View Full Version : Tories are lying *******s (warning may contain traces of Tory)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

28-08-2019, 04:32 PM
Sky news now onboard.

Someone remove all sharp objects from James' kitchen.

28-08-2019, 05:04 PM
I don't like her, her party, her policies or her stance on independence. But well done her. Principles are in pretty short supply in politics at the moment. Maybe she will join the independence cause now she has seen Westminster in all its glory!!

28-08-2019, 05:08 PM
I don't like her, her party, her policies or her stance on independence. But well done her. Principles are in pretty short supply in politics at the moment. Maybe she will join the independence cause now she has seen Westminster in all its glory!!

It is a rare bit of principle, to be fair.

Wouldn't hold your breath for the conversion though, I expect we'll see her back in a few years, maybe leading whatever the iScotland Tory party gets called. :wink:

28-08-2019, 05:11 PM
It is a rare bit of principle, to be fair.

Wouldn't hold your breath for the conversion though, I expect we'll see her back in a few years, maybe leading whatever the iScotland Tory party gets called. :wink:
I would wholeheartedly welcome her as leader of the conservative party in an Independent Scotland 😀. It will happen and hopefully very very soon

CloudSquall
28-08-2019, 05:11 PM
The cynic in me says she knew she would finally have to answer some tough questions from the media and has jacked it in before having to face the music.

28-08-2019, 05:21 PM
I fully expect another u-turn.

xyz23jc
28-08-2019, 06:27 PM
The cynic in me says she knew she would finally have to answer some tough questions from the media and has jacked it in before having to face the music.

Bang on the money amigo! :top marks

I hope, nay, pray you are right and she does s******* out of it, loathsome Human Being! In the words of the old Rudimentary Peni song.... Rotten to The Core! :greengrin

28-08-2019, 06:53 PM
BBC reporting her resignation is more to do with family.

Few political morals required, if any.

xyz23jc
28-08-2019, 06:58 PM

Another Crass related analogy….Bulls*** Detector.....! :greengrin:thumbsup:

28-08-2019, 07:27 PM

Lesley Riddoch saying depression, not Boris or Brexit related.

Maybe a warning for people (not aimed at you) to be considerate in their posts

28-08-2019, 07:41 PM
Antoinette Sandbach‏Verified account @Sandbach (https://twitter.com/Sandbach)FollowFollow
@Sandbach

More

Just a quick reminder of what Boris Johnson said to Conservative 1 Nation MPs when he was seeking their support #Prorogation (https://twitter.com/hashtag/Prorogation?src=hash)

https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EDEgHXOXYAAOUow.jpg

Right? Probably. Honourable?...

Slimy. Lying.Toad :sick:

28-08-2019, 09:13 PM
I think she's playing a calculated game, she knows it's all about to go tits up and is getting out of dodge as she has her sights on leading the whole party at some point

28-08-2019, 10:06 PM
I think she's playing a calculated game, she knows it's all about to go tits up and is getting out of dodge as she has her sights on leading the whole party at some point

Wrong school, wrong university, wrong clubs. No chance.

28-08-2019, 11:03 PM
Ruth apparently staying on as a msp....

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

29-08-2019, 06:40 AM
Ruth apparently staying on as a msp....

Got to keep the cash rolling in. She's got a family to feed.... etc

29-08-2019, 07:09 AM
Wrong school, wrong university, wrong clubs. No chance.

Unless ive misread her she has no intention of leading them. Many of her colleagues want her to as she is one of the few politicians who isnt marmite. Ill ask her the next time i meet her walking her dog wilson.She let slip over a year ago how much she disliked johnson and his cronies so no surprise her having enough. Same as kezia dugdale at labour she was not being consulted. She is one of the few reasonable tories. Yes im sure there is a calculation in there,which politician doesnt think like that,but she is obviously disgusted with the way her party is going. Cosby and cummings are pulling the strings,johnson is just the puppet.

29-08-2019, 07:15 AM
Lesley Riddoch saying depression, not Boris or Brexit related.

Maybe a warning for people (not aimed at you) to be considerate in their posts

Indeed. She has had issues but im not so sure its that this time. More shes had enough of the party machine. Quite normal for a tory actually.

29-08-2019, 07:53 AM
Indeed. She has had issues but im not so sure its that this time. More shes had enough of the party machine. Quite normal for a tory actually.

It's no wonder she's had enough. Just like Keiza Dugdale, she was fed up of being treated like a branch, simply there to take orders and preach the english narrative to Scotland.

Yet, despite this. She'll continue to "believe in the union".

29-08-2019, 08:11 AM
How ironic that this came from Ruth Davidson just a few days earlier. :hilarious

https://www.pieandbovril.com/forum/uploads/monthly_2019_08/IMG_20190829_090536.jpeg.26ae51bdacbebc66aa3e5a6e5 b0dd8bb.jpeg

29-08-2019, 08:13 AM
Hills?!
George Galloway is going with Corbyn to the mountains.

You can guarantee it will be to hide until it’s all over!

29-08-2019, 08:44 AM
I find it horrific that we now have no decent level of debate and the tories have been reduced to being controlled by right eing zealots just like in the USA. Cummings has calculated that by appealing to his xenophobic base they will get a majority. I think hes got it wrong and if you read the times and telegraph they are distinctly uneasy at the turn of events. Only the ultra right sun and mail are on message. I hope for once white van man shows themselves as true patriots and tells johnson where to go. The opposition must get their act together. Id love to see ruth davidson if not leave the tories then lead the conservatives in getting independence. Ive a feeling shes wants too. Why she can even possibly become first minister. I dont care as long as we are free of the london wing of the ss.

Cataplana
29-08-2019, 09:30 AM
Unless ive misread her she has no intention of leading them. Many of her colleagues want her to as she is one of the few politicians who isnt marmite. Ill ask her the next time i meet her walking her dog wilson.She let slip over a year ago how much she disliked johnson and his cronies so no surprise her having enough. Same as kezia dugdale at labour she was not being consulted. She is one of the few reasonable tories. Yes im sure there is a calculation in there,which politician doesnt think like that,but she is obviously disgusted with the way her party is going. Cosby and cummings are pulling the strings,johnson is just the puppet.

I think there was a good reason that Kez was kept out of the loop. Firstly, she helped put the Tories back in power; secondly, she was anti Corbyn; and third, she is thick as *****.

29-08-2019, 09:41 AM
Someone just called Boris "a bit of a dick" on Sky News. :not worth

29-08-2019, 09:45 AM
Someone just called Boris "a bit of a dick" on Sky News. :not worth

Without having seen the clip I assume Ruth Davidson has emerged from hiding?

James310
29-08-2019, 09:48 AM
https://twitter.com/RuthDavidsonMSP/status/1167010124667527168?s=19

Curried
29-08-2019, 10:06 AM
https://twitter.com/RuthDavidsonMSP/status/1167010124667527168?s=19

Good riddance to a horrible human being......don't let the door hit your arse on the way out.

29-08-2019, 10:06 AM
Like her or loathe her you have to appreciate how she helped drag the tories up in Scotland - big loss for them

29-08-2019, 10:08 AM
Good riddance to a horrible human being......don't let the door hit your arse on the way out.

It's a pity for her career in the media that Celebrity Big Brother is no more but I'm A Celebrity Get Me Out Of Here is still on the go. She can get on telly without having to go through all that tricky politics/hypocrisy stuff.

29-08-2019, 10:10 AM
Like her or loathe her you have to appreciate how she helped drag the tories up in Scotland - big loss for them

Anything that's bad for the Tories is alright by me. :aok:

29-08-2019, 10:13 AM
"A credible threat from our opponents to force a general election"

She's talking about Johnson, right? :wink::greengrin

Curried
29-08-2019, 10:18 AM
"Thank you for all your work Ruth. We as a party wouldn’t be where we are today without you." :greengrin

29-08-2019, 10:26 AM

Sorry to see her go and she's a big loss to the Tories. She brought a down to earth likeability with her and persuaded a lot of folk, including myself, to vote Conservative for the first time in the 2016 Scottish parliamentary elections. Hope to see her back at the forefront of politics one day.

29-08-2019, 10:29 AM

Charming.

29-08-2019, 10:30 AM

She helped. However the polarized nature of IndyRef and Brexit pushed more towards the tory party imho - that and being able to spend lots of "mystery" money donated to the Scottish Tory party.

29-08-2019, 10:31 AM
Sorry to see her go and she's a big loss to the Tories. She brought a down to earth likeability with her and persuaded a lot of folk, including myself, to vote Conservative for the first time in the 2016 Scottish parliamentary elections. Hope to see her back at the forefront of politics one day.

That's understandable. She was just SO convincing.

She'll be forever remembered. :agree:

As u-turn Ruth.

29-08-2019, 10:32 AM
Another tory that heads for the hills when the going gets tough. They're all the same, theirs about 5 cabinet members who can't be bothered answering questions on the current debacle at Westminster, and the prorouging of parliament, after saying it would be an outrage. Only 3 days ago, Rooth the mooth was spouting about the FM heading for the hills, when she was actually on the march in Shetland.

Bring on the next bozo.

29-08-2019, 10:37 AM

Which policies did you like, to make you vote for the Tories?

29-08-2019, 10:39 AM
Another tory that heads for the hills when the going gets tough. They're all the same, theirs about 5 cabinet members who can't be bothered answering questions on the current debacle at Westminster, and the prorouging of parliament, after saying it would be an outrage. Only 3 days ago, Rooth the mooth was spouting about the FM heading for the hills, when she was actually on the march in Shetland.

Bring on the next bozo.

29-08-2019, 10:40 AM

James310 offers a different viewpoint but I don’t think you need to be that harsh on him.[emoji6]

29-08-2019, 10:41 AM
Better Together 2 is getting harder to staff everyday.

Curried
29-08-2019, 10:47 AM
I have to say I’m fair looking forward to Murdo leading the line during FMQ’s for the last days of the Union.

James310
29-08-2019, 10:50 AM
Such hate, if it's not calling non SNP supporters degenerates it's calling someone who has quit their job to focus on their family a horrible human being.

I wonder how many people this helps persuade to switch from No to Yes (not talking about me, but in general). I can't imagine that the hate makes people want to switch, unless you are attracted to that type of thing.

29-08-2019, 10:58 AM
Such hate.

Which parts of which posts are you choosing to interprete as hate?

29-08-2019, 11:03 AM
Such hate, if it's not calling non SNP supporters degenerates it's calling someone who has quit their job to focus on their family a horrible human being.

Aye, of course that's the reason. :yawn:

29-08-2019, 11:05 AM
Aye, of course that's the reason. :yawn:

now now, stop showing "hate"

29-08-2019, 11:06 AM

She's quit one of her jobs, but has held onto the better paying one. Doesn't change what sort of person she is does it? (be it horrible, nice, annoying - whatever)

I wonder how many people this helps persuade to switch from No to Yes (not talking about me, but in general). I can't imagine that the hate makes people want to switch, unless you are attracted to that type of thing.

Hate is a strong word and even stronger emotion if real. There are people that I think are horrible but I wouldn't say I hated them.

However, I do hate what BoJo & his inbred chums are trying to do to my country and it's citizens.

29-08-2019, 11:06 AM
Thinking about it, although RD undoubtedly helped revive all but dead Tory fortunes by making them the anti-Indy party, I'm not so sure that will be to the long term benefit of the Union. To sustain it beyond a few more years, they need to (re)build something that a clear majority can get behind, hearts as well as minds.

By making the equation that Unionist = Tory more explicit, I think she's strengthened Toryism but weakened Unionism.

Hope so anyway. :wink:

James310
29-08-2019, 11:12 AM
Which parts of which posts are you choosing to interprete as hate?

Horrible human being and degenerates are not exactly civic and joyous language.

It more the point around what does it actually achieve, other than probably more hate.

I am obviously no fan of Nicola Sturgeon, but I would never call her a horrible human being or a degenerate.

29-08-2019, 11:13 AM

It more the point around what does it actually achieve, other than probably more hate.

I am obviously no fan of Nicola Sturgeon, but I would never call her a horrible human being or a degenerate.

Before chucking any stones, you should check out the abuse she gets on social media from other pro-unionists.

Curried
29-08-2019, 11:15 AM
One less anti-Scottish politician, who pushed austerity on the poor and disabled in our society….Oh aye, and the rape clause!

29-08-2019, 11:20 AM
One less anti-Scottish politician, who pushed austerity on the poor and disabled in our society….Oh aye, and the rape clause!

A perfect summary of her achievements as the Scottish Tory leader.

29-08-2019, 11:22 AM

What do you want people to say - "Bye, Ruth - I'll miss those photos of you sitting on a coo/tank/homeless persons back"?

I guess we all have different moral compasses and express them differently. I don't hate the Ruth Davidson, she's far too inconsequential - a wee self promoter in a little bit part of the history of the Tory party. I do hate the Tory party but that's abstract and has nothing to do with her at all.

On the other hand - Why did she hate all the people who have suffered under austerity?

29-08-2019, 11:25 AM
Which policies did you like, to make you vote for the Tories?

Primary reason was her commitment to standing up for the majority who voted against independence and who were bored of the ceaseless whinging from the losing side in 2014. Does that count as a policy? In as much as the SNP's raison d'etre is to achieve independence and that they've ensured the issue has consumed Scottish politics for years then I'd suggest it certainly does. She also did a very good job in making good on that pledge by establishing the Scottish Tories as the main party of opposition - unthinkable prior to her becoming leader.

As a party of opposition, implementing policy is clearly a big ask but I also thought she was strong on holding the SNP to account on education, health and controversial issues like the establishment of Police Scotland and the named persons scheme.

Personality was a big factor for many in Ruth Davidson's success. She came across as a likeable, decent human being who did not conform to any Tory stereotype - which was why the SNP found her a challenging opponent and voters were attracted to her.

Feel free to pick all this apart but the bottom line is we're all free to vote the way we choose.

I would add that Nicola Sturgeon's tweet about Davidson's decision shows a respect and maturity others could learn from.

29-08-2019, 11:33 AM

and some Scots voted for them, unthinkable

Mr Grieves
29-08-2019, 11:34 AM

Do you follow people on twitter that are abusive towards Nicola Sturgeon?

CloudSquall
29-08-2019, 11:39 AM
I think the below from James Maxwell sums Davidson's success up pretty well,https://pbs.twimg.com/media/EDH2sNXXUAEBZBK?format=png&name=small

I've never understood how people bought into the "ha, what's she like?!" media coverage of her, did anyone who bought into it ever question what her thoughts were on the more hardline policies of the wider UK party? Did they never question her silence over the Tory policies implemented?

The irony is she said the SNP were obsessed with independence but her entire appeal was built on the staunch "no surrender" follow follow anti-independence message that her new found middle class previously Alistair Darling voter types were happy to turn a blind eye to in order to try to stick it to the SNP.

29-08-2019, 11:40 AM
Primary reason was her commitment to standing up for the majority who voted against independence and who were bored of the ceaseless whinging from the losing side in 2014. Does that count as a policy? In as much as the SNP's raison d'etre is to achieve independence and that they've ensured the issue has consumed Scottish politics for years then I'd suggest it certainly does. She also did a very good job in making good on that pledge by establishing the Scottish Tories as the main party of opposition - unthinkable prior to her becoming leader.

As a party of opposition, implementing policy is clearly a big ask but I also thought she was strong on holding the SNP to account on education, health and controversial issues like the establishment of Police Scotland and the named persons scheme.

Personality was a big factor for many in Ruth Davidson's success. She came across as a likeable, decent human being who did not conform to any Tory stereotype - which was why the SNP found her a challenging opponent and voters were attracted to her.

Feel free to pick all this apart but the bottom line is we're all free to vote the way we choose.

I would add that Nicola Sturgeon's tweet about Davidson's decision shows a respect and maturity others could learn from.

That's a fair response, and one that I expected to be honest. Your primary reason was, "standing up for the majority who voted against independence", and that's fair enough, and you might call it a policy.

Nothing much else with regards to policies though, but each to their own.

As for her personality, being a big factor. I'm sure that anyone given the free ride, whether on a bull, or a tank that she has over the last 8 years, would be able to pull the wool over some people's eyes.

Her constant flip flopping on many subjects, and there were many, had the warning klaxon going off very early in her career, but the press gave her an easy ride imo.

29-08-2019, 11:42 AM

I always felt that in spite of being poles apart politically there was a decent level of mutual respect between the two.

Politics is always better for mutual respect and when a strong opposition holds government to account.

It's in stark contrast to the omnishambles we are currently witnessing down South.

29-08-2019, 11:43 AM

On your first point, the Tories have been every bit as guilty as the SNP in keeping the constitution front and centre of everything they do. They have seized on it as a way to make themselves relevant and squeezed every last drop out of it to the point where they are complaining even more ceaselessly about the ceaseless complaining.

Your second point is sort of fair, but they are supposed to be putting themselves forward for election to be the government, not the opposition! Some of the things they complain about have been in their own manifestos in the past, eg. police centralisation.

Agree on the personality thing. I think RD is pretty false but it works for lots of folk so wtfdik?

Agree about NS.

There you are, picked apart. :wink:

James310
29-08-2019, 11:45 AM
Before chucking any stones, you should check out the abuse she gets on social media from other pro-unionists.

We always say there are bad apples on both sides, but there only seems to be one set of bad apples on this site. Have you ever seen anyone call a SNP supporter or politician a horrible human being or a degenerate on here? If you have I must have missed it.

I just question what it achieves, other than more hate.

Mr Grieves
29-08-2019, 11:51 AM

You're right, folk are free to vote for whoever they want. Voting for the tories on the single issue of the Union is as a legitimate a choice as voting for the SNP for independence.

I think Davidson's biggest barrier to becoming FM was always going to be her policies, or lack of. Despite being leader for 8 years, she never came up with anything. Sure, She's a lot more Liberal than a lot of her colleagues but when it came to taxation or law, you couldn't seperate her from the UK party.

29-08-2019, 11:52 AM
Did they never question her silence over the Tory policies implemented?

...that bit....

-Windrush - ooo, look Ruth is on a cow!!
-Austerity - "We're all in it together!" :rolleyes:
-Spending on Brexit - "nowt"

A couple of epithets on a message board - "DISGRACEFUL- POLITICS IS A SEWER".

Forgive me for not giving a monkies if someone hates Ruth enough to call her a fat wee radge.

Curried
29-08-2019, 11:52 AM
We always say there are bad apples on both sides, but there only seems to be one set of bad apples on this site. Have you ever seen anyone call a SNP supporter or politician a horrible human being or a degenerate on here? If you have I must have missed it.

I just question what it achieves, other than more hate.

All that is needed for evil to prevail is for good men to do nothing.

29-08-2019, 11:56 AM
You're right, folk are free to vote for whoever they want. Voting for the tories on the single issue of the Union is as a legitimate a choice as voting for the SNP for independence.

I think Davidson's biggest barrier to becoming FM was always going to be her policies, or lack of. Despite being leader for 8 years, she never came up with anything. Sure, She's a lot more Liberal than a lot of her colleagues but when it came to taxation or law, you couldn't seperate her from the UK party.

Best case she was an enabler of regressive, horrible policies designed to hurt the poor while making the rich richer, rather than an active participant.

29-08-2019, 12:04 PM
James310 offers a different viewpoint but I don’t think you need to be that harsh on him.[emoji6]

Careful now Oz, some people can take things personally. :wink:

29-08-2019, 12:06 PM

Do you really believe the SNP are responsible for the ongoing focus on independence in Scotland? Or is that just something you say?

Don't you think it perhaps has more to do with brexit and the series of other lies that have came to the forefront in the past 5 years?

Is it really a realistic belief that without the SNP, we'd have all just forgotten about independence and all of the lies told to keep us under the thumb?

James310
29-08-2019, 12:07 PM
Careful now Oz, some people can take things personally. :wink:

There you go again, why do you always feel the need to make a comment. I read it, shrugged my shoulders and moved on, it's like you are obsessed. Please LEAVE ME ALONE.

Why not read it and have a laugh and move on.

29-08-2019, 12:24 PM
I thought her deafening silence on the rape clause certainly marked Ruth Davidson out as a likeable sort. Exactly the sort of person I would look to for moral guidance.

29-08-2019, 12:37 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20190829/cde9b69b1360667f0c62c294b0ba68f8.jpg

29-08-2019, 12:39 PM
There you go again, why do you always feel the need to make a comment. I read it, shrugged my shoulders and moved on, it's like you are obsessed. Please LEAVE ME ALONE.

Why not read it and have a laugh and move on.

Just imagine how those female SNP MPs, and MSPs feel, whilst on Twitter. 😷

29-08-2019, 12:40 PM

Excellent! He's a total clown.

Still, it's maybe about time he won some sort of election...

29-08-2019, 12:51 PM
Excellent! He's a total clown.

Still, it's maybe about time he won some sort of election...

Ruth’s main trick has been to wrap herself in the union flag and recruit the more sectarian element of our society to her cause without people noticing too much because of all the ‘hilarious’ photo ops etc.
No way would Murdo Fraser be able pull that off without breaking out in the billy boys.

Curried
29-08-2019, 12:56 PM
I have to say I’m fair looking forward to Murdo leading the line during FMQ’s for the last days of the Union.

Looks like the bookies are watching .net :greengrin

CloudSquall
29-08-2019, 01:01 PM
Ruth’s main trick has been to wrap herself in the union flag and recruit the more sectarian element of our society to her cause without people noticing too much because of all the ‘hilarious’ photo ops etc.
No way would Murdo Fraser be able pull that off without breaking out in the billy boys.

Adam Tomkins ripped the tap aff it on Twitter about it "being great to beat teams in green" following our humping at Ibrox, with Davidson away and no similar replacement I can see them going full on #nosurrender #1690 #loyal to try to maintain some sort of unionist hardcore vote.

Curried
29-08-2019, 01:23 PM
The Guardian has just opened up comments on Davidson's resignation:

https://www.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2019/aug/29/brexit-party-loyalty-ruth-davidson

29-08-2019, 01:26 PM
https://www.lbc.co.uk/radio/presenters/eddie-mair/eddie-mair-cabinet-silence-suspend-parliament/

Tories eh. :faf:

Saturday Boy
29-08-2019, 01:40 PM
https://www.lbc.co.uk/radio/presenters/eddie-mair/eddie-mair-cabinet-silence-suspend-parliament/

Tories eh. :faf:

I’m glad that I don’t understand the comments. They surely must be bots and not real people 😂

To misquote LP Hartley, Brexitland is another country, they do things differently there.

29-08-2019, 01:56 PM
I’m glad that I don’t understand the comments. They surely must be bots and not real people 😂

To misquote LP Hartley, Brexitland is another country, they do things differently there.

Google bots...Never.:greengrin

29-08-2019, 03:01 PM
Rees-Mogg describes the outrage over what Johnson has done as 'phoney'. He was keen to highlight that the current parliamentary session is one of the longest in history (it is) but fails to mention that a 5 week shut down is almost unprecedented.

ACLeith
29-08-2019, 03:15 PM
Rees-Mogg describes the outrage over what Johnson has done as 'phoney'. He was keen to highlight that the current parliamentary session is one of the longest in history (it is) but fails to mention that a 5 week shut down is almost unprecedented.

RM knows all about being phoney. That's why he moved some of his business interests to Ireland to protect them post-brexit

29-08-2019, 03:31 PM

:faf: That should definitely be a hate crime.

James310
29-08-2019, 03:56 PM
:faf: That should definitely be a hate crime.

You're missing the point.

It's more about why is there such hate, horrible human being or degenerates it's by the by. I just don't see what it adds. I can't imagine anyone other than a hate filled person being attracted to that type of chat. It adds nothing to your 'cause'.

29-08-2019, 04:10 PM
Ruth Davidson has led a tory revival in Scotland, but she has a lot to answer for.

We should never forget Ruth Davidson supported :-

-The rape clause
-The bedroom tax
-£30 a week cut to disability benefits
-Tax cuts for the rich
-Scrapping housing benefit for young people
-The trade union bill
-Privatisation of the Royal Mail
-Hostile environment

29-08-2019, 04:13 PM
Looking forward to murdo getting the gig.

https://www.therangersstandard.co.uk/index.php/articles/rfc-politics/115-rangers-and-the-monarchy

29-08-2019, 04:56 PM
Ruth Davidson has led a tory revival in Scotland, but she has a lot to answer for.

We should never forget Ruth Davidson supported :-

-The rape clause
-The bedroom tax
-£30 a week cut to disability benefits
-Tax cuts for the rich
-Scrapping housing benefit for young people
-The trade union bill
-Privatisation of the Royal Mail
-Hostile environment

Apart from hoover up the unionist vote on the back of her keep Scotland British and SNP bad rhetoric, what policies did she actually support that were good? It's an honest question because I can't think of 1.

29-08-2019, 05:15 PM
Apart from hoover up the unionist vote on the back of her keep Scotland British and SNP bad rhetoric, what policies did she actually support that were good? It's an honest question because I can't think of 1.

You are asking the wrong person. 🤔

29-08-2019, 05:17 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/4656121/rangers-fan-billy-boys-tattoo-uefa/

Is that you murdo?

29-08-2019, 05:53 PM
https://www.thescottishsun.co.uk/news/4656121/rangers-fan-billy-boys-tattoo-uefa/

Is that you murdo?

i did laugh at the "i'm not singing it" line, that's what the 40+k say as well.....they have the largest minority of sectarian bigots in world football, they should be proud of that, as they are, reducing the amount of sectarian songs in the ground won't suddenly make them non-sectarian bigots, they're bred to be one

29-08-2019, 07:53 PM
Looking forward to murdo getting the gig.

https://www.therangersstandard.co.uk/index.php/articles/rfc-politics/115-rangers-and-the-monarchy
Murdo has had more silver medals than anyone in history, I can’t see him winning the leadership race. He’s the Craig Levein of politics.

CloudSquall
29-08-2019, 08:16 PM
Murdo has had more silver medals than anyone in history, I can’t see him winning the leadership race. He’s the Craig Levein of politics.

Haha!!

He's been failing to get elected for more than 20 years, sneaking into Holyrood each time off the back of the List vote.

29-08-2019, 11:29 PM

The pool of "talent" there.

29-08-2019, 11:54 PM
The pool of "talent" there.
It’s like a who’s who of who?

30-08-2019, 01:43 AM
https://i1.wp.com/www.deadlinenews.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2016/11/MURDO_FRASER_TWEET_DN01.jpg

https://wingsoverscotland.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/04/losermurdo.jpg

30-08-2019, 02:58 PM
Ruthie must have known the Tories were going to lose their deposit in the Shetland bye election.

They can pin that loss on her.

CloudSquall
30-08-2019, 03:08 PM
Ruthie must have known the Tories were going to lose their deposit in the Shetland bye election.

They don't seem to care, Adam Tomkins on Twitter was loving the Lib Dem win as it stuck it to the SNP.

Imagine losing your deposit and all you care about is another party finishing 2nd.

30-08-2019, 03:11 PM

Her worst fault is gullabilty. She said in her tata speech she believed boris is trying to negotiate a deal. Guess what the lying ****bag is about to do an advertising blitz in case its no deal. She was so stupid to believe that. She is if course being economical with the truth in her speech as shes gambing on it going tits up then speniinding a year with baby finn then saying ok ill save the tories. If she got the campaign team behind her she has the personality to pull it off. One of her aides was overheard saying she couldnt stomach not so much boris but whats was to come if he did win.

02-09-2019, 05:55 PM
https://twitter.com/StuartWilksHeeg/status/1168572322544066561?s=19

He's convincing, I'm as convinced as I have ever been by a conservative leader saying they are going spend lots of money on everything and make a success of the country.

#wereallinittogether

04-09-2019, 12:55 PM
Labour MP Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi skewers Johnson for his racist islamophobia:

https://twitter.com/TanDhesi/status/1169230497647595521

Nicely done. :not worth

(Worth carrying on to the replies to see Johnson's total non-answer.)

04-09-2019, 01:30 PM
Labour MP Tanmanjeet Singh Dhesi skewers Johnson for his racist islamophobia:

https://twitter.com/TanDhesi/status/1169230497647595521

Nicely done. :not worth

(Worth carrying on to the replies to see Johnson's total non-answer.)

I watched it live, brilliant and applauded all round. and Bercow had a huge smirk when telling MPs to restrict the clapping until it has been agreed by the House. :greengrin

04-09-2019, 09:45 PM
The Finnish Presidency of the EU Council of ministers @EUCouncil confirmed in answer to my question in @EPInstitutional that there has been NO NEW PROPOSAL received from the UK government on the Irish #backstop or any other aspect of #Brexit https://t.co/a0zS4qsbmB

Can an MP be banned from the House of commons because he has blatantly lied?

Please tell me yes! And that it is for 60 days.

05-09-2019, 09:51 AM
The lack of manners from the current PM of the UK is unbelievable. He gets photographed in France with his feet on a table. my mother would have went mad if i ever did that. in the HoC he contrantly points at Corbyn. If he ever did that too me he would get one worning then the next time i would break his fingers.

05-09-2019, 10:07 AM
The lack of manners from the current PM of the UK is unbelievable. He gets photographed in France with his feet on a table. my mother would have went mad if i ever did that. in the HoC he contrantly points at Corbyn. If he ever did that too me he would get one worning then the next time i would break his fingers.

True. Rees Mogg showed him up by being very careful to keep his shoes off the upholstery when he fell asleep on it the other day. That's proper breeding, that is. :agree:

05-09-2019, 02:24 PM
:greengrin is there any other type of Tory, well, types that are printable anyway

https://i2-prod.edinburghlive.co.uk/incoming/article16868041.ece/ALTERNATES/s615/0_EDrdeDcXsAUZejnjpeg.jpg

https://www.edinburghlive.co.uk/news/edinburgh-news/jacob-rees-mogg-edinburgh-castle-16868032?fbclid=IwAR1GUYCASA-jH2H_Mo0kPMZoLrR-_Z9GMZdLIKWC1Lmq_2ITRYr7pUDApTI

05-09-2019, 05:56 PM
When your own brother calls it quits, you know your government is in trouble. It's a shame actually, as Jo was one of the few Tory MPs who could speak sense.

05-09-2019, 06:13 PM
Anyone see the ill police officer behind Boris Johnson during his failed speech? I bet they're all feeling that ill.

05-09-2019, 06:13 PM
Don't often come onto the HG but noticed this thread & felt impelled to say I agree.

05-09-2019, 07:06 PM
The Bullingdon Bumbler looks less comfortable every day.

05-09-2019, 07:07 PM
Anyone see the ill police officer behind Boris Johnson during his failed speech? I bet they're all feeling that ill.

I wouldn't read much into that. I've seen many a man wearing a peak cap fall over like a felled tree.

06-09-2019, 06:47 AM
When your own brother calls it quits, you know your government is in trouble. It's a shame actually, as Jo was one of the few Tory MPs who could speak sense.

Rumours that Stanley Johnson will be resigning as his father!

06-09-2019, 09:18 AM
Rumours that Stanley Johnson will be resigning as his father!

His other brother, Leo, has been retweeting Remain accounts this week and of course his sister, Rachel, stood as a Euro candidate for Change UK (remember them?) I guess family gatherings are going to be a lonely place for him. :na na:

06-09-2019, 09:22 AM
I guess family gatherings are going to be a lonely place for him. :na na:
Only until he stops being PM, which won't be too long now, and he can stop pretending that he thinks Brexit is a good idea. All pals again by Christmas.

GORDONSMITH7
06-09-2019, 10:12 AM

His other brother, Leo, has been retweeting Remain accounts this week and of course his sister, Rachel, stood as a Euro candidate for Change UK (remember them?) I guess family gatherings are going to be a lonely place for him. :na na:

Change UK indeed. She will do the triple jump like Chuka Umunna and Luciana Berger to join the Tory lites. Berger was parachuted into Wallasay in Merseyside. She probably had never heard of the place. Like Frank Field in neighbouring Birkenhead, elected on a Labour Party ticket for years. What is consistent about all Change UK defecters, from whichever party, not one has offered to call a by election . They support a Peoples Vote......unless it effects their careers of course. They know they would get trounced, so with the eyes of opportunism they see the Tory lites getting a result in the one issue EU elections so third jump to them. It will not exist this time next year.

BIG G

06-09-2019, 10:18 AM
Change UK indeed. She will do the triple jump like Chuka Umunna and Luciana Berger to join the Tory lites. Berger was parachuted into Wallasay in Merseyside. She probably had never heard of the place. Like Frank Field in neighbouring Birkenhead, elected on a Labour Party ticket for years. What is consistent about all Change UK defecters, from whichever party, not one has offered to call a by election . They support a Peoples Vote......unless it effects their careers of course. They know they would get trounced, so with the eyes of opportunism they see the Tory lites getting a result in the one issue EU elections so third jump to them. It will not exist this time next year.

BIG G

The Change UK defectors were successful in moving the Labour Party towards a 2nd ref so from that point of view they were a success.

GORDONSMITH7
06-09-2019, 11:30 AM
The Change UK defectors were successful in moving the Labour Party towards a 2nd ref so from that point of view they were a success.

The ludicrous notion the 7 Labour Blairite jumpers were the motor for the move to a second referendum is not worth comment, although I just have.

BIG G

06-09-2019, 11:54 AM
The ludicrous notion the 7 Labour Blairite jumpers were the motor for the move to a second referendum is not worth comment, although I just have.

BIG G

Lots of your comments are not really worth it.[emoji6]

06-09-2019, 12:19 PM
I see the real reason for Johnson wanting 15th October election, thousands of students will be unable to register to vote in time.

06-09-2019, 12:42 PM

BIG G

Every time a MP resigns we hear the call from the parties and public alike that they should lose their seat in parliament or stand down. I don't think any party has seriously mentioned it in a manifesto never mind while in power!

Labour, the lying Tory ******* and to a lesser extent the less than useful libdems have all had it in their power to make that change and it hasn't happened.

It's a hollow cry at a time like this.

PS I'd include those that lose their party whip.

PPS I'm not sure what the position is at Holyrood whether they might have the power to make such a change or, like many other parliamentary gubbins, they must follow Westminster.

06-09-2019, 01:01 PM

BIG G

This is the first time I've noticed one of your posts criticise Labour in any way.

I see the real reason for Johnson wanting 15th October election, thousands of students will be unable to register to vote in time.

This has come up before for past electoral events; registering to vote shouldn't be a problem for them.

I haven't seen this reported recently - does your concern come from something you've read/heard etc?

06-09-2019, 01:05 PM
TThis has come up before for past electoral events; registering to vote shouldn't be a problem for them.

I haven't seen this reported recently - does your concern come from something you've read/heard etc?

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/general-election-date-aimed-to-restrict-student-vote-boris-johnson-aides-admit-g7zh5s7td

06-09-2019, 01:17 PM
https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/general-election-date-aimed-to-restrict-student-vote-boris-johnson-aides-admit-g7zh5s7td

Thanks JMS, I saw it, then forgot where. Too much to do for perthshire open studio all next week, starting tomorrow, until 15th if anyone wants to support crafters.

06-09-2019, 02:35 PM

It does seem to have become quite heated down there on the subject of Brexit, with folk falling out.

My family (by that I mean me, siblings and parents) were split during the independence referendum and have discussed it but never even come close to falling out over it. I respect their different experiences have led to them drawing different conclusion to me, and they respect my position.

I think it's unhealthy to expect families to all vote the same way and respect the Johnsons for their independence and willingness to hold differing views to each other.

Families are nuts at the best of times, having to hang about with some absolute weirdos just because you have a shared bloodline or through someone's choice of relationship.

07-09-2019, 11:03 AM
https://www.channel4.com/news/factcheck/factcheck-johnson-on-scottish-taxes

07-09-2019, 12:21 PM

Thanks JMS. I don't think there's any question of students being unable to register to vote in time though.

07-09-2019, 01:05 PM
Thanks JMS. I don't think there's any question of students being unable to register to vote in time though.

More on it here.

https://www.theneweuropean.co.uk/top-stories/early-election-stops-students-1-6256282

What they are saying is that a lot of students may not know their address before the end of September, and they will be too late to register at the new address.

07-09-2019, 02:36 PM
More on it here.

https://www.theneweuropean.co.uk/top-stories/early-election-stops-students-1-6256282

What they are saying is that a lot of students may not know their address before the end of September, and they will be too late to register at the new address.

Yeah, the same chat came out in the media re the IndyRef (albeit that was September) but it simply wasn't a problem in practice. If you don't know your new address in time to register there, you vote where you are registered.

I take the point that it may be harder for students to vote as a result, but it's not a massive obstacle and it certainly isn't something which prevents them from registering.

07-09-2019, 03:13 PM
Yeah, the same chat came out in the media re the IndyRef (albeit that was September) but it simply wasn't a problem in practice. If you don't know your new address in time to register there, you vote where you are registered.

I take the point that it may be harder for students to vote as a result, but it's not a massive obstacle and it certainly isn't something which prevents them from registering.

Right, so you are from invergordon and are registered at home, you are a student in Exeter and don't have accommodation available until the end of September for an election in the middle of October the only way to vote is go home. That's what the fuss is about. The difficulty for students being able to vote.

Talk about disenfranchisement of the younger voters.

07-09-2019, 04:41 PM
Apologies for the link 😉

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/politics/10052646/Quitting-the-EU-wont-solve-our-problems-says-Boris-Johnson.html

07-09-2019, 08:23 PM
Right, so you are from invergordon and are registered at home, you are a student in Exeter and don't have accommodation available until the end of September for an election in the middle of October the only way to vote is go home. That's what the fuss is about. The difficulty for students being able to vote.

Talk about disenfranchisement of the younger voters.

Not really; you can apply for a postal, or proxy, vote.

I'm not arguing it makes voting more difficult but, per my last post, it's hardly insurmountable. If they want to vote, they'll be able to.

07-09-2019, 09:25 PM
Not really; you can apply for a postal, or proxy, vote.

I'm not arguing it makes voting more difficult but, per my last post, it's hardly insurmountable. If they want to vote, they'll be able to.

Registering isn't instant, the electoral register is only updated once a month so it could be a month before you appear on it. And if a student doesn't have an address before the end of September, then they cannot vote, unless already registered at home.

08-09-2019, 08:32 AM
Registering isn't instant, the electoral register is only updated once a month so it could be a month before you appear on it. And if a student doesn't have an address before the end of September, then they cannot vote, unless already registered at home.

Registration isn't instant, but nor is the register only updated once a month; it's essentially updated on an ongoing basis.

There's a whole range of (slightly varied) scenarios we could discuss but, focussing on our topic of registration ahead of a general election, provided you've completed your application before the deadline, you will be registered to vote at the address you have provided as your main residence in that application. If you don't know your new address by the deadline, you'll remain registered at whatever address you're currently registered at.

Based on experience of previous electoral events, a miniscule percentage of electors may be inconvenienced by having to arrange to vote at the address they are effectively leaving when they go to study; however, as they can also vote by post or proxy, it just takes slightly more effort for them to do so. What is 100% certain though, is that the timing of any election does not prevent students in these circumstances from registering to vote.

08-09-2019, 08:48 AM
https://www.yourvotematters.co.uk/faq/registering-to-vote/how-long-does-it-take-for-my-details-to-appear-on-the-register-after-applying-to-register

The electoral register is updated monthly. Unless the website is lying of course.

08-09-2019, 08:51 AM
Registration isn't instant, but nor is the register only updated once a month; it's essentially updated on an ongoing basis.

There's a whole range of (slightly varied) scenarios we could discuss but, focussing on our topic of registration ahead of a general election, provided you've completed your application before the deadline, you will be registered to vote at the address you have provided as your main residence in that application. If you don't know your new address by the deadline, you'll remain registered at whatever address you're currently registered at.

Based on experience of previous electoral events, a miniscule percentage of electors may be inconvenienced by having to arrange to vote at the address they are effectively leaving when they go to study; however, as they can also vote by post or proxy, it just takes slightly more effort for them to do so. What is 100% certain though, is that the timing of any election does not prevent students in these circumstances from registering to vote.

It discourages students because, unlike other countries where voting can be done electronically, the students have to actively go out to vote or register for a postal vote. Image how many would vote if they could do it on their phone.

08-09-2019, 01:44 PM
https://www.yourvotematters.co.uk/faq/registering-to-vote/how-long-does-it-take-for-my-details-to-appear-on-the-register-after-applying-to-register

The electoral register is updated monthly. Unless the website is lying of course.

From memory, although I may be wrong about this as I haven't looked at the legislation for a few years, the legal requirement is for "new" electors (which includes changes of address) to be added within 28 days of the application being received. Each Electoral Registration Office has its own procedures but, essentially, the reason for allowing 28 days is that, when there's no pending electoral event, not many applications are being received on a daily basis. It makes administrative sense, from a resourcing perspective, to wait until there are a number of applications and process them together. The practical effect of that is that you may be added to the register one day after you make your application, or 28 days after.

However (and this is the big difference), the 28 days does not apply when there is a pending electoral event, as the legislation requires the Electoral Registration Offices to publish interim updates to the register at certain points. It's also one of the reasons there is a deadline to register to vote, in advance of an electoral event, in the first place (i.e. to allow the Offices time to process the guaranteed surge of late applications and to get related information to candidates and agents etc.). Again from memory, I think the deadline is usually 12 days before an electoral event.

The reason the YVM website says the register is updated each month is because (a) at times when there is no pending electoral event, that's essentially true and (b) 99.9% of people who ask about when the register is updated want to know for credit check purposes.

It discourages students because, unlike other countries where voting can be done electronically, the students have to actively go out to vote or register for a postal vote. Image how many would vote if they could do it on their phone.

I understand your point, but that's totally separate from students being prevented from registering to vote, which was the original issue.

FWIW, I don't know of any countries which have an electronic voting system which would solve the problem you raise in this post, but that's another discussion...one I'm happy to have though! :greengrin

08-09-2019, 04:55 PM
what a shameless **** this is

https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/tory-msp-shamed-conflict-interest-19835212?fbclid=IwAR0Q0upxYljSOHD7PTg4dtrFYxecQlbj wJOj0NqH2YRAbThvFvsjuRNKvQw (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/scottish-news/tory-msp-shamed-conflict-interest-19835212?fbclid=IwAR0Q0upxYljSOHD7PTg4dtrFYxecQlbj wJOj0NqH2YRAbThvFvsjuRNKvQw)

A Tory (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/scottish-conservative-party) MSP who was forced to quit his front-bench job amid a conflict of interest scandal has been brought back into the fold.
Peter Chapman stood down as his party’s rural economy spokesman in May last year after it emerged he had lobbied for a business in which he held a £50,000 stake

14-09-2019, 11:48 AM
The 'Scottish' tories seem to be insinuating that they'll continue to oppose another referendum, even if there is a clear mandate to hold one.

https://i.ibb.co/5hnTn3W/toryerses.png

Make no mistake, they're very much on board with the Boris dictatorship.

17-09-2019, 12:44 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/71273981_419865948886636_1047982925145964544_n.jpg ?_nc_cat=103&_nc_eui2=AeEUv6v3O6QqPy2VtxWCYxMVelocZ08ZzcW9Mj2kE SGPYzkM_dwlHrcRMikREkB37wzwJyhFxeHlm6ZuJQQVB0jYaLL lDMh60WYx7B-BHcquJg&_nc_oc=AQkOiVbettihL3ljOJM6-O6FgHcMSwLNKu5fZxdo72nciOGgomPkhY_YcycncgQdctA&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr3-1.xx&oh=d1109f2957acdbc8cb7c6b75037dc6b4&oe=5DF2F9F1

17-09-2019, 01:17 PM
As it now looks like they'll have as much representation in the next parliament as the Monster Raving Loony Party, their ramblings are now as relevant

17-09-2019, 01:17 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/70122665_2292463134185793_5498498513379524608_n.pn g?_nc_cat=111&_nc_eui2=AeEduDfRiIb9Bj2jD5TiJxipuq6OOIQB0RpsjM-HYUeDFOK6YlCgxBUPExMSnQYL5I2YM-BnMTWjF-qGDXYd9SS7XoYyfYuJEBfGKNnWalFRhg&_nc_oc=AQlIDPAadOWppRG69HV7ykFcp99QSmgvUHtKZWHL7b_ H4jz-r34vJg9MKF_RVRp50kU&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr3-1.xx&oh=3833d47fff1b3b4254053da250ebfd32&oe=5DFCBBE4

https://stv.tv/news/politics/1440836-tory-dark-money-trust-failed-to-report-157-000-gift/

Conniving *******s.

17-09-2019, 01:34 PM
https://scontent-lhr3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/v/t1.0-9/70122665_2292463134185793_5498498513379524608_n.pn g?_nc_cat=111&_nc_eui2=AeEduDfRiIb9Bj2jD5TiJxipuq6OOIQB0RpsjM-HYUeDFOK6YlCgxBUPExMSnQYL5I2YM-BnMTWjF-qGDXYd9SS7XoYyfYuJEBfGKNnWalFRhg&_nc_oc=AQlIDPAadOWppRG69HV7ykFcp99QSmgvUHtKZWHL7b_ H4jz-r34vJg9MKF_RVRp50kU&_nc_ht=scontent-lhr3-1.xx&oh=3833d47fff1b3b4254053da250ebfd32&oe=5DFCBBE4

https://stv.tv/news/politics/1440836-tory-dark-money-trust-failed-to-report-157-000-gift/

Conniving *******s.

The thing is, as far as the actual political party is concerned, this could be perfectly legitimate or completely nefarious but, as the relevant legislation is so woefully inadequate, we'll never know.

The Westminster Parliament could have tightened the rules considerably back at the turn of the century, but there was too much self-interest at play for that to happen. I doubt that will ever change.

18-09-2019, 10:15 AM
I've been following the supreme court appeal(s) here.

https://www.bbc.com/news/live/uk-politics-49738480

The Government's guy has been going on all morning about how the courts shouldn't interfere in a political decision, saying that no law has been broken.

However, my understanding is that the Scottish judges ruled that Bojo lied to ERII (or is it I?) regarding the reason for the prorogation.

Surely that's all that matters?

18-09-2019, 10:26 AM

The Government's guy has been going on all morning about how the courts shouldn't interfere in a political decision, saying that no law has been broken.

However, my understanding is that the Scottish judges ruled that Bojo lied to ERII (or is it I?) regarding the reason for the prorogation.

I reckon the Scottish court got it right and the English one wrong. If a PM can lie to shut down parliament when it suits him what kind of democracy is that.

18-09-2019, 10:31 AM

What he really meant was "butt out, we're above the law".

18-09-2019, 12:53 PM

With a few exceptions, a "higher" court isn't constrained by what a "lower" court has based their decision on; they are essentially considering matters afresh. So, in theory, the Supreme Court could form the opinion that Johnson lied, but also decide that it does not have the remit/jurisdiction to impose its own decision on the operation of Parliament.

18-09-2019, 05:17 PM
:faf: Johnson being filmed saying "There's no press here". The lying's congenital with this one.

18-09-2019, 05:28 PM
:faf: Johnson being filmed saying "There's no press here". The lying's congenital with this one.

I think you meant that he is a lying genital. 😉

18-09-2019, 05:41 PM
I think you meant that he is a lying genital wart. 😉

18-09-2019, 06:03 PM

That was hilarious, heartily recommend anyone who hasn’t seen it to find it, it’s probably on BBC News.

18-09-2019, 06:40 PM
That was hilarious, heartily recommend anyone who hasn’t seen it to find it, it’s probably on BBC News.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-politics-49740419/boris-johnson-confronted-on-east-london-hospital-visit

18-09-2019, 06:49 PM
https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/av/uk-politics-49740419/boris-johnson-confronted-on-east-london-hospital-visit

Good job :aok:

18-09-2019, 09:40 PM

Oh, *that* press! :rolleyes:

18-09-2019, 09:48 PM

Aye. As I understand it ...

In the Scottish Courts it was argued that the information given to QEII was misleading therefore the suspension of the Westminster parliament, as passed by Liz, was flawed. The courts can make a judgement on this, it's not political. The Boris fags lied to HRH while on their errand up norf.

In England they went straight for the jugular saying suspension was illegal. That's political, it's messing with parliamentary business.

I predict a verdict saying both lower courts were correct in their decisions but due to the case put forward in Scotland the suspension is illegal.

Boris will reconvene parliament and suspend it immediately for reasons as yet not known. But it will be based on lies.

26-09-2019, 04:11 PM
I'm not as think as you drunk I am! https://t.co/0ByuCV2tdA

26-09-2019, 04:29 PM

He is wasted, the wee rat.

26-09-2019, 05:16 PM
He is wasted, the wee rat.

It certainly looks like it. Weird!!

CloudSquall
26-09-2019, 05:23 PM
If he was indeed reekin' then why is he still in a job?

If I turned up at the office in that state I'd be back outside without a job in 5 minutes..

26-09-2019, 05:28 PM

whilst humming the sash to himself

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/pm-contender-gove-knows-the-sash-identifies-with-orangeism-and-had-enormous-unionist-cartoon-in-office-new-book-reveals-38202620.html

26-09-2019, 05:53 PM

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/pm-contender-gove-knows-the-sash-identifies-with-orangeism-and-had-enormous-unionist-cartoon-in-office-new-book-reveals-38202620.htmlAnd accusing the SNP of sectarianism in the house of commons.

I'm with Frankie Boyle when he said that Gove looks like a haunted ventriloquists dummy that has been carved from the wood of the yew tree that operation yew tree was named after.

26-09-2019, 06:10 PM

https://www.belfasttelegraph.co.uk/news/northern-ireland/pm-contender-gove-knows-the-sash-identifies-with-orangeism-and-had-enormous-unionist-cartoon-in-office-new-book-reveals-38202620.html

A pal of murdo fraser?

1 8 7 5
26-09-2019, 06:14 PM
And accusing the SNP of sectarianism in the house of commons.

I'm with Frankie Boyle when he said that Gove looks like a haunted ventriloquists dummy that has been carved from the wood of the yew tree that operation yew tree was named after.

26-09-2019, 08:19 PM
And accusing the SNP of sectarianism in the house of commons.

:hilarious he is

A pal of murdo fraser?

Gove is a slimey horrible little slug as well....that's a good possibility

26-09-2019, 08:47 PM
Rumour has it that the Tory slogan for the upcoming election will be ‘No Surrender’. They don’t stand in NI and have lost Scotland already so apparently they reckon it would be a vote winner in northern marginals.

26-09-2019, 09:04 PM
Rumour has it that the Tory slogan for the upcoming election will be ‘No Surrender’. They don’t stand in NI and have lost Scotland already so apparently they reckon it would be a vote winner in northern marginals.

:singing: … no surrender, and if you do I'll die in a ditch … :singing:

27-09-2019, 10:38 AM
If he was indeed reekin' then why is he still in a job?

If I turned up at the office in that state I'd be back outside without a job in 5 minutes..

Tbf, all he needs to get rat-arsed is actually provided at his workplace at subsidised prices.

Nice work if you can get it

29-09-2019, 09:15 AM

Is it just me or does the Tory Party tree symbol look like a map of the south east of England?

CloudSquall
29-09-2019, 09:41 AM

Murdo Fraser and Adam Tomkins must be ripping the tap aff it if that is true.

29-09-2019, 09:53 AM
Murdo Fraser and Adam Tomkins must be ripping the tap aff it if that is true.

this cant

29-09-2019, 06:49 PM
Having their conference in Manchester, in the Labour heartland and a remain voting city. They are just trolling now :greengrin

ACLeith
29-09-2019, 07:58 PM
More allegations coming out about inappropriate sexual contact by our PM albeit 20 years ago. Gets more like Trump with every passing day

CloudSquall
29-09-2019, 08:35 PM
this cant

I had no idea he was not from the West (or even Scotland) before reading Wings comment and looking it up, makes his "staunchness" for all things Rangers even worse.

29-09-2019, 08:48 PM

Great, I can hate the wee rat even more now.

Can't wait to see his greetin face on independence morning.

29-09-2019, 11:55 PM
More allegations coming out about inappropriate sexual contact by our PM albeit 20 years ago. Gets more like Trump with every passing day

Cummings is trying make him s British version of trump. His sister Rachel says he's totally acting out of character. He's always been a dimwit but is now totally under the influence of Cummings. I'm sure there is loads more to come out but these are weird times so not sure any such scandals will stick. Folk are so possessed by brexit they will just see it as a conspiracy. Even the law is just an unnecessary inconvenience to them. Hard to see how the country recovers from this nonsense.

30-09-2019, 06:13 PM
Having their conference in Manchester, in the Labour heartland and a remain voting city. They are just trolling now :greengrin

I thought it was a bad idea

https://i0.wp.com/metro.co.uk/wp-content/uploads/2019/09/PRI_87494939.jpg?quality=90&strip=all&zoom=1&resize=540%2C720&ssl=1

30-09-2019, 06:29 PM
It will be interesting to learn whether other women come forward, accusing Johnson of inappropriate sexual conduct. Any man brazen enough to grope a woman at the dinner table won't be confined to a one off incident.

30-09-2019, 07:43 PM
It will be interesting to learn whether other women come forward, accusing Johnson of inappropriate sexual conduct. Any man brazen enough to grope a woman at the dinner table won't be confined to a one off incident.

The Genius's wife has already come forward to confirm that she wasn't groped, so it probably was just a one-off.

01-10-2019, 08:39 AM
I had no idea he was not from the West (or even Scotland) before reading Wings comment and looking it up, makes his "staunchness" for all things Rangers even worse.He used to be a Republican nationalist, he's even written a book on it.
Seem to remember him and colin fox of SSP protesting at the opening of holyrood that it was a sell out.

01-10-2019, 12:42 PM
New Town Row, Birmingham https://t.co/4mmZHXnrsL

02-10-2019, 08:46 AM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191002/3bcac3bcef9bfa5fd22f19fc5442b34a.jpg

02-10-2019, 05:59 PM
The Scottish Tories just had a broadcast on BBC, the whole of Britain is going tits up with brexit and the first thing they talk about is saying no to independence

02-10-2019, 06:10 PM
The Scottish Tories just had a broadcast on BBC, the whole of Britain is going tits up with brexit and the first thing they talk about is saying no to independence
Posted about it on the Scottish independence thread. Thought about posting on this thread but for once they weren't lying. All they are interested in is keeping us shackled to England and the union.

03-10-2019, 03:42 AM
It's obvious now why Ruth Davidson bolted. All this guff about family. She knew what was coming after her meeting with Johnson at downing Street and she realised Cummings was running the show. The fact her replacement has binned everything she stood for speaks volumes. Even someone as many would see as very right wing couldn't stomach Cummings with his lapdog Johnson. Remember she said if a deal came before parliament everybody should vote for it. She knew Johnson and his city pals only want a no deal brexit and she was savvy enough to get out before they get wiped out at the general election.

03-10-2019, 07:32 AM
The Prime Minister is a pathological liar
(Location: Oxford Rd, Manchester) #CPC19 https://t.co/BCTMf11VTD

03-10-2019, 07:49 AM
The Prime Minister is a pathological liar
(Location: Oxford Rd, Manchester) #CPC19 https://t.co/BCTMf11VTD

If only Led By Donkeys were Her Maj's Official Opposition.

03-10-2019, 09:17 AM
Priti Patel’s conference speech, the content was scary but the look on her face as she said it was worse.

03-10-2019, 10:23 AM
Priti Patel’s conference speech, the content was scary but the look on her face as she said it was worse.
Cocaine perhaps?

03-10-2019, 05:22 PM
i reckon carlaw should get the scottish tories gig, what a gift he is

CloudSquall
03-10-2019, 05:25 PM
i reckon carlaw should get the scottish tories gig, what a gift he is

Carlaw was banging on about backing no deal Brexit if it came to that with the Scottish Secretary following up with "the Scottish Conservatives have been brought into line" with the big boys at Westminster.

Unfortunately I read today the Scottish Tories are trying to oust him for someone else, what a pity..

04-10-2019, 08:26 AM
A moderate forced out as the Tory party moves to extreme British nationalism.
https://amp.theguardian.com/politics/2019/oct/04/rory-stewart-resigns-from-conservative-party?CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium=&utm_source=Twitter&__twitter_impression=true

04-10-2019, 09:43 AM
Carlaw was banging on about backing no deal Brexit if it came to that with the Scottish Secretary following up with "the Scottish Conservatives have been brought into line" with the big boys at Westminster.

Unfortunately I read today the Scottish Tories are trying to oust him for someone else, what a pity..

tory msp's supposedly meeting on monday night somewhere in north queensferry to discuss selecting a new leader, they're not too pleased with the interim one :( the good news is murdo fraser and michelle ballantyne both want the job :greengrin

04-10-2019, 10:28 AM
https://amp.theguardian.com/politics/2019/oct/04/rory-stewart-resigns-from-conservative-party?CMP=twt_gu&utm_medium=&utm_source=Twitter&__twitter_impression=true

Now running to be Mayor of London. Not sure if he will win but likely guarantees the Tory he is running against has no chance.

04-10-2019, 01:01 PM

Indeed. Shows just what a carcrash the Tories have become if even a moderate like Stewart feels he has to leave the party. He isn't even a remainer. Looks like the Tories are becoming unpalatable to many diehards. If Johnson doesn't get a majority,and that looks unlikely then civil war will break out on the right. Btw it shows how right wing our media is that he's just another one whose left. If so many deserted the Labour party it would the headlines for days.

04-10-2019, 02:22 PM
Indeed. Shows just what a carcrash the Tories have become if even a moderate like Stewart feels he has to leave the party. He isn't even a remainer. Looks like the Tories are becoming unpalatable to many diehards. If Johnson doesn't get a majority,and that looks unlikely then civil war will break out on the right. Btw it shows how right wing our media is that he's just another one whose left. If so many deserted the Labour party it would the headlines for days.

He's resigning because he's standing for Mayor of London against an offishul Tory candidate. Strikes me as a fairly strange move. London is almost as super-pro-remain as Edinburgh and Stewart doesn't oppose Brexit, just no-deal. Sadiq Khan is no Corbynite either, so the safe middle ground pitch isn't really going to wash either. I think he's got a little caught up in his own hubris.

04-10-2019, 02:26 PM

The fact our press refer to Johnson as Boris says it all. They portray him as a lovable rogue, can't remember any headlines mentioning Tony, David or Theresa.

04-10-2019, 11:49 PM
The fact our press refer to Johnson as Boris says it all. They portray him as a lovable rogue, can't remember any headlines mentioning Tony, David or Theresa.

Rather sweeping statement that and it also depends what you mean by ‘our’ and ‘they’...I’ve read plenty of press that doesn’t just call him Boris and isn’t portraying him as lovable.

But anyway just for laughs here’s a wee pic or two to prove my point:

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191004/8c2acd0fdd1d9f9932727bdcd48a7a23.jpg

Of course that did comes from a paper that also also produced this beauty so clearly anything is possible [emoji23]

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191004/5c276353aa114d0e9626e332bc13ca05.jpg

05-10-2019, 07:42 AM
Rather sweeping statement that and it also depends what you mean by ‘our’ and ‘they’...I’ve read plenty of press that doesn’t just call him Boris and isn’t portraying him as lovable.

But anyway just for laughs here’s a wee pic or two to prove my point:

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191004/8c2acd0fdd1d9f9932727bdcd48a7a23.jpg

Of course that did comes from a paper that also also produced this beauty so clearly anything is possible [emoji23]

https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20191004/5c276353aa114d0e9626e332bc13ca05.jpg

If the sun was a newspaper you'd have proved your point ;-)

CloudSquall
05-10-2019, 10:15 AM
Didn't really know where to put this but with Michael Gove being outed as "staunch" along with his tag team members Murdo and Tomkins I felt it was the ideal thread..

https://twitter.com/WingsScotland/status/1180399675834339328

Prior warning, you may self combust with cringe...:greengrin

In all serious though, how f'd up are parts of the West of Scotland? I'm glad Edinburgh for the most part is shielded from this crap, the children in attendance will grow up thinking this sort of ***** is normal.

Bangkok Hibby
05-10-2019, 10:34 AM
If the sun was a newspaper you'd have proved your point ;-)

An adult human being gets paid to sit behind a desk and think up this ****ing drivel.

05-10-2019, 11:29 AM
Didn't really know where to put this but with Michael Gove being outed as "staunch" along with his tag team members Murdo and Tomkins I felt it was the ideal thread..

In all serious though, how f'd up are parts of the West of Scotland? I'm glad Edinburgh for the most part is shielded from this crap, the children in attendance will grow up thinking this sort of ***** is normal.

Way beyond cringe. re-post in the MB Generic Sevco thread for more exposure

06-10-2019, 12:13 PM

The user name of the guy who posted it as well...:bitchy:

07-10-2019, 09:21 AM
Arcuri told her friends that she was ****ging Johnson. Then told a reporter in a car park that she hadn't been ****ging him. Now today uses a military metaphor to explain why she's refusing to answer whether she ****ged him or not.

Not too hard to see why they got on so well. :hmmm:

07-10-2019, 06:30 PM

All part of the Bannon process. It's going to be so hard to predict the election. The Tories have gone extreme. Time will tell if this populist rhetoric will work. I have my doubts it will.

24-10-2019, 04:41 AM
I see Labour lost an amendment last night to protect the NHS from further privitization. Voted down by every tory MP and abstainations from 8 blairites and every Lib Dem MP. :rolleyes:

Coverage in the media as good as non existent. :rolleyes:

24-10-2019, 05:23 AM
Ruth Davidson has a new job...or another job:

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-50161433

Curried
24-10-2019, 05:39 AM

I’m confused. I thought she resigned the leadership of the Tories in Scotland to spend more time with her family!

24-10-2019, 06:09 AM
I’m confused. I thought she resigned the leadership of the Tories in Scotland to spend more time with her family!

50k for 3 weeks work isn't really work though.

24-10-2019, 10:49 AM

Get on, get on, get on, get on, get on my gravy train :music:

24-10-2019, 12:10 PM
Second new job she has taken since she resigned. This one is out of order though because she is still a paid MSP.
Helps neutralise her as head of BT2 if she can be painted as a stooge for big business.

24-10-2019, 12:14 PM
Second new job she has taken since she resigned. This one is out of order though because she is still a paid MSP.
Helps neutralise her as head of BT2 if she can be painted as a stooge for big business.

Is it anymore unacceptable than Douglas Ross? He miraculously falls under the radar. Even although he can't keep his political interests out of his other job.

24-10-2019, 12:46 PM
Is it anymore unacceptable than Douglas Ross? He miraculously falls under the radar. Even although he can't keep his political interests out of his other job.

He’s way less important politically.

24-10-2019, 02:17 PM
He’s way less important politically.

All tory politicians in Scotland are unimportant imo. It's his importance in his other job that bothers me.

24-10-2019, 03:12 PM
Could you imagine the sheer disgust and outrage whipped up by the media had an SNP MSP taken up that job? We'd be hearing about it for weeks on end.

But because it's media darling Davidson, she gets a free pass.

24-10-2019, 03:21 PM
I see Labour lost an amendment last night to protect the NHS from further privitization. Voted down by every tory MP and abstainations from 8 blairites and every Lib Dem MP. :rolleyes:

Coverage in the media as good as non existent. :rolleyes:

Why is anybody surprised. The libdems have no decency and will do anything to get power as clegg showed when lying about tuition fees.

24-10-2019, 03:59 PM
Why is anybody surprised. The libdems have no decency and will do anything to get power as clegg showed when lying about tuition fees.

You'll find that the Jo Swinson advocates on here are completely ignoring it.

CloudSquall
25-10-2019, 11:12 AM
https://twitter.com/RobbieDinwoodie/status/1187642233723465734

"So, The £50k lobbying Lobby cash Ruth Davidson receives will go to a new company she has just set up for reasons of “tax efficiency” or, as some of us might put it, tax dodging."

Working out well for Ruth, steps down from the leadership role when she had to finally face up to Boris, gets a cushy 50k that she'll pay minimal tax on, and hides at the back ready to jump back into politics when Better Together 2 needs a leader.

Do we still have posters here ripping the tap aff it about how fantastic she is?

25-10-2019, 04:35 PM
https://twitter.com/RobbieDinwoodie/status/1187642233723465734

"So, The £50k lobbying Lobby cash Ruth Davidson receives will go to a new company she has just set up for reasons of “tax efficiency” or, as some of us might put it, tax dodging."

Working out well for Ruth, steps down from the leadership role when she had to finally face up to Boris, gets a cushy 50k that she'll pay minimal tax on, and hides at the back ready to jump back into politics when Better Together 2 needs a leader.

Do we still have posters here ripping the tap aff it about how fantastic she is?

for 'working' 24 days/year, kin sickening, i just don't get the clamour to listen to her, the bag o wind, i still suffer with visions of her bounding onto the stage to snog the dancing queen May, then watching her put on her angry face to appease the tory audience.

25-10-2019, 05:39 PM

Said this for ages and always refer to him as Johnston (or de Pfeffel).

25-10-2019, 06:02 PM
For those complaining about Ruth the Mooths extra money.

It's been happening forever with our elected representatives so I'm not sure what the fuss is about. And RtMs money is chicken feed in comparison with others!

I don't like her or her politics (if she actually has any).

25-10-2019, 06:37 PM

It's been happening forever with our elected representatives so I'm not sure what the fuss is about. And RtMs money is chicken feed in comparison with others!

She could have made sexist jokes at a one woman fringe show and got her own show on a foreign backed TV station I guess. Or just done what the rest of them do, sign up for the speaking circuit.

CloudSquall
25-10-2019, 07:11 PM
My problem with Ruth is she shat out of defending Boris and co and used her family as the excuse to do so but all of a sudden she has time for a new venture, yet she's never actually seen in Edinburgh Central.

But hey, she "stuck it to wee jimmy krankie" which is enough for the unionists amongst us...

25-10-2019, 07:13 PM

It's not so much the money. It's the conflict of interests between the 2 jobs. Anybody is entitled to make whatever amount of money they like in any given period of time. But when 1 job directly conflicts with the interests of the other (particularly in a profession of public representation), then it becomes problematic.

25-10-2019, 09:03 PM
https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/politics/callous-scottish-tory-msp-blasted-20666511?utm_source=facebook.com&utm_medium=social&utm_campaign=sharebar&fbclid=IwAR1RoZzhr0pChzLcbFweiS_whWSUAeteKa-UvQpM0LBVFewwDHuDqEa_eyI

A Scottish Tory MSP (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/scottish-conservative-party) tipped as a leadership contender has been blasted for sharing a “callous” and “heartless” message about the poor and the unemployed.
Michelle Ballantyne, a right winger who backs Boris Johnson (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/all-about/boris-johnson), circulated comments questioning why the wealthy (https://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/lifestyle/money/) should pay for people at the bottom of society.

there's just too many great contenders for the leadership of the scottish tories :agree: who votes for they people, seriously

25-10-2019, 09:36 PM
Rory Stewart and the gangsta's.
An epitome of a Tory.

Wake the **** up Scotland.

25-10-2019, 11:23 PM
My problem with Ruth is she shat out of defending Boris and co and used her family as the excuse to do so but all of a sudden she has time for a new venture, yet she's never actually seen in Edinburgh Central.

But hey, she "stuck it to wee jimmy krankie" which is enough for the unionists amongst us...

You and Fife-Hibee are quite similar.

He claims never to have seen Christine Jardine at her office, you claim never to see Ruth Davidson in her constituency.

Do you spend a lot of time looking out for her? Is Edinburgh Central your constituency? Whether it is or it isn’t, both your claims are a wee bit scary in a post-Jo Cox world.

1875godsgift
25-10-2019, 11:36 PM

He claims never to have seen Christine Jardine at her office, you claim never to see Ruth Davidson in her constituency.

Do you spend a lot of time looking out for her? Is Edinburgh Central your constituency? Whether it is or it isn’t, both your claims are a wee bit scary in a post-Jo Cox world.

What are you trying to say here?

That they are both potential politician killers?

Frankhfc
25-10-2019, 11:37 PM

When I contacted her office for help with my then issues I phoned the office and I had a conversation with the M.P.s assistant who took the details and said it would be looked at by Mrs Jardine. I was emailed asking if I'd like to come into the office to discuss the matter with Mrs Jardine herself and duly made an appointment to do so. I spoke at length with Mrs Jardine in her office and within days had an email saying Mrs Jardine had taken the matter up and had made progress for me of which I was very satisfied with the end result. I've still got the emails. Mrs Jardine also aided me with other matters with success and I know speaking to my neighbours that she has also helped them with issues.

Yet Fife-Hibee claims the office is always closed or that I was possibly making it up and he was going to take photos of the offices.

Its a strange one.

26-10-2019, 12:35 AM
What are you trying to say here?

That they are both potential politician killers?

I just enjoy playing my part in killing their careers.

Don't get too close to MA with a flag though. He may consider you a nazi and feel instantly threatened. (Union Jacks aside)

CloudSquall
26-10-2019, 06:23 AM

Between May 2016 and May 2018 Ruth held 1 constituency surgery.

https://wingsoverscotland.com/ruth-davidson-lie-watch/

It also appears many constituents had a hard time getting any response while Ruth was tripping the light fantastic on Have I Got News For You and the likes.

26-10-2019, 01:06 PM
Meanwhile, he defended the decision to mint hundreds of thousands of commemorative 50p coins with the 31 October date, after the process was paused.

“I don’t think it looks foolish,” he said. “I think it was a very sincere aim of the British government to leave on 31 October, which after all was the date the EU said. It wasn’t our date, it was theirs.

EU's fault that they won't be issued then. Not sure that Kwarteng is the full shilling.

26-10-2019, 01:22 PM
Meanwhile, he defended the decision to mint hundreds of thousands of commemorative 50p coins with the 31 October date, after the process was paused.

“I don’t think it looks foolish,” he said. “I think it was a very sincere aim of the British government to leave on 31 October, which after all was the date the EU said. It wasn’t our date, it was theirs.

EU's fault that they won't be issued then. Not sure that Kwarteng is the full shilling.

None of them are the full shilling, the vast majority of them have been educated well beyond their intelligence.

26-10-2019, 01:26 PM
None of them are the full shilling, the vast majority of them have been educated well beyond their intelligence.

26-10-2019, 03:01 PM

26-10-2019, 04:47 PM
I've not had any experience of having to contact my MP, but I know that everyone I know who has had reason to and who I have spoken to about it has found their MP open, willing and available to help where possible. This crosses all political divides. Some do pointless photoshoots in their constituency more than others I reckon they are all there when you need them.

It is a fairly easy and lazy accusation to make, that they are not there.

My Dad used to speak very highly of the late Robin Cook who helped him out a lot several decades ago. I often hear about MPs whose politics I don't agree with (Malcolm Rifkind and Ian Murray to name a couple) who are very highly spoken of as constituency MPs and who have personally helped people I know.

Voting records in the House of Commons can be a far more fair stick with which to beat an MP in my experience.

26-10-2019, 05:28 PM
My Dad used to speak very highly of the late Robin Cook who helped him out a lot several decades ago. I often hear about MPs whose politics I don't agree with (Malcolm Rifkind and Ian Murray to name a couple) who are very highly spoken of as constituency MPs and who have personally helped people I know.

Ian Murray also comes across pretty well when interviewed at, or speaking in debates at, the HoC. (Apart from always wearing a daft wee maroon badge on his lapel, the Hearts *****.)

27-10-2019, 08:41 AM
https://www.holyrood.com/editors-column/view,ruth-davidsons-relatively-shortlived-foray-into-the-world-of-politics-has-b_14616.htm

27-10-2019, 11:59 AM
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/euan-mccolm-every-day-ruth-davidson-remains-an-msp-will-only-increase-damage-to-her-party-1-5033770/amp?__twitter_impression=true

This has been a great thing for YES2. Davidson is finished.

27-10-2019, 12:03 PM
It really is typically Tory. Make sure that you look after yourself first and everything else, even their precious union, is second.

27-10-2019, 01:47 PM
https://www.scotsman.com/news/politics/euan-mccolm-every-day-ruth-davidson-remains-an-msp-will-only-increase-damage-to-her-party-1-5033770/amp?__twitter_impression=true

This has been a great thing for YES2. Davidson is finished.

It is an interesting article. Being a legislator is incompatible with being paid by a lobbying firm, no two ways about it.

I disagree that there is a conflict of interest should someone step away from their legislative role and, as the writer puts it, use their expertise. That is what they are getting paid for, by the private firm. This isn’t a party issue as all of them do it.

Westminster has rules about there being a set amount of time for both MPs and civil servants I think, from leaving their job to working in the private sector. I am not sure if the timescale is long enough but then the whole point is that private firms want that recent and fresh experience and will pay for it. I think it is one of those things that just needs monitored and if it feels too strict or too relaxed then it can be changed.

27-10-2019, 02:38 PM
It is an interesting article. Being a legislator is incompatible with being paid by a lobbying firm, no two ways about it.

I disagree that there is a conflict of interest should someone step away from their legislative role and, as the writer puts it, use their expertise. That is what they are getting paid for, by the private firm. This isn’t a party issue as all of them do it.

Westminster has rules about there being a set amount of time for both MPs and civil servants I think, from leaving their job to working in the private sector. I am not sure if the timescale is long enough but then the whole point is that private firms want that recent and fresh experience and will pay for it. I think it is one of those things that just needs monitored and if it feels too strict or too relaxed then it can be changed.

There should def be a rule that no sitting MP or MSP should be working for private companies at all. I would be very strict on that. And like you say, not a party political issue. This is a particularly obvious case because most wait until they stand down before taking a lobbying job.
Personally I would also not allow politicians access to parliamentary passes for at least 5 years after leaving office.
Your right that they all do it but this is still a gift to the Yes campaign.

29-10-2019, 10:09 AM
But she will get a pension for life, paid for by the taxpayer whilst the rest of us will have to wait until we are 66 or 67 before we can get ours and I will bet u a pound to a penny hers is not the pathetic amount we will get.

29-10-2019, 10:52 AM
Well that's Ruth backing down now.....oh dear! https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-50222755

CloudSquall
29-10-2019, 10:57 AM
Well that's Ruth backing down now.....oh dear! https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-scotland-scotland-politics-50222755

Impeccable timing, slips that out while everyone is distracted by the election news.

29-10-2019, 11:42 AM
But she will get a pension for life, paid for by the taxpayer whilst the rest of us will have to wait until we are 66 or 67 before we can get ours and I will bet u a pound to a penny hers is not the pathetic amount we will get.

She was right to back down from the consultancy role but I don’t think she gets her Holyrood pension until she is 65.

29-10-2019, 12:59 PM
MP’s can claim a pension after 20 years. Msp’ s get a payment of one third of salary if they quit/ voted out. We are in the wrong game.

29-10-2019, 01:07 PM
Even backing out of this still damages her. The accusation she is in politics only for self enrichment will be hard to shift.

Cataplana
29-10-2019, 01:08 PM
MP’s can claim a pension after 20 years. Msp’ s get a payment of one third of salary if they quit/ voted out. We are in the wrong game.

Can you imagine what tea breaks and Christmas nights out would be like?

29-10-2019, 01:31 PM
Even backing out of this still damages her. The accusation she is in politics only for self enrichment will be hard to shift.

I think that is a tad harsh. Politicians get little respect and it is often easy to understand why, but they are human beings just like the rest of us. They have mortgages and credit card bills just like the rest of us. We all take advantage of what we can, to ensure our standard of living or provide for our children. Sometimes that is using our career experience to get a lucrative gig on the consultancy circuit, sometimes it is benefitting from an inheritance or the value of a parent or grandparents home.

29-10-2019, 01:38 PM
I think that is a tad harsh. Politicians get little respect and it is often easy to understand why, but they are human beings just like the rest of us. They have mortgages and credit card bills just like the rest of us. We all take advantage of what we can, to ensure our standard of living or provide for our children. Sometimes that is using our career experience to get a lucrative gig on the consultancy circuit, sometimes it is benefitting from an inheritance or the value of a parent or grandparents home.

There are plenty jobs that insist that you only work exclusively in that job. Being a politician should be one of them. She deserves her reputation rubbished for signing up for this deal. The fact that she has had to back out shows the level of misjudgement involved.

29-10-2019, 01:50 PM
There are plenty jobs that insist that you only work exclusively in that job. Being a politician should be one of them. She deserves her reputation rubbished for signing up for this deal. The fact that she has had to back out shows the level of misjudgement involved.

Yeah, I don’t disagree with you at all and said so earlier. I think politicians do face a tough time if and when they step aside and gain consultancy roles. It happens all the time in other walks of life.

29-10-2019, 02:13 PM
Yeah, I don’t disagree with you at all and said so earlier. I think politicians do face a tough time if and when they step aside and gain consultancy roles. It happens all the time in other walks of life.

She hasn’t stepped aside. She is still an MSP. That’s why it hurts her. She’s on the take.

29-10-2019, 02:41 PM
She hasn’t stepped aside. She is still an MSP. That’s why it hurts her. She’s on the take.

Cross purposes? I was saying that any MP or MSP will use their background to take on consultancy roles when they leave. She or a he can’t possibly do that while an elected meneber. Although actually I think MPs can and do, maybe MSPs too. It has to be declared and dropped if one becomes a minister?

29-10-2019, 05:20 PM
Nice to see little miss flip flop has flopped again.