View Full Version : ***CC - Staying Or Going?***/NFFC Appoint Coach MERGED

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17

02-07-2011, 03:14 PM
He's as emotionless as ever just standing there. No reaction to or from the crowd at all.

02-07-2011, 03:18 PM
The **** should be getting pelters :agree:

02-07-2011, 03:18 PM
He's as emotionless as ever just standing there. No reaction to or from the crowd at all.

Is he at the game or not?? :confused:

02-07-2011, 03:20 PM
Just went from having his arms to folding them only to change right back. Interesting develpment.

02-07-2011, 03:21 PM
Just went from having his arms to folding them only to change right back. Interesting develpment.
So he's not got arms and has changed a full back?

02-07-2011, 03:21 PM
Yehbutnobut: no I'm looking through his living room window.

02-07-2011, 03:22 PM

02-07-2011, 03:23 PM

voyeur :na na:

02-07-2011, 03:23 PM
He's definitely got arms. Just picked up a water bottle. Could just be the one though as I couldn't see the other side. Rod will be worried he might spend like a man with nae arms.

02-07-2011, 03:24 PM

Thats made my mind up now, he's got to go.

02-07-2011, 03:25 PM
He's definitely got arms. Just picked up a water bottle. Could just be the one though as I couldn't see the other side. Rod will be worried he might spend like a man with nae arms.

Aye, but is he sookin a sweetie, and if so, what kind? :greengrin

02-07-2011, 03:26 PM
2,500 posts (is this a record) and we are no further forward.

Here's to the next 2,500 :cheers:

02-07-2011, 03:26 PM
Back to the folded arms. Think he's playing mind games here. Seemed to have been opting for the shade this half but just snuck into the sunshine there.

Silversand
02-07-2011, 03:28 PM
I think he just scratched his nose there!!

He must be gone. :greengrin

02-07-2011, 03:29 PM
Back to the folded arms. Think he's playing mind games here. Seemed to have been opting for the shade this half but just snuck into the sunshine there.

Aye but is he farting and, if so, are they of the silent but violent or heavy rumble variety?

NthCarolinaHibs
02-07-2011, 03:30 PM
Back to the folded arms. Think he's playing mind games here. Seemed to have been opting for the shade this half but just snuck into the sunshine there.That's defo a sign of his movement then :agree:

02-07-2011, 03:33 PM
Just as Sodje scored he turned round furiously and urinates again the wall saying "GRRRRR" throughout. Am a bit far away so can't confirm or deny if a cheeky wee fart slipped out.

02-07-2011, 03:48 PM
So was he there today or not?

02-07-2011, 03:50 PM
Just as Sodje scored he turned round furiously and urinates again the wall saying "GRRRRR" throughout. Am a bit far away so can't confirm or deny if a cheeky wee fart slipped out.

Sounds like he's pisssing needles then. I've got it down as a urinary infection or a dose.

02-07-2011, 03:51 PM
So was he there today or not?

Yes but he did not travel with the team. Went there on his own.

CapitalHibs
02-07-2011, 03:53 PM
Yes but he did not travel with the team. Went there on his own.

Was he driving a moving van by any chance?

02-07-2011, 03:58 PM
The **** should be getting pelters :agree:

pot/kettle black...... player/manager leaves club :wink:

02-07-2011, 03:58 PM

If he wasn't conducting himself in THIS (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TIyRJg7i_i0)fashion, then its time to go...:greengrin

02-07-2011, 03:59 PM
Dunno, but he didn't travel with the team.

So that should confirm he has deffo gone then, just compensation to be sorted.
I wouldn't see that as evidence of his imminent departure from ER.

CC heads south every weekend. No better place to do so from Scotland than Berwick.

02-07-2011, 04:12 PM
Irish commentator on bbc radio today strongly tipping michael o'neill for us. Listening to this guy speak about m o'neill and all he done at shamrock and his style of play i'm all for him being our next boss. Might just head out to bookies and put a bet on mikey as our new man!

02-07-2011, 04:13 PM
2,500 posts (is this a record) and we are no further forward.

Here's to the next 2,500 :cheers:

Could be - there's a hole at the centre of it. :stirrer:

02-07-2011, 04:20 PM
Is he still here? For someone that desperate to get away he isnt in a ferking hurry is he? Didnt look like he was about to cut his wrists either. Thats us.

02-07-2011, 04:23 PM
Soon........

HibsMax
02-07-2011, 04:29 PM
Irish commentator on bbc radio today strongly tipping michael o'neill for us. Listening to this guy speak about m o'neill and all he done at shamrock and his style of play i'm all for him being our next boss. Might just head out to bookies and put a bet on mikey as our new man!

Someone posted that you can't get odds on Hibs next manager as we still have one in place.

02-07-2011, 04:31 PM
CC on SSN speaking

02-07-2011, 04:31 PM
Can hardly wait as he usuallly gives such an entertaining interview. :zzzzz!:

It's on now bet he gives nothing away about a move. :rolleyes:

02-07-2011, 04:32 PM
Interesting interview!! :greengrin

No comment.

Asked what he can tell us about any move, looks annoyed and is saying nothing at all.

Says he just wants to speak about the game. :bye:

Says there will not be any new faces in the next few days.

Well we learned a lot from that.

He was getting a bit ratty there.

Still no denial he's off when he has the opportunity to do so.

02-07-2011, 04:33 PM
CC dodging the questions about his future, only wants to talk about the game.

All you can take from that is that he'll be gone soon, and it better be soon after last week and today's interview. We need signings and he clearly isn't working on any, the board need to sort this out as its gone on far too long.

Good to see Luke pressing the issue but he was having none of it!

CC can GTF!

HibsMax
02-07-2011, 04:34 PM
Asked what he can tell us about any move, looks annoyed and is saying nothing at all.

Says he just wants to speak about the game. :bye:

Says there will not be any new faces in the next few days.

Well we learned a lot from that.

Not the only one I suspect. I wonder if he has any clue about how irate the fans are?

well that was interesting :rolleyes:

He's off. :agree:

Niffy
That interview was cringey - get him away ti **** fi Hibs.

john18722
02-07-2011, 04:35 PM
CC can GTF!

Totally agree. That interview was cringeworthy.

Greenblood70
02-07-2011, 04:35 PM

Aye he did well there, was hardly worth Calderwood bothering tbh.

02-07-2011, 04:36 PM
I can't understand why CC was as dismissive as he was.

Whether he likes it or not, until he answers the questions straight out, he's going to be asked the same thing over and over again every time he speaks to the press.

02-07-2011, 04:38 PM
If he was not going anywhere it was a perfect opportunity to say so.

He's off as soon as compensation is agreed, nothing surer. :bye:

02-07-2011, 04:39 PM
He was getting a bit ratty there.

Still no denial he's off when he has the opportunity to do so.

Line one he does that.

Line two arent we all?

Is it possible that he's intending to go but will continue to do a professional job preparing the team for the new season until such time as the issue of compensation is settled?

Then he leaves, and the new guy (whoever he is) will step in, take over and continue the good work?

Which is why we're not signing any more players right now - leaving a bit in the kitty for the new guy? (A kitty the size of which is not unrelated to how much RP manages to screw out of Forest/Brum/whoever.)

If he is staying why not just say. I'm staying at Hibs and not leaving. Problem solved?

02-07-2011, 04:40 PM
If he is staying why not just say. I'm staying at Hibs and not leaving. Problem solved?

That too. :agree:

02-07-2011, 04:40 PM
I can't understand why CC was as dismissive as he was.

Whether he likes it or not, until he answers the questions straight out, he's going to be asked the same thing over and over again every time he speaks to the press.Probably because he already knows what he wants tae do. IMO only Petrie playing hard ball is dragging this out and keeping him here, but he'll no say anything in case the erse falls out of it and he has tae stay here.

02-07-2011, 04:41 PM
Probably because he already knows what he wants tae do. IMO only Petrie playing hard ball is keeping him here but he'll no say anything in case the erse falls out of it and he has tae stay here.

And this. :agree:

02-07-2011, 04:43 PM
CC dodging the questions about his future, only wants to talk about the game. All you can take from that is that he'll be gone soon.I don't see how people make these assumptions. I just take it that he just wants to talk about the game. Anything else is just guesswork.

02-07-2011, 04:43 PM

That's what I think but he had last week's press conference to do that. It looks like he's off but this refusal to comment one way or another is becoming disrespectful to the club and the fans.

No signings being lined up is worrying as we are at least three signings away from being a side to challenge for top 6 IMHO

HibsMax
02-07-2011, 04:45 PM

From that we can take one thing.....he doesn't know that he will be with Hibs next season. From that we can deduce that he is definitely off or that he is still making up his mind but the longer it goes on the longer you have to question that as a legitimate possibility. I don't know what he knows about the other positions. Have either of NF or BC been granted permission to speak with him? If not, and if he's not been tapped, then maybe he genuinely doesn't know the details of either package? I suspect that is unlikely, but still possible. Maybe the clubs will come to an agreement on compensation but when they speak with CC he decides he doesn't like the package on offer? How likely is it that whatever deal CC is offered depends on how much compensation the team has to pay for him?

