View Full Version : ***CC - Staying Or Going?***/NFFC Appoint Coach MERGED
Pages :
[
15]
12-07-2011, 11:38 AM
Really? More so than Collins for example?
I would say so kaiser. Eck got us promoted first time of asking, had us playing good, attractive football and got us into Europe and a SC Final. TM had us playing arguably the best we have played in a long time, admittedly more home form, had decent cup runs and got us into Europe, as well as progressing the likes of GOC, Thommo and Brown, and bringing in Murphy, Jones and Sproule and Zemmama. In SPL terms, and recent Hibs history terms, I label them successful. And both brought in good compensation fees themselves.
12-07-2011, 11:41 AM
http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/birmingham-city-fc/birmingham-city-fc-news/2011/07/12/birmingham-city-calderwood-pursuit-stepped-up-as-more-details-of-mcleish-settlement-emerge-97319-29035117/
12-07-2011, 11:41 AM
I would say so kaiser. Eck got us promoted first time of asking, had us playing good, attractive football and got us into Europe and a SC Final. TM had us playing arguably the best we have played in a long time, admittedly more home form, had decent cup runs and got us into Europe, as well as progressing the likes of GOC, Thommo and Brown, and bringing in Murphy, Jones and Sproule and Zemmama. In SPL terms, and recent Hibs history terms, I label them successful. And both brought in good compensation fees themselves.
Its interesting that this is viewed as more succesful than winning a national trophy.
12-07-2011, 11:43 AM
And what about Jock Stein's leaving?
12-07-2011, 11:47 AM
http://www.birminghammail.net/birmingham-sport/birmingham-city-fc/birmingham-city-fc-news/2011/07/12/birmingham-city-calderwood-pursuit-stepped-up-as-more-details-of-mcleish-settlement-emerge-97319-29035117/
Looks like he will be off soon then, can't wait for this saga to come to an end. :bye:
Hopefully Rod has his replacement lined up.
CapitalHibs
12-07-2011, 11:47 AM
And what about Jock Stein's leaving?
That was the biggest of all kick in the nuts. We were on track for the Scottish and the League, when he left.
12-07-2011, 11:48 AM
I didn't say Collins wasn't a success mate, I was quoting beefster and highlighting the three managers he had mentioned.
12-07-2011, 11:49 AM
I hope that £350K release clause figure is wide of the mark particularly if they if the initial offer of £300K is true? Imagine if this has been dragging on all these weeks over a poxy £50K when we could have had him out the door and somebody else in place. If that lot turns out tae be true this will have been a total farce.
It is a farce, its a joke, very embarassing indeed for the club and fans, this whole situation has been handled very poorly by Hibs imo.
This has now been dragging on for nearly a month now and looks to keep going on and on and on and on i could go on.
My worry about all this carry on, is that any managers thinking of applying for the Hibs job may be put of taking the job when CC leaves after watching and listening to this whole saga, or maybe that is the problem and wee cant get anyone to take the Hibs hot seat right now.
12-07-2011, 11:55 AM
I didn't say Collins wasn't a success mate, I was quoting beefster and highlighting the three managers he had mentioned.
Wasnt being picky. Just interesting what folks perceptions of success are thats all.
I have to say I expected better from Mowbray since he left here but thats not really materialised.
12-07-2011, 11:57 AM
It is a farce, its a joke, very embarassing indeed for the club and fans, this whole situation has been handled very poorly by Hibs imo.
This has now been dragging on for nearly a month now and looks to keep going on and on and on and on i could go on.
My worry about all this carry on, is that any managers thinking of applying for the Hibs job may be put of taking the job when CC leaves after watching and listening to this whole saga, or maybe that is the problem and wee cant get anyone to take the Hibs hot seat right now.
I dont really know what more you would expect Hibs to do? The situations out off their hands really.
12-07-2011, 12:14 PM
I dont really know what more you would expect Hibs to do? The situations out off their hands really.
I see it as being all down to Hibs. :confused: We could have settled ages ago and moved on, it seems to me. I suppose, it all depends how much compo we payed his last club. Still, how much did it cost to punt Mixu and Yogi?
12-07-2011, 12:29 PM
McLeish - "I'm here as long as you want me". Leaves and is crucified by the support for lying.
Mowbray - "I have a job to finish here". Leaves and is crucified by the support for lying.
Hughes - "Fitba folk ken what's going on". Leaves and is crucified for being pish.
Calderwood - "I'm happy being Hibs manager but there are other factors that have to be considered, if I am offered a job elsewhere". Will probably leave and is already being crucified by the support for being honest.
It's a strange world, right enough.
My problem is that Hibs knew about these facts when CC was interviewed, bells should have been ringing in RP head when he heard that CC family would not be coming to Edinburgh and that he would be commuting back and forward to see them, add in to that he was getting married this summer and his new wife wasn't uprooting to come and stay with her new husband in lovely Edinburgh sureley must have put doubts in RP head that this guy may not be 100% commited to Hibs and that not being with your wife just after you get married would come with its problems.
And here wee are with one big problem with CC and his family being one if not the only reason he wants to move back down South to be closer to them.
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 12:30 PM
The £300k offer seems to have become a fact through repetition. IIRC it originated from a journo's tweet which was at best speculation - I haven't seen any other credible source for it. Likewise the 'near £1m' release clause.
All I've seen re: the fee are snippets in the media like this one:
But after resolving the compensation row with Villa, Blues are likely to try once more – increasing their £300,000 offer.
So either Brum did offer 300K or this is just a total fabrication, and if it is, where do we draw the line? How much fabrication has been / is being interpreted as the truth?
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 12:33 PM
My problem is that Hibs knew about these facts when CC was interviewed, bells should have been ringing in RP head when he heard that CC family would not be coming to Edinburgh and that he would be commuting back and forward to see them, add in to that he was getting married this summer and his new wife wasn't uprooting to come and stay with her new husband in lovely Edinburgh sureley must have put doubts in RP head that this guy may not be 100% commited to Hibs and that not being with your wife just after you get married would come with its problems.
And here wee are with one big problem with CC and his family being one if not the only reason he wants to move back down South to be closer to them.
If they asked CC if him working at Hibs would be an issue for him and his family, and if he said that it would not, why would Hibs be concerned? I can see them being concerned if they thought he was lying but why would they think that?
As for your last part, where are people getting this stuff, does someone have a link? I've seen CC talking (online) and his family has been mentioned but he's never given me the impression that it's breaking his heart to stay at Hibs because of them. I'm not saying that's not the case but I haven't read or heard anything from CC himself that would indicate that his family issues are very concerning and why he wants to get away.
12-07-2011, 12:42 PM
If they asked CC if him working at Hibs would be an issue for him and his family, and if he said that it would not, why would Hibs be concerned? I can see them being concerned if they thought he was lying but why would they think that?
Maybe he was desparate to get out of his last place of employment. It was pretty much known Chris Hughton was a dead man walking at Newcastle with no new contract forthcoming.
Regardless to whether CC convinced the board that his family situation was no problem to doing his job the board absolutely should have had concerns.
My fear in all of this is the impact it has had on getting the necessary and required signings that we need for the start of the season.
My fear in all of this is the impact it has had on our entire pre season. As a Football Team what effect has it had on morale? What effect has it had on preparation on the training field after the disaster of last season? As a football club what impact has it had on season ticket sales?
My fear is the subsequent hangover into and throughout season 2011-2012.
As a Football Club and Football Team we need a good season.
My fear in all of this is the impact it has had on getting the necessary and required signings that we need for the start of the season.
My fear in all of this is the impact it has had on our entire pre season. As a Football Team what effect has it had on morale? What effect has it had on preparation on the training field after the disaster of last season? As a football club what impact has it had on season ticket sales?
Yeah but in general you can be a bit of a feardy.
12-07-2011, 12:57 PM
That was the biggest of all kick in the nuts. We were on track for the Scottish and the League, when he left.
And that is where I am coming from mate. I was a small boy at the time obviously, but anything any manager has done since pales into insignificance.
12-07-2011, 12:57 PM
Yeah but in general you can be a bit of a feardy.
Nope not a feardy at all. I actually think that folk like me have balls and want to see our club with such too.:wink:
Hibby D
12-07-2011, 01:19 PM
I think its all hype.......pretend you want to hang onto him and push the compensation fee up as high as possible......
A fantastic example of summing up this thread so far :top marks
When our boss is on holiday we work much better as a team, need little if any guidance and get the job done properly with time and energy to spare!
Wonder if that would work at ER :hmmm:
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 01:25 PM
Regardless to whether CC convinced the board that his family situation was no problem to doing his job the board absolutely should have had concerns.
Why should the board have been concerned? If a man says he's happy with the travel arrangements, what concern is there? He already traveled up to Newcastle and as has been mentioned before he seemed to handle that OK and Edinburgh is not that much farther away. There are plenty of people who travel a LOT more for there jobs. This is not a highly unusual situation. Should the employers of all road-warriors be concerned?
12-07-2011, 01:26 PM
Nope not a feardy at all. I actually think that folk like me have balls and want to see our club with such too.:wink:
Just as well we have folks like you then, holding the rogues and scoundrels running our club to account. :agree:
How does pissing yourself worrying about what might happen translate to you "having balls"?
A football club without Balls? I take it that's why we were messing about doing marching up and down at Dreghorn.
Just joshing Smurf, actually I think it's a good thing that fans like yourself question the club each and every day. Can sometimes be a bit over the top and your liking for Hughes at the start of his tenure made me question your own judgement on football matters (he couldn't manage a Launderette) but more power to you.
Two or three more signings and CC situation sorted out, either way, we'll be ready to go.
LeithBoozy
12-07-2011, 01:44 PM
I have already mentioned about CC and flying, if he is not scared of it, then travell ing should not be an issue. You can fly to the midlands, in less time than a game lasts. So what is the problem. :confused:
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 01:48 PM
I have already mentioned about CC and flying, if he is not scared of it, then travell ing should not be an issue. You can fly to the midlands, in less time than a game lasts. So what is the problem. :confused:
I'm not sure that there is one. If he wanted / needed to leave for family reasons he would have done so by now rather than letting this drag out. Someone else said that a couple of weeks ago, probably in this thread, and I have to agree which is why I don't think the issues he does have are that serious. Of course he could just be saying that but he seems to have been fairly forthcoming about other things.
12-07-2011, 01:51 PM
Doubt that is the answer, you have to get to the airport, check-in an hour before, usually some delays, wait for your bag at the other end, travel from the airport.
I think that would be a pain every week, I'd rather drive. :agree:
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 02:05 PM
Doubt that is the answer, you have to get to the airport, check-in an hour before, usually some delays, wait for your bag at the other end, travel from the airport.
I think that would be a pain every week, I'd rather drive. :agree:
That's the worst case scenario, but I do agree that when the distance is short enough, it's sometimes easier to drive e.g., Boston to New York (4 hour drive vs 1 hour flight + all the additional time you pointed out above).
12-07-2011, 02:32 PM
Just as well we have folks like you then, holding the rogues and scoundrels running our club to account. :agree:
How does pissing yourself worrying about what might happen translate to you "having balls"?
You just carry on making it up as you are going along. At no point have i ever said that we have "rouges" or "scoundrels" running our club. And indeed if they were i think it would take much more than me to hold them to account.
Says it all that you are :agree: away to your own wee comment. Very good.:rolleyes:
I'm not "...pissing" myself worrying.
However, of course i'm concerned about our club. The club we all love.
If you are suggesting that afters last seasons debacle this has been a good pre season with no reason for concern then hey it's all about opinions eh?
Getting typical of the nonsense put up on here at the moment, that what i believe were reasonable reasons for concern, are subjected to pathetic wee attempts at tearing them apart.
You just keep on :agree: with yourself.:wink:
12-07-2011, 02:34 PM
A football club without Balls? I take it that's why we were messing about doing marching up and down at Dreghorn.
Just joshing Smurf, actually I think it's a good thing that fans like yourself question the club each and every day. Can sometimes be a bit over the top and your liking for Hughes at the start of his tenure made me question your own judgement on football matters (he couldn't manage a Launderette) but more power to you.
Two or three more signings and CC situation sorted out, either way, we'll be ready to go.
Good post mate. :greengrin
I got Hughes wrong. But then so did others... Including RP etc.:greengrin
When asked a few weeks ago, all CC had to do was tell everyone that any speculation concerning him with other clubs are outwith his control and he was happy being here. Unfortunately he stoked things up by letting everyone know that he's missing his family and that any offer down south had to be considered.
Herein lies the problem with CC, he knew the situation regarding this job and his family, yet still signed on the dotted line and came here, what has changed re his family since last year, absolutely sod all, he's never looked happy here and his results since he came are pretty dire. It hasn't worked out, let GTF and move on with someone who wants to be our manager, that unfortunately is easier said than done.
12-07-2011, 02:36 PM
I'm not sure that there is one. If he wanted / needed to leave for family reasons he would have done so by now rather than letting this drag out. Someone else said that a couple of weeks ago, probably in this thread, and I have to agree which is why I don't think the issues he does have are that serious. Of course he could just be saying that but he seems to have been fairly forthcoming about other things.
