View Full Version : Greggs Summer transfer thread 2025

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 [21] 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29

23-06-2025, 09:09 PM
Dundee Football Club are delighted to announce the signing of striker Emile Acquah on a three-year deal from Barrow FC for an undisclosed fee, subject to international clearance.

The 24-year-old joins from English League Two side Barrow AFC where he has spent the past two seasons.

Welcome to The Dee Emile!

Read the full announcement on the club website: dundeefc.co.uk/news/acquah-jo…
He'll be at home in the Dee......

23-06-2025, 09:10 PM
Goals on tap?

23-06-2025, 09:11 PM
Water good signing.

Heard they are ready to throw him in at the deep end.

23-06-2025, 09:36 PM
H2Oh-no, more puns.

23-06-2025, 09:37 PM
Actually forgot about him , was he not mainly injured when on loan at Motherwell ? .

He was expected back last Friday but didn't show up.

23-06-2025, 10:09 PM
Dundee missed a chance to go Full Patridge with the reveal, Eau dear

https://x.com/APartridgeQOTD/status/1933834418701119925?t=QeOtUFCEfT0EGpnZOOX6HA&s=19

HFC93
23-06-2025, 10:33 PM
Water good signing.

Refreshing to see Dundee make a signing like this.

23-06-2025, 10:37 PM

Hopefully that constitutes breach of contract.

23-06-2025, 11:14 PM
Dundee have signed Acquah Man and Sevco Iron Man. We may be ****** lads unless Alasana turns out to be Super Manneh.

badabing67
23-06-2025, 11:18 PM
Water good signing.

He'll be a washout

24-06-2025, 06:42 AM
Anyone can do in and edit wiki, you could update that to £5m if you wanted to

I know it

The Sun also going with the £1m story

Nice profit

https://i.ibb.co/3mytQGhr/IMG-3621.png (https://ibb.co/9H9RSzY8)

https://i.ibb.co/8D8Lv1pk/IMG-3622.png (https://ibb.co/kgcsbNfZ)

scm70nyd1973
24-06-2025, 06:45 AM
Water good signing.

Probs had to shed some players to get him

24-06-2025, 06:56 AM
I know it

Nice profit

Such a terrible headline

24-06-2025, 07:04 AM
Such a terrible headline

👍

Agree

24-06-2025, 07:30 AM
Such a terrible headline

Yes 5 goals in two seasons including one he was playing in Netherlands. Shambolic reporting

Ribs1875
24-06-2025, 07:41 AM
Media is toxic the amount of trash talk they report is horrendous.

EGL2000
24-06-2025, 07:46 AM
Such a terrible headline

The "flop" who's now playing at a higher level than Hibs and most of our players ever will. Hate the media just such lazy reporting.

Trinity Hibee
24-06-2025, 07:49 AM

The amount of clickbait online nowadays is shocking. I’ve got to the point I don’t even click on links now.

A classic is “tv star tragedy” turns out it’s a member of the crew on a tv show who has died from natural causes in their 80s. Shambolic headline

Dmas
24-06-2025, 08:04 AM
The target audience believes all this rubbish as well, I’ve had a text this morning from a Celtic supporting in law saying ‘great business for a dud 5 goals in 2 years is pish’ of course these types want you to believe they pay attention to the league but they’ve not got the slightest clue what’s going on read a few headlines in the sun and the record and it qualifies them as experts.

24-06-2025, 08:45 AM
I know it

Nice profit

One of the many reasons The Sun should be consigned to the history books.

EGL2000
24-06-2025, 08:52 AM
https://x.com/HitTheByline/status/1937254590728020233?t=LhUGAzf9W6STrzMJE9Pv4w&s=19

Really good post looking at players Hibs should be going for. Very nice to see some different names from the usual as well.

24-06-2025, 09:17 AM
I'm not sure why everyone is all of a sudden offended by the term flop for Vente? He was the definition of a flop for us. We once again lucked out by not being saddled with a £600k black hole in the finances for someone that either isn't here or isn't performing.

24-06-2025, 09:34 AM
I'm not sure why everyone is all of a sudden offended by the term flop for Vente? He was the definition of a flop for us. We once again lucked out by not being saddled with a £600k black hole in the finances for someone that either isn't here or isn't performing.

Tend to agree

After that miss in the opening minutes v St Mirren last season (following similar point blank range misses vs Queens Park and Kelty Hearts) and with it being so glaring how much more an Olusanya brought to his team than Vente, I have to say the deal Hibs have struck is a great piece of business.

We've sold DV, made a profit, brought Bowie in the building, and may be able to put some profit from DV's transfer towards Triantis

That's a smart piece of wheeling and dealing by the club

EGL2000
24-06-2025, 09:35 AM

Think it's more the fact is very misleading. Ignores a lot of things and is just incorrect, was only in Scotland for a year and one month for a start!

Surely most of us agree that this absolute rag has some terrible reporting.

Souter96Mac
24-06-2025, 09:35 AM
https://x.com/HitTheByline/status/1937254590728020233?t=LhUGAzf9W6STrzMJE9Pv4w&s=19

Really good post looking at players Hibs should be going for. Very nice to see some different names from the usual as well.

Without checking each of these players, there's defo a couple standouts.

Robbie Ure looks promising, and slightly Bowie-esque. I think he's recently joined his current club so can't see him leaving so soon - but interested to see how he gets on from a Scottish pov.

The Bulgarian, Nikolov looks a player - however the quality of the opposition might be suspect. The cliche "great feet for a big man" comes to mind.

Leo Walta looks very good - and I suspect out of our range.

Sorensen has a pretty decent pedigree, but probably a position we've got numbers in (especially if Triantis signs)

Diaby is 6ft 5, so suspect we'll just sign him on that basis so the social media team can let us all know how tall he is.

EGL2000
24-06-2025, 09:37 AM
Without checking each of these players, there's defo a couple standouts.

Robbie Ure looks promising, and slightly Bowie-esque. I think he's recently joined his current club so can't see him leaving so soon - but interested to see how he gets on from a Scottish pov.

The Bulgarian, Nikolov looks a player - however the quality of the opposition might be suspect. The cliche "great feet for a big man" comes to mind.

Leo Walta looks very good - and I suspect out of our range.

Sorensen has a pretty decent pedigree, but probably a position we've got numbers in (especially if Triantis signs)

Diaby is 6ft 5, so suspect we'll just sign him on that basis so the social media team can let us all know how tall he is.

I think Robbie Ure would definitely fit the bill of our signing type. However, if he keeps that form up he'll probably be out of our range pretty quickly.

aberhibsfc
24-06-2025, 09:38 AM

I value Vente. He was part of an under performing team. In an effort to support the team, he was dropping deep to get access to the ball. This was not his game, he is a penalty box.striker.

It's too easy to write players off without considering the full picture. Was he suited to the Scottish game, possibly not, but I have no doubt he had the quality, and would have liked the opportunity to witness it on a stable platform.

aberhibsfc
24-06-2025, 09:40 AM
One of the many reasons The Sun should be consigned to the history books.

100% Agree. Despite being a vile publication, it is only interested in English football or the gruesome twosome.

24-06-2025, 09:48 AM
Think it's more the fact is very misleading. Ignores a lot of things and is just incorrect, was only in Scotland for a year and one month for a start!

Surely most of us agree that this absolute rag has some terrible reporting.

I think folk are allowing themselves to get worked up over nothing. Who cares if he was on loan for a year of his two years at the club.

I value Vente. He was part of an under performing team. In an effort to support the team, he was dropping deep to get access to the ball. This was not his game, he is a penalty box.striker.

It's too easy to write players off without considering the full picture. Was he suited to the Scottish game, possibly not, but I have no doubt he had the quality, and would have liked the opportunity to witness it on a stable platform.

I liked the guy and there was clearly a footballer in there. But there can be no doubt that his tenure at Hibs will be filed alongside Melkersen in one that didn't work on the park but some will say was a success due to the fact we maybe made money out of the whole thing. It doesn't really matter why he failed here but he did, and a paper highlighting that isn't some horrible dig, it's just a fact. I wish him all the best either way.

Hibees1973
24-06-2025, 09:49 AM

As there are a multitude of platforms for media reporting these days the dignity and standards of journalism has fallen through the floor.

Mind you that particular rag has been an embarrassment for decades.

Thatdayinmay16
24-06-2025, 09:52 AM

It's how they make money these days unfortunately.

If you look at Talksport etc, they put out misleading clickbait headlines to lure people in and gather engagement.

The sun will be doing the same, more traffic and engagement on their sites will look good for them and make them money.

If people stopped engaging with it, they'd soon run out of business.

24-06-2025, 10:16 AM
Wonder why Jair isn’t back training with the squad actually

Melkersen loan to Rotterdam = £££
Vente loan to Zwolle = £££

Hopefully we're sending him to Holland!

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2025, 10:35 AM

With a year to go I wonder could we come to some amicable agreement with the player which would allow him to return to Portugal while allowing us to move on , clearly the current situation isn’t working for both parties.

