View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2025

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29

Donegal Hibby
30-06-2025, 08:49 PM
I maintain that he represents a fantastic, cheap option to provide a great shift for Sunderland in midfield the year after next, when they're trying to get promoted out of the Championship again.

A loan to us surely makes most sense to all parties - we'd like to get a great player for another year, he wants to play every week in the run up to the World Cup and Sunderland get a fairly polished player back when they're more likely to need to use him than now.

Of course we want to have him permanently but I don't get why Sunderland would want to accept relative buttons for him? I say relative buttons, we'd be smashing records to sign him but they're currently buying and selling in the £30m+ player range so anything we pay would be relative buttons.

Any party gets greedy, they risk missing out on the goodness that is already great for all 3 parties.

It’s possible I suppose they could loan him out again but i’d have thought if that’s what they were wanting to do they’d probably want to move him up a level now to a championship team. It does appear that they are open to selling him going by the rumours though .

I think the club will go as high as they possibly can for him though wither that’s enough or he would comeback with the other interested parties I don’t know . I’d imagine we’ll know soon enough one way or the other and if we don’t get him we will have other decent targets in mind .

01-07-2025, 07:53 AM
I've no idea how credible this site is, likely zero!

https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=733553559049662&set=a.189745753430448&comment_id=2174316536327389&notif_id=1751342586987963&notif_t=feedback_reaction_generic&ref=notif

badabing67
01-07-2025, 08:34 AM

https://www.facebook.com/photo?fbid=733553559049662&set=a.189745753430448&comment_id=2174316536327389&notif_id=1751342586987963&notif_t=feedback_reaction_generic&ref=notif

Fingers crossed as far as I am concerned there is still a chance

01-07-2025, 08:34 AM
Hibs are also closing in on Nectarios Triantis from English Premier League side Sunderland AFC for around £1.25m with add ons that could potentially rise to £1.75m and see him become the most expensive player ever in Scottish football outside of the big two.

Hopefully true! Certainly splashing the cash if true, especially as there was comment that we're also planning to invest a lot on a striker.

Interesting days!

01-07-2025, 08:40 AM

Is that not last week's news? Nothing seems to have changed since.

01-07-2025, 08:41 AM
Hopefully true! Certainly splashing the cash if true, especially as there was comment that we're also planning to invest a lot on a striker.

Interesting days!

If we are investing a lot on a striker surely that means he is viewed as a starter? Partner for Bowie?

chippy
01-07-2025, 08:46 AM
If we are investing a lot on a striker surely that means he is viewed as a starter? Partner for Bowie?

Longer term replacement for Boyler if he’s off next year ??

01-07-2025, 08:48 AM
Longer term replacement for Boyler if he’s off next year ??

That's what I think too. Also, need back-up to Bowie so that we can continue to manage his fitness, though hopefully these have all cleared up.

01-07-2025, 09:04 AM
If Nectar efforts fail( hope not ) , funds - not in anyway a replacement to Kenny or the like .

I’d be trying for Mark O’Hara as a replacement for Triantis

Cabbage-Patch
01-07-2025, 09:09 AM
Take it for whats it worth but ive heard from someone connected to the club that the deal for triantis has been agreed between Sunderland and Hibs (unsure of figures etc and they aren't privvy to that) however player themselves preferred option would be to stay at Sunderland and try force his way into the 1st team and wants to do some pre season training to see how likely this is.

If true I think hes likely to be very disappointed

01-07-2025, 09:11 AM

Not for me. Think he’d probably be pretty solid but a step down on Triantis and what he does for us. St Mirren midfield are about battling and scrapping and watching the ball go over their heads for 90 minutes. We need someone similar to Triantis, if we can’t keep him.

badabing67
01-07-2025, 09:13 AM

No thanks

01-07-2025, 09:23 AM
Take it for whats it worth but ive heard from someone connected to the club that the deal for triantis has been agreed between Sunderland and Hibs (unsure of figures etc and they aren't privvy to that) however player themselves preferred option would be to stay at Sunderland and try force his way into the 1st team and wants to do some pre season training to see how likely this is.

I imagine he’ll find out how interested they are in him forcing his way into the first team when he returns for preseason on Friday. If the club has agreed to sell him he won’t be in his managers thinking.

01-07-2025, 09:28 AM

A year or two ago I'd have spent the money on him, but at 30 years old his winter I'm not sure i'd be looking to put a decent chunk of money down.

01-07-2025, 09:28 AM

I think that would be very bad news for him and much, much worse news for us. He's an absolute stand out up here but he's an unlikely to get games in the English top league.

We'll struggle to easily replace him to the same standard and whoever we did go after isn't going to quickly slot in to the team in the way that he clearly does having played in such a successful side last season.

Fantastic though it is that we've signed and re-signed well to this point, we still need two forwards to stand still in that department and Triantis or very similar to maintain the quality in midfield.

Donegal Hibby
01-07-2025, 09:29 AM

Going by his highlights Balla Moussa Conte looks an interesting prospect…

https://youtu.be/vwC32iRF3yI?si=Ihf9M1J33tQnMS-M

01-07-2025, 09:35 AM
I think that would be very bad news for him and much, much worse news for us. He's an absolute stand out up here but he's an unlikely to get games in the English top league.

We'll struggle to easily replace him to the same standard and whoever we did go after isn't going to quickly slot in to the team in the way that he clearly does having played in such a successful side last season.

Fantastic though it is that we've signed and re-signed well to this point, we still need two forwards to stand still in that department and Triantis or very similar to maintain the quality in midfield.

A few windows ago I would've agreed that we’ll struggle to replace Nectar, not so now and if he doesn't want to come back I’m actually excited to see who else we’ll bring in.

01-07-2025, 09:46 AM

I got about a minute 30 in and thought the majority of thoes tackles will be punished the the SPL

01-07-2025, 09:56 AM

Sunderland have just spent £50m bringing in 2 centre mids (Le Fee and Diarra). They've already got Dan Neil who's their captain in there too, and Chris Rigg the 18 year old who's apparently the next big thing.

Triantis should be moving on, even if that's not here, there's nae point in him staying there.

shamo9
01-07-2025, 10:02 AM

Probably but I don't think he can be blamed for at least wanting to test the waters. Every football players wants to play at the highest level and a necessity for reaching the top is believing in yourself.

I think if he's struggling to even make the bench during pre-season the lure of going to Hibs and being the main man will become stronger.

WestStandWillie
01-07-2025, 10:04 AM
I know the European game is a few weeks away but is there a specific deadline for registering players?

Donegal Hibby
01-07-2025, 10:05 AM
I got about a minute 30 in and thought the majority of thoes tackles will be punished the the SPL

Actually thought most of his tackles he clearly wins the ball tbf .

01-07-2025, 10:11 AM
Probably but I don't think he can be blamed for at least wanting to test the waters. Every football players wants to play at the highest level and a necessity for reaching the top is believing in yourself.

I think if he's struggling to even make the bench during pre-season the lure of going to Hibs and being the main man will become stronger.

You’d figure if Sunderland had plans for him they wouldn’t have told us how much they want to sell him to us….

Donegal Hibby
01-07-2025, 10:14 AM

Sunderland have just spent £50m bringing in 2 centre mids (Le Fee and Diarra). They've already got Dan Neil who's their captain in there too, and Chris Rigg the 18 year old who's apparently the next big thing.

Triantis should be moving on, even if that's not here, there's nae point in him staying there.

I know reports are saying different but I think he will know himself he’s not going to get regular game time there and its more a case of the agent/ player waiting to see if there’s other options that come in for him while they consider what’s already on offer .

Cabbage-Patch
01-07-2025, 10:15 AM

Are we linked with this guy? Agree with the poster who said majority of those tackles would likely be classed as fouls in the SPL. Guaranteed at Ibrox and Celtic Park

01-07-2025, 10:20 AM
I know reports are saying different but I think he will know himself he’s not going to get regular game time there and its more a case of the agent/ player waiting to see if there’s other options that come in for him while they consider what’s already on offer .

You'd hope that when he gets back to pre-season he knocks on the manager's door for a quick chat to find out where he stands and the manager gives him an honest assessment.

