View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2025

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

17-06-2025, 06:21 PM
I thought the derby exemplified his mentality problems. He probably felt that it was a game fiitting of his stature so put in perhaps our best individual performance of the season. The rest of the time he couldn't be arsed.

I think he managed to get through games on adrenaline in his first few games, given he’d been out for so long. Seemed to wear off.

17-06-2025, 06:25 PM
I thought Marcondes was good and still think Moriah Welsh is good.

17-06-2025, 06:32 PM

I wouldn’t be shocked if NMW turned around next season and found his place. His problem is a general rashness in and out of possession - silly tackles, silly loose passes. A run of games to set him might make a big impact, but there’s no chance a player coming good 18 months later is a favour by the team that sold him- we’ve already paid plenty in fees and wages.

If I could face the LJ era podcasts, it would be interesting to listen to some of the post match episodes at the time regarding Marcondes, but I think he was criticised more and more as the season progressed.

Paulie Walnuts
17-06-2025, 06:34 PM
I wouldn’t be shocked if NMW turned around next season and found his place. His problem is a general rashness in and out of possession - silly tackles, silly loose passes. A run of games to set him might make a big impact, but there’s no chance a player coming good 18 months later is a favour by the team that sold him- we’ve already paid plenty in fees and wages.

If I could face the LJ era podcasts, it would be interesting to listen to some of the post match episodes at the time regarding Marcondes, but I think he was criticised more and more as the season progressed.

Marcondes played under Montgomery. Agree with the general point though. A good player of that there is little doubt, it wasn’t shown here though.

17-06-2025, 06:39 PM
Marcondes played under Montgomery. Agree with the general point though. A good player of that there is little doubt, it wasn’t shown here though.

He was a good player but didn’t really affect games, obviously had talent, but!

17-06-2025, 06:39 PM

I frequently forget Monty existed. Like a traumatic brain injury from a terrible car crash.

17-06-2025, 06:40 PM
From a Roda fan on Twitter

https://i.ibb.co/FQtYzLC/Screenshot-20250617-194002.png (https://ibb.co/BhR6B5F)

17-06-2025, 06:54 PM
From a Roda fan on Twitter

https://i.ibb.co/FQtYzLC/Screenshot-20250617-194002.png (https://ibb.co/BhR6B5F)

Just seen it reported on SSN that Herenveen are hoping to sign him, hopefully it's done quickly

17-06-2025, 06:55 PM
DONE DEAL! ✍️

Richard King joins St Mirren as Stephen Robinson delighted at move 6 months in the making 🗣️

📸 @saintmirrenfc

⬇️⬇️⬇️

dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football…

St Mirren aren't dicking around this window.

17-06-2025, 07:01 PM
Just seen it reported on SSN that Herenveen are hoping to sign him, hopefully it's done quickly

As posted Roda fans seem to think it's a done deal and are expecting a smallish pay day.

17-06-2025, 07:09 PM
Marcondes wasnt fit and NMW doesn’t appear to have the quality required to play regularly for us. Looks like they got 2 financial liabilities off the wage bill at our expense, with limited return for us.

Hard to disagree with this.

If they've just bought a Portuguese club though, there's an exciting young Portuguese winger called Tavares they might be interested in. I've heard his parent club would happily do a deal at £5m :greengrin

17-06-2025, 07:19 PM
Marcondes wasnt fit and NMW doesn’t appear to have the quality required to play regularly for us. Looks like they got 2 financial liabilities off the wage bill at our expense, with limited return for us.

NMW made a valuable contribution during our great run. He was very unfortunate to find himself on the bench once we found the perfect midfield combination. Boy is hardly a dud. Your comments are well out of order. You really think we were picking up the tab for Marcondes wage?

17-06-2025, 07:23 PM
Myko has signed for Slovan Bratislava on a permanent deal

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

17-06-2025, 07:23 PM
I absolutely get all the chat about players being loaned to us by the BKG, but still find it a bit disappointing we aren’t seeing players coming to us we’d never have got if it wasn’t for the tie up. After all it was one of the things we were told to expect when the deal was done.

This is where I'm at with it too.

17-06-2025, 07:27 PM

Some move for him, that!

17-06-2025, 07:33 PM
NMW made a valuable contribution during our great run. He was very unfortunate to find himself on the bench once we found the perfect midfield combination. Boy is hardly a dud. Your comments are well out of order. You really think we were picking up the tab for Marcondes wage?

I’m going to assume you didn’t read my follow up posts regarding NMW, because I’m hardly scathing about him.

Furthermore, we would have made significant contributions for a player who was a half fit in Marcondes. Even if we didn’t pay a penny for Marcondes, we were still used as rehab.

ruthven_raiders
17-06-2025, 07:33 PM
Some move for him, that!

Great move and just over the border from Austria, not far to Vienna 😊

17-06-2025, 07:35 PM

Must’ve been made very clear we would not be pursuing him as only recently he said he wanted to stay

Paulie Walnuts
17-06-2025, 07:35 PM

Happy with that, would be hoping we’re looking at better.

Ribs1875
17-06-2025, 07:38 PM

Slightly disappointed we never persued him. I could have seen him becoming good with more game time.

17-06-2025, 07:42 PM

I’m glad he’s not coming back. He obviously played a part but never really set the heather on fire. Having said that I’d rather have him than nobody.

17-06-2025, 07:45 PM
Slightly disappointed we never persued him. I could have seen him becoming good with more game time.

I thought he was getting better towards the end of the season. Hopeful now we might have better lined up

17-06-2025, 07:48 PM
Marcondes was just recovering from a bad injury but still showed his class, NMW is definitely our level, still young and a good squad player

17-06-2025, 07:48 PM
Way out of our league, wonder what Bournemouth plans are for Kroupi? i think they have a real gem on their hands.

Would hope to hear something about Rocky and Hoilett come the end of the week.

Vente out with Rocky, Triantis and Hoilett signing would cap off a good week with the draw and the home kit release.

17-06-2025, 07:50 PM
Way out of our league, wonder what Bournemouth plans are for Kroupi? i think they have a real gem on their hands.

Would hope to hear something about Rocky and Hoilett come the end of the week.

Vente out with Rocky, Triantis and Hoilett signing would cap off a good week with the draw and the home kit release.

Maybe want to see what he's like in ligue 1. Not sure if he's good enough but definitely a talent.

17-06-2025, 07:51 PM
Probably walked into the Vitality and went ........... Aye really nice, but c'mon, where's the real stadium :greengrin

As for AFC Bournemouth loaning a player to the Sticky Buns. I suppose they can do what they want, but it hardly goes towards the credo of a mutually beneficial partnership and in my capacity as a fitba fan I invoke my right to set aside logic and business sense and be annoyed about it. Do better Foley !!! :grr:

i seriously cannot envisage any quality player on the books at Bournemouth from either the first team or fringes that will want to come up to the premier league EXCEPT for either of the gruesome twosome, Bournemouth are rumoured to be wanting £12m for the boy Aarons(£5m profit if they get that) his Agent Roof have another three players on the books that all were rumoured to have been at Leeds training ground last week, Aarons would be a strange one as he was almost a Leeds player himself having been at their training ground two seasons ago with a view to signing but changed his mind and went to Bournemouth instead.

17-06-2025, 07:51 PM
Myko was average at best, missed some sitters and basically not good enough.

17-06-2025, 07:52 PM
With Gayle already gone and Myko now confirmed as not coming back, a striker must be pretty high up our shopping list.

17-06-2025, 07:55 PM
With Gayle already gone and Myko now confirmed as not coming back, a striker must be pretty high up our shopping list.

Add in Vente possibly away and maybe Youan, we're getting a wee bit short on firepower.

17-06-2025, 07:56 PM

I’d say at least 2 strikers.

17-06-2025, 07:59 PM
Add in Vente possibly away and maybe Youan, we're getting a wee bit short on firepower.

Is it Friday the players return for pre-season training?

17-06-2025, 08:01 PM
Is it Friday the players return for pre-season training?

