post whore :greengrin
04-07-2011, 12:50 PM
Bloody hell there is a lot of posts per page:confused:
04-07-2011, 12:50 PM
Did it really?
04-07-2011, 12:51 PM
post whore :greengrin
Pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaase!!!!
what?
guy on twitter says theres an interview with mclaren that states CC wants to go but hibs playin hardball
http://twitter.com/#!/FanhousePercy
04-07-2011, 12:52 PM
guy on twitter says theres an interview with mclaren that states CC wants to go but hibs \playin hardball
That was mentioned earlier.
have you pesky admins changed the no of posts per page?
Mark79
Ive heard he has signed a new 5 year contract today.
30 to be precise........:wink:
This is in todays Scotsman by Thornhill, he is certainly hoping he stays and says that everyone likes him as a manager and as a person off the field as well.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hibs star Matt Thornhill today urged Colin Calderwood to turn his back on bids by Birmingham City and Nottingham Forest to lure him back to England, insisting he was the man to bring success back to Easter Road.
Thornhill, who played under Calderwood at Forest and was his first signing as Hibs boss after moving from Newcastle United to Edinburgh, admitted he was desperate not to see the 46-year-old quit after barely nine months in charge of the Capital outfit.
However, the midfielder revealed Calderwood was keeping his cards close to his chest, saying: "He has not really said anything to the players so as far as we know he is staying. He has not come in, got us in a meeting and said he's going, so hopefully he stays with us."
Having led Northampton Town to promotion in his first managerial job, Calderwood did likewise with Forest, although he was later sacked by the City Ground side before helping Chris Hughton guide Newcastle United back into the English Premier League.
Now Hughton wants Calderwood back as his assistant at Birmingham, while new Forest boss Steve McClaren hopes to persuade him to become his right-hand man.
Calderwood himself was reticent to discuss his future following Hibs' 3-0 win over Berwick Rangers in their first pre-season friendly and the club itself has maintained a rigorous stance of "no comment" even although the saga is now dragging into a third week with the new season little more than a fortnight away.
Today when asked if they had anything to say on the matter, Hibs again simply replied: "No further comment." Thornhill for one, though, is convinced Calderwood can replicate the success he enjoyed in management south of the Border at Easter Road.
He said: "I worked under him at Forest and signed for him up here. Everyone likes him as manager and as a person off the field as well. Everyone thinks he will stay so hopefully he does that and we go on to better things this season at Hibs.
"If the reports are true then he has a tough decision to make. I think he would want to stay as a manager, not an assistant. Of course he can bring the good times back at Hibs. We have a very young squad but bring in a couple more experienced guys like Sean O'Hanlon and I think we will be ready to go."
Garry O'Connor, one of three summer signings by Calderwood, echoed Thornhill's words, the Scotland striker saying: "It shows you what a good coach our manager is that there's a lot of interest in him.
"We're just lucky we've got him here and we hope he can stay here. I'm hoping Hibs will do everything to keep him and I'm sure we can."
http://sport.scotsman.com/football/Hibs-star-Thornhill-urges-Calderwood.6795548.jp
Mark79
04-07-2011, 12:53 PM
on the basis we reached 100 pages!
Who with?
Mark79
Who with?
Us. The tache has said he can move the family in with him and they have free use of the private jet.
04-07-2011, 12:54 PM
Ha ha, first on page 100 :greengrin :na na: :aok:
Does this mean he can go now. :flag:
have you pesky admins changed the no of posts per page?
I don't want first post on page 100 anyway:confused:
us
Source?
JustSimplyHibs
I see Calderwood is still here, taking training...and the players seem to think he staying :thumbsup: Matt Thornhill in the Sctosman.
04-07-2011, 12:55 PM
I don't want first post on page 100 anyway:confused:
Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaarrrr rrrrrrrrrrgggggggggggghhhhhhhhhhhhh!!!!!!!!!!
100 TH PAGE GIRUY'S]:flag:
Sproule Three
with Hibs,Birmingham or Forest.
Is that page 100?
04-07-2011, 12:56 PM
100 TH PAGE GIRUY'S]:flag:
dodgy ****ing internet connection:grr:
04-07-2011, 01:02 PM
100 pages of nothing! WOOHOO! God bless the internet!
04-07-2011, 01:05 PM
Can't reveal my source.
Not a word .. where you getting this from? :confused:
04-07-2011, 01:20 PM
dodgy ****ing internet connection:grr:
Only 15 more till the 3,000th post. :aok:
justlikebrazil
04-07-2011, 01:55 PM
Only 15 more till the 3,000th post. :aok:
As i started the 1st post, thought i may as well put one on the 100th page!!! How about TOLD YOU SO :na na: :greengrin GGTTH
04-07-2011, 02:45 PM
Only page 75 for me.
04-07-2011, 02:46 PM
Is this the longest thread in the history of hibs.net? :confused:
04-07-2011, 02:50 PM
Only page 75 for me.
Just how many of us do you have on ignore? :wink: :greengrin
04-07-2011, 02:55 PM
Just how many of us do you have on ignore? :wink: :greengrin
Did someone say something?
Purehibee_MYB
04-07-2011, 02:57 PM
100 pages just shows how drawn out this whole thing is...I just want a conclusion now!!
04-07-2011, 03:04 PM
Andrew Smith in the Scotsman says that Calderwoods silence speaks volumes. He goes on to discuss the situation and the match and ends his report with an unequivocal " There is much to be done by whoever succeeds Calderwood." No ambiguity there, then.
04-07-2011, 03:06 PM
Did someone say something?
badabing! :greengrin I set you up beautifully there!
04-07-2011, 03:14 PM
So i give you my opinion on what you said, and your bottom lip goes all weak. Jeez. :rolleyes:
Aye whatever.
04-07-2011, 03:20 PM
Aye whatever.
When you post something on a MESSAGE BOARD, expect a reply or two agreeing or disagreeing, its what its about.:confused:
04-07-2011, 03:23 PM
When you post something on a MESSAGE BOARD, expect a reply or two agreeing or disagreeing, its what its about.:confused:
No it's not.
04-07-2011, 03:25 PM
No it's not.
Go on i will bite, what is it for?
HibsMax
04-07-2011, 03:26 PM
This is in todays Scotsman by Thornhill, he is certainly hoping he stays and says that everyone likes him as a manager and as a person off the field as well.
To me, this is what really matters. It shouldn't really matter if the fans like the manager, as long as the players do and we're getting results of course (if we're glued to the bottom of the table it doesn't matter how much the players love him).
EDIT : only 75 pages here. :wink:
04-07-2011, 03:26 PM
Thick git :)
04-07-2011, 03:27 PM
Thick git :)
:na na: Still think he's staying?
04-07-2011, 03:29 PM
Whoosh! :greengrin
04-07-2011, 03:29 PM
:na na: Still think he's staying?
He's still here isn't he? :)
Stonewall
04-07-2011, 03:32 PM
Is this the longest thread in the history of hibs.net? :confused:
Dunno mate, the calendar thread was pretty long but at least it was funny.
Congratulations to everyone who's contributed to basically 100 pages of nothing. I'm sure there's plenty more to come too.
04-07-2011, 03:36 PM
Sure there will have been other people with a differing opinion- they didn't post a condescending know-all reply.