01-07-2025, 10:20 AM
I maintain that he represents a fantastic, cheap option to provide a great shift for Sunderland in midfield the year after next, when they're trying to get promoted out of the Championship again.

A loan to us surely makes most sense to all parties - we'd like to get a great player for another year, he wants to play every week in the run up to the World Cup and Sunderland get a fairly polished player back when they're more likely to need to use him than now.

Of course we want to have him permanently but I don't get why Sunderland would want to accept relative buttons for him? I say relative buttons, we'd be smashing records to sign him but they're currently buying and selling in the £30m+ player range so anything we pay would be relative buttons.

Any party gets greedy, they risk missing out on the goodness that is already great for all 3 parties.

Every club wants a cohesive and together dressing room, with a tight knit first team squad and every young player pushing for consideration.

Sunderland have made it clear Triantis isn't in their plans. He needs to play regularly. Why retain his contract and loan him out again?

01-07-2025, 10:21 AM
Every club wants a cohesive and together dressing room, with a tight knit first team squad and every young player pushing for consideration.

Sunderland have made it clear Triantis isn't in their plans. He needs to play regularly. Why retain his contract and loan him out again?

If he goes to the English Championship, say, and performs maybe they're calculating that they'll get a lot more dosh for him next year?

CentreForward
01-07-2025, 10:31 AM
Can’t exactly blame him for doing it, either by seeing if he still has any chance at Sunderland or if other offers come in from elsewhere. Only problem with that is that if he does end up coming back to us will we suddenly seem like a 3rd or 4th choice to him and we suddenly end up with a bit of an unhappy player. Hope not.

01-07-2025, 10:33 AM
“We are Scottish football” account on Twitter, which I'm sure is a daft wee laddie, reporting Blackburn Rovers have had a bid of £1 mil accepted for Triantis.

MacGruber
01-07-2025, 10:34 AM
I know the European game is a few weeks away but is there a specific deadline for registering players?

Not far away now at all and whilst Triantis coming back would be huge and whilst we are overall in a very good place - we are a bit short up front. Myko, Gayle and Hoilett were involved in virtually every game in some capacity.

Just Boyle and Bowie at the minute. Bowie hasn't really shown to be a consistent 90 min player either. Youan be useful but no telling where he is physically and mentally.

Could do with reinforcements up top. Relying on Bowie for physicality and if they both start, Boyle and Bowie v the Danes there isn't going to be much on the bench as it stands - though I'm sure we'll get somebody in before then

01-07-2025, 10:42 AM

I've come to the point where I think it's unlikely either Triantis or Hoilett will be back but every day hope to be proved wrong.

01-07-2025, 10:47 AM
“We are Scottish football” account on Twitter, which I'm sure is a daft wee laddie, reporting Blackburn Rovers have had a bid of £1 mil accepted for Triantis.

He also said triantis move coming in a few days after Mulligan signed…ignore.

01-07-2025, 10:56 AM

Well I’m sold. Looks a class act.

01-07-2025, 11:04 AM
Are our Bournemouth overlords sending another player to Rangers? Hopefully this is a clever sabotage ruse...

https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/sport/25279690.rangers-talks-bournemouth-joe-rothwell-deal/ (https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/sport/25279690.rangers-talks-bournemouth-joe-rothwell-deal/)

Donegal Hibby
01-07-2025, 11:16 AM
Are we linked with this guy? Agree with the poster who said majority of those tackles would likely be classed as fouls in the SPL. Guaranteed at Ibrox and Celtic Park

I think there was something mentioned about him earlier, might not be anything in it of course though I suppose the point I’m making is there will be a fair few folk disappointed ( myself included) if we don’t get Triantis but there are a lot of other good players out there and I would have a lot of faith in our recruitment now to identify another good one.

Surprised you and the other poster think a lot of the tackles are fouls tbh as I think in most he clearly wins the ball .. opinions eh? 😀

01-07-2025, 11:30 AM
I think there was something mentioned about him earlier, might not be anything in it of course though I suppose the point I’m making is there will be a fair few folk disappointed ( myself included) if we don’t get Triantis but there are a lot of other good players out there and I would have a lot of faith in our recruitment now to identify another good one.

Surprised you and the other poster think a lot of the tackles are fouls tbh as I think in most he clearly wins the ball .. opinions eh? ��

"Winning the ball" hasn't really been a thing for a while though.

I took a bit of time to adapt to the new rules. Previously, a whacking tackle could be fine as long as the ball was won, but now you have to take into consideration excessive force and endangering opponents. The winning of the ball is fairly immaterial.

That's before you get onto the interpretation of said rules by Scottish referees.

The tackles in the clip were great Scottish tackles, maybe up to about a decade or so ago. Since then, I'm afraid I agree with those who think they're getting penalised here.

01-07-2025, 11:42 AM
I actually think the guy in the video goes to ground a tad too quickly. I rate that he wins the ball so often but I'm a bit of a believer in that if you have to go to ground it's because it's the last option or something has gone a bit wrong.

01-07-2025, 11:47 AM

I've took a bit to adapt to the new rules. Previously, a whacking tackle could be fine as long as the ball was won, but now you have to take into consideration excessive force and endangering opponents. The winning of the ball is fairly immaterial.

That's before you get onto the interpretation of said rules by Scottish referees.

The tackles in the clip were great Scottish tackles, maybe up to about a decade or so ago. Since then, I'm afraid I agree with those who think they're getting penalised here.

Triantis made a strong tackle early in the cup tie v Ayr - he couldn't have won the ball more cleanly but Ayr players were wanting him sent off and we all had our hearts in our mouth. Was a booking in the end, but shows how times have changed. Watch games from 10-20 years ago and the difference in what players can do is amazing. No diving defenders either.

01-07-2025, 11:51 AM
If he goes to the English Championship, say, and performs maybe they're calculating that they'll get a lot more dosh for him next year?

Of course. We might say a similar thing about, say, Tavares. Loan them out again, hope they discover some form, fingers crossed for profits ahead.

Sometimes, though, it's better to have clarity of thought. Frankly, Sunderland are odds on to get relegated again, they need to focus all their energies on the task ahead.

Donegal Hibby

I've took a bit to adapt to the new rules. Previously, a whacking tackle could be fine as long as the ball was won, but now you have to take into consideration excessive force and endangering opponents. The winning of the ball is fairly immaterial.

I agree with what you’re saying about taking into account excessive force and endangering the opponents but I really don’t see excessive force or any signs of endangering the opponents in his tackling in the first minute and a half tbh .

Edit … Had a look back and I think there is potentially one tackle he could be booked for though the rest I think he wins the ball with no force or risk to the opponent.

I actually think the guy in the video goes to ground a tad too quickly. I rate that he wins the ball so often but I'm a bit of a believer in that if you have to go to ground it's because it's the last option or something has gone a bit wrong.

He'd be red carded every other game playing for us if he regularly makes tackles like the first couple of clips.

01-07-2025, 11:55 AM
Greg Taylor signs for PAOK

MacGruber
01-07-2025, 12:22 PM
I agree with what you’re saying about taking into account excessive force and endangering the opponents but I really don’t see excessive force or any signs of endangering the opponents in his tackling in the first minute and a half tbh .

Edit … Had a look back and I think there is potentially one tackle he could be booked for though the rest I think he wins the ball with no force or risk to the opponent.

He jumps in a bit unorthodox with both legs in most of them, he wins the ball but the awkward way he goes in would get pulled up more often than not. It's just a few clips though, not really a sample size worth determining how he normally tackles

01-07-2025, 12:23 PM
Are our Bournemouth overlords sending another player to Rangers? Hopefully this is a clever sabotage ruse...

https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/sport/25279690.rangers-talks-bournemouth-joe-rothwell-deal/ (https://www.glasgowtimes.co.uk/sport/25279690.rangers-talks-bournemouth-joe-rothwell-deal/)

Very good signing

sauzee1989
01-07-2025, 12:32 PM
You sure it’s not rangers bill foley has money in?

01-07-2025, 12:36 PM
Huns on the verge of selling Igamane to Lille for their reported asking price of 15m no bad business as they paid 1.5m for him if it goes through

His Moroccan club have a 30% sell on

Lille want him to team up upfront with Olivier Girooooouuuuuudddddddd!!!

Dessers attracting interest from AEK Athens

Bobo
01-07-2025, 12:40 PM
Triantis is going down the same route that Craig Rowcastle chose when he returned to Chelsea during the Mowbray era.

We all know what happened after that, he had 1 season with Sheffield Wednesday then it was all pretty much downhill from there.

Triantis is a similar age to what Rocastle was back then and both were looking at the same opportunity of playing in the EPL.

It's a big gamble to take when there is a guaranteed stable contract on offer, not without its own rewards, where he can learn and improve as well as gaining international recognition before getting the desired EPL move a little further down the line.

It's all about opportunites and taking them when the time is right, we'll find out, in time, whether Triantis makes the right choice or becomes the next Craig Rocastle?

sean04
01-07-2025, 12:45 PM
Bournemouth selling another player to rangers. What is going on? Thought bk wanted to split the old firm

01-07-2025, 12:47 PM
Is a bit weird, but then I realised both players from Bournemouth have previously played under Russell Martin. Can't help it if the player wants to go to the Huns.

sauzee1989
01-07-2025, 12:48 PM
Triantis is going down the same route that Craig Rowcastle chose when he returned to Chelsea during the Mowbray era.

We all know what happened after that, he had 1 season with Sheffield Wednesday then it was all pretty much downhill from there.

Triantis is a similar age to what Rocastle was back then and both were looking at the same opportunity of playing in the EPL.

It's a big gamble to take when there is a guaranteed stable contract on offer, not without its own rewards, where he can learn and improve as well as gaining international recognition before getting the desired EPL move a little further down the line.

It's all about opportunites and taking them when the time is right, we'll find out, in time, whether Triantis makes the right choice or becomes the next Craig Rocastle?

Not many if any similarities with these players. Rocastle was extremely limited as a footballer just a poor version of a Marvin Bartley sort but looked better with good players around him.

01-07-2025, 12:52 PM
Bournemouth selling another player to rangers. What is going on? Thought bk wanted to split the old firm

I’m not saying you’re wrong but when did they say that?

I thought their stated ambition was regular European football.

Donegal Hibby
01-07-2025, 12:56 PM

I don’t think there was ever any mention of splitting the OF , more challenging for 3rd and getting into Europe regularly.

badabing67
01-07-2025, 12:56 PM
Could of spotted an infiltrator there Bingo

Bobo
01-07-2025, 01:11 PM
Not many if any similarities with these players. Rocastle was extremely limited as a footballer just a poor version of a Marvin Bartley sort but looked better with good players around him.

Not debating their abilities, more the position they were in being loan players and taking a punt at making it at their parent clubs rather than opting for a guranteed stable contract with the opportunity to achieve their ambition a little further down the road.

sean04
01-07-2025, 01:17 PM
I don’t think there was ever any mention of splitting the OF , more challenging for 3rd and getting into Europe regularly.

How's making our rivals stronger helping us qualify for Europe? Imagine the uproar if max Aaron's scores and puts us out the scottish cup

sean04
01-07-2025, 01:18 PM
I’m not saying you’re wrong but when did they say that?

I thought their stated ambition was regular European football.

On twitter, Joe rothwell

01-07-2025, 01:19 PM
How's making our rivals stronger helping us qualify for Europe? Imagine the uproar if max Aaron's scores and puts us out the scottish cup

Where would the uproar come from? Not me. Bournemouth can sell whoever the want to whoever they want.

If Kieron Bowie turns into a superstar, would we only be allowed to sell him to Bournemouth in the EPL?

badabing67
01-07-2025, 01:23 PM
Where would the uproar come from? Not me. Bournemouth can sell whoever the want to whoever they want.

If Kieron Bowie turns into a superstar, would we only be allowed to sell him to Bournemouth in the EPL?

Exactly.... They are in the business of buying and selling football players to make a profit

sean04
01-07-2025, 01:23 PM

There will be a very unhappy section of hibs fans if a Bournemouth player knocks us out the cup. A team were linked to and part of a group. That could stop us getting into Europe. Don't see how making another team within our league stronger is helping hibs

sean04
01-07-2025, 01:24 PM
Exactly.... They are in the business of buying and selling football players to make a profit

They could've sent max Aaron's to the championship on England. Subsided his wages so he could join rangers

Greenio
01-07-2025, 01:26 PM
Quality vid on the hibs socials - 'fist bump (or pump according to DG!) where they all guess how many goals they've scored. Elie's response is classic!

I'm more and more thinking he might be staying.

01-07-2025, 01:30 PM
There will be a very unhappy section of hibs fans if a Bournemouth player knocks us out the cup. A team were linked to and part of a group. That could stop us getting into Europe. Don't see how making another team within our league stronger is helping hibs

To be fair there are always a really unhappy section of Hibs fans, someone is always moaning about something.

In your scenario he won't be a Bournemouth player, he'll be a Rangers player. If we're knocked out the cup I'll be pissed off we're out the cup, I won't be greetin about how the group who owns 25% of the club loaned a player (who wouldn't have been interested in moving to us) to Rangers.

What if NMW plays against Bournemouth in the cup and Mansfield put them out?

01-07-2025, 01:31 PM
Quality vid on the hibs socials - 'fist bump (or pump according to DG!) where they all guess how many goals they've scored. Elie's response is classic!

A fit and flying Youan would be something to hold onto.

01-07-2025, 01:33 PM
They could've sent max Aaron's to the championship on England. Subsided his wages so he could join rangers

He's no an unwanted sofa, you cannae just send him somewhere, he has to want to go. Were there even Championship teams after him?

01-07-2025, 01:34 PM
A fit and flying Youan would be something to hold onto.

Without a doubt! Think Gray will get him in the right frame of mind as well.

badabing67
01-07-2025, 01:37 PM

Same here, hopefully he extends

hibbie02
01-07-2025, 01:53 PM

I took a bit of time to adapt to the new rules. Previously, a whacking tackle could be fine as long as the ball was won, but now you have to take into consideration excessive force and endangering opponents. The winning of the ball is fairly immaterial.

And we won't see the ones he missed or got booked for. He would spend more time up before the beaks than on the pitch. He'd be offafter 10 mins against the Uglies and Them. Alasannah found that out pronto. Apart from that he looked tidy on the ball.

01-07-2025, 01:54 PM

Been over this before but the player has to also WANT to be sent to the Championship.

The footballing world will get awfully small if we're only allowed to do business with or avoid clashing with everyone in the same multi club set ups.

CentreForward
01-07-2025, 02:03 PM
Same here, hopefully he extends

Any news on his fitness? Surely he must be over his injury by now.

jonny
01-07-2025, 02:21 PM

He's back in full training

CentreForward
01-07-2025, 02:36 PM
He's back in full training

Thanks and sounds encouraging. Wonder if he is Holland.

01-07-2025, 02:40 PM
Thanks and sounds encouraging. Wonder if he is Holland.

Yep in the latest video

01-07-2025, 02:44 PM

It's a valid question imo.

The big problem with these multi-club ownership groups is being sure that each club is acting in its own interests, rather than the interests of the wider group.

CentreForward
01-07-2025, 02:47 PM
Yep in the latest video

Thanks and yes just watched the video. All looks great over there and in great weather. If he stays fit then think SDG can really get him going and he could be like a whole new very good signing. All of that if he’s staying, of course!

01-07-2025, 02:48 PM
He's no an unwanted sofa, you cannae just send him somewhere, he has to want to go. Were there even Championship teams after him?

Who knows, but the questions are valid.

I think we are entitled to believe BK / Bournemouth will be doing all they reasonably can to support us, no?

01-07-2025, 02:52 PM
Been over this before but the player has to also WANT to be sent to the Championship.

The footballing world will get awfully small if we're only allowed to do business with or avoid clashing with everyone in the same multi club set ups.
Exactly right 👍

Donegal Hibby
01-07-2025, 03:02 PM

If they didn’t sign Max Aarons they’d only have signed someone else that would still be as good and who could also score against us. Personally there would be no uproar here if he did score against us as our tie-in with Bournemouth doesn’t mean they or us can’t to business with other clubs if it suits either club and that’s the way it should be . I really don’t have a problem with Bournemouth over this tbh .

01-07-2025, 03:05 PM
Who knows, but the questions are valid.

I think we are entitled to believe BK / Bournemouth will be doing all they reasonably can to support us, no?

The thing is though BK and Bournemouth don't own us. We're not a little play thing for them. They have an interest in us as a minority shareholder but they have their own football club to look out for first and foremost. To them Bournemouth will always be priority and to the Gordon's it will be Hibs.

If BKFC owned us a a major shareholder then things could be a bit different in that we're a forgotten about side piece.

01-07-2025, 03:13 PM
What happened to Regan Charles Cook? We were apparently interested in him a couple months back but not seen anything on him since

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

01-07-2025, 03:16 PM

Good video. Interesting too. I didn’t realise David Gray had scored for Hibs.

01-07-2025, 03:17 PM

Has he? When was that?

01-07-2025, 03:20 PM
Has he? When was that?

Yes, I'd like to see that. Was it some kind of header or something?

01-07-2025, 03:23 PM
What happened to Regan Charles Cook? We were apparently interested in him a couple months back but not seen anything on him since

Seen talk months back, where would he fit in in the current set up though ?

01-07-2025, 03:33 PM

[emoji23][emoji23]

01-07-2025, 03:39 PM
Yes, I'd like to see that. Was it some kind of header or something?
You'll be telling us next that he scored more than once against Sevco.

badabing67
01-07-2025, 03:39 PM

I guess we will have an Idea tomorrow hopefully he starts but if he doesn't play at all then there is obviously still an issue.

HendoDelivered
01-07-2025, 03:48 PM
Think Hoilett has signed. Announcement soon 👍🏼

CentreForward
01-07-2025, 03:49 PM
I guess we will have an Idea tomorrow hopefully he starts but if he doesn't play at all then there is obviously still an issue.

Good point!

01-07-2025, 03:52 PM
New signing incoming? Hoilett new deal?

01-07-2025, 03:52 PM
Juniorrrrr

Hibs3-2
01-07-2025, 03:54 PM
As said hoilett done

Looks like bowie has no9 too

01-07-2025, 03:55 PM

Yep, Ron stated when he took over he wanted the wage structure increased by around 100% and be best of the rest, it means better players, challenging and winning silverware, plus regular yearly European football.

Junior ain’t daft. Stall signing and miss a good chunk of the hard pre season 😂😂 old head on an old pro.

I told yous..

Junior is far too old and experienced to go back for the first week of pre season 🤣 give the first week a miss and then go back for the training trip abroad

Delighted to get him signed again, think we’re a far better team when he plays.

Even though we’ve got McGrath it will be really good competition or a brilliant option from the bench

01-07-2025, 03:56 PM
Delighted with this absolute quality

01-07-2025, 03:58 PM
1 year extension until next summer

01-07-2025, 03:59 PM
Where is the news about Junior being reported other than here?

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-07-2025, 03:59 PM
Seen talk months back, where would he fit in in the current set up though ?

Did he not play as a striker most of the time for Ross County? Could be a decent option as backup for Bowie/off the bench

01-07-2025, 04:00 PM
Delighted.

Just need:-
1. Triantis or plan B
2. Another striker / assuming Youan staying

And we are done.

01-07-2025, 04:02 PM
That's fantastic about Holiett. Buzzing he's staying.

Triantis and two strikers and we are ****ing cooking!

Where is the news about Junior being reported other than here?

Hibs app

Renfrew_Hibby
All we really need up front now (if Youan now fancies it at Hibs) is a younger version of Brian Graham imo

01-07-2025, 04:03 PM
Delighted.

Just need:-
1. Triantis or plan B
2. Another striker / assuming Youan staying

And we are done.
I'm still fairly sure there'll be another center back coming in.

01-07-2025, 04:03 PM
Hibs app
Ah, thank you. :aok:

01-07-2025, 04:04 PM
All we really need up front now (if Youan now fancies it at Hibs) is a younger version of Brian Graham imo

Of all players you could have picked to want a younger version of 🤣🤣

01-07-2025, 04:05 PM
Offishal noo.....

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/july/01/junior-hoilett-signs-new-deal-/

01-07-2025, 04:05 PM

I don’t think thats a priority if Miller and Ekpiteta are both staying. And I hope both do stay.

badabing67
01-07-2025, 04:07 PM
Really pleased about Hoilett if only Triantis would sign up we would be in a really strong position

01-07-2025, 04:07 PM

Porto?

djw80!
01-07-2025, 04:08 PM
Still think 1 xLCB 1x DM and couple strikers and we are done... really impressed with the squad thats being built even more so with the exits of fringe players deemed not good enough.. Almost seems like were being run properly 🤔

01-07-2025, 04:09 PM
Porto?
I hope so though I wouldn't be shocked to see another signing none of us have heard of, Garvan Stewart has been pretty thorough in his searching I'm quite sure.

aberhibsfc
01-07-2025, 04:10 PM
Would folks consider Porto, Nisbet as potentially being available, good enough, but would have to toe the line behaviourally?

01-07-2025, 04:10 PM
Offishal noo.....

https://www.hibernianfc.co.uk/news/2025/july/01/junior-hoilett-signs-new-deal-/

Great words from SDG and MM there. I wonder if his family will be based locally for the next year going by what Malky said?

01-07-2025, 04:12 PM
Come on Nectar the gang is back together again don’t miss out Sunderland don’t want you that’s clear Hibs do that’s clear

01-07-2025, 04:14 PM
Would folks consider Porto, Nisbet as potentially being available, good enough, but would have to toe the line behaviourally?
They'd have to, I just can't see SDG and Malky McKay tolerating BS from players. Fit with the ethos and culture or bolt I'm pretty sure would be the message.

01-07-2025, 04:20 PM
Great words from SDG and MM there. I wonder if his family will be based locally for the next year going by what Malky said?

I wonder if part of the deal is Hibs will provide accommodation for his family to come and stay now and then.

01-07-2025, 04:21 PM
Hoilett back again is major. Great business.

hfc-1875
01-07-2025, 04:22 PM
Squad doesn’t look too far away now

Cadden
Miller
Rocky
Iredale
Cadden

Mulligan
Newell
McGrath

Boyle
Bowie

Ohora and ekpiteta cover as cb
Miller either rcb or rwb if needed
Mulligan centre mid or rwb
Obita cover on the left
Hoilett now to go with Campbell and McGrath in no 10
Youan an option up top if he stays

A centre mid and another striker will do

hibs4life
01-07-2025, 04:23 PM

I don't think it's behaviour as such, more attitude, approach and work ethic. Not aware that Porto would be an issue, not so sure about Nisbet,though. I think both's character will be well known, so if there is a decision to be made, I think we can trust that the correct decisions will be made.

badabing67
01-07-2025, 04:27 PM
Come on Nectar the gang is back together again don’t miss out Sunderland don’t want you that’s clear Hibs do that’s clear

Poster: Hibs3-2 posted last Friday that Hoilett had signed so it is possible that he did sign up last Friday. He posted after EH21Hibee posted that Triantis had signed up. Hopefully this comes true as well

01-07-2025, 04:27 PM
Think Hoilett has signed. Announcement soon 👍🏼
He has 1 year contract, brilliant news 👏

badabing67
01-07-2025, 04:32 PM
I told yous..

Junior is far too old and experienced to go back for the first week of pre season 🤣 give the first week a miss and then go back for the training trip abroad

Delighted to get him signed again, think we’re a far better team when he plays.

Even though we’ve got McGrath it will be really good competition or a brilliant option from the bench

You did

Halmyre Hibee
01-07-2025, 04:32 PM

SDG will know their attributes inside out. The current squad appear to get on and are a close knit group. Both players are ex Scottish Internationalists and on their day are very good players. The more talented players we have in this squad the better we can progress both in Europe and domestically. I personally wouldn’t say no but SDG may have better options out there.

01-07-2025, 04:34 PM

Cadden
Miller
Rocky
Iredale
Cadden

Mulligan
Newell
McGrath

Boyle
Bowie

Obita cover on the left

You’ve missed a few midfielders from that list.

01-07-2025, 04:35 PM

Cadden
Miller
Rocky
Iredale
Cadden

Mulligan
Newell
McGrath

Boyle
Bowie

Obita cover on the left

There is always a surprise or 2 regarding people leaving as well.

01-07-2025, 04:39 PM
SDG will know their attributes inside out. The current squad appear to get on and are a close knit group. Both players are ex Scottish Internationalists and on their day are very good players. The more talented players we have in this squad the better we can progress both in Europe and domestically. I personally wouldn’t say no but SDG may have better options out there.
Agree and I alluded earlier to Garvan Stewart, BK didn't send him to us just to sign ex-players or known entities like McGrath. There'll be a couple of pleasant surprises yet I'm quite certain.

01-07-2025, 04:50 PM
Brilliant news about Hoilett, played some of our best football with him on the park last season.

01-07-2025, 04:53 PM
I was saying this time last week that there wasn’t any need to panic, we knew what we were doing and we just needed to have a bit patience. As the week got on I was starting to doubt that ever so slightly but, for being at the 1st of July, I think we’re in a brilliant place squad wise with the business done since then.

Still don’t think we can underestimate the importance of Triantis, or a replacement though. It’s such an important position and I really hope we have something done before Midtjylland.

01-07-2025, 04:54 PM
What a week its been. Well done Hibs.

01-07-2025, 04:58 PM
Get triantis back and another striker in and we’re looking very strong.

01-07-2025, 04:58 PM
I was saying this time last week that there wasn’t any need to panic, we knew what we were doing and we just needed to have a bit patience. As the week got on I was starting to doubt that ever so slightly but, for being at the 1st of July, I think we’re in a brilliant place squad wise with the business done since then.

Still don’t think we can underestimate the importance of Triantis, or a replacement though. It’s such an important position and I really hope we have something done before Midtjylland.

I thought that too, could Mulligan have been brought in with that in mind? He can play centre midfield as well so possible short term cover

01-07-2025, 05:00 PM
Sunderland sign another midfielder:

https://www.getfootballnewsfrance.com/2025/official-sunderland-sign-strasbourg-midfielder-habib-diarra-in-club-record-deal/

Just_Jimmy
01-07-2025, 05:01 PM
Great news. Go get Nectar and thats unreal Hibs.

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

01-07-2025, 05:02 PM
Great news. I ****ing love Hibs.

jonny
01-07-2025, 05:02 PM
Poster: Hibs3-2 posted last Friday that Hoilett had signed so it is possible that he did sign up last Friday. He posted after EH21Hibee posted that Triantis had signed up. Hopefully this comes true as well

Wide reports now that Blackburn and Portsmouth are interested in Triantis. Apparently Blackburn getting prepared to table a bid. Obviously if he's already signed for us it's inconsequential but I'm not as hopeful now as I was this morning

01-07-2025, 05:07 PM
I thought that too, could Mulligan have been brought in with that in mind? He can play centre midfield as well so possible short term cover

Absolutely brought in with that in mind IMO. Think he’s different to Triantis but the one thing he does have in common is that athleticism and ability to get about the park. If Triantis isn’t back, I think Mulligan will start in there against Midtjylland.

I’ve went from thinking there was no chance of seeing Triantis back, to being pretty confident he would be to now thinking it’s probably 50/50 but that, if he does come back, it won’t be until later in the window.

Just_Jimmy
01-07-2025, 05:07 PM
Wide reports now that Blackburn and Portsmouth are interested in Triantis. Apparently Blackburn getting prepared to table a bid. Obviously if he's already signed for us it's inconsequential but I'm not as hopeful now as I was this morningI find that the most ridiculous saying in football, "getting ready to submit a bid"

Literally pick up the phone and say we're interested in so and so how much, here's our offer.

Its such pish journalist talk.

01-07-2025, 05:08 PM
Hoilett is a great keep as depth in a couple of positions.

There are probably a few questions over McGrath's availability so he's brilliant to have for in that role in particular, both as a starter when needed and as an impact sub or experienced head to see a game out.

A sensible football club doing sensible things.

badabing67
01-07-2025, 05:09 PM
Wide reports now that Blackburn and Portsmouth are interested in Triantis. Apparently Blackburn getting prepared to table a bid. Obviously if he's already signed for us it's inconsequential but I'm not as hopeful now as I was this morning

If he wants to go to the world cup we are his best option

01-07-2025, 05:13 PM
I find that the most ridiculous saying in football, "getting ready to submit a bid"

Literally pick up the phone and say we're interested in so and so how much, here's our offer.

They're stepping up their interest.

01-07-2025, 05:14 PM
Transfermrkt has us having a squad of 24, not sure if they have missed anyone?
Still think there is some room to do some business.

Raphael Sallinger
Jordan Smith
Murray Johnson

Rocky Bushiri
Marvin Ekpiteta
Warren O'Hora
Jack Iredale
Jordan Obita
Lewis Miller
Chris Cadden
Kanayo Megwa
Allan Delferriere

Joe Newell
Dylan Levitt
Alasana Manneh
Josh Mulligan
Nicky Cadden
Jamie McGrath
Josh Campbell
Rudi Molotnikov

Élie Youan
Junior Hoilett
Martin Boyle
Kieron Bowie

01-07-2025, 05:17 PM

01-07-2025, 05:22 PM

Raphael Sallinger
Jordan Smith
Murray Johnson

Rocky Bushiri
Marvin Ekpiteta
Warren O'Hora
Jack Iredale
Jordan Obita
Lewis Miller
Chris Cadden
Kanayo Megwa
Allan Delferriere

Joe Newell
Dylan Levitt
Alasana Manneh
Josh Mulligan
Nicky Cadden
Jamie McGrath
Josh Campbell
Rudi Molotnikov

Élie Youan
Junior Hoilett
Martin Boyle
Kieron Bowie

Delferriere will move in I think. I don’t see Megwa being part of it. Molotnikov will need a loan as he won’t get enough minutes to progress.

I think there could be a some movement defensively. Someone out to get someone in maybe. Youan will be spoken about leaving but he’s been leaving since the moment he got here!

jonny
01-07-2025, 05:23 PM
I find that the most ridiculous saying in football, "getting ready to submit a bid"

I'm not disagreeing pal but just noting what I read.
Here's another article from Mackem news which seems to put us as favourites but mentions Triantis has intimated a desire to stay and try to impress the manager.

https://www.mackemnews.com/triantis-now-set-to-leave-sunderland-in-club-record-transfer/

Donegal Hibby
01-07-2025, 05:35 PM
Glad to see Hoilett back . Triantis or another good player if we don’t get him back and a quality striker and we are good to go …

https://x.com/HibernianFC/status/1940077968941883776

01-07-2025, 05:42 PM
So glad to see Hoilett back, definitely still has something to offer us for a another year.

Was our best player at the start of the season, little dip in form but was a key player in the latter stages of the season.

Triantis this week will be huge if it happens and look strong for our Euro Ties if we can get him over the line.

1875M

Raphael Sallinger
Jordan Smith
Murray Johnson

Rocky Bushiri
Marvin Ekpiteta
Warren O'Hora
Jack Iredale
Jordan Obita
Lewis Miller
Chris Cadden
Kanayo Megwa
Allan Delferriere

Joe Newell
Dylan Levitt
Alasana Manneh
Josh Mulligan
Nicky Cadden
Jamie McGrath
Josh Campbell
Rudi Molotnikov

Élie Youan
Junior Hoilett
Martin Boyle
Kieron Bowie

Getting there but we need Triantis (or similar player) and another striker, if not 2.

Smith

Miller
Rocky
Iredale

Chris Cadden
Levitt
?
Nicky Cadden

McGrath

Boyle
Bowie

I can’t take in all this positive news ……. surely there has to be a catch. :greengrin

From Anthony Joseph Sky Sports

Legia Warsaw have made an enquiry for Celtic winger Hyunjun Yang.

Clubs in England & across Europe are also monitoring the South Korea international’s situation.

He’s got 3 years left on his contract.

The 23yo got 6 goals & 6 assists last season

01-07-2025, 05:52 PM

Clubs in England & across Europe are also monitoring the South Korea international’s situation.

The 23yo got 6 goals & 6 assists last seasonSurprised anyone wants him.

One of the worst ever performances I've seen from a player in a cup final a few weeks back. Celtic would've been better playing with ten.

ErinGoBraghHFC
01-07-2025, 05:54 PM

The 23yo got 6 goals & 6 assists last season

The Celtic fans I know think he’s *****, wouldn’t be a massive loss to them from what I’ve seen of him either.

01-07-2025, 05:55 PM
More like Junior Opposite-of-a-Toilett

01-07-2025, 05:58 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1940105211538022697?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Can’t believe we actually signed Shankland

Brilliant business

Like that we’re playing in in the development team to get his fitness up

01-07-2025, 06:02 PM
Pleased to see Hoilett back. These classy experienced players are worth their weight in gold and sounds like a great all-round guy who’ll be very fired up to make sure he’s at the World Cup. Good business…again. Well done Hibs.

01-07-2025, 06:03 PM

Isn't he going to Blackburn now?

Hope not!

01-07-2025, 06:16 PM
Getting there but we need Triantis (or similar player) and another striker, if not 2.

Smith

Miller
Rocky
Iredale

Chris Cadden
Levitt
?
Nicky Cadden

McGrath

Boyle
Bowie

Mulligan or Manneh would be in there just now.

supermcginn
01-07-2025, 06:20 PM

Smith

Miller
Rocky
Iredale

Chris Cadden
Levitt
?
Nicky Cadden

McGrath

Boyle
Bowie
Mulligan will be first choice, Salinger probably too. I'd have Hoilett ahead of McGrath too, depending on opposition.

01-07-2025, 06:25 PM
Delighted with our recruitment so far. Kept the squad that finished 3rd and added quality in McGrath, Mulligan and Sallinger. Consistency so important. Triantis would be the icing on the cake.

Massive well done so far Hibs.

01-07-2025, 06:26 PM
I'd have Hoilett ahead of McGrath too, depending on opposition.

Mental.

Just_Jimmy
01-07-2025, 06:34 PM
I'm not disagreeing pal but just noting what I read.
Here's another article from Mackem news which seems to put us as favourites but mentions Triantis has intimated a desire to stay and try to impress the manager.

https://www.mackemnews.com/triantis-now-set-to-leave-sunderland-in-club-record-transfer/Wasn't a pop at you, just the rotten cliche talk that "journalists" put out.

Donegal Hibby
01-07-2025, 06:40 PM

Not having a go at you but this might clear things up a bit in clubs can’t just send players where they want , the player also has a say where he wants to go ….

https://x.com/SkySportsNews/status/1940023051778757016

01-07-2025, 06:41 PM
Semenyo stays at the cherries - host of clubs in for him. They’ll be delighted

01-07-2025, 06:42 PM
Mulligan will be first choice, Salinger probably too. I'd have Hoilett ahead of McGrath too, depending on opposition.

Smith has the gloves!

01-07-2025, 06:50 PM

They’d be unbelievable signings, and would make us a stick on for third in my opinion. I’d be absolutely delighted to get both.

1875M
01-07-2025, 06:58 PM
Smith has the gloves!

Agreed. His to lose.

01-07-2025, 07:01 PM

Being sent to Rangers on loan no doubt 😃 😜

aberhibsfc
01-07-2025, 07:21 PM
They’d be unbelievable signings, and would make us a stick on for third in my opinion. I’d be absolutely delighted to get both.

Me too. With what Gray has already pulled together, if we bagged Triantis it would be a Carlsberg moment. If he got those two as well, I'd need scraping off the roof. I don't think we would get them, but I'd love to.

Just hope we can convince Triantis his future is here for the next few seasons.

01-07-2025, 07:23 PM
https://x.com/hibernianfc/status/1940105211538022697?s=46&t=jmxs-mZWT_cnYbURW-GKJw

Can’t believe we actually signed Shankland

Brilliant business

Like that we’re playing in in the development team to get his fitness up

Lmao

Who is our Shankland though really?

01-07-2025, 07:24 PM
Lmao

Who is our Shankland though really?

Cole Shankland

tonyrougier123
01-07-2025, 07:30 PM
Despite the great business we have done, we have shipped 4 defensive mids, crucial position for us to fill and fill well. Also the lack of strikers at the club is still a major issue if we plan to qualify for a European campaign past August. We definitely need to be getting a few more players in the door. It’s been good and sensible from team perspective but a striker and cdm needs to happen soon for us to be ready for Europe.

Hibees1973
01-07-2025, 07:42 PM
Hoilett oozes class and quality.

A very useful option for another season.

01-07-2025, 07:45 PM
Hoilett oozes class and quality.

A very useful option for another season.

Yup. Important we kept him with Gayle retiring. Massive asset to the squad with his experience and obvious quality.

01-07-2025, 07:45 PM

I’d imagine it’s a bump in wages and Bournemouth will have inserted a more achievable buyout for next summer.

01-07-2025, 07:46 PM
Mental.

Don’t think it’s that mental tbh

01-07-2025, 07:47 PM

Dunno why Nisbet would. Didn’t exactly rip up any trees.

supermcginn
01-07-2025, 07:47 PM
Smith has the gloves!

We shall see.

supermcginn
01-07-2025, 07:50 PM
Mental.

Is it? We played great football at the end of the season with Hoilett in the team, he's also played for a long time at a higher level than McGrath ever has.

CentreForward
01-07-2025, 07:53 PM
Despite the great business we have done, we have shipped 4 defensive mids, crucial position for us to fill and fill well. Also the lack of strikers at the club is still a major issue if we plan to qualify for a European campaign past August. We definitely need to be getting a few more players in the door. It’s been good and sensible from team perspective but a striker and cdm needs to happen soon for us to be ready for Europe.

Trying to work out who the 4 are ??

TrinityHFC
01-07-2025, 08:08 PM
Trying to work out who the 4 are ??

NMW, Kwon, Triantis and Kenneh?

01-07-2025, 08:14 PM

We have signed Mulligan who we described as a defensive midfielder maybe says a bit about how we plan to use him. Manneh is also more or less a new signing and he’s a deeper midfielder as well.

I don’t think the lack of strikers is a major issue at this point. We wouldn’t get through a season with the three we have. But it’s three good options for the start of a campaign and, IMO, anyone coming in is likely to be third or fourth choice.

Hibs3-2
01-07-2025, 08:15 PM

No info re triantis as yet unfortunately :(

badabing67
01-07-2025, 08:17 PM

Yeah but we have brought in Mulligan who I think is the player we needed Kwon to be last season. We are probably still in for Triantis or his replacement and we may or may not replace NMW, Kenneh hasn't been in the plans since he got here.

01-07-2025, 08:19 PM
More like Junior Opposite-of-a-Toilett
There must be a hidden message in there 🤔

CentreForward
01-07-2025, 08:20 PM

Kwon and Kenneh hardly any loss so wouldn’t really count them. Hopefully Triantis returns obviously!

badabing67
01-07-2025, 08:20 PM
No info re triantis as yet unfortunately :(

Keep your ear to the ground and please let us know if you get some

01-07-2025, 08:33 PM
There must be a hidden message in there 🤔

Senior Bidet? 🤷🏻

01-07-2025, 08:35 PM
Pleased Hoilett has signed. Got to the point where I thought it probably wasn’t going to happen.

Could make a big difference in the European games. So comfortable and good at keeping the ball, something we’ll need to do.

01-07-2025, 08:40 PM
Smith has the gloves!

Agreed. Be surprised if he didn't start as No 1.

Donegal Hibby
01-07-2025, 08:44 PM

The last three I would have said were Defensive Mids though I’m not sure I’d have said NMW was one . Two out of the last three we shouldn’t have any trouble upgrading on . Got Newell to come back as well of course .

badabing67
01-07-2025, 08:48 PM
Junior Hoilett Extends Hibs Stay (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qopxqwwdjhk)

Donegal Hibby
01-07-2025, 08:54 PM
Don’t think it’s that mental tbh

Hoilett is a classy player but he’s 35 now and won’t be starting every week , more chance McGrath will who is also creative. I don’t think Gray will reward Smith for having an excellent season by dropping him either .

01-07-2025, 09:27 PM
Senior Bidet? 🤷🏻
Oh OK 🙄

01-07-2025, 09:33 PM
Pleased Hoilett has signed. Got to the point where I thought it probably wasn’t going to happen.

Could make a big difference in the European games. So comfortable and good at keeping the ball, something we’ll need to do.
Looked so sharp towards the end of the season. Thought he ran the show in our win at Ibrox. I think he offers something different for us really pleased he has signed on.

01-07-2025, 10:25 PM
Is it? We played great football at the end of the season with Hoilett in the team, he's also played for a long time at a higher level than McGrath ever has.

It’s not mental. Hoilett was the better player when they were both at Aberdeen together and he was the better player last season too.

Musselbound
01-07-2025, 11:26 PM
Looked so sharp towards the end of the season. Thought he ran the show in our win at Ibrox. I think he offers something different for us really pleased he has signed on.

I think so too. Also good we have had so much continuity. Wilĺ hopefully stand us in good stead for another season.

02-07-2025, 07:32 AM
I assume Hoilett is not in the Netherlands with the squad.

02-07-2025, 07:34 AM

He is

02-07-2025, 07:36 AM

Looks like he is from his YouTube unveiling

02-07-2025, 10:10 AM
So Rangers have signed another Bournemouth player, Joe Rothwell, 30 year old striker who was loaned out to Leeds last season. Might of been handy to have somebody like that in our squad, just my opinion.

MacGruber
02-07-2025, 10:22 AM
So Rangers have signed another Bournemouth player, Joe Rothwell, 30 year old striker who was loaned out to Leeds last season. Might of been handy to have somebody like that in our squad, just my opinion.

I doubt he'd have been interested in playing for us and us in covering the level of wages that would be required.
Obviously hoping we get good player trading from Bournemouth and the wider group but still going to be limited to a certain level of player or player at specific point of development. For anyone mentioning why Bournemouth would loan to Rangers or anyone else in the league, got to remember the players themselves will have the biggest call in what option they take up

02-07-2025, 10:24 AM
Rangers have now had as many players from Bournemouth this summer than we have since the BKG deal happened.

Bevan doesn’t count before anyone tries it!

02-07-2025, 10:30 AM
Rangers have now had as many players from Bournemouth this summer than we have since the BKG deal happened.

02-07-2025, 10:33 AM

He's a midfielder, and he'd never have come to Hibs so it's irrelevant if he'd have been handy for us.

02-07-2025, 10:47 AM
He's a midfielder, and he'd never have come to Hibs so it's irrelevant if he'd have been handy for us.

His wages wouldn’t be any less than about £20k per week, that’s being conservative, realistically probably much more than that. Same applies to Max Aarons.

Are people expecting Bournemouth to just pay those wages for us? If so, they weren’t listening to everything they’ve been saying as that was never the deal.

If the argument is they shouldn’t be strengthening our rivals, Id be more annoyed if they were sending players to Aberdeen, hearts Dundee Utd etc…. Realistically they’re who we are competing with, not Rangers.

02-07-2025, 10:54 AM

Fair dues, the article I read said he was a striker, but he is indeed a midfielder after all.

02-07-2025, 10:58 AM

he was pretty good for Leeds last season but i'm not sure he would have been good enough for the PL, interesting how it turns out for him

02-07-2025, 11:40 AM
His wages wouldn’t be any less than about £20k per week, that’s being conservative, realistically probably much more than that. Same applies to Max Aarons.

Are people expecting Bournemouth to just pay those wages for us? If so, they weren’t listening to everything they’ve been saying as that was never the deal.

If the argument is they shouldn’t be strengthening our rivals, Id be more annoyed if they were sending players to Aberdeen, hearts Dundee Utd etc…. Realistically they’re who we are competing with, not Rangers.

Strengthening Rangers may benefit Hibs if it leads to them taking more points off Hearts/Aberdeen/etc if we are looking to retain 3rd place

02-07-2025, 11:48 AM

Was the BKG deal all about "getting players from Bournemouth"?

02-07-2025, 12:03 PM

It’s was about mutual benefit between the clubs, with scope for movement within the group.

We finished third last year and if we want to progress to breaking in to the top 2 - which is very, very difficult but not impossible - Bournemouth’s own player trading is stifling our chances by strengthening the opposition.

02-07-2025, 12:04 PM

No but everyone seems to pretend it was.

02-07-2025, 12:19 PM
It’s was about mutual benefit between the clubs, with scope for movement within the group.

We finished third last year and if we want to progress to breaking in to the top 2 - which is very, very difficult but not impossible - Bournemouth’s own player trading is stifling our chances by strengthening the opposition.

I find the constant obsession with the idea that we can go a step further and split the old firm close to some yam level of confidence.

02-07-2025, 12:22 PM
I find the constant obsession with the idea that we can go a step further and split the old firm close to some yam level of confidence.

We can dream can't we ?

02-07-2025, 12:22 PM
We aren't splitting the old firm. Aberdeen were about 10/15 points ahead of Rangers at one point and wetting themselves silly. Ended up 5th. It's just not going to happen over a season. We might get within 10 points one day but even that would be a staggering achievement.

02-07-2025, 12:25 PM
It’s a tricky one with Bournemouth, and it is..not frustrating but almost a bit like what is going on here, yous have a % in un but helping other teams.

But

We can’t say don’t sell/loan to any other club in Scotland and that we want all their players.

For one, guys like Aarons and Rothwell would never come here. Marcondes must have just suited everyone with him just returning from injury

Secondly, we won’t want some players they’re trying to give us. The keeper for example seems like one they were keen to give us, where as we wanted a more experienced keeper in Salinger.

There’s probably numerous other players they’ve offered us that we weren’t interested in, remember we said no to the lad from Lorient and instead signed Triantis.

We’ve also allegedly tried to get a couple of young players on loan from different English clubs

We can’t say don’t sell/loan to other Scottish clubs but we’re still going to recruit from other English clubs. They’d be the same thinking why are you getting an inexperienced 19 year old cm for example when we’ve got a good one here

Anyway, I’m sure they’ll rectify it and give us Ryan Christie

Be interested what happens when SDG and the team go down and have a look around

02-07-2025, 12:26 PM
We can dream can't we ?

Once we manage to finish 3rd two seasons in a row then we can think of splitting the old firm 🤣

02-07-2025, 12:29 PM
We can dream can't we ?

We can dream but I also won't be getting myself pissed off about it not happening either. There's a difference in hard expectation and wishful hope.

02-07-2025, 12:35 PM
It’s a tricky one with Bournemouth, and it is..not frustrating but almost a bit like what is going on here, yous have a % in un but helping other teams.

But

We can’t say don’t sell/loan to any other club in Scotland and that we want all their players.

For one, guys like Aarons and Rothwell would never come here. Marcondes must have just suited everyone with him just returning from injury

Secondly, we won’t want some players they’re trying to give us. The keeper for example seems like one they were keen to give us, where as we wanted a more experienced keeper in Salinger.

There’s probably numerous other players they’ve offered us that we weren’t interested in, remember we said no to the lad from Lorient and instead signed Triantis.

We’ve also allegedly tried to get a couple of young players on loan from different English clubs

We can’t say don’t sell/loan to other Scottish clubs but we’re still going to recruit from other English clubs. They’d be the same thinking why are you getting an inexperienced 19 year old cm for example when we’ve got a good one here

Agree entirely.

If Bournemouth offer us a Bevan type and Palace offered us an equivalent and we went with the Palace option and Bournemouth got angry with us for it in the same way some are here, we'd rightly tell them to beat it and that we do everything with Hibs in mind first and foremost.

02-07-2025, 12:36 PM
Fabrizio Romano reporting Shankenstein is staying at Hearts. Shock.

02-07-2025, 12:40 PM

But

Exactly.

If we can’t get Triantis back, I’m hoping we might get Ben Winterburn from Bournemouth on loan.

Their young player of the year last season, was on the bench sometimes and started to get a few minutes on the park here and there. Clearly someone highly thought of but probably someone that needs to be playing every week.

IMO loans for that type of player make sense for all parties, not the established first team players on massive salaries.

Donegal Hibby
We can dream can't we ?

Yeah , suppose a lot folk dream of winning the lottery which is fine though when you start believing its going to happen reality goes out the window and fantasy takes over …Talk of splitting the OF with the financial gulf that exists now is nothing more than pure fantasy stuff.. never going to happen.

Ah makes sense why the Mulligan thing came from Romano now, must be their agent.

“Decision made as he’s rejecting big money from abroad to stay at Hearts, as player and his camp worked hard to make it happen.“

😂😂😂

02-07-2025, 12:43 PM
Ah makes sense why the Mulligan thing came from Romano now, must be their agent.

“Decision made as he’s rejecting big money from abroad to stay at Hearts, as player and his camp worked hard to make it happen.“

😂😂😂

I hope he's stung them for a long deal at exorbitant wages. Childish, I know, but I can't help it! :greengrin

02-07-2025, 12:46 PM
Agree entirely.

If Bournemouth offer us a Bevan type and Palace offered us an equivalent and we went with the Palace option and Bournemouth got angry with us for it in the same way some are here, we'd rightly tell them to beat it and that we do everything with Hibs in mind first and foremost.

Or if, big IF I know, we ever get a player that EPL teams want would we let Bournemouth have him at mates' rates instead cashing in on bigger offers from elsewhere?

02-07-2025, 01:11 PM

😂😂😂

Surely even the Jumbos ain't buying that.

badabing67
02-07-2025, 01:17 PM

Understand Hearts captain Lawrence Shankland has agreed to re-sign at the club.Decision made as he’s rejecting big money from abroad to stay at Hearts, as player and his camp worked hard to make it happen

Must be pish baker's out that way, wherever that is.

02-07-2025, 01:19 PM

We can either progress or stagnate, and this board has told us they want to progress. Our partners should not be making that more difficult.

One player going to an old manager, that might be written off as one of those things, two players is undermining our relationship with BKG.

02-07-2025, 01:23 PM
Has Oscar McIntyre left/leaving us or is he injured?

Surprised when his name wasn’t in the squad today

02-07-2025, 01:24 PM
We can either progress or stagnate, and this board has told us they want to progress. Our partners should not be making that more difficult.

One player going to an old manager, that might be written off as one of those things, two players is undermining our relationship with BKG.

Is stagnation being best of the rest two or three times in a row in your eyes? I think you need a dose of reality. Our owners have always maintained being best of the rest is a target.

badabing67
02-07-2025, 01:26 PM

It's almost like we have never sold a player to Rangers. I am pretty sure we have sold more than 2 to them over the years.

02-07-2025, 01:26 PM
Fabrizio Romano reporting Shankenstein is staying at Hearts. Shock.We may as well not turn up next season now. The best manager Scotland has ever seen, managing the greatest goalscorer Scotland has ever seen, in the cauldron that is Tynecastle with their world class Jamestown analytics picking up hidden gems such as Jamie McCart and Stuart Findlay.

02-07-2025, 01:30 PM
Is stagnation being best of the rest two or three times in a row in your eyes? I think you need a dose of reality. Our owners have always maintained being best of the rest is a target.

I’m pretty sure there’s more to their aspirations than that. Group stage European football being one of them.

Cabbage-Patch
02-07-2025, 01:34 PM

No but it was supposed to be a benefit/perk surely? Does anyone know if Bournemouth have sold any players to other clubs in the same league as Lorient?

02-07-2025, 01:37 PM

If we finish third again this season then we're progressing. If we reach a cup final we're progressing. If we finish third the year after and win a trophy we're progressing.

Thinking we can jump from a rogue third placed finish to splitting the old firm is fantasy stuff and unrealistic.

02-07-2025, 01:38 PM
Has Oscar McIntyre left/leaving us or is he injured?

Surprised when his name wasn’t in the squad today

Just a guess on my part but can’t see him having much of a future. 21 this year with Obita and Cadden in front of him on the left hand side.

02-07-2025, 01:39 PM
Guessing we probably shouldn't expect any signings this week seeing as we’re away? Hoilett is a re-signing.

badabing67
02-07-2025, 01:45 PM
No but it was supposed to be a benefit/perk surely? Does anyone know if Bournemouth have sold any players to other clubs in the same league as Lorient?

I don't know off hand, but I am fairly certain that they will be buying and selling players to and from clubs in the same league as Lorient.

MacGruber
02-07-2025, 01:46 PM
Guessing we probably shouldn't expect any signings this week seeing as we’re away? Hoilett is a re-signing.

Probably not. Surely be speculation about some forwards soon. Other than Triantis think we only need a striker or 2.
Would be a bit surprised if we never seen any players come in from the wider group too - maybe a youngster as a forward option.

02-07-2025, 01:47 PM
If we finish third again this season then we're progressing. If we reach a cup final we're progressing. If we finish third the year after and win a trophy we're progressing.

Thinking we can jump from a rogue third placed finish to splitting the old firm is fantasy stuff and unrealistic.

I don’t expect us to achieve second, I believe that we should work towards that level over time and our partners selling to the team directly above us and continually pulling away with their buying power is counter to that.

And if we expect to do anything in cup competitions, we’re likely to come up against one or both of the OF, so it makes that harder as well.

02-07-2025, 01:51 PM
I don’t expect us to achieve second, I believe that we should work towards that level over time and our partners selling to the team directly above us and continually pulling away with their buying power is counter to that.

And if we expect to do anything in cup competitions, we’re likely to come up against one or both of the OF, so it makes that harder as well.

I take your point about longevity and planning ahead for an era where we're competing for second. But until we're in a position to be even consistently competing for third I don't think it's something we should concern ourselves with. If they were selling/sending players to Aberdeen or Hearts I could get the anger. But currently we're looking over our shoulder at Aberdeen/United/Hearts to establish ourselves as the best of the rest first and foremost. If we're to challenge Rangers it wouldn't be for years to come and likely any player Bournemouth give them now will play no part in that.

02-07-2025, 01:59 PM
We can dream but I also won't be getting myself pissed off about it not happening either. There's a difference in hard expectation and wishful hope.

Absolutely.

I'm a realist but ill still be dreaming of winning the league. Might not take that long for me to be dissapoined though

02-07-2025, 02:06 PM

Good news if it’s the Shankland of last season the continues to turn up

02-07-2025, 02:18 PM
Just a guess on my part but can’t see him having much of a future. 21 this year with Obita and Cadden in front of him on the left hand side.

Yeah you’re likely right, especially with Gillies coming through too

Shame as he seems to have bulked up a hell of a lot and looks a really powerful left wing back, done well on loan by all accounts too

Big step up however

02-07-2025, 02:18 PM

8 goals in 42 games, with 4 of them after the bottom six split 😂😂

MacGruber
02-07-2025, 02:22 PM

3 or 4 year deal for Shankland on top earner wages after his peak. Last season his attitude and professionalism were terrible. Too much was made of his weight earlier and just really fan banter but no doubting he was getting heavier towards the end of last season which is shocking really, and that's the captain. Wonder if he'll retain the captaincy - a guy that quite clearly wanted out to the highest bidder that's came back last resort with no alternatives.

Don't get me wrong, he'll score goals for them. Suspect the best of Lawrence Shankland has already been and gone though.

02-07-2025, 02:24 PM
8 goals in 42 games, with 4 of them after the bottom six split 😂😂
The 4 after the split was when he started playing as a striker again.
Don't care if I get abuse, but I would have liked him at us rather than them!

02-07-2025, 02:27 PM

😂😂😂

Romano is a sports journalist who always seems to be spot on with his news, he’s not an agent. He always seems to break most of the big Liverpool stories first and is rarely wrong.

02-07-2025, 02:32 PM
Romano is a sports journalist who always seems to be spot on with his news, he’s not an agent. He always seems to break most of the big Liverpool stories first and is rarely wrong.

I know. Mulligan and Shankland share the same agent and the only non old firm Scottish transfers Romano has tweeted about have been these two. I guessed the agent has been onto Romano to get the news out.

02-07-2025, 02:35 PM
The 4 after the split was when he started playing as a striker again.
Don't care if I get abuse, but I would have liked him at us rather than them!

I’d no quite go as far as to say I’d rather he was here, but I do think he’ll be used differently (properly) by McInnes and will score a decent number of goals for them next season. Not quite the 30 odd he got before, but he’ll score a decent amount.

02-07-2025, 02:35 PM
Personally can't imagine any of the top six clubs being overly worried about Shankland being on the field for Hearts next season.