24-06-2025, 10:38 AM
With a year to go I wonder could we come to some amicable agreement with the player which would allow him to return to Portugal while allowing us to move on , clearly the current situation isn’t working for both parties.

The sad reality of the situation is that he's getting paid handsomely by us, either way I think he'll cost us a bit of money in this season's budget. I just hope we can find someone to take him so we can forget about him.

chippy
24-06-2025, 10:40 AM

Wonder if that is being discussed between him and Hibs

badabing67
24-06-2025, 10:47 AM
Wonder if that is being discussed between him and Hibs

If it's not it should be

24-06-2025, 10:55 AM
Jair. Had genuinely forgotten about him. File along side Bojang.

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2025, 10:56 AM
The sad reality of the situation is that he's getting paid handsomely by us, either way I think he'll cost us a bit of money in this season's budget. I just hope we can find someone to take him so we can forget about him.

If we could find another club to take him it would be great though that’s probably easier said than done , can’t really see another team in our league or many in England queuing up for him tbh . Maybe a loan to some club back in his homeland a possibility?. If he has failed to return to the club when he should then he’s most likely not happy or in a good place and having someone like that around anyway isn’t good . Not entirely blaming the player but what a disaster of a signing he was .

24-06-2025, 10:59 AM

He can’t just not turn up for training, unless he’s got a valid reason and the club have authorised it
It’s not his fault the club gave him such a lucrative contract

24-06-2025, 11:02 AM
If we could find another club to take him it would be great though that’s probably easier said than done , can’t really see another team in our league or many in England queuing up for him tbh . Maybe a loan to some club back in his homeland a possibility?. If he has failed to return to the club when he should then he’s most likely not happy or in a good place and having someone like that around anyway isn’t good . Not entirely blaming the player but what a disaster of a signing he was .

Hopefully anyone will take him and we can even write off close to half of what we're still due him this year as part of a loan fee or a loan/new club paying some of his wages.

He is arguably the worst piece of business we've maybe done. We've signed poor players before and some looked like competition winners, but at least they were here for 6 months and gone again or on short enough deals to forget about them soon after signing.

The amount of money he'll have cost us over the four years he'll end up being here for will be eye watering, all for a return of about 4 to 6 weeks under Monty where he threatened to find some form before reverting back to not being up to it.

Hibees1973
24-06-2025, 11:03 AM

Will be a remarkable piece of work if MacKay can shift Jair now and at the same time not for another huge cost to Hibs for another year.

You would think Jair's agent would be fishing around for a move for him or will it be Hibs & MacKay wasting valuable time doing the donkey work for them.
Fair enough Jair is within his rights to continue to do the minimal. Turn up for training each day, available for selection, but highly unlikely to be picked.

Sadly but thankfully, Jair is one of the final remnants of an overall lamentable recruitment process prior to MacKay coming in.

24-06-2025, 11:05 AM
Hopefully anyone will take him and we can even write off close to half of what we're still due him this year as part of a loan fee or a loan/new club paying some of his wages.

He is arguably the worst piece of business we've maybe done.

Still think that's Joe Ward.

Sent from my SM-A528B using Tapatalk

24-06-2025, 11:06 AM
100% Agree. Despite being a vile publication, it is only interested in English football or the gruesome twosome.
Unfortunately the majority of the media are.

Ribs1875
24-06-2025, 11:07 AM
Allan Delferriere still contracted until 2027

24-06-2025, 11:08 AM
How long does Delfierre have left? could do with moving him and Jair

Ship of Hope
24-06-2025, 11:12 AM

Mystic meg is that you?

evy
24-06-2025, 11:15 AM
Mo Sylla signs with Livi

24-06-2025, 11:25 AM
Mystic meg is that you?

😁

The Sundance Kid
24-06-2025, 11:31 AM

He’s only contracted to the end of this upcoming season (2026), not 2027

24-06-2025, 11:31 AM

For some reason gave him another contract not long after Monty arrived. Has never looked good enough

24-06-2025, 11:38 AM
Mo Sylla signs with Livi

That’s a brilliant signing for Livi.

Thought he’d go on to a better team than Dundee, not Livi…

24-06-2025, 11:38 AM
He’s only contracted to the end of this upcoming season (2026), not 2027

There's a bit of confusion about his contract as they announced it as a new 'three year deal' midway into the 23/24 season. It's a bit vague on if that means it takes him up until the end of 25/26 or 26/27 as normally you would say either the year it would last until or even a 'year and a half year deal' since it was midway through the season.

24-06-2025, 11:50 AM
Will be a remarkable piece of work if MacKay can shift Jair now and at the same time not for another huge cost to Hibs for another year.

You would think Jair's agent would be fishing around for a move for him or will it be Hibs & MacKay wasting valuable time doing the donkey work for them.
Fair enough Jair is within his rights to continue to do the minimal. Turn up for training each day, available for selection, but highly unlikely to be picked.

Sadly but thankfully, Jair is one of the final remnants of an overall lamentable recruitment process prior to MacKay coming in.

Totally agree. Some quite bizarre contracts being handed out pre MacKay. Glad the club took action to change things.

The Sundance Kid
24-06-2025, 11:58 AM
There's a bit of confusion about his contract as they announced it as a new 'three year deal' midway into the 23/24 season. It's a bit vague on if that means it takes him up until the end of 25/26 or 26/27 as normally you would say either the year it would last until or even a 'year and a half year deal' since it was midway through the season.

Looking at the article where it was announced, it was September 2023 so I’d be surprised if the three year deal isn’t ending in Summer 2026 but I suppose it was a bit of an assumption from myself.

EGL2000
24-06-2025, 12:04 PM
For some reason gave him another contract not long after Monty arrived. Has never looked good enough

I actually thought he looked alright at stages when seen him. Obviously not the required quality but I did think at times he was alright.

24-06-2025, 12:07 PM
I actually thought he looked alright at stages when seen him. Obviously not the required quality but I did think at times he was alright.

He looked awful at RB but had a decent game in midfield (his best position) the last time we ever clapped eyes on him.

That last game at RB when he was hooked before half time lingers long in the memory though.

24-06-2025, 12:13 PM
Delferriere came from a decent team and league, a DM but have no clue how he got on last season, seemingly a hard worker with a good attitude, maybe Gray can work his magic with him, we need bodies for all the various cups we're playing in.

24-06-2025, 12:13 PM
Looking at the article where it was announced, it was September 2023 so I’d be surprised if the three year deal isn’t ending in Summer 2026 but I suppose it was a bit of an assumption from myself.

Yeah it's a weird one. My gut tells me it's 2026 too as 2027 is effectively 3 month shy of a 4 year deal.

24-06-2025, 12:15 PM
Delferriere came from A decent team and league, a DM but gave no clue how he got on last season, seemingly a hard worker with a good attitude, maybe Gray can work his magic with him, we need bodies for all the various cups we're playing in.

He was a stand out in the development squad games, but the problem was he was a defensive player who was usually ahead of his competition that he ended up in attacking positions.

He came to us as a DM that could play CB and RB. As usual with these types of laddies they don't nail down a position to focus on and instead do a bit of everything and can't flourish in an area of the park enough to get into the team.

24-06-2025, 12:22 PM

Agree. He was an absolute flop at Hibs, the Sun are spot on.

Delighted we got £1m for him.

24-06-2025, 12:23 PM
I still stand by my prediction that Jair will break our record transfer fee received.

:drunk:

24-06-2025, 12:29 PM

I disagree with the term. I disagree with your definition of what a flop at hibs looks like, and we've had plenty. I'd probably happily debate that difference of opinion on here with a fellow hibs fan...

I don't respect the Sun as a newspaper or a source of opinion on hibs. I certainly don't respect their right to dictate to us, and the rest of Scotland, that one of our players was a flop.

You are entitled to your opinion. They can **** off.

leith lynx
24-06-2025, 12:45 PM
Still think that's Joe Ward.

Good shout, you can add Tudor -Jones and Clancy to these Hibs "grates"!

Hibees1973
24-06-2025, 12:49 PM
Totally agree. Some quite bizarre contracts being handed out pre MacKay. Glad the club took action to change things.

It is easy to criticise from the outside looking in, but this is what this forum is for. We also praise as well, of which there are numerous posts acknowledging the work done by MacKay and the recruitment guys. But it's fair to say prior to MacKay coming into the club (say the previous 2 years) the number of players brought in, who have subsequently left, heavily outweigh the number who are still here and those we value.

There are not that many players brought in/contracts renewed since the last summer transfer window, who are no longer here, who have not contributed much or improved. This is good going. The only one which comes to my mind which goes against the grain is Megwa. I think he was given a new 4 year deal.

There is time for him to improve. And he does have value in that he could be one of the 'home grown' players we have to choose for the European squad games. However, I feel he is quite a bit off being considered for a first team slot and it was surprising to me he was given a 4 year deal.

