View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2025

Pages : 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

Thatdayinmay16
01-05-2025, 12:14 PM
Playing for a side currently 10th in Belgian 2nd division and aged 28 doesn’t strike me as the type of signing we should be looking at

I get what you mean but, Jack Iredale signed from Bolton, Cadden's last club was Barnsley and Bowie albeit it at Fulham, was playing for Northampton every week.

I don't necessarily think its the clubs you should be looking at but the individual instead.

EGL2000
01-05-2025, 12:26 PM
I get what you mean but, Jack Iredale signed from Bolton, Cadden's last club was Barnsley and Bowie albeit it at Fulham, was playing for Northampton every week.

I don't necessarily think its the clubs you should be looking at but the individual instead.

You would probably want them to be standing out in that league though. Only 6 goals and 1 assist for an attacking player isn't great.

Thatdayinmay16
01-05-2025, 12:35 PM
You would probably want them to be standing out in that league though. Only 6 goals and 1 assist for an attacking player isn't great.

Yeah I understand that, sometimes players just don't suit certain leagues/ways of playing.

Not sure If RCC would suit playing in a 3-4-1-2, but I'd love to be proven wrong and trust Mackay & Stewart etc to get it right.

Billy Bunter 07
01-05-2025, 01:24 PM

Shankland was pish in Belgium then came back and scored 30 goals a season. Would take that every day of the week.

HFC93
01-05-2025, 01:29 PM
Turnbull from Cardiff would be decent

I completely forgot David Turnbull existed. He was the next big thing a few years ago.

EGL2000
01-05-2025, 01:51 PM
Shankland was pish in Belgium then came back and scored 30 goals a season. Would take that every day of the week.

Shankland was playing in the top league though. There is a huge drop off in quality when comparing the 1st and second vision in Belgium. Half the teams in the second aren't even professional.

01-05-2025, 02:40 PM
Shankland was playing in the top league though. There is a huge drop off in quality when comparing the 1st and second vision in Belgium. Half the teams in the second aren't even professional.

So was Charles-Cook, he's played two full seasons in the top flight compared to Shankland's one (he was relegated that season) and their record each season isn't far off each other. It's only this season that he's been in the second tier after relegation last season.

Donegal Hibby
01-05-2025, 03:56 PM
Bobby Wales according to the sun will be joining Swansea City for a fee of €350,000 . That’s the club Myko is with, isn’t it ? .

hibby rae
01-05-2025, 04:55 PM

Scored as many goals as Rocky this season

01-05-2025, 06:00 PM
The profit made on Melkerson makes him anything but an epic fail.

I was waiting for this response

In that case hibs should just create an eBay account and buy and sell for more money making ways.

In all seriousness, from a football player side he was epic fail.

01-05-2025, 06:12 PM
I'm sure SDG is aware of him, Charles-Cook is probably a malky suggestion, done well in his last season at County.

01-05-2025, 06:39 PM
I was waiting for this response

In that case hibs should just create an eBay account and buy and sell for more money making ways.

In all seriousness, from a football player side he was epic fail.

The Melkersen profit was vastly overstated by Kensell, who played a bigger than usual part in setting up the deal for the Norwegian pair, who failed to make any real impact.
Hibs paid "a significant undisclosed fee" for Melkersen and our last player trading figure was a £1m profit. More than 50% of that would be for the Doig sell on to Sassuolo, so nowhere near the £1.2m fee that was lazily reported on Kensell's briefing.
We were told there is a "significant sell on" for Melkersen, so let's hope he has a storming season.

01-05-2025, 06:44 PM
I don't think we made anything near £500 000 for the Doig sell on

01-05-2025, 07:19 PM
I completely forgot David Turnbull existed. He was the next big thing a few years ago.

Future Scotland captain chat.

Thatdayinmay16
02-05-2025, 08:21 AM
The Melkersen profit was vastly overstated by Kensell, who played a bigger than usual part in setting up the deal for the Norwegian pair, who failed to make any real impact.
Hibs paid "a significant undisclosed fee" for Melkersen and our last player trading figure was a £1m profit. More than 50% of that would be for the Doig sell on to Sassuolo, so nowhere near the £1.2m fee that was lazily reported on Kensell's briefing.
We were told there is a "significant sell on" for Melkersen, so let's hope he has a storming season.

Kensell overstating something? Wouldn't be like the guy. :confused:

02-05-2025, 08:28 AM

Player trading includes any fees paid out which would include any loan fees for Marcondes and Maolida and transfer fees for Vente, Youan and Levitt.

02-05-2025, 08:31 AM

To be fair while I don't have all the facts, figures and quotes in front of me to hand I do wonder if the '7 figure fee' element of it still has to take away things like sell on fees, agent fees, perhaps some of it is tied up in future clauses instead of it all coming up in one go, the same goes for the Doig fee.

EGL2000
02-05-2025, 08:54 AM
I see jay idzes who were were linked with a season or so ago in now being linked with AC Milan !!!

02-05-2025, 10:29 AM
I see jay idzes who were were linked with a season or so ago in now being linked with AC Milan !!!

We signed Harbottle instead.

02-05-2025, 11:05 AM

I wonder if it was crossed wires then, cos Riley Harbottle's middle name according to Wiki is Jay. Were we even after Jay Idzes? :greengrin

Billy Bunter 07
02-05-2025, 11:52 AM
Bobby Wales according to the sun will be joining Swansea City for a fee of €350,000 . That’s the club Myko is with, isn’t it ? .

Wales playing for Swansea is pretty poetic.

02-05-2025, 01:10 PM
I wonder if there's logic in trying to sign Myko permanently?

Given his lack of goals hopefully that's putting other clubs off and Swansea may want rid at a cut price deal?

Certainly more than played his part in our journey to 3rd

02-05-2025, 01:35 PM

Given his lack of goals hopefully that's putting other clubs off and Swansea may want rid at a cut price deal?

I've been a defender of Myko when starting but I'm not sold on the idea of him staying beyond this season, especially if it costs us a fair chunk of our budget.

Trinity Hibee
02-05-2025, 01:43 PM
Turnbull from Cardiff would be decent

If we got 3rd, having someone like him for Europe would be brilliant. Feel he’s out of reach but you never know

02-05-2025, 02:18 PM

I would've said yes if it was on a free and if he can bang a few goals in between now and the end of the season. A striker that doesn't score enough goals and for me I think while he works hard it's the lack of goals that puts me off.

02-05-2025, 02:27 PM
I would've said yes if it was on a free and if he can bang a few goals in between now and the end of the season. A striker that doesn't score enough goals and for me I think while he works hard it's the lack of goals that puts me off.

I'd be concerned if the team was struggling for goals but we're not.

He's contributing to helping get us up the park, to winning set pieces etc that others score from and he's doing a decent job of it.

Of course I'd like to see him scoring more but I'm not unhappy with his overall contribution towards a team that is doing well.

Would be a very different story if he was still playing the middle of a front 3 / as an isolated lone front man and there was a shortage of goals coming from elsewhere, as per the first quarter of the season.

02-05-2025, 02:32 PM

A Myko type of striker, but who also actually scores goals, yes. Myko, hopefully not.

yerauldda
02-05-2025, 02:57 PM
I would take him, 100%.
He's been patchy this year but is a real threat and physical presence. Hope he stays.

02-05-2025, 03:09 PM
Campbell from Luton never really hit it off at United good player worth a look ?

Can't see a return on investment where Myko is concerned.

If we got 3rd, having someone like him for Europe would be brilliant. Feel he’s out of reach but you never know

Be quality 👌

02-05-2025, 03:15 PM
Can't see a return on investment where Myko is concerned.

I'd say that depends entirely on the investment.

If his present parent club are looking to do anything other than cut their losses I'd be surprised.

02-05-2025, 03:19 PM
Campbell from Luton never really hit it off at United good player worth a look ?

He's been dug meat for United and every other club he's played at for the last 2 years. Probably end up back at Motherwell in the summer on sentimentality and stay there.

02-05-2025, 03:24 PM
I'd be concerned if the team was struggling for goals but we're not.

He's contributing to helping get us up the park, to winning set pieces etc that others score from and he's doing a decent job of it.

Of course I'd like to see him scoring more but I'm not unhappy with his overall contribution towards a team that is doing well.

Would be a very different story if he was still playing the middle of a front 3 / as an isolated lone front man and there was a shortage of goals coming from elsewhere, as per the first quarter of the season.

I'm not unhappy, I felt earlier in the season he was really poor. He was bullied, didn't work hard enough and wasn't scoring.

Now hes working hard - or harder - and isn't being bullied, but still isn't scoring goals.

You could flip the point that Bowie comes on and bags goals - either that it's fresh legs playing against players who Myko has been tiring for 60 odd minutes, or argue it the other way and say Bowie is just better with his finishing. I suspect it's a bit of both, as Bowie has been poor when starting.

If he were to come here on a perm I would not want to see us paying a fee and believe we can sign better.

02-05-2025, 03:30 PM
Myko hasn’t done enough for me.

I was someone that wanted him back too, his first spell I thought he could ragdoll defenders, was a handful and decent finished.

This season he’s been the opposite for the majority. Maybe it’s just down to confidence. But he doesn’t look like he’s ever going to get in a position to have a shot to score, let alone actually score.

I think the money it would cost to sign him and the likely wage he’d want, we could get far better elsewhere

02-05-2025, 06:21 PM
I'm not unhappy, I felt earlier in the season he was really poor. He was bullied, didn't work hard enough and wasn't scoring.

Now hes working hard - or harder - and isn't being bullied, but still isn't scoring goals.

You could flip the point that Bowie comes on and bags goals - either that it's fresh legs playing against players who Myko has been tiring for 60 odd minutes, or argue it the other way and say Bowie is just better with his finishing. I suspect it's a bit of both, as Bowie has been poor when starting.

If he were to come here on a perm I would not want to see us paying a fee and believe we can sign better.

Wouldn’t disagree with your last paragraph there tbh. I also think we could sign worse though.

Big few weeks for him - a few notable performances could see him tip a few people’s opinions whilst the opposite may happen off the back of some poor performances.

Interesting that Gray has largely stuck with him - interesting also that he did not last week.

02-05-2025, 06:24 PM

Harbottle is just not a name that will ever be attached to a top quality footballer. You may as well be called Hector Bracegirdle or something.

ruthven_raiders
02-05-2025, 06:27 PM
I would take him, 100%.
He's been patchy this year but is a real threat and physical presence. Hope he stays.

I would take him if Cardiff were letting him go cheaply, he's been unlucky on occasions but has led the attack well. Not a coincidence that we got beat when he didn't start last Saturday..

02-05-2025, 06:38 PM
Harbottle is just not a name that will ever be attached to a top quality footballer. You may as well be called Hector Bracegirdle or something.

Humphrey Rudge

FastEddieFelson
02-05-2025, 07:07 PM
Humphrey Rudge

Legend

02-05-2025, 07:32 PM
Humphrey Rudge

:faf: Fair.

02-05-2025, 10:01 PM
Got a little bored waiting on rumours or transfer news so thought I'd ask for ChatGPT to suggest some. It gave me the following

Ed Turns a CB from Brighton
Jason Kerr CB
Giovanni Hagg DM from Rodez FC
Owen Oseni a forward from St Mirren

I'm not sure that ChatGPT is ready for this as at least 2 of these players have signed for a new club.

Donegal Hibby
03-05-2025, 12:15 AM

His first loan spell I thought he looked a quality player before getting injured and then there were concerns he was injury prone.

This time the concerns are his lack of goals scored which is understandable but maybe that could be down to confidence or what’s happening in his life ..

I do think there’s a player there and in recent games he has done well ….

I wouldn’t be against the idea of signing him but I’d imagine he’s on decent money at Swansea and maybe another loan would be a better possibility?

03-05-2025, 12:44 AM
Got a little bored waiting on rumours or transfer news so thought I'd ask for ChatGPT to suggest some. It gave me the following

Ed Turns a CB from Brighton
Jason Kerr CB
Giovanni Hagg DM from Rodez FC
Owen Oseni a forward from St Mirren

I'm not sure that ChatGPT is ready for this 😅
Can we sign Emma Stone? Then we'd see Ed Turns....

03-05-2025, 10:02 AM
His first loan spell I thought he looked a quality player before getting injured and then there were concerns he was injury prone.

This time the concerns are his lack of goals scored which is understandable but maybe that could be down to confidence or what’s happening in his life ..

I do think there’s a player there and in recent games he has done well ….

I wouldn’t be against the idea of signing him but I’d imagine he’s on decent money at Swansea and maybe another loan would be a better possibility?

If Gray looks at him and thinks he can get him properly kicking on again, then I’d back him. A young guy, away from home, recently split from his Miss Ukraine bird, feeling disappointed his English move hasn’t worked out and likely very worried about his family at home.

If we can get the club feeling like home to him, then I think he’ll really benefit.

03-05-2025, 10:17 AM
If Gray looks at him and thinks he can get him properly kicking on again, then I’d back him. A young guy, away from home, recently split from his Miss Ukraine bird, feeling disappointed his English move hasn’t worked out and likely very worried about his family at home.

If we can get the club feeling like home to him, then I think he’ll really benefit.

Has he split up with her? No wonder he’s on a downer, I’d be inconsolable for years.

03-05-2025, 11:40 AM
Has he split up with her? No wonder he’s on a downer, I’d be inconsolable for years.

Yeah there’s no coming back from that if true, she was incredible

03-05-2025, 06:04 PM

Easy to say after one of his best performances for us, but it's definitely something I'd be exploring. As I say hopefully Swansea and others are purely looking at his goals return but he has a lot to offer

Finances dictate of course. Not sure what he's on right enough

I'd be keen to keep all (except Bursik) players that are scheduled to leave in the summer

03-05-2025, 06:23 PM
Easy to say after one of his best performances for us, but it's definitely something I'd be exploring. As I say hopefully Swansea and others are purely looking at his goals return but he has a lot to offer

Finances dictate of course. Not sure what he's on right enough

I'd be keen to keep all (except Bursik) players that are scheduled to leave in the summer

Was honestly bricking it when Smith stayed down injured early second half.

Dmas
03-05-2025, 06:40 PM
Was honestly bricking it when Smith stayed down injured early second half.

That was a cracking save, down early and brave as, my boy was saying he was out cold I looked to the bench and bursik was warming up cold sweat was forming

03-05-2025, 09:36 PM
Would Ronan Hale be someone we’d look at? Especially if Ross County go down?

10 goals in 33 league games for the team in 11th

Seems to have a good record everywhere he’s been. He’s 26 and turns 27 later this year.

Seems to buzz around constantly and be able to finish a chance if he gets one. Great finish today against Hearts

Seems to have a good record everywhere he’s been. He’s 26 and turns 27 later this year.

Seems to buzz around constantly and be able to finish a chance if he gets one. Great finish today against Hearts

Said the same to the group I go with today. Think it could be a smart transfer.

EGL2000

I think he's a cracking player, doesn't even start every week either so the 10 goals is even more impressive

Cabbage-Patch
03-05-2025, 09:44 PM
Not in the know but heard from a couple of people in hospitality today we are looking at getting Ralston and Forrest on loan during the summer

03-05-2025, 09:46 PM
Not in the know but heard from a couple of people in hospitality today we are looking at getting Ralston and Forrest on loan during the summer

I'm sure Forrest said he wouldn't play for anyone else other than Celtic when he signed his last deal.

03-05-2025, 09:47 PM

I know plenty disagree but I really don't rate Ralston. We'll also have Chris Cadden, Miller and Megwa for RB

Can't see Forrest leaving Celtic, but would happily have him at Hibs (even though at present we don't play wingers)

Silky
03-05-2025, 09:51 PM
I know plenty disagree but I really don't rate Ralston. We'll also have Chris Cadden, Miller and Megwa for RB

Can't see Forrest leaving Celtic, but would happily have him at Hibs (even though at present we don't play wingers)

I don̈t rate Ralston either. I don't think we're too bad off on that side of the pitch.

1875Sean
04-05-2025, 12:22 AM
Can’t see ralston going, he is happy to be second choice right back by the looks of things and Celtic will need home grown players for there European squad

Hibees1973
04-05-2025, 07:41 AM
Spoke to a couple of guys at the game yesterday who heard a rumour we are trying to bring back Liam Henderson from Empoli.

They are in a relegation battle just now.

EGL2000
04-05-2025, 08:15 AM
Spoke to a couple of guys at the game yesterday who heard a rumour we are trying to bring back Liam Henderson from Empoli.

Out of contract as well. If we are guaranteed Europe till Christmas then you never know !

04-05-2025, 08:26 AM
That was a cracking save, down early and brave as, my boy was saying he was out cold I looked to the bench and bursik was warming up cold sweat was forming

I hope Smith is OK. With a head knock, the club medical staff should be monitoring it for any reaction in the next couple of days. If the concussion protocol comes into play that would be Smith done for the season. Like you, the thought of Bursik back in goal gives me the fear!

04-05-2025, 08:30 AM

We'll never be able to offer the money he gets just now, on circa £20K+, he'll get at least half of that staying in Italy.

Trinity Hibee
04-05-2025, 08:34 AM

Would be amazed but would be some signing. Maybe wants to come back for family reasons? Who knows

04-05-2025, 08:44 AM
I hope Smith is OK. With a head knock, the club medical staff should be monitoring it for any reaction in the next couple of days. If the concussion protocol comes into play that would be Smith done for the season. Like you, the thought of Bursik back in goal gives me the fear!

It surprised me slightly his teammates didnt seem to be checking on him in the moments afterwards, although they had their own games to concentrate on in the aftermath of the goal. He wasnt moving much and was down on his haunches for awhile. Hopefully nothing serious.

04-05-2025, 08:55 AM

They are in a relegation battle just now.Probably comes from the "we are trying to bring an ex player back" rumour

Nisbet, porteous are the 2 that immediately spring to mind

I'd take Henderson in a second though - in saying that I haven't seen him play for years - assume he's not regressed any of he's still playing in seria a

Not many goals or assists though

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

EGL2000
04-05-2025, 08:57 AM
Probably comes from the "we are trying to bring an ex player back" rumour

Nisbet, porteous are the 2 that immediately spring to mind

I'd take Henderson in a second though

Henderson is one of those ones where he is probably still realistically out of our budget, but if you want to take the next step up in quality you probably need to be looking at players like him.

Hibees1973
04-05-2025, 10:58 AM
Henderson is one of those ones where he is probably still realistically out of our budget, but if you want to take the next step up in quality you probably need to be looking at players like him.

Exactly.

The Yam have had millions from charitable donations and from European football. But failed to move on to the next level cos they continued to shop in the same market as us. Dhanda, Spittal, etc. This is why they have not progressed, they have actually regressed.

I think it's very difficult for the likes of us, the Yam and Aberdeen to nail down third in the league for multiple years. Us as well as the others have spouted soundbites with this vision, but it's unlikely to happen.

However, the only way it could happen is to pay wages in excess of £10k a week to get the calibre of player needed, such as Henderson. It will also help to have a line of quality players provided by the Black Knights who are levels above the likes of what we already have.

This may help us to cope with domestic and European football in the same season, which the Yam and Aberdeen failed miserably to do.

Not really sure on the financials, but doing this may increase the risk of Hibs getting into financial difficulties.

MagicSwirlingShip
04-05-2025, 11:02 AM
If we can afford Boyles current contract surely we could afford Henderson.

He will be looking to get in the picture for Scotland surely too.

04-05-2025, 11:13 AM
If we can afford Boyles current contract surely we could afford Henderson.

He will be looking to get in the picture for Scotland surely too.

Clarke doesn't look over to Europe for players for the squad, now if they played in EFL league 1, then maybe.

Boyle is on around £7.5K and Henderson £20K+, massive difference, he'll stay in the lower half of Italian top league and get around £15K.

04-05-2025, 11:16 AM
I'm curious about the £20K+ Henderson is on, has this been reported as it seems high to me

04-05-2025, 11:21 AM
I'm curious about the £20K+ Henderson is on, has this been reported as it seems high to me

It's Italy's top league, he won't be on peanuts, players of his calibre can get that in the English Championship.

04-05-2025, 11:31 AM

At the end of the game Smith was the last player to come to the fans. He was bouncing and beating his fist on his chest, whilst giving it huge c'mons.

The guy has been a very good player for us and clearly loves being here, very passionate and looking fine.

He deserves a song from us, a crucial part in our turnaround.

04-05-2025, 11:51 AM

Yeah I’m not sure that’s accurate at all. De Sciglio who they have on loan from Juve and who has 40 caps for Italy isn’t on much more than that. Italian wages outwith the very big clubs are probably on par with the English Championship.

04-05-2025, 12:07 PM
Yeah I’m not sure that’s accurate at all. De Sciglio who they have on loan from Juve and who has 40 caps for Italy isn’t on much more than that. Italian wages outwith the very big clubs are probably on par with the English Championship.

30 grand a week im sure it was reported when he moved as juve are picking up most of his wage

cameronw-hfc
04-05-2025, 12:14 PM

I agree but I don't think he'd give it a second look. I know the family as my younger brother was good pals with Ewan and last I heard he's absolutely loving life in Italy. Not heard anything to do with us or otherwise, just know he's loving his time out there and I doubt he'd be in a rush to get back over here.

04-05-2025, 12:16 PM
At the end of the game Smith was the last player to come to the fans. He was bouncing and beating his fist on his chest, whilst giving it huge c'mons.

The guy has been a very good player for us and clearly loves being here, very passionate and looking fine.

He has a song!

04-05-2025, 12:25 PM
30 grand a week im sure it was reported when he moved as juve are picking up most of his wage

Aye, in Euros not pounds too.

04-05-2025, 01:12 PM
Henderson has jumped about between Serie A and B. 20k seems like a lot for yo-yo teams who he is a squad player for in the top league and starter in second.

LewysGot2
04-05-2025, 01:42 PM

He has?

Super Jordan Smith in goals...to the tune of Rocking all over the world.

04-05-2025, 01:45 PM
He has?

It feels like every keeper in British football whose name scans into that song has it though. He deserves something less generic.

EGL2000
04-05-2025, 04:21 PM
Henderson has jumped about between Serie A and B. 20k seems like a lot for yo-yo teams who he is a squad player for in the top league and starter in second.

He's a starter for Empoli played 33 times this season.

04-05-2025, 04:33 PM
I've got my fingers crossed we try a sneaky bid for Dhanda, if we want to get to the next lever, that's the type of player we need to split the bigots.

04-05-2025, 04:47 PM
I've got my fingers crossed we try a sneaky bid for Dhanda, if we want to get to the next lever, that's the type of player we need to split the bigots.

Likely be way out of our price range, that level of quality comes at a premium

04-05-2025, 05:34 PM
He's a starter for Empoli played 33 times this season.

I didn’t realise he’d featured so prominently this season. Prior to that he seemed to be a substitute for half of his appearances.

MagicSwirlingShip
04-05-2025, 06:40 PM
Clarke doesn't look over to Europe for players for the squad, now if they played in EFL league 1, then maybe.

Boyle is on around £7.5K and Henderson £20K+, massive difference, he'll stay in the lower half of Italian top league and get around £15K.

And if Celtic win the Cup and we get Europa playoff? There’s absolutely no chance you say?

04-05-2025, 06:45 PM
I like Henderson, would love us to have signed him before he went to Italy. I’d be surprised if we went for him now though when we’ll have Newell, Manneh and Levitt all competing for that same role next season.

04-05-2025, 07:16 PM
And if Celtic win the Cup and we get Europa playoff? There’s absolutely no chance you say?

Where did I say no chance? I'm going by his expected now wage and if he loves it in Italy, why he would want to come here, I'd love to se the calibre of Henderson here but I don't see it, still baffles me why Clarke hasn't had him in any of our squads, considering the level he's playing at.

MagicSwirlingShip
04-05-2025, 07:17 PM
Where did I say no chance? I'm going by his expected now wage and if he loves it in Italy, why he would want to come here, I'd love to se the calibre of Henderson here but I don't see it, still baffles me why Clarke hasn't had him in any of our squads, considering the level he's playing at.

Apologies! Would love to see him back, I reckon he’s got a better chance at getting in the Scotland squad playing for us than Empoli

MagicSwirlingShip
04-05-2025, 07:18 PM
I like Henderson, would love us to have signed him before he went to Italy. I’d be surprised if we went for him now though when we’ll have Newell, Manneh and Levitt all competing for that same role next season.

Unless some of the above leave

04-05-2025, 08:52 PM

He’d be a step up on Levitt.

04-05-2025, 09:05 PM
I’m not sure Henderson makes much sense with McGrath coming in, Levitt under contract, Manneh yet to get much of a chance, and Newell returning from injury.

Wouldn’t say no, mind. What a guy.

Just_Jimmy
04-05-2025, 09:18 PM
I’m not sure Henderson makes much sense with McGrath coming in, Levitt under contract, Manneh yet to get much of a chance, and Newell returning from injury.

Wouldn’t say no, mind. What a guy.Hes better than every one of them. That's why it makes sense.

I dont believe it'll happen however. He'll get a club in a better league.

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

04-05-2025, 09:50 PM
Hes better than every one of them. That's why it makes sense.

I dont believe it'll happen however. He'll get a club in a better league.

You’ll have watched lots of Manneh and Empoli in recent years.

Billy Bunter 07
04-05-2025, 10:03 PM

:confused: apart from Mctominay, Gilmour, Adams and Ferguson - all in the same league as Henderson :greengrin

04-05-2025, 10:25 PM
:confused: apart from Mctominay, Gilmour, Adams and Ferguson - all in the same league as Henderson :greengrin

Add Scott McKenna and Max Johnston playing in Europe in recent squads too. Plus Jack Hendry, Stuart Armstrong and Ryan Gauld playing further afield.

05-05-2025, 05:42 AM

Who were all part of the Scotland set up prior to moving.

Just_Jimmy
05-05-2025, 07:09 AM
You’ll have watched lots of Manneh and Empoli in recent years.Manneh will need to be some player to be better than Henderson.

Decent amount of Italian football aye, im not pretending that i watch it every week or that I watch empoli or Henderson exclusively.

None of that matters like, Its fair to say that if Hibs could finance it and make it happen, they'd sign Henderson and he'd start ahead of every midfielder at the club. He'd be a phenomenal signing so thats not taking away anything for the current players.

Its a pointless discussion tbh because he's not coming to Hibs.

EGL2000
05-05-2025, 07:32 AM

Someone who's starting every week in Italy is surely an upgrade on them all. I don't think we can afford to stand still and not look to improve players all over the place.

05-05-2025, 08:06 AM
Crazy to think Henderson is 29 :greengrin

05-05-2025, 08:43 AM
.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250505/4abf9b1e6af5e5903cc9e7a89a08002d.jpg

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

EH21Hibee
05-05-2025, 08:53 AM
.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250505/4abf9b1e6af5e5903cc9e7a89a08002d.jpg

Bought by Legia last summer for €800k and PAOK wanted him in January as well as a team in Romania
5 foot 8 striker scored 5 goals in 10 starts for relegation team in Greece
Looks similar to Boyle

05-05-2025, 08:58 AM
He has?

Does Dwight Gayle have a song if he doesn’t he should?

05-05-2025, 08:59 AM

EGL2000
05-05-2025, 09:10 AM
Bought by Legia last summer for €800k and PAOK wanted him in January as well as a team in Romania
Looks similar to Boyle

Scored 64 goals at different levels. Looks fairly decent on paper.

05-05-2025, 09:12 AM
https://youtu.be/WWiBw5kGY5E?feature=shared

Scores a really sexy goal at around 1:30 here.

Hibs4185
05-05-2025, 09:28 AM
Looks similar to Boyle

My first thought he looked similar to Vente

05-05-2025, 09:36 AM
Looks similar to Boyle

Don't know if Legia will want the full 800K back or are prepared to cut their losses, but surely this is only one of the options if we sell Vente and Youan, send Myko back, Gayle retires and maybe if the Boyle option isn't exercised. Because if all or some of that happens we're looking for at least another two strikers, surely?

Donegal Hibby
05-05-2025, 09:43 AM
Looks similar to Boyle

Team he’s with on loan have the option to buy him . Hopefully if relegated that changes things …

https://www.transfermarkt.co.uk/migouel-alfarela/profil/spieler/590841

05-05-2025, 09:44 AM

Didn’t think he looked anything like Vente.

Looks like he’s operates mostly from wide areas, is fast and a ball carrier while Vente is very much a penalty box striker.

EH21Hibee
05-05-2025, 09:48 AM
Team he’s with on loan have the option to buy him . Hopefully if relegated that changes things …

Where did you see that?

05-05-2025, 09:54 AM
Trent to leave, Madrid the very likely destination. Official.

Donegal Hibby
05-05-2025, 09:56 AM
Where did you see that?

Contract option .. article in the sun saying his current club value him at over £1mil and it also says according to the player we tried to sign him in January on loan but he had already decided to go to Greece instead…

https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/14744702/hibs-target-transfer-migouel-alfarela-legia-warsaw-athens/

Donegal Hibby
05-05-2025, 10:24 AM

Looks more like a Boyle or Youan type player? …

https://youtu.be/8aRRqz_bTr4?si=S7Xf_Bi54PG3ChAo

05-05-2025, 10:56 AM
Don't know if Legia will want the full 800K back or are prepared to cut their losses, but surely this is only one of the options if we sell Vente and Youan, send Myko back, Gayle retires and maybe if the Boyle option isn't exercised. Because if all or some of that happens we're looking for at least another two strikers, surely?

Would McGrath be the advanced midfielder next year. Where Hoillet or Campbell play just now? Also not seen much of Rudi at all. I wonder if he’ll continue in the squad next year or be put out on loan.

Thatdayinmay16
05-05-2025, 10:57 AM
I wonder with all the bringing a former player back, could it be Ofir?

With the uncertainty in Gaza/Israel and not playing a lot of games for Hapoel, could him and Shelly be looking to settle somewhere less destructive?

05-05-2025, 11:02 AM
Looks more like a Boyle or Youan type player? …

https://youtu.be/8aRRqz_bTr4?si=S7Xf_Bi54PG3ChAo

That’s the French Harry McKirdy!!!

Donegal Hibby
05-05-2025, 11:13 AM
That’s the French Harry McKirdy!!!

Frightening thought that 🫣

05-05-2025, 11:36 AM
Would McGrath be the advanced midfielder next year. Where Hoillet or Campbell play just now? Also not seen much of Rudi at all. I wonder if he’ll continue in the squad next year or be put out on loan.

If we get third, then I think we’re going to need the full depth of our current squad then a few additions, if we’re to remain competitive in the league at the same time.

Ok, Rudi’s fallen down the pecking order but he’s not a bad player. My only issue with him is that it’s harder to see how he fits into our current formation than when he was playing wide for us (and playing well) at the start of the season in the league cup.

CentreForward
05-05-2025, 11:41 AM
Sounds as if this guy has scored a few goals recently in Greece but overall his career scoring record is moderate. Relatively few goals considering he is 27.

LEaston87
05-05-2025, 11:45 AM
I wonder with all the bringing a former player back, could it be Ofir?

With the uncertainty in Gaza/Israel and not playing a lot of games for Hapoel, could him and Shelly be looking to settle somewhere less destructive?

I hope it's Myziane

CentreForward
05-05-2025, 11:49 AM
I hope it's Myziane

Yes please !

Thatdayinmay16
05-05-2025, 12:04 PM
I hope it's Myziane

I would like it to be him too, but the fact he's in Suadi on likely upwards of 25k a week, I'd doubt it being him,

05-05-2025, 12:41 PM

Worst kept secret in football that :greengrin

EH21Hibee
05-05-2025, 01:53 PM

https://t.co/FohGFrEmpa

According to this it’s €3m so the team he’s at will have no chance of affording that

05-05-2025, 02:34 PM

Tough one. At the moment, I'd say Junior H is by far the superior player from that trio but we don't know if he's staying on. If he does, he's certainly not going to be playing 90 minutes every week.
Campbell has been a very good impact sub and can deliver some fine performances - like his two goals against Celtic - but should probably have more than four goals by now.
McGrath is athletic, has international experience, and takes a fine penalty.
All three might manage the second striker role at a push if we stick with the current system or it could be tweaked to a 3-4-2-1 to have two attacking mids behind one striker.
Hoilett has been out wide for most of career and McGrath has been used there regularly. Could he do a job as a right wing-back?
Campbell and McGrath can play deeper too but not sure that's where they excel, although it is further evidence of their versatility.
Not sure Rudi gets a look in if those three are all around next season, so a loan at Dunfermline or such like might be the best option. Same applies to Jacob MacIntyre.

05-05-2025, 03:36 PM
I really like that young Motherwell player Maswanhise. Bit of an impact player and if Gayle were to leave he’s got similar attributes but with pace.

05-05-2025, 03:57 PM

Britain declares war with Germany after Poland invaded. Sorry :greengrin

05-05-2025, 04:12 PM
I really like that young Motherwell player Maswanhise. Bit of an impact player and if Gayle were to leave he’s got similar attributes but with pace.

Aye same, definitely raw but abolutely could be coached into a great player I reckon.

Will be into the final year of his contract next summer, looks like ‘well have a further years option though.

05-05-2025, 04:30 PM
The big forward for Dundee Utd looks a handful and has a few goals. We could do with him if he became available.

Dmas
05-05-2025, 05:05 PM
The big forward for Dundee Utd looks a handful and has a few goals. We could do with him if he became available.

he looked good, very clever with his knockdowns and hold up play, met his match in Iredale but I did think he would be handy on the end of caddens crosses whilst watching the game

05-05-2025, 10:05 PM
Anybody heard about our interest in Migouel Alfarela, Legia Warsaw striker (French) on loan to a Greek club with 5 goals from 10 starts?

05-05-2025, 10:06 PM
Anybody heard about our interest in Migouel Alfarela, Legia Warsaw striker (French) on loan to a Greek club with 5 goals from 10 starts?

Nah.

05-05-2025, 10:26 PM
Nah.

Nah, you haven’t heard or nah, nonsense?

05-05-2025, 10:29 PM
Nah, you haven’t heard or nah, nonsense?

Definitely didn't read it at the top of the last page ;-)

05-05-2025, 10:38 PM

05-05-2025, 11:05 PM

Neither didn’t’ I, it definitely wasn’t not the subject of a bit of speculation.

05-05-2025, 11:22 PM
Just done a bit of research on Alfarela, seems to have had quite an interesting career.

It doesn’t seem clear what his best position is, but seen a few saying he can play upfront, wide or in the 10. Maybe upfront in a 2 in our current system so he can drift wide etc would be perfect?

His current form may price us out though as you’d think Warsaw would want to get their money back for him and rumours of a couple of big Greek teams being interested in him.

Donegal Hibby
06-05-2025, 08:56 AM
Just done a bit of research on Alfarela, seems to have had quite an interesting career.

It doesn’t seem clear what his best position is, but seen a few saying he can play upfront, wide or in the 10. Maybe upfront in a 2 in our current system so he can drift wide etc would be perfect?

His current form may price us out though as you’d think Warsaw would want to get their money back for him and rumours of a couple of big Greek teams being interested in him.

800k is the figure rumoured that Warsaw paid for him which I think is doable especially if Vente and Youan go for decent and reasonable fees. Rumours of big Greek teams interested might be a big stumbling block as the player has said he’s enjoyed playing his football there …

One thing that’s interesting in Alfarela can play a few positions . If we do secure third place we are going to need players that are versatile in covering a few positions , already have one signed in McGrath who can play AM , LW or RW.

06-05-2025, 09:38 AM
800k is the figure rumoured that Warsaw paid for him which I think is doable especially if Vente and Youan go for decent and reasonable fees. Rumours of big Greek teams interested might be a big stumbling block as the player has said he’s enjoyed playing his football there …

One thing that’s interesting in Alfarela can play a few positions . If we do secure third place we are going to need players that are versatile in covering a few positions , already have one signed in McGrath who can play AM , LW or RW.

I’m not sure we’ll get much for Youan now? He’s pretty much had this season off and clubs will likely be wary of him becoming injury prone?

06-05-2025, 11:06 AM
Max Boruc will depart Hibs this summer,*writes Scott Burns.

The keeper will leave when his contract expires at the end of the season.

Boruc - the cousin of former Celtic star Artur - has fallen out-of-favour with David Gray.

Gray has preferred Jordan Smith and Josef Bursik this season.

The 22-year-old was signed from Slask Wroclaw as a development goalkeeper back in 2023.

He did make a handful of appearances under former boss Lee Johnson but since then his game time has been limited.

Boruc also had a loan spell at Arbroath last season.

Defender Kyle McClelland will also leave on freedom of contract this summer.

The former Rangers youngster has been on loan at Irish side Coleraine.

06-05-2025, 11:10 AM
Max Boruc will depart Hibs this summer,*writes Scott Burns.

The keeper will leave when his contract expires at the end of the season.

Boruc - the cousin of former Celtic star Artur - has fallen out-of-favour with David Gray.

Gray has preferred Jordan Smith and Josef Bursik this season.

The 22-year-old was signed from Slask Wroclaw as a development goalkeeper back in 2023.

He did make a handful of appearances under former boss Lee Johnson but since then his game time has been limited.

Boruc also had a loan spell at Arbroath last season.

Defender Kyle McClelland will also leave on freedom of contract this summer.

The former Rangers youngster has been on loan at Irish side Coleraine.

Likely to lose Vente and Youan in the summer as well. Hopefully find another club to loan Jair for his final year as can't see anyone wanting to buy him.

Still quite a rebuild needed when you think about it. Both to add a few to the starting XI and bring in squad depth for hopefully group stage European football.

06-05-2025, 11:13 AM
I’m not sure we’ll get much for Youan now? He’s pretty much had this season off and clubs will likely be wary of him becoming injury prone?

I think we'll still get at least £1m for him personally. I do agree his valuation will have taken a hit from its peak, but there will be clubs out there that see the opportunity to get a quality player for what would be peanuts.

What we net after paying anything to his former club or the Gordon's I don't know but we might still end up with something in the budget from him.

06-05-2025, 11:27 AM
Likely to lose Vente and Youan in the summer as well. Hopefully find another club to loan Jair for his final year as can't see anyone wanting to buy him.

Still quite a rebuild needed when you think about it. Both to add a few to the starting XI and bring in squad depth for hopefully group stage European football.

In fairness these guys are not core parts of our team

This is Malky McKay finishing off the required clearcut from the last few years mismanagement by others - the like of Kenneh, McKirdy, Amos, McLelland, Boruc, Tavares were all a financial drain without delivering onfield

The likes of Iredale, N Cadden, Gayle, Bowie are bringing us a lot more & I don't think a rebuild is the gameplan facing us - it's retain as many core guys as possible, make a bit on vente/youan, and look at retaining triantis / integrating Jamie McGrath

Better times are here

LEaston87
06-05-2025, 11:36 AM
If we don't get over £500k for Youan I would just keep him and let him leave at the end of next season, he won't have many suitors if he doesn't perform next season so I'd rather he could contribute next season and help us in Europe. Wins in Europe would be worth more to us financially than whatever we could sell him for. St Gallen are probably due a percentage of our profit on a transfer as well.

06-05-2025, 11:37 AM
In fairness these guys are not core parts of our team

This is Malky McKay finishing off the required clearcut from the last few years mismanagement by others - the like of Kenneh, McKirdy, Amos, McLelland, Boruc, Tavares were all a financial drain without delivering onfield

The likes of Iredale, N Cadden, Gayle, Bowie are bringing us a lot more & I don't think a rebuild is the gameplan facing us - it's retain as many core guys as possible, make a bit on vente/youan, and look at retaining triantis / integrating Jamie McGrath

Better times are here

From the regular starters I reckon we'll likely lose Rocky, Triantis, Myko and Gayle.

Have McGrath signed and Newell to come back in as well. But we'll defo need a new starting CB and at least a striker to push Boyle and Bowie. That and we'll always be looking to improve the starting XI so expect a few more to come in and do just that.

Agree though that after this season it'll only be Jair left that's not really good enough.

06-05-2025, 11:44 AM
From the regular starters I reckon we'll likely lose Rocky, Triantis, Myko and Gayle.

Have McGrath signed and Newell to come back in as well. But we'll defo need a new starting CB and at least a striker to push Boyle and Bowie. That and we'll always be looking to improve the starting XI so expect a few more to come in and do just that.

Agree though that after this season it'll only be Jair left that's not really good enough.

Is the new guy Manneh injured?

06-05-2025, 11:51 AM
Is the new guy Manneh injured?

Matty and Colin touched on manneh on the last episode without going in depth said he didn’t have a preseason.

Plus the fact we’ve been amazing it’s a big ask for him to come in. I did expect to see more minutes from him. Wonder if he is struggling with the different style of league etc.

06-05-2025, 11:56 AM
Matty and Colin touched on manneh on the last episode without going in depth said he didn’t have a preseason.

Plus the fact we’ve been amazing it’s a big ask for him to come in. I did expect to see more minutes from him. Wonder if he is struggling with the different style of league etc.

Not sure I’m buying the lack of minutes being down to not having a pre-season. He's been in and training with us since start of Feb, so three months now. Bowie was out injured for months and is back and in the team.

Think it’ll be more of what you say, finding it hard to force himself into a team that's been smashing it since he arrived and changing leagues and styles wont be easy.

06-05-2025, 12:00 PM
Not sure I’m buying the lack of minutes being down to not having a pre-season. He's been in and training with us since start of Feb, so three months now. Bowie was out injured for months and is back and in the team.

Think it’ll be more of what you say, finding it hard to force himself into a team that's been smashing it since he arrived and changing leagues and styles wont be easy.

I think it'll be a mixture of all the things mentioned. By all accounts the club were happy to bring him in this summer instead of January but the opportunity came to get him in earlier.

At the time we perhaps needed that body with Newell getting injured and the slight uncertainty on a few others in that area like Kwon, but since then NMW and Levitt have stepped up even more so than they had done first half of the season, which has probably put his opportunity to step in back into the summer. Mix that in with maybe a lack of match sharpness and you can see why we haven't forced him in for the sake of it when there's a handful performing in that position anyway.

06-05-2025, 12:03 PM
I think it'll be a mixture of all the things mentioned. By all accounts the club were happy to bring him in this summer instead of January but the opportunity came to get him in earlier.

At the time we perhaps needed that body with Newell getting injured and the slight uncertainty on a few others in that area like Kwon, but since then NMW and Levitt have stepped up even more so than they had done first half of the season, which has probably put his opportunity to step in back into the summer. Mix that in with maybe a lack of match sharpness and you can see why we haven't forced him in for the sake of it when there's a handful performing in that position anyway.

Aye, no doubt.

And absolutely no harm at all getting him in early to have four months integrating into the squad behind him before the start of pre-season. Can only be a good thing.

Still excited to see what he'll add to the team and think it'll prove to be a good signing.

06-05-2025, 12:07 PM
What happened to Kwon? Is he injured or can he just not get in?

Thatdayinmay16
06-05-2025, 12:08 PM

Just extremely bad at football I think.

06-05-2025, 12:09 PM

He's just not very good at football.

06-05-2025, 12:10 PM
Aye, no doubt.

And absolutely no harm at all getting him in early to have four months integrating into the squad behind him before the start of pre-season. Can only be a good thing.

Still excited to see what he'll add to the team and think it'll prove to be a good signing.

Definitely. I'm not overall worried about his lack of time or think it's an indicator of any lack of quality. As you say he's with our coaching staff who will get a good look at him and he can integrate into the squad properly and hopefully will hit the ground running in pre-season.

People rightly want us to get our signings done early, we just so happened to get this one done 6 months earlier than first planned.

Spudster
06-05-2025, 12:25 PM
Wonder if he is struggling with the different style of league etc.

I've tried to find a tweet I seen (unsuccessfully) showing the speed/tempo of the leagues in Europe. Scotland was by some distance 1st place and I'm pretty sure Denmark was bottom. When we signed Manneh I thought that's going to be a drastic change for him!

06-05-2025, 12:27 PM

Maybe protecting him from worthless Scottish referees. Is that :clown: of a referee who sent him off still getting top flight games by the way?

06-05-2025, 01:07 PM

NMW not getting many minutes either just now, wonder if he’s one that will be wanting to move on

06-05-2025, 01:23 PM
NMW not getting many minutes either just now, wonder if he’s one that will be wanting to move on

Yeah it's an odd one, I thought there was a real period around February/March when he was performing the better of our midfielder then he disappeared again. I thought he was playing his way back into the mix but perhaps his time is up if a move is on the cards. Levitt at the moment now seems to have cemented the role that was up for grabs in Newells absence.

EGL2000
06-05-2025, 01:39 PM

God actually forget we even still have him! I was really pleased when we got him and after a fairly bright start just went massively down hill.

Donegal Hibby
06-05-2025, 02:36 PM

It was said on here that Myko was injury prone though Swansea still shelled out £2m for him , personally I think we’ll get at least £1m for him and £1.5m or more for Vente . £2.5m or more possible for them two players I don’t think is a unrealistic figure .

badabing67
06-05-2025, 03:14 PM
It was said on here that Myko was injury prone though Swansea still shelled out £2m for him , personally I think we’ll get at least £1m for him and £1.5m or more for Vente . £2.5m or more possible for them two players I don’t think is a unrealistic figure .

I'm pretty sure Vente won't be back but it is not a given Elie will leave, if we can secure 3rd and Celtic win the cup he might hang around. If Rocky stays there is a chance he could as well

Thatdayinmay16
06-05-2025, 03:31 PM
I'm pretty sure Vente won't be back but it is not a given Elie will leave, if we can secure 3rd and Celtic win the cup he might hang around. If Rocky stays there is a chance he could as well

I think its a given Elie will leave, Gray speaks a lot about having the right type of characters in and around the dressing room, I'm not sure he fits that.

TrinityHFC
06-05-2025, 03:34 PM
I think its a given Elie will leave, Gray speaks a lot about having the right type of characters in and around the dressing room, I'm not sure he fits that.

Gray has also spoken regularly about how hard working and precessional Elie is. You can also see the way he celebrates with the team.

Just regurgitated nonsense again about his character.

Thatdayinmay16
06-05-2025, 03:41 PM
Gray has also spoken regularly about how hard working and precessional Elie is. You can also see the way he celebrates with the team.

Actions speak louder than words, that's what I'm going off.

From what I've seen and heard Elie Youan does not want to be at hibs, I therefore share the same opinion on the matter.

Humo
06-05-2025, 03:43 PM

I think that given its pretty much a guarantee that he’s leaving in the summer it’s hard to know wether Gray is being sincere about Youan being a grafter and professional or if he’s just trying to ensure we get a good price for him.

Personally I’m in the undecided camp. If he chips in with another goal or assist before the end of the season then that’ll definitely swing me into the first camp.

06-05-2025, 03:44 PM

From what I've seen and heard Elie Youan does not want to be at hibs, I therefore share the same opinion on the matter.

Which actions?

Thatdayinmay16
06-05-2025, 03:52 PM
Which actions?

The one's on social media, when arguing with club "Fans" that he no longer wishes to be here.

FWIW It was mentioned in the heat of multiple arguments and yes the arguments have followed from abuse he has received which I do not agree with any way shape or form.

But if that truly is the way he feels, then don't bring it up while arguing with whom I can only imagine are young adults or children. It doesn't reflect well.

Rocky Bushiri has received more abuse than most in the last few years, doesn't mean he hasn't went about it quietly, kept his head down and grafted his arse off to prove folk wrong.

Not sure why Elie couldn't have conducted himself the same way.

06-05-2025, 03:58 PM
The one's on social media, when arguing with club "Fans" that he no longer wishes to be here.

FWIW It was mentioned in the heat of multiple arguments and yes the arguments have followed from abuse he has received which I do not agree with any way shape or form.

But if that truly is the way he feels, then don't bring it up while arguing with whom I can only imagine are young adults or children. It doesn't reflect well.

Rocky Bushiri has received more abuse than most in the last few years, doesn't mean he hasn't went about it quietly, kept his head down and grafted his arse off to prove folk wrong.

His response to being abused was in words, not actions. Which actions on the pitch or in and around the training centre has qualified any of us to be a better judge of Elie than David Gray? Seeing as actions speak louder after all.

Donegal Hibby
06-05-2025, 04:12 PM

I think Vente will almost certainly be away , more or less said he wants too . Hopefully make a healthy profit with how he’s done on loan .

Youan if we get a decent offer with the way his contract is , say a million or a bit more . I think we should cash in now rather than get nothing later . If we got a million ( not saying we’d get him ) but I think we should at least try and get Triantis by offering it to Sunderland .

Rocky I think will probably have better offers than we can offer him lined up though as you say if we finish 3rd maybe the carrot of playing in Europe might persuade some to stay or come back possibly? .

Donegal Hibby
06-05-2025, 04:17 PM

If I was getting racially abused or just constant abuse personally I wouldn’t want to stay at the club either and would be angling to move , sometimes things are said in the heat of battle too . Some of the abuse our players have been getting IMO has on occasions crossed the line … does anyone really deserve to be abused in any profession? .

06-05-2025, 07:55 PM

Because he has been injured

TrinityHFC
06-05-2025, 09:27 PM

What have you seen and heard?

Nonsense repeated on here no doubt.

Thatdayinmay16
07-05-2025, 08:32 AM
What have you seen and heard?

Nonsense repeated on here no doubt.

See above.

Thatdayinmay16
07-05-2025, 08:40 AM
If I was getting racially abused or just constant abuse personally I wouldn’t want to stay at the club either and would be angling to move , sometimes things are said in the heat of battle too . Some of the abuse our players have been getting IMO has on occasions crossed the line … does anyone really deserve to be abused in any profession? .

And as mentioned I couldn't agree more, when the attacks become personal then it's already gone a step too far. I'm not against critiquing a players ability or work rate/contribution, but when family/skin colour/religious beliefs are brought into it then I understand why he'd say the things he did.

Some of the personal abuse our players have had to deal with over the years are absolutely over the line I'm not disputing that, what I am disputing is that Elie leaving isn't a foregone conclusion.

Based on the abuse he has received and the back and fourth with fans he'll 100% be away in the summer.

07-05-2025, 08:51 AM
See above.

So you've seen him responding to racial abuse and in your view that is a mark of HIS character?

07-05-2025, 09:30 AM
Seemingly working on a 2 year deal on reduced terms with MB

Thatdayinmay16
07-05-2025, 09:41 AM
Was that the same game JDH also had an altercation? And what did the fans say that sparked a reaction from both players?.

No idea, I don't plan on wasting any of my time discussing that wage thief.

07-05-2025, 09:45 AM

Wage thief? :rolleyes:

07-05-2025, 09:52 AM
I'm confused, he had to be restrained by someone else? What else was he planning on doing? Going over and baking a cake with them?

I don't have a vendetta against the guy, I don't really share an opinion on him other than I'd very much like to see him leave Easter road and never come back.

Once he's gone, we'll file under players who didn't reach their full potential, had a shan attitude and couldn't be arsed. While I sit in the stands enjoying my club playing on the European stage:thumbsup:

Why dont you take a day off. Watch a nice video instead.
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=wbmT6cT7_3U

07-05-2025, 09:54 AM
Seemingly working on a 2 year deal on reduced terms with MB

Well, if he signs it then great but he's got a lot of leverage with the season he's having.

07-05-2025, 09:55 AM
This is all getting very personal and unseemly, entrenched opinions.

07-05-2025, 09:57 AM
Well, if he signs it then great but he's got a lot of leverage with the season he's having.

We could just trigger the extension circa £7.5K pw but we want him for at least another year on top, we still have the leverage due to the extension clause.

07-05-2025, 09:58 AM
This is all getting very personal and unseemly, entrenched opinions.

Seems to be a few new members stirring things up on here recently, not just on this thread.

Thatdayinmay16
07-05-2025, 10:04 AM
Only the 3 posts you have made since not wasting your time on Elie!

I said JDH was a wage thief, not Elie. Thanks.

Donegal Hibby
07-05-2025, 10:07 AM

Your after saying that when he had an altercation with the fans he wasn’t racially abused , now your saying you don’t know what was said .. so it’s possible fans over stepped the boundaries in their abuse of the player . As to the “ wage thief ‘ remark … that is quite frankly a term used an odd time at a player that is normally wrong.

07-05-2025, 10:08 AM
Seems to be a few new members stirring things up on here recently, not just on this thread.
It's awful and not what I come on here for.

HNA11
07-05-2025, 10:30 AM
I've not really got the time (or the desire) at the moment to trawl through this thread deleting posts.

Can we please make at least a passable attempt at keeping things civil; both about each other and our players? These transfer threads always end up breaking out into silly arguments at the times when there is nothing meaningful to discuss so maybe take a wee break and discuss something nice on one of the many positive threads available at the moment.

WestStandWillie
07-05-2025, 10:58 AM
Watched Megwa last night for Partick, I don't know what the future holds for him. He's not bumping anyone out their position so another loan? Perhaps to someone in our league as he's had stints in the Championship.

DunblaneHibby
07-05-2025, 11:13 AM

I think your right

ShadesLongThrow
07-05-2025, 11:14 AM
Watched Megwa last night for Partick, I don't know what the future holds for him. He's not bumping anyone out their position so another loan? Perhaps to someone in our league as he's had stints in the Championship.

Agree. He looked decent in a poor Partick side but doesn’t have the quality to break into our first team. Wouldn't surprise me to see him move permanently to a team like Ross County or St Johnstone.

07-05-2025, 11:38 AM
Wouldn't mind someone like Johnny Kenny at Celtic. Young, fast, skilful and knows where the goals are.

Paulie Walnuts
07-05-2025, 11:42 AM

He won’t make it at Hibs imo.

berwickhibee
07-05-2025, 11:43 AM
Wouldn't mind someone like Johnny Kenny at Celtic. Young, fast, skilful and knows where the goals are.

Looked sharp on Sunday👍

07-05-2025, 12:13 PM

We tried to sign him before he joined Celtic and he turned us down to go there.

EGL2000
07-05-2025, 12:16 PM
We tried to sign him before he joined Celtic and he turned us down to go there.

Could definitely see him come in on loan next season. Celtic still need a starting striker to replace kyogo and probably another one for depth so Kenny will be well down the pecking order

Kenny has already proved he can score goals in Europe as well so think it would be really good business.

Donegal Hibby
07-05-2025, 12:26 PM

I think his contract ends in 2026 .

RMQ1967
07-05-2025, 12:36 PM
Could definitely see him come in on loan next season. Celtic still need a starting striker to replace kyogo and probably another one for depth so Kenny will be well down the pecking order

Kenny has already proved he can score goals in Europe as well so think it would be really good business.

We shouldn't be developing players for other teams anymore.
The current coaching team have proven they are excellent at this & we should only be bringing in loans with an option to buy or experienced pros that will improve the squad.

07-05-2025, 12:38 PM
The current coaching team have proven they are excellent at this & we should only be bringing in loans with an option to buy or experienced pros that will improve the squad.

If a player can make us better an achieve our goals I couldn't care less.

07-05-2025, 12:46 PM

S0 if triantis was offered to us on loan for another year with no option to buy what would you say?

delaCalz
07-05-2025, 01:02 PM

Agreed. If there is no option to buy then it blocks the pathway for either a young player or someone like Manneh who at the end of the day is our player. The priority should be developing our own players over loan players which hopefully returns more value to the club. Hoping we see less loan players moving forward unless absolutely needed or a level well above what we have

EGL2000
07-05-2025, 01:03 PM

Highly disagree loans are a great way to get in higher quality than you would be able to get on a permanent basis. Or more in the case of Kenny bring someone in for a fraction of the financial burden it would cost to sign him. Even the best teams in the world make use of loans. Liverpool's first choice goalkeeper next season will be a loan player.

We are going to need a bigger squad next season if Europe pans out. This will mean we will need to utilise the loan market as wouldn't be financially viable to sign them all.

07-05-2025, 01:05 PM

Loans help you get players you wouldn’t otherwise get. Triantis being the prime example. We obviously don’t get a fee when he leaves but we do get better performances and European qualification whilst he’s here.

07-05-2025, 01:44 PM
Loans help you get players you wouldn’t otherwise get. Triantis being the prime example. We obviously don’t get a fee when he leaves but we do get better performances and European qualification whilst he’s here.

:agree: We’d probably still be waiting on the Scottish Cup if we hadn’t taken Stokes and Henderson on loan and currently our involvement with the BKG is supposed to allow us to bring in players who would typically be outwith our reach (albeit we’ve since very little of that so far)

King Cosell
07-05-2025, 01:57 PM
Sky Bet: Hibs 1/12 Aberdeen 7/1

Bet Victor: Hibs 1/6 Aberdeen 4/1

William Hill: Hibs 1/4 Aberdeen 11/4

07-05-2025, 02:30 PM
Championship level.

badabing67
07-05-2025, 02:32 PM
Agree. He looked decent in a poor Partick side but doesn’t have the quality to break into our first team. Wouldn't surprise me to see him move permanently to a team like Ross County or St Johnstone.

Or Him plus cash to Falkirk for Keelan Adams would work for me.

07-05-2025, 02:43 PM

Tidy footballer but plays way too safe for me and isn’t brave enough to exploit space. Too often he plays backwards rather than forwards and that definitely won’t suit SDG’s now preferred formation. Doig (as an example) was light years ahead of Megwa with less experience and more penetrating going forward. One thing about last nights game though he was one of the only players who kept it on the ground and retained possession. It was an utterly dreadful advert for the Championship last night, which is a shame as there’s been some very entertaining games with some quality on show.

07-05-2025, 03:03 PM
Highly disagree loans are a great way to get in higher quality than you would be able to get on a permanent basis. Or more in the case of Kenny bring someone in for a fraction of the financial burden it would cost to sign him. Even the best teams in the world make use of loans. Liverpool's first choice goalkeeper next season will be a loan player.

We are going to need a bigger squad next season if Europe pans out. This will mean we will need to utilise the loan market as wouldn't be financially viable to sign them all.

Liverpool will likely have Allison in goal next season. The other keeper will be Mamardashvili, who is a Liverpool player currently on loan at Valencia.

07-05-2025, 04:58 PM
The loan system if worked correctly can be good for us, Kwon and Bursik have been fails

Ribs1875
07-05-2025, 05:05 PM
The loan system if worked correctly can be good for us, Kwon and Bursik have been fails

We have had good players on loan over the years, however I am not a massive fan of loaning players unless there is an option to buy.

hibee1875
07-05-2025, 05:07 PM

I was there, very poor game and at times I was wondering if he would look better with better players around him. Players better at making space, playing passes etc but there was a couple of times he mis controlled simple balls.

Hopefully a one off but on last nights evidence he wont make it here. Not at the standards we’re looking to hit anyways.

07-05-2025, 05:11 PM
Couldn’t care less if a player is on loan or permanent - whatever helps us win more football matches. If the choice is between a good player on loan or an inferior player permanent then give me the loan everytime.

07-05-2025, 05:12 PM

And I’m delighted we loaned them rather than buy them.

Paul1642
07-05-2025, 05:56 PM
Loans a just part of the modern game and are presumably here to stay.

Last season we managed to get Maolida and Marcondes who are way above the level we could generally have playing for us without loans. We also had Mayenda who in retrospect potentially would have been really good for us given more of a chance.

This season we only have four with a 50% success rate between good and poor.

We also benefit a lot from loaning out, with some of our younger players gaining experience and getting the opportunity to show they can make it at Hibs without being put out of their depth in the first team, whilst Vente is growing in value on loan and Kenneh, Jair and Delferriere having some of their wages paid for us.

The loan market has defiantly been good for us in recent years.

With increasingly likely European group stage football on the cards next season, a few loans to bolster the squad without increasing the wage bill the following season when European football might not be there for us or if we go out in the playoffs, will be a better way of doing business.

Hopefuly the BK connection comes more into play in this respect.

Just_Jimmy
07-05-2025, 06:06 PM
Agreed. If there is no option to buy then it blocks the pathway for either a young player or someone like Manneh who at the end of the day is our player. The priority should be developing our own players over loan players which hopefully returns more value to the club. Hoping we see less loan players moving forward unless absolutely needed or a level well above what we haveOur priority should be putting the best team on the park we can every week to win every game we can.

If our players are the best available for that, great. If we have a loan that contributes more and keeps them out the team, too bad.

07-05-2025, 06:20 PM
Only loans we should be looking at are players better than we have right now like Myzanne and Marcondes last season, players we normally couldn't afford otherwise.

JDT
07-05-2025, 06:37 PM

What's the thoughts on Rory Whittaker? Does anybody think he'll have a shot of making the grade or does Megwa have a better chance?

07-05-2025, 06:47 PM
What's the thoughts on Rory Whittaker? Does anybody think he'll have a shot of making the grade or does Megwa have a better chance?

Seems to get good reports in the 18's games, could see he had talent but it was clear he wasn't ready for regular first team football.

If we can keep Boyle on reduced terms would be excellent.

07-05-2025, 07:04 PM
Couldn’t care less if a player is on loan or permanent - whatever helps us win more football matches. If the choice is between a good player on loan or an inferior player permanent then give me the loan everytime.

:agree: it’s a no brainer imho. Get the best team you can on the pitch.

CentreForward
07-05-2025, 08:18 PM
Only loans we should be looking at are players better than we have right now like Myzanne and Marcondes last season, players we normally couldn't afford otherwise.

Agree Marcondes is a good player and has done well this season but he was pretty ordinary with us. Guys like N. Cadden, Triantis. Miller and Levitt have done far better for us this season.

1875Sean
07-05-2025, 11:49 PM

Whittaker couldn’t get his game for Spartans, he needs to loaned out again and try and play, I think Megwa will come back and play back up to Cadden

08-05-2025, 06:43 AM
Whittaker couldn’t get his game for Spartans, he needs to loaned out again and try and play, I think Megwa will come back and play back up to Cadden

Personally can’t see Megwa being part of first team squad

08-05-2025, 07:11 AM

Loaning him out could be problematic if his dad starts abusing the manager online for not playing his son. What manager will want that added to the other pressures of the job? Would be safer to just go with someone else.

08-05-2025, 07:44 AM

I am led to believe that could be more to do with id olad man being a bit to pushey towards the managment at Spartans, insisting this, insisting that. I think that was more to do why he wasn't getting his game. I might have miss heard it though.

Paulie Walnuts
08-05-2025, 07:46 AM
I am led to believe that could be more to do with id olad man being a bit to pushey towards the managment at Spartans, insisting this, insisting that. I think that was more to do why he wasn't getting his game. I might have miss heard it though.

I saw him play quite a few times for Spartans and he just wasn’t good enough when he played. His dad might not have helped matters, but his performances were enough to keep him out the team.

08-05-2025, 08:03 AM
Agree Marcondes is a good player and has done well this season but he was pretty ordinary with us. Guys like N. Cadden, Triantis. Miller and Levitt have done far better for us this season.

It's definitely the case but that was probably a hunger issue for me. The act of signing him was still a no brainer at the time, he was a very decent player who played within himself a bit towards the end, we could never have attracted unless it was under the loan conditions.

The thing is as well, the loan protects us too, imagine we signed him to a 2.5 year deal on big wages to bring him in and he decided he didn't fancy it and just sooked up our budget for that time? At least with the loan we could wave goodbye in the summer and move on.

08-05-2025, 08:03 AM
Makenzie Kirk for St Johnstone has a decent goal record for a young player at a really toiling club.

Always nice to pull a Cummings/ Doig to get one over on the Jambos as well.

08-05-2025, 08:20 AM
It's definitely the case but that was probably a hunger issue for me. The act of signing him was still a no brainer at the time, he was a very decent player who played within himself a bit towards the end, we could never have attracted unless it was under the loan conditions.

The thing is as well, the loan protects us too, imagine we signed him to a 2.5 year deal on big wages to bring him in and he decided he didn't fancy it and just sooked up our budget for that time? At least with the loan we could wave goodbye in the summer and move on.

:agree: Exactly. The Sunderland documentary gave us the example of Jack Rodwell. Signed for £10 million on £3million a year wages, basically downed tools and kept raking in his salary despite barely playing and contributing a mere 5 goals in 4 years. His and others contracted wages hamstrung Sunderland for years afterwards. If theyd have negotiated a loan the risk diminishes. Obviously its a higher echelon of spending but the principle remains the same.

Brummie_Hibs
08-05-2025, 10:37 AM
Anybody heard anything about Rodrigo Zalazar?

https://www.bild.de/sport/fussball/fc-st-pauli-bis-in-die-4-liga-diese-ex-stars-sind-schon-abgestiegen-681afab96255e217f6c1f3e3

08-05-2025, 10:46 AM

https://www.bild.de/sport/fussball/fc-st-pauli-bis-in-die-4-liga-diese-ex-stars-sind-schon-abgestiegen-681afab96255e217f6c1f3e3

Know him from his time at Frankfurt. Uruguayan international doing very well for team chasing top 3 in Portugal.

What you heard?

Brummie_Hibs
08-05-2025, 10:49 AM
Know him from his time at Frankfurt. Uruguayan international doing very well for team chasing top 3 in Portugal.

What you heard?
All I know is what is said in the article.

Was wondering if anybody else had heard anything more than that....

All I know is what is said in the article.

Was wondering if anybody else had heard anything more than that....

What does it say? It's behind a paywall

Paulie Walnuts

What you heard?

The article claims:

“ In the Europa League next season Rodrigo Zalazar (25/SC Braga) and Junior Hoilett (34) will play with Scottish club FC Hibernian from Edinburgh.”

Hoilett was on loan at St Pauli previously.

08-05-2025, 10:52 AM

Joined Braga for something like €6m under contract there until 2028 and is valued on transfermrkt at around €16m. Has been linked with Zenit Saint Petersburg What have you heard?

The article claims:

“ In the Europa League next season Rodrigo Zalazar (25/SC Braga) and Junior Hoilett (34) will play with Scottish club FC Hibernian from Edinburgh.”

Strange comment, particularly as we're not in the Europa League yet and we may not be.

He seems like he’d be well out of our reach having had a quick google

HendoDelivered
The article claims:

Surely not? He’s worth 16M according to Transfermarkt! That would be unbelievable if we signed him 🤣 hopefully true about Hoilett too. Pretty sure BILD are a big media outlet so must be something in it.

08-05-2025, 10:53 AM

He looks way out of our price range.

Surely not? He’s worth 16M according to Transfermarkt! That would be unbelievable if we signed him 🤣 hopefully true about Hoilett too. Pretty sure BILD are a big media outlet so must be something in it.

It's just inaccurate reporting. Not a hope in hell.

He seems like he’d be well out of our reach having had a quick google

I don't think the speed of his google is relevant, tbh.

08-05-2025, 10:55 AM

Absolutely magic name.

I’m in, will take him.

08-05-2025, 10:55 AM
It’s a “where are they now” article about former St Pauli players. It has nothing to do with transfers.

08-05-2025, 10:56 AM
It’s a “where are they now” article about former St Pauli players. It has nothing g to do with transfers.

Absolute spoilsports, the lot of you.

Paulie Walnuts
08-05-2025, 10:57 AM
Looks more likely it’s David Zalazar if anybody. Argentinian left winger at Central Cordoba. Googles AI says he plays for us.

Most likely scenario is it’s neither though :greengrin or that they’ve mixed up the guy Salazar Hearts had on loan last year.

08-05-2025, 11:00 AM
I don't the speed of his google is relevant, tbh.

08-05-2025, 11:13 AM

https://www.bild.de/sport/fussball/fc-st-pauli-bis-in-die-4-liga-diese-ex-stars-sind-schon-abgestiegen-681afab96255e217f6c1f3e3Rated at 16 million

Eh.

08-05-2025, 11:17 AM
Is that article not just poorly worded and means he’ll be playing in Europe next season with Braga and Hoilett will be playing with us?

08-05-2025, 11:46 AM
https://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/sport/25146545.hibernian-making-summer-move-sunderland-midfielder-nectar-triantis/

Still be stunned if we managed to get him.

Celtic fan reckons they’re sniffing about

08-05-2025, 12:02 PM
https://www.thenorthernecho.co.uk/sport/25146545.hibernian-making-summer-move-sunderland-midfielder-nectar-triantis/

Now that would be a big statement, but if Celtic are interested can't see it happening.

08-05-2025, 12:25 PM

He's not good enough for Celtic.