Think it went
Wed - Euro opposition
Thu - new strip
Fri - players return

17-06-2025, 08:04 PM

17-06-2025, 08:06 PM
https://www.swanseacity.com/news/mykola-kuharevich-joins-slovan-bratislava

I wasn't that fussed about him to be honest but now having seen that I'm kinda hoping we haven't missed out on anything here, he's a good option to have and something a bit different.

Earlydelivery
17-06-2025, 08:07 PM

By all accounts on twitter Scotland /Holland Vente deal to leave nearly done to Heerenveen €2m

17-06-2025, 08:10 PM
By all accounts on twitter Scotland /Holland Vente deal to leave nearly done to Heerenveen €2m

That would still give us a decent amount to add to the transfer kitty.

Donegal Hibby
17-06-2025, 08:14 PM
Some move for him, that!

Very good move for him , would have been happy enough if he had came back as i thought he was improving towards the end of the season . It will be interesting to see what type of strikers we bring in now considering Myko and Gayle are gone , maybe a target man with the crosses that Cadden puts into the box?

17-06-2025, 08:21 PM
That would still give us a decent amount to add to the transfer kitty.

To get Triantis, maybe, but we’d need good cash to get a decent striker. We can’t rely on Bowie or Boyle escaping injuries giving their histories. Youan, I imagine, could be going too which really leaves us light. Unless we go 4321.

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 08:23 PM

That's a great move for him tbf. Regularly get European group stage football fair play.

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 08:26 PM
That only leaves us with Boyle and Bowie as striking options currently (Vente will be leaving). As I think a few assumed we would see Myko back in some capacity. Would assume at least 2 of good quality should be coming in now.

HendoDelivered
17-06-2025, 08:26 PM

Apparently more around the 1M mark… and I think his old club have a sell on fee altho not sure how much.

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 08:27 PM
Apparently more around the 1M mark… and I think his old club have a sell on fee altho not sure how much.

No chance.

HendoDelivered
17-06-2025, 08:28 PM
No chance.

That’s what I thought as well tbh

17-06-2025, 08:28 PM
To get Triantis, maybe, but we’d need good cash to get a decent striker. We can’t rely on Bowie or Boyle escaping injuries giving their histories. Youan, I imagine, could be going too which really leaves us light. Unless we go 4321.

To be fair, to get strikers in we probably need to get the likes of Vente out first.

Youan I’ve almost forgotten about. I’m not convinced he’ll be away in this window, I don’t think teams will be queuing up to pay good money for him now. If he’s back fit and we can get him playing then that might be worth more than the type of fee we’d be likely to get for him now.

I don’t see us going back to one up top either.

17-06-2025, 08:32 PM

Where are you seeing the £1m mentioned? I'm sure I have only seen the £2m or little over €2m being mentioned.

HendoDelivered
17-06-2025, 08:42 PM
Where are you seeing the £1m mentioned? I'm sure I have only seen the £2m or little over €2m being mentioned.

I actually DM’d one of the dutch guys that seemed “itk” about it, think the account was one of the first to mention it a few days ago or whenever it was. And he had said “Around 1M”

Hibees1973
17-06-2025, 08:43 PM
Don't really agree that we have lost firepower due to Myko going to Slovan, Vente possibly going to Heerenveen and Youan maybe leaving as well.

What did these three contribute in our long unbeaten run and in the last 6 months of the season. Very little in some cases or nowt for others.

We have lost bodies and hopefully freeing up big salaries to be spent on new players. This is vital to balance our costs as we lost nearly £7m in the last accounts.

We will sign players in the next couple of weeks.

17-06-2025, 08:46 PM
Don't really agree that we have lost firepower due to Myko going to Slovan, Vente possibly going to Heerenveen and Youan maybe leaving as well.

What did these three contribute in our long unbeaten run and in the last 6 months of the season. Very little in some cases or nowt for others.

We have lost bodies and hopefully freeing up big salaries to be spent on new players. This is vital to balance our costs as we lost nearly £7m in the last accounts.

We will sign players in the next couple of weeks.

Myko played a big part, as did Gayle, both away.

17-06-2025, 08:51 PM
I actually DM’d one of the dutch guys that seemed “itk” about it, think the account was one of the first to mention it a few days ago or whenever it was. And he had said “Around 1M”

Euros or Pounds

HendoDelivered
17-06-2025, 08:53 PM
Euros or Pounds

Euros

Hopefully nonsense though as that’s a gantin deal for us.

17-06-2025, 08:54 PM

Did we pay around £700k for him? Not a great return if that’s true.

17-06-2025, 08:54 PM
Euros

Hopefully nonsense though as that’s a gantin deal for us.

I'd love to know where this boy's picked up the fee from tbh

HendoDelivered
17-06-2025, 09:00 PM
I'd love to know where this boy's picked up the fee from tbh

Me too. I’ve heard the same number again just there, asked the Roda fan (someone on here put a photo up of their post about Vente and the sell on) and he said the same thing. €1M same as other guy

17-06-2025, 09:01 PM
Did we pay around £700k for him? Not a great return if that’s true.

If Heerenveen are in for him and no one else in Holland is we won't get much more than we paid for him back. He's only a year on contract. At least we're getting money back is one way of looking at it

17-06-2025, 09:08 PM
If Heerenveen are in for him and no one else in Holland is we won't get much more than we paid for him back. He's only a year on contract. At least we're getting money back is one way of looking at it

Maybe better bringing him back and playing him under his contract. By the time we’ve payed off Roda there won’t be much left. If true of course.

17-06-2025, 09:09 PM
Maybe better bringing him back and playing him under his contract. By the time we’ve payed off Roda there won’t be much left. If true of course.

You’d like to think the sell on is based on profit.

17-06-2025, 09:10 PM
Guesswork?

https://x.com/chriswood1875x/status/1935075762685587524?t=XSf3V0zpEFSC1QLtrwvD7Q&s=19

badabing67
17-06-2025, 09:18 PM
Guesswork?

https://x.com/chriswood1875x/status/1935075762685587524?t=XSf3V0zpEFSC1QLtrwvD7Q&s=19

A bit cryptic, I don't get it anyway

chippy
17-06-2025, 09:20 PM
I see it as a pretty good deal for us getting a bit more than we paid out. He’s not been a good signing and re couping our outlay is fine. I’d say I’d be happy to get a million quid fir Youan too

PortoHSC
17-06-2025, 09:23 PM
God I need a rumour or something, been awfully quiet at ER last week

17-06-2025, 09:24 PM
Big job on our hands bringing in forward due to Myk, Gayle and probably Youan away.

I really like Bowie but he still has a bit to prove for me. Shown he’s a brilliant impact sub but not the same effect from the start imo. Hopefully a full pre season makes him excel next season

Need quite a few players in

17-06-2025, 09:32 PM
Big job on our hands bringing in forward due to Myk, Gayle and probably Youan away.

I really like Bowie but he still has a bit to prove for me. Shown he’s a brilliant impact sub but not the same effect from the start imo. Hopefully a full pre season makes him excel next season

Agreed. Starting to look a bit thin

17-06-2025, 09:36 PM

Youan could solve a lot of issues for us if he’s still here. He’s got to play and perform for the sake of his career now. It’s amazing how often players do that once they’re in to the last year of a contract. Would be interesting to know how much interest there actually is in him at the moment given how the last 12-18 months have went.

MacGruber
17-06-2025, 09:38 PM

Yeah, adding in Hoilett aswell

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 09:38 PM
I see it as a pretty good deal for us getting a bit more than we paid out. He’s not been a good signing and re couping our outlay is fine. I’d say I’d be happy to get a million quid fir Youan too

I think it's pretty poor from us I expected at least 2. The boys just got in the team of the season in a league considerably better than ours.

17-06-2025, 09:40 PM

Gayle will be a big miss, hard to replace his quality.

17-06-2025, 09:40 PM
Happy with that, would be hoping we’re looking at better.

