View Full Version : Tories are lying *******s (warning may contain traces of Tory)
Pages :
[
9]
Rocky
31-07-2020, 06:54 PM
Her political views are not germane to this. I would say the same of any man or woman: it smacks of careerism in this situation. Having sat through the trail, Mrs Elphicke walked into the verdict hearing hand in hand with the beast, only to emerge with a new life. That isn't a gradual change of mind based upon court evidence. It's a very sudden change based upon what exactly?
You are correct in saying we each bring our own interpretation to the table here. Perhaps I am cynical in sensing ruthless ambition.
Isn't it more likely that she heard the evidence, made up her own mind before today, but publicly stuck with him until the verdict was announced to avoid prejudicing the trial? If she'd left him yesterday wouldn't that have been possible grounds for a retrial?
31-07-2020, 08:30 PM
Isn't it more likely that she heard the evidence, made up her own mind before today, but publicly stuck with him until the verdict was announced to avoid prejudicing the trial? If she'd left him yesterday wouldn't that have been possible grounds for a retrial?
She could have left after all the evidence, without prejudicing the trial. Waiting for the verdict looks like the scene which CWG has outlined, which is imo fairly cynical/careerist etc.
Rocky
31-07-2020, 08:33 PM
She could have left after all the evidence, without prejudicing the trial. Waiting for the verdict looks like the scene which CWG has outlined, which is imo fairly cynical/careerist etc.
However she staged it, my main point is that I doubt it was the verdict that made up her mind either way. I'm sure she reached her own conclusion.
31-07-2020, 09:36 PM
I think your cynicism is probably well founded. Assuming Mrs Elphick is also a Tory, her raison d’être will be back the winner, leave the weakest behind. brutally, always. In this way her **** bag husband, by being a courtroom loser, is a victim of the selfish political dogma he pursued all his life. Poetic justice :aok:
I feel better now.
She is now MP in his former seat! Hence my suspicion that has decided to cut him loose for her career, nothing more. I could be completely wrong, but it seems odd. She knew throughout the marriage he was having numerous affairs and had a reputation for wandering hands around women, yet she she stayed with him for 25 years.
31-07-2020, 09:37 PM
IMO the decisions, based on the various scenarios, were likely made before the verdict, jointly and severally. "Guilty and it's over, not guilty and we will put up a United front"
I would think so too, mate.
01-08-2020, 08:21 AM
Just to throw my tuppence worth in - I'm not sure whether they have kids, but I've had conversations with people (all women as it happens) who felt pressure to stand by the accused partner for the duration of the trial, irrespective of their views on guilt or innocence , "to avoid the kids having to visit Daddy in jail".
01-08-2020, 10:39 AM
Just to throw my tuppence worth in - I'm not sure whether they have kids, but I've had conversations with people (all women as it happens) who felt pressure to stand by the accused partner for the duration of the trial, irrespective of their views on guilt or innocence , "to avoid the kids having to visit Daddy in jail".
Yeah, it's all a nasty business. Elphicke is going to have some experience in jail: a sex offender and former Tory MP. He'll be popular!
01-08-2020, 09:07 PM
Who's been arrested on suspicion of rape?
Former minister and current MP in his 50s
Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk
01-08-2020, 09:16 PM
Who's been arrested on suspicion of rape?
Former minister and current MP in his 50s
No idea. Are they Conservatives?
01-08-2020, 09:23 PM
No idea. Are they Conservatives?Yes, current tory MP, in his 50s
They are currently in custody
https://www.google.com/amp/s/news.sky.com/story/amp/former-tory-minister-arrested-on-suspicion-of-rape-12040732
02-08-2020, 07:10 AM
Yeah, it's all a nasty business. Elphicke is going to have some experience in jail: a sex offender and former Tory MP. He'll be popular!
It'll be like going back to public school. Bend over Elphicke minor!
02-08-2020, 09:40 AM
No idea. Are they Conservatives?
Is the bear catholic?
Does the pope **** in the woods?
03-08-2020, 01:44 AM
Lots of chat on twitter about the MP being a particularly gammon type individual
One who would even threaten to send Dom Cummings down to sort the generals out
03-08-2020, 04:50 AM
Tory chief whip and rees-mogg knew about the allegations a month ago
03-08-2020, 07:48 AM
Tory chief whip and rees-mogg new about the allegations a month agoBut claim they didn't know the severity of the situation
Nobody has leaked anything just yet or folk being very very careful with naming
03-08-2020, 07:53 AM
Lots of chat on twitter about the MP being a particularly gammon type individual
Struggling to believe that as the alleged victim is reported to have been in a 'relationship' with the alleged perp. Can you imagine? :dunno:
03-08-2020, 07:57 AM
Struggling to believe that as the alleged victim is reported to have been in a 'relationship' with the alleged perp. Can you imagine? :dunno:He's loathsome no matter what, definately agree there
03-08-2020, 12:57 PM
Tory MP Natalie Elphicke on 30 July: "I will not be commenting further".
2 August: Interview in The Sun on Sunday.
03-08-2020, 01:25 PM
closed his twitter and fb accounts
03-08-2020, 05:20 PM
Tory MP Natalie Elphicke on 30 July: "I will not be commenting further".
2 August: Interview in The Sun on Sunday.
I think she meant no more unpaid interviews.
05-08-2020, 11:50 AM
Douglas Ross confirmed as new Scottish Tory leader.
He'll do the job when he's not doing his other job, which he currently does when he's not doing his other job.
CloudSquall
05-08-2020, 02:22 PM
https://mobile.twitter.com/PhantomPower14/status/1290764932980637696
Oor Ruth accepted the HoL gig with the goal to reform it from the inside.
Not even the most Morningside of unionists can be buying that?
05-08-2020, 03:02 PM
Tories increase their voting intention lead to 9 points over Starmers Labour in today’s Survation poll.
I don’t know what’s in the water...
05-08-2020, 03:07 PM
Tories increase their voting intention lead to 9 points over Starmers Labour in today’s Survation poll.
I don’t know what’s in the water...
Trump and Duncan Smith making Johnson look sharp at the moment.
05-08-2020, 03:41 PM
Douglas Ross confirmed as new Scottish Tory leader.
He'll do the job when he's not doing his other job, which he currently does when he's not doing his other job.
Is he still going to be an assistant referee
05-08-2020, 03:57 PM
Is he still going to be an assistant referee
Yes, while parliament is not sitting. Apparently.
https://news.stv.tv/politics/five-things-about-the-new-scottish-conservatives-leader
Rocky
05-08-2020, 07:56 PM
The tweet threads this guy does every week are extraordinary. 67 highlights so far from 5 days of #TheWeekInTory
https://twitter.com/RussInCheshire/status/1291042650502705154?s=19
05-08-2020, 09:04 PM
Yes, while parliament is not sitting. Apparently.
https://news.stv.tv/politics/five-things-about-the-new-scottish-conservatives-leader
In further news, Douglas Ross will be running the line at ibrox on Sunday.
Maybe he should concentrate on the day job(s)
The tweet threads this guy does every week are extraordinary. 67 highlights so far from 5 days of #TheWeekInTory
https://twitter.com/RussInCheshire/status/1291042650502705154?s=19Aye, but imagine it was Corbyn though.
Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk
06-08-2020, 09:42 AM
Yet more testing lies. (https://fullfact.org/health/nick-gibb-330000/)
06-08-2020, 10:02 AM
Yet more corruption ...
https://goodlawproject.org/news/ppe-masks-not-fit-for-purpose/
£150M+ worth of useless PPE purchased from a company set up by an advisor to Liz Truss.
06-08-2020, 10:06 AM
Yet more corruption ...
https://goodlawproject.org/news/ppe-masks-not-fit-for-purpose/
£150M+ worth of useless PPE purchased from a company set up by an advisor to Liz Truss.
I read that thread earlier and it is just beyond belief that it will be accepted and people will not end up in court over that. Let's not beat about the bush that is fraud in a grand scale. And the government is complicit. And the Tories are still ahead in the polls!!!
06-08-2020, 11:28 AM
I read that thread earlier and it is just beyond belief that it will be accepted and people will not end up in court over that. Let's not beat about the bush that is fraud in a grand scale. And the government is complicit. And the Tories are still ahead in the polls!!!:agree: We are in the midst of a right wing coup.
06-08-2020, 01:46 PM
I read that thread earlier and it is just beyond belief that it will be accepted and people will not end up in court over that. Let's not beat about the bush that is fraud in a grand scale. And the government is complicit. And the Tories are still ahead in the polls!!!
The world has changed and the previous equilibrium doesn't exist anymore. Slowly but surely our whole society has tiptoed to the right.
Between 1980 at the point where I became politically aware and until around 2010 I held strong beliefs like that all people should be treated fairly, pensioners shouldn't freeze during the winter, healthcare should be available for everyone free at source, people shouldn't have to sleep on the streets, people shouldn't have to work 2 jobs to feed their families, people should earn a fair wage for a hard day's work, politicians should be held to higher behaviour standards than the citizens who elect them, there should be enough police, firemen, teachers, Doctors and nurses to do the work they're tasked to do and that our armed forces should be properly equipped to do the job they get ordered to do. I was considered to be slightly left of centre on the political spectrum.
Now I hold strong beliefs like that all people should be treated fairly, pensioners shouldn't freeze during the winter, healthcare should be available for everyone free at source, people shouldn't have to sleep on the streets, people shouldn't have to work 2 jobs to feed their families, people should earn a fair wage for a hard day's work, politicians should be held to higher behaviour standards than the citizens who elect them, there should be enough police, firemen, teachers, Doctors and nurses to do the work they're tasked to do and that our armed forces should be properly equipped to do the job they get ordered to do. Now I'm considered to be a looney leftist. Ask yourselves what's changed? It isn't me.
06-08-2020, 03:27 PM
The world has changed and the previous equilibrium doesn't exist anymore. Slowly but surely our whole society has tiptoed to the right.
Between 1980 at the point where I became politically aware and until around 2010 I held strong beliefs like that all people should be treated fairly, pensioners shouldn't freeze during the winter, healthcare should be available for everyone free at source, people shouldn't have to sleep on the streets, people shouldn't have to work 2 jobs to feed their families, people should earn a fair wage for a hard day's work, politicians should be held to higher behaviour standards than the citizens who elect them, there should be enough police, firemen, teachers, Doctors and nurses to do the work they're tasked to do and that our armed forces should be properly equipped to do the job they get ordered to do. I was considered to be slightly left of centre on the political spectrum.
Now I hold strong beliefs like that all people should be treated fairly, pensioners shouldn't freeze during the winter, healthcare should be available for everyone free at source, people shouldn't have to sleep on the streets, people shouldn't have to work 2 jobs to feed their families, people should earn a fair wage for a hard day's work, politicians should be held to higher behaviour standards than the citizens who elect them, there should be enough police, firemen, teachers, Doctors and nurses to do the work they're tasked to do and that our armed forces should be properly equipped to do the job they get ordered to do. Now I'm considered to be a looney leftist. Ask yourselves what's changed? It isn't me.
Totally get that. And as sad as it is to say it the 80s was when it all changed. Thatcher, as much as I hated her and cheered when I learned of her death, was a smart politician who's legacy we still see to this day.
Working men and women who own their houses, have probably two cars at least per house, probably own shares, have at least one foreign holiday per year and still aspire for more more more. That is why society has moved to the right, people now have too much to lose by not following that right of centre thinking.
Want better services? Yes please!! Pay more taxes then. Erm well maybe it's ok for less police,Drs,Nurses etc. Want better education for your kids? Yes please. Maybe have a smaller house and pay more taxes. Erm maybe the education system is not too bad. Want to have a cleaner environment? Yes please! Well give up some of your foreign holidays and your multiple cars. Erm nah,the environment can look after itself! Thatcher made the entire country into a capitalists dream. We allowed the bankers and the "elite" to bankrupt the entire world economy and let them off with it, and in fact we now pay them bonuses again just to let them know that they can do whatever the **** they want!
Everyone wants to have more more more and only to pay for the things that they want. Sadly we have become programmed to demand the latest gadget, car, clothes and will spend £0000s for them but ask to pay an extra penny on tax to help those who may not have as much, or to fund more hospitals, more nurses and police, better roads, refuse picked up and recycled and all hell breaks loose.
I cannot ever see a way back now either. Labour occasionally get in, make a James Hunt of things and then we get back to a decade or more of Tories robbing the country blind as in the example above. And we accept it and let them away with it.
I've just depressed myself.
06-08-2020, 03:37 PM
I should also say from the above that in no way am I saying that people can't have nice things and want better for themselves, just that there needs to be a bit of balance.
ACLeith
06-08-2020, 03:42 PM
I totally relate to what you say. I was chatting a while back (pre BJ and his house of nutters) to a friend, I said you are supposed to become more conservative (small c) / set in your ways as you get older but I seem to be becoming a real radical. He told me my views were staying the same - a bit left of centre - it was the political spectrum that had lurched to the right.
He was spot on - and that was before the Britannia Unleashed loony tunes who are now in government
Want better services? Yes please!! Pay more taxes then. Erm well maybe it's ok for less police,Drs,Nurses etc. Want better education for your kids? Yes please. Maybe have a smaller house and pay more taxes. Erm maybe the education system is not too bad. Want to have a cleaner environment? Yes please! Well give up some of your foreign holidays and your multiple cars. Erm nah,the environment can look after itself!
Taxes are for poor people. A top threshold of £80,000 (last time I looked) is simply theft.
One the first things Thatcher put into law were systems which made siphoning off money abroad far more easily. David Cameron's auld boy was first in queue to create a business which took advantage of those laws.
It's fobbed off as " the way of the world" now whereas in reality it's a premeditated mechanism made by humans to ensure that huge amounts of money isn't taxed.
Any discussion about a social contract is just lip service.
Still we are all in it together.
06-08-2020, 06:05 PM
https://twitter.com/jolyonmaugham/status/1291244082145177600?s=21
... touch of nepotism?
07-08-2020, 02:06 AM
Good post - that’s a really good way of putting it and it’s very accurate, imho.
07-08-2020, 07:08 AM
https://twitter.com/jolyonmaugham/status/1291244082145177600?s=21
... touch of nepotism?
Mind boggling. Tory toughers just can't help themselves, although they keep at it.
Still, Ruth and Dross are back. 😟
07-08-2020, 04:36 PM
Interesting read on the ERG: their motives, tactics and how they've siphoned public money into their shenanigans.
https://www.opendemocracy.net/en/dark-money-investigations/a-corruption-of-conservatism-how-a-cartel-of-tory-mps-broke-british-politics/
08-08-2020, 06:32 AM
Good post - that’s a really good way of putting it and it’s very accurate, imho.
Thanks Matty, I'm sure many of my generation feel similar.
16-08-2020, 12:49 PM
Douglas Ross, aye him, Ruth's new gaffer, makes monumental gaff yesterday. Not missing an offside decision, but missing an official engagement in his own constituency so he could run the line at Kilmarnock.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-glasgow-west-53799001
16-08-2020, 01:14 PM
Douglas Ross, aye him, Ruth's new gaffer, makes monumental gaff yesterday. Not missing an offside decision, but missing an official engagement in his own constituency so he could run the line at Kilmarnock.
Big deal.
16-08-2020, 01:30 PM
Big deal.
Are you really saying he was right to go to a game of football in Ayrshire rather than an official engagement in his own constituency?
I am a proud and passionate supporter of the Armed Forces and our veterans," he added. "I represent a constituency with a significant military presence and have worked with local and national charities supporting veterans throughout my time as an elected representative.
But he decided not to support the armed forces and veterans in his constituency despit it having a significan military presence. If only there was an election soon. :wink:
16-08-2020, 04:27 PM
Fair play to him donating his match fee and acknowledging his mistake.
I think he and anyone has every right to pursue external hobbies away from his main work but that's bad timing considering the questions raised over his ability to be a party leader and continue officiating only a few weeks ago.
Rocky
18-08-2020, 07:39 PM
Another busy #WeekInTory
https://twitter.com/RussInCheshire/status/1295772678163517443?s=19
19-08-2020, 12:55 AM
Another busy #WeekInTory
https://twitter.com/RussInCheshire/status/1295772678163517443?s=19
"Irony's own Bermuda Triangle, Priti Patel..." :greengrin
20-08-2020, 06:38 AM
https://amp.theguardian.com/education/2020/aug/20/firm-linked-to-gove-and-cummings-hired-to-work-with-ofqual-on-a-levels?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium=&utm_source=Twitter&__twitter_impression=true
Gove, Cummings and Johnson must be raking it in these last couple of years.
20-08-2020, 08:13 AM
https://amp.theguardian.com/education/2020/aug/20/firm-linked-to-gove-and-cummings-hired-to-work-with-ofqual-on-a-levels?utm_term=Autofeed&CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium=&utm_source=Twitter&__twitter_impression=true
The corruption aspect of that story's routine now but ****, that's scary levels of incompetence there. A firm hired specifically to ensure that 2020 educational awards would be well received by the public. :faf:
20-08-2020, 08:15 AM
They're calling it their union dividend.
21-08-2020, 05:51 PM
i thought this was a joke so looked up daily mail online and it did indeed happen, should have let an irate heilan bull loose on the teewat :hilarious
21-08-2020, 05:57 PM
i thought this was a joke so looked up daily mail online and it did indeed happen, should have let an irate heilan bull loose on the teewat :hilarious
This would be a massive thing in the past. Now it’s doesn’t even raise a “meh” in Politics.
Oh well, Bojo going to Bojo. Cheeky chap that he is.
21-08-2020, 08:55 PM
This would be a massive thing in the past. Now it’s doesn’t even raise a “meh” in Politics.
Oh well, Bojo going to Bojo. Cheeky chap that he is.
Boris johnson
he does what he wants
22-08-2020, 08:42 AM
Tory lead slashed from 9 points to 2 points during the exams fiasco/debacle/****show https://yougov.co.uk/topics/politics/articles-reports/2020/08/19/voting-intention-con-40-lab-38-18-19-aug
Bangkok Hibby
22-08-2020, 01:34 PM
Tory lead slashed from 9 points to 2 points during the exams fiasco/debacle/****show https://yougov.co.uk/topics/politics/articles-reports/2020/08/19/voting-intention-con-40-lab-38-18-19-aug
Speaks volumes for the "British" psyche that this bunch of murdering, *******s are even in the lead
25-08-2020, 08:54 AM
This is doing the rounds today on Titter:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EgP3dEPX0AA1aAs?format=jpg&name=small
This is doing the rounds today on Titter:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EgP3dEPX0AA1aAs?format=jpg&name=small
Ah! So that's what the super injuction is about ;-)
25-08-2020, 01:09 PM
Ah! So that's what the super injuction is about ;-)
this one....
25-08-2020, 01:13 PM
Speaks volumes for the "British" psyche that this bunch of murdering, *******s are even in the lead
I find it so depressing that after all the lies,deliberate misinformation and utter cock up they are still slightly ahead.Shows how toxic a Corbin Led Labour Party had become.. Theright wing press won’t turn on him until they see the chance of losing the next election looking. Hes been an utter disaster of a pm and they know that.
25-08-2020, 01:14 PM
this one....
That’s what I’ve heard.
25-08-2020, 03:32 PM
I find it so depressing that after all the lies,deliberate misinformation and utter cock up they are still slightly ahead.Shows how toxic a Corbin Led Labour Party had become.. Theright wing press won’t turn on him until they see the chance of losing the next election looking. Hes been an utter disaster of a pm and they know that.
There are already rumblings in the right wing press:
https://i.dailymail.co.uk/1s/2020/08/18/09/32080972-8638397-DAILY_MAIL_The_Mail_used_the_headline_Another_fine _mess_with_a_c-m-39_1597738968278.jpg
I imagine Tories in general will be keen to ditch him well before this parliament is up.
25-08-2020, 08:56 PM
https://amp-theguardian-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/amp.theguardian.com/politics/2020/aug/25/boris-johnson-will-quit-dominic-cummings-father-in-law-reportedly-says?amp_js_v=a3&_gsa=1&usqp=mq331AQFKAGwASA%3D#referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww .google.com&_tf=From%20%251%24s&share=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.theguardian.com%2Fpolit ics%2F2020%2Faug%2F25%2Fboris-johnson-will-quit-dominic-cummings-father-in-law-reportedly-says
Fingers crossed, but I think it's just another tory lie.
25-08-2020, 09:03 PM
https://amp-theguardian-com.cdn.ampproject.org/v/s/amp.theguardian.com/politics/2020/aug/25/boris-johnson-will-quit-dominic-cummings-father-in-law-reportedly-says?amp_js_v=a3&_gsa=1&usqp=mq331AQFKAGwASA%3D#referrer=https%3A%2F%2Fwww .google.com&_tf=From%20%251%24s&share=https%3A%2F%2Fwww.theguardian.com%2Fpolit ics%2F2020%2Faug%2F25%2Fboris-johnson-will-quit-dominic-cummings-father-in-law-reportedly-says
Fingers crossed, but I think it's just another tory lie.
i truly hope he doesn't, he's an absolute gift to the independence cause
25-08-2020, 09:16 PM
i truly hope he doesn't, he's an absolute gift to the independence cause
Very true, but the lesson that we are powerless to prevent an equally bad, or worse, PM in future will hopefully not be forgotten.
25-08-2020, 11:21 PM
Who would succeed him? Sunak?
26-08-2020, 04:36 PM
Very true, but the lesson that we are powerless to prevent an equally bad, or worse, PM in future will hopefully not be forgotten.
that's true, i'd like to see wee Gove replace him. :)
27-08-2020, 11:34 AM
Response from The Law Society, that well known leftist Marxist revolutionary organisation, to a video put out by The Home Office:
https://pbs.twimg.com/media/Ega7uyhWkAAdp1s?format=png&name=small
27-08-2020, 11:40 AM
Response from The Law Society, that well known leftist Marxist revolutionary organisation, to a video put out by The Home Office:
Patel :bitchy:
27-08-2020, 11:42 AM
And here's the video they are complaining about
https://twitter.com/ukhomeoffice/status/1298674067323727872?s=20
27-08-2020, 11:43 AM
https://twitter.com/sazmeister88/status/1298704120673697792?s=21
You get the feeling he really connects with you people. Bet he’s a great dad.[emoji23]
27-08-2020, 12:21 PM
https://twitter.com/sazmeister88/status/1298704120673697792?s=21
You get the feeling he really connects with you people. Bet he’s a great dad.[emoji23]
What did you do at school today, son?”
“We had a drunk tramp in a suit turn up, and he talked a load of gibberish at us for 10 minutes. No one knew what he was on about. We all laughed when they said he was the Prime Minister.”
27-08-2020, 12:49 PM
It's clear he's still struggling after being ill. It wouldn't surprise me if the suggested six months until he stands down turned out to be less.
27-08-2020, 12:54 PM
It's clear he's still struggling after being ill. It wouldn't surprise me if the suggested six months until he stands down turned out to be less.
If he's not fit enough to run the country then it's his duty to stand down ASAP.
27-08-2020, 01:03 PM
If he's not fit enough to run the country then it's his duty to stand down ASAP.
Using that logic he should never have been PM in the first place.
It's clear he's still struggling after being ill. It wouldn't surprise me if the suggested six months until he stands down turned out to be less.Before he was ill he was exactly the same..... exactly the same waffling erse of a man.
"Leadership qualities", my left yak.
31-08-2020, 11:00 AM
Scots Tory leader Linesman Ross getting himself into an argument with @BBC Good Morning Scotland over his vow not to allow chlorinated chicken into Scotland. "But two months ago you voted in Parliament against the bill which would have prevented it". "Ah, but I didn't vote FOR it".
Edit to add: Ross says his story is supported by NFU Scotland policy director. NFU Scotland policy director says, "I was fuming - he took my words out of context".
https://twitter.com/PhantomPower14/status/1300382812823003147?s=20
Duplicitous Tory creep.
31-08-2020, 05:37 PM
Scots Tory leader Linesman Ross getting himself into an argument with @BBC Good Morning Scotland over his vow not to allow chlorinated chicken into Scotland. "But two months ago you voted in Parliament against the bill which would have prevented it". "Ah, but I didn't vote FOR it".
Edit to add: Ross says his story is supported by NFU Scotland policy director. NFU Scotland policy director says, "I was fuming - he took my words out of context".
Duplicitous Tory creep.
Absolute ****. I listened to it this morning and the NFU guy tonight.
31-08-2020, 06:16 PM
Duplicitous Tory creep.
Ross needs to keep the farmers support that saw him elected in the first place. That was a really cheap trick he pulled there.
31-08-2020, 08:59 PM
Ross needs to keep the farmers support that saw him elected in the first place. That was a really cheap trick he pulled there.They SNP cybernats
What a twat
CloudSquall
31-08-2020, 09:23 PM
"eh.....eh.....SNP CYBERNATS"
How long will it take for Ruth to reload the rifle for another shot in the back of a leader? :greengrin
Seriously though, if Sturgeon reacted to a question by saying it was a question from a Tory cyberyoon the media would be having a field day with it.
01-09-2020, 09:25 PM
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/sep/01/boris-johnson-backtracks-on-meeting-group-for-covid-19-bereaved
Boris Johnson (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/boris-johnson) has declined to meet members of a campaign group representing families bereaved by coronavirus, despite appearing to promise to do so on live TV last week.
BBC comedy too left wing apparently.
https://metro.co.uk/2020/09/01/bbc-boss-axe-left-wing-comedy-fair-political-representation-13206039/
01-09-2020, 10:01 PM
BBC comedy too left wing apparently.
https://metro.co.uk/2020/09/01/bbc-boss-axe-left-wing-comedy-fair-political-representation-13206039/
Their comedy shows do lean left more than right(as you would imagine more comedians are left leaning) however I find their news leans more right than left even though it's supposed to be an impartial body, don't think that this is coming from a place of trying to even it out due to the new Director Generals past role though
It's a fine line to try and tread for them, won't be complaining if they get that self righteous welt Nish Kumar off my TV
02-09-2020, 07:53 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-54000357
"Of course I will."
"No, I won't."
How does he even make it through the day?
02-09-2020, 08:03 PM
How does he even make it through the day?Here's one person's suggestion as to how Johnson makes it through the day. Quite chilling reading.
https://bylinetimes.com/2020/08/28/boris-johnson-the-anti-prime-minister/
02-09-2020, 08:24 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-54000357
"Of course I will."
"No, I won't."
How does he even make it through the day?
i watched a video of johnson the other day talking to 3 pupils that were safe distancing in a clasroom, when the **** had finished slavering the cameraman accidently( i think) caught a group of kids all huddled together in another corner of the room :rolleyes:
02-09-2020, 08:46 PM
Johnson failing again at PMQs.
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/sep/02/boris-left-flailing-as-pms-limitations-become-clear-for-all-to-see
03-09-2020, 10:55 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/sep/02/boris-left-flailing-as-pms-limitations-become-clear-for-all-to-see
The deliberate tactic of going on the attack rather than answering questions is spreading:
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/sep/03/matt-hancock-shows-unease-at-tony-abbott-as-uk-trade-envoy
Tories are learning from Trump - just make up stuff and sling enough mud. With the media on their side, the fact they are failing miserably will be ignored in favour of non issues like singing Rule Britannia at an event that no one actually watches.
Rocky
03-09-2020, 12:05 PM
The deliberate tactic of going on the attack rather than answering questions is spreading:
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/sep/03/matt-hancock-shows-unease-at-tony-abbott-as-uk-trade-envoy
Tories are learning from Trump - just make up stuff and sling enough mud. With the media on their side, the fact they are failing miserably will be ignored in favour of non issues like singing Rule Britannia at an event that no one actually watches.
This is so true and I genuinely find it more depressing than Covid. The depressing bit isn't even the fact that they're doing it. It's the fact that it works.
03-09-2020, 07:37 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200903/a3bd7bf33b6050bfd65791ca9717fa8c.png
... easiest trade deal ever just needs contingencies.
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200903/7aa21485a8ce4a17beb46f5736bab986.png
03-09-2020, 08:22 PM
I just watched it and Starmer absolutely roasted Johnson. He has been decent at PMQs from the start but is upping his game consistently, albeit with the help of no shortage of incompetence on the other side's part.
It took me back to the tail-end of the Major government when Blair skewered him again and again at PMQs.
Maybe something in that Blair and Starmer were both barristers.
My favourite moment from today's PMQs was Johnson accusing Starmer of promoting that schools were not safe. Starmer was relatively restrained in his reply, but the fact that his children had been at school because his wife is a key worker was hilarious. Any PM should have competent researchers you would have thought who would have warned Johnson off that particular topic.
The IRA comment also backfired massively on Johnson IMO. Starmer has a public track record that people can understand, of prosecuting terrorists. Johnson maybe not so much :greengrin
03-09-2020, 08:26 PM
I just watched it and Starmer absolutely roasted Johnson.
Nonsense. Johnson savaged Starmer. (https://www.express.co.uk/news/politics/1330225/PMQs-live-Boris-Johnson-keir-starmer-prime-ministers-questions-coronavirus-brexit)
03-09-2020, 08:37 PM
I don't think this has been posted yet but it makes PMQs look like a good outing for the Tories. And bearing in mind it is Kay Burley, who I am no fan of.
https://news.sky.com/story/tony-abbott-matt-hancock-defends-misogynist-ex-australia-pm-over-possible-trade-role-12062211
Matt Hancock, the human punchbag. Even the Telegraph is turning on him and Johnson, no doubt reflecting the growing discontent amongst their fellow MPs.
EDIT - scroll down a bit to the video and bear with the ad. It is quality television
03-09-2020, 08:40 PM
Nonsense. Johnson savaged Starmer. (https://www.express.co.uk/news/politics/1330225/PMQs-live-Boris-Johnson-keir-starmer-prime-ministers-questions-coronavirus-brexit)
The most heinous of sins and crimes - DOUBT-spreading.
Dante would be writing a redux version of 'Inferno' if hadn't been dead for several centuries.
03-09-2020, 09:21 PM
I don't think this has been posted yet but it makes PMQs look like a good outing for the Tories. And bearing in mind it is Kay Burley, who I am no fan of.
I'm not sure which video you're referring to, but if its the one with Liz Truss, let me just say she doesn't look very well.
04-09-2020, 03:28 AM
I'm not sure which video you're referring to, but if its the one with Liz Truss, let me just say she doesn't look very well.
I hyperlinked it in my post?
04-09-2020, 06:25 AM
I just watched it and Starmer absolutely roasted Johnson. He has been decent at PMQs from the start but is upping his game consistently, albeit with the help of no shortage of incompetence on the other side's part.
It took me back to the tail-end of the Major government when Blair skewered him again and again at PMQs.
Maybe something in that Blair and Starmer were both barristers.
My favourite moment from today's PMQs was Johnson accusing Starmer of promoting that schools were not safe. Starmer was relatively restrained in his reply, but the fact that his children had been at school because his wife is a key worker was hilarious. Any PM should have competent researchers you would have thought who would have warned Johnson off that particular topic.
The IRA comment also backfired massively on Johnson IMO. Starmer has a public track record that people can understand, of prosecuting terrorists. Johnson maybe not so much :greengrin
Happy Schappy playing dodgems with Burley now on Sky. He doesn't exactly ooze confidence.
04-09-2020, 06:33 AM
I hyperlinked it in my post?
There are four videos on that page.
04-09-2020, 07:04 AM
Happy Schappy playing dodgems with Burley now on Sky. He doesn't exactly ooze confidence.
Was on BBC breakfast as well. Talking about the different quarantine rules in the different countries in the UK.
Also talking up (lying) the HS2.
04-09-2020, 07:45 AM
I hyperlinked it in my post?Jeez, what an absolute shower, they don't even care what they say because they know they can get away with it for the time being.
It comes from the top, but the standard of deflection isn't even very good now.
Hancock must be Chris Grayling's long lost and even less talented brother.
04-09-2020, 08:06 AM
https://news.sky.com/story/tony-abbott-matt-hancock-defends-misogynist-ex-australia-pm-over-possible-trade-role-12062211
Disagree that the Tory leadership comes out of that interview badly. The Burley-Hancock show is perfect for it. A big manufactured fuss about a foreign ***hole who is never going to be appointed anyway deflects, as does the even bigger manufactured fuss about the words in a song which nobody knows, very nicely from whatever it is that the genius Cummings is actually getting up to in the background. Which I think may be something like "Try to destroy everything that's older than me without people realising what I'm up to".
04-09-2020, 10:47 AM
There are four videos on that page.
It's the first one. The link screenshot shows Kay Burley and Matt Hancock. The two people I referred to in my post.
04-09-2020, 11:12 AM
It's the first one. The link screenshot shows Kay Burley and Matt Hancock. The two people I referred to in my post.
Well thanks, but there's no need to be snippy about it. In the same post you suggested it made PMQs look good for the Tories, so I assumed the clip you were talking about was from PMQs. Not an unreasonable assumption I'd have thought but there you go. Plus you said scroll down to the video and this one is at the top of the page, so that confused me too.
04-09-2020, 12:07 PM
Well thanks, but there's no need to be snippy about it. In the same post you suggested it made PMQs look good for the Tories, so I assumed the clip you were talking about was from PMQs. Not an unreasonable assumption I'd have thought but there you go. Plus you said scroll down to the video and this one is at the top of the page, so that confused me too.
Yeah okay:rolleyes:
04-09-2020, 04:21 PM
Boris Johnson says going by train from Birmingham to London is greener than car or plane. He did not disclose who flies from Birmingham to London @Channel4News tonight
05-09-2020, 07:03 AM
A big manufactured fuss about a foreign ***hole who is never going to be appointed anyway...
Abbott appointed.
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-54027762
05-09-2020, 07:06 AM
Abbott appointed.
If there was any doubt before, there isn't now. Cummings is just trolling, pure and simple. Super duper promotion for Grayling next.
05-09-2020, 07:19 AM
If there was any doubt before, there isn't now. Cummings is just trolling, pure and simple. Super duper promotion for Grayling next.
It’s not trolling, they just don’t care. They are in there for 5 years and they are making as much money as they can while they are there.
05-09-2020, 07:45 AM
It’s not trolling, they just don’t care. They are in there for 5 years and they are making as much money as they can while they are there.
Yes, undoubtedly massive corruption. But I think there's trolling too. I mean, the eyesight thing? It's like they're having a bet among themselves - just how far can we go before we get called out by Kuenssberg and friends?
05-09-2020, 09:28 AM
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkYep, there's the outward deflection and shambles which Cummings is orchestrating while Bozo appears rarely and only in positive sound bites. Behind the scenes boots are being filled, without any real scrutiny by making far reaching use of the emergency powers granted to deal with Covid to avoid tendering processes or any other scrutiny in the awarding of contracts.
If folk think what the torys are doing just now with dodgy contracts for their pals and party donators is outrageous just wait for Brexit to kick in. It will be like this but with afterburners on full!
05-09-2020, 11:09 AM
Abbott appointed.
It's not as if we haven't got enough misogynist, homophobic climate deniers in the government.
Mr Grieves
05-09-2020, 12:31 PM
https://www.heraldscotland.com/news/18699666.dont-call-baroness-davidson-furious-bbc-description/
One party source told the Herald the title was “not the image the Tories are going for in the lead up to the elections” and added: “ As Ruth is effectively leading the Holyrood party now with Douglas [Ross] in Westminster, she does not want the fact she is going to be a member of the Lords influencing voters. It just adds to that stereotype of Conservatives that we’re trying to move away from."
Ruth Davidson doesn't want to look like a tory while doing tory things, complete and utter charlatan
05-09-2020, 12:52 PM
unpleasant image of an unpleasant bitter hatefull politician, a baroness my god, the hatred on the face of jackie baillie the other day was not pleasant either
05-09-2020, 02:05 PM
Ruth Davidson doesn't want to look like a tory while doing tory things, complete and utter charlatan
Poor thing. Wonder if it's occurred to her that if she doesn't want to be considered a baroness she could, oh, I don't know, say, maybe, not be a baroness? :dunno:
05-09-2020, 04:44 PM
tiz all true
05-09-2020, 07:30 PM
If folk think what the torys are doing just now with dodgy contracts for their pals and party donators is outrageous just wait for Brexit to kick in. It will be like this but with afterburners on full!If there's anything left that hasn't been carved up, you're right.
06-09-2020, 08:16 PM
https://www.ft.com/content/9906e0d4-0c29-4f5f-9cb0- (https://www.ft.com/content/9906e0d4-0c29-4f5f-9cb0-130c75a2f7a7)
UK plan to undermine withdrawal treaty threatens Brexit trade talks
06-09-2020, 09:48 PM
https://www.ft.com/content/9906e0d4-0c29-4f5f-9cb0- (https://www.ft.com/content/9906e0d4-0c29-4f5f-9cb0-130c75a2f7a7)
Almost a guaranteed no deal brexit now. Lucky our economy is going into it in a robust state.[emoji849]
06-09-2020, 10:05 PM
Almost a guaranteed no deal brexit now. Lucky our economy is going into it in a robust state.[emoji849]
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkAt least we've got Rule Britannia at the last night of the proms. Who needs to worry about economies when Bozo has sorted the singing out.
06-09-2020, 11:17 PM
he's maybe a tory himself but he's certainly not been letting they corrupt crooked right wing tory fudlies off the hook for several months now, keep it up
07-09-2020, 08:24 AM
https://bylinetimes.com/2020/09/02/government-awards-43-8-million-ppe-deal-to-dormant-firm/
More free money.
Mr Grieves
07-09-2020, 10:36 AM
Emma Barnett just spoke to a Belgian MEP on five live and his opinion is there is no point continuing negotiations because the UK government is completely untrustworthy.
07-09-2020, 10:39 AM
I really fear for the future of this country. We will recover from COVID, it will take time and we'll never get back the lives lost but the economic damage will be reversed.
A no deal Brexit on the other hand will haunt us for generations. The level of lying, duplicity and dishonesty in the referendum and beyond would make Trump blush. The economy will be hit, our reputation will be weakened and we have pushed away some of our greatest allies.
The bit that worries me is that no responsibility will be taken. Not by Boris and his cronies who called it the easiest deal in history, or by the media who have for years pushed a false narrative on the EU. No, the blame will be levelled at EU for not caving to our ridiculous demands, or remoaners, who should have believed more, doing so magically solving all our problems.
07-09-2020, 10:47 AM
https://bylinetimes.com/2020/09/02/government-awards-43-8-million-ppe-deal-to-dormant-firm/
More free money.
That should be enough to see folk getting convictions, but it won’t even cost anyone their job.
They don’t care, they’re ripping it out of us right in front of our faces.
07-09-2020, 11:11 AM
Emma Barnett just spoke to a Belgian MEP on five live and his opinion is there is no point continuing negotiations because the UK government is completely untrustworthy.
The UK Internal Market Bill is essentially a coup. It’s being rushed into Parliament on Wednesday, 48 hours notice, despite having clearly been written well in advance. Sadly its a rubber stamping exercise because the Brexiteers in parliament have the numbers. It overrides legally binding international agreements, straight out of the Trump playbook (see his ‘unilateral’ withdrawal from the Paris climate accords). They want a No Deal, they’ve always wanted a No Deal.
But sshhh, don’t pay attention, look over here, there’s a couple of hundred Syrians in dinghies trying to get to Dover.
07-09-2020, 09:38 PM
if scotland doesn't vote to escape the corruptness of the most crooked westminster government ever in indy2...i don't think we ever will
08-09-2020, 12:38 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200908/9833b45b43c19d537154c2fa1a686c17.jpg
08-09-2020, 12:46 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200908/9833b45b43c19d537154c2fa1a686c17.jpg
Basically what I said yesterday, although i hadnt appreciated they were just going to announce it as a fact :dunno:
We've voted in lawbreakers to be our lawmakers.
https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/may/25/attorney-general-faces-calls-to-resign-defends-dominic-cummings-suella-braverman
This is our attorney general, who oversees the legality of UK Govt action, Suella Braverman. Take a look at her history.
08-09-2020, 03:46 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-54073836
Tory government admitted to making illegal laws
08-09-2020, 03:49 PM
We need to change the OP to;
Tories are *******s but at least they’re not bothering to lie about it now (warning may contain traces of Tory)
08-09-2020, 03:53 PM
Tory government admitted to making illegal lawsBut only in a specific way
[emoji106]
08-09-2020, 05:38 PM
sir jonathan jones the head of the government legal department has resigned over johnsons plans to override the brexit withdrawal agreement, the 6th top civil servant to resign this year, PM cummings wanting his own men in.
CloudSquall
08-09-2020, 06:01 PM
Anyone that bought into, or worse, is continuing to buy into her "cheeky chappy" act needs to have a long hard look at themselves in the mirror.
08-09-2020, 09:15 PM
Read a few bits and bobs on Twitter tonight suggesting Johnson will resign in January citing health issues. Gove being groomed to replace him. Sunak also likely to be ostracised with Patel or Raab taking his job.
09-09-2020, 06:43 AM
Read a few bits and bobs on Twitter tonight suggesting Johnson will resign in January citing health issues. Gove being groomed to replace him. Sunak also likely to be ostracised with Patel or Raab taking his job.
The Boris resignation story has been going about for a couple of weeks, I think it was the Mail that first reported it. If there is any truth in it my guess is Gove will be plotting rather than being groomed.
09-09-2020, 06:46 AM
They’ve out-Trumped Trump with this one. He will need to up his game now. :greengrin
This is how you prepare to negotiate complex trade deals with other countries though, let them see just how trust worthy you are.
09-09-2020, 06:56 AM
They’ve out-Trumped Trump with this one. He will need to up his game now. :greengrin
This is how you prepare to negotiate complex trade deals with other countries though, let them see just how trust worthy you are.
Id actually forgotten about it, but there was that Priti Patel rant about ‘activist lawyers’ last week. By which I suppose she means lawyers that actually care about the law...
09-09-2020, 06:56 AM
https://amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/sep/08/boris-johnson-trump-president-elected-britain-democracy?__twitter_impression=true
Excellent article on Johnson.
09-09-2020, 08:01 AM
https://amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/sep/08/boris-johnson-trump-president-elected-britain-democracy?__twitter_impression=true
Excellent article on Johnson.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkThe Telegraph editor who was his former boss highlights some of his other "qualities" too in this podcast interview.
LBC
"Boris Johnson has to embrace the truth": PM's former boss questions his honesty
31 May 2020, 11:50 | Updated: 1 June 2020, 11:58
By Seán Hickey
Although Boris Johnson sees himself as a character on par with Churchill, the PM reminds his former boss of Alan Partridge.
Max Hastings is a former editor-in-chief of the Daily Telegraph and was the boss of the current Prime Minister*Boris Johnson*during this time. He was speaking to Andrew Castle about the Prime Minister's reaction to the coronavirus crisis, where he didn't shower his former employee in praise.
"Everybody, including me wants Johnson to succeed as Prime Minister" Mr Hastings said, but told Andrew that the PM has a lot of room for improvement. "He's got to learn to embrace the truth a way that frankly he's never done in my experience."
The ex-Telegraph editor told Andrew that in his opinion, Boris Johnson is "one of the best journalists of our generation" but his ability to tell the truth needs more practice, referencing the PM's track record on the*coronavirus*pandemic.
"Only a Tory party that has completely lost its marbles could think that somebody who was a brilliant columnist in Brussels and so on is appropriate to be Prime Minister," Mr Hastings added.
[https://images-lbc-co-uk]Boris Johnson.*Picture: PA
Andrew found himself jumping to the defence of Mr Johnson. "The guy was in intensive care for goodness sake, I think that must be a great shock to the system" he said.
Mr Hastings wasn't holding back in his criticisms. He argued that the PM "was showing all these signs before lockdown began" adding that "he wasn't attending cobra meetings for goodness sake."
"I don't think he's doing terribly well" Mr Hastings said. Andrew wanted to know if Boris Johnson has lost confidence since becoming PM, where his former boss insisted that "he's frightened stiff."
Contrary to his belief that the PM is terrified, Mr Hastings maintained that Mr Johnson takes himself at too high of a regard and his track record has been proof so far. "Johnson believes he's up with Churchill" the former editor said, "I'm afraid he's more Alan Partridge."

Listen & subscribe:*Global Player*|*Apple Podcasts*|*Google Podcasts*|*Spotify
[emoji2398] Global 2020
14-09-2020, 08:21 AM
I was reading an article from a blogger yesterday, where the author (Richard Murphy) claims that using reasonable analysis, this Tory Government ticks many of the boxes of a fascist government and thus can reasonably be considered to be one.
https://www.taxresearch.org.uk/Blog/2020/09/13/we-now-have-what-looks-on-the-basis-of-all-reasonable-analysis-to-be-a-fascist-government/
I found myself agreeing with much of what he had to say but was wary (as I always am) about taking some of the facts and assumptions in his opinion piece at face value so I spent the day cross referencing them and comparing them to reasonable definitions as to what constitutes the makeup of a fascist government and can't find fault in his final claim that this Conservative Government can reasonably be described as fascist.
Interesting reading I found to be excerpts from Professor Roger Griffin's "the Nature of Fascism" and some of the links provided on the Britannica website and Wikipedia regarding the characteristics of fascism are interesting reading in relation to the aforementioned blog.
14-09-2020, 09:04 AM
I was reading an article from a blogger yesterday, where the author (Richard Murphy) claims that using reasonable analysis, this Tory Government ticks many of the boxes of a fascist government and thus can reasonably be considered to be one.
https://www.taxresearch.org.uk/Blog/2020/09/13/we-now-have-what-looks-on-the-basis-of-all-reasonable-analysis-to-be-a-fascist-government/
I found myself agreeing with much of what he had to say but was wary (as I always am) about taking some of the facts and assumptions in his opinion piece at face value so I spent the day cross referencing them and comparing them to reasonable definitions as to what constitutes the makeup of a fascist government and can't find fault in his final claim that this Conservative Government can reasonably be described as fascist.
Interesting reading I found to be excerpts from Professor Roger Griffin's "the Nature of Fascism" and some of the links provided on the Britannica website and Wikipedia regarding the characteristics of fascism are interesting reading in relation to the aforementioned blog.
In a typical fascist state you generally have ties to some sort of fifth estate; often the Church or the Army as in Italy or Spain, and that’s lacking in the U.K., and the propaganda we live under is more subtle and disguised, but yes, we’re certainly ticking a lot of boxes. And why are we surprised?
14-09-2020, 09:08 AM
In a typical fascist state you generally have ties to some sort of fifth estate; often the Church or the Army as in Italy or Spain, and that’s lacking in the U.K., and the propaganda we live under is more subtle and disguised, but yes, we’re certainly ticking a lot of boxes. And why are we surprised?
We always have the monarchy in the UK to fill that role, similar to Franco back in his day.
14-09-2020, 09:12 AM
We always have the monarchy in the UK to fill that role, similar to Franco back in his day.
Do you think the monarchy is capable of being a driver behind a new kind of right wing extremism? I still think of them as a ‘small c’ conservative force, when they are political at all, which is very rare. I could be wrong. The monarchy is of course used by others as a nationalist structure to rally around.
14-09-2020, 09:28 AM
Do you think the monarchy is capable of being a driver behind a new kind of right wing extremism? I still think of them as a ‘small c’ conservative force, when they are political at all, which is very rare. I could be wrong. The monarchy is of course used by others as a nationalist structure to rally around.
I don't believe the UK monarchy would willingly be the driving force but they certainly are used as a rallying banner for all sorts of extremist right wing organisations and do next to nothing to disassociate themselves from them. I'm sure they're not happy about it, but so is their lot and appearing to be politically neutral is essential to their survival.
In a typical fascist state you generally have ties to some sort of fifth estate; often the Church or the Army as in Italy or Spain, and that’s lacking in the U.K., and the propaganda we live under is more subtle and disguised, but yes, we’re certainly ticking a lot of boxes. And why are we surprised?I notice the author uses the term "corporate fascism", which is apt since this lot are more concerned with preserving their kleptocracy rather than having any military or ideological ambitions. So having the banks and the civil service within Whitehall on their side would act as that fifth estate. Most banks are already on board and Cummings has his eyes on decimating the CS.
14-09-2020, 11:05 AM
I notice the author uses the term "corporate fascism", which is apt since this lot are more concerned with preserving their kleptocracy rather than having any military or ideological ambitions. So having the banks and the civil service within Whitehall on their side would act as that fifth estate. Most banks are already on board and Cummings has his eyes on decimating the CS.
That’s a good point. There are many ways to skin a cat.
Rocky
14-09-2020, 11:32 AM
Hard to disagree with any of it. I'd like to see that article fleshed out a bit and then shared far and wide to help people to see what's happening right now. Eg it could include some specific references to things like the excessive use of Statutory Instruments and the challenges on Judicial Review that are helping to bring us to a state of government by decree. All the checks and balances that preserve our democracy are being gradually and invisibly (to most people) eroded.
14-09-2020, 12:37 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200914/7c9bba52d169e044ad5c1a799fcb5e73.jpg
Johnson finding out that whatever he delivers will never be enough for the right wing.
14-09-2020, 03:46 PM
Douglas Ross has confirmed he’ll vote to undermine devolution tonight by voting for the internal market bill.
Rocky
14-09-2020, 03:55 PM
Interesting (i.e. terrifying) thread from David Allen Green on Twitter:
Just reading around the 1933 Enabling Act for no particular reason
Some general observations follow
When we think of 'Enabling Act' and Germany, we think of the 1933 one
But in fact it was one of several in Germany after 1919 - ten or so had been made in Weimar Germany
All for very good reasons, of course
Hitler's Enabling Act was different in scale, not in principle
The 1933 Enabling Act was also expressly time-bound
It was to last only for a definite period of four years
Of course, it was just then renewed (and renewed)
The 1933 Enabling Act also expressly stated that it would not affect the rights of the legislature or the president
Deviations from the constitution would thereby be limited
Safeguards were in place
And it was not about secret law-making
Laws were still to be published - they would just take effect the day after publication
Again, another safeguard
So: not a constitutional novelty, limited in duration, limited in its scope, respectful of the rights of the legislature, transparent
Nothing to worry about
(!)
We now know different, yet it is striking how, well, plausible parts of the Act could have seemed through 1933 eyes
And that is the thing about 'enabling' legislation - they always seems plausible
Always some good excuse to depart from tiresome checks and balances
East to nod-along to
The point here perhaps is not to say all 'enabling' legislation is like 1933 Enabling Act
Of course not, that would be a sort of legalist Godwin's law thing
The point is more subtle
For some at the time, the 1933 Enabling Act did not seem too radical or disproportionate either
*easy
Actually, I think the reason I read around the 1933 Enabling Act was because it is something 'everyone knows' as part of their general stock of knowledge
And looking at such a thing afresh is always worthwhile
It was striking how plausible it must have seen to many in 1933
14-09-2020, 04:14 PM
Ed Milliband is tearing Boris to shreds in the debate on this Bill.
Rocky
14-09-2020, 04:34 PM
Ed Milliband is tearing Boris to shreds in the debate on this Bill.
If only he'd been able to eat a bacon sandwich properly, where could we be now.
Rocky
14-09-2020, 04:50 PM
I don't understand how Ian Blackford can stop himself from going full Begbie against this shower.
14-09-2020, 04:51 PM
Dan Bloom@danbloom1
In fairness to David Cameron, we have now finally got chaos, with Ed Miliband.
I see the Queen more in the role of Paul von Hindenburg here, I’m afraid.
Do not expect anything from the monarchy. Their aim is only to survive as close to intact as possible.
14-09-2020, 07:00 PM
I see the Queen more in the role of Paul von Hindenburg here, I’m afraid.
Do not expect anything from the monarchy. Their aim is only to survive as close to intact as possible.
Wouldnt he just duplicate the Matty Jack role?
(I’m only slipping in this pathetic excuse for humour because I know very little about Von H :greengrin )
14-09-2020, 07:08 PM
Douglas Ross has confirmed he’ll vote to undermine devolution tonight by voting for the internal market bill.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkShocked
Still don't understand how anyone in Scotland can vote for this lot
14-09-2020, 07:26 PM
Just thinking, is this 'Oven Ready greatest deal etc etc' that the Tories crowed about during the election campaign...... which is now suddenly crap...
.... is it not the same one that caused all the angst at the time because the Tories removed the opportunity to allow it to be scrutinised by the house?
14-09-2020, 07:30 PM
Just thinking, is this 'Oven Ready greatest deal etc etc' that the Tories crowed about during the election campaign...... which is now suddenly crap...
.... is it not the same one that caused all the angst at the time because the Tories removed the opportunity to allow it to be scrutinised by the house?
Sent from my SM-G935F using TapatalkOne in the same
14-09-2020, 07:34 PM
(I’m only slipping in this pathetic excuse for humour because I know very little about Von H :greengrin )
Paul Von Hindenburg was a tall man with a stoop and a lazy eye. He abhorred moustaches and combed his hair to the left, despite being right-handed on most days of the month.
PVH served an apprenticeship as a joiner before changing course and pursuing an SVQ in army general/presidency - to the disappointment of his father but the taciturn pride of his mother.
He spoke 17 languages including a rare Sumatran dialect that hadn't been discovered at the time he learned it.
In later years he was a regular on Radio 4 comedy shows. He had a life-long friendship with Danny De Vito.
All the rest, you will find on Wikipedia
14-09-2020, 07:37 PM
Sent from my SM-G935F using Tapatalkhttps://twitter.com/Ed_Miliband/status/1305552766019006469?s=19
Shocked
Still don't understand how anyone in Scotland can vote for this lot
Sent from my VOG-L29 using TapatalkThere was a Tory voter on here had a wee Boris badge as an avatar at one point. Dont know if it was an attempted wind-up or not. Of course it's a democracy and everyone is entitled to give their vote to whoever they wish. Saying that we've seen Johnson in action for the 15 years or so.
He was well suited to his previous job, sending warped copy back to newspapers from Brussels. He could lie all he wanted and be as unprepared as his editors wished as he was privately employed.
That job isn't the same as this one. Anyone actually thought he'd be a competent PM, do the work required and consume the detail required for debate is a mug. He's useless and always was.
14-09-2020, 08:33 PM
Bit of a balloon from what I’ve heard. :wink:
14-09-2020, 08:48 PM
Bit of a balloon from what I’ve heard. :wink:
That really doesn’t help :grr:
Was he a CDM in the Makelele sense or more of a Pirlo quarterback?
Theres something we’re not being told here...
Theres something we’re not being told here...He was a Poundland Bismarck.
14-09-2020, 09:02 PM
(I’m only slipping in this pathetic excuse for humour because I know very little about Von H :greengrin )Didn't they name a balloon after him?
14-09-2020, 09:08 PM
Theres something we’re not being told here...
He was the Supreme Commander of the Central Powers. Sounds a bit Yaya Touré :dunno:
14-09-2020, 09:18 PM
He was the Supreme Commander of the Central Powers. Sounds a bit Yaya Touré :dunno:
Yes, I had eventually twigged:greengrin It’s been a long time since my history GCSE you know
14-09-2020, 09:34 PM
Didn't they name a balloon after him?
Yep.
Zibby's middle name was Paul.
15-09-2020, 03:58 PM
Ex MP Charlie Elphicke jailed for two years for sexually assaulting two women.
HibernianJK
15-09-2020, 09:45 PM
Ex MP Charlie Elphicke jailed for two years for sexually assaulting two women.
Looking forward to the Kirsty Wark documentary on this.
16-09-2020, 12:47 PM
Boris has just responded to Angel Rayner on testing; “we have delivered on the most thoroughgoing testing regime anywhere in Europe”.
Fantastic :doh:
16-09-2020, 02:44 PM
Boris has just responded to Angel Rayner on testing; “we have delivered on the most thoroughgoing testing regime anywhere in Europe”.
When Rayner was carping about Covid rules for grouse shoots, I half expected Johnson to start wittering that shooting them was for the birds' own good.
16-09-2020, 03:59 PM
When Rayner was carping about Covid rules for grouse shoots, I half expected Johnson to start wittering that shooting them was for the birds' own good.
It's all to do with breeding. :wink:
16-09-2020, 04:40 PM
His vocabulary must have around a 1 in 10 ratio of words which a Google search would describe as "archaic".
16-09-2020, 06:05 PM
His vocabulary must have around a 1 in 10 ratio of words which a Google search would describe as "archaic".
...words like this also have the benefit of being non specific and unquantifiable. It’s like saying the UKs test and trace system is world beating...or Zlamal is a ‘world leading’ keeper.
16-09-2020, 10:11 PM
Lord keen has resigned over brexit bill
wonder who PM cummings will replace him with
16-09-2020, 10:37 PM
One that agrees with them both , and they can control, that’s for sure..
16-09-2020, 10:43 PM
I normally like it when people resign under such circumstances, but it seems that these days they only ever manage to get some sort of horrifically corrupt yes man which is even worse than the sort of Tory who eventually remember that deep down certain principles such as the rule of law should actually mean something.
17-09-2020, 06:00 AM
I normally like it when people resign under such circumstances, but it seems that these days they only ever manage to get some sort of horrifically corrupt yes man which is even worse than the sort of Tory who eventually remember that deep down certain principles such as the rule of law should actually mean something.
Whoever they appoint now has to be OK with them breaking the law from day one.
17-09-2020, 06:06 AM
When a convicted criminal resigns over concerns what you're doing isn't legal, you should really stop and think. :wink:
17-09-2020, 06:24 AM
When a convicted criminal resigns over concerns what you're doing isn't legal, you should really stop and think. :wink:
His resignation would have been impressive if it had happened as soon as he understood Cummings's position on breaking international law. The fact that he spent a couple of days trying to think up ways to justify that position, before eventually abandoning the attempt, not very impressive.
17-09-2020, 06:36 AM
His resignation would have been impressive if it had happened as soon as he understood Cummings's position on breaking international law. The fact that he spent a couple of days trying to think up ways to justify that position, before eventually abandoning the attempt, not very impressive.
Agreed. It's been reported as if he resigned because he thinks the proposed IM bill would be illegal, which would be quite principled, but that's not actually the reason for his resignation - almost the opposite in fact.
17-09-2020, 08:26 AM
https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/uk-politics-54185180?__twitter_impression=true
This is the state that unionist think Scotland should remain part of.
17-09-2020, 11:51 AM
https://www.bbc.com/news/amp/uk-politics-54185180?__twitter_impression=true
This is the state that unionist think Scotland should remain part of.
I see this has been announced (with the promise that he won't stray into matters he's not allowed to advise on) on the same day as Tory MP David Morris has been ordered to apologise to the Commons for breaching the standards on parliamentary advocacy. I'm sure the £10,000 donation he received for doing so will make that apology pretty easy to stomach.
This stuff will continue for as long as the regulation and enforcement remains poor and the regulation and enforcement will remain poor for as long as the people making the rules have a vested interest in allowing it to be.
17-09-2020, 11:55 AM
I see this has been announced (with the promise that he won't stray into matters he's not allowed to advise on) on the same day as Tory MP David Morris has been ordered to apologise to the Commons for breaching the standards on parliamentary advocacy. I'm sure the £10,000 donation he received for doing so will make that apology pretty easy to stomach.
This stuff will continue for as long as the regulation and enforcement remains poor and the regulation and enforcement will remain poor for as long as the people making the rules have a vested interest in allowing it to be.
Incredible corrupt behaviour.
17-09-2020, 11:55 AM
Feels wrong that first role doesn't it...The only reasons companies pay for this type of advisory role is if they feel they will help them grow ..impossible to think they won't use his parliamentary leverage and network in the UK business..
18-09-2020, 07:18 AM
Feels wrong that first role doesn't it...The only reasons companies pay for this type of advisory role is if they feel they will help them grow ..impossible to think they won't use his parliamentary leverage and network in the UK business..
£100k a year for a 7 hour week? I can't think of anything that could scream corruption more.
There should be a ban on any paid employment for MPs.
18-09-2020, 08:14 PM
another one leaves...
Amal clooney has said she is resigning as the UK's special envoy on media freedom over the government's "lamentable" suggestion it could violate international law over the brexit withdrawal agreement.
source..evening standard
Very good piece
https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/life/weekend/boris-johnsons-busy-love-life-how-his-messy-romances-have-shaped-the-pm-39206708.html
I particularly note this bit
as he moved into his political career. Against the odds — he had only been nominated, a party source said, “to liven things up at the hustings” — he became the Conservative MP for Henley in 2001 and by 2004 had progressed to the party’s front bench.
Moral: as with Corbyn, do not nominate, or vote, for anyone unless you are prepared to have them win.
However, this made me laugh:
Carrie works for the ‘Save The Oceans, Feed The World initiative’, while Boris’s contribution to reducing plastic use is said to be avoiding using condoms.
19-09-2020, 10:37 AM
Farage comes clean. (https://twitter.com/mikegove12/status/1306904285343617025)
19-09-2020, 12:56 PM
Shamelessly stolen from Matt Haig on twitter
Said it before but people go on too much about the privileged background of politicians. For instance, Matt Hancock had a very humble upbringing in an Italian workshop owned by a woodworker named Geppetto who turned him into a human boy.
Rocky
19-09-2020, 01:03 PM
This is concerning:
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-54216511
Could it be that Raab's stupidity is infectious? If so, what's the R number? And are we seeing exponential growth?
20-09-2020, 05:28 PM
More corruption imminent.
https://twitter.com/JolyonMaugham/status/1307581926899953664
21-09-2020, 06:55 AM
https://www.repubblica.it/esteri/2020/09/20/news/the_mystery_of_boris_johnson_s_trip_to_perugia_-267989244/
Johnson’s secret trip to Perugia last weekend.
21-09-2020, 07:13 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200921/fa4dc5d36a19b5e36a8605052b667ec1.jpg
21-09-2020, 07:18 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20200921/6e65f012781023ad109bbecb4ab80fef.jpg
And a pretty forceful denial. Wonder who is going to be right here?
https://www.repubblica.it/esteri/2020/09/20/news/the_mystery_of_boris_johnson_s_trip_to_perugia_-267989244/
Johnson’s secret trip to Perugia last weekend.
Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkBungaBunga.
21-09-2020, 07:38 AM
What would it matter if he was in perugia?
21-09-2020, 07:50 AM
What would it matter if he was in perugia?
For starters he needs to quarantine for 14 days. Not that it will make any difference because he is never seen anyway.
21-09-2020, 07:54 AM
"Travelled there to baptise his son" :faf:
21-09-2020, 07:55 AM
There’s a few twists here..No 10 now claiming he “was baptising his son at Westminster Cathedral. A priest can confirm this” on the weekend in question .
1. Why would Italy have a note of him arriving if it wasn’t true ?
2. Boris was originally catholic, converted to CoE in the 80s, seems to now be Catholic again
Can’t believe that of a man who is so steadfast in his convictions [emoji2]
21-09-2020, 07:57 AM
2. Boris was originally catholic, converted to CoE in the 80s, seems to now be Catholic again
Wouldn't that rule him out of becoming King? :confused:
21-09-2020, 07:58 AM
Only if he was the type of person who followed rules.
21-09-2020, 08:01 AM
Your post reminded me how backward the rules are around monarchy ( I’m not a fan anyway) stuck in medievalist beliefs
21-09-2020, 08:06 AM
Your post reminded me how backward the rules are around monarchy ( I’m not a fan anyway) stuck in medievalist beliefs
Being Catholic stops you becoming PM as well.
21-09-2020, 08:18 AM
Going to any school other than about less than a handful essentially stops you working your way up the greasy pole to become PM anyway.
21-09-2020, 08:24 AM
Going to any school other than about less than a handful essentially stops you working your way up the greasy pole to become PM anyway.
Kirkcaldy High - full of toffs! :agree:
Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk...and you have to go to the back of the queue when entering Privy Council meetings. Protestants first.
21-09-2020, 08:31 AM
Kirkcaldy High - full of toffs! :agree:
He failed that most critical of tests though, which is managing to be elected by England.
21-09-2020, 08:33 AM
Surely not ? Still in these times ??
21-09-2020, 08:36 AM
Surely not ? Still in these times ??
It’s not true any more.
21-09-2020, 08:39 AM
It’s not true any more.
Phew..nowadays you just have to be a ****! [emoji2]
21-09-2020, 08:39 AM
It’s not true any more.
Tony Blair. Did he not become Catholic while PM?
21-09-2020, 08:41 AM
No, he became Catholic the week after he stood down. Just a coincidence.[emoji849]
21-09-2020, 08:41 AM
According to the article he was in Perugia as well. Bloody Illuminati meetings
21-09-2020, 08:42 AM
I think it was after. There is nothing stopping a Catholic becoming PM though. So good news for Jacob Rees-Mogg :greengrin
21-09-2020, 09:09 AM
I think it was after. There is nothing stopping a Catholic becoming PM though. So good news for Jacob Rees-Mogg :greengrin
You say that but it never actually happens. Tony Blair put of converting to Catholicism until after he left office even though the rest of his family were Catholic. Johnson was a Catholic but converted to Anglicism and yet appears to be bringing up his kid Catholic?
21-09-2020, 09:18 AM
You say that but it never actually happens. Tony Blair put of converting to Catholicism until after he left office even though the rest of his family were Catholic. Johnson was a Catholic but converted to Anglicism and yet appears to be bringing up his kid Catholic?
I say that because it's a fact. There is nothing legally stopping a Catholic from becoming PM.
21-09-2020, 09:52 AM
I say that because it's a fact. There is nothing legally stopping a Catholic from becoming PM.
Only gunpowder can stop a Catholic becoming PM😉
21-09-2020, 11:27 AM
There's nothing stopping Hibs winning the Champions League next season.
21-09-2020, 11:34 AM
There's nothing stopping Hibs winning the Champions League next season.
A few years ago I would have said Boris Johnson had as much chance of becoming PM as we had of winning the champions league. Or Trump had of becoming President. Munich in May 2022, here we come . :greengrin
21-09-2020, 11:36 AM
Tony Blair. Did he not become Catholic while PM?He waited till after he stood down
Sent from my SM-G977B using Tapatalk
21-09-2020, 11:50 AM
https://twitter.com/davidschneider/status/1307953990827728896?s=21
21-09-2020, 12:11 PM
https://twitter.com/davidschneider/status/1307953990827728896?s=21
Looks about right. :greengrin
21-09-2020, 12:23 PM
I believe it is now possible for a Catholic to be PM.
The issue surrounds advising on matters relating to the Church of England and a potential conflict of interest. My understanding is a Catholic PM would see the Lord Chancellor act on his behalf on such issues. It's largely a procedural issue rather than a societal one albeit that wasn't always the case.
Disraeli and Thatcher both converted from Judaism and Methodism respectively some time before taking office as it appears has Johnson from Catholicism. It wasn't an issue for Brown and the Presbyterian Church of Scotland is protected in various acts of law.
21-09-2020, 12:38 PM
I believe it is now possible for a Catholic to be PM.
The issue surrounds advising on matters relating to the Church of England and a potential conflict of interest. My understanding is a Catholic PM would see the Lord Chancellor act on his behalf on such issues. It's largely a procedural issue rather than a societal one albeit that wasn't always the case.
Disraeli and Thatcher both converted from Judaism and Methodism respectively some time before taking office as it appears has Johnson from Catholicism. It wasn't an issue for Brown and the Presbyterian Church of Scotland is protected in various acts of law.
The PM no longer advises the monarch on Church of England matters, he just delivers the decisions taken elsewhere.. I think it was Brown who introduced that.
21-09-2020, 06:19 PM
It seems that Johnson only converted so someone would alibi him when he wants to attend parties in Perugia. :greengrin
22-09-2020, 03:23 PM
Is there not an archaic law banning that?
22-09-2020, 03:28 PM
For starters he needs to quarantine for 14 days. Not that it will make any difference because he is never seen anyway.
Italy isnt on quarantine list
22-09-2020, 03:41 PM
Nope.
22-09-2020, 03:42 PM
Nope.
Ok thought there was.
22-09-2020, 06:31 PM
A Catholic can't be King or Queen - that's probably bad enough.
22-09-2020, 06:34 PM
A Catholic can't be King or Queen - that's probably bad enough.
I’d eliminate the discrimination there by introducing legislation making everybody ineligible to be King or Queen.
22-09-2020, 06:52 PM
I’d eliminate the discrimination there by introducing legislation making everybody ineligible to be King or Queen.
Wow, that's the first time I've ever agreed with you on anything.
I need to go for a wee lie down.
ACLeith
22-09-2020, 08:45 PM
👍👍👍👍👍
22-09-2020, 08:51 PM
i thought you were going to say ‘ineligible to be catholic’ there.
:offski:
22-09-2020, 10:03 PM
I concur.
23-09-2020, 11:17 AM
Johnson not lying today at PMQs. He didn't understand the first few questions Starmer asked him, so just waffled back on a totally unrelated subject. He seemed delighted to have got the better of Starmer. :bitchy:
Johnson not lying today at PMQs. He didn't understand the first few questions Starmer asked him, so just waffled back on a totally unrelated subject. He seemed delighted to have got the better of Starmer. :bitchy:He is literally (in the proper sense of the word) an actual Muppet.
23-09-2020, 11:44 AM
Johnson not lying today at PMQs. He didn't understand the first few questions Starmer asked him, so just waffled back on a totally unrelated subject. He seemed delighted to have got the better of Starmer. :bitchy:
My favourite bit was Boris answering a question from a particularly hard looking DUP MP with a tache, think his names Sammy Wilson. The camera kept panning to Wilson, who was just staring at Boris (who was asking 'the right honourable members party to support the bill'), with that 'im going to see you outside and rip off your head' expression. The DUP must be confused; it must be like living with an abusive partner who you hate but you just cant leave.
24-09-2020, 07:24 AM
Hancock was asked how many of the population need to download the app for it to be effective. His answer was there is no number the more the better.
Go out and buy an up to date phone.
Half an hour later Leitch is on and states 15% minimum for it to start being effective.
Hancock really is a stuttering stammering halfwit.
24-09-2020, 07:28 AM
Hancock was asked how many of the population need to download the app for it to be effective. His answer was there is no number the more the better.
Go out and buy an up to date phone.
Half an hour later Leitch is on and states 15% minimum for it to start being effective.
Hancock really is a stuttering stammering halfwit.
Positioning himself for continuity PM.
24-09-2020, 10:35 AM
Positioning himself for continuity PM.He'll never be able to trace where he is.
24-09-2020, 08:23 PM
He'll never be able to trace where he is.
Arse or elbow he won't know the difference.
28-09-2020, 01:01 PM
A brilliant, if somewhat scary, read on what Dom is up to and why it's most likely doomed to fail.
https://blogs.lse.ac.uk/politicsandpolicy/gove-ditchley-lecture/
03-10-2020, 03:05 PM
Breaking News:
The Tory Party virtual conference has crashed.
Mirroring the Tory Government and the whole of the UK...
https://t.co/Hjhbs4Gqqs