02-07-2011, 04:45 PM
I don't see how people make these assumptions. I just take it that he just wants to talk about the game. Anything else is just guesswork.

If there was nothing going on he would have said so, why dodge the question otherwise.

02-07-2011, 04:47 PM
I don't see how people make these assumptions. I just take it that he just wants to talk about the game. Anything else is just guesswork.
Oh well at least we all know berwick pitch is good.

Nuitdelune
It is also disrespectful to the fans to basically say what they are doing pre-season is not interesting etc etc with that huffy attitude when he must know that everything they do is interesting to the fans

That's what I think but he had last week's press conference to do that. It looks like he's off but this refusal to comment one way or another is becoming disrespectful to the club and the fans.

No signings being lined up is worrying as we are at least three signings away from being a side to challenge for top 6 IMHO

I think the silence is more to do with RP's negotiations over compensation than any disrespect to club or fans.

The more RP can screw out of whoever CC's going to, the more opportunities the new guy will have in the transfer market.

I'm fairly certain RP will have CC's successor already lined up. It's the compensation that's the question now. As long as Calderwood continues to prepare the players for the new season in a professional manner, I think we should have patience and support the team.

02-07-2011, 04:52 PM
pot/kettle black...... player/manager leaves club :wink:

If only he was man enough to admit what he's planning on doing.. :rolleyes:

That's the difference :wink:

new malkyhib
02-07-2011, 04:53 PM
anyone got a link to it?

02-07-2011, 04:54 PM
Cc told sky that he would only discuss the game
The guy wanted answers about his future (Ccs)
Cc was having nought to do with the guy
Looks ominous

02-07-2011, 04:55 PM
Oh dear. Hope you get your wish Calderwood.

HibsMax
02-07-2011, 04:56 PM
If only he was man enough to admit what he's planning on doing.. :rolleyes:

That's the difference :wink:

So you think he knows? I don't think he does because it's out of his control. If Hibs don't accept any compensation offered for CC then he's staying with us. Notts Forest then Birmingham now back to Notts Forest. Are we certain that CC knows what he is doing?

02-07-2011, 05:04 PM
Cc told sky that he would only discuss the game
The guy wanted answers about his future (Ccs)Cc was having nought to do with the guy
Looks ominous

He's a casual aswell? :wink:

02-07-2011, 05:08 PM
Was a pretty pathetic response from cc. Goos to see luke not giving up though!

Cc treated everyone with contempt there. He could at least have acknowledged that the fans are caught in the middle of all this and apologized.

02-07-2011, 05:11 PM

Cc treated everyone with contempt there. He could at least have acknowledged that the fans are caught in the middle of all this and apologized.

According to a current Shamrock Rovers player matty it is definitely Michael O'Neill that Hibs are lining up. I think CC has acted with not only contempt, but with a huge lack of understanding and respect for the fans. I think the silence from the board is not because they are wishing to remain silent, but more they are working furiously hard behind the scenes to lay the foundations for the new manager and hitting the season running with a new man in place. Either way it's just disgraceful behaviour from Calderwood and not behaviour I expected.

02-07-2011, 05:16 PM
So you think he knows? I don't think he does because it's out of his control. If Hibs don't accept any compensation offered for CC then he's staying with us. Notts Forest then Birmingham now back to Notts Forest. Are we certain that CC knows what he is doing?

Can he not just resign though? If he really wants to be some place else what's stopping him from resigning.

02-07-2011, 05:16 PM

Is the drive back up from Berwick worth the bother, Colin?
:bye:

Niffy
02-07-2011, 05:20 PM
Coming up again in a minute.

02-07-2011, 05:20 PM
]According to a current Shamrock Rovers player matty it is definitely Michael O'Neill that Hibs are lining up.[/B] I think CC has acted with not only contempt, but with a huge lack of understanding and respect for the fans. I think the silence from the board is not because they are wishing to remain silent, but more they are working furiously hard behind the scenes to lay the foundations for the new manager and hitting the season running with a new man in place. Either way it's just disgraceful behaviour from Calderwood and not behaviour I expected.

did you speak to this person yourself? or was it someone who knows someone who knows someone....
not having a go at your source, just interested:aok:

02-07-2011, 05:21 PM
Can he not just resign though? If he really wants to be some place else what's stopping him from resigning.
A messy lawsuit when he ends up at another club a week later.

May yet happen if this drags on. :rolleyes:

02-07-2011, 05:22 PM
I wish this clueless clown would hurry up and gtf at the start of next week..

Dragging our club into the gutter with his spineless *****

02-07-2011, 05:27 PM

May yet happen if this drags on. :rolleyes:

Perhaps he should just walk and let it get to that.

02-07-2011, 05:30 PM
I hate seeing interviews given by our managers ripped to pieces but that was a truly horrendous performance by Calderwood.

02-07-2011, 05:31 PM

May yet happen if this drags on. :rolleyes:At least that would let us move on and appoint somebody else tae get on with the job. We can sue him/them later. As it is, we're stuck.

02-07-2011, 05:34 PM
At least that would let us move on and appoint somebody else tae get on with the job. As it is, we're stuck.

02-07-2011, 05:35 PM
did you speak to this person yourself? or was it someone who knows someone who knows someone....
not having a go at your source, just interested:aok:

Not spoken directly to him ricky. I think I posted last week (can't mind what day)that this info came from the player's brother (who works in Edinburgh). He (the player) was convinced O'Neill would be the new Hibs manager and that there had already been moves made. Either way I certainly can't claim it as any scoop as it may not be the case. But as they say, I certainly have no reason to doubt the info.

Fair to say though mate that CC's days are numbered. I simply cannot believe the disrespect he has shown the supporters (he may be abiding by his contract behind the scenes perfectly, but fans deserve info sometimes, especially when it comes to instability in the top position.........only my opinion of course)

02-07-2011, 05:36 PM
I hate seeing interviews given by our managers ripped to pieces but that was a truly horrendous performance by Calderwood.

you could tell that he would rather have had his baws in a vice than do that interview. came across as a selfish idiot, **** the fans basically. its us who pay your six figure salary Colin, treat us wi a bit respect:taxi

02-07-2011, 05:38 PM
The only honourable way out now, is for him to resign. Walk into a new job and then let the clubs sort the compensation out.

02-07-2011, 05:39 PM
Say he did resign. Do you think we'd get £300k in compo? If it's true Birmingham offered that Rod's of his head rejecting it.

02-07-2011, 05:40 PM
The only honourable way out now, is for him to resign. Walk into a new job and then let the clubs sort the compensation out.

That would be my preferred option as well, but might CC leave himself open to legal action against himself if he chose to resign then walk straight in to another job?

02-07-2011, 05:49 PM
CC obviously thinks he's bigger then Hibs.

Please go NOW. This guy is ruining Hibs' pre-season and start of new SPL. Petrie can take plenty blame here. What kind of an interview was it when CC won the board over? F*****n joke.

Only @ Hibs could this happen.....

02-07-2011, 05:52 PM
Does anyone still think this selfish ******* can still manage our club?

02-07-2011, 05:55 PM
Does anyone still think this selfish ******* can still manage our club?If that interview disnae convince anybody that he disnae want tae be here nothing will. There's absolutely nae way IMO he can stay at Hibs and nor would I want him tae.

cammy1969
02-07-2011, 06:05 PM
i think the fact he said no new players in in the next few days is hibs saying no more money spent on players till this is resolved so when they try to get a new manager there will still be money for him to spend on players

02-07-2011, 06:08 PM
According to a current Shamrock Rovers player matty it is definitely Michael O'Neill that Hibs are lining up. I think CC has acted with not only contempt, but with a huge lack of understanding and respect for the fans. I think the silence from the board is not because they are wishing to remain silent, but more they are working furiously hard behind the scenes to lay the foundations for the new manager and hitting the season running with a new man in place. Either way it's just disgraceful behaviour from Calderwood and not behaviour I expected.

And an Irish BBC commentator today said on Radio Scotland that he thinks Mikey O will be next Hibs boss...

everything he said about Mikey O was very positive indeed. Seemingly had Shamrock Rovers playing a neat brand of football over in Eire. They played Juventus last season in Europe and got beat 3-0 on Agg (1-0 in Turin!) Not bad for a team from one of Europe's lower football tiers. When he was there, Shamrock were always a stuffy side, hard to beat and played with a good bit flair too. I'd love to see Mikey O'Neill as next Hibs boss. Please Rod, get him now!!! He's out of contract, will cost £0. Rod's eyes must be :rolleyes:

02-07-2011, 06:11 PM

Absolutely. I was cringing watching it. If he wasn't prepared to say anything of interest he should have said no to Luke's interview request.

Any outsiders watching must have been thinking 'who the hell is that ****'

Prawn Sandwich
02-07-2011, 06:12 PM
And an Irish BBC commentator today said on Radio Scotland that he thinks Mikey O will be next Hibs boss...

everything he said about Mikey O was very positive indeed. Seemingly had Shamrock Rovers playing a neat brand of football over in Eire. They played Juventus last season in Europe and got beat 3-0 on Agg (1-0 in Turin!) Not bad for a team from one of Europe's lower football tiers. When he was there, Shamrock were always a stuffy side, hard to beat and played with a good bit flair too. I'd love to see Mikey O'Neill as next Hibs boss. Please Rod, get him now!!! He's out of contract, will cost £0. Rod's eyes must be :rolleyes:

I think the Irish commentator would been Tom English of the Scotland on Sunday?

