View Full Version : Neil Lennon
Pages :
[
7]
King Cosell
18-01-2021, 03:38 PM
Not a chance - if Celtic win both their games in hand and both the remaining derbies then the lead is 11pts and Rangers won't drop even half that against the rest of the league. It's over and done with.
Can see Rangers dropping at least 11pts, we've got a great chance against them Wednesday week (yeah, I'm trying to get an Undertones pun thing going) on our ropey pitch, but there's no chance Celtic will take advantage.
18-01-2021, 03:55 PM
Can see Rangers dropping at least 11pts, we've got a great chance against them Wednesday week (yeah, I'm trying to get an Undertones pun thing going) on our ropey pitch, but there's no chance Celtic will take advantage.
Only way I can see Rangers dropping that many points is if they have the league sewn up.
18-01-2021, 04:01 PM
Neil Lennon calling the reaction to the Dubai trip hypocrisy.
https://mobile.twitter.com/PLZSoccer/status/1351164222978338826
More tone deaf nonsense from Celtc.
It’s a pretty big hole... they really should stop digging.
18-01-2021, 04:11 PM
Ok arithmetic time. Lennon was required to self isolate for 10 days from what time on the 8th of January? So why was he taking a press conference before his self isolation period was up?
18-01-2021, 04:24 PM
Ok arithmetic time. Lennon was required to self isolate for 10 days from what time on the 8th of January? So why was he taking a press conference before his self isolation period was up?
It’s 10 days from the last time you had close contact with the person who tested positive. I’d assume his last close contact would have been the flight back on the 8th, but it could be that he was nowhere near Julien on the plane and it was before that he was last possibly exposed to it.
18-01-2021, 04:30 PM
TBF it looks like it was held over Zoom or something like it.
Potty78
18-01-2021, 04:40 PM
How come the whole flight that carried the tennis players to Australia had to isolate yet only 16 of the flight back from Dubai had too🤷*♂️
18-01-2021, 04:41 PM
How come the whole flight that carried the tennis players to Australia had to isolate yet only 16 of the flight back from Dubai had too🤷*♂️
Think that’s the rules when arriving in Australia
Potty78
18-01-2021, 04:45 PM
Thanks👍
18-01-2021, 04:55 PM
Agree, it's going to happen.
18-01-2021, 05:08 PM
I don't think he is very well. Putting aside the fact that we all know celtic have a huge victim mentality, it's never their fault for anything, they are arrogant pricks, they think the world revolves around them and that generally I cannot stand them, I worry about his mental health. And no it's not a petty dig at him, I mean it. He has been open about it in the past and I don't think he is coping well at the moment
18-01-2021, 05:13 PM
I don't think he is very well. Putting aside the fact that we all know celtic have a huge victim mentality, it's never their fault for anything, they are arrogant pricks, they think the world revolves around them and that generally I cannot stand them, I worry about his mental health. And no it's not a petty dig at him, I mean it. He has been open about it in the past and I don't think he is coping well at the moment
This is just low hanging fruit imo. Seriously. He's an angry man being angry. I don't think he is showing signs of depression.
18-01-2021, 05:15 PM
This is just low hanging fruit imo. Seriously. He's an angry man being angry. I don't think he is showing signs of depression.
It always gets brought up when he’s acting like an arse.
People with mental health issues can also just be an ******** without it being their mental health’s fault.
Helensburghhibs
18-01-2021, 05:15 PM
Hes a bad loser who likes blaming everyone else. When things aren't going well he makes stupid decisions without thinking about the fallout. Was going the same way when he was here
18-01-2021, 05:21 PM
Lennon is a twat, the media is just pandering to him as always.
He wont apologise for going to Dubai? Wont apologise to other clubs etc, hes an absolute radge.
EI255
18-01-2021, 05:31 PM
He has a very valid point re the Scottish conga though. Went unnoticed and unpunished by the media.
Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk
18-01-2021, 05:35 PM
Let’s be honest. The guy has always been a f*****ng Celtic plum. We just took a short break from realising that during his time as manager here.
Wakeyhibee
18-01-2021, 05:49 PM
He has a very valid point re the Scottish conga though. Went unnoticed and unpunished by the media.
Agree, but comparing a training jolly with going abroad to complete made that a cheap shot and given the two totally different timings is a total deflection tactic.
A Predictable case of what-a-boutary from the masters at it, the 'conga line' was a bunch of guys who where in an elite sport bubble, in the team hotel. Celtic where bevvying around the pool and in bars mixing with joe public also and this is key.....no one in the conga line tested positive for corona virus, he's at 2 now.
18-01-2021, 05:59 PM
Trying to piss off Nicola and get the season null and voided
Last throw of the dice :greengrin
18-01-2021, 06:03 PM
Neil Lennon is in an extremely privileged position. I'm not coping very well at the minute with this **** show. Feel far worse and struggling far more than I did during the first lockdown but can't nip over to Dubai for some sun and a pint. Sorry but I don't feel too bad for him right now.
18-01-2021, 06:07 PM
My impression of Lennon is that whenever he gets any criticism or meets difficulties his reaction is to lash out, even when calming the situation would be the more sensible option. He was like that as a player, I suspect he behaves like that in his personal life, and I've always suspected that's what cost him his job an ER.
18-01-2021, 06:11 PM
There could be something in that right enough :greengrin
18-01-2021, 06:13 PM
Agree, it's going to happen.
:aok: yeah hope my perfect cousin can score another goal against the other half of the OF
Wakeyhibee
18-01-2021, 06:15 PM
There could be something in that right enough :greengrin
Theres been a few thinking similar on this thread, me also.
18-01-2021, 06:34 PM
he's not half getting it tight from followers of his team as well
EI255
18-01-2021, 06:44 PM
Agree, but comparing a training jolly with going abroad to complete made that a cheap shot and given the two totally different timings is a total deflection tactic.Not sure if I can agree with the timings. Covid was still rising and was rife after the Euro qualification. I was extremely surprised the Scotland squad got away with that. If one of them had come back positive then all the silly Yes Sir I can Boogy pi5h would have been binned.
scm70nyd1973
18-01-2021, 06:48 PM
:aok: yeah hope my perfect cousin can score another goal against the other half of the OF
Mibbies he will be calling on Leeann for a new job soon - he won’t need to call her as he will just say you’ve got my number 🤭apologies in advance to the pun dislikers
scm70nyd1973
18-01-2021, 06:52 PM
Setting aside the Undertones of Nrn Irn and to be serious and compassionate- I am not sure if he is just enraged or having mental health issues - if it’s the latter I hope that he can recover - I am pretty certain that it can’t be a pleasant experience in any shape or fashion..
18-01-2021, 07:27 PM
Let’s be honest. The guy has always been a f*****ng Celtic plum. We just took a short break from realising that during his time as manager here.
I'm not sure we took a break though, think we all knew he was a clown, but he was briefly our one, until it almost inevitably went wrong & he had to leave.
18-01-2021, 07:59 PM
I’ve defended him as much as I can but this latest outburst about ‘being held to higher standards than any other club’ is just ridiculous. He’s a clown.
The Captain....
18-01-2021, 08:03 PM
He seems to have completely lost all grip on reality.
If the rumours of Duffy being the latest positive covid test are true there will be serious questions to answer and I hope no Hibs players have been affected.
18-01-2021, 08:13 PM
Lennon apology
https://twitter.com/i/status/1351191912968028160
18-01-2021, 09:12 PM
It's not obvious who he is talking to or even if anyone is listening. The Celtc support have made their mind up on him already. As much as he is trying to deflect attention away from himself and onto the media, the govt and the virus, the empty stands may have kept him in a job longer than a weekly chorus of abuse would have allowed.
TheGreenMan
18-01-2021, 09:46 PM
Agree, anyone included in the conga should get a ban. Including any of Lennons Celtic players 😁
18-01-2021, 10:36 PM
What happened at the press conference today? Did he lose it?
My guess is that Lennon wants out but won't quit because he wants Lawwell to sack him so he gets his pay off. Lawwell hasn't been able to sort out a replacement yet hence why Lennon is still there, though today's press conference is forcing Lawwell's hand.
18-01-2021, 11:07 PM
Crossed my mind too He is forcing Nicola to take questions on this issue again tomorrow at her press conference
18-01-2021, 11:09 PM
My guess is that Lennon wants out but won't quit because he wants Lawwell to sack him so he gets his pay off. Lawwell hasn't been able to sort out a replacement yet hence why Lennon is still there, though today's press conference is forcing Lawwell's hand.
I don’t think he wants out, not really. It’s the biggest job of his career and by far the biggest he could get in Scotland.
I suppose he can build on his media career when it ends, but he will be done as a manager.
Bangkok Hibby
19-01-2021, 01:51 AM
I'm not sure we took a break though, think we all knew he was a clown, but he was briefly our one, until it almost inevitably went wrong & he had to leave.
Agree entirely, he had his devotees here but most knew he was a tosser. I remember posting something along the lines of "he"s a fanny but right now he's our fanny" 😀
19-01-2021, 07:23 AM
I don’t think he wants out, not really. It’s the biggest job of his career and by far the biggest he could get in Scotland.
I suppose he can build on his media career when it ends, but he will be done as a manager.
I'm with 007. His comments and defiant demeanour, which are basically giving two fingers to Lawell, immediately struck me as the start of his exit strategy. He knows he is going and won't go meekly. He's finished in football management IMO.
Magpie
19-01-2021, 07:32 AM
They should have paid him off instead of paying for a trip to Dubai. If they replaced him when they should of then they might still be in a title race.
It’s probably a good thing for the board that fans aren’t allowed in as it would have got messy by now.
19-01-2021, 07:34 AM
They should have paid him off instead of paying for a trip to Dubai. If they replaced him when they should of then they might still be in a title race.
It’s probably a good thing for the board that fans aren’t allowed in as it would have got messy by now.
Totally agree with both points there.
I’ve no idea why they’ve stuck with him for so long this season.
WestCoastHibby
19-01-2021, 07:36 AM
Bizarre that I find myself agreeing with an earlier Craig Levien statement.
So glad they won't win ten in a row as we'd have never heard the end of it.
More Limping Lemons than Lisbon Lions at the moment
Siralbertkidd
19-01-2021, 07:38 AM
I dont get how they are all out of quarantine so quickly? The 10 days quarantine starts from the day after they landed, which was Saturday 9th . Ten days after that means he and the others should still be isolating until Wednesday 20th.
19-01-2021, 07:39 AM
I'm with 007. His comments and defiant demeanour, which are basically giving two fingers to Lawell, immediately struck me as the start of his exit strategy. He knows he is going and won't go meekly. He's finished in football management IMO.
How is he giving two fingers to Lawwell??
He seems to be aiming at everyone outside the club, no?
19-01-2021, 07:40 AM
Bizarre that I find myself agreeing with an earlier Craig Levien statement.
So glad they won't win ten in a row as we'd have never heard the end of it.
More Limping Lemons than Lisbon Lions at the moment
True, but the downside is the Rangers giving it big guns over ‘55’.
19-01-2021, 08:01 AM
How is he giving two fingers to Lawwell??
He seems to be aiming at everyone outside the club, no?
He is contradicting Lawell by stating there was nothing wrong with the trip.
