View Full Version : ***CC - Staying Or Going?***/NFFC Appoint Coach MERGED
Pages :
[
6]
24-06-2011, 04:18 PM
He needs to come out and say he's staying, and commit for the remainder of his contract, or **** off now.
this is what should have happened earlier in the week to stop things getting out of hand.
get a few quid for him, and tell him to never dark in the door again, he has set us back a year as we face the possibility of another "transition" season
24-06-2011, 04:18 PM
Totally, I get the impression he will go to Brum probably this weekend and the only thing that is being sorted out is compensation. Pretty sad it has come to this IMO.
And WGS ain't his replacement either, I'll wager.
24-06-2011, 04:20 PM
Cant see it. Probably McInnes or such like.
Heedersnvolleys
24-06-2011, 04:20 PM
In what is probably the most frustrating thread in world history, that just made me burst out laughing!!
And me, got my tea dripping off my chin!:faf:
HibeeDaz6270
24-06-2011, 04:21 PM
Compensation. Il have a swap for David Murphy instead :greengrin
24-06-2011, 04:22 PM
Moan then, who do you reckon then? Michael O'Neill? Jimmy Calderwood?
24-06-2011, 04:25 PM
Moan then, who do you reckon then? Michael O'Neill? Jimmy Calderwood?
I'd like to think we'd go bigger again and since we've been trying to get players who've played at a higher level, we should do the same with the managers.
However, the reality is we'll likely go back to the 'up and coming' strategy again having been burned on this one.
No danger Jimmy Calderwood either but it hasn't gone silent on the transfer front for no reason.
Wouldn't mind seeing Hans Guilderflapps in the hot seat.
Does it not say something that the Hibs Board was able to hire a manager who it now turns out is being targeted by not one but two Championship clubs? These clubs are not knocking on Vlad's door asking to take JJ are they? Doesn't that indicate we've got someone that is highly regarded?
No, it indicates that we've got someone who is highly unsettled and open to offers. Even so far as to give up a Manager's post to take on a role as a No. 2.
Maybe, but we got him from an EPL team in the same capacity? Why would he take a step back down less than a year later? That says to me they misjudged the situation and would have been better with another target.
:agree: Spot on!
If this was a one off then I'm with everyone but it's getting trickier by the day to agree with what we've done on the football side in recent years.
And again. :agree: Folks who ignore the pattern of recent Manager appointments and departures are missing the bigger picture.
The Board then need to let a few trusted but completely independent people lead the recruitment process. They also need to get advice on how to run the footballing side. Folk can say what they want but a club doesn't go through a manager every 14 months, on average, if everything at the club is set up to let the manager perform to his ability.
:agree: Completely agree.
Has Pastabaic got his European coaching qualifications yet?
24-06-2011, 04:41 PM
STV Report
Colin Calderwood won’t guarantee Easter Road stay
Hibernian manager says his job is in Edinburgh “at the minute” but won’t rule out move.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/hibernian/260043-colin-calderwood-wont-guarantee-easter-road-stay
and in the Scotsman
http://www.scotsman.com/sport/Colin-Calderwood-coy-over-Easter.6790696.jp
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 04:41 PM
I'd hope if all your appointments were going wrong for various reasons people would start looking at why.
First of all, in my entire professional career I have never heard of anyone getting grief because someone they hired left for another job.
Anyway, I was talking specifically about Calderwood but if you want to open it up to ALL the managers that have left then let me repeat what I said on the PM forum.
I believe that Hibs are viewed as a stepping stone for both players and managers. Perhaps not ALL players and manager but by some. This means Hibs either:
1. hire a manager who is good who then subsequently leaves Hibs for bigger and better things. from all I have read on here, not many fans would take issue with that (depending on the manner of his departure of course). Mcleish, Mowbray and, potentially, CC would fall into this category.
2. hire a manager who is crap and is punted, and the board take the blame for this. Mixu and Yogi would fall into this category.
I don't know what category Collins falls into, maybe he needs one of his own?
How do Hibs hold onto good, ambitious managers?
CapitalHibs
24-06-2011, 04:45 PM
STV Report
Hibernian manager says his job is in Edinburgh “at the minute” but won’t rule out move.
http://sport.stv.tv/football/scottish-premier/hibernian/260043-colin-calderwood-wont-guarantee-easter-road-stay
and in the Scotsman
:bye::bye::bye::bye:
Niffy
24-06-2011, 04:46 PM
Reading CC's latest quote , I'll eat my own jobbies if he's still at Hibs come the start of the season.
Can't say I'm bothered, miserable swine anyway.
If he stays, HE can eat my jobbies instead of me for being a miserable sod, and I think he's great. Maybe. Maybe not.
He's off.
Bye bye Colin, nice never knowing you.
24-06-2011, 04:47 PM
http://www.thisisnottingham.co.uk/Forest-expect-Calderwood-decision-today-reveals/story-12828569-detail/story.html
NOTTINGHAM Forest will find out today whether they have been successful in bringing Colin Calderwood back to the club, confirmed Steve McClaren this morning.
The Reds manager revealed that Forest expect a decision today, as they look to bring the former City Ground boss back to the club as McClaren's assistant.
Colin Calderwood
.The major stumbling block will be whether his current club, Hibernian, are willing to release him from his contract to return to Nottingham for a second spell.
"I have been prioritising trying to put my staff together and people know that we have been trying to bring Colin Calderwood back to the club," said McClaren.
"That will be resolved today, hopefully. We are one or two people short at the moment and I will be looking at that.
"There is still a long way to go. Everyone knows the qualities he will bring, which is why we are trying to get him here.
"But we can talk about that more when it is done and dusted."
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 04:49 PM
No, it indicates that we've got someone who is highly unsettled and open to offers. Even so far as to give up a Manager's post to take on a role as a No. 2.
Really? So all that Notts Forest and Birmingham care about when looking for an assistant is how settled he is in his current position? I would think they would be concerned with how good at his job he is as well? That's not to say your observation is incorrect and I imagine if CC is highly unsettled it would make him easier to get but they have to actually want him in the first place. Him being unsettled would just be an added bonus.
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 04:50 PM
STV Report
and in the Scotsman
That tells me all I want to know. I wanted him to make a statement pledging himself to the club and he can't even lie about that. I don't want that sort of influence around our players when we're trying to setup for a very important season.
Niffy
24-06-2011, 04:54 PM
Agreed, get him tae fife, (but only at the right price Rodders)
If Rodders was anywhere near a decent chief, he'd have been talking to potential replacements as soon as this wafted out of CC's crabit erse.
24-06-2011, 04:57 PM
Now that he's put his cards on the table, I will be glad to see the back of him when the inevitable happens. I personally think he is barely average and can hardly contain my indifference to his departure or remaining.
24-06-2011, 04:59 PM
STV Report
and in the Scotsman
I'm sorry but thats just not on
CC has to come out and say either he's coming or going and not sit on the fence like that
If he's going he must come out and say so so we can get someone in ASAP
If your going Calderwood ****in go and lets get on
24-06-2011, 05:00 PM
He been bloody hopeless since day 1, GTF now and lets get a decent man in.
24-06-2011, 05:02 PM
Thanks for keeping us up Colin. :aok:
That's about all.
Purehibee_MYB
24-06-2011, 05:03 PM
Very very disappointed today...I have been fighting his corner for a few weeks now, and ever since the boo boys started early on in his reign, but I've finally given up...
All he had to do today was announce that he is happy at hibs and isn't going anywhere, but instead he left it open...Petrie get some compensation, and find someone who wants to be at hibs.
24-06-2011, 05:04 PM
I'm sorry but thats just not on
CC has to come out and say either he's coming or going and not sit on the fence like that
If he's going he must come out and say so so we can get someone in ASAP
If your going Calderwood ****in go and lets get on
Who says that he hasn't told the Hibs board that he is going? It might be that the Hibs board have asked him to continue on until they get a replacement?
Just a thought :dunno:
Time to get the darker gloss version of Calderwood instead??:flag:
24-06-2011, 05:08 PM
Who says that he hasn't told the Hibs board that he is going? It might be that the Hibs board have asked him to continue on until they get a replacement?
Just a thought :dunno:
cant see it mate, getting the players fit could be done by the other coaches
24-06-2011, 05:09 PM
I'd get rid of him now, if he winnae come out and commit tae Hibs then it seems clear tae me he's looking tae get out. Even if he is here next season it'll be because he couldnae get away due tae other circumstances and no because he wants tae be here, that's nae good tae anybody, so cheerio :bye:
Niffy
Get Stevenson and the heidless chicken in charge, with their 100% record, until we get the next victim in.
I'd like to think we'd go bigger again and since we've been trying to get players who've played at a higher level, we should do the same with the managers.
However, the reality is we'll likely go back to the 'up and coming' strategy again having been burned on this one.
No danger Jimmy Calderwood either but it hasn't gone silent on the transfer front for no reason.
I reckon the board will go down the Mixu/yogi street and go for Derek McInnes or Billy Reid. Young, promising and, more importantly, cheap and willing to buy cheaply.
HibeeMG
24-06-2011, 05:10 PM
I really do think that CC should now be put out on 'gardening leave'.
Alistair Stevenson and Gareth Evans can continue with preseason training.
Get someone like GS in either for the long term (preferably) or at least to see us through the selection process.
24-06-2011, 05:10 PM
I'd get rid of him now, if he winnae come out and commit tae Hibs then it seems clear tae me he's looking tae get out. Even if he is here next season it'll be because he couldnae get away due tae other circumstances and no because he wants tae be here, that's nae good tae anybody, so cheerio :bye:
That would be my take on it :agree:
If he cannae come out and commit to the club then it speaks volumes for me. Pre season tae Unbelievable :rolleyes:
24-06-2011, 05:11 PM
Find it ridiculous that after only about 9 months in the job it appears we are losing yet another manager. Just cant get my head around the decision, strikes me as a total lack of ambition to be going to a No.2 position in a league worse than where we got him from?
Ive no problem with a manager considering a position that is offered, but he publicly makes it sound as if he is off already and is just waiting for everything to be confirmed. If it happens, Ill be annoyed we are losing another manager so quickly, I wont be too upset its CC though.
24-06-2011, 05:11 PM
Time to get the darker gloss version of Calderwood instead??:flag:
not his biggest fan but i dont think we would have finished were we did with him there:cgwa
justlikebrazil
24-06-2011, 05:13 PM
Cant see it. Probably McInnes or such like.
Probably be somebody like Csaba Laszlo with Keith Wright as his assistant :wink:
24-06-2011, 05:14 PM
I agree in principal about commiting to the club, but if hes punted then hes free to speak to whoever he wants. We would also lose out any compensation that would be agreed between whoever he goes to (and he would surely expect money from the club if hes sacked).
24-06-2011, 05:16 PM
Probably be somebody like Csaba Laszlo with Keith Wright as his assistant :wink:
:faf: can you imagine!
Brebners Bookie
24-06-2011, 05:20 PM
dont want him here now. won't back him if he does stay. doesnt care about the club.
get tae
Get him to f--- and get answers from Petrie. Another disaster.
24-06-2011, 05:29 PM
I agree in principal about commiting to the club, but if hes punted then hes free to speak to whoever he wants. We would also lose out any compensation that would be agreed between whoever he goes to (and he would surely expect money from the club if hes sacked).When I say get rid I mean we shouldnae be overly difficult tae negotiate with by trying tae get too much, just get a decent amount tae get him out the door, no let him go for nowt.
Hibs On Tour
24-06-2011, 05:30 PM
The quote on the BBC website is dicking us around, to say the least. CC has been backed by the board with a load of signings [some loan in Jan, some this window] and we, the fans, have been reasonably patient without seeing a load of improvement on the pitch from whence we were prior to his arrival.
The LEAST I would expect and appreciate from our manager at this point in time is some ****ing committment back and a clear statement that he is staying. Lets get real here, its no ****ing real madrid that are coming calling is it? I know perfectly well our position in the grand scheme of things and that our league is ****** but regardless, we are worthy of more respect than a seemingly vague 'maybe I will, maybe I won't' pishy response such as this.
If he wants to go, let whoever stump up the release clause fee and he can **** off. If he's gonna stay, let him tell them through the media to **** off.
Mind you, most likely outcome is that he ends up resigning ala GJP and we end up bumping our gums about him having been tapped up...
Billy Reid for me... mind you, Walter Smith isn't doing anything these days is he? :faf:
Really? So all that Notts Forest and Birmingham care about when looking for an assistant is how settled he is in his current position? I would think they would be concerned with how good at his job he is as well?
That's not to say your observation is incorrect and I imagine if CC is highly unsettled it would make him easier to get but they have to actually want him in the first place. Him being unsettled would just be an added bonus.
You're taking pedantry to new levels there. :rolleyes:
That CC is in demand is not down to him having been a brilliant Manager either at ER or previously.
The fact that not one but two Championship clubs are potentially looking to hire his services is down to (obviously) CC having cut it as a coach in previous support roles down there. It is also down to a previous affiliation with one of the clubs and with one of the Managers.
But the significant point is that if he was settled, happy, focused and supported in his current role as a MANAGER, these clubs would not have a look in and they wouldn't be wasting their time.
Who gives up a Manager's post to become a No.2 at a level beneath even where they were working previously? :rolleyes:
And if they do, what makes them take a career decision like that?
24-06-2011, 05:47 PM
Billy Reid for me...
Is that the guy who just took his team down?
24-06-2011, 05:49 PM
Are you implying that is not the kind of guy you want guiding us next season ??
24-06-2011, 05:50 PM
Are you implying that is not the kind of guy you want guiding us next season ??
I dont, can't stand the guy.
Badge
24-06-2011, 05:52 PM
He been bloody hopeless since day 1, GTF now and lets get a decent man in.
Correct. :top marks
24-06-2011, 05:55 PM
The forest fan has just been back on the Scotsman, see below
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I guarantee if the chairman wants any more than £200k compensation then Forest wont pay simple as that - maybe Birmingham will.
We did excatly the same thing with Darren Pratley at Swansea last year - unsettled him in final year of contract and expected Swansea to cave in and give us him for next to nothing
They stood firm and made him stay
Forest have been banking on the fact if Calderwood lets your chairman know he wants to leave that the chairman will have to negotiate the compensation down rather than keep an unhappy manager
Maybe Forest think you wil sack him now ! who knows
Regardless I would get Billy Davies if I were you guys (he will need a special escape clause built in for when Rangers want him though !)
Very very messy now for all concerned
24-06-2011, 05:56 PM
I haven't read any of this thread but just read his interview on the BBC website and for me f*&k him. Its not the comments I want from a Hibs manager, he could easily have ruled out any interest and declared himself committed to the club and he has a job to do here.
Unbalieivable, only at Hibs could we be in a position where we have a manager a number of people arnt convinced, me included but want to stick by him and he is being poached by evry man and his dug to leave. Couldn't write this!
24-06-2011, 05:58 PM
Correct. :top marks
derek mciness before he gets a job down south:greengrin
24-06-2011, 06:00 PM
That wee interview that they have just played on Reporting Scotland was full of politicians answers. An opportunity to deliver a straight yes or no to staying and at best, that was a half-hearted maybe? As much as we have ripped into posters who have suggested this, mainly for lack of sauce, it is a bit worrying that CC swerves a very public chance to bury this rumour. Wonder if there is anything to read into the fact that the player that they asked to comment on whether CC should stay, was GOC, who has not worked for him.:confused:
Musselbound
24-06-2011, 06:04 PM
First of all, in my entire professional career I have never heard of anyone getting grief because someone they hired left for another job.
Anyway, I was talking specifically about Calderwood but if you want to open it up to ALL the managers that have left then let me repeat what I said on the PM forum.
I believe that Hibs are viewed as a stepping stone for both players and managers. Perhaps not ALL players and manager but by some. This means Hibs either:
1. hire a manager who is good who then subsequently leaves Hibs for bigger and better things. from all I have read on here, not many fans would take issue with that (depending on the manner of his departure of course). Mcleish, Mowbray and, potentially, CC would fall into this category.
2. hire a manager who is crap and is punted, and the board take the blame for this. Mixu and Yogi would fall into this category.
I don't know what category Collins falls into, maybe he needs one of his own?
How do Hibs hold onto good, ambitious managers?
All well and good but I've never heard of anybody moving back to their old job in an inferior post as "leaving for bigger and better things". If Calderwood was going back to manage Forest or B'ham then I could see the argument. It's a step backwards which reflects badly on our club. I also think we'd be doing our club an injustice to say the assistant's job at either of these clubs is bigger than the Hibs job. The buck doesn't stop with the assistant at the end of the day and CC came here saying he wanted to re-establish himself as a no.1. Looks like he's failed.
Leaving aside the debate about whether he is a good manager, it strikes me as far from an ambitious move - quite the opposite in fact. If he was ambitious he would try to re-build Hibs and wait for a proper managerial position down south.
24-06-2011, 06:05 PM
Ok lets assume he leaves my guess is the next manager of Hibernian is.........Gordon Strachan :dunno:
24-06-2011, 06:08 PM
Ok lets assume he leaves my guess is the next manager of Hibernian is.........Gordon Strachan :dunno:
That's who my money will be on
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 06:08 PM
That CC is in demand is not down to him having been a brilliant Manager either at ER or previously.
The fact that not one but two Championship clubs are potentially looking to hire his services is down to (obviously) CC having cut it as a coach in previous support roles down there. It is also down to a previous affiliation with one of the clubs and with one of the Managers.
The first sentence is pretty much what Grunt said but when he said it you disagreed with him. Sorry for being pedantic. :wink:
But the significant point is that if he was settled, happy, focused and supported in his current role as a MANAGER, these clubs would not have a look in and they wouldn't be wasting their time.
You're probably right, they wouldn't have a look in but they might still make inquiries if for no other reason than to test the waters.
Who gives up a Manager's post to become a No.2 at a level beneath even where they were working previously? :rolleyes:
The answer to this is very subjective. You might not. I might not. CC might though.
Again, this is subjective. Perhaps he sees a better long-term future in the English game than he does in the SPL? Maybe it's a case of taking one step back to take 2 or 3 steps forward? I really don't know.
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 06:13 PM
All well and good but I've never heard of anybody moving back to their old job in an inferior post as "leaving for bigger and better things". If Calderwood was going back to manage Forest or B'ham then I could see the argument. It's a step backwards which reflects badly on our club. I also think we'd be doing our club an injustice to say the assistant's job at either of these clubs is bigger than the Hibs job. The buck doesn't stop with the assistant at the end of the day and CC came here saying he wanted to re-establish himself as a no.1. Looks like he's failed.
Leaving aside the debate about whether he is a good manager, it strikes me as far from an ambitious move - quite the opposite in fact. If he was ambitious he would try to re-build Hibs and wait for a proper managerial position down south.
I agree with what you're saying. I was just stating what my observations have been with Hibs managers of late. They seem to fall into two categories. It's not for me or you to say what is a "bigger and better move" for anyone else other than ourselves, it's totally subjective. Maybe they are offering 3x as much money, that would be a good move. No idea what he might get offered but there are more things to look at than what's on the surface.
24-06-2011, 06:22 PM
You're taking pedantry to new levels there. :rolleyes:
BEEJ, it's been noted on here from Cropley10 and hibs13681 at least, that CC's got some family issues that is causing him to want to return south.
I don't know (and I hope you haven't) if you've ever been in a position where your working life has been unsettled or upset in any way by a personal or family situation.
If it's the right thing to do at this moment in time for someone, they'd take what is still an excellent job even if it's lower status if it resolves the family issue.
I wouldn't think twice about it, to be honest.
24-06-2011, 06:31 PM
hope ur wright :agree:
HibeeMG
24-06-2011, 06:32 PM
Snippet of the press conference on Sky Sports (http://www.skysports.com/video/inline/0,26691,12606_7003877,00.html).
Tells us the square root of f-all! :brickwall
The answer to this is very subjective. You might not. I might not. CC might though.
Again, this is subjective. Perhaps he sees a better long-term future in the English game than he does in the SPL? Maybe it's a case of taking one step back to take 2 or 3 steps forward? I really don't know.
Perhaps, maybes ... we're all talking about probabilities here. No-one knows anything for certain.
My somewhat jaundiced view of affairs has returned over the last 48 hours as this story appears to have taken on some validity.
Our recent record of managerial appointments, plus what one or two former Managers have had to say subsequently about their time in post, speaks loudest to me. Someone who came up here in October 2010 eager to be a Manager in his own right is now, just 8 months later, seriously entertaining thoughts of returning to a No. 2 role a division lower than he was in previously? It's bizarre.
BEEJ, it's been noted on here from Cropley10 and hibs13681 at least, that CC's got some family issues that is causing him to want to return south.
Unfortunately, Matty, 'family reasons' is an all too convenient out-clause that lets everyone off the hook.
So we're meant to all accept that and move on, believe that everything's really OK, that the club doesn't feel it needs to review matters and so it presses on to make the same mistakes it made before.
Sadly the pattern is already evident.
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 06:54 PM
Perhaps, maybes ... we're all talking about probabilities here. No-one knows anything for certain.
My somewhat jaundiced view of affairs has returned over the last 48 hours as this story appears to have taken on some validity.
Our recent record of managerial appointments, plus what one or two former Managers have had to say subsequently about their time in post, speaks loudest to me. Someone who came up here in October 2010 eager to be a Manager in his own right is now, just 8 months later, seriously entertaining thoughts of returning to a No. 2 role a division lower than he was in previously? It's bizarre.
Unfortunately, Matty, 'family reasons' is an all too convenient out-clause that lets everyone off the hook.
So we're meant to all accept that and move on, believe that everything's really OK, that the club doesn't feel it needs to review matters and so it presses on to make the same mistakes it made before.
Sadly the pattern is already evident.
I'm with you, even though we don't agree on everything, we agree that this is bizarre. Most people would probably not describe me as jaded but this whole ordeal has been very tiring and wearing and it needs to end.
While I accept that the family reasons can be valid, it still stinks. If he genuinely has family issues then all the best and I hope things work out for him. But if that's just an excuse he's wheeling out...........well, who cares because it seems unlikely that we would ever find out.
Perhaps it's time to get an outside consulting firm in to find out what is going on? Or Gordon Ramsay even? >:)
24-06-2011, 07:06 PM
Re the highlighted quote you make a good point :thumbsup:
Reading again the interview with CC I can't help but think no matter what happens over the next few days his credibility in the eyes of Hibs supporters will now be minimal.
If he stays there is always going to be the scenario that should a job in the lower leagues in England become available he will be in the frame.
On top of this a situation has been created where any player who decides he wants to leave only needs to point the finger at CC / especially if he leaves .
Loyalty - what loyalty ?
Have nothing against the guy but as it stands would rather he just went now and let the club settle into a routine before the season begins
24-06-2011, 07:18 PM
As a player would you sign for CC right now?
Will CC be focused on Hibs if he is alerted to a gem or will he be thinking that a potential new club might want them?
24-06-2011, 07:18 PM
If you employ people you are sacking after 12-18mths or if your not sacking them but they are quitting no matter what the reasons are the buck has to stop somewhere and for me its at RP etc door.
You cannot get away with recruiting guys to do a job for 3yrs or whatever the contract lengths are and sack them or they leave without your role in recruiting being looked at. If I hire folk even if there reason for quitting is totally valid and fair thats ok once but not 2 or 3 times.
We shall see.
24-06-2011, 07:24 PM
Will CC be focused on Hibs if he is alerted to a gem or will he be thinking that a potential new club might want them?
:agree: O'Hanlon must be wondering what he has let himself in for. Takes a chance and moves out of a comfort zone, to some extent and the manager that has been watching him develop over the last few years finally signs him and then a week later possibly leaves.:rolleyes:
24-06-2011, 07:27 PM
If you employ people you are sacking after 12-18mths or if your not sacking them but they are quitting no matter what the reasons are the buck has to stop somewhere and for me its at RP etc door.
You cannot get away with recruiting guys to do a job for 3yrs or whatever the contract lengths are and sack them or they leave without your role in recruiting being looked at. If I hire folk even if there reason for quitting is totally valid and fair thats ok once but not 2 or 3 times.
We shall see.
And do you honestly think RP could have envisaged this coming any more than me or you? Don't be so quick to apportion the blame when IMO its unjustified. I agree however the last 5 years or so the merry go round at ER is unacceptable but this one I don't think anyone could be blamed for other than CC!
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 07:28 PM
We shall see.
That depends, would people generally consider your employer to be a stepping stone? I think that's exactly how many people see Hibs unfortunately.
You can blame the board for hiring duds - no doubt. But you can't blame the board for people leaving to improve their career UNLESS there is something rotten at the club which has people reaching for the ejector seat lever for other reasons. (obviously you can blame whomever you want but I would be more inclined to blame those who leave us in the lurch as opposed to those who brought them in in the first place).
24-06-2011, 07:35 PM
That depends, would people generally consider your employer to be a stepping stone? I think that's exactly how many people see Hibs unfortunately.
You can blame the board for hiring duds - no doubt. But you can't blame the board for people leaving to improve their career UNLESS there is something rotten at the club which has people reaching for the ejector seat lever for other reasons. (obviously you can blame whomever you want but I would be more inclined to blame those who leave us in the lurch as opposed to those who brought them in in the first place).
Wether it is a stepping stone or not our last 3 and now maybe 4th managers have not came close to finishing contracts, they have to ensure they are getting the most out of these appointments, they are not they have failed.
Hibs On Tour
24-06-2011, 07:38 PM
Unfortunately I believe Jose M is spoken for currently. Have a look at those who we were touting before CC came here. Look at the support for WGS on here - someone who has been far more bad than good in his management career.
Easy to get on yer high horse about potential replacements - I prefer to look at those who are reasonable targets and who I personally think are half decent managers.
ionahibby
24-06-2011, 07:41 PM
I suspect petrie may go for him or of someone of that calibre. If cc leaves petrie knows that most fans will be pretty angry which means he will be under pressure to get someone decent in or his job will be on a shoogly peg.
I wonder what mr farmer thinks of all this or does he even care :dunno:
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 07:42 PM
Wether it is a stepping stone or not our last 3 and now maybe 4th managers have not came close to finishing contracts, they have to ensure they are getting the most out of these appointments, they are not they have failed.
How is it a failure when someone you employ decides to leave for a better (in THEIR opinion) opportunity? A faliure implies that there was something that could have been done to prevent it from happening in the first place. I agree that hiring guys who fail is a concern. I'm also concerned that managers leave us but please tell me how you stop that from happening? If you can figure out a way to hire loyal employees then you ought to publish it because you will become very rich. Maybe rich enough to buy out Hibs. ;)
24-06-2011, 07:47 PM
I suspect petrie may go for him or of someone of that calibre. If cc leaves petrie knows that most fans will be pretty angry which means he will be under pressure to get someone decent in or his job will be on a shoogly peg.
I reckon he takes more interest than some think, but in saying that ALL on field football matters, so to speak, are left to the RP/SL /the Board
24-06-2011, 08:16 PM
This is the most worrying part of all, Andy.
Personally I think CC should just p.o. now. The fact that he's hummin and hawin surely shows he's not 100% committed to the cause.
If he was he would have said a polite "No Thanks" to the poachers' initial approaches.
Do we really need a manager? The way we've played that past couple of years I think the players could put in tidier performances if left to their own means. <tongue-in-cheek smilie>
24-06-2011, 08:19 PM
De Graaf player-manager. The futures bright. The future's orange.
Brebners Bookie
24-06-2011, 08:29 PM
Yes Please. :aok:
24-06-2011, 08:36 PM
Why the support for WGS, he was an arrogant little so and so when he was at Celtic. He was a total tool and an embarrassment in some of his post match interviews.
24-06-2011, 08:38 PM
Why the support for WGS, he was an arrogant little so and so when he was at Celtic. He was a total tool and an embarrassment in some of his post match interviews.
Totally.
24-06-2011, 08:40 PM
His three (4?) SPL titles probably supersede his arrogant interviews in the terms of worthiness to be our manager, IMHO.
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 08:41 PM
I assume because people think he was a good coach. We need to think about what is really important:
a. finishing high up the league with an arrogant twat in charge, or
2. hogging the bottom with a politician at the helm.
I know which I would rather have (if the choice was mine to make).
Are we not sick of, "Ah, the lads gave it their all, they fought hard for one another" after getting pumped 2-4 at home?
24-06-2011, 08:57 PM
His three (4?) SPL titles probably supersede his arrogant interviews in the terms of worthiness to be our manager, IMHO.
You could shave an orangutan and put him in charge of one of the old firm and he could come within one game of winning the SPL....oh hang on. Seriously I don't think winning the league with one of the old firm is a huge managerial accomplishment. You pretty much have a 50% chance from day 1.
He was sacked as manager at Coventry, after nearly getting relegated the season before. He did well at Southampton and took them to 8th in the EPL and a cup final, but then walked out on them. He then took the Celtic job and as I say above he won titles but so do most managers of the old firm. He then took on the job at M'Boro and was a disaster, spent a fortune on Celtic and Rangers players and even paid a reported £500K for Lee Miller who had 6 months left on his contract. He left when Boro were 20th in the Championship and heading firmly towards relegation.
I cannot see him coming to us, if he does though then he will have my support.
24-06-2011, 08:57 PM
Farmer Auto Care as his investment in the club is at stake here pal.
He will leave it to Rodders as per norm who will be too busy trying to get the most money possible for Caldo ignoring the fact that we need this sorted PRONTO as the season starts shortly and as it stands the additional players we urgently need will not be coming in with all this going on.
Magnifique
24-06-2011, 09:02 PM
Okay take aim but if cc goes I'm not really bothered well apart from missing out on any signings in the pipeline
I would really really like Csasa Lazlow as next manager sure he's out of work too just think he done really well and went about his business with dignity and modesty when manager of the care in the community mob
24-06-2011, 09:09 PM
You could shave an orangutan and put him in charge of one of the old firm and he could come within one game of winning the SPL....oh hang on. Seriously I don't think winning the league with one of the old firm is a huge managerial accomplishment. You pretty much have a 50% chance from day 1.
He was sacked as manager at Coventry, after nearly getting relegated the season before. He did well at Southampton and took them to 8th in the EPL and a cup final, but then walked out on them. He then took the Celtic job and as I say above he won titles but so do most managers of the old firm. He then took on the job at M'Boro and was a disaster, spent a fortune on Celtic and Rangers players and even paid a reported £500K for Lee Miller who had 6 months left on his contract. He left when Boro were 20th in the Championship and heading firmly towards relegation.
I cannot see him coming to us, if he does though then he will have my support.
Not defending him, but apparently he was doing a favour for a struggling Mark Mcghee at the time. And 600k IIRC.
24-06-2011, 09:17 PM
Farmer Auto Care as his investment in the club is at stake here pal.
He will leave it to Rodders as per norm who will be too busy trying to get the most money possible for Caldo ignoring the fact that we need this sorted PRONTO as the season starts shortly and as it stands the additional players we urgently need will not be coming in with all this going on.
:applause::applause::top marks
Niffy
24-06-2011, 09:22 PM
Strachan would come in, demand xyz , and bleed the club dry...... no thanks.
He can't work without a bottomless pit of transfer cash.
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 09:31 PM
Okay take aim but if cc goes I'm not really bothered well apart from missing out on any signings in the pipeline
I would really really like Csasa Lazlow as next manager sure he's out of work too just think he done really well and went about his business with dignity and modesty when manager of the care in the community mob
No worries there, there is nothing in the pipeline. CC said so.
24-06-2011, 09:33 PM
Reading back some of the posts that are suggesting we go easy on CC "if" he leaves for " family reasons". If I was in his position, working opposite ends of the country and I had serious family issues, I would hand my tin in asap and go and shuffle sh*t if that was what I had to do, to go back home and fix things. No sure that I would hang on until a tasty offer came in, that meant I could return home, and then fix things.
24-06-2011, 09:34 PM
Just got a text saying that CC's away and Laszlo & Keith Wright are coming in. Probably a lot of ***** but thought I would share.
24-06-2011, 09:37 PM
How is it a failure when someone you employ decides to leave for a better (in THEIR opinion) opportunity? A faliure implies that there was something that could have been done to prevent it from happening in the first place. I agree that hiring guys who fail is a concern. I'm also concerned that managers leave us but please tell me how you stop that from happening? If you can figure out a way to hire loyal employees then you ought to publish it because you will become very rich. Maybe rich enough to buy out Hibs. ;)
We do not know if something could have been done to stop leaving, JC felt it a better opportunity to not actually work for a year, CC to be an assistant possibly. You have to ask if people deem that better then we have issues.
24-06-2011, 09:39 PM
No worries there, there is nothing in the pipeline. CC said so.
At this time of the year that had alarm bells ringing TBH, why is there nothing in the pipeline? i understand the english leagues aren't back till July but so what, we play in Scotland so if they want to join us why do we have to wait till they're back in training before we try and sign there players? they need to be ready for our season not the English one.
24-06-2011, 09:43 PM
Calderwood knows the speculation thats been doing the rounds all week. He knows the club have refuted it, if he was staying he'd have said so today.
He's obviously waiting to see what both parties thrash out, and towing the official line. We need to act fast, we need to get that clown as far away from easter road as quickly as possible.
He knows this is the most important time for the club in years, but in reality, he does not give a toss about us. I'm glad he's going, the players will be furious he's leaving, especially as he'd have flanneled them in the signing talks.
What a prick this man is, as a manager and an employee. We will be well rid of this piece of crap, hopefully the new man gets enough time to sort out this shambles.
24-06-2011, 09:48 PM
Calderwood knows the speculation thats been doing the rounds all week. He knows the club have refuted it, if he was staying he'd have said so today.
He's obviously waiting to see what both parties thrash out, and towing the official line. We need to act fast, we need to get that clown as far away from easter road as quickly as possible.
He knows this is the most important time for the club in years, but in reality, he does not give a toss about us. I'm glad he's going, the players will be furious he's leaving, especially as he'd have flanneled them in the signing talks.
What a prick this man is, as a manager and an employee. We will be well rid of this piece of crap, hopefully the new man gets enough time to sort out this shambles.
No like him then? :greengrin
I actually thought he might have turned it around and i thought he seemed a decent guy (although ive heard otherwise from a member of the press) but i too just want him to go now, he's obviously no committed so lets get someone in that wants to be here.
At least he never bull****ted us by saying he was staying then left tomorrow, no that that makes any difference right enough, just pleased to at least get a bit honesty out of someone.
Hibs On Tour
24-06-2011, 09:51 PM
Matty, he won them against the worst Rangers team in living memory and IIRC wasn't that shy about spending Celtic's money. As others have said, wisnae great at Coventry, done well at Southampton, done what anyone half-decent would have done at Celtic and was an unmitigated disaster at Boro.
Think there are far better and cheaper options. Mind you, they're not 'Hibs-minded' though... too many viewing him with green-tinted shades IMHO.
24-06-2011, 09:52 PM
BH you know I was not a fan of CC and stated this after about 10 games when I saw no change, Although I wouldnt mind a new manager the principle that we may need one so soon is gauling making this a difficult situation.
I think if CC is clearing out his desk then he shouldnt be only one, I have no confidence at all in the footballing future being run correctly while the current board are in charge.
24-06-2011, 09:53 PM
No like him then? :greengrin
I actually thought he might have turned it around and i thought he seemed a decent guy (although ive heard otherwise from a member of the press) but i too just want him to go now, he's obviously no committed so lets get someone in that wants to be here.
At least he never bull****ted us by saying he was staying then left tomorrow, no that that makes any difference right enough, just pleased to at least get a bit honesty out of someone.
Couldn't manage a piss up in a brewery, **** **** results and a **** person, nae loyalty to the folk who gave him a huge pay rise only 9 months ago. The quicker he goes the better. :jamboak:
HibeeMG
24-06-2011, 09:53 PM
Maybe we kept the receipt and can get a refund back from Newcastle!
24-06-2011, 09:55 PM
Couldn't manage a piss up in a brewery, **** **** results and a **** person, nae loyalty to the folk who gave him a huge pay rise only 9 months ago. The quicker he goes the better. :jamboak:
Seems pretty obvious now he only came to us as a stop gap as he knew what was coming up for Houghton at Newcastle.
24-06-2011, 09:58 PM
BH you know I was not a fan of CC and stated this after about 10 games when I saw no change, Although I wouldnt mind a new manager the principle that we may need one so soon is gauling making this a difficult situation.
I think if CC is clearing out his desk then he shouldnt be only one, I have no confidence at all in the footballing future being run correctly while the current board are in charge.
I agree, this board have it seems no real idea when appointing football managers. They failed when Sauzee got the job, Panicked when results were poor. Williamson failed, Mowbray they got right, Collins won a cup but left us in a sad mess. Mixu bored us, Hughes gave us europe then lost it, and this one was hopeless.
Not a great record, and someone should be held accountable.
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 10:00 PM
We do not know if something could have been done to stop leaving, JC felt it a better opportunity to not actually work for a year, CC to be an assistant possibly. You have to ask if people deem that better then we have issues.
I freely admit that the whole Collins debacle went over my head, I have no idea what happened there.
If CC is lured away to be an assistant on less money than he's making at Hibs then I agree, it shows we have issues. If he leaves to be an assistant for more money, I disagree. Perhaps he's just greedy?
For what it's worth, I am not saying that there are not issues at Hibs, but I don't think a man leaving for a better (in his opinion) position proves that one way or the other.
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 10:03 PM
At this time of the year that had alarm bells ringing TBH, why is there nothing in the pipeline? i understand the english leagues aren't back till July but so what, we play in Scotland so if they want to join us why do we have to wait till they're back in training before we try and sign there players? they need to be ready for our season not the English one.
An empty pipe-line worries me too. I think everyone agrees we need more signings (although that number appears to be between 2 and 5) so for there to be NOTHING in the works is worrying, but at least they've been honest about it.
My point about not worrying was in response to doug2's concern about us losing any players in the pipeline if CC left because there aren't any there to lose.
24-06-2011, 10:05 PM
An empty pipe-line worries me too. I think everyone agrees we need more signings (although that number appears to be between 2 and 5) so for there to be NOTHING in the works is worrying, but at least they've been honest about it.
My point about not worrying was in response to doug2's concern about us losing any players in the pipeline if CC left because there aren't any there to lose.
Maybe the empty pipeline is because the club wont allow a manager who's clearly not 100% committed to the club sign anymore players?:dunno:
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 10:06 PM
I agree, this board have it seems no real idea when appointing football managers. They failed when Sauzee got the job, Panicked when results were poor. Williamson failed, Mowbray they got right, Collins won a cup but left us in a sad mess. Mixu bored us, Hughes gave us europe then lost it, and this one was hopeless.
Not a great record, and someone should be held accountable.
Agree with all but that last part because as I have said, I wanted to see what he could do with a fresh start. It's a moot point now because it appears we'll never find out.
I'm a convert. CC must Go!
HibsMax
24-06-2011, 10:08 PM
Maybe the empty pipeline is because the club wont allow a manager who's clearly not 100% committed to the club sign anymore players?:dunno:
That wouldn't surprise me but why would they trust him to train with the players rather than hand the reigns over to someone else?
Answer : Not allowing the manager to make signings can be done relatively quietly. If they stopped him from training then it would be obvious to everyone that something reeked.
24-06-2011, 10:12 PM
I think it was because he knows he's leaving so didn't want to lie to players about what his plans are.
24-06-2011, 10:34 PM
After hearing his interview on the BBC then I would just like the board to come and tell Forest/Birmingham that CC is all yours. No point keeping a manager who is not fully commited to the team and it is not setting a good example to the players that you're gaffer is not promising you that he will be here when the new season kicks off. Maybe the reason on why the transfer business at Hibs has gone pretty quiet because I doubt a player is going to want to sign for Hibs when the manager is saying that he may not be here that much longer if an offer from down south comes in. Wonder what CC told Ivan, Gazza & O'Hanlon about his plans for Hibs since O'Hanlon mentioned it in his interview that one of the factors that brought him to Hibs was the stuff CC said on what his plans are for this club? Could it have been something along the lines of this - " I have been really desperate in signing you for a very long time now but in a few weeks time I will **** off down south and you do the business for the Hibs and I will try to bring you down south with me possibly Jan/season 2012/13.
So therefore CC should just go as their is no point in keeping a manager who isn't 110% commited and isn't promising us fans and the team that he will be here when the season starts. Won't mind Terry Butcher at Hibs. Think he would be a great appointment.
24-06-2011, 10:44 PM
The day's nearly over. Has he gone yet?
24-06-2011, 11:27 PM
Listen, I agree with everyone one here. When I read the comments over the last week or so and over the last few days it's pretty clear he's not as committed as i thought he was. IMO he's offski. But your point above doesn't make sense if you really think about it. How many 'top' SPL players move down south to championship clubs? Plenty. Reason = greater exposure and opportunity. The reality is our great club, like all Scottish clubs, is a stepping stone for ambitious players and managers.
The sooner people grasp this the better. Better players and managers have left bigger clubs than ours to seek greater fortunes and opportunities.
Relax my friend, all will be well.
24-06-2011, 11:30 PM
When you look at Calderwood's phenomenal record since arriving at ER, the only name that immediately springs to mind to replace him is Yogi Hughes.
24-06-2011, 11:33 PM
I genuinely hope he does **** off. He has done nothing since arriving and his departure will make no odds to us given our performances and RESULTS since he took over.
ENDOF
24-06-2011, 11:34 PM
When you look at Calderwood's phenomenal record since arriving at ER, the only name that immediately springs to mind to replace him is Yogi Hughes.
dirtydashedboab has hit the nail on the heid for the first time in ages. :greengrin
ENDOF :thumbsup:
Emerald
24-06-2011, 11:38 PM
Kept out of this until now but thought I'd put my view forward.
Any person in any job would find it difficult to be away from their family for a prolonged period of time. Football people however know this is part of their lives. He comes across as not committed to Hibs for whatever reason but football is all about passion and before this came about he was 1 out of 10 on the passion scale anyway. How can he now expect a support who were totally unconvinced in him after the first few months be expected to support his lacklustre demeanour now. FFS, how low can ths get.
The thing that really hacks me off is that all transfers and speculation have stopped, while he waits on the call from whoever, leaving us in the brown stuff. We only have a limited time to rebuild and prepare for the fast approaching new season. Very worrying.
Stay or go, I'm not bothered but he has to show some real passion and commitment if he stays to get the fans back on board and boy do we need that! :flag:
24-06-2011, 11:45 PM
Kept out of this until now but thought I'd put my view forward.
Any person in any job would find it difficult to be away from their family for a prolonged period of time. Football people however know this is part of their lives. He comes across as not committed to Hibs for whatever reason but football is all about passion and before this came about he was 1 out of 10 on the passion scale anyway. How can he now expect a support who were totally unconvinced in him after the first few months be expected to support his lacklustre demeanour now. FFS, how low can ths get.
The thing that really hacks me off is that all transfers and speculation have stopped, while he waits on the call from whoever, leaving us in the brown stuff. We only have a limited time to rebuild and prepare for the fast approaching new season. Very worrying.
Stay or go, I'm not bothered but he has to show some real passion and commitment if he stays to get the fans back on board and boy do we need that! :flag:
I dont think he can stay?
24-06-2011, 11:47 PM
I dont think he can stay?
Nope. I dinny even want a bog scrubber who doesny WANT to be there.
He never looked interested from day one til now.
He has nae real plan B.
He always looks raging within, yet does nowt aboot it.
Baws. He can go where he likes. Ideally, a few hundred miles south. :aok:
ENDOF
24-06-2011, 11:54 PM
Nope. I dinny even want a bog scrubber who doesny WANT to be there.
He never looked interested from day one til now.
He has nae real plan B.
He always looks raging within, yet does nowt aboot it.
Baws. He can go where he likes. Ideally, a few hundred miles south. :aok:
ENDOF
He has been a complete waste of time from the minute he was appointed. There's no doubt in my mind we'd have been just as well keeping Hughes than giving this prick the job.
Those who had him as the new messiah and you know who you are, i hope you are happy now?:bitchy:
archiebald
24-06-2011, 11:57 PM
Will be gone by Monday morning-weekend gives him a chance to speak to any new employer :agree:
24-06-2011, 11:58 PM
weekend gives him a chance to speak to any new employer :agree:
B&Q? McDonalds? :greengrin
...he better watch, those places are busy at the weekend :thumbsup:
Sooner he bolts, the better IMHO.
GGTTH.
ENDOF
SmokieJoe
25-06-2011, 12:02 AM
Why would he ? He left a premiership side in newcastle because he wanted to be his own man, so to say he would go back to a no 2 in a lower division is plain daft ,, ps bang bang :greengrin
Emerald
25-06-2011, 12:04 AM
He has been a complete waste of time from the minute he was appointed. There's no doubt in my mind we'd have been just as well keeping Hughes than giving this prick the job.
Those who had him as the new messiah and you know who you are, i hope you are happy now?:bitchy:
Mmmmmmm, maybe a bit unfair but I share your concerns. He may well have made/make a really good manager given time but these days you have to get the support behind you, even if your talking pish. Hughes was at least upbeat with his pish!!!!! lol
25-06-2011, 12:34 AM
He Can F*** Off. Another year with a new manager again FFS.
25-06-2011, 12:56 AM
46 pages of keech !!!!!!!!!.......
(I assume,.....I have no intention of reading it)
he will be here next season......END OF !
25-06-2011, 01:27 AM
read here, it has a direct quote from McLaren, that coupled with his non-commital in his interview makes me believe there is no way back
http://sport.scotsman.com/hibernianfc/Calderwood-is-torn-as-Forest.6790947.jp
MountcastleHibs
25-06-2011, 01:31 AM
I'll be amazed if he's still here this time next week, never mind next season.
Personally, I don't want a manager that is not 100% committed to the job at hand. CC is evidently not.
25-06-2011, 01:37 AM
Personally, I don't want a manager that is not 100% committed to the job at hand. CC is evidently not.
this:agree:
25-06-2011, 05:32 AM
I think Bobby was right. If you want loyalty get a dug.
The gulf between fans and players/managers is now enormous. Players or managers for that matter have no loyalty to any club. They kiss the badge and wave scarfs above their heads at photocalls then they do the same at their next gig. We think they have that same loyalty to our club that we have but we are constantly dissapointed when it turns out they dont. When supporters become players and then move on they have their entire persona ripped apaprt by us and are branded traitors or worse.
When was the last time a player or manager was here longer than three years and what overall percentage is that? CC is apparently being offered an opportunity to take on a whole new role in the fifth richest league in the world. Where does the SPL rank I wonder? It would appear that, although he is not in charge of the first team, he will be in charge of quite a lot and all the circumstances andconditions surrouding family, location and so on are ideal.
I have no idea but its not much and thats pretty much the story at the vast majority of clubs.
Fans are as guilty as anybody in that six bad results or six below par performances and there are those who are screaming for blood, either the managers or the players but now those who employ them both. The sheep couldnt see the back of Tangoman quickly enough as they were making no impact on the OF and the next manager would take them to the next level. He did.
I dont think people thought he was/is the "new messiah" Blackpool but I think we were prepared to support him come what may given the upheaval of recent times. We needed stability and now, still based on little more than one comment from Shteve nearly at fortnight after the first post. Whilst I have no idea what will happen we are worse than ever and CC's position is looking increasingly untenable based seemingly entirely on one comment and whats "not" been said. Only in football.
The board have backed him and I dont see how they can be held resposible. But I am sure the usual baseless stuff will be trotted out.
25-06-2011, 06:16 AM
Quite possibly the most boring thread ever on .net, 40-odd pages of the same regurgitated pish. CC is going nowhere, that i'm sure of.
25-06-2011, 06:22 AM
The gulf between fans and players/managers is now enormous. Players or managers for that matter have no loyalty to any club. They kiss the badge and wave scarfs above their heads at photocalls then they do the same at their next gig. We think they have that same loyalty to our club that we have but we are constantly dissapointed when it turns out they dont. When supporters become players and then move on they have their entire persona ripped apaprt by us and are branded traitors or worse.
When was the last time a player or manager was here longer than three years and what overall percentage is that? CC is apparently being offered an opportunity to take on a whole new role in the fifth richest league in the world. Where does the SPL rank I wonder? It would appear that, although he is not in charge of the first team, he will be in charge of quite a lot and all the circumstances andconditions surrouding family, location and so on are ideal.
I have no idea but its not much and thats pretty much the story at the vast majority of clubs.
Fans are as guilty as anybody in that six bad results or six below par performances and there are those who are screaming for blood, either the managers or the players but now those who employ them both. The sheep couldnt see the back of Tangoman quickly enough as they were making no impact on the OF and the next manager would take them to the next level. He did.
I dont think people thought he was/is the "new messiah" Blackpool but I think we were prepared to support him come what may given the upheaval of recent times. We needed stability and now, still based on little more than one comment from Shteve nearly at fortnight after the first post. Whilst I have no idea what will happen we are worse than ever and CC's position is looking increasingly untenable based seemingly entirely on one comment and whats "not" been said. Only in football.
The board have backed him and I dont see how they can be held resposible. But I am sure the usual baseless stuff will be trotted out.
I dont think he was the new messiah either, but there were SOME people so against Hughes, that they pinned all their hopes on Clueless Colin, making out he was the answer to aids the common cold and the afghan crisis.
Calderwood failed to motivate the team or its fans, he failed with style of play, team selections and results.
At least we had a wee bit of success under hughes, and while it was the right thing he went, he'd never have treated us with this kind of contempt.
Calderwood could have put this all to bed with one quote saying he was staying, he didn't. He can never take charge of this team again imo.
aberhibsfc
25-06-2011, 07:43 AM
After hearing his interview on the BBC then I would just like the board to come and tell Forest/Birmingham that CC is all yours. No point keeping a manager who is not fully commited to the team and it is not setting a good example to the players that you're gaffer is not promising you that he will be here when the new season kicks off. Maybe the reason on why the transfer business at Hibs has gone pretty quiet because I doubt a player is going to want to sign for Hibs when the manager is saying that he may not be here that much longer if an offer from down south comes in. Wonder what CC told Ivan, Gazza & O'Hanlon about his plans for Hibs since O'Hanlon mentioned it in his interview that one of the factors that brought him to Hibs was the stuff CC said on what his plans are for this club? Could it have been something along the lines of this - " I have been really desperate in signing you for a very long time now but in a few weeks time I will **** off down south and you do the business for the Hibs and I will try to bring you down south with me possibly Jan/season 2012/13.
So therefore CC should just go as their is no point in keeping a manager who isn't 110% commited and isn't promising us fans and the team that he will be here when the season starts. Won't mind Terry Butcher at Hibs. Think he would be a great appointment.
That won't happen as Petrie will want as much compensation as he can get. If we are open to him going it reduces our bargaining power. However this tact will see us entering another famous ER transition period. The window will trundle on while we flap around, the longer we go on the worse for us. We need someone at the helm taking action now for the new season. We have a vastly reduced squad minus a Miller and Riordan, how much influence did CC exert on that. If he does go, we need someone in as quickly as possible and I would hope they would review the DR situation.
The hotseat at ER is fast becoming a joke, we have a manger at present who has been well short of a success and even at that can't commit. If he's going to go then best now so someone can get in and have time to make their changes.
25-06-2011, 08:09 AM
i agree with you but i think that comes with being a manager at an old firm club.the pressure there is huge according to former bosses.
can you imagine the greeting coming out of mourhino,wenger if they were in charge there!!
would still take him as manager with butcher a close second.probably end up with danny lennon though if we lose calderwood !!
25-06-2011, 08:12 AM
25-06-2011, 08:19 AM
says it all really.
the only thing that is strange is why is he still at eatser road as this has been going on for a while now.
maybe moving to forrest or birmingham could harm his reputation,if there is such a thing in football
25-06-2011, 08:33 AM
CC's position is looking increasingly untenable based seemingly entirely on one comment and whats "not" been said. Only in football.
There's no smoke without fire. And as much as I hate to disappoint you here but the suggestion that his "position is looking increasingly untenable based seemingly entirely on one comment and whats "not" been said" is wholly inaccurate. I only wish it were true as I would have preferred to see how the team rebuilding and pre-season went and what this team looked like with the dead wood removed.
CC wants to leave and this desire predates the OP's comment and the alleged photo. I know this as matter of fact.
The reasons will - perhaps - become clearer but I fear they will remain 'off-the-record' after he's left.
25-06-2011, 08:35 AM
From todays Record it looks like he has the choice of 2 other jobs but isn't sure which way to go, one way or another he is definately going, make it quick will you. :bye:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hibs boss Colin Calderwood insists questions over his future would be 'dangerous to answer'
Jun 25 2011 (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/hibernian/2011/06/25/) Gordon Parks
COLIN CALDERWOOD last night admitted for the first time he could quit Hibs and return to England this summer.
The Easter Road boss is set to be offered assistant manager posts at Nottingham Forest and Birmingham.
And yesterday he confessed it would be extremely difficult to knock back a dramatic move to the Championship to work with Steve McClaren at Forest or Chris Houghton at City.
When asked whether the chance of a return south of the border held an appeal, Calderwood was brutally honest in his admission.
He said: "There has to be ambition, things you want to aspire to in your career.
"You sit and take stock of your options. There is nothing too wrong in that. If someone offers you two bags of sweets you look in both before you choose.
"There hasn't been any contact with the chairman but there has to be something in the story.
"It would be a hard choice but it's a dangerous question for me to answer at the minute.
"The commitment the club have given me, in terms of bringing in players, means it would be hard to contemplate walking away."
The Hibs gaffer refused to rule out a reunion with old pal Houghton, with whom he previously formed a management pairing at Newcastle.
Calderwood said: "I have regular contact with Chris and his record led to him being a good proposition for Birmingham. And it's something you discuss as friends."
And last night Forest manager McLaren admitted he isn't about to take no for an answer in his bid to bring Calderwood back to the City ground.
He said: "I have been prioritising trying to put my staff together and people know that we have been trying to bring Colin back to the club.
"Everyone knows the qualities he would bring, which is why we are trying to get him here.
"But we can all talk about that more when everything is fully done and dusted."
25-06-2011, 08:41 AM
25-06-2011, 08:43 AM
From todays Record it looks like he has the choice of 2 other jobs but isn't sure which way to go, one way or another he is definately going, make it quick will you. :bye:
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hibs boss Colin Calderwood insists questions over his future would be 'dangerous to answer'
Jun 25 2011 (http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/football/spl/hibernian/2011/06/25/) Gordon Parks
COLIN CALDERWOOD last night admitted for the first time he could quit Hibs and return to England this summer.
The Easter Road boss is set to be offered assistant manager posts at Nottingham Forest and Birmingham.
And yesterday he confessed it would be extremely difficult to knock back a dramatic move to the Championship to work with Steve McClaren at Forest or Chris Houghton at City.
When asked whether the chance of a return south of the border held an appeal, Calderwood was brutally honest in his admission.
He said: "There has to be ambition, things you want to aspire to in your career.
"You sit and take stock of your options. There is nothing too wrong in that. If someone offers you two bags of sweets you look in both before you choose.
"There hasn't been any contact with the chairman but there has to be something in the story.
"It would be a hard choice but it's a dangerous question for me to answer at the minute.
"The commitment the club have given me, in terms of bringing in players, means it would be hard to contemplate walking away."
The Hibs gaffer refused to rule out a reunion with old pal Houghton, with whom he previously formed a management pairing at Newcastle.
Calderwood said: "I have regular contact with Chris and his record led to him being a good proposition for Birmingham. And it's something you discuss as friends."
And last night Forest manager McLaren admitted he isn't about to take no for an answer in his bid to bring Calderwood back to the City ground.
He said: "I have been prioritising trying to put my staff together and people know that we have been trying to bring Colin back to the club.
"Everyone knows the qualities he would bring, which is why we are trying to get him here.
"But we can all talk about that more when everything is fully done and dusted."
Oh please don't insult us... Ivan/Garry and a new CH!
MountcastleHibs
25-06-2011, 09:46 AM
There's a difference between loyalty and committment. I'm not asking for CC to come out and say he loves the club and wants to be nowhere else bar here.
I want him to be committed to his job and concentrating on building a decent squad for next season. Not whoring himself to clubs in England. In any walk of life, I think you have to be committed to what you are doing. If you're not, its just pointless. CC is not fully committed to Hibs and should just leave.
Purehibee_MYB
25-06-2011, 09:53 AM
I think what's also clear to see now is that there is pretty much no way back for Calderwood now...all of us seem to be on the same page regarding his future, which makes a change considering all the arguments and disagreements on here, but for one everyone is in agreement that he is not committed and will no longer be missed.
25-06-2011, 11:25 AM
Yep same page!
Thanks for keeping us up, time for you to move on now, so good luck.
Makaveli
25-06-2011, 11:56 AM
There's an air of the Williamson to Plymouth move about this... a dour, turgid manager we're well rid of leaves on his own terms and we somehow get money out of it!
If the next appointment is right (Michael O'Neill, Strachan or Butcher IMO) it will be a good season.
25-06-2011, 12:14 PM
There's an air of the Williamson to Plymouth move about this... a dour, turgid manager we're well rid of leaves on his own terms and we somehow get money out of it!
If the next appointment is right (Michael O'Neill, Strachan or Butcher IMO) it will be a good season.
i said this to a mate this morning, this could be the get out of jail card. the only downside i can see is another manager of short tenure.
25-06-2011, 12:48 PM
If the next appointment is right (Michael O'Neill, Strachan or Butcher IMO) it will be a good season.Personally I'd love to see Strachan as manager. I don't know how good he would be, but it would not be boring.
HibsMax
25-06-2011, 01:57 PM
Just wanted to comment on something I've read over and over again. People talk about Colin's demeanour and personally speaking I wouldn't put too much into that. If you watch Doc Rivers at a Celtics game, he's up and down, shouting, angry, shows a lot of passion. Now if you look at Bill Belichick at a Patriots game, and in press conferences, you might be hard-pressed to find someone as uninspiring. He rarely shows any emotion. He's very stoic, matter of fact. But Bill Belichick is arguably one of the best coaches the NFL has seen (lots of people hate him as well).
By all means bash a player or manager for tangible things but I think we're reaching when we roll out the "shows no passion" card, because some people are more introverted than others.
Just thought I would add to the thread with something a little different, try and make it less boring / pish for folks. :)
HibsMax
25-06-2011, 02:04 PM
Aren't you forgetting about the support he got in the January window? Let's not risk being accused of having selective memory. :wink:
25-06-2011, 02:11 PM
Just wanted to comment on something I've read over and over again. People talk about Colin's demeanour and personally speaking I wouldn't put too much into that. If you watch Doc Rivers at a Celtics game, he's up and down, shouting, angry, shows a lot of passion. Now if you look at Bill Belichick at a Patriots game, and in press conferences, you might be hard-pressed to find someone as uninspiring. He rarely shows any emotion. He's very stoic, matter of fact. But Bill Belichick is arguably one of the best coaches the NFL has seen (lots of people hate him as well).
By all means bash a player or manager for tangible things but I think we're reaching when we roll out the "shows no passion" card, because some people are more introverted than others.
Just thought I would add to the thread with something a little different, try and make it less boring / pish for folks. :)
You're absolutely right. Some of the reasoning behind our manager criticisms (not just Calderwood) is ridiculous. Demeanour, way of talking, dress sense and more - we've had it all.
coco22
25-06-2011, 02:12 PM
Personally I'd love to see Strachan as manager. I don't know how good he would be, but it would not be boring.
how do you think strachan and the tache would get on? as you say, it wouldn't be dull. dont think we could get him unfortunately
CapitalHibs
25-06-2011, 03:11 PM
how do you think strachan and the tache would get on? as you say, it wouldn't be dull. dont think we could get him unfortunately
Just as long as he doesn't have a previous with Petrie like throwing a glass of red wine at him...oh, wait a moment:wink:
25-06-2011, 03:12 PM
The deal has been done. He has gone Forest lose out. He has decided on Birmingham. Lets move on.
25-06-2011, 03:19 PM
Can't see Strachan fitting into the way Hibs work and the role the previous managers have had in the past.
25-06-2011, 03:20 PM
There's a difference between loyalty and committment. I'm not asking for CC to come out and say he loves the club and wants to be nowhere else bar here.
I want him to be committed to his job and concentrating on building a decent squad for next season. Not whoring himself to clubs in England. In any walk of life, I think you have to be committed to what you are doing. If you're not, its just pointless. CC is not fully committed to Hibs and should just leave.
I would expect him to be professional and continue to do his best until its decided otherwise.
I do agree though that if he doesnt want to be here, for whatever reason, then he should leave asap.
25-06-2011, 03:24 PM
"If someone offers you two bags of sweets you look in both before you choose" - CC
Hibs/Forest/Brum ......perm two from three
i.e. one of them doesn't seem to be in CC's equation.
:hmmm:I wonder which one?
25-06-2011, 03:29 PM
I would expect him to be professional and continue to do his best until its decided otherwise.
I do agree though that if he doesnt want to be here, for whatever reason, then he should leave asap.
He's been wanting to leave for some time. We should just hope we find out why when he does.
25-06-2011, 03:30 PM
The deal has been done. He has gone Forest lose out. He has decided on Birmingham. Lets move on.
Source, please!? :greengrin:
25-06-2011, 03:34 PM
I'd imagine Birmingham will be his choice. Houghton and the parachute payments will give them a much better chance of capturing clueless.
25-06-2011, 03:36 PM
I'd imagine Birmingham will be his choice. Houghton and the parachute payments will give them a much better chance of capturing clueless.
Even still - surely he's not going to get the same money as an assistant as he was on up here?
25-06-2011, 03:37 PM
Even still - surely he's not going to get the same money as an assistant as he was on up here?
i'd say he'd get a minimum of 8 -10k a week at birmingham.
25-06-2011, 03:46 PM
Any idea what he was supposed to be on at NUFC??
Thomson
25-06-2011, 04:11 PM
Source? :wink:
Bambino posted same over on Bounce, can anyone else shed any light on this or any sources?
25-06-2011, 04:19 PM
Do they not have a windfall payment as well?
25-06-2011, 04:19 PM
Bambino posted same over on Bounce, can anyone else shed any light on this or any sources?
Same bambino that said there was a press conference last week?
25-06-2011, 04:21 PM
You cant blame folk for wanting source to this. We were told at the beginning of the week that CC was moving to Forest and THAT was a done deal. Release clause and CC desperate to go. Even aphoto was provided.
Are there any photo's? Particularly of anyone who bears a pssing resemblance to either CC or CH from a distance and in bad light? That would help.
Thomson
25-06-2011, 04:44 PM
You cant blame folk for wanting source to this. We were told at the beginning of the week that CC was moving to Forest and THAT was a done deal. Release clause and CC desperate to go. Even aphoto was provided.
Are there any photo's? Particularly of anyone who bears a pssing resemblance to either CC or CH from a distance and in bad light? That would help.
I was asking what their source was. I wasn't blaming anyone for anything. Was just wondering how they new this as they seemed quite sure of it. :confused:
25-06-2011, 04:50 PM
I was asking what their source was. I wasn't blaming anyone for anything. Was just wondering how they new this as they seemed quite sure of it. :confused:
Fair enough.
Same bambino that said there was a press conference last week?
Same Bambino that is the fud formerly known as RubyHibee / Ivan Drago / Rocky Balboa on JKB :agree:
25-06-2011, 05:37 PM
So the ones he brought in in January don't count?
Quite obviously we've stopped looking for players once it became clear he's decided to leave.
HibsMax
25-06-2011, 05:53 PM
You're absolutely right. Some of the reasoning behind our manager criticisms (not just Calderwood) is ridiculous. Demeanour, way of talking, dress sense and more - we've had it all.
and Belichick dresses like a bum as well. :)
25-06-2011, 05:53 PM
He's been wanting to leave for some time. We should just hope we find out why when he does.
Source please :greengrin
HibsMax
25-06-2011, 05:56 PM
"If someone offers you two bags of sweets you look in both before you choose" - CC
Hibs/Forest/Brum ......perm two from three
i.e. one of them doesn't seem to be in CC's equation.
:hmmm:I wonder which one?
I noticed that too! I guess saying, "If you have a bag of sweets and you get offered two more, you need to look in both before deciding if they are better than what you already have." would be asking for too much.
25-06-2011, 06:03 PM
I noticed that too! I guess saying, "If you have a bag of sweets and you get offered two more, you need to look in both before deciding if they are better than what you already have." would be asking for too much.
I don't know though, he has a point. If someone put a Fry's Turkish Delight and a Bounty in front of me now, I'd be torn..........:greengrin
Calderwood is away, no doubt about it. He has had the last week and a press conference in the glare of the Scottish media to both rubbish the reports and/or nail his colours to the mast..........he has done neither. That for me says it all. Onwards and upwards though and the quest for a new man begins.......
Oh.......the Turkish Delight by the way if anyone is interested :greengrin
yekimevol
25-06-2011, 06:04 PM
"If you have a bag of sweets and you get offered two more, you need to look in both before deciding if they are better than what you already have."
one bag - top man at hibs.
the others side kick at championship clubs.
i think he will chose to be top man at hibs, then after a successful period go and be his own top man at a championship club !
HibsMax
25-06-2011, 06:06 PM
i think he will chose to be top man at hibs, then after a successful period go and be his own top man at a championship club !
That would be what I want him to do (prior to the most recent comments), but he has a lot of work to do to prove his commitment to the fans. He may have burned his bridges with his silly comments. If he takes that back, apologies AND wins the Scottish Cup, he might be accepted back into the fold.
25-06-2011, 06:06 PM
I think we should remove the choice from his hands and punt him onto the highest bidder.
And I've been an avid fan of his until I saw his press conference yesterday.
25-06-2011, 06:14 PM
I think we should remove the choice from his hands and punt him onto the highest bidder.
Although I've a feeling that CC could be trying to force the issue with Hibs if he envisaged that there could be any problems regarding the payment of compensation.
However I'm equally sure that RP will wise up to that one.
25-06-2011, 06:16 PM
Although I've a feeling that CC could be trying to force the issue with Hibs if he envisaged that there could be any problems regarding the payment of compensation.
Nothing gets past the 'tache. Nothing.
Quite obviously we've stopped looking for players once it became clear he's decided to leave.
Or evidently CC has decided to leave when the club put the halts on more new players in the short-term.
(Neither scenario is 'obvious'. Each one is possible.)
25-06-2011, 06:30 PM
I really hope this draws to a conclusion soon.
25-06-2011, 07:30 PM
Same Bambino that is the fud formerly known as RubyHibee / Ivan Drago / Rocky Balboa on JKB :agree:
He was before my time, so is he a Hibee or a yam:confused:
Fc united fan and a clown.
25-06-2011, 08:04 PM
I have to say that I was terribly disappointed with the way CC behaved in the BBC interview! :agree:
Patently obvious that he is very keen to take up one of the jobs being offered to him. The problem for Hibs is who takes over the helm as Manager now and gets supported by the Board to produce a team that is capable of finishing in the top 6 and decent Cup runs.......or is that too much to expect now?! :confused:
25-06-2011, 08:19 PM
Strachan for me without a doubt.
25-06-2011, 09:28 PM
hard hat on ... I'd go back for Mixu!
25-06-2011, 09:35 PM
And me :agree:
25-06-2011, 10:34 PM
I don't know though, he has a point. If someone put a Fry's Turkish Delight and a Bounty in front of me now, I'd be torn..........:greengrin
Calderwood is away, no doubt about it. He has had the last week and a press conference in the glare of the Scottish media to both rubbish the reports and/or nail his colours to the mast..........he has done neither. That for me says it all. Onwards and upwards though and the quest for a new man begins.......
Oh.......the Turkish Delight by the way if anyone is interested :greengrin
Correct choice. :thumbsup:
25-06-2011, 10:37 PM
I would rather have Yogi back. :thumbsup:
25-06-2011, 10:59 PM
http://www.new-606.co.uk/showthread.php?tid=6480
Is this guy talking pish or could it be true? :dunno:
25-06-2011, 11:01 PM
I hope he stays .. Cannot see it though.
HibeeSince85
25-06-2011, 11:07 PM
No idea, I work for Vodafone though, so I want to know.
25-06-2011, 11:38 PM
IMO, http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ow0a06gsiF4
25-06-2011, 11:44 PM
Is Vodafone the new Greggs?
26-06-2011, 07:49 AM
I'm plumping for pish.
STF is on Tesco Mobile PAYG.
26-06-2011, 07:54 AM
That 606 message is just about the most unlikely thing I've ever read.
26-06-2011, 09:03 AM
I find it bemusing, Rod texting STF to say that CC is staying......
26-06-2011, 09:14 AM
I find it bemusing, Rod texting STF to say that CC is staying......
STF probably dosent know who Colin Calderwood is :greengrin
26-06-2011, 09:58 AM
Surely the poster has left out the 'lol' and 'pmsl' from Rod's text..........if they were included then I might just have believed it :faf:
26-06-2011, 01:17 PM
And me :agree:
and me :agree:
moredun
26-06-2011, 02:32 PM
Fc united fan and a clown.
I have been on here for a couple of months, Bambino on the bounce is most certainly a Hibby, and there are more clowns and fuds on here that i could mention
HNA12
26-06-2011, 02:37 PM
I have been on here for a couple of months, Bambino on the bounce is most certainly a Hibby, and there are more clowns and fuds on here that i could mention
No need is there? Can we let that be the last word on this one. Any more will just result in posts being deleted.
moredun
26-06-2011, 02:51 PM
No need is there? Can we let that be the last word on this one. Any more will just result in posts being deleted.
I didn't see any post saying it was wrong when the 2 original posts were posted up, so i thought there was a need!!!
Or is it dependant on who posts?????????
Add to the fact i never named anyone
Can you explain why you didn't pull up the original posters then?
HNA12
26-06-2011, 02:54 PM
I didn't see any post saying it was wrong when the 2 original posts were posted up, so i thought there was a need, or is it dependant on who posts?????????
Add to the fact i never named anyone
I am asking EVERYBODY to drop it. We can't see everything posted on here, you could have helped us out by using the report post function instead of adding more insults couldn't you?
moredun
26-06-2011, 02:56 PM
I am asking EVERYBODY to drop it. We can't see everything posted on here, you could have helped us out by using the report post function instead of adding more insults couldn't you?
Maybe so, but that's not me, i would rather debate the fact, but i see your point though
:fishin:.........:a bite:.........:whistle:
moredun
26-06-2011, 04:38 PM
:feed:
:fishin:.........:a bite:.........:whistle:
capitals_finest
26-06-2011, 05:15 PM
Just watched the bbc interview and almost fell asleep.
I will be delighted if he leaves.
As for a replacement:
Butcher- he might get results but he is a total twat IMO. I don't like the man so wouldn't want to see him manage our club.
Strachan- disliked him at celtic, clearly has poor people skills, not had much success as a manager but would support him if he joined us.
JC- never wanted him to go, like his attitude, would have enjoyed playing football under him myself as i reckon he can get the best out of players if they really want it. Was unlucky with the last set of players. Think he is well worth a second shot if he wanted to come back.
26-06-2011, 05:23 PM
If thats his tactic against Rod, it will make the Birdman of Alcatraz's stay look like a weekend break. :wink:
Renfrew_Hibby
26-06-2011, 05:36 PM
As for a replacement:
Butcher- he might get results but he is a total twat IMO. I don't like the man so wouldn't want to see him manage our club.
Strachan- disliked him at celtic, clearly has poor people skills, not had much success as a manager but would support him if he joined us.
JC- never wanted him to go, like his attitude, would have enjoyed playing football under him myself as i reckon he can get the best out of players if they really want it. Was unlucky with the last set of players. Think he is well worth a second shot if he wanted to come back.
Did Strachan not have the best record at Celtic since Jock Stein? First to do 3 in a row for example.
Would have him in a heartbeat. Players, board members, press, fans and the opposition would give him total respect and raise the expectations, moral and exposure straight away.
26-06-2011, 06:07 PM
As for a replacement:
Agree titally !!
But no need to worry he will surely be at "Hunbrox" when Mcoist , inevitably, gets the chop !!
Remember who won the league for Rankers - BUTCHER :greengrin
27-06-2011, 08:21 AM
Birmingham have made an offical approach to Hibs according to the BBC this morning.
27-06-2011, 08:24 AM
Birmingham have made an offical approach to Hibs according to the BBC this morning.
Thank ****, go get the sweeties you prefer in england clueless, and let us get on with making our sweeties bigger and better and more tastier.
27-06-2011, 08:53 AM
If he does go, Calderwood's reign in the ER hot seat (if remembered at all in years to come) may not have been the shortest but certainly is one of the most unremarkable, uninspired periods in our history, IMHO.
His lack of enthusiasm in the interviews I've seen, is matched only by his apparent inability to make, what will be, his last decision as boss.
Not impressed by his handling of this situation at all.:no way:
27-06-2011, 09:16 AM
If he does leave, who is the odd's in replacement?
Personally i would love to see either Strachan or John Collins at ER.
Strachan is a character, but is an excellent manager at the same time. He is (or at least was in his youth) a Hibs fan, so would inject a bit of fight and pride. Lastly he has a squad of players that are a good mix of youth and experience, something that previous Hibs managers have not had, mostly it has been a mixture of dross and the occassional gem in amongst them.
I can honestly say that for the first time I won't be bothered about a Hibs manager leaving. CC has to have been the most un-inspiring, passionaless manager at ER in my lifetime! Everything from his interviews to his attitude on the touchline smacks of not caring, or looks as though he doesn't.
If he does go, Calderwood's reign in the ER hot seat (if remembered at all in years to come) may not have been the shortest but certainly is one of the most unremarkable, uninspired periods in our history, IMHO.
His lack of enthusiasm in the interviews I've seen, is matched only by his apparent inability to make, what will be, his last decision as boss.
Not impressed by his handling of this situation at all.:no way:
Not bothered if he goes but he did save us from relegation. Job done.
27-06-2011, 09:25 AM
He was appointed in October. Surely his aim wasn't just to keep us in the league. I would like to think we wanted a bit more out of the season than that.
27-06-2011, 09:28 AM
Bearing in mind cc said last week that be speaks to hughton nearly every day I can't imagine Birmingham will be asking for permission to speak with him unless he has indicated he is keen to go.
27-06-2011, 09:28 AM
:faf: aye well done clueless, we should be ssssooooooooo grateful you saved us from relegation. :not worth:not worth
27-06-2011, 09:34 AM
:faf: aye well done clueless, we should be ssssooooooooo grateful you saved us from relegation. :not worth:not worth
Would you have preferred watching Division 1 football this season with Yogi?
I don't expect you, in particular, to be grateful and never mentioned gratitude - so whatever axe it is you are grinding is making you read things that aren't there.
As I said I don't care if he goes but I for one would thank him for keeping us up.
Would you rather Yogi stayed and we were looking forward to another "Great Adventure"?
TamHibs
27-06-2011, 09:35 AM
Are you sure? Only reason I'm asking is because there isnt anything on the BBC website (yet anyway)
27-06-2011, 09:52 AM
Hi,
Thanks for your email, Hibernian Football Club will only comment on matters which have been confirmed on the official site. Please disregard any comments made on message boards or news agencies as the club will inform us, the supporters, as and when we have any comment to make.
The Board strive to make Kilmarnock, sorry Hibernian!, Football Club the most competative that it can.
Regards,
The Board (Fife Division)
27-06-2011, 10:01 AM
We are a club deep in crisis.
sadly most people are too busy behaving like those morons who chase police vans outside courts to notice.
27-06-2011, 10:03 AM
Hi,
Thanks for your email, Hibernian Football Club will only comment on matters which have been confirmed on the official site. Please disregard any comments made on message boards or news agencies as the club will inform us, the supporters, as and when we have any comment to make.
The Board strive to make Kilmarnock, sorry Hibernian!, Football Club the most competative that it can.
Regards,
The Board (Fife Division)
You forgot that messageboards are ill-informed :greengrin
mixuok
27-06-2011, 10:23 AM
just heard from a good source if c c goes john mcglynn coming in pick the bones out of that one :na na:
27-06-2011, 10:28 AM
just heard from a good source if c c goes john mcglynn coming in pick the bones out of that one :na na:
is it just me or is there more sources at easter road than players....................................and none of them come out with the same story:rolleyes:
27-06-2011, 10:28 AM
Aw ****, another one.
banarc7062
27-06-2011, 10:31 AM
It's the close season.....forget it
27-06-2011, 10:53 AM
Would you have preferred watching Division 1 football this season with Yogi?
:faf::faf: He'd have safely made the top 6 given the chance.
27-06-2011, 10:58 AM
We are a club deep in crisis.
sadly most people are too busy behaving like those morons who chase police vans outside courts to notice.
Deep in crisis is a bit strong. A club seemingly not in particularly competent hands is how I see it. I think Petrie et al are competent enough on the business side of things and keeping things going, but on the footballing side, forget about it.
I agree with the last bit: pitchforks and flaming torches all round, there's nothing worse than reading people outdoing each other in their outrage.
Yes it is joke, :faf::faf: , you are joking right?
Look at Yogi's record for 2010. Look at his record in the transfer market.
What from that, if you're not joking, gives you any credence to claim that he would have kept us up?
I take it you are joking though.
27-06-2011, 11:02 AM
Well Monday midday has come and gone and still no change :rolleyes:
27-06-2011, 11:05 AM
Really? Based on what? Our form in his last seven months would have guaranteed us relegation and it wasn't like he had shown that he knew how to fix it. Unless de Graaf, Hart, Trakys and Duffy were going to suddenly become superb and carry us to glory.
27-06-2011, 11:16 AM
Time to cut this tiresome perennial number 2 loose and get a real boss in who is up to the job. His failure to make the top six was unacceptable to me and he should have gone the way of Hughes at the end of the season.
27-06-2011, 11:21 AM
Time to cut this tiresome perennial number 2 loose and get a real boss in who is up to the job. His failure to make the top six was unacceptable to me and he should have gone the way of Hughes at the end of the season.
Hughes should never have got to last summer .. that was a mistake by the Board.
27-06-2011, 11:25 AM
According too bbc hibs and birmingham are in talks so.think its time to say bye to cc.
27-06-2011, 11:39 AM
Agreed. The writing was on the wall for Hughes last summer. 10ft high writing at that.
27-06-2011, 11:43 AM
According too bbc hibs and birmingham are in talks so.think its time to say bye to cc.
on the news? nowt on the website?
27-06-2011, 11:54 AM
Out of interest, does anyone know who took training today?
27-06-2011, 11:54 AM
Out of interest, does anyone know who took training today?
Hoping to find out after training :wink:
27-06-2011, 11:57 AM
I don't expect you, in particular, to be grateful and never mentioned gratitude - so whatever axe it is you are grinding is making you read things that aren't there.
As I said I don't care if he goes but I for one would thank him for keeping us up.
Would you rather Yogi stayed and we were looking forward to another "Great Adventure"?
If his target was to keep us in the league when he took over in October then the board should be walking too.
27-06-2011, 12:02 PM
If his target was to keep us in the league when he took over in October then the board should be walking too.
I don't care how ***** we were when he took over, nothing but top 6 was acceptable after he took over. :agree:
27-06-2011, 12:04 PM
If he does go, CC will be nothing more than a footnote in the history of Hibs.
(and not a very impressive one at that...)
27-06-2011, 12:13 PM
On that basis CC should be sacked.
By the summer Hibs had 7 months of great results and 3 months of poor results.
CC has had 6 bad months and 1 good.
I fail to see how people so far against Hughes can defend the record of CC so much.
27-06-2011, 12:16 PM
I fail to see how people so far against Hughes can defend the record of CC so much.
Because everyone could see the team left by Hughes was a bag o *****.
Rod is not blameless for that situation either of course.
27-06-2011, 12:25 PM
It's not rocket science as sahib has pointed out.
I'm no great fan of either BTW.
27-06-2011, 12:30 PM
Hoping to find out after training :wink:
Turns out it was someone with the initial WGS on his tracksuit. :confused:
Don Giovanni
27-06-2011, 12:34 PM
Who's defending CC? I can't remember the last time anyone posted defending him.
Nevermind one month of good results he has managed to muster one good performance in his time (Rangers away) and that's it. I was prepared to see how the season started and whether progress had been made but very few wil be sad to see the back of him.
My only concern is that his departure does leave us in a bit of a shambles in terms of preparation for the new season.
Think it's about time you got over the fact Yogi was moved on for not being very good.
27-06-2011, 12:37 PM
If he does leave, who is the odd's in replacement?
Personally i would love to see either Strachan or John Collins at ER.
Strachan is a character, but is an excellent manager at the same time. He is (or at least was in his youth) a Hibs fan, so would inject a bit of fight and pride. Lastly he has a squad of players that are a good mix of youth and experience, something that previous Hibs managers have not had, mostly it has been a mixture of dross and the occassional gem in amongst them.
I can honestly say that for the first time I won't be bothered about a Hibs manager leaving. CC has to have been the most un-inspiring, passionaless manager at ER in my lifetime! Everything from his interviews to his attitude on the touchline smacks of not caring, or looks as though he doesn't.
A bit like Yogi you mean.
Strachan would want money to spend on players, something that Hibs dont have a lot of if any, he likes big squads, he would want the run of the club with no interferences from the board, will RP allow that, he is not big on giving youth a chance, something he complained a lot about at celtc was that he had to have under 21s on the bench denying him his strongest subs that he could choose from his squad.
Yes he had good times at celtc, but by the end of his time there the celtc fans wanted him out the door because of the quality of football he was putting out on the park, then the disaster at Boro, he spent once again a fortune on players and a huge squad and Boro were only heading one way. Down.
No thanks for me regarding Strachan.
Maybe Hibs should look abroad for our next manager, the ex player or someone with a Hibs connection hasn't really been a sucsess in the past. :aok:
27-06-2011, 12:41 PM
Are you sure? Only reason I'm asking is because there isnt anything on the BBC website (yet anyway)
Todays Record says that Birmingham have had talks with Hibs regarding CC. :aok:
27-06-2011, 12:45 PM
Think it's about time you got over the fact Yogi was moved on for not being very good.
Perhaps behind it, is someone being loyal to a friend, I don't know?
That aside, I think both CC and Yogi's records leave a lot to be desired. My concern is when the revolving door is going to stop and we're actually going to get someone in who will genuinely make a difference.
Reading between the lines of the speculation from people who it seems, over the course of several years on here, know some of what is going, I am a bit concerned that the issue is that the manager's job at Hibs is not much more than a glorified first team coach and that the board, specifically Petrie, are far more hands on in footballing matters that is perhaps desirable or is within their competency.
I don't know - not using this as a "kick the board" post, but it seems clear to me that their hiring policy is not particularly successful and I really do not have much confidence that their next appointment will work out any the better.
27-06-2011, 12:52 PM
Agreed. The writing was on the wall for Hughes last summer. 10ft high writing at that.
I keep saying it, Yogi should have been shown the door after the Motherwell game.
And now poor unemployed Yogi is all bitter about losing his job at Hibs, didums, he should have never got the job in the first place, and the blame for that falls squarely at Mr Petrie's front door, this man should have no say in picking our next manager, but he will and there is nothing wee can do about it, that is the problem.
27-06-2011, 12:54 PM
I keep saying it, Yogi should have been shown the door after the Motherwell game.
And now poor unemployed Yogi is all bitter about losing his job at Hibs, didums, he should have never got the job in the first place, and the blame for that falls squarely at Mr Petrie's front door, this man should have no say in picking our next manager, but he will and there is nothing wee can do about it, that is the problem.
A very telling fact in itself. Football people know what's going on... :wink:
27-06-2011, 12:56 PM
With pleasure. Bye Lexo, I mean Blobby...sorry, I mean Colin. Ta for the best 3-0 at Hunbrox since the, ehm, last one and for all the other exciting moments you provided...which are too numerous to go into here.
27-06-2011, 12:56 PM
There is something that can be done about it.
27-06-2011, 12:57 PM
Who's defending CC? I can't remember the last time anyone posted defending him.
Nevermind one month of good results he has managed to muster one good performance in his time (Rangers away) and that's it. I was prepared to see how the season started and whether progress had been made but very few wil be sad to see the back of him.
My only concern is that his departure does leave us in a bit of a shambles in terms of preparation for the new season.
I hope the next manager fails as spectacularly as Hughes did, i want more of that european failure please.
27-06-2011, 12:58 PM
Hughes has how much longer than CC? Signed how many more players than CC?
I fail to see how people so far against CC can defend Hughes :wink:
27-06-2011, 01:01 PM
Todays Record says that Birmingham have had talks with Hibs regarding CC. :aok:
earlier poster said it was on the bbc i dont know if its on the radio but its defo not on the website
27-06-2011, 01:01 PM
Because everyone could see the team left by Hughes was a bag o *****.
Rod is not blameless for that situation either of course.