View Full Version : Neil Lennon
Pages :
[
6]
DetroitHibs
08-12-2020, 03:23 PM
Brown at this age without all the quality around him he has at Celtic, would toil anywhere else.
08-12-2020, 03:41 PM
Brown at this age without all the quality around him he has at Celtic, would toil anywhere else.
He's got some good players and some glaring deficiencies around him at Celtic and it is showing up his weaknesses.
The goalkeeper is atrocious, the defence is all over the shop and for a Celtic team they don't offer nearly enough of a threat out wide.
They still have some very good players. Brown right now looks to be part of the problem but if you fixed the other stuff I think you'd soon see an improvement in him again.
Or to put it another way - you replace Brown but don't fix the other stuff, they're still garbage.
Brown at another club with appropriate amount of pace and movement around him would still be a huge asset - a team a bit like the Hibs team he started out in.
He's actually getting the same thing done to him that he was doing to other players (like Roy Keane amongst others) at that time.
sdg
£3k a week, highly doubt that.
08-12-2020, 03:51 PM
I think he could be a future Hibs manager.
Eddie Turnbull is the only ex Hibs player to manage the team well in the last 50 years and he had long since made a successful transition to management with Aberdeen before coming back. The ex Hibs players appointed since (Collins, Sauzee, Mixu, Yogi) have been pretty middling to meh so the odds of Scott doing well if he get the job in the future are not good unless he does well in management elsewhere first.
I rate Jack Ross so hope he will be about for at least the next 20 months with better players coming in than go out every window. That should leave us in a position to bring in a quality established manager when he moves on rather than having to gamble with a rookie ex player again.
08-12-2020, 04:07 PM
Eddie Turnbull is the only ex Hibs player to manage the team well in the last 50 years and he had long since made a successful transition to management with Aberdeen before coming back. The ex Hibs players appointed since (Collins, Sauzee, Mixu, Yogi) have been pretty middling to meh so the odds of Scott doing well if he get the job in the future are not good unless he does well in management elsewhere first.
I rate Jack Ross so hope he will be about for at least the next 20 months with better players coming in than go out every window. That should leave us in a position to bring in a quality established manager when he moves on rather than having to gamble with a rookie ex player again.
Yeah, winning a cup doesn’t count because we do that all the time.
08-12-2020, 04:09 PM
£3k a week, highly doubt that.
I said circa £3k a week but even £2k a week for the last 18 months is not a kick in the arse of £200k and that is a lot of dead money for Hibs .......................................and the money tap is still on.
08-12-2020, 04:23 PM
You can generally reach the quarter final of the cup competitions in Scotland by doing very little e.g. this seasons League Cup where we will reach the Semi Final without meeting a team above the bottom half of the Championship. At that point we have a two in three chance of avoiding Rangers. So conceivably we could win the League Cup this season from beating one credible opponent. Hearts had a similar run in the 2019 Scottish Cup where they found themselves in the final after playing no top league teams.
The league position is the real barometer of team and managers ability.
08-12-2020, 04:39 PM
You can generally reach the quarter final of the cup competitions in Scotland by doing very little e.g. this seasons League Cup where we will reach the Semi Final without meeting a team above the bottom half of the Championship. At that point we have a two in three chance of avoiding Rangers. So conceivably we could win the League Cup this season from beating one credible opponent. Hearts had a similar run in the 2019 Scottish Cup where they found themselves in the final after playing no top league teams.
Collins did inherit the Mowbray team as well.
08-12-2020, 04:44 PM
The complete state Collins walked out of us in makes history show he wasn’t a good manager. He didn’t build a team but did leave a cup legacy and a **** show legacy. He had such a great chance of the Scottish cup with someone else’s side too.
ANYWAY... this is a thread about another Celtic hero who left us in the ****.
08-12-2020, 04:47 PM
Lucks of the draw absolutely plays a big part in any cup run. However given we’ve only won 6 cups in total I’d not be downplaying the achievements of anyone who wins a cup for Hibs. League position is an important barometer but to be honest I have fonder memories of the CIS cup win than say Mowbray finishing 3rd.
08-12-2020, 04:53 PM
Collins did inherit the Mowbray team as well.
Does that make it any less of an achievement the winning the cup? Mowbray couldn’t win a trophy with his own team. Similarly, Lennon deserved the credit for the season we finished 4th, and that immensely enjoyable second half of the season, despite inheriting the defence and midfield from Stubbs.
I said circa £3k a week but even £2k a week for the last 18 months is not a kick in the arse of £200k and that is a lot of dead money for Hibs .......................................and the money tap is still on.
You realise the longer contract was for him and Daz to transition into coaching/club ambassadors roles. Lewis has just came out and stated that he realises his footballing career is on the wane and Mackie/Doig are the future and he expects to get less game time but will be fit to play when needed. I'm sure Gray understands this too, particularly as McGinn is playing well but to slag off a player like Gray when you have zero knowledge of his contract, or his game playing status is poor stuff.
08-12-2020, 04:57 PM
Lucks of the draw absolutely plays a big part in any cup run. However given we’ve only won 6 cups in total I’d not be downplaying the achievements of anyone who wins a cup for Hibs. League position is an important barometer but to be honest I have fonder memories of the CIS cup win than say Mowbray finishing 3rd.
I'm amazed to read any Hibs fan downplaying a cup win, especially when we annihilated the opposition in the final.
I'm happy to say I was one of the thirty thousand or so fans chanting Collins' name at the end of the game.
08-12-2020, 05:03 PM
Does that make it any less of an achievement the winning the cup? Mowbray couldn’t win a trophy with his own team. Similarly, Lennon deserved the credit for the season we finished 4th, and that immensely enjoyable second half of the season, despite inheriting the defence and midfield from Stubbs.
:agree: ‘The Mowbrays team’ chat annoyed me, and I think came from Collins just being one of those marmite characters who certain folk are never going to warm to. He deserves massive credit for 2007, and I was a big Mowbray fan too.
08-12-2020, 05:03 PM
The complete state Collins walked out of us in makes history show he wasn’t a good manager. He didn’t build a team but did leave a cup legacy and a **** show legacy. He had such a great chance of the Scottish cup with someone else’s side too.
ANYWAY... this is a thread about another Celtic hero who left us in the ****.
My spidey senses are tingling and I’ve rose to the defence of John Collins once more in recent posts :greengrin
That semi final against Dunfermline still rankles. For all of Collins’ faults, and there were many, after winning the cup and a great chance of doing the double. That wasn’t the time for the players to rebel. They might have had legitimate concerns, we’ll never really know, but they should have sucked up whatever concerns they had and won the Scottish Cup, then had their meeting. As it was, they rebelled and blew the semi final by downing tools. I still correlate that period to the rotten player culture that developed, and Petrie acknowledged, until Dempster came in.
08-12-2020, 05:13 PM
Two things that Collins and Lennon have in common is they both inherited very good Hibs teams and left them in a bit of a mess
Magpie
08-12-2020, 05:17 PM
Two things that Collins and Lennon have in common is they both inherited very good Hibs teams and left them in a bit of a mess
They also both won a trophy
08-12-2020, 05:18 PM
Fair, although I think Collins would have thrived in our current set up and anyone but Tommy Craig guiding him. All hypothetical though.
08-12-2020, 05:31 PM
When you put it like that, cups are nothing really. We’ve won 4 in the past 50 years so practically one a season.
08-12-2020, 05:37 PM
They also both won a trophy
Well, Collins did. A major one at least. We really shouldn't count the championship as a trophy for Hibs.
08-12-2020, 05:50 PM
That wasn’t the question though was it?
08-12-2020, 05:55 PM
My spidey senses are tingling and I’ve rose to the defence of John Collins once more in recent posts :greengrin
That semi final against Dunfermline still rankles. For all of Collins’ faults, and there were many, after winning the cup and a great chance of doing the double. That wasn’t the time for the players to rebel. They might have had legitimate concerns, we’ll never really know, but they should have sucked up whatever concerns they had and won the Scottish Cup, then had their meeting. As it was, they rebelled and blew the semi final by downing tools. I still correlate that period to the rotten player culture that developed, and Petrie acknowledged, until Dempster came in.
So: you don’t acknowledge the players Mowbray put together and Donald Park brought through when saying Collins won the cup.
But...
It was the players and not Collins fault for not scoring a goal against relegated Dunfermline over 220 minutes?
Collins lost the dressing room, like Lennon has and like Lennon now, was backed. He got rid of what he considered the bad eggs and proceeded to build the worst Hibs team there could ever be. His legacy lasted years because Petrie didn’t trust another manager with any money after Alan O’Brien Makalambay Hong Kong Thierry Morais Courier and Brian Kerr. That was who Collins decided to replace brilliant players with.
We had such a chance to build in 06/07 and pull away for years of the rest and the summer of 07 was scandalous, then Collins walked out after a bad spell and left us with John Rankin instead of Boozy.
08-12-2020, 05:57 PM
Fair, although I think Collins would have thrived in our current set up and anyone but Tommy Craig guiding him. All hypothetical though.
There’s not enough young players to get his view across to make it work just now. Collins should still be involved in football, he should have taken Donald Park as his assistant be he was scunered when we sack Franck, demoted him then lost John Park.
08-12-2020, 05:57 PM
That wasn’t the question though was it?
What was the question? I responded to a post that pointed out that Collins inherited Mowbray’s team, and asked my own question about whether that diminishes Collins achievement. Which I don’t think it does.
08-12-2020, 05:59 PM
What was the question? I responded to a post that pointed out tray Collins inherited Mowbray’s team, and asked my own question about whether that diminishes Collins achievement. Which I don’t think it does.
The statement was Ned is the only ex hibs player to leave a legacy as a great manager of the club. Collins was or never will be described as that.
Who do you think was the better Hibs manager, Collins or Mowbray out of interest?
08-12-2020, 06:07 PM
So: you don’t acknowledge the players Mowbray put together and Donald Park brought through when saying Collins won the cup.
But...
It was the players and not Collins fault for not scoring a goal against relegated Dunfermline over 220 minutes?
Collins lost the dressing room, like Lennon has and like Lennon now, was backed. He got rid of what he considered the bad eggs and proceeded to build the worst Hibs team there could ever be. His legacy lasted years because Petrie didn’t trust another manager with any money after Alan O’Brien Makalambay Hong Kong Thierry Morais Courier and Brian Kerr. That was who Collins decided to replace brilliant players with.
We had such a chance to build in 06/07 and pull away for years of the rest and the summer of 07 was scandalous, then Collins walked out after a bad spell and left us with John Rankin instead of Boozy.
Of course I do. Mowbray built/nurtured one of my favourite Hibs teams. Collins was very lucky to inherit the team that he did. However winning the cup, which Mowbray was unable to do, is still Collins’ achievement.
I can’t defend Collins transfers, they were ultimately very poor. Although I would set the context of the impossible job he had in replacing the golden generation, he however made a poor job of it.
I correlate the player rebellion more directly to the toxic player culture we had for a large number of years, which Peteie acknowledged, and the raft of journeymen with a poor attitude that ultimately culminated in our inevitable relegation more so than the poor signings Collins did make. As a comparison Lennon left us a similar unbalanced squad lacking quality to Collins, yet I wouldn’t class those players or squads as having a toxic culture, just a lack of quality and criminally short in certain positions/roles.
08-12-2020, 06:11 PM
The statement was Ned is the only ex hibs player to leave a legacy as a great manager of the club. Collins was or never will be described as that.
Who do you think was the better Hibs manager, Collins or Mowbray out of interest?
I think Collins was the right man at the wrong time and wrong set up, and I can’t understand those that try to downplay his cup win. Over the piece though Mowbray probably did the better, and more enjoyable job, despite not winning anything which he had the team capable of, as we saw. He left a great starting point for Collins.
08-12-2020, 06:11 PM
Lennon deserved the credit for the season we finished 4th, and that immensely enjoyable second half of the season, despite inheriting the defence and midfield from Stubbs.
Didn’t inherit them all to be fair. The additions of Marciano and Ambrose were huge improvements defensively. And, latterly, Allan was the missing part of the midfield.
08-12-2020, 06:14 PM
Of course I do. Mowbray built/nurtured one of my favourite Hibs teams. Collins was very lucky to inherit the team that he did. However winning the cup, which Mowbray was unable to do, is still Collins’ achievement.
I can’t defend Collins transfers, they were ultimately very poor. Although I would set the context of the impossible job he had in replacing the golden generation, he however made a poor job of it.
I correlate the player rebellion more directly to the toxic player culture we had for a large number of years, which Peteie acknowledged, and the raft of journeymen with a poor attitude that ultimately culminated in our inevitable relegation more so than the poor signings Collins did make. As a comparison Lennon left us a similar unbalanced squad lacking quality to Collins, yet I wouldn’t class those players or squads as having a toxic culture, just a lack of quality and criminally short in certain positions/roles.
We didn't need players to have a toxic culture with Lennon - in fact when he left it was such a lift on the mood it made Heckingbottom look like Klopp.
08-12-2020, 06:17 PM
We didn't need players to have a toxic culture with Lennon - in fact when he left it was such a lift on the mood it made Heckingbottom look like Klopp.
That was my point/my take on events. There’s a far bigger correlation between the player rebellion and the toxic culture we had to re-set, than the correlation between the dross that Collins signed and the toxic player culture we ended up with IMO.
08-12-2020, 06:19 PM
That was my point/my take on events. There’s a far bigger correlation between the player rebellion and the toxic culture we had to re-set, than the correlation between the dross that Collins signed and the toxic player culture we ended up with IMO.
Is this a .net record? Two correlations,two toxics and two cultures in the one sentence.:greengrin
08-12-2020, 06:28 PM
I think Collins was the right man at the wrong time and wrong set up, and I can’t understand those that try to downplay his cup win. Over the piece though Mowbray probably did the better, and more enjoyable job, despite not winning anything which he had the team capable of, as we saw. He left a great starting point for Collins.
👍💚
08-12-2020, 06:31 PM
As the Collins tenure lengthened you could see there was something not right. Loved the cup win but he did inherit a great squad of players. Collins has never been a successful manager anywhere and that speaks volumes.
08-12-2020, 06:33 PM
As the Collins tenure lengthened you could see there was something not right. Loved the cup win but he did inherit a great squad of players. Collins has never been a successful manager anywhere and that speaks volumes.
Completely parallel with Lennon. And again. It isn’t the losses as such, they come eventually but to the naked aye watching games you just knew something was wrong.
08-12-2020, 06:35 PM
I do think that the 24/7 nature of certain jobs can take away the initial drive someone may have. If a player can make a living off punditry, media work and public speaking then surely that would become more appealing the longer you see little of your family or private life.
I wonder if the likes of Stubbs and Collins fell out of the manager mindset as both looked like very talented managers in the most part with us.
08-12-2020, 06:36 PM
Completely parallel with Lennon. And again. It isn’t the losses as such, they come eventually but to the naked aye watching games you just knew something was wrong.
Completely agree 👍
08-12-2020, 06:41 PM
That night in the Euro run when he returned from his lengthy touchline ban and we went from a well drilled, well set up and difficult team to beat to having a RB at CM and a CM at RB sticks in the mind. Was so totally different to the other games in that run.
08-12-2020, 06:46 PM
Well, Collins did. A major one at least. We really shouldn't count the championship as a trophy for Hibs.
08-12-2020, 06:46 PM
That night in the Euro run when he returned from his lengthy touchline ban and we went from a well drilled, well set up and difficult team to beat to having a RB at CM and a CM at RB sticks in the mind. Was so totally different to the other games in that run.
He did some very good days and nights as manager but then for that there was the utter shambles at the pink **** tip he said he was leaving and wouldn’t even do an interview leaving Kamberi up top on his own, followed by the 5-5 amazing game and you can even tell looking back his celebration was more to wind up rangers than his like of us.
In the Lennon accent “look, I don’t like the guy, he’s been disrespectful to our club, my club and your club”. He’s no excuses and I’m happy as Larry 👍
08-12-2020, 06:47 PM
Collins or Mowbray, quick fire round?
08-12-2020, 06:53 PM
Obviously Mowbray. The fact his is still managing a big club at a good level is all that needs to be said. Collins done zero after Hibs.
08-12-2020, 06:54 PM
I'm amazed to read any Hibs fan downplaying a cup win, especially when we annihilated the opposition in the final.
I'm happy to say I was one of the thirty thousand or so fans chanting Collins' name at the end of the game.
It was good of other Scottish teams to knock out the Old Firm so that we could win it without having to beat them :wink:
All we had to do was beat Hearts and the rest of it was straight forward.
As a wee aside, later Hibs connected Colin Nish & Alan Combe were in the the losing Kilmarnock team in the final along with our chum from recent years Steven Naismith.
It's still hard to believe we had Whittaker, Brown, Murphy and Fletcher in the outfield 10 at the same time. Exceptional players. We even had space to have Michael Stewart on the bench but obviously didn't bring him on. I remember it well.
08-12-2020, 06:55 PM
Mowbray, he’s the best manager. Collins as a player and for his cup win I will always be grateful.
08-12-2020, 07:01 PM
Obviously Mowbray. The fact his is still managing a big club at a good level is all that needs to be said. Collins done zero after Hibs.
Stubbs or Collins?
Indeed, Stubbs or Mowbray?
08-12-2020, 07:02 PM
Stubbs or Collins?
Butcher or Duffy?
08-12-2020, 07:04 PM
Butcher or Duffy?
Darryl or Jim?
08-12-2020, 07:04 PM
Stubbs or Collins?
He plays the winner.
Stubbs v Mowbray, what a dilemma for me.
08-12-2020, 07:05 PM
Butcher or Duffy?
Mad dog mcourt :aok:
08-12-2020, 07:16 PM
When you put it like that, cups are nothing really. We’ve won 4 in the past 50 years so practically one a season.
We have reached 15 finals in the last 50 years. The problem in the cups is you generally end up having to beat the Old Firm to win and most years that derails all the other clubs including Hibs. Look at the 5 Scottish Cup Finals we reached in the same time frame before winning it in 2016. 3 times we lost to Celtic and once to Rangers. That leaves the 2012 final when Kujabi sold the jerseys.
I remember being ecstatic when Rangers knocked Celtic out in 2016 and knowing that they were no better than the Hibs team they shared the Championship with. I was convinced we would win. It was a 50/50 Final which as it turned out was all the odds we needed.
My favourite League Cup Final win was beating Celtic in 1972. Absolutely brilliant. Much better than the wins against Dunfermline and Kilmarnock. We were a great team at the time but they were always top notch and waiting to kick us up the arse as they did in the 1969 and 1974 finals. We also lost a final to Rangers and a final to Aberdeen in the same time frame.
The finals we lost to Livingston & Ross County on the other hand were missed opportunities so we should have won six or seven cups instead of 4 in the last 50 years. Can't afford to lose finals when you have shaken the Uglies off.
08-12-2020, 09:30 PM
We have reached 15 finals in the last 50 years. The problem in the cups is you generally end up having to beat the Old Firm to win and most years that derails all the other clubs including Hibs. Look at the 5 Scottish Cup Finals we reached in the same time frame before winning it in 2016. 3 times we lost to Celtic and once to Rangers. That leaves the 2012 final when Kujabi sold the jerseys.
I remember being ecstatic when Rangers knocked Celtic out in 2016 and knowing that they were no better than the Hibs team they shared the Championship with. I was convinced we would win. It was a 50/50 Final which as it turned out was all the odds we needed.
My favourite League Cup Final win was beating Celtic in 1972. Absolutely brilliant. Much better than the wins against Dunfermline and Kilmarnock. We were a great team at the time but they were always top notch and waiting to kick us up the arse as they did in the 1969 and 1974 finals. We also lost a final to Rangers and a final to Aberdeen in the same time frame.
The finals we lost to Livingston & Ross County on the other hand were missed opportunities so we should have won six or seven cups instead of 4 in the last 50 years. Can't afford to lose finals when you have shaken the Uglies off.
Losing to Aberdeen in the League Cup final after knocking out the Uglies in some amazing and memorable games is something that still irks me not helped as they skelped us in the Scottish Cup semi that season too
08-12-2020, 09:47 PM
Absolutely. Three major trophies in this country. The rest are an utter embarrassment for Hibernian to be involved in.
08-12-2020, 09:51 PM
He plays the winner.
Stubbs v Mowbray, what a dilemma for me.
Mowbray
McLeish
Stubbs
Top three in my lifetime. Rest are miles behind. First and only time I saw opposition fans applaud our play was under Mowbray.
08-12-2020, 10:17 PM
Losing to Aberdeen in the League Cup final after knocking out the Uglies in some amazing and memorable games is something that still irks me not helped as they skelped us in the Scottish Cup semi that season too
Think I have cancelled it from my brain.
All I can remember is that their first 2 goals were almost identical crosses and headers.
That after beating Rangers over 2 legs in the Semi Final was painful. Can remember Alan Rough in the first half of the 2nd leg at Ibrox making a great save to deny Cooper then Gordon Rae howking down McCoist when he was last man. Thought he had stopped an almost certain goal but Cooper scored with power into the top corner from the free kick. Then Gordon Durie went right through at the other end and shot when he should have squared it for Cowan to tap home. The second half is a bit of a blur. Sure Blobby Williamson was playing for Rangers that night.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 10:23 PM
Not the level a club of our stature should be at but it’s still an honour after 2/3 years of trying to get out of there.
08-12-2020, 10:29 PM
All I can remember is that their first 2 goals were almost identical crosses and headers.
That after beating Rangers over 2 legs in the Semi Final was painful. Can remember Alan Rough in the first half of the 2nd leg at Ibrox making a great save to deny Cooper then Gordon Rae howking down McCoist when he was last man. Thought he had stopped an almost certain goal but Cooper scored with power into the top corner from the free kick. Then Gordon Durie went right through at the other end and shot when he should have squared it for Cowan to tap home. The second half is a bit of a blur. Sure Blobby Williamson was playing for Rangers that night.
Aberdeen were much better than the Old Huns at that time.
. First and only time I saw opposition fans applaud our play was under Mowbray.
A rarity in Scotland. When was that?
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
08-12-2020, 11:02 PM
Mowbray
McLeish
Stubbs
Top three in my lifetime. Rest are miles behind. First and only time I saw opposition fans applaud our play was under Mowbray.
Lennon is up there in my opinion. The season back in the premiership was the most exciting football (and best team) since Mowbray. Points record too for Hibs.
The next season it went a bit wrong - but that first season in the Premiership will always be one to fondly remember.
Magpie
08-12-2020, 11:07 PM
Lennon is up there in my opinion. The season back in the premiership was the most exciting football (and best team) since Mowbray. Points record too for Hibs.
The next season it went a bit wrong - but that first season in the Premiership will always be one to fondly remember.
Stubbs will forever top the list for winning that Scottish Cup but I agree with you, I thoroughly enjoyed the majority of the time Lennon was with us.
09-12-2020, 05:56 AM
Miles better as their record at the time showed. Aberdeen were brilliant in that final and blew us away. Unfortunately we played them in the league at ER not long before the final and we had been very good but it clearly highlighted the danger Durie was and in the final negated him by putting Neale Cooper on him. The Hibs fans were brilliant for the last 30 mins of that final and were a credit to the club.
09-12-2020, 05:58 AM
They were much better team than both Celtic and Rangers were at the time
09-12-2020, 07:31 AM
Gordon Rae was booked for the foul that you describe that led to the Hun goal. That booking kept him out if the final. Aberdeen were miles better than us, and everyone else at that time, but I wonder if big Gordon had been playing then would the two headers have been scored? Suppose we would still have lost 1-0!!
09-12-2020, 08:29 AM
Agree with all of this.
I'd also put Alex Miller up there, had some amazing games during his time and the League Cup was the first trophy I saw us win. It definitely felt more special than when we beat Killie.
Gordon Rae was booked for the foul that you describe that led to the Hun goal. That booking kept him out if the final. Aberdeen were miles better than us, and everyone else at that time, but I wonder if big Gordon had been playing then would the two headers have been scored? Suppose we would still have lost 1-0!!Kano scored a perfectly good goal late on which Bob Valetine disallowed for offside, which it wasn't. He later admitted he chalked it off as he didn't want to tarnish Aberdeen's record of a clean sheet in every round of that tourney.
09-12-2020, 08:50 AM
Interestingly - if you only take their time as manager when we were in the top tier into consideration for a fair comparison - Mowbray had a better win percentage than Lennon. McLeish’s overall record was right in between the two but that’s including being in the 1st division where we set a record at the time. Since I can’t be arsed going back to remove McLeish’s first division games but knowing that he won a load of themthat puts them in terms of win percentages as a top tier club:
Mowbray
Lennon
McLeish
So Lennon definitely needs to be included in that conversation imo.
Stubbs of course tops the lot regardless of statistics🏆
09-12-2020, 08:27 PM
Gordon Rae was booked for the foul that you describe that led to the Hun goal. That booking kept him out if the final. Aberdeen were miles better than us, and everyone else at that time, but I wonder if big Gordon had been playing then would the two headers have been scored? Suppose we would still have lost 1-0!!
i remember how upset Gordon was when he was booked now you mention it.
People forget how good Aberdeen were at that time and that the Glasgow teams only had access to Scottish players. They didn't have the best ones either.
i remember how upset Gordon was when he was booked now you mention it.
People forget how good Aberdeen were at that time and that the Glasgow teams only had access to Scottish players. They didn't have the best ones either.We left the main stand with GR after the final whistle. He was gutted and totally frustrated after watching the game. Saying that, wins against Aberdeen in those days were like hens teeth.
09-12-2020, 09:25 PM
They were but they were 4th in the league that year and we had already knocked Celtc out the competitions. They were definitely favourites in that final but we had knocked out the league champions and as the first final I attended with my mates it was heart breaking. Boy did I get used to that feeling over the years.
09-12-2020, 10:19 PM
They were but they were 4th in the league that year and we had already knocked Celtc out the competitions. They were definitely favourites in that final but we had knocked out the league champions and as the first final I attended with my mates it was heart breaking. Boy did I get used to that feeling over the years.
"That feeling".
I don't feel like I'm that old (43) but I remember gritting my teeth when Halliday's shot hit the next in that cup final we were in, bracing myself, and just drinking in "that feeling" like a grizzled veteran. I'd felt it so many times before.
My wee nephew was looking at his second lost cup final in just a few months and I could just see him starting to acclimatise to "that feeling" long before his 10th birthday.
It doesn't always need to be that way though, eh?
09-12-2020, 10:45 PM
"That feeling".
I don't feel like I'm that old (43) but I remember gritting my teeth when Halliday's shot hit the next in that cup final we were in, bracing myself, and just drinking in "that feeling" like a grizzled veteran. I'd felt it so many times before.
My wee nephew was looking at his second lost cup final in just a few months and I could just see him starting to acclimatise to "that feeling" long before his 10th birthday.
It doesn't always need to be that way though, eh?
That feeling in May 2016 was worth all those other feelings of disappointment. In many ways that feeling of the Aberdeen final and the many others over the years made SDG rising god like one of the most special moments any football fans must have ever felt. I'm 52 so missed out on the Tornadoes and obviously the Famous Five. I'd argue that those of my generation have suffered more than most Hibs fans but it didn't matter and doesn't matter since that very special day.
10-12-2020, 06:46 AM
That feeling in May 2016 was worth all those other feelings of disappointment. In many ways that feeling of the Aberdeen final and the many others over the years made SDG rising god like one of the most special moments any football fans must have ever felt. I'm 52 so missed out on the Tornadoes and obviously the Famous Five. I'd argue that those of my generation have suffered more than most Hibs fans but it didn't matter and doesn't matter since that very special day.
That one day washed away all the disappointments that had gone before and any that may still befall us.
Although it hurts at the time anything since has soon disappeared.
We are bulletproof after that special day and frankly no support has ever deserved it more.
10-12-2020, 07:12 AM
Jees, is Lennon still at Parkhead?
10-12-2020, 07:19 AM
That one day washed away all the disappointments that had gone before and any that may still befall us.
Although it hurts at the time anything since has soon disappeared.
We are bulletproof after that special day and frankly no support has ever deserved it more.
Don't agree with that. It was a great day but it doesn't mean we have a free pass forever going forward.
I was absolutely gutted we lost to Hearts in the semi on 31st October, the fact we had won the Scottish cup 4 years previous was little consolation.
10-12-2020, 07:59 AM
Don't agree with that. It was a great day but it doesn't mean we have a free pass forever going forward.
I was absolutely gutted we lost to Hearts in the semi on 31st October, the fact we had won the Scottish cup 4 years previous was little consolation.
Agree with this. I'm not naive to expect Hibs to be winning trophies every year but we need to make sure as a club that (and fan base) that we push for future success.
I want us to build on 2016 and to feel that again (well something close to it).
10-12-2020, 10:18 AM
I’m delighted he’s still there, because, as long as he stays, they will remain vulnerable. That leaves 2nd place up for grabs to an extent.
10-12-2020, 10:41 AM
Wow Wookie, you have done a hard shift with the Hibs.
Probably the toughest ever.
Good on you for hanging in.
I've really enjoyed watching the team for the last five and a half years.
Just feels like we have been going in the right direction throughout other than the Lennon meltdown period and the long death of Heckingbottom when it was clear he wasn't going to cut it. Looks like we are finally locked into the top 6 for the foreseeable with European Football to go with it.
10-12-2020, 10:42 AM
It's extraordinary. I really don't get it.
10-12-2020, 11:01 AM
Wow Wookie, you have done a hard shift with the Hibs.
Probably the toughest ever.
Good on you for hanging in.
I've really enjoyed watching the team for the last five and a half years.
Just feels like we have been going in the right direction throughout other than the Lennon meltdown period and the long death of Heckingbottom when it was clear he wasn't going to cut it. Looks like we are finally locked into the top 6 for the foreseeable with European Football to go with it.
Following TT was not all great. They disappointed a lot in the league and SC and LC finals. They had so much potential but never full filled it. In 70s Hearts were p**s so not worth bothering about. Seeing the team and club decline was painful. Finishing off with the three games against Rangers in SC final and losing it in extra time was hard to take.
10-12-2020, 11:18 AM
Mental. Their fans are going tonto.
Funny though.
10-12-2020, 11:52 AM
Mental. Their fans are going tonto.
Funny though.
He’s the Lone Ranger left.
10-12-2020, 11:57 AM
There is never such a thing as a free pass
For the sake of your sanity, you need though a bit perspective that maybe only comes with age / experience and the realisation that football is only a small part of life.
My untempered posting on the night of the Semi-Final made it abundantly clear how gutted I was by that display and result, but after a few days it is in the past.
I waited nearly 55 years to see something I never thought I would and many many of my forbears had not.
It was for many the realisation of a life's dream.
After that I will take what comes, I may bitch and whine about it but after a few days I move on
Hibs07p
10-12-2020, 01:32 PM
There is never such a thing as a free pass
For the sake of your sanity, you need though a bit perspective that maybe only comes with age / experience and the realisation that football is only a small part of life.
My untempered posting on the night of the Semi-Final made it abundantly clear how gutted I was by that display and result, but after a few days it is in the past.
I waited nearly 55 years to see something I never thought I would and many many of my forbears had not.
It was for many the realisation of a life's dream.
After that I will take what comes, I may bitch and whine about it but after a few days I move on
Wise words and something a lot of us have been through. That one victory has compensated a lot of us for the disappointments we,ve suffered over the years. There will be more disappointments to come, but what’s left of my lifetime I’m prepared to give them a lot of latitude in future campaigns.
Scottish Cup Winners 2016
10-12-2020, 01:43 PM
If they get rid of Lennon, they're admitting to their mistake and admitting that their appointment cost them 10IAR. I don't know if they're looking for a way to spin things differently or what, but I can't think of any other reason to keep him on.
10-12-2020, 02:14 PM
If they get rid of Lennon, they're admitting to their mistake and admitting that their appointment cost them 10IAR. I don't know if they're looking for a way to spin things differently or what, but I can't think of any other reason to keep him on.
Sacked after tonight is the story. They’ve convinced St Martin to take it until the summer. Strachan turned it down.
10-12-2020, 02:18 PM
But surely if they keep Lennon on and they lose 10 in a row they have still made a mistake in appointment him?
10-12-2020, 02:19 PM
Sacked after tonight is the story. They’ve convinced St Martin to take it until the summer. Strachan turned it down.
Seems strange to hang off until the dead rubber at the end of the Europa Cup run, what if Celtc hammer Lille:greengrin?
10-12-2020, 02:24 PM
So that could be anytime between tonight and infinity. A pretty safe bet.
10-12-2020, 02:27 PM
As unlikely as it is, it would be hilarious if Celtc came 3rd in a two horse race the season they’ve been crowing about for 9 years. Particularly if it was us finishing above Lennon.
10-12-2020, 02:28 PM
So that could be anytime between tonight and infinity. A pretty safe bet.
If it was to be after the weekend I would have said so.
10-12-2020, 02:29 PM
Seems strange to hang off until the dead rubber at the end of the Europa Cup run, what if Celtc hammer Lille:greengrin?
If they hammer Lille Lennon will say he’s quit on a victory.
10-12-2020, 02:30 PM
If it was to be after the weekend I would have said so.
So you mean he’s to be sacked between Thursday and Sunday?
10-12-2020, 02:32 PM
not interested apparently, i don't blame him
10-12-2020, 03:10 PM
Yip.
10-12-2020, 03:11 PM
not interested apparently, i don't blame him
Changed his mind apparently.
10-12-2020, 03:21 PM
As unlikely as it is, it would be hilarious if Celtc came 3rd in a two horse race the season they’ve been crowing about for 9 years. Particularly if it was us finishing above Lennon.
That would be splendid.
10-12-2020, 03:24 PM
10 in a row is gone and they know it. Sacking Lennon is gonna cost them millions. Not only will they have to pay him off, the new guy will want a decent wedge. Then there's the transfer window. Celtic fans will be demanding the new guy is given millions to make a title push which will be a total waste of money as their not winning the league.
10-12-2020, 03:34 PM
10 in a row is gone and they know it. Sacking Lennon is gonna cost them millions. Not only will they have to pay him off, the new guy will want a decent wedge. Then there's the transfer window. Celtic fans will be demanding the new guy is given millions to make a title push which will be a total waste of money as their not winning the league.
Tho' unlikely, most Celtic fans will be hoping that Rangers have another after winter break meltdown.
They will demand that the sacred coffers are opened for any new manager that comes in! (Its the Celtic way?)
10-12-2020, 03:38 PM
Tho' unlikely, most Celtic fans will be hoping that Rangers have another after winter break meltdown.
They will demand that the sacred coffers are opened for any new manager that comes in! (Its the Celtic way?)
They have an owner who's wealth absolutely dwarths every other clubs owner in the country, including Sevco, and is a billionaire.
If he doesn't open the purse strings in January he never will.
10-12-2020, 09:19 PM
You think?
10-12-2020, 09:22 PM
Yip.
Another theory down the Swanee I think.
Magpie
10-12-2020, 09:38 PM
Yip.
If they were going to sack him they would have by now. He will be in charge for their cup final.
Allez Hibs
10-12-2020, 10:51 PM
I agree with this 100%.
Why is the FF banner still up from 2016?
