View Full Version : Greggs New manager thread
Pages :
[
5]
05-02-2019, 03:52 PM
Apparently Heckingbottom was not a fan of Mallan at all. Didn’t have the energy that he wanted in his midfield.
I was thinking that when i read his article which is linked above
Tornadoes70
05-02-2019, 03:53 PM
Maybe Hibs have leaked it to see if he would get a positive/negative reaction from fans.
Certainly Heckingbottom will be a 'shock' appointment if taking 'charge'
Mon the Cabbage!!!
05-02-2019, 03:54 PM
He should set up an account on here, he'd fit right in :greengrin
05-02-2019, 03:57 PM
We live in hope.
Big fan aye?
05-02-2019, 03:58 PM
This is a very interesting read.
It also goes some way to explaining the poor stats.
https://www.coachesvoice.com/paul-heckingbottom-talks-leaving-barnsley/
That is very good.
Leanne would be impressed by it.
05-02-2019, 03:59 PM
It could be worse, what about Hasenhuttl ?
05-02-2019, 04:00 PM
The problem with going for someone like Heckingbottom is that it won’t ever feel like he’s the Hibs manger, rather that he’s just passing through.
I know that could be said about anyone really but I always got that feeling with Calderwood and to a lesser extent Stubbs.
Whether he does good, bad or indifferent he’d be away in about two years anyways.
That’s surely the case with any manager we appoint. If things don’t work out well he will leave. If he is a success he will move onto a bigger gig. Both scenarios will happen in less than 3 years
05-02-2019, 04:00 PM
Paul Heckingbottom. Crazy name. I like it. Welcome to Easter Road. :greengrin
05-02-2019, 04:01 PM
"I think they (club officials) are down in England speaking to people, we should have an update maybe by the end of the week, definitely for the beginning of next week,"
I'm not sure which officials you are referring to but I seen the main ones at East Mains today. Did they say the update would be before or after the cup game?
05-02-2019, 04:07 PM
Let's get rid of Lennon and bring in bloody Paul effingbottom. If this guy gets the job before Stubbs then it's another reason outwith football that the board once again are not telling us about.
05-02-2019, 04:08 PM
Eddie May speaks about the situation in the Scotsman, apparently in talks with someone in England.
https://www.scotsman.com/sport/football/teams/hibernian/hibs-manager-reports-claim-paul-heckingbottom-is-leading-contender-1-4868100
05-02-2019, 04:10 PM
I'm not sure which officials you are referring to but I seen the main ones at East Mains today. Did they say the update would be before or after the cup game?
Sorry Brooster I was quoting Eddie May.
05-02-2019, 04:13 PM
Let's get rid of Lennon and bring in bloody Paul effingbottom. If this guy gets the job before Stubbs then it's another reason outwith football that the board once again are not telling us about.
Why would the board openly tell us their reasons for not appointing certain managers? Since when is that a thing that happens?
Sorry Brooster I was quoting Eddie May.
Aye course you were. :faf:
If we're trying to get someone with Kilmarnock connections we should go for Steve Clarke, not Paul Heffernan.
Does this have echoes of Alan Kernaghan?
05-02-2019, 04:14 PM
I’m not sure how you can say that. Maybe they are looking for a head coach with a decent track record in the last 2 years?
I’m not sure Heckingbottom would be my choice but there’s no point in having a go at the board because they didn’t pick my preferred candidate.
05-02-2019, 04:15 PM
If we're trying to get someone with Kilmarnock connections we should go for Steve Clarke, not Paul Heffernan.
Could be worse, they could have gone for Bobby Williamson.
05-02-2019, 04:16 PM
I'm led to believe that Bobby Williamson is being considered.
05-02-2019, 04:16 PM
Is it a terrible idea to stick £100 on heckingbottom right now?
05-02-2019, 04:17 PM
I'm led to believe that Bobby Williamson is being considered.
... for?
05-02-2019, 04:18 PM
Big fan aye?
Just based on my own wee bit of research when his name came up and the little bit I've seen of Barnsley generally.
If we are extending the search to Yorkshire what's that guy from Barnstonworth Utd doing? Similar record.
I should stop reading about this guy, can't make up my mind about him
https://www.footballscotland.co.uk/spfl/scottish-premiership/who-hibs-manager-target-paul-15784544.amp?utm_source=twitter.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar&__twitter_impression=true
Don’t ask me, guv. I once put a bet on Steve Clarke after it was all agreed and signed apparently.
05-02-2019, 04:20 PM
... for?
CEO. Confirmed rumour, if true.
05-02-2019, 04:21 PM
CEO. Confirmed rumour, if true.
Cinema Entrance Operative?
Perfect for the job.
05-02-2019, 04:21 PM
Yes, tomorrow the papers will be reporting someone else is the favourite.
05-02-2019, 04:23 PM
Yes, tomorrow the papers will be reporting someone else is the favourite.
I've read that Bobby Williamson would be 'perfect for the job'.
05-02-2019, 04:23 PM
Don’t ask me, guv. I once put a bet on Steve Clarke after it was all agreed and signed apparently.
The only bet I ever made was on Steve Clarke after receiving inside info on here that he was going to become our manager. I've literally never bet again since, so traumatised was I by this untruth.
05-02-2019, 04:24 PM
Barnsley season ticket holder mate of mine said Heckingbottom would be an absolute disaster. He guaranteed me we'd start conceding tons of goals as he's defensively hopeless. Leeds fan next to him just laughed when he heard Heckingbottom.
Same Barnsley fan asked if Mallan was still standing at the half way line passing sideways!!
05-02-2019, 04:28 PM
Is it 'eck as like.....
Wakeyhibee
05-02-2019, 04:29 PM
I lived in Wakefield for 15 years as the name suggests. Barnsley had always been an up and down team. That part of Yorkshire is down to earth as it comes and I get the impression they only appoint "safe pair of hands" (knew a director of the club friends with Ronnie Glavin if you remember his name).
If there is any truth in it, then maybe Hibs looking to go the same route.
Aye course you were. :faf:
You’ve obviously not read his interview today then.
Barnsley season ticket holder mate of mine said Heckingbottom would be an absolute disaster. He guaranteed me we'd start conceding tons of goals as he's defensively hopeless. Leeds fan next to him just laughed when he heard Heckingbottom.
Same Barnsley fan asked if Mallan was still standing at the half way line passing sideways!!
Think I’d need more views than that to form an opinion :cb
05-02-2019, 04:35 PM
Barnsley forums not giving to much away 😂
http://barnsleyfc.org.uk/threads/heckingbottom.276307/
05-02-2019, 04:37 PM
If PH is the man the board want so be it, who am I to argue!
I just hope we’ve looked/looking and talking to other candidates around, unlike when we just went for Butcher, and no one else was considered at that time
05-02-2019, 04:42 PM
Barnsley forums not giving to much away [emoji23]
Great reading [emoji848]
05-02-2019, 04:43 PM
I think it's a terrible idea to back any managerial candidate.
05-02-2019, 04:53 PM
Just based on my own wee bit of research when his name came up and the little bit I've seen of Barnsley generally.
If we are extending the search to Yorkshire what's that guy from Barnstonworth Utd doing? Similar record.
8 1, 8 bloody 1 :greengrin
Absolutely brilliant.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9KXrRUZqtw
Gordy M
05-02-2019, 05:03 PM
Tam McManus has just tweeted that Hibs have spoken to 3 others apart from Heckingbottom. Hasnt said who though!!
