View Full Version : ***CC - Staying Or Going?***/NFFC Appoint Coach MERGED
Pages :
[
2]
19-06-2011, 07:53 AM
(You also have a guy on here co-incidentally who stated Forest had targeted Calderwood to be assistant manager the day before Mcclaren was even announced our manager.)
And every club with a vacancy has been linked with Calderwood, on here at least, it has to be pointed out.
nottmforestfan
19-06-2011, 07:59 AM
I'm not naive - just been on here long enough to not get my knickers in a twist when yet another rumour grows arms and legs and people start to believe it as fact.
FACT is Mcclaren wants Calderwood
FACT is they have met
The rest you can speculate on fair enough (saying you cant recognise Calderwood from the picture is clutching at straws by the way)
19-06-2011, 08:02 AM
FACT is Mcclaren wants Calderwood - PROVE IT!!!
FACT is they have met
The rest you can speculate on fair enough (saying you cant recognise Calderwood from the picture is clutching at straws by the way)
Hughton favourite for the Birmingham job.:coffee:
nottmforestfan
And every club with a vacancy has been linked with Calderwood, on here at least, it has to be pointed out.
You just answered your own question without realising it !
When your guy said Calderwood had been targetted to be Forest assistant manager we didnt have a vacancy
It was very NEXT day that Billy Davies was sacked and McClaren announced our new manager
Your guy must have a very good contact is all I can say
19-06-2011, 08:18 AM
With all these years of supporting Hibs, nothing would surprise me at all. Would I be bothered? Probably for five minutes.
Is the OP a yam? I think not. Far too articulate.
My thoughts exactly:agree:
I can't believe that people think that cc is going to forest because of a dodgy picture and one journalist who is probably just stirring **** .
bringbackbenny
19-06-2011, 08:32 AM
Does anyone else see a similarity between Forest Fans writing style and a certain ex-yam contributor to the forum? :dunno:
Initials S.L. ring a bell?
shagpile
19-06-2011, 08:37 AM
No the rumour started in Notts that Mcclaren had targeted Calderwood a few days before the meeting - the meeting then happened (and a Forest fan claimed he had a photo to prove it that even the Forest fans didnt believe at time). Then he posted the photo on facebook and people started to think there may be something in this after all. Now a Midlands based reporter is saying Forest and Hibs are in talks.
(You also have a guy on here co-incidentally who stated Forest had targeted Calderwood to be assistant manager the day before Mcclaren was even announced our manager.)
Why you guys would doubt that McClaren would target Calderwood for his backroom team is beyond me ?
Saying that they would both travel to Leicester to talk about transfers is also naive. They could do that over the phone in ten minutes like every other football manager does. If McClaren wanted advice about managing Forest he could have phoned him - again a ten minute phonecall.
Whether McClaren persuades him is a totally different question altogether. But saying it is a load of pish is just being naive about what goes on behind the scenes in football.
I don't doubt McLaren would seek CC as part of his team. Why not? He knows the club & regardless of what happened to him[CC] a job is a job & he may see the chance to take NF back to the EPL as a bigger challenge than finishing 3rd in the SPL.
Disappointing to see some peoples reaction to your thread , but not at all surprised.
For some on here , if they don't like what someone posts then it automatically gets branded 'yam' or' yammish' so don't let them put you off posting in future.
shagpile
19-06-2011, 08:41 AM
Does anyone else see a similarity between Forest Fans writing style and a certain ex-yam contributor to the forum? :dunno:
Initials S.L. ring a bell?
Why would a 'yam' post about CC leaving? If he looked at the forums he would see that there would be more than a few on here chuffed if he were to go.
Hardly top class 'wind up' material? Unless you are easily wound up.:agree:
19-06-2011, 08:43 AM
No idea of the reality of this, but we need to get a grip, we're getting as paranoid as the soapdodgers. What we do know is:
CC came to Hibs to be his own man
Despite some messageboard hysteria, he has seemed to be assured and confident in what he's trying to do here.
He has spent the summer making signings that match most supporters' view of what we needed
He is not liked at Notts Forest and McClaren will be wanting to curry favour with the supporters
He could well have been discussing transfers or meeting a mate
McClaren may well have thought it worthwhile asking how things were at Hibs as part of a larger chat about UK football to get up to speed
CC and McClaren may well share scouting contacts
If he was getting out, why meet in such an obviously public place - there are thousands of more secret alternatives
His son lives in London, not the Midlands. CC has a flat in Northampton which he has kept as it gives him a pad for late Saturday before driving on to London Sunday Morning to play golf with his kid.
Given the avge lifespan of a manager is 18 months, you'd be absolutely crazy in the present property climate to try to buy and sell every time you switched jobs.
Managers live and die by their CVs. If he moved to be a number 2 after so short a time at Hibs, CC would be declaring he didn't have the bottle/ambition to be a manager.
People who know him say he's very principled. If he was unhappy at Hibs I'm sure he would walk - or at least do things above board. He certainly wouldn't be making signings if he had no intention of staying.
People who ahve actually spoken to him are impressed by his plans for the club, and while you might put this down to pr spin, Sproule and O'Connor who know the club both seem happy enough to return with confidence.
Finally, to the Board haters: all clubs have good and bad periods. Ultimately it's about a large slice of luck involving managers and players gelling. Without a vast investment - which Hibs will never get - cos so few fans can be arsed going to Easter Rd - all a Board can do is establish a sound financial footing so as to maximise the amount of income that can be spent on players. Everything that a Board can reasonably be expected to do to ensure success, our Board have done and done to a high degree. The bits that involve luck have not worked so well - but the same is true currently at Arsenal and Chelsea who have trillions to spend.
I am still completely lost as to why people would translate supporting Hibs into cascading a stream of misery and pessimism on messageboards. Supporting the Hibs is the greatest privilege on earth. Imagine not appreciating that. Imagine instead concocting fantasies that the Board are sabotaging the club's success.
Unbelievable.
19-06-2011, 08:57 AM
The rumour has been around Nottingham since then as well - so you can imagine when somebody gets a photo of them together in a Hotel which did happen a few days later it is inevitable people give the rumour more credence. Since then it has gone mad on Forest forums with at least 50% not wanting him back.
At end of day if you read the Forest forums about this - we are just as sceptical of why he would return to us as you guys are wondering why he would leave you. Which in all honesty if you go back to my very opening post in this thread was the very reason I came on here.
To find out if there were problems between him and your chairman or him and your fans.
Has been a real eye opener to me how quick you guys were to belittle it all and say it was all "pish" I think the word was more than once. I wouldnt have wasted your time concocting all this. Never knew what a Yammy was either until now ! lol
The journalist who is saying Forest and Hibs are in talks is John Percy - he is freelance - his stories end up in many of the National papers so I would expect you will see more of this in the media in next few days.
I only came on here to find out a bit more and give you guys a heads up. Not to gloat becasue like I say we are unconvinced that Calderwood should come back anyway.
The one thing this will now do is force him to either commit himself to you guys or at least the issue to come out in the open. I am sure him and Mcclaren can find an excuse for the meeting if he decides to stay with you guys. (If they say it was to discuss signings take that with a pinch of salt though - at the moment everything McClaren is upto is about announcing his backroom team - having sacked all of the existing ones last Wednesday). McClaren needs an assistant manager, a development team manager and about 4 coaches in place before he can start thinking about driving to Leicester to have a chat about players. Something as basic as talking about players or advice over old times at Forest from Calderwood they would have done over the phone in minutes - as I said on here before. McClaren is in a hurry to get his assistant on board. That is something that is done face to face. Asking about player availability is something tht happnes over the phone.
The other guy we believe is Bill Beswick - a sports psychologist who follows McClaren everywhere he works. He will have been there to help sell the vision of what McClaren wants to do with our club ! lol
Forest have just spent millions on a state of the art academy and McClaren stated in his first interview to press that he intended to find a high calibre manager to head development of 18 to 21 year old players and bring them through to the first team.
He also said the backroom team he was going to put together would be Premier League quality as that was where the club needed to be.
I am guessing this is the "vision" he is trying to sell to Calderwood. I also suggest Calderwood would be mad not to listen to any offer put his way even if deep down he knows he is probably going to stay with you.
Just accept the fact the McClaren is trying to lure him away. Doesnt mean it will happen by a long way.
Don't have to explain yourself all the time buddy. You, like most people on fans forums have just came on here to pass on some info which you thought would have been interesting to us.
I personally thank you for your info. Not sure if it's true or not but they must have been meeting about something so I guess we will just have to wait and see what happens.
Ignore the abuse on here, most posters are negative losers who bash the keyboard with their knuckles to try and get reactions.
Good luck with the new season. Hope getting rid of Davies doesn't backfire on you!
19-06-2011, 08:58 AM
Irrespective of what people may or may not think is going on we need a one liner from club or manager to confirm or deny. The longer without confirmation only serves to fuel the fire.
19-06-2011, 09:11 AM
You just answered your own question without realising it !
When your guy said Calderwood had been targetted to be Forest assistant manager we didnt have a vacancy
It was very NEXT day that Billy Davies was sacked and McClaren announced our new manager
Your guy must have a very good contact is all I can say
Thanks for coming to a hibs forum to discuss a connection with our manager buddy. I've done the same myself with some forums of other clubs.
I think there must be SOMETHING in this but I personally hope cc wants to be his own man and finish the project he's started
19-06-2011, 09:11 AM
Irrespective of what people may or may not think is going on we need a one liner from club or manager to confirm or deny. The longer without confirmation only serves to fuel the fire.
That will only tide us over until the next load of unsubstantiated pish gets posted. What we need is a bit of common sense instead of pages and pages of fretting every time someone posts nonsense.
All the evidence points to Calderwood having put in, and continuing to put in, a power of work in to get the players he wants. He has added quality to decent signings he has already made. This could be his most important season as a manager in his own right - the gig he gave up a decent job to do - and we really think he is going to jump ship and be McLaren's yes man? We think this in spite of the fact that he himself just lost an assistant who was similarly too ambitious to play second fiddle?
Some folk really need to have a word with themselves.
19-06-2011, 09:19 AM
FACT is they have met
IF this is the case why on earth have they met in such a public place??
I would have thought discretion is the name of the game when trying to lure players / managers to other clubs - this flies in the face of that theory.
19-06-2011, 09:43 AM
IF this is the case why on earth have they met in such a public place??
I would have thought discretion is the name of the game when trying to lure players / managers to other clubs - this flies in the face of that theory.
They could only legitimately meet like that to discuss a move if hibs had given permission. Forest will be in trouble if they've spoken to CC without our consent, and likewise, i'd expect CC to be showing Hibs the courtesy of waiting til permission is given before speaking to any other club. For this reason, I don't think the meeting was about CC joining forest.
Also, IIRC hibs generally don't put release clauses in contacts though I'm not sure if that just applies to players.
Jeez, I'm wiped out after reading this thread. The OP is now one of our major contributors!
Like many other posters I believe the OP was genuine in his post, that doesn't mean the info in it is accurate though. He does seem to have caught the flavour of this forum very quickly though by inserting the word FACT twice in his most recent submission, that almost convinced me it was true :wink:.
The only FACT is none of us know what's going on but logic dictates that if CC & SM were meeting to discuss a clandestine move it would be unlikely to be in a public place. Similarly if CC was meeting with knowledge of our Board they would be unlikely to sanction a signing, S O'H who is undoubtedly CC's choice.
Personally I think this has as much credibility as Liam Miller signing for Yams but I haven't a Scooby - FACT!!
19-06-2011, 10:28 AM
Why would CC want to leave? :rolleyes: Maybe being Hibs manager hasn't been all he thought it might be? :dunno: Lets not kid ourselves on - the SPL is a poor, poor standard.
There could be multiple reasons.