Titch
02-07-2011, 06:15 PM
He's off. :agree:

No he isn't:wink:

he'll still be here come the start of the season

02-07-2011, 06:17 PM
Perhaps he should just walk and let it get to that.

I don't think he knows where to walk to, thats the problem.

Brum will find the compo but not so sure Forest will.

02-07-2011, 06:20 PM
Some people on here need a holiday.He didn't want to answer questions about his future-probably told by Rod not to foul up negotiations-so he didn't-fair enough.

Might not be a job at Birmingham as Andy Watson is playing hardball.

02-07-2011, 06:23 PM
Some people on here need a holiday.He didn't want to answer questions about his future-probably told by Rod not to foul up negotiations-so he didn't-fair enough.

Might not be a job at Birmingham as Andy Watson is playing hardball.

Yes possibly, then just refuse the interview request then. Would have been better than that embarrassment.

02-07-2011, 06:25 PM
Yes possibly, then just refuse the interview request then. Would have been better than that embarrassment.
Yes then everybody could have come on here and given him stick for not doing an interview-he's just spoiling things isn't he.

02-07-2011, 06:27 PM
Yes then everybody could have come on here and given him stick for not doing an interview-he's just spoiling things isn't he.

Ok. You win.

02-07-2011, 06:29 PM
Ok. You win.
Unlike (I suspect)Haye tonight-

(signed) Yours Triumphally:flag:

02-07-2011, 06:31 PM
No he isn't:wink:

he'll still be here come the start of the season

Wanna bet?

02-07-2011, 06:34 PM
Unlike (I suspect)Haye tonight-

(signed) Yours Triumphally:flag:

:not worth:greengrin

02-07-2011, 06:34 PM
How can he say that his future plans are not an important issue for Hibs or the supporters just now? As an earlier post said, if Petrie is looking for more than £300K and is intending holding on indefinitely till he gets it, he needs his head looked. If the issue is purely one of compensation, Calderwood won't/can't be at ER next season. £300K for him is a steal.

02-07-2011, 06:35 PM
Does anyone still think this selfish ******* can still manage our club?

I thought there was still a chance for him earlier this week, but todays interview shows I was mistaken. It really beggars belief. Hes obviously got no respect for us at all.

Hibspirational
02-07-2011, 06:35 PM
A truely cringeworthy interview from our manager!!!!!

CC :bye:

02-07-2011, 06:38 PM
I think the silence is more to do with RP's negotiations over compensation than any disrespect to club or fans.

The more RP can screw out of whoever CC's going to, the more opportunities the new guy will have in the transfer market.

I'm fairly certain RP will have CC's successor already lined up. It's the compensation that's the question now. As long as Calderwood continues to prepare the players for the new season in a professional manner, I think we should have patience and support the team.

exactly calderwood is a professional coach and will do his job properly until it's not his job.

02-07-2011, 06:39 PM
I don't think he knows where to walk to, thats the problem.

Brum will find the compo but not so sure Forest will.

At the end of the day, wherever he goes wont be far enough for me. He's burnt his bridges at easter road, and cant return as manager at Hibs. I think he will get slaughtered if he's on the bench at the next game.

02-07-2011, 06:41 PM
exactly calderwood is a professional coach and will do his job properly until it's not his job.

He better hope its sorted before the next game, as i'm pretty sure he wont get an easy ride if he's on the bench.

02-07-2011, 06:43 PM
I think the silence is more to do with RP's negotiations over compensation than any disrespect to club or fans.The more RP can screw out of whoever CC's going to, the more opportunities the new guy will have in the transfer market.

Exactly. He is in an difficult position, as his future is not in his own hands. It sounds fairly certain he has accepted a new position but contractual wrangles could see it all fall through. These are out of his hands, unless he does a Mcleish and resigns on a pretext. If that snap of him in the hotel with Mclaren had not appeared then all these dealings would have gone on in private ( I know that was Forrest but the argument hold).

02-07-2011, 06:56 PM
At the end of the day, wherever he goes wont be far enough for me. He's burnt his bridges at easter road, and cant return as manager at Hibs. I think he will get slaughtered if he's on the bench at the next game.

Exactly. How can he look the players, the staff and the supporters in the eye and say 'I'm only here because two other clubs won't pay the money to get me out of this mess.' He's a dead manager walking if he has to stay.

02-07-2011, 07:01 PM
He better hope its sorted before the next game, as i'm pretty sure he wont get an easy ride if he's on the bench.

Tuesday @ Livi!

Titch
02-07-2011, 07:06 PM
Wanna bet?

aye lets:greengrin

02-07-2011, 07:08 PM
Not spoken directly to him ricky. I think I posted last week (can't mind what day)that this info came from the player's brother (who works in Edinburgh). He (the player) was convinced O'Neill would be the new Hibs manager and that there had already been moves made. Either way I certainly can't claim it as any scoop as it may not be the case. But as they say, I certainly have no reason to doubt the info.

Fair to say though mate that CC's days are numbered. I simply cannot believe the disrespect he has shown the supporters (he may be abiding by his contract behind the scenes perfectly, but fans deserve info sometimes, especially when it comes to instability in the top position.........only my opinion of course)

02-07-2011, 07:10 PM
Tuesday @ Livi!

Fingers crossed he'll be gone by then.

02-07-2011, 07:15 PM
Interview coming back on in a minute or two

02-07-2011, 07:18 PM
Interview coming back on in a minute or two

just seen it, just as bad as the one on the BBC site :rolleyes:

02-07-2011, 07:18 PM
On now

02-07-2011, 07:24 PM
Not got SSN. Anyone got an internet link?

02-07-2011, 07:27 PM
What the eff is going on behind the scenes at ER

Needs sorted ASAP.

Something not right with the board as CC moved here from being an assistant in the EPL to be HIS OWN MAN

Now he is refusing to rule out going back as an assistant in the LEAGUE BELOW the one he came from!!!! Where is the logic in that ????

Maybe it's family reasons and if that is the case then so be it but I would expect him to come out and say that he needs to be closer to them if it was the reason.

Had there not been so many similar issues with previous managers I would not be so sceptical.

However it is now getting beyond a joke.

It would appear that ROD will not budge on backing any manager financially, which ends up in them either walking out or getting sacked because they cannot compete with the backing they are getting.

How many managers are we going to go through during Petrie's reign?

To me the fans ire should be directed towards the board and not CC.

Yep he certainly doesn't come across well in interview and is either too honest or very naive to think his behaviour will not provoke a negative reaction from the fans.

CC has only done half his job in getting rid of the dross. I suspect Hughes may have kept some of the donkeys that he rid us of IE Nish rankin Hogg McBride and Smith. The only ones he wanted to keep from the ones out of contract that have left were the two with real skill and football ability .. Miller and riordan.

Would have liked to see him get the chance to do the harder bit and build HIS team but I have a strong suspicion he is being held back in getting who/what he wants by the man who must be obeyed.

I had a conversation with an ex employee of the cub this afternoon who told me that his (RP) word is complete law in the club. He is a very pompous and arrogant man who walks about the place with that constant arrogant sneer on his face and very rarely even acknowledges the people in his employment.

We go on about Mad Vlad being a dictator at his club but RP is no better in my eyes.

On a positive note good win the day and i thought big Sodje in particular took his goal well

02-07-2011, 07:35 PM
Not got SSN. Anyone got an internet link?

Here you go. He's with Rod whose ripping up his contract

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RP4abiHdQpc

02-07-2011, 07:47 PM
How can he say that his future plans are not an important issue for Hibs or the supporters just now? As an earlier post said, if Petrie is looking for more than £300K and is intending holding on indefinitely till he gets it, he needs his head looked. If the issue is purely one of compensation, Calderwood won't/can't be at ER next season. £300K for him is a steal.

It may not be all about the money. Maybe the board are trying to appoint a successor and won't let CC go until they have someone lined up to come in quickly, which we need!

02-07-2011, 07:50 PM

Needs sorted ASAP.

Something not right with the board as CC moved here from being an assistant in the EPL to be HIS OWN MAN

Now he is refusing to rule out going back as an assistant in the LEAGUE BELOW the one he came from!!!! Where is the logic in that ????

Maybe it's family reasons and if that is the case then so be it but I would expect him to come out and say that he needs to be closer to them if it was the reason.

Had there not been so many similar issues with previous managers I would not be so sceptical.

It would appear that ROD will not budge on backing any manager financially, which ends up in them either walking out or getting sacked because they cannot compete with the backing they are getting.

Yep he certainly doesn't come across well in interview and is either too honest or very naive to think his behaviour will not provoke a negative reaction from the fans.

CC has only done half his job in getting rid of the dross. I suspect Hughes may have kept some of the donkeys that he rid us of IE Nish rankin Hogg McBride and Smith. The only ones he wanted to keep from the ones out of contract that have left were the two with real skill and football ability .. Miller and riordan.

Would have liked to see him get the chance to do the harder bit and build HIS team but I have a strong suspicion he is being held back in getting who/what he wants by the man who must be obeyed.

