View Full Version : Hibs Women

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 10 11 12 13

02-12-2023, 02:08 PM
We were unlucky with injuries this competition, much like the men's team, if we lose our best players to injury then there is a big drop. In saying that, I'm still not convinced by Losa at all and extending his contract to 2027 when he's not achieved anything yet (not qualifying for the WC was a massive failure) is madness.

At least he’s finally starting to get some fresh blood in. Goalkeeper is an upgrade. A few others still to be removed from the squad. Corsie, evans are long past it.

hibby rae
03-12-2023, 11:55 AM
At least he’s finally starting to get some fresh blood in. Goalkeeper is an upgrade. A few others still to be removed from the squad. Corsie, evans are long past it.

Yeah the key area is the back, I'd add Docherty and McLauchlan to the list as areas needing improved upon.

He seems to suffer from the same problem Kerr did, when we are the team with the ball we struggle to create decent chances and put them away. It cost us the Euros under Kerr and then it cost us the WC under Losa. No real plan B.

05-12-2023, 09:08 AM
Spartans manager "steps down" to concentrate on her new role as CEO of Spartans community. Will be interesting to see who applies for the job.

05-12-2023, 06:09 PM
Scotland v England will be on BBC and iplayer for anyone wanting to see Scotland getting battered. It’s an awful starting 11 that’s been chosen.

05-12-2023, 06:59 PM
free header, Docherty can't jump either

amateur

05-12-2023, 07:00 PM
Marking was piss poor and the keeper not much better. Awful goal to concede.

05-12-2023, 07:02 PM

at first i thought the keeper was poor but i think she actually expected Docherty to at least jump

Crunchie
05-12-2023, 07:05 PM
Schoolgirl stuff

05-12-2023, 07:16 PM
Should be 2.

Scotland have played some decent stuff since conceding though.

05-12-2023, 07:19 PM
Netherlands 1 Belgium 0

05-12-2023, 07:23 PM
oh dear

05-12-2023, 07:25 PM
oh dear x2

05-12-2023, 07:27 PM
Scotland have a few decent players but the drop down in level to some of the others is massive.

Particularly defensively the players are absolutely miles off the standard to compete at the top level.

Erin Cuthbert is also clearly nowhere near fit.

05-12-2023, 07:32 PM
Some of these players should be nowhere near the squad never mind the starting 11.

05-12-2023, 07:33 PM
our keeper pulled her arms away from the ball

meanwhile in the Netherlands they're screaming "fix"

chasitup
05-12-2023, 07:33 PM
Scotland are utterly honking. Offer next to nothing going forward. Not sure what Emslie offers other than running. Gibson is a dreadful goalkeeper, and the defence is brutal.

hibby rae
05-12-2023, 07:40 PM
Stroke of genius giving Losa an extension until 2027

05-12-2023, 07:41 PM
at first i thought the keeper was poor but i think she actually expected Docherty to at least jump

It wasn’t docherty. Emma mukardju (sp). She is awful. We’ve taken Maciver the English keeper - yet still play Gibson. Makes no sense. Also playing the games at Hampden is just stupid. A big empty stadium.

hibby rae
05-12-2023, 07:52 PM
It wasn’t docherty. Emma mukardju (sp). She is awful. We’ve taken Maciver the English keeper - yet still play Gibson. Makes no sense. Also playing the games at Hampden is just stupid. A big empty stadium.

The decision to play at Hampden all the time is mental, I know the players wanted it but I personally think the national team should be as accessible to as many people as possible, and that means different stadiums. Especially as the women's games are nearly always a week day evening.

apols your right, now i'm wondering why on earth Mukandi was over that side in the first place :(

i see Makundi, Clark and McLauchlan all subbed

what the heck was that from Napier

ah, NOW this is embarrassing

our keeper pulled her arms away from the ball

meanwhile in the Netherlands they're screaming "fix"

And so they might. BBC News made a big thing about Scotland possibly lying down to England, allowing them to win and thereby allowing GB to qualify for the Olympics ( some Scottish women to benefit from that ). :hmmm::hmmm::hmmm::hmmm:

05-12-2023, 07:55 PM
And so they might. BBC News made a big thing about Scotland possibly lying down to England, allowing them to win and thereby allowing GB to qualify for the Olympics ( some Scottish women to benefit from that ). :hmmm::hmmm::hmmm::hmmm:

Don’t be daft. None of this team will be in a Uk team.

05-12-2023, 07:55 PM
will we see double figures

05-12-2023, 08:00 PM
FT Wales get their first point in a credible draw with Germany 0-0

FT Northern Ireland 1 ROI 6

Netherlands 2 Belgium 0

He's here!
05-12-2023, 08:03 PM

Not based on tonight's showing but there were plenty of positive signs in the previous game against England at Sunderland.

In saying that England have well and truly rediscovered their mojo. James is a cracking player.

05-12-2023, 08:03 PM

Not being daft, pal. Just saying that they made a big thing of it …… looks like it’s becoming a game of England v The Netherlands.

He's here!
05-12-2023, 08:06 PM
The decision to play at Hampden all the time is mental, I know the players wanted it but I personally think the national team should be as accessible to as many people as possible, and that means different stadiums. Especially as the women's games are nearly always a week day evening.

Absolutely. ER has been good for a couple of Scotland women's games we've been to and if you're looking for a capacity crowd then St Johnstone is ideal.

Hampden is rank full stop.

05-12-2023, 08:08 PM

Definitely.

Had tonight's game been at ER or Tynecastle I would have taken the bairn. No way an I travelling through to Glasgow for midweek games with a 6 year old though.

Take the team round the country and grow the fanbase. Totally different if it wasn't possible to accommodate the crowds in Edinburgh, Dundee, Aberdeen or Inverness but that isn't the case right now.

05-12-2023, 08:13 PM
Not based on tonight's showing but there were plenty of positive signs in the previous game against England at Sunderland.

In saying that England have well and truly rediscovered their mojo. James is a cracking player.

Only weir (injured) would be a starter for a UK team. Cuthbert would probably get in the sways just to make up numbers from different countries. We don’t have anyone else near the level required right now.

05-12-2023, 08:15 PM
we just don't want to damage that england GD eh :greengrin

He's here!
05-12-2023, 08:15 PM
Definitely.

Had tonight's game been at ER or Tynecastle I would have taken the bairn. No way an I travelling through to Glasgow for midweek games with a 6 year old though.

Take the team round the country and grow the fanbase. Totally different if it wasn't possible to accommodate the crowds in Edinburgh, Dundee, Aberdeen or Inverness but that isn't the case right now.

15k there tonight which is quite good, tho I didn't think it looked that many as the crowd is lost at Hampden.

15k would pretty much fill Tynecastle.

He's here!
05-12-2023, 08:18 PM
Only weir (injured) would be a starter for a UK team. Cuthbert would probably get in the sways just to make up numbers from different countries. We don’t have anyone else near the level required right now.

Yeh, Weir was the one who immediately springs to mind. Will she be fit? A couple of Scots in the squad would be good.

05-12-2023, 08:31 PM
Netherlands v Belgium

shots

30/6

on target

14/3

05-12-2023, 08:36 PM
pure chronic defending

05-12-2023, 08:38 PM
Netherlands 3-0

sorry Netherlands

05-12-2023, 08:38 PM
Netherlands score.

Chorley Hibee
05-12-2023, 08:39 PM
4-0 Netherlands

Chorley Hibee
05-12-2023, 08:39 PM
Belgium and Scotland in their own competition at who can lie down the most. 🤣

05-12-2023, 08:40 PM
That's really sad so it is.........

05-12-2023, 08:40 PM

England are just lucky we held back

hibby rae
05-12-2023, 08:41 PM
I appreciate this.

He's here!
05-12-2023, 08:50 PM
4-0 Netherlands

Aargh, that's a shame. We got tickets in the ballot for the football at London 2012 and it was really enjoyable. Would have been good to see a GB team at the next Olympics.

England really only have themselves to blame for some stuttering early group performances. They're the best side in the group and should have won it.

Must be some questions being asked about the way ahead for Scotland after that tho.

05-12-2023, 09:04 PM
The Dutch girl that scored the winner is Meads girlfriend. That’s not going to be a happy household 😂

He's here!
05-12-2023, 09:05 PM
That's really sad so it is.........

It's a pity for the women's game. The Olympics is a much bigger deal than it is for the men and it would have been good to maintain the momentum built up in recent years.

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-12-2023, 09:13 PM
It's a pity for the women's game. The Olympics is a much bigger deal than it is for the men and it would have been good to maintain the momentum built up in recent years.

Nah. **** Team GB.

He's here!
05-12-2023, 09:22 PM
Nah. **** Team GB.

Can't agree. As already mentioned Caroline Weir (ex-Hibee) is a terrific player and (if fit) would have played. Great role model for young Scottish girls to aspire to.

ErinGoBraghHFC
05-12-2023, 09:24 PM
Can't agree. As already mentioned Caroline Weir (ex-Hibee) is a terrific player and (if fit) would have played. Great role model for young Scottish girls to aspire to.

Totally understand and respect your point. However, Team GB competing in the Olympics paves the way for a Team GB in UEFA and FIFA competitions. No thanks.

05-12-2023, 09:26 PM

10-12-2023, 03:09 PM
last home game of the year v Glasgow City BBC iPlayer - Watch BBC ALBA live (https://www.bbc.co.uk/iplayer/live/bbcalba) chucking of rain....again

FT scores from earlier

Montrose 3 Dundee United 2, winner coming on 90+2
Partick Thistle 1 Hearts 4, Hearts go 5th, above us on GD
Celtic 7 Spartans 0, seven 2nd half goals

presently Motherwell 0 Rangers 1, 4 mins played

10-12-2023, 03:14 PM
48 seconds on the clock

Hibernian 0 Glasgow City 1

23 mins 1-1

28 mins 1-2

FT
Hibs 1 Glasgow City 3
Motherwell 0 Rangers 5
Hamilton Accies 1 Aberdeen 1

PHeffernan
10-12-2023, 08:58 PM
Hibs Women are 6th in the table after todays results.
However, they have a good chance to go into the shutdown ahead of their rivals for 4th if they can beat Aberdeen next weekend before their rivals Partick Thistle and Hearts probably lose to Glasgow City and Celtic.

11-12-2023, 02:12 PM
Fourth is feasible & what we should be looking for.
The Uglies (men & women) have substantially outspent everyone else & are becoming untouchable, sad but true.
GC held on & all credit to them for winning what I suspect is their last league championship. They are slipping off
the pace of The Rantic but are currently still better than the rest; they should be our next target.

17-12-2023, 05:17 PM
very good scoreline for the women yesterday

Aberdeen :0: Hibernian :7:

today
FT's

Dundee United 0 Motherwell 1
Glasgow City 6 Partick Thistle 0
Spartans 1 Montrose 1
Rangers 4 Hamilton Accies 0

and finally

Hearts get their first ever point against Celtic 1-1

PHeffernan
17-12-2023, 06:49 PM
very good scoreline for the women yesterday

Aberdeen :0: Hibernian :7:

today
FT's

Dundee United 0 Motherwell 1
Glasgow City 6 Partick Thistle 0
Spartans 1 Montrose 1
Rangers 4 Hamilton Accies 0

and finally

Hearts get their first ever point against Celtic 1-1

Hibs currently top of the also rans and improving under Grant Scott.
A note of caution is we still have to play Rantic in our remaining 6 second round of fixtures.

Again an embarrassing result for the league with 7th place Aberdeen losing by 7 goals at home to the team in 4th. There is a chasm between 3rd and 4th, 6th and 7th and 11th and 12th

4 leagues within the league as could have been predicted before the season started and I still think it should be a 10 team league given the real fall off in quality at the very bottom. Sadly Spartans now down among the dross.

I see Queens Park are running away with SWPL2. Think they will have a little bit of money behind them which will enable to keep away from the relegation places in the top tier once promoted. Could be a good addition in August.

Hibernation for a month now with the next league games on the 14th January 2024.

17-12-2023, 10:35 PM
Hibs currently top of the also rans and improving under Grant Scott.
A note of caution is we still have to play Rantic in our remaining 6 second round of fixtures.

Again an embarrassing result for the league with 7th place Aberdeen losing by 7 goals at home to the team in 4th. There is a chasm between 3rd and 4th, 6th and 7th and 11th and 12th

4 leagues within the league as could have been predicted before the season started and I still think it should be a 10 team league given the real fall off in quality at the very bottom. Sadly Spartans now down among the dross.

I see Queens Park are running away with SWPL2. Think they will have a little bit of money behind them which will enable to keep away from the relegation places in the top tier once promoted. Could be a good addition in August.

Hibernation for a month now with the next league games on the 14th January 2024.

hearts were well organised in defence, surprised celtic were so poor with their passing maybe the playing surface had something to do with that, it does look a tad strange having just eight sides in the PL2

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GBka-wgWIAAShEm?format=png&name=4096x4096

17-12-2023, 10:36 PM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GBkZMWLW4AACA9k?format=png&name=4096x4096

He's here!
19-12-2023, 10:06 PM
Mary Earps wins Sports Personality of the Year. Another healthy boost for the women's game and well deserved.

PHeffernan
19-12-2023, 10:23 PM
hearts were well organised in defence, surprised celtic were so poor with their passing maybe the playing surface had something to do with that, it does look a tad strange having just eight sides in the PL2

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GBka-wgWIAAShEm?format=png&name=4096x4096

Yeah, two leagues of 10 would make more sense at this time.
There are 5 well funded teams in the SWPL at the moment and Partick Thistle are somehow managing to keep up with Hibs and Hearts.
Aberdeen will throw more money at it soon which will see them join the same batch but below that the standard is pretty grim.
Perhaps Dundee Utd are another club that will put a bit more money behind their womens team in the next few years as well.
SWPL2 outside of Queens Park looks a wasteland but the womens game in Scotland is improving every season.

hibby rae
20-12-2023, 11:39 AM
No chance of them making the league smaller any time soon, it was only expanded about 3 years ago. Hearts avoided relegation because of it.

20-12-2023, 02:41 PM
Mary Earps wins Sports Personality of the Year. Another healthy boost for the women's game and well deserved.

Aye, just look at the attention it's attracted on here.

He's here!
20-12-2023, 07:25 PM
Aye, just look at the attention it's attracted on here.

She's a great role model for girls/women's football. Fought very hard to get where she has and has elevated a position that has historically been a problematic one in women's football by basically being a very fine keeper. Hats off to her. Any lazy flak she's taken over her award is grounded in ignorance.

20-12-2023, 07:52 PM
She's a great role model for girls/women's football. Fought very hard to get where she has and has elevated a position that has historically been a problematical one in women's football by basically being a very fine keeper. Hats off to her. Any lazy flak she's taken over her award is grounded in ignorance.

That's good then. Bigger personality than Frankie aye? Gies peace.

20-12-2023, 09:02 PM

Can Italians win this?

20-12-2023, 09:08 PM
She's a great role model for girls/women's football. Fought very hard to get where she has and has elevated a position that has historically been a problematical one in women's football by basically being a very fine keeper. Hats off to her. Any lazy flak she's taken over her award is grounded in ignorance. SPOTY should be binned into history, it’s all woke now giving it to a woman footballer but that’s the BBC for you. What has she done to win it when people like Ronnie O’Sullivan and Frankie get overlooked. Jeez even Alfie Hewitt deserved it more but wheelchair tennis isn’t exactly popular enough.

He's here!
20-12-2023, 09:09 PM

Depends what the voting public think I guess but IMHO Earps is a good winner in respect of the impact it has on her sport.

The coach of my daughter's team somehow managed to get hold of a Nike Earps shirt and gave it to the team's keeper. It's going to take her a while to grow into but you can see she feels like a better player just by wearing it. These kind of things can be the difference between kids sticking with a sport or not.

Just my view.