Petrie signing players behind his back like Ivan and Garry [that has been alluded to on here]
Missing out on players because of financial restraint's [Rooney]
Players not as good as he first thought and he is left with them [EDG,Hart etc]
Missing family and friends down south [kids]
Fans on message boards giving him a hard time [us]
The list is endless :greengrin:
19-06-2011, 10:55 AM
I'll just go with my hunch and see it as two football guys, quite good at their jobs, meeting up and chatting football. McLaren doing his homework and asking CC a bit about the club, certain players who were there when he was (or brought to the club), getting a general feel of what needs improved..........he is hardly going to do this with Davies who will be smarting and there would be a disrespect issue. Calderwood, IMHO, may also be using this meeting as a chance to gauge whether he can progress a player issue (or players).......as I said he was keen on Maloney so it could fit nicely with both manager's thoughts and develop a decent rapport/relationship.
For what it is worth I am sure CC meets more than his fair share of managers and has social chats. Plus it's not pre-season just yet so he also has some quality time to himself to do with as he pleases.
I think McLaren will try and re-establish his working relationship with Steve Round anyway.
19-06-2011, 11:05 AM
Nott forest not a big club no more so makes no sense
Thats a bit naive Mikey.
As has been stated elsewhere on this thread the general standard up here is pish poor in comparison to Championship play off side.
Still cannae see it happening, though wouldve given it more credibility if it had been one of the other losing Play Off sides.
sundo1875
19-06-2011, 11:17 AM
caldo on ssn soon
19-06-2011, 11:25 AM
caldo on ssn soon
Is it not for a 10k fun run he is doing ??
sundo1875
19-06-2011, 11:25 AM
he was just on ssn saying we need to sign another striker , i hope he stays
19-06-2011, 11:27 AM
http://news.bbc.co.uk/sport1/hi/football/13814231.stm
19-06-2011, 11:29 AM
Also said he was looking to take a player on loan from England. I would imagine that is why he was chatting to mclaren
19-06-2011, 11:36 AM
Certainly didn't look like a man that was about to jump ship, seemed pretty relaxed and clear on what he is doing for Hibs in preparation for the season.
19-06-2011, 11:43 AM
Hughton favourite for the Birmingham job.:coffee:
Mourinho had Steve Clarke as his assistant but didn't take him to Inter or Madrid. Just because Calderwood was assistant to Hughton once, before deciding to leave him, doesn't mean that as soon as Hughton gets another manager's job then Calderwood is off.
19-06-2011, 12:23 PM
Did he not also say that he wasn't to bothered if that player didn't come to us, as he has four mid-fielders who could play the strikers role for us next season.
What happened to the two players that were getting him excited a couple of weeks ago, he did say he had made offers and hoped to hear from them within the week, i dont think GOC was one of these players, so did Hibs miss out on these two players. :aok:
19-06-2011, 01:11 PM
No the rumour started in Notts that Mcclaren had targeted Calderwood a few days before the meeting - the meeting then happened (and a Forest fan claimed he had a photo to prove it that even the Forest fans didnt believe at time). Then he posted the photo on facebook and people started to think there may be something in this after all.
Someone takes a photo of the meeting. He puts the daft rumour up and is challenged for proof. He then puts up the photo. Voila, manipulated message board.
Now a Midlands based reporter is saying Forest and Hibs are in talks.
Shock, horror, a "journalist" takes a flyer that the internet story is true, trying to make a name for himself as a scoop hero locally.
19-06-2011, 01:18 PM
Did he not also say that he wasn't to bothered if that player didn't come to us, as he has four mid-fielders who could play the strikers role for us next season.
What happened to the two players that were getting him excited a couple of weeks ago, he did say he had made offers and hoped to hear from them within the week, i dont think GOC was one of these players, so did Hibs miss out on these two players. :aok:
Nope, they got O'Connor who was likely to have been a better option than the other two given his experience in the game and affinity with the club.
Nothing to see here. :thumbsup:
19-06-2011, 01:41 PM
Hemed and Rooney so yes and possibly, in that order.
Hibiza
19-06-2011, 02:02 PM
no chance
19-06-2011, 02:02 PM
Someone takes a photo of the meeting. He puts the daft rumour up and is challenged for proof. He then puts up the photo. Voila, manipulated message board.
Shock, horror, a "journalist" takes a flyer that the internet story is true, trying to make a name for himself as a scoop hero locally.
Nothing is impossible in football, but I do think that this thread promises to be a real record-breaker for speculation and baseless assumption.
As for "Vital Football", the latest news I can find on it about Hibs is that we've just qualified for Europe and the "Vital readers" who allegedly support Hibs want Ian Murray as captain....
"Recent articles" all come from 2007. Maybe we should all be celebrating our "recent" League Cup win? Maybe McLaren should be talking to John Collins.
19-06-2011, 03:53 PM
Hemed and Rooney so yes and possibly, in that order.
Was it ever confirmed by anyone that we were actually interested in Hemed? I find it very hard to believe that anyone at Hibs was ever deluded enough to think that we could sign an Israeli international who was attracting interest from all over Europe.
19-06-2011, 03:59 PM
There could be multiple reasons.
Petrie signing players behind his back like Ivan and Garry [that has been alluded to on here]
Missing out on players because of financial restraint's [Rooney]But GOC was brought in for nothing?
Players not as good as he first thought and he is left with them [EDG,Hart etc] They were here last year, he would've known he wouldn't be able to get rid easy.
Missing family and friends down south [kids]
Fans on message boards giving him a hard time [us] I'd be surprised if he reads the boards.
The list is endless :greengrin:
justlikebrazil
19-06-2011, 04:35 PM
So is it GGTTH or stuff you all, I am right?<br />
<br />
Oh im right!
nottmforestfan
19-06-2011, 04:40 PM
Update:
Calderwood does have an escape clause in his contract and YESTERDAY he informed your club he wants to use it to go to Forest. He will become our Assistant Manager.
No idea when he filmed the Sky interview but it must have been before then.
Feel free to carry on disbelieving if you want.
Next week you will at least know your forum broke the story though before anybody else in a roundabout way.
Great forum - didnt realise how many fans you guys had - but you need a bigger server it is always too busy to get on here !
I am going to guess being able to live with his wife and kids 7 days a week has been a big part of this decision but who knows ? (Northampton to Nottingham is only 60 minutes drive).
Surprise for Forest fans as much as it will be for you guys.
19-06-2011, 04:46 PM
Calderwood's single though?
Well, he'd better be anyway, I went for dinner with him last night :grr:
19-06-2011, 04:46 PM
Update:
Calderwood does have an escape clause in his contract and YESTERDAY he informed your club he wants to use it to go to Forest. He will become our Assistant Manager.
Next week you will at least know your forum broke the story though before anybody else in a roundabout way.
Great forum - didnt realise how many fans you guys had - but you need a bigger server it is always too busy to get on here !
I am going to guess being able to live with his wife and kids 7 days a week has been a big part of this decision but who knows ? (Northampton to Nottingham is only 60 minutes drive).
What is your source for this?
It is such an unlikely thing to happen on a number of levels.
Engels74
19-06-2011, 04:51 PM
Update:
It was interviewed today at Glasgow's Bellahouston Park at a 10km run to raise funds for the Club's charity, the Hibernian Community Foundation.
19-06-2011, 04:54 PM
Calderwood's single though?
Well, he'd better be anyway, I went for dinner with him last night :grr:
Photographic evidence?
19-06-2011, 04:57 PM
Update:
Ok. I'll bite. How do you know all this?
19-06-2011, 05:10 PM
Photographic evidence?
Colin only wants me to do glamour upskirt shots which I deem unsuitable for this family-friendly board.
He's a dark horse I tell ye. I must say that I am over legal age though so he's no a Craig Thomson type creep.
19-06-2011, 05:11 PM
I've got to say that this is fast becoming unbelievable and, I hope, rank conjecture. i just cant see how a manager who was No1 in a club and left (sacked?) would go back as no 2. It doesnt make sense.
19-06-2011, 05:17 PM
It was interviewed today at Glasgow's Bellahouston Park at a 10km run to raise funds for the Club's charity, the Hibernian Community Foundation.
...with plenty of witnesses. The OP seems very pleasant and I hate to accuse him of spouting ill informed pish...but....
19-06-2011, 05:23 PM
Hibs need to clarify this ASAP.
bringbackbenny
19-06-2011, 05:26 PM
Why would a 'yam' post about CC leaving? If he looked at the forums he would see that there would be more than a few on here chuffed if he were to go.
Hardly top class 'wind up' material? Unless you are easily wound up.:agree:
Who knows? Perhaps he's trying to court favour with the kickback crew, I'll admit it does seem a tad ridiculous to go to these lengths though.
It smells badly, he's writes reams of verbal d just like the aforementioned, plus iirc Lawson has previous.
Convinced there's a strong chance it's Lawson on the wind up.
19-06-2011, 05:26 PM
A rumour on a messageboard? Why?
19-06-2011, 05:27 PM
Why?
If they were to "clarify" every rumour posted on the net the club would need a whole department to deal with them!
19-06-2011, 05:28 PM
Update:
How do you that he invoked this clause YESTERDAY?
That to me is the critical thing.
Nothing surprises me in football, but if you do know this part, the clause, then it might be time to have a wee punt :devil:
19-06-2011, 05:29 PM
It's a rumour that is doing the rounds on a couple of internet messageboards. As far as I'm aware, it hasn't been taken up by any of the mainstream press so far so I don't think Hibs need to clarify anything just yet.
19-06-2011, 05:32 PM
I've got to say that this is fast becoming unbelievable and, I hope, rank conjecture. i just cant see how a manager who was No1 in a club and left (sacked?) would go back as no 2. It doesnt make sense.
How about: more money, better standard of player, closer to his family, better standard of football, more options when choosing new players :dunno:
19-06-2011, 05:39 PM
http://twitpic.com/5dx1yf
Thats the pic...
Apologies if already posted but i've no had a chance to read through 8 pages.
19-06-2011, 05:41 PM
How about: more money, better standard of player, closer to his family, better standard of football, more options when choosing new players :dunno:
And as assistant he'll be picking the new players will he?
CC could get a job as a manager in English football, why go be Mclaren's lackey?
Doesn't make sense, particularly while issuing statements about how excited he is for next season.
19-06-2011, 05:42 PM
dunno if that pic worked
but here it is again
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/717/25383611218010553961010.jpg/
19-06-2011, 05:48 PM
It's a rumour that is doing the rounds on a couple of internet messageboards. As far as I'm aware, it hasn't been taken up by any of the mainstream press so far so I don't think Hibs need to clarify anything just yet.
I imagine the rags will pick up on this if they haven't already.
19-06-2011, 05:48 PM
dunno if that pic worked
but here it is again
http://imageshack.us/photo/my-images/717/25383611218010553961010.jpg/
Looks more like Donald Trump than Steve McClaren
19-06-2011, 05:50 PM
And as assistant he'll be picking the new players will he?
CC could get a job as a manager in English football, why go be Mclaren's lackey?
Doesn't make sense, particularly while issuing statements about how excited he is for next season.
So purely hypothetically - being a number 1 isn't as easy as he thought on the player budget available? The standard of the SPL is a lot worse than he expected? The chance to work with better players again perhaps? Sure he won't be choosing but he'd be consulted and involved as McLaren's assistant.
It's probably nonsense - but the idea that being manager at Hibs is bigger/better than being an assistant at Forest might not be, IMHO.
As for statements, he's not likely to be saying any different whatever the scenario.
19-06-2011, 05:50 PM
Update:
We have an idea. It was absolutely, 100%, definitely filmed today. Which, I'm 99% certain, wasn't before yesterday.
What does that do to your theory?
19-06-2011, 05:52 PM
Anyone else remember Ryedale Avenue?
19-06-2011, 05:53 PM
We have an idea. It was absolutely, 100%, definitely filmed today. Which, I'm 99% certain, wasn't before yesterday.
His/her 1st few posts may have been believable for some folk and maybe even appealing for some others. That last post though is IMO intended to try and add some more substance to the rumour he's made up but it's doing the exact opposite.
19-06-2011, 05:55 PM
That's one straight from left-field.
19-06-2011, 05:55 PM
Suggestions now on some of the Forest Forum's are that the guy in the picture isnt Calderwood but a guy called Colin Cooper.
I have no idea myself.
19-06-2011, 05:56 PM
Suggestions now on some of the Forest Forum's are that the guy in the picture isnt Calderwood but a guy called Colin Cooper.
I have no idea myself.
I've only just seen the photo (thanks to Gramo) and it's hardly conclusive evidence that it's Calderwood.
19-06-2011, 05:57 PM
I have no idea myself.
nah, thats not Colin Cooper. The pic looks very much like our CC
19-06-2011, 05:57 PM
Was it not Ryehill Avenue >
19-06-2011, 05:58 PM
His/her 1st few posts may have been believable for some folk and maybe even apealing for some others. That last post though is IMO intended to try and add some more substance to the rumour he's made up but it's doing the exact opposite.
I reckon that you could be onto something.
19-06-2011, 05:59 PM
Was it not Ryehill Avenue >
Aye, it was. Golden Bear was streets ahead of us there :greengrin
19-06-2011, 06:00 PM
nah, thats not Colin Cooper. The pic looks very much like our CC
This is a recent pic of Colin Cooper.
http://www.millwallfc.co.uk/javaImages/ac/49/0,,10367~9456044,00.jpg
19-06-2011, 06:00 PM
Make up a well known phrase or saying using the words"total"and "tosh".
19-06-2011, 06:03 PM
Paul Tosh was a total disaster.
19-06-2011, 06:04 PM
I'm rubbish at anagrams and that but I'll have a bash at "Last Tooth"
What do I win?:greengrin
19-06-2011, 06:04 PM
So purely hypothetically - being a number 1 isn't as easy as he thought on the player budget available? The standard of the SPL is a lot worse than he expected? The chance to work with better players again perhaps? Sure he won't be choosing but he'd be consulted and involved as McLaren's assistant.
It's probably nonsense - but the idea that being manager at Hibs is bigger/better than being an assistant at Forest might not be, IMHO.
As for statements, he's not likely to be saying any different whatever the scenario.
It is when he's already been a manager at that level, especially considering he's been a manager at that club.
I could easily see him leaving Hibs for a Championship managers job, but as assistant? Doesn't seem likely.
This could be as likely Mclaren wanting to speak to guys who have been there recently, CC would be nearby visiting his son, etc etc.
19-06-2011, 06:05 PM
A ST at Notts Forest.
19-06-2011, 06:06 PM
Ok I'll go first - tash lotto
Otherwise known as Petrie's payslip.
Bah! Too slow.
19-06-2011, 06:07 PM
That stool?
19-06-2011, 06:10 PM
This is a recent pic of Colin Cooper.
Similar hair style I suppose
19-06-2011, 06:12 PM
You are kidding ?
Some obscure wind up merchant comes out with all this pash and states CC has exercised a get out clause and you believe it ?
The OP is at it:na na:
19-06-2011, 06:14 PM
Sometimes, I hate the internet.
It's a platform for idiots to showcase their dubious wares.
19-06-2011, 06:18 PM
His/her 1st few posts may have been believable for some folk and maybe even appealing for some others. That last post though is IMO intended to try and add some more substance to the rumour he's made up but it's doing the exact opposite.
That's what I think as well. The guy's gone from fishing for info to posting FACTS (in capitals and that) about it. So he's either informed or he's not.
Stirring, IMHO.
Duffys13
19-06-2011, 06:19 PM
Similar hair style I suppose
Agreed, not Calderwood in that picture for me likes.
Manxhibs
19-06-2011, 06:21 PM
The op is trying too hard for me to believe this. It'll no doubt me in tomorrows daily ****** but purely down to this thread, so well done op, you've succeeded in that sense.
19-06-2011, 06:25 PM
That stool?
Final one from me - lotto shat. Seems the most appropriate...
19-06-2011, 06:26 PM
Paul Tosh was a total disaster.
:hilarious :hilarious :hilarious
19-06-2011, 06:30 PM
It is when he's already been a manager at that level, especially considering he's been a manager at that club.
I could easily see him leaving Hibs for a Championship managers job, but as assistant? Doesn't seem likely.
This could be as likely Mclaren wanting to speak to guys who have been there recently, CC would be nearby visiting his son, etc etc.
I agree that there is an equally likely and opposite scenario. But I think money and/or the standard of player and opposition up here might have been a shock.
Anyway we'll all know soon enough.
19-06-2011, 06:46 PM
Who knows? Perhaps he's trying to court favour with the kickback crew, I'll admit it does seem a tad ridiculous to go to these lengths though.
It smells badly, he's writes reams of verbal d just like the aforementioned, plus iirc Lawson has previous.
Or some other dung-splatter of similar provenance.
HibsMax
19-06-2011, 07:31 PM
My IP shows on various websites as being in London (or England) but I'm in East Lothian so code that gets IP location isn't 100% accurate, I don't think.
Not to mention you can spoof your IP address or access the site via a proxy server.
19-06-2011, 07:35 PM
My IP address will show my location as Southampton but I'm actually Craig Thomson.
A/S/L everybody? :love ya!:
HibsMax
19-06-2011, 07:47 PM
Tuppence worth!!!! I was told about CC and Forrest last sunday and posted here about it but the usual hibs net was shot down and called a YAM!!! What i was told is that CC could be looking to go back south and there has DEFO been an approach from forrest for him. :na na: GGTTH :flag:
I'm not sure I totally understand what is meant by "the usual hibs net", what does that mean? If you don't like Hibs.net then there are other Hibs messageboards.
With respect to the treatment you got, it's not totally unexpected, at least is shouldn't be. Someone with a handful of posts comes on and starts a thread that is guaranteed to be a hot-topic. Longevity or post count do not make a person more informed or a better fan but chances are your face will be known and you're more likely to be listened to. Who do you typically trust more - strangers or those familiar to you?
19-06-2011, 07:48 PM
My IP address will show my location as Southampton but I'm actually Craig Thomson.
HibsMax
19-06-2011, 07:51 PM
The photo was "created" 19/06/11 @ 01:07, no idea when it was taken.
Perhaps those details can be edited? :) I've never tried but I wouldn't be surprised if that is possible. But someone would need to be pretty motivated, or bored, to go to all that trouble.
HibsMax
19-06-2011, 07:56 PM
FACT is they have met
Hmmm. Fact is in capital letters and from my experience, that pretty much means it is a fact. That's all the evidence I needed to see.
19-06-2011, 07:57 PM
:top marks:not worth:na na::not worth:na na::not worth:na na::not worth
HibsMax
19-06-2011, 08:01 PM
Don't have to explain yourself all the time buddy. You, like most people on fans forums have just came on here to pass on some info which you thought would have been interesting to us.
I personally thank you for your info. Not sure if it's true or not but they must have been meeting about something so I guess we will just have to wait and see what happens.
Ignore the abuse on here, most posters are negative losers who bash the keyboard with their knuckles to try and get reactions.
Good luck with the new season. Hope getting rid of Davies doesn't backfire on you!
I assume you're in the minority? :wink:
19-06-2011, 08:24 PM
Perhaps those details can be edited? :) I've never tried but I wouldn't be surprised if that is possible. But someone would need to be pretty motivated, or bored, to go to all that trouble.
Easily done if someone would wish. Certainly as simple as changing the date on the camera that took it, or simply editing the file itself.
nottmforestfan
19-06-2011, 08:28 PM
How do you that he invoked this clause YESTERDAY?
That to me is the critical thing.
Nothing surprises me in football, but if you do know this part, the clause, then it might be time to have a wee punt :devil:
I know it was at least yesterday IF NOT earlier for the following reason:
If your media had gone to the effort of contacting Forest yesterday claiming there was an incriminating picture of McClaren "tapping up" Calderwood doing the rounds on the internet they would have been told Forest are speaking to him with the FULL knowledge of Hibs
Thats exactly what John Percy (a Midlands football journalist) did yesterday. He contacted a Forest board member yesterday afternoon warning them that this picture and story was doing the rounds on the Forest forums and internet FULLY expecting that Forest would deny any contact had been made or any approach and say it was just an internet rumour as clubs always do
INSTEAD they confirmed they were indeed in talks with Calderwood over the Assistant Manager role and in the process of finalising compensation with Hibs.
The exact opposite of what the journalist had expected them to say and the reason he then gave the following twitter messages:
Strange but true: Colin Calderwood IS set for a return to #nffc (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23nffc). #Forest (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Forest) and #Hibs (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Hibs) have been in talks. Fair play to the boys at Vital
18 Jun (http://twitter.com/#!/FanhousePercy/status/82173425342357504)
(vital is the website which first published the rumours and where this picture of the meeting was first shown)
His first twitter Followed up by:
Not done yet. Clubs talking. CC on good contract there with pricey escape clause.
(I know a bit more than that since but this is all I can say on the internet).
So all your media guys have to do is ask the question tomorrow of Forest and they will get the same answer. Forest are not even denying it - they could easily have said No Comment (like they normally do at Forest) or McClaren and Calderwood were just chatting or talking about players but they didnt - they have confirmed the story straight out to this journalist immediately they were asked.
ps (I have just seen the Calderwood sky interview - I fully agree with what others have already said on here - there is not ONE hint he is going anywhere at all - if he did indeed do that today I am impressed. In fact he said far more than he needed to. But then again I suppose he cant say anything else until it is finalised)
I realise there are internet hoaxes played out all the time but guys time to be realistic:
To make all this up would mean I would have had to:
1) Invent a rumour that McClaren wanted Calderwood as his number two
2) A couple fo days later arrange for them both to meet in a Leicester Hotel at a specific time that a Forest fan could get a photo of them talking together
3) Get a long standing Midlands journalist with close contacts at Forest to contact Forest board member to ask the question "is this true ?"
4) Get same long standing jounalist to then lie on his own twitter page about what Forest had said back to him !!
I dont have that good an imagination I promise you ! That would be the hoax of all time and all for a guy most Forest fans dont want back in the first place !! lol
Watch it all play out next few days - only way it wont happen now is if the compensation isnt agreed or Calderwood has a change of heart but REGARDLESS you will know all about it now Forest arent denying the approach
(Your media need to get their own fingers out tomorrow and get some answers of their own - just like the Midlands guy did yesterday). Maybe your guys dont work weekends out of the football season ! lol
Nothing more I can tell you
19-06-2011, 08:31 PM
:agree: Definitely a whiff of wee Shaun trying to ingratiate himself wi the big boys on Kackback, doubt he will be able to resist showing the girls how clever he is though. If he is still posting after 8 though it wont be him as thats his bedtime.
19-06-2011, 08:33 PM
If your media had gone to the effort of contacting Forest yesterday claiming there was an incriminating picture of McClaren "tapping up" Calderwood doing the rounds on the internet they would have been told Forest are speaking to him with the FULL knowledge of Hibs
Thats exactly what John Percy (a Midlands football journalist) did yesterday. He contacted a Forest board member yesterday afternoon warning them that this picture and story was doing the rounds on the Forest forums and internet FULLY expecting that Forest would deny any contact had been made or any approach and say it was just an internet rumour as clubs always do
INSTEAD they confirmed they were indeed in talks with Calderwood over the Assistant Manager role and in the process of finalising compensation with Hibs.
The exact opposite of what the journalist had expected them to say and the reason he then gave the following twitter messages:
Strange but true: Colin Calderwood IS set for a return to #nffc (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23nffc). #Forest (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Forest) and #Hibs (http://twitter.com/#!/search?q=%23Hibs) have been in talks. Fair play to the boys at Vital
(vital is the website which first published the rumours and where this picture of the meeting was first shown)
Not done yet. Clubs talking. CC on good contract there with pricey escape clause.
So all your media guys have to do is ask the question tomorrow of Forest and they will get the same answer. Forest are not even denying it - they could easily have said No Comment (like they normally do at Forest) or McClaren and Calderwood were just chatting or talking about players but they didnt - they have confirmed the story straight out to this journalist immediately they were asked.
ps (I have just seen the Calderwood sky interview - I fully agree with what others have already said on here - there is not ONE hint he is going anywhere at all - if he did indeed do that today I am impressed. In fact he said far more than he needed to. But then again I suppose he cant say anything else until it is finalised)
I realise there are internet hoaxes played out all the time but guys time to be realistic:
2) A couple fo days later arrange for them both to meet in a Leicester Hotel at a specific time that a Forest fan could get a photo of them talking together
3) Get a long standing Midlands journalist with close contacts at Forest to contact Forest board member to ask the question "is this true ?"
