View Full Version : Neil Lennon

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

26-08-2020, 10:13 PM
Once again he fails when really tested. The born winner stuff is really starting to fade.

And of course its all the players fault. He leaves two expensive strikers on the bench and puts Christie up front but takes none of the blame. Its like Tynecastle all over again.

26-08-2020, 10:19 PM
From the BBC interview with Lennon after the game

"I'll have to carry the can, and take the responsibility for it."

Not his usual response, as you suggest. Normally happy to point the finger at his players :agree:

26-08-2020, 10:21 PM

Not his usual response, as you suggest. Normally happy to point the finger at his players :agree:

He did add this as well;

Asked what message he would give to his players, Lennon added: "Get your mentality right, get your attitude right. If some of you don't want to be here, leave."

Asked if his impression was some players don't want to be at the club, he responded: "In some cases."

26-08-2020, 10:22 PM
I'm not sure there will even be a discussion about his future at Celtic, when there certainly should be. They are regularly knocked out of Europe by clubs with a small fraction of their budget. Big clubs must take tough decisions. They don't seem to be moving forward.

26-08-2020, 10:26 PM
Celtic & Lawell are settling for second best and can’t match Lennons ambitions, or something...

26-08-2020, 10:26 PM
I'm not sure there will even be a discussion about his future at Celtic, when there certainly should be. They are regularly knocked out of Europe by clubs with a small fraction of their budget. Big clubs must take tough decisions. They don't seem to be moving forward.

Very literally moved backwards to hire him in the first place I suppose.

I could see somebody like Eddie Howe doing well in the Celtic job and using it as a springboard, much like Rodgers did.

murray26
26-08-2020, 10:32 PM
He was the cheap and easy option for Celtic there fans must be raging.. more than fair chance he’ll blow 10 in a row as well..

26-08-2020, 10:38 PM
I liked him at Hibs. Didn’t end well but neither do any of them, not one.

26-08-2020, 10:46 PM

I did too. Overall he did a good job for us, and he won Celtic another treble last season. However, his European record there is very poor. I suppose it comes down to the expectations of the Celtic board.

26-08-2020, 10:47 PM
He was the cheap and easy option for Celtic there fans must be raging.. more than fair chance he’ll blow 10 in a row as well..

Their fans focus is entirely 10 in a row. If Lennon does it there will be a statue of him outside Parkheid. Nothing else matters to their fans.

26-08-2020, 10:54 PM
Their fans focus is entirely 10 in a row. If Lennon does it there will be a statue of him outside Parkheid. Nothing else matters to their fans.

They don't take meek Champions League exits lightly though.

That's a lot of money that could be put to use that they're missing out on.

They're not a happy bunch.

26-08-2020, 10:59 PM
I did too. Overall he did a good job for us, and he won Celtic another treble last season. However, his European record there is very poor. I suppose it comes down to the expectations of the Celtic board.

Yep, I struggle to understand how some Hibs fans continually have a go at him. As you say he did a good job for us. Every chance we could have stagnated in the Championship for another year or two if we didn't recruit him. No time for Celtic but Lennon was a successful Hibs HC and for me it was mostly happy times when he was with us

26-08-2020, 11:01 PM
All he had to do at Tynecastle was stick with the team that were 13 unbeaten. I still don't understand.

26-08-2020, 11:02 PM
Yep, I struggle to understand how some Hibs fans continually have a go at him. As you say he did a good job for us. Every chance we could have stagnated in the Championship for another year or two if we didn't recruit him. No time for Celtic but Lennon was a successful Hibs HC and for me it was mostly happy times when he was with us

I'd say pretty much zero chance we stayed in the championship without him.

26-08-2020, 11:05 PM

Me as well, despite the fact that the manner of his departure was particularly disappointing (and the way in which he then pitched so quickly at Celtc... let’s just say, he made himself available at the right time for himself).

Anyhow, is Edouard genuinely injured or is there a suggestion he is working his ticket? Can’t believe Lennon didn’t start with a striker tonight for tactical reasons, looks like another clumsy attempt to ‘send the board a message’.

All not well at Celtc Park just now.

26-08-2020, 11:05 PM
Seems to me he has reverted to his sort of favoured "it's their fault not mine" stance. If so they could be kissing goodbye to 10 IAR if he alienates this particular group of players? Not a mind reader myself, just recalling things said in the past by him.

Lex7zero
26-08-2020, 11:10 PM

I am in the camp that wanted Lennon in and thought he did a decent job for the majority of the time he was here. But I struggle to understand Hibs supporters that did not see the collapse in terms of behaviours and results.
He had to go as he became a liability as he lost the plot and we went on a run of losing just about every game. Lennon was not a success overall if you open your eyes and look at his stay from start to finish.

Tommy75
26-08-2020, 11:55 PM
I am in the camp that wanted Lennon in and thought he did a decent job for the majority of the time he was here. But I struggle to understand Hibs supporters that did not see the collapse in terms of behaviours and results.
He had to go as he became a liability as he lost the plot and we went on a run of losing just about every game. Lennon was not a success overall if you open your eyes and look at his stay from start to finish.

Surely no Hibs manager would be considered a success overall if you looked at their stay from start to finish? It is all relative, and compared with a lot of previous managers, I'd say Lennon was a success at Hibs.

27-08-2020, 12:03 AM
Surely no Hibs manager would be considered a success overall if you looked at their stay from start to finish? It is all relative, and compared with a lot of previous managers, I'd say Lennon was a success at Hibs.

I agree. Definitely a success overall. Won the championship (which was expected) , our highest points total in the Premiership with a chance of finishing second going into the final few games and a decent European run.

Obviously it all fell apart towards the end and he needed to go. But overall a successful tenure for me.

Just_Jimmy
27-08-2020, 01:50 AM
I liked him at Hibs. Didn’t end well but neither do any of them, not one.Duno, that lad Stubbs did not too bad.

Lennon was alright for Hibs. Inherited a good side. Tweeked it. Was heavily backed. Got results and then undid a lot of work in the fans eyes by blowing a derby. Better and worse Hibs managers have done the same.

My biggest bug bear was the fact we were always just his second option til Celtic came calling again. Like the jilted lover that goes running back.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

Greenio
27-08-2020, 02:18 AM
I think The Rangers will win the league.

Pressure is a huge factor and Celtic will buckle

27-08-2020, 03:18 AM
When he has to think as as a football manager and not play it simple he’s found out as a angry wee prick.

I loved him at him at Hibernian until the pressure came on. Then he became a ****.

ddoc
27-08-2020, 04:06 AM

No treble yet, I am pretty sure we have semi against Hearts on the horizon.

27-08-2020, 05:17 AM
I think The Rangers will win the league.

Pressure is a huge factor and Celtic will buckle

I don’t see that at all. Last two seasons Rangers have crumbled in the second half of the season and Celtic have went on strong. Nothing about Rangers or Gerrard as a manager would say this season will be any different.

Celtic and Lennon will get their beloved ten and then the rest of the country will have to hear about it constantly. Over and over again.

27-08-2020, 05:34 AM
Lennon never recovered from the tactical shambles that was Tynecastle 2018. Toys out the pram blaming everyone but himself and threatening to walk. Prick.

27-08-2020, 05:48 AM
Looking over at the Celtic forums they’re largely all saying what a few of us who saw through him early took a lot of stick for when he was here.

Tactically inept when his plan A doesn’t work, odd signings and shifts the blame wherever possible. A fair few want him gone.

If Sevco are within striking distance of the league with two or three months to go then I really fear that he’ll crumble.

27-08-2020, 05:51 AM

Just talking about the championship season, Lennon got us promoted and deserves credit for that. However we didn’t improve any, we finished with 1 point extra in a league without Rangers in it.

27-08-2020, 06:04 AM

You must be joking. They are going ballistic all over social media.

27-08-2020, 06:14 AM
Some of Lennon's time at Hibs was fantastic to watch

But you just dont go missing from your job, hiding for 5 days, after a derby defeat, blaming mcgeough ("I dropped Dylan because he told me he wants to leave") when all you needed to do was pick the same team who'd steamrollered their way to 13 unbeaten games on the spin.

That 5 days of anti-social distancing revealed a lot about Lennon, as a manager, I thought

27-08-2020, 06:33 AM
Some of Lennon's time at Hibs was fantastic to watch

But you just dont go missing from your job, hiding for 5 days, after a derby defeat, blaming mcgeough ("I dropped Dylan because he told me he wants to leave") when all you needed to do was pick the same team who'd steamrollered their way to 13 unbeaten games on the spin.

That 5 days of anti-social distancing revealed a lot about Lennon, as a manager, I thought

That he has issues with his mental health and occasionally needs support?

27-08-2020, 06:33 AM
I liked Lennon before his time at Hibs and for much of his time at Hibs.

I lost a lot of respect for him after that game at Tynecastle. Changing the team that had steamrollered everything before it for weeks was odd but I almost understand why he did it. We lost so he should have shouldered some responsibility. To call players who had given everything that season 'unprofessional' was unfair. To tell a blatant lie about the board not backing him in January (and admitting it was a lie some time later) opened the floodgates for all the usual criticisms. It was a disgraceful thing to do and he knew exactly what he was doing when he did it. Classic deflection as suddenly no one was talking about him but all anger was focused on the board. The whole 'I'm the only one who really cares about winning' was a slight on some players who done a lot more for Hibs than he ever did.

The whole 'Lenny changed our mentality in derbies' line is a total crock anyway. It's disrespectful to Stubbs and the players who regularly performed well in derbies and more than matched Hearts when it became a battle.

27-08-2020, 06:34 AM
BREAKING: Boli Bolingoli confirmed as Celtic’s player of the year after going further in Europe than the rest of his team mates put together.

27-08-2020, 06:37 AM
While he did well for the club in the Championship and our first season back I lost a lot of respect for him after the Tynecastle derby defeat onwards. He rarely took any blame, chucked his players under the bus repeatedly and had us playing turgid football sitting 8th in the league. His time was up.

27-08-2020, 06:43 AM
I will be surprised if he holds on to his job tbh. I know it’s 10 iar etc but he continues to let them down on big occasions. Not playing a striker last night was embarrassing.

27-08-2020, 06:52 AM
He's lived off that one game against Barca and thinks he's a tactical genius, the same tactics every plays against them, soak up pressure and hit on the break, genius haha.
Anyone with a half decent football background will do well at Celtic, they've got the money, players and coaches in place, set them up right and on you go.
Once again hes been found out and its everyone elses fault, no desire etc etc blah blah blah, same thing happened the last time he was at Celtic, he accused them of penny pinching.

27-08-2020, 06:57 AM
I see he's reverted to type - just like he did at Hibs Post May 2018 at Tiny.
When the going gets tough - Lennon plays the blame game. It will all start to slowly unravel over there now as I can see some of their players turning against him.
Hes not a great manager at all - as others have said we were languishing in 8th when he left us. We weren't impressive in winning a poor Championship under him, our best spell was the 2nd half of our 1st season back up and he managed to blow that at Tiny. The following season under him was mainly a disaster which all his media pals conveniently forget when calling him a success at Hibs.

27-08-2020, 07:03 AM
I will be surprised if he holds on to his job tbh. I know it’s 10 iar etc but he continues to let them down on big occasions. Not playing a striker last night was embarrassing.

It's a decision that should get him the sack - you simply cannot blame players when you have three strikers to choose from, one bought recently for millions with Europe no doubt in mind. He claimed they were not match fit............their new signing scored the winner v Utd and would have played on adrenaline last night, and would have been able to play 60 minutes surely ? Their Polish striker has played pre-season games and scored, also featured in the SPFL and scored.

As for Leigh, we all know he is a handful at times but he's had his own personal issues which football, and playing regularly, would perhaps be cathartic.

The blame for last night lies with Neil Lennon and Neil Lennon alone. You have to ask also - the media rightly slaughtered Levein for the same - why not call out Lennon with the same headlines ? Utterly ridiculous at this level of football not to play strikers that can give you at least 45-60 minutes of football.

27-08-2020, 07:06 AM
It's a decision that should get him the sack - you simply cannot blame players when you have three strikers to choose from, one bought recently for millions with Europe no doubt in mind. He claimed they were not match fit............their new signing scored the winner v Utd and would have played on adrenaline last night, and would have been able to play 60 minutes surely ? Their Polish striker has played pre-season games and scored, also featured in the SPFL and scored.

As for Leigh, we all know he is a handful at times but he's had his own personal issues which football, and playing regularly, would perhaps be cathartic.

The blame for last night lies with Neil Lennon and Neil Lennon alone. You have to ask also - the media rightly slaughtered Levein for the same - why not call out Lennon with the same headlines ? Utterly ridiculous at this level of football not to play strikers that can give you at least 45-60 minutes of football.

This. Lenny will get an easy time from his pals in the press just like at Hibs. They'll win their next game against a team with a tenth of their budget and he'll be back to being a winner again in the eyes of some.

27-08-2020, 07:15 AM
Its hard to believe so many now see Lennon for what he is but in his last weeks at Hibs many people on here were shouted down for wanting him gone and told "we will never get anyone like him again. Born winner blah blah" when it was clear that we were a shambles and he had lost the plot completely. 2 wins in 15 in the end i think it was. A tedious slog in the championship in 16/17 where we done the bare minimum. Pretty average first half to the 17/18 season then a superb run in the 2nd half of the season. A good start to 18/19 before it all fell to pieces and became a bit embarrassing in the end.

27-08-2020, 07:37 AM
Old pop corn teeth dragged us over the line kicking and screaming in the Championship-too many draws- but we got there that was all that mattered

In the Premiership he made the ‘brave’ decision in the second half of the season to bin his two main strikers and bring in Kamberi and MacLaren.

This brought the nearest any of us have seen of the mysterious’ high press ‘ and the best football we have seen in a generation.

We had a real chance of a second place finish. A missed penalty against The Sheep, mind games with Potter in the build up to the derby caused him to ‘ overthink ‘ his line up deciding to go with Brandon Barker through the middle disrupting our winning lineup resulting in the predictable defeat.

3-0 up against the Hun on the Sunday and many of us were starting to believe but it was not to be

His final season was a disaster acting like a man that didnae want to be here working his ticket. Weird team selections and behaviour avoiding the media resulting in Lennongate .

Only a few people know exactly what happened that day but one thing is for sure he was spot on with regard to Florian Kamberi

I will be surprised if he is still Celtic Manager at the end of the season

A career in media beckons

27-08-2020, 07:55 AM

I think he was overated at Hibs. Lots loved the big character.

1st season in Championship was eye bleeding and we took our time to win it. Thought football was unattractive and negative.

1st Season back we were woeful till after Christmas until Allan, Kamberi and Mclaren came in on loan.

2nd season back up and we were on course for relegation before he was sacked/left.

Failed down south and struggling now at Celtic even though their budget dwarfs the rest of teams in the league.

Man management skills are clearly lacking and hark back to a bygone era.

27-08-2020, 08:03 AM

He also said...

“Get your mentality right, get your attitude right. If some of you don’t want to be here, leave. Let us work with players who want to be here.” Pressed on whether he thought some of his group had eyes on other things, he added: “In some cases.

“The players need to buckle up. They’ve been OK but some of their attitudes need to be better if they want to come and play for the club. I’m detecting a little bit of a malaise among them where sometimes they’re not as good as they think they are.”

27-08-2020, 08:12 AM

1st season in Championship was eye bleeding and we took our time to win it. Thought football was unattractive and negative.

Complete and utter rubbish.
1st Season back we were woeful till after Christmas until Allan, Kamberi and Mclaren came in on loan.

More rubbish, what were you expecting after 3 seasons in the Championship, SPFL winning form right away?
2nd season back up and we were on course for relegation before he was sacked/left.

Again, complete rubbish

Failed down south and struggling now at Celtic even though their budget dwarfs the rest of teams in the league.

Bolton were a basket case, who would have kept them afloat in your opinion?

It's amazing that our board who are lauded on here as forward thinking and in LD the best CEO in a long time, were stupid enough to bring in such a dinosaur, and again Celtic the best team by a country mile chose to appoint him AGAIN.

Cheap option i hear, like Brendan Rodgers?

NC1875
27-08-2020, 08:21 AM
Underestimated his opponents. Like he did Hearts in that derby.

He had 2 strikers that he spent over 8 million pound on on the bench. And he plays Christie up front.

No one to blame but himself but as usual it’s never his fault.

Celtic fans I know didn’t want him in the first place and he’s done nothing to change there minds

27-08-2020, 08:22 AM

Usual drivel from you

27-08-2020, 08:33 AM

Totally agree.

27-08-2020, 08:33 AM
Usual drivel from you

Perhaps, but some Hibs fans also have a blind spot when it comes to Lennon’s failings.

He did good things for us no doubt, and brought us many good days, but his ability to second-guess himself with his own tactics and team selection is a persistent failing.

27-08-2020, 08:35 AM
I think Lennon was good for Hibs however imo no doubt he was aware of Rodgers leaving and worked his ticket. It was absolutely the right time to leave as it was going pear shaped. He had every right to pick the team he did at Tiny however personally wouldn't have done so but we lost in the usual up and at em battle on the 5 a side pitch. His reaction after it was extreme but he is that sort of emotional guy. Thought it was quite funny when he was telling Hearts fans how many points ahead of them we were after the game. He was always going to be a short term appointment here imo.

Celtic fans will be raging however to me it isn't the monumental shock it is being portrayed. Hungarian football is on the rise and think it was said Ferencvaros were unbeaten away in their Europa league last season plus just comfortably beat the Swedish champs. Celtic have looked pretty average in the league games I have seen this year and take Eduard out of that team and they are pretty average imo.

27-08-2020, 08:36 AM
Perhaps, but some Hibs fans also have a blind spot when it comes to Lennon’s failings.

He did good things for us no doubt, and brought us many good days, but his ability to second-guess himself with his own tactics and team selection is a persistent failing.

I’m sure most are aware of the failings. No manager will be perfect, however, the negative drivel being written about Lennon isn’t in any way balanced or realistic.

27-08-2020, 08:38 AM

I don't disagree. The post I commented on was a particularly one eyed side of events which seems to be the way of things on here....particularly when it comes to NL.

27-08-2020, 08:39 AM
I’m sure most are aware of the failings. No manager will be perfect, however, the negative drivel being written about Lennon isn’t in any way balanced or realistic.

Surely those views are simply offset by the chat that Lennon was a “born winner”, which doesn’t actually mean anything, or that we won’t ever get a manager as good as Lennon again. Those views are/were equally as unbalanced and unrealistic.

27-08-2020, 08:40 AM
Usual drivel from you

Totally agree.

The joys of .net. :greengrin

27-08-2020, 08:41 AM
The joys of .net. :greengrin

😁

27-08-2020, 08:44 AM
Mind the time he played Oli Shaw and Lewis Allan up front purely to try and prove a point? Those were the days.

27-08-2020, 08:46 AM

We were not woeful until after Christmas. That's just a lie. Doesn't stand up at all.

27-08-2020, 08:46 AM
Lennon made a bit of **** of Hibs at times. Club and fans were very supportive, but those four months at the end of that season aside ( 18-19), the football was pretty dire. He’s lost the plot completely by the end, clueless and in a massive rut. Nae malice towards him, but he’s being found out again. Not an astute manager.

smithy_hibees
27-08-2020, 08:47 AM
Lennon was good for the club at the time, we needed out the championship ASAP 3rd season in there?? Wasn’t good enough past 2 seasons, he done the main thing, that Hearts game was a shocker we should’ve won and was huge chance finish 2nd we blow it.. his time was up he left, got sacked whatever you call it,
We draw at home against Motherwell and this place turns
Into world war 2... Lennon unfortunately at times says what all fans think
after a huge defeat which is angry and pain.. Am glad he’s not at Hibs but he was good for us at the time and had bit fun too.. await we lose a game a lot here will turn on the players a lot worse than Lennon does.

I think Lennon was good for Hibs however imo no doubt he was aware of Rodgers leaving and worked his ticket. It was absolutely the right time to leave as it was going pear shaped. He had every right to pick the team he did at Tiny however personally wouldn't have done so but we lost in the usual up and at em battle on the 5 a side pitch. His reaction after it was extreme but he is that sort of emotional guy. Thought it was quite funny when he was telling Hearts fans how many points ahead of them we were after the game. He was always going to be a short term appointment here imo.

Celtic fans will be raging however to me it isn't the monumental shock it is being portrayed. Hungarian football is on the rise and think it was said Ferencvaros were unbeaten away in their Europa league last season plus just comfortably beat the Swedish champs. Celtic have looked pretty average in the league games I have seen this year and take Eduardo out of that team and they are pretty average imo.

I agree it wasn't that much of a shock. Is Scottish football really any better than Hungarian? The Hungarians also just beat the Swedish champions in the round before.

This Celtic team are bang average and I'd make it 50/50 who wins the league right now. Lennon will go from being a hero at Celtic to being despised if he messes up 10 in a row.

Listened to him after the game and couldn't disagree with anything he said.

He called it spot on, like he usually does. I really like listening to him.

27-08-2020, 08:49 AM

Did he critique his own team selection or tactics? I haven’t listened to it, but by all accounts these were significant factors?

27-08-2020, 08:51 AM
Mind the time he played Oli Shaw and Lewis Allan up front purely to try and prove a point? Those were the days.

Against Livi. I was actually quite excited at the prospect. Did we not miss a penalty then Porteous got the equaliser?

27-08-2020, 08:53 AM
I agree it wasn't that much of a shock. Is Scottish football really any better than Hungarian? The Hungarians also just beat the Swedish champions in the round before.

This Celtic team are bang average and I'd make it 50/50 who wins the league right now. Lennon will go from being a hero at Celtic to being despised if he messes up 10 in a row.

A lot will depend on who the buy and probably more importantly sell before window is out. Doesn't say much for Klijmaal or Ajeti that they were not trusted last night, can see Ajeti not being up to speed but Klijmaal has had full preseason and played and also scored in league. If Eduard leaves or wants to leave and goes in the huff because they deny him could be real issues. Lennon was lucky there was no crowd there yesterday.

27-08-2020, 08:54 AM

Did he not threaten to reconsider his position in the summer?

27-08-2020, 08:54 AM
Surely those views are simply offset by the chat that Lennon was a “born winner”, which doesn’t actually mean anything, or that we won’t ever get a manager as good as Lennon again. Those views are/were equally as unbalanced and unrealistic.

I don’t see those things said very often and if they are it’s usually being chucked in by people who want to use these things negatively.

27-08-2020, 08:57 AM

It's often the case that when he goes off on one fans find Lennon agreeable. Slaughtering the players after a defeat will always play well with fans who are generally emotive about the game rather than it being their profession. It's why the 'get them doon tae Gullane' attitude persists despite the fact it would be pointless punishment rather than constructive coaching.

A fan raging about getting horsed out of Europe, or someone who can understand that frustration, is going to find themselves nodding along when a manager starts listing his players failings, calling them out and telling them the club deserves better. Indeed there is probably even an element of truth in some of the ranting. When it becomes a go to whenever the going gets tough it's harder to take seriously though. It doesn't even seem to have worked this time either as from what I have read the majority of Celtic fans have Lennon firmly in their sights now.

27-08-2020, 09:00 AM
It's often the case that when he goes off on one fans find Lennon agreeable. Slaughtering the players after a defeat will always play well with fans who are generally emotive about the game rather than it being their profession. It's why the 'get them doon tae Gullane' attitude persists despite the fact it would be pointless punishment rather than constructive coaching.

A fan raging about getting horsed out of Europe, or someone who can understand that frustration, is going to find themselves nodding along when a manager starts listing his players failings, calling them out and telling them the club deserves better. Indeed there is probably even an element of truth in some of the ranting. When it becomes a go to whenever the going gets tough it's harder to take seriously though. It doesn't even seem to have worked this time either as from what I have read the majority of Celtic fans have Lennon firmly in their sights now.

Couldn't agree more

27-08-2020, 09:01 AM
Against Livi. I was actually quite excited at the prospect. Did we not miss a penalty then Porteous got the equaliser?

I think Horgan scored first and we then lost 2 crappy goals?

27-08-2020, 09:11 AM
I think Horgan scored first and we then lost 2 crappy goals?

I think there is confusion between 2 games. The first game was away and is the one you are referring to. Horgan scored first and we lost 2-1. Hibs team was:

31Bogdan
25Ambrose
36Porteous
4Hanlon
10Boyle
3Whittaker
7Horgan
14Mallan
16Stevenson
9Maclaren
49Allan

We also drew 1-1 at home with Livingston later in the season, team that day was:

31Bogdan
25Ambrose
24McGregor
36Porteous
10Boyle
8Slivka
5Milligan
20Hyndman
43Mackie
32Shaw
49Allan

27-08-2020, 09:13 AM
I think there is confusion between 2 games. The first game was away and is the one you are referring to. Horgan scored first and we lost 2-1. Hibs team was:

31Bogdan
25Ambrose
36Porteous
4Hanlon
10Boyle
3Whittaker
7Horgan
14Mallan
16Stevenson
9Maclaren
49Allan

We also drew 1-1 at home with Livingston later in the season, team that day was:

31Bogdan
25Ambrose
24McGregor
36Porteous
10Boyle
8Slivka
5Milligan
20Hyndman
43Mackie
32Shaw
49Allan

Ah yes....thanks. Prob tried to blank both from the memory tbh.

27-08-2020, 09:19 AM

I don’t think he went off on one at all last night.

Listen to what he actually said, do you disagree with any of it or is it because it’s Lennon saying it?

27-08-2020, 09:32 AM

Listen to what he actually said, do you disagree with any of it or is it because it’s Lennon saying it?

I don't know enough about the internal politics at Celtic to know if I agree or not. His assessment about the chances they created was pretty accurate, beyond that I just don't know.

I'm wary when any manager starts questioning their players mentality, attitude and commitment publicly. Telling players to leave is a risky move in an age when players hold all the power. He's taking a massive gamble calling out his players like that, it may well work and he'll get a reaction. If it doesn't he'll be out the door before some of them will, as was the case for him at Hibs.

27-08-2020, 09:45 AM

Surely the biggest question is: in a one off, must-win tie, why didn’t he select a single striker? If none of their 4 strikers were fit enough, why not?

That’s a question for Lennon to answer and I don’t think he has... instead he has deflected the criticism.

LeithMike
27-08-2020, 09:48 AM
I suspect a lot of NL's comments were aimed at Griffiths. If his attitude had been right then he would have played last night and the result may well have been different. Not surprised his manager is very angry.

Re Lennon's time at ER - the usual polarised debate here. In my view Lennon was really good for us and while we weren't outstanding in the year we won the championship, we were better than previous and Lennon got a big improvement in Boyle. The following year we were ticking along nicely for our first year back up but then really came to life after Christmas. While many put this down to Kamberi, McLaren and Alan - I think the biggest factor was changing McGeouch's position from RM to the base of a midfield 3. Our midfield pretty much dominated every game thereafter. Whether that was by luck or design - Lennon deserves the credit. It's the best sustained period I've seen from Hibs in my lifetime.

Things started to go downhill quickly the next season - no surprise with the loss of McGeouch, Alan and then McGinn. No wonder the strikers started to struggle. This was a huge challenge and would have taken patience and time to overcome but Lennon seemed agitated and started to blame the players. No surprise that it ended the way it did.

Conclusion - Lennon has many good attributes and is a good manager of a good team but his weakness is probably in managing teams in a mess or in decline due to his aggressive approach with players not meeting his standards. I still think he's a good fit for Celtic but will be tested if Rangers ever get their act together and put him under a lot of pressure.

While Lennon is also a bit of a wind up merchant, at Hibs I thought he came across as a decent human being. That said, I did think the management's treatment of Kamberi (no matter how deserved) crossed a line.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

27-08-2020, 09:59 AM
First Lennon took responsibility for the loss last night.He also blamed the players-he was right.Don’t know how much say he has in what players are signed-it’s obviously very much a business decision.The truth is you don’t need to be a European standard defender to play in our league.This is proved regularly in the games our teams play.Griffiths let him down big time and now has his usual calves problem which he has had for years evidently from not doing enough gym work when he was young and which comes up every season.Who’d be a football manager-it’s like herding cats.

27-08-2020, 10:12 AM
He was the right manager for us at the time.

by the end it was clear it had run its course but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy his tenure. Some great football and some great results. Competitive against the old firm. Good atmosphere at ER.

A mixed legacy but overall I remember his time fondly. Wish him well.

mal
27-08-2020, 10:14 AM
I suspect a lot of NL's comments were aimed at Griffiths. If his attitude had been right then he would have played last night and the result may well have been different. Not surprised his manager is very angry.

Re Lennon's time at ER - the usual polarised debate here. In my view Lennon was really good for us and while we weren't outstanding in the year we won the championship, we were better than previous and Lennon got a big improvement in Boyle. The following year we were ticking along nicely for our first year back up but then really came to life after Christmas. While many put this down to Kamberi, McLaren and Alan - I think the biggest factor was changing McGeouch's position from RM to the base of a midfield 3. Our midfield pretty much dominated every game thereafter. Whether that was by luck or design - Lennon deserves the credit. It's the best sustained period I've seen from Hibs in my lifetime.

Things started to go downhill quickly the next season - no surprise with the loss of McGeouch, Alan and then McGinn. No wonder the strikers started to struggle. This was a huge challenge and would have taken patience and time to overcome but Lennon seemed agitated and started to blame the players. No surprise that it ended the way it did.

Conclusion - Lennon has many good attributes and is a good manager of a good team but his weakness is probably in managing teams in a mess or in decline due to his aggressive approach with players not meeting his standards. I still think he's a good fit for Celtic but will be tested if Rangers ever get their act together and put him under a lot of pressure.

While Lennon is also a bit of a wind up merchant, at Hibs I thought he came across as a decent human being. That said, I did think the management's treatment of Kamberi (no matter how deserved) crossed a line.

In the promotion season we got 71 points. The previous season we got 70 points and that was with the Rangers in the league and us getting to two cup finals. We also won fewer games in the promotion season than in the season before. The differences between the two seasons is that we got harder to beat, probably due to a big upgrade in our goalkeeper, and we were up against weaker, less consistent opposition.

LeithMike
27-08-2020, 10:24 AM
In the promotion season we got 71 points. The previous season we got 70 points and that was with the Rangers in the league and us getting to two cup finals. We also won fewer games in the promotion season than in the season before. The differences between the two seasons is that we got harder to beat, probably due to a big upgrade in our goalkeeper, and we were up against weaker, less consistent opposition.You can only beat what is put in front of you and let's not forget the season before Falkirk finished above us and put us out in a two leg play off.

I certainly thought there was a big improvement in Hibs. Under Stubbs we were very narrow and struggled to break down teams and create chances. Lennon improved that from the outset with far better width and Boyle really started to improve his final product.

mal
27-08-2020, 10:30 AM
You can only beat what is put in front of you and let's not forget the season before Falkirk finished above us and put us out in a two leg play off.

I certainly thought there was a big improvement in Hibs. Under Stubbs we were very narrow and struggled to break down teams and create chances. Lennon improved that from the outset with far better width and Boyle really started to improve his final product.

Yes, and we beat the opposition that was put in front of us fewer times under Lennon than we did under Stubbs...

Granted Falkirk beat us in the league on goal difference as we stumbled towards the end of an exhausting season but I'm sure we all remember the circumstances in which they won the playoff tie.

HendoDelivered
27-08-2020, 10:41 AM

by the end it was clear it had run its course but I’d be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy his tenure. Some great football and some great results. Competitive against the old firm. Good atmosphere at ER.

Same.

27-08-2020, 10:47 AM
Can't help thinking that if Celtic want to kick on to the next level in Europe, they will need to replace Lennon. Embarrassing defeats in Europe have become the norm; they need a new approach. Brendan Rodgers improved them greatly domestically, but also had some bad European results against supposedly lesser teams. If they want to be considered a big club outside Scotland once again, they will need to show some ambition, otherwise it's remain a big fish in a small pond.

27-08-2020, 10:49 AM

Decent summary, especially the part about the atmosphere around ER.

The place was buzzing before and after most games, some of it was amazing.

Natural Order was one of my best days at ER in the last 10 years or so and the way Lennon handled Levein was superb.

27-08-2020, 10:57 AM
There are no outstanding coaches,European or otherwise, in Scotland as they want to be where the best players are.Like all of them Lennon has his weaknesses but generally I enjoyed his time with Hibs.Something was always happening.

27-08-2020, 10:59 AM
First Lennon took responsibility for the loss last night.He also blamed the players-he was right.Don’t know how much say he has in what players are signed-it’s obviously very much a business decision.The truth is you don’t need to be a European standard defender to play in our league.This is proved regularly in the games our teams play.Griffiths let him down big time and now has his usual calves problem which he has had for years evidently from not doing enough gym work when he was young and which comes up every season.Who’d be a football manager-it’s like herding cats.

Someone once said to me that if whatever it was referred to something extremely difficult it should be described as being like herding ducks as that's worse than herding cats because they also **** on your shoes. This is how I imagine being a manager is.

On the positive side, its been a while since there was a .net opportunity for a Neil Lennon hate fest. I'd imagine some posters must think Christmas has come early. Whatever else is the case, he totally had Kamberi's number the useless twat.

27-08-2020, 11:38 AM

Fair and balanced assessment.

27-08-2020, 01:41 PM

Don’t agree we were woeful our first season back up. Thought we were pretty decent and then went onto be outstanding after January.

Other than that though I’d agree generally. We weren’t great in the Championship and were rotten in our second season back up until he left.

27-08-2020, 01:41 PM

Spot on. He was a great choice as Hibs boss to follow Stubbs and after taking us back up to the top flight he was brilliant at making sure we made our presence felt there with a bit of swagger, rather than adopting a 'survival first' mentality. It didn't end well, but like you I enjoyed the majority of his time with us. The desire by some to jump upon any poor Celtic result as a reason to put the boot into him baffles me.

27-08-2020, 02:32 PM
https://twitter.com/jucojames/status/1298946503034232832?s=19

Interesting and damning thread about Lennon and Celtic's upper management here. Never heard of this guy before, but he's supposedly pretty well informed.

Barman Stanton
27-08-2020, 02:52 PM
For a while we were playing the best football in the League under Lennon. Hit a bad patch of form at the end but that can always happen to a team with our budget. I would have him back in the future in a second.

What a miserable place this is. Some seem to just dislike everyone.

27-08-2020, 02:55 PM
Once again he fails when really tested. The born winner stuff is really starting to fade.

And of course its all the players fault. He leaves two expensive strikers on the bench and puts Christie up front but takes none of the blame. Its like Tynecastle all over again.

Crap tactics - blame the players. Sure I've seen this before?:hmmm:

27-08-2020, 02:56 PM
For a while we were playing the best football in the League under Lennon. Hit a bad patch of form at the end but that can always happen to a team with our budget. I would have him back in the future in a second.

Did we not go 14/15 games without a win? That's more than a bad patch. That's sackable form.

*Bit harsh it was 2 wins in 14

27-08-2020, 02:57 PM

If someone else built the team for him and he just had to coach them and motivated him, sure. If he was in charge of transfers as well, definitely not. Made an absolute arse of replacing Stubbs team, a team that was built entirely in the championship on 9k season ticket holders.

27-08-2020, 03:01 PM

:top marksThis place is full of it these days. Practically anyone involved in Scottish football that isn’t at Hibs gets absolutely slated for anything and everything.

27-08-2020, 03:04 PM
Don’t agree we were woeful our first season back up. Thought we were pretty decent and then went onto be outstanding after January.

Other than that though I’d agree generally. We weren’t great in the Championship and were rotten in our second season back up until he left.

Definitely not 'woeful' in the first season back. We'd hit a bit of a plateau by the new year but the transfer window signings set us off on a brilliant run.

We also started the second season back up well and were top of the league by October, not forgetting a good (by Scottish club standards) European run.

27-08-2020, 03:04 PM
Did we not go 14/15 games without a win? That's more than a bad patch. That's sackable form.

*Bit harsh it was 2 wins in 14

Remember it well and there were no calls from anyone to have him sacked.

There never were. The day he left everyone was in complete shock, no one said they saw it coming.

The general feeling amongst the fans was that the board hadn’t supported him enough in the summer. Even through that run of 14 the fans were generally right behind Lennon and saying it was down to the players.

27-08-2020, 03:09 PM

There never were. The day he left everyone was in complete shock, no one said they saw it coming.

The general feeling amongst the fans was that the board hadn’t supported him enough in the summer. Even through that run of 14 the fans were generally right behind Lennon and saying it was down to the players.

Horrible period. Lennon calling out Kamberi on a weekly basis almost. Mind boggling team selections week after week. I remember saying at the time we'd end up relegated if something didn't give. It was a sad end to what was a pretty good few years!

27-08-2020, 03:10 PM
https://twitter.com/jucojames/status/1298946503034232832?s=19

Interesting and damning thread about Lennon and Celtic's upper management here. Never heard of this guy before, but he's supposedly pretty well informed.

That's quite interesting.

I remember someone at Hibs calling Lennon a 'flip chart manager in a digital era'. Tbf the same person went on to list several qualities Lennon had as well so it wasn't a wholly negative assessment.

27-08-2020, 03:15 PM

I would agree with all that but having said all that Celtc were off their heid to give him the job full time, should have thanked him for the job he came in and did and moved for someone else in the summer

27-08-2020, 03:33 PM
Horrible period. Lennon calling out Kamberi on a weekly basis almost. Mind boggling team selections week after week. I remember saying at the time we'd end up relegated if something didn't give. It was a sad end to what was a pretty good few years!

It was never that bad.

When you say 'I remember saying at the time'......is that like when you remember thinking at the time McNulty had got himself sent off deliberately in the Derby?

27-08-2020, 03:36 PM
mmmm who does he manage now, who pays his wages.
No interest now he has gone from my team.

27-08-2020, 03:39 PM
So which players are wanting to leave Celtic

mal
27-08-2020, 03:41 PM

That's not my recollection. The feeling I had was that Lennon had lost it bigtime, not just with the horrible run of form but with his body language and general demeanour. His tactics and team selections were getting pelters and I for one was hugely relieved when he went because we were in relegation form.

mal
27-08-2020, 03:42 PM
It was never that bad.

It really was that bad.

27-08-2020, 03:43 PM
So which players are wanting to leave Celtic

Ntcham, Ajer, Christie, Griffiths and Edouard were 5 guesses in I think the Record.....so prob none of them!

27-08-2020, 03:46 PM
It really was that bad.

All about opinions I suppose......I certainly don't recall mind boggling team selections every week.

27-08-2020, 03:48 PM

This isnt true at all. There were many wanting him gone around that time.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?336944-Lennon-etc-(merged-threads)&highlight=Lennon

Theres a thread from full time in his final game we lost away to Motherwell. Plenty people thinking it was time for him to go.

27-08-2020, 03:49 PM

I think your recollecting that period through rose tinted glasses a little. It came as a shock that Lennon was no longer the manager in the way it happened, but my recollection is that with each week more and more people were coming round to the view that it wasn’t just a blip we were on and it was more a case of when, not if, he was going to be sacked. “Selection bingo” was a popular phrase at the time as Lennons lineups and formations became more erratic. 6 or 7 defenders playing away to Killie, the lineup posted a few pages back at home to Livi etc. That’s not to say that the players got off scot free during that period either as they badly underperformed and Lennon was right to call them out. However he wasn’t quite as good at calling out what he was getting wrong.

I also don’t remember the support questioning the boards backing, we spent money on Horgan, Mallan, making Kamberi permanent and signed Milligan in the summer window. There was lots of criticism that we had recruited poorly, and worries about the midfield, but that’s not the same as saying the board didn’t back him. Our recruitment was poor for a number of years, particularly the summer windows, so it wasn’t an issue unique to Lennon. However I’d say that he had one exceptional January window and 3 poor windows overall.

I was responding to your recollection of his last season so not just an opportunity to have a dig at Lennon. It’s not really relevant to my reply above but before the wheels fell off he deserves credit for promotion, getting 4th and the fantastic ride there in the second half of the season. As well as improving an already very good midfield unit and players like Boyle etc.

27-08-2020, 03:50 PM
Slivka at right wing back more than once (I think), that Killie game where we got skelped 3-0 and he played about 7 defenders. Lewis Allan getting a run in the side despite being woefully out of his depth. I’m sure there’s more.

27-08-2020, 03:52 PM
Ntcham, Ajer, Christie, Griffiths and Edouard were 5 guesses in I think the Record.....so prob none of them!

I’m not sure Griffiths wants away, but not surprised about the rest of them
Heard Christie’s refusing to sign a contract extension, and fancies a move to the Premier league
All in all, doesn’t sound a happy camp

27-08-2020, 03:54 PM
I detested Lennon as a player, wasn't that keen when he was appointed, accepted him when we had a decent run of results but wasn't that fussed when he departed.

mal
27-08-2020, 03:54 PM
All about opinions I suppose......I certainly don't recall mind boggling team selections every week.

This one was a belter: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46325989. An ultra-defensive formation, "we came not to lose", and we got pumped 3-0.

27-08-2020, 03:57 PM
This one was a belter: https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/46325989. An ultra-defensive formation, "we came not to lose", and we got pumped 3-0.

Indeed....sad day when your best hope is another floodlight failure.

27-08-2020, 04:35 PM
This isnt true at all. There were many wanting him gone around that time.

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?336944-Lennon-etc-(merged-threads)&highlight=Lennon

Theres a thread from full time in his final game we lost away to Motherwell. Plenty people thinking it was time for him to go.

To be fair that could be after any defeat on this site. :greengrin

27-08-2020, 05:41 PM
Was Sparky on bench last night ?

27-08-2020, 05:44 PM
Lennons an ******** and doesn’t give a **** about Hibs. **** him.

27-08-2020, 05:50 PM
Slivka at right wing back more than once (I think), that Killie game where we got skelped 3-0 and he played about 7 defenders. Lewis Allan getting a run in the side despite being woefully out of his depth. I’m sure there’s more.

Lewis Allen, there’s a name I’d completely forgotten

27-08-2020, 06:03 PM
Was Sparky on bench last night ?

No.His usual calf injury.

27-08-2020, 06:03 PM
Stokes (talking as a Celtic supporter) just on Reporting Scotland, seeming to just shrug off their defeat last night and saying 10IAR is all that matters. Pretty blinkered, parochial viewpoint as surely ECL participation is more financially rewarding than 9.75 IAR.

27-08-2020, 06:07 PM
Stokes (talking as a Celtic supporter) just on Reporting Scotland, seeming to just shrug off their defeat last night and saying 10IAR is all that matters. Pretty blinkered, parochial viewpoint as surely ECL participation is more financially rewarding than 9.75 IAR.

Is quoting 9.75 not a bit parochial? Only Rangers fans surely believe Celtic didn’t win the league last year?

27-08-2020, 06:11 PM

An absolute cowardly welt of a man.

Glad he’s gone.

And who’s fault will it be this time? I hear he is ‘carrying the can’ in a sort of ‘its all the players fault’ way.

27-08-2020, 06:11 PM
Is quoting 9.75 not a bit parochial? Only Rangers fans surely believe Celtic didn’t win the league last year?

Fair point but, that apart you might want to address the more obvious point I’m making.

27-08-2020, 06:16 PM
No.His usual calf injury.

Would that be his ‘week aff’ injury?:rolleyes:

27-08-2020, 06:20 PM
Would that be his ‘week aff’ injury?:rolleyes:

No it really is an injury.Remember he suffered before the cup final against Celtic.It goes back a long way and is due to a failure to do proper gym work and just play football instead.

27-08-2020, 06:24 PM
No it really is an injury.Remember he suffered before the cup final against Celtic.It goes back a long way and is due to a failure to do proper gym work and just play football instead.

I know, but I can’t resist a wee tongue in cheek comment. I actually do sympathise with LG’s problems and would like to see him back to his best.

27-08-2020, 06:26 PM
I know, but I can’t resist a wee tongue in cheek comment. I actually do sympathise with LG’s problems and would like to see him back to his best.

Yes and the years are drifting by.One of my biggest regrets is not seeing Riordan and then Griffiths playing regularly for Scotland.They certainly should have.

27-08-2020, 06:30 PM
Got a text from a mate saying Lennon was negotiating a deal with Celtic to leave, have no idea if any truth in this, he's just passing on whet he heard.

27-08-2020, 06:39 PM

There was plenty people thought his time was up.

Overall Lennon was probably a success at Hibs. But not an overwhelming success, nowhere near it. We slogged our way to the Championship looking a poorer side than the season before imo, we done pretty well in our first season up overall but were exceptional for a third of the season and were rotten for nearly half the season after before he left. Over the piece I enjoyed most of his time here - even though the Championship wasn’t great it’s impossible not to enjoy winning the league but I’m fairly certain any manager would have got us up that year and I don’t think any Hibs fan couldn’t have enjoyed the first season back up, especially after Xmas.

27-08-2020, 07:48 PM

Only Celtic fans give a **** it was 9?

27-08-2020, 07:57 PM
Only Celtic fans give a **** it was 9?

I’m sure, but it is at least a fact isn’t it? I would think most of us wouldn’t be interested enough in all that to use stuff like 9.75.

27-08-2020, 08:14 PM
I’m sure, but it is at least a fact isn’t it? I would think most of us wouldn’t be interested enough in all that to use stuff like 9.75.

I’m no bothered either way tbh. Two disgusting bigots living in the past fat bald clubs fighting over a comb 👌👍

EI255
27-08-2020, 08:16 PM
He really needs to calm down and take a look at himself, rather than continually blame his players all the time. It was his decision not to play a striker last night. Poor and costly decision. But his decision.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

27-08-2020, 08:30 PM
He really needs to calm down and take a look at himself, rather than continually blame his players all the time. It was his decision not to play a striker last night. Poor and costly decision. But his decision.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

Never happen. He’s a dick.

A winner my arse.

27-08-2020, 08:32 PM
Met him not long after hearts beat us 1 nil at Easter Road and he was spot on with my son, despite being absolutely steaming (him not me).

His time was probably just about a success. We won the championship, but it was far more of a grind than it should have been.

First season back we were thoroughly average until January, then scintillating between February and May.

Final season was very meh and writing was on the wall.

Overall, probably a 6.5/7 out of 10.

Unfortunately, that still puts him in the top 5 managers in the last 30 years, if not top 3.

LeithMike
27-08-2020, 08:49 PM
Met him not long after hearts beat us 1 nil at Easter Road and he was spot on with my son, despite being absolutely steaming (him not me).

His time was probably just about a success. We won the championship, but it was far more of a grind than it should have been.

First season back we were thoroughly average until January, then scintillating between February and May.

Final season was very meh and writing was on the wall.

Overall, probably a 6.5/7 out of 10.

Unfortunately, that still puts him in the top 5 managers in the last 30 years, if not top 3.There's a question. All our managers have had big faults or left in bad circumstances.

27-08-2020, 08:59 PM
There's a question. All our managers have had big faults or left in bad circumstances.

Managers who have had success at Hibs, are not afforded a bad season anymore, and the chance to build another team.

We've had it with Hughes and Lennon, who gave us Europe through our league position not through cup wins or finishing runner up.

We'd rather bring in someone else, who's had no success at the club and give him a chance, rather than give a manager we've actually witnessed give us success another season.

Looking at it from this website, it was clear from the start of Hughes and lennon's tenure, some folk never liked them from the start, and some folk couldnt wait to get stuck right into them the minute things were not going great, and in some cases even when things were great and we were actually winning games in Europe.

When i look at how good we've been over my lifetime as a fan, i do wonder what some folk think is success, as i've not seen a lot of it over the years.

27-08-2020, 09:06 PM
Managers who have had success at Hibs, are not afforded a bad season anymore, and the chance to build another team.

We've had it with Hughes and Lennon, who gave us Europe through our league position not through cup wins or finishing runner up.

We'd rather bring in someone else, who's had no success at the club and give him a chance, rather than give a manager we've actually witnessed give us success another season.

Looking at it from this website, it was clear from the start of Hughes and lennon's tenure, some folk never liked them from the start, and some folk couldnt wait to get stuck right into them the minute things were not going great, and in some cases even when things were great and we were actually winning games in Europe.

When i look at how good we've been over my lifetime as a fan, i do wonder what some folk think is success, as i've not seen a lot of it over the years.

While I agree with the majority of what you say, I’m not sure how you marry all that to the negativity you’ve afforded John Collins over the years.

27-08-2020, 09:16 PM
There's a question. All our managers have had big faults or left in bad circumstances.

Stubbsy. Don’t say he was ****ging the physio either.

27-08-2020, 09:52 PM
Ajer and Ntchams agents have asked Celtic for valuations on the players so they can start negotiating moves for them.

Interesting times ahead at Celtic I think.

27-08-2020, 10:05 PM
Ajer and Ntchams agents have asked Celtic for valuations on the players so they can start negotiating moves for them.

Interesting times ahead at Celtic I think.

Didn’t realise Ntcham has been there 6 years and only managed 73 league appearances. He’s a decent player but if he never plays then he’ll be no great loss.

Was Ajer not being touted for a move to Milan for a ridiculous fee? If Edouard also goes then Celtic could be looking at having an obscene amount of money for a Scottish team. How Lennon/the board spend it could see them stroll the league for years to come or potentially lose them 10 in a row.

Edit: Sky Sports said he’d been there since 2014 but it’s 2017 so he’s only been there 3 years.

28-08-2020, 04:28 AM
i thought ntcham was one of their better players the other night, forrest and McGregor have had their purple patches and i'l be surprised if scott brown gets next season

28-08-2020, 05:30 AM
Didn’t realise Ntcham has been there 6 years and only managed 73 league appearances. He’s a decent player but if he never plays then he’ll be no great loss.

Was Ajer not being touted for a move to Milan for a ridiculous fee? If Edouard also goes then Celtic could be looking at having an obscene amount of money for a Scottish team. How Lennon/the board spend it could see them stroll the league for years to come or potentially lose them 10 in a row.

I honestly don't see it with Ajer at all. Everytime I see him he looks all over the place and a liability.

I see Liverpool have been linked with him which is just crazy IMO. Eduard is the only player they have that could play genuine top level.

28-08-2020, 06:45 AM
While I agree with the majority of what you say, I’m not sure how you marry all that to the negativity you’ve afforded John Collins over the years.
Collins was brilliant when he first arrived, i remember driving home from a Motherwell away game thinking he was the best manager since Turnbull, even though i wrote off my BMW on the way back.:greengrin

Very quickly he alienated players he could not control, and as soon as he was able to bring in his own players, it was very clear those players were vastly inferior to those that left.

Now i'm not daft enough to have expected similar players to Brown, Thomson and the likes, but Alan O****in brien, kung foo terry and Brian Kerr were all bloody useless.

And dont get me started on that bloody keeper Makalamby.

28-08-2020, 06:57 AM
One thing that Collins and Lennon have in common is they inherited a very good Hibs side which went downhill when they brought their own players in

28-08-2020, 07:19 AM
One thing that Collins and Lennon have in common is they inherited a very good Hibs side which went downhill when they brought their own players in

They both also inherited good players who were going to be very difficult to replace - but also imperfect sides with weaknesses which it should have been possible to improve.

I agree with you though - and when you assess a Hibs manager you need to look at what they inherited, how much they were backed and what they left behind.

28-08-2020, 07:23 AM

Was just going to post this, add in the fact that both have large egos and an inability to man manage properly, always a recipe for disaster.

28-08-2020, 07:42 AM
Was just going to post this, add in the fact that both have large egos and an inability to man manage properly, always a recipe for disaster.

They’ve also both achieved enough in the game to be afforded a bit of respect though.

28-08-2020, 07:51 AM
theres a part of me that would for him to mess up 10 in a row. He's doing a decent job so far.

28-08-2020, 07:52 AM
Collins was brilliant when he first arrived, i remember driving home from a Motherwell away game thinking he was the best manager since Turnbull, even though i wrote off my BMW on the way back.:greengrin

Very quickly he alienated players he could not control, and as soon as he was able to bring in his own players, it was very clear those players were vastly inferior to those that left.

Now i'm not daft enough to have expected similar players to Brown, Thomson and the likes, but Alan O****in brien, kung foo terry and Brian Kerr were all bloody useless.

And dont get me started on that bloody keeper Makalamby.

We won our first trophy in years under Collins and people were calling for his head by Christmas. Lennon didn't win any trophies and people were calling for his head by Christmas

Collins lost one of the most promising group of players in years and had to replace them with a strict budget... ditto with Lennon.

Collins' final season started well and went downhill for literally three months... as did Lennon's.

Collins seemed to have an attitude problem with the players... Lennon seems to have the same problem with every team he's ever managed (even the current Celtc side).

Collins' lasting legacy was a trophy (we won 5-1) and the Training Centre that he pushed for. Lennon's was finishing fourth.

(just a different perspective :wink:)

10-09-2020, 01:48 PM
Heard a clip from an interview with Lewis Stevenson on the ‘Did Ye Aye?’ Podcast about NL.

Apparently came in over an hour late, told the players “let’s get one thing ****ing straight here, this isn’t a democracy, this is a dictatorship and I’m in charge” And then put on a video of the playoff defeat to Falkirk - which he wasn’t even manager for - and absolutely slaughtered the players and lost the rag.

It’s no surprise he falls out with so many of his players and we ended up with such a toxic atmosphere if that’s his approach to management.

10-09-2020, 01:52 PM
Heard a clip from an interview with Lewis Stevenson on the ‘Did Ye Aye?’ Podcast about NL.

Apparently came in over an hour late, told the players “let’s get one thing ****ing straight here, this isn’t a democracy, this is a dictatorship and I’m in charge” And then put on a video of the playoff defeat to Falkirk - which he wasn’t even manager for - and absolutely slaughtered the players and lost the rag.

It’s no surprise he falls out with so many of his players and we ended up with such a toxic atmosphere if that’s his approach to management.

Link?

10-09-2020, 01:53 PM
Lennons an ******** and doesn’t give a **** about Hibs. **** him.

Lewis seems to agree then 😁

10-09-2020, 01:55 PM

Darren McGregor tells the story on the Extra Time For Heroes DVD. Didn’t mention anything about him being late, losing the rag etc. Just that he was basically saying he didn’t want to see anything like the Falkirk playoff again. I think Lennon even spoke about it on the same DVD.

10-09-2020, 01:55 PM

Absolutely guaranteed he wouldn't have the balls to do that at Celtic and guys like Édouard, Brown and Elyanoussi. Goes back to him giving the impression he was doing us all a favour by managing Hibs.

10-09-2020, 02:01 PM
Absolutely guaranteed he wouldn't have the balls to do that at Celtic and guys like Édouard, Brown and Elyanoussi. Goes back to him giving the impression he was doing us all a favour by managing Hibs.

Definitely. He told Broony, Tierney and Griffiths to tell the dressing room he (Lennon) was in charge at Celtic when he went back. I would assume the biggest part of that exercise was to get Brown and Tierney on side. Brown and Lennon done the team talk at the PBS.

10-09-2020, 02:08 PM
Link?

A video was posted on the ‘Hibs Supporters Group’ Facebook page. Unfortunately the page must be private as you can’t get a link to share it.

From the comments it appears to be a teaser clip before the full podcast/interview is released.

10-09-2020, 02:08 PM

i couldn’t really care less what his managerial style is like if he gets the right results and for two seasons Lennon did.

10-09-2020, 02:10 PM
Some amount of nonsense gets spoken about Lennon.

10-09-2020, 02:11 PM
i couldn’t really care less what his managerial style is like if he gets the right results and for two seasons Lennon did.

And then ended up with us in free fall. There’s pro’s and cons to having someone with an attitude like his in charge. The run we went on was certainly one of the pro’s but there was also quite a few cons as well.

10-09-2020, 02:11 PM

Do you think what LS is saying isn’t true?

10-09-2020, 02:14 PM

Not a lot of things I disagree with you on the whole but your defence of Lennon is baffling.

10-09-2020, 02:19 PM
Heard a rumour Paul Heckinbottom went into a rage after another defeat, telling everyone if we did not get a point at least in the next game, he was going to give each and every one one of them a Chinese burn.

10-09-2020, 02:20 PM
Not a lot of things I disagree with you on the whole but your defence of Lennon is baffling.

He was and is an excellent manager. He’s proven it.

The slant given to everything to continue to discredit him is the baffling thing. Did a good job here despite how it ended and the amount of stick he gets here is OTT.

10-09-2020, 02:27 PM
Heard a rumour Paul Heckinbottom went into a rage after another defeat, telling everyone if we did not get a point at least in the next game, he was going to give each and every one one of them a Chinese burn.

Wrong thread. Think that one belongs on the Paul Heckingbottom thread.

10-09-2020, 02:29 PM
Wrong thread. Think that one belongs on the Paul Heckingbottom thread.
No worries, will just put my post out on loan.

10-09-2020, 02:48 PM
I heard Stevenson threw his training bib at Parker and gave Lennon a black eye.

10-09-2020, 02:53 PM
Do you think what LS is saying isn’t true?

Don’t know exactly what he said but he did play his best football in years, possibly in his whole career, under Lennon.

10-09-2020, 02:56 PM

The slant given to everything to continue to discredit him is the baffling thing. Did a good job here despite how it ended and the amount of stick he gets here is OTT.

Has he proven hes an excellent manager? Not sure to be honest.

Celtic - Won league titles at the club with the biggest budget but his cup record for them is not all that impressive. Europe for them has been abit of a mixed bag.

Hibs - Got us promotion once Rangers and Hearts had left the league which was pretty much a minimum. Finished 4th the following season which was good but the following season left as the club were sitting in 8th. Done nothing outstanding in the cups.

Bolton - Failed, appreciate it's a bit of a basket case of a club but ultimately his one stint in English football as a manger ended up in failure.

Overall I think you can make a case that he is a decent manager and at times a good manager. Excellent? That's stretching things way too far.

10-09-2020, 03:02 PM

He has the potential to be an excellent manager.

I can never decide if you'd lose too much of the good about Lennon if he was forced to curb the radgeness.

At Hibs - we had some great times together but it was going pear-shaped for a while before he left, and at Celtic right now they have all the hallmarks of the same thing happening again.

On balance I liked him as a Hibs manager, I'm grateful for the good times he brought and I'm glad he left before he ruined that legacy. I'm not convinced he's head and shoulders over other managers who did us a good turn and I don't necessarily feel honoured that he graced us with his presence. Grateful he came and did his best, not bowled over by having been in the presence of a great who lowered himself to our level for a while.

LeithMike
10-09-2020, 03:07 PM

Let's just be grateful he didnt show do a JC and show HIS six pack or the result could have been very different.

In all fairness a lot of managers have adopted this type of tactic and it can prove effective. It can be taken too far though and Lennon seemed to continue with this type of management at the end of his tenure when it was clear there was no turning it around. It did seem to work for the first two years though and he did create a bit of invincibility about Hibs like no other manager has in my time following them.

10-09-2020, 03:12 PM

I guarantee if he'd shown the club more respect by not threatening to walk at a time when he should have been trying to attract players to the club and generally acting like an idiot he wouldn't get as much stick on here

10-09-2020, 03:18 PM
I think Marciano, Mallan & Allan are the only players left from his signings. Not a great endorsement of what he left subsequent managers IMO.

Didn’t like him before, didn’t take to him during his tenure, and still don’t like him now. He’s a better manager than some say but not as good as others say. One above average season, one excellent season and one abomination of a season is how I’ll remember him.

10-09-2020, 03:26 PM
I never wanted NL in the first instance but slowly he won me over and I think it was to do with getting the club and the fans. He really got us and initially seemed really relax with life here. I'll not demean him in any way but I am disappointed in how it all ended and that includes our club too.

10-09-2020, 04:33 PM
I think Marciano, Mallan & Allan are the only players left from his signings. Not a great endorsement of what he left subsequent managers IMO.

Didn’t like him before, didn’t take to him during his tenure, and still don’t like him now. He’s a better manager than some say but not as good as others say. One above average season, one excellent season and one abomination of a season is how I’ll remember him.

Pretty much how I would sum up his tenure :agree:

10-09-2020, 05:07 PM

He's really not. If he was an excellent manager he'd have left Celtic the first time and moved onto bigger and better things. Instead he struggled at Bolton and left Hibs in freefall. Celtic did him a huge favour taking him back - he wouldn't have got a club near their size if they hadn't been interested.

Another poster put it better - he's been than his detractors say but worse than his supporters. He had a great half season at Hibs when he won a lot of fans over but couldn't sustain it.

10-09-2020, 05:32 PM
Players should've put the Scottish cup DVD on and told him to get ****ed. Lewis, Paul, Darren and others will live forever in our hearts, he will be soon forgotten.

10-09-2020, 05:32 PM
He's really not. If he was an excellent manager he'd have left Celtic the first time and moved onto bigger and better things. Instead he struggled at Bolton and left Hibs in freefall. Celtic did him a huge favour taking him back - he wouldn't have got a club near their size if they hadn't been interested.

Another poster put it better - he's been than his detractors say but worse than his supporters. He had a great half season at Hibs when he won a lot of fans over but couldn't sustain it.

Always think the ‘half a season’ thing is harsh in regard to our first season back up. In the first half of that season we won at Ibrox, beat Hearts and did well against Celtic twice when they were still ‘invincible’. We were in a good position to kick on after the winter break and we really did that.

Obviously his third season didn’t exactly go to plan, it’s fair to say.

10-09-2020, 06:03 PM
Let's just be grateful he didnt show do a JC and show HIS six pack or the result could have been very different.

In all fairness a lot of managers have adopted this type of tactic and it can prove effective. It can be taken too far though and Lennon seemed to continue with this type of management at the end of his tenure when it was clear there was no turning it around. It did seem to work for the first two years though and he did create a bit of invincibility about Hibs like no other manager has in my time following them.

I mean, essentially he is right. A dressing room isn’t a democracy. The old days of managers bullying and terrifying players should be long gone but ‘Player power’ as it is often termed rarely goes well.

10-09-2020, 06:04 PM
Players should've put the Scottish cup DVD on and told him to get ****ed. Lewis, Paul, Darren and others will live forever in our hearts, he will be soon forgotten.

10-09-2020, 06:06 PM

Correct

10-09-2020, 06:38 PM
His football in the Championship was grim watching and we won with less points than when we had Hearts and Rangers there. We did well the next season and he struck it lucky with the 352 with Boyle as wingback and the 3 in midfield that were as good as anyone that season but he blew it against Aberdeen and particularly Hearts, where he started questioning his own ability. His final season is well documented and he lost it completely, he's lived off that one result against Barca when he did what every manager at that time did against them, they defended en masse, suddenly he was a tactical genius and he believed them. An average to decent manager who thinks he's better than he is.

10-09-2020, 06:39 PM

loanheadhibby
10-09-2020, 06:54 PM

i actually think that was Lennons point tho and I agree. We'd won the cup, brilliant. But let's do it again and again. Let's not accept 2nd best. There is nothing wrong with an attitude like that.

we won it 4 years ago and have not been in a final since. Soft mentality at Hibs.

10-09-2020, 06:55 PM
FWIW I genuinely think that Alan Stubbs would have gotten similar, if not better results, when he would have gotten us back up to the top flight. His focus on young players with potential and having Taff and John Doolan as a backup was a great combination and he was unlucky that he had to compete in arguably the strongest Championship in memory.

I don't think we improved under Lennon (other than five months when we lucked out that Celtic wanted Scott Bain and were able to get Scott Allan in) and in some ways - particularly recruitment - regressed.

10-09-2020, 07:02 PM
i actually think that was Lennons point tho and I agree. We'd won the cup, brilliant. But let's do it again and again. Let's not accept 2nd best. There is nothing wrong with an attitude like that.

we won it 4 years ago and have not been in a final since. Soft mentality at Hibs.

Eh, yes, because he lost to Aberdeen x2, QoTS, Celtic and Hearts in cup ties. He is as much to blame for us not reaching another final as anyone.

In both semi he managed finals, Lennon had to make huge changes by half time because he got it wrong. 2 subs at half time vs Celtic, Holt on because he had Jason up top alone at 2-0 down vs Aberdeen.

He is a loser. Stubbs had Hibs tough and fighting and competing.

LeithMike
10-09-2020, 07:06 PM
I mean, essentially he is right. A dressing room isn’t a democracy. The old days of managers bullying and terrifying players should be long gone but ‘Player power’ as it is often termed rarely goes well.Yep, there's probably a balance to be struck. As it's cheaper to get rid of the manager than all the players, players hold a lot of power now and a manager probably recognises that. The only one who could get away with being dictatorial in recent years was SAF aa he was entrenched at Man U and a player would soon be out if they challenged him.

All in all, I have to say that I quite like Neil Lennon. He's pretty honest and can come across quite vulnerable. If he could embrace that a little more I think he could be a really top manager. Didnt approve of everything he did in last six months though.

10-09-2020, 07:13 PM
FWIW I genuinely think that Alan Stubbs would have gotten similar, if not better results, when he would have gotten us back up to the top flight. His focus on young players with potential and having Taff and John Doolan as a backup was a great combination and he was unlucky that he had to compete in arguably the strongest Championship in memory.

I don't think we improved under Lennon (other than five months when we lucked out that Celtic wanted Scott Bain and were able to get Scott Allan in) and in some ways - particularly recruitment - regressed.

Don’t think it’s fair (to either) to basically suggest that Stubbs was unlucky when things went wrong but Lennon was lucky when things went right.

Both had good points and both had bad points. Both, IMO, did good things for Hibs and both, IMO, could have done certain things better.

loanheadhibby
10-09-2020, 07:18 PM
Eh, yes, because he lost to Aberdeen x2, QoTS, Celtic and Hearts in cup ties. He is as much to blame for us not reaching another final as anyone.

In both semi he managed finals, Lennon had to make huge changes by half time because he got it wrong. 2 subs at half time vs Celtic, Holt on because he had Jason up top alone at 2-0 down vs Aberdeen.

All fair points but come on, that’s an incredible statement to call Lennon a loser.

It’s fine margins. I loved Stubbs time but if SDG does not score in 92nd minute. Could he have been sacked for not delivering?

10-09-2020, 07:19 PM

If Stubbs or anyone else had us challenging for 2nd at the very end of a season folk would worship their every word and move.

Lennon just gets hate.

10-09-2020, 07:19 PM
Yep, there's probably a balance to be struck. As it's cheaper to get rid of the manager than all the players, players hold a lot of power now and a manager probably recognises that. The only one who could get away with being dictatorial in recent years was SAF aa he was entrenched at Man U and a player would soon be out if they challenged him.

All in all, I have to say that I quite like Neil Lennon. He's pretty honest and can come across quite vulnerable. If he could embrace that a little more I think he could be a really top manager. Didnt approve of everything he did in last six months though.

I didn’t see much honesty or self appraisal from Lennon when he was making mistakes and things were going badly. He was right to call out players at times but when he was getting it wrong he stopped doing press conferences.

10-09-2020, 07:21 PM
Don’t think it’s fair (to either) to basically suggest that Stubbs was unlucky when things went wrong but Lennon was lucky when things went right.

Both had good points and both had bad points. Both, IMO, did good things for Hibs and both, IMO, could have done certain things better.

Well, if Celtic didn't need a last minute goalie and hadn't identified then we don't get Scott Allan and we don't improve. Stubbs' side had several dodgy decisions go against but had us playing good football.

I also would say that very little of my argument was based on Lennon being "lucky", but more on him only gaining one more point in an easier Championship without Rangers or Hearts. Stubbs left us one of the best midfields in the country and in our clubs recent history. Lennon left us in a nosedive.

10-09-2020, 07:22 PM

If Stubbs or anyone else had us challenging for 2nd at the very end of a season folk would worship their every word and move.

Lennon just gets hate.

John Collins won us a cup, and in style, but left us when we were struggling and that’s the aspect a lot of people remember him for. Lennon finished 4th and left us struggling but a lot of people seem to remember him for finishing 4th.

It’s not unique to Lennon and it works both ways IMO.

10-09-2020, 07:31 PM
Well, if Celtic didn't need a last minute goalie and hadn't identified then we don't get Scott Allan and we don't improve. Stubbs' side had several dodgy decisions go against but had us playing good football.

I also would say that very little of my argument was based on Lennon being "lucky", but more on him only gaining one more point in an easier Championship without Rangers or Hearts. Stubbs left us one of the best midfields in the country and in our clubs recent history. Lennon left us in a nosedive.

Or you could look at it as being a brilliant bit of business as opposed to being lucky. We also got rid of our top scorer, at the time, as part of the deal.

As for the points totals, he got more than everybody else in the league. Stubbs finished below Falkirk. We then went on to achieve only three or four points less in the top league than we did in the championship.

I do agree Lennon didn’t leave us in particularly great nick with the midfield issue that still exists today.

LeithMike
10-09-2020, 08:01 PM
I didn’t see much honesty or self appraisal from Lennon when he was making mistakes and things were going badly. He was right to call out players at times but when he was getting it wrong he stopped doing press conferences.You're right in that. When things started to go wrong he kind of went in on himself and started to play the blame game. It's a real shame it went that way.

10-09-2020, 08:07 PM

If you put it like that, ‘soft’ mentality at 99% of clubs.

Picking yourself up after a setback is hard. But hitting the heights and then staying at that level is harder - especially at Hibs, where it’s inevitable that a good team will be broken up as richer clubs covet our players.

LeithMike
10-09-2020, 08:08 PM

I don't think we improved under Lennon (other than five months when we lucked out that Celtic wanted Scott Bain and were able to get Scott Allan in) and in some ways - particularly recruitment - regressed.I definitely think we improved under Lennon although I know others dont. I liked Stubbs as a man and he certainly signed some good players and built a great dressing room but Ifound the narrow diamond and lack of width pretty frustrating. He failed to get the best of McGeouch and McGinn in that formation and they, along with Boyle, improved significantly under Lennon.

Stubbs was key to where we got to under Lennon as he laid really good foundations that Lennon was able to build on (before it went pear shaped). I often wonder what it would have been like had we had Lennon first then Stubbs - I don't think Lennon could have built us up like Stubbs and I dont think Stubbs could have taken us on like Lennon. Perhaps a combination of them would have been ideal - Lubbs!

10-09-2020, 08:09 PM
Was it not thr best run in Europe since the 70s?

10-09-2020, 08:17 PM
All fair points but come on, that’s an incredible statement to call Lennon a loser.

It’s fine margins. I loved Stubbs time but if SDG does not score in 92nd minute. Could he have been sacked for not delivering?

If my granny had wheels she'd be a bike.

Stubbs won it, Lennon made a dog's dinner of it. One of them won it with a championship team, the other can only win with 10x the budget of the opposition.

LeithMike
10-09-2020, 08:24 PM

Total lack of perspective. How many managers have won cups with Hibs?

If Celtic has beat Rangers in the semi in 2016 we would have had no chance with no Stokes or Henderson. In the semi against Aberdeen, Lennon made the wrong call but that didnt cost us the 2 goals and we were well on top when Aberdeen got a jammy deflected goal.

There are very fine margins in these things.

Agree that Hibs were poor in the semi against Celtic and not bringing Marciano back in was a huge and foreseeable error.

10-09-2020, 08:36 PM

Stubbs won it, Lennon made a dog's dinner of it. One of them won it with a championship team, the other can only win with 10x the budget of the opposition.

If you're using that simplistic an argument then you could say Lennon won the Championship but Stubbs didn't (twice).
Is getting to a semi-final(pumping Hearts along the way) really making a dogs dinner of it? Hate to think what you'd make of some of our previous efforts in the Cup.

loanheadhibby
10-09-2020, 08:36 PM

You’ve just contradicted yourself. 1st you say Lennon is a loser and then you say he can only win it with 10x the budget?

So is Lennon a winner of cups or a loser?

And don’t forget Stubbs made a dogs dinner of league cup final.

10-09-2020, 08:39 PM

if threads like these prove anything it’s that Lennon isn’t getting forgotten any time soon.

10-09-2020, 08:41 PM
You’ve just contradicted yourself. 1st you say Lennon is a loser and then you say he can only win it with 10x the budget?

So is Lennon a winner of cups or a loser?

And don’t forget Stubbs made a dogs dinner of league cup final.

How on earth did Stubbs make a dog's dinner of the league cup final? Nonsense.

Hibs1969
10-09-2020, 08:42 PM
I’m pretty sure all of us knew what we were getting when Lennon took the Hibs job. He took a much firmer line than Stubbs who laid the foundations for Lennon to build on with McGinn, McGeouch, Boyle, Cummings and others at his disposal. He made us harder to beat and instilled a toughness about us that was missing previously.

Some of the football in the championship wasn’t pretty but he did what he was brought in to do - get us out of that league and that was all that mattered. Lennon also got us to the semi-final of the cup that season but in doing so laid bare his own failings. His team selections at times were baffling - this game, the game at Tynie, the league cup semi v Celtic were all games we lost due to his random, weird tactics/team selections where if we’d stuck to what we were good at we would have given a better account of ourselves.

Our first season back in the top division was great for the most part but sadly Lennon crashed and burned - maybe it’s his personality which means he can’t stay in one place too long but when he fell out of favour, he did it big time, burning all his bridges and more. I’m glad he came in when he did but by the end it was obviously time for him to move on. Overall - Lennon was a success for me but he would have been even better without the brainfarts in big games.

10-09-2020, 09:55 PM
I’m pretty sure all of us knew what we were getting when Lennon took the Hibs job. He took a much firmer line than Stubbs who laid the foundations for Lennon to build on with McGinn, McGeouch, Boyle, Cummings and others at his disposal. He made us harder to beat and instilled a toughness about us that was missing previously.

Some of the football in the championship wasn’t pretty but he did what he was brought in to do - get us out of that league and that was all that mattered. Lennon also got us to the semi-final of the cup that season but in doing so laid bare his own failings. His team selections at times were baffling - this game, the game at Tynie, the league cup semi v Celtic were all games we lost due to his random, weird tactics/team selections where if we’d stuck to what we were good at we would have given a better account of ourselves.

Our first season back in the top division was great for the most part but sadly Lennon crashed and burned - maybe it’s his personality which means he can’t stay in one place too long but when he fell out of favour, he did it big time, burning all his bridges and more. I’m glad he came in when he did but by the end it was obviously time for him to move on. Overall - Lennon was a success for me but he would have been even better without the brainfarts in big games.

This is probably a fair analysis. The problem with Lennon is his character and personality mean that its hard to find a middle ground and these kind of debates around him will keep going.

I think your right that he was ultimately more of a success for us than a failure, I just don't hold any affection for him. Once it all started going wrong he was worse than hopeless. The fact that he sounds like a bully in the dressing room, and is publicly unwilling to admit any errors on his part, means I've lost any respect I had for him.

10-09-2020, 10:02 PM
By the way if Gray didn’t score in the 92nd min (sorry but it wasn’t 93) it was extra time.

Same people saying if we didn’t win the cup yet rip him for no reason because we lost to Falkirk.

Alan Stubbs was our best manager since McLeish and as a manager my biggest ever hero. Lennon is an angry wee ****er. Because he’s Celtic or catholic? No, see Stubbsy. Even before him see Mowbray. My two best and favourite managers after a ginger hun judas. Still our best manager in modern history (McLeish)

10-09-2020, 10:05 PM

Great Analysis, perfect summary of NL's time with Hibs.

Magpie
10-09-2020, 10:07 PM
I’ve been reading through this forum for a few years now as a guest and I’ve always got the impression that Lennon gets criticised more than the likes of Terry Butcher and I’m not sure why.

Btw, Hello 👋😅

10-09-2020, 10:10 PM
I’ve been reading through this forum for a few years now as a guest and I’ve always got the impression that Lennon gets criticised more than the likes of Terry Butcher and I’m not sure why.

Btw, Hello 👋😅

Hello. Fair comment. I am equally perplexed :dunno:

10-09-2020, 10:11 PM

Btw, Hello 👋😅

Hi Magpie.

Lennon was like Butcher to our team. If he for instance took over from Butcher, with a club on its knees with a few youngsters and a couple of players and Liam Craig, Lewis and Scotty Robb do you believe deep down he would have attracted the players and had the team playing Stubbs had?

Stubbs took his hand and put my chin up, even when I didnae want to go back I did then I had belief again. It was much more then the cup final cumulative wise ended at the final. I’m just really surprised there’s lots of our support than doesn’t feel that way.

Lennon comes in after Butcher it would be a shambles imo.

10-09-2020, 10:17 PM
Lennon was like Butcher to our team.

Wait, what??

10-09-2020, 10:18 PM

Btw, Hello 👋😅

Because there is no doubt about Butchers managerial ability or temperament.

Lennon on the other hand has Hibs fans who still think he's a born winner who can do no wrong.

10-09-2020, 10:21 PM
Lennon on the other hand has Hibs fans who still think he's a born winner who can do no wrong.

And others who think he’s a loser, when in reality he’s probably somewhere in between

10-09-2020, 10:30 PM
And others who think he’s a loser, when in reality he’s probably somewhere in between

Loser is one adjective that really would be very far down the list when it comes to describing Neil Lennon. Thought I'd accidentally stumbled onto the manky Gorgie mobs delirious forum for a second there.

10-09-2020, 10:30 PM
Hi Magpie.

Lennon was like Butcher to our team. If he for instance took over from Butcher, with a club on its knees with a few youngsters and a couple of players and Liam Craig, Lewis and Scotty Robb do you believe deep down he would have attracted the players and had the team playing Stubbs had?

Stubbs took his hand and put my chin up, even when I didnae want to go back I did then I had belief again. It was much more then the cup final cumulative wise ended at the final. I’m just really surprised there’s lots of our support than doesn’t feel that way.

So Lennon is like Butcher now? Even by your standards that's cranking up the drivelometer to max

10-09-2020, 10:34 PM
Loser is one adjective that really would be very far down the list when it comes to describing Neil Lennon.

Agreed

10-09-2020, 10:37 PM
Wait, what??

Wait, what, what?

He shouted and bawled and thankfully we had perfect personalities in the dressing room to handle it under Lennon. Personalities Stubbs brought to the club.

10-09-2020, 10:39 PM
Wait, what, what?

He shouted and bawled and thankfully we had perfect personalities in the dressing room to handle it under Lennon. Personalities Stubbs brought to the club.

Sorry, I just found it hard to believe someone would actually say Lennon was like Butcher

10-09-2020, 10:40 PM
So Lennon is like Butcher now? Even by your standards that's cranking up the drivelometer to max

Care to expand what my standards are please?

Yes, Neil Lennon aggressive ex Celtic captain is mine Terry Butcher, aggressive ex Rangers captain.

Even by my standards? Sorry is Lennon more in the less intimidating Deila or Fenlon mould? Maybe wee Pedro forgot his surname at the huns.

Lennons an aggressive bully and so is Butcher.

10-09-2020, 10:41 PM
Sorry, I just found it hard to believe someone would actually say Lennon was like Butcher

Polar opposites personally but equals attract. Bet they get on.

If Neil Lennon came in same time Butcher did we get relegated because of the players there. Butcher comes in to take over from Lennon we win the league. Stubbs is a much better manager than both and it’s baffling he’s out a job and it really surprises me how much Hibs fans don’t think that either.

By the way I’m in the camp of we have the best manager in the league at the moment and I’m delighted we have him.

Magpie
10-09-2020, 10:41 PM
Hi Magpie.

Hi 90+2 👋

That is another thing which seems to always be the case...any topic on Lennon seems to always result in a comparison to Stubbs’s time in charge, which is fine as this is a forum to debate but I just can’t get my head around why folk can’t appreciate Lennon for getting us promoted and enjoying good times without having a go at the fella.

In relation to your question about Lennon coming in after Butcher, if the same recruitment team Stubbs had was also there for Lennon then I see no reason why we wouldn’t have ended up with the same players that we did. I thought under Lennon’s tenure we made some great signings. We also played some great football in our first season back in the Premiership.

Lennon won the league the year we got relegated so I personally can’t say he would have been a bad choice at the time of Butcher’s exit.

10-09-2020, 10:45 PM
Hi 90+2 👋

That is another thing which seems to always be the case...any topic on Lennon seems to always result in a comparison to Stubbs’s time in charge, which is fine as this is a forum to debate but I just can’t get my head around why folk can’t appreciate Lennon for getting us promoted and enjoying good times without having a go at the fella.

In relation to your question about Lennon coming in after Butcher, if the same recruitment team Stubbs had was also there for Lennon then I see no reason why we wouldn’t have ended up with the same players that we did. I thought under Lennon’s tenure we made some great signings. We also played some great football in our first season back in the Premiership.

Lennon won the league the year we got relegated so I personally can’t say he would have been a bad choice at the time of Butcher’s exit.

Hi mate and again welcome. (Not that it’s for me to welcome) 🤣.
If it’s all the same I’ll reply to your wonderfully worded post tomorrow as I’m shattered mate. 💚

Care to expand what my standards are please?

Yes, Neil Lennon aggressive ex Celtic captain is mine Terry Butcher, aggressive ex Rangers captain.

Even by my standards? Sorry is Lennon more in the less intimidating Deila or Fenlon mould? Maybe wee Pedro forgot his surname at the huns.

By your standards I meant you post nonsense fairly regularly.

Lennon & Butcher both being aggressive I would agree with but that's about it in terms of comparing their time as Hibs managers.

By your standards I meant you post nonsense fairly regularly.

Lennon & Butcher both being aggressive I would agree with but that's about it in terms of comparing their time as Hibs managers.

Never noticed you before but cheers. Bolt.

You clearly have the inability to read. I said if Lennon took over at the same time Butcher did the same outcome would have prevailed. Cheerio rude person.

10-09-2020, 10:49 PM

You clearly have the inability to read. I said if Lennon took over at the same time Butcher did the same outcome would have prevailed. Cheerio rude person.

You genuinely think Lennon would have taken us from fifth or sixth (I think that about where we were when Butcher took over) and got us relegated? Really?

Magpie
10-09-2020, 10:52 PM
Hi mate and again welcome. (Not that it’s for me to welcome) 🤣.
If it’s all the same I’ll reply to your wonderfully worded post tomorrow as I’m shattered mate. 💚

I shall look forward to it sir 😂💚

10-09-2020, 10:58 PM

I'm the rude one?

I can read fine thanks. I'll just stick to the actual facts of Lennons record with us which I think on the whole was decent, rather than debate some hypothetical scenario you've concocted.

11-09-2020, 12:07 AM
You genuinely think Lennon would have taken us from fifth or sixth (I think that about where we were when Butcher took over) and got us relegated? Really?

I don’t think we would have, I don’t even think butcher would if you gave him another shot in the same position (please, no) it was that mental and unlikely.

I do agree with his sentiments about being glad it was indeed Stubbs that got hold of us at that time though.

11-09-2020, 12:39 AM
In reality, Lennon had half a good season with Hibs. The second half of our first season back in the top league. That is when we had SJM, McGeough fit and playing and Allan on loan. The rest of his time here was dire to watch. We made hard work of getting promoted without Rangers or Hearts in the league. His last season we were heading for a relegation fight. Remember to he suffers from mental illness. He is bi-polar what they used to call manic depressive. He can go from over bearing hyperactive to withdrawn and isolated. In my view he is an average manager - without exceptional players or a budget way larger than the rest of the opposition he struggles. Tactically inept - look at the changes he made in teams and roles at Hibs and the recent exit from the Champions league withno strikers. He is also a provocative play actor - the dramatic falling to the ground when hit by coin at Tynecastle.

11-09-2020, 01:03 AM
Personally I loved Lennon being in charge of us with the exception of the last 2 months or so before he left. I still feel he would have got us in the top 5/6 if he stayed that season.

He demanded a lot of the players and the board so we could get players in to replace guys like McGinn, Mcgeouch, Allan and Cummings.

Whether the signings worked out or not he seemed to be able to attract good players with good pedigree and make them want to sign for us.

Omeonga
McNulty
Hyndman
Milligan
Mavrias
Barker
Bogdan
Mallan
Horgan
Slivka
Gauld
Nelom
Maclaren
Kamberi
Marciano - Championship
Ambrose - Championship
Commons - Championship
Shinnie - Championship

As I say not all of them worked out as well as expected but it’s far from easy to get them here in the first place.

I Hope Ross pushes the board as much to spend money as Lennon did and have the ability to convince players to join

11-09-2020, 05:30 AM
Calling someone a loser amounts to shaming and a page out of the Trump playbook.

Brene Brown could teach sport a lot about shame and the detrimental effect it has.

I appreciate in a sports forum this is perhaps more likely to fall on deaf ear. But if we consider our former managers mental health and the suicide rates in Scotland amongst young men with sports folks vulnerable too worth stopping for a minute.

You are right that his, and everyone elses, mental health should be considered. The problem I have with Lennon, and it is amplified by stories like the OP, is he thought he was better than Hibs. Some brilliant gift to us. To toughen us up, to break the mold. Reality is, Stubbs done more to achieve that, in less time, with less money, less experience and a much, much better attitude.

Did Lennon consider the players mental health when he came in and done that to them? Didn't he consider Kamberis when he was dragging him through the papers? Or Dylans when he said his injuries were in his head and tried to get rid?

11-09-2020, 06:27 AM
Always find it amusing this ‘born winner’ chat when he blew our 2 biggest games of the 2018/2019 season, which coincidentally were both at Tynecastle. Winners wouldn’t have done that - we had the far better team and should’ve flattened them especially the derby after the split which probably cost us second.

I couldn’t stand him first time round at Celtic, wasn’t keen on his appointment but suppose I came round to ‘not minding’ him but in his final few months let’s no forget that the majority of us were sick of his pettiness and petulance and his opinion which was quite clearly that he felt like he was doing us a favour by being here. I was glad to see the back of him. Now he’s back at Celtic he’s a total irrelevance to me.

11-09-2020, 07:26 AM
Personally I loved Lennon being in charge of us with the exception of the last 2 months or so before he left. I still feel he would have got us in the top 5/6 if he stayed that season.

He demanded a lot of the players and the board so we could get players in to replace guys like McGinn, Mcgeouch, Allan and Cummings.

Whether the signings worked out or not he seemed to be able to attract good players with good pedigree and make them want to sign for us.

Omeonga
McNulty
Hyndman
Milligan
Mavrias
Barker
Bogdan
Mallan
Horgan
Slivka
Gauld
Nelom
Maclaren
Kamberi
Marciano - Championship
Ambrose - Championship
Commons - Championship
Shinnie - Championship

As I say not all of them worked out as well as expected but it’s far from easy to get them here in the first place.

I Hope Ross pushes the board as much to spend money as Lennon did and have the ability to convince players to join

Crazy to look at that list of players, who as you say all came with decent pedigree when you consider that the list as a whole produced only really Efe and Rocky who were very good for us. Some that done alright and some that were a total waste of time but nowhere near as money outright successes as you’d expect from such pedigree.

11-09-2020, 08:10 AM
Wait, what, what?

I see what you are saying. But we don’t have to constantly denigrate one manager in order to praise another. And we seem to view past managers’ achievements too harshly.

I loved Stubbs and will defend his record to anyone still unable to appreciate what he brought to the club, but Lennon was the right guy at the right time.

Everything else is ifs, buts and maybes. I think John Collins would have done much better with a proper football department and scouting structure to support him, but we will never know.

11-09-2020, 08:18 AM

Btw, Hello ����

Maybe because Butcher is long gone and Lennon is still at another Scottish club and in the news almost every day?

11-09-2020, 08:34 AM
In reality, Lennon had half a good season with Hibs. The second half of our first season back in the top league. That is when we had SJM, McGeough fit and playing and Allan on loan. The rest of his time here was dire to watch. We made hard work of getting promoted without Rangers or Hearts in the league. His last season we were heading for a relegation fight. Remember to he suffers from mental illness. He is bi-polar what they used to call manic depressive. He can go from over bearing hyperactive to withdrawn and isolated. In my view he is an average manager - without exceptional players or a budget way larger than the rest of the opposition he struggles. Tactically inept - look at the changes he made in teams and roles at Hibs and the recent exit from the Champions league withno strikers. He is also a provocative play actor - the dramatic falling to the ground when hit by coin at Tynecastle.

cant agree with the half a season stuff.

his first season there were too many draws but we were never in danger of not going up. The football wasn’t dire either. When on form we blew teams away (like the 3-1 victory over hearts in the cup.)

second season was great. Even the first half of it when we pissed a lot of points away carelessly. But that first half contained a victory at ibrox, a draw at Celtic park when we really should have won, a home derby win which should have been a pumping, and an away derby that would have been a win if we had decent linesmen in this country. Then in January in came Allan, McClaren and Kamberi and it all clicked into place

third season started really well. Good European adventure, loads of goals and flying high by October. Only in the last three months did it fall apart.

your “half a good season” is really more like 1.75 good seasons

11-09-2020, 08:44 AM

Omeonga
McNulty
Hyndman
Milligan
Mavrias
Barker
Bogdan
Mallan
Horgan
Slivka
Gauld
Nelom
Maclaren
Kamberi
Marciano - Championship
Ambrose - Championship
Commons - Championship
Shinnie - Championship

The ones in bold are the ones I would say were a success, the rest were sub standard or didn't get the time to show what they could do. The Nelom signing in particular was a weird one. Was Bigirimana a Lennon signing too?

11-09-2020, 08:46 AM
Always find it amusing this ‘born winner’ chat when he blew our 2 biggest games of the 2018/2019 season, which coincidentally were both at Tynecastle. Winners wouldn’t have done that - we had the far better team and should’ve flattened them especially the derby after the split which probably cost us second.

I couldn’t stand him first time round at Celtic, wasn’t keen on his appointment but suppose I came round to ‘not minding’ him but in his final few months let’s no forget that the majority of us were sick of his pettiness and petulance and his opinion which was quite clearly that he felt like he was doing us a favour by being here. I was glad to see the back of him. Now he’s back at Celtic he’s a total irrelevance to me.

I thought some of his behaviour was dreadful, his touchline spat with Jim Duffy was a ****ing disgrace. He went from sticking up for his players to attempted assault in a split second.

11-09-2020, 08:50 AM
The ones in bold are the ones I would say were a success, the rest were sub standard or didn't get the time to show what they could do. The Nelom signing in particular was a weird one. Was Bigirimana a Lennon signing too?

Bigirimana was signed after NL. Or at least after he was suspended anyway, not sure if he was officially away or not.

11-09-2020, 09:09 AM
I thought some of his behaviour was dreadful, his touchline spat with Jim Duffy was a ****ing disgrace. He went from sticking up for his players to attempted assault in a split second.

Iirc Duffy caused that?

11-09-2020, 09:13 AM

Ever considered a career with the Daily Record?

11-09-2020, 09:23 AM
Iirc Duffy caused that?

you remember correctly. Squared up to Lennon after an awful foul on one of our players.

lennon is far from perfect (the theatrical fall during the tynecastle coin incident was particularly embarrassing). But neither is every controversy he’s involved in his fault.

11-09-2020, 09:27 AM
you remember correctly. Squared up to Lennon after an awful foul on one of our players.

lennon is far from perfect (the theatrical fall during the tynecastle coin incident was particularly embarrassing). But neither is every controversy he’s involved in his fault.

Yep - that his 5-5 aeroplane on the pitch and his post-Tynie strop all made me cringe.

I also have some very good memories of his time with us, but it was time for him to go when he did.

11-09-2020, 09:30 AM
Iirc Duffy caused that?

Just watched it back now. Duffy does make a beeline for Lennon but don’t think either manager came out of the incident with any credit.

LeithMike
11-09-2020, 10:00 AM

So what would you say about Alex Ferguson who was probably renowned for being the biggest bully of all? Does that make him a bad manager too?

You are taking things to the extreme about Lennon. Clearly, he could be pretty tough on players and I did think his treatment of Kamberi was off but that doesnt just white wash all his attributes.

I dont think anyone can deny that Boyle (who was pretty much a sub under Stubbs) and McGinn improved significantly as players under Lennon. And despite some odd decisions in big games, we were going into all our games, no matter the opposition, expecting to win. When has that been the case before? Yes, Lennon is far from the ideal manager but he has some really good attributes and if he could deal better with players when things aren't going well then he could be a very good manager at a higher level. Perhaps getting a more experienced no.2 who can recognise when he's getting a bit tough and stand up to him would help him in that respect.

I just dont get the way people want to belittle his achievements with Hibs.

11-09-2020, 10:01 AM

I think you are being a tad harsh here. Commons, Spike, Horgan all made decent contributions. An inability to replace SJM was his biggest problem.

11-09-2020, 11:11 AM
So what would you say about Alex Ferguson who was probably renowned for being the biggest bully of all? Does that make him a bad manager too?

You are taking things to the extreme about Lennon. Clearly, he could be pretty tough on players and I did think his treatment of Kamberi was off but that doesnt just white wash all his attributes.

I dont think anyone can deny that Boyle (who was pretty much a sub under Stubbs) and McGinn improved significantly as players under Lennon. And despite some odd decisions in big games, we were going into all our games, no matter the opposition, expecting to win. When has that been the case before? Yes, Lennon is far from the ideal manager but he has some really good attributes and if he could deal better with players when things aren't going well then he could be a very good manager at a higher level. Perhaps getting a more experienced no.2 who can recognise when he's getting a bit tough and stand up to him would help him in that respect.

I just dont get the way people want to belittle his achievements with Hibs.

Exactly, there hatred of lennon the player carried over to lennon the Hibs manager. No matter what he did, some folk never ever will give him any kudos for what he did. Lucked out is the latest one I keep seeing, as if it's a bad thing?

loanheadhibby
11-09-2020, 11:47 AM
Loser is one adjective that really would be very far down the list when it comes to describing Neil Lennon. Thought I'd accidentally stumbled onto the manky Gorgie mobs delirious forum for a second there.

Agreed also. For all Lennon's well documented issues he brought a huge profile to the club (not always good). More so than any other manager in my time. Always in the limelight, always wanting more, always demanding more. Fought the clubs corner (literally at times).

That period from January until the end of the season was fantastic as far as I am concerned. Maybe a bit of revisionism from me but the free flowing, high scoring games were a joy. I know the Rangers game gets a lot of mentions but the 5-3 at home to Killie was a brilliant watch.

For a minute he had me believing. The night we went to Tynie, I actually really fancied our chances!

I'd take that over the dross we are watching just now.

11-09-2020, 11:48 AM
I called Lennon an embarrassment after the derby when he was making hand gestures at the Hearts fans then threatening to quit. Got absolutely crucified for it on here. Screaming in the refs face at Rugby Park was rediculous too. My opinion hadn't changed. He was an embarrassment and I'm glad he's away from my club.

11-09-2020, 12:38 PM

That was clearly Duffy and the Morton bench that caused that.

11-09-2020, 12:39 PM
The aeroplane and earcupping were two of the best moments in his time with us!

We all loved it at the time.

11-09-2020, 12:40 PM
The aeroplane and earcupping were two of the best moments in his time with us!

We all loved it at the time.

I cringed at the aeroplane. Imagine if Levein had done something like that during a derby?