PHeffernan
20-12-2023, 09:11 PM

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNdWQJhMHXY
(https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eNdWQJhMHXY)https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gtvDQistC44

:singing:
Frankie
He's just a bloke who sits on horses
Frankie
The horses dae aw the work

He's here!
20-12-2023, 09:23 PM
I'd add that I thought the worthiest winner of the night was Fatima Whitbread. What she came through as a child to become a world champion was harrowing in the extreme.

20-12-2023, 09:23 PM
SPOTY should be binned into history, it’s all woke now giving it to a woman footballer but that’s the BBC for you. What has she done to win it when people like Ronnie O’Sullivan and Frankie get overlooked. Jeez even Alfie Hewitt deserved it more but wheelchair tennis isn’t exactly popular enough.

One thing she done was win the public vote.

PHeffernan
20-12-2023, 09:34 PM
SPOTY should be binned into history, it’s all woke now giving it to a woman footballer but that’s the BBC for you. What has she done to win it when people like Ronnie O’Sullivan and Frankie get overlooked. Jeez even Alfie Hewitt deserved it more but wheelchair tennis isn’t exactly popular enough.

Ronnie O'Sullivan, a man of almost 50 who continues to hit balls into pockets whilst dressed in evening wear in a centrally heated room.
How would he perform against Glasgow City on a cauld Wednesday night in winter at Meadowbank

He's here!
21-12-2023, 07:13 AM

How is a woman footballer winning it 'woke'? There have been many women winners down the years (pretty sure Liz McColgan was one of them) long before the term 'woke' entered our vocabulary.

hibby rae
21-12-2023, 08:56 AM

Just a guess but be the best in her field and winning the Golden Glove award at the World Cup?

Btw your first sentence is one of the most ridiculous statements I've read on here, I'd be embarrassed.

hibby rae
21-12-2023, 09:00 AM

When Mary Earps gets a horse to save the shots for her he'll be more worthy.

21-12-2023, 09:13 AM
Depends what the voting public think I guess but IMHO Earps is a good winner in respect of the impact it has on her sport.

The coach of my daughter's team somehow managed to get hold of a Nike Earps shirt and gave it to the team's keeper. It's going to take her a while to grow into but you can see she feels like a better player just by wearing it. These kind of things can be the difference between kids sticking with a sport or not.

Just my view.

Nike being forced by public demand into selling Earps tops might inspire the next generation of girls wanting to play football to work hard to become a part of a local team and in time aspire to international level.

In terms of crowds, media coverage, and more the women’s game is coming on at an incredible rate. Mary Earps is a great choice to win it

He's here!
21-12-2023, 09:27 AM
Just a guess but be the best in her field and winning the Golden Glove award at the World Cup?

Btw your first sentence is one of the most ridiculous statements I've read on here, I'd be embarrassed.

I'm guessing the fact it's an England player who won that's causing some of the disquiet.

Obviously Scotland are a long way off the pace but Sandy MacIver's a promising keeper and her decision to switch to Scotland despite being capped by England can only be good for our future prospects.

Overall tho, it's heartening that the women's game isn't beset by similar tribalism to the men's and that Earps can inspire young players from all nations.

21-12-2023, 09:35 AM

When I saw the list of contenders I thought she would be the most deserving winner on the list. Outstanding in her sport and a genuine personality as well.

hibby rae
21-12-2023, 09:36 AM
I'm guessing the fact it's an England player who won that's causing some of the disquiet.

Obviously Scotland are a long way off the pace but Sandy MacIver's a promising keeper and her decision to switch to Scotland despite being capped by England can only be good for our future prospects.

Overall tho, it's heartening that the women's game isn't beset by similar tribalism to the men's and that Earps can inspire young players from all nations.

Tbh I still want England to lose when they play hahaha

mcohibs
21-12-2023, 09:38 AM

Who did you vote for?

21-12-2023, 09:57 AM
Does anybody know what price Mary Earps was to take the title? I'd predicted she'd win it comfortably a couple of weeks before the show and forgot to put a bet on.

He's here!
21-12-2023, 10:44 AM
Does anybody know what price Mary Earps was to take the title? I'd predicted she'd win it comfortably a couple of weeks before the show and forgot to put a bet on.

She was the strong favourite, not sure of the price.

ElginHibbie
21-12-2023, 10:48 AM
https://media.licdn.com/dms/image/D4E22AQGaP5VSt1EDSg/feedshare-shrink_800/0/1681807032435?e=1705536000&v=beta&t=LTW1hyQldPyS7mSrGKqVOHQdDGl0L1SSCsdOS2NAEbo

21-12-2023, 11:20 AM

About 1/8 the night before mate 👍

21-12-2023, 11:45 AM
Can Italians win this?

He was in it , so you would have to assume so.

mcohibs
21-12-2023, 11:50 AM

I had a look about an hour before it was announced and she was 1/7

21-12-2023, 12:17 PM
He was in it , so you would have to assume so.

That’s strange. Sounds like they made a mistake - there used to be an overseas category.

He's here!
21-12-2023, 03:24 PM
That’s strange. Sounds like they made a mistake - there used to be an overseas category.

I think it might be the case that if the UK is your main home you qualify, but I thought he'd moved to the US.

23-12-2023, 03:59 PM
Alonso leaves celtic for Houston Dash

rangers will do the men and women's double this season i'm sure of it

Jay
07-01-2024, 03:43 PM
Scottish Cup game at Meadowbank today. 10 mins to half time Hibs beating St J 4 - 0 McAlonie scored a great fre kick there. Her 2nd.

Currently on YouTube but the sound quality is poor at times. There's also someone with a vuvuzela close by which is driving me nuts

07-01-2024, 03:47 PM
Scottish Cup game at Meadowbank today. 10 mins to half time Hibs beating St J 4 - 0 McAlonie scored a great fre kick there. Her 2nd.

Currently on YouTube but the sound quality is poor at times. There's also someone with a vuvuzela close by which is driving me nuts

In your house?

07-01-2024, 03:48 PM
5-0

Jay
07-01-2024, 04:04 PM
In your house?

No because they would be vuvuzela-ing out of an orifice! My tolerance of the is low

07-01-2024, 04:11 PM
six

Seven

Eight

07-01-2024, 04:33 PM
six

Seven

Eight
My boot scootin’ baby is driving me crazy, my obsession from a western, a dance floor date…

07-01-2024, 04:34 PM
My boot scootin’ baby is driving me crazy, my obsession from a western, a dance floor date…

Nine :)

i saw our men beat st johnstone 9-2 in a cup game

07-01-2024, 04:35 PM
These Scottish cup games need to be rethought. Doesn’t help anyone and it’s an awful optic. Been saying it for years

07-01-2024, 04:43 PM
i'm having a wee nose in the windows of the flats opposite

just to see if i notice anyone i know

07-01-2024, 04:52 PM
But & Ben

FT

boooo

He's here!
07-01-2024, 05:09 PM
Had been wondering if the club might stage a woman's match at ER during the men's break. I hate Meadowbank for football, although my daughter and I have enjoyed watching the women's games more than the men's this season

hibby rae
07-01-2024, 08:57 PM
Nice to see Lucy Parry in the crowd today to support her old team mates. I also see she's featuring in Peloton's ad campaigns with Liverpool

08-01-2024, 04:36 PM
Rangers v Dundee United
Partick Thistle v Queens Park/Bonnyrigg Rose
Hamilton v Celtic
Glasgow City v Hibernian...of course
Montrose v Stirling Uni
Spartans v Aberdeen
East Fife v Hearts
Livingston v Gartcairn

He's here!
08-01-2024, 06:59 PM
Rangers v Dundee United
Partick Thistle v Queens Park/Bonnyrigg Rose
Hamilton v Celtic
Glasgow City v Hibernian...of course
Montrose v Stirling Uni
Spartans v Aberdeen
East Fife v Hearts
Livingston v Gartcairn

Battle of the former giants of the Scottish women's game. toughie for sure.

