View Full Version : Greggs New manager thread
Pages :
[
11]
WestStandWillie
13-02-2019, 12:45 PM
Too many trolls having a pop at Hecklebottom. He had Barnsley punching and was screwed over by that shower at Leeds.
Welcome Paul Hecklebottom!
13-02-2019, 12:47 PM
The fact that Appleton has apparently walked away due to the severance package on offer says to me he wasn’t the right man for us. A guy who is more concerned about his pay off if he ****s up the job surely isn’t what we want.
Here’s an article from one of Heckingbottom’s ex players. Very positive and doesn’t sound all that different to Appleton.
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/17429434.adam-hammill-paul-heckingbottom-worked-wonders-at-barnsley-its-a-no-brainer-for-hibernian-to-appoint-him/
Good wee read.
13-02-2019, 12:49 PM
The fact that Appleton has apparently walked away due to the severance package on offer says to me he wasn’t the right man for us. A guy who is more concerned about his pay off if he ****s up the job surely isn’t what we want.
Here’s an article from one of Heckingbottom’s ex players. Very positive and doesn’t sound all that different to Appleton.
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/17429434.adam-hammill-paul-heckingbottom-worked-wonders-at-barnsley-its-a-no-brainer-for-hibernian-to-appoint-him/
That was a heartening read, thanks for posting.
13-02-2019, 12:51 PM
To me Heckinbottom sounds like he would have a similar style to Mccinnes and Clarke as in high press, force errors from the opposition and pin them back. Be difficult to beat.
That style of play has seen them become 2 of the best teams in the league.
Im all for Heckingbottom.
13-02-2019, 12:56 PM
SSN saying looks like Heckingbottom has got the job
13-02-2019, 01:02 PM
To me Heckinbottom sounds like he would have a similar style to Mccinnes and Clarke as in high press, force errors from the opposition and pin them back. Be difficult to beat.
That style of play has seen them become 2 of the best teams in the league.
Im all for Heckingbottom.
He's lost more games than he's won and more then he's drawn as a manager so not sure the difficult to beat tag is applicable here.
13-02-2019, 01:03 PM
That was a heartening read, thanks for posting.
:agree: Hard not to be impressed by that.
13-02-2019, 01:05 PM
:agree: Hard not to be impressed by that.
I was doing well until the end bit where it hit home that he'll be a small name amongst some big ones.
13-02-2019, 01:05 PM
He's lost more games than he's won and more then he's drawn as a manager so not sure the difficult to beat tag is applicable here.
Does that not sound familiar though 8 8 9 = 32 points. He's never managed in the S. Premiership though, so not necessarily comparing like with like?
13-02-2019, 01:13 PM
Apparently at the training ground to finalise the deal. SSN reporting it.
13-02-2019, 01:13 PM
Looks like betting suspended
13-02-2019, 01:14 PM
Apparently at the training ground to finalise the deal. SSN reporting it.
Great news!:thumbsup:
Gordy M
13-02-2019, 01:15 PM
Derek McInnes' win percentage in England was 26% and he lost way more than he won.
13-02-2019, 01:17 PM
Hopefully get this done then we can crack out the Hovis.
13-02-2019, 01:18 PM
He done a tremendous job at Barnsley with one hand tied behind his back and will have the hunger to succeed after the Leeds shambles.
Good luck Hecky!
13-02-2019, 01:18 PM
See the yams are already calling him Heckingbottom6.
13-02-2019, 01:20 PM
Extended interview with Heckers here:
https://soundcloud.com/ntt20pod/ntt20-pod-meets-paul-heckingbottom
(Haven't listened to it myself yet so can't say it's any good ...)
13-02-2019, 01:20 PM
Derek McInnes' win percentage in England was 26% and he lost way more than he won.
Craig Levein was around 27 % with Leicester , better win ration with Hearts Dundee It's and Cowdenbeath
13-02-2019, 01:23 PM
Who cares?
13-02-2019, 01:24 PM
Well then it's time to ridethemrotten :agree:
13-02-2019, 01:25 PM
"The Heckster" high finish (hate the top 6 thing) and treble treble buster.
13-02-2019, 01:38 PM
Good wee read.
So it was. Pep at Barca similar ideas. If u lose the ball get it back within 5 or 6 seconds. I feel we are going to enjoy his style. Welcome Sir.
13-02-2019, 01:39 PM
So it was. Pep at Barca similar ideas. If u lose the ball get it back within 5 or 6 seconds. I feel we are going to enjoy his style. Welcome Sir.
You’d think there’d have to be a fairly large change in personnel to employ this strategy though.
13-02-2019, 01:39 PM
Stevie Mallan will be delighted.
Dav13
13-02-2019, 01:42 PM
This is an article I found and posted last week. Thought I would re-post it for those who might have missed it. I thought was a interesting read and gave insight into his tactics and stats before he moved to Leeds. Gives you a idea why Leeds employed him.
obviously it never worked out there, though not to say he won’t be a success here if given time and the correct backing.
https://www.leeds-live.co.uk/sport/leeds-united/paul-heckingbottoms-tactics-leeds-united-14266249
13-02-2019, 01:42 PM
Lennon lives in Glasgow
South Queensferry
Great news!:thumbsup:
It is great news if confirmed
13-02-2019, 01:44 PM
South Queensferry
Perth
13-02-2019, 01:46 PM
Perth
Dundee
13-02-2019, 01:48 PM
Dundee
Elgin.
Well he should.....
Thats a good article - Hammill obviously rates him ; a good man manager, a good coach, a good guy - after Leeds job went south he travelled abroad to look for new ideas to help his coaching.
Also has had offers down south, but wanted to wait for the right team with the right fit for him.
To be honest, he sounds ideal for us:aok:
Heckers vs Appers
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2016_Football_League_Trophy_Final
Just saying. :wink:
13-02-2019, 01:50 PM
Dundee
Name that toon in four...
13-02-2019, 01:50 PM
Ok then but it’s fairly obvious to me.
Poor form
Low league position
possible bottom 6 games unless we pick up ASAP.
Maybe you haven’t watched us too much this season
That was all down to Neil Lennon's management though, not the clubs recruitment process? That argument surely backs up the need to bring someone new in to try and lift us for the second half of the season?
I'm not sure how the Heckingbottom appointment relates to poor ticket sales yet? Only if what is already happening doesn't improve or gets worse does he carry the can.
13-02-2019, 02:02 PM
Elgin.
Well he should.....
France
scooby
13-02-2019, 02:23 PM
Did a great job at Barnsley and didn’t get any time at Leeds, didn’t even get a transfer window.
I’m not going to pretend he was my first choice but I don’t think his CV is as bad as some are suggesting.
I think you're probably right Bingo, if he's the one Leeann feels will take us forward, we need to give him a chance.
Stevie Mallan will be delighted.
If Mallan is played higher up the pitch he won't have to run all over the midfield to win the ball back, we have Bigirimana, Omeonga, Slivka and Gauld who have young legs in the middle and it's something we've certainly not been doing enough of this season.
13-02-2019, 02:41 PM
If Mallan is played higher up the pitch he won't have to run all over the midfield to win the ball back, we have Bigirimana, Omeonga, Slivka and Gauld who have young legs in the middle and it's something we've certainly not been doing enough of this season.
Was referring more to the fact that the Heck didn't rate him at Barnsley. Suppose it's a level down but first impressions are hard to get over.
13-02-2019, 02:42 PM
Mallan is young legs 😂
Was referring more to the fact that the Heck didn't rate him at Barnsley. Suppose it's a level down but first impressions are hard to get over.
Then it's up to Mallan to get his finger out and work harder, I have thought he looks to be carrying a wee bit extra weight and never looks as fit as he could be.
Mallan is young legs 😂
I meant energetic legs, he doesn't seem overly quick or stamina wise, I know he's young but he's not known for his chasing down the ball all game is he.
13-02-2019, 03:06 PM
Elgin.
Has he lost his marbles?
13-02-2019, 03:07 PM
Name that toon in four...
Dump
13-02-2019, 03:38 PM
Has Heckers walked out of the contract talks yet? :devil:
tonyrougier123
13-02-2019, 03:43 PM
Now that it looks like hecks has the job I txt my leeds supporting family what thier take on this guy was.oh dear!...."out his depth" "boring""unable to change a game""glad leeds cut ties early".I have no barnsley supporting friends or family.doesnt sound great tbf.said he played a fair few youngsters instead of senior players.
13-02-2019, 03:45 PM
21 hours to go!
13-02-2019, 03:47 PM
Now that it looks like hecks has the job I txt my leeds supporting family what thier take on this guy was.oh dear!...."out his depth" "boring""unable to change a game""glad leeds cut ties early".I have no barnsley supporting friends or family.doesnt sound great tbf.said he played a fair few youngsters instead of senior players.
He only had about 4 months at Leeds and to me that last sentence reads as a positive. Sounds to me like he was guilty of taking a long term approach to a short term problem, only he didn’t know it was going to be a short term issue.
13-02-2019, 03:47 PM
Robbie Stockdale will be his assistant
13-02-2019, 03:50 PM
Last time I seen him was on Netflix.
Have they worked together before
13-02-2019, 03:50 PM
Or to quote Eddie Turnbull from nearly 50 years ago,”football’s an easy game-you get the ball and you play with it and if the other lot get it you take it off them and play some more”.
13-02-2019, 03:52 PM
He signed him for Barnsley. Seems his first impression was a positive one? Maybe his second impression not so?
Tykes manager Heckingbottom said: "I am really pleased that Stevie can see his future at Oakwell. He has had some real admirers looking at him which we have managed to fight off and bring him here.
"He's a young, stylish midfielder who loves to pop up and get a goal so I think the fans will be excited to watch him."
tonyrougier123
13-02-2019, 03:54 PM
He only had about 4 months at Leeds and to me that last sentence reads as a positive. Sounds to me like he was guilty of taking a long term approach to a short term problem, only he didn’t know it was going to be a short term issue.
Agreed 👍
13-02-2019, 03:55 PM
Last time I seen him was on Netflix.
Have they worked together before
No, they done their badges together and Hecky wanted to keep him as his assistant at Sunderland when they offered the job to him but Sunderland said no according to the media.
13-02-2019, 04:11 PM
There's a semi blast from the past!
13-02-2019, 04:23 PM
Capped 5 times for Scotland? I honestly didn't know that
13-02-2019, 04:25 PM
Based on what knowledge?
13-02-2019, 04:29 PM
Based on what knowledge?
Just seen at East Mains on Sky Sports news
13-02-2019, 04:31 PM
Robbie Stockdale is also at East Mains?
13-02-2019, 04:32 PM
Surprised as he has worked with Jamie Clapham in the past
Tony Mowbray appointed Clapham to a coaching role in Championship club Middlesbrough's academy after Steve Agnew left for Hull City in 2012.[13] Clapham managed the club's under-21 team, and assisted new manager Aitor Karanka with the first team from November 2013 to March 2014.[13][14] In June 2015, he rejoined Mowbray on the coaching staff at Coventry City.[15]
In September 2016, Barnsley manager Paul Heckingbottom brought Clapham into the club as first-team coach on a short-term deal.[16] A few weeks later, his tenure was extended to the end of the season,[17] and extended again in July 2017.[18]
Heckingbottom was appointed head coach of Leeds United on 6 February 2018, and took Clapham with him as his assistant.[19] When Heckingbottom was dismissed at the end of the season, Clapham also left the club.[20]
13-02-2019, 04:38 PM
Yeah he’s there too. Must be all agreed if the assistant is there to sign as well.
13-02-2019, 04:43 PM
That’s who I meant
13-02-2019, 04:45 PM
That’s who I meant
Good to have someone in he seems to trust. Makes you wonder if the Appleton announcement was as close as the media outlets would have you believe if he has his assistant up with him.
13-02-2019, 04:46 PM
I hope they’ve got their kit with them to start work in the morning for the Hamilton game.
13-02-2019, 04:52 PM
That’s who I meant
Fair enough, thanks Billy.....
13-02-2019, 05:00 PM
Heckingbottom has a very hun look about him
That has got to be one of the most idiotic comments I've ever seen on here
13-02-2019, 05:01 PM
Probably not even the most idiotic comment on here this week.....:greengrin
13-02-2019, 05:02 PM
Agree. He’s much more St Mirren looking imo
13-02-2019, 05:02 PM
13-02-2019, 05:13 PM
Surprised as he has worked with Jamie Clapham in the past
Tony Mowbray appointed Clapham to a coaching role in Championship club Middlesbrough's academy after Steve Agnew left for Hull City in 2012.[13] Clapham managed the club's under-21 team, and assisted new manager Aitor Karanka with the first team from November 2013 to March 2014.[13][14] In June 2015, he rejoined Mowbray on the coaching staff at Coventry City.[15]
In September 2016, Barnsley manager Paul Heckingbottom brought Clapham into the club as first-team coach on a short-term deal.[16] A few weeks later, his tenure was extended to the end of the season,[17] and extended again in July 2017.[18]
Heckingbottom was appointed head coach of Leeds United on 6 February 2018, and took Clapham with him as his assistant.[19] When Heckingbottom was dismissed at the end of the season, Clapham also left the club.[20]
I think it’s important he has an assistant who knows Scottish fitba.
timewilltell
13-02-2019, 05:14 PM
Robbie Stockdale Assistant
13-02-2019, 05:16 PM
It’s the Heckingbottom/Stockdale dream ticket.
13-02-2019, 05:20 PM
Thought Stockdale came across well in the Sunderland documentary.
Interesting duo.
13-02-2019, 05:36 PM
Hopefully the fans who have done nothing but whinge constantly and moan and blame the club (in spite of having no facts) can find it in themselves to afford this guy the time he will need to sort out the mess he has inherited from Lennon
Silky
13-02-2019, 05:47 PM
Hopefully the fans who have done nothing but whinge constantly and moan and blame the club (in spite of having no facts) can find it in themselves to afford this guy the time he will need to sort out the mess he has inherited from Lennon
I reckon a few of the underwhelmed will vote with their feet and won't be seen again this season, or until we appoint someone in the calibre of Pep or Klopp. Win rates on Wiki appear to seal the deal these days and he has been passed of as crap "cos the internet says" before even setting foot in the door.
CathroMustStay
13-02-2019, 06:10 PM
https://dsportsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/94804063_shinnie1.jpghttps://www.telegraph.co.uk/content/dam/football/2017/08/13/TELEMMGLPICT000137276701_trans_NvBQzQNjv4Bq56SURFa-j0RBa9h9sFlLKecjkaLbHfD4HkjjQ4v1r7Y.jpeg?imwidth=4 50
https://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2018/02/03/18/48D935E400000578-0-image-a-1_1517683817336.jpg
https://res.cloudinary.com/jpress/image/fetch/w_700,f_auto,ar_3:2,q_auto:low,c_fill/if_h_lte_200,c_mfit,h_201/https://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.4690955.1518886801!/image/image.jpg
https://e0.365dm.com/18/03/768x432/skysports-scott-allan-hibernian_4251468.jpg?20180309211627
http://d1amemna4jare9.cloudfront.net/assets/images/news/c1b0567c16c2d1847888bf7da47241dc/8c3f56f9e5aebfd3d1bf792352af5186.png
http://d1amemna4jare9.cloudfront.net/assets/images/news/f7480768a8d28a34aedbb4074fa9b299/6e5c7449ad0f34209c55f85aef0a23b0.png
https://www.celticquicknews.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/HIBS-V-CELTIC-1-1024x431.jpg
Robbo6-2
13-02-2019, 06:13 PM
https://dsportsnews.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/02/94804063_shinnie1.jpghttps://www.telegraph.co.uk/content/dam/football/2017/08/13/TELEMMGLPICT000137276701_trans_NvBQzQNjv4Bq56SURFa-j0RBa9h9sFlLKecjkaLbHfD4HkjjQ4v1r7Y.jpeg?imwidth=4 50
https://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2018/02/03/18/48D935E400000578-0-image-a-1_1517683817336.jpg
https://res.cloudinary.com/jpress/image/fetch/w_700,f_auto,ar_3:2,q_auto:low,c_fill/if_h_lte_200,c_mfit,h_201/https://www.scotsman.com/webimage/1.4690955.1518886801!/image/image.jpg
https://e0.365dm.com/18/03/768x432/skysports-scott-allan-hibernian_4251468.jpg?20180309211627
http://d1amemna4jare9.cloudfront.net/assets/images/news/c1b0567c16c2d1847888bf7da47241dc/8c3f56f9e5aebfd3d1bf792352af5186.png
http://d1amemna4jare9.cloudfront.net/assets/images/news/f7480768a8d28a34aedbb4074fa9b299/6e5c7449ad0f34209c55f85aef0a23b0.png
https://www.celticquicknews.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2018/12/HIBS-V-CELTIC-1-1024x431.jpg
😂😂😂☝️
Nice to see wee Hyndman in bottom pic
Agree. He’s much more St Mirren looking imo
I thought a bit Ross county with Queen of the south/ Stranraer making up the rest.
13-02-2019, 06:30 PM
I reckon a few of the underwhelmed will vote with their feet and won't be seen again this season, or until we appoint someone in the calibre of Pep or Klopp. Win rates on Wiki appear to seal the deal these days and he has been passed of as crap "cos the internet says" before even setting foot in the door.
It’ll be back to the old “Im no going back til that **** petrie is gone” ... Funny it didnt stop a lot of them going back after we won the cup and were doing well . Loyal as **** 👍
Silky
13-02-2019, 06:43 PM
It’ll be back to the old “Im no going back til that **** petrie is gone” ... Funny it didnt stop a lot of them going back after we won the cup and were doing well . Loyal as **** 👍
Aye exactly. Just don't understand it. The guy's not been in charge for one game and has been classed as "cheap option", "meh" and other references. Yet no one ever shares how they know he is a "cheap option". No salary references. Nowt. Just bollox, the lot of it.
Surely if your a Hibs fan you go to support the team and club, The NL regime has gone, Roll on the new management team.
B
K-Zazu
13-02-2019, 06:54 PM
Be funny if we just announced someone completely different
13-02-2019, 07:04 PM
if there are any spare seats unsold for the Hibs v Celtic home cup quarter final then i'll be scunnered.
outstanding chance to win the cup this year (as all clubs do) as its so wide open & a good chance the league will still be a distraction for celtic.
new guy has 2 winnable games beteeen now & the big one to lay some groundwork
mon the Hibs!
Cat Stanton
13-02-2019, 07:04 PM
Capped 5 times for Scotland? I honestly didn't know that
It was Berti Vogts. Everyone got a cap. I got three. If you didn't, you can probably still apply retrospectively.
Cat Stanton
13-02-2019, 07:09 PM
Quite funny, to be fair.
I burst out laughing.
13-02-2019, 08:57 PM
0 hours to go!