4) Get same long standing jounalist to then lie on his own twitter page about what Forest had said back to him !!
I dont have that good an imagination I promise you ! That would be the hoax of all time and all for a guy most Forest fans dont want back in the first place !! lol
Watch it all play out next few days - only way it wont happen now is if the compensation isnt agreed or Calderwood has a change of heart but REGARDLESS you will know all about it now Forest arent denying the approach
(Your media need to get their own fingers out tomorrow and get some answers of their own - just like the Midlands guy did yesterday). Maybe your guys dont work weekends out of the football season ! lol
Where is the link to a press story? Anyone can use twitter to and claim they are anyone. Where is the midlands press story link?
19-06-2011, 08:38 PM
Ok. But if he has invoked this release clause in his contract then why is he still here giving interviews about next season?
The reason I ask is that when Mowbray made it clear he wanted to speak to WBA (did he have a clause as well?) it was all over the media.
This Calderwood thing apparently happened days ago and there's still nothing on anything that's remotely official. There are a few guys on here who have good contacts at the club and I would imagine, having just signed a second raft of CC's players, Rod would be going pretty raj right about now and somebody would have heard something.
If he goes I would be dissapointed but we move on. Something dosent add up though.
19-06-2011, 08:41 PM
Where is the link to a press story? Anyone can use twitter to and claim they are anyone. Where is the midlands press story link?
there's only two quotes on this guys twitter and despite this journalist being so in the know he hasn't even put a story on his own website
http://twitter.com/#!/fanhousepercy
http://www.fanhouse.co.uk/
19-06-2011, 08:42 PM
There must be one. This freelance journo will surely have sold his exclusive to the press. He has to make a living after all. :agree:
Maybe our Forest supporting chum could point us towards the links in the bona-fide press and not just twitter or dodgy online fitba blogs. He seems to have very close contact with Mr Percy given the depth of information he has now provided. Although why he didn't approach him before coming on here for info does baffle me.
19-06-2011, 08:44 PM
Ok. But if he has invoked this release clause in his contract then why is he still here giving interviews about next season.
The reason I ask is that when Mowbray made it clear he wanted to speak to WBA (did he have a clause as well?) it was all over the media.
This Calderwood thing apparently happened days ago and there's still nothing on anything that's remotely official. There are a few guys on here who have good contacts at the club and I would imagine, having just signed a second raft of CC's players, Rod would be going pretty raj right about now. Somebody would have heard something.
If he goes I would be dissapointed but we move on. Something dosent add up though.
This will not happen. Why would Forest presumably pay to get rid of Calderwood as manager only to pay compensation to bring him back as a No2. It will not happen he was unpopular when he left with fans and presumably the board. Why on earth would they have him back? Does McLaren not have his own team that do the rounds with him when he moves? Even if they didnt follow him abroad they would surely team up with him now he is back. The team that he had abroad would surely be in with a shout long before Calderwood.
No as you say it doesnt add up.
19-06-2011, 08:44 PM
Surely the likes of Sky would have picked up on this by now?
nottmforestfan
19-06-2011, 08:53 PM
There must be one. This freelance journo will surely have sold his exclusive to the press. He has to make a living after all. :agree:
Maybe our Forest supporting chum could point us towards the links in the bona-fide press and not just twitter or dodgy online fitba blogs. He seems to have very close contact with Mr Percy given the depth of information he has now provided. Although why he didn't approach him before coming on here for info does baffle me.
Ask fanhousepercy yourself guys - go on his twitter page - dont ask me why he hasnt run the story yet - maybe you will see it tomorrow morning ?
Then you can stop relying on a Forest fan to tell you what is happening with your own manager
By the way sorry if I am coming across as a know it all or clever dick but I am staggered how much you guys keep finding a way to deny this all ??
It is happening - you have seen the photo, Forest have said it is happening to the journalist and he has confirmed it on his twitter
He is a friendly enough guy leave me out and go to him direct if you dont believe me
19-06-2011, 08:54 PM
INSTEAD they confirmed they were indeed in talks with Calderwood over the Assistant Manager role and in the process of finalising compensation with Hibs. - Sorry but I don't believe that for a minute, if this had happened it would be splashed all over the mainstream media.
(I know a bit more than that since but this is all I can say on the internet). - How convenient for you. :rolleyes:
So all your media guys have to do is ask the question tomorrow of Forest and they will get the same answer. Forest are not even denying it - they could easily have said No Comment (like they normally do at Forest) or McClaren and Calderwood were just chatting or talking about players but they didnt - they have confirmed the story straight out to this journalist immediately they were asked. - Aye right, why isn't it in the news then?
ps (I have just seen the Calderwood sky interview - I fully agree with what others have already said on here - there is not ONE hint he is going anywhere at all - if he did indeed do that today I am impressed. In fact he said far more than he needed to. But then again I suppose he cant say anything else until it is finalised) - It was definitely filmed today, FACT, :greengrin:wink: CC was taking part in a charity run with other members of the Hibs board
2) A couple fo days later arrange for them both to meet in a Leicester Hotel at a specific time that a Forest fan could get a photo of them talking together - It still isn't clear that it is Calderwood in that picture IMO
4) Get same long standing jounalist to then lie on his own twitter page about what Forest had said back to him !! - His quotes don't say he was told what he posted by the club
Watch it all play out next few days - only way it wont happen now is if the compensation isnt agreed or Calderwood has a change of heart but REGARDLESS you will know all about it now Forest arent denying the approach - Getting your excuses in early for it not happening?
(Your media need to get their own fingers out tomorrow and get some answers of their own - just like the Midlands guy did yesterday). Maybe your guys dont work weekends out of the football season ! lol - Or maybe they don't bother themselves with unsubstantiated drivel posted on forums when there is no clear indication there is any truth in it?
I think it is nonsense as you will note from the above. If it is indeed CC in that photo then it could be an innocent meeting about transfers or just mates catching up. Journos pick rumours up from forums all the time and use them, that doesn't make them true.
Since that photo was taken Hibs have unveiled another of CCs signings and the man himself has given an interview to sky sports taking about the other signings he is planning for Hibs, neither of these things would have happened if he was on his way.
19-06-2011, 08:55 PM
Ask fanhousepercy yourself guys - go on his twitter page - dont ask me why he hasnt run the story yet - maybe you will see it tomorrow morning ?
Then you can stop relying on a Forest fan to tell you what is happening with your own manager
By the way sorry if I am coming across as a know it all or clever dick but I am staggered how much you guys keep finding a way to deny this all ??
It is happening - you have seen the photo, Forest have said it is happening to the journalist and he has confirmed it on his twitter
He is a friendly enough guy leave me out and go to him direct if you dont believe me
I think you and Percy are one and the same.:wink:
19-06-2011, 08:59 PM
So it's definitely happening?
We'll find out pretty quickly now then as Rod is not renowned for hanging around in circumstances like this. He will also shaft your board for compo. Its what he does.
If you're right we'll apologise.
19-06-2011, 09:03 PM
It's not in the media here cos the media, like a lot of Hibs fans, don't care if he goes :aok:
nottmforestfan
I will say this guys
I have gone to a lot of effort to tell you that your manager is being poached by Forest. No benefit to me at all and cant tell you any more facts than I already have.
No I am not Percy ! lol
I am not a Hearts fan !
I am a Forest fan - I came on here to share info with you and see if anybody your end had anything to add
All I have had to do is keep defending myself - to start with had about 20 guys say that the photo didnt even exist - then when I poste it that its not Calderwood
Then some people saying the date had been doctored
Then people saying they were discussing Brendan "****in" Maloney of all players ! lol
Now when a journalist says that they are in talks about the job - he is crap for not selling the story exclusively yet
You guys have every excuse under the sun rather than to just accept the fcat that your manager is in the process of being tapped up - like what happens in football every week at some club or other
Keep re-assuring yourselves
Does anybody not believe this or are you all totally naive ??
The only thing that makes no sense to of is that mclaren was only recently appointed. I can't see discussing hibs signing targets with Colin calderwood being near the top of his to do list.
19-06-2011, 09:06 PM
I will say this guys
I have gone to a lot of effort to tell you that your manager is being poached by Forest. No benefit to me at all and cant tell you any more facts than I already have.
No I am not Percy ! lol
I am not a Hearts fan !
I am a Forest fan - I came on here to share info with you and see if anybody your end had anything to add
All I have had to do is keep defending myself - to start with had about 20 guys say that the photo didnt even exist - then when I poste it that its not Calderwood
Then people saying they were discussing Brendan "****in" Maloney of all players ! lol
Now when a journalist says that they are in talks about the job - he is crap for not selling the story exclusively yet
You guys have every excuse under the sun rather than to just accept the fcat that your manager is in the process of being tapped up - like what happens in football every week at some club or other
Tell us EVERYTHING you know and we will decide whether to believe you or not. I think you are at it for whatever strange reason.
I am usually spot on with these things. I get it from my Gypsy grandmother.
19-06-2011, 09:07 PM
Seven pages of bollox.
19-06-2011, 09:07 PM
FACT is they have met
I'll ask again - where's your proof?
nottmforestfan
19-06-2011, 09:10 PM
The only thing that makes no sense to of is that mclaren was only recently appointed. I can't see discussing hibs signing targets with Colin calderwood being near the top of his to do list.
Been trying to tell your fans this for the last 24 hours !
He has spent last 5 days sorting his backroom staff - nothing else - they are being announced on a daily basis - and he has still to announce his assistant manager
And he wants that to be Calderwood (to the dismay of most Forest fans)
19-06-2011, 09:11 PM
Even your own fans aren't convinced its him in the photo. Are they all totally naive as well? Stop being an arrogant smartarse.
19-06-2011, 09:12 PM
Then lets wait and see.
I would suspect that with Hibs beginning pre season tomorrow we will know then. Journalists up here talk gash and I would imagine its the same where you are.
Alternatively you may well be right and if that's the case I would expect that the timescale for this becoming public will be measured in hours not days.
I wish Forest good luck for the season ahead anyway.
I will say this guys
No I am not Percy ! lol
I am not a Hearts fan !
19-06-2011, 09:13 PM
I don't believe it and I'm not in denial. Why don't you explain the interview he gave this morning talking about Hibs and what his plans are for his next signings? While you're at it can you explain why the journo never asked him about this apparent FACT that he is off to Forest?
:cgwa
nottmforestfan
19-06-2011, 09:14 PM
Tell us EVERYTHING you know and we will decide whether to believe you or not. I think you are at it for whatever strange reason.
I am usually spot on with these things. I get it from my Gypsy grandmother.
The extra stuff the journalist knows - not for me to tell you - ask him yourself
Anyway I am sure your club will have to comment on this next couple of days themselves
I will come back on for your apologies then !
Yours in football
A Forest fan who gives up trying to tell you what you dont want to believe !
19-06-2011, 09:16 PM
Which twitter post did he say this was confirmed by Forest? I can't find it.
A poster or two on one of the NFFC forum seemed to suggest that this Percy is well known for recycling rumours and claiming credit if they come to pass. This false?
19-06-2011, 09:16 PM
The extra stuff the journalist knows - not for me to tell you - ask him yourself
For someone who was keen to 'break' the story to Hibs fans on this messageboard, you've suddenly gone a bit shy about filling in the gaps
nottmforestfan
19-06-2011, 09:17 PM
Even your own fans aren't convinced its him in the photo. Are they all totally naive as well? Stop being an arrogant smartarse.
A couple tried to suggest it was Colin Cooper out of hope and desperation because he was the initial favourite to be offered the job and that is who nearly all Forest fans would have preferred ahead of Calderwood - any genuine Forest fan on there knows who it is and its not Colin Cooper - dont be fooled by that.
Surely you guys can recognise him better than we can ?
19-06-2011, 09:18 PM
The FACT is, McClaren WANTS my boaby.
There. See, I can do it too.
19-06-2011, 09:18 PM
I don't think anybody here is naive enough to think our manager couldn't be tapped up. Personally I couldn't care less about whether an approach is made legally or not, it happens all the time What you are being challenged over is the lack or hard facts. Sorry, this 'journalist' has confirmed nothing other than the fact he is as partial to spreading rumours about on twitter as the next man. What newspapers is he usually published in by the way?
I have looked at the pic and I could not postively identify anybody in it but my eyesight is pretty poor. :greengrin
You may be right and fair dos to you if you are BUT the info you have provided here just does not hold up under scrutiny.
nottmforestfan
19-06-2011, 09:19 PM
I don't believe it and I'm not in denial. Why don't you explain the interview he gave this morning talking about Hibs and what his plans are for his next signings? While you're at it can you explain why the journo never asked him about this apparent FACT that he is off to Forest?
:cgwa
Already said on here that interview is shockingly convincing for someone wh has an idea they are on their way and he says far more than he needed to - cannot explain that at all. But doesnt stop the fact Forest have accepted they are in talks with him albeit to the only journalist who has actually asked them as yet I suggest.
19-06-2011, 09:22 PM
A couple tried to suggest it was Colin Cooper out of hope and desperation because he was the initial favourite to be offered the job and that is who nearly all Forest fans would have preferred ahead of Calderwood - any genuine Forest fan on there knows who it is and its not Colin Cooper - dont be fooled by that.
Surely you guys can recognise him better than we can ?
How so? He's only been our manager for 8 months. Forest had him for 30 months.
nottmforestfan
19-06-2011, 09:24 PM
I don't think anybody here is naive enough to think our manager couldn't be tapped up. Personally I couldn't care less about whether an approach is made legally or not, it happens all the time What you are being challenged over is the lack or hard facts. Sorry, this 'journalist' has confirmed nothing other than the fact he is as partial to spreading rumours about on twitter as the next man. What newspapers is he usually published in by the way?
I have looked at the pic and I could not postively identify anybody in it but my eyesight is pretty poor. :greengrin
You may be right and fair dos to you if you are BUT the info you have provided here just does not hold up under scrutiny.
Journalist is freelance but most Forest stories end up in Daily Mirror or Daily Mail from my experience
He has a very high up contact at Forest and would not jeaprdise that contact with this story
Only reason he contacted them yesterday was to pre-warn them about the potentially costly photo if Hibs werent aware of what was happening so he was surprised by how open Forest were in reply
Have to leave now guys - want to watch end of US open - hope Mcclroy still has a big lead
All the best
Velma Dinkley
19-06-2011, 09:24 PM
Anyway I am sure your club will have to comment on this next couple of days themselves
Yours in football
you don't seem to be giving up. quite the opposite. you seem absolutely desperate for hibs fans to believe an extremely weak rumour at best. so why would that be?
19-06-2011, 09:26 PM
It's not in the media here cos the media, like a lot of Hibs fans, don't care if he goes :aok:
Aye, ok.
19-06-2011, 09:27 PM
The FACT is, McClaren WANTS my boaby.
There. See, I can do it too.
Can I have a go?
The OP is full of **** FACT!
Cant reveal my source so don't ask.
How so? He's only been our manager for 8 months. Forest had him for 30 months.
Ah but its been so long since they saw him that they've forgotten what he looks like. So easily done. He maybe had long hair and a beard then.
Because he knows who IS going to be the assistant manager and prior to lumping a large amount of lolly on it, he's on a recruitment drive for punters to put a wedge on CC getting the job, thus lengthening the odds of the real deal.
Yours,
Columbo
19-06-2011, 09:29 PM
Because he knows who IS going to be the assistant manager and prior to lumping a large amount of lolly on it, he's on a recruitment drive for punters to put a wedge on CC getting the job, thus lengthening the odds of the real deal.
Yours,
Columbo
In a remarkably similar way to Ryehill Avenue did with Jim Gannon (remember him?)
19-06-2011, 09:30 PM
Journalist is freelance but most Forest stories end up in Daily Mirror or Daily Mail from my experience
He has a very high up contact at Forest and would not jeaprdise that contact with this story
Only reason he contacted them yesterday was to pre-warn them about the potentially costly photo if Hibs werent aware of what was happening so he was surprised by how open Forest were in reply
Have to leave now guys - want to watch end of US open - hope Mcclroy still has a big lead
All the best
Aye, right. :hilarious
19-06-2011, 09:30 PM
Have read bits and pieces of this thread so basically:
- McLaren wants our CC to be his assistant
- A journo has got hold of the story and hasn't sold it yet
- The aforementioned journo has it all over twitter allegedly*
- CC will quit the club using a clause in his contract
- Petrie has a large quantities of Polonium 210
- The Calendar Thread is being made into a film with Danny Dyer playing Matty_F
- There's a picture which may or may not be CC meeting McLaren
- He's been on SSN talking about plans for next season.
- Sean Lawson cross dresses on a thursday and calls itself 'Susan'
- This CC news will be out very soon.
*its two tweet....hardly all over!
I think I have it all now, have I missed anything?
SloopJB
19-06-2011, 09:33 PM
It's not McLaren, It's Red Bull.
19-06-2011, 09:36 PM
19-06-2011, 09:41 PM
Yours in football
So if it is true i cant see any reason why you cant tell us naive hibs fans the other stuff you know, instead of all this cloak and dagger pash
19-06-2011, 09:43 PM
Pretty good Gramo, but you got the wrong Danny
http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&safe=off&nord=1&biw=1199&bih=654&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=danny+devito&oq=danny+&aq=5&aqi=g10&aql=&gs_sm=c&gs_upl=12518l12518l0l1l1l0l0l0l0l690l690l5-1l1
19-06-2011, 09:44 PM
Pretty good Gramo, but you got the wrong Danny
http://www.google.co.uk/search?hl=en&safe=off&nord=1&biw=1199&bih=654&tbm=isch&sa=1&q=danny+devito&oq=danny+&aq=5&aqi=g10&aql=&gs_sm=c&gs_upl=12518l12518l0l1l1l0l0l0l0l690l690l5-1l1
It's a good likeness, tbf.
19-06-2011, 09:52 PM
In a remarkably similar way to Ryehill Avenue did with Jim Gannon (remember him?)
Barney, I'm not gonna lie, your post above came straight out of left field. You sold me a dummy there, fella :greengrin
19-06-2011, 09:53 PM
It's a good likeness, tbf.
He's too tall.
19-06-2011, 09:54 PM
Been trying to tell your fans this for the last 24 hours !
He has spent last 5 days sorting his backroom staff - nothing else - they are being announced on a daily basis - and he has still to announce his assistant manager
And he wants that to be Calderwood (to the dismay of most Forest fans)
If i had logged onto another football forum to tell their fans their manager was off to another club and then got treated like you have been , i would have pissed off by now !
What do you gain from telling us this ?
Why are you still here ?
There are about 3 posters on this whole thread that are half believing you.
Everyone else can sense your desperation and reek your bull****.
Still , its quite entertaining though:aok:
Fantic
19-06-2011, 09:55 PM
Yours in football
Aye so they will.. LTYF
19-06-2011, 09:56 PM
Does Hibs.net still have a vault ?
19-06-2011, 10:00 PM
Does Hibs.net still have a vault ?
The thread isn't going in it. He is :greengrin
19-06-2011, 10:01 PM
there's only two quotes on this guys twitter and despite this journalist being so in the know he hasn't even put a story on his own website
http://twitter.com/#!/fanhousepercy
http://www.fanhouse.co.uk/
And there we have the clincher .
Best thread in a while though OP:aok:
Newhaven
19-06-2011, 10:04 PM
Gramo in sensible post shock :faint:
19-06-2011, 10:37 PM
http://i.imgur.com/XAG0Q.jpg
edit - not my pic, not my paper. Just interesting it has made the rags is all, I think.
19-06-2011, 10:50 PM
edit - not my pic, not my paper. Just interesting it has made the rags is all, I think.
Lifted straight from here I bet given which rag that is. :greengrin
19-06-2011, 11:07 PM
http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/News-Nottingham-Forest-manger-Steve-McClaren-wants-to-bring-back-Hibernian-manager-Colin-Calderwood-as-backroom-staff-article749536.html
19-06-2011, 11:10 PM
http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/News-Nottingham-Forest-manger-Steve-McClaren-wants-to-bring-back-Hibernian-manager-Colin-Calderwood-as-backroom-staff-article749536.html
Was just away to post that link myself.
Not saying it's true but there certainly seems to be something in this.
19-06-2011, 11:12 PM
If true, looks like Hibs will be looking for a new manager.
19-06-2011, 11:12 PM
The interesting thing about that article is that there is absolutely nothing on there that hasn't come from anything already rumoured.
There may well be something in it, but it wouldn't be the first time that papers have ran with gossip from messageboards.
Would say, though, that it's going to be an interesting couple of days. I'd be raging with CC if he walked out the day we are back to pre-season.:agree:
19-06-2011, 11:15 PM
The interesting thing about that article is that there is absolutely nothing on there that hasn't come from anything already rumoured.
There may well be something in it, but it wouldn't be the first time that papers have ran with gossip from messageboards.
Would say, though, that it's going to be an interesting couple of days. I'd be raging with CC if he walked out the day we are back to pre-season.:agree:
Matty, i know you think this a big wind up, and i do hope you are right, but that article has alarm bells ringing for me. :aok:
19-06-2011, 11:27 PM
Matty, i know you think this a big wind up, and i do hope you are right, but that article has alarm bells ringing for me. :aok:
I'll not lie mate, it's got alarm bells ringing for me, too. But again, there are no direct quotes, and no suggestion of a solid source from anywhere either.
It could easily have been lifted from the numerous forums.
That's not me saying that it's not happening, it's as likely that they know exactly what's going on and have reported it accurately. I don't know either way.
We'll find out soon enough, I suppose!
19-06-2011, 11:29 PM
Nothing in the early Scotsman either, going by the RSS feeds. You'd have thought they'd have been all over it one way or another.
19-06-2011, 11:34 PM
Well if the OP was Ryehill in disguise he's got what he needed.
For the record - I think its utter tosh.
Straight off the forums and lazy journalism.
19-06-2011, 11:39 PM
Well if the OP was Ryehill in disguise he's got what he needed.
For the record - I think its utter tosh.
Straight off the forums and lazy journalism.
All it is IMO.
19-06-2011, 11:48 PM
It's in the express as well now, nearly word for word.
http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/253854/Steve-McClaren-I-want-Colin-Calderwood
19-06-2011, 11:52 PM
http://www.express.co.uk/posts/view/253854/Steve-McClaren-I-want-Colin-Calderwood
written by 'Daily Express Reporter'.....
Just a faceless wonder who has lifted it from here...DEFO :agree:
19-06-2011, 11:53 PM
Hmm, for a few years I've felt the Express/Star seem to have an inside man at the club as they have always had us linked to players we've signed a week or so before they've signed.
Hmm indeed everyone, hmm.
Manxhibs
20-06-2011, 12:00 AM
Still seems like utter nonsense to me
20-06-2011, 12:05 AM
I think the positive/negative (depending on your thoughts on CC) about the press reports, is that they're all almost word for word lifted straight from the forums, even with the use of 'escape clause', which is not a term I've heard often.
20-06-2011, 12:26 AM
I think the positive/negative (depending on your thoughts on CC) about the press reports, is that they're all almost word for word lifted straight from the forums, even with the use of 'escape clause', which is not a term I've heard often.
If they were lifting from here they would print and mention the photo, at the very least mention it I'd have thought.
HibeeMG
20-06-2011, 01:36 AM
I can exclusively reveal that my source tells me that there will be a press conference at some point on Thursday.
20-06-2011, 05:45 AM
The OP said that this was definitely happening so if there is an "escape clause" both clubs will know what it is so I dont see why they are "in talks". If Forest want him, and he wants to go which the OP also stated, then Forest either agree to pay or they dont. No need for the clubs to be "in talks". They pay the money and he goes. Its not complicated.
20-06-2011, 05:45 AM
Hmm, for a few years I've felt the Express/Star seem to have an inside man at the club as they have always had us linked to players we've signed a week or so before they've signed
It's reporter called Scott Burns that gets the credit for those stories, they're usually bang on the money but attributed to him.
This one isn't.
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 05:46 AM
And still you guys want to pretend its not happening !
Unbelievable !
I get the impression Calderwood could be physically sat in our dugout for first match of the season and someone on here could still find a way to deny this ! lol
I am not the enemy here by the way - As I have said from the very start of this thread I came on here to give you a heads up and share information and I tried to do as best I could
Any time anybody wants to apologise for calling me a Hearts fan please feel free !
I have had to take some right **** from you guys last 48 hours !
(I understand to some extent as in the past Derby fans have tried to run made up stories on Forest forums)
But trust me McClaren and Forest are doing everything they can to prise Calderwood from Forest - maybe if Hibs fans and the club accepted this and stopped trying to pretend it wasnt happening you might be able to persuade him to stay
(Like I say that interview he is supposed to have done yesterday morning didnt sound like a man who had already decided for sure he was going - which did surprise me based on what I had already been told)
I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT WILL HAPPEN NEXT BUT IF YOU NOW TRUST THAT I HAVENT BEEN BULL****TING FOR THE LAST 48 HOURS - YOU CAN AT LEAST GO BACK THROUGH THE THREAD (IF YOU HAVE TIME) TO KNOW WHAT HAS HAPPENED SO FAR
(Most Forest fans as it happens are still hoping that this doesnt go through). If it does they are hoping he is a far better assistant and coach than he was a manager for us
The other consensus is that he was a bit of a yes man for Forest and that is the reason our chairman and chief executive are happy for him to come back into the fold as part of McClaren's team
As most of you will know - Billy Davies was not a yes man and gave our chairman all sorts of problems and headaches the last couple of years.
(If Calderwood does leave you - Billy Davies would be a great appointment by the way - still very popular with most Forest fans and did not get the backing he deserved at Forest - you could do far worse than him - having said that first chance he gets he would leave you for Rangers).
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 05:53 AM
If they were lifting from here they would print and mention the photo, at the very least mention it I'd have thought.
That photo would only have been relevant if Forest had denied the meeting yesterday - which they didnt
The reason the papers are happy to run the story is that the freelance journalist has spoken directly to Forest and they have confirmed their interest
Its down to your chairman now I think to make the next move on this
At the very least Calderwood may be able to get a big payrise out of this if he can be persuaded to stay with you
(But as I have said before dont ruleout how big a factor being able to live 7 days a week with his family could be in this decision)
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 05:54 AM
Still seems like utter nonsense to me
You obviously havent been a football fan for very long then !
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 05:55 AM
It's reporter called Scott Burns that gets the credit for those stories, they're usually bang on the money but attributed to him.
This one isn't.
What will be next the excuse when Scott Burns says its true I wonder ??
Still clutching at straws guys
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 05:56 AM
And there we have the clincher .
Best thread in a while though OP:aok:
Thanks mate
20-06-2011, 06:00 AM
What will be next the excuse when Scott Burns says its true I wonder ??
Still clutching at straws guys
How's it an excuse exactly?
It's a FACT (did you see what I did there?) that all the stories in the Express recently regarding Hibs speculation have been by him. It's also a FACT that this one isn't.
No excuses, just saying what it is. With FACTS. Would it make it more true if I posted a couple of tweets about it?
20-06-2011, 06:11 AM
!
But trust me McClaren and Forest are doing everything they can to prise Calderwood from Forest - maybe if Hibs fans and the club accepted this and stopped trying to pretend it wasnt happening you might be able to persuade him to stay).
This is the bit that gets me and I am not trying to belittle your information BUT if there is a release clause in his contract then Forest pay it and he's gone. Contracts are pretty wothless in these instances anyhow but we have been told by you that the deal is already done, so what's the hold up?
The other consensus is that he was a bit of a yes man for Forest and that is the reason our chairman and chief executive are happy for him to come back into the fold as part of McClaren's team
As most of you will know - Billy Davies was not a yes man and gave our chairman all sorts of problems and headaches the last couple of years.
Calderwood is not a "yes man". He is polite and articulate but, as someone once pointed out on here I think, you would not want to jump in front of him in a taxi queue. I dont think, like his predecessor here, you will catch him lighting farts either.
Davies was/is a whinging git. Always has been and nothing's ever his fault. Talented he undoubtedly is but he's nowhere near as good as he thinks he is.
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 06:11 AM
How's it an excuse exactly?
It's a FACT (did you see what I did there?) that all the stories in the Express recently regarding Hibs speculation have been by him. It's also a FACT that this one isn't.
No excuses, just saying what it is. With FACTS. Would it make it more true if I posted a couple of tweets about it?
Now because of the name of the journalist it cant be true
You guys who continue to disbelieve this is happening should read back through the list of denials that you have come up with in the last 48 hours
And even now when it is countless newspapers it cant be true
I have even given you the photo of the actual meeting when this started - I cannot think what more evidence you coud possibly need to accept Mcclaren is trying to poach Calderwood
I hope you dont ever delete this thread because in the cold light of day when you guys look back on it - it has to be one of the funniest and most entertaining threads in football forum hsitory
One solitary Forest fan taking on an entire forum and eventually just eventually perhaps one of the forum he takes on start to realise he wasnt lying
20-06-2011, 06:14 AM
Now because of the name of the journalist it cant be true
Can you show me the quote of where I said it wasn't true?
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 06:16 AM
[QUOTE=Kaiser1962;2834075]This is the bit that gets me and I am not trying to belittle your information BUT if there is a release clause in his contract then Forest pay it and he's gone. Contracts are pretty wothless in these instances anyhow but we have been told by you that the deal is already done, so what's the hold up?
QUOTE]
I was just quoting what the journalist had said yesterday - he also says they are still in talks - you would have to ask him, Forest or Hibs what the holdup is
Fact is though Claderwood clearly hasnt said I am not interested and I want to stay or they wouldnt even be in talks now or discussing escape clauses
So either Calderwood is seeing this as a way of negotiating a better deal with you guys or he does indeed want to join Forest
I dont have all the answers mate - like I say what happens next your guess is as good as mine
I can only tell you things from the Forest point of view - do you not have any guys on here with inside information from Hibs point of view ??
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 06:30 AM
Do you have a local daily paper - surely they must run something about this ??
It is all over ours - ours is a different to the Nationals and says "deal is far from concluded" out of interest and "formal talks have yet to take place"
http://www.thisisnottingham.co.uk/nottinghamforest
(Anyway I think we can safely say now that they werent discussing Brendan Maloney or old times in that hotel in Leicester)
20-06-2011, 06:34 AM
I was just quoting what the journalist had said yesterday - he also says they are still in talks - you would have to ask him, Forest or Hibs what the holdup is
Fact is though Claderwood clearly hasnt said I am not interested and I want to stay or they wouldnt even be in talks now or discussing escape clauses
Fair enough and, as you say, nothing would surprise me in football. But the point remains that IF there is a release clause then there is no reason for Hibs and Forest to be talking. Dosent make sense if you understand me. Calderwood yes but Hibs no. Why would he be in Glasgow yesterday if he was trying to negotiate his future?
Valid points I am sure you agree.
I can only tell you things from the Forest point of view - do you not have any guys on here with inside information from Hibs point of view ??
Yes we do but there seems to be nothing really at this end. That may change today when the players report back however.
20-06-2011, 06:35 AM
someone would need to be pretty motivated, or bored, to go to all that trouble.
:agree: And this is what rules out Shaun Lawson as the OP. There is absolutely no way that he is ever bored. He simply doesn't have the time to be bored, what with all the travelling up and down from the saf of England to the PBS.
No, the OP 100% definitely isn't Shaun Lawson. And if it is, he'll have pulled a fast one over the bookies' eyes.
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 06:44 AM
:agree: And this is what rules out Shaun Lawson as the OP. There is absolutely no way that he is ever bored. He simply doesn't have the time to be bored, what with all the travelling up and down from the saf of England to the PBS.
No, the OP 100% definitely isn't Shaun Lawson. And if it is, he'll have pulled a fast one over the bookies' eyes.
Unfortunately have not been able to find a bookie to take a bet on the next Forest assistant manager
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 06:50 AM
A very desperate and bitterly sad Jambo twat, who is so ashamed at his Paedophile bus shelter pals that he wants to wind others up, a sad and lame attempt.
Big Jim knew
That was the best comment I got within first hour of posting on here
20-06-2011, 06:56 AM
I'm starting to get the impression some people on here can't see the woods for the trees, or is it Forest, I'm getting confused now! :-)
20-06-2011, 06:58 AM
Feel free to take him mate, he will be no loss to us. And if we can get £250k or so into the bargain then all the better. His motivational skills are zero.
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 07:01 AM
That is because I have been telling you the truth from the very start -simple as that
All the rumours came from a number of in the know Forest fans who had already heard McClaren was targetting Calderwood - backed up a few days later by the photo of them meeting - which was a very lucky and freak occurrence that a Forest fan would spot them in a Leicester Hotel together
But the fact the rumour was out there before this meeting was enough for us to know they werent discussing players or loans
Basically a case of a football forum in Notts actually stumbling across a story publishing it themselves and then the local media checking it out with Forest to discover it was actually true and now it has made the National papers
We still dont know 100% if he will leave you to join us - but we do know that the photo I attached on here was Mcclaren selling the Forest assistant manager job to Calderwood and so far Calderwood hasnt said no
Prawn Sandwich
20-06-2011, 07:01 AM
This post is utter nonsense. Admin should remove it.
20-06-2011, 07:02 AM
How do you know it's rubbish?
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 07:02 AM
Feel free to take him mate, he will be no loss to us. And if we can get £250k or so into the bargain then all the better. His motivational skills are zero.
I will be honest and say knowing our club we wouldnt pay that much - but maybe our club will surprise us
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 07:06 AM
Typical response from your fans all weekend on here
Are you going to ban all the newspapers from reporting it as well then ?
Daily Record, Daily Express, Daily Mirror, Nottingham Evening Post are four I have seen already this morning that are confirming this
I am sure there are more and if your local paper doesnt mention this then they arent doing their job properly is all I can say - the story is out there and your local media just need to start asking your chairman and manager some questions (and if they go no comment they should ask Forest)
20-06-2011, 07:06 AM
That is because I have been telling you the truth from the very start -simple as that
OK mate calm down, Forest are talking to CC, we believe you. I was down at Forest a couple of times when CC was manager and wee Pumper was his assistant and almost every Forest fan I spoke to had no time for CC, it would be interesting to see how they viewed his 'return'.
20-06-2011, 07:08 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2011/06/20/nottingham-forest-boss-steve-mcclaren-wants-hibs-manager-colin-calderwood-as-his-righthand-man-86908-23213787/
20-06-2011, 07:11 AM
I will be honest and say knowing our club we wouldnt pay that much - but maybe our club will surprise us
McLaren is a new guy and a reasonably big name for Forest so I would imagine that at this early stage of his reign they will be doing whatever they can to accommodate his requests. Depends how much his "escape clause" is however, as talks have already taken place all parties will know this and if Forest weren't willing to pay then they would not have entered discussions.
So is it all a "done deal" or not?
Velma Dinkley
20-06-2011, 07:11 AM
http://sport.stv.tv/football/99988-gannon-linked-with-hibs-vacancy/
HNA12
20-06-2011, 07:13 AM
Typical response from your fans all weekend on here
Are you going to ban all the newspapers from reporting it as well then ?
Daily Record, Daily Express, Daily Mirror, Nottingham Evening Post are four I have seen already this morning that are confirming this
I am sure there are more and if your local paper doesnt mention this then they arent doing their job properly is all I can say - the story is out there and your local media just need to start asking your chairman and manager some questions (and if they go no comment they should ask Forest)
If all you are hanging about for now is to throw out jibes at Hibs fans you ain't going to last much longer on here. Up to you.
20-06-2011, 07:14 AM
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/2011/06/20/nottingham-forest-boss-steve-mcclaren-wants-hibs-manager-colin-calderwood-as-his-righthand-man-86908-23213787/
Know anything about this release clause?
20-06-2011, 07:16 AM
Lifted from the article
A club spokesman said: "We have had no contact at all from Nottingham Forest regarding Colin."
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 07:17 AM
OK mate calm down, Forest are talking to CC, we believe you. I was down at Forest a couple of times when CC was manager and wee Pumper was his assistant and almost every Forest fan I spoke to had no time for CC, it would be interesting to see how they viewed his 'return'.
Most are against him coming back but others are trying to say he will make a good number two/coach
And McClaren wants to start some kind of Devlopment Team of 18 to 21 year olds and it is this team that he wants Calderwood to take control of.
Backwards step for Calderwood many would say but perhaps his wife favours him coming back to the Midlands to be with his family and that is part of the decsion he has to make
Velma Dinkley
20-06-2011, 07:18 AM
so the only newspaper that bothered to get a quote from either board was the daily record, with hibs confirming there has been no contact between the clubs. did the twitter journalist not have a pen handy when he called the nottingham forrest board? not much of a journalist, is he? :na na:
20-06-2011, 07:19 AM
Lifted from the article
A club spokesman said: "We have had no contact at all from Nottingham Forest regarding Colin."
Key phrase is "Reports in England claim". Nobody at the Daily Record actually knows this, they are just reporting that some people in England (ie the guy on twitter and the Notts Forest vital football site) are claiming this is happening. Derivative reportage.
Prawn Sandwich
20-06-2011, 07:21 AM
The only way CC is going to leave is if Petrie has indicated to him he is gash and he'll be on his way soon e.g. John Collins debacle.
If CC met McLaren he was just preparing for his impending unemployment. Otherwise I have read nothing in the National press that says CC is interested in leaving Hibs.
Until I hear from a reliable source or read that CC says he is interested in the job I'll treat this as utter tosh.
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 07:25 AM
Lifted from the article
Unfortunately Colin wont be able to say the same thing due to the photo evidence
Forest and McClaren are aware of the photo and I am sure McClaren will have warned Calderwood in advance that the photo is out there so will be interesting to see what Calderwood says when asked about any contact from Forest
20-06-2011, 07:27 AM
Unfortunately Colin wont be able to say the same thing due to the photo evidence
Forest and McClaren are aware of the photo and I am sure McClaren will have warned Calderwood in advance that the photo is out there so will be interesting to see what Calderwood says when asked about any contact from Forest
:yawn:
How do you know that they were talking about Calderwood re-joining Forest?
Stop spinning bollocks.
20-06-2011, 07:27 AM
The only way CC is going to leave is if Petrie has indicated to him he is gash and he'll be on his way soon e.g. John Collins debacle.
I think JC was at least given the opportunity to see if his signings could actually play and I feel sure CC will be given the same courtesy. If he wants to that is.
Lest ye forget it was Rod that went after CC this time round as CC did not apply when Yogi left.
20-06-2011, 07:30 AM
Now your being silly. While the guy looks a bit like CC it is a poor photo taken from a distance in bad light. Not even sure its McLaren either to be honest. He could have been having a cup of tea with a mate, who knows.
All speculation to be fair and as the story develops your claims (or the guy Percy's) are slowly unraveling.
20-06-2011, 07:40 AM
1. CC may have been in discussion with Davies over a player or two and since davies has gone wanted to clarify a few things with SM about any deals that may have been on the go.
2. SM may have wanted some more detailed info on things at club from somebody whom managed and perhaps felt bad form to talk to Davies so soon after sacking.
3. SM wants CC to be his assistant at Forrestt.
IMO all 3 of these could be case with 1 and 2 the favs, the only scenario above that needs any contact to HIbs is 3. If CC has family in area then it is no surprise he is there rather than doing any business over phone.
But with these things 1 and 2 are the boring ones so 3 will get more attention as it has the most interesting outcomes but it is no more likely than 1 or 2.
jiggerman
20-06-2011, 07:48 AM
I have been away abroad since Thursday and have totally missed the Calderwood to Forest rumour (and the O'Connor signing :thumbsup:).
I have no inside information and am probably way off the mark but Gordon Strachan was on my flight from B'ham to Edinburgh last night.
I thought nothing of it at the time, but since reading the forums on my return could the Hibs board be acting fast in expectation of Calderwood wanting out?
As I say, I have no inside information or the like, but thought I would share my inevitable miscalculation in case anyone had heard any whispers?
20-06-2011, 07:50 AM
so the only newspaper that bothered to get a quote from either board was the daily record, with hibs confirming there has been no contact between the clubs. did the twitter journalist not have a pen handy when he called the nottingham forrest board? not much of a journalist, is he? :na na:
Folk will ignore the comments from the club, who are so far the ONLY people quoted who would know one way or the other.
McIntosh
20-06-2011, 07:55 AM
I have been away abroad since Thursday and have totally missed the Calderwood to Forest rumour (and the O'Connor signing :thumbsup:).
I have no inside information and am probably way off the mark but Gordon Strachan was on my flight from B'ham to Edinburgh last night.
I thought nothing of it at the time, but since reading the forums on my return could the Hibs board be acting fast in expectation of Calderwood wanting out?
As I say, I have no inside information or the like, but thought I would share my inevitable miscalculation in case anyone had heard any whispers?
Has this forum went mad?
20-06-2011, 07:56 AM
Has SM worked with CC before? If not, seems strange that he is so keen to get him now!
20-06-2011, 07:56 AM
Just when you think this place could not possibly get any sillier. :greengrin
McIntosh
20-06-2011, 08:00 AM
Has this forum went mad?
If CC was being 'illegally' approached - do you think that they would do it a public place for any ******** to photograph them? This has more holes in it than a stringvest. It feels like wishful thinking on the part of some.
This is getting my tits for the sheer amount of counter-factuals.
20-06-2011, 08:02 AM
Gordon Strachan was on my flight from Newquay to Edinburgh last month, two days before the Scottish Cup Final. That's probably because a) he lives in Edinburgh nowadays and b) he was on holiday in Cornwall.
That would lead me to conclude if he was on a flight from Birmingham to Edinburgh yesterday, it's because he may have been in talks with a Birmingham area club with a managerial vacancy. Tough one that.
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 08:03 AM
If all you are hanging about for now is to throw out jibes at Hibs fans you ain't going to last much longer on here. Up to you.
1 poster against 1,000 is very hard to deal with you know ! lol
And some of your guys know how to dish it out for sure
Stop shooting the messenger is my plea to you
What happens next impacts both our clubs - I have told you as much as I can - dont have all the answers - I cant see what else I can tell you to convince you this is actually all going on - some of you are determined to deny it
Time for you guys and your own media to get to the bottom of this is my advice - if I hear anything else from the Forest end that doesnt reach the national media will let you know
Similarly, if you guys hear anything your end feel free to go on the thread on Vitalforest to update us Forest fans
All the best guys
Its been emotional !
McIntosh
20-06-2011, 08:04 AM
It is all over ours - ours is a different to the Nationals and says "deal is far from concluded" out of interest and "formal talks have yet to take place"
(Anyway I think we can safely say now that they werent discussing Brendan Maloney or old times in that hotel in Leicester)
“The reporting in the NEP gets worse by the day. A pathetic internet rumour reported as fact because it might sell one or two papers. No way is Numptywood coming back to play second fiddle. Poor journalism yet again.”
20-06-2011, 08:07 AM
Has SM worked with CC before? If not, seems strange that he is so keen to get him now!
McClaren is surrounding himself with a broad range of authentic accents, as he is fed up with people taking the piss out of him for his own attempts at mimicry. CC has been identified as the best at authentic Dumfries accents. This is what's really going on. Nothing shtrange about it.
jiggerman
20-06-2011, 08:09 AM
Gordon Strachan was on my flight from Newquay to Edinburgh last month, two days before the Scottish Cup Final. That's probably because a) he lives in Edinburgh nowadays and b) he was on holiday in Cornwall.
That would lead me to conclude if he was on a flight from Birmingham to Edinburgh yesterday, it's because he may have been in talks with a Birmingham area club with a managerial vacancy. Tough one that.
I was not aware he lived in Edinburgh. You're a very clever boy. Well done.
20-06-2011, 08:11 AM
What happens next impacts both our clubs - I have told you as much as I can - dont have all the answers - I cant see what else I can tell you to convince you this is actually all going on - some of you are determined to deny it
Time for you guys and your own media to get to the bottom of this is my advice - if I hear anything else from the Forest end that doesnt reach the national media will let you know
Similarly, if you guys hear anything your end feel free to go on the thread on Vitalforest to update us Forest fans
All the best guys
Its been emotional !
The point is nobody can say what the content of a meeting was, some can decide it is him leaving, some can decide it is about player deals, some can decide its about some advice. As I said the most interesting plot is CC leaving as that brings up most discussion but it is no more based in fact than anything else.
Perhaps SM wanted to know what Brolly CC used at Forest.
20-06-2011, 08:12 AM
On Daily Express website this morning, no quotes from anyone on either side though.
20-06-2011, 08:13 AM
All the best guys
Its been emotional !
Surely you can understand why most Hibs fans find it a very strange thing to accept?
Calderwood was on SSN yesterday discussing his plans with Hibs, hes just signed O'Hanlon, a player hes been after for a while and theres been nothing to suggest he is looking to leave Hibs. He also left a Premiership club as assistant manager to take on a managerial job himself, why would he then go back to a Championship club as a no. 2?
Fair enough there is a photo that looks like him and McClaren having a meeting, but how do you know what it was about? Pure speculation that it was about the no. 2 position, and given that theres no quotes in any of the articles that are running the story, it suggests that its been lifted straight off of here or one of the Forest messageboards.
If the story does indeed turn out to be true then fair enough, think its a poor move for Calderwood and it will be annoying that weve lost yet another manager, but dont think hes done anything special to be worried about losing him in particular.
20-06-2011, 08:13 AM
I was not aware he lived in Edinburgh. Your a very clever boy. Well done.
Hardly. Strachan has openly stated he is now living in Edinburgh in newspaper interviews since he left Middlesbrough. That partly explains why he attended the last derby game of last season (and he wasn't there on behalf of a club).
McIntosh
20-06-2011, 08:24 AM
This is the problem your not a messager - this is beyond flimsy. If you could provide collaborative evidence beyond an alleged meaning which has any number of multiple meanings. This story and that is all it is, could could be taken seriously. If Nottingham Forest wanted to speak to Hibs concerning CC leaving they at some juncture would have to seek permission.
What angers me is that your type of nonsense is its effect on employers - it only sews mistrust. Please differntiate between fact, conjecture and wishful thinking. I noticed that there is a rumour that Nottingham Forest are trying to sign Wes Brown which one does this fall into?
20-06-2011, 08:26 AM
All the best guys
Its been emotional !
I believe the story and thanks for the info (our usual 'in the know' posters will be gutted at not claiming the scoop:greengrin)
For my money the lure of being no1 and your own man will be too strong for an ambitious young manager and he will stay at Hibs not to mention a certain amount of loyalty towards his new signings.
If I'm wrong and he does go I don't think many Hibs fans will be crying themselves to sleep but like me will be very disappointed at the timing of this move.
20-06-2011, 08:29 AM
In Ryehill's defence, Gannon was in the running for the Hibs job.
On Forest/CC, I still think this is a nothing story and that all the press stories are coming from the same 'source'. The Mirror and Record can be counted as one newspaper so it's not 'all over' the press.
20-06-2011, 08:42 AM
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11792_6997235,00.html (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11792_6997235,00.html)
CC is denying it here, sorry if posted.
20-06-2011, 08:47 AM
SSN are saying Hibs are saying 'eh?'
http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11792_6997235,00.html (http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528,11792_6997235,00.html)
Sorry if I have misread it but its Hibs not CC that are denying contact.
Posturing for position perhaps and more compo. maybe simply the truth:greengrin
BarneyK
No direct quote from CC in that article - it's the club that have denied any contact
Manxhibs
20-06-2011, 08:48 AM
Think that's more a club statement with calderwoods quotes from yesterday attached to the bottom but certainly means that Hibs had no knowledge of any meeting.
20-06-2011, 08:56 AM
Has this forum went mad?
If CC was being 'illegally' approached - do you think that they would do it a public place for any ******** to photograph them? This has more holes in it than a stringvest. It feels like wishful thinking on the part of some.
This is getting my tits for the sheer amount of counter-factuals.
Completely agree, it would be done by phone then some secret meeting probably between agents first then possibly a secret meeting between the parties. For it to be done in a hotel smacks to me like complete nonsense and far more likely if they did meet they were discussing players or McLaren was tapping some information about Forest from CC. Why would CC go back to a team as a Number 2 from which he was recently sacked as a career move it doesnt appear to be the smartest IMO.
20-06-2011, 09:00 AM
What's more disturbing about that photo is that if you look at the table behind you'll see Celtic's head of HR Maryhen O'Patrique talking to the unmistakable Elaine Morrison of Hibs.
The club need to come out and issue a statment on this.
Suburban Hibby
20-06-2011, 09:04 AM
Completely agree, it would be done by phone then some secret meeting probably between agents first then possibly a secret meeting between the parties. For it to be done in a hotel smacks to me like complete nonsense and far more likely if they did meet they were discussing players or McLaren was tapping some information about Forest from CC. Why would CC go back to a team as a Number 2 from which he was recently sacked as a career move it doesnt appear to be the smartest IMO.
It does not neccessarily need to be a covert mission- I was at a Golf day in East Lothian a couple of weeks back and the other visiting party was a day being ran by John Colquhouns company- Calderwood, was there, so were Peter Houston, Craig Levein, and a certain Steve McLaren amongst others- seeds may have been planted then....
Then again it might by one plus one is three!
20-06-2011, 09:04 AM
if CC is thinking of leaving then why is he wasting his time signing players and still looking at brining more in?
Why Would he say about Sean O'Hanlon that he has been chasing him for a long time but only now being able to secure him?
CC left Newcastle to be his "Own Man" why would he go back to being an assistant?
Im sure these questions have already been asked but 14 pages is ALOT! If Hibs havent been approached and Forest are trying to tap him up, i hope we take it as far as we can and get compensation.
I think CC will still be a Hibee come start of the season :agree:
Hibs On Tour
20-06-2011, 09:09 AM
It does not neccessarily need to be a covert mission- I was at a Golf day in East Lothian a couple of weeks back and the other visiting party was a day being ran by John Colquhouns company- Calderwood, was there, so were Peter Houston, Craig Levein, and a certain Steve McLaren amongst others- seeds may have been planted then....
Then again it might by one plus one is three!
Could the photo have been taken there then?...
As I said about 7,000 posts ago on this thread the only FACT I know is that I know SFA!!! However out of all the posts there is only one FACT & that is that a guy who looks like CC was pictured openly having a coffee with the Brolly. Incidentally, who's the 3rd guy in pic & why has he not been mentioned??
The rest is conjecture based on stories here. I can believe anything in football but based on CC's interview yesterday he's more likely to be a candidate for an Oscar than for Forest if he was lying!!
PS, this could be an all time classic thread & though I believe the OP is 100% genuine I note he already has a fall-back position ready, ie talks happened but Forest wouldn't splash the cash!!
20-06-2011, 09:28 AM
As I said about 7,000 posts ago on this thread the only FACT I know is that I know SFA!!! However out of all the posts there is only one FACT & that is that a guy who looks like CC was pictured openly having a coffee with the Brolly. Incidentally, who's the 3rd guy in pic & why has he not been mentioned??
The rest is conjecture based on stories here. I can believe anything in football but based on CC's interview yesterday he's more likely to be a candidate for an Oscar than for Forest if he was lying!!
PS, this could be an all time classic thread & though I believe the OP is 100% genuine I note he already has a fall-back position ready, ie talks happened but Forest wouldn't splash the cash!!
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 09:36 AM
It is all in the thread but at 14 pages long I can understand why people dont read it all
The other guy with white hair is believed to be Bill Beswick who McClaren appointed earlier this week at Forest. He is a sports psychologist who seems to follow McClaren every where he goes.
If you check my opening post I have said all along Mcclaren is TRYING to lure Calderwood - I cannot seond guess what Calderwood will choose to do (I was hoping someone your end had some inside info they could share from Calderwood's point of view)
When the reporter has asked Forest the situation they have said to him they are in talks that involve an escape clause so at this stage it appears Calderwood has not ruled this out
Hibs seem to be saying the opposite so one of either Forest or Hibs are already lying
(I totally agree Calderwood deserves an oscar if he has done that interview knowing that he is planning to jump ship) But then again - he cant exactly announce he is leaving at that stage either can he ?
I only came on here to share the info that Forest fans have had for a few days now that McClaren has set his sights on Calderwood
Whether he gets him or not is another matter
20-06-2011, 09:43 AM
From the Beeb's Monday gossip column:
Colin Calderwood insists he is committed to Hibs after being approached by Nottingham Forest to assist Steve McClaren
For once I WANT to agree with the Beeb's source.
Onwards & upwards - today is the first day of pre-season training and I fully expect CC to be in charge for the forseeable future.
20-06-2011, 09:51 AM
Colin Calderwood insists he is committed to Hibs after being approached by Nottingham Forest to assist Steve McClaren
Onwards & upwards - today is the first day of pre-season training and I fully expect CC to be in charge for the forseeable future.
Why did he meet McClaren and if he did was it behind the Boards back if they have had no contact from Forest.
20-06-2011, 09:59 AM
This one isn't.
20-06-2011, 10:02 AM
And still you guys want to pretend its not happening !
Unbelievable !
I get the impression Calderwood could be physically sat in our dugout for first match of the season and someone on here could still find a way to deny this ! lol
I am not the enemy here by the way - As I have said from the very start of this thread I came on here to give you a heads up and share information and I tried to do as best I could
Any time anybody wants to apologise for calling me a Hearts fan please feel free !
I have had to take some right **** from you guys last 48 hours !
(I understand to some extent as in the past Derby fans have tried to run made up stories on Forest forums)
But trust me McClaren and Forest are doing everything they can to prise Calderwood from Forest - maybe if Hibs fans and the club accepted this and stopped trying to pretend it wasnt happening you might be able to persuade him to stay
(Like I say that interview he is supposed to have done yesterday morning didnt sound like a man who had already decided for sure he was going - which did surprise me based on what I had already been told)
I HAVE NO IDEA WHAT WILL HAPPEN NEXT BUT IF YOU NOW TRUST THAT I HAVENT BEEN BULL****TING FOR THE LAST 48 HOURS - YOU CAN AT LEAST GO BACK THROUGH THE THREAD (IF YOU HAVE TIME) TO KNOW WHAT HAS HAPPENED SO FAR
(Most Forest fans as it happens are still hoping that this doesnt go through). If it does they are hoping he is a far better assistant and coach than he was a manager for us
(If Calderwood does leave you - Billy Davies would be a great appointment by the way - still very popular with most Forest fans and did not get the backing he deserved at Forest - you could do far worse than him - having said that first chance he gets he would leave you for Rangers).
I thought you did, i thought you said he'd be sitting in the Forest dug out very soon?
This is pish, i'd put my reputation on it. :faf::faf:
Ive just read the lot .
1 Forrest fan against the lot off us ,liar , no a conclusive photo ,I saw Strachan on a plane ,yer writing in bold now ,
your no making any friends here , hes a Yam ,the Records got the scoop , Lindsay says nae contact from Forrest ,
Calderwood says heehaw apart from he`s got cash left to spend on new players ,
we wouldnae miss him your welcome to him ,Forrest fans dinnae want him either.
Do we believe one Forrest fan ,could it possibly be true that Hibs will be looking for yet another manager in such a short period of time ,
I must admit I would be astounded if this came about
Do you think this 800 miles round trip to see his kids that he makes every week is the crux of all this ,, is it purely a photo with 2 football guys having a chat ,is a hotel lobby the place to have a meeting of such importance to both parties ,
do you really care if he stays or go`s.
Poirot couldnae sort this out if indeed there is something to sort out ,
IMO the butler done it, either that or the guy seeing Strachan makes me think he`s in line for the gig .
20-06-2011, 10:04 AM
Why did he meet McClaren and if he did was it behind the Boards back if they have had no contact from Forest.
Why are we assuming it's Calderwood in the picture?
Why are we assuming that Calderwood needs permission from Hibs to meet anybody on a social basis?
Why does it always rain on me?
Why does your love hurt so much?
Why are we assuming that Hibs don't know about this just because a club statement said there's been no official contact from Forest?
Tell me why I don't like Mondays?
Why-kiki beach?
Why are we assuming that Calderwood wants to be an assistant again?
Why do we err on the side of worst case scenario?
Why do we care anyway when most on here want 'Clueless Colin' out anyway?
20-06-2011, 10:11 AM
I thought you did, i thought you said he'd be sitting in the Forest dug out very soon?
This is pish, i'd put my reputation on it. :faf::faf:
YOUR reputation, BH? You have a reputation? :na na:
I was PM'ing a few other guys about you a few days ago.
(You know, a wee private back-biting-bitchy-all-girls-together-let's-stick-the-knife-into-BH session. :greengrin)
You don't want to hear what they were saying about you....
Come to think about it, you don't want to know what I was saying about you either. :devil:
I would say that as of now, this has to go down as one of the most successful trolling operations perpetrated on this board ever. This is, as you say, PISH.
:agree::agree:
nottmforestfan
20-06-2011, 10:15 AM
That is new info - because according to Hibs there has been no contact from Forest ? Calderwood and Hibs arent singing off the same hymn sheet as yet
So you have to assume BBC have actually spoken to Calderwood in last hour and he has accepted the fact McClaren offered him the job and is saying he has turned him down
My only concern would be it is called the BBC "gossip" column so have they actually spoken to him or are they guessing ?
For what its worth Forest fans on our forums are saying a Hibs spokesman saying "there has been no contact from Forest" isnt exactly a hands off our manager kind of statement
20-06-2011, 10:16 AM
YOUR reputation, BH? You have a reputation? :na na:
I was PM'ing a few other guys about you a few days ago.
(You know, a wee private back-biting let's a stick the knife into BH session. :greengrin)
You don't want to hear what they were saying about you....
Come to think about it, you don't want to know what I was saying about you either. :devil:
I would say that as of now, this has to go down as one of the most successful trolling operations perpetrated on this board ever. This is, as you say, PISH.
:agree::agree:
My reputation is the last thing i'd worry about on here. :greengrin Yip a very good trolling operation, that seems to have caught quite a few. :top marks
Its still pish though.
20-06-2011, 10:22 AM
That is new info - because according to Hibs there has been no contact from Forest ? Calderwood and Hibs arent singing off the same hymn sheet as yet
So you have to assume BBC have actually spoken to Calderwood in last hour and he has accepted the fact McClaren offered him the job and is saying he has turned him down
My only concern would be it is called the BBC "gossip" column so have they actually spoken to him or are they guessing ?
For what its worth Forest fans on our forums are saying a Hibs spokesman saying "there has been no contact from Forest" isnt exactly a hands off our manager kind of statement
Over the last couple of years it has been near impossible to get any inside info about hibs - transfers, etc - before they are a done deal. In fact, if CC goes, our official website probably won't even report it.
The first time we're likely to ear from hibs on this is if CC goes.
I personally want him to finish the rebuilding he has started
20-06-2011, 10:23 AM
Straw clutching a wee bit there, you're reading too much into the phrasing of a one-liner to sum up the story. There's only been reported interest, the foundation of which has stemmed from the internet.
20-06-2011, 10:23 AM
My reputation is the last thing i'd worry about on here. :greengrin Yip a very good trolling operation, that seems to have caught quite a few. :top marks
Its still pish though.
I see we're now taking the BBC's GOSSIP column as a credible source.
What next? Football Rumours?
Her's a thought, BH.
What if the photo is of CC offering McLaren the post of assistant manager at ER? To replace Derek Adams? :wink: