View Full Version : Greggs New manager thread
Pages :
[
7]
07-02-2019, 06:47 PM
Owen Coyle has been interviewed this afternoon. That is an actual fact.
07-02-2019, 06:48 PM
No danger
07-02-2019, 06:48 PM
No danger
Perhaps. He was interviewed today regardless.
07-02-2019, 06:49 PM
He would be a good appointment. Experienced manager, well respected in our game and he seems to be a decent guy.
07-02-2019, 06:51 PM
He would be a good appointment. Experienced manager, well respected in our game and he seems to be a decent guy.
I mentioned him earlier in the thread. He’s a fantastic coach and I feel he would do a brilliant job. I still didn’t expect him to be interviewed.
07-02-2019, 06:55 PM
owen coyles managerial appointments do have a ring of 'mutually terminated' about them
Ross co
Blackburn rovers
Houston Dynamo
Wigan
Bolton
07-02-2019, 06:56 PM
Blimey. Does this mean I've got to watch the Si Ferry interview again? 😀
07-02-2019, 06:58 PM
Blimey. Does this mean I've got to watch the Si Ferry interview again? 😀
It’s a quality watch mate anyway but it’s another podcast to the list 😁
07-02-2019, 06:59 PM
Perhaps. He was interviewed today regardless.
Not calling you a liar but I'd hope he wasn't . This can be bookmarked but I'd be very surprised if he gets the gig, and even more surprised should he get the gig and he's successful.
07-02-2019, 07:00 PM
owen coyles managerial appointments do have a ring of 'mutually terminated' about them
Ross co
Blackburn rovers
Houston Dynamo
Wigan
Bolton
Did he not just resign from Ross County and bolt after about 4 months?
Greenworld
07-02-2019, 07:00 PM
He would be a good appointment. Experienced manager, well respected in our game and he seems to be a decent guy.No chance
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
07-02-2019, 07:01 PM
Owen Coyle would be a woeful appointment. Not a chance that's happening.
07-02-2019, 07:01 PM
Did he not just resign from Ross County and bolt after about 4 months?
after 4 wins in 21
07-02-2019, 07:02 PM
Not calling you a liar but I'd hope he wasn't . This can be bookmarked but I'd be very surprised if he gets the gig, and even more surprised should he get the gig and he's successful.
I appreciate that but he was interviewed today. I think he would be a good fit.
Tobias Funke
Given how much sh*te you slaver I’ll take this with an absolutely gigantic bucket of salt.
K-Zazu
Was Appelton at the Celtic game last night aye?
Greenworld
All this talk of Appleton, he must have been on a fantastic salary as an assistant in the PL, Rod will nearly faint when he hears his wage demands !So would u have him forget the money
07-02-2019, 07:03 PM
I'm holding off to see who the favourite is tomorrow.
Sunday - Doolan
Monday - Magilton
Tuesday - Heckingbottam
Wednesday - Appleton
Thursday - ??
Sunday - Doolan
Monday - Magilton
Tuesday - Heckingbottam
Wednesday - Appleton
Thursday - Coyle
Friday - ??
07-02-2019, 07:03 PM
It’s a quality watch mate anyway but it’s another podcast to the list 😁
Thread diversion alert.
I like Si Ferry’s interviews. Players talk very candidly in them. Ferry isn’t exactly scintillating in his patter, but he does have his insight and he gets the job done.
Anyway, Coyle has a mixed record as a coach, but look at the basketcase state of some of the teams he’s taken on!
07-02-2019, 07:04 PM
Coyle now 3rd favourite on skybet at 10/1. It's that easy!
07-02-2019, 07:04 PM
I mentioned him earlier in the thread. He’s a fantastic coach and I feel he would do a brilliant job. I still didn’t expect him to be interviewed.
i'm sure LD/whoever would have the manners to interview most applicants
07-02-2019, 07:06 PM
I appreciate that but he was interviewed today. I think he would be a good fit.
When you say interviewed..... Do you know what role it was for? I'm thinking maybe Tam McCourt has been mutually consented and it's maybe that role 'Coyley' is hoping for? 🤞
07-02-2019, 07:07 PM
https://www.theboltonnews.co.uk/sport/16223762.ex-bolton-burnley-blackburn-boss-owen-coyle-savaged-by-player/
Michael Gardyne on Coyle.
Sounds the opposite of what we need.
07-02-2019, 07:07 PM
Given how much sh*te you slaver I’ll take this with an absolutely gigantic bucket of salt.
😂😂 love you too big boy
07-02-2019, 07:08 PM
Sunday - Doolan
Monday - Magilton
Tuesday - Heckingbottam
Wednesday - Appleton
Thursday - Coyle
Friday - Strachan
fixed, hopefully :)
Was Appelton at the Celtic game last night aye?
I didn’t see him on the tv. Was told he was attending tho.
Owen Coyle would be a disaster surprised we're even interviewing him, if true.
07-02-2019, 07:10 PM
Coyle now 3rd favourite on skybet at 10/1. It's that easy!
Based on my post? **** sake imagine sharing stuff you hear on the new manager. He was interviewed today so perhaps the source that told me know others who have stuck a lump on him.
07-02-2019, 07:12 PM
McBookies have
Appleton 1/2 fav with the next best being
Dean Holden and Heckingbottom both at 5/1
Updated
Appleton 1/2
Heckingbottom 3/1
Holden 10/1
Owen Coyle not quoted
07-02-2019, 07:17 PM
Updated
Appleton 1/2
Heckingbottom 3/1
Holden 10/1
Owen Coyle not quoted
Good
07-02-2019, 07:27 PM
Updated
Appleton 1/2
Heckingbottom 3/1
Holden 10/1
Owen Coyle not quoted
Coyle 17/2 on Paddy Power...
07-02-2019, 07:57 PM
Owen Coyle would be atrocious.
Totally agree.
Greenworld
07-02-2019, 08:01 PM
No chance it can be true good for 6 asides and rats it
07-02-2019, 08:08 PM
Imagine we announced someone like Michael O’Neil ( yeah I know )
Graham Potter from Swansea would be my 'imagine if' signing. Swansea are doing a bit of a Sunderland at the minute so he might be looking for a move but he's on £20k a week and still in demand so not very likely.
Colin191078
07-02-2019, 08:12 PM
Good
Owen Coyle’s had no contact with Hibs
07-02-2019, 08:15 PM
Thank feckityfeck. Like I said I think he would be a disaster
07-02-2019, 08:23 PM
Ross co
Blackburn rovers
Houston Dynamo
Wigan
Bolton
You missed out getting Burnley promoted to the Premier League for their first spell in the top tier in 33 years before jumping ship to Bolton.
07-02-2019, 08:36 PM
You missed out getting Burnley promoted to the Premier League for their first spell in the top tier in 33 years before jumping ship to Bolton.
That was a great career move that backfired spectacularly.
07-02-2019, 08:39 PM
I like what I've read about Appleton.
07-02-2019, 08:40 PM
Me too.
I wasn’t impressed when I judged him on his Wikipedia page though.
mcfly
07-02-2019, 09:57 PM
If we end up with Owen Coyle I would be so underwhelmed with the board and I’d suspect crowds would plummet.
It won’t be him though 🤞
07-02-2019, 10:08 PM
If we end up with Owen Coyle I would be so underwhelmed with the board and I’d suspect crowds would plummet.
It won’t be him though 🤞
Until his Ross County spell is have been willing to give him a go but I'm afraid that was enough to put him very low doe my list of the candidates mentioned.
07-02-2019, 10:09 PM
Appleton with John Collins as assistant manager.
Monday - gym
Tues - gym
Wed - gym
Thurs - gym
Fri - gym
Saturday - fitba
We'd be built like the all blacks
07-02-2019, 10:28 PM
Monday - gym
Tues - gym
Wed - gym
Thurs - gym
Fri - gym
Saturday - fitba
Maybe Boozy as other assistant to soften the blow?
08-02-2019, 04:17 AM
That’s not strictly true
08-02-2019, 05:45 AM
That’s not strictly true
Please God No
08-02-2019, 05:53 AM
Please God No
id rather have Owen Paul
08-02-2019, 05:53 AM
Personally wouldnt be surprised if Strachan is still being considered. Nothing to back that up at all but think he will still be in thoughts.
08-02-2019, 06:10 AM
Please God No
Can’t see it myself
08-02-2019, 06:18 AM
Can’t see it myself
Thank you😁
The goalie
08-02-2019, 06:20 AM
id rather have Owen Paul
He’s my favourite waste of time :)
DetroitHibs
08-02-2019, 06:23 AM
Monday - gym
Tues - gym
Wed - gym
Thurs - gym
Fri - gym
Saturday - fitba
SixpacksRUs :greengrin
08-02-2019, 06:33 AM
id rather have Owen Paul
I'd rather have Eddie May.
08-02-2019, 06:35 AM
I'd rather have Eddie May.
Eddie May would rather have Owen Coyle.
08-02-2019, 07:25 AM
Appleton or Heckinbottom Heids or tails
08-02-2019, 07:31 AM
Announcement today or will it now be after the cup game?
08-02-2019, 07:40 AM
Early next week before a decision is made
08-02-2019, 07:40 AM
In her interview, Leeann indicated it would be early next week. Still have candidates to interview.
Bangkok Hibby
08-02-2019, 07:47 AM
[QUOTE=eastmainsmsh;5701988]Appleton or Heckinbottom Heids or tails[
/or coin lands on its edge.....Strachan 👍🏻
scooby
08-02-2019, 07:54 AM
Tomorrow's game is absolutely massive, screw this up and our seasons finished.
Nae pressure Eddie.
Neil4Hibs
08-02-2019, 07:57 AM
I messaged my colleague who is an Oxford ST holder about Appleton - "Yes, got us promoted and took us twice to Wembley! He is sound, best football at Oxford for ages"
08-02-2019, 07:59 AM
I messaged my colleague who is an Oxford ST holder about Appleton - "Yes, got us promoted and took us twice to Wembley! He is sound, best football at Oxford for ages"
Hope it is him out of the two of them - just seems to have much better credentials
SuperSirJMcginn
08-02-2019, 08:01 AM
Nae pressure Eddie.
Hardly. It's only Feb there's a lot more football to be played between now and May and there's not a lot in it.
08-02-2019, 08:04 AM
Surely there will be some
Interesting spectators in the main stand tomorrow
K-Zazu
08-02-2019, 08:11 AM
Prromoted out of the 4th tier or English football remember.
08-02-2019, 08:13 AM
Does that matter. Oxford were a mid table club when he took charge.
08-02-2019, 08:16 AM
Oxford hadn’t been promoted higher than that level for 20 years. He then solidified them as a mid table league one club. Decent achievement.
08-02-2019, 08:51 AM
Think people need to be realistic here. We arent some sort of footballing giant. We are a relatively large club in Scotland , we arent going to be able to take a manager who is doing well at a club even at League one level in England. These guys will be on good money and will have eyes on stepping up to a bigger English club. Then if you look at Scotland as an example the likes of Clarke quite simplt arent going to be interested , lets be perfectly honest about that. With all of the above taken into consideration anybody we appoint is going to be a gamble and either a new manager looking at his first job or sombody with a mixed record , or sombody at quite a low level. There is nothing too inspiring available in scotland just now , so how can people fault the club for looking at the reported targets. Sometimes feels like we have got the most whingey moaning faced and unrealistic support at times.
08-02-2019, 08:52 AM
Think people need to be realistic here. We arent some sort of footballing giant. We are a relatively large club in Scotland , we arent going to be able to take a manager who is doing well at a club even at League one level in England. These guys will be on good money and will have eyes on stepping up to a bigger English club. Then if you look at Scotland as an example the likes of Clarke quite simplt arent going to be interested , lets be perfectly honest about that. With all of the above taken into consideration anybody we appoint is going to be a gamble and either a new manager looking at his first job or sombody with a mixed record , or sombody at quite a low level. There is nothing too inspiring available in scotland just now , so how can people fault the club for looking at the reported targets. Sometimes feels like we have got the most whingey moaning faced and unrealistic support at times.
you'll get rooted out of here with that sort of common sense and logic in your posts! ;). :top marks
08-02-2019, 08:53 AM
And for even more perspective, Celtic's budget isn't even in the top 8 of EFL Championship clubs.
Imagine where we rank.
Mainstandman
08-02-2019, 09:00 AM
id rather have Owen Paul
or Nadine Coyle
BlackSheep
08-02-2019, 09:28 AM
08-02-2019, 09:57 AM
Nae pressure Eddie.
It's bad management [from the board] that Eddie May is finding himself in this position
He should not be taking the team in the biggest game of the season
08-02-2019, 10:00 AM
It's bad management [from the board] that Eddie May is finding himself in this position
Shame on the next in line who should have taken the team after Lennons suspension. After that it’s all a bit “who is willing to do it”.
08-02-2019, 10:45 AM
So who should be taking the team then
08-02-2019, 11:02 AM
What's next in this pattern?
Profile = played for big club and/or international honours and/or already succeeded in management somewhere.
McLeish - Established 'Profile' manager in Scotland, even at the time.
Sauzee - Untried 'Profile' manager in Scotland
Williamson - Established 'Profile' manager in Scotland
Mowbray - Untried 'Profile' manager in Scotland
Collins - Untried 'Profile' manager in Scotland
Mixu - Untried 'Profile' manager in Scotland
Hughes - Established 'Profile' Manager in Scotland
Calderwood - Established 'Profile' Manager in England
Fenlon - Established 'No Profile' manager in Scotland
Butcher - Established 'Profile' manager in Scotland
Stubbs - Untried 'Profile' manager in Scotland
Lennon - Established 'Profile' manager in Scotland
???
08-02-2019, 11:06 AM
Profile = played for big club and/or international honours and/or already succeeded in management somewhere.
???
Was Calderwood not an assistant manager.
08-02-2019, 11:11 AM
???
The untrieds have done not too bad
Was Calderwood not an assistant manager.
He was Nottingham Forest manager 06-08 and previously Northampton 03-06
Hardly. It's only Feb there's a lot more football to be played between now and May and there's not a lot in it.
It’s massive. If we go out then the mood will become toxic and a new manager will be fighting to finish at best 6th. The best case scenario is. Win, new manager in and bounce in performance which gives us a chance on both fronts. Injuries are killing us though.
There is a God
08-02-2019, 12:17 PM
Who should be taking the team
08-02-2019, 12:24 PM
Who should be taking the team
Len..... nah. not going there. :wink:
08-02-2019, 12:27 PM
I think if Eddie has taken the team away to celtic, I'm sure he will be fine, up to the players to step up as well.
08-02-2019, 12:29 PM
Biggest game of the season tomorrow
Simple as
08-02-2019, 12:45 PM
Hoping whoever comes in plays attacking football with aggressive pressing eventually. Can't do it with current players but I'd like us to hunt in packs to get the ball back rather than the 1 man on his own stuff which we've seen for so long...
Mallan is probably one of the biggest culprits for not joining in with a press and leaving his man but he has many buddies on that front.
Tactically we must be better. Hope the new guy brings that. We've got fitness, strength and conditioning coaches etc. but we don't have tactical coach as far as I'm aware. New head coach needs to be good at setting a team out and organising.
08-02-2019, 01:01 PM
There’s only 132 professional clubs in the UK.
The Hibs job must be in the top 40 or 50 most attractive ones.
There are literally hundreds of wanna be managers out there yet somehow it appears to have come down to just these two.
Grim. Absolutely grim.
08-02-2019, 01:08 PM
There are literally hundreds of wanna be managers out there yet somehow it appears to have come down to just these two.
Grim. Absolutely grim.
These processes generally do come down to 2/3 after starting with hundreds of applications don’t know what your expecting if there is outstanding names in the max in sure they will be in the running feels like another excuse to moan at the club before a man is even appointed
08-02-2019, 01:12 PM
Jim Magilton now the favourite with paddy power and second favourite with SkyBet. I know it doesn’t mean an awful lot aside from it shows folk are sticking some cash on him.
08-02-2019, 01:15 PM
Jim Magilton now the favourite with paddy power and second favourite with SkyBet. I know it doesn’t mean an awful lot aside from it means folk are sticking some cash on him.
Think he is currently in the Northern Ireland set up...didn't have a particularly great track record - last was club manager in 2012! Don't know how we has done since then with NI..
timewilltell
08-02-2019, 01:22 PM
Grim. Absolutely grim.
Top 40? Get real!!
08-02-2019, 01:23 PM
Think he is currently in the Northern Ireland set up...didn't have a particularly great track record - last was club manager in 2012! Don't know how we has done since then with NI..
Basing it on nothing more than absolute guesswork it comes across like he is a bit old school and wouldn’t fit in to how we want to operate. He might’ve put a very strong case across in interview though.
He was also suspended by QPR following a massive fallout with one of his players.
08-02-2019, 01:27 PM
Jim Magilton now the favourite with paddy power and second favourite with SkyBet. I know it doesn’t mean an awful lot aside from it shows folk are sticking some cash on him.
Strachan's odds fairly tumbled as well
Keyser Sauzee
08-02-2019, 01:31 PM
Grim. Absolutely grim.
Ur post got me thinking where we actually rank in Britain.
Any club in the top 2 leagues in England are more attractive straight away purely because of how much money they have and potential for further investment being so close to the premier league.
Throw in Sunderland in league 1 along with Portsmouth and Bradford who average attendance are on a par with us so people will se them being more attractive as they are in England where the cash is.
Celtic, Rangers definitely then probably Aberdeen as they spend more money than us. Hearts is debatable so I won’t say them.
So I make it around 50th, teams like Charlton, Coventry and Barnsley might appeal more aswell tho due to them being down south.
Crazyhorse
08-02-2019, 01:32 PM
FFS! Please no!
08-02-2019, 01:35 PM
Top 40? Get real!!
I've never thought of Hibs in that way, but I'd say we were in the top 50 at worst.
I know it's not just about crowd size, but we're about 41st in that measure.
http://www.european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn/aveeng.htm
08-02-2019, 01:36 PM
FFS Jim Magilton :rolleyes:
08-02-2019, 01:41 PM
Would be raging if it was Magilton we ended up with!
08-02-2019, 01:44 PM
Noticed that. Heckingbottom out to 4th in the betting at 5/1. Think Magilton would be the least inspiring choice on the list.
craigiehibs
08-02-2019, 01:44 PM
It wont be magilton
08-02-2019, 01:45 PM
IFA’s elite development director. Was unsuccessful in applying for the Derry City job last season.
08-02-2019, 01:48 PM
There are four managers fairly close in the betting then the rest are at about 20/1. Magilton, Appleton, Strachan and Heckingbottom.
08-02-2019, 01:51 PM
Top 40? Get real!!
why not? - outside the Top League & championship clubs in England - and even perhaps not them all - Top League football in Scotland has a lot of attractions - not least European football - Definitely Top 50..
08-02-2019, 01:51 PM
Please God :agree:
08-02-2019, 01:53 PM
Heckingbottom out to 5/1 on skybet and magilton now favourite
yerauldda
08-02-2019, 02:01 PM
I think it's testament to how Hibs operate that the bookies have no clue this time around about who is going to get the job. I wouldn't be entirely surprised if we appointed someone who hasn't been the favourite yet.
Keyser Sauzee
08-02-2019, 02:02 PM
Am I right in thinking Collins, Calderwood & Stubbs appointments came out of the blue last minute??
08-02-2019, 02:02 PM
Came to the realisation I don’t actually care who gets the Hibs job. I have no control over this and don’t see anyone I’d be desperate to get in and let’s be honest whoever it is will live or die by results. What I do feel is that I trust the powers at be to appoint who has shown as the best applicant throughout the process after that what will be will be and the new man will get my full support and be judged on what he does for Hibs not in his past. I see people writing off names left right and centre and most probably know little or nothing to make such ascertations. Lennon, McInnes has poor spells before they came back to Scotland, Tommy Wright was an assistant and Steve Clark hardly had a glittering Manager CV. Time will tell and we will go on the journey with the new man like it or not and the rest well who knows how it turns out.
08-02-2019, 02:03 PM
How many folk are likely to be betting on the new Hibs manager on any given day? 100? More? Less?
Few enough that some random guy sticking 20 quid on Magilton will be enough to send his odds down. The bookies likely don't have any more knowledge than we do, so if they want to adjust their odds themselves, they are probably casting an eye on here; who are we talking about? Cut the odds, somebody on here see's the odds cut, posts that he's the new favourite! Somebody sticks money on as a consequence...
08-02-2019, 02:04 PM
I've never thought of Hibs in that way, but I'd say we were in the top 50 at worst.
I know it's not just about crowd size, but we're about 41st in that measure.
http://www.european-football-statistics.co.uk/attn/aveeng.htm
Whilst i would put us safely in the top 40 in size of clubs in Britain theres a lot more to attracting a manager to the club than that. Managers doing well in the levels below that arent gonna be jumping into managing in the spl in a hurry when they are probably eyeing up jobs in the English championship. Its not just the club that the potential manager needs to consider. The key factors will be salary , playing budget , league/club exposure. Lets be honest we arent going to poach any manager who ho is doing well from league one or above in england. Im genuinely not being negative about things , thats just the reality im affraid
Steven79
08-02-2019, 02:04 PM
Ur post got me thinking where we actually rank in Britain.
Any club in the top 2 leagues in England are more attractive straight away purely because of how much money they have and potential for further investment being so close to the premier league.
Throw in Sunderland in league 1 along with Portsmouth and Bradford who average attendance are on a par with us so people will se them being more attractive as they are in England where the cash is.
Celtic, Rangers definitely then probably Aberdeen as they spend more money than us. Hearts is debatable so I won’t say them.
So I make it around 50th, teams like Charlton, Coventry and Barnsley might appeal more aswell tho due to them being down south.
Bradford? :confused:
08-02-2019, 02:05 PM
David Unsworth anyone ?
08-02-2019, 02:05 PM
Am I right in thinking Collins, Calderwood & Stubbs appointments came out of the blue last minute??
Mowbray was the one that caught everyone by surprise i think
Leitherhibs
08-02-2019, 02:08 PM
Calderwood as well, right up until the last minute. It was apparently between Steve Clarke and some Irish fella up until the day before.
08-02-2019, 02:12 PM
I'm for Hackingbush. Hard man but fair. Another Mowbray in the making.
08-02-2019, 02:19 PM
Bradford? :confused:
Bradford average crowd last season was 19600.
08-02-2019, 02:20 PM
Calderwood as well, right up until the last minute. It was apparently between Steve Clarke and some Irish fella up until the day before.
The bookies had Steve Clarke 1-4 on .. Then we announced Calderwood 😡
08-02-2019, 02:28 PM
Magilton 5/6 favourite on SkyBet
08-02-2019, 02:30 PM
Ok now I’m getting worried we are going from the uninspiring but give them a go Appleton & Heckingbottom to the absolutely toe curlingly frightening Coyle & Magilton today!!
08-02-2019, 02:31 PM
Yeah, even when the press conference was called nobody had a clue.
08-02-2019, 02:33 PM
I think it's testament to how Hibs operate that the bookies have no clue this time around about who is going to get the job. I wouldn't be entirely surprised if we appointed someone who hasn't been the favourite yet.
Presumably the bookies odds are based partly on bestguess candidates but predominantly on the ones where most money is being backed.
08-02-2019, 02:35 PM
Jim Magilton seems to be almost unique in that he's made every team he's been at worse. He even failed in Australia. And headbutted one of his own players.
Id prefer Ian Cathro.
08-02-2019, 02:36 PM
Jim Magilton seems to be almost unique in that he's made every team he's been at worse. He even failed in Australia. And headbutted one of his own players.
Id prefer Ian Cathro.
lol
that does sound unique....I think I honestly would prefer Cathro to that one!
Would be a bit worried if he is even in the process ....
08-02-2019, 02:37 PM
Id prefer Ian Cathro.
Sounds like Terry Butcher, although even he managed one good season at ICT.
08-02-2019, 02:38 PM
Id prefer Ian Cathro.
Yep **** that
08-02-2019, 02:39 PM
We would be a laughing stock if we appointed Magilton or Coyle as our next permanent manager. Who knows maybe either would do well but initial reactions would be very negative and would not showcase the club, quite the opposite.
08-02-2019, 02:40 PM
Magilton would be a disaster. Pr1ck of a man.
08-02-2019, 02:42 PM
We would be a laughing stock if we appointed Magilton or Coyle as our next permanent manager. Who knows maybe either would do well but initial reactions would be very negative and would not showcase the club, quite the opposite.
Magilton would be a disaster. Season tickets would definitely plummet.
It would certainly be up there with not letting Calderwood depart for compensation after the bag of sweeties interview and keeping Butcher in charge so long.
08-02-2019, 02:42 PM
Id prefer Ian Cathro.So we're talking the new Terry butcher but without the guaranteed relegations every time?
I'm with you here and hoping it's one of our pink chums promoting this bizarre option
Earlydelivery
08-02-2019, 02:59 PM
If Magilton gets it we’re better shutting up shop .
Greenworld
08-02-2019, 03:02 PM
I think it's still between the Heck and Appleton...although Strachan odds stay low the club may have been giving him time to think about the position and whether he wanted to accept ...a pure guess
08-02-2019, 03:03 PM
Do you reckon we could nip in and snatch Paul Scholes while there's still time?
08-02-2019, 03:03 PM
I think it's still between the Heck and Appleton...although Strachan odds stay low the club may have been giving him time to think about the position and whether he wanted to accept ...a pure guess
Personally think it will be Strachan definitely need an appointment that would be newsworthy.
08-02-2019, 03:05 PM
If it where to be Magilton it would almost certainly be on recommendation from Michael O'Neil.
08-02-2019, 03:06 PM
Do you reckon we could nip in and snatch Paul Scholes while there's still time?
Player manager?
08-02-2019, 03:09 PM
Player manager?
Has many similar qualities to Lennon 😀
08-02-2019, 03:13 PM
These processes generally do come down to 2/3 after starting with hundreds of applications don’t know what your expecting if there is outstanding names in the max in sure they will be in the running feels like another excuse to moan at the club before a man is even appointed
If you think my post saying the Hibs job is one of the best 40 or 50 in the land is having a go at the club so should probably stay off .net for a while, there’s far worse being posted regularly!!
It wasnt a dig at the club in the slightest.
08-02-2019, 03:13 PM
Has many similar qualities to Lennon 😀
Especially for you: https://player.fm/series/kopcast/tanner-talks-jim-magilton https://www.offtheball.com/podcasts/the-football-show-on-off-the-ball/paul-scholes-interview
08-02-2019, 03:14 PM
Magilton would be a disaster. Pr1ck of a man.
Queue at Petrie's door if he got it.
08-02-2019, 03:20 PM
Great players don’t always make great managers. Some of the top players have been duds where as some very average players have been top class managers. Fergie being the prime example.
08-02-2019, 03:23 PM
Especially for you: https://player.fm/series/kopcast/tanner-talks-jim-magilton https://www.offtheball.com/podcasts/the-football-show-on-off-the-ball/paul-scholes-interview
Aww FFS! Am no wasting anymore time on podcasts until I see a person holding a Hibs scarf above their head 😂
I just get too excited.
08-02-2019, 03:26 PM
Aww FFS! Am no wasting anymore time on podcasts until I see a person holding a Hibs scarf above their head 😂
I just get too excited.
:greengrin Magilton's podcast gave me more of a reason not to appoint the guy, he sounds like a complete prick.
Saying that he's now 8/11.
http://standardissuemagazine.com/application/uploads/2015/04/promo-angry-mob.jpg
08-02-2019, 03:30 PM
:greengrin Magilton's podcast gave me more of a reason not to appoint the guy, he sounds like a complete prick.
Saying that he's now 8/11.
http://standardissuemagazine.com/application/uploads/2015/04/promo-angry-mob.jpg
You know what's like. If he's appointed and scuds the yams he will be the messiah 😇
K-Zazu
08-02-2019, 03:31 PM
Strachan doesn’t want it
08-02-2019, 03:35 PM
Someone must’ve been betting a decent bit on Magilton with Paddy Power. Down to 4/7. Heckingbottom/Appleton out to 9/1. News reports of it being down to those two look very premature.
I would guess folk in Ireland would be all over it if he’d got the job. Quick search on twitter shows a couple of Ireland based people talking about it. Must be rumours about it over there.
Gordy M
08-02-2019, 03:36 PM
Id be very surprised if its Magilton....he hasnt managed in the UK for 10 years and its 6 or 7 since he was in Oz? Wouldnt Hibs have had permission from the N Ire FA to approach him? Doesnt that normally get announced in the press?
Lee Marvin
08-02-2019, 03:40 PM
Magilton is 9k season ticket material.
Refuse to believe it's him.
08-02-2019, 03:42 PM
Just Wiki'd him, Nooooooooooo
hughio
08-02-2019, 03:43 PM
If Magilton gets it we’re better shutting up shop .
He's odds on apparently!
08-02-2019, 03:46 PM
Sunday - Doolan
Monday - Magilton
Tuesday - Heckingbottam
Wednesday - Appleton
Thursday - Coyle
Friday - ??
The bookies favourite is changing every day, I think the only thing we can take from it is that nobody has a clue.
Sunday - Doolan
Monday - Magilton
Tuesday - Heckingbottam
Wednesday - Appleton
Thursday - Coyle
Friday - Magilton (again)
Saturday - ??
08-02-2019, 03:48 PM
After close to 60 years watching Hibs if this muppet got the job I would not be back at E.R. while he was there and same with that numpty Coyle.
08-02-2019, 03:50 PM
After close to 60 years watching Hibs if this muppet got the job I would not be back at E.R. while he was there and same with that numpty Coyle.
I don't want Magilton or Coyle but I'd still go to games.
08-02-2019, 03:51 PM
Really? Impressive you stuck it out through some utter gash over the years but would stop going because of him.
Certainly not my first choice but I wouldn't stop watching Hibs because of him.
mcfly
08-02-2019, 03:51 PM
If it’s magilton he has to be given a chance but I don’t think the early bird season tickets will be selling well.
Very underwhelming but the board know best
08-02-2019, 03:52 PM
If it’s magilton he has to be given a chance but I don’t think the early bird season tickets will be selling well.
Very underwhelming but the board know best
That would have to be seriously questioned if he gets the job of reviving the team.
08-02-2019, 03:54 PM
Offer it to Strachan for the rest of the season the get Clarke
mcfly
08-02-2019, 03:56 PM
That would have to be seriously questioned if he gets the job of reviving the team.
Agreed but he has to be given a chance, however I’m underwhelmed if this is true.
Maybe we are expecting too much -?
08-02-2019, 03:57 PM
I don't want Magilton or Coyle but I'd still go to games.
Up to you what you do at any given time, would never question anyones elses decision to do whatever. Me as it costs a lot and I spend a day getting back and forward I prefer to vote with my feet should our board turn out to be as bad as appointing muppets to look after my team, rather than go on pointless arguments and such. My choice no one elses.
08-02-2019, 03:57 PM
Offer it to Strachan for the rest of the season the get Clarke
Neither will happen.
roo62
08-02-2019, 04:00 PM
Agreed but he has to be given a chance, however I’m underwhelmed if this is true.
Maybe we are expecting too much -?
Maybe Appleton and Heckingbottom are looking for more money than Magilton and he is a cheaper option?
angus hibby
08-02-2019, 04:00 PM
I think Graeme Jones would be a good appointment. Been assistant to Martínez at Swansea, Everton and Belgium and currently 1st team coach at West Brom. Have heard him on radio and speaks very well about the game.
would fit into the head coach role very well.
08-02-2019, 04:02 PM
Up to you what you do at any given time, would never question anyones elses decision to do whatever. Me as it costs a lot and I spend a day getting back and forward I prefer to vote with my feet should our board turn out to be as bad as appointing muppets to look after my team, rather than go on pointless arguments and such. My choice no one elses.
And hypothetically, if he was appointed and won his first 5 games including a pumping of the yams at the pbs, would you still stay away?
Genuinely curious as admire your stance.
08-02-2019, 04:05 PM
And hypothetically, if he was appointed and won his first 5 games including a pumping of the yams at the pbs, would you still stay away?
Of course he wouldn't, he'd come crawling back with his tail between his legs.
HibbySpurs
08-02-2019, 04:12 PM
Can’t believe Magilton is 4/7 for the job now.
I really hope this is not the man the board are looking at. Totally underwhelming appointment if it comes to pass.
HFC93
08-02-2019, 04:12 PM
It's incredible how melodramatic some of the posters on this thread are.
08-02-2019, 04:17 PM
It's incredible how melodramatic some of the posters on this thread.
Big time. Basing hibs’ ambitions on who bookies have as a favourite is laughable.
Gordy M
08-02-2019, 04:19 PM
Calm down guys......jeez. the bookies have not a clue who is getting the job....ive seen guys as low as 1/6 and still not get it. Its a market where the bookies are vulnerable, so any whisper or money being bet sends the odds tumbling.:aok:
greenflyer
Bookies want gullible people to waste their money on ridiculous losing bets which have no chance of success.
The more they fluctuate the odds the more gamblers throw a few quid at something ...... just in case.
:tumble:
What if we won the Cup?
08-02-2019, 04:21 PM
Maybe Appleton and Heckingbottom are looking for more money than Magilton and he is a cheaper option?
I'd be cheaper than any of them, but I didn't get a second interview.
08-02-2019, 04:23 PM
I would and am always a Hibs supporter but my stance would not change I done the same for the last couple of years of Alex Millar's tenure as manager fortunatly I was out of the country during the Butcher term.
I am also of an age when pumping the yams as you put it was a given during the late 60's and 70's, it was just expected.
08-02-2019, 04:24 PM
What if we won the Cup?
Then it would be my tough ***** and i would be watching it on the telly.
08-02-2019, 04:24 PM
Bookies want gullible people to waste their money on ridiculous losing bets which have no chance of success.
The more they fluctuate the odds the more gamblers throw a few quid at something ...... just in case.
:tumble:
Perhaps. I thought it was based on the amount of ££ being placed over a period of time or any information they receive? Paddy Power is the biggest bookie in Ireland and that’s where the change in odds have come from.
08-02-2019, 04:25 PM
I would and am always a Hibs supporter but my stance would not change I done the same for the last couple of years of Alex Millar's tenure as manager fortunatly I was out of the country during the Butcher term.
I am also of an age when pumping the yams as you put it was a given during the late 60's and 70's, it was just expected.
Strange approach but fair enough. I'm glad you enjoyed the Williamson and Calderwood years.
08-02-2019, 04:26 PM
Of course he wouldn't, he'd come crawling back with his tail between his legs.
I speak for myself A-hole, who the **** do you think you are, dont do crawling and last time I looked never had a tail.
Then it would be my tough ***** and i would be watching it on the telly.
Fair enough.
On what principle would you stop watching Hibs?
The bookies favourite is changing every day, I think the only thing we can take from it is that nobody has a clue.
Sunday - Doolan
Monday - Magilton
Tuesday - Heckingbottam
Wednesday - Appleton
Thursday - Coyle
Friday - Magilton (again)
Saturday - ??
What that tells you is some pi$$head in the 4 in Hand has been put bets on using Kano's account...
08-02-2019, 04:27 PM
Strange approach but fair enough. I'm glad you enjoyed the Williamson and Calderwood years.
Hey do I have to give you a C.V. of hibs watching or something to justify my own decisions.
08-02-2019, 04:27 PM
It’s already began 👍😂😂😂😂
08-02-2019, 04:29 PM
Its gone all 'nae **** leaves here till ah find oot what **** did it' in here again.
Fair enough.
On what principle would you stop watching Hibs?
When the board is/becomes so inept and ignores the support, along with being stuck in a crowd of roasters around me for 90 mins spouting of ***** about my team.
Principles have nothing to do with watching football by the way.
Unconditional love eh :) I try to square away such comments
Just out of interest when We almost got taken over did you like others at the time say you’d go a watch Hibs even if at Leith Links.?
08-02-2019, 04:30 PM
Relax guys, Appleton’s about to become favourite again. I Never Ever thought that would happen.
08-02-2019, 04:33 PM
Hey do I have to give you a C.V. of hibs watching or something to justify my own decisions.
No. But if you post a statement on a forum people might ask you a question. Particularly if people think it's odd.
Crazyhorse
08-02-2019, 04:34 PM
Id prefer Ian Cathro.
So would I. I had the misfortune to meet him a couple of times and he is a rick with a capital P as well as a rubbish manager.
08-02-2019, 04:35 PM
Unconditional love eh :) I try to square away such comments
Just out of interest when We almost got taken over did you like others at the time say you’d go a watch Hibs even if at Leith Links.?
Nope I was not in the country, seen Hibs down the links on many occassion though when they trained there and at craigentiny.
If we had got taken over at that time then we sure as hell would not have been Hibs, that would be a bit like a Hun supporter following the rangers international or whatever they call themselves and pretending it was the same team.
08-02-2019, 04:38 PM
No. But if you post a statement on a forum people might ask you a question. Particularly if people think it's odd.
On a forum full of anoraks and you say any statement may be construed as "odd" that goes for 98% of the statements on this forum in my humble of course.
08-02-2019, 04:41 PM
Appleton fav on paddy power magilton 7/4 who the **** knows
HFC93
08-02-2019, 04:41 PM
So would I. I had the misfortune to meet him a couple of times and he is a rick with a capital P as well as a rubbish manager.
I once met Jim Magilton at a charity do. He was surprisingly down to earth, and VERY funny.
Can’t believe Magilton is 4/7 for the job now.
I really hope this is not the man the board are looking at. Totally underwhelming appointment if it comes to pass.
Has to be about money if true.
08-02-2019, 04:44 PM
Relax guys, Appleton’s about to become favourite again. I Never Ever thought that would happen.
Yep
08-02-2019, 04:45 PM
Why?
08-02-2019, 04:48 PM
Does anybody honestly really think Jim Magilton is going to be Hibs next manager? Like seriously??
SloopJB
Why?
More people are putting money on him at the bookies
I speak for myself A-hole, who the **** do you think you are, dont do crawling and last time I looked never had a tail.
You'd be back, 100%. I guarantee it.
Does anybody honestly really think Jim Magilton is going to be Hibs next manager? Like seriously??
Why not, maybe fits the profile & budget.
Crazyhorse
08-02-2019, 04:51 PM
I once met Jim Magilton at a charity do. He was surprisingly down to earth, and VERY funny.
Fair enough maybe he was in a good mood. I observed him at his place of work and wasn't impressed.
08-02-2019, 04:53 PM
brilliant - get him in for pre and post match entertainment while someone else get the Head Coach job!
08-02-2019, 04:54 PM
brilliant - get him in for pre and post match entertainment while someone else get the Head Coach job!
😂😂😂
08-02-2019, 04:55 PM
He'd just end up sticking the heid on someone in hospitality...
Mind you, the state of some of the folk who go to hospitality thats probably a good thing
08-02-2019, 04:57 PM
So we're having a meltdown because a guy we don't like is among the betting?
Not a shred of factual evidence he's even been considered, but we're torching the board and saying we won't be back if he's hired?
It's a Friday night lads, step away from the keyboard, have a refreshing beverage of your choosing. It probably won't happen :wink:
08-02-2019, 04:58 PM
Calm down guys......jeez. the bookies have not a clue who is getting the job....ive seen guys as low as 1/6 and still not get it. Its a market where the bookies are vulnerable, so any whisper or money being bet sends the odds tumbling.:aok:Agree. Maybe this is the odds on Magilton getting the job as manager of the local Ladbrokes?
08-02-2019, 05:02 PM
That accent though
08-02-2019, 05:04 PM
Still think it will be Strrachan.
Pure rabbit out the hat stuff when he’s announced!
More people are putting money on him at the bookies
Lol That'll teach me to post without thinking.
Perhaps Michael o neill has recommended Headbutt jim
08-02-2019, 05:05 PM
Why not, maybe fits the profile & budget.
How many times has the Hibs job been up for grabs since he last managed in the u.k? About 10 times i make it , do you seriously think the club are considering him? 😂
HibbySpurs
08-02-2019, 05:13 PM
He’s out to Evs now and Appleton into 5/4.
Only GS has been a constant in the top 3 in the betting.
Folk are either putting silly money on based on momentum of odds or some people know something but right now it doesn’t look like the latter
Aritch
08-02-2019, 05:15 PM
Yes or no to Jim Magilton?
Yes or no? Yes or no?
Yes
or
no?
Daydreamer
08-02-2019, 05:17 PM
Got told on Monday that he had came over very well when interviewed so put £20 on at 16/1. Just been told by the same person he has had a second interview and if at the game tomorrow he has probably got the job. Still wanted Stubbs to the end of the season though.
08-02-2019, 05:17 PM
That accent though
She's turned the weans against us.
08-02-2019, 05:19 PM
Got told on Monday that he had came over very well when interviewed so put £20 on at 16/1. Just been told by the same person he has had a second interview and if at the game tomorrow he has probably got the job. Still wanted Stubbs to the end of the season though.
Appleton would be my choice after Strachan so it’s a thumbs up from me.
08-02-2019, 05:21 PM
Yes or no to Jim Magilton?
Yes or no? Yes or no?
Yes
or
no?
I understand but it isn’t as simple as yes or no
08-02-2019, 05:24 PM
Still think it will be Strrachan.
Pure rabbit out the hat stuff when he’s announced!
I hope so :pray:
08-02-2019, 05:26 PM
Lol That'll teach me to post without thinking.
^^ That comment should become the official motto of hibs.net 👍
08-02-2019, 05:31 PM
She's turned the weans against us.
Jonny it’s me, it’s yer maw
Aritch
08-02-2019, 06:18 PM
I understand but it isn’t as simple as yes or no
Oh my god you can't even answer yes or no.
08-02-2019, 06:23 PM
When the board is/becomes so inept and ignores the support, along with being stuck in a crowd of roasters around me for 90 mins spouting of ***** about my team.
Principles have nothing to do with watching football by the way.
What has the appointment of a new manager got to do with any of that?
08-02-2019, 06:27 PM
On a forum full of anoraks and you say any statement may be construed as "odd" that goes for 98% of the statements on this forum in my humble of course.
How very superior you are.
08-02-2019, 06:46 PM
brilliant - get him in for pre and post match entertainment while someone else get the Head Coach job!I once met the late great Barbara Woodhouse at a charity event. If she was alive now she'd be 1/2 against Magilton at 4/7 on the basis that she could stop a Labrador in its tracks over 50 yards and that's as much a recommendation for the job as anything I can see for this candidate.
08-02-2019, 06:51 PM
Magilton 10/11
Appleton 5/4
Strachan 6/1
08-02-2019, 07:06 PM
You said you wouldn't come back to watch Hibs if Magilton was appointed manager. I thought that was odd for someone who had watched the team over a period of 60 years.
Odd in the sense that a potential manager, who you have no idea what kind of job he would/could potentially do, would see you give up after 60 years. Especially after watching a range of terrible managers.
My old grandad passed away last year aged 89. Watched us through thick and thin. From Famous 5, Turnbulls Ts to Miller, Duffy et al.
To think he'd give it all that up because of a manager he had never even witnessed managing his team would've been.....odd.
Like I said earlier. I admire your stance. I just find it odd for a lifelong Hibby.
Hope that makes sense now.
And you can ditch the 'superior' crap.
Hibees1973
08-02-2019, 07:07 PM
Interesting that Dempster said they have not spoken to all the candidates yet. Given that this all kicked off 2 weeks ago, I feel that anyone with real interest in the job would have been in contact with Hibs by now.
Maybe they have been unable to speak to/contact someone they are interested in. Are they waiting for him.
Load of tosh in the press but some genuine journos have Appleton and Heckingbottom as candidates.
I still feel that Stubbs will get the chance to state his case for the job. And maybe as an outsider Strachan.
I hope it is Strachan.
08-02-2019, 07:10 PM
🤔🤔🤔🤔
BoyledEgg
08-02-2019, 07:13 PM
Magilton and Appleton both 10/11
08-02-2019, 07:14 PM
Strachan out to 10/1
Heckingbottom way out to 20/1
jonny
08-02-2019, 07:24 PM
Skybet still have Magilton odds on at 8/11.
08-02-2019, 07:27 PM
I would think the bookies put out a few red herrings hoping that there will be a few who will jump on the new favourite, it's bound to be a false favourite.
08-02-2019, 07:29 PM
Skybet still have Magilton odds on at 8/11.
Do bookies not make fairly random people favourite to encourage dafties like me to lump on someone more realistic?
There’s absolutely no logic for Magilton to get the job and I don’t think for a second Dempster would just ignore his entire managerial career.
08-02-2019, 07:32 PM
The bookies are compiling a ‘book’ based on money betted. There’s no team sitting sifting through who has done well at interviews etc. for the Hibs manager. The money betted in the scheme of things will be tiny, so any bet of any substance (not sure in cash terms) will change the odd dramatically. The ‘book’ has to balance for betting companies.
08-02-2019, 07:38 PM
The bookies are compiling a ‘book’ based on money betted. There’s no team sitting sifting through who has done well at interviews etc. for the Hibs manager. The money betted in the scheme of things will be tiny, so any bet of any substance (not sure in cash terms) will change the odd dramatically. The ‘book’ has to balance for betting companies.
There must be a reason PH has went from 2s this morning to 20s now. That kind of jump speaks volumes.
08-02-2019, 07:41 PM
There must be a reason PH has went from 2s this morning to 20s now. That kind of jump speaks volumes.
He threw a chair at Lennon's old gaff.
08-02-2019, 07:42 PM
Rod told him what his salary would be !
08-02-2019, 07:42 PM
He threw a chair at Lennon's old gaff.
He’s banned from the hotel then?
08-02-2019, 07:44 PM
Definitely. I’m guessing there’s something in the Magilton stuff, unfortunately.
08-02-2019, 07:49 PM
Definitely. I’m guessing there’s something in the Magilton stuff, unfortunately.
I think Heckingbottom going out to 20’s could be significant but I don’t agree that the bookies shortening the odds on Magilton means anything.
Shortening the odds doesn’t leave them open to losing money but may just encourage betting on him and other possibilities.
There’s absolutely no reason Magilton would get the job.
08-02-2019, 07:54 PM
In a market like this it may encourage a lot more folk having a punt. There are millions of things you can bet on, the bookies will be using computer programmes based on bets placed, and a wee bit of ear to the ground and other bookmakers prices.
I think Heckingbottom going out to 20’s could be significant but I don’t agree that the bookies shortening the odds on Magilton means anything.
Shortening the odds doesn’t leave them open to losing money but may just encourage betting on him and other possibilities.
This place will go nuts if he does
Gordy M
08-02-2019, 07:58 PM
There wont be, this wont be a large market, if you put £50 on one of the other candidates, his odds will shorten vastly. He may even become 2nd or 3rd fav.
08-02-2019, 07:59 PM
Apart from a very respected NI manager giving the recommendation?
Magilton ended up an assistant at Shamrock Roberts tho ffs. That must be taken into consideration.
08-02-2019, 08:00 PM
They've come to a mutual agreement.
08-02-2019, 08:01 PM
If there is and we appoint the clown the a lot of good faith to the board and to Leanne will go breasts up in the sky.
08-02-2019, 08:01 PM
They've come to a mutual agreement.
😃
08-02-2019, 08:02 PM
He's not been kicked out nor has he left a bad Tripadvisor review but he's off to the Ibis down the road for no bad reason whatsoever.
Rumours haven't been confirmed whether or not he's taken the complimentary shower gel and mini soaps though.
08-02-2019, 08:03 PM
Sorry to spoil your evening but on average we will be having the same conversations about the new manager in roughly two years time when
(a) he is so good he moves onto better things or
(b) he is sacked having made us even worse !
08-02-2019, 08:05 PM
He's not been kicked out nor has he left a bad Tripadvisor review but he's off to the Ibis down the road for no bad reason whatsoever.
In that case it will be interesting to see who backs the hotel based on going there on off for the majority of their lives some down turns some of the best days of their lives staying there with amazing memories and who backs the person with the bad attitude who didn’t want to be there for ages who posts as a negative review. 👍
08-02-2019, 08:06 PM
Sorry to spoil your evening but on average we will be having the same conversations about the new manager in roughly two years time when
I’ll take a manager moving onto better things having done above average any day of the week than one leaving sitting 8th.
08-02-2019, 08:27 PM
And?
08-02-2019, 09:02 PM
And?
Is a three letter word !