24-06-2025, 12:51 PM

You could argue the one given to Megwa, which wasn’t pre MacKay, was bizarre.

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2025, 12:53 PM

I’m not sure I’d describe Vente as a flop , yes it didn’t work out at us for a host of different reasons but at the time on paper he looked a quality signing who had been banging in goals that had even attracted the attention of English Championship clubs too .

I still think there’s a quality player there and loaning him back to where he had been scoring goals was a good move on our part as there was always the chance with his quality he’d rediscover his form again . One that worked out well in the end for us .

24-06-2025, 01:01 PM
My Sevconian mate says we've singed triantis for £1.5m

aye/naw ?

24-06-2025, 01:01 PM
We recovered our initial outlay and slightly more on Vente if that’s sufficient to get Triantis then great business

24-06-2025, 01:09 PM
I’m not sure I’d describe Vente as a flop , yes it didn’t work out at us for a host of different reasons but at the time on paper he looked a quality signing who had been banging in goals that had even attracted the attention of English Championship clubs too .

I still think there’s a quality player there and loaning him back to where he had been scoring goals was a good move on our part as there was always the chance with his quality he’d rediscover his form again . One that worked out well in the end for us .

The club were justified in signing him at the time and the pedigree was there to go fairly big on him. If you put an unnamed transfer target with his CV again in front of me this summer I would hope we went for it. I also agree that there's still a player in there as shown by his spell before us and his loan last season. The failure of his time at Hibs exists solely in the 12 months he was actually here and the variety of reasons that can be attributed to it.

I genuinely hold no ill will towards Dylan Vente and think a lot of what the club/managers did that season didn't set him up well to succeed. But there can be no doubt in my opinion that he was a flop at Hibs. The only way you can argue it wasn't is if you want to look at it from a budget perspective. We have maybe came out even or a slight profit when everything is considered. But in sheer footballing terms we signed a guy for decent money and he returned nowhere near enough in terms of goals or even general performances in a season that cost two managers their jobs and we finished bottom 6 again.

It was a big move from the club that flopped and the only reason we're all not upset about it is because we haven't had to write it off financially. I suspect if had to release him at some point this window or next summer for free instead of getting a fee we would all view his time here a little different.

24-06-2025, 01:12 PM
I’d absolutely call Vente a flop, although the selective use of stats in the Sun to make his record sound twice as bad as it actually was by taking his Hibs stats over 2 years rather than one was naughty and unfair.

MacGruber
24-06-2025, 01:13 PM

aye/naw ?

Can't see us stretching to 1.5m

24-06-2025, 01:15 PM
You could argue the one given to Megwa, which wasn’t pre MacKay, was bizarre.

The exception to the rule. You can only imagine he isn't on a significant salary, but still it seems like madness to offer him such a lengthy deal. I have a feeling we saw the hand of Ian Gordon at work on that one, before it understood it was getting it's fingers burned with every deal it signed (it scan be filed alongside the extended deal for Delferriere).

badabing67
24-06-2025, 01:17 PM
Mon Hibs get the pen out

Cabbage-Patch
24-06-2025, 01:17 PM
I have no doubt the club are going all out for Triantis but we really need a couple of strikers in the door aswell. Replacements for Gayle and Myko and also a contingency for Hoillett if he dosent resign. I personally don't have the faith Youan can step up to take that role. 4 weeks out from our European game i hope we will see folk in the door this week or early next week.

24-06-2025, 01:21 PM

aye/naw ?

Why would he know?

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2025, 01:22 PM

Add ons maybe? 🤔

Thatdayinmay16
24-06-2025, 01:22 PM

aye/naw ?

Considering we could make 5/6 times that from his potential sale, its a no brainer IMO.

24-06-2025, 01:23 PM

he better not have lied to me, he thought it's a great deal but i agree re that figure

24-06-2025, 01:24 PM
Wonder if any deal for Triantis will be announced after 30 June so it’s in the next financial year?

24-06-2025, 01:25 PM
Considering we could make 5/6 times that from his potential sale, its a no brainer IMO.

Come on. We'll sell him in the last year of his contract for 750k. Spending that sort of money is never a no brainer for hibs.

Prof. Shaggy
24-06-2025, 01:26 PM

aye/naw ?

Tell him/her it's "sang".

24-06-2025, 01:29 PM

In that example it should be 'sung'

badabing67
24-06-2025, 01:35 PM
Come on. We'll sell him in the last year of his contract for 750k. Spending that sort of money is never a no brainer for hibs.

It would of been a no brainer signing Leigh Griffiths from Wolves when we had the chance.

24-06-2025, 01:35 PM

aye/naw ?

Sorry to put a dampner on but how would he know? Does he have contacts at Hibs?

24-06-2025, 01:42 PM
It would of been a no brainer signing Leigh Griffiths from Wolves when we had the chance.Especially for £150k

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

24-06-2025, 01:51 PM
Wonder if any deal for Triantis will be announced after 30 June so it’s in the next financial year?

I wondered about that, I’m fine with it as long as it is 100% happening

badabing67
24-06-2025, 01:53 PM

If we are signing him surely they want him in for the summer camp

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2025, 01:58 PM
The club were justified in signing him at the time and the pedigree was there to go fairly big on him. If you put an unnamed transfer target with his CV again in front of me this summer I would hope we went for it. I also agree that there's still a player in there as shown by his spell before us and his loan last season. The failure of his time at Hibs exists solely in the 12 months he was actually here and the variety of reasons that can be attributed to it.

I genuinely hold no ill will towards Dylan Vente and think a lot of what the club/managers did that season didn't set him up well to succeed. But there can be no doubt in my opinion that he was a flop at Hibs. The only way you can argue it wasn't is if you want to look at it from a budget perspective. We have maybe came out even or a slight profit when everything is considered. But in sheer footballing terms we signed a guy for decent money and he returned nowhere near enough in terms of goals or even general performances in a season that cost two managers their jobs and we finished bottom 6 again.

It was a big move from the club that flopped and the only reason we're all not upset about it is because we haven't had to write it off financially. I suspect if had to release him at some point this window or next summer for free instead of getting a fee we would all view his time here a little different.

I just think the Sun headline in referring to him as a flop striker is misleading in it didn’t work out at us was more down to other circumstances rather than the players ability. It wouldn’t surprise me if he performs well again and maybe gets another move earning us some more money hopefully.

24-06-2025, 02:06 PM
I just think the Sun headline in referring to him as a flop striker is misleading in it didn’t work out at us was more down to other circumstances rather than the players ability. It wouldn’t surprise me if he performs well again and maybe gets another move earning us some more money hopefully.

I feel folk are just getting precious over it because it's another "media are nasty about Hibs" when in reality all they've said is what most of us have been saying for the last year now. I'm sure it's of no concern to him what he's described as now, he's gotten his move and his career will be set up nicely for him going forward so hopefully he keeps doing what he's done in Eredivisie so far.

24-06-2025, 02:08 PM
Would Nahki Wells fit the experienced striker mould we seem to be buying in to these days?

24-06-2025, 02:13 PM
If we've singed Triantis, per the Gers source above, is that singed as in sung, or singed as in "we've taken him down the Turkish barbers for a singed flame finish"?

Could be both.

These are the sort of things only quintessential clubs know, I suppose

24-06-2025, 02:13 PM

I thought that kind if stuff didnt matter. Its hits the balance sheet when we pay does it not?

EGL2000
24-06-2025, 02:15 PM
Would Nahki Wells fit the experienced striker mould we seem to be buying in to these days?

Hope so ! 10 goals in the championship last season.

Thatdayinmay16
24-06-2025, 02:19 PM
It would of been a no brainer signing Leigh Griffiths from Wolves when we had the chance.

Did the same thing not happen with David Platt or am I mistaken?

mcohibs
24-06-2025, 02:22 PM

Reportedly on 27k a week last season.

badabing67
24-06-2025, 02:24 PM
Did the same thing not happen with David Platt or am I mistaken?

Nah Villa poached him

24-06-2025, 02:35 PM
I thought that kind if stuff didnt matter. Its hits the balance sheet when we pay does it not?

The expense would be recognised when it is incurred, not when the cash changes hands.

24-06-2025, 02:38 PM

24-06-2025, 02:42 PM
If we've singed Triantis, per the Gers source above, is that singed as in sung, or singed as in "we've taken him down the Turkish barbers for a singed flame finish"?

Could be both.

These are the sort of things only quintessential clubs know, I suppose

Same happened with Bojang.

24-06-2025, 02:53 PM
Sorry to put a dampner on but how would he know? Does he have contacts at Hibs?

i really should have asked 😄it was the first thing he said to me and as i hadn't saw any news i presumed he must have read/heard it from somewhere, i only mentioned on here to see if anyone had heard/ read ths same 😋

24-06-2025, 03:07 PM

Maybe you never know . It's not like taking a punt on an unknown quantity , we know what he can do and no doubt will be able to sell on for a profit if he keeps improving

24-06-2025, 03:08 PM
Same happened with Bojang.

Bojangles momo is now in Finland I think

BlackSheep
24-06-2025, 03:11 PM

Why are so many of this opinion…? At some point the club has to take risks and if the Gordons are willing to back us then now is probably the best time since they took over ownership to build on what turned out to be a positive season.

Caversham Green
24-06-2025, 03:14 PM
The expense would be recognised when it is incurred, not when the cash changes hands.

Brighside is right, it would increase intangible fixed asset and either decrease cash or increase creditors - all are Balance Sheet items.

The cost would be amortised over the term of his contract, but none would hit this year Profit and Loss because none of it applies to the season just ended.

Souter96Mac
24-06-2025, 03:24 PM
Hibs socials been awfy quiet today, not even any training ground snippets..

MacGruber
24-06-2025, 03:28 PM
Why are so many of this opinion…? At some point the club has to take risks and if the Gordons are willing to back us then now is probably the best time since they took over ownership to build on what turned out to be a positive season.

To be fair, the club are doing just that and taking risks. That is with the backdrop of posting massive, unsustainable loses which the Gordon's have written off so far. We've still speculated though, still spent big on Vente and a few other big fees - were prepared to go to £1 millon for McCowan, that Swedish kid aswell taking reports at face value. There comes a point where it is outwith our means and I think 1.5 million is beyond that point as it stands. Somebody saying it is well worth 1.5 if you could sell for 5 or 6 million but there are no guarantees how a player is going to get on never mind potential injuries. It also takes having the capital to do it. If you could get someone for 20 million that you feel you could go on and sell for 50 - there's a ceiling on our spend and that's probably about the million mark I'd imagine. Let's not forget that unless you are spending that money on kids with potential or a McCowan type in the Scottish leagues you'll be contending with the wages that befits a 1.5 million pound player. Those wages would likely be an issue in terms of squad harmony aswell perhaps.

Maybe Hibs get to a point of paying millions for players but that's a fair way off as it stands - unless of course the Black.Knights take over and go nuts.

Hibees1973
24-06-2025, 03:50 PM
Bojangles momo is now in Finland I think

Can get a bit cauld in Finland, similar to Ormiston.

His fire raising skills could come in handy.

24-06-2025, 03:51 PM

I would like to see it happen for the reasons you suggest. But we've also just gotten out of jail on our spend on Dylan Vente, Elie is into the final year of his deal with a question mark on his return on investment, same for Levitt. Bowie was a large fee last summer. We let Harry McKirdy walk in January after spending a large fee.

We actually haven't had a huge amount of return on any of our larger investments so far.

24-06-2025, 03:53 PM
I would like to see it happen for the reasons you suggest. But we've also just gotten out of jail on our spend on Dylan Vente, Elie is into the final year of his deal with a question mark on his return on investment, same for Levitt. Bowie was a large fee last summer. We let Harry McKirdy walk in January after spending a large fee.

We actually haven't had a huge amount of return on any of our larger investments so far.

I would disagree

Melkersen - an outrageously good deal

Vente - made a profit on a guy whose face didn't fit

Josh Doig - got a fee and a sell-on

Kevin Nisbet - got a good fee

24-06-2025, 03:54 PM

Thought the same, quite a bit on Friday when we went back and pretty much nothing about the players since

Someone on trial/training whilst we wait on confirmation?

BlackSheep
24-06-2025, 03:54 PM
Totally understand both Centre Hawf and MacGruber, and while I don’t completely disagree I also feel now if the time to speculate. I think we won’t be looking at bringing in as many player this summer as we have in the last few seasons so why not push the boat out a little further…? Does anyone know what our cumulative spend in each of the past few summers has been and on how many players?

Prof. Shaggy
24-06-2025, 04:09 PM
In that example it should be 'sung'

So it should!

seanshow
24-06-2025, 04:44 PM
A pre contract midfielder ...from what months ago, and a new goalie

Cmon Hibs I demand more :grr: :grr:

24-06-2025, 04:45 PM
Totally understand both Centre Hawf and MacGruber, and while I don’t completely disagree I also feel now if the time to speculate. I think we won’t be looking at bringing in as many player this summer as we have in the last few seasons so why not push the boat out a little further…? Does anyone know what our cumulative spend in each of the past few summers has been and on how many players?

Now we can use our budget, the backing of the Gordons and Black Knights, and the income back from Vente etc to sign players who are at a level above, if we don't do this off the back of such a good season then when do we do this? 3 quality signings, and possibly some other good signings, will really help cement third and give us a better chance in Europe.

badabing67
24-06-2025, 04:49 PM
I would disagree

You can also throw in a fee for Porto and I am sure we made a profit on the Boyle deal as well

JasonC1875
24-06-2025, 05:00 PM

Lost hope of seeing anything today

Hibiza
24-06-2025, 05:18 PM
In Malky / David I trust.

24-06-2025, 05:33 PM
Now we can use our budget, the backing of the Gordons and Black Knights, and the income back from Vente etc to sign players who are at a level above, if we don't do this off the back of such a good season then when do we do this? 3 quality signings, and possibly some other good signings, will really help cement third and give us a better chance in Europe.

I agree. If the Gordon's have written of debt and the club's signing strategies have stopped throwing away money on players not good enough, then surely we need to do all we can to sustain the progress on the field.

We have the bulk of a decent squad, a capable manager, a better football strategy with people who know what they're doing involved in signing the players.

I think we must see decent investment in the side this coming season.

24-06-2025, 05:51 PM
I would disagree

Doig was an academy product, Nisbet was signed 5 years ago under Mathie.

Melkersen and Vente imo we got lucky to return what appears to be an unconfirmed but varying level of profit. Neither of them did anything in a Hibs jersey alone to justify the money we got. If anything they were sold on the same promise we bought them on.

In terms of actual speculate to accumulate transfers. We haven’t yet bought anyone in this post Mathie recruitment era that has went on to be both a success on the park and also make the club a large wad of cash to provide evidence of a model at play.

24-06-2025, 05:52 PM
You can also throw in a fee for Porto and I am sure we made a profit on the Boyle deal as well

Again, an academy player and a player we signed for free 10 years ago don’t really prove any model of spending big to return big

24-06-2025, 06:06 PM
Again, an academy player and a player we signed for free 10 years ago don’t really prove any model of spending big to return big

I prefer a model of spending big to win football matches. I’ve no interest in us being a player trading vehicle, if we have success on the pitch we will have no problem selling players on for a profit.

24-06-2025, 06:16 PM

We didn't sign Boyle for free - it was a swap deal with Alex Harris! :greengrin

24-06-2025, 06:20 PM

Wasn’t that the loan that was a swap? Then we signed him on a free?

Just_Jimmy
24-06-2025, 06:20 PM
We didn't sign Boyle for free - it was a swap deal with Alex Harris! :greengrinAye we probably should throw Dundee something to say sorry...

I suggest Jair.

Sent from my SM-S931B using Tapatalk

24-06-2025, 06:25 PM

I think technically both players went in the opposite directions on loan in the January. Boyle was out of contract the following summer, and we signed him on a permanent deal then, as a free agent

24-06-2025, 06:26 PM
We also somehow sold Ewan Henderson for money 🤣

As a whole tough that model/ whoever was in charge of it never worked the way we wanted it to

Hopefully the new one is much better

24-06-2025, 06:28 PM
I prefer a model of spending big to win football matches. I’ve no interest in us being a player trading vehicle, if we have success on the pitch we will have no problem selling players on for a profit.

I agree. But my initial point was in relation to discussing how we’d make our money back on £1.5m for Triantis.

24-06-2025, 06:30 PM

As someone else said the loans were the swap. We still got Alex Harris back for a couple of seasons.

BlackSheep
24-06-2025, 06:34 PM

My point exactly Iain 👍

Hibees1973
24-06-2025, 06:40 PM
I agree. But my initial point was in relation to discussing how we’d make our money back on £1.5m for Triantis.

Is it that difficult.

Get him on a 4 year deal. Triantis to continue to improve with us. Gets into the Australian or Greek World Cup squad and plays a couple of games.

Back with us for another year, if we are lucky. Then sell him for around £4m+, slice for Sunderland and we get the profit.

Know it could go t*ts up and he gets injured early doors, but this could happen to any player.

Surely that's how much of us feel and maybe a rough outline of what MacKay is thinking.

pogo
24-06-2025, 06:43 PM
Got a call from my Celtic supporting stepfather earlier, saying he'd heard they're interested in Rocky! Anyone else heard anything about this?

24-06-2025, 06:44 PM
Is it that difficult.

Get him on a 4 year deal. Triantis to continue to improve with us. Gets into the Australian or Greek World Cup squad and plays a couple of games.

Back with us for another year, if we are lucky. Then sell him for around £4m+, slice for Sunderland and we get the profit.

Know it could go t*ts up and he gets injured early doors, but this could happen to any player.

Surely that's how much of us feel and maybe a rough outline of what MacKay is thinking.

I'm on this train 100%

When are you ever going to have had 18 months across 2 loans to assess a player, see him get international call ups, make Team of the Season AND his club will sell?

This is the one to push the boat out for

24-06-2025, 06:46 PM
Got a call from my Celtic supporting stepfather earlier, saying he'd heard they're interested in Rocky! Anyone else heard anything about this?

I’d be astonished if true

24-06-2025, 06:53 PM

Given his performances at Parkhead I’d be surprised.

pogo
24-06-2025, 06:58 PM
Given his performances at Parkhead I’d be surprised.

That's what I thought, but he and his mate seemed quite sure of it. Hopefully just the afternoon pints talking!

EGL2000
24-06-2025, 06:58 PM

No way he's going to Celtic. Not good enough on the ball for them. They will be aiming for higher quality as well.

Gordy M
24-06-2025, 07:01 PM
No way he's going to Celtic. Not good enough on the ball for them. They will be aiming for higher quality as well.

So would be happy to swap Liam Scales for Rocky?

24-06-2025, 07:03 PM
Is it that difficult.

Get him on a 4 year deal.

Year 1: hibs struggle to balance Europe and the league. Finish outside top four. Clubs reluctant to match our asking price.

Year 2: hibs perform better in the league. Perhaps finish third or 4th without the burden of European football. Clubs reluctant to match our asking price.

Year 3: hibs perform poorly in Europe (natch). Similar struggles in league. Clubs aware player wants away. Make offers in and around 1m to test our resolve before player goes into final year of contract.

You do hypothetical. So do I. Mine is more realistic.

I'm happy if we pay 1.5m. But you are buying him for the years of his contract. You are not buying a guaranteed profit.

24-06-2025, 07:05 PM
Is it that difficult.

I don’t disagree. It’s entirely possible and currently looks like a great opportunity.

My initial point is that it’s not a guarantee and can’t be the sole reason to do it. If he does nothing we would have to be prepared to write off £1.5m. That’s a lot of money at any time, let alone for a team that has lost millions on terrible recruitment the last 3/4 years alone.

Hibees1973
24-06-2025, 07:11 PM

Year 1: hibs struggle to balance Europe and the league. Finish outside top four. Clubs reluctant to match our asking price.

Year 2: hibs perform better in the league. Perhaps finish third or 4th without the burden of European football. Clubs reluctant to match our asking price.

Year 3: hibs perform poorly in Europe (natch). Similar struggles in league. Clubs aware player wants away. Make offers in and around 1m to test our resolve before player goes into final year of contract.

I'm happy if we pay 1.5m. But you are buying him for the years of his contract. You are not buying a guaranteed profit.

OK then, let's not bother.

Overlook a player who has already adjusted to Scottish Football at our club and appears to be coveted by many other clubs. And one who was one of the four players nominated for player of the year in Scotland.

Donegal Hibby
24-06-2025, 07:16 PM

He was probably the most improved and consistent defenders in the league last season . I wouldn’t rate Scales ahead of him either and it wouldn’t be the first time that Celtic take a player coming out of contract/ free agent from another team in our league for their squad . Hopefully there’s nothing in it though.

24-06-2025, 07:16 PM

In an optimistic mood tonight [emoji2957]

24-06-2025, 07:29 PM
Rocky to Celtic wouldn’t actually surprise me massively as a Carter Vickers back up

Scales is someone everyone thought had no chance

Trusty they spent a fortune on and doesn’t seem great. Nawrocky (maybe a future nickname if Rocky goes to Celtic?) hardly gets a sniff.

But whenever Carter Vickers is missing they look considerably weaker and really miss his strength and overall athleticism

24-06-2025, 07:32 PM
Rocky to Celtic wouldn’t actually surprise me massively as a Carter Vickers back up

Scales is someone everyone thought had no chance

Trusty they spent a fortune on and doesn’t seem great. Nawrocky (maybe a future nickname if Rocky goes to Celtic?) hardly gets a sniff.

But whenever Carter Vickers is missing they look considerably weaker and really miss his strength and overall athleticism

There is rumoured interest in Carter Vickers

24-06-2025, 07:37 PM
OK then, let's not bother.

Overlook a player who has already adjusted to Scottish Football at our club and appears to be coveted by many other clubs. And one who was one of the four players nominated for player of the year in Scotland.

Tbf that’s not what was said, the poster was advocating that we sign Triantis, it was the guaranteed profit he disagreed with. I absolutely want us to sign him and break our transfer record in doing so (as that is what it will take.) If we do and he progresses as we all hope/expect then yes we could expect to make a big profit on him. It’s not a guarantee though.

badabing67
24-06-2025, 08:28 PM

I meant the deal with Al-Faisaly

Hibees1973
24-06-2025, 08:38 PM
Tbf that’s not what was said, the poster was advocating that we sign Triantis, it was the guaranteed profit he disagreed with. I absolutely want us to sign him and break our transfer record in doing so (as that is what it will take.) If we do and he progresses as we all hope/expect then yes we could expect to make a big profit on him. It’s not a guarantee though.

Is anyone here aware of any kind of guarantee in football when signing players. I certainly never said guarantee in my scenario.

I'm fully aware that signing Triantis constitutes a risk. If it's £1.5m, I expect it will probably have international caps/Hibs appearances/etc built in. Plus we have an owner who has already written off £7m on the last accounts (albeit a fair chunk of it was his responsibility recruiting poor players and inept managers).

Triantis was at the heart of everything good which Hibs did in the last 6 months last season. Two thirds of his fee can be garnered from the money obtained for Vente.

The new signings model for the last year seems to have worked. So if Hibs are interested in signing Triantis, whatever the fee, I back them. If we sign him for £1.5m and he gets injured in his first game, is out for a year or so and never recaptures his form. That's football.

It's all a risk.

badabing67
24-06-2025, 08:48 PM

No chance

sauzee1989
24-06-2025, 08:59 PM

Absolute nonsense

24-06-2025, 09:40 PM
Is anyone here aware of any kind of guarantee in football when signing players. I certainly never said guarantee in my scenario.

I'm fully aware that signing Triantis constitutes a risk. If it's £1.5m, I expect it will probably have international caps/Hibs appearances/etc built in. Plus we have an owner who has already written off £7m on the last accounts (albeit a fair chunk of it was his responsibility recruiting poor players and inept managers).

Triantis was at the heart of everything good which Hibs did in the last 6 months last season. Two thirds of his fee can be garnered from the money obtained for Vente.

The new signings model for the last year seems to have worked. So if Hibs are interested in signing Triantis, whatever the fee, I back them. If we sign him for £1.5m and he gets injured in his first game, is out for a year or so and never recaptures his form. That's football.

It's all a risk.
There have been a number of current players on social media Andy Halliday being one who have been praising Triantis's performances so if he is impressing other pros that says a lot. If he adds a few more goals to his game we have a gem if we can get him

24-06-2025, 09:45 PM

Just catching up on today’s stuff. I’m surprised to see a few people suggesting we can’t or shouldn’t be stretching to 1.5m for Triantis. Its a no brainer for me. And we’ll make a healthy profit on that as well. No doubts. And I’m sure the Board will fully back the manager to make it happen. He’d be an incredible signing - but we’d maybe only get one season of him as a permanent Hibs player.

24-06-2025, 09:50 PM

Did you watch Triantis last season? How can you not think we won’t make our money back - and then some - on him? You’ve mentioned the likes of Vente and Melkersen. Triantis can’t be compared in any way to those signings.

24-06-2025, 09:50 PM
There have been a number of current players on social media Andy Halliday being one who have been praising Triantis's performances so if he is impressing other pros that says a lot. If he adds a few more goals to his game we have a gem if we can get him

Attacking contribution was actually pretty good last season, three goals and six assists for someone who is predominantly a defensive midfielder is decent. Especially when none of the assists are coming from taking set pieces. Definitely has the ability to improve though. That’s why I’m desperate to get him back, you’re talking about someone who we know can play as it is but who still has so much room to improve.

24-06-2025, 10:02 PM
Attacking contribution was actually pretty good last season, three goals and six assists for someone who is predominantly a defensive midfielder is decent. Especially when none of the assists are coming from taking set pieces. Definitely has the ability to improve though. That’s why I’m desperate to get him back, you’re talking about someone who we know can play as it is but who still has so much room to improve.Watching the analysis on Sportscene and other shows, highlighted that he doesn't always play the easy sideways pass and will try to pass through the lines so adding something different. Wouldn't be offering a sell on clause as part of the deal as he has been developed at our team. A Celtic fan I know said that their 10 million midfielder is a poor man's Triantis.

Sent from my SM-A127F using Tapatalk

24-06-2025, 10:28 PM
Attacking contribution was actually pretty good last season, three goals and six assists for someone who is predominantly a defensive midfielder is decent. Especially when none of the assists are coming from taking set pieces. Definitely has the ability to improve though. That’s why I’m desperate to get him back, you’re talking about someone who we know can play as it is but who still has so much room to improve.

There should be an assist of the season award and for me it would have been Triantis' ball through the middle to tee up Campbell's 1st v Celtic when I and everyone else was screaming for him to play it wide to Nicky Cadden. Obita's low hook to Boyle at Ibrox is runner up.

24-06-2025, 10:35 PM
There should be an assist of the season award and for me it would have been Triantis' ball through the middle to tee up Campbell's 1st v Celtic when I and everyone else was screaming for him to play it wide to Nicky Cadden. Obita's low hook to Boyle at Ibrox is runner up.

Triantis’ pass for Bowie at Tannadice the best one for me.

Nicky Cadden might no be happy with this conversation right enough.

badabing67
24-06-2025, 11:03 PM

His through ball to Boyle at Pittodrie wasn't bad either

25-06-2025, 07:22 AM

That's not true

25-06-2025, 08:01 AM
Did you watch Triantis last season? How can you not think we won’t make our money back - and then some - on him? You’ve mentioned the likes of Vente and Melkersen. Triantis can’t be compared in any way to those signings.

I think we certainly can make our money back, he's a fantastic player. But lets flip the thinking on it for just a second, he's now available for lets say an asking price of £1.5m after a standout break through season here. He's 22 so is a fantastic age for a lot of these clubs to take a punt on now, and as others have said there's a World Cup next summer to inflate his value potentially.

Why are we so sure that there will be a massive line of clubs waiting to take him from us for double that price in 12/24 months, if they perhaps aren't already there in this window?

As others have said it's a risk and the club will have to weigh up how much risk it's willing to take on. If the club are absolutely certain that at the very least they can get him tied down on a 5 year deal and have a great player for Hibs for 5 years and maybe beyond to help us reach our goals in that time then that's probably worth £1.5m on its own. But if the club are looking at it with the end goal of being flipping him for profit then there's a lot to consider and weigh up.

EGL2000
25-06-2025, 08:10 AM
I think we certainly can make our money back, he's a fantastic player. But lets flip the thinking on it for just a second, he's now available for lets say an asking price of £1.5m after a standout break through season here. He's 22 so is a fantastic age for a lot of these clubs to take a punt on now, and as others have said there's a World Cup next summer to inflate his value potentially.

Why are we so sure that there will be a massive line of clubs waiting to take him from us for double that price in 12/24 months, if they perhaps aren't already there in this window?

As others have said it's a risk and the club will have to weigh up how much risk it's willing to take on. If the club are absolutely certain that at the very least they can get him tied down on a 5 year deal and have a great player for Hibs for 5 years and maybe beyond to help us reach our goals in that time then that's probably worth £1.5m on its own. But if the club are looking at it with the end goal of being flipping him for profit then there's a lot to consider and weigh up.

I think to realistically get to the next level and be the dominant 3rd placed team we need to start paying fees of this level. We can't keep walking away when it gets above 1 million. You can obviously still get quality for less but it's considerably harder. I also know that spending more doesn't guarantee success but I think in the Triantis case it's about as safe as a transfer can get for us.

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2025, 08:10 AM

People are making it sound like it’s a given that we’ll receive 150% or so of our largest ever transfer fee for him. We may well do, but it’s arguably much more likely we won’t.

25-06-2025, 08:14 AM

I want Triantis in as he is an outstanding player and not worried about financial return.

It’s what he brings to the team that is key for me. He was the heartbeat of our team and dictated most of the games we played in that great run.

We moan that we never hold on to our good players longer so if he stays longer than a season or two I will be delighted.

Now people getting cagey about whether we will make our money back.

For the record I think if we do sign him we will get a record fee back in a couple of years

Thatdayinmay16
25-06-2025, 08:19 AM

A shiver up the spine thinking about Liam Scales in a hibs top.

MacGruber
25-06-2025, 08:21 AM
Just catching up on today’s stuff. I’m surprised to see a few people suggesting we can’t or shouldn’t be stretching to 1.5m for Triantis. Its a no brainer for me. And we’ll make a healthy profit on that as well. No doubts. And I’m sure the Board will fully back the manager to make it happen. He’d be an incredible signing - but we’d maybe only get one season of him as a permanent Hibs player.

I'd love to see us go to 1.5 million, just don't think we will as I think it is outwith our means. Think we were already stretching at 1 million. It's only 0.5 mill more but where does it stop, 2, 3? Huge potential for a bigger sell on with him but there is no such thing as a guarantee on it or any transfer. Not that making a huge profit would be the be all and end all by the way either, if he is a success the team are more likely to be and potentially make millions through Europe etc.

25-06-2025, 08:29 AM

There may well be other clubs interested in him, but can those clubs guarantee him European football and 1st team football? He gets that at Hibs and will likely increase his chances of further development.

There’s a danger of chasing the money and playing a bit part role in another club, or stagnating his career.

25-06-2025, 08:31 AM
The transfer fee is irrelevant, it's all about the payment structure. A 5-year deal at £300k a year is easily doable. If we sign him I'll be delighted because he is a very good player not because we've smashed our transfer record. I have faith in Ian Gordon when it comes to Hibs spending. He knows that mistakes have been made in the past and his family have righted them, including £7m this summer. That's more than anyone in the 150-year history of the club has put in. We won't repeat the same mistakes of the past because we are run differently

25-06-2025, 08:42 AM
I want Triantis in as he is an outstanding player and not worried about financial return.

It’s what he brings to the team that is key for me. He was the heartbeat of our team and dictated most of the games we played in that great run.

We moan that we never hold on to our good players longer so if he stays longer than a season or two I will be delighted.

Now people getting cagey about whether we will make our money back.

For the record I think if we do sign him we will get a record fee back in a couple of years

I'm not that worried on what fee we'll get for him in 2/3 years. I would actually like it if he was at Hibs player for the next 10+ years and went on to captain us lift a couple of trophies etc. That to me would be a far better end goal for any signing than them going to a Watford etc for £3m.

I obviously don't know the state of the books and the financial plan post the £7m loss. I think spending a seven figure fee is now in the realm of not just possibility but as others have said almost a necessity, especially from a place of strength like last seasons finish. But 'you'll make your money back' can't be the deciding factor on whether we pay that amount of money, it needs to be an added bonus within an acceptable level of risk for the club financially.

You could argue any signing or spend could double our investment. If someone offered us a £5m valued player with the view of making £10m would we all be happy to mortgage the club against it? Of course we wouldn't. Whatever we're willing to pay for Nectar Triantis imo has to be of a value that we're ready to not see back in a future fee, and if we do then it's a bonus.

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2025, 08:49 AM
I'm not that worried on what fee we'll get for him in 2/3 years. I would actually like it if he was at Hibs player for the next 10+ years and went on to captain us lift a couple of trophies etc. That to me would be a far better end goal for any signing than them going to a Watford etc for £3m.

I obviously don't know the state of the books and the financial plan post the £7m loss. I think spending a seven figure fee is now in the realm of not just possibility but as others have said almost a necessity, especially from a place of strength like last seasons finish. But 'you'll make your money back' can't be the deciding factor on whether we pay that amount of money, it needs to be an added bonus within an acceptable level of risk for the club financially.

You could argue any signing or spend could double our investment. If someone offered us a £5m valued player with the view of making £10m would we all be happy to mortgage the club against it? Of course we wouldn't. Whatever we're willing to pay for Nectar Triantis imo has to be of a value that we're ready to not see back in a future fee, and if we do then it's a bonus.

25-06-2025, 08:52 AM

If this happens, he's not developed as we would have hoped.

badabing67
25-06-2025, 08:59 AM
Anybody know what time KO is for the MSV Duisburg next Wednesday

25-06-2025, 09:06 AM
Anybody know what time KO is for the MSV Duisburg next Wednesday

FFS, did you have to bring football into it?

25-06-2025, 09:16 AM

People are making it sound like it’s a given that we’ll receive 150% or so of our largest ever transfer fee for him. We may well do, but it’s arguably much more likely we won’t.So the transfer market sometimes means taking a gamble. Who knew!?

WeAreHibs
25-06-2025, 09:17 AM
We're we not going to be shopping in different supermarkets with being part of the Black Knight group? This is surely the first real opportunity to demonstrate this as part of the process we're learning to trust.

Make it happen and let's keep building!

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2025, 09:17 AM
So the transfer market sometimes means taking a gamble. Who knew!?

Exactly. And the gamble part is what makes it far from a given that signing Triantis will see us break our transfer record by a significant amount.

25-06-2025, 09:18 AM
I predict Hertz announce Shankland staying over next couple of days and pretend it's because of Blooms investment.

No brainer, sign him, young guy with class written all over him.

If this happens, he's not developed as we would have hoped.That would be a shame, winning a couple of trophies at the expense of NT not being good enough for Barnsley.

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2025, 09:21 AM
I predict Hertz announce Shankland staying over next couple of days and pretend it's because of Blooms investment.

He certainly doesn’t appear on the face of it to have many suitors. I’m hoping he’s off though.

badabing67
25-06-2025, 09:25 AM

I think he will go to Rangers..... Based on just a hunch, he could already of signed if he was staying

25-06-2025, 09:28 AM
He certainly doesn’t appear on the face of it to have many suitors. I’m hoping he’s off though.Think a move away all went wrong when Hearts got greedy and tried to sell him by the kilogram.

25-06-2025, 09:29 AM
He certainly doesn’t appear on the face of it to have many suitors. I’m hoping he’s off though.

He'll probably sign for hearts as he has no other options, it will be dressed up differently ofcourse

25-06-2025, 09:32 AM
He'll probably sign for hearts as he has no other options, it will be dressed up differently ofcourse

Thats exactly what i was getting at.

EGL2000
25-06-2025, 09:36 AM
We're we not going to be shopping in different supermarkets with being part of the Black Knight group? This is surely the first real opportunity to demonstrate this as part of the process we're learning to trust.

Make it happen and let's keep building!

Exactly where I sit. When they came in they said this would happen. I don't think it's much to expect us going up 1 level in the players we are buying. Paying an extra 500k-1millon on what we used to is surely where we should now be at if they stated that. I'm not expecting us to suddenly drop millions on players but I did expect more deals like this one.

25-06-2025, 09:43 AM

Probably. Would be huge for them if he stays unfortunately.

A striker with the ability to bag as many goals as he can could be difference between European places and bottom 6

25-06-2025, 09:48 AM

A striker with the ability to bag as many goals as he can could be difference between European places and bottom 6

They had him last season and still finished bottom 6 :greengrin

25-06-2025, 09:48 AM

Yeah. Shame they didn't have him this past season.

DinkyTwo
25-06-2025, 09:49 AM
Although there are no rumours, I'm excited to see what we pull out the hat for Bowie's strike partner.

Would love to see another aging but clever striker in the mould of Alf or Gayle, think someone like that would be perfect for him to develop alongside.

Sent from my Pixel 7 Pro using Tapatalk

25-06-2025, 09:50 AM
https://x.com/mccleanduncan1/status/1937803925035667961?s=46

Boy claims to be a journalist but not many followers

badabing67
25-06-2025, 09:50 AM

Yes with the famous 4-4-2 don't think it will be that next season though.

25-06-2025, 09:52 AM

They did but also had a manager in charge that didn’t have a scooby and was playing him in attacking mid/just behind the striker.

Wasn’t much of a surprise he started scoring again when he was put up top and Critchley was away.

I reckon anyone who doesn’t think shankland staying, especially with mcinnes in charge, would be a massive for them, is lying to themselves.

25-06-2025, 09:53 AM
https://x.com/mccleanduncan1/status/1937793339685798012?s=46

Same guy / journo as per post about Triantis

25-06-2025, 09:54 AM

Not a journo - a troll/attention seeker/**** muncher.

25-06-2025, 10:02 AM

That boy is a Rod Laver

I hope Shankland signs a 4 year deal with them. He's always been a talented player but his fitness level has never really been where it should be which is probably why he didn't make it in Belgium. Now that he's heading into his 30s , he's going to find it more and more of a struggle to be fit enough. If he does go to West Brom he'll be back up the road on loan by the January window.

They did but also had a manager in charge that didn’t have a scooby and was playing him in attacking mid/just behind the striker.

Wasn’t much of a surprise he started scoring again when he was put up top and Critchley was away.

I reckon anyone who doesn’t think shankland staying, especially with mcinnes in charge, would be a massive for them, is lying to themselves.

I'd be much happier if he left.

Dinnae get me wrong, I'm far more concerned with what we do, but I'd prefer Hearts to be poor, and they'll be poorer without him.

25-06-2025, 10:03 AM
I thought shankland had gone to west brom?I asked my baggies supporting chum who is reasonably itk.

Seemingly - They were interested up until his agent started hawking him around other clubs off the press coverage sparked up by WBA's interest. Once they got wind of that the Baggies dropped interest and have moved on.

25-06-2025, 10:08 AM

Dinnae get me wrong, I'm far more concerned with what we do, but I'd prefer Hearts to be poor, and they'll be poorer without him.I tend to second guess Hearts' fortunes by imagining what the next season's worth of nauseating media coverage is going to centre on.

Any sort of Shankland renaissance is going to be lapped up, so would be in equal measures entirely predictable and also boak-inducing.

Sent from my Pixel 6a using Tapatalk

25-06-2025, 10:13 AM

I'd be surprised if he doesn't say at Hearts. His stock fell dramatically last season. Can't see the likes of Rangers being interested at all now.

25-06-2025, 10:13 AM

Huge being the operative word with Tefal heed.

JasonC1875
25-06-2025, 10:14 AM
https://x.com/mccleanduncan1/status/1937803925035667961?s=46

Boy claims to be a journalist but not many followers

Tweeted about our interest in Manneh 5 days before he was announced

ToffeeCabbage
25-06-2025, 10:14 AM

Yeah it's total nonsense account. Honestly don't think there's anything sadder than folk like that who go to the time and effort to maintain an account like that, just churning out made up stuff. Genuinely pathetic

25-06-2025, 10:20 AM

It was public knowledge then though as the Hibs observer was reporting it before then.

25-06-2025, 10:22 AM

Why would a journalist use a picture of the guy from Outlander as his profile pic? :dunno:

25-06-2025, 10:25 AM
If Hibs signed Triantis permanently I think I'd genuinely touch myself in an inappropriate manner and I'm not even being dramatic. Quite the contrast to the rage I felt last year when we signed him.

25-06-2025, 10:35 AM

We were linked with Manneh for the majority of the month though iirc

Hibs1969
25-06-2025, 10:48 AM
A shiver up the spine thinking about Liam Scales in a hibs top.

The man who was sent off twice in the same season at ER. No thanks, I’d much rather have Porteous back if that’s a viable option.

Hibees1973
25-06-2025, 10:49 AM
If Hibs signed Triantis permanently I think I'd genuinely touch myself in an inappropriate manner and I'm not even being dramatic. Quite the contrast to the rage I felt last year when we signed him.

Offt.

Bit premature?

25-06-2025, 10:52 AM
Offt.

Bit premature?

He hasn't touched himself yet! :duck:

Bridge hibs
25-06-2025, 11:09 AM
Offt.

Bit premature?Its just pure ejaculation, nothing signed yet

25-06-2025, 11:20 AM
At the moment, we are Rocky, Triantis, Hoilett, Gayle and Kukharevych down from last season and have brought in Sallinger and McGrath. So we are still well short to get to what we were last season. Plus, Aberdeen and Hearts will be stronger (I know people want to believe otherwise but they will). So we need a much stronger squad than last season to get top 3 and win a cup, which should always be the aim.

So, it's about time we were getting players in. And a good recruitment team would have players identified. No point spending a season qualifying for Europe and then being under prepared for it. Have the majority of the team ready and having had a couple weeks together before the real stuff kicks off. The teams that perform the best always tend to have their major transfers done early.

I do think Aberdeen getting the guaranteed European money has made the level of signings we bring in down a level. Or certainly much more difficult to get them in.

25-06-2025, 11:23 AM
Its just pure ejaculation, nothing signed yet

Exuberance

25-06-2025, 11:26 AM
The "journalist" that tweeted about Triantis also has us interested in a couple of players from Hacken, Don't shoot the messenger! :greengrin

https://x.com/MccleanDuncan1/status/1937793339685798012

25-06-2025, 11:33 AM
Shankland prediction

- off course he will sign. He has no other credible options.
- Hearts will pee themselves with the announcement
- Budge will come out of hiding
- BBC Sportsound will have an emergency podcast on it
- BBC Sportsound at the weekend will then install Hearts as certs for 3rd and even a wee challenge to 2nd
- Kenny McIntyre (host) will talk about it being signing of the close season, doesnt McInnes “talk so well” and say Hearts are back
- Hearts fans will Lap it up in close season and replace “analytics” with “disrupt” as new favourite word in every sentence.

Then a few months later…
- the fans will realise McInnes football is dog****
- the recruitment approach they have taken is a disaster and they are languishing mid table
- Meanwhile Shankland will still be at least a stone over weight, even slower and scored less than one of our centre halfs.

TrinityHFC
25-06-2025, 11:39 AM
At the moment, we are Rocky, Triantis, Hoilett, Gayle and Kukharevych down from last season and have brought in Sallinger and McGrath. So we are still well short to get to what we were last season. Plus, Aberdeen and Hearts will be stronger (I know people want to believe otherwise but they will). So we need a much stronger squad than last season to get top 3 and win a cup, which should always be the aim.

So, it's about time we were getting players in. And a good recruitment team would have players identified. No point spending a season qualifying for Europe and then being under prepared for it. Have the majority of the team ready and having had a couple weeks together before the real stuff kicks off. The teams that perform the best always tend to have their major transfers done early.

I do think Aberdeen getting the guaranteed European money has made the level of signings we bring in down a level. Or certainly much more difficult to get them in.

Sane nonsense every window. Not learned anything from the last couple of windows in particular?

25-06-2025, 11:41 AM
Really thought we’d have a striker in by now. We’ve known Gayle was retiring for ages and the chat was we weren't interested in bringing Myko back for a third spell.

DickieDastardly
25-06-2025, 11:55 AM
I'd rather we took our time to do the right deals for the right players, just look at some of the dreadful signings we've been lumbered with over the last few years.

Quality over quantity takes time...

CentreForward
25-06-2025, 11:57 AM

Dinnae get me wrong, I'm far more concerned with what we do, but I'd prefer Hearts to be poor, and they'll be poorer without him.

Correct! He was starting to score again at end of last season and have no doubt that McInnes will get him going. Transfer please!

CentreForward
25-06-2025, 11:58 AM

They both look about 12 and both midfielders. Probably nonsense.

25-06-2025, 11:58 AM
I'd rather we took our time to do the right deals for the right players, just look at some of the dreadful signings we've been lumbered with over the last few years.

Quality over quantity takes time...

I get what you're saying and given the current make-up of our squad compared to previous seasons I'm much more chilled than I have been.

But if the quality has been identified in advance there isn't really a reason why it should take longer.

Don't doubt Aberdeen winning the Cup will have changed things though.

25-06-2025, 12:00 PM
Shankland prediction

- off course he will sign. He has no other credible options.
- Hearts will pee themselves with the announcement
- Budge will come out of hiding
- BBC Sportsound will have an emergency podcast on it
- BBC Sportsound at the weekend will then install Hearts as certs for 3rd and even a wee challenge to 2nd
- Kenny McIntyre (host) will talk about it being signing of the close season, doesnt McInnes “talk so well” and say Hearts are back
- Hearts fans will Lap it up in close season and replace “analytics” with “disrupt” as new favourite word in every sentence.

Then a few months later…
- the fans will realise McInnes football is dog****
- the recruitment approach they have taken is a disaster and they are languishing mid table
- Meanwhile Shankland will still be at least a stone over weight, even slower and scored less than one of our centre halfs.Ahem, see Swiss Tony is this season's Dhanda. He's got them disrupting the current domination in Scottish football this time around. Being lapped up as one would expect.

Maybe they are signing last season's bottom 6 captain after all.

25-06-2025, 12:08 PM
They both look about 12 and both midfielders. Probably nonsense.

Spend big for the dev team :cb

25-06-2025, 12:16 PM
I get what you're saying and given the current make-up of our squad compared to previous seasons I'm much more chilled than I have been.

But if the quality has been identified in advance there isn't really a reason why it should take longer.

Anyone that is actually good and will improve us will have multiple offers on the table.

25-06-2025, 12:23 PM

Clubs might want to get their business done early, but agents don’t. They want to see all the options their client has before they advise them to sign. The pool of players who are actually available changes all the time as the window progresses, because incoming players make existing players expendable. In many ways we HAVE done much of our business early as we’ve brought in Salinger, Manneh and McGrath. Yes we need a couple of strikers and to re-sign Rocky and Triantis, but I have faith in the new team to get it right.

25-06-2025, 12:26 PM

Quite the opposite. Higher the quality the longer it may take for them to agree to playing for Hibs.

25-06-2025, 12:32 PM
Anyone that is actually good and will improve us will have multiple offers on the table.

Clubs might want to get their business done early, but agents don’t. They want to see all the options their client has before they advise them to sign. The pool of players who are actually available changes all the time as the window progresses, because incoming players make existing players expendable. In many ways we HAVE done much of our business early as we’ve brought in Salinger, Manneh and McGrath. Yes we need a couple of strikers and to re-sign Rocky and Triantis, but I have faith in the new team to get it right.

Quite the opposite. Higher the quality the longer it may take for them to agree to playing for Hibs.

Fair enough and like I say, I'm pretty chilled where we're at just now, however, if we don't have anyone else in and we fail to re-sign Rocky and Triantis then I think I'll revert to type and start panicking.

25-06-2025, 12:37 PM
Has the multi pen gone missing?

25-06-2025, 12:38 PM
I think Rudi will kick on this season. Was already technically there, had the aggression. A year of physical development will make him a different animal.

I also think Jacob McIntyre could start games already.

yerauldda
25-06-2025, 12:42 PM
I think Rudi will kick on this season. Was already technically there, had the aggression. A year of physical development will make him a different animal.

I think we could end up seeing more of Jacob than Rudi, especially if Hoilett comes back. I think he could do with another loan, top end of the championship would be ideal.

25-06-2025, 01:03 PM
Josh O'Connor signed for East Kilbride, not anywhere near the level I would have thought he should be so far.

Paulie Walnuts
25-06-2025, 01:13 PM
Josh O'Connor signed for East Kilbride, not anywhere near the level I would have thought he should be so far.

I’m actually surprised he’s managed to get a team in the leagues at all. I’d have expected him to start drifting down to Lowland League and then eventually EOS.

EGL2000
25-06-2025, 01:16 PM

I think Rudi needs a loan but it needs to right for him and us. No point in him sitting on the bench if out on loan. I also think it needs to be a good level I would say lower championship minimum maybe over to Ireland or something?

EGL2000
25-06-2025, 01:17 PM

Whenever I seen him playing senior football I thought he really struggled didn't really have any one attribute where I thought he's a stand out in that.

Hibiza
25-06-2025, 01:48 PM
He hasn't touched himself yet! :duck:
😄😄😄

Donegal Hibby
25-06-2025, 01:50 PM

I thought when he came on against Aberdeen he looked promising , won a penalty in getting the better of Scales . Rudi is one we do need to loan out to help him develop , championship club at the top end of the table would be better than a premier team in the bottom half.

25-06-2025, 02:13 PM
Aarons to the Rangers confirmed.

Get the argument about affordability but the optics of them getting a player on loan from Bournemouth when they have given us next to nothing doesn't sit very well with me.

25-06-2025, 02:17 PM

Get the argument about affordability but the optics of them getting a player on loan from Bournemouth when they have given us next to nothing doesn't sit very well with me.

Wonder if he'll be able to play against Hibs? 😉

25-06-2025, 02:23 PM
I’m actually surprised he’s managed to get a team in the leagues at all. I’d have expected him to start drifting down to Lowland League and then eventually EOS.

Me too. For me a long way off the required standard. There's not one young player who's left us that I think would have become a first team regular. It's one thing I think we've got right over the years.

badabing67
25-06-2025, 02:26 PM
It's looking like another barren day for us fans

25-06-2025, 02:26 PM
Is Hoilett still contracted to Hibs until the end of June? Think the lack of info says to me he'll be away at contract end.

badabing67
25-06-2025, 02:30 PM
Is Hoilett still contracted to Hibs until the end of June? Think the lack of info says to me he'll be away at contract end.

His contract ended 31-05-2025 = Currently free

25-06-2025, 02:39 PM
It's looking like another barren day for us fans

I might be clutching at straws, but based on your message I now believe we’re signing Connor Barron from Rangers

At the very least it’s a rumour we can go with rather than speak about Joe Newell etc

25-06-2025, 02:42 PM

To be fair I've forgotten they're L2 now so it's a better move than I thought initially. I think his move to Ireland was probably the wrong one at the time and should have tried to find something in Scotland sooner.

25-06-2025, 02:43 PM
His contract ended 31-05-2025 = Currently free
Thanks for that, wasn't sure if still under contract 👍

itslegaltender
25-06-2025, 02:45 PM

100% agree.

Thatdayinmay16
25-06-2025, 02:47 PM

Wonder what lie his old boy will come up with the next time he's asked about him.

25-06-2025, 02:52 PM

Agree, we have a much celebrated link with them and one of the first things they do is lend one of their players to one of our rivals. He could score the winner against us in the cup final and stop us getting Europe for example. Out of all the teams in the UK he could have gone to this really doesn’t look right when up to now we’ve had very little.

Paul1642
25-06-2025, 02:57 PM
3 more days to get a signing sorted before setting off for the Dutch training camp. You would hope anyone close to being over the line is concluded in time for the trip.

Donegal Hibby
25-06-2025, 03:01 PM
Agree, we have a much celebrated link with them and one of the first things they do is lend one of their players to one of our rivals. He could score the winner against us in the cup final and stop us getting Europe for example. Out of all the teams in the UK he could have gone to this really doesn’t look right when up to now we’ve had very little.

I don’t really have any issues with them loaning a player to Sevco who we almost certainly couldn’t afford in the first place.

25-06-2025, 03:04 PM

Good luck to Josh

25-06-2025, 03:05 PM

maybe offered to us & the rangers asked about him ,the player perhaps decided they were the better option:dunno: