View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2025
02-07-2025, 02:40 PM
I find the constant obsession with the idea that we can go a step further and split the old firm close to some yam level of confidence.
We can either progress or stagnate, and this board has told us they want to progress. Our partners should not be making that more difficult.
One player going to an old manager, that might be written off as one of those things, two players is undermining our relationship with BKG.
02-07-2025, 02:43 PM
Personally can't imagine any of the top six clubs being overly worried about Shankland being on the field for Hearts next season.
I know it’s our rivals but that’s just ridiculous
02-07-2025, 02:51 PM
Depends what shankland turns up for them. If it was shankland of last season, on a reported 15k a week, will go down like a lead balloon.
If mcinnes gets him playing again and in his strongest position then it’s really good business for them.
Not sure how many more signings they’ll have coming in now, they seem pretty stacked.
MelbourneHibees
02-07-2025, 03:02 PM
Depends what shankland turns up for them. If it was shankland of last season, on a reported 15k a week, will go down like a lead balloon.
If mcinnes gets him playing again and in his strongest position then it’s really good business for them.
Not sure how many more signings they’ll have coming in now, they seem pretty stacked.
Where is 15k a week being reported? Surely not for a 30 year old?
I had heard closer to 10k but even that could be expensive mistake for them.
02-07-2025, 03:02 PM
Cool, that's your opinion but thanks for playing.
02-07-2025, 03:03 PM
Sunderland being linked with Noah Sadiki, defensive midfielder as one of his positions.
Paul1642
02-07-2025, 03:03 PM
Ultimately we will never know who they would have replaced him with. He will probably be decent or even good for them but for the wages they will be giving him they could quite easy have had better IMO.
It was being reported as a 3 year contract, and his fitness isn’t great at the best of times. Likely by the final year of that contract he will be on big wages for little return.
02-07-2025, 03:06 PM
Is it though?
Scoring wise he had two good seasons at Hearts. Neither of which was last season. His stats were propped up by the insane amount of penalties they seemed to get.
He was rubbish last season. Rubbish in Belgium. Rubbish previously ar Dundee Utd. The great trend in hus career is to be rubbish at this level. Nobody wants him which is why he is stuck at hearts. And he'll hardly be happy at that.
Let's see what a bottom six manager can do with a championship level striker.
02-07-2025, 03:06 PM
I take your point about longevity and planning ahead for an era where we're competing for second. But until we're in a position to be even consistently competing for third I don't think it's something we should concern ourselves with. If they were selling/sending players to Aberdeen or Hearts I could get the anger. But currently we're looking over our shoulder at Aberdeen/United/Hearts to establish ourselves as the best of the rest first and foremost. If we're to challenge Rangers it wouldn't be for years to come and likely any player Bournemouth give them now will play no part in that.
Not seeing a great deal of anger tbh.
I'm not keen on Bournemouth potentially improving a rival in our league. They have their reasons, but I'm a Hibs fan (keyword here is fan) and see this as a bit crap.
We have finished third twice in the past five seasons, our best run of league finishes in 50 years. We have also qualified for Europe three times and reached two national cup finals in that time.
We are challenging Rangers, to win a cup, we may well need to beat them. To qualify for Europe we need to take points from them.
I also see our ambitions as including European football and us targeting the group stages of whatever competition we play in.
I think we as a club can realistically improve and build upon our potential. I'm sure our owners agree with this.
02-07-2025, 03:13 PM
Is it though?
Scoring wise he had two good seasons at Hearts. Neither of which was last season. His stats were propped up by the insane amount of penalties they seemed to get.
He was rubbish last season. Rubbish in Belgium. Rubbish previously ar Dundee Utd. The great trend in hus career is to be rubbish at this level. Nobody wants him which is why he is stuck at hearts. And he'll hardly be happy at that.
:agree: Much better response than the one I made :aok:
02-07-2025, 03:17 PM
I’m pretty sure there’s more to their aspirations than that. Group stage European football being one of them.
There is. I said a target. They’ve never mentioned second place.
02-07-2025, 03:18 PM
Is it though?
There seems to be a feeling going around that just because it's McInnes and just because it's Shankland, they are bound to get a tune out of him.
A bit like in the media where all season it was Hearts will be fine, Hearts will be top 6 etc etc. I seem to recall Preston screaming like a mad man when Shankland scored vs St Mirren on Critchley's debut declaring he is back.
The evidence though is that last season he looked over weight, unfit, poor attitude (see deliberate nonsense yellow card at ER and lack of tracking back for Iredale's goal) as a snapshot. The manager quoting him as potential for getting 25-30goals is completely deluded so he is off to a good start there and knows how to play along already.
02-07-2025, 03:27 PM
Is it. Do you know how many goals Ant n Dec scored against the top six last season. One goal in a 2-1 defeat to Aberdeen 😂😂
02-07-2025, 03:29 PM
Sunderland being linked with Noah Sadiki, defensive midfielder as one of his positions.
Signed for 17m.
02-07-2025, 03:34 PM
There is. I said a target. They’ve never mentioned second place.
Neither did I :wink:
Paulie Walnuts
02-07-2025, 03:37 PM
The 4 after the split was when he started playing as a striker again.
Don't care if I get abuse, but I would have liked him at us rather than them!
Absolutely.
If Shankland had signed for us then I’d be almost at the stage with the rest of the squad we have of saying I can’t see past us for third.
He’s a good re-signing for them and a bigger deal for them than any other player they’ll bring in this summer. Disappointed he’s staying but they’ve got a lot of work to do elsewhere still to catch us.
02-07-2025, 03:39 PM
Shankland has the potential to be very decent in the right team.
I think he’d score an absolute bucketload in our team, for example.
If Hearts can get the right service to him, him re-signing could be massive for them.
If they don’t, he could be about as expensive a dud as we could possibly wish on them.
Shankland won’t be fit. He has a known weight issue and doesn’t train well.
He has zero pace and no strength but I agree he is a clever player on his day.
It might work for them but he won’t get 25-30 goals. For his wages Hearts could have got different and potentially better options. However the mutants will be happy and the media will fawn over them and him. We know the rest. Tears and anger by October.
02-07-2025, 03:46 PM
Ultimately we will never know who they would have replaced him with. He will probably be decent or even good for them but for the wages they will be giving him they could quite easy have had better IMO.
It was being reported as a 3 year contract, and his fitness isn’t great at the best of times. Likely by the final year of that contract he will be on big wages for little return.
No doubt about it.
I think he could do quite well in the McInnes set up but he'll get bored of putting the work in.
Aubenas
02-07-2025, 03:48 PM
Kennah to Tranmere Rovers
02-07-2025, 03:54 PM
Excellent. Another one out.
CentreForward
02-07-2025, 03:56 PM
Shankland has the potential to be very decent in the right team.
I think he’d score an absolute bucketload in our team, for example.
If Hearts can get the right service to him, him re-signing could be massive for them.
If they don’t, he could be about as expensive a dud as we could possibly wish on them.
Sadly you’re right. Didn’t want him anywhere near there !
02-07-2025, 03:57 PM
Excellent. Another one out.
He was already out of contract
02-07-2025, 04:08 PM
Personally can't imagine any of the top six clubs being overly worried about Shankland being on the field for Hearts next season.
Shankland, with the right attitude, is a handful for any defence. It’s his attitude that seems suspect and now I hope lets him down again this coming season. Any club that doesn’t recognise the danger he offers is doing themselves no favours.
A bigger issue for me is how dirty he is and seems to get away with it. As he slows down even more pretty convinced he will do someone a serious injury and I hope it’s not one of our players.
badabing67
02-07-2025, 04:17 PM
Pat Nevin will be over the moon
02-07-2025, 04:19 PM
Is it though?
I’m in the Shankland is a very good player in the right system camp.
8 goals and 8 assists last season
24 goals and 4 assists the year before
24 goals and 4 assists the year before that.
Dundee United he got 8 goals and 3 assists, think it’s fair to say he’s improved as an all round player since then never mind his goals/assists.
He was unfit, unmotivated and just wanted away last season.
A couple of ifs and buts (I await the jokes) about him, but Mcinnes will get him sorted and he’ll be a huge player for them.
badabing67
02-07-2025, 04:26 PM
One thing about McInnes though, which might only be a perception on my part. Is that he does always seem to have an injury crisis every season
02-07-2025, 04:32 PM
Another vote for Shankland
He will now realise that The Rangers isn’t happening anytime soon so will knuckle down to being an old fashioned #9 and chip in with goals and assists playing his best position
He will get a leg up with the 9-12 penalties in the season that Hearts will get given with McInnes putting pressure on the officials
Good signing for them unfortunately
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2025, 04:39 PM
Unfit , slow , questionable attitude … really not bothered about Shankland signing on again with McInnes hoof ball merchants . **** hertz .
02-07-2025, 05:06 PM
Not saying he hasn't signed but nothing on BBC re Shankland and it would get it's own ribbon. Can only think it might be the first item in the news......
02-07-2025, 05:08 PM
Kickback taken over here.
02-07-2025, 05:15 PM
Wound his contract down desperate to sign for The Rangers, awaited their new manager appointment, agent tries hard to get him there, Martin not interested and not many others either. Signs back on as he’s not many options, cue their “Hearts was the only place I wanted to be” 👍
Didn’t get a sniff v a much better drilled and organised Hibs defence. He’s played them like a fiddle but he’ll suddenly be their darling again and Sportsound will dress it up as a McInnes “master stroke” !
02-07-2025, 05:24 PM
If he can be arsed he’ll do well for them if he can't be, he won’t. Think it's that simple for me.
02-07-2025, 05:26 PM
I mean, I had tried to post something about Kieran Bowie but the driving gloves on my 6 fingered hands made it come out reading like it was about Shankland.
chippy
02-07-2025, 05:27 PM
Was McInnes the Aberdeen manager that got rid of Shankland ?
02-07-2025, 05:29 PM
Everybody knows nobody else wanted him.
02-07-2025, 05:30 PM
I find the constant obsession with the idea that we can go a step further and split the old firm close to some yam level of confidence.
Can’t we dream? Can’t we be confident, Huns aren’t that good these days
babahibs
02-07-2025, 05:41 PM
Unfit , slow , questionable attitude … really not bothered about Shankland signing on again with McInnes hoof ball merchants . **** hertz .
02-07-2025, 05:41 PM
From Scott Burns
🟠⚫️Dundee United set to sign Finland under-21 cap Dario Naamo on a season-long loan.
✍️United have an option to buy him from St Polten.
🇫🇮He has just been at the Euro under-21 finals.
🏴Worked under Stevie Grieve at SJK🟠⚫️
02-07-2025, 05:42 PM
David Brooks also linked to Rangers. Could be a 3rd Bournemouth player.
badabing67
02-07-2025, 05:43 PM
Yes
Very good player, thought he had a medical at West Brom
Another one who Martin knows from Southampton.
02-07-2025, 05:51 PM
Shankland will probably improve on his recent crap form and scoring rate but the fact that he has had to crawl/threaten for a new contact on terms he was initially turning his nose up at, might just tip the balance and he might never recover the goal scoring status he needs to be their saviour.
badabing67
02-07-2025, 05:53 PM
Looks like Bournemouth are having a good clear out
02-07-2025, 06:20 PM
He punted him because he was unfit and overweight 🤣
02-07-2025, 06:35 PM
Every post I see about it now he’s supposedly rejected clubs from every country in the world 😂
02-07-2025, 06:37 PM
That daily record phone in by the way
Shankland signing and those guys are seriously saying McInnes could push rangers for second
Absolute melts man
02-07-2025, 06:46 PM
We can either progress or stagnate, and this board has told us they want to progress. Our partners should not be making that more difficult.
One player going to an old manager, that might be written off as one of those things, two players is undermining our relationship with BKG.
No it’s not
02-07-2025, 06:47 PM
That daily record phone in by the way
Shankland signing and those guys are seriously saying McInnes could push rangers for second
Absolute melts man
They done exactly the same thing this time last season.
They were a shoo-in for 3rd and may potentially get 2nd. The media are absolutely in love with them.
hibbymick
02-07-2025, 07:03 PM
They done exactly the same thing this time last season.
They were a shoo-in for 3rd and may potentially get 2nd. The media are absolutely in love with them.
They had the league won after the opening day last season.
02-07-2025, 07:29 PM
Rangers are in talks to sign Thelo Aasgaard from Luton Town on a permanent transfer, STV has learned.
02-07-2025, 07:34 PM
Rangers are in talks to sign Thelo Aasgaard from Luton Town on a permanent transfer, STV has learned.
Division 1 players now. Never heard of him though
02-07-2025, 07:38 PM
Could be a decent signing.
May also be thor-rible though.
02-07-2025, 07:40 PM
Have heard of him, but they will be stacking up the midfield players.
Was at Wigan, only signed for Luton in January, decent wee player.
He's a FM players, better in game than in real life.
02-07-2025, 08:01 PM
Neither did I :wink:
My response you replied to was in relation to a post suggesting we should be targeting top two. But you probably knew that.
02-07-2025, 08:05 PM
**** Shankland
**** the Hertz
He was part of a bottom 6 team last season who are now managed by a bottom 6 manager. Oh and **** him anaw.
02-07-2025, 08:06 PM
The Lawrence Shankland fanboys. I don’t care one jot that he’s re-signed for them. If he’s ripping them for a five figure weekly wage, so much the better. Bring it on.
02-07-2025, 08:13 PM
From Anthony Joseph sky sports
UPDATE: Braga are close to agreeing a deal worth £2m for Celtic centre-back Gustaf Lagerbielke.
It’s understood the Sweden international is keen to join #SCBraga, who hope to him travel over for a medical later this week.
#CelticFC
02-07-2025, 08:19 PM
Rangers busy
BREAKING! Emmanuel Fernandez joins Rangers on a long term deal from Peterborough
⬇️⬇️⬇️
dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football…
02-07-2025, 08:21 PM
Rangers busy
BREAKING! Emmanuel Fernandez joins Rangers on a long term deal from Peterborough
⬇️⬇️⬇️
Getting slaughtered by Peterborough fans in the announcement post. Saying that, it's Twitter so that means nothing.
Think Rangers will actually have their **** together this season. Certainly be closer to Celtic.
02-07-2025, 08:24 PM
Getting slaughtered by Peterborough fans in the announcement post. Saying that, it's Twitter so that means nothing.
Think Rangers will actually have their **** together this season. Certainly be closer to Celtic.
Certainly a different signing
https://i.ibb.co/CKSVX7WS/Screenshot-20250702-212342.png (https://ibb.co/s9XsDwtX)
And as you say some comments
https://x.com/theposh/status/1940504924519125290?t=PsHD4aFBhm1t-Z_02J0r0Q&s=19
02-07-2025, 08:25 PM
Can’t imagine Rangers fans getting particularly excited by many of their signings.
He's here!
02-07-2025, 08:27 PM
Surely even the Jumbos ain't buying that.
Couldn't get a better deal elsewhere is the reality.
USA_Hibee
02-07-2025, 08:34 PM
Hopefully get some rumours soon or a surprise signing!
02-07-2025, 08:40 PM
Hopefully get some rumours soon or a surprise signing!
Would definitely like to hear about another striker coming in, doesn't seem like we have been liked with much.
Souter96Mac
02-07-2025, 08:46 PM
Definitely not a rumour, but definitely a funny coincidence. Came across this article which came out last month, suggesting some players Hibs should target - not sure there's anything credible, other than the Triantis shout.
https://www.freebets.com/news/three-realistic-summer-2025-targets-for-hibs/
But my interest was drawn to Dénes Csanád Vilmos, young Hungarian forward who looks a decent player and prospect.