It seems like we look back to 2016 too often opposed to looking forward to the next trophy win. The clubs media refer to 2016 an awful lot. The club should be creating a culture of trying to win trophies and not looking back. Applies to the fans too, we bash Hearts for not winning the League Cup for 58 years but they have won it more than Hibs.
11-12-2020, 12:57 AM
They have an owner who's wealth absolutely dwarths every other clubs owner in the country, including Sevco, and is a billionaire.
If he doesn't open the purse strings in January he never will.
Celtic are paying a big squad and staff vast wages whilst getting no fans through the gate and having brought in tuppence ha'penny from their European exploits.
It's early December and they have already lost the league and are out of Europe. All in all it's all a bit **** city.
What is Dermot to do?
Answer - Write the season off and try to lose as little money as possible before next season. That means not spending money in January. It means letting Lennon continue to flail about whilst Desmond and his little pal Peter decide on a new manager for the summer. Obviously he may have to sack NL before May if he becomes too annoying or radge
11-12-2020, 07:59 AM
Celtic are paying a big squad and staff vast wages whilst getting no fans through the gate and having brought in tuppence ha'penny from their European exploits.
It's early December and they have already lost the league and are out of Europe. All in all it's all a bit **** city.
What is Dermot to do?
Answer - Write the season off and try to lose as little money as possible before next season. That means not spending money in January. It means letting Lennon continue to flail about whilst Desmond and his little pal Peter decide on a new manager for the summer. Obviously he may have to sack NL before May if he becomes too annoying or radge
Yes but unlike the Rangers, Celtc have cash in the bank, even without a bail out from the owner.
If they don’t strengthen in January it will be a choice not a necessity.
I see Turnbull got a rare start last night, shows what squad depth they already have.
11-12-2020, 08:07 AM
I agree with this 100%.
Why is the FF banner still up from 2016?
It seems like we look back to 2016 too often opposed to looking forward to the next trophy win. The clubs media refer to 2016 an awful lot. The club should be creating a culture of trying to win trophies and not looking back. Applies to the fans too, we bash Hearts for not winning the League Cup for 58 years but they have won it more than Hibs.
Why shouldnt the banner be up? It was the biggest and most signifigant game in our history. No matter what happens that will always be "the one". That wont change when we win our next trophy which we hopefully do with the League cup in February.
11-12-2020, 10:18 AM
Anyone else heard that the Jack Ross to Celtic rumours are gaining momentum?
11-12-2020, 10:34 AM
Can't see him taking them onto the next level tbh....stranger things have happened i suppose.
11-12-2020, 10:37 AM
It wouldn't shock me. I know for certain that even without Brendan Rogers recommendation that he's well thought of at Celtic.
11-12-2020, 10:39 AM
It was on BBC gossip;
Hibernian are aware of speculation linking head coach Jack Ross with a move to Celtic as Neil Lennon's successor, says sporting director Graeme Mathie, but the Easter Road club hope their contingency plan is not required. (Scotsman)
11-12-2020, 10:43 AM
Yes but unlike the Rangers, Celtc have cash in the bank, even without a bail out from the owner.
If they don’t strengthen in January it will be a choice not a necessity.
I see Turnbull got a rare start last night, shows what squad depth they already have.
Turnbull and Soro were both very good last night.
On that evidence they should have been playing before now but Lennon has chosen to play Brown and McGregor into the ground instead.
Even Klimala up front played with a bit of verve.
11-12-2020, 11:02 AM
It was on BBC gossip;
Hibernian are aware of speculation linking head coach Jack Ross with a move to Celtic as Neil Lennon's successor, says sporting director Graeme Mathie, but the Easter Road club hope their contingency plan is not required. (Scotsman)
I wonder who our contingency manger is?
11-12-2020, 11:06 AM
I wonder if we'd go back to Alan Stubbs? Free, works well with the backroom staff and showed with us that he can use the facilities at the club to their maximum.
11-12-2020, 11:11 AM
If Celtic were to appoint Jack Ross I think their fans fury would be off the scale.
11-12-2020, 11:13 AM
If Celtic were to appoint Jack Ross I think their fans fury would be off the scale.
I’d like to see them go for Jonathan Ross.
11-12-2020, 11:23 AM
Jack Ross would be a seriously underwhelming appointment for Celtic fans
11-12-2020, 11:24 AM
It wouldn't shock me. I know for certain that even without Brendan Rogers recommendation that he's well thought of at Celtic.
What’s with all the Brendan Rodgers recommendation chat?
Why is he making recommendations at all? And if he is, do we really think he’s going to recommend Jack Ross because he thought his Alloa and St Mirren teams in the Championship played good football?
11-12-2020, 11:33 AM
Ross Kemp also worth a shout.
11-12-2020, 11:35 AM
Ross Kemp also worth a shout.
Is that the one that was in Spandau Ballet?
11-12-2020, 11:42 AM
Is that the one that was in Spandau Ballet?
Nah, East Enders hard man. Would stiffen that leaky defence.
11-12-2020, 11:47 AM
Jack Ross would be a seriously underwhelming appointment for Celtic fans
who exactly do they hope they’re gonna get, klopp? or do they think Alex Ferguson is itching to come out of retirement to secure 10 in a row for ‘the club like no other’ or whatever guff they call themselves
11-12-2020, 11:54 AM
He'd be useless, he'd have left the stadium before it all kicked off.
11-12-2020, 11:54 AM
But he is Martin Kemp's brother though, isn't he? And Martin and his brother were definitely in Spandau Ballet.
Maybe they could be a dual coaching team, with Ross being the hard man and Martin singing to them when they're feeling a bit down.
11-12-2020, 12:02 PM
Orchard_Hibs
11-12-2020, 12:22 PM
who exactly do they hope they’re gonna get, klopp? or do they think Alex Ferguson is itching to come out of retirement to secure 10 in a row for ‘the club like no other’ or whatever guff they call themselves
This would be spectacular given his govan leanings
What’s with all the Brendan Rodgers recommendation chat?
Why is he making recommendations at all? And if he is, do we really think he’s going to recommend Jack Ross because he thought his Alloa and St Mirren teams in the Championship played good football?
I asked this before, seemingly Ross was on a coaching course Rogers was either on or running and Rogers was very impressed by him.
11-12-2020, 12:47 PM
I asked this before, seemingly Ross was on a coaching course Rogers was either on or running and Rogers was very impressed by him.
I have seen lots of people look good on the practice court but never turn it into top level results.
11-12-2020, 12:50 PM
I've read on here that Rogers invited him to a Celtic training session after playing one of his teams in the cup.
11-12-2020, 01:05 PM
Lennon would be available. And we wouldn’t have to pay any compo for him. :greengrin
11-12-2020, 01:12 PM
Lennon would be available. And we wouldn’t have to pay any compo for him. :greengrin
”we would like to welcome Neil Lennon back to Hibernian Football Club. The club would like to reiterate that Neil Lennon has not been hired, nor has he joined us voluntarily.”
11-12-2020, 01:38 PM
The only reason Lennon is still there is there isn’t someone instantly available who could turn it around. Someone like Nigel Pearson could do it but like most English managers I doubt he would be interested. Gerrard only came to sevco as he was just starting out in management. O’Neil and Strachan I don’t think think are up to it now. This was always going to happen when Rodgers left and wasn’t replaced with a manager of the same standing.
11-12-2020, 02:16 PM
I’d like to see them go for Jonathan Ross.
Nah! Then Wangews would sound a little like
******s and someone would complain
11-12-2020, 04:31 PM
The only reason Lennon is still there is there isn’t someone instantly available who could turn it around. Someone like Nigel Pearson could do it but like most English managers I doubt he would be interested. Gerrard only came to sevco as he was just starting out in management. O’Neil and Strachan I don’t think think are up to it now. This was always going to happen when Rodgers left and wasn’t replaced with a manager of the same standing.
Wonder if they lose the 10,they'll be starting afresh and will take a punt with larsson ?
11-12-2020, 05:09 PM
Nigel Pearson is a good call.
If he added an O to the end of his forename & surname their supporters would buy it
11-12-2020, 08:24 PM
Nigel Pearson is a good call.
If he added an O to the end of his forename & surname their supporters would buy it
They would buy it more if he added an O to the start of his surname, Irish roots and all that
20-12-2020, 02:59 PM
He must go regardless of result.
murray26
20-12-2020, 03:02 PM
The guy is clueless beyond belief and will never manage at any meaningful level again
20-12-2020, 03:04 PM
Surely looking at the sack if they lose this.
20-12-2020, 03:06 PM
They better get more fences out around Parkhead tonight if they lose this.
20-12-2020, 03:06 PM
Even if they don't in my opinion. This second half has been scandalous.
20-12-2020, 04:00 PM
Even if they don't in my opinion. This second half has been scandalous.
Yeah, I think he has to go after yet another inept display (and I realise they won in the end) .
20-12-2020, 04:15 PM
He must go regardless of result.
It’s possible they just wanted him to get his treble before being emptied.
Goodness knows what was happening with him today. At the end of normal time Neilson gathered his players to talk to them, Lennon just seemed to wander around without a word to say.
Poor game management, some bizarre substitutions... even though they won today, their weaknesses were glaring.
20-12-2020, 04:18 PM
For someone who's mocked about being a born winner, he does seem to win quite a bit.
20-12-2020, 04:20 PM
Who cares? He’s nothing to do with us anymore
20-12-2020, 04:20 PM
For someone who's mocked about being a born winner, he does seem to win quite a bit.
I realise you have a big man-crush on the guy*, but do you honestly think he's doing well at Celtc just now?
* Just a wee joke, honest ;-)
20-12-2020, 04:24 PM
I realise you have a big man-crush on the guy, but do you honestly think he's doing well at Celtc just now?
No I don't, I think he's bought some right huddys, but he's won again it appears to be something he's really quite good at despite not being a born winner.
20-12-2020, 04:33 PM
Won't you stay another day.
murray26
20-12-2020, 04:35 PM
Amen
20-12-2020, 04:45 PM
Anyone else think Lennon may choose now as the right time to walk away with his reputation relatively in tact?
Wouldn’t surprise me at all if he leaves in the next few days.
20-12-2020, 04:46 PM
Fwiw I’m still interested in it.
When our manager is a rumoured replacement for him as well, I’m not sure it’s totally irrelevant to Hibs either.
20-12-2020, 04:47 PM
Anyone else think Lennon may choose now as the right time to walk away with his reputation relatively in tact?
Yes....I said this earlier on. He'd be daft not to although I'm not sure what he'll do next. I hope he does as my dislike of him is getting a bit ridiculous now, I should really be better than that at my age.
20-12-2020, 04:50 PM
I don't know if he would ever quit, but it would not surprise me if he was potted, they are a shadow of the side Brenda left, and I can't see them catching the huns. His signings have been poor, I think they won't be keen on letting him spend any more, but might let someone new loose with a few quid in January?
20-12-2020, 04:52 PM
He won't go unless they pay up his contract
Every week he is there he earns a fortune
The board will blink first
20-12-2020, 04:53 PM
I realise you have a big man-crush on the guy*, but do you honestly think he's doing well at Celtc just now
* Just a wee joke, honest ;-)
No I don't, I think he's bought some right huddys, but he's won again it appears to be something he's really quite good at despite not being a born winner.
I think the Celtic players won that today despite Lennon. There’s something not right about their ethos and moral fibre just now. Lennon is a lucky lad because he appears to have the ear of Lawwell and Desmond
20-12-2020, 04:55 PM
I think the Celtic players won that today despite Lennon. There’s something not right about their ethos and moral fibre just now. Lennon is a lucky lad because he appears to have the ear of Lawwell and Desmond
I bet when they get beat it's all down to Lennon though. 😁
20-12-2020, 04:56 PM
I bet when they get beat it's all down to Lennon though. 😁
Fair point.
20-12-2020, 05:08 PM
I don't know if he would ever quit, but it would not surprise me if he was potted, they are a shadow of the side Brenda left, and I can't see them catching the huns. His signings have been poor, I think they won't be keen on letting him spend any more, but might let someone new loose with a few quid in January?
I can’t imagine Lennon will walk. This is surely the most high profile job he will ever get, so unless he’s had enough why chuck it?
They can definitely spend money in January, and their signing problems aren’t all down to Lennon. Lawell was at fault for their failure to sign SJM and maybe a few more mistakes?
Dr What If?
20-12-2020, 05:15 PM
He will feel he needs to prove himself, he will want to turn it around, get the ten and leave as a hero....anything else now and he will be the guy who wasn't quite good enough. Celtic were so poor today though, man for man they had the better players all over the pitch but they were not the better team. Edouard looked like he had never played with his team mates before and the whole team just seemed to lack ideas or urgency. Maybe its just personalities that don't mix or maybe its a manager thats out of touch with the dressing room....no idea, I'm just relieved they beat Hearts.
20-12-2020, 06:15 PM
Now thats out the way. Lennon must stay
HFC93
20-12-2020, 06:27 PM
I think Lennon got lucky today and Celtic winning is good for the Huns as he will still stay.
20-12-2020, 06:32 PM
Can't see him resigning as he has a very high opinion of himself and all the recent disasters will be the players fault not his. It is amazing that someone can take over such a fantastic team and then spend millions and make them look like a pub team against a terrible Hearts side. They ended up winning but with the resources that Lennon has had that performance, when it really mattered, was atrocious. However sometimes it is better to be lucky than good and he certainly has the luck of the Irish
20-12-2020, 06:33 PM
A penalty shootout away from being emptied
20-12-2020, 06:35 PM
Congratulations you beautiful beautiful man.
20-12-2020, 06:36 PM
Something else emptied of mines when they won it mind.
20-12-2020, 06:39 PM
There's a decent team there just asking to be picked but for whatever reason he won't do it.
A bit of backing in January, admitting that some of his summer transfer business has been abysmal and ditching the flops and more teams getting in about Sevco the way we did and St Mirren did the other night - and I think they might well still win the league.
I think he's too stubborn to do what's required though.
20-12-2020, 06:50 PM
Something else emptied of mines when they won it mind.
😂😂😂
20-12-2020, 07:02 PM
There's a decent team there just asking to be picked but for whatever reason he won't do it.
A bit of backing in January, admitting that some of his summer transfer business has been abysmal and ditching the flops and more teams getting in about Sevco the way we did and St Mirren did the other night - and I think they might well still win the league.
If I was Celtc I’d not trust him with anymore money. The more he spends the bigger mess it will be for the next man to sort. I genuinely can’t see any realistic set of circumstances where Lennon wins the league this season. I reckon if he remains, between now and the end of the season Celtc will drop more points than Rangers do.
20-12-2020, 07:13 PM
I think the sum of their parts is far greater than they are showing. Like many others I thought that the only team that could stop Celtic were Celtic and Lennon seems to be trying to prove that.
20-12-2020, 08:14 PM
Think that’s the 5th trophy since he went back there and completed his first treble.
He won’t be getting sacked any time soon.
Rangers have been pretty average the last few weeks and a long way to go. He’s as much chance of turning them round as anyone. When you see the interactions with his players after the game he hasn’t lost the support of the players.
I think it’s actually good to see a club appreciating what’s gone before and not reacting purely to form.
20-12-2020, 08:25 PM
Think that’s the 5th trophy since he went back there and completed his first treble.
Rangers have been pretty average the last few weeks and a long way to go. He’s as much chance of turning them round as anyone. When you see the interactions with his players after the game he hasn’t lost the support of the players.
I think it’s actually good to see a club appreciating what’s gone before and not reacting purely to form.
Rangers have won 4 of the 5 games they’ve played in the last couple of weeks with 4 of them being away from home and 1 of they 4 even being away from home in Europe.
To put that into perspective, Celtic haven’t been on a run that good over a 5 game period since September/early October. I’m not sure Rangers current form would really back up the idea of a Celtic turnaround.
20-12-2020, 08:36 PM
Rangers have won 4 of the 5 games they’ve played in the last couple of weeks with 4 of them being away from home and 1 of they 4 even being away from home in Europe.
To put that into perspective, Celtic haven’t been on a run that good over a 5 game period since September/early October. I’m not sure Rangers current form would really back up the idea of a Celtic turnaround.
I think there’s been signs within games that there may be a wobble soon from Rangers. Add that tk the actual wobble they did have at St Mirren, I suspect they may well drop points soon.
I don’t think there’s any credible alternative to Lennon that knows Scottish football and could come in and hit the ground running.
Imo Celtic are probably right to stick with Lennon, of course it’s a gamble but sticking with him and hoping he turns it around it is probably less if a gamble than changing managers now.
That said though, I’m not convinced there’s not been a gentleman’s agreement that he was allowed to try and win Celtic the cup while they found a replacement in the background.
20-12-2020, 09:02 PM
He's a lucky, lucky man.
20-12-2020, 09:12 PM
He's a lucky, lucky man.
Pasted into a bit of a corner I think they worked their way out.
Of anything Hearts got lucky with Naismith staying on the park.
20-12-2020, 09:14 PM
Pasted into a bit of a corner​ I think they worked their way out.
Of anything Hearts got lucky with Naismith staying on the park.
With every love in the world, they got taken to penalties by a lower league side, despite being 2-0 up at HT and 3-2 up in ET. He's managing the biggest team in the country and has had millions spent in transfer fees in the summer and they looked dreadful, and handed the initiative away twice. There's no way that Celtic shouldn't be winning that comfortably within 90 minutes.
20-12-2020, 09:20 PM
If Rangers have been average then what on earth was Celtic today and over the last month or so? They will easily pump Celtic on the second also. There’s more chance of us getting something at Ibrox.
20-12-2020, 09:21 PM
If I was Celtc I’d not trust him with anymore money. The more he spends the bigger mess it will be for the next man to sort. I genuinely can’t see any realistic set of circumstances where Lennon wins the league this season. I reckon if he remains, between now and the end of the season Celtc will drop more points than Rangers do.
Why do you think transfers are just down to him? It was Lawwell who decided SJM wasn’t worth £3m until it was too late. Celtc are sitting on millions.
20-12-2020, 09:24 PM
Why do you think transfers are just down to him? It was Lawwell who decided SJM wasn’t worth £3m until it was too late. Celtc are sitting on millions.
They spend almost £10m on a striker and a goalie that aren’t even kicking about the bench. You think the board would still be backing him while losing in the middle of playing Scott Bain and the Hazzard guy? They are also now going to lose lots of market value on Eduard, Ntcham and the Dutch full back.
20-12-2020, 09:25 PM
He's a lucky, lucky man.
I think that shambles of a second half will have cost him regardless. If he has any sense he will take advantage of the cup win and walk now before he is pushed.
20-12-2020, 09:49 PM
I don’t, like his time with us there’s likely questions to be asked of the scouting department etc as well. However Lennon is the manager, the buck for signings stops with him. It’s now his squad, he’s spent a lot of money on it and the squad is much poorer than the one he inherited.
20-12-2020, 09:55 PM
Born winner.
:whistle:
20-12-2020, 09:57 PM
No expert but after that I think his days are numbered
Sent from my SM-G973F using Tapatalk
20-12-2020, 10:43 PM
Lennon has bought himself a bit of time with that cup win and I'm breathing a sigh of relief - because if Celtic were looking for a new manager then one of the first places they'd come looking is ER with a team threatening the right end of the league. They maybe would not go for Ross but would definitely be sniffing about him which would be unsettling - the LAST thing we need with a cup-semi approaching.
Here's hoping Lenny now steers his team into a bit of consistent league form and puts that talk to rest for the foreseeable.
Magpie
21-12-2020, 04:05 AM
He should genuinely be emptied even after that result, 2-0 up at half time against a Championship and they almost bottled it. There was a part of me which thought they would still challenge Rangers but I honestly can’t see it happening for as long as he is there. I hope he stays because 2nd would be there for the taking.
Magpie
21-12-2020, 04:06 AM
Lennon has bought himself a bit of time with that cup win and I'm breathing a sigh of relief - because if Celtic were looking for a new manager then one of the first places they'd come looking is ER with a team threatening the right end of the league. They maybe would not go for Ross but would definitely be sniffing about him which would be unsettling - the LAST thing we need with a cup-semi approaching.
Here's hoping Lenny now steers his team into a bit of consistent league form and puts that talk to rest for the foreseeable.
Being honest I wouldn’t even be that bothered if they came for Ross.
21-12-2020, 04:13 AM
Being honest I wouldn’t even be that bothered if they came for Ross.Why? He's looking like the best manager we've had for quite sometime
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
Magpie
21-12-2020, 05:16 AM
Why? He's looking like the best manager we've had for quite sometime
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
I know, and I’m actually confused with myself as to why I feel that way, but I really just don’t get that feeling that we would be worse off without him.
21-12-2020, 05:54 AM
I know, and I’m actually confused with myself as to why I feel that way, but I really just don’t get that feeling that we would be worse off without him.
I'm not at my brightest at this time of the morning but that's really confused me.
21-12-2020, 06:00 AM
Probably, but then a cup win doesn't care. IMO Stubbs was 90 mins from being sacked at Hibs but instead is a living Legend.
Winners are winners.
21-12-2020, 06:09 AM
If they are to have any chance of winning the league, they need a change, IMHO. They are in serious decline.
Yorkshire HFC
21-12-2020, 06:13 AM
With every love in the world, they got taken to penalties by a lower league side, despite being 2-0 up at HT and 3-2 up in ET. He's managing the biggest team in the country and has had millions spent in transfer fees in the summer and they looked dreadful, and handed the initiative away twice. There's no way that Celtic shouldn't be winning that comfortably within 90 minutes.
I think you're missing the point of sport. In every game, it's just two teams and both have a chance of winning.
21-12-2020, 06:32 AM
I’m not sure I’ve seen a Celtc team as all over the place as they were yesterday from the second half onwards. Soon as hearts started having a go they couldn’t cope. I’ll be astonished if they get a result at Ibrox.
21-12-2020, 07:52 AM
They spend almost £10m on a striker and a goalie that aren’t even kicking about the bench. You think the board would still be backing him while losing in the middle of playing Scott Bain and the Hazzard guy? They are also now going to lose lots of market value on Eduard, Ntcham and the Dutch full back.
You’ve not answered my question. Who was responsible for signing those players? Lennon alone? Or is it a shared responsibility?
21-12-2020, 07:58 AM
I think you're missing the point of sport. In every game, it's just two teams and both have a chance of winning.
But it’s not a 50/50 chance and with the players, facilities and staff at his disposal then that final should have been three or four nil Celtic.
As it is that’s twice a Neil Lennon Celtic team has taken on Hearts in a SC final in two years and from a position of strength they’ve looked highly unconvincing.
21-12-2020, 08:19 AM
I’m not sure I’ve seen a Celtc team as all over the place as they were yesterday from the second half onwards. Soon as hearts started having a go they couldn’t cope. I’ll be astonished if they get a result at Ibrox.
Yup. They’ll get an absolute doing at Ibrox if they play anything like they have for the vast majority of the season imo.
21-12-2020, 08:25 AM
Celtic were on easy street but their ***** collapsed when Hearts scored. That's what a lack of confidence does. Yesterday will do them the world of good. Wouldn't surprise me if they push on now.
21-12-2020, 08:41 AM
I think some people are defending Lennon based on the expectations at a normal club, and not what is expected of him at Celtc (especially at this moment in time).
I can't imagine their supporters being very forgiving if they continue their current form and let the gap between them and The Rangers get even greater.
To put it in context; they've been the dominant club in Scotland for years, have had no genuine competition until quite recently, have a budget massively bigger than everybody else... and then won the league last season because their biggest rivals imploded after Christmas.
To win the league this season, they're now relying on a repeat performance from The Rangers, plus a very big improvement in their own form.
I realise one particular DotNet poster will probably cry himself to sleep if Lennon is sacked, but I don't think it would surprise most people.
21-12-2020, 08:44 AM
Celtic will sign the Dundee United goalie in January. Stick on id say.
21-12-2020, 08:49 AM
Celtic will sign the Dundee United goalie in January. Stick on id say.
He doesnt have games like that every week.
21-12-2020, 08:51 AM
He's been outstanding this season. Not just Saturday
21-12-2020, 08:55 AM
He doesn't have games like Barkas, Bain or Hazard any week though so on that basis alone he'd be a significant upgrade.
The Baldmans Comb
21-12-2020, 09:01 AM
Congratulations to Neil Lennon and to Celtic as a quadruple treble is simply outstanding and utterly unprecedented.
Its all over now though and you have to wonder how a team with these phenomenal resources have ended up with so many terrible goalkeepers and central defenders.
21-12-2020, 11:36 AM
I think some people are defending Lennon based on the expectations at a normal club, and not what is expected of him at Celtc (especially at this moment in time).
I can't imagine their supporters being very forgiving if they continue their current form and let the gap between them and The Rangers get even greater.
To put it in context; they've been the dominant club in Scotland for years, have had no genuine competition until quite recently, have a budget massively bigger than everybody else... and then won the league last season because their biggest rivals imploded after Christmas.
To win the league this season, they're now relying on a repeat performance from The Rangers, plus a very big improvement in their own form.
I realise one particular DotNet poster will probably cry himself to sleep if Lennon is sacked, but I don't think it would surprise most people.
Many use the argument of resources and lack of strong competition in a way to take the shine off Celtic’s “quadruple treble”, but the fact stands it’s still a terrific achievement.
A game of football is still a sporting contest and surprise results happen all the time. Celtic were off the pace in that second half and Hearts ramped it up to make things very uncomfortable for them and could very easily have came out victors, but Celtic managed to get it done. Every cup run in the last four years will have seen some tight games and Celtic similarly finding a way to to win a tie whilst not at their best. Plenty of comfortable wins in that time as well of course but to not slip up once to complete 12 consecutive cups was a remarkable run.
21-12-2020, 12:44 PM
You’ve not answered my question. Who was responsible for signing those players? Lennon alone? Or is it a shared responsibility?
Not John Park. That’s lennons biggest failing.
Stonewall
21-12-2020, 12:52 PM
Not John Park. That’s lennons biggest failing.
Brendan Rodgers emptied John Park.
21-12-2020, 12:54 PM
Many use the argument of resources and lack of strong competition in a way to take the shine off Celtic’s “quadruple treble”, but the fact stands it’s still a terrific achievement.
A game of football is still a sporting contest and surprise results happen all the time. Celtic were off the pace in that second half and Hearts ramped it up to make things very uncomfortable for them and could very easily have came out victors, but Celtic managed to get it done. Every cup run in the last four years will have seen some tight games and Celtic similarly finding a way to to win a tie whilst not at their best. Plenty of comfortable wins in that time as well of course but to not slip up once to complete 12 consecutive cups was a remarkable run.
8 cup competition and 4 leagues and in only 4 of those cup wins did they play anyone on a par although still below their level of resource. 2 of those games were early on when The Rangers were miles off the pace. Still an achievement but lots of context to take into account. I think they would be well on their way to a fifth treble if Brenda had still been there
21-12-2020, 01:38 PM
All the pressure was on Celtic yesterday. All Hearts had to do was to make sure they didn't get slaughtered and ruin their confidence in the league.At half time Neilson probably told them to have a go as keeping the score down wasn't working too well.One goal was all it took.They should have won and they know it even if their moronic fans think they're heroes.
16-01-2021, 03:53 PM
20 points behind. Will be 23 when Rangers win tomorrow. He is doing an absolutely hilariously bad job there :faf:
16-01-2021, 03:55 PM
20 points behind. Will be 23 when Rangers win tomorrow. He is doing an absolutely hilariously bad job there :faf:
Natural born winner. Celtic won’t get better than him.
16-01-2021, 03:59 PM
Getting sacked in the morning
16-01-2021, 04:01 PM
If Hibs could get their act together at home, we could end up making a serious challenge for 2nd place.
I've dismissed similar posts this season but, the way Celtc are performing, there is a (faint) possibility of one of the other sides finishing above them.
Allez Hibs
16-01-2021, 04:06 PM
If Hibs could get their act together at home, we could end up making a serious challenge for 2nd place.
I've dismissed similar posts this season but, the way Celtc are performing, there is a (faint) possibility of one of the other sides finishing above them.
Agreed. So frustrating Hibs have dropped points from a a winning postion at home this season. 2nd is still on for Aberdeen Hibs if a good run can be put together, would need to beat Celtic I think though.
Bangkok Hibby
16-01-2021, 04:08 PM
IF Celtic win their games in hand they'll be 14 points behind Rangers and 14 points ahead of us. Second place is theirs.
16-01-2021, 04:09 PM
Agreed. So frustrating Hibs have dropped points from a a winning postion at home this season. 2nd is still on for Aberdeen Hibs if a good run can be put together, would need to beat Celtic I think though.
Absolutely, but we've performed well the last two games against them.
It is really a long shot but no harm in aiming as high as possible.
16-01-2021, 04:10 PM
What an absolute ****storm Celtic have been this season. Love it!
16-01-2021, 04:11 PM
IF Celtic win their games in hand they'll be 14 points behind Rangers and 14 points ahead of us. Second place is theirs.
That's a big if, though. Their performances will have to improve dramatically to do that.
I agree that they're still BIG favourites for second but I don't think we're going to be too far behind, come the end of the season.
16-01-2021, 04:11 PM
Sorry Keith, I'm going to dismiss that suggestion. We'll be doing extremely well to hold on to third and it'll need us to break the mini-hoodoo we have regarding Aberdeen. In fact, Livi have more chance of overtaking us than we have of beating Celtic, and Aberdeen, to second.
It says a lot that the suggestion has even been made, however.
16-01-2021, 04:12 PM
What an absolute ****storm Celtic have been this season. Love it!
No kidding. I can't recall any club imploding so spectacularly that quickly.
16-01-2021, 04:14 PM
Rangers could easily go unbeaten and create a massive gap over Celtic.
What’s the largest 1st v 2nd points difference in recent years ?
16-01-2021, 04:15 PM
Rangers could easily go unbeaten and create a massive gap over Celtic.
What’s the largest 1st v 2nd points difference in recent years ?
Without looking I’d presume it was Celtics unbeaten season?
16-01-2021, 04:15 PM
Is it still a weak celtic team midweek? Fancy livi to beat them on that park
16-01-2021, 04:16 PM
They have everyone back by then I think
16-01-2021, 04:16 PM
Another draw would suit me just fine.
16-01-2021, 04:17 PM
Sorry Keith, I'm going to dismiss that suggestion. We'll be doing extremely well to hold on to third and it'll need us to break the mini-hoodoo we have regarding Aberdeen. In fact, Livi have more chance of overtaking us than we have of beating Celtic, and Aberdeen, to second.
It's attitudes like that from our support that stops us ever achieving anything!
16-01-2021, 04:23 PM
Crazy that he is in that job. Simply not talented enough for that level.
Rumble de Thump
16-01-2021, 04:25 PM
Maybe a wee job swap with Ray McKinnon taking over at Celtic.
16-01-2021, 04:28 PM
They have everyone back by then I think
Don’t think so - the quarantined players will be back for the second Livi match but not the first.
16-01-2021, 04:29 PM
Sadly I agree. Celtc need to win every match to have any hope of reviving the title race but they don’t need anything like that form to hold onto second.
16-01-2021, 04:33 PM
Sadly I agree. Celtc need to win every match to have any hope of reviving the title race but they don’t need anything like that form to hold onto second.
I agree that we won’t push them for second. Could have been an opportunity to push for a champions league place this year, that won’t be there again.
16-01-2021, 04:36 PM
Don’t think so - the quarantined players will be back for the second Livi match but not the first.
The second match is the midweek one, they drew 0-0 today :wink:
16-01-2021, 05:43 PM
The second match is the midweek one, they drew 0-0 today :wink:
Ah! In which case do disregard my nonsense.
16-01-2021, 06:36 PM
Lennon .... dead man walking.
16-01-2021, 07:00 PM
Lennon .... dead man walking.
Jim, he’s self isolating, back in on Monday, can’t see Celtic doing anything before then, but yeah can’t see him continuing as Celtic manager
16-01-2021, 07:06 PM
I'm no fan of Lennon but hard to blame him for not beating Livingston today
16-01-2021, 07:08 PM
Why?
16-01-2021, 07:09 PM
Why?
He wasn’t there.
16-01-2021, 07:10 PM
Why?
He couldn't influence anything
NC1875
16-01-2021, 07:15 PM
You genuinely think he never picked the team today? Or had a say throughout the game ?
He was speaking to the young lad that came on as a sub against us with the AirPods in.
True.
Apart from picking the team, sending the pre match briefing via Strachan and overseeing a signing policy which , given their resources even with the players quarantining, saw them unable to field a decent striker against the mighty Livingston.
He’s blameless.
I'm pretty sure it's just as easy for Gavin Strachan to throw a strop at HT and call their striker a ****.
Wakeyhibee
16-01-2021, 07:16 PM
I wonder if their form will get more mediocre as the title race becomes uncatchable. Will some of their guys have an eye on moves etc.. It is a long shot and normally I would agree j, I hope Lennon keeps his job past the January window.
16-01-2021, 07:17 PM
Its his squad isn't it?
16-01-2021, 07:17 PM
True.
Apart from picking the team, sending the pre match briefing via Strachan and overseeing a signing policy which , given their resources even with the players quarantining, saw them unable to field a recognised striker against the mighty Livingston.
He’s blameless.
Tbf he was a bit light on players.
16-01-2021, 07:22 PM
True.
Apart from picking the team, sending the pre match briefing via Strachan and overseeing a signing policy which , given their resources even with the players quarantining, saw them unable to field a decent striker against the mighty Livingston.
He’s blameless.
I'd imagine it would be pretty hard to manage sat in the house
16-01-2021, 07:23 PM
Not a chance - if Celtic win both their games in hand and both the remaining derbies then the lead is 11pts and Rangers won't drop even half that against the rest of the league. It's over and done with.
16-01-2021, 07:27 PM
Tbf he was a bit light on players.
I don’t want to be fair. It’s Celtc. :greengrin
16-01-2021, 07:30 PM
I don’t think he will be getting sacked for today’s result in isolation. More so for the poor squad he has expensively assembled and spectacular collapse of their much vaunted 10 in a row, at the final hurdle.
Think we should enjoy him as Celtc manager for as long as we still can.
16-01-2021, 07:31 PM
I hope the Celtic board also think that way - the longer he’s in that job the better!
16-01-2021, 09:10 PM
Its his squad isn't it?
Let my bet down for a nice wee lift today ....... useless barstewards. :greengrin
Allez Hibs
18-01-2021, 02:10 PM
Neil Lennon calling the reaction to the Dubai trip hypocrisy.
https://mobile.twitter.com/PLZSoccer/status/1351164222978338826
ABZHFC
18-01-2021, 02:18 PM
Sincerely, completely and utterly **** Neil Lennon, a horrible man
18-01-2021, 03:22 PM
Neil Lennon calling the reaction to the Dubai trip hypocrisy.
https://mobile.twitter.com/PLZSoccer/status/1351164222978338826
When I saw it I thought it was a clever hoax. He really looks like he has lost the plot. I suspect the end is nigh but I really hope he stays until the end of season and does more damage to Sellick.
18-01-2021, 03:26 PM
True.
He’s blameless.
... you missed out 'taking them on a p1ss-up to Dubai and causing half his first team squad to isolate' which he's apparently is taking credit for too :wink: