View Full Version : Sportsound

Pages : 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11

Brunswickbill
30-05-2020, 08:01 PM
They have no awareness how naive and one sided they are. Budge comes out with her “millions from my philanthropist friends” stuff and immediately English/Preston/ Miller and the rest accuse Doncaster of refusing to take up her offer. Budge always portrayed as the honest broker and Doncaster as the bogeyman. They really want to take a listen to themselves.

Hibeesforever
30-05-2020, 08:08 PM
They have no awareness how naive and one sided they are. Budge comes out with her “millions from my philanthropist friends” stuff and immediately English/Preston/ Miller and the rest accuse Doncaster of refusing to take up her offer. Budge always portrayed as the honest broker and Doncaster as the bogeyman. They really want to take a listen to themselves.

That's a very good point, which self respecting CEO would just accept "no strings" attached money blindly...Budge is going to look very foolish if these millions do not appear

30-05-2020, 08:12 PM
That's a very good point, which self respecting CEO would just accept "no strings" attached money blindly...Budge is going to look very foolish if these millions do not appear

It’s most of the sportsound team and Budge that are looking amateur and pretty clueless.

Brunswickbill
30-05-2020, 08:18 PM
Stuart Cosgrove on Saturday Supplement totally rubbished Budge’s “unconditional offer.” How come Sportsound can’t find someone who can see through her? It’s really beyond a joke.

The Count
30-05-2020, 08:28 PM
Sportsound is now the radio equivalent of The Daily Record unfortunately.Today the acceptance of everything Budge said and the ridiculing of Doncaster was pathetic.Why can we not have a forensic programme with proper cross examination and get shot of your Dodds,Preston,Ferguson etc and replace them with proper panellists with intelligence

30-05-2020, 08:29 PM
Let's not forget the interview she did with her pal English when she said she'd been present when loans had been handed out, and a week later Jambo McLaughlin read out a list of when the loans were handed out. The last one was 2 years before she even bought Hearts, so that was just a load of nonsesnse but not one of the Hearts supporters or Richard Gordon picked up on it.

30-05-2020, 08:29 PM
From the @spfl chief executive Neil Doncaster on the big potential donations from @JamTarts philanthropists: “I have had a number of conversations with Ann this week, including one that also involved another club chairman. I am delighted to have heard Ann’s comment on the radio..

“this afternoon that there are, in fact, no conditions attached to this money. I had been under the impression that Ann was going to continue talking to the potential investors, but if it is now appropriate for me to talk to them directly, I am very happy to do so....

“...Clearly, any income for our game, especially at such a difficult time, is something we would all welcome. I will be speaking again to Ann over the weekend and hope to be in a position to update our divisional meetings this week.”

Doncaster calling her out here basically. She’s obviously been trying to use this money as a way to get them back into the Premiership.

I love the bit in bold, Neil Doncaster is making sure that people know that AB said "no conditions attached to this money" lol

Bye bye Jam Tarts

31-05-2020, 09:23 AM
I love the bit in bold, Neil Doncaster is making sure that people know that AB said "no conditions attached to this money" lol

Bye bye Jam Tarts

And the "in fact" leaves you in no doubt that up until now conditions had been attached.

31-05-2020, 09:35 AM
^^^Yup, it’ll be interesting to see if they go through with their offer now.

I’m thinking they collectively had their heads in their hands when Budge said ‘no strings’.

31-05-2020, 09:53 AM

Bye bye Jam Tarts

While also just ever so slightly hinting there was an insinuation that there could have strings attached without actually implying it. He and rod are the masters on unflappability and so glad that they are there to calmly dismantle the rangers rantings and budge bletherings after the heat and too much g and t had taken it’s toll. 🤣

jingler1954
31-05-2020, 10:02 AM
I might be wrong but did Dr Budge not say her wealthy friends were going to cover the cost of covid testing at Tinycastle for all clubs with minimal cost and the condition was Hertz were reinstated to the top table. I suspect she is now manipulating the millions and millions to the lower leagues, which will make her reconstruction less likely cos all the lower league clubs will manage to play behind closed doors as the said millions will cover the costs of closed door games.

31-05-2020, 10:03 AM
Can’t wait to hear her response if any conditions suddenly become public

Gloucester Hibs
31-05-2020, 10:10 AM
Doncaster has gone right up in my estimation lately. Didn’t really see what he brought to the table previously and actually thought him guilty of underselling our game at times. But he’s dealt with Budge’s nonsense during this pandemic like the consummate professional. Letting budge take charge of the reconstruction task force was a bit of a master stroke - gave her enough rope to hang herself and she’s duly obliging.

tomf
31-05-2020, 10:18 AM

Their instant reaction was to accept totally what she had said, without in any way checking her statements, and immediately to criticise Doncaster for not having got the bank details of the mystery benefactors. These idiots just ignored any thoughts about due diligence. AB contradicts herself at almost every turn so it might have suggested a bit of caution but hey ho; millions of pounds, no strings, AB saviour of Scottish football, reconstruction to save Hearts.

31-05-2020, 10:19 AM
Doncaster has gone right up in my estimation lately. Didn’t really see what he brought to the table previously and actually thought him guilty of underselling our game at times. But he’s dealt with Budge’s nonsense during this pandemic like the consummate professional. Letting budge take charge of the reconstruction task force was a bit of a master stroke - gave her enough rope to hang herself and she’s duly obliging.

I think he has undersold our game since he arrived on the scene, and he also along with Regan did his best to try and get the old Rangers a free pass into the Premiership.

I do think he's learnt a valuable lesson from that, and you cant piss off every other clubs support for the sake of one club, and rules are there to be administered, not altered at the request on clubs in trouble.

As someone else said, the game is a bogey if rules are just made up as you go along.

31-05-2020, 10:24 AM
Stuart Cosgrove on Saturday Supplement totally rubbished Budge’s “unconditional offer.” How come Sportsound can’t find someone who can see through her? It’s really beyond a joke.

I didn’t hear the entire show but from what I did, Willie Miller was very cynical of Budgie’s nonsense.

31-05-2020, 10:24 AM
Doncaster doesn't strike me as being dynamic enough to be the public face of the SPFL and, as others have said, he might well undersell our game. However, he has shown himself to be an excellent administrator and has remained calm and focused at a very difficult time despite the histrionics of certain club chairmen.

31-05-2020, 10:25 AM
Let's not forget the interview she did with her pal English when she said she'd been present when loans had been handed out, and a week later Jambo McLaughlin read out a list of when the loans were handed out. The last one was 2 years before she even bought Hearts, so that was just a load of nonsesnse but not one of the Hearts supporters or Richard Gordon picked up on it.

Scottish football journalists will always back away from a situation where they are accusing a club chairman of lying.

It’s how Dave King, Budge and others get away with it.

31-05-2020, 10:29 AM
Doncaster doesn't strike me as being dynamic enough to be the public face of the SPFL and, as others have said, he might well undersell our game. However, he has shown himself to be an excellent administrator and has remained calm and focused at a very difficult time despite the histrionics of certain club chairmen.

You have a short memory, remember when Rangers went bust, how was his administration skills then?

He was bending over backwards at the time, making excuse after excuse for them to be allowed back into the SPL.

I agree he's doing it by the book now, and doing a good job letting rubber heid hang herself, maybe he learned a valuable lesson from the Sevco shambles?

31-05-2020, 10:31 AM

And one thing is for sure, there's no shady deal in the background to get Hearts back in the top league. He would never have issued that statement yesterday if there was any chance of that happening.

31-05-2020, 10:34 AM
You have a short memory, remember when Rangers went bust, how was his administration skills then?

He was bending over backwards at the time, making excuse after excuse for them to be allowed back into the SPL.

I agree he's doing it by the book now, and doing a good job letting rubber heid hang herself, maybe he learned a valuable lesson from the Sevco shambles?

I'm sure he'd do exactly the same thing again, should the need arise.

My view of the current situation is that he's doing the right thing but there's just not the same pressure on him.

Caversham Green
31-05-2020, 10:35 AM

Doncaster is a solicitor by trade, and I suspect he's a good one - something the Duncans should take note of. That means he chooses his words and actions carefully and can usually give the appearance of taking the middle ground. Unfortunately solicitors like accountants are generally not very good at sales and marketing so he's good for the current circumstances but we need a better salesman for more normal times.

31-05-2020, 11:05 AM
Anyone know who is on sportsound today?

31-05-2020, 11:07 AM

Chic Young, Kenny Miller, Leanne Crichton

31-05-2020, 11:16 AM

I agree he's doing it by the book now, and doing a good job letting rubber heid hang herself, maybe he learned a valuable lesson from the Sevco shambles?You're right, he didn't cover himself in glory but, from memory, he wanted Rangers back in at 2nd tier level as this was what he said he could get the TV companies & sponsors to accept. Things were further confused at the time as the SPL and the Scottish League were still separate entities. Doncaster had no official capacity in the Scottish League.

31-05-2020, 11:18 AM
Chick oink oink Young.

31-05-2020, 11:44 AM

Afternoon sunbathing in the garden then :greengrin Chick Young gees peace

31-05-2020, 11:49 AM

The same auld guff.

06-06-2020, 01:22 PM
I guess the big reveal English hinted at was just the Rangers colt proposal then. Nothing re Hearts proposal or court case. Presume the Hearts is dead like reported in the Sun last night so likely the Rangers one or nowt.

NASAHIBS
06-06-2020, 01:27 PM
I guess the big reveal English hinted at was just the Rangers colt proposal then. Nothing re Hearts proposal or court case. Presume the Hearts is dead like reported in the Sun last night so likely the Rangers one or nowt.

Never tuned in today as would have lost the rag listening to English and his cronies bumming up another crazy proposal.

06-06-2020, 01:27 PM

He thinks it will be difficult to push forward for next season.

Mind you he's thought a lot of guff the last few weeks.

06-06-2020, 01:29 PM
Football in Scotland has no chance of getting going again if this nonsense and propaganda doesn’t stop. It’s a disgrace the stance the national broadcaster is constantly peddling.

06-06-2020, 01:31 PM
On sportsound today English, McCann, craigan, Willie Miller and broadfoot. Spouting about Rangers proposal.

06-06-2020, 01:32 PM
Football in Scotland has no chance of getting going again if this nonsense and propaganda doesn’t stop. It’s a disgrace the stance the national broadcaster is constantly peddling.

Once more, Willie Miller the only one talking sense.

06-06-2020, 01:34 PM

Which is a scary thought? :greengrin

06-06-2020, 01:35 PM

We need to be concentrating on getting football back again, not exploring ways of getting old firm colt teams in. It’s not what we need right now and the BBC should be conveying this.

Badabing
06-06-2020, 01:35 PM
It’s worse than usual today, that clown Craigan has joined the circus. Apparently the cheeks colts being allowed to play is a jolly good idea.

06-06-2020, 01:39 PM
No problem with a proposal and talking about it, I will clubs need to give it due diligence, this can't be resolved in a few days or weeks.

Football starts again in a week and the season starts in 8 weeks.

Season starts as is and these conversations can be had throughout the season.

06-06-2020, 01:43 PM
It's a discussion paper. This isn't going anywhere until next year at best. Opportunist by Rangers because lower League clubs are skint.

Box 17
06-06-2020, 01:51 PM
Elgin chairman rubbishing this latest proposal. Basically saying they are endlessly discussing different ideas about reconstruction when they should be talking about getting football started again.

percy veer
06-06-2020, 01:53 PM
Elgin chairman rubbishing this latest proposal. Basically saying they are endlessly discussing different ideas about reconstruction when they should be talking about getting football started again.

Neil mcann really pushing it "if we can get this through" who is we rangers and hearts

h1bs4life
06-06-2020, 01:56 PM
Got the start of it coming home in the car. WTF they have English a rugby journalist who has probably never paid into a football match in his life never mind had a season ticket promoting a document drawn up by an 8 year old club that has never won a major honour in its history which would also save the worst team in the league in the season just finished who have tried to sweeten ( bribe) the whole league into reconstruction.
Caught the bit where the arse cheeks Colts teams would start in the lowest league but if say Hibs or Aberdeen wanted to do the same they would have to start in the Lowland / Highland league.
Neil Mccan no doubt saying Hertz dont deserve to go down , impartial ?
Time clubs in the top flite outwith the ersecheeks who have just showed how much they hate each other come out and say no reconstruction.

06-06-2020, 01:57 PM

And he’s a hundred percent correct. Premiership clubs due back a week on Monday. How many of them actually have things in place to test etc?

The clubs themselves need to take a bit of responsibility. If they really want to they could close it down and say all they want to look at is the restart and all other proposals won’t be considered just now.

06-06-2020, 01:58 PM
Neil mcann really pushing it "if we can get this through" who is we rangers and hearts

It’s been like this on Sportsound every time a new proposal is brought up. Just about everyone on the show roundly backs whatever mental reconstruction proposal is at the forefront that week. Surely there can’t be much more left to go through once this hun effort is binned.

Hibeesforever
06-06-2020, 02:00 PM
Dont understand why they are discussing a new proposal when the last reconstruction one put forward by Budge is still live...Scottish football governance is all wrong.

06-06-2020, 02:02 PM
Was I hearing it right? English had the document which he was sharing with McCann but virtually no other club did and the SFA and spfl get it on Tuesday. Nothing like a bit of consultation, absolute joke. Get it tae.

06-06-2020, 02:07 PM
Reminds of the day Scot Gardiner called in & admitted to collusion to rig a vote (by ICT & PTFC, only to be skudded by Dundee)

Willie Miller was the only one who clocked it.

English,Gordon,Stewart et al were so consumed inside the hearts agenda bubble to notice.

06-06-2020, 02:11 PM
Hibs should make a proposal now as well, seeing as everybody else is doing it.

I think they should propose two divisions:

A top league of 12 teams, with the existing structure (including split), the season starting in August and finishing the following May (as per usual).

The second tier of 30 teams, playing each other once at home and once away. That would be a total of 58 games, starting in October 2020 and finishing in May 2022... i.e no rush to get started.

The top tier would revert to the name Premier League and would obviously include Dundee United, as they were promoted, but not Hearts, as they were relegated.

The second tier would be called The Diddy Team League

06-06-2020, 02:15 PM

Don't think Sportsound debate topics anymore. They just get a panel on that agree with everything, Willie Miller occasionally being an exception but usually gets talked over and shouted down.

06-06-2020, 02:16 PM
Dont understand why they are discussing a new proposal when the last reconstruction one put forward by Budge is still live...Scottish football governance is all wrong.

Budge’s wasnt really a proposal. There is no proposal that would pass.
I reckon its way too late in the day to start any new proposal.

06-06-2020, 02:19 PM
On sportsound today English, McCann, craigan, Willie Miller and broadfoot. Spouting about Rangers proposal.

What a brutal collection of people.

06-06-2020, 02:20 PM
Budge’s wasnt really a proposal. There is no proposal that would pass.
I reckon its way too late in the day to start any new proposal.

This is the issue. There’s not one clear plan that will gain enough support. It’s a massive waste of time. Some clubs need to put it out there that they simply won’t vote for any reconstruction at this time to stop all this pointless weekly reconstruction tombola.

h1bs4life
06-06-2020, 02:31 PM
Hibs should make a proposal now as well, seeing as everybody else is doing it.

I think they should propose two divisions:

A top league of 12 teams, with the existing structure (including split), the season starting in August and finishing the following May (as per usual).

The second tier of 30 teams, playing each other once at home and once away. That would be a total of 58 games, starting in October 2020 and finishing in May 2022... i.e no rush to get started.

The top tier would revert to the name Premier League and would obviously include Dundee United, as they were promoted, but not Hearts, as they were relegated.

The second tier would be called The Diddy Team League

With no promotion or relegation until 2026 at the earliest

hibeerealist
06-06-2020, 02:35 PM
It’s been like this on Sportsound every time a new proposal is brought up. Just about everyone on the show roundly backs whatever mental reconstruction proposal is at the forefront that week. Surely there can’t be much more left to go through once this hun effort is binned.

Your right H, anything but the status quo!!

Did not hear ANY of them complain current set up not good for purpose as they earned their money (pundits, commentators etc) throughout the season!! Jokers, just fire Annie a FINAL email, you and the Duncan's will watch championship football for at least the next season.......now that was not too difficult was it (hear the squealing from here but job done)!!!

06-06-2020, 02:57 PM
turned off the last two weeks after off the ball has finished, tom english has been a disgrace throughout starting with his support of that pathetic sevco 'dossier' didn't hear a peep from the fud after it was laughed out by the majority, utter F U D of a man, he's attempted to do as harm to scottish football as he can, shame on the sportsound producer(s) it's been a very unhealthy and unbalanced show

06-06-2020, 03:01 PM
To be fair, most of the pundits are saying there are some good points to be scrutinised but generally more time is needed to get it right. Apparently every club would have to get a personal presentation of the proposals and the time span for that is substantial. Neil McCann is the only pundit really pushing for it. I think this will put Budge into Perry Mason mode in the not too distant future.

06-06-2020, 03:02 PM
When Neil McAnn was asked why the proposals Rangers have put forward have to be tied to reconstruction and a 14 team top division, he actually said it was to help Partick Thistle. 😂😂😂 He then went on to say it would also even help Hearts. The whole thing is turning into a circus but it’s only the clowns that are performing. 🤡 Please please please make it stop. 😡

Brunswickbill
06-06-2020, 03:03 PM
Broadfoot is decent. McCann must be getting paid by Hertz and Sevco. He also keeps on talking about what he would do if he was a manager. He needs to have a look at his record.

06-06-2020, 03:03 PM
When Neil McAnn was asked why the proposals Rangers have put forward have to be tied to reconstruction and a 14 team top division, he actually said it was to help Partick Thistle. 😂😂😂 He then went on to say it would also even help Hearts. The whole thing is turning into a circus but it’s only the clowns that are performing. 🤡 Please please please make it stop. 😡

This is the sort of comment, and there have been many, that proves this has all been a total waste of time and is a total crock of s hit

Hibeesforever
06-06-2020, 03:12 PM
Roy Macgregor saying the Rangers proposal a medium term project, not for just now...

06-06-2020, 03:17 PM
It’s all dead in the water imho. If reconstruction is to take place it needs time to be looked at with a proper proposal etc and how it all works.

Not written on the back of a swan vesta pack like budges proposal. Amateur at best.

It’s fair to say hate is a strong word but I hate that club and everything about it.

Championship for them next season away to Alloa, Arbroath etc. Get it right roond ye!

06-06-2020, 03:21 PM
Roy Macgregor saying the Rangers proposal a medium term project, not for just now...

Without listening to it I thought the proposal would ensure the likes of Hearts and partick thistle wouldn't be relegated? Is that now off the table?

06-06-2020, 03:21 PM
What I found astonishing was - Ann Budge crap proposal was the proposal that had been shared and clubs were being asked by 5pm Friday night to give views on it (I think league 1 and 2 have until Tuesday.)

Zero mention of this and the anticipated kicking it in to touch. Instead, it’s ignore that, move on to the Rangers innovation paper.

The ignorance is beyond belief. They can’t even organize themselves professionally and instead jump on the next big Tom English exclusive.

What is clear. Reconstruction to save the jambos is 99.9% dead and they have run out of time. As others have said - all this does is prolong the pain and dilute the so called legal argument they have.

06-06-2020, 03:27 PM
It’s all dead in the water imho. If reconstruction is to take place it needs time to be looked at with a proper proposal etc and how it all works.

Not written on the back of a swan vesta pack like budges proposal. Amateur at best.

It’s fair to say hate is a strong word but I hate that club and everything about it.

Championship for them next season away to Alloa, Arbroath etc. Get it right roond ye!

Yup they are out of time and out of options.

Stuff them. I never liked them but the way they have gone about the last 3 months has been absolutely embarrassing and so typical of them over the years when they get into trouble. I will laugh my ass off when they start playing later this year at Arbroath 😂

06-06-2020, 03:32 PM
Yup they are out of time and out of options.

Stuff them. I never liked them but the way they have gone about the last 3 months has been absolutely embarrassing and so typical of them over the years when they get into trouble. I will laugh my ass off when they start playing later this year at Arbroath [emoji23]

Indeed. If this is how a BIG famous club is suppose to act with statement after statement, threat after threat then I glad we are not BIG and famous like them!

Col I am laughing my ass off as they WILL be playing Alloa etc. I have no doubt about it. Whilst I am not itk, Budges silence since last week has been deafening and that for me is a strong indication!

06-06-2020, 03:34 PM

MacGregor is brilliant. Ross Co. are mega lucky to have him.
He is not going to be steamrolled be The Rangers or anywhere else.

*For those not listening today, Ross County have bought their own Covid Testing machine at a cost of £35,000 and players will be tested twice/week and that will cost £100/player/week.

06-06-2020, 03:50 PM
MacGregor is brilliant. Ross Co. are mega lucky to have him.
He is not going to be steamrolled be The Rangers or anywhere else.

*For those not listening today, Ross County have bought their own Covid Testing machine at a cost of £35,000 and players will be tested twice/week and that will cost £100/player/week.

And they'll share it with local athletes as well. Supports my point earlier that clubs can share the machines rather than needing to buy 42 of them.

06-06-2020, 03:58 PM
What a difference a week makes. Up till last Saturday the Jambo muppets were drooling about English and Stewart fighting their corner and basically thought that reconstruction would definitely and eventually be voted in. Their world has caved in, Budge’s proposals didn’t get a mention and Rangers’ proposals, which dictated the programme, were discussed but too complex to push through in time to save the Jambos. They’re howling for legal action, which Budge will have to take immediately or lose face with her clowns.

06-06-2020, 04:06 PM
What a difference a week makes. Up till last Saturday the Jambo muppets were drooling about English and Stewart fighting their corner and basically thought that reconstruction would definitely and eventually be voted in. Their world has caved in, Budge’s proposals didn’t get a mention and Rangers’ proposals, which dictated the programme, were discussed but too complex to push through in time to save the Jambos. They’re howling for legal action, which Budge will have to take immediately or lose face with her clowns.

And I quote “Gorgierules22”

The fact that we haven’t made any comment yet tells you it’s all in hand.

They just haven’t grasped it yet

06-06-2020, 04:06 PM
And they'll share it with local athletes as well. Supports my point earlier that clubs can share the machines rather than needing to buy 42 of them.

Would you want to hand about a £35k machine between clubs?
It would end up getting damaged/broken so machine and supporting kit would have to stay in a single location which creates logistical issues around testing.
£35K is not a massive amount for the old firm, both Edinburgh clubs and Aberdeen so no issues with them having to buy their own machines as part of their existing medical backup capability*.
Dundee and Dundee Utd could share a machine given their proximity to each other and the likes of Partick Thistle, Clyde, Queens Park and Morton could come to a deal with Celtic/Rangers.

*McGregor stated it can be also be used to do other types of testing.

06-06-2020, 04:11 PM

This thread and the Kickback thread go from joy to despair on a daily if not hourly basis. The truth is no one knows how this will pan out.

06-06-2020, 04:19 PM
Would you want to hand about a £35k machine between clubs?
It would end up getting damaged/broken so machine and supporting kit would have to stay in a single location which creates logistical issues around testing.
£35K is not a massive amount for the old firm, both Edinburgh clubs and Aberdeen so no issues with them having to buy their own machines as part of their existing medical backup capability.
Dundee and Dundee Utd could share a machine given their proximity to each other and the likes of Partick Thistle, Clyde, Queens Park and Morton could come to a deal with Celtic/Rangers.

P.S. McGregor stated it can be also be used to do other types of testing.

If you had a testing kit on Glasgow's Southside ie hampden or toryglen or even Celtic park then all the Glasgow clubs & ayrshire & Lanarkshire would be within half an hour of it by motorway - no logistical problems And consistent with current lockdown rules

Ditto one in Falkirk, 1 in Edinburgh toserve fife Lothian & central Scotland within 30 mins

One in Dundee for perthshire Dundee & Angus based clubs

Aberdeen

Then the 2 highland clubs

Our logistics are near non existent compared to other countries imo

Numptie
06-06-2020, 04:24 PM
Everyone but McCann came round to the idea that we needed to get agreement on how to get young footballers progressing in our game, something that will take time and not linked to mass reconstruction.

06-06-2020, 04:26 PM

Swan Vesta? Showing your age there Aldo 😊

06-06-2020, 04:26 PM
Swan Vesta? Showing your age there Aldo [emoji4]

O aye! I am of that era! (50 this year)

06-06-2020, 04:27 PM
And I quote “Gorgierules22”

The fact that we haven’t made any comment yet tells you it’s all in hand.

They just haven’t grasped it yet

Funnily enough, Leeann Dempster took a few kickings from some of the muppets on their thread. But I suppose that’s like them emptily howling 5-1 at the full moon. If it gives them comfort and solace ..... :greengrin

GonzoReturns
06-06-2020, 04:30 PM
If you had a testing kit on Glasgow's Southside ie hampden or toryglen or even Celtic park then all the Glasgow clubs & ayrshire & Lanarkshire would be within half an hour of it by motorway - no logistical problems And consistent with current lockdown rules

Ditto one in Falkirk, 1 in Edinburgh toserve fife Lothian & central Scotland within 30 mins

One in Dundee for perthshire Dundee & Angus based clubs

Aberdeen

Then the 2 highland clubs

Our logistics are near non existent compared to other countries imo

I wouldn’t have any problem if Hibs bought the equipment and used it to support the lower league clubs in the Lothians like Edinburgh City, Spartans, Hearts etc important the premiership clubs lead the way 👍

06-06-2020, 04:30 PM
O aye! I am of that era! (50 this year)

I wish I was, long time since I saw 50, when I think of Swan vesta I couple it to wild woodbine. 👍😊

06-06-2020, 04:31 PM
I wish I was, long time since I saw 50, when I think of Swan vesta I couple it to wild woodbine. [emoji106][emoji4]

5 woodbine and a box o matches!!

06-06-2020, 04:34 PM
Broadfoot is decent. McCann must be getting paid by Hertz and Sevco. He also keeps on talking about what he would do if he was a manager. He needs to have a look at his record.

He is just a slaver.

06-06-2020, 04:36 PM
Everyone but McCann came round to the idea that we needed to get agreement on how to get young footballers progressing in our game, something that will take time and not linked to mass reconstruction.

Exactly, no one really wants a 14 team top division with an even more ridiculous split. If any other club was sitting in bottom place these muppets would be urging clubs to discuss getting football up and running again and not giving airtime to fairytales. All this is a distraction from doing that and is designed solely for Hearts. So to accommodate their wishes we need to restructure the whole of Scottish football, allow old firm colt teams ahead of the pyramid system, only allow old firm teams direct access to league 2, relegate teams further down the divisions and increase the already oversized leagues to 46 teams from 42. All to save Hearts (oops Partick Thistle 😊). Farcical nonsense that needs to stop.

06-06-2020, 04:39 PM

How posh, most of us had to settle for a wee paper book of matches.

06-06-2020, 04:40 PM
How posh, most of us had to settle for a wee paper book of matches.

I’ve never smoked Jim. Quote from my dad and grandad! [emoji85]

06-06-2020, 04:50 PM

Or if really desperate "do you sell singles" oh happy days. 😏

06-06-2020, 04:51 PM
Or if really desperate "do you sell singles" oh happy days. [emoji57]

Indeed.

06-06-2020, 04:53 PM
Indeed.

Hijacked the thread there, always wanted to do that first time for everything 😂

06-06-2020, 04:54 PM
Hijacked the thread there, always wanted to do that first time for everything [emoji23]

[emoji23]

I’ll get it back... Budge your reconstruction proposal was utter *****!

06-06-2020, 05:17 PM
[emoji23]

I’ll get it back... Budge your reconstruction proposal was utter *****!

No you haven't...Budgie is looking for some Swan Vestas too as the only match Jumbos will see any time soon.

06-06-2020, 05:22 PM
No you haven't...Budgie is looking for some Swan Vestas too as the only match Jumbos will see any time soon.

06-06-2020, 06:58 PM
I wish I was, long time since I saw 50, when I think of Swan vesta I couple it to wild woodbine. 👍😊

Can’t believe I used to have a woodbine occasionally!

06-06-2020, 07:00 PM
Or if really desperate "do you sell singles" oh happy days. 😏

Remember Bristol singles, then no.6

h185forever
06-06-2020, 07:01 PM
Bluebell matches .....

06-06-2020, 07:11 PM

Cadets.

06-06-2020, 07:53 PM
Can’t believe I used to have a woodbine occasionally!

Cadets.

You guys must have come from well off families.
I could only get Park Drive. :wink:

06-06-2020, 08:48 PM
My father smoked Capstan full strength, now that was a cigarette!

06-06-2020, 09:46 PM

Cadets were cheap and only slightly bigger than the matches! 😂

06-06-2020, 09:50 PM

😂😂

08-06-2020, 11:41 AM
Levein interview with sportsound to be released within the next hour ��

Here it is:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08gcpfs

08-06-2020, 02:29 PM
Levein interview with sportsound to be released within the next hour ��

Here it is:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/programmes/p08gcpfs

Still peddling the illegitimate expulsion line

15-06-2020, 02:20 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/sounds/play/p08h145s

Levein and English rattled 😂😂😂

15-06-2020, 02:54 PM
Tom English is a disgrace. The way he speaks to Donald Findlay in that podcast is ridiculously hostile.

If any other BBC employee spoke to a guest like that on a radio station or TV they'd be facing disciplinary action.

15-06-2020, 03:03 PM
Love the quote from Findlay which shut down English.

"Not one person from Hearts bothered to call me about the proposal."

15-06-2020, 03:04 PM
Tom English is a disgrace. The way he speaks to Donald Findlay in that podcast is ridiculously hostile.

If any other BBC employee spoke to a guest like that on a radio station or TV they'd be facing disciplinary action.

I doubt Donald Findlay is worried about Tom English, nor anyone else that Radio Scotland can chuck at him.

15-06-2020, 03:05 PM

And his childlike reply "well , did you bother to call Hearts?". It's Budge who was pushing reconstruction not Cowdenbeath so the onus is on Hearts to reach out , not the other way around.

15-06-2020, 03:06 PM
And his childlike reply "well , did you bother to call Hearts?". It's Budge who was pushing reconstruction not Cowdenbeath so the onus is on Hearts to reach out , not the other way around.

Completely shut him up.

You can hear the rage coming off the pair of them its vicious!

15-06-2020, 03:10 PM
Currently halfway through it and I started howling at the part when he said the following:

Levein - “The next time Cowdenbeath are looking for a player on loan from Hearts, what do you think there chances are”?

Levein’s little parrot Tom English was is in agreement.

15-06-2020, 03:12 PM
Currently halfway through it and I started howling at the part when he said the following:

Levein - “The next time Cowdenbeath are looking for a player on loan from Hearts, what do you think there chances are”?

DF called that - "petty and pathetic"

Has he never met Levein before? :confused::wink:

Brunswickbill
15-06-2020, 03:12 PM
Donald Finlay was spot on. First guest I can recall who argued against the Sportsound line. English is a disgrace. He has gone out of his way to promote his own biased view and his antagonism towards Finlay was our of order. He constantly attacks Doncaster when he knows he can’t defend himself. If he hates Scottish Fitba so much he should be looking for a job elsewhere.

15-06-2020, 03:15 PM
Donald Finlay was spot on. First guest I can recall who argued against the Sportsound line. English is a disgrace. He has gone out of his way to promote his own biased view and his antagonism towards Finlay was our of order. He constantly attacks Doncaster when he knows he can’t defend himself. If he hates Scottish Fitba so much he should be looking for a job elsewhere.

Who’s going to be interested in employing that slaver? The guy talks absolute horse manure.

15-06-2020, 03:18 PM
Donald Findlay ripping Levein and English a new erse was joyful listening. His measured and reasoned arguments in complete contrast to English and Levein’s hysterics. Men v Boys stuff.

15-06-2020, 03:19 PM

What is wrong with people connected to Hearts? From members of their board past and present to players and ex players and fans they are so arrogant. Where do they get it from?

The Rebel
15-06-2020, 03:21 PM

Later in the conversation he tried to distance himself by saying he’s not at Hearts anymore. You can bet if he was that this is exactly what he’d be doing. He couldn’t help being bitter and carrying a grudge into future interactions with other clubs.

He kept saying that he had an issue with the unfairness of it all. Remember a time, not so long ago, where he commented on our disallowed goal against them, saying that it would be funny if tv pictures proved it had indeed crossed the line. That’s not fair either is it Craig? Didn’t seem bothered then with fairness.

15-06-2020, 03:27 PM
The last few minutes of that are incredible. Tom English obviously realises he's had his arse handed to him by DF so starts spouting off about League 2 where DF obviously knows just a little more about it than the other 2 idiots. :rolleyes:

15-06-2020, 03:27 PM
Tom English criticising the clubs for coming up with self serving rationale? :greengrin

Craig Levien saying it's the people running Scottish football who got us in to this mess? Erm......who was in charge at Hearts? :greengrin

Pair of trumpets.

15-06-2020, 03:29 PM
DF called that - "petty and pathetic"

Has he never met Levein before? :confused::wink:

The thing is that both Hibs & Hearts have had very good relations with Cowdenbeath over the years in terms of loan deals (which are meant to be beneficial for all parties).

If Hearts want to fall out with everyone then fine - all the better for us!

15-06-2020, 03:30 PM
Can you imagine what would happen to TE if he spoke to someone in a bar like the way he does ?

rossevenil
15-06-2020, 03:31 PM
Tried to listen but jeez its cringeworthy listening to the pair of aholes (Levein and English) never thought I`d have a nice word to say about Findlay but he`s sticking to his guns and quite rightly to,what got me w
was when Levein said but Cowdenbeath were never gonna get promoted!! How bloody condescending from the man who helped get hearts to where they are,and hearts were gonna win enough games to avoid relegation were they you
dick......any chance you could give me the lottery numbers seeing as you seem to be able to see into the future Craigy boy!

As for english,dear o dear time someone handed him his coat,an absolute idiot with his remarks on the back of Findlay saying he had nobody from hearts contact him to discuss the proposals of reconstruction to garner support.....so English retorts with "well did you call them?" SERIOUSLY??? You need my support but i`ll do the calling around you complete idiot!

15-06-2020, 03:32 PM
March 2020 - Games cannot be played. Season 19/20 cannot be completed fully due to contractual issues if it was to be completed after June 1st

April 2020 - Clubs vote to end the season and final standings are based on sporting performance of the season and teams are relegated and promoted accordingly.

May 2020 - Reconstruction involving a 14 team league is repeatedly suggested despite it significantly affecting the quality of the top league for the fans.

June 2020 - Reconstruction rejected because no one out with clubs relegated on sporting merit want it and because clubs need to prepare for start of season in August.

Where exactly is the unfairness in the above sequence of events and where is the legal case because I’m confused as to what they’re bleating about?

15-06-2020, 03:34 PM
I've always liked Donald Findlay despite his hunnishness. The game needs characters - goodies & baddies!

15-06-2020, 03:36 PM
Given the overwhelming result, am now of the view Budge knew every variation of reconstruction would fail but has been playing the game to save her skin. Budge would have known this from leading first review, and she knows the problems with a 14 team Prem.

This is all about money and has been for a while. Even if they take legal action and win, a judge can't force the SPFL to reinstate Hearts or to have a 14 team league - simply award compensation.

Budge just wants to be able to say "look how we've been unfairly punished" but we were in the right and have managed to get £ millions from them through the courts or more likely in an out of court settlement. That would suit Budge and Hearts fans to a tee. In fact it's probably a better outcome than squirming back into the Prem through a back door with a crap squad and no manager.

Their £3M, £5M, £10M compo is fantasy, and they know it. Their loss for 1 season during Covid is going to be a fraction of that. This is now all about Budge saving face and I'm not sure how the SPFL can help her do that quietly. The court action is high risk. Fail and she'll be destroyed, but no less than she deserves for the way she's run Hearts into the dirt and the way she's behaved in last 10 weeks.

15-06-2020, 03:36 PM
March 2020 - Games cannot be played. Season 19/20 cannot be completed fully due to contractual issues if it was to be completed after June 1st

April 2020 - Clubs UNANIMOUSLY vote to end the season and final standings are based on sporting performance of the season and teams are relegated and promoted accordingly.

May 2020 - Reconstruction involving a 14 team league is repeatedly suggested despite it significantly affecting the quality of the top league for the fans.

June 2020 - Reconstruction rejected because no one out with clubs relegated on sporting merit want it and because clubs need to prepare for start of season in August.

Where exactly is the unfairness in the above sequence of events and where is the legal case because I’m confused as to what they’re bleating about?

Just a slight edit :greengrin

15-06-2020, 03:40 PM
Podcast was a good listen. Can't believe Levein had the cheek to claim Cowdenbeath had no chance of promotion through the play-offs. Finlay quite right to respond that Hearts had no chance of avoiding relegation.

coldingham hibs
15-06-2020, 03:42 PM
Hate to say it but Donald Findlay was excellent.

15-06-2020, 03:44 PM
Podcast was a good listen. Can't believe Levein had the cheek to claim Cowdenbeath had no chance of promotion through the play-offs. Finlay quite right to respond that Hearts had no chance of avoiding relegation.

Yep, complete childish comment by Levein. I’m glad Findlay shut him back up with his own “Hearts had no chance of avoiding relegation”.

It wasn’t exactly a difficult task against that pair of idiots, but he was good!

H113EE5

Dislike the man to the core but he’s been great. :not worth:not worth

15-06-2020, 03:50 PM
The last few minutes of that are incredible. Tom English obviously realises he's had his arse handed to him by DF so starts spouting off about League 2 where DF obviously knows just a little more about it than the other 2 idiots. :rolleyes:

Love him or loathe him Findlay is no fool so why English thought that talking down to him was a good idea is baffling.

15-06-2020, 03:51 PM
The hamilton vice chairman on that shanner of a programme alan rough is on saying he thinks bbc scotlands coverage has been a disgrace and they havent fairly represented both sides of the arguement..about time someone official mentioned this.

15-06-2020, 03:56 PM
The hamilton vice chairman on that shanner of a programme alan rough is on saying he thinks bbc scotlands coverage has been a disgrace and they havent fairly represented both sides of the arguement..about time someone official mentioned this.

Just turned that on and heard it. 100% right. It’s been pathetic.

Did Les Gray say how Hamilton voted? Missed the earlier bit.

15-06-2020, 03:59 PM

He didnt say how they voted but he said that from the start they were in favour of reconstruction so i assume they voted yes.

15-06-2020, 04:02 PM
Tom English has had an absolute nightmare three months

15-06-2020, 04:08 PM
I wonder if TE would be acting the same if he found out that Celtic was one of the clubs that voted to relegate Hearts, i dare him to take on the Celtic chairman !

Brunswickbill
15-06-2020, 04:13 PM
Les Gray, vice chair of Hamilton and SPFL Board Member, was interviewed on PLZ Football Show this afternoon. He said that a lot of the division that has taken place has been magnified by the media and highlighted BBC Radio coverage which he said had been very unbalanced or words to that effect. He said that he had actually spoken to the BBC about it. So it’s not just posters on this thread that think that way.

Apologies - just seen previous post covering this.

h1bs4life
15-06-2020, 06:17 PM
Listened to the podcast. Only the BBC could get the person who is the reason why Hertz are in the position they are for an impartial view. Donald Finley came accross well Enlgish and Doctor football better watch there blood pressure. Never heard any funny quips from Dr F .

Caversham Green
15-06-2020, 06:36 PM
Love him or loathe him Findlay is no fool so why English thought that talking down to him was a good idea is baffling.

Maybe it's because English is a fool. It certainly sounded that way.

15-06-2020, 06:44 PM
Les Gray, vice chair of Hamilton and SPFL Board Member, was interviewed on PLZ Football Show this afternoon. He said that a lot of the division that has taken place has been magnified by the media and highlighted BBC Radio coverage which he said had been very unbalanced or words to that effect. He said that he had actually spoken to the BBC about it. So it’s not just posters on this thread that think that way.

Apologies - just seen previous post covering this.

BBC Radio Scotland are being run like a commercial station when it comes to football content in my opinion. I get the fact that they are in it for listeners/ratings etc but they need to uplevel their game.

I’ve been searching all day today for a copy of Bob Crampsey’s first 100 years of Scottish Football book. Now there is a guy who at one time would have been fulfilling the role Tom English is in just now, English couldn’t be compared in any way in terms of knowledge or ability.

15-06-2020, 06:46 PM

He was being a stick in the mud about the whole affair. Just crazy from him.

15-06-2020, 06:49 PM

Maybe the SPFL would be better not renewing the radio deal with the BBC and cutting ties with them. Surely there are alternatives for broadcasting live radio of the games. Online? App based?

15-06-2020, 06:56 PM

He completely loses the plot and obviously can't deal with the fact someone is better at arguing than him. All professionalism goes out the window and he's like a petulant child.

15-06-2020, 06:59 PM
Yep, complete childish comment by Levein. I’m glad Findlay shut him back up with his own “Hearts had no chance of avoiding relegation”.

Shame he didn't say "I rest my case" at that point.

Saturday Boy
15-06-2020, 07:03 PM
He was being a stick in the mud about the whole affair. Just crazy from him.

Spot on. My first thought on hearing him was, that’s neat.

15-06-2020, 07:06 PM

I just checked it out and it was great to hear English left floundering like that. Guys like him who position themselves as 'intelligent' sports journalists clearly think that they're smarter than most of the Scottish football world and simply aren't prepared for somebody within that world proving a great deal more street-wise than them. His come-uppance was long overdue.

15-06-2020, 07:07 PM
What is it about this program and it’s love of Hearts. The majority of Scottish football disagrees with their view point yet we only get the “Hearts have been unfairly treated” view over and over.

Anyone got the link to complain? 😁

Smiggy 7-0
15-06-2020, 07:10 PM
Definition of impartial. : not partial or biased : treating or affecting all equally.

BBC Sportsound take note.

h1bs4life
15-06-2020, 07:19 PM
Sportsound is another reason why the TV license should be scrapped. BBC can do what they want without recourse.
1 way to stop them charging the over 75's for a license is to scrap it for everyone.
Why in this day and age are we forced to pay for a TV license even if we do not want to watch or listen to the BBC.
Time for them to take on adverts / become a subscription channel.

15-06-2020, 07:21 PM
Wonder if Sportsound will do a podcast with Jon Obika :greengrin:aok:

If not, I think Hibs should :faf::agree:

15-06-2020, 07:32 PM
Given the overwhelming result, am now of the view Budge knew every variation of reconstruction would fail but has been playing the game to save her skin. Budge would have known this from leading first review, and she knows the problems with a 14 team Prem.

This is all about money and has been for a while. Even if they take legal action and win, a judge can't force the SPFL to reinstate Hearts or to have a 14 team league - simply award compensation.

Budge just wants to be able to say "look how we've been unfairly punished" but we were in the right and have managed to get £ millions from them through the courts or more likely in an out of court settlement. That would suit Budge and Hearts fans to a tee. In fact it's probably a better outcome than squirming back into the Prem through a back door with a crap squad and no manager.

Their £3M, £5M, £10M compo is fantasy, and they know it. Their loss for 1 season during Covid is going to be a fraction of that. This is now all about Budge saving face and I'm not sure how the SPFL can help her do that quietly. The court action is high risk. Fail and she'll be destroyed, but no less than she deserves for the way she's run Hearts into the dirt and the way she's behaved in last 10 weeks.

I think Budge deserves our highest praise for running Hearts into the dirt!!

15-06-2020, 09:03 PM

Levein and English rattled 😂😂😂

Definitely worth a listen if you haven’t already.

Leveins Jambo tears - hilarious.

Alan62
15-06-2020, 09:04 PM
I was actually a little disappointed with Donald Findlay. He could have skewered the cretins on so many occasions but seemed a little slow to react when the opportunities arose.

If he'd prepared his case a little better, he would definitely have pointed to the fact that Levein, more than anyone else, was responsible for Hearts' relegation.

He could have pointed to the fact that during her time on the SPFL Board, Mrs Budge never once raised the issue of league reconstruction.

He could have indicated quite clearly that stopping the season early was within the League's rules.

He could have pointed out that once the clubs had ruled out 'null and void' as a solution to the crisis, the only way forward was to accept a formula for calculating the final standings. Once you commit to that, the outcome is binding.

Reconstruction isn't a means of solving the end of season puzzle, it's a means of improving the future of the game in Scotland. Despite being given the opportunity to lead a working party on the topic, Mrs Budge couldn't put forward a coherent proposal either for a temporary or a permanent solution. And, before anyone says otherwise, you can't put forward a 14 team league proposal without showing the mechanics of how that works and defining the membership criteria. For example, it's been widely assumed that Inverness would be the 14th team in the league but if the notion is that Hearts, Partick and Stranraer can't be relegated because the season hadn't been completed then surely ICT couldn't be promoted on the same basis.

If they get as far as court, they'll fail.

Tommy75
15-06-2020, 09:13 PM
Listened to this show for the first time today. What is Tom English's role? Genuine question - is he supposed to be there to chair the discussion, if so surely he should be impartial. Panel shows like this lack any credibility without impartial chairs scrutinising both sides of the argument.

Highlights of the show:
1 - Cowdenbeath can forget about getting players on loan from Hearts
2 - Clubs should have been contacting Hearts to discuss reconstruction (not the other way about apparently)
3. Everything Hearts do is for the benefit of Scottish football (Tom English and Craig Levein said so must be true)

15-06-2020, 09:16 PM
Wow! This thread makes interesting reading re the sportsound debate with levein, English and Findlay.
I haven't given it a listen yet BUT I did read the kickback summary of it s couple of hours ago.
Their take was this: Findlay (the legendary QC) is a blethering simpleton who was completely out thought by the brilliant (their take, not mine) Tom English AND Mr Levein who revealed himself to be a canny operator on behalf of hearts, despite his last 4 years of complete ineptness.

2 sides to every tale eh 😆

15-06-2020, 09:43 PM
Listened to this show for the first time today. What is Tom English's role? Genuine question - is he supposed to be there to chair the discussion, if so surely he should be inpartial. Panel shows like this lack any credibility without impartial chairs scrutinising both sides of the argument.

Highlights of the show:
2 - Clubs should have been contacting Hearts to discuss reconstruction (not the other way about apparently)
3. Everything Hearts do is for the benefit of Scottish football (Tom English and Craig Levein said so must be true)

TE’s role wasn't to chair the discussion. I think that was meant to be Kenny McIntyre and he didn’t make a very good job of it. English and Levein were there to champion Hearts’ cause, which in the case of English, was, given his role within the BBC, out of order. There was no impartiality, which, as somebody has already pointed out, is one of the cornerstones of the BBC’s reporting ethos. When he came onto the scene several years ago, he was fresh, thought provoking and independent. He has morphed into a droning, repetitive bore with no balance for both sides of any discussion he is involved in. If you didn’t know any better, you wouldn’t be faulted for believing he was an employee of HMFC.

15-06-2020, 09:45 PM

Levein and English rattled ������

loved listening to that, levein and english are a pair of welts

Tom's love in with hearts shines through, i'm sure he has a crush on budge, must be that shortbread tin of an outfit that she wears

15-06-2020, 09:49 PM
Wow! This thread makes interesting reading re the sportsound debate with levein, English and Findlay.
I haven't given it a listen yet BUT I did read the kickback summary of it s couple of hours ago.
Their take was this: Findlay (the legendary QC) is a blethering simpleton who was completely out thought by the brilliant (their take, not mine) Tom English AND Mr Levein who revealed himself to be a canny operator on behalf of hearts, despite his last 4 years of complete ineptness.

2 sides to every tale eh 😆
Donald Findlay was on the side of truth on this occasion.

gaz1875
15-06-2020, 10:05 PM
I was actually a little disappointed with Donald Findlay. He could have skewered the cretins on so many occasions but seemed a little slow to react when the opportunities arose.

If he'd prepared his case a little better, he would definitely have pointed to the fact that Levein, more than anyone else, was responsible for Hearts' relegation.

He could have pointed to the fact that during her time on the SPFL Board, Mrs Budge never once raised the issue of league reconstruction.

He could have indicated quite clearly that stopping the season early was within the League's rules.

He could have pointed out that once the clubs had ruled out 'null and void' as a solution to the crisis, the only way forward was to accept a formula for calculating the final standings. Once you commit to that, the outcome is binding.

Reconstruction isn't a means of solving the end of season puzzle, it's a means of improving the future of the game in Scotland. Despite being given the opportunity to lead a working party on the topic, Mrs Budge couldn't put forward a coherent proposal either for a temporary or a permanent solution. And, before anyone says otherwise, you can't put forward a 14 team league proposal without showing the mechanics of how that works and defining the membership criteria. For example, it's been widely assumed that Inverness would be the 14th team in the league but if the notion is that Hearts, Partick and Stranraer can't be relegated because the season hadn't been completed then surely ICT couldn't be promoted on the same basis.

I thought he just laughed them off and as you have perfectly noted above, he could have slaughtered them with these factual points. :top marks

gaz1875
15-06-2020, 10:08 PM
TE’s role wasn't to chair the discussion. I think that was meant to be Kenny McIntyre and he didn’t make a very good job of it. English and Levein were there to champion Hearts’ cause, which in the case of English, was, given his role within the BBC, out of order. There was no impartiality, which, as somebody has already pointed out, is one of the cornerstones of the BBC’s reporting ethos. When he came onto the scene several years ago, he was fresh, thought provoking and independent. He has morphed into a droning, repetitive bore with no balance for both sides of any discussion he is involved in. If you didn’t know any better, you wouldn’t be faulted for believing he was an employee of HMFC.

The Hertz "Jim Traynor"

16-06-2020, 12:15 AM
Sportsound should have spent time looking at the proposal in detail - the pros and cons of a 14 team top flight. Given it some proper forensic analysis to understand what was being voted on outside of the lens of saving Hearts.

They've failed their listeners in that respect, the discussion has centred on saving clubs, when that's only a part of the issue.

Who has listened to that show and come away with a real understanding of what the set up would be, why it was better or worse than the current set up?

Where were the fans' representatives of various clubs to say what they thought about reconstruction?

Where was the discussion on whether it made the league easier to sell with a split halfway into the season?

The narrative was divisive from the start, and they never once got a handle on the issue of reconstruction other than repeating the nonsense about clubs being all about self interest and not caring about unfairness.

Their coverage has been a disgrace.

16-06-2020, 12:43 AM
loved listening to that, levein and english are a pair of welts

Tom's love in with hearts shines through, i'm sure he has a crush on budge, must be that shortbread tin of an outfit that she wears

There is no point listening to sportsound if your looking for a debate on th football issues of the day. It stopped doing that before we won the cup. Clyde superscoreboard is a decent stab at an actual discussion but obviously mostly about a certain two clubs. I’ve stopped even reading the website of BBC Scotland sport as its content seems like it’s written by a teenager. Desperate that it is so bad and unless English is binned and they start having balanced discussions I won’t be putting it on. I don’t miss it whatsoever.

16-06-2020, 03:33 AM
There is no point listening to sportsound if your looking for a debate on th football issues of the day. It stopped doing that before we won the cup. Clyde superscoreboard is a decent stab at an actual discussion but obviously mostly about a certain two clubs. I’ve stopped even reading the website of BBC Scotland sport as its content seems like it’s written by a teenager. Desperate that it is so bad and unless English is binned and they start having balanced discussions I won’t be putting it on. I don’t miss it whatsoever.
Same here. When off the ball finished -Cowan as bad as Sportsound - read Hibs Net until the Hibs coverage starts here in the Philippines.

Brunswickbill
16-06-2020, 06:26 AM
You would expect the BBC’s chief sports writer in Scotland to have some kind of inkling into what thE SPFL clubs were thinking and what the outcome of yesterday’s consultation was likely to be. A decent journalist in his position should have been able to contact the clubs or insiders ITK to get a feel of how clubs were thinking. Instead the result seems to have come as a complete surprise to English. What has been doing for the last 3 months? He had not been investigating and reporting, instead he has been a cheerleader for Mrs Budge and Hearts. He’s sought out and promoted anyone who supported his attacks on the SPFL generally and Neill Doncaster in particular. There has been no detailed assessment of the implications of a 14 team Premiership. No discussion of a 12-12-10-10 league set up that could have resolved a lot of the “unfairness” but which didn’t suit Hearts. It has been constant girning, promoting the view of one club and crucially, he’s not been doing the job he’s paid to do by the BBC.

16-06-2020, 06:37 AM

He clearly didn't want to be seen as directly attacking Hearts and was at pains to say he had friends at Hearts however imo he played it exactly right and was able to correct the fools on key points and make them look silly on a number of occasions.

16-06-2020, 06:46 AM
You would expect the BBC’s chief sports writer in Scotland to have some kind of inkling into what thE SPFL clubs were thinking and what the outcome of yesterday’s consultation was likely to be. A decent journalist in his position should have been able to contact the clubs or insiders ITK to get a feel of how clubs were thinking. Instead the result seems to have come as a complete surprise to English. What has been doing for the last 3 months? He had not been investigating and reporting, instead he has been a cheerleader for Mrs Budge and Hearts. He’s sought out and promoted anyone who supported his attacks on the SPFL generally and Neill Doncaster in particular. There has been no detailed assessment of the implications of a 14 team Premiership. No discussion of a 12-12-10-10 league set up that could have resolved a lot of the “unfairness” but which didn’t suit Hearts. It has been constant girning, promoting the view of one club and crucially, he’s not been doing the job he’s paid to do by the BBC.

Spot on in every aspect no idea what he was thinking of and just came over as a complete Hearts cheerleader. As you say no discussion about the key points of the proposal and the financial impact of moving from 12 to 14 or full discussion about relegation moving forward. Saying over and over it is unfair isn't discussion. All we have had is the vast majority of pundits on that show slagging off the governance of Scottish football over and over again. Are these guys not meant to promote the game? Sure someone on here said that someone in a pretty senior position on that show is a Hearts fan? No idea if that is the case however would explain a lot if he controls the editorial direction of that show given the predominant view in the last months and the make up of the panel - Levein on twice recently, really :rolleyes:

16-06-2020, 07:06 AM

I’ve just listened and was amazed to hear this. How can anyone think this is the best way to get others on board? Basically go to the papers, bleat about fairness, the greater good and criticise others for self interest. A quick phone call would’ve been a better approach.

16-06-2020, 07:07 AM
I think English is trying to be Scottish football’s version of Emily Maitlis and failing badly. His tone and questioning would be fine if he knew what he was talking about, done the research and was quick enough when faced with someone with half a brain. He used to struggle against Mikey Stewart never mind Donald Findlay.

16-06-2020, 07:16 AM
He used to struggle against Mikey Stewart never mind Donald Findlay.Anyone seen him recently?

The Rebel
16-06-2020, 07:21 AM
Sportsound should have spent time looking at the proposal in detail - the pros and cons of a 14 team top flight. Given it some proper forensic analysis to understand what was being voted on outside of the lens of saving Hearts.

They've failed their listeners in that respect, the discussion has centred on saving clubs, when that's only a part of the issue.

Who has listened to that show and come away with a real understanding of what the set up would be, why it was better or worse than the current set up?

Where were the fans' representatives of various clubs to say what they thought about reconstruction?

Where was the discussion on whether it made the league easier to sell with a split halfway into the season?

The narrative was divisive from the start, and they never once got a handle on the issue of reconstruction other than repeating the nonsense about clubs being all about self interest and not caring about unfairness.

Great post. That’s the issue in a nutshell. Sportsound has had no balanced coverage of the situation whatsoever.

Willie Miller has had a slight muttering of issues, but was always shot down. Donald Findlay yesterday mentioned very briefly the issue of relegation in a 14 team league, but aside from that the only argument they have for the proposal is that it expels any unfairness and saves Hearts. Oh, and Partick Thistle and Stranraer of course.

Not one episode where they have considered the proposal on its merits and what it means for Scottish football. The problems that a 14 team league brings is the reason why the proposal has failed. To fail to report on these issues and how, or if they could be overcome, is simply inept, or more likely as you put it, divisive. You only have to look at the pundits that they continue to wheel out

Not what should be expected of our supposedly impartial broadcaster. Very poor indeed.

16-06-2020, 07:21 AM

Good post although it assumes some sort of common sense at the Beeb and we've seen nothing off that for quite some time.

I think this whole sorry saga has secretly been a godsend for them with no football and although they didn't create this they have certainly done their best to stoke division, create drama and frankly been irresponsible with their output.

They have basically turned into tabloid tv.

16-06-2020, 07:25 AM

Perfectly summed up.

16-06-2020, 07:28 AM

Great summary - and how depressing is it that the BBC is now reduced to tittle tattle rather than quality analysis on our game - we need to support new media which can bring much better and deeper insight and analysis.

steviehibsleith
16-06-2020, 07:31 AM
DF was great IMO . Most have been pointed out already but I also liked the bit where TE was badgering him on Championship start date throughout. After his 3rd attempt a reply from DF Do I Not Speak English ! I have answered you already We will plan for October 17th .

And Levein was ripped when saying we won’t loan Hearts youngsters to Cowdenbeath, DF reply your a better man than that Craig.

16-06-2020, 07:36 AM
Spot on in every aspect no idea what he was thinking of and just came over as a complete Hearts cheerleader. As you say no discussion about the key points of the proposal and the financial impact of moving from 12 to 14 or full discussion about relegation moving forward. Saying over and over it is unfair isn't discussion. All we have had is the vast majority of pundits on that show slagging off the governance of Scottish football over and over again. Are these guys not meant to promote the game? Sure someone on here said that someone in a pretty senior position on that show is a Hearts fan? No idea if that is the case however would explain a lot if he controls the editorial direction of that show given the predominant view in the last months and the make up of the panel - Levein on twice recently, really :rolleyes:

The biggest failure of bbc Scotland was that there was no analysis on the proposals and why it was a good/bad proposal. They have spent the best part of three months trying to get hertz back in the spl with just that it was so unfair on them. So unfair that over 80% voted to finish the season as is.They didn’t give a toss about Patrick or Stranraer.The journalistic standards are utterly rock bottom and it’s only when the likes of Roy McGregor comes on do we get some real insight. I’d love to think they might review what’s happened but no doubt they will double down on legal action which will hit every club bar hertz in the pocket. Aye that’s fair right enough.
I’ve stayed off here for a few days as it was annoying me so much but now I can get back to some gardening and peace and quiet. Oh dear,how sad,never mind. Now budge says shame on all the clubs who voted no. Only wants a democratic vote if it goes her way. When they eventually start playing in the championship there will get frosty receptions wherever they go. Utter loonies the lot of them.

ACLeith
16-06-2020, 07:48 AM
Managed to listen to the Podcast this morning. Nothing really new to say, but want to vent my spleen with it anyway!

If you want fair, unbiased analysis of issues then keep away from the BBC. And I don't just mean with this issue. Instead of being 2 v 1 with a chair who either refused to intervene or was instructed not to, it should have been, say, English v Findlay with MacIntyre leading/controlling the discussion. Findlay would still have wiped the floor with him.

Levein added zero to the subject. I think he mentioned Ann Budge just the once, saying she was "strong-willed" and did what was right for Hearts. I thought Findalay missed an open goal there as he could have asked him if that was her reason for sacking him!

Findlay could also have mentioned the issues that have been mentioned on here about them not using the CAS route and the potential very serious ramifications of not doing so. But maybe he was being gentle with them and keeping his powder dry on that one.

16-06-2020, 08:01 AM
I’ve just listened and was amazed to hear this. How can anyone think this is the best way to get others on board? Basically go to the papers, bleat about fairness, the greater good and criticise others for self interest. A quick phone call would’ve been a better approach.

100%

it was up to budge to engage with other teams, not for other teams to have to contact budge, she scored an instant own goal

16-06-2020, 08:01 AM
Good post although it assumes some sort of common sense at the Beeb and we've seen nothing off that for quite some time.

I think this whole sorry saga has secretly been a godsend for them with no football and although they didn't create this they have certainly done their best to stoke division, create drama and frankly been irresponsible with their output.

Exactly that. It seemed that they wanted something controversial said every weekend so they could be in Monday’s papers and folk would tune in. A few possibly did but I’m sure the vast majority switched off after actually listening to it. It’s so excruciatingly bad which is tragic as it used to be essential listening when the likes of Craig Paterson and Jim spence were on. Shame on you bbc and another nail in the coffin.

16-06-2020, 08:35 AM

That's exactly what Les Gray said yesterday about the media. Even though he was for reconstruction, he could see the other viewpoint which none of the pro Hearts campaigners could. Gray is a man of integrity.

Good interview with him at 26 minutes in.

https://youtu.be/DXT7E7tdn7E

16-06-2020, 08:35 AM
Just listened to the podcast and all three of them came across as cynical, tired old fossils with nothing but bitterness, recrimination and small mindedness.

Scottish football needs new, progressive thinkers to take the game forward and I think they are in short supply.

16-06-2020, 08:48 AM
Listened to this show for the first time today. What is Tom English's role? Genuine question - is he supposed to be there to chair the discussion, if so surely he should be impartial. Panel shows like this lack any credibility without impartial chairs scrutinising both sides of the argument.

Highlights of the show:

Levein and TE don’t surprise me by their actions

1. What’s it got to do with Levein his not at the club anymore
2. Whose proposal was it [emoji848] ah yes Heartscso why should the clubs be phoning them to find out?? It’s up to Budge and co to put it to them.
3. Really. Like sure the associated members.

Levein won nowt and has been part of this current demise so let’s all laugh at him. Well done Potter.

As for TE I don’t listen to the programme anymore but I’m surprised no one has complained about him.

16-06-2020, 08:49 AM

Really well said Matty, it’s an absolute nonsense that the national broadcaster has been allowed to do nothing but bleat about the unfairness of everything without analysing the consequences of reconstruction.

Tom English has been awful throughout this. Donald Findlay ragdolled him yesterday, it’s very interesting to see just how incompetent he sounds when he’s not talking to “Thommo” and Neil McCann and the rest of them.

KingPat4
16-06-2020, 08:52 AM
Only managed 10 minutes. Absolute drivel.

Caversham Green
16-06-2020, 09:08 AM
Managed to listen to the Podcast this morning. Nothing really new to say, but want to vent my spleen with it anyway!

If you want fair, unbiased analysis of issues then keep away from the BBC. And I don't just mean with this issue. Instead of being 2 v 1 with a chair who either refused to intervene or was instructed not to, it should have been, say, English v Findlay with MacIntyre leading/controlling the discussion. Findlay would still have wiped the floor with him.

Levein added zero to the subject. I think he mentioned Ann Budge just the once, saying she was "strong-willed" and did what was right for Hearts. I thought Findalay missed an open goal there as he could have asked him if that was her reason for sacking him!

Findlay could also have mentioned the issues that have been mentioned on here about them not using the CAS route and the potential very serious ramifications of not doing so. But maybe he was being gentle with them and keeping his powder dry on that one.

He missed another open goal in the loan player conversation:

"Come on Craig you're not that petty"
"Ah'm no at Hearts any more"
"So you think the people that are still at Hearts are that petty?"

Levein and TE don’t surprise me by their actions

1. What’s it got to do with Levein his not at the club anymore
2. Whose proposal was it [emoji848] ah yes Heartscso why should the clubs be phoning them to find out?? It’s up to Budge and co to put it to them.
3. Really. Like sure the associated members.

Levein won nowt and has been part of this current demise so let’s all laugh at him. Well done Potter.

As for TE I don’t listen to the programme anymore but I’m surprised no one has complained about him.

The latest proposal was actually from the SPFL board which means Findlay had even less reason to phone Hearts.

16-06-2020, 09:12 AM
He missed another open goal in the loan player conversation:

"Come on Craig you're not that petty"
"Ah'm no at Hearts any more"
"So you think the people that are still at Hearts are that petty?"

The latest proposal was actually from the SPFL board which means Findlay had even less reason to phone Hearts.

Really.

Once again shows exactly what she’s like. Arrogant and egotist wanting them to come to her.

dchibs
16-06-2020, 10:40 AM
DF was great IMO . Most have been pointed out already but I also liked the bit where TE was badgering him on Championship start date throughout. After his 3rd attempt a reply from DF Do I Not Speak English ! I have answered you already We will plan for October 17th .

And Levein was ripped when saying we won’t loan Hearts youngsters to Cowdenbeath, DF reply your a better man than that Craig.

Am I right in thinking that Levine used to manage Cowdenbeath, if so his comments reguarding giving them youth players is a disgrace to them.

16-06-2020, 10:45 AM

Totally agree the lack of proper analysis of the reconstruction proposals was shameful.

16-06-2020, 10:55 AM

Yep staggering really especially when Budge made such a big point about for the good of Scottish football. Sums up an arrogant attitude and no doubt the reason many clubs didn't go for it. For my sins listened to Peter and Roughie show which had Les Gray of Hamilton on it who was good. While appreciating Roughies obvious Jags leanings got to be said Peter Martin was very like English in his hyperbolic nonsense about self interest and people in charge of clubs acting in terrible ways (none of which he had the bottle to name of course). Personally think they are petrified of giving an opinion which doesn't fit in with the angry mob, in this case Hearts. Again no discussion about pros and cons of proposals and any thought why teams voted against in such huge numbers.

16-06-2020, 11:02 AM
Am I right in thinking that Levine used to manage Cowdenbeath, if so his comments reguarding giving them youth players is a disgrace to them.

His first club as a player and manager he really should be showing much more respect to the club that put him on his way to such a trophy laden career. :greengrin

16-06-2020, 11:03 AM
His first club as a player and manager he really should be showing much more respect to the club that put him on his way to such a trophy laden career. :greengrin

What did he win when he was manager at Cowdenbeath?

16-06-2020, 11:03 AM
He clearly didn't want to be seen as directly attacking Hearts and was at pains to say he had friends at Hearts however imo he played it exactly right and was able to correct the fools on key points and make them look silly on a number of occasions.

That was my thoughts too, where they are so wrong on that station is they never have anyone on who will put those points Alan62 makes, they never put anyone in their studio who will ask the questions EVERYONE else is asking.

Which is why as someone else said a while back, they are just making the news, not reporting it.

And then when results like yesterday happen, they are astounded their view is wrong.

I dont listen anymore, the only time i have heard anything about this situation is through this site.

16-06-2020, 11:07 AM
What did he win when he was manager at Cowdenbeath?

Was a not very good obviously attempt at a joke. :greengrin

16-06-2020, 11:31 AM
When English ask Findlay if he’d phoned hearts it would’ve been funny if Findlay replied with, I couldn’t get through because they were constantly on the phone to you.

16-06-2020, 12:26 PM
Was a not very good obviously attempt at a joke. :greengrin

Not at all - I just assumed he must’ve done a good job there to set him off on his path to future glory? Mixu won the league with them so it was definitely do-able.

HFC93
16-06-2020, 12:51 PM
Side point, but when Tom English covers international rugby he clearly supports Ireland over Scotland. Only BBC Scotland could have a chief sports writer who supports an international team other than Scotland.

16-06-2020, 12:58 PM
Used to be an avid listener to Sportsound but haven't tuned in since the infamous Gardinergate oitburst that Saturday afternoon.

BBC Sportshearts is all it has tuned into. Absolute drivel with no balance or perspective applied. If he hasn't already got a job with Hearts, Tom English will be on the dole soon. Cringeworthy punditry.

16-06-2020, 01:01 PM
Perfectly summed up.

For me too 👍

16-06-2020, 01:02 PM
Side point, but when Tom English covers international rugby he clearly supports Ireland over Scotland. Only BBC Scotland could have a chief sports writer who supports an international team other than Scotland.

Great delight he takes in slagging off Scotland too. Boys a weirdo with a pen and a mic.

16-06-2020, 01:13 PM
Not at all - I just assumed he must’ve done a good job there to set him off on his path to future glory? Mixu won the league with them so it was definitely do-able.

Think he did a reasonable job at Cowdenbeath.

Crazyhorse
16-06-2020, 08:12 PM

Oh gawd really? What a sad poisonous shell of a human being he has become. Still he will always have those memories of Dens Park in 1986...

16-06-2020, 08:53 PM
Please everyone listen to Sportsound yesterday on the podcasts. It’s a thing of absolute beauty. Donald Findlay takes the utter piss out of everything. 😂😂😂

16-06-2020, 08:57 PM
Oh gawd really? What a sad poisonous shell of a human being he has become. Still he will always have those memories of Dens Park in 1986...

Yip can't ever take that away from them I heard Sandy Clarke a few weeks back on the radio he remembers it well in fact he said it can still bring a tear to his eyes :aok: :greengrin

16-06-2020, 09:00 PM
Do you think it’s fair or unfair Donald that Brechin are still in the league says Levein, like he cares.

Not a question of fair or unfair Craig, Brechin would have to lose a playoff against one of two teams neither Kelty or Brora are more than a game away from reaching the spfl. Partick could have won their game in hand Donald (like Levein cares) anything could have happened but a decision had to be made.

Hearts where getting relegated anyway has to be the best line he said though, the rage from Levein expected, gutted Findlay never said it was Leveins fault more than any team and any decision when that’s true. ****s Tom English all about though actual tears for hearts while not having a clue what he’s talking about.

These are unprecedented times Donald change the leagues, “who cares Craig people dying is more important”. Then Levein becomes a prick “when it’s over it’s over when you say Donald”. What a ****
Craig Levein “what about Brechin Donald” 😂😂😂 fanny.

16-06-2020, 09:02 PM
What odds if this gets to court, Budge walks into court to see the SPFL legal team is led by Donald Finlay? :greengrin

16-06-2020, 09:03 PM
What odds if this gets to court, Budge walks into court to see the SPFL legal team is led by Donald Finlay? :greengrin

That would be priceless 😂😂😂😂

16-06-2020, 09:04 PM
Did you no pick up the phone to hearts??

No; they wanted change

😂😂😂😂

16-06-2020, 09:08 PM
I wish Findlay had reminded Cragie boy that Hearts had enough players to make three teams and also had two players who's weekly salary was equal to many players monthly wage !

16-06-2020, 09:08 PM
100%

it was up to budge to engage with other teams, not for other teams to have to contact budge, she scored an instant own goal

Budge herself said that the reason her proposal kept getting delayed and delayed was because she needed time to talk with the other SPFL clubs and understand the issues.

I guess Cowdenbeath weren’t worth 20 minutes of her time.

16-06-2020, 09:11 PM
I wish Findlay had reminded Cragie boy that Hearts had enough players to make three teams and also had two players who's weekly salary was equal to many players monthly wage !

He made Levein look as much of a petty bassa over his comments over hearts backed by English never getting a player on loan from hearts again.

Levein, ripped, im not employed by hearts anymore 😂

He actually done English and Levein massively.

16-06-2020, 09:12 PM
Budge herself said that the reason her proposal kept getting delayed and delayed was because she needed time to talk with the other SPFL clubs and understand the issues.

I guess Cowdenbeath weren’t worth 20 minutes of her time.

No, Cowdenbeath are meant to call Budge to discuss her proposal because hearts are massive. Said Tom English.

16-06-2020, 09:15 PM
No, Cowdenbeath are meant to call Budge to discuss her proposal because hearts are massive. Said Tom English.

And that’s what went wrong since day 1 of the reconstruction proposal process

16-06-2020, 09:18 PM
And that’s what went wrong since day 1 of the reconstruction proposal process

That and not even considering what the reconstruction does for all the clubs apart from a quick fix for hearts. Nobody ever considered a permanent league of **** for everyone else. Nobody more importantly even more than Hibs here ever considered, stupidly the amount of times chairmen in the lower leagues always said they want a permanent larger league. They even said unless that was considered they would never vote for anything else. Not once was it open.

16-06-2020, 09:21 PM
Tom English - why didn’t you vote for Rangers and their call for an independent enquiry

Findlay - there was no evidence of corruption or dishonesty

Did rangers make a mistake for the resignation of Doncaster.

Tom, am I not speaking English, there was no corruption or dishonesty

😂😂

SonOfDavidFrancey
17-06-2020, 05:01 PM
Relatively quiet episode today. English challenged on ‘lack of balance’ in Sportsound coverage of the issue - he dropped in an unsubstantiated claim of ‘animosity’ towards Hearts.

18Craig75
19-06-2020, 12:49 PM
Awful podcast again today. English and Thomson talking rubbish about Hibs. Thomson thinks we should make top players redundant instead of Colin Nish and people ‘further down the food chain”!!

English would like to hear some ambition from Ron Gordon. Would like to hear more from him... he must’ve missed all the ambitious plans announced prior to lockdown. Maybe he’d get an interview at Hibs if he wasn’t so far up Budge’s rear end!

And then to finish, TE with his obligatory defence of Budge “Anne Budge was castigated for introducing cuts early, now everyone’s at it” - no mention of the fact it was morally the right thing to DEFER not CUT initially.

Why do I bother listening, it just winds you up 😂😂

Rumble de Thump
19-06-2020, 01:33 PM
Budge forced wage cuts on employees. The choice was to accept less pay or no pay at all. Now there is more clarity regarding how and when football will restart, other clubs are entering into discussions with staff to come to an arrangement that is suitable of everyone. Quite different.

19-06-2020, 01:36 PM
Conveniently forgetting of course that it wasn’t the what that drew criticism for Budge, but the how.

There are ways and means of going about things and I’d love to see someone argue that the way Hearts did things was the right thing.

19-06-2020, 02:16 PM
I’m wondering if English’s unhealthy talking up and defending of Hearts is due to some sort of ‘formal arrangement’ with them.

hibstag
19-06-2020, 02:19 PM
Relatively quiet episode today. English challenged on ‘lack of balance’ in Sportsound coverage of the issue - he dropped in an unsubstantiated claim of ‘animosity’ towards Hearts.

I also think English missed the point of the complaint completely. He banged on about how the other side had had opportunities to come on and challenge his viewpoint conveniently forgetting that he is Head sports journalist in the employment of the BBC who should not be the mouth piece for a particular side more an impartial analyst of the facts.

In the Donald Findlay podcast he got the piss completely taken out of him (as did Levein) without DF moving out of first gear, it got really cringy when he kept saying its not fair,.

19-06-2020, 02:28 PM
I also think English missed the point of the complaint completely. He banged on about how the other side had had opportunities to come on and challenge his viewpoint conveniently forgetting that he is Head sports journalist in the employment of the BBC who should not be the mouth piece for a particular side more an impartial analyst of the facts.

In the Donald Findlay podcast he got the piss completely taken out of him (as did Levein) without DF moving out of first gear, it got really cringy when he kept saying its not fair,.

100% the issue here 👍
TE seems to just completely ignore that he should at the very least try to see the story from both sides. Instead he shows zero balance or impartiality and has from day 1 exhibited partisan, one sided viewpoint that really calls into question his suitability for the role of chief writer for a national institution.

19-06-2020, 02:30 PM

As I’ve said before superscoreboard is the show sportsound should be. Much more balanced and isn’t totally hertz bias.

19-06-2020, 02:33 PM
As I’ve said before superscoreboard is the show sportsound should be. Much more balanced and isn’t totally hertz bias.

Agree with this.
Been listening for the past few night's and it's not as bad as I feared and much more balanced than sportsound.

Hibeesforever
19-06-2020, 02:33 PM

I have been listening to Superscoreboard too, Jim Duffy was on a couple of night ago, spoke total sense and thought Hearts should just get on with things....

19-06-2020, 02:34 PM
Budge forced wage cuts on employees. The choice was to accept less pay or no pay at all. Now there is more clarity regarding how and when football will restart, other clubs are entering into discussions with staff to come to an arrangement that is suitable of everyone. Quite different.

And let's be honest that was much easier to do with a high earning, underachieving squad that has just been relegated. Absolutely nothing to lose by saying take a cut or **** off. Actually worked to her advantage.

19-06-2020, 02:34 PM
Tom English can think and say what he wants, I don’t care if he’s a BBC journalist or whatever, he’s allowed his opinion.

If he was slating hearts and saying they’ve got what they deserve there wouldn’t be a peep on here about impartiality.

Dunno why people care so much about what one guy in the press thinks.

19-06-2020, 02:36 PM
I have been listening to Superscoreboard too, Jim Duffy was on a couple of night ago, spoke total sense and thought Hearts should just get on with things....

I've been listening to Superscoreboard for the last 3-4 weeks. I like it, some of the callers are complete dafty's though :agree:

Don't think i'll ever listen to Sportsound during the week ever again. I just detest Tom English even more than I did before.

19-06-2020, 02:42 PM
Tom English can think and say what he wants, I don’t care if he’s a BBC journalist or whatever, he’s allowed his opinion.

If he was slating hearts and saying they’ve got what they deserve there wouldn’t be a peep on here about impartiality.

What? He’s a journalist for the BBC which is funded by a compulsory TV license that Non-Hearts fans also are obliged to pay. Given Scottish football is probably the main interest of most people on here and this clown is the main person covering what’s happening with coronavirus, his articles and their lack of balance are a concern.

I could maybe even excuse lack of balance if his ramblings were even coherent and addressed both sides of the issue but they simply don’t.

19-06-2020, 02:46 PM

Remember when Mikey Stewart said what he wanted...

19-06-2020, 02:49 PM
Remember when Mikey Stewart said what he wanted...

Or the abhorrent “both sides” pish when rangers fans go on the rampage in George square but they don’t apply any sort of balance to this argument.

19-06-2020, 02:57 PM
Or the abhorrent “both sides” pish when rangers fans go on the rampage in George square but they don’t apply any sort of balance to this argument.

Really unfair assessment - surely they were Anti Anti-Racist protesters :greengrin

19-06-2020, 03:02 PM
What? He’s a journalist for the BBC which is funded by a compulsory TV license that Non-Hearts fans also are obliged to pay. Given Scottish football is probably the main interest of most people on here and this clown is the main person covering what’s happening with coronavirus, his articles and their lack of balance are a concern.

I could maybe even excuse lack of balance if his ramblings were even coherent and addressed both sides of the issue but they simply don’t.

So what...he's a journo for the BBC. There's plenty journos at the BBC I don't agree with, or like. It's not worth getting upset. I'm not sure I understand this whole "the BBC is paid by the TV licence so they cannae have an opinion, they have to be neutral" thing at all. Tom English thinks it's not fair that Hearts are relegated...how dare he after I paid my £157.50 licence fee!

I think the only way you'd excuse his lack of balance is if he had the same opinion as you.

19-06-2020, 03:10 PM
He’s the chief sports writer of bbc Scotland sport therefore is expected to be informed and knowledgeable. He is quite blatantly neither and has thousands switching off sportsound and many now listening to superscoreboard that which I thought would never happen but this is what happens
when sportsound are sooo blatantly bias.

19-06-2020, 03:11 PM
What’s become apparent over the past few months is that Tom English is just a bit dim, really. He fails to get his head around the basic points of others’ argument. This results in him not being able to alter his view based on the debate, or new evidence. Closed minded.

19-06-2020, 03:13 PM
What’s become apparent over the past few months is that Tom English is just a bit dim, really. He fails to get his head around the basic points of others’ argument. This results in him not being able to alter his view based on the debate, or new evidence. Closed minded.

That's the conclusion I came to as well, particularly when there's a guest who knows what they're talking about, he very quickly turns into someone who seems like you'd need to draw them a picture to explain.

19-06-2020, 03:52 PM

It’s weird - I always thought he came out well, unless he was debating with Mikey Stewart. Seems it’s all down to the other idiots they employ.

With this one though he’s still not grasped that Brechin weren’t relegated cos they didn’t play the play offs and that both Kelty and Brora couldn’t have been promoted. Also forgetting that Kelty were handed the title when they could still have been caught by Bonnyrigg (6 points behind with a game in hand and Kelty to play at home). But that’s fair?

Today he said if threatening to expel them isn’t bullying - what is? No one suggested that court action for a ridiculous figure is threatening and bullying.

The BBC have really struggled to cover this and ask questions that would get insightful answers - Richard Gordon’s held up as a great broadcaster and Doncaster made him look like a clown that was scrapping about checking texts from English to see what he should ask next.

All been a bit embarrassing for the BBC and I normally defend them on here when folk deliberately take them out of context or are overly sensitive.

19-06-2020, 03:54 PM
Awful podcast again today. English and Thomson talking rubbish about Hibs. Thomson thinks we should make top players redundant instead of Colin Nish and people ‘further down the food chain”!!

English would like to hear some ambition from Ron Gordon. Would like to hear more from him... he must’ve missed all the ambitious plans announced prior to lockdown. Maybe he’d get an interview at Hibs if he wasn’t so far up Budge’s rear end!

And then to finish, TE with his obligatory defence of Budge “Anne Budge was castigated for introducing cuts early, now everyone’s at it” - no mention of the fact it was morally the right thing to DEFER not CUT initially.

Wonder if he would have said that when he was on bumper contracts at Rangers, Burnley and Cardiff :cb

Tom English needs to understand the economic climate and that job losses and bankruptcies are inevitable - this is about keeping a football club, a business, alive, not some speculate to accumulate scenario. We don't even know when people will be allowed to attend games, socialise in any hospitality setting, travel abroad safely without any quarantine.......even travel safely to and from games around the country. In order to be in as strong a position when there is clarity and resumption of normal football, you need to absolutely cut your cloth and spend only what you have (at present). How on earth can any business owner 'show ambition' in a world shrouded in such uncertainty and such a volatile economic climate caused by a world public health crisis. Are BA, Rolls Royce, Virgin, etc showing ambition by announcing thousands of job losses ? What about the hotel and leisure industry ? The sole objective for business at present is having a business there at the end of it......and then re-building and having the funds and investment to do so.

I agree with Jim. Interesting that Hearts have a documentary coming out soon, a court case, the aftermath of whatever happens - so let's be honest, will be a belter of a landscape for media to probe and question for months and months. They'll probably enhance their PR and Media department to get as much from this episode as possible. His continued partisan stance (and cosiness) with Hearts and Budge reeks of something else going on to me :cb The BBC have suspended their job cuts programme due to Covid-19 - but they'll re-enter that programme and decision making process soon - I wonder if Thommo and English will recommend falling on their sword to save the less paid tea ladies if it comes to that :wink::cb

Someone should ask if he has even picked up the phone or emailed Leeann or Ron for an update or interview - bet he hasn't even reached out to them, yet seems to whimsically spout nonsense about us on national airwaves.

19-06-2020, 04:03 PM

English will have been receiving plaudits from Hearts fans on Twitter etc. and it has gone to his head. He's now doing the typical Hearts thing of playing to the fans by having a pop at Hibs.

19-06-2020, 04:05 PM
English will have been receiving plaudits from Hearts fans on Twitter etc. and it has gone to his head. He's now doing the typical Hearts thing of playing to the fans by having a pop at Hibs.

I didn’t think he was having a direct pop - he’s previously mentioned Gordon in a positive light and said Scottish football could use his innovation etc - today he was merely saying it’d be good if we heard more from him - like they get from the Aberdeen American guy.

19-06-2020, 04:07 PM
Why are folk constantly pissed off at the drivel spouted by English and co yet continue to listen to Sportsound? What are you expecting?

19-06-2020, 04:10 PM
Why are folk constantly pissed off at the drivel spouted by English and co yet continue to listen to Sportsound? What are you expecting?

We don't listen to him anymore though. We've all defected over to Superscoreboard :greengrin

19-06-2020, 04:15 PM
We don't listen to him anymore though. We've all defected over to Superscoreboard :greengrin

Won’t be long til we hear about the OF bias.

19-06-2020, 04:16 PM

Keep your friends close, but your enemies closer :agree::greengrin

19-06-2020, 04:16 PM
Won’t be long til we hear about the OF bias.

As opposed to what? Sportsound is just as bad.

19-06-2020, 04:20 PM
As opposed to what? Sportsound is just as bad.

It’s not been recently - it’s all been about Hearts, barely a mention of the old firm.

19-06-2020, 04:26 PM
It’s not been recently - it’s all been about Hearts, barely a mention of the old firm.

In fairness, both Celtic and The Rangers have been keeping their powder dry. Celtic, and Lawell in particular, are not daft and I'd imagine he is watching what's going on at Hearts, getting counsel, and they'll wade in at a very important point in proceedings. The Rangers are licking their wounds after Doncaster bloodied their (blue)nose :greengrin

Caversham Green
19-06-2020, 04:52 PM
It’s weird - I always thought he came out well, unless he was debating with Mikey Stewart. Seems it’s all down to the other idiots they employ.

With this one though he’s still not grasped that Brechin weren’t relegated cos they didn’t play the play offs and that both Kelty and Brora couldn’t have been promoted. Also forgetting that Kelty were handed the title when they could still have been caught by Bonnyrigg (6 points behind with a game in hand and Kelty to play at home). But that’s fair?

Today he said if threatening to expel them isn’t bullying - what is? No one suggested that court action for a ridiculous figure is threatening and bullying.

The BBC have really struggled to cover this and ask questions that would get insightful answers - Richard Gordon’s held up as a great broadcaster and Doncaster made him look like a clown that was scrapping about checking texts from English to see what he should ask next.

All been a bit embarrassing for the BBC and I normally defend them on here when folk deliberately take them out of context or are overly sensitive.

Has anybody actually threatened to expel them? From what I've seen all we know is that the SFA have written to them - I haven't seen the contents of the letter anywhere.

19-06-2020, 07:42 PM
Not sportsound but BBC Scotland website is now bigging up the 4 4 game. Some yam is trolling big time. :greengrin

20-06-2020, 07:27 AM
What gets me is how Sportsound have failed to even discuss in any detail how ***** a 14 team top league would have played out for at least the next 5 years.

20-06-2020, 07:42 AM
What gets me is how Sportsound have failed to even discuss in any detail how ***** a 14 team top league would have played out for at least the next 5 years.

:aok: the problem is they have looked at this only from the point of view of saving Hearts it is like there is no other debate to be had.

20-06-2020, 07:55 AM
I wonder if someone will point out the hipocracy of the likes of Dundee United who romper ttr league being kept down to save Hearts.

I notice Tom English is very quiet on this point. Sporting integrity and unfairness? Morale high ground has disappeared big time.

18Craig75
20-06-2020, 07:59 AM
I wonder if someone will point out the hipocracy of the likes of Dundee United who romper ttr league being kept down to save Hearts.

I notice Tom English is very quiet on this point. Sporting integrity and unfairness? Morale high ground has disappeared big time.

He’ll basically skirt round the issue then blame it on Neil Doncaster. Then go on to say how Anne Budge has been backed in to a corner, poor her.

Predictable

Rumble de Thump
20-06-2020, 08:14 AM
Tom English says that relegating the teams that were bottom of the league when the season ended, as per the rules, is morally wrong. His morals are questionable at best.

Caversham Green
20-06-2020, 08:24 AM

Has anybody actually threatened to expel them? From what I've seen all we know is that the SFA have written to them - I haven't seen the contents of the letter anywhere.

Sorry to bump this, but if Tom English is making things up he needs to be called out for it. As far as I can see the SFA have written to HoMFC and PT because they are apparently in breach of the Articles. The SFA are duty bound to do this but there is nothing to suggest that they threatened to expel them. If they did I think they have acted prematurely, if they didn't then Tom English needs to withdraw his comments and apologise for them.

20-06-2020, 08:29 AM

Totally agree I have listened either live or on podcast to most of the discussion when looking for an excuse not to work :greengrin and have not heard any detail on how relegation works, any play offs, what the split is, what the funding is, European places? A complete dereliction of their role, an insult to intelligence really.