View Full Version : Tories are lying *******s (warning may contain traces of Tory)

Pages : 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14

29-10-2020, 12:17 PM
The world had changed massively since Blair rose to prominence though. Blair was meeting with Murdoch on his yacht in 1995 and beginning the process of gaining his media empire endorsement (which finally came in early 97). Even by the latter stages of the Blair premiership only 67% of households had a home computer, in 1997 that was 27% and today it's 88%. Twitter and Facebook didn't appear until the last nails were being hammered in the Blairism coffin.

There is little doubt that the ability of the Blair administration to manage the press was a huge factor in their success. Is it as relevant now? Almost half of adults state they get their news from social media now, that wasn't a thing for most of the Blair era. Print media is a news source for only 38% of adults now albeit that rises when combined with their online offering.

Controlling the traditional media is still important but far less so than it was even 15 years ago. The murky world of social media is increasingly important; Cambridge Analytica and the like should be living proof of that to all of us.
Yeah, I 100% agree with all of that. The implication, unless I'm reading it wrong, on the post I replied to was that Labour won inspire of the media. They actually won because they had the media on side at that time as you say

29-10-2020, 12:21 PM
Yeah, I 100% agree with all of that. The implication, unless I'm reading it wrong, on the post I replied to was that Labour won inspire of the media. They actually won because they had the media on side at that time as you say

It was a factor but far from being the main one. Labour had a young charismatic leader offering popular new policies at a time when the country was more than ready for change. Murdoch got on board because he likes to back winners.

29-10-2020, 03:05 PM
It was a factor but far from being the main one. Labour had a young charismatic leader offering popular new policies at a time when the country was more than ready for change. Murdoch got on board because he likes to back winners.

Very much this.

CloudSquall
30-10-2020, 12:46 AM
Can Starmer find a D:ream "Things Can Only Get Better" replacment?

I have my doubts.

30-10-2020, 11:06 PM
https://twitter.com/bongbrummie/status/1322305064183173121?s=21

Mr Grieves
01-11-2020, 07:43 AM
It's not looking good for Boris.

https://twitter.com/MattChorley/status/1322619848267079685?s=20

Mood among Tory MPs is seriously bad. Even those who think this is the right thing to do now are dismayed that it’s come to this.

“Shambolic. Rudderless ramblings. constituents getting in touch furious or in tears.”

“Grim grim grim”

“I think it could be his Suez”

Conservative minister: “The incompetence is another level. Is this a deliberate destruction of the Tory Party? People only vote for us because they think we don’t care, but are competent. Lose the competence and we’re ****ed. We’ve lost the competence. And we are ****ed.”

A senior Tory MP and former minister gets in touch after seeing this thread:
“He’s on borrowed time. Totally inept.”

01-11-2020, 09:05 AM
Heard that the leaking of information about the lockdown was done by senior tories to ensure Boris didn't U turn.

01-11-2020, 09:36 AM
Heard that the leaking of information about the lockdown was done by senior tories to ensure Boris didn't U turn.

If that’s true then he’s a politically dead man walking. No way he makes it through next year as PM.

01-11-2020, 10:15 AM
If that’s true then he’s a politically dead man walking. No way he makes it through next year as PM.

If the people complaining about him had a spine he wouldn't make it through this year.

01-11-2020, 09:08 PM
Did I just hear correctly on Sky News that Boris Johnson is facing a backbench rebellion because he's putting too much faith in science regarding the Corona epidemic? Please dog, get Scotland tae **** out of this union.

01-11-2020, 09:16 PM
Did I just hear correctly on Sky News that Boris Johnson is facing a backbench rebellion because he's putting too much faith in science regarding the Corona epidemic? Please dog, get Scotland tae **** out of this union.

See my post from 12 hours ago.

01-11-2020, 09:16 PM
Record reporting that Douglas Ross is facing a FIFA investigation for using a photo of himself in his Ass. Ref. outfit in a Tory mailshot.

01-11-2020, 09:19 PM
Record reporting that Douglas Ross is facing a FIFA investigation for using a photo of himself in his Ass. Ref. outfit in a Tory mailshot.

Read that in the national.

Also a German referee was disciplined a few years ago for similar.

davy67 +
01-11-2020, 09:25 PM

Doesn't surprise me they've always been pretty keen on stabbing their leaders in the back

01-11-2020, 10:10 PM
It's not looking good for Boris.

https://twitter.com/MattChorley/status/1322619848267079685?s=20

Mood among Tory MPs is seriously bad. Even those who think this is the right thing to do now are dismayed that it’s come to this.

“Shambolic. Rudderless ramblings. constituents getting in touch furious or in tears.”

“Grim grim grim”

“I think it could be his Suez”

Conservative minister: “The incompetence is another level. Is this a deliberate destruction of the Tory Party? People only vote for us because they think we don’t care, but are competent. Lose the competence and we’re ****ed. We’ve lost the competence. And we are ****ed.”

A senior Tory MP and former minister gets in touch after seeing this thread:
“He’s on borrowed time. Totally inept.”

It was fine when his job consisted of the odd xenophobic remark or accusing Labour leaders of supporting terrorists. Now that it actually means leading the country and making actual decisions in a timely manner the spell has broken and the facade drops so they see what everyone who doesn't suffer from British exceptionalism has seen all along. An idiotic, fat arse.

02-11-2020, 06:53 AM
I see The Mail is really gunning for Bojo. I'd give him to the end of January.

02-11-2020, 07:30 AM
I see The Mail is really gunning for Bojo. I'd give him to the end of January.Yep, Gove, Patel, Raab, Hancock, Williamson all lining up their campaigns.

Things can only get better [emoji849][emoji849][emoji849]

02-11-2020, 08:45 AM
Yep, Gove, Patel, Raab, Hancock, Williamson all lining up their campaigns.

I know they're all deluded, but :faf:

02-11-2020, 08:50 AM
I know they're all deluded, but :faf:Snake who keeps surviving......

Alright, how about Grayling, a man for our times and surely who Bozo is aspiring to be?

02-11-2020, 08:55 AM
Snake who keeps surviving......

Alright, how about Grayling, a man for our times and surely who Bozo is aspiring to be?

Williamson and Patel are only cabinet ministers because Johnson sycophants. May found them out as snakes and sacked them. Could Grayling be the man to unite the country? :hmmm:

02-11-2020, 08:56 AM
The worst thing about this is that whoever replaces him will push the Tories EVEN MORE to the right.

It's terrifying.

02-11-2020, 08:57 AM
Williamson and Patel are only cabinet ministers because Johnson sycophants. May found them out as snakes and sacked them. Could Grayling be the man to unite the country? :hmmm:We really do need a sarcasm smiley on here. I wouldn't let Grayling take my dog for a walk. The last thing we need is a dog that owns an invisible ferry company.

02-11-2020, 08:58 AM
I wouldn't let Grayling take my dog for a walk. The last thing we need is a dog that owns an invisible ferry company.

Fair enough. Harding it is then. :agree:

02-11-2020, 09:01 AM
Fair enough. Harding it is then. :agree:I'm leaning more towards a Mark Francois type figure. Proper political heavyweight and visionary.

Keeps the slogans going if nothing else, and there will be nothing else[emoji1]

There can't be anything else left for Dido to fail at surely?

02-11-2020, 09:17 AM
https://youtu.be/tLpsDamWdIM

Dido 3 word slogan 😉

05-11-2020, 11:00 AM
They're about to extend furlough until March
That's great news but why not announce it a fortnight ago ?

05-11-2020, 12:39 PM
saw a small clip of him, i assume yesterday in parliament, walking out when theresa may started speaking, his incredible ignorance reminds me so much of another vile buffoon, just across the wee pond

08-11-2020, 09:04 AM
Dominic Raab on the BBC just now, this Trumpist has got to endear himself to and work with the new government whilst still holding a candle for Trump's legal actions and recounts, deary me.

08-11-2020, 09:06 AM
The worst thing about this is that whoever replaces him will push the Tories EVEN MORE to the right.

It's terrifying.

Only the right of the party remains. Johnson purged all the moderates out over brexit.

08-11-2020, 09:06 AM
They're about to extend furlough until March
That's great news but why not announce it a fortnight ago ?

England didn’t need it a fortnight ago.

08-11-2020, 11:02 AM
Johnson just u-turned again on kids school meals. [emoji23] And we are meant to worry that he will stick to his guns on no 2nd referendum.[emoji23]

08-11-2020, 11:10 AM
Johnson just u-turned again on kids school meals. [emoji23] And we are meant to worry that he will stick to his guns on no 2nd referendum.[emoji23]

Sent from my iPhone using TapatalkOnce his established position on anything is more than 5 days old and he's waffled extensively on it at the point of justification a complete U-turn is entirely in character, especially if a bit of short term popularity is up for grabs.

Chorley Hibee
08-11-2020, 11:23 AM

Trying to bury yet another u-turn beneath the US presidential election.

Mr Grieves
08-11-2020, 11:47 AM
Dominic Raab on the BBC just now, this Trumpist has got to endear himself to and work with the new government whilst still holding a candle for Trump's legal actions and recounts, deary me.

https://twitter.com/RidgeOnSunday/status/1325405750383042561?s=20

Why does Raab/tories find this question so difficult?

08-11-2020, 11:52 AM
https://twitter.com/RidgeOnSunday/status/1325405750383042561?s=20

Why does Raab/tories find this question so difficult?He's got form as a Trumpette, they've ridden the wrong horse and their previously unhealthy and subservient relationship with the former president puts them in a very different place on Brexit and the trade deal.