:agree: Never really got what other seen in Myko to be fair

Ribs1875
17-06-2025, 09:45 PM
Youan is one I can't see leaving. I don't think clubs will be in for him on the back of what was a nonexistent season.

17-06-2025, 09:45 PM
I think it's pretty poor from us I expected at least 2. The boys just got in the team of the season in a league considerably better than ours.

I think any sell on fee will be the significant part of this deal.

We will look to cover our losses with the transfer fee but make profit from future fees.

If we don’t do that then we risk getting nowt for him next summer. Get the deal done quickly so we can plan for next season now.

17-06-2025, 09:47 PM
Youan is one I can't see leaving. I don't think clubs will be in for him on the back of what was a nonexistent season.

I think that too.

He might come out the traps flying after pre-season and win a move before the window slams shut but I suspect he will be around for our early games.

Donegal Hibby
17-06-2025, 09:49 PM
A bit cryptic, I don't get it anyway

Signing .. Aussie .. Number 10? Boyles 10 , Triantis was 26 . Maybe hinting at signing a striker who can play as an attacking midfielder? Or just nothing in it .

Ribs1875
17-06-2025, 09:54 PM
I think that too.

He might come out the traps flying after pre-season and win a move before the window slams shut but I suspect he will be around for our early games.

He's a typical French football player. If everything goes his way he's good, but as soon as it doesn't then he downs tools. He is talented and has ability, but he strikes me as someone who was a hot prospect in their younger days who never hit their heights and lost their way.

17-06-2025, 09:57 PM
I frequently forget Monty existed. Like a traumatic brain injury from a terrible car crash.

Wonder if he will try and move with Ange wherever he ends up?

Didn’t do well as Hibs boss but wish the guy well.

17-06-2025, 10:02 PM

Thats part of problem he's not level of Ajax psv and feynoord. He's not a star signing as only Heerenveen interest at moment suggests he's also 26 and available for free in a year

Whelahan 1875
17-06-2025, 10:21 PM
He's a typical French football player. If everything goes his way he's good, but as soon as it doesn't then he downs tools. He is talented and has ability, but he strikes me as someone who was a hot prospect in their younger days who never hit their heights and lost their way.
aye right enough, the 2 French world cup winning squads downed tools at the first sign of trouble, as did Franck Sauzee, Boozy, Zitelli etc :rolleyes:

17-06-2025, 10:28 PM
Joe Shaughnessy worth a contract? Always rated him. Dundee confirmed he is leaving.

Mo Sylla a decent back up if Triantis doesn’t sign?

17-06-2025, 10:39 PM

Seems none of those three will be back so definitely need strikers.

EGL2000
17-06-2025, 10:40 PM
Joe Shaughnessy worth a contract? Always rated him. Dundee confirmed he is leaving.

Mo Sylla a decent back up if Triantis doesn’t sign?

Are we not trying to improve not go significantly backwards? Sylla would be a huge downgrade on him. Luckily he's signed for someone else anyway. I actually don't mind Shaughnessy as a player but not the level we should be looking at.

17-06-2025, 10:40 PM
aye right enough, the 2 French world cup winning squads downed tools at the first sign of trouble, as did Franck Sauzee, Boozy, Zitelli etc :rolleyes:

Fair.

17-06-2025, 10:42 PM
We need two strikers minimum. And the most difficult position to fill.

I would be signing Ronan Hale as one of them right now.

17-06-2025, 10:44 PM

We do. But can Rudi also make an impact next season?

MacGruber
17-06-2025, 10:46 PM
Guesswork?

Wonder if the Australian flag and the 10 hints at that striker Noah Botic that has been mentioned with interest from Scotland,

17-06-2025, 10:58 PM
Wonder if the Australian flag and the 10 hints at that striker Noah Botic that has been mentioned with interest from Scotland,

Is that not the signing of Martin Boyle’s extension? It has 23rd April next to it

Then the implication another Australian is about to be signed

MacGruber
17-06-2025, 11:01 PM
Is that not the signing of Martin Boyle’s extension? It has 23rd April next to it

Then the implication another Australian is about to be signed

Ah yeah so it is.

Donegal Hibby
17-06-2025, 11:17 PM
Did anyone sign Josh Mulligan yet? Good player , if we lost Miller he’d be a good option.

Yorkshire HFC
18-06-2025, 04:29 AM

I don't understand why Vente can't be one of them - whatever issues he has, surely it's up to the management team to sort them out and get him playing well for Hibs.

Surely that's less risk and less cost than buying two new players?

If we've got a £2m asset then why can't we use him?

houstonhibbee
18-06-2025, 04:41 AM
I don't understand why Vente can't be one of them - whatever issues he has, surely it's up to the management team to sort them out and get him playing well for Hibs.

Totally agree. We have a very good player there

18-06-2025, 04:49 AM

Think it would be a risk to keep Vente now.

One pretty poor season here and then a really good one back in Holland, his stock has now risen and we have potential to get more than double what we paid for him.

Last year of his contract too iirc and he’s already intimated that he wants to leave

Take the money and reinvest it

18-06-2025, 04:59 AM
Think it would be a risk to keep Vente now.

One pretty poor season here and then a really good one back in Holland, his stock has now risen and we have potential to get more than double what we paid for him.

Last year of his contract too iirc and he’s already intimated that he wants to leave

Take the money and reinvest it

As well as an underwhelming season with us & going into last year of contract he’s publicly said he wants away. We have few saleable asssets so would be silly to take a risk on this one. and risk squad harmony with an unhappy player.

18-06-2025, 05:35 AM

Maybe this is when the black knights step up with one or 2 from Bournemouth or lorient

1875Sean
18-06-2025, 05:39 AM
I see Myko has been released by Swansea, makes sense to take him back on a free

Trinity Hibee
18-06-2025, 05:40 AM
I see Myko has been released by Swansea, makes sense to take him back on a free

He’s signed for Slovak Bratislava

1875Sean
18-06-2025, 05:40 AM

Oh well we move on!

18-06-2025, 06:29 AM
Maybe this is when the black knights step up with one or 2 from Bournemouth or lorient

Having a look at forwards at both teams and it's slim pickings, there is a young boy at Bournemouth who scored for goals in there u21s and his been loaned out and got senior minutes Daniel Adu-Adjei but he's still only 19.

Lorient have a young boy who scored loads in Ligue 2;but it will be a big step up to Ligue 1, still think he may be out of our reach as a loan.

Ribs1875
18-06-2025, 06:56 AM

2010 world Cup French squad was a train wreck, all because of training bust ups and as a result guys downing tools.

Sauzee was in a league of his own. Boozy was a big game player, but useless in some smaller games. Often chickened out of tackles.

18-06-2025, 07:19 AM
2010 world Cup French squad was a train wreck, all because of training bust ups and as a result guys downing tools.

Sauzee was in a league of his own. Boozy was a big game player, but useless in some smaller games. Often chickened out of tackles.

4 years prior and 8 and 12 years later they were in the world cup final.

18-06-2025, 08:17 AM
Anthony Joseph Sky Sports

UPDATE: Heerenveen are hopeful of completing a deal for Hibernian striker Dylan Vente by the end of the week.

It’s understood talks between the clubs have reached an advanced stage.

Hibs are expected to make a profit.

He cost them £700k. Roda JC will be due % of profit.

18-06-2025, 08:18 AM
We do. But can Rudi also make an impact next season?

Rudi isn't a striker.

18-06-2025, 08:19 AM

He doesnt want to live in Scotland.

18-06-2025, 08:25 AM

Heading there in November, hopefully be able to take in a game.

HendoDelivered
18-06-2025, 09:16 AM
Dylan Vente close to transfer to SC Heerenveen

SC Heerenveen and Hibernian FC are close to reaching an agreement over the transfer of Dylan Vente, according to Voetbal International on Wednesday morning. Negotiations between the two clubs are entering the final phase. Heerenveen hopes to finalize the deal this week, with Hibernian reportedly set to receive a transfer fee of around one million euros.