19-01-2021, 08:10 AM
Totally agree with both points there.
I’ve no idea why they’ve stuck with him for so long this season.
Probably cos no one would take the job - not winning the league this season means you’d be tarred. They’ll get someone in for next season no bother - maybe even soon as the new guy can’t be blamed for not winning 10.
19-01-2021, 08:24 AM
Probably cos no one would take the job - not winning the league this season means you’d be tarred. They’ll get someone in for next season no bother - maybe even soon as the new guy can’t be blamed for not winning 10.
Of course the new guy shouldn’t be blamed for not winning 10 in a row but I’d be surprised if they have a new permanent manager this season. Even though it would be an impossible task for the new manager to win the league this year they’d still be the manager who was in charge when it actually happened. The mood around the club would be a bit pish and it’s not a great way to start. The novelty of the new manager would be lost by the time he had a chance to really get started in the summer.
I reckon they’ll either stick with NL - why not, they have done for much longer than they should have anyway - or they’ll put Kennedy in charge until the summer.
19-01-2021, 08:40 AM
David Tanner saying Celtic asked Hibs 8 times to move the game for the Dubai trip and 8 times Hibs said no.
19-01-2021, 08:41 AM
Lennon has embarrassed himself and his club. Apart for the abject performances on the pitch his latest outburst should be enough for Celtic to dismiss. Sometimes it’s better to say nothing but as we all know with NL he can’t do that. It does show LD was correct to show him the door at ER, as he just to much of a loose cannon.
19-01-2021, 08:58 AM
David Tanner saying Celtic asked Hibs 8 times to move the game for the Dubai trip and 8 times Hibs said no.
I dont understand what you mean?
Hibs were forced by the SPFL to move the match from the Saturday to the Monday because of Celtics holiday.
I dont understand what you mean?
Hibs were forced by the SPFL to move the match from the Saturday to the Monday because of Celtics holiday.
They asked Hibs 8 times, Hibs said no 8 times, then they went to the SPFL
19-01-2021, 09:01 AM
Is this born winner Neil Lennon that we constantly kept hearing about?
19-01-2021, 09:03 AM
Ah, so he wasnt talking about the Monday match, gotcha.
19-01-2021, 09:05 AM
It's not obvious who he is talking to or even if anyone is listening. The Celtc support have made their mind up on him already. As much as he is trying to deflect attention away from himself and onto the media, the govt and the virus, the empty stands may have kept him in a job longer than a weekly chorus of abuse would have allowed.
True. Celtic have imploded, with no chance of winning 10IAR. Their remaining hope now is to make such a public fuss that the government are put under public/media pressure to close football down, leaving the SFA / SPFL with the nightmare of deciding what to do about declaring winners, promotion etc all over again. Celtic may get their reprieve. The only thing stopping Sturgeon is the political fall out they could create ahead of the May elections. She dopest;t want to touch that.
Fully expect Celtic to get more vocal and disruptive as the weeks progress now or deliberately breach Covid rules. It will be the fog invasion all over again. :wink:
19-01-2021, 09:09 AM
I see it the other way .. it is lost - we all know as do Cellic fannies and new man wont be blamed... they will blame everyone else though :greengrin
19-01-2021, 09:32 AM
Ranting aside, he's failed big time at the actual football management side of things. He's onto whining in mitigation now.
19-01-2021, 09:34 AM
True. Celtic have imploded, with no chance of winning 10IAR. Their remaining hope now is to make such a public fuss that the government are put under public/media pressure to close football down, leaving the SFA / SPFL with the nightmare of deciding what to do about declaring winners, promotion etc all over again. Celtic may get their reprieve. The only thing stopping Sturgeon is the political fall out they could create ahead of the May elections. She dopest;t want to touch that.
Fully expect Celtic to get more vocal and disruptive as the weeks progress now or deliberately breach Covid rules. It will be the fog invasion all over again. :wink:
No way they couldn't do points per game now after last season. The Huns would riot, it's not like they need much excuse at the best of times.
19-01-2021, 09:37 AM
Spontaneous exuberance, versus bad judgement
19-01-2021, 09:40 AM
We could analyse some of the stuff that Lennon actually said, but I see it as more of a meltdown than a reasoned argument.
He did something similar with Hibs in 2018, when we failed to beat Hearts near the end of the season, and I always felt that was the beginning of the end of his time at Hibs. Things mostly just got quite weird after that.
I honestly don't think this is a calculated attempt to get the season made Null and Void, or to get a big payoff, it's just part of his usual behaviour* when things aren't going well.
* I'm not being judgmental, I'd probably behave a lot worse ;-)
19-01-2021, 09:45 AM
We could analyse some of the stuff that Lennon actually said, but I see it as more of a meltdown than a reasoned argument.
He did something similar with Hibs in 2018, when we failed to beat Hearts near the end of the season, and I always felt that was the beginning of the end of his time at Hibs. Things mostly just got quite weird after that.
I honestly don't think this is a calculated attempt to get the season made Null and Void, or to get a big payoff, it's just part of his usual behaviour* when things aren't going well.
Yepp, that was the beginning of the end for me too. Said he didn't know if his future was at the club to squeeze money from the board (IMO), got more money and spent it, then ****ed it.
19-01-2021, 09:49 AM
He is contradicting Lawell by stating there was nothing wrong with the trip.
Tbf Lawwell never said there was anything wrong with it either... just that in hindsight he’d like to apologise!
19-01-2021, 09:55 AM
19-01-2021, 09:59 AM
Tbf Lawwell never said there was anything wrong with it either... just that in hindsight he’d like to apologise!
If he'd like to apologise, why didn't he do a proper apology to scottish football rather than just Celtc fans.
19-01-2021, 10:02 AM
Aye that was the time he didn’t realise than because we’d lost we couldn’t get 2nd? A very weird interview. Think he went missing for a bit after that did he not?
19-01-2021, 10:31 AM
Re the last Paragraph. If the SPFL want some semblance of a league then if Celtic step out of line then it has to be points deducted. Shut them up, gives them an “excuse” for no 10IAR and may stop them acting like tw@s.
No way does Sturgeon want to go anywhere near this buzzsaw.
Scottish football has to be the bad guy (for once).
19-01-2021, 10:41 AM
💬 "Until then, you won’t be getting anything from me or my players."
Neil Lennon BANS Sky Sports from speaking to Celtic players until Andy Walker apologises for 'out of order' comments
https://t.co/qy3WJHx6po https://t.co/qLkWtbClIC
19-01-2021, 10:42 AM
💬 "Until then, you won’t be getting anything from me or my players."
Neil Lennon BANS Sky Sports from speaking to Celtic players until Andy Walker apologises for 'out of order' comments
19-01-2021, 10:50 AM
"Until then, you won’t be getting anything from me or my players."
I think that's pretty good.
Whether or not you agree with Walker, he did go off on one and was very scathing about Celtic. Yes, he can say what he wants but Celtic aren't obliged to accommosate him.
I wish Hibs would do stuff like this sometimes if we think an attack is ill founded.
Allez Hibs
19-01-2021, 10:55 AM
If Andy Walker apologises for speaking his mind as a pundit who dared to criticise Celtic that will make a mockery of the game in Scotland.
19-01-2021, 10:55 AM
Whether or not you agree with Walker, he did go off on one and was very scathing about Celtic. Yes, he can say what he wants but Celtic aren't obliged to accommosate him.
I wish Hibs would do stuff like this sometimes if we think an attack is ill founded.
I’ve got a feeling that because of the TV deal we have in place with sky that won’t be possible? You’d reckon interviews etc would be contractual
19-01-2021, 10:57 AM
To be fair, the Scotland players were in a bubble on a Euro qualifying trip. Scott Brown and Neil Lennon were sitting drinking pints at the pool next to Branda and Tam from Larkhall on an unnecessary training jolly.
Allez Hibs
19-01-2021, 10:59 AM
What about Celtic doing their huddle? Should that be allowed? EPL have mandated players not to group celebrate goals.
19-01-2021, 11:06 AM
Spontaneous exuberance, versus bad judgement
No question. Also, the Scottish team was on a legitimate, competitive, trip. Celtic were on a jolly. The comments by Neil Lennon are another example of crass whataboutery. Trying desperately to deflect from their own errors and failings by pointing the finger at the closest thing they can find. Look, look over here! Much more interesting stuff!!
No Neil, what we see is Celtic players and staff mingling at close proximity, not just in their own party but with random other hotel guests. Not within anyone’s rules
19-01-2021, 11:08 AM
Banning certain media outlets?
Nah, lets leave that to Celtic and Rangers who both act like the school bully when challenged.
19-01-2021, 11:10 AM
Sounds familiar
I’m sure Leanne Dempster indicated that the SPFL had agreed to the change as they had given prior notice by Celtic and the first Hibs knew about it is when they received notification from the SPFL that the date had been changed.
Maybe I’m wrong but why would LD say that if it wasn’t correct??
19-01-2021, 11:13 AM
I got absolutely ridiculed on here for calling him an embarrassment after that. Slaughtered. Glad i was proved right.
19-01-2021, 11:13 AM
Sounds familiar
But he's a lovely chap because someone met him once and didn't once have a go.
19-01-2021, 11:17 AM
I’ve got a feeling that because of the TV deal we have in place with sky that won’t be possible? You’d reckon interviews etc would be contractual
You'll be right to an extent although there will be a limit to the conditions either side can impose.
Nah, lets leave that to Celtic and Rangers who both act like the school bully when challenged.
I'm speaking about taking action against individuals who you know are out of line. I'm speaking about the likes of Tom English criticising Hibs for signing players during the close season. My attitude would be OK, he can say what he wants but without no cooperation and no hospitality from us whatsoever.
19-01-2021, 11:19 AM
I’m sure Leanne Dempster indicated that the SPFL had agreed to the change as they had given prior notice by Celtic and the first Hibs knew about it is when they received notification from the SPFL that the date had been changed.
Maybe I’m wrong but why would LD say that if it wasn’t correct??
Celtic made the initial request(s) to Hibs, which we quite rightly refused.
Celtic approached the SPFL to demand it happened, and the SPFL invoke a rule that exists but nobody has really used which means that if the sides dont agree, then the SPFL rules in favour of the home side - thats was the "first Hibs knew of it" bit.
(or some other bollocks)
Doesnt mean that they didnt repeatedly ask LD and she repeatedly said bugger off.
19-01-2021, 11:21 AM
I'm speaking about taking action against individuals who you know are out of line. I'm speaking about the likes of Tom English criticising Hibs for signing players during the close season. My attitude would be OK, he can say what he wants but without no cooperation and no hospitality from us whatsoever.
Never really ends well, and the other side of the coin is that every fan in Scotland - outside the twats across in gorgie - think he is a spoon.
19-01-2021, 11:21 AM
I wouldnt have minded seeing the news outlets that reported we'd made 70 staff redundant in the summer excluded from interviews.
19-01-2021, 11:26 AM
I wouldnt have minded seeing the news outlets that reported we'd made 70 staff redundant in the summer excluded from interviews.
OK, I am playing devils advocate here but............Hibs were going thru a legal process which requires confidentiality. We could easily have said "this story about 70 is not true as we havent gone thru the process, and we wont be commenting further" or some such.
As usual with Hibs, we didnt say diddley and the empty heads in the media vacuum filled it.
Yes, they were wrong, but there are aspects we could have dealt with better.
PR output and perception for Hibs has to improve and that wont happen by banning every Tom Dick and Harry from the media...........
19-01-2021, 11:30 AM
I'm still disappointed we didn't ban the Daily Record for the "every single Rangers player" headline after the 2016 final. Still irritates me years later.
19-01-2021, 11:31 AM
OK, I am playing devils advocate here but............Hibs were going thru a legal process which requires confidentiality. We could easily have said "this story about 70 is not true as we havent gone thru the process, and we wont be commenting further" or some such.
As usual with Hibs, we didnt say diddley and the empty heads in the media vacuum filled it.
PR output and perception for Hibs has to improve and that wont happen by banning every Tom Dick and Harry from the media...........
Maybe a bit of both then?
React professionally and curteously to incorrect reporting while at the same time getting Tom English to f***.
Sorted!
19-01-2021, 11:42 AM
I agree with the empty vacuum being filled with *****.
What about the headlines post Scottish Cup final then? IMO the outlet that printed that should never be allowed near Easter Road or East Mains again.
There's a time and place for really sticking to people who spread absolute nonsense.
19-01-2021, 11:52 AM
I'm still disappointed we didn't ban the Daily Record for the "every single Rangers player" headline after the 2016 final. Still irritates me years later.
Yep, was very soft. The only issue I had during LD’s otherwise fantastic tenure.
19-01-2021, 11:57 AM
If we didn’t do it then, we never will.
FWIW I like that Hibs rise above it. Bans are petty, small-minded, ridiculous and almost always undeserved when viewed from a neutral perspective.
You need broad shoulders, be able to take criticism and when the daft stuff comes along win the argument by stating your own side of the situation coherently rather than punishing the other party.
No coincidence that Rangers and Celtic have the biggest issue with that, the thin-skinned Trumpy weirdos that they are.
19-01-2021, 12:05 PM
Yep, was very soft. The only issue I had during LD’s otherwise fantastic tenure.
You have to rise above that. Journalists are have the right to report what they believe to be true sometimes it is sometimes it isn't. After all today's newspaper tomorrow's bog paper.
hibbydog
19-01-2021, 12:10 PM
I agree, and I actually feel sorry for him in a way.
He's come across as angry, bitter and arrogant and has made a royal fool of himself. But he's on the cusp of losing his job and p!ssing on his legacy. Celtic fans protesting outside the ground. Cant arrest the decline. Signings havent worked. Lesser qualified people are paid good money to have a pop at him. Yes, this is what he singed up to, but he's not in the best mental state to properly assess his situation and he's just becoming entrenched.
I'm not saying this is ok, but as a fellow sufferer of depression and receiver of pressure/ grief in the workplace, I can understand why Lennon is angry/ frustrated and responding the way he is.
He'll regret this after some reflection.
19-01-2021, 12:11 PM
You have to rise above that. Journalists are have the right to report what they believe to be true sometimes it is sometimes it isn't. After all today's newspaper tomorrow's bog paper.
They should also retract when they're wrong.
19-01-2021, 12:18 PM
They should also retract when they're wrong.
Agree. Usually you find the retractions below the classified adds in very small print.
19-01-2021, 12:21 PM
Agree. Usually you find the retractions below the classified adds in very small print.
Which we shouldn't accept.
19-01-2021, 12:30 PM
Which we shouldn't accept.
Agree, a law should be introduced that all retractions must be on page one in large print the same as the prominence given to original story. In the case of football stories it needs to put on the back page as well as most of us start reading newspapers back page first.
Rumble de Thump
19-01-2021, 01:55 PM
Those journalists made no effort to report the truth and they don't have a right to publish inaccuracies.
19-01-2021, 02:01 PM
What about when they report what they believe to be true, evidence arises to the contrary and they're proven to be wrong but they don't issue corrections/retractions? Especially when the headline is something so damaging.
Every Rangers player on pitch was attacked or spat on by Hibs fans during Hampden riot - Daily Record (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/every-rangers-player-pitch-attacked-8028393)
Fergos
19-01-2021, 02:11 PM
He's come across as angry, bitter and arrogant and has made a royal fool of himself. But he's on the cusp of losing his job and p!ssing on his legacy. Celtic fans protesting outside the ground. Cant arrest the decline. Signings havent worked. Lesser qualified people are paid good money to have a pop at him. Yes, this is what he singed up to, but he's not in the best mental state to properly assess his situation and he's just becoming entrenched.
I'm not saying this is ok, but as a fellow sufferer of depression and receiver of pressure/ grief in the workplace, I can understand why Lennon is angry/ frustrated and responding the way he is.
Knowing him like we do down ER way, that’s exactly what I thought when I watched it.
Good post HD.
Is there anywhere you can watch the full Lennon press conference.
19-01-2021, 02:42 PM
What about when they report what they believe to be true, evidence arises to the contrary and they're proven to be wrong but they don't issue corrections/retractions? Especially when the headline is something so damaging.
Every Rangers player on pitch was attacked or spat on by Hibs fans during Hampden riot - Daily Record (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/every-rangers-player-pitch-attacked-8028393)
You can take it to the press complaints commission. Other newspapers reported the facts.
The record has been doing this for years I remember them reporting riots at a Edinburgh Derby when there was 20 arrests splashing on their front page. An old firm match with over 100 arrests only a quote from the Glasgow police that it was a quiet day. As I said today's newspaper tomorrow's bog paper. Their witch hunt publishing pictures of fans was of more concern.
19-01-2021, 02:50 PM
Is there anywhere you can watch the full Lennon press conference.
Think Sportsound last night played it in full
19-01-2021, 03:14 PM
https://twitter.com/ClydeSSB/status/1351555895961018368?s=19
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
19-01-2021, 03:26 PM
https://twitter.com/ClydeSSB/status/1351555895961018368?s=19
Good on St Johnstone
19-01-2021, 03:40 PM
It's a sensible post HD so don't want to come across like I'm against it. However, as someone who also has a bit of experience with depression, I don't like to see it used as a card every time Lennon acts like a f@nny.
Depression is a horrible thing, and can be particularly horrible for a few people.. no getting away from that. But having it doesn't give anyone the right to continuously act like he does, with no real repercussions or reprimand, and seemingly no signs of regret.
Depressives can be sound and they can be 'a bit of an ar*ehole' just like everyone else. I think he falls into the latter.. and pretty easily.
19-01-2021, 03:40 PM
Good on St Johnstone
I admire clubs that refute this type of nonsense in a dignified manner.
Well done The Perth Saints
19-01-2021, 03:43 PM
You can take it to the press complaints commission. Other newspapers reported the facts.
The record has been doing this for years I remember them reporting riots at a Edinburgh Derby when there was 20 arrests splashing on their front page. An old firm match with over 100 arrests only a quote from the Glasgow police that it was a quiet day. As I said today's newspaper tomorrow's bog paper. Their witch hunt publishing pictures of fans was of more concern.
Yeah fair enough, incidentally can anyone take anything in the press to the PCC?
19-01-2021, 03:44 PM
It's a sensible post HD so don't want to come across like I'm against it. However, as someone who also has a bit of experience with depression, I don't like to see it used as a card every time Lennon acts like a f@nny.
Depression is a horrible thing, and can be particularly horrible for a few people.. no getting away from that. But having it doesn't give anyone the right to continuously act like he does, with no real repercussions or reprimand, and seemingly no signs of regret.
Depressives can be sound and they can be 'a bit of an ar*ehole' just like everyone else. I think he falls into the latter.. and pretty easily.
Very good post :aok:
19-01-2021, 03:48 PM
That unfortunately has not been the case for a long time. Once it is reported online it is there forever more. I myself was the subject of an inaccurate national newspaper report over ten years ago and subsequently got a personal apology from the reporter who admitted that he could and should have researched his report better. Now it wasn't sensational headline news but his inaccurate reporting was potentially damaging to my future professional reputation, even if not massively so, but despite him admitting his inaccuracy there was no official correction and the inaccurate report can still be found online.
19-01-2021, 03:53 PM
That unfortunately has not been the case for a long time. Once it is reported online it is there forever more. I myself was the subject of an inaccurate national newspaper report over ten years ago and subsequently got a personal apology from the reporter who admitted that he could and should have researched his report better. Now it wasn't sensational headline news but his inaccurate reporting was potentially damaging to my future professional reputation, even if not massively so, but despite him admitting his inaccuracy there was no official correction and the inaccurate report can still be found online.
Great point, I literally found that headline by typing it in to google.
19-01-2021, 04:28 PM
You can ask for that to be taken down. Most newspapers would agree to the request.
Those journalists made no effort to report the truth and they don't have a right to publish inaccuracies.
That's incredibly naive. Newspapers have been publishing outright lies since time immemorial, including dangerous misreporting of Brexit and Covid. And we're about to follow America's road to hell by launching Britain's first non-impartial (i.e. right-wing wingnuts) television news channel.
hibbydog
19-01-2021, 05:13 PM
Agreed, it absolutely gives nobody the right to mouth off, just because they’re angry all the time. I guess he needs to learn to try and see someone else’s point of view and not be so defensive.
Until then, he’ll come across as a right kn0b from time to time.
Rumble de Thump
19-01-2021, 05:30 PM
That's incredibly naive. Newspapers have been publishing outright lies since time immemorial, including dangerous misreporting of Brexit and Covid. And we're about to follow America's road to hell by launching Britain's first non-impartial (i.e. right-wing wingnuts) television news channel.
I'm not sure what this is about. It's not incredibly naive. It's incredibly correct and what you just said explains why it's correct.
Just listened to the full press conference. Just ludicrous. Whinging about distancing on a bus when the general public would have had to self isolate for 2 weeks.
Logie Green
19-01-2021, 07:28 PM
Apologies if this has been mentioned before.
In yesterday’s rant Lennon said it should’ve been him doing the apology last week instead of Lawwell. Then he said he didn’t have anything to apologise for so what would he have been apologising for if he’d taken Lawwell’s place last week? 🤷*♂️
19-01-2021, 07:49 PM
Agree as someone who suffers from depression that is not how you react. You hide away and avoid all and conflict. He is probably bipolar and this is the manic phase when you are putting the world to rights and see things through a very unrealistic lens.
The fall into depression will come after it.
19-01-2021, 11:11 PM
Should have said IPSO who replaced PCC. The public should have some sort of recourse especially when employers are doing Web searches on prospective employees. I know somebody who's name was reported in the press but the he had no case to answer when it went to court. It needs to be easier to take them to court for libel.
20-01-2021, 05:59 AM
Agree as someone who suffers from depression that is not how you react. You hide away and avoid all and conflict. He is probably bipolar and this is the manic phase when you are putting the world to rights and see things through a very unrealistic lens.
The fall into depression will come after it.
Not always. Depression can manifest as anger and frustration. Not that I think it's necessarily the reason Lennon is acting the way he is, but the symptoms generally vary from person to person.
20-01-2021, 06:46 AM
Not always. Depression can manifest as anger and frustration. Not that I think it's necessarily the reason Lennon is acting the way he is, but the symptoms generally vary from person to person.
Not a medical expert but think Lennon is bipolar. What used to be called manic depressive. He looks to be going through the manic phase where he is putting the world to rights through his distorted version of reality. Talking from personal experience😀
20-01-2021, 06:57 AM
For me he hasn't helped matters but if you read a transcript of what he said he actually talked a lot of sense, however if you watch him saying it you get the impression that he's lost the plot.
And I'm no fan of Neil Lennon.
20-01-2021, 07:07 AM
For me he hasn't helped matters but if you read a transcript of what he said he actually talked a lot of sense, however if you watch him saying it you get the impression that he's lost the plot.
Out of curiosity which parts made sense? The scotland bit possibly, other than that I can’t think of anything at all.
20-01-2021, 07:12 AM
No there were special rules put in place for the tennis players where they are allowed outside to practice for 5 hours each day during their quarantine period. It's only the players who were on the affected flights who are subject to the same rules as everyone else and are unable to leave their hotel rooms at all for 2 weeks.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/www.bbc.com/news/amp/world-australia-55693223
20-01-2021, 07:15 AM
When I watched that interview my initial thought was a I hope somebody at his club is looking after him.
20-01-2021, 07:25 AM
If you read what he says, he actually makes some very good points, although I don't really agree with him on the bits in red. Also St Johnstone are calling him out on what he said about their changing facilities.
A tough two weeks to handle?
“Considering I was isolating for 10 days. You can see how people get frustrated and a little bit fed up because there is nothing you can do other than try to keep your mode of thinking in the right way.
“It’s been interesting watching all the fallout, the media coverage and the opinions of some people as well."
On the 'backlash' to the trip
“Yes, if you want to call it that. First of all, it shouldn’t have been Peter out apologising. It should have been me because it was my decision. We made it with the best intentions for the players and the club for the second half of the season. Unfortunately, we picked up one infection out of a group of 60. It did show that our protocols are all in place and working.
“But I do feel we have been harshly treated in terms of the amount of people that have had to isolate and the time they had to isolate as well.
“We’ve picked up one more positive case. So that makes two out of the whole party. So there was no outbreak. There was no misbehaviour.
“We were very professional in how we went about our business. The preparation was top-class.
“We prepared as if we were going away on a European trip.
“The innuendo and the insinuation from Andy Walker that it was a ‘jolly’ - I can’t have that. I can’t tolerate that at all.
“That calls into question my professionalism, the professionalism of my players, my staff, the people who were out there helping us. It’s an absolute scandal.
“The fact that 80 per cent of my squad were probably tee-total … it’s a total distortion of the facts.
“And for him to go on a public platform and accuse the club of being arrogant, demanding an apology from the club, which we’ve done. Even then, it wasn’t good enough for him.
“I want an apology from him. You cannot go there and falsify what went on with a total misrepresentation of reality.”
Who decides the isolation cases?
"The Scottish Government."
How are contacts decided?
"Well, on the plane it was the guys that were closest to them. So all of a sudden it was two rows back, two rows forward, two rows to the side. We were under the impression that with business class seat the distance from two seats back was pretty safe. And some lads had to isolate because they were on buses with Christopher.
"This is where I’m confused. Because all clubs in Scotland have been travelling up and down the country in two buses. With these guidelines now that we are having to adhere to it means that only three players can travel on a 52-seater bus.
"So when we played Hibs last Monday we had to bus six players on two 52-seater buses. So that would mean every club in the country with a say of, you know, 30 people, would have to take 10 buses.
"So for me the goalposts are completely moved. And in terms of physical distancing we have been in dressing rooms throughout the country - Hamilton on Boxing Day, St Johnstone - where there is no physical distancing. There is no room, we are cramped up, 15-20 people in the one room.
"And now, all of sudden, we adhere to all protocols, taken photographs, adhered to every rule in place and we have 13 players, and three staff isolating for 10 days that, apart from one, are all negative. It is absolutely preposterous."
Disappointed with Nicola Sturgeon's comments on the trip?
"I’m not going to get into a fight with the First Minister but I’ll take umbrage on her use of the term ‘r n r’, which she selectively picked out of interviews - completely ignoring the hard work we were intending to do, and the intensive training.
"And also that we abused our so-called privileges when we were out there. That couldn’t be further from the truth."
What about the photos?
“We are all sitting outside in a bubble. We may not be exactly two metres apart, but we are in our bubble.
"There was no Chris Jullien in any of the photographs. All the people in the photographs are negative.
"By the way, it is illegal to take a picture of somebody without their consent in Dubai. And it’s not as if we were doing a conga at three o’clock in the morning in a dining room or dancing to Baccara in a dressing room or traipsing up and down the country with Covid in a train from Glasgow to London.
"My players’ behaviour was exemplary. They are top professionals. The way this has been portrayed has been a total distortion of the facts.”
But there were bar pictures too?
“We are in an area. Some players are in a bar, not all of them drinking. They are maybe not totally distancing, but they are sitting there quietly watching the football for half an hour with masks on.
“We got treated like common criminals for it. I apologise to Celtic supporters for the fallout and what has happened.
“That was never our intention. We went out there with the best of intentions to do a good weeks’ work, come back and really look forward to the second half of the season.
“We followed the protocols, but it has backfired on us because the goalposts have been moved.”
You said you should apologise if anyone has to. Do you feel there needed to be an apology for it?
“The intention for going to Dubai was correct, what was regretful was the outcome of it and the way we have been treated on it. The whole bus thing? Clubs up and down the country are travelling on three buses. Now by the regulations now that can’t be possible.”
Do you think if you have beaten Rangers there wouldn’t have been the same backlash?
“It’s hard to say.”
SFA chief executive Ian Maxwell has confirmed their disciplinary department is investigating whether you broke protocols following the publication of the photos. Will it be an injustice for you if Celtic are punished given that nothing happened to Scotland?
“As long as they investigate that that’s fine. It is hypocrisy of the highest order. I am feeling aggrieved and my staff and players are feeling aggrieved as well. It is all political.”
Leagues shut down claim?
“I have no comment. It’s such nonsense I don’t even have to answer that.
Another positive case though?
“There’s another positive but he’s already been isolating and the rest of the squad is negative. It won’t affect the squad at all.
“No one else is affected.
Hartson says time to go?
“John has an opinion, like more people on the periphery of the game. You either take it on board or you don’t. It has no impact on me.
“It means nothing.
“When he is praising me, it means nothing. When he’s talking about me losing my job or being removed from my job, it means nothing to me.
“John feels he has a job to do. Yeah, he could have rang me first and had a chat about it.
“But when you are on the media side – and I’ve been there myself – it’s an easy life."
Is the title race still alive?
“Well we’ve got to win every game. It’s as simple as that. The players are capable of doing it.
“We were really going well, played well at Ibrox and were the better team.
“And then this has happened.
“So we just have to galvanise ourselves and go again.
“This season has been totally disrupted constantly. We’ve had very little room for momentum building.
“You had the Bolingoli incident at the start of the season, then you had four guys on international duty ruled out- that disrupted our preparations.
“And then we’ve had this, the whole fall-out which I think has been completely over the top.
The club gave you support, are they still backing you?
“Yes, they’re fully behind me. I’m in contact with Peter daily.
“There has been no talk of any change or any difference to my position.
“I’ve always been appreciative of the support Peter and the board have given me. They’ve been absolutely wonderful.
“It’s only a month ago that we won the Treble. Since I’ve come back, we’ve won five trophies in a row.
“That seems to have been forgotten very quickly by some people.
“It’s not an easy thing to do. I think I’m the first person ever to win the Treble as a player and manager.
“So I’m not saying the performances have been good this season. They haven’t. I’m not shying away from that.
“But, you know, we’re going through a difficult period. We’re going through a bit of adversity. And you need to be strong.
“I think I’m completely the right man for the job. I have the backing of the board – and the players, as well.
Isolation experience?
“You heart sinks, of course it does, because you can’t do your job for 10 days. We had two very important games against formidable teams and you want to be able to do all you can.
“It was very frustrating. And I understand what the public are going through at the minute. I understand their frustrations, having gone through it myself.
“It’s not an easy thing to go through because you know you’re healthy, you know you’re well. But you have to adhere to the rules.
“It’s awful what we’re living through at the moment. And that’s been interesting, as well, watching news loops and seeing how it’s affecting the public not just in the UK but around the world. It’s horrendous.
“And yes we are privileged to be doing our jobs at the minute.
“But I can guarantee there has been no abuse of those privileges.
“Well, we had the Hibs game on the telly.
“I was constantly on the phone to the dugout. Then it was exactly the same at the weekend against Livingston.
“It wasn’t easy. You don’t get a real feel for the game and see the whole picture.
“It was very, very difficult and very frustrating because you can’t do your job properly through no fault of your own.”
20-01-2021, 07:26 AM
To be fair, the Scotland players were in a bubble on a Euro qualifying trip. Scott Brown and Neil Lennon were sitting drinking pints at the pool next to Branda and Tam from Larkhall on an unnecessary training jolly.
The "bubble" rules only allow football players to come into close contact with one another during training and matches, they are supposed to follow the same social distancing rules as the rest of us at all other times.
I could understand the actions of the Scotland players that night but it doesn't make it right.
The majority of Lennon's rant was nonsense but he did have a point about the Scotland players. The circumstances are different of course in terms of the purpose of both trips but he was referring to the media reaction being different which I think he does have a poibt about.
20-01-2021, 07:29 AM
The "bubble" rules only allow football players to come into close contact with one another during training and matches, they are supposed to follow the same social distancing rules as the rest of us at all other times.
I could understand the actions of the Scotland players that night but it doesn't make it right.
The majority of Lennon's rant was nonsense but he did have a point about the Scotland players. The circumstances are different of course in terms of the purpose of both trips but he was referring to the media reaction being different which I think he does have a poibt about.
In the text above, how much is nonsense?
20-01-2021, 07:30 AM
I’m also baffled.
In a seriously congested season, at a time when people are being told to stay at home, Celtc jet off to Dubai for beer and pool time, facilitated by moving a fixture to accommodate them.
Their team is seriously underperforming and they’ve not managed to avoid COVID either.
From any angle, it looks simply awful, and railing at the media for ‘hypocrisy’ misses the mark by a mile.
20-01-2021, 07:39 AM
55 hate filled pages and now we’ve turned to his mental health.
Classy.
20-01-2021, 07:48 AM
Classy.
There shouldn’t be any need for ‘hate’.
Certainly none from me. I know it’s very typical of football supporters to turn on those we previously praised, but I have been and remain a Neil Lennon fan.
I just think he’s struck the wrong tone here, not helped by working for such an arrogant club who always see themselves as the victim.
20-01-2021, 07:56 AM
Classy.
I really don’t get the need to bring his mental health into everything he does.
The guy is acting like a knob. We’ve all done it, it doesn’t need to be attributed to the fact he has mental health issues.
20-01-2021, 07:56 AM
I’m also baffled.
In a seriously congested season, at a time when people are being told to stay at home, Celtc jet off to Dubai for beer and pool time, facilitated by moving a fixture to accommodate them.
Their team is seriously underperforming and they’ve not managed to avoid COVID either.
From any angle, it looks simply awful, and railing at the media for ‘hypocrisy’ misses the mark by a mile.
Deflection tactics for a club who have monumentally ballsed up their 10IAR bid.
They've been caught sleeping at the wheel and Lennon (once again) showing his limitations as a manager. In such an important season too.
If they were 15 points clear at the top he wouldn't bother his arse about the media flak.
His ability, or lack of it, is there for all to see.
I'm quite enjoying it all tbh.
20-01-2021, 07:59 AM
Deflection tactics for a club who have monumentally ballsed up their 10IAR bid.
They've been caught sleeping at the wheel and Lennon (once again) showing his limitations as a manager. In such an important season too.
If they were 15 points clear at the top he wouldn't bother his arse about the media flak.
His ability, or lack of it, is there for all to see.
I'm quite enjoying it all tbh.
Same here.
20-01-2021, 08:58 AM
Classy.
What I don't get, is that if we want to talk about Scott Allan and his problems, the thread is shut down before it can reach 2 pages. Apparently because we don't want speculation, or the likes, about peoples health when we don't actually know.
Doesn't apply to Lennon for some reason.
Thing is, I couldn't give a **** about Neil Lennon, and have nae interest in what is or isn't wrong with him, but I can read about that on here. I really do care about what's going on with Scott Allan, but we're not allowed to speculate or talk about that. :confused:
20-01-2021, 09:06 AM
What I don't get, is that if we want to talk about Scott Allan and his problems, the thread is shut down before it can reach 2 pages. Apparently because we don't want speculation, or the likes, about peoples health when we don't actually know.
Thing is, I couldn't give a **** about Neil Lennon, and have nae interest in what is or isn't wrong with him, but I can read about that on here. I really do care about what's going on with Scott Allan, but we're not allowed to speculate or talk about that. :confused:
NL has been quite public about his health issues. SA hasn't and due to patient confidentiality in which the club would be liable, it wouldn't be right to speculate.
20-01-2021, 09:09 AM
NL has been quite public about his health issues. SA hasn't and due to patient confidentiality in which the club would be liable, it wouldn't be right to speculate.
Scott Allan has been public about having diabetes, and I'm not asking anyone to break patient confidentiality rules.
Neil Lennon has not been public about having bipolar disorder. Ever, as far as I'm aware.
20-01-2021, 09:09 AM
The club certainly aren't liable for any speculation on here.
20-01-2021, 09:11 AM
Is the difference not that Lennon has been very open about his mental health, whereas it’s pure speculation about what’s wrong with Allan and whether he’ll ever play again.
For what it’s worth, I agree with others that too often Lennon's mental health can be used as a crutch for his behaviour. Sometimes it will be as a result of his struggles, other times it’s just him acting like an arse.
20-01-2021, 09:16 AM
Classy.
I cant see 55 hate filled pages, just folk pointing out what he said was wrong and out of order.
20-01-2021, 09:16 AM
Is the difference not that Lennon has been very open about his mental health, whereas it’s pure speculation about what’s wrong with Allan and whether he’ll ever play again.
For what it’s worth, I agree with others that too often Lennon's mental health can be used as a crutch for his behaviour. Sometimes it will be as a result of his struggles, other times it’s just him acting like an arse.
It's still pure speculation that Lennon is being a prick because of his mental health issues. Just because he's said that he's suffered from depression, that doesn't mean he's having mental problems every time he's not happy on the telly.
It is speculation to talk about what's wrong with Scott Allan, and I don't even see the problem with us speculating, I just don't understand why that speculation is not allowed wen it's Scott Allan, but speculation about Lennons mental health/bipolar/whatever is fair game?
20-01-2021, 09:19 AM
If I was St Johnstone and Hamilton I would tell Celtic to get changed on their 20 buses. Clubs would have had to carry out risk assessments which would be available to Celtic and the SPFL, if the facilities at both these grounds are as described both clubs would have received more complaints.
The club certainly aren't liable for any speculation on here.
Unless someone was spot on with specifics.
No awareness of the sacrifices the wider public are making on a daily basis and any consideration at what was a training trip taking place at a time when virus was rising significantly and travel is not genuinely essential. They have a multi million pound training complex. The pictures particularly of him and Brown next to apparently tourists on sun beds was clearly breaking protocols. Didn't realise they had 60 people there wow. Defending the indefensible imo. We didn't need to apologise for anything.
20-01-2021, 09:20 AM
It's still pure speculation that Lennon is being a prick because of his mental health issues. Just because he's said that he's suffered from depression, that doesn't mean he's having mental problems every time he's not happy on the telly.
It is speculation to talk about what's wrong with Scott Allan, and I don't even see the problem with us speculating, I just don't understand why that speculation is not allowed wen it's Scott Allan, but speculation about Lennons mental health/bipolar/whatever is fair game?
Its not wrong to speculate about Scott Allans health situation. The fact that nothing has been disclosed about it leads to folk speculating about what it is or isnt. The club and others have clearly decided that its best to keep it under wraps maybe at the players wishes.
20-01-2021, 09:22 AM
Can it not also be used as an excuse for his behaviour? Surely personal responsibility for how he behaves.
20-01-2021, 09:23 AM
Unless someone was spot on with specifics.
If something is leaked, then it's no longer speculation.
The club isn't liable for anything that you or I say, however outrageous. If one of us repeats something that a club employee tells us, then that's a different story.
20-01-2021, 09:29 AM
Bottom line is that this was a trip that could and should have been avoided.
It wasn't necessary or essential to travel to Dubai. If Neil Lennon had wanted to sharpen the training regime Celtc have, to use a popular cliche, "state of the art" facilities to do that. For everyone at Celtc to fail to see the optics that this trip would be perceived by all, including their own support, to have a recreation / jolly element to it is pretty staggering.
When people, including the Celtc support, have lost loved ones, been seriously ill, lost jobs, are suffering great financial hardships, for any football club to jet to the other side of the world for such an unnecessary trip was hugely insensitive and hugely arrogant.
Lawells delayed -sorry not sorry- "apology" only came after the Celtc support had turned on their club en masse, and imo is driven by a fear of reduced ST sales and sponsorship rather than any genuine contrition. Lennons failure to ever take any responsibility for any of his actions and deflect attention onto others is typical Lennon.
20-01-2021, 09:29 AM
No awareness of the sacrifices the wider public are making on a daily basis and any consideration at what was a training trip taking place at a time when virus was rising significantly and travel is not genuinely essential. They have a multi million pound training complex. The pictures particularly of him and Brown next to apparently tourists on sun beds was clearly breaking protocols. Didn't realise they had 60 people there wow. Defending the indefensible imo. We didn't need to apologise for anything.
Try to ignore your own opinion and feelings about whether Celtis should have gone and bear in mind the fact that they were within their rights to do so.
The vast majority of what he says makes sense. His emotive state, the current context and our own opinions might put things in a different light, but there's nothing much wrong with the content of his statements/answers.
20-01-2021, 09:34 AM
Try to ignore your own opinion and feelings about whether Celtis should have gone and bear in mind the fact that they were within their rights to do so.
The vast majority of what he says makes sense. His emotive state, the current context and our own opinions might put things in a different light, but there's nothing much wrong with the content of his statements/answers.
Legally, on a technicality, yes.
But they were very foolish not to cancel.
20-01-2021, 09:38 AM
Legally, on a technicality, yes.
But they were very foolish not to cancel.
I agree 100%, but if you take Lennon's position (ie. that they had the right to go), then there's nothing much wrong with what he said. There's a bit of sketchiness re. social distancing, etc., but the rest makes sense.
Unfortunately at the time going to Dubai was within their rights due to them being a pro football team, that is not the question. Was it the right thing to do seeing as everyone else is in a lockdown situation in a pandemic unable to see friends and relatives and we then see pics of them having beers round the pool not social distancing. We then hear an injured player who's unable to actually train is over there on this jolly with them and he's the one that catches Covid, the whole scenario was indefensible, Celtic football club were rightly called out about it and their attitude just shows the contempt they have for the authorities and the general public.
Lennon's rant is just typical of the Celtic attitude of everyone's always against us, he's Celtic through and through and the only reason he's in that job, he's not a good coach, ruins good teams with his old school management, poor player purchases and poor coaching.
20-01-2021, 10:41 AM
Nope.
The difference is folk here hate Lennon so anything goes.
AugustaHibs
20-01-2021, 10:45 AM
I agree with the empty vacuum being filled with *****.
What about the headlines post Scottish Cup final then? IMO the outlet that printed that should never be allowed near Easter Road or East Mains again.
There's a time and place for really sticking to people who spread absolute nonsense.
This could cause outrage but I’m sure Kenny millar wrote one of these stories in the sun.,
20-01-2021, 10:48 AM
Nope.
agreed. The obsession with Lennon is baffling. So many claim not to care about him. 56 pages tells a different story.
20-01-2021, 10:56 AM
agreed. The obsession with Lennon is baffling. So many claim not to care about him. 56 pages tells a different story.
He's a controversial ex Hibs manager who left in dubious circumstances making a hash of the biggest club job in Scotland. It's hardly surprising there's a 56 page thread on it.
20-01-2021, 10:58 AM
This could cause outrage but I’m sure Kenny millar wrote one of these stories in the sun.,
I don't really care who the author is, I still think the author of reports that contain any false information should have access removed by the club.
20-01-2021, 10:59 AM
Classy.
You're seeing something that isn't there.
Most comments I've read have been pretty balanced, with the occasional (understandable) annoyance at some of the outrageous things he said in his latest rant.
Nope.
When you say 'folk here', do you mean everybody?
I certainly don't hate Lennon. I've no particular fondness for the guy but I certainly don't hate him.
20-01-2021, 11:13 AM
It's not a Neil Lennon thread without someone playing the "but you don't like Neil Lennon" argument like it's anything meaningful.
20-01-2021, 11:16 AM
"I'm not convinced they're a public health issue. [It] seems political in my opinion.
"There seems to be some sort of agenda being driven here. I am not getting into a fight with the government but I will just leave it out there."
"We've been held to a far higher standard than any other club,"
"Protocols at different clubs are inconsistent. As soon as Celtic are deemed to do something wrong, bang, you're all wanting blood, it's absolutely scandalous. The fallout from this has been way too much.
"We did everything we possibly could to avoid the damage."
"Boxing Day at Hamilton there was no social distancing there, there was no physical distancing. It is inconsistent. Protocols of different clubs are inconsistent. We go to St Johnstone all crammed into a little dressing room. Inconsistent."
Just some of the comments I would question.
hibbydog
20-01-2021, 11:37 AM
Classy.
I think there are some classy posts on this thread. Many identifying with his struggles and empathising with his very difficult situation in an effort to understand what's driving his behaviour.
20-01-2021, 11:39 AM
It's now 721 days since Neil Lennon was Hibs manager.
20-01-2021, 11:39 AM
"I'm not convinced they're a public health issue. [It] seems political in my opinion.
"There seems to be some sort of agenda being driven here. I am not getting into a fight with the government but I will just leave it out there."
"We've been held to a far higher standard than any other club,"
"Protocols at different clubs are inconsistent. As soon as Celtic are deemed to do something wrong, bang, you're all wanting blood, it's absolutely scandalous. The fallout from this has been way too much.
"We did everything we possibly could to avoid the damage."
"Boxing Day at Hamilton there was no social distancing there, there was no physical distancing. It is inconsistent. Protocols of different clubs are inconsistent. We go to St Johnstone all crammed into a little dressing room. Inconsistent."
Just some of the comments I would question.
So you've gone from "the majority of Lennon's rant was nonsense" to quoting 5 lines out of I don't know how many - and even then are they all nonsense or is it just your opinion?
I'm not having a go at you. It's just I feel that because it's Celtic and Lennon, everyone is dismissing what he is saying when in fact he seems to make some valid points.
20-01-2021, 11:50 AM
I think there are some classy posts on this thread. Many identifying with his struggles and empathising with his very difficult situation in an effort to understand what's driving his behaviour.
Nobody is using it as a weapon, more of a way of trying to justify it.
I don't agree with that tbh, I think it's because he's been a dick.
20-01-2021, 11:53 AM
So you've gone from "the majority of Lennon's rant was nonsense" to quoting 5 lines out of I don't know how many - and even then are they all nonsense or is it just your opinion?
I'm not having a go at you. It's just I fell that because it's Celtic and Lennon, everyone is dismissing what he is saying when in fact he seems to make some valid points.
What valid points?
Andy Walker was bang on calling it a Jolly, otherwise they wouldn’t have taken a player who is crocked for months, and they wouldn’t have been pictured pool side and in restaurants drinking. It was a holiday with some training included.
Calling out St Johnstone and Hamilton has been proven as nonsense.
Stating that it should’ve been him apologising and now Lawwell but then stating that he had nothing to apologise for other than a player catching Covid.
Stating that everyone was negative apart from the one case, and then having to state its two cases.
Slating the Government protocols even though it’s the same for everyone. Calling them nonsense even though the second case was isolating due to those protocols.
In fact I would probably say the only bit he got right was around the Scotland situation, however when his club probably had the most players there then he’s not really got a leg to stand on.
It’s got nothing to do with the fact it’s Lennon and Celtic, although no other manager would come out on the attack when they were in the wrong like that.
20-01-2021, 12:03 PM
What valid points?
Andy Walker was bang on calling it a Jolly, otherwise they wouldn’t have taken a player who is crocked for months, and they wouldn’t have been pictured pool side and in restaurants drinking. It was a holiday with some training included.
And Lennon says it was a training camp. There are rest periods/down time at all training camps.
Calling out St Johnstone and Hamilton has been proven as nonsense.
St Johnstone have said he's wrong - I don't know about Hamilton. Do you know what the facilities are like at the other grounds - maybe Lennon does because he's been to them.
Stating that it should’ve been him apologising and now Lawwell but then stating that he had nothing to apologise for other than a player catching Covid.
He said that it was his decision to go to Dubai therefore it's for him to apologise - if an apology is required.
Stating that everyone was negative apart from the one case, and then having to state its two cases.
I agree with you, these bits are nonsense.
Slating the Government protocols even though it’s the same for everyone. Calling them nonsense even though the second case was isolating due to those protocols.
So how many teams are only permitted 3 players per bus? That's what he was getting at.
In fact I would probably say the only bit he got right was around the Scotland situation, however when his club probably had the most players there then he’s not really got a leg to stand on.
It’s got nothing to do with the fact it’s Lennon and Celtic,
You're having a laugh eh?
although no other manager would come out on the attack when they were in the wrong like that.
He's being attacked so he's come out all guns blazing, as he does.
20-01-2021, 12:15 PM
I think now is the time to call a halt to this thread about a club and manager who is not ours too much time and energy expended on it. Also its dae'in Ma heid in.
20-01-2021, 12:18 PM
And Lennon says it was a training camp. There are rest periods/down time at all training camps.
St Johnstone have said he's wrong - I don't know about Hamilton. Do you know what the facilities are like at the other grounds - maybe Lennon does because he's been to them.
He said that it was his decision to go to Dubai therefore it's for him to apologise - if an apology is required.
I agree with you, these bits are nonsense.
So how many teams are only permitted 3 players per bus? That's what he was getting at.
You're having a laugh eh?
He's being attacked so he's come out all guns blazing, as he does.
Downtime is different to sitting drinking, and taking crocked players who can’t train, and also walking through the public within the hotel which is forbidden.
The JRG would have issues if teams weren’t following protocols when it comes to facilities. The fact Celtic haven’t complained until now says no issue.
His CEO has said it was a mistake to go, whether Lennons decision or not, the club have decided it was a mistake.
Nobody is only permitted 3 to a bus, Celtic included. If they want 0 close contacts then they would have 3 to a bus, hence why clubs are encouraged to use their own cars and travel alone. As that’s not always possible then close contacts are almost a given, that’s the risk clubs take.
Why am I having a laugh? The same reaction would be if any other manager went on a tirade like that, you telling me the whole of Scotland wouldn’t be laughing at Gerrard or Neilson or McInnes if they made this same interview?
Green_one
20-01-2021, 12:22 PM
I'm not having a go at you. It's just I feel that because it's Celtic and Lennon, everyone is dismissing what he is saying when in fact he seems to make some valid points.
If anyone thinks that his interview was not a car crash then they need to take a broader look instead of the poor Lennon \ Celtic vision
His delivery, contradiction of Lawwell and 'everyone picking Celtic' are obvious negatives. But most of all he took a story that Celtic had tried to draw a line under and reinvigorated it. Neil Lennon ALONE is responsible for all the storm that has come his way in the last 24 hours. He showed once again that he unsuitable for a high pressure role that takes good communication and self control.
People claiming there is an agenda against Lennon ignore two key things. Firstly there is now clear opinion from Celtic fans against Lennon. Secondly this was all brought on himself. If he had simply gone with the club script and refocused on the football, he and Celtic would be in a better position. His key focus should be on getting performance and points, not refighting a war already lost.
Frankly, as a Hibs fan I am happy for competitors to have awful managers and results. Long may it continue. I certainly enjoyed Rangers and Hearts recent debacles.
20-01-2021, 12:29 PM
Sky Sports for the game tonight will be interesting
Wonder if Sky will keep Andy Walker away tonight
20-01-2021, 12:30 PM
Downtime is different to sitting drinking,
The management will decide how downtime is spent and their choice was probably pretty limited. They were hardly going to go shopping were they? He also says that a large majority of his players are teetotal - do you know better than him?
and taking crocked players who can’t train,
Anyone that has ever been involved in managing a group, be it work or sport or whatever, will confirm the importance of including the whole team - even those who might not be involved at that given time.
and also walking through the public within the hotel which is forbidden.
No it's not. It would be if they had travelled the night before a match in Scotland.
The JRG would have issues if teams weren’t following protocols when it comes to facilities. The fact Celtic haven’t complained until now says no issue.
Lennon and Celtic haven't been attacked on this front up until now.
His CEO has said it was a mistake to go, whether Lennons decision or not, the club have decided it was a mistake.
And?
Nobody is only permitted 3 to a bus, Celtic included. If they want 0 close contacts then they would have 3 to a bus, hence why clubs are encouraged to use their own cars and travel alone. As that’s not always possible then close contacts are almost a given, that’s the risk clubs take.
Celtic were told to send 2 buses for 6 players, even though they and everyone else have been doing differently all season. That's why he's saying the rules have been changed for them.
Why am I having a laugh? The same reaction would be if any other manager went on a tirade like that, you telling me the whole of Scotland wouldn’t be laughing at Gerrard or Neilson or McInnes if they made this same interview?
Whatever.
20-01-2021, 12:32 PM
If anyone thinks that his interview was not a car crash then they need to take a broader look instead of the poor Lennon \ Celtic vision
His delivery, contradiction of Lawwell and 'everyone picking Celtic' are obvious negatives. But most of all he took a story that Celtic had tried to draw a line under and reinvigorated it. Neil Lennon ALONE is responsible for all the storm that has come his way in the last 24 hours. He showed once again that he unsuitable for a high pressure role that takes good communication and self control.
People claiming there is an agenda against Lennon ignore two key things. Firstly there is now clear opinion from Celtic fans against Lennon. Secondly this was all brought on himself. If he had simply gone with the club script and refocused on the football, he and Celtic would be in a better position. His key focus should be on getting performance and points, not refighting a war already lost.
Frankly, as a Hibs fan I am happy for competitors to have awful managers and results. Long may it continue. I certainly enjoyed Rangers and Hearts recent debacles.
I have no sympathy whatsoever for Lennon nor Celtic.
I'm just saying that people should look at what was said as opposed to how it was said.
Yorkshire HFC
20-01-2021, 12:37 PM
I agree 100%, but if you take Lennon's position (ie. that they had the right to go), then there's nothing much wrong with what he said. There's a bit of sketchiness re. social distancing, etc., but the rest makes sense.
People like to kick a man when he's down.
He's not Hibs manager, so a lot of people on this site like to critisise anything he / anyone else not connected to Hibs does.
Celtic appear to have been within their rights to go to Dubai - but a socially conscious / responsible company would not have done so.
20-01-2021, 12:45 PM
I don’t take his position because it’s indefensible imo.
20-01-2021, 12:48 PM
I don't particularly care either way about it to be honest, the five lines or whatever it is formed the majority of the article I read. The whole trip was ill-judged and should have never taken place. As far as I'm concerned he's come out all guns blazing because he knows Celtic were in the wrong.
Whether something is nonsense or not is very subjective by the way so of course it's my opinion. I have said in my previous post that I think he had a point about calling out the lack of criticism in the media for the Scotland players doing the conga in Serbia so I'm certainly not "dismissing what he is saying because it's Celtic and Lennon".
20-01-2021, 01:27 PM
Classy.
I was trying to recall who it is on here that stubbornly defends NL regardless of the situation, in the same way that some deluded Green Brigade fanatics would.
Given your ridiculous statement above, I probably don't need to rack my brains much further.
Not one page is hate-filled on this thread. And as far as I've seen, the only reference to mental health are those suggesting an explanation for why he is being so outrageous, and then those refuting that.
I trust you got the attention you were looking for though.
20-01-2021, 01:28 PM
I'm really not a fan of Lennon. Don't particularly like the guy and i've made my feeling clear about him since his time with us but one thing he isn't is thick. I'm not believing for a second he believes some of the things he said in that interview. To me he's trying to create a siege mentality as a final throw of the dice. He'll be telling his players that the world is out to get Celtic. Wouldn't surprise me if they battered Livingston tonight.
20-01-2021, 01:33 PM
I have no sympathy whatsoever for Lennon nor Celtic.
I'm just saying that people should look at what was said as opposed to how it was said.
I had a scan through what you were quoting and it seems to miss some of the stuff I watched, or maybe I just missed it. I'm sure he claimed it was remarkable (?) that they only came back with 1 positive case, after going to Dubai. Surely if that counts as a remarkable result, they neve should have considered going.
FWIW I disagree regarding the content, though I do accept you have to listen to what is said, as well as how it is delivered. I think it was the most ridiculous football manager interview I've seen in a long while, only made more outrageous by his tone and aggression towards individuals.
And for full disclosure: I do hate Celtic, but not Lennon as an individual. I just think he is a clown, and at this stage an indefensible one.
20-01-2021, 01:41 PM
I had a scan through what you were quoting and it seems to miss some of the stuff I watched, or maybe I just missed it. I'm sure he claimed it was remarkable (?) that they only came back with 1 positive case, after going to Dubai. Surely if that counts as a remarkable result, they neve should have considered going.
FWIW I disagree regarding the content, though I do accept you have to listen to what is said, as well as how it is delivered. I think it was the most ridiculous football manager interview I've seen in a long while, only made more outrageous by his tone and aggression towards individuals.
And for full disclosure: I do hate Celtic, but not Lennon as an individual. I just think he is a clown, and at this stage an indefensible one.
I lifted the stuff from Belfast Live (I think) - which came up first on the google search - I didn't edit anything.
People can make what they want of the content, I just think that if this was a manager and team in another league that you didn't know or care about, and you read the manager's comments in the paper as a total neutral, you could easily think that he has a point.
20-01-2021, 01:50 PM
‹
I lifted the stuff from Belfast Live (I think) - which came up first on the google seach - I didn't edit anything.
People can make what they want of the content, I just think that if this was a manager and team in another league that you didn't know or care about, and you read the manager's comments in the paper as a total neutral, you could easily think that he has a point.
Oh I definitely didn't mean to come across like I was accusing you of editing anything, mate. Just wondered if there's some of it different that I haven't seen.
He may have had the odd point amongst his ramblings (the Scotland case for example) but I think most of it he had no place bringing up and made a fool of himself even when he tried to make said points. And the whole being picked on sh*te… as if he expected this to happen and not get any criticism in the media!
I still don't think anyone has apologised for what happened to anyone other than the celtic supporters? Maybe if they'd come out in the first place and acknowledged their wrongdoing (as well as been more accommodating to the likes of Hibs' concerns), Lennon wouldn't have had to come out all guns blazing lashing out at everyone who crossed his mind.
20-01-2021, 02:31 PM
The management will decide how downtime is spent and their choice was probably pretty limited. They were hardly going to go shopping were they? He also says that a large majority of his players are teetotal - do you know better than him?
Anyone that has ever been involved in managing a group, be it work or sport or whatever, will confirm the importance of including the whole team - even those who might not be involved at that given time.
No it's not. It would be if they had travelled the night before a match in Scotland.
Lennon and Celtic haven't been attacked on this front up until now.
And?
Celtic were told to send 2 buses for 6 players, even though they and everyone else have been doing differently all season. That's why he's saying the rules have been changed for them.
Whatever.
On your second last point, Celtic weren’t told to send two buses for 3 players. They could’ve had them in one bus, however if anyone tested positive at least one person would be a close contact. There are no protocols in place for numbers on buses, just to not use them wherever possible.
And on the public spaces in hotels, it is forbidden as per their protocols again. If they are using hotels for these ‘training camps’ they must have their own hotel space for eating, chilling, meetings etc with no contact with the public.
20-01-2021, 02:47 PM
On your second last point, Celtic weren’t told to send two buses for 3 players. They could’ve had them in one bus, however if anyone tested positive at least one person would be a close contact. There are no protocols in place for numbers on buses, just to not use them wherever possible.
Lennon is saying that they were instructed to send 2 buses for 6 players. One of you is mistaken.
And on the public spaces in hotels, it is forbidden as per their protocols again. If they are using hotels for these ‘training camps’ they must have their own hotel space for eating, chilling, meetings etc with no contact with the public.
Forbidden or advised against? Are you making up the rules now or the JRG?
"Hotel exclusivity for the team or exclusive floor/areas to avoid contact with other hotel guests is advised. If exclusivity is not possible, other guidelines may be possible which are as follows: ..."
https://www.scottishfa.co.uk/media/6752/scottish-fa-return-to-playing-brochure.pdf
Sergio sledge
20-01-2021, 03:23 PM
Lennon is saying that they were instructed to send 2 buses for 6 players. One of you is mistaken.
I don't see anywhere in the snippets I've seen where Lennon says that they were instructed to allow only 3 players per bus, he does say that:
With these guidelines now that we are having to adhere to, it means that only three players can travel on a 52-seater bus. So when we played Hibs last Monday we had to bus six players on two 52-seater buses. So that would mean every club in the country with a say, you know, 30 people, would have to take 10 buses.
Lennon is trying to claim that the rules have changed and that Celtic are being treated differently to everyone else by having so many people isolate after the bus and plane journeys.
I think he is wrong, there is no guidance over how many people can be on a bus, the JRG guidance says that people should use their own transport to get to matches and avoid car sharing. My take on that would be that busses should be avoided also, but clubs have clearly been risk assessing the transport situation and deciding that they can use busses if they adhere to the standard 2m social distancing and wear masks.
What happened after the Julien situation is that the contact tracing team looked at the photos and seating plans and decided that players who were more than 2m away from Julien would still have to isolate, which was a different outcome to how the club had risk assessed it.
There's also a story today that Julien changed seats between bus journeys and so put more people at risk of being a close contact.
It sounds to me like Celtic had a review after what had happened with Julien and decided that in order to avoid anyone being picked as a close contact they'd have to limit the occupancy of the bus to 3 people, which is what they did for the match vs us.
I don't think any goalposts have changed, just Celtic's (and presumably most other clubs) risk assessment wasn't correct in assuming that people seated more than 2m away on the bus would not be classed as close contacts and have to isolate.
20-01-2021, 03:34 PM
I don't see anywhere in the snippets I've seen where Lennon says that they were instructed to allow only 3 players per bus, he does say that:
Lennon is trying to claim that the rules have changed and that Celtic are being treated differently to everyone else by having so many people isolate after the bus and plane journeys.
I think he is wrong, there is no guidance over how many people can be on a bus, the JRG guidance says that people should use their own transport to get to matches and avoid car sharing. My take on that would be that busses should be avoided also, but clubs have clearly been risk assessing the transport situation and deciding that they can use busses if they adhere to the standard 2m social distancing and wear masks.
What happened after the Julien situation is that the contact tracing team looked at the photos and seating plans and decided that players who were more than 2m away from Julien would still have to isolate, which was a different outcome to how the club had risk assessed it.
There's also a story today that Julien changed seats between bus journeys and so put more people at risk of being a close contact.
It sounds to me like Celtic had a review after what had happened with Julien and decided that in order to avoid anyone being picked as a close contact they'd have to limit the occupancy of the bus to 3 people, which is what they did for the match vs us.
I don't think any goalposts have changed, just Celtic's (and presumably most other clubs) risk assessment wasn't correct in assuming that people seated more than 2m away on the bus would not be classed as close contacts and have to isolate.
You could well be right. In the video I saw he also mentioned that they would have needed 20 (IIRC) buses between the airport and hotel in Dubai.
Even at 2m minimum, you could probably get 10 people on a coach. Lennon definitely gave the impression that they weren't permitted 6 people on 1 bus - whether he misunderstood or is being untruthful I've no idea.
20-01-2021, 03:46 PM
You could well be right. In the video I saw he also mentioned that they would have needed 20 (IIRC) buses between the airport and hotel in Dubai.
Even at 2m minimum, you could probably get 10 people on a coach. Lennon definitely gave the impression that they weren't permitted 6 people on 1 bus - whether he misunderstood or is being untruthful I've no idea.
20 buses will give them plenty of room for changing facilities when they play Hamilton and St Johnstone.
20-01-2021, 04:34 PM
20 buses will give them plenty of room for changing facilities when they play Hamilton and St Johnstone.
Judging by the celtic defence this season they may need to use 20 buses, But they have been unable to park the bus !
20-01-2021, 04:42 PM
Judging by the celtic defence this season they may need to use 20 buses, But they have been unable to park the bus !
🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌🚌
LeithMike
20-01-2021, 05:16 PM
If you read what he says, he actually makes some very good points”
Have to say I agree. This is no rant and I see a lot of good and measured points. It is a bit of a blinkered point of view and I dont think he's done enough to accept some of the genuine concerns about the trip.
The final decision to go on the trip would certainly not have rested with Lennon. Of course, he would want to go as a football matter. Lawell should have seen the way ouside events were going and put a stop to it. He should go if he simply let Lennon make the decision.
Nonetheless, these trips have been permitted and perhaps the bigger question is why any travel to Dubai was still lawful. If Celtic FC expected a lower rate of Covid in Dubai then its not hard to see why they chose to go - better pitches, warm weather training etc. It was crassly insensitive, however, using bars while people at home couldnt and the lack of acknowledgement of that and the failure to show any remorse is the worst thing.
Swinney's comments today that Neil Lennon's comments are appalling are themselves equally poor. Clearly both are defensive and dont like their organisation's motives being questioned but at least Lennon built a case, Swinney's are just emotional and rhetoric.
Sent from my SM-N960F using Tapatalk
20-01-2021, 05:22 PM
[emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590][emoji590]All we need now is Evel Knievel!
20-01-2021, 05:23 PM
Have to say I agree. This is no rant and I see a lot of good and measured points. It is a bit of a blinkered point of view and I dont think he's done enough to accept some of the genuine concerns about the trip.
The final decision to go on the trip would certainly not have rested with Lennon. Of course, he would want to go as a football matter. Lawell should have seen the way ouside events were going and put a stop to it. He should go if he simply let Lennon make the decision.
Nonetheless, these trips have been permitted and perhaps the bigger question is why any travel to Dubai was still lawful. If Celtic FC expected a lower rate of Covid in Dubai then its not hard to see why they chose to go - better pitches, warm weather training etc. It was crassly insensitive, however, using bars while people at home couldnt and the lack of acknowledgement of that and the failure to show any remorse is the worst thing.
Swinney's comments today that Neil Lennon's comments are appalling are themselves equally poor. Clearly both are defensive and dont like their organisation's motives being questioned but at least Lennon built a case, Swinney's are just emotional and rhetoric.
Sent from my SM-N960F using TapatalkAt last!
Good post, I agree with all of that. [emoji106]
20-01-2021, 05:23 PM
I don't hate or particularly care about the guy. But like many on this thread, I gave an opinion on him.
Why is that baffling?
20-01-2021, 05:44 PM
All we need now is Evel Knievel!
Your showing your age now. 😁😁😁
20-01-2021, 05:46 PM
I don't hate or particularly care about the guy. But like many on this thread, I gave an opinion on him.
Why is that baffling?
Yep, he's given a massively controversial press conference with a lot of talking points. It's natural for there to be a lot of discussion about that, and further discussions branching off from that.
20-01-2021, 05:53 PM
Yep, he's given a massively controversial press conference with a lot of talking points. It's natural for there to be a lot of discussion about that, and further discussions branching off from that.
Yep and not just by Hibs fans. Everyone's talking about him.
20-01-2021, 06:56 PM
Just started again with the BBC.
20-01-2021, 07:05 PM
Just continued his ersehole act on Sportsound tonight.
Doubled down on what he said about the St Johnstone dressing rooms as well...................
20-01-2021, 07:06 PM
Boycotting sky 😂 pathetic but expected.
20-01-2021, 07:15 PM
Called it earlier.
20-01-2021, 07:21 PM
Called it earlier.
I think he called it himself days ago during one of his nonsensical rants.
20-01-2021, 07:24 PM
Just like the huns in so many respects. Pundit/journalist shows a wee bit of dissent. Don't speak to them. More like the huns than they would ever like to admit. **** the both of them
1-0 down. If they lose tonight he's closer to the door. Happened at Hibs after the coin game at Tynie went on a 4ant lashing out at everyone and everything. Totally distracted the team and we went off the boil till he left via 'mutual decision'. History repeating itself methinks...
Robbo6-2
20-01-2021, 07:37 PM
He seriously needs help.
How is he still in a job of that magnitude.
20-01-2021, 07:38 PM
I heard he was on the Trump pardon list.
Was either him or Joe Exotic.
EI255
20-01-2021, 07:52 PM
20-01-2021, 08:32 PM
Here's a perspective from outside the football bubble:http://www.heraldscotland.com/news/19022325.coronavirus-celtic-players-got-woeful-defence-record-comes-covid/?ref=appshr
20-01-2021, 08:53 PM
Just like the huns in so many respects. Pundit/journalist shows a wee bit of dissent. Don't speak to them. More like the huns than they would ever like to admit. **** the both of them
Yep. I was saying to a couple of folk last week that they’re making a cracking effort of trying to take the huns’ place as the laughing stock of Scottish football that keep outdoing themselves.
All we need now are a few statements.
20-01-2021, 09:17 PM
Celtic fans didn't want Lennon permanently, they thought he was a stop gap until a better manager became available. I know 2 Celtic ST holders and both were stunned and raging in equal measure when his appointment was announced after the Hearts final. Rangers implosion and the early end to the season bought him time last year.
If fans were in stadiums this year he would have been gone weeks ago.
20-01-2021, 09:21 PM
Davie Martingdale is a better manager than Lenny and probably less a bammer.
Livi should have had a pen and the Celtic goal offside.
Livingston reserves 🤣🤣🤣🤣
20-01-2021, 09:21 PM
Would happily take lennon back
20-01-2021, 09:22 PM
Celtic fans didn't want Lennon permanently, they thought he was a stop gap until a better manager became available. I know 2 Celtic ST holders and both were stunned and raging in equal measure when his appointment was announced after the Hearts final. Rangers implosion and the early end to the season bought him time last year.
There was a poll on Kerrydale St when they got him in. Benitez was by far the first choice but Lennon only got 3% of the vote if I recall correctly.
20-01-2021, 09:34 PM
Would happily take lennon back[emoji85][emoji85][emoji85][emoji85][emoji85]
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
20-01-2021, 09:35 PM
As what?
20-01-2021, 09:37 PM
As what?
He could do the illustrations for the match programmes, he's really experienced at drawing.
20-01-2021, 09:38 PM
As what?
Born Whiner
20-01-2021, 09:40 PM
Dot net post of the year !
Good subject for a new thread though
Wait one cotton picking minute not yet another Neil Lennon Thread?
20-01-2021, 09:40 PM
Just seen a picture of Scott Brown's heat map.
20-01-2021, 09:42 PM
:greengrin:greengrin Very good
Allez Hibs
20-01-2021, 09:42 PM
Absolutely not.
Think I'd rather have this Livingston manager.
20-01-2021, 09:46 PM
“we’re not a shambles and we’re not in crisis off the field”.
20-01-2021, 09:47 PM
Born Whiner
I almost missed that and thought it was a serious defiant pro-Lennon post ;)
Allez Hibs
20-01-2021, 09:52 PM
Poor Neil blaming no fans and poor Pat Bonner on Sportsound blaming no fans at games. They really are so arrogant.
20-01-2021, 09:53 PM
He’s won something like 6 games in 20 in charge of the biggest club in the country. Wouldn’t rush to take him back.
20-01-2021, 09:53 PM
"It's a strange one. Before lockdown we were 13 points clear and absolutely rampant. I don't know where they've gone. I don't know if it's a mental thing. At times it's been ill-discipline and we haven't kept enough clean sheets. The mentality of the team hasn't been as strong as it should have been.
Wow.
20-01-2021, 09:55 PM
Wow.13 points clear? Was that 2019/2020 season?
20-01-2021, 09:59 PM
13 points clear? Was that 2019/2020 season?
He appeared to take credit for Celtic winning the title last season too.
" “I’ve been concerned about my position for a long time but I’ve won 5 trophies out of 6. T"
🤣 Get that on Twitter, it'll go viral.
20-01-2021, 10:14 PM
Dot net post of the year !
Good subject for a new thread though
Wait one cotton picking minute not yet another Neil Lennon Thread?
Well he’s clearly working his ticket at Celtc...
20-01-2021, 10:15 PM
The Joint Response Group (JRG) has asked all Scottish Premiership and Championship clubs to conduct a review of all stadium and club operational procedures and protocols.
The request comes days after Celtic manager Neil Lennon criticised some clubs for the size of facilities during certain away games.
Lennon said his team were "cramped in like sardines" at some matches, adding there was no social distancing at the game at Hamilton on Boxing Day while players were "crammed into a little dressing room" at St Johnstone too
20-01-2021, 11:40 PM
The Joint Response Group (JRG) has asked all Scottish Premiership and Championship clubs to conduct a review of all stadium and club operational procedures and protocols.
The request comes days after Celtic manager Neil Lennon criticised some clubs for the size of facilities during certain away games.
Lennon said his team were "cramped in like sardines" at some matches, adding there was no social distancing at the game at Hamilton on Boxing Day while players were "crammed into a little dressing room" at St Johnstone too
And crammed into a Boeing 777 to Dubai! Clown!
The photos at the poolside and the empty bar prove they don't socially distance when they've got plenty of space to.
There was a poll on Kerrydale St when they got him in. Benitez was by far the first choice but Lennon only got 3% of the vote if I recall correctly.
Even Trump's got a 29% approval rating. Maybe if Lennon ramped up the porky pies, talked a bit more gobbledygook and changed his hairdo by sticking his head in a candyfloss machine he could get up to 29%.
21-01-2021, 12:57 AM
Not the great manager he, or many of his fan club, believe he is. So not a real surprise to see him have such a shocking record.
21-01-2021, 03:47 AM
21 years since sellick last went four league games without a win
21-01-2021, 05:49 AM
Celtic fans will be pining for the glory days of Ronny Deila
EI255
21-01-2021, 06:40 AM
Not the great manager he, or many of his fan club, believe he is. So not a real surprise to see him have such a shocking record.Not sure many Celtic fans think he's a great manager. The ones I know don't rate him. One of them has never rated him at all.
21-01-2021, 06:56 AM
They were saying how many draws Celtic have had on the radio this season and how it wasn't good enough. He had 14 draws in a very poor Championship without Hearts and Rangers. He just isn't a very good manager. Inherited a Scottish Cup winning Hibs riding the crest of a wave and an all conquering Celtic side. Made a mess of them both. Winning the lottery one January at Hibs with the recruitment teams signigns papered over some very big cracks.
21-01-2021, 07:36 AM
I love it when somebody injects a bit of humour into the conversation.
21-01-2021, 07:44 AM
They were saying how many draws Celtic have had on the radio this season and how it wasn't good enough. He had 14 draws in a very poor Championship without Hearts and Rangers. He just isn't a very good manager. Inherited a Scottish Cup winning Hibs riding the crest of a wave and an all conquering Celtic side. Made a mess of them both. Winning the lottery one January at Hibs with the recruitment teams signins papered over some very big cracks.
Alan Stubbs would have had us third in the top flight with the quality of that midfield and wouldn’t have *****ed money on Big Dave, Slivka, a disinterested Stokes, Milligan and more. Lennon inherited a team with great potential, bottled it at the business end of the season and dismantled us for the next and we’ve not fully recovered since.
21-01-2021, 07:47 AM
The not so recent car park scenes By fans I thought would of seen him gone
Clearly my source saying Howe would be appointed by end of this week is wrong as not a peep in the media about it
But clearly the Hierarchy must have thrown the towel in There inaction seems inexplicable unless they are taking the longer view that it’s best to just leave things and have a total clear out in the Summer and start rebuilding from there
If that is the case they must have Thier sights on a Manager that can’t currently be prized away from his Club without them having to pay out a large compensation payment ,and Lennon won’t walk
But if that’s the case they won’t give money to Lennon to Strengthen
Crazy position they ha e got themselves into
21-01-2021, 07:48 AM
Poor Neil blaming no fans and poor Pat Bonner on Sportsound blaming no fans at games. They really are so arrogant.
Packy getting allocated the Celtic game again on Sportsound? Fancy that.
They were saying how many draws Celtic have had on the radio this season and how it wasn't good enough. He had 14 draws in a very poor Championship without Hearts and Rangers. He just isn't a very good manager. Inherited a Scottish Cup winning Hibs riding the crest of a wave and an all conquering Celtic side. Made a mess of them both. Winning the lottery one January at Hibs with the recruitment teams signigns papered over some very big cracks.
His 58 games in charge of Hibs in the premier league he had 21 draws and 12 losses and left us in a hell of a mess.
21-01-2021, 08:24 AM
His 58 games in charge of Hibs in the premier league he had 21 draws and 12 losses and left us in a hell of a mess.
And people moan about Jack Ross
21-01-2021, 08:27 AM
So take away one of the massive advantages Celtic have and they're struggling a wee bit? Poor lambs. God forbid they had to play with Livingstons budget too.
21-01-2021, 08:35 AM
Neil Lennon has told Celtic they will have to sack him if they want a new boss after insisting he will not quit his Parkhead job.
21-01-2021, 08:38 AM
Neil Lennon has told Celtic they will have to sack him if they want a new boss after insisting he will not quit his Parkhead job.
Sounds familiar.
Managed to turn two decent team in succession in to a pile of dung yet doesn’t have the dignity to walk.
21-01-2021, 08:41 AM
The rumoured pay off is eye watering of what is going round Celtic fans is true. Seven figures according to a couple of Celtic fans I know (but they may be wrong).
21-01-2021, 08:43 AM
Packy getting allocated the Celtic game again on Sportsound? Fancy that.
The guy is one of the biggest jokes out there. He gets paid to follow his team around the country and is ****ing slaver while he does so.
Guys like Ferguson, Dodds and McManus might not be the most eloquent speakers but at least they give teams they cover a bit of impartial coverage. Even Preston gives Hibs praise through un-gritted teeth.
21-01-2021, 08:44 AM
The guy is one of the biggest jokes out there. He gets paid to follow his team around the country and is ****ing slaver while he does so.
Guys like Ferguson, Dodds and McManus might not be the most eloquent speakers but at least they give teams they cover a bit of impartial coverage. Even Preston gives Hibs praise through un-gritted teeth.
I actually quite like Derek Ferguson. Always comes across quite well :agree:
21-01-2021, 09:12 AM
The rumoured pay off is eye watering of what is going round Celtic fans is true. Seven figures according to a couple of Celtic fans I know (but they may be wrong).
I've read he's on a rolling one-year contract which means the payoff is exactly one year's salary.
21-01-2021, 09:14 AM
I've read he's on a rolling one-year contract which means the payoff is exactly one year's salary.
Unless of course they write the season off and not renew the deal?