08-01-2024, 07:26 PM
City with 9 wins to Hibs 8.

hibby rae
08-01-2024, 09:08 PM
Tough but not impossible. Great record in cups against them, most recently last season.

09-01-2024, 03:03 AM

i'll be both surprised and delighted if ours get through this one

City with 9 wins to Hibs 8.

the four times Hibernian have lost in the final have all came against Glasgow City, one side i have never heard of that won four finals in the early years of the cup is Edinburgh Dynamos.

interesting name of the team that lost in the first two finals......... Aberdeen Prima Donnas :greengrin

and another team called Cambuslang Hooverettes Scottish Women's Cup - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Women%27s_Cup)

09-01-2024, 08:20 AM
i'll be both surprised and delighted if ours get through this one

the four times Hibernian have lost in the final have all came against Glasgow City, one side i have never heard of that won four finals in the early years of the cup is Edinburgh Dynamos.

interesting name of the team that lost in the first two finals......... Aberdeen Prima Donnas :greengrin

and another team called Cambuslang Hooverettes Scottish Women's Cup - Wikipedia (https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Scottish_Women%27s_Cup)

City are nowhere near as good as they once were. Hibs more than capable. Will come down to the Hibs defence.

09-01-2024, 09:03 AM

:faf::applause:

09-01-2024, 04:32 PM
City are nowhere near as good as they once were. Hibs more than capable. Will come down to the Hibs defence.

whoever loses it's going to be an unusual statistic getting emptied out so soon in the SC

He's here!
14-01-2024, 05:19 PM
4-0 win for Hibs at Hamilton today, all the goals coming in the first half.

Rangers and Celtic won 10-0 and 9-0 respectively...

14-01-2024, 05:54 PM
all top six sides won today

Celtic 9 Montrose 0
Hamilton Accies 0 Hibernian 4
Motherwell 0 Hearts 3
Partick Thistle 2 Aberdeen 0
Rangers 10 Dundee United 0
Spartans 1 Glasgow City 5

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GD0mNFcXgAAFO2m?format=png&name=4096x4096

PHeffernan
16-01-2024, 03:14 PM
Lots of close games at the weekend, NOT.

The gulf is vast between the top 6 and the bottom 6. Some absolutely brutal goal differences.
Aberdeen can throw an extra few quid at it and take the place of Partick in the 6.

Before you know it the league will all but mirror the mens league and that will be it forever.

16-01-2024, 06:35 PM
Lots of close games at the weekend, NOT.

The gulf is vast between the top 6 and the bottom 6. Some absolutely brutal goal differences.
Aberdeen can throw an extra few quid at it and take the place of Partick in the 6.

Before you know it the league will all but mirror the mens league and that will be it forever.

Aberdeen have no interest in chucking money at it. It’s going to be a clear top 2 and then 3 playing for 3rd from next season. Bit the bottom 4/5 are really regressing.

PHeffernan
17-01-2024, 01:36 AM
Aberdeen have no interest in chucking money at it. It’s going to be a clear top 2 and then 3 playing for 3rd from next season. Bit the bottom 4/5 are really regressing.

Aberdeen have have only been going for 4 years in their present form and only been semi pro for a season and a half. They have 7 semi pro players this season and a full time manager. I can see them increasing that number and improving every season.

As for Glasgow City, I presume they will stay ahead of Hibs and Hearts until Mrs Hearts benefactor turns the money tap off. As it stands a draw with Hearts is their only bloody nose this season outside of games against the OF clubs so they are still well ahead of the rest at this time. Impressively, Hearts also managed a draw against Celtic.

17-01-2024, 10:40 AM
Aberdeen have have only been going for 4 years in their present form and only been semi pro for a season and a half. They have 7 semi pro players this season and a full time manager. I can see them increasing that number and improving every season.

As for Glasgow City, I presume they will stay ahead of Hibs and Hearts until Mrs Hearts benefactor turns the money tap off. As it stands a draw with Hearts is their only bloody nose this season outside of games against the OF clubs so they are still well ahead of the rest at this time. Impressively, Hearts also managed a draw against Celtic.

Semi pro at Aberdeen is £150 a month btw. Its just words.

17-01-2024, 11:04 AM
Semi pro at Aberdeen is £150 a month btw. Its just words.

Why do we need semi professional and full professional players in the woman's game in Scotland?

I understand the need to promote woman's football and encourage involvement and identification with the club, but it's still costing money and deep down, does anyone really cares that much, apart from the women really?

It seems like there is a drive to try and create a marketable "product". That may well work in England, but up here, are people that interested?

17-01-2024, 11:22 AM
Why do we need semi professional and full professional players in the woman's game in Scotland?

I understand the need to promote woman's football and encourage involvement and identification with the club, but it's still costing money and deep down, does anyone really cares that much, apart from the women really?

It seems like there is a drive to try and create a marketable "product". That may well work in England, but up here, are people that interested?

We don't tbh. Its just lip service. There are about 5 teams that can afford "Pro"contracts, and thats only due to funding and sponsors. But if / when it does take off you don't want to be the team who has ignored it and missed the boat.

wallpaperman
17-01-2024, 11:26 AM

It’s a very good question, and should be up for debate without people taking your point the wrong way.

My daughter plays under 14, is a fairly promising player and loves the game, and while we have been to quite a few women’s games over the years, she has said to me that she much prefers going to men’s games. Think she felt a bit bad admitting that.

I do hope the womens game will grow in Scotland, hopefully for the benefit of girls around my daughter’s age. I think it can with a surge in girls playing in the last few years creating new interest.

He's here!
17-01-2024, 12:22 PM

Why would people in Scotland be any less interested in a successful women's football product? The way the game has exploded there is remarkable. Wembley sells out for internationals and the bigger clubs can attract attendances which dwarf many men's games. It's not perfect by any means, but there's clearly an appetite for it when the product's right and we have an ever-growing number of girls playing the game in Scotland. There's scope for a more family-friendly experience and personally, I've enjoyed the women's games I've been to with my daughter (and occasionally one of my sons) more than men's games in recent years. If, for example, ER was hosting a men's game one week and a strong quality women's game the next I think that would be a great thing for building stronger, sustained support for the club.

17-01-2024, 01:42 PM
Why would people in Scotland be any less interested in a successful women's football product? The way the game has exploded there is remarkable. Wembley sells out for internationals and the bigger clubs can attract attendances which dwarf many men's games. It's not perfect by any means, but there's clearly an appetite for it when the product's right and we have an ever-growing number of girls playing the game in Scotland. There's scope for a more family-friendly experience and personally, I've enjoyed the women's games I've been to with my daughter (and occasionally one of my sons) more than men's games in recent years. If, for example, ER was hosting a men's game one week and a strong quality women's game the next I think that would be a great thing for building stronger, sustained support for the club.

England has teams that are associated with global brands and has more than x10 our population. There has also been a big marketing drive in order to create a more commercially viable product (hence the big attendances)? I don't think you can really compare the state of the game there with here.

Successful "product" in a Scottish context is a moot point, the woman's game up here is hardly competitive, look at Hibs gubbing St Johnstone in a recent cup match. What are the average attendances at Hibs woman games?

As for our women playing at ER. No thanks, the pitch is a valuable asset and should be the preserve of the men's team. Maybe with leeway for our 18's when playing big European games etc. Do our woman's teams currently generate enough interest to bother opening up ER ?

I'm glad you enjoy watching the women. It's not for me, but I'm all for promoting female participation and encouraging them to identify with the club.

He's here!
17-01-2024, 03:36 PM
England has teams that are associated with global brands and has more than x10 our population. There has also been a big marketing drive in order to create a more commercially viable product (hence the big attendances)? I don't think you can really compare the state of the game there with here.

Successful "product" in a Scottish context is a moot point, the woman's game up here is hardly competitive, look at Hibs gubbing St Johnstone in a recent cup match. What are the average attendances at Hibs woman games?

As for our women playing at ER. No thanks, the pitch is a valuable asset and should be the preserve of the men's team. Maybe with leeway for our 18's when playing big European games etc. Do our woman's teams currently generate enough interest to bother opening up ER ?

I'm glad you enjoy watching the women. It's not for me, but I'm all for promoting female participation and encouraging them to identify with the club.

I agree you can't compare the state of the game in England to that in Scotland, but with so little attempt to market the women's game here there's little hope of assessing how popular it could be. Attendances at Meadowbank are paltry, but they've opened up ER and Tynecastle for recent derbies and the occasional Hibs women's European ties. Many of the tickets for these games are given away free but there were 8.5k in attendance at a derby last season and from memory 3 or 4k for the European games.

If it was clear that football fans in Scotland were overwhelmingly of the 'nah, not for me, why bother?' view with regard to women's football then sure, it should remain little more than a niche segment of the game, but when the water's barely been tested I find it unlikely we would be somehow different to countries where the women's game is embraced seriously.

Hard to argue our men's top flight is competitive either when only two sides can win it.

17-01-2024, 05:04 PM
I agree you can't compare the state of the game in England to that in Scotland, but with so little attempt to market the women's game here there's little hope of assessing how popular it could be. Attendances at Meadowbank are paltry, but they've opened up ER and Tynecastle for recent derbies and the occasional Hibs women's European ties. Many of the tickets for these games are given away free but there were 8.5k in attendance at a derby last season and from memory 3 or 4k for the European games.

If it was clear that football fans in Scotland were overwhelmingly of the 'nah, not for me, why bother?' view with regard to women's football then sure, it should remain little more than a niche segment of the game, but when the water's barely been tested I find it unlikely we would be somehow different to countries where the women's game is embraced seriously.

Hard to argue our men's top flight is competitive either when only two sides can win it.

Im not sure they can market it any more than they do tbh. The socials are constant but the engagement is limited. The attendance still isn't close to being sustainable so they need to find another way to grow the brand and start making it "profitable"

I noticed CCM in OZ are running the women's games before / after the men. If we can get to the stage were we have pitches in Scotland that can handle that then its the only way to go. Otherwise they are going to struggle to break the 200+ attendance for regular games.

He's here!
19-01-2024, 11:57 AM
Im not sure they can market it any more than they do tbh. The socials are constant but the engagement is limited. The attendance still isn't close to being sustainable so they need to find another way to grow the brand and start making it "profitable"

I noticed CCM in OZ are running the women's games before / after the men. If we can get to the stage were we have pitches in Scotland that can handle that then its the only way to go. Otherwise they are going to struggle to break the 200+ attendance for regular games.

Not a bad idea. As you say the pitch would need to be able to handle it, but if all games were included in a season ticket package it would a good family-friendly initiative.

19-01-2024, 08:28 PM
1st SF Celtic 1 Rangers 2

89 mins penalty celtic, their 2nd one, 2-2

penalty rangers just a minute before FT.. 2-3 FT

Partick Thistle v Hibernian in the 2nd SF on sunday

19-01-2024, 08:30 PM
Kirsty Maclean is a classy player.

Sloop67
21-01-2024, 07:58 AM
Hopefully it will be a better game today than yesterday's dire affair

hibby rae
21-01-2024, 08:24 AM
Hopefully it will be a better game today than yesterday's dire affair

Although scraping a 1-0 away win today will be a good result, tough game ahead.

It's a shame it's the day after the Forfar game, I quite fancied it but can't financially justify two away days in the same weekend. Lucky it's on the BBC

He's here!
21-01-2024, 09:09 AM
Although scraping a 1-0 away win today will be a good result, tough game ahead.

It's a shame it's the day after the Forfar game, I quite fancied it but can't financially justify two away days in the same weekend. Lucky it's on the BBC

Yes, I did wonder if they might have scheduled the semi during the men's winter break.

21-01-2024, 09:42 AM
4:10pm kick off.

hibby rae
21-01-2024, 02:23 PM
Surprised to see Shiv and Shannon in today's squad.

hibby rae
21-01-2024, 02:29 PM
Once again the BBC is ***** at it's coverage of the Scottish women's game, I know it's being screened a bit but how hard would it be to include it in today's fixture list and live coverage page?*

*Not very it's a simple web edit.

21-01-2024, 02:32 PM
Surprised to see Shiv and Shannon in today's squad.

Has the mum arrived home yet

He's here!
21-01-2024, 02:34 PM
The way the weather's shaping up I wouldn't be surprised to see this get abandoned.

Sloop67
21-01-2024, 03:02 PM
Conditions look pretty horrific

21-01-2024, 03:09 PM
Watch: SWPL Cup - Partick Thistle & Hibernian meet in semi-final - Live - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/67969151)

21-01-2024, 03:09 PM
Has the mum arrived home yet

Yes, saw an update earlier that said she’s in icu in the royal infirmary

21-01-2024, 03:11 PM
Noticed that one the Hibs players was wearing an earring whilst they were in the huddle. I'm assuming that's just been missed by the officials?

21-01-2024, 03:18 PM
feel for the women players they always seem to be playing in the chuckin rain

21-01-2024, 03:22 PM
Definitely a case for postponing games if the wind is above a certain speed. Farcical conditions.

hibby rae
21-01-2024, 03:32 PM
Definitely a case for postponing games if the wind is above a certain speed. Farcical conditions.

100% it would have been if it had hit earlier

21-01-2024, 03:39 PM
1-0 Thistle. It's a keeper error but the conditions are horrendous and must be difficult for all.

21-01-2024, 03:40 PM
1-0 partick

21-01-2024, 03:44 PM
Hibs down to 10, Eddie sent off. Definitely a 2nd yellow though I'm not sure what her first card was for. She should have been pulled up for giving away a penalty earlier so all in all a poor half hour for her.

21-01-2024, 03:46 PM
deserved red card eddie

not a great 30 mins from her

2-0 and that is game, set and match, didn't deserve anything on this showing

Hibees stung by the Jags

Sloop67
21-01-2024, 04:27 PM
Cracking goal for the Jags

21-01-2024, 04:30 PM
Daft mistakes from hibs bring about their own downfall.

21-01-2024, 04:32 PM
Didn’t use the wind to our advantage at all first half. Rangers will romp the final anyway though unfortunately.

21-01-2024, 04:59 PM
is that our 2nd defeat to partick thistle this season

bring back Dean Gibson

:duck:

Sloop67
21-01-2024, 05:00 PM
Best team won here

The Hibee Harp
21-01-2024, 05:09 PM
We got exactly what we deserved today. Second best all over the park and very few would get pass marks. Yet again, Thistle prove to be a bit of a bogey team for us. I felt we got sucked into a battle which suited Thistle better and Eddie’s foolish red card killed us. We need to get over this result and performance quickly.

21-01-2024, 05:41 PM
Even before the red card we were poor so no complaints about the result.

And that should have been a penalty for Thistle in the first half.

21-01-2024, 06:39 PM
Even before the red card we were poor so no complaints about the result.

And that should have been a penalty for Thistle in the first half.

Aye, a bad day at the office. It happens .

PHeffernan
21-01-2024, 06:49 PM
Hibs down to 10, Eddie sent off. Definitely a 2nd yellow though I'm not sure what her first card was for. She should have been pulled up for giving away a penalty earlier so all in all a poor half hour for her.

An excuse to post this :greengrin
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Iz6ilF0xFK0

Jay
28-01-2024, 12:33 PM
Currently 2 nil up against Motherwell almost half an hour in. Games live on YouTube.

Chipper1875
28-01-2024, 12:42 PM
Currently 2 nil up against Motherwell almost half an hour in. Games live on YouTube.

191 people watching

Jay
28-01-2024, 12:47 PM
Penalty to Motherwell saved by the Hibs keeper.

The Hibee Harp
28-01-2024, 12:48 PM

Incredible save from Wilson to keep out the penalty and the rebound. I’ve been really impressed by her.

hibby rae
28-01-2024, 01:18 PM
Incredible save from Wilson to keep out the penalty and the rebound. I’ve been really impressed by her.

Both keepers a step up from Haaland, who has just been signed by Southampton in the Championship*

*Dean Gibson is now running recruitment there

Sloop67
28-01-2024, 02:05 PM
Back to winning ways this afternoon, 5-0 full time

hibby rae
28-01-2024, 02:37 PM
Back to winning ways this afternoon, 5-0 full time

Very solid performance today from what was a potential banana skin. Really highlights the improvement from last season

linlithgowhibbie
28-01-2024, 02:55 PM
Very solid performance today from what was a potential banana skin. Really highlights the improvement from last season

Is there that much though? pumped easily by Partick last week in a semi final!

28-01-2024, 03:26 PM

Good to hear, especially after last week's performance. Hopefully Spartans can keep Hearts out & help the league position.

hibby rae
28-01-2024, 03:40 PM
Is there that much though? pumped easily by Partick last week in a semi final!

Partick are a good team, everyone has off days. It's a new team with a lot of young players. By no means the finished article.

Watching the performances it's night and day to last season, it shows there's a coach who actually hasa plan when the team is on the pitch rather than just picking a starting 11 and not doing much more

hibby rae
28-01-2024, 03:54 PM
Good to hear, especially after last week's performance. Hopefully Spartans can keep Hearts out & help the league position.

Late winner for the Jambos against Spartans. That's the 2nd.time this season they've got out of jail against them.near the end 🤬

28-01-2024, 04:09 PM
FT's

Hibernian 5 Motherwell 0
Hearts 1 The Spartans 0
Glasgow City 1 Celtic 0
Aberdeen 1 Rangers 2
Montrose 1 Partick Thistle 2

HT

Dundee United 1 Hamilton Accies 2

FT 1-4 ouch, sore one for the home side

linlithgowhibbie
30-01-2024, 12:37 PM
I'm fortunate to be going to a question and answer session with the manager in a fortnight, anyone have any questions they might like raised on their behalf?

31-01-2024, 07:35 PM
I'm fortunate to be going to a question and answer session with the manager in a fortnight, anyone have any questions they might like raised on their behalf?

How much are we going to have to pay to keep Baucom?

Meanwhile, 2:0 at half-time v Dundee United.:thumbsup:

31-01-2024, 07:55 PM
Decent finish there to make it 3-0

31-01-2024, 08:00 PM
Woo hoo.. 4-0… penalty converted by Baucom.

He's here!
31-01-2024, 08:03 PM

Special player.

We're on a fine run in the league.

PHeffernan
01-02-2024, 03:38 AM
Special player.

We're on a fine run in the league.

We are top of the dross

01-02-2024, 03:47 AM
We are top of the dross

Seriously, was there any need for that?

The Hibee Harp
01-02-2024, 08:43 AM

Her goal return is incredible. We need to tie her down to a longer deal now.

01-02-2024, 11:46 AM
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GFPg-5IW8AAwssw?format=jpg&name=medium

01-02-2024, 01:24 PM
18 year old goalkeeper Comfort Erhabor has joined Hibernian on Loan from Brighton, just signed her first professional contract with them a few days back

hibby rae
01-02-2024, 02:41 PM
18 year old goalkeeper Comfort Erhabor has joined Hibernian on Loan from Brighton, just signed her first professional contract with them a few days back

Can only assume Fraine's injury is a bad one. I'm also assuming she's injured as haven't seen anything to say otherwise than the academy keeper Armitage being on the last couple benches.

He's here!
01-02-2024, 03:22 PM

👍

He's here!
01-02-2024, 03:23 PM
We are top of the dross

That's more than the men's team seem able to achieve...

01-02-2024, 04:16 PM
Can only assume Fraine's injury is a bad one. I'm also assuming she's injured as haven't seen anything to say otherwise than the academy keeper Armitage being on the last couple benches.

i was trying to have a look at the womens squad on the official site but for some reason both Edge and Google browsers are displaying warnings at the moment :confused:

01-02-2024, 04:18 PM
the upcoming fixture away to Celtic has been reversed and will now be at Meadowbank instead

hibby rae
01-02-2024, 08:48 PM
i was trying to have a look at the womens squad on the official site but for some reason both Edge and Google browsers are displaying warnings at the moment :confused:

Was fine when I looked earlier.

But if you click on advanced and then you can proceed to site, it's a certificate issue

hibby rae
01-02-2024, 08:50 PM
the upcoming fixture away to Celtic has been reversed and will now be at Meadowbank instead

It's because they they realised it wouldn't be a good idea to play in Airdrie the same day Hearts are also there

01-02-2024, 09:45 PM

The girls on fire !!

01-02-2024, 10:19 PM

The girls on fire !!

01-02-2024, 10:56 PM
The girls on fire !!

ah hear yi

ah hear yi

01-02-2024, 10:57 PM
It's because they they realised it wouldn't be a good idea to play in Airdrie the same day Hearts are also there

that makes sense, avoid the mini sash bash

Bertie Wooster
02-02-2024, 03:46 AM
Appreciate a lot of the attention with the Foley / Black Knight investment will be on the Mens senior team , but has there been any chat as to how it will benefit Hibs Women.

With the womens game growing at a rate of knots , I can see the same logic where a reasonable level of investment will make a significant difference to the league position of the team and be a good return for Hibs

hibby rae
04-02-2024, 11:47 AM
Good of the BBC to be covering the biggest tie of the round..... Oh wait

Anyway, from what I can gather on twitter it's currently 1-1 (Eddie)

lugz
04-02-2024, 12:21 PM

Glasgow City charging 9.99 for PPV is a disgrace, way to grow the womens game eh.
Thankfully they've been punished for their greed and the feed hasn't worked so they're having to refund anyone who purchased the game.:na na:

hibby rae
04-02-2024, 12:59 PM
1-1 FT, into ET now. Sounds like it could be anyone's today, both teams giving as good as they're getting.

Jay
04-02-2024, 01:03 PM

I don't do twitter so am relying on fb updates from the women's page.

hibby rae
04-02-2024, 01:05 PM
I don't do twitter so am relying on fb updates from the women's page.

Nor I. I'm seeing their latest updates on the Google results 😂

It's like trying to follow a game through ceefax

04-02-2024, 01:36 PM
Glasgow City charging 9.99 for PPV is a disgrace, way to grow the womens game eh.
Thankfully they've been punished for their greed and the feed hasn't worked so they're having to refund anyone who purchased the game.:na na:

Lost that it was the only way of watching the game & worse that BBS Scotland aren't even following the game of the round, never mind showing it. Looking like penalties......

et_hibby
04-02-2024, 01:49 PM
Won on pens!!

Bobo
04-02-2024, 01:49 PM
Hibs win 5-4 on pens 👍🏻

04-02-2024, 01:50 PM
Won on pens!!

Superb.
GGTTH.

MartinfaePorty
04-02-2024, 01:50 PM
Great result!

Sent from my SM-S901B using Tapatalk

04-02-2024, 01:52 PM
Brilliant stuff.

I wonder what would have happened had the couple of seasons previous to this one not happened with the women's team. Would still have been a big ask to challenge with the finance the 3 Glasgow sides have at their disposal but with Grant Scott back in the hot seat there is far more cohesion about what we are doing.

hibby rae
04-02-2024, 02:05 PM
Joelle Murray winning it

"Captain's performance Pat"

💚🔥💚🔥💚

hibby rae
04-02-2024, 02:07 PM
Brilliant stuff.

I wonder what would have happened had the couple of seasons previous to this one not happened with the women's team. Would still have been a big ask to challenge with the finance the 3 Glasgow sides have at their disposal but with Grant Scott back in the hot seat there is far more cohesion about what we are doing.

Well we might not have been top 3 but we would have been closer to it.

Compare the last cup victory against City, we won 2-1 but it was a backs against the wall win where we took oit chances. Today sounds more like we went toe to toe.

04-02-2024, 02:14 PM
Brilliant win for the Women; ba...erm nerves of steel to get through the shootout.:flag:

gaz1875
04-02-2024, 02:15 PM
Fantastic result well done the women :flag:

LewysGot2
04-02-2024, 02:23 PM
What an outstanding result 👏

He's here!
04-02-2024, 02:45 PM
Terrific result. Well done.

Nice to have one Hibs team giving us something to enthuse about.

04-02-2024, 02:47 PM
Will readily admit to being concerned when the draw was made so I'm relieved/delighted that Hibs won.

Chorley Hibee
04-02-2024, 02:54 PM
Took my daughter today and I had more enjoyment in 120 odd minutes watching that than I have in the last few months watching the men.

A cohesive plan, fully committed squad, and a willingness to play the game with pace, intent and on the front foot.

A thoroughly deserved victory and well worth the £12 it cost me for us both.

Also, all the women are absolutely fabulous with the kids in the crowd. They're a credit to the club.

He's here!
04-02-2024, 03:06 PM
Took my daughter today and I had more enjoyment in 120 odd minutes watching that than I have in the last few months watching the men.

A cohesive plan, fully committed squad, and a willingness to play the game with pace, intent and on the front foot.

Also, all the women are absolutely fabulous with the kids in the crowd. They're a credit to the club.

We couldn't make it today, but that's great to hear. I do sincerely hope that the Foley involvement leaves scope for giving the women's team a stronger footing within the club.

lugz
04-02-2024, 03:31 PM

The womens team are leading the way in many aspects at the moment, I'd much rather take my daughters along to watch them where they can be inspired.

Your last point is a big one for me, nothing is ever too much for them, always willing to take photos, sign autographs, chat to fans even after losses. A real credit to the club.

PHeffernan
04-02-2024, 04:53 PM
A wonderful result. Punching up.
A successful season now if they can hold onto 4th in the league and the Scottish Cup will take care of itself.

P.S. It was almost impossible to readily find even a score update of the tie of the round today. It was like it wasn't taking place.

Hibs should put a little more in the pot for next season with a view to moving towards Glasgow City as they inevitably begin to fall down towards Hibs and Hearts.

Malonga's Cat
04-02-2024, 05:05 PM
Wasn't there today but a cracking result.
Totally agree with previous posts about the women's team being a credit to the club. Cheap football watching a well put together team who play football with pace and intent to score as many as they can. Add in that they are brilliant with the fans, really makes for a good experience for my little ones.

My only gripe is the new Meadowbank as a ground... deary me. It's awful.

04-02-2024, 05:06 PM
completely forgot todays game :grr:great result and i hope the women are rewarded with an "easier" tie in next round, though it was the cup today i read in an article yesterday that we haven't beaten Glasgow City in a league game since 2007 :shocked:not sure if i didn't read it correctly, or a misprint, but that's quite astonishing

04-02-2024, 05:09 PM
Well done would play them all against Septic

hibby rae
04-02-2024, 05:50 PM
The womens team are leading the way in many aspects at the moment, I'd much rather take my daughters along to watch them where they can be inspired.

Your last point is a big one for me, nothing is ever too much for them, always willing to take photos, sign autographs, chat to fans even after losses. A real credit to the club.

My pal's daughter is football, and Hibs, daft. She's pretty decent as well and now plays for the U-14s.

Joelle Murray has always been her hero and a wee while ago, maybe a couple seasons back, she messaged Joelle on IG. My pal tells me he got a message from Joelle asking if it would be ok to reply to her, and she has since got to know them quite well, to the extent when she had had a tough time at school Joelle spoke to her to make sure she was ok.

Another occasion they were chatting to Mickey at Easter Road during one of the men's games and my pal needed the toilet, so Mickey volunteered to watch his daughter while he did so. A lot the team know her well, and make a point of speaking to her.

hibby rae
04-02-2024, 07:05 PM
https://www.instagram.com/reel/C28BBuFM14e/?igsh=MWdhaHEwNHQ5YTdtMw==

Here's the goal, class finish.

hibby rae
05-02-2024, 05:13 PM
Huns at home in the next round 🤦🤦

Hearts got Partick away, so not an easy one for them either

Celtic get Montrose, so there's the balls in the oven 😉

gaz1875
05-02-2024, 05:47 PM

I had a feeling it would be the huns or celtic. Still beat them and we have s great chance of winning the cup....again.

hibby rae
05-02-2024, 05:48 PM
I had a feeling it would be the huns or celtic. Still beat them and we have s great chance of winning the cup....again.

Aye, was hoping they'd at least draw each other this round!

05-02-2024, 05:53 PM

When is the next round scheduled for?

Might be an idea to get it to ER and try and get a big crowd in.

hibby rae
05-02-2024, 06:18 PM
When is the next round scheduled for?

Might be an idea to get it to ER and try and get a big crowd in.

Sunday 10 March

11-02-2024, 05:14 PM
results

Partick Thistle 0 Rangers 0
Hearts 4 Aberdeen 0
Hibernian 1 Celtic 3
Montrose 1 Glasgow City 5
Hamilton 2 Motherwell 1
Dundee United 0 Spartans 6

11-02-2024, 05:16 PM
Sunday 10 March

2 home ties against The Rangers on the same day! 😊

17-02-2024, 09:52 AM
Not Hibs related but WTF is it with this pair?

Not content with having ruined mens football in Scotland they are now setting their site on the women's game. Cretins.

https://twitter.com/RangersWFC/status/1758795661556773234?t=Nf6nWQ3EwWd1zt2AO9Zs9w&s=19

17-02-2024, 10:00 AM

Not content with having ruined mens football in Scotland they are now setting their site on the women's game. Cretins.

https://twitter.com/RangersWFC/status/1758795661556773234?t=Nf6nWQ3EwWd1zt2AO9Zs9w&s=19

There was nothing surer than that these bunch of bigots would ruin what was a friendly family focused competition and ruin it.

17-02-2024, 10:18 AM
There was nothing surer than that these bunch of bigots would ruin what was a friendly family focused competition and ruin it.

Scottish football still in the dark ages, as far as these 2 groups are concerned

Honestly can’t imagine living life with such deep hatred for another group of people

17-02-2024, 10:41 AM
Scottish football still in the dark ages, as far as these 2 groups are concerned

Honestly can’t imagine living life with such deep hatred for another group of people

They are getting worse instead of better. It’s a pity they got involved in the women’s game at all, the baggage they both carry far outweighs any positives they bring.

hibby rae
17-02-2024, 11:49 AM

This was inevitable with them, seen what they get like when it's youth team derbies in the past as well.

I will add though, many of us here were at the derby at Easter Road a year or two ago where there was a significant amount of young team who rocked up thinking they could treat it like any other game. Quite a bit unsavoury chanting and bother afterwards. Fortunately, it appeared to be a one-off as I haven't seen any of those things repeated since.

hibby rae
17-02-2024, 11:53 AM
They are getting worse instead of better. It’s a pity they got involved in the game at all, the baggage they both carry far outweighs any positives they bring.

Just fixed that there :wink:

Sloop67
17-02-2024, 05:08 PM

I've just read that on the BBC Scotland website, I find it pretty embarrassing actually. I had hoped that the women's game would be free from this nonsense

17-02-2024, 05:41 PM
Just fixed that there :wink:

Fair enough..:greengrin

LewysGot2
17-02-2024, 08:19 PM
Not directly the Hibs women's team but it was brilliant today to see Rachel Boyle and the eldest child at the front of the stand with the Hibs fans. Wee one got to see Daddy's dive celebrations at close quarters 👍😀

17-02-2024, 09:02 PM
big challenge tomorrow away to Partick Thistle, hopefully a far better display than the one a few weeks back in the sup game

hearts should beat Montrose at home

it's really not great viewing seeing those same two sides at the top like with the men

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GGc2CXHXwAAEbcJ?format=png&name=900x900

PHeffernan
17-02-2024, 10:26 PM
This was inevitable with them, seen what they get like when it's youth team derbies in the past as well.

I will add though, many of us here were at the derby at Easter Road a year or two ago where there was a significant amount of young team who rocked up thinking they could treat it like any other game. Quite a bit unsavoury chanting and bother afterwards. Fortunately, it appeared to be a one-off as I haven't seen any of those things repeated since.

The youth and the womens game doesn't have the money required to pay for Policing large numbers of ********s.
It is sad but not surprising that the idiots who support large clubs want to take an opportunity to extend the reach of their cretinous behaviour to areas were it is even less appropriate.

He's here!
18-02-2024, 02:09 PM
Held to a 1-1 draw at Partick. Late equaliser from Thistle. We seem to find it hard against them.

18-02-2024, 02:11 PM
FT Partick 1 Hibernian 1, partick OG for hibs in the first half

so three games against Partick Thistle this season and the hibs women haven't managed to score against them

Baucom had two great chances in the 1st half, and eilidh adams not taking a good chance near the end

He's here!
18-02-2024, 02:13 PM
The youth and the womens game doesn't have the money required to pay for Policing large numbers of ********s.
It is sad but not surprising that the idiots who support large clubs want to take an opportunity to extend the reach of their cretinous behaviour to areas were it is even less appropriate.

When it comes to extending their behaviour to inappropriate areas I see the cretinous Green Brigade have pretty much forced Abada out of the club because he happens to be Israeli. What does this have to do with football?

18-02-2024, 02:21 PM
When it comes to extending their behaviour to inappropriate areas I see the cretinous Green Brigade have pretty much forced Abada out of the club because he happens to be Israeli. What does this have to do with football?

BBC article said "He has faced pressure in his home country because of support for Palestinians among some Celtic fans"

You'll get no argument from me the green brigade but you might also want to mention the crap he's getting from home.

18-02-2024, 03:06 PM
Aberdeen win 4-3 against Dundee United after being 1-3 down at HT

He's here!
18-02-2024, 03:13 PM
BBC article said "He has faced pressure in his home country because of support for Palestinians among some Celtic fans"

You'll get no argument from me the green brigade but you might also want to mention the crap he's getting from home.

Fair enough, I only heard Rodgers' interview on it and the focus there was the continued presence of Palestinian flags among the Green Brigade.

The point is that this kind of thing wouldn't happen at another club eg if Rocky had still been our keeper.

PHeffernan
18-02-2024, 03:42 PM

I think the poor guy will be getting big grief from home given the media reporting on the naive dafties in the Celtic support. These political insophisticates have clumsily made a 21 years old player at their club into a political football.

Chorley Hibee
18-02-2024, 03:53 PM
Held to a 1-1 draw at Partick. Late equaliser from Thistle. We seem to find it hard against them.

Hibs had the better of the first half but Thistle much the better side in the second.

Thistle employed a high press that Hibs couldn't escape from and it was really just a matter of time before they equalised.

Thistle seem a really good side considering their inferior budget.

Brian McDermott sat alongside me the whole game, discussing quite a bit about the club, and he was an absolute gentleman throughout.

PHeffernan
18-02-2024, 04:36 PM
Todays result leaves Hibs Women bottom placed of the 5 professional teams with part timers Partick Thistle only a point behind

lugz
18-02-2024, 04:49 PM
Todays result leaves Hibs Women bottom placed of the 5 professional teams with part timers Partick Thistle only a point behind

The top 3 are unfortunately never being caught, behind hearts on GD. I'm sure it'll be close between those 2 and Partick for the rest of the season.

18-02-2024, 08:17 PM
hearts should increase their lead over us in two weeks time when they play Dundee United away and we are at home to Rangers with Partick Thistle having a tough fixture at Celtic then the top six split follows, i'm not quite sure what the format is but if it's play each other twice then we will need to beat Hearts both times and fix that hoodoo against Partick Thistle.

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/GGo16n-WUAEPZ6J?format=png&name=4096x4096

29-02-2024, 07:17 PM
Scotland u16's eight players from hearts, just the one from us

we're way behind get it sorted :agree:

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/430610632_793197402838469_1732920279205806862_n.jp g?_nc_cat=106&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=3635dc&_nc_ohc=VWYBjWqQ_xEAX-cT7sK&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfD5cUTLL9wqbzhMHmJsA6lYAT3sVVs_VfMmM6RJ_g3O _w&oe=65E5F004

29-02-2024, 09:44 PM
Scotland u16's eight players from hearts, just the one from us

we're way behind get it sorted :agree:

https://scontent.fman1-2.fna.fbcdn.net/v/t39.30808-6/430610632_793197402838469_1732920279205806862_n.jp g?_nc_cat=106&ccb=1-7&_nc_sid=3635dc&_nc_ohc=VWYBjWqQ_xEAX-cT7sK&_nc_ht=scontent.fman1-2.fna&oh=00_AfD5cUTLL9wqbzhMHmJsA6lYAT3sVVs_VfMmM6RJ_g3O _w&oe=65E5F004

They’re trying. They’ve eventually got a grip of the academy over the last year or 2 and separating away from the community side a bit. Teams in the academy were being run in silos with coaches looking after their own interests rather than the club, with noone overseeing the teams/coaches. All change now though so hopefully see some dent in those numbers in the coming years.

Think Hearts coaches are in at Balerno school and involved in the Scotland selection which will help give the benefit of the doubt too.

03-03-2024, 03:01 PM
They’re trying. They’ve eventually got a grip of the academy over the last year or 2 and separating away from the community side a bit. Teams in the academy were being run in silos with coaches looking after their own interests rather than the club, with noone overseeing the teams/coaches. All change now though so hopefully see some dent in those numbers in the coming years.

Think Hearts coaches are in at Balerno school and involved in the Scotland selection which will help give the benefit of the doubt too.

good to hear, do you know if the Women are moving from Meadowbank to HTC ? where is it the girls sides presently train/play etc if everything is moved to HTC will that be a downside, is it a case that parents find Balerno more accessible/easier for travelling to training than HTC.

03-03-2024, 03:04 PM
21 goals in the first three games so far

Glasgow City 8 Aberdeen 1
Spartans 1 Motherwell 4
Celtic 6 Partick Thistle 1

Hibernian v Rangers up next SWPL: Follow four more games & watch Celtic v Thistle then Hibs v Rangers - Live - BBC Sport (https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/live/football/68406169)

03-03-2024, 03:05 PM

I was at a wee presentation about the girls academy a few weeks back and the work they have done in the last year is nothing short of phenomenal from the starting point. It might be a few years until we really see the benefit at first team level but there is now a clear distinction between an elite pathway and participation football (both equally important for the women's game but it's a distinction that is needed).

03-03-2024, 03:12 PM
good to hear, do you know if the Women are moving from Meadowbank to HTC ? where is it the girls sides presently train/play etc if everything is moved to HTC will that be a downside, is it a case that parents find Balerno more accessible/easier for travelling to training than HTC.

I don’t mate. The girls train at HTC on a Tuesday night and sometimes play games there at weekends with Meadowbank being the other home ground (for the elite side).

I think Hearts have done a good job of getting themselves embedded into Balerno school and then it seems created a pathway to the Scotland squad due to it being the same coaches.

03-03-2024, 03:12 PM
Hibernian v Rangers (16:10)

Hibernian: Wilson, Leishman, Baucom, Eddie, McAlonie, Adams, McGregor, Murray, Doran-Barr, Powell, Lawson
Substitutes: Erhabor, Christie, Hunter, Tweedie, Notley, Bowie, Morrison

Rangers: Fife, Docherty, Hill, Middag, Rowe, Ross, McAulay, Ewens, Cornet, McLoughlin, McLeary
Substitutes: Esson, Hay, Hardy, Arnot, Austin, Martinez

not a bad player to have on the bench

03-03-2024, 03:13 PM
I was at a wee presentation about the girls academy a few weeks back and the work they have done in the last year is nothing short of phenomenal from the starting point. It might be a few years until we really see the benefit at first team level but there is now a clear distinction between an elite pathway and participation football (both equally important for the women's game but it's a distinction that is needed).

Huge difference over the last year - hopefully continues.

As you say - both levels are important but the distinction between the potential to make first team and those that are playing for enjoyment has to be made.

Bridge hibs
03-03-2024, 03:49 PM
Is this on tv ?

03-03-2024, 03:50 PM
Is this on tv ?

BBC alba