View Full Version : Neil Lennon

Pages : 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10

30-11-2020, 02:51 PM
i don’t need to. I’ve got my Irish passport. But I can tell you what the rules are. If you’re from Ireland (the island) you are entitled to an Irish passport. If you’re from Northern Ireland you’re also entitled to a British one. Many have one or the other. Many, like myself, take advantage of the fact you can have both.

Nobody cares...

Celtic are pants....hahaha

Lennon is not doing a great job....chuckle

that's it.

30-11-2020, 02:52 PM
Nobody cares...

that's it.

Bigot.

30-11-2020, 02:53 PM
Nobody cares...

that's it.

one person clearly does.

30-11-2020, 02:56 PM
one person clearly does.

Ok I'll re-phrase that...no one else cares

30-11-2020, 02:57 PM
i don’t need to. I’ve got my Irish passport. But I can tell you what the rules are. If you’re from Ireland (the island) you are entitled to an Irish passport. If you’re from Northern Ireland you’re also entitled to a British one. Many have one or the other. Many, like myself, take advantage of the fact you can have both.

Anyone born on the island of Ireland (yes, both the Republic and Northern Ireland) before January 1, 2005, is automatically eligible for Irish citizenship – even if your parents don't hold Irish passports.

After that date, Irish citizenship is not automatic and the citizenship and residency history of both parents is taken into account – basically, you'll need to prove your parents were living in Ireland for three of the four years prior to your birth.
However, if you were born in Ireland after January 1, 2005 and at least one parent was an Irish citizen at the time, you are also automatically eligible.

The 2005 cut-off point exists because of a referendum abolishing birthright citizenship the previous year.
2. I have an Irish parent(s)

Next up, you're automatically eligible for Irish citizenship if at least one of your parents was born in Ireland before 2005.

So what did you make of my point about why Lennon has received the hatred he has?

30-11-2020, 03:00 PM

well there you have it superfurryhibby. Worcesterhibby has spoken.

30-11-2020, 03:02 PM
There is a part of me wondering why Celtic have been allowed to slip the way they have. Part of me wonders if they think that Sevco winning the league is the only thing that can save Sevco from themselves bearing in mind the debt Sevco have. Bit of a mental concept I know but Lawwell and Desmond may be thinking longer term and trying to retain the Ugly Sisters at any cost.

30-11-2020, 03:02 PM
well there you have it superfurryhibby. Worcesterhibby has spoken.

So I was right then? Thanks.

30-11-2020, 03:07 PM
There is a part of me wondering why Celtic have been allowed to slip the way they have. Part of me wonders if they think that Sevco winning the league is the only thing that can save Sevco from themselves bearing in mind the debt Sevco have. Bit of a mental concept I know but Lawwell and Desmond may be thinking longer term and trying to retain the Ugly Sisters at any cost.

I've heard some crazy conspiracy theories in my time...but that one takes some beating

30-11-2020, 03:11 PM
Exactly.

The way people are so hurt at the fact folk are laughing at the shambles the Celtic manager has turned Celtic into after doing similar to us is hilarious.
Yep and turning it into a anti Irish argument is ignorant and generally insulting to Scottish people.

30-11-2020, 03:15 PM
right I think we may have finally got this thread sussed...

1) Celtic are a bit Jarkko Wiss

2) Turns out Neil Lennon isn't a born Winner

3) Anyone at all can be Irish, but you had to ask santa, by writing to him on a 4 leaf clover before Jan 1st 2005

(Yes I'm bored and meant to be WFH today)

30-11-2020, 03:16 PM
Shouldn't this all be in the other part of the forum. There is almost no Football chat in this thread now.

30-11-2020, 03:18 PM

The part of you that also thinks Oswald did Dallas all on his own? :greengrin

Bangkok Hibby
30-11-2020, 03:19 PM

I don't care

Shouldn't this all be in the other part of the forum. There is almost no Football chat in this thread now.

See above, Celtic are utter ***** and it's hilarious. :greengrin :aok:

Yep and turning it into a anti Irish argument is ignorant and generally insulting to Scottish people.

So is denying Lennon has been the victim of numerous sectarian attacks since he came to Scotkand.

30-11-2020, 03:23 PM

So is denying Lennon has been the victim of numerous sectarian attacks since he came to Scotkand.

I haven't. Because he has.

He's not been hated/disliked/attacked because Scotland has a massive anti-Irish issue. He's disliked because he's a tit and hated because there's bigoted maniacs out there.

Bangkok Hibby
30-11-2020, 03:25 PM

He's not been hated/disliked/attacked because Scotland has a massive anti-Irish issue. He's disliked because he's a tit and hated because there's bigoted maniacs out there.

Come on hibs.net bring in a "like" function

30-11-2020, 03:28 PM

This keeps getting mentioned but I’m yet to see anybody actually deny this?

30-11-2020, 03:29 PM
So I was right then? Thanks.

about Neil Lennon being subjected to bigoted sectarian abuse in Scotland? Absolutely.

About Neil Lennon not being Irish? No.

Magpie
26 pages on Neil Lennon 🤣

Neil Lennon proves he is a born winner (of the Greggs Steak Bake eating Challenge):greengrin:greengrin

30-11-2020, 03:33 PM
Neil Lennon proves he is a born winner (of the Greggs Steak Bake eating Challenge):greengrin:greengrin

bit of lockdown weight :greengrin

though in fairness, he never looked like a great athlete when he playing.

30-11-2020, 03:33 PM

I think you’re confusing anti Irish with anti catholicism, which was the point I was trying to make earlier when I said that Lennon isn’t Irish.

Even worse, he’s an Ulster catholic, that’s why he’s so hated by some, That is why he’s been attacked numerous times and had bullets sent to him etc, etc. Not because he’s Irish, not because he’s a tit.

30-11-2020, 03:34 PM

Exactly. He hardly covers himself in glory in his personal life either. Very easy to dislike him, his antics as a player, his conspiracy theories and refs are cheats nonsense as a manager, his fall outs whenever the going gets tough etc. Does that mean some hate him due to his religion? Absolutely, however the vast majority of Scotland that dislike him is purely based on his personality and actions. Pretty much the same way as the majority of Scotland have a fairly strong dislike of Kyle Lafferty based on his actions, with a minority of those hating him due to his nationality and religion.

30-11-2020, 03:46 PM
Come on hibs.net bring in a "like" function

:greengrin :aok:

30-11-2020, 03:53 PM
I think you’re confusing anti Irish with anti catholicism, which was the point I was trying to make earlier when I said that Lennon isn’t Irish.

Even worse, he’s an Ulster catholic, that’s why he’s so hated by some, That is why he’s been attacked numerous times and had bullets sent to him etc, etc. Not because he’s Irish, not because he’s a tit.

But he's generally disliked by the majority of Scottish football fans because of nothing to do with any of the above, because he's not very nice on the football field.

It was also claimed previously it was because Scotland has a anti-Irish issue, that's what my argument was, because it hasn't. It's also quite lazy to say it's all because his religion and he's Northern Irish at Celtic. Martin O' Neil was exactly the same and nobody had any problem with him generally.

Of course you have bigots that hate him because he's a Catholic NI man captaining Celtic but Lennon for years strolled, said, did what he liked and always hid behind bigotry and Celtic fans on the other hand LOVED him because he was exactly that, a Catholic NI captain playing for Celtic. That is also bigoted the other way about.

Exactly. He hardly covers himself in glory in his personal life either. Very easy to dislike him, his antics as a player, his conspiracy theories and refs are cheats nonsense as a manager, his fall outs whenever the going gets tough etc. Does that mean some hate him due to his religion? Absolutely, however the vast majority of Scotland that dislike him is purely based on his personality and actions. Pretty much the same way as the majority of Scotland have a fairly strong dislike of Kyle Lafferty based on his actions, with a minority of those hating him due to his nationality and religion.

Spot on. :top marks

The same way nobody cared Steven Robinson or Craigan or Michael Smith of Hearts or Boyce.

Boyce is a catholic NI man up front for Hearts, he supports Celtic. Please explain someone why he's not hated or there wasn't mass-protests by bigoted jambos signing him?

30-11-2020, 03:56 PM

Actually, his theory sounds more like the Red Dwarf episode, Tikka to Ride (https://www.dailymotion.com/video/x6i18fs), where a future JFK came back and shot himself, for the greater good..

30-11-2020, 04:02 PM

The thought had crossed my mind. The two clubs are business partners in bigotry after all.

If Celtc won 10IAR and the Sevco high command chucked it, the Rangers either go into administration within months or cut their cloth and become mediocre cannon fodder again. Neither is good from a Celtc point of view... in the absence of any discernible progress in Europe, they need to keep the hatred burning in order to keep their punters hooked.

30-11-2020, 04:08 PM

Rangers aren't actually in trouble. They wouldn't be spending millions on players if they were. Last time they didn't sign guys for like 18 months.

You actually think Celtic are fixing games to give the huns a league title to help them out?

30-11-2020, 04:08 PM
The thought had crossed my mind. The two clubs are business partners in bigotry after all.

If Celtc won 10IAR and the Sevco high command chucked it, the Rangers either go into administration within months or cut their cloth and become mediocre cannon fodder again. Neither is good from a Celtc point of view... in the absence of any discernible progress in Europe, they need to keep the hatred burning in order to keep their punters hooked.
Correct. Each side is only relevant if the other exists.

30-11-2020, 04:11 PM
Dunno what's worse covid conspiracy theories or claiming Celtic are gifting Rangers a title .

30-11-2020, 04:13 PM
Rangers aren't actually in trouble. They wouldn't be spending millions on players if they were. Last time they didn't sign guys for like 18 months.

You actually think Celtic are fixing games to give the huns a league title to help them out?

Sevco are relying on millions in Director bail outs season after season. They are spending more money than they make every year.

Technically, you are right - they are not in trouble so long as those directors are happy to keep chucking money in. But a reputable accountant would not sign off accounts like that without noting serious concerns.

30-11-2020, 04:21 PM
Sevco are relying on millions in Director bail outs season after season. They are spending more money than they make every year.

Technically, you are right - they are not in trouble so long as those directors are happy to keep chucking money in. But a reputable accountant would not sign off accounts like that without noting serious concerns.

They sail close to the wind in everything they do.

Ok, it’s all coming off for them right now but they’re a setback or two from being back in the deepest of the deep stuff.

10 in a row kills them.

30-11-2020, 04:22 PM
But he's generally disliked by the majority of Scottish football fans because of nothing to do with any of the above, because he's not very nice on the football field.

It was also claimed previously it was because Scotland has a anti-Irish issue, that's what my argument was, because it hasn't. It's also quite lazy to say it's all because his religion and he's Northern Irish at Celtic. Martin O' Neil was exactly the same and nobody had any problem with him generally.

Of course you have bigots that hate him because he's a Catholic NI man captaining Celtic but Lennon for years strolled, said, did what he liked and always hid behind bigotry and Celtic fans on the other hand LOVED him because he was exactly that, a Catholic NI captain playing for Celtic. That is also bigoted the other way about.

Spot on. :top marks

The same way nobody cared Steven Robinson or Craigan or Michael Smith of Hearts or Boyce.

Boyce is a catholic NI man up front for Hearts, he supports Celtic. Please explain someone why he's not hated or there wasn't mass-protests by bigoted jambos signing him?

Don’t let facts get in the way of branding folk sectarian purely because they find Lennons performance at an odious football club such as Celtic funny.

30-11-2020, 04:27 PM
He "only" got us 4th place

2019/20 - 7th - Heckingbottom then Ross
2018/19 - 5th - Lennon then Heckingbottom
2017/18 - 4th - Lennon
2016/17 - Championship - Lennon
2015/16 - Championship - Stubbs
2014/15 - Championship - Stubbs
2013/14 - 11th - Fenlon then Butcher
2012/13 - 7th - Fenlon
2011/12 - 11th - Calderwood then Fenlon
2010/11 - 10th - Hughes then Calderwood
2009/10 - 4th - Hughes
2008/09 - 6th - Mixu
2007/08 - 6th - Collins then Mixu
2006/07 - 6th - Collins
2005/06 - 4th - Mowbray
2004/05 - 3rd - Mowbray

This is quite interesting. Our slump from 10/11 onwards is quite stark. Calderwood was a disaster. Lennon did ultimately no better than Yogi. Mowbray by far the best.

30-11-2020, 04:32 PM
This is quite interesting. Our slump from 10/11 onwards is quite stark. Calderwood was a disaster. Lennon did ultimately no better than Yogi. Mowbray by far the best.

4th is a great outcome for us ..as that summary shows ....yogi did really well first season - underrated performance I think ...

Magpie
30-11-2020, 04:36 PM
4th is a great outcome for us ..as that summary shows ....yogi did really well first season - underrated performance I think ...

We had some really good players under Yogi. Riordan, Bamba, Stokes, Miller and Zemmama were a joy to watch.

30-11-2020, 04:37 PM
We had some really good players under Yogi. Riordan, Bamba, Stokes, Miller and Zemmama were a joy to watch.

Liam Miller ..Rolls Royce of a player. Loved to watch him play #RIP

30-11-2020, 04:52 PM
Think this is what was meant

https://www.spreaker.com/user/didyeayepodcast/lewis-stevenson-part-1

There are two separate parts

Cheers for the link, just listened to both parts, really enjoyed them. Just reinforced my belief that Lewis Stevenson really is an absolute gem.

30-11-2020, 05:05 PM
Seemingly loads of money gone on Wayne Rooney for next Celtic boss 😂😂

30-11-2020, 05:11 PM
Dunno what's worse covid conspiracy theories or claiming Celtic are gifting Rangers a title .

Exactly! Some folk getting stir crazy from the lockdown and imaginations running riot.

30-11-2020, 05:15 PM

Azets did.

Disclaimer.... No scoobie whether they are reputable or not.😆

SJNB Hibby
30-11-2020, 05:18 PM

Back in the early 2000's I was in the celtic/Rangers supporters club that subscribed to the Setanta satellite broadcasts over here. During the 2001 cup final the Rangers fans were very much in the celtic camp of supporters. Very muchan old firm allegiance out there.

30-11-2020, 05:23 PM
Liam Miller ..Rolls Royce of a player. Loved to watch him play #RIP

For 6 months sure. Was average at best after. His reputation was better than his performance IMO.

30-11-2020, 05:27 PM
For 6 months sure. Was average at best after. His reputation was better than his performance IMO.
Boo!

Would walk into the current midfield that’s for sure

At least he knew how to keep the ball and pass in front of a green jersey

30-11-2020, 05:35 PM
Boo!

Would walk into the current midfield that’s for sure

At least he knew how to keep the ball and pass in front of a green jersey

Na. Time has done him favours here. After the first good spell, he was poor.

30-11-2020, 05:40 PM

Mcbride got injured and was never the same. That effected LM.

30-11-2020, 05:45 PM

As a boy his ambition was to play for Celtic and Man United

Respect for achieving that and representing his country 21 times

He also achieved my boyhood ambition :greengrin

I hear what you are saying but I am struggling to think of any time he let us down

He always gave 100% kept the ball moving and rarely gave it away

His memory goes marching on

30-11-2020, 05:48 PM
As a boy his ambition was to play for Celtic and Man United

Respect for achieving that and representing his country 24 times

He also achieved my boyhood ambition :greengrin

I hear what you are saying but I am struggling to think of any time he let us down

He always gave 100% kept the ball moving and rarely gave it away

His memory goes marching on

He played 33 games, captaining us in a season we finished 10th. I'm not struggling to think of a time he lets us down.

Talented player but I don't think he really wanted it. That was a midfield that Hearts slapped about time and time again.

30-11-2020, 05:54 PM
He played 33 games, captaining us in a season we finished 10th. I'm not struggling to think of a time he lets us down.

Talented player but I don't think he really wanted it. That was a midfield that Hearts slapped about time and time again.
Hearts slapped us about four weeks ago are you having a laugh ?

Struggling to think of any player that night that has his range of passing

Maybe Murphy but wasn’t at his best

I remember Miller pulling the strings in victories over Celtic and Rangers

30-11-2020, 06:18 PM
I was expecting a statement first thing this morning, announcing Lennon's sacking. Surely they aren't letting him continue? It's over, the fans have turned.

30-11-2020, 06:22 PM
I was expecting a statement first thing this morning, announcing Lennon's sacking. Surely they aren't letting him continue? It's over, the fans have turned.

They won’t want to look to pander to the idiots last night. He will be sacked before Thursday. They could ask Zlatan to manage them.

30-11-2020, 06:28 PM
They won’t want to look to pander to the idiots last night. He will be sacked before Thursday. They could ask Zlatan to manage them.

I wouldn’t be surprised if they keep him just now. The euro games are now free hits and in theory they’ve got easy games domestically until the away game at Ibrox (I realise that the way they’re playing then no game is easy :greengrin)

30-11-2020, 06:30 PM
Hearts slapped us about four weeks ago are you having a laugh ?

Struggling to think of any player that night that has his range of passing

Maybe Murphy but wasn’t at his best

I remember Miller pulling the strings in victories over Celtic and Rangers
So? Us losing 4 weeks ago isn't really relevant to his performances 9 years ago?

Miller wasn't particularly good here. If he was half the player you think, I doubt we'd have freed him.

30-11-2020, 06:33 PM

Ironically, the events of last night might work in his favour.

I didn’t think he could survive the result yesterday. But if they were going to bin him, surely it would have happened by now. Celtic won’t want to give the impression they’re giving in to that type of thing.

30-11-2020, 06:38 PM
So? Us losing 4 weeks ago isn't really relevant to his performances 9 years ago?

Miller wasn't particularly good here. If he was half the player you think, I doubt we'd have freed him.
I suppose nothing really changes

I only have good memories of Liam Miller

Cannae mind him missing any pens

Agree that his last wee spell wasn’t great but maybe as another poster implied he missed McBride sharing the burden in midfield and couldn’t do it all himself

As you know I am a big A League fan and I used to enjoy watching him down under where he was a Super Star

Max_Shah
30-11-2020, 06:40 PM
Howe the only available candidate worth considering

Good shout and It would raise the profile of Scottish fitbaw but, lets be realistic, it is very unlikely considering the dude gets vertigo every time he goes north of Knutsford Services!

FWIW - I think he is nailed on for the Arsenal gig then England after the Euro's.

/Effort Post Incoming:

Ra Sellick loyal and Phil MaCkljdbhlugzjif have blackpilled themselves into having Strachan, MON or, even, Steve Clarke until the end of the season. Plenty legit ITK's on Kerryfail are doomer-posting at this very minute.

A thinking Sellick fan [an interesting non-sequitur] would lump their Family Allowance Book on the unholy combo of MON & Roy Keane and/or Strachan plus Kennedy.

> Pals with Desmond - ☑
> Pals with Peter LOL - ☑
> A Sellick Man - ☑
> Played for the club - ☑
> Correct nationality - ☑

TBH: I have asked Santa for an early present of "Banter" MacKay and I have been a very good boy this year. However, NL is still there and the longer this goes on the more unlikely it is he gets his cards as Pete loves trolling the best fans in the world™

Anyway, sorry for being a smart arse.

**** them and their self-aggrandizing entitled fans.

30-11-2020, 06:45 PM

not quite sure why you take such a combative tone........I enjoyed watching Liam Miller as a player, on his game (which in my view there were a number) he was a joy to watch. People have different views on footballers, it's part of the magic of the game.

30-11-2020, 06:47 PM
not quite sure why you take such a combative tone........I enjoyed watching Liam Miller as a player, on his game (which in my view there were a number) he was a joy to watch. People have different views on footballers, it's part of the magic of the game.
Said it before I don’t know what some people see when they go to the fitba :greengrin

Magpie
30-11-2020, 07:18 PM

He was brilliant in his first year with us. Was also named in the PFA Scotland Team of the Year.

30-11-2020, 07:26 PM
He was brilliant in his first year with us. Was also named in the PFA Scotland Team of the Year.

Thanks for reminding me of that ...A class act on his game

30-11-2020, 08:01 PM
Thanks for reminding me of that ...A class act on his game

Great player, lucky to have seen him play for Hibs.

30-11-2020, 08:15 PM
Jack Ross the latest rumour 😂

30-11-2020, 08:45 PM

Rodgers talks highly about Ross so that’s where any rumours will be coming from about him. If Celtic look to take advice from Rodgers, which they might do, then he may well recommend him.

Absolutely zero chance of him getting the job though.

