View Full Version : Neil Lennon
Pages :
[
10]
11-03-2021, 07:44 AM
Ex-Hibs goalkeeper on 'absolutely tonto' Neil Lennon at Tynecastle after costly defeat
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/ex-hibs-goalkeeper-on-absolutely-tonto-neil-lennon-at-tynecastle-after-costly-defeat-3161852
11-03-2021, 08:02 AM
Ex-Hibs goalkeeper on 'absolutely tonto' Neil Lennon at Tynecastle after costly defeat
https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/ex-hibs-goalkeeper-on-absolutely-tonto-neil-lennon-at-tynecastle-after-costly-defeat-3161852
Read that and thought ‘when did cammy bell sign for Hibs’ - genuinely have no recollection of him at Hibs.
Allez Hibs
11-03-2021, 08:19 AM
Lennon isn't the brightest. Lewy's fault for both goals that night. Had the chance to clear it before Lafferty scored and then didn't pick up Naismith who scored a header! Woeful stuff from Lewy that night.
11-03-2021, 08:23 AM
Read that and thought ‘when did cammy bell sign for Hibs’ - genuinely have no recollection of him at Hibs.
He came on for Hibs in a 1-1 draw away to St Johnstone when Rocky got sent off.
11-03-2021, 08:37 AM
Lennon isn't the brightest. Lewy's fault for both goals that night. Had the chance to clear it before Lafferty scored and then didn't pick up Naismith who scored a header! Woeful stuff from Lewy that night.
The man who chose to change a winning team, drop Jamie McLaren and change the tactics might have to shoulder some blame there too. I hope Lennon gave him both barrels.
11-03-2021, 08:37 AM
While going 'tonto' at the players doesn't always work, I think we could do with a bit of that passion now to make sure we finish third.
11-03-2021, 08:39 AM
While going 'tonto' at the players doesn't always work, I think we could do with a bit of that passion now to make sure we finish third.
How do you know it’s not happening?
11-03-2021, 08:49 AM
How do you know it’s not happening?
I'm not saying it's not happening behind the scenes, but there's been little passion on display on the touchline or the pitch during the last 2 performances. We desperately need to sort that out on Saturday and burst a gut to get a win.
11-03-2021, 08:51 AM
I'm not saying it's not happening behind the scenes, but there's been little passion on display on the touchline or the pitch during the last 2 performances. We desperately need to sort that out on Saturday and burst a gut to get a win.
In your opinion. I’d rather any ranting and raving was saved for behind closed doors and kept to a minimum.
11-03-2021, 08:53 AM
In your opinion. I’d rather any ranting and raving was saved for behind closed doors and kept to a minimum.
Me too. This is just another limp stick to attempt to beat JR with.
11-03-2021, 08:53 AM
11-03-2021, 09:02 AM
Enthusiasm and passion on the touchline doesn’t have to equate to ranting and raving though.
Guardiola, Klopp, Tuchel, Bielsa, Mourinho and Simeone are all very animated on the touchline. The only successful manager I can think of that isn’t is Brendan Rodgers.
If we finish 3rd then who cares, we are in a great position to do so, it’s not that big a deal. I do know what the poster you’re replying to means though. I think when we’re playing poorly it would be good to see a bit emotion and a reaction at times. We’ve got a terrible record when it comes to coming back from a losing position, maybe it is something Ross needs to reflect on, how well is he influencing games that aren’t going our way? Energy and enthusiasm is infectious imo.
11-03-2021, 09:10 AM
Not heard that term for ages! :greengrin
Is it out of fashion cos those who watched the Lone Ranger are aging? Or maybe we are not allowed to say it these PC days cos it depicts all Native Americans as uncontrollably crazy. :dunno:
11-03-2021, 09:17 AM
good. The players shat themselves that night. The first goal handed to lafferty was an absolute embarrassment, and the second after we’d fought our way back into it wasn’t much better.
11-03-2021, 09:20 AM
good. The players shat themselves that night. The first goal handed to lafferty was an absolute embarrassment, and the second after we’d caught our way back into it wasn’t much better.
Lennon thought he was being a smart arse and changed a winning team for sod all.
11-03-2021, 09:25 AM
JR has done well this season and he and the players deserve great credit for getting us into prime position to finish 3rd in the league. Not disputing that one bit.
However, JR himself described the 2nd half performance in the Semi v St J as meek. He was right as the players threw in the towel that day after losing a goal which was unacceptable. The home defeats to Ross County, Livingston, Motherwell and last week's performance v St J were also meek.
Sometimes things go against you in games and you lose the first goal. Having the passion and never say die attitude in adversity is something we need to see more of if we want to secure 3rd place.
11-03-2021, 09:28 AM
Not heard that term for ages! :greengrin
Is it out of fashion cos those who watched the Lone Ranger are aging? Or maybe we are not allowed to say it these PC days cos it depicts all Native Americans as uncontrollably crazy. :dunno:
Aw come on! You'd have to be a total Pocahontas to find that offensive.
11-03-2021, 09:35 AM
Aw come on! You'd have to be a total Pocahontas to find that offensive.
How
11-03-2021, 09:36 AM
How
11-03-2021, 09:39 AM
Lennon thought he was being a smart arse and changed a winning team for sod all.
maybe. but irrelevant when it comes to the goals that lost us the game.
11-03-2021, 09:39 AM
How
Just ... gonnae no'.
(Oops! Wrong reference.)
Allez Hibs
11-03-2021, 10:31 AM
good. The players shat themselves that night. The first goal handed to lafferty was an absolute embarrassment, and the second after we’d fought our way back into it wasn’t much better.
https://youtu.be/qw2-Yw_58oQ
Lewy was very poor for both goals.
11-03-2021, 10:40 AM
Enthusiasm and passion on the touchline doesn’t have to equate to ranting and raving though.
Guardiola, Klopp, Tuchel, Bielsa, Mourinho and Simeone are all very animated on the touchline. The only successful manager I can think of that isn’t is Brendan Rodgers.
If we finish 3rd then who cares, we are in a great position to do so, it’s not that big a deal. I do know what the poster you’re replying to means though. I think when we’re playing poorly it would be good to see a bit emotion and a reaction at times. We’ve got a terrible record when it comes to coming back from a losing position, maybe it is something Ross needs to reflect on, how well is he influencing games that aren’t going our way? Energy and enthusiasm is infectious imo.
Yeh I get what you’re saying and mostly agree but the post I replied to was essentially comparing Lennon to JR. In Lennon’s case it mostly was ranting and raving. I know who’s touchline style I prefer.
11-03-2021, 10:42 AM
Did you know that the players didn't receive a team talk that night prior to the match?
They stayed at the Marine in North Berwick on the night before and not once did he brief the team, very poor from him.
11-03-2021, 10:45 AM
Yeh I get what you’re saying and mostly agree but the post I replied to was essentially comparing Lennon to JR. In Lennon’s case it mostly was ranting and raving. I know who’s touchline style I prefer.
I knew Lennon's time with us was up when we lost 1-0 at Fir Park in a midweek game.
He virtually fell asleep leaning on the dug out that night, opposite to his normal behaviour.
CloudSquall
11-03-2021, 10:53 AM
Lennon only knows why he changed a winning team that night at Tynie but I'm glad that for once we read about a Hibs manager going radio rental at the team following a derby defeat.
The "It's just another three points" mentality of various managers saw us on the wrong end of one derby humping to another over many a year.
11-03-2021, 11:11 AM
It’s not as if it worked before so why would it now?
11-03-2021, 11:12 AM
A wee bit of balance to that.
I agree with Lewy being at fault for the 1st goal.
He then won the penalty for the Hibs goal.
For the winning Hearts goal lots of Hearts attackers seemed to steal the march on the Hibs defenders from the set piece. The Hearts runs were well timed and the ball in perfect. However, it wouldn't have happened if the free kick hadn't been given away in that dangerous position. I can't remember how that came about. Can anyone recall it?
11-03-2021, 11:17 AM
Lennon only knows why he changed a winning team that night at Tynie but I'm glad that for once we read about a Hibs manager going radio rental at the team following a derby defeat.
The "It's just another three points" mentality of various managers saw us on the wrong end of one derby humping to another over many a year.
Going mental after a derby defeat didn’t do us much good at Tynecastle under Lennon. Levein had his number there and Lennon seemed to want to beat him at his own industrious grinding brand of football, playing into Leveins hands every time.
Heckingbottom and Ross both subsequently won at Tynecastle. I think Lennon was the problem whenever we went there not the players.
Allez Hibs
11-03-2021, 11:23 AM
A wee bit of balance to that.
I agree with Lewy being at fault for the 1st goal.
He then won the penalty for the Hibs goal.
For the winning Hearts goal lots of Hearts attackers seemed to steal the march on the Hibs defenders from the set piece. The Hearts runs were well timed and the ball in perfect. However, it wouldn't have happened if the free kick hadn't been given away in that dangerous position. I can't remember how that came about. Can anyone recall it?
Yes, but why is the ball getting past the first man - Lewy!!
11-03-2021, 11:38 AM
Yes, but why is the ball getting past the first man - Lewy!!
It get's past the first man because of how the Hibs back line including Lewy is set up to defend the set piece. Then the uber quality ball and timing of the run do the rest.
After the event knowing the ball goes to Naismith you would have Lewy drop his starting position a yard or position himself goalside of Naismith to prevent his run. Those two changes prevent the goal happening in the way it did but would have created other issues which could also result in a goal.
Best thing is not to give away cheap free kicks in difficult to defend positions. Similar happened in SDG's only cameo of the season when he needlessly gave a free kick to Celtic from which they equalised late in the game. No free kick, no goal in both cases. an essential part of game management.
Magpie
11-03-2021, 03:57 PM
I don’t know how others feel about this but for me this is exactly the type of passion I expect after a derby defeat.
11-03-2021, 04:09 PM
I don’t know how others feel about this but for me this is exactly the type of passion I expect after a derby defeat.
I personally expect us to play a winning team and get a result in the first place.
11-03-2021, 04:10 PM
I personally expect us to play a winning team and get a result in the first place.
Easy peasy eh?
11-03-2021, 04:14 PM
Easy peasy eh?
That's what we pay managers for - getting a result (like Ross and Heckingbottom both did at Tynie) rather than trying to show the world how clever you are, ballsing it up and then taking it out on the players afterwards.
I really don't know why so many on here are looking at that interview and going "aye, that's what I want again" when it doesn't need to be repeated that we lost that game. We should have been second in the league and through trying to be clever we ended up fourth.
11-03-2021, 04:16 PM
That's what we pay managers for - getting a result (like Ross and Heckingbottom both did at Tynie) rather than trying to show the world how clever you are, ballsing it up and then taking it out on the players afterwards.
I really don't know why so many on here are looking at that interview and going "aye, that's what I want again" when it doesn't need to be repeated that we lost that game. We should have been second in the league and through trying to be clever we ended up fourth.
Yep important to remember how things went after that game at tynie. Start of the end for Lennon
11-03-2021, 04:20 PM
Yep important to remember how things went after that game at tynie. Start of the end for Lennon
Two of his "famous" celebrations - going "waaaay" at Hearts fans and the "aeroplane" came from games we didn't win as well.
I don't want managers who are passionate about drawing games. I want a manager who will work as hard as possible to set us up right for each game and although Ross isn't perfect with that, I have more confidence in him to be consistent with a winning team.
11-03-2021, 04:28 PM
Lennon made a total **** of it that night at Tiny. He should have taken a look at himself after his team selection and tactics.
Equally, the game v the Hun. Absolutely ridic we then went on to concede five goals. We should have stifled the game at 3-0 up, instead hit on the break twice whilst looking for more goals.
Nowt against the guy per se, but I really hope he joins Aberdeen.
11-03-2021, 04:31 PM
Lennon made a total **** of it that night at Tiny. He should have taken a look at himself after his team selection and tactics.
Equally, the game v the Hun. Absolutely ridic we then went on to concede five goals. We should have stifled the game at 3-0 up, instead hit on the break twice whilst looking for more goals.
A lot of people correlating "passion" with "screaming at all and sundry and not taking responsibility for your own mistakes" too.
11-03-2021, 04:46 PM
Lewis won the penalty. It was a poor team performance as well. McGinn never touched it. Lennon changed a winning team for no reason.
11-03-2021, 06:20 PM
Last bit isn’t quite accurate. Even beating Hearts and Rangers, we still wouldn’t have finished second.
11-03-2021, 06:22 PM
Last bit isn’t quite accurate. Even beating Hearts and Rangers, we still wouldn’t have finished second.
We played Aberdeen in the game before the two of those and drew 0-0.
11-03-2021, 06:23 PM
Yip, did we not miss a penalty too?
11-03-2021, 06:25 PM
Aye and we didn’t win because we missed a penalty. Nothing clever was attempted in that game.
11-03-2021, 06:33 PM
Who missed that penalty, Boyle or MaClaren?
11-03-2021, 06:34 PM
Who missed that penalty, Boyle or MaClaren?
MacLaren. And he missed another sitter.
For the penalty, Joe Lewis was about standing on the penalty spot when he hit it.
Going mental after a derby defeat didn’t do us much good at Tynecastle under Lennon. Levein had his number there and Lennon seemed to want to beat him at his own industrious grinding brand of football, playing into Leveins hands every time.
Heckingbottom and Ross both subsequently won at Tynecastle. I think Lennon was the problem whenever we went there not the players.
lennon, IMO, was always slightly distracted against hearts and rangers due to his history with their fans, and at times seemed to be focused on getting one up on the fans rather than the game.
I don’t believe he’d have done the aeroplane if that had been a 5 all draw with Aberdeen, or Motherwell, and certainly not Celtic. It’s embarrassing that he did it at all.
12-03-2021, 03:17 PM
Saw somebody on Twitter, can’t remember who, saying he is expected to get the Sheffield United job.
The person tweeting it appears to be a journalist, not sure if it’s a real journalist or one of those pretend ones though.
On another note, Wilder would be a good choice for Celtic I think.
12-03-2021, 03:28 PM
easy to say now. At the time I and everyone else was roaring the team forward thinking the incredible six goal swing or whatever it was that was required was on.
12-03-2021, 03:47 PM
Saw somebody on Twitter, can’t remember who, saying he is expected to get the Sheffield United job.
The person tweeting it appears to be a journalist, not sure if it’s a real journalist or one of those pretend ones though.
I doubt it, i was reliably informed on here he will never get a decent sized club ever again.
12-03-2021, 04:11 PM
I doubt it, i was reliably informed on here he will never get a decent sized club ever again.
You seem to have become quite bitter about people talking pish on here. It used to be you as well you know 😉
12-03-2021, 04:54 PM
You seem to have become quite bitter about people talking pish on here. It used to be you as well you know
:greengrin I still do.
12-03-2021, 05:13 PM
I'll collect my Hearts season ticket in the scud if he gets the Sheffield United job
12-03-2021, 05:16 PM
I'll collect my Hearts season ticket in the scud if he gets the Sheffield United job
Please please please let him get the job. :greengrin
beensaidbefore
12-03-2021, 05:17 PM
easy to say now. At the time I and everyone else was roaring the team forward thinking the incredible six goal swing or whatever it was that was required was on.
Incredible atmosphere, thought we were gonna do it. Wasn't to be, but a game that will stick in the mind for a long time.
12-03-2021, 05:25 PM
That game summed up Neil Lennons tenure at Hibs. Loads of potential and high hopes, some great play until blowing it when it really mattered and ultimately ending in disappointment.
12-03-2021, 05:34 PM
That game summed up Neil Lennons tenure at Hibs. Loads of potential and high hopes, some great play until blowing it when it really mattered and ultimately ending in disappointment.
Disappointed what do you mean we got a draw from 2 goals down. :greengrin
Magpie
12-03-2021, 05:58 PM
12-03-2021, 06:11 PM
Not for me. i left that game buzzing. An incredible afternoons entertainment in the sunshine after a very good season.
there was disappointment after the Tynecastle game a few days earlier certainly.
Tommy75
12-03-2021, 06:58 PM
Exactly, I think everyone there thought Rangers were there for the taking. I for one was wanting us to keep at them! It wasn't to be but a great game and one that I am sure will live long in the memory of every Hibs fan.
12-03-2021, 07:04 PM
We had to win by 6 against Rangers. We didn’t really have much choice, and going hell for leather was working. Bad miss and caught on the break and the game turned. Had we sat on our 3-0 we’d have finished 4th. Why not try and get the relevant amount of goals to finish above them when we know we can’t finish any lower? Plenty to bash lennon about and I’ll be at the front of the queue for that, but the Rangers game wasn’t one of them.
12-03-2021, 09:36 PM
I guess for some gentlemen a humble bath of beans just isn’t enough.
13-03-2021, 08:49 AM
Not for me. i left that game buzzing. An incredible afternoons entertainment in the sunshine after a very good season.
there was disappointment after the Tynecastle game a few days earlier certainly.
I couldn't. 5-3 down after being 3-0 up. The equaliser at the end felt a bit meh for me
13-03-2021, 09:13 AM
I couldn't. 5-3 down after being 3-0 up. The equaliser at the end felt a bit meh for me
High, low and then high again.
One of the best games I have been at in my 50 years of following the club in a game that mattered.
How many times have we been leading Rangers 3-0 believing 6-0 was actually on?
13-03-2021, 09:31 AM
One of the best games I have been at in my 50 years of following the club in a game that mattered.
And it was on. Missed a great chance to make it 4-0 and if that had happened it could have been anything.
We all turned to each other and said, surely not, surely we can't get 6. Well we got 5 but it was the most amazing game I've been at it all my years.
The damage was done at Aberdeen and Hearts games, e points there and we would've got 2nd.
13-03-2021, 09:40 AM
And it was on. Missed a great chance to make it 4-0 and if that had happened it could have been anything.
Whittaker :agree:
One of those games that I'll always remember fondly, regardless of the score.
ErinGoBraghHFC
15-04-2021, 04:34 PM
The video doing the rounds on Facebook is worrying. Hope Neil is okay.
15-04-2021, 04:52 PM
Details?
15-04-2021, 04:55 PM
Hes pished, big deal.
The only thing worrying is the walloper that felt taking a video of him and circulating it was "clever".
He's been doing a lot of good punditry on 5 Live lately and sounded great. So what's this hook that you've just thrown in?
Edit - just saw green day's post. Is that it???
I doubt anybody here would but please don’t post the video on this forum.
Thanks.
15-04-2021, 04:58 PM
I remember turning looking at who I was with when we went 3-0 up so quickly and both of us looking at each other like "we're actually going to do this aren't we?" and I think had that chance went in before they scored on the counter we would have. Their goal came at the right time to really just knock the momentum out of us and you could almost feel this collective sigh from the stadium when they scored.
In the end though it will remain one of my pure favourite days of football, not even just as a Hibs fan but a general great day to watch two teams be both great and terrible in equal measures to each other. Amazing entertainment.
15-04-2021, 05:02 PM
He's been doing a lot of good punditry on 5 Live lately and sounded great. So what's this hook that you've just thrown in?
Edit - just saw green day's post. Is that it???
Honestly Tam, someone shared it with me the other day and I thought...............that was like me the first night in Molde :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
15-04-2021, 05:10 PM
Bar the game at Tynecastle, the football we played in the final top 6 games was absolutely superb :aok: the equaliser was fitting and a dramatic end to a great season. Some of the football in the Rangers game first 25 minutes was sublime.
The Killie game was madness too.
15-04-2021, 05:17 PM
Honestly Tam, someone shared it with me the other day and I thought...............that was like me the first night in Molde :greengrin:greengrin:greengrin
I just wonder what goes through a person's sad little mind to take a phone out and film someone - then share it.
Must say though, it's a little ill advised of him given his stance on Covid and his press conference in January :cb that aside, as you say, man gets drunk, so what............lucky there were no phones back in the day when I was with Mixu one night in L'Attache :greengrin:faf:
15-04-2021, 05:18 PM
I just wonder what goes through a person's sad little mind to take a phone out and film someone - then share it.
Must say though, it's a little ill advised of him given his stance on Covid and his press conference in January :cb that aside, as you say, man gets drunk, so what............lucky there were no phones back in the day when I was with Mixu one night in L'Attache :greengrin:faf:
From comments I read the suggestion was it was not a recent video.
15-04-2021, 05:23 PM
From comments I read the suggestion was it was not a recent video.
Fair doos Jeffers, I'll stand corrected if that's the case bud - just think it's very sad anyone would want to film someone drunk in any case, and make a derogatory comment (in the video) - just a sad act (person filming).
There but for the grace of God go I as they say.........I've been in far worse states.
15-04-2021, 05:35 PM
Old video dragged up by a Hun . Some of the football we played under Lennon was superb.
15-04-2021, 05:37 PM
Hun behaviour
15-04-2021, 05:38 PM
Must be an old video, looks like it was at a social function so couldn’t have been recent. Anyway, either way what’s the big deal, he’s on a bender......I’d hate to have been filmed on the numerous occasions I’ve probably been in a similar state🙈
Magpie
15-04-2021, 05:41 PM
Hes pished, big deal.
The only thing worrying is the walloper that felt taking a video of him and circulating it was "clever".
Yep, videoing a man who’s pished and then calling him a ginger ****. Embarrassing behaviour.
15-04-2021, 06:18 PM
It was filmed on Tuesday in Carlisle by the sounds of it as the cops were investigating if he broke the law or not apparently.
I have to admit when I seen it I did worry a little bit for him but mostly because of how hard I know he must have taken the way this season has panned out and with his past history of mental health battles it would be enough to send anyone down a bit of a spiral. But that being said I could be way off the mark and it just be a man who went too hard too quickly with the pubs opening up again as we've all done before.
supermcginn
15-04-2021, 06:22 PM
It was filmed on Tuesday in Carlisle by the sounds of it as the cops were investigating if he broke the law or not apparently.
I have to admit when I seen it I did worry a little bit for him but mostly because of how hard I know he must have taken the way this season has panned out and with his past history of mental health battles it would be enough to send anyone down a bit of a spiral. But that being said I could be way off the mark and it just be a man who went too hard too quickly with the pubs opening up again as we've all done before.
That's correct, it's not an old video. He hasn't broke English law but he did break Scottish law by travelling cross border for a jolly and not essential travel.
Max_Shah
15-04-2021, 07:20 PM
That's correct, it's not an old video. He hasn't broke English law but he did break Scottish law by travelling cross border for a jolly and not essential travel.
I truly hope he has the courage to get the help he so desperately needs.
15-04-2021, 08:01 PM
I truly hope he has the courage to get the help he so desperately needs.
do you know something the rest of us don’t or why does he “desperately” need help?
ErinGoBraghHFC
15-04-2021, 08:45 PM
I doubt anybody here would but please don’t post the video on this forum.
Thanks.
Yep, should've mentioned in my post. I don't know whether Lennon is struggling with mental health issues at the moment and I'm in no way trying or wishing to speculate as to whether he is or not. He might just be bevvied after a night at the boozer with his pals, if so fair play, I'm jealous 😁 if not, I hope he's alright and gets any support he may be needing.
Also, the pond life that decided to take and post the video is not only the **** of the Earth, but also a *****bag of the highest order.
15-04-2021, 08:53 PM
I'm no fan of Neil Lennon but the guy has had to put up with fans protesting outside the ground wanting him out for most of the past year after making an arse of 10 in a row and and had some serious scrutiny from the media. Let the man get pissed and let his hair down ffs.
The Tubs
15-04-2021, 09:02 PM
I'd say he's fair game to be snitched on to the bizzies. He can get steaming if he wants, but a public figure breaking the rules during this pandemic definitely deserves to be grassed up.
Cummings was slightly more extreme, being a hypocritical policymaker, but the idea is similar. Indeed, talking of being hypocritical, did Lennon not chuck Bolingoli under a bus?
15-04-2021, 09:12 PM
***** starting point to a thread that has been resurrected across 8 months and managed to get steadily *****r really.