Raab is even shallower than Bozo and wasn't able to directly answer much today. Rabbit caught in the headlights. Other metaphors are available.

11-11-2020, 12:30 PM
Anybody want a laugh?

I received a letter addressed to me from the leader of the Scottish Conservative and unionist party telling me that "our country owes you a great debt. Throughout the covid - 19 crisis you have managed to put food on our tables"

My address is a former farm house, and the numpty assumed that I'm a farmer.

11-11-2020, 12:35 PM
Anybody want a laugh?

I received a letter addressed to me from the leader of the Scottish Conservative and unionist party telling me that "our country owes you a great debt. Throughout the covid - 19 crisis you have managed to put food on our tables"

My address is a former farm house, and the numpty assumed that I'm a farmer.

Let them eat yarn. Actually, I have to keep reminding myself you're not Moulin Yams, which would be more nourishing.

11-11-2020, 12:42 PM
Laura Kuenssberg @bbclaurak
If you are following Chiefgate...
1. 2 tory sources confirm Cain was offered job by PM at weekend after talking about it for few weeks
2. PM's fiance, Carrie Symonds, however, said to be deeply unhappy about the plan
3. Not now clear what outcome will be

I know Laura likes a bit of intrigue at the court of Arseface, but she's really jumped the shark here.

Carrie Symonds unhappy. wtaf :confused:

11-11-2020, 12:48 PM
I know Laura likes a bit of intrigue at the court of Arseface, but she's really jumped the shark here.

Carrie Symonds unhappy. wtaf :confused:

Trying to make space for herself between Bunter and Mrs-Elect Bunter? :dunno:

11-11-2020, 12:57 PM
Did Douglas4moray vote to protect food standards? I thought that he abstained. Anyway, he claimed to have voted for the high standards on imported produce to be protected.

Edit. He did vote to protect food standards in imports but it was defeated.

11-11-2020, 08:03 PM
Introducing “my little crony”
Showcasing Tory cronyism visually
https://sophieehill.shinyapps.io/my-little-crony/

11-11-2020, 08:54 PM

Probably the best thing on t'internet this year. More transparent than any indignant newspaper article.

12-11-2020, 11:26 PM
Dominic Cummings leaving his post by the end of the year.

Mr Grieves
13-11-2020, 05:22 AM

Like rats deserting a sinking ship

13-11-2020, 07:18 AM

I just said yesterday to mrs bollah that he runs the government, and if he survived Barnard Castle he can survive anything, he’s untouchable. She said she thought his coat was on a peg marked ‘Mr A. Shoogly’.

She must have had inside info.

13-11-2020, 07:37 AM
I just said yesterday to mrs bollah that he runs the government, and if he survived Barnard Castle he can survive anything, he’s untouchable. She said she thought his coat was on a peg marked ‘Mr A. Shoogly’.

She must have had inside info.

Newsnight suggesting last night that Cummings might retain access to Downing St ('a hot desk') after he leaves, so it hardly sounds like he's being sacked. Probably just deciding to distance himself from the forthcoming January cluster****.

13-11-2020, 07:41 AM
There is no way Johnson will still be in post if this parliament goes to full term so what does this mean for his replacement?

Is Cummings not Gove's man? Does this development make it more or less likely he will be the next PM?

13-11-2020, 07:43 AM
The *******s who have led the UK to the edge of the Brexit cliff are now starting to slope off out of the way. Johnson will go soon as well, he will have some mystery illness/issue that will see him give up PM role and then hardly be seen in parliament. ****ing rats, whether they desert the sinking ship or not!

13-11-2020, 07:45 AM
There is no way Johnson will still be in post if this parliament goes to full term so what does this mean for his replacement?

Is Cummings not Gove's man? Does this development make it more or less likely he will be the next PM?

Carrie Symonds will decide .

13-11-2020, 07:47 AM

Depends how badly Brexit goes in the next couple of months. If very very badly, rather than just very badly, Gove might not be generally acceptable as a Cummings-puppet Johnson-substitute, since they were in the plot together. Sharma could be in with a shout.

13-11-2020, 08:54 AM
Newsnight suggesting last night that Cummings might retain access to Downing St ('a hot desk') after he leaves, so it hardly sounds like he's being sacked. Probably just deciding to distance himself from the forthcoming January cluster****.

They should certainly consider keeping him on some sort of retainer for the 2024 general election campaign. Like him or loathe him the guy was a brilliant, invaluable strategist when it came to delivering a yes vote in 2016 (the C4 drama Brexit: The Uncivil War starring Benedict Cumberbatch is worth a watch) and a landslide election win for Boris Johnson last Christmas. Within day to day government though he clearly rattles too many cages. It might turn out to be the right move for the Tories as they govern in a very different environment to the one Cummings would have planned for.

13-11-2020, 09:16 AM
They should certainly consider keeping him on some sort of retainer for the 2024 general election campaign. Like him or loathe him the guy was a brilliant, invaluable strategist when it came to delivering a yes vote in 2016 (the C4 drama Brexit: The Uncivil War starring Benedict Cumberbatch is worth a watch) and a landslide election win for Boris Johnson last Christmas. Within day to day government though he clearly rattles too many cages. It might turn out to be the right move for the Tories as they govern in a very different environment to the one Cummings would have planned for.

Brilliant? Did you watch his Rose Garden performance?

13-11-2020, 09:50 AM

Yeah, if you don't care about the scorched earth ****show he leaves behind him everywhere he goes, he's great.

13-11-2020, 09:52 AM

Brilliant strategist? The only Tory I know thinks he's a complete fraud.

13-11-2020, 09:52 AM
Brilliant? Did you watch his Rose Garden performance?

:agree: It amuses me how some folk hold this chancer in some sort of reverence. Sold a massive lie and left the country to pick up the pieces. We are told he has this incredible political instinct and dizzying intelligence; he didn’t demonstrate either of those things in that ego led rose garden appearance. He got access to good voter analytics and bet his house that fear would be a more powerful motivator than hope and won the bet.

ACLeith
13-11-2020, 09:54 AM
Yeah, if you don't care about the scorched earth ****show he leaves behind him everywhere he goes, he's great.

He will have a new job lined up with Barnard Castle tourist Board

I made a prediction over a month ago that Johnston will not be PM at Easter. Especially as the Cabinet are full of highly talented decent human beings 😉

13-11-2020, 10:04 AM
:agree: It amuses me how some folk hold this chancer in some sort of reverence. Sold a massive lie and left the country to pick up the pieces. We are told he has this incredible political instinct and dizzying intelligence; he didn’t demonstrate either of those things in that ego led rose garden appearance. He got access to good voter analytics and bet his house that fear would be a more powerful motivator than hope and won the bet.
He didn't only win the bet but he and his chums scooped many millions of tax payers money. Mostly for stuff that didn't exist or didn't work.

13-11-2020, 10:04 AM
Brilliant strategist? The only Tory I know thinks he's a complete fraud.

Fraud? Fraud? Would a fraud surreptitiously alter a year-old blog to make it look like he'd predicted Covid-19?

13-11-2020, 10:24 AM
He is a snake oil salesman who has ****ed his country all for the benefit of a small elite bunch of already rich people. He conned the English into believing that there will be a bright new dawn by ditching Johnny Foreigner and isolating themselves from EVERY trading block on the planet. But dontcha know that the empire will help us out and those little countries of the commonwealth will be desperate to trade with us.
You have a very strange understanding of the word brilliant. I would replace that with underhand, devious, lying or any other number if words but brilliant wouldn't be one of the

13-11-2020, 10:31 AM
Brilliant strategist? The only Tory I know thinks he's a complete fraud.Portrays himself as not part of any elite but allows his relatives and in laws free reign in the pig trough that is Govt PPE contracts. Apart from that and the Eugenics thing, which I'm sure many are willing to overlook, he's brand new.

Sent from my SM-A405FN using Tapatalk

13-11-2020, 10:48 AM

Didn't he? Whilst the Government was starting to hand out massive contracts to their cronies whilst failing to get to grips with the day to day management of this crisis the rage on social media was being directed at his wee drive in the country. He played a blinder.

13-11-2020, 11:11 AM

Three degrees of separation from Dido Harding?

13-11-2020, 11:25 AM
Didn't he? Whilst the Government was starting to hand out massive contracts to their cronies whilst failing to get to grips with the day to day management of this crisis the rage on social media was being directed at his wee drive in the country. He played a blinder.

If the massive corruption goes unpunished it'll hardly be because he has brilliantly managed to keep it secret, will it?

13-11-2020, 12:09 PM

In terms of ‘Hey Look Over Here Everybody, Not Over There’, it worked to a very limited extent. I don’t think it really served to mask how corrupt and incompetent this Government is. In the sense that if you are the kind of person that pays attention to these things, we notice. If you don’t pay attention to these things, like a lot of the UK population that are perfectly happy with the way things are, you don’t notice, and were never going to whether DC grandstanded in the Rose Garden or not. As long as you give me Brexit, I don’t care if you **** the dog and burn my house down. At least we haven’t got that nasty Jeremy Corbyn, he’s an anti sémite you know.

13-11-2020, 12:16 PM
I understand the criticism of Cummings and agree with a lot of it, but it's hard to argue that he hasn't achieved a lot for himself and his acquaintances. I can't speak for G B Young, but that's what I took he from his post above about the Tories considering keeping him involved in some capacity.

We can criticise his press conference performance all we like, but the reality is it helped to achieve what it was intended to achieve - it kept him in a job.

13-11-2020, 12:23 PM
We can criticise his press conference performance all we like, but the reality is it helped to achieve what it was intended to achieve - it kept him in a job.

Disagree. He was keeping his job for as long as he liked, whether he'd done that farcical 'press conference' or not.

13-11-2020, 12:39 PM
Disagree. He was keeping his job for as long as he liked, whether he'd done that farcical 'press conference' or not.

I suppose we'll never know whether that's true or not, but it allowed Johnson and chums to answer every subsequent question about Cummings with the line "Dominic Cummings has already answered all these questions" or similar, whether that was true or not.

13-11-2020, 01:31 PM
I understand the criticism of Cummings and agree with a lot of it, but it's hard to argue that he hasn't achieved a lot for himself and his acquaintances. I can't speak for G B Young, but that's what I took he from his post above about the Tories considering keeping him involved in some capacity.

Yep, I'm basing what I said on his achievements, the most prominent of which have been been essentially outsmarting the complacent remain campaigners by delivering a stunning Brexit result (and I say that as a remain voter) and masterminding Boris Johnson's demolition of Labour at the last election. I don't imagine he's a nice guy by any means but he gets the job done and Johnson has much to be grateful to him for (hence his reluctance to lose him).

13-11-2020, 01:40 PM
Yep, I'm basing what I said on his achievements, the most prominent of which have been been essentially outsmarting the complacent remain campaigners by delivering a stunning Brexit result (and I say that as a remain voter) and masterminding Boris Johnson's demolition of Labour at the last election. I don't imagine he's a nice guy by any means but he gets the job done and Johnson has much to be grateful to him for (hence his reluctance to lose him).I'm not surprised you, as a Tory voter, are basing your assessment on his "achievements" whilst remaining (ha) tone deaf to his cronyism, repellant views on Eugenics and general ****housery.

The skimming of cash for his pals and relatives from the public purse in the middle of a global pandemic is just weirdly ignored.

13-11-2020, 01:43 PM
If the massive corruption goes unpunished it'll hardly be because he has brilliantly managed to keep it secret, will it?

Practically nobody was mentioning it as the contracts were being handed out and the money has already been trousered. Job done.

13-11-2020, 02:06 PM
Practically nobody was mentioning it as the contracts were being handed out and the money has already been trousered. Job done.

The details of said contracts are not published in real time as they are signed though are they? The government is supposed to publish details within 30 days but they have been sued for missing this deadline multiple times during the pandemic.

I’m not sure the timeline for Cummings-gate being a smokescreen really fits. He indiscretions came to light in late May while the contracts to Tory-donors came to light initially in mid-July and were headline news in early-August.

If they weren’t public knowledge until mid-July, a smokescreen in May seems a bit redundant.

13-11-2020, 02:55 PM
Yep, I'm basing what I said on his achievements, the most prominent of which have been been essentially outsmarting the complacent remain campaigners by delivering a stunning Brexit result (and I say that as a remain voter) and masterminding Boris Johnson's demolition of Labour at the last election. I don't imagine he's a nice guy by any means but he gets the job done and Johnson has much to be grateful to him for (hence his reluctance to lose him).

Essentially, you know he’s an evil ****, but he’s one of your ***** so he’s an admirable evil ****.

He didn’t ‘outsmart’ anybody.
To most of us, he’s just an evil ****.

13-11-2020, 04:21 PM
Cummings gone with immediate effect.

13-11-2020, 04:23 PM

Farewell, and thanks for destroying everything.

13-11-2020, 04:26 PM

Gardening leave. 😂 Seen leaving downing Street carrying a box. Something I thought you only saw in American films.

13-11-2020, 04:27 PM

13-11-2020, 04:30 PM
Gardening leave. 😂 Seen leaving downing Street carrying a box. Something I thought you only saw in American films.

It'll contain his toe nail clippings/bottles of his own urine etc.

Johnson doesn't seem to be a leader at all - takes orders from Cummings then when he wants to jump ship at a time of his own choosing takes orders from back-benchers. What a muppet he is. A walking talking oven-glove in a wig.

13-11-2020, 04:40 PM
The details of said contracts are not published in real time as they are signed though are they? The government is supposed to publish details within 30 days but they have been sued for missing this deadline multiple times during the pandemic.

I’m not sure the timeline for Cummings-gate being a smokescreen really fits. He indiscretions came to light in late May while the contracts to Tory-donors came to light initially in mid-July and were headline news in early-August.

If they weren’t public knowledge until mid-July, a smokescreen in May seems a bit redundant.

The problems with the awarding of contracts was apparent long before mid-July. You can go right back to the awarding of the initial PPI supply contracts when it was obvious something wasn’t right when so many established suppliers were coming forward to say that their offer to help was being shunned.

13-11-2020, 04:43 PM

So Carrie is in charge now then. :greengrin

13-11-2020, 04:44 PM

Still using the front door. [emoji849]
Be nice to return to elected people running the country.

13-11-2020, 04:45 PM
So Carrie is in charge now then. :greengrin

The person Johnson last spoke to is in charge. Like that bloke in The Fast Show.

13-11-2020, 04:47 PM
The problems with the awarding of contracts was apparent long before mid-July. You can go right back to the awarding of the initial PPI supply contracts when it was obvious something wasn’t right when so many established suppliers were coming forward to say that their offer to help was being shunned.
The saddest part of the contracts scandal is that it has been accepted by all. The public, the press, the opposition, the regulators etc. Very few are getting upset and trying to do something about it. If this was France we would be setting fire to things and blockading ports and motorways. The likes of Cummings have numbed us all into accepting ***** like this

13-11-2020, 04:52 PM
The saddest part of the contracts scandal is that it has been accepted by all. The public, the press, the opposition, the regulators etc. Very few are getting upset and trying to do something about it. If this was France we would be setting fire to things and blockading ports and motorways. The likes of Cummings have numbed us all into accepting ***** like this

The press and TV take the lead (or not) on whether these things are seen as worthy to take up the cudgels or not.

Diana Spencer being shown some faked bank details is more of a scandal to them at the moment.

A complete abdication of the remit that they should hold power to account, which makes them propaganda outlets rather news organs.

13-11-2020, 04:55 PM
The press and TV take the lead (or not) on whether these things are seen as worthy to take up the cudgels or not.

Diana Spencer being shown some faked bank details is more of a scandal to them at the moment.

A complete abdication of the remit that they should hold power to account, which makes them propaganda outlets rather news organs.
Couldn't agree more.

13-11-2020, 04:57 PM
A walking talking oven-glove in a wig.

This is completely wrong. Oven gloves can be put to a good use.

13-11-2020, 05:05 PM
This is completely wrong. Oven gloves can be put to a good use.

I did say "glove", one is just useless if not dangerous.

13-11-2020, 05:09 PM
I did say "glove", one is just useless if not dangerous.

Sorry, still wrong. You're kind of implying that if there were two of them they would work ...

13-11-2020, 05:11 PM
Sorry, still wrong. You're kind of implying that if there were two of them they would work ...

F**@, imagine two of them.

Berwickhibby
13-11-2020, 05:14 PM

unfortunately they do work....for themselves....I wonder how much money he and his Etonian chums have squirrelled away from this into a Swiss or Cayman Bank account

13-11-2020, 05:31 PM

I really like the French. :greengrin

13-11-2020, 05:41 PM

The Morgan Freeman movie ‘Seven’ comes to mind here...

13-11-2020, 06:02 PM

Lol

13-11-2020, 06:11 PM

EskbankHibby
13-11-2020, 06:12 PM

Am I being cynical or is that being overtly seen to leave? No other exits?

Can’t help thinking this is manufactured.

No moon landings, tin hat, Bill Gates etc etc but, logically, it would seem Cummings and Johnson were very close until it became apparent that their arrangement has become toxic to the electorate.

13-11-2020, 06:30 PM

No moon landings, tin hat, Bill Gates etc etc but, logically, it would seem Cummings and Johnson were very close until it became apparent that their arrangement has become toxic to the electorate.

I think Johnson's current squeeze had a fair bit to do with this. Both a personal and political difference with Gollum and his No.10 Leave cabal.

13-11-2020, 07:27 PM
So who's in charge now?

13-11-2020, 07:34 PM
So who's in charge now?

Still Putin. Dinnae worry.

13-11-2020, 08:06 PM

Not as close as the future [ex] Mrs Johnson.

13-11-2020, 09:33 PM

If such a generous epilogue is welcomed by his colleagues and the wider Conservative party then it it only goes to show how broken many moral compasses are.

14-11-2020, 07:38 AM

"Sources told the Daily Telegraph that Cummings told allies that the prime minister was “indecisive” and that he and Cain had to rely on Michael Gove, the Cabinet Office minister, for leadership."

If Johnson resigns as PM, is the procedure for replacing him just a vote by Tory MPs? Gove might not want to be associated too closely with Cummings, who Tory MPs don't like, before such a vote. So maybe best for The Genius to disappear for a time just beyond Tory MPs' attention span - say a fortnight - and then Gove can run. Or even if Johnson doesn't resign, Gove can go for his bestie's jugular in fortnight.

So to answer your question, more.

14-11-2020, 08:23 AM

Anyone think that the Spitting Images sketches played a part in his exit?
🤔😂

https://youtu.be/SCyIB35_sc4

14-11-2020, 08:32 AM
Anyone think that the Spitting Images sketches played a part in his exit?
[emoji848][emoji23]

https://youtu.be/SCyIB35_sc4Yep, one way or another he was sacked by a puppet.

14-11-2020, 08:50 AM
Another superb piece from Marina Hyde.

“Maybe you get the costumed vigilantes you deserve. Gotham had Batman. We got the giblets of the Mirror’s chicken suit.” :greengrin

https://www.google.co.uk/amp/s/amp.theguardian.com/commentisfree/2020/nov/13/dominic-cummings-barnard-castle-brexit

14-11-2020, 09:12 AM

It does seem very staged. No need for him to exit the building so theatrically - nor indeed be seen returning home brandishing a bottle of champagne. A very public attempt to prove that he's gone but I suspect in private he'll be pulling a lot of strings for some time to come.

14-11-2020, 10:27 AM
It does seem very staged. No need for him to exit the building so theatrically - nor indeed be seen returning home brandishing a bottle of champagne. A very public attempt to prove that he's gone but I suspect in private he'll be pulling a lot of strings for some time to come.

Why does he come and go through the front door?

I see an EU deal coming in the next few weeks now due to Biden and also the utter incompetence surrounding no deal preparations which would be an utter disaster.

The Government will have to capitulate to the EU.

Anyway, Biden, Vote Leave Kompromati out of the government, Scotland qualifying. Got to be the best week 2020 has been able to serve up so far.

I recommend the FT coverage on Cummings BTW. Also addresses Johnson’s problem with Scotland (we think he’s an English nationalist ****) and that he wants to “save the union”. I think of few people who would be less suited to that task. Maybe he could ask his mates Gove and Farridge to help - we LOVE then, too.

14-11-2020, 12:12 PM

This appears to be a misconception. Cummings has not gone, he is 'working his notice from home'

14-11-2020, 12:19 PM

He'll probably set up some right wing "think tank" with dark money, ably supported, when he needs some air time, by the BBC politicos.

Stings to be pulled for some time yet.

14-11-2020, 12:23 PM
He'll probably set up some right wing "think tank" with dark money, ably supported, when he needs some air time, by the BBC politicos.

Stings to be pulled for some time yet.

Let's hope so! :greengrin

14-11-2020, 12:55 PM
This appears to be a misconception. Cummings has not gone, he is 'working his notice from home'

Why would anyone want him to stay working? The damage he could do from inside!

He’ll get his 3 months in lieu and he’ll be away - hence the champagne. Big payout and long holiday!

He might still be getting paid by Putin, anyway.

14-11-2020, 01:30 PM

I was just about to say he's doing home office. :greengrin

14-11-2020, 01:33 PM

He’ll get his 3 months in lieu and he’ll be away - hence the champagne. Big payout and long holiday!

He's got so much dirt on Johnson, Gove and co that he has a job for life if he wants it.

14-11-2020, 01:49 PM
Not sure if this has been discussed. One name that keeps popping up is Carrie Symons, and her part in CummingsGate.

Does she have an official role, or is she exercising her rights as the First Lady?

14-11-2020, 02:10 PM
Why does he come and go through the front door?

His office isn't even at 10 Downing St.

14-11-2020, 02:11 PM
His office isn't even at 10 Downing St.

That box was full of stuff he'd raided from the gift shop.

14-11-2020, 02:37 PM

This from the BBC website

Mr Cummings and director of communications Lee Cain, who resigned on Thursday (https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-54907188), will work out their notices at home following tensions within No 10.

14-11-2020, 02:38 PM
Not sure if this has been discussed. One name that keeps popping up is Carrie Symons, and her part in CummingsGate.

Does she have an official role, or is she exercising her rights as the First Lady?

She was never first lady, by all accounts she is well down the line. :wink:

14-11-2020, 05:26 PM

She seems to be coming across as a conniving, scheming bit of **** in a nest of vipers. Why else would anyone of her age get up the nelly duff with an aged gut-bucket like de Pfeffel, I suppose.

14-11-2020, 05:27 PM
This from the BBC website

No way will that happen. Its ‘gardening leave’.

14-11-2020, 05:59 PM
She seems to be coming across as a conniving, scheming bit of **** in a nest of vipers. Why else would anyone of her age get up the nelly duff with an aged gut-bucket like de Pfeffel, I suppose.

Am I missing something, though? She doesn't have an official role, other than as something out of the Borgias?

14-11-2020, 06:00 PM
Am I missing something, though? She doesn't have an official role, other than as something out of the Borgias?

Why would she need an official role when she's got the Nae Nookie Unless weapon?

14-11-2020, 06:17 PM

I think you’re right. It’s something out of the Borgias!

14-11-2020, 06:45 PM

She is a former head of communications for the Conservative party who is the PMs fiancé. She will no doubt have good connections in the media and likely could find out what Cummings was briefing to the press.

Like in many things, people will concentrate on her gender and relationship with the PM. Not irrelevant but misses her skills and experience in the wider media and comma world

14-11-2020, 07:38 PM
She is a former head of communications for the Conservative party who is the PMs fiancé. She will no doubt have good connections in the media and likely could find out what Cummings was briefing to the press.

Like in many things, people will concentrate on her gender and relationship with the PM. Not irrelevant but misses her skills and experience in the wider media and comma world

Her skills as a Russian compromised Tory *******?

14-11-2020, 08:18 PM
Her skills as a Russian compromised Tory *******?

Could be. Not a supporter of the WM government but get bored with someone like Cummings being thought of as a Machiavellian mastermind but the person who seems to have been a driving force behind pushing him out is just the PMs squeeze.

14-11-2020, 09:23 PM
Could be. Not a supporter of the WM government but get bored with someone like Cummings being thought of as a Machiavellian mastermind but the person who seems to have been a driving force behind pushing him out is just the PMs squeeze.

Bald headed scarey guy raised suspicions. Try a wee chick. Folks always under-estimate them.

15-11-2020, 09:52 AM
Princess Nut Nuts 😀😀

15-11-2020, 09:59 AM
Bald headed scarey guy raised suspicions. Try a wee chick. Folks always under-estimate them.Bozo could continue the tradition of appointing/enriching non elected chums and perhaps give a nice little earner to a soon to be unemployed former US president?

15-11-2020, 10:17 AM

Cheers. Didn't know about her background. Still not convinced that she should have a say, but I suppose it's reality.

15-11-2020, 11:57 AM
Bozo could continue the tradition of appointing/enriching non elected chums and perhaps give a nice little earner to a soon to be unemployed former US president?

I’m absolutely convinced that this is the Tories purpose in life.

15-11-2020, 12:54 PM
Hancock to appear on GMB tomorrow. First time the govt have put someone forward in 201 days.

Make of that what you will.

15-11-2020, 01:21 PM
Anybody know, and I'm asking the tories out there, why there is no deputy prime minister?

15-11-2020, 01:37 PM
Anybody know, and I'm asking the tories out there, why there is no deputy prime minister?

It's not a position always in use.

Gordon Brown didn't have a deputy nor did Major for several years.

Likewise there was no Deputy PM throughout most of the 60s, all of the 70s and all but one years of the 80s and there was never a Deputy PM at all until 1942.

(I'm not a Tory BTW!!)

15-11-2020, 02:33 PM

Likewise there was no Deputy PM throughout most of the 60s, all of the 70s and all but one years of the 80s and there was never a Deputy PM at all until 1942.

(I'm not a Tory BTW!!)

Thanks for the history lesson 😁 even though you must be a closet tory 😉

Reading a novel that mentions a deputy PM. Clegg was the last one.

15-11-2020, 02:43 PM
Thanks for the history lesson [emoji16] even though you must be a closet tory [emoji6]

Reading a novel that mentions a deputy PM. Clegg was the last one.Clegg's move to joining the Davecam version of the nasty party was a career development move as we now know, nothing do do with liberalism and all about the opportunity.

Come to think about it,an excellent prospect for deputy to Bozo if they could afford him[emoji16]

15-11-2020, 02:53 PM
Clegg's move to joining the Davecam version of the nasty party was a career development move as we now know, nothing do do with liberalism and all about the opportunity.

Come to think about it,an excellent prospect for deputy to Bozo if they could afford him[emoji16]

I thought it was more of a gamble to secure the AV referendum than anything more malign.

Whatever he was playing at, it didn’t work out and backfired on him / them big time.

15-11-2020, 02:57 PM
I thought it was more of a gamble to secure the AV referendum than anything more malign.

Whatever he was playing at, it didn’t work out and backfired on him / them big time.Regarded him as a career climber rather than a leader of the traditional liberal party or indeed a conviction politician and it looks like it's worked out that way.

15-11-2020, 08:15 PM
I take back any acknowledgment that despite despising Cummings he knew what he was doing.
Two so called masters of the black arts in Cain and Cummings and the best name they could conjure up for Carrie Symonds was Princess Nut Nuts. Disappointing, no wonder they were sacked. :greengrin

15-11-2020, 10:53 PM
I take back any acknowledgment that despite despising Cummings he knew what he was doing.
Two so called masters of the black arts in Cain and Cummings and the best name they could conjure up for Carrie Symonds was Princess Nut Nuts. Disappointing, no wonder they were sacked. :greengrin

I repeat what I've said before. He's a twat who got very lucky with his timing of wider politics which helped gift him the Brexit win and then the Johnson win. Three dimensional chess player my arse. The Barnard Castle episode alone shows he's got very poor judgement and a gigantic sense of entitlement.

Cameron made him with that spectacularly stupid referendum on Brexit giving vent to the 'there must be a better and consequence free future out there ' mob and then Corbyn put him in Downing Street by making that utter buffoon Johnson seem the saner choice.

Among many reasons to be grateful for the Biden win will be the resumption of proper US agency investigations into the labyrinthine connections between domestic politics in the US and UK and a variety of foreign actors and their dodgy money. Tick tock for the Brexiteers.

16-11-2020, 06:18 AM

(I'm not a Tory BTW!!)

Margaret Thatcher appointed Geoffrey Howe as deputy PM as a form of humiliation after he fell out with her over Europe. He'd previously been one of her most loyal and high profile allies at both the Treasury and the Foreign Office but her press secretary Bernard Ingham described the deputy PM post as essentially 'meaningless'.

Nevertheless Howe's subsequent resignation speech set in motion the train of events which led to her downfall.

16-11-2020, 07:39 AM
Margaret Thatcher appointed Geoffrey Howe as deputy PM as a form of humiliation after he fell out with her over Europe. He'd previously been one of her most loyal and high profile allies at both the Treasury and the Foreign Office but her press secretary Bernard Ingham described the deputy PM post as essentially 'meaningless'.

Nevertheless Howe's subsequent resignation speech set in motion the train of events which led to her downfall.

Can you imagine any of the current flock of spineless grifters giving such a speech?

16-11-2020, 08:32 AM
I've been looking at the background of a number of those currently in power at Westminster and it's amazing just how many of them have been involved in Journalism.

It reminded me of a scene from Father Ted.

-- "That used to be quite common, you know? The favourite son would become a doctor, and the idiot brother would be sent off to the priesthood."

--- "Your brother is a doctor, isn't he?"

-- "Yes"

Presumably Journalism is the British Upper Classes' version of the Priesthood, for the idiot sibling.

17-11-2020, 01:18 PM

Not a Tory but the U.K. government has had a position of First Secretary of State since the early 1960s. It isn’t a constitutional position, if nothing else because the UK does not have a codified constituion. Nevertheless it is seen as essentially DPM, though in some cases the appointee has been less a DPM and more a ‘fixer’.

The post hasn’t always been occupied and it is usual for the postholder to combine it with another portfolio. Rab Butler was the first I believe, I think under Macmillan.

18-11-2020, 02:10 PM
Apparently Johnson is "proud" of the way his Government has wasted taxpayer cash and diverted it to friends of MPs. Shameless.

18-11-2020, 02:24 PM
Apparently Johnson is "proud" of the way his Government has wasted taxpayer cash and diverted it to friends of MPs. Shameless.Listen, it's a very efficient system.

You avoid all the hassle of tendering for the best price and supporting UK manufacturers by going straight to an American jeweller who will then recruit a Spanish middleman to buy whatever you want from China.

You can also use Emergency Powers to avoid parliamentary scrutiny and just award contracts directly to people who just happen to be known connections of the likes of Cummings, Gove et al. It's all something to be "proud" of.

Putting two fingers up to transparency and doing what you like because you can has been engrained in this goverments culture since Cummings went cruising around the North East.

Chorley Hibee
19-11-2020, 12:00 PM
https://news.sky.com/story/pm-to-announce-extra-16-5bn-in-defence-spending-biggest-investment-since-cold-war-12135956

Well that's the next set of contracts to Tory friends and family sorted.

Beyond a joke that this sorting of funding takes precedence amidst a global pandemic and the financial crisis about to hit the UK post Covid/Brexit.

Appealing to their core voter base once again.

20-11-2020, 10:52 AM
Johnson backs Patel on bullying. Govt adviser on ministerial code then resigns.

I believe it's anti bullying week too.

20-11-2020, 10:54 AM
Bozo backs Patel whilst the person who lead the enquiry and concluded that she had indeed breached the ministerial code and was a bully in the workplace has resigned.

Guess she must have been doing the right sort of bullying as far as the PM and the nasty party are concerned.

20-11-2020, 11:00 AM
Bozo backs Patel whilst the person who lead the enquiry and concluded that she had indeed breached the ministerial code and was a bully in the workplace has resigned.

Guess she must have been doing the right sort of bullying as far as the PM and the nasty party are concerned.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-politics-55016076

More on the news.

20-11-2020, 11:02 AM

More on the news.Ms Patel released a statement saying she was sorry "that my behaviour in the past has upset people".

they kind of "apologies" really grinds my gears

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

20-11-2020, 11:03 AM

More on the news.[emoji106]

You've got to wonder what the threshold is for conduct that gets the offender sacked or forced to resign.

Patel epitomises what it is to be sleekit so there's no question of her ever doing the right thing.

20-11-2020, 11:06 AM
Yet another instance where we find that the Westminster "system" of precedent, unwritten rules, relying on "honour" totally falls apart when run by a bunch of chancers who don't gaf. :rolleyes:

20-11-2020, 11:12 AM
We should probably change the thread title to remove the word lying and just leave it at Tories are *******s?!

20-11-2020, 11:16 AM
This is just another incident that would have been an automatic resignation in days gone by. The standards of behaviour expected of public officials have slipped because the public have allowed them to, shysters will always take advantage of apathy. The half baked apology that wasn't an apology ('I'm not sorry for my behaviour but I'm sorry someone was upset by it' is essentially victim blaming) sums up the contempt this government have for the people they are meant to serve.

20-11-2020, 11:20 AM
She didn't bully anyone, she just "mis-instructed" them.

20-11-2020, 11:39 AM
They ****ing disgust me, repulse me and offend me on a level I've never experienced before.

They offend me marginally less than the electorate who continue to condone and accept their behaviour.

20-11-2020, 11:57 AM
They ****ing disgust me, repulse me and offend me on a level I've never experienced before.

They offend me marginally less than the electorate who continue to condone and accept their behaviour.It's really just an extension of their shamelessly do what they like mentality, born out of the Emergency Powers they conferred on themselves to deal with Covid, which have comfortably stretched to avoid scrutiny of contracts and behaviours.

They take their lead on behaviour from the top.

20-11-2020, 12:22 PM
What was the point in the investigation if they were just ignoring it anyway?

We have a prime minister who is essentially giving the green light to bullying - so long as you make a half arsed apology.

I feel for the many thousands who suffer bullying be that at work, school or home. You are expected to suck.kt and suffer more.

Johnson, Patel and the arse licking hangers on who will defend this are a ****ing disgrace.

Just_Jimmy
20-11-2020, 12:27 PM
and today they leak they're going to freeze public sector pay again.

the same public sector that worked through the virus, were at risk every day from it, continued to pay tax and didn't miss time off.

they're ****.

Sent from my Pixel 3a using Tapatalk

20-11-2020, 12:45 PM

the same public sector that worked through the virus, were at risk every day from it, continued to pay tax and didn't miss time off.

they're ****.

In their defence (gies me the boak defending them!) there has to be savings somewhere. I've also worked throughout the virus, paid tax and not had time off, and I'm getting nae pay rise this year.

It's ****, but it's not unexpected.

20-11-2020, 01:19 PM

The investigation fell apart as it was an investigation into bullying, not bullyin'

https://twitter.com/mjdorsman/status/1329774646535680002

20-11-2020, 01:44 PM

they're ****.

I remember having a heated debate about clapping the NHS and how much they appreciated it. I wonder if they're still feeling appreciated.

20-11-2020, 02:05 PM
Maybe it's time the UK had a constitution.

20-11-2020, 02:08 PM
Maybe it's time the UK had a constitution.

:rotflmao:

If there was a written constitution the government wouldn't be able to do half the stuff they get away with. (even more than the do now)

20-11-2020, 02:24 PM
In their defence (gies me the boak defending them!) there has to be savings somewhere. I've also worked throughout the virus, paid tax and not had time off, and I'm getting nae pay rise this year.

It's ****, but it's not unexpected.

They've managed to find £16b for defence. Why can't they fund the NHS so readily? And I suspect you probably work for a private company who weren't asking folk to clap at their doors every Thursday for you. You could probably move job if not happy, where does a nurse go, or a Dr, surgeon, anaesthetist etc. All specialist riles only really found in the NHS. I haven't had a wage rise either and don't expect o e next year now, no bonus as well. But I would still support a wage increase for NHS staff. And I'd be happy to pay extra in tax for it. I help make whisky, these people save lives!!

20-11-2020, 02:55 PM
They've managed to find £16b for defence. Why can't they fund the NHS so readily? And I suspect you probably work for a private company who weren't asking folk to clap at their doors every Thursday for you. You could probably move job if not happy, where does a nurse go, or a Dr, surgeon, anaesthetist etc. All specialist riles only really found in the NHS. I haven't had a wage rise either and don't expect o e next year now, no bonus as well. But I would still support a wage increase for NHS staff. And I'd be happy to pay extra in tax for it. I help make whisky, these people save lives!!

I’m no saying I agree with their policies. There has to be a line somewhere though.

I work for Edinburgh Uni, the pay isn’t great, and there’s no such thing as bonuses, but I like the job. We’re not getting a pay rise, prob not next year either.

My girlfriend is a dietitian in the NHS, and it could affect her. So...I’m not saying that it’s fair cos it won’t affect me. I’m saying it’s fair because this whole COVID **** has cost us a fortune already. At some point they have to look at ways to counter that.

Honestly, while I appreciate what they do, I’m not going to lose any sleep over doctors or surgeons not getting a pay rise. Plenty are going to be struggling more than them.

20-11-2020, 03:06 PM
I’m no saying I agree with their policies. There has to be a line somewhere though.

I work for Edinburgh Uni, the pay isn’t great, and there’s no such thing as bonuses, but I like the job. We’re not getting a pay rise, prob not next year either.

My girlfriend is a dietitian in the NHS, and it could affect her. So...I’m not saying that it’s fair cos it won’t affect me. I’m saying it’s fair because this whole COVID **** has cost us a fortune already. At some point they have to look at ways to counter that.

Honestly, while I appreciate what they do, I’m not going to lose any sleep over doctors or surgeons not getting a pay rise. Plenty are going to be struggling more than them.

On NHS pay, I think the Scottish government has already committed to pay rises.

Just_Jimmy
20-11-2020, 03:11 PM
I remember having a heated debate about clapping the NHS and how much they appreciated it. I wonder if they're still feeling appreciated.true,

what about the other emergency services that won't now move up the pay bands and won't get pay rises either so in real time they'll see a fall.

same with the army - who are currently on the streets in English cities helping with testing that's failing.

16bn for defence been found though?

covid has to be paid for - by the people who worked through it so plenty could get 80% salary for staying at home safe for months.

plenty won't lose sleep over public sector pay because it doesn't impact them. that's what the government want. divide and conquer

the Tories are ****. nothing else.

20-11-2020, 04:17 PM
NHS frontline workers are exempt from the proposed wage freeze.

20-11-2020, 04:44 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201120/ee7004035c175359ba0644d63c74c691.jpg

Seems like a nice woman.

20-11-2020, 05:05 PM
https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201120/ee7004035c175359ba0644d63c74c691.jpg

Seems like a nice woman.

Made up nonsense.

Priti never pronounces the letter "g".😆

20-11-2020, 05:12 PM
There was no way Patel was going to be sacked after the Cummings debacle. The only good thing is it further erodes trust in the nasty party. The fact that the times and the telegraph are openly critical constantly tells you how bad these are ********s are. Utter ****bags with not one ounce of moral fibre amongst them. None of them would ever get a decent job if it wasn’t for the old school tie routine.

20-11-2020, 05:32 PM
There was no way Patel as going to be sacked after the Cummings debacle. The only good thing is it further erodes trust in the nasty party. The fact that the times and the telegraph are openly critical constantly tells you how bad these are ********s are. Utter ****bags with not one ounce of moral fibre amongst them. None of them would ever get a decent job if it wasn’t for the old school tie routine.

Don't you mean the Cummins debacle.

20-11-2020, 05:54 PM
Ms Patel released a statement saying she was sorry "that my behaviour in the past has upset people".

they kind of "apologies" really grinds my gears

Sent from my VOG-L29 using Tapatalk

:agree: Me too. And I felt similarly about Corbyns ‘apology for the hurt caused’ apology. If you feel like you’ve done nothing wrong, don’t apologise, argue your case. And If there’s clear evidence that you’ve been a bully, you need to just apologise for the bullying. The clear subtext otherwise is ‘it’s their fault for being upset’.

My daughter is about to start a new job, her first ‘proper’ one after graduating. At the Home Office :faf:
Dads don’t like bullies. That Patel needs to watch herself.

20-11-2020, 07:38 PM
There was no way Patel was going to be sacked after the Cummings debacle. The only good thing is it further erodes trust in the nasty party. The fact that the times and the telegraph are openly critical constantly tells you how bad these are ********s are. Utter ****bags with not one ounce of moral fibre amongst them. None of them would ever get a decent job if it wasn’t for the old school tie routine.

I think there's similarities between Trump's inner circle and the current UK Cabinet. They all have so much dirt on each other that if one of them gets the elbow, then it's mutually assured destruction. It's for that reason I believe Cummings is still on the inside.

20-11-2020, 08:04 PM
I think there's similarities between Trump's inner circle and the current UK Cabinet. They all have so much dirt on each other that if one of them gets the elbow, then it's mutually assured destruction. It's for that reason I believe Cummings is still on the inside.The most worrying part is that so long as they don't actually call out the behaviours of Bozo himself they can pretty much do what they like safe in the knowledge that they are effectively safe from the sack.

As you say it's a gang where what they have in common keeps them together, all we need is the Geoffrey Howe moment but as there's no one with any real gravitas or backbone amongst them we might have a long wait.

20-11-2020, 08:42 PM
Boris Battles Experts To Save Christmas!

Front page of the Express.

20-11-2020, 09:37 PM
I see Phillip Rutland wasn't even interviewed for the inquiry into Patel's behaviour. What a joke.

20-11-2020, 10:18 PM
One of the indirect benefits of the covid vaccine roll out is that it brings the end of some of the main players of this government ever closer.

An enquiry into the handling is inevitable and it will take place relatively soon after a return to normality. Whilst none of the devolved administrations are likely to come out of it well, the maim criticisms are going to be aimed at the UK govt. It simply won't be allowed to be a whitewash so there will be an expectation of resignations. I don't think any of the main players will want to hang around for that.

Johnson tendering his resignation on his own terms mid next year and taking up a life of paid consultancies and writing columns is highly likely imo.

20-11-2020, 10:30 PM
Boris Battles Experts To Save Christmas!

Front page of the Express.

Jesus wept.

21-11-2020, 01:14 AM
I think there's similarities between Trump's inner circle and the current UK Cabinet. They all have so much dirt on each other that if one of them gets the elbow, then it's mutually assured destruction. It's for that reason I believe Cummings is still on the inside.

Yes, clearly Bojo is a convert to Trumpism. No morals and the large Tory majority at Westminster makes him think he is invincible. Unlike Trump though his unwillingness to sack people that deserve it makes him a weak leader.

An absolute gift for those who want Scottish independence.

HibernianJK
21-11-2020, 05:08 AM
Yes, clearly Bojo is a convert to Trumpism. No morals and the large Tory majority at Westminster makes him think he is invincible. Unlike Trump though his unwillingness to sack people that deserve it makes him a weak leader.

An absolute gift for those who want Scottish independence.

Trump doesn’t sack those who deserve it. He sacks anyone and everyone who disagrees/speaks out against him. Of which there have been a few.

The whole Westminster cabal would never dream of doing such a thing towards BoJo.

ACLeith
21-11-2020, 06:54 AM

They offend me marginally less than the electorate who continue to condone and accept their behaviour.

If you had told me 35 years ago that a group of politicians would come along that were more despicable than the PM back then I would have laughed at you. But you would have been right. That PM governed by the principles she had, even though they were anathema to me. But she wasn’t a criminal (at least not in the formal sense), corrupt or a compulsive liar. Nor someone who condoned workplace bullying.

So this lot have sunk as far as they can go. You would like to think so, but I expect to be contradicted on that before too long.

ACLeith
21-11-2020, 06:55 AM
Johnson tendering his resignation on his own terms mid next year and taking up a life of paid consultancies and writing columns is highly likely imo.

By Easter is my prediction

21-11-2020, 07:16 AM
One of the indirect benefits of the covid vaccine roll out is that it brings the end of some of the main players of this government ever closer.

An enquiry into the handling is inevitable and it will take place relatively soon after a return to normality. Whilst none of the devolved administrations are likely to come out of it well, the maim criticisms are going to be aimed at the UK govt. It simply won't be allowed to be a whitewash so there will be an expectation of resignations. I don't think any of the main players will want to hang around for that.

The faces might change but with the right wing of the party firmly in control the substance will remain the same, jobs and contracts for the boys.

There's already suggestions Boris and his team got the Patel report watered down. The NAO report on the early covid contracts has already been dismissed out of hand.

The report from the enquiry into the cluster**** that has been the tory response to the pandemic will make you think you've been living in a parallel universe this past year.

21-11-2020, 08:51 AM
The faces might change but with the right wing of the party firmly in control the substance will remain the same, jobs and contracts for the boys.

There's already suggestions Boris and his team got the Patel report watered down. The NAO report on the early covid contracts has already been dismissed out of hand.

The report from the enquiry into the cluster**** that has been the tory response to the pandemic will make you think you've been living in a parallel universe this past year.

Yeah, apparently asked for the Patel report to be "palatable". Clearly had no interest in the truth which has been the case since he was a journalist making up quotations.

21-11-2020, 08:54 AM
If you had told me 35 years ago that a group of politicians would come along that were more despicable than the PM back then I would have laughed at you. But you would have been right. That PM governed by the principles she had, even though they were anathema to me. But she wasn’t a criminal (at least not in the formal sense), corrupt or a compulsive liar. Nor someone who condoned workplace bullying.

So this lot have sunk as far as they can go. You would like to think so, but I expect to be contradicted on that before too long.

Also worth bearing in mind that Johnson has stuck with Rees-Mogg, who has refused MPs (including those who are seriously ill or care for vulnerable relatives) the ability to work from home because it doesn't suit him personally. They are actually putting people's lives at risk.

21-11-2020, 04:49 PM
By Easter is my prediction

yeah, he’ll wait til the vaccinations start, then claim a glorious churchillian victory steered by him, and try to step out on a (self perceived) high

23-11-2020, 09:09 AM
yeah, he’ll wait til the vaccinations start, then claim a glorious churchillian victory steered by him, and try to step out on a (self perceived) high

Plenty potential for yet another statement and reality gap to emerge[emoji6]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201123/6e385c999b2e7c24042fa4b99d4f1b0a.jpg

23-11-2020, 10:52 AM
Here is a genuine first - a Tory at pains to uncover the truth. (No, I'm not kidding).

Step forward Neil O'Brien MP *

https://twitter.com/NeilDotObrien/status/1330830796966518785

* almost certainly in the wrong party. :wink:

23-11-2020, 11:10 AM
Here is a genuine first - a Tory at pains to uncover the truth. (No, I'm not kidding).

Step forward Neil O'Brien MP *

https://twitter.com/NeilDotObrien/status/1330830796966518785

* almost certainly in the wrong party. :wink:

In the interests of balance you should have started a thread "Torys tell the truth".

This could have been the only entry.

23-11-2020, 11:19 AM
In the interests of balance you should have started a thread "Torys tell the truth".

This could have been the only entry.

Think you're jumping the gun a bit there - "Tory tells the truth" would be more accurate at this stage. :wink:

23-11-2020, 11:41 AM
Think you're jumping the gun a bit there - "Tory tells the truth" would be more accurate at this stage. :wink:"Tory tells the truth and has whip withdrawn for not following government policy"?

Despite Bozo requesting that the truth be made more palatable.

24-11-2020, 07:47 AM
Ben Bradley in the news again, this time for failing to get Martin Luther King. He's certainly stepped up recently to fill the howling void created by Fatty Francois's unexplained media disappearance.

24-11-2020, 07:59 AM
And more....that nice Charlie Elphicke this time https://www.theguardian.com/law/2020/nov/23/tory-mps-rebuked-over-letter-to-judge-in-charlie-elphicke-references-case

24-11-2020, 10:28 AM
This is the beginning of another cycle where Johnson is the new damage sink and the papers, and subsequently the public, will all forget anything bad ever happened and all go back to loving everything about the Tories when Sunak replaces him. It's exactly the same as what happened with May.

24-11-2020, 03:12 PM
Ben Bradley in the news again, this time for failing to get Martin Luther King. He's certainly stepped up recently to fill the howling void created by Fatty Francois's unexplained media disappearance.

Is this a euphemism, like, "He didn't get his Nat King Cole"?

24-11-2020, 03:41 PM
Is this a euphemism, like, "He didn't get his Nat King Cole"?

You're maybe thinking of 'MLK' being used as rhyming slang for 'end away', but I didn't intend it like that. Family board and all.

24-11-2020, 04:13 PM
You're maybe thinking of 'MLK' being used as rhyming slang for 'end away', but I didn't intend it like that. Family board and all.

Disappointing but... fair enough.

What did he actually say?

24-11-2020, 04:57 PM
Michelle Ballantyne has resigned for some reason. I'm guessing it's an anti-lockdown thing?

24-11-2020, 05:08 PM
Michelle Ballantyne has resigned for some reason. I'm guessing it's an anti-lockdown thing?

She thinks the Tories have drifted too far to the left!! Probably off to join UKiP or Galloway's bunch of nutballs

24-11-2020, 05:54 PM
Disappointing but... fair enough.

What did he actually say?

He seemed to be calling up the spirit of MLK's 'I have a dream' speech in support of his own theory about the use of 'BAME'. King's daughter told him the speech was about racism.

https://www.standard.co.uk/news/politics/ben-bradley-martin-luther-king-tweet-b77732.html

24-11-2020, 05:56 PM
He seemed to be calling up the spirit of MLK's 'I have a dream' speech in support of his own theory about the use of 'BAME'. King's daughter told him the speech was about racism.

https://www.standard.co.uk/news/politics/ben-bradley-martin-luther-king-tweet-b77732.html

Wow, how could anybody be so unaware of how inappropriate that is?

24-11-2020, 06:00 PM
She thinks the Tories have drifted too far to the left!! Probably off to join UKiP or Galloway's bunch of nutballs

Dross isn't anti Scottish enough for her. 😁

Mr Grieves
26-11-2020, 08:14 AM
https://amp.theguardian.com/world/2020/nov/26/matt-hancock-former-neighbour-won-covid-test-kit-contract-after-whatsapp-message?__twitter_impression=true

This has been a common theme throughout the pandemic were awarding of government contracts is dependent on links to the tory party rather than capability and experience. Dodgy as ****.

26-11-2020, 08:24 AM
https://amp.theguardian.com/world/2020/nov/26/matt-hancock-former-neighbour-won-covid-test-kit-contract-after-whatsapp-message?__twitter_impression=true

This has been a common theme throughout the pandemic were awarding of government contracts is dependent on links to the tory party rather than capability and experience. Dodgy as ****.When the rush to award contracts (and therefore public funds) to their pals and beyond was challenged, Rees Mogg was quick to justify the use of emergency powers for expiditing stuff through parliament.

https://www.parliament.uk/business/lords/media-centre/house-of-lords-media-notices/2020/november-2020/house-of-lords-committees-criticise-government-for-growing-use-of-skeleton-legislation-and-the-shift-in-power-from-parliament-to-the-executive/

We now know that emergency powers means they will stretch the boundaries and do what they want, the public sector and those who aren't amongst the very rich minority are going to bear the brunt of this latest wealth transfer.

26-11-2020, 08:28 AM
This has been a common theme throughout the pandemic were awarding of government contracts is dependent on links to the tory party rather than capability and experience. Dodgy as ****.

Wrong to characterise all Tory ministers as having been dodgy with public Coronavirus money. Honest Bob Jenrick, for example, has been dodgy without going anywhere near the pandemic for an excuse.

26-11-2020, 09:22 AM
Wrong to characterise all Tory ministers as having been dodgy with public Coronavirus money. Honest Bob Jenrick, for example, has been dodgy without going anywhere near the pandemic for an excuse.I don't think he was even wearing a mask, or a horizontal stripy jumper or carrying a bag with swag on it when he agreed to help one of their pals avoid paying in excess of £100m to the public purse.

26-11-2020, 09:51 AM

Just as with trump and the republicans all the tories want is power. They don’t care how devastated the uk will be by brexit,how devastated by the horrendous handling of covid and they don’t care that they are wasting tens of million. on contracts for their mates who are obviously totally unable to deliver track and trace.The bullying of Patel is just a mere annoyance and of course the expenses scandals still continue. I too detested tbw but she seems like someone who did what she said she would do unlike the ****bags who change tack every other week. Youngsters coming up to 18 must wonder wtf is going on and is there any point voting if they get away with the totally corruption and ineptitude of Johnson and his goons. They actually make politics seems totally devoid of any moral fibre the same as trumps republicans. They are and always will be the self serving nasty party. Oh that it was heseltine or Clarke in charge.

26-11-2020, 12:13 PM
Don't we have some resident Tory party members/voters that feel the need to defend the Government and their friends?

I'd really be interested in their point of view on the current goings-on mentioned in recent comments on this thread.

26-11-2020, 01:48 PM
Don't we have some resident Tory party members/voters that feel the need to defend the Government and their friends?

I'd really be interested in their point of view on the current goings-on mentioned in recent comments on this thread.

Very few I'd imagine, particularly with the present crew in charge. It's probably worth posting a 'Tories baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad' however just for balance with the nationalist chums on other issues. :wink:

26-11-2020, 01:51 PM
Very few I'd imagine, particularly with the present crew in charge. It's probably worth posting a 'Tories baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaad' however just for balance with the nationalist chums on other issues. :wink:

My current political viewpoint is that they're all bad, but to varying levels.

Never trust a politician

26-11-2020, 01:55 PM
My current political viewpoint is that they're all bad, but to varying levels.

Never trust a politician

Well I certainly wouldn't have either set of the buffoons currently in charge In Westminster or Holyrood during a pandemic if I had a choice. But then what are you to do when you get governments forced upon you that you didn't vote for in both the UK and Scotland?

26-11-2020, 04:25 PM
Well I certainly wouldn't have either set of the buffoons currently in charge In Westminster or Holyrood during a pandemic if I had a choice. But then what are you to do when you get governments forced upon you that you didn't vote for in both the UK and Scotland?

At Westminster, your number 1 priority should be electoral reform. At least force the Tories to build a tent for the most *******-ish 50% rather than the most *******-ish 40%.

26-11-2020, 04:53 PM
At Westminster, your number 1 priority should be electoral reform. At least force the Tories to build a tent for the most *******-ish 50% rather than the most *******-ish 40%.

Doesn't really answer my point though does it?

26-11-2020, 04:59 PM

How do you mean 'forced' on you?

Weren't each of those governments fairly voted in under our current electoral systems?

26-11-2020, 05:09 PM
How do you mean 'forced' on you?

Weren't each of those governments fairly voted in under our current electoral systems?

Yes they were. Which underlines the point that it doesn't matter how much subdivision we do, people are not all going to get the government they vote for.

27-11-2020, 11:51 AM
Fishy Rishi? (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/nov/27/huge-wealth-of-sunaks-family-not-declared-in-ministerial-register)

27-11-2020, 11:58 AM
Yes they were. Which underlines the point that it doesn't matter how much subdivision we do, people are not all going to get the government they vote for.

Ah, OK, I get your point now.

That's democracy for you. Maybe we should go the Chinese route

27-11-2020, 12:08 PM
Ah, OK, I get your point now.

That's democracy for you. Maybe we should go the Chinese routeNorth Korean for me, oddly dressed fat guy who cuts his hair with garden shears, multiple children and partners, isolationist policy as he blames his neighbours for his own shortcomings and makes it all up as he goes along because he can.

Can't see anyone voting for that sort of leadership though.

27-11-2020, 04:24 PM
Fishy Rishi? (https://www.theguardian.com/politics/2020/nov/27/huge-wealth-of-sunaks-family-not-declared-in-ministerial-register)

The wife is swimming in cash. Richer than The Windsor Firm. We are going down the oligarch route with this crew.

27-11-2020, 04:45 PM
North Korean for me, oddly dressed fat guy who cuts his hair with garden shears, multiple children and partners, isolationist policy as he blames his neighbours for his own shortcomings and makes it all up as he goes along because he can.

Can't see anyone voting for that sort of leadership though.

This is funny!

27-11-2020, 05:33 PM
This is funny!I'm here all week[emoji6]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201127/3111934003cf69f95b1b1a4e46357e88.jpg

27-11-2020, 05:54 PM
I'm here all week[emoji6]https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/20201127/3111934003cf69f95b1b1a4e46357e88.jpg

Horrible, horrible memories.

29-11-2020, 08:30 AM
Zahawi has been announced as being responsible for the vaccine rollout. It’s like they want it to fail.

01-12-2020, 11:24 AM
Zahawi has been announced as being responsible for the vaccine rollout. It’s like they want it to fail.

I see he's off to a flyer having already been contradicted by Gove on vaccine "passports".

02-12-2020, 07:14 PM
Hancock and Rees-Mogg falsely attributing the speed of vaccine approval to Brexit. In the latter's case, he seems to have invented a law change.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/55163730

02-12-2020, 08:15 PM
Hancock and Rees-Mogg falsely attributing the speed of vaccine approval to Brexit. In the latter's case, he seems to have invented a law change.

https://www.bbc.co.uk/news/55163730

But surely the vaccine was approved by an entirely independent body, as in a body that is, and hopefully always was independent of any political or other nefarious interference or influence?

That's what the experts were telling us just today.

Politicians lying? Surely not. Wasn't even written on the side of a bus.

Applying the same logic, why are they bothering turning chunks of Kent into a lorry park?

Surely the freight will whizz seamlessly through the ports, especially now Gove's in control.

04-12-2020, 06:08 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/society/2020/dec/03/gavin-williamson-britains-a-much-better-country-than-all-of-them

How in God's name is this guy in a job at all? And Education Minister!? A genuine national embarrassment. I actually ventured onto the Daily Mail to see the comments and even they overwhelmingly think he's a idiot.

04-12-2020, 07:11 AM
How in God's name is this guy in a job at all? And Education Minister!? A genuine national embarrassment. I actually ventured onto the Daily Mail to see the comments and even they overwhelmingly think he's a idiot.

Is he part of a levelling-up agenda? Every now and again, allow a non-Eton educated moron to rise to the top so you can point at him when anyone suggests that government is nothing but a public-school old boys' network.

04-12-2020, 07:19 AM
Is he part of a levelling-up agenda? Every now and again, allow a non-Eton educated moron to rise to the top so you can point at him when anyone suggests that government is nothing but a public-school old boys' network.You might be onto something there, they might even have filled the Chris Grayling role as well.

Ticks so many boxes for the Nasty party, probably a future leader unless Patel puts something in his tea.[emoji16]

https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&source=web&rct=j&url=https://www.independent.co.uk/news/uk/politics/gavin-williamson-sacked-huawei-leak-scandal-defence-secretary-a8896606.html%3Famp&ved=2ahUKEwiw-4q48bPtAhXxQUEAHdKXATkQFjADegQIBxAC&usg=AOvVaw0wLM5mPotpAyFaefi3tv7q&ampcf=1

04-12-2020, 07:23 AM
Is he part of a levelling-up agenda? Every now and again, allow a non-Eton educated moron to rise to the top so you can point at him when anyone suggests that government is nothing but a public-school old boys' network.

That’s what happens when you let comprehensive school educated non Toffs into the cabinet.

04-12-2020, 07:34 AM
That’s what happens when you let comprehensive school educated non Toffs into the cabinet.I prefer to say amoral, incompetent chancers regardless of their upbringing or education.

The problem with this weasel is he has probably made himself difficult to punt because of what he learnt as chief whip. If he can deceive his wife, then stab May in the back after she promoted him everything else is easy......

Maybe he's just trying too hard to fit in?

04-12-2020, 07:53 AM
https://www.theguardian.com/society/2020/dec/03/gavin-williamson-britains-a-much-better-country-than-all-of-them

Right out the Trump playbook.

08-12-2020, 11:27 AM
Back in October, the leader of the conservative and unionist party in Scotland, Douglas Ross, told GMS that nothing could convince him that breaking international law would be a good move, and he would not support the internal market bill which included such clauses.

Last night, along with all of the other Scottish based Tories, he voted for such a bill.

The bare face lies continue apace with this lot.

08-12-2020, 11:49 AM
Back in October, the leader of the conservative and unionist party in Scotland, Douglas Ross, told GMS that nothing could convince him that breaking international law would be a good move, and he would not support the internal market bill which included such clauses.

Last night, along with all of the other Scottish based Tories, he voted for such a bill.

The bare face lies continue apace with this lot.Conviction politicians who stand up for what they believe in, until someone tells them to believe in something else.

This guy is an absolute embarrassment to Scotland but on the plus side it tells you how far the nasty party have fallen in Scotland when they wheel out politicians of this quality.

08-12-2020, 12:10 PM
Conviction politicians who stand up for what they believe in, until someone tells them to believe in something else.

This guy is an absolute embarrassment to Scotland but on the plus side it tells you how far the nasty party have fallen in Scotland when they wheel out politicians of this quality.

He’ll be gone by the end of May. A mistake of Jim Murphy proportions.

08-12-2020, 12:14 PM
He’ll be gone by the end of May. A mistake of Jim Murphy proportions.

I miss Jim Murphy. Fundelemundely he was a total disaster 😂

08-12-2020, 12:21 PM

I didn't mind him.

Whether or not he was the right man is one debate, what is for sure is that he was in the wrong place at the wrong time.

Labour's collapse in Scotland was happening at that time and it was down to so many more things than just him.

The Tories in Scotland are facing similar issues right now. Repeatedly being undermined by the big Westminster party and only really having staunch British nationalism to hold folk together.

They have nothing to offer Scotland right now.

08-12-2020, 01:15 PM
It looks like Gove has played the Scottish unionists like a fiddle as the uk Gov are prepared to remove the offending sections from the bill.

He's allowed Dross to vote for it last night, and pulled the rug from him today.

08-12-2020, 01:37 PM

He did well as one of the leading figures in the Better Together campaign (I recall him getting egged during an impassioned speech on, I think, Kirkcaldy High St) and at the time I actually thought he might be a decent leader for Labour in Scotland but he was indeed a disaster.

08-12-2020, 01:40 PM
He did well as one of the leading figures in the Better Together campaign (I recall him getting egged during an impassioned speech on, I think, Kirkcaldy High St) and at the time I actually thought he might be a decent leader for Labour in Scotland but he was indeed a disaster.

Didn't he get found out to have organised the rent-a-mob himself?

08-12-2020, 02:43 PM
It looks like Gove has played the Scottish unionists like a fiddle as the uk Gov are prepared to remove the offending sections from the bill.

He's allowed Dross to vote for it last night, and pulled the rug from him today.

The bits that strip powers from the Scottish Parliament remain in the bill.

08-12-2020, 05:21 PM
The bits that strip powers from the Scottish Parliament remain in the bill.

Unfortunately.

They don't care about what happens to Scotland.

CloudSquall
08-12-2020, 06:23 PM
Always wondered what it would take for the Scottish Tory MPs to vote against Boris and co.

They've had so many lines in the sand crossed I've lost count.

08-12-2020, 07:56 PM
Always wondered what it would take for the Scottish Tory MPs to vote against Boris and co.

They know their place, swallow and shut-up.

08-12-2020, 08:26 PM

The Holy Grail of the fishing rights and Brexiteers will be a conundrum for them.

A deal with the EU, which the EU insist must include fishing rights, and they're sold down the river.

No deal with the EU, the fisher folk lose the biggest market for their catch and they're up **** creek.

Scottish torys defending either will be toast.

09-12-2020, 07:41 AM
The Holy Grail of the fishing rights and Brexiteers will be a conundrum for them.

A deal with the EU, which the EU insist must include fishing rights, and they're sold down the river.

No deal with the EU, the fisher folk lose the biggest market for their catch and they're up **** creek.

Scottish torys defending either will be toast.

The detail of a final deal - or no deal at all - should be a bitter harvest for people who voted for Brexit and especially for those Tories who actively led the campaign and are now in power. Whether they’ll pay a political price is another question.

It will be interesting to see the Nationalist and Brexiteer responses here too. Nats will choose between supporting a deal (if one is on the table) which will have to include some kind of give and take on fishing or not supporting a deal which is the same as supporting a hard Brexit. Tough moral and political choice. And for the almost 40% of Scots who voted for Brexit, I wonder what they are thinking now?

09-12-2020, 09:05 AM
The detail of a final deal - or no deal at all - should be a bitter harvest for people who voted for Brexit and especially for those Tories who actively led the campaign and are now in power. Whether they’ll pay a political price is another question.

It will be interesting to see the Nationalist and Brexiteer responses here too. Nats will choose between supporting a deal (if one is on the table) which will have to include some kind of give and take on fishing or not supporting a deal which is the same as supporting a hard Brexit. Tough moral and political choice. And for the almost 40% of Scots who voted for Brexit, I wonder what they are thinking now?

There is no non-hard Brexit on offer. If a deal is done it will be diamond hard.

09-12-2020, 09:31 AM
There is no non-hard Brexit on offer. If a deal is done it will be diamond hard.

There is no difference between a non-deal Brexit on WTO terms and a deal Brexit of any sort? How is it possible to know that before the nature of any deal is confirmed?

09-12-2020, 09:44 AM
There is no difference between a non-deal Brexit on WTO terms and a deal Brexit of any sort? How is it possible to know that before the nature of any deal is confirmed?

Soft brexit would be staying in the CU and SM. I doubt that is going to come out of the meeting today.