The 26-year-old striker is expected to sign a contract with Heerenveen for three or four seasons. Vente joined Hibernian in the summer of 2023 but failed to secure a regular starting spot. Last season, however, he had a much more successful spell on loan at PEC Zwolle, scoring 13 goals in the Eredivisie.

18-06-2025, 09:18 AM
1 million euros is almost break even after Roda get a small %
Had hoped for more than that

18-06-2025, 09:19 AM
Signing .. Aussie .. Number 10? Boyles 10 , Triantis was 26 . Maybe hinting at signing a striker who can play as an attacking midfielder? Or just nothing in it .

Maybe Boyle has signed an extension to his one year triggered option?

EGL2000
18-06-2025, 09:21 AM

Valued at 2 million on Transfermarket. Yes, it's not gospel but definitely feel we should be trying to get more than that.

18-06-2025, 09:22 AM
Maybe Boyle has signed an extension to his one year triggered option?

The Australian flag + number 10 was an older post (referring to Boyle) that the guy quoted. The new post just has the Australian flag plus a signing emoji. Could be Triantis, could be someone else, could be nonsense.

18-06-2025, 09:30 AM
The Australian flag + number 10 was an older post (referring to Boyle) that the guy quoted. The new post just has the Australian flag plus a signing emoji. Could be Triantis, could be someone else, could be nonsense.

Thanks for that. Probably nonsense then :greengrin

Silky
18-06-2025, 09:36 AM
Valued at 2 million on Transfermarket. Yes, it's not gospel but definitely feel we should be trying to get more than that.

I think it's a case of just getting an unhappy player, who clearly doesn't want to be here, out the door. We maybe could have played hard ball and held out for more. That, potentially could have led to teams backing out and us being stuck with him until next summer when he could move on a free. Then, were all on here berating the club for not cashing in when we had the chance. He was hopeless when he was here and, frankly, to get £1m for him I think was decent. We offered much, much less than that for Simon Murray who offers much more than Vente, for example, and Bowie, according to reports, cost less.

badabing67
18-06-2025, 09:42 AM
Think it went
Wed - Euro opposition
Thu - new strip
Fri - players return

Pretty sure SPFL fixtures are released at 9am on Friday

18-06-2025, 10:02 AM

I ask for jamie maclaren back every transfer window. Could this be the time!! Exactly what we need to be fair...

18-06-2025, 10:06 AM
Did anyone sign Josh Mulligan yet? Good player , if we lost Miller he’d be a good option.

They don’t play the same position

18-06-2025, 10:07 AM
I ask for jamie maclaren back every transfer window. Could this be the time!! Exactly what we need to be fair...

I'd take Crocodile Dundee at this point.

18-06-2025, 10:07 AM

No chance. He'll be on Megabucks in India.

18-06-2025, 10:15 AM

€1 mil is a stinking deal following the season he just had in the Dutch tip flight. Has to be more than that, surely.

18-06-2025, 10:22 AM
Hopefully we insert a huge sell on into Ventes contract. I still see him ending up back at Feyenoord, especially if he replicates last seasons form.

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 10:27 AM
€1 mil is a stinking deal following the season he just had in the Dutch tip flight. Has to be more than that, surely.

If that figure is correct then it is disappointing though maybe there’s a few add-ons in it too ? . Another way to look at it is at least we are breaking even out of this rather than him walking away for nothing in a while and the money might help us get another decent player in.

EGL2000
18-06-2025, 10:32 AM

That's where I'm at. If he does go for what some are saying then he's only went up in value 300k since we bought him ??? The boys just got a place in the team of the season in a league above our Standard. Find me another striker at that age who is available for 1 million playing in a top European league, I think you would really struggle.

We got a similar amount of money for Melkerson! To be fair though I think the club done very well in that deal.

MacGruber
18-06-2025, 10:46 AM
Don't know the ins and outs of the deal, will wait to see what it actually is rather than speculated to be. Perhaps Hibs would take less upfront for a larger sell on % and take the gamble he has another good season in the top flight next year and a bigger club comes in. We don't know anything yet

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 10:49 AM
Scott Tiffoney joins Killie on a two year deal ..

https://x.com/KilmarnockFC/status/1935275983923236889

18-06-2025, 10:52 AM
Scott Tiffoney joins Killie on a two year deal ..

https://x.com/KilmarnockFC/status/1935275983923236889

Dundee loose another player, they have a small poor squad.

Killie sign a player and I'm not sure that improves them as a team.

18-06-2025, 10:57 AM

I'd be amazed if they weren't relegated. Especially with Pressley now managing them. It's quite bizarre what's happened at Dundee and it all seems to have been planned.

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 11:06 AM

I think Killie’s signings so far are all pretty much in that bracket in I’m not sure any of them improve them . Dundee appears to be on some sort of self destruction plan . I think it’s going to be a very interesting relegation battle this season.

18-06-2025, 11:41 AM
https://i.ibb.co/DDqj1sbL/Screenshot-20250618-124031.png (https://ibb.co/fYcTXBSQ)

18-06-2025, 11:47 AM
I think it's a case of just getting an unhappy player, who clearly doesn't want to be here, out the door. We maybe could have played hard ball and held out for more. That, potentially could have led to teams backing out and us being stuck with him until next summer when he could move on a free. Then, were all on here berating the club for not cashing in when we had the chance. He was hopeless when he was here and, frankly, to get £1m for him I think was decent. We offered much, much less than that for Simon Murray who offers much more than Vente, for example, and Bowie, according to reports, cost less.

I agree. I think some folk are being a bit greedy and unrealistic. There were a few on here doubting we’d even get our money back on Vente at the start of last season.

18-06-2025, 12:03 PM
I think Killie’s signings so far are all pretty much in that bracket in I’m not sure any of them improve them . Dundee appears to be on some sort of self destruction plan . I think it’s going to be a very interesting relegation battle this season.

Agreed. Much be such a frustrating team to support. A club hell bent on self destruction

18-06-2025, 12:19 PM
Agreed. Much be such a frustrating team to support. A club hell bent on self destruction

Do they not have a mad habit of coming through destructive phases? What I mean by that is that did they not get promoted, sack their manager, have pretty much all their players out of contract and have to start from scratch then actually have a pretty respectable following season?

I’d take a bit of convincing that appointing Steven Pressley as manager is an inspired move but can a fairly clean slate not be something half decent to work with?

Separate note, I’ve always thought Tiffoney looked like quite a handy player, who might have earned a gig on a bigger stage.

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 12:25 PM

Post on the Dundee forum that some Hibs fan on twitter saying that Dundee are after Jair Tavares , can’t see it but with the way they’re going about things you never know i suppose 🤞

Hibees1973
18-06-2025, 12:33 PM
I agree. I think some folk are being a bit greedy and unrealistic. There were a few on here doubting we’d even get our money back on Vente at the start of last season.

Correct.

We bought him for around £700k. Was very poor with us and now in the last year of his contract. Pity we had a churn in managers at the time, which did not help us get the best out of Vente.

Did OK for a lower level club in the top division for a year in The Netherlands. Unless other clubs contact Hibs wanting Vente and bid a higher value, I reckon £1m is a decent return.

Will be lucky to break even given Roda will get a chunk.

18-06-2025, 12:35 PM
That's where I'm at. If he does go for what some are saying then he's only went up in value 300k since we bought him ??? The boys just got a place in the team of the season in a league above our Standard. Find me another striker at that age who is available for 1 million playing in a top European league, I think you would really struggle.

We got a similar amount of money for Melkerson! To be fair though I think the club done very well in that deal.

The sceptic in me says that we never got close to 1 million for Melkersen.

There are other factors to consider, last year of contract being one. If the deal is done then we can move on and use the cash for our own signing targets. Who's to say Vente's success last season wasn't a flash in the pan. I would have hoped for more, but also pleased it's done so quick.

18-06-2025, 12:39 PM
Correct.

We bought him for around £700k. Was very poor with us and now in the last year of his contract. Pity we had a churn in managers at the time, which did not help us get the best out of Vente.

Did OK for a lower level club in the top division for a year in The Netherlands. Unless other clubs contact Hibs wanting Vente and bid a higher value, I reckon £1m is a decent return.

Roda get a chunk of any profit. If we don't break even, they get nothing.

18-06-2025, 12:40 PM

Will only be % of profit, if we don't make a profit, we don't owe them. I think getting our money back was the main thing.

18-06-2025, 12:40 PM
Post on the Dundee forum that some Hibs fan on twitter saying that Dundee are after Jair Tavares , can’t see it but with the way they’re going about things you never know i suppose 🤞

Agent Pressley getting down to business! :greengrin

18-06-2025, 12:41 PM
Will only be % of profit, if we don't make a profit, we don't owe them. I think getting our money back was the main thing.

Plus a chunk off the wage bill that can be used for another player.

18-06-2025, 12:45 PM
The sceptic in me says that we never got close to 1 million for Melkersen.

Hibs went on record at the time stating we'd received a 7 figure fee. If we didn't, they were lying publicly- and I can't see them doing that.

Hibees1973
18-06-2025, 12:46 PM
Hibs went on record at the time stating we'd received a 7 figure fee. If we didn't, they were lying publicly- and I can't see them doing that.

Who said that, Kensell :cb

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 12:51 PM
Sheffield Wednesday could be having a quiet transfer window …

https://x.com/SkySportsNews/status/1935275360456790445

18-06-2025, 12:53 PM
Who said that, Kensell :cb

He was quoted as saying the fee was significantly higher than what we'd paid but I don't see any reason to doubt what the media were told. Hibs Observer said £1.2 plus a significant sell-on. Don't see why the club would exaggerate on this.

18-06-2025, 12:57 PM
He was quoted as saying the fee was significantly higher than what we'd paid but I don't see any reason to doubt what the media were told. Hibs Observer said £1.2 plus a significant sell-on. Don't see why the club would exaggerate on this.

:wink: Especially since it may encourage teams we are looking to buy players from to hold out for more money.

18-06-2025, 12:59 PM
I'd take Crocodile Dundee at this point.We should sign Alligator Arbroath at this point and make it snappy.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

18-06-2025, 01:01 PM
We should sign Alligator Arbroath at this point and make it snappy.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

A player to get his teeth into the opposition - like it! :greengrin

18-06-2025, 01:04 PM
Sheffield Wednesday could be having a quiet transfer window …

https://x.com/SkySportsNews/status/1935275360456790445

I think the Wednesday fans just want and need Chansri out of the club, I think they would accept relegation at this point if he was away from the club.

EGL2000
18-06-2025, 01:09 PM
Correct.

Did ok ???? He got in the team of the year!

ShadesLongThrow
18-06-2025, 01:10 PM

Just walked past Easter Road and there’s a massive line of cars, all vying to drive him to Dens.

CentreForward
18-06-2025, 01:16 PM

If it’s euros and it was 700k in pounds that we paid for him and we have to give a percentage to Roda then we would just about break even. That would be a shocking deal, especially given the things that you mention. Anything less than the €2m that was previously mentioned would be bad!

Murdoch
18-06-2025, 01:17 PM
Heading there in November, hopefully be able to take in a game.

I was at Slovan v Trnava in March. Nice modern stadium with good food and beer pre match, so head there early! Good atmosphere despite there being no away fans but that actual quality of the teams wasn’t great. Think Myko will do well there as I’d fancy Hibs to beat both teams.

18-06-2025, 01:47 PM
The problem with Vente is that the worth of the player to us is a lot less than the worth to Herenveen. He is in the last year of the contract with us and he was almost completely anonymous up here, and has said himself he doesn’t get the sort of balls he needs to score in this league.

We’re not in a strong negotiating position and if we can wipe our feet with the deal it’s a decent outcome from a poor signing.

The idea we’d see some sort of bidding war was always pie in the sky because teams know the above and that we’re not going to turn down the chance to turn a small profit.

18-06-2025, 02:09 PM
The problem with Vente is that the worth of the player to us is a lot less than the worth to Herenveen. He is in the last year of the contract with us and he was almost completely anonymous up here, and has said himself he doesn’t get the sort of balls he needs to score in this league.

We’re not in a strong negotiating position and if we can wipe our feet with the deal it’s a decent outcome from a poor signing.

The idea we’d see some sort of bidding war was always pie in the sky because teams know the above and that we’re not going to turn down the chance to turn a small profit.

Thank you for bringing some realism to this subject.

As Hibs fans we can bump our gums all we want, but we are subject to the market. And unfortunately the market decides. As a club all we can do is play our hand as well as we can.

18-06-2025, 02:38 PM

I would take it all with a pinch of salt. £1.2 million. No chance, even with every conceivable add on imaginable

18-06-2025, 02:43 PM
Just walked past Easter Road and there’s a massive line of cars, all vying to drive him to Dens.

18-06-2025, 02:51 PM
Thank you for bringing some realism to this subject.

As Hibs fans we can bump our gums all we want, but we are subject to the market. And unfortunately the market decides. As a club all we can do is play our hand as well as we can.
Also we’ll have saved part of his wages during the season.

18-06-2025, 02:54 PM

I see it totally differently

The guy has just spent a year at a smaller team than Heerenveen showcasing that he is made for their league, he is road tested in their division, and he provides what they are missing - goals.

There's a long window in front of us and not many other strikers available with that track record in Heerenveen's league.

If they want him, there's a price...

18-06-2025, 02:59 PM

The guy has just spent a year at a smaller team than Heerenveen showcasing that he is made for their league, he is road tested in their division, and he provides what they are missing - goals.

There's a long window in front of us and not many other strikers available with that track record in Heerenveen's league.

Aye and whatever that price is looks like they are paying it.

18-06-2025, 03:00 PM

Yip, and that price halves if he's still here at the end of August.

1875M
18-06-2025, 03:00 PM

I see both sides. He’s said himself, he doesn’t want to live in Scotland. If we don’t sell him, he’s unhappy which causes issues in itself. Say he had a decent season and scores 15 goals. Great. His contract is up and we get nothing. I would’ve liked more than the quoted £1m personally but see why he’s been sold.

tonyrougier123
18-06-2025, 03:07 PM
Bout time we had a signing hibees cmon now!! 🧐

dmc1875
18-06-2025, 03:10 PM
McGrath must be getting unveiled soon surely?

18-06-2025, 03:19 PM
McGrath must be getting unveiled soon surely?

He said his goodbyes to Aberdeen on social media yesterday so I assume it’ll be today or tomorrow.

Our plans for the week may be skewed by the early leak of the strip?

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 03:27 PM

😆

18-06-2025, 03:30 PM
He said his goodbyes to Aberdeen on social media yesterday so I assume it’ll be today or tomorrow.

Nah, looked like we had the players ready in advance for the launch. Doubt the leak done anything to impact any other plans.

18-06-2025, 03:31 PM

Well I'm kind of hoping either/or/both Bushiri/Triantis are signing and announcements are imminent or Hibs have given an either or both an ultimatum "turn up at pre season on Friday or we're moving on to other targets". Need to get some more bodies in for the Euro adventure!

Silky
18-06-2025, 03:34 PM
Well I'm kind of hoping either/or/both Bushiri/Triantis are signing and announcements are imminent or Hibs have given an either or both an ultimatum "turn up at pre season on Friday or we're moving on to other targets". Need to get some more bodies in for the Euro adventure!

Do we need bodies in for bodies sake, or do we do the due dilligence and get players who will enhance the squad? There's still over a month until we kick off in Europe.

18-06-2025, 03:34 PM

Good post, sensible assessment.

Paul1642
18-06-2025, 03:36 PM

Not sure Triantis is contractually allowed to turn up to Hibs training on Friday.

18-06-2025, 03:37 PM
Will any of the internationalists have more time off?

Bowie
Miller
Boyle
Mannie
Moriah Welsh
Obita

Also I think the GK isn't joining up until later?

Add to that Hoilet and Rocky who are no longer under contract.