:agree: I have a feeling he will be our manager next year. He's got his own team now, and a chance to prove he is good enough to be a no.1, although he's already basically said he wanted to, I dont get why you would leave?
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 02:42 PM
When asked a few weeks ago, all CC had to do was tell everyone that any speculation concerning him with other clubs are outwith his control and he was happy being here. Unfortunately he stoked things up by letting everyone know that he's missing his family and that any offer down south had to be considered.
Herein lies the problem with CC, he knew the situation regarding this job and his family, yet still signed on the dotted line and came here, what has changed re his family since last year, absolutely sod all, he's never looked happy here and his results since he came are pretty dire. It hasn't worked out, let GTF and move on with someone who wants to be our manager, that unfortunately is easier said than done.
We complain more about his family issues than he does.
It's the main thing that continually crops up concerning CC, obviously one of his main problems.
I got Hughes wrong. But then so did others... Including RP etc.:greengrin
He gets few right.
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 02:50 PM
It's the main thing that continually crops up concerning CC, obviously one of his main problems.
Where is this cropping up though? The last interview I saw with him he was asked about his family. He admitted that it can be tough (don't have the exact quote) but he didn't look overly concerned and he also admitted that he knew what he was getting into before joining Hibs.
I'm not saying that he doesn't have any strife at home but I haven't seen anything that would indicate this is something that is weighing heavily on his mind. That doesn't mean such stories don't exist, it just means I have not seen them.
Brebners Bookie
12-07-2011, 02:54 PM
I see it as being all down to Hibs. :confused: We could have settled ages ago and moved on, it seems to me. I suppose, it all depends how much compo we payed his last club. Still, how much did it cost to punt Mixu and Yogi?
We could have let him go for nothing and moved on immediately but that would just be stupid in my opinion. CC obviously has a set release fee in his contract and the 2 clubs know what that is. The only reason this is dragging on is they are dragging this out in the media in hope of making rod settle. In my mind hibs are the only blameless party in this and are right to hold out for the fee that CC put his name to when he signed for us.
12-07-2011, 02:58 PM
He gets few right.
Mowbray was a good call. But then it was a proper HR guy that was involved with that...
LeithBoozy
12-07-2011, 03:04 PM
CC should grow a pair, go home and slap his wife around. Grab her by the hair, then drag her to Edinburgh with him. Then again maybe NO. :wink:
12-07-2011, 03:05 PM
In my mind hibs are the only blameless party in this and are right to hold out for the fee that CC put his name to when he signed for us.
Even if that means we are c4 weeks with a distracted (and uncommitted) manager and no signings since 17th June?
I agree to a certain extent we shouldnt have caved in and let him go for peanuts but Rodders will with hindsight regret the way this has been handled as he would never have expected it to drag on for so long (albeit this is mainly due to Forest and Bham dragging their feet).
The damage has already been done with regards to next season as we aren't ready - other than fitness wise - even in the unlikely event Calderwood stays as our squad is still short in numbers and quality due to inactivity since the Calderwood uncertainty began.
If a new manager comes in we will be even more unprepared albeit it would hopefully benefit us in the long run.....but with Rod's track record this is no given.
Shambles Rod.
12-07-2011, 03:17 PM
Where is this cropping up though? The last interview I saw with him he was asked about his family. He admitted that it can be tough (don't have the exact quote) but he didn't look overly concerned and he also admitted that he knew what he was getting into before joining Hibs.
I'm not saying that he doesn't have any strife at home but I haven't seen anything that would indicate this is something that is weighing heavily on his mind. That doesn't mean such stories don't exist, it just means I have not seen them.
His exact quote on that matter when asked about it on Sky Sports last Tuesday after the Livingston game was;
"That has...that has got a...there's a part...there's a part of that to be played out, no doubt about it. So I can't get away from that fact. Erm, and it's something that was there before I came to Hibs but it's also the opportunity, supposedly, to be a bit closer to that home. It's obviously something that is, you know, I've got to think about it and I'm totally honest with that."
12-07-2011, 03:17 PM
Even if that means we are c4 weeks with a distracted (and uncommitted) manager and no signings since 17th June?
I agree to a certain extent we shouldnt have caved in and let him go for peanuts but Rodders will with hindsight regret the way this has been handled as he would never have expected it to drag on for so long (albeit this is mainly due to Forest and Bham dragging their feet).
The damage has already been done with regards to next season as we aren't ready - other than fitness wise - even in the unlikely event Calderwood stays as our squad is still short in numbers and quality due to inactivity since the Calderwood uncertainty began.
If a new manager comes in we will be even more unprepared albeit it would hopefully benefit us in the long run.....but with Rod's track record this is no given.
Shambles Rod.
If he goes which still looks likely, the new manager will be using the first 4 or 5 games expirimenting and assessing the squad which is what the new manager should have been doing from the first pre-season game.
Absolute shambles of a pre-season
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 03:19 PM
His exact quote on that matter when asked about it on Sky Sports last Tuesday after the Livingston game was;
"That has...that has got a...there's a part...there's a part of that to be played out, no doubt about it. So I can't get away from that fact. Erm, and it's something that was there before I came to Hibs but it's also the opportunity, supposedly, to be a bit closer to that home. It's obviously something that is, you know, I've got to think about it and I'm totally honest with that."
Thanks, FH. Everyone will probably interpret that differently but it sounds like little more than acknowledging that his family play a part in this whole thing too. Not denying that, just doesn't seem as big an issue to me as it does to others.
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 03:22 PM
If he goes which still looks likely, the new manager will be using the first 4 or 5 games expirimenting and assessing the squad which is what the new manager should have been doing from the first pre-season game.
Absolute shambles of a pre-season
We absolutely need more players and we could do without all these distractions but it's hardly an absolute shambles.
We've played 4 (one bounce) games this pre-season. Won 3, Lost 1, Scored 12, Let in 4.
The players seem happy with the job being done.
12-07-2011, 03:32 PM
We absolutely need more players and we could do without all these distractions but it's hardly an absolute shambles.
We've played 3 (one bounce) games this pre-season. Won 2, Lost 1, Scored 9, Let in 4.
The players seem happy with the job being done.
I think the first line is far more important than the results.
Great to get results for confidence, however we won't be playing east fife and Berwick when the season starts so to be competitive in the SPL we need more players and i think cc's lack of commitment has bound to have effected our movement in the transfer window, even now we've got a good player on trial that seems keen to join us but we're running the risk of him going to another club as we seem reluctant to committ.
Obviously i don't see first hand how it's effected the transfers so there's a lot of guess work but if i was a player right now and i had the chouce of joining hibs or another club i'd take the one where the manager was committed to the club for longer than 'right now'.
Thats not to mention the effect on ST sales the lack of transfer activity and uncertainty over the manager has caused.
IMO it has been an absolute shambles even if we have beaten two 2nd or 3rd division teams.
12-07-2011, 03:38 PM
You just carry on making it up as you are going along. At no point have i ever said that we have "rouges" or "scoundrels" running our club. And indeed if they were i think it would take much more than me to hold them to account.
Says it all that you are :agree: away to your own wee comment. Very good.:rolleyes:
I'm not "...pissing" myself worrying.
However, of course i'm concerned about our club. The club we all love.
If you are suggesting that afters last seasons debacle this has been a good pre season with no reason for concern then hey it's all about opinions eh?
Getting typical of the nonsense put up on here at the moment, that what i believe were reasonable reasons for concern, are subjected to pathetic wee attempts at tearing them apart.
You just keep on :agree: with yourself.:wink:
Ok. :agree:
If you're not pissing yourself worrying, you're doing a damn fine impression of someone who is. Post after post after post full of conjecture and supposition and what-ifs. Not many FACTS, unfortunately.
In what way are you showing that you "have balls"? All you're really doing is making stuff up and presenting it as possible fact.
For example:
Maybe he was desparate to get out of his last place of employment. It was pretty much known Chris Hughton was a dead man walking at Newcastle with no new contract forthcoming.
This wasn't my recollection at the time at all. It was still to all kick off at Newcastle. I don't remember anyone mentioning that Calderwood may have jumped ship before he was pushed.
It's very very common in football for managers or players to base their family in one part of the country and work in another. Jobs in football last a few years before employees are moving on again. There was no reason for the board to be concerned.
No evidence that this is the case. Three good players signed, more on the way by the looks of it.
No evidence that morale has been affected, is there? Season ticket sales information hasn't been published. Made up scaremongering at best.
As a Football Club and Football Team we need a good season.
And we're in far better shape to have a good season than we were this time last year IMO.
Ok, some big English clubs want our manager. Our club is fighting to hold on to him. Meanwhile he's getting on with his job in a diligent and professional manner. The squad is getting fitter and winning matches.
12-07-2011, 03:43 PM
Although I would agree that pre-season appears to be a shambles I don't think this will have had too much of an impact on bringing players in over the last few weeks.
Most Engllish clubs have been on holiday, only returning this week, and there's plenty time until the end of the transfer window.
What we need to do is let CC go now, for whatever is on offer. No point haggling over an extra £50k or whatever.
It's clear as day that CC will not be here next season so let's get it resolved pronto. I don't think the board have done anything wrong yet but dragging this out benefits no-one.
12-07-2011, 03:45 PM
When has he once told the truth? From the start of this saga it's been "erm...eh....erm...mibbes aye...mibbes naw...eh.....could move down I suppose( Colin, compensation may no be going through mate)...well...eh...it's no too bad being Hibs manager...eh..."
It's been non stop bollocks from the start, even when the club came public with their full backing he still couldn't talk straight.
It's been dragged on for far too long now and some fans have rightly had enough. Get the man tae **** now and bring in someone who actually wants to manage instead of being someone's bitch.
12-07-2011, 03:46 PM
Absolute shambles in every respect!
Staying or going, £300 or £350, signing players or not?? Nothing short of bedlam, chaos, disorder, havoc and hash of our pre-season thus far!
We, as the fans of Hibernian FC, deserve much better and because of this, CC and the board should hang their heads in shame!
12-07-2011, 03:53 PM
Staying or going, £300 or £350, signing players or not?? Nothing short of bedlam, chaos, disorder, havoc and hash of our pre-season thus far!
We, as the fans of Hibernian FC, deserve much better and because of this, CC and the board should hang their heads in shame!
So spit it out MrS, what exactly are you trying to say :devil:
12-07-2011, 03:54 PM
Maybe it's just me but that does seem extremely erm, vague... :dunno:
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 03:59 PM
I think the first line is far more important than the results.
that all depends on who you are talking to though. At the end of last season people were lamenting over our poor finish to the season when it could have been argued that experimenting with the team to determine who should stay and who should go was of more importance than winning those games.
IMO it has been an absolute shambles even if we have beaten two 2nd or 3rd division teams.
I'm not going to piss in your pocket and tell you it's raining but I respectfully disagree. I agree that we need more players, I think everyone agrees with that, and I agree that it could be having a detrimental affect on our ability to attract new players but I think the other parts of the pre-season seem to be moving along well.
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 04:02 PM
When has he once told the truth?
He could have denied everything about moving away from Hibs, choosing instead to say that he is here to stay, etc. He didn't do that. He said that there is a possibility that he might be lured away. I think that was a truthful statement.
12-07-2011, 04:09 PM
Ok. :agree:
:agree::wink:
If you're not pissing yourself worrying, you're doing a damn fine impression of someone who is. Post after post after post full of conjecture and supposition and what-ifs. Not many FACTS, unfortunately.
How many FACTS are actually posted on any messageboard? 100%? 50% 1% Is it not all about opinions?
Folks opinions are not always going to be FACTS.
In what way are you showing that you "have balls"? All you're really doing is making stuff up and presenting it as possible fact.
For example:
Oh chill... The "Balls" comment was tongue-in-cheek. Obviously flew right over you...
Anyway, here we go...
This wasn't my recollection at the time at all. It was still to all kick off at Newcastle. I don't remember anyone mentioning that Calderwood may have jumped ship before he was pushed.
It was pretty much well known that Hughton was on a small salary (by Premiership terms) and there was no indication of Newcastle looking to extend his stay. I was 'Hold The Back Page' on SKY Sports every week and it was mentioned about Hughton for weeks before CC left. And when CC left they spoke on 'Hold The Back Page' of it looking increasingly ominous for Hughton.
It's very very common in football for managers or players to base their family in one part of the country and work in another. Jobs in football last a few years before employees are moving on again. There was no reason for the board to be concerned.
What other SPL Manager past or present has had a wife based in the south of England?
No evidence that this is the case. Three good players signed, more on the way by the looks of it.
CC was on record as wanting the players in early. We need much more than what we've got. Essentially this squad was in freefall all of last season...
That's a FACT.:wink:
No evidence that morale has been affected, is there? Season ticket sales information hasn't been published. Made up scaremongering at best.
So you are seriously suggesting there has been no impact on Season Ticket sales? Wow!!
Don't need the club to detail the sales. All you need to do is speak to fans. You'll find many seriously pissed off who are not renewing. I know because i've spent time trying to encourage them to do so.
Not scaremongering at all.
And we're in far better shape to have a good season than we were this time last year IMO.
So not a fact. An opinion... Why's that then? What's that based on? Form and results in the latter part of last season?
Ok, some big English clubs want our manager. Our club is fighting to hold on to him. Meanwhile he's getting on with his job in a diligent and professional manner. The squad is getting fitter and winning matches.
CC has been far from professional. He was meeting up with potential future employers behind the clubs back. No?
He's pretty much confirmed that should compensation be agreed he's off.
RP and the board have been completely betrayed by him.
IMO.:wink:
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 04:13 PM
Folks opinions are not always going to be FACTS.
Sorry but while people are entitled to their opinion, if it's not something that can be backed up with some sort of FACT then, sometimes, you're going to have a hard time convincing people........at least me. That does not apply all the time e.g., you might be of the opinion that Oasis were a crap band. Nobody can take that away from you. But if you're of the opinion that the earth is flat then there's no two ways about it, you're wrong, and that's a FACT. :wink:
The lack of FACT is one of the problems in this whole debate because we have people arguing over things as though they are FACTs, when it's not clear that they are.
12-07-2011, 04:35 PM
So spit it out MrS, what exactly are you trying to say :devil:
I'm bored trying for more synonyms... :na na:
12-07-2011, 05:23 PM
We could have let him go for nothing and moved on immediately but that would just be stupid in my opinion. CC obviously has a set release fee in his contract and the 2 clubs know what that is. The only reason this is dragging on is they are dragging this out in the media in hope of making rod settle. In my mind hibs are the only blameless party in this and are right to hold out for the fee that CC put his name to when he signed for us.
I understand that point of view, but nevertheless it assumes that getting our pound of flesh is the priority. It might be only fair and it might be right but delay makes the new managers task even harder, or so I would have thought. The effect on ST take up is hard to judge, as it has generated plenty of publicity, but the uncertainty has possibly been bad for sales. The point I was trying to make is we are willing to spend money in paying off contracts ( I assume) when it is for the good of the playing side of the business, but suddenly we won't accept a reduced offer of compensation to do the same. Of course, it depends on the size of the figures invoved.
12-07-2011, 05:27 PM
And where has most of the speculation appeared from.....................:rolleyes:
12-07-2011, 05:47 PM
And where has most of the speculation appeared from.....................:rolleyes:
Well... obviously!:no way::tee hee::fibber:
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 07:11 PM
I understand that point of view, but nevertheless it assumes that getting our pound of flesh is the priority. It might be only fair and it might be right but delay makes the new managers task even harder, or so I would have thought. The effect on ST take up is hard to judge, as it has generated plenty of publicity, but the uncertainty has possibly been bad for sales. The point I was trying to make is we are willing to spend money in paying off contracts ( I assume) when it is for the good of the playing side of the business, but suddenly we won't accept a reduced offer of compensation to do the same. Of course, it depends on the size of the figures invoved.
I think this falls apart if Hibs are genuinely trying to keep a hold of CC. What if the board are not planning for a new manager? Perhaps they have someone in mind as a contingency but I doubt things will have progressed much further than that. Without knowing what the number is that Hibs would accept, what was written into the contract, how desperately CC wants away, how desperate Hibs are to keep CC, how much has really been offered, how desperate other clubs are to sign him, etc.......well, without knowing that we don't really know anything.....
Expecting Rain
12-07-2011, 07:29 PM
Colin Calderwood must realise that the Hibs job is tougher than it appears, the difficulties being in the financial and time restraints, it would be easy to walk away, i think he incorporated a terrible situation when taking over and rescued Hibs in trying circumstances, he`s still on a hiding to nothing with the present squad, i wouldn`t blame him for going or thinking of going, he`d be brave to stay on and enhance his reputation amongst many if he saw the job through.
darwenhibby
12-07-2011, 07:32 PM
Wish it would get sorted one way or the other.
12-07-2011, 08:02 PM
There is only one FACT.An English club telephoned Hibs to ask if they could speak to our manager with a view to him joining them. They were told no.
12-07-2011, 08:09 PM
I think this falls apart if Hibs are genuinely trying to keep a hold of CC. What if the board are not planning for a new manager? Perhaps they have someone in mind as a contingency but I doubt things will have progressed much further than that. Without knowing what the number is that Hibs would accept, what was written into the contract, how desperately CC wants away, how desperate Hibs are to keep CC, how much has really been offered, how desperate other clubs are to sign him, etc.......well, without knowing that we don't really know anything.....
We know CC wants away, we know 2 clubs are after him, we know RP wants as much cash as possible. We know it's only a matter of time until he's gone.
Why the need for quotes/facts/evidence when it's staring you in the face?!
And yet no need for any facts or evidence to 'prove' that everything is working away as should be behind the scenes. It's a message board not a courtroom ;)
12-07-2011, 08:11 PM
Wish it would get sorted one way or the other.
Drama Queen:)
12-07-2011, 08:18 PM
It's a message board not a courtroom ;)
12-07-2011, 08:34 PM
We know CC wants away, we know 2 clubs are after him, we know RP wants as much cash as possible. We know it's only a matter of time until he's gone.
And yet no need for any facts or evidence to 'prove' that everything is working away as should be behind the scenes. It's a message board not a courtroom ;)
It is a message board but, to be fair, we know nothing of the sort. Different people THINK they know which is different thing. All the things you said we know all have a get out so even if nothing happens "we" will still be able to claim all the assumptions you stated that we know, will continue to be passed as fact.
12-07-2011, 08:39 PM
Maybe it's just me but that does seem extremely erm, vague... :dunno:
Its not you.
This is now the dictionary definition of the term "vague"
HibsMax
12-07-2011, 09:16 PM
Do we? Here's how I see things:
We know that CC would entertain a move elsewhere.
We know two clubs are after him but we don't know how much they want him. If they really wanted him then they wouldn't be pinching pennies, especially not Brum who have been reported as getting in the region of 3mm for GJP (but I don't know how accurate those reports are).
We don't know that RP wants rid of CC but I think it's safe to assume that if the right offer came in, he would be gone.
If you are happy making judgments based on the speculation that is staring you in the face then that's your decision. Everyone is different. Some people just need to overhear something in a bar and they're convinced it's fact. I personally need a little more than that.
No sure what your point is here? I am not trying to tell anyone that things are A-OK behind the scenes. I do think that the pre-season has been affected but I don't think it's as bad as other people do with the exception of the "adding new players to the team". I feel that has to be addressed. The players are still training. They're winning matches. I know that will not impress some people no here but can you imagine some of the posts if we had lost to Berwick or East Fife? Did you see some of the posts when we were 1-0 down to East Fife? I think the team is threadbare but they guys we do have are getting on with the task at hand - preparing for next season. I've seen proof, the highlights on Hibs TV.
I know it's a message board but that doesn't mean that I should just abandon logic so I fit in. The speculation may be right. It might be 100% accurate. Personally speaking I base my opinion on things that I think are solid. If there is one thing this whole debacle has proved to us, nothing about it is solid. One example - apparently NF is the only place CC wants to be, yet Brum are saying he wants to be there too. He can't occupy two managerial posts, assistant or otherwise, at more than one club so it's clear that this is not clear. Clear? :wink:
12-07-2011, 09:32 PM
120 pages and we're STILL no further forward!!!!
:dizzy:
12-07-2011, 09:33 PM
The way I see it absolutely nothing has changed since this time yesterday bar a bit of good old red top sensationalism.
Birmingham have agreed a settlement with Villa and have received an undisclosed large sum of cash (pretty much expected) and the Mirror have indulged in some idle speculation as to the possible consequences re Calderwood.
I don't place much faith in the Mirror's glib 350K prediction for a settlement - unless of course they've got CC's phone tapped as suggested by Dashing Bob :greengrin) - if there was only 50K in it they'd have stumped up weeks ago surely.
12-07-2011, 09:35 PM
He can't occupy two managerial posts, assistant or otherwise, at more than one club so it's clear that this is not clear. Clear? :wink:
Och, now you've just gone and got me all muddled up with that sentance!
I wish CC would just go now and then everything would be, er, chrystal :wink:
12-07-2011, 10:43 PM
He can't occupy two managerial posts, assistant or otherwise, at more than one club so it's clear that this is not clear. Clear? :wink:
It's clear that he'll be jobsharing, mornings in Brimmingum and afternoons in Nottingum. :agree:
Or possibly the other way round. Whatever allows him to spend more time with his family/bit on the side. :hmmm:
12-07-2011, 11:11 PM
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Blues-will-test-Petrie39s-resolve.6800515.jp
12-07-2011, 11:18 PM
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Blues-will-test-Petrie39s-resolve.6800515.jp
£400k now. So was £350k not enough :confused:
RP should just stick CC on eBay with a buy it now amount and get this farce sorted once and for all :bitchy:
12-07-2011, 11:24 PM
RP should just stick CC on eBay with a buy it now amount and get this farce sorted once and for all :bitchy:
He'd nail them for P & P too :greengrin
12-07-2011, 11:26 PM
He'd nail them for P & P too :greengrin
12-07-2011, 11:28 PM
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Blues-will-test-Petrie39s-resolve.6800515.jpand so it drags on :yawn: :zzzzz!:.....
13-07-2011, 12:00 AM
and so it drags on :yawn: :zzzzz!:.....night night big Jamie, dont be dreaming of lambs or yams:wink:
13-07-2011, 12:07 AM
and so it drags on :yawn: :zzzzz!:.....
:agree: I don't think there's too much point in reading much into these reports. The Mirror had Birmingham having agreed a fee, while the Scotsman is reporting that they're about to bid.
I don't know how much of this is pure guesswork on the press's part, but so far we've had CC definitely going to Forest, definitely going to Birmingham, then Forest, then staying, then Birmingham.
I don't think the papers have got a scooby what the situation is.:rolleyes:
CapitalHibs
13-07-2011, 12:13 AM
:woohoo:They blinked!
Well done, the Tache:not worth
Now, Forest - Do I hear 450?
13-07-2011, 01:35 AM
"Birmingham's two Scottish coaches, Peter Grant and Andy Watson, have both quit the club.
Grant has linked up again with McLeish at Villa while Watson is negotiating a settlement of his Blues contract. "
If this from the Scotsman is true - I can really see CC leaving sooner rather than later and 100% before the start of the SPL season :agree:
Hibs are doing nothing wrong here. Petrie wants to keep Calderwood and it appears so do the players and majority of fans. Calderwood is happy to stay if he's wanted. Cool, no probs. Unless a club comes in with a ridiculous offer CC is our manager. Nothing to see here, move away from the area.
13-07-2011, 05:16 AM
Hibs are doing nothing wrong here. Petrie wants to keep Calderwood and it appears so do the players and majority of fans. Calderwood is happy to stay if he's wanted. Cool, no probs. Unless a club comes in with a ridiculous offer CC is our manager. Nothing to see here, move away from the area.
OH NO!!!!
You have just guaranteed another ten pages of debate as to the actual number of fans who want him to stay/leave :wink:
13-07-2011, 05:34 AM
:agree: I don't think there's too much point in reading much into these reports. The Mirror had Birmingham having agreed a fee, while the Scotsman is reporting that they're about to bid.
I don't know how much of this is pure guesswork on the press's part, but so far we've had CC definitely going to Forest, definitely going to Birmingham, then Forest, then staying, then Birmingham.
I don't think the papers have got a scooby what the situation is.:rolleyes:
Remember Yes Prime Minister when the Scottish nurse was being held in jail for possessing a bottle of whisky.
Appleby: Tomorrow the Foreign office will lodge a formal complaint with the Qumranis !
PM: Why can't they do it today?
Appleby: We haven't had their agreement yet !
13-07-2011, 06:48 AM
13-07-2011, 07:13 AM
I do have a feeling that if the situation was reversed your view would still be "as being all down to Hibs".
If Hibs were pursuing CC from his post at Brum or Forest I am confident Hibs would be getting it tight for for not being willing to pay the money
The reality is that only Forest have made an approach. Shteve made a statement about trying to get CC "out of there" and that Forest was the only place he wanted to be. HIbs responded with a formal statement and that, as they say, is that.
Anything else, as CC says, has not come from "us".
Every time you pick up a paper there is another variation on the saga all masquerading as fact when it is no more than gossip. He may well go but whenever he does and wherever he goes there will be folk on here able to claim "I told you so". Because some have all the bases covered.
13-07-2011, 07:24 AM
Dont agree with you to be honest. I dont think calderwood is happy to stay, he wants away. From the people I have spoke to he does want away, any of the comments calderwood has said recently will just be talk, probably at Petries request. If calderwood was happy to stay at hibs over Birmingham and Forest, he would simply have to come out and say that no matter how much compensation there is I dont want to go to either of those clubs.
He mentioned in an interview that basically whether he was staying or going was down to Petrie, if you were happy where you were why would you be waiting on whether the chairman agrees compo?
As for hibs doing nothing wrong, I dont agree. We are in danger of alienating a lot of fans here. Having a manager that would rather be closer to his family and will always have continual questions over his commitment as staying at hibs or not will not be his decisions. Last thing as well, we are at a stage where we could accept 300K for him, if this season doesnt start well and we have to pay to get rid of a managerhow will that go down?
For the record, I think CC is decent and from my sources his reasons for wanting to go closer to his family are just. I just dont want to start a season with a manager that would rather be elsewhere and possibly not be fully committed.
down the slope
13-07-2011, 07:48 AM
Just over a week to go and still nothing resolved, only at the Hibs !, i was looking back at some press releases by Petrie when other managers were leaving and he was saying the exact things then as he is now and the end result was always the same-the managers left when the cash was right. During the trawl i came across this from earlier in the year which i missed somehow and maybe it will give you an insight as to why managers might want to bail out.
http://blogs.dailyrecord.co.uk/gordonwaddell/2011/01/ruling-with-rod-of-iron.html
TrickyNicky
13-07-2011, 07:59 AM
Just over a week to go and still nothing resolved, only at the Hibs !, i was looking back at some press releases by Petrie when other managers were leaving and he was saying the exact things then as he is now and the end result was always the same-the managers left when the cash was right. During the trawl i came across this from earlier in the year which i missed somehow and maybe it will give you an insight as to why managers might want to bail out.
http://blogs.dailyrecord.co.uk/gordonwaddell/2011/01/ruling-with-rod-of-iron.html
Aaaaw naw, what have you gone and done that for?:stirrer:
Thomson
13-07-2011, 08:06 AM
This shall be a fun day :wink:
13-07-2011, 08:19 AM
:agree: Bloody mess! Only at Hibs :grr:
13-07-2011, 08:23 AM
Aaaaw naw, what have you gone and done that for?:stirrer:
The thing is, why do a lot of folk not think that Petrie could be/is the real issue :dunno:
Hibby D
13-07-2011, 08:30 AM
120 pages and we're STILL no further forward!!!!
:dizzy:
Real hibs.net fitba' folk know it's only 36!!!! :wink:
Yep, pretty much sums up most of the problems at ER, RP has too much say and control of team matters and undermines the manager, I think we all guessed this months ago.
The thing is, why do a lot of folk not think that Petrie could be/is the real issue :dunno:
Well it's great that RP has looked after or finances to such a good level and that but when it comes to tam matters, well maybe he's getting too involved and undermining the manager now, do you really think Sproule and GOC were CC's signings or done by Petrie to sell extra season tickets, you figure.
13-07-2011, 08:34 AM
I think everyone realizes that he could be the issue, and i'd be surprised if anyone was completely ruling out that possibility.
I can't speak for anyone else but I look at what he is responsible for, what he delivers, and what he does with the limited cash we have. To be honest, I think he has in general delivered what he should be expected to, give or take. Maybe he's not a great man-manager, yet each manager we have had has insisted they got on fine with him, maybe with the exception of collins.
IMHO, Petrie's too easy a target for some, including journalists, who paint him as a cartoon villain safe in the position of never having the responsibility of running a football club. It's easy to moan about lack of spending on the team when you're not the one having to balance the books at the end of the day.
13-07-2011, 08:34 AM
He's not said anything thats been argued about on here a million times before. People will blame the chairman or board no matter who we have in charge, its just the sad nature of football fans we are never happy and always want more. I would rather have Rod in charge than some foreign maniac like vlad or the pompey guy.
13-07-2011, 08:38 AM
Well it's great that RP has looked after or finances to such a good level and that but when it comes to tam matters, well maybe he's getting too involved and undermining the manager now, do you really think Sproule and GOC were CC's signings or done by Petrie to sell extra season tickets, you figure.
I've already figured :wink:
I can't see us ever progressing ON the park while the current regime is in place.
13-07-2011, 08:40 AM
Real hibs.net fitba' folk know it's only 36!!!! :wink:
37 :wink:
13-07-2011, 08:41 AM
Ask yourself this: Who would YOU pick in a fight right now between them and Hamilton? The team who have seen off all comers in a scrap for the last two years, whose 3-6-1 has proved a pain in the a*** to play against - or the team who think they're too good to drop?
Errr...Calderwood's Hibs, Gordon.
With that article, Gordon Waddell only proves that he reads Hibs.net most days.
I do agree with him that we should never have got rid of Collins, Mixu or Hughes though. I said it at the time.
13-07-2011, 08:48 AM
I don't think this is just about CC
I think we'd all agree we don't want this position to aris again or at least forewarn clubs, agents and managers.
This is a unique opp for CC pretty much said so himself
Chance to rebuild from scratch and he was seemingly backed.
If Hibs were to say given this scenario and the little time he's been at the club that we will just allow you to walk away what sort of message would that sent out? Wed just be brining more grief our way in the long term.
In short I don't think there were a lot of good options for the board here. And there seems to be a lot of mischief making going on given that little has actually been done in a formal sense
13-07-2011, 08:51 AM
He's not said anything thats been argued about on here a million times before. People will blame the chairman or board no matter who we have in charge, its just the sad nature of football fans we are never happy and always want more. I would rather have Rod in charge than some foreign maniac like vlad or the pompey guy.
It was in the Daily Record and we love everything they print in there.
My Petrie Out banner is ready. :soapbox:
13-07-2011, 08:52 AM
Agree totally with all you say !!
Where do people think the revenue,sponsorship etc is coming from to support a major increase in spending ?
If I was investing my savings in a company I would choose one where my investment was "safe" .
We went through this with Duff & Gray where a lot of us lost money .
That speculation didn't work as was with Leeds, Portsmouth et al
13-07-2011, 08:53 AM
I think everyone realizes that he could be the issue, and i'd be surprised if anyone was completely ruling out that possibility.
I can't speak for anyone else but I look at what he is responsible for, what he delivers, and what he does with the limited cash we have. To be honest, I think he has in general delivered what he should be expected to, give or take. Maybe he's not a great man-manager, yet each manager we have had has insisted they got on fine with him, maybe with the exception of collins.
IMHO, Petrie's too easy a target for some, including journalists, who paint him as a cartoon villain safe in the position of never having the responsibility of running a football club. It's easy to moan about lack of spending on the team when you're not the one having to balance the books at the end of the day.
So as a support are we resigned to settle for mediocrity because the consequences of change are too risky?
I think we focus too much on what is delivered off the park. We are a football club and success for me is measured on the park not in boardrooms or accounts.
Dr Jimmy
13-07-2011, 09:00 AM
So as a support are we resigned to settle for mediocrity because the consequences of change are too risky?
I think we focus too much on what is delivered off the park. We are a football club and success for me is measured on the park not in boardrooms or accounts.
Couldn't agree more and I believe one of the reasons we have become obsessed with our accounts is because Hearts are in a mess and it is a stick we can hit them with. Personally I would prefer we actually beat them on the park on a regular basis.
13-07-2011, 09:12 AM
I don't think any one of us accepts mediocrity. Until this situation with the manager came about I thought we were finally going to embark on a period of being fully focussed on the team. Actually, I still do. In the great scheme of things I think we may well look back and see this as a blip rather than a full scale descent in to chaos.
13-07-2011, 09:16 AM
Couldn't agree more and I believe one of the reasons we have become obsessed with our accounts is because Hearts are in a mess and it is a stick we can hit them with. Personally I would prefer we actually beat them on the park on a regular basis.But the accounts stuff is inextricably linked to what happens on the park. Hearts wage bill is approximately double what we spend - and in football, the money you spend has an impact on the quality on the park. Hearts can't afford to spend what they do, which is the source of much frustration on here. They are building up problems for themselves, but as long as they spend £9m on wages they will be able to afford better players than we do. Which is why you can't separate what goes on off the pitch.
13-07-2011, 09:18 AM
We all like the fact that Hibs are well run. Great stadium and training center but what we all want is a winning team. We have been patient as the club has been rebuilt but I like most fans are sick of waiting for success on the pitch. Season ticket sales are down and there is a lot of despondency about the club. If we don't get off to a good start in the league the crowds will drop below 9000 . Hibs are at a cross roads. Invest and grow or stand still and whither
13-07-2011, 09:24 AM
The article is dated Jan 30th.
13-07-2011, 09:31 AM
The article is dated Jan 30th.
Wow!
Niffy
13-07-2011, 09:32 AM
We've been at a cross roads for about 5 years... going 5 yards one way , coming back, trying another... getting the map out.... having a sandwich... deciding what way to go... stalling again.... and then going back to where we started.
13-07-2011, 09:32 AM
We all like the fact that Hibs are well run. Great stadium and training center but what we all want is a winning team. We have been patient as the club has been rebuilt but I like most fans are sick of waiting for success on the pitch. Season ticket sales are down and there is a lot of despondency about the club. If we don't get off to a good start in the league the crowds will drop below 9000 . Hibs are at a cross roads. Invest and grow or stand still and whither
"We're already making a trading loss, where will this extra funding loss come from" (c) etc
13-07-2011, 09:40 AM
I don't think any one of us accepts mediocrity. Until this situation with the manager came about I thought we were finally going to embark on a period of being fully focussed on the team. Actually, I still do. In the great scheme of things I think we may well look back and see this as a blip rather than a full scale descent in to chaos.
I hope you are correct but in any case if you need someone to hold the other end of your banner just gimme a shout :thumbsup:
13-07-2011, 09:51 AM
Farmer dosent think so but Gordon Waddell does? So lets go with what Waddell said in January and dig it up now. I esecially like the part where he says we're "doomed". Thats the best bit.
13-07-2011, 10:06 AM
Yep, pretty much sums up most of the problems at ER, RP has too much say and control of team matters and undermines the manager, I think we all guessed this months ago.
Rubbish. The article is at best ill-informed, and at worst a bitter personal attack.
RP may well have his faults but if you honestly think that he is doing what the article is suggesting then I'm afraid you've taken the bait and Mr Waddell can reel you in.
13-07-2011, 10:08 AM
Farmer dosent think so but Gordon Waddell does? So lets go with what Waddell said in January and dig it up now. I esecially like the part where he says we're "doomed". Thats the best bit.
He actually wrote '......Because right now, they have the air of a team who are doomed.'
And back then I, like many others agreed with that.
But hey let's twist his words now to make us feel a bit better.
13-07-2011, 10:22 AM
Invest and grow or stand still and whither
I hear what you're saying Kev, but I'm always confused by this word "invest" in a football context. I can't see how it's ever an investment, it's a debt that ultimately someone needs to be liable for. When I see "invest" what I'm actually hearing is "put a big wad of your hard earned cash into the team so we can see some success". If supporters aren't doing this in their thousands why should owners or board members?
13-07-2011, 10:27 AM
He actually wrote '......Because right now, they have the air of a team who are doomed.'
You did. And we werent. But lets not let fact get in the way of negative spin.
Thomson
13-07-2011, 10:28 AM
Purehibee_MYB
13-07-2011, 10:29 AM
Is this saga seriously still going on?
I mean seriously?
13-07-2011, 10:34 AM
And we're doomed again? Right?
13-07-2011, 10:53 AM
Personally i dont think we will ever be doomed under Petrie ans STF's ownership. I actually think if they could get the right manager we should punch our weight, perhaps even above it sometimes.
Everything is in place, and we shouldn't panic because we had a 10th place finish, but we really need the right manager, and i obviously dont rate this one. And i dont trust those in charge to appoint one now, should we finally get rid of the present incumbent.
13-07-2011, 10:59 AM
Mmm......Dundee United, with no income from Conway, Bauben and Gomis, no completed stadium, large debt and no training academy centre. Hearts, in unrivalled debt compared to size of club, no club owned training centre, selling and losing big earners and replacing with SPL players, stadium a mess and one which they really have to sell. Motherwell, been in administration, low attendances, no training centre, an incomplete stadium. Killie, lovely wee stadium, large debt, not getting top dollar for half their most successful team in a while.......the Hibs board get criticism when it's due from me, but it is always rational and constructive. IMHO I don't think we appreciate fully our board, and the work they have done the last 10 years. I don't think we could be in safer hands if I am being honest. Other owners/chairmen consistently praise Hibs and RP. Yet in our typical Hibs way, we see the negatives way before the huge positives.
Complete stadium, in our spiritual home. Lovely training centre. Youth team that has won a league and cup, with players coming through now from the youth sides who are real gems. Manageable debt. Retained SPL status. Players getting brought to the club who have decent pedigree and within budget. Aye, the Hibs job, if CC goes, isn't an attractive one right enough. Rod and the board have made it really unappealing eh.
Time for fans to see the real value of Rod in my opinion. Far too easy to criticise, however the very tangible things we see around Hibs, the infrastructure, the assets, the financial control, and for me the professionalism, are and will be the envy of nearly every other football club in Scotland. And that's the truth.
yekimevol
13-07-2011, 11:20 AM
scotsman reporting an offer of 400K for caldo.
abgreen
13-07-2011, 11:21 AM
Mmm......Dundee United, with no income from Conway, Bauben and Gomis, no completed stadium, large debt and no training academy centre. Hearts, in unrivalled debt compared to size of club, no club owned training centre, selling and losing big earners and replacing with SPL players, stadium a mess and one which they really have to sell. Motherwell, been in administration, low attendances, no training centre, an incomplete stadium. Killie, lovely wee stadium, large debt, not getting top dollar for half their most successful team in a while.......the Hibs board get criticism when it's due from me, but it is always rational and constructive. IMHO I don't think we appreciate fully our board, and the work they have done the last 10 years. I don't think we could be in safer hands if I am being honest. Other owners/chairmen consistently praise Hibs and RP. Yet in our typical Hibs way, we see the negatives way before the huge positives.
Complete stadium, in our spiritual home. Lovely training centre. Youth team that has won a league and cup, with players coming through now from the youth sides who are real gems. Manageable debt. Retained SPL status. Players getting brought to the club who have decent pedigree and within budget. Aye, the Hibs job, if CC goes, isn't an attractive one right enough. Rod and the board have made it really unappealing eh.
Time for fans to see the real value of Rod in my opinion. Far too easy to criticise, however the very tangible things we see around Hibs, the infrastructure, the assets, the financial control, and for me the professionalism, are and will be the envy of nearly every other football club in Scotland. And that's the truth.
Best post this year.
13-07-2011, 11:31 AM
scotsman reporting an offer of 400K for caldo.
Sounds a bit speculative to me ..."look set to" doesn't mean have done so. It is the same story from the Sun regurgitated, no new information.
Baker9
13-07-2011, 11:33 AM
Excellent, well balanced view which until recently I would have agreed with wholeheartedly. If we keep Calderwood for the term of his contract I will still agree with what you have written.
We have been run by an accountant for a decade now and he has done his bit brilliantly. The accountant is now trying to be a football expert and in danger of failing badly. I do not believe for a minute that Calderwood ever intended to leave us before his contract was up and something fundamentally has gone wrong behind the scenes.
If I recall rightly a statement was made by the club some months ago that our CEO would be operating out of East Mains - extraordinary!
new malkyhib
13-07-2011, 11:33 AM
Except ON the park though eh? Where last season we were the "envy" of only 2 other teams in the league.
Take the money and move on. :agree:
Thomson
13-07-2011, 11:41 AM
:rolleyes: Not at all. I am agreeing with the fact that when this report was released, the team we had at the time made me think we were on a dangerous path, which im sure a lot of others would agree.
Personally i dont think we will ever be doomed under Petrie ans STF's ownership. I actually think if they could get the right manager we should punch our weight, perhaps even above it sometimes.
Everything is in place, and we shouldn't panic because we had a 10th place finish, but we really need the right manager, and i obviously dont rate this one. And i dont trust those in charge to appoint one now, should we finally get rid of the present incumbent.
down the slope
13-07-2011, 11:52 AM
Which just goes to show that a good balance sheet does not make you a good football side !, every team you mentioned finished well above us and that is what most fans on here are bothered about at the end of the day.
13-07-2011, 11:56 AM
I hear what you're saying Kev, but I'm always confused by this word "invest" in a football context. I can't see how it's ever an investment, it's a debt that ultimately someone needs to be liable for. When I see "invest" what I'm actually hearing is "put a big wad of your hard earned cash into the team so we can see some success". If supporters aren't doing this in their thousands why should owners or board members?
Stop bringing commonsense into the debate. It's gets it nowhere. :na na:
13-07-2011, 12:00 PM
Which just goes to show that a good balance sheet does not make you a good football side !, every team you mentioned finished well above us and that is what most fans on here are bothered about at the end of the day.
Which club will have the brighter future in the long term? I wager it will be us given the firm foundations we now have in place.
13-07-2011, 12:06 PM
Except ON the park though eh? Where last season we were the "envy" of only 2 other teams in the league.
I was/am as disappointed as the next Hibs fan about last season malky trust me. But I was trying to outline the bigger picture, that being over the last 10 year period. Away from the football side of things, Hibs have quietly, but professionaly gone about restructuring the club, ensuring we will be here for many many years to come, and in decent, some may say attractive surroundings. The old 'Rome wasn't built in a day' adage applies, and Rod was very up front years ago stating that the plan was not short term investment, but ensuring money was well spent, accounted for, and to the benefit of the whole football club. He also outlined a strategy that was going to be followed.......not spending a pound more than we took in. We all agreed that to save and progress the club, this was the best and only philosophy to adopt.
Contrary to what other people say, I think every manager he has brought in has been backed. Name me a manager that says that they receive all the money and backing they ask for and I will show you a liar. Our accounts prove that year on year we back the team as best we can and as much as we can realistically afford. It's not Rod's fault that managers have brought in poor products. That lies solely with previous managers IMHO. It's just very easy for fans of any football club to vent their anger on the board and it's owners, that was my point. I posted recently that I was annoyed that in this CC saga, they most certainly were/are putting business before football. That's because in this unique situation (as in timing wise), I can only see a detrimental side to our football season with all this brinksmanship going on in the background. I was also critical of the lack of information which again may cause fan apathy/anger/frustration and prevent fans from wanting to buy into the club with all the uncertainty. So they are never above criticism.
On a brighter note, and despite the background shananighans, the three games I have seen this pre-season have been enjoyable to watch from a footballing perspective. The football has been on the deck, we have played with wingers and width, and we have scored some well worked goals and created numerous chances. The team looks more dynamic and less one dimensional. Not one sign of launching it, or 'hoofball' as some call it. Youth has been introduced and there is pace and speed in the side. A fair few 'bums off seats' moments with Sproule, Booth, Crawford and Galbraith using the whole pitch.
I am as frustrated with the CC thing as everyone else. But Hibs are holding firm and if there is an inevitability that CC is off, they are quite rightly trying to get the best deal for Hibs. It really isn't the board's fault that other clubs want CC and are prepared to pay for him. It's business and the fluid market of footballers and football management.
Take Dundee Utd for example. A great team to watch the last two/three seasons, but with a settled side. Do you think however Stephen Thompson would have maybe looked back and now thought accepting bids for the likes of Conway and Gomis might have given Houston more finance to take the team forward a level ? Me personally, I think United are in for a wee fall from grace this season. Flood and Rankin are nowhere near the replacements for Gomis, Bauben and Conway. Yes they will lose Goodwillie for a decent fee.........where will that money go ? Stephen has already stated he and his family will not be bankrolling the club any longer and they must cut their cloth. Other clubs are fighting for survival (Well, Killie, Hamilton, Dundee, etc). So in that sense, I am delighted where we are overall. Agreed, the football needs to improve and here's hoping it does :agree:
As I say, RP does get criticism from me when I think it is merited, however looking at his record over his tenure, you'll be hard pushed to find a more successful man at the helm, considering the finances at our club's disposal.
JohnScott
13-07-2011, 12:07 PM
I so do love these guys rushing to the defence of RP. Lets put aside all this guff about how much money he raised by selling our biggest assets, our players. The teams that bought them weren't idiots, they paid what THEY thought they were worth. As for having them to sell in the first place, that was down to the hard work of the coaching and scouting staff. The board were lucky to be in charge when we had such talent to sell in the first place. Lets see how well he does with tighter budgets at the old firm. He has to take some responsibility for the CC shambles. What has changed Calderwoods mind about the Hibs job. Why did JC and Mixu walk out on the club. These are managers Petrie signed. It's hardly a glowing testimony to his position at ER is it.
13-07-2011, 12:11 PM
I was/am as disappointed as the next Hibs fan about last season malky trust me. But I was trying to outline the bigger picture, that being over the last 10 year period. Away from the football side of things, Hibs have quietly, but professionaly gone about restructuring the club, ensuring we will be here for many many years to come, and in decent, some may say attractive surroundings. The old 'Rome wasn't built in a day' adage applies, and Rod was very up front years ago stating that the plan was not short term investment, but ensuring money was well spent, accounted for, and to the benefit of the whole football club. He also outlined a strategy that was going to be followed.......not spending a pound more than we took in. We all agreed that to save and progress the club, this was the best and only philosophy to adopt.
Contrary to what other people say, I think every manager he has brought in has been backed. Name me a manager that says that they receive all the money and backing they ask for and I will show you a liar. Our accounts prove that year on year we back the team as best we can and as much as we can realistically afford. It's not Rod's fault that managers have brought in poor products. That lies solely with previous managers IMHO. It's just very easy for fans of any football club to vent their anger on the board and it's owners, that was my point. I posted recently that I was annoyed that in this CC saga, they most certainly were/are putting business before football. That's because in this unique situation (as in timing wise), I can only see a detrimental side to our football season with all this brinksmanship going on in the background. I was also critical of the lack of information which again may cause fan apathy/anger/frustration and prevent fans from wanting to buy into the club with all the uncertainty. So they are never above criticism.
On a brighter note, and despite the background shananighans, the three games I have seen this pre-season have been enjoyable to watch from a footballing perspective. The football has been on the deck, we have played with wingers and width, and we have scored some well worked goals and created numerous chances. The team looks more dynamic and less one dimensional. Not one sign of launching it, or 'hoofball' as some call it. Youth has been introduced and there is pace and speed in the side. A fair few 'bums off seats' moments with Sproule, Booth, Crawford and Galbraith using the whole pitch.
I am as frustrated with the CC thing as everyone else. But Hibs are holding firm and if there is an inevitability that CC is off, they are quite rightly trying to get the best deal for Hibs. It really isn't the board's fault that other clubs want CC and are prepared to pay for him. It's business and the fluid market of footballers and football management.
Take Dundee Utd for example. A great team to watch the last two/three seasons, but with a settled side. Do you think however Stephen Thompson would have maybe looked back and now thought accepting bids for the likes of Conway and Gomis might have given Houston more finance to take the team forward a level ? Me personally, I think United are in for a wee fall from grace this season. Flood and Rankin are nowhere near the replacements for Gomis, Bauben and Conway. Yes they will lose Goodwillie for a decent fee.........where will that money go ? Stephen has already stated he and his family will not be bankrolling the club any longer and they must cut their cloth. Other clubs are fighting for survival (Well, Killie, Hamilton, Dundee, etc). So in that sense, I am delighted where we are overall. Agreed, the football needs to improve and here's hoping it does :agree:
As I say, RP does get criticism from me when I think it is merited, however looking at his record over his tenure, you'll be hard pushed to find a more successful man at the helm, considering the finances at our club's disposal.
13-07-2011, 12:16 PM
I do think the board are doing their job however, there are to many unanswered questions for my liking - as the previous poster stated re JC & Mixu.
I want to know how much RP is involved in the day-to-day running of the first team and were his job ends in terms of finance and/or alleged interference with team matters. Is there supposed to be a crossover?
Things are not quite right down ER and EM, the sooner the are fixed the better. However, sometimes a root and branch clearance is the only way to proceed...
13-07-2011, 12:20 PM
I so do love these guys rushing to the defence of RP. Lets put aside all this guff about how much money he raised by selling our biggest assets, our players. The teams that bought them weren't idiots, they paid what THEY thought they were worth. As for having them to sell in the first place, that was down to the hard work of the coaching and scouting staff. The board were lucky to be in charge when we had such talent to sell in the first place. Lets see how well he does with tighter budgets at the old firm. He has to take some responsibility for the CC shambles. What has changed Calderwoods mind about the Hibs job. Why did JC and Mixu walk out on the club. These are managers Petrie signed. It's hardly a glowing testimony to his position at ER is it.
I'm not rushing to the defence of anyone i'm just calling it as i see it. How can you say in one sentance it was down to hard work of the coaching staff (doing their jobs), and in another saying it was lucky? I also dont know how you can say "Mixu" walked, it was more the fans were wanting him out as they thought he was "Mixup", yeah that phrase did actually get used to refer him by. but yeah, ignoring the 2 good posts by truhibernian the cup win, Europe and the consistant top 6 finishes (apart from the season just passed). Yeah its been pretty pish under RP :rolleyes:
13-07-2011, 12:29 PM
I do think the board are doing their job however, there are to many unanswered questions for my liking - as the previous poster stated re JC & Mixu.
I want to know how much RP is involved in the day-to-day running of the first team and were his job ends in terms of finance and/or alleged interference with team matters. Is there supposed to be a crossover?
Things are not quite right down ER and EM, the sooner the are fixed the better. However, sometimes a root and branch clearance is the only way to proceed...
JC got plenty backing from the board. He brought in crap players, couldn't man manage, went on a poor run of results, didn't need the job/money/hassle and he shot the crow. Apart from a few unspectacular months in Belgium he hasn't had a management job since. How is that Petrie's fault?
Mixu was also well backed by the board, had us playing some very confusing football (not helped by JC's legacy) and was massacred by the vast majority of the support. Petrie's fault?
We're going into a new season with a new look team - how do you know that things aren't right at ER/EM?
Calderwood, despite the uncertainty over his future has said that it's a great place to be. I've heard/read nothing from the players, former or current, that suggests that there's some deep rooted problem.
I suppose you know better...
Baker9
13-07-2011, 12:34 PM
Which club will have the brighter future in the long term? I wager it will be us given the firm foundations we now have in place.
I am patient, optimistic, definitely a happy clapper, and have supported all manager appointments and applauded every board decision for years and years and years. How long is 'the long term'? When do we have a team that isn't 'in transition'? I'm putting a tenner on firm foundations to win the cup this year.
13-07-2011, 12:35 PM
I am patient, optimistic, definitely a happy clapper, and have supported all manager appointments and applauded every board decision for years and years and years. How long is 'the long term'? When do we have a team that isn't 'in transition'? I'm putting a tenner on firm foundations to win the cup this year.
How soon is now?:greengrin
13-07-2011, 12:42 PM
JC got plenty backing from the board. He brought in crap players, couldn't man manage, went on a poor run of results, didn't need the job/money/hassle and he shot the crow. Apart from a few unspectacular months in Belgium he hasn't had a management job since. How is that Petrie's fault?
Mixu was also well backed by the board, had us playing some very confusing football (not helped by JC's legacy) and was massacred by the vast majority of the support. Petrie's fault?
We're going into a new season with a new look team - how do you know that things aren't right at ER/EM?
Calderwood, despite the uncertainty over his future has said that it's a great place to be. I've heard/read nothing from the players, former or current, that suggests that there's some deep rooted problem.
I suppose you know better...
Change the word 'are to seem' in the sentence about ER and EM. However I never once stated I knew better but if you do?? Please feel free to enlighten me and change my thoughts!
13-07-2011, 12:55 PM
Hopefully very soon.
:whistle: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_U5HpeA_WSo
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 12:59 PM
and you can support Hearts when the team goes into administration.
Perhaps that's extreme but the point is that the two are very tightly coupled. The fans want success on the park but let's face it, it's usually the clubs that are more successful off the park that are consistently challenging on the park.
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 01:00 PM
Couldn't agree more and I believe one of the reasons we have become obsessed with our accounts is because Hearts are in a mess and it is a stick we can hit them with. Personally I would prefer we actually beat them on the park on a regular basis.
Who is obsessed with the accounts? I don't think people having a healthy respect for money should be confused as an obsession.
13-07-2011, 01:02 PM
Change the word 'are to seem' in the sentence about ER and EM. However I never once stated I knew better but if you do?? Please feel free to enlighten me and change my thoughts!
It's easy.
Ignore the hysterical guff that's posted on message boards and only pay attention to hard facts, official statements and direct quotes.
Mowbray had us playing some great stuff with some great players, however we weren't on a great run toward the end of his tenure. JC came in, did well to win us the league cup, but the rot had already started to set in. He filled the squad with some of the worst players I can remember and subsequent managers have struggled to turn things around, ie. produce a decent, consistent team.
The number of players out of contract this summer (for whatever reason) has meant that CC has been able to start almost from scratch, his aim being to replace quantity with quality. Why not wait and see what happens before lloing for any mysterious problems?
13-07-2011, 01:03 PM
Ask him at the next AGM. It's relatively soon.
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 01:08 PM
I do not believe for a minute that Calderwood ever intended to leave us before his contract was up and something fundamentally has gone wrong behind the scenes.
I am guessing that if CC could choose between Notts Forest, Brum and Hibs last October............Hibs would have been his last option. I don't know if things changed behind the scenes (as in behind closed doors at ER) but TWO job opportunities opening up in England caught his attention. If those posts didn't open up, if those clubs didn't come calling, I doubt this thread would even exist.
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 01:14 PM
Agreed, it doesn't necessarily translate to good football but let's not fool ourselves. We might be in a better financial state than other clubs in the SPL but we are still not in a great position e.g., being able to invest in players, etc.
Anything can happen over a season or two but financial stability should give us longer term consistency. What I mean by that is a team could invest heavily on the team while accruing substantial debt. That debt will catch up to them unless some moneybags steps in. I think that short term success should not be bought using long term debt. Slow and steady wins the race but this is a race with no finish line. Perhaps us enduring this relatively crappy period in our club's history is what is required to make us an exciting team for the future? But fans don't typically care about that, they don't care about success 50 years ago or success in 50 years. We want success now!
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 01:19 PM
My guess is unexpected interest from Notts Forest and Birmingham.
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 01:22 PM
I would like to know that too. We need a disgruntled ex-manager to come out and spill the beans. :)
And you really think he will answer than Mikey?
Probably just refer you to page 17 of the 2001 accounts or something. :greengrin
CapitalHibs
13-07-2011, 01:25 PM
Maybe it was his wife who changed his mind:dunno:
13-07-2011, 01:25 PM
Excellent point, do you know when it is?
darwenhibby
13-07-2011, 01:41 PM
i just wish it would get sorted on way or the other:rolleyes:
Baker9
13-07-2011, 01:44 PM
Probably about 5 seasons before long term.:greengrin
13-07-2011, 01:48 PM
The thing is, why do a lot of folk not think that Petrie could be/is the real issue :dunno:I do, I firmly believe that he is the biggest problem.
I've already figured :wink:
I can't see us ever progressing ON the park while the current regime is in place.Neither can I
I think we focus too much on what is delivered off the park. We are a football club and success for me is measured on the park not in boardrooms or accounts.:agree:
It will also be measured by the number of folk that want tae pay tae watch what is on offer and that has been on the way down for years and is still on the way down.
Baker9
13-07-2011, 01:50 PM
I am guessing that if CC could choose between Notts Forest, Brum and Hibs last October............Hibs would have been his last option. I don't know if things changed behind the scenes (as in behind closed doors at ER) but TWO job opportunities opening up in England caught his attention. If those posts didn't open up, if those clubs didn't come calling, I doubt this thread would even exist.
I have maybe got the guy completely wrong but he strikes me as someone who, having made the decision, would stick by it and honour it. He perhaps feels some behind the scenes justification for bailing out.
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 02:25 PM
I have maybe got the guy completely wrong but he strikes me as someone who, having made the decision, would stick by it and honour it. He perhaps feels some behind the scenes justification for bailing out.
I think this is difficult situation for him. I believe that when he took the Hibs job that he was fully committed to it. It could be the draw of working with SM or CH that is keeping him awake at night. Perhaps these two other opportunities are exactly what he was wanting but since neither were around at the time he took the job with Hibs, not knowing that a few months later his dream job would be available?
Dream job : I'm not going to get into a discussion about whether being an assistant in the Championship is better than being the manager in the SPL because that's totally subjective and depends on what your long-term goals are.
I'm not saying that something hasn't happened behind the scenes but I have read nothing to suggest that anything has happened.
At what point do we stop becoming a transitional team and when do the accounts have to be in such a good order so as we can invest in decent quality players again instead of scraping around for free agents and on loan EPL reserve players.
13-07-2011, 02:37 PM
At what point do we stop becoming a transitional team and when do the accounts have to be in such a good order so as we can invest in decent quality players again instead of scraping around for free agents and on loan EPL reserve players.
Football has changed. Players will come and go in short order and we will never be keeping players that have actually shown they are able to play at a decent level.
We will invest in players within our budget. Are you really waiting for a day that we spend significant fees as that's never going to happen no matter what order the accounts are in.
We will budget to spend a quid less than we get in as ever.
We simply need to get a manager in at some stage that can manage the p,ayers he has and identify decent ones in our budget.
The budget has been good enough to get the likes of Stokes, Miller, O'Connor, Benji, Murphy, Boozy, Sproule, Zemmama, Jones etc etc.
Teams spending less than us are doing better on the park. It's not about the finances.
13-07-2011, 02:47 PM
The concern has to be that the events of the last few years have seen us spiralling downwards. I presume that ST sales this season will be the worst for many a season and the main reason for that has to be the turmoil the club has gone through with managers and players over the past few seasons. I am sure we have a real hard core support that would still buy a ST despite all the mess we have witnessed but there won't be enough hard core to justify the kind of players we have all grown to expect. It could be that CC doesn't have all that much of a budget due to falling ST sales and compensation money (if it comes) could come in handy for a new manager to help build a team. RP will have to produce some magic if we are ever to get back to the best days of Mowbray and McLeish (they seem like halcion days now).
CapitalHibs
13-07-2011, 02:48 PM
Filling the Stadium for every home game would be a start.
Football has changed. Players will come and go in short order and we will never be keeping players that have actually shown they are able to play at a decent level.
We will invest in players within our budget. Are you really waiting for a day that we spend significant fees as that's never going to happen no matter what order the accounts are in.
We simply need to get a manager in at some stage that can manage the p,ayers he has and identify decent ones in our budget.
The budget has been good enough to get the likes of Stokes, Miller, O'Connor, Benji, Murphy, Boozy, Sproule, Zemmama, Jones etc etc.
Teams spending less than us are doing better on the park. It's not about the finances.
So the board have made continual bad choices for team manager over a number of years then?
Baker9
13-07-2011, 02:51 PM
I think this is difficult situation for him. I believe that when he took the Hibs job that he was fully committed to it. It could be the draw of working with SM or CH that is keeping him awake at night. Perhaps these two other opportunities are exactly what he was wanting but since neither were around at the time he took the job with Hibs, not knowing that a few months later his dream job would be available?
Dream job : I'm not going to get into a discussion about whether being an assistant in the Championship is better than being the manager in the SPL because that's totally subjective and depends on what your long-term goals are.
I'm not saying that something hasn't happened behind the scenes but I have read nothing to suggest that anything has happened.
I hope that he didn't think of his dream job as 'anywhere away from Petrie'.
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 02:56 PM
In my opinion we have now reached that stage. I was really hoping that CC was going to be the man to take us forward but who knows what will happen now? Training facilities - check
Complete Stadium - check
ever-popular manageable debt - check
Next stage = football team.
13-07-2011, 03:02 PM
In my opinion we have now reached that stage. I was really hoping that CC was going to be the man to take us forward but who knows what will happen now? Training facilities - check
Complete Stadium - check
ever-popular manageable debt - check
Next stage = football team.
:agree:Thats my theory too Max. Keep Caldo and I reckon we can do something. Also, not quite sure about this downward spiral thing. I reckon Swansea or Wimbledon could tell us about downward spirals. We are nowhere near that.
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 03:17 PM
No they're not and yes it is......IF we're talking about consistency as opposed to a team doing well for a couple of years. I published league standings for the last decade and Hibs are right there with everyone else. If you want consistency then it's definitely about the finances. Teams might peak but they rarely maintain that level. The only teams that do are the ones that spend money. I'll see if I can dig up my old post to show you what I mean.
EDIT : LINK (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?210916-Hearts-The-3rd-force-%28Hibs-the-4th%29&highlight=). Doesn't look like Hibs are doing that badly if we look at a reasonable period of time. If we look at performance year-by-year we will get very noisy data that doesn't tell us very much.
13-07-2011, 03:29 PM
:agree: There isn't many non OF SPL teams that do well consistently for more than 3 or 4 years, mainly because they can't keep any of their good players for long before bigger clubs come in for them.
CapitalHibs
13-07-2011, 03:46 PM
:agree: There isn't many non OF SPL teams that do well consistently for more than 3 or 4 years, mainly because they can't keep any of their good players for long before bigger clubs come in for them.
Palsson, I think it was -got off to a great start in his first few games for us and already there were rumours that other clubs would be in for him.:agree:
13-07-2011, 03:50 PM
Palsson, I think it was -got off to a great start in his first few games for us and already there were rumours that other clubs would be in for him.:agree:
Southampton, I think it was? It was only after about 5 games for us or something!
13-07-2011, 05:04 PM
Today, Colin Calderwood issued an apology to all Hibs supporters for the unclear situation regarding his current situation at Hibernian Football Club.
"I am not trying to drag this out. I never would have dreamt this thread would pass 100 pages. But it is really out of my hands. Rod Petrie has complete control of this matter. However, I had expected this to be resolved by page 65 of this thread and for this I must accept some of the responsibility. A categorical statement of my intentions by page 25 could have prevented unnecessary speculation, even if that speculation was accurate. But I simply cannot keep up with the speed of the average Hibs.net poster. I could simply have stated that at this time I have no interest in leaving Hibernian for any other position and therefore it would be pointless for any other club even to request permission to talk to me. But this might have been misinterpreted by Nottingham Forest and Birmingham."
Calderwood then proceeded to give the most clear statement yet, regarding his position as manager of Hibs, "I believe this thread is now over 120 pages long and I have to admit I am both grateful and flattered. I really think this vindicates my decisions regarding personnel and the general direction in which I am taking this club. South. That said I want to make it clear to all concerned so there can be NO misunderstanding....I am Hibs manager and this is a great place to be. I have had no talks, formal or otherwise with anyone that is not my agent, called McClaren or Hughton, or the national press. I intend to remain here !!! It's that simple....unless of course an opportunity presented itself, or even two, to be closer to my family, or a chance to resume old partnerships arose, or I am fired or compensation is agreed".
"I cannot be any clearer....I assume full responsibility for the length of this thread but it is in the hands of the chairman !".
Arch Stanton
13-07-2011, 05:13 PM
No they're not and yes it is......IF we're talking about consistency as opposed to a team doing well for a couple of years. I published league standings for the last decade and Hibs are right there with everyone else. If you want consistency then it's definitely about the finances. Teams might peak but they rarely maintain that level. The only teams that do are the ones that spend money. I'll see if I can dig up my old post to show you what I mean.
EDIT : LINK (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?210916-Hearts-The-3rd-force-%28Hibs-the-4th%29&highlight=). Doesn't look like Hibs are doing that badly if we look at a reasonable period of time. If we look at performance year-by-year we will get very noisy data that doesn't tell us very much.
It sure is true that statistics can prove anything.
Hibs average 6th place means that an average season will see at least one team finish above us who spend less. (Mind you, same is true of Hearts with their average 4th spot.)
The only teams with any consistency are the OF which is due to their massively overspending the rest of the league - they are anything but consistent when it comes to Europe.
13-07-2011, 05:13 PM
Today, Colin Calderwood issued an apology to all Hibs supporters for the unclear situation regarding his current situation at Hibernian Football Club.
"I am not trying to drag this out. I never would have dreamt this thread would pass 100 pages. But it is really out of my hands. Rod Petrie has complete control of this matter. However, I had expected this to be resolved by page 65 of this thread and for this I must accept some of the responsibility. A categorical statement of my intentions by page 25 could have prevented unnecessary speculation, even if that speculation was accurate. But I simply cannot keep up with the speed of the average Hibs.net poster. I could simply have stated that at this time I have no interest in leaving Hibernian for any other position and therefore it would be pointless for any other club even to request permission to talk to me. But this might have been misinterpreted by Nottingham Forest and Birmingham."
Calderwood then proceeded to give the most clear statement yet, regarding his position as manager of Hibs, "I believe this thread is now over 120 pages long and I have to admit I am both grateful and flattered. I really think this vindicates my decisions regarding personnel and the general direction in which I am taking this club. South. That said I want to make it clear to all concerned so there can be NO misunderstanding....I am Hibs manager and this is a great place to be. I have had no talks, formal or otherwise with anyone that is not my agent, called McClaren or Hughton, or the national press. I intend to remain here !!! It's that simple....unless of course an opportunity presented itself, or even two, to be closer to my family, or a chance to resume old partnerships arose, or I am fired or compensation is agreed".
"I cannot be any clearer....I assume full responsibility for the length of this thread but it is in the hands of the chairman !".
Did you no' work for the N of T W? :hmmm:
13-07-2011, 05:14 PM
Did you no' work for the N of T W? :hmmm:
No, I wanted to be a journalist !!
Or at least a writer !
13-07-2011, 05:34 PM
Nice one, just about sums it up. :top marks
13-07-2011, 05:41 PM
I recall that when Petrie brought in CC he was heavily criticised on here for getting a dud.Now that(allegedly)he is wanted by two top English clubs he is criticised for not keeping him.The article in the Scotsman is made up from stories on fansites-Angus Wright isn't a real person but a name the Scotsman use for cobbled together pieces.The original "£300K compensation story"was I believe picked up from here.
Someone complains because the CEO is at East Mains.Where else should Lindsay be but at the place which is the centre of the business?As for the idea that Petrie runs the team in a football sense that is just comic book fantasy land stuff.
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 06:06 PM
It sure is true that statistics can prove anything.
Hibs average 6th place means that an average season will see at least one team finish above us who spend less. (Mind you, same is true of Hearts with their average 4th spot.)
The only teams with any consistency are the OF which is due to their massively overspending the rest of the league - they are anything but consistent when it comes to Europe.
Yup, good old statistics. :) The thing that gives statistics a bad name is when people try to twist them to suit their agenda. I can promise you that when I decided to look into this deeper it was not with a specific outcome in mind. I didn't alter anything until the numbers were just where I wanted them (mainly because I was doing it as a fact-finding mission as opposed to looking for arguments to support my case). I actually think that 10 years is a little far back to go. Going back one year would give us the most current figures but one year of data is pretty much useless and is totally useless if you want to try and spot a pattern. If you asked me, I would say that 5 years is a fair amount of history to look over.
13-07-2011, 06:16 PM
I recall that when Petrie brought in CC he was heavily criticised on here for getting a dud.Now that(allegedly)he is wanted by two top English clubs he is criticised for not keeping him.The article in the Scotsman is made up from stories on fansites-Angus Wright isn't a real person but a name the Scotsman use for cobbled together pieces.The original "£300K compensation story"was I believe picked up from here.
Someone complains because the CEO is at East Mains.Where else should Lindsay be but at the place which is the centre of the business?As for the idea that Petrie runs the team in a football sense that is just comic book fantasy land stuff.
I think the stories look like they've been shown up to be (as others have before them) a load of bollocks.
We've gone from the Mirror having Birmingham agreeing to pay the buy out clause at £350k, to the Scotsman telling us they're about to put a bid in (of course, they'd tell the paper first, rather than actually just doing it direct :rolleyes:).
Meanwhile, two days later, and actually nothing has changed. Hibs will get criticised for this and it's totally not their doing. This latest invigoration of the tale has come from some paper chucking a speculative piece in their paper.
I can't wait til Birmingham and Forest actually go ahead and appoint their assistant managers, so our manager can get on with the job in hand.
13-07-2011, 06:23 PM
I think the stories look like they've been shown up to be (as others have before them) a load of bollocks.
We've gone from the Mirror having Birmingham agreeing to pay the buy out clause at £350k, to the Scotsman telling us they're about to put a bid in (of course, they'd tell the paper first, rather than actually just doing it direct :rolleyes:).
Meanwhile, two days later, and actually nothing has changed. Hibs will get criticised for this and it's totally not their doing. This latest invigoration of the tale has come from some paper chucking a speculative piece in their paper.
I can't wait til Birmingham and Forest actually go ahead and appoint their assistant managers, so our manager can get on with the job in hand.
Shades of Beat the Clock? :wink:
down the slope
13-07-2011, 06:26 PM
I can't wait for us to appoint our assistant manager as well !. Wonder why it hasn't happened yet ?.
13-07-2011, 06:47 PM
I can't wait for us to appoint our assistant manager as well !. Wonder why it hasn't happened yet ?.
Maybe we'll surprise everyone, do what Birmingham and Notts Forest would like to do, and appoint Calderwood as our number two, as well as our number one!
That would create quite a few headlines! :greengrin
13-07-2011, 06:50 PM
Nearly a month of speculation now. Cmon Hibs sort it out or face ever dwindling numbers of fans renewing ST's and paying at the gate.
Downward spiral Petrie. Think of the fans before your wallet!:brickwall:grr:
13-07-2011, 06:52 PM
Angus Wright isn't a real person but a name the Scotsman use for cobbled together pieces...Really?
13-07-2011, 07:21 PM
Hard to see how this is going to conclude. Except if CC stays you feel it won't be any conclusion....
13-07-2011, 07:24 PM
Nearly a month of speculation now. Cmon Hibs sort it out or face ever dwindling numbers of fans renewing ST's and paying at the gate.
Downward spiral Petrie. Think of the fans before your wallet!:brickwall:grr:
I fail to see how Hibs (or Petrie) can "sort this out" when it's totally out of our hands.
13-07-2011, 07:39 PM
Hard to see how this is going to conclude. Except if CC stays you feel it won't be any conclusion....
I disagree. If Forest (who CC has a connection with having previously managed there) and Birmingham (who CC has a connection with having worked as Houghton's assistant previously) move on to other targets, then the situation will have been resolved.
It is not a situation that is likely to come up again particularly soon. There are very specific reasons why these two clubs want Calderwood. Those reasons will not apply to many more (if any) clubs.
He might be sought after for other manager jobs, but you'd have to think that he'd need to improve his record at Hibs somewhat before that comes up. Anyone looking at his results here (without putting them into any kind of context) would run a mile before thinking about hiring him.
The biggest problem with how long it takes to resolve the situation, is not with CC or Hibs, but it is about how long the support hold on to it before moving on. IMHO, no matter what CC does now, he'll get stick and have this cast up by some supporters.
There will be others, probably less vocal, who will be intent to let him get on with the job.
CC's biggest challenge, should he stay, is to somehow unify the support behind him so that everyone can move on together. The single easiest way for him to do that is to put a team out on a Saturday afternoon that can produce the goods and deliver results.
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 08:09 PM
I disagree. If Forest (who CC has a connection with having previously managed there) and Birmingham (who CC has a connection with having worked as Houghton's assistant previously) move on to other targets, then the situation will have been resolved.
It is not a situation that is likely to come up again particularly soon. There are very specific reasons why these two clubs want Calderwood. Those reasons will not apply to many more (if any) clubs.
He might be sought after for other manager jobs, but you'd have to think that he'd need to improve his record at Hibs somewhat before that comes up. Anyone looking at his results here (without putting them into any kind of context) would run a mile before thinking about hiring him.
The biggest problem with how long it takes to resolve the situation, is not with CC or Hibs, but it is about how long the support hold on to it before moving on. IMHO, no matter what CC does now, he'll get stick and have this cast up by some supporters.
There will be others, probably less vocal, who will be intent to let him get on with the job.
CC's biggest challenge, should he stay, is to somehow unify the support behind him so that everyone can move on together. The single easiest way for him to do that is to put a team out on a Saturday afternoon that can produce the goods and deliver results.
And I will be drinking beers at 7:30am on Sunday 24th with my Celtic-fan brother-in-law as we watch the mighty Hibs climb to the top of the table. :)
13-07-2011, 08:33 PM
Hibs official Facebook site have just posted 'Birmingham City look set to increase their offer of compensation to £400 000'
13-07-2011, 08:36 PM
Hibs official Facebook site have just posted 'Birmingham City look set to increase their offer of compensation to £400 000'
Is there any such thing?
I didn't think Hibs were keen on setting up pages on sites like Facebook? :confused:
13-07-2011, 08:38 PM
When did we get a Facebook site?
13-07-2011, 08:39 PM
Is there any such thing?
I didn't think Hibs were keen on setting up pages on sites like Facebook? :confused:
There's no such thing as an official Hibs facebook page. The one that exists is run by a fan, and is definitely not official.
It's unlikely that they'd post that another club was 'set to' do anything though, when you think about it. How would they know? They'll only know once an offer actually comes in.
HibsMax
13-07-2011, 08:41 PM
Is there any such thing?
And why would Hibs publish a message about something that is "set to happen"?
LOL. Nice try. :fishin:
13-07-2011, 09:02 PM
I genuinely thought it was official, they have posted a couple of news links I thought was a bit odd, its called Hibernian Football Club and looks the part
13-07-2011, 09:04 PM
http://www.facebook.com/pages/Hibernian-Football-Club/135659499825689
13-07-2011, 09:07 PM
There's no such thing as an official Hibs facebook page. The one that exists is run by a fan, and is definitely not official.
It's unlikely that they'd post that another club was 'set to' do anything though, when you think about it. How would they know? They'll only know once an offer actually comes in.
:agree::agree:
The only thing official is our website......
Hibs having facebook page:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious
13-07-2011, 09:11 PM
No, you feel it won't be any conclusion. Because you won't let it go.
13-07-2011, 09:31 PM
And I will be drinking beers at 7:30am on Sunday 24th with my Celtic-fan brother-in-law as we watch the mighty Hibs climb to the top of the table. :)
And now cricket playing I may add!!!! Get him telt
13-07-2011, 09:43 PM
:agree::agree:
The only thing official is our website......
Hibs having facebook page:hilarious:hilarious:hilarious
Just a joke !!!!
persevere1875
13-07-2011, 10:27 PM
Not quite sure what bearing this has with any of the current speculation surrounding Calderwoods position.
I think its fair to assume that messrs Hughton and Mclaren have both expressed a wish in obtaining the services of Calderwood precisely because of his ability to coach players particularly on the training ground and some members of the hibs squad both past and present have taken the time in interviews to praise his coaching skills, why would you want a number two to do a job that your perfectly capable of doing yourself especially if you feel the money it free's up in the budget can be better utilised elsewhere.
13-07-2011, 10:32 PM
Shirley you mean a Farcebook Site.
13-07-2011, 10:42 PM
Eh? It was ADMINS on this very site no who were talking of the club being in talks with a replacement.
And are you forgetting with relation to CC and the position of Hibernian Manager the threads YOU'VE started?
Not letting what exactly go?
13-07-2011, 10:55 PM
Shirley you mean a Farcebook Site.
Aye that as well :greengrin
14-07-2011, 12:01 AM
Colin, re-arrange the following words into a well known phrase: off REMOVED. weve had far too much o' this REMOVED for far too long. ah canny believe some on here:grr:this guy has fannied aboot for far too long, and it's time Petrie goat his finger ooty his erse, gets oan wi' it and gets someone in that wants to show what he's made off. or do we keep sliding into a a forever downward spiral, until we lose the core support that this club has? at the moment, we're staring into the abyss! and becoming more laughable by the minute.I used to have a fair bit of regard for Petrie, although I'VE NEVER TRUSTED HIM.he's now went down so much in my estimation , for letting this issue drag on for so long, which really surprised me............given the the effect it has had on ST sales (although I dont have figures), have we reached 8k yet? c'mon Petrie, dae REMOVED somethin.
14-07-2011, 12:31 AM
**** off calderwood.
Fanny
14-07-2011, 12:57 AM
**** off calderwood.
Fanny
I agree :agree:
14-07-2011, 01:20 AM
**** off calderwood.
Fanny
Is this really the level to which this board has now reached!? :confused:
14-07-2011, 03:52 AM
Is this really the level to which this board has now reached!? :confused:
Not at all. We reached this level years ago.
14-07-2011, 04:41 AM
Not at all. We reached this level years ago.
I suppose, seems to be the default level of arguement these day! :agree:
14-07-2011, 05:07 AM
I disagree. :agree:
14-07-2011, 05:18 AM
I disagree. :agree:
I agree to disagree:wink:
14-07-2011, 07:11 AM
I agree to disagree:wink:
i agree strongly with the majority view. I strongly disagree with the minority view. Its not healthy, but by goodness it's easy
14-07-2011, 07:13 AM
:zzzzz!::zzzzz!::zzzzz!:
Isn't it time to close this thread mods? sooooooooo boring now
14-07-2011, 07:21 AM
**** off calderwood.
Fanny
Was it you at East Fife on Saturday?
Had him worried. He looked like he was ****ting himself with fear. :rolleyes:
14-07-2011, 07:25 AM
:zzzzz!::zzzzz!::zzzzz!:
Isn't it time to close this thread mods? sooooooooo boring now
Mods?
14-07-2011, 07:27 AM
Rockers :rockin:
14-07-2011, 07:28 AM
Mods?
Rockers :rockin:
Fight?
14-07-2011, 07:31 AM
Fight?
:gun::take that
14-07-2011, 07:44 AM
Mods?
Moderators for short...as if you didn't know :wink:
14-07-2011, 08:24 AM
Moderators for short...as if you didn't know :wink:
We don't have mods, we have adis.:agree:
Thought it was HNA's.
Anyway another day and still no closer to knowing what the hell is happening at ER, this is a longer drama than Dynasty, wish they'd hurry the *%$* up.
14-07-2011, 08:51 AM
Admins on here can say it won't conclude because the likes of me "..won't let go" but with respect the reality is that CC and agent have no intention of letting it go.
The only way it can be resolved is by CC coming out and ruling out any possible move away.
I absolutely don't buy this 'He's only being honest' POV.
We all know that everyone in football has their price. Should any club want any of our employees that is under contract then their is an amount of financial compensation our club (as with every other club) are happy to accept. Likewise every employee can be tempted to aggitate for the move by them being made an 'offer' of what financially is available elsewhere.
Hibernian FC is no different from any other club in the world of football.
The key difference here is that Calderwood like Tevez at Manchester City appears to have non financial reasons for wanting to move away from their respective current football clubs.
And these reasons are just NOT going to disappear.
The reason why i said that if the end conclusion is CC staying you somehow feel that it won't actually be things concluded is because we all know how football works...
CC has an agent. The agent will be working on behalf of CC.
So when Birmingham and Forest appoint a number two (presuming it's not CC to one of them) you can bet your bottom dollar that CC will be linked to just about every single Management position that becomes available in the south of England. And that said agent wouldn't be doing his job if CC wasn't...
Admins on here can say it won't conclude because the likes of me "..won't let go" but with respect the reality is that CC and agent have no intention of letting it go.
The only way it can be resolved is by CC coming out and ruling out any possible move away.
We all know that everyone in football has their price. Should any club want any of our employees that is under contract then their is an amount of financial compensation our club (as with every other club) are happy to accept. Likewise every employee can be tempted to aggitate for the move by them being made an 'offer' of what financially is available elsewhere.
The key difference here is that Calderwood like Tevez at Manchester City appears to have non financial reasons for wanting to move away from their respective current football clubs.
The reason why i said that if the end conclusion is CC staying you somehow feel that it won't actually be things concluded is because we all know how football works...
So when Birmingham and Forest appoint a number two (presuming it's not CC to one of them) you can bet your bottom dollar that CC will be linked to just about every single Management position that becomes available in the south of England. And that said agent wouldn't be doing his job if CC wasn't...
One poster on here, who is an admin, said you wouldn't let it go. It was posted under their non-admin user name and as such shouldn't be taken as an admin p.o.v.
The admin team do not have an editorial stance and do not seek to debate specific points on behalf of the admins. However, we are all hibs.net users and we all have our own voices and opinions which we are as entitled to raise as anyone else on this forum is.
14-07-2011, 09:04 AM
I'm glad you've given the reality of the situation. However, I reject your reality as an opinion and choose to believe that a small group of people know what is happening and none of them post on Hibs.net.
14-07-2011, 09:06 AM
moderators for short...as if you didn't know :wink:
ltyf :wink:
14-07-2011, 09:08 AM
One poster on here, who is an admin, said you wouldn't let it go. It was posted under their non-admin user name and as such shouldn't be taken as an admin p.o.v.
The admin team do not have an editorial stance and do not seek to debate specific points on behalf of the admins. However, we are all hibs.net users and we all have our own voices and opinions which we are as entitled to raise as anyone else on this forum is.
Fair enough. I apologise. No problem in doing so.
14-07-2011, 09:09 AM
Folk are saying he's just being honest, and thats fine. Although this honesty IS causing uncertainty at the club. A good majority are uncertain about him staying, you can deny this but its only my reading on this.
I believe its not doing the club any good, and there is one person who could stop it today, in fact he could have stopped it weeks ago but wont.
The bag of sweeties MUST have been looked at by now, each and every sweet will surely have been examined by now?
If he did not like the sweeties he would have said so by now, and told us so. So yes i'm guessing as both clubs are still hovering about, he wants to eat those sweets.
All the while we are in limbo.
Even if he stays, he's split a large amount of the support. The players wont say a bad word about him, but we can, and are.
Why is it we always say you cant keep an unhappy player, yet we can keep an unhappy manager?
14-07-2011, 09:10 AM
I'm glad you've given the reality of the situation. However, I reject your reality as an opinion and choose to believe that a small group of people know what is happening and none of them post on Hibs.net.
I agree with you. Nobody really knows what is going on. Except perhaps CC & RP. Though with the former going by his interviews i'm maybe no so sure either.:greengrin
14-07-2011, 09:14 AM
I agree with you. Nobody really knows what is going on. Except perhaps CC & RP. Though with the former going by his interviews i'm maybe no so sure either.:greengrin
14-07-2011, 09:18 AM
Folk are saying he's just being honest, and thats fine. Although this honesty IS causing uncertainty at the club. A good majority are uncertain about him staying, you can deny this but its only my reading on this.
I believe its not doing the club any good, and there is one person who could stop it today, in fact he could have stopped it weeks ago but wont.
The bag of sweeties MUST have been looked at by now, each and every sweet will surely have been examined by now?
If he did not like the sweeties he would have said so by now, and told us so. So yes i'm guessing as both clubs are still hovering about, he wants to eat those sweets.
Even if he stays, he's split a large amount of the support. The players wont say a bad word about him, but we can, and are.
Why is it we always say you cant keep an unhappy player, yet we can keep an unhappy manager?
Apologies but after reading your post my over riding thought was I fancy a bag of Sports Mixtures. I think manager speculation exhaustion has set in here.
14-07-2011, 09:27 AM
Apologies but after reading your post my over riding thought was I fancy a bag of Sports Mixtures. I think manager speculation exhaustion has set in here.
I prefer fruit pastiles. :wink: Ok Calderwood knows every detail of both offers, if he wanted to stay he'd surely have said so?
14-07-2011, 09:35 AM
I prefer fruit pastiles. :wink: Ok Calderwood knows every detail of both offers, if he wanted to stay he'd surely have said so?
Steve Mclaren is on record as saying CC wants to go to Forest. IIRC the comment was "...he wants to come here..". One would have imagined that if this was a lie CC would at least deny that? Or more so our club would ask him to retract that comment and apologise?
14-07-2011, 09:38 AM
Steve Mclaren is on record as saying CC wants to go to Forest. IIRC the comment was "...he wants to come here..". One would have imagined that if this was a lie CC would at least deny that? Or more so our club would ask him to retract that comment and apologise?
One would certainly have thought it ruled birmingham out, but it seems not. Just shows you that the simplest conclusion isn't always the right one.
14-07-2011, 09:45 AM
One would certainly have thought it ruled birmingham out, but it seems not. Just shows you that the simplest conclusion isn't always the right one.
Aye good way of spinning.:wink:
Maybe it suggests CC is just that desparate to get away he'll go wherever within reason to whoever will free him from his contract at Hibernian.
14-07-2011, 09:47 AM
All three bags of sweeties look bloody delicious to CC. At the moment he's quite happy swimming in his sea of fruit pastelles. That's not to say he wouldn't mind some wine gums or bonbons though...
14-07-2011, 09:48 AM
Maybe it suggests CC is just that desparate to get away he'll go wherever within reason to whoever will free him from his contract at Hibernian.
Guess of the day award, and it's only 10:47am!
14-07-2011, 09:49 AM
If my missus was to ask me if I was still happy to be married to her and I said yes, I am married and aware of my legal obligations but that I couldn't rule out a return to an ex if and when the question was ever asked I really don't think she would be praising me for my honesty.
14-07-2011, 09:50 AM
:agree:Thats my theory too Max. Keep Caldo and I reckon we can do something. Also, not quite sure about this downward spiral thing. I reckon Swansea or Wimbledon could tell us about downward spirals. We are nowhere near that.
I've used the term downward spiral to describe our fall from top three, to top four, to top six, to top ten. Caused by the club getting things wrong in management and maybe player selection. If you prefer, I'll use the term downward trend and hope that sits better. This downward trend then has a bad affect on ST sales as everyone has their breaking point. Then it becomes a self fulfilling prophecy, if they end a season in a wee team position then they will become a wee team. That will take a bit of magic to fix. I do believe though that if CC stays and is 100% committed then we could come good, but I'm not sure about the existing pool of players being able to get top six. I'd like to see a couple more if we can afford it. If ST sales continue to fall then its a job to reverse the apathy.
14-07-2011, 09:51 AM
If my missus was to ask me if I was still happy to be married to her and I said yes, I am married and aware of my legal obligations but that I couldn't rule out a return to an ex if and when the question was ever asked I really don't think she would be praising me for my honesty.
You're not comparing toffee apples with toffee apples IMO.
14-07-2011, 09:54 AM
Guess of the day award, and it's only 10:47am!
Accepted if you claim your 'My head is stuck in the sand' award.:wink:
14-07-2011, 09:56 AM
Nice analogy. I don't understand this 'honest' tag he's getting.
JohnScott
14-07-2011, 09:57 AM
I'm not rushing to the defence of anyone i'm just calling it as i see it. How can you say in one sentance it was down to hard work of the coaching staff (doing their jobs), and in another saying it was lucky? I also dont know how you can say "Mixu" walked, it was more the fans were wanting him out as they thought he was "Mixup", yeah that phrase did actually get used to refer him by. but yeah, ignoring the 2 good posts by truhibernian the cup win, Europe and the consistant top 6 finishes (apart from the season just passed). Yeah its been pretty pish under RP :rolleyes:
I clearly said the board were lucky to have such talent to sell. I stand by that statement given it was Alex Miller who put in place the "conveyor belt" of young talent. Before Miller we perhaps had one valuable player to sell a season. Petrie's been LUCKY. Get your facts straight. Oh and Mixu walked.
14-07-2011, 09:59 AM
But she couldn't accuse you of lying, unless she posted it as an opiniion on here.
14-07-2011, 10:03 AM
Nice analogy. I don't understand this 'honest' tag he's getting.
Bit like a wife saying to her pal "...he's been really honest with me. Told me that if he is made an offer by any other lassies he'll need to have a good look in their knickers first...".
Aye. I'm sure the pal would say "Oh that's great!".
14-07-2011, 10:04 AM
Accepted if you claim your 'My head is stuck in the sand' award.:wink:
TrickyNicky
14-07-2011, 10:11 AM
Confectionery folk ken what's gaun oan here likes !:wink:
14-07-2011, 10:34 AM
Never, in the field of scottish fitba, has so much hot air been spouted, about so little actual news.
with apologies to churchill.
TrickyNicky
14-07-2011, 10:48 AM
Never, in the field of scottish fitba, has so much hot air been spouted, about so little actual news.
with apologies to churchill.
Yes, but in the morning we will all be sober and Stevie Fulton will still have been booked for being ugly!
14-07-2011, 10:53 AM
I clearly said the board were lucky to have such talent to sell. I stand by that statement given it was Alex Miller who put in place the "conveyor belt" of young talent. Before Miller we perhaps had one valuable player to sell a season. Petrie's been LUCKY. Get your facts straight. Oh and Mixu walked.
He may have walked but as i said people didnt exactly want him to continue as manager (http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?151450-How-do-we-get-rid-of-the-Finn&highlight=mixu), I still dont know how you can say that the squad created by our youth system was lucky? just your opinion i suppose, but in terms of getting my facts right, i dont see how you can state anything else in your post as fact as you dont know any of that to be true, unless you can of course prove otherwise.