Interestingly, after a quick bit of digging, it turns out his agent is none other than Thomas Sowumni.
Again, nothing in this, but thought it was worth a share on here for a laugh.
02-07-2025, 08:47 PM
Would definitely like to hear about another striker coming in, doesn't seem like we have been liked with much.
Going about our business quietly and efficiently. As it should be.
02-07-2025, 08:48 PM
The Lawrence Shankland fanboys. I don’t care one jot that he’s re-signed for them. If he’s ripping them for a five figure weekly wage, so much the better. Bring it on.
Look forward to the pish he spouts at resigning press conference.
✅ Never wanted to leave
✅ I have a huge bond with the fans
✅ I had several offers but couldn’t bring myself to leave
What he really means…
❌ Been gagging to get out of here for 2 years.
❌ I wis gagging for the Huns tae come in but they didnae, even when I was available on a free
❌ My agent has been busting a gut tae get some **** tae sign me and but he’s got nowt.
❌ I was offered a better deal 18 months ago and i really wish I signed it. This has cost me a ****in fortune
❌ I’m only signing cos naebody else wanted me
02-07-2025, 08:48 PM
Definitely not a rumour, but definitely a funny coincidence. Came across this article which came out last month, suggesting some players Hibs should target - not sure there's anything credible, other than the Triantis shout.
https://www.freebets.com/news/three-realistic-summer-2025-targets-for-hibs/
But my interest was drawn to Dénes Csanád Vilmos, young Hungarian forward who looks a decent player and prospect.
Interestingly, after a quick bit of digging, it turns out his agent is none other than Thomas Sowumni.
Again, nothing in this, but thought it was worth a share on here for a laugh.
Sure it was Thomas?
02-07-2025, 08:49 PM
Can’t imagine Rangers fans getting particularly excited by many of their signings.
Rothwell is a very decent signing
Donegal Hibby
02-07-2025, 08:52 PM
I don’t think anyone knows what’s happening with Triantis yet but if we got him and a good quality striker I’d be happy.
02-07-2025, 08:56 PM
Look forward to the pish he spouts at resigning press conference.
✅ Never wanted to leave
✅ I have a huge bond with the fans
✅ I had several offers but couldn’t bring myself to leave
What he really means…
❌ Been gagging to get out of here for 2 years.
❌ I wis gagging for the Huns tae come in but they didnae, even when I was available on a free
❌ My agent has been busting a gut tae get some **** tae sign me and but he’s got nowt.
❌ I was offered a better deal 18 months ago and i really wish I signed it. This has cost me a ****in fortune
❌ I’m only signing cos naebody else wanted me
And he’s managed to wangle a decent pay despite being awful last season and the captain that led them to bottom 6. His agent has played a blinder and probably getting well weighed in too.
02-07-2025, 09:00 PM
I don’t think anyone knows what’s happening with Triantis yet but if we got him and a good quality striker I’d be happy.
Given that he just came through edinburgh airport I'd say he's probably signing.
02-07-2025, 09:01 PM
Given that he just came through edinburgh airport I'd say he's probably signing.
Who has?
02-07-2025, 09:01 PM
You can't be joking about these things.
02-07-2025, 09:04 PM
You can't be joking about these things.
Im 100% serious
02-07-2025, 09:05 PM
Im 100% serious
You seen him? Or been told that?
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-07-2025, 09:05 PM
Im 100% serious
Promise?
02-07-2025, 09:06 PM
Suppose he probably needs to pick up his stuff before heading down to Blackburn
Im 100% serious
Please don't be making this up.
Him coming through Edinburgh airport isn’t any indication of anything
02-07-2025, 09:07 PM
You seen him? Or been told that?
With my own 2 eyes
02-07-2025, 09:10 PM
Suppose he probably needs to pick up his stuff before heading down to Blackburn
Why would he have any gear hanging about here after his loan ended?
Him coming through Edinburgh airport isn’t any indication of anything
Was he wearing a maroon cardigan?
With my own 2 eyes
Was he wearing the new strip and carrying a multicoloured biro by any chance?
HendoDelivered
02-07-2025, 09:11 PM
This. I’m not convinced by many of whom they are signed so far. I’m confident they turn on Martin and he’s out the door by the end of the season.
02-07-2025, 09:13 PM
Could be wrong, but think the same thing happened with Myko coming back later to collect stuff after his loan ended and folk thought he was signing. Summer 23.
Obvs hope it isn't that and he's announced tomorrow.
02-07-2025, 09:14 PM
Sunderland pre season starts on Friday he’s probably just back from his holidays and will be heading down there.
Bridge hibs
02-07-2025, 09:16 PM
With my own 2 eyes
Much better than using someone elses eyes I suppose 👀
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-07-2025, 09:16 PM
Sunderland pre season starts on Friday he’s probably just back from his holidays and will be heading down there.
He’d fly into Newcastle for that, no? Saw he was on holiday about 2 and a half weeks ago on instagram, Greece I think. Looked nice.
badabing67
02-07-2025, 09:20 PM
Anybody know if the away kit comes with long sleeves
02-07-2025, 09:22 PM
He’d fly into Newcastle for that, no? Saw he was on holiday about 2 and a half weeks ago on instagram, Greece I think. Looked nice.
Not if he had to come back here, pick stuff up etc before heading down.
Seems to remember someone on here said his car was still parked up at his digs 🤔
JasonC1875
02-07-2025, 09:28 PM
Agree in that I think they’ll be a lot better in the league but nowhere near as competitive in Europe as they have been of late
JasonC1875
02-07-2025, 09:30 PM
I imagine he’ll have left from here as soon as the season ended so won’t have moved anything back down the road yet
02-07-2025, 09:32 PM
Seems to remember someone on here said his car was still parked up at his digs 🤔
At least he had a space. He would have already taken it to Blackburn but he didn't know where Ewood park.
02-07-2025, 09:32 PM
At least he had a space. He would have already taken it to Blackburn but he didn't know where Ewood park.
That's annoyingly good.
ErinGoBraghHFC
02-07-2025, 09:34 PM
That’s absolutely ***** and I’m stealing it
Ba boom 😂
02-07-2025, 09:37 PM
I like that :thumbsup:
EGL2000
03-07-2025, 06:59 AM
That would be a cracking signing for them, quality player.
03-07-2025, 07:55 AM
Jimmy Jeggo retired at 33 after some recent injuries.
MacGruber
03-07-2025, 08:11 AM
We're in a great place squad wise as it stands going into the games against the Danes. It's just upfront where we are a bit short. Hopefully can get a striker in before the first tie
MacGruber
03-07-2025, 08:12 AM
Jimmy Jeggo retired at 33 after some recent injuries.
Shame, liked Jimmy in his time here. Limited player but committed and shored us up for a period
03-07-2025, 09:03 AM
Shame, liked Jimmy in his time here. Limited player but committed and shored us up for a period
He only played two halfs of two different seasons but I actually think we were a better side in the two halves he was there vs not as we didn't really have a replacement for him in that type of role.
Souter96Mac
03-07-2025, 09:06 AM
Unlikely we'd be in for either, but I see both McKenna and McBurnie have both left Las Palmas after invoking their relegation release clauses.
03-07-2025, 09:08 AM
Hearts signing an Albanian winger from the Italian third division
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
I'm Spartacus
03-07-2025, 09:11 AM
There's chat he also publically called him out for his weight at the time, went in the huff and comfort ate.
"Here fat boy, geez a quid or you're getting st*bbed"
03-07-2025, 09:12 AM
I have a warm fuzzy feeling about this season ahead
03-07-2025, 09:12 AM
He’s never played in the 3rd division, his team was just promoted. Hes spent his career in the leagues below that.
Bridge hibs
03-07-2025, 09:14 AM
Already valued at £10m
03-07-2025, 09:14 AM
He’s never played in the 3rd division, his team was just promoted. Hes spent his career in the leagues below that.Thats what you get when you read what Barry Anderson writes [emoji23] no like him to spin a story
I'm Spartacus
03-07-2025, 09:16 AM
It's all a bit scattergun approach tbh.
03-07-2025, 09:21 AM
It's all a bit scattergun approach tbh.
Don't question the output of the Jamestown RM Nimbus.
03-07-2025, 09:46 AM
That would be a cracking signing for them, quality player.
FFS. Are the Black Knights trolling us?
03-07-2025, 09:48 AM
Already valued at £10m
He's looking forward to playing in front of 20,000 + people...
... at other Scottish football grounds.
03-07-2025, 10:22 AM
Normally when my computer starts playing up I'll turn it off at the wall for 10 seconds and then reboot it.
Fifeshirehibs
03-07-2025, 11:01 AM
Normally when my computer starts playing up I'll turn it off at the wall for 10 seconds and then reboot it.
When I was a lad, a tiny wee lad, my mother said to me
Sabah a big man called James Town will come along and make you very very rich.
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2025, 11:41 AM
I’m surprised there hasn’t been some movement on a striker yet , area we really need to strengthen.
03-07-2025, 11:44 AM
I’m surprised there hasn’t been some movement on a striker yet , area we really need to strengthen.
Same, well, movement that we know of. First competitive game is three weeks away now.
badabing67
03-07-2025, 11:44 AM
Its been very quiet from Hibs today, maybe something is happening
HibsGW
03-07-2025, 11:55 AM
Same, well, movement that we know of. First competitive game is three weeks away now.
Would expect we’ll be getting someone soon but going into first game with a forward line of Boyle and Bowie isn’t a disaster
03-07-2025, 11:56 AM
I can't help feeling Triantis is a busted flush at this point ... hope I'm wrong, but with alleged interest from at least 3 clubs who could get far closer to his Sunderland wages than we can I can't see him coming back here, even if Sunderland make it crystal clear to him he isn't in their plans.
It will be difficult to get his position filled with the same quality he brought last season, so until someone steps up and proves me wrong that makes us weaker in the defensive midfield area.
New DM or not, we absolutely need to strengthen up front. We currently only have Bowie as an out and out striker and if he gets injured that leaves us thin as fk up front and relying on two wingers for goals, even if one of them is Martin Boyle.
03-07-2025, 11:58 AM
Would expect we’ll be getting someone soon but going into first game with a forward line of Boyle and Bowie isn’t a disaster
Aw absolutely, far from it. Especially if Boyle continues his form. Bowie will likely be much improved after a full pre-season, but he wasn’t really a starter last season, started five league games.
03-07-2025, 12:01 PM
Would expect we’ll be getting someone soon but going into the first game with a forward line of Boyle and Bowie isn’t a disaster
We also have Elle, so we aren't short but could do with another but this could take a while especially if it's a loan deal from England
03-07-2025, 12:06 PM
I'm definitely not panicking or bed wetting 😅 but that's assuming they are both good for 90 and neither is injured or gets injured. After that we have Youan or youth players.
03-07-2025, 12:07 PM
i spent £42 on a training top in the club shop yesterday
i'm really hoping they put it towards a striker :grr:
and £1.50 for a bag, but it actually looks quite smart :)
HendoDelivered
03-07-2025, 12:07 PM
The new manager at Legia wants to give Migouel Alfarela a chance in pre season. Remember we were linked with him towards the end of the season.
03-07-2025, 12:10 PM
I can't help feeling Triantis is a busted flush at this point ... hope I'm wrong, but with alleged interest from at least 3 clubs who could get far closer to his Sunderland wages than we can I can't see him coming back here, even if Sunderland make it crystal clear to him he isn't in their plans.
It will be difficult to get his position filled with the same quality he brought last season, so until someone steps up and proves me wrong that makes us weaker in the defensive midfield area.
New DM or not, we absolutely need to strengthen up front. We currently only have Bowie as an out and out striker and if he gets injured that leaves us thin as fk up front and relying on two wingers for goals, even if one of them is Martin Boyle.
I would say it's more likely that Triantis has asked if he can report for Sunderland training tomorrow, as an opportunity to ask the boss where he stands
I would expect Triantis to be low on the manager's Must See list, as in he will want to integrate the new expensive signings as his priority
So it might be no surprise if Triantis doesn't get a sit down with the boss at Sunderland til Tuesday next week
If I was in his shoes I would want to at least be able to say "I gave it a shot to impress a Premier League boss" rather than not at least testing the water.
And in all likelihood, he will end up being told next week at some point it's not going to happen in 2025/26 for him at Sunderland, and with world cup on the horizon go find a club that will play you.
A club in the Leith area of Edinburgh, say....
03-07-2025, 12:12 PM
I would say it's more likely that Triantis has asked if he can report for Sunderland training tomorrow, as an opportunity to ask the boss where he stands
I would expect Triantis to be low on the manager's Must See list, as in he will want to integrate the new expensive signings as his priority
So it might be no surprise if Triantis doesn't get a sit down with the boss at Sunderland til Tuesday next week
If I was in his shoes I would want to at least be able to say "I gave it a shot to impress a Premier League boss" rather than not at least testing the water.
And in all likelihood, he will end up being told next week at some point it's not going to happen in 2025/26 for him at Sunderland, and with world cup on the horizon go find a club that will play you.
A club in the Leith area of Edinburgh, say....
Surely his agent will have established where he sits in the pecking order?
I want him back but at some point, Hibs have to move on.
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2025, 12:14 PM
:agree: if we lose Bowie that leaves us with a forward line that lacks a physical presence as well which is something that’s needed in our league.
The Tubs
03-07-2025, 12:16 PM
:agree: if we lose Bowie that leaves us with a forward line that lacks a physical presence as well which is something that’s needed in our league.
We looked really good in the few games Boyle and Youan played together.
badabing67
03-07-2025, 12:18 PM
With Campbell tucked in behind them the 3 of them worked well together
03-07-2025, 12:22 PM
The gimps close to signing an Albanian winger who has been in the Italian 4th tier since 2019.
MacGruber
03-07-2025, 12:22 PM
I think that's it. A striker that gives us that presence/hold up play. We have Bowie but he's not completed many 90 mins. Boyle, Youan and Hoilett are all quality but aren't going to put themselves about. Gray used Myko and Gayle (Gayle not the biggest but used his experience to get his body in the right place) when Bowie wasn't playing. Definitely need that other striker option.
03-07-2025, 12:31 PM
I think that's it. A striker that gives us that presence/hold up play. We have Bowie but he's not completed many 90 mins. Boyle, Youan and Hoilett are all quality but aren't going to put themselves about. Gray used Myko and Gayle (Gayle not the biggest but used his experience to get his body in the right place) when Bowie wasn't playing. Definitely need that other striker option.
We will definitely add that type of striker at some point IMO.
I’m not concerned by our forward options shorter term. I think the three we have plus the other attacking threats we have give us enough, obviously not over the course of a season.
Getting Triantis in would still be the biggest thing we could do ahead of Midtjylland for me.
maturehibby
03-07-2025, 12:32 PM
Don't think they would have taken McLelland along for the ride
Perhaps like Jason Cummings .
Also everyone missing Youan seems to have his head screwed back on and become the regular starter he was before
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2025, 12:41 PM
Not denying that but there will be games we will need something a bit different against a team that has a big physical defence who are quite prepared to sit in , possibly someone that would be better in the air to get on the end of some of Cadden’s crosses than Boyle or Youan are . As things stand at this moment we are couple of injuries away from really being stretched upfront I think. I’m sure we will sign a striker or two but I did think we might have heard/ seen some movement by now tbh .
03-07-2025, 12:44 PM
I imagine the way the club will see it is they have 3 first team striker options in Bowie, Boyle, and Youan. If the plan is that Elie is likely to now stay for the season then there isn't a huge rush to get someone in for that fourth choice role and can wait a bit longer for either the right back up option or to pinpoint someone that is maybe better than the 3 we have to come straight in.
I wouldn't be surprised if the Gayle/Myko replacements are actually combined into one signing such as a Steven Fletcher type.
03-07-2025, 01:10 PM
Hearts are set to sign Tommy North from Livingston.
The Jambos are on the verge of finalising a deal for the Scotland Under-19 cap.
The teenager has caught the eye coming through with the young Lions.
It is a blow for Livi who not only lose one of their top players but won't even get any compensation or future sell-ons.
Their rivals have now made their move and he will go into their Hearts B team in the first instance.
North has already had interest from south of the border.
He has had successful trials with Blackburn Rovers and Stoke City.
I wonder Just how successful the trials were with Blackburn and Stoke??
03-07-2025, 01:13 PM
I'd say we are a weaker first team but perhaps a slightly stronger squad at this point. Triantis (or equivalent quality replacement) and a decent forward are the difference now between strengthening on last season or going slightly backwards.
03-07-2025, 01:23 PM
It is a blow for Livi who not only lose one of their top players but won't even get any compensation or future sell-ons.
Their rivals have now made their move and he will go into their Hearts B team in the first instance.
Yeah couldn’t be that successful if they didn’t then sign. How many players do Hearts need?
03-07-2025, 01:23 PM
One of Livi's top players, who's never played a first team game?
Also, I don't understand why they get no compensation?
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2025, 01:27 PM
Yeah couldn’t be that successful if they didn’t then sign. How many players do Hearts need?
They must have a squad the size of Chelsea’s now that is equally as good according to JTA’s .
03-07-2025, 01:31 PM
I'd say we are a weaker first team but perhaps a slightly stronger squad at this point. Triantis (or equivalent quality replacement) and a decent forward are the difference now between strengthening on last season or going slightly backwards.
badabing67
03-07-2025, 01:50 PM
I guess its all relative but the first team and the squad are miles a head of where it was this time last year, both are in a far healthier condition and still plenty of time to strengthen both before the window closes.
03-07-2025, 01:53 PM
The way I see it..
Myko
Gayle
Triantis
2 out of the 3 pretty physical.
We haven’t replaced any of them yet - so hopefully we will see 3 more added. Ideally Triantis plus x2 others.
Think it’s 14 goals between the 3 of them and 10 assists.
I’ll start panicking when there’s only a few days of the transfer window left & we’ve still not signed any one else
The way I see it..
Myko
Gayle
Triantis
We haven’t replaced any of them yet - so hopefully we will see 3 more added. Ideally Triantis plus x2 others.
Mulligan will be a solid addition and he can play a midfield role as well as wing back. Our other midfielder, signed in January, will also be like a new addition that has been customised.
MacGruber
03-07-2025, 02:04 PM
The way I see it..
Myko
Gayle
Triantis
We'll get goals and assists from McGrath and Mulligan. Need a physical striker option to compete with Bowie though
03-07-2025, 02:07 PM
How I see it as well. It's obvious if we can't get Triantis back it will be hard to get in a player of equal quality, but what we are replacing up front is Gayle, who was valuable for sure, but only good for 60 minutes, and Myko, who it shouldn't be beyond the wit of man to find a replacement for who is just as effective, hopefully a lot better.
You would hope our English overlords, who seem hell bent on strengthening one of our direct rivals, would be of some assistance in that area, especially as up until now we haven't struck a single loan deal.
03-07-2025, 02:13 PM
Im hearing from a very reliable source within the club (not naming names) that we've signed nobody today.
aberhibsfc
03-07-2025, 02:17 PM
Im hearing from a very reliable source within the club (not naming names) that we've signed nobody today.
What position does Nobody play?
chippy
03-07-2025, 02:27 PM
I used to know Nobody’s child
03-07-2025, 02:37 PM
How I see it as well. It's obvious if we can't get Triantis back it will be hard to get in a player of equal quality, but what we are replacing up front is Gayle, who was valuable for sure, but only good for 60 minutes, and Myko, who it shouldn't be beyond the wit of man to find a replacement for who is just as effective, hopefully a lot better.
You would hope our English overlords, who seem hell bent on strengthening one of our direct rivals, would be of some assistance in that area, especially as up until now we haven't struck a single loan deal.
I wouldn’t see the Rangers as our direct rivals for now. We still have a long way to go to get there organically, or a massive influx of cash to get us there quickly.
03-07-2025, 02:43 PM
The dude nobody is pretty handy to have on a late night bus 🚌
03-07-2025, 02:45 PM
I wouldn’t see the Rangers as our direct rivals for now. We still have a long way to go to get there organically, or a massive influx of cash to get us there quickly.
At the risk of labouring a point.
We need to take points from them to qualify for Europe, with those points we would not have finished third last season.
We may well need to beat them to progress in cup competitions.
If they aren't direct rivals, then what are they?
03-07-2025, 02:47 PM
….. on the other hand, if we realistically and reluctantly accept Celtic and the Huns are going to dominate, a stronger Hun team is more likely to do damage to our real opponents. I’m happy to take our chances against the Huns.
03-07-2025, 02:53 PM
See Jimmy Jeggo has retired at 33. Good signing at the right time. Made a difference. Underrated.
aberhibsfc
03-07-2025, 03:00 PM
I want Triantis, however becoming less optimistic with each passing day the deal is not concluded.
Surely Necta, or his agent should read the room and advise. If Sunderland were willing to entertain interest from Hibs, his future lies away from Sunderland.
They have been buying up midfielders, and as an earlier poster mentioned, the manager will be focused on pulling his first team together and getting ready for the new season in a tougher league.
If Nectar was deemed Sunderland surplus before, and in a lower division, I can't imagine his prospects would fair any better this season.
All this about getting in front of the manager, he would be way down the pecking order in terms of manager access, we also have phones and internet. This could have been established weeks ago.
I think, in reality, especially if he wants to continue developing through regular game time, he needs to decide where he's going to go and play. Then is it money over football development. He goes anywhere other than Hibs, he is an unknown factor, he might not settle, and could go backwards.
Whilst being at Hibs would also be a risk,.he might not perform as well, retrospectively he might not live up to breaking our transfer record billing. But he has last year, and we have last year to assess its worth both our risks.
Hibs are putting our money where our mouth is, he needs to get on quickly and make his decision.
As much as I wouldn't like to, with important games fast approaching, we need to get what we want in asap. We don't want to be found wanting in Europe. We might to make Triantis decision for him, and for him to recognise we have to look after ourselves too.
03-07-2025, 03:08 PM
We need to take points from them to qualify for Europe, with those points we would not have finished third last season.
And yet still finished well behind in them in 3rd. Those points helped but our biggest issue last season was our poor start up to end of November. If we had won those games then we would have been clear in 3rd.
jonny
03-07-2025, 03:15 PM
I used to know Nobody’s child
According to my mother I used to look like Nobody's child
03-07-2025, 03:18 PM
It is labouring the point. It is semantics. Direct rivals. Rivals. We're also rans in the same sick old firn play? We can call it whatever. The problem is that if both clubs perform to the best of their resources then we aren't on the same level. Sad but true.
So how much of that is Bournemouth's problem? What right have we to expect them to refuse to do business - shoot themselves in the foot - to run TEMPORARY disruption at our behest? It isn't their problem. We have no right.
Hibs look after hibs.
03-07-2025, 03:24 PM
Fabrizio Romano
🚨🔵⚪️ EXCL: Como agree deal to sign Celtic forward Nicolas Kühn on permanent move.
Understand transfer fee will be €19m with medical tests to follow, personal terms also agreed in principle.
Formal details being clarified and then all signed.
badabing67
03-07-2025, 03:24 PM
There is a difference between competing with and challenging a rival in the same league for position. I don't see us challenging Rangers for league position anytime soon but I do expect us to be competitive against them when we play them. The point is, Rangers have more resource than us, and are in the market for players that are a higher calibre, that we and all the other teams outside the OF can afford. If Rangers didn't sign Brooks, Rothwell and Aarons they would of signed other players of a similar calibre. The point is we would still have to overcome what is essentially the same problem. That is they have much more money than us.
badabing67
03-07-2025, 03:26 PM
Fabrizio Romano
🚨🔵⚪️ EXCL: Como agree deal to sign Celtic forward Nicolas Kühn on permanent move.
Understand transfer fee will be €19m with medical tests to follow, personal terms also agreed in principle.
Wish he had one about Triantis one way or the other
03-07-2025, 03:34 PM
What position does Nobody play?
Nobody know's.
03-07-2025, 03:34 PM
Wish he had one about Triantis one way or the other
Same, but fully expecting at least another weekend of waiting to see what he fancies.
03-07-2025, 03:40 PM
I'm getting lost with all the transfer news from them, don't know if this is old or someone new they 😅
EXCLUSIVE! Pierre Landry Kabore in Hearts transfer talks as six figure deal for JK Trans Narva wide man in the works | @ScottBurns75
#HMFC
03-07-2025, 03:42 PM
I'm getting lost with all the transfer news from them, don't know if this is old or someone new they 😅
EXCLUSIVE! Pierre Landry Kabore in Hearts transfer talks as six figure deal for JK Trans Narva wide man in the works | @ScottBurns75
#HMFC
****ing hell, they buying a whole new 32 man squad.
03-07-2025, 03:44 PM
#HMFC
Fair play, Ive had my suspicions before, but now they are openly signing trans players.
Bridge hibs
03-07-2025, 03:44 PM
I would take Calum Paterson
03-07-2025, 03:45 PM
Hearts are either going to be absolutely brilliant or absolutely shocking
They’re signing some amount of players at various unknown levels
I know JTA has proven success, but still seems a huge risk - especially in Scotland.
03-07-2025, 03:46 PM
I would take Calum Paterson
Can only assume there’s another Calum Paterson and you’re not meaning the one that played for Hearts
Bridge hibs
03-07-2025, 03:51 PM
Can only assume there’s another Calum Paterson and you’re not meaning the one that played for Hearts
Nope, the one that played for hearts has played at a good level for many years and is very versatile too
03-07-2025, 03:51 PM
And yet still finished well behind in them in 3rd. Those points helped but our biggest issue last season was our poor start up to end of November. If we had won those games then we would have been clear in 3rd.
There's more to Scottish football than the league, or do cup competitions not count anymore?
The reality is that the points we took from them made a big difference to our season. If we had replicated our points tally from the second half of the season across the whole season, we may well have finished second. All ifs and buts though.
It is labouring the point. It is semantics. Direct rivals. Rivals. We're also rans in the same sick old firn play? We can call it whatever. The problem is that if both clubs perform to the best of their resources then we aren't on the same level. Sad but true.
So how much of that is Bournemouth's problem? What right have we to expect them to refuse to do business - shoot themselves in the foot - to run TEMPORARY disruption at our behest? It isn't their problem. We have no right.
Hibs look after hibs.
I think we need to define rivalry here "a person or thing competing with another for the same objective or for superiority in the same field of activity".
Did we not win the Scottish Cup by beating these very same rivals? Did our impressive points haul v our Hunnish rivals last season not help define our season?
Bournemouth can do what they like, we have no rights. Equally, as a minority shareholder they have no right to decide who we appoint as manager, director of football etc.
I have to laugh at the motion of themselves shooting themselves in the foot by not loaning a player to a league rival of a side where the ownership have a 29% share though. It seems counter intuitive to me.
At the same time, it is what it is. I'm not losing sleep over it, nor am I seeing them as our fairy godmothers.
03-07-2025, 03:52 PM
#HMFC
Feels like they’ve signed or been linked with about 400 random wingers from all over the world this summer.
ErinGoBraghHFC
03-07-2025, 03:53 PM
Nope, the one that played for hearts has played at a good level for many years and is very versatile too
Was good at Cardiff I remember, can play right back, centre midfield or up front as well. He won’t come here though.
03-07-2025, 03:55 PM
He's a decent player and has done well at Wednesday, and with the state Wednesday are in, some believing they are about to go pop, there will be a few of their players available for free. There will clubs with deeper pockets than us looking to cherry pick.
03-07-2025, 03:59 PM
Wonder what next for two of our Scottish Cup heroes.
29-year-old Liam Henderson is likely to have plenty of offers after seven years in Italian football that have ended currently after Empoli's relegation from Serie A.
32-year old Dylan McGeouch has left Carlisle United following their relegation from League Two.
Trinity Hibee
03-07-2025, 04:02 PM
Fabrizio Romano
Ridiculous money for someone who had a good half season
chippy
03-07-2025, 04:06 PM
Nobody know's.
The Alexander bros do
Just noticed Shankland penned a 3 year deal. If rumours are true that’s going to cost the Gorgie Galacticos nearly £3 million.
Where are they getting all this Money for all these players. Their first team squad must be reaching about 40.
Just noticed Shankland penned a 3 year deal. If rumours are true that’s going to cost the Gorgie Galacticos nearly £3 million.
Where are they getting all this Money for all these players. Their first team squad must be reaching about 40.
They are buying relatively cheap unknown players from abroad but badging them as hidden gems due to the analytics bull****. I have never seen that strategy work eg volume of players with zero British football experience shoehorned into a squad.
It’s telling that the two players DM really really wanted was Shankland (and they ended up waiting and paying top dollar) and Findlay who was signed on a loan not a perm.
They think Prentice will be sold to fund the acquisitions (only decent player they have) and they assume lots of squad players bought last year will suddenly find other clubs instead of take the money they are due.
There is no clear strategy here. It’s bat****. It might work or partially work but it will cost them a fortune and as I say I have never seen a team make these type of transfers and be successful.
And remember Blooms interest is to buy players, play them and sell for profit.
03-07-2025, 04:31 PM
Brian McLaughlin is reporting it on the BBC. Must have taken a while to type with one hand fumbling in his drawers and all the while fantasizing about Shankland signing and the Tony Bloom squillion pound investment.
03-07-2025, 04:36 PM
.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250703/07794282bb81f182f5ff6b93d00c4e69.jpg
03-07-2025, 04:37 PM
SDG on Triantis
"I think Nectar was fantastic last season. He showed loads of improvement, and he was great to work with. He's a big part of what we did last season. He was a huge player for us. It was always going to be something that wouldn't happen overnight, purely because of how well he'd done. He's going to attract a lot of interest," Gray said, speaking from the club's Dutch training camp.
"It's a position we know we need to look at, that defensive-minded player. The conversations and the hard work are ongoing to see what we can do in that position, because you don't want to just be waiting around. We've got a clear plan of what we need to do. We're not just going to sit here and pin our hopes on a player deciding what he wants to do.
"Nothing will happen quickly because Sunderland's priority will be dealing with the Premier League and what that looks like, how they jump up from the Championship and the importance of trying to stay in the league."
03-07-2025, 04:44 PM
SDG on Triantis
"I think Nectar was fantastic last season. He showed loads of improvement, and he was great to work with. He's a big part of what we did last season. He was a huge player for us. It was always going to be something that wouldn't happen overnight, purely because of how well he'd done. He's going to attract a lot of interest," Gray said, speaking from the club's Dutch training camp.
"It's a position we know we need to look at, that defensive-minded player. The conversations and the hard work are ongoing to see what we can do in that position, because you don't want to just be waiting around. We've got a clear plan of what we need to do. We're not just going to sit here and pin our hopes on a player deciding what he wants to do.
"Nothing will happen quickly because Sunderland's priority will be dealing with the Premier League and what that looks like, how they jump up from the Championship and the importance of trying to stay in the league."
Love the man. He’s spot on. Yet again.
03-07-2025, 04:49 PM
Sent from my SM-A405FN using TapatalkWhen the dial stopped spinning the mega computer definitely said sign an italian winger from the Albanian third division, they read the print out upside down and the rest is history.
03-07-2025, 04:50 PM
SDG on Triantis
"Nothing will happen quickly "
I wonder how long we are willing to wait? I get we are looking at alternatives but it must be a nightmare if our 'b' option has interest from else where.
gorgie greens
03-07-2025, 04:51 PM
SDG on Triantis
Could be that we are losing patience with Triantis, hopefully we are looking at alternatives and not left with our dick in our hands again
03-07-2025, 04:53 PM
It feels like we may be moving from the Triantis to the Triantisn't camp now.
They are buying relatively cheap unknown players from abroad but badging them as hidden gems due to the analytics bull****. I have never seen that strategy work eg volume of players with zero British football experience shoehorned into a squad.
It’s telling that the two players DM really really wanted was Shankland (and they ended up waiting and paying top dollar) and Findlay who was signed on a loan not a perm.
They think Prentice will be sold to fund the acquisitions (only decent player they have) and they assume lots of squad players bought last year will suddenly find other clubs instead of take the money they are due.
There is no clear strategy here. It’s bat****. It might work or partially work but it will cost them a fortune and as I say I have never seen a team make these type of transfers and be successful.
And remember Blooms interest is to buy players, play them and sell for profit.
A Jambo chum today said that their superior analytical data system is identifying players that will make them millions.
Our apparent scattergun approach on failed SPL players and journeymen is what wee teams do. Big teams sign big players on big wages. Shankland is big.
Mulligan is bottom six fodder and I mentioned Findlay and got jealous.
Ourselves and other Scottish teams are about to be left in their shadow, especially Hibs as we don’t have a clue what it’s like being a big team.
Deluded and stupid and I look forward to how this will be managed.
I really do think some think that those not needed will walk away and find other clubs.
I’m going to sit back and hopefully watch it implode.
There are, so I’ve been told, more top quality players inbound at the PBS.
03-07-2025, 04:55 PM
A Jambo chum today said that their superior analytical data system is identifying players that will make them millions.
Our apparent scattergun approach on failed SPL players and journeymen is what wee teams do. Big teams sign big players on big wages. Shankland is big.
Ourselves and other Scottish teams are about to be left in their shadow, especially Hibs as we don’t have a clue what it’s like being a big team.
I really do think some think that those not needed will walk away and find other clubs.
That’s why you shouldn’t be chums with jambos. If you are it’s best to avoid any football discussion whatsoever.
.https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250703/07794282bb81f182f5ff6b93d00c4e69.jpg
Doesn't sound overly positive, but I live in hope. 🤞
03-07-2025, 04:56 PM
Could be that we are losing patience with Triantis, hopefully we are looking at alternatives and not left with our dick in our hands again
You’ve just replied to a post that literally quotes SDG as saying we won’t be waiting around.
03-07-2025, 04:59 PM
You’ve just replied to a post that literally quotes SDG as saying we won’t be waiting around.
Similar vibes to McInnes sending the same message to Shankland a couple of days ago.
03-07-2025, 05:00 PM
Gray doesn't say anything wrong there and it's also not surprising
He's basically saying we will have a deadline and a plan B/C
The headline doesn't overly match the content tbh
Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk
03-07-2025, 05:03 PM
Perfectly timed shot across the bow from SDG. I imagine Triantis has a week tops to make up his mind before Garvan Stewart provides detailed information on potential defensive midfielders.
03-07-2025, 05:05 PM
I don't have any hearts supporting friends.
Some acquaintances maybe, but pretty much all of them (if you scratch the surface) think the kind of pish your mate does.
Dump him, he's a twat.
03-07-2025, 05:09 PM
Perfectly timed shot across the bow from SDG. I imagine Triantis has a week tops to make up his mind before Garvan Stewart provides detailed information on potential defensive midfielders.
He’ll already have done this, we’ll know who our preferred alternatives are already.
03-07-2025, 05:14 PM
He’ll already have done this, we’ll know who our preferred alternatives are already.
I wasn't being entirely serious, I was just meaning that the efforts from us will step up to actively trying to get someone.
03-07-2025, 05:26 PM
I would hope and expect that Garvan and Malky already have a target/targets in mind.
03-07-2025, 05:28 PM
I would hope and expect that Garvan and Malky already have a target/targets in mind.
Totally. One of them has already joined Bolton.
We’ll be way down the line when it comes to sounding out any alternatives you’d imagine
Paul1642
03-07-2025, 05:29 PM
Totally. One of them has already joined Bolton.
We’ll be way down the line when it comes to sounding out any alternatives you’d imagine
I’m not sure he was a planned Triantis backup, as we missed out on him when Triantis was presumably very much plan A
03-07-2025, 05:33 PM
I’m not sure he was a planned Triantis backup, as we missed out on him when Triantis was presumably very much plan A
Yeah, agree. I also don't think the Triantis backup will necessarily be a like-for-like player!
I'd ****ing love Triantis back and still hope that's what happens. I'm also quite excited to see who else we have in mind if he doesn't come back.
It feels like we may be moving from the Triantis to the Triantisn't camp now.
Maybe wrong but get the impression the 2 clubs have agreed their side of things, but Triantis stalling a bit.
I don't have any hearts supporting friends.
Some acquaintances maybe, but pretty much all of them (if you scratch the surface) think the kind of pish your mate does.
Dump him, he's a twat.
They have lived in cloud cuckoo land as long as I’ve known them.
Tbh I only normally hear from him on derby day but his silence said enough this season. He took the bait today and it was some rant.
I’ll continue to bait him when they sign their next player from the Uzbekistan part time league because the analytics said it’s a goer [emoji2]
03-07-2025, 05:59 PM
Maybe wrong but get the impression the 2 clubs have agreed their side of things, but Triantis stalling a bit.
Think that’s exactly what it is. I’m sure someone mentioned a couple of days ago that this was the case as well.
Always thought convincing Triantis to come back would be the hardest part.
I think the comments are quite positive and show we’re not pissing about. Much like a lot of what we’ve done already.
03-07-2025, 06:02 PM
Think that’s exactly what it is. I’m sure someone mentioned a couple of days ago that this was the case as well.
I think the comments are quite positive and show we’re not pissing about. Much like a lot of what we’ve done already.
Come Monday he’s already 2 weeks behind most of the squad on fitness
Earlydelivery
03-07-2025, 06:11 PM
That is most definite the case
03-07-2025, 06:17 PM
Come Monday he’s already 2 weeks behind most of the squad on fitness
How long do you think we're asking him to commit for? Two weeks behind is nothing if you're considering a four year deal.
03-07-2025, 06:19 PM
How long do you think we're asking him to commit for? Two weeks behind is nothing if you're considering a four year deal.
I meant to be ready for the European tie
03-07-2025, 06:31 PM
See tbf if I was Triantis and had no ties to Hibs, I’m not sure I’d come back either.
Already spent 18 months here and if he moves to us and is brilliant, the likely move he would get would be a top end championship team.
Blackburn finished 7th last season and have good players, I’m not sure he’d get much better than that
Yeah he could get abroad etc, but he could get that at Blackburn etc too
03-07-2025, 06:44 PM
Initially the word was that his priority was a regular first team pick and getting an international place. He would have got that at Hibs, and we’re led to believe that the two clubs have agreed a deal. To me it sounds like a money issue and he’ll be looking for the best financial deal he can get. Personally, I don’t think we’re in the hunt if,that’s the case, but I’m delighted to hear SDG say that we’ll not be messed about. If he goes elsewhere, I’m sure the club will be doing it’s homework and his place will be filled by a suitable alternative.
03-07-2025, 06:50 PM
Initially the word was that his priority was a regular first team pick and getting an international place. He would have got that at Hibs, and we’re led to believe that the two clubs have agreed a deal. To me it sounds like a money issue and he’ll be looking for the best financial deal he can get. Personally, I don’t think we’re in the hunt if,that’s the case, but I’m delighted to hear SDG say that we’ll not be messed about. If he goes elsewhere, I’m sure the club will be doing it’s homework and his place will be filled by a suitable alternative.
He’d get regular first team football at clubs like Blackburn and Portsmouth too.
03-07-2025, 07:02 PM
He will have come to Hibs as a stepping stone to the top end of English football. Can't blame him for checking all his options before committing to anything.
Hope he sees he can achieve that with Hibs.
03-07-2025, 07:06 PM
He’d get regular first team football at clubs like Blackburn and Portsmouth too.
You’re probably correct and that might put us out of the reckoning. The only thing in our favour in this case is his knowledge of and familiarity with us. I’m not holding my breath and, while it’s disappointing, I won’t be heartbroken if he chooses elsewhere.
Jim Herriot
03-07-2025, 07:15 PM
I'm more surprised that his arms are long enough to hold a scarf above his head.
03-07-2025, 07:16 PM
I'd absolutely love Triantis to be back at Easter Road but I'm less than convinced that he will be. I reckon he can get 1st team football at a championship club or in Europe and will get more than a decent wage.
It will be interesting to see what midfield reinforcements come in. I still expect to lose someone from the midfield.
03-07-2025, 07:16 PM
I'm more surprised that his arms are long enough to hold a scarf above his head.
Nah!! That heed has been photoshopped a bit, surely.
03-07-2025, 07:18 PM
That picture has to be fake surely? His head isn't that size is it.
03-07-2025, 07:21 PM
🇬🇭 Our sixth new recruit of the summer
#DUFC are delighted to announce the signing of Isaac Pappoe from Ferencvaros 🔏
👋 The midfielder arrives on a season-long loan deal, subject to SFA and international clearance
Brilliant. [emoji23]
Even if Triantis may not come back, we've allowed NMW go so we must have at least another player lined up to take his place.
03-07-2025, 07:23 PM
Makes Roger from American Dad feel inadequate.
03-07-2025, 07:23 PM
That picture has to be fake surely? His head isn't that size is it.
To think they slagged Leigh G calling him thumb heid. That photo really takes him to unseen levels.
patlowe
03-07-2025, 07:27 PM
See tbf if I was Triantis and had no ties to Hibs, I’m not sure I’d come back either.
Already spent 18 months here and if he moves to us and is brilliant, the likely move he would get would be a top end championship team.
Blackburn finished 7th last season and have good players, I’m not sure he’d get much better than that
Personally think he would benefit from another year at our level to guarantee the game time and iron out the little kinks that still exist in the way he plays, but would also totally understand if he backed himself to take the next step now. He's got all the attributes to make it and I'd wish him well.
Personally think he would benefit from another year at our level to guarantee the game time and iron out the little kinks that still exist in the way he plays, but would also totally understand if he backed himself to take the next step now. He's got all the attributes to make it and I'd wish him well.Yup. Sounds like Hibs have laid out a deal and the ball is in NT's court. Probably find out next week given Gray expressing his views today.
Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk
ruthven_raiders
03-07-2025, 07:33 PM
Surely he's not getting 20k a week! 😲
Surely he's not getting 20k a week! [emoji44]
The figure 18k has been mention so that’s why I put nearly £3 million.
Absolutely nuts!
03-07-2025, 07:35 PM
The figure 18k has been mention so that’s why I put nearly £3 million.
Absolutely nuts!
Mentioned it to a Jambo in work today expecting him to laugh it off as ridiculous. He actually said he’d heard similar and wasn't too bothered by it.
Insane money!
Mentioned it to a Jambo in work today expecting him to laugh it off as ridiculous. He actually said he’d heard similar and wasn't too bothered by it.
Insane money!
It’s what big teams do apparently!
Donegal Hibby
03-07-2025, 07:38 PM
I'd absolutely love Triantis to be back at Easter Road but I'm less than convinced that he will be. I reckon he can get 1st team football at a championship club or in Europe and will get more than a decent wage.
It will be interesting to see what midfield reinforcements come in. I still expect to lose someone from the midfield.
I think we all would but I’m glad SDG said what he did as we don’t want this dragging out too long which is maybe what Triantis and his agent want ..
Definitely need at least one Defensive Mid . I thought maybe we’d lose Levitt given his contract situation though other than him it’s hard to see who else we’d potentially move on .
03-07-2025, 07:40 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250703/683d9c1bbd9cb2c91a5c970e2d720464.jpg
18yr old defensive midfielder playing in the Icelandic league. Capped for Iceland u21s
03-07-2025, 08:05 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20250703/683d9c1bbd9cb2c91a5c970e2d720464.jpg
18yr old defensive midfielder playing in the Icelandic league. Capped for Iceland u21s
Thought that was a Dundee Utd top until I read the article.
03-07-2025, 08:05 PM
i would take a bat to calum paterson
ftfy
03-07-2025, 08:12 PM
Penrice going to Athens!
Bye bye
aberhibsfc
03-07-2025, 08:14 PM
Yep, it's not so much the 18 months, nothing to learn. It's look at how his game did develop. If it wasn't for Gray and Hibs, he would still be considered a defender.
Imagine how far he could develop if he maintained his Hibs trajectory. That's not guaranteed anywhere, even here, but it's more likely to succeed in that vein.
03-07-2025, 08:14 PM
Penrice going to Athens!
Bye bye
Great move for him.
Was their best player last season. Hopefully not too high a fee though contract runs to summer 27 so probably easily a few mil.
aberhibsfc
03-07-2025, 08:17 PM
Christ, has his head also gained weight.
Souter96Mac
03-07-2025, 08:18 PM
Not a rumour - but had a look on a list of free agents, especially any older experienced forwards.
Josh King's name popped up, was last at Toulouse in Ligue 1. Now maybe one that would usually be out of our reach (an educated guess) but interesting to note he was at Bournemouth for 4/5 seasons. The sort of transfer that Black Knights could help us swoop?
03-07-2025, 08:22 PM
Not a rumour - but had a look on a list of free agents, especially any older experienced forwards.
Josh King's name popped up, was last at Toulouse in Ligue 1. Now maybe one that would usually be out of our reach (an educated guess) but interesting to note he was at Bournemouth for 4/5 seasons. The sort of transfer that Black Knights could help us swoop?
6 goals in 28 games in Ligue 1. Sign me up!!
Imagine he could still get an English Championship team to take a punt though. Someone like Wrexham maybe.
StevieHendo
03-07-2025, 08:29 PM
Penrice away to AEK Athens
03-07-2025, 08:33 PM
Fabrizio Romano
🚨🇬🇷 Excl: AEK Athens agree deal to sign James Penrice from Scottish side Hearts.
Penrice was Player of the Season last season for Hearts and he will now move to Greece soon. 🟡⚫️
Just_Jimmy
03-07-2025, 08:35 PM
EXCLUSIVE: Josh King to Rangers.
[emoji6]
Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk
03-07-2025, 08:35 PM
Someone mentioned a josh king on Twitter a couple of weeks ago, I mentioned it here. Was just 1 random though
Paulie Walnuts
03-07-2025, 08:42 PM
Great move for him.
Was their best player last season. Hopefully not too high a fee though contract runs to summer 27 so probably easily a few mil.
I wouldn’t be all that concerned about the fee. I can’t imagine it would be more than £2m or so and in the grand scheme of the money they’ve wasted it’ll make no real material difference to what they bring in imo.