I had a conversation with an ex employee of the cub this afternoon who told me that his (RP) word is complete law in the club. He is a very pompous and arrogant man who walks about the place with that constant arrogant sneer on his face and very rarely even acknowledges the people in his employment.

We go on about Mad Vlad being a dictator at his club but RP is no better in my eyes.

On a positive note good win the day and i thought big Sodje in particular took his goal well

:agree: 100%

02-07-2011, 08:09 PM
Not seen this yet so I will reserve judgement for the moment. SSN is focusing on the David Haye fight for the time being.

Think it's coming up again soon so I'll see it then.

02-07-2011, 08:23 PM
Just seen it.

Awful interview and there's no danger that he'll still be around when the new season kicks off.

:bye: Colin.

02-07-2011, 08:24 PM
Just missed it. :grr: Caught the goals. Garry O' is carrying a bit too much weight. Hope he can lose some of it as the season progresses.

JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2011, 08:35 PM
Just saw the interview...obviously by the sounds of things he was brought to interview under false intentions to talk about the game and not his future....thought he was quit right to say to the reporter

"you've brought me out here to chat about the game, that what the fans want to hear"

It's the board we should be directing our questions too and not CC...the board have the final say on the management and players.

Calderwood in the dugout, a good run out today for all players, More good national media highlights for Hibs (our manager is the most sought after manager in Scotland at this moment).

:cgwa:flag::cgwa

Whats the odds on Calderwood being in the dugout v Livi, another polished performance, more media spotlight on Hibs....Yet no answers from the board

02-07-2011, 08:39 PM
just seen on twitter that mcbookie have suspended the sack race betting, commented that after seeing his interview they will be paying out soon!

http://twitter.com/#!/McBookie

02-07-2011, 08:40 PM
just seen on twitter that mcbookie have suspended the sack race betting, commented that after seeing his interview they will be paying out soon!

http://twitter.com/#!/McBookie

Weird, as there is no chance he will be sacked, RP wants compensation.

02-07-2011, 08:46 PM
Just saw the interview...obviously by the sounds of things he was brought to interview under false intentions to talk about the game and not his future....thought he was quit right to say to the reporter

"you've brought me out here to chat about the game, that what the fans want to hear"

It's the board we should be directing our questions too and not CC...the board have the final say on the management and players.

Calderwood in the dugout, a good run out today for all players, More good national media highlights for Hibs (our manager is the most sought after manager in Scotland at this moment).

Whats the odds on Calderwood being in the dugout v Livi, another polished performance, more media spotlight on Hibs....Yet no answers from the board

Even if he was brought out on the understanding that the interview would only be about the game, he would need to be an idiot if he didn't realise that the interviewer would ask him about his future, given all the speculation about him over the past couple of weeks.

It's a journalist's job to ask questions like that and Calderwood handled it really badly.

02-07-2011, 08:48 PM
Even if he was brought out on the understanding that the interview would only be about the game, he would need to be an idiot if he didn't realise that the interviewer would ask him about his future, given all the speculation about him over the past couple of weeks.

It's a journalist's job to ask questions like that and Calderwood handled it really badly.

:agree: spot on

02-07-2011, 08:48 PM

My erse thats all we want to hear about???????????

02-07-2011, 08:51 PM
Understand that the board are in a difficult position here and that there are principles and a lot of money involved, not to mention all the legals. IMO if Rod Petrie wants to get his dwindling popularity amongst the fans going North rather than South, he should meet CC in the carpark on Monday and tell him what he told John Rankin. We would rather you stayed away. Get the rake and the spade out. When he goes, it is nothing to do with technical ability, or football nous, but more that we don't want someone that lacks the moral fibre to be the leader of a football club that we feel priviledged just to be associated with.

JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2011, 08:53 PM

Would agree he isn't the most TV friendly gaffer out there, surely the journo's out there know by now that our managers dont make the decision on when they leave or if and that fate lies with our board like all our previous managers fates.

Calderwood should have pointed him in the direction of the board as he aint negotiating his destination....crap journalism IMO

02-07-2011, 08:54 PM

That seems unlikely to me o' ancient one. I was surprised SKY even covered a pre season friendly, never mind a post match interview!

02-07-2011, 08:57 PM
Would agree he isn't the most TV friendly gaffer out there, surely the journo's out there know by now that our managers dont make the decision on when they leave or if and that fate lies with our board like all our previous managers fates.

Calderwood should have pointed him in the direction of the board as he aint negotiating his destination....crap journalism IMO

If Colin Calderwood says he wants to go to Birmingham/Nottingham Forest then you can bet that he will be on his way. If he wants to stay at Hibs then he will stay.

Seems pretty simple to me.

02-07-2011, 08:57 PM

If he doesn't want to go then he could just say it :rolleyes:

How is it crap journalism, calderwood has a contract that it appears he is trying to get out of.

02-07-2011, 09:02 PM

If he had no intention of leaving, his reply to the questions that he was asked was really quite simple. He could have said that he's aware of the speculation but that his future lies with the club and he remains completely committed to Hibs.

He didn't say that, or anything like that for that matter, and instead of giving an answer that would have given the fans some insight into what was happening with our club, we were given some half baked response that has taken us no further forward.

He has now been given at least two opportunities, over the past week or so, to nip the rumours in the bud, with interviews on the BBC and now Sky and in both cases, his answers have led me to believe that he is off.

If he wants to go then he should just go now because I could not stomach another season like last year and that's exactly what's going to happen if we're stuck with a manager who doesn't really want to be with us.

JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2011, 09:05 PM
If he doesn't want to go then he could just say it :rolleyes:

How is it crap journalism, calderwood has a contract that it appears he is trying to get out of.

Crap cause they are asking the wrong people......please can someone answer this question....When has Colin Calderwood came out publicly to say that he wants to leave?, likewise when has he said he wants to stay?

All i can recall is we see what happens.....and we will eventually.

All we know is that 2 English sides are after our manager because of his coaching abilities, 1 has made an official approach, the board have rejected it, not seen Calderwood spitting the dummy out and resigning because of the rejected offer....which is really supprising if he is that desparte to leave.

Balls in Birmingham's court they have to up their offer by at least another £300k, then Calderwood decides.....

02-07-2011, 09:06 PM
If he had no intention of leaving, his reply to the questions that he was asked was really quite simple. He could have said that he's aware of the speculation but that his future lies with the club and he remains completely committed to Hibs.

He didn't say that, or anything like that for that matter, and instead of giving an answer that would have given the fans some insight into what was happening with our club, we were given some half baked response that has taken us no further forward.

He has now been given at least two opportunities, over the past week or so, to nip the rumours in the bud, with interviews on the BBC and now Sky and in both cases, his answers have led me to believe that he is off.

If he wants to go then he should just go now because I could not stomach another season like last year and that's exactly what's going to happen if we're stuck with a manager who doesn't really want to be with us.

I cant stomach seeing him in a hibs polo shirt, i wanted to rip it off him after watching that interview.:grr: I hope the Hibs fans let him have it with both barrells on tuesday if he's still here.

02-07-2011, 09:07 PM
Crap cause they are asking the wrong people......please can someone answer this question....When has Colin Calderwood came out publicly to say that he wants to leave?, likewise when has he said he wants to stay?

All we know is that 2 English sides are after our manager because of his coaching abilities, 1 has made an official approach, the board have rejected it, not seen Calderwood spitting the dummy out and resigning because of the rejected offer.

Balls in Birmingham's court they have to up their offer by at least another £300k, then Calderwood decides.....

Just simple.

JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2011, 09:10 PM
I cant stomach seeing him in a hibs polo shirt, i wanted to rip it off him after watching that interview.:grr: I hope the Hibs fans let him have it with both barrells on tuesday if he's still here.

Another doom and gloomer :wink:

02-07-2011, 09:12 PM

All we know is that 2 English sides are after our manager because of his coaching abilities, 1 has made an official approach, the board have rejected it, not seen Calderwood spitting the dummy out and resigning because of the rejected offer....which is really supprising if he is that desparte to leave.

How are they asking the wrong person, he is in the job :confused:

I'm getting totally pissed off with this. He hasn't got the guts to resign. He can gtf as far as I am concerned.

02-07-2011, 09:15 PM
SSN just now going on about the new Chelsea manager being brave to take the job on as Roman A has sacked 5 in last 8 years !!

Wonder if it is super brave or just damn stupid to go to Hibs as Rod has got rid of 8 in 10 years !!

Before you say some left of their own accord... ask why ... answer .... no proper backing or ambition by the board/ROD !!

JustSimplyHibs

I'm getting totally pissed off with this. He hasn't got the guts to resign. He can gtf as far as I am concerned.

Yes he may be in the job but Who rejected the Birmingham offer? the Board ...the journo's should ask them what is happening

:agree: I would be greatly disappointed if he did stay.

sevenzero
02-07-2011, 09:17 PM
The scroll on sky just said he doesnt want to commit his future to the club ????

02-07-2011, 09:18 PM
The scroll on sky just said he doesnt want to commit his future to the club ????