Magpie
30-11-2020, 08:48 PM

Would be a poor appointment tbh

h1bs4life
30-11-2020, 08:51 PM

Boy I work with lives through the West and said rumour doing the rounds while someone else mentioned Martin O'Neil with Roy Keane
No chance of Ross slight chance of O'Neil

30-11-2020, 09:06 PM
Rodgers talks highly about Ross so that’s where any rumours will be coming from about him. If Celtic look to take advice from Rodgers, which they might do, then he may well recommend him.

Absolutely zero chance of him getting the job though.

I’m not in any rush to lose Ross, and the Celtc rumour is clearly nonsense, but if we got good money for him and got the next appointment right I’d be able to make my peace with it.

Could get someone like Collins to keep hibs.net busy 😀

30-11-2020, 09:07 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201130/506b035156c9674765061d89bf8a514b.png

30-11-2020, 09:09 PM
I’m not in any rush to lose Ross, and the Celtc rumour is clearly nonsense, but if we got good money for him and got the next appointment right I’d be able to make my piece with it.

Getting the next appointment right is always a gamble and the potential upside is what really?

30-11-2020, 09:14 PM
Getting the next appointment right is always a gamble and the potential upside is what really?

Getting an exciting sounding foreign manager with a raj name, smokes cigars on the touchline and goes fighting with the opposition manager. Also only signs Brazilians that make us play exciting football, regularly winning games 6-5.

I won’t rest until that happens.

30-11-2020, 09:20 PM

Continues the good work of Ross and uses Ross’ compensation wisely. As I said not in any rush to lose Ross, but I do wish he would stop with 442 as we don’t have the players for it (I know you disagree and that’s fair enough).

Stendel would be quite entertaining 😀

30-11-2020, 09:22 PM
Getting an exciting sounding foreign manager with a raj name, smokes cigars on the touchline and goes fighting with the opposition manager. Also only signs Brazilians that make us play exciting football, regularly winning games 6-5.

Yeah that is fair enough actually.

30-11-2020, 09:25 PM

why is Robbie Neilson not in that list? 😂😂😂

30-11-2020, 09:33 PM
Ross now bookies favourite. Ffs.

30-11-2020, 09:35 PM

Means nothing.

It’s just gullible idiots believing that text that’s doing the rounds and putting money on him.

Daily record reporting Lennon not being sacked and will be in charge for the Milan game on Thursday.

30-11-2020, 09:37 PM

There is absolutely no chance Ross will be the next Celtic manager.

That lot would go absolutely mental if they appointed him.

The Wireless
30-11-2020, 09:41 PM
I’m not in any rush to lose Ross, and the Celtc rumour is clearly nonsense, but if we got good money for him and got the next appointment right I’d be able to make my peace with it.

Who would make the next appointment ?

30-11-2020, 09:52 PM
I’m annoyed at the way this Dubai thing has turned out, but I actually think it’s quite funny that they’re off on a risk taking jolly at a time of crisis for them. I can’t begin to imagine what the atmosphere is like in Paradise just now. They’ll be secretively splitting into pro and anti Lennon factions, unable to trust each other, Lawwell will be looking over his shoulder to see what DD is going to do because his job must be on the line as well as Lennon’s. A couple more defeats in the next few weeks will add even more spice to the soap opera in terms of their internal strife and, even more enjoyable, push the ‘best fans in the world’, into the abyss. I never thought that Celtic would be providing us with hours of popcorn scoffing entertainment.

Magpie
30-11-2020, 10:20 PM
Thought he would have been gone today but it seems he either still has the confidence of the board or they want him to stay in place until they can find his successor.

30-11-2020, 10:27 PM
Who would make the next appointment ?

Me.

If not we could ask Leeann and failing that, there’s always the owner.

LeithMike
30-11-2020, 10:31 PM

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkDont think he'd take it but surprised Steve Clarke is not even quoted there. Martin O'Neill to the end of the season sounds like the best option in the short term.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

30-11-2020, 10:40 PM
Dont think he'd take it but surprised Steve Clarke is not even quoted there. Martin O'Neill to the end of the season sounds like the best option in the short term.

Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk

He's already said he's not keen in getting into all that sectarian nonsense.

30-11-2020, 11:19 PM
They would be better going for Michael O'Neil rather than Martin O'Neil. Michael has proved that he can get 100% out of average players. If Martin O'Neil is not given money he is a average at best manager.

01-12-2020, 01:28 AM

I will call my cousin in Bele Horizonte to see if he will come over. He was at the 2-1 October 87 game and loves Hibs.

01-12-2020, 05:20 AM

They'd better stock up on fences outside Celtic Park if they appoint Ross.

01-12-2020, 05:52 AM
I will call my cousin in Bele Horizonte to see if he will come over. He was at the 2-1 October 87 game and loves Hibs.

Belo Horizonte - blummin predictive text is crop :) never been but have a mate who’s wife is from Uberaba.

01-12-2020, 05:55 AM

Agree there were some games he was excellent in. Can remember one at Motherwell when he completely ran the show and was quality.

Sounds like he had an offer to go to Australian league and who can really blame him given how poor Hibs were at that time under Calderwood I think and the amazing lifestyle in Perth.

01-12-2020, 06:16 AM
Agree there were some games he was excellent in. Can remember one at Motherwell when he completely ran the show and was quality.

Sounds like he had an offer to go to Australian league and who can really blame him given how poor Hibs were at that time under Calderwood I think and the amazing lifestyle in Perth.
Was quality

Would defo walk into the current midfield

01-12-2020, 06:18 AM
Was quality

Agree totally.

01-12-2020, 06:27 AM
Belo Horizonte - blummin predictive text is crop :) never been but have a mate who’s wife is from Uberaba.

My father's family are from the state about 60 miles south of Uberaba. Beautiful countryside and Pelé's home state (Minas Gerais). Cousin was in the East that October 87 day. Said Hibs fans were crazier than Brazilian fans. Explained not always like that and why.

01-12-2020, 08:17 AM
Liam Miller was cracking player for Hibs.

I can’t believe that’s even up for debate.

The team was in decline by the time he left (he understandably looked better with a fit McBride beside him and Stokes up front than some of the absolute jokers who were signed to replace them) but his contribution was immense.

That night at Parkhead when Galbraith scored the winner. Miller ran the show in midfield and I saw the best of Hanlon at CB for the first time.

01-12-2020, 08:18 AM
Miller was quality no doubts about it

01-12-2020, 08:19 AM
Loved LM, really classy player.

01-12-2020, 10:12 AM
Was quality

The miller folk seem to remember from his first 6 months would, yes. The 18 months after wouldn't get near the side. I always feel when you can pick 3/4 games they played well in, that says it all. Do we pick out specific McGinn games? No chance. Thats an actual quality player.

Some examples of threads from the time

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?181767-Liam-Miller&highlight=Liam+miller

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?171990-Liam-Miller&highlight=Liam+miller

I think he had talent but I don't think he really had the drive like a McGinn type to get the most from it. A horrible shame he was taken so young. He achieved good things in his career no doubt about it.

Key West
01-12-2020, 10:20 AM
Miller was an outstanding player, sometimes he was let down by team mates not being on the same wavelength.

Clarence
01-12-2020, 10:25 AM
Liam Miller was a good player for us. Similar type of impact to Stephen Glass. Very steady and high standard of play but probably not as spectacular as earlier in their career so some folk would not see them as being a success.

Key West
01-12-2020, 10:30 AM
I wish Neil Lennon well except at our expense, it looks like his attitude or methods might belong to a different era or maybe his players are acting like spoilt brats despite their massive wages and responsibilities. Celtic are a stepping stone for a lot of footballers just like other teams.
I hope they get their act together for at least one game that being the Scottish Cup Final against Hearts.

01-12-2020, 10:47 AM
The miller folk seem to remember from his first 6 months would, yes. The 18 months after wouldn't get near the side. I always feel when you can pick 3/4 games they played well in, that says it all. Do we pick out specific McGinn games? No chance. Thats an actual quality player.

Some examples of threads from the time

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?181767-Liam-Miller&highlight=Liam+miller

https://www.hibs.net/showthread.php?171990-Liam-Miller&highlight=Liam+miller

I think he had talent but I don't think he really had the drive like a McGinn type to get the most from it. A horrible shame he was taken so young. He achieved good things in his career no doubt about it.

Yip

Different type of player from SJM

Imagine SJM and Liam Miller in the same midfield with a McGeouch and a Matty Jack or a Scott Allan ?

I think we should leave it at that and keep this thread on track

01-12-2020, 10:47 AM
I thought this thread was about Neil Lennon?

Has he been sacked yet?

01-12-2020, 10:50 AM
Miller was an outstanding player, sometimes he was let down by team mates not being on the same wavelength.

Nail on the head. Jimmy Scott and Thornhill :greengrin

01-12-2020, 10:53 AM
They'd better stock up on fences outside Celtic Park if they appoint Ross.

If they did It would surprise me a straight swap for Kennedy this time.

01-12-2020, 11:00 AM
I thought this thread was about Neil Lennon?

Has he been sacked yet?

Shhh, we are now discussing the merits of a player who passed away two years ago.

Back on topic, Terry Butcher for Celtic anyone?

01-12-2020, 11:04 AM
He stays (for now)

https://news.stv.tv/sport/lennon-stays-in-charge-for-milan-game-after-positive-talks?top

Key West
01-12-2020, 11:08 AM

No disrespect to him ( having played most of my best football in the Sunday pub leagues ) but you could add Colin Nish at times.

Anyhow better get back to Neil Lennon for fear of getting told off.

01-12-2020, 11:10 AM

To think the amount of ***** we signed in the early 2010s.

01-12-2020, 11:24 AM
No disrespect to him ( having played most of my best football in the Sunday pub leagues ) but you could add Colin Nish at times.

Anyhow better get back to Neil Lennon for fear of getting told off.

Indeed. A much better discussion than hasn't been done before :greengrin

01-12-2020, 12:31 PM
I think we should leave it at that and keep this thread on track

I think that ship sailed about 15 pages ago.

01-12-2020, 12:36 PM
He stays (for now)

https://news.stv.tv/sport/lennon-stays-in-charge-for-milan-game-after-positive-talks?top

Next game in the league for them at home to St. Johnstone.

Massive gamble to keep him on for another league game considering that could see them fourteen points behind if that goes wrong. Even with games in hand eleven points is a chasm, fourteen would be league over.

01-12-2020, 12:39 PM

01-12-2020, 12:48 PM

Which reminds me...

