View Full Version : Sportsound
Pages :
[
8]
hhibs
13-07-2020, 11:52 AM
Here we go again, you lost the referendum because of the BBC ! aye right. Try looking at Brian Taylor's unbiased reporting ! of his Queen Nicola, it would give you the Boke !
Once again, you are ,well ,you.
13-07-2020, 05:19 PM
BBC have actually put up a positive Hibs related interview with Kevin Nisbet. Shame it's only 40 seconds long as looks to be a cracking interview.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53392864
13-07-2020, 07:09 PM
God I genuinely genuinely miss the likes of Bob Crampsey. The man was a living academic passionate encyclopaedia of the beautiful game. Just saying his name is a reminder of how the world of Scottish football ‘journalism’ is now full of squealing ill informed attention seekers contriving fake debates.
Mrs Pope and myself were oot in the car on Saturday and I chanced upon Off The Ball and the ill- informed (their words) pair were spraffing comically about Hibs recent signings and restructuring. Both, when challenged, loudly proclaimed that they were only reporting what they ‘read in the papers’ and Hibbies (amongst others) were a wee bit too defensive of their club. Puppets the two of them. Cowan has an excuse as he is a tool but Cosgrove calls himself a journalist. I switched off.
BBC have actually put up a positive Hibs related interview with Kevin Nisbet. Shame it's only 40 seconds long as looks to be a cracking interview.
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53392864
Cracking quotes. Certainly can't question attitude there anyway.
Brunswickbill
14-07-2020, 08:43 AM
Mrs Pope and myself were oot in the car on Saturday and I chanced upon Off The Ball and the ill- informed (their words) pair were spraffing comically about Hibs recent signings and restructuring. Both, when challenged, loudly proclaimed that they were only reporting what they ‘read in the papers’ and Hibbies (amongst others) were a wee bit too defensive of their club. Puppets the two of them. Cowan has an excuse as he is a tool but Cosgrove calls himself a journalist. I switched off.
There was a strong aroma of sour grapes from Cosgrove. He said that St Johnstone tried to keep Drey Wright and offered him an enhanced contract but he chose to move to Hibs. The fantasy 70 redundancies allowed him to question what he termed the morality of the situation. I suppose I’d feel bitter in his situation.
Tynie01011973
14-07-2020, 09:17 AM
There was a strong aroma of sour grapes from Cosgrove. He said that St Johnstone tried to keep Drey Wright and offered him an enhanced contract but he chose to move to Hibs. The fantasy 70 redundancies allowed him to question what he termed the morality of the situation. I suppose I’d feel bitter in his situation.
Pretty sure that Drey Wright turned down St Johnstones "ENHANCED CONTRACT' as it involved an 80% cut from his existing terms.
Cosgrove talking rubbish!
14-07-2020, 09:21 AM
I really like Cosgrove. Always spoken very highly of Hibs. Suppose it's a bit of sour grapes but I'll let him off.
14-07-2020, 11:49 AM
I can't listen to Off The Ball for long! I keep thinking: "Has it come to this?" If I want to hear a bunch of bears bantering in a pub, I'll go to the pub. The annoying thing is Cosgrove dumbs himself down, or "doon" as he would put it, for the show.
But the days of Crampsey, Montford etc came before alternative comedy, intrusive tabloid journalism and the general trend of iconoclasm.
By all accounts, Baxter and Law's behaviour off the park would have been emblazoned on our front pages today. Perhaps they got an easy time because they were genius players, unlike the B-listers we have to watch now.
Today’s sportsound podcast was excellent. Lachlan Cameron and Donald Findlay popped Tom English right in his place. English continued to defend his views which is fair but for the first time sportsound had guests not aboard the partick and hearts bandwagon.
14-07-2020, 01:56 PM
Today’s sportsound podcast was excellent. Lachlan Cameron and Donald Findlay popped Tom English right in his place. English continued to defend his views which is fair but for the first time sportsound had guests not aboard the partick and hearts bandwagon.
Again :greengrin
Findlay ripped English apart the last time as well.
14-07-2020, 02:02 PM
I give you Laura Kuenssberg
Everyone thinks Laura Kuenssberg is on the other side to them.
I’m convinced she’s a rabid, horrifically biased Tory, but then I heard a truly horrific Tory moaning about her lack of impartiality against them the other day.
Cammy
14-07-2020, 02:16 PM
A proper debate for once, about time!
14-07-2020, 02:38 PM
This is really beginning to pee me off. That is utter lazinesss from Cosgrove. He of all people should read the story and not the headline. If you read the actual story of hibs signings all three are on wage deferrals and Nisbet has explained he is getting less than he would have got in January. I’m fed up of negative stories about our club which have no basis in fact but are part of an anti hibs narrative. Apparently hertz were interested in wright and Nisbet but no mention of their pay cuts. It’s total hypocrisy and so frustrating that papers can’t be trusted to tell the whole story.
14-07-2020, 02:41 PM
I’m convinced she’s a rabid, horrifically biased Tory, but then I heard a truly horrific Tory moaning about her lack of impartiality against them the other day.
For those who don’t know her dad is a huge Tory and has raised millions for them. Make up your own mind about her but I think that gives you a clue. I actually like her but her bias comes out every now and then. Beth rigby the best as far as I can see.Seems even handed and doesn’t sugar coat things. Imho of course.
14-07-2020, 02:43 PM
I’ll give it a listen. I hope it’s as fair as you say.
This is really beginning to pee me off. That is utter lazinesss from Cosgrove. He of all people should read the story and not the headline. If you read the actual story of hibs signings all three are on wage deferrals and Nisbet has explained he is getting less than he would have got in January. I’m fed up of negative stories about our club which have no basis in fact but are part of an anti hibs narrative. Apparently hertz were interested in wright and Nisbet but no mention of their pay cuts. It’s total hypocrisy and so frustrating that papers can’t be trusted to tell the whole story.
For some reason Hibs are the target across (some of?) the media, where our actions are constantly criticised and called out, whilst other clubs doing the same or more are ignored
14-07-2020, 03:04 PM
Again :greengrin
Findlay ripped English apart the last time as well.
Shame the podcasts disappear after so many days, that was a classic. Will check today's out later before I go to bed
14-07-2020, 03:07 PM
For some reason Hibs are the target across (some of?) the media, where our actions are constantly criticised and called out, whilst other clubs doing the same or more are ignored
Rod Petrie and Tom Farmer wouldn’t give the media the time of day or feed them stories.In return journalists never miss a chance to have a dig.
She's a Tory BBC mouthpiece who was caught out recently saying negative things about Sturgeon where she had to back track and apologise, she led a one woman BBC campaign against Independence, shockingly biased.
14-07-2020, 03:49 PM
She's a Tory BBC mouthpiece who was caught out recently saying negative things about Sturgeon where she had to back track and apologise, she led a one woman BBC campaign against Independence, shockingly biased.
It was of course Sarah Smith who did what you say but never mind.She wasn’t in her present job in 2014 but never mind again.Who cares about facts.
Dammit your quick beat me to it.
14-07-2020, 03:53 PM
Dammit your quick beat me to it.
I was always greased lightning over 3 feet.
Looks as if we're of an age, mature, over 3 feet now that is fast, I'd still be listening for the starters gun 😊
14-07-2020, 05:45 PM
Superscoreboard is comedy gold tonight.
'It's all just totally unfair' 😂 😂
14-07-2020, 06:33 PM
Sportsound was decent, Donald Findlay and Lachlan Cameron were really clear, they explained the facts, the reasons for the vote to end the season, why they didn’t want reconstruction.
It was a complete take down off Tom English and the ridiculous narrative that has been repeated over the last couple of months.
Well worth a listen.
Switched over at 6 & it was music. I assume it starts later than that
14-07-2020, 06:46 PM
It’s a podcast, you can listen via the below
https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08kqnk5
Fuzzywuzzy
14-07-2020, 06:50 PM
Get It On. Good programme with some great tunes
14-07-2020, 07:05 PM
Are you maybe mistaking her for Sarah Smith? It was Smith who said something about Sturgeon a couple of months back which raised the FM's hackles but I can't actually recall what it was. Also, Kuenssberg didn't become the BBC political editor until about a year after the independence referendum. I don't recall Sarah Smith leading a BBC campaign against independence either mind you.
14-07-2020, 07:07 PM
Are you maybe mistaking her for Sarah Smith? It was Smith who said something about Sturgeon a couple of months back which raised the FM's hackles but I can't actually recall what it was. Also, Kuenssberg didn't become the BBC political editor until about a year after the independence referendum. I don't recall Sarah Smith leading a BBC campaign against independence either mind you.
She said Sturgeon was enjoying being in charge in a pandemic.
Yes you're correct, got them mixed up, Kuenssberg got into bother with her fairly biased reporting during the 2017 election and recently in the 2019 one.
Rumble de Thump
14-07-2020, 07:37 PM
Let's keep the discussion to Sportsound.:flag:
Saturday Boy
14-07-2020, 07:43 PM
Get It On. Good programme with some great tunes
Get it on? This place is obsessed with Mark Bolan. I can’t type T-Rex without thinking about trex, everybody’s favourite dripping 😳
SuperAllyMcleod
14-07-2020, 07:58 PM
I really like Cosgrove. Always spoken very highly of Hibs. Suppose it's a bit of sour grapes but I'll let him off.
I’m also a fan of Stuart Cosgrove and he does have a soft spot for the Hibs and has said so on many occasions. In fact they played a live version of Sunshine on Leith and (once again) said there is no finer football anthem.
They are the first to admit that they are ‘petty and ill informed’ but what they will do is read out criticism and corrections when they are sent in to the show. So why not moan to them directly if you feel they are giving Hibs a rough time.
I certainly don’t think they have been too hard on Hibs and even were calling on LD to phone in and set the record straight (obviously she can’t for legal reasons but they probably don’t know that).
18Craig75
14-07-2020, 08:08 PM
I’m also a fan of Stuart Cosgrove and he does have a soft spot for the Hibs and has said so on many occasions. In fact they played a live version of Sunshine on Leith and (once again) said there is no finer football anthem.
They are the first to admit that they are ‘petty and ill informed’ but what they will do is read out criticism and corrections when they are sent in to the show. So why not moan to them directly if you feel they are giving Hibs a rough time.
I certainly don’t think they have been too hard on Hibs and even were calling on LD to phone in and set the record straight (obviously she can’t for legal reasons but they probably don’t know that).
Im a big fan of OTB - only used to half listen but during lockdown it’s been essential listening for me!
As you say I find the guys pretty honest and sincere - needs to be taken as it’s intended, a bit of light hearted radio.
14-07-2020, 08:15 PM
I thought that Stuart Cosgrove mentioned the enhanced contract and said he understood why he could be accused of hypocrisy.
I don’t agree with his narrow view on the signing but given the reasonable opinions he normally has it’s no great issue.
14-07-2020, 08:28 PM
Get it on? This place is obsessed with Mark Bolan. I can’t type T-Rex without thinking about trex, everybody’s favourite dripping ��
You mean Marc Bolan. This place is petty and informed and always on the ball :wink:
Saturday Boy
14-07-2020, 08:32 PM
You mean Marc Bolan. This place is petty and informed and always on the ball :wink:
Spot on. And trex was lard. It’s an age thing.
14-07-2020, 08:48 PM
Her Grandad used to be my GP back in the 70s
Practice in Crewe Road North
Looking at her family tree would not suggest a socialist background
Family of Diplomats ,Judges and Lords.
14-07-2020, 08:50 PM
Im a big fan of OTB - only used to half listen but during lockdown it’s been essential listening for me!
As you say I find the guys pretty honest and sincere - needs to be taken as it’s intended, a bit of light hearted radio.
Same here, i really like it and they’re fair to give every club the treatment.
14-07-2020, 09:05 PM
I thought that Stuart Cosgrove mentioned the enhanced contract and said he understood why he could be accused of hypocrisy.
I don’t agree with his narrow view on the signing but given the reasonable opinions he normally has it’s no great issue.
They have also been uncritical of the reconstruction proposals, have whined on about playing the league to a finish, did not see how Anderson's donations to clubs was being used by Budge.
14-07-2020, 09:30 PM
Her Grandad used to be my GP back in the 70s
Practice in Crewe Road North
Looking at her family tree would not suggest a socialist background
Family of Diplomats ,Judges and Lords.
Neither would George Monbiot's family background.
15-07-2020, 09:51 AM
They have also been uncritical of the reconstruction proposals, have whined on about playing the league to a finish, did not see how Anderson's donations to clubs was being used by Budge.Cowan has backed it SG generally nods but doesn't have the same opinion.
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
15-07-2020, 05:38 PM
Let’s keep to the football, please. Politics go on another forum.
Smiggy 7-0
15-07-2020, 07:25 PM
Let's keep the discussion to Sportsound.:flag:
Exactly, this thread is becoming like the jambos legal challenge one, discuss politics elsewhere please.
15-07-2020, 07:53 PM
So, Kuenssberg, funny name that innit.
15-07-2020, 08:30 PM
Started listening to today’s podcast, then McCann came on and started going on about Hearts/Thistle, SFA charge from yesterday
Called it a day after that.
Come on BBC, we want a balanced view on your airwaves
15-07-2020, 08:44 PM
Started listening to today’s podcast, then McCann came on and started going on about Hearts/Thistle, SFA charge from yesterday
Was goingto listen tonight Billy but I'll take your word it was a repeat of previous one sided rubbish!
McCann is such a poor pundit. Ill informed and just a bit dull!
15-07-2020, 08:52 PM
Cowan has backed it SG generally nods but doesn't have the same opinion.
SC only differs now on playing to end of season as sees it is logistically impossible. He had to retract comments on Anderson and like the rest of the BBC offered no critique on reconstruction. Been disappointed in him.
15-07-2020, 08:55 PM
Why do the BBC actively seek the views of EBT recipients on sporting matters.
18Craig75
15-07-2020, 08:55 PM
Once you got past McCans now often repeated gripes about “sporting chance” it was actually quite a good listen. Didn’t think it would be but De Boer had some good stories.
Spot on. And trex was lard. It’s an age thing.
:not worth I’m of that certain age
15-07-2020, 10:07 PM
:not worth I’m of that certain age
Me too, lard and T. Rex!
16-07-2020, 07:11 AM
Me too, lard and T. Rex!Let’s keep to the football, please. Food and popular music go on another forum.
16-07-2020, 09:58 AM
I think if it was any other club than Hibs I'd probably have been quick to jump on the "how can they pay £250k for a player but be making coaches redundant" bandwagon if I'm being honest, so I don't hold it against him. I get why we're doing it and it's not like the money from the player would have saved the jobs as by the very definition of redundancy, they don't exist any longer, but it is still difficult to see any company letting folk go and spending cash.
16-07-2020, 10:00 AM
I think if it was any other club than Hibs I'd probably have been quick to jump on the "how can they pay £250k for a player but be making coaches redundant" bandwagon if I'm being honest, so I don't hold it against him. I get why we're doing it and it's not like the money from the player would have saved the jobs as by the very definition of redundancy, they don't exist any longer, but it is still difficult to see any company letting folk go and spending cash.
Yeah absolutely. My gripe is with Hearts fans having a pop at us yet they spent a "six figure sum" on their new manager and also matched our bid for Nisbet. It was the player that knocked them back.
16-07-2020, 11:33 AM
Yeah absolutely. My gripe is with Hearts fans having a pop at us yet they spent a "six figure sum" on their new manager and also matched our bid for Nisbet. It was the player that knocked them back.Think they should be added to the arbitration. Who contacted Dunfermline about Nisbet and when. We need to know.. The unwashed are happy RNs denied it so it must be true.
Alan62
16-07-2020, 05:09 PM
Just caught up with the latest edition of The Scottish Football Podcast. Man, they invite some dumb asses on that show. Yesterday, we had Neil McCann and Ronald de Boer waxing lyrical about the olden days as if the EBTs never happened while pontificating about reconstruction without putting forward a credible alternative. Today it was the turn of Tony Fitzpatrick who, perhaps, makes up for his intellectual failings with a bucketload of enthusiasm.
With the exception of Donald Findlay in recent times, virtually to a man, every guest has said they'd do the same as Hearts and Partick Thistle are doing in 'fighting' to save their position in the game. Personally, I think this position is entirely ridiculous. Effectively, the party line at Sportsound is that everybody would do anything they could to fight their corner - including, apparently, endorsing breaking the rules and ignoring the law.
Hearts' (and Partick Thistle's) position on all of this is no more than a refusal to accept the rules that they'd signed up to as a member of the club. That's pretty much the equivalent of going to court over a late disputed goal that looked marginally offside to the boys on the Hearts' bench. It's a nonsense. All Lord Clark did in his deliberations was point out that Hearts hadn't followed the correct procedure. All that money spent and it was there for everyone to see.
While everyone has a degree of sympathy for any club that lost out in the methodology selected to end the season, the fact remains that all that's happened is that the rules have been applied. If the rules aren't well written, they can be rewritten for the future. But they can't be rewritten for the past.
Now, Sportsound, please invite someone on who can explain this in words of one syllable. It really isn't all that difficult.
16-07-2020, 08:22 PM
It’s the “only reporting what I read in the papers” bit that they broadcast out loud that I’m expressing my discontent at. No research, no journalism involved. Sweetie-wifery followed by a big back slapping lads guffaw. ****ing dreadful.
16-07-2020, 08:58 PM
Just caught up with the latest edition of The Scottish Football Podcast. Man, they invite some dumb asses on that show. Yesterday, we had Neil McCann and Ronald de Boer waxing lyrical about the olden days as if the EBTs never happened while pontificating about reconstruction without putting forward a credible alternative. Today it was the turn of Tony Fitzpatrick who, perhaps, makes up for his intellectual failings with a bucketload of enthusiasm.
With the exception of Donald Findlay in recent times, virtually to a man, every guest has said they'd do the same as Hearts and Partick Thistle are doing in 'fighting' to save their position in the game. Personally, I think this position is entirely ridiculous. Effectively, the party line at Sportsound is that everybody would do anything they could to fight their corner - including, apparently, endorsing breaking the rules and ignoring the law.
Hearts' (and Partick Thistle's) position on all of this is no more than a refusal to accept the rules that they'd signed up to as a member of the club. That's pretty much the equivalent of going to court over a late disputed goal that looked marginally offside to the boys on the Hearts' bench. It's a nonsense. All Lord Clark did in his deliberations was point out that Hearts hadn't followed the correct procedure. All that money spent and it was there for everyone to see.
While everyone has a degree of sympathy for any club that lost out in the methodology selected to end the season, the fact remains that all that's happened is that the rules have been applied. If the rules aren't well written, they can be rewritten for the future. But they can't be rewritten for the past.
Now, Sportsound, please invite someone on who can explain this in words of one syllable. It really isn't all that difficult.
Fantastic summary, someone said on here previously that the producer of Sportsound was a Hearts fan which to be honest would explain everything. Absolutely shameful editorial direction.
17-07-2020, 07:26 PM
Finally listened to the Donald Finlay episode and it was utterly refreshing to hear him and the Ayr chairman explain what happened when the season ended and their reasoning. Once Tom English realised he’d met his match all he could say is that reconstruction should have happened. It was then explained to him that that’s it was not credible to reconstruct after a season is finished. Reconstruction was only possible if teams know what they are playing towards. English was like a broken record and couldn’t either understand or want to hear reality. Pity it seems a total one off balanced show unfortunately.
Brunswickbill
18-07-2020, 12:24 AM
My only criticism would be that when TE said Partick were 1 point behind with 9 games to go, no one corrected him.
There were 9 games to go until the decision to call the league was ratified, then there were 0 games to go, then the clubs were relegated.
It has been said, no clubs deserves to be relegated from any league following the covid19 pandemic. That right has to be earned and both Hearts and Partick Thistle earned that right.
Tom English went on about Partick Thistle being a point behind and a game in hand, but what he failed to say was that the final league placings were based on average points per game, so the game in hand issue is irrelevant as it would have been accounted for by the method used to determine the places. He also said that the resolution to call the votes was decided on 1 vote, again he fails to say that overall the resolution was approved by 81% of the clubs. He also fails to say that he regularly slags off the voting system that allowed Dundee FC to have the deciding vote but is happy to use the voting system to make his case about the Dundee vote. He clearly has a visceral hatred for Doncaster and constantly tried to get Cameron and Findlay to criticise him, trying to put words in their mouths. He also said that every club in Hearts and Partick's situation would do the same failing to recognise that Stranraer haven't participated in the court case. After going on about the injustice to Hearts and Partick he said,that if they are successful and Dundee Utd, Raith and Cove are not promoted, wait till you see what I'll write if that happens. English has taken a one sided, biased negative position on SPFL events and clearly warps the truth to suit his enedeavours to sow dissent and slag off Scottish football generally and the SPFL in particular. He is BBC Scotland's Chief Sports Writer and I would expect a person in that position to make fair critiscism but also to have something positive to say. A person in his position should have contacts in all the clubs and be able to gve an indication of how clubs are thinking and likley to vote. But he hasn't been doing his job because he hasn't had a clue about how the various SPFL votes were going to go. The only club that he seems to have contact with is Hearts. I used to think he was a reasonable voice but now I can't stand listening to his whining. He must be driving listeners away. And don't start me on McCann, Preston and Dodds
18-07-2020, 12:34 AM
Tom English went on about Partick Thistle being a point behind and a game in hand, but what he failed to say was that the final league placings were based on average points per game, so the game in hand issue is irrelevant as it would have been accounted for by the method used to determine the places. He also said that the resolution to call the votes was decided on 1 vote, again he fails to say that overall the resolution was approved by 81% of the clubs. He also fails to say that he regularly slags off the voting system that allowed Dundee FC to have the deciding vote but is happy to use the voting system to make his case about the Dundee vote. He clearly has a visceral hatred for Doncaster and constantly tried to get Cameron and Findlay to criticise him, trying to put words in their mouths. He also said that every club in Hearts and Partick's situation would do the same failing to recognise that Stranraer haven't participated in the court case. After going on about the injustice to Hearts and Partick he said,that if they are successful and Dundee Utd, Raith and Cove are not promoted, wait till you see what I'll write if that happens. English has taken a one sided, biased negative position on SPFL events and clearly warps the truth to suit his enedeavours to sow dissent and slag off Scottish football generally and the SPFL in particular. He is BBC Scotland's Chief Sports Writer and I would expect a person in that position to make fair critiscism but also to have something positive to say. A person in his position should have contacts in all the clubs and be able to gve an indication of how clubs are thinking and likley to vote. But he hasn't been doing his job because he hasn't had a clue about how the various SPFL votes were going to go. The only club that he seems to have contact with is Hearts. I used to think he was a reasonable voice but now I can't stand listening to his whining. He must be driving listeners away. And don't start me on McCann, Preston and Dodds
Agree. Not listened to Sportsound since games stopped. And never will again.
18-07-2020, 10:00 AM
Tom English went on about Partick Thistle being a point behind ...Great post, puts into words a lot of what I've been thinking. Thank you.
18-07-2020, 10:30 AM
Great post, puts into words a lot of what I've been thinking. Thank you.
Totally agree with this. Great post and really points out the hypocrisy shown by English.
KingPat4
18-07-2020, 10:56 AM
Agree. Not listened to Sportsound since games stopped. And never will again.
Same here. I stopped listening years ago, terrible programme.
KingPat4
18-07-2020, 11:04 AM
I spoke to a former Hibs player and Radio Scotland pundit last week. He told me he quit because he refused to do the open all mics nonesense. He did not name anyone in particular, but also said he was fed up working with people who could not string two words together.
18-07-2020, 05:35 PM
I spoke to a former Hibs player and Radio Scotland pundit last week. He told me he quit because he refused to do the open all mics nonesense. He did not name anyone in particular, but also said he was fed up working with people who could not string two words together.
Who? 🤔
18-07-2020, 05:36 PM
Who? [emoji848]
I would assume Patterson?
18-07-2020, 05:37 PM
I would assume Patterson?
It’s Paterson Ozy
18-07-2020, 05:45 PM
It’s Paterson Ozy
Not Tambo then? 😁
22-07-2020, 10:02 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08lhj6s
Stubbsy on sportsound. Certainly doesnt miss st.mirren and tony Fitzpatrick.
Also i see theyve got a new panel for their new saturday highlights. Hopefully got rid of Thompson.
22-07-2020, 11:07 AM
Also i see theyve got a new panel for their new saturday highlights. Hopefully got rid of Thompson.
Got rid? He’s the anchor for the Sunday show.
22-07-2020, 11:50 AM
He’s now hosting the Sunday show. Great..
22-07-2020, 11:57 AM
Got rid? He’s the anchor for the Sunday show.
He’s now hosting the Sunday show. Great..
Not bad for someone who publicly admitted to being not too interested in football and rarely ever going to games.
22-07-2020, 01:15 PM
Stubbs asked if Tony had a "Magic Hat" :tee hee::tee hee::rotflmao:
23-07-2020, 12:18 PM
Might listen to today’s it features Kevin Harper calling out Medals McKay over being racist to him.
Neil McCann talking about snooker. More interesting than normal.
Fuzzywuzzy
25-07-2020, 02:42 PM
McLaughlin seemed to think it was going in hearts/thistles favour. I'm away to find some salt....
25-07-2020, 02:53 PM
Surprisingly little about the relegation of hearts. Must have run out of things to complain about.
They reckon the outcome must be announced by Wednesday to "allow" premiership to be able to start, even if hearts and Dundee Utd swap places 🙄🤣
Alan62
25-07-2020, 03:08 PM
While we can all sympathise with the Sportsound chaps having to fill a 3 hour show when there's no actual games being played, they don't half talk some nonsense. Brian McLaughlin's report had absolutely nothing in it. All speculation. No sense of what's actually happening and no sense of what may happen if the arbitration rules one way or another. You'd have thought if they were going for sensationalist headlines then they could have at least have speculated on the notion that a Hearts and Partick victory would also rule out things like the awarding of the title to Celtic, the allocation of European places and the demotion of Hibernian from 6th to 7th place. After all, if the process was faulty for Hearts and Partick, it was equally faulty for everything else it resolved.
25-07-2020, 03:32 PM
While we can all sympathise with the Sportsound chaps having to fill a 3 hour show when there's no actual games being played, they don't half talk some nonsense. Brian McLaughlin's report had absolutely nothing in it. All speculation. No sense of what's actually happening and no sense of what may happen if the arbitration rules one way or another. You'd have thought if they were going for sensationalist headlines then they could have at least have speculated on the notion that a Hearts and Partick victory would also rule out things like the awarding of the title to Celtic, the allocation of European places and the demotion of Hibernian from 6th to 7th place. After all, if the process was faulty for Hearts and Partick, it was equally faulty for everything else it resolved.
But again, Hearts did not ask for those other things so they aren’t possible outcomes.
Hearts are only asking for promotion and relegation to be stopped or to be compensated.
Alan62
25-07-2020, 03:36 PM
Fair enough. If Hearts win, we’ll just have to ask for an arbitration for reinstatement to 6th place citing the legal precedent.
25-07-2020, 03:39 PM
Fair enough. If Hearts win, we’ll just have to ask for an arbitration for reinstatement to 6th place citing the legal precedent.
We voted for that outcome 😅
I know it's tongue in cheek but there is no chance hibs would do that not even sure they could
Alan62
25-07-2020, 03:42 PM
We would say we voted for it on the assumption it was legal but had subsequently discovered it was not. [emoji2957]
25-07-2020, 03:48 PM
McLaughlin seemed to think it was going in hearts/thistles favour. I'm away to find some salt....
Sportsound were also convinced that’s league reconstruction was strongly supported
16/40 did in the end
I have doubts over the inside knowledge of these supposed journalists
Clarence
25-07-2020, 03:54 PM
Sportsound were also convinced that’s league reconstruction was strongly supported
16/40 did in the end
I have doubts over the inside knowledge of these supposed journalists
It’s in their interest to make out as one side has it and then flip it round so that people keep listening. Bit like a soap opera really.
How would he know that? Must just be thinking of the wishful kind.
Hibiza
25-07-2020, 04:11 PM
Fantastic
Tully
25-07-2020, 04:11 PM
Listened to it mostly all waffle, one thing is certain the clowns on sportsound have no clue what is happening
25-07-2020, 04:36 PM
I wasn’t paying too much attention but I thought I caught McCann talking about the upcoming SC semi final. He said something along the lines of the Jambos having mixed feelings about the game and asking themselves ‘why should we co-operate with the SFA after what they’ve done to Hearts?’. Bitter little man. As I said, I didn’t really hear exactly what he said but feel free to correct me.
‘why should we co-operate with the SFA after what they’ve done to Hearts?’
I hope they take that seriously and don't co-operate with the SFA. See how long they last as a football club if they take that stance.
25-07-2020, 05:08 PM
I hope they take that seriously and don't co-operate with the SFA. See how long they last as a football club if they take that stance.
They’ll be dealt with the SFA at the disciplinary meeting on August
No idea what sanctions they can impose on them and Partick
25-07-2020, 06:16 PM
I wasn’t paying too much attention but I thought I caught McCann talking about the upcoming SC semi final. He said something along the lines of the Jambos having mixed feelings about the game and asking themselves ‘why should we co-operate with the SFA after what they’ve done to Hearts?’. Bitter little man. As I said, I didn’t really hear exactly what he said but feel free to correct me.He was talking about fans contacting him and stating this. He wasnt endorsing. It was about then that there were a few comments around how the fans perceived they'd been treated by Scottish football when Richard Gordon weighed in with "hadnt they noticed their team were mince all season"
Sent from my SM-T580 using Tapatalk
25-07-2020, 08:07 PM
They’ll be dealt with the SFA at the disciplinary meeting on August
No idea what sanctions they can impose on them and Partick
Any club not co-operating with their Association are surely doomed. Doesn’t matter if it’s the nations wealthiest club or its poorest pub side.
Brian McLaughlin is fat wind bag hearts prick.
He loves to try and build up the drama when in reality since last weekends update nothing has changed other than they are closer to a verdict.
He then say “it wouldn’t surprise me in it went back to Lord Clark” this being Hearts supporters new ‘friend’ who will fight all the bad guys. He has no basis for that.
He then says it’s his opinion the league won’t start on Saturday if Hearts are reinstated. Again absolute bullocks. Is he seriously telling us ALL the games will be postponed. Eh no. In the unlikely event this outcome comes to pass then games like ours will go ahead. Any games Dundee United are playing will be postponed and then Hearts will then need to catch up on games once they bring players back from furlough (!) and are fit. They will be playing catch up but this won’t stop other games. Even if they magic up a 14 team league (ICT pricks) it doesn’t stop under any circumstances Hibs v Killie going ahead. How the Sportsound idiots don’t get this is beyond me. I worked it out in 5 mins.
And finally dear Brian, bless him, suggest if the loveable rouges of Midlothian are reinstated the the SPFL will magic up a reconstruction. How does he know that? Why wouldn’t they just go ahead with 12 or 13 rather than reward ICT pricks and force a 14 with another team 2 months away from being ready.
A blustering ignorant jambo REMOVED is Brian. I am looking forward to his bitter tears when the result we all know is coming gets announced.
I wasn’t paying too much attention but I thought I caught McCann talking about the upcoming SC semi final. He said something along the lines of the Jambos having mixed feelings about the game and asking themselves ‘why should we co-operate with the SFA after what they’ve done to Hearts?’. Bitter little man. As I said, I didn’t really hear exactly what he said but feel free to correct me.
What did the SFA do to hearts ?
26-07-2020, 07:32 AM
Brian McLaughlin is fat wind bag hearts prick.
He loves to try and build up the drama when in reality since last weekends update nothing has changed other than they are closer to a verdict.
He then say “it wouldn’t surprise me in it went back to Lord Clark” this being Hearts supporters new ‘friend’ who will fight all the bad guys. He has no basis for that.
He then says it’s his opinion the league won’t start on Saturday if Hearts are reinstated. Again absolute bullocks. Is he seriously telling us ALL the games will be postponed. Eh no. In the unlikely event this outcome comes to pass then games like ours will go ahead. Any games Dundee United are playing will be postponed and then Hearts will then need to catch up on games once they bring players back from furlough (!) and are fit. They will be playing catch up but this won’t stop other games. Even if they magic up a 14 team league (ICT pricks) it doesn’t stop under any circumstances Hibs v Killie going ahead. How the Sportsound idiots don’t get this is beyond me. I worked it out in 5 mins.
And finally dear Brian, bless him, suggest if the loveable rouges of Midlothian are reinstated the the SPFL will magic up a reconstruction. How does he know that? Why wouldn’t they just go ahead with 12 or 13 rather than reward ICT pricks and force a 14 with another team 2 months away from being ready.
A blustering ignorant jambo REMOVED is Brian. I am looking forward to his bitter tears when the result we all know is coming gets announced.
One Arbitration decision is finally released The Authorities need to start not allowing this narrative to continue and Put Budge and her sympathisers back in Their Box
They have had far too much air time and exposure with very little coming back
26-07-2020, 07:46 AM
What did the SFA do to hearts ?
I think they asked them to explain their reasons for breaking the rules they had signed up to.
Outrageous behaviour if you have a Yam mindset.
28-07-2020, 02:58 PM
Seemingly Bill Clark, Raith Chairman and Craig Levein fall out today, re the arbitration decision😄
https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08m1jlp
derek0762
28-07-2020, 03:30 PM
Seemingly Bill Clark, Raith Chairman and Craig Levein fall out today, re the arbitration decision😄
https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08m1jlp
It wasn't really a fall out as such, it was just Levein being a twat as usual and threatening Raith with a boycott of Hertz fans, the same as he threatened Cowdenbeath with no chance of them now getting Hertz players on loan after all this! but Donald Findlay ripped him a new one on that occasion.
28-07-2020, 03:39 PM
It wasn't really a fall out as such, it was just Levein being a twat as usual and threatening Raith with a boycott of Hertz fans, the same as he threatened Cowdenbeath with no chance of them now getting Hertz players on loan after all this! but Donald Findlay ripped him a new one on that occasion.
Listening now. Tom English still trying to defend his position. Raith chairman very good in the first half
28-07-2020, 03:45 PM
I wouldn't say it was a threat from Levein. That might have at least made his appearance on the podcast interesting. As it was all his utterances were just variations on 'It's no fair.'
derek0762
28-07-2020, 03:52 PM
I wouldn't say it was a threat from Levein. That might have at least made his appearance on the podcast interesting. As it was all his utterances were just variations on 'It's no fair.'
I definitely thought I heard him say there won't be any Hertz fans at Starks Park next season, maybe I misheard but he did say to Donald Findlay a few weeks ago that they probably won't now get any Hertz players on loan, and DF called it petty and childish 🤔
28-07-2020, 03:55 PM
Why’s he being allowed the platform to share these views? The boys a complete tosser man.
G15 Hibs
28-07-2020, 03:55 PM
I definitely thought I heard him say there won't be any Hertz fans at Starks Park next season, maybe I misheard but he did say to Donald Findlay a few weeks ago that they probably won't now get any Hertz players on loan, and DF called it petty and childish 🤔
He spoke about fans saying they would boycott, but that he hoped that wouldn't be the case.
derek0762
28-07-2020, 03:59 PM
Why’s he being allowed the platform to share these views? The boys a complete tosser man.
Totally agree the BBC is supposed to be impartial, but they keep allowing these two CL & TE to talk over other guest's all the time especially TE.
derek0762
28-07-2020, 04:01 PM
He spoke about fans saying they would boycott, but that he hoped that wouldn't be the case.
I though it was the Raith chairman that said he hoped it wouldn't come to that, must have misheard i was listening on headphones while walking so it wasn't a great signal.
h18eeynick
28-07-2020, 04:16 PM
Bill Clark of Raith said that the 3 arbitors meet again in 2 weeks time to decide on costs and cost allocation. Tom English was wound up by fact that Clark has a copy of all the documents due to their inclusion in the arbitration and English was trying his best to get Clark to give him a copy . Nothing mentioned at all on the show about the SFA Notice of Complaint
Creamofthegods
28-07-2020, 04:24 PM
Tom English has dug himself in to a massive hole on this and his only plan now seems to be to keep digging. He has completely lost any sense of perspective. A shame as I thought his analysis prior to this carry on was OK, and certainly a bit better than the standard tabloid guff we get.
Levein’s lack of self awareness is amazing really. If any individual is responsible for Hertz plight it is him. The whole debacle is a massive let off for him, focus is on the process and the arbitration rather than his utterly dismal record over the last season and a half. The sporstound panel should be ripping into him on that rather than cosying up.
28-07-2020, 04:24 PM
I’d love to know why they’re dedicating so much time to a lower division club
Top flight football kicks off this week, surely this is a bigger talking point
The hearts/relegation/reconstruction/court case/arbitration failure has been done to death
Move on
28-07-2020, 04:27 PM
Tom English has dug himself in to a massive hole on this and his only plan now seems to be to keep digging. He has completely lost any sense of perspective. A shame as I thought his analysis prior to this carry on was OK, and certainly a bit better than the standard tabloid guff we get.
Levein’s lack of self awareness is amazing really. If any individual is responsible for Hertz plight it is him. The whole debacle is a massive let off for him, focus is on the process and the arbitration rather than his utterly dismal record over the last season and a half. The sporstound panel should be ripping into him on that rather than cosying up.
One of the longest interviews for a gig whilst on-air ever. #announceHeartsHeadOfCommunications.
28-07-2020, 04:33 PM
Mind they suspended Mikey Stewart for his views on Jim Traynor (supposedly because he had no right of reply), how does this sit with Tom English destroying Doncaster’s character. I’m certainly not Doncaster’s biggest fan and reckon we should have better for our money up here, more innovation and proper sponsorship deals, however I feel he has handles this whole scenario really well.
derek0762
One of the longest interviews for a gig whilst on-air ever. #announceHeartsHeadOfCommunications.
He reminds me more & more each week of that other bbc pundit Charlie Mann when he was Romanovs spokesman! Mr Romanov this Mr romanov that, never once would have had a bad word said against the money launderer who was using Hertz & Scottish football as a massive washing machine!
I actually felt today’s show was more balanced and felt English was more conciliatory. He has a long way to climb down from and felt he made a bit of a start. The Raith guy was good.
28-07-2020, 04:35 PM
Bill Clark of Raith said that the 3 arbitors meet again in 2 weeks time to decide on costs and cost allocation. Tom English was wound up by fact that Clark has a copy of all the documents due to their inclusion in the arbitration and English was trying his best to get Clark to give him a copy . Nothing mentioned at all on the show about the SFA Notice of Complaint
I don’t think English was wound up, his remark to Clark about him giving him the documents was jocular. English did say that he thought the statements from Hearts and Partick were unhelpful as we try to move forward. He also stuck to his guns when it came to calling for the way our game is run needing drastically overhauled. That’s something a lot of us were calling for before this whole saga kicked off .
He’s still a dick though. :greengrin
Greenfly
28-07-2020, 04:47 PM
Tom English was trying to moderate his position a wee bit - several points of agreement, now's not the time for an inquisition etc. but he was offered a couple of chances to back down and one to apologise and he refused to do so. He must know he's made a tit of himself but he's not got the guts to say so - expect more covering of tracks. He was wrong - legally and in every other sense - and should have the courage to admit misjudgement at least.
I thought it was interesting that Levein said "I was speaking about this with Ann last week" - gone from Tynecastle? ... aye, right!
Levein just sounded like a spoiled wee boy who's not got the sweetie he wanted.
Topographic Hibby
28-07-2020, 05:02 PM
I thought it was interesting that Levein said "I was speaking about this with Ann last week" - gone from Tynecastle? ... aye, right!
He still has influence at Tynecastle…??
Brilliant.....!!!! :thumbsup:
As mention was made of fans forums on the Sportsound podcast today there is an outside chance that our comments may actually be read and acknowledged. So here’s my tu’pence worth...
Sportsound: Every other club would have done the same thing as Hearts and Partick. Scottish football is a laughing stock.
Donald Findlay, the Raith Rovers chairman, Stranraer, Hibs (despite losing a place in the league and valuable revenue) etc: No we haven’t and no we wouldn’t.
Sportsound: Yes you would.
Sportsound: The governance of the SPFL is a shambles and a disgrace and everybody says so. The vote was handled appallingly, etc.
The SPFL rules, the method of voting, the outcome of the votes, the independent assessment into the vote, the Court of Session, the Arbitration panel and almost every fan of every other club bar Hearts, Partick and The Rangers: They have done a great job in steering the ship through an unprecedented storm, well done SPFL, you are vindicated.
Neil McCann: I don’t see why we can’t just play the games.
Sportsound: Neil Docaster should be ashamed of himself; call for change from many, many sources (supported by an unrelated statement and sources never specifically mentioned) for lots of reasons (never specifically mentioned)...oh and Scottish football is a laughing stock.
Craig Levein: We weren’t told we had twenty eight days to vote.
Everybody else: it’s in the rules of your association; the hurry was because of the pandemic.
Tom English: The Dundee vote
81% of the clubs and everybody else: They were perfectly within their rights to change their vote and the SPFL executive had a duty to try to persuade every club to vote as they advised because there really was no alternative.
Tom English: They were bullied and coerced; The Rangers dossier; the smoking gun. I’m not satisfied with Neil Doncaster’s answers to the same question put to him four times.
The Raith Rovers Chairman: We came under pressure on the vote to reorganise the league from certain other clubs who wanted us to vote a particular way.
Sportsound: We didn’t hear that. Craig says it was okay anyway because Ann had to do what she had to do.
Everybody else: I smell s**t
Neil Doncaster: “delighted that the SPFL has been vindicated”
Sportsound: Not appropriate that Neil Doncaster should be gloating. Scottish football is a laughing stock.
Everybody else: He is speaking on behalf of the SPFL, which has, quite rightly, been vindicated. It would be utterly appropriate for him to say this in his position if the SPFL had been come under a legal challenge from a different national league for instance. It isn’t his, or the executive’s, fault that they were taken to court or arbitration by two of their own members. He has also suffered from some utterly biased comments by the media and Tom English in particular (with no apology one notes) and yes, the SPFL have been entirely vindicated.
Dundee United, Stranraer and everyone else: Well done; thank goodness it’s all over.
Hearts & Partick: This isn’t over, the maroon pound, wait until you come to Tynie etc
Sportsound: Scottish football is a laughing stock. Neil Doncaster is useless, he can’t even get a sponsor for Scottish football, which is a laughing stock by the way.
Everybody else: Sportsound is a laughing stock.
31-07-2020, 09:24 AM
In defence of Tom English, he was on the radio this morning saying nice things about Hibs and predicting a third place finish for us this season.
Brunswickbill
31-07-2020, 10:02 AM
As mention was made of fans forums on the Sportsound podcast today there is an outside chance that our comments may actually be read and acknowledged. So here’s my tu’pence worth...
Sportsound: Every other club would have done the same thing as Hearts and Partick. Scottish football is a laughing stock.
Donald Findlay, the Raith Rovers chairman, Stranraer, Hibs (despite losing a place in the league and valuable revenue) etc: No we haven’t and no we wouldn’t.
Sportsound: Yes you would.
Sportsound: The governance of the SPFL is a shambles and a disgrace and everybody says so. The vote was handled appallingly, etc.
The SPFL rules, the method of voting, the outcome of the votes, the independent assessment into the vote, the Court of Session, the Arbitration panel and almost every fan of every other club bar Hearts, Partick and The Rangers: They have done a great job in steering the ship through an unprecedented storm, well done SPFL, you are vindicated.
Neil McCann: I don’t see why we can’t just play the games.
Sportsound: Neil Docaster should be ashamed of himself; call for change from many, many sources (supported by an unrelated statement and sources never specifically mentioned) for lots of reasons (never specifically mentioned)...oh and Scottish football is a laughing stock.
Craig Levein: We weren’t told we had twenty eight days to vote.
Everybody else: it’s in the rules of your association; the hurry was because of the pandemic.
Tom English: The Dundee vote
81% of the clubs and everybody else: They were perfectly within their rights to change their vote and the SPFL executive had a duty to try to persuade every club to vote as they advised because there really was no alternative.
Tom English: They were bullied and coerced; The Rangers dossier; the smoking gun. I’m not satisfied with Neil Doncaster’s answers to the same question put to him four times.
The Raith Rovers Chairman: We came under pressure on the vote to reorganise the league from certain other clubs who wanted us to vote a particular way.
Sportsound: We didn’t hear that. Craig says it was okay anyway because Ann had to do what she had to do.
Everybody else: I smell s**t
Neil Doncaster: “delighted that the SPFL has been vindicated”
Sportsound: Not appropriate that Neil Doncaster should be gloating. Scottish football is a laughing stock.
Everybody else: He is speaking on behalf of the SPFL, which has, quite rightly, been vindicated. It would be utterly appropriate for him to say this in his position if the SPFL had been come under a legal challenge from a different national league for instance. It isn’t his, or the executive’s, fault that they were taken to court or arbitration by two of their own members. He has also suffered from some utterly biased comments by the media and Tom English in particular (with no apology one notes) and yes, the SPFL have been entirely vindicated.
Dundee United, Stranraer and everyone else: Well done; thank goodness it’s all over.
Hearts & Partick: This isn’t over, the maroon pound, wait until you come to Tynie etc
Sportsound: Scottish football is a laughing stock. Neil Doncaster is useless, he can’t even get a sponsor for Scottish football, which is a laughing stock by the way.
Everybody else: Sportsound is a laughing stock.
Great post. I was writing the same thing and thankfully spotted yours before I posted. Yours is much better. If you are looking for a leaderless shambles with some dodgy influencing going on, then look at Sportsound rather than the SPFL. If Hearts had won their case it would have irreparably damaged if not ended Doncaster’s career. No wonder he was delighted .
31-07-2020, 10:17 AM
In defence of Tom English, he was on the radio this morning saying nice things about Hibs and predicting a third place finish for us this season.
Pie and Bovril guy on twitter also predicted a 3rd place finish for us.
31-07-2020, 12:02 PM
Great post. I was writing the same thing and thankfully spotted yours before I posted. Yours is much better. If you are looking for a leaderless shambles with some dodgy influencing going on, then look at Sportsound rather than the SPFL. If Hearts had won their case it would have irreparably damaged if not ended Doncaster’s career. No wonder he was delighted .I actually sent Neil an email thanking him for his stewardship of the crisis in the face of the vicious onslaught from Hearts, Rangers and the BBC. He replied thanking me. I pointed out most of Scottish clubs and fans were behind him.
31-07-2020, 05:04 PM
Can’t believe there is no sportsound tonight, on the Eve of the new season
OxoHibby
31-07-2020, 05:18 PM
Is the new season tomorrow or sometime in October?
31-07-2020, 05:34 PM
Tom English was trying to moderate his position a wee bit - several points of agreement, now's not the time for an inquisition etc. but he was offered a couple of chances to back down and one to apologise and he refused to do so. He must know he's made a tit of himself but he's not got the guts to say so - expect more covering of tracks. He was wrong - legally and in every other sense - and should have the courage to admit misjudgement at least.
Levein just sounded like a spoiled wee boy who's not got the sweetie he wanted.
Pillow talk.
31-07-2020, 05:46 PM
That's absolutely shocking
31-07-2020, 05:48 PM
He reminds me more & more each week of that other bbc pundit Charlie Mann when he was Romanovs spokesman! Mr Romanov this Mr romanov that, never once would have had a bad word said against the money launderer who was using Hertz & Scottish football as a massive washing machine!
Ah, Charlie 'Yes' Mann.
31-07-2020, 05:54 PM
Tom English has gone past the point of no return. He has vocally and unequivocally placed himself in the camp of a club which has taken irresponsible, rash and, in terms of the SFA regulations, illegal action, way beyond the remit of his position as chief sports reporter for the BBC. He can hide behind his ‘this is only my opinion’ mask as much as he wants, but his lack of professional awareness is unbelievable and if the BBC had any sense of public duty or responsibility, they would sack him or ask him to fall on his own sword........... but they won’t.
AltheHibby
31-07-2020, 08:51 PM
http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/53555210
English's latest report.
01-08-2020, 06:56 AM
I’ve never listened to the sportsound podcast but I was on a long drive yesterday and was buzzing about the new season starting so thought I’d give a few podcasts a listen previewing the new season.
The Sportsound one was far and away the worst, in fact, it was absolutely shocking. Think it went on for about an hour, the first 45 minutes were about the old firm, they then said they better mention the other clubs, they briefly discussed the st Johnstone Dundee United game and briefly spoke about St Mirren, that was it! I was looking forward to the part they discussed the other teams (including Hibs) but it just ended. Even that aside the lack of humour and personalities on it was really poor, there were a couple of really bad, not even jokes, but light hearted lines and they started giggling like naughty school children. Absolutely dreadful.
Also listened to the terrace podcast that I thought was excellent and knowledgeable about all teams. The Simon Ferry one which although is labelled as a bit of a carry on, actually offers some really good insights as well as being funny (although I realise it’s not everyone’s cup of tea), they also had the decency to have a bit of a chat about all the teams.
I shouldn’t have been but I was shocked at how bad that was, to make it worse Tom English moaned at the end about how poorly we promote our game. Tom, you just had an hours show to promote our game and you managed to speak about 2 teams for the most part, token gesture of a couple of other and then also ask great insightful questions about whether we will hear the players and coaches swearing at the referees.
I’ll no be listening to that again.
Corstorphine Hibby
01-08-2020, 07:14 AM
Is the new season tomorrow or sometime in October?
😄
01-08-2020, 07:14 AM
I’ve never listened to the sportsound podcast but I was on a long drive yesterday and was buzzing about the new season starting so thought I’d give a few podcasts a listen previewing the new season.
The Sportsound one was far and away the worst, in fact, it was absolutely shocking. Think it went on for about an hour, the first 45 minutes were about the old firm, they then said they better mention the other clubs, they briefly discussed the st Johnstone Dundee United game and briefly spoke about St Mirren, that was it! I was looking forward to the part they discussed the other teams (including Hibs) but it just ended. Even that aside the lack of humour and personalities on it was really poor, there were a couple of really bad, not even jokes, but light hearted lines and they started giggling like naughty school children. Absolutely dreadful.
Also listened to the terrace podcast that I thought was excellent and knowledgeable about all teams. The Simon Ferry one which although is labelled as a bit of a carry on, actually offers some really good insights as well as being funny (although I realise it’s not everyone’s cup of tea), they also had the decency to have a bit of a chat about all the teams.
I shouldn’t have been but I was shocked at how bad that was, to make it worse Tom English moaned at the end about how poorly we promote our game. Tom, you just had an hours show to promote our game and you managed to speak about 2 teams for the most part, token gesture of a couple of other and then also ask great insightful questions about whether we will hear the players and coaches swearing at the referees.
Re your last point about TE promoting the game. He’s just spent the last 3 months giving the game an absolute kicking in the national press. He’s done more damage to the prospects of the game in Scotland than anyone else, including those at the top of the game.
01-08-2020, 02:03 PM
the only thing tom english promoted was the destruction of scottish football
rossevenil
01-08-2020, 03:10 PM
Really is a jobs for the boys scenario going on with the BBC Sport up here,we now have Jon Daly as a match reporter and bloody Craig Gordon on Sportscene tonight! give us a break
delbert
01-08-2020, 03:58 PM
There is no defence for Tom English, period !! 🤬
01-08-2020, 03:59 PM
Really is a jobs for the boys scenario going on with the BBC Sport up here,we now have Jon Daly as a match reporter and bloody Craig Gordon on Sportscene tonight! give us a break
Hibs game the only one not on bbc sounds this afternoon either.
01-08-2020, 04:05 PM
Amazed people still tune into that Hearts love-in orgy
01-08-2020, 04:05 PM
It was on 810 mw online.
Full game.
01-08-2020, 04:06 PM
It was on 810 mw online.
Full game.
Yeah, was listening to sounds on my phone and the match on htv and was looking to sync first half as the sound was dodgy and behind in the first half.
01-08-2020, 04:07 PM
Amazed people still tune into that Hearts love-in orgy
Purely for the commentary first half mate. Chucked in the bin now. Got talkSPORT on.
Tomsk
01-08-2020, 04:15 PM
Are you sure? They were advertising coverage of all games.
01-08-2020, 04:15 PM
What is it with Sky and they’re huge love in for (Steven Gerards)(the) Rangers?
Tomsk
01-08-2020, 04:16 PM
Are you sure? They were advertising coverage of all games.
Christ, I'm slow! :greengrin
01-08-2020, 04:17 PM
Christ, I'm slow! :greengrin
🤣🤣
speedy_gonzales
01-08-2020, 05:18 PM
What is it with Sky and they’re huge love in for (Steven Gerards)(the) Rangers?
Quite simply a product of the EPL. They have quite an insular view down there.
01-08-2020, 05:24 PM
Richard Gordon was interviewing Doncaster about 215ish today. I only caught about a minute of it - did anyone hear it?
01-08-2020, 05:30 PM
Richard Gordon was interviewing Doncaster about 215ish today. I only caught about a minute of it - did anyone hear it?
Caught the last half of the interview. Doncaster cruised it. Said the Spfl were completely up for the release of all thr documents. The main income stream comes from tv and broadcast and long term deals are secured. The lack of title sponsor for the league is small in comparison. V close to concluding a deal pre lockdown- fell thru- v few companies with money to throw around.
Spoke well very assured.
02-08-2020, 07:37 AM
There is no defence for Tom English, period !! [emoji2959]
Agree he nailed his colours to the mast and was very outspoken in Hearts favour
He knew what he was doing Donald Findlay was the only person to put him in his place
I liked him when he first started reporting on football but have now lost all respect for him
Doesn’t matter what he says now TheDamage was Di s when he openly backed Budge above and beyond what was needed
02-08-2020, 07:47 AM
Caught the last half of the interview. Doncaster cruised it. Said the Spfl were completely up for the release of all thr documents. The main income stream comes from tv and broadcast and long term deals are secured. The lack of title sponsor for the league is small in comparison. V close to concluding a deal pre lockdown- fell thru- v few companies with money to throw around.
Spoke well very assured.
The full interview is included in yesterday’s podcast (about 6/7 mins in). He spoke well, answered the questions before they were asked and confirmed they’d be willing to allow the court documents to be released - all other parties have to agree to this - I’d imagine Hearts will have no issues in doing this? They’ll want everyone to know what their case was so we can clear up all the conspiracy nonsense.
For the good of the Scottish game etc?
04-08-2020, 09:38 PM
Craig Levein on Sportsound again tonight. Yawn.
04-08-2020, 09:51 PM
The full interview is included in yesterday’s podcast (about 6/7 mins in). He spoke well, answered the questions before they were asked and confirmed they’d be willing to allow the court documents to be released - all other parties have to agree to this - I’d imagine Hearts will have no issues in doing this? They’ll want everyone to know what their case was so we can clear up all the conspiracy nonsense.
For the good of the Scottish game etc?
Funny how Hearts were spinning it the SPFL only wanted the detailed decision released and not the court documents. Why they blocked it. Lying again.
I note to that Gordon thought this weeks SFA meeting would decide on the costs for the arbitration and the clubs could still get hit with a bill. Really awful journalism. Can't wait till Radio Jambo finds out it is a punishment this week and next week they will be told they have to pick up all the costs.
Hopefully Sportsound gives the reopening of the Academy some publicity given they jumped the gun regarding the story it was closing down.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
08-08-2020, 12:16 PM
This afternoon is open all mikes with no commentary.
Oh look no celtc or the rangers are playing. 🙄
08-08-2020, 01:15 PM
Willie Miller and Richard Gordon are clowns.
08-08-2020, 01:20 PM
Willie Miller and Richard Gordon are clowns.
Why’s that? WM ripping quite rightly into the Aberdeen players.
08-08-2020, 01:20 PM
Tom English is an utter bore
08-08-2020, 02:46 PM
It’s a Hibs love in just now!
All of them waxing lyrical about us:thumbsup:
It’s a Hibs love in just now!
All of them waxing lyrical about us:thumbsup:
They were wrong about us being skint, wrong about the academy being scrapped and have realised our club is run properly, all eyes are on Aberdeen and their players right now.
09-08-2020, 02:13 PM
Tom English is an utter bore
Normally yes, but he had a couple of good minutes on today’s programme, singing the praises of Hibs and our prospects this season. Mind you, he could scarcely have done anything else. :greengrin
Hopefully Sportsound gives the reopening of the Academy some publicity given they jumped the gun regarding the story it was closing down.
Behave Kato. Dick and co only look to the negative side of things when it comes to Hibs and over dramatise it all.
09-08-2020, 02:27 PM
Normally yes, but he had a couple of good minutes on today’s programme, singing the praises of Hibs and our prospects this season. Mind you, he could scarcely have done anything else. :greengrin
Hes still a terrible idiot. Talks in absolutes ‘forever’ ‘constantly’ ‘always’ far too often to make his point. And he was just havering nonsense to the rugby player, almost like he was creepily flirting with him :dunno:
10-08-2020, 05:06 PM
Craig Levein on Sportsound again tonight. Yawn.:rolleyes:
10-08-2020, 05:07 PM
Absolutely tragic that Craig Levein is on the radio all the time instead of Michael Stewart.
Unless both are on one day of course..
10-08-2020, 05:09 PM
Absolutely tragic that Craig Levein is on the radio all the time instead of Michael Stewart.
I'm sure they'd get along like a house on fire.
10-08-2020, 05:15 PM
I was looking forward to Sportsound tonight, thought there might have been a bit on the League leaders
10-08-2020, 05:15 PM
The announcement that Levein was to be on Sportsound again came at the same time as a story about Hearts full back Hickey arriving back from a trip to see Bayern Munich, where "it is expected" he will be sold for many millions. In the BBC article it says, and I think this is a Levein quote, that "Celtic tried to sign him five or six times". The same article also states that "However, no formal transfer offers have recently been received by Hearts, who will be in the Scottish Championship this season." So if they made no transfer offers, how did they "try to sign him 5 or 6 times"?
I'd imagine it is because the 5 or 6 times were longer ago than whatever the writer considers to be "recently".
10-08-2020, 06:24 PM
I was looking forward to Sportsound tonight, thought there might have been a bit on the League leaders
It is dull dull dull it suits met to listen to it but really there is no reason to tune in the whole show needs a shake up. A good start would be a bit of diversity away from Hearts and the old firm. It would also help if contributors have a good grasp of the English language and are able to contribute to debates looking at it from more than one perspective.
The only thing worse than Sportsound is Talksport radio where one presenter takes the polar opposite stance to the other whether they believe it or not to generate some sort of fake debate.
10-08-2020, 08:38 PM
On a side note. What's happened to Craig Patterson? Seems to have completely vanished from TV and Radio. Added a bit of Hibs input which was very welcome.
10-08-2020, 08:40 PM
On a side note. What's happened to Craig Patterson? Seems to have completely vanished from TV and Radio. Added a bit of Hibs input which was very welcome.
Thats a good thing, another one who just states the bleeding obvious
10-08-2020, 08:42 PM
Thats a good thing, another one who just states the bleeding obvious
He’ll be disappointed with that.
10-08-2020, 08:45 PM
He’ll be disappointed with that.
He’ll have been looking to hit the target there...
Renfrew_Hibby
10-08-2020, 08:51 PM
I think you've answered your own question there.
10-08-2020, 09:26 PM
I listened in to the podcast today from Saturday to hear what was said about the Hibs game. The show was effectively a round up of all the results with interviews from managers with punditry from the likes of ‘Doddsy’ & ‘Faddy’, and it really struck home that Scottish people talking about football is mind numbingly uninteresting and dull. After each game it’s just a procession of the same words - “delighted” “disappointing” “shifts” “opportunities”. Hibs were last to be covered and Jack Ross wasn’t much better than those that preceded him.
There were some decent shows during lockdown with the Hearts debacle providing some light relief, but now the football is back it’s a brutal listen.
KDY Hibs
10-08-2020, 09:35 PM
I listened in to the podcast today from Saturday to hear what was said about the Hibs game. The show was effectively a round up of all the results with interviews from managers with punditry from the likes of ‘Doddsy’ & ‘Faddy’, and it really struck home that Scottish people talking about football is mind numbingly uninteresting and dull. After each game it’s just a procession of the same words - “delighted” “disappointing” “shifts” “opportunities”. Hibs were last to be covered and Jack Ross wasn’t much better than those that preceded him.
There were some decent shows during lockdown with the Hearts debacle providing some light relief, but now the football is back it’s a brutal listen.
Hopefully another wee Jumbo episode is just around the corner!
10-08-2020, 09:37 PM
I think as previously said he did not like the open all mics set up shouting and interrupting people so he and they parted.
11-08-2020, 06:52 AM
You're right. Scottish football is dull enough without having to listen to that stuff.
Can’t listen or read anything in scottish football that isn’t hibs related for these reasons it’s utter tosh, there’s always a buzzword type as well, like they learn a new word and absolutely hammer it to death this years so far has been ‘abhorrent’
I think JJ Bull on the totally scottish football podcast tries his best to make it a bit more tactical, information based but if you don’t hear a manager talking in the same manner it’s very difficult to connect the two
MagicSwirlingShip
11-08-2020, 07:34 AM
You're right. Scottish football is dull enough without having to listen to that stuff.
Scottish football is anything but dull. There’s new talking points every week.
I agree however that Sportsound can sometimes be dull
11-08-2020, 07:59 AM
It’s a station for failed managers, Levein, McCann etc
Lose your job, get a gig
11-08-2020, 08:11 AM
Can’t listen or read anything in scottish football that isn’t hibs related for these reasons it’s utter tosh, there’s always a buzzword type as well, like they learn a new word and absolutely hammer it to death this years so far has been ‘abhorrent’
I think JJ Bull on the totally scottish football podcast tries his best to make it a bit more tactical, information based but if you don’t hear a manager talking in the same manner it’s very difficult to connect the two
JJ Bull is equally bad in a different way, he just uses different buzzwords that he’s contractually obliged to repeat, ‘low block’ being the most obvious. He also has to refer to wyscout every week. You want your pundits to be tactically aware but not to bang on about what tactical geniuses they are. Tough balance :greengrin
11-08-2020, 08:25 AM
Most of the people they have on are thick and can barely string a coherent sentence together. Anybody any good gets ditched.
11-08-2020, 11:08 AM
Scrolling through the podcast shows in my app to see what’s up there and this one from Thursday night sounds unmissable.
“Billy Dodds & Neil McCann give their reaction to the end of Rangers' Europa League campaign - Steven Gerrard's side losing in the last 16 to Bayer Leverkusen”
11-08-2020, 11:10 AM
It’s a station for failed managers, Levein, McCann etc
Lose your job, get a gig
Replay Robbie was on there a lot when looking for a job.
11-08-2020, 12:03 PM
Most of the people they have on are thick and can barely string a coherent sentence together. Anybody any good gets ditched.
Terrible grammar some of them - "he's went etc".
It shows how the BBC has dumbed down.
11-08-2020, 03:22 PM
I think as previously said he did not like the open all mics set up shouting and interrupting people so he and they parted.
Thats a pitty. Thought he added a bit of balance. It's an Aberdeen, Hearts love in these days
11-08-2020, 03:27 PM
Their schedule show coverage of our match tonight starting at 5pm. So I guess that means talking about Celtic, The The's and Aberdeen until 5:55pm.
crewetollhibee
11-08-2020, 07:02 PM
Game finishes, 30 seconds later program finishes. No discussion of any note, no waiting for JR’s comments. Pathetic.
Dr What If?
11-08-2020, 07:19 PM
Game finishes, 30 seconds later program finishes. No discussion of any note, no waiting for JR’s comments. Pathetic.
No bad thing, listened to the game and at no point was I particularly sure what was going on. I remember the good old days when commentators would tell you what was happening on the pitch.
maturehibby
11-08-2020, 07:44 PM
What did Dick Gordon say about Doidge's goal tonight ????
Another tap in .
11-08-2020, 08:26 PM
Another tap in .
He's probably still boring everyone to tears about Willie Miller and the 80s judging by his recent content.
Another tap in .
Dick was full of praise for Doidge and didn't come out with his usual stifled laugh when he scored. However - Brian McLaughlin was brought in to claim that Diog's leg was offside in the lead up. "If we had VAR it wouldn't have been given." Dick went on to bemoan the lack of VAR.
Watching it on the Sky News twitter feed it's not certain that was the case at all, but the Hearts supporting, fat Jambo journalist was mysteriously convinced.
Watch Doig's leg as Nisbet flicks the ball on, no way anyone could be that sure given the pictures available.
https://twitter.com/ScotlandSky/status/1293254334747226114
Dick was full of praise for Doidge and didn't come out with his usual stifled laugh when he scored. However - Brian McLaughlin was brought in to claim that Diog's leg was offside in the lead up. "If we had VAR it wouldn't have been given." Dick went on to bemoan the lack of VAR.
Watching it on the Sky News twitter feed it's not certain that was the case at all, but the Hearts supporting, fat Jambo journalist was mysteriously convinced.
Watch Doig's leg as Nisbet flicks the ball on, no way anyone could be that sure given the pictures available.
From that angle you can't see where the Utd player's other foot is so unless McLaughlin has a different angle to look at he is at it.
11-08-2020, 08:47 PM
Even if VAR disallowed the goal it would likely have got us a penalty earlier on. I think they should have gone down to 10 men for that headless chicken clattering of McGinn too.
malcolm
11-08-2020, 08:48 PM
Never offside but it is the idiotic way VAR has been implemented down south that encourages ridiculous statements like that - it should be to rectify clear and obvious errors not spending 5 minutes examining on a forensic level if someone’s part protrudes a hair breadth past the opponent’s.
Mr Grieves
11-08-2020, 08:55 PM
I think it was offside, but if we're gonna play the VAR game, we had a shout for a pen and that challenge by Robson looked a shocker but I've still not seen a replay.
11-08-2020, 08:58 PM
I see it's Naismith's turn to be on Sportsound this Saturday :rolleyes:
12-08-2020, 02:02 PM
Naismith is an intelligent chap. God knows why he's seeing out his days at Tynecastle.
12-08-2020, 02:12 PM
Never ending. Who next? Wallace Mercer's old next door neighbour?
Naismith is an intelligent chap. God knows why he's seeing out his days at Tynecastle.
Lots of money, long contract, doesn't have to do much ... he's not daft. He took Norwich for all he could so he's just being true to form.
12-08-2020, 02:20 PM
He's a fanny.
12-08-2020, 02:23 PM
Standing over an injured player laughing is about as far away from intelligent as you can get
12-08-2020, 02:24 PM
Standing over an injured player laughing is about as far away from intelligent as you can get
Complete and utter bellend
Don't buy into the "but he's a nice guy off the pitch" BS. If you behave like that it means you're a dick, regardless of whether you're on a football pitch or not.
Clarence
12-08-2020, 02:48 PM
Don't buy into the "but he's a nice guy off the pitch" BS. If you behave like that it means you're a dick, regardless of whether you're on a football pitch or not.
Or a sociopath
12-08-2020, 03:05 PM
Lots of money, long contract, doesn't have to do much ... he's not daft. He took Norwich for all he could so he's just being true to form.
And gets paid on Sportsound too
Levein must have racked up a few cheques recently too
12-08-2020, 03:22 PM
Correct. A special kind of bellend
12-08-2020, 03:47 PM
He's a fanny.
He wears a fanny hat.
13-08-2020, 08:50 AM
Money
13-08-2020, 09:38 AM
6k a week to do absolute diddly, be injured about 60% of the season, get made captain, score 3 goals all season as a striker yet still have their deluded fans fawning over him for some reason. Why would he want to be anywhere else?
13-08-2020, 12:39 PM
Listened for a few minutes last night and all they were interested in is the bigot bros. Totally tedious and boring. Not interested in what formations were being played and why and Dodds couldn’t get the teams right reading from a sheet. Got worse if that’s possible. Thought Stephen Thompson was decent on sport scene along with Stephen Mcginn and James McFadden. Pleasantly surprised actually. Annoying that the well game commentary wasn’t in sync with the pictures. Grrr.
13-08-2020, 12:42 PM
Listened for a few minutes last night and all they were interested in is the bigot bros. Totally tedious and boring. Not interested in what formations were being played and why and Dodds couldn’t get the teams right reading from a sheet. Got worse if that’s possible. Thought Stephen Thompson was decent on sport scene along with Stephen Mcginn and James McFadden. Pleasantly surprised actually. Annoying that the well game commentary wasn’t in sync with the pictures. Grrr.
Annoying that the well game commentary wasn’t in sync with the pictures. Grrr.....haha, that was hilarious, you knew when they scored, or missed.
Quality viewing
13-08-2020, 12:45 PM
Never ending. Who next? Wallace Mercer's old next door neighbour?
Is this sportsounds revenge for the temerity of sending the mighty jets down. It’s obvious very few clubs in the spl want to have anything to do with the programme. That Willie Miller is the voice of reason on this embarrassing programme says it all.
mcohibs
14-08-2020, 07:53 AM
If anyone had any doubt about the arrogance or nievity of footballers, listen to Richard Foster on Sportsound last night. Unbelievable. Defending the actions of the Aberdeen players on a phone call to Jason Leitch, National Clinical Director. Embarrassing stuff. Tom English, to be fair to him, calling him out for his stupidity.
If the rest of Scottish football has a resemblance of the mindset of Foster, we are doomed.
14-08-2020, 08:02 AM
If anyone had any doubt about the arrogance or nievity of footballers, listen to Richard Foster on Sportscene last night. Unbelievable. Defending the actions of the Aberdeen players on a phone call to Jason Leitch, National Clinical Director. Embarrassing stuff. Tom English, to be fair to him, calling him out for his stupidity.
If the rest of Scottish football has a resemblance of the mindset of Foster, we are doomed.
To be fair to Foster, at the end of the exchange he did turn 180 degrees and acknowledged that he had got it wrong, that Jason Leitch’s explanation had finally got through. That provided an opportunity for TE to ask what had been so hard to understand in the first place. It is a classic episode fir anyone that has not listened to it yet.
18Craig75
14-08-2020, 08:07 AM
To be fair to Foster, at the end of the exchange he did turn 180 degrees and acknowledged that he had got it wrong, that Jason Leitch’s explanation had finally got through. That provided an opportunity for TE to ask what had been so hard to understand in the first place. It is a classic episode fir anyone that has not listened to it yet.
It was a great listen last night. Jason Leitch is brilliant, not afraid to say what he thinks. I actually like Foster, he’s opinionated but articulated himself well. He was wrong in what he was saying but had the good grace to then accept Jason’s explanation. For a clever guy though I can’t believe he struggled to understand the 3 household rule to start with. That’s a worry on a society level, guidelines are clear as day to me?
He did then keep digging a hole for himself after that with Tom English when he should’ve let it go.
English his usual self asking questions on Hearts behalf. Well done to Jason on shutting down the question “do you have sympathy for Hearts?” In response - “I have sympathy for everyone and anyone affected by the world wide pandemic”
14-08-2020, 11:11 AM
English his usual self asking questions on Hearts behalf. Well done to Jason on shutting down the question “do you have sympathy for Hearts?” In response - “I have sympathy for everyone and anyone affected by the world wide pandemic”I really don't understand this. Why should anyone have sympathy for Hearts? They were in last place, they didn't accept the democratic vote, they kicked up a stink, lost at the panel. Why TE honestly believes Hearts merit sympathy from anyone is beyond me.
14-08-2020, 05:28 PM
It was a great listen last night. Jason Leitch is brilliant, not afraid to say what he thinks. I actually like Foster, he’s opinionated but articulated himself well. He was wrong in what he was saying but had the good grace to then accept Jason’s explanation. For a clever guy though I can’t believe he struggled to understand the 3 household rule to start with. That’s a worry on a society level, guidelines are clear as day to me?
He did then keep digging a hole for himself after that with Tom English when he should’ve let it go.
English his usual self asking questions on Hearts behalf. Well done to Jason on shutting down the question “do you have sympathy for Hearts?” In response - “I have sympathy for everyone and anyone affected by the world wide pandemic”
The re guidelines, I was part of a discussion of 8 members of staff today in school. Only 2 had a genuine grasp of them. The remaining 6 pretty much were clueless. Maybe something the authorities need to look at. One thing is clear, the current approach to sharing information isn’t working.
gaz1875
14-08-2020, 08:39 PM
He also told TE he knew he was looking for a headline so declined to give him one :yw:
Alan62
14-08-2020, 09:39 PM
If anyone had any doubt about the arrogance or nievity of footballers, listen to Richard Foster on Sportsound last night. Unbelievable. Defending the actions of the Aberdeen players on a phone call to Jason Leitch, National Clinical Director. Embarrassing stuff. Tom English, to be fair to him, calling him out for his stupidity.
I actually thought that Richard Foster acquitted himself quite well on the programme. He wasn't being arrogant at all, he just stated that he knew many of the Aberdeen 8 well and that they wouldn't deliberately have flaunted the rules. His view was that they naively thought that they were 'in a bubble' when they were together - same as they are when they're at work. Jason Leitch spelled it out brilliantly for everyone listening about how the 'football bubble' works and how the Aberdeen 8 got it so wrong.
Remember, too, that Jonny Hayes (aged 33) said previously that he thought that the 8 of them counted as the 'same household'. Like many people, they're not wilfully breaking the rules they just aren't paying much attention.
I reckon most have had it spelled out now.
As for Tom English, I though Foster did a good job of trying to expose English's spiteful and cowardly branding of the Aberdeen 8 as 'reckless idiots'. As ever, English admitted he hadn't spoken to any of the players involved so he hadn't actually made an effort to see if his assessment was correct or not. He really is a very poor journalist.
As others have pointed out, Richard Foster was man enough to admit where he'd got it wrong.
I actually thought that Richard Foster acquitted himself quite well on the programme. He wasn't being arrogant at all, he just stated that he knew many of the Aberdeen 8 well and that they wouldn't deliberately have flaunted the rules. His view was that they naively thought that they were 'in a bubble' when they were together - same as they are when they're at work. Jason Leitch spelled it out brilliantly for everyone listening about how the 'football bubble' works and how the Aberdeen 8 got it so wrong.
Remember, too, that Jonny Hayes (aged 33) said previously that he thought that the 8 of them counted as the 'same household'. Like many people, they're not wilfully breaking the rules they just aren't paying much attention.
I reckon most have had it spelled out now.
As for Tom English, I though Foster did a good job of trying to expose English's spiteful and cowardly branding of the Aberdeen 8 as 'reckless idiots'. As ever, English admitted he hadn't spoken to any of the players involved so he hadn't actually made an effort to see if his assessment was correct or not. He really is a very poor journalist.
As others have pointed out, Richard Foster was man enough to admit where he'd got it wrong.Foster actually had the good sense to ask questions, then admit he had more understanding as to why his original opinion was wrong. Something of a rarity on that programme.
18Craig75
15-08-2020, 06:53 AM
Foster actually had the good sense to ask questions, then admit he had more understanding as to why his original opinion was wrong. Something of a rarity on that programme.
He was so much better than the likes of Ferguson, Dodds & Biscuits who genuinely can’t really string proper sentences together.
Col L
16-08-2020, 04:05 PM
That’s me done with Sportsound - it was already a cringey wee closed shop but has somehow succeeded in getting worse now that Craig Levein has been parachuted in as a regular pundit. Crime pays.
16-08-2020, 04:21 PM
That’s me done with Sportsound - it was already a cringey wee closed shop but has somehow succeeded in getting worse now that Craig Levein has been parachuted in as a regular pundit. Crime pays.
And how can he a pundit
Last time he took his team to Livvi, they lost 5-0
Col L
16-08-2020, 04:24 PM
And how can he a pundit
Last time he took his team to Livvi, they lost 5-0
It’s the perfect gig for him, telling everyone else how it should be done. In his warped, arrogant mind he’s never wrong!
16-08-2020, 04:31 PM
It’s the perfect gig for him, telling everyone else how it should be done. In his warped, arrogant mind he’s never wrong!
And he gets to spend time with Tom English
17-08-2020, 05:35 PM
Craig Leiven and Tom English saying not fair etc etc Naismith will be injures playing for Scotland as Hearts unable to train for a week. 😂 Daryl has them on toast trying to point out it is not all about Hearts but wee Craig and Tom can’t grasp that. It is all about Hearts and it is unfair. Surely if Naismith is Scotlands first pick there is no need to turn up to the playoffs.
17-08-2020, 05:47 PM
Listening to sportsound from the start now. English is utterly gushing Levein is there. All about some pub team from the championship.
17-08-2020, 05:51 PM
Broadfoot nails it even the beginning “forgetting Toms hearts fixation”.
17-08-2020, 07:33 PM
Craig Levein and Tom English ...Is he going to be on every night?
Craig Leiven and Tom English saying not fair etc etc Naismith will be injures playing for Scotland as Hearts unable to train for a week. 😂 Daryl has them on toast trying to point out it is not all about Hearts but wee Craig and Tom can’t grasp that. It is all about Hearts and it is unfair. Surely if Naismith is Scotlands first pick there is no need to turn up to the playoffs.
It was a show of Donald Findlay proportions. Darryl Broadfoot showed up both Levein and English for the idiots they are. The 2 of them seemed desperate to accuse the SPFL/SFA/Doncaster of having a vendetta against Hearts but obviously the lawyers will have told them to rein it in, particularly after Michael Stewart's comments last year about J Traynor.
17-08-2020, 07:50 PM
Is he going to be on every night?
It appears so they really try hard to keep dinosaurs in the game
17-08-2020, 07:53 PM
Broadfoot nails it even the beginning “forgetting Toms hearts fixation”.
****, now i'm going to have to listen to it!
17-08-2020, 07:55 PM
It was a show of Donald Findlay proportions. Darryl Broadfoot showed up both Levein and English for the idiots they are. The 2 of them seemed desperate to accuse the SPFL/SFA/Doncaster of having a vendetta against Hearts but obviously the lawyers will have told them to rein it in, particularly after Michael Stewart's comments last year about J Traynor.
It’s a dreadful show now
17-08-2020, 07:57 PM
It’s worth it if you can listen past the constant double teaming the two dweebs try on DB and Leveins constant chortles when English again goes on full tonto mode kidding on he cares about the lower leagues and not just Hearts. The only thing that will stop the love in is if they like that Eminem song argue like Carson Daly and Fred Durst and argue who Queen Ann gave head... 🤮
For once this is worth a listen (monday show).
Darryl Broadfoot rips into Tom English and loser Levein. For once someone callling out the Hearts obsession.
Levein then bleats about Hibs having unfair advantages for Scottish cup (10 weeks away?!) and poor Naismith won’t be fit for Scotland game next month (is he ever fit?).
English shows his true colours by admitting he thinks the whole game should be stopped to be fair to Hearts rather than ‘penalize’ them. He goes quiet when he is reminded that Hearts are not even close to playing competitive football unlike the elite clubs. Imagine the fallout if everything cancelled, it would sit nicely with his obsession around Hearts and Doncaster.
Ronster117
19-08-2020, 08:11 AM
Any links... I cant find it
19-08-2020, 08:15 AM
For once this is worth a listen (monday show).
Darryl Broadfoot rips into Tom English and loser Levein. For once someone callling out the Hearts obsession.
Levein then bleats about Hibs having unfair advantages for Scottish cup (10 weeks away?!) and poor Naismith won’t be fit for Scotland game next month (is he ever fit?).
English shows his true colours by admitting he thinks the whole game should be stopped to be fair to Hearts rather than ‘penalize’ them. He goes quiet when he is reminded that Hearts are not even close to playing competitive football unlike the elite clubs. Imagine the fallout if everything cancelled, it would sit nicely with his obsession around Hearts and Doncaster.
Broadfoot has been consistent throughout.
Him and Willie Milller (I know) have been the two voices that have sensibly and evenly stated what is and isnt right for football, and have not been sidetracked by the Tom English / Levein nonsense that is rarely backed up by facts.
I would have Broadfoot on whenever English is there - if only to show up what a dreadful journalist he really is.
19-08-2020, 08:24 AM
Any links... I cant find it
https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08nx34b
SweetDreams
19-08-2020, 08:25 AM
Craig Levein is an actual bam.
monarch
19-08-2020, 08:30 AM
Interesting to note that Levein admitted he considered buying Lyndon Dykes but decided against it because he didn’t score enough goals. This from the man that signed highly acclaimed netbusters such as Cole “the goal” Stockton, Craig Wrighton, David Vanacek and Uke Ikpeazu.
18Craig75
19-08-2020, 09:48 AM
Interesting to note that Levein admitted he considered buying Lyndon Dykes but decided against it because he didn’t score enough goals. This from the man that signed highly acclaimed netbusters such as Cole “the goal” Stockton, Craig Wrighton, David Vanacek and Uke Ikpeazu.
And yet he’s on a couple of times a week to critique other managers and players as an ‘expert’.
A man that intentionally grew grass long and didn’t water it for sporting advantage commenting on Livi’s pitch being dry. Only at BBC Scotland.
Caversham Green
19-08-2020, 11:38 AM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08nx34b
What I take from that is that Craig Levein is not very eloquent and not very bright while Tom English is more eloquent but actually thicker than Levein.
He's like me with my fantasy team, consider but then decide against bringing in a player who then turns out to be decent and instead bring in someone who turns out to be p*sh.
19-08-2020, 12:00 PM
:agree: I made the almost exact same comment on another thread about this. Amazing line and yet none of them picked him up on it to just take the piss.
English is going to ridiculous lengths now - Broadfoot showed him up. The constant Hearts persecution nonsense will hopefully be his downfall at the BBC. He’s not long stopped bemoaning the commercial impact of not having a sponsor before he starts on closing the Premiership down so it’s fair for Championship Hearts - presumably there’s no commercial impact in doing so.
He only appears knowledgeable due to the level the other pundits are at (or not at as the case may be).
Victor
19-08-2020, 12:26 PM
Not sure if it’s already been mentioned, but Morton have apparently complained to the BBC, about Levein’s comment that Morton and Raith had complained to the SFA about Hearts training, which would appear to be a lie. Interesting to see if the BBC treat him the same as Michael Stewart.
19-08-2020, 12:27 PM
Broadfoot was excellent again on Sportsound on Monday, that's what we should be expecting from the BBC - an objective and educational explanation of the situation, instead of the reactionary nonsense we got from English and Levein.
19-08-2020, 02:44 PM
Broadfoot was excellent again on Sportsound on Monday, that's what we should be expecting from the BBC - an objective and educational explanation of the situation, instead of the reactionary nonsense we got from English and Levein.
Unfortunately unless you create click bait controversy then it seems like they don’t see themselves being relevant. Just do what five live do and have intelligent and insightful discussions and you’ll get your audience. I find it hysterically funny that so many hertz guys are on yet bar Dave Cormack virtually nobody else from the spl goes on the programme which is meant to be about the spl mostly. I think the spl clubs have shown with virtually nobody going on the show exactly what they think of it. It’s actually so ironic that superscoreboard does the job sportsound should do.
19-08-2020, 02:47 PM
Despite all of that they The Budge Rimmers kept asking Beoadfoots opinion on the same question in a roundabout way for 25 mins ie “it’s no fair on hearts Daryl, is it?”