19-08-2020, 05:08 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/live:bbc_radio_scotland_mw

19-08-2020, 05:43 PM
Scott Allan on just now

Has he joined Hearts😄

19-08-2020, 05:48 PM
See they’ve been forced to apologise for Leveins comments the other night. Hopefully that’s the end of him on the show.

19-08-2020, 05:51 PM
BBC issue Craig Levein apology over Morton and Raith claims as broadcaster admits they 'got it wrong'

19-08-2020, 05:58 PM
See they’ve been forced to apologise for Leveins comments the other night. Hopefully that’s the end of him on the show.

Sorry what have I missed

19-08-2020, 06:00 PM
Interesting that his happiest times in fitba were under Stubbs, Lennon and JR.

Couldnae let Lennon down in the Natural Order game.

19-08-2020, 06:00 PM
Sorry what have I missed

See Victor’s post above.

19-08-2020, 06:03 PM
See Victor’s post above.

Ok ta

19-08-2020, 06:07 PM
Scotty was excellent. 👏👏

Interesting question from Chick, would Rangers fans be happy if Hibs won the league this season?

19-08-2020, 06:18 PM
Scotty was excellent. 👏👏

Interesting question from Chick, would Rangers fans be happy if Hibs won the league this season?

Did he ask Scotty that? 🤣

19-08-2020, 06:20 PM
Scotty was excellent. 👏👏

TBF Chick is a Tadger

19-08-2020, 08:38 PM
Scott spoke well and was nice and relaxed for most of the show.
It was a bit of a rush to get through his entire career, so didn't really get his teeth into any real detail but some interesting insights.
Lawwell saying Celtic had done Hibs "enough favours over the years"... Ronny Deila ordering fry ups and strawberries and cream at breakfast for the team. Obviously had a tough time on the streets of Glasgow after going to Celtic.
Happiest moments in career at Hibs, Natural Order derby a career highlight.

19-08-2020, 09:06 PM

Levein made his comments and actually said it was Tom English that told him this. English is getting his briefings straight from Budge and the likes. I would like to imagine he isn’t stupid enough to get his info from the like of Leslie Deans but it wouldn’t surprise me.

Tom English and Sportsound are becoming unlistenable.

19-08-2020, 09:24 PM
Levein made his comments and actually said it was Tom English that told him this. English is getting his briefings straight from Budge and the likes. I would like to imagine he isn’t stupid enough to get his info from the like of Leslie Deans but it wouldn’t surprise me.

Surely the powers that be at the BBC are seeing what is going on with this programme and the laughing stock it has become. Know the producer is a Jambo but surely it is will be reined in. Darryl Broadfoot looks as if he has been told to step up and bat away the nonsense from English and Levein.

Kaff
19-08-2020, 10:29 PM
Scott spoke well and was nice and relaxed for most of the show.
It was a bit of a rush to get through his entire career, so didn't really get his teeth into any real detail but some interesting insights.
Lawwell saying Celtic had done Hibs "enough favours over the years"... Ronny Deila ordering fry ups and strawberries and cream at breakfast for the team. Obviously had a tough time on the streets of Glasgow after going to Celtic.
Happiest moments in career at Hibs, Natural Order derby a career highlight.

Poor Scott must have been gutted to miss out on the Cup win.
It's probably added to what has made him aware how happy he is at Hibs but still I do wish he was in that squad, he's an integral part of what's made Hibs feel right the last 6 years

Mcpakeisgod
20-08-2020, 06:12 AM
Surely the powers that be at the BBC are seeing what is going on with this programme and the laughing stock it has become. Know the producer is a Jambo but surely it is will be reined in. Darryl Broadfoot looks as if he has been told to step up and bat away the nonsense from English and Levein.

I thought that the other night as well to be fair. Broadfoot is a good listen and certainly brings a bit of balance to the shows when it comes to the commercial/financial side.

18Craig75
20-08-2020, 06:54 AM
Scotty came across really well. He always speaks well whenever you hear him. Goosebumps when he spoke about the natural order derby. What a night that was. I’m never confident playing them but that night I just knew we were going to beat them comfortably. Wish we could bottle the spirit the players showed that night.

hibstag
20-08-2020, 07:22 AM
For once this is worth a listen (monday show).

Darryl Broadfoot rips into Tom English and loser Levein. For once someone callling out the Hearts obsession.

Levein then bleats about Hibs having unfair advantages for Scottish cup (10 weeks away?!) and poor Naismith won’t be fit for Scotland game next month (is he ever fit?).

English shows his true colours by admitting he thinks the whole game should be stopped to be fair to Hearts rather than ‘penalize’ them. He goes quiet when he is reminded that Hearts are not even close to playing competitive football unlike the elite clubs. Imagine the fallout if everything cancelled, it would sit nicely with his obsession around Hearts and Doncaster.

That was the key point the authorities have delayed the start of training for lower leagues to ensure the elite league can still operate safely as larger numbers create more margins for error . It's easier to delay something that has not started than halt already existing measures , despite Englishs alleged impartiality he failed to grasp that and seemed unwilling to pull up Celtic and Aberdeen players induvidually for the problems caused. he also spent a lot off time pulling apart Ian maxwells statement around all of football he picks his targets stupidly and then digs in. Broadfoot mentioned that Hearts were back very early given a normal 8 week pre season which Levein kinda con seeded as he fell off script.
They should be discussiing why are hearts back so early, why have the league not punished the offenders , why have two three nil wins not been handed out for non completion of fixtures etc,

20-08-2020, 07:30 AM
What a good listen that was. I thought Scott was mature, articulate and its clear he genuinely loves the club. Predictably both tried to get him to talk about rangers - even Warburton was on the line! However he didnt go there and talked about how happy he is at hibs and thats what's important to him.
Scott Allan lifting a trophy in the green would be a very good day all round as far as I'm concerned!

20-08-2020, 09:39 AM
That was the key point the authorities have delayed the start of training for lower leagues to ensure the elite league can still operate safely as larger numbers create more margins for error . It's easier to delay something that has not started than halt already existing measures , despite Englishs alleged impartiality he failed to grasp that and seemed unwilling to pull up Celtic and Aberdeen players induvidually for the problems caused. he also spent a lot off time pulling apart Ian maxwells statement around all of football he picks his targets stupidly and then digs in. Broadfoot mentioned that Hearts were back very early given a normal 8 week pre season which Levein kinda con seeded as he fell off script.
They should be discussiing why are hearts back so early, why have the league not punished the offenders , why have two three nil wins not been handed out for non completion of fixtures etc,

I now won’t listen to Tom English He was happy to trot out the Budge propaganda and clearly still would do if another issue arose
He clearly isn’t checking facts if he told Levine. Morton and Raith grassed Hearts up
What is clear is that Hearts are desperate to beat us and should they do so ,you just know the journalists that will crow on about it and make links back to way Hearts were supposedly hard done by and cheated out of remaining an elite team

20-08-2020, 09:47 AM
What a good listen that was. I thought Scott was mature, articulate and its clear he genuinely loves the club. Predictably both tried to get him to talk about rangers - even Warburton was on the line! However he didnt go there and talked about how happy he is at hibs and thats what's important to him.
Scott Allan lifting a trophy in the green would be a very good day all round as far as I'm concerned!

Can we officially adopt him as a Hibs fan now?

20-08-2020, 10:01 AM

Possibly the most blinkered episode of the lot. Broadfoot explained the reasons the jrg made their decision and all English and potter were interested in were hertz. Totally ignored the fact that all over 18 football bar the spl we’re stopped and it sounded liked fanatical woke social justice warriors who are incapable of seeing any viewpoint but theirs. English even went as far as saying it would have been fairer to shut down the spl for two weeks with all the ensuing problems that would cause. It’s like a hertz tv broadcast except the taxpayer paying for it.
All it would take to sort this programme is to get balanced views and a chairperson who will tell English to zip it with his hertz obsession. English is clearly in thrall to budge and hertz and it’s cringeworthy listening to him.

20-08-2020, 10:03 AM
I now won’t listen to Tom English He was happy to trot out the Budge propaganda and clearly still would do if another issue arose
He clearly isn’t checking facts if he told Levine. Morton and Raith grassed Hearts up
What is clear is that Hearts are desperate to beat us and should they do so ,you just know the journalists that will crow on about it and make links back to way Hearts were supposedly hard done by and cheated out of remaining an elite team

And of course if we win how we were better prepared as we had an unfair advantage. They really are a pathetic club and getting as embarrassing as the bigot bros.

20-08-2020, 10:07 AM

You mean actually deal with the matters that concerns fans of all clubs. Nae chance. It’s now about the bigot bros and hertz whinging and occasionally about the dons. If the eight were hibs players they would be incandescent about it. So sad the programme has plummeted so low. Will go and listen to the superscoreboard podcast and get a decent listen

20-08-2020, 10:17 AM
Scotty came across really well. He always speaks well whenever you hear him. Goosebumps when he spoke about the natural order derby. What a night that was. I’m never confident playing them but that night I just knew we were going to beat them comfortably. Wish we could bottle the spirit the players showed that night.

Agree just listened to it and he came over very well a good mix of intelligence and humour. Really interesting career he has had and really hope he gets back to doing what he is brilliant at with Hibs. His comments about how he deals with diabetes were interesting too. Enjoyed the show they need to have many more without English.

20-08-2020, 11:04 AM

Yes agree. Also, very honest about his performances this season and understood why he was not cut out for the Livi pitch.

Loved the apologies for the Levein/English lies on Raith/Morton. Raith chairperson good to and accepting and understanding the decisions. Think Hearts are a laughing stock and disliked throughout Scottish football. Hope life is hard for them in the championship.c

Caversham Green
20-08-2020, 11:39 AM
Possibly the most blinkered episode of the lot. Broadfoot explained the reasons the jrg made their decision and all English and potter were interested in were hertz. Totally ignored the fact that all over 18 football bar the spl we’re stopped and it sounded liked fanatical woke social justice warriors who are incapable of seeing any viewpoint but theirs. English even went as far as saying it would have been fairer to shut down the spl for two weeks with all the ensuing problems that would cause. It’s like a hertz tv broadcast except the taxpayer paying for it.
All it would take to sort this programme is to get balanced views and a chairperson who will tell English to zip it with his hertz obsession. English is clearly in thrall to budge and hertz and it’s cringeworthy listening to him.

This was the point where I realised just how thick English is. He wants the 12 top teams in the country to halt a season that's already started rather than have one lower league team, whose season doesn't start for another two months, miss a week's training.

20-08-2020, 06:10 PM
Currently listening to Monday nights podcast and I am astonished at how obtuse English and Levein are being. It’s utterly pathetic how they aren’t getting it into their head that the top flight has a contract to fill, with both the league and the cup.

Levein totally aghast at the idea that it’s all about money and that the premier league is the priority. Of course it is you stupid hearts ****.

Brunswickbill
20-08-2020, 06:37 PM
Currently listening to Monday nights podcast and I am astonished at how obtuse English and Levein are being. It’s utterly pathetic how they aren’t getting it into their head that the top flight has a contract to fill, with both the league and the cup.

Levein totally aghast at the idea that it’s all about money and that the premier league is the priority. Of course it is you stupid hearts ****.

I found Sportsound unlistenable and gave up on it a few weeks back but after all the comment on here I listened to Monday’s podcast this morning. I think English, with support of Levein, has got worse. The only good thing about the programme was Daryl Broadfoot who clearly has knowledge of what’s going on and was able to counter each of English’s and Levein’s accusations. I reckon that with English having been parachuted in to his position on BBC Scotland and having little or no background in Scottish football, he doesn’t have any friendly contacts inside Scottish clubs, apart from Ross Morrison and Mrs Budge, hence he parrots and supports them but brings no original reporting on other clubs. For the past six months he has had nothing good to say about Scottish football and endlessly denigrates our nation sport. He uses every opportunity to talk down and criticise Scottish football with the exception of Hearts and Budge who can do no wrong. He needs to move on to another place where he has football that he thinks is good enough for him. He truly is a moaning, girning waste of space.

20-08-2020, 06:48 PM
Enjoyed listening to Scott Allan - came over as a very likeable and amiable personality. An interesting listen about his career to date.

Caught up with the Levein/English/Broadfoot episode today also and Broadfoot batter away every lame argument from the pair without breaking sweat. I don’t mind them giving Levein/English airtime provided they put up an opponent to debate with them and pick holes in their drivel which makes for better radio than simply a Hearts Podcast.

20-08-2020, 06:52 PM
I found Sportsound unlistenable and gave up on it a few weeks back but after all the comment on here I listened to Monday’s podcast this morning. I think English, with support of Levein, has got worse. The only good thing about the programme was Daryl Broadfoot who clearly has knowledge of what’s going on and was able to counter each of English’s and Levein’s accusations. I reckon that with English having been parachuted in to his position on BBC Scotland and having little or no background in Scottish football, he doesn’t have any friendly contacts inside Scottish clubs, apart from Ross Morrison and Mrs Budge, hence he parrots and supports them but brings no original reporting on other clubs. For the past six months he has had nothing good to say about Scottish football and endlessly denigrates our nation sport. He uses every opportunity to talk down and criticise Scottish football with the exception of Hearts and Budge who can do no wrong. He needs to move on to another place where he has football that he thinks is good enough for him. He truly is a moaning, girning waste of space.

Tom English won’t be going anywhere until the rugby gets started up again. I’m not sure he really likes football that much (with the exception of Hearts) and seems to be more passionate about rugby and boxing.

20-08-2020, 06:57 PM
Levein totally aghast at the idea that it’s all about money

The important fact here is that it is money that Craigy Boy (and Hearts) are nothing to do with, therefore he's envious as he can't chuck it at a bookie (or a two goal a season striker) .

20-08-2020, 07:00 PM
Tom English won’t be going anywhere until the rugby gets started up again. I’m not sure he really likes football that much (with the exception of Hearts) and seems to be more passionate about rugby and boxing.

It think liking Rugby/Boxing and liking Hearts is perfectly logical.

21-08-2020, 05:57 AM

Couldn't agree more the worrying thing must be that he is only following editorial direction. Who is Ross Morrison?

Fuzzywuzzy
21-08-2020, 09:19 AM
I've just started to listen to the monday show. Utterly cringeworthy from levein and English. Two clowns trying to get a a rise out of someone and failing drastically. They make it about hearts them claim it's not about hearts

21-08-2020, 09:25 AM
I've just started to listen to the monday show. Utterly cringeworthy from levein and English. Two clowns trying to get a a rise out of someone and failing drastically. They make it about hearts them claim it's not about hearts

Levein constantly laughs at his own quips. He truly is a dork.

21-08-2020, 08:33 PM
They missed asking the obvious question when interviewing Mark Warburton about his time at Rangers.

When Warburton spoke of his love for the club and it’s “traditions”, the next question should really have been to expand on what those traditions are that he particularly admired.

21-08-2020, 09:28 PM
They missed asking the obvious question when interviewing Mark Warburton about his time at Rangers.

When Warburton spoke of his love for the club and it’s “traditions”, the next question should really have been to expand on what those traditions are that he particularly admired.

Losing cup finals?

21-08-2020, 10:11 PM

Did he ACTUALLY have a magic hat 😂

21-08-2020, 10:15 PM
One day there will be a decent weekly ‘magazine programme’ on TV or radio about Scottish football. I will be long in my grave and most of Leith will be underwater due to rising sea levels but i have confidence it will happen one day.

hibby rae
22-08-2020, 07:13 AM
One day there will be a decent weekly ‘magazine programme’ on TV or radio about Scottish football. I will be long in my grave and most of Leith will be underwater due to rising sea levels but i have confidence it will happen one day.

I tend to just listen to the terrace podcasts, Monday and Thursday usually. Doesn't revolve around the old firm, talks about the lower leagues, and they are up front about who supports who. On the whole, they take the blinkers off too.

22-08-2020, 07:54 AM
I tend to just listen to the terrace podcasts, Monday and Thursday usually. Doesn't revolve around the old firm, talks about the lower leagues, and they are up front about who supports who. On the whole, they take the blinkers off too.

So, another show all about Hearts?

22-08-2020, 07:58 AM

I listen to this as well although sometimes just skip to the Hibs bit. As you say you know who they support but they try and see both sides at least - something the BBC are supposed to do but can’t manage.

Robbo6-2
22-08-2020, 09:46 AM
Sportsound is done. Genuinely who wants to listen to Richard Gordon, Willie Miller, Billy Dodds and Chick Young. These ********s have been talking down our game for years. Absolute has beens.

As previous posters said, there are loads of good podcasts out there including Si Ferrys Open Goal.

22-08-2020, 01:33 PM
Surprised Michael Stewart and Tom English took as long as 30 minutes before they changed the topic to complaining about Hearts being told to stop training.

Rumble de Thump
22-08-2020, 01:35 PM
English and Stewart seem incapable of understanding the most basic things when it comes to the situation Hearts find themselves in. And they repeatedly tell everyone that they can't understand it. Maybe the BBC could hire some people who are capbable of understanding the basics.

22-08-2020, 01:35 PM
Surprised Michael Stewart and Tom English took as long as 30 minutes before they changed the topic to complaining about Hearts being told to stop training.

first i've listened to sportsound for nearly two months, turned off as soon as i heard stewart and fudly english greetin

22-08-2020, 01:37 PM
anyone got a link to that other sports programme, can't remember the name

22-08-2020, 01:45 PM

Superscoreboard on Radio Clyde, don't have a link as I use the app.

22-08-2020, 01:52 PM
Superscoreboard on Radio Clyde, don't have a link as I use the app.

ta, i'l give that a shot next week

22-08-2020, 03:11 PM

ITS on Spotify if you have it. Each podcast available at around midnight. Bar Alex rae they usually have good guests.

22-08-2020, 04:19 PM
English and Stewart seem incapable of understanding the most basic things when it comes to the situation Hearts find themselves in. And they repeatedly tell everyone that they can't understand it. Maybe the BBC could hire some people who are capbable of understanding the basics.

English is like a broken record and a One Man Hearts Propaganda Machine
Refuse to listen to anything he is on

22-08-2020, 04:27 PM
English is like a broken record and a One Man Hearts Propaganda Machine
Refuse to listen to anything he is on

No idea why let him bash on with it. Did I hear Levein in the car too? Ffs. Stewart English Potter?

22-08-2020, 07:12 PM
No idea why let him bash on with it. Did I hear Levein in the car too? Ffs. Stewart English Potter?

Not sure about Stewart but Levein and English were at the United celtic game for the radio.

22-08-2020, 07:18 PM
Not sure about Stewart but Levein and English were at the United celtic game for the radio.

Jon Daly kicking about too presumed. More character in a tin of tuna.

24-08-2020, 05:07 PM
Again.

On air with former Scotland & @JamTarts (https://twitter.com/JamTarts) manager Craig Levein

24-08-2020, 05:14 PM
Again.

Have they not noticed that he is no longer Hearts manager or do they know something we don't!

24-08-2020, 05:30 PM
Have they not noticed that he is no longer Hearts manager or do they know something we don't!

Says former.

24-08-2020, 05:52 PM
It’s a real Hibs love in tonight with Levein, Andy Halliday and Daryll Broadfoot.

Hibiza
24-08-2020, 06:06 PM
Jobs for the boys.

24-08-2020, 06:14 PM
It’s a real Hibs love in tonight with Levein, Andy Halliday and Daryll Broadfoot.

Tbf to Broadfoot he is head and shoulders above every other pundit that gets an airing on that show.

24-08-2020, 06:32 PM

Ahem, that's "Cup Final Hero, Andy Halliday" if you don't mind.

:rules:

24-08-2020, 06:45 PM
Ahem, that's "Cup Final Hero, Andy Halliday" if you don't mind.

:rules:

Is that the same guy that thought he had won the cup, until he mucked it up?

Robbo6-2
24-08-2020, 06:55 PM
What will Andy Hallidays song be when he signs for us

24-08-2020, 06:58 PM

I see no reason to change it. The point of the song still stands.

Hero76
24-08-2020, 07:02 PM

good signing Imo

24-08-2020, 07:02 PM

Don’t know, but he’ll have a clause so he can’t play against The Rangers

28-08-2020, 05:10 PM
Hearts manager Neilson on Sportsound tonight.

28-08-2020, 05:13 PM
Hearts manager Neilson on Sportsound tonight.

Presume Levein wasn’t available

28-08-2020, 05:18 PM
I remember when we got relegated - Stubbs, The Tache, Dempster were never off Sportsound................oh, hang on, no thats utter crap.

This is embarrassing, why are these lower league jobbers on every single effin week?????

28-08-2020, 05:20 PM
I remember when we got relegated - Stubbs, The Tache, Dempster were never off Sportsound................oh, hang on, no thats utter crap.

This is embarrassing, why are these lower league jobbers on every single effin week?????

Is the boy that runs the show not a massive Jambo?

28-08-2020, 05:23 PM
Is the boy that runs the show not a massive Jambo?

I have heard that, but this is next level embarrassing stuff - they must be losing listeners hand over fist - or not give a ****.

29-08-2020, 01:22 PM
It’s so painful listening to Derek Ferguson read out a teamsheet.

29-08-2020, 01:34 PM

I know I’m an outlier, but I like him. Sure his grammar is weak, but I love his pure passion for football..find him more listenable than a number of others ...

29-08-2020, 01:35 PM
I know I’m an outlier, but I like him. Sure his grammar is weak, but I love his pure passion for football..find him more listenable than a number of others ...

Me too. And he’s surprisingly unbiased.

29-08-2020, 01:37 PM
Biscuits and Stewart firmly behind the Aberdeen 8 judgement, because they have been ‘already vilified’ :dunno:
I know there’s differing views but I just don’t understand how a suspended sentence is any kind of deterrent to other players doing the same thing.

29-08-2020, 01:43 PM

I quite like it.
Willing him on every week, as he fights through the foreign name pronunciations.

P.S. I trust those on hibs.net who create the language crime of using the word seen in their posts instead of saw will not be slagging Derek Ferguson.

29-08-2020, 01:46 PM
Biscuits and Stewart firmly behind the Aberdeen 8 judgement, because they have been ‘already vilified’ :dunno:
I know there’s differing views but I just don’t understand how a suspended sentence is any kind of deterrent to other players doing the same thing.

No accountability for anything in Scottish football.

29-08-2020, 01:49 PM
I quite like it.
Willing him on every week, as he fights through the foreign name pronunciations.

P.S. I trust those on hibs.net who create the language crime of using the word seen in their posts instead of saw will not be slagging Derek Ferguson.

Anyone who supports the Accies is ok for me

29-08-2020, 01:58 PM
I quite like it.

And what about those posters that always use double negatives without not knowing they are doing it. I can't not get my head around it.

29-08-2020, 02:14 PM
And what about those posters that always use double negatives without not knowing they are doing it. I can't not get my head around it.

It wasn’t really an attack on DFs grammar or social class or education. It just sounds as if his eye to brain to mouth system isnt working the way it should.

29-08-2020, 02:16 PM
It wasn’t really an attack on DFs grammar or social class or education. It just sounds as if his eye to brain to mouth system isnt working the way it should.

'without not knowing'

29-08-2020, 02:27 PM

I was kidding mate.

29-08-2020, 02:29 PM
'without not knowing'

Ooops! My attempt at humour has fallen short of it's target.:greengrin

29-08-2020, 02:32 PM

I got them John. Two good examples.

29-08-2020, 02:32 PM

Quoting myself to make sure this doesn't grow arms and legs. It was (apparently) a poor attempt at humour. :rolleyes:

29-08-2020, 02:43 PM
Anyone who supports the Accies is ok for me

A government grant should be available to support Hamilton.
Any football Scottish football supporter who doesn't support Rangers or Celtic is ok by me and any football supporter in Ireland who supports an Irish team is ok by me.

Someone telling me they support one of the old firm is like telling me they like Coldplay.
Just so uninteresting, however, you dress it up.

P.S. no mention of Hearts on Sportsound so far

29-08-2020, 03:40 PM

I didn’t not miss it :greengrin

Poor Derek sounds bereft stuck out in Livingston. Even the home goal hasn’t cheered him up.

Hibiza
29-08-2020, 04:58 PM
Levein , it would appear has a job for life.

29-08-2020, 05:14 PM
I like him as well, he comes across as a guy who really loves football. Obviously he’s not the sharpest when it comes to certain subjects, but as long as he’s talking about the games he has an honest enthusiasm about him.

29-08-2020, 05:14 PM
I quite like it. Willing him on every week, as he fights through the foreign name pronunciations.Was it Derek Ferguson who struggled to pronounce Alnwick the other week?

29-08-2020, 09:15 PM
Was it Derek Ferguson who struggled to pronounce Alnwick the other week?

To be fair I’ve heard LNER staff struggle with announcing that and they probably do it most days in life.

AltheHibby
29-08-2020, 09:48 PM
To be fair I’ve heard LNER staff struggle with announcing that and they probably do it most days in life.

Try hearing Kir-call-day being announced at Birmingham New Street.

29-08-2020, 09:50 PM
Try hearing Kir-call-day being announced at Birmingham New Street.

Never been on a train that fast.

30-08-2020, 08:43 AM
Personal favourite is A-low-a.

A tropical paradise on the north bank of the Forth.

30-08-2020, 08:46 AM
Me too just seems an honest genuine guy.

31-08-2020, 05:19 PM
The oracle returns!

On air with Craig Levein

31-08-2020, 11:03 PM
Who's the lady who was hosting the show on Sunday? Her exchanges with Willie Miller made me want to throw up. Her stuff is so scripted it's unreal. The BBC must think they're broadcasting to a crowd of catatonic geriatrics.

01-09-2020, 01:46 PM
Never been on a train that fast.

01-09-2020, 01:48 PM

I know, I did notice it, that's why I replied.

01-09-2020, 01:52 PM
Who's the lady who was hosting the show on Sunday? Her exchanges with Willie Miller made me want to throw up. Her stuff is so scripted it's unreal. The BBC must think they're broadcasting to a crowd of catatonic geriatrics.

Jane Lewis I think it is.

Hibiza
01-09-2020, 05:38 PM
Shepherds love in again . McCrorie and Ferguson will lift an international trophy for Scotland and win a Nobel prize for global warming. P.s . Only played twice together.

01-09-2020, 08:10 PM
Shepherds love in again . McCrorie and Ferguson will lift an international trophy for Scotland and win a Nobel prize for global warming. P.s . Only played twice together.

Listened to it absolute torture. Mcrorie for president basically. Let's see how he goes when people are more in his face than we were. Mcinness apparently it was nothing to do with money. :faf:

10-09-2020, 09:29 AM
Chick Young saying on the podcast that schoolkids don't select players for the correct positions, they put the best players in the team regardless so that's what Scotland should do. Further proof that he should have stuck to his retirement plans a few years ago.

Stanton Spence
10-09-2020, 10:37 AM
Chick Young saying on the podcast that schoolkids don't select players for the correct positions, they put the best players in the team regardless so that's what Scotland should do. Further proof that he should have stuck to his retirement plans a few years ago.Just crazy bud ain't it?? How he's still employed with the BBC or whoever else to give his opinion and dare I say hindsight is beyond belief

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

10-09-2020, 10:41 AM
Gary Caldwell on last night genuinely helped me finally get to sleep so thanks for that BBC.

10-09-2020, 11:32 AM
Gary Caldwell on last night genuinely helped me finally get to sleep so thanks for that BBC.

At least my license fee is good for something.

10-09-2020, 03:18 PM
I have listened to the programme for years stopped a few weeks back can’t cope with the constant stream of Hearts people. The whole summer debacle was a terrible listen with no balance. I don’t miss it I will only tune in when Hibs are on or occasionally open mics to get updates in games I have a wee bet interest in.

11-09-2020, 08:19 AM
Chick Young saying on the podcast that schoolkids don't select players for the correct positions, they put the best players in the team regardless so that's what Scotland should do. [B]Further proof that he should have stuck to his retirement plans a few years ago.

Maybe his retirement plan was to get himself off the BBC employee payroll and get re-engaged as a self-employed contributor?

Avoiding all that PAYE would come in handy if you have to fork out for season tickets for both the huns and St Mirren :greengrin

11-09-2020, 08:24 AM
Just crazy bud ain't it?? How he's still employed with the BBC or whoever else to give his opinion and dare I say hindsight is beyond belief

Sent from my G3121 using Tapatalk

It goes to show that anyone with a pulse can get a job in media if they work at it.

11-09-2020, 05:12 PM
Sportsound on BBC Radio Scotland 810MW
BBCSounds: https://t.co/19TvWR2FJA

@BBCchrismclaug on St Mirren v Hibs
Ryan Stevenson & Jon Daly join @kennymacsport in studio

Neil Lennon on fans being allowed into games
Stephen Robinson on what Motherwell need to do to improve https://t.co/LJi9ZvxnGf

Good to see the BBC keeping up with the hearts connection. Still, they've nothing else to do.

18-09-2020, 03:37 PM
Lewis Stevenson on this evening (with Peter Grant and Maurice Ross)... unless it's a typo and it's just Ryan Stevenson again.

18-09-2020, 04:15 PM
Lewis Stevenson on this evening (with Peter Grant and Maurice Ross)... unless it's a typo and it's just Ryan Stevenson again.

Regular listener here who stopped listening during the radio summer of Jambo. Sickened me, don’t think I will ever go back to listening to that crap again. One listeener lost.

RitchieHibs
18-09-2020, 04:19 PM
Regular listener here who stopped listening during the radio summer of Jambo. Sickened me, don’t think I will ever go back to listening to that crap again. One listeener lost.

They can shove their rare occasional interview where the sun doesn't shine. Come match days its back to the mainly jambo/rangers/aberdeen clique.

18-09-2020, 05:35 PM
Same here.

Hibiza
18-09-2020, 05:38 PM
Lewis coming on.

26-09-2020, 01:33 PM
Today there are 3 SPFL Premiership games, so to keep certain reporters busy/happy we are promised updates from the Hearts v Partick Thistle bounce game at Tynecastle :rolleyes:

26-09-2020, 03:17 PM
Today there are 3 SPFL Premiership games, so to keep certain reporters busy/happy we are promised updates from the Hearts v Partick Thistle bounce game at Tynecastle :rolleyes:

Delivering the updates we’re all desperate to hear

26-09-2020, 04:39 PM

Did they applaud each other on to the park?

26-09-2020, 04:54 PM
Did they applaud each other on to the park?

🤣🤣

maturehibby
26-09-2020, 05:30 PM
Nearest thing to a Jambo on today was Brian McLaughlin
Michael Stewart does not count as he does not let them off with anything

27-09-2020, 08:18 AM
I don't listen to or watch Sportsound. What's the point?

Rumble de Thump
27-09-2020, 10:53 AM
McCann, English, Levein and Jane Lewis on BBC Radio Scotland today. A real treat for football aficionados.

27-09-2020, 10:59 AM
Without TV, legal or otherwise, is listening to these *******s the only way to catch the game today?

27-09-2020, 11:01 AM
Without TV, legal or otherwise, is listening to these *******s the only way to catch the game today?

It might be on Clyde super scoreboard

27-09-2020, 11:03 AM
It might be on Clyde super scoreboard

Never been on there Billy, are the programmes online?

27-09-2020, 11:07 AM

Me too.

A couple of decades ago it was excellent.

A few months ago it was decent.

It is currently unbearable. I don't mind fans of other clubs, I don't mind pundits being slightly biased towards their own club. At the moment the balance is all wrong and I reckon it's all down to English. I reckon he's being paid by Budge to push as pro Hearts board agenda as he possibly can and get away with it. It's so bad now it's scarcely credible. Michael Stewart might be a jambo but he has a bit of integrity and credibility, and he knows that the club won't succeed without a bit of constructive criticism - criticism it richly deserves for being in the position it finds itself in.

It's garbage, and it's a shame because it could still be decent.

18Craig75
27-09-2020, 11:47 AM
Me too.

A couple of decades ago it was excellent.

A few months ago it was decent.

It is currently unbearable. I don't mind fans of other clubs, I don't mind pundits being slightly biased towards their own club. At the moment the balance is all wrong and I reckon it's all down to English. I reckon he's being paid by Budge to push as pro Hearts board agenda as he possibly can and get away with it. It's so bad now it's scarcely credible. Michael Stewart might be a jambo but he has a bit of integrity and credibility, and he knows that the club won't succeed without a bit of constructive criticism - criticism it richly deserves for being in the position it finds itself in.

It's garbage, and it's a shame because it could still be decent.

Belter from Stuart Cosgrove on OFT there. Referred to the Hearts Partick game yesterday as “the Tom English Derby” 😂

27-09-2020, 11:49 AM

Isn't there audio on Hibs TV for ST holders?

Edit: yes there is. Source: Hibs email

27-09-2020, 11:53 AM
Just switched on to Sportsound at ht, Mccann, Leven and English at the game
McCann is ex Rangers, but there’s no reason why Leven should be at the match

27-09-2020, 12:06 PM
The coverage and representation that Hearts get on that show is completely disproportionate to their current standing in the game. Like, hugely disproportionate.

27-09-2020, 12:09 PM
Isn't there audio on Hibs TV for ST holders?

Edit: yes there is. Source: Hibs email

Never realised that. Will give it a go but sound hasn’t been a strong point on the Hibs TV coverage so far.
Ta.

27-09-2020, 12:11 PM
Never realised that. Will give it a go but sound hasn’t been a strong point on the Hibs TV coverage so far.
Ta.

Might be HibsPass rather than HibsTV? Not sure

27-09-2020, 12:13 PM

Could maybe argue it if he had a standing in the game and had good chat on him. He’s a serial loser with possibly the dullest voice ever. He could cure insomnia with his chat. Is the boy that puts the shows together not a staunch Hearts fan? Read that a few times, can be the only explanation for the current shambles that is Sportsound

27-09-2020, 12:16 PM
Is the match live on Radio Scotland?

27-09-2020, 12:25 PM
Might be HibsPass rather than HibsTV? Not sure

Were log ins for Hibs TV ever given to ST holders? Not sure I got that.

27-09-2020, 12:26 PM
Were log ins for Hibs TV ever given to ST holders? Not sure I got that.

We were. IIRC, same log in as Hibs Pass.

27-09-2020, 12:29 PM
We were. IIRC, same log in as Hibs Pass.

See that now Matty, thanks. First time I’ve used Hibs TV for audio so here’s hoping.

27-09-2020, 12:30 PM

These games still need stewards.

27-09-2020, 12:38 PM
Is the match live on Radio Scotland?

Yes on medium wave

27-09-2020, 01:37 PM
These games still need stewards.

Bar, in Levein's case.

27-09-2020, 01:50 PM
Toilet, in Levein's case.

FTFY :wink:

27-09-2020, 01:58 PM
See that now Matty, thanks. First time I’ve used Hibs TV for audio so here’s hoping.

No audio yet....

29-09-2020, 06:03 PM
Made the mistake of tuning in tonight hoping to hear positives about Ryan. Instead it was slag off Leanne, Ron and Hibs. Even tried to go back May and say how we had shafted Ayr and Hearts.

Allegedly only Hibs and the Old Girm are spending cash and we are on the brink or Leanne is giving out false info.

Sportsound Back off the listen list again.

WillowbraeHibby
29-09-2020, 06:10 PM
Made the mistake of tuning in tonight hoping to hear positives about Ryan. Instead it was slag off Leanne, Ron and Hibs. Even tried to go back May and say how we had shafted Ayr and Hearts.

Allegedly only Hibs and the Old Girm are spending cash and we are on the brink or Leanne is giving out false info.

Never listen to any of that lot.. Gave up a long time past.

29-09-2020, 06:13 PM

Last night they had Levein and English with special guest Robbie Neilson. Broadfoot did ask Neilson how’s he getting on tidying up the mess of the last two managers mind you 😀

I’ve changed my perspective of the show and why I listen. I now listen to specifically see how biased they are.

29-09-2020, 06:20 PM

....... and Aberdeen are struggling yet doing well spending Monopoly money.

RitchieHibs
29-09-2020, 06:41 PM
Never listen to any of that lot.. Gave up a long time past.

Me too.

Gave up completely after they gave airtime to Leslie Deans. It became an audio version of kickback.

Peace perfect now. Get most of my football news, chat and gossip on here.

29-09-2020, 06:43 PM
Go Radios a decent listen for non oldfirm obsessed football chat and couldn’t care about hearts.

EI255
29-09-2020, 06:44 PM
You can't even complain about Tom English. I did that and was eventually told that he is a highly respected impartial journalist.

The man is a fool to himself.

Sent from my LG-H870 using Tapatalk

29-09-2020, 06:44 PM

There's a big, long list of media people who imagine their bias isn't being noticed - the BBC Sportsound "team" became part of that list a long time ago.

29-09-2020, 06:47 PM
I’ve changed my perspective of the show and why I listen. I now listen to specifically see how biased they are.

Exactly, always worth a giggle to hear how pompous they are regarding Hearts. Idiots.

WillowbraeHibby
29-09-2020, 06:47 PM
Me too.

Gave up completely after they gave airtime to Leslie Deans. It became an audio version of kickback.

Peace perfect now. Get most of my football news, chat and gossip on here.

Snap. :agree:

29-09-2020, 06:48 PM
6 months ago there would have been loads of posts complaining about Tom English.

Now? a handful at the most.

Which is great news, as it means less and less of us are listening to this joke of a programme.

Leave them to their Hearts / Aberdeen / Old Firm love in, personally I dont care.

29-09-2020, 07:33 PM
Tuned in tonight for the first time in a while. They rinsed hibs. Called out Leanne for her comments about the state of the game and not once acknowledged she's leading the joint response group and laughed at Ron.

Mental!

But, Budge is a genius and tomorrow night we have Andy "i've got this" Halliday on the show.

29-09-2020, 07:43 PM
Tuned in tonight for the first time in a while. They rinsed hibs. Called out Leanne for her comments about the state of the game and not once acknowledged she's leading the joint response group and laughed at Ron.

Mental!

But, Budge is a genius and tomorrow night we have Andy "i've got this" Halliday on the show.
I’d be banning BBC press from ER until further notice

29-09-2020, 07:45 PM
Exactly, always worth a giggle to hear how pompous they are regarding Hearts. Idiots.

First thing tonight asking Ian McCall how good they are? Top six team in the Prem apparently and tune in tomorrow to hear from Andy Halliday 🤣 it’s actually hilarious 😂

29-09-2020, 07:45 PM
I’d be banning BBC press from ER until further notice

Might be a better idea to put Dempster on the Saturday programme and rip right through his ridiculous and poorly researched stories.

Bans are daft, imo.

29-09-2020, 07:48 PM
Might be a better idea to put Dempster on the Saturday programme and rip right through his ridiculous and poorly researched stories.

Bans are daft, imo.

I think she knows the bbc are biased pricks and only speaks to her pal Tam Cowan 👍

18Craig75
29-09-2020, 07:51 PM
Would love either Leeann, Ron, Graeme Mathie or even Jack Ross to go on. Each and every one of them are more articulate, intelligent & balanced than any of the ‘pundits’ on that show and they’d rip them to bits.

29-09-2020, 07:51 PM

The show can’t be taken seriously any more, (the wheeling out of Leslie Deans the tipping point of their credibility) and I’m tuning In more for laughs at the ridiculousness of it all than for any reasoned and interesting Scottish football debate.

29-09-2020, 07:53 PM
The show can’t be taken seriously any more, and I’m tuning In more for laughs at the ridiculousness of it all than for any reasoned and interesting Scottish football debate.

Tactical analysis of the last Scotland match and how we should be more attacking by Craig Levein was hilarious. The utter irony.

29-09-2020, 08:21 PM
I think she knows the bbc are biased pricks and only speaks to her pal Tam Cowan 👍

Tam is a fanny too Hearts sympathiser who called out Leanne for not backing Hearts pathetic attempt not to be relegated.

29-09-2020, 08:33 PM
What's even more bizarre about the Hearts love-in is that you'd struggle to find any fans of other clubs (apart from maybe some huns) who share their sympathies. In fact outside the OF Hearts must be the most widely despised club out there.

Despite this I feel Leann needs to go on the show and get these erseholes telt.

29-09-2020, 08:41 PM
Would love either Leeann, Ron, Graeme Mathie or even Jack Ross to go on. Each and every one of them are more articulate, intelligent & balanced than any of the ‘pundits’ on that show and they’d rip them to bits.

From what I understand Hibs are far from happy about the media coverage over the summer from BBC. I was really surprised to hear Lewis Stevenson on recently but he was calling in not part of the panel.

29-09-2020, 08:50 PM
For some time now, a lot of folk on here have shrugged off and even scoffed at the notion that Sportsound has a pro Hearts, and by definition, an anti-Hibs bias. I think the last few months broadcasts might warrant a reconsideration of this viewpoint.

29-09-2020, 08:57 PM
For some time now, a lot of folk on here have shrugged off and even scoffed at the notion that Sportsound has a pro Hearts, and by definition, an anti-Hibs bias. I think the last few months broadcasts might warrant a reconsideration of this viewpoint.

Been going on for years. I reckon since the "players revolt" when Collins was manager. You could sense the seethe in them that Petrie refused to talk to them on the subject. They went on and on about for season after season.

They've either gotten worse or more clumsy in their Hearts love-in since Budge took over, they refuse to move from their narrative that she is "wonderful" - when all the evidence points to her being one of the most inept, wasteful owners they've ever had, and there is stiff competition there. Imagine they had sit in the rain with a risk of their lap-tops blowing at ER.

29-09-2020, 09:05 PM
If folks “join the dots” does it not suggest that there’s some kind of editorial line regarding Hibs?

29-09-2020, 09:10 PM

Absolute shambles that show. Les Gray the Hamilton chairman was very clear he thought the coverage through the boo hoo Hearts summer that their coverage was very biased and unbalanced. It has been going on for years and probably goes back to the Hearts financial doping years when they let them away with murder and let Charlie Mann lie his way through shows ironically an ex BBC employee who seamlessly returned when Vlads sheckels ran out. The Richard Gordon karma comment when Hibs got relegated was absolutely despicable. Now that Levein is in with the bricks it's only going to get worse. English and Levein are a double act who laugh at each other's jokes not aware everyone else think they are complete plonkers.

29-09-2020, 09:11 PM
If folks “join the dots” does it not suggest that there’s some kind of editorial line regarding Hibs?

Certainly appears to be maybe the rumours of an arch yam in charge is true it would certainly explain a lot.

29-09-2020, 09:14 PM

There is without a doubt. Maybe not regarding the team but most definitely as a club and as a support. There are suggestions on here that the main producer is a Hearts fan but I don't know if that's true or not.

29-09-2020, 09:27 PM
Tam is a fanny too Hearts sympathiser who called out Leanne for not backing Hearts pathetic attempt not to be relegated.

Yes, I would also go with that. 👍

29-09-2020, 09:35 PM
The show can’t be taken seriously any more, (the wheeling out of Leslie Deans the tipping point of their credibility) and I’m tuning In more for laughs at the ridiculousness of it all than for any reasoned and interesting Scottish football debate.
I haven't tuned in to this for years and I doubt if I ever will again.

29-09-2020, 10:07 PM
There is without a doubt. Maybe not regarding the team but most definitely as a club and as a support. There are suggestions on here that the main producer is a Hearts fan but I don't know if that's true or not.

That suggestion must be true. Absolutely no other explanation for what is going on.

29-09-2020, 10:07 PM

I couldn’t care less if the show is pro-Hearts or anti-Hibs. Dunno why anyone would care if there’s a few guys on the radio who prefer Hearts?

29-09-2020, 10:11 PM
I couldn’t care less if the show is pro-Hearts or anti-Hibs. Dunno why anyone would care if there’s a few guys on the radio who prefer Hearts?

Nobody does, but then that's not what is being discussed.

29-09-2020, 10:16 PM
Nobody does, but then that's not what is being discussed.

What’s being discussed then?

29-09-2020, 10:18 PM
What’s being discussed then?

They are attacking Hibs owner and CEO based on a lie. So they are lying about Hibs using the state broadcasting system which is supposedly impartial.

They can be as pro-Hearts as the want but there has to be some balance.

29-09-2020, 10:24 PM
They are attacking Hibs owner and CEO based on a lie. So they are lying about Hibs using the state broadcasting system which is supposedly impartial.

They can be as pro-Hearts as the want but there has to be some balance.

Does there have to be balance? Why, because it’s the BBC?

I don’t think anything Sportsound says or does or thinks, has any real affect on Hibs.

I don’t think it’s worth so many Hibs fans getting upset about it.

29-09-2020, 10:34 PM
Does there have to be balance? Why, because it’s the BBC?

https://www.bbc.co.uk/editorialguidelines/guidelines/impartiality

I don’t think anything Sportsound says or does or thinks, has any real affect on Hibs.

Fair enough.

I don’t think it’s worth so many Hibs fans getting upset about it.

Who is upset?

29-09-2020, 10:42 PM

If you don’t care why bother debating it?

29-09-2020, 10:45 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/editorialguidelines/guidelines/impartiality

Fair enough.

Who is upset?

Maybe someone should write to Points of View, if that’s still a thing, and complain about the impartiality going on.

They’re allowed to have their opinion on Sportsound. Let them have their opinions.

It’s funny, because if next week they had someone on who was pro-Hibs and sung our praises, that would be lapped up on here. Nobody would be claiming that the person should be more impartial with his thoughts/comments.

Lots of people appear to be upset.

29-09-2020, 10:45 PM
Tom English has shown in the stance that he’s taken against Leeann Dempster that he either doesn’t understand the point she was making, which is concerning given his status with the BBC, or that he’s wilfully misrepresenting the situation, which is concerning, given his status with the BBC.

I haven’t listened to the show yet, but i will, was he challenged on his perspective?

29-09-2020, 10:48 PM
If you don’t care why bother debating it?

I care more about Hibs fans looking like they’re getting upset about the likes of Tom English and Craig Levein saying negative things about us, than I care about what they’re saying.

29-09-2020, 10:49 PM
Maybe someone should write to Points of View, if that’s still a thing, and complain about the impartiality going on.

They’re allowed to have their opinion on Sportsound. Let them have their opinions.

It’s funny, because if next week they had someone on who was pro-Hibs and sung our praises, that would be lapped up on here. Nobody would be claiming that the person should be more impartial with his thoughts/comments.

I agree with this in principle, however Tom English has a responsibility to present the situation accurately and form his opinion based on an understanding of what’s being said.

29-09-2020, 10:50 PM

Great, you can carry on not caring now.

29-09-2020, 10:52 PM
I care more about Hibs fans looking like they’re getting upset about the likes of Tom English and Craig Levein saying negative things about us, than I care about what they’re saying.

Tough. Maybe your perception of what looking like getting upset isn't very good. :dunno:

29-09-2020, 10:57 PM
Tough. Maybe your perception of what looking like getting upset isn't very good. :dunno:

29-09-2020, 10:57 PM

I think the positive coverage Hearts have been and are getting on Sportscene is way too high. Now we have Sky TV basically being Rangers TV and giving Hibs a hard time too, folk want some balanced views. If you don’t care then don’t wind folk up by dismissing their views on a Hibs forum which is quite likely to be biased for Hibs. Some of the pro Hearts stuff on the BBC IS getting out of hand and folk are entitled to be irritated by it on here. GGTTH

29-09-2020, 10:58 PM
Great, you can carry on not caring now.

Ok, you can carry on getting upset about a radio show now.

29-09-2020, 11:02 PM
I think the positive coverage Hearts have been and are getting on Sportscene is way too high. Now we have Sky TV basically being Rangers TV and giving Hibs a hard time too, folk want some balanced views. If you don’t care then don’t wind folk up by dismissing their views on a Hibs forum which is quite likely to be biased for Hibs. Some of the pro Hearts stuff on the BBC IS getting out of hand and folk are entitled to be irritated by it on here. GGTTH

I’m not dismissing anyone’s views. I’m having an opinion.

I’m happy to live in a world where Hearts are in the championship getting praise on the BBC. I’d be delighted if they stay down there and get even more praise next season. And again the season after. Fine by me.

29-09-2020, 11:04 PM
Ok, you can carry on getting upset about a radio show now.

Why would you care?

29-09-2020, 11:06 PM
Why would you care?

Don’t get upset...

29-09-2020, 11:06 PM

Bans are daft, imo.Might be a good idea to demand right of reply from Leeann. She'll turn them to jelly.

Sent from my LYA-L09 using Tapatalk

29-09-2020, 11:07 PM

I’m happy to live in a world where Hearts are in the championship getting praise on the BBC. I’d be delighted if they stay down there and get even more praise next season. And again the season after. Fine by me.

Good, but folk have a valid point calling out the Beeb for the now never ending months of the pro Hearts agenda. It obviously doesn’t bother you which is fair enough but it’s clearly irritating a lot of Hibs fans. If they’re irritated then let them be irritated, we’re all climbing the walls just now. And yes I agree it’s not the end of the world. 👍

tonyrougier123
29-09-2020, 11:09 PM
Sports sound is dying as is the red top sports reporting,outdated dinosaurs hence the sensationalism in the content.

There will never be any praise for growing clubs because they favour a Celtic rangers 1-2 in any order and because they are really bored probably favour a sevco win this season.

Fan and club related content is the way ahead for growth in Scotland.

29-09-2020, 11:14 PM
Don’t get upset...

29-09-2020, 11:18 PM

:greengrin: :aok:

30-09-2020, 07:01 AM
I haven't tuned in to this for years and I doubt if I ever will again.

It’s the alternatives though
The Clyde presenter is excellent, but the focus is mainly on west of Scotland teams
There is definitely a Hearts bias on BBC,?I’m just wondering if the BBC documentary on them, has led to them having a partnership😄
Levein on plenty of times, and even commentating on games as well
He did the Motherwell v Rangers game last week with McCann, where was the Motherwell representative amongst these 2

30-09-2020, 07:12 AM
The number of ex hearts players and managers that have regularly appeared on the show in recent times leads me to believe someone in charge must have a hearts connection. Not to mention their incredible stance throughout the summer. The only recent times I tuned in were to laugh at Levein/English when they got slapped down by Donald Findlay.

30-09-2020, 07:15 AM
Just don’t listen to it. It seems to really upset people. Don’t listen to stuff that upsets you. Not good for your health.

The Count
30-09-2020, 07:30 AM
Just don’t listen to it. It seems to really upset people. Don’t listen to stuff that upsets you. Not good for your health.

I did similar stopped listening to Sportsound in July just like i stopped reading the Record online in 2016.Will make no difference but makes me feel better.

30-09-2020, 07:30 AM

I think the point is that constant and ill informed negativity, especially from a platform as significant as the national broadcaster, has a negative affect on every aspect of the club. Potential young fans can and will have their heads turned elsewhere; similarly, potential recruits or signings might have second thoughts, questioning if there is an underlying issue; potential sponsors may be discouraged from getting involved; and lack of positivity can have a significant detrimental affect on employee productivity at all levels. Just some of the reasons this needs addressed. The constant drip of negativity is damaging our club.

30-09-2020, 07:33 AM

I have not listened in months, if I read that there was a more balanced show, with more balanced opinions from the guests, I could be tempted back. As it stands at the moment, I can't see the point in listening to a one sided debate, so listen elsewhere now if at all to sports in Scotland, which is a sad inditement wholly created by the sportsound programme.

30-09-2020, 07:33 AM

i don’t listen to it and I have stopped following English on Twitter because he winds me up. But it angers my sense of natural justice that they get paid by me, through my TV licence money to promote Hearts and criticise Hibs unjustly. If you had asked me 2 years ago, do I think we should retain the TV licence to fund the BBC, I would have said “Yes”. If you asked me today, I’m not so sure, not just because of English and Sportsound, but it’s definitely a contributory factor.

30-09-2020, 07:35 AM
I think the point is that constant and ill informed negativity, especially from a platform as significant as the national broadcaster, has a negative affect on every aspect of the club. Potential young fans can and will have their heads turned elsewhere; similarly, potential recruits or signings might have second thoughts, questioning if there is an underlying issue; potential sponsors may be discouraged from getting involved; and lack of positivity can have a significant detrimental affect on employee productivity at all levels. Just some of the reasons this needs addressed. The constant drip of negativity is damaging our club.

:agree: I couldn’t have put it better myself. Turning a blind eye and deaf ear isn’t always a solution.

30-09-2020, 07:41 AM

I think you give Sportsound far far more influence than it actually has. The Scottish football radio version of Loose Women.

30-09-2020, 08:00 AM
I listened to it a bit during the closedown out of sheer boredom but the droning on about Hearts' 'injustice' became too tedious and English endlessly parroting of Dr Budge's line stifled any interesting discussion.
If it wasn't that it was Richard Gordon waxing lyrical about Aberdeen in the 80s which was equally boring.

30-09-2020, 08:12 AM
Good, but folk have a valid point calling out the Beeb for the now never ending months of the pro Hearts agenda. It obviously doesn’t bother you which is fair enough but it’s clearly irritating a lot of Hibs fans. If they’re irritated then let them be irritated, we’re all climbing the walls just now. And yes I agree it’s not the end of the world. 👍

while also irritating it’s also non stop jamboid propaganda. It serves them well, keeps them in good spirit, sells more season tickets, sells more replica strips. Basically free advertising on a national broadcaster.

Then on the other hand almost doing the opposite to us with the drip drip drip negativity.

30-09-2020, 08:36 AM
I think you give Sportsound far far more influence than it actually has. The Scottish football radio version of Loose Women.

Correct. No one outside of that studio care.

30-09-2020, 08:49 AM

I think you underestimate the reach of the NATIONAL broadcaster, especially at this time, when often the most practical way to stay informed on match day is to tune in to radio. The default for most people is the national broadcaster, the BBC

30-09-2020, 08:51 AM
I think you underestimate the reach of the NATIONAL broadcaster. Especially at this time, when often the most practical way to stay informed on match day is to tune in to radio. The default for most people is the national broadcaster, the BBC

Agree with that a constant negative or positive message will have an impact on how people think it is how propaganda works. Good article with Leeann in the EEN.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/leeann-dempster-defends-hibs-recruitment-and-says-clubs-still-require-material-intervention-2987543

30-09-2020, 08:53 AM
I think you underestimate the reach of the NATIONAL broadcaster, especially at this time, when often the most practical way to stay informed on match day is to tune in to radio. The default for most people is the national broadcaster, the BBC

The default is the internet now. Radio is going the same way as print media. The listening figures for these shows is now less than 100k.

30-09-2020, 08:55 AM
The default is the internet now. Radio is going the same way as print media. The listening figures for these shows is now less than 100k.

Interesting. Where can I find that figure? It would certainly help alleviate the pressure being put on the club.

30-09-2020, 09:00 AM
Interesting. Where can I find that figure? It would certainly help alleviate the pressure being put on the club.

I read it a few weeks back, I will dig it out.

30-09-2020, 09:01 AM
Agree with that a constant negative or positive message will have an impact on how people think it is how propaganda works. Good article with Leeann in the EEN.

https://www.edinburghnews.scotsman.com/sport/football/hibs/leeann-dempster-defends-hibs-recruitment-and-says-clubs-still-require-material-intervention-2987543

I read it and while it was good to hear from Leanne I do think she contradicts herself near the end of the article. We are either in the **** or not. And it appears we want to have cake and eat it. No worries with that but it’s a fine balance.

30-09-2020, 09:09 AM

Yes, you don't listen to it & neither do I, but here we are debating it on a Hibs forum. The influence goes far beyond the primary audience. Lies become facts & they're then regurgitated throughout more influential social media outlets. There's no easy solution but I suspect/hope Hibs will be aware of this imbalance & will be looking for positive ways to address it.

30-09-2020, 09:15 AM
Sports sound is dying as is the red top sports reporting,outdated dinosaurs hence the sensationalism in the content.

There will never be any praise for growing clubs because they favour a Celtic rangers 1-2 in any order and because they are really bored probably favour a sevco win this season.

The show is now irrelevant to many folks sporting week where before it was essential listening.Its is cringeworthy just how poor it is and the fact that a failed manager and a rugby man are constantly on says it all.

30-09-2020, 09:21 AM
A
I was listening to five live yesterday morning and the Nicky Campbell show was just pathetic so maybe it’s not just sportsound. It’s a catch 22 situation. Because of alternatives listeners are leaving in droves so they sensationalise things and the content gets worse. Only watch match of the day can’t say how bad BBC’s tv is getting.

30-09-2020, 09:23 AM

The show is now irrelevant to many folks sporting week where before it was essential listening.Its is cringeworthy just how poor it is and the fact that a failed manager and a rugby man are constantly on says it all.

30-09-2020, 09:41 AM
The show is now irrelevant to many folks sporting week where before it was essential listening.Its is cringeworthy just how poor it is and the fact that a failed manager and a rugby man are constantly on says it all.This is where I am.

A friend whose brother works for the BBC nationally says the admin side of the Scottish part is rammed full of folk of the Hearts and sevco persuasion, institutionalised is the word he used.

He's also of the view that radio programmes like this will just die on the vine but sadly the slack will be picked up by commercial advertisement based radio who really do depend on sensationalism for ratings just to exist.

Maybe the Hearts cabal on sportsound are just hawking their CVs around on air early?

30-09-2020, 10:16 AM
Although it's probably true that the careers of most football managers end in the sack,the BBC seems to specialise in immediately giving them a job as a reward for failure.

30-09-2020, 10:59 AM
I was a regular listener and used to get annoyed by some people’s opinions but it was good debste. I don’t expect impartiality from pundits who are Hearts, Hibs, Rangers or Celtic fans, i prefer their genuine opinion whether I like it not but what I do expect is some form of balace from the program makers.

That balance went a long time ago and this summer’s madness was unlistenable unless you were establishment club supporter with a grudge. It was one sided, bitter and ultimately boring.

I switched off and I have no desire to relisten or check out podcasts. I am a listener lost and if their listener numbers keep going the way they are going they will eventually have to change. Just stop listening.

30-09-2020, 11:28 AM
Clearly an anti Hibs broadcast and why I haven’t listened to it in years. It’s a pathetic, ill informed, drivel laden show that has no place in Scottish football. I think they are deliberately goading us to gain an audience, steer clear folks.

30-09-2020, 11:29 AM

This, in a nutshell.

Same with the Daily Record or any print media. Amazing that folk get so wound up about it.

Worse still is there are folk who listen to it purely to be able to come on here and bump their gums about it.

30-09-2020, 11:33 AM
Although it's probably true that the careers of most football managers end in the sack,the BBC seems to specialise in immediately giving them a job as a reward for failure.

Unless you’re Jim Duffy (works on Clyde) Alex McLeish, Bobby Williamson, Colin Calderwood, Paul Heckingbottom, John Collins or Pat Fenlon.

I’ve left Le God out, but coincidence? John Hughes was the exception.

30-09-2020, 11:37 AM
Unless you’re Jim Duffy (works on Clyde) Alex McLeish, Bobby Williamson, Colin Calderwood, Paul Heckingbottom, John Collins or Pat Fenlon.

John Collins is a regular now as well.

30-09-2020, 11:45 AM

The can't be getting more than £50 a shift. N one is paying decent money to listen to clowns like English, Doddsy, Neilsy & Biscuits etc.

30-09-2020, 11:47 AM

The guys you’ve listed have got jobs, the Hearts rejects don’t.

30-09-2020, 12:01 PM
The weakness of Sportsound is when they go off piste and talk about issues not directly related to the matches.

Recent examples around steps required around Covid-19 and more recently hand ball have been shambolic if left to ex-footballers and sports journalists.

Darryl Broadfoot is a good contributor and provides actual insight around the running of the game. He was the only one in the studio on Monday who understood the current handball rule.

Dr John McLean provided calm and well considered updates a couple of times over the summer.

The petty and ill informed show works, doesn’t always put forward views I agree with, is undoubtedly staged at times but works because they don’t take themselves too seriously and tend to have guests who have a bit more knowledge

30-09-2020, 12:11 PM
This, in a nutshell.

Same with the Daily Record or any print media. Amazing that folk get so wound up about it.

Worse still is there are folk who listen to it purely to be able to come on here and bump their gums about it.

There's a huge difference.

The Daily Record is privately owned. They can publish whatever content they want and if people choose not to read/buy it then that's the owners' problem.

Sportsound is the publicly funded, national broadcaster's flagship sports radio programme. It in no way should show bias for or against any clubs or individuals.

30-09-2020, 12:27 PM
A
I was listening to five live yesterday morning and the Nicky Campbell show was just pathetic so maybe it’s not just sportsound. It’s a catch 22 situation. Because of alternatives listeners are leaving in droves so they sensationalise things and the content gets worse. Only watch match of the day can’t say how bad BBC’s tv is getting.

For a Jambo I actually think Nicky Campbell comes across okay he at least try’s for some balance. Daryl Broadfoot is the only person on Sportsound worth listening to.

30-09-2020, 12:30 PM
There's a huge difference.

The Daily Record is privately owned. They can publish whatever content they want and if people choose not to read/buy it then that's the owners' problem.

Sportsound is the publicly funded, national broadcaster's flagship sports radio programme. It in no way should show bias for or against any clubs or individuals.

I think it's weird that some hold the BBC up as some kind of bastion of integrity. So what, they're publicly funded. We pay the MP's salaries too, and they're a lying bunch of ****s.

30-09-2020, 12:51 PM
I don't know for certain however I suspect that Sportsound struggle to get anyone decent on the shows due to the way they behaved in the summer regarding the Hearts scenario.

I for one don't have any sympathy with them given their pathetic stance with Hearts despite the show needing to show impartiality.

30-09-2020, 12:51 PM
I think it's weird that some hold the BBC up as some kind of bastion of integrity.

They're not but they should be.

So what, they're publicly funded. We pay the MP's salaries too, and they're a lying bunch of ****s.

They are but they shouldn't be.

30-09-2020, 01:04 PM
John Collins is a regular now as well.

Didn’t know that. He’s not exactly Hibs friendly at times mind.

30-09-2020, 01:06 PM
I think it's weird that some hold the BBC up as some kind of bastion of integrity. So what, they're publicly funded. We pay the MP's salaries too, and they're a lying bunch of ****s.

Very true, i cant wait until MPs start being berated on tv and print, could maybe happen soon, what do you think?

30-09-2020, 01:08 PM
I don't know for certain however I suspect that Sportsound struggle to get anyone decent on the shows due to the way they behaved in the summer regarding the Hearts scenario.

I for one don't have any sympathy with them given their pathetic stance with Hearts despite the show needing to show impartiality.

Daryl Broadfoot is on Monday’s and it’s like he takes delight at standing up to the clear bullying and s******ing of Levein and English and tries to mention as much as possible English making everything being about his beloved Hearts. You can feel the seethe at times.

Neilson was on the phone a couple of days ago and Broadfoot asked how is it going clearing up the mess of the last two managers that lead to relegation. They all laughed but could tell the rage of Levein and English was there. 😄👌

w pilton hibby
30-09-2020, 01:47 PM

and, of course the internet is the place to find open-minded, unbiased and knowledgeable contributors.

😉

Numptie
30-09-2020, 02:07 PM
I listen to Off the Ball, but then immediately switch off Sportsound. Tam and Stuart can still be funny and Jason Leitch is often on chatting about the Covid. It's better this season with Motherwell and St Johnstone both playing cr*p.

30-09-2020, 02:40 PM
I listen to Off the Ball, but then immediately switch off Sportsound. Tam and Stuart can still be funny and Jason Leitch is often on chatting about the Covid. It's better this season with Motherwell and St Johnstone both playing cr*p.

Ditto, stopped listening to the heartz podcast approx 3 months ago, as soon as Levain left heartz i said at the time he would end up alongside the bbc heartz team, apparently he has :greengrin as soon as OTB finishes i switch off and watch a game at 3pm watching willie hill for scorelines in other games.

30-09-2020, 03:10 PM

I do exactly the same, I cant imagine that their listener figures have improved since the "Radio Hearts" fiasco in the summer.

Whats amusing though is that they are all clearly bulletproof, as English is at it again - having a pop at Hibs for spending money.

I used to think LD should go on and get him telt, but its actually amusing seeing him have a near aneurysm every time we are in the market for players :agree:.

Hibiza
30-09-2020, 05:46 PM
Another Jamboloids - a - thon. Halliday and Stephen " nasal " Naismith.

RitchieHibs
30-09-2020, 06:32 PM
Another Jamboloids - a - thon. Halliday and Stephen " nasal " Naismith.

Thank goodness I quit it completely a while ago. The shows a nonsense nowadays. Anyone on here still listening to it should try giving it a rest even for a few days. Soon a sense of peaceful detachment sets in, and its good for the blood pressure. Its extremely unlikely I'll listen to it again. It would have to completely overhauled with regular input from a totally different variety of voices than the present incumbents. That's not going to happen anytime soon unfortunately.

Mcpakeisgod
01-10-2020, 08:32 AM
I’ve still to shake the habit . I think if Daryl Broadfoot wasn’t on it I wouldn’t bother. Been giving Clyde super scoreboard a go as well recently . It’s not too bad but the old firm fans who call in tend to be absolute roasters

01-10-2020, 08:52 AM
There was a time when Hibs.net was littered with threads complaining about the written press, with The Daily Record in particular coming in for flak. People used to get really enraged by the content of newspapers but their demise has been accelerated quite dramatically in the last year or so as the numbers actually buying them dwindle by the day, and they now seem to be largely ignored.

Given that we don’t rely as heavily on newspapers or the BBC in a digital age, the old mainstays of media output in Scotland have to up their game to remain relevant while competing with the multitude of outlets for information and news. The newspapers have failed to do so and are in terminal decline, and old staples like BBC Sportsound gradually becoming less relevant.

The move to 7 days a week has done them no favours. While there will always be a demand for live radio coverage of football games, a decent show on a Saturday or Wednesday night is achievable, but when you are stretching it out over 7 days with the quality of “pundits” in their pool it’s just a downward spiral deeper into mediocrity and less relevance.

01-10-2020, 10:30 AM
There was a time when Hibs.net was littered with threads complaining about the written press, with The Daily Record in particular coming in for flak. People used to get really enraged by the content of newspapers but their demise has been accelerated quite dramatically in the last year or so as the numbers actually buying them dwindle by the day, and they now seem to be largely ignored.

Given that we don’t rely as heavily on newspapers or the BBC in a digital age, the old mainstays of media output in Scotland have to up their game to remain relevant while competing with the multitude of outlets for information and news. The newspapers have failed to do so and are in terminal decline, and old staples like BBC Sportsound gradually becoming less relevant.

The move to 7 days a week has done them no favours. While there will always be a demand for live radio coverage of football games, a decent show on a Saturday or Wednesday night is achievable, but when you are stretching it out over 7 days with the quality of “pundits” in their pool it’s just a downward spiral deeper into mediocrity and less relevance.

......also describes the present Jambo status perfectly.

18Craig75
01-10-2020, 10:46 AM
I used to love listening to the midweek show, would help me unwind after a busy day at work.

Now though they’ve really chucked it. The demise over the summer months was quite staggering and I stopped listening during that period. Then tried it again when the nightly shows came back thinking it might’ve improved as there’s actual football to discuss; but it’s actually worse. Levein on last week telling a story about how a referee didn’t like him and was biased against them; everyone else just listening without challenging.

It’s a really poor production and i have now replaced it with podcasts. There’s good Hibs ones only out there, HibsTalk, Long Bangers and down the slope. I haven’t found an ideal one for general Scottish football to be honest. I just can’t take to the guys that do ‘The Terrace’! Any suggestions welcome!

tomf
01-10-2020, 11:03 AM
Their excuse for not providing a more balanced view of the issues in Scottish football over the Summer was that they continually invited people on but couldn't persuade them or they simply declined. What an impartial and responsible broadcaster should have done at that point was not to allow the other side of the argument to be represented in isolation and to provide listeners with an impartial, informed account by their own correspondents.

What we actually got was a seemingly endless stream of Hearts connected pundits providing no insight whatsoever beyond the line that what happened to Hearts was unfair, which it clearly wasn't, rather than unfortunate, which it clearly was, and to have this biased view reinforced ad nauseam by Tom English who provided no insight whatsoever beyond making it abundantly clear that he was biased. What they don't seem to realise is that this is a guaranteed recipe for losing listeners. I listen to Longbangers and Hibs Talk now for a more informed view and one that is genuinely less biased.