18-06-2025, 03:42 PM
Do we need bodies in for bodies sake, or do we do the due dilligence and get players who will enhance the squad? There's still over a month until we kick off in Europe.

I'm sure our recruitment team have been busy for months on their targets and have all the due diligence they need.

18-06-2025, 03:43 PM
Not sure Triantis is contractually allowed to turn up to Hibs training on Friday.

I'm hoping beyond hope that we have reached agreement with Sunderland and it's up to the player! :greengrin

18-06-2025, 03:44 PM

Considering all of our rivals have been signing players I'd be quite alarmed if we'd been sitting on our hands not doing due diligence.

18-06-2025, 03:52 PM

We’ve had plenty time to get prepared for this window, there’s no excuses not to have our squad where it needs to be to make a real push for European groups

I can accept getting beat from a better team but not having a squad prepared enough to challenge isn’t good enough for example Reijka away.

18-06-2025, 03:53 PM
Really not long until our game against Mitjylland

They’re a very strong team and be hard to beat

We’re missing a good chunk of the spine of our team in Rocky, Triantis and Myko. 2 of which were our best players last season.

Big couple of weeks to get new players in/renew contracts.

Will be hard to replace these guys and be as good as we were last season, let alone better!

Hopefully an exciting couple of weeks coming up and plenty incomings

18-06-2025, 04:09 PM

But the price if we don’t sell him is an unhappy player who doesn’t really contribute much in this league on presumably quite a large wage, and we lose him for free in the summer.

There’s more jeapordy for us than them if they choose to move on to another target.

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 04:10 PM
Considering all of our rivals have been signing players I'd be quite alarmed if we'd been sitting on our hands not doing due diligence.

I remember one of our rivals signing players like Spittal and Dhanda and there was a bit of panic on here at one stage . It’s not really about what our rivals do but more we get our own recruitment right . We haven’t been sitting on our hands as we have McGrath and Sallinger signed , confident in our recruitment now .

18-06-2025, 04:14 PM
Really not long until our game against Mitjylland

They’re a very strong team and be hard to beat

We’re missing a good chunk of the spine of our team in Rocky, Triantis and Myko. 2 of which were our best players last season.

Big couple of weeks to get new players in/renew contracts.

Will be hard to replace these guys and be as good as we were last season, let alone better!

Hopefully an exciting couple of weeks coming up and plenty incomings

Can I just clarify the situation regarding that game (apologies if this has been clarified elsewhere).

If we lose, we drop down and have another difficult game against a strong team that sees us knocked out of Europe. If we win, we get a tough team and if we lose that we drop down into the Conference group stages.

If we win both we're in the group stages of the Europa League albeit this is highly unlikely.

Do I have that right?

Reason I'm asking this here is that this may shape our transfer desperation/ urgency. It would be great to have a good side ready to face the Danes but is that really going to be practical if neither Triantis or Rocky sign up with us again?

Do we prefer getting optimal business done later in the window or do we "make do" earlier in order to have the best possible chance of European progression, albeit that may end up being kiboshed very early indeed with a familiarly stinking July European result.

18-06-2025, 04:17 PM
Vente to be announced by Heerenveen tomorrow apparently.

18-06-2025, 04:22 PM
I remember one of our rivals signing players like Spittal and Dhanda and there was a bit of panic on here at one stage . It’s not really about what our rivals do but more we get our own recruitment right . We haven’t been sitting on our hands as we have McGrath and Sallinger signed , confident in our recruitment now .

At the very minimum we MUST sign a striker prior to our Euro tie as it would be completely unacceptable to be heading into that with only Bowie. Getting one in early to get a pre season with the team would be preferable if possible.

18-06-2025, 04:22 PM

And the bit in bold is the main reason this is a good deal for us. He was never coming back to play for us, he is just not suited to our league. If he was rated as worth much more than the figures mentioned to a Dutch team then there would have been other bids in for him. Looks like the price is about right though, both ourselves and the player move on.

18-06-2025, 04:23 PM
I see John Park is new head of recruitment at st.mirren

18-06-2025, 04:26 PM
At the very minimum we MUST sign a striker prior to our Euro tie as it would be completely unacceptable to be heading into that with only Bowie. Getting one in early to get a pre season with the team would be preferable if possible.

That brings back bad memories of the last time we rushed to sign a striker before a European tie. Turned out we were all feared of the beard in the end. Rowan Vine. I shudder every time I see his name.

18-06-2025, 04:32 PM
That brings back bad memories of the last time we rushed to sign a striker before a European tie. Turned out we were all feared of the beard in the end. Rowan Vine. I shudder every time I see his name.

Wasn’t just him, that team was terrible, and ultimately were relegated

I still wonder how Fenlon for the back 4 so wrong for the game in Malmo
Lewis right back
Forster right centre back
McPake left centre back
Hanlon left back

18-06-2025, 04:33 PM

The fear of signing Rowan Vine should not be the reason we don’t sign a striker in time for Europe. Hopefully we have targets lined up and you should really apologise for reminding us about Rowan Vine. 😩😂

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 04:37 PM

We will need 3 minimum if we fail to resign Rocky and Triantis IMO . Ball playing CH , Defensive Midfielder and a Striker ( target man ) .

Jock O
18-06-2025, 04:38 PM
Am I being over optimistic in thinking Triantis must still be at club if he is modelling new strip? Technically he should be down the road again, or is his loan contract still running?

I appreciate my desperation stakes to sign him are getting higher daily, but surely we don't pin our new season launch on a player we don't expect to have?

Or have we just given him a hugely lucrative modelling gig to help make up his mind.......

18-06-2025, 04:40 PM
We will need 3 minimum if we fail to resign Rocky and Triantis IMO . Ball playing CH , Defensive Midfielder and a Striker ( target man ) .

Step forward Ryan Porteous :cb

Mon Hibs make it happen ! :pray:

HendoDelivered
18-06-2025, 04:41 PM
Am I being over optimistic in thinking Triantis must still be at club if he is modelling new strip? Technically he should be down the road again, or is his loan contract still running?

I appreciate my desperation stakes to sign him are getting higher daily, but surely we don't pin our new season launch on a player we don't expect to have?

Or have we just given him a hugely lucrative modelling gig to help make up his mind.......

Where is he modelling the new kit about?

I haven’t seen Triantis in the new strip, have you?

He’s not modelling the new strip though.

Jock O
18-06-2025, 04:43 PM
Where is he modelling the new kit about?

Sorry for some reason I though he was in the picture I had seen?

Now you have really ruined my day :greengrin:greengrin

18-06-2025, 04:43 PM
Somebody getting him mixed up with O'Hora me thinks.

18-06-2025, 04:44 PM
The fear of signing Rowan Vine should not be the reason we don’t sign a striker in time for Europe. Hopefully we have targets lined up and you should really apologise for reminding us about Rowan Vine. 😩😂

Jock O
18-06-2025, 04:46 PM
Somebody getting him mixed up with O'Hora me thinks.

Just had another look and either my desperation stakes have made me see things, or I need new glasses. Guilty as charged

Off to mope now

18-06-2025, 04:53 PM

Totally agree.

Bob Box Fish
18-06-2025, 04:56 PM
Anyone else think the club are being rather generous with Rocky and Hoilett on how long they are getting to make a decision .

18-06-2025, 05:00 PM
Anyone else think the club are being rather generous with Rocky and Hoilett on how long they are getting to make a decision .

I can’t believe that we are sitting just waiting on them making a decision now. We have to either know what is happening with them and/or pursuing other players.

18-06-2025, 05:03 PM
Totally agree, time for them to sh*t or get off the pot.

18-06-2025, 05:04 PM
I can’t believe that we are sitting just waiting on them making a decision now. We have to either know what is happening with them and/or pursuing other players.

I’ll probably get it in the neck from the usuals who take offence to my posts but we always seem to be behind when it comes to transfers.

Does my box in. Never seem to hit the ground running when we knew it was a summer of overhauling the squad.

18-06-2025, 05:04 PM

Maybe we are not. Maybe decisions have been made and the early strip release is to try and soften the blow! [emoji2369]

18-06-2025, 05:05 PM
Totally agree, time for them to sh*t or get off the pot.

Hoilett on the toilet then. 😂

18-06-2025, 05:08 PM

:thumbsup: P*ss or get off the pot!

18-06-2025, 05:13 PM
I’ll probably get it in the neck from the usuals who take offence to my posts but we always seem to be behind when it comes to transfers.

Does my box in. Never seem to hit the ground running when we knew it was a summer of overhauling the squad.

I don’t feel like we are behind. I think the squad is in as strong a position as it’s been at this point of the year for a long time. It’s never going to be complete at this point in time. I think there will be more players in and/or re-signed by the time we go to Holland next weekend.

18-06-2025, 05:14 PM
Dundee have posted their squad numbers today, they have listed 17 players and 3 of them are goalkeepers.

King Cosell
18-06-2025, 05:18 PM

There was a short-lived Viz character called Tarquin Hoylet - He has to go to the Toilet.

Someone's in grave danger, Tarquin comes to the rescue, but then he has to go to the toilet, and the person dies. It was great.

18-06-2025, 05:25 PM
Can I just clarify the situation regarding that game (apologies if this has been clarified elsewhere).

If we lose, we drop down and have another difficult game against a strong team that sees us knocked out of Europe. If we win, we get a tough team and if we lose that we drop down into the Conference group stages.

If we win both we're in the group stages of the Europa League albeit this is highly unlikely.

Do I have that right?

Reason I'm asking this here is that this may shape our transfer desperation/ urgency. It would be great to have a good side ready to face the Danes but is that really going to be practical if neither Triantis or Rocky sign up with us again?

Do we prefer getting optimal business done later in the window or do we "make do" earlier in order to have the best possible chance of European progression, albeit that may end up being kiboshed very early indeed with a familiarly stinking July European result.

We’re currently in the second round (QR2). If we win we go to Europa QR3, lose and we got to conference league QR3

If we win Europa QR3 we move to the Europa play offs, lose and we go to the conference league play offs . Win and we move to the Europa play offs ( where we would have automatically have been if Celtic won the cup).

Win the play off and we have europa league group stage football, lose the play off and we have group stage football in the conference league.

If we lose any europa game out with the play off, we automatically drop into the next round of the conference league and would need to win all rounds including the play off tie for group stage football.

18-06-2025, 05:48 PM

Could be worse, I could be reminding you about Martin Scott and Paul Cairney.

18-06-2025, 05:56 PM

🫣

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 06:14 PM

One that’s came back to me is Pat Fenlon standing with some of his new signings,had totally erased that from my memory until now 😟

18-06-2025, 06:23 PM

I really liked the look of Martin Scott - he looked the main part of that Ross County team that was well the better side in the first cup game, and then obviously pumped us out in the replay.

His only redeeming feature for Hibs was probably headless chicken energy. Absolutely pants as a footballer for us.

18-06-2025, 06:33 PM
I really liked the look of Martin Scott - he looked the main part of that Ross County team that was well the better side in the first cup game, and then obviously pumped us out in the replay.

His only redeeming feature for Hibs was probably headless chicken energy. Absolutely pants as a footballer for us.

Martin Scott! I have two memories of his play at Easter Road.

Taking a quick free kick close to the centre circle and spraying the ball out to a player running down the West Stand touchline, only for the ball to land top row of the bottom tier.

And sliding in trying to stop the ball going out for an opposition throw-in close to the centre line, only for him to concede a corner instead.

18-06-2025, 06:36 PM
Dundee have posted their squad numbers today, they have listed 17 players and 3 of them are goalkeepers.

Threw money at it last season to be down near the bottom, cuts had to come.

18-06-2025, 06:37 PM

Reported.

18-06-2025, 07:12 PM

Why do I have a vague memory of Cairney scoring a worldie? Am I imagining that?

18-06-2025, 07:13 PM

Martin Scott scored a thirty yard screamer in Ian Murray’s testimonial.

Bridge hibs
18-06-2025, 07:19 PM

I remember Barry Prenderville scored a 35 yard screamer into Ally Maxwell against Morton when we were in the 1st division , but I cant remember what I done 10 minutes ago 🫣

18-06-2025, 07:22 PM
We’re currently in the second round (QR2). If we win we go to Europa QR3, lose and we got to conference league QR3

If we win Europa QR3 we move to the Europa play offs, lose and we go to the conference league play offs . Win and we move to the Europa play offs ( where we would have automatically have been if Celtic won the cup).

Win the play off and we have europa league group stage football, lose the play off and we have group stage football in the conference league.

If we lose any europa game out with the play off, we automatically drop into the next round of the conference league and would need to win all rounds including the play off tie for group stage football.Not a bloody hope in hell of qualifying for group stages of either competition, sadly.

Sent from my Pixel 7 using Tapatalk

18-06-2025, 07:25 PM
I remember Barry Prenderville scored a 35 yard screamer into Ally Maxwell against Morton when we were in the 1st division , but I cant remember what I done 10 minutes ago 🫣

Thought the boy was going to be a player and was hoping we could sign him permanently 😅 think he was on loan from Coventry and Strachan was the manager there.

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 07:28 PM

I lent you twenty quid , 8 pack of Guinness and a large bag of hand cooked crisps … honest :greengrin

18-06-2025, 07:31 PM
Not a bloody hope in hell of qualifying for group stages of either competition, sadly.

That's the spirit.

Bridge hibs
18-06-2025, 07:36 PM
I lent you twenty quid , 8 pack of Guinness and a large bag of hand cooked crisps … honest :greengrin

Im no that ****ing daft, Ive never been in a hot air balloon Agnes 😄

18-06-2025, 07:42 PM
I liked Cairney

ferry hibby
18-06-2025, 07:50 PM
Threw money at it last season to be down near the bottom, cuts had to come.

Time for Murray to make an exit?

alibaba
18-06-2025, 08:02 PM

Yes I’m sure he did against Aberdeen if I remember correctly

18-06-2025, 08:03 PM
Yes I’m sure he did against Aberdeen if I remember correctly

That was Gary Deegan. They were very similar though.

alibaba
18-06-2025, 08:09 PM
That was Gary Deegan. They were very similar though.

Yes you’re right as soon as I posted it I realised I was getting them mixed up

18-06-2025, 08:13 PM
Not a bloody hope in hell of qualifying for group stages of either competition, sadly.

Nonsense of course we have a chance

Donegal Hibby
18-06-2025, 08:21 PM

Last season I thought Queen’s Park hadn’t a bloody hope in hell of beating Sevco at ibrox and Plymouth , Liverpool . Never say never .

18-06-2025, 08:22 PM
Was this boy not another player Aberdeen were meant to have beaten Hibs to sign??

Aberdeen have told winger Vicente Besuijen he is free to find another club during the summer transfer window.

The Dons paid around £400,000 to sign Besuijen from Dutch club ADO Den Haag in January 2022.

Besuijen arrived at Pittodrie on a four-and-a-half year deal and is still contracted to Aberdeen until summer 2026.

The winger missed the second half of the recently completed campaign due to a knee injury suffered in December that required surgery.

Prior to the injury he started only one game in boss Jimmy Thelin’s debut season at Pittodrie, with 13 appearances off the bench.

MagicSwirlingShip
18-06-2025, 08:42 PM

A mazy dribble featuring a one two. I think 🤔

18-06-2025, 08:45 PM

Ridiculous. Either extreme pessimism or complete lack of football knowledge.

How do you explain the Welsh team TNS qualifying last season. Won at least 2 qualifiers. Shamrock?

18-06-2025, 08:56 PM

How do you explain the Welsh team TNS qualifying last season. Won at least 2 qualifiers. Shamrock?

Did they not come from Champions League qualifiers though?

More competitions to fall back on than us, plus they would have been parachuted into ties a lot more winnable than me have.

We're going to need some great results to achieve group football, I don't think anyone can dispute that. We CAN do it though.

18-06-2025, 08:57 PM

TNS is completely different

They qualified for the champions league qualifiers

Lost their game, went to the Europa and then lost that. They then got a team called Panevėžys from Lithuania in the conference league play off which they won

The coefficient worked for them along with a bit of luck, not them being a brilliant team or causing upsets

18-06-2025, 09:06 PM
There was a short-lived Viz character called Tarquin Hoylet - He has to go to the Toilet.

Someone's in grave danger, Tarquin comes to the rescue, but then he has to go to the toilet, and the person dies. It was great.

That’s outstanding 😂

19-06-2025, 05:15 AM
Did they not come from Champions League qualifiers though?

More competitions to fall back on than us, plus they would have been parachuted into ties a lot more winnable than me have.

We're going to need some great results to achieve group football, I don't think anyone can dispute that. We CAN do it though.

“Not a bloody hope in hell“ was the phrase used.

I’m not comparing level of opponents having checked how both teams I mentioned qualified last season. If a Welsh team on a fraction of our budget can get through then - like you - I’d suggest “we CAN do it though”.

I’ll no be booking time off for group stages yet either mind but that great night in Greece and the mosh pit when going to pens with Brondby aren’t too far back in the memory.

SickBoy32
19-06-2025, 05:59 AM

😂 wow what a condescending post.

TNS, Larne and other pub teams that made it to the conference group stage last season did so through the ‘Champions Path’ I believe. Ie winning their leagues gets them a beneficial qualifying route.

Likely played against mobs from Gibraltar and the Faroes to qualify.

It’s highly unlikely Hibs will qualify for the group stages this season unfortunately. That’s not extreme pessimism nor is it a lack of football knowledge, it’s just reality.

19-06-2025, 06:13 AM
😂 wow what a condescending post.

TNS, Larne and other pub teams that made it to the conference group stage last season did so through the ‘Champions Path’ I believe. Ie winning their leagues gets them a beneficial qualifying route.

Likely played against mobs from Gibraltar and the Faroes to qualify.

It’s highly unlikely Hibs will qualify for the group stages this season unfortunately. That’s not extreme pessimism nor is it a lack of football knowledge, it’s just reality.

Tbf there’s somewhere in between highly unlikely and absolutely no chance.

I think most would agree with you that group stages are unlikely, the system is set up to make it difficult for clubs like ours to progress.

There is still a chance though, it’s definitely not impossible like the previous poster was suggesting. It’ll be incredibly tough but teams of our standard have got through to the group stages through the same path as us before, will take a bit luck, some good recruitment, a favourable draw and probably the seeded team to under estimate us.

19-06-2025, 06:37 AM
Any transfer news?

19-06-2025, 06:44 AM

im pretty sure you would have said there wasn’t a hope in hell of us coming third last November. David Gray makes things happen.

19-06-2025, 06:47 AM
Any transfer news?

Funny you should say that. Maybe we need to set up a dedicated rumours thread so that we don't have to trawl through all the posts about current and former Hibs players, strips, Europe games and other miscellany to find transfer gossip. Just an idea! :wink:

Oh wait........

Paul1642
19-06-2025, 06:51 AM
Tbf there’s somewhere in between highly unlikely and absolutely no chance.

I think most would agree with you that group stages are unlikely, the system is set up to make it difficult for clubs like ours to progress.

There is still a chance though, it’s definitely not impossible like the previous poster was suggesting. It’ll be incredibly tough but teams of our standard have got through to the group stages through the same path as us before, will take a bit luck, some good recruitment, a favourable draw and probably the seeded team to under estimate us.

From what I can gather, Midtjylland are about on par with Rangers in terms of strength, and I certainly wouldn’t rule out Hibs beating Rangers of two legs.

I certainly wouldn’t call it Highly unlikely to no chance. I would call it Unlikely, maybe a 33% chance which isn’t bad odds.

Others have said it, but if we can get away from the first leg with a draw, we’re well and truly in the running at home. I wish the game wasn’t so far away.

MacGruber
19-06-2025, 07:21 AM
From what I can gather, Midtjylland are about on par with Rangers in terms of strength, and I certainly wouldn’t rule out Hibs beating Rangers of two legs.

I certainly wouldn’t call it Highly unlikely to no chance. I would call it Unlikely, maybe a 33% chance which isn’t bad odds.

Others have said it, but if we can get away from the first leg with a draw, we’re well and truly in the running at home. I wish the game wasn’t so far away.

Wouldn't put the odds anywhere as high as 33% however of course there's a chance. We are big underdogs but you see the underdogs come through all the time. What I would say is I'm confident Gray will have us well prepared and up for it. We'll go into it in good shape albeit at this point we are a bit light up top without Gayle, Myko and Hoilett with ?'s over the futures of Vente and Youan. Some firepower is needed and sooner the better to prep for the tie. Sign a couple attackers, ideally re-sign Rocky and Triantis otherwise adequate replacements and let's go for it. No point bumping gums about missing the groups or the tough draw. This is where we have got ourselves to, it's an exciting tie against a good team. Their coach is running his mouth- bring it on!

Tully
19-06-2025, 07:33 AM
Nobody gave Aberdeen a hope in hell against celtic in the final, anything is possible so let's just take our chance and see where it leads us

MacGruber
19-06-2025, 07:37 AM
Nobody gave Aberdeen a hope in hell against celtic in the final, anything is possible so let's just take our chance and see where it leads us

Absolutely. Look at Kelty toppling the mighty Hibernian last year - early season shocks not uncommon

EGL2000
19-06-2025, 07:40 AM
One thing is for sure we now need to go and bring in a significant goal threat. I just looked at the numbers and we have lost the players who contributed to 56% of our league goals from last season.

EGL2000
19-06-2025, 07:41 AM

Very different in a one off game though.

19-06-2025, 07:45 AM
Meanwhile will there be any transfer news today......
Vente away? McGrath in?

19-06-2025, 07:49 AM
Meanwhile will there be any transfer news today......
Vente away? McGrath in?

Guess we might get something about McGrath tomorrow with the players being due back in? Was hoping for an update on Hoilett/Rocky this week too.

19-06-2025, 07:53 AM
Would’ve thought we’d have heard about Rocky and Hoilett by now to be honest. Longer it goes on the less likely it is I’d have thought.

Ribs1875
19-06-2025, 07:55 AM
I've seen a headline article that says Vente is subject to a 1 mil bid from Heerenveen. Surely we should not be settling for anything less than 1.5 mil with add ons.

19-06-2025, 08:03 AM
I've seen a headline article that says Vente is subject to a 1 mil bid from Heerenveen. Surely we should not be settling for anything less than 1.5 mil with add ons.

Have you got a link to the article ?

EGL2000
19-06-2025, 08:03 AM
Would’ve thought we’d have heard about Rocky and Hoilett by now to be honest. Longer it goes on the less likely it is I’d have thought.

Yeah I think they are away now. Don't think we would be in a rush to announce it either so probably what the delay is. Better get looking for some decent replacements, big boots to fill!

Ribs1875
19-06-2025, 08:11 AM
Have you got a link to the article ?

https://www.vi.nl/nieuws/transfer-naar-sc-heerenveen-kwestie-van-tijd-voor-vente

Paul1642
19-06-2025, 08:14 AM

There is no way we can rely on Midtjylland being as toothless as Celtic were that day, especially twice.

Equally I don’t for a minute expect us to be as bad as Aberdeen were, despite the fact they won it. It was terrible game of football.

Ribs1875
19-06-2025, 08:14 AM
They say ‘no thank you’ and we pay another years wages and loan him out again.
Walks away at the end of his contract.
Sound.

Still so early in the transfer window to insinuate no-one else other than Heerenveen would be in for him.

EGL2000
19-06-2025, 08:17 AM
Still so early in the transfer window to insinuate no-one else other than Heerenveen would be in for him.

Exactly it's not like he's just come off the back of a poor season. I think that whole mid to upper pack of team in Netherlands would be interested in some capacity.