And in other news the americans have landed on the moon. :wink:

02-07-2011, 09:19 PM
Yes he may be in the job but Who rejected the Birmingham offer? the Board ...the journo's should ask them what is happening

Or Calderwood could just give a simple answer as to whether or not he is committed to Hibernian Football Club? He's been given ample opportunity and simply hasn't got the balls to resign from the job and then see his two prospective job opportunities fall through for whatever reason.

02-07-2011, 09:19 PM

Correct amundo !!!!

If we thought CC was evasive imagine the boy trying to get an answer out of ROD !!

02-07-2011, 09:21 PM

Why do they need to ask the board? The compo isn't enough in their opinion end of. Either Birmingham up it or they look elsewhere and CC gets his finger out and does the job he is paid to do.

JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2011, 09:23 PM

Correct amundo !!!!

If we thought CC was evasive imagine the boy trying to get an answer out of ROD !!

:not worth trying to get blood from rock springs to mind. would love to hear that interview :greengrin

02-07-2011, 09:23 PM

Correct amundo !!!!

RP has told Birmingham what he thinks. Ball back in their court. Why he would take questions from a journo on this is beyond me.

JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2011, 09:26 PM
Why do they need to ask the board? The compo isn't enough in their opinion end of. Either Birmingham up it or they look elsewhere and CC gets his finger out and does the job he is paid to do.

Which he is doing....in attendance at training all week, in the dugout today, picked 2 teams, clean sheet, victory (only a friendly like but a win), now prepare for next game with a view to the first game of season

02-07-2011, 09:29 PM

The situation is in Colin Calderwood's hands. If he wanted to stay then we wouldn't even be discussing compensation. The sooner he goes the better.

I've just seen the interview which was cringeworthy to say the least.

JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2011, 09:30 PM
RP has told Birmingham what he thinks. Ball back in their court. Why he would take questions from a journo on this is beyond me.

he being Rod???? likewise Calderwood why should he answer questions.

We should be proud that our manager is the hottest property in Scotland and attracting attention for leagues that are much higher than the SPL....

JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2011, 09:34 PM
The situation is in Colin Calderwood's hands. If he wanted to stay then we wouldn't even be discussing compensation. The sooner he goes the better.

Depends whats in his contract....could stipulate if an offer comes in from a bigger club which involves a huge payout////we listen.

Our club will always be a selling club under the current Board.....although i am personally delighted Hibs have actually told someone to go do one in their attempts to lure our Management or Players. :thumbsup:

Everyone has a price though

02-07-2011, 09:38 PM

We should be proud that our manager is the hottest property in Scotland and attracting attention for leagues that are much higher than the SPL....

Proud :faf: Remind me of Calderwood's record since he joined us, where we finished in the league last season and how many wins we had post the split.

02-07-2011, 09:42 PM

Personally I don't find him that good looking. Each to their own. :agree:

02-07-2011, 09:42 PM
Depends whats in his contract....could stipulate if an offer comes in from a bigger club which involves a huge payout////we listen.

Our club will always be a selling club under the current Board.....although i am personally delighted Hibs have actually told someone to go do one in their attempts to lure our Management or Players. :thumbsup:

Everyone has a price though

Maybe this is the route we will be going down in future and is in fact a Rodders Masterplan. We have no players worth selling so we'll take on a manager and sell him on after a season. Hopefully making big bucks out of it.

JustSimplyHibs
02-07-2011, 09:44 PM
Proud :faf: Remind me of Calderwood's record since he joined us, where we finished in the league last season and how many wins we had post the split.

Did we get relegated which by the way would have been very close under the previous manager.....

to me this is his start and from what he does from 24th July onwards with players he has brought in....believe it or no fans are actually happy with the signings made thus far compared to previous managers over the last few years.

02-07-2011, 09:51 PM

What proud of calderwood? Lol what has he achieved to.be proud of?

HibsMax
02-07-2011, 09:52 PM

Have to agree with the last bit. I'm not going to comment on how he's handled all of this because I really don't know what is going on behind the scenes but a word to the fans would have been nice.

02-07-2011, 09:54 PM
Personally I don't find him that good looking. Each to their own. :agree:

HibsMax
02-07-2011, 10:14 PM
He can't say he's staying, because he doesn't know that he is.

He can't say that he's leaving, because he doesn't know that he is.

Doesn't leave him many options.

Does anyone really expect him to say, "Well, Luke, it's like this. I'm desperate to get away but it's out of my hands. If it was up to me, I would be away from here by now."

Does anyone expect him to resign?

For what little's it's worth, I was reminded recently of something similar that happened to me. When I was hired in my current job, the guy who head-hunted me was a guy I had worked with before, he is a friend. After I joined he received a few offers to work with other people he had worked with before. I know, the similarities sound contrived and if you choose not to believe me that's no skin off my nose. We talked about it on a couple of occasions. We discussed the pluses (money was a big factor) and the minuses (he was in the process of building a new QA team since the previous senior manager had been fired.....well, jumped before being pushed to be exact). In the end he stayed and we still work together although he's not my direct manager any more. The point of all this is not once did his dedication to his team come under any doubt. He did the job he was being paid to do. Yes, he was distracted. Me too. I was the only one he confided in since we are friends, not just co-workers. So I was distracted because it bummed me out to be hired by a guy who was going to potentially leave just after bringing me on board.

OK, before I get the, "What's your point, Caller" comments, I'm just saying that even when a person is weighing up other opportunities it doesn't mean that everything has to end up in the crap.

I realise it's different with a football team but there are similarities.

Many people are saying it's clear that he wants away and that he is as good as gone. I will not refute that but in my own reserved way, all I will commit to saying is that I think it's clear that he wants to see what his options are before committing. That might be Notts Forest. It might be Birmingham. It might be Hibs. Who knows, maybe someone else will step in, just to make this more interesting. :wink:

Edit : with all of that said, it would be nice if CC could simply honour his contract, willingly, and figure out his future after he's finished what he started with us. If he does well with Hibs, there will be other opportunities for him, I am quite sure of that. Maybe he can't wait two years. I have no idea.

aberhibsfc
02-07-2011, 10:19 PM
And in other news the americans have landed on the moon. :wink:

Source?

Next you'll be telling me the Earth's round.

HibsMax
02-07-2011, 10:25 PM

Ha Ha! Yes, he could resign but then that's going to damage his own future.

I know I am definitely swimming against the current here but I'm not so sure he definitely wants to leave. I know he wants to see what options he has but I don't know that what he's being offered elsewhere is better. Have other teams even officially spoken to him yet? If not then one has to assume he doesn't even know what sort of package he would get at either of the teams interested in him.

02-07-2011, 10:31 PM
He can't say he's staying, because he doesn't know that he is.

He can't say that he's leaving, because he doesn't know that he is.

Doesn't leave him many options.

Does anyone really expect him to say, "Well, Luke, it's like this. I'm desperate to get away but it's out of my hands. If it was up to me, I would be away from here by now."

Does anyone expect him to resign?

For what little's it's worth, I was reminded recently of something similar that happened to me. When I was hired in my current job, the guy who head-hunted me was a guy I had worked with before, he is a friend. After I joined he received a few offers to work with other people he had worked with before. I know, the similarities sound contrived and if you choose not to believe me that's no skin off my nose. We talked about it on a couple of occasions. We discussed the pluses (money was a big factor) and the minuses (he was in the process of building a new QA team since the previous senior manager had been fired.....well, jumped before being pushed to be exact). In the end he stayed and we still work together although he's not my direct manager any more. The point of all this is not once did his dedication to his team come under any doubt. He did the job he was being paid to do. Yes, he was distracted. Me too. I was the only one he confided in since we are friends, not just co-workers. So I was distracted because it bummed me out to be hired by a guy who was going to potentially leave just after bringing me on board.

OK, before I get the, "What's your point, Caller" comments, I'm just saying that even when a person is weighing up other opportunities it doesn't mean that everything has to end up in the crap.

I realise it's different with a football team but there are similarities.

Many people are saying it's clear that he wants away and that he is as good as gone. I will not refute that but in my own reserved way, all I will commit to saying is that I think it's clear that he wants to see what his options are before committing. That might be Notts Forest. It might be Birmingham. It might be Hibs. Who knows, maybe someone else will step in, just to make this more interesting. :wink:

Edit : with all of that said, it would be nice if CC could simply honour his contract, willingly, and figure out his future after he's finished what he started with us. If he does well with Hibs, there will be other opportunities for him, I am quite sure of that. Maybe he can't wait two years. I have no idea.

I'm trying to be patient and understanding , and all that. I was hoping that he would stay Football, however, is a seasonal game. This brings with it deadlines and related pressures. I think, because of the industry that he works in, that he owes us a quick decision, or we will be severely disadvantaged.

I Love Lamp
02-07-2011, 10:41 PM
Very poor interview from Calderwood. It's fair enough that he doesn't want to speak about his future but he could have at least given some indication that he wanted things resolved quickly and that he understood fans' frustration. Instead, nothing but flippancy and arrogance towards an interviewer who, as an aside, is a Hibs fan himself. He gives the impression of very much enjoying being the centre of attention - a level of fixation which his record as Hibs manager hardly warrants.

Dirkster23
02-07-2011, 10:43 PM
Ha Ha! Yes, he could resign but then that's going to damage his own future.

I know I am definitely swimming against the current here but I'm not so sure he definitely wants to leave. I know he wants to see what options he has but I don't know that what he's being offered elsewhere is better. Have other teams even officially spoken to him yet? If not then one has to assume he doesn't even know what sort of package he would get at either of the teams interested in him.

Are you for real? He's met with McLaren and he was Hughton's number 2 at Newcastle. Do you honestly think he doesn't now what's on offer in terms of his role and cash at both clubs :rolleyes:

sevenzero
02-07-2011, 10:52 PM

02-07-2011, 10:55 PM
The scroll on sky just said he doesnt want to commit his future to the club ????Is that twice it's said that now? :greengrin

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?212798-Interview-With-Calderwood-On-SSN&p=2847907&viewfull=1#post2847907

02-07-2011, 11:41 PM
Just saw his interview on SSN and once again. Shocking. GTF COLIN!!!

paxtonhibby
02-07-2011, 11:44 PM
So when do the protests start?The yams get it tight for being "vladsheep" but are we any different?

sevenil
02-07-2011, 11:48 PM

The money........hoping to minimize the compensation his new employer would have to pay us...............knows neither will want to pay real money to get him to join them.

03-07-2011, 12:13 AM
**** off Calderwood. Seriously, **** off.

03-07-2011, 12:20 AM
**** off Calderwood. Seriously, **** off.

I watched the interview again, and that pretty much sums up my opinion on it, too.:agree:

03-07-2011, 12:34 AM
Very poor interview from Calderwood. It's fair enough that he doesn't want to speak about his future but he could have at least given some indication that he wanted things resolved quickly and that he understood fans' frustration. Instead, nothing but flippancy and arrogance towards an interviewer who, as an aside, is a Hibs fan himself. He gives the impression of very much enjoying being the centre of attention - a level of fixation which his record as Hibs manager hardly warrants.

Is this really the state we're in now? A manager with one of the worst records of any Hibs manager basically taking the piss out of the fans. Sad days.

andrew_dundee
03-07-2011, 12:42 AM
if he had spent his time at Hibs winning trophies and playing good football then this level of arrogance might be understandable, but he's not, he's been crap...

03-07-2011, 01:07 AM
for all the Calderwood isnt the manager to take us forward posters on here, i have to give him credit where its due, he not only identified the problem positions in the first team, he rectified them, RB towell came on loan and did well, CM an area that needed strenthening badly, in came Palsson/Scott/Thornhill CF capable of holding the ball up and bringing others into play while being a physical presence Sodje/O'Connor, lack of genuine pace up front, brings in Sproule, a commanding CH who leads the line and organises those around him O'Hanlon, if cc is away at least he's done what many fans wanted him to address, he might not like talking to the press, but i like that better than mixu or yogi who couldnt stop talking about the fantastic effort of the boys!

Devine
03-07-2011, 03:16 AM
Well done to Luke for asking the questions everybody here wanted to here the answers to. He was aboilutely correct to ask the question!!!

CC's response was at best disrespectful and at worst down right pathetic. How anyone on this board can get behind the man after his comments last week is beyond me. Anybody with half a brain could read into his comments regarding the positions at brum and forest yet we let it drag on for another week.

If he wants to go fine GTF does anyone really care???? He has no reason to quit if he cites family et al i will be very unhappy as he knew what he was getting into 9 mths ago, kai has changed.

We need a man commited to the cause not some numpty who believes he is better than us. Colin we are not interested GTF!

03-07-2011, 05:40 AM
Was he driving a moving van by any chance?

I saw a van moving in the Edinburgh area this morning, and Caldot lives in the Edinburgh area, FACT. It's all adding up.

SaudiHibby
03-07-2011, 05:42 AM
In any other industry serious questions would be being asked of the senior management (in this case board) as to why a succession of managers have failed to make an impression. If Michael O'Neil comes along next and decides to resign after half a season I guarantee Hibs Net will be saying he is not Hibs class and gtf all over again. Something is not right at the top but we continue to blame managers. Go figure.:confused:

03-07-2011, 06:32 AM

What utter utter drivel. Total gash. Why is your source an ex employee I wonder?

03-07-2011, 06:49 AM
What utter utter drivel. Total gash. Why is your source an ex employee I wonder?

Why is s/he an ex-employee? Er maybe because he/she didn't want to work there anymore and got another job?

I see you continue to aggressively attack anyone who dares to question people running the Club. I wonder why? :hmm:

03-07-2011, 06:54 AM
In any other industry serious questions would be being asked of the senior management (in this case board) as to why a succession of managers have failed to make an impression. If Michael O'Neil comes along next and decides to resign after half a season I guarantee Hibs Net will be saying he is not Hibs class and gtf all over again. Something is not right at the top but we continue to blame managers. Go figure.:confused:

What I find incredible is that if MON had played for Hearts he wouldn't be anywhere near the job. The main criteria Petrie looks for is if you've had some previous connection to the Club :grr:

03-07-2011, 06:59 AM
What I find incredible is that if MON had played for Hearts he wouldn't be anywhere near the job. The main criteria Petrie looks for is if you've had some previous connection to the Club :grr:

Correct. It has been the same with Collins, Hughes and Mixu. No Hibs playing career and it's likely that they would have never been appointed Hibs manager.

I sometimes think, rightly or wrongly, that Rodders will do whatever it takes to keep the pressure off himself. Sacking Mixu when it was obvious that ST sales were affected, sacking Hughes right before an AGM that was going to prove very difficult for Rodders, appointing the overwhelming fans' favourite three times out of the last four etc etc.

03-07-2011, 07:25 AM
Why is s/he an ex-employee? Er maybe because he/she didn't want to work there anymore and got another job?

I see you continue to aggressively attack anyone who dares to question people running the Club. I wonder why? :hmm:

Because a current employee has told me otherwise.
It fits the agenda of this board to attack the club when this manager is being poached by a club, two clubs, that can offer more of everything than Hibs, you even said so yourself in a previous post.

Yet its turned round again to suit I wonder why? :hmmm:

03-07-2011, 07:32 AM
Because a current employee has told me otherwise.
It fits the agenda of this board to attack the club when this manager is being poached by a club, two clubs, that can offer more of everything than Hibs, you even said so yourself in a previous post.

Yet its turned round again to suit I wonder why? :hmmm:

I love the 'agenda' argument. It's great for avoiding the issue.

03-07-2011, 07:38 AM

Needs sorted ASAP.

I am not going to shoot you down in flames for this comment as you may well of been told this by someone. What i can tell you is that as someone who has not only worked for at Hibs alongside RP and also had other business dealings with him the above is certainly not my experience. In addition, i also know people who work there who would not only say that the bit about not being acknowledged by him is not only untrue but also the complete opposite the truth.

Too often on here things get said by someone and before you know it they become the gospel. I always find the comments from ppl on here who attack the board and say that our killie supporting right wing dictator is trying to bring the club down from the inside as a bit silly. Even on the most basic of levels if RP is not a supporter he has a vested interest in the club and i for one know that he is passionate about them doing well.

Thats not too say he has not made mistakes along the way, nobody can argue with our infrastructure though which is something we will have not just for the next yr or two but for life now and i think they should be congratulated for that but also agree that they now really need to start getting things right on the football pitch as well.

03-07-2011, 07:46 AM
I love the 'agenda' argument. It's great for avoiding the issue.

Whats the issue?

That someone is trying poach our manager and somehow that's the boards fault? You could argue they are trying to keep him here or you could argue that they are trying to get more compensation. Only the club know.

03-07-2011, 07:46 AM
The main criteria Petrie looks for is if you've had some previous connection to the Club :grr:What connection did CC have with the club before he joined?

03-07-2011, 07:53 AM
What i can tell you is that as someone who has not only worked for at Hibs alongside RP and also had other business dealings with him the above is certainly not my experience. In addition, i also know people who work there who would not only say that the bit about not being acknowledged by him is not only untrue but also the complete opposite the truth.Thanks for posting this. I've never worked for him but I've met him on a couple of occasions and that experience has always been positive.

Too often on here things get said by someone and before you know it they become the gospel.Its the curse of internet forums - people can post things which are innocently or even maliciously wrong, and the posts take on a life of their own. Which is the case with CC's interview yesterday; he didn't want to discuss his personal situation, so everyone is jumping in with their interpretation, their guess of why he's not saying anything. Strip away the guesswork and we have no real idea whether he he wants to stay or not. Which is why all these "CC gtf" are so annoying. IMO.

03-07-2011, 08:06 AM

100% agree mate..... c'mon ROD do the decent thing

03-07-2011, 08:11 AM

Was nothing to do with RP it was one of the managers that changed personnel in their role.

You need to open yer eyes mate. What is your belief ... Big Rod is a friendly big down to earth guy who keeps his promises to his manager !!! :faf:

03-07-2011, 08:13 AM

100% agree mate..... c'mon ROD do the decent thing

Which is?

03-07-2011, 08:15 AM
Was nothing to do with RP it was one of the managers that changed personnel in their role.

You need to open yer eyes mate. What is your belief ... Big Rod is a friendly big down to earth guy who keeps his promises to his manager !!! :faf:

So which promise did he make and break?

