[
10]
12-02-2019, 09:46 PM
Lennon lives in Glasgow
Stayed in Musselburgh carbery am sure, Hibs house
Hibeesforever
12-02-2019, 09:46 PM
Talks with Heckingbottom now stalled too.... https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/paul-heckingbottom-hibs-stalls-club-13991607
Interesting that two talks have stalled. You wonder if Hibs are not offering very favourable management terms or a players budget that is acceptable.
12-02-2019, 09:47 PM
Interesting that two talks have stalled. You wonder if Hibs are not offering very favourable management terms or a players budget that is acceptable.
Or it’s the same agent and he’s being a plum
If it’s any consolation, Dean Holden is someone that would excite me.
Mentioned it previously, but him with Jamie Mcallister as his assistant.
I read about Holden and McAllister after someone maybe yourself mentioned then before. What are their current rolls? I thought they were both assistants are the moment?
Lennon lives in GlasgowNo he stayed through here was often out drinking in Portobello/Musselburgh area during his time at Hibs
12-02-2019, 09:48 PM
Tbf, if Appleton has taken the huff over what money he’d be due if he does a ***** job and gets sacked then we’re better off without him.
12-02-2019, 09:49 PM
Being reported that talks with Heckingbottom not going well either. The Sun saying we couldn’t agree a severance amount to be included in Appleton’s contract and also wouldn’t give him relocation costs (although I’m sure we put Lennon up in a house?).
What a surprise. :rolleyes:
Hibs refusing to pay a little bit extra to get someone in.
12-02-2019, 09:50 PM
Nah I’m with the club on that. If he ****s it up then I wouldn’t want us giving him a years salary as a wee goodbye present.
12-02-2019, 09:52 PM
What a surprise, someone else believing a made up story in a rag rubbishing our club.........
12-02-2019, 09:52 PM
Stayed in Musselburgh carbery am sure, Hibs house
Not too sure, did read something that him or Gerrard said they lived on the same street in Glasgow
12-02-2019, 09:54 PM
Says it in the Sun so it must be true eh? :doh:
12-02-2019, 09:55 PM
Have we not learned our lesson that being tight can have even larger financial consequences long-term? This is really frustrating.
Sent from my SM-J530F using Tapatalk
Who’s being tight?
12-02-2019, 09:56 PM
How is it a surprise? We brought in Stubbs and Lennon via similar terms.
Not Hibs issue.
Thankfully (and contrary to popular belief) this is why as part of a sound recruitment process, we have multiple candidates and don't focus on one person.
Anyone who recruits will know you narrow down to a few, not one.
12-02-2019, 09:57 PM
Or maybe the agent is shocked that he can't negotiate English type wages up in Scotland?
andrew70
12-02-2019, 09:58 PM
https://www.andrewscornerflag.co.uk/
my take on the latest goings on
12-02-2019, 09:59 PM
Broke down because he was expecting a whole years salary if he was sacked plus money for relocating?
I can’t imagine what he is asking for is common within most clubs.
Moving clubs/area in football is standard and something you should be used to.
We are hibs and offering him a massive opportunity to be head coach yet he wants more money incase he makes an arse of it?
Anyone worth their bottle would surely back themselves to not get sacked and therefore the settlement would be irrelevant
12-02-2019, 10:01 PM
Broke down because he was expecting a whole years salary if he was sacked plus money for relocating?
We are hibs and offering him a massive opportunity to be head coach yet he wants more money incase he makes an arse of it?
Anyone worth their bottle would surely back themselves to not get sacked and therefore the settlement would be irrelevant
100% and not like we sack managers left right and centre
12-02-2019, 10:02 PM
I read about Holden and McAllister after someone maybe yourself mentioned then before. What are their current rolls? I thought they were both assistants are the moment?
Both currently at Bristol’s city mate. Holden is assistant and Mcallister is a first team coach.
From what Iv heard both are very highly thought of and Bristol City are flying at the moment
Both young guys with good ideas and Mcallister obvious
12-02-2019, 10:02 PM
Stubbs and Lennon had that character about them. Maybe Appleton just weren’t up to it, then again he has been sacked a few times
12-02-2019, 10:04 PM
We'll be offering the 4th or 5th best salary for a manager in Scotland; opportunity to live in Edinburgh; excellent infrastructure; decent (if unbalanced) squad. They'll also have the chance to make their own mark on the squad come the summer after having had the chance to assess players.
If a candidate can't be convinced to join based on that then they're simply not the right person.
James310
12-02-2019, 10:04 PM
Agreed, let's see where he is in a few years. If he is managing at a good level and successful then we will regret it, but if he is still an unemployed coach then he will be the one regretting his decision.
They're all Leeds fans and he didn't do well with them so I guess that's the main reason.
They also think the style of football was poor.
I'm going to the game with a Scottish Leeds fan tomorrow, so I'll press him for more.
Regardless of who we get, of course, I'll probably be one of those defending him if/when others lose their patience.
Hopefully that won't happen though.
I'll be interested in what you find out be sure to update us.:aok:
12-02-2019, 10:06 PM
First time I've read your blog and I won't be spending any time looking for future entries. Sorry but that was a negative ramble.......
12-02-2019, 10:07 PM
Not too sure, did read something that him or Gerrard said they lived on the same street in Glasgow
They do.
I work beside someone that lives in the same bit.
It's absolute garbage, but why would that not be a surprise?
Scotty Leither
Or maybe the agent is shocked that he can't negotiate English type wages up in Scotland?
Maybe Hibs have got the same agent as Theresa May given the time both she and the Board are taking to put a "deal" together?
12-02-2019, 10:08 PM
Lennon lived in a house in Carberry, Stubbs, Holden, Dollan lived in apartments off Milton Road.
12-02-2019, 10:08 PM
I'll be interested in what you find out be sure to update us.:aok:
What makes me think you're not being 100% sincere?
Tornadoes70
12-02-2019, 10:09 PM
No offence whatsoever as I don't know you personally but you come across as yet another attention seeker ready to put the boot into the board.
Almost wish for it to be back in the day when there was very little news regarding appointments until the club unveiled their chosen one.
Some of the stuff being spouted is ludicrous. Don't know whether to laugh or cry at some of the utter rubbish being put about.
12-02-2019, 10:09 PM
They do.
I work beside someone that lives in the same bit.
👍
12-02-2019, 10:11 PM
Lennon lived in a house in Carberry, Stubbs, Holden, Dollan lived in apartments off Milton Road.
His permanent house was,and is,in Glasgow’s West End.The house here was just used when it suited him.If we were playing in Glasgow he went home there etc.
Also I understand people saying don’t beleive all of what you read in the papers etc
However I find it hard to beleive, with all their different sources that they would all come away with the same story.
There must be, at least some truth in it.
Almost wish for it to be back in the day when there was very little news regarding appointments until the club unveiled their chosen one.
In truth, that's exactly the situation we're in!
Very little news, just guess work and mischief making.
Tornadoes70
12-02-2019, 10:15 PM
In truth, that's exactly the situation we're in!
Very little news, just guess work and mischief making.
12-02-2019, 10:16 PM
I would imagine relocation expenses would be typical in the football world, no?
12-02-2019, 10:16 PM
Sounds like the press are systematically stirring things up to me.
I smell Tom Kite.
For what reason?
It’s not showing the club in a decent light at all. There can’t be any denying that.
12-02-2019, 10:18 PM
I would imagine relocation expenses would be typical in the football world, no?
Perhaps if we were not offering one of the club houses that previous managers, including Lennon, had.
villahibs
12-02-2019, 10:20 PM
So you want the club to release statements regarding who we are interviewing and why potential candidates are no longer being considered??
Absolute nonsense. In all honesty, although frustrating Hibs have been very professional in the way they have gone about their business here. Seems like the media and other mischief makers are trying to play a game of divide and conquer between the supporters and the board.
I’ve every faith the club will get this right... I certainly have more faith in the club than the Sun or the Record 🙈
12-02-2019, 10:22 PM
What’s with the latest demand for the club to update supporters on every single thing that goes on? Leeann came out and said we were progressing with the process and were taking our time to pick the right candidate. That’s probably the best you can hope for in this situation.
12-02-2019, 10:23 PM
For what reason?
It’s not showing the club in a decent light at all. There can’t be any denying that.
Maybe because they're against us because we got shot of their favourite. :dunno:
Or maybe it was the candidates' agent who leaked the story to the press in the first place and, because we're hiring someone else, he's now trying to find a way to backtrack without losing face.
Malicious lies are designed to put people in a bad light. I think you should defend your club against these attacks instead of joining in and adding to the criticism.
villahibs
12-02-2019, 10:24 PM
For what reason?
The constant nonsense rumours are what’s causing the ill feeling in the support... The club haven’t said a thing.
12-02-2019, 10:24 PM
Also I understand people saying don’t beleive all of what you read in the papers etc
However I find it hard to beleive, with all their different sources that they would all come away with the same story.
There must be, at least some truth in it.
There may well be truth in it but you’re likely only getting one side of the story. Read the article ask yourself who do you think have the journalist the details? Appleton’s reps or Hibs?
12-02-2019, 10:26 PM
If its Heckinbottom seems OK to me
Maybe not the most inspiring, but he mustve been doing something right to end up at Leeds. I know his win percentage isnt great but he had Barnsley punching way above there weight
Plus, this should clinch it for anybody:
"Heckingbottom was awarded Sports Hero of the Year by The Yorkshire Post."
sean04
12-02-2019, 10:34 PM
His permanent house was,and is,in Glasgow’s West End.The house here was just used when it suited him.If we were playing in Glasgow he went home there etc.
I thought he lived in north Berwick. Sure he got out of Glasgow with all the hassle he got. Know he played golf a lot at kilspinde
#2 Double Tap
12-02-2019, 10:38 PM
give us stubbsy till we identify a new 1st choice candidate!
I don't want no second or third choice who obviously failed during their interview. Stubbs is the only guy who can fill the stadium and quickly generate a feel good factor, why can't the board see stuff like that! He is also the one guy most fans will stick with during any sticky patches, it makes sense at least till the end of the season.
The mess the board are making is reminiscent of a few years ago......everything is always hidden behind closed doors with them, even all the transfer fees, it constantly feels cloak and dagger with the board. Fans just want honesty and transparency, if they done that the board haters would disappear and the boards stooges on here would not need to defend them like they was saints.
12-02-2019, 10:38 PM
A lot of guesswork, conjecture and fantasy on here but I am sure within it all somebody will have it close enough. People seemed to be getting pissed off if they are deemed as having a go at the board. I find everyone's views interesting even if I think it's not the case I do not see an issue even if it is negative.
I do not accept the papers are all totally clueless. I would believe them before 90% of what's on here on occasion.
Hibs can indeed take their time but they started a process in that they wanted a full time manager and not a short term caretaker and IMO they really should have that person in now and not "if" it is to be believed from a paper things have stalled.
12-02-2019, 10:44 PM
Is it commonplace for out of work managers to negotiate their severance package for a job they’ve yet to take?
12-02-2019, 10:46 PM
Go and get permission to speak to Steve Robinson at Motherwell. He will do a job here. Yeah I have mentioned it before but I think he would jump at the chance. Knowledge of game here very decent record at Motherwell.
12-02-2019, 10:47 PM
Go and get permission to speak to Steve Robinson at Motherwell. He will do a job here. Yeah I have mentioned it before but I think he would jump at the chance. Knowledge of game here very decent record at Motherwell.
Agree 100% announce anti football at once.
tonyrougier123
12-02-2019, 10:50 PM
I wouldnae be surprised if hibs are back in for stubbs,doolan and holden.just a hunch though.
RossScott1991
12-02-2019, 10:51 PM
Just Stubbs & Doolan it til atleast end of season. Know the club and city. They know how hibs operate and are happy to work this way. They are legends. They will unite the fans, and bring stability.
And we don’t have a female Physio anymore 👀
12-02-2019, 10:51 PM
Surely if what the sun are reporting is nonsense, Hibs can sue for defamation or something to that affect?
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
12-02-2019, 10:54 PM
I personally don’t like the idea of these English up and coming managers using Hibs as a stepping stone. In Mowbray and Stubbs at least these guys had a knowledge of Scottish football and had actually played here. For me these guys would come in and if successful would be off in a shot, if unsuccessful would makes as pay up big money in compensation. At least Stubbs actually wants the job now, I’m not saying he’d be a winner again but I hate being played by folk that have no real interest in our club or Scottish football.
12-02-2019, 10:55 PM
The constant nonsense rumours are what’s causing the ill feeling in the support... The club haven’t said a thing.
Indeed.
Sports journalists across Scotland are being asked for the latest on Hibs by their editors. All they have is a brief statement from LD released via our channel a few days ago. In the meantime all sorts of folk are spreading rumours (some based on fact, some rubbish) all over social media.
Journalists are going to file copy based on what they’ve got.
I have no reason to doubt that Hibs are going about things in a professional way, but imo they aren’t communicating in a very savvy way. I just don’t think radio silence works these days.
The 2 supporters reps on the Board are obviously being told to keep schtum.
12-02-2019, 11:03 PM
Is it commonplace for out of work managers to negotiate their severance package for a job they’ve yet to take?
I was thinking this earlier stevie I think this is more common when someone is moving from one job to another potentially giving up a regular income for their contract length to move clubs with that severance element a failsafe if it doesn’t work out. For out of work managers I can’t see how they can expect that as likely earning hee haw the now and 12 months pay for potentially failing is a bit of a cheek imo. I’m actually glad to see the club taking a stance on that as likely learning from previous experience
Wee Effen Bee
12-02-2019, 11:05 PM
…Some of the stuff being spouted is ludicrous. Don't know whether to laugh or cry at some of the utter rubbish being put about.
Agree, a lot of drivel posted in the past two weeks.
Thats a problem here: if 100 people say the same thing, then we’re told ‘there can’t be smoke without fire,’ etc. There can be if it comes from the same source and that source is: flawed/stirring it/supposition/misrepresented/totally wrong or plain lying! I don’t believe the DR and I certainly wouldn’t want to hold my breath until ‘The ****’ newspaper actually printed a truth. Hibs have been attacked relentlessly since Lennon left - why can’t people see their sht stirring for what it is? Plenty of appointments across the footballing spectrum fall at various hurdles but apparently, only Hibs screw these things up to a monumental degree! I don’t know if any of the front runners are unhappy with how (confidential) negotiations are progressing but how can others be privy to the ‘info’ being banded about. I don’t how they will turn out once appointed and no one on here, in the MSM, the pundits or everyday fans know either. I’ve a radical idea, let’s wait until someone definitely is appointed and then back them as much as we can?
Wee Effen Bee
12-02-2019, 11:06 PM
I was thinking this earlier stevie I think this is more common when someone is moving from one job to another potentially giving up a regular income for their contract length to move clubs with that severance element a failsafe if it doesn’t work out. For out of work managers I can’t see how they can expect that as likely earning hee haw the now and 12 months pay for potentially failing is a bit of a cheek imo. I’m actually glad to see the club taking a stance on that as likely learning from previous experience
‘This.
12-02-2019, 11:06 PM
I personally don’t like the idea of these English up and coming managers using Hibs as a stepping stone. In Mowbray and Stubbs at least these guys had a knowledge of Scottish football and had actually played here. For me these guys would come in and if successful would be off in a shot, if unsuccessful would makes as pay up big money in compensation. At least Stubbs actually wants the job now, I’m not saying he’d be a winner again but I hate being played by folk that have no real interest in our club or Scottish football.
Honest answer I couldn’t care less if they had an interest in Hibs or Scottish football as long as they were successful.
12-02-2019, 11:08 PM
Agree, a lot of drivel posted in the past two weeks.
Thats a problem here: if 100 people say the same thing, then we’re told ‘there can’t be smoke without fire,’ etc. There can be if it comes from the same source and that source is: flawed/stirring it/supposition/misrepresented/totally wrong or plain lying! I don’t believe the DR and I certainly wouldn’t want to hold my breath until ‘The ****’ newspaper actually printed a truth. Hibs have been attacked relentlessly since Lennon left - why can’t people see their sht stirring for what it is? Plenty of appointments across the footballing spectrum fall at various hurdles but apparently, only Hibs screw these things up to a monumental degree! I don’t know if any of the front runners are unhappy with how (confidential) negotiations are progressing but how can others be privy to the ‘info’ being banded about. I don’t how they will turn out once appointed and no one on here, in the MSM, the pundits or everyday fans know either. I’ve a radical idea, let’s wait until someone definitely is appointed and then back them as much as we can?
Is it beyond the bounds of reality that a manager interviewed tells some close friends why he hasn't taken job or other things that then get out?
12-02-2019, 11:10 PM
Same here man. If the story is true, I have gone right off Appleton in any case.
I was impressed with what I had read about him, and how he was waiting for the right club - as a wealthy man he’s obviously had the luxury of waiting for one to come along.
If the story is to be believed, and he was happy with the contract length, salary etc, but walked away due to being unhappy with the payoff if he gets sacked, I think it says a lot about him, not the club.
We obviously got stung big time when we prised Butcher away from ICT and had to pay him for months after he was sacked. I’m with the club on this one IF the Sun story is true.
12-02-2019, 11:14 PM
Honest answer I couldn’t care less if they had an interest in Hibs or Scottish football as long as they were successful.
We all would love success whoever the manager was or where he came from. I’m maybe guilty in believing some of the rumours so apologies for that. If true though, why would you want to appoint someone when the stumbling block is how much money we pay them if they fail! Again that could all be a load of utter tosh being reported.
davhibby
12-02-2019, 11:19 PM
If the sun are right about why Appleton has fallen through then it's a good thing for me. Bit of a cheek to ask for a year when he's not in work just now and to then walk away because of it shows a lack of belief in his own ability. Would rather get someone in that doesn't think they're going to fail
12-02-2019, 11:32 PM
I wonder what odds you can get on a Lennon/Parker return tonight?
Mr Grieves
12-02-2019, 11:46 PM
Everyone down here thinks he's a dud. :boo hoo:
Leeds supporting colleague thinks the same.
Poor record and totally uninspired appointment. I'll not be in a rush to renew.
13-02-2019, 12:03 AM
This whole saga is making the club look very silly.
If it means taking a few weeks longer to get the right manager then fine but all these contract stalling stories don't paint the club in good light.
Also Heckingbottom would be be a disaster and the Season Ticket renewals would be interesting with him in charge.
13-02-2019, 12:07 AM
If the sun are right about why Appleton has fallen through then it's a good thing for me. Bit of a cheek to ask for a year when he's not in work just now and to then walk away because of it shows a lack of belief in his own ability. Would rather get someone in that doesn't think they're going to fail
This for me too. I don't know what the finances are like at the club's he has been at previously, but if his 'relocation' expenses were in the form of 'buy me a house' or 'front up a years rent on a flat in the new town' on top of a guaranteed years salary if we sacked him that's taking something like half a million quid out of the club before he has even taken his first training session.
The way this nonsense has carried on with a pair of prospective managers who don't exactly have glittering CV's written in gold leaf to back up their expectations of what a club should be offering them allegedly acting as if they were Jose Mourinho and doing us a favour by even talking to us, I for one would jump around my living room waving my kecks around my head screaming whoop! whoop!! whoop!!! ….. YES, YES YES if we announced tomorrow that Alan Stubbs, John Doolan or both had been given the gig.
13-02-2019, 12:15 AM
This for me too. I don't know what the finances are like at the club's he has been at previously, but if his 'relocation' expenses were in the form of 'buy me a house' or 'front up a years rent on a flat in the new town' on top of a guaranteed years salary if we sacked him that's taking something like half a million quid out of the club before he has even taken his first training session.
The way this nonsense has carried on with a pair of prospective managers who don't exactly have glittering CV's written in gold leaf to back up their expectations of what a club should be offering them allegedly acting as if they were Jose Mourinho and doing us a favour by even talking to us, I for one would jump around my living room waving my kecks around my head screaming whoop! whoop!! whoop!!! ….. YES, YES YES if we announced tomorrow that Alan Stubbs, John Doolan or both had been given the gig.can I follow you on twitter ? :greengrin
Bobby Moore
13-02-2019, 12:20 AM
Alan Nixon (Journo) has tweeted in response to a query that he thinks it (The Mangers Position) is to be sorted tomorrow (Wednesday).
13-02-2019, 12:21 AM
can I follow you on twitter ? :greengrin
Hell no mate …. I already waste far too much of my time on here and facebook battling the forces of evil, if I was on twitter as well the authorities would end up having to put me in a place where I had to write to my family using crayons and all of my clothes would have sleeves five feet long :greengrin
13-02-2019, 12:42 AM
Hell no mate …. I already waste far too much of my time on here and facebook battling the forces of evil, if I was on twitter as well the authorities would end up having to put me in a place where I had to write to my family using crayons and all of my clothes would have sleeves five feet long :greengrinI oftimes feel that place might suit be better:greengrin Ah widnae even ken how to get on to twitter, mair like splatter tae me:wink:
13-02-2019, 12:58 AM
Alan Nixon (Journo) has tweeted in response to a query that he thinks it (The Mangers Position) is to be sorted tomorrow (Wednesday).
End of the season appointment.
13-02-2019, 04:38 AM
End of the season appointment.
What?
You mean no manager until we get knocked out of the cup?
13-02-2019, 04:39 AM
Surely if what the sun are reporting is nonsense, Hibs can sue for defamation or something to that affect?
Sent from my SM-G965F using Tapatalk
The media could claim hibs started the plague and hibs would "remain in a dignified silence" about it.
Tug Wilson
13-02-2019, 05:01 AM
The media could claim hibs started the plague and hibs would "remain in a dignified silence" about it.
We started the plague? Petrie GTF!
13-02-2019, 05:11 AM
I wonder what odds you can get on a Lennon/Parker return tonight?
Given the “facts” on Lennons departure- officially didnt do no wrong, then why not?
[emoji3166][emoji23]
13-02-2019, 05:11 AM
How is it a surprise? We brought in Stubbs and Lennon via similar terms.
Not Hibs issue.
Thankfully (and contrary to popular belief) this is why as part of a sound recruitment process, we have multiple candidates and don't focus on one person.
Anyone who recruits will know you narrow down to a few, not one.
You don't know that.
13-02-2019, 05:18 AM
You don't know that.
[emoji23] indeed
Whats it they call that - opinion presented as fact or something? [emoji2960][emoji23]
13-02-2019, 05:53 AM
Within 17 hours to go!
Marvellous
13-02-2019, 06:00 AM
I wasn't arsed when I heard it would be Appleton and equally I'm not arsed now that it might not be him.
Thoroughly hope we're talking to Stubbs and Doolan.
mcfly
13-02-2019, 06:02 AM
If Appleton is our first choice then pay him what he wants.
We need success, we need 14000 people to renew tickets.
Uninspiring appt could reduce that by 2-3k which would have paid for Appleton.
This whole saga is embarrassing and it appears we will end up with 2nd 3rd or 4th choice.
Hope I’m wrong but cmon hibs let’s get this sorted and get on with the football.
The board are lucky the fans aren’t turning on them
13-02-2019, 06:05 AM
This whole saga is embarrassing and it appears we will end up with 2nd 3rd or 4th choice.
Hope I’m wrong but cmon hibs let’s get this sorted and get on with the football.
If the papers are correct in that he wants 1 years salary for failing rather than 4 months (which is already pretty generous) then I wouldn't want him.
MacGruber
13-02-2019, 06:05 AM
Had really taken to the prospect of Appleton but if he is being unreasonable it's not Hibs fault. Think Heckingbottom looks likely and gut feeling is he sounds awful and comes accross as a damp squib. Always think the best indicator is the fans and both Leeds and Barnsley fans don't have a good word to say about him by the look of it. Subconciously maybe it's the guys name and the guys looks that put me off - doesn't look like a leader of men.
There you go - my completely unreasonable, unjustified, ridiculous and outright 'namist' and 'lookist' shallow mindset has spoken. Of course any views about Heckingbottom or Appleton are just gut feelings - what do I really know about either of them and how well they will do.
In summary, hope Hibs know what they are doing with Heckingbottom or whoever else comes in... and don't post after a Tuesday night drinking session
Greenworld
13-02-2019, 06:06 AM
Watch Leeann Dempster's interview.I did and it was almost word for word of her interview when she used to talk a lot.
Sent from my SM-G903F using Tapatalk
13-02-2019, 06:09 AM
I hate times like this where every peabrained opinion is presented as fact. Every negative article in the press is taken as gospel regardless of how unlikely it is to be true.
Every joker with long standing agendas amongst the fanbase takes the opportunity to put the boot in too.
I think the club could certainly have handled the Lennon situation differently but I equally think there were probably a lot of things going on that we were unaware of.
It's pretty normal for a new manager to be second or third choice yet to some on here it's a catastrophe of nuclear proportions.
The quicker the new man is in, whoever it may be, the better so that this circus can come to an end.
13-02-2019, 06:10 AM
Sure someone will lap this up. Dig after dig. I’m happy enough to wait till there’s something concrete to communicate on. If the club can or can’t stand by Eddie Mays comments I’m sure there will be something soon.
13-02-2019, 06:10 AM
Had really taken to the prospect of Appleton but if he is being unreasonable it's not Hibs fault. Think Heckingbottom looks likely and gut feeling is he sounds awful and comes accross as a damp squib. Always think the best indicator is the fans and both Leeds and Barnsley fans don't have a good word to say about him by the look of it. Subconciously maybe it's the guys name and the guys looks that put me off - doesn't look like a leader of men.
There you go - my completely unreasonable, unjustified, ridiculous and outright 'namist' and 'lookist' shallow mindset has spoken. Of course any views about Heckingbottom or Appleton are just gut feelings - what do I really know about either of them and how well they will do.
In summary, hope Hibs know what they are doing with Heckingbottom or whoever else comes in... and don't post after a Tuesday night drinking session
Plus your bit about the Barnsley fans not liking him is simply untrue.
13-02-2019, 06:12 AM
If the papers are correct in that he wants 1 years salary for failing rather than 4 months (which is already pretty generous) then I wouldn't want him.
Is it? People were adamant if we sacked Lennon we’d have to pay up his contract until the end of next season which would be about 18 months? Some were even claiming we’d have no money to spend on signings for a good few windows if we done it.
13-02-2019, 06:12 AM
I think it’s important we all keep an open mind.
If it is Appleton let’s give him our full support.
Righly or wrongly people negotiate for the best deals possible which the terms are never usually released to the press
13-02-2019, 06:14 AM
Yeah- didnt he have them above mid table in the Championship?
Sure that was his major success so far as a manager
13-02-2019, 06:15 AM
I hate times like this where every peabrained opinion is presented as fact. Every negative article in the press is taken as gospel regardless of how unlikely it is to be true.
Every joker with long standing agendas amongst the fanbase takes the opportunity to put the boot in too.
I think the club could certainly have handled the Lennon situation differently but I equally think there were probably a lot of things going on that we were unaware of.
It's pretty normal for a new manager to be second or third choice yet to some on here it's a catastrophe of nuclear proportions.
The quicker the new man is in, whoever it may be, the better so that this circus can come to an end.
No it's not.
13-02-2019, 06:19 AM
‘According to PM board Heckingbottom being announced today :shocked:
13-02-2019, 06:21 AM
Who said Appleton was our first choice? The same people who said Heckingbottom was the favourite. The board are going through a recruitment process and are the only people who know their preferred candidate. If you're embarrassed just stay indoors until you feel a bit more confident in your Hibiness.
13-02-2019, 06:22 AM
There is still a chance the board have played a complete blunder in this and get the whole support behind us by announcing Appleton as a bag FU to outsiders.
13-02-2019, 06:23 AM
Who said Appleton was our first choice? The same people who said Heckingbottom was the favourite. The board are going through a recruitment process and are the only people who know their preferred candidate. If you're embarrassed just stay indoors until you feel a bit more confident in your Hibiness.
Appleton is clearly the first choice. All this “who said this and that” etc is crap.
13-02-2019, 06:24 AM
There is still a chance the board have played a complete blunder in this
Not another Anti Hibs post! [emoji23]
Could be an interesting day anyways
13-02-2019, 06:34 AM
Media are having a field day. Even slightly dodgy sounding stories are getting bites. :fishin:
Be hilarious if Hibs revealed Mourinho or Wenger, or someone like that.
Journalists write what they think will get reads. The time of writing a breaking story based on facts and the truth are gone. Tbh media outlets have a huge part to play in why our country is a complete mess. We have tabloids that shouldn’t be purchased to begin with as it’s been shown the reading age is about 9...sadly these papers are the most commonly bought ones as well. Sad times.
Each time a paper or journalist writes something about Hibs it’s being treated as facts, no idea where that comes from. Hibs messed up with Lennon, Hibs messed up with new appointment, Hibs messed up with everything is the general vibe coming from the media (especially Glasgow based). Is there not a hint along the way that this might not based on fact or do people have an image of Leeann and Rod walking out for a brief meeting with the media, only to utter the words “we’ve Hibs’d it again!”
Yet to see one direct quote from a source, be it Hibs, Appleton or Heckingbottom that anything has gone wrong...
13-02-2019, 06:36 AM
[QUOTE=90+2;5708707]Appleton is clearly the first choice. All this “who said this and that” etc is crap.[/QUOTE
Who at Hibs has said he’s first choice? The only crap is unsubstantiated guesswork dressed up as fact.
MacGruber
13-02-2019, 06:37 AM
Probably not true you are right. There's probably as much positive from them than negative and maybe there judgement is scewerd by him leaving and some seeing him as a turncoat traitor as one of them put it. I just never found any positive posts in their Heckingbottom thread but did see high intensity headless chickens negative tactics sideways passing defends one nils, to pick up on a few. Suppose there are these type of comments from any set of disgruntled fans though. Hell have no fury like a football fan scorned
13-02-2019, 06:38 AM
If Heckinbottom is appointed today does that mean that the media were right last week when they said he was looking for an assistant that knows the game up here?
Greenworld
13-02-2019, 06:38 AM
There is still a chance the board have played a complete blunder in this and get the whole support behind us by announcing Appleton as a bag FU to outsiders.I prefer your mistaken spelling option [emoji23][emoji38]
13-02-2019, 06:40 AM
There is still a chance the board have played a complete blunder in this and get the whole support behind us by announcing Appleton as a bag FU to outsiders.
Yes please.
13-02-2019, 06:46 AM
No it's not.
Oh well. I can picture you scouring my post looking for something to pick up on.
13-02-2019, 06:52 AM
[QUOTE=90+2;5708707]Appleton is clearly the first choice. All this “who said this and that” etc is crap.[/QUOTE
Who at Hibs has said he’s first choice? The only crap is unsubstantiated guesswork dressed up as fact.
13-02-2019, 06:57 AM
[QUOTE=Dalianwanda;5708717]
brilliant
13-02-2019, 06:57 AM
Hibs are never going to come out and say they got anyone else apart from there first choice
This doesnt make it fact, but sensible from the club obviously
I just really hope our new manager flies in on a helicopter today.
brythehibby
13-02-2019, 07:04 AM
I'd personally be quite happy with either of them. People writing Heckingbottom off despite the fact he's managed at a higher level and took Barnsley (one of the lowest spenders in the league) to 9th place in the championship.
It's a funny old game, the same people saying Appleton was uninspiring are the same ones going mental if it doesn't work out. Trust the club to get the right person in.
RossScott1991
13-02-2019, 07:12 AM
I don’t care who it is, just want a new manager to come in so I can get behind him and hopefully we see a change in fortunes. Either will do, if anyone else then will get behind them too. Starting this weekend new man can get a win under his belt.
heid the baw
13-02-2019, 07:15 AM
It was reported that Heckinbottom wasn't first choice when he got the Leeds job, so I suppose if you are looking to fill a post where your first candidate has failed to reach agreement, then he's your man.
Let's be honest, who is inspired by the thought of Heckinbottom as a Lenny replacement.
13-02-2019, 07:15 AM
Appleton is clearly the first choice. All this “who said this and that” etc is crap.
You are embarrassing yourself even more than normal with that kind of nonsense dressed up as fact.
mcfly
13-02-2019, 07:16 AM
Where did I say I was embarrassed?
Also never question my hibiness as you say. I follow them all over the place.
This whole saga has dragged on for too long. We are entering a crucial part of the season as a rudderless ship.
The communication has been awful, agree you can’t disclose everthing but this the same board who will be desperate for us to renew our tickets.
This sorry saga will undoubtedly cost money in season tickets sales.
Edin evening news says it’s appleton
Sun says talks break down
Both these papers must get their info from somewhere, edin evening news is our local paper.
So yes it is embarrassing.
we do have to back the new manager however my lack of confidence lies firmly with the board
13-02-2019, 07:18 AM
The Scottish game is very far removed from the English championship, it does not take a tactical genius to do well up here and just for your info Lennon had a win ratio of 22% in England when he was a manager !
13-02-2019, 07:23 AM
This whole saga has dragged on for too long. We are entering a crucial part of the season as a rudderless ship.
The communication has been awful, agree you can’t disclose everthing but this the same board who will be desperate for us to renew our tickets.
Both these papers must get their info from somewhere, edin evening news is our local paper.
we do have to back the new manager however my lack of confidence lies firmly with the board
Nah, I don't even see the connection.
EEN says we still expect a manager in for the Hamilton game.
79 hours at most to go!
Alternatively, maybe they just embellish rumour, speculation and gossip from fan sites, twitter, etc and pass them off as "news" or "informed" opinion.
13-02-2019, 07:24 AM
EEN says we still expect a manager in for the Hamilton game.
79 hours at most to go!
Stop the clock! :greengrin
mcfly
13-02-2019, 07:28 AM
Nah, I don't even see the connection.
Ok then but it’s fairly obvious to me.
Poor form
Low league position
possible bottom 6 games unless we pick up ASAP.
Maybe you haven’t watched us too much this season
13-02-2019, 07:28 AM
can you enlighten me as to which part of the season is not “crucial”. In fact I would suggest that since we have very little chance of finishing the season higher than 5th or lower than 8th this is about as un-crucial a point in the season as I could possibly imagine.
Maybe be we are taking our time and trying to get the best candidate.
The comms mms has not been awful, there has been nothing to communicate.
the papers get most of their info off Hibs.net or just make it up. If you believe the crap written in them then it’s you that’s embarrassing, not the club.
13-02-2019, 07:32 AM
It’s disappointing but I fail to see how this can be the fault of the board if what is in Appleton’s head is ‘how much will I walk away with if I get sacked because I turn out to be rubbish/ commit a sackable offence?’
Would any of us get a years salary if for instance we got sacked for not performing to the standards our workplace requires, of for gross misconduct? I wouldn’t.
13-02-2019, 07:35 AM
It’s disappointing but I fail to see how this can be the fault of the board if what is in Appleton’s head is ‘how much will I walk away with if I get sackef because I turn out to be rubbish/ commit a sackable offence?’
Would any of us get a years salary if for instance we go sacked for not performing to the standards our workplace requires, of for gross misconduct? I wouldn’t.
I must admit that when I was recruiting someone, if they had started asking about how much they would get as a severance package, I wouldn't have been particularly impressed by their committment.
13-02-2019, 07:36 AM
How do you work that out?! Not one ****ing person on this board knows who is first choice.
mcfly
can you enlighten me as to which part of the season is not “crucial”. In fact I would suggest that since we have very little chance of finishing the season higher than 5th or lower than 8th this is about as un-crucial a point in the season as I could possibly imagine.
The comms mms has not been awful, there has been nothing to communicate.
the papers get most of their info off Hibs.net or just make it up. If you believe the crap written in them then it’s you that’s embarrassing, not the club.
Utter rubbish
Top 6 is all about big games-bigger crowds
Bottom 6 half empty stadium playing nothing games
So yes it does matter
Oh well. I can picture you scouring my post looking for something to pick up on.
The irony. That's literally how you spend all your time on here.
13-02-2019, 07:37 AM
How do you work that out?! Not one ****ing person on this board knows who is first choice.
Ahh but you see Appleton was a guest of the club at Parkhead so he was obviously first choice 😂😂
13-02-2019, 07:38 AM
Can we not just get Stubbs till the end of the season then see what managers are available
AugustaHibs
13-02-2019, 07:40 AM
90+2 how much do you have on heckingbottom
heid the baw
13-02-2019, 07:41 AM
My question would be are these names the best candidates.
Hibs job should be about : top 6 minimum, Europe desirable, occasional trophy desirable, knowledge of the Scottish game desirable, ability to manage on a realistic budget essential.
Why are we not making an approach for Tommy Wright instead of talking to candidates who have been out of work for significant periods, yet no one has headhunted.
skyhibs
13-02-2019, 07:45 AM
Can we not just get Stubbs till the end of the season then see what managers are available
No Chance i hope
13-02-2019, 07:47 AM
My question would be are these names the best candidates.
Hibs job should be about : top 6 minimum, Europe desirable, occasional trophy desirable, knowledge of the Scottish game desirable, ability to manage onrealistic budget essential.
Why are we not making an approach for Tommy Wright instead of talking to candidates who have been out of work for significant periods, yet no one has headhunted.
Maybe we know all there is to know about Wright and well we just don't rate him very highly
13-02-2019, 07:51 AM
Ok then but it’s fairly obvious to me.
Poor form
Low league position
possible bottom 6 games unless we pick up ASAP.
Maybe you haven’t watched us too much this season
What I do know is that I'll be renewing my season ticket for next year regardless. It's called supporting the Club.
heid the baw
13-02-2019, 07:52 AM
Maybe we know all there is to know about Wright and well we just don't rate him very highly
Wright or Heckinbottom? Who would you choose?
BegbieHSC
13-02-2019, 07:53 AM
The Scottish game is very far removed from the English championship, it does not take a tactical genius to do well up here and just for your info Lennon had a win ratio of 22% in England when he was a manager !
Completely disagree.
It’s sound tactics that have allowed us to take ALOT of points from teams with multi-million pound players in their ranks over the past 2 years.
Also, I’m not wanting to get into a Lenny debate, but Bolton will never be a fair reflection of his ability, given they were, and still are a complete basket case.
I would have reservations about Heckingbottom, but naturally, I’ll get right behind him if he’s announced, and see where we go from there.
13-02-2019, 07:59 AM
Completely disagree.
It’s sound tactics that have allowed us to take ALOT of points from teams with multi-million pound players in their ranks over the past 2 years.
Also, I’m not wanting to get into a Lenny debate, but Bolton will never be a fair reflection of his ability, given they were, and still are a complete basket case.
I would have reservations about Heckingbottom, but naturally, I’ll get right behind him if he’s announced, and see where we go from there.
You could say the same for Heckingbottom regards basket cases, where are the multi million pound players teams that we beat Aberdeen, St Johnston, Kilmarnock ?
13-02-2019, 08:01 AM
It was reported that Heckinbottom wasn't first choice when he got the Leeds job, so I suppose if you are looking to fill a post where your first candidate has failed to reach agreement, then he's your man.
Let's be honest, who is inspired by the thought of Heckinbottom as a Lenny replacement.
What makes me laugh is that not a single person knows if Heckinbottom would be a success or not. Not one. Just like no one could say if Mowbray or Stubbs would be.
And I'm not sure I get this "underwhelmed", "uninspired" stuff either if I'm being honest.
If anything, I think it IS quite inspiring that we are looking at a young, ambitious manager who will bring a freshness and new ideas to the place. He undoubtedly has good knowledge of the English transfer scene and seems to have a keen interest in developing younger players.
I'll trust the clubs recruitment process over any disgruntled opinion on here. Every time. (Excluding mine of course :greengrin)
BegbieHSC
13-02-2019, 08:07 AM
You could say the same for Heckingbottom regards basket cases, where are the multi million pound players teams that we beat Aberdeen, St Johnston, Kilmarnock ?
I was referring to The Rangers and Celtic.
Celtic last season had two players with the combined transfer value of £30.m - Dembele and Edouard. Celtic beat us in one out of 4 league matches last season. Our striker cost <200k.
We beat The Rangers twice at Ibrox, who spent millions too.
Tactics mean a lot in our league.
i accept your point on Leeds, and Heckingbottom may prove to be a savvy signing. My objection was to your comment that tactics don’t count for much up here.
13-02-2019, 08:10 AM
The irony. That's literally how you spend all your time on here.
Which is strange as the post you commented on wasn't me doing that at all.
13-02-2019, 08:14 AM
It’s disappointing but I fail to see how this can be the fault of the board if what is in Appleton’s head is ‘how much will I walk away with if I get sacked because I turn out to be rubbish/ commit a sackable offence?’
Would any of us get a years salary if for instance we got sacked for not performing to the standards our workplace requires, of for gross misconduct? I wouldn’t.
The fact is that fitba managers are far more likely to be binned than probably any other industry and as such the severance package deserves to be better.
13-02-2019, 08:20 AM
The fact is that fitba managers are far more likely to be binned than probably any other industry and as such the severance package deserves to be better.
Better than what?
13-02-2019, 08:21 AM
Not another Anti Hibs post! [emoji23]
Could be an interesting day anyways
Whoops typo. 😂
13-02-2019, 08:21 AM
Indeed.
Sports journalists across Scotland are being asked for the latest on Hibs by their editors. All they have is a brief statement from LD released via our channel a few days ago. In the meantime all sorts of folk are spreading rumours (some based on fact, some rubbish) all over social media.
Journalists are going to file copy based on what they’ve got.
I have no reason to doubt that Hibs are going about things in a professional way, but imo they aren’t communicating in a very savvy way. I just don’t think radio silence works these days.
The 2 supporters reps on the Board are obviously being told to keep schtum.
Why do they have to write anything?
If Hibs weren't looking for a manager, we'd not feature in either the sun or the record.
They should just continue filling their rags with pro Rantic stuff until Hibs have anything to say instead of making up rubbish and listening to players' agents.
13-02-2019, 08:24 AM
Is it beyond the bounds of reality that a manager interviewed tells some close friends why he hasn't taken job or other things that then get out?
They're not going to be close friends for long if they can't keep confidentialities and go running to the press instead.
Bookies odds:
Sky Bet-
Heck 1/2
Appleton 2/1
Doolan 8/1
Paddy Power-
Heck 4/11
Appleton 7/2
Doolan 5/1
skyhibs
No as they get paid enough anyway
13-02-2019, 08:25 AM
The fact is football managers get paid more than in most industries.
I can't see the justification in saying they deserve more money for getting sacked. If anything, they should get less.
BegbieHSC
13-02-2019, 08:27 AM
Tbh, given the average salary of a top 6 head coach will likely exceed £150,000 pa, my sympathy isn’t quite as strong as it would be for someone on an average age.
I don’t want to imagine what my severance package would look like
13-02-2019, 08:28 AM
Personally feel like HIBS have played a blinder :thumbsup::thumbsup: GGTTH
13-02-2019, 08:29 AM
If Hibs weren't looking for a manager, we'd not feature in either the sun or the record.
They should just continue filling their rags with pro Rantic stuff until Hibs have anything to say instead of making up rubbish and listening to players' agents.
Because it’s their job. Because stories about Hibs attract readers (albeit not on the scale of Rantic).
Hibs are a major Scottish club, and as such should be a major part of the Scottish football conversation. If we are not, we have a major problem.
Obviously, we would like this coverage to be positive, but the flip side is that you are going to get negative coverage as well. We just don’t seem to be managing this coverage very well at all.
13-02-2019, 08:30 AM
Wright or Heckinbottom? Who would you choose?
I wouldn't choose wright I know little about Heckingbottom apart from what I have posted before regarding what my Barnsley supporting friend told me about him which was very encouraging.
If it was for some reason Wright I'd be fully behind him
13-02-2019, 08:34 AM
Hope whoever gets the job succeeds but back to square one if not Stubbs for Eastmainsmsh tho
13-02-2019, 08:46 AM
Clickbait on their websites generates advertising revenue.
Football is something that a lot of people are interested in, therefore football stories are likely to generate more hits, the more sensational, hyperbolic or scandalous the better.
vuefrom1875
13-02-2019, 08:52 AM
Bookies odds:
Sky Bet-
Heck 1/2
Appleton 2/1
Doolan 8/1
Paddy Power-
Heck 4/11
Appleton 7/2
Doolan 5/1
And it's doolan coming up on the rails😎
Gloucester Hibs
13-02-2019, 09:02 AM
And it's doolan coming up on the rails😎
Appleton getting boxed-in and resorting to use of the whip :greengrin
13-02-2019, 09:03 AM
It's going to be Strachan, isn't it?
13-02-2019, 09:07 AM
Alan Temple that works at Capital City Press thinks we've been in contact with Heckingbottom all along.
13-02-2019, 09:12 AM
Alan Temple that works at Capital City Press thinks we've been in contact with Heckingbottom all along.
Can't be true? Experts on here say Appleton was first choice and was the final candidate? Does this mean our recruitment process may have involved speaking to more than one person towards it's conclusion, with a view to keeping options open?
Well blow me... Who'd have thunk it...
13-02-2019, 09:14 AM
Someone in the meeja talking sense.
"The right person has to be right financially, too."
Too true - the right person has to tick all the boxes.
13-02-2019, 09:15 AM
It's going to be Strachan, isn't it?
Strachan Stubbs Collins dream team.
13-02-2019, 09:18 AM
Some people have got the cart before the horse. Hibs manager is a desirable job.
Getting the Hibs job is THE PRIZE not the other way round, us getting Appleton, Heckingbottom , Doolan etc etc.
loanheadhibby
13-02-2019, 09:26 AM
Some people have got the horse before the cart. Hibs manager is a desirable job.
Getting the Hibs job is THE PRIZE not the other way round, us getting Appleton, Heckingbottom , Doolan etc etc.
100% correct.
If anyone is not prepared to walk over broken glass for the job, then forget it. All the stories in the press (true or not), it's a fantastic job for someone. A couple of good seasons and the man will be linked with jobs all over the country.
13-02-2019, 09:26 AM
People will choose to disbelieve that, though, which shows that any attempt by Hibs to "manage the dialogue" would have been futile.
It would also make a rod for their own back in the future.
The Sun "Hibs about to offer XYZ the job".
Hibs: "We're still interviewing".
The Sun: " Hibs expect to announce XYZ in 48 hours.
The Sun: "Last minute hitch could scupper XYZ appointment"
Q. What would the anti-board people believe? A. The Sun.
Imo, by far the best way to deal with speculation is to ignore it and to do consistently.
Greenworld
13-02-2019, 09:33 AM
This is a mess has rod all over it would not surprise me if LD resigns
13-02-2019, 09:35 AM
What mess?
13-02-2019, 09:35 AM
You can't believe a word that these media vultures say - unless it's positive of course in which case it's 100% true.
13-02-2019, 09:36 AM
You can't believe a word that these media vultures say - unless it's positive of course in which case it's 100% true.
When is it ever positive?
13-02-2019, 09:39 AM
Clueless nonsense.
The board will have already approved a rough budget for the new management team. RP won't get involved in the minutiae.
13-02-2019, 09:45 AM
Tongue firmly in cheek or serious?
13-02-2019, 09:45 AM
Clueless nonsense.
The board will have already approved a rough budget for the new management team. RP won't get involved in the minutiae.
I think he waits until the pen is poised to sign, snatches the contract away and makes some changes before replacing in front of the bemused applicant who then walks off.
Fact.
Maybe.
13-02-2019, 09:46 AM
This is getting tiresome. Ok then, please explain why you have come to this conclusion?
(Doesn't expect answer)
13-02-2019, 09:47 AM
The movement, the tempo, everything!
13-02-2019, 09:49 AM
People will choose to disbelieve that, though, which shows that any attempt by Hibs to "manage the dialogue" would have been futile.
It would also make a rod for their own back in the future.
The Sun "Hibs about to offer XYZ the job".
The Sun: " Hibs expect to announce XYZ in 48 hours.
The Sun: "Last minute hitch could scupper XYZ appointment"
Q. What would the anti-board people believe? A. The Sun.
Imo, by far the best way to deal with speculation is to ignore it and to do consistently.
I wouldn't believe a word in the Sun. Their columnist Andy walker was giving it "underwhelming", "Hibs fans disgruntled at choice of Appleton", then today it's "Hibs have missed out on the fabulous, talented coach Appleton".
13-02-2019, 09:49 AM
How do you know unless you try?
I’ve had a bit of insight into the way the media works through my own career, and believe me it is a game.
Hibs seem to have reverted to a high-minded refusal to play.
13-02-2019, 10:04 AM
I’ve had a bit of insight into the way the media works through my own career, and believe me it is a game.
Why should Hibs "join in the game"? They are conducting the interviews in private and will announce the outcome at the appropriate time. It ain't rocket science sunshine, it's how these things should be conducted - not as a media circus and definitely not as a game.
13-02-2019, 10:05 AM
Sunday Mail chief football writer saying Hecklebottom should be done in a day or two
13-02-2019, 10:05 AM
Nah Butcher, Fenlon, Calderwood nightmare team.
13-02-2019, 10:06 AM
I wouldn't believe a word in the Sun. Their columnist Andy walker was giving it "underwhelming", "Hibs fans disgruntled at choice of Appleton", then today it's "Hibs have missed out on the fabulous, talented coach Appleton".
You're the exception, it seems.
Most people believe that Appleton was about to be offered the job, but it fell through.
13-02-2019, 10:06 AM
Sunday Mail chief football writer saying Hecklebottom should be done in a day or two
48 hours. Start the clock.
[emoji33]
13-02-2019, 10:11 AM
As did I, and yes, there's a skill required to use the media well, but there are countless examples of when newspapers have continued with their narrative despite denials etc.
Leeann said late last week that interviews were continuing into this week.
Despite that we had a report over the weekend that the job was Appleton's.
Do Hibs really have to repeat what they said publicly only a few days ago?
I don't want Hibs to be continually at the beck and call of the red tops. They'd take the piss.
13-02-2019, 10:12 AM
You're the exception, it seems.
Most people believe that Appleton was about to be offered the job, but it fell through.
I'm the only person not gullible enough to give credence to what I read in the Sun of Hillsborough disaster fame. Thanks for the compliment. :greengrin
13-02-2019, 10:12 AM
Just his pottential severance package to be signed off
HFC93
13-02-2019, 10:31 AM
Last week –
The Press: ‘Michael Appleton favourite for Hibs job’
Hibs.net moaners: ‘Who’s this joker?’, ‘The club has no ambition’, ‘Failure at *insert English club*’ etc
Past few days –
The Press: ‘Appleton Hibs talks stall’
Hibs.net moaners: ‘Sack the board!’
Your a mess and you should resign from this board.
Cat Stanton
13-02-2019, 10:33 AM
Just his pottential severance package to be signed off
The Sun (according to BBC football gossip) said Appleton wanted 12 months severance pay if he was sacked. No idea if it's true or not (it's from The Sun), but what a brilliantly mental idea. If I knew I would get 12 months severance pay for being sacked I would sprinting the length of the office at this very moment to tell the uber-tw*t I work for exactly what I thought of him, and then celebrating for a year.
13-02-2019, 10:36 AM
Leeann is in charge of the recruitment process.
She will take her recommendations to the board, including Rod.
Better to deal in facts?
Leitherhibs
13-02-2019, 10:38 AM
Strachan till end of season with Darren Fletcher as Asst, with a view to taking the manager role at the end of season.
13-02-2019, 10:40 AM
Why should Hibs "join in the game"? They are conducting the interviews in private and will announce the outcome at the appropriate time. It ain't rocket science sunshine, it's how these things should be conducted - not as a media circus and definitely not as a game.
Because if you don’t tell your own story, other people will (and it might not be flattering).
Most of the angst currently being exhibited amongst the Hibs support is due to rumours and half-truths circulating in the media.
Why would you not try to influence that if you could??
13-02-2019, 10:40 AM
Heckingbottom announced in the next 24 hours. Start the countdown!
13-02-2019, 10:41 AM
Stop the clock! :greengrin
13-02-2019, 10:41 AM
It's getting to point where I just want anybody announced. Worrying stuff.
13-02-2019, 10:42 AM
Strachan till end of season with Darren Fletcher as Asst, with a view to taking the manager role at the end of season.
Mixu Boozy Daz McGregor as player / coach.
Mon the dream team 2
13-02-2019, 10:46 AM
Personally feel like HIBS have played a blinder :thumbsup::thumbsup: GGTTH
Me too 😁
13-02-2019, 10:47 AM
Said it to someone last night Eddie May said he would be taking Training ion Tuesday ,and hoped that there would be an appointment by Wednesday
Today is Wednesday so if no appointment today then we will know there has been a hitch in negotiations ,but these things happen
So let’s see what happens today as if no Announcement of New Manager surely May will need to take the Team for Saturdays game so players can focus on that
Sioux
13-02-2019, 10:49 AM
Because if you don’t tell your own story, other people will (and it might not be flattering).
Most of the angst currently being exhibited amongst the Hibs support is due to rumours and half-truths circulating in the media.
Why would you not try to influence that if you could??
This is the problem, and its got nowt to do with Hibs. A bunch of articles that have no foundation and people are chucking themselves off the Forth Bridge.
13-02-2019, 10:54 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/paul-heckingbottom-named-hibs-boss-13993651
13-02-2019, 10:56 AM
Last week –
The Press: ‘Michael Appleton favourite for Hibs job’
Hibs.net moaners: ‘Who’s this joker?’, ‘The club has no ambition’, ‘Failure at *insert English club*’ etc
Past few days –
The Press: ‘Appleton Hibs talks stall’
Hibs.net moaners: ‘Sack the board!’
Did you tell Grant Stott you were ripping off his tweet?
13-02-2019, 10:57 AM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/sport/football/football-news/paul-heckingbottom-named-hibs-boss-13993651
Can’t be, the sun clearly told us talks with him have also stalled.
13-02-2019, 10:57 AM
Delighted.
13-02-2019, 10:58 AM
This is the problem, and its got nowt to do with Hibs. A bunch of articles that have no foundation and people are chucking themselves off the Forth Bridge.
??
It’s got everything to do with Hibs.
13-02-2019, 10:59 AM
Heckingbottom only gets the thumbs up from 57% of 1000 DR readers :confused:
13-02-2019, 11:06 AM
Heckingbottom has a very hun look about him
Delighted it’s coming to a conclusion.
scooby
13-02-2019, 11:08 AM
I only know what I've read about him, which doesn't fill you with excitement, so I'm feeling a bit meh.
Happy to be proved wrong though.
MacGruber
13-02-2019, 11:10 AM
Delighted.
Glad it'll be done. Gutted it is Heckingbottom.
Don't think Scott Allan is his type of player if he doesn't play with a number 10 and wants runners and effort over ballers
13-02-2019, 11:11 AM
I only know what I've read about him, which doesn't fill you with excitement, so I'm feeling a bit meh.
Did a great job at Barnsley and didn’t get any time at Leeds, didn’t even get a transfer window.
I’m not going to pretend he was my first choice but I don’t think his CV is as bad as some are suggesting.
13-02-2019, 11:12 AM
Can’t be, the sun clearly told us talks with him have also stalled.
i for one hope the sun is right this time
:)
H18S NX
Surely if the media were reporting that there was a last minute hitch to the Appleton appointment,then that means that he was the preffered choice?
Heckingbottom only gets the thumbs up from 57% of 1000 DR readers :confused:The other 43% only look at the pictures and the car adverts
13-02-2019, 11:13 AM
Heckingbottom has a very hun look about him
What kind of a comment is that?!
Argylehibby
13-02-2019, 11:13 AM
So when we got Lennon that was all down to LD but because we MAY not have got Appleton who we may or may not have actually wanted its all Petrie's fault? why would LD resign for a job when the customers think everything good is her work and everything bad is someone else's fault?
13-02-2019, 11:14 AM
Surely if the media were reporting that there was a last minute hitch to the Appleton appointment,then that means that he was the preffered choice?
If the media are reporting that it means they made it up.
Like everything else they've said.
They just don't know.
13-02-2019, 11:17 AM
Out of the two (Appleton & Heckingbottom) I always preferred Heckingbottom. Think he will be a huge success with us and I look forward to seeing him get started.
Onwards and upwards 👆🏻
13-02-2019, 11:18 AM
I'm a bit the same and also hope to be proved wrong. This appointment will split the fans more I think and he needs to get off to a great start as I don't think he will be given any honeymoon period from the supporters. If it had been someone the fans could relate to (a Michael O'Neil type character) then he would be afforded time to change things even if the results were poor to start with. I will personally give him time but I don't think that will be the case with a lot of others. Good luck, he'll need it :agree:
13-02-2019, 11:19 AM
I'm a bit the same and also hope to be proved wrong. This appointment will split the fans more I think and he needs to get off to a great start as I don't think he will be given any honeymoon period from the supporters. If it had been someone the fans could relate to (a Michael O'Neil type character) then he would be afforded time to change things even if the results were poor to start with. I will personally give him time but I don't think that will be the case with a lot of others. Good luck, he'll need it :agree:
There is no harm at all in being underwhelmed by someone. I felt the exact same way about Appleton. Let’s hope the club have got the right appointment once again 👍
HFC93
13-02-2019, 11:20 AM
Did you tell Grant Stott you were ripping off his tweet?
Chill out John
Brummie_Hibs
This would get my approval
No, journalists who made up a story are now blaming Hibs for it not being true 😂
13-02-2019, 11:22 AM
Hibs would never admit it, the board will claim whoever is appointed was their number one target all along.
13-02-2019, 11:24 AM
Hibs would never admit it, the board will claim whoever is appointed was their number one target all along.
Maybe he was? You'll never know. Was Stubbs our No.1 target? Was Lennon?
Chorley Hibee
13-02-2019, 11:24 AM
Seen the Record running with a Hibsed it subheading on their back page today. Cup final still hurting them it seems.
13-02-2019, 11:26 AM
Maybe he was? You'll never know. Was Stubbs our No.1 target? Was Lennon?
Aye maybe he was, I don’t know. But I do know that they will say that the manager appointed was their number one target regardless of whether they were or weren’t.
13-02-2019, 11:29 AM
the Record have a history of putting the boot in, to HFC when they get a chance
13-02-2019, 11:33 AM
Aye maybe he was, I don’t know. But I do know that they will say that the manager appointed was their number one target regardless of whether they were or weren’t.
Exactly, every club in the world says the same. Sometimes it's true. Sometimes it's not.
Cat Stanton
13-02-2019, 11:34 AM
This has no doubt been covered, but in all honesty I can't be arsed wading through the hundreds of pages on the several different threads, so what's the general consensus of opinion of Heckingbottom from fans of his previous clubs?
Specifically:
Does he play good football?
Is he well thought of?
As I say, apologies if this has been well-covered, but life is too short to plough through the other pages/threads as most of it seems to descend into rather sad bickering.
Thanks for any help.
13-02-2019, 11:37 AM
Out of the two (Appleton & Heckingbottom) I always preferred Heckingbottom. Think he will be a huge success with us and I look forward to seeing him get started.
Onwards and upwards 👆🏻
Me too, but what if all we've heard is bull and it turns out to be MA. Thinking about that I realise that I like them both very very very much. In fact if it turns out to be neither of them, I like the third guy or girl very very very much too. I just wish someone was taking team talks this week to gee them up a bit, but do you know what, I have a feeling that knowing that someone is imminent will be enough to give the players that boost they need. Don't know if I'm right though, maybe the newspapers could help me with that one.
13-02-2019, 11:41 AM
It's getting to point where I just want anybody announced. Worrying stuff.
It's not a race. Try calming down to a panic.
13-02-2019, 11:42 AM
This has no doubt been covered, but in all honesty I can't be arsed wading through the hundreds of pages on the several different threads, so what's the general consensus of opinion of Heckingbottom from fans of his previous clubs?
Specifically:
Is he well thought of?
As I say, apologies if this has been well-covered, but life is too short to plough through the other pages/threads as most of it seems to descend into rather sad bickering.
Thanks for any help.
I have posted this a number of times now. I have a Barnsley supporting friend who has nothing but good things to sa about Heckingbottom. This is what he messaged me
Nice to hear from you! His style is high intensity pressing style (need very fit players for this!) a good manager, got us promoted from being in the relegation zone early dec to play offs and up via play offs.
He better not nick any of our players if he takes the job.
Dan Sarf
13-02-2019, 11:43 AM
The other 43% only look at the pictures and the car adverts
What about the other 6%? :confused:
Cat Stanton
13-02-2019, 11:46 AM
I have posted this a number of times now. I have a Barnsley supporting friend who has nothing but good things to sa about Heckingbottom. This is what he messaged me
Nice to hear from you! His style is high intensity pressing style (need very fit players for this!) a good manager, got us promoted from being in the relegation zone early dec to play offs and up via play offs.
Thanks for that. And, yes, I think I did see that actually. But it got drowned out by all the raging... Anyway, cheers.
Surely, aye.
It would be true if everything in the media is true. Do you think that is the case?
13-02-2019, 11:53 AM
Can we have a poll on who we think is going to be the next candidate to have a "it's ......", thread, where the thread starter claims to know for certain who the new manager is but has to then go back and say, "oops, I was wrong then"?
Quite amusing, I think.
13-02-2019, 11:54 AM
Specifically:
Is he well thought of?
Thanks for any help.
I'm led to believe he looks like a hun.
13-02-2019, 11:58 AM
Seen the Record running with a Hibsed it subheading on their back page today. Cup final still hurting them it seems.
Interesting similar logic wasn't applied when Derek McInness and Steve Clarke both knocked back Sevco prior to Gerrard eventually getting the job.
MartinfaePorty
13-02-2019, 12:03 PM
Interesting similar logic wasn't applied when Derek McInness and Steve Clarke both knocked back Sevco prior to Gerrard eventually getting the job.
Spot on, 100%!
Chorley Hibee
13-02-2019, 12:05 PM
Indeed, it's time our board refused that rag access.
13-02-2019, 12:07 PM
Pretty much how I feel. 2nd choice on a list of uninspiring names really. I just can't see the Hibs support giving him much slack if things don't get off to a good start.
Got to give the guy a chance though.
In was told this a week ago
Cat Stanton
13-02-2019, 12:11 PM
I'm led to believe he looks like a hun.
That's exactly the kind of executive summary I was looking for...
13-02-2019, 12:13 PM
Pretty much how I feel. 2nd choice on a list of uninspiring names really. I just can't see the Hibs support giving him much slack if things don't get off to a good start.
Says who? The media?
13-02-2019, 12:13 PM
can we not just do a poll on Formation, line up etc and we can run the team?
13-02-2019, 12:17 PM
Hibs fans should realise the teams been left in quite a mess and any new head coach will struggle to get much more out of the players. Best we can hope for is scraping into the top six.
13-02-2019, 12:18 PM
I think it is now rather poor tbh.
13-02-2019, 12:24 PM
Sounds like Butcherball to me.
13-02-2019, 12:25 PM
Or Collinsball
13-02-2019, 12:27 PM
Except suggestions are that the ball is mostly kept on the deck. So high intensity, quick, often counter attack, without the Butcher bit.
MacGruber
13-02-2019, 12:29 PM
One commemt on the Barnsley forum is that he doesn't play with a number 10 - i.e. Scott Allan types. That's my worry.
13-02-2019, 12:30 PM
I remember Butchers team as a lazy bunch of slackers. If we had been playing with high intensity we wouldnt have been relegated.
davhibby
13-02-2019, 12:30 PM
Did Butcher even have a plan? From what we all witnessed it was just lump the ball long and hope for the best.
Heckingbottom bottom had grown on me before Appleton came into the mix and tbh they sound like similar coaches with similar playing styles. Leeann hasn't let us down with an appointment sobfar so hopefully this is just as good as the last two
13-02-2019, 12:33 PM
I would suggest that Man City play a high intensity game but they are about as far removed from Butcherball as it's possible to be. Obviously we don't have that type of quality but high intensity isn't the same as the rubbish Butcher had us playing.....
13-02-2019, 12:35 PM
One commemt on the Barnsley forum is that he doesn't play with a number 10 - i.e. Scott Allan types. That's my worry.
I'm convinced Heckingbottom refers to players he had playing thd 10 role in the interviews I've heard.
13-02-2019, 12:38 PM
Did Butcher even have a plan? From what we all witnessed it was just lump the ball long and hope for the best.
Heckingbottom bottom had grown on me before Appleton came into the mix and tbh they sound like similar coaches with similar playing styles. Leeann hasn't let us down with an appointment sobfar so hopefully this is just as good as the last two
Butcher must have negotiated a super payoff. Couldn't get sacked quick enough.
13-02-2019, 12:40 PM
The fact that Appleton has apparently walked away due to the severance package on offer says to me he wasn’t the right man for us. A guy who is more concerned about his pay off if he ****s up the job surely isn’t what we want.
Here’s an article from one of Heckingbottom’s ex players. Very positive and doesn’t sound all that different to Appleton.
https://www.heraldscotland.com/sport/17429434.adam-hammill-paul-heckingbottom-worked-wonders-at-barnsley-its-a-no-brainer-for-hibernian-to-appoint-him/
green with envy
13-02-2019, 12:44 PM
What kind of a comment is that?!
An extremely child like one.