05-02-2019, 05:06 PM
Tam McManus has just tweeted that Hibs have spoken to 3 others apart from Heckingbottom. Hasnt said who though!!
I wonder where he’s getting his info. He revealed the Lennon story before everyone too.
05-02-2019, 05:07 PM
Tam McManus never does though, just says enough to let people know that he's ITK
coldingham hibs
05-02-2019, 05:10 PM
I wonder what has made us interested in Heckingbottom, his record doesn’t look great after his caretaker spells with Barnsley. Very interesting indeed.
05-02-2019, 05:10 PM
I would still favour Stubbs because I think he would hit the ground running and have the best chance of salvaging this season. I always wanted to see how he’d cope with the top flight.
All dependent on the right assistant though.
bigswissstriker
05-02-2019, 05:12 PM
Michael Appleton.
05-02-2019, 05:13 PM
I would still favour Stubbs because I think he would hit the ground running and have the best chance of salvaging this season. I always wanted to see how he’d cope with the top flight.
All dependent on the right assistant though.
I’m the same. Although every manager is a gamble some of the names being quoted are not the most exciting.
05-02-2019, 05:14 PM
Michael Appleton.
Just missed out on the class from 92. Colin Murdochs best pal.
05-02-2019, 05:15 PM
You’ve obviously not read his interview today then.
Oh i read it, but you posted trying to pass it off as if you had some kind of insight, not that you had read it in the paper.
I think they (club officials) are down in England speaking to people, we should have an update maybe by the end of the week, definitely for the beginning of next week,"
bigswissstriker
05-02-2019, 05:16 PM
Just missed out on the class from 92. Colin Murdochs best pal.
Maybe bring him as assistant ?
Why would I not be?
I am the voice of reason
Your pretty funny i’ll give you that. That’ll be why your allowed to stay.
05-02-2019, 05:17 PM
Tam McManus saying Stubbs isn’t being considered for the job.
05-02-2019, 05:18 PM
Apparently Heckingbottom was not a fan of Mallan at all. Didn’t have the energy that he wanted in his midfield.
Wasn't keen on Heckingbottom at all until I read that. Hope he get's the job now
05-02-2019, 05:21 PM
Oh i read it, but you posted trying to pass it off as if you had some kind of insight, not that you had read it in the paper.
I think they (club officials) are down in England speaking to people, we should have an update maybe by the end of the week, definitely for the beginning of next week,"
I’m not sure how you see it on your device but the font and colour are different on mine, with quotation marks around it which made it obvious to me it was a quote copied from somewhere else.
05-02-2019, 05:22 PM
Amazing 😂😂
Was it the quotation marks or the different font that alerted you to the non cut and paste from the bbc website?
Was it also saying I was quoting Eddie May on a news item that thousands of fans would have read?
It’s okay to say sorry Blackpool. You’re friend from Darlington never had the decency earlier afterall.
Dav13
05-02-2019, 05:22 PM
https://www.leeds-live.co.uk/sport/leeds-united/paul-heckingbottoms-tactics-leeds-united-14266249
Before his move to Leeds. Gives a small insight to how Barnsley played and set up ect.
05-02-2019, 05:24 PM
I’m not sure how you see it on your device but the font and colour are different on mine, with quotation marks around it which made it obvious to me it was a quote copied from somewhere else.
It’s getting ludicrous now. Posters all over the shop (not just at me) looking for a reason to act the prick (nobody in particular) and rip and belittle others.
05-02-2019, 05:25 PM
Tam McManus saying Stubbs isn’t being considered for the job.
That’s a shanner 😔
K-Zazu
05-02-2019, 05:28 PM
We will be ******gbottom in no time
05-02-2019, 05:28 PM
Wasn't keen on Heckingbottom at all until I read that. Hope he get's the job now
Mallan, played correctly will be a good player in the future. If we are looking for legs in midfield it’s the end of Bartley Milligan and Mallan perhaps. Different teams for managers you’ll play a different style and also he will have learned a lot from his time as manager already.
05-02-2019, 05:33 PM
Mallan, played correctly will be a good player in the future. If we are looking for legs in midfield it’s the end of Bartley Milligan and Mallan perhaps. Different teams for managers you’ll play a different style and also he will have learned a lot from his time as manager already.
Wonder what kind of team he will put out I'd he's the new manager going by what I have read so far he likes a 4-4-2, likes to press, likes high energy , players with legs and plays a bit more direct
K-Zazu
05-02-2019, 05:34 PM
Did he sign Mallan when he was at Barnsley?
05-02-2019, 05:36 PM
Some folk getting negative before we have even appointed the man, let's face it you don't have to be Jurgen Klopp to do pretty well up here so whoever we chose let's give him a chance.
RossScott1991
05-02-2019, 05:37 PM
Yeah Tam McManus tweeting me saying Stubbs is not in consideration when I asked about him and doolan.
Didnt say anything about Doolan not being considered though👀
CallumHibs07
05-02-2019, 05:37 PM
Big money coming for Michael Appleton suddenly
05-02-2019, 05:38 PM
Big money coming for Michael Appleton suddenly
Seems to have done ok at Oxford. Has been shocking everywhere else as far as I can see.
Deeds
05-02-2019, 05:41 PM
We will be ******gbottom in no time
Ha, I actually burst out laughing there... brilliant!
SideBurns
05-02-2019, 05:42 PM
8 1, 8 bloody 1 :greengrin
Absolutely brilliant.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=S9KXrRUZqtw
Easily the best thing posted on this thread - and will remain so, even if it's revealed Guardiola has jacked in an underperforming Man City to take his dream job.
Gordy M
05-02-2019, 05:45 PM
See everyone who is quoting stats etc, have a look at Stubbs stats and win percentage and tell me if you would take him....merely based on stats and figures!
05-02-2019, 05:46 PM
Sentiment aside, I hope we move Bartley on - he’s exposed against better players. Milligan is not used to a fast tempo league and again is constantly exposed and resorts to needless fouls. Mallan is a player who needs to very quickly get fitter, stronger and work harder for the team when not in possession - the fouls he committed first half v Aberdeen were lazy fouls and infuriating - he needs to learn when and when not to commit. He does have good technical ability, but you need balance and workrate from others to allow him to express.
I dare say there’s a few players we will have seen the last of when we start pre-season. Squad needs to be younger and hungrier - and fitter.
GGTTH07
05-02-2019, 05:46 PM
Michael Appleton backed heavily tonight.
05-02-2019, 05:56 PM
For some perspective on this appointment. If Hibs were after him at roughly the same time as Leeds got him , then we wouldnt stand a chance , it would actually have been laughable to approach him. He has done an excellent job at barnsley and had had his fingers burnt in a 3 month spell at a basket case of a football club in leeds. That 3 months in Leeds will have probably taught him more than his entire spell at Barnsley. Also makes him less likely to dive into leaving if he is successful with us. I think its a refreshing appointment, similar values to the club itself , and i welcome him with open arms .
05-02-2019, 05:57 PM
What's he been doing for the last 2 years? I'll support the new guy as much as I can but some of the names getting talked about have given me the fear tbh.
05-02-2019, 05:57 PM
Did he sign Mallan when he was at Barnsley?
05-02-2019, 05:59 PM
For some perspective on this appointment. If Hibs were after him at roughly the same time as Leeds got him , then we wouldnt stand a chance , it would actually have been laughable to approach him. He has done an excellent job at barnsley and had had his fingers burnt in a 3 month spell at a basket case of a football club in leeds. That 3 months in Leeds will have probably taught him more than his entire spell at Barnsley. Also makes him less likely to dive into leaving if he is successful with us. I think its a refreshing appointment, similar values to the club itself , and i welcome him with open arms .
What I’ve been trying to say. Spot on.
05-02-2019, 06:00 PM
What I’ve been trying to say. Spot on.
Or if we went on Neil’s Bolton stats this place would combust.
05-02-2019, 06:07 PM
Hope not. I've never liked him for some reason. Pretty poor record and jumped ship from Blackpool very quickly.
05-02-2019, 06:08 PM
How do you know whether someone has been backed heavily? The Hibs manager market is so small it doesn’t take much to move the odds. I put a £10 punt on somebody at the weekend and their odds halved within the hour.
05-02-2019, 06:13 PM
What are the latest odds? Don't most bookies take them down for the night at a certain time?
I wonder what has made us interested in Heckingbottom, his record doesn’t look great after his caretaker spells with Barnsley. Very interesting indeed.
Most likely more a case of him submitting an application and the club following things up rather than them making any unsolicited contact. They'll learn more by speaking to candidates directly irrespective of their CV content.
Personally I'd prefer to go with a manager who has good football knowledge rather than any knowledge or experience they may have of the Scottish game. There's loads of candidates out there so it will be interesting to see who we end up going for?
05-02-2019, 06:15 PM
What are the latest odds? Don't most bookies take them down for the night at a certain time?
Sky still have them up. Heckingbottom in to 1/2 and Appleton out of nowhere is second favourite at 7/2.
05-02-2019, 06:19 PM
Barnsley forums not giving to much away 😂
That doesn’t sound too promising. If there’s any truth in some of these comments how would Scott Allan fit in?
05-02-2019, 06:20 PM
It’s getting ludicrous now. Posters all over the shop (not just at me) looking for a reason to act the prick (nobody in particular) and rip and belittle others.
And I'm pleased to say it's got hee haw to do with me on this ocassion 😀
05-02-2019, 06:22 PM
Too much sense being spoken here. Leave it to the 'experts' on here mate 😀
Hibees1973
05-02-2019, 06:28 PM
Have been told by someone at East Mains that Dempster is meeting with Strachan tomorrow.
Press articles seem to say he is not interested. Interested enough to meet with a Dempster tomorrow.
Not saying Strachan is coming to Hibs but willing to talk about it.
mcfly
05-02-2019, 06:30 PM
👏👏👏
Or if we went on Neil’s Bolton stats this place would combust.
Have been told by someone at East Mains that Dempster is meeting with Strachan tomorrow.
Press articles seem to say he is not interested. Interested enough to meet with a Dempster tomorrow.
He was in Edinburgh last Thursday. I wonder where they are meeting.
HibeeBigFly
05-02-2019, 06:31 PM
I think it will almost certainly be Strachan and he will be good for us!
05-02-2019, 06:31 PM
And I'm pleased to say it's got hee haw to do with me on this ocassion 😀
We’re best bro’s now mate, aren’t we? 😂😁
05-02-2019, 06:32 PM
Don’t like the sound of this boy
05-02-2019, 06:33 PM
We’re best bro’s now mate, aren’t we? 😂😁
For the foreseeable future mate 😂
Gordon Strachan!!
At last a candidate I don’t have to google!
McIntosh
05-02-2019, 06:46 PM
I think it will almost certainly be Strachan and he will be good for us! You may be correct but I doubt it, the thing that makes me think this is that he lives near Lemington Spa and seems unwilling to move.
Hibees1973
05-02-2019, 06:46 PM
He was in Edinburgh last Thursday. I wonder where they are meeting.
Dempster and I think George Craig are in England just now. I heard the meeting is somewhere in the Midlands as Strachan lives in the Coventry area.
Again I’m not predicting Strachan is coming to Hibs and would need a sizeable salary to get him here.
He would be pure box office though and has the kind of profile I think would be great for a Hibs.
Know he can be a wee pain, but I think that is what is great about him.
Crowds would be huge at Hibs with an attacking and successful Strachan team.
05-02-2019, 06:48 PM
Dempster and I think George Craig are in England just now. I heard the meeting is somewhere in the Midlands as Strachan lives in the Coventry area.
Again I’m not predicting Strachan is coming to Hibs and would need a sizeable salary to get him here.
He would be pure box office though and has the kind of profile I think would be great for a Hibs.
Strachan lives in Lytham Saint Annes
05-02-2019, 06:52 PM
Strachan has loads of experience at the very top, he’s a Hibs fan, his family are Hibs fans and he knows Scottish football. He would also start with a good media relationship and if he was a massive success I doubt he’d be interested in moving on. I also think he would demand investment and if he was unsuccessful he would probably just leave without taking huge compensation from Hibs. If he’s willing I personally would jump at it.
05-02-2019, 06:53 PM
Gordon Strachan!!
Lol totally
Would be happy if it was Strachan as well.
Unless he moved recently, he lives in Leamington Spa.
05-02-2019, 06:55 PM
Gordon Strachan!!
Don’t google him - some horror stories in there from Middlesbrough, Coventry and Scotland.
05-02-2019, 06:57 PM
Agreed. I still think he’s our no1 target.
He said he would talk to us and even although he’s concentrating on youth development or whatever he hinted that if he could do both......
drummondst
You may be correct but I doubt it, the thing that makes me think this is that he lives near Lemington Spa and seems unwilling to move.
I live in Leamington & watch Hibs when I can , on day trips by train or overnight Megabus.
Does he not play golf at Silverknowes occasionally ?
have also seen Terry Butcher & Stephen Pressley around these parts.
Drummond St:flag:
Unless he moved recently, he lives in Leamington Spa.
Maybe he's moved. Last time I was round it was defo Lytham Saint Annes.
Sure he said on Si Ferry interview that's where he stayed.
Unless he's a 2 hoos bam!
WestStandMoaner
05-02-2019, 06:58 PM
Sorry I must be missing something, he got a permanent contract on 15th june 2015 and it ended on 6th February 2018. Barnsley played 83 games with a record of 23 wins, 23 draws and 37 defeats a win ratio of 27.7 percent. Your idea of an excellent job is different from mines.
Mr Grieves
05-02-2019, 07:02 PM
Barnsley in the Championship are always going to struggle though. He got them there and was comfortably keeping them there. Something both Stubbs and Lennon failed at.
He obviously didn't have the best time at Leeds but who actually does? If he's learned from that then why not?
The manager that preceded Heckingbottom at Leeds, Thomas Christiansen, had a win % of 43%. Bielsa succeeded Heckingbottom and has a win % of 54.55%. Heckingbottom's win % of 25% is appalling in comparison. In fact, Heckingbottom has made a habit of losing more games than he's won throughout his managerial Career.
McIntosh
05-02-2019, 07:02 PM
Strachan lives in Lytham Saint Annes he clearly has a few houses as he is Leamington a lot but considering that The Strachan Football Foundation is in Rugby that cannot be surprising.
Greenworld
05-02-2019, 07:18 PM
Strachan and Doolan announced tomorrow well done Hibs fooled everyone again
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
05-02-2019, 07:20 PM
Doubt it
05-02-2019, 07:23 PM
I’ll need to see a poorly photoshopped picture as proof before I get excited
05-02-2019, 07:33 PM
Pretty sure he doesn’t
05-02-2019, 07:35 PM
Sorry I must be missing something, he got a permanent contract on 15th june 2015 and it ended on 6th February 2018. Barnsley played 83 games with a record of 23 wins, 23 draws and 37 defeats a win ratio of 27.7 percent. Your idea of an excellent job is different from mines.
He took Barnsley from bottom half (no pun intended) of league one to promotion in his first season , he then guided them to a mid table finish in the championship the season after , he was doing a similar job the season after that which earned him a move to a massive club in leeds united , Barnsley then fell away and were relegated.
That is an excellent job in my eyes. If you want look at his win ratio , then at least apply a little context to it. Compare his budget to the other clubs he was facing week in and out. Look at what his targets would have been each season and then tell me he didnt do an excellent job. Its comparable to Ayr united being promoted this season and their manager having them sitting comfortable in the table in the premier with a similar win ratio.
05-02-2019, 07:38 PM
Really hope your right and GS is announced soon. This talk of Appleton/Magilton/Grayson/Thingybottom/Hust is giving me palpitations. Don’t fancy any of them
05-02-2019, 07:39 PM
Really hope your right and GS is announced soon. This talk of Appleton/Magilton/Grayson/Thingybottom/Hust is giving me palpitations. Don’t fancy any of them
Can you really see GS not having a say on who we sign?
Lets be honest....Strachan or Stubbs equals full house V Hamilton in a few weeeks. Anyone else does not. Maybe a short term thing or an insight into us as fans!
Greenworld
05-02-2019, 07:41 PM
Strange one on sky bey Michael Appleton in to 7/2 second favourite from nowhere
05-02-2019, 07:42 PM
I'm with you on that one....
RedHibby
05-02-2019, 07:50 PM
Heckingbottom will be announced by the end of the week.
05-02-2019, 07:51 PM
The manager that preceded Heckingbottom at Leeds, Thomas Christiansen, had a win % of 43%. Bielsa succeeded Heckingbottom and has a win % of 54.55%. Heckingbottom's win % of 25% is appalling in comparison. In fact, Heckingbottom has made a habit of losing more games than he's won throughout his managerial Career.
Did they both get transfer windows and substantial money to bring in their own players at Leeds? PH got neither yet blooded now their number one sold a young player for loads of money and done the same as the equivalent of getting Queens promoted this season after taking over in the relegation places and stabilising them in the top league.
05-02-2019, 07:54 PM
He took Barnsley from bottom half (no pun intended) of league one to promotion in his first season , he then guided them to a mid table finish in the championship the season after , he was doing a similar job the season after that which earned him a move to a massive club in leeds united , Barnsley then fell away and were relegated.
That is an excellent job in my eyes. If you want look at his win ratio , then at least apply a little context to it. Compare his budget to the other clubs he was facing week in and out. Look at what his targets would have been each season and then tell me he didnt do an excellent job. Its comparable to Ayr united being promoted this season and their manager having them sitting comfortable in the table in the premier with a similar win ratio.
He actually didn’t do a similar job the following season. He left Barnsley in 21st place and on a run of 1 win in 16 games (all comps) - their only win in that near 3 month period was against Sunderland who were bottom.
05-02-2019, 07:54 PM
I will be gutted if GS is brought in.
K-Zazu
05-02-2019, 07:56 PM
Heckingbottom will be announced by the end of the week.
Says who?
05-02-2019, 07:56 PM
Its actually quite laughable to judge the guy on his win ratio at Barnsley. The bigger picture is that he took a club from relegation battle in league one to mid table in the championship. That should be how a managers performance is judged surely?
Souter96Mac
05-02-2019, 07:57 PM
Think we'll announce the new manager Thursday/Friday of this week. Not been told anything specifically, but got a hunch.
05-02-2019, 07:58 PM
How come?
He actually didn’t do a similar job the following season. He left Barnsley in 21st place and on a run of 1 win in 16 games (all comps) - their only win in that near 3 month period was against Sunderland who were bottom.
Comparable to wagner at Huddersfield , did he do a bad job?
Its actually quite laughable to judge the guy on his win ratio at Barnsley. The bigger picture is that he took a club from relegation battle in league one to mid table in the championship. That should be how a managers performance is judged surely?
Yep. A massive club like Leeds thought to themselves “let’s bring in some huddy who hasn’t got a clue” or perhaps they looked at how well he done with a smaller club on the resources he had and paid £500k for his services.
05-02-2019, 07:59 PM
Give the job tae Boozy.
05-02-2019, 08:00 PM
Then was in the process of taking them back down again.
Maybe he’s an example of someone who can manage successfully when things are going well but struggles to turn things around if the going gets tough. Sounds similar to the guy we just got rid of.
05-02-2019, 08:02 PM
Maybe he’s an example of someone who can manage successfully when things are going well but struggles to turn things around if the going gets tough. Sounds similar to the guy we just got rid of.
Why would Leeds want him if he was taking Barnsley back down?
It’s already been said a couple of times he’s won once in 12 or 13 a few times so he knows how to deal with losing his top players at Barnsley for 2 seasons running and still managing to keep them in the Championship. Chips where down at Barnsley when he went in, he turned them around he lost loads of games on the trot he turned it around. He done what Lennon couldn’t do - keep a club in the second tier of English football.
05-02-2019, 08:02 PM
They were still not in the relegation places when he left , he done an excellent job at Barnsley
05-02-2019, 08:03 PM
I ll take 2 great seasons with every manager we appoint thanks
05-02-2019, 08:03 PM
How come?
I don't like him. Dont like his coaching techniques. Don't like him constantly making excuses about how Scotland players are too small. He had Mark McGhee as an Assistant? I really don't see the excitement about him. His football is rank rotten too.
05-02-2019, 08:07 PM
So do you think wagner at huddersfield did a good job in his time there?
05-02-2019, 08:08 PM
It’s already been said a couple of times he’s won once in 12 or 13 a few times so he knows how to deal with losing his top players at Barnsley for 2 seasons running and still managing to keep them in the Championship. Chips where down at Barnsley when he went in, he turned them around he lost loads of games on the trot he turned it around. He done what Lennon couldn’t do - keep a club in the second tier of English football.
He wouldn’t have been the first questionable managerial appointment at Leeds.
Only operating as a coach ??
05-02-2019, 08:14 PM
So do you think wagner at huddersfield did a good job in his time there?
I think his performance got over-egged because he tried to play attractive football and is best pals with Klopp. Ultimately his inability/unwillingness to adapt his style has left Huddersfield facing relegation.
hibs#1
05-02-2019, 08:16 PM
Seems to have done ok at Oxford. Has been shocking everywhere else as far as I can see.
Portsmouth, Blackpool and Blackburn not exactly the best run clubs though.
Montford
05-02-2019, 08:18 PM
Barnsley 3rd/4th biggest team in that league. Didn’t overachieve in doing so. Indeed some would say that was the least expected.
David Hopkins at Livi was a much bigger achievement in my eyes. Even Ian Mcall at Ayr by comparison
Heckinbottom is uninspiring.
05-02-2019, 08:18 PM
Yep. A massive club like Leeds thought to themselves “let’s bring in some huddy who hasn’t got a clue” or perhaps they looked at how well he done with a smaller club on the resources he had and paid £500k for his services.
Also has an degree and masters degree in coaching and been a former player to at about our level. He was given 16 games and 3 playing months there. Think he will bring the fresh pair of eyes and is a developer of young players. All which we need.
05-02-2019, 08:21 PM
I think his performance got over-egged because he tried to play attractive football and is best pals with Klopp. Ultimately his inability/unwillingness to adapt his style has left Huddersfield facing relegation.
Over egged 😂
He took an unfancied side to promotion in his first season and kept them up comfortably in his second season. He has moved the club forwards massively. Would he have done a better job if he had a higher win ratio playing inferior opponents but never getting promoted?
The guy did an excellent job at huddersfield as did hickinbottom with Barnsley.
05-02-2019, 08:22 PM
Comparable to wagner at Huddersfield , did he do a bad job?
Is Wagner available?
05-02-2019, 08:24 PM
Barnsley 3rd/4th biggest team in that league. Didn’t overachieve in doing so. Indeed some would say that was the least expected.
David Hopkins at Livi was a much bigger achievement in my eyes. Even Ian Mcall at Ayr by comparison
Heckinbottom is uninspiring.
But where were they when he took the job? 3rd or 4th? Answer is no , they were near the bottom of the league. What would the expectation been in his 2nd season?? Answer is for Barnsley to stay up.
darwenhibby
05-02-2019, 08:25 PM
Get that Newport guy in!!
05-02-2019, 08:25 PM
Is Wagner available?
Would anybody want him at hibs? His win ratio isnt the best.
05-02-2019, 08:27 PM
He also done what Stubbs couldn't do. Not that it matters.
I would rather Stubbs than this guy. Doesn't inspire me at all.
05-02-2019, 08:27 PM
Is Wagner available?
Taking time out.
05-02-2019, 08:29 PM
You’re the one who keeps mentioning Win %’s. I’ve never known somebody to get so offended over the questioning of a manager who has not even been appointed yet. If he is appointed, I hope he’s a roaring success, not just for Hibs sake but for your sake too as I’m not sure how you would handle him being criticised.
05-02-2019, 08:31 PM
Is Wagner available?
Retreated to Valhalla......
05-02-2019, 08:33 PM
You’re the one who keeps mentioning Win %’s. I’ve never known somebody to get so offended over the questioning of a manager who has not even been appointed yet. If he is appointed, I hope he’s a roaring success, not just for Hibs sake but for your sake too as I’m not sure how you would handle him being criticised.
There were people criticising his win ratio earlier in the thread. Its not something i find offensive, i just think its a flawed method of judging his success. Dont see how his potential performance at hibs has anything to do with it , im talking about his job at Barnsley that we can judge with hard facts
05-02-2019, 08:33 PM
Is Wagner available?
I’d think so. Last seen him singing bespoke fitbaw songs on Facebook for £20 a pop *♂️
05-02-2019, 08:39 PM
I think you’re safe there.
05-02-2019, 08:43 PM
Also has an degree and masters degree in coaching and been a former player to at about our level. He was given 16 games and 3 playing months there. Think he will bring the fresh pair of eyes and is a developer of young players. All which we need.
Plus 1
Everyone always moans also about Scottish football and pandering to the old firm etc etc now it’s wrong to get in someone away from our game? Someone like Steve Clarke based down south and not giving a hoot about anyone in the league apart from us.
Calderwood comparisons - Calderwood was an assistant before coming and he was dying to go back to that because he failed as a manager and felt more comfortable as a coach, a brilliant coach but never a head coach.
05-02-2019, 08:44 PM
I think we should just give up. Everybody dislikes everybody and we don't want anybody. Shut the door on your way out and so be it.😉
BegbieHSC
05-02-2019, 08:45 PM
Really depressing me tbh. Really questioning where the board see us in the future. These kinda links feel like a return to mid-table service, when we know our club is capable of so much better.
05-02-2019, 08:46 PM
After consulting West Yorkshire football fans, I've come to the conclusion that I won't be happy with Heckingbottom
Is Wagner available?
He’s managing fc Valkyries.
05-02-2019, 08:48 PM
He also done what Stubbs couldn't do. Not that it matters.
I would rather Stubbs than this guy. Doesn't inspire me at all.
“This guy” also done what Lennon couldn’t do before we go round in circles again. Why wouldn’t a guy who kept Barnsley in the Championship inspire you when Lennon who was “a winner” is your hero?
05-02-2019, 08:49 PM
After consulting West Yorkshire football fans, I've come to the conclusion that I won't be happy with Heckingbottom
As much as I respect your opinion I’ll trust our MD in making the correct decision to get our football club back on track after the shambles of this season 👍
05-02-2019, 08:49 PM
He’s managing fc Valkyries.
Ok, is Wenger available? 😉
05-02-2019, 08:51 PM
Really depressing me tbh. Really questioning where the board see us in the future. These kinda links feel like a return to middle-table service, when we know our club is capable of so much better.
You're getting really depressed because we might appoint a manager that you know litle about?
It sounds like you might need to re-evaluate your life's priorities.
You must have been suicidal when Leeann Dempster brought in Stubbs :greengrin
I'm sure that she will consider all the applications again this time and pick the best fit for Hibs.
Don't worry, be happy. :aok:
05-02-2019, 08:51 PM
Strange one on sky bey Michael Appleton in to 7/2 second favourite from nowhere
Noticed that, former Leicester assistant coach?
05-02-2019, 09:00 PM
Noticed that, former Leicester assistant coach?
Looking at his profile Michael Appleton dose not instil me with confidence.
Out of the few mentioned Graeme Jones does.
05-02-2019, 09:01 PM
Just to put win percentages in perspective Levein had a win ratio of 27% at Leicester and in Scotland it's always been over 40% bar the Scotland shambles. It just shows that the English game especially the championship is on helluva league to make a name for yourself.
BegbieHSC
05-02-2019, 09:02 PM
You're getting really depressed because we might appoint a manager that you know litle about?
It sounds like you might need to re-evaluate your life's priorities.
You must have been suicidal when Leeann Dempster brought in Stubbs :greengrin
I'm sure that she will consider all the applications again this time and pick the best fit for Hibs.
Don't worry, be happy. :aok:
Depressing from a football point of view, as opposed to every day life :wink:
We had just been relegated, haemorrhaged season ticket holders, and had been pish for years. I was delighted as Stubbs wasn’t Butcher.
Now? We’ve won the cup, have record crowds, and had a great season last year. An amazing time to push our club on, and expel the notion of mediocrity being acceptable.
I’d rather be going for managers like GS - proven success in the league. I’m all for a left field candidate who’s done well abroad, but not failures from the English lower leagues.
The list of managers we’re being linked with have been sacked at most of their previous clubs, and have little to no experience of the Scottish game.
For me, I do have question marks about how serious the board are about progressing our club.
SloopJB
05-02-2019, 09:04 PM
We must get rid of the new guy coming in before we get relegated.
Didn't like him when I hear who it's going to be and I have it from a good source he's only coming here to do a job.
No wins in no games is a horrible stat. 100% no win rate.
I seriously wonder about the ambition of this club when we should have gone for the other guy.
I'm going to buy a season ticket next year and go to all the games until this is sorted out and all you other supporters are probably wrong which makes me want to stamp my feet.
It had to be said.
05-02-2019, 09:14 PM
Didn't like him when I hear who it's going to be and I have it from a good source he's only coming here to do a job.
I seriously wonder about the ambition of this club when we should have gone for the other guy.
I'm going to buy a season ticket next year and go to all the games until this is sorted out and all you other supporters are probably wrong which makes me want to stamp my feet.
It had to be said.
You've managed, in that post, to communicate what so many have tried to say, yet failed.
Great post.
05-02-2019, 09:16 PM
It would be nice to get some sort of pr to the fans from the board .
Total disconnect now, back to 3 years ago.
Neil Lennon was the 1st team coach, ***** ***** is the new 1st team coach.
I'm obviously not asking for potential targets to be revealed but even a little insight as to what's going on would suffice.
05-02-2019, 09:20 PM
It would be nice to get some sort of pr to the fans from the board .
Total disconnect now, back to 3 years ago.
Neil Lennon was the 1st team coach, ***** ***** is the new 1st team coach.
I'm obviously not asking for potential targets to be revealed but even a little insight as to what's going on would suffice.
Don’t really know what you want them to say they are in the middle of recruiting a new head coach and going through the interview process what more would we expect to be told?
05-02-2019, 09:24 PM
Maybe the fans should interview prospective managers ! now that would be fun.
Spudster
05-02-2019, 09:26 PM
I’d rather be going for managers like GS - proven success in the league. I’m all for a left field candidate who’s done well abroad, but not failures from the English lower leagues.
The list of managers we’re being linked with have been sacked at most of their previous clubs, and have little to no experience of the Scottish game.
For me, I do have question marks about how serious the board are about progressing our club.
Strachans only success has come at Celtic. A club who’s wealth makes it a completely unlevel playing field so I wouldn’t even look at that era of his CV.
05-02-2019, 09:26 PM
Don’t really know what you want them to say they are in the middle of recruiting a new head coach and going through the interview process what more would we expect to be told?
Of course nothing will be revealed as to the recruitment of the head coach. Some/Any sort of positive pr from the club to the fans would be most welcome though.
05-02-2019, 09:29 PM
Strachans only success has come at Celtic. A club who’s wealth makes it a completely unlevel playing field so I wouldn’t even look at that era of his CV.
How did he get the job at Celtic then?
05-02-2019, 09:33 PM
How did he get the job at Celtic then?
Borrowed John Barnes interview notes.
BegbieHSC
05-02-2019, 09:38 PM
Strachan won the league 3 years in a row with Celtic over his 4 year spell, when competing against an EBT laden Rangers team. I would strongly say that era is something to put on his CV...
05-02-2019, 09:43 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/3841820/hibs-paul-heckingbottom-dean-holden-lead-race/
Heckingbottom and Dean Holden leading candidates. Doolan and Hurst also under consideration.
Mr Grieves
05-02-2019, 09:46 PM
Did they both get transfer windows and substantial money to bring in their own players at Leeds? PH got neither yet blooded now their number one sold a young player for loads of money and done the same as the equivalent of getting Queens promoted this season after taking over in the relegation places and stabilising them in the top league.
You asked who does well at Leeds, suggesting that every manager has a poor record there, and I gave you 2 examples of managers that did substantially better than the guy you're currently cheerleading for. If we employ the guy I hope you are right and he does well, let's leave it there.
05-02-2019, 09:47 PM
Of course nothing will be revealed as to the recruitment of the head coach. Some/Any sort of positive pr from the club to the fans would be most welcome though.
I’m no sure there is any 😉
05-02-2019, 09:50 PM
Sounds like my kind of manager!
SuperSirJMcginn
05-02-2019, 09:52 PM
I think we should just get a caretaker in until end of the season and see who’s available then . Better than rushing into it. Looks how well it has worked for Man U , brining in a former player . Surely someone like Martin Canning can come in and do the job . He’s cheap and available and has played for us. Good man management and plays good football. Thoughts?
Keyser Sauzee
05-02-2019, 09:56 PM
Give the job tae Boozy.
No chance we’ll give it to Alex Harris
05-02-2019, 10:00 PM
I think we should just get a caretaker in until end of the season and see who’s available then . Better than rushing into it. Looks how well it has worked for Man U , brining in a former player . Surely someone like Martin Canning can come in and do the job . He’s cheap and available and has played for us. Good man management and plays good football. Thoughts?
Martin Canning? the Martin Canning that just got the sack from Hamilton? No thanks
05-02-2019, 10:00 PM
Has it been confirmed that Jackie Macnanara has been interviewed yet?
05-02-2019, 10:01 PM
You mean like Neil Lennon before he came to Hibs?
05-02-2019, 10:02 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/sport/football/3841820/hibs-paul-heckingbottom-dean-holden-lead-race/
Heckingbottom and Dean Holden leading candidates. Doolan and Hurst also under consideration.
Hurst available @ 18/1 and Holden @ 20/1 on skybet. Decent odds if this is really the final 4 shortlist.
Edit - Doolan @ 10/1
05-02-2019, 10:03 PM
Why do you want to give it to someone till the season's end?
I don't want to be going through this torture again in 4 months.
DetroitHibs
05-02-2019, 10:08 PM
Why do you want to give it to someone till the season's end?
I don't want to be going through this torture again in 4 months.
I actually think it's not a bad idea. If Killie start to falter and Clarke realizes next season will be even harder, he might decide to jump ship while his stock is high. Also an Jack Ross or Alex Neil might become available.
05-02-2019, 10:09 PM
Heckingbottom :rolleyes: good lord no ta
RedHibby
05-02-2019, 10:10 PM
Says who?
Says me.
05-02-2019, 10:10 PM
Taken from Barnsley fan forum "Shame for Stevie Mallan. Heckingbottom doesn't believe in number 10's. He likes headless chickens that run about a lot" http://barnsleyfc.org.uk/styles/default/xenforo/clear.png
SuperSirJMcginn
05-02-2019, 10:11 PM
Martin Canning? the Martin Canning that just got the sack from Hamilton? No thanks
He’s worked wonder at Hamilton on a low budget. Keeping them in the league is bigger than Stubbs winning the cup.
He’s also good tactician and like to play the hibs way.
05-02-2019, 10:12 PM
He’s worked wonder at Hamilton on a low budget. Keeping them in the league is bigger than Stubbs winning the cup.
No bother Martin pal 👍
05-02-2019, 10:12 PM
Really don’t want Doolan.
Never heard much about him till we won the Scottish cup and the dvd came out (which he came across very well in)
We need to freshen things up, someone with new ideas.
Tornadoes70
05-02-2019, 10:15 PM
Completely erroneous statement. Think I erred somewhat when agreeing with you earlier.
05-02-2019, 10:38 PM
Sun saying Heckingbottom,Dean Holden and John Doolan bit of a comedown from Neil Lennon
05-02-2019, 10:41 PM
Sun saying Heckingbottom,Dean Holden and John Doolan bit of a comedown from Neil Lennon
Can't be. There were dozens of posts on here recently demanding lenny be fired.. He was gonna be a piece of cake to replace, we could easily do better than him they cried..
05-02-2019, 10:45 PM
He’s also good tactician and like to play the hibs way.good son great son right up yer kilt son
05-02-2019, 10:49 PM
:faf: I'd walk over broken glass to have him here.
05-02-2019, 10:50 PM
There are plenty of cheap and available managers but I don’t really want to see a short term management appointment. We have enough short term (loan)players without going down the same route with a manager. We need continuity for the new manager to start identifying his targets for next season.
05-02-2019, 10:52 PM
Can't be. There were dozens of posts on here recently demanding lenny be fired.. He was gonna be a piece of cake to replace, we could easily do better than him they cried..
These people can't do better based on?
05-02-2019, 10:59 PM
You badmouth our fundraising efforts as a Ponzi scheme yet you clearly have no understanding of what a Ponzi scheme is.
05-02-2019, 11:00 PM
Heckingbottom and Dean Holden leading candidates. Doolan and Hurst also under consideration.I could never ever consider
even reading the Sun or their link. however, one of the names you mention are definately being considered.according to me.:wink
Who says the head coach doesn't have a say, surely he'll be involved somewhere in the process, players will be looked at to fit into the profile the head coach will want for whatever system and style he'll get the team to play.
Strachan's total win % is 44.35, not too shabby
05-02-2019, 11:46 PM
You asked who does well at Leeds, suggesting that every manager has a poor record there, and I gave you 2 examples of managers that did substantially better than the guy you're currently cheerleading for. If we employ the guy I hope you are right and he does well, let's leave it there.
The missing part of your arguement is both they manager got substantial amount of money and transfer windows to make a mark. First got sacked second is going that way. PH got no chance at Leeds and brought through young players, it’s like you’re missing that out deliberately.
05-02-2019, 11:48 PM
Writing off potential new managers before they are even in the door is worrying
Spudster
06-02-2019, 12:05 AM
You mean like Neil Lennon before he came to Hibs?
Yes
Spudster
06-02-2019, 12:11 AM
Strachan won the league 3 years in a row with Celtic over his 4 year spell, when competing against an EBT laden Rangers team. I would strongly say that era is something to put on his CV...
Rangers had tightened their belt significantly by the time Strachan got to Celtic. Boyd and Novo isn’t exactly the days of Laudrup and Gazza
06-02-2019, 12:59 AM
I have just spent the last hour listening to an in depth interview with Paul Heckingbottom in which he speaks about his experiences with Barnsley & Leeds and shares what he thinks is important in management, tactics & recruitment. If you listen to it you will have a more informed opinion about whether you want him at Hibs or not.
The links are below and the topics & timecodes are in the description. Enjoy and tell us what you think of The Heck :aok:
SC: https://soundcloud.com/ntt20pod/ntt20-pod-meets-paul-heckingbottom … (https://t.co/KH2eFYubOT)
iT: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/not-the-top-20-podcast/id1112915286?mt=2 … (https://t.co/Wfirs5gygj)
OsloHibs
06-02-2019, 03:03 AM
I'll support the lucky man, whoever he may be!
Dr_Regal
06-02-2019, 03:17 AM
I have just spent the last hour listening to an in depth interview with Paul Heckingbottom in which he speaks about his experiences with Barnsley & Leeds and shares what he thinks is important in management, tactics & recruitment. If you listen to it you will have a more informed opinion about whether you want him at Hibs or not.
The links are below and the topics & timecodes are in the description. Enjoy and tell us what you think of The Heck :aok:
SC: https://soundcloud.com/ntt20pod/ntt20-pod-meets-paul-heckingbottom … (https://t.co/KH2eFYubOT)
iT: https://itunes.apple.com/gb/podcast/not-the-top-20-podcast/id1112915286?mt=2 … (https://t.co/Wfirs5gygj)
Yeah just listened to that. Very good interview, really enjoyed the Barnsley stories. Smallest club in the championship and he did very well that first year after getting them promoted. Sounds positive and love his talk of intensity.
Would be happy with him
Green_one
06-02-2019, 05:02 AM
Yeah just listened to that. Very good interview, really enjoyed the Barnsley stories. Smallest club in the championship and he did very well that first year after getting them promoted. Sounds positive and love his talk of intensity.
Would be happy with him
Sounds fine. Very diff from Lennon More like Stubbs. Would need someone to assist with local knowledge
I think with all Managers you never know until they are bedded in but I am warming to him
I think he is probably good bringing players on. Might have access to a different pool of players for recruitment. Has lived in some tough football environments. Think he could bring stability. Appears well thought of.
Greenworld
06-02-2019, 05:17 AM
Can't be. There were dozens of posts on here recently demanding lenny be fired.. He was gonna be a piece of cake to replace, we could easily do better than him they cried..Lennon has left a team in the bottom 6 and without being a stato I think had won 1 game in his last 11
Similar stats being branded about the prospective new candidates who worked under much more difficult circumstances the he had.
For what it's worth we might be jumping the gun a bit we are still talking to others as well.
SuperSirJMcginn
06-02-2019, 07:59 AM
I actually think it's not a bad idea. If Killie start to falter and Clarke realizes next season will be even harder, he might decide to jump ship while his stock is high. Also an Jack Ross or Alex Neil might become available.
Sorry but there's no chance we'll get near Clarke, Ross or Neil. Complete fantasy.
06-02-2019, 08:08 AM
Sorry but there's no chance we'll get near Clarke, Ross or Neil. Complete fantasy.
Clarke wants Cellic job if Brenda leaves - and will bide his time at Killie IMHO.
Ross and Neil will be on £10k+ a week... they aint coming to Hibs anytime soon..
green with envy
06-02-2019, 08:10 AM
I remember someone on here posting up a Youtube video of Butcher just after he was appointed and after watching feeling really impressed. Moral of the story - it's easy to talk a good game.
PS: That's not me suggestion that he wouldn't do a good job if he was to be appointed BTW.
06-02-2019, 08:22 AM
Clarke wants Cellic job if Brenda leaves - and will bide his time at Killie IMHO.
Ross and Neil will be on £10k+ a week... they aint coming to Hibs anytime soon..
Clarke will be taking a massive gamble then. Rodgers will be there two more years unless they baws the league up, by that time Killie could be back to fighting relegation having lost their best players.
06-02-2019, 08:29 AM
Clarke will be taking a massive gamble then. Rodgers will be there two more years unless they baws the league up, by that time Killie could be back to fighting relegation having lost their best players.
If that’s the case then why would we be looking at Clarke?
06-02-2019, 08:38 AM
I remember someone on here posting up a Youtube video of Butcher just after he was appointed and after watching feeling really impressed. Moral of the story - it's easy to talk a good game.
PS: That's not me suggestion that he wouldn't do a good job if he was to be appointed BTW.
I remember that and thinking he seemed like a right erse. Obviously at the time you want to put a positive spin on it though.
I’ve listened to half of that podcast above before work and I like it. I don’t think he’s selling an unrealistic image of himself but he comes across as an intelligent guy and a real thinker of the game.
Talks about playing a high intensity pressing game and doing studies on Dortmund and Athletico Madrid to find out how they overachieved and implementing what he can from those sides.
So my take on that is within a month he’ll have us playing as a combination of the two of them and we’ll have the league wrapped up in no time.
06-02-2019, 08:40 AM
If that’s the case then why would we be looking at Clarke?
We have a much higher budget than Killie.
06-02-2019, 08:48 AM
I remember that and thinking he seemed like a right erse. Obviously at the time you want to put a positive spin on it though.
I’ve listened to half of that podcast above before work and I like it. I don’t think he’s selling an unrealistic image of himself but he comes across as an intelligent guy and a real thinker of the game.
Talks about playing a high intensity pressing game and doing studies on Dortmund and Athletico Madrid to find out how they overachieved and implementing what he can from those sides.
So my take on that is within a month he’ll have us playing as a combination of the two of them and we’ll have the league wrapped up in no time.
Another positive with Heckingbottom is that he’s only 41 and Barnsley was his first managerial job. So hopefully he has learned a lot and is looking to improve, rather than being stuck in his ways.
Davy Mac
06-02-2019, 08:52 AM
If we are led to believe that Strachan is only luke warm to the idea of becoming the next Hibs Head Coach then no thanks.
I would like GS but we need a fully committed person to take us forward without distractions, somebody who is eager to get the club going again and move us up another level.
06-02-2019, 08:53 AM
The Rangers have a much higher budget than Killie or Hibs and he turned them down .
Hector Mudflap
06-02-2019, 08:54 AM
I spent a while on forums and youtube yesterday and didn't get a vibe from any of the fans of clubs he had left that he was that much of a loss. Others have said it's very uninspiring and I have to agree. In his interview he can certainly talk the talk the reality is often much worse and more than one fan saying he always played his favourites despite obvious failings.
We have a genuinely talented mix of players and the blend just isn't right. Maybe thats what was pushing NL over the edge all the time.
We can certainly make top six still.
This appointment is critical. It needs stability and someone who won't need to be shown all the inner workings and where the toilets are. We dont have time.
Stubbs knows where the toilets are and a temp position would work for me.
Like Ole Gunnerwhatshisname
What happened with Michael O'neil? Is he in the mix again?
Or Player manager Adam Le Fondre
06-02-2019, 08:54 AM
Watching that Butcher video was the first time i actually had some doubts. I thought it was really amateur with very little substance. Couldn’t face watching it again to go into further detail.
06-02-2019, 08:56 AM
I'd be surprised if any managers were getting through the interview process if they couldn't talk the talk.
06-02-2019, 08:56 AM
Another positive with Heckingbottom is that he’s only 41 and Barnsley was his first managerial job. So hopefully he has learned a lot and is looking to improve, rather than being stuck in his ways.
He says that in the podcast.
The Barnsley job came far earlier than he expected and was really ahead of where he wanted to be at that time. Once he got them promoted as caretaker he couldn’t say no to taking the job permanently.
I’ve not got to the bit about what happened at Leeds yet but he has mentioned that the period of being unemployed has given him the opportunity to stop, take stock of what he’s done wrong and what he’s done well, it’s also given him the chance to get the education he was ideally hoping for prior to taking his first job.
hibs#1
06-02-2019, 09:19 AM
I agree with this many managers fail at certain clubs then go on to be successful managers else where. Brendan Rodgers being one, unsuccessful at Watford and Reading in his first 2 jobs being one example.
06-02-2019, 09:28 AM
You’re missing the point. You stated that he’ll not get the job at Celtc and that Killie would be back to a relegation type team after the sale of their best players.
If that’s the case then surely that shows he is not that great a manager and would we really be after him if Killie were in such a position?
06-02-2019, 09:45 AM
The Rangers have a much higher budget than Killie or Hibs and he turned them down .
He’s a Celtic man though but good point I forgot about that.
06-02-2019, 09:47 AM
You’re missing the point. You stated that he’ll not get the job at Celtc and that Killie would be back to a relegation type team after the sale of their best players.
If that’s the case then surely that shows he is not that great a manager and would we really be after him if Killie were in such a position?
He will have more funds to bring in better players keeping him at the top of the table with us. He’s already brought in good players and replacements for the ones he’s lost at Killie but they are a bottom six club in size and I don’t think he can keep punching above his weight with them year after year until Celtic maybe give him a call. More greater chance of success up here with a bigger club.
06-02-2019, 09:53 AM
An interesting listen - thanks for posting. You can just see him ticking a lot of boxes with George Craig, and would be a candidate that would fit his idea of the head coach role.
06-02-2019, 09:56 AM
He’s a Celtic man though but good point I forgot about that.
Is he?
I thought Killie were always his team.
06-02-2019, 10:04 AM
I'm not sure that's right. Did he not say he hadn't been asked?
I'd heard he had an interview with RP but couldn't agree wages and that was that.
06-02-2019, 10:09 AM
Is he?
He is a Killie fan.
SuperSirJMcginn
06-02-2019, 10:17 AM
If reports are to be believed it seems Heckingbottom is our man. I know next to nothing about him so whilst not being overly excited its only fair to give the guy a chance.
There has been talk about him wanting an assistant with knowledge of the Scottish leagues, would we be happy with Grant Murray being that man?
06-02-2019, 10:20 AM
Is he?
I’m sure I read he grew up supporting Celtic but his brother who’s a big Killie fan convinced him to take the job.
06-02-2019, 10:21 AM
If reports are to be believed it seems Heckingbottom is our man. I know next to nothing about him so whilst not being overly excited its only fair to give the guy a chance.
There has been talk about him wanting an assistant with knowledge of the Scottish leagues, would we be happy with Grant Murray being that man?
Boozy for me highly regarded at Hamilton.
06-02-2019, 10:21 AM
He is a Killie fan.
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/celtic-hotseat-steve-clarke-saw-3640073.amp
06-02-2019, 10:23 AM
Half way through. Really enjoying listening to this. I guess you just never know if a manager or head coach will work but I like what I'm hearing. Seems to know what he's about. Particularly around tactics, coaching and developing players. Comes across as very humble. No billy big boots.
Dread to think what an alternative interview with Calderwood or Butcher would sound like.
06-02-2019, 10:24 AM
Half way through. Really enjoying listening to this. I guess you just never know if a manager or head coach will work but I like what I'm hearing. Seems to know what he's about. Particularly around tactics, coaching and developing players. Comes across as very humble. No billy big boots.
Dread to think what an alternative interview with Calderwood or Butcher would sound like.
An hour long interview with Calderwood sounds like a cure for insomnia.
06-02-2019, 10:31 AM
I'll take the first 6 go's in Russian Roulette instead thanks very much
06-02-2019, 10:37 AM
You might never wake up again after listening to an hour of him!
06-02-2019, 10:37 AM
06-02-2019, 10:58 AM
He is a Killie fan.
There's no such thing as a Killie fan - only Rangers and Celtic fans who sometimes kid on that they support a wee team.
06-02-2019, 10:59 AM
You might never wake up again after listening to an hour of him!
:greengrin:greengrin
06-02-2019, 11:06 AM
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/celtic-hotseat-steve-clarke-saw-3640073.amp
That's not Steve Clarke speaking though. He's said he's a Kilmarnock fan before he got the Killie job.
06-02-2019, 11:13 AM
That's not Steve Clarke speaking though. He's said he's a Kilmarnock fan before he got the Killie job.
One of his old team mates said it was his dream to play there and was a celtic fan. Have you got a link to the Killie fan interview? Not that it matters much in the grand scheme of things.
06-02-2019, 11:18 AM
Bit ambiguous here https://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/football/43922852 where he says there was no offer from the thes. Perhaps they did speak but he told them to eff off before they got round to making an offer.
06-02-2019, 11:21 AM
One of his old team mates said it was his dream to play there and was a celtic fan. Have you got a link to the Killie fan interview? Not that it matters much in the grand scheme of things.
https://twitter.com/ScotsFootyCards/status/945742587029319685
Article from 1987.