Others have posted your mates experience of Rod was not the same as theirs, or mine for that matter.

03-07-2011, 08:20 AM
So when do the protests start?The yams get it tight for being "vladsheep" but are we any different?

I would guess that most fans think that negotiations are currently taking place - the two possible outcomes are that he goes, or that he stays. In the event of the first happening, our best outcome is that we get the maximum comp for our manager being poached. In the event of the second, the best outcome is that - since he's got a contract, and would cost money to get rid of - that he is happy to stay, and is able to set in motion a new team and a period of stability, with the support of the fans.

The situation obviously isn't ideal - but I can't see how protesting is going to help achieve either decent compensation, or stability and rebuilding and settling a team.

Niffy
03-07-2011, 08:31 AM
After watching that pathetic SSN interview... looks like CC is being very shrewd.

He wants out, Petrie says aye , but at the agreed price, Forest or Brum say "not paying that, sort it out Colin".

CC drags his heals, won't even look at signing any new players, knows the fans want answers and a stronger team.

Sits tight until Petrie bottles it and sacks him.

He might even get compensation FROM Hibs out of this !!??

Reaper
03-07-2011, 08:33 AM
After watching that pathetic SSN interview... looks like CC is being very shrewd.

He wants out, Petrie says aye , but at the agreed price, Forest or Brum say "not paying that, sort it out Colin".

CC drags his heals, won't even look at signing any new players, knows the fans want answers and a stronger team.

Sits tight until Petrie bottles it and sacks him.

He might even get compensation FROM Hibs out of this !!??

Good post. Highlights everything that's wrong about football.

If CC's plan is to be a complete fud in front of the camera's then he done a sterling Job yesterday.

03-07-2011, 08:37 AM
You might well be right. Both clubs he's interested in need an assistant, though, and he can't drag it out for ever. If he refused to carry out core parts of his job (such as scouting and signing players, as you suggest), presumably there would be a tipping-point which would alow Hibs to legitimately sack him.:dunno:

paxtonhibby
03-07-2011, 08:41 AM
I would guess that most fans think that negotiations are currently taking place - the two possible outcomes are that he goes, or that he stays. In the event of the first happening, our best outcome is that we get the maximum comp for our manager being poached. In the event of the second, the best outcome is that - since he's got a contract, and would cost money to get rid of - that he is happy to stay, and is able to set in motion a new team and a period of stability, with the support of the fans.

The situation obviously isn't ideal - but I can't see how protesting is going to help achieve either decent compensation, or stability and rebuilding and settling a team.
But surely be a little more open with the fans.either way this saga better be worth all this grief.

03-07-2011, 08:44 AM
So.... 91 pages through this thread and still er.....nothing?

stubru59
03-07-2011, 08:47 AM

Never have so many said so much about so little.

03-07-2011, 08:54 AM
Good piece today by Tom English in the SOS. If we are holding out for increased compendation, the board shouls remember than even 200k is still just another 10,000 PATG supporters over a season. Not going to get that if go into the campaign badly prepared.

03-07-2011, 09:02 AM
for all the Calderwood isnt the manager to take us forward posters on here, i have to give him credit where its due, he not only identified the problem positions in the first team, he rectified them, RB towell came on loan and did well, CM an area that needed strenthening badly, in came Palsson/Scott/Thornhill CF capable of holding the ball up and bringing others into play while being a physical presence Sodje/O'Connor, lack of genuine pace up front, brings in Sproule, a commanding CH who leads the line and organises those around him O'Hanlon, if cc is away at least he's done what many fans wanted him to address, he might not like talking to the press, but i like that better than mixu or yogi who couldnt stop talking about the fantastic effort of the boys!

Everyone on here knew what the problems where so was hardly rocket science, he solved RB? maybe so but he is playing for Celtic so back in same position at start of season with RB. The jury is out on the signings as we do not know if they will work, so no credit for CC until the new CH plays in SPL. Time will tell if he addresed anything.

Any good done imo will be wiped out by this current carry on, he will not be signing players we may have a chance of and Rod will probably hold off allowing him to sign. Shambles.

northseahibby
03-07-2011, 09:02 AM
I watched the interview again, and that pretty much sums up my opinion on it, too.:agree:

Darth Hibbie
03-07-2011, 09:05 AM

I heard Rod is refusing to let him go till it reaches 100 pages :greengrin

03-07-2011, 09:12 AM
But surely be a little more open with the fans.either way this saga better be worth all this grief.

Even if he was no one would believe him. Best to say nowt then it cant be misinterpreted.

03-07-2011, 09:15 AM
This just isnt about money for me, time is a major factor of importance, IMO we are in a transfer limbo while this continues, we still need players. Every day this goes on we may miss out on a potential player.

Time to accept the compo and have Hibs functioning fully again as might take more days to appoint manager. Hibs are putting themselves at disadvantage daily.

Get him tae **** Rod, get the compo and then do one yerself. Total shambles at ER just now.

03-07-2011, 09:29 AM
I heard Rod is refusing to let him go till it reaches 100 pages :greengrin

Ok everyone post ***** to get us to 100 pages then:greengrin

03-07-2011, 09:30 AM
Best to say nowt then it cant be misinterpreted.You think? 91 pages would say otherwise...

03-07-2011, 09:31 AM
You think? 91 pages would say otherwise...

Thats a very fair point :greengrin

03-07-2011, 09:34 AM

Anyone know what happened to the countdown things we used to be able to set :dunno:

03-07-2011, 09:52 AM
Anyone know what happened to the countdown things we used to be able to set :dunno:

What countdown things?

Explain?

Cal 7-0
03-07-2011, 10:03 AM
Been sleeping for the past week is Calderwood still with us?? (That sounds like am at a seance)

03-07-2011, 10:05 AM
Been sleeping for the past week is Calderwood still with us?? (That sounds like am at a seance)

No he's gone.....

Only joking he's still here:greengrin

03-07-2011, 10:36 AM
Good piece today by Tom English in the SOS. If we are holding out for increased compendation, the board shouls remember than even 200k is still just another 10,000 PATG supporters over a season. Not going to get that if go into the campaign badly prepared.

Exactly, and we are in a terrible position if Birmingham are happy to take their time - which is likely given that the CEO has headed off to HK.

If he does go, he should go down in football history as one of the biggest rats ever. I liken it to a surgeon who just gives up halfway through an operation. Okay he has rid us of the dross but we are still at least 3 players short with our first SPL game in 2 weeks time.

Birmingham or Notts Forest, I hope the get relegated. :na na:

stevej
03-07-2011, 10:47 AM
Exactly, and we are in a terrible position if Birmingham are happy to take their time - which is likely given that the CEO has headed off to HK.

If he does go, he should go down in football history as one of the biggest rats ever. I liken it to a surgeon who just gives up halfway through an operation. Okay he has rid us of the dross but we are still at least 3 players short with our first SPL game in 2 weeks time.

Birmingham or Notts Forest, I hope the get relegated. :na na:

CC is at fault - Forest and Birmingham looking after their own interests

If you are happy to take £200k that is about what I think Forest would pay

(CC could have blanked both clubs immediately they showed an interest - cant blame us and them for sniffing around still)

Also your chairman must be showing he is willing to negotiate otherwise Forest would have pulled out the minute he could have told them £1m or nothing

Finally CC is getting excatly the response he must have wanted from doing crap non commital interviews - he has to know his job is untenable now because you guys are so pxssed off with him

The more you guys complain and get pXssed off (quite rightly by the way) the more chance he has of the chairman letting him go surely ? You are giving him the response he needs

How can he possibly start the season as though nothing has happened and on great terms with you guys after all this ?

stevej
03-07-2011, 10:48 AM
Have you ever had a 100 page thread on here before out of interest ?

03-07-2011, 10:51 AM
Have you ever had a 100 page thread on here before out of interest ?
Yes!

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?62046-re-calender-signing&daysprune=-1 :greengrin

Edit- Is this the second longest thread ever?

stevej
03-07-2011, 10:57 AM
Yes!

http://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?62046-re-calender-signing&daysprune=-1 :greengrin

The opening post in there says it all about some players

Paul Gascoigne did a similar thing to my son once - I paid £15 for a signed photo from him at an NEC show - the guy never even looked up, acknowledged my son or said thank you

Was more worried about replying to texts on his mobile than saying thank you to people who had queued up to PAY him to sign things

Lack of class

paxtonhibby
03-07-2011, 10:58 AM

Don't mention countdown...........b@gger too late,mmmmmm....... Rachel

03-07-2011, 11:01 AM
The opening post in there says it all about some players

Paul Gascoigne did a similar thing to my son once - I paid £15 for a signed photo from him at an NEC show - the guy never even looked up, acknowledged my son or said thank you

Was more worried about replying to texts on his mobile than saying thank you to people who had queued up to PAY him to sign things

Lack of class

Has anyone else had a bad experience of Gazza texting when he should have been thanking?

03-07-2011, 11:11 AM
Just let him go. No realistic amount of compo will make up for a ruined preseason now.

He wants out so let him and lets get our club back in order.

03-07-2011, 11:12 AM
Has anyone else had a bad experience of Gazza texting when he should have been thanking?

No,he never turned up, he was fishing.

Does anyone else worry that this is turning into the calendar thread?

03-07-2011, 11:16 AM

Okey doke. I think what this thread needs is an injection of culture:

If it were done when 'tis done, then 'twere well
It were done quickly

(Shakespeare. MacBeth)

03-07-2011, 11:25 AM
Just let him go. No realistic amount of compo will make up for a ruined preseason now.

He wants out so let him and lets get our club back in order.

A 3-0 win in our first preseason match doesn't suggest to me that our preseason has been ruined. Now if we were Celtc supporters.... :greengrin

03-07-2011, 11:27 AM
They may take our lives, but they'll never take our FREEDOM.

George Michael fan club. circa 1990

03-07-2011, 11:31 AM
stay (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_eXw47qb4U0)

or

go (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLgdcGEqgcw)

should_he_stay_or_should_he_go (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZBPu7jJbJU)

03-07-2011, 11:37 AM
This just isnt about money for me, time is a major factor of importance, IMO we are in a transfer limbo while this continues, we still need players. Every day this goes on we may miss out on a potential player.

Time to accept the compo and have Hibs functioning fully again as might take more days to appoint manager. Hibs are putting themselves at disadvantage daily.

Get him tae **** Rod, get the compo and then do one yerself. Total shambles at ER just now.

This saga has been running for about three weeks now and all wee have heard is one statement from the club at the begining from a club spokesman to say there has been no approach for CC and the club wouldn't welcome one for the manager, and two pishy interviews from CC himself where he has had every chance to commit to Hibs but on both occasions he has refused to give us a straight answer.
Any other club and there owner or chairman would be giving an interview stating that they wanted to keep there manager or be telling the other club/clubs if they wanted our manager they have to stump up with the compensation to get him, this has went on too long now, it is about time wee heard from RP or SL on this matter.
I am pretty sure this is not how STF would run his other buisness's, it would do damage to his investments, why is he he allowing this damage to be done to Hibernian FC.
I thought wee were one big FAMILY, thats what the board keep saying, who feels a part of it just now.
Or do the boaard want the FAMILY to turn against CC and run him out of town.

03-07-2011, 11:38 AM
stay (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_eXw47qb4U0)

or

go (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLgdcGEqgcw)

should_he_stay_or_should_he_go (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LZBPu7jJbJU)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLgdcGEqgcw

We'll soon reach the 100 page target.

03-07-2011, 11:40 AM
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLgdcGEqgcw

We'll soon reach the 100 page target.

maybe I should have made it a poll :wink:

03-07-2011, 11:42 AM
maybe I should have made it a poll :wink:

Good idea.

Are we on Page 93 yet?

03-07-2011, 11:51 AM

CC himself where he has had every chance to commit to Hibs but on both occasions he has refused to give us a straight answer.
Any other club and there owner or chairman would be giving an interview

That is because he wants to go, but doesn't want to risk ending up out of a job or end up being in litigation with Hibs. I have wanted to leave my job for about ten years but I have still worked conscientiously. Perhaps a bit of detachment in the manager could help him make unpressurised and clear-sighted decisions about the team. The club probably don't want to say anything that might effect ST sales etc by admitting to uncertainty around the club.

03-07-2011, 11:54 AM
Good idea.

Are we on Page 93 yet?

It is a good idea:agree:

Cal 7-0
03-07-2011, 11:55 AM
No he's gone.....

Only joking he's still here:greengrin

Ohh you wee kidder!! Back to sleep for me! :greengrin

03-07-2011, 11:55 AM
It is a good idea:agree:

Thought so. :agree:

Anybody else agree?

03-07-2011, 12:07 PM
Anyone spotted Calderwood at Waverley yet?

03-07-2011, 12:07 PM

This saga has been running for about three weeks now and all wee have heard is one statement from the club at the begining from a club spokesman to say there has been no approach for CC and the club wouldn't welcome one for the manager, and two pishy interviews from CC himself where he has had every chance to commit to Hibs but on both occasions he has refused to give us a straight answer.
Any other club and there owner or chairman would be giving an interview stating that they wanted to keep there manager or be telling the other club/clubs if they wanted our manager they have to stump up with the compensation to get him, this has went on too long now, it is about time wee heard from RP or SL on this matter.
I am pretty sure this is not how STF would run his other buisness's, it would do damage to his investments, why is he he allowing this damage to be done to Hibernian FC.
I thought wee were one big FAMILY, thats what the board keep saying, who feels a part of it just now.

Well said. Again the lack of leadership from our board is again exposed. They appointed this guy. Yet another failed appointment. We have had as our manager a lame duck for weeks now. Does our board have any idea how important a position of manager is within a football club? Do they have any idea how important pre season is to a football club? And finally are they really aware that after last seasons shambles we are hardly starting next season in 21 days from a position of strength?

03-07-2011, 12:08 PM

This saga has been running for about three weeks now and all wee have heard is one statement from the club at the begining from a club spokesman to say there has been no approach for CC and the club wouldn't welcome one for the manager, and two pishy interviews from CC himself where he has had every chance to commit to Hibs but on both occasions he has refused to give us a straight answer.Any other club and there owner or chairman would be giving an interview stating that they wanted to keep there manager or be telling the other club/clubs if they wanted our manager they have to stump up with the compensation to get him, this has went on too long now, it is about time wee heard from RP or SL on this matter.

Of course, he could be under orders from the Board not to comment publicly on any speculation re his position and to restrict his answers to team matters only (even if the Board only want his silence to act as a negotiating lever with Brum/Forest/both).

03-07-2011, 12:14 PM
Well said. Again the lack of leadership from our board is again exposed. They appointed this guy. Yet another failed appointment. We have had as our manager a lame duck for weeks now. Does our board have any idea how important a position of manager is within a football club? Do they have any idea how important pre season is to a football club? And finally are they really aware that after last seasons shambles we are hardly starting next season in 21 days from a position of strength?

How is this a "failed appointment" ? Others are rying to poach him and, depending on your POV we are either trying to keep him or holding out for more compensation. I have no idea which and, I would suspect, not many do.

Whether he wants to be here or not I have no idea. He took a game yesterday and we won 3-0 and I would expect him to continue in a professional manner.

03-07-2011, 12:19 PM
Anyone spotted Calderwood at Waverley yet?

No not yet.

03-07-2011, 12:22 PM
Everyone on here knew what the problems where so was hardly rocket science, he solved RB? maybe so but he is playing for Celtic so back in same position at start of season with RB. The jury is out on the signings as we do not know if they will work, so no credit for CC until the new CH plays in SPL. Time will tell if he addresed anything.

Any good done imo will be wiped out by this current carry on, he will not be signing players we may have a chance of and Rod will probably hold off allowing him to sign. Shambles.

So basically we are wanting rid off him because of something he's not said? Again I have no idea what the truth is except it is becoming clear the SPL can no longer compete with the Chamionship in England any more never mind the top division.

As some else has pointed out we could have had a McLeish type statement on the pitch then we would have been crystal clear where we stood. Oh how we cheered and sang that day. Or even a FJK type announcement to Falkirk fans. That would have satisfied us as well.

I Love Lamp
03-07-2011, 12:26 PM
How is this a "failed appointment" ? Others are rying to poach him and, depending on your POV we are either trying to keep him or holding out for more compensation. I have no idea which and, I would suspect, not many do.

Whether he wants to be here or not I have no idea. He took a game yesterday and we won 3-0 and I would expect him to continue in a professional manner.

In isolation, I see what you're saying. However viewed in the context of five managers in five years, the club was crying out for stability and the Board would have been looking for this guy to be in post for the length of his contract or near enough that. Presumably the interview questions would have covered his long term plans and the Board came to the conclusion that he would stay for the long term. Even if he did leave, it would be because of success at ER making him a candidate for better jobs than the one he had at Newcastle. Neither scenario has happened.

Both in terms of the results which have been poor and in terms of the club's need for stability, this has been a failed appointment. Though I agree it's better to be in receipt of compensation than having to pay it out, seeing the appointment as anything other than poor is a bit of a stretch.

03-07-2011, 12:37 PM
No not yet.

What about Hertz?

03-07-2011, 12:47 PM
What about Hertz?

Nope not seen them at waverly.

Has anybody seen anyone at waverly today ?

03-07-2011, 12:50 PM
What about Hertz?

OK, I'll take the bait.

I didn't realise they were after him as well.

Ther, happy now. :greengrin

03-07-2011, 12:51 PM
This thread is doing ma nut in but glad to help it on it's way to page 100.

03-07-2011, 12:53 PM

Couldn't have put it better myself :thumbsup:

03-07-2011, 12:54 PM
Couldn't have put it better myself :thumbsup:

03-07-2011, 12:56 PM

Nutin to see, move along please :greengrin

03-07-2011, 01:00 PM
Is page 92 ever going to end!:grr:

03-07-2011, 01:01 PM
OK, I'll take the bait.

I didn't realise they were after him as well.

Ther, happy now. :greengrin

Yes, thank you!

03-07-2011, 01:01 PM
What countdown things?

Explain?

PMs could add a 'countdown to...........' as part of their profile and you put a date in for something in the future and it would show how many days to go. Folk used it for holidays, gigs, weddings, divorces etc etc