How does everybody feel about the failure of the UK Government to protect the rights of the British Fishermen in their negotiations with the EU?

Does Neil Lennon go fishing on the river Liffy and, if he does, are the fish he catches actually Irish? Or are they just catholic, so only edible on a Friday?

01-12-2020, 12:53 PM

Massive gamble to keep him on for another league game considering that could see them fourteen points behind if that goes wrong. Even with games in hand eleven points is a chasm, fourteen would be league over.

Definitely. Their boards arrogance it seems wins the day. We done the same with Calderwood and Butcher.

01-12-2020, 01:03 PM

Massive gamble to appoint a new manager too, then.

If they win their two games in hand they are 5 points behind the Rangerz, less than halfway through the season. Not good from their point of view but hardly irrecoverable.

01-12-2020, 01:23 PM

Could be a bigger gamble as they’re not going to sack him after they win a game.

Beating St Johnstone at home wouldn’t do anything to suggest they’ve turned a corner and would just be delaying the inevitable.

Imo they’re waiting to get pumped off Milan and then he’ll be away before the next league game.

01-12-2020, 01:36 PM
Could be a bigger gamble as they’re not going to sack him after they win a game.

Beating St Johnstone at home wouldn’t do anything to suggest they’ve turned a corner and would just be delaying the inevitable.

Imo they’re waiting to get pumped off Milan and then he’ll be away before the next league game.

It is a strange one. On the presumption that you can’t expect them to win away to Milan you can’t really sack him on the back of that game unless it’s a demolition.

Presuming they beat St Johnstone at home, as you say, it doesn’t really prove anything and you’d have to presume they’re just keeping him on for a decent while yet unless he somehow manages to also lose that one.

I reckon they’ll be double figures behind by the new year and that’s not including games in hand as well.

01-12-2020, 01:48 PM
It is a strange one. On the presumption that you can’t expect them to win away to Milan you can’t really sack him on the back of that game unless it’s a demolition.

Presuming they beat St Johnstone at home, as you say, it doesn’t really prove anything and you’d have to presume they’re just keeping him on for a decent while yet unless he somehow manages to also lose that one.

I reckon they’ll be double figures behind by the new year and that’s not including games in hand as well.

Perhaps they still think that overall he is the man for the job and will turn it around?

Sackings aren’t always the way to go due to form. They will see and know what he is actually doing in his job.

01-12-2020, 01:51 PM

They better not be giving him up until the cup final! :bitchy:

01-12-2020, 01:51 PM
My only interest in Celtic is that they are not dire enough to get beaten on the 20th. Other than that, couldn't care less about them.

01-12-2020, 02:07 PM
They better not be giving him up until the cup final! :bitchy:

I just don't understand all the worry on here about Celtic not beating them on the 20th. I mean what on earth does it matter to us if the maroon ones win the cup?

:timebomb:

01-12-2020, 02:36 PM
Perhaps they still think that overall he is the man for the job and will turn it around?

Sackings aren’t always the way to go due to form. They will see and know what he is actually doing in his job.

That's entirely possible but in the cauldron of the Old Firm, success is expected every season or you're out.

Since returning to Celtc, this is the biggest challenge that he's been presented with and, if he fails to deliver the holy grail of 10iar, he might never be forgiven by large parts of their support.

01-12-2020, 02:40 PM
That's entirely possible but in the cauldron of the Old Firm, success is expected every season or you're out.

Since returning to Celtc, this is the biggest challenge that he's been presented with and, if he fails to deliver the holy grail of 10iar, he might never be forgiven by large parts of their support.

The season isn’t over though.

I don’t particularly care what they do but there’s as much chance of an uplift with him there as there is changing it. Think he’s earned getting his way back out of a tight spot.

01-12-2020, 02:51 PM
I think the celtc board are on a hiding to nothing. If they sack NL they will need to come up with a replacement who will
1. Hit the ground running and not lose any more ground to the huns
2. Meet with the expectation of the celtc support and going from what I have read they want a EPL level manager
3. Win the title, given their current position that isn't going to be easy as it will involve the huns dropping points.

If they keep NL in place, he has shown that he can turn around a season after the new year albeit this season is the worst position they've found themselves in.

The gamble is greater if you replace NL

01-12-2020, 02:51 PM

It’s that ludicrous a suggestion that i didn’t even consider it. Even funnier if that’s what they think in that case.

We can also see what he’s doing in his job and it’s pretty hilarious. He can create all the common rooms etc at Lennoxtown he wants, if the board like that side of things enough to keep him on at the expense of results on the pitch then even better.

Magpie
01-12-2020, 02:53 PM
They are probably in the process of trying to find a replacement.

01-12-2020, 02:57 PM

It might just be that they’ve not got anyone lined up yet and don’t want a period with a stand in manager. Either way it’s risky for them, they need to be decisive and get a new man in n matter how much it costs them.

01-12-2020, 02:58 PM
It might just be that they’ve not got anyone lined up yet and don’t want a period with a stand in manager. Either way it’s risky for them, they need to be decisive and get a new man in n matter how much it costs them.

Might be. They’d be better with an interim manager at this point though. The players have given up the ghost under Lennon.

01-12-2020, 03:03 PM
Might be. They’d be better with an interim manager at this point though. The players have given up the ghost under Lennon.
It certainly looks that way.

01-12-2020, 03:10 PM

It’s not just the form that’s an issue, the money he has spent is eye watering and the squad he has assembled looks poor and like a lot more money will be required to correct it. I’m not sure I’d trust Lennon with any more money in January especially given it’s to correct his previous transfer failings.

I think it’s like the end at Hibs, it’s all but a case of when rather than if IMO

01-12-2020, 03:16 PM
The new manager will be in next week.

They will wait till AC Milan hump them on Thurs resulting in the final nail in Lennon's coffin.

01-12-2020, 03:21 PM
The new manager will be in next week.

They will wait till AC Milan hump them on Thurs resulting in the final nail in Lennon's coffin.

More likely they scrape a draw and Lenny gets a new 3 year contract. Meltdown at Darkheid

big gogs
01-12-2020, 03:34 PM
I just don't understand all the worry on here about Celtic not beating them on the 20th. I mean what on earth does it matter to us if the maroon ones win the cup?

:timebomb:
I don’t care if they win the cup,4 years ago we broke their hearts ,that is good enough for me ,they can’t have the open top bus.I just don’t care.

01-12-2020, 03:46 PM
I don’t care if they win the cup,4 years ago we broke their hearts ,that is good enough for me ,they can’t have the open top bus.I just don’t care.

I don’t want hearts to win a game of kerbie let alone the Scottish cup 🤣🤣

01-12-2020, 03:48 PM

I'm exactly the same.

Though as bad as Celtic are, hearts just got beat of Alloa. I have no worries Celtic will pump them in the final. Regardless of who's in charge of them.

01-12-2020, 03:57 PM
I'm exactly the same.

Though as bad as Celtic are, hearts just got beat of Alloa. I have no worries Celtic will pump them in the final. Regardless of who's in charge of them.

I watched their game on Sunday.

They've got a few decent players and will dominate possession in most games they play but look short of a cutting edge going forward. Against us they got a fortunate penalty and their LB managed to capitalise on a crap clearance but other than that, in spite of having loads of the ball and flattering to deceive a bit they didn't create all that much. If anything, they were lucky we didn't score again when we were 2-0 up and pretty rampant.

They need a better threat out wide. They need to do certain defensive basics much better than they have been doing. They also look to me like they need to catch a break - to score first, to let them settle down and play a bit again. It's that cycle of losing the first goal and then panicking that is so familiar.

Do they need a new manager to do that? They shouldn't do, but the manager they have is in a cycle there very similar to the one he didn't stick around to get us out of so you have to wonder.

I'm not writing them off. If I was still gambling then I'd fancy the odds of them from their position more than I fancy those of Rangers, who have no track record of getting the job done and are yet to hit and cope with any sort of blip.

01-12-2020, 03:59 PM
I'm exactly the same.

We drew with Celtc and Hearts beat us, so that means Hearts are better than Celtc.

Although, Alloa just beat Hearts, so that makes them better than all three.

With all that in mind, I'm now dreading the SC Final... and the next round of the League Cup.

01-12-2020, 04:01 PM

Do you think 2012 broke us? Very naive to think they'll give 2 ****s about us or 2016 if they win the cup again.

01-12-2020, 04:09 PM
They are probably in the process of trying to find a replacement.

Quite possibly, as this has an inevitable outcome. It's a big surprise he's being allowed to continue; the players look fed up and the fans are furious. I don't see the point in dragging it out, but it's their decision.

big gogs
01-12-2020, 04:37 PM
Do you think 2012 broke us? Very naive to think they'll give 2 ****s about us or 2016 if they win the cup again.
2012 never broke us ,it hurt for a couple of days,but it only broke us in their tiny minds,jambos I know told me they were glad we won the cup,you could see in their faces it hurt.I am67,and you can take it I am not Nieve.you say they won’t give 2fxxks about us if they win the cup,I’ll bet your phone will be ringing all the time as the gloat,and they will.

01-12-2020, 04:39 PM
2012 never broke us ,it hurt for a couple of days,but it only broke us in their tiny minds,jambos I know told me they were glad we won the cup,you could see in their faces it hurt.I am67,and you can take it I am not Nieve.you say they won’t give 2fxxks about us if they win the cup,I’ll bet your phone will be ringing all the time as the gloat,and they will.

I said they wont care about 2016 if they win. Which they wont.

01-12-2020, 05:15 PM
Lennon going nowhere :greengrin

https://www.celticfc.com/news/2020/december/Chief-Executive-We-now-need-strength-in-adversity/

01-12-2020, 05:54 PM

https://www.celticfc.com/news/2020/december/Chief-Executive-We-now-need-strength-in-adversity/

An excellent decision by the Celtic board. I hope that Lennon continues to do the magnificent job he has been doing so far. :greengrin

01-12-2020, 06:09 PM

Probably because they haven’t anyone lined up to replace him...yet

01-12-2020, 06:22 PM
Incredible Lawwell and Rodders are defo' one and the same.

01-12-2020, 06:25 PM

This, in absolute shovelfuls

01-12-2020, 06:46 PM

I find that pretty mad but it’s probably reflected in the lack of alternative options out there.

Sack Lennon and then what? Recruit a high profile manager to keep the hoardes happy but doesn’t know Scottish football? Normally I’d argue they don’t need to know Scottish football but whoever replaces Lennon needs to hit the ground running instantly.

Who knows Scottish football and Sellic better than Lennon? I completely dismissed the Jack Ross rumour (and still don’t think it’ll happen) but if they got rid of Lennon tomorrow and need to replace him quickly there’s not many good options there. If you also add in possible financial constraints then Ross may make more sense than it first appears.

I suspect that’s why they’re sticking with Lennon.

01-12-2020, 06:53 PM
If you were a Celtic fan right now you'd be in a world of anger, pain and misery haha. Fantastic.

01-12-2020, 07:04 PM
If you were a Celtic fan right now you'd be in a world of anger, pain and misery haha. Fantastic.

Near enough every Celtic fan I’ve spoke to/seen posting on social media desperately want rid of him. It’s not just a case of thinking time is up, it’s absolutely desperately wanting rid.

Once you get to that stage there’s no coming back. Especially when you’re really not that good a manager as well.

01-12-2020, 07:06 PM
I find that pretty mad but it’s probably reflected in the lack of alternative options out there.

Sack Lennon and then what? Recruit a high profile manager to keep the hoardes happy but doesn’t know Scottish football? Normally I’d argue they don’t need to know Scottish football but whoever replaces Lennon needs to hit the ground running instantly.

Who knows Scottish football and Sellic better than Lennon? I completely dismissed the Jack Ross rumour (and still don’t think it’ll happen) but if they got rid of Lennon tomorrow and need to replace him quickly there’s not many good options there. If you also add in possible financial constraints then Ross may make more sense than it first appears.

I suspect that’s why they’re sticking with Lennon.

Literally anybody different would see an up turn for Celtic. They’re getting their ***** handed to them every other game now, they’re not just losing to a sucker punch.

There’s not a manager (within reason of course before somebody starts asking if the Spartans manager or such like would do a better job :greengrin) that would do such a shambolic job as the one Lennon has done this season.

01-12-2020, 07:10 PM
Literally anybody different would see an up turn for Celtic. They’re getting their ***** handed to them every other game now, they’re not just losing to a sucker punch.

There’s not a manager (within reason of course before somebody starts asking if the Spartans manager or such like would do a better job :greengrin) that would do such a shambolic job as the one Lennon has done this season.

Yes but not just anybody would appease the masses.

If they replace Lennon with someone like Jack Ross for example it won’t relieve the pressure on the board. If they replace him with a higher profile name, first of all it’ll be expensive, secondly, it will take time to appoint them and thirdly probably a fair chance it won’t work if they have to get used to the squad and Scottish football.

Getting rid of Lennon now wouldn’t really solve any problems for the board in terms of the pressure they’re under. The only way out of this for them short term is for Lennon to turn this around, despite how unlikely that seems just now.

01-12-2020, 07:14 PM
Yes but not just anybody would appease the masses.

If they replace Lennon with someone like Jack Ross for example it won’t relieve the pressure on the board. If they replace him with a higher profile name, first of all it’ll be expensive, secondly, it will take time to appoint them and thirdly probably a fair chance it won’t work if they have to get used to the squad and Scottish football.

Getting rid of Lennon now wouldn’t really solve any problems for the board in terms of the pressure they’re under. The only way out of this for them short term is for Lennon to turn this around, despite how unlikely that seems just now.

Fans are appeased by results. If Jack Ross was appointed and won his next 5 or 6 games including the Cup final and old firm game they wouldn't care how big a name he is.

01-12-2020, 07:20 PM
Interesting odds for Lennon’s successor, according to the Herald:

https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/18910317.celtic-manager-latest-odds-slashed-current-scottish-premiership-boss/

01-12-2020, 07:30 PM
Kennedy will get the job on an interim basis and win the Cup, which will give him to the end of the season. That's when Celtc will look to make a permanent appointment.

Anyone taking the job at the moment will have to win that ten in a row, or the fans will turn against them.

01-12-2020, 07:36 PM
Kennedy will get the job on an interim basis and win the Cup, which will give him to the end of the season. That's when Celtc will look to make a permanent appointment.

Anyone taking the job at the moment will have to win that ten in a row, or the fans will turn against them.

I think Ross would take it. His CEO is leaving soon and he will be probably recommended by Rodgers.

01-12-2020, 07:46 PM
I think Ross would take it. His CEO is leaving soon and he will be probably recommended by Rodgers.

There’s absolutely no doubt he’d take the job. Nothing to do with Dempster leaving though.

01-12-2020, 07:49 PM
There’s absolutely no doubt he’d take the job. Nothing to do with Dempster leaving though.

He’d definitely take it...it’s a great role, and would secure him financially....not a chance he will get offered it at this stage. What has got on his CV to be their next manager? not won a major trophy nor has he any European experience

01-12-2020, 07:53 PM
He’d definitely take it...it’s a great role, and would secure him financially....not a chance he will get offered it at this stage. What has got on his CV to be their next manager? not won a major trophy nor has he any European experience

Agree.

The only way he’ll get it is if Celtic really want someone with a good knowledge of Scottish football that they hope could hit the ground running and take over quickly.

Can’t see it though.

01-12-2020, 07:55 PM
A few Celtic fans I know have been very interested in Jack Ross’ progress at Hibs from the moment he took over.

They same to rate him higher than I do.

I mean, I like him. He’s done far more good than bad so far but we’re a work in progress and I don’t think he’s perfect. I don’t think he’s shown enough in his career so far to merit being headhunted by Celtic albeit he has shown plenty of promise to suggest that he might in future.

Can anyone suggest why this is?

01-12-2020, 08:10 PM
A few Celtic fans I know have been very interested in Jack Ross’ progress at Hibs from the moment he took over.

I mean, I like him. He’s done far more good than bad so far but we’re a work in progress and I don’t think he’s perfect. I don’t think he’s shown enough in his career so far to merit being headhunted by Celtic albeit he has shown plenty of promise to suggest that he might in future.

Can anyone suggest why this is?

This isn’t meant as a dig at Jack Ross, but I don’t think there is any chance of him being the next Celtic manager or Celtic even being interested in him at this moment in time.

01-12-2020, 08:12 PM

Can anyone suggest why this is? No idea, the style of football would rule him out I would expect. He has done the course but not really the distance and even his Scottish top league experience is fairly limited and at another level to Celtc. I can't imagine Ross will be considered.

The Celtc board made their life difficult the moment they gave Lennon that second season. The signs were there that season that he was struggling against The Rangers albeit he came out on top. The Rangers were always getting closer and as soon as another window or two had passed Lennon's signings were bound to shorten the gap further. He was the right man to replace Rodgers and see out that season. Any more than that and it was always going to end in tears unless The Rangers went bust

01-12-2020, 08:37 PM
They should chuck money at Rafa Benitez. Never happen though.

01-12-2020, 09:52 PM
di Canio in as short term replacement until summer and then new manager taking over. That's the talk in Glasgow anyway and celtic fans seem to be going for it.

01-12-2020, 09:58 PM
If there was ever a time for Celtic to throw the kitchen sink at an appointment, it’s now. Surely if you are Lawell you go for broke and bring in a huge name manager and some serious marquee signings. If they don’t, the past 9 years will be very much overshadowed by the failure at the final hurdle.

Missing out on John McGinn would arguably be the single greatest oversight in their quest for 10 IAR if they fail. It’s all set up to be a delicious second half of the season. One half of the OF is going to be deeply, deeply unhappy.

01-12-2020, 10:02 PM
di Canio in as short term replacement until summer and then new manager taking over. That's the talk in Glasgow anyway and celtic fans seem to be going for it.

Would be quite amusing to see his reaction to any ‘protest’ about his position if results weren’t going well.

I don’t think it would be the protesters throwing things.

01-12-2020, 10:04 PM
If there was ever a time for Celtic to throw the kitchen sink at an appointment, it’s now. Surely if you are Lawell you go for broke and bring in a huge name manager and some serious marquee signings. If they don’t, the past 9 years will be very much overshadowed by the failure at the final hurdle.

Missing out on John McGinn would arguably be the single greatest oversight in their quest for 10 IAR if they fail. It’s all set up to be a delicious second half of the season. One half of the OF is going to be deeply, deeply unhappy.

John McGinn would have almost single handedly dragged this side to the league.

01-12-2020, 10:09 PM

On the basis Dempster leaving was unsettling him, he’d surely be on the Queens Park shortlist. Then again, maybe he is.

01-12-2020, 10:23 PM

How do people even think this stuff up?

01-12-2020, 10:30 PM

Amazing.

i think they should do it. great box office

01-12-2020, 10:38 PM
How do people even think this stuff up?

I'm not saying that what's happening, just that it's doing the rounds in Glasgow (I live here) and has now made the Evening Times. Celtic fans I know (family) are all for it. To be fare when we were talking about it, they made a bit of sense. He's a club legend who is out of work and is mad enough to take it.

01-12-2020, 11:12 PM
I'm not saying that what's happening, just that it's doing the rounds in Glasgow (I live here) and has now made the Evening Times. Celtic fans I know (family) are all for it. To be fare when we were talking about it, they made a bit of sense. He's a club legend who is out of work and is mad enough to take it.

Yeah didn't mean you, just whoever thought of it. He hasn't been a manager for 7 years, and when he was he wasn't particularly good.

01-12-2020, 11:21 PM

I dunno what it is but I’d much rather that unhappiness be the blue half. Although I am enjoying the Celtic meltdown.

02-12-2020, 06:30 AM
I dunno what it is but I’d much rather that unhappiness be the blue half. Although I am enjoying the Celtic meltdown.

Usually I would agree that if I was forced to pick and I can’t pick both then I’d prefer misfortune for Rangers. Because this is the 10 in a row season though I’m willing to make an exception as it’ll hurt their fans a lot more if they blow it than it would hurt Rangers if they did. It’s pretty damn hilarious

02-12-2020, 08:16 AM
THIS Paolo di Canio?

https://external-content.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fi.dailymail.co.uk%2Fi%2Fpix%2F2013 %2F04%2F07%2Farticle-2305295-01FC42030000044D-867_634x461.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

At Celtc????

https://e00-marca.uecdn.es/assets/multimedia/imagenes/2019/11/08/15732001057100.jpg

02-12-2020, 08:39 AM
Di Canio to Celtic? That's a cracker. More likely to be Billy Broon.

02-12-2020, 08:44 AM
THIS Paolo di Canio?

https://external-content.duckduckgo.com/iu/?u=http%3A%2F%2Fi.dailymail.co.uk%2Fi%2Fpix%2F2013 %2F04%2F07%2Farticle-2305295-01FC42030000044D-867_634x461.jpg&f=1&nofb=1

At Celtc????

https://e00-marca.uecdn.es/assets/multimedia/imagenes/2019/11/08/15732001057100.jpg

Yeah this guy. Guaranteed fireworks.

Can just imagine the Celtc fans desperately justifying his appointment on social media, twisting themselves in knots to show why it's totally fine, before it all goes t!ts up.

For the good of the Scottish game, I believe Celtc have a duty to appoint this high-profile lunatic.

02-12-2020, 08:50 AM
Di Canio stuff purely put up because Si Ferry mentioned him on yesterday’s Open Goal. No chance it’s happening.

02-12-2020, 09:04 AM
Losing 10 in a row is going to be torture for them. I can’t wait.

02-12-2020, 09:06 AM
They should chuck money at Rafa Benitez. Never happen though.

They could chuck all the money they want, hes managing in China. He will laugh.

02-12-2020, 09:13 AM
The Di Canio that right hooks players in the dressing room if he thinks they've not tried hard enough?

Green_one
02-12-2020, 09:30 AM
Guessing an interim manager by early January, probably Martin ONeill or similar

Doubt Kennedy will get the gig. Not ready and seen as part of the problem. Almost never works as a solution.

Celtic will just stumble from one potential crisis to another. The cup final is a key fixture assuming he gets that long,

Meantime they start this phase with a certain loss against Milan. Good plan.

Having a pop at fans who have paid out record sums, to see no football, seems an absurd strategy by the board. Only results can save Lennon and that seems a poor gamble.

02-12-2020, 09:40 AM
The Di Canio that right hooks players in the dressing room if he thinks they've not tried hard enough?

We could've done with a guy like for some of our under performing stars. No wait we did have one of those.

02-12-2020, 10:09 AM
Guessing an interim manager by early January, probably Martin ONeill or similar

Doubt Kennedy will get the gig. Not ready and seen as part of the problem. Almost never works as a solution.

Celtic will just stumble from one potential crisis to another. The cup final is a key fixture assuming he gets that long,

Meantime they start this phase with a certain loss against Milan. Good plan.

Having a pop at fans who have paid out record sums, to see no football, seems an absurd strategy by the board. Only results can save Lennon and that seems a poor gamble.

Kennedy won't get it but he's not the problem, he worked well under Rogers, Lennon is the main factor in the teams downturn. Average manager who can fire up players but doesn't seem to want to use latest fitness and dietary technology and his main tactics is basically picking 11 players and hope for the best.

02-12-2020, 10:28 AM
Kennedy won't get it but he's not the problem, he worked well under Rogers, Lennon is the main factor in the teams downturn. Average manager who can fire up players but doesn't seem to want to use latest fitness and dietary technology and his main tactics is basically picking 11 players and hope for the best.

Whilst I agree about lennon, majority of managers nowadays get their assistant to take most, if not all, training sessions, while they oversee. Rodgers was very hands on and I’d imagine done most of it himself, lennon isn’t like that, so I think the lack of tactics, training methods etc falls as much at Kennedy’s door as it would Lennons.

02-12-2020, 10:47 AM
Losing 10 in a row is going to be torture for them. I can’t wait.

Rangers losing the league this year won’t mean much to them. It’s just another league lost. Fair enough it beats 9 in a row but they’ll just argue it doesn’t count because they weren’t in the league for half it.

Celtic losing it is them blowing what they’ve bragged they’re going to do for 5 years.

It’ll be glorious.

02-12-2020, 10:50 AM

Rangers losing the league this year won’t mean much to them. It’s just another league lost.

Celtic losing it is them blowing what they’ve bragged they’re going to do for 5 years.

It’ll be glorious.

I couldn’t bring myself to describe either of them winning anything as ‘glorious’.

02-12-2020, 10:53 AM

Rangers losing the league this year won’t mean much to them. It’s just another league lost. Fair enough it beats 9 in a row but they’ll just argue it doesn’t count because they weren’t in the league for half it.

It’ll be glorious.

Rangers losing the league won't mean much to them? Can't agree with that. If they chuck the league from this position they will be absolutely raging.

They will also have allowed Celtic to win 10 in a row meaning the 9 in a row done in the 90s by them is eclipsed. 9 in a row has been done twice in Scottish football history but no club has ever achieved the milestone of 10.

If Celtic win the league this year it will mean a hell of a lo to Rangers supporters.

02-12-2020, 11:06 AM

Hard to believe then that he has one of the best win ratios of any Celtic manager isn't it?

02-12-2020, 11:20 AM

Square pegs in round holes.

02-12-2020, 11:28 AM
Rangers losing the league won't mean much to them? Can't agree with that. If they chuck the league from this position they will be absolutely raging.

They will also have allowed Celtic to win 10 in a row meaning the 9 in a row done in the 90s by them is eclipsed. 9 in a row has been done twice in Scottish football history but no club has ever achieved the milestone of 10.

If Celtic win the league this year it will mean a hell of a lo to Rangers supporters.

Three time shirley? Celtc in the 60s/70s, huns in 80s/90s and Celtc on their current run of 9

02-12-2020, 11:35 AM
Three time shirley? Celtc in the 60s/70s, huns in 80s/90s and Celtc on their current run of 9

Yeah of course, but those runs ended at 9. If Celtic win the league this season they eclipse both of those achievements.

It means a massive amount to Rangers supporters, probably as much as it means to Celtic fans.

02-12-2020, 11:40 AM
Yeah of course, but those runs ended at 9. If Celtic win the league this season they eclipse both of those achievements.

It means a massive amount to Rangers supporters, probably as much as it means to Celtic fans.

Not disagreeing, in fact I think it will effect the hun support much more. They will have thrown it away and it will take a decade of dominance to achieve what celtc have. Whatever happens this season we are assured of a glasgow melt down, which is always fun to watch :greengrin

02-12-2020, 11:56 AM

It’ll be glorious.

I'm sure that they are desperate to add to their 3 lower league titles and Petrofac Cup.

02-12-2020, 12:04 PM
I'm sure that they are desperate to add to their 3 lower league titles and Petrofac Cup.

Exactly. Can't overlook the importance of winning their first proper trophy. It will be a huge deal for them.

02-12-2020, 12:10 PM
Exactly. Can't overlook the importance of winning their first proper trophy. It will be a huge deal for them.

Thinking of it I bet they are gutted they didn't start out in the East of Scotland league. That would have been another trophy to add to that magnificent list.

02-12-2020, 12:11 PM

Apologies, I meant the 10 in a row aspect of it.

I can’t see Rangers losing much sleep over that as they’ll not accept it having been out the league for so long and the way last season ended. They’ll just tell people it has a big asterix beside it and put their fingers in their ears.

02-12-2020, 12:12 PM
I couldn’t bring myself to describe either of them winning anything as ‘glorious’.

I wasn’t. I was describing them losing the league and subsequently 10 in a row that they’ve spent 5 years telling everyone they’re going to do as glorious. Big difference.

5 years of them filling out away ends giving it Brendan Rodgers here for 10 in a row 🖐🏼🖐🏼 Etc for him to **** off, be replaced by one of their own who somehow manages to **** it up would be glorious.

02-12-2020, 12:37 PM
Apologies, I meant the 10 in a row aspect of it.

I can’t see Rangers losing much sleep over that as they’ll not accept it having been out the league for so long and the way last season ended. They’ll just tell people it has a big asterix beside it and put their fingers in their ears.

I wasn’t. I was describing them losing the league and subsequently 10 in a row that they’ve spent 5 years telling everyone they’re going to do as glorious. Big difference.

5 years of them filling out away ends giving it Brendan Rodgers here for 10 in a row 🖐🏼🖐🏼 Etc for him to **** off, be replaced by one of their own who somehow manages to **** it up would be glorious.

So Celtic not winning the league would be glorious for you. Celtic winning the league won’t cause Rangers ( fans I assume?) to lose any sleep.

It’s a strange world this hypothetical football one. Fan of a club not hugely invested in who wins the league feeling heightened emotions if a rival team wins, but on the other hand thinks that fans of said club won’t really be too bothered if their aspirations aren’t delivered.

02-12-2020, 12:42 PM
So Celtic not winning the league would be glorious for you. Celtic winning the league won’t cause Rangers ( fans I assume?) to lose any sleep.

It’s a strange world this hypothetical football one. Fan of a club not hugely invested in who wins the league feeling heightened emotions if a rival team wins, but on the other hand thinks that fans of said club won’t really be too bothered if their aspirations aren’t delivered.

Celtic winning 10 in a row. Not this seasons league specifically, as I mentioned in the post you quoted.

Rangers haven’t won a league for 9 years. Another year would be pretty funny but I’ve seen it 9 times in a row now.

However watching Celtic blow 10 in a row after years of telling us they were going to do it and lording it over everybody would be even funnier than something I’ve saw 9 seasons in a row now. Especially when it’ll be because of their massive under performance and entirely their own fault.

Quite simple really.

02-12-2020, 12:44 PM

Not having to hear about ten in a row like it was some amazing achievement when it’s nowhere near a level playing field ever in Scotland will be as nice as when Celtic stopped the huns get 10. The fact they will be on the same forever more will make it equals and quiet. Greetin’ faced self entitled glory hunting Celtic fans is also a bonus. I’ll be able to switch out for a summer of gloating huns who will be in turmoil soon enough after.

02-12-2020, 12:45 PM
Celtic winning 10 in a row. Not this seasons league specifically, as I mentioned in the post you quoted.

Rangers haven’t won a league for 9 years. Another year would be pretty funny but I’ve seen it 9 times in a row now.

However watching Celtic blow 10 in a row after years of telling us they were going to do it and lording it over everybody would be even funnier than something I’ve saw 9 seasons in a row now. Especially when it’ll be because of their massive under performance and entirely their own fault.

Quite simple really.

I completely agree. As I would if you swapped both the clubs around right now. For some though if you don’t like Celtic you must like rangers and vice versa.

02-12-2020, 12:45 PM
I completely agree. As I would if you swapped both the clubs around right now.

Absolutely.

02-12-2020, 01:00 PM
I completely agree. As I would if you swapped both the clubs around right now. For some though if you don’t like Celtic you must like rangers and vice versa.

When in reality hating them both is an option and I’ll quite happily pick the most chaotic/damaging scenario regardless of which of the two teams it is.

And in that case it’s most definitely blowing 10 in a row imo, you just need to look at the reaction to the Ross County game. Imagine what it’ll be like with more defeats/throwing away 10IAR. They’ll tear themselves apart from the inside out when they make a mess of it this season. And I’ll say it again. It’ll be glorious.

02-12-2020, 01:06 PM
Not having to hear about ten in a row like it was some amazing achievement when it’s nowhere near a level playing field ever in Scotland will be as nice as when Celtic stopped the huns get 10. The fact they will be on the same forever more will make it equals and quiet. Greetin’ faced self entitled glory hunting Celtic fans is also a bonus. I’ll be able to switch out for a summer of gloating huns who will be in turmoil soon enough after.

Who can disagree with that?

Personally, I’m not that bothered who wins it, but I am quite liking the current Celtic implosion.

My point was more about the strangeness of how we arrive at out football loyalties and the irony in someone saying they will revel in Celtic's failure ( all good so far), but then saying that fans of the Hun won’t lose sleep if they don’t win it.

Personally, I very much doubt fans of Rangers will take much consolation from the fact that they were a lower league side for 50% of Celtic world record breaking title run.

Not reallu sure what would be funnier actually, Hun throwing it away or Celtic’s implosion carrying on a while longer. It’s a win-win situation either way for me.

02-12-2020, 01:14 PM

Personally, I’m not that bothered who wins it, but I am quite liking the current Celtic implosion.

My point was more about the strangeness of how we arrive at out football loyalties and the irony in someone saying they will revel in Celtic's failure ( all good so far), but then saying that fans of the Hun won’t lose sleep if they don’t win it.

Personally, I very much doubt fans of Rangers will take much consolation from the fact that they were a lower league side for 50% of Celtic world record breaking title run.

Not reallu sure what would be funnier actually, Hun throwing it away or Celtic’s implosion carrying on a while longer. It’s a win-win situation either way for me.

Again, as I’ve said a few times now, it’s the 10IAR aspect, not the not winning the league this season aspect. I think Rangers would be a lot less upset at what they will perceive to be a 10IAR with an asterix on all the seasons they were out the league and also last season that was curtailed early than Celtic would be with blowing it.

Rangers fans will comfort themselves with the idea that it’s some form of illegitimate 10IAR. They’ve already been doing it for years so you can guarantee they’d keep doing it. Celtic fans have spent 5 years bragging about this and they’ll have royally ****ed it up themselves and looking likely that they’ll go out with a whimper. There’ll be no comfort on that front.

02-12-2020, 01:27 PM
Whilst the current Celtic situation is comical, I really want them to get 10.

There are threads elsewhere about the perilous Rangers financial situation. They've gambled everything on stopping it and if they do, they'll keep the support and goodwill of their fans.

What's the best thing that happens with Celtic in turmoil? They don't get 10 in a row and we don't have to suffer perennial gloating about that particular achievement. They'll dust themselves down, sort themselves out and get back to having them and Rangers miles ahead of everyone.

I still maintain that if certain get 10 there's a good chance of Rangers dying again, only this time for good. Who wouldn't want that? With them gone there is less relevance to the existence of Celtic, they'll weaken and we stand a decent chance of emerging strongly.

What's happening right now IS funny, but I really want Celtic to win 10. Or rather, I want Rangers to have to witness Celtic winning 10 and try to cope with that and crushing debts at the same time.

I had to hold my nose a bit typing it but there you go.

Rangers chucking the league from here would be absolutely f ing GLORIOUS!

02-12-2020, 01:31 PM

There are threads elsewhere about the perilous Rangers financial situation. They've gambled everything on stopping it and if they do, they'll keep the support and goodwill of their fans.

What's the best thing that happens with Celtic in turmoil? They don't get 10 in a row and we don't have to suffer perennial gloating about that particular achievement. They'll dust themselves down, sort themselves out and get back to having them and Rangers miles ahead of everyone.

I still maintain that if certain get 10 there's a good chance of Rangers dying again, only this time for good. Who wouldn't want that? With them gone there is less relevance to the existence of Celtic, they'll weaken and we stand a decent chance of emerging strongly.

What's happening right now IS funny, but I really want Celtic to win 10. Or rather, I want Rangers to have to witness Celtic winning 10 and try to cope with that and crushing debts at the same time.

If I believed Rangers would go bust then absolutely I’d want Celtic to do it.

It won’t happen though. We’ve heard about them going bust every season since the new club started.

02-12-2020, 01:39 PM

Why would rangers die for good if they didn’t win the title this year? Their directors have covered their losses so far, they are committed to doing so again, they will be playing champions league football next season regardless, they have players worth millions all over the park. Anyone thinking that blowing this title would result in some form of financial crash at ibrox is living in cloud cuckoo land.

02-12-2020, 01:41 PM

I understand your view point and respect it also if not completely agreeing with it.

02-12-2020, 01:42 PM
Why would rangers die for good if they didn’t win the title this year? Their directors have covered their losses so far, they are committed to doing so again, they will be playing champions league football next season regardless, they have players worth millions all over the park. Anyone thinking that blowing this title would result in some form of financial crash at ibrox is living in cloud cuckoo land.

It sounds a viable option to want Celtic to win it perhaps? 30,000 empty seats at Parkhead when the games get attended again would do a lot of damage to them also. Surely that would be good for Scottish football?

02-12-2020, 01:42 PM

0.00% isnt a good chance. They have 50k season ticket holders. They are never dying for good.

02-12-2020, 02:00 PM
Do you think 50k people are going to turn up to watch Rangers after 10 in a row?

I don't.

They'll go back to doing whatever they were doing when they were in the bottom league.

Their debts are unsustainable on crowds of 30k - 40k, and the directors who are very happy and positive to be chucking money at supporting something that isn't viable would walk away.

They've got a track record of walking away and letting their club die when it needed them most.

I agree that a lot of the Celtic minded blogs are delusional and have been over the past decade.

Genuinely, I don't think they come back from it, which is why I want it to happen.

Rangers have not built anything resembling a sustainable business model. They've simply gambled everything they've got, and everything they can convince anyone else to give them too.

I'll continue to hope it blows up in their face, as it deserves to.

Magpie
02-12-2020, 02:05 PM
Do you think 50k people are going to turn up to watch Rangers after 10 in a row?

I don't.

They'll go back to doing whatever they were doing when they were in the bottom league.

Their debts are unsustainable on crowds of 30k - 40k, and the directors who are very happy and positive to be chucking money at supporting something that isn't viable would walk away.

They've got a track record of walking away and letting their club die when it needed them most.

I agree that a lot of the Celtic minded blogs are delusional and have been over the past decade.

Genuinely, I don't think they come back from it, which is why I want it to happen.

Rangers have not built anything resembling a sustainable business model. They've simply gambled everything they've got, and everything they can convince anyone else to give them too.

Winning the league would probably encourage even more fans to purchase season tickets. Champions League football will be back and they will start their own obsession with chasing 10 titles in a row.

02-12-2020, 02:07 PM

I don't.

Yes, they will continue on their going for 55 or whatever *****. They same as under Warburton and Pedro.

02-12-2020, 02:11 PM

I don't.

I'll continue to hope it blows up in their face, as it deserves to.As much as I'm enjoying celtc and their strange copy cat fans pain, because of where the sevco business "model" looks to be and what it's dependant on in the short term I find myself agreeing with you completely.

02-12-2020, 02:57 PM

I don't.

They don't need to ''come back'' from it because ''it'' isnt going to do anything to them. Its just celtic winning a title.

02-12-2020, 02:58 PM
I'm surprised Lennon is still in post. It doesn't bother me either way, my only concern being whether he's going to have the Celtic players fired up enough to swat Hearts aside in the cup final.

I guess he may yet be sacked before then. A meaningless game in Europe this week but a dismal showing might be enough to persuade the board they've seen enough.

02-12-2020, 03:24 PM
I'm surprised Lennon is still in post. It doesn't bother me either way, my only concern being whether he's going to have the Celtic players fired up enough to swat Hearts aside in the cup final.

I guess he may yet be sacked before then. A meaningless game in Europe this week but a dismal showing might be enough to persuade the board they've seen enough.

It's a similar situation to the way his tenure ended with us. Back then, Lenny went missing and Garry Parker started fronting up for the management team. It seemed like he just didn't care about Hibs anymore.

Can he turn it around?

02-12-2020, 03:29 PM
Winning the league would probably encourage even more fans to purchase season tickets. Champions League football will be back and they will start their own obsession with chasing 10 titles in a row.

They can barely get any more fans through the door, and they’ll get champions league by finishing second.

02-12-2020, 03:46 PM
They don't need to ''come back'' from it because ''it'' isnt going to do anything to them. Its just celtic winning a title.

Have you spoken to any Rangers or Celtic fans lately?

It’s not just Celtic winning a title

It’s a huge deal to both sets of fans.

02-12-2020, 04:09 PM

I know a fair number of rangers fans and even before this season had started (where they were still pretty resigned to losing the title thinking celtic would be too strong) were stating it wasn’t really ten, they weren’t in the league, last season wasn’t finished etc. I genuinely don’t believe this 10 would affect the majority of rangers fans with the way it was done. It certainly isn’t a huge deal to those I’ve spoken to. If Celtic were 11 clear right now you wouldn’t see those riots outside ibrox. It only means so much to Celtic fans as they’ve basically convinced themselves for the last 8/9 years that they were winning ‘the ten’.

02-12-2020, 04:16 PM

Yes, same as the recent derby was big for us. It was still just a semi final, though. Same as a league game is just 3 points.

Rangers survived going down to the 4th tier, admin etc. They'l survive Celtic winning a title. Honestly, Celtic are probably not going to win it, anyway. Rangers are utterly strolling it.

Rumble de Thump
02-12-2020, 04:26 PM
Rangers didn't survive.

02-12-2020, 04:27 PM
Rangers didn't survive.

Well. No. But the pheonix club is currently skooshing the league.

02-12-2020, 04:35 PM
I know a fair number of rangers fans and even before this season had started (where they were still pretty resigned to losing the title thinking celtic would be too strong) were stating it wasn’t really ten, they weren’t in the league, last season wasn’t finished etc. I genuinely don’t believe this 10 would affect the majority of rangers fans with the way it was done. It certainly isn’t a huge deal to those I’ve spoken to. If Celtic were 11 clear right now you wouldn’t see those riots outside ibrox. It only means so much to Celtic fans as they’ve basically convinced themselves for the last 8/9 years that they were winning ‘the ten’.

Exactly.

As you’ve said, reverse the roles you wouldn’t see riots outside Ibrox. They’ve spent the last however many years telling everyone that it’s not a real ten in a row and they would just carry that on anyway.

Losing 10IAR will absolutely be more of a disaster for Celtic than Rangers. They’ve built it up to be the holy grail for years now thinking that it would be a walk in the park and they’re about to throw it away through their own poor performance.

The scenes on Sunday will be nothing compared to what will happen if they lose the league imo where as Rangers would have no choice but to accept it. I’d rather watch an implosion at Celtic than Rangers doing what they’ve done the last 9 years and just sit and quietly accept Celtic winning the league yet again and then travelling the country thinking they’re the greatest thing since sliced bread bragging about their big 10IAR.

02-12-2020, 04:47 PM
Personally I’m surprised so many people so certain that the league is done and dusted in early December :dunno: Celtic still have the squad with the higher pedigree, Rangers form will inevitably dip, 11 points become 5 with winning the two games in hand, a lot of football still to be played.

02-12-2020, 05:06 PM
I couldn't care less who wins the league as it's an uneven playing up here we have zero chance of winning it anyway. A Euro slot and 2 good cup runs is our aim, it's nice to see one if not both the ugly sisters in turmoil one way or another. Their arrogance towards other clubs disgusts me, the McGinn transfer saga, the hassle afterwards trying to get Scitty back again and the 2016 cup final after game shenanigans.

02-12-2020, 05:07 PM

Nah, don’t fall for their nonsense. If Celtic won it, they would be gutted, particularly with the way things are now. TBF, I don’t know any Huns, either at work or acquaintances, so I’m much less familiar with their denial tactics though :wink:.

I’m easily swayed. Earlier today I was liking how gutted Cletic fans would be to fall at the last hurdle ( i say that sarcastically, given they have won so many trophies in a row, yawn, etc, etc). Now, with time to reflect. I’m thinking it would hurt the Hun more if they cocked it up. Either way, deep down what does i5 matter. It’s a win-win in the wee daft world of our degraded football game.

02-12-2020, 05:11 PM
Personally I’m surprised so many people so certain that the league is done and dusted in early December :dunno: Celtic still have the squad with the higher pedigree, Rangers form will inevitably dip, 11 points become 5 with winning the two games in hand, a lot of football still to be played.

Probably because we all know Scottish Football enough to know who is the best team in the league and who is struggling. A bit like us knowing by November or December how the season will pan out for the Hibees.

02-12-2020, 05:15 PM

Rangers have only dropped four points this season and are still in Europe and the League Cup. They’re several streets ahead of anyone else and could even afford a small downtown in form.

They look formidable.

02-12-2020, 05:16 PM

If the two teams looked similar in quality or if Rangers were dropping points I’d agree.

Rangers look streets ahead though and also don’t look like dropping many points at all. Throw in Rangers having 2 home games to 1 away game left against Celtic and I’d fancy them to win the league big time.

02-12-2020, 05:20 PM
Rangers have only dropped four points this season and are still in Europe and the League Cup. They’re several streets ahead of anyone else and could even afford a small downtown in form.

They look formidable.

In terms of watching games and seeing who impressed me most, Rangers look a far superior team.

They implode regularly though. They were in a good position after winning the OF games last season in January - then capitulated.

Celtic haven’t had competition like this for a while and they’ve not had to do it from this position but they’re the ones with the track record of getting it done. They’ve still got better players, I think.

As a team though, right now they’re stinking and they need something to change for them soon.

02-12-2020, 05:20 PM

5 points with 2 derbies at home is a big lead IMO. Celtic being out of Europe may help but the huns have a big squad with many options who will win league games for them.

02-12-2020, 05:21 PM
5 points with 2 derbies at home is a big lead IMO. Celtic being out of Europe may help but the huns have a big squad with many options who will win league games for them.

It’s a big lead especially when Rangers have dropped 4 points in just short of half a season. Throw in having to win their games in hand to even be 5 points behind which current form would suggest they have every chance of not doing and like you say, it’s a pretty big advantage they’ve got.

02-12-2020, 05:25 PM
In terms of watching games and seeing who impressed me most, Rangers look a far superior team.

They implode regularly though. They were in a good position after winning the OF games last season in January - then capitulated.

Celtic haven’t had competition like this for a while and they’ve not had to do it from this position but they’re the ones with the track record of getting it done. They’ve still got better players, I think.

As a team though, right now they’re stinking and they need something to change for them soon.

Usually it’s easier for the team chasing all they can do is go out and win games without looking over their shoulder but 10iar is a massive millstone for them. Oddly not are they second favourites and second in the league but they’re the more under pressure team, something their current manager doesn’t deal well with.

02-12-2020, 05:29 PM
It’s a big lead especially when Rangers have dropped 4 points in just short of half a season. Throw in having to win their games in hand to even be 5 points behind which current form would suggest they have every chance of not doing and like you say, it’s a pretty big advantage they’ve got.

I think Rangers will win the League at a canter. They’re a decent footballing side. I suspect there is also very different dressing room. Lennon struggles to handle footballing adversity, Gerrard has kudos to inspire. The Huns look pretty unstoppable to me.

02-12-2020, 05:32 PM
NL looks like a condemned man

He has had the dreaded seal of approval from the Board

He looks genuinely relieved he wasn’t booted but only a matter of time imho

Let’s see what happens

02-12-2020, 05:38 PM
Personally I’m surprised so many people so certain that the league is done and dusted in early December :dunno: Celtic still have the squad with the higher pedigree, Rangers form will inevitably dip, 11 points become 5 with winning the two games in hand, a lot of football still to be played.I remember just recently when Hearts had it done and dusted by the end of September [emoji16]

Magpie
02-12-2020, 05:49 PM
I just ****ing hate Rangers

EI255
02-12-2020, 05:52 PM
right I think we may have finally got this thread sussed...

1) Celtic are a bit Jarkko Wiss

2) Turns out Neil Lennon isn't a born Winner

3) Anyone at all can be Irish, but you had to ask santa, by writing to him on a 4 leaf clover before Jan 1st 2005

(Yes I'm bored and meant to be WFH today)Dear oh dear

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

02-12-2020, 05:54 PM

Not true. I know loads of rangers fans, including my brother and my wife. To them celtics titles are tainted and not just talking about the years they were down the divisions. No rangers fan I know includes last year's title either. All got it in their heads that they could have still won the title. It's a free hit for them. If they win they'll 100% go way over the top. If they lose they just go on saying their tainted.
For what it's worth the celtic fans in the family are the ones being a holes about all this. Got friends and family all saying they won't be going back if they dont get ten. My uncle runs one of the biggest Celtic supporters clubs in Scotland and he reckons their all going nuts. Rangers mates/family don't care and are just laughing about. Although I do think that might change if Celtic catch them.

delbert
02-12-2020, 05:55 PM

And nobody else gives a toss !

02-12-2020, 06:24 PM
Couldn't care less about Celtic or Neil Lennon apart from one game in a few weeks. I hope they get their act together for it.

02-12-2020, 07:11 PM
Not true. I know loads of rangers fans, including my brother and my wife. To them celtics titles are tainted and not just talking about the years they were down the divisions. No rangers fan I know includes last year's title either. All got it in their heads that they could have still won the title. It's a free hit for them. If they win they'll 100% go way over the top. If they lose they just go on saying their tainted.
For what it's worth the celtic fans in the family are the ones being a holes about all this. Got friends and family all saying they won't be going back if they dont get ten. My uncle runs one of the biggest Celtic supporters clubs in Scotland and he reckons their all going nuts. Rangers mates/family don't care and are just laughing about. Although I do think that might change if Celtic catch them.

What they say publicly will be different to what they think privately. They probably thought Celtic were going to win the league so were getting the 1st hit in by claiming it's tainted, asterisk ect.

If Celtic go on and win 10 in a row Sevco fans will be absolutely gutted.

02-12-2020, 07:47 PM
What they say publicly will be different to what they think privately. They probably thought Celtic were going to win the league so were getting the 1st hit in by claiming it's tainted, asterisk ect.

Not as gutted as the chance to win 10. Not a chance.

When I hear one of them spout to be fair about Celtics only won nine or eight and a bit it makes me want Celtic to win more, but then you realise that’s them acting like a wee mouse with a big cat going about them. Celtic win ten we will have to put up with it forever how they are the best team ever etc like it’s an amazing achievement when them and the huns are only successful because of bigotry.

I want Celtic to lose the league this season and if Neil Lennon is the manager amazing, if not fair enough.

The way the treated Tony Mowbray was a disgrace too. That’s what’s just came into my head when I though I might want them to win the league if they appointed Stubbsy.

02-12-2020, 08:01 PM

If Rangers win the league...they will all say they stopped the 10.

So the nonsense about asterisk leagues etc is tin pot chat.

Celtic win it = 10 in row
Huns win it = we stopped the 10

Telling me neither care is nonsense - it’s ALL they care about !

03-12-2020, 09:22 AM
Don't know if already mentioned but Dan Petrescu being lined up is what I've been told this morning

03-12-2020, 09:28 AM
Don't know if already mentioned but Dan Petrescu being lined up is what I've been told this morning

And denied immediately by Cluj.

03-12-2020, 09:33 AM
And denied immediately by Cluj.

Ah, didn't know that. Wasn't sure if it was in the press at all

03-12-2020, 09:46 AM
Ah, didn't know that. Wasn't sure if it was in the press at all

He left Cluj by mutual consent after they lost a cup tie last week to a smaller club (sound familiar) Celtc may well approach him, or he may well approach Celtc, but the headlines that Celtc are lining him up are a bit premature. all IMHO of course :wink:

03-12-2020, 04:02 PM
He left Cluj by mutual consent after they lost a cup tie last week to a smaller club (sound familiar) Celtc may well approach him, or he may well approach Celtc, but the headlines that Celtc are lining him up are a bit premature. all IMHO of course :wink:

They might be on the phone to